About Mozelle's Fresh Southern Bistro

878 W. 4th Street
Winston-Salem, NC 27101
View Larger Map

Welcome to Mozelle’s Fresh Southern Bistro, a downtown Winston-Salem restaurant. The cuisine at Mozelle's is southern-inspired and comprised of the finest and freshest ingredients. In addition to great food, patrons enjoy our cozy and lively atmosphere. Come for lunch or dinner with friends and family, or reserve our open-air covered patio and allow Mozelle's to host your events. For parties larger than 6 and special occasions please call the restaurant.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Southern, American, Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:00am - 2:00pm;
Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm,
Dinner: Friday 5:00pm - 10:00pm
Saturday: 11:00am - 10:00pm Serving Brunch from 11:00am to 3:00pm and Dinner Menu 3:00pm - 10:00pm
Sunday: 11:00am - 9:00pm Serving Brunch from 11:00am to 3:00pm and Dinner Menu 3:00pm - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
Brookstown Avenue

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(336) 703-5400

Website:
http://www.mozelles.com/

Catering:
Private Parties at Your Home or Office
We will happily bring our yummy food to you and send our waitstaff to serve your guests. Call to schedule your next event.

Parking Details:
For dinner diners there is also a parking lot directly behind our restaurant that you may access on Burke Street in addition to street parking.

Executive Chef:
Steven McPherson

Private Party Facilities:
Private Parties at Mozelle's
Why make a mess at your home or office when you can enjoy our atmosphere and food and not have to worry about the clean-up?

On Our Covered Patio
From a small intimate gathering to a feisty celebration with 30 people, the bistro's covered patio will comfortably accommodate. Heated in the winter, cooled in the summer, and open-air for spring and fall — the patio is perfect anytime.

Reserve the Entire Restaurant
Need the royal treatment? We will close our doors to everyone else and your event can use our main dining area, covered open-air patio as well as our sidewalk seating. (70+ seats)

Private Party Contact:
Matt or Jennifer: 3367035400x

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, Counter Seating, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
For Special Events or for Parties more than 6, please call the restaurant and speak with a manager. Thanks!

Report a photo problem

Mozelle's Fresh Southern Bistro, Winston-Salem, NC
Mozelle's Fresh Southern Bistro, Winston-Salem, NC
Mozelle's Fresh Southern Bistro, Winston-Salem, NC
Mozelle's Fresh Southern Bistro, Winston-Salem, NC
Mozelle's Fresh Southern Bistro, Winston-Salem, NC
Mozelle's Fresh Southern Bistro, Winston-Salem, NC
Mozelle's Fresh Southern Bistro, Winston-Salem, NC
Mozelle's Fresh Southern Bistro, Winston-Salem, NC
Mozelle's Fresh Southern Bistro, Winston-Salem, NC
Mozelle's Fresh Southern Bistro, Winston-Salem, NC
Mozelle's Fresh Southern Bistro, Winston-Salem, NC
Mozelle's Fresh Southern Bistro, Winston-Salem, NC
Mozelle's Fresh Southern Bistro, Winston-Salem, NC
Mozelle's Fresh Southern Bistro, Winston-Salem, NC
Mozelle's Fresh Southern Bistro, Winston-Salem, NC
Mozelle's Fresh Southern Bistro, Winston-Salem, NC
Mozelle's Fresh Southern Bistro, Winston-Salem, NC

Specials

50% Off All Wines

Mondays from 11:00 AM - 9:00 PM

4 for $4 Wines by the Glass

Thursdays from 11:00 AM - 9:00 PM

Specials

50% Off All Wines

Mondays from 11:00 AM - 9:00 PM

Details

50% Off All Wines. Excludes Tax and Tip. The special applies to Bottle only on Mondays. Special valid Oct 31, 2016 - Mar 3, 2017 on Mondays from 11:00 AM - 9:00 PM.

