About Moxie Kitchen + Cocktails

4972 Big Island Drive
Jacksonville, FL 32246
View Larger Map

Chef Tom Gray brings "locally-owned" to the Town Center neighborhood with his new American restaurant, Moxie Kitchen + Cocktails at the Markets at Town Center. The two-time James Beard Award nominated chef and his skilled team favor a fresh, contemporary approach providing creative inspirations for lunch and dinner and weekend brunches.

An “American flavors from coast to coast” menu offers fresh takes on classic favorites while the craft cocktails, local brews and Cal-centric wine menu command their own attention.

Inside the two-story restaurant, an urban rustic decor sets a modern tone to the dining rooms, and the buzz of the open kitchen and bars make for a lively atmosphere. Open air patios and covered dining terraces provide outdoor dining options year round with views on the nearby lake.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
LUNCH + DINNER Monday - Saturday from 11am.
BRUNCH + DINNER Sundays from 10am.
HANDCRAFTED HAPPY HOUR 7 Days a Week from 3pm - 7pm.
LATE NIGHT HAPPY HOUR Friday + Saturday 10pm - close.

Cross Street:
Town Center Parkway

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(904) 998-9744

Website:
http://www.moxiefl.com/

Parking Details:
Parking is available in the parking lot adjacent to the restaurant.

Executive Chef:
Tom Gray

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Moxie Kitchen + Cocktails Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.5

ambience

4.4

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Contemporary American
Jacksonville
Most Booked
Jacksonville
Best Restaurants in Jacksonville ›

fit for foodies (74)
good for groups (58)
special occasion (56)
See All
hot spot (46)
great for lunch (37)
great for outdoor dining (34)
great for brunch (32)
neighborhood gem (31)
vibrant bar scene (31)
romantic (20)
late-night find (15)
kid-friendly (14)
notable wine list (14)
scenic view (8)
Sort By:
Newest
604 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food4
ambience4
service5

Really good experience. I'll definitely ...

Dined 5 days ago

Really good experience. I'll definitely be coming back.

food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Repeat customer and never a disappointme ...

Dined 5 days ago

Repeat customer and never a disappointment! Excellent food, service, attention to detail. Fantasic!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great meal and fabulous service. Our wa ...

Dined 7 days ago

Great meal and fabulous service. Our waiter did a wonderful job.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We celebrated a girlfriend's birthday, a ...

Dined on June 21, 2016

We celebrated a girlfriend's birthday, and had a wonderful experience. Our server, Ryan, was awesome, and could not have been more attentive or helpful. He did not rush us, and was still refilling our water glasses even as we were about to leave. The food was very good, and everyone enjoyed their choice. Great ambiance, and a fun evening for all of us!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5

Brunch was really good. The fact that it ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

Brunch was really good. The fact that it was free for small children was the deciding factor to dine at Moxie for father's day.

food5
ambience5
service5

The Moxie burger is really good. Add pim ...

Dined on June 15, 2016

The Moxie burger is really good. Add pimento cheese to put it over the top. Chicken & waffles are done with a unique twist, and very good. Cool restaurant with a unique and tasty menu.

food5
ambience5
service5

Really enjoyed my first visit to Moxie. ...

vip
Dined on June 15, 2016

Really enjoyed my first visit to Moxie. They have a special two course lunch menu with a drink that is excellent. Our server Fernando was friendly and attentive. We would ask for him again

food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent experience as always. Best re ...

Dined on June 11, 2016

Excellent experience as always. Best restaurant to eat at in Jacksonville.

food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Friendly staff, great drinks and interes ...

Dined on June 11, 2016

Friendly staff, great drinks and interesting and delicious entrees! Wish it was in Ocala!

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Looking forward to a return visit.

Dined on June 10, 2016

Our experience at Moxie was very pleasant. The food was amazing and the atmosphere was engaging. Moxie offers excellent service to boot. It is a great place for date night!

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

Nice but could be better

Dined on June 7, 2016

It was the night of Tropical Storm Collin and we left work to get a bite before heading back to the hotel. The food was good, the restaurant wasn't that busy, probably due to the weather, but our server lacked the attention to detail. Ran out of water several times throughout the course of the meal and had to request replacement silverware when he took ours away with the appetizer. Not that I like helicopter servers but it's the little things that make you dislike a restaurant.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food3
ambience5
service4

I love going to original restaurants wit ...

Dined on May 29, 2016

I love going to original restaurants with inspired drinks and menu items. Something that always has a twist to keep food interesting. Moxie had great atmosphere, service and cocktails. The food is probably my low point though. While I appreciate originality, Moxie seems to be trying too hard to be out there and different. It's overkill.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Went to Moxie for my birthday dinner aft ...

Dined on May 25, 2016

Went to Moxie for my birthday dinner after hearing how great it was from my sisters! The food was amazing and was plated so pretty as well. I love the different options on their menus as well as their handmade sodas and desserts and just everything about it. Really good place for a special dinner or just to go out and have a really nice meal!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, late-night find
food5
ambience5
service5

Extensive menus for those with dietary r ...

vip
Dined on May 25, 2016

Extensive menus for those with dietary restrictions. And if they don't have what you want on the menu, they will make it for you. Great customer service. Awesome staff!

food5
ambience5
service5

Great service and creative food for a ve ...

Dined on May 21, 2016

Great service and creative food for a very fair price point. Really cool ambience. Probably neatest environment at Town Center.

food5
ambience5
service5

First time here and I enjoyed it! Dougla ...

Dined on May 21, 2016

First time here and I enjoyed it! Douglas is an awesome waiter! He kept us happy and laughing. The deviled eggs was phenomenal. I will be back again in the near future.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Wait staff was great. 1st ever visit, g ...

