Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.02mi
  2. Distance: 0.82mi
  3. Distance: 0.93mi
  4. Distance: 0.99mi
  1. Distance: 0.02mi
  2. Distance: 0.82mi
  3. Distance: 0.93mi
  4. Distance: 0.99mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.02mi
  2. Distance: 0.82mi
  3. Distance: 0.93mi
  4. Distance: 0.99mi
  1. Distance: 0.02mi
  2. Distance: 0.82mi
  3. Distance: 0.93mi
  4. Distance: 0.99mi

About Muse at Wakefield Mill

The Muse restaurant is embraced by the Mill’s one-metre thick stonewalls, warmed by a large open-hearth, double-sided fireplace, and extended with a glassed-in solarium overlooking MacLaren Falls. Guests dine in the 125 seat dining room, where much attention and effort is focused on meeting and surpassing dining expectations. Culinary excellence and passionate service work hand-in-hand, offering our guests a truly delectable experience.



Our menu emphasizes fine French and Québécois cuisine, infused with international nuances. Our wine list features a selection of New World and Old World wines, focusing on boutique wineries hand-picked by our sommeliers. Our wine flights and by-the-glass selection encourages our guests to enjoy something new. Desserts include traditional treats as well as new approaches to mouth-watering sweets.

60 Chemin Mill
Wakefield, QC J0X 3G0
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
French / Canadian, French

Hours of Operation:

Breakfast: Monday - Friday: 7:00am - 10:30am, Saturday: 7:30am - 10:30am

Brunch: Sunday: 9:00am - 2:00pm

Lunch: Daily: 11:30am - 4:00pm

Dinner: Daily: 5:30pm - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
Riverside Rd

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
CAN$51 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(819) 459-1838

Website:
http://www.wakefieldmill.com/en/dining/muse-restau

Entertainment:
Live music every friday and Saturday in the Heron Wine bar from 7 to 10pm

Parking Details:
Parking is free and is just in front of the Hotel. It is Free

Public Transit:
There is no public transportation to the restaurant

Executive Chef:
Che Chartrand

Additional:
Banquet, Beer, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Private Room, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Muse at Wakefield Mill Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.0

Overall Rating

based on all time ratingsThis restaurant has not received enough recent ratings to display a current ratings snapshot
food

4.1

service

4.2

ambience

4.5

value

3.5

Noise

Moderate

86% would recommend it to a friend

Scenic View (15)
Romantic (14)
Special Occasion (11)
See All
Fit for Foodies (9)
Waterfront (5)
Great for Brunch (5)
Cozy (4)
Good for Anniversaries (4)
Neighborhood Gem (3)
Notable Wine List (3)
Quiet Conversation (3)
Worth the Drive (3)
Authentic (3)
Casual (2)
Comfort Food (2)
Creative Cuisine (2)
Good for a Date (2)
Healthy (2)
Local Ingredients (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Good for Birthdays (1)
Business Meals (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Seasonal (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Sort by
S
13 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Toronto)·Dined on August 29, 2017

Nestled away in Wakefield this converted Mill is a lovely gem in Gatineau. Blending old and new we enjoyed a very creative meal featuring Québécois flair, a more able wine list, and a roaring falls just outside. Worth the drive from Ottawa. Note: No Uber rides!

Tags: Scenic View, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Authentic, Special Occasion, Comfort Food, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Handcrafted Cocktails, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Waterfront
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Montreal)·Dined on May 13, 2017

service is terribly slow. Food is nothing special and certainly not worth the price you pay. We would not recommend and we won't be returning

Tags: Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service1
value1

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on January 8, 2017

Very nice place in the country! Very nice restaurant and very good food. Great place for brunch.