4 for $4 Wines by the Glass

Thursdays from 11:00 AM - 9:00 PM

Details

Mozelle's offers 4 different wines for $4 by the glass. We feature different wines each week. (note, this is not a flight, each glass of wine is $4). Excludes Tax and Tip. Special valid Nov 3, 2016 - Mar 2, 2017 on Thursdays from 11:00 AM - 9:00 PM.

Mozelle's Fresh Southern Bistro Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.5

ambience

4.4

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (35)
Fit for Foodies (34)
Neighborhood Gem (34)
See All
Creative Cuisine (31)
Comfort Food (29)
Cozy (26)
Good for Anniversaries (24)
Special Occasion (22)
Casual (22)
Romantic (21)
Good for Birthdays (21)
Great for Lunch (19)
Fun (17)
Local Ingredients (16)
Great for Brunch (15)
Authentic (15)
Sunday Lunch (15)
Great for Outdoor Dining (14)
Good Vegetarian Options (14)
Modern Decor (12)
Quiet Conversation (12)
Business Meals (11)
Notable Wine List (10)
Worth the Drive (10)
Pre/post Theatre (9)
Open Kitchen (9)
Seasonal (8)
Hot Spot (8)
Gluten Free Options (8)
Bar Seating (7)
Historic (6)
Healthy (6)
Outstanding Value (5)
Organic (5)
Good for Groups (5)
People Watching (5)
Afternoon Coffee (3)
Late-night Find (3)
Scenic View (3)
Great Beer (2)
Happy Hour (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (2)
Family Style (1)
Private Room (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Sort By:
S
887 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

I have now tried this restaurant twice. ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined 3 days ago

I have now tried this restaurant twice. Both meals were very good. I ordered the sake Bloody Mary reluctantly but was pleasantly surprised. I will definitely be back again.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

AMAZING FOOD! Definitely would recommend ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined 4 days ago

AMAZING FOOD! Definitely would recommend. The fried chicken and pear glazed duck were the bomb. And the flourless chocolate torte with raspberry sauce was DELICIOUS!

Tags: Good for a Date, Modern Decor, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

As always, the food at Mozelle's was fir ...

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined 4 days ago

As always, the food at Mozelle's was first rate. We had the pimiento burger and the short ribs over mashed potatoes, and were pleased with the presentation and blend of flavors. I can heartily recommend the Green Man porter to accompany the short ribs as the epitome of winter comfort food! Our excellent server brought all three courses in a timely fashion, and while he was helpful, he was never intrusive. Thank you for another excellent meal!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Good Vegetarian Options, Modern Decor, Comfort Food, Open Kitchen, Great Beer, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great experience. Wonderful food, perfec ...

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on January 11, 2017

Great experience. Wonderful food, perfect service, fun atmosphere. We all enjoyed our evening at Mozelle's.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Molecular Gastronomy, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We were greeted in a friendly manner, pr ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on January 10, 2017

We were greeted in a friendly manner, promptly seated, and orders taken without delay. Our beverages were served, and dinner arrived, piping hot & delicious. The hostess knew that we were attending a symphony concert, and assured us that 1 hour would be sufficient to enjoy our dinner and be on our way. We did not feel rushed, appreciated the prompt attention, and enjoyed our dinner.

We also love the outdoor seating, available during the summer, and had a laugh seeing the piles of snow on the tables out front!

Tags: Modern Decor, Casual, Fun, Neighborhood Gem, Pre/post Theatre, Open Kitchen, Gluten Free Options, People Watching, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

We were seated in the "tent" off the mai ...

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on January 9, 2017

We were seated in the "tent" off the main dining room. Noise level was fine when it was just us, but downright loud when full of diners. Ordered baked Brie appetizer, but the Brie that arrived didn't appear baked...or even warm for that matter. The entrees were excellent, however, especially the fried chicken & the meatloaf.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

The food is fabulous and the atmosphere ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 5, 2017

The food is fabulous and the atmosphere great. Love eating here!

