Not bookable

This restaurant is temporarily offline. Please contact the restaurant directly or check back shortly for availability.

Muse at Wakefield Mill

4.1
14 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
CAN$51 and over
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
French / Canadian
Top Tags:
  • Scenic View
  • Romantic
  • Special Occasion

Similar Restaurants

About

The Muse restaurant is embraced by the Mill’s one-metre thick stonewalls, warmed by a large open-hearth, double-sided fireplace, and extended with a glassed-in solarium overlooking MacLaren Falls. Guests dine in the 125 seat dining room, where much attention and effort is focused on meeting and surpassing dining expectations. Culinary excellence and passionate service work hand-in-hand, offering our guests a truly delectable experience.



Our menu emphasizes fine French and Québécois cuisine, infused with international nuances. Our wine list features a selection of New World and Old World wines, focusing on boutique wineries hand-picked by our sommeliers. Our wine flights and by-the-glass selection encourages our guests to enjoy something new. Desserts include traditional treats as well as new approaches to mouth-watering sweets.
Dining Style
Fine Dining
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Cuisines
French / Canadian, French
icon/ic_clockCreated with Sketch.
Hours of operation

Breakfast: Monday - Friday: 7:00am - 10:30am, Saturday: 7:30am - 10:30am

Brunch: Sunday: 9:00am - 2:00pm

Lunch: Daily: 11:30am - 4:00pm

Dinner: Daily: 5:30pm - 9:00pm
icon/ic_phoneCreated with Sketch.
Phone number
(819) 459-1838
icon/ic_new_windowCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_paymentCreated with Sketch.
Payment options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa
icon/ic_dress_codeCreated with Sketch.
Dress code
Smart Casual
icon/ic_chefCreated with Sketch.
Executive chef
Che Chartrand
icon/ic_locationCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_neighborhoodCreated with Sketch.
Neighborhood
icon/ic_cross_streetCreated with Sketch.
Cross street
Riverside Rd
icon/ic_parking_detailsCreated with Sketch.
Parking details
Parking is free and is just in front of the Hotel. It is Free
icon/ic_public_transitCreated with Sketch.
Public transit
There is no public transportation to the restaurant
icon/ic_entertainmentCreated with Sketch.
Entertainment
Live music every friday and Saturday in the Heron Wine bar from 7 to 10pm
Additional
Banquet, Beer, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Private Room, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine
What 14 People Are Saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
4.1based on all time ratings
4.2
food
4.3
service
4.6
ambience
3.7
value
Noise · Moderate
87% of people would recommend it to a friend
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
Sort by
Newest
Filters
5.0Dined on March 11, 2018

We have stayed at the Wakefield Mill once before, and have eaten at the Muse Restaurant several times. On this occasion, we spent several hours snowshoeing in the woods behind the Mill, then walked through Wakefield window shopping before going to the Muse for dinner.

The Mill was first established about 150 years ago, and has been wonderfully restored. Although they certainly seem to be doing very well, it was not busy on a mid-March Sunday evening, with about half the tables occupied on the enclosed balcony overlooking the river. Wonderful view, quiet, just a very pleasant experience!

We shared appetizers - excellent, creative and attractive! Then we had lamb for two - cooked exactly as requested and tender, with an intriguing combination of vegetables. Dessert was equally so, and they conjured up a cheese plate for me that was not on the menu - excellent Quebec cheeses!,, They have a decent selection of wines, although a bit pricey.

Although not as expensive as some of the better restaurants in Ottawa-Gatineau, we will certainly return once or twice a year, and perhaps to the upstairs Bistro on occasion for lighter fare, and a beer!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on August 29, 2017

Nestled away in Wakefield this converted Mill is a lovely gem in Gatineau. Blending old and new we enjoyed a very creative meal featuring Québécois flair, a more able wine list, and a roaring falls just outside. Worth the drive from Ottawa. Note: No Uber rides!

