About MR CHOW - TriBeca

121 Hudson Street
New York, NY 10013
View Larger Map

Opened in 2006 by world famous restaurateur Michael Chow, most recently awarded the 5 Star Diamond Award by the American Academy of Hospitality Sciences for its excellence, service, and cuisine this is the second post to the original in NYC on 57th Street. Mr Chow's latest & hippest location is surrounded by a Patio & the attractive bar opens at 5:00PM daily.
NY Magazine wrote in 2006 "To eat at a Mr Chow restaurant is to participate in a roving party, one that has migrated through four decades, three continents, & an awful lot of soup dumplings."
TriBeCa's Executive Chef Kwok Hor, is a highly respected professional in the Chinese Cuisine Industry & has given many lectures at The Hong Kong Culinary Association.
MR CHOW's menu is a combination of old authentic Beijing, Original Recipes, Chicken Satay, MR CHOW Noodles & Ma Mignon all were created by our passionate & skillful chefs. Also, on the Menu is one of the best prepared Beijing Duck in the world.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Chinese

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Daily: 5:00pm - 11:30pm

Cross Street:
North Moore Street

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(212) 965-9500

Website:
http://www.mrchow.com/

Entertainment:
The famous nightly Chinese handmade noodle show is presented in every location since the opening of London in 1968.

Public Transit:
1 train to Franklin Street.

Executive Chef:
Kwok Hor

Private Party Facilities:
Private Room is available in the restaurant for up to 40 guests, depending on date and time. Buyout of the restaurant is also available.
Call the restaurant for details.

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Entertainment, Full Bar, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Call the restaurant for details.

Restaurant Photos

Dumplings
Green Prawns
Duck
Scallops
Velvet Chicken
Mr Chow Noodles
Squab With Lettuce
Beef With Shepherd's Purse
string beans
Fried Rice
Chowlini
Chicken satay
Filet Mignon
Crispy Orange Beef

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

MR CHOW - TriBeca Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.3

ambience

4.3

value

3.5

noise

Moderate

81% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Chinese
New York / Tri-State Area
Chinese
Manhattan
Best Restaurants in TriBeCa - Downtown ›

special occasion (26)
fit for foodies (23)
romantic (18)
See All
good for groups (17)
hot spot (15)
neighborhood gem (14)
great for outdoor dining (14)
late-night find (6)
vibrant bar scene (5)
great for lunch (4)
notable wine list (3)
great for brunch (2)
kid-friendly (2)
scenic view (1)
Sort By:
Newest
1071 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

The service was so poor that didn't allo ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined 3 days ago

The service was so poor that didn't allow you to enjoy your food!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1
value1

Worst food ever...this is not a Chinese ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined 5 days ago

Worst food ever...this is not a Chinese restaurant....they served spaghetti for noodles; their satay has cheese queso...a joke

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service4

You can eat Chinese food and then you ca ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

You can eat Chinese food and then you can eat at Mr Chow. The servers and wait staff are fantastic and the food is delicious. I highly recommend the duck

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The best!! The staff couldn't be better ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 11, 2016

The best!!

The staff couldn't be better and the food is always served hot and delicious

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Service is mixed. Manager had Major atti ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 4, 2016

Service is mixed. Manager had Major attitude. We all have choices : it was inappropriate and thick of ego. Disturbing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service1
value3

Best upscale Chinese in NYC

 
 (London)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

Best upscale Chinese in NYC

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Mr. Chow is always consistent. The food ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 29, 2016

Mr. Chow is always consistent. The food is great, the service terrible, always expensive. I always like the atmosphere, but always suffer during the dinner due to service. The waiters are always very aggressive in trying to get you to order expensive things which is irritating. If you want a glass of Champagne, they'll push for the expensive kind, once you agree they'll push for the bottle, etc. Despite their wine ignorance, they'll give you a dirty look if your wine choice is not too expensive. If you are hesitant on what to eat, they'll push the most expensive set-menu.

