About MOXIES Grillades/Bar - Montreal

1207 Boulevard Robert-Bourassa
Montreal, QC H3B 0C3
View Larger Map

Moxie's Grill & Bar focuses on superior food quality, exceptional service and prices that represent great value for our guests. The upscale 'non themed' approach, coupled with superior quality food offerings and service, has proven to be highly successful. Moxie's is open seven days a week for lunch, dinner and late night dining. Reservations accepted. From steaks to pasta, seafood to salad, juicy ribs through to rich desserts and our famous daily drink specials, Moxie's restaurant is the perfect place to bring family, friends or business colleagues for a great time!


Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Global, International, Steakhouse, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Monday/Lundi - 11:30am - 11:00pm
Tuesday/Mardi - 11:30am - 11:00pm
Wednesday/Mercredi - 11:30am - 11:00pm
Thursday/Jeudi - 11:00am - 12:00am
Friday/Vendredi - 11:00am - 12:00am
Saturday/Samedi - 11:00am - 12:00am
Sunday/Dimanche - 11:00am - 11:00pm

Cross Street:
Rene Levesque / University

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
CAN$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(514) 393-1207

Website:
http://www.moxies.ca/fr

Executive Chef:
Brandon Thordarson

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Entertainment, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Takeout, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine, Wine Bar

Restaurant Photos

  • MOXIES Grillades/Bar - Montreal
MOXIES Grillades/Bar - Montreal

MOXIES Grillades/Bar - Montreal Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.1

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

3.9

service

4.1

ambience

4.0

value

3.8

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

good for groups (33)
great for lunch (29)
vibrant bar scene (15)
See All
hot spot (13)
fit for foodies (8)
late-night find (7)
special occasion (7)
great for outdoor dining (6)
neighborhood gem (3)
romantic (3)
notable wine list (2)
kid-friendly (2)
great for brunch (1)
scenic view (1)
Sort By:
Newest
139 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Love pretty much everything about this p ...

 
 (Montreal)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

Love pretty much everything about this place. Location, food, drinks (best G&Ts)...just watch those stairs when imbibing more!

Tags: good for groups, scenic view, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

We loved the service and ambiance. The f ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

We loved the service and ambiance. The food was also delicious and affordable. And of course the drinks loved the red Sangria!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great experience. Always fun. Love the ...

 
 (Montreal)
·Dined on June 15, 2016

Great experience. Always fun. Love the wednesday specials

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

Only disappointment was that there was n ...

 
 (Montreal)
·Dined on June 15, 2016

Only disappointment was that there was no bar service on the outside terrace on a beautiful night.

Tags: good for groups, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

One of our guest had a specific allergy. ...

 
 (Montreal)
·Dined on June 3, 2016

One of our guest had a specific allergy. Extremely accommadating with us.

Thanks

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Good restaurant. Have been several times ...

 
 (Montreal)
·Dined on May 16, 2016

Good restaurant. Have been several times. Was disappointed this time however that all the lettuce in our various dishes was brown. Made some of the dishes unappetizing, particularly the lettuce wraps which use big lettuce leaves. Hope this won't be the case next time.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Moxies was a very good dining experience ...

 
 (Montreal)
·Dined on May 14, 2016

Moxies was a very good dining experience for us. The food was very good, and the service was excellent - and I mean excellent! A must try when you are in Montreal........

Tags: fit for foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Much better this time Staff was very at ...

 
 (Montreal)
·Dined on May 7, 2016

Much better this time

Staff was very attentive and friendly

Only downside is the stairs. The elevator It should be offered upon arrival so customers have a choice.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5

Very different from other Moxie's

 
 (Montreal)
·Dined on April 22, 2016

I thought the decor was much colder than other Moxie's , didn't have that cozy feel and hot decor, very industrial looking. Food was good, as always.

Tags: good for groups, great for lunch, late-night find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value4

Great place

 
 (Montreal)
·Dined on April 8, 2016

Great ambience, classy, very good service and the food is good but not great.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Excellent service, food is great and ver ...

 
 (Montreal)
·Dined on April 7, 2016

Excellent service, food is great and very good choices of wine.

Tags: great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food. Will come back

 
 (Montreal)
·Dined on April 6, 2016

Great food. Will come back

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

Booth at the back great. Food good. Good ...

vip
 (Montreal)
·Dined on March 31, 2016

Booth at the back great.

Food good.

