Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.05mi
  2. Distance: 0.05mi
  3. Distance: 0.05mi
  4. Distance: 0.05mi
  1. Distance: 0.05mi
  2. Distance: 0.05mi
  3. Distance: 0.05mi
  4. Distance: 0.05mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.05mi
  2. Distance: 0.05mi
  3. Distance: 0.05mi
  4. Distance: 0.05mi
  1. Distance: 0.05mi
  2. Distance: 0.05mi
  3. Distance: 0.05mi
  4. Distance: 0.05mi

About Muriel's Jackson Square

The Bistro at Muriel’s Jackson Square offers New Orleans classics like Gumbo, BBQ Shrimp, Oysters "Muriel", Turtle soup, Fried Gulf Shrimp Po-boy, Crabmeat Imperial, Shrimp Remoulade & contemporary Creole cuisine like Pecan Crusted Drum & Wood Grilled Tuna while the Courtyard Bar is the perfect place to drop by for drinks & appetizers. The Séance Lounge is the place for a relaxed, comfortable meeting before or after dining. Comprised of two areas, The Outer & The Inner Séance, the Séance also tells the story of a mystic & checkered past. The Outer Séance addresses the New Orleans era of Storyville & when Muriel's Jackson Square was one of the French Quarter's best bordellos! The Inner Séance is the preferred domain of the resident ghost, Pierre Antoine Lepardi Jourdan, & is the perfect spot for an intimate conversation & a drink amongst its plush surroundings.

801 Chartres Street
New Orleans, LA 70116
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Creole / Cajun / Southern

Hours of Operation:
Dinner served daily: Monday - Saturday 5:30pm - 10:00pm and Sunday 5:00pm - 10:00pm
Lunch: Monday - Saturday 11:30am - 2:30pm
Sunday Jazz Brunch 11:00am -2:00pm

Cross Street:
St. Ann

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(504) 568-1885

Website:
http://www.muriels.com/

Parking Details:
Muriel's Jackson Square validates up to 2 hours parking at the French Market parking lot, behind Cafe du Monde.

Executive Chef:
Gus Martin

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Private Room, Takeout, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Private Dining

A private party at Muriel’s offers a provocative sensory experience that exceeds the thrill of traditional dining. Guests will be immersed in a world of refinement and revelry that reflects the rich historical, cultural, and culinary character of the Crescent City.

Muriel's Jackson Square Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.6

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (156)
Special Occasion (151)
Historic (136)
See All
Romantic (106)
Good for Anniversaries (105)
Authentic (97)
Fit for Foodies (84)
Neighborhood Gem (78)
Local Ingredients (75)
Good for Birthdays (72)
Creative Cuisine (70)
People Watching (63)
Business Meals (61)
Good for Groups (61)
Notable Wine List (55)
Quiet Conversation (55)
Scenic View (50)
Great for Brunch (47)
Cozy (45)
Handcrafted Cocktails (44)
Great for Lunch (43)
Comfort Food (43)
Worth the Drive (42)
Sunday Lunch (41)
Pre/post Theatre (38)
Fun (36)
Hot Spot (27)
Bar Seating (24)
Private Room (24)
Casual (21)
Tasting Menu (20)
Outstanding Value (18)
Gluten Free Options (16)
Kid-friendly (13)
Seasonal (12)
Family Style (12)
Happy Hour (11)
Live Music (11)
Vibrant Bar Scene (9)
Good Vegetarian Options (7)
Healthy (7)
Afternoon Tea (6)
Great for Outdoor Dining (6)
Spicy (4)
Quick Bite (3)
Tapas (3)
Late-night Find (3)
Molecular Gastronomy (3)
Great Beer (3)
Disabled Access (3)
Organic (2)
Afternoon Coffee (2)
Fireplace (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Modern Decor (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Vegan (1)
Sort By:
S
4518 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 3 days ago

So amazing! Our best dinner in NOLA! It's also haunted ;) you can pay extra to eat dinner with the spirit of the house - if we knew about it, we would have, but we learned about it on a ghost tour the following night!

Tags: Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined 3 days ago

Great for dinner or lunch. Nice bar area also conveniently located near Jackson square.

