Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.05mi
  2. Distance: 0.05mi
  3. Distance: 0.05mi
  4. Distance: 0.05mi
  1. Distance: 0.05mi
  2. Distance: 0.05mi
  3. Distance: 0.05mi
  4. Distance: 0.05mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.05mi
  2. Distance: 0.05mi
  3. Distance: 0.05mi
  4. Distance: 0.05mi
  1. Distance: 0.05mi
  2. Distance: 0.05mi
  3. Distance: 0.05mi
  4. Distance: 0.05mi

About Muriel's Jackson Square

The Bistro at Muriel’s Jackson Square offers New Orleans classics like Gumbo, BBQ Shrimp, Oysters "Muriel", Turtle soup, Fried Gulf Shrimp Po-boy, Crabmeat Imperial, Shrimp Remoulade & contemporary Creole cuisine like Pecan Crusted Drum & Wood Grilled Tuna while the Courtyard Bar is the perfect place to drop by for drinks & appetizers. The Séance Lounge is the place for a relaxed, comfortable meeting before or after dining. Comprised of two areas, The Outer & The Inner Séance, the Séance also tells the story of a mystic & checkered past. The Outer Séance addresses the New Orleans era of Storyville & when Muriel's Jackson Square was one of the French Quarter's best bordellos! The Inner Séance is the preferred domain of the resident ghost, Pierre Antoine Lepardi Jourdan, & is the perfect spot for an intimate conversation & a drink amongst its plush surroundings.

801 Chartres Street
New Orleans, LA 70116
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Creole / Cajun / Southern

Hours of Operation:
Dinner served daily: Monday - Saturday 5:30pm - 10:00pm and Sunday 5:00pm - 10:00pm
Lunch: Monday - Saturday 11:30am - 2:30pm
Sunday Jazz Brunch 11:00am -2:00pm

Cross Street:
St. Ann

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(504) 568-1885

Website:
http://www.muriels.com/

Parking Details:
Muriel's Jackson Square validates up to 2 hours parking at the French Market parking lot, behind Cafe du Monde.

Executive Chef:
Gus Martin

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Private Room, Takeout, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Private Dining

A private party at Muriel’s offers a provocative sensory experience that exceeds the thrill of traditional dining. Guests will be immersed in a world of refinement and revelry that reflects the rich historical, cultural, and culinary character of the Crescent City.

Muriel's Jackson Square Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.6

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (150)
Special Occasion (146)
Historic (128)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (102)
Romantic (99)
Authentic (96)
Fit for Foodies (82)
Neighborhood Gem (76)
Good for Birthdays (75)
Creative Cuisine (73)
Local Ingredients (72)
People Watching (62)
Business Meals (57)
Good for Groups (52)
Great for Brunch (52)
Sunday Lunch (48)
Great for Lunch (47)
Notable Wine List (47)
Scenic View (47)
Comfort Food (41)
Handcrafted Cocktails (40)
Quiet Conversation (40)
Cozy (39)
Fun (38)
Worth the Drive (37)
Hot Spot (35)
Pre/post Theatre (31)
Bar Seating (22)
Casual (22)
Private Room (18)
Tasting Menu (16)
Live Music (16)
Gluten Free Options (14)
Family Style (11)
Kid-friendly (11)
Outstanding Value (10)
Seasonal (9)
Vibrant Bar Scene (9)
Happy Hour (9)
Late-night Find (7)
Afternoon Tea (7)
Great for Outdoor Dining (7)
Good Vegetarian Options (6)
Healthy (5)
Spicy (3)
Tapas (3)
Afternoon Coffee (3)
Molecular Gastronomy (3)
Fireplace (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Great Beer (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Vegan (2)
Disabled Access (1)
 (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Organic (1)
 (1)
 (1)
 (1)
 (1)
 (1)
 (1)
Modern Decor (0)
Sort By:
S
4626 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined a day ago

Good choice for classic Nola food

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined a day ago

Great service and atmosphere for celebrating special occasions

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tampa)·Dined 2 days ago

Dinner was lovely during our visit to New Orleans. Filet was delicious, probably the best flavored meat I have ever eaten.

