Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.05mi
  2. Distance: 0.05mi
  3. Distance: 0.05mi
  4. Distance: 0.05mi
  1. Distance: 0.05mi
  2. Distance: 0.05mi
  3. Distance: 0.05mi
  4. Distance: 0.05mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.05mi
  2. Distance: 0.05mi
  3. Distance: 0.05mi
  4. Distance: 0.05mi
  1. Distance: 0.05mi
  2. Distance: 0.05mi
  3. Distance: 0.05mi
  4. Distance: 0.05mi

About Muriel's Jackson Square

The Bistro at Muriel’s Jackson Square offers New Orleans classics like Gumbo, BBQ Shrimp, Oysters "Muriel", Turtle soup, Fried Gulf Shrimp Po-boy, Crabmeat Imperial, Shrimp Remoulade & contemporary Creole cuisine like Pecan Crusted Drum & Wood Grilled Tuna while the Courtyard Bar is the perfect place to drop by for drinks & appetizers. The Séance Lounge is the place for a relaxed, comfortable meeting before or after dining. Comprised of two areas, The Outer & The Inner Séance, the Séance also tells the story of a mystic & checkered past. The Outer Séance addresses the New Orleans era of Storyville & when Muriel's Jackson Square was one of the French Quarter's best bordellos! The Inner Séance is the preferred domain of the resident ghost, Pierre Antoine Lepardi Jourdan, & is the perfect spot for an intimate conversation & a drink amongst its plush surroundings.

801 Chartres Street
New Orleans, LA 70116
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Creole / Cajun / Southern

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday 11:30am - 2:30pm
Saturday Brunch 10:30am-2:00pm
Sunday Jazz Brunch 10:30am -2:00pm
Dinner served daily: Monday - Thursday 5:30pm - 10:00pm, Friday, Saturday and Sunday 5:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
St. Ann

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(504) 568-1885

Website:
http://www.muriels.com/

Parking Details:
Muriel's Jackson Square validates up to 2 hours parking at the French Market parking lot, behind Cafe du Monde.

Executive Chef:
Erik Veney

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Private Room, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
For private events please call 504-568-1955

Private Dining

A private party at Muriel’s offers a provocative sensory experience that exceeds the thrill of traditional dining. Guests will be immersed in a world of refinement and revelry that reflects the rich historical, cultural, and culinary character of the Crescent City.

Muriel's Jackson Square Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.7

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

91% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (121)
Good for a Date (114)
Romantic (106)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (90)
Authentic (78)
Creative Cuisine (76)
Good for Birthdays (67)
Neighborhood Gem (66)
Fit for Foodies (55)
Local Ingredients (55)
People Watching (52)
Worth the Drive (47)
Great for Brunch (46)
Scenic View (46)
Notable Wine List (41)
Quiet Conversation (41)
Fun (39)
Cozy (35)
Business Meals (32)
Great for Lunch (32)
Sunday Lunch (28)
Handcrafted Cocktails (26)
Comfort Food (25)
Good for Groups (25)
Pre/post Theatre (24)
Hot Spot (23)
Casual (18)
Live Music (16)
Tasting Menu (15)
Bar Seating (12)
Seasonal (9)
Happy Hour (7)
Spicy (7)
Gluten Free Options (6)
Disabled Access (5)
Afternoon Tea (4)
Late-night Find (4)
Great for Outdoor Dining (4)
Good Vegetarian Options (4)
Afternoon Coffee (3)
Vibrant Bar Scene (3)
Great Beer (1)
Organic (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Vegan (1)
Waterfront (1)
Sort By:
S
4857 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined 9 hours ago

This restaurant caters to tourists and locals alike. Whether you are wearing a Hawaiian shirt and sneakers, or a cocktail dress and heels, you will have a fabulous dining experience. The food is top notch and the ambiance hauntingly New Orleans. The wood fire fish of the day was superb and my husband (a native New Orleanian) loved the gumbo as well as the shrimp and grits. This restaurant is a must whether you are here for a visit or the long haul.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined a day ago

Phenomenal restaurant. Super thanks to Travis and Katie (waiter and waitress)

