About Mr Chow - Beverly Hills

344 N. Camden Dr.
Beverly Hills, CA 90210
View Larger Map

Opened in 1974 by world famous restaurateur Michael Chow. MR CHOW started in London in 1968 and continues to enjoy generations of devoted clients from art, fashion, music, and entertainment. Art, celebrity and superb cuisine all blend together in this stylish restaurant in the heart of Beverly Hills, it has always been an institution for Hollywood’s biggest stars and its loyal clients.
The American Academy of Hospitality Sciences recently awarded MR CHOW the 5 Star Diamond Award for excellence, service, and cuisine. Our Executive Chefs are one of most respected chefs in Chinese cuisine. MR CHOW is a combination of old authentic Beijing and Original Recipes. Chicken Satay, MR CHOW Noodles and Ma Mignon all were created by our passionate and skillful chefs. Also on the Menu is one of the best prepared Beijing Duck in the world.
“Mr. Chow defies all odds and remains an impossibly chic spot that still draws the rich, famous and well-heeled decades after." - Los Angeles Times

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Chinese

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 12:00pm - 2:30pm; Dinner: Monday - Sunday: 6:00pm - 11:30pm

Cross Street:
Wilshire & Brighton Way

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(310) 278-9911

Website:
http://www.mrchow.com/

Entertainment:
Pasta Chef demonstrates traditional Chinese hand-made noodle making nightly.

Private Party Facilities:
2 Private Rooms available 20-30 guests or full restaurant buy-out.
Call the restaurant for details.

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Entertainment, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Call the restaurant for details.

Restaurant Photos

Beijing Chicken - Mr Chow - Beverly Hills, Beverly Hills, CA
Dressed Dungeness Crab - Mr Chow - Beverly Hills, Beverly Hills, CA
Mr Chow Noodles - Mr Chow - Beverly Hills, Beverly Hills, CA
Drunken Fish - Mr Chow - Beverly Hills, Beverly Hills, CA
Gamblers Duck - Mr Chow - Beverly Hills, Beverly Hills, CA
Mixed Berry Tart - Mr Chow - Beverly Hills, Beverly Hills, CA
Exotic Mushrooms - Mr Chow - Beverly Hills, Beverly Hills, CA
Crispy Duck Roll - Mr Chow - Beverly Hills, Beverly Hills, CA
Velvet Chicken - Mr Chow - Beverly Hills, Beverly Hills, CA
Berry Tart - Mr Chow - Beverly Hills, Beverly Hills, CA
The Box - Mr Chow - Beverly Hills, Beverly Hills, CA
Chicken Dumpling - Mr Chow - Beverly Hills, Beverly Hills, CA
Fish Joanna - Mr Chow - Beverly Hills, Beverly Hills, CA
Green Prawns - Mr Chow - Beverly Hills, Beverly Hills, CA
Chicken Lettuce Wraps - Mr Chow - Beverly Hills, Beverly Hills, CA
Filet Mignon - Mr Chow - Beverly Hills, Beverly Hills, CA
Shrimp Toast Gambi - Mr Chow - Beverly Hills, Beverly Hills, CA
Chocolat Mousse Cake - Mr Chow - Beverly Hills, Beverly Hills, CA
Vegetables - Mr Chow - Beverly Hills, Beverly Hills, CA
Spare Ribs - Mr Chow - Beverly Hills, Beverly Hills, CA
Chicken satay - Mr Chow - Beverly Hills, Beverly Hills, CA
Shrimp w/honey roasted walnuts - Mr Chow - Beverly Hills, Beverly Hills, CA
Veuve Clicquot - Mr Chow - Beverly Hills, Beverly Hills, CA
Pekin Duck - Mr Chow - Beverly Hills, Beverly Hills, CA
Lichee Martini - Mr Chow - Beverly Hills, Beverly Hills, CA
4 Colour Cauliflower - Mr Chow - Beverly Hills, Beverly Hills, CA

Specials

New Year's Eve Special Menus & Offers

Saturday, December 31, 2016

Specials

New Year's Eve Special Menus & Offers

Saturday, December 31, 2016

Details

Come Celebrate the new year with us! 2 Seatings starting @ 6PM & 9PM. Semi Prix Menu - 1st seating $95pp /2nd Seating $250pp with live music, balloons, and novelties.

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Mr Chow - Beverly Hills Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.3

ambience

4.2

value

3.6

noise

Moderate

74% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (20)
Hot Spot (18)
Good for a Date (16)
See All
People Watching (16)
Romantic (16)
Fit for Foodies (13)
Good for Birthdays (11)
Fun (11)
Creative Cuisine (11)
Business Meals (10)
Good for Anniversaries (10)
Authentic (9)
Good for Groups (9)
Family Style (9)
Worth the Drive (8)
Tasting Menu (7)
Notable Wine List (7)
Neighborhood Gem (7)
Historic (6)
Cozy (5)
Handcrafted Cocktails (5)
Pre/post Theatre (4)
Vibrant Bar Scene (4)
Modern Decor (4)
Casual (4)
Great for Lunch (3)
Bar Seating (3)
Comfort Food (3)
Healthy (3)
Private Room (2)
Outstanding Value (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Spicy (2)
Great for Brunch (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Vegan (1)
Seasonal (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Quiet Conversation (1)
Sort By:
S
1079 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Portion too small for the price. Cliente ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined 2 days ago

Portion too small for the price. Clientele not very classy. Food very good though and maître d' very professional, some waiters need to be nicer.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

Worst food, almost no service. Renovatio ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined 3 days ago

Worst food, almost no service. Renovation is long overdue. Beautiful lilies in the entrance.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service2
value1

Love this place! Amazing food ! Service ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined 6 days ago

Love this place! Amazing food !

