About Muriel's Jackson Square

801 Chartres Street
New Orleans, LA 70116
View Larger Map

The Bistro at Muriel’s Jackson Square offers New Orleans classics like Gumbo, BBQ Shrimp, Oysters "Muriel", Turtle soup, Fried Gulf Shrimp Po-boy, Crabmeat Imperial, Shrimp Remoulade & contemporary Creole cuisine like Pecan Crusted Drum & Wood Grilled Tuna while the Courtyard Bar is the perfect place to drop by for drinks & appetizers. The Séance Lounge is the place for a relaxed, comfortable meeting before or after dining. Comprised of two areas, The Outer & The Inner Séance, the Séance also tells the story of a mystic & checkered past. The Outer Séance addresses the New Orleans era of Storyville & when Muriel's Jackson Square was one of the French Quarter's best bordellos! The Inner Séance is the preferred domain of the resident ghost, Pierre Antoine Lepardi Jourdan, & is the perfect spot for an intimate conversation & a drink amongst its plush surroundings.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Creole / Cajun / Southern

Hours of Operation:
Dinner served daily: Monday - Saturday 5:30pm - 10:00pm and Sunday 5:00pm - 10:00pm
Lunch: Monday - Saturday 11:30am - 2:30pm
Sunday Jazz Brunch 11:00am -2:00pm

Cross Street:
St. Ann

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(504) 568-1885

Website:
http://www.muriels.com/

Parking Details:
Muriel's Jackson Square validates up to 2 hours parking at the French Market parking lot, behind Cafe du Monde.

Executive Chef:
Gus Martin

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Private Room, Takeout, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Crawfish And Goat Cheese Crepes
flank steak salad
Stuffed Mirliton
Gulf Shrimp Risotto
Bread
Chocolate Special
Fontana's West End Turtle Soup
Duck Brioche
flourless chocolate cake
Shrimp & Goat Cheese Crepes
Gorgonzola Proscuitto Tart
Pecan Crusted Puppy Drum
Pain Perdue Bread Pudding
Seafood Bayoubaisse
Honey Child
Blueberry Cobbler
Pecan Pie w/ Bourbon Caramel Sauce
Seafood Au Gratin
Shrimp And Goat Cheese Crepes
Macadamia Nut Bread Pudding
Manchego Pomegranate Salad
Bread Pudding
Wood Grilled Lamb Chops
Duck
Seafood Stew
Blackened Redfish With Blue Crab
Alligator Hash With Poached Eggs
Fleur De Lis
Spinach Salad
Caramel Bread Pudding
Shrimp And Jumbo Lump Crab Salad
Sazerac
Goat Cheese Crepe With Crawfish Sauce
Crabmeat Imperial
Wood Grilled Tournedos Of Beef
Carnival Time
Chocolate Covered Cherry Martini.
Crawfish Etouffee
Cream Cheese Ice Cream
Yellowfin Tuna Carpaccio
Spicy Bloody Mary
BBQ Shrimp
Creme Brulee
Chorizo Omlette
Cobb Salad
Shrimps and grits
Double Cut Pork Chop
Turtle Soup
Banana Walnut Bread Pudding French Toast
Gumbo
Spinach and Pear Salad
Red Velvet Cheesecake
seafood gumbo
Redfish Cake
Escargots Orleans
Apple Cinnamon Crepes
Wood Grilled Asparagus
Crepes
Pecan Crusted Alligator
Turtle Soup With Sherry
Black Bottom Chocolate Butterscotch Pudding
Pecan Crusted Alligator W/Mirliton Slaw And Cane Pepper-Jelly
Turtle Soup au Sherry
Vanilla Bean Creme Brulee
Maple Leaf Duck Salad
Shrimp Creole
Haricots Vert
Iced Irish Coffee
Yangarra 2011 Shiraz
Fillet Mignon w/ Twice Baked Potatoe
Shrimp And Andouille Omelette
Cajin Shrimp
crab cake
Brownie w/peanut butter sauce
Speckled Trout W/Peppery Ceab Stuffing

Private Dining

A private party at Muriel’s offers a provocative sensory experience that exceeds the thrill of traditional dining. Guests will be immersed in a world of refinement and revelry that reflects the rich historical, cultural, and culinary character of the Crescent City.

