About Moxie Kitchen + Cocktails

4972 Big Island Drive
Jacksonville, FL 32246
View Larger Map

Chef Tom Gray brings "locally-owned" to the Town Center neighborhood with his new American restaurant, Moxie Kitchen + Cocktails at the Markets at Town Center. The two-time James Beard Award nominated chef and his skilled team favor a fresh, contemporary approach providing creative inspirations for lunch and dinner and weekend brunches.

An “American flavors from coast to coast” menu offers fresh takes on classic favorites while the craft cocktails, local brews and Cal-centric wine menu command their own attention.

Inside the two-story restaurant, an urban rustic decor sets a modern tone to the dining rooms, and the buzz of the open kitchen and bars make for a lively atmosphere. Open air patios and covered dining terraces provide outdoor dining options year round with views on the nearby lake.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
LUNCH + DINNER Monday - Saturday from 11am.
BRUNCH + DINNER Sundays from 10am.
HANDCRAFTED HAPPY HOUR 7 Days a Week from 3pm - 7pm.
LATE NIGHT HAPPY HOUR Friday + Saturday 10pm - close.

Cross Street:
Town Center Parkway

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(904) 998-9744

Website:
http://www.moxiefl.com/

Parking Details:
Parking is available in the parking lot adjacent to the restaurant.

Executive Chef:
Tom Gray

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Moxie Kitchen + Cocktails Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.4

ambience

4.4

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

91% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Contemporary American
Jacksonville
Best Restaurants in Jacksonville ›

Local Ingredients (21)
Creative Cuisine (20)
Special Occasion (19)
See All
Modern Decor (19)
Good for Birthdays (18)
Fit for Foodies (18)
Good for a Date (18)
Good for Anniversaries (16)
Open Kitchen (16)
Fun (15)
Handcrafted Cocktails (15)
Casual (14)
Good for Groups (13)
Hot Spot (13)
Business Meals (13)
Happy Hour (13)
Vibrant Bar Scene (12)
Worth the Drive (11)
Romantic (11)
Bar Seating (10)
Neighborhood Gem (9)
Great for Outdoor Dining (9)
People Watching (8)
Cozy (8)
Comfort Food (8)
Gluten Free Options (7)
Private Room (7)
Notable Wine List (6)
Organic (6)
Pre/post Theatre (6)
Good Vegetarian Options (5)
Great for Lunch (5)
Authentic (5)
Tasting Menu (4)
Healthy (4)
Seasonal (4)
Sunday Lunch (4)
Scenic View (3)
Vegan (3)
Disabled Access (3)
Quick Bite (3)
Family Style (3)
Kid-friendly (3)
Great for Brunch (3)
Great Beer (3)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Quiet Conversation (2)
Waterfront (2)
Spicy (2)
Fireplace (1)
Dancing (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Tapas (1)
Live Music (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Sort By:
S
700 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Table wasn't ready for about 20 minutes ...

 
 (Western NC)·Dined 2 days ago

Table wasn't ready for about 20 minutes after the reservation. Food was good and service was good.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

We were in town on business and the clie ...

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined 2 days ago

We were in town on business and the client suggested we 'try' this place for the first time for all of us. First, service - POOR - drinks from bar were made incorrectly and when given back to the bar, the redo took way to long! Server, was pleasant by absent - too slow and was not attentive to us wanting to order additional drinks - so we didn't. Food, eh -- way too eclectic for all of our tastes. Costs of meals, is never an issue when it comes to satisfying customers. I will not return here again for any reason. Atmosphere is very vibrant and WAY TOO LOUD to converse business talk.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service1
value1

This place was amazing. We were visitin ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined 5 days ago

This place was amazing. We were visiting Jacksonville and found it on the internet.

The food was terrific and the service by Corey was phenomenal. He was so knowledgeable regarding the food choices. He was humorous and so accommodating. The prices were good for the high quality of food that was served. Delicious!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Hot Spot, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We were honored to be seated at the chef ...

 
 (Austin)·Dined 5 days ago

We were honored to be seated at the chefs table. It was a treat to see the head chef putting the finishing touches on the entrées. The service matched the quality of the food, excellent.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Modern Decor, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The food was very delicious! Things pair ...

