Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.64mi
  2. Distance: 0.90mi
  3. Distance: 0.91mi
  4. Distance: 0.96mi
  1. Distance: 0.64mi
  2. Distance: 0.90mi
  3. Distance: 0.91mi
  4. Distance: 0.96mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.64mi
  2. Distance: 0.90mi
  3. Distance: 0.91mi
  4. Distance: 0.96mi
  1. Distance: 0.64mi
  2. Distance: 0.90mi
  3. Distance: 0.91mi
  4. Distance: 0.96mi

About Mozelle's Fresh Southern Bistro

Welcome to Mozelle’s Fresh Southern Bistro, a downtown Winston-Salem restaurant. The cuisine at Mozelle's is southern-inspired and comprised of the finest and freshest ingredients. In addition to great food, patrons enjoy our cozy and lively atmosphere. Come for lunch or dinner with friends and family, or reserve our open-air covered patio and allow Mozelle's to host your events. For parties larger than 6 and special occasions please call the restaurant.

878 W. 4th Street
Winston-Salem, NC 27101
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Southern, American, Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:00am - 2:00pm;
Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm,
Dinner: Friday 5:00pm - 10:00pm
Saturday: 11:00am - 10:00pm Serving Brunch from 11:00am to 3:00pm and Dinner Menu 3:00pm - 10:00pm
Sunday: 11:00am - 9:00pm Serving Brunch from 11:00am to 3:00pm and Dinner Menu 3:00pm - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
Brookstown Avenue

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(336) 703-5400

Website:
http://www.mozelles.com/

Catering:
Private Parties at Your Home or Office
We will happily bring our yummy food to you and send our waitstaff to serve your guests. Call to schedule your next event.

Parking Details:
For dinner diners there is also a parking lot directly behind our restaurant that you may access on Burke Street in addition to street parking.

Executive Chef:
Steven McPherson

Private Party Facilities:
Private Parties at Mozelle's
Why make a mess at your home or office when you can enjoy our atmosphere and food and not have to worry about the clean-up?

On Our Covered Patio
From a small intimate gathering to a feisty celebration with 30 people, the bistro's covered patio will comfortably accommodate. Heated in the winter, cooled in the summer, and open-air for spring and fall — the patio is perfect anytime.

Reserve the Entire Restaurant
Need the royal treatment? We will close our doors to everyone else and your event can use our main dining area, covered open-air patio as well as our sidewalk seating. (70+ seats)

Private Party Contact:
Matt or Jennifer: (336) 703-5400

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, Counter Seating, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
For Special Events or for Parties more than 6, please call the restaurant and speak with a manager. Thanks!

Mozelle's Fresh Southern Bistro Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.5

ambience

4.3

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Neighborhood Gem (57)
Good for a Date (50)
Special Occasion (48)
See All
Fit for Foodies (40)
Creative Cuisine (36)
Comfort Food (35)
Great for Lunch (34)
Good for Anniversaries (34)
Cozy (33)
Good for Birthdays (32)
Casual (31)
Local Ingredients (31)
Great for Outdoor Dining (27)
Romantic (25)
Sunday Lunch (24)
Great for Brunch (23)
Open Kitchen (23)
Worth the Drive (22)
Fun (21)
Authentic (20)
Business Meals (19)
Notable Wine List (16)
Modern Decor (16)
Pre/post Theatre (14)
Hot Spot (14)
Healthy (10)
Quiet Conversation (10)
Gluten Free Options (10)
Good Vegetarian Options (10)
People Watching (9)
Seasonal (9)
Good for Groups (7)
Bar Seating (7)
Outstanding Value (6)
Scenic View (5)
Historic (5)
Happy Hour (5)
Molecular Gastronomy (5)
Great Beer (4)
Tasting Menu (4)
Quick Bite (4)
Organic (4)
Afternoon Coffee (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Afternoon Tea (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Spicy (1)
Family Style (1)
Fireplace (1)
Vegan (1)
Sort By:
S
969 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined 3 days ago

Yet another outstanding experience at Mozelle's. Excellent food and great service. We get there 4-6 times a year (30 mile drive) and are always pleased.

Tags: Casual, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined 5 days ago

As usual, we enjoyed our meal at Mozelle's - food was good and atmosphere was cozy and pleasant. My only negative is that the servers have a tendency to bring out entrees while people are still eating their salads/starters. If this was just one time, I wouldn't think anything of it, but its happened the last three times we've gone. It always makes the meal feel a little rushed, and results in the entrée getting a little cold by the time you are ready to turn to it. Overall, though, one of the best spots in Winston.

