About Mozelle's Fresh Southern Bistro

878 W. 4th Street
Winston-Salem, NC 27101
View Larger Map

Welcome to Mozelle’s Fresh Southern Bistro, a downtown Winston-Salem restaurant. The cuisine at Mozelle's is southern-inspired and comprised of the finest and freshest ingredients. In addition to great food, patrons enjoy our cozy and lively atmosphere. Come for lunch or dinner with friends and family, or reserve our open-air covered patio and allow Mozelle's to host your events. For parties larger than 6 and special occasions please call the restaurant.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Southern, American, Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:00am - 2:00pm;
Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm,
Dinner: Friday 5:00pm - 10:00pm
Saturday: 11:00am - 10:00pm Serving Brunch from 11:00am to 3:00pm and Dinner Menu 3:00pm - 10:00pm
Sunday: 11:00am - 9:00pm Serving Brunch from 11:00am to 3:00pm and Dinner Menu 3:00pm - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
Brookstown Avenue

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(336) 703-5400

Website:
http://www.mozelles.com/

Catering:
Private Parties at Your Home or Office
We will happily bring our yummy food to you and send our waitstaff to serve your guests. Call to schedule your next event.

Parking Details:
For dinner diners there is also a parking lot directly behind our restaurant that you may access on Burke Street in addition to street parking.

Executive Chef:
Steven McPherson

Private Party Facilities:
Private Parties at Mozelle's
Why make a mess at your home or office when you can enjoy our atmosphere and food and not have to worry about the clean-up?

On Our Covered Patio
From a small intimate gathering to a feisty celebration with 30 people, the bistro's covered patio will comfortably accommodate. Heated in the winter, cooled in the summer, and open-air for spring and fall — the patio is perfect anytime.

Reserve the Entire Restaurant
Need the royal treatment? We will close our doors to everyone else and your event can use our main dining area, covered open-air patio as well as our sidewalk seating. (70+ seats)

Private Party Contact:
Matt or Jennifer: 3367035400x

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, Counter Seating, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
For Special Events or for Parties more than 6, please call the restaurant and speak with a manager. Thanks!

Restaurant Photos

  • Mozelle's Fresh Southern Bistro, Winston-Salem, NC
Mozelle's Fresh Southern Bistro, Winston-Salem, NC

Specials

50% Off All Wines

Mondays from 11:00 AM - 9:00 PM

New Year's Eve Special Menus & Offers

Saturday, December 31, 2016

4 for $4 Wines by the Glass

Thursdays from 11:00 AM - 9:00 PM

Specials

50% Off All Wines

Mondays from 11:00 AM - 9:00 PM

Details

50% Off All Wines. Excludes Tax and Tip. The special applies to Bottle only on Mondays. Special valid Oct 31, 2016 - Mar 3, 2017 on Mondays from 11:00 AM - 9:00 PM.

New Year's Eve Special Menus & Offers

Saturday, December 31, 2016

Details

Join us for a Special 4 Course Menu with a Champagne Toast/Seatings at 5:00, 7:00 and 9:00 pm/Menu to come/$70 per person + tax + gratuity

4 for $4 Wines by the Glass

Thursdays from 11:00 AM - 9:00 PM

Details

Mozelle's offers 4 different wines for $4 by the glass. We feature different wines each week. (note, this is not a flight, each glass of wine is $4). Excludes Tax and Tip. Special valid Nov 3, 2016 - Mar 2, 2017 on Thursdays from 11:00 AM - 9:00 PM.

