About Mr Chow - Beverly Hills

344 N. Camden Dr.
Beverly Hills, CA 90210
View Larger Map

Opened in 1974 by world famous restaurateur Michael Chow. MR CHOW started in London in 1968 and continues to enjoy generations of devoted clients from art, fashion, music, and entertainment. Art, celebrity and superb cuisine all blend together in this stylish restaurant in the heart of Beverly Hills, it has always been an institution for Hollywood’s biggest stars and its loyal clients.
The American Academy of Hospitality Sciences recently awarded MR CHOW the 5 Star Diamond Award for excellence, service, and cuisine. Our Executive Chefs are one of most respected chefs in Chinese cuisine. MR CHOW is a combination of old authentic Beijing and Original Recipes. Chicken Satay, MR CHOW Noodles and Ma Mignon all were created by our passionate and skillful chefs. Also on the Menu is one of the best prepared Beijing Duck in the world.
“Mr. Chow defies all odds and remains an impossibly chic spot that still draws the rich, famous and well-heeled decades after." - Los Angeles Times

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Chinese

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 12:00pm - 2:30pm; Dinner: Monday - Sunday: 6:00pm - 11:30pm

Cross Street:
Wilshire & Brighton Way

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(310) 278-9911

Website:
http://www.mrchow.com/

Entertainment:
Pasta Chef demonstrates traditional Chinese hand-made noodle making nightly.

Private Party Facilities:
2 Private Rooms available 20-30 guests or full restaurant buy-out.
Call the restaurant for details.

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Entertainment, Full Bar, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Call the restaurant for details.

Restaurant Photos

Beijing Chicken
Dressed Dungeness Crab
Mr Chow Noodles
Drunken Fish
Mixed Berry Tart
Exotic Mushrooms
Gamblers Duck
Velvet Chicken
Crispy Duck Roll
Berry Tart
The Box
Fish Joanna
Chicken Dumpling
Green Prawns
Chicken Lettuce Wraps
Shrimp Toast Gambi
Spare Ribs
Vegetables
Filet Mignon
Chocolat Mousse Cake
Chicken satay
Shrimp w/honey roasted walnuts
Veuve Clicquot
Pekin Duck
Lichee Martini
4 Colour Cauliflower

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Mr Chow - Beverly Hills Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.4

ambience

4.2

noise

Moderate

82% would recommend it to a friend

special occasion (48)
hot spot (46)
fit for foodies (42)
See All
good for groups (27)
romantic (27)
neighborhood gem (15)
great for lunch (14)
vibrant bar scene (10)
late-night find (10)
notable wine list (8)
scenic view (5)
great for brunch (4)
kid-friendly (4)
great for outdoor dining (3)
Sort By:
Newest
974 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We love this special place. Has to be on ...

Dined 5 days ago

We love this special place. Has to be on your list too.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

Perhaps my expectations were way too hig ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

Perhaps my expectations were way too high but I thought it was ok and not that special. The food was good but nothing that would compel me to drive to Beverly Hills again.

food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Annual event and never disappointing it ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

Annual event and never disappointing it's a must in LA

Tags: hot spot
food4
ambience2
service3
value2

We found our food came out way too soon ...

Dined on June 18, 2016

We found our food came out way too soon - we ordered and it came out straight away - we felt rushed. I have been before however the food was not as good this time.

Tags: good for groups
food1
ambience3
service3

Over rated. Over priced. I've eaten in a ...

Dined on June 16, 2016

Over rated. Over priced. I've eaten in a lot of nice upscale restaurants and don't mind paying for good food and service. We got the squab and lettuce, zero flavor. I will not go back.

food3
ambience4
service5
value2

We ordered the duck and although tasted ...

Dined on June 16, 2016

We ordered the duck and although tasted fine, was very dry which was disappointing for the price. The ribs were cold, also disappointing. We ordered glazed prawns, which were fantastic though.

Tags: hot spot
food3
ambience1
service3
value1

Too tight and crowded. No elbow room. V ...

Dined on June 15, 2016

Too tight and crowded. No elbow room. Very noisy and loud.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The best!

Dined on June 9, 2016

Mr. Chow is, perhaps, one of the classiest restaurants in the country with food and service to match! Great for any occasion!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

I dream about the squab. And the noodles ...

Dined on June 6, 2016

I dream about the squab. And the noodles. And the green beans. And.....

food5
ambience5
service5

The chicken squab with lettuce is a must ...

