Unfortunately, this restaurant is not on the OpenTable reservation network. To see if they take reservations and have availability, you will need to call the restaurant directly or visit their website. View Details
See affiliated restaurants ›

Restaurants you may also like

51 Fifteen Cuisine and Cocktails51 Fifteen Cuisine and Cocktails
(370)
Contemporary American | Galleria / Uptown, Houston
Reserve Now
Hearsay Gastro LoungeHearsay Gastro Lounge
(904)
Contemporary American | Downtown, Houston
Reserve Now
Hearsay on the GreenHearsay on the Green
(173)
Contemporary American | Downtown, Houston
Reserve Now
Gyu-Kaku - HoustonGyu-Kaku - Houston
(205)
Japanese | Downtown, Houston
Reserve Now
District 7 Grill-MidtownDistrict 7 Grill-Midtown
(4)
Gastro Pub | Downtown, Houston
Reserve Now
Edgar's HermanoEdgar's Hermano
(1)
Contemporary Southern | Downtown, Houston
Reserve Now
Ibiza Food and Wine BarIbiza Food and Wine Bar
(1609)
Mediterranean | Midtown / Montrose, Houston
Reserve Now
CharivariCharivari
(438)
Continental | Midtown / Montrose, Houston
Reserve Now
SpindletopSpindletop
(1406)
Seafood | Downtown, Houston
Reserve Now
ReefReef
(2589)
Seafood | Midtown / Montrose, Houston
Reserve Now
MAX's Wine Dive Houston - Fairview St.MAX's Wine Dive Houston - Fairview St.
(380)
American | Midtown / Montrose, Houston
Reserve Now
The 43rd Restaurant & LoungeThe 43rd Restaurant & Lounge
(17)
American | Downtown, Houston
Reserve Now
ProvisionsProvisions
(780)
American | Midtown / Montrose, Houston
Reserve Now

About Mr. Peeples Houston - Permanently Closed

1911 Bagby Street
Houston, TX 77002
View Larger Map

Mr. Peeples is the stylish alternative to the traditional steakhouse and specializes in world fusion seafood and steaks. It was built within the walls of the 1950s era Boy Scout Building, but has been fully updated and redesigned. The walls are accented with graffiti art and a unique lighting design. The culinary team is led by Chefs Pedro Silva. Peeples features a five star restaurant on the ground level, and event and private dining space on the second story. Mr. Peeples is located in the heart of Midtown, in Houston, TX.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
American, Steakhouse, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Tuesday-Thursday 4:00pm- 10:00pm, Friday and Saturday 4:00pm-11:00pm
Sunday, Feb 14, 2016 5:00pm - 11:00pm



Happy Hour Tuesday-Friday 4pm-7pm.

Cross Street:
Pierce St. in Midtown

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(713) 652-0711

Website:
http://www.mrpeeples.com/

Parking Details:
Mr. Peeples offers valet parking. There is also a parking garage directly across the street from the venue, on Bagby St. Midtown has multiple parking options including many parking garages and street parking. Arrive early for optimal parking experience.

For map and directions, please visit: http://mrpeeples.com/maps-directions

Executive Chef:
Pedro Silva, Angel Rios

Private Party Facilities:
Mr. Peeples Seafood , Steak, Style is dedicated to providing a stylish, one-of-a-kind, and elegant private dining experience.

Private Party Contact:
Tabitha Smith: 7132058364

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Sort By:
Newest
510 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Always enjoy ourselves at Mt. Peeples. ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on March 25, 2016

Always enjoy ourselves at Mt. Peeples. Great service and food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Good food with minor tweeks...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on March 18, 2016

Mr. Peeples has a very good variety of food selections. The bacon wrapped potatoes were pretty tasty but I didn't care for the added bbq sauce. We wish that the crab cakes had more sauce on the cake and on the plate. The medallions were quite tender and juicy for well done steaks...

We would definitely go back to try other food items...

Our waiter, Sammy was great!!!!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

The food is so delicious, very good service

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on February 15, 2016

The food is so delicious, nice atmosphere, very good service, affordable prices.

Tags: romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Delicious

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on February 15, 2016

I was visiting Houston for the first time and my friend who lives there recommended we go to the restaurant for dinner on Valentines day. The PRE-SET MENU WAS OUTSTANDING! DELICIOUS!!! Sooooo Good! The service was excellent, everything from the moment we arrived to the time we left was awesome!

Thank you for a wonderful experience!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The waiter was unprofessional and stereotyped me.

