Is this your restaurant?Claim this listing.
Get Notified
We'll send you an email if this restaurant joins OpenTable.
Notify Me

Restaurants you may also like

Halls ChophouseHalls Chophouse
(8811)
$$$$
Steakhouse | Downtown Charleston, Charleston
Booked 117 times today
MagnoliasMagnolias
(8033)
$$$$
Southern | Downtown Charleston, Charleston
Booked 113 times today
Edmund's OastEdmund's Oast
(1045)
$$$$
Contemporary American | Downtown Charleston, Charleston
Booked 29 times today
Hank's Seafood RestaurantHank's Seafood Restaurant
(5810)
$$$$
Seafood | Downtown Charleston, Charleston
Booked 86 times today
The Darling Oyster BarThe Darling Oyster Bar
(472)
$$$$
Seafood | Downtown Charleston, Charleston
Booked 69 times today
Coast Bar & Grill – CharlestonCoast Bar & Grill – Charleston
(1102)
$$$$
Seafood | Downtown Charleston, Charleston
Booked 48 times today
High Cotton - CharlestonHigh Cotton - Charleston
(5113)
$$$$
Southern | Downtown Charleston, Charleston
Booked 84 times today
Husk RestaurantHusk Restaurant
(8028)
$$$$
American | Downtown Charleston, Charleston
Booked 120 times today
Peninsula GrillPeninsula Grill
(4284)
$$$$
American | Downtown Charleston, Charleston
Booked 54 times today
Charleston GrillCharleston Grill
(3051)
$$$$
American | Downtown Charleston, Charleston
Booked 52 times today
O-KuO-Ku
(1184)
$$$$
Sushi | Downtown Charleston, Charleston
Booked 28 times today
Fleet Landing Restaurant & BarFleet Landing Restaurant & Bar
(3076)
$$$$
Seafood | Downtown Charleston, Charleston
Booked 70 times today
IndacoIndaco
(813)
$$$$
Italian | Downtown Charleston, Charleston
Booked 38 times today
AnsonAnson
(1043)
$$$$
Southern | Downtown Charleston, Charleston
Booked 21 times today
Slightly North of BroadSlightly North of Broad
(5730)
$$$$
Low Country | Downtown Charleston, Charleston
Booked 103 times today

About Ms. Rose's

Ms. Rose's Fine Food and Cocktails, West Ashley's hottest new restaurant.

1090 Sam Rittenberg Boulevard
Charleston, SC 29407
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Southern, American

Hours of Operation:
Open at 11:00 7 days a week

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(843) 766-0223

Website:
http://msroses.com/

Sort By:
S
291 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on January 18, 2017

This was our first visit to try it out during Restaurant Week. We will certainly be back. Good food, prices and service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on January 15, 2017

This is a very cool spot. They have good food and a fun atmosphere!

Tags: Business Meals, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Fun, Happy Hour, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on January 13, 2017

The food was delicious. Wendy was our server and is very attentive. We love Ms. Rose's and will definitely return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on December 12, 2016

Wendy is a wonderful server. She always gives us excellent service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on December 4, 2016

They have pimento cheese grits that were some of the BEST grits I have ever had! They also have a lot of different kinds of mimosas. I really liked the strawberry flavor. The rest of the brunch items were pretty standard and nothing too exciting. A little more expensive when compared to similar brunch spots, but worth it if you are craving cheese grits.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value2

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on November 26, 2016

Great Art Deco place with nice menu, good service (except for not having specialty cocktails available). Fried chicken outstanding as was shrimp and grits. Swordfish a little underdone. Steak very tasty and fries were nice and crispy. Server was attentive and personable. Enjoyed the ambiance and relaxed atmosphere. Unique booths in bar area.

Tags: Casual, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on November 20, 2016

We love this place!!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on October 16, 2016

Food was absolutely delicious. My friend and I went for brunch one Sunday and we booked a reservation just in case it was busy. It wasn't super crowded, which was nice, so I was able to actually have a conversation with my friend without having to scream at one another. Everyone that helped us was super friendly and we loved the food! Also, their spiked iced coffee was to die for. What a perfect Sunday.

