About Mr Chow - Beverly Hills

344 N. Camden Dr.
Beverly Hills, CA 90210
View Larger Map

Opened in 1974 by world famous restaurateur Michael Chow. MR CHOW started in London in 1968 and continues to enjoy generations of devoted clients from art, fashion, music, and entertainment. Art, celebrity and superb cuisine all blend together in this stylish restaurant in the heart of Beverly Hills, it has always been an institution for Hollywood’s biggest stars and its loyal clients.
The American Academy of Hospitality Sciences recently awarded MR CHOW the 5 Star Diamond Award for excellence, service, and cuisine. Our Executive Chefs are one of most respected chefs in Chinese cuisine. MR CHOW is a combination of old authentic Beijing and Original Recipes. Chicken Satay, MR CHOW Noodles and Ma Mignon all were created by our passionate and skillful chefs. Also on the Menu is one of the best prepared Beijing Duck in the world.
“Mr. Chow defies all odds and remains an impossibly chic spot that still draws the rich, famous and well-heeled decades after." - Los Angeles Times

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Chinese

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 12:00pm - 2:30pm; Dinner: Monday - Sunday: 6:00pm - 11:30pm

Cross Street:
Wilshire & Brighton Way

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(310) 278-9911

Website:
http://www.mrchow.com/

Entertainment:
Pasta Chef demonstrates traditional Chinese hand-made noodle making nightly.

Private Party Facilities:
2 Private Rooms available 20-30 guests or full restaurant buy-out.
Call the restaurant for details.

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Entertainment, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Call the restaurant for details.

Restaurant Photos

Beijing Chicken
Dressed Dungeness Crab
Mr Chow Noodles
Drunken Fish
Gamblers Duck
Mixed Berry Tart
Exotic Mushrooms
Crispy Duck Roll
Velvet Chicken
Berry Tart
The Box
Chicken Dumpling
Fish Joanna
Green Prawns
Chicken Lettuce Wraps
Filet Mignon
Shrimp Toast Gambi
Chocolat Mousse Cake
Vegetables
Spare Ribs
Chicken satay
Shrimp w/honey roasted walnuts
Veuve Clicquot
Pekin Duck
Lichee Martini
4 Colour Cauliflower

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Mr Chow - Beverly Hills Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4.3

ambience

4.2

value

3.5

noise

Moderate

74% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (48)
Hot Spot (36)
Fit for Foodies (34)
See All
Romantic (30)
Good for Groups (14)
Notable Wine List (13)
Neighborhood Gem (13)
Vibrant Bar Scene (7)
Late-night Find (6)
Good for a Date (6)
Great for Lunch (5)
People Watching (5)
Fun (4)
Creative Cuisine (4)
Great for Brunch (4)
Good for Birthdays (3)
Business Meals (3)
Family Style (3)
Kid-friendly (3)
Tasting Menu (2)
Scenic View (2)
Outstanding Value (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Cozy (1)
Spicy (1)
Authentic (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Worth the Drive (1)
Historic (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Good for Anniversaries (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Casual (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Healthy (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Sort By:
Newest
1040 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Wasn't happy with the restaurant at all. ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined 5 days ago

Wasn't happy with the restaurant at all. Restaurant wasn't crowded yet they still sat people right next each other. Instead of having a nice romantic dinner we might have well just had dinner with the people sat right on top of us. Food was fair at best. Duck was small and burnt. Poor wine selection. Would not recommend. Overpriced as well!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value1

Food was amazing. We order the short rib ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on September 18, 2016

Food was amazing. We order the short ribs and squab with lettuce as the appetizer. Gamblers Duck wasn't my favorite. Ma mignon on was ok. Fried rice was also good. The bartenders and waiters were on point.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Awesome ambience... Great food.. Great s ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on September 18, 2016

Awesome ambience... Great food.. Great service love the experience

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Love this restaurant! Especially loved ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on September 18, 2016

Love this restaurant! Especially loved the squid ink rice noodles and green prawns! Delicious food!

Tags: Fun, People Watching, Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

As always a very special experience.

 
 (London)
·Dined on September 15, 2016

As always a very special experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Always exceptional!! Mr. Chow has never ...

