About Ms. Rose's

Ms. Rose's Fine Food and Cocktails, West Ashley's hottest new restaurant.

1090 Sam Rittenberg Boulevard
Charleston, SC 29407
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Southern, American

Hours of Operation:
Open at 11:00 7 days a week

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(843) 766-0223

Website:
http://msroses.com/

Ms. Rose's Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.5

ambience

4.3

value

4.2

Noise

Moderate

97% would recommend it to a friend

Casual (10)
Comfort Food (9)
Neighborhood Gem (9)
See All
Great for Brunch (8)
Creative Cuisine (6)
Fit for Foodies (6)
Authentic (5)
Good for Birthdays (5)
Good for Anniversaries (5)
Live Sports (5)
Bar Seating (4)
Good for a Date (4)
Special Occasion (4)
Sunday Lunch (4)
Kid-friendly (3)
Good for Groups (3)
Handcrafted Cocktails (3)
Happy Hour (3)
Great for Lunch (3)
Quiet Conversation (3)
Worth the Drive (3)
Cozy (2)
Great for Outdoor Dining (2)
Fun (2)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Business Meals (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
People Watching (1)
Romantic (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Great Beer (1)
Sort by
S
335 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
·Dined 3 days ago

went for restaurant week. the special menu was good, but appetizer lacked seasoning and dessert wasn't anything special. main course was DELICIOUS! server was very friendly and knew the menu well.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined 5 days ago

Service was slow. My appetizer was cold. Biscuits that cost 2.00 a piece we old and stale. Pork chop was over fried and too salty. Mac and cheese was over done and dry. Bread pudding dessert was dry and the s'mores dessert was dry. Waiter wa slow in refilling drinks, bringing next course and getting the bill To us despite restaurants was empty.
Orders were wrong.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value2

 
 (Charleston)·Dined 5 days ago

Went for restaurant week. They've definitely upped their game. Wasn't impressed after they first opened but food and service have improved drastically. Will definitely return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
·Dined on January 12, 2018

Casual eclectic spot. Good service and good sized portions. I had the fried chicken and it was great. I would definitely go again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on January 1, 2018

Booked this restaurant for new years eve dinner based on the fried chicken. When we went to order they were out of white meat and could only do dark. When my daughter ordered short ribs they were out of those as well. We ended up with steak and pulled pork where we would have gone elsewhere with better ratings.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3

 
·Dined on January 1, 2018

Great find through OpenTable. Went with family to celebrate my parents 36th Wedding Anniversary. Some interesting food choices but everything tasted really good.

Definitely order the Rose Seasoning chicken wings. They were delicious. We ordered them as an appetizer and because there were only 4 of them, everyone decided to order their own for dinner. The homemade blue cheese dressing is amazing!!!!

I absolutely hate blue cheese until I had it here. Even if you prefer ranch dressing, still get this on the side just to try it. You WONT REGRET IT

The meat pie was also really good. Drinks were reasonable.

Sangria - was rather dry for a sangria. Tasted more like a semi sweet red wine and club soda but in all I wasn’t disappointed.

Everything else was awesome!!

Tags: Cozy, Romantic, Casual, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Comfort Food, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on December 31, 2017

Very good food, great service and interesting ambiance. Worth the drive outside of town.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Comfort Food, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on December 31, 2017

We went to celebrate NYE with our in laws. had a great time and enjoyed the evening.

Tags: Casual, Good for Birthdays, Great for Brunch, Live Sports
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on December 31, 2017

We were a party of 8. We were greeted warmly. Our server, Clint, did a great job getting appetizers & drinks to us quickly & with a smile. Our meals were really good. Not one of us was disappointed!!! We would definitely go back there!

Tags: Comfort Food, Live Sports, Bar Seating, Fun, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on December 29, 2017

Amazing, amazing, amazing! We had the the best fried chicken, succotash, Mac and cheese, and cornbread we’ve ever had. Followed by banana bread cheesecake. Highly recommend the place!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on December 27, 2017

Nice staff, great service. And overall the food was wonderful!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 27, 2017

Excellent southern cooking with efficient, friendly service.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

 
·Dined on December 24, 2017

Food was just ok. Everyone at our table had soggy, limp, and over seasoned fries. We had to order off the Brunch menu despite requesting a dinner menu. The brunch menu was just so limited. You pretty much have to get grits with almost everything, and none of us liked grits. Hense, we ended up with soggy fries.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 19, 2017

Our favorite spot to take out of town guests for creative southern food in a fun atmosphere!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Kid-friendly, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on December 8, 2017

So glad we finally tried this place. Will certainly be back.

Tags: Good for Groups, Casual, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Brunch, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on December 3, 2017

My family loves this place! We range from ages 8 to 43 and we all find foods we want and love!

Tags: Good for a Date, Kid-friendly, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Brunch, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on November 27, 2017

Went with friends. First time for all of us. The shrimp and grits were outstanding. Most had hamburgers. One of us returned the Cole slaw side - "tasted weird". No problem and got fries instead. Extremely friendly and attentive waitress.

