About Mozelle's Fresh Southern Bistro

Welcome to Mozelle’s Fresh Southern Bistro, a downtown Winston-Salem restaurant. The cuisine at Mozelle's is southern-inspired and comprised of the finest and freshest ingredients. In addition to great food, patrons enjoy our cozy and lively atmosphere. Come for lunch or dinner with friends and family, or reserve our open-air covered patio and allow Mozelle's to host your events. For parties larger than 6 and special occasions please call the restaurant.

878 W. 4th Street
Winston-Salem, NC 27101
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Southern, American, Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:00am - 2:00pm;
Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm,
Dinner: Friday 5:00pm - 10:00pm
Saturday: 11:00am - 10:00pm Serving Brunch from 11:00am to 3:00pm and Dinner Menu 3:00pm - 10:00pm
Sunday: 11:00am - 9:00pm Serving Brunch from 11:00am to 3:00pm and Dinner Menu 3:00pm - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
Brookstown Avenue

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(336) 703-5400

Website:
http://www.mozelles.com/

Catering:
Private Parties at Your Home or Office
We will happily bring our yummy food to you and send our waitstaff to serve your guests. Call to schedule your next event.

Parking Details:
For dinner diners there is also a parking lot directly behind our restaurant that you may access on Burke Street in addition to street parking.

Executive Chef:
Steven McPherson

Private Party Facilities:
Private Parties at Mozelle's
Why make a mess at your home or office when you can enjoy our atmosphere and food and not have to worry about the clean-up?

On Our Covered Patio
From a small intimate gathering to a feisty celebration with 30 people, the bistro's covered patio will comfortably accommodate. Heated in the winter, cooled in the summer, and open-air for spring and fall — the patio is perfect anytime.

Reserve the Entire Restaurant
Need the royal treatment? We will close our doors to everyone else and your event can use our main dining area, covered open-air patio as well as our sidewalk seating. (70+ seats)

Private Party Contact:
Matt or Jennifer: (336) 703-5400

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, Counter Seating, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
For Special Events or for Parties more than 6, please call the restaurant and speak with a manager. Thanks!

Specials

50% Off All Wines

Mondays from 11:00 AM - 9:00 PM

4 for $4 Wines by the Glass

Thursdays from 11:00 AM - 9:00 PM

Specials

50% Off All Wines

Mondays from 11:00 AM - 9:00 PM

Details

50% Off All Wines. Excludes Tax and Tip. The special applies to Bottle only on Mondays. Special valid Oct 31, 2016 - Mar 3, 2017 on Mondays from 11:00 AM - 9:00 PM.

4 for $4 Wines by the Glass

Thursdays from 11:00 AM - 9:00 PM

Details

Mozelle's offers 4 different wines for $4 by the glass. We feature different wines each week. (note, this is not a flight, each glass of wine is $4). Excludes Tax and Tip. Special valid Nov 3, 2016 - Mar 2, 2017 on Thursdays from 11:00 AM - 9:00 PM.

Mozelle's Fresh Southern Bistro Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.4

ambience

4.3

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Neighborhood Gem (48)
Good for a Date (40)
Creative Cuisine (38)
See All
Fit for Foodies (37)
Good for Anniversaries (36)
Special Occasion (34)
Cozy (32)
Good for Birthdays (28)
Local Ingredients (27)
Casual (27)
Great for Lunch (25)
Comfort Food (24)
Romantic (23)
Authentic (20)
Fun (19)
Sunday Lunch (17)
Great for Outdoor Dining (17)
Good Vegetarian Options (16)
Great for Brunch (16)
Open Kitchen (15)
Notable Wine List (15)
Business Meals (14)
Worth the Drive (14)
Quiet Conversation (13)
Modern Decor (12)
Seasonal (11)
Gluten Free Options (11)
Pre/post Theatre (10)
Healthy (10)
Hot Spot (9)
Historic (8)
Good for Groups (7)
Organic (7)
Outstanding Value (6)
Bar Seating (6)
People Watching (5)
Tasting Menu (4)
Late-night Find (3)
Molecular Gastronomy (3)
Great Beer (3)
Scenic View (3)
Quick Bite (3)
Disabled Access (2)
Afternoon Coffee (2)
Happy Hour (2)
Private Room (1)
Vegan (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Spicy (1)
Sort By:
S
926 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

We were there for a birthday and had 2 e ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 2 days ago

We were there for a birthday and had 2 extra people join us at the last minute. They were very accomdating for our extra request and worked hard to fit the extra in. We were asked if the table could be free by 8:00. As this was a 6:30 reservation on a Sunday night, it was not a problem. When we were seated, ith took quite some time for someone to get menus & water to us as well as take a drink order. It seemed that there was only one server on what seemed to be a busy Sunday. The food was good, except the tomato pie looked and tasted as if it was made from canned tomatoes.

Tags: Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value3

Awesome food & service. Very small venue ...

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined 4 days ago

Awesome food & service. Very small venue. Basically sitting at the same table as the people next to us.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

Good food and service OpenTable - plea ...

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined 4 days ago

Good food and service

OpenTable - please change your requirement on minimum characters for the review. Why force people to be verbose?

