Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.64mi
  2. Distance: 0.90mi
  3. Distance: 0.91mi
  4. Distance: 0.96mi
  1. Distance: 0.64mi
  2. Distance: 0.90mi
  3. Distance: 0.91mi
  4. Distance: 0.96mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.64mi
  2. Distance: 0.90mi
  3. Distance: 0.91mi
  4. Distance: 0.96mi
  1. Distance: 0.64mi
  2. Distance: 0.90mi
  3. Distance: 0.91mi
  4. Distance: 0.96mi

About Mozelle's Fresh Southern Bistro

Welcome to Mozelle’s Fresh Southern Bistro, a downtown Winston-Salem restaurant. The cuisine at Mozelle's is southern-inspired and comprised of the finest and freshest ingredients. In addition to great food, patrons enjoy our cozy and lively atmosphere. Come for lunch or dinner with friends and family, or reserve our open-air covered patio and allow Mozelle's to host your events. For parties larger than 6 and special occasions please call the restaurant.

878 W. 4th Street
Winston-Salem, NC 27101
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Southern, American, Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:00am - 2:00pm;
Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm,
Dinner: Friday 5:00pm - 10:00pm
Saturday: 11:00am - 10:00pm Serving Brunch from 11:00am to 3:00pm and Dinner Menu 3:00pm - 10:00pm
Sunday: 11:00am - 9:00pm Serving Brunch from 11:00am to 3:00pm and Dinner Menu 3:00pm - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
Brookstown Avenue

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(336) 703-5400

Website:
http://www.mozelles.com/

Catering:
Private Parties at Your Home or Office
We will happily bring our yummy food to you and send our waitstaff to serve your guests. Call to schedule your next event.

Parking Details:
For dinner diners there is also a parking lot directly behind our restaurant that you may access on Burke Street in addition to street parking.

Executive Chef:
Steven McPherson

Private Party Facilities:
Private Parties at Mozelle's
Why make a mess at your home or office when you can enjoy our atmosphere and food and not have to worry about the clean-up?

On Our Covered Patio
From a small intimate gathering to a feisty celebration with 30 people, the bistro's covered patio will comfortably accommodate. Heated in the winter, cooled in the summer, and open-air for spring and fall — the patio is perfect anytime.

Reserve the Entire Restaurant
Need the royal treatment? We will close our doors to everyone else and your event can use our main dining area, covered open-air patio as well as our sidewalk seating. (70+ seats)

Private Party Contact:
Matt or Jennifer: (336) 703-5400

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, Counter Seating, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
For Special Events or for Parties more than 6, please call the restaurant and speak with a manager. Thanks!

Mozelle's Fresh Southern Bistro Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.5

ambience

4.3

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

97% would recommend it to a friend

Neighborhood Gem (50)
Special Occasion (40)
Good for a Date (38)
See All
Fit for Foodies (35)
Good for Anniversaries (33)
Creative Cuisine (31)
Cozy (30)
Comfort Food (29)
Local Ingredients (29)
Good for Birthdays (29)
Great for Lunch (28)
Casual (25)
Romantic (23)
Authentic (21)
Great for Outdoor Dining (19)
Sunday Lunch (17)
Open Kitchen (16)
Worth the Drive (16)
Great for Brunch (16)
Fun (15)
Notable Wine List (14)
Business Meals (14)
Modern Decor (12)
Good Vegetarian Options (12)
Gluten Free Options (11)
Quiet Conversation (11)
Hot Spot (11)
Healthy (10)
Seasonal (10)
Pre/post Theatre (9)
Historic (7)
Tasting Menu (6)
Organic (6)
People Watching (6)
Good for Groups (6)
Outstanding Value (6)
Bar Seating (6)
Quick Bite (4)
Molecular Gastronomy (4)
Happy Hour (4)
Disabled Access (3)
Late-night Find (3)
Scenic View (3)
Great Beer (3)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Vegan (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Spicy (1)
Family Style (1)
Fireplace (1)
Private Room (1)
Sort By:
S
948 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined 3 days ago

Love this place!!! The shrimp and grits are awesome! Be sure to try the fried cauliflower or southern spring roll appetizers.

