About Ms. Rose's

1090 Sam Rittenberg Boulevard
Charleston, SC 29407
View Larger Map

Ms. Rose's Fine Food and Cocktails, West Ashley's hottest new restaurant.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Southern, American

Hours of Operation:
Open at 11:00 7 days a week

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(843) 766-0223

Website:
http://msroses.com/

Restaurant Photos

Ms. Rose's Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.1

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4

ambience

4.2

noise

Moderate

89% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Great for Brunch
South Carolina
Southern
South Carolina
Southern
Charleston
Best Restaurants in West Ashley ›

good for groups (16)
fit for foodies (15)
great for brunch (14)
See All
neighborhood gem (12)
great for lunch (11)
special occasion (7)
great for outdoor dining (5)
kid-friendly (5)
vibrant bar scene (4)
hot spot (4)
late-night find (1)
notable wine list (1)
romantic (1)
 (1)
Sort By:
Newest
259 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Best Food

Dined on May 20, 2016

This is my favorite restaurant in all of Charleston. Amazing food and drinks.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We ate lunch at Ms. Rose's for the first ...

vip
Dined on May 20, 2016

We ate lunch at Ms. Rose's for the first time on May 20, 2016 and it was fantastic! It was not crowded when arrived but by the time we finished, it was packed. You have got to order a biscuit with their homemade strawberry jam! Our group tried the fried chicken with Tabasco honey sauce with grits and succotash, the meatloaf sandwich with mixed vegetables, and a salad with grilled chicken. Everything was delicious! The quantities were large and we brought leftovers home. Service was excellent and the restaurant is decorated very funky and fun! We will definitely return!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for lunch, hot spot
food4
ambience4
service4

Staff are very understanding and toleran ...

Dined on May 8, 2016

Staff are very understanding and tolerant of diners with children. Much appreciated!

food5
ambience5
service5

Great place to eat. Everything was exact ...

Dined on May 6, 2016

Great place to eat. Everything was exactly like ordered. Friendly staff

food5
ambience5
service2

The food was absolutely incredible as al ...

Dined on May 1, 2016

The food was absolutely incredible as always! We brought our friends from Colorado and they agree some of the best food of the weekend! The service was something less than desired, but it won't keep us away as this is the first time we have had poor service here.

food5
ambience5
service5

Nice to have a different style restauran ...

Dined on April 23, 2016

Nice to have a different style restaurant in the area. Loved the atmosphere and the menu selection. Will definitely go back and refer family and friends.

food2
ambience3
service2
value2

Unremarkable

Dined on March 29, 2016

Food was unremarkable. Fried green tomatoes were burned and barely any goat cheese. Shrimp and grits bland. Shrimp tasted previously frozen. Not what I expect in Charleston. Waitress was not attentive. After we were given the check we sat and chatted a bit longer since the restaurant was not busy and NO ONE asked if we'd like anything else, didn't refresh coffee, water, nothing. And we were there another 45 minutes.

food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Hidden jem

Dined on March 27, 2016

We had a large group with toddlers and everything was perfect. Love this place for groups or just for two.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

We stoped at Ms Rosas for brunch on Easter Sunday

Dined on March 27, 2016

My wife and I decided to try Ms. Rosa's after church on Easter Sunday. The first thing we noticed was the unusual décor. It was nice and clean, but different. The waiter was very nice and friendly. The food was good. I would describe it as typical for this area. This was our first time to eat there. We would probably go back when we are in that area.

Tags: great for brunch, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service3

The decorations inside are absolutely aw ...

Dined on March 13, 2016

The decorations inside are absolutely awesome! We came around noon on a Sunday and it was pretty empty inside. The waiter was friendly and attentive. 3 guest got omelets and loved them, 1 ordered french toast and it was just ok. It was a big much with all the chocolate and raspberries. Wish there were a few more brunch items but very happy we tried it. And will again!!

food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Very cool atmosphere with great food!