Muriel's Jackson Square Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.6

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Creole / Cajun / Southern
New Orleans
Best Restaurants in French Quarter ›

Special Occasion (176)
Romantic (148)
Fit for Foodies (123)
See All
Neighborhood Gem (94)
Good for Groups (79)
Great for Lunch (68)
Scenic View (63)
Great for Brunch (62)
Notable Wine List (55)
Historic (42)
Hot Spot (40)
Good for a Date (31)
Authentic (22)
Good for Anniversaries (22)
Creative Cuisine (22)
Good for Birthdays (20)
Business Meals (17)
Local Ingredients (17)
Sunday Lunch (14)
Vibrant Bar Scene (12)
Worth the Drive (12)
Quiet Conversation (12)
Late-night Find (11)
Outstanding Value (10)
People Watching (10)
Kid-friendly (10)
Pre/post Theatre (10)
Cozy (9)
Handcrafted Cocktails (8)
Fun (8)
Great for Outdoor Dining (8)
Bar Seating (7)
Live Music (6)
Seasonal (5)
Comfort Food (5)
Private Room (5)
Casual (5)
Gluten Free Options (5)
Tasting Menu (4)
Healthy (3)
Modern Decor (3)
Family Style (3)
Fireplace (3)
Waterfront (2)
Afternoon Coffee (2)
Happy Hour (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Live Sports (1)
Vegan (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Spicy (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Organic (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Sort By:
Newest
3832 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Such a fun environment and staff! Seance ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined 2 days ago

Such a fun environment and staff! Seance room was very ice and spooky

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We visit Muriel's every time we visit Ne ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined 5 days ago

We visit Muriel's every time we visit New Orleans!

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

In New Orleans come here...enjoy the mea ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined 6 days ago

In New Orleans come here...enjoy the meal...and make sure to go upstairs...

Tags: Local Ingredients, Outstanding Value, Business Meals, Neighborhood Gem, Historic, Bar Seating, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We planned a business meal for a moderat ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined 6 days ago

We planned a business meal for a moderate size group at Muriel's. The service was excellent and we will all seated on time with no wait. We had two servers for the entire meal that left no glasses empty and answered the many questions about that menu that our visitors had. The entire group was pleased with the meal and the excellent service we received. I would highly recommend Muriel's as a Business Dinner location in New Orleans.

Tags: Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We are locals and really enjoyed dinner ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on September 18, 2016

We are locals and really enjoyed dinner at Muriel's. Went for restaurant week.

Tags: Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

We always enjoy dining at Muriel's! The ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on September 18, 2016

We always enjoy dining at Muriel's! The food and service are consistently excellent. I never hesitate to recommend this restaurant to others.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The building alone makes eating here wor ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on September 18, 2016

The building alone makes eating here worthwhile. But the food is great too!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

WE visited New Orleans and ate here twic ...

 
 (Orlando)
·Dined on September 18, 2016

WE visited New Orleans and ate here twice - once for lunch and once for dinner. I'm a huge pork fan. Got the doublecut pork chops and have to say they were outstanding. My wife got the Filet, which was very good as well. The place is a little pricey, but you expect that in high end restaurants, so it was not outlandish. I'll go back next time I'm in NOLA. Highly recommend this place if fine dining is what you're after.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Business Meals, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We've been to NOLA several times but not ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on September 18, 2016

We've been to NOLA several times but not recently so I did what we all do and checked out Trip Advisor reviews. Muriel's was FANTASTIC!!! I can't say enough good things about it. The ambiance is wonderful and the food worth 10 stars. It's not a drop- in and eat kind of place, save it for a night when you visit NOLA when you want to really enjoy a meal in a lovely setting. Make a reservation before you go!

Tags: Bar Seating, Late-night Find, Romantic, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Love warm feeling in main dining room. L ...

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on September 18, 2016

Love warm feeling in main dining room. Lots of energy so it's a slight bit noisy but that's the fun. Request smaller front area if quieter preferred. Food always wonderful. Bar especially great for mid- late afternoon cocktails, appetizers. Deby

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Healthy, Historic, Fun, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Awesome food and a great NOLA experience ...

 
 (Alabama)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

Awesome food and a great NOLA experience. Great service and friendly professional staff. Learned of the history and a special story about a table setting in the restaurant.

Tags: Romantic, Notable Wine List, Authentic, Waterfront, Hot Spot, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We have now made a family tradition - th ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

We have now made a family tradition - the first day of arrival to New Orleans our first meal is at Muriel's. The service is always awesome! Our servers Courtney and Travis did a wonderful job and we look forward to our next trip.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Birthday dinner celebration at the Ghost ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

Birthday dinner celebration at the Ghost Table. (cost an extra $50)

Service was extremely poor. Nothing special about sitting at the ghost table, no story given, no special service, NOTHING and I mean nothing was given or said, I feel that we would have been better off sitting in the main dining room.

