About MR CHOW - TriBeca

121 Hudson Street
New York, NY 10013
View Larger Map

Opened in 2006 by world famous restaurateur Michael Chow, most recently awarded the 5 Star Diamond Award by the American Academy of Hospitality Sciences for its excellence, service, and cuisine this is the second post to the original in NYC on 57th Street. Mr Chow's latest & hippest location is surrounded by a Patio & the attractive bar opens at 5:00PM daily.
NY Magazine wrote in 2006 "To eat at a Mr Chow restaurant is to participate in a roving party, one that has migrated through four decades, three continents, & an awful lot of soup dumplings."
TriBeCa's Executive Chef Kwok Hor, is a highly respected professional in the Chinese Cuisine Industry & has given many lectures at The Hong Kong Culinary Association.
MR CHOW's menu is a combination of old authentic Beijing, Original Recipes, Chicken Satay, MR CHOW Noodles & Ma Mignon all were created by our passionate & skillful chefs. Also, on the Menu is one of the best prepared Beijing Duck in the world.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Chinese

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Daily: 5:00pm - 11:30pm

Cross Street:
North Moore Street

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(212) 965-9500

Website:
http://www.mrchow.com/

Entertainment:
The famous nightly Chinese handmade noodle show is presented in every location since the opening of London in 1968.

Public Transit:
1 train to Franklin Street.

Executive Chef:
Kwok Hor

Private Party Facilities:
Private Room is available in the restaurant for up to 40 guests, depending on date and time. Buyout of the restaurant is also available.
Call the restaurant for details.

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Entertainment, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Call the restaurant for details.

Restaurant Photos

Dumplings - MR CHOW - TriBeca, New York, NY
Green Prawns - MR CHOW - TriBeca, New York, NY
Duck - MR CHOW - TriBeca, New York, NY
Scallops - MR CHOW - TriBeca, New York, NY
Beef With Shepherd's Purse - MR CHOW - TriBeca, New York, NY
Mr Chow Noodles - MR CHOW - TriBeca, New York, NY
string beans - MR CHOW - TriBeca, New York, NY
Fried Rice - MR CHOW - TriBeca, New York, NY
Velvet Chicken - MR CHOW - TriBeca, New York, NY
Chowlini - MR CHOW - TriBeca, New York, NY
Squab With Lettuce - MR CHOW - TriBeca, New York, NY
Chicken satay - MR CHOW - TriBeca, New York, NY
Filet Mignon - MR CHOW - TriBeca, New York, NY
Crispy Orange Beef - MR CHOW - TriBeca, New York, NY

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

MR CHOW - TriBeca Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.2

ambience

4.4

value

3.7

noise

Moderate

78% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Chinese
New York / Tri-State Area
Chinese
Manhattan
Best Restaurants in TriBeCa - Downtown ›

Special Occasion (27)
Romantic (19)
Fit for Foodies (17)
See All
Good for Groups (15)
Hot Spot (15)
Good for a Date (15)
Great for Outdoor Dining (14)
Modern Decor (11)
Neighborhood Gem (10)
Authentic (7)
Fun (7)
Good for Birthdays (7)
Family Style (7)
Vibrant Bar Scene (7)
Creative Cuisine (7)
Good for Anniversaries (6)
People Watching (6)
Kid-friendly (4)
Comfort Food (4)
Notable Wine List (3)
Quiet Conversation (3)
Tasting Menu (3)
Business Meals (3)
Handcrafted Cocktails (3)
Scenic View (3)
Late-night Find (2)
Casual (2)
Spicy (2)
Tapas (2)
Bar Seating (2)
Private Room (2)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
Disabled Access (1)
Organic (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Cozy (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Worth the Drive (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Sort By:
S
1140 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

As always Mr Chow never disappoints ... ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 2 days ago

As always Mr Chow never disappoints ...food ...service and staff exceptional

Tags: Authentic, Modern Decor, Tapas, Good for Birthdays, Fun, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Private Room, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Paleo Friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Attentive staff Good value for money Mo ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 27, 2016

Attentive staff

Good value for money

More like a chinese-fusion restaurant than authentic chinese cuisine

Tags: Kid-friendly, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

The food was plentiful and delicious. Re ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 23, 2016

The food was plentiful and delicious. Recommend the filet mignon main course.

