About Muriel's Jackson Square

The Bistro at Muriel’s Jackson Square offers New Orleans classics like Gumbo, BBQ Shrimp, Oysters "Muriel", Turtle soup, Fried Gulf Shrimp Po-boy, Crabmeat Imperial, Shrimp Remoulade & contemporary Creole cuisine like Pecan Crusted Drum & Wood Grilled Tuna while the Courtyard Bar is the perfect place to drop by for drinks & appetizers. The Séance Lounge is the place for a relaxed, comfortable meeting before or after dining. Comprised of two areas, The Outer & The Inner Séance, the Séance also tells the story of a mystic & checkered past. The Outer Séance addresses the New Orleans era of Storyville & when Muriel's Jackson Square was one of the French Quarter's best bordellos! The Inner Séance is the preferred domain of the resident ghost, Pierre Antoine Lepardi Jourdan, & is the perfect spot for an intimate conversation & a drink amongst its plush surroundings.

801 Chartres Street
New Orleans, LA 70116
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Creole / Cajun / Southern

Hours of Operation:
Dinner served daily: Monday - Saturday 5:30pm - 10:00pm and Sunday 5:00pm - 10:00pm
Lunch: Monday - Saturday 11:30am - 2:30pm
Sunday Jazz Brunch 11:00am -2:00pm

Cross Street:
St. Ann

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(504) 568-1885

Website:
http://www.muriels.com/

Parking Details:
Muriel's Jackson Square validates up to 2 hours parking at the French Market parking lot, behind Cafe du Monde.

Executive Chef:
Gus Martin

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Private Room, Takeout, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Private Dining

A private party at Muriel’s offers a provocative sensory experience that exceeds the thrill of traditional dining. Guests will be immersed in a world of refinement and revelry that reflects the rich historical, cultural, and culinary character of the Crescent City.

Muriel's Jackson Square Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.6

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (142)
Special Occasion (133)
Historic (123)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (113)
Romantic (102)
Fit for Foodies (82)
Authentic (79)
Neighborhood Gem (77)
Good for Birthdays (76)
Creative Cuisine (74)
Local Ingredients (68)
Business Meals (50)
People Watching (45)
Quiet Conversation (45)
Good for Groups (44)
Scenic View (41)
Great for Brunch (41)
Cozy (40)
Pre/post Theatre (39)
Notable Wine List (39)
Worth the Drive (38)
Handcrafted Cocktails (37)
Fun (34)
Great for Lunch (32)
Hot Spot (29)
Comfort Food (29)
Sunday Lunch (27)
Bar Seating (25)
Outstanding Value (25)
Casual (23)
Private Room (23)
Tasting Menu (17)
Kid-friendly (14)
Family Style (13)
Seasonal (13)
Live Music (12)
Gluten Free Options (10)
Happy Hour (10)
Late-night Find (9)
Healthy (8)
Vibrant Bar Scene (7)
Great for Outdoor Dining (6)
Good Vegetarian Options (6)
Disabled Access (5)
Spicy (5)
Modern Decor (4)
Wood Oven (4)
Afternoon Tea (3)
Molecular Gastronomy (3)
Afternoon Coffee (3)
Open Kitchen (3)
Paleo Friendly (3)
Great Beer (2)
Vegan (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Tapas (2)
Waterfront (1)
Dancing (1)
Fireplace (1)
Organic (1)
Sort By:
S
4350 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Shared the three course price fix plus t ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined 2 days ago

Shared the three course price fix plus two additional appetizers with a friend. The pecan crusted baby drum was THE BEST fish I've had in YEARS! Impeccably prepared, I'll be talking about that entree for a long long time. Management checked tables and accommodated a request to see the "ghost table" despite a private party upstairs. Excellent.

Tags: Private Room, Great for Lunch, Seasonal, Good for Groups, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The food is simply delicious and the ser ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined 4 days ago

The food is simply delicious and the service was outstanding!!!

Tags: Comfort Food, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Family Style, Cozy, Afternoon Tea, Casual, , Business Meals, Pre/post Theatre, Fit for Foodies, Kid-friendly, Good for a Date, Sunday Lunch, Romantic, Historic, Good for Birthdays, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Ms Janis, Daniel and Christopher great s ...

vip
 (New Orleans)·Dined 5 days ago

Ms Janis, Daniel and Christopher great service as always thanks

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We had a very nice dinner for Valentine' ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined 5 days ago

We had a very nice dinner for Valentine's Day. We had the Valentine's Day menu and the food was excellent.

The service was mostly great, however, when my entrée showed up, the wine that came with the pairing came after I was half into my meal. That aside the service was very good.

The room was very loud and not very intimate. But the Decour was very nice and elegant. The building itself is historical as it is in Jackson Square.

