Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.04mi
  2. Distance: 0.11mi
  3. Distance: 0.31mi
  4. Distance: 0.31mi
  1. Distance: 0.04mi
  2. Distance: 0.11mi
  3. Distance: 0.31mi
  4. Distance: 0.31mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.04mi
  2. Distance: 0.11mi
  3. Distance: 0.31mi
  4. Distance: 0.31mi
  1. Distance: 0.04mi
  2. Distance: 0.11mi
  3. Distance: 0.31mi
  4. Distance: 0.31mi

About Murphy's Pub and Grill

Our goal is to take all the welcoming & inviting attributes of a local pub, and combine it with the passion, creativity and selection more typically found in a modern restaurant. We have 26 beers on tap, cocktails inspired by the top list in the country, and unique takes on pub & comfort food made with fresh & seasonal and local ingredients.

510 9th Street
Rapid City, SD 57701
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Gastro Pub, Comfort Food, American

Hours of Operation:


Lunch: Monday - Saturday: 11:00am - 4:30pm, Sunday: 12:00 pm - 4:30pm

Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 4:30pm - 12:00am, Friday & Saturday: 4:30pm - 2:00am, Sunday: 4:30pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
Main Street/9th St

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(605) 791-2244

Website:
http://www.murphyspubandgrill.com/

Entertainment:
Check our events calendar at murphyspubandgrill.com for upcoming shows.

Executive Chef:
Jeff Butler

Private Party Facilities:
We offer two spaces for private functions ranging in size from 60 and under to 130 and under.

Private Party Contact:
Allesha Cortez: (605) 393-5931

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Dancing, Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Murphy's Pub and Grill Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.1

ambience

4.5

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

100% would recommend it to a friend

Casual (7)
Bar Seating (7)
Neighborhood Gem (5)
See All
Comfort Food (4)
Great for Lunch (4)
Fun (4)
Vibrant Bar Scene (4)
Worth the Drive (3)
Late-night Find (3)
Hot Spot (3)
Special Occasion (3)
Great Beer (3)
Good for Groups (3)
Authentic (2)
Business Meals (2)
Live Sports (2)
Good for Birthdays (2)
Good for a Date (2)
Creative Cuisine (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Historic (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Family Style (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Good for Anniversaries (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Sort By:
S
111 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on June 8, 2017

The food was unbelievable what was better than the food was the service! Our waiter was amazing, the food came out so quickly. A definite place to come back to time & time again.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Authentic, Vibrant Bar Scene, Fun, Good for a Date, Tasting Menu, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on June 2, 2017

We loved this place. Great food and an extensive selection of bottled and draft beer. This is a restored old brick building with lots of room and seating at tables and the bar and feels very comfortable.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

 
 (South Dakota)·Dined on May 27, 2017

We love the food at Murphy's. Never had a bad meal. My favorite is the Shepard's Pie but the Buffalo Meatloaf is a strong second. Nice selection of beer on tap also. Staff are fun to deal with.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Casual, Live Sports, Comfort Food, Great for Lunch, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (South Dakota)·Dined on May 5, 2017

Good food, but the service was HORRIBLE. Went to the bar several times to get our drinks because our server was MIA most of the time. Different people brought our food out (and at different times) and was confused where it went because the ticket was missing a table number. For a table of 12 she missed out on a healthy tip.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Late-night Find, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value4

 
 (South Dakota)·Dined on April 29, 2017

The food was great. My eldest son found a review for greatest grilled cheese so we came. He was happy and enjoyed the sandwich. The food is great. It was a great family dinner.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

vip
 (Vancouver)·Dined on April 19, 2017

Lovely meal, great atmosphere and service, and excellent beer selection.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Casual, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 13, 2017

We were just passing through Rapid City and had a great experience! Our server was terrific. The food was very good and family friendly. They have a few good local brews on tap as well. If we are ever back in town, we will be back in a heartbeat!

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Great Beer, Bar Seating, Fun, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (South Dakota)·Dined on April 3, 2017

Best ranch ever! Also, love the decor!

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (South Dakota)·Dined on March 25, 2017

Excellent food and service. Had the bison meatloaf, perfect!

