Make a reservation

Party Size
For 2
Date
Today
Time
7:00 PM
icon/ic_social_proofCreated with Sketch.
Booked 108 times today

Muriel's Jackson Square

4.6
5407 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
$31 to $50
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Creole / Cajun / Southern
Top Tags:
  • Special Occasion
  • Good for a Date
  • Good for Anniversaries
The Bistro at Muriel’s Jackson Square offers New Orleans classics like Gumbo, BBQ Shrimp, Oysters "Muriel", Turtle soup, Fried Gulf Shrimp Po-boy, Crabmeat Imperial, Shrimp Remoulade & contemporary Creole cuisine like Pecan Crusted Drum & Wood Grilled Tuna while the Courtyard Bar is the perfect place to drop by for drinks & appetizers. The Séance Lounge is the place for a relaxed, comfortable meeting before or after dining. Comprised of two areas, The Outer & The Inner Séance, the Séance also tells the story of a mystic & checkered past. The Outer Séance addresses the New Orleans era of Storyville & when Muriel's Jackson Square was one of the French Quarter's best bordellos! The Inner Séance is the preferred domain of the resident ghost, Pierre Antoine Lepardi Jourdan, & is the perfect spot for an intimate conversation & a drink amongst its plush surroundings.
icon/ic_private_diningCreated with Sketch.
Private dining
Dining Style
Casual Dining
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Cuisines
Creole / Cajun / Southern
icon/ic_clockCreated with Sketch.
Hours of operation
Lunch: Monday - Friday 11:30am - 2:30pm
Saturday Brunch 10:30am-2:00pm
Sunday Jazz Brunch 10:30am -2:00pm
Dinner served daily: Monday - Thursday 5:30pm - 10:00pm, Friday, Saturday and Sunday 5:00pm - 10:00pm
icon/ic_phoneCreated with Sketch.
Phone number
(504) 568-1885
icon/ic_new_windowCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_paymentCreated with Sketch.
Payment options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa
icon/ic_dress_codeCreated with Sketch.
Dress code
Casual Dress
icon/ic_chefCreated with Sketch.
Executive chef
Erik Veney
icon/ic_locationCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_neighborhoodCreated with Sketch.
Neighborhood
icon/ic_cross_streetCreated with Sketch.
Cross street
St. Ann
icon/ic_parking_detailsCreated with Sketch.
Parking details
Muriel's Jackson Square validates up to 2 hours parking at the French Market parking lot, behind Cafe du Monde.
icon/ic_special_eventsCreated with Sketch.
Special events & promotions
For private events please call 504-568-1955
Additional
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Private Room, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Private Dining

A private party at Muriel’s offers a provocative sensory experience that exceeds the thrill of traditional dining. Guests will be immersed in a world of refinement and revelry that reflects the rich historical, cultural, and culinary character of the Crescent City.

View Private Dining Details
What 5407 People Are Saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
4.6based on recent ratings
4.6
food
4.6
service
4.6
ambience
4.3
value
Noise · Moderate
94% of people would recommend it to a friend
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
Sort by
Newest
Filters
5.0Dined 3 days ago

Very nice restaurant, excellent food!
Recommended by a very nice lady who lives in New Orleans.
I had the salmon, and it was delicious! Highly recommend. My husband ordered off of the three course fixed price menu. He had a seafood dish. A very good choice! We shared the appetizer. It was a delicious cheese served with Apple slices, blackberries and caramelized pecans. And the dessert was bread pudding, one of the best we had in NOLA. They also have a very nice wine list. Try it, you won't be disappointed!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined 3 days ago

All I can say is WOW! Muriel's was incredible and the service was top-notch. Not only did the menu provide extensive options, everything we ordered was delicious and the price was reasonable for such high quality food and service. I highly recommend Muriel's!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined 4 days ago

Food and service were outstanding. It was very busy that nite so as a result the noise level was high but that did not distract much from a very enjoyable evening.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined 4 days ago

