Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.64mi
  2. Distance: 0.90mi
  3. Distance: 0.91mi
  4. Distance: 0.96mi
  1. Distance: 0.64mi
  2. Distance: 0.90mi
  3. Distance: 0.91mi
  4. Distance: 0.96mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.64mi
  2. Distance: 0.90mi
  3. Distance: 0.91mi
  4. Distance: 0.96mi
  1. Distance: 0.64mi
  2. Distance: 0.90mi
  3. Distance: 0.91mi
  4. Distance: 0.96mi

About Mozelle's Fresh Southern Bistro

Welcome to Mozelle’s Fresh Southern Bistro, a downtown Winston-Salem restaurant. The cuisine at Mozelle's is southern-inspired and comprised of the finest and freshest ingredients. In addition to great food, patrons enjoy our cozy and lively atmosphere. Come for lunch or dinner with friends and family, or reserve our open-air covered patio and allow Mozelle's to host your events. For parties larger than 6 and special occasions please call the restaurant.

878 W. 4th Street
Winston-Salem, NC 27101
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Southern, American, Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:00am - 2:00pm;
Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm,
Dinner: Friday 5:00pm - 10:00pm
Saturday: 11:00am - 10:00pm Serving Brunch from 11:00am to 3:00pm and Dinner Menu 3:00pm - 10:00pm
Sunday: 11:00am - 9:00pm Serving Brunch from 11:00am to 3:00pm and Dinner Menu 3:00pm - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
Brookstown Avenue

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(336) 703-5400

Website:
http://www.mozelles.com/

Catering:
Private Parties at Your Home or Office
We will happily bring our yummy food to you and send our waitstaff to serve your guests. Call to schedule your next event.

Parking Details:
For dinner diners there is also a parking lot directly behind our restaurant that you may access on Burke Street in addition to street parking.

Executive Chef:
Steven McPherson

Private Party Facilities:
Private Parties at Mozelle's
Why make a mess at your home or office when you can enjoy our atmosphere and food and not have to worry about the clean-up?

On Our Covered Patio
From a small intimate gathering to a feisty celebration with 30 people, the bistro's covered patio will comfortably accommodate. Heated in the winter, cooled in the summer, and open-air for spring and fall — the patio is perfect anytime.

Reserve the Entire Restaurant
Need the royal treatment? We will close our doors to everyone else and your event can use our main dining area, covered open-air patio as well as our sidewalk seating. (70+ seats)

Private Party Contact:
Matt or Jennifer: (336) 703-5400

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, Counter Seating, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
For Special Events or for Parties more than 6, please call the restaurant and speak with a manager. Thanks!

Mozelle's Fresh Southern Bistro Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.5

value

4.4

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Neighborhood Gem (64)
Good for a Date (39)
Comfort Food (38)
See All
Casual (37)
Special Occasion (35)
Creative Cuisine (33)
Fit for Foodies (29)
Great for Outdoor Dining (28)
Cozy (28)
Good for Anniversaries (27)
Great for Lunch (24)
Local Ingredients (23)
Good for Birthdays (23)
Great for Brunch (22)
Sunday Lunch (22)
Romantic (21)
Authentic (20)
Notable Wine List (17)
Business Meals (16)
Fun (16)
Seasonal (15)
Worth the Drive (15)
Quiet Conversation (15)
Healthy (14)
Pre/post Theatre (12)
People Watching (10)
Gluten Free Options (9)
Bar Seating (8)
Open Kitchen (7)
Hot Spot (7)
Good for Groups (7)
Scenic View (6)
Organic (6)
Good Vegetarian Options (5)
Great Beer (5)
Modern Decor (4)
Vegan (4)
Kid-friendly (4)
Tasting Menu (4)
Family Style (3)
Quick Bite (3)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Spicy (2)
Tapas (2)
Disabled Access (1)
Historic (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Sort By:
S
1057 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
·Dined 2 days ago

As always, Jennifer and her team do an excellent job. Drew was a superb server, and the food was fabulous. Mozelle's has a very special place in my heart: it was the last restaurant that I took my father to before he passed away. He loved to sit at the bar, because he could see the kitchen at work.

Thank you again for another great meal, and another great memory.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, People Watching, Neighborhood Gem, Fun, Hot Spot, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined 5 days ago

Mozelle's is a Winston-Salem staple for all of our friends. It's always a great dining experience whether we go for brunch Sunday morning or for a nice Saturday night out.

