About Muriel's Jackson Square

801 Chartres Street
New Orleans, LA 70116
View Larger Map

The Bistro at Muriel’s Jackson Square offers New Orleans classics like Gumbo, BBQ Shrimp, Oysters "Muriel", Turtle soup, Fried Gulf Shrimp Po-boy, Crabmeat Imperial, Shrimp Remoulade & contemporary Creole cuisine like Pecan Crusted Drum & Wood Grilled Tuna while the Courtyard Bar is the perfect place to drop by for drinks & appetizers. The Séance Lounge is the place for a relaxed, comfortable meeting before or after dining. Comprised of two areas, The Outer & The Inner Séance, the Séance also tells the story of a mystic & checkered past. The Outer Séance addresses the New Orleans era of Storyville & when Muriel's Jackson Square was one of the French Quarter's best bordellos! The Inner Séance is the preferred domain of the resident ghost, Pierre Antoine Lepardi Jourdan, & is the perfect spot for an intimate conversation & a drink amongst its plush surroundings.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Creole / Cajun / Southern

Hours of Operation:
Dinner served daily: Monday - Saturday 5:30pm - 10:00pm and Sunday 5:00pm - 10:00pm
Lunch: Monday - Saturday 11:30am - 2:30pm
Sunday Jazz Brunch 11:00am -2:00pm

Cross Street:
St. Ann

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(504) 568-1885

Website:
http://www.muriels.com/

Parking Details:
Muriel's Jackson Square validates up to 2 hours parking at the French Market parking lot, behind Cafe du Monde.

Executive Chef:
Gus Martin

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Non-Smoking Area, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Smoking Area, Takeout, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Crawfish And Goat Cheese Crepes
flank steak salad
Gulf Shrimp Risotto
Stuffed Mirliton
Chocolate Special
Fontana's West End Turtle Soup
Bread
Duck Brioche
flourless chocolate cake
Crabmeat Imperial
Iced Irish Coffee
Wood Grilled Tournedos Of Beef
Yangarra 2011 Shiraz
Haricots Vert
Turtle Soup
Shrimp & Goat Cheese Crepes
Gorgonzola Proscuitto Tart
Pecan Crusted Puppy Drum
Pain Perdue Bread Pudding
Seafood Bayoubaisse
Honey Child
Blueberry Cobbler
Pecan Pie w/ Bourbon Caramel Sauce
Seafood Au Gratin
Shrimp And Goat Cheese Crepes
Macadamia Nut Bread Pudding
Manchego Pomegranate Salad
Bread Pudding
Wood Grilled Lamb Chops
Duck
Seafood Stew
Blackened Redfish With Blue Crab
Fleur De Lis
Alligator Hash With Poached Eggs
Spinach Salad
Caramel Bread Pudding
Shrimp And Jumbo Lump Crab Salad
Sazerac
Goat Cheese Crepe With Crawfish Sauce
Carnival Time
Chocolate Covered Cherry Martini.
Crawfish Etouffee
Cream Cheese Ice Cream
Yellowfin Tuna Carpaccio
Spicy Bloody Mary
BBQ Shrimp
Creme Brulee
Cobb Salad
Chorizo Omlette
Shrimps and grits
Double Cut Pork Chop
Banana Walnut Bread Pudding French Toast
Gumbo
Spinach and Pear Salad
Red Velvet Cheesecake
seafood gumbo
Redfish Cake
Escargots Orleans
Apple Cinnamon Crepes
Wood Grilled Asparagus
Crepes
Pecan Crusted Alligator
Black Bottom Chocolate Butterscotch Pudding
Turtle Soup With Sherry
Turtle Soup au Sherry
Pecan Crusted Alligator W/Mirliton Slaw And Cane Pepper-Jelly
Vanilla Bean Creme Brulee
Maple Leaf Duck Salad
Shrimp Creole
Fillet Mignon w/ Twice Baked Potatoe
Shrimp And Andouille Omelette
Cajin Shrimp
Brownie w/peanut butter sauce
crab cake
Speckled Trout W/Peppery Ceab Stuffing

Private Dining

A private party at Muriel’s offers a provocative sensory experience that exceeds the thrill of traditional dining. Guests will be immersed in a world of refinement and revelry that reflects the rich historical, cultural, and culinary character of the Crescent City.

