About Mural Room - Grand Teton Lodging Company

100 Jackson Lake Lodge
5 Mi N of Moran
Moran, WY 83013
View Larger Map

The panoramic views of the Grand Teton Mountain Range from the Mural Dining Room at Jackson Lake Lodge are the finest in any National Park. Prepare yourself for a culinary experience with a twist which defines Rocky Mountain cuisine that is the perfect complement to the views. Executive Chef Josh Conrad offers local buffalo, sustainable seafood that includes local trout, wild caught salmon and all natural organic beef all prepared fresh at our on-site butcher shop, along with warm bread rolls, from our onsite bakery. For lunch we offer a selection of small dishes, organic salads, rustic sandwiches and light fare options. The dessert menu will blow you away with featured new age desserts along with homemade ice cream and sorbets.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Wild Game, Continental

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast: Daily: 7:00am - 9:30am
Lunch: Daily: 11:30am -1:30pm
Dinner: Daily: 5:30pm - 9:30pm

Cross Street:
Grand Teton National Park

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(307) 543-3463

Website:
http://www.gtlc.com/dining/jackson-lake-lodge-the-mural-room.aspx

Catering:
Grand Teton Lodge Company’s Executive Chef Josh Conrad along with an illustrious team of catering and event professionals creates one of a kind magic.

Parking Details:
Parking for the Mural Room is complementary at the Jackson Lake Lodge Parking lot.

Executive Chef:
Josh Conrad

Private Party Facilities:
The East Mural Room offers parties of up to 90 guests with a private space overlooking the Grand Teton Mountain Range.

Private Party Contact:
Levi Thorn: 3075433005

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Gluten-free Menu, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Mural Room - Grand Teton Lodging Company Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.1

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.1

service

4.7

ambience

4.6

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Most Booked
Jackson Hole / Wyoming
Most Booked
Jackson Hole
Best Restaurants in Moran ›

scenic view (13)
special occasion (6)
fit for foodies (5)
See All
romantic (4)
good for groups (2)
neighborhood gem (2)
notable wine list (1)
Sort By:
Newest
184 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5

First, we had a table by the window... a ...

Dined 3 days ago

First, we had a table by the window... a must for sunset dining. Then exceptional service (from Judd) start to finish. Every course from the Mural salad to the Idaho trout to the Prime Rib to the assorted sorbets was outstanding. Judd even brought a candle (with dessert) in celebration of a birthday. We'll be back! Kevin in Denver

food5
ambience4
service4
value3

What an evening, the view, the food, the ...

Dined 5 days ago

What an evening, the view, the food, the winelist. Very enjoyable meal in a historic lodge in the grand fashion. We hadn't been there for a couple of years and everything exceeded our expectations. The menue changes were a surprise based on what was posted online, but the choices were excellent. Will be returning sooner than later.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

If you are in Grand Teton National Park ...

Dined 7 days ago

If you are in Grand Teton National Park and would like a nice meal, this is the place to go. It is not your typical National Park food. It is nicely presented and tasty. It is a bit on the spendy side but it is a fine dining experience and you will not find a place with such an amazing view to enjoy a nice meal with. We try to make it a tradition to visit whenever we are in the park.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Good prime rib, good lamb, good trout. B ...

Dined on June 18, 2016

Good prime rib, good lamb, good trout. Buffalo carpacio was microscopic, with less than 30 grams of meat.

Tags: good for groups
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The food was gourmet. My husband needs ...

vip
Dined on June 15, 2016

The food was gourmet. My husband needs a heart healthy diet, I am a vegetarian. This restaurant did not have much for us but they tried.

Tags: fit for foodies, scenic view
food1
ambience5
service3
value1

The lodge has a billion dollar view. The ...

Dined on June 15, 2016

The lodge has a billion dollar view. The restaurant serves food that belongs on the dollar menu. Prime rib ordered by four of us. Poor quality. Very over cooked. Charcuterie plate should have been called dried out lunch meat plate. Even the Caesar salad was a miss. Stop at lodge and enjoy a beer in the bar. Pass on the restaurant.

