About Muriel's Jackson Square

801 Chartres Street
New Orleans, LA 70116
View Larger Map

The Bistro at Muriel’s Jackson Square offers New Orleans classics like Gumbo, BBQ Shrimp, Oysters "Muriel", Turtle soup, Fried Gulf Shrimp Po-boy, Crabmeat Imperial, Shrimp Remoulade & contemporary Creole cuisine like Pecan Crusted Drum & Wood Grilled Tuna while the Courtyard Bar is the perfect place to drop by for drinks & appetizers. The Séance Lounge is the place for a relaxed, comfortable meeting before or after dining. Comprised of two areas, The Outer & The Inner Séance, the Séance also tells the story of a mystic & checkered past. The Outer Séance addresses the New Orleans era of Storyville & when Muriel's Jackson Square was one of the French Quarter's best bordellos! The Inner Séance is the preferred domain of the resident ghost, Pierre Antoine Lepardi Jourdan, & is the perfect spot for an intimate conversation & a drink amongst its plush surroundings.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Creole / Cajun / Southern

Hours of Operation:
Dinner served daily: Monday - Saturday 5:30pm - 10:00pm and Sunday 5:00pm - 10:00pm
Lunch: Monday - Saturday 11:30am - 2:30pm
Sunday Jazz Brunch 11:00am -2:00pm

Cross Street:
St. Ann

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(504) 568-1885

Website:
http://www.muriels.com/

Parking Details:
Muriel's Jackson Square validates up to 2 hours parking at the French Market parking lot, behind Cafe du Monde.

Executive Chef:
Gus Martin

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Non-Smoking Area, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Smoking Area, Takeout, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Crawfish And Goat Cheese Crepes
flank steak salad
Gulf Shrimp Risotto
Stuffed Mirliton
Chocolate Special
Fontana's West End Turtle Soup
Bread
Duck Brioche
flourless chocolate cake
Crabmeat Imperial
Iced Irish Coffee
Wood Grilled Tournedos Of Beef
Yangarra 2011 Shiraz
Haricots Vert
Turtle Soup
Shrimp & Goat Cheese Crepes
Gorgonzola Proscuitto Tart
Pecan Crusted Puppy Drum
Pain Perdue Bread Pudding
Seafood Bayoubaisse
Honey Child
Blueberry Cobbler
Pecan Pie w/ Bourbon Caramel Sauce
Seafood Au Gratin
Shrimp And Goat Cheese Crepes
Macadamia Nut Bread Pudding
Manchego Pomegranate Salad
Bread Pudding
Wood Grilled Lamb Chops
Duck
Seafood Stew
Blackened Redfish With Blue Crab
Fleur De Lis
Alligator Hash With Poached Eggs
Spinach Salad
Caramel Bread Pudding
Shrimp And Jumbo Lump Crab Salad
Sazerac
Goat Cheese Crepe With Crawfish Sauce
Carnival Time
Chocolate Covered Cherry Martini.
Crawfish Etouffee
Cream Cheese Ice Cream
Yellowfin Tuna Carpaccio
Spicy Bloody Mary
BBQ Shrimp
Creme Brulee
Cobb Salad
Chorizo Omlette
Shrimps and grits
Double Cut Pork Chop
Banana Walnut Bread Pudding French Toast
Gumbo
Spinach and Pear Salad
Red Velvet Cheesecake
seafood gumbo
Redfish Cake
Escargots Orleans
Apple Cinnamon Crepes
Wood Grilled Asparagus
Crepes
Pecan Crusted Alligator
Black Bottom Chocolate Butterscotch Pudding
Turtle Soup With Sherry
Turtle Soup au Sherry
Pecan Crusted Alligator W/Mirliton Slaw And Cane Pepper-Jelly
Vanilla Bean Creme Brulee
Maple Leaf Duck Salad
Shrimp Creole
Fillet Mignon w/ Twice Baked Potatoe
Shrimp And Andouille Omelette
Cajin Shrimp
Brownie w/peanut butter sauce
crab cake
Speckled Trout W/Peppery Ceab Stuffing

Private Dining

A private party at Muriel’s offers a provocative sensory experience that exceeds the thrill of traditional dining. Guests will be immersed in a world of refinement and revelry that reflects the rich historical, cultural, and culinary character of the Crescent City.