Tags: Good for a Date, Authentic, Cozy, Great for Lunch, Casual, Great for Brunch, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on October 14, 2016

It was so good we went back the next night with 7 friends

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Savannah)·Dined on October 14, 2016

It was a cool night and we sat out in the patio. The live music was good. Our waitress was excellent and took good care of us, even checking with the cooks to change up a menu item to accommodate my vegetarian daughter. Would go back for sure.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on October 2, 2016

There were no grits in the shrimp and grits. The web menu was not available.

Tags: Afternoon Tea
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value1

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on September 16, 2016

I was the only one who ordered from the Restaurant Week menu. All of my choices were delicious. My dining companions ordered from the regular menu and they enjoyed their meals also. Our waiter was patient and attentive despite the fact that they were getting rather busy before we left. Would definitely go back. Want to try Ramen Night!

Tags: Happy Hour, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on August 26, 2016

A small group of us decided to try this restaurant because some of us had been wanting to for a while. It was a weekend night and there wasn't many other diners in the place at all.

The waitress was very nice, but service was exceptionally slow to start. We were only ordering drinks at this point, so the bar could have been a contributor to this as well.

The food was definitely less appealing than expected. The shrimp and grits had an odd flavor I couldn't pinpoint and not enough gravy. The fried chicken is a large portion and was cooked through, but had an odd breading and wasn't as good as expected either.

Not the worst place I've dined at over the years, but not somewhere I'll likely return to either.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on August 16, 2016

The service was good - friendly waitress- overall we had a good time at lunch

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on August 6, 2016

I went there for my birthday to try the restaurant. The menu was confusing and the food was cold and did not taste good at all. There was not a lot of people there at 7:00PM on a Saturday night so therefore, I should have taken the warning. The atmosphere is somewhat strange. It was not what I expected. I did not try the cocktails but maybe this is what it is best at.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service2
value1

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on July 26, 2016

We eat here often and the food and service are always good. The fried chicken and the arugula salad are our favorites.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on July 17, 2016

Love Ms. Rose's.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on July 14, 2016

Awesome place for happy hour! Tasty food and good drinks at amazing prices!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on June 28, 2016

Ms. Rose's is one of my favorite restaurants in the Charleston area. My husband is a picky-eater, but he enjoys the fried chicken every time. Desserts are updated, but if you EVER see the Hawaiian Chantilly cake listed (and you love coconut) you have GOT to get a slice! Always some good drink specials during Happy Hour!

Ramen nights on Tuesday are a good value for a GREAT meal. The noodles are very good and price goes up from $7 as you add to your bowl. There are always fun things planned- comedy nights, for example. We had an AWESOME time for the first ever pig-pickin (BBQ) on the new patio. This is a great place for foodies, watching the big game, or just catching up with family or friends!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Kid-friendly, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on June 26, 2016

As usual the food was awesome and we loved the peach bellinis!

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on June 19, 2016

What a wonderful place. Our waitress was great. She was informative and gave us good recommendation for brunch choices. Look forward to eating there again soon. This was our first time. A great choice to celebrate Father's Day

Tags: Great for Brunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on June 8, 2016

We had seen a chef from this restaurant on Chopped while we were on vacation so we decided to check it out. The atmosphere was great and the place was very trendy. The booths were comfortable.

The food was too salty and overcooked. We expected it to be more trendy. Portions were so-so.

The waiter called my husband Buddy. That did not sit well.

Basically, we had higher expectations and were unimpressed.

