About Mozelle's Fresh Southern Bistro

878 W. 4th Street
Winston-Salem, NC 27101
View Larger Map

Welcome to Mozelle’s Fresh Southern Bistro, a downtown Winston-Salem restaurant. The cuisine at Mozelle's is southern-inspired and comprised of the finest and freshest ingredients. In addition to great food, patrons enjoy our cozy and lively atmosphere. Come for lunch or dinner with friends and family, or reserve our open-air covered patio and allow Mozelle's to host your events. For parties larger than 6 and special occasions please call the restaurant.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Southern, American, Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:00am - 2:00pm;
Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm,
Dinner: Friday 5:00pm - 10:00pm
Saturday: 11:00am - 10:00pm Serving Brunch from 11:00am to 3:00pm and Dinner Menu 3:00pm - 10:00pm
Sunday: 11:00am - 9:00pm Serving Brunch from 11:00am to 3:00pm and Dinner Menu 3:00pm - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
Brookstown Avenue

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(336) 703-5400

Website:
http://www.mozelles.com/

Catering:
Private Parties at Your Home or Office
We will happily bring our yummy food to you and send our waitstaff to serve your guests. Call to schedule your next event.

Parking Details:
For dinner diners there is also a parking lot directly behind our restaurant that you may access on Burke Street in addition to street parking.

Executive Chef:
Steven McPherson

Private Party Facilities:
Private Parties at Mozelle's
Why make a mess at your home or office when you can enjoy our atmosphere and food and not have to worry about the clean-up?

On Our Covered Patio
From a small intimate gathering to a feisty celebration with 30 people, the bistro's covered patio will comfortably accommodate. Heated in the winter, cooled in the summer, and open-air for spring and fall — the patio is perfect anytime.

Reserve the Entire Restaurant
Need the royal treatment? We will close our doors to everyone else and your event can use our main dining area, covered open-air patio as well as our sidewalk seating. (70+ seats)

Private Party Contact:
Matt or Jennifer: 3367035400x

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, Counter Seating, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Private Room, Takeout, Wine, Wine Bar

Special Events & Promotions:
For Special Events or for Parties more than 6, please call the restaurant and speak with a manager. Thanks!

Restaurant Photos

  • Mozelle's Fresh Southern Bistro
Mozelle's Fresh Southern Bistro

Mozelle's Fresh Southern Bistro Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.5

ambience

4.2

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Greensboro / Winston Salem / Highpoint
Best Food
Greensboro / Winston Salem / Highpoint
Best Value
Greensboro / Winston Salem / Highpoint
11 More
Fit for Foodies
Greensboro / Winston Salem / Highpoint
Neighborhood Gem
Greensboro / Winston Salem / Highpoint
Outdoor Dining
Greensboro / Winston Salem / Highpoint
Most Booked
Greensboro / Winston Salem / Highpoint
Best Overall
Winston Salem
Best Food
Winston Salem
Best Service
Winston Salem
Best Ambiance
Winston Salem
Best Value
Winston Salem
Fit for Foodies
Winston Salem
Most Booked
Winston Salem
Best Restaurants in Winston-Salem ›

neighborhood gem (74)
fit for foodies (71)
great for outdoor dining (65)
See All
special occasion (53)
great for lunch (41)
great for brunch (39)
romantic (28)
notable wine list (24)
good for groups (20)
hot spot (19)
kid-friendly (7)
scenic view (3)
late-night find (3)
vibrant bar scene (1)
Sort By:
Newest
756 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

The food and service was very good. The ...

 
 (Greensboro)
·Dined 7 days ago

The food and service was very good. The facility is a little small so be prepared to sit close. We had the Scallops and Shrimp and Grits, both were very good.

Tags: neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Best Shrimp and grits I have ever had in ...

 
 (Greensboro)
·Dined 7 days ago

Best Shrimp and grits I have ever had in this area! We all enjoyed our lunch for my birthday. The chocolate in the chocolate cream pie was amazing. We asked what kind of chocolate it was but were told it was secret. I understand why!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4

Dinner was excellent... The meatloaf wit ...

 
 (Greensboro)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

Dinner was excellent... The meatloaf with cheese grits and collards greens was exceptional! As always a great place to dine.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Had high hopes for this place. Came high ...

