About MR CHOW - TriBeca

Opened in 2006 by world famous restaurateur Michael Chow, most recently awarded the 5 Star Diamond Award by the American Academy of Hospitality Sciences for its excellence, service, and cuisine this is the second post to the original in NYC on 57th Street. Mr Chow's latest & hippest location is surrounded by a Patio & the attractive bar opens at 5:00PM daily.
NY Magazine wrote in 2006 "To eat at a Mr Chow restaurant is to participate in a roving party, one that has migrated through four decades, three continents, & an awful lot of soup dumplings."
TriBeCa's Executive Chef Kwok Hor, is a highly respected professional in the Chinese Cuisine Industry & has given many lectures at The Hong Kong Culinary Association.
MR CHOW's menu is a combination of old authentic Beijing, Original Recipes, Chicken Satay, MR CHOW Noodles & Ma Mignon all were created by our passionate & skillful chefs. Also, on the Menu is one of the best prepared Beijing Duck in the world.

121 Hudson Street
New York, NY 10013
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Chinese

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Daily: 5:00pm - 11:30pm

Cross Street:
North Moore Street

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(212) 965-9500

Website:
http://www.mrchow.com/

Entertainment:
The famous nightly Chinese handmade noodle show is presented in every location since the opening of London in 1968.

Public Transit:
1 train to Franklin Street.

Executive Chef:
Kwok Hor

Private Party Facilities:
Private Room is available in the restaurant for up to 40 guests, depending on date and time. Buyout of the restaurant is also available.
Call the restaurant for details.

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Entertainment, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Call the restaurant for details.

Specials

Valentine's Day Special Menus & More

Tuesday, February 14, 2017

Specials

Valentine's Day Special Menus & More

Tuesday, February 14, 2017

Details

Join us for Valentine's Day to celebrate with your special someone. We will be offering an exclusive prix fixe menu. Please contact us for more details.

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

MR CHOW - TriBeca Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.3

ambience

4.3

value

3.5

noise

Moderate

69% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (13)
Modern Decor (10)
Good for a Date (9)
See All
Fit for Foodies (8)
Creative Cuisine (8)
Family Style (8)
Authentic (7)
Good for Anniversaries (7)
Fun (6)
Hot Spot (6)
Neighborhood Gem (5)
Good for Birthdays (5)
Comfort Food (4)
Romantic (4)
People Watching (4)
Good for Groups (4)
Quiet Conversation (3)
Tasting Menu (3)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Great for Outdoor Dining (2)
Handcrafted Cocktails (2)
Tapas (2)
Spicy (2)
Private Room (2)
Cozy (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
Kid-friendly (2)
Late-night Find (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Organic (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Casual (1)
Business Meals (1)
Worth the Drive (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Historic (1)
Bar Seating (1)
Sort By:
S
1245 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Great service,delicious food and cocktai ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 16, 2017

Great service,delicious food and cocktails,good wine selection,elegant design and good energy from the staff

Tags: Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

The food was up to the standard set by t ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 15, 2017

The food was up to the standard set by the Mr. Chow in Miami but there was no greeting by the staff and we were in/out in about an hour. Not acceptable. I doubt we will return.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3
value4

We tried two appetizers and two entrees ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 14, 2017

We tried two appetizers and two entrees and everything was incredibly bland. I expected so much more from such a well established and highly priced place. The service was okay, but the ambiance was slightly odd and the greasy, tasteless food killed the mood.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service3
value1

Very BEAUTIFUL, Food GREAT. The staff ac ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 3, 2017

Very BEAUTIFUL, Food GREAT. The staff accommodating & pleasant. Great experience. We will recommend it to friends.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We were 7 of us and really the great foo ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 31, 2016

We were 7 of us and really the great food & service. I do not know weather it is expensive or in-expensive but the bill for 7 of us was $ 750

Tags: Family Style, Cozy, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Not worth it!

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on December 27, 2016

Not worth it!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value1

Great but food came too quickly. Little ...