Dined on June 2, 2016

The chicken squab with lettuce is a must! You can't go wrong with anything on the menu though - everything is so delicious! Cuisine perfection!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

always excellent

vip
Dined on May 31, 2016

a reliable excellent choice for me.... tops in my book

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

This is one of my favorite restaurants i ...

vip
Dined on May 25, 2016

This is one of my favorite restaurants in the world. The staff are so friendly and professional... and the food is devine. I recommend the drunken fish, the duck and pancakes, prawn toast... but honestly... everything is fabulous. If you like a drink, try the Lychee Martinis... the best money can buy! Enjoy and just know that if you eat there I'm jealous!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

What a wonderful experience. Food and service A++

Dined on May 22, 2016

My husband and I celebrated our 4th year anniversary. We heard several glowing reviews about Mr. Chow. The service was unparalleled and the food was excellent. Would definitely go there again!!!

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5

Food was outstanding. Being vegetarians ...

Dined on May 21, 2016

Food was outstanding. Being vegetarians the waiter staff offered up several choices which were fantastic. Service was also fantastic.

food5
ambience5
service5

We go almost every year for our annivers ...

vip
Dined on May 20, 2016

We go almost every year for our anniversary. It is a special unique restaurant in Beverly Hills. Service is outstanding, along with the menu. Definitely fit for upscale foodies.

food4
ambience2
service2
value2

The service was rushed. The whole restau ...

Dined on May 17, 2016

The service was rushed. The whole restaurant smelled horrible. Mr. Chows noodles were basically spaghetti with tomato sauce. Such a disappointment. The crispy beef and the duck were delicious. Seating was weird. We had wires tangled up all over our feet for the table lighting. I guess the only way I'd go back would be to pick up a few dishes for take out.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

i have been going to MR. chow since you ...

vip
Dined on May 16, 2016

i have been going to MR. chow since you opened and love it .

Tags: great for lunch, late-night find
food5
ambience3
service5

Awful radio music, which unfortunately d ...

Dined on May 16, 2016

Awful radio music, which unfortunately doesn't feel coherent with the style of the restaurant. Great food

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

I've been dining at Mr. Chow since the m ...

vip
Dined on May 15, 2016

I've been dining at Mr. Chow since the mid-70s. I've been to the original location in London and the ones in New York (now there are two) and in Beverly Hills. It's my favorite place to celebrate my birthday. I just ask the Brinks truck to park nearby so I can pay. Seriously, it's not an inexpensive restaurant, but I'll say this....it's been in business since the 70s, still crowded all the time and they haven't really changed the menu or the ambience since then, so that's saying something. It's not really classical Chinese food and it's all unbelievably delicious. UN.BE.LIEV.AB.LY!!!!! Best Beijing Duck I've ever had. Some of the extraordinary dishes are: Minced Squab in Lettuce Leaves, Mr. Chow's Noodles, Nine Season Prawns, Crispy Beef, Appetizer Scallops, and as I mentioned above Beijing Duck (they might still call it Peking Duck). The presentation is superb, the service divine. What can I say, it's worth every penny. Four of us went there for my brother's birthday and it was, with a $75 bottle of wine and drinks all around, about $550.00 with tip and worth it. Worth it! It's an experience. Thank you Mr. Chow.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I loved every second at Mr Chows. Servic ...

Dined on May 14, 2016

I loved every second at Mr Chows. Service was great, food was amazing and it's well worth the price for the entire experience. We were there 3 hours and could have stayed longer.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, late-night find, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Best soup dumplings in LA.

Dined on May 14, 2016

Phenomenal Chinese. Took my girlfriend who hates Chinese food, but she loved it at Mr. Chow's. Only downfall was when two of our entree's were sent to the table next to us and the server never corrected the mistake or bothered to remove the items from our tab. It was easy to overlook their slip up as it was a busy night and everything else was spot on.

Tags: fit for foodies, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

long wait even with reservation

Dined on May 8, 2016

great food but we had to wait 30min for our table to be seated even though we were 5 min there before our actual reservation time.

Tags: scenic view, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5

The walnut shrimp is phenominal! Awesom ...

Dined on May 8, 2016

The walnut shrimp is phenominal! Awesome food, vegas location has a quieter feel

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

One of my favs!

Dined on May 7, 2016

I love Mr Chow me and my boyfriend dine here a lot! The service is great and the atmosphere is excellent. We ordered the lobster and we had the chicken and shrimp and steak, along with the appetizers!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

We had s great time. Drinks and food wer ...

Dined on May 7, 2016

We had s great time. Drinks and food were superb!

food3
ambience3
service4
value2

It's the legacy more than the food

vip
Dined on May 7, 2016

This is a place where you could bump in to famous people, eat good quality chinese food and enjoy a vibrant scene. But, when you've been here three four times you start to notice that the famous people aren't there anymore, the food is average at best (compared to the price you're paying) and the vibrant scene I mentioned earlier - its just loud, noisy and very cramped!