 
 (Virginia)
·Dined on September 11, 2016

Always exceptional!! Mr. Chow has never disappointed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This establishment does not honour it's ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 11, 2016

This establishment does not honour it's confirmed reservations. We arrived at 19:55 for a 20:00 reservation. After checking in, we were left hanging around. When I asked at the front of desk we were told it would be at least another 30 mins as they were busy and everyone wanted a table!

What is the point of making a reservation at this establishment?

We left and had a lovely meal next door at DOMA

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

Amazing service and great food . Also fo ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 11, 2016

Amazing service and great food . Also found in comforting and very classy

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Business Meals, Great for Brunch, Family Style, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Mr. Chow's is a staple in Beverly Hills ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

Mr. Chow's is a staple in Beverly Hills delivering consistently good food in a very stylish atmosphere.

The food is always good and the service is always great. One of the best places in the LA area.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Very expensive and not that special. Me ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on September 9, 2016

Very expensive and not that special. Menu does not explain cost of three different pre piex menu very well. Will not be going back

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value1

The food is always great, I have to visi ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on September 5, 2016

The food is always great, I have to visit every time I am in L.A. The wait time for a reservation was unacceptable

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Spicy, Special Occasion, Authentic, Hot Spot, Comfort Food, Creative Cuisine, Fun, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value5

Great Beverly Hills experience but not a ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

Great Beverly Hills experience but not a lot of food for the money spent. You have to pay to play in BH.Really loud and tables are too close together for intimate dining.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value2

Over rated. Expensive. Tasteless. New Y ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 31, 2016

Over rated. Expensive. Tasteless. New York location was better.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value1

Impeccable service, food overpriced and ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 30, 2016

Impeccable service, food overpriced and not much of it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value2

Outstanding food, exelent service & a mu ...

 
 (London)
·Dined on August 28, 2016

Outstanding food, exelent service & a must visit if your in Beverly Hills

Highly recommended... !!!

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Overpriced for the smallest portions of ...

vip
 (Miami)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

Overpriced for the smallest portions of ordinary food, I have ever seen.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value1

First time in LA and my friends and I ha ...

 
·Dined on August 26, 2016

First time in LA and my friends and I had heard about this restaurant and it was on our list of must do. The menu was a little intimidating at first but the waiter "politely " asked if we would let him order for us. Of course we were very skeptical but everything turned out to be very good. We were there for lunch and we had the option of four appetitizers and four entrees. Even with a vegetarian the waiter was able to please all of us. The chili sauce also made everything taste really good.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Sunday Lunch, Open Kitchen, Tasting Menu, Fun, Creative Cuisine, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

The place is so tight

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on August 23, 2016

The place is so tight

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4

Food was good service for lunch was brut ...

vip
 (Orange County)
·Dined on August 22, 2016

Food was good service for lunch was brutally slow. Two of the guests had to leave before meal was over.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2

Come for the experience--don't come for ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on August 17, 2016

Come for the experience--don't come for the price or the wuality of the food.

Tags: Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

I show up to a restaurant on time out of ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on August 16, 2016

I show up to a restaurant on time out of respect and courtesy from my end and my party's end. In return i expect to be seated on time, not 30 mins late. Leaving aside the long delay, I received attitude from one of the hostesses saying, "you don't HAVE to wait," and I asked her if she was insinuating that we leave. This is completely appalling and quite frankly, rude. Needless to say, it is not my first time in a fine dining restaurant and i do understand that not all people leave their tables on time; however, there were over 20 people waiting to be seated and everyone was frustrated. Clearly something went wrong tonight. Waiters and servers were late, reckless and weren't at all friendly.

I would have appreciated a call even if it was 5 mins before my reservation informing me of the delay the entire restaurant had. My friend was seated 10:45 for a 10:00 dinner.

I believe letting people stand for that amount of time in a small space is avoidable, if proper precautions were taken.

All in all, tonight's dinner was one of the worst Mr Chow experiences. And i've had a fair share.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service1

The duck is simply spectacular, overall ...

 
 (México)
·Dined on August 16, 2016

The duck is simply spectacular, overall the food is great and the cocktails and wine list are great

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was one of the worst expietences i ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

This was one of the worst expietences i have ever had

They were rude

It was so over crowded that you couldnt even walk around

It was loud

And the worst service ever!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

So expensive Small portions Tight quar ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

So expensive

Small portions

Tight quarters.

