Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.64mi
  2. Distance: 0.90mi
  3. Distance: 0.91mi
  4. Distance: 0.96mi
  1. Distance: 0.64mi
  2. Distance: 0.90mi
  3. Distance: 0.91mi
  4. Distance: 0.96mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.64mi
  2. Distance: 0.90mi
  3. Distance: 0.91mi
  4. Distance: 0.96mi
  1. Distance: 0.64mi
  2. Distance: 0.90mi
  3. Distance: 0.91mi
  4. Distance: 0.96mi

About Mozelle's Fresh Southern Bistro

Welcome to Mozelle’s Fresh Southern Bistro, a downtown Winston-Salem restaurant. The cuisine at Mozelle's is southern-inspired and comprised of the finest and freshest ingredients. In addition to great food, patrons enjoy our cozy and lively atmosphere. Come for lunch or dinner with friends and family, or reserve our open-air covered patio and allow Mozelle's to host your events. For parties larger than 6 and special occasions please call the restaurant.

878 W. 4th Street
Winston-Salem, NC 27101
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Southern, American, Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:00am - 2:00pm;
Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm,
Dinner: Friday 5:00pm - 10:00pm
Saturday: 11:00am - 10:00pm Serving Brunch from 11:00am to 3:00pm and Dinner Menu 3:00pm - 10:00pm
Sunday: 11:00am - 9:00pm Serving Brunch from 11:00am to 3:00pm and Dinner Menu 3:00pm - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
Brookstown Avenue

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(336) 703-5400

Website:
http://www.mozelles.com/

Catering:
Private Parties at Your Home or Office
We will happily bring our yummy food to you and send our waitstaff to serve your guests. Call to schedule your next event.

Parking Details:
For dinner diners there is also a parking lot directly behind our restaurant that you may access on Burke Street in addition to street parking.

Executive Chef:
Steven McPherson

Private Party Facilities:
Private Parties at Mozelle's
Why make a mess at your home or office when you can enjoy our atmosphere and food and not have to worry about the clean-up?

On Our Covered Patio
From a small intimate gathering to a feisty celebration with 30 people, the bistro's covered patio will comfortably accommodate. Heated in the winter, cooled in the summer, and open-air for spring and fall — the patio is perfect anytime.

Reserve the Entire Restaurant
Need the royal treatment? We will close our doors to everyone else and your event can use our main dining area, covered open-air patio as well as our sidewalk seating. (70+ seats)

Private Party Contact:
Matt or Jennifer: (336) 703-5400

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, Counter Seating, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
For Special Events or for Parties more than 6, please call the restaurant and speak with a manager. Thanks!

Mozelle's Fresh Southern Bistro Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.4

value

4.4

Noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Neighborhood Gem (44)
Good for a Date (34)
Cozy (24)
See All
Special Occasion (24)
Casual (24)
Creative Cuisine (24)
Comfort Food (23)
Fit for Foodies (23)
Local Ingredients (22)
Authentic (21)
Great for Brunch (20)
Romantic (20)
Good for Birthdays (18)
Great for Outdoor Dining (18)
Good for Anniversaries (16)
Fun (16)
Great for Lunch (16)
Sunday Lunch (16)
People Watching (15)
Healthy (12)
Notable Wine List (12)
Pre/post Theatre (12)
Seasonal (10)
Gluten Free Options (9)
Business Meals (8)
Organic (7)
Worth the Drive (7)
Good for Groups (6)
Quiet Conversation (6)
Bar Seating (4)
Hot Spot (3)
Scenic View (3)
Afternoon Tea (2)
Great Beer (2)
Vegan (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Kid-friendly (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Spicy (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Sort By:
S
1093 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined 3 days ago

I love Mozelle's...the staff is very friendly ( they are always glad to see us ) the wine list is great and last but not least the food is delicious

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Charleston)·Dined 3 days ago

Cute little restaurant with great ambiance. We ate brunch there and were not disappointed. Will be back

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value3

 
 (Orlando)·Dined 3 days ago

We were there for brunch on a Sunday. Very delicious. Service was great. Cozy dining. I had the bourbon peach french toast.....to die for! One of my daughters had the firecracker salmon. Salmon was fresh and cooked perfect. Spicy, but we love spicy. My other daughter had the "Go back to bed" sandwich and loved it. So much that she was hostile about sharing a taste. Will go back if I'm in the area again!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Cozy, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined 3 days ago

Mozelle's is generally one of my favorite places to eat in Winston-Salem. On this visit, however, there was an extremely long wait for our food. I understand that long waits will occasionally happen in every restaurant, but our server didn't even mention the long wait, much less apologize for it. A party of two that was seated about thirty minutes after us (we were a party of three) still received their food before us. I wouldn't find this incident nearly as irritating if the long wait had just been acknowledged.