Muriel's Jackson Square Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.5

ambience

4.5

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Creole / Cajun / Southern
New Orleans / Louisiana
Most Booked
New Orleans / Louisiana
Creole / Cajun / Southern
New Orleans
1 More
Most Booked
New Orleans
Best Restaurants in French Quarter ›

special occasion (306)
fit for foodies (273)
romantic (216)
See All
neighborhood gem (186)
good for groups (158)
great for brunch (108)
great for lunch (92)
notable wine list (86)
scenic view (81)
hot spot (49)
kid-friendly (29)
late-night find (28)
vibrant bar scene (27)
great for outdoor dining (23)
Sort By:
Newest
3676 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Truly had a wonderful dinner~would and w ...

Dined 4 days ago

Truly had a wonderful dinner~would and will recommend your restaurant. Thank you again, Dr. Alan Ross

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

We were in a group of 3 on business trav ...

Dined 4 days ago

We were in a group of 3 on business travel wanting an excellent NOLA meal. Muriel's was a great choice. The Prix Fixe 3 course menu for $39.95 was awesome. Good choices as well as a nice regular menu. Drink prices are reasonable and were delicious. Overall a very nice experience. Would definitely recommend.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

I had the Table D'Hote (fixed price) mea ...

Dined 4 days ago

I had the Table D'Hote (fixed price) meal with the Crawfish & Goat Cheese Crepes, the Bayoubaisse, and the Flourless Chocolate Cake. It was all delicious, and the goat cheese crepes were particularly phenomenal. I would also recommend the Pimm’s Royale cocktail.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Good food, but nothing to write home abo ...

Dined 5 days ago

Good food, but nothing to write home about. Great atmosphere though.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience4
service5

The food was excellent and the wait staf ...

Dined 5 days ago

The food was excellent and the wait staff made a couple of great recommendations for drinks.

food5
ambience4
service5
value4

A perfect restaurant, perfect service, b ...

Dined 5 days ago

A perfect restaurant, perfect service, beautiful setting, delicious food (the duck breast with carrot purée sauce was incredible, and it was a wonderful dining experience.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We absolutely LOVED the food, ambiance, ...

Dined 5 days ago

We absolutely LOVED the food, ambiance, wait staff, and music during our late Sunday brunch. We had a two-year old and her parents with us, and she was treated well by the staff and musicians. It was by far the best place we ate while we were in New Orleans. It was the only place I would actually return to dine if we should find ourselves back in NOLA.

Tags: great for brunch, romantic, great for lunch
food4
ambience4
service1

The manager was super rude. We were a la ...

Dined 6 days ago

The manager was super rude. We were a large group and they wouldn't separate our checks even though they had confirmed that they would via telephone the day before.

food4
ambience4
service3
value4

Pecan encrusted Puppy Drum over a crawfi ...

Dined 6 days ago

Pecan encrusted Puppy Drum over a crawfish and spinach relish, shrimp and stone-ground grits cake, creme brûlée ..... food was excellent. Service however was a little slow and inattentive on a summer Saturday night. We will return.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A must go to restaurant in NOLA. The coc ...

Dined 6 days ago

A must go to restaurant in NOLA. The cocktail list is filled with surprisingly fresh and delicious choices. For entrees, I had the shrimp and grits - outstanding!! So much better than your traditional shrimp and grits - divine creole shrimp bisque and topped with a light yet tart tomato relish!! My husband had the bayoubaisse and devoured every piece of fresh seafood - be sure to order extra crawfish with that dish. For dessert we had flourless chocolate cake and creme brûlée - exceptional!! We were seated in the bistro room which was perfect - great view of Jackson Square, comfortable seating and not too loud - all around wonderful experience!!!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Every time I get to dine at Muriel's, I ...

Dined 6 days ago

Every time I get to dine at Muriel's, I get excited weeks in advance. The service is always excellent, their drinks are strong and delicious, and the food is always a knock out.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

Historic building on the square. Great s ...

Dined 6 days ago

Historic building on the square. Great service but don't know if it's go back...there are just too many amazing restaurants in the city.

food2
ambience2
service3
value2

Just average. Not bad; just average. Mis ...

Dined on June 24, 2016

Just average. Not bad; just average. Misled by reviews that were glowing but which did not describe our average experience.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful food and service! Staff was s ...

Dined on June 24, 2016

Wonderful food and service! Staff was so sweet for our Anniversary and the view was lovely.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

I missed going to Muriel's on my last vi ...