Tags: scenic view
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Great view

Dined on June 9, 2016

My family and I went for dinner. Somehow they did not get 7:30 resavation thru "Open Table" but we needed push back to 8:30 I made phone call. That was no problem. Nice view. Nice atmosphere. We had great dinner. Bison cal patio was great.

Tags: scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

National Park dining doesn't get better than this.

vip
Dined on June 6, 2016

We had excellent service. The trout and bison were some of the best we've had and of course the views across the lake to the Tetons are spectacular.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5

Overall it was a lovely experience try a ...

vip
Dined on June 6, 2016

Overall it was a lovely experience try and get a seat by the window

food3
ambience5
service5

The service was top notch. Very attent ...

Dined on May 26, 2016

The service was top notch. Very attentive and friendly. The food was pricey, and not a great value for the price. I don't mind an expensive bill if the food was stellar, but the food was really pretty average. But zero complaints about the service.

food5
ambience4
service2

Under-staffed

Dined on October 8, 2015

We went on the last night that the restaurant was open for the season and they were very under-staffed, and therefore a bid rude and hassled.

food2
ambience5
service5

Disappointed with menu options!

Dined on October 4, 2015

Very few healthy items on menu. The soup options were very high fat. The vegetable wellington also was a very heavy dish. The vegetarian wellington came with a tomato sauce that did not fit the dish. The pureed carrots would have been a better fit. Would like to see new innovative healthy dishes rather than the classic high fat. Anyone can make food taste good with cream and butter. Not enough vegetarian options. Would not go back unless they change the menu.

Tags: special occasion, scenic view
food4
ambience4
service5

Awesome location; the entree was good not great

Dined on September 30, 2015

The smoked trout salad was awesome. The entrees were just not up to what you'd expect at pretty high prices. I had the Elk but it just needed more interesting seasoning. My wife had the ribeye and it was a bit tough but again, more interesting prep would have made it great. But all-in-all a very good experience.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food4
ambience5
service5

Jackson Lake

Dined on September 22, 2015

An upscale lodge in a National Park with a very nice restaurant.

Tags: special occasion, scenic view
food1
ambience3
service3

Disappointed

Dined on September 22, 2015

Typical of the NPS lodges over crowded and food was terrible. $120 for junk cuts of meat

Tags: scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5

Fantastic!

Dined on September 19, 2015

First time to the Tetons. There is no better place to enjoy the park than here. Stunning views, great food, wonderful staff.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Our experience exceeded our expectations!

Dined on September 18, 2015

The view was fantastic! The service was exceptional and personal. We were celebrating my mother's 79th birthday and they treated her like a queen! The food was great! We would highly recommend this restaurant and we will be back!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, hot spot
food2
ambience5
service2

Scenic Mural

Dined on September 17, 2015

Having eaten here previously, we anticipated the "mural" of a great view of the Tetons. On a rainy day? No mountain view--but still nice ambiance. Usually the food is good. Today my husband's hamburger was not done to his request.

Tags: scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5

Great dining experience!

Dined on September 17, 2015

Great food, nice and friendly staff,large wine selection. Much choice in the menu, items were very special and looked great. Great dining experience!

Tags: scenic view, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service5

The View

vip
Dined on September 17, 2015

Had dinner on 9/16/2015 and found everything to be wonderful. You can never be sure in a National Park if the food is going to taste like it came off a steam table and if it will be worth the price. Everything we had that evening was delicious and fresh tasting. A little pricey but worth it. The View of course can't be beat. As far a service, if you are lucky enough to get Daniel and his team you wil enjoy top notch service.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food3
ambience3
service4

Not as good as it sounded

vip
Dined on September 17, 2015

A bit disappointing. Drafty at a window table on an overcast day.

Tags: scenic view
food4
ambience5
service4

A Grand Experience

Dined on September 15, 2015

Our dinner at the Mural Rooms rates as one of our top ten dining experiences from Bangkok to Berlin to Buenos Aries. The combination of really good food appropriate to the local, one of the great views of North America, a friendly and worldly staff, and a magnificently designed and appointed room, are what make this a standout. Architect Gilbert Stanley Underwood designed many famous National Park structures including the noted Ahwahnee at Yosemite. Here, in his last major commission, is his only venture into mid-century Modernism with a "parkitecture" twist and it comes off fantastic. The NPS has recognized this landmark and has maintained both the Mural Room and the whole lodge with great care. It all combines for a most memorable dining experience.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, scenic view
food4
ambience5
service5

Can't beat the view!

