About Murphy's Pub and Grill

510 9th Street
Rapid City, SD 57701
View Larger Map

Our goal is to take all the welcoming & inviting attributes of a local pub, and combine it with the passion, creativity and selection more typically found in a modern restaurant. We have 26 beers on tap, cocktails inspired by the top list in the country, and unique takes on pub & comfort food made with fresh & seasonal and local ingredients.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Gastro Pub, Comfort Food, Irish

Hours of Operation:


Lunch: Monday - Saturday: 11:00am - 4:30pm, Sunday: 12:00 pm - 4:30pm

Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 4:30pm - 12:00am, Friday & Saturday: 4:30pm - 2:00am, Sunday: 4:30pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
Main Street/9th St

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(605) 791-2244

Website:
http://www.murphyspubandgrill.com/

Entertainment:
Check our events calendar at murphyspubandgrill.com for upcoming shows.

Executive Chef:
Jeff Butler

Private Party Facilities:
We offer two spaces for private functions ranging in size from 60 and under to 130 and under.

Private Party Contact:
Allesha Cortez: 6053935931

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Dancing, Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking Area, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine, Wine Bar

Restaurant Photos

Murphy's Pub and Grill Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.7

ambience

4.4

noise

Moderate

100% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Most Booked
South Dakota
Most Booked
Rapid City
Best Restaurants in Rapid City ›

good for groups (19)
fit for foodies (10)
neighborhood gem (10)
See All
great for outdoor dining (8)
vibrant bar scene (8)
great for lunch (8)
special occasion (7)
late-night find (6)
hot spot (5)
romantic (2)
kid-friendly (2)
Sort By:
Newest
73 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Murphys

Dined on April 30, 2016

Met some friends for dinner. Had a really great meal, service was fantastic.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food3
ambience2
service2
value2

It's Alright

vip
Dined on April 27, 2016

Went there for dinner while I was on business. It appears to be a more local place. It took quite a while until someone came by to wait on me. They weren't real busy, but the service was not as good as I would like to see. I will be back in town in another month. I probably will not go back.

food5
ambience5
service5

My Mom and I were visiting SD for vacati ...

vip
Dined on April 19, 2016

My Mom and I were visiting SD for vacation so we stopped in Murphy's for our last dinner before flying home. I got Matt's Melt and my Mom got the pork sliders. Both were delicious. I would highly suggest!

food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Surprised

vip
Dined on April 14, 2016

I dined in the evening during the week. I really enjoyed the small steak with great spiced mashed potatoes. The develed eggs appetizer was very good. My service was pleasant and attentive. I noticed they have great staff. I plan on returning whenever I am in Rapid City. This is a old building, just off the main street. Do not be fooled by the outside structure. You should go in and sample the menu.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

One night in Rapid City

vip
Dined on March 28, 2016

We were here on Easter for dinner. Pub was nice, our waiter was friendly and food served quickly. I had grilled chicken sandwich which would have been good but was over done and almost too dry to eat. Husband had bison meatloaf which he really enjoyed.

Tags: good for groups, great for lunch, vibrant bar scene
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

What a treat. First time. Noon lunch.

Dined on March 8, 2016

Already recommended to a friend. We're coming back for an evening meal sometime Fun atmosphere!!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch, late-night find
food5
ambience4
service5

Fast service, friendly staff

Dined on February 15, 2016

Fast service, friendly staff

food4
ambience5
service5
value4

The service was great, the waitress was ...

Dined on February 15, 2016

The service was great, the waitress was very friendly and did a great job. The food was great but it could of been hotter. My compliments to the Chef but I am guessing it was setting to long before we got it. That was the only downfall of the night was the food was not hot enough.

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion
food2
ambience3
service5
value1

New Years Eve

Dined on January 1, 2016

Lobster overpriced, lobster max and cheese turned into a appetizer, disappointed. Server was good, but again very overpriced for what we got.

food5
ambience5
service5

Thank you! We try to make it as much as ...

Dined on December 6, 2015

Thank you! We try to make it as much as possible! Love upstairs and downstairs!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5

Food and Service was fantastic!!!!!!!