Overall it was a very good dining experience and I would recommend it to anyone, especially for special occasions.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails, Historic, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

When I called to reconfirm the reservati ...

vip
 (New Orleans)·Dined 5 days ago

When I called to reconfirm the reservation I reminded them that this was our 23rd wedding anniversary. They in no way recognized this and I was very disappointed.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

I visited with my husband for Valentines ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined 5 days ago

I visited with my husband for Valentines Day, and we had a wonderful time. Everything was top notch. The food was delicious. I highly recommend the goat cheese crepes and crawfish appetizer. My filet melted in my mouth and was paired beautifully with a Cabernet Sauvignon by recommendation. I finished with creme brûlée that was also fabulous. Service was excellent, available but not intrusive.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Sunday Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We dine out often at restaurants at Muri ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined 5 days ago

We dine out often at restaurants at Muriel's level & above. Have almost never felt so intruded on by staff; 3 different people at our table multiple times - not counting water refills. Also never felt so rushed to leave. Dining room was 1/3 empty and we were clearly being urged to finish & leave. Nice menu, very good food, nice dining room that would have been very relaxing. But management may want to examine their service philosophy.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service2
value4

Great food and great atmosphere. The onl ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on February 13, 2017

Great food and great atmosphere. The only vegetarian entree option was a curry based dish, which was unfortunate for my curry hating vegetarian friend. She was disappointed but we loved the zucchini, asparagus and they offered to make the goat cheese crepes without the crawfish. The other entrees were amazing though!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Absolutely divine food. All the dishes w ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 13, 2017

Absolutely divine food. All the dishes we tried were delicious. The service was excellent and the location is perfect.

Tags: Romantic, Hot Spot, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This is avery authentic restaurant in th ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 13, 2017

This is avery authentic restaurant in the heart of French quarter. Service and food were excellent, location fantastic.

The only issue is that it was very noisy but that is offset buy other good aspects of this place.

I would definitely come back again for visit and recommend to others..

Tags: Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great experience! Wonderful service and ...

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on February 13, 2017

Great experience! Wonderful service and excellent food! Highly recommend the crepes and the shrimp & grits.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, Special Occasion, Fun, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

In town for girlfriends weekend. The bru ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 12, 2017

In town for girlfriends weekend. The brunch was great, vegetarian options were available and tasted was incredible. The bread pudding is a must. Ambiance was also fantastic, we were seated near the jazz band and it felt like a private concert. Will return on next trip.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Historic, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our food was very good. Michelle our ser ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Our food was very good. Michelle our server assistant was excellent. James our server, was a bit rushed. I think 4 tables is probably his max looked like he had at least 6 tables. . That way he could slow down a bit and improve his service technique and make my dining experience better. I typically tip at least 20% but today only 15%. I would definitely go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3

I'll never eat at this place again. The ...

 
 (Austin)·Dined on February 12, 2017

I'll never eat at this place again. The pork chop smelled like it was covered in liquid smoke. The food upset my stomach so much, the drive home the next day was miserable with a lot of bathroom stops along the way.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service2
value1

Delicious dinner, great service and good ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Delicious dinner, great service and good value when you get then here course special. Pork chop and sweet potato was outstanding!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Had a cattle car feeling to it. More int ...

 
 (Austin)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Had a cattle car feeling to it. More interested in herding more people through.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service1
value1

Refreshing choices. Good value.

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on February 9, 2017

Refreshing choices. Good value.

Tags: Historic, Pre/post Theatre, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I have always enjoyed my dining experien ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on February 8, 2017

I have always enjoyed my dining experience at Murie'ls. I visit New Orleans on business monthly and visit Muriel's every time. Very Friendly staff who make me feel like family.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Our waitress and waiter were great, from ...

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on February 8, 2017

Our waitress and waiter were great, from recommending drinks to service. Great place with two thumbs up.

Tags: Business Meals, Family Style, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

We went for lunch - the food and experie ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on February 7, 2017

We went for lunch - the food and experience were so amazing, we went back for dinner. Unfortunately dinner did not live up to the lunch, but we would still highly recommend this place.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Great for Lunch, Business Meals, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Right in the middle of the famed Jackson ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on February 6, 2017

Right in the middle of the famed Jackson Square, we enjoyed being able to relax midday at a pleasant sit down restaurant. During our first visit (yes, we went back!) we enjoyed a view of the square. We loved their 2 course lunch which included a glass of wine for $4! The lunch course for the special was limited but I had the shrimp creole during my first visit and the maritilada the second day. I liked the shrimp creole more. My wife had the catfish twice! Of course I had a taste and it was very good. Service was friendly and attentive. Since we were in New Orleans, we had to try the King Cake; however, we were not big fans as it was doughy and very sweet. We finished most of it just the same! A nice restaurant in a very good location if you are exploring the French Quarter.

Tags: Business Meals, Private Room, Hot Spot,
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

We wanted to eat here after learning abo ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on February 5, 2017

We wanted to eat here after learning about Pierre Antoine on a ghost tour. The atmosphere was great and service was top notch. After dinner, we checked our Pierre's table and walked around the swanky parlor upstairs. Muriel's is a great restaurant and we highly recommend it!

