About Mr Chow - Beverly Hills

344 N. Camden Dr.
Beverly Hills, CA 90210
View Larger Map

Opened in 1974 by world famous restaurateur Michael Chow. MR CHOW started in London in 1968 and continues to enjoy generations of devoted clients from art, fashion, music, and entertainment. Art, celebrity and superb cuisine all blend together in this stylish restaurant in the heart of Beverly Hills, it has always been an institution for Hollywood’s biggest stars and its loyal clients.
The American Academy of Hospitality Sciences recently awarded MR CHOW the 5 Star Diamond Award for excellence, service, and cuisine. Our Executive Chefs are one of most respected chefs in Chinese cuisine. MR CHOW is a combination of old authentic Beijing and Original Recipes. Chicken Satay, MR CHOW Noodles and Ma Mignon all were created by our passionate and skillful chefs. Also on the Menu is one of the best prepared Beijing Duck in the world.
“Mr. Chow defies all odds and remains an impossibly chic spot that still draws the rich, famous and well-heeled decades after." - Los Angeles Times

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Chinese

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 12:00pm - 2:30pm; Dinner: Monday - Sunday: 6:00pm - 11:30pm

Cross Street:
Wilshire & Brighton Way

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(310) 278-9911

Website:
http://www.mrchow.com/

Entertainment:
Pasta Chef demonstrates traditional Chinese hand-made noodle making nightly.

Private Party Facilities:
2 Private Rooms available 20-30 guests or full restaurant buy-out.
Call the restaurant for details.

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Entertainment, Full Bar, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Call the restaurant for details.

Restaurant Photos

Beijing Chicken
Dressed Dungeness Crab
Mr Chow Noodles
Drunken Fish
Mixed Berry Tart
Exotic Mushrooms
Gamblers Duck
Velvet Chicken
Crispy Duck Roll
Berry Tart
The Box
Fish Joanna
Chicken Dumpling
Green Prawns
Chicken Lettuce Wraps
Shrimp Toast Gambi
Spare Ribs
Vegetables
Filet Mignon
Chocolat Mousse Cake
Chicken satay
Shrimp w/honey roasted walnuts
Veuve Clicquot
Pekin Duck
Lichee Martini
4 Colour Cauliflower

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Mr Chow - Beverly Hills Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.5

ambience

4.3

value

3.7

noise

Moderate

81% would recommend it to a friend

hot spot (44)
special occasion (43)
fit for foodies (35)
See All
romantic (25)
good for groups (20)
neighborhood gem (13)
vibrant bar scene (9)
late-night find (9)
notable wine list (8)
great for lunch (8)
scenic view (4)
great for brunch (3)
great for outdoor dining (2)
kid-friendly (2)
Sort By:
Newest
994 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Excellent suggestions from Michael. All ...

vip
 (Dallas)
·Dined 2 days ago

Excellent suggestions from Michael. All of the food was excellent. Our table of five enjoyed the shrimp with walnuts, drunken fish and duck the best. Highly recommend.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

The food was enjoyable, not necessarily ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined 4 days ago

The food was enjoyable, not necessarily memorable though. My dining experience would have been better if I wasn't sitting elbow to elbow with the couples on either side of me. It's really hard to have an intimate/private conversation when the people next to you can hear every word you are saying and vice versa.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4
value2

Ive eaten there for many years alway con ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined 6 days ago

Ive eaten there for many years alway consistently good

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Food still awful at Mr Chow . Plain dece ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined 7 days ago

Food still awful at Mr Chow . Plain deceitful menu with squab and lettuce leaves clearly made with chicken. Green shrimps inedible and only flavoring seems to be MSG. Mystery why it has such a reputation.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service2
value1

W couldn't fault the experience. A drink ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 20, 2016

W couldn't fault the experience. A drink at the bar on arrival and shown straight to our table. Our waiter selected our menu and made recommendations for us. You can't beat the duck and prawns, truly unique. We can't wait to go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Mr Chow offers good asian dishes in a mo ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 20, 2016

Mr Chow offers good asian dishes in a modern western fashionable entourage. Pricy but worth it for a special occasion.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

I was very disappointed with my dining e ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 19, 2016

I was very disappointed with my dining experience at Mr Chow. The waiter seemed put off that we were going to order from the Dine LA menu. The food was mediocre and had no flavors, unlike my previous meals at Mr. Chow. The crab claw - tasted too fishy and had a strange taste. The chicken Joanna was tough and the outside breaking was mushy. The beef with oyster sauce and the squab with lettuce wrap were acceptable. Overall, I was looking forward to an amazing delectable meal at Mr Chow, but was disappointed with what was served. I am going to pass on the Dine LA menu and maybe the other food is better.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3

the best crispy duck we have ever had an ...

