About Ms. Rose's

1090 Sam Rittenberg Boulevard
Charleston, SC 29407
View Larger Map

Ms. Rose's Fine Food and Cocktails, West Ashley's hottest new restaurant.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Southern, American

Hours of Operation:
Open at 11:00 7 days a week

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(843) 766-0223

Website:
http://msroses.com/

Restaurant Photos

Croque Madame
Ramen
French Toast With Chocolate Ganache, Strawberries, And Whipped Cream
Country Fried Steak And Waffle
Belgian Waffle With Brown Sugar And Pears
Rose's Traditional Breakfast
French Toast
Dirty Rice Fritters
Corned Beef Hash
Bacon Benedict With Cheddar Grits
Bacon And Cheese Omelet With Fried Potatoes
Peanut Polenta
fried chicken
Reuben Sandwich
Vegetable Pasta
Pecan Manhattan
Chicken Biscuit
Ricotta Gnocchi
Cheeseburger
Holy Holy Chocolate
Smoked Pecan Pie
Grilled Butcher's Steak W/Black Garlic Sauce
Wings
Meat Pies
Guiness
Smoked Meatloaf Sandwich
Grilled Butcher's Steak With Geechie Boy Grits, And Biscuit
Macaroni and Cheese
Ms. Roses' Original Friend Chicken
buttermilk biscuit
Grilled Chicken
Peanut Butter Banana Pie
Water

Ms. Rose's Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

3.9

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.1

service

4.1

ambience

4.2

value

3.8

noise

Moderate

81% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Southern
Charleston
Best Restaurants in West Ashley ›

Good for Groups (8)
Great for Brunch (7)
Great for Lunch (7)
See All
Neighborhood Gem (6)
Fit for Foodies (5)
Special Occasion (4)
Kid-friendly (4)
Great for Outdoor Dining (3)
Hot Spot (3)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Notable Wine List (1)
Romantic (1)
Sort By:
Newest
271 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

The service was good - friendly waitress ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on August 16, 2016

The service was good - friendly waitress- overall we had a good time at lunch

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

I went there for my birthday to try the ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

I went there for my birthday to try the restaurant. The menu was confusing and the food was cold and did not taste good at all. There was not a lot of people there at 7:00PM on a Saturday night so therefore, I should have taken the warning. The atmosphere is somewhat strange. It was not what I expected. I did not try the cocktails but maybe this is what it is best at.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service2
value1

We eat here often and the food and servi ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on July 26, 2016

We eat here often and the food and service are always good. The fried chicken and the arugula salad are our favorites.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Love Ms. Rose's.

vip
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Love Ms. Rose's.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Awesome place for happy hour! Tasty food ...

vip
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

Awesome place for happy hour! Tasty food and good drinks at amazing prices!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Ms. Rose's is one of my favorite restaur ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on June 28, 2016

Ms. Rose's is one of my favorite restaurants in the Charleston area. My husband is a picky-eater, but he enjoys the fried chicken every time. Desserts are updated, but if you EVER see the Hawaiian Chantilly cake listed (and you love coconut) you have GOT to get a slice! Always some good drink specials during Happy Hour!

Ramen nights on Tuesday are a good value for a GREAT meal. The noodles are very good and price goes up from $7 as you add to your bowl. There are always fun things planned- comedy nights, for example. We had an AWESOME time for the first ever pig-pickin (BBQ) on the new patio. This is a great place for foodies, watching the big game, or just catching up with family or friends!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Kid-friendly, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

As usual the food was awesome and we lov ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

As usual the food was awesome and we loved the peach bellinis!

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

What a wonderful place. Our waitress was ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

What a wonderful place. Our waitress was great. She was informative and gave us good recommendation for brunch choices. Look forward to eating there again soon. This was our first time. A great choice to celebrate Father's Day

Tags: Great for Brunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had seen a chef from this restaurant ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on June 8, 2016

We had seen a chef from this restaurant on Chopped while we were on vacation so we decided to check it out. The atmosphere was great and the place was very trendy. The booths were comfortable.

The food was too salty and overcooked. We expected it to be more trendy. Portions were so-so.

The waiter called my husband Buddy. That did not sit well.