Tags: Good for a Date, Cozy, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined 5 days ago

We dashed in before a performance. Our servers were very nice and mostly very attentive without being obtrusive. The dishes were very attractive and the Tuna Poke appetizer was delicious and a great deal. The steak salad looked magnificent. We didn't have wine but my friends had impressive desserts. We tortured our server by getting confused by the bill. Everyone was very kind about it. We had a good experience. BTW, if you want a quiet date, you might not want to sit right next to the open kitchen. The little niche where it is located is very cute and cozy, but it does get noisy.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined 5 days ago

It took 45 minutes to get the lunch order placed at 12:40. Restaurant was busy but not slammed. I had a spinach salad with chicken for $13. It was a joke. Smaller portion than most side salads with less than the equivalent of 1 chicken tender.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service1
value1

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on April 17, 2017

Our food was great (as usual) as well as the service. We had a really nice lunch!

Tags: Special Occasion, Open Kitchen, Authentic, Casual, People Watching, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on April 16, 2017

I really do TRY to not order the tomato pie and cheese grits every time. But they are SO PERFECT it is hard! Have had many other great brunches, lunches and dinners but OH that tomato pie!

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Casual, Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, People Watching, Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Lunch, Comfort Food, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Food was very good but portions for the price, small. I think it depends on what you order. The burger someone else ordered looked large. The fried chicken sandwich at chick a fil was the same size as my husband's
Fried chicken dinner portion for $19. It is a bit of a hike to get to. The appetizers were delicious.

Tags: Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value2

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 14, 2017

Fantastic experience from start to finish. Waiter was great! Very friendly and engaging. Extensive gluten free menu! From the fried pickles and fried goat cheese salad to the shrimp and grits and flourless chocolate torte to finish, everything was absolutely incredible!! Will definitely be back! Highly recommend!

Tags: Notable Wine List, People Watching, Worth the Drive, Modern Decor, Open Kitchen, Good for a Date, Healthy, Great for Lunch, Romantic, Hot Spot, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Anniversaries, Gluten Free Options, Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on April 11, 2017

My favorite lunch spot is also great for date night. A new dish this spring is ahi tuna poke. Fresh and well balanced, it is also well plated. I liked It a lot.
It is always a good idea to dine at Mozzelle's.

Tags: Special Occasion, Business Meals, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on April 9, 2017

It was as if they could not wait to get us out of there. We ordered and the food arrived within 5 minutes, which means it had all been prepared well- beforehand. My Ahi poke was inedible. Huge chunks of lime and soggy soba noodles. Asparagus were well cooked however and my son liked his shrimp and grits. We were not even finished when they were asking to clear our plates. It was really offputting. Will not go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value3

vip
 (Greensboro)·Dined on April 6, 2017

Always a treat to introduce friends to Mozelles...truly wonderful southern comfort food. Spicy collard greens, mac and cheese, meatloaf, and fried chicken are some of our favorites... and save room for chocolate...and coconut pie!!!

Tags: Open Kitchen, Worth the Drive, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on April 6, 2017

Absolutely wonderful meal and service! We enjoyed splitting the spinach salad, spring rolls, fried chicken, tomato pie, and bread pudding. Every bite was perfection!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Modern Decor, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem, Seasonal, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on April 2, 2017

The menu was just enough items that even though everything on it looked delicious, we each chose something that we loved and there was enough food that we could all taste each other's orders. There was a tiny piece of plastic in one of the plates of food which seemed to have been from a sour cream container and when we let him know, the server was concerned , apologetic and comped us a dessert.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Great for Lunch, Sunday Lunch, Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on April 1, 2017

Mozelle's is consistently very, very good and always fun! Another excellent meal today!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Casual, Cozy, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Fun, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on March 29, 2017

Mozelle's is a staple around these parts for Southern fusion food in a modern setting. We visited for a date. The restaurant was packed. Service was good, though the noise level was a little loud for conversation. My companion's shrimp and grits was excellent. I had a veggie noodle bowl which was a little lackluster and overpriced for what it was. I was a little disappointed by this because it was a special occasion and my experiences at Mozelle's are usually excellent. Nevertheless, we'll be back.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Modern Decor, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 28, 2017

Fabulous food and stellar service. Delicious, tender fried chicken (and mac and cheese!) and lovely baked brie. I followed the meal with a delicious coconut pie! I would highly recommend this to anyone in the area. The ambiance is quite modern and there are plenty of seating options outside if the weather is nice like it was for us! Everyone I was with enjoyed their meals. Hopefully I will be back someday!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on March 26, 2017

We really enjoyed our meal at Mozelle's! Everything was tasty and came out quickly! The Fried Goat Cheese salad was very good and was a new take on the dish than I had ever tried before. I also really enjoyed the the Tomato Pie and grits. My boyfriend enjoyed the Spring Rolls and the Warm Chicken salad. My only critique would be that the wait staff take a drink order before diving into asking about starters. Our server was great, but failed to ask us and her other other tables for a drink order before asking about starters. She and the other server get major props for attentiveness to our water though, as it was always being refilled and I drink a lot of water, so that was a sign that they were paying attention throughout our meal. Would definitely recommend!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on March 26, 2017

We had the most wonderful brunch last Sunday morning at Mozelle's. The wait staff were attention and fun. Definitely try the banana bread French toast. Highly recommend.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 25, 2017

Divine! Delightful southern bistro that delivered on taste, presentation, service and ambience. The starters were perfect: spring rolls, fried cauliflower, and crab dip w crostini. Entrees were relish! We tried shrimp and grits, ribeye with mash potatoes and brocollini , and delicate scallops with succotash and purée roasted squash. Mmm, mmm, good!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 25, 2017

Fabulous menu and quaint space. Very warm and friendly service. Casual and fun with a modern southern feel.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on March 21, 2017

Love this place!!! The shrimp and grits are awesome! Be sure to try the fried cauliflower or southern spring roll appetizers.