Dined on May 14, 2016

Wait staff was great. 1st ever visit, given a free appetizer.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups
food5
ambience3
service1

The food was fantastic, which almost mad ...

Dined on May 14, 2016

The food was fantastic, which almost made up for the terrible service. We had the gnocchi and short rib, both of which were great. The waiter was either in over his head or too caught up in trying to share what he thought were witty comments. It took forever for him to get a drink order, and the fastest thing he did all night was to take the check when I put my card down. It was a good thing the short rib was so tender because he never returned with the knife he said he was going to get for me. Great food, pitiful service.

food4
ambience4
service3
value3

Hmmm...

Dined on May 12, 2016

Not quite what we were expecting for dinner. I had been here for a lunch meeting and thought it quite good. However, dinner was not executed well. Certainly, it could have been our entree selections. A couple of interesting sides were off a half note. Service was not attentive enough to our needs.

Tags: good for groups, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5

The type of Chef driven restaurant you ...

Dined on May 12, 2016

The type of Chef driven restaurant you would find in Midtown Atlanta. Very slick with artistic southern comfort food. We always eat at Moxie when we are in Jacksonville. Highly recommended.

food4
ambience4
service1

I eat at Moxie somewhat often.. The food ...

vip
Dined on May 10, 2016

I eat at Moxie somewhat often.. The food is always great but every time I have ever been the service is absolutely terrible. The service level and prices they charge doesn't add up. There are plenty of other restaurants with good food and service. Step it up please.

food5
ambience5
service5

Great server, great food, great first ti ...

Dined on May 8, 2016

Great server, great food, great first time experience!

food5
ambience5
service3
value5

Love it for any occasion!

Dined on May 8, 2016

One of my absolute faves. Great vibe, good energy! Can't say enough about the Pimento Cheese Toast!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Mothers Day Brunch

Dined on May 8, 2016

The food was very good. Standouts were the duck confit hash, the homemade tasso and the shrimp and grits. It was a little hectic, because this was a special occasion brunch and you could tell it was not what they were used to doing, but all in all, they pulled it off quite well. My mom had bad luck with the initial wine selection, but was appeased with a very good manhattan afterwards. Excellent bloody mary, so-so mimosa. My wife and I would really like to try them for a regular dinner next time.

Tags: great for brunch, special occasion
food3
ambience2
service3
value1

We went for the Mother's Day Brunch

Dined on May 8, 2016

It seemed like they were running out of food. No platter was full. There was barely any fruit. There was nothing sweet for the end, like a little dessert- our reservation was at 1 pm, which is on the lunch end of brunch. What we had to eat tasted great, but it was a little skimpy to get food. We could have had all the "waffles made to order" as we would have liked, but we did not want that. Their food is always good, but this was a disappointment.

food5
ambience5
service5

Great food and fantastic service!!

Dined on May 7, 2016

Great food and fantastic service!!

food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent brunch !

Dined on May 1, 2016

Excellent brunch !

food5
ambience5
service5

Great food, great drinks, great service! ...

Dined on May 1, 2016

Great food, great drinks, great service! And they make an excellent Old Fashioned.

food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Different and above average

Dined on April 30, 2016

The ambience of the place is urban and cozy - booths are wrap around style. Servers friendly and knowledgeable. This place prides itself on having 'gastro-pub artisian food' but the menu tries too hard - it should be effortless. Food is interesting but nothing really pops out as being 'to die for'.

Tags: great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great Experience

Dined on April 29, 2016

We visited with a group of 10 to celebrate a college graduation. Everything was great from service to food but it was extra special as the graduate previously worked at Moxie's so many co-workers and friends came by to Congratule her. Thanks for an awesome evening

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Farm to table fresh

Dined on April 28, 2016

Had the duck spring rolls, Brunswick stew, scallops, and the cocktails were creative and well made for sure. This spot is a good value at happy hour but is a just plain good. If you have not been here, do yourself a favor.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food4
ambience4
service5

We went to Moxie for the first for my hu ...

Dined on April 26, 2016

We went to Moxie for the first for my husband's birthday and had a great experience! Our waiter was friendly, attentive & took time to explain menu items. The food was served in a timely manner and was quite tasty! They even brought us a complimentary appetizer. I've heard it was a noisy restaurant but it wasn't that night, of course it was a Tuesday. I would like to try it again on the weekend.

food5
ambience5
service5

Great quick lunch options as well! Love ...

vip
Dined on April 25, 2016

Great quick lunch options as well! Love Moxie!!!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Busy Friday night

Dined on April 23, 2016

Our favorite go-to stop at town center. Food is consistently very good to excellent. Kitchen got a bit backed up and we were brought an appetizer without asking for anything although we were not in a hurry. Cocktails are always on point

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5

Love it here! Great food and a great vib ...

vip
Dined on April 21, 2016

Love it here! Great food and a great vibe.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent Sunday brunch

vip
Dined on April 17, 2016

What a great menu!!! The service was wonderful and very accommodating but the food was incredible. Definitely would come back for lunch or dinner another time.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, great for outdoor dining, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience5
service5

Great atmosphere and the food was good. ...

Dined on April 16, 2016

Great atmosphere and the food was good. The server were friendly and suggested good entrees. Overall experience was outstanding.

food4
ambience5
service5

Great experience celebrating my husband' ...

Dined on April 16, 2016

Great experience celebrating my husband's 40th birthday! The staff really took care of us and we enjoyed the food and Ambience!

food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Unique and awesome

Dined on April 16, 2016

Really unique place with a matching menu. I ordered the chicken and waffles and I would recommend them to anyone! They have a great selection of cocktails and homemade sodas.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience3
service5

Food was great. Noise level high. Not ba ...

Dined on April 15, 2016

Food was great. Noise level high. Not bad, but just loud.

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.