About Muriel's Jackson Square

801 Chartres Street
New Orleans, LA 70116
View Larger Map

The Bistro at Muriel’s Jackson Square offers New Orleans classics like Gumbo, BBQ Shrimp, Oysters "Muriel", Turtle soup, Fried Gulf Shrimp Po-boy, Crabmeat Imperial, Shrimp Remoulade & contemporary Creole cuisine like Pecan Crusted Drum & Wood Grilled Tuna while the Courtyard Bar is the perfect place to drop by for drinks & appetizers. The Séance Lounge is the place for a relaxed, comfortable meeting before or after dining. Comprised of two areas, The Outer & The Inner Séance, the Séance also tells the story of a mystic & checkered past. The Outer Séance addresses the New Orleans era of Storyville & when Muriel's Jackson Square was one of the French Quarter's best bordellos! The Inner Séance is the preferred domain of the resident ghost, Pierre Antoine Lepardi Jourdan, & is the perfect spot for an intimate conversation & a drink amongst its plush surroundings.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Creole / Cajun / Southern

Hours of Operation:
Dinner served daily: Monday - Saturday 5:30pm - 10:00pm and Sunday 5:00pm - 10:00pm
Lunch: Monday - Saturday 11:30am - 2:30pm
Sunday Jazz Brunch 11:00am -2:00pm

Cross Street:
St. Ann

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(504) 568-1885

Website:
http://www.muriels.com/

Parking Details:
Muriel's Jackson Square validates up to 2 hours parking at the French Market parking lot, behind Cafe du Monde.

Executive Chef:
Gus Martin

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Non-Smoking Area, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Smoking Area, Takeout, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Private Dining

A private party at Muriel’s offers a provocative sensory experience that exceeds the thrill of traditional dining. Guests will be immersed in a world of refinement and revelry that reflects the rich historical, cultural, and culinary character of the Crescent City.

Muriel's Jackson Square Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.5

ambience

4.6

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Creole / Cajun / Southern
New Orleans / Louisiana
Most Booked
New Orleans / Louisiana
Creole / Cajun / Southern
New Orleans
1 More
Most Booked
New Orleans
Best Restaurants in French Quarter ›

special occasion (318)
fit for foodies (286)
romantic (233)
See All
neighborhood gem (201)
good for groups (152)
great for brunch (107)
great for lunch (97)
scenic view (95)
notable wine list (88)
hot spot (61)
late-night find (26)
vibrant bar scene (25)
great for outdoor dining (24)
kid-friendly (23)
Sort By:
Newest
3608 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5

The service was excellent and the meal w ...

Dined a day ago

The service was excellent and the meal was fantastic! I had the prix fixe menu - I chose the Crawfish and Goat Cheese Crepes, the Bayoubaisse and the Pain Perdu Bread Pudding. Yum!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My friends and I were in NOLA for a bach ...

vip
Dined 4 days ago

My friends and I were in NOLA for a bachelor party. We did not plan any dinner outings since we were not certain when and where to go for dinner. We were incredibly impressed by the ambiance and service. The courtesy of our staff completed our dining experience. The food was some of the best we had during out trip. I will definitely be going back when I return.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, neighborhood gem
food2
ambience2
service1
value1

Find another place- so many other great resturants

Dined 4 days ago

We were rushed the portions were small- so many other great restaurants in New Orleans- Do not waste your time

food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Muriel's has been the best meal we got i ...

Dined 4 days ago

Muriel's has been the best meal we got in NOLA.... The restaurant is great, the décor is different from one room to the other. But the Food is Incredible!!! OMG the salmon with the sauce and the beams with the crispy onion on top... I would have never mixed them together but what a discovery. It was fantastic.. Too bad we couldn't go upstair... they had a private party! :-( Next time may be

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic
food5
ambience5
service5

We thoroughly enjoyed the Jazz Brunch - ...

vip
Dined 4 days ago

We thoroughly enjoyed the Jazz Brunch - isn't that what Sunday mornings are for?! The fried green tomato stack (embedded withshrimp) was amazing, as was the sweet potato bisque! Pecan crusted puppy drum served on a bed of sauteed spinach, crumbled pecans and crawfish, drizzled with a "light" lemon -butter garlic sauce!!!!! OMG

food4
ambience5
service5

Wood grill Wahoo awful! Mine came out b ...

