About Moxie's Grill & Bar - University

70 University Avenue
Toronto, ON MJ5 2M4
View Larger Map

Now open at 70 University Avenue in Downtown Toronto! Located in Toronto's Financial District, off of University Ave and Wellington St, next to the St. Andrew Metro Station, Moxie’s is a premium casual restaurant offering weekend brunch, lunch, dinner or late night dining. Passion. Food. Friends.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Canadian

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Sunday: 11:00am - 4:00pm.
Dinner: Wednesday - Saturday: 4:00pm - 2:00am, Monday - Tuesday: 4:00pm - 1:00am, Sunday: 4:00pm - 11:00pm.

Cross Street:
Wellington

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
CAN$30 and under

Payment Options

Phone Number:
(647) 748-7172

Website:
http://moxies.ca/blog/toronto-downtown-now-open

Executive Chef:
Brandon Thordarson

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Late Night, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wine

Moxie's Grill & Bar - University Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.1

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

3.9

service

4.1

ambience

4.0

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Great for Lunch
Toronto / Ontario
Great for Lunch
Toronto
Best Restaurants in Downtown / Financial District ›

Great for Lunch (35)
Good for Groups (19)
Great for Outdoor Dining (14)
See All
Special Occasion (13)
Hot Spot (10)
Fit for Foodies (9)
Vibrant Bar Scene (9)
Late-night Find (7)
Great for Brunch (6)
Business Meals (5)
Modern Decor (4)
Neighborhood Gem (3)
Comfort Food (3)
Kid-friendly (3)
Good for Birthdays (3)
Fun (3)
Good for a Date (2)
Outstanding Value (2)
Live Sports (2)
Romantic (2)
Notable Wine List (2)
Seasonal (1)
Healthy (1)
Casual (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Good for Anniversaries (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Cozy (1)
Sort By:
Newest
203 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

We had a reservation for 12:15, but the ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on September 15, 2016

We had a reservation for 12:15, but the table was "given away" and we had to wait at the bar in order to get a table.

I ordered the honey garlic sirloin, medium rare. It was hardly cooked, not even rare. They took it back and brought another steak. It was again completely undercooked, basically blue.

It was taken off the bill, which was nice, but overall a bad dining experience and would be lying if I would recommend to anyone.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service2

The ambience was nice and as always enjo ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on September 14, 2016

The ambience was nice and as always enjoy the food at Moxie's.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

I was somewhat disappointed with the men ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on September 13, 2016

I was somewhat disappointed with the menu choices this time around. When this restaurant first opened, I thought their menu had numerous items I could have chosen. This time there were only a couple of items that I would have ordered. On the plus side, if you can find something you like, their portion sizes are very generous. VERY noisy, so hard to carry on a conversation if you go at a busy time.

Tags: Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

Very disappointing for a restaurant with ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on September 9, 2016

Very disappointing for a restaurant with it's location. Our seat was horrible we had to be asked to be reseated. I ordered Wings with a side of fries. The waitress did not understand "wings" I had to repeat myself multiple times and she kept looking confused. When my order did arrive I received wings with a side of rice!

We ordered water with lemon wedges. We received water. when asked for the lemon wedges I was brought a brand new glass of water with 1 lemon wedge while the first glass of water sat on the table.

I am happy I did not order anything slightly complicated.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1
value3

We headed out on a quiet Sunday night an ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on September 5, 2016

We headed out on a quiet Sunday night and were pleasantly surprised that we had the patio virtually to ourselves. Our server was awesome, very friendly and informative. Dinner was tasty and timely. When we mentioned that it was my wife's birthday, our server came back with a nice surprise dessert. In addition our kid's meals came with a dessert, complete with dry ice! It was a big hit. We thoroughly enjoyed our visit. The decor was cool too, very modern, yet comfy.

Tags: Good for a Date, Kid-friendly, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Our server was great. She did a great j ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on August 31, 2016

Our server was great. She did a great job! We always go here when we have special occasions after work. The food is always good.