Mozelle's Fresh Southern Bistro Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.5

ambience

4.4

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Greensboro / Winston Salem / Highpoint
Best Food
Greensboro / Winston Salem / Highpoint
Most Booked
Greensboro / Winston Salem / Highpoint
6 More
Best Overall
Winston Salem
Best Food
Winston Salem
Best Service
Winston Salem
Best Ambiance
Winston Salem
Best Value
Winston Salem
Most Booked
Winston Salem
Best Restaurants in Winston-Salem ›

Fit for Foodies (35)
Creative Cuisine (33)
Good for a Date (28)
See All
Neighborhood Gem (27)
Comfort Food (25)
Romantic (23)
Cozy (21)
Special Occasion (21)
Casual (20)
Authentic (17)
Great for Outdoor Dining (17)
Great for Brunch (17)
Great for Lunch (17)
Good for Anniversaries (16)
Local Ingredients (15)
Good for Birthdays (15)
Fun (13)
Open Kitchen (11)
Modern Decor (11)
Good Vegetarian Options (11)
Business Meals (11)
Quiet Conversation (10)
Notable Wine List (10)
Sunday Lunch (9)
Hot Spot (9)
Bar Seating (9)
Worth the Drive (9)
Gluten Free Options (8)
Good for Groups (8)
Seasonal (7)
Healthy (7)
Pre/post Theatre (7)
Outstanding Value (6)
People Watching (6)
Historic (4)
Scenic View (3)
Organic (3)
Late-night Find (3)
Afternoon Coffee (3)
Vegan (2)
Great Beer (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Private Room (2)
Happy Hour (2)
Family Style (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Sort By:
S
833 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

In a word..... Fantastic. We had a love ...

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined 3 days ago

In a word..... Fantastic. We had a lovely evening and dinner. The food was wonderful. Everything was fresh and delicious. It was my first time there. But I will be back.

Tags: Hot Spot, Casual, Afternoon Coffee, Worth the Drive, Modern Decor, Local Ingredients, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Back to Mozelle's with a business associ ...

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined 6 days ago

Back to Mozelle's with a business associate who had never been. She ordered the kale salad and loved it, I ordered the BBQ Chicken sandwich and it was delicious. Chicken way too big for the bun but I just cut it to size and enjoyed the rest with my knife and fork. Succotash was a bit off this time, needed more seasoning but corn is out of season now so shouldn't have ordered it. Our waitress was a bit pushy but pleasant. Tables are so close you cant' help but talk to your neighbor and because it's Mozelle's - that's a good thing.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Authentic, Quick Bite, Business Meals, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value4

Mozelles is our favorite place to go! We ...

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined 6 days ago

Mozelles is our favorite place to go! We are never disappointed by food or service!

Tags: Organic, Tasting Menu, Business Meals, Romantic, Modern Decor, Outstanding Value, Local Ingredients, Healthy, Good for Birthdays, Great for Brunch, Casual, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Outdoor Dining, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Private Room, Good for Anniversaries, Seasonal, Special Occasion, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a great time with friends! The fo ...

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on November 27, 2016

We had a great time with friends! The food and service are the best in town in our opinion. Everyone is very accommodating and professional. Can't wait to back!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great brunch. Must order their take on E ...

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on November 27, 2016

Great brunch. Must order their take on Eggs Benedict. :)

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Pre/post Theatre, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

Excellent selection of appetizers and en ...

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on November 26, 2016

Excellent selection of appetizers and entrees, deliciously prepared and presented, made our 47th anniversary a real date night!

Tags: Tasting Menu, Cozy, Bar Seating, Fit for Foodies, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Went for brunch-great menu options. The ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on November 26, 2016

Went for brunch-great menu options. The food was delicious. A nice combination of indulgent and healthier dishes. Very small place. It is was quiet when we went, but there were only about 6 total guests. It would likely be quite loud inside if crowded. The seating is close, so expect to get cozy with your neighbor. There is nice sidewalk seating if the weather permits. Service was pleasant but not stellar. It is a bit off putting when your server provides excuses as to why they haven't been by lately.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

The food was excellent however we were d ...

 
 (Naples)·Dined on November 26, 2016

The food was excellent however we were disappointed in the menu offerings this time-missed your prior salmon and steak entrees-calorically everything was higher with glazes, sauces,pasta,fried food.