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on February 14, 2016

My fiancé visited the restaurant in August 2015 and suggested we should celebrate Valentine's Day. She gave nothing but exceptional feedback about the food, people and atmosphere. I have to say all that she said was not found to be true the night we visited. The waiter never came to take drink orders, he grabbed our wine glasses not knowing we planned to purchase a bottle of wine. The water glasses were only filled once and the over all service was horrible. The table consist of 6 people who sat there like sitting ducks. A guest from the party went to the front to notify the ladies who sat us and they were on their cell phones. She advised my guest she will send a manager over and no one showed up. The waiter had the audacity to add a 16% gratuity to three separate checks for services we did not receive. This was the worst night ever and I wish I could have been able to voice my concern with someone that night. This was a first time visit for the 5 of us minus my fiancé.

Tags: scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service1
value2

waiter

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on February 14, 2016

WAITER HAD TOO MANY TABLES TO WORK , SO THE SERVICE WAS SLOW

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value4

Gorgeous atmosphere. Excellent cocktails ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on February 13, 2016

Gorgeous atmosphere. Excellent cocktails and food was amazing! Highly recommend.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

Charming Night Out

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on February 13, 2016

The ambiance in Mr. Peeples is outstanding; definitely worth checking out. We were pleased with how quickly the hostess sat us even on Valentines Day weekend. Meals were served in a timely manner. What was really nice, the waiter did not rush us, even though the restaurant was fairly full.

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

WaitEd too long

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on February 13, 2016

Waited like 30 Minutes for an order to be taken. Then I went out to get my car and I had to walk all the way back in to the bar to pay for my valet due to using a card. Long walk. Wish I was told when I parked in the first place. Chef is the only person that did a good job.

Tags: fit for foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service1
value3

order it to go

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on January 24, 2016

The food was great...the service was non existent. I have no idea how this place is still in business. We were early for our 8:15 reservation so we went to the bar to order drinks. 2 bartenders with only 3 bar patrons and it still took 10 minutes for us to be greeted. When we finally sat down at our table, we noticed that there must've been a total of 3 waiters in the entire restaurant. It wasn't full at all and now I know why. From start to finish our meal took about 3.5 hours to order, cook and consume. The sad thing is the food is amazing but you're better off calling in an order to go about an hour and a half before you plan to eat and going to pick it up. Worst dining experience ever!! The poor servers were not to blame for this either. Just awful. Not to mention I don't think we were ever approached by a manager, if one even exists in this place. I definitely would not recommend this place to anyone.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service1
value2

So many problems. NYE is a def no go hereZ

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on January 1, 2016

It began, valet charged $20 to park and we had to pay before we even had dinner. Immediately we were greeted and checked in for our reservation. Here is where problem number 2 came to play. We were to be seated in the bar area. WHY ON EARTH would I make a reservation to be seated by the bar. Finally after complaining we were seated in dining area where we were given a fixed menu. No where on open table stated they were having a fixed menu. Ok, I'm over it... I begin to look at the menu choices and the value, in my opinion, didn't meet the price. What could I do at this point. As our meal came out, course 2 was a bacon wrapped filet. It was tasty but my dates portion was EXTREMELY small. Dessert was mediocre. As we got the bill, we noticed we paid $55 for the steak. Notice, the 10 oz filet on the menu WE saw was $32 and by NO MEANS was that a 10oz steak. So u suppose we paid $20 for a piece of bacon. Hmmm

The waitress was pleasant and very entertaining with the exception of dropping my silverware in my lap as she attempted to clear the table. All in all, we were hungry, we ate.

Happy New Year?? I suppose

Tags: scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service3
value1

Fine on New Years Eve

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on January 1, 2016

This was a good venue for New Years Eve. The food was good, however, the service was slow. The set menu for NYE did not seem to assist in great service.

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

New Year's Eve

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on January 1, 2016

Enjoyed a wonderful Prix Fixe meal. Service was exceptional. Thanks Bernicia. Out of this world Crab Bisque with large chunks of crab meat. I am not a filet mignon fan, but mine was expertly prepared. Pumpkin cheesecake was yummy. I may make this a New Years Tradition.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

First restaurant I thought of for our anniversary

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on December 18, 2015

My husband and I celebrated our 2 year anniversary on Dec 17. He asked me to pick the restaurant and Mr. Peeples was the first one I thought of. We enjoyed it! Great food and the atmosphere was perfect for the occasion!