Tags: Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

I had the mushroom and dill salmon with ...

vip
 (Virginia)
·Dined on August 29, 2016

I had the mushroom and dill salmon with green beans and baby potatoes. Husband had the half rack of ribs. Both meals were very good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

While the food and service were good the ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on August 17, 2016

While the food and service were good the noise level is so bad that you can't hold a conversation with anyone other than the person right next to you and , even then, you have to shout to be heard.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service3
value2

server was excellent but the 'tempura' a ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on August 9, 2016

server was excellent but the 'tempura' appetizer was a bit of a disappointment (we were only there for snacks and drinks before the game)

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value3

The dinning area had a good atmosphere, ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

The dinning area had a good atmosphere, the stuff was great and the food was great....

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was great, selection extensive, ser ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

Food was great, selection extensive, server attentive - can't ask for more!

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

atmosphere was great and our server awes ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on July 27, 2016

atmosphere was great and our server awesome! No complaints about anything. Service was quick.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great service and food was excellent. W ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on July 26, 2016

Great service and food was excellent. Will come back again.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Coob Salad was great. Dressing wonderful ...

vip
 (Toronto)
·Dined on July 26, 2016

Coob Salad was great. Dressing wonderful.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

this is a good place in the downtown cor ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on July 21, 2016

this is a good place in the downtown core to grab a quick bite to eat and catch up with friends after work. the appetizers are great and are reasonably priced. My friend's cocktail was very disappointing though so it's best to stick with the beer and wine.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

We had a great time - shared apps were v ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

We had a great time - shared apps were very good, especially like the lettuce wraps.

Highly recommend the Hawaiian Honey Margarita - delicious :)

Tags: Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

It was just a bit noisy but that was bec ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

It was just a bit noisy but that was because of the football. Server was great. We shared the calamari and shrimp and it was very good. I had the salmon cobb salad, and it was amazing!

Had the lovely South African suav blanc and it was lovely.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

one issue was that the reservation was n ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on June 30, 2016

one issue was that the reservation was not recorded on the restaurant side as when I arrived they did not know who I am

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

My friend suggested Moxie's as she has o ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

My friend suggested Moxie's as she has one near her home. It was on the way to the theatre and so it was a pleasant walk from Union station to get there and then carry on later to the theatre. We chose the outdoor patio which was a good idea as the weather was perfect and the shade of the umbrella kept us from the sun. The hostess sat us promptly and our server was pleasant and answered our queries about the food knowledgeably. The plating of the food was artistic and made you want to dig in. I had a chicken Parmesan sandwich and opted for sweet potato fries. It was a great choice. I enjoyed the melding of the chicken with roasted red pepper and a spicy and generous sauce and the ciabatta bun was fresh and chewy. My friend was equally happy with her choice of salad and half a turkey sandwich combo. A very enjoyable lunch altogether and the play at the theatre was great too.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great servers.

vip
 (Miami)
·Dined on June 16, 2016

Great servers.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I really love going to Moxie's. My se ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on June 13, 2016

I really love going to Moxie's. My server, Christian, was especially helpful when it came to making changes to what I ordered due to food restrictions. It was fabulous !! I would definitely order that again.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Love Moxie, I have not been disappointed ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on June 13, 2016

Love Moxie, I have not been disappointed at any of the locations, the food and service is always great, love the Brownie.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our server Lee was fantastic! She was he ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

Our server Lee was fantastic! She was helpful in suggesting a vegetarian substitution for the turkey sandwich. She was patient and looked after our table very well.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

Birthday Dinner downtown

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on May 16, 2016

We had a very nice dinner to celebrate our daughter's 29th birthday. She works in the area, we live in Whitby. We took the train in, walked a short distance from Union Station and met her at the restaurant.

We were seated quickly. The service was fast and good. The meal was very nice and they brought out a nice dessert for us to share. They did not sing happy birthday, which would have been nice. We were slightly disappointed in that, but other than that it was a nice way to celebrate a special occasion. I find Moxies a little overpriced but the food is usually good and it is one of my daughter's favorite restaurants.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

Food and service was OK.

