Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.08mi
  2. Distance: 0.11mi
  3. Distance: 0.11mi
  4. Distance: 0.12mi
  1. Distance: 0.08mi
  2. Distance: 0.11mi
  3. Distance: 0.11mi
  4. Distance: 0.12mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.08mi
  2. Distance: 0.11mi
  3. Distance: 0.11mi
  4. Distance: 0.12mi
  1. Distance: 0.08mi
  2. Distance: 0.11mi
  3. Distance: 0.11mi
  4. Distance: 0.12mi

About Moxie's Grill & Bar - University

Share our passion for food & drink in a fun, stylish, social environment. Our inspiration comes from the community we are a part of; from the team we hire to the food we make. We focus on quality food made with fresh ingredients served in a stylish, comfortable & casual environment.

Moxie’s is Located in Toronto's Financial District, next to the St. Andrew Metro Station. Within walking distance from the Princess of Wales and Royal Alexandra Theatres and Roy Thomson Hall. A short distance to the Metro Toronto Convention Centre and the famous Royal York Hotel. Our Executive Chef Brandon Thordarson has created a menu offering a wide-array of steaks, burgers, pastas and seafood! No matter the occasion, whether it's a business luncheon, a dinner date, or late night drinks with friends, Moxie's offers something for everyone.

Moxie’s features daily drink specials - enjoy them while dining on our outdoor patio!

70 University Avenue
Toronto, ON MJ5 2M4
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Global, International, Canadian

Hours of Operation:
Monday: 11:00am - 12:00am
Tuesday: 11:00am - 12:00am
Wednesday: 11:00am - 1:00am
Thursday: 11:00am - 1:00am
Friday: 11:00am - 1:00am
Saturday: 11:00am - 1:00am
Sunday: 11:00am - 11:00pm

Cross Street:
Wellington Street

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
CAN$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(647) 748-7172

Website:
http://moxies.com/

Parking Details:
Underground parking on site.

Executive Chef:
Brandon Thordarson

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cocktails, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Moxie's Grill & Bar - University Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.0

service

4.2

ambience

3.9

value

3.9

Noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Casual (14)
Pre/post Theatre (10)
Good for a Date (7)
See All
Business Meals (6)
Comfort Food (5)
Happy Hour (5)
Quick Bite (5)
Vibrant Bar Scene (5)
Good for Birthdays (5)
Great for Lunch (4)
Good for Groups (4)
Bar Seating (3)
Creative Cuisine (3)
Hot Spot (3)
Authentic (2)
Fit for Foodies (2)
Handcrafted Cocktails (2)
Neighborhood Gem (2)
People Watching (2)
Quiet Conversation (2)
Special Occasion (2)
Live Sports (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Cozy (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Great Beer (1)
Healthy (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Scenic View (1)
Seasonal (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Tapas (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Sort by
S
320 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined 3 days ago

I had the turkey club sandwich on ciabatta/multigrain bread, and was expecting a lovely, fresh or artisan type of bread/bun. It was store bought sandwich bread.
The fresh guacamole was delicious.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Toronto)·Dined 4 days ago

Everything was great. Good place for an extended lunch with a friend to catch up. Even though we were seated at the front of the restaurant near the bar, it wasn't that noisy - would have been a different experience for dinner. But for the second time in a row they didn't properly use the OpenTable reservation system and I got a follow-up email from OT asking why I didn't utilize my reservation. Irritating, but not a deal breaker.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 13, 2018

Food was excellent, but as always after work is very noisy.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Great for Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Hot Spot, Good for a Date, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 12, 2018

A good steak for a reasonable price. Decent wine list as well.

Tags: Special Occasion, People Watching, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 6, 2018

I am a big Moxies fan so when my client suggested Moxie I was more than happy to go there but I would not go to the University one again for business as it was much too loud (and I made reservations to be seated in a quieter area) of which it is impossible to find this type of spot at lunch... (we were almost yelling across the table to be heard). I am also a big fan of the beef vendiloo and I have had it several times at Moxies in Ottawa and Hwy 7 but this time it was so spicy and hot I sent most of it back and had to ask for Ice water to wash it down...
This Moxie was a true disappointment and was not a spot I would recc for business.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value2

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 5, 2018

Top notch service and great tasting food is all I've ever experienced while visiting this restaurants. Thanks everyone!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on January 31, 2018

Our server Jes was amazing. True professional.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on January 25, 2018

Abigail was very friendly. She gave us lots of attention and just made our lunch date very pleasant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on January 19, 2018

Food was excellent! And the waiter was outstanding - so attentive. We were seated on time and not rushed at all to get to our theatre date. Had plenty of time to enjoy our meal before the show.