Muriel's Jackson Square Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.5

ambience

4.5

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Creole / Cajun / Southern
New Orleans / Louisiana
Most Booked
New Orleans / Louisiana
Creole / Cajun / Southern
New Orleans
1 More
Most Booked
New Orleans
Best Restaurants in French Quarter ›

special occasion (313)
fit for foodies (278)
romantic (212)
See All
neighborhood gem (193)
good for groups (152)
great for brunch (104)
great for lunch (89)
notable wine list (84)
scenic view (84)
hot spot (52)
late-night find (28)
kid-friendly (28)
vibrant bar scene (25)
great for outdoor dining (23)
Sort By:
Newest
3655 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

We ate at Muriel's for lunch. Lunch menu ...

Dined 3 days ago

We ate at Muriel's for lunch. Lunch menu was reasonably priced, both combinations and single-course items. Food was delivered promptly and tasted very good. Waitress was very conscientious.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food4
ambience3
service5

The restaurant was very accommodating f ...

Dined 5 days ago

The restaurant was very accommodating for a holiday for a large group. Waiter was excellent. The food was very good.

food1
ambience3
service4
value1

We went for Father's Day Brunch and to s ...

Dined 5 days ago

We went for Father's Day Brunch and to say the most, we were totally underwhelmed. We had not been to Murel's in quite a few years, but recalled it better than this occasion. The food was not up to par. I had eggs benedict, one of my favorites. but this eggs benedict was placed on a VERY small biscuit cut in two that was undercooked and doughy in the middle. the plate looked empty with that and 5 green beans and nothing more. my son got the omelet and he was not at all impressed with the presentation nor the quality. the server was nice enough to get the chef to prepare over easy eggs and bacon with biscuits for my husband, but the grits tasted like over salted popcorn. not good for the price, in fact next time we will go to Cracker Barrel and get better quality for a breakfast/brunch.

food5
ambience5
service5

Had the chance for lunch here today and ...

Dined 6 days ago

Had the chance for lunch here today and can I just say WOW. Do yourself a favor and order the goat cheese and crawfish crepes ! The flavor was incredible and the perfect start to our meal. I enjoyed my Eggs Benedict but was wishing I had ordered the stuffed mirliton that my niece ordered. The texture and flavor was spot on. Our waitress was knowledgable and very good. A New Orleans treat worth the price.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

After years of not going, we finally did ...

vip
Dined 6 days ago

After years of not going, we finally did and were wondering what made us wait so long. The food is top-notch and the service matches. We had a great lunch on a rainy, cold June day. The waitress found a tea that my daughter had 4 cups of to warm her up. We also got to taste a true Creole tomato and it is the best, not like any tomato I have ever had.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Food was delicious! Service was excellen ...

Dined 7 days ago

Food was delicious! Service was excellent. Had a reservation at 8:30 on a Friday night. Walked right in with no wait. Would eat here again in a heart beat.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My husband and I went to Muriel's for th ...

Dined on June 17, 2016

My husband and I went to Muriel's for the first time to celebrate our 25th wedding anniversary, and they made it a wonderful night to remember! We wanted something romantic with delicious food, and they delivered more than we expected. We may go there every year for our anniversary. It was so special!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

Enjoyed food very much. Service was a bi ...

Dined on June 15, 2016

Enjoyed food very much. Service was a bit disjointed but for a tourist restaurant in New Orleans it was enjoyable.

Tags: good for groups, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Great NOLA food with atmospheric souther ...

Dined on June 14, 2016

Great NOLA food with atmospheric southern gothic surroundings

food5
ambience4
service3
value4

The food was excellent and the presentat ...

Dined on June 14, 2016

The food was excellent and the presentation very good. The service was a bit rushed.

Tags: fit for foodies
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Enjoyed the food-great food. The bread p ...

Dined on June 14, 2016

Enjoyed the food-great food. The bread pudding was excellent.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fine food, great flavors and reasonable ...

Dined on June 13, 2016

Fine food, great flavors and reasonable price. I was extremely pleased to get such fine food at a reasonable price in the heart of the tourist-filled French Quarter. I had a special Creole tomato fixed-price meal, and each dish, including the dessert (with tomato jams and popsicle!) featured this tomato prepared in a creative, appealing and tasteful way. Highly recommended.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food5
ambience4
service2
value4

We were on a holiday in New Orleans and ...

