About Moxie's Grill & Bar - University

70 University Avenue
Toronto, ON MJ5 2M4
View Larger Map

Now open at 70 University Avenue in Downtown Toronto! Located in Toronto's Financial District, off of University Ave and Wellington St, next to the St. Andrew Metro Station, Moxie’s is a premium casual restaurant offering weekend brunch, lunch, dinner or late night dining. Passion. Food. Friends.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Canadian

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Sunday: 11:00am - 4:00pm.
Dinner: Wednesday - Saturday: 4:00pm - 2:00am, Monday - Tuesday: 4:00pm - 1:00am, Sunday: 4:00pm - 11:00pm.

Cross Street:
Wellington

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
CAN$30 and under

Payment Options

Phone Number:
(647) 748-7172

Website:
http://moxies.ca/blog/toronto-downtown-now-open

Executive Chef:
Brandon Thordarson

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Late Night, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wine

Moxie's Grill & Bar - University Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.0

service

4.1

ambience

3.7

value

3.7

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Casual (20)
Good for Groups (19)
Business Meals (15)
See All
Great for Lunch (14)
Vibrant Bar Scene (12)
Fun (11)
People Watching (11)
Bar Seating (11)
Live Sports (10)
Pre/post Theatre (10)
Good for Birthdays (8)
Good for a Date (8)
Comfort Food (8)
Happy Hour (8)
Creative Cuisine (7)
Modern Decor (6)
Quick Bite (6)
Special Occasion (6)
Great for Brunch (5)
Hot Spot (5)
Outstanding Value (5)
Family Style (4)
Great Beer (4)
Spicy (3)
Kid-friendly (3)
Cozy (3)
Afternoon Coffee (3)
Seasonal (3)
Notable Wine List (3)
Local Ingredients (2)
Healthy (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Great for Outdoor Dining (2)
Fit for Foodies (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Good for Anniversaries (2)
Waterfront (1)
Neighborhood Gem (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Authentic (1)
Romantic (1)
Vegan (1)
Tapas (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Worth the Drive (1)
Sort By:
S
236 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Excellent location, attentive and friend ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined 4 days ago

Excellent location, attentive and friendly service, and decent food make this Moxie's a good choice, especially if you are looking to dine before a show at Roy Thomson Hall or elsewhere in the neighbourhood. Good gathering spot with family or friends. The music and ambience can be a bit noisy, but that's part of the vibrant appeal.

Tags: Fun, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value2

Another great lunch at Moxies. Food was ...

vip
 (Hawaii)·Dined on January 9, 2017

Another great lunch at Moxies. Food was fantastic and the service was absolutely spot on. Good for groups of two people or groups of twenty people.

Tags: Fun, Outstanding Value, Great for Lunch, Live Sports, Happy Hour, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

one of the best marinated and cooked ste ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on January 8, 2017

one of the best marinated and cooked steaks I have had in a long time!

Tags: Business Meals, Casual, Great for Lunch, People Watching, Vibrant Bar Scene, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value3

Came here for a friends birthday celebra ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Came here for a friends birthday celebration and had a wonderful time! Food was excellent and service was extremely friendly. Would recommend this location for the laid back atmosphere and great drinks!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Bar Seating, Handcrafted Cocktails, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value3

The food was not very well cooked. Our r ...

vip
 (Toronto)·Dined on December 30, 2016

The food was not very well cooked. Our ribs were very tough. Service was good though.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service5
value2

The restaurant has a very nice ambience. ...

vip
 (Toronto)·Dined on December 30, 2016

The restaurant has a very nice ambience. We were seated at a booth by the window. We ordered the Brocoli & Cheese soup , Street Tacos & Chicken Rigatoni. Service by Anita was very friendly & professional. We will definitely be back. I didn't know this restaurant existed until I received notification from Open Table.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Not as load as other reviews say but we ...

 
 (Manchester)·Dined on December 28, 2016

Not as load as other reviews say but we maybe hit it on a quieter night. Food was great and service was quick and pleasant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Friendly, prompt service. Great food. C ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on December 28, 2016

Friendly, prompt service. Great food. Cold beer. Very noisy. Not a place to go for a quiet meal.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Bar Seating, Seasonal, Special Occasion, Modern Decor, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Forget dinner conversation, particularly ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on December 21, 2016

Forget dinner conversation, particularly if you're seated near the atrium bar. This is by far the loudest restaurant we have ever dined in. We were shouting across the table all evening. The quality of the food is decent and not quite as pricey as some area eateries. The service was outstanding from beginning to end. But I hope they issue ear plugs to their staff!

Tags: People Watching, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4
value3

Great attention to detail. I had made a ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on December 20, 2016

Great attention to detail. I had made a note to bring the bill directly to me at the end. The server was attentive and took initiative to ensure the request was complete.

