Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.04mi
  2. Distance: 0.11mi
  3. Distance: 0.31mi
  4. Distance: 0.31mi
  1. Distance: 0.04mi
  2. Distance: 0.11mi
  3. Distance: 0.31mi
  4. Distance: 0.31mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.04mi
  2. Distance: 0.11mi
  3. Distance: 0.31mi
  4. Distance: 0.31mi
  1. Distance: 0.04mi
  2. Distance: 0.11mi
  3. Distance: 0.31mi
  4. Distance: 0.31mi

About Murphy's Pub and Grill

Our goal is to take all the welcoming & inviting attributes of a local pub, and combine it with the passion, creativity and selection more typically found in a modern restaurant. We have 26 beers on tap, cocktails inspired by the top list in the country, and unique takes on pub & comfort food made with fresh & seasonal and local ingredients.

510 9th Street
Rapid City, SD 57701
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Gastro Pub, Comfort Food, American

Hours of Operation:


Lunch: Monday - Saturday: 11:00am - 4:30pm, Sunday: 12:00 pm - 4:30pm

Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 4:30pm - 12:00am, Friday & Saturday: 4:30pm - 2:00am, Sunday: 4:30pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
Main Street/9th St

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(605) 791-2244

Website:
http://www.murphyspubandgrill.com/

Entertainment:
Check our events calendar at murphyspubandgrill.com for upcoming shows.

Executive Chef:
Jeff Butler

Private Party Facilities:
We offer two spaces for private functions ranging in size from 60 and under to 130 and under.

Private Party Contact:
Allesha Cortez: (605) 393-5931

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Dancing, Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Murphy's Pub and Grill Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.0

ambience

4.4

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

80% would recommend it to a friend

Casual (9)
Bar Seating (6)
Vibrant Bar Scene (5)
See All
Late-night Find (4)
Fun (4)
Great Beer (4)
Authentic (4)
Comfort Food (4)
Local Ingredients (4)
Great for Lunch (4)
Great for Outdoor Dining (4)
Quick Bite (4)
Hot Spot (4)
Business Meals (3)
Good for a Date (3)
Live Sports (3)
Neighborhood Gem (3)
Special Occasion (3)
Tasting Menu (3)
Happy Hour (2)
Worth the Drive (1)
Good for Birthdays (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Cozy (1)
Creative Cuisine (1)
Fit for Foodies (1)
Good for Anniversaries (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Healthy (1)
Notable Wine List (1)
Organic (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Spicy (1)
Good for Groups (1)
Sort By:
S
124 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 11, 2017

Fun service good portions nice size servicers friendly and good

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
·Dined on August 24, 2017

We were on a tour and made reservations for Murphy's based on reviews we read on line before our trip started. The food was great, especially the Bison Meatloaf. I would highly recommend making Murphy's a place to pop in and enjoy. We enjoyed it so much, we went there 3 times in two days!

Tags: Casual, Local Ingredients, Tasting Menu, Good for Groups, Spicy, Cozy, Fun, Authentic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Great Beer, Late-night Find, Good for Anniversaries, Comfort Food, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 22, 2017

Great beer and wine selection, very creative and extensive menu, the food surpassed our expectations. It was tasty and nice presentation. We were in Rapid City 3 nights and ate there twice. Went there because of the reviews and we weren't disappointed. Highly recommend it.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Comfort Food, Live Sports, Hot Spot, Bar Seating, Quick Bite, Casual, Fun, Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Great Beer, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 20, 2017

Great menu with lots of different types of food that are unique and original in addition to the normal pub food. We had an attentative and great waitress. She offered some great recommendations which we took and were very happy with. Highly recommend it. We are going back again tonight on our final day in town.

Tags: Great Beer, Tasting Menu, Vibrant Bar Scene, Local Ingredients, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 11, 2017

No thanks. Idk why anyone would like it. I had the bbq pulled pork, very spicey, the coleslaw was disgusting. Tried the meatloaf which tasted like hamburger. A waste of money. Hardle saw the waiter.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1
value1

vip
 (Jackson Hole)·Dined on August 11, 2017

We took our daughters here while vacationing in the area. The service (Bryce was our server) was excellent and the food was delicious. We had the dirty chips and the sausage sampler for starters, salmon salad, open face meatloaf sandwich, pulled pork sandwich and the kids mac & cheese and everyone was very pleased. Lovely patio.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Casual, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 9, 2017

Business meal for 10 people. Since private room was not available, we were offered the patio and took that. Setup was done before our arrival and quickly greeted. Meal arrived promptly and waiter was cordial, but not attentive after delivering food -- possibly because he could see that we were in discussion and did not want to interrupt, but we needed catsup that we had to go inside to get and took a long time for drink refills. Still overall experience was great and we would return. On a personal note, I dropped my cloth napkin and when I went to retrieve it, it was covered with dog hair. Are dogs allowed on the patio dining area?