Dined on June 12, 2016

We were on a holiday in New Orleans and met with another couple for dinner. Muriel's came highly recommended and we were looking forward to a lovely evening. Our beverage server was not personable from the start and the server was the same: they wouldn't smile or Make small talk which we tend to like in a server. Our friend was reading the history of Muriel's and there was mention of a ghost so she asked the beverage server what that was all about. His reply was "Well, if I have to tell you....." making it like it was a chore. The food was delicious, we ordered from the Tomato Festival menu and the Table d'Hote. You must order the crepes as an appetizer...to die for! The Shrimp with Grits was phenomenal and we all raved about the meals. Tomato Jam cookies? Tart and sweet, laced with violet, yumm. Despite the service we had a very nice time and would recommend the restaurant.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Delicious meal and friendly service....w ...

Dined on June 11, 2016

Delicious meal and friendly service....we had the fish selections on the menu and the taste and presentation were great....our only negative was the desert which we didn’t feel was at the same high standard as the rest of the meal. We would definitely come back though as the mains were great....fabulous cheese bread with our meal too.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best Meal of my Life

Dined on June 11, 2016

The porkchops changed my life and I am already planning a trip back to NO so I can eat here again.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5

The food was delicious, I got the pork c ...

Dined on June 10, 2016

The food was delicious, I got the pork chops the waiter suggested and he was spot on. Great choice. My girlfriend's pasta was also very very good. Great location and fun staff. We will return to done again soon.

food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Typical New Orleans

Dined on June 7, 2016

The location is in Jackson Square. The restaurant's décor is what one expects from New Orleans fine dining. The food was very good and so was the service. Like most good restaurants it is a little pricy, but worth the experience.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Flawless Meal!!!

Dined on June 7, 2016

We had the pleasure of visiting Muriels to celebrate our 30th wedding anniversary. The restaurant is incredibly gorgeous and comfortable. We both had the 3 course Prix Fixe dinner which was very reasonably priced and portion sizes were generous. Over the course of our dinner we had 5 members of the wait staff and management attending to us; all very attentive, friendly and fun but not imposing upon the evening. We would highly recommend Muriels to anyone visiting New Orleans and will do so to friends and family.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent food and service in a wonderfu ...

Dined on June 7, 2016

Excellent food and service in a wonderful dining room with elegant southern charm. Very knowledgable wait staff ! Located in a very busy area in Jackson Square easy to get to! Highly recommended

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent experience

Dined on June 6, 2016

We loved our lunch here and James was a wonderful server. Food was delicious. Had the pork chop with red beans and rice and ate every bite. We were stuffed. Also enjoyed a Bloody Mary and martini. Friends still had room for bread pudding. Said it was amazing. Will be back every visit!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Loved the whole experience! The staff w ...

Dined on June 6, 2016

Loved the whole experience! The staff was friendly, and talked to bus about the history of the location. The food was AMAZING!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Jazzy Sunday Brunch!

vip
Dined on June 5, 2016

Picked a winner in the Big Easy ... looking for a place to have a relaxed and quality Brunch on a Sunday afternoon ... found it at Muriel's. The historical building is beautiful and the Jazz Band was great. The staff greeted us by name and had our table ready as reserved. Varied menu with many choices to choose from ... hardest part was what to select. Food was served as ordered and with time in-between to let us enjoy the champagne! Great place for a nice Sunday Brunch for two or a large special occasion. Recommend that you make a reservation. Enjoy!

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

40th Anniversity Breakfast

Dined on June 5, 2016

We looked at googles 10 best restaurants in NOLA. We wanted something special for breakfast. We were not disappointed. The eggs benedict was enjoyable. The eggs sausage hash was equally enjoyable. The jazz a nice addition

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I have celiac disease and was looking fo ...

Dined on June 5, 2016

I have celiac disease and was looking for a restaurant that could accommodate my dietary needs but also be great for the friends we were bringing with us. This restaurant was a hit with all of us. We will be coming again the next time we're in New Orleans.

Tags: great for brunch, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Never disappointed. Put this on the list ...

Dined on June 5, 2016

Never disappointed. Put this on the list of must visit ever time in NOLA!

food5
ambience5
service5

Amazing evening. Everything was perfect. ...

Dined on June 5, 2016

Amazing evening. Everything was perfect. Service was stellar. Waiter in training should have offered to move our table away from the door (at one point heavy rain from outside was seeping in), but experienced waitress swooped in and fixed the situation without batting an eye. Every course was delicious. Still thinking about the pork chop dish! Excellent gluten free menu with knowledgeable staff.

food5
ambience4
service5

We are locals and were entertaining frie ...

vip
Dined on June 5, 2016

We are locals and were entertaining friends from New Jersey this is one of our favorites in NOLA and they didn't disappoint. All aspects were on point.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

All around great...

