About MR CHOW - TriBeca

121 Hudson Street
New York, NY 10013
View Larger Map

Opened in 2006 by world famous restaurateur Michael Chow, most recently awarded the 5 Star Diamond Award by the American Academy of Hospitality Sciences for its excellence, service, and cuisine this is the second post to the original in NYC on 57th Street. Mr Chow's latest & hippest location is surrounded by a Patio & the attractive bar opens at 5:00PM daily.
NY Magazine wrote in 2006 "To eat at a Mr Chow restaurant is to participate in a roving party, one that has migrated through four decades, three continents, & an awful lot of soup dumplings."
TriBeCa's Executive Chef Kwok Hor, is a highly respected professional in the Chinese Cuisine Industry & has given many lectures at The Hong Kong Culinary Association.
MR CHOW's menu is a combination of old authentic Beijing, Original Recipes, Chicken Satay, MR CHOW Noodles & Ma Mignon all were created by our passionate & skillful chefs. Also, on the Menu is one of the best prepared Beijing Duck in the world.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Chinese

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Daily: 5:00pm - 11:30pm

Cross Street:
North Moore Street

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(212) 965-9500

Website:
http://www.mrchow.com/

Entertainment:
The famous nightly Chinese handmade noodle show is presented in every location since the opening of London in 1968.

Public Transit:
1 train to Franklin Street.

Executive Chef:
Kwok Hor

Private Party Facilities:
Private Room is available in the restaurant for up to 40 guests, depending on date and time. Buyout of the restaurant is also available.
Call the restaurant for details.

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Entertainment, Full Bar, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Call the restaurant for details.

Restaurant Photos

Dumplings
Green Prawns
Duck
Scallops
Velvet Chicken
Mr Chow Noodles
Squab With Lettuce
Beef With Shepherd's Purse
string beans
Fried Rice
Chowlini
Chicken satay
Filet Mignon
Crispy Orange Beef

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

MR CHOW - TriBeca Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.4

ambience

4.4

noise

Moderate

86% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Chinese
New York / Tri-State Area
Chinese
Manhattan
Best Restaurants in TriBeCa - Downtown β€Ί

special occasion (29)
fit for foodies (24)
good for groups (20)
See All
hot spot (19)
romantic (19)
neighborhood gem (15)
great for outdoor dining (14)
late-night find (7)
vibrant bar scene (7)
great for lunch (5)
notable wine list (4)
kid-friendly (3)
great for brunch (2)
scenic view (1)
Sort By:
Newest
1062 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food2
ambience5
service4

The dish was way too small for the price ...

Dined 3 days ago

The dish was way too small for the price. Might as well have the appetizer.

food5
ambience5
service5

Always a fantastic experience, highly re ...

Dined 4 days ago

Always a fantastic experience, highly recommend.

food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Wonderful dinner - absolutely no complai ...

Dined on June 18, 2016

Wonderful dinner - absolutely no complaints! Appetizers are particularly good - scallion pancakes, curry puffs and Mr. Chow's noodles are the best!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service4

I love this place! The duck with plum sa ...

vip
Dined on June 18, 2016

I love this place! The duck with plum sauce and the cauliflower are my favorites. The Mr. chow noodles and potstickers were also fabulous! We try to come here every time I come to NYC. I gave service a 4 bc the server forgot to put in our drink order midmeal. This place is over the top! I'll be back!

food5
ambience5
service5

The service was spectacular! Our server ...

Dined on June 10, 2016

The service was spectacular! Our server made perfect recommendations and was very familiar with the offerings. This was a perfect location for my birthday dinner!

food5
ambience5
service5

Chic and elegance! Best experience!

vip
Dined on June 8, 2016

Chic and elegance! Best experience!

food3
ambience5
service4
value2

Nice setting; average food

Dined on June 4, 2016

Came here for my sisters birthday. The restaurant and location is really nice but the food was not amazing for the price that you pay. I'm all about the experience and that's why I don't regret coming to this restaurant but I definitely doubt that I will be returning. The velvet chicken was very basic and not full of flavor. We received a complimentary app from the chef which was seaweed, it was okay but I mean - it's seaweed. They were pleasant and the workers were great, but the actual meals weren't the best and the shrimp fried rice was a bit hard.

Tags: romantic, hot spot
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great Bday dinner

Dined on June 3, 2016

Had a great time for my boyfriends bday with great food along with stellar service.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

The food was delicious however my mom an ...