Good service from Raquel.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

Great place for a trendy night out

 
 (Montreal)
·Dined on March 19, 2016

Moxies is a nice place for variety of outings. I go quite frequently with friends. The ambiance is casual/trendy. The food is good but not pretentious. I also enjoy the wide variety of food they have: burgers, pizza, fish, steak, pasta, ribs, salads... What deserves an uncontested 5 stars for me is the service. They accommodate the client and make sure you leave pleased with your experience. I also find the service to be rapid for how crowded it gets in an evening. Also, great place for a 5 a 7!

Tags: good for groups, great for lunch, late-night find, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

OK restaurant

 
 (Montreal)
·Dined on March 13, 2016

Overall we enjoyed our dinner. We sat downstrairs because upstrairs was not open. Downstairs feels more like a bar than a restaurant. It took a while to get a waiter because it was Sunday and we were told that they were not expecting to be busy so were short staffed. But other than that, service was very good. The food was good. I had the red thai curry bowl with chicken. It was very favorable but the chiken was sparse. My wife enjoyed her chicken souvlaki. The food was denitiley not memorable but not bad either.

Tags: good for groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

Great for a group diner

 
 (Montreal)
·Dined on February 23, 2016

The food was very good. The menue is varied. The service was quick and pleasant. Great place for an animated group diner or lunch. The choice of music was not appreciated by our group, I guess we're too old and the sound level was too loud.

Tags: good for groups, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

food

 
 (Montreal)
·Dined on February 17, 2016

roastbeef sandwich was very fat and it was not so good. the pizza margarita also was very greasy. we did not enjoy our food so well, we like the service and the restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value3

Went here for lunch. Waiter was not supe ...

vip
 (Montreal)
·Dined on February 17, 2016

Went here for lunch. Waiter was not super attentive despite a practically empty room. Food was as expected. No complaints.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Excellent food and service!! Highly reco ...

 
 (Montreal)
·Dined on February 14, 2016

Excellent food and service!! Highly recommend it to others!!A very satisfied customer !

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Loved it!

 
 (Montreal)
·Dined on February 13, 2016

We were visiting in Montreal and went to Moxies for dinner with our four kids twice during our stay. The food was amazing and our servers were very friendly and helpful. My only very slight complaints are that the food took a bit long to come out and the one night my son had a cold draft at his back. I thought he was exaggerating until I went by his chair myself (it was in a corner by and outside wall) and there really was an icy draft there. Other than that we were very impressed and wish we had a Moxies in our neighbourhood :)

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Great place for a nice lunch.

 
 (Montreal)
·Dined on February 2, 2016

Great place for a nice lunch.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Perfect for group 5 à 7!

 
 (Montreal)
·Dined on January 28, 2016

This place is great for a number of reasons: there are good spaces for groups that allow exchange without too much noise, and individuals with dietary restrictions are treated respectfully and thoroughly. Very client-oriented resto with great food!

Tags: good for groups, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Service stupid slow. Place wasn't busy t ...

 
 (Montreal)
·Dined on January 22, 2016

Service stupid slow. Place wasn't busy to warrant the cricket attention.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2

Very good!

 
 (Montreal)
·Dined on January 22, 2016

So we were 2 for after work drinks / food. We got there got seated at the table ordered... Food was very good, there was missing chicken in the salad i ordered but the waiter corrected the mistake immidiatly. The manager came and apologize my plate came back out 3 minutes later or so. A brand new salad! Overall ecerything was great just as expected and the mistake was fast forgotten

Tags: good for groups, great for lunch, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very quiet restaurant for a Saturday nig ...

 
 (Montreal)
·Dined on January 16, 2016

Very quiet restaurant for a Saturday night. Food was good and service was great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

Excellent food and fabulous service. Gre ...

 
 (Montreal)
·Dined on January 10, 2016

Excellent food and fabulous service. Great atmosphere until we were inundated by 50 people arriving for a party and swarming all around our booth. That part was unpleasant.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, great for lunch, late-night find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Excellent food and good variety to choose from.

 
 (Montreal)
·Dined on January 8, 2016

I had specifically requested a quiet table for 4 when I reserve and that's exactly what I got, thank you.

Tags: good for groups, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Cool place for young professionnals

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on January 7, 2016

I love this place for a happy hour with collegues or a birthday celebration with my girls. The food is good, drinks are fun and affordable when there is specials. The service is always great!

