Make a reservation

Party Size
For 2
Date
Today
Time
7:00 PM
icon/ic_social_proofCreated with Sketch.
Booked 28 times today
Special offers available. See details

Moxie's Grill & Bar - University

4.3
336 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
CAN$30 and under
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Contemporary American
Perfect For:
  • Casual
  • Pre/post Theatre
  • Happy Hour
Share our passion for food & drink in a fun, stylish, social environment. Our inspiration comes from the community we are a part of; from the team we hire to the food we make. We focus on quality food made with fresh ingredients served in a stylish, comfortable & casual environment.

Moxie’s is Located in Toronto's Financial District, next to the St. Andrew Metro Station. Within walking distance from the Princess of Wales and Royal Alexandra Theatres and Roy Thomson Hall. A short distance to the Metro Toronto Convention Centre and the famous Royal York Hotel. Our Executive Chef Brandon Thordarson has created a menu offering a wide-array of steaks, burgers, pastas and seafood! No matter the occasion, whether it's a business luncheon, a dinner date, or late night drinks with friends, Moxie's offers something for everyone.

Moxie’s features daily drink specials - enjoy them while dining on our outdoor patio!
Dining Style
Casual Dining
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Cuisines
Contemporary American, Global, International, Canadian
icon/ic_clockCreated with Sketch.
Hours of operation
Monday: 11:00am - 12:00am
Tuesday: 11:00am - 12:00am
Wednesday: 11:00am - 1:00am
Thursday: 11:00am - 1:00am
Friday: 11:00am - 1:00am
Saturday: 11:00am - 1:00am
Sunday: 11:00am - 11:00pm
icon/ic_phoneCreated with Sketch.
Phone number
(647) 748-7172
icon/ic_new_windowCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_paymentCreated with Sketch.
Payment options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa
icon/ic_dress_codeCreated with Sketch.
Dress code
Smart Casual
icon/ic_chefCreated with Sketch.
Executive chef
Brandon Thordarson
icon/ic_locationCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_neighborhoodCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_cross_streetCreated with Sketch.
Cross street
Wellington Street
icon/ic_parking_detailsCreated with Sketch.
Parking details
Underground parking on site.
Additional
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cocktails, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Specials

Mother's Day Menus & Specials

Celebrate MOM right this Mother's Day at Moxie's!
Join us on Sunday May 13 and treat mom to a 3-course dinner for just $39!
Moxie's - Life is Calling.

Sunday, May 13, 2018

What 336 People Are Saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
4.3based on recent ratings
4.1
food
4.3
service
3.9
ambience
3.9
value
Noise · Moderate
92% of people would recommend it to a friend
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
Sort by
Newest
Filters
5.0Dined on April 10, 2018

Our experience at Moxie's was very enjoyable. The menu selection was very good and the food delicious. Our server, Connor, was friendly, attentive and professional. We will certainly come back to Moxie's.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on April 2, 2018

My glass of water had a white string floating I didn’t notice until after I started to consume

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 30, 2018

Great service. We were running late because of the TTC and they held our table for 45 minutes which was much appreciated since we were going to the Jays game after.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on March 30, 2018

when arrived at the restaurant, i advised the waitress that i booked online and gave her my name, than she showed me a table that was for 2 people but advised that i book for 6 people . She advised me that they do not take reservation for the evening. Was a bit upset as i booked weeks in advance. we had to wait 15 minutes until table was ready.
The waiter who took care of us was great.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 22, 2018

First visit to a Moxies and it was very good. Service was good. Food was good. Definitely will go again.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on March 22, 2018

We went here for a business meeting and really apprecaited being able to hear one another. We were in a booth which helped, but in general the restaurant did not seem as noisy as some of the otehrs in the area. There was no loud and annoying background music that plagues some establishments.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 17, 2018

As good as always!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 15, 2018

Very Good and thank you

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 10, 2018

Great spot for a pre show or pre game dinner. Good food and good service

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 10, 2018

Enjoyed a lovely lunch with my mum on Saturday. Our server Jun was friendly, and attentive and his service was seamless. Thank you.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 10, 2018

I must say hats off the Manager for the wonderful gift he gave me for my 27th Birthday , it truly made me feel special and improved what was turning into a disastrous birthday dinner. when half of my party did not even bother to show up. The food was soo great and we had a great time.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 9, 2018

Great Happy hour selections!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on March 7, 2018

My wife and I both enjoyed a wonderful meal salad... I had salmon avocado cobb and my wife had ginger ahi tuna. They were both well prepared and super tasty. They were also served by the chef and described at our table, which was very nice.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on February 28, 2018

I've been to Moxies quite a bit for thier half price wine nights. The food on our last visit was not good at all... We split a pizza and nachos and it all tasted cold and the cheese on the nachos was just one massive gross cold blob.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on February 27, 2018

We found the ambience a bit too vibrant, aka noisy, although the table we had was not too badly situated for conversation. My friends (from Brampton) said the food we had was the best they had had at a Moxies, so thumbs up on the food front.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on February 21, 2018

