About Mozelle's Fresh Southern Bistro

878 W. 4th Street
Winston-Salem, NC 27101
View Larger Map

Welcome to Mozelle’s Fresh Southern Bistro, a downtown Winston-Salem restaurant. The cuisine at Mozelle's is southern-inspired and comprised of the finest and freshest ingredients. In addition to great food, patrons enjoy our cozy and lively atmosphere. Come for lunch or dinner with friends and family, or reserve our open-air covered patio and allow Mozelle's to host your events. For parties larger than 6 and special occasions please call the restaurant.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Southern, American, Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:00am - 2:00pm;
Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm,
Dinner: Friday 5:00pm - 10:00pm
Saturday: 11:00am - 10:00pm Serving Brunch from 11:00am to 3:00pm and Dinner Menu 3:00pm - 10:00pm
Sunday: 11:00am - 9:00pm Serving Brunch from 11:00am to 3:00pm and Dinner Menu 3:00pm - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
Brookstown Avenue

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(336) 703-5400

Website:
http://www.mozelles.com/

Catering:
Private Parties at Your Home or Office
We will happily bring our yummy food to you and send our waitstaff to serve your guests. Call to schedule your next event.

Parking Details:
For dinner diners there is also a parking lot directly behind our restaurant that you may access on Burke Street in addition to street parking.

Executive Chef:
Steven McPherson

Private Party Facilities:
Private Parties at Mozelle's
Why make a mess at your home or office when you can enjoy our atmosphere and food and not have to worry about the clean-up?

On Our Covered Patio
From a small intimate gathering to a feisty celebration with 30 people, the bistro's covered patio will comfortably accommodate. Heated in the winter, cooled in the summer, and open-air for spring and fall — the patio is perfect anytime.

Reserve the Entire Restaurant
Need the royal treatment? We will close our doors to everyone else and your event can use our main dining area, covered open-air patio as well as our sidewalk seating. (70+ seats)

Private Party Contact:
Matt or Jennifer: 3367035400x

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, Counter Seating, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
For Special Events or for Parties more than 6, please call the restaurant and speak with a manager. Thanks!

Restaurant Photos

  • Mozelle's Fresh Southern Bistro
Mozelle's Fresh Southern Bistro

Mozelle's Fresh Southern Bistro Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.5

ambience

4.2

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

97% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Greensboro / Winston Salem / Highpoint
Best Food
Greensboro / Winston Salem / Highpoint
Outdoor Dining
Greensboro / Winston Salem / Highpoint
7 More
Most Booked
Greensboro / Winston Salem / Highpoint
Best Overall
Winston Salem
Best Food
Winston Salem
Best Service
Winston Salem
Best Value
Winston Salem
Fit for Foodies
Winston Salem
Most Booked
Winston Salem
Best Restaurants in Winston-Salem ›

Fit for Foodies (54)
Special Occasion (47)
Neighborhood Gem (46)
See All
Great for Outdoor Dining (40)
Great for Lunch (29)
Romantic (26)
Great for Brunch (25)
Hot Spot (18)
Notable Wine List (16)
Good for Groups (14)
Creative Cuisine (10)
Comfort Food (9)
Good for a Date (8)
Open Kitchen (6)
Good Vegetarian Options (5)
Authentic (5)
Modern Decor (4)
Casual (4)
Late-night Find (4)
Kid-friendly (4)
Gluten Free Options (4)
Local Ingredients (3)
Good for Birthdays (3)
Scenic View (3)
Fun (3)
People Watching (3)
Quiet Conversation (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Cozy (2)
Business Meals (2)
Worth the Drive (2)
Vegan (2)
Good for Anniversaries (2)
Bar Seating (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Healthy (2)
Outstanding Value (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Private Room (1)
Organic (1)
Great Beer (1)
Sort By:
Newest
792 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Great menu options for all tastes and pr ...