Dined on May 31, 2016

The food was delicious however my mom and I were on a girls trip with my daughter and niece. We were told we had to order 4 first dishes and 4 main dishes. We could barely finish everything and for the cost is was not worth it. If we could have pick 2-3 it would have been worth it. We were traveling so we didn't have the option to do carryout.

Tags: good for groups
food5
ambience5
service5

Wonderful food with the perfect service!

Dined on May 26, 2016

Wonderful food with the perfect service!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

food, service and ambiance was very good ...

Dined on May 21, 2016

food, service and ambiance was very good, we enjoyed a lot

Tags: special occasions
food2
ambience1
service1

Have been to its sister restaurant midto ...

vip
Dined on May 21, 2016

Have been to its sister restaurant midtown many times. This one is a huge miss for me! The tables were way too close to each other and the service terrible. At one point the waiter took away my half eaten first course in order to put the second course down!!!! I have been to a number of fine establishments in the former Soviet Union (when it was till around) that could teach service to the staff! Probably my worst experience in NY for years. Only exception to this was the people at the front.

food4
ambience4
service4

One of the best Chinese in the city

vip
Dined on May 10, 2016

One of the best Chinese in the city

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best Chineese food I've ever tasted!

Dined on May 9, 2016

The lettuce leaves are fabulous. The food is fabulous. I don't feel blown up after eating it. The Chocolate Martini's are out of this world!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience3
service1

I am not new to Mr.Chow and even had the ...

vip
Dined on May 8, 2016

I am not new to Mr.Chow and even had the pleasure of meeting him. However, the maitre d was awful. He was so rude and unaccommodating. It was just off putting. Food is great as always, scene is nice and so is the ambiance.

food4
ambience5
service5
value5

I had such a wonderful time with my mom.

Dined on May 8, 2016

The waiters were awesome. The atmosphere was so lively and sweet. I never had a niche before and they were so good. The chili pork was delicious just a bit salty. The sweet beef entrΓ©e was not to my liking. The shrimp fried rice was so good. I enjoyed myself so much, definitely a treat!

Tags: special occasion, late-night find, scenic view, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food4
ambience3
service4
value2

Well prepared, fresh food, attentive service

vip
Dined on May 7, 2016

enjoyed our dinner,great food, well prepared, timed/not rushed. Only complaint is tables are too tight together.

food5
ambience5
service5

The best Chinese food I've ever had. Wai ...

Dined on April 29, 2016

The best Chinese food I've ever had. Wait staff were very attentive and made us feel very welcome!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Highly Impressed

Dined on April 18, 2016

I've heard of Mr. Chow's but I always prefer to make my own distinctions about things. I was highly impressed with every aspect of the restaurant, from it's look, to location, to the warm and welcoming staff, the speed and efficiency, the ambiance, and last but certainly not the least. ... the food. The food was AMAZING!! I've found my new favorite place to dine!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food2
ambience3
service1
value1

Poor service, poor food, extremely disappointed!!

vip
Dined on April 17, 2016

My husband and I went for an early dinner at 6:00. The restaurant was very empty. They were out of the short rib appetizer we ordered...which we found out about 30 minutes after waiting for it and we asked where it was. We were then told that they had some that were frozen if we wanted to wait. We were going to a movie so we asked for our entrees. We ordered two to share and I would say they were both fair at best- so fair I can't even remember what we got and we each had a bite or two of both. We had ordered a bottle of wine that was good. Our bill was $400 and I think the wine was around $85 so that was the only thing of any value. We were extremely disappointed as it was my first time there and I was really looking forward to it. We were apologized to several times on the way out...I just wish they would have done something while we were at our table to make our dinner experience better.

food2
ambience4
service2

Mediocre food and service at elevated pr ...

vip
Dined on April 12, 2016

Mediocre food and service at elevated prices. Ordered all of the starred items (house specialities) which were just ok and not great. Service was not strong. They would drop the dishes down on top of one another with no explanation. No passion or friendliness. Only saving grace was that it is a nice physical space and the guy making the noodles did a nice display. I will not go back to this restaurant - a Big Apple Disappointment!!!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always a winner!

Dined on April 3, 2016

Mr. Chow's is a fan favorite. The food is amazing and always consistent. You can never go wrong here. Strong brand.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Tops Tops Tops

Dined on March 27, 2016

Every item we ate was better then the next. If you like great food this is the place.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, great for lunch, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fine Asian cuisine

Dined on March 26, 2016

I absolutely loved my first visit to Mr. Chow's! The service was 5 stars because of their professional and very friendly staff . The staff works very hard as a team to accommodate in ever way possible and of course the food was delicious! Try the shrimp appetizer and the sea bass entree. Side note the special chili sauce they provide is also a great touch!

