About Murphy's Pub and Grill

510 9th Street
Rapid City, SD 57701
View Larger Map

Our goal is to take all the welcoming & inviting attributes of a local pub, and combine it with the passion, creativity and selection more typically found in a modern restaurant. We have 26 beers on tap, cocktails inspired by the top list in the country, and unique takes on pub & comfort food made with fresh & seasonal and local ingredients.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Gastro Pub, Comfort Food, Irish

Hours of Operation:


Lunch: Monday - Saturday: 11:00am - 4:30pm, Sunday: 12:00 pm - 4:30pm

Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 4:30pm - 12:00am, Friday & Saturday: 4:30pm - 2:00am, Sunday: 4:30pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
Main Street/9th St

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(605) 791-2244

Website:
http://www.murphyspubandgrill.com/

Entertainment:
Check our events calendar at murphyspubandgrill.com for upcoming shows.

Executive Chef:
Jeff Butler

Private Party Facilities:
We offer two spaces for private functions ranging in size from 60 and under to 130 and under.

Private Party Contact:
Allesha Cortez: 6053935931

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Dancing, Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking Area, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine, Wine Bar

Restaurant Photos

  • Reuben Sandwich
  • Deviled Eggs
  • Tomato Soup
  • Bean Salad
  • Beer Cheese Soup
  • Buffalo Meatloaf
Reuben Sandwich
Deviled Eggs
Tomato Soup
Bean Salad
Beer Cheese Soup
Buffalo Meatloaf

Murphy's Pub and Grill Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.7

ambience

4.4

value

4.4

noise

Moderate

100% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
South Dakota
Best Food
South Dakota
Best Service
South Dakota
4 More
Best Ambiance
South Dakota
Best Value
South Dakota
Most Booked
South Dakota
Most Booked
Rapid City
Best Restaurants in Rapid City ›

good for groups (22)
neighborhood gem (17)
vibrant bar scene (14)
See All
fit for foodies (14)
great for outdoor dining (13)
hot spot (10)
great for lunch (9)
late-night find (8)
special occasion (8)
kid-friendly (5)
romantic (2)
notable wine list (1)
Sort By:
Newest
84 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

We enjoyed sitting at the bar, Gina was ...

vip
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined 5 days ago

We enjoyed sitting at the bar, Gina was a wonderful bartender and server. We had a burger and grilled salmon, both were excellent. The wines by the glass aren't very good, so be prepared to order a bottle which we did. We were okay with it as we were able to take the wine home.

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

We were in town from Kansas City! Met S ...

 
·Dined 7 days ago

We were in town from Kansas City! Met Sam at the bar....EMAW....and served by Adam. Friendly, great service. The food was delicious. Wish we loved closer! It was one of the highlights of our summer trip...mainly because the service was exceptional! Thank you for a wonderful evening!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A decent place with good food.

 
 (New England)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

A decent place with good food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5

We told them we were celebrating an anni ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

We told them we were celebrating an anniversary and they took GREAT care of us!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Prior to our arrival on vacation from Co ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on June 15, 2016

Prior to our arrival on vacation from Colorado, I looked up restaurants that would appeal to my vegetarian granddaughter. The portabello wrap and the adult grilled cheese sandwich both were very good. Our waiter, Adam, was friendly, upbeat and happily shared places we might visit in the area. We thoroughly enjoyed our dinner and the atmosphere at Murphy's. Another daughter's family will be visiting Mt. Rushmore in July and I have already shared they should definitely visit this pub and grill. (I'll tell them to ask for Adam.)

Tags: fit for foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Two visits in two days says it all. We ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

Two visits in two days says it all. We were only in Rapid City for less than 48 hours, but we visited Murphy's twice. Nice menu, good selection of wines and beers, quality food and reasonable prices - what more could one want? We tried a wrap, sandwich, burger, and a salad, and all were large and tasty. Nice neighborhood pub.

Tags: great for lunch, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value5

Good food. Beer and cheese soup was tast ...

vip
 (London)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

Good food. Beer and cheese soup was tasty, salad portion was huge but felt satisfied as you often don't with just a salad. I like the indoor area and patio although it was way too hot to sit outside. Service was awkward and too casual.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3

Mark makes a mean tropical drink. Andrew ...

 
·Dined on June 12, 2016

Mark makes a mean tropical drink. Andrew was very friendly and outgoing. Not pushy or over excited. Atmosphere was great.