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Comfort Food, Bar Seating, Good Vegetarian Options, Casual, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (South Dakota)·Dined on March 4, 2017

table was high table which was not good for our party as we had a handicapped person . also the service was very slow . had to continually ask for drinks , food , water

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service1
value5

 
 (South Dakota)·Dined on February 5, 2017

I had the buffalo meatloaf and fried pickles! The food was absolutely amazing, the service was incredible! I am eager to go back!

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Bar Seating, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Great Beer, Comfort Food, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Family Style, Special Occasion, Casual, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (South Dakota)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Great food, Great location, Great service. Can't say enough about our evening out. We will be back to enjoy Murphy's Pub and Grill again!

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Cozy, Outstanding Value, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Family Style, Bar Seating, Casual, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (South Dakota)·Dined on January 20, 2017

We went during restaurant week, so they had some very nice, different entrees available. Have been many times for lunch as well. Service can be a little slow at times, but not too bad, and the food is always tasty and well prepared, with plenty of beer choices to pair it with.

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Great Beer, Fun, People Watching, Vibrant Bar Scene, Casual, Bar Seating, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (South Dakota)·Dined on January 1, 2017

I go here a lot and the food is always amazing, and the service is always enthusiastic. The only downside sometimes is that even when you make a reservation in advance you still may end up at one of the tables with the "regular chairs" instead of the big cushy ones. But other than that, the drinks attention creative (and strong!) And the food is delicious. I've never had a bad thing on the menu in all the years I've been going.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Fun, Pre/post Theatre, Romantic, Comfort Food, Neighborhood Gem, Casual, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (South Dakota)·Dined on December 23, 2016

We went to Murphys on a Friday night. Had a reservation for 13 people, 5 of which were kids, ranging from age 2 to 15. No wait time. Everything was set up and ready for us. Service was excellent. Food was fast and soooo good! Love that they take your order on a handheld device right at the table. Everyone's order was exactly as ordered. Restaurant was clean and well maintained. Would definitely return in the future. Highly recommended!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Great Beer, Handcrafted Cocktails, Hot Spot, Bar Seating, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Fun, Cozy, Happy Hour, Modern Decor, People Watching, Good for Groups, Worth the Drive, Authentic, Special Occasion, Kid-friendly, Casual, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (South Dakota)·Dined on December 21, 2016

The reservation was available for the time I had requested, with a nice "Reserved" sign on the table. The waiter was very attentive and friendly without being annoying, and the food was excellent.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (South Dakota)·Dined on December 19, 2016

Our family has enjoyed eating at Murphy's; Consistent quality of food, service, and atmosphere .

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

 
 (South Dakota)·Dined on September 25, 2016

Awesome food as always at Murphy's! Great beer selection. Our server was slammed, so he had a rough time keeping up with refills. He did apologize and take several items off the tab. We will return nonetheless. We like the variety of food options and the atmosphere, so it's going to continue to be a favorite.

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Great Beer, Live Sports, Pre/post Theatre, Authentic, Good for a Date, Good Vegetarian Options, Healthy, Good for Birthdays, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 20, 2016

Odd sort of venue, - cross between a clubby room and a bar. Big TVs for watching whatever game is on. Loved the cushioned chairs on the far side of the bar. The buffalo meatloaf was really good and the steak I had was tasty. Dessert and sides were quite ordinary. Our server had far too many tables to pay any attention to us.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Quick Bite
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value3

 
 (Dunbartonshire)·Dined on September 19, 2016

If I could give this place no stars for all categories I would. For gastro pub read ghastly pub. Would love to tell you about the food but after 30 minutes with no server approaching us we walked out. Have never done this in any other Opentable establishment. DO NOT GO THERE.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1

 
 (Key West)·Dined on September 18, 2016

Big problem with server. After ordering was told my menu item was not available. Reordered and served. Food ok, but when bill received, both menu items on bill. Gave him credit card and told him about error. He left and after waiting almost 15 minutes, he returned and when my girlfriend asked him if he had lost card, he claimed computer was slow and still processing card. After another 10 minutes, he returned to say he had misplaced credit card. We asked him why he had lied, and after several minutes of apology and back and forth, including an offer of a free drink, he left. I contacted my credit card company, and while still on the phone with them, he returned again, now with card in hand. My girlfriend asked him if dinner was on him, and agreed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 17, 2016

Great place to have a calorie replacing meal and a chill evening after a long day of riding the hills!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on August 31, 2016