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value3

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on October 6, 2017

Food and ambience is really good here. Very interesting menu at reasonable prices.
Only disappointment was service was a little rushed with dishes turning up with little or no time in between. This has not been the case in the past so may have been a one off issue

Tags: Local Ingredients, Great for Outdoor Dining, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on October 6, 2017

Lovely corner cafe location
Food was wonderful - nice menu
Great service !
Definitely recommend it !

Tags: Fun, People Watching, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on October 4, 2017

Food was delicious and our server (Drew) was exceptional. Cast Iron Chicken, Shrimp 'N' Grits, Meatloaf and Fried Chicken were all excellent. Awesome desserts too.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Local Ingredients, Seasonal, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on October 4, 2017

Restaurant came highly recommended Service was fair. At first we were ignored we ordered a salad to split and I ordered a soup. They both came out at the exact same which I thought was very poor timing.
Our main courses were;
pork chop special sauce was very flavorful but the chop was tasteless and tough.
Braised short ribs over mashed potatoes
Meat was tender and flavorful. It can shredded which was a First for me.

I was disappointed since it came so highly recommended. I would not say I was unhappy dining there just that it didn’t meet the expectations of all the reviews and hotel staff ‘s recommendations

Tags: Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value1

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on October 4, 2017

Another great experience at Mozelle's. Great food, sidewalk seating and a first rate wait staff. We have always been pleased and impressed in our experience with Mozelle's. Certainly worth the 30 minute drive for us.

Tags: Authentic, Neighborhood Gem, Fun, Fit for Foodies, Comfort Food, Romantic, People Watching, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on October 2, 2017

Mozelle’s was great. I hadn’t been before and chose to have a small birthday dinner there with friends. It was delicious and the service was great. I will be back!

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Pre/post Theatre, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on October 1, 2017

Our anniversary date night at Mozelle's was wonderful. Our wait person Tylinn was great and she did a fabulous job. Her wine recommendation was spot on as were her dinner suggestions. Everything was great and our anniversary date night couldn't have been better. Thank you Mozelle's.

Tags: Authentic, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Cozy, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on October 1, 2017

I love coming here, always have great service & food.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Great for Brunch, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Lunch, Romantic, Bar Seating, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on September 24, 2017

Food and service were great! Best local restaurant!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 24, 2017

Had a great dinner last night, have dined here regularly since they opened, and can’t remember a bad night. The food hits us just right and is matched by a staff that is dedicated to pleasant service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on September 21, 2017

As usual the food and service were excellent at my wife and friend's birthday partying experience. I recommend reservations as it is a small restaurant.

Tags: Casual, Good for Birthdays, Fun, Romantic, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 18, 2017

We had a great dinner and the wahoo special was fabulous. Great service all around, and thanks to Holly as always

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 16, 2017

We absolutely loved our dinner at Mozelle's! We had a friendly knowledgeable waiter who helped us make choices from their outstanding menu. Everything was delicious - clean plates all around at our table. We will be back on our next visit to Winston-Salem!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Outdoor Dining, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on September 15, 2017

Always EXCELLENT food, good service, love eating outside but it can be noisy. If you haven't eaten here, do it!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 15, 2017

We really enjoyed our meal at Mozelles. Service was great and good was southern comfort with a healthy and local flair. I would definitely return

Tags: Casual, Good Vegetarian Options, Authentic, Quiet Conversation, Spicy, Comfort Food, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients, Good for Birthdays, Vegan, Gluten Free Options, Creative Cuisine, Organic, Seasonal, Healthy, Good for a Date, People Watching, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on September 7, 2017

Amazing as always!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 6, 2017

This place was amazing - I felt like I was on a dinner date on a show like the Bachelorette! Wonderful ambiance and aesthetic, close-knit but comfortable proximity to other diners, attentive and well-timed service, creative and delicious menu (the hardest part was deciding on entrees!) wonderful wine (we ordered a fruity Cabernet, wish I could remember the name), and relatively quiet noise level. I would recommend for any nice occasion worth celebrating with a splurge. Worth it! Will definitely be coming back to try the entire rest of the menu!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, People Watching, Romantic, Local Ingredients, Casual, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 3, 2017

The food is delicious a made fresh to order. I would suggest this quant rest to anyone.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Great for Lunch, Sunday Lunch, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on September 2, 2017

Best food in Winston! I have never been disappointed and my tastebuds are always thrilled with all of the flavor. I don't like collard greens but their spicy collards are amazing!

