Muriel's Jackson Square

4.6
5593 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
$31 to $50
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Creole / Cajun / Southern
Top Tags:
  • Special Occasion
  • Good for Anniversaries
  • Good for a Date
The Bistro at Muriel’s Jackson Square offers New Orleans classics like Gumbo, BBQ Shrimp, Oysters "Muriel", Turtle soup, Fried Gulf Shrimp Po-boy, Crabmeat Imperial, Shrimp Remoulade & contemporary Creole cuisine like Pecan Crusted Drum & Wood Grilled Tuna while the Courtyard Bar is the perfect place to drop by for drinks & appetizers. The Séance Lounge is the place for a relaxed, comfortable meeting before or after dining. Comprised of two areas, The Outer & The Inner Séance, the Séance also tells the story of a mystic & checkered past. The Outer Séance addresses the New Orleans era of Storyville & when Muriel's Jackson Square was one of the French Quarter's best bordellos! The Inner Séance is the preferred domain of the resident ghost, Pierre Antoine Lepardi Jourdan, & is the perfect spot for an intimate conversation & a drink amongst its plush surroundings.
icon/ic_private_diningCreated with Sketch.
Private dining
Dining Style
Casual Dining
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Cuisines
Creole / Cajun / Southern
icon/ic_clockCreated with Sketch.
Hours of operation
Lunch: Monday - Friday 11:30am - 2:30pm
Saturday Brunch 10:30am-2:00pm
Sunday Jazz Brunch 10:30am -2:00pm
Dinner served daily: Monday - Thursday 5:30pm - 10:00pm, Friday, Saturday and Sunday 5:00pm - 10:00pm
icon/ic_phoneCreated with Sketch.
Phone number
(504) 568-1885
icon/ic_new_windowCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_paymentCreated with Sketch.
Payment options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa
icon/ic_dress_codeCreated with Sketch.
Dress code
Casual Dress
icon/ic_chefCreated with Sketch.
Executive chef
Erik Veney
icon/ic_locationCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_neighborhoodCreated with Sketch.
Neighborhood
icon/ic_cross_streetCreated with Sketch.
Cross street
St. Ann
icon/ic_parking_detailsCreated with Sketch.
Parking details
Muriel's Jackson Square validates up to 2 hours parking at the French Market parking lot, behind Cafe du Monde.
icon/ic_special_eventsCreated with Sketch.
Special events & promotions
For private events please call 504-568-1955
Additional
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Private Room, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Private Dining

A private party at Muriel’s offers a provocative sensory experience that exceeds the thrill of traditional dining. Guests will be immersed in a world of refinement and revelry that reflects the rich historical, cultural, and culinary character of the Crescent City.

View Private Dining Details
What 5593 People Are Saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
4.6based on recent ratings
4.5
food
4.5
service
4.6
ambience
4.3
value
Noise · Moderate
93% of people would recommend it to a friend
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
Sort by
Newest
Filters
5.0Dined 2 days ago

Food, service, and ambiance was perfect!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined 3 days ago

Wonderful food and great service.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined 5 days ago

It was good, few minutes late, no problem with seating. Excellent cocktails!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined 7 days ago

Muriel's was outstanding! The food was excellent and the service was as well.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined 7 days ago

We hoped that Muriel's would live up to reviews. It is a beautiful old mansion, with a variety of foods that would satisfy anyone, and comes with it's own mysterious upstairs rooms, complete with a resident ghost. We went for Father's Day, had a wonderful meal, followed by a tour by a very friendly young man, Luis. Then, listened to a street musician singing "Cat's in the Cradle" as we stood on the balcony. Love this place.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 17, 2018

Beautiful and delicious

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on June 17, 2018

I made the reservation well in advance but we were seated almost 1 hour late. I have worked and managed restaurants and I understand a busy tourist situation, but still poor management of reservations. As a consequence, my brunch became rushed due to airline flights.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 17, 2018

