Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.05mi
  2. Distance: 0.05mi
  3. Distance: 0.05mi
  4. Distance: 0.05mi
  1. Distance: 0.05mi
  2. Distance: 0.05mi
  3. Distance: 0.05mi
  4. Distance: 0.05mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.05mi
  2. Distance: 0.05mi
  3. Distance: 0.05mi
  4. Distance: 0.05mi
  1. Distance: 0.05mi
  2. Distance: 0.05mi
  3. Distance: 0.05mi
  4. Distance: 0.05mi

About Muriel's Jackson Square

The Bistro at Muriel’s Jackson Square offers New Orleans classics like Gumbo, BBQ Shrimp, Oysters "Muriel", Turtle soup, Fried Gulf Shrimp Po-boy, Crabmeat Imperial, Shrimp Remoulade & contemporary Creole cuisine like Pecan Crusted Drum & Wood Grilled Tuna while the Courtyard Bar is the perfect place to drop by for drinks & appetizers. The Séance Lounge is the place for a relaxed, comfortable meeting before or after dining. Comprised of two areas, The Outer & The Inner Séance, the Séance also tells the story of a mystic & checkered past. The Outer Séance addresses the New Orleans era of Storyville & when Muriel's Jackson Square was one of the French Quarter's best bordellos! The Inner Séance is the preferred domain of the resident ghost, Pierre Antoine Lepardi Jourdan, & is the perfect spot for an intimate conversation & a drink amongst its plush surroundings.

801 Chartres Street
New Orleans, LA 70116
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Creole / Cajun / Southern

Hours of Operation:
Dinner served daily: Monday - Saturday 5:30pm - 10:00pm and Sunday 5:00pm - 10:00pm
Lunch: Monday - Saturday 11:30am - 2:30pm
Sunday Jazz Brunch 11:00am -2:00pm

Cross Street:
St. Ann

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(504) 568-1885

Website:
http://www.muriels.com/

Parking Details:
Muriel's Jackson Square validates up to 2 hours parking at the French Market parking lot, behind Cafe du Monde.

Executive Chef:
Gus Martin

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Private Room, Takeout, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Private Dining

A private party at Muriel’s offers a provocative sensory experience that exceeds the thrill of traditional dining. Guests will be immersed in a world of refinement and revelry that reflects the rich historical, cultural, and culinary character of the Crescent City.

Muriel's Jackson Square Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.7

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (141)
Special Occasion (137)
Historic (123)
See All
Romantic (100)
Good for Anniversaries (98)
Fit for Foodies (83)
Authentic (83)
Neighborhood Gem (76)
Creative Cuisine (73)
Local Ingredients (70)
Good for Birthdays (68)
Quiet Conversation (55)
Good for Groups (54)
People Watching (53)
Business Meals (52)
Notable Wine List (52)
Scenic View (47)
Great for Brunch (41)
Cozy (40)
Worth the Drive (39)
Handcrafted Cocktails (38)
Pre/post Theatre (37)
Fun (36)
Comfort Food (35)
Sunday Lunch (35)
Great for Lunch (34)
Hot Spot (28)
Bar Seating (26)
Casual (24)
Outstanding Value (24)
Private Room (21)
Tasting Menu (18)
Gluten Free Options (14)
Seasonal (13)
Family Style (12)
Kid-friendly (12)
Live Music (11)
Happy Hour (10)
Good Vegetarian Options (8)
Healthy (8)
Vibrant Bar Scene (8)
Great for Outdoor Dining (6)
Late-night Find (6)
Disabled Access (5)
Afternoon Tea (5)
Molecular Gastronomy (4)
Afternoon Coffee (3)
Modern Decor (3)
Tapas (3)
Wood Oven (3)
Fireplace (3)
Spicy (3)
Vegan (2)
Great Beer (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Organic (2)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Sort By:
S
4457 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 13 hours ago

Had a business dinner here at the customers request. The atmosphere is good and the service was reasonably good They never asked if we wanted more to drink and overall the food quality was good but not great. Most of our party felt the same way. The food was bland and lakes the normal spices and flavor that makes New Orleans so special.
I probably would not go back as there are too many good restaurants around it

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Handcrafted Cocktails, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value2

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined 2 days ago

Outstanding! Food and atmosphere did not disappoint. The baby drum was amazing. Staff at bar could have been more attentive and friendly. However, would go back and recommend to others.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined 2 days ago

Excellent meal and service

Tags: Hot Spot, Good for Groups, Authentic, Great for Brunch, Scenic View, Sunday Lunch, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 2 days ago

Perfect Sunday Brunch!