Tags: fit for foodies
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

excellent

Dined on March 25, 2016

Excellent dinner. Outside on gallery. Food and service was exceptional

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food3
ambience3
service3

The serving sizes were ridiculous. We w ...

vip
Dined on March 24, 2016

The serving sizes were ridiculous. We were 6 people and we ordered double orders of our favorite dishes and we kept asking for our second serving. Then they said that is a double serving. And the prices are outrageous. I don't mind paying when I am satisfied but we were all unsatisfied and we have been going to Mr. CHow for years and all over the world and have always been happy and satisfied.

food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Perennial favorite

vip
Dined on March 17, 2016

LOVE this place! It's always busy with an eclectic crowd and the food and service are wonderful even after all these years

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing!

Dined on March 13, 2016

Staff was great, very attentive and the food was amazing!

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food1
ambience3
service3
value1

never again

Dined on March 13, 2016

noise level so loud you can't hear the waiter food was greasy or doughy

food1
ambience3
service3

Terrible food! I've had better in a chea ...

vip
Dined on March 12, 2016

Terrible food! I've had better in a cheap Chinese restaurant in a small suburb of London & at a third of the price! The satay was embarrassing!! It was bright orange, very greasy (fried?) with a 'peanut' sauce...basically some beige gloop that tasted nothing like peanut! Really disgraceful that they charge the prices they do.

food2
ambience4
service5
value2

Waht happened to this place?

vip
Dined on March 11, 2016

From the front door to sitting at the table to greeting from the waiter, all first class! The disappointment came when the food arrived, real disappointment! If you're going for the food, go to Chinatown!

food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Great Night!

Dined on March 2, 2016

I took my girlfriend to Mr. Chow for her birthday and she loved it. The service was wonderful. Our waiter was very knowledgeable of the menu. He took to long at times which I get annoyed at but a nice person overall. Food was very flavorful. Best Duck I've ever tasted. I definitely recommend the crispy beef as well. I love the decor and layout of the restaurant. My lady is not usually the upscale kind of gal but she was very pleased. Overall a great night. I recommend going if you have a few bucks for upscale Chinese.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Best Asian Restaurant

Dined on February 28, 2016

I really love the food. You don't get that swollen feeling that you get after eating Chinees food. No heavy sauces. My favorite is the lettuce leaves so tasty. I also love the Chocolate Martini's!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5

Best food in NYC and service is second t ...

vip
Dined on February 28, 2016

Best food in NYC and service is second to none.

food5
ambience3
service1
value4

Awful Service Ruined Great Meal

Dined on February 21, 2016

I've been to this Mr Chow several times, ~3 times in the past month alone. However this experience was the outlier. Service was painfully bad, to the point where it ruined a birthday dinner and our plans for the rest of the night. I'm hoping when I'm ready for my next visit, it turns out that this was just a fluke experience.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

valentines Day dinner

Dined on February 15, 2016

This was my wife and I first time at MR CHOW and I must say it was very fancy,and beautiful on the inside and the customer service provided by the staff was excellent. Very friendly staff and very attentive to our needs. I would definitely recommend this place to my friends,family and coworkers it was a wonderful experience..🌟🌟🌟🌟

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Valentines night

Dined on February 14, 2016

This place was exceptional the food was great would recommend the chicken satay and the walnut and shrimp for appetizers, i like the crack lobster for the main course was awesome, the staff was so attentive to my needs, my glass was never empty, food was prepared quick and delivered warm only thing is they were too"fast" wish we had more talk to let our food digest and they could have take their time to have the food delivered felt very pressured, had to tell them a few times to leave my plate i am not done, was not a cheap place for 2 people cost well over $380 it was worth the price exceptional services

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5

The food was amazing and the service was ...

Dined on February 14, 2016

The food was amazing and the service was impeccable!

food4
ambience5
service5

Good but Very expensive Chinese food.

vip
Dined on February 7, 2016

Good but Very expensive Chinese food.

food4
ambience4
service5
value4

went for restaurant week had a drink at ...

vip
Dined on February 5, 2016

went for restaurant week had a drink at the bar before we sat down everthing was superb as usual the service was great

Tags: hot spot

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.