About Moxie Kitchen + Cocktails

4972 Big Island Drive
Jacksonville, FL 32246
View Larger Map

Chef Tom Gray brings "locally-owned" to the Town Center neighborhood with his new American restaurant, Moxie Kitchen + Cocktails at the Markets at Town Center. The two-time James Beard Award nominated chef and his skilled team favor a fresh, contemporary approach providing creative inspirations for lunch and dinner and weekend brunches.

An “American flavors from coast to coast” menu offers fresh takes on classic favorites while the craft cocktails, local brews and Cal-centric wine menu command their own attention.

Inside the two-story restaurant, an urban rustic decor sets a modern tone to the dining rooms, and the buzz of the open kitchen and bars make for a lively atmosphere. Open air patios and covered dining terraces provide outdoor dining options year round with views on the nearby lake.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
LUNCH + DINNER Monday - Saturday from 11am.
BRUNCH + DINNER Sundays from 10am.
HANDCRAFTED HAPPY HOUR 7 Days a Week from 3pm - 7pm.
LATE NIGHT HAPPY HOUR Friday + Saturday 10pm - close.

Cross Street:
Town Center Parkway

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(904) 998-9744

Website:
http://www.moxiefl.com/

Parking Details:
Parking is available in the parking lot adjacent to the restaurant.

Executive Chef:
Tom Gray

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Moxie Kitchen + Cocktails Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.5

ambience

4.4

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Contemporary American
Jacksonville / Northeast Florida
Contemporary American
Jacksonville
Most Booked
Jacksonville
Best Restaurants in Jacksonville ›

fit for foodies (64)
good for groups (51)
special occasion (50)
See All
hot spot (37)
great for lunch (34)
great for outdoor dining (30)
neighborhood gem (28)
vibrant bar scene (25)
great for brunch (24)
romantic (15)
kid-friendly (13)
late-night find (12)
notable wine list (10)
scenic view (6)
Sort By:
Newest
623 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Delicious food Juicy fried chicken Shri ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined 18 hours ago

Delicious food

Juicy fried chicken

Shrimp and grits had a great blend of spicy and tangy flavors

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent meal. Fare was creative and ex ...

vip
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined 3 days ago

Excellent meal. Fare was creative and excellently prepared. Service was attentive and helpful but not overwhelming or pushy. We sat upstairs in a back room, and they were able to close a curtain to separate our smaller room from the louder bar noise. Even though there were still multiple tables in our section, we were able to hear the conversation comfortably despite the crowd. We were very impressed overall and would definitely return.

Tags: fit for foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

food was great, cocktails were even bett ...

 
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined 3 days ago

food was great, cocktails were even better. service was ok. he tried really hard and I'm sure was doing his best but it was a little awkward when he would take 5 of 7 orders and then take the rest upon his return. made for some extra running on his part.

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value2

The restaurant has very unique dishes, a ...

 
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined 4 days ago

The restaurant has very unique dishes, and what we had l, we all liked. The service was excellent, very educated on the menu. It was however very noisy, and if you plan on having cocktails, bring plenty of money. If I go back, I will not drink there, $20 for a double Dewars on the rocks, is in my opinion, absolutely outrageous. Oh, and it was a light pour.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5

Great Dining Experience. Kelsey took gre ...

 
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined 4 days ago

Great Dining Experience. Kelsey took great care of our table.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My birthday dinner in March was so delic ...

 
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined 4 days ago

My birthday dinner in March was so delicious, I returned for an encore in July. While the chicken and waffle pudding with maple mousse was still a winner, the dream-worthy fresh green beans with bacon had been replaced by canned beans and that left me feeling a little let down.

Tags: fit for foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Our waiter was great. Drinks were very ...

 
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Our waiter was great. Drinks were very tasty. Grasshopper dessert was delicious! Lunch size portion was just enough for a smaller appetite, we didn't have any leftovers. It was loud inside so it made it hard to hear each other even across the table.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, late-night find, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Would have gotten 5 stars, but we had fr ...