Tags: Special Occasion, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Mississippi)·Dined 2 days ago

went for Sunday brunch, although the food was very good, no exactly your typical brunch menu, mostly lunch/dinner entrees , small selection of breakfast. Very NOLA menu, turtle soup, oyster omlette, unusual

Tags: Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (Naples)·Dined 3 days ago

Our dinners were a mixed bag: the Coq Au Vin was very disappointing-very little flavor.
The pork chop, the drum fish, and the salmon were all excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined 3 days ago

Went for Brunch and the food was great. The best grits I've had in a long long time. The shrimp were delicious as well. Great service and awesome historic restaurant.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Live Music, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, Special Occasion, Romantic, Outstanding Value, Comfort Food, Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Columbus)·Dined 4 days ago

Food was good, though a little overpriced, overly fussy for me.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Tampa)·Dined 5 days ago

Ambience was wonderful. Servers were attentive and knowledgeable about the history. All staff was friendly and accommodating. Food was better than average and creative.

Tags: Good for a Date, Cozy, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined 5 days ago

We had a lovely lunch at Muriel's on our last day in New Orleans. The food, service, and ambiance were exceptional. Plus, they have an excellent GF menu that took all of the guess work out of trying to figure out what I could eat.

Geat place!

Tags: Afternoon Tea, Paleo Friendly, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Great Beer, Fireplace, Historic, Disabled Access, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Happy Hour, Scenic View, Private Room, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Bar Seating, Seasonal, Great for Lunch, Notable Wine List, Good Vegetarian Options, Authentic, Gluten Free Options, Comfort Food, Outstanding Value, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fun, Creative Cuisine, Sunday Lunch, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 7 days ago

The food was inventive and delicious. Don't miss the peanut butter dome.

Tags: Molecular Gastronomy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on March 21, 2017

We had a delightful experience at Muriel's. Everything was top notch. The only issue was the noise level. There were several large tables and they were quite noisy.

Tags: Happy Hour, Notable Wine List, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on March 20, 2017

The food was great! The service was great! I had the shrimp and grits which was awesome! The bread pudding was delicious!

Tags: Cozy, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on March 20, 2017

Had 3-course meal.....crepes, double chops and bread pudding. All were fab. Best thing about the meal was our very terrific server "arlene", when we come back, we will request her.
Tom

Tags: Gluten Free Options, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Great for Lunch, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 20, 2017

My daughter is celiac and my wife is gluten free. It's nice to be able to dine out at a place I know they won't get sick. We ended up eating there twice because of there attention in the matter. The entire restaurant atmosphere is vintage ghost friendly New Orleans as well, a very good dining experience.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 19, 2017

Very good food. Loved the baked oysters and baby drum , as well as Muriel's salad and tuna special. Table d'hote was good option. Good service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (New Orleans)·Dined on March 19, 2017

The goat cheese crepes are quite literally sex on a plate.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on March 19, 2017

Food was fantastic! Noise level was however a problem. Could barely hear others at table. Also, we were directly beneath a cold air vent. Otherwise ambiance is great.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 19, 2017

Great atmosphere. Excellent cuisine and menu selection. Terrific place.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on March 19, 2017

Excellent dinner. Great food with outstanding service!

Tags: Business Meals, Quiet Conversation, Casual, Authentic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Indiana)·Dined on March 18, 2017

Service is usually great but it was lacking this evening.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value4

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on March 18, 2017

From the service to the food, everything was top notch.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on March 18, 2017

Food was ok but very stuffy place. Better options like GW Fins for excellent high end food and service with a more pleasant and enjoyable dining experience.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3
value2

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on March 17, 2017

Food was absolutely the best I had while in New Orleans. The service was stellar. A friend recommended the restaurant and I will definitely pass the word as well.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Tasting Menu, Historic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on March 17, 2017

Nice dinner in a great historic building on Jackson Square. Prix Fix menu was a good choice, and bread pudding was divine. House wine was a nice selection, not too oaky for a CA Chardonnay.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on March 15, 2017

Great evening for a super good food, nice setting and ambiance with my son! Authentic New Orleans!!