Dined on December 5, 2015

Our waiter Adam was superb! Very tentative, respectful, made your dining experience all about you, good sense of humor and courteous. Honestly, his caliber of service was 5 star, he reminded me of waiters at High End Restaurants in Los Angeles, California. If you get a chance to have dinner at Murphy's Pub and Grill be sure to ask for Adam!!!!!!! I promise he will not let you down. Adam made sure his customers were takin care of to the fullest. I will dine at Murphy's again and try something new of the menu. The Buffalo Meat loaf was great and so was the Elk Stroganoff. Meal presentation was on point. The may be considered high for some, but the quality and quantity is well worth it. Something else that is cool about Murphy's is, you can make reservations using the "Open Table" app. Of course you can call to make reservations, but the app is handy too. Let's just say if you do not like the food, atmosphere and service you definitely need your head checked! Thank you Adam for the great service!!!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, late-night find, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service4

Sunday in Rapid City

vip
Dined on October 26, 2015

We had dined during the week for lunch at the sister restaurant Kol on Main Street which was very good and a great lunch spot. Burgers, Pizzas and Paninis. Murphys was the only restaurant in town we found to be open on Sunday night. They claim to close at 9 but 10 seemed to be more realistic. Salads and soups were all well received. Fresh cooked chips served with Buffalo Sauce and Blue Cheese was a great shared starter. I had Lamb Shepherds pie which was excellent, Burgers and Sandwiches were also very good. Dessert was huge disappointment. Very dry Carrot cake was hidden with Strawberries and Whipped Cream. Creme Brulee had a nice crisp top but was soup in the bowl, it was sent back. The Carrot cake should have gone back too.

Tags: great for brunch, great for lunch, vibrant bar scene
food3
ambience4
service5

Beyond the menu

Dined on October 18, 2015

Susan made our meal more enjoyable by getting the bartender and cook to come thru with items no longer on the late afternoon menu...spicey bloody mary's with a side of fried sausage that were seemingly odd but delicious! We would have them again. There were no onion rings on the menu and she had the cook make some...they should be on the menu. FUN place to eat and the food was good...it's good bar food!

Tags: good for groups, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service5

Buffalo meatloaf was moist, flavorful, e ...

vip
Dined on September 28, 2015

Buffalo meatloaf was moist, flavorful, excellent. Terrific beer on tap.

food3
ambience3
service1

Worst timing

Dined on September 22, 2015

Had a party of four, and had to wait for food more then an hour. Finally received food, but two of the party got theirs and the others still waited for 15 minutes. Finally received meal and meat was well-done ordered medium rare, sent it back and had to wait another forty five minutes. The food was good, but the timing was awful. Our whole party couldn't enjoy because people were eating while the others weren't and one had to bring their meal home. Noticed it wasn't just our table, but it was happening to others. Noticed one table just left because the wait for food was horrible. Then another table couldn't get a drink correctly done. It was sent back three times.

food5
ambience3
service5

Great time!

vip
Dined on September 21, 2015

We had a great meal and great service, with Jen as our waitress. The buffalo meatloaf was to die for!!!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for lunch
food5
ambience3
service5

Good but loud

Dined on September 19, 2015

My wife and I went to dinner with visiting friends to catch up. The atmosphere was perfect. We had to talk a bit loud to be heard but that was ok. The service was great and the food excellent. My wife enjoyed the Shepard's Pie and I had the open faced buffalo meatloaf sandwich. Our friends had the salmon salad and watermelon pulled pork BBQ, which were all were excellent. We will definitely go back.

Tags: good for groups, great for lunch, vibrant bar scene
food3
ambience3
service3

Local Bar scene

Dined on September 13, 2015

Lots of locals hanging out in this local bar. Great patio with fire pits and inside bar was rustic but well appointed. Little bit of a pick up joint, but didn't deter from the overall vibe. Food was good and it is a good place to stop on a road trip.

Tags: hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food3
ambience5
service3

Elk can be tough!

Dined on September 6, 2015

The Elk Stroganoff was very tasty, but the meat was VERY tough.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience4
service5

Murphy's Pub Rapid City Sd

Dined on September 1, 2015

The Murphy Burger, Wings and Meatloaf Sandwich were great!

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, late-night find, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food3
ambience3
service5

Not bad for pub food

Dined on August 30, 2015

We stopped here on a one night layover in Rapid City and wanted a casual meal. The food was what we expected: hubby had the fish and chips, I had the pulled pork BBQ sandwich and sweet potato fries. Both meals were good and plentiful. Our waiter was exceptional, very friendly.

Tags: good for groups, great for lunch, vibrant bar scene
food4
ambience5
service3

Nice place

vip
Dined on August 11, 2015

While visiting Rapid City we went here for dinner. Super cool place, cool vibe. Great beer choices and options for kids. Food overall was decent, our waitress wasnt overly friendly but wouldn't stop me from going back.

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
food4
ambience5
service5

Mac

Dined on August 1, 2015

One thing was disappointing. Ordered a pint of Guinness and given a half ping! Was charged for a 16oz full pint twice. Maybe they just don't know the difference... Great food and place.

Tags: good for groups, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5

All-round excellent

Dined on July 28, 2015

Would highly recommend eating here. Service and food top-notch! You won't be disappointed.