 
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

Would have gotten 5 stars, but we had fruit flies at our table. The manager assisted us accordingly and comped us a round of drinks. I recommend the Chicken and Waffles.

Tags: fit for foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

There are so many great things on their ...

 
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

There are so many great things on their menu that my wife and I are making this our go to restaurant so we can try them all. The flavor in their food is outstanding.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Table wasn't ready for time of reservati ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

Table wasn't ready for time of reservation and although it was nice the manager came out to check on us, they didn't comp us a drink or appetizer or anything. Other than that, our food was delicious and our server was great.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Nice but casual environment, interesting ...

vip
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

Nice but casual environment, interesting but some basic food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Group of 7 of us. Made reservation and i ...

 
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

Group of 7 of us. Made reservation and it was ready early upon arrival. Seated right away. Ordered pan roasted chicken. It was extremely salty, took away from the taste that may have been there. The sides were perfect though. Service was a little on the slow side. Waiter took orders for everyone and when one person wasn't ready, he said he would come back to her, but then left the table. He came back several minutes later to take her order, but found it to be rude. I would go again if someone else invited me but I was not overly impressed with food to make it a point to dine there. Drinks were fantastic so maybe go again and sit at the bar for drinks.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value3

The one place we look forward to have dr ...

 
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on July 7, 2016

The one place we look forward to have drinks and dinner, not just for special occasions, but everyday dining. Love farm to table recipes.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Our server was very friendly, helpful an ...

 
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on July 5, 2016

Our server was very friendly, helpful and funny. We were there for a get-together/meet-and-greet and were not rushed out after our meal, which I appreciated. The apps and entrees were excellent. Loved the pimento cheese bread though I wasn't a fan of the duck spring rolls. We all ordered a different meal so we could taste. Trout was phenomenal. The gnocchi was really flavorful. The chicken and waffle was a unique taste experience. I will order it the next time I dine there. The scallops and salmon were also tasty. Had a great time with good food and great friends. What more could you ask for in a dining experience?

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

All 4 of our meals were fantastic, as us ...

vip
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

All 4 of our meals were fantastic, as usual!

Unfortunately, there were no gluten-free desserts, so we passed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Moxie was a great place to get together ...

 
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

Moxie was a great place to get together with friends. The service was great and the food was tasty, I had the chicken and waffles.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Thank you for creating a wonderful exper ...

vip
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on June 28, 2016

Thank you for creating a wonderful experience for us. We had a guest in town visiting our company and we decided to take him to Moxie. Our server, Nick Savage, did an excellent job!

He was polite, friendly, knowledgeable and his suggestions were perfect.

Thanks Nick and Thanks Moxie!!!!

Harold

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The ambience and décor of the restaurant ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

The ambience and décor of the restaurant is trendy, fun, and sleek, however; the food did not measure up. The macaroni and cheese appetizer seemed to be incredibly oily with little cheese. The octopus was extremely little even for an appetizer with very little flavor, perhaps blackening the octopus would have helped. The burger was also very uneventful with little to no flavor. Overall the look of the restaurant looked good but the food had very little flavor and was average at best. For the price and the ambience of the restaurant, I expected the food to match. The bartenders were excellent- my drink was perfect which was pleasant. Overall it was not the least bit memorable. I am sad to say but I think Cheesecake factory would have had more flavor which is a shame.

Tags: scenic view, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value3

Really good experience. I'll definitely ...

 
 (Orlando)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

Really good experience. I'll definitely be coming back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Repeat customer and never a disappointme ...

 
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

Repeat customer and never a disappointment! Excellent food, service, attention to detail. Fantasic!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great meal and fabulous service. Our wa ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on June 22, 2016

Great meal and fabulous service. Our waiter did a wonderful job.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We celebrated a girlfriend's birthday, a ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 21, 2016

We celebrated a girlfriend's birthday, and had a wonderful experience. Our server, Ryan, was awesome, and could not have been more attentive or helpful. He did not rush us, and was still refilling our water glasses even as we were about to leave. The food was very good, and everyone enjoyed their choice. Great ambiance, and a fun evening for all of us!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Brunch was really good. The fact that it ...