Tags: People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 5 days ago

We always love Muriels. Teenage girls in our party want to see the ghostly rooms upstairs. The wine lover really enjoyed the great list of half-bottles available.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Fun, Good for Groups, Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Sunday Lunch, Historic, Romantic, Authentic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Brunch, Bar Seating, Afternoon Tea, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined 6 days ago

I had an early lunch as a solo, needing to finish up my NOLA trip and head to the airport. Food was lovely and would definitely recommend the restaurant for lunch or dinner as the service and quality of food were simply exceptional.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Business Meals, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined 7 days ago

Loved the atmosphere right on Jackson Square, and the decor was reminiscent of old New Orleans. The food was delicious, and I appreciated the gluten free options (I'm Celiac). It is pricey, so it's better suited for a special occasion. We will return!

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Historic, People Watching, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Special Occasion, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined 7 days ago

I have been to this restaurant almost every time I am in New Orleans! Always great! I used to live there and frequently dined there!

Tags: Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Miami)·Dined 7 days ago

The service was amazing!!! Our waiters were very knowledgeable about the food and menu... will come again

Tags: Historic, People Watching, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Authentic, Comfort Food, Cozy, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Columbus)·Dined 7 days ago

Food was excellent, service even better.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined 7 days ago

Easter dinner for one! Food was delicious as always. Service was excellent. The restaurant was filled - but the noise level was moderate - which made the dinning experience extremely enjoyable. I gave four stars for my review only because I would have preferred different sides with my entree.

Tags: Cozy, Vibrant Bar Scene, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined 7 days ago

Great Easter Sunday lunch. Nice choices on the special menu. Food was delicious. Service was great. Interesting cocktails.

Tags: Good for a Date, Historic, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Handcrafted Cocktails, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Great for Brunch, Sunday Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined 7 days ago

Loved everything about Muriel's ! Staff was great , food was AMAZING, love the musicians . Could not have been better!!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 7 days ago

We had been looking forward to Easter Jazz Brunch for over a month. We enjoyed everything about Muriel's minus the rude hostess and host. Management did apologize on their behalf, so that was appreciated, but unfortunately, I wouldn't return because of this. The food, drinks, music and wait staff were great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

vip
 (New Orleans)·Dined 7 days ago

Easter! Holidays are great at Muriel's

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined 7 days ago

I took my parents and a friend of mine here for Easter Brunch. We had the best time! Everyone involved had a lovely meal and we cannot wait to return!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Sunday Lunch, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Hot Spot, Good for Groups, Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic, Bar Seating, Historic, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Pre/post Theatre, Authentic, Great for Brunch, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined 7 days ago

Wonderful. Our new favorite place. Everything from food to service was excellent.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Local Ingredients, Business Meals, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on April 16, 2017

My husband I were visiting New Orleans for the first time. Muriel's was recommended to us from a friend. The service was excellent. Our wait team really knew the cocktails, and menu, and helped us make great selections. We did the prixe fixe, which was great value, but still gave good options. The room is really beautiful. The single complaint is that the AC was too high, so I had to eventually wear my husband's dinner jacket. It was our one finer dining experience while in NOLA, and it was a great choice.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Muriels has not lost a stitch. Perfect NOLA cuisine with ambience to spare. Don't miss the seance lounge to sad to find the pictures gone from the velvet picture album of old. Bless this place and don't miss out. Love love love Muriels!

Tags: Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Beautiful decor...superb food...range was astounding - we savored hickory smoked duck, pork chop, fried chicken, vegetarian dish, shrimp and grits...ALL truly memorable...fabulous and reasonable priced wine list. Topping this is almost unimaginable

Tags: Local Ingredients, Tasting Menu, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Special Occasion, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on April 15, 2017

A Beautiful and relaxing environment.The staff was very attentive . Dinner was outstanding,the gorgonzola cheese cake and the goat cheese and crawfish crapes were amazing and very flavorful and light. The black drum was incredible!!! We can wait to return .Enoy

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on April 15, 2017

A Special Occassion for our growing family. Creative cocktails began the evening. No rush experienced. Staff appropriately attentive. She told us the story of the ghost upstairs and provided 'iPhone' proof of a prior doubting guest!! Loved the story that food service is still provided to the ghost to prevent overnight rearrangement of the restaurant! Great fun! I throughly enjoyed the Bayoubaisse. Desserts were sampled, very creative. Excellent coffee! A throughly enjoyable evening for the family, much appreciated! Family still texting about our experience at Muriel's! Thank you.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on April 15, 2017

It was good. Not in the same category as Brennan's, Arnauds, Galatoires. Great location, nice atmosphere and good restaurant. Just a step below the big guns....