Dined 5 days ago

Wood grill Wahoo awful! Mine came out burnt, over cooked and dry. Terrible!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great Food and Great Atmosphere

Dined 5 days ago

Wonderful restaurant right in the heart of the French Quarter. The food was delicious and the service was great. The crawfish and goat cheese crepes were fantastic. The bread pudding was superb. We will definitely be back.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Very disappointed no barbeque shrimp. We ...

vip
Dined 6 days ago

Very disappointed no barbeque shrimp. We were looking forward to it.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Awesome Food

Dined on May 20, 2016

This restaurant was recommended by my hotel and am so glad that I listened to the recommendation. The service to excellent and the food is top notch. I cannot stop talking about how good it was. I definitely will go back and would highly recommend.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Everything about dinner was excellent! B ...

Dined on May 20, 2016

Everything about dinner was excellent! Bartender, drinks, service and the food! You won't be disappointed..

food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Loved it!

vip
Dined on May 18, 2016

Had not been there before but saw good reviews on OpenTable and they were right. We had the pre-fixe and differen things between my husband and I, and all were great.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

Food was very good - we had the fixed-pr ...

Dined on May 17, 2016

Food was very good - we had the fixed-price menu: soup, crepes, pork chops, shrimp, flourless chocolate cake. Drinks were very good. Service was very good. The restaurant has a nice ambiance. Noise levels were higher than desired. Overall a good experience, and I'd visit Muriel's again on a future visit to New Orleans.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Excellent location and beautiful surroun ...

Dined on May 17, 2016

Excellent location and beautiful surroundings made for a lovely dining experience. Friendly servers were an added plus. All six in our party ordered a different entree and everyone thought his or her choice was delicious. Would definitely go back to Muriel's.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great lunch

Dined on May 17, 2016

I own a gallery just a couple of blocks from Muriel's on Jackson Square. I send people there every day. It's the best lunch and value for lunch in New Orleans. Great food and I think they have the best Ed beans and rice anywhere. I highly recommend this restaurant and I and my staff eat there regularly. Go enjoy!!!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5

The food here is phenomenal!! One of my ...

Dined on May 16, 2016

The food here is phenomenal!! One of my favorite places to eat when I'm in NOLA

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Spectacular experience. Great service. T ...

Dined on May 16, 2016

Spectacular experience. Great service. The blackened fish was perfect. I had the pork chop with collard greens and sweet potato. All were amazing. So was the chocolate cake desert. Big thank you to the friend that recommended it. Can't wait to go back.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A Lovely Brunch

Dined on May 15, 2016

We dined at Muriel's for brunch this past Sunday. They had a nice band playing jazz music, which was lovely. We were not really dressed appropriately, we had on shorts and t-shirts, but were treated as if we were. It was great fun to people watch and see all of the ladies' nice outfits. I will definitely dress better next time! I had the duck hash and my friends had the Muriel's omlette. The duck hash was very, very good and my friends said that their entrees were great as well. I've dined at Muriel's before for dinner and thought that it was just "meh". This was a completely different experience. It was great! I'd definitely go for brunch again and may give them another shot for dinner too.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, romantic
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

It's OK

vip
Dined on May 15, 2016

This restaurant has a freat location at Jackson Square and is in a historic building, lots of quaintness to it. We went for the Sunday jazz brunch, all ala carte. The music was very good, not overpoweringly loud like some places can be. That being said, the food was good, absolutely nothing wrong with it, but with the dining options in NO where so much is fantastic, I don't know if just "being good" is enough.

food4
ambience4
service4
value4

We have been here multiple times for the ...

vip
Dined on May 15, 2016

We have been here multiple times for the Sunday Jazz Brunch and it always is a delight. Food is very tasty, service is good and the roaming music a great touch.

Tags: great for brunch, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience4
service5

Great food and impeccable service. Woul ...