Tags: Local Ingredients, Fun, Organic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on August 5, 2017

We ordered drinks. Later we ordered appetizers and dinner. Appetizers were served before the drinks. Server didn't pay attention.

Tags: Quick Bite, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 31, 2017

We had a 445 reservation. Arrived at 4:40 and hostess told us the server was slammed and we would have to wait but not too long. We were seated at 5:05 and at 5:13 when no one had even acknowledged our presence, I got up and asked for a manager- turned out I was talking to my server and he said he would be right over- when he came over a few minutes later, he gave us water- we had already taken menus from hostess station so we asked to order right away- I asked for the salmon, waiter said they were out of it- we took it as a sign an politely excused ourselves. Went to Dakota steakhouse and had a DELICIOUS and well tended meal!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Denver)·Dined on July 23, 2017

Our go to local eatery for fun, lively atmosphere and excellent choices. A large full menu, always excellent food and good selection of beers and wine. I've never been served a bad meal. The servers are terrific. Obviously time is spent hiring and training their staff and there is little turnover. The restaurant and patio are always full and full of energy.

Tags: Healthy, Comfort Food, Late-night Find, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on July 23, 2017

Murphy's is always a great spot to take visitors. Good service, good food and great ambience.

Tags: Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Casual, Bar Seating, Vibrant Bar Scene, Pre/post Theatre, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on July 3, 2017

You get a lot of food for the price, but my meatloaf was dry.

The waitress wasn't attentive, and we had to stop her multiple times to ask her for something that she forgot more than once.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value4

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on June 23, 2017

Food was good but it took forever to get my main course. I think they were slammed because the Travel Channel was filming earlier in the evening, but still...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on June 8, 2017

The food was unbelievable what was better than the food was the service! Our waiter was amazing, the food came out so quickly. A definite place to come back to time & time again.

Tags: Authentic, Vibrant Bar Scene, Fun, Good for a Date, Tasting Menu, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on June 2, 2017

We loved this place. Great food and an extensive selection of bottled and draft beer. This is a restored old brick building with lots of room and seating at tables and the bar and feels very comfortable.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

 
 (South Dakota)·Dined on May 27, 2017

We love the food at Murphy's. Never had a bad meal. My favorite is the Shepard's Pie but the Buffalo Meatloaf is a strong second. Nice selection of beer on tap also. Staff are fun to deal with.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Casual, Live Sports, Comfort Food, Great for Lunch, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (South Dakota)·Dined on May 5, 2017

Good food, but the service was HORRIBLE. Went to the bar several times to get our drinks because our server was MIA most of the time. Different people brought our food out (and at different times) and was confused where it went because the ticket was missing a table number. For a table of 12 she missed out on a healthy tip.

Tags: Late-night Find, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value4

 
 (South Dakota)·Dined on April 29, 2017

The food was great. My eldest son found a review for greatest grilled cheese so we came. He was happy and enjoyed the sandwich. The food is great. It was a great family dinner.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

vip
 (Vancouver)·Dined on April 19, 2017

Lovely meal, great atmosphere and service, and excellent beer selection.

Tags: Casual, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 12, 2017

We were just passing through Rapid City and had a great experience! Our server was terrific. The food was very good and family friendly. They have a few good local brews on tap as well. If we are ever back in town, we will be back in a heartbeat!

Tags: Great Beer, Bar Seating, Fun, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (South Dakota)·Dined on April 2, 2017

Best ranch ever! Also, love the decor!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (South Dakota)·Dined on March 24, 2017

Excellent food and service. Had the bison meatloaf, perfect!

Tags: Comfort Food, Bar Seating, Good Vegetarian Options, Casual, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (South Dakota)·Dined on March 3, 2017

table was high table which was not good for our party as we had a handicapped person . also the service was very slow . had to continually ask for drinks , food , water

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service1
value5

 
 (South Dakota)·Dined on February 4, 2017

I had the buffalo meatloaf and fried pickles! The food was absolutely amazing, the service was incredible! I am eager to go back!

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Bar Seating, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Great Beer, Comfort Food, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Special Occasion, Casual, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (South Dakota)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Great food, Great location, Great service. Can't say enough about our evening out. We will be back to enjoy Murphy's Pub and Grill again!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Cozy, Outstanding Value, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Bar Seating, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (South Dakota)·Dined on January 19, 2017

We went during restaurant week, so they had some very nice, different entrees available. Have been many times for lunch as well. Service can be a little slow at times, but not too bad, and the food is always tasty and well prepared, with plenty of beer choices to pair it with.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Great Beer, Fun, People Watching, Vibrant Bar Scene, Casual, Bar Seating, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (South Dakota)·Dined on December 31, 2016

I go here a lot and the food is always amazing, and the service is always enthusiastic. The only downside sometimes is that even when you make a reservation in advance you still may end up at one of the tables with the "regular chairs" instead of the big cushy ones. But other than that, the drinks attention creative (and strong!) And the food is delicious. I've never had a bad thing on the menu in all the years I've been going.

