About Mozelle's Fresh Southern Bistro

878 W. 4th Street
Winston-Salem, NC 27101
View Larger Map

Welcome to Mozelle’s Fresh Southern Bistro, a downtown Winston-Salem restaurant. The cuisine at Mozelle's is southern-inspired and comprised of the finest and freshest ingredients. In addition to great food, patrons enjoy our cozy and lively atmosphere. Come for lunch or dinner with friends and family, or reserve our open-air covered patio and allow Mozelle's to host your events. For parties larger than 6 and special occasions please call the restaurant.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Southern, American, Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:00am - 2:00pm;
Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm,
Dinner: Friday 5:00pm - 10:00pm
Saturday: 11:00am - 10:00pm Serving Brunch from 11:00am to 3:00pm and Dinner Menu 3:00pm - 10:00pm
Sunday: 11:00am - 9:00pm Serving Brunch from 11:00am to 3:00pm and Dinner Menu 3:00pm - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
Brookstown Avenue

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(336) 703-5400

Website:
http://www.mozelles.com/

Catering:
Private Parties at Your Home or Office
We will happily bring our yummy food to you and send our waitstaff to serve your guests. Call to schedule your next event.

Parking Details:
For dinner diners there is also a parking lot directly behind our restaurant that you may access on Burke Street in addition to street parking.

Executive Chef:
Steven McPherson

Private Party Facilities:
Private Parties at Mozelle's
Why make a mess at your home or office when you can enjoy our atmosphere and food and not have to worry about the clean-up?

On Our Covered Patio
From a small intimate gathering to a feisty celebration with 30 people, the bistro's covered patio will comfortably accommodate. Heated in the winter, cooled in the summer, and open-air for spring and fall — the patio is perfect anytime.

Reserve the Entire Restaurant
Need the royal treatment? We will close our doors to everyone else and your event can use our main dining area, covered open-air patio as well as our sidewalk seating. (70+ seats)

Private Party Contact:
Matt or Jennifer: 3367035400x

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, Counter Seating, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Private Room, Takeout, Wine, Wine Bar

Special Events & Promotions:
For Special Events or for Parties more than 6, please call the restaurant and speak with a manager. Thanks!

Mozelle's Fresh Southern Bistro Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.7

ambience

4.5

noise

Moderate

99% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Greensboro / Winston Salem / Highpoint
Best Food
Greensboro / Winston Salem / Highpoint
Best Service
Greensboro / Winston Salem / Highpoint
12 More
Best Value
Greensboro / Winston Salem / Highpoint
Fit for Foodies
Greensboro / Winston Salem / Highpoint
Great for Lunch
Greensboro / Winston Salem / Highpoint
Neighborhood Gem
Greensboro / Winston Salem / Highpoint
Most Booked
Greensboro / Winston Salem / Highpoint
Best Overall
Winston Salem
Best Food
Winston Salem
Best Service
Winston Salem
Best Ambiance
Winston Salem
Best Value
Winston Salem
Fit for Foodies
Winston Salem
Most Booked
Winston Salem
Best Restaurants in Winston-Salem ›

neighborhood gem (99)
fit for foodies (96)
great for outdoor dining (69)
See All
special occasion (62)
great for brunch (58)
great for lunch (57)
romantic (43)
notable wine list (33)
hot spot (22)
good for groups (19)
kid-friendly (8)
scenic view (5)
late-night find (2)
 (1)
vibrant bar scene (1)
 (1)
 (1)
 (1)
 (1)
 (1)
Sort By:
Newest
737 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Great food and friendly staff.

Dined 5 days ago

Very friendly and accommodating staff. Great good. Hostess superb.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience5
service5

Four for dinner before a show. Great ser ...

Dined 6 days ago

Four for dinner before a show. Great service and food Close to downtown.

food5
ambience5
service4
value5

FIrst official date night

Dined on May 20, 2016

Friends sent a Mozelle's gift card to my wife and I as a wedding gift. We decided to use it for our first official 'married couple date night.' Mozelle's was a perfect spot for this special occasion, and we had a great romantic evening. The food was excellent, and was well complimented by a bottle of wine the server recommended. The spring rolls and the filet were both excellent, as was the bite of Guinea Hen I was able to negotiate from my wife. The service was prompt but never rushed. The quality of the food and service ensured that we will be back for date night again.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Great menu!

Dined on May 16, 2016

Great menu!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I've always liked Mozelle's, it has a ve ...