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on May 13, 2016

Food and service was OK.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3

GReat spot to catch a great view

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on May 12, 2016

The food was very good. The staff were very fast and friendly and good on the eyes

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Late-night Find, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Good local but too noisy for a conversation.

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on May 3, 2016

Close to the office with mediocre food. Noise level is horrendous. Clientele enjoys the scantly clad hostesses, which is too bad it doesn't want to provide a more upscale atmosphere.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value2

The restaurant was extremely quite for ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on May 1, 2016

The restaurant was extremely quite for a Saturday night at 8pm - (hardly anyone was in the restaurant). Our server was new - which was fine as everyone needs to start somewhere... but just need to be sure when pouring red wine that you don't spill it... and if you do you're conscious of it... ;0))

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value2

Too salty food! Couldn't sleep well afte ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on April 24, 2016

Too salty food! Couldn't sleep well after having too much salt! That's like my heart was beating so fast, and I was utterly thirsty whole the night, my wife also had the same awful experience, will never try it again!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service3

Ok food , good service. Please sure the ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on April 23, 2016

Ok food , good service. Please sure the host acknowledges the reservation especially if it's through OpenTable so you can get your points.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2

Great dinner before show

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on April 19, 2016

Food was good. I had the Mango Chipotle chicken but with rice instead of Quinoa. Next time I would not make that change. The other meals were all very good. The service was very good until the end when it tool a long time to get our bill because our server was nowhere to be found. This almost made us late to our show which was frustrating.

Tags: Good for Groups, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value4

Good experience but

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on April 19, 2016

I'm always going to Moxie's it is a nice place and especially that it is close to work.

The problem that seems to be always happening is the slow service (food readiness, waitresses passing by, requesting the bill, having the bill).

So the overall experience is good but it would be better if the management would make some improvments.

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value4

Not so happy!

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on April 15, 2016

Were seated in a small booth at the back despite having a reservation for 5! Were moved to a larger booth. Spoke with the day manager, who suggested moving us to the lounge but we declined. Good follow up as we were given the contact to call and reserve in the lounge next visit!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

Great Service and good Food.

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on April 14, 2016

I booked a seat for 2 at Moxies to have lunch with a friend and catchup as had not seen then for a while. This friend happened to be working on University avenue so I located a restaurant close by to their work place, and Moxies was that choice. It was my first time there and very much enjoyed the experience. Service was great, and food delicisious. Would definitely recommend this place to anyone looking for a great place to meet.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Enjoyed the experience

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on March 31, 2016

It was my second time at Moxie's, both occasions were great. Staff is friendly and helpful, the service was prompt, nothing but good things to say.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Really good food--seemed super fresh. Se ...

vip
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on March 25, 2016

Really good food--seemed super fresh. Service was not great, but it was an odd time between lunch and dinner and may have just been a staffing issue. Server was really nice, just not around enough.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3

Half-off house wine Tuesday

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on March 22, 2016

Normally this place is packed because it's so close to the ACC and Rogers centre, but we went on a night when there wasn't anything happening so it was pretty quiet, however I have been when it's busy and the noise level still isn't too bad.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Reliable Pre Event Meal

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on March 21, 2016

The food here is good, but not great. Ambitious sometimes, especially with the steak items but the cuts of meat just aren't as you would find in a high end steak house. Steak sandwich was tough and with veins of inedible hard fat. Better to stay away and get a curry, a burger or a fish dish. The apps are very good. Chili chicken and dry ribs are tasty.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

Excellent Food, Terrible Service

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on March 16, 2016

The food was excellent however our service was awful. We waited over 30 minutes just to order. Our server was basically ignoring our table as people seated after us that were waited on by him got their food way before we even had our order taken. It took so long that another waiter from a different section noticed and took our order. After waiting for the food which did take a reasonable amount of time they brought us the wrong dish. He was apologetic however it meant even more time waiting hungry. The food was really great so if the service was just as good it would have been a 5/5 rating for sure but unfortunately we were disappointed.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Late-night Find, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service2
value3

Attending game so appreciated quick service.

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on March 9, 2016

Good service and better food than rivals. Great value on Wednesdays with half price wine. Proprietary (House) beers are excellent.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.