Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.05mi
  2. Distance: 0.05mi
  3. Distance: 0.05mi
  4. Distance: 0.05mi
  1. Distance: 0.05mi
  2. Distance: 0.05mi
  3. Distance: 0.05mi
  4. Distance: 0.05mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.05mi
  2. Distance: 0.05mi
  3. Distance: 0.05mi
  4. Distance: 0.05mi
  1. Distance: 0.05mi
  2. Distance: 0.05mi
  3. Distance: 0.05mi
  4. Distance: 0.05mi

About Muriel's Jackson Square

The Bistro at Muriel’s Jackson Square offers New Orleans classics like Gumbo, BBQ Shrimp, Oysters "Muriel", Turtle soup, Fried Gulf Shrimp Po-boy, Crabmeat Imperial, Shrimp Remoulade & contemporary Creole cuisine like Pecan Crusted Drum & Wood Grilled Tuna while the Courtyard Bar is the perfect place to drop by for drinks & appetizers. The Séance Lounge is the place for a relaxed, comfortable meeting before or after dining. Comprised of two areas, The Outer & The Inner Séance, the Séance also tells the story of a mystic & checkered past. The Outer Séance addresses the New Orleans era of Storyville & when Muriel's Jackson Square was one of the French Quarter's best bordellos! The Inner Séance is the preferred domain of the resident ghost, Pierre Antoine Lepardi Jourdan, & is the perfect spot for an intimate conversation & a drink amongst its plush surroundings.

801 Chartres Street
New Orleans, LA 70116
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Creole / Cajun / Southern

Hours of Operation:
Dinner served daily: Monday - Saturday 5:30pm - 10:00pm and Sunday 5:00pm - 10:00pm
Lunch: Monday - Saturday 11:30am - 2:30pm
Sunday Jazz Brunch 11:00am -2:00pm

Cross Street:
St. Ann

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(504) 568-1885

Website:
http://www.muriels.com/

Parking Details:
Muriel's Jackson Square validates up to 2 hours parking at the French Market parking lot, behind Cafe du Monde.

Executive Chef:
Gus Martin

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Private Room, Takeout, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Private Dining

A private party at Muriel’s offers a provocative sensory experience that exceeds the thrill of traditional dining. Guests will be immersed in a world of refinement and revelry that reflects the rich historical, cultural, and culinary character of the Crescent City.

Muriel's Jackson Square Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.6

ambience

4.6

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (152)
Good for a Date (138)
Good for Anniversaries (104)
See All
Romantic (103)
Authentic (93)
Neighborhood Gem (87)
Creative Cuisine (81)
Local Ingredients (76)
Fit for Foodies (76)
Good for Birthdays (75)
Historic (72)
People Watching (61)
Great for Brunch (58)
Business Meals (50)
Scenic View (47)
Great for Lunch (45)
Worth the Drive (44)
Sunday Lunch (43)
Cozy (42)
Notable Wine List (40)
Comfort Food (39)
Quiet Conversation (38)
Good for Groups (38)
Handcrafted Cocktails (36)
Fun (34)
Hot Spot (31)
Pre/post Theatre (30)
Bar Seating (22)
Casual (21)
Live Music (20)
Tasting Menu (18)
Gluten Free Options (11)
Kid-friendly (11)
Seasonal (10)
Happy Hour (9)
Private Room (9)
Spicy (8)
Healthy (7)
Late-night Find (7)
Afternoon Tea (6)
Vibrant Bar Scene (6)
Great for Outdoor Dining (5)
Family Style (4)
Afternoon Coffee (3)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Great Beer (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Tapas (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
 (1)
 (1)
 (1)
 (1)
 (1)
 (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Vegan (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
 (1)
Modern Decor (0)
Sort By:
S
4749 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
·Dined 2 days ago

My wife and I ate there on our last night in New Orleans. By far and away the best overall dining experience that we had in the city (we ate at Commander's Palace too). Highly recommended, and we will definitely be back for another meal on our next visit.