Dined on May 9, 2016

I've always liked Mozelle's, it has a very agreeable atmosphere, unfussy but cool and the tight quarters make for a vibrant scene. Dining spills out onto the sidewalk and blankets are supplied for outdoor diners in cool weather, a nice touch. Service and food are always excellent and I am never disappointed.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food4
ambience5
service5

Always a great spot for lunch or dinner!

vip
Dined on May 8, 2016

Always a great spot for lunch or dinner!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful Place to Linger

Dined on April 30, 2016

Met an old friend for brunch. We lingered for 3 hours, enjoying brunch and mimosas, catching up on 16 years of life. Everything looked good on the menu. I had the shrimp and grits - DIVINE - and she had the breakfast skillet. Her only complaint was she wished she'd asked for mushrooms to be added. The flourless chocolate cake was decadent, and the bourbon bread pudding was delicious. Worth my 90-minute drive to meet her!

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service1
value4

Always a great place

Dined on April 30, 2016

This is one of our favorite places to dine. The food was awesome as always. Our server was very nice, but just could not get it together. Never refilled glasses of water, cups of coffee or poured wine. Still one of our favorites!!!

Tags: great for outdoor dining, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Best coconut cream pie that have EVER ta ...

vip
Dined on April 27, 2016

Best coconut cream pie that have EVER tasted!! Food is always excellent but this huge piece of pie with lots of real coconut flakes is not to be missed!!

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Love it

Dined on April 25, 2016

I love Mozelle's. Best place in Winston. Good for any occasion, great food, wonderful service.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Absolutely delicious experience !

Dined on April 24, 2016

We came to Mozelles after hiking Stone Mountain, on a Sunday afternoon. It was beyond our expectations. Lovely and quiet and peaceful, great waiter who took special care of us, I think his name was Josh. He was wonderful! And the food!! Absolutely delicious ! We were embarrassed a bit because we ate every bite of our meals. We will definitely be back, still dreaming of their tomato soup!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Not to be missed

Dined on April 23, 2016

Of the 10 restaurants I tried in Winston, this was my favorite. Great fried chicken, meatloaf, and salmon. I loved the chocolate pie too. 2 servers were excellent, 1 just okay.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Wonderful

Dined on April 20, 2016

I am a New Yorkers visiting Winston. I came to Mozelle's in my first few days, and I have been back 4 times, and have been very happy on every occasion.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, great for lunch
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

Pleasant surprise

Dined on April 17, 2016

We were recently in Winston Salem and had no clue where to eat dinner. We found Mozelle's on Open Table and were pleasantly surprised by how really good it was. The food was the highlight - diverse menu, very well prepared, and delicious. We recommended it to a number of people at our business conference. We would definitely go back. Heads up - they serve beer and wine only.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service3
value3

Feedback/Comments

Dined on April 16, 2016

Love Mozelle's... The menu is diverse and the food is unfailingly excellent. Typically the service experience is very positive. On our most recent visit, service wasn't up to par - but we recognized there were many special events taking place which likely explained the fact that our service wasn't up to the usual standard.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

First time - will repeat when in Winston Salem

Dined on April 16, 2016

Found this on Trip Advisor - and was in Winston-Salem for a meeting. Had brunch and ot was REALLY GOOD. Black eyed peas cakes were a great starter. Unusual, good flavors and nice chipotle aioli. Friend had pimento cheese burger and she wolfed it down. I had biscuits and gravy. which met a similar fate ... well almost. They were sitting on the world's best cheese grits, which made i impossible to eat all of the biscuits. A definite find.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Small but delicious.

Dined on April 16, 2016

Small but delicious.

food2
ambience5
service3
value3

Have been here 3x.

vip
Dined on April 12, 2016

First 2x were fantastic. This night wasn't. I think it was only an off night. Love this place and want it to do well.

food5
ambience5
service5

Mozelle's is a tiny space, with an amazi ...

Dined on April 9, 2016

Mozelle's is a tiny space, with an amazing atmosphere. The food is top notch and the service is better. If you get a chance to go for brunch, the biscuits and gravy here is superb.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Birthday Dinner.

Dined on April 2, 2016

We dined here for our mother's birthday. Our waiter was courteous and took good care of us. We all enjoyed our entrees & our desserts were delicious. Thanks for giving us a memorable dining experience.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, great for lunch
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

Suberb once again

Dined on April 2, 2016

This was my 2nd time eating here and the food was spot on once again. Whether you eat inside or outside, make sure to get a reservation as this place is always busy but well worth it.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5

Came looking for southern food with a tw ...