I've been here several times both with very high spenders, and with normal customers. The contrast in service is remarkable. If you don't want to spend a lot, you almost have to stand up to go get the waiter if you need anything after you ordered.

The food is always great, and the atmosphere is good.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value3

Food was good, service was very good and ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 27, 2016

Food was good, service was very good and waiter was beyond attentive

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

I thought it was very pricey for small s ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

I thought it was very pricey for small servings. Too bad

Tags: fit for foodies, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

The dish was way too small for the price ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 23, 2016

The dish was way too small for the price. Might as well have the appetizer.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service4

Always a fantastic experience, highly re ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 21, 2016

Always a fantastic experience, highly recommend.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Wonderful dinner - absolutely no complai ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

Wonderful dinner - absolutely no complaints! Appetizers are particularly good - scallion pancakes, curry puffs and Mr. Chow's noodles are the best!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

I love this place! The duck with plum sa ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

I love this place! The duck with plum sauce and the cauliflower are my favorites. The Mr. chow noodles and potstickers were also fabulous! We try to come here every time I come to NYC. I gave service a 4 bc the server forgot to put in our drink order midmeal. This place is over the top! I'll be back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

The service was spectacular! Our server ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 10, 2016

The service was spectacular! Our server made perfect recommendations and was very familiar with the offerings. This was a perfect location for my birthday dinner!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Chic and elegance! Best experience!

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 8, 2016

Chic and elegance! Best experience!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Nice setting; average food

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 4, 2016

Came here for my sisters birthday. The restaurant and location is really nice but the food was not amazing for the price that you pay. I'm all about the experience and that's why I don't regret coming to this restaurant but I definitely doubt that I will be returning. The velvet chicken was very basic and not full of flavor. We received a complimentary app from the chef which was seaweed, it was okay but I mean - it's seaweed. They were pleasant and the workers were great, but the actual meals weren't the best and the shrimp fried rice was a bit hard.

Tags: romantic, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value2

Great Bday dinner

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 3, 2016

Had a great time for my boyfriends bday with great food along with stellar service.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The food was delicious however my mom an ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on May 31, 2016

The food was delicious however my mom and I were on a girls trip with my daughter and niece. We were told we had to order 4 first dishes and 4 main dishes. We could barely finish everything and for the cost is was not worth it. If we could have pick 2-3 it would have been worth it. We were traveling so we didn't have the option to do carryout.

Tags: good for groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Wonderful food with the perfect service!

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on May 26, 2016

Wonderful food with the perfect service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

food, service and ambiance was very good ...

 
 (London)
·Dined on May 21, 2016

food, service and ambiance was very good, we enjoyed a lot

Tags: special occasions
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Have been to its sister restaurant midto ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on May 21, 2016

Have been to its sister restaurant midtown many times. This one is a huge miss for me! The tables were way too close to each other and the service terrible. At one point the waiter took away my half eaten first course in order to put the second course down!!!! I have been to a number of fine establishments in the former Soviet Union (when it was till around) that could teach service to the staff! Probably my worst experience in NY for years. Only exception to this was the people at the front.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service1

One of the best Chinese in the city

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on May 10, 2016

One of the best Chinese in the city

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Best Chineese food I've ever tasted!

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on May 9, 2016

The lettuce leaves are fabulous. The food is fabulous. I don't feel blown up after eating it. The Chocolate Martini's are out of this world!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I am not new to Mr.Chow and even had the ...

vip
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

I am not new to Mr.Chow and even had the pleasure of meeting him. However, the maitre d was awful. He was so rude and unaccommodating. It was just off putting. Food is great as always, scene is nice and so is the ambiance.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service1

I had such a wonderful time with my mom.

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

The waiters were awesome. The atmosphere was so lively and sweet. I never had a niche before and they were so good. The chili pork was delicious just a bit salty. The sweet beef entrée was not to my liking. The shrimp fried rice was so good. I enjoyed myself so much, definitely a treat!

