About Ms. Rose's

Ms. Rose's Fine Food and Cocktails, West Ashley's hottest new restaurant.

1090 Sam Rittenberg Boulevard
Charleston, SC 29407
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Southern, American

Hours of Operation:
Open at 11:00 7 days a week

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(843) 766-0223

Website:
http://msroses.com/

Ms. Rose's Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.5

ambience

4.2

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Casual (3)
Neighborhood Gem (3)
Good for Anniversaries (2)
See All
Good for Birthdays (2)
Handcrafted Cocktails (2)
Special Occasion (2)
Authentic (1)
Business Meals (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Creative Cuisine (1)
Fit for Foodies (1)
Worth the Drive (1)
Good for a Date (1)
Great Beer (1)
Good for Groups (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Live Sports (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Quiet Conversation (1)
Romantic (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Fun (1)
Sort By:
S
302 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined 6 days ago

The food is mediocre at best. Because the side we sat on had a bar vibe, we kept the theme and had the wings appetizer (buffalo & jerk). They were awful. The buffalo had the orange sauce slathered on full size wings. The jerk was salty/not spicy. We switched gears and ordered entree salads with added protein. The spinach was wilted on the salad and, disappointingly, overall it had no flavor. I had high hopes with the ingredients because it seemed impossible not to be good -- though, it was barely average. The blue cheese had no flavor and tasted like that which could be purchased at Costco (never purchased blue cheese there but you can get my implication). The salmon was bland. I didn't eat much of mine; in general, I love salads. My friend had the chef salad and he said it was "fine." I didn't try it but it looked OK. I think the restaurant has potential because it is clean/ambiance is fine and it's located in an area of town that desperately needs good dining options. However, I would not go back unless the kitchen had an overhaul (preparation and quality of ingredients). Lastly, the bill was around $60 with no alcohol. I have no problem with the price point if the food is good; unfortunately, this dining experience was barely mediocre and I rate the food as poor.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service3
value1

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on September 14, 2017

As always a great meal in a comfortable setting.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on September 13, 2017

This was honestly one of the best dinners my husband and I have had in several years. The food was cooked and seasoned perfectly, the drinks were on point, and our server was kind and attentive. I couldn't have asked for a single thing more than what we received. We will 100% be returning.

Tags: Good for a Date, Romantic, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 6, 2017

Food & Service were EXCELLENT! Myself and My Wife Will be BACK! And again.....

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 3, 2017

Great Sports bar. Wait staff was friendly and competent. Food was good, nothing spectacular. nice atmosphere.

Tags: Live Sports
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

 
·Dined on August 21, 2017

The food was exceptional. My husband had the fried chicken and he loved it! I had the shrimp and grits. It was not what I was expecting however it tasted fantastic. A must go to restaurant. On our next vacation to Charlestown we will stopping in to eat at Ms. Rose's.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on August 20, 2017

We were in Charleston to view the eclipse. We were familiar with the city. Our daughter used to live there. We wanted to eat good low country food and the restaurants in town were unavailable. Ms. Rose's was recommended as an alternative , so we decided to take a chance! We were pleasantly surprised. The food was excellent. There was a little mix up with our order. We were compensated with a free desert. Our server was very helpful with his recommendations.All in all,we would definitely go there again.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients, Handcrafted Cocktails, Comfort Food, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on August 20, 2017

Dining at Ms Roses is second to none. My only disappointment is that a few months ago they changed chefs and the new chef removed perhaps the very best menu item - fried risotto rice balls/fritters. I long for their return but I'm told they're not coming back. Sad....

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on August 20, 2017

Always a good place for Sunday brunch, Ms Rose's did not disappoint. The "make your own" Bloody Mary is a nice touch.

Tags: Casual, Kid-friendly, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on August 19, 2017

Our waitress was great. My duck breast was very fatty, I had to ask for a steak knife, but it wasn't much help. I should have sent it back, but we had a play to go to and didn't want to be late. One of our party had the mussels, shrimp, fish but the fish was dry and there wasn't enough juice to sop up with the bread given. All in all, not what we expected.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service5
value2

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on August 15, 2017

The Fried Green Tomatoes were wonderful and my wife loved the fact that the pay a lot of attention to their vegetarian options. My wife had the Roasted Portabello which was so good but she could not finish (to go box required). The Peach Glazed SC Chicken Confit was cooked perfectly and the flavors were amazing. The food was awesome but it was very difficult to have a conversation due to the noise level. This would not be a problem if you were in a group or just with friends for a good dinner. It is not a good choice for first dates or special occasions since you have to struggle to be heard above the other diners and any intimate or meaningful conversation is impossible. This dinner was in celebration of my first anniversary since my heart attack and all the successful changes in our lives and they offered excellent healthy, tasty options which were really welcome. I want to stress that the food and service is really great but it would just be really nice to have a romantic dinner such as date night along with the great food available. An additional review review will be available on the Facebook page Date Night Low Country.

Tags: Happy Hour, Fun, Good for Groups, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on January 18, 2017

This was our first visit to try it out during Restaurant Week. We will certainly be back. Good food, prices and service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on January 15, 2017

This is a very cool spot. They have good food and a fun atmosphere!

Tags: Business Meals, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Fun, Happy Hour, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on January 13, 2017

The food was delicious. Wendy was our server and is very attentive. We love Ms. Rose's and will definitely return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on December 12, 2016

Wendy is a wonderful server. She always gives us excellent service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on December 4, 2016

They have pimento cheese grits that were some of the BEST grits I have ever had! They also have a lot of different kinds of mimosas. I really liked the strawberry flavor. The rest of the brunch items were pretty standard and nothing too exciting. A little more expensive when compared to similar brunch spots, but worth it if you are craving cheese grits.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value2

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on November 26, 2016

Great Art Deco place with nice menu, good service (except for not having specialty cocktails available). Fried chicken outstanding as was shrimp and grits. Swordfish a little underdone. Steak very tasty and fries were nice and crispy. Server was attentive and personable. Enjoyed the ambiance and relaxed atmosphere. Unique booths in bar area.