Tags: Hot Spot, Sunday Lunch, Creative Cuisine, Good Vegetarian Options, Historic, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Came here with a group of friends for th ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 4, 2017

Came here with a group of friends for the Big Eat dinner of fried chicken, mac and cheese, and haricot verts. Service was wonderful and the food was great as usual! There's a reason Mozelle's is my favorite restaurant in Winston-Salem!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Modern Decor, Cozy, Fun, Great for Brunch, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always a treat when we visit Mozelle's! ...

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on January 3, 2017

Always a treat when we visit Mozelle's! The food was delicious, per usual. Our server was on point and fun! No complaints.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Business Meals, Sunday Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Comfort Food, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Absolutely love the cozy upscale diner v ...

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Absolutely love the cozy upscale diner vibe. We've done brunch for Father's Day and most recently ate there for New Year's Eve. The meal - Rick had the scallops, I had the ribeye - was superb. We had couples on either side of us who were experienced cooks, and they both praised the food, just as we we did. Love it and will continue to go back - only more often!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Delightful experience!

vip
 (Greensboro)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Delightful experience!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was outstanding. Lots of care & ...

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Food was outstanding. Lots of care & attention paid to special diet needs & great service!

Tags: Casual, Special Occasion, Healthy, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Gluten Free Options, Organic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Food took too long to come out whiched c ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Food took too long to come out whiched caused the 7:00 crowd to wait

Tags: Great for Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value3

We have eaten at Mozelle's three times n ...

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on December 31, 2016

We have eaten at Mozelle's three times now and the food is always exceptional. On this particular visit, my husband ordered a side of breakfast sausage and we had to remind our waitress about it and when we did, she apologized, got right to it and took it off our bill.

Tags: Casual, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Always enjoy the delicious food and quai ...

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Always enjoy the delicious food and quaint dining experience at Mozelle's

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

🙅🏻‍♂️💃so good. So fresh. So southern. ...

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on December 31, 2016

🙅🏻‍♂️💃so good. So fresh. So southern. Get that good and get it now. I swear!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We've eaten at Mozelle's many times. Ver ...

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on December 29, 2016

We've eaten at Mozelle's many times. Very disappointed this time. Sat in the porch area and it was drafty and cold. One entree (Tomato Pie) came cold, and rather than heat it quickly they made a new one, which meant the rest of us had finished our meals by the time the new Pie came. Just a very disappointing evening.

Overpriced for the food quality as well.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service2
value1

Great food & service. Sitting is very t ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on December 28, 2016

Great food & service. Sitting is very tight. Hard to have a private conversation.

Tags: Casual, Fun, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Food was delicious as usual. Waitress w ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on December 23, 2016

Food was delicious as usual. Waitress was aloof and missed extra wine sales by not checking back with the table.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Server we has was quite unfriendly. Goin ...

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on December 21, 2016

Server we has was quite unfriendly. Going through the motions.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2

Always one of our favorite places to eat ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 19, 2016

Always one of our favorite places to eat in Winston Salem. Great choices if you want a vegetarian option or are avoiding wheat. Remodel made it light and airy.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

We loved Mozzelles and will definitely b ...

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on December 17, 2016

We loved Mozzelles and will definitely be back!!! We started with the fried brussel sprouts (delish) and then split shrimp and grits and meatloaf. I would recommend this restaurant to anyone!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Seasonal, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always a very nice meal, how lighted by ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 16, 2016

Always a very nice meal, how lighted by the wonderful staff

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Always a fine meal!

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on December 15, 2016

Always a fine meal!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Love! Love! Love! This place! In our pa ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on December 14, 2016

Love! Love! Love! This place! In our party there were 4 newbies that fell in love with mozelles just like I did the first time I found this jewel! The food is spectacular! My personal favorites are the collard greens. The service feels more like you're being welcomed home!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very quaint and nice atmosphere. Service ...

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on December 10, 2016

Very quaint and nice atmosphere. Service was great and so was the food. Great experience and will return and recommend.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Loved the tomato pie, shrimp and grits, ...