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on December 25, 2016

Great but food came too quickly. Little rushed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value2

Used to be a fun place with good food. F ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 24, 2016

Used to be a fun place with good food. Food is mediocre now with very pushy waiters and a non stop barrage of busboys trying to clear your plates while you are still eating. Won't return and wouldn't recommend.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service1

So lovely and food was delicious. Everyt ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 24, 2016

So lovely and food was delicious. Everything very fresh and clean. Totally enjoyable night

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Food is just about average but wayyyy ov ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 23, 2016

Food is just about average but wayyyy overpriced. You'll leave this place hungry and disappointed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value1

Extremely overpriced

vip
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on December 19, 2016

Extremely overpriced

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4

Awesome experience. Special occasion. St ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on December 17, 2016

Awesome experience. Special occasion. Staff was wonderful!! Not rushed......romantic table. Sat for 3 1/2 hours on a Friday night!!

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

They take reservations but they never ev ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 16, 2016

They take reservations but they never ever respect times! That's the only annoying part of this restaurant

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Excellent meal and service. Would defin ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on December 12, 2016

Excellent meal and service. Would definitely come back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

the waiter tried to force us to order th ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 11, 2016

the waiter tried to force us to order the fixed price menu

he insistes 4 times and even said it was mandatory for the 6 of us

the food not that good

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1
value2

Very rude staff tried to upsell us. We a ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 11, 2016

Very rude staff tried to upsell us. We are Manhattanites and felt like we were being taken advantage of. Last time we'll go here. We really just wanted to leave as soon as possible after the initial poor experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value2

Excellent meal and good service. This re ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 10, 2016

Excellent meal and good service. This restaurant is too noisy. You should make acoustic improvements. Some wines are too expensive having regard to its quality.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value3

Our reservation was for 7:30. At 8:00 th ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 10, 2016

Our reservation was for 7:30. At 8:00 the restaurant began to fill up and the noise became unbearable. The acoustics in this restaurant are terrible. In the meantime the service felt rushed and unfriendly. Definitely not value for money here.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service2
value3

Demasiadas mesas y demasiado ruido, pero ...

 
 (Miami)·Dined on December 9, 2016

Demasiadas mesas y demasiado ruido, pero la comida excelente. Buena atención también

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4

The service was extremely poor, the food ...

vip
 (London)·Dined on December 9, 2016

The service was extremely poor, the food lacking in flavour and most of the meat dishes were too dry . This comes nowhere close to the MR CHOWS quality in Miami and London

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1
value1

The service was a disaster. That's not a ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 4, 2016

The service was a disaster. That's not an elite restaurant experience. There were 2 servers and one was clearly frustrated with his career choice. Attitude was deplorable, service even worse. A lowlight was when my wife asked for a particular dessert and a random dessert we did not order was dropped to our table. When questioned the server indicated they did not have what was previously requested so he gave us something else. I shouldn't have to explain what's wrong with that scenario.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service1

As always Mr Chow never disappoints ... ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 2, 2016

As always Mr Chow never disappoints ...food ...service and staff exceptional

Tags: Authentic, Modern Decor, Tapas, Good for Birthdays, Fun, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Private Room, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Paleo Friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Attentive staff Good value for money Mo ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 27, 2016

Attentive staff

Good value for money

More like a chinese-fusion restaurant than authentic chinese cuisine

Tags: Kid-friendly, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Used to be a great place. Now they push ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 25, 2016

Used to be a great place. Now they push you to take the high-priced prix fixe menu and make it clear you won't get enough food if you order a la carte. Then they short you on food on the prix fixe. And better hold on to your cocktail, because if you let it out of your sight the waitstaff will clear it away without asking you and immediately offer to sell you another one. Staff and management absolutely shameless about all of this. I don't know what's happened, but this is strictly for tourists who haven't been warned.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service1
value1

The food was plentiful and delicious. Re ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 23, 2016

The food was plentiful and delicious. Recommend the filet mignon main course.

Tags: Good for Groups, Pre/post Theatre, Comfort Food, Tasting Menu, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Family Style, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Service was excellent..we ate early and ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 16, 2016

Service was excellent..we ate early and it was quiet. Main courses were delicious...appetizers were disappointing. Could have just been what we ordered, but expected better in the appetizer department. The Peking Duck could have been the best I've ever had. Would highly recommend ordering that.