Tags: Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

Food is wonderful. Good combination of f ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 25, 2016

Food is wonderful. Good combination of flavors in each dish. Portions are a little small.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

D0pe meal and experience

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on November 23, 2016

D0pe meal and experience

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Amazing food and service, much better th ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on November 20, 2016

Amazing food and service, much better than we anticipated!

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The atmosphere and service were excellen ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 17, 2016

The atmosphere and service were excellent, and the food was excellent too. My only criticism is that it was a little pricey for three people. That being said, I have no regrets because it was an outstanding experience.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

An incredible find! Everything we ordere ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 15, 2016

An incredible find! Everything we ordered was over the top good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Mozelle's always provides outstanding fo ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Mozelle's always provides outstanding food. This a consistency that is hard to find in Winston Salem.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Bar Seating, Business Meals, Romantic, Authentic, Comfort Food, Fun, Pre/post Theatre, Worth the Drive, Great for Outdoor Dining, Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem, Sunday Lunch, Outstanding Value, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Historic, Notable Wine List, Casual, Good for a Date, Healthy, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

My wife and I had a great brunch. Well ...

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on November 6, 2016

My wife and I had a great brunch. Well prepared and served with fun and enjoyment in mind.

Tags: Casual, Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

A simple restaurant on the exterior with ...

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on November 5, 2016

A simple restaurant on the exterior with a bit of a diner feel but a high end ambiance as well. Was looking forward to eating here because of it's unique feel. The host (owner?) did a great job, but our server was awful. Beers were poured 3/4 with foam, we were never asked how the meal was, our questions were responded to with just a few words, we could hear cooks behind us swearing in the kitchen. They are going for a high end decor, but the service is a long, long way off from achieving the look/feel they're going for.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value3

Our service was poor. Before even askin ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on November 5, 2016

Our service was poor. Before even asking for drinks or telling us specials, waitress wanted our dinner order. Had to repeatedly request for refill on drinks. Sea bass excellent, but sauteed greens with mushrooms were gritty, (you could see specks of dirt on plate and grit in mouth never pleasant) and risotto under cooked.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service1
value3

Jeremy was our server and he was fantast ...

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on November 4, 2016

Jeremy was our server and he was fantastic! Great sense of humor and great service. Will definitely ask for him in the future.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Casual, Good for a Date, Great for Brunch, Modern Decor, Cozy, Special Occasion, Romantic, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fun, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was delicious and service was excel ...

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on November 4, 2016

Food was delicious and service was excellent!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The space inside is small but lots of ou ...

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on November 3, 2016

The space inside is small but lots of outdoor seating. The food was well prepared and presented.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Food was spectacular. Had to remind the ...

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on October 30, 2016

Food was spectacular. Had to remind the waitress twice to bring my wife's drink. Took an hour for the food to come, during which we saw at least 3 people drunk to the point that they could barely stand up from their table.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience1
service1

Our lunch at Mozelle's was outstanding a ...

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on October 26, 2016

Our lunch at Mozelle's was outstanding and reasonably priced for their delicious and abundantly-sized servings. My husband and I shared a full-sized fresh garden salad; he ordered the shrimp and grits, and I had the tomato pie with succotash. An ardent shrimp and grits fan, he pronounced it tied with a restaurant in Florida for first place in 20-plus years of "testing." My lunch was delicious, too, and I would go back today if I could afford the calories.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Mozelle's Fresh Southern Bistro provided ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on October 25, 2016

Mozelle's Fresh Southern Bistro provided great food and great service. It's not a cheap meal, but the food was prepared well and presented in an appealing manner. I would not hesitate to go back and try some of the other tasty looking dishes offered on their menu, and I definitely recommend it. If you're looking to visit on a night in which Winston is typically busier, make sure to get your reservation in early. The seating is limited and goes fast.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value2

This restaurant used to be AMAZING! I us ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 25, 2016

This restaurant used to be AMAZING! I used to go monthly at least. But when I went back this week the food was less than mediocre. It was sad. I even had to send something back. I don't know what changed, but definitely hurt my opinion of the place.