Tags: Fun, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

This is a beautiful hsitoric restaurant. ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 5, 2017

This is a beautiful hsitoric restaurant. I went for Sunday Jazz brunch with a friend and the ambience was amazing. The food was positively delicious. You need to get dessert! The peanut butter dome was incredible!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, Sunday Lunch, Historic, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Love this place for their Jazz brunch. V ...

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Love this place for their Jazz brunch. Very attentive service and they were happy to tell us about the haunted history behind the place too. Jazz musicians are very good and switch between rooms so you can switch between chatting and listening to some music. We had a window table so it makes for good people watching too. The brunch 3 course meal seems like a good deal. We went with the Ala-carte option though and ordered some delicious breakfast beverages. All in all a must try spot for dinner or brunch - a NoLa tradition.

Tags: Cozy, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing location, food, ambiance and ser ...

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Amazing location, food, ambiance and service. Go there and treat yourself to one of the best restaurants in the French Quarter.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I came down to run the New Orleans Marat ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 5, 2017

I came down to run the New Orleans Marathon had dinner at muriels restaurant. I had great company good food good service I'll come back next year

Tags: , Family Style, Late-night Find, Scenic View, Comfort Food, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Met my expectations and more!

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Met my expectations and more!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great authentic NOLA restaurant - can't ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Great authentic NOLA restaurant - can't go wrong! We went for a birthday dinner and were not disappointed!

Tags: Historic, Good for a Date, Authentic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Everything was delicious! Disappointed i ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Everything was delicious! Disappointed i did not feel the presence of Antoine though. ;)

Tags: Late-night Find, People Watching, Cozy, Comfort Food, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Great food, but extremely noisy, could n ...

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Great food, but extremely noisy, could not talk at the table without hollering.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service4
value5

While visiting Nola for my 40th birthday ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on February 4, 2017

While visiting Nola for my 40th birthday, my daughter's birthday, and my son's deployment (he just got notice of deployment & in the 82nd Airborne) we thought we would celebrate here. Biggest mistake ever. As their food choices weren't all that great to begin with, the noise from 2 parties was so loud that I couldn't even here anybody at my table. These people next to us were drunk, partying, standing up, and yelling nonstop. One of the waitresses even came over and said she was sorry, people are complaining about it. You think that the 5 managers walking around doing nothing would say something. Nope! After spending 200 dollars and talking to the manager about the situation, he said, "What do you want me to do about the noise, I can't control it," then said to me, "Goodbye!" Then he proceeded to laugh in my face. You can't even be serious... I've been to plenty of fine dining restaurants, and I know they can tell a party to please respect other people dining, it's quite loud. I understand that this man does not care if someone is having a milestone birthday or their child is deploying into a combat zone, he couldn't be more glad to insult me and my children. I would never go back to this horrible place for their mediocre food and pretentious managers who do nothing, but insult patrons. This owner should be embarrassed of his employees, as I've read more reviews of this happening to paying customers.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service2
value1

Good food and great service. Would defin ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Good food and great service. Would definitely recommend.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Perfect for a group celebrating a birthd ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Perfect for a group celebrating a birthday. The atmosphere on a Friday was festive, but not too loud for conversation. Did the fixed price menu. All seven in our party give this place a thumbs up.

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

This restaurant never disappoints. I've ...

vip
 (Indiana)·Dined on February 3, 2017

This restaurant never disappoints. I've been coming here for years and the consistency is impeccable. Please don't change a thing. Your service and your chefs are top notch. Bravo!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

All of the food was prepared perfectly - ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 3, 2017

All of the food was prepared perfectly - great taste - great service...and location of course. My only complaint...slightly too expensive. We ordered plenty - but - seemed costly.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Dined in for a 20th anniversary - food w ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on February 2, 2017

Dined in for a 20th anniversary - food was amazing. Seating was perfect and in a corner in front of a window facing the street. Service was helpful and friendly. However, I would have liked to speak with someone a bit more familiar with the history of NOLA and the restaurant itself. The restaurant has a rich history.

Tags: Historic, Special Occasion, Romantic, People Watching, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We went on a whim to Muriel's to see the ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 1, 2017

We went on a whim to Muriel's to see the ghost table and ended up having the best meal of our entire trip to New Orleans. The prix fixe is a great deal with delicious options. The service was good but perhaps a bit overzealous. Great wine choices too.

Tags: Scenic View, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Cozy, Authentic, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Historic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

Service was great... didn't care for the ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on February 1, 2017

Service was great... didn't care for the food.

Had 1) crab cake appetizer- it was ok

2) red drum Cajun style - didn't like at all

3) creme brûlée- ok

Not worth the money. Food wasn't tasty.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service5
value1

Excellent restaurant! I was so impressed ...

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on January 30, 2017

Excellent restaurant! I was so impressed with the atmosphere and the menu. I had the Coco Vin and it was incredible. Their mushroom gnocchi was out of this world. And don't even get me started on dessert. I highly recommend this restaurant.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Excellent dining experience!

vip
 (Hawaii)·Dined on January 30, 2017

Excellent dining experience!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.