Dined on May 15, 2016

Great food and impeccable service. Would definitely recommend if you're looking for dining options in the French Quarter.

food2
ambience3
service1
value3

I know the restaurant was busy - they we ...

Dined on May 15, 2016

I know the restaurant was busy - they were hosting a wedding reception upstairs - but still, the service was way too rushed. I was on my own (a business traveller) and I would hardly finish one course before they would bring the next one. On the other hand, I had to cancel my glass of wine, as by the time they brought one from the bar, I was done eating... I was trying to eat as slowly as I could and still keep the food warm, and yet was in and out in less than 40 minutes - so much for a leisurely Saturday dinner. The food was ok, but nothing special.

Tags: group bookings, special occasions
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had been told by many friends that Mu ...

Dined on May 15, 2016

We had been told by many friends that Muriel's was THE place to dine in New Orleans. We dined there this past weekend, and I must say that it was one of the best experiences I have ever had. We were seated promptly, and our food was delicious! The pork chop, sweet potatoes, and greens were perfectly cooked. All in all, it was a perfect dining experience.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

Better than average

Dined on May 15, 2016

Nice location off Jackson Square. Solid offering, but nothing earth-shattering. Mixed clientele. Staff was slow to engage, but once they realized we were there, were very attentive.

Tags: good for groups
food5
ambience3
service3

Food was great - service was extremely s ...

vip
Dined on May 14, 2016

Food was great - service was extremely slow

food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Fabulous food, but.......

Dined on May 14, 2016

As usual, the food was delicious...fresh, creative and impeccably served. However, the dining room was full, and the other guests were "energetic," to the point where we couldn't hear the conversation at our own table! Prob chops were tender, savory and the sauce made you want to lick the plate! Definitely would go back, but maybe a later reservation than 6:30pm would be a little quieter!

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Dinner at Muriel's

Dined on May 14, 2016

Went to Muriel's on a busy Friday night with friends. They have consistently been delivery 5 star service and fool. Love the crawfish crepes and the duck is truly outstanding. Everyone truly enjoyed their meal and experience. One of the best restaurants in New Orleans and underrated at that!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food4
ambience2
service5
value4

Very good but terribly noisy

vip
Dined on May 14, 2016

Our group of 6 dined at Muriel's on a busy Saturday night at 7 pm. We found the food really good and the wait staff excellent. We asked for a table by a wall because of concerns about the noise level . Our request was not accommodated so we were seated in the middle of one of the front dining rooms and found it very difficult to hear one another. Our waiter almost had to yell to so we could hear her. Suggest not putting larger tables in the center of the room.

Tags: good for groups, late-night find
food5
ambience5
service5

We each had the three-course meal, and t ...

Dined on May 13, 2016

We each had the three-course meal, and the turtle soup was amazing, along with the Bayou-baisse. Great service. Excellent food. Good location. I am very picky about restaurants and food in general. Muriel's gets a hearty recommendation. Price was solid, too. Did not break the bank. Happy to have eaten there, and they made me an excellent virgin cocktail since I couldn't have alcohol that day.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great Food and Service

Dined on May 13, 2016

My daughter and I were traveling from Northeast Tennessee to Houston for her new job as an engineer. When we stopped for lunch in Birmingham, Alabama, we decided that we were going to make a little detour to New Orleans since she had never been there. We used Open Table on my phone to make a reservation for dinner at Muriel's. We got there a little early, but they had our names clearly on the computer and they seated us immediately. We had been traveling for ten hours and were under dressed, but the reception staff treated us nicely. Due to my daughter's concerns, they put us on the side by the window. It was a perfect location as she did not feel people were looking at her. She started with the Gumbo and I had Turtle Soup. Both were excellent, but the gumbo was probably the best choice. I had the Bayoubraise, which is like a New Orleans seafood stew. It loved it. My daughter got the Drum with pecans and crayfish, which was also delicious. For desert, she got the Bread Pudding and I got the Creme Brulee. It was one of the best I have ever had, but her Bread Pudding was out of this world! Our waiter was attentive and made excellent suggestions. We did a little sightseeing and returned to the garage for our car. When the valet brought it to us, he asked if we had been on a cruise because the back seat was loaded to the roof with all of her belongings. We told him, "No, we just stopped for dinner on our long road trip." He laughed and said we were crazy, but a great choice. He asked if it was worth it and we responded, "Absolutely!" We then continued on our way to Houston. Thanks Muriel's and Open Table for creating an impulsive dinner that we will never forget.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Superb meal, server very knowledgeable a ...