Tags: Good for a Date, Casual, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on December 31, 2017

Great food and service. Will definitely dine there again!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on December 21, 2017

I'm probably (likely) in the minority but the ditzy hostesses are a pain (for example, it's annoying tell girl #1 my name and reso because she then told girl #2 ... who messed it up ... then girl #3 finally found and sat me at the table). I get it ... good window dressing attracts the Bay Street clientele. Glad to have had a waiter (Jamie) who was properly attentive for my business lunch meeting. It's very loud and tough to have a business discussion. Nevertheless, the food is good and table service competent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on December 20, 2017

We found the venue very noisy. You had to strain to hear what the person next to you was saying, and shout to be heard. Not good for 2 of the party who have hearing aids. The food was wonderful, with generous servings. We will try again, but will ask for a quieter location next time to see if it makes a difference.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service4
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on December 20, 2017

The staff were terrific. We were greeted and seated right away. Very friendly. Good food but the acoustics are terrible. Very hard to have a conversation even with just four of us.

Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on December 19, 2017

Waited a long time for our food and then it came to us cold. I didn’t have time to wait for a new meal. I left hungry and unsatisfied.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on December 13, 2017

We have a small group that gathers here every couple of months. Food is good. Beer selection is respectable (their in-house beers are excellent value). Service is always excellent. And the prices is right in line with other similar establishments downtown. Overall great value. First time I've used OpenTable to book a reservation (usually something seems to be going on at the ACC and they won't accept reservations over the dinner period). Process was simple enough. But I don't think the restaurant is using it effectively. The bar area can be quite loud. So I indicated that I wanted a table "Away from the bar area." We were seated in the dining area just the second table over from the bar area. It was a very noisy dinner. Also, I got an email from OpenTable the next day asking why we failed to show up for our reservation. So I had respond to say that we had in fact been there.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on December 13, 2017

Mediocre service at best. Felt rushed, server was inattentive.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value3

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on December 8, 2017

the food here is pretty good and the service is also good. Lunchtimes can be a bit noisy so best to get a table or booth towards the back of the bar.

Tags: Business Meals, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on December 7, 2017

We were served by a waitress on her first shift but she was very pleasant, helpful and professional. We’ll be back.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Quick Bite, Fit for Foodies, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on November 30, 2017

Beautiful, spacious venue... Waiter was excellent... Food was a little slow to come out for our table of 6 but it tasted very good. Although it is a chain restaurant, it is very good and would definitely recommend!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on November 23, 2017

The food and service at this location is always good! You may want to get a table away from the bar area as it can get noisy during busy times. Overall, a great restaurant!

Tags: Gluten Free Options, Quick Bite, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on November 20, 2017

Portions are too large. We had the Chicken Enchiladas ...3 is 1 too many. 2 would be great!

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on November 18, 2017

The service was good, but the food is needs improving. My calamari was oily and rubbery, the pasta was cold and lacked taste. The service was good and no complaints.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value3

vip
 (Toronto)·Dined on November 14, 2017

I guess your experience will vary greatlty, depending on the food. Atmosphere, service was OK but The fish tacos were very disappointing. Stay away...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on November 13, 2017

Went here one night for dinner, was a typical dinner. I have no fault with it, service a bit slow but it was a Monday night.

Tags: Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 13, 2017

I absolutely love Moxies (any location). Staff is awesome, service is outstand and the food is delicious.