Tags: good for groups, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Long wait

 
 (Montreal)
·Dined on January 5, 2016

We waited over an hour for our food to come, which forced us to be very rushed eating in order to get back to work within a reasonable amount of time. The food was okay, however I was disappointed with the chipotle chicken quesadilla since it seemed not to contain any chipotle, and did have a lot of cabbage - which seemed odd. The sauces/dips were good however.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value3

Good gluten-free dining

 
 (Montreal)
·Dined on January 4, 2016

Moxies has a dedicated gluten-free menu and the staff are excellent about understanding different severities of gluten intolerance. A manager will always come out and ask for specific detail about how your meal needs to be prepared. May not work for people with disabilities as there are two flights of stairs to reach the main dining area and no elevator, but there is a small seating area on the ground floor. Good selection of main courses but a bit lacking in gluten-free dessert options.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value4

WE HAD TO WAIT FOR OUR TABLE WE MADE RESERVATIONS!

 
 (Montreal)
·Dined on January 1, 2016

WE HAD TO WAIT 30 MINS FOR OUR TABLE EVEN THO WE MADE RESERVATIONS :(

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value2

Awesome

 
 (Montreal)
·Dined on January 1, 2016

I Went there with my girlfriend for new year eve, everything was perfect : cocktails are smooth, food is great (trust me, i'm french) and the waiter was very nice and attentive all the time.

This restaurant is the place to be :) !

Tags: great for outdoor dining, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Manager was on point!!!

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on January 1, 2016

My girlfriend is allergic (not severe) to gluten and after informing the waitress the manager came over to find out exactly how severe and made suggestions for sauces to be given on the side instead of mixed in! Her meal included seasonal vegetables which happened to be broccoli which she does not like. So after calling the manager over and asking for something different, he gladly had the kitchen prepare a special vegetable plate. At no time did we feel like we were being an inconvenience which made our experience that much better.

Now this was New Years Eve and they had a DJ playing all kinds of music, he was young but he was really good playing RnB, hip hop, old school and house. Not only did he play good music but it flowed well, which was much better than our NYE party DJ!!! We should of just stayed at Moxie's...😜

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very good place. The waitresses were ver ...

 
 (Montreal)
·Dined on December 20, 2015

Very good place. The waitresses were very nice and the food was really good. I would come back again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Good Value

 
 (Montreal)
·Dined on December 17, 2015

It's a good mix value for your money but also classy enough that it's not a typical, everyday restaurant. The plates are decent size. A decent size menu so that there is a good variety but not so huge. Went twice in the past two weeks. Both times in the dining room area. First time with a group of 15 for a late lunch. Did not wait long for service. Even with our crowd, we received our food at the same time. Both times, ordered a beef dish, and both times, meat was cooked to my order (medium rare). The dessert menu was limited but all were good. I particular liked the chocolate cake (came with ice cream and warmed chocolate sauce). The cocktails are very good here.

Tags: good for groups, great for lunch, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Friendly and competent staff

 
 (Montreal)
·Dined on December 14, 2015

Great place with choice of standard and health conscious meals. Slower service at busy lunch time, but great, friendly and competent staff!!

Tags: good for groups, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Tell the staff you need your lunch today.....

 
 (Montreal)
·Dined on December 14, 2015

The service was pathetic . We order standard food, no appetizers during lunch hour (on a business lunch) He took more than 75 minutes to get our Lunch. Not only did we not get an apology or any explanation, but the manager said ''to come to his office'' so he could give us a coupon for 50% on an appetizer...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1

Excellent experience.

vip
 (Montreal)
·Dined on December 6, 2015

Excellent experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Horrible service, two hours to get our m ...

 
 (Montreal)
·Dined on November 27, 2015

Horrible service, two hours to get our meal and they made a mistake with mine so I had to eat something I didn't order!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1

Great Location and Atmosphere

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on November 8, 2015

We had a really great time here because we were with good friends and the food was good (I'd like to say the food was great but I ordered my steak 'well done' and it came not even 'medium'-sent it back and then it was brought back to me 'med well'- still not 'well done' but I ate it and it was fine) We did not find our waiter to be very friendly. He was French and we speak only English and we felt that our waiter did not care for us...he was not very attentive and kept walking away from us as we were still trying to talk to him. Several times we ordered drinks and they took forever ( bar staff fault? not sure) At one point I ordered a drink and it was taking so long I asked another server to bring me one and she told me that my waiter had gone on break? Something about him not having a break since 4:00 pm that day? He should have served my drink before taking a break. I'm not sure of our waiter's name as I'm quite sure that he didn't bother to introduce himself. We managed to have a great evening even though our waiter treated us like we were a bother to him. We were actually making jokes about it the whole dinner.

Tags: good for groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.