Service was amazing!!

Went for Hubby's Birthday.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Business Meals, Romantic, Casual, Good for a Date, Great for Lunch, Comfort Food, Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Outstanding Value, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Sunday Lunch, Cozy, Worth the Drive, Tasting Menu, Fit for Foodies, Modern Decor, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Rushed us through dinner, again. Won't r ...

 
 (Miami)·Dined 6 days ago

Rushed us through dinner, again. Won't return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1

we had a party of 5 waiters were great a ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on December 3, 2016

we had a party of 5 waiters were great and food was great. good place to people watch.

Tags: Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Tasty food. Fun place.

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on December 2, 2016

Tasty food. Fun place.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great restaurant and i would love to co ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on December 2, 2016

Great restaurant and i would love to come back again soon

Tags: Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Healthy, People Watching, Fun, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Timeless classic yet so current. Food, S ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on December 2, 2016

Timeless classic yet so current. Food, Service, Design, Ambiance ALL lead to an exceptional EXPERIENCE. Have never-ever had a bad or average experience...ALWAYS Memorable and Exceptional. And AlL MR Chows deliver at this level - London, 57th NYC, Malibu, BHills. Thank You. JKS

Tags: Hot Spot, People Watching, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Duck was dry, soup only luke warm, wine ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on December 1, 2016

Duck was dry, soup only luke warm, wine tasted stale, waiter was patronizing to my female client, food not brought at the same time - no offer of recompense or bill deduction

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1
value1

The one and only and still the best! Fo ...

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on November 30, 2016

The one and only and still the best! Food is so excellent and the service outstanding

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great Food and ambiance! I always go he ...

 
 (México)·Dined on November 24, 2016

Great Food and ambiance!

I always go here when in town!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, People Watching, Good for Birthdays, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for a Date, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food is just ok. I wouldn't rush to ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on November 24, 2016

The food is just ok. I wouldn't rush to go back, the waiter was very loud, he only came to check on us twice, I had to keep asking for refills. Tables are right on top of you.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value2

Best maître d' on the planet! The food i ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on November 21, 2016

Best maître d' on the planet! The food is always delicious and service top-notch.

Tags: Business Meals, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Hot Spot, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was good, but prices were not in sc ...

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on November 20, 2016

Food was good, but prices were not in scale with the portion sizes. Service was outstanding.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value2

absolutely not worth the $200 I paid for ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on November 20, 2016

absolutely not worth the $200 I paid for dinner. Annoyingly loud, could not even hear the person I was sitting across from. tables too close together - I was practically sitting on the lap of the person next to me.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

I have been going to Mr. Chows for almos ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on November 20, 2016

I have been going to Mr. Chows for almost 40 years!

Tags: People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Terrible everything. Unappetizing presen ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on November 18, 2016

Terrible everything. Unappetizing presentation of duck. Burnt pot stickers. Etc..Very annoying table situation when they are only using 1/2 of the available floorspace!? They have to pull out the tables every time someone gets up from the 30" bench seat that they pack you into like sardines.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1

I had forgotten how incredibly exquisite ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on November 17, 2016

I had forgotten how incredibly exquisite the food is there!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Service was amazing food was delicious.. ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on November 15, 2016

Service was amazing food was delicious...no complaints

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Was wonderful place we really spend good ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on November 14, 2016

Was wonderful place we really spend good time with my girlfriend in the dinner.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

great, food, service, ambiance we highly ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on November 14, 2016

great, food, service, ambiance we highly recommend it

Tags: Business Meals, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Loved this place. NY vibe in LA! Would ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on November 11, 2016

Loved this place. NY vibe in LA! Would highly recommend. Loved the champagne cart!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing, Over-the-top take on Chinese Fo ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on November 8, 2016

Amazing, Over-the-top take on Chinese Food. Caring Service. Great Bar. Some many great Dishes I don't know where to start. The Curry Chicken Puffs are to die for! Make sure you get them as one of your Appetizers. Mr. Chow's take on the Scallion Pancake is in it's unique shape and flavor. Great with a little Soy Sauce sprinkled on top. The Pot Stickers are served with a web of sauce (soy?) that connects all of the Pot Stickers. Really delicious. The Velvet Chicken is aptly named and almost melts in your mouth with a perfectly balanced mildly spicy flavor. The Crispy Beef is another stand-out entree. So many good things, bring a dozen people and try it all! Our Waiter was friendly and efficient. To top it off, we had a really nice Chocolate Cake with Gelato for dessert. I always look forward to an evening at Mr. Chows and I often pop-in for Lunch to treat myself when I'm in the neighborhood. You have to go there. You won't be disappointed.