 
 (Greensboro)
·Dined 3 hours ago

Great menu options for all tastes and presented and served w excellence

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Cute but elegant brunch spot. Would reco ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on September 18, 2016

Cute but elegant brunch spot. Would recommend to anyone for any occasion.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

What a charming find in Winston-Salem. W ...

vip
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

What a charming find in Winston-Salem. Wonderful patio seating. The food was superb along with the service. Attention to detail was appreciated.

Tags: Gluten Free Options, Fit for Foodies, Healthy, Authentic, Good Vegetarian Options, Great for Lunch, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Great place to eat. Recommend reservatio ...

 
 (Greensboro)
·Dined on September 13, 2016

Great place to eat. Recommend reservations. Portions were large. Food was very tasty

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

We were in Winston-Salem for a night and ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on September 11, 2016

We were in Winston-Salem for a night and decided to try Mozzelle's after a Google search. The food was excellent. My SO had shrimp and grits. I had the vegetable plate with the delicious kale, Mac and cheese and squash casserole. We both had drinks. It's a quaint spot, a just outside the main downtown area.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Great for Brunch, Open Kitchen, Modern Decor, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

The tomato pie was excellent. The appet ...

 
 (Western NC)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

The tomato pie was excellent. The appetizers were OK. One of the best things was that they did not push us to move out so we could spend a good long time with our friends.

Tags: Good for Groups, Casual, Good Vegetarian Options, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Best Tomato pie I've ever had! Rose was ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

Best Tomato pie I've ever had! Rose was cold and enjoyable. Noise was a bit much when a group of elderly ladies sat down beside us and started in on the bloody Mary's but they were having fun so good for them. Otherwise, a charming and delicious experience!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

No problem with food or service ... Nois ...

 
 (Greensboro)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

No problem with food or service ... Noise level was really over the top the majority of our meal on the covered porch. .. Was more tolerable as the offending patrons left

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

This was our second time eating at Mozel ...

 
 (Greensboro)
·Dined on September 9, 2016

This was our second time eating at Mozelle's; the first was ~2 years ago and was great. This experience was terrible. I ordered the scallops which came with Okra and corn. The scallops were good but the Okra was under cooked and not chewable. Very disappointing for a $25 plate.

The food is not my major complaint.....it was the service. After being seated we waited a min of 15 mins before our waiter came to our table to take our drink order. Since we had waited so long we ordered the appetizers, drinks and entree upon his first visit. After our entree arrived the waiter never returned to ask how was our food or to refill our empty wine glasses! We were there early at a time when it was not busy.....No excuse for poor service.

We are very regular dinners in the area and will not return to Mozelle's.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1
value1

Always Delicious!

vip
 (Houston)
·Dined on September 7, 2016

Always Delicious!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Mozelle's is always terrific. It is a f ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on September 7, 2016

Mozelle's is always terrific. It is a fabulous place to meet friends for lunch or dinner. We have never been disappointed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Wonderful night outside, thank you

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 6, 2016

Wonderful night outside, thank you

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Food was fantastic, server was knowledge ...

 
 (Greensboro)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

Food was fantastic, server was knowledgeable good selection of desserts and wines. Reservations are a must

Tags: Comfort Food, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

Mozelles is one of our favorite restaura ...

 
 (Greensboro)
·Dined on September 2, 2016

Mozelles is one of our favorite restaurants in Winston-Salem, if not the favorite. We love the food and the staff, love sitting outside in the cooler weather drinking wine and watching people. There's always an interesting special each day and the chef loves to please the pallet. For special dinners or any time lunches...check it out.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Authentic, Casual, Bar Seating, Good Vegetarian Options, Great for Outdoor Dining, Comfort Food, Good for Anniversaries, People Watching, Great for Lunch, Great for Brunch, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Open Kitchen, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Excellent upscale Southern food in a bea ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 31, 2016

Excellent upscale Southern food in a beautiful setting. Shrimp and grits were excellent, arugula salad was wonderful with a variety of flavor a and textures, and bourbon bread pudding was irresistible!

