Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.08mi
  2. Distance: 0.11mi
  3. Distance: 0.11mi
  4. Distance: 0.12mi
  1. Distance: 0.08mi
  2. Distance: 0.11mi
  3. Distance: 0.11mi
  4. Distance: 0.12mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.08mi
  2. Distance: 0.11mi
  3. Distance: 0.11mi
  4. Distance: 0.12mi
  1. Distance: 0.08mi
  2. Distance: 0.11mi
  3. Distance: 0.11mi
  4. Distance: 0.12mi

About Moxie's Grill & Bar - University

Now open at 70 University Avenue in Downtown Toronto! Located in Toronto's Financial District, off of University Ave and Wellington St, next to the St. Andrew Metro Station, Moxie’s is a premium casual restaurant offering weekend brunch, lunch, dinner or late night dining. Passion. Food. Friends.

70 University Avenue
Toronto, ON MJ5 2M4
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Canadian

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Sunday: 11:00am - 4:00pm.
Dinner: Wednesday - Saturday: 4:00pm - 2:00am, Monday - Tuesday: 4:00pm - 1:00am, Sunday: 4:00pm - 11:00pm.

Cross Street:
Wellington

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
CAN$30 and under

Payment Options

Phone Number:
(647) 748-7172

Website:
http://moxies.ca/blog/toronto-downtown-now-open

Executive Chef:
Brandon Thordarson

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Late Night, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wine

Moxie's Grill & Bar - University Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.1

service

4.3

ambience

3.8

value

3.7

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Casual (21)
Business Meals (17)
Good for Groups (17)
See All
Great for Lunch (16)
Pre/post Theatre (15)
Vibrant Bar Scene (12)
Modern Decor (11)
Good for a Date (10)
Fun (10)
Special Occasion (10)
Happy Hour (10)
Bar Seating (9)
Creative Cuisine (9)
Live Sports (9)
People Watching (9)
Hot Spot (8)
Good for Birthdays (8)
Comfort Food (8)
Family Style (7)
Cozy (6)
Great for Brunch (5)
Outstanding Value (5)
Fit for Foodies (4)
Good for Anniversaries (4)
Authentic (3)
Notable Wine List (3)
Quick Bite (3)
Seasonal (3)
Healthy (3)
Afternoon Coffee (3)
Worth the Drive (3)
Great Beer (2)
Kid-friendly (2)
Romantic (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Neighborhood Gem (2)
Spicy (2)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Vegan (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Sort By:
S
247 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 25, 2017

Lunch was good. Food was as expected. Service was good. Waiter was knowledgeable about the menu. He was pleasant and attentive. Atmosphere at 2 pm on a Saturday was quiet and pleasant. There were very few patrons there. I was surprised when we showed up because the restaurant was almost empty. I found this quite odd considering that OPEN TABLE provided limited selections for dining times for a party of 5 at that time. The proximity of Moxie's to Roy Thomson Hall made it a convenient choice.

Tags: Cozy, Great for Lunch, Pre/post Theatre, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 18, 2017

Our waitress was lovely. She knew we had to be quick to get to the theatre. Food was wonderful.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Great for Brunch, Hot Spot, Fun, Pre/post Theatre, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Hi this was a follow up after a bad experience previously, my friend had been given a 30 certificate because the previous visit her meal had capers in the bruschetta and pasta contrary to the menu. This time I ordered filet mignon rare to med rare, the steak was well done. My friends meal was fine, she ate while I waited for my meal to be replaced. The manager was upset and gave us our dinner comp on the house. But this is two strokes on this location. Even though our server and the manager were awesome.
I hope you can find better kitchen staff going forward.
By the way, I've been in the restaurant business most of my life and my husband was a top chef. I don't expect what I get at home but for the cost I expect your chef or nroilerman to know the difference between rare and well done. It was obvious as soon as I touched the top of the streak, I didn't have to cut into the steak to find out what I already knew.

Tags: Casual, Creative Cuisine, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Our dining experience was lovely! One of the hostesses took us in early, and gave us a corner table where it was nice and quiet. Our server, Abi, was super nice and always had a smile on her face. Of course, our food was delicious. We definitely would visit again, and would recommend this Moxies location to others.

Tags: Healthy, Good for Anniversaries, Family Style, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Server was very attentive and friendly. Food was very good. It was Valentine's Day so a special occasion and we were both extremely pleased with the overall ambiance and service. And the special half priced wine did not hurt either!!