Tags: Good for Groups, Pre/post Theatre, Comfort Food, Tasting Menu, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Family Style, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Service was excellent..we ate early and ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 16, 2016

Service was excellent..we ate early and it was quiet. Main courses were delicious...appetizers were disappointing. Could have just been what we ordered, but expected better in the appetizer department. The Peking Duck could have been the best I've ever had. Would highly recommend ordering that.

Tags: Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Food was absolutely amazing.. I would've ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Food was absolutely amazing.. I would've given this 5 stars if the service wasn't so terrible. We arrived for our 9:30 reservation at 9 o'clock, grabbed a drink by the bar and got seated at 9:40. We were thrown into a corner table and that's exactly how we were treated. we didn't get menus until 15 minutes after sitting down and had to ASK who our waiter was so we could simply get waters. Ordering the food was another ordeal. Everyone is running and rushing around like a chicken without a head, and it seemed since we were in our 20's we weren't being taken seriously like everybody else. Very disappointing

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Family Style, Good for a Date, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value4

While loud, the food shines through. Eve ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 5, 2016

While loud, the food shines through. Even though the menu is the same as the other Mr. Chows, it just tastes better here.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

One of the best restaurants I've been to ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 29, 2016

One of the best restaurants I've been too! Insane food & service was incredible! Worth every penny! My favorite was the Beijing chicken!

Tags: Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I had a PHENOMENAL time at Mr. Chow Trib ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 23, 2016

I had a PHENOMENAL time at Mr. Chow Tribeca. I walked into a beautiful restaurant, with the smell of fresh, white flowers filling the room. My dining partner was running late, but the staff was so kind and accommodating. They allowed me to go straight to my table nonethless, and I indulged in a delicious glass of wine. Once my partner arrived, the meal only went up from there! The food was absolutely first rate. I particularly loved the vermicelli with lobster, and the green prawns were stellar! I would HIGHLY recommend this restaurant for a top notch, fine dining experience.

Tags: Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Modern Decor, Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was extremely greasy and I suspect ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 19, 2016

Food was extremely greasy and I suspect some of it had been sitting around for a few days and reheated. For that price, no. Just no.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service5
value1

I was very pleased with the quality and ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 15, 2016

I was very pleased with the quality and taste of the food.

Tags: Authentic, Romantic, Good for Groups, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Una e penitencia nueva pero no volveria

 
 (México)·Dined on October 15, 2016

Una e penitencia nueva pero no volveria

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3

Be careful and look at your bill closely ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 12, 2016

Be careful and look at your bill closely. I had an amazing meal at Mr Chow but I was so disappointed by the fact that our waiter was dishonest with the bill. We originally ordered two appetizers and a main thinking that would be enough for two not super hungry people. He told us we should really get another main. When I asked him to give us a minute he said let's work through this together and what felt like a strong arm forced us into another main. He then told us our second main comes with a veggie side so we chose one. We agreed that although it was too much food we were happy to have the second main. He brought us out some crispy seaweed which he said was because our dumplings were taking a long time. Then rice mysteriously came out when we tried to tell our server we didn't order it they just shrugged. Then the bill came it seemed that the waiter had charged us for a 2 price fixed menus which was 20 more than anything we would have ordered. When I questioned him about it he fought back saying we ordered a side and the rice and seaweed were also part of the order. (All of a sudden that free seaweed was now something I ordered) When I told him he was dishonest by telling us things were included in our order he got hostile left the table with our bill and after coming back to argue once more finally adjusted it to our original order. The sad thing is I probably would have ordered the price fixed had he explained it and not been so dishonest about it. It just felt very slimey. We enjoyed the food and all of the other servers were very attentive but I am just so shocked that we were treated that way.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service1
value3

Amazing food, attentive and caring servi ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 11, 2016

Amazing food, attentive and caring service though a little pushy on consumption. We still enjoyed a lot our dinner. We went to multiple Mr Chow's locations including the first one in Beverly Hills and this one was the closest in terms of quality to the original.

We'll definitely go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Mr. Chow is always delicious - and we ha ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 9, 2016

Mr. Chow is always delicious - and we have been going for 30 years (to the one on W. 57th). Everything was amazing - service wonderful! Just love this restaurant.