We also heard another table complaining about the salty food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value3

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on May 20, 2016

This is my favorite restaurant in all of Charleston. Amazing food and drinks.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on May 20, 2016

We ate lunch at Ms. Rose's for the first time on May 20, 2016 and it was fantastic! It was not crowded when arrived but by the time we finished, it was packed. You have got to order a biscuit with their homemade strawberry jam! Our group tried the fried chicken with Tabasco honey sauce with grits and succotash, the meatloaf sandwich with mixed vegetables, and a salad with grilled chicken. Everything was delicious! The quantities were large and we brought leftovers home. Service was excellent and the restaurant is decorated very funky and fun! We will definitely return!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on May 8, 2016

Staff are very understanding and tolerant of diners with children. Much appreciated!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on May 6, 2016

Great place to eat. Everything was exactly like ordered. Friendly staff

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on May 1, 2016

The food was absolutely incredible as always! We brought our friends from Colorado and they agree some of the best food of the weekend! The service was something less than desired, but it won't keep us away as this is the first time we have had poor service here.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on April 23, 2016

Nice to have a different style restaurant in the area. Loved the atmosphere and the menu selection. Will definitely go back and refer family and friends.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on March 29, 2016

Food was unremarkable. Fried green tomatoes were burned and barely any goat cheese. Shrimp and grits bland. Shrimp tasted previously frozen. Not what I expect in Charleston. Waitress was not attentive. After we were given the check we sat and chatted a bit longer since the restaurant was not busy and NO ONE asked if we'd like anything else, didn't refresh coffee, water, nothing. And we were there another 45 minutes.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on March 27, 2016

We had a large group with toddlers and everything was perfect. Love this place for groups or just for two.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on March 27, 2016

My wife and I decided to try Ms. Rosa's after church on Easter Sunday. The first thing we noticed was the unusual décor. It was nice and clean, but different. The waiter was very nice and friendly. The food was good. I would describe it as typical for this area. This was our first time to eat there. We would probably go back when we are in that area.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on March 13, 2016

The decorations inside are absolutely awesome! We came around noon on a Sunday and it was pretty empty inside. The waiter was friendly and attentive. 3 guest got omelets and loved them, 1 ordered french toast and it was just ok. It was a big much with all the chocolate and raspberries. Wish there were a few more brunch items but very happy we tried it. And will again!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3

 
 (New England)·Dined on March 12, 2016

Super convenient location, nice menu variety, well priced. Shared the Fried Johns Island Green Tomatoes and the Warm Pretzel Sticks for appetizer, had the BLT for dinner. It was yummy, with good crispy, flavorful fries. We were too full for dessert, but oh, did they look good. Server was very nice, efficient. Unfortunately we were seated next to a large party, so it was loud. I actually moved my chair to sit next to my friend, as we couldn't hear each other. We did eat early, though, 6 pm. We will definitely go back.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on March 12, 2016

Neighborhood gem. Real southern cooking. It may be out of the way but it's worth the trip.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value4

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on March 6, 2016

Love Sunday brunch at Ms Roses

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on February 21, 2016

We had seven people at our table and our waiter only came three times we finally left & paid up front, we will not be going back

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service1

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on February 14, 2016

I decided to have V-Day lunch with my bridal party and I was not very happy with the service. Waiter was gone for a long time. Prices was too high for the quality of food. Will not be back in the future.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1
value1

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on February 13, 2016

Food was good, waiter was a little odd though and did not talk clearly.

I enjoyed the electronic pictures, until the photo of the dead whale appeared. Certainly NOT an appetizing shot!!!

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on February 12, 2016

My daughter came in from TX and we had plans that were abruptly canceled on Friday so she decided she wanted Ms. Roses. We LOVE the biscuits! We always have one as an appetizer. Everyone was happy with their entrees and we will definitely go back. It was a little noisy sitting at the entrance to the private room but it wasn't too bad. The cocktails are good, the service is great and the food can't be beat!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on January 20, 2016

After a weekend of disappointing eats around town, a few friends and I gathered at Ms.Rose to catch up and unwind over burgers. Flavorful burgers and excellent, well seasoned, delightfully crunchy Brussels sprouts (need that recipe!) . Our server was very helpful with recommendations (I.e. steering us to those sprouts instead of fries). Would definitely recommend.

Tags: Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.