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined 6 days ago

The food was very delicious! Things paired together that I never thought would be tasty. The cocktail menu was extensive and well put together. My only complaint was my friends asked for a slice of pie for my birthday, the server said it was on the house, but I still got charged for it. It's whatever, it was only $7 but I dont think the server was paying much attention to us.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Food was great, as it always is.

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined 6 days ago

Food was great, as it always is.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3

Great server who was patient with the gr ...

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on November 28, 2016

Great server who was patient with the group of us. We all

Loved the food including meatloaf and the biscuit tots. Yum. Loved the Moscow mule too!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

1st time dining here and wasn't blown aw ...

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on November 27, 2016

1st time dining here and wasn't blown away. Went for brunch on a weekend. Nothing was terribly wrong but a bunch of little things weren't on point. Service was fairly slow overall but not bad. Ambiance on the patio was really nice and the weather was beautiful. Creative drink menu with wide selection of choices. Started with the kale salad and my partner had the chopped. Kale salad tasted ok but it was on the tiniest plate possible, making it extremely difficult to cut up into manageable bites and lost a good bit of my salad to the table. Also, the 'stone fruit' was over ripe and somewhat soggy and it was supposed to have goat cheese but i'm pretty sure it was some type of grated pecorino instead. Wasn't offered any pepper and there was none of the table. My partners salad was super spicy (borderline inedible, although we like spicy) and it had a funky burnt taste to it. I thought it might be the peanuts that were burnt but I tried one on its own and it was fine. Not sure where the burnt flavor came from but it was overpowering and unenjoyable. The cocktail was served in a super cool copper pineapple and tasted pretty good. A little on the sweet side but we added some more pepper and let it water down a bit, then it was good. Nothing really stood out on the brunch menu so we decided to wait for the dinner menu options and ordered the po boy. It was ok, not sure what type of fish it was as it never said and no one mentioned at any point. The bread was pretty much a hotdog bun and was sort of gummy. The honey mustard tasted like heinz yellow mustard and the spicy ranch was very reminiscent of a remoulaude. Overall the restaurant was visually appealing with a creative cocktail menu and an ok food menu but the food was mediocre at best. I wouldn't return unless it was for a special event of some type and I wasn't paying.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Local Ingredients, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value2

This restaurant is rapidly becoming a fa ...

vip
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on November 27, 2016

This restaurant is rapidly becoming a favorite. I asked for my meal to be prepared differently than it was on the menu. Not only were they very accommodating, the meal was delicious, as were the rest of our party's meals. Do not miss the smoked trout dip appetizer!

Tags: People Watching, Fun, Special Occasion, Happy Hour, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great service, but the menu is really sm ...

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on November 26, 2016

Great service, but the menu is really small and is very exotic. None of us liked anything we got. Prices were really high for such dissappointing food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service4
value1

It was the front evening of friends cat ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 23, 2016

It was the front evening of friends catching up.

We really enjoyed the restaurant, the ride to the menu, and the staff and management were very friendly. Looking forward to going back soon.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

My husband and I went here for anniversa ...

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on November 13, 2016

My husband and I went here for anniversary but wasnt really impressed first of all when I received my food it was loaded with peas which I hate should have been green beans so I said to the staff I may have looked at menu wrong but I thought this was green beans the response I got was "well if we run out of stuff we just replace with something else". We were like WOW what a response. Well that was unacceptable due to peas and green beans are totally diff and I would have never ordered with peas. So they meantion to kitchen and sure enough was made wrong so yall took care of my dinner which is NOT was what I was trying to get FREE DINNER but I appreciated. Since special occasion we had planned on getting dessert. Well we were never askes if we wanted any like most places do. Our waters pitcher/jar was never refilled and it was empty. So we left there went some other place for dessert . So we left there with not a good first time experience. Thanks for your time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

It was our 1st visit and was excellent, ...

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on November 10, 2016

It was our 1st visit and was excellent, we will be back.