Tags: great for brunch, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

It was our first time dining at Mr. Peop ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on December 17, 2015

It was our first time dining at Mr. People's. From the time I walk through the to the time I left, everything was perfect. I especially want to give a big kudos to the chef. My salmon was extradornary. It was my boyfriends 40th birthday and he was very satisfied. Thanks again Mr. People's staff for a wonderful evening.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Very Dissatisfied

 
 (New England)
·Dined on December 13, 2015

We should have known from the minute we walked in. No one greets you at the door upon entering. Food took over 30 min to come out. When it did come out, we had to send it back because it was a horrible old piece of meat. The waitress was ok at best. No where to be found at times. Then we had to wait over 10 minutes for our car from valet. Overall a terrible first experience. We will NOT be back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1

I absolutely enjoyed my night at Mr. Pee ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on December 12, 2015

I absolutely enjoyed my night at Mr. Peeples!!! Our waiter Samuel was the best!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, scenic view, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Horrible Service

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on November 22, 2015

Horrible service. The waiter brought out the wrong food 3 times. We waited for our food for a hour and was told to look around.. It's packed. The waiter wasn't educated about the food and couldn't answer the question. Never will I go or recommend again!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service1

SLOW SERVICE!!!! What could have been a ...

vip
 (Houston)
·Dined on November 22, 2015

SLOW SERVICE!!!! What could have been a 2 hour meal took 4 hours. The steak was not cooked appropriately, drinks took forever. I expected a lot based on the reviews and was very disappointed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service2

The atmosphere and food was EXCELLENT!!!!

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on November 14, 2015

I made reservations for my husband's birthday! The waitress never acknowledged or ask why we were dining. It was our first time at the restaurant. We weren't asked if we had been there prior to that evening. We often dine at 4-5 star restaurants. The service did not meet our expectations. I will return because we loved the atmosphere and food. The service can be better!!!!!

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3

Spur of the moment dining.

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on November 11, 2015

Had an enjoyable lunch at the spur of the moment. My lunch guest had wanted to try this restaurant for a while and we met for lunch on a whim. We were not disappointed.

No problem getting a reservation. It was not crowded and the ambience was delightful.

The service was excellent from the time we entered until we left.

The food was served promptly and hot. Bill our server was very attentive and informative.

I would recommend this restaurant for lunch or dinner.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

good food, ambiance not so much

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on October 31, 2015

food and service were good. However there seem to be only large tables. when booking my reservation I requested a romantic, quiet table because it was my girlfriend's birthday. They sat us at a huge table in the middle of where everyone walks.

Tags: good for groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service5

First time and I wasn't impressed. Our f ...

vip
 (Houston)
·Dined on October 31, 2015

First time and I wasn't impressed. Our first course was very good.. Server recommend the fish of the day and lobster was over cook! Took them a long time to bring out the food. I would of understand if it was busy but there was a handful of people around. Even our drinks from the bar were wrong done and bartender didn't know what was a Barcadi w/ Coke.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3

Slightly Disappointed

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on October 29, 2015

I had noted that we were celebrating my husband's birthday but the restaurant did not acknowledge the occasion.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Anniversary Dinner

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on October 27, 2015

It was our first time and the restaurant was not busy this night at all. The restaurant was quiet and the ambiance was great and the food and service was great. Will definitely go back

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Visited for my fiancee birthday

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on October 24, 2015

The restaurant failed to acknowledge my fiancee's birthday, even though it was made clear on my reservation and had flowers delivered there. Not even the cake I ordered for desert was decorated with a simple "happy birthday" and a candle, like I've seen some made up that way the same night. Manager came to the table which was nice, and we told him we were celebrating her bday but we felt that it was ignored. Other than that the food and atmosphere was very good!

Tags: romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3

Birthday dinner with friends

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on October 22, 2015

I had a wonderful birthday dinner with friends. I had extra people show up and the manager moved us with no problem. The waitress was awesome. Beautiful setting. We could talk and laugh without stares. I would definitely go back for happy hour or just drinks.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Food was great, drinks were good but too ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on October 18, 2015

Food was great, drinks were good but took a long time to get them.

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, late-night find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3

Sunday Brunch

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on October 18, 2015

Enjoyed Sunday brunch 10-18-15. Great service, good food and a comfortably elegant atmosphere. I loved it!!! Many thanks to our server Marco!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

1st time at Mr. Peeples & the decor was beautiful!