Also, all new wait staff.... something has changed, just not sure what. Management? Ownership?

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service2
value2

Holly was superb.

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on October 24, 2016

Holly was superb.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We love Mozelles :) Always great food ( ...

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on October 22, 2016

We love Mozelles :) Always great food (scallops are the best). Servers are responsive and friendly.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Food is unbelievably great!!!

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on October 16, 2016

Food is unbelievably great!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I have a very intense case of food poiso ...

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on October 11, 2016

I have a very intense case of food poisoning after having eaten at Mozelle's. I've eaten there before and never had a problem. I had the fried chicken - delicious as always - but it must have been a bad piece of chicken. I won't be risking another trip to Mozelle's.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service5
value4

Excellent food and service. Good choices ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on October 7, 2016

Excellent food and service. Good choices for the three of us.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I love Mozelles and would recommend it t ...

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on October 6, 2016

I love Mozelles and would recommend it to everyone I know. The people who work there are great and the food is wonderful

Tags: Authentic, Great for Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

One of the best in town! Tasty, creative ...

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on October 5, 2016

One of the best in town! Tasty, creative cooking in a casual/semi-fine-dining atmosphere. Service is very good. Wine selection not very large but good. Indoor and sidewalk seating with blankets outside for cooler temps.

Tags: Scenic View, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List, Great for Brunch, Casual, Fun, Romantic, Healthy, Great for Lunch, Good for a Date, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Food was fantastic, a great twist on so ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on October 5, 2016

Food was fantastic, a great twist on southern cuisine, great price too!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The tomato pie is the best I've ever had ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 1, 2016

The tomato pie is the best I've ever had. One of my new favorites!

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We went to Mozelle's Friday night as a p ...

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on October 1, 2016

We went to Mozelle's Friday night as a party of four for my husband's birthday. We purchased two bottles of wine for the table, and brought a special occasion wine from home that was not on their menu. Though we purchased bottles from them, we were still charged a $20 corkage fee on the bottle we brought. Even Fleming's only charges $10!!! Absurd. You would think a restaurant of this caliber would waive something like that given that we still purchased alcohol from them, they didn't have the wine on the menu, and that it was for a birthday. Most upscale restaurants will overlook this type of thing under those circumstances. When we were seated, no one came to our table for almost 20 minutes. Our reservation was at 8:00, and at 8:25 I finally went inside and asked for a server. When the server came out, he was rushed, didn't greet us, and seemed overall annoyed. He basically came to the table and asked if we were ready to order. His attitude the entire meal was terrible. The food was the one shining star of this meal. But for a $250 meal I expect outstanding service and some courtesy...maybe even a "Happy Birthday," at that price.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service1
value3

One of my favorite downtown restaurants ...

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on September 27, 2016

One of my favorite downtown restaurants continues to do it right with great food and matching service. Unique menu items along with delicious signature offerings make this a place you will definitely want to visit regularly.

Tags: Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Casual, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Nice place for lunch

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 26, 2016

Nice place for lunch

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great menu options for all tastes and pr ...

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on September 25, 2016

Great menu options for all tastes and presented and served w excellence

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We discovered this spot about 3 years ag ...

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on September 25, 2016

We discovered this spot about 3 years ago. Absolutely love it. The menu is great. It is great to have a place that is always good . Never any complaints. The collard greens are the best I have ever had!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Afternoon Coffee, Late-night Find, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Mozelle's is delicious! The menu is fre ...

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on September 25, 2016

Mozelle's is delicious! The menu is fresh and everything is fantastic. It's a cute little place with a lot of character. One of our favorite Winston-Salem spots!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Beautiful atmosphere - delicious food - ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 23, 2016

Beautiful atmosphere - delicious food - great service! Tomato pie the BEST!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.