Tags: Hot Spot, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

Love their menu and ambience

vip
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on November 10, 2016

Love their menu and ambience

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

We enjoyed our Sunday lunch. The varied ...

vip
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on October 30, 2016

We enjoyed our Sunday lunch. The varied menu is fun to make a choice and we all enjoyed our meals

Tags: Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value3

In short, it's the food. Yes, the physi ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 30, 2016

In short, it's the food. Yes, the physical space is very nice, the wait staff very, very good, being helpful and friendly. But you should go for the food. Yes, there are other restaurants that serve similar fare that is quite good. The other's just isn't as good as Moxie's. The chicken and waffles is now widely acclaimed and with good reason. But on our most recent visit the gnocchi with oxtail and brussel sprouts stole the show. Do I sound too "low brow" when I say "daaammmnn!"? And the chicken liver appetizer served ala Buffalo Chicken Wings converted our younger diners to liver advocates. No small feat. Let me shut up now and just say "go!".

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Modern Decor, Seasonal, Business Meals, Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Visited after a day of bridesmaid dress ...

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on October 29, 2016

Visited after a day of bridesmaid dress shopping and enjoyed the atmosphere and food! Laid back vibe with unique food offerings. Would definitely go back.

Tags: Modern Decor, Creative Cuisine, Fun, Open Kitchen, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

One of our favorite places to eat! I ha ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 28, 2016

One of our favorite places to eat! I have loved every meal I have had here.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Waiter was very knowledgable and made so ...

vip
 (Indiana)·Dined on October 24, 2016

Waiter was very knowledgable and made some great suggestions from their very tempting menu. We had the fried cheese curds and street corn appetizers and then the pappardelle pasta and a burger. All creativity prepared and delicious. It lives up to the hype! Would definitely come again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Food was average, Chicken and Waffles wa ...

vip
 (Orlando)·Dined on October 23, 2016

Food was average, Chicken and Waffles was very good and the best item we ordered. The kale salad left a bit to be desired. Both desserts were dreadful (Candy Bar Cake and Strawberry Shortcake). The candy bar cake was not very fresh, and the shortcake should just be called "Ice Cream Shortcake" as there was barely the equivalent of a half of a strawberry on the place. The shortcake biscuit was also overcooked. Upon expressing displeasure with the dessert to our server, she only apologized and made no concerted efforts whatsoever to make the situation right. We will not be back.

Tags: Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value1

Moxie is my go-to restaurant for people ...

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on October 23, 2016

Moxie is my go-to restaurant for people who want to stay in town. Although it's in the St Johns Town Center, parking is never an issue. It's definitely leaps and bounds above any other restaurant in a "mall" setting. There are also great options for vegetarians and vegans - plus cocktails!!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good Vegetarian Options, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Private Room, Good for a Date, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

We had an exceptionally good time and go ...

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on October 22, 2016

We had an exceptionally good time and good meal at Moxie's. The service was very professional, but not stuffy. You could tell our waiter was a professional server, not some guy slingin' food to make ends meet. The cocktails were great, and so was the food. All around top-notch meal. We'll be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Happy to find this Gem, we love that it ...

vip
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on October 21, 2016

Happy to find this Gem, we love that it is farm to table. We were a party of 4 and we each had delicious meal, capped off by dessert. The only disappointment was that the waitress said the skillet cookie dessert was white chocolate pecan, when if fact it was a raisin chocolate chip. The dessert was very good but was looking forward to the pecan, with white chocolate as ordered.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Love Moxie, everything is perfect

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on October 21, 2016

Love Moxie, everything is perfect

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was excellent and the menu creative ...

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on October 19, 2016

Food was excellent and the menu creative. Food preparation and presentation was great. Craft cocktails also good and with a nice variety. Was out of the house Chardonnay by the glass which was disappointing. Service was good until we ordered and then the server disappeared. Expo runner basically took care of us when serving the main course. We had no silverware after they cleaned up from the apps. Needed drink refills and wanted to order some wine. Would love to come back with a better service this would be 4 stars.

Tags: Bar Seating, Good for Groups, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service2
value4

Very noisy (hard to hear across a two-to ...

vip
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on October 18, 2016

Very noisy (hard to hear across a two-top), slow to receive our meal (45 minutes from when we were seated - with no. Read or anything), Cabernet served chilled, medium rare filet served cold and nearly bleeding it was so rare. Green beans that look fully cooked but are somehow crunchy. Way too much dill (?) in everything. Far too bright and overpowering - in the beans, in the scalloped potatoes... maybe in the steak sauce, though it was hard to tell if that was just the beans juice overpowering them.

