Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.08mi
  2. Distance: 0.11mi
  3. Distance: 0.11mi
  4. Distance: 0.12mi
  1. Distance: 0.08mi
  2. Distance: 0.11mi
  3. Distance: 0.11mi
  4. Distance: 0.12mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.08mi
  2. Distance: 0.11mi
  3. Distance: 0.11mi
  4. Distance: 0.12mi
  1. Distance: 0.08mi
  2. Distance: 0.11mi
  3. Distance: 0.11mi
  4. Distance: 0.12mi

About Moxie's Grill & Bar - University

Now open at 70 University Avenue in Downtown Toronto! Located in Toronto's Financial District, off of University Ave and Wellington St, next to the St. Andrew Metro Station, Moxie’s is a premium casual restaurant offering weekend brunch, lunch, dinner or late night dining. Passion. Food. Friends.

70 University Avenue
Toronto, ON MJ5 2M4
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Canadian

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Sunday: 11:00am - 4:00pm.
Dinner: Wednesday - Saturday: 4:00pm - 2:00am, Monday - Tuesday: 4:00pm - 1:00am, Sunday: 4:00pm - 11:00pm.

Cross Street:
Wellington

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
CAN$30 and under

Payment Options

Phone Number:
(647) 748-7172

Website:
http://moxies.ca/blog/toronto-downtown-now-open

Executive Chef:
Brandon Thordarson

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Late Night, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wine

Moxie's Grill & Bar - University Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.1

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.1

service

4.0

ambience

3.9

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

84% would recommend it to a friend

Good for Groups (14)
Business Meals (11)
Casual (10)
See All
Great for Lunch (9)
Quick Bite (7)
Live Sports (6)
Pre/post Theatre (6)
Good for Birthdays (6)
Bar Seating (6)
Happy Hour (5)
Vibrant Bar Scene (4)
Comfort Food (4)
Healthy (4)
Great Beer (3)
Seasonal (3)
Neighborhood Gem (3)
Fun (3)
Good for a Date (3)
Kid-friendly (3)
Cozy (3)
Good for Anniversaries (3)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Fit for Foodies (2)
Special Occasion (2)
Family Style (2)
Great for Outdoor Dining (2)
Hot Spot (2)
Romantic (2)
Authentic (2)
Modern Decor (2)
People Watching (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Tapas (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Worth the Drive (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Notable Wine List (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Creative Cuisine (1)
Sort By:
S
263 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on July 6, 2017

Went there for my parents 26th Anniversary. Food was great and staff was very kind. Sometimes did not know where our waitress was but she did her best to check in on us regulary. It was a bit darker than other Moxies' I've been too, and very loud in the bar section, which carried to the rest of the restaurant. But overall great venue, and they help you celebrate your special occasion with great dessert plating. (Pic was too large to upload)

Tags: Cozy, Romantic, Happy Hour, Great for Outdoor Dining, Comfort Food, Pre/post Theatre, Healthy, Kid-friendly, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good Vegetarian Options, Local Ingredients, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Good for Anniversaries, Quick Bite, Casual, Business Meals, Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on July 1, 2017

very disappointed. have been to many Moxie Restaurants and this one does not come close to Moxie standards

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service3
value1

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on June 24, 2017

When I entered the place, they did not even ask if we had made a reservation or not, I had to tell them that I had put in a reservation because I made a special request on it. Because it was my fiances birthday. And after we got seated it took nearly 10 minutes before some one approached and asked if we want something to drink when we did not even have the drinks menu. only had the food menu. had to tell her we need the drinks menu.
and after she gave that waited another 10 minutes or so for her to come back. she was serving other tables that came after us. got the food and thought putting in the special request as it was my fiance's birthday would bring a dessert or something after food, but clearly did not care about the reservation or the request I made.

VERY VERY DISAPPOINTED in this. specially for a downtown location.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service2
value3

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on June 17, 2017

If a person likes to be surrounded by small children running around and screaming...then this is for you. !!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service2
value2

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on June 13, 2017

Great customer service, friendly staff, good food.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on June 5, 2017

Good Caesar salad !

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on May 23, 2017

It was a quiet Tuesday night so not a bouncing night but our server, the food and beer was all fine. Usually a bit more of a vibe but not the bar's fault obviously. Despite the quiet night our server was very friendly and the beer selection was good. Easy spot for good bar food and sports.

Tags: Live Sports, Good for Groups, Bar Seating, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4
value3

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on May 9, 2017

Service at the bar and in the table was great and professional. Food was great, sis said her steak was better then at KEG. Girls at the door had no idea what they are doing or why they are there. Otherwise good.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Live Sports, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on May 3, 2017

Great service and ambiance!

Tags: Happy Hour, Business Meals, Great Beer, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on May 3, 2017

Quality spot for a business or casual lunch. After work drinks works well here too.

Tags: Live Sports, Pre/post Theatre, Great for Lunch, Good for Groups, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on May 2, 2017

Nice lunch place close to work!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on April 27, 2017

Met a client there for lunch. Great ambiance, food and service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on April 18, 2017

Good start in service but server forgot about us after we received our lunch.

Tags: Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value4

vip
 (Toronto)·Dined on March 22, 2017

Good place for business lunch

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on March 19, 2017

The food and service were good. Nothing spectacular.