Tags: Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Cozy, Great for Brunch, Creative Cuisine, Sunday Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Comfort Food, Gluten Free Options, Organic, Great Beer, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on September 1, 2017

Our new favorite! We were sat for our reservation immediately and the service was prompt and attentive thanks to our wonderful waiter, Drew! Our food, the bacon wrapped meatloaf and the shrimp and grits, came out quickly and was beyond delicious! We usually avoid desert, but the main course was so good we couldn't resist ordering it and we were not disappointed. The only odd part is how close the tables are together (necessary for the size of the restaurant), but after 2 minutes you get used to it and don't even realize it anymore. We can't wait to go back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 31, 2017

Excellent service and food as always

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 31, 2017

We came in for my mom's birthday and had a reservation. We got to sit where we wanted to and were promptly greeted by our server.

Our server was well versed with the menu, personable, and professional. He had wonderful recommondations.

We had a few apps, catch of the day, tomato pie, shrimp and grits, and meatloaf. All delicious. Followed by a key lime pie special and a pecan bread pudding. We were not disappointed.

Thank you for a wonderful experience!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

 
·Dined on August 29, 2017

I've only been here twice, but the food was absolutely delicious both times!

Tags: Comfort Food, Great for Outdoor Dining, Gluten Free Options, Neighborhood Gem, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on August 28, 2017

The service and food at Mozelle's are always wonderful.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on August 27, 2017

Wonderful food and service! A Winston-Salem gem!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 26, 2017

Dinner was delicious, and filling for my college student. Service was attentive and thoughtful. The one negative was one of the tables next to us had a couple who were loud and you couldn't avoid hearing their conversation which was not pleasant.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on August 24, 2017

Top of the list in Winston Salem. Staff knows hospitality, and food is wonderful. Comfortable and casual, just a great restaurant.

Tags: Cozy, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on August 20, 2017

We enjoyed Sunday brunch while seated outside on a lovely morning. Our server was excellent and quite knowledgeable about the menu. The food was truly outstanding, fresh, and inventive.

We hope to visit again the next time we are in the area!

Tags: Authentic, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, People Watching, Sunday Lunch, Bar Seating, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on August 18, 2017

Small. Not at all intimate. Great service! Wife's scallops were to die for. My shrimp and grits were good, shrimp cooked perfectly, but maybe a little too creamy. Wine and beer only; I had forgotten that and was looking forward to a Martini. Ate there in 2011 - another name? Planning another visit next time on our way to Greensboro or Durham.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on August 15, 2017

Celebrating our 46th wedding anniversary.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 15, 2017

As always, Jennifer and her team do an excellent job. Drew was a superb server, and the food was fabulous. Mozelle's has a very special place in my heart: it was the last restaurant that I took my father to before he passed away. He loved to sit at the bar, because he could see the kitchen at work.

Thank you again for another great meal, and another great memory.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, People Watching, Neighborhood Gem, Fun, Hot Spot, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on August 12, 2017

Mozelle's is a Winston-Salem staple for all of our friends. It's always a great dining experience whether we go for brunch Sunday morning or for a nice Saturday night out.

Tags: Business Meals, Great for Lunch, Comfort Food, Sunday Lunch, Casual, Notable Wine List, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on August 11, 2017

Missile's never fails my expectation. They saw me two nights in a row this weekend.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 11, 2017

We had a lovely dinner on Friday evening. Our waitress was great and so was our dinner. I recommend this restaurant often.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Quiet Conversation, Great for Lunch, Healthy, Business Meals, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on August 10, 2017

Get the fried chicken. It's incredible.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5

 
 (Miami)·Dined on August 9, 2017

Second time at Mozelle's; food and service were excellent as before. Will definitely return.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.