About Muriel's Jackson Square

801 Chartres Street
New Orleans, LA 70116
View Larger Map

The Bistro at Muriel’s Jackson Square offers New Orleans classics like Gumbo, BBQ Shrimp, Oysters "Muriel", Turtle soup, Fried Gulf Shrimp Po-boy, Crabmeat Imperial, Shrimp Remoulade & contemporary Creole cuisine like Pecan Crusted Drum & Wood Grilled Tuna while the Courtyard Bar is the perfect place to drop by for drinks & appetizers. The Séance Lounge is the place for a relaxed, comfortable meeting before or after dining. Comprised of two areas, The Outer & The Inner Séance, the Séance also tells the story of a mystic & checkered past. The Outer Séance addresses the New Orleans era of Storyville & when Muriel's Jackson Square was one of the French Quarter's best bordellos! The Inner Séance is the preferred domain of the resident ghost, Pierre Antoine Lepardi Jourdan, & is the perfect spot for an intimate conversation & a drink amongst its plush surroundings.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Creole / Cajun / Southern

Hours of Operation:
Dinner served daily: Monday - Saturday 5:30pm - 10:00pm and Sunday 5:00pm - 10:00pm
Lunch: Monday - Saturday 11:30am - 2:30pm
Sunday Jazz Brunch 11:00am -2:00pm

Cross Street:
St. Ann

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(504) 568-1885

Website:
http://www.muriels.com/

Parking Details:
Muriel's Jackson Square validates up to 2 hours parking at the French Market parking lot, behind Cafe du Monde.

Executive Chef:
Gus Martin

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Non-Smoking Area, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Smoking Area, Takeout, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Crawfish And Goat Cheese Crepes
flank steak salad
Gulf Shrimp Risotto
Stuffed Mirliton
Chocolate Special
Fontana's West End Turtle Soup
Bread
Duck Brioche
flourless chocolate cake
Crabmeat Imperial
Iced Irish Coffee
Wood Grilled Tournedos Of Beef
Yangarra 2011 Shiraz
Haricots Vert
Shrimp & Goat Cheese Crepes
Gorgonzola Proscuitto Tart
Pecan Crusted Puppy Drum
Pain Perdue Bread Pudding
Seafood Bayoubaisse
Honey Child
Blueberry Cobbler
Pecan Pie w/ Bourbon Caramel Sauce
Seafood Au Gratin
Shrimp And Goat Cheese Crepes
Macadamia Nut Bread Pudding
Manchego Pomegranate Salad
Bread Pudding
Wood Grilled Lamb Chops
Duck
Seafood Stew
Blackened Redfish With Blue Crab
Fleur De Lis
Alligator Hash With Poached Eggs
Spinach Salad
Caramel Bread Pudding
Shrimp And Jumbo Lump Crab Salad
Sazerac
Goat Cheese Crepe With Crawfish Sauce
Carnival Time
Chocolate Covered Cherry Martini.
Crawfish Etouffee
Cream Cheese Ice Cream
Yellowfin Tuna Carpaccio
Spicy Bloody Mary
BBQ Shrimp
Creme Brulee
Cobb Salad
Chorizo Omlette
Shrimps and grits
Double Cut Pork Chop
Turtle Soup
Banana Walnut Bread Pudding French Toast
Gumbo
Spinach and Pear Salad
Red Velvet Cheesecake
seafood gumbo
Redfish Cake
Escargots Orleans
Apple Cinnamon Crepes
Wood Grilled Asparagus
Crepes
Pecan Crusted Alligator
Black Bottom Chocolate Butterscotch Pudding
Turtle Soup With Sherry
Turtle Soup au Sherry
Pecan Crusted Alligator W/Mirliton Slaw And Cane Pepper-Jelly
Vanilla Bean Creme Brulee
Maple Leaf Duck Salad
Shrimp Creole
Fillet Mignon w/ Twice Baked Potatoe
Shrimp And Andouille Omelette
Cajin Shrimp
Brownie w/peanut butter sauce
crab cake
Speckled Trout W/Peppery Ceab Stuffing

Private Dining

A private party at Muriel’s offers a provocative sensory experience that exceeds the thrill of traditional dining. Guests will be immersed in a world of refinement and revelry that reflects the rich historical, cultural, and culinary character of the Crescent City.