Tags: People Watching, Great for Lunch, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 14, 2017

Outstanding service and the food was amazing!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 13, 2017

The food was pretty good, but the service was pretty awful.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2

 
 (Tallahassee)·Dined on April 13, 2017

The lunch we had was very good. We had just arrived in New Orleans and wanted to eat in the French Quarter around Jackson Square. We've eaten here before and knew it was a reliable place to have an enjoyable lunch. Good gumbo. Good crawfish etoufee and crab cake. We would recommend it to others that are looking for a reliable place for a good New Orleans meal.

Tags: Historic, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on April 11, 2017

The service was great! Made me feel special for a birthday :)

Tags: Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Happy Hour, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on April 9, 2017

Even tough it was very busy ( Quarter Festival) the staff were efficient and friendly. They accommodated our request for seating and made sure we were comfortable. The cocktails( Vieux Carre) were great. Fried green tomatoes fabulous. When there was any delay, we were informed with apologies. Front room was wonderful: cozy, historic, colorful, elegant. Our favorite during our visit.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Sunday Lunch, Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Historic, Scenic View, Authentic, People Watching, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on April 9, 2017

We booked the ghost table which was $50 extra because my daughter is very into the macabre. It was a hoot. Our servers Katie and Travis were excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on April 9, 2017

Delicious meal! We chose the pre-fixe menu and so glad we went for the crawfish & Goat cheese crepes. Best thing I have ever eaten! My "Bayou" baisse was absolutley amazing! Wait staff was fantastic too!

Tags: Special Occasion, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 9, 2017

We had a great meal -- a great atmosphere, topnotch food and wine, superior service. Maybe just a little pricy, but it's hard to complain too much.

Tags: Good for Groups, Family Style, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on April 8, 2017

The atmosphere in the restaurant is very nice. Perfect spot in the French Quarter to have a great meal and experience the local culture. Our server, Chelsea, was amazing. Knowledgeable and very nice.

Tags: Cozy, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Comfort Food, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on April 8, 2017

My favorite restaurant in New Orleans. The crapes melt inyour mouth. The pork chops and sweet potato combination is amazing. Their bread pudding is out of this world. I order the exact same meal every time and I'm never disappointed. A must if you are visiting New Orleans.

Tags: Special Occasion, Scenic View, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on April 8, 2017

waited over an hour for entrees, which were cold. service staff were completely inattentive, likely due to being over extended as they seemed hurried and agitated. one male maitre d was observed coughing in both hands and then subsequently delivering plates. disgusting behavior.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service1

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on April 8, 2017

The food and atmosphere was amazing. My wife and I dined here for our 15 year anniversary and walked away very satisfied with our experience!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on April 8, 2017

Very noisy. Food was prepared well but some of the flavor combinations were off. Bread pudding for dessert was very good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value2

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 8, 2017

A wonderful experience for my wife and myself. The atmosphere combined with food and service made our last night in NOLA a night to remember the place by . We made reservations again 2 months before through open table. It all went through without a bump confirmed 2 days before.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on April 7, 2017

Duck was tough, an uncomfortable chewy meal. Manager brought substitute; nice grits shrimp but past hunger. Pleased with attention by server Jenny and manager. Our second meal there this FQF weekend.

Tags: Authentic, Bar Seating, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on April 7, 2017

Awesome place and the food was to die for!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on April 7, 2017

Food was awesome!!! Very good location!!!!
The price was a litlle to much!!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on April 7, 2017

Muriel's is over the top amazing! The split pea soup, pork chop and bread pudding was one of the best meals both my wife and I have ever had....and we eat at some great restaurants. Frank and James were terrific servers. If you love pork chops with the best collard greens and sweet potatoes, you must try Muriel's.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on April 6, 2017

We were excited to be a Muriel's but some of the dishes were substandard. The pork chop came nearly raw and had to be sent back (ordered medium) and the bouillabaisse was very forgettable compared to what we had at Antoine's and other great NOLA places. We were disappointed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value2

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.