Tags: Tasting Menu, People Watching, Authentic, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Fun, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined 2 days ago

I've been to Muriel's twice before this visit and I have to say I was not impressed. My food was overcooked and lacked the wow factor of previous visits. I had a fantastic dinner at Nola the night before and they blew me away. I will not be recommending this restaurant to friends or be going back when in Nola.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined 3 days ago

Kris was absolutely splendid. He took great care of us and helped us select the perfect meal and drinks. The ghost table was also fun to see at the end!!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined 6 days ago

The food and service was really great. A little pricey but worth it. The shrip and grits was Amazing.

Tags: Casual, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 6 days ago

Everything we had was delicious and amazing. We shared the seafood gumbo, crab cakes, shrimp and goat cheese crepes, wild mushroom gnocchi, and the pain Perdu.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (New Orleans)·Dined on July 15, 2017

Service was absolutely top notch! Excellent wine selection and tasty dishes. Highly recommend the shrimp and crab crepes!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on July 15, 2017

Muriel's never disappoints. Great food, wine and service. A must if you are in New Orleans!

Tags: Special Occasion, Fun, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on July 15, 2017

Anniversary

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on July 14, 2017

good was very acerage

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on July 12, 2017

We are fortunate enough to live nearby and dine at Muriel's often. Wonderful food and an accommodating staff make it a pleasant experience. Love the Gorgonzola cheesecake!

Tags: Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Great for Lunch, Good for Groups, People Watching, Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Sunday Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on July 12, 2017

Everything was amazing!! Shrimp & goat cheese crepes are a must!!
The crab & shrimp salad was wonderful!
The carrot cake ice cream sandwich is also a must try!
David provided awesome service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on July 11, 2017

We were greeted/seated promptly after entering and the service only got better from there. My wife and I both enjoyed our meals, but the desserts were even more incredible. We ended the evening with a private tour from Anthony, who recounted some of the history of the building and allowed us to take a few pictures on the more "active" areas of the facility. I will come back to Muriel's for the service of nothing else. Fantastic.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 10, 2017

The food and service was wonderful! The history and haunted vibes were also very intriguing. Definitely ask your waiter to see the seance room upstairs, very cool. I would definitely come back on my next visit to New Orleans.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on July 10, 2017

From the moment we walked in till the moment we walked out the service was attentive and efficient. The food was exquisite! We loved the house salad, so refereshing and super tasty! The ambiance was great and we will definitely be coming back on our next trip!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on July 10, 2017

The service is amazing and that's just the preamble to the food. I had roasted duck and it was stunning, and my wife had pan seared tuna that she thoroughly enjoyed. Just a great meal all the way around.

Tags: Good for a Date, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Houston)·Dined on July 9, 2017

Fantastic! Prix Fixe menu is easily the best in the French Quarter.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on July 9, 2017

We were in NOLA for a week, and this was definitely the best meal of the trip! Everything was delicious, and the service was awesome! We will be making a reservation here on every trip from now on.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on July 9, 2017

The servers were fantastic. The food was AMAZING!!!!! The only issue we had was the bill did not reflect the prices on the menu. We would have overpaid by $25.00, but the server did correct quickly. Wonder how many people don't pay attention to the final bill.

Tags: Live Music, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on July 8, 2017

The food seemed under seasoned, and did not wow in any way. We shared a baked oyster appetizer, my husband had the duck breast, and I the 'Bayoubaisse.' Wouldn't order any of the same dishes again. The ambience was fine, and the service attentive. Feel the food offerings need reevaluation.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on July 7, 2017

Food and service were both very good.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on July 7, 2017

Third time to eat here on trips to New Orleans. Soup of the day was bland. Service lacking attentiveness. Disappointing. Doubt I will ever eat here again.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 6, 2017

Thursday evening on July. We were seated right away, given a window table. Service was excellent. Three servers took care of our table, being very attentive throughout the meal.
Baked Oysters were an excellent appetizer. Blackened Redfish was prepared perfectly, served with greens and lump crabmeat. Highly recommended!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on July 6, 2017

1. Duck overcooked. 2. We saw the greeter seat couples who were black biracial, or multicultural in the back seats out of view near the kitchen while seating white couples near the entrance door. This was done for 6 seatings. Appalling.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1

 
 (Oklahoma City)·Dined on July 6, 2017

Worth every cent. Wonderful food and the staff was great. My wife and I loved it and will come again .

