About MOXIES Grillades/Bar - Montreal

1207 Boulevard Robert-Bourassa
Montreal, QC H3B 0C3
View Larger Map

Moxie's Grill & Bar focuses on superior food quality, exceptional service and prices that represent great value for our guests. The upscale 'non themed' approach, coupled with superior quality food offerings and service, has proven to be highly successful. Moxie's is open seven days a week for lunch, dinner and late night dining. Reservations accepted. From steaks to pasta, seafood to salad, juicy ribs through to rich desserts and our famous daily drink specials, Moxie's restaurant is the perfect place to bring family, friends or business colleagues for a great time!


Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Global, International, Steakhouse, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Monday/Lundi - 11:30am - 11:00pm
Tuesday/Mardi - 11:30am - 11:00pm
Wednesday/Mercredi - 11:30am - 11:00pm
Thursday/Jeudi - 11:00am - 12:00am
Friday/Vendredi - 11:00am - 12:00am
Saturday/Samedi - 11:00am - 12:00am
Sunday/Dimanche - 11:00am - 11:00pm

Cross Street:
Rene Levesque / University

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
CAN$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(514) 393-1207

Website:
http://www.moxies.ca/fr

Executive Chef:
Brandon Thordarson

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Entertainment, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Takeout, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

  • MOXIES Grillades/Bar - Montreal
MOXIES Grillades/Bar - Montreal

MOXIES Grillades/Bar - Montreal Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.1

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.0

service

4.1

ambience

3.9

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Great for Lunch
Montreal / Quebec
Great for Lunch
Montreal
Best Restaurants in Downtown ›

Good for Groups (19)
Great for Lunch (18)
Special Occasion (11)
See All
Hot Spot (8)
Vibrant Bar Scene (6)
Fit for Foodies (6)
Business Meals (6)
Casual (5)
Late-night Find (5)
Good for Birthdays (5)
Happy Hour (4)
Good for a Date (4)
Good for Anniversaries (3)
Romantic (3)
Worth the Drive (2)
Bar Seating (2)
Modern Decor (2)
Cozy (2)
Scenic View (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Great Beer (2)
Comfort Food (2)
Live Sports (2)
Handcrafted Cocktails (2)
Authentic (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Creative Cuisine (1)
People Watching (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Notable Wine List (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Neighborhood Gem (1)
Quiet Conversation (1)
Private Room (1)
Fun (1)
Sort By:
Newest
149 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Great service . Very attentive Big thum ...

vip
 (Montreal)
·Dined 5 days ago

Great service . Very attentive

Big thumbs up!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

We found the restaurant was a good choic ...

 
 (Montreal)
·Dined on September 16, 2016

We found the restaurant was a good choice because we were able to talk without having to yell across the table. The server was efficient (as well as the trainee). We ordered a couple of appetizers (calamari and dry ribs), which we found to be pricey and there was not a lot of. The chicken burgers were excellent. Overall, it was a good evening out.

Tags: Special Occasion, Comfort Food, Casual, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

I'd like to believe that it wasn't usual ...

vip
 (Montreal)
·Dined on September 5, 2016

I'd like to believe that it wasn't usually like this, but we really had a bad experience when we went during Labour Day weekend. Probably they were under staffed. We were also a big group. But food took more than an hour to arrive, they were all cold, steak was definitely NOT AAA quality, wrong order, took another 30 min to replace the wrong order and so on. The woman in charge of our table didn't seem to care, so we almost wanted to cut the tip in half, but one waiter who was probably helping out from the bar was dicent and apologetic, so we didn't want to punish him for malmanagement of the place. It's unfortunate because I brought 14 of my friends there and they'll probably never go back. Such a disappointment.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service1
value1

Waiter was talking to a couple in a tabl ...

 
 (Montreal)
·Dined on August 31, 2016

Waiter was talking to a couple in a table and took forever to come back, twice... Music is too loud to talk, maybe is better for big groups, you need to scream almost... I won't take a date there for that reason. Food was good and tasty, nice presentation. Overall it was a nice place, the other employees were really polite and fast.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Authentic, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

Great food, great service, great experie ...

 
 (Orange County)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

Great food, great service, great experience! When we made the reservation, we were just needing food quickly, in a town we were visiting. We didn't realize Moxie was a small chain - but we were in no way disappointed with the results. Adrian Saad, the Exec General Manager was so helpful and personable, and treated us like exclusive customers. Everything we ordered from the menu was delicious and we would absolutely return again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

It's freezing in there and the once beau ...