Basically, we had higher expectations and were unimpressed.

We also heard another table complaining about the salty food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value3

Best Food

 
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on May 20, 2016

This is my favorite restaurant in all of Charleston. Amazing food and drinks.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

We ate lunch at Ms. Rose's for the first ...

vip
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on May 20, 2016

We ate lunch at Ms. Rose's for the first time on May 20, 2016 and it was fantastic! It was not crowded when arrived but by the time we finished, it was packed. You have got to order a biscuit with their homemade strawberry jam! Our group tried the fried chicken with Tabasco honey sauce with grits and succotash, the meatloaf sandwich with mixed vegetables, and a salad with grilled chicken. Everything was delicious! The quantities were large and we brought leftovers home. Service was excellent and the restaurant is decorated very funky and fun! We will definitely return!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Staff are very understanding and toleran ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

Staff are very understanding and tolerant of diners with children. Much appreciated!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Great place to eat. Everything was exact ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on May 6, 2016

Great place to eat. Everything was exactly like ordered. Friendly staff

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The food was absolutely incredible as al ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on May 1, 2016

The food was absolutely incredible as always! We brought our friends from Colorado and they agree some of the best food of the weekend! The service was something less than desired, but it won't keep us away as this is the first time we have had poor service here.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2

Nice to have a different style restauran ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on April 23, 2016

Nice to have a different style restaurant in the area. Loved the atmosphere and the menu selection. Will definitely go back and refer family and friends.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Unremarkable

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on March 29, 2016

Food was unremarkable. Fried green tomatoes were burned and barely any goat cheese. Shrimp and grits bland. Shrimp tasted previously frozen. Not what I expect in Charleston. Waitress was not attentive. After we were given the check we sat and chatted a bit longer since the restaurant was not busy and NO ONE asked if we'd like anything else, didn't refresh coffee, water, nothing. And we were there another 45 minutes.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

Hidden jem

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on March 27, 2016

We had a large group with toddlers and everything was perfect. Love this place for groups or just for two.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

We stoped at Ms Rosas for brunch on Easter Sunday

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on March 27, 2016

My wife and I decided to try Ms. Rosa's after church on Easter Sunday. The first thing we noticed was the unusual décor. It was nice and clean, but different. The waiter was very nice and friendly. The food was good. I would describe it as typical for this area. This was our first time to eat there. We would probably go back when we are in that area.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

The decorations inside are absolutely aw ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on March 13, 2016

The decorations inside are absolutely awesome! We came around noon on a Sunday and it was pretty empty inside. The waiter was friendly and attentive. 3 guest got omelets and loved them, 1 ordered french toast and it was just ok. It was a big much with all the chocolate and raspberries. Wish there were a few more brunch items but very happy we tried it. And will again!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3

Very cool atmosphere with great food!

 
 (New England)
·Dined on March 12, 2016

Super convenient location, nice menu variety, well priced. Shared the Fried Johns Island Green Tomatoes and the Warm Pretzel Sticks for appetizer, had the BLT for dinner. It was yummy, with good crispy, flavorful fries. We were too full for dessert, but oh, did they look good. Server was very nice, efficient. Unfortunately we were seated next to a large party, so it was loud. I actually moved my chair to sit next to my friend, as we couldn't hear each other. We did eat early, though, 6 pm. We will definitely go back.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Neighborhood gem. Real southern cooking ...

vip
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on March 12, 2016

Neighborhood gem. Real southern cooking. It may be out of the way but it's worth the trip.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value4

Love Sunday brunch at Ms Roses

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on March 6, 2016

Love Sunday brunch at Ms Roses

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We had seven people at our table and our ...

vip
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on February 21, 2016

We had seven people at our table and our waiter only came three times we finally left & paid up front, we will not be going back

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service1

Horrible V-Day Lunch

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on February 14, 2016

I decided to have V-Day lunch with my bridal party and I was not very happy with the service. Waiter was gone for a long time. Prices was too high for the quality of food. Will not be back in the future.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1
value1

Enjoyable

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on February 13, 2016

Food was good, waiter was a little odd though and did not talk clearly.