Dined on March 12, 2016

Super convenient location, nice menu variety, well priced. Shared the Fried Johns Island Green Tomatoes and the Warm Pretzel Sticks for appetizer, had the BLT for dinner. It was yummy, with good crispy, flavorful fries. We were too full for dessert, but oh, did they look good. Server was very nice, efficient. Unfortunately we were seated next to a large party, so it was loud. I actually moved my chair to sit next to my friend, as we couldn't hear each other. We did eat early, though, 6 pm. We will definitely go back.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food3
ambience1
service1

We had seven people at our table and our ...

vip
Dined on February 21, 2016

We had seven people at our table and our waiter only came three times we finally left & paid up front, we will not be going back

food2
ambience2
service1
value1

Horrible V-Day Lunch

Dined on February 14, 2016

I decided to have V-Day lunch with my bridal party and I was not very happy with the service. Waiter was gone for a long time. Prices was too high for the quality of food. Will not be back in the future.

food4
ambience3
service2
value3

Enjoyable

Dined on February 13, 2016

Food was good, waiter was a little odd though and did not talk clearly. I enjoyed the electronic pictures, until the photo of the dead whale appeared. Certainly NOT an appetizing shot!!!

Tags: good for groups, great for lunch
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Nice dinner out

Dined on February 13, 2016

My daughter came in from TX and we had plans that were abruptly canceled on Friday so she decided she wanted Ms. Roses. We LOVE the biscuits! We always have one as an appetizer. Everyone was happy with their entrees and we will definitely go back. It was a little noisy sitting at the entrance to the private room but it wasn't too bad. The cocktails are good, the service is great and the food can't be beat!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Solid comfort food, nice atmosphere

vip
Dined on January 20, 2016

After a weekend of disappointing eats around town, a few friends and I gathered at Ms.Rose to catch up and unwind over burgers. Flavorful burgers and excellent, well seasoned, delightfully crunchy Brussels sprouts (need that recipe!) . Our server was very helpful with recommendations (I.e. steering us to those sprouts instead of fries). Would definitely recommend.

Tags: good for groups, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Fun atmosphere and great food!

Dined on January 14, 2016

Fun atmosphere and great food!

food4
ambience5
service5
value5

EXCELLENT!

Dined on January 9, 2016

Excellent service here for our group and our waiter was awesome! He personally sang to our friend who was celebrating her birthday. They reserved a nice table for us -10 in the back of the restaurant. It was perfect! A+

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups
food3
ambience3
service4
value4

A Bloody Mary bar

vip
Dined on January 1, 2016

never seen this before, but it was fun to make your own multi-ingredient Bloody Mary

Tags: great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5

We love Ms.Rose's. It was just as wonder ...

Dined on January 1, 2016

We love Ms.Rose's. It was just as wonderful as last time.

food3
ambience5
service3

We had fried green tomatoes to start, wh ...

Dined on January 1, 2016

We had fried green tomatoes to start, which were very good. For our entrees my husband and I both had the country fried steak and waffles... It was good but we've both had much better. Our server was personable but the guy that delivered our appetizer (I think he was the bartender but I'm not sure) was obviously less than thrilled to be there and was actually rather rude. I'm fairly lenient having been a server for many years but this guy acted in such a way that I've never acted toward a patron. Otherwise our visit was fine, just not anything to write home about.

food2
ambience3
service4
value4

Brunch is better...

vip
Dined on January 1, 2016

I have been here many times for brunch and loved it. However, I was dissapointed at dinner. First of all, it was New Year's Eve and it was dead at 8:00. I started off with one of their fresh biscuits for appetizer. They are always do good at brunch It was hard and cold. The waiter asked the chef and she said they were made that morning:((. I ordered the short ribs for dinner. I always order from the specials because they tend to be more fresh. They were so salty I found hardly eat them. I decided to order a dessert which was hard and a dessert drink which took forever to get. I have been here many times for brunch for their breakfast specials and I do like their Bloody Mary bar but I will stay away for dinner.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service5

Nice local place

vip
Dined on November 21, 2015

My wife and I wanted to go out for a quick but nice meal and again Ms Roses fit the bill. This is one of the best "local" resturants in the area. Easy to get to off the I-26. The service is great and better than some of the high cost places in downtown Charleston. If you want to have a nice meal at a reasonable price the try Ms Roses.

Tags: good for groups, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service3

Overall our experience was great, servic ...

Dined on October 31, 2015

Overall our experience was great, service was a little slow.

food3
ambience5
service4

msrose's

Dined on October 4, 2015

Outstanding and interesting interior. Great wall mural using old plates and dinnerware. Terrific drinks. Good hamburgers. Sort of unusual menu, but interesting.

Tags: great for brunch, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
food4
ambience4
service4

Sunday Brunch

Dined on September 27, 2015

Very nice and casual place with a great menu for a brunch. The service is very nice and people friendly.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, good for groups, great for lunch
food5
ambience3
service2

Food was outstanding. Restaurant was co ...