Tags: Quick Bite, Bar Seating, Good for Birthdays, Great for Lunch, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 25, 2017

Lunch was good. Food was as expected. Service was good. Waiter was knowledgeable about the menu. He was pleasant and attentive. Atmosphere at 2 pm on a Saturday was quiet and pleasant. There were very few patrons there. I was surprised when we showed up because the restaurant was almost empty. I found this quite odd considering that OPEN TABLE provided limited selections for dining times for a party of 5 at that time. The proximity of Moxie's to Roy Thomson Hall made it a convenient choice.

Tags: Cozy, Great for Lunch, Pre/post Theatre, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 18, 2017

Our waitress was lovely. She knew we had to be quick to get to the theatre. Food was wonderful.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Great for Brunch, Hot Spot, Fun, Pre/post Theatre, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Hi this was a follow up after a bad experience previously, my friend had been given a 30 certificate because the previous visit her meal had capers in the bruschetta and pasta contrary to the menu. This time I ordered filet mignon rare to med rare, the steak was well done. My friends meal was fine, she ate while I waited for my meal to be replaced. The manager was upset and gave us our dinner comp on the house. But this is two strokes on this location. Even though our server and the manager were awesome.
I hope you can find better kitchen staff going forward.
By the way, I've been in the restaurant business most of my life and my husband was a top chef. I don't expect what I get at home but for the cost I expect your chef or nroilerman to know the difference between rare and well done. It was obvious as soon as I touched the top of the streak, I didn't have to cut into the steak to find out what I already knew.

Tags: Casual, Creative Cuisine, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Our dining experience was lovely! One of the hostesses took us in early, and gave us a corner table where it was nice and quiet. Our server, Abi, was super nice and always had a smile on her face. Of course, our food was delicious. We definitely would visit again, and would recommend this Moxies location to others.

Tags: Healthy, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Server was very attentive and friendly. Food was very good. It was Valentine's Day so a special occasion and we were both extremely pleased with the overall ambiance and service. And the special half priced wine did not hurt either!!

Tags: Outstanding Value, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 14, 2017

The salad came from a bag and was a few days old. Food is not good

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service4
value2

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Great location and service! The birthday dessert was delicious!

Tags: Hot Spot, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Toronto)·Dined on January 27, 2017

waiter was great as was the food

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on January 25, 2017

This was the second time going to this Moxie's the service was excellence and the food very good, I would absolutely go there again.

Tags: Special Occasion, Casual, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Fun, Notable Wine List, Outstanding Value, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Toronto)·Dined on January 21, 2017

Server was excellent. Attentive but not overbearing

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on January 21, 2017

Wasn't too busy when we were there pre-theatre. Food was great and service excellent. The desserts were way too good but we had the smaller portions so we didn't have to miss them.
Drink of the day was a nice treat.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Great for Brunch, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on January 13, 2017

Before the game dinning. We would go again.

Tags: Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on January 13, 2017

Excellent location, attentive and friendly service, and decent food make this Moxie's a good choice, especially if you are looking to dine before a show at Roy Thomson Hall or elsewhere in the neighbourhood. Good gathering spot with family or friends. The music and ambience can be a bit noisy, but that's part of the vibrant appeal.

Tags: Fun, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value2

vip
 (Hawaii)·Dined on January 9, 2017

Another great lunch at Moxies. Food was fantastic and the service was absolutely spot on. Good for groups of two people or groups of twenty people.

Tags: Fun, Outstanding Value, Great for Lunch, Live Sports, Happy Hour, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on January 8, 2017

one of the best marinated and cooked steaks I have had in a long time!

Tags: Business Meals, Casual, Great for Lunch, People Watching, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Came here for a friends birthday celebration and had a wonderful time! Food was excellent and service was extremely friendly. Would recommend this location for the laid back atmosphere and great drinks!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Bar Seating, Handcrafted Cocktails, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value3

vip
 (Toronto)·Dined on December 30, 2016

The food was not very well cooked. Our ribs were very tough. Service was good though.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service5
value2

vip
 (Toronto)·Dined on December 30, 2016

The restaurant has a very nice ambience. We were seated at a booth by the window. We ordered the Brocoli & Cheese soup , Street Tacos & Chicken Rigatoni. Service by Anita was very friendly & professional. We will definitely be back. I didn't know this restaurant existed until I received notification from Open Table.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Manchester)·Dined on December 28, 2016

Not as load as other reviews say but we maybe hit it on a quieter night. Food was great and service was quick and pleasant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on December 28, 2016

Friendly, prompt service. Great food. Cold beer. Very noisy. Not a place to go for a quiet meal.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Bar Seating, Seasonal, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on December 21, 2016

Forget dinner conversation, particularly if you're seated near the atrium bar. This is by far the loudest restaurant we have ever dined in. We were shouting across the table all evening. The quality of the food is decent and not quite as pricey as some area eateries. The service was outstanding from beginning to end. But I hope they issue ear plugs to their staff!

Tags: People Watching, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4
value3

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on December 20, 2016

Great attention to detail. I had made a note to bring the bill directly to me at the end. The server was attentive and took initiative to ensure the request was complete.

Customer service was great. Highly recommend.

Tags: Business Meals, Comfort Food, Pre/post Theatre, Great for Lunch, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on December 19, 2016

Service was extremely slow. Even when they apologized for it m they didn't speed up.They voluntarily adjusted the bill, but I would rather pay full price and get a good service offering.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value2

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on December 14, 2016

Choose Moxies for Wednesdays, the special is 1/2 price bottled wine!

Tags: People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on December 13, 2016

I found the service outstanding ... everyone worked as a team to make my meal a pleasant one

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Pre/post Theatre, Notable Wine List, Happy Hour, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.