Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.05mi
  2. Distance: 0.05mi
  3. Distance: 0.05mi
  4. Distance: 0.05mi
  1. Distance: 0.05mi
  2. Distance: 0.05mi
  3. Distance: 0.05mi
  4. Distance: 0.05mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.05mi
  2. Distance: 0.05mi
  3. Distance: 0.05mi
  4. Distance: 0.05mi
  1. Distance: 0.05mi
  2. Distance: 0.05mi
  3. Distance: 0.05mi
  4. Distance: 0.05mi

About Muriel's Jackson Square

The Bistro at Muriel’s Jackson Square offers New Orleans classics like Gumbo, BBQ Shrimp, Oysters "Muriel", Turtle soup, Fried Gulf Shrimp Po-boy, Crabmeat Imperial, Shrimp Remoulade & contemporary Creole cuisine like Pecan Crusted Drum & Wood Grilled Tuna while the Courtyard Bar is the perfect place to drop by for drinks & appetizers. The Séance Lounge is the place for a relaxed, comfortable meeting before or after dining. Comprised of two areas, The Outer & The Inner Séance, the Séance also tells the story of a mystic & checkered past. The Outer Séance addresses the New Orleans era of Storyville & when Muriel's Jackson Square was one of the French Quarter's best bordellos! The Inner Séance is the preferred domain of the resident ghost, Pierre Antoine Lepardi Jourdan, & is the perfect spot for an intimate conversation & a drink amongst its plush surroundings.

801 Chartres Street
New Orleans, LA 70116
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Creole / Cajun / Southern

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday 11:30am - 2:30pm
Saturday Brunch 10:30am-2:00pm
Sunday Jazz Brunch 10:30am -2:00pm
Dinner served daily: Monday - Thursday 5:30pm - 10:00pm, Friday, Saturday and Sunday 5:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
St. Ann

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(504) 568-1885

Website:
http://www.muriels.com/

Parking Details:
Muriel's Jackson Square validates up to 2 hours parking at the French Market parking lot, behind Cafe du Monde.

Executive Chef:
Erik Veney

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Private Room, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
For private events please call 504-568-1955

Private Dining

A private party at Muriel’s offers a provocative sensory experience that exceeds the thrill of traditional dining. Guests will be immersed in a world of refinement and revelry that reflects the rich historical, cultural, and culinary character of the Crescent City.

Muriel's Jackson Square Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.7

value

4.3

Noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (116)
Good for a Date (114)
Romantic (96)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (95)
Authentic (79)
Creative Cuisine (78)
Fit for Foodies (67)
Neighborhood Gem (63)
Good for Birthdays (62)
Local Ingredients (48)
Business Meals (44)
Quiet Conversation (44)
People Watching (42)
Worth the Drive (39)
Good for Groups (38)
Notable Wine List (37)
Fun (35)
Handcrafted Cocktails (35)
Great for Brunch (34)
Scenic View (34)
Pre/post Theatre (31)
Sunday Lunch (31)
Cozy (28)
Comfort Food (24)
Great for Lunch (23)
Casual (19)
Hot Spot (17)
Tasting Menu (17)
Bar Seating (12)
Live Music (11)
Late-night Find (7)
Seasonal (7)
Vibrant Bar Scene (7)
Healthy (6)
Afternoon Tea (5)
Disabled Access (5)
Good Vegetarian Options (5)
Gluten Free Options (4)
Happy Hour (4)
Afternoon Coffee (3)
Kid-friendly (3)
Great for Outdoor Dining (3)
Great Beer (2)
Tapas (2)
Organic (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Spicy (1)
Vegan (1)
Waterfront (1)
Sort by
S
4988 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
·Dined 2 days ago

The food wasn’t impressive. For the price a much more intriguing pallet of flavors would be expected. The crab cake had peppers which had a frozen taste to them. Steak was cooked correctly but lacked flavor. Dessert, chocolate cake was the best course.

Tags: Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value2

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined 2 days ago

Muriel’s is a regular stop for us when in NOLA. Love the ambiance! The crepes are to die for! Whether they’re at the restaurant or French Quarter Fest, they are always mouth watering! The pork chop dinner is amazing. Servers are always attentive and pleasant. Love this place!