Tags: Business Meals, Great for Lunch, Comfort Food, Sunday Lunch, Casual, Notable Wine List, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined 6 days ago

Missile's never fails my expectation. They saw me two nights in a row this weekend.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
·Dined 6 days ago

We had a lovely dinner on Friday evening. Our waitress was great and so was our dinner. I recommend this restaurant often.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Quiet Conversation, Great for Lunch, Healthy, Business Meals, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Miami)·Dined on August 9, 2017

Second time at Mozelle's; food and service were excellent as before. Will definitely return.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on August 7, 2017

Great food and service! A nice variety of choices all of which are suitable for Foodies.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 6, 2017

We hit a bad night. The chicken and mac and cheese are delicious.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value4

 
·Dined on August 3, 2017

The firecracker salmon is my fave😀

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on August 2, 2017

Usually one of my favorites, but must've gone on an off night. The inside is small anyway, which is great in my opinion, but tonight the air was really smoky, as if something had burned and they couldn't get it cleared. My eyes were stinging. Speaking of burning...I ordered tomato pie (delicious), which came served on a pile of cheese grits. The grits had a hard layer that had burned, leaving the grits mostly inedible with the charred taste throughout. Not sure if that was the intended outcome, but I wasn't a fan. However, every other meal here has been fabulous, and I recommend Mozelle's wholeheartedly.

Tags: Comfort Food, Local Ingredients, Great for Brunch, Great Beer, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Casual, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, People Watching, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on August 2, 2017

We had an ethereal, amazing meal from start to finish. The food was top-notch and the service was equally outstanding. Great wine list, wonderfully wide selection of appetizers, salads, and entrees. Their fresh fish of the day was so delicious and the tomato pie (a classic summer staple) was incredible.

Tags: Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, Scenic View, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on August 1, 2017

We dined at Moselle's during the National Black Theater Festival. We had a great meal and no problem getting out in time for our evening theater performance. We were seated on the covered patio which was very comfortable (the air conditioning inside the main restaurant was a little chilly for our tastes). Loved the food - plenty of great choices. Would definitely go back.

Tags: Authentic, Organic, Fun, Casual, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on July 30, 2017

Had a nice anniversaries celebration with a Sunday brunch with family. The "Go Back to Bed" breakfast sandwich was good but it was missing the croissant and instead was served on a brioche type bun with no explanation why the change from the menu. Bloody Mary was really tasty.

Tags: Comfort Food, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on July 29, 2017

As new residents of the Winston Salem area, this was our first visit to Mozelle's. We were not disappointed! My husband had the meatloaf and I had the tomato pie. Both were wonderful, and we definitely will return.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on July 29, 2017

We LOVE Mozelle's! We went there for brunch to celebrate my birthday and everyone loved their food! Will definitely go back!!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Cozy, Casual, Good for a Date, Fun, Good for Birthdays, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on July 26, 2017

Excellent food and service. Great restaurant for a first date.

Tags: Business Meals, Special Occasion, Seasonal, Healthy, Worth the Drive, Cozy, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Authentic, People Watching, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on July 26, 2017

These guys are very friendly. It's a small restaurant and everything is cooked fresh. Fresh catch was fantastic. Waiter I could tell was new but was enthusiastic. It has great outdoor seating for people watching on the edge of town. Good atmosphere for a date and everything I have eaten there has been good to great.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on July 25, 2017

I know I can count on Mozelle's to deliver the goods. I love their food and the service is spot on. There is not one single time that I have been disappointed, and I am a regular.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients, Bar Seating, Casual, People Watching, Creative Cuisine, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on July 23, 2017

First time here and it was delicious!
We will be returning for sure!

Tags: Fun, Casual, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on July 22, 2017

Great food, very reasonable pricing. On of my favorite brunch spots in Winston Salem area.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on July 21, 2017

The fried pickles are a must and I love their collards. My steak was extremely overcooked (as was my fish the last time I was there - super rubbery) but generally their food is great so I hope those two times were flukes. I appreciate that they label gluten free dishes.