Tags: Modern Decor, Outstanding Value, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 14, 2017

The salad came from a bag and was a few days old. Food is not good

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service4
value2

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Great location and service! The birthday dessert was delicious!

Tags: Hot Spot, Happy Hour, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Toronto)·Dined on January 28, 2017

waiter was great as was the food

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on January 25, 2017

This was the second time going to this Moxie's the service was excellence and the food very good, I would absolutely go there again.

Tags: Special Occasion, Casual, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Fun, Notable Wine List, Outstanding Value, Comfort Food, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Toronto)·Dined on January 21, 2017

Server was excellent. Attentive but not overbearing

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on January 21, 2017

Wasn't too busy when we were there pre-theatre. Food was great and service excellent. The desserts were way too good but we had the smaller portions so we didn't have to miss them.
Drink of the day was a nice treat.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Great for Brunch, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on January 13, 2017

Excellent location, attentive and friendly service, and decent food make this Moxie's a good choice, especially if you are looking to dine before a show at Roy Thomson Hall or elsewhere in the neighbourhood. Good gathering spot with family or friends. The music and ambience can be a bit noisy, but that's part of the vibrant appeal.

Tags: Fun, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value2

vip
 (Hawaii)·Dined on January 9, 2017

Another great lunch at Moxies. Food was fantastic and the service was absolutely spot on. Good for groups of two people or groups of twenty people.

Tags: Fun, Outstanding Value, Great for Lunch, Live Sports, Happy Hour, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on January 8, 2017

one of the best marinated and cooked steaks I have had in a long time!

Tags: Business Meals, Casual, Great for Lunch, People Watching, Vibrant Bar Scene, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Came here for a friends birthday celebration and had a wonderful time! Food was excellent and service was extremely friendly. Would recommend this location for the laid back atmosphere and great drinks!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Bar Seating, Handcrafted Cocktails, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value3

vip
 (Toronto)·Dined on December 30, 2016

The food was not very well cooked. Our ribs were very tough. Service was good though.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service5
value2

vip
 (Toronto)·Dined on December 30, 2016

The restaurant has a very nice ambience. We were seated at a booth by the window. We ordered the Brocoli & Cheese soup , Street Tacos & Chicken Rigatoni. Service by Anita was very friendly & professional. We will definitely be back. I didn't know this restaurant existed until I received notification from Open Table.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Manchester)·Dined on December 28, 2016

Not as load as other reviews say but we maybe hit it on a quieter night. Food was great and service was quick and pleasant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on December 28, 2016

Friendly, prompt service. Great food. Cold beer. Very noisy. Not a place to go for a quiet meal.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Bar Seating, Seasonal, Special Occasion, Modern Decor, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on December 21, 2016

Forget dinner conversation, particularly if you're seated near the atrium bar. This is by far the loudest restaurant we have ever dined in. We were shouting across the table all evening. The quality of the food is decent and not quite as pricey as some area eateries. The service was outstanding from beginning to end. But I hope they issue ear plugs to their staff!

Tags: People Watching, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4
value3

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on December 20, 2016

Great attention to detail. I had made a note to bring the bill directly to me at the end. The server was attentive and took initiative to ensure the request was complete.

Customer service was great. Highly recommend.

Tags: Business Meals, Comfort Food, Pre/post Theatre, Family Style, Great for Lunch, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on December 19, 2016

Service was extremely slow. Even when they apologized for it m they didn't speed up.They voluntarily adjusted the bill, but I would rather pay full price and get a good service offering.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value2

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on December 14, 2016

Choose Moxies for Wednesdays, the special is 1/2 price bottled wine!

Tags: People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on December 13, 2016

I found the service outstanding ... everyone worked as a team to make my meal a pleasant one

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Pre/post Theatre, Notable Wine List, Happy Hour, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on December 11, 2016

My SO and I went to revisit a delicious meal we had together way back. Years ago we had one of the best burgers ever at the Yorkville location. It was on a special menu and we've since wanted to try it again. It looked like the very same burger was now officially part of the menu and the University location had it. (Also, it's hard for us to resist a place with Sticky Toffee Pudding on the dessert menu.) Reservation was easy, service was good, and the burger was almost as good as I remember. (Maybe I had romanticized it a bit.) This one was enormous. It plus the fries was way too much food for me. The patty must've been like 10oz. They should make it smaller, and lessen the price. It's still a really good burger but I don't know if it's $18-good. Plus the chips were nothing write home about. Would've changed for sweet potato fries, but I didn't really feel like paying $20+ for a burger and fries.