Tags: Special Occasion, Great for Brunch, Quiet Conversation, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Miami)·Dined 2 days ago

We went for Sunday brunch. My friends ordered the butternut squash soup. They were served lobster soup. We told the server it didn’t look like butternut squash or smell like it. He insisted it was butternut squash. My friend and I tasted the soup and it tasted like seafood. We asked the busboy if it was butternut and to smell it. After smelling it, he said it was not butternut squash. Luckily my other friend didn’t taste it because she is allergic. It took about 10 more
Minutes for the server to return and say the restaurant was out of the soup because it fell on the floor. He offered no apology and asked them what else they wanted. The rest of the table was already done eating. My friends requested a complimentary dessert. The server said ok and brought dessert menu. He did not proactively try to fix the situation by offering something complimentary. We spoke to the manager and she said she’d handle the situation with the staff. She did not seem to care much. Other than the poor service, the food was good, ambiance classic, and good live jazz band that travels room to room.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service1
value3

 
·Dined 3 days ago

Fantastic food & service! The best meal my bride and I have had in several years.

Fried green tomato stack, baked oysters, pecan encrusted baby drum, and bread pudding were all excellent.

Goat cheese & shrimp crepes, crab cake, and salted caramel pecan cheese cake were absolutely AWESOME!!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Tapas, Sunday Lunch, Good for a Date, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Local Ingredients, Pre/post Theatre, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined 3 days ago

Muriel's is a family favorite. The food is consistently excellent and the ambiance is always quintessential New Orleans. We love both brunch and dinner!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined 3 days ago

Food and service were very good but the noise level in the restaurant was so loud as to ruin our experience. Impossible to have a conversation without nearly yelling. Very disappointing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience1
service5
value2

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 3 days ago

We had a wonderful meal at Muriel's. We made a reservation on Open Table. The place was packed but we were seated immediately. We ordered from the Prix Fixe menu. Between that and the ala carte options, it was hard to choose. Options include several local specialities. Service was prompt and friendly. Food was excellent. Wine list was substantial. It all made for a very enjoyable evening. We heartily recommend Muriel's for a great night out. Be forewarned - the place IS loud.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined 3 days ago

Service was excellent. The food was very good. . .my wife said her pork chop was the best she has ever had anywhere. Street noise was a little loud (ambulance/and crowds)...people staring into window over table but that is part of N.O. The dining room, bar and reception area are authentic New Orleans, and we really liked it. We will return.

Tags: Late-night Find, Authentic, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Pre/post Theatre, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined 3 days ago

The food was excellent and the service was great! It was recommended by a local and did not disappoint us. The staff was very attentive and prompt! We truly enjoy our visit to New Orleans and would recommend Muriel's to friends that will visit.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined 4 days ago

Our server Chris was fun & gave us a good service and good recommendation for foods & drinks.

Tags: Good for a Date, Disabled Access, Vibrant Bar Scene, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tampa)·Dined 5 days ago

Delicious and look forward to another visit! Suitable for any occasion. Balcony is a wonderful spot to sit, have a glass of wine and people watch in Jackson Square!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined 5 days ago

Travis and Katie took great care of us. Good view of Jackson Square . Delicious gumbo and turtle soup. Filet, shrimp, and pecan encrusted drum cooked to perfection. Gave us a nice & tasty birthday bread pudding with candle. Thanks for the memory.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Scenic View, Authentic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined 6 days ago

This is an excellent restaurant in a town crowded with good restaurants. Food was delicious and the service was excellent. Highly recommendable.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Austin)·Dined 6 days ago

This restaurant was incredible! It is located in a very old building with elegant decor. The waiters were very knowledgeable and attentive. The appetizer crepes were fantastic as well as the shrimp and grits. The bread pudding was not impressive.

Highly recommend!

Tags: Good for a Date, Authentic, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on November 15, 2017

Reservation and seated immediately. Waiter very attentive and friendly enough. Shrimp and grits the best ever had! Really enjoyed the evening!

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on November 15, 2017

You cannot miss by going to Muriel's. I had the three course meal which is quite a bargain. The goat cheese shrimp crepes are the bomb and should not be missed. My second course was almond coated drum, which was a delight to the palate. Vanilla bean creme brulle for dessert was the perfect end to a perfect meal. I will definitely be back whenever I'm in New Orleans.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Neighborhood Gem, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Authentic, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on November 14, 2017

Very unique menu & reasonably priced. Went there twice in 2 days it was so good. The savory cheesecake, shrimp & grits and drum were all outstanding. Staff knows their wine too!