I enjoyed the electronic pictures, until the photo of the dead whale appeared. Certainly NOT an appetizing shot!!!

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

Nice dinner out

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on February 13, 2016

My daughter came in from TX and we had plans that were abruptly canceled on Friday so she decided she wanted Ms. Roses. We LOVE the biscuits! We always have one as an appetizer. Everyone was happy with their entrees and we will definitely go back. It was a little noisy sitting at the entrance to the private room but it wasn't too bad. The cocktails are good, the service is great and the food can't be beat!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Solid comfort food, nice atmosphere

vip
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on January 20, 2016

After a weekend of disappointing eats around town, a few friends and I gathered at Ms.Rose to catch up and unwind over burgers. Flavorful burgers and excellent, well seasoned, delightfully crunchy Brussels sprouts (need that recipe!) . Our server was very helpful with recommendations (I.e. steering us to those sprouts instead of fries). Would definitely recommend.

Tags: Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Fun atmosphere and great food!

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on January 14, 2016

Fun atmosphere and great food!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

EXCELLENT!

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on January 9, 2016

Excellent service here for our group and our waiter was awesome! He personally sang to our friend who was celebrating her birthday. They reserved a nice table for us -10 in the back of the restaurant. It was perfect! A+

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

A Bloody Mary bar

vip
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on January 1, 2016

never seen this before, but it was fun to make your own multi-ingredient Bloody Mary

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value4

We love Ms.Rose's. It was just as wonder ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on January 1, 2016

We love Ms.Rose's. It was just as wonderful as last time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We had fried green tomatoes to start, wh ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on January 1, 2016

We had fried green tomatoes to start, which were very good. For our entrees my husband and I both had the country fried steak and waffles... It was good but we've both had much better. Our server was personable but the guy that delivered our appetizer (I think he was the bartender but I'm not sure) was obviously less than thrilled to be there and was actually rather rude. I'm fairly lenient having been a server for many years but this guy acted in such a way that I've never acted toward a patron. Otherwise our visit was fine, just not anything to write home about.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3

Brunch is better...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on January 1, 2016

I have been here many times for brunch and loved it. However, I was dissapointed at dinner. First of all, it was New Year's Eve and it was dead at 8:00. I started off with one of their fresh biscuits for appetizer. They are always do good at brunch It was hard and cold. The waiter asked the chef and she said they were made that morning:((. I ordered the short ribs for dinner. I always order from the specials because they tend to be more fresh. They were so salty I found hardly eat them. I decided to order a dessert which was hard and a dessert drink which took forever to get. I have been here many times for brunch for their breakfast specials and I do like their Bloody Mary bar but I will stay away for dinner.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value4

Nice local place

vip
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on November 21, 2015

My wife and I wanted to go out for a quick but nice meal and again Ms Roses fit the bill. This is one of the best "local" resturants in the area. Easy to get to off the I-26. The service is great and better than some of the high cost places in downtown Charleston. If you want to have a nice meal at a reasonable price the try Ms Roses.

Tags: Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Overall our experience was great, servic ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on October 31, 2015

Overall our experience was great, service was a little slow.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3

msrose's

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on October 4, 2015

Outstanding and interesting interior. Great wall mural using old plates and dinnerware. Terrific drinks. Good hamburgers. Sort of unusual menu, but interesting.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4

Sunday Brunch

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on September 27, 2015

Very nice and casual place with a great menu for a brunch.

The service is very nice and people friendly.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Food was outstanding. Restaurant was co ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on September 21, 2015

Food was outstanding. Restaurant was cold and so was our Server very inattentive and rude. Hostess was nice & our refilled drinks(would have rather gave her tip).. Server never checked back. Table came in behind with kids kicking back of our booth they also had same server got better service and food before us. We wanted to order another beer but we were left sitting so long she finally brought us a water we didn't even ask for. Food was so good I will return but I will sit at bar or request different server.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service2

still bad after several tries

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on September 17, 2015

Had a bad experience a month ago, decided to give them another try. Service was poor and food was burnt and took way too long.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1

Consistently good food at reasonable pri ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on September 14, 2015

Consistently good food at reasonable prices with friendly service. What more could you want?

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.