Excellence service. Loved the bread pudding. Definitely go up to the rooftop balcony. Great views and interesting decor along the way

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on June 17, 2018

We decided we had to hit Muriel's during our recent stay and visit with the ghost who haunts it! We did the pre-set menu which was a pretty good deal. The crawfish goat cheese crepes are AMAZING. Their gumbo was only okay. It seemed like they burnt the roux. The boullabase was delicious, as was the chicken demi poulet. As far as desert goes, if you love dark chocolate- go for the chocolate cake. If not, the creme brule was superb. One of the strongest Hurricanes we got while in NOLA was here. The service was pretty good overall but our server was a little.... stuck up.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 17, 2018

Went for birthday dinner while in New Orleans. Was an absolutely fantastic meal! Service was great (and friendly) as well. Highly recommend!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 17, 2018

After we heard about the ghost’s table our curiosity got the better of us. The restaurants menu looked awesome and the place looked very upscale for our final night to dine in the big easy. The food was fabulous as was the service and the incredible wait staff showed us around and led us to the upstairs seance room and the incredible balcony where we had drinks. We met wonderful people who enchanted us and the vibe was anything BUT scary. Loved, loved everything about this place and highly recommended that you give it a try while in town

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 16, 2018

Great service, excellent food and presentation and convenient location! Ask to sit near a window for a view of busy Jackson square while you dine! We love seeing the hustle and bustle of new 000Orleans. It was my mother's 60th birthday dinner celebration and the waitstaff surprised her with a birthday dessert complete with candle. A very nice gesture. Food was awesome....creative twist on some items.... crawfish crepes and gorgonzola cheesecake....yum! The honeychild cocktail is refreshing and always satisfying. We love the food and history of the building. Keep in mind though it is near a busy, touristy spot in the city so many stepped off the street to dine so some of the diners are much more casual. We were dressed up to go to a Broadway show and many were in shorts and tees. That's the only downfall. I sometimes prefer when restaurants require or maintain a dress code for dinner service. But overall, another great experience. We will definitely be back!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 16, 2018

We had reservations however we arrived early and they were more than happy to go ahead and seat us. Restaurant was beautiful. The food was amazing and the wait staff was was attentive and friendly. We would highly recommend this place.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 15, 2018

This place was everything a special evening could be. So comfy and people who want to take care of you. Extremely great food and service.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 15, 2018

Pork chops, pork chops, pork chops. Today for lunch I ate the wood grilled pork chop with red beans and rice. The red beans and rice were good but, the pork chop. WOW!!! The pork chop was not only the best pork chop I ever ate...it is one of the best foods I have ever eaten.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 14, 2018

Excellent food. The roux for the seafood gumbo was perfect - right at the edge. The tuna was excellent, as was the blackened red fish: they were justified in bragging about it. The only slightly off dish was the mushroom gnocchi. The salt level was high, but that could be due to the meat removed from the dish for us; we're pescatarians. The rose was a nice dry one from France, at a reasonable price. The service was wonderful. I thought three people waiting on us would be a bit much but boy were they smooth. The experience was worth every penny.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 14, 2018

We had lunch at Muriel's which is on Jackson Square just across from the Cathedral. We went for the poboy and it did not disappoint. The really unique thing about Muriels is the lounge which is upstairs from the restaurant. Just as we were finishing our meal it began to pour rain and our server suggested we get a glass of wine and wait out the storm in the lounge. It is almost a museum up there with art and, no other way to describe it, strange stuff. If you go to Muriels be sure you head upstairs and sit for awhile.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 14, 2018

Love this place - the location, the food and the building are all great. Great menu and good wine selection