Tags: Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Business Meals, Handcrafted Cocktails, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 14, 2017

Consistantly good restaurant. Service excellent. Food delicious. Something for everyone.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Cozy, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on November 14, 2017

We went there due to a business trip to New Orleans for my wife. We had a reservation and were seated promptly. Michelle and Sarah took great care of us. My family all opted for the 3 course meal. My wife would not stop talking about how great the food was. If we are ever in New Orleans again, we will definitely be back to Muriels!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on November 13, 2017

They have the best turtle soup!!! The service was very good and prompt. The food was very good and plates were hot. The sauces were remarkable

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on November 13, 2017

We found this to be pretty average food and we felt they were trying to rush us through our meal

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (New England)·Dined on November 13, 2017

Bar service was poor and rude. Food service was excellent as was preparation and cost good considering the area.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on November 13, 2017

This was one our favorite dinners on our trip to New Orleans. Food was wonderful, service was great. Kris was amazing, great recommendations and a lot of fun. The crepes with shrimp are crazy good and the pork chop was amazing as well. Good portion sizes. Great ambiance. Definitely crowded/bustling, so don't go for a "quiet" meal. But don't miss it. We will be back for sure!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on November 12, 2017

Food and service was excellent

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 12, 2017

Lovely restaurant in the heart of the French Quarter. The live jazz music along with great entrees is what makes this place special! Highly recommend!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on November 12, 2017

Great service and great food. Can't wait to go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Savannah)·Dined on November 12, 2017

WONDERFUL WONDERFUL WONDERFUL!!!! Eat there twice so you can try more than one thing....maybe 3 times 😉

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on November 12, 2017

Great food, romantic, great for date night or special occasion

Tags: Local Ingredients, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on November 11, 2017

Great restaurant?

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 11, 2017

We went to Muriel's after conference. The food was phenomenal. We tasted each orher's mwals and all were great. Very tasty and delicious. I recommend them highly and with confidence. The consensus was the same amongst the group 😊🙌🏼

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 11, 2017

Although the menu and prices are on a par with upscale NOLA restaurants, and despite beautiful space, great location, and friendly staff, the food itself was disappointing. One of the rare times a highly rated restaurant in the Quarter has failed to impress. Perhaps it was just an off night.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value1

 
·Dined on November 11, 2017

Outstanding food and service. Definitely coming back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on November 10, 2017

Excellent in every way! Every bite savory. Seafood was perfect, nothing was overcooked. Our plates were licked clean.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on November 10, 2017

I brought a group of out-of-town colleagues here. They were delighted by the food and the resident ghost. Their beer list could use some improvement, but the wine list was nice.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value3

 
·Dined on November 9, 2017

Came early and hung out at the bar. Bartenders weren’t very friendly and didn’t make great drinks. Experience got better when we were seated for dinner. Meals were good, not great. Very noisy environment, had to talk near to yelling.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value2

 
·Dined on November 7, 2017

Server was as “bothered” as he could be- never smiled at all. The beverage server and host were friendly and inviting but our server made a ho-hum meal even less memorable.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value2

 
·Dined on November 7, 2017

Beautiful restaurant and delicious food! We have eaten here for brunch, lunch and dinner.

Tags: Hot Spot, Pre/post Theatre, Quiet Conversation, Scenic View, Afternoon Coffee, Worth the Drive, Cozy, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Great for Lunch, Bar Seating, Fun, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Afternoon Tea, Sunday Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Great for Brunch, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on November 7, 2017

Great location in the heart of the French Quarter. The ambience was lovely and the food was delicious!

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 7, 2017

Wow! One of the most memorable meals I have ever had on vacation. The ambience is perfect. It was the most tender filet mignon I've ever had, the best grits I've ever had and THE BEST BREAD PUDDING IVE EVER HAD! Forget that other one across town... this is the best! I will remember this meal for years to come! My mom and I loved it. Thank you, Muriels!

Tags: Disabled Access, Sunday Lunch, Bar Seating, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (London)·Dined on November 6, 2017

I ordered the shrimp pies and although hot on the outside were cold and frozen in the middle. Although the staff did their best to rectify this, the replacements were overdone and my wife had finished her appetiser. When your appetiser is not up to scratch, it sets a low tone for the rest of the meal which was a shame as the rest of the food was good. I guess for us, we had eaten at Arnaud’s the night before which was excellent and so this experience was a big let down and the cost of the meal was not significantly different.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.