 
 (London)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

the best crispy duck we have ever had and the rest of the food was delicious. good for celebrity spotting if you are into that.

Tags: fit for foodies, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value3

Amazing as always. Mr. Chow is always ou ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

Amazing as always. Mr. Chow is always our favorite. The chicken satay & drunken fish never cease to amaze! Love! Love! Love! X

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I have been to Mr. Chow, in a few other ...

 
 (Orange County)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

I have been to Mr. Chow, in a few other locations and the LA location was not up to par. The food quality and presentation left a lot to be desired for the price points of the food. The service was great and they took care of us well. If you are looking for a good place to people watch and be taken care of, this is a great spot. If you are looking for top quality food, there are places much better than this. I went there for my anniversary, it didn't live up to my previous experience of Mr. Chow.

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

Amazing food !! Never disappointed whe ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

Amazing food !! Never disappointed when I come here.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Amazing service!! They have my favorite ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

Amazing service!! They have my favorite #Mezcal and the experience of the food!! Wow!!

Order Mezcal El Silencio. The best!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This is not my first time going to Mr ch ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 7, 2016

This is not my first time going to Mr chow first time was awesome the food was really good, otherwise the second time which this one the food was very very bad I had a stomachache right after, the food was undercooked not fresh and tastless I've tried couple of different orders only one of them was ok not good.. The beef, shrimp and the seabass was extremely bad it's not worth a dollar I'm very unpleasant it was out Eid holiday I wanted t spend my night somewhere nice unfortunately it was a big mistake won't go there again

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service4
value3

Visiting from Dallas, Tx and Mr. Chow wa ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

Visiting from Dallas, Tx and Mr. Chow was on our list for dining out! Highly recommend! Food was delicious! The Mr Chow noodles were awesome!

Tags: special occasion, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Terrible service, cold food. Waiters wer ...

 
 (Dubai)
·Dined on June 29, 2016

Terrible service, cold food. Waiters were not motivated, didn't serve the food properly, and didn't make you feel welcome.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service1
value1

Thank you mr. Chow for a great experienc ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on June 28, 2016

Thank you mr. Chow for a great experience drove in from the Inland Empire for my 56 bday nice right excellent food we had a great time we will see you soon😊

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

Great food, great service. Wonderful as ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 28, 2016

Great food, great service. Wonderful assortment of choices, everything we tried was excellent and different in a very good way! Not ordinary in any way.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5

I gave this restaurant a 3 out of 5 beca ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 27, 2016

I gave this restaurant a 3 out of 5 because, although the food was good, it was extremely overpriced.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

I NEVER give a 5 Star rating but Saturda ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

I NEVER give a 5 Star rating but Saturday Night during Prime Time Mr Chow exceeded expectations. Go every few months and it never disappoints. Service was impeccable. Expensive ..but if you are going to drop that much cash on a meal this is the place. Special note: One of our wait team was Irish and had only been here for 3 wks.....we couldn't understand him much of the time but he was so darned CUTE and charming that it didn't much matter. Ask for "James".

Tags: romantic, special occasion, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Hard to get in and out of our table as i ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

Hard to get in and out of our table as it was flush on each side with other tables.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

We love this special place. Has to be on ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on June 22, 2016

We love this special place. Has to be on your list too.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Perhaps my expectations were way too hig ...

 
 (Orange County)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Perhaps my expectations were way too high but I thought it was ok and not that special. The food was good but nothing that would compel me to drive to Beverly Hills again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

Annual event and never disappointing it ...

 
 (Central Texas)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Annual event and never disappointing it's a must in LA

Tags: hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

We found our food came out way too soon ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

We found our food came out way too soon - we ordered and it came out straight away - we felt rushed.

I have been before however the food was not as good this time.

Tags: good for groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3
value2

Over rated. Over priced. I've eaten in a ...