Tags: good for groups, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
food1
ambience3
service2

Food quality lower than expected

Dined on July 22, 2015

Our medium-rare steaks have been served cold. Manager advised us to have the meat well-done to ensure that the steaks are warm also in the middle. Couldn't believe to hear that. However, the we received new steaks which were better but not excellent. Based on the various reviews I have read before visiting this place I did expect a much higher qulity of food.

Tags: good for groups
food5
ambience5
service5

Glfr24

vip
Dined on July 18, 2015

I had their sliced Granny Smith Apple/grilled onion cheeseburger. It might have been the best burger I have ever eaten.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food2
ambience3
service4

Strange menu, trying too hard to be "fancy."

Dined on July 17, 2015

Menu had no simple dishes on it. Sauces I had never heard of, sides no one in the Dakotas eats, strange combinations on dinner choices. Seasoned potato wedges were great, but my medium-well burger was still bleeding. Great place if you plan on drinking with friends or hordes of tourists, but I'll stick with local diners for food.

Tags: late-night find, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food4
ambience5
service4

A good RC staple

Dined on July 4, 2015

Always a great place to meet a friend, have lunch or take out of town family/guests. Food was great and they have a few very nice craft beers.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

totally 100% great experiance

Dined on June 22, 2015

Our waiter (I believe his name was Mark) was very attentive, friendly, and knowledgeable about things to do in Rapid City. A must do when in town.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food4
ambience3
service1

Good food but horrible service. I sat f ...

vip
Dined on June 17, 2015

Good food but horrible service. I sat for 10 minutes before even getting a menu. Waiter never checked on me after my food was delivered. 30 minutes after I was finished eating still no waiter. I had to flag someone down to find waiter to get my check. Worst service I have ever received.

food5
ambience5
service5

Perfect end to a 30 night trip.

Dined on June 5, 2015

Very comfortable seats, great servers and excellent food. One of the best rib-eyes ever.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service5

Great experience, outstanding food

Dined on June 2, 2015

If you go, you MUST order the Mac & Cheese, Thor style. Unbelievably good.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, hot spot
food3
ambience4
service5

Great, attentive service. Need better q ...

vip
Dined on January 15, 2015

Great, attentive service. Need better quality wines. Willing to pay more for better wine. Would visit regularly if had better wine.

food5
ambience5
service5

The food is fun and tasty

vip
Dined on November 22, 2014

This place is just pure fun and on weekends ask about the hidden speakeasy you may get lucky and gain access drinks food and service top par and enjoyable environment that just hops in the main dining room. Just worth a visit!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5

Really a local hotspot

vip
Dined on November 20, 2014

The food is really interesting. Full menu so a grand dinner is available but top notch bar food too! It's really a place to visit while in Rapid city the bar is great mixologists too!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience4
service5

Not the Murphy's of 1960's

Dined on September 24, 2014

This eating establishment. Drinking establishment. It has a well varied choice of diners. It is located about 2 blocks west of 8th street ( touristly known as Mt Rushmore Road. Parking is iffy. but Street parking is easy. Be sure to have coins because it is metered parking. and Rapid City cops are HOT ON those whose meter time is up.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5

I was on vacation when I visited Murphy' ...

Dined on September 15, 2014

I was on vacation when I visited Murphy's Pub. If I lived in the area this would be a place I would frequent.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, late-night find, hot spot
food3
ambience3
service4

Fun after work atmosphere

Dined on September 6, 2014

Tried Murphys primary because we were traveling with our pooch, and she was accepted on the patio-so I can not attest to the inside dining experience. Outside was very nice, and if we had stayed later, I noticed they had nice fire pits. In reading some previous reviews I noted that many complained about the service...I didn't see any problems with the staff...matter of fact, they were almost on overkill checking to see if we were happy with our food...so maybe someone did pay attention! So outside was really nice, food good....servers attentive. Inside looked very nice, would return if we lived there.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience4
service3

Great local restaurant

Dined on July 30, 2014

We dined here while visiting from Denver. Amazing beer selection. The food was delicious! We tried the sausage appetizer, the elk stroganoff and kids had hand-made burgers. Great flavors! Hostess was new and clueless. Left us waiting 3 times at hostess stand to ask where to seat us. Not enough wait staff.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience5
service5

Fabulous

Dined on July 29, 2014

Our waiter was great, speedy and attentive. But he was in charge of like 15 tables.... He kept up but I was suprised he had to do it alone. Well, I guess more tips for him. Love the ambience and food! Will definitely come again. Reccomend to anyone and everyone for lunch to happy hour :)

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.