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on May 13, 2017

service is terribly slow. Food is nothing special and certainly not worth the price you pay. We would not recommend and we won't be returning

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on January 8, 2017

Very nice place in the country! Very nice restaurant and very good food. Great place for brunch.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on December 24, 2016

Our family had very good memories of this restaurant (years ago) but this was a very disappointing meal. Most first courses were dull and tasteless and the gigot d'agneau was tough and overcooked. Much overpriced!
Though the outside scenery is enchanting, the inside needs a little makeover and tender loving care - the floor covering where our table was located was sticky and ugly looking.
It's too bad because this used to be one of the good restaurants in the area.
Pauvre qualité de la nourriture - certainement pas un très bon rapport qualité-prix!
Vraiment dommage!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on November 27, 2016

À l'occasion de notre 35e anniversaire de mariage, notre fille & gendre nous ont offert un forfait
spécial chez vous. Pédicure deluxe dont nous avons beaucoup aimés avec des esthéticiennes professeionnelles et adorables. Un repas gastronomique délicieux à la Muse ayant un service exceptionnel. Un nuitée dans une chambre authentique et confortable. Notament un déjeuner
continental savoureux et bien présenté en compagnie d'un serveur exceptionnel Michel!

Sans oublié la chalheureuse accueil dès notre entrée dans votre chalheureux bâiment d'anthan!

Merci de vos bons services!

Gisèle & Bert

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on October 25, 2016

Service was impeccable; waiter was subtle and helpful. Amuse bouche was a tasty sea scallop; apple liqueur as palate cleanser was refreshing. I had surf and turf as main - beef was tender but lobster tail was just so so. Overall excellent experience.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on October 5, 2016

The restaurant was in a scenic location. I thought the food was fine, but probably not quite worth the price. I found the service to be somewhat slow and indifferent.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on August 21, 2016

Everything was wonderful, my friend and I enjoyed our 3 course meal - also appreciated that it is good value for quality of food. My one very very small issue is that I mentioned we were celebrating my friends birthday and it was not acknowledged. It certainly didn't put a damper on our night just a little disappointed.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on June 29, 2016

The food was wonderful as usual. The desserts could be more diverse with more gluten free options. Overall very happy with the service, quality and presentation of the food.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on July 10, 2015

This restored Mill in a peaceful, historic, and artistic village, offers a relaxed environment in which to enjoy their two dining venues that provide indoor, terrace, and outdoor dining above the rushing waters below. Disappointed that the more formal restaurant, The Muse, was not open for lunch, so we opted to dine in the second (and less elegant) restaurant off the bar area. Food did not disappoint, although not as "special" as we had expected. Wine prices (for bottles) were relatively high. Would like to give it another try in the evening at The Muse restaurant.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 4, 2015

This is a bit of a drive from the "center of things"(Ottawa), but sooo worth it. At first I was disappointed to find upon arrival that the restaurant was closed for a private function (even though they had continued to accept reservations). Their decision was to set up in the hotel's casual restaurant that night, and dress it up with table cloths etc., to give the feel of a formal room -- but only half of it. The other half remained casual. Kind of odd, but it was fine, and we still got the waterfall view. I have to say, though, that that was where the compromise ended. The server, Gabriel, (although he normally worked the casula room), was just wonderful -- so personable and knowledgeable and his recommendatons were spot on. The food was absolutely brilliant! The complimentary appetizer they brought was delicious according to my dining partner, but it did not suit my no-red-meat diet. So, the chef prepared a vegetarian version for me that was heavenly -- and my partner happily had seconds of his dish :-) After enjoying our 2 appetizer courses, main, and dessert (a lot of food) we were not feeling stuffed in the least -- just really really really satisfied and delighted with the exquisite cuisine... with the whole experience, in fact. Too bad it's so far from LA :-)

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on March 29, 2014

Very nice place, excellent food, but expensive.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 8, 2014

We had the 6-course discovery menu. Great to know that there are restaurants within a short driving distance from Ottawa that still do a nice blind tasting menu at an affordable price. The menu was innovative, nicely presented, well seasoned and tasted great. The only "surprise" was that a number of dishes were quite a bit influenced by Indian spices. Was expecting more of a classic French/Quebec treatment. Hopefully it is a seasonal menu and the next time if we visit Wakefield again, it will be different...

Report
Helpful

Tweets by Muse at Wakefield Mill