About Moxie's Grill & Bar - University

70 University Avenue
Toronto, ON MJ5 2M4
View Larger Map

Now open at 70 University Avenue in Downtown Toronto! Located in Toronto's Financial District, off of University Ave and Wellington St, next to the St. Andrew Metro Station, Moxie’s is a premium casual restaurant offering weekend brunch, lunch, dinner or late night dining. Passion. Food. Friends.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Canadian

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Sunday: 11:00am - 4:00pm.
Dinner: Wednesday - Saturday: 4:00pm - 2:00am, Monday - Tuesday: 4:00pm - 1:00am, Sunday: 4:00pm - 11:00pm.

Cross Street:
Wellington

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
CAN$30 and under

Payment Options

Phone Number:
(647) 748-7172

Website:
http://moxies.ca/blog/toronto-downtown-now-open

Executive Chef:
Brandon Thordarson

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Late Night, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wine

Moxie's Grill & Bar - University Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.1

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

3.9

service

4.0

ambience

3.7

value

3.7

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Good for Groups (10)
Business Meals (10)
Casual (9)
See All
Great for Lunch (9)
Vibrant Bar Scene (9)
Good for Birthdays (7)
Fun (7)
Live Sports (6)
Comfort Food (6)
Outstanding Value (5)
Special Occasion (5)
Creative Cuisine (5)
Good for a Date (5)
Modern Decor (5)
Pre/post Theatre (4)
Bar Seating (4)
Happy Hour (4)
Quick Bite (3)
Healthy (3)
Great for Brunch (3)
Great Beer (3)
Cozy (3)
Great for Outdoor Dining (3)
People Watching (3)
Hot Spot (2)
Good for Anniversaries (2)
Seasonal (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Kid-friendly (2)
Romantic (2)
Notable Wine List (2)
Spicy (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Waterfront (1)
Family Style (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Neighborhood Gem (1)
Fit for Foodies (1)
Authentic (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Vegan (1)
Tapas (1)
Sort By:
S
217 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Great tasting food. Very creative presen ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined 6 days ago

Great tasting food. Very creative presenting the dishes - I had the salmon cobb salad which was a pleasant surprise.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

Friendly and fast service. Food was good ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on November 26, 2016

Friendly and fast service. Food was good but not exceptional. Very loud- hard to carry on a conversation. Was served a warm (not hot) coffee which was disappointing. Went there due to the location (right next to Roy Thompson Hall). This was my second visit.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value3

This is a great place to get a mal / dri ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on November 22, 2016

This is a great place to get a mal / drinks after work or before a sporting event.

They have a great bar area and separate wine bar area complete with TV screens to catch business news or watch the game of the night.

The menu has something of good quality for everyone.

The servers are friendly. You must enjoy an energetic atmosphere to go here.

Tags: Happy Hour, Live Sports, Notable Wine List, Spicy, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

Waitress' service level was a little sus ...

vip
 (Toronto)·Dined on November 15, 2016

Waitress' service level was a little suspect.

Small things - no utensils on the table when lunch was served.

Had coffee after lunch - capuchino. she served it with 2 small bags of sugar (fine) but no spoon. Then acted a little surprised when I asked for a spoon.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

Good variety of really good food. Servi ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on November 14, 2016

Good variety of really good food. Service is attentive and accurate. Noise is a bit too much if you're trying to have a detailed conversation at lunch. {Having some soft surfaces to absorb some of the sound would go a long way.} I will continue to attend this restaurant for Lunch and the occasional dinner as it is always consistent and very good.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

The noise level negates anything good yo ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on November 9, 2016

The noise level negates anything good you could say about the restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service4
value3

Reliable place for affordable pre game d ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 8, 2016

Reliable place for affordable pre game dinners. Good location.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

We had a great time! Great service. N ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on November 6, 2016

We had a great time! Great service. Nice surroundings. Great location . My only negative feeling was not enough steak in my steak salad!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

We usually prefer Moxies to the other pu ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on October 25, 2016

We usually prefer Moxies to the other pub-like places close to ACC but this time it was not so great. Food was variable: wings - good, loaded burger - not great, fries - awful, Greek-chicken wrap - good. The Tuesday wine special was limited to the house wine - OK; the specialty beer - amber was good. It was very loud and we were in the quieter dining room - the front bar was louder.