Tags: good for groups, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

My favorite spot in Rapid City. Friendly ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on June 10, 2016

My favorite spot in Rapid City. Friendly folks, excellent beer selection, and amazing food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Deep menu. Really enjoyed the bean salad ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on May 29, 2016

Deep menu. Really enjoyed the bean salad and the turkey wrap. Sat outside and had wonderful lunch.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Very Good Dining Experience

 
·Dined on May 22, 2016

With the open dining reservation, we were seated right away. We came on a busy Saturday night and the place was hopping. Not a place for a quiet intimate meal, but a fun environment nevertheless. The server was covering too many tables, so slowed down our service and forgot to serve one of the meals for our group of four until we brought it to our attention. The food was very good and they had a lot of options on the menu. Overall, this is a great restaurant.

Tags: late-night find, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Murphys

 
·Dined on April 30, 2016

Met some friends for dinner. Had a really great meal, service was fantastic.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It's Alright

vip
 (Denver)
·Dined on April 27, 2016

Went there for dinner while I was on business. It appears to be a more local place. It took quite a while until someone came by to wait on me. They weren't real busy, but the service was not as good as I would like to see. I will be back in town in another month. I probably will not go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value2

My Mom and I were visiting SD for vacati ...

vip
 (Columbus)
·Dined on April 19, 2016

My Mom and I were visiting SD for vacation so we stopped in Murphy's for our last dinner before flying home. I got Matt's Melt and my Mom got the pork sliders. Both were delicious. I would highly suggest!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Surprised

vip
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on April 14, 2016

I dined in the evening during the week. I really enjoyed the small steak with great spiced mashed potatoes. The develed eggs appetizer was very good. My service was pleasant and attentive. I noticed they have great staff. I plan on returning whenever I am in Rapid City. This is a old building, just off the main street. Do not be fooled by the outside structure. You should go in and sample the menu.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

One night in Rapid City

vip
 (Montana)
·Dined on March 28, 2016

We were here on Easter for dinner. Pub was nice, our waiter was friendly and food served quickly. I had grilled chicken sandwich which would have been good but was over done and almost too dry to eat. Husband had bison meatloaf which he really enjoyed.

Tags: good for groups, great for lunch, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

What a treat. First time. Noon lunch.

 
 (Fargo)
·Dined on March 8, 2016

Already recommended to a friend. We're coming back for an evening meal sometime Fun atmosphere!!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch, late-night find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Fast service, friendly staff

 
·Dined on February 15, 2016

Fast service, friendly staff

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

The service was great, the waitress was ...

 
·Dined on February 15, 2016

The service was great, the waitress was very friendly and did a great job. The food was great but it could of been hotter. My compliments to the Chef but I am guessing it was setting to long before we got it. That was the only downfall of the night was the food was not hot enough.

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

New Years Eve

 
·Dined on January 1, 2016

Lobster overpriced, lobster max and cheese turned into a appetizer, disappointed. Server was good, but again very overpriced for what we got.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service5
value1

Thank you! We try to make it as much as ...

 
·Dined on December 6, 2015

Thank you! We try to make it as much as possible! Love upstairs and downstairs!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Food and Service was fantastic!!!!!!!

 
·Dined on December 5, 2015

Our waiter Adam was superb! Very tentative, respectful, made your dining experience all about you, good sense of humor and courteous. Honestly, his caliber of service was 5 star, he reminded me of waiters at High End Restaurants in Los Angeles, California. If you get a chance to have dinner at Murphy's Pub and Grill be sure to ask for Adam!!!!!!! I promise he will not let you down. Adam made sure his customers were takin care of to the fullest. I will dine at Murphy's again and try something new of the menu. The Buffalo Meat loaf was great and so was the Elk Stroganoff. Meal presentation was on point. The may be considered high for some, but the quality and quantity is well worth it. Something else that is cool about Murphy's is, you can make reservations using the "Open Table" app. Of course you can call to make reservations, but the app is handy too.

Let's just say if you do not like the food, atmosphere and service you definitely need your head checked!

Thank you Adam for the great service!!!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, late-night find, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Sunday in Rapid City

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on October 26, 2015

We had dined during the week for lunch at the sister restaurant Kol on Main Street which was very good and a great lunch spot. Burgers, Pizzas and Paninis. Murphys was the only restaurant in town we found to be open on Sunday night. They claim to close at 9 but 10 seemed to be more realistic. Salads and soups were all well received. Fresh cooked chips served with Buffalo Sauce and Blue Cheese was a great shared starter. I had Lamb Shepherds pie which was excellent, Burgers and Sandwiches were also very good. Dessert was huge disappointment. Very dry Carrot cake was hidden with Strawberries and Whipped Cream. Creme Brulee had a nice crisp top but was soup in the bowl, it was sent back. The Carrot cake should have gone back too.

