About MOXIES Grillades/Bar - Montreal

1207 Boulevard Robert-Bourassa
Montreal, QC H3B 0C3
View Larger Map

Moxie's Grill & Bar focuses on superior food quality, exceptional service and prices that represent great value for our guests. The upscale 'non themed' approach, coupled with superior quality food offerings and service, has proven to be highly successful. Moxie's is open seven days a week for lunch, dinner and late night dining. Reservations accepted. From steaks to pasta, seafood to salad, juicy ribs through to rich desserts and our famous daily drink specials, Moxie's restaurant is the perfect place to bring family, friends or business colleagues for a great time!


Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Global, International, Steakhouse, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Monday/Lundi - 11:30am - 11:00pm
Tuesday/Mardi - 11:30am - 11:00pm
Wednesday/Mercredi - 11:30am - 11:00pm
Thursday/Jeudi - 11:00am - 12:00am
Friday/Vendredi - 11:00am - 12:00am
Saturday/Samedi - 11:00am - 12:00am
Sunday/Dimanche - 11:00am - 11:00pm

Cross Street:
Rene Levesque / University

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
CAN$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(514) 393-1207

Website:
http://www.moxies.ca/fr

Executive Chef:
Brandon Thordarson

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Entertainment, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Takeout, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

  • MOXIES Grillades/Bar - Montreal, Montreal, QC
MOXIES Grillades/Bar - Montreal, Montreal, QC

MOXIES Grillades/Bar - Montreal Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

3.9

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

3.7

service

3.8

ambience

3.8

value

3.6

noise

Moderate

85% would recommend it to a friend

Business Meals (15)
Happy Hour (12)
Special Occasion (12)
See All
Good for Groups (12)
Casual (11)
Bar Seating (11)
Great for Lunch (10)
Good for Birthdays (10)
Good for a Date (9)
Modern Decor (9)
Live Sports (9)
Cozy (8)
Fun (6)
Hot Spot (6)
Late-night Find (5)
Good for Anniversaries (5)
Vibrant Bar Scene (5)
Comfort Food (4)
Quick Bite (4)
Handcrafted Cocktails (4)
Worth the Drive (4)
Pre/post Theatre (4)
Notable Wine List (3)
Fit for Foodies (3)
Creative Cuisine (2)
Great Beer (2)
People Watching (2)
Romantic (2)
Local Ingredients (2)
Scenic View (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Private Room (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Healthy (1)
Authentic (1)
Quiet Conversation (1)
Sort By:
S
182 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Having been to Moxie's in Ottawa and Van ...

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on November 20, 2016

Having been to Moxie's in Ottawa and Vancouver both of which were very good I decided to try their latest addition while in Montreal. Four of us had a fine lunch and the atmosphere was conducive to conversation which was great as I was meeting an old school friend I had not seen in decades. The service was efficient and pleasant and our lunches were well prepared and tasty all for a reasonable price. I will go back again when in Montreal.

Tags: Casual, Business Meals, Comfort Food, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Good food but noisy place. Music very l ...

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on November 13, 2016

Good food but noisy place. Music very loud and ambiance not so great.

Tags: Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4
value4

Love the ambiance, food is always well p ...

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Love the ambiance, food is always well prepared and the Nacho platter with beef is exceptional! A+

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

J'ai été agréablement surpris lorsque de ...

 
 (Mobile)·Dined on November 6, 2016

J'ai été agréablement surpris lorsque de voir qu'ils connaissaient la cuisson "Chicago" pour les steaks (saignant-brûlé). C'est habituellement les steak houses dignes de ce nom qui connaissent ce type de cuisson. Lorsque j'ai reçu mon plat, c'était exactement ce que je voulais!

Tags: Sports en direct, Des bars dynamiques et accueillants
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Used to be good, food is overpriced, not ...

vip
 (Montreal)·Dined on November 4, 2016

Used to be good, food is overpriced, not really good at all and service was slow, over 1 hour to get served, really not good enough.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service1
value1

Our table was removed from everyone else ...

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on October 29, 2016

Our table was removed from everyone else. Food arrived cold.

Tags: Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service4
value1

Très bruyant pour le lunch. Service très ...

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on October 28, 2016

Très bruyant pour le lunch.

Service très lent, surtout pour recevoir la facture et payer.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

Je suis cœliaque et ai beaucoup apprécié ...

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on October 21, 2016

Je suis cœliaque et ai beaucoup apprécié le menu sans gluten ainsi que la possibilité de manger des frites faites dans une friteuse séparée! Juste pour ça je vais y retourner.