Tags: Casual, Business Meals, Pre/post Theatre, Comfort Food, Healthy, Good for a Date, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on November 11, 2017

Our steaks were over cooked. The server and manager apologized and the manager offered a discount. The waitress was inattentive. We had to ask other people for coffee, water, etc. We sat for quite a while with empty coffee mugs and dessert plate waiting for her to bring us our bill.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value4

vip
 (Ottawa)·Dined on November 7, 2017

Moxie's always deliver with its strong food offering and consistent high quality service a cross the chain. Always had a great experience at this specific location as I am often assigned a larger table, even though I am a solo diner. Good food, good service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on October 24, 2017

The two hostesses provided friendly, immediate attention. Our server, ConnorP, was polite, friendly, observant from a distance, and attentive without being "in your face".
My Virgin Caesar was well constructed, imaginative, with balanced spiciness. We also shared the Big Life lager and ale. Both were true to form but a bit lighter on the scale for most craft beers; however, they would pair well with many menu items. We particularly enjoyed the Fresh Smashed Guacamole and the Cheddar - broccoli (still had a bit of crunch!) soup. Sauteed mushrooms in the steak sandwich and roast beef dip were flavourful with good texture.
We did request a quieter area and had a window booth which worked well. The main area is a bit loud. Very clean and well sized washrooms.
All in all, an excellent experience and good precursor to the theatre. Arrive early to enjoy.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails, Happy Hour, Tapas, Special Occasion, Authentic, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on October 18, 2017

This location is just a giant pub with a mostly pub favourites menu.

Lunch house din was "super loud." I was at a table with 3 people at the very back of the restaurant (as far from the front door / bar as you can get) and I could barely have a conversation with everyone at the table.

The pub food was so-so, however, our server was super fabulous, accommodating and on point. I cannot comment on value as I did not pay the check.

Tags: Live Sports, Vibrant Bar Scene, Bar Seating, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service4
value2

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on October 11, 2017

This is the second Movie's I have been to. We just love the place!!

Tags: Comfort Food, Hot Spot, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on October 11, 2017

Amazing food! Had the steak and my boyfriend had the chicken with goat cheese.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on October 11, 2017

Great place but definitely too noisy for a business lunch. Large table next to us with patrons bursting into very loud laughs when not talking - er, shouting at each other...

Tags: Casual, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Late-night Find, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service5
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on October 5, 2017

Moxie's offers good value and good food. Our server was very attentive and engaging during our recent visit. The menu changes from time to time, so there are often new and interesting choices. The only downside is that the place is incredibly noisy and even in the dining area the music and people noise was a bit of a challenge. Nevertheless, will go back in the future (as we have in the past).

Tags: Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service5
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on October 2, 2017

Been there for a date. Found the place a bit noisy for a monday night but the food was really good and the service was excellent!

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Local Ingredients, Cozy, Worth the Drive, Happy Hour, Fit for Foodies, Fun, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Toronto)·Dined on September 24, 2017

Not your typical Moxie's experience. There are a couple of other Moxie's that we go to, but I can't bring my family back to the one on University Ave. I believe that a Blue Jays game had gone on earlier, so the restaurant was crowded with fans. Unfortunately our table was too loud to carry on conversations with my family. When we arrived, we ordered the bottle of wine that we order at the other 2 locations. We didn't realize that it wasn't available at this location and the server brought the wrong bottle. We ended up having it anyway, but its a very different wine and was much more expensive. I asked for water for the table and only received a glass of water for myself. Our server was nowhere to be found when we needed him and we ended up asking other servers for help. I would suspect that if we had a different server and a quieter table, we would have had a much better experience.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service1
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on September 24, 2017

I went for brunch with my wife, mother in law and son. Usually, the food is good but the salmon and goat cheese omelet I had, and my wife had also, was terrible - dry and flavourless. I'd probably go back for supper but not for brunch.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service3
value1

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on September 23, 2017

Enjoyed meeting up with old friends; lots of time to visit and relax, waitress was kind and understanding of our needs

Tags: Great for Lunch, Bar Seating, Comfort Food, Live Sports, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on September 21, 2017

Great spot in a good location. My first time and I will be back!!

Tags: Hot Spot, Great Beer, Business Meals, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on September 19, 2017

High volume of music. Too much noise from the guests. Good food.

Tags: Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4
value3

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on September 13, 2017

We liked Moxies because it's casual, vibrant and good food and drink. The staff are welcoming and the service is good. No complaints.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Comfort Food, Great Beer, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.