Tags: neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience1
service5

This location is ghetto and needs a reno ...

vip
Dined on May 4, 2016

This location is ghetto and needs a renovation ASAP! I was really disappointed, after my first experience at Mr chow in Las Vegas which was INCREDIBLE all around. I was expecting Beverly Hills to be a beautiful, space... Instead it was very tight, with one table on top of the next. The decor is dated... Feels like any old upscale Chinese place...Nothing special. I was disgusted by the menus... Just simple laminated sheets, that were old and worn. For the prices they charge, you'd think they would invest in a nicer menu... Presentation and ambiance are huge & they've seemed to disregard that! The bar menu was lacking... Not many great options for cocktails. I remembered struggling to choose a cocktail at the Vegas location because they had so many great options! But, the food was good and there was good service, the staff was all helpful and polite . Wondering if Malibu location is nicer, I'd much rather take out from mr chow Beverly Hills than eat there !

food2
ambience2
service3

The food was at best, mediocre. Guests ...

vip
Dined on May 3, 2016

The food was at best, mediocre. Guests were crammed in. This is the perfect overpriced tourist trap.

food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Upscale Modern Asian

vip
Dined on April 21, 2016

My friend and I had the lunch prix fixe, served family style. More than enough food, plenty of options and a great value. $$$ for lunch, but worth it if you appreciate fine dining.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

The satay chicken and the lettuce wraps ...

vip
Dined on April 12, 2016

The satay chicken and the lettuce wraps are amazing

food5
ambience5
service5

This is THE LA dining experience! We ha ...

Dined on April 7, 2016

This is THE LA dining experience! We had the two course dinner for two. Loved the steamed dumplings and chicken satay -- wish we got four pieces of chicken, instead of only two. We had steamed rice, two house specialties, and broccoli for our main course. Decor is super sophisticated, clean, modern and crisp. Ended the night crossing paths with Mickey Rourke as he was arriving for a late supper as we left. Overall it was great. Special thanks for the special attention and sensitivity to shellfish allergies.

food4
ambience4
service3
value4

Celebrating 9 years of life...

Dined on April 5, 2016

I knew the type of restaurant I was reserving, and although I did like the food and the level of service, I didn't find the waiter that helpful.

Tags: hot spot
food4
ambience3
service4
value1

WAAAAAAAAAAAAAY OVER PRICED

Dined on April 2, 2016

I knew that I would be going for an expensive dinner as I had been there before. While everything was tasty it is WAAAYYY overpriced for what they give you and the portion sizes. I would never go back. They should be ashamed.

food5
ambience3
service4

Food was really good, but WOW does it co ...

vip
Dined on April 2, 2016

Food was really good, but WOW does it come out fast. I have never been served with that type of speed in a nice place. It would have been great if we were in a hurry, but we were not, and felt a bit rushed. We also ordered drinks that never came. I would go back, but will plan to be out of there with the greatest of speed.

food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great ambiance at Mr. Chow!

Dined on April 2, 2016

The service is excellent as the waiter and busboys paid ample attention to us and had great, cheerful attitudes. It had been a while since we'd been there and our waiter took care of us with the appetizers and the main dishes. In particular, the honey walnut shrimp stood out to me as it was so tasty and the squab with lettuce was great as well as the chicken satay. Since the waiter selected our main course, I don't remember the names of the courses but there was a dish of soft sliced beef and more and another shrimp dish that was fabulous. I think we'll select our own dishes next time though. It is pricey though for what you get. For the prices, I would have liked to have received larger portions...

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5

The food is incomparable - nearly everyt ...

Dined on March 27, 2016

The food is incomparable - nearly everything we tasted was beyond delicious. That said the bill was shockingly expensive.

food1
ambience1
service1
value1

Not great

Dined on March 22, 2016

My server wasn't great.. Was in a rush .. Was rude ..

Tags: romantic
food5
ambience3
service3

Very good food, but the service was rush ...

vip
Dined on March 21, 2016

Very good food, but the service was rushed and tables are cramped. It almost felt like a high end fast food establishment, as they were definitely turning the tables very quickly.

food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Great Expectations

Dined on March 20, 2016

I had high expectations for this place and was largely satisfied. Starting with the valet service I was struck by the friendliness and attentiveness of the staff which continued throughout the service. We allowed our waiter to choose our courses and were not disappointed by his recommendations. The only caveat to visiting this restaurant is that their prices appear to be substantially higher than those of similar establishments in this area

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic
food3
ambience5
service5
value5

You have to enjoy sitting and talking wi ...

Dined on March 18, 2016

You have to enjoy sitting and talking with your neighbours in this very Asian style seating restaurant. This made it even more fun!!

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, vibrant bar scene

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.