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on December 10, 2016

Loved the tomato pie, shrimp and grits, and fried chicken. Service was excellent. Took a little long to get the food, but waiter offered free dessert to make up.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Comfort Food, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Pear Salad was Fab, will go back again j ...

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on December 8, 2016

Pear Salad was Fab, will go back again just for this salad !

Sea Bass entree and Shrimp and Grits excellent, a bit salty on the sides. The people who sat way too close next to us were very loud, (be considerate people) but not the fault of the restaurant. Definitely one of the best places in town for lunch and dinner. Great sidewalk dining in the warmer parts of the year.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Historic, Comfort Food, Special Occasion, Gluten Free Options, Pre/post Theatre, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

The shrimp and grits were OUTSTANDING! ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 8, 2016

The shrimp and grits were OUTSTANDING! Excellent food, excellent service. WOW.

Tags: Business Meals, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

In a word..... Fantastic. We had a love ...

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on December 4, 2016

In a word..... Fantastic. We had a lovely evening and dinner. The food was wonderful. Everything was fresh and delicious. It was my first time there. But I will be back.

Tags: Hot Spot, Casual, Afternoon Coffee, Worth the Drive, Modern Decor, Local Ingredients, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Back to Mozelle's with a business associ ...

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on December 1, 2016

Back to Mozelle's with a business associate who had never been. She ordered the kale salad and loved it, I ordered the BBQ Chicken sandwich and it was delicious. Chicken way too big for the bun but I just cut it to size and enjoyed the rest with my knife and fork. Succotash was a bit off this time, needed more seasoning but corn is out of season now so shouldn't have ordered it. Our waitress was a bit pushy but pleasant. Tables are so close you cant' help but talk to your neighbor and because it's Mozelle's - that's a good thing.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Authentic, Quick Bite, Business Meals, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value4

Mozelles is our favorite place to go! We ...

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on December 1, 2016

Mozelles is our favorite place to go! We are never disappointed by food or service!

Tags: Organic, Tasting Menu, Business Meals, Romantic, Modern Decor, , Local Ingredients, Healthy, Good for Birthdays, Great for Brunch, Casual, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Outdoor Dining, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Private Room, Good for Anniversaries, Seasonal, Special Occasion, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a great time with friends! The fo ...

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on November 27, 2016

We had a great time with friends! The food and service are the best in town in our opinion. Everyone is very accommodating and professional. Can't wait to back!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great brunch. Must order their take on E ...

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on November 27, 2016

Great brunch. Must order their take on Eggs Benedict. :)

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Pre/post Theatre, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

Excellent selection of appetizers and en ...

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on November 26, 2016

Excellent selection of appetizers and entrees, deliciously prepared and presented, made our 47th anniversary a real date night!

Tags: Tasting Menu, Cozy, Bar Seating, Fit for Foodies, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Went for brunch-great menu options. The ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on November 26, 2016

Went for brunch-great menu options. The food was delicious. A nice combination of indulgent and healthier dishes. Very small place. It is was quiet when we went, but there were only about 6 total guests. It would likely be quite loud inside if crowded. The seating is close, so expect to get cozy with your neighbor. There is nice sidewalk seating if the weather permits. Service was pleasant but not stellar. It is a bit off putting when your server provides excuses as to why they haven't been by lately.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

The food was excellent however we were d ...

 
 (Naples)·Dined on November 26, 2016

The food was excellent however we were disappointed in the menu offerings this time-missed your prior salmon and steak entrees-calorically everything was higher with glazes, sauces,pasta,fried food.

Tags: Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

Food is wonderful. Good combination of f ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 25, 2016

Food is wonderful. Good combination of flavors in each dish. Portions are a little small.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

D0pe meal and experience

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on November 23, 2016

D0pe meal and experience

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Amazing food and service, much better th ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on November 20, 2016

Amazing food and service, much better than we anticipated!

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.