Tags: Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value2

Made reservations for 2 it was quick and ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on October 22, 2016

Made reservations for 2 it was quick and easy. Food was great, there was a mix up with our cocktails and another one brought free of charge!

The manager came by a few times to see how everything g was going.

Our waiter was fantastic and provides great service.

Will be back for sure.

Tags: Comfort Food, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Went to dinner before seeing Sia at the ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 22, 2016

Went to dinner before seeing Sia at the Air Canada Centre. What a great place. Food was very tasty and selection was great. Highly recommend the white chocolate brownie dessert. It is like nothing I've ever tasted!!!!

Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date, Fun, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Outstanding Value, Pre/post Theatre, Casual, Bar Seating, Happy Hour, Quick Bite
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

First time visit for our friends who wer ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on October 19, 2016

First time visit for our friends who were impressed with the menu and ambiance (a bit loud that night but to be expected during the last Blue Jays play-off game). One friend booked another get together there for next week.

Very good parking rates in the building as well.

Tags: Disabled Access, Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

Moxie's has always been a good spot to m ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on October 8, 2016

Moxie's has always been a good spot to meet people, especially that the food and the service are always good.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

slow service and does not tell you about ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on September 28, 2016

slow service and does not tell you about hidden fees

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service1
value1

We had a reservation for 12:15, but the ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on September 15, 2016

We had a reservation for 12:15, but the table was "given away" and we had to wait at the bar in order to get a table.

I ordered the honey garlic sirloin, medium rare. It was hardly cooked, not even rare. They took it back and brought another steak. It was again completely undercooked, basically blue.

It was taken off the bill, which was nice, but overall a bad dining experience and would be lying if I would recommend to anyone.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service2

The ambience was nice and as always enjo ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on September 14, 2016

The ambience was nice and as always enjoy the food at Moxie's.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

I was somewhat disappointed with the men ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on September 13, 2016

I was somewhat disappointed with the menu choices this time around. When this restaurant first opened, I thought their menu had numerous items I could have chosen. This time there were only a couple of items that I would have ordered. On the plus side, if you can find something you like, their portion sizes are very generous. VERY noisy, so hard to carry on a conversation if you go at a busy time.

Tags: Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

Very disappointing for a restaurant with ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on September 9, 2016

Very disappointing for a restaurant with it's location. Our seat was horrible we had to be asked to be reseated. I ordered Wings with a side of fries. The waitress did not understand "wings" I had to repeat myself multiple times and she kept looking confused. When my order did arrive I received wings with a side of rice!

We ordered water with lemon wedges. We received water. when asked for the lemon wedges I was brought a brand new glass of water with 1 lemon wedge while the first glass of water sat on the table.

I am happy I did not order anything slightly complicated.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1
value3

We headed out on a quiet Sunday night an ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on September 5, 2016

We headed out on a quiet Sunday night and were pleasantly surprised that we had the patio virtually to ourselves. Our server was awesome, very friendly and informative. Dinner was tasty and timely. When we mentioned that it was my wife's birthday, our server came back with a nice surprise dessert. In addition our kid's meals came with a dessert, complete with dry ice! It was a big hit. We thoroughly enjoyed our visit. The decor was cool too, very modern, yet comfy.

Tags: Good for a Date, Kid-friendly, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Our server was great. She did a great j ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on August 31, 2016

Our server was great. She did a great job! We always go here when we have special occasions after work. The food is always good.