 
 (Greensboro)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

Had high hopes for this place. Came highly recommended. Very disappointed with overall experience. Husband was seated with sun shining in his face. Waiter rushed us through. Hostess joined table to ours while still eating, as if to suggest, can you finish up have a party of four waiting! Plus my husband had to move over when she did this and sun still in face. Food was good but not great. Salad was fresh tasting and lovely presentation. If I could say anything positive, menu is resonantly priced. Service and ambience can ruin even the best tasting food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service2
value3

The food was fantastic with one exceptio ...

 
 (Greensboro)
·Dined on July 18, 2016

The food was fantastic with one exception: the fried okra appetizer. The okra was too large, tough & stringy.

The tomato pie & fried chicken were as usual- outstanding

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Great Food and Great Service! Prices are ...

 
 (Western NC)
·Dined on July 12, 2016

Great Food and Great Service! Prices are very reasonable for the quality of food and service!

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This is a reliable restaurant frequented ...

vip
 (Greensboro)
·Dined on July 11, 2016

This is a reliable restaurant frequented by young people. Accommodation are kind of standard and not very comfortable. Disappointed in that they do not serve or have breads; so if you like bread in your meal I suggest go somewhere else.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value2

Great food & very friendly service. Woul ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Great food & very friendly service. Would love to come back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5

So fabulous! One of the best meals I hav ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 6, 2016

So fabulous! One of the best meals I have had in a very long time. I had the grouper special and it was exceptional-not at all what I was expecting, but the flavors came together perfectly to create something unique and wonderful. My daughter and I loved everything from our appetizer to dessert. Our server was fantastic-warm and attentive. The only minor drawback is that the restaurant is small, thus, seating is cozy. Without trying to, we got an earful of the next table's conversations. I can only assume they had they same problem! It definitely won't keep us from going back. Don't miss this fantastic gem.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Mozelle's is one of our regular favorite ...

 
 (Greensboro)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

Mozelle's is one of our regular favorites. Delicious food and wonderful staff. We love it!

Tags: great for brunch, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Fantastic food and really good service. ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

Fantastic food and really good service. Will be back many times to come.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Food was great . took a long time for th ...

 
 (Greensboro)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Food was great . took a long time for the extra grill chicken for the salad .

Tags: romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value4

The food was delicious, especially the T ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

The food was delicious, especially the Tomoto Pie and Biscuits & Gravy. We'll definitely be back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value3

Always excellent...every visit exceeds e ...

 
 (Greensboro)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

Always excellent...every visit exceeds expectations

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Delicious, outstanding food and service. ...

 
 (Greensboro)
·Dined on June 17, 2016

Delicious, outstanding food and service. Three of us had lunch and tried various dishes with unanimous success. Our group had the Pimento Cheese and Bacon Sandwich with Fries, a French Dip, and lastly I had the Meatloaf with cheese grits and Collards. Everything was excellent and enjoyed by all.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Salmon salad with spicy cucumber kimchee ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on June 16, 2016

Salmon salad with spicy cucumber kimchee was excellent and the server was always there right ahead of when it would be expected or needed. Seating inside is cozy and very European, which I like. The open kitchen activity adds to the ambiance. Great lunch spot.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Fantastic diner with fabulous service in ...

 
 (Greensboro)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

Fantastic diner with fabulous service in a great venue.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

This is the definition of a neighborhood ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 8, 2016

This is the definition of a neighborhood gem. They probably have the best staff in the city. Very pleasant place.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent food but the staff was a littl ...

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on June 5, 2016

Excellent food but the staff was a little lacking.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service2

Great food and friendly staff.

 
 (Greensboro)
·Dined on May 26, 2016

Very friendly and accommodating staff. Great good. Hostess superb.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Four for dinner before a show. Great ser ...

 
 (Greensboro)
·Dined on May 25, 2016

Four for dinner before a show. Great service and food

Close to downtown.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

FIrst official date night

 
 (Greensboro)
·Dined on May 20, 2016

Friends sent a Mozelle's gift card to my wife and I as a wedding gift. We decided to use it for our first official 'married couple date night.' Mozelle's was a perfect spot for this special occasion, and we had a great romantic evening. The food was excellent, and was well complimented by a bottle of wine the server recommended. The spring rolls and the filet were both excellent, as was the bite of Guinea Hen I was able to negotiate from my wife. The service was prompt but never rushed. The quality of the food and service ensured that we will be back for date night again.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Great menu!

vip
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on May 16, 2016

Great menu!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I've always liked Mozelle's, it has a ve ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on May 9, 2016

I've always liked Mozelle's, it has a very agreeable atmosphere, unfussy but cool and the tight quarters make for a vibrant scene. Dining spills out onto the sidewalk and blankets are supplied for outdoor diners in cool weather, a nice touch. Service and food are always excellent and I am never disappointed.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always a great spot for lunch or dinner!