Four friends went to Muriel's on the Sunday evening of French Quarter Fest for dinner. I know, I know...Yes, because of the Fest, it was jam packed. It was loud and noisy and the service was slow, not that great. We all had the soup du jour, which was sweet potato, crab and corn. It was good and served relatively hot. I couldn't really taste any sweet potatoes though. It was more like a regular corn and crab bisque to me. We all had fish. One person had the tuna, one had the drum, I had the salmon and the other member of our party had the bouillabaisse. They were all good, I wouldn't say great. I am not a huge fan of crusting fish. The salmon was crusted with panko, which then had burned bits on the top from the broiler. Otherwise, it was fine. The bouillabaisse was not very brothy, but had a nice saffron flavor. The only fish in it, though were mussells and crab meat. It also had ourzo in it, which I thought was weird. The other people seemed to like theirs. We had creme brulee for dessert -- didn't taste any vanilla bean and it was a little dense -- and the flourless chocolate cake, which was excellent. That's what you want to be rich and dense and it did not disappoint. Beautiful restaurant.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined 4 days ago

Trinity was AMAZING. My only complaint was that our server, who was very nice didn’t take it upon himself that was obviously very distressing to the bride. She ordered a dish that was seemingly pescatarian for brunch (as she is a pescatarian) once received she realized (after taking a bite of a mystery item) that it was a BLOOD SAUSAGE. Very strange that a BLOOD SAUSAGE would not be mentioned in the description of the item. She was very distressed after realizing that had eaten a piece once he told her what it was. It was truly a mistake but-he didn’t offer to get her something else, take the item of the check or even apologize. It was disappointing, and after that she didn’t have an appetite at all. We were all service industry people so we know how it is- and how easy it is to make it right!! The host and manager were wonderful though!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined 4 days ago

Food was superb and the 3 piece jazz combo was very entertaining.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined 4 days ago

Fantastic Jazz Brunch experience. Beautiful place with exceptional food. Hubby doesn't like bread pudding but it was beyond amazing...rich! Upstairs seance and ghost space very cool. Everyone very gracious.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined 4 days ago

On vacation- brunch with music

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined 4 days ago

Amazing food and great service! Will definitely be back!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined 5 days ago

Perfect in every way!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined 5 days ago

Great food. Great Service. I have eaten there more than once.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined 5 days ago

Was out 1st time at Muriel's. It was outstanding, Great food and service. Really neat southern charm. Great location. Have already recommended to friends!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined 5 days ago

A bit pricey, but it was good. Wouldn’t rush back, but had to try it at least once.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined 5 days ago

Visit every year while at the French Quarter Fest they never disappoint.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined 5 days ago

Amazing! One of the best meals I’ve had in awhile and great attentive service. Made a gloomy rainy day great - definitely will be back! Thank you from Canada!

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined 5 days ago

Muriel’s has always been my one must go to place when in New Orleans but this experience was so poor I will no longer go out of my way to return. Service was terrible. Food was .... ok at best. Overall such a disappointment.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined 5 days ago

Muriel's was a great spot to have dinner during the French Quarter Jazz Festival. Although I didn't try it, they offered a delicious-looking tasting menu. The salmon that I ate was cooked wonderfully and the flavors were on point. I especially enjoyed the selection of half bottle wines they offer as I was the only person drinking wine at the table. I wouldn't recommend Muriel's for an intimate dinner as the dining area gets pretty noisy, but if you're looking for great food and a lively spot in the heart of the French Quarter, this is it!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined 6 days ago

Really great food! We would return on our next visit!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined 6 days ago

Birthday dinner for my cousin. Great dining experience.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined 6 days ago

The food was excellent. I had the goat cheese crepes, bayoubaisse and bread pudding. I enjoyed every plate.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined 7 days ago

Was very noisy. Waited awhile to get our drink order. They were incredible busy.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 12, 2018

We always love Muriel’s. The salad with manchego cheese is as good as it gets. The pork chop is something we dream about. It is by far the pork chop on the planet. Slightly sweet, smoky with brine perfection. The collard greens and sweet potato are a perfect match. We finish with the bread pudding. An amazing dessert!!!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 11, 2018