Dined on June 23, 2016

I missed going to Muriel's on my last visit to NOLA, so I was thrilled to have lunch there on this visit. The hostess and wait staff were very attentive. They made me feel like we where special guests. Our Bloody Mary's were tasty and had the perfect kick. The Gorgonzola Cheesecake appetizer was like desert - a slice of cheesecake! It was heaven. The filet was cooked to perfection with well cooked string beans. We were not rushed. It was a bit noisy as there were two tables of employees celebrating a retirement. Next time I'll know to check out the room I am placed in and ask for one of their many other rooms. The bar area is large yet cozy. A definite return visit is a must!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Loved the eclectic decor. We were greet ...

Dined on June 23, 2016

Loved the eclectic decor. We were greeted nicely and shown to our table immediately. Our waiter was adorable and the menu awesome. The food was wonderful as well! Overall, just an excellent dining experience - not to be missed!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, neighborhood gem
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

They are really missing the bar at this ...

Dined on June 23, 2016

They are really missing the bar at this restaurant compared to the other choices in New Orleans. I felt cheated that we chose this restaurant, for some it was their only dining experience in New Orleans and that is sad... TripAdvisor couldn't be more wrong, don't choose this place. Service was indifferent, slow and the food was a bit better than banquet food.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We've made a tradition of going to Murie ...

Dined on June 22, 2016

We've made a tradition of going to Muriel's for our anniversary. We've never been disappointed. The food and service have been top notch and they always try to accommodate our table request. Only one small complaint. The staff knew it was our anniversary and they gave us each a nicely prepared and presented fried oyster that we hadn't ordered. It was wonderful but I was surprised to see a charge for it on the bill. It was only a few dollars so I didn't say anything but thought it was a little tacky to charge for this gift.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We booked and they were running 15 minut ...

Dined on June 22, 2016

We booked and they were running 15 minutes late in the main dining room, but we were offered a table in the courtyard seating area which was fine.Our waiter was magnificent. He was very happy to offer suggestions, and they were spot on. I had the double cut pork chop which was one of their signature dishes and very much lived up to it's reputation. I highly recommend it. My colleagues also enjoyed their dishes and the drinks were pretty good too. Our bill was very reasonable, as they gave us a discount because of the convention we wee in town for. I'd very much recommend it even without the discount.

Tags: fit for foodies, group bookings, lunch
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

We ate at Muriel's for lunch. Lunch menu ...

Dined on June 21, 2016

We ate at Muriel's for lunch. Lunch menu was reasonably priced, both combinations and single-course items. Food was delivered promptly and tasted very good. Waitress was very conscientious.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food4
ambience3
service5

The restaurant was very accommodating f ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

The restaurant was very accommodating for a holiday for a large group. Waiter was excellent. The food was very good.

food4
ambience4
service4
value3

This was recommended by a member of staf ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

This was recommended by a member of staff at our hotel in New Orleans. It was Father's Day on the day we wanted to visit but we wanted to experience a New Orlean's Sunday Jazz Brunch before we left the city the following day. Wonderful food and staff although it did feel as if we were being pushed through quite quickly to get more covers in which may or may not have had something to do with it being Father's Day! I would class it as fine dining with a price to match.

Tags: brunch, fit for foodies, group bookings, special occasions, lunch
food1
ambience3
service4
value1

We went for Father's Day Brunch and to s ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

We went for Father's Day Brunch and to say the most, we were totally underwhelmed. We had not been to Murel's in quite a few years, but recalled it better than this occasion. The food was not up to par. I had eggs benedict, one of my favorites. but this eggs benedict was placed on a VERY small biscuit cut in two that was undercooked and doughy in the middle. the plate looked empty with that and 5 green beans and nothing more. my son got the omelet and he was not at all impressed with the presentation nor the quality. the server was nice enough to get the chef to prepare over easy eggs and bacon with biscuits for my husband, but the grits tasted like over salted popcorn. not good for the price, in fact next time we will go to Cracker Barrel and get better quality for a breakfast/brunch.

food5
ambience5
service5

Had the chance for lunch here today and ...

Dined on June 18, 2016

Had the chance for lunch here today and can I just say WOW. Do yourself a favor and order the goat cheese and crawfish crepes ! The flavor was incredible and the perfect start to our meal. I enjoyed my Eggs Benedict but was wishing I had ordered the stuffed mirliton that my niece ordered. The texture and flavor was spot on. Our waitress was knowledgable and very good. A New Orleans treat worth the price.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

After years of not going, we finally did ...

Dined on June 18, 2016

After years of not going, we finally did and were wondering what made us wait so long. The food is top-notch and the service matches. We had a great lunch on a rainy, cold June day. The waitress found a tea that my daughter had 4 cups of to warm her up. We also got to taste a true Creole tomato and it is the best, not like any tomato I have ever had.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Food was delicious! Service was excellen ...