Really left unhappy.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service2

It's usually a must do when I come to LA ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

It's usually a must do when I come to LA. It fell short this time. Our waiter was very nice and good but the food was just ok. A celebrity sighting usually makes it all worthwhile but we were even disappointed with that! Won't be in my LA restaurant list next time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4

Mr. Chows is always the best - just retu ...

vip
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

Mr. Chows is always the best - just returned that morning from a trip to Beijing and Tokyo - could not wait to eat my favorite Chinese Mr. Chow. In Vegas, NYC, LA you have to go and have a masterful sampling of the delicacies they offer. We had Drunkin fish, Pot stickers, Peking Duck, Chicken Satay, Prawns with cream sauce and his famous noodles. All a AAA +

Captain Christian is the greatest of all time - Smooth - Professional - Kind - Knowledgeable and always one step ahead of the game.

Dinning at Mr. Chows Beverly Hills is a Sensational experience.

Thank you!

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very good!

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on August 11, 2016

Very good!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Always delicious and great experience

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 9, 2016

Always delicious and great experience

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I was introducing a business associate t ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on August 8, 2016

I was introducing a business associate to Mr. Chows and chose to allow the sever to select the courses to be served. His choices were the best in how well they complimented each other, the taste is always the greatest, fresh, best quality, and sauces you want the secret of. My guest was impressed with this as well as seeing the Chef make Chows noodles fresh at the table and we enjoyed the dinner very well. The staff and management are very friendly and accommodating.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Over priced food, tony portions, restaur ...

vip
 (Miami)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

Over priced food, tony portions, restaurant isn't that nice inside compared to other places in LA.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1

The service was amazing.

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

The service was amazing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Dining was a good experience. I enjoyed ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on August 4, 2016

Dining was a good experience. I enjoyed the fine dining!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

horrible and greasy, would not recommend ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on August 3, 2016

horrible and greasy, would not recommend it.. felt sick all night long

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service1
value1

Great like always !

 
 (London)
·Dined on August 1, 2016

Great like always !

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

My wife commented the food wasn't that g ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

My wife commented the food wasn't that good. Her Lobster, "It had no flavor." My Trout had "little taste." Rice was good.

We wanted 7 or 7:30 p.m. reservations. Open Table said only 6:30 p.m. was available. Note the restaurant had plenty of tables available throughout our stay even when we left the restaurant at 8:30 p.m.

We won't be using Open Table again because they can't get the reservation times we request.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value2

Try the fried lobster...fantastic.

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

Try the fried lobster...fantastic.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I enjoyed the atmosphere! The service wa ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

I enjoyed the atmosphere! The service was great upon arrival and entrance. The staff was extremely helpful and friendly. My lobster was not the best I've ever had but still good. I would still recommend the dish. The shrimp roll appetizer was quite delicious. I was not a fan of the Mr. Chow noodles. They were very bland. I would recommend the establishment to friends for dates or a girls' night out! Be prepared to spend at least $200 for two.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

It was Restaurant Week LA. $49.00 per p ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

It was Restaurant Week LA. $49.00 per person. It was definitively not a bargain. We were not given a special Restaurant Week LA menu. The menu was obviously a regular menu with print so small it was impossible for me to read in the low light. This is not the first time I have dined at Mr. Chows but it was the first time during a restaurant week.

I am sure Mr. Chow is not expecting those guests Friday night to return so, who cares.

I ordered a lemon tart that was mediocre with a soggy crust. Much to my surprise we were charged $20.00 extra.

Why would I want to send a private note to Mr. Chow when it was obvious their intent.

"Ciao" Mr. how

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value2

Second time we ate there this week, as ...

vip
 (Dallas)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

Second time we ate there this week, as my daughter wanted to eat here. We had an excellent waiter, Patrick, who chose our entire family style menu. It was a wonderful dining experience from the Rosé champagne to begin our meal to the final bite. The food is prepared very well and very creatively. Our highlights included the glazed shrimp with walnuts and Mr. Chow's favorite dish with chicken and calves liver. We look forward to the next time we are in LA so we can dine here again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

This place is way over priced for the qu ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on July 28, 2016

This place is way over priced for the quality that you get and the lack of presentation of the dishes. We have eaten at many, many restaurants in Boston, NYC, and San Francisco and we have to remark that this one is just not worth going to.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.