Muriel's Jackson Square Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.5

ambience

4.5

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Creole / Cajun / Southern
New Orleans / Louisiana
Most Booked
New Orleans / Louisiana
Creole / Cajun / Southern
New Orleans
1 More
Most Booked
New Orleans
Best Restaurants in French Quarter ›

special occasion (279)
fit for foodies (240)
romantic (204)
See All
neighborhood gem (161)
good for groups (141)
great for brunch (98)
great for lunch (83)
notable wine list (78)
scenic view (74)
hot spot (38)
kid-friendly (26)
vibrant bar scene (24)
late-night find (23)
great for outdoor dining (22)
Sort By:
Newest
3720 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Great dining experience. The service was ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined 3 days ago

Great dining experience. The service was phenomenal, the food was very good, and enjoyed the cocktails. The ambiance was great as well. We saw people dressed down in t-shirts but this restaurant really deserves patrons who dress up a bit - men should wear collared shirt and nice shorts or pants (not jeans).

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The wait staff took amazing care of us, ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined 4 days ago

The wait staff took amazing care of us, and the food was out of this world! We had a wonderful anniversary celebration!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Loved the food and atmosphere. Staff wa ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined 5 days ago

Loved the food and atmosphere. Staff was fantastic! Make sure to ask about the ghost table and see the upstairs. The pork chop dinner was delicious!!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great food and exceptional service made ...

 
 (Alabama)
·Dined 5 days ago

Great food and exceptional service made for a very special occasion. Well done, Muriel's! Thank you!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Muriel's is a wonderful oasis right in t ...

 
 (New Mexico)
·Dined 5 days ago

Muriel's is a wonderful oasis right in the middle of the hubbub of Jackson Square. We enjoyed lunch there, and it was very quiet and soothing. The food was delicious. Service was spectacular.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Wonderful food and experience! Been ther ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined 6 days ago

Wonderful food and experience! Been there once and most definitely had to do it again!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Wow. This was the ultimate culinary expe ...

vip
 (South Carolina)
·Dined 6 days ago

Wow. This was the ultimate culinary experience of our long weekend in New Orleans. The food was certainly top notch; but what really made the dinner special was the personable service. Phil even took us up to the seance rooms after dinner and chatted with us at length about the history of the building and its supernatural denizens. Can't wait to go back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Sunday brunch at Muriel's should be a re ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined 6 days ago

Sunday brunch at Muriel's should be a requirement for anyone visiting New Orleans! The helpful and smooth service, paired with amazing food, made this a memorable part of our time in New Orleans. This is a must do!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We have been to Muriel's several times a ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined 7 days ago

We have been to Muriel's several times and always Had a enjoyable meal. The service and Ambiance can't be beat. We had the price fixed menu with gumbo, chicken dish, bayoybasse and bread pudding. All dishes were great except the chicken which was burned on the top we should've sent the dish back but elected not to do so. We will eat there again but be more selective if our food does not come out as expected .... Our mistake for not sending it back.

Tags: romantic, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value5

Our dinner was good and our waitstaff we ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

Our dinner was good and our waitstaff were good also. Everything was wonderful up until a member of the waitstaff (not assigned to us) came and started changing table linens and he was OBVIOUSLY in a very foul mood. Slamming drawers, stomping around, making loud noises. NOT the way I wanted to conclude our night. We told one of the managers only to be told "He prefers to work in the kitchen," and that was it. I say he prefers to be unemployed. It's good food but for the money and time we prefer to have a relatively pleasant atmosphere, wouldn't you agree?

Tags: special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value2

It was our 25th wedding Anniversary and ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

It was our 25th wedding Anniversary and there is no place I would have rather dined than here! Travis was wonderful, as usual! He is knowledgeable, friendly, makes great suggestions and definitely adds to the dining experience. The chef also sent out a complimentary appetizer for us which was wonderful. Thank You again! The restaurant has great history, ambiance and who doesn't love a great ghost story about where your dining! A must visit when you are in Jackson Square!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Outstanding, creatively prepared food, s ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

Outstanding, creatively prepared food, served by friendly and knowledgeable people, in a sophisticated yet relaxed environment. In every possible way, this was a highly enjoyable dinner experience.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The shrimp and goat cheese crepes, baby ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on July 13, 2016

The shrimp and goat cheese crepes, baby drum, bread pudding, and duck were all fantastic!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Superb restaurant, great service and gre ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on July 12, 2016

Superb restaurant, great service and great food. Also a good value if you like wine by the glass or bloody mary's.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The service and the food were both excel ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on July 11, 2016

The service and the food were both excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Muriel's Restaurant is always a delight ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Muriel's Restaurant is always a delight and never falters. Service is top notch. I have dined there for lunch, brunch, dinner, desert only and cocktails at the bar. Brunch includes live jazz. The restaurant overlooks Jackson Square so is in a perfect location. I highly recommend Muriel's.