Customer service was great. Highly recommend.

Tags: Business Meals, Comfort Food, Pre/post Theatre, Family Style, Great for Lunch, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Service was extremely slow. Even when th ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on December 19, 2016

Service was extremely slow. Even when they apologized for it m they didn't speed up.They voluntarily adjusted the bill, but I would rather pay full price and get a good service offering.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value2

Choose Moxies for Wednesdays, the specia ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on December 14, 2016

Choose Moxies for Wednesdays, the special is 1/2 price bottled wine!

Tags: People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

I found the service outstanding ... ever ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on December 13, 2016

I found the service outstanding ... everyone worked as a team to make my meal a pleasant one

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Pre/post Theatre, Notable Wine List, Happy Hour, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

My SO and I went to revisit a delicious ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on December 11, 2016

My SO and I went to revisit a delicious meal we had together way back. Years ago we had one of the best burgers ever at the Yorkville location. It was on a special menu and we've since wanted to try it again. It looked like the very same burger was now officially part of the menu and the University location had it. (Also, it's hard for us to resist a place with Sticky Toffee Pudding on the dessert menu.) Reservation was easy, service was good, and the burger was almost as good as I remember. (Maybe I had romanticized it a bit.) This one was enormous. It plus the fries was way too much food for me. The patty must've been like 10oz. They should make it smaller, and lessen the price. It's still a really good burger but I don't know if it's $18-good. Plus the chips were nothing write home about. Would've changed for sweet potato fries, but I didn't really feel like paying $20+ for a burger and fries.

Tags: People Watching, Casual, Live Sports, Family Style, Bar Seating, Happy Hour, Pre/post Theatre, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value2

My family and I were attending a concert ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on December 10, 2016

My family and I were attending a concert at Roy Thomson Hall and came to Moxie's for dinner beforehand. We had made a reservation and were seated in a timely manner. Our waitress was friendly enough, however, her speed of service did leave a little bit to be desired. There were very long gaps in between delivering our drinks and taking our food orders. This would have been explained had we seen her waiting on other tables, but she only appeared to deal with our table - aside from that, we never saw her. In saying that, she was very diligent in making sure that our orders were correct, and correcting any minor mistakes. Our food was hot when it arrived and tasted fine. Overall, it was a "neutral" dining experience. There was nothing glaringly wrong with it, but it didn't wow us, either.

Tags: Modern Decor, Special Occasion, Fun, People Watching, Hot Spot, Good for Groups, Pre/post Theatre, Late-night Find, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

Upon arriving at the restaurant we we ta ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on December 10, 2016

Upon arriving at the restaurant we we taken to our table however there were no provisions to accommodate our coats. We then sat for more than 15min without any server attention until I called one over to address our order. The dinner took far to long to finish forcing us to rush over to our show. I will definitely not make this my first choice in the area.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

We ate at Moxie's on University Ave on a ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on December 9, 2016

We ate at Moxie's on University Ave on a very busy Friday night, that meant it was quite loud. However our table was further from the bar so we could still each other talk. We got our reserved table right on time. The waiter was very attentive and the food great and didn't take too long considering how busy they were. Good value for money, very tasty and nicely presented. Reservations are a must on Fridays if you want a specific time.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Afternoon Coffee, Special Occasion, Seasonal, Great for Brunch, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

Food was great. It's a bit noisy.

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on December 7, 2016

Food was great. It's a bit noisy.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Great tasting food. Very creative presen ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on November 28, 2016

Great tasting food. Very creative presenting the dishes - I had the salmon cobb salad which was a pleasant surprise.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

Friendly and fast service. Food was good ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on November 26, 2016

Friendly and fast service. Food was good but not exceptional. Very loud- hard to carry on a conversation. Was served a warm (not hot) coffee which was disappointing. Went there due to the location (right next to Roy Thompson Hall). This was my second visit.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value3

This is a great place to get a mal / dri ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on November 22, 2016

This is a great place to get a mal / drinks after work or before a sporting event.

They have a great bar area and separate wine bar area complete with TV screens to catch business news or watch the game of the night.

The menu has something of good quality for everyone.

The servers are friendly. You must enjoy an energetic atmosphere to go here.

Tags: Happy Hour, Live Sports, Notable Wine List, Spicy, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

Waitress' service level was a little sus ...

vip
 (Toronto)·Dined on November 15, 2016

Waitress' service level was a little suspect.

Small things - no utensils on the table when lunch was served.