Tags: Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Food was absolutely amazing.. I would've ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Food was absolutely amazing.. I would've given this 5 stars if the service wasn't so terrible. We arrived for our 9:30 reservation at 9 o'clock, grabbed a drink by the bar and got seated at 9:40. We were thrown into a corner table and that's exactly how we were treated. we didn't get menus until 15 minutes after sitting down and had to ASK who our waiter was so we could simply get waters. Ordering the food was another ordeal. Everyone is running and rushing around like a chicken without a head, and it seemed since we were in our 20's we weren't being taken seriously like everybody else. Very disappointing

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Family Style, Good for a Date, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value4

While loud, the food shines through. Eve ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 5, 2016

While loud, the food shines through. Even though the menu is the same as the other Mr. Chows, it just tastes better here.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

One of the best restaurants I've been to ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 29, 2016

One of the best restaurants I've been too! Insane food & service was incredible! Worth every penny! My favorite was the Beijing chicken!

Tags: Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I had a PHENOMENAL time at Mr. Chow Trib ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 23, 2016

I had a PHENOMENAL time at Mr. Chow Tribeca. I walked into a beautiful restaurant, with the smell of fresh, white flowers filling the room. My dining partner was running late, but the staff was so kind and accommodating. They allowed me to go straight to my table nonethless, and I indulged in a delicious glass of wine. Once my partner arrived, the meal only went up from there! The food was absolutely first rate. I particularly loved the vermicelli with lobster, and the green prawns were stellar! I would HIGHLY recommend this restaurant for a top notch, fine dining experience.

Tags: Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Modern Decor, Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was extremely greasy and I suspect ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 19, 2016

Food was extremely greasy and I suspect some of it had been sitting around for a few days and reheated. For that price, no. Just no.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service5
value1

I was very pleased with the quality and ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 15, 2016

I was very pleased with the quality and taste of the food.

Tags: Authentic, Romantic, Good for Groups, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Una e penitencia nueva pero no volveria

 
 (México)·Dined on October 15, 2016

Una e penitencia nueva pero no volveria

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3

Be careful and look at your bill closely ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 12, 2016

Be careful and look at your bill closely. I had an amazing meal at Mr Chow but I was so disappointed by the fact that our waiter was dishonest with the bill. We originally ordered two appetizers and a main thinking that would be enough for two not super hungry people. He told us we should really get another main. When I asked him to give us a minute he said let's work through this together and what felt like a strong arm forced us into another main. He then told us our second main comes with a veggie side so we chose one. We agreed that although it was too much food we were happy to have the second main. He brought us out some crispy seaweed which he said was because our dumplings were taking a long time. Then rice mysteriously came out when we tried to tell our server we didn't order it they just shrugged. Then the bill came it seemed that the waiter had charged us for a 2 price fixed menus which was 20 more than anything we would have ordered. When I questioned him about it he fought back saying we ordered a side and the rice and seaweed were also part of the order. (All of a sudden that free seaweed was now something I ordered) When I told him he was dishonest by telling us things were included in our order he got hostile left the table with our bill and after coming back to argue once more finally adjusted it to our original order. The sad thing is I probably would have ordered the price fixed had he explained it and not been so dishonest about it. It just felt very slimey. We enjoyed the food and all of the other servers were very attentive but I am just so shocked that we were treated that way.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service1
value3

Amazing food, attentive and caring servi ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 11, 2016

Amazing food, attentive and caring service though a little pushy on consumption. We still enjoyed a lot our dinner. We went to multiple Mr Chow's locations including the first one in Beverly Hills and this one was the closest in terms of quality to the original.

We'll definitely go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Mr. Chow is always delicious - and we ha ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 9, 2016

Mr. Chow is always delicious - and we have been going for 30 years (to the one on W. 57th). Everything was amazing - service wonderful! Just love this restaurant.

Tags: Fun, Family Style, Special Occasion, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We have regularly dined and enjoyed the ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on October 8, 2016

We have regularly dined and enjoyed the food and exemplary service by the staff at Mr Chow in South Miami Beach. We were therefore dismayed by the disappointing service at the TriBeCa location during a recent visit to NYC. From start to finish the wait staff made mistakes with very little disregard for improving the situation. Food was delicious as ever - but it was overshadowed by a sloppy and poorly trained wait staff. The disparity between experiences at two venues was shocking. Too many great restaurants in the city to pay that much money for a meal and not enjoy the experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1
value1

Great for the first waiter we're extreme ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 8, 2016

Great for the first waiter we're extremely pleasant

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The service was exceptional Bad. The ser ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on October 3, 2016

The service was exceptional Bad. The server was rude and not very helpful. Wasn't the experience for a first timer and definitely no where near the level I've experienced before.

Tags: Casual, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service1
value1

My favorite restaurant!!

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 28, 2016

My favorite restaurant!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.