vip
Dined on May 13, 2016

Superb meal, server very knowledgeable and extensive wine list to pair wine with dinner. We highly recommend it!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It was one of the best meals we have eve ...

Dined on May 12, 2016

It was one of the best meals we have ever had. Thank you! If we lived in NO we would go often. A bit difficult since we live in Calif.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Had a group of friends from several stat ...

Dined on May 12, 2016

Had a group of friends from several states gather in New Orleans for a mass birthday celebration for all of us, and we chose Muriel's based on past pleasant experiences. It was the perfect choice. Service was excellent, food superb. I had the pecan-encrusted drum with lemon butter sauce. It was exquisite and extraordinary. As a French Quarter resident, I expect the spectacular when I dine out, but even for sophisticated New Orleans tastes, the meal was exceptional. All the others in the party raved with similar enthusiasm for the dishes of their choice. Looking forward to the next experience at Muriel's. Try it...you'll like it!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Wonderful redfish! Awesome service!

Dined on May 11, 2016

Wonderful redfish! Awesome service!

food5
ambience4
service5

Service was prompt, food was delicious a ...

Dined on May 11, 2016

Service was prompt, food was delicious and the staff was very professional.

food5
ambience4
service4

The duck was awesome!

Dined on May 11, 2016

The duck was awesome!

food3
ambience3
service3
value3

Just OK

Dined on May 10, 2016

Had a fabulous anniversary celebration dinner 4 years ago so expected to be similarly impressed. But, everything we had this time was just average including the wait staff. Too many good restaurants in NOLA to try this venue again anytime soon.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I try to get to Muriel's each time I tra ...

Dined on May 9, 2016

I try to get to Muriel's each time I travel to New Orleans because it never fails to delight me, and this time was no exception. It remains one of the best restaurants in a restaurant-heaven city.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Nothing short of excellent food

Dined on May 8, 2016

Food is excellent. Because this is an expensive restaurant, I view Muriel's for special occasions. Service was very good without hovering. Each course was paced so the food could be enjoyed over a good period of time - in this case 2 plus hours. Live music was a pleasant background, with the performing jazz group moving to a different room every half hour. The turtle soup was very good, but could have used more seasoning. I had the rack of lamb which was perfectly cooked and delicious. The bread pudding was a delight.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

First Time Visit

Dined on May 8, 2016

Being residents of New Orleans, we had never dined at this French Quarter restaurant, until Mother's Day. We had heard very good reviews from friends, so we decided to make reservations and try the cuisine. Being it was Mother's Day, there was a pre-fixe menu, consisting of an appetizer, entree and dessert. Both appetizers, the crawfish crepes (which were highly recommended) and the mushroom linguine, were excellent and were served hot. The entrees were the bayoubaise, with lump crabmeat, oysters, shrimp, crawfish balls and mussels was unbelieveable. This was served over orzo with a tomato based broth. The other entree was the rib eye, which was quite large for a pre-fixe menu item. It was cooked to perfection and again, both entrees were served hot. The desserts were a good complement to the meals and included the bread pudding topped with whiskey sauce and red velvet petit fours. The service was excellent and our table was well attended throughout the meal. We were not rushed while dining, making this an excellent dining experience. We would highly recommend Muriel's to locals and tourists, alike.

Tags: great for brunch, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great Experience!

Dined on May 8, 2016

We went for Mother's Day brunch and it was perfect! The food was great and they had a few groups coming around to each room to play music while we ate. I would definitely recommend to anyone. Would love to go back for dinner or even just to hang out and have drinks!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, vibrant bar scene

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.