Tags: special occasion, late-night find, scenic view, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Well prepared, fresh food, attentive service

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on May 7, 2016

enjoyed our dinner,great food, well prepared, timed/not rushed. Only complaint is tables are too tight together.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value2

The best Chinese food I've ever had. Wai ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on April 29, 2016

The best Chinese food I've ever had. Wait staff were very attentive and made us feel very welcome!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Highly Impressed

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on April 18, 2016

I've heard of Mr. Chow's but I always prefer to make my own distinctions about things. I was highly impressed with every aspect of the restaurant, from it's look, to location, to the warm and welcoming staff, the speed and efficiency, the ambiance, and last but certainly not the least. ... the food. The food was AMAZING!! I've found my new favorite place to dine!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Poor service, poor food, extremely disappointed!!

vip
 (Columbus)
·Dined on April 17, 2016

My husband and I went for an early dinner at 6:00. The restaurant was very empty. They were out of the short rib appetizer we ordered...which we found out about 30 minutes after waiting for it and we asked where it was. We were then told that they had some that were frozen if we wanted to wait. We were going to a movie so we asked for our entrees. We ordered two to share and I would say they were both fair at best- so fair I can't even remember what we got and we each had a bite or two of both. We had ordered a bottle of wine that was good. Our bill was $400 and I think the wine was around $85 so that was the only thing of any value. We were extremely disappointed as it was my first time there and I was really looking forward to it. We were apologized to several times on the way out...I just wish they would have done something while we were at our table to make our dinner experience better.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value1

Mediocre food and service at elevated pr ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on April 12, 2016

Mediocre food and service at elevated prices. Ordered all of the starred items (house specialities) which were just ok and not great. Service was not strong. They would drop the dishes down on top of one another with no explanation. No passion or friendliness. Only saving grace was that it is a nice physical space and the guy making the noodles did a nice display. I will not go back to this restaurant - a Big Apple Disappointment!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2

Always a winner!

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on April 3, 2016

Mr. Chow's is a fan favorite. The food is amazing and always consistent. You can never go wrong here. Strong brand.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Tops Tops Tops

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on March 27, 2016

Every item we ate was better then the next. If you like great food this is the place.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, great for lunch, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fine Asian cuisine

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on March 26, 2016

I absolutely loved my first visit to Mr. Chow's! The service was 5 stars because of their professional and very friendly staff . The staff works very hard as a team to accommodate in ever way possible and of course the food was delicious! Try the shrimp appetizer and the sea bass entree. Side note the special chili sauce they provide is also a great touch!

Tags: fit for foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

excellent

 
 (New England)
·Dined on March 25, 2016

Excellent dinner. Outside on gallery. Food and service was exceptional

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The serving sizes were ridiculous. We w ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on March 24, 2016

The serving sizes were ridiculous. We were 6 people and we ordered double orders of our favorite dishes and we kept asking for our second serving. Then they said that is a double serving. And the prices are outrageous. I don't mind paying when I am satisfied but we were all unsatisfied and we have been going to Mr. CHow for years and all over the world and have always been happy and satisfied.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3

Perennial favorite

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on March 17, 2016

LOVE this place! It's always busy with an eclectic crowd and the food and service are wonderful even after all these years

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Amazing!

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on March 13, 2016

Staff was great, very attentive and the food was amazing!

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

never again

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on March 13, 2016

noise level so loud you can't hear the waiter

food was greasy or doughy

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service3
value1

Terrible food! I've had better in a chea ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on March 12, 2016

Terrible food! I've had better in a cheap Chinese restaurant in a small suburb of London & at a third of the price! The satay was embarrassing!! It was bright orange, very greasy (fried?) with a 'peanut' sauce...basically some beige gloop that tasted nothing like peanut! Really disgraceful that they charge the prices they do.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service3

Waht happened to this place?

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on March 11, 2016

From the front door to sitting at the table to greeting from the waiter, all first class! The disappointment came when the food arrived, real disappointment! If you're going for the food, go to Chinatown!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5
value2

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.