Tags: Fun, Family Style, Special Occasion, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We have regularly dined and enjoyed the ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on October 8, 2016

We have regularly dined and enjoyed the food and exemplary service by the staff at Mr Chow in South Miami Beach. We were therefore dismayed by the disappointing service at the TriBeCa location during a recent visit to NYC. From start to finish the wait staff made mistakes with very little disregard for improving the situation. Food was delicious as ever - but it was overshadowed by a sloppy and poorly trained wait staff. The disparity between experiences at two venues was shocking. Too many great restaurants in the city to pay that much money for a meal and not enjoy the experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1
value1

Great for the first waiter we're extreme ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 8, 2016

Great for the first waiter we're extremely pleasant

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The service was exceptional Bad. The ser ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on October 3, 2016

The service was exceptional Bad. The server was rude and not very helpful. Wasn't the experience for a first timer and definitely no where near the level I've experienced before.

Tags: Casual, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service1
value1

My favorite restaurant!!

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 28, 2016

My favorite restaurant!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was good yet service was a bit off. ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on September 24, 2016

Food was good yet service was a bit off. Waiter did not explain well how is the dinner for two deal, and I ended paying more for what I order. I was disappointed.

Mr. Chow in Vegas is waaay more better than this location.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value4

Mr Chows was fine. But for over $100 a h ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 21, 2016

Mr Chows was fine. But for over $100 a head I would expect more. The staff were obnoxious, the decor is very early 90s and the food was average.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service1
value1

Far overpriced. Too expensive for the qu ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 21, 2016

Far overpriced. Too expensive for the quality of food

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Yummy - service can improve. Wait staff ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 18, 2016

Yummy - service can improve. Wait staff looked angry and disinterested.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3

Absolutely over-priced for the quality o ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 17, 2016

Absolutely over-priced for the quality of food! Wood not recommend to anyone!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service5
value1

Everything from start to finish was wond ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 17, 2016

Everything from start to finish was wonderful. the duck was perfectly cooked. Our sommelier knew his wine and was very personable. As well, our waiter was very attentive. Host/hostesses were very welcoming. Can't wait to return.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, People Watching, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Fit for Foodies, Spicy, Fun, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

One of the loudest places I've ever been ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 17, 2016

One of the loudest places I've ever been to eat. The acoustics are very very bad. The food and service were good but I'm not sure I can see myself ever going back. Essentially couldn't talk to my date who was 2 feet away. I'm 25 with no hearing loss (at least until I went to this place!) so I don't think it was unique to my party. Maybe try outside if you really want to go

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service5

We love coming here but on this night ma ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 11, 2016

We love coming here but on this night maybe they were a little under staffed. It took a while for our food to come out. When it did it didn't all come together we had to wait for about 15min. for our rice our other food was cold by then. They were very accommodating and took the drinks off the bill for us.

Tags: Authentic, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

We had a wonderful meal at Mr. Chow. Ser ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 11, 2016

We had a wonderful meal at Mr. Chow. Service was impeccable. They could not do enough for us. Food was amazing.

Tags: Disabled Access
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Rushed by Captain to order so was not ve ...

vip
 (Orlando)·Dined on September 8, 2016

Rushed by Captain to order so was not very relaxing. Also, he was not keen on wines and gave us wrong information. Uptown Mr Chow is still my favorite! Cannot take away from the food, excellent!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value3

Place is very modern and cool when you e ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 8, 2016

Place is very modern and cool when you enter. Greeters and staff very pleasant but service was very slow and inaccurate -- forgot one of our dishes-- and was astonishly mediocre. Poor value for money

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2

The Beijing chicken is excellent but the ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 4, 2016

The Beijing chicken is excellent but the rest of the food was just good- so, so. Why on earth would such fancy restaurant charge for a kids soda (plus refills)??? I literally spent $25 on soda. Service is the best around.

Tags: Hot Spot, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value1

Probably my least favorite experience of ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 2, 2016

Probably my least favorite experience of the many times I've been ... Food was pretty uninspiring, luke warm and just ok ... Nothing stood out and the crispy duck was actually dry, over cooked and just not good ...