Tags: Idéal pour le repas du midi, Places au bar, Décor moderne, Sports en direct, Options sans gluten
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Je vais au Moxies tous les vendredis ave ...

vip
 (Montreal)·Dined on October 21, 2016

Je vais au Moxies tous les vendredis avec mes collègues. Cette semaine, c'était ma fête. Ca a pris 20 min avant qu'on vienne nous demander ce qu'on voulait boire, un autre 10 pour recevoir les drink et 60 en tout pour avoir notre bouffe. Une chance que c'est pas de même toute les semaines .... mes collègues veulent changer de spot ...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1

Got seated upstairs in corner with cold ...

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on October 19, 2016

Got seated upstairs in corner with cold air blowing on us. Service was extremely slow. Non friendly server. Had appetizers, 2 beers and left for burger king and back to our hotel room.

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service1
value1

A little disappointed at first that we w ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on October 18, 2016

A little disappointed at first that we were seated in the back room where there were no TV monitors since the MLB playoffs were on. Bar area appeared to be hopping! However, our server kept us up to date on the action and the quieter area was better for conversation. The menu had enough variety so that each of us found something to our own taste. Only complaint is the wait between placing the order and arrival of the food was a bit long, but the server made up for it by visiting regularly to ensure our drinks were topped off. Seemed like a great place to hang out after work or catch a game with friends in the bar area.

Tags: Happy Hour, Live Sports, Comfort Food, Bar Seating, Business Meals, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Aucune ambiance / serveuse non-présente ...

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on October 18, 2016

Aucune ambiance / serveuse non-présente / quantité du nachos très minime / cuisson du steak inadéquate / betterave non cuite / frites froide. Bref première et dernière visite et ne comptez pas sur moi pour recommander cet endroit!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service2
value2

I ordered a surloin steak sandwich mediu ...

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on October 14, 2016

I ordered a surloin steak sandwich medium cooked, the meat was extra cooked and the bread was uncuttable. Meat was good but not cooked properly. Didn't have time to send it back to I ate it like it was.

Tags: Happy Hour, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Love it but service too slow especially ...

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on October 13, 2016

Love it but service too slow especially at lunch time. Can't take two hour lunches ! But for the rest, food is great, ambiance is fun and service is gok but very slow.

Tags: Fun, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

We were well taken care of. Did not fee ...

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on October 6, 2016

We were well taken care of. Did not feel like we were forgotten

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We arrived there before peak dinner time ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 1, 2016

We arrived there before peak dinner time. We were greeted by a maitre d or waiter that did not make us feel welcome. It took 15 minutes before we were brought our drinks and 50 minutes before we were brought our food, while the restaurant was slowly filling up to being half full. Plus our food arrived lukewarm (borderline cold). No one came to warn us and apologize of any delay. I was surprised to find shrimp in my fried calamaris and the sushi handrolls were quite ordinary. The waitress barely ever checked on us, nobody came to clear our empty dishes, even as we were asking for the bill. Weirdly enough, there were plenty waitresses and waiter for the dining room, yet every other table seems to wait forever before being served. I'm really disappointed because I came here a year ago and had enjoyed my experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1

We have been there before Adele'show on ...

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on October 1, 2016

We have been there before Adele'show on October 1st. Service very long (more than 35 minutes for a bottle of wine). Same thing for dessert, we had to eat it in 5 minutes because we were going to be late even if we arrived à 17h00.

Very dissapointing.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value3

Great service . Very attentive Big thum ...

vip
 (Montreal)·Dined on September 24, 2016

Great service . Very attentive

Big thumbs up!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Un de mes restaurants préférés a Montréa ...

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on September 17, 2016

Un de mes restaurants préférés a Montréal ! Les plats sont delicieux et la presentation bien elaboré ! Je recommande comme dessert le Trio dégustation , une vrai delice

Tags: Idéal pour un rendez-vous galant, Idéal pour les plus fins palais, Une trouvaille nocturne, Parfait pour les groupes
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We found the restaurant was a good choic ...

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on September 16, 2016

We found the restaurant was a good choice because we were able to talk without having to yell across the table. The server was efficient (as well as the trainee). We ordered a couple of appetizers (calamari and dry ribs), which we found to be pricey and there was not a lot of. The chicken burgers were excellent. Overall, it was a good evening out.

Tags: Special Occasion, Comfort Food, Casual, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

Somme toute, une cuisine correcte et abo ...

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on September 15, 2016

Somme toute, une cuisine correcte et abordable avec un service cordial.