Tags: Comfort Food, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

This is just a great, consistent place w ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 30, 2016

This is just a great, consistent place with very good service and very good food. If you can get outside, it's a treat

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great food and fun vibe. Terrific wait ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on August 26, 2016

Great food and fun vibe. Terrific wait staff. Will visit again.

Tags: Fun, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

My daughter and I had a fantastic meal a ...

vip
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on August 26, 2016

My daughter and I had a fantastic meal at this charming southern restaurant. The menu had a variety of southern style foods and all of them sounded so fantastic that it was difficult to choose. The fried okra and tomato pie won and both were excellent. I would return again to try other menu items and would highly recommend this restaurant to others!

Tags: Comfort Food, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

I love the food here and the staff is al ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 25, 2016

I love the food here and the staff is always great. It is just NOISY. Conversing is hard.

Tags: Fun, Hot Spot, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We are always happy about our food choic ...

 
 (Greensboro)
·Dined on August 24, 2016

We are always happy about our food choices at this restaurant. Every entrée we have ordered has been superb. Service also is consistently excellent. We like Monday night half price wine. We like taking a vegetarian friends. I would take a friend with gluten issues in a heartbeat. On the few occasions we have ordered appetizers or desserts they have also been wonderful.

Tags: Gluten Free Options, Comfort Food, Vegan, Business Meals, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Good Vegetarian Options, Great for Brunch, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

We sat in the auxiliary dining space. It ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on August 24, 2016

We sat in the auxiliary dining space. It was SOOO loud that we couldn't hear each other speak. This was a table of 6 with 4 out of the 6 being near or over 70. We asked to be moved. We said we would stay put. We waited over 20 minutes and still hadn't ordered. The waitress got our drinks wrong. The hostess finally came after 35 minutes (still hadn't ordered) and moved us inside to the main dining room. Then we had a server who was on top of things, we loved the new table. We could hear! The rest of the experience was very pleasant.

Tags: Comfort Food, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value3

As always, Mozelle's is fabulous for lun ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on August 23, 2016

As always, Mozelle's is fabulous for lunch. The prices are amazingly low for the quality of the food and service. I miss Josh, who was my favorite server, but Courtney and her look-alike server have taken great care of us.

Tags: Casual, Creative Cuisine, Great for Lunch, Bar Seating, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Diner style atmosphere with linens. Food ...

 
 (Greensboro)
·Dined on August 22, 2016

Diner style atmosphere with linens. Food is comfort inspired with attempt to elevate but falls flat in execution. The shrimp and grits was a good concept but the shrimp were clearly past their prime. Tuna tartar failed to highlight the tuna and came off as a stale flavor. The seating is very tight and not conducive to any intimate conversation. All this for a heafty pricetag. Sadly, I just can't recommend Mozelle's.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service3
value1

With a reservation for two made in advan ...

vip
 (Western NC)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

With a reservation for two made in advance, we were sat directly next to a baby shower of about 20 people in the side room of the restaurant. The main building area at the entrance had plenty of open seating. The service was alright and the food was great, just wish the ambiance bad even a bit more relaxed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

Exceptional in every aspect of the meal. ...

 
 (Pinehurst)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

Exceptional in every aspect of the meal. So happy we discovered this amazing & cozy restaurant on our recent trip to Winston-Salem. Eager to visit again.

Tags: Special Occasion, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Booked a table thru Open Table at 7:15p ...

vip
 (Greensboro)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

Booked a table thru Open Table at 7:15p on Sunday. We were seated immediately by the front windows. They make use of every inch of their small diner style

Restaurant. Our table for 2 was a sideways distance from the tables beside us. Very cozy. They were almost full capacity which made it seem even closer.

The arugula salad with quinoa, almonds, corn and cucumbers dressed in a avocado dressing was very nice, and I added the grilled shrimp which made it a meal.

