Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.64mi
  2. Distance: 0.90mi
  3. Distance: 0.91mi
  4. Distance: 0.96mi
  1. Distance: 0.64mi
  2. Distance: 0.90mi
  3. Distance: 0.91mi
  4. Distance: 0.96mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.64mi
  2. Distance: 0.90mi
  3. Distance: 0.91mi
  4. Distance: 0.96mi
  1. Distance: 0.64mi
  2. Distance: 0.90mi
  3. Distance: 0.91mi
  4. Distance: 0.96mi

About Mozelle's Fresh Southern Bistro

Welcome to Mozelle’s Fresh Southern Bistro, a downtown Winston-Salem restaurant. The cuisine at Mozelle's is southern-inspired and comprised of the finest and freshest ingredients. In addition to great food, patrons enjoy our cozy and lively atmosphere. Come for lunch or dinner with friends and family, or reserve our open-air covered patio and allow Mozelle's to host your events. For parties larger than 6 and special occasions please call the restaurant.

878 W. 4th Street
Winston-Salem, NC 27101
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Southern, American, Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:00am - 2:00pm;
Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm,
Dinner: Friday 5:00pm - 10:00pm
Saturday: 11:00am - 10:00pm Serving Brunch from 11:00am to 3:00pm and Dinner Menu 3:00pm - 10:00pm
Sunday: 11:00am - 9:00pm Serving Brunch from 11:00am to 3:00pm and Dinner Menu 3:00pm - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
Brookstown Avenue

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(336) 703-5400

Website:
http://www.mozelles.com/

Catering:
Private Parties at Your Home or Office
We will happily bring our yummy food to you and send our waitstaff to serve your guests. Call to schedule your next event.

Parking Details:
For dinner diners there is also a parking lot directly behind our restaurant that you may access on Burke Street in addition to street parking.

Executive Chef:
Steven McPherson

Private Party Facilities:
Private Parties at Mozelle's
Why make a mess at your home or office when you can enjoy our atmosphere and food and not have to worry about the clean-up?

On Our Covered Patio
From a small intimate gathering to a feisty celebration with 30 people, the bistro's covered patio will comfortably accommodate. Heated in the winter, cooled in the summer, and open-air for spring and fall — the patio is perfect anytime.

Reserve the Entire Restaurant
Need the royal treatment? We will close our doors to everyone else and your event can use our main dining area, covered open-air patio as well as our sidewalk seating. (70+ seats)

Private Party Contact:
Matt or Jennifer: (336) 703-5400

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, Counter Seating, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
For Special Events or for Parties more than 6, please call the restaurant and speak with a manager. Thanks!

Mozelle's Fresh Southern Bistro Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.6

ambience

4.4

value

4.4

noise

Moderate

97% would recommend it to a friend

Neighborhood Gem (58)
Comfort Food (43)
Special Occasion (42)
See All
Good for a Date (39)
Fit for Foodies (37)
Creative Cuisine (35)
Great for Outdoor Dining (34)
Great for Lunch (32)
Casual (32)
Cozy (29)
Good for Birthdays (28)
Good for Anniversaries (27)
Local Ingredients (26)
Business Meals (24)
Sunday Lunch (23)
Worth the Drive (22)
Romantic (22)
Great for Brunch (22)
Notable Wine List (18)
Authentic (18)
Fun (18)
Open Kitchen (17)
Hot Spot (15)
Quiet Conversation (15)
Pre/post Theatre (13)
Modern Decor (13)
Seasonal (12)
People Watching (11)
Bar Seating (10)
Gluten Free Options (9)
Healthy (8)
Good Vegetarian Options (7)
Scenic View (6)
Good for Groups (6)
Tasting Menu (6)
Quick Bite (5)
Vegan (4)
Great Beer (4)
Happy Hour (4)
Organic (4)
Outstanding Value (4)
Family Style (4)
Kid-friendly (3)
Historic (3)
Molecular Gastronomy (3)
Afternoon Coffee (2)
Afternoon Tea (2)
Spicy (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Tapas (2)
Late-night Find (1)
Fireplace (1)
Sort By:
S
1014 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined 12 hours ago

Good brunch. It took about 30 minutes for our food to come but it was well worth the wait. Tomato Pie was excellent!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined 3 days ago

Great food
Great service
Great people
Frequent visitor, never disappointed !