Dined on September 14, 2015

We made our reservation at sunset, and boy was it worth the wait! Watching the sun go down on the Tetons will always be a great memory! The service was wonderful. Not too many selections for dinner but I enjoyed the organic chicken very much.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5

40th Wedding Anniversary in the Mural Room

Dined on September 12, 2015

We have thoroughly enjoyed our stay at JLL! The hotel is wonderful. The shops offer just about everything you need or want. The room with the view of the Tetons is breathtaking! The staff is courteous and attentive and friendly. This has been an exceptional experience. Now, with that said, there was one exception to perfectionism. The Mural Room host Friday night was rude and I wanted to give him lessons on how to speak and listen to customers. We watched, as we waited 30 minutes for our 7:30 reservations and we understand that happens, but with a few kind words he could have created less anger among those waiting. The evening attitude changed when we were seated and Hannah and her assistants served us. They saved our anniversary evening! We appreciated the efforts of all the staff in providing us an anniversary celebration we will never forget!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Beautiful View!!

Dined on September 12, 2015

Had been there a couple times before and it lived up to all my past expectations. Food and service was excellent. Very enjoyable evening.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5

FABULOUS

Dined on September 10, 2015

The waiters here attend to your every wish. I asked for a specific change to the listed menu special and the waiter requested this to the chef, who accommodated me. I Loved this PLACE !! Neil was one SPECIAL WAITER. He also had a sense of humor and helped with a few questions I had about the area. A VERY SPECIAL DINING EXPERIENCE INDEED !!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service4

A really lovely place to enjoy a romantic dinner

Dined on September 10, 2015

We enjoyed a marvelous dinner here while on an anniversary trip. The welcome was very warm despite being extremely busy, and the service was mostly fantastic. There were some trainees that needed practice, and our senior waiter was stretched, but everyone was very pleasant and we didn't need much attention beyond getting our order in right. There was a large group seated beside us, but the noise level was not ridiculous. On the other side, we had an incredible sunset view of the Grand Tetons, fantastic. Everything we ate was fantastic, beautifully done and really delicious.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service5

Delicious!

Dined on September 9, 2015

We enjoyed everything we had here. And a beautiful view! We sat in the second row from the windows so that we would face the view and it was outstanding. Our service was excellent and the food nicely presented and very good! For Appetizers we had the Trout Salad and the Buffalo Carpacci. The only negative was the buffalo was extremely thin so it really just tasted like the truffle remoulade. For Entrees the Bison was outstanding and the Elk Loin very delicious. If we ever find ourselves in this part of the world again we would definitely come back!

Tags: fit for foodies, scenic view
food1
ambience4
service3

Food construction was too out of the box ...

Dined on September 8, 2015

Food construction was too out of the box. I ordered a stuffed mushroom vegan entree and it was a fussy dish. Some elements like the carrot sauce were interesting but the mushroom itself was so sour, it ruined the experience for me. The peach dacquiose was similar. Extremely hard to eat.

food4
ambience5
service4

Great View and Venue

Dined on September 8, 2015

The view alone is worth the reservation. Food and service were excellent but the setting steals the show. A full wall of windows looking out on the Tetons. Unique and outstanding vista.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food4
ambience3
service4

Stunning View Unlike Diners....

Dined on September 4, 2015

The view was absolutely stunning and the food and service were very good, however the overall ambience was spoilt somewhat by the dress code or lack of by patrons. It was a shame as some people were dressed in what I can only describe as rather scruffy attire; I'm not suggesting formal evening wear but smart causal would have been good, some diners looked and smelled as if they had just come off the trail for the day!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food3
ambience5
service3

No Moose Waffles at the "Moose Waffle Station"