Tags: Healthy, Historic, Family Style, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene, Authentic, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Handcrafted Cocktails, Comfort Food, Good for Birthdays, People Watching, Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Good Vegetarian Options, Notable Wine List, Bar Seating, Spicy, Neighborhood Gem, Pre/post Theatre, Vegan, Fun, Romantic, Seasonal, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Great for Lunch, Modern Decor, Happy Hour, Disabled Access
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Honestly, it is not as good as I remembe ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on October 30, 2016

Honestly, it is not as good as I remembered it to be and def not worth $400 for 2 people!! I can't even say I was full when I left. Also, they need to revamp the place. There is no privacy since the tables are all connected. You hear everyone's private convo!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value1

Mr. Chow has been an institution in Beve ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on October 27, 2016

Mr. Chow has been an institution in Beverly Hills for a long time and it still rates as one of the most outstanding restaurants in SoCal. The food is delicious and the service is outstanding. Make sure you bring your appetite as the portions are very generous . The two of us had squab and shrimp as appetizers and the fiery beef and sea bass as entrees and there was enough take-home for a second full meal. All in all, Mr. Chow is still one of the best.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Shocking meal, shocking service, dated d ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on October 25, 2016

Shocking meal, shocking service, dated decor and empty. Went her a few years ago and had a wonderful time, $25 meal anywhere else ended up costing $150, $5 per piece of chicken satay which was obviously heated up in the microwave, peanut sauce which was mucus thick, i counted 9 piece of pork in the sweet and sour pork. I wont be going back

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

Impeccable service, great ambiance, but ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on October 24, 2016

Impeccable service, great ambiance, but the food is horrible and not worth the price. I'd rather eat PF Changs or Panda Express.

Tags: Bar Seating, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service5
value1

Great selection. All is good. It gets pr ...

 
 (Miami)·Dined on October 22, 2016

Great selection. All is good. It gets pretty busy after 8 pm

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Food was very authentic and tasted great ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 22, 2016

Food was very authentic and tasted great. Ask for a private table rather than the tables in a big row. Crowded and unable to get up to go to the restroom once seated in the row. Expensive but terrific. As good as any I have had in the US.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Food was cold , bland, and poorly presen ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on October 16, 2016

Food was cold , bland, and poorly presented. Server wasn't helpful in answering questions or making recommendations. Seating was very tight and uncomfortable. $20 for a bottle of sparkling badoit water is ridiculous. PF Chang's is better in my opinion. Don't ever plan on going again

Tags: Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service2
value1

The best thing on the menu was the walnu ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on October 16, 2016

The best thing on the menu was the walnut shrimp and the drinks. I went with a group of 4 and we didn't like anything else.

Tags: Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service5
value1

Great food. Great service. Wide selectio ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on October 11, 2016

Great food. Great service. Wide selection of food. Definitely worth the price. Will be returning

Tags: Fun, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Family Style, Cozy, Late-night Find, Casual, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Not sure why this place gets a bad rep s ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on October 1, 2016

Not sure why this place gets a bad rep sometimes. It was great. The food is great quality, the duck is amazing, soup dumplings are great and so was the beef dish that we got. The only knock on the place is that the tables are really close together, but it also gives it a nice feel. The chef came out halfway through our meal and made hand pulled noodles in front of the whole place, which was really fun and interesting to watch

Tags: Modern Decor, People Watching, Authentic, Family Style, Tasting Menu, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

Bellied up to the bar with the best bart ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 30, 2016

Bellied up to the bar with the best bartender in North America

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I always have a good time at Mr.Chow. Th ...

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on September 27, 2016

I always have a good time at Mr.Chow. The food is pretty tasty and tad overpriced but you pay for the name and atmosphere. I recommend for a special occasion or get together with friends.

Tags: Fun, Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was outstanding! The wait staff wer ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on September 25, 2016

Food was outstanding! The wait staff were on point, trained very well!

Tags: Special Occasion, Authentic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always have fun at Mr. Chow! Patrick and ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on September 25, 2016

Always have fun at Mr. Chow! Patrick and Yarda are fabulous!

Tags: People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

Wasn't happy with the restaurant at all. ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on September 20, 2016

Wasn't happy with the restaurant at all. Restaurant wasn't crowded yet they still sat people right next each other. Instead of having a nice romantic dinner we might have well just had dinner with the people sat right on top of us. Food was fair at best. Duck was small and burnt. Poor wine selection. Would not recommend. Overpriced as well!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value1

Food was amazing. We order the short rib ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on September 18, 2016

Food was amazing. We order the short ribs and squab with lettuce as the appetizer. Gamblers Duck wasn't my favorite. Ma mignon on was ok. Fried rice was also good. The bartenders and waiters were on point.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Awesome ambience... Great food.. Great s ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 18, 2016

Awesome ambience... Great food.. Great service love the experience

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.