Tags: Comfort Food, Good for a Date, Good Vegetarian Options, Gluten Free Options, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value4

 
·Dined on July 21, 2017

Loved it! The only negative thing I have to say is in regards to the chef, he was extremely rude to our waitress. It was 5:00 and they were opening up for dinner and she asked him what the special was for tonight and he got mad at her for asking. The kitchen is located right behind the seating, so I found it very rude and unprofessional of the chef to act that way in his restaurant. The food was great, however.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on July 19, 2017

I've been going to Mozelles for some time now. It just keep getting better.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Scenic View, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

vip
 (London)·Dined on July 18, 2017

Outstanding food, great service! This was an excellent surprise to find in a small suburban/rural area.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on July 16, 2017

Wonderful creative takes of Southern cuisine...and we were so delighted when our server offered to craft sangria for us, which turned out to be absolutely delicious!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on July 16, 2017

Third time in the past 3 months dining here and have had a different experience each time in terms of food preparation. The meals have been inconsistent - some dishes excellent while others mediocre and disappointing. It may be different staff in the kitchen - hope they will do better as would like to make Mozelle's a frequent dining choice

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service4
value2

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on July 13, 2017

The food was excellent as was the service. Highly recommended.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on July 13, 2017

Been here several times. The tomatoe pie was overdone (burnt) and the collards had much more kick than usual. A touch disappointed in one of my typical go to places for a business lunch.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

vip
 (Richmond)·Dined on July 11, 2017

Restaurant was smoky from the cooking so you left smelling like the food. The food was so-so. I had the tomato pie which had been reheated and burnt on top. The service was not good. We sat 20 minutes before ordering and then we had to ask another waitress to take our order. At the end, to top off our birthday celebration, the hostess asked us to move so she could use our table for the next reservation coming in. We just left! I would not recommend unless you want horrible service, ok food prepared ahead of time, and come home needing your clothes dry cleaned and a good shower to get rid of the cooking smells.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value3

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on July 9, 2017

Best food in Winston Salem. Small restaurant , but great setting.

Tags: Romantic, Casual, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on July 8, 2017

Food was excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on July 5, 2017

Best greens & mac&cheese! Food and service; superb!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Business Meals, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date, Healthy, Casual, Neighborhood Gem, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on July 2, 2017

Great atmosphere and very friendly wait staff!
Will diffently return!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on July 1, 2017

Found this place during a quick weekend visit and had a fantastic meal. Great food great ambiance.

Tags: Seasonal, Neighborhood Gem, Gluten Free Options, Comfort Food, Great for Outdoor Dining, Organic, Healthy, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on June 30, 2017

The food was excellent and the service was as well. My only recommendation is that they should offer some more main stream beers and wines. Not everyone likes craft beer. I thought the wines were a bit pricey. Other than that, it was a fun evening!

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Houston)·Dined on June 30, 2017

We were visiting the area for our kid's summer program, finding restaurants based on location and reviews. The food isn't amazing (we're from Los Angeles and Houston) - but the service was great and ambiance is quaint. It's definitely reflective of the small town vibe.

Tags: Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on June 28, 2017

We are NEVER disappointed when we come here!!!! WE had the standard TOMATO PIE...and tried the special of crab cakes that night....was amazing...packed with crab. WE also tried an appetizer...first time...had the spring rolls....DElicious!!!

Tags: Worth the Drive, People Watching, Cozy, Neighborhood Gem, Pre/post Theatre, Casual, Romantic, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on June 28, 2017

Fantastic lunch! I always love experiencing Mozelle's with friends, for business, or a date. Thanks for the great service and divine food!

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on June 27, 2017

Food was amazing. Touring Wake Forest University and wanted great food but in a casual atmosphere. Mozelle's couldn't have been more perfect. Shrimp and grits for me and Asian bbq ribs for my son were out of this world good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on June 27, 2017

Food was very good. Great service! Parking was a bit of a headache but just allow yourself a few extra minutes to park.

Tags: Comfort Food, Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Casual, Great for Lunch, Seasonal, Sunday Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Outdoor Dining, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on June 26, 2017

I had reserved a table for 7:30 p.m., asking on my Open Table reservation for a table in a quiet area and mentioning we were celebrating a special birthday. We arrived at 7:20 and were told that "our" table was still occupied so we would have to wait. Ok, happy to wait as we were early, and are always happy to wait for the right table. Twenty-five minutes later the hostess took us to a table that had been sitting empty for the entire time we were there--right next to two extremely loud men. It was, quite probably, the loudest table possible . . . and if we were to have to have that table, why make us wait 25 minutes? And, I might as well not have written that we were celebrating a special birthday either--bad table, long wait with no apologies, and no mention at all of the birthday. We expect better from restaurants.
Note: our server was good--attentive, though we could not hear him given that the men next to us were mostly shouting. It was the hostess whose service was sub-par. And the fact that no one, apparently, read the requests on the Open Table reservation. Or cared.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.