Tags: great for brunch, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The service, location and ambiance were ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

The service, location and ambiance were great. However the food was just so-so which makes it pretty overpriced. They did accommodate a late reservation check-in which is part of the great service we received, but we left feeling underwhelmed with the food (brunch menu). Also, men cannot wear hats but women can.

Tags: special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value1

We had an outstanding experience! The ha ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

We had an outstanding experience! The haunted history associated with Muriel's past made it even better.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

We had a party we of 5 that went to cele ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

We had a party we of 5 that went to celebrate my friend's 40th birthday. Out of 5 meals, we had problems with 3. One ordered the fillet to be cooked medium-well, it came out butterflied and charred like a hockey puck. Another ordered the escargot as an appetizer that came out cold (not even lukewarm, it was straight-up COLD). Finally, one of our vegetarian friends ordered the vegetarian curry that she found a piece of seafood in. The manager brought us out 2 desserts for the table to share, but we thought with all the problems we had (and the money we spent) that we definitely should have gone somewhere else. We all came out disappointed and definitely will not return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

Great food and the service is always goo ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

Great food and the service is always good. Several of my family had the Pork Chop, gumbo and bread pudding for desert. My wife had the wood grilled gulf fish which tasted great and much healthier, but not nearly as good as the double cut pork chop. The price was very reasonable for a quality meal with great service.

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Located in the very center of the touris ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

Located in the very center of the tourist-busy French Quarter -- even with its many good reviews -- we were not fully expecting such a food-centric, attractive setting with such excellent service. And prices were reasonably moderate for the quality of the food and service. We were there for lunch but would readily consider returning for dinner on a future trip.

A $4 martini was excellently prepared and a generous pour. We covet the recipe for the delicious and beautifully executed savory gorgonzola cheesecake. The seafood gumbo started with a distinguished roux and had plenty of seafood - though my wife thought the black bean, corn and crab soup of the day was even better. Everything on the menu was enticing.

Yes, a return visit is definitely desired.

Yes, a return visit is definitely desired.

Tags: great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Let's start with the good. The food wasn ...

vip
 (Miami)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

Let's start with the good. The food wasn't just good it was outstanding. My wife had a variation of bouillabaisse with Andouille sausage that was excellent and I had a double pork chop with a bourbon glaze and a sweet potato mash with pecans that was one of my best meals ever. The wines were pricy but we shared a Sancerre for $52 that was superb. The service was attentive and the dining rooms are in a beautiful old space. The negative was the lack of dress code. The vast majority of men were in shorts, tee shirts and sandals. Call us old fashioned, but when we have a fine dining experience, we like the people around us not to be dressed like they are going to the beach.

Tags: fit for foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service4
value3

The place is just fantastic inside and o ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

The place is just fantastic inside and out ...fyi wear sleeves or you'll have sit by the bar(which was great too btw) but not as nice as dinning hall ... Food ..service everything was excellent

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We love Muriel's... We have never had po ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on July 7, 2016

We love Muriel's...

We have never had poor waitstaff...nor have we had a poor meal...

We always stay in New Orleans coming from Florida and we always have dinner

at Muriel's..

Thank Muriel..

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

The sunday brunch was excellent. Nice ja ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on July 7, 2016

The sunday brunch was excellent. Nice jazz band spiced up the morning. If you are a gumbo fan you should not miss Muriel's. Some of the very best we have had in New Orleans. The beet salad also stood out as above average. I was slightly disappointed in my fish entrée (wahoo) but I have been spoiled by Florida grouper and snapper. Still it was well prepared and I would order it again. For a bit of fun take time to check out the séance rooms upstairs and the outdoor balcony looking down Chartres and St Ann streets. Finally this was the only restaurant we visited twice on the trip.

Tags: great for brunch, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Wanted to experience eating at a haunted ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on July 6, 2016

Wanted to experience eating at a haunted restaurant. The food was mediocre for the price. I had the pre-fix and it was all overdone and had likely been cooked earlier in the day. My friend had items off the regular menu (steak and crab salad). Steak was slightly overdone and not tender, salad was unremarkable. Best item was the bread and mixed drinks. Wine list was rather limited.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service4
value2

I had a great dinner at Muriel’s Jackson ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on July 6, 2016

I had a great dinner at Muriel’s Jackson Square. I started my dinner with baked oysters; they were delicious, although any sauces or garnishing tend to overwhelm the oysters flavor. I can see people who do not like raw oysters, adoring this plate. The turtle soup was my first ever turtle soup. I liked it. The seasoning was reach and interesting. I was left wondering whether this was the king of turtle soup that Winston Churchill preferred. My entrée was wood grilled gulf fish, which was deliciously made. Here the natural flavors of the fish were nicely complemented and never overwhelmed by the confection. I ended my dinner with a good crème brûlée. I drank a couple of local beers whose names elude me. The first one was an amber (Abita?); the second one was complex and fruity.