Tags: Décor moderne, Cocktails artisanaux, Les 5 à 7, Places au bar, Idéal pour le repas du midi
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

I'd like to believe that it wasn't usual ...

vip
 (Montreal)·Dined on September 5, 2016

I'd like to believe that it wasn't usually like this, but we really had a bad experience when we went during Labour Day weekend. Probably they were under staffed. We were also a big group. But food took more than an hour to arrive, they were all cold, steak was definitely NOT AAA quality, wrong order, took another 30 min to replace the wrong order and so on. The woman in charge of our table didn't seem to care, so we almost wanted to cut the tip in half, but one waiter who was probably helping out from the bar was dicent and apologetic, so we didn't want to punish him for malmanagement of the place. It's unfortunate because I brought 14 of my friends there and they'll probably never go back. Such a disappointment.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service1
value1

Waiter was talking to a couple in a tabl ...

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on August 31, 2016

Waiter was talking to a couple in a table and took forever to come back, twice... Music is too loud to talk, maybe is better for big groups, you need to scream almost... I won't take a date there for that reason. Food was good and tasty, nice presentation. Overall it was a nice place, the other employees were really polite and fast.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Authentic, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

Great food, great service, great experie ...

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on August 21, 2016

Great food, great service, great experience! When we made the reservation, we were just needing food quickly, in a town we were visiting. We didn't realize Moxie was a small chain - but we were in no way disappointed with the results. Adrian Saad, the Exec General Manager was so helpful and personable, and treated us like exclusive customers. Everything we ordered from the menu was delicious and we would absolutely return again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

It's freezing in there and the once beau ...

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on August 15, 2016

It's freezing in there and the once beautiful tree is dead... Maybe a new plant or sculpture is needed?

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Une belle ambiance et atmosphère, choix ...

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on August 12, 2016

Une belle ambiance et atmosphère, choix de menu intéressant et pour tous les gouts

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Waitress was very rude. Throws glasses o ...

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on August 6, 2016

Waitress was very rude. Throws glasses on table. We waited 1h to get some water. She was nowhere to be seen all night. We asked for a desert with candle on top to surprise the birthday girl, but we had to remind her several times to bring it. When it got there , candle was missing and no ustensiles were given. However, service given by the other waiters was good. Sadly ours was disrespectful.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Scenic View, Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Late-night Find, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value5

Une très belle ambiance! Service excell ...

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on August 5, 2016

Une très belle ambiance! Service excellent de la part des jeunes femmes qui nous servaient. Les plats délicieux avec portions plus que suffisantes. Musique lounge très bonne!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Good food, great staff. perfect for busi ...

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on August 2, 2016

Good food, great staff. perfect for business lunch.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

Good experience! The ambiance is great, ...

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on July 31, 2016

Good experience!

The ambiance is great, food is very good and they have an amazing menu.

Tags: Good for Groups, Late-night Find, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

good food, staff were very nice people, ...

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on July 29, 2016

good food, staff were very nice people, it was not our first time at moxies, and it will not be the last.

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Late-night Find, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Love pretty much everything about this p ...

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on July 8, 2016

Love pretty much everything about this place. Location, food, drinks (best G&Ts)...just watch those stairs when imbibing more!

Tags: Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Scenic View, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

We loved the service and ambiance. The f ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 3, 2016

We loved the service and ambiance. The food was also delicious and affordable. And of course the drinks loved the red Sangria!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

légèrement baisser le volume de la musiq ...

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on June 30, 2016

légèrement baisser le volume de la musique pour metre de parler et ecouter des autres

Tags: Parfait pour les groupes, Idéal pour le repas du midi
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Serveuse tres tres tres bete!! Je ne me ...

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on June 15, 2016

Serveuse tres tres tres bete!!

Je ne me souviens pas de son nom, mais elle devra pas travailler avec le public

Tags: Parfait pour les groupes, Idéal pour le repas du midi
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1
value1

Great experience. Always fun. Love the ...

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on June 15, 2016

Great experience. Always fun. Love the wednesday specials

Tags: Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

Only disappointment was that there was n ...

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on June 15, 2016

Only disappointment was that there was no bar service on the outside terrace on a beautiful night.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

One of our guest had a specific allergy. ...

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on June 3, 2016

One of our guest had a specific allergy. Extremely accommadating with us.

Thanks

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Le service était un peu long pour prendr ...

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on May 27, 2016

Le service était un peu long pour prendre la commande, mais en 1 hr on était sortit (groupe de 4)

Tags: Idéal pour le repas du midi
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

Good restaurant. Have been several times ...

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on May 16, 2016

Good restaurant. Have been several times. Was disappointed this time however that all the lettuce in our various dishes was brown. Made some of the dishes unappetizing, particularly the lettuce wraps which use big lettuce leaves. Hope this won't be the case next time.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.