Service was fine... Just a ho hum over priced dinner

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3

Love mr chow. Dazzling service, beautifu ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 28, 2016

Love mr chow. Dazzling service, beautiful ambiance.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

So much for Mr Chows TriBeCa Food was o ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 27, 2016

So much for Mr Chows TriBeCa

Food was ok, service excellent, best dish the crispy kale not on menu. The sea bass was a joke

Once was enough for us.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Mr. Chows is a fantastic restaurant for ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on August 27, 2016

Mr. Chows is a fantastic restaurant for special occasions. The menu is a bit pricey but so worth it! They serve very generous portions and everything tastes so good! I recommend the shrimp rolls and the Box for an appetizer. The Chinese walnut chicken is my favorite for the main course. All of the champagne drinks are their specialties--so tasty!! --One of my favorite restaurants

Tags: Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic, Good for Groups, Modern Decor, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Captain did not communicate all food cho ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 27, 2016

Captain did not communicate all food choices, neither did he provide a menu despite numerous requests from my guests. Food was sub par and grossly overpriced for the quality.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1
value1

Dinner during Restaurant Week was superb ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on August 20, 2016

Dinner during Restaurant Week was superb! The ambiance sitting outside was delightful and staff's presentation was outstanding. The restaurant decor is lovely.

The food was scrumptious! Mr. Chow noodles were bland until adding hot sauce which made the flavor pop. The crispy prawns were plentiful and moist. The string beans were tasty along with crispy beef and velvet chicken. At first sight we thought the portions were small but we were wrong. It was plenty and we even had leftovers. The pot of rice was more than enough for two and our shared sorbet dessert was perfect.

Restaurant week was an excellent value for the meal. I highly recommend Mr. Chow. It was a fantastic dining experience and the staff provided exceptional customer service with a smile!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Go to this restaurant all the time. It i ...

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on August 20, 2016

Go to this restaurant all the time. It is the best!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

My family always enjoy going to Mr. Chow ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 20, 2016

My family always enjoy going to Mr. Chows whenever we have the chance. The food and the ambiance was very nice... A bit noisy but very entertaining. This visit was for my daughter who will be going away to college and it's her favorite place to dine!!!

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

I must say that the most impressive part ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 19, 2016

I must say that the most impressive part of the meal, was the service. From the moment we walked in, everyone is so kind and friendly. Our server, Kevin, was absolutely fantastic, so knowledgeable and gave great recommendations. We came in for restaurant week and sat outside as it was a beautiful evening. We ordered the the soup dumplings off of the menu because we get them anywhere that has them, they were double the price of anywhere else, and although they were not as juicy as we normally like, they were still very good. The glazed prawns were spectacular, if you are familiar with walnut prawns, this is the dish to order. We also ordered the Mr. Chow noodles which I had seen mixed reviews about so I was very curious. I definitely enjoyed the noodles, they are hand pulled and have the fresh pasta taste and texture. They sauce was very interesting, it is a bolognese style as many have stated which was not my issue at all, however the sauce seemed to lack flavor, as it if had no seasoning whatsoever, not even salt. With that being said our entrees had absolutely amazing flavor. The crispy beef, though not crispy, was so good that I could have drank the sauce it came in. The velvet chicken which seems to be the fan favorite is outstanding. The green beans were perfect and I thought it was great that they gave you an option of shrimp fried rice or veg as the side. The fried rice was just as I like, not heavily overpowered with soy sauce like many places. We were given ice cream for dessert which was perfect because we were so full we couldn't imagine eating anything else. Overall it was a fantastic experience, again the service was impeccable, there was always someone around to clear your plate and order a beverage.

Tags: Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Family Style, Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

I went during Restaurant Week and was te ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 19, 2016

I went during Restaurant Week and was terribly disappointed by the food. It was incredibly bland :( The noodles, the rice, and the even the shrimp were poorly seasoned, it made me feel like I was getting half the service and half the effort for the discounted price I paid for restaurant week. My aunt traveled from Central New Jersey just to come in and have dinner with me. I was disappointed that out of all the restaurants we could've gone to, we went to Mr. Chow's and were unsatisfied. Hope they fix it for next restaurant week and make sure they treat their restaurant week diners the same way they would for regular patrons.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value2

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.