Dined on June 18, 2016

Food was delicious! Service was excellent. Had a reservation at 8:30 on a Friday night. Walked right in with no wait. Would eat here again in a heart beat.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My husband and I went to Muriel's for th ...

Dined on June 17, 2016

My husband and I went to Muriel's for the first time to celebrate our 25th wedding anniversary, and they made it a wonderful night to remember! We wanted something romantic with delicious food, and they delivered more than we expected. We may go there every year for our anniversary. It was so special!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

Enjoyed food very much. Service was a bi ...

Dined on June 15, 2016

Enjoyed food very much. Service was a bit disjointed but for a tourist restaurant in New Orleans it was enjoyable.

Tags: good for groups, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Great NOLA food with atmospheric souther ...

Dined on June 14, 2016

Great NOLA food with atmospheric southern gothic surroundings

food5
ambience4
service3
value4

The food was excellent and the presentat ...

Dined on June 14, 2016

The food was excellent and the presentation very good. The service was a bit rushed.

Tags: fit for foodies
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Enjoyed the food-great food. The bread p ...

Dined on June 14, 2016

Enjoyed the food-great food. The bread pudding was excellent.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fine food, great flavors and reasonable ...

Dined on June 13, 2016

Fine food, great flavors and reasonable price. I was extremely pleased to get such fine food at a reasonable price in the heart of the tourist-filled French Quarter. I had a special Creole tomato fixed-price meal, and each dish, including the dessert (with tomato jams and popsicle!) featured this tomato prepared in a creative, appealing and tasteful way. Highly recommended.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food5
ambience4
service2
value4

We were on a holiday in New Orleans and ...

Dined on June 12, 2016

We were on a holiday in New Orleans and met with another couple for dinner. Muriel's came highly recommended and we were looking forward to a lovely evening. Our beverage server was not personable from the start and the server was the same: they wouldn't smile or Make small talk which we tend to like in a server. Our friend was reading the history of Muriel's and there was mention of a ghost so she asked the beverage server what that was all about. His reply was "Well, if I have to tell you....." making it like it was a chore. The food was delicious, we ordered from the Tomato Festival menu and the Table d'Hote. You must order the crepes as an appetizer...to die for! The Shrimp with Grits was phenomenal and we all raved about the meals. Tomato Jam cookies? Tart and sweet, laced with violet, yumm. Despite the service we had a very nice time and would recommend the restaurant.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Delicious meal and friendly service....w ...

Dined on June 11, 2016

Delicious meal and friendly service....we had the fish selections on the menu and the taste and presentation were great....our only negative was the desert which we didn’t feel was at the same high standard as the rest of the meal. We would definitely come back though as the mains were great....fabulous cheese bread with our meal too.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best Meal of my Life

Dined on June 11, 2016

The porkchops changed my life and I am already planning a trip back to NO so I can eat here again.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5

The food was delicious, I got the pork c ...

Dined on June 10, 2016

The food was delicious, I got the pork chops the waiter suggested and he was spot on. Great choice. My girlfriend's pasta was also very very good. Great location and fun staff. We will return to done again soon.

food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Typical New Orleans

Dined on June 7, 2016

The location is in Jackson Square. The restaurant's décor is what one expects from New Orleans fine dining. The food was very good and so was the service. Like most good restaurants it is a little pricy, but worth the experience.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Flawless Meal!!!

Dined on June 7, 2016

We had the pleasure of visiting Muriels to celebrate our 30th wedding anniversary. The restaurant is incredibly gorgeous and comfortable. We both had the 3 course Prix Fixe dinner which was very reasonably priced and portion sizes were generous. Over the course of our dinner we had 5 members of the wait staff and management attending to us; all very attentive, friendly and fun but not imposing upon the evening. We would highly recommend Muriels to anyone visiting New Orleans and will do so to friends and family.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent food and service in a wonderfu ...

Dined on June 7, 2016

Excellent food and service in a wonderful dining room with elegant southern charm. Very knowledgable wait staff ! Located in a very busy area in Jackson Square easy to get to! Highly recommended

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent experience

Dined on June 6, 2016

We loved our lunch here and James was a wonderful server. Food was delicious. Had the pork chop with red beans and rice and ate every bite. We were stuffed. Also enjoyed a Bloody Mary and martini. Friends still had room for bread pudding. Said it was amazing. Will be back every visit!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.