Poor location for table. The "intimate" table was placed for constant viewing by those taking "ghost tours" and viewing of the "red room". People pearing through windows to take pictures of the table as we were eating and then constant interruptions by those walking up and down the stairs that wrap around the table to take pictures of the red room.

Complete waste of money and time. Really was looking forward to the ghost table and all that I was led to believe that Muriels had to offer. Very disappointed and I would not recommend this restaurant to anyone.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

Nice French quarter restaurant with a lo ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

Nice French quarter restaurant with a lot of history. My husband and I really enjoyed the meal. I found it a bit noisy, on our next visit we will opt for a quieter area near the bar.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value4

If you're looking for great service, qua ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

If you're looking for great service, quality and delicious food and drinks, Muriel's is the place to go.

Tags: People Watching, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Historic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Everything we expected of an upscale New ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

Everything we expected of an upscale New Orleans restaurant. Just the right amount of service, great local cuisine, and down home "Nawlins" selections.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Me and My Family had a very nice time ,I ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on September 16, 2016

Me and My Family had a very nice time ,It was my Wife's Birthday, we were all pleased with the Food , and Ambiance . When the Weather get cooler we'll be back for a Sunday Brunch on the Balcony.

Tags: Outstanding Value, Scenic View, Good for Groups, Casual, Cozy, Historic, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Amazing Place, it was our last restauran ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on September 15, 2016

Amazing Place, it was our last restaurant we ate at while visiting New Orleans. Perfect way to end our trip... Food and staff were amazing 5 stars all around.

Tags: Good for Groups, Healthy, Sunday Lunch, Private Room, Fit for Foodies, Business Meals, Historic, Tasting Menu, Afternoon Coffee, Local Ingredients, Great for Brunch, Cozy, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Love the pecan-crusted drum! Highly reco ...

vip
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on September 15, 2016

Love the pecan-crusted drum! Highly recommend Muriel's for an authentic and memorable New Orleans meal.

Tags: Good for a Date, Historic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent! Always include Muriel's when ...

 
 (Memphis)
·Dined on September 15, 2016

Excellent! Always include Muriel's when we visit NOLA

Tags: Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We ate at many fine restaurants on our t ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 15, 2016

We ate at many fine restaurants on our trip to NOLA, but this was one of our favorites. The food, drinks, and service were outstanding. It a beautiful restaurant with a lovely courtyard in a great location. They were easily able to accommodate gluten allergies.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Gluten Free Options, Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent restaurant. High end French cu ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on September 14, 2016

Excellent restaurant. High end French cuisine but also has reasonably priced selections. Service is outstanding. Old world French Quarter venue. Excellent ambiance. Food was unique and perfectly prepared. Highly recommend it.

Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, Quiet Conversation, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Historic, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

My first visit to New Orleans and my fir ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on September 14, 2016

My first visit to New Orleans and my first meal was at Murial's. Amazing! So worth the money, and I'm not a foodie! Try the Fried Green Tomatoes. So delicious. And ask about their resident ghost, Pierre.

Tags: Business Meals, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Good for Birthdays, Comfort Food, Sunday Lunch, Great for Lunch, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Romantic, Pre/post Theatre, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This is a great place the service was im ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on September 14, 2016

This is a great place the service was impeccable. The staff is super friendly and happy to help. The food was delicious classic new orleans cuisine. The restaurant itself is beautiful and the definition of new Orleans style.

Tags: Special Occasion, Scenic View, Historic, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

This was a charming restaurant with grea ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on September 14, 2016

This was a charming restaurant with great ambiance. The restaurant was very noisy due to a large party. Although the food looked good, it was just average. Will probably not try again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Great location, tasty good and nice wait ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on September 13, 2016

Great location, tasty good and nice waitress

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Delicious food, horrendous staff & over ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on September 13, 2016

Delicious food, horrendous staff & overcharged!

20 min wait for menu but barely finished meals and plates swiped away.

Red wine served cold, was so much hassle for waiter for bottle to be left in kitchen for 10 mins to come to room temperature.

Waiter Estevan wipes top of wine bottle with hand after serving, this twice then we poured ourselves.

Double charged for both desserts when it was a set price for restaurant week.

Staff really let this place down as our food was fantastic.