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
·Dined a day ago

Excellent food! Great service. We came straight from a tour and we're not dressed for dinner. The staff treated us wonderfully, and made no mention of our attire. (Aside from my sons hat, which they requested to be removed for dinner.)
The wait staff was personable, knowledgeable, and made us feel at home.
Food was honestly the best we had in New Orleans.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined a day ago

AMAZING service and food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined 3 days ago

Great food, impeccable service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

 
·Dined 4 days ago

Best service anywhere. Food was excellent. Just became one of our favorite places in New Orleans.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

 
·Dined 6 days ago

Excellent overall dining experience ! Muriel's make you feel like part of New Orleans, part of Jackson Square and the food and service just fantastic. Looking forward to our next visit already.

Tags: Special Occasion, Authentic, Romantic, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined 6 days ago

Rice was under cooked in the gumbo. Expected more for the price

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

 
·Dined 6 days ago

Food was specially made with great attention to detail. Very tasty and great service. Nice courtyard area. Good variety of meal options there was 4 of us and we all choose something different.

Tags: Scenic View, Special Occasion, Tasting Menu, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
·Dined 7 days ago

Awesome experience if you are going to New Orleans.
We had the Sunday brunch which was excellent
Jazz band played for about 15 minutes at a time and would move to another part of the restaurant and then return later.
Service was very good as I would expect in a establishment like Muriel's
Would go back again when I go back to New Orleans but think we will try the dinner next time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Little Rock)·Dined 7 days ago

Best shrimp and grits ever! Love the crepes too!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Romantic, Fun, Good for Anniversaries, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on September 17, 2017

Top shelf brilliant meal! Fabulous ambiance and great service!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 16, 2017

Loved this place. The atmosphere and food was fantastic. Everything you would expect going to a New Orleans Restaurant. I took my 90 year old father in law who loved the place and could not anything negative about the place. Location is great, right in Jackson Square. I highly recommend this place.

Tags: Romantic, Fun, Hot Spot, Tasting Menu, Neighborhood Gem, Handcrafted Cocktails, Authentic, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 16, 2017

Food was excellent. Team servicing spotty. Tough to know who is accountable for what. Very noisy.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value4

 
 (Caribbean)·Dined on September 16, 2017

We were there for Saturday morning brunch. The Pork Chop was out of this world. The service great. Everyone enjoyed themselves.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 16, 2017

We arrived slightly early and so we're asked to wait at the bar until our table was ready. The restaurant was very busy. We waited at the bar for over 20 minutes without being acknowledged or served. Once at the table our experience was very good, we were served by a young man who was being trained, he was friendly and very attentive. The restaurant is bustling with a great atmosphere and the food was excellent.

Tags: Good for a Date, People Watching, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service2
value4

 
·Dined on September 16, 2017

Fabulous menu and our waiter was spot on. Food was delicious. Recommend the pork chops

Tags: Seasonal, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Authentic, Worth the Drive, Good for Groups, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (New England)·Dined on September 16, 2017

We went to Muriel's on our last visit to NOLA and we went again with friends and as usual it does not disappoint.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on September 15, 2017

Amazing experience from beginning to end. The staff is lovely, very friendly and welcoming as soon as you walk through the door. Waiters and waitresses are always ready to help. I moved to New Orleans a few weeks ago and my boyfriend came to visit from France so I wanted an authentic New Orleans restaurant to take him to on his first night and it did not disappoint. The food was exquisite, some of the best we ever had and the atmosphere is also really nice. Great value for your money, cocktails are delicious and quite loaded. Overall an amazing night out, would recommend to anyone.

Tags: Business Meals, Vibrant Bar Scene, Tasting Menu, Great for Brunch, Romantic, Authentic, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on September 14, 2017

Everything was good - service, food, ambiance but a loud group of ladies came in for a birthday, bridal event or something like that and they were super loud (rude) and it just killed the upscale vibe. Places of business have to be Willing to nip this type of behavior in the bud without it affecting paying customers whose experiences are dampened by it.