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on October 18, 2015

This was my first visit to Mr. Peeples. The decor was beautiful, the food was great, awesome waiter and the DJ had a great vibe going. Our table of two was placed within two large parties of all females and that took away the privacy for me. Next time I will request a table separate from the bench style. I even made reservations in advance, so I didn't expect to be put in that situation. Other than the seating arrangement me and my guest were placed in, I enjoyed the rest of my experience. Because the waiter and food were great I will give them another try.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Mr. Peeples - business lunch

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on September 29, 2015

Took 3 clients to lunch at Mr. Peeples at their recommendation. Ambiance is very soft and relaxing......front door service excellent......table service very good.....appetizer soup was barely warm.......steak tartare appetizer was OK but need a disclaimer that it is enough for 2 / 3 diners. Experience was good but hardly great, especially for the $$$$ charged.

Tags: great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4

Natalie was an excellent server and made ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on September 26, 2015

Natalie was an excellent server and made us feel comfortable without intruding. The shrimp in the shrimp cocktail tasted like shrimp from the Kroger deli. But I would come back because my girl likes it and I'm all about Her. She's all about Her but anybody as special as Her can have whatever She wants. End of story.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5

Good food. Seems like a good place to gr ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 21, 2015

Good food. Seems like a good place to grab an appetizer and drinks. There's Dj's everywhere. More of a place to party than a place to get dinner

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3

The food & service were OK, but the music was not

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on September 18, 2015

Most disapointing was that we paid $120 for the event & they only credited us $80 off the bill, will take that up with living social today. The resturant downstairs was very nice, but we were upstairs which was OK, but the music was too loud, acoustics were bad & the music was more popular than jazz. The meal & the service was OK, but the club could use some drapes or egg cartons to quite the noise. I know I'm old school, but I grew up with smokey rooms and great jazz, in the 60's in New York.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

A lot of "don't haves"

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on September 13, 2015

Normally love this place, but found a number of "sorry we don't have". Soon after seated we needed to be moved away for a high traffic area. After my order for a Beefeater and tonic, waiter came back and said they were out. My wife ordered a Rose by the glass, and soon after the waiter came back and said they had no Rose' by the glass. With her heart set on a Rose' she was told there was Rose' by the bottle and then discovered that they had only one choice. We moved to a white. Sorry, all in all an evening of "don't haves" at Mr. Peeples.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Mr. Peebles delivered a medicore performance

vip
 (Houston)
·Dined on September 12, 2015

Mr. Peebles delivered but not an outstanding performance. I had the filet mignon, and my girlfriend had the oysters. For a $40 steak you can do much better. It came with flavorless mash potatoes. My girlfriend had the oysters which were great but a meal for her...it would not have been for me. The service was the only thing that was outstanding. It's a hip trendy atmosphere with a DJ (Music not too loud). So, if grade c+ to B food and a trendy atmosphere is waht you are looking for Mr. Peebles fits the bill. I didn't look at the bill as closely as I should have, but I knnow that the glasses of wine that we ordered (without looking at the wine menu they just brough out glasses of Malbec) were way over priced. A typical waiter trick that I don't appreciate. If you are going to charge me $15-$20 for a glass, tell me or give me the option. Dont be sneaky and pad the tab for a bigger tip!

Tags: good for groups, scenic view, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

The experience was awesome. One thing th ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on September 11, 2015

The experience was awesome. One thing that I do recommend is that they make sure the train their waiters in details of the menu and what's in the food. I asked my waitress if I ordered the lobster tail would it be a Caribbean tail and she stated yes it would - it was a Maine lobster tail. If I was a picky person I would have complained but I am not. I took one for the team and ate it. Not a fan of Maine lobster but I will eat it anyway to avoid red meat. Everything else was awesome.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

late night dinner and conversation

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on September 9, 2015

I Love the ambiance, the food was great and our waiter was awesome. -18

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I've heard a lot of good things about th ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on September 7, 2015

I've heard a lot of good things about the restaurant. What I didn't know was that Sunday's are not the best time to go. On Sunday's the restaurant is still open but it also serves as a nightclub. Not what I was expecting, not horrible just loud. Definitely not a family oriented environment as there were gogo dancers also. The food was good but our server unfortunately wasn't the best. I will give them another chance on a day that isn't a Sunday lol. I could just have high standards since I am a server myself so please don't take this review as a reason not to try it out. Hey the nightclub did seem like a lot of fun and that may be your thing so please go try it out for yourself :))

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2

Sunday night's are cool

vip
 (Central Texas)
·Dined on September 6, 2015

Been here a few times. Regular weeknight's are as expected: Quiet, sophisticated, elegant.

Lunch is reasonably priced, excellent quality, and time-efficient.

This time we came in on Sunday night. Sunday is a mix of hip bar and fabulous food. Regular menu. Expect loud music, but seating is reasonably far from speakers.

A different experience and something to close out the weekend and usher in the the workweek. Not for everyone, but a fun diversion.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.