Tags: fit for foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

After feeling a bit under-dressed (was i ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on July 5, 2016

After feeling a bit under-dressed (was in a touristy tshirt at the end of a HOT July day on Frenchman's) and encountering a rude bartender downstairs - probably due to my casual dress, but c'mon get over yerself (upstairs bar staff was MUCH nicer btw), Muriel's won me over with their exceptional food and very charming table staff. Heather & Phillip were attentive, kind and courteous. Their service was 5-stars, but the unwelcoming vibe at first made me give a 3 overall. That being said, the food - good lord - so delicious. Recommended.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

Great service and great hospitality. One ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on July 5, 2016

Great service and great hospitality. One of the best meals I have ever had. The entire staff and management are incredibly wonderful and friendly . They will make you feel like family . Love this place. 👍🏻

Get the pork Chops!! To die for.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great dinning spot outstanding quality a ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 4, 2016

Great dinning spot outstanding quality and well prepared from theappetizer to the dessert. Iwould recommend this anyone.

Very Affordable for what you receive.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The most underrated restaurant in New Or ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on July 4, 2016

The most underrated restaurant in New Orleans! I've been going here for years and each experience is consistent. The food is so good and the ambiance can't be beat! The Prix- Fixe menu is fantastic. I recommend the Shrimp & Goat Cheese Crepes, Pecan Crusted Drum, and Bread Pudding. Make sure you tour upstairs after dinner!!!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Muriel's was elegant and beautiful. Ver ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on July 4, 2016

Muriel's was elegant and beautiful. Very romantic atmosphere. The history is intriguing. Food and service was excellent. Will definitely dine there again !!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Their blackened redfish entree was a won ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on July 4, 2016

Their blackened redfish entree was a wonderful dish that had a lot of great layers of flavors. Truly one of the best restaurant entrees I have eaten.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I really enjoyed my meal. The fish of e ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

I really enjoyed my meal. The fish of e day when I went was a yellow fin tuna and it was extremely good ..like really really good and cooked perfectly

Tags: romantic, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Lovely jazz brunch. Food was excellent. ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

Lovely jazz brunch. Food was excellent. Will be back for sure.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The waitresses were helpful for a first ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

The waitresses were helpful for a first time visitor like me. Though I did not have a drink there was nothing on the alcohol list less than $10 that looked appealing. I had the pork chops which was more than enough for one person and the husband had a 3 course meal which was way too much for him to finish also.

Next time we pick one three course item and share!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Wonderful creole experience!! The food w ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

Wonderful creole experience!! The food was as good as it gets! I had the duck and I enjoyed every bit of it! Must go if you are visiting New Orleans and looking for a fancy dining experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

When we arrived at Muriel's we were met ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

When we arrived at Muriel's we were met by stares and looks from the Muriel's staff. It was a cold greeting, but I tried not to pay it any attention. We were served by Phil and Heather. Heather was a very polite and friendly.

However, Phil was short, not friendly, and at some points during the evening pretty rude. The exchange between Phil that I found to be the most rude was when one of us asked for desert. He began to repeat over and over that another guest was eating. It was rude, dismissive, and mortifying being scolded by our server.

I think we all understanding the rules of etiquette when it comes to serving dinner. However, I don't believe that honoring the request of a patron by serving desert while the other finishes up her meal is an unreasonable request. Instead of trying to embarrass us, he should have just honored the request.

I would not recommend Muriel's to any of my friends traveling to New Orleans. We were not made to feel welcomed. The server was rude. Lastly, there was no acknowledgement of my sister's birthday as I had requested.

In the future, Muriel's might want to teach it's servers to be less dismissive to their guests requests and be more accommodating.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service1
value2

My experience at Muriels was the absolut ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

My experience at Muriels was the absolute best. Everything was perfect from the time of our arrival to the end of the meal. The turtle soup was delicious and the bread pudding was the best I ever had, and I've never really cared for bread pudding. I was beyond impressed. I read the reviews before coming there; and while all the reviews were good, sometimes you never know. I'm pleased to say I was not disappointed. My expectations were exceeded. I will definitely come back when I'm in New Orleans again.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We have eaten in many of New Orleans' r ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

We have eaten in many of New Orleans' restaurants and this one was by far the nicest due to great service and the pace of the night. Other places are way too fast as they want to get as many patrons as possible through. Muriel's was a relaxed perfect pace and the food was wonderful!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.