Tags: Romantic, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 5, 2017

Great location right next to Jackson Square. Salad was delicious. Fish was seared so rare which I'm used to with 1" fillets. But this was 2.5" so hard to eat. Should have been warned about the thickness. Shrimp grits were very good. Gumbo authentic flavor but almost no seafood in it. Food took about 35-40 minutes to arrive and restaurant was not that crowded so did not make sense.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on July 5, 2017

Lovely ambience, great service. They were very nice about letting us split a price fixe. The special birthday treats were thoughtful and delicious. The goat cheese crepes appetizer was delicious and just right for 2. The Bayoubaise entree was so salty that we could barely eat it, and they did offer to make it right

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on July 4, 2017

We had a wonderful meal; however, reflecting on the bill for two people at $190 when we selected Table D'Hote at $42.95 per person and had a total of four glasses of wine (alas we didn't grab the breakdown) seemed pretty high. The service and food was impeccable. The bartenders were great. Would highly recommend the El Diablo for a pre-dinner cocktail (it is spicy).

Tags: Special Occasion, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value2

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on July 4, 2017

Terrific food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Birmingham)·Dined on July 4, 2017

I'm from NOLA so I know a great meal when I have one. Unfortunately this was not the case at Muriel's. The wait staff was very slow bringing our menus and our waiter looked as though he was bothered being at work. The house salad was boring and the seafood gumbo lacked seafood . The black ends redfish was bland and expensive. Wine list by the glass was limited. I won't go back as there are too many other great places right around the corner. It does have a nice decor but that's it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on July 3, 2017

I've been a customer since Muriel's first opened for business. I have never been disappointed so therefore I will continue to be a repeat, loyal customer.

Tags: Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on July 3, 2017

Patrick and Phil were great! The food and drinks were great!

Tags: Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Comfort Food, Scenic View, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on July 3, 2017

The ambiance is always wonderful here, but the food on this trip was a bit subpar. Turtle soup was served barely warm and the beef dish was over cooked. Appetizers, service & wine selection was good. Will likely try it again, but was disappointed with this experience.

Tags: Bar Seating, Good for Birthdays, Casual, Great for Brunch, People Watching, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on July 3, 2017

First day in New Orleans,tried this one out,wasn't disappointed

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on July 2, 2017

The best food that I ever ate. Everything was delicious and well presented. The service was excellent. The waitress was very friendly, sweet and helpful. The wait staff was attentive. The tables were far enough apart that we didn't have a noise issue. We sat in the front room overlooking the street. The restaurant was huge but we didn't notice because everyone was very attentive and we had a normal wait for our food. The 3 course pre-fixed menu was worth the price. I would definitely recommend the restaurant to friends visiting the area.

Tags: Disabled Access, Fit for Foodies, Seasonal, Pre/post Theatre, Local Ingredients, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on July 2, 2017

I have been many times, love the foid and service here. I took my husband for his birthday. He enjoyed it alot. As always thank you

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Fun, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on July 2, 2017

This restaurant is beautiful. However, the food was not very good. I was on a vacation with my mom and my daughter, and we had some amazing meals during our week-long trip. This was not one of those meals. None of us liked anything we ordered. None of us is a picky eater. It was like the restaurant was trying too hard to be creative that it just failed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on July 2, 2017

The food was delicious overall. Everyone loved their dinner selection. The gumbo was excellent. The pre-fix dinner option was a great value. The only thing I did not like was the bread pudding.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on July 2, 2017

Everything about Muriel's is AMAZING!!! The food is some of the best in the French Quarter! The service is top notch! The ambiance is fantastic! I thought I'd visit New Orleans to eat at Emeril's again but nope, I'd go back to eat at Muriel's. We'll done Muriel's!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on July 2, 2017

Best brunch in NOLA, a must. Food is outsatanding, service is wonderful.

Tags: Special Occasion, Great for Brunch, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on July 2, 2017

Very nice Sunday Brunch location for the family. Service was Oustanding and the food was Excellent.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.