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Healthy, Fun, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Greensboro)·Dined 4 days ago

We had a wonderful lunch at Mozelle's. I was starving, so we started with the brie. It was a large wedge with plenty of crunchy crostini and some sweet raspberry jam. My petite filet salad was awesome. My husband loved his spinach salad with chicken. We shared a side of fresh corn & lima bean succotash. Everything was so fresh and delicious and our service was great!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Las Vegas)·Dined 6 days ago

Very good tuna app and quinoa salad. Was a little stuffy, like the air conditioner wasn't working well. Didn't realize it's only beer/wine with no full bar. Good service, cute place.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on June 18, 2017

Waiter was wonderful. He gave great recommendations, quick, and nicely groomed.

Tags: Casual, Creative Cuisine, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on June 18, 2017

Our server was super friendly and provided us with excellent. Cant wait to go back and try something else. Food was great just wish there was more of it.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Quick Bite, Creative Cuisine, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on June 18, 2017

Excellent food & service! This is our go to place for special days.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Sunday Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Cozy, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Adelaide)·Dined on June 17, 2017

The inside dining area is divided into three sections; bar, kitchen side and a small section that is divided from the main area. We were greeted promptly and shown to our table. As to be expected, everything was neat and clean. Adequate space between tables. Waiter was attentive, helpful and well versed in the food and prep. The wine list is limited, with a few nice selections but somewhat overpriced. The food was very well prepared and presented. Nothing outstanding, but a good balance of flavors and textures. This was the summer menu and I felt several selections to be a bit heavy for these hot and humid days. We will visit again to explore some of the upscale southern dishes.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on June 17, 2017

Excellent food and service as usual! We also love going on Mondays and for Sunday brunch. We are always happy when we leave

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Great for Outdoor Dining, Cozy, Sunday Lunch, Special Occasion, Casual, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on June 16, 2017

We really enjoy the choices Mozelle's dinner menu offers but this time came for lunch. Mozelle's was great as always but would have preferred a bit more variety on the lunch menu, particularly with respect to the entrees--not a big deal.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on June 15, 2017

Fabulous evening with family!! Delicious food and incredible service!

Tags: Special Occasion, Good Vegetarian Options, Romantic, Bar Seating, Business Meals, Gluten Free Options, Happy Hour, Vegan, Worth the Drive, Hot Spot, Quiet Conversation, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on June 14, 2017

Great corner restaurant for a couple's special occasion- not really conducive to having a business conversation. Love that they feature local beer and wine - food was very good, but not "over the moon" - my polenta was slightly overlooked and the coconut pie could be creamier. Still - great place

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on June 14, 2017

Southern cuisine but with healthy options. Slightly noisy at lunch but not so much that we couldn't have our business discussion.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on June 11, 2017

One our favorite places for any meal!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on June 11, 2017

My mom had the infamous tomato pie, which to me tasted like repackaged tomato/cheese pizza. Not my favorite for sure. The shrimp and grits were so tasty and yummy but likely sky high in calories so once in a blue moon is the limit.
Our favorite was the appetizer spring roll with pulled pork. Very yummy.
It was Sunday brunch and they were busy but the waiter was initially rude, likely over loaded, and since we did not want a mimosa or bloody mary pacifier, we threw him off his mojo but he made up for it, or at least tried to, by kissing butt from the mid point to the time of payment.
The tables are very close together so people tend to stare at your food as it's delivered. No way to have a business lunch discussing anything of substance here. Just a great social place to dine and enjoy the calories of comfort food!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Quick Bite, Tasting Menu, Comfort Food, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value4

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on June 11, 2017

Mozelle's is one of my favorite restaurants in Winston. Lunch, dinner and brunch are all amazing. I've never had a bad meal. The wait staff are friendly, professional and fast! Everyone is very friendly.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Good for a Date, Sunday Lunch, Fun, Local Ingredients, Seasonal, Great for Brunch, Casual, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on June 5, 2017

loved sitting outside - always yummy - love the veal and pasta

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on June 4, 2017

Business dinner
Seated promptly
Service was excellent

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on June 3, 2017

Service and food were great as always.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on May 28, 2017

Daughter and I out for a fun night in Winston-Salem. Great food, wine and fun!

Tags: Romantic, Good for Groups, Tapas, Cozy, Casual, Comfort Food, Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on May 25, 2017

My first time eating here, and can't wait to go again. The occasion was for business, so having a good meal in a location with the ability to have some important discussions, was key. As it turns out, Mozelle's was the perfect fit. Great drinks, better food, with service that was top notch. Highly recommended.

