Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.08mi
  2. Distance: 0.11mi
  3. Distance: 0.11mi
  4. Distance: 0.12mi
  1. Distance: 0.08mi
  2. Distance: 0.11mi
  3. Distance: 0.11mi
  4. Distance: 0.12mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.08mi
  2. Distance: 0.11mi
  3. Distance: 0.11mi
  4. Distance: 0.12mi
  1. Distance: 0.08mi
  2. Distance: 0.11mi
  3. Distance: 0.11mi
  4. Distance: 0.12mi

About Moxie's Grill & Bar - University

Share our passion for food & drink in a fun, stylish, social environment. Our inspiration comes from the community we are a part of; from the team we hire to the food we make. We focus on quality food made with fresh ingredients served in a stylish, comfortable & casual environment.

Moxie’s is Located in Toronto's Financial District, next to the St. Andrew Metro Station. Within walking distance from the Princess of Wales and Royal Alexandra Theatres and Roy Thomson Hall. A short distance to the Metro Toronto Convention Centre and the famous Royal York Hotel. Our Executive Chef Brandon Thordarson has created a menu offering a wide-array of steaks, burgers, pastas and seafood! No matter the occasion, whether it's a business luncheon, a dinner date, or late night drinks with friends, Moxie's offers something for everyone.

Moxie’s features daily drink specials - enjoy them while dining on our outdoor patio!

70 University Avenue
Toronto, ON MJ5 2M4
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Global, International, Steak

Hours of Operation:
Monday: 11:00am - 12:00am
Tuesday: 11:00am - 12:00am
Wednesday: 11:00am - 12:00am
Thursday: 11:00am - 1:00am
Friday: 11:00am - 1:00am
Saturday: 11:00am - 1:00am
Sunday: 11:00am - 12:00am

Cross Street:
Wellington Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
CAN$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(647) 748-7172

Website:
http://moxies.ca/blog/toronto-downtown-now-open

Executive Chef:
Brandon Thordarson

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cocktails, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Moxie's Grill & Bar - University Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.1

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.0

service

4.0

ambience

3.9

value

3.8

noise

Moderate

84% would recommend it to a friend

Business Meals (12)
Good for Groups (12)
Great for Lunch (12)
See All
Casual (11)
Good for a Date (8)
Pre/post Theatre (8)
Quick Bite (7)
Happy Hour (6)
Great for Outdoor Dining (6)
Vibrant Bar Scene (6)
Fun (6)
Good for Birthdays (5)
Live Sports (5)
Bar Seating (5)
Comfort Food (4)
Cozy (4)
Creative Cuisine (4)
Great Beer (4)
Good for Anniversaries (3)
Late-night Find (3)
People Watching (3)
Special Occasion (3)
Good Vegetarian Options (3)
Authentic (2)
Handcrafted Cocktails (2)
Hot Spot (2)
Neighborhood Gem (2)
Notable Wine List (2)
Romantic (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Fit for Foodies (2)
Worth the Drive (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Seasonal (1)
Tapas (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Sort By:
S
280 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined 6 days ago

We liked Moxies because it's casual, vibrant and good food and drink. The staff are welcoming and the service is good. No complaints.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Comfort Food, Great Beer, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Toronto)·Dined 6 days ago

Awful experience. I wrote the GM of the restaurant 3 days ago and I'm still waiting to hear back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Toronto)·Dined 7 days ago

Overall a good experience. Service was friendly and attentive. My selection of entrée was tasty but over-salted to the point that I could not finish it.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (Toronto)·Dined on September 9, 2017

Our server, Christina, was great. Her beer recommendations were spot-on and she was attentive but not intrusive. It was a great meal!

Tags: Good for a Date, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 31, 2017

For a quick lunch break, and get together it was a suffient lunch outing

Tags: People Watching, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
·Dined on August 30, 2017

Good. Service was fine. Food was good. Little expensive for a student.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value2

 
·Dined on August 29, 2017

I asked for tuna but think i got something raw - salmon? (i could be wrong) and didn't frankly have time to go back - but just left the salmon and ate the salad
The soup was good but would have liked to see an offer of say fresh black pepper. Otherwise ok overall, but not not sure if id want to go here again or recommend it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value3

 
·Dined on August 26, 2017

I ordered a salad that was supposed to have chicken in it and they forgot the chicken, so I had to wait for them to cook up some chicken to add to the salad. My friends were done their meals by the time I got the correct one. They also forgot to bring my daughter her ice cream. At least they didn't charge me for my meal. Otherwise it was ok, but the service could have been better.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value3

 
·Dined on August 24, 2017

Always great at Moxies

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 23, 2017

It was so noisey we had to leave before we ordered

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
·Dined on August 22, 2017

The only problem I encountered is that I believe I sat on something that was left on the seat...unfortunately tomato sauce and I was wearing white pants. However, the server was wonderful and brought wet naps over to me which helped but white pants are white pants...other than this, the experience was quite good and I will continue to recommend Moxie's...

Tags: Bar Seating, Fun, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on August 15, 2017

Great place to grab a drink or meal. Also a cool patio on both University (covered) and Wellington !

Tags: Great for Lunch, Bar Seating, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on August 10, 2017

Noise level is way too high inside. We sat on the patio and it was great. Food was good as was the service.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on August 9, 2017

The waiter was excellent and very friendly. Great service for lunch, in and out quickly!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Toronto)·Dined on August 4, 2017

I went there for a quick lunch. I ordered a club sandwich that arrived within 10 minutes of ordering. Service was very friendly & efficient . There was a problem with the devices that process credit card transactions which caused a delay in leaving the restaurant. The food is good & I enjoy the House draft beer. I will be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on August 1, 2017

Disappointed in the overall experience. The food was good but the service sucked. Our waitress Allison had to be reminded to bring us water, then had to be reminded to bring me the glass of wine I ordered and then I had to ask her to check on our food. I won't go here again. There are too many good restaurants in Toronto to have sub par service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

 
·Dined on July 31, 2017

Downtown location is ideal and a great place for nearby office happy hour.