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

Always a great spot for lunch or dinner!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Wonderful Place to Linger

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on April 30, 2016

Met an old friend for brunch. We lingered for 3 hours, enjoying brunch and mimosas, catching up on 16 years of life. Everything looked good on the menu. I had the shrimp and grits - DIVINE - and she had the breakfast skillet. Her only complaint was she wished she'd asked for mushrooms to be added. The flourless chocolate cake was decadent, and the bourbon bread pudding was delicious. Worth my 90-minute drive to meet her!

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always a great place

 
 (Greensboro)
·Dined on April 30, 2016

This is one of our favorite places to dine. The food was awesome as always. Our server was very nice, but just could not get it together. Never refilled glasses of water, cups of coffee or poured wine. Still one of our favorites!!!

Tags: great for outdoor dining, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service1
value4

Best coconut cream pie that have EVER ta ...

vip
 (Greensboro)
·Dined on April 27, 2016

Best coconut cream pie that have EVER tasted!! Food is always excellent but this huge piece of pie with lots of real coconut flakes is not to be missed!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Love it

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on April 25, 2016

I love Mozelle's. Best place in Winston. Good for any occasion, great food, wonderful service.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Absolutely delicious experience !

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on April 24, 2016

We came to Mozelles after hiking Stone Mountain, on a Sunday afternoon. It was beyond our expectations. Lovely and quiet and peaceful, great waiter who took special care of us, I think his name was Josh. He was wonderful! And the food!! Absolutely delicious ! We were embarrassed a bit because we ate every bite of our meals. We will definitely be back, still dreaming of their tomato soup!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Not to be missed

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on April 23, 2016

Of the 10 restaurants I tried in Winston, this was my favorite. Great fried chicken, meatloaf, and salmon. I loved the chocolate pie too. 2 servers were excellent, 1 just okay.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Wonderful

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on April 20, 2016

I am a New Yorkers visiting Winston. I came to Mozelle's in my first few days, and I have been back 4 times, and have been very happy on every occasion.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Pleasant surprise

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on April 17, 2016

We were recently in Winston Salem and had no clue where to eat dinner. We found Mozelle's on Open Table and were pleasantly surprised by how really good it was. The food was the highlight - diverse menu, very well prepared, and delicious. We recommended it to a number of people at our business conference. We would definitely go back. Heads up - they serve beer and wine only.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

Feedback/Comments

 
 (Greensboro)
·Dined on April 16, 2016

Love Mozelle's... The menu is diverse and the food is unfailingly excellent. Typically the service experience is very positive. On our most recent visit, service wasn't up to par - but we recognized there were many special events taking place which likely explained the fact that our service wasn't up to the usual standard.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value3

First time - will repeat when in Winston Salem

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on April 16, 2016

Found this on Trip Advisor - and was in Winston-Salem for a meeting. Had brunch and ot was REALLY GOOD. Black eyed peas cakes were a great starter. Unusual, good flavors and nice chipotle aioli. Friend had pimento cheese burger and she wolfed it down. I had biscuits and gravy. which met a similar fate ... well almost. They were sitting on the world's best cheese grits, which made i impossible to eat all of the biscuits.

A definite find.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Small but delicious.

vip
 (Greensboro)
·Dined on April 16, 2016

Small but delicious.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Have been here 3x.

vip
 (Greensboro)
·Dined on April 12, 2016

First 2x were fantastic. This night wasn't. I think it was only an off night. Love this place and want it to do well.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service3
value3

Mozelle's is a tiny space, with an amazi ...

 
 (Greensboro)
·Dined on April 9, 2016

Mozelle's is a tiny space, with an amazing atmosphere. The food is top notch and the service is better. If you get a chance to go for brunch, the biscuits and gravy here is superb.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Birthday Dinner.

 
 (Greensboro)
·Dined on April 2, 2016

We dined here for our mother's birthday. Our waiter was courteous and took good care of us. We all enjoyed our entrees & our desserts were delicious. Thanks for giving us a memorable dining experience.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Suberb once again

 
 (Greensboro)
·Dined on April 2, 2016

This was my 2nd time eating here and the food was spot on once again. Whether you eat inside or outside, make sure to get a reservation as this place is always busy but well worth it.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.