Tags: Business Meals, Late-night Find, Casual, People Watching, Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (London)·Dined on March 21, 2017

Really enjoyed this spot. Great service and good was fantastic!

Tags: Authentic, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on March 19, 2017

Food was excellent and service very good. They were out of several things but made up for it with a free dessert.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on March 19, 2017

THE GOOD

Regarding the food itself, I was very happy. The crab dip entree is served with perfectly buttered crisp tostados. My meal, the tomato pie, consisted of juicy plump tomatoes between crispy, flaky phyllo dough (?) which was amazing! The grits served along with the entree were perfectly creamy! My North Carolinian dinner companions thought they had the consistency of mashed potatoes but I loved them! The shrimp and grits were equally wonderful! The flourless chocolate cake was delicious though rather rich. I'd recommend sharing it.

THE BAD
When we arrived for our reservation, the table was not ready as the last patrons were not yet finished. We sat at the bar for about 15 minutes waiting. (STRIKE ONE) Once the table was finally ready, we were pointed in its general direction rather than walked back by the server. (STRIKE TWO) The table didn't have silverware and we were not offered water until after we had ordered our meal. (STRIKE THREE) Now I admit that I am a "Yankee" who is accustomed to restaurants in DC and NYC so my standards may be a bit high. I was flabbergasted that with all of these mistakes that neither wine or at least dessert were comped.

Tags: Authentic, Modern Decor, Comfort Food, Good for a Date, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value2

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on March 17, 2017

Food excellent, fried califlower and shrimp and grits. Wine prices a bit high. Atmosphere excellent.

Tags: Open Kitchen, Healthy, Special Occasion, Historic, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on March 16, 2017

One of my favorite restaurants in Winston but on this particular night the wait staff was rude. It was 9:30 and they had there coats on to leave. Our reservations were at 8:30 and we had spent about 250$ for 4 of us.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 15, 2017

Always a great evening, thank you to Holly for making everything so easy and a pleasure

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on March 13, 2017

Wonderful meal with good service. We were there on Monday night when they feature a special of half price bottles of wine. So it was nice to enjoy a special bottle at a great price. We enjoyed a nice fish(snapper) special as an entree. Sat on the enclosed patio which was a little chilly. They quickly adjusted the thermostat to add heat. A really enjoyable evening.

Tags: Authentic, Open Kitchen, Outstanding Value, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value4

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on March 13, 2017

Fried chicken was delicious, great to see a simple dish get elevated

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Terrible guest at other table. They should have been asked to leave. Waitress did was pushy and asked if we wanted or check before we were done.

Tags: Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience1
service1
value2

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Mozelle's continues to please every palette. We entertained friends from out-of-town. One was a vegetarian. The other lived in Barcelona. Both were quite pleased with the food and the service was impeccable. There is a big city vibe to Mozelle's that I really love. It is noisy, but that is part of the fun. I cannot remember one single time that this restaurant failed to deliver a satisfying meal. One of my friends remembered when the building was the Toddle House. How far it has come.

Tags: Authentic, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, People Watching, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Outstanding food and service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on March 9, 2017

Mozelles has the best food in town! The seating is a bit crowded and tight and private conversations can be difficult but the food is FABULOUS!

Tags: Authentic, Great for Lunch, Business Meals, Outstanding Value, Comfort Food, Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Modern Decor, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service5
value5

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on March 6, 2017

I like this place. Very small but very good food and service. (Although they did bring my entree out too early this last visit #ihatethat.) Monday is especially good because Sweet Potatoes is closed AND half price bottles of wine. And a brown bag for the leftovers.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Very good quality food. Interesting appetizers and sides. Entree execution was spot on. Enjoyable experience.

Tags: Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on March 4, 2017

One of my favorite places in town. Never disappoints me!

Tags: Family Style, Gluten Free Options, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on March 2, 2017

Great restaurant for all occasions!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on February 28, 2017

Always a neighborhood favorite, the restaurant is where also to take friends from out of town. Thoughtfully created dishes with Soutern ingredients and beautifully plated, the meals here comfort and inspire.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Great for Lunch, Comfort Food, Seasonal, Local Ingredients, Fun, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on February 26, 2017

The food has a southern flair with a bit of a kick. Delicious and comforting in a cozy setting. The staff is always friendly and attentive.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Comfort Food, Authentic, Business Meals, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on February 26, 2017

Service was great. Food was very good: loved the tomato pie, however the noodle bowl was very salty. Loved the view of the sunset from our table.

Tags: Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.