If your waiter is Estevan ask for someone else!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service1
value3

Muriel's was recommended by a family me ...

 
 (Orlando)
·Dined on September 12, 2016

Muriel's was recommended by a family member who visits New Orleans quite often. We had a table for 10 people, at the last minute they were kind enough to include two more. I appreciated their flexibility. Everyone and I repeat everyone loved their appetizers. Even the salad was great. The main courses were delicious. Bread pudding and flourless chocolate cake rounded out the menu. We had two in our party who were gluten free. No problem! servers were patient with 12 people and divided the bill accordingly. I would highly recommend this restaurant.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Local Ingredients, Notable Wine List, Fireplace, Special Occasion, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was amazing. I had the double c ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on September 12, 2016

The food was amazing. I had the double cut pork chop, which was the best I have had. The staff struck a nice balance between being friendly and being professionally on point. I will return during my next visit to NOLA!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4

Our last meal in New Orleans before comi ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on September 12, 2016

Our last meal in New Orleans before coming home. Seafood crepes were delicious and my husband loved the gumbo. I had the park chop with rice and beans which was very good but very filling after having the crepes. My husband had the poached eggs with the duck hash and said it was delicious. we shared the blueberry desert which just baked and wonderful . The service was fantastic!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Sunday Jazz brunch was delightful. Eggs ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on September 11, 2016

Sunday Jazz brunch was delightful. Eggs Benedict cooked perfectly. Excellent Bloody Mary. The musicians were very good and the volume wasn't too loud for conversation at the table. Ask to see the table set for the ghosts. Really.

Tags: Historic, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Local Ingredients, Authentic, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Everything was perfect! The service, th ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on September 11, 2016

Everything was perfect! The service, the atmosphere and the food!

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Hot Spot, Historic, Local Ingredients, Great for Brunch, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Great for Lunch, Live Music, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

I get to New Orleans 3 to 4 times a year ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on September 11, 2016

I get to New Orleans 3 to 4 times a year, and Sunday brunch at Muriel's is an absolute requirement for me every time. The food is tremendous and the strolling band makes for an enjoyable ambience. The service is spot on and welcoming. If interested in Muriel's brunch, I'd suggest making reservations in advance.

Tags: Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Sunday Lunch, Romantic, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

I bring my feyonce there for her birthda ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on September 11, 2016

I bring my feyonce there for her birthday ,and she just fell until love with the place .from the hostess to the server was outstanding .the food was unbelievable .we love this place and will be hat again .

Tags: Authentic, Good for Groups, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Waterfront, Worth the Drive, Historic, Outstanding Value, Live Sports, Romantic, Good for a Date, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Went for a birthday/anniversary celebrat ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on September 11, 2016

Went for a birthday/anniversary celebration. Food was wonderful and service was great. Loved the ambiance.

Tags: Historic, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We were a group of 7 and everything weo ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

We were a group of 7 and everything weordered was delicious. Turtlesoup, crepes, drum, porkchops, steak, allfabulous. Saveroom for bread pudding, it'sthe bestin the south!

Tags: Business Meals, Historic, Romantic, Special Occasion, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Food was great! Service was great!! The ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

Food was great! Service was great!! The three course meal was outstanding and very reasonably priced!! I would definitely recommend this place to everyone!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

Excellent service. Our water was never l ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

Excellent service. Our water was never low!! Jenny one of our servers offered great advice on the coctails. She described them perfectly! This was a birthday dinner and they brought over a complementary cake complete with a candle! We'll definitely come back when we're in the area!

Tags: Fireplace, Pre/post Theatre, Gluten Free Options, Cozy, Modern Decor, Worth the Drive, Historic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Comfort Food, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fabulous food, wonderful atmosphere! The ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on September 9, 2016

Fabulous food, wonderful atmosphere! The service was impeccable. I highly recommend the shrimp & grits. I am a grits snob, and they're grits are the best. No Zataran's in this restaurant! Everything is hand prepared by on-site chef. Creme Brûlée is a great finish to an outstanding meal. So much food, you could share a plate!

Be sure that check out the seance room upstairs, as well as the balcony overlooking Jackson Square!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I loved the location and the service fro ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on September 8, 2016

I loved the location and the service from Travis was fabulous. He really went out of his way to give excellent service. The food was good. The crawfish and goats cheese crepes were super tasty. The kitchen brought the food out too fast initially and I asked them to slow it down which they did. It was a peaceful and relaxing place for a meal.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Cozy, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.