Tags: Authentic, Good for Birthdays, People Watching, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on May 21, 2017

Great southern food

Group of 5 dine at odd hours. It is at witch hour between waiters. 2nd waitress did no get drink order from 1st one. Once we mentioned, she picked up, no problem. Food as good as always. The only complaint is that she refilled everyone's drink, but miss refill my water.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Authentic, Neighborhood Gem, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on May 20, 2017

What a delightful evening - excellent food (Tomato Pie and Shrimp and Grits) and and the close quarters let us chat with 2 other couples who were so nice and friendly. Our server was very knowledgeable and also friendly. (Would have enjoyed a cocktail as I'm not a big wine or beer drinker.)

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on May 15, 2017

There is not a better restaurant to enjoy a fantastic meal outdoors !!! Great service!! Excellent food!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on May 14, 2017

The restaurant is cute. The food was just average and costly. Service was not good and there were flies everywhere, inside! Had to keep a menu to shoo them away. We saw a fly even on the food waiting for pickup. We would not eat here again and would not recommend it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Food was excellent. That said, entrees are a value but the sides portion to price ratio make them drastically overpriced. Paid $6 for a few overfried breakfast potatoes in a small dish. Should have said something. Signature tomato pie is always fabulous. Your manager, Holly is an outstanding and efficient and endearing personality. We love her. She makes the experience warm and wonderful.

Tags: Cozy, Fun, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Great for Brunch, Good for Anniversaries, Comfort Food, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on May 12, 2017

Our food was excellent. Cooked to perfection and very tasty. Waitress offered good information regarding the menu and wine. The food was served in timely manner.

Tags: Special Occasion, Seasonal, Local Ingredients, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Comfort Food, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Western NC)·Dined on May 11, 2017

Always a great experience!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on May 8, 2017

We visited Mozelles for Monday lunch. I just so happen they have half-price wine! That is always a plus. The food was excellent and our server was great. We go to Mozelles quite often. It's one of our favorite restaurants in town.

Tags: Casual, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Sunday Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on May 7, 2017

Excellent restaurant. Delicious food . Very good dining experience.

Tags: Good for a Date, Tasting Menu, Sunday Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Family Style, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on May 6, 2017

Never disappoints! We love love LOVE Mozelle's! Their fried chicken and southern pork spring rolls are delicious!

Tags: Seasonal, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on May 6, 2017

The food and service were amazing. I recommend trying their cheese grits. I don't typically like grits, but these are amazing! The restaurant is small so either make reservations or go during off hours.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 6, 2017

Fabulous!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on May 5, 2017

Wonderful meal! The food and service were excellent. The restaurant is quite small but the food and service more than make up for that.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Local Ingredients, Comfort Food, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Disabled Access, Fit for Foodies, Seasonal, Open Kitchen, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service5
value3

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on May 5, 2017

My favorite spot when I'm in town....Fried chicken is a must!!! This place is consistently good and staff is always so friendly

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 3, 2017

Wonderful people. Amazing food. Not a bad thing to say about it. Love it all.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Western NC)·Dined on May 1, 2017

I've been a long-time customer and have gotten to know the staff very well. They're usually good about stopping by the table to say hi and visit. This time we had a new server who didn't know us. She was cold in her approach and we felt rushed throughout our meal, as though they were more concerned about turning over the table instead of our having a relaxing, quality, catch-up visit with one another. There was a deluge of rain outside, so no one was in a particular hurry to leave. It was also a Monday night--which is half-price wine night--but they weren't particularly busy--it was the 5 p.m. hour, so there was no justification in rushing us through our courses and paying our bill. A few minutes after we paid, she came and picked up our signed receipts, which made us feel as though they wanted us to leave and, as anyone who dines out much knows, is simply rude. I'll certainly return because I have a history with this great restaurant, but I'm hopeful I don't have this particular server again.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Comfort Food, Sunday Lunch, Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining, Open Kitchen, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on April 28, 2017

We have taken several friends there for dinner. The service is always great. Quaint neighborhood.

Tags: Historic, Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Great for Outdoor Dining, Casual, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on April 28, 2017

The food was 'good' but lacking for its price. I was looking for something to wow, and was left underwhelmed. Be careful with your entrees as both we received had bits of plastic in it (I did not let this impact my review). Overall a good experience but not what I was hoping for.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on April 27, 2017

Great Restaurant!!

Tags: Comfort Food, Casual, Business Meals, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.