Tags: Special Occasion, Great for Brunch, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on September 13, 2017

Visiting the city we passed Muriel's and the menu looked interesting. The establishment has an old world feel. The service and food were good but I felt the prices were high compared to other restaurants in the area. It is not in the same class as Arnaud's or Antoine's.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value2

 
·Dined on September 13, 2017

Amazing food, excellent service. The baby drum was excellently prepared, dessert was a must ( even though we were stuffed!) would highly recommend Muriel's- make a reservation !

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on September 12, 2017

This ia one of my favorite places to go in New Orleans because the experience is always wonderful for service and fool and wine.

Tags: Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Authentic, Hot Spot, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tulsa)·Dined on September 11, 2017

Had a wonderful meal at Muriel's. Went for the Restaurant week menu and had the Shrimp and Grits and the Pecan encrusted Black Drum. It was very tasty and perfectly cooked.

Tags: Good for a Date, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on September 11, 2017

One of the best fine dining restaurants in town. Service was superb, food was excellent, atmosphere of the restaurant downstairs and the lounge upstairs was amazing and it comes with quite the history and a ghost tale. If you are in the area you should absolutely stop at Muriel's; expectations will far exceed yours here.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Pre/post Theatre, Romantic, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Disabled Access, Cozy, Scenic View, Fit for Foodies, Business Meals, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on September 10, 2017

Amazing!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 10, 2017

Friendly and courteous staff. We had a fabulous Sunday brunch. Travis was very helpful and did a great job explaining the dishes in detail and answering our questions. We enjoyed the wood grilled pork chop and jumbo lump crab cake.

Tags: Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Great for Brunch, Good for a Date, Live Music, Great for Lunch, Local Ingredients, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on September 10, 2017

This was for my daughter's birthday celebration and we were visiting from out of town ❤️

Tags: Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on September 10, 2017

The 3 course set menu is very reasonable and the portion is very good. This is really a deal for this restaurant. The flavor is very good also.

Tags: Authentic, Good for Groups, Casual, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 10, 2017

The food and staff were amazing, I loved the shrimp and grits. The location is great, in the heart of the French Quarter--after dinner we were able to take in some sights. I highly recommend this restaurant! The option to order an appetizer, entree and dessert was great. The wine selection is also great. It was crowded so I recommend making a reservation. Well done!

Tags: Authentic, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 6, 2017

Fantastic. The atmosphere was great service was attentive but not overly so. Food is great and consistent

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Authentic, Scenic View, Sunday Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Handcrafted Cocktails, Great for Lunch, Happy Hour, Romantic, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 6, 2017

Everything I expected with a wonderful history. The seance room was a wonderfully quiet haven to sit and read after an afternoon meal. A weekday afternoon made it less busy than most times, and I appreciated the solitude. Attentive and courteous staff made the experiences all the more pleasurable. Will definitely venture back on a weekday afternoon for lunch!

Tags: Business Meals, People Watching, Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch, Fun, Scenic View, Afternoon Coffee, Comfort Food, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on September 4, 2017

Hello. My gorgeous hot date and I would like to thank you for the most fantastic dinner we had last night. The food was amazing the cocktails were delicious and the service was spot on perfect. I would like to point out that the turtle soup and chocolate cake was the best I have ever had. Thank you for making my date fabulous.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on September 4, 2017

We had excellent service and the food was very good.

Tags: Good for a Date, Authentic, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 3, 2017

Always wonderful, delicious and great service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 3, 2017

Great brunch.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 3, 2017

We went to Jazz Brunch for our anniversary. Everything was as excellent as I remembered from previous visits!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 2, 2017

Amazing food. Amazing restaurant. There are several dining rooms. And the seance lounges upstairs are very cool. Awesome design and architecture. The food was creative and delicious!!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Scenic View, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Great for Brunch, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 1, 2017

Food was fantastic and the building beautiful. However, the staff was unprofessional, as my friend overheard them talking about her and the manager visited everyone's table except ours. My friend and I saved for this occasion for a while and I'm thinking we might have been profiled as soon as we entered the door.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value3

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on August 29, 2017

Great restaurant, food was fantastic and servers very attentive!

Tags: Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.