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Open Kitchen, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

We had to wait for 25 minutes to be seat ...

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined 5 days ago

We had to wait for 25 minutes to be seated even though we had a reservation. But the hostess was gracious and our meal was delicious.

Tags: Authentic, Cozy, Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

We love this place!!! I wasn't sure how ...

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on February 15, 2017

We love this place!!! I wasn't sure how to rate noise level - so I will say it is easy to converse with your table and to communicate with the staff; whom are awesome by the way!

Mozelles is one of the very best places in the triad for an awesome meal!!! Fancy yet still perfectly low key.

Tags: Modern Decor, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Spicy, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

My favorite restaurant in Winston. It's ...

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on February 15, 2017

My favorite restaurant in Winston. It's always hard to decide what to order because I love all their food.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Soooooooo good!!! I was just passing th ...

vip
 (Memphis)·Dined on February 13, 2017

Soooooooo good!!!

I was just passing through!

Can't wait to come back

Tags: Authentic, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The staff were so welcoming and attentiv ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on February 12, 2017

The staff were so welcoming and attentive. The food was fantastic and I wish I had a second stomach to try more things!

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Fantastic food and service. Very please ...

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Fantastic food and service. Very please with our visit.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It was our first time at this restaurant ...

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on February 10, 2017

It was our first time at this restaurant. We loved it and will definitely go back again. It was our early Valentine's dinner to avoid the crowds. I wish the seating was spaced a little farther apart, but it wasn't too bad.

Tags: Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Mozelle's is a great place to grab class ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on February 10, 2017

Mozelle's is a great place to grab classy and authentic Southern cuisine. Mozelle's is great for any occasion, from lunch with friends to romantic dinner dates.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Open Kitchen, Romantic, Good for a Date, Cozy, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The food was outstanding, but the servic ...

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on February 10, 2017

The food was outstanding, but the service was haphazard. The person waiting on us seemed to be having to do way too much and was not very attentive. Maybe they were short on wait staff???

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value4

I had the shrimp and grits...very tasty. ...

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on February 9, 2017

I had the shrimp and grits...very tasty. special of the day, Halibut, quite good.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

The food and our waiter was great. Howev ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on February 4, 2017

The food and our waiter was great. However the hostess seemed aloof and seemed unhappy doing her job. It's not going to be high on our list to go back again.

Tags: Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

We had a wonderful time, service was ple ...

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on February 3, 2017

We had a wonderful time, service was pleasant, the food was delicious, everyone enjoyed every morsel. Comfortable Neighborhood gem.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Creative Cuisine, Open Kitchen, Authentic, Neighborhood Gem, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Mozelle's is very consistent. The fried ...

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on February 1, 2017

Mozelle's is very consistent. The fried chicken and collards are great. We always enjoy dining here.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Our go-to date night local restaurant. S ...

vip
 (Greensboro)·Dined on January 30, 2017

Our go-to date night local restaurant. Small and intimate, with excellent dining choices. Love their salmon, fried chicken and tomato pie.

Tags: Great for Brunch, People Watching, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Second time having dinner there - the fi ...

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on January 30, 2017

Second time having dinner there - the first time was so amazing we had to go back. We were again thrilled- the atmosphere is great loved sitting at the bar first night and at a cozy table for two the following week. The service is amazing it is impossible to beat it- and the food is delicious and artistically presented. Can not say enough nice things about this restaurant - you must try it !

Tags: , Good for Groups, Healthy, Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Organic, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Mozelle's was a warm, charming and quain ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Mozelle's was a warm, charming and quaint restaurant with incredible food! Highly recommend it to friends and family and we will visit there again very soon!

Tags: Romantic, Casual, Historic, Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries, Open Kitchen, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

As always, the food was outstanding! Th ...

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on January 29, 2017

As always, the food was outstanding! The ambiance this time was a little lacking only because there was a large group seated in the same area and we found ourselves having to yell over them to hear each other and we were a party of 6. This was my 18 year old daughter's first time and she raved all night about how wonderful everything was. We make it a tradition every January to go for my brother-in-law and my birthdays and we will definitely continue to do so!!

Tags: Special Occasion, Business Meals, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

A nice menu. I had the Benedict which in ...

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on January 28, 2017

A nice menu. I had the Benedict which included collards cooked in bacon --- fantastic & their grits are very good. The staff seemed unenthusiastic. Also, the 'starter' seemed to take an exceptionally long time to arrive & it was not busy. However, I will return. :)

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

So much food! We came for Saturday brunc ...

vip
 (Greensboro)·Dined on January 28, 2017

So much food! We came for Saturday brunch and ordered the biscuits and gravy and fried chicken sandwich. They were both delicious. The grits under the biscuit were so creamy. The bacon on the sandwich was just the right smoked flavor. The portions are huge. I felt guilty for not cleaning my plate, but it's just too much. This is one of our favorite places whenever we get to W-S.

Tags: Casual, Sunday Lunch, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Very much enjoyed the wait person and th ...

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Very much enjoyed the wait person and the food! Great cap to a theater evening.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Great for Brunch, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

Delightfully eclectic menu! Very charmi ...