Dined on September 21, 2015

Food was outstanding. Restaurant was cold and so was our Server very inattentive and rude. Hostess was nice & our refilled drinks(would have rather gave her tip).. Server never checked back. Table came in behind with kids kicking back of our booth they also had same server got better service and food before us. We wanted to order another beer but we were left sitting so long she finally brought us a water we didn't even ask for. Food was so good I will return but I will sit at bar or request different server.

food2
ambience3
service1

still bad after several tries

Dined on September 17, 2015

Had a bad experience a month ago, decided to give them another try. Service was poor and food was burnt and took way too long.

food5
ambience4
service4

Consistently good food at reasonable pri ...

Dined on September 14, 2015

Consistently good food at reasonable prices with friendly service. What more could you want?

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service5

A nice place to eat for dinner

vip
Dined on September 12, 2015

The food was good @ Ms. Rose's. I was not too thrilled about the sides included with each dish. However, we were able to exchange the side without any problems. My husband and I had the fried chicken. It was nice and moist, not dry, cooked perfectly. Our friends had the fish and chips as well as the fried chicken. They also were happy with their meals. We will return for another meal.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service4

This was our second trip to Ms. Rose's a ...

Dined on September 5, 2015

This was our second trip to Ms. Rose's and we were just as satisfied on this trip as the first. Service was quick and our server was very attentive- drinks NEVER went empty. I had the Reuben, which was good, and other members of my party enjoyed a salad and grilled chicken, but we were there for dessert...which did not disappoint. The Hawaiian Chantilly cake was AMAZING. I plan on asking my family to take me back for my birthday- I'm still dreaming of that cake! My brother was happy with his plain cheesecake and my daughter loves the cookie brownie cake. I am counting down to when I can return to Ms. Rose's.

food4
ambience1
service5

Food and Service were excellent; noise l ...

Dined on August 22, 2015

Food and Service were excellent; noise level was very high which does not lend to a romantic feeling nor pleasant conversation. it is too open allowing high level of noise to go everywhere. TVs ok in the bar but not for the dining area

Tags: fit for foodies, vibrant bar scene
food2
ambience4
service4

Disappointed this time. At 11:30 they di ...

vip
Dined on July 28, 2015

Disappointed this time. At 11:30 they didn't have 2 of the 3 items we ordered for lunch. Portion sizes were also smaller than in the past (rebuen had hardly any meat on it)and the shrimp sandwich was fishy.

food3
ambience4
service4

Southern Comfort Food

vip
Dined on July 21, 2015

Moderately priced Southern Comfort Food. Maybe could be more imaginative like the back wall of old-restaurant recycled material. Food came out pipping hot, burnt our fingers while grabbing the fried chicken. Mac and cheese was good as gold. Portions were plentiful, but there was just something missing. Will have to return to figure that out. The screaming kid at the next table may have been a distraction. Eric our waiter did the best he could to accommodate and gets an A+ for the effort.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
food4
ambience4
service4

The food is good!

Dined on July 11, 2015

I especially enjoy the corned beef hash for brunch and the reuben for dinner. The fried chicken is also very good. We had a two year old with us and he was very happy with the boiled peanuts (me too) and the fruit. We will be back soon.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies
food5
ambience5
service5

Great food and atmosphere

Dined on June 27, 2015

I've visited Ms. Rose's four times now and it is becoming my favorite restaurant. The food is excellent and the staff is very friendly. Recently we visited for brunch and I was very impressed. The restaurant is nicely decorated and has ample seating. I would recommend Ms. Rose's as a premiere location in the West Ashley area.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, good for groups, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service4

Friendly staff and the food was great!

Dined on June 26, 2015

Friendly staff and the food was great!

food5
ambience5
service5

Good for groups

Dined on June 24, 2015

Ms.Roses's accommodated our large group , food was brought out to order and promptly. Have eaten there several time and always a good choice.

Tags: good for groups, great for lunch
food4
ambience3
service3

Good fried chicken

vip
Dined on May 29, 2015

We enjoyed dining at Ms. Rose's on Thursday. The fried chicken and steak were both real good! I also enjoyed my bottle of Cabernet wine.

Tags: good for groups, great for lunch, late-night find
food4
ambience2
service4

A favorite in West Ashley

vip
Dined on May 27, 2015

This is a restaurant that does not reach too high. The concept is simple. Offer good food in a friendly setting. They keep the offerings fairly simple with high quality. The decor is a little like an airplane hangar full of TVs and screens rather than a restaurant, but that adds to the casual feel of the place.

Tags: great for brunch, great for lunch, neighborhood gem

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.