Tags: Romantic, Scenic View, Good for a Date, Sunday Lunch, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on December 24, 2016

Our family had very good memories of this restaurant (years ago) but this was a very disappointing meal. Most first courses were dull and tasteless and the gigot d'agneau was tough and overcooked. Much overpriced!
Though the outside scenery is enchanting, the inside needs a little makeover and tender loving care - the floor covering where our table was located was sticky and ugly looking.
It's too bad because this used to be one of the good restaurants in the area.
Pauvre qualité de la nourriture - certainement pas un très bon rapport qualité-prix!
Vraiment dommage!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (Ottawa)·Dined on November 27, 2016

À l'occasion de notre 35e anniversaire de mariage, notre fille & gendre nous ont offert un forfait
spécial chez vous. Pédicure deluxe dont nous avons beaucoup aimés avec des esthéticiennes professeionnelles et adorables. Un repas gastronomique délicieux à la Muse ayant un service exceptionnel. Un nuitée dans une chambre authentique et confortable. Notament un déjeuner
continental savoureux et bien présenté en compagnie d'un serveur exceptionnel Michel!

Sans oublié la chalheureuse accueil dès notre entrée dans votre chalheureux bâiment d'anthan!

Merci de vos bons services!

Gisèle & Bert

Tags: Cozy, Casual, Special Occasion, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Toronto)·Dined on October 25, 2016

Service was impeccable; waiter was subtle and helpful. Amuse bouche was a tasty sea scallop; apple liqueur as palate cleanser was refreshing. I had surf and turf as main - beef was tender but lobster tail was just so so. Overall excellent experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on October 5, 2016

The restaurant was in a scenic location. I thought the food was fine, but probably not quite worth the price. I found the service to be somewhat slow and indifferent.

Tags: Scenic View, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value2

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 21, 2016

Everything was wonderful, my friend and I enjoyed our 3 course meal - also appreciated that it is good value for quality of food. My one very very small issue is that I mentioned we were celebrating my friends birthday and it was not acknowledged. It certainly didn't put a damper on our night just a little disappointed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

 
 (Ottawa)·Dined on June 29, 2016

The food was wonderful as usual. The desserts could be more diverse with more gluten free options. Overall very happy with the service, quality and presentation of the food.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Ottawa)·Dined on July 10, 2015

This restored Mill in a peaceful, historic, and artistic village, offers a relaxed environment in which to enjoy their two dining venues that provide indoor, terrace, and outdoor dining above the rushing waters below. Disappointed that the more formal restaurant, The Muse, was not open for lunch, so we opted to dine in the second (and less elegant) restaurant off the bar area. Food did not disappoint, although not as "special" as we had expected. Wine prices (for bottles) were relatively high. Would like to give it another try in the evening at The Muse restaurant.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on May 4, 2015

This is a bit of a drive from the "center of things"(Ottawa), but sooo worth it. At first I was disappointed to find upon arrival that the restaurant was closed for a private function (even though they had continued to accept reservations). Their decision was to set up in the hotel's casual restaurant that night, and dress it up with table cloths etc., to give the feel of a formal room -- but only half of it. The other half remained casual. Kind of odd, but it was fine, and we still got the waterfall view. I have to say, though, that that was where the compromise ended. The server, Gabriel, (although he normally worked the casula room), was just wonderful -- so personable and knowledgeable and his recommendatons were spot on. The food was absolutely brilliant! The complimentary appetizer they brought was delicious according to my dining partner, but it did not suit my no-red-meat diet. So, the chef prepared a vegetarian version for me that was heavenly -- and my partner happily had seconds of his dish :-) After enjoying our 2 appetizer courses, main, and dessert (a lot of food) we were not feeling stuffed in the least -- just really really really satisfied and delighted with the exquisite cuisine... with the whole experience, in fact. Too bad it's so far from LA :-)

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on March 29, 2014

Very nice place, excellent food, but expensive.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Romantic, Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Ottawa)·Dined on March 8, 2014

We had the 6-course discovery menu. Great to know that there are restaurants within a short driving distance from Ottawa that still do a nice blind tasting menu at an affordable price. The menu was innovative, nicely presented, well seasoned and tasted great. The only "surprise" was that a number of dishes were quite a bit influenced by Indian spices. Was expecting more of a classic French/Quebec treatment. Hopefully it is a seasonal menu and the next time if we visit Wakefield again, it will be different...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.