Tags: Live Sports, Kid-friendly, Comfort Food, Neighborhood Gem, Great Beer, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on November 26, 2017

Ms. Rose’s was fabulous. From the great service to the delicious food and drink, it more than met our expectations. Will definitely go again.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 24, 2017

Food took awhile to get but overall a good place to eat.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on November 19, 2017

I have driven by this place forever but never stopped. I had some friends headed out Hwy 17 on Sunday and this was on the way. Amazing!!! Great grits, green tomatoes and the service was great. The atmosphere was clean, funky and huge big screen tvs. Definitely where I'm gonna do football from now on. Bloody Mary bar, Mimosa Flight, overall a great find.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Quiet Conversation, Fun, Cozy, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on November 16, 2017

My first time in Charleston for a work trip and this place was recommended by a local colleague. I had the fried green tomatoes which were amazing! The banana pudding cheesecake to finish was very dense and thick but good flavor. If you want a heavy dessert I recommend this! Fun atmosphere, casual and great food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on October 29, 2017

The pretzels are amazing! We love everything, but we always look forward to the pretzels.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on October 28, 2017

It was good but nothing to get excited about. I had the pear glazed chicken confit, which didn’t have much flavor and the chicken portion was a bit small. The biscuits were over cooked and my aunt had a steak with potatoes and veggies, all of which came out cold. The brownie-cookie dessert was decent, but it wasn’t warm and seemed a bit over cooked. I also had a salad that was overdressed. My uncle, mother, and GF had decent meals, but again, it’s nothing to get excited about. I give it a hard C-

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 22, 2017

LOVE the various Eggs Benedict! Always something new to try! Delicious!!

Tags: Afternoon Tea, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Happy Hour, Good Vegetarian Options, Disabled Access
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on October 19, 2017

Always enjoy Ms. Rose's. They make the best cocktails and you get your money's worth. The food is very good and nicely presented. You can do several appetizers as a meal or share with the table and order an entrée. Good soup and salad options if you want to eat light. Good lively ambience without being too loud.

Tags: Good for Groups, Live Sports, Fit for Foodies, Comfort Food, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on October 13, 2017

Good food. If you order the friend chicken better be hungry they give you lots. Will definitely go again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on October 12, 2017

We really enjoyed our meal. We all loved what we ordered. The fried chicken was the best I have had. Service was exceptionally good and if we lived closer would definitely go back.

Tags: Happy Hour, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Casual, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

vip
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on October 9, 2017

Amazing food. Best mac and cheese I've had in a while. Overall delicious.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on September 24, 2017

As always, Sunday brunch at Ms Rose's was a delight. Our server was exceptionally considerate and thoughtful. The food lived up to our high expectations, based on past experience. All in all, a delight!

Tags: Comfort Food, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on September 23, 2017

We go to Ms. Rose's pretty regularly, both with our friends who love the modern twist on southern food, and with out-of-town guests who we want to show good southern food to. Absolutely our favorite place in West Ashley... Maybe our favorite in Charleston!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on September 21, 2017

We happened along on the last night of restaurant week. I will have to say, the food was absolutely delicious. We were actually surprised at how good it was although not sure why. Our waitress Nikki was great and very attentive which we appreciated. We will definitely go back!

Tags: Quick Bite, Bar Seating, Casual, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value5

 
·Dined on September 21, 2017

Nice, my plate loaded with French fries,to many,fish good, slaw no good. Friend good 3 course meal. Carb cake out of this world.

Tags: Disabled Access, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Scenic View, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Casual, Good for a Date, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on September 16, 2017

The food is mediocre at best. Because the side we sat on had a bar vibe, we kept the theme and had the wings appetizer (buffalo & jerk). They were awful. The buffalo had the orange sauce slathered on full size wings. The jerk was salty/not spicy. We switched gears and ordered entree salads with added protein. The spinach was wilted on the salad and, disappointingly, overall it had no flavor. I had high hopes with the ingredients because it seemed impossible not to be good -- though, it was barely average. The blue cheese had no flavor and tasted like that which could be purchased at Costco (never purchased blue cheese there but you can get my implication). The salmon was bland. I didn't eat much of mine; in general, I love salads. My friend had the chef salad and he said it was "fine." I didn't try it but it looked OK. I think the restaurant has potential because it is clean/ambiance is fine and it's located in an area of town that desperately needs good dining options. However, I would not go back unless the kitchen had an overhaul (preparation and quality of ingredients). Lastly, the bill was around $60 with no alcohol. I have no problem with the price point if the food is good; unfortunately, this dining experience was barely mediocre and I rate the food as poor.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service3
value1

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on September 14, 2017

As always a great meal in a comfortable setting.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on September 13, 2017

This was honestly one of the best dinners my husband and I have had in several years. The food was cooked and seasoned perfectly, the drinks were on point, and our server was kind and attentive. I couldn't have asked for a single thing more than what we received. We will 100% be returning.

Tags: Good for a Date, Romantic, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 6, 2017

Food & Service were EXCELLENT! Myself and My Wife Will be BACK! And again.....

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 3, 2017

Great Sports bar. Wait staff was friendly and competent. Food was good, nothing spectacular. nice atmosphere.

Tags: Live Sports
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

 
·Dined on August 21, 2017

The food was exceptional. My husband had the fried chicken and he loved it! I had the shrimp and grits. It was not what I was expecting however it tasted fantastic. A must go to restaurant. On our next vacation to Charlestown we will stopping in to eat at Ms. Rose's.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on August 20, 2017

We were in Charleston to view the eclipse. We were familiar with the city. Our daughter used to live there. We wanted to eat good low country food and the restaurants in town were unavailable. Ms. Rose's was recommended as an alternative , so we decided to take a chance! We were pleasantly surprised. The food was excellent. There was a little mix up with our order. We were compensated with a free desert. Our server was very helpful with his recommendations.All in all,we would definitely go there again.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients, Handcrafted Cocktails, Comfort Food, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on August 20, 2017

Dining at Ms Roses is second to none. My only disappointment is that a few months ago they changed chefs and the new chef removed perhaps the very best menu item - fried risotto rice balls/fritters. I long for their return but I'm told they're not coming back. Sad....

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.