 
 (Orlando)
·Dined on June 16, 2016

Over rated. Over priced. I've eaten in a lot of nice upscale restaurants and don't mind paying for good food and service. We got the squab and lettuce, zero flavor. I will not go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service3

We ordered the duck and although tasted ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on June 16, 2016

We ordered the duck and although tasted fine, was very dry which was disappointing for the price. The ribs were cold, also disappointing. We ordered glazed prawns, which were fantastic though.

Tags: hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value2

Too tight and crowded. No elbow room. V ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on June 15, 2016

Too tight and crowded. No elbow room. Very noisy and loud.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service3
value1

The best!

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on June 9, 2016

Mr. Chow is, perhaps, one of the classiest restaurants in the country with food and service to match! Great for any occasion!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I dream about the squab. And the noodles ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 6, 2016

I dream about the squab. And the noodles. And the green beans. And.....

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The chicken squab with lettuce is a must ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on June 2, 2016

The chicken squab with lettuce is a must! You can't go wrong with anything on the menu though - everything is so delicious! Cuisine perfection!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

always excellent

vip
 (Miami)
·Dined on May 31, 2016

a reliable excellent choice for me.... tops in my book

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This is one of my favorite restaurants i ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on May 25, 2016

This is one of my favorite restaurants in the world. The staff are so friendly and professional... and the food is devine. I recommend the drunken fish, the duck and pancakes, prawn toast... but honestly... everything is fabulous.

If you like a drink, try the Lychee Martinis... the best money can buy!

Enjoy and just know that if you eat there I'm jealous!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

What a wonderful experience. Food and service A++

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on May 22, 2016

My husband and I celebrated our 4th year anniversary. We heard several glowing reviews about Mr. Chow. The service was unparalleled and the food was excellent. Would definitely go there again!!!

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was outstanding. Being vegetarians ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on May 21, 2016

Food was outstanding. Being vegetarians the waiter staff offered up several choices which were fantastic. Service was also fantastic.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

We go almost every year for our annivers ...

vip
 (Orange County)
·Dined on May 20, 2016

We go almost every year for our anniversary. It is a special unique restaurant in Beverly Hills. Service is outstanding, along with the menu. Definitely fit for upscale foodies.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The service was rushed. The whole restau ...

 
 (Orange County)
·Dined on May 17, 2016

The service was rushed. The whole restaurant smelled horrible. Mr. Chows noodles were basically spaghetti with tomato sauce. Such a disappointment. The crispy beef and the duck were delicious. Seating was weird. We had wires tangled up all over our feet for the table lighting. I guess the only way I'd go back would be to pick up a few dishes for take out.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service2
value2

i have been going to MR. chow since you ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on May 16, 2016

i have been going to MR. chow since you opened and love it .

Tags: great for lunch, late-night find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Awful radio music, which unfortunately d ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on May 16, 2016

Awful radio music, which unfortunately doesn't feel coherent with the style of the restaurant. Great food

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5

I've been dining at Mr. Chow since the m ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on May 15, 2016

I've been dining at Mr. Chow since the mid-70s. I've been to the original location in London and the ones in New York (now there are two) and in Beverly Hills. It's my favorite place to celebrate my birthday. I just ask the Brinks truck to park nearby so I can pay. Seriously, it's not an inexpensive restaurant, but I'll say this....it's been in business since the 70s, still crowded all the time and they haven't really changed the menu or the ambience since then, so that's saying something. It's not really classical Chinese food and it's all unbelievably delicious. UN.BE.LIEV.AB.LY!!!!! Best Beijing Duck I've ever had. Some of the extraordinary dishes are:

Minced Squab in Lettuce Leaves, Mr. Chow's Noodles, Nine Season Prawns, Crispy Beef, Appetizer Scallops, and as I mentioned above Beijing Duck (they might still call it Peking Duck). The presentation is superb, the service divine. What can I say, it's worth every penny. Four of us went there for my brother's birthday and it was, with a $75 bottle of wine and drinks all around, about $550.00 with tip and worth it. Worth it! It's an experience. Thank you Mr. Chow.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

I loved every second at Mr Chows. Servic ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on May 14, 2016

I loved every second at Mr Chows. Service was great, food was amazing and it's well worth the price for the entire experience. We were there 3 hours and could have stayed longer.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, late-night find, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.