Tags: great for brunch, great for lunch, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Beyond the menu

 
 (Jackson Hole)
·Dined on October 18, 2015

Susan made our meal more enjoyable by getting the bartender and cook to come thru with items no longer on the late afternoon menu...spicey bloody mary's with a side of fried sausage that were seemingly odd but delicious! We would have them again. There were no onion rings on the menu and she had the cook make some...they should be on the menu. FUN place to eat and the food was good...it's good bar food!

Tags: good for groups, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5

Buffalo meatloaf was moist, flavorful, e ...

vip
 (Detroit)
·Dined on September 28, 2015

Buffalo meatloaf was moist, flavorful, excellent. Terrific beer on tap.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Worst timing

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on September 22, 2015

Had a party of four, and had to wait for food more then an hour. Finally received food, but two of the party got theirs and the others still waited for 15 minutes. Finally received meal and meat was well-done ordered medium rare, sent it back and had to wait another forty five minutes. The food was good, but the timing was awful. Our whole party couldn't enjoy because people were eating while the others weren't and one had to bring their meal home.

Noticed it wasn't just our table, but it was happening to others. Noticed one table just left because the wait for food was horrible. Then another table couldn't get a drink correctly done. It was sent back three times.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1

Great time!

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 21, 2015

We had a great meal and great service, with Jen as our waitress. The buffalo meatloaf was to die for!!!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5

Good but loud

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on September 19, 2015

My wife and I went to dinner with visiting friends to catch up. The atmosphere was perfect. We had to talk a bit loud to be heard but that was ok. The service was great and the food excellent. My wife enjoyed the Shepard's Pie and I had the open faced buffalo meatloaf sandwich. Our friends had the salmon salad and watermelon pulled pork BBQ, which were all were excellent. We will definitely go back.

Tags: good for groups, great for lunch, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5

Local Bar scene

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on September 13, 2015

Lots of locals hanging out in this local bar. Great patio with fire pits and inside bar was rustic but well appointed. Little bit of a pick up joint, but didn't deter from the overall vibe. Food was good and it is a good place to stop on a road trip.

Tags: hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3

Elk can be tough!

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on September 6, 2015

The Elk Stroganoff was very tasty, but the meat was VERY tough.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3

Murphy's Pub Rapid City Sd

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on September 1, 2015

The Murphy Burger, Wings and Meatloaf Sandwich were great!

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, late-night find, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Not bad for pub food

vip
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on August 30, 2015

We stopped here on a one night layover in Rapid City and wanted a casual meal. The food was what we expected: hubby had the fish and chips, I had the pulled pork BBQ sandwich and sweet potato fries. Both meals were good and plentiful. Our waiter was exceptional, very friendly.

Tags: good for groups, great for lunch, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5

Nice place

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 11, 2015

While visiting Rapid City we went here for dinner. Super cool place, cool vibe. Great beer choices and options for kids. Food overall was decent, our waitress wasnt overly friendly but wouldn't stop me from going back.

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3

Mac

 
 (Key West)
·Dined on August 1, 2015

One thing was disappointing. Ordered a pint of Guinness and given a half ping! Was charged for a 16oz full pint twice. Maybe they just don't know the difference... Great food and place.

Tags: good for groups, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

All-round excellent

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on July 28, 2015

Would highly recommend eating here. Service and food top-notch! You won't be disappointed.

Tags: good for groups, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Food quality lower than expected

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 22, 2015

Our medium-rare steaks have been served cold. Manager advised us to have the meat well-done to ensure that the steaks are warm also in the middle. Couldn't believe to hear that. However, the we received new steaks which were better but not excellent. Based on the various reviews I have read before visiting this place I did expect a much higher qulity of food.

Tags: good for groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service2

Glfr24

vip
 (Palm Springs)
·Dined on July 18, 2015

I had their sliced Granny Smith Apple/grilled onion cheeseburger. It might have been the best burger I have ever eaten.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Strange menu, trying too hard to be "fancy."

 
·Dined on July 17, 2015

Menu had no simple dishes on it. Sauces I had never heard of, sides no one in the Dakotas eats, strange combinations on dinner choices. Seasoned potato wedges were great, but my medium-well burger was still bleeding.

Great place if you plan on drinking with friends or hordes of tourists, but I'll stick with local diners for food.

Tags: late-night find, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4

A good RC staple

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on July 4, 2015

Always a great place to meet a friend, have lunch or take out of town family/guests. Food was great and they have a few very nice craft beers.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

totally 100% great experiance

 
 (Western NC)
·Dined on June 22, 2015

Our waiter (I believe his name was Mark) was very attentive, friendly, and knowledgeable about things to do in Rapid City. A must do when in town.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.