They at least comped the one steak and we're apologetic, but for $36 per steak it shouldn't be necessary. (We had already waited 30 minutes to get it and were starving - waiting another unknown amount of time to get it back wasn't high on my wife's list of things to do).

I doubt we will return. Maybe if I had more facial hair and wore flannel it would have been better? Just not hipster enough, I guess. :)

Tags: Modern Decor, Local Ingredients, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service3
value1

Sat adjacent to a large loud group. Way ...

vip
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on October 15, 2016

Sat adjacent to a large loud group. Way too noisy to eat. May not return if reservation can not guarantee sitting away from large loud groups.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service5
value4

Love the variety of food. Staff and wa ...

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on October 15, 2016

Love the variety of food. Staff and waiter were friendly.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Comfort Food, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Local Ingredients, Casual, Modern Decor, Open Kitchen, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch, Fun, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Service was slow, food was good when it ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 14, 2016

Service was slow, food was good when it finally came though 😊

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

Food,drink & service were excellent

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on October 2, 2016

Food,drink & service were excellent

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I was hesitant when I first read the men ...

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on October 1, 2016

I was hesitant when I first read the menu but I decided to try something different for my Birthday outing with my girls. The environment was just the right amount of classy without being stuck up....all of us loved our food. They had great drink specials and a gluten free menu. I will definitely go back!

Tags: Bar Seating, Good for Groups, Paleo Friendly, Spicy, Worth the Drive, Fun, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Vegan, Fit for Foodies, Fireplace, Modern Decor, Comfort Food, Notable Wine List, Great Beer, Business Meals, Organic, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Sunday Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Gluten Free Options, Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Good for a Date, Happy Hour, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene, Open Kitchen, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Gabby's hospitality made us feel comfort ...

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on September 30, 2016

Gabby's hospitality made us feel comfortable and welcomed. We had a seat facing the lake and watching the sunset.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Very please with the food and service!

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on September 29, 2016

Very please with the food and service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This is now in my top five of favorite r ...

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on September 24, 2016

This is now in my top five of favorite restaurants

Tags: Romantic, Organic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

While the food did not disappoint - deli ...

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on September 23, 2016

While the food did not disappoint - delicious - the noise level ( seated at table in bar area upstairs) and service awful. You couldn't talk to the person next to you at a four top. First issue - table not ready when arrived. Not a problem enjoyed checking out the upstairs bar. However when we did get called it was a table that had been open upstairs the whole time we had been there. Then drinks were tediously slow to come. Desserts took almost 30 minutes - to the point where we had them boxed up to go - which took another 10. Left overall disappointed. When we went down to get table there was a booth just being reset not sure why when you make a dinner reservation you are seated in the middle of the bar at a very uncomfortable table which also rocked through the whole meal. Pimento toasts - great! Chick & waffle - excellent! Livers - very good - never did get blue cheese offered for them. Not sure if we will go back after this for more than lunch or drink & apps.

Tags: Hot Spot, Bar Seating, Scenic View, Fit for Foodies, People Watching, Modern Decor, Vibrant Bar Scene, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service2
value4

This was a special birthday lunch for on ...

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on September 23, 2016

This was a special birthday lunch for one of our group-- meal was good--service was good and overall we enjoyed our luncheon

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Scenic View, Fun, Family Style, Quiet Conversation, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had the Sip and Savor 3-course lunch ...

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on September 22, 2016

We had the Sip and Savor 3-course lunch . Appetizers were great, but dessert was lacking (pudding was really just chocolate pudding and cookie was dry and crumbly). Overall we really like the service and fresh ingredients.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Great for Lunch, Comfort Food, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Great food and overall experience. Loved ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on September 20, 2016

Great food and overall experience. Loved the chicken and waffles and the unique cocktails.

Tags: Bar Seating, Tasting Menu, Business Meals, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The drinks were delicious

 
 (Tallahassee)·Dined on September 11, 2016

The drinks were delicious

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I've been here a few times and I have en ...

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on September 11, 2016

I've been here a few times and I have enjoyed it every time. The food here is excellent and the staff is great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.