Tags: People Watching, Casual, Live Sports, Family Style, Bar Seating, Happy Hour, Pre/post Theatre, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value2

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on December 10, 2016

My family and I were attending a concert at Roy Thomson Hall and came to Moxie's for dinner beforehand. We had made a reservation and were seated in a timely manner. Our waitress was friendly enough, however, her speed of service did leave a little bit to be desired. There were very long gaps in between delivering our drinks and taking our food orders. This would have been explained had we seen her waiting on other tables, but she only appeared to deal with our table - aside from that, we never saw her. In saying that, she was very diligent in making sure that our orders were correct, and correcting any minor mistakes. Our food was hot when it arrived and tasted fine. Overall, it was a "neutral" dining experience. There was nothing glaringly wrong with it, but it didn't wow us, either.

Tags: Modern Decor, Special Occasion, Fun, People Watching, Hot Spot, Good for Groups, Pre/post Theatre, Late-night Find, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on December 10, 2016

Upon arriving at the restaurant we we taken to our table however there were no provisions to accommodate our coats. We then sat for more than 15min without any server attention until I called one over to address our order. The dinner took far to long to finish forcing us to rush over to our show. I will definitely not make this my first choice in the area.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on December 9, 2016

We ate at Moxie's on University Ave on a very busy Friday night, that meant it was quite loud. However our table was further from the bar so we could still each other talk. We got our reserved table right on time. The waiter was very attentive and the food great and didn't take too long considering how busy they were. Good value for money, very tasty and nicely presented. Reservations are a must on Fridays if you want a specific time.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Afternoon Coffee, Special Occasion, Seasonal, Great for Brunch, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on December 7, 2016

Food was great. It's a bit noisy.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on November 28, 2016

Great tasting food. Very creative presenting the dishes - I had the salmon cobb salad which was a pleasant surprise.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on November 26, 2016

Friendly and fast service. Food was good but not exceptional. Very loud- hard to carry on a conversation. Was served a warm (not hot) coffee which was disappointing. Went there due to the location (right next to Roy Thompson Hall). This was my second visit.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on November 22, 2016

This is a great place to get a mal / drinks after work or before a sporting event.
They have a great bar area and separate wine bar area complete with TV screens to catch business news or watch the game of the night.
The menu has something of good quality for everyone.
The servers are friendly. You must enjoy an energetic atmosphere to go here.

Tags: Happy Hour, Live Sports, Notable Wine List, Spicy, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

vip
 (Toronto)·Dined on November 15, 2016

Waitress' service level was a little suspect.
Small things - no utensils on the table when lunch was served.
Had coffee after lunch - capuchino. she served it with 2 small bags of sugar (fine) but no spoon. Then acted a little surprised when I asked for a spoon.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on November 14, 2016

Good variety of really good food. Service is attentive and accurate. Noise is a bit too much if you're trying to have a detailed conversation at lunch. {Having some soft surfaces to absorb some of the sound would go a long way.} I will continue to attend this restaurant for Lunch and the occasional dinner as it is always consistent and very good.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on November 11, 2016

Very noisy during rush hours, but after 2pm, it is nice for business chat. servers are kind and nice.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on November 9, 2016

The noise level negates anything good you could say about the restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service4
value3

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 8, 2016

Reliable place for affordable pre game dinners. Good location.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on November 6, 2016

We had a great time! Great service. Nice surroundings. Great location . My only negative feeling was not enough steak in my steak salad!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on October 25, 2016

We usually prefer Moxies to the other pub-like places close to ACC but this time it was not so great. Food was variable: wings - good, loaded burger - not great, fries - awful, Greek-chicken wrap - good. The Tuesday wine special was limited to the house wine - OK; the specialty beer - amber was good. It was very loud and we were in the quieter dining room - the front bar was louder.

Tags: Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value2

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on October 22, 2016

Made reservations for 2 it was quick and easy. Food was great, there was a mix up with our cocktails and another one brought free of charge!
The manager came by a few times to see how everything g was going.
Our waiter was fantastic and provides great service.
Will be back for sure.

Tags: Comfort Food, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.