 
 (Montreal)
·Dined on August 15, 2016

It's freezing in there and the once beautiful tree is dead... Maybe a new plant or sculpture is needed?

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Waitress was very rude. Throws glasses o ...

 
 (Montreal)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

Waitress was very rude. Throws glasses on table. We waited 1h to get some water. She was nowhere to be seen all night. We asked for a desert with candle on top to surprise the birthday girl, but we had to remind her several times to bring it. When it got there , candle was missing and no ustensiles were given. However, service given by the other waiters was good. Sadly ours was disrespectful.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Scenic View, Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Late-night Find, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value5

Good food, great staff. perfect for busi ...

 
 (Montreal)
·Dined on August 2, 2016

Good food, great staff. perfect for business lunch.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

Good experience! The ambiance is great, ...

 
 (Montreal)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

Good experience!

The ambiance is great, food is very good and they have an amazing menu.

Tags: Good for Groups, Late-night Find, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

good food, staff were very nice people, ...

 
 (Montreal)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

good food, staff were very nice people, it was not our first time at moxies, and it will not be the last.

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Late-night Find, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Love pretty much everything about this p ...

 
 (Montreal)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

Love pretty much everything about this place. Location, food, drinks (best G&Ts)...just watch those stairs when imbibing more!

Tags: Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Scenic View, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

We loved the service and ambiance. The f ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

We loved the service and ambiance. The food was also delicious and affordable. And of course the drinks loved the red Sangria!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great experience. Always fun. Love the ...

 
 (Montreal)
·Dined on June 15, 2016

Great experience. Always fun. Love the wednesday specials

Tags: Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

Only disappointment was that there was n ...

 
 (Montreal)
·Dined on June 15, 2016

Only disappointment was that there was no bar service on the outside terrace on a beautiful night.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

One of our guest had a specific allergy. ...

 
 (Montreal)
·Dined on June 3, 2016

One of our guest had a specific allergy. Extremely accommadating with us.

Thanks

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Good restaurant. Have been several times ...

 
 (Montreal)
·Dined on May 16, 2016

Good restaurant. Have been several times. Was disappointed this time however that all the lettuce in our various dishes was brown. Made some of the dishes unappetizing, particularly the lettuce wraps which use big lettuce leaves. Hope this won't be the case next time.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Moxies was a very good dining experience ...

 
 (Montreal)
·Dined on May 14, 2016

Moxies was a very good dining experience for us. The food was very good, and the service was excellent - and I mean excellent! A must try when you are in Montreal........

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Much better this time Staff was very at ...

 
 (Montreal)
·Dined on May 7, 2016

Much better this time

Staff was very attentive and friendly

Only downside is the stairs. The elevator It should be offered upon arrival so customers have a choice.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5

Very different from other Moxie's

 
 (Montreal)
·Dined on April 22, 2016

I thought the decor was much colder than other Moxie's , didn't have that cozy feel and hot decor, very industrial looking. Food was good, as always.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value4

Great place

 
 (Montreal)
·Dined on April 8, 2016

Great ambience, classy, very good service and the food is good but not great.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Excellent service, food is great and ver ...

 
 (Montreal)
·Dined on April 7, 2016

Excellent service, food is great and very good choices of wine.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food. Will come back

 
 (Montreal)
·Dined on April 6, 2016

Great food. Will come back

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

Booth at the back great. Food good. Good ...

vip
 (Montreal)
·Dined on March 31, 2016

Booth at the back great.

Food good.

Good service from Raquel.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

Great place for a trendy night out

 
 (Montreal)
·Dined on March 19, 2016

Moxies is a nice place for variety of outings. I go quite frequently with friends. The ambiance is casual/trendy. The food is good but not pretentious. I also enjoy the wide variety of food they have: burgers, pizza, fish, steak, pasta, ribs, salads... What deserves an uncontested 5 stars for me is the service. They accommodate the client and make sure you leave pleased with your experience. I also find the service to be rapid for how crowded it gets in an evening. Also, great place for a 5 a 7!