Had coffee after lunch - capuchino. she served it with 2 small bags of sugar (fine) but no spoon. Then acted a little surprised when I asked for a spoon.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

Good variety of really good food. Servi ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on November 14, 2016

Good variety of really good food. Service is attentive and accurate. Noise is a bit too much if you're trying to have a detailed conversation at lunch. {Having some soft surfaces to absorb some of the sound would go a long way.} I will continue to attend this restaurant for Lunch and the occasional dinner as it is always consistent and very good.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Very noisy during rush hours, but after ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on November 11, 2016

Very noisy during rush hours, but after 2pm, it is nice for business chat. servers are kind and nice.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

The noise level negates anything good yo ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on November 9, 2016

The noise level negates anything good you could say about the restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service4
value3

Reliable place for affordable pre game d ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 8, 2016

Reliable place for affordable pre game dinners. Good location.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

We had a great time! Great service. N ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on November 6, 2016

We had a great time! Great service. Nice surroundings. Great location . My only negative feeling was not enough steak in my steak salad!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

We usually prefer Moxies to the other pu ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on October 25, 2016

We usually prefer Moxies to the other pub-like places close to ACC but this time it was not so great. Food was variable: wings - good, loaded burger - not great, fries - awful, Greek-chicken wrap - good. The Tuesday wine special was limited to the house wine - OK; the specialty beer - amber was good. It was very loud and we were in the quieter dining room - the front bar was louder.

Tags: Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value2

Made reservations for 2 it was quick and ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on October 22, 2016

Made reservations for 2 it was quick and easy. Food was great, there was a mix up with our cocktails and another one brought free of charge!

The manager came by a few times to see how everything g was going.

Our waiter was fantastic and provides great service.

Will be back for sure.

Tags: Comfort Food, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Went to dinner before seeing Sia at the ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 22, 2016

Went to dinner before seeing Sia at the Air Canada Centre. What a great place. Food was very tasty and selection was great. Highly recommend the white chocolate brownie dessert. It is like nothing I've ever tasted!!!!

Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date, Fun, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Outstanding Value, Pre/post Theatre, Casual, Bar Seating, Happy Hour, Quick Bite
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

First time visit for our friends who wer ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on October 19, 2016

First time visit for our friends who were impressed with the menu and ambiance (a bit loud that night but to be expected during the last Blue Jays play-off game). One friend booked another get together there for next week.

Very good parking rates in the building as well.

Tags: Disabled Access, Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

Moxie's has always been a good spot to m ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on October 8, 2016

Moxie's has always been a good spot to meet people, especially that the food and the service are always good.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

slow service and does not tell you about ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on September 28, 2016

slow service and does not tell you about hidden fees

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service1
value1

We had a reservation for 12:15, but the ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on September 15, 2016

We had a reservation for 12:15, but the table was "given away" and we had to wait at the bar in order to get a table.

I ordered the honey garlic sirloin, medium rare. It was hardly cooked, not even rare. They took it back and brought another steak. It was again completely undercooked, basically blue.

It was taken off the bill, which was nice, but overall a bad dining experience and would be lying if I would recommend to anyone.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service2

The ambience was nice and as always enjo ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on September 14, 2016

The ambience was nice and as always enjoy the food at Moxie's.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

I was somewhat disappointed with the men ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on September 13, 2016

I was somewhat disappointed with the menu choices this time around. When this restaurant first opened, I thought their menu had numerous items I could have chosen. This time there were only a couple of items that I would have ordered. On the plus side, if you can find something you like, their portion sizes are very generous. VERY noisy, so hard to carry on a conversation if you go at a busy time.

Tags: Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

Very disappointing for a restaurant with ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on September 9, 2016

Very disappointing for a restaurant with it's location. Our seat was horrible we had to be asked to be reseated. I ordered Wings with a side of fries. The waitress did not understand "wings" I had to repeat myself multiple times and she kept looking confused. When my order did arrive I received wings with a side of rice!

We ordered water with lemon wedges. We received water. when asked for the lemon wedges I was brought a brand new glass of water with 1 lemon wedge while the first glass of water sat on the table.

I am happy I did not order anything slightly complicated.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1
value3

We headed out on a quiet Sunday night an ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on September 5, 2016

We headed out on a quiet Sunday night and were pleasantly surprised that we had the patio virtually to ourselves. Our server was awesome, very friendly and informative. Dinner was tasty and timely. When we mentioned that it was my wife's birthday, our server came back with a nice surprise dessert. In addition our kid's meals came with a dessert, complete with dry ice! It was a big hit. We thoroughly enjoyed our visit. The decor was cool too, very modern, yet comfy.

Tags: Good for a Date, Kid-friendly, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Our server was great. She did a great j ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on August 31, 2016

Our server was great. She did a great job! We always go here when we have special occasions after work. The food is always good.

Tags: Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

I had the mushroom and dill salmon with ...

vip
 (Richmond)·Dined on August 29, 2016

I had the mushroom and dill salmon with green beans and baby potatoes. Husband had the half rack of ribs. Both meals were very good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.