Dined on June 4, 2016

As anticipated, everything was great. We were running bit late (10 minutes) but a quick phone call assured we would still have our table. We were lucky enough to sit by a window and got to see a 2nd line for a wedding at the cathedral as well as a parade. We allowed two hours for dinner before the theater and needed the time. We had appetizers, entrees and dessert and were given the time to enjoy each course. The food was superb as was service. The noise level was a little higher than average while we were there as there was a large group there celebrating a 30th birthday. We cannot wait to return!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I went to New Orleans with the plan to e ...

Dined on June 2, 2016

I went to New Orleans with the plan to eat gumbo at every chance. Theirs was the best! Of course the building is interesting, but it also was a very pleasant dining experience. I can't say the same for some of the long established restaurants we visited that seem to be resting on their past reputations.

Tags: fit for foodies
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Nice FQ restaurant

vip
Dined on June 1, 2016

Most places in the French Quarter cater to tourists. I've lived in NOLA for 20 years and this is a great place for locals and tourists alike.

Tags: great for lunch
food2
ambience2
service2
value1

My Muriel Experience

Dined on May 30, 2016

Well, my wife and her sisters have been there in the past and bragged about the menu items. My wife wanted to go back for our anniversary so I could see what they had experienced. Well, for one thing, the menu items and prices, apparently change for diner. I almost left before ordering because I really didn't see anything on the menu that really attracted me and for the price they were asking, I couldn't see me eating there. My wife was surprised too with the limited and expensive choices they had to choose from. To sum it up, we would have rather gone to Long Horn, Outback or even Ruth's Chris Steak house for the $115.00 that it cost me at Muriels.

food2
ambience5
service5
value3

Good drinks, food just okay.

Dined on May 30, 2016

The history and ambiance of the building was amazing. The food, not so much. As a tourist I would definitely walk in and look around, maybe have a drink at the bar. The food was not worth the large bill.

Tags: romantic, neighborhood gem
food3
ambience3
service2

This place is overrated. I was unimpress ...

Dined on May 29, 2016

This place is overrated. I was unimpressed with the food quality and what was offered.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The food was fantastic as usual. We love ...

Dined on May 29, 2016

The food was fantastic as usual. We love that they have delicious Muriels wines.

Tags: great for brunch, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The food was fantastic. We were a party ...

Dined on May 28, 2016

The food was fantastic. We were a party of 5, and each of us ordered different entrees, and each entree was delicious.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

One of the best places to eat! The Craw ...

Dined on May 28, 2016

One of the best places to eat! The Craw fish and goat cheese crepes are a must have... So good I had thoughts of licking the plate lol. One can't go wrong with anything served here.

food4
ambience4
service5

I had my doubts with Muriel's being 'pop ...

Dined on May 28, 2016

I had my doubts with Muriel's being 'popular', and right on Jackson Square. The reviews were mixed, but mostly good -so I stuck with it. So thrilled we did. I requested a table with a view and got it! The service was impeccable, the food expertly prepared and presented. Our server was knowledgeable (Courtney), offered suggestions and had a fantastic personality. It was expensive but reasonable overall. The pork chop was indeed awesome, the beet salad, the crawfish crepes, and the creme brulee were all fantastic/memorable. Go there. Enjoy it. It is a lovely NOLA experience.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

This was our first dining experience in ...

Dined on May 27, 2016

This was our first dining experience in New Orleans. The location was tremendous, the food was delicious, and the service was top-notch. I recommend the locally prepared drum fish. There is a second floor patio that overlooks Jackson Square which I recommend for a drink.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Dining at Muriel's was very pleasant eve ...

Dined on May 26, 2016

Dining at Muriel's was very pleasant evening that didn't break the bank. The shrimp and grits I had was flavorful, with not over cooked shrimp and a lovely sauce. I didn't like the grits cake, but that was a minor issue. The tomato soup was excellent, and the flourless chocolate cake was delicious. A great gluten-free meal for a reasonable price. Excellent service, and quiet enough to hear each of my three dining partners.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

New Orleans gem

Dined on May 26, 2016

Great NOLA find in the French Quarter. We were very happy with spectacular service and amazing food!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.