Too noisy for conversations. I'm not a big eater, especially at lunch, and found 1/2 rack of ribs not filling. The plate presentation not good; seems food just thrown on. No condiments on the table.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on February 17, 2018

I had the turkey club sandwich on ciabatta/multigrain bread, and was expecting a lovely, fresh or artisan type of bread/bun. It was store bought sandwich bread.
The fresh guacamole was delicious.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 16, 2018

Everything was great. Good place for an extended lunch with a friend to catch up. Even though we were seated at the front of the restaurant near the bar, it wasn't that noisy - would have been a different experience for dinner. But for the second time in a row they didn't properly use the OpenTable reservation system and I got a follow-up email from OT asking why I didn't utilize my reservation. Irritating, but not a deal breaker.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 13, 2018

Food was excellent, but as always after work is very noisy.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on February 12, 2018

A good steak for a reasonable price. Decent wine list as well.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on February 6, 2018

I am a big Moxies fan so when my client suggested Moxie I was more than happy to go there but I would not go to the University one again for business as it was much too loud (and I made reservations to be seated in a quieter area) of which it is impossible to find this type of spot at lunch... (we were almost yelling across the table to be heard). I am also a big fan of the beef vendiloo and I have had it several times at Moxies in Ottawa and Hwy 7 but this time it was so spicy and hot I sent most of it back and had to ask for Ice water to wash it down...
This Moxie was a true disappointment and was not a spot I would recc for business.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 5, 2018

Top notch service and great tasting food is all I've ever experienced while visiting this restaurants. Thanks everyone!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on January 31, 2018

Our server Jes was amazing. True professional.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on January 25, 2018

Abigail was very friendly. She gave us lots of attention and just made our lunch date very pleasant.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on January 19, 2018

Food was excellent! And the waiter was outstanding - so attentive. We were seated on time and not rushed at all to get to our theatre date. Had plenty of time to enjoy our meal before the show.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on December 31, 2017

Great food and service. Will definitely dine there again!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on December 21, 2017

I'm probably (likely) in the minority but the ditzy hostesses are a pain (for example, it's annoying tell girl #1 my name and reso because she then told girl #2 ... who messed it up ... then girl #3 finally found and sat me at the table). I get it ... good window dressing attracts the Bay Street clientele. Glad to have had a waiter (Jamie) who was properly attentive for my business lunch meeting. It's very loud and tough to have a business discussion. Nevertheless, the food is good and table service competent.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on December 20, 2017

We found the venue very noisy. You had to strain to hear what the person next to you was saying, and shout to be heard. Not good for 2 of the party who have hearing aids. The food was wonderful, with generous servings. We will try again, but will ask for a quieter location next time to see if it makes a difference.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on December 20, 2017

The staff were terrific. We were greeted and seated right away. Very friendly. Good food but the acoustics are terrible. Very hard to have a conversation even with just four of us.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on December 19, 2017

Waited a long time for our food and then it came to us cold. I didn’t have time to wait for a new meal. I left hungry and unsatisfied.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on December 13, 2017

We have a small group that gathers here every couple of months. Food is good. Beer selection is respectable (their in-house beers are excellent value). Service is always excellent. And the prices is right in line with other similar establishments downtown. Overall great value. First time I've used OpenTable to book a reservation (usually something seems to be going on at the ACC and they won't accept reservations over the dinner period). Process was simple enough. But I don't think the restaurant is using it effectively. The bar area can be quite loud. So I indicated that I wanted a table "Away from the bar area." We were seated in the dining area just the second table over from the bar area. It was a very noisy dinner. Also, I got an email from OpenTable the next day asking why we failed to show up for our reservation. So I had respond to say that we had in fact been there.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on December 13, 2017

Mediocre service at best. Felt rushed, server was inattentive.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on December 8, 2017

the food here is pretty good and the service is also good. Lunchtimes can be a bit noisy so best to get a table or booth towards the back of the bar.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on December 7, 2017

We were served by a waitress on her first shift but she was very pleasant, helpful and professional. We’ll be back.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on November 30, 2017

Beautiful, spacious venue... Waiter was excellent... Food was a little slow to come out for our table of 6 but it tasted very good. Although it is a chain restaurant, it is very good and would definitely recommend!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on November 23, 2017

The food and service at this location is always good! You may want to get a table away from the bar area as it can get noisy during busy times. Overall, a great restaurant!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on November 20, 2017

Portions are too large. We had the Chicken Enchiladas ...3 is 1 too many. 2 would be great!

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on November 18, 2017

The service was good, but the food is needs improving. My calamari was oily and rubbery, the pasta was cold and lacked taste. The service was good and no complaints.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on November 14, 2017

I guess your experience will vary greatlty, depending on the food. Atmosphere, service was OK but The fish tacos were very disappointing. Stay away...

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on November 13, 2017

Went here one night for dinner, was a typical dinner. I have no fault with it, service a bit slow but it was a Monday night.

Report
Helpful
1
2
3
9

Tweets by Moxie's Grill & Bar - University