Dined on March 29, 2016

Came looking for southern food with a twist. Went a little off that direction when the server recommended the salmon. It was served over spinach basmati. All were fantastic. Everyone who worked there were friendly. The building is lovely. Great neighborhood. I'm rarely ever I'm Winston Salem, but if I am, I'll go back

food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Mozzelle''s Our Standby

vip
Dined on March 29, 2016

Always fresh. Always favorite tomato pie, fried chicken, shrimpandgrits. Favorite lunch with clients. Street scene. Favorite sidewalk tables. Always welcome.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Mozelles never disappoints. Probably the ...

vip
Dined on March 28, 2016

Mozelles never disappoints. Probably the best menu with most unique offerings in Winston-Salem.

food5
ambience3
service3
value4

Excellent and different

Dined on March 27, 2016

The menu at Mozelle's is quite eclectic and everything we had was delicious. Sunday Brunch was when we visited. It's much smaller than I imagined

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

A Great Find

Dined on March 27, 2016

In town for the weekend and happened on to Mozelles. What a great find! It will be worth the drive to come back to this cute restaurant that is big on flavorful food. We both had steak and it was awesome. The chef cooked it to suit my very picky husband, so kudos to the chef!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We all thoroughly enjoyed ourselves at Moselle's.

Dined on March 27, 2016

The food and service were excellent. The atmosphere is fun. We all thoroughly enjoyed the evening at Moselle's. I highly recommend the restaurant.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Consistently excellent

Dined on March 26, 2016

Mozelle's is amazing. Hands down my favorite restaurant in Winston-Salem. If you're looking for upscale, modern southern food, you have to go here! I have been for dinner and brunch and have left stuffed and satisfied both times. Highlights: -Tomato pie, so cheesy and tomatoey with a perfect flaky crust -Meatloaf, it's better than your mom's -Biscuits and gravy, drool-worthy -"Go back to bed sandwich", on an unbelievably fluffy and buttery croissant Mozelle's is great for a weekend brunch when you want to treat yourself, or for date night out on the town. But regardless of when you go, you'll get an amazing meal.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5

Fried chicken was recommended and select ...

Dined on March 25, 2016

Fried chicken was recommended and selected. Wonderful dish and told by the server that it was the most popular.

food5
ambience5
service5

Wonderful restaurant. We are new to town ...

Dined on March 24, 2016

Wonderful restaurant. We are new to town, but this has quickly become our favorite date night restaurant.

food5
ambience5
service5

Fabulous service with best southern food ...

Dined on March 24, 2016

Fabulous service with best southern food that isn't fried. Fresh decor that goes casual to formal in an intimate space. Lovely experience.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Cozy Quality

Dined on March 23, 2016

We are never disappointed with Mozelle's. The food is always the best combination of comfort and quality - served in a cozy place by experienced and non-intrusive staff.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5

Good food, good experience all around, a ...

vip
Dined on March 23, 2016

Good food, good experience all around, a place you can count on

food2
ambience4
service5
value4

One of our favorite restaurants

vip
Dined on March 21, 2016

We both ordered something we never had for a change, the duck and pork osso bucco, we both were not very happy with our dinner and this was the first time we ordered something here and did not like the food. So I would not order those items again but definitely return and order our favorite dishes.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service4

Recently remodeled offers lovely place f ...

vip
Dined on March 20, 2016

Recently remodeled offers lovely place for lunch or dinner. Classic food elevated.

food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Gotta go!

Dined on March 19, 2016

My wife wants to eat here every time we come to town! We buy the tomato pies from them whole because they are awesome for any occasion... My son got the burger, looked delicious (and I snuck a bite of the pimento cheese, very fine). I could drink the champagne vinegarete dressing but prefer it on their house salad. Can't wait to get back!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food3
ambience5
service5

Great night. Thanks Holly

vip
Dined on March 15, 2016

Great night. Thanks Holly

food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Great Food for a Small Restaurant

vip
Dined on March 13, 2016

We had dinner here when we brought back our daughter to school after spring break. First, you need to make a reservation since they have limited space. We ordered the southern spring rolls and duck sliders for appetizers. Both are delicious. The spring rolls were a little bit overpriced because it was actually around 3 or 4 small spring rolls cut into two pieces. The duck sliders were two pieces of sliders. Filling was enough. We also ordered the fried goat cheese salad, osso buco and tomato pie. The tomato pie was outstanding specially paired with grits. The osso buco is big enough for sharing. The fried goat cheese was very good. Our dinner bill was around $100.00 and we didn't even order any drinks. It's a good resturant but a little bit overpriced for casual dining.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always great!

Dined on March 12, 2016

Mozelle's is consistently great! The menu is updated seasonally; the chefs provide excellence; and, the atmosphere is of a neighborhood great. It is my "go to" restaurant.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service1
value4

Food is amazing but service was unusually not good

Dined on February 26, 2016

We are regular clients at Mozelles. I was disappointed at service from both host and waiter during Restaurant week. The host was rude because we were 10 minutes late to our reservation and the waiter just did not want to be there. When I asked for a recommendation he answer was, 'whatever you order is good'. Very unlike Mozelles. Food was amazing as always. Hope this was a just an isolated event.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.