Tags: Business Meals, Late-night Find, Casual, People Watching, Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (London)·Dined 3 days ago

Really enjoyed this spot. Great service and good was fantastic!

Tags: Authentic, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined 5 days ago

Food was excellent and service very good. They were out of several things but made up for it with a free dessert.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined 6 days ago

THE GOOD

Regarding the food itself, I was very happy. The crab dip entree is served with perfectly buttered crisp tostados. My meal, the tomato pie, consisted of juicy plump tomatoes between crispy, flaky phyllo dough (?) which was amazing! The grits served along with the entree were perfectly creamy! My North Carolinian dinner companions thought they had the consistency of mashed potatoes but I loved them! The shrimp and grits were equally wonderful! The flourless chocolate cake was delicious though rather rich. I'd recommend sharing it.

THE BAD
When we arrived for our reservation, the table was not ready as the last patrons were not yet finished. We sat at the bar for about 15 minutes waiting. (STRIKE ONE) Once the table was finally ready, we were pointed in its general direction rather than walked back by the server. (STRIKE TWO) The table didn't have silverware and we were not offered water until after we had ordered our meal. (STRIKE THREE) Now I admit that I am a "Yankee" who is accustomed to restaurants in DC and NYC so my standards may be a bit high. I was flabbergasted that with all of these mistakes that neither wine or at least dessert were comped.

Tags: Authentic, Modern Decor, Comfort Food, Good for a Date, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value2

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on March 17, 2017

Food excellent, fried califlower and shrimp and grits. Wine prices a bit high. Atmosphere excellent.

Tags: Open Kitchen, Healthy, Special Occasion, Historic, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on March 16, 2017

One of my favorite restaurants in Winston but on this particular night the wait staff was rude. It was 9:30 and they had there coats on to leave. Our reservations were at 8:30 and we had spent about 250$ for 4 of us.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 15, 2017

Always a great evening, thank you to Holly for making everything so easy and a pleasure

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on March 13, 2017

Wonderful meal with good service. We were there on Monday night when they feature a special of half price bottles of wine. So it was nice to enjoy a special bottle at a great price. We enjoyed a nice fish(snapper) special as an entree. Sat on the enclosed patio which was a little chilly. They quickly adjusted the thermostat to add heat. A really enjoyable evening.

Tags: Authentic, Open Kitchen, Outstanding Value, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value4

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on March 13, 2017

Fried chicken was delicious, great to see a simple dish get elevated

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Terrible guest at other table. They should have been asked to leave. Waitress did was pushy and asked if we wanted or check before we were done.

Tags: Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience1
service1
value2

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Mozelle's continues to please every palette. We entertained friends from out-of-town. One was a vegetarian. The other lived in Barcelona. Both were quite pleased with the food and the service was impeccable. There is a big city vibe to Mozelle's that I really love. It is noisy, but that is part of the fun. I cannot remember one single time that this restaurant failed to deliver a satisfying meal. One of my friends remembered when the building was the Toddle House. How far it has come.

Tags: Authentic, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, People Watching, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Outstanding food and service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on March 9, 2017

Mozelles has the best food in town! The seating is a bit crowded and tight and private conversations can be difficult but the food is FABULOUS!

Tags: Authentic, Great for Lunch, Business Meals, Outstanding Value, Comfort Food, Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Modern Decor, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service5
value5

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on March 6, 2017

I like this place. Very small but very good food and service. (Although they did bring my entree out too early this last visit #ihatethat.) Monday is especially good because Sweet Potatoes is closed AND half price bottles of wine. And a brown bag for the leftovers.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Very good quality food. Interesting appetizers and sides. Entree execution was spot on. Enjoyable experience.

Tags: Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on March 4, 2017

One of my favorite places in town. Never disappoints me!

Tags: Family Style, Gluten Free Options, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on March 2, 2017

Great restaurant for all occasions!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on February 28, 2017

Always a neighborhood favorite, the restaurant is where also to take friends from out of town. Thoughtfully created dishes with Soutern ingredients and beautifully plated, the meals here comfort and inspire.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Great for Lunch, Comfort Food, Seasonal, Local Ingredients, Fun, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on February 26, 2017

The food has a southern flair with a bit of a kick. Delicious and comforting in a cozy setting. The staff is always friendly and attentive.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Comfort Food, Authentic, Business Meals, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on February 26, 2017

Service was great. Food was very good: loved the tomato pie, however the noodle bowl was very salty. Loved the view of the sunset from our table.