Tags: Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

I had the mushroom and dill salmon with ...

vip
 (Richmond)·Dined on August 29, 2016

I had the mushroom and dill salmon with green beans and baby potatoes. Husband had the half rack of ribs. Both meals were very good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

While the food and service were good the ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on August 17, 2016

While the food and service were good the noise level is so bad that you can't hold a conversation with anyone other than the person right next to you and , even then, you have to shout to be heard.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service3
value2

server was excellent but the 'tempura' a ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on August 9, 2016

server was excellent but the 'tempura' appetizer was a bit of a disappointment (we were only there for snacks and drinks before the game)

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value3

The dinning area had a good atmosphere, ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on August 6, 2016

The dinning area had a good atmosphere, the stuff was great and the food was great....

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was great, selection extensive, ser ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on July 30, 2016

Food was great, selection extensive, server attentive - can't ask for more!

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

atmosphere was great and our server awes ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on July 27, 2016

atmosphere was great and our server awesome! No complaints about anything. Service was quick.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great service and food was excellent. W ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on July 26, 2016

Great service and food was excellent. Will come back again.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Coob Salad was great. Dressing wonderful ...

vip
 (Toronto)·Dined on July 26, 2016

Coob Salad was great. Dressing wonderful.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

this is a good place in the downtown cor ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on July 21, 2016

this is a good place in the downtown core to grab a quick bite to eat and catch up with friends after work. the appetizers are great and are reasonably priced. My friend's cocktail was very disappointing though so it's best to stick with the beer and wine.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

We had a great time - shared apps were v ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on July 2, 2016

We had a great time - shared apps were very good, especially like the lettuce wraps.

Highly recommend the Hawaiian Honey Margarita - delicious :)

Tags: Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

It was just a bit noisy but that was bec ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on July 2, 2016

It was just a bit noisy but that was because of the football. Server was great. We shared the calamari and shrimp and it was very good. I had the salmon cobb salad, and it was amazing!

Had the lovely South African suav blanc and it was lovely.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

one issue was that the reservation was n ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on June 30, 2016

one issue was that the reservation was not recorded on the restaurant side as when I arrived they did not know who I am

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

My friend suggested Moxie's as she has o ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on June 26, 2016

My friend suggested Moxie's as she has one near her home. It was on the way to the theatre and so it was a pleasant walk from Union station to get there and then carry on later to the theatre. We chose the outdoor patio which was a good idea as the weather was perfect and the shade of the umbrella kept us from the sun. The hostess sat us promptly and our server was pleasant and answered our queries about the food knowledgeably. The plating of the food was artistic and made you want to dig in. I had a chicken Parmesan sandwich and opted for sweet potato fries. It was a great choice. I enjoyed the melding of the chicken with roasted red pepper and a spicy and generous sauce and the ciabatta bun was fresh and chewy. My friend was equally happy with her choice of salad and half a turkey sandwich combo. A very enjoyable lunch altogether and the play at the theatre was great too.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great servers.

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on June 16, 2016

Great servers.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I really love going to Moxie's. My se ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on June 13, 2016

I really love going to Moxie's. My server, Christian, was especially helpful when it came to making changes to what I ordered due to food restrictions. It was fabulous !! I would definitely order that again.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Love Moxie, I have not been disappointed ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on June 13, 2016

Love Moxie, I have not been disappointed at any of the locations, the food and service is always great, love the Brownie.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our server Lee was fantastic! She was he ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on June 11, 2016

Our server Lee was fantastic! She was helpful in suggesting a vegetarian substitution for the turkey sandwich. She was patient and looked after our table very well.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

Birthday Dinner downtown

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on May 16, 2016

We had a very nice dinner to celebrate our daughter's 29th birthday. She works in the area, we live in Whitby. We took the train in, walked a short distance from Union Station and met her at the restaurant.

We were seated quickly. The service was fast and good. The meal was very nice and they brought out a nice dessert for us to share. They did not sing happy birthday, which would have been nice. We were slightly disappointed in that, but other than that it was a nice way to celebrate a special occasion. I find Moxies a little overpriced but the food is usually good and it is one of my daughter's favorite restaurants.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

Food and service was OK.

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on May 13, 2016

Food and service was OK.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3

GReat spot to catch a great view

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on May 12, 2016

The food was very good. The staff were very fast and friendly and good on the eyes

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Late-night Find, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.