Tags: Bar Seating, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined 2 days ago

Food was phenomenal!! A must do when in New Orleans!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined 2 days ago

Everything was perfect, staff was welcoming and the service was great and they were accommodating to my 2 and 5 year olds. My kids loved their gumbo and bread pudding.

Vegan options for me and they remembered when I made the reservation that I wanted a family photo upstairs in the room where my husband and I got married 10 years ago. We were late for our reservation and I forgot about the photo when we got there. But the staff reminded me and lead us upstairs for our photo before a private event stated.

We are locals and real loved everything about our meal and glad to keep Muriel's in our rotation of favorite places to eat.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good Vegetarian Options, Local Ingredients, Quiet Conversation, People Watching, Handcrafted Cocktails, Hot Spot, Vegan, Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Scenic View, Business Meals, Romantic, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Orange County)·Dined 3 days ago

Outstanding food, loved the shrimp and grits and crepes! Must go to restaurant in NOLA!!!

Tags: Scenic View, Romantic, Molecular Gastronomy, Fun, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined 3 days ago

Muriel's is a lovely restaurant with very good food, service, and ambience. However, we felt Rushed through our Dinner courses.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined 5 days ago

We (party of 3) were very impressed with the atmosphere, service, and food. We had a variety of appetizers, entrees, and desserts among us, and all were extremely good - oysters, crawfish and goat cheese crepes, beet salads, fried green tomatoes, lamb, Bayoubaisse, chocolate cake, and carrot cake ice-cream sandwich. Excellent restaurant - would go back anytime. Wait staff was very friendly, and wine was good, too.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined 5 days ago

Our experience was delightful, food & desserts were awesome! A great memory for our first trip to New Orleans.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined 6 days ago

Service started out a little slow but picked up, drinks were amazing, get price fix menu it was exceptional. Goat cheese crepes smooth & creamy, gumbo just right on spot, drum was flaky & fresh to the point it melted in my mouth. Cream brûlée was perfect. Noise was an issue but settled down after large party left & it's a return spot on my list now!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined 6 days ago

Muriel's is Always consistently great, food and service.

Tags: Good for a Date, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 6 days ago

I ordered off the gluten-free menu and tested it with my Nima. It was gluten-free and delicious! I ordered the filet cooked medium and it was done perfectly. The building is super cute with lots of nooks and rooms. Service was just ok but I would go back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value4

vip
 (New Orleans)·Dined on May 21, 2017

The Turtle soup was excellen!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on May 21, 2017

Best meal,music,experience in NOLA!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on May 21, 2017

Awesome place for my sister's Bachelorette Brunch!!!! Great service and great food! Right in the middle of the Jackson Square!!

Tags: Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Great for Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on May 21, 2017

Our brunch was delicious! We were visiting for the weekend and it was both mine and my husband's favorite meal of the weekend!

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on May 21, 2017

Absolutely fantastic jazz brunch! Food was out of this world! Service was top notch! GORGEOUS restaurant! It's a must do in New Orleans.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on May 20, 2017

Very loud restaurant with mediocre food and slow service. Came highly recommended, but we won't be back. Every other dining experience in New Orleans so far this trip has topped this one. There's far too much great food in New Orleans to waste time here again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on May 20, 2017

I ordered the redfish. I was concerned at first due to the description but I ordered it anyway. It was delicious! My husband ordered the Tuna and he said it was the best tuna he has ever eaten.

Tags: Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Vibrant Bar Scene, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on May 20, 2017

The food was amazing! We had the fried tomato stack, beet salad, and salmon entree. Everything was so delicious! The restaurant is really cute. Service was great. It is a bit noisy. But we had a wonderful time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on May 19, 2017

The bread pudding was delicious.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 19, 2017

My husband and I were in New Orleans for business, came in a day early and decided to celebrate our 15 year wedding anniversary dining at one of New Orleans finest restaurants. Easy to make reservations, charming atmosphere, excellent service, and delicious food. Would highly recommend to others, as well as return to dine our next visit to NOLA. Thank you!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Tasting Menu, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 18, 2017

Flew in to Town and the first place we go to is Muriel's for the Double Pork Chop. Can't imagine a trip to New Orleans with Muriel's♥️

Tags: Special Occasion, People Watching, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Casual, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 16, 2017

Less than expected

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value1

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 15, 2017

It's becoming one of my favorites the shrimp and grits are best in city

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on May 15, 2017

Delicious food, great cocktails, beautiful setting conducive to conversation.