Tags: Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Fun, Pre/post Theatre, Romantic, Comfort Food, Neighborhood Gem, Casual, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (South Dakota)·Dined on December 23, 2016

We went to Murphys on a Friday night. Had a reservation for 13 people, 5 of which were kids, ranging from age 2 to 15. No wait time. Everything was set up and ready for us. Service was excellent. Food was fast and soooo good! Love that they take your order on a handheld device right at the table. Everyone's order was exactly as ordered. Restaurant was clean and well maintained. Would definitely return in the future. Highly recommended!

Tags: Great Beer, Handcrafted Cocktails, Hot Spot, Bar Seating, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Fun, Cozy, Happy Hour, People Watching, Good for Groups, Worth the Drive, Authentic, Special Occasion, Kid-friendly, Casual, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (South Dakota)·Dined on December 20, 2016

The reservation was available for the time I had requested, with a nice "Reserved" sign on the table. The waiter was very attentive and friendly without being annoying, and the food was excellent.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (South Dakota)·Dined on December 18, 2016

Our family has enjoyed eating at Murphy's; Consistent quality of food, service, and atmosphere .

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

 
 (South Dakota)·Dined on September 24, 2016

Awesome food as always at Murphy's! Great beer selection. Our server was slammed, so he had a rough time keeping up with refills. He did apologize and take several items off the tab. We will return nonetheless. We like the variety of food options and the atmosphere, so it's going to continue to be a favorite.

Tags: Great Beer, Live Sports, Pre/post Theatre, Authentic, Good for a Date, Good Vegetarian Options, Healthy, Good for Birthdays, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 19, 2016

Odd sort of venue, - cross between a clubby room and a bar. Big TVs for watching whatever game is on. Loved the cushioned chairs on the far side of the bar. The buffalo meatloaf was really good and the steak I had was tasty. Dessert and sides were quite ordinary. Our server had far too many tables to pay any attention to us.

Tags: Quick Bite
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value3

 
 (Dunbartonshire)·Dined on September 18, 2016

If I could give this place no stars for all categories I would. For gastro pub read ghastly pub. Would love to tell you about the food but after 30 minutes with no server approaching us we walked out. Have never done this in any other Opentable establishment. DO NOT GO THERE.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1

 
 (Key West)·Dined on September 17, 2016

Big problem with server. After ordering was told my menu item was not available. Reordered and served. Food ok, but when bill received, both menu items on bill. Gave him credit card and told him about error. He left and after waiting almost 15 minutes, he returned and when my girlfriend asked him if he had lost card, he claimed computer was slow and still processing card. After another 10 minutes, he returned to say he had misplaced credit card. We asked him why he had lied, and after several minutes of apology and back and forth, including an offer of a free drink, he left. I contacted my credit card company, and while still on the phone with them, he returned again, now with card in hand. My girlfriend asked him if dinner was on him, and agreed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 16, 2016

Great place to have a calorie replacing meal and a chill evening after a long day of riding the hills!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on August 30, 2016

We liked it enough after our first visit to return the next night. They were out of buffalo meat loaf and elk stroganoff the first night, so we had tasty salmon on salad. The following night we had the buffalo meatloaf (still no stroganoff), which was outstanding. There was very little filler; portobello mushrooms were a terrific addition.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on August 29, 2016

My food was terrible. I went for a special occasion with my fiancé and was highly disappointed. I paid 16 dollars for a 6oz sirloin steak that was chewy like rubber and had no flavor. There was a huge mound of mashed potatoes on the plate which I guess they expected to be the main entrée. The steak was even sliced in pieces so there was no juice. I generally love this restaurant, but I would get a better steak off of the kids menu at Texas Roadhouse for less than 8 bucks. This place is so much better than that!

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Authentic, Comfort Food, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service4
value1

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on August 28, 2016

Great choice in downtown Rapid City. Food and service at a high level. Most wholeheartedly recommend

Tags: Great Beer, Comfort Food, Casual, Fun, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on August 26, 2016

I love Irish food and this food was great. The Shepard pie was among the best I ever had. My wife had the fish sliders and she loved it.

Tags: Comfort Food, Good for Groups, Outstanding Value, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on July 25, 2016

My sisters and I were very disappointed with our meal and service. We asked the server if the turkey was processed turkey and she said no. But when our sandwiches arrived, it was processed turkey. The service was extremely slow.

I cannot recommend Murphy's.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1
value1

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.