Concierge Steered Us Right- Our Vegetarian Was Happy!
Tuesday night in New Orleans. We were desperate to find a restaurant that would offer something interesting for our vegetarian teenager, and our concierge recommended Muriel's. Reviewing the menu on Open Table, the vegetarian entree looked great. My son said: "I want THAT!"...unfortunately the menu had changed, but the vegetarian option, roasted vegetable pot pie, was excellent. Plus, he enjoyed a mushroom gnocchi appetizer. I had the crawfish/goat cheese crepes and the pork chop- all which were wonderful. They also had one of my favorite french Chardonnays- a rare find. In a cute, cool old corner building on the square. Definitely will return next time in NOLA.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 10, 2018

It was just a wonderful place, I took my cousin that travel from Switzerland to visit us to Houston and drove all the way to New Orleans ... best place , she loved the great service and food, also has a second floor and a ghost story behind that you can go up there and experience..

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 9, 2018

Their lunch formula with soup or salad and an entree is very well-priced, efficient and tasty. Generous portions. The room is spacious, looking out to the busy Jackson Square. Service is good.
No NOLA thrills, no amusement, a quiet peaceful and tasteful pause.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on April 9, 2018

Muriel’s goat cheese crepes are my all time favorite food in New Orleans. Every time I’ve been here they’ve been perfect until last night. When our plates were brought to us our crepes weren’t hot. This has never happened before. I have always had excellent service & delicious food & look forward to my next visit.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 9, 2018

Wonderful birthday experience

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 8, 2018

I cannot say enough good things about Muriel’s Sunday Jazz Brunch! The food, ambiance, service and music were all amazing. I highly recommend! In fact, my wife of 15 years is one of the most picky eaters I have ever known, according to her, this was the best breakfast brunch she ever had. I was blown away just by that alone! When back in Nola, we will absolutely be back at Muriel’s Sunday Jazz Brunch.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 8, 2018

Service was top of the charts.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 7, 2018

It was a bit loud. Food was delicious. The puppy drum is the best entree.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 7, 2018

Absolutely loved our experience here! The service is outstanding. Impressive wine and cocktail selection. I had the best filet I’ve ever eaten, and the redfish was delicious too. The bread pudding is out of this world, definitely the best in New Orleans! I can’t wait to come back next time I’m in town!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 7, 2018

Enjoyed the shrimp and grit very much. The menu recommended a delicious wine pairing. My only negative is I thought some of the wait staff were rather stuffy

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 7, 2018

Outstanding service, delicious food...

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 7, 2018

I wanted to go to a restaurant in the center of things in the French Quarter, but not in the high drinking area of Bourbon street. This was a great choice. Food was delicious and the ambiance was great. It seems rather touristy and is loud, but I loved it for those reasons. I ate the fixed price menu that was three courses and it was delightful. Servers were attentive without hovering.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 7, 2018

Great and fast service and excellent food. The noise level is quite high, but the building and ambience makes for a great date spot.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 7, 2018

We had a great time with our group of 6. Everyone said Great Meal and that they would return if in the area

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on April 7, 2018

In town for long week end with friends. We chose this restaurant because of good reviews per trip advisor ( usually pretty reliable ). Great setting and ambiance but quickly found service to be very lacking. Once our order was placed it took quite awhile for each course to be served. I had the pecan encrusted drum which was cold ,no taste and had so many pecans on it was hard to find the fish. The steak was very good though. We ordered bread pudding and coffee. We were served the coffee and finished and then had to ask again for the bread pudding. We found several restaurants in this great city that were really good. Not this one.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 7, 2018

Simply outstanding dinner from start to finish. Service is impeccable! While pricey, not out of line with other fine dining establishments.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 6, 2018

Excellent food and service. An interesting location with great character as well! Best dinner we had in NOLA

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on April 6, 2018

Good location, good food, excellent waiter David, a bit big and noisy but probably a an excellent choice at a quiet time.

Report
Helpful
1
2
3
136