Tags: Historic, Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on May 15, 2017

Muriels on Jackson Square is a great place for a special occasion or just to wander in off the street. The food is outstanding with everything from fresh fish to aged steaks. The service is excellent. You must visit the seance room upstairs and stop by to say hello to the ghost diner table. Tends to get a bit loud when the restaurant is busy.

Tags: Special Occasion, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Tea spoon for soup; soup spoon for dessert? Great restaurant, but the staff could use a tune up.

Tags: People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Wife, two kids (3 yr and 1 yr) and I went here for Mother's Day Sunday Jazz brunch. This was the 2nd time wife and I went to the Sunday Jazz brunch here. The first time was way better (which is why we went again). Maybe they were super busy this day (bc it was Mother's Day) but they seemed to be missing a few beats. I ordered a dirty vodka martini and was served a bloody mary. Not a huge deal but then the martini I got was not dirty, nor was the second. Wife's soup was served cold (not supposed to be). It took a while to bring out hot soup. The entrees were so-so (not bad but not great) and my shrimp dish was not worth what I paid (basically 8 shrimp with Tony's on a bed of wild rice), IMHO. Deserts were great. Music was great. Ambiance is great. The best part of this place is the location - walk outside and you're right at Jackson Square. We had a great day because of where we were and the weather was perfect. So, if you know you're going to spend the day in the Quarter this place is not a bad choice, but don't think we'll be doing the Jazz brunch here again.

Tags: Scenic View, Good for a Date, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Brunch was more like lunch, with three courses. There were no vegetarian options. There were no breakfast options at all for the kids (it was 930 am and we were trying to convince a 4yo to have chicken tenders...). However the wait staff was helpful and made some changes to an entree adding scrambled eggs, which ended up being ok for the kids. The jazz trio was nice.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on May 14, 2017

The food was amazing. We got there a few minutes early and got to walk around upstairs which was pretty cool. Loved the Crème Brule and flourless chocolate cake!!

Tags: Hot Spot, Fun, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Tallahassee)·Dined on May 13, 2017

It sucked - never again

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service4
value1

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Muriel's is always wonderful!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 13, 2017

The food is outstanding and I loved the drumfish! Service on both days was a little chilly which is surprising for New Orleans

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

 
 (Baton Rouge)·Dined on May 13, 2017

We enjoyed the meal and experience very much. The food and service were very good. The price was very reasonable for the quality of the food. We enjoyed being in Jackson Square and watching all the people.

Tags: Historic, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Lunch, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Granddaughters 21 Birthday. Very nice!

Tags: Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails, Historic, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on May 12, 2017

Très bel endroit , belle ambiance, bon service, bonne cuisine.

Tags: Romantic, Tasting Menu, Worth the Drive, Business Meals, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on May 12, 2017

Food was excellent but bread pudding to die for. We'd go back for bread pudding alone.

Tags: Special Occasion, Spicy, Historic, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (New Orleans)·Dined on May 12, 2017

Janice and her staff always go above and beyond my expectations. Yesterday was my birthday and we had a large group. Everyone was thrilled with their experience. The food was fresh and delicious, as always. The service was impeccable.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Sunday Lunch, Private Room, Great for Lunch, Romantic, Live Music, People Watching, Historic, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on May 12, 2017

This has been our third time to Muriel's. Sat at the ghost table for an extra $50. Had the best time posing for the ghost tour crowd 😂 Our waitress Arlene was the best. Would recommend the crawfish crepes and the baked oysters..😋

Tags: Bar Seating, Scenic View, Tapas, Neighborhood Gem, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.