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 12, 2018

Great food, fair prices, great ambiance, super place for any special occasion

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 10, 2018

We have eaten at Muriel's many times. This last time, my husband ordered the brunch special which was salmon cakes topped with a poached egg. The cakes were all bread with hardly any salmon. The manager did take it off the bill. All in all, it is a very nice restaurant. David Landis, who is a server there is top notch. If you decide to dine there, try to get his table. He'll give you excellent service.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 10, 2018

We ate for the Jazz Brunch. The combo brunch (appetizer/entree/dessert) selection was very limited, so we ate a la carte. Would have liked to see more offerings for the combo. The jazz trio was very good and added to the ambience of traditional French Quarter style restaurants.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 10, 2018

We were in New Orleans for a long weekend to celebrate a friends birthday. We thought it sounded fun to do a live jazz brunch.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 10, 2018

Wife and I are NOLA expats so we know good food. In town for a wedding last weekend. The quality of the food did not disappoint. Everything was fabulous. My wife had shrimp & grits and I had pecan encrusted drum and a cup of gumbo. The gumbo was good not great. The bread pudding desert was top notch. A very enjoyable evening that did not break the bank. Definitely coming back next time I'm in NOLA

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on June 9, 2018

Visited Mureil’s for the first time, hoping to experience some haunted surprises. Food very tasty but a bit on the expensive side. Ordered desserts that could have been larger considering the price we paid. Unexpected entertainment was the bicyclists that passed by as we were eating, naked completely in honor of PRIDE month. Disappointed there were no apparitions to delight us.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 9, 2018

Absolutely delicious! Jenny (our waitress) was fabulous...knowledgeable, accurate in description and fun! Will return on next visit.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on June 9, 2018

Great meal, food well prepared and presented. Good menu, tasty food. Extensive wine list but why is the wine so expensive in this country? Wife had special menu but there was no dessert left when the time came. Despite all this no hesitation to recommend this restaurant.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 8, 2018

Wonderful restaurant. Best filet I’ve ever had. Highly recommend.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on June 8, 2018

Excellent restaurant in New Orleans. Next to Jackson square but away from most of the tourists. Reservations recommended but many were coming in without. Good value 3 course set dinner.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 8, 2018

It’s a beautiful restaurant and the good was great especially the crepes! Nicole was very nice and helpful!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 8, 2018

We go to New Orleans at least once a year. Have never been to this restaurant but glad we stopped in period the food was amazing. Visited the ghost table had A-blast

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 7, 2018

Great ambiance, excellent service, and a lovely choice for us as vegetarians! We had a vegetable pot pie filled with great veggies in a nice cream sauce!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on June 7, 2018

Muriel's is very reasonably priced for the quality of the food. We each had the prix fixe and recommend it heartily. Delicious, perfectly prepared and portioned food.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on June 7, 2018

Great restaurant, came highly recommended. Could have improved their execution on both of our meals and app.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 7, 2018

CJ was the kindest and most hospitable man in a town of the loveliest people in the world! An excellent dining experience for myself and 2 young men (10 and14). The quintessential New Orleans experience❣️⚜️

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 5, 2018

My date and I went here for a special evening during our vacation to Nola. We we're recommended here by a local ghost tour and our curiosity got the better of us. The dining was lovely and the post-meal wandering through the upstairs was so spooky we loved it! Definitely would recommend to anyone traveling in the area.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 5, 2018

Delicious food and friendly attentive service.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on June 4, 2018

I love it here. But our waiter was snooty and snippy. Not the usual experience as I bring all my guests who come to visit. Management was great.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 4, 2018

Booked for our 15th anniversary at the recommendation of a coworker. Atmosphere and service was excellent. Food was great expect for my wife’s tuna which was supposed to be medium was over cooked. Apps and drinks were fantastic as well.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 4, 2018

Everything was perfect and delicious! The food was absolutely amazing. The service was impeccable. The atmosphere was divine!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 4, 2018

Delightful local cajun style. Very flavorful. excellent service and recommendations for the menu

Report
Helpful
1
2
3
140

Tweets by Muriel's Jackson Square