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

OK restaurant

 
 (Montreal)
·Dined on March 13, 2016

Overall we enjoyed our dinner. We sat downstrairs because upstrairs was not open. Downstairs feels more like a bar than a restaurant. It took a while to get a waiter because it was Sunday and we were told that they were not expecting to be busy so were short staffed. But other than that, service was very good. The food was good. I had the red thai curry bowl with chicken. It was very favorable but the chiken was sparse. My wife enjoyed her chicken souvlaki. The food was denitiley not memorable but not bad either.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

Great for a group diner

 
 (Montreal)
·Dined on February 23, 2016

The food was very good. The menue is varied. The service was quick and pleasant. Great place for an animated group diner or lunch. The choice of music was not appreciated by our group, I guess we're too old and the sound level was too loud.

Tags: Good for Groups, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

food

 
 (Montreal)
·Dined on February 17, 2016

roastbeef sandwich was very fat and it was not so good. the pizza margarita also was very greasy. we did not enjoy our food so well, we like the service and the restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value3

Went here for lunch. Waiter was not supe ...

vip
 (Montreal)
·Dined on February 17, 2016

Went here for lunch. Waiter was not super attentive despite a practically empty room. Food was as expected. No complaints.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Excellent food and service!! Highly reco ...

 
 (Montreal)
·Dined on February 14, 2016

Excellent food and service!! Highly recommend it to others!!A very satisfied customer !

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Loved it!

 
 (Montreal)
·Dined on February 13, 2016

We were visiting in Montreal and went to Moxies for dinner with our four kids twice during our stay. The food was amazing and our servers were very friendly and helpful. My only very slight complaints are that the food took a bit long to come out and the one night my son had a cold draft at his back. I thought he was exaggerating until I went by his chair myself (it was in a corner by and outside wall) and there really was an icy draft there. Other than that we were very impressed and wish we had a Moxies in our neighbourhood :)

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Great place for a nice lunch.

vip
 (Montreal)
·Dined on February 2, 2016

Great place for a nice lunch.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Perfect for group 5 à 7!

 
 (Montreal)
·Dined on January 28, 2016

This place is great for a number of reasons: there are good spaces for groups that allow exchange without too much noise, and individuals with dietary restrictions are treated respectfully and thoroughly. Very client-oriented resto with great food!

Tags: Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Service stupid slow. Place wasn't busy t ...

 
 (Montreal)
·Dined on January 22, 2016

Service stupid slow. Place wasn't busy to warrant the cricket attention.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2

Very good!

vip
 (Montreal)
·Dined on January 22, 2016

So we were 2 for after work drinks / food. We got there got seated at the table ordered... Food was very good, there was missing chicken in the salad i ordered but the waiter corrected the mistake immidiatly. The manager came and apologize my plate came back out 3 minutes later or so. A brand new salad! Overall ecerything was great just as expected and the mistake was fast forgotten

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very quiet restaurant for a Saturday nig ...

vip
 (Montreal)
·Dined on January 16, 2016

Very quiet restaurant for a Saturday night. Food was good and service was great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

Excellent food and fabulous service. Gre ...

 
 (Montreal)
·Dined on January 10, 2016

Excellent food and fabulous service. Great atmosphere until we were inundated by 50 people arriving for a party and swarming all around our booth. That part was unpleasant.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Excellent food and good variety to choose from.

 
 (Montreal)
·Dined on January 8, 2016

I had specifically requested a quiet table for 4 when I reserve and that's exactly what I got, thank you.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Cool place for young professionnals

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on January 7, 2016

I love this place for a happy hour with collegues or a birthday celebration with my girls. The food is good, drinks are fun and affordable when there is specials. The service is always great!

Tags: Good for Groups, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Long wait

 
 (Montreal)
·Dined on January 5, 2016

We waited over an hour for our food to come, which forced us to be very rushed eating in order to get back to work within a reasonable amount of time. The food was okay, however I was disappointed with the chipotle chicken quesadilla since it seemed not to contain any chipotle, and did have a lot of cabbage - which seemed odd. The sauces/dips were good however.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value3

Good gluten-free dining

 
 (Montreal)
·Dined on January 4, 2016

Moxies has a dedicated gluten-free menu and the staff are excellent about understanding different severities of gluten intolerance. A manager will always come out and ask for specific detail about how your meal needs to be prepared. May not work for people with disabilities as there are two flights of stairs to reach the main dining area and no elevator, but there is a small seating area on the ground floor. Good selection of main courses but a bit lacking in gluten-free dessert options.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.