Dined on August 30, 2015

On vacation to Jackson, Teton & Yellowstone for a week, so I planned out very carefully our dining out meals and reservations. We made a special trip on Sunday morning from Jackson to the Lodge (about an hour drive) to have the Lodge's Sunday brunch, which is marketed as having this great "Moose Waffle Station" with imprinted Moose on the waffles, moose shaped butter, etc. My kids are NUTS over moose and this was a special treat to drive over just for the brunch. We arrive - no Moose Waffle Station, only a regular waffle station, no moose butter, etc., despite photos from the Jackson Lake Lodge and menu both promoting this station. When I inquired I was told by the cook at the waffle station that the moose waffle iron got old and they hadn't bothered to replace it -- wow. So photos are all over the website, the current menu still says "Moose waffle station" and this was their response. That's not a fine dining experience or professional position. Either order a new moose waffle iron, or remove the photos and references on your menu and website. The rest of the food at brunch was fine, but very standard and nothing special --- we wouldn't have made the early morning trip (last seating for breakfast brunch is 9:30) but for this special part of the brunch. No one ever came by to refill water either - and my cranberry juice was never delivered. :(

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5

An aniversary to remember

Dined on August 29, 2015

We chose to celebrate our 50th anniversary at the Mural Room, a location both of us worked in 52 years ago, the summer we met. I was a hostess and waitress, my husband, Chef Blum's secretary and desk clerk the two summers each of us were employed by GTLC. We were given a window table and enjoyed not only the view, but also classical music as we waited. Our service was exceptional, the prime rib as delicious as we remembered it and the presentation was appealing. The dining room management presented us with a complimentary anniversary dessert which could have graced the cover of a foodie magazine. This dining experience was the highlight of our trip from Arizona.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5

Our Anniversary Dinner

Dined on August 29, 2015

We were seated at a table for two by the window with a fabulous sunset view over the Grand Teton Mountain Range! Amanda, our server was delightful, patient, happy to please, very helpful, & accommodating! I had the beef tenderloin & my husband had the prime rib, both were delicious and cooked to perfection! At the end of our meal, Amanda surprised us with a special anniversary dessert---so charming!

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5

Celebrating an anniversary, we were gree ...

Dined on August 23, 2015

Celebrating an anniversary, we were greeted with a "Happy Anniversary" upon checking in for out reservation. The only notice I gave of this occasion was through the requests comment section on OpenTable, so I was impressed to start. We were given a great corner window seat to enjoy the amazing view of the Tetons and watch the sunset. Servers were very attentive and helpful. I also had an unusual situation where a package was sent to the Mural Room in order for me to pickup for this occasion which I was appreciative and thankful of the staff to accommodate. The food was delicious, service was excellent, views were fantastic, and the music was a true treat. Great experience. Thank you all!

food1
ambience3
service2

Bad Dining Experience

Dined on August 17, 2015

I booked this restaurant for our 25th anniversary celebration. My wife ordered the prime rib. It was cold so we requested they heat it up. Instead they brought her another cold prime rib. We refused to pay for it. When the waitress brought back the credit card receipt for signature the amount did not agree with the tab. The dining room host was apologetic and gave us a complementary breakfast. We enjoy fine dining. This was not a very enjoyable evening.

food5
ambience5
service5

Fabulous

Dined on August 16, 2015

fabulous, fabulous, fabulous! the view was only the start to an incredible dining experience throughout the entire meal. Servers were very attentive to each of my requests, lots of management on the floor throughout the evening. Great drinks and delicious food. Couldn't have asked for a more perfect dinner during my time at the Jackson Lake Lodge. Do not miss out on this wonderful restaurant.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, hot spot, notable wine list
food2
ambience4
service2

Incredible view, mediocre food.

Dined on August 14, 2015

This is the place to go if you want an incredible view. The place is gorgeous, although you are certainly paying for the view because the food is really just mediocre. Two of us ordered prime rib medium rare and received it well done. We sent it back and received the second cuts medium well. The flavor was okay but still way too overcooked which ruined the meat. The sides were good and the other dishes seemed better than the prime rib.

Tags: special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5

You can't beat the view!

Dined on August 12, 2015

Go with an early breakfast reservation so you can get a window seat or pick a later dinner reservation with a window seat around 8pm so you can have a great sunset view! The food was delish!

Tags: great for brunch, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Best restaurant meal of our entire 15 da ...

Dined on August 12, 2015

Best restaurant meal of our entire 15 day trip (Glacier, Yellowstone, Tetons)!

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.