Tags: Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on February 26, 2017

We had a wonderful experience at Mozelle's. The charm is what makes this place special. My husband ordered a steak and I had the shrimp and grits. We both agreed that this was one of the best meals we've ever had. Definitely order dessert. The chocolate creme brûlée is to die for.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on February 23, 2017

The food and service were excellent. The menu needs more selection. Too limited.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 19, 2017

We were there for a birthday and had 2 extra people join us at the last minute. They were very accomdating for our extra request and worked hard to fit the extra in. We were asked if the table could be free by 8:00. As this was a 6:30 reservation on a Sunday night, it was not a problem. When we were seated, ith took quite some time for someone to get menus & water to us as well as take a drink order. It seemed that there was only one server on what seemed to be a busy Sunday. The food was good, except the tomato pie looked and tasted as if it was made from canned tomatoes.

Tags: Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value3

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on February 17, 2017

Awesome food & service. Very small venue. Basically sitting at the same table as the people next to us.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on February 17, 2017

Good food and service

OpenTable - please change your requirement on minimum characters for the review. Why force people to be verbose?

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Open Kitchen, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on February 17, 2017

We had to wait for 25 minutes to be seated even though we had a reservation. But the hostess was gracious and our meal was delicious.

Tags: Authentic, Cozy, Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on February 15, 2017

We love this place!!! I wasn't sure how to rate noise level - so I will say it is easy to converse with your table and to communicate with the staff; whom are awesome by the way!

Mozelles is one of the very best places in the triad for an awesome meal!!! Fancy yet still perfectly low key.

Tags: Modern Decor, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Spicy, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on February 15, 2017

My favorite restaurant in Winston. It's always hard to decide what to order because I love all their food.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Memphis)·Dined on February 13, 2017

Soooooooo good!!!
I was just passing through!
Can't wait to come back

Tags: Authentic, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on February 12, 2017

The staff were so welcoming and attentive. The food was fantastic and I wish I had a second stomach to try more things!

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Fantastic food and service. Very please with our visit.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on February 11, 2017

The smoke from the grill just behind the seating area was so strong that my eyes and throat were still burning the next day. It definitely overpowered our dining experience and we had to wash everything, including dry cleaning our coats. The food was fresh and delicious and the service was very good. The smokiness was so unpleasant that I'm not likely to return unless I can get outdoor seating.

Tags: Seasonal, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4
value2

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on February 10, 2017

It was our first time at this restaurant. We loved it and will definitely go back again. It was our early Valentine's dinner to avoid the crowds. I wish the seating was spaced a little farther apart, but it wasn't too bad.

Tags: Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on February 10, 2017

Mozelle's is a great place to grab classy and authentic Southern cuisine. Mozelle's is great for any occasion, from lunch with friends to romantic dinner dates.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Open Kitchen, Romantic, Good for a Date, Cozy, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on February 10, 2017

The food was outstanding, but the service was haphazard. The person waiting on us seemed to be having to do way too much and was not very attentive. Maybe they were short on wait staff???

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value4

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on February 9, 2017

I had the shrimp and grits...very tasty. special of the day, Halibut, quite good.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on February 4, 2017

The food and our waiter was great. However the hostess seemed aloof and seemed unhappy doing her job. It's not going to be high on our list to go back again.

Tags: Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on February 3, 2017

We had a wonderful time, service was pleasant, the food was delicious, everyone enjoyed every morsel. Comfortable Neighborhood gem.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Creative Cuisine, Open Kitchen, Authentic, Neighborhood Gem, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on February 1, 2017

Mozelle's is very consistent. The fried chicken and collards are great. We always enjoy dining here.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Greensboro)·Dined on January 30, 2017

Our go-to date night local restaurant. Small and intimate, with excellent dining choices. Love their salmon, fried chicken and tomato pie.

Tags: Great for Brunch, People Watching, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.