Tags: Casual, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on November 20, 2016

We love this place!!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on October 16, 2016

Food was absolutely delicious. My friend and I went for brunch one Sunday and we booked a reservation just in case it was busy. It wasn't super crowded, which was nice, so I was able to actually have a conversation with my friend without having to scream at one another. Everyone that helped us was super friendly and we loved the food! Also, their spiked iced coffee was to die for. What a perfect Sunday.

Tags: Good for a Date, Authentic, Cozy, Great for Lunch, Casual, Great for Brunch, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on October 14, 2016

It was so good we went back the next night with 7 friends

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Savannah)·Dined on October 14, 2016

It was a cool night and we sat out in the patio. The live music was good. Our waitress was excellent and took good care of us, even checking with the cooks to change up a menu item to accommodate my vegetarian daughter. Would go back for sure.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on October 2, 2016

There were no grits in the shrimp and grits. The web menu was not available.

Tags: Afternoon Tea
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value1

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on September 16, 2016

I was the only one who ordered from the Restaurant Week menu. All of my choices were delicious. My dining companions ordered from the regular menu and they enjoyed their meals also. Our waiter was patient and attentive despite the fact that they were getting rather busy before we left. Would definitely go back. Want to try Ramen Night!

Tags: Happy Hour, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on August 26, 2016

A small group of us decided to try this restaurant because some of us had been wanting to for a while. It was a weekend night and there wasn't many other diners in the place at all.

The waitress was very nice, but service was exceptionally slow to start. We were only ordering drinks at this point, so the bar could have been a contributor to this as well.

The food was definitely less appealing than expected. The shrimp and grits had an odd flavor I couldn't pinpoint and not enough gravy. The fried chicken is a large portion and was cooked through, but had an odd breading and wasn't as good as expected either.

Not the worst place I've dined at over the years, but not somewhere I'll likely return to either.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on August 16, 2016

The service was good - friendly waitress- overall we had a good time at lunch

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on August 6, 2016

I went there for my birthday to try the restaurant. The menu was confusing and the food was cold and did not taste good at all. There was not a lot of people there at 7:00PM on a Saturday night so therefore, I should have taken the warning. The atmosphere is somewhat strange. It was not what I expected. I did not try the cocktails but maybe this is what it is best at.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service2
value1

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on July 26, 2016

We eat here often and the food and service are always good. The fried chicken and the arugula salad are our favorites.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on July 17, 2016

Love Ms. Rose's.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on July 14, 2016

Awesome place for happy hour! Tasty food and good drinks at amazing prices!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on June 28, 2016

Ms. Rose's is one of my favorite restaurants in the Charleston area. My husband is a picky-eater, but he enjoys the fried chicken every time. Desserts are updated, but if you EVER see the Hawaiian Chantilly cake listed (and you love coconut) you have GOT to get a slice! Always some good drink specials during Happy Hour!

Ramen nights on Tuesday are a good value for a GREAT meal. The noodles are very good and price goes up from $7 as you add to your bowl. There are always fun things planned- comedy nights, for example. We had an AWESOME time for the first ever pig-pickin (BBQ) on the new patio. This is a great place for foodies, watching the big game, or just catching up with family or friends!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Kid-friendly, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on June 26, 2016

As usual the food was awesome and we loved the peach bellinis!

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on June 19, 2016

What a wonderful place. Our waitress was great. She was informative and gave us good recommendation for brunch choices. Look forward to eating there again soon. This was our first time. A great choice to celebrate Father's Day

Tags: Great for Brunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on June 8, 2016

We had seen a chef from this restaurant on Chopped while we were on vacation so we decided to check it out. The atmosphere was great and the place was very trendy. The booths were comfortable.

The food was too salty and overcooked. We expected it to be more trendy. Portions were so-so.

The waiter called my husband Buddy. That did not sit well.

Basically, we had higher expectations and were unimpressed.

We also heard another table complaining about the salty food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value3

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on May 20, 2016

This is my favorite restaurant in all of Charleston. Amazing food and drinks.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on May 20, 2016

We ate lunch at Ms. Rose's for the first time on May 20, 2016 and it was fantastic! It was not crowded when arrived but by the time we finished, it was packed. You have got to order a biscuit with their homemade strawberry jam! Our group tried the fried chicken with Tabasco honey sauce with grits and succotash, the meatloaf sandwich with mixed vegetables, and a salad with grilled chicken. Everything was delicious! The quantities were large and we brought leftovers home. Service was excellent and the restaurant is decorated very funky and fun! We will definitely return!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on May 8, 2016

Staff are very understanding and tolerant of diners with children. Much appreciated!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on May 6, 2016

Great place to eat. Everything was exactly like ordered. Friendly staff

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on May 1, 2016

The food was absolutely incredible as always! We brought our friends from Colorado and they agree some of the best food of the weekend! The service was something less than desired, but it won't keep us away as this is the first time we have had poor service here.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on April 23, 2016

Nice to have a different style restaurant in the area. Loved the atmosphere and the menu selection. Will definitely go back and refer family and friends.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on March 29, 2016

Food was unremarkable. Fried green tomatoes were burned and barely any goat cheese. Shrimp and grits bland. Shrimp tasted previously frozen. Not what I expect in Charleston. Waitress was not attentive. After we were given the check we sat and chatted a bit longer since the restaurant was not busy and NO ONE asked if we'd like anything else, didn't refresh coffee, water, nothing. And we were there another 45 minutes.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.