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating, Scenic View, Authentic, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on March 14, 2017

Great dining experience. Food was excellent. Was with a friend who needs gluten free food and there was a separate menu for gluten free offerings. Wait staff was attentive and efficient. I called ahead of time to inquire about menu, and Mike, the young man that answered the phone, was very helpful, friendly and patient. Would definitely recommend and would return.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on March 14, 2017

Excellent food. Portions a little too big but that is typical for American restaurants.

Tags: Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on March 13, 2017

Our trip to Muriel's was a highlight of our trip to New Orleans. The pork chop was out of this world and so was the bread pudding. A "must" dining experience in NOLA!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on March 13, 2017

This is our new favorite restaurant in New Orleans. Great food and atmosphere. Good for kids, too.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on March 13, 2017

Great food and service! The goat cheese and crawfish crepes were amazing!!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Houston)·Dined on March 13, 2017

Food was outstanding. Ambience is classic historic New Orleans. Service was excellent. Only slight problem is that food took a long time to come out of the kitchen.

Tags: People Watching, Handcrafted Cocktails, Scenic View, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on March 12, 2017

The food was all incredible. The shrimp and grits was the best we had all trip. The double cut pork chop was delicious and the bread pudding was the best! Highly recommend. I can't wait to go back! Definitely worth the price!

Tags: Historic, Comfort Food, Private Room, Authentic, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on March 12, 2017

The food and service was amazing!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on March 12, 2017

Good food & drinks. Service person seemed to have attitude, poor attentiveness in a nearly empty restaurant.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on March 12, 2017

Superb location, beautiful ambience, great jazz band and fantastic Brunch. Service was as professional as it gets, it was busy and our waiters still had time to be welcoming and conversational during the entire meal. Nicely done Muriel's team!

Tags: Business Meals, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, People Watching, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on March 12, 2017

We attended the jazz brunch for a friends birthday - the noise was overwhelmingly loud, the staff was beyond rude, the table was essentially broken, we were seated for over 30 minutes before anyone even came to the table. I have always had exceptional service at Muriel's and this was subpar. I've never written a review on opentable, or anything really, before, but felt that this deserved it. We watched the hostess dig through the mints that were available to guests and dig out open ones complaining about how disgusting customers were (rightfully so, however, don't do it in front of customers) and had a back waiter who essentially ignored our table until we finally asked for waters. I didn't want to submit this as an actual review since I've had good service here before, but felt that this warranted at least a note.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service1
value2

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on March 12, 2017

I'd highly recommend Muriel's, the Sunday jazz brunch was excellent!

We were seated right on schedule and promptly greeted by a pair of waitstaff that remained attentive throughout the meal. We started with crawfish cake and asparagus soup. Both were delicious. For the main course, we had the pecan crusted puppy drum and wood fired black drum. Both were phenomenal, as was the bread pudding.

The 3 piece jazz band was excellent musically and not too loud or too soft, just the right volume to hear, but not prohibit a reasonable conversation.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Authentic, Sunday Lunch, Romantic, Local Ingredients, Comfort Food, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 12, 2017

Excellent food! Better than expected! We thought it was busy all the time because of the ghost story and we were pleasantly surprised by how amazing the drinks and food were! (make sure to ask about the ghost story and the nightly table set up for the ghost!)

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Historic, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Outstanding Value, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New England)·Dined on March 12, 2017

Enjoyed a high quality meal with my wife at Muriels. Service was super friendly and our meal was good. They were flexible and prepared my wife's drum fish gluten free and it was excellent. Duck was good as well as was the turtle soup. Overall, a solid choice in the French Quarter.

Tags: Business Meals, Gluten Free Options, Hot Spot, Romantic, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.