Saved room for the "Coconut Cream Pie" but was very disappointed in that it was not a cream filling, mostly shredded coconut, (with some whipped cream to hold it together),which made it very dense and heavy. But the major disappointment was it did not taste like coconut, due to a strong almond flavoring that they used. Never has so much coconut tasted so little of coconut.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3

Great meal & Holly is a rockstar!

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

Great meal & Holly is a rockstar!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent dining and service at Moselle' ...

 
 (Greensboro)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

Excellent dining and service at Moselle's as always. Their tomato pie is good beyond words. You really must try it if you've never had it before. Certainly will be back soon for some more.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Quaint atmosphere, very good food, atten ...

 
 (Greensboro)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

Quaint atmosphere, very good food, attentive wait staff

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This is our favorite Restaurant in Winst ...

 
 (Greensboro)
·Dined on August 4, 2016

This is our favorite Restaurant in Winston Salem!!! WE look forward to every excuse we can find to dine here! The food is delicious, and the menu is well thought , with excellent flavors abounding!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food and service. Would recommend ...

 
 (Greensboro)
·Dined on August 3, 2016

Great food and service. Would recommend to friends and would go back for lunch or dinner.

Tags: Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Had dinner before an event at BB&T field ...

 
 (Greensboro)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

Had dinner before an event at BB&T field. Everyone in our party enjoyed the experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Outstanding food! Had spring rolls for ...

vip
 (Greensboro)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

Outstanding food! Had spring rolls for an appetizer, fried chicken, mac & cheese, and green beans for my meal. All delicious! The only unsatisfactory part of the experience was the temperature in the restaurant. We were there for lunch on a warm day, and the room we ate in got so hot we were all sweating profusely by the time we left. It was really unpleasant.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

What a great spot located in the West En ...

 
 (Savannah)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

What a great spot located in the West End section of Winston-Salem, NC. It is a small restaurant and part of the dining area is located next to the open kitchen so the noise level is moderate; however, the aromas coming from the open kitchen almost compensate for that. Our waiter wasn't terribly interested in us but gave reasonably efficient service. The food more than made up for his less than perfect service. We would certainly return for another visit when we are in the area.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Awesome southern quality food! Visiting ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 28, 2016

Awesome southern quality food! Visiting area while touring colleges and stumbled upon this terrific restaurant. Service was amazing, food terrific and hospitality perfect. Will be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The food and service was very good. The ...

 
 (Greensboro)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

The food and service was very good. The facility is a little small so be prepared to sit close. We had the Scallops and Shrimp and Grits, both were very good.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Best Shrimp and grits I have ever had in ...

 
 (Greensboro)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

Best Shrimp and grits I have ever had in this area! We all enjoyed our lunch for my birthday. The chocolate in the chocolate cream pie was amazing. We asked what kind of chocolate it was but were told it was secret. I understand why!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4

Dinner was excellent... The meatloaf wit ...

 
 (Greensboro)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

Dinner was excellent... The meatloaf with cheese grits and collards greens was exceptional! As always a great place to dine.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Had high hopes for this place. Came high ...

 
 (Greensboro)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

Had high hopes for this place. Came highly recommended. Very disappointed with overall experience. Husband was seated with sun shining in his face. Waiter rushed us through. Hostess joined table to ours while still eating, as if to suggest, can you finish up have a party of four waiting! Plus my husband had to move over when she did this and sun still in face. Food was good but not great. Salad was fresh tasting and lovely presentation. If I could say anything positive, menu is resonantly priced. Service and ambience can ruin even the best tasting food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service2
value3

The food was fantastic with one exceptio ...

 
 (Greensboro)
·Dined on July 18, 2016

The food was fantastic with one exception: the fried okra appetizer. The okra was too large, tough & stringy.

The tomato pie & fried chicken were as usual- outstanding

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.