We liked it enough after our first visit to return the next night. They were out of buffalo meat loaf and elk stroganoff the first night, so we had tasty salmon on salad. The following night we had the buffalo meatloaf (still no stroganoff), which was outstanding. There was very little filler; portobello mushrooms were a terrific addition.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on August 30, 2016

My food was terrible. I went for a special occasion with my fiancé and was highly disappointed. I paid 16 dollars for a 6oz sirloin steak that was chewy like rubber and had no flavor. There was a huge mound of mashed potatoes on the plate which I guess they expected to be the main entrée. The steak was even sliced in pieces so there was no juice. I generally love this restaurant, but I would get a better steak off of the kids menu at Texas Roadhouse for less than 8 bucks. This place is so much better than that!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Authentic, Comfort Food, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service4
value1

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on August 29, 2016

Great choice in downtown Rapid City. Food and service at a high level. Most wholeheartedly recommend

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Great Beer, Comfort Food, Family Style, Casual, Fun, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on August 26, 2016

I love Irish food and this food was great. The Shepard pie was among the best I ever had. My wife had the fish sliders and she loved it.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Comfort Food, Good for Groups, Outstanding Value, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on July 26, 2016

My sisters and I were very disappointed with our meal and service. We asked the server if the turkey was processed turkey and she said no. But when our sandwiches arrived, it was processed turkey. The service was extremely slow.

I cannot recommend Murphy's.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1
value1

vip
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on July 21, 2016

We enjoyed sitting at the bar, Gina was a wonderful bartender and server. We had a burger and grilled salmon, both were excellent. The wines by the glass aren't very good, so be prepared to order a bottle which we did. We were okay with it as we were able to take the wine home.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (South Dakota)·Dined on July 19, 2016

We were in town from Kansas City! Met Sam at the bar....EMAW....and served by Adam. Friendly, great service. The food was delicious. Wish we loved closer! It was one of the highlights of our summer trip...mainly because the service was exceptional! Thank you for a wonderful evening!

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New England)·Dined on July 15, 2016

A decent place with good food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on June 26, 2016

We told them we were celebrating an anniversary and they took GREAT care of us!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on June 15, 2016

Prior to our arrival on vacation from Colorado, I looked up restaurants that would appeal to my vegetarian granddaughter. The portabello wrap and the adult grilled cheese sandwich both were very good. Our waiter, Adam, was friendly, upbeat and happily shared places we might visit in the area. We thoroughly enjoyed our dinner and the atmosphere at Murphy's. Another daughter's family will be visiting Mt. Rushmore in July and I have already shared they should definitely visit this pub and grill. (I'll tell them to ask for Adam.)

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 12, 2016

Two visits in two days says it all. We were only in Rapid City for less than 48 hours, but we visited Murphy's twice. Nice menu, good selection of wines and beers, quality food and reasonable prices - what more could one want? We tried a wrap, sandwich, burger, and a salad, and all were large and tasty. Nice neighborhood pub.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Great for Lunch, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 12, 2016

Good food. Beer and cheese soup was tasty, salad portion was huge but felt satisfied as you often don't with just a salad. I like the indoor area and patio although it was way too hot to sit outside. Service was awkward and too casual.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3

 
 (South Dakota)·Dined on June 12, 2016

Mark makes a mean tropical drink. Andrew was very friendly and outgoing. Not pushy or over excited. Atmosphere was great.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on June 10, 2016

My favorite spot in Rapid City. Friendly folks, excellent beer selection, and amazing food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on May 29, 2016

Deep menu. Really enjoyed the bean salad and the turkey wrap. Sat outside and had wonderful lunch.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (South Dakota)·Dined on May 22, 2016

With the open dining reservation, we were seated right away. We came on a busy Saturday night and the place was hopping. Not a place for a quiet intimate meal, but a fun environment nevertheless. The server was covering too many tables, so slowed down our service and forgot to serve one of the meals for our group of four until we brought it to our attention. The food was very good and they had a lot of options on the menu. Overall, this is a great restaurant.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (South Dakota)·Dined on April 30, 2016

Met some friends for dinner. Had a really great meal, service was fantastic.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on April 27, 2016

Went there for dinner while I was on business. It appears to be a more local place. It took quite a while until someone came by to wait on me. They weren't real busy, but the service was not as good as I would like to see. I will be back in town in another month. I probably will not go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value2

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.