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on January 26, 2017

Delightfully eclectic menu! Very charming atmosphere! Easy to locate.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Authentic, Neighborhood Gem, Tasting Menu, Great for Lunch, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Outstanding brussel sprout kale salad wi ...

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on January 24, 2017

Outstanding brussel sprout kale salad with salmon for lunch. Meatloaf is also best in town.

Tags: Open Kitchen, Seasonal, Great for Lunch, Business Meals, Comfort Food, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Casual, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Fabulous! All the dishes were yummy, pre ...

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on January 23, 2017

Fabulous! All the dishes were yummy, presentation was very nice, atmosphere cozy casual yet upscale! Looking forward to returning!!!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Casual, Romantic, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was good and the preparation wa ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 22, 2017

The food was good and the preparation was different but really not as special as we expected. My plate (Winter Chop Salad) was underseasoned and the chicken was overcooked. The other plates were better. The desserts were Ok, but again, not that special.

The service was slow, it feels like the kitchen can't keep up with the orders when they are busy. Overall, not a place I would recommend.

Tags: Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value2

Loved the pimento cheese sandwich with t ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on January 21, 2017

Loved the pimento cheese sandwich with tomato bisque - delicious! Staff was pleasant and atmosphere was fresh. I will be back soon.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Truly one of my favorite restaurants, ne ...

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on January 18, 2017

Truly one of my favorite restaurants, never disappoints

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

incredibly friendly and attentive staff ...

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on January 18, 2017

incredibly friendly and attentive staff 100% of the time-beautiful presentations-willing to cater to special dietary needs-make you feel valued and welcome every time. a true pleasure to dine at Mozelle's.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Local Ingredients, Notable Wine List, Great for Brunch, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Fit for Foodies, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We went on two separate occasions for th ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 17, 2017

We went on two separate occasions for the Big Eat specials (Shrimp and Grits, Tomato Pie). The food, as always was terrific. However, the service was incredibly rushed, possibly due to extra reservations for the Big Eat. Both times, our entrees came incredibly fast (~15 mins) and in one case it was before we finished our salads.

I love Mozelle's but would hesitate to go during the Big Eat again.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value5

We brought our nephew for dinner. Food ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on January 16, 2017

We brought our nephew for dinner. Food delicious as always, especially the toddle house ice box chocolate pie.

Tags: Authentic, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I have now tried this restaurant twice. ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on January 15, 2017

I have now tried this restaurant twice. Both meals were very good. I ordered the sake Bloody Mary reluctantly but was pleasantly surprised. I will definitely be back again.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

AMAZING FOOD! Definitely would recommend ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on January 14, 2017

AMAZING FOOD! Definitely would recommend. The fried chicken and pear glazed duck were the bomb. And the flourless chocolate torte with raspberry sauce was DELICIOUS!

Tags: Good for a Date, Modern Decor, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

As always, the food at Mozelle's was fir ...

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on January 14, 2017

As always, the food at Mozelle's was first rate. We had the pimiento burger and the short ribs over mashed potatoes, and were pleased with the presentation and blend of flavors. I can heartily recommend the Green Man porter to accompany the short ribs as the epitome of winter comfort food! Our excellent server brought all three courses in a timely fashion, and while he was helpful, he was never intrusive. Thank you for another excellent meal!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Good Vegetarian Options, Modern Decor, Comfort Food, Open Kitchen, Great Beer, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great experience. Wonderful food, perfec ...

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on January 11, 2017

Great experience. Wonderful food, perfect service, fun atmosphere. We all enjoyed our evening at Mozelle's.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Molecular Gastronomy, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We were greeted in a friendly manner, pr ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on January 10, 2017

We were greeted in a friendly manner, promptly seated, and orders taken without delay. Our beverages were served, and dinner arrived, piping hot & delicious. The hostess knew that we were attending a symphony concert, and assured us that 1 hour would be sufficient to enjoy our dinner and be on our way. We did not feel rushed, appreciated the prompt attention, and enjoyed our dinner.

We also love the outdoor seating, available during the summer, and had a laugh seeing the piles of snow on the tables out front!

Tags: Modern Decor, Casual, Fun, Neighborhood Gem, Pre/post Theatre, Open Kitchen, Gluten Free Options, People Watching, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

We were seated in the "tent" off the mai ...

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on January 9, 2017

We were seated in the "tent" off the main dining room. Noise level was fine when it was just us, but downright loud when full of diners. Ordered baked Brie appetizer, but the Brie that arrived didn't appear baked...or even warm for that matter. The entrees were excellent, however, especially the fried chicken & the meatloaf.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

The food is fabulous and the atmosphere ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 5, 2017

The food is fabulous and the atmosphere great. Love eating here!

Tags: Hot Spot, Sunday Lunch, Creative Cuisine, Good Vegetarian Options, Historic, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Came here with a group of friends for th ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 4, 2017

Came here with a group of friends for the Big Eat dinner of fried chicken, mac and cheese, and haricot verts. Service was wonderful and the food was great as usual! There's a reason Mozelle's is my favorite restaurant in Winston-Salem!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Modern Decor, Cozy, Fun, Great for Brunch, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.