Tags: People Watching, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Happy Hour, Casual, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on July 18, 2017

I thought it was a great experience. The menu was varied with lots of diverse choices. Due to traffic issues, we were 30 minutes late for our reservations yet they were very accommodating in finding us a table. The service was great and our server was very friendly, knowledgeable and attentive. Very good value!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Great for Lunch, Tasting Menu, Creative Cuisine, Pre/post Theatre, Quick Bite, Comfort Food, Fun, Great Beer, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on July 6, 2017

Went there for my parents 26th Anniversary. Food was great and staff was very kind. Sometimes did not know where our waitress was but she did her best to check in on us regulary. It was a bit darker than other Moxies' I've been too, and very loud in the bar section, which carried to the rest of the restaurant. But overall great venue, and they help you celebrate your special occasion with great dessert plating. (Pic was too large to upload)

Tags: Cozy, Romantic, Happy Hour, Great for Outdoor Dining, Comfort Food, Pre/post Theatre, Healthy, Kid-friendly, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good Vegetarian Options, Local Ingredients, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Good for Anniversaries, Quick Bite, Casual, Business Meals, Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on July 1, 2017

very disappointed. have been to many Moxie Restaurants and this one does not come close to Moxie standards

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service3
value1

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on June 24, 2017

When I entered the place, they did not even ask if we had made a reservation or not, I had to tell them that I had put in a reservation because I made a special request on it. Because it was my fiances birthday. And after we got seated it took nearly 10 minutes before some one approached and asked if we want something to drink when we did not even have the drinks menu. only had the food menu. had to tell her we need the drinks menu.
and after she gave that waited another 10 minutes or so for her to come back. she was serving other tables that came after us. got the food and thought putting in the special request as it was my fiance's birthday would bring a dessert or something after food, but clearly did not care about the reservation or the request I made.

VERY VERY DISAPPOINTED in this. specially for a downtown location.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service2
value3

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on June 13, 2017

Great customer service, friendly staff, good food.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on June 5, 2017

Good Caesar salad !

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on May 23, 2017

It was a quiet Tuesday night so not a bouncing night but our server, the food and beer was all fine. Usually a bit more of a vibe but not the bar's fault obviously. Despite the quiet night our server was very friendly and the beer selection was good. Easy spot for good bar food and sports.

Tags: Live Sports, Good for Groups, Bar Seating, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4
value3

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on May 9, 2017

Service at the bar and in the table was great and professional. Food was great, sis said her steak was better then at KEG. Girls at the door had no idea what they are doing or why they are there. Otherwise good.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Live Sports, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on May 3, 2017

Great service and ambiance!

Tags: Happy Hour, Business Meals, Great Beer, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on May 3, 2017

Quality spot for a business or casual lunch. After work drinks works well here too.

Tags: Live Sports, Pre/post Theatre, Great for Lunch, Good for Groups, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on May 2, 2017

Nice lunch place close to work!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on April 27, 2017

Met a client there for lunch. Great ambiance, food and service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on April 18, 2017

Good start in service but server forgot about us after we received our lunch.

Tags: Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value4

vip
 (Toronto)·Dined on March 22, 2017

Good place for business lunch

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on March 19, 2017

The food and service were good. Nothing spectacular.

Tags: Quick Bite, Bar Seating, Good for Birthdays, Great for Lunch, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 25, 2017

Lunch was good. Food was as expected. Service was good. Waiter was knowledgeable about the menu. He was pleasant and attentive. Atmosphere at 2 pm on a Saturday was quiet and pleasant. There were very few patrons there. I was surprised when we showed up because the restaurant was almost empty. I found this quite odd considering that OPEN TABLE provided limited selections for dining times for a party of 5 at that time. The proximity of Moxie's to Roy Thomson Hall made it a convenient choice.

Tags: Cozy, Great for Lunch, Pre/post Theatre, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 18, 2017

Our waitress was lovely. She knew we had to be quick to get to the theatre. Food was wonderful.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Great for Brunch, Hot Spot, Fun, Pre/post Theatre, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Hi this was a follow up after a bad experience previously, my friend had been given a 30 certificate because the previous visit her meal had capers in the bruschetta and pasta contrary to the menu. This time I ordered filet mignon rare to med rare, the steak was well done. My friends meal was fine, she ate while I waited for my meal to be replaced. The manager was upset and gave us our dinner comp on the house. But this is two strokes on this location. Even though our server and the manager were awesome.
I hope you can find better kitchen staff going forward.
By the way, I've been in the restaurant business most of my life and my husband was a top chef. I don't expect what I get at home but for the cost I expect your chef or nroilerman to know the difference between rare and well done. It was obvious as soon as I touched the top of the streak, I didn't have to cut into the steak to find out what I already knew.

Tags: Casual, Creative Cuisine, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Our dining experience was lovely! One of the hostesses took us in early, and gave us a corner table where it was nice and quiet. Our server, Abi, was super nice and always had a smile on her face. Of course, our food was delicious. We definitely would visit again, and would recommend this Moxies location to others.

Tags: Healthy, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Server was very attentive and friendly. Food was very good. It was Valentine's Day so a special occasion and we were both extremely pleased with the overall ambiance and service. And the special half priced wine did not hurt either!!

Tags: Outstanding Value, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 14, 2017

The salad came from a bag and was a few days old. Food is not good

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service4
value2

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Great location and service! The birthday dessert was delicious!

Tags: Hot Spot, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Toronto)·Dined on January 27, 2017

waiter was great as was the food

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.