 
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Brunch was really good. The fact that it was free for small children was the deciding factor to dine at Moxie for father's day.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The Moxie burger is really good. Add pim ...

 
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on June 15, 2016

The Moxie burger is really good. Add pimento cheese to put it over the top. Chicken & waffles are done with a unique twist, and very good. Cool restaurant with a unique and tasty menu.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Really enjoyed my first visit to Moxie. ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 15, 2016

Really enjoyed my first visit to Moxie. They have a special two course lunch menu with a drink that is excellent. Our server Fernando was friendly and attentive. We would ask for him again

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent experience as always. Best re ...

 
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

Excellent experience as always. Best restaurant to eat at in Jacksonville.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Friendly staff, great drinks and interes ...

 
 (Orlando)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

Friendly staff, great drinks and interesting and delicious entrees! Wish it was in Ocala!

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Looking forward to a return visit.

 
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on June 10, 2016

Our experience at Moxie was very pleasant. The food was amazing and the atmosphere was engaging. Moxie offers excellent service to boot. It is a great place for date night!

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Nice but could be better

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on June 7, 2016

It was the night of Tropical Storm Collin and we left work to get a bite before heading back to the hotel. The food was good, the restaurant wasn't that busy, probably due to the weather, but our server lacked the attention to detail. Ran out of water several times throughout the course of the meal and had to request replacement silverware when he took ours away with the appetizer. Not that I like helicopter servers but it's the little things that make you dislike a restaurant.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

I love going to original restaurants wit ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on May 29, 2016

I love going to original restaurants with inspired drinks and menu items. Something that always has a twist to keep food interesting. Moxie had great atmosphere, service and cocktails. The food is probably my low point though. While I appreciate originality, Moxie seems to be trying too hard to be out there and different. It's overkill.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4

Went to Moxie for my birthday dinner aft ...

 
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on May 25, 2016

Went to Moxie for my birthday dinner after hearing how great it was from my sisters! The food was amazing and was plated so pretty as well. I love the different options on their menus as well as their handmade sodas and desserts and just everything about it. Really good place for a special dinner or just to go out and have a really nice meal!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, late-night find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Extensive menus for those with dietary r ...

vip
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on May 25, 2016

Extensive menus for those with dietary restrictions. And if they don't have what you want on the menu, they will make it for you. Great customer service. Awesome staff!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great service and creative food for a ve ...

 
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on May 21, 2016

Great service and creative food for a very fair price point. Really cool ambience. Probably neatest environment at Town Center.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

First time here and I enjoyed it! Dougla ...

 
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on May 21, 2016

First time here and I enjoyed it! Douglas is an awesome waiter! He kept us happy and laughing. The deviled eggs was phenomenal. I will be back again in the near future.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Wait staff was great. 1st ever visit, g ...

 
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on May 14, 2016

Wait staff was great. 1st ever visit, given a free appetizer.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The food was fantastic, which almost mad ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on May 14, 2016

The food was fantastic, which almost made up for the terrible service. We had the gnocchi and short rib, both of which were great. The waiter was either in over his head or too caught up in trying to share what he thought were witty comments. It took forever for him to get a drink order, and the fastest thing he did all night was to take the check when I put my card down. It was a good thing the short rib was so tender because he never returned with the knife he said he was going to get for me. Great food, pitiful service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service1

Hmmm...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on May 12, 2016

Not quite what we were expecting for dinner. I had been here for a lunch meeting and thought it quite good. However, dinner was not executed well. Certainly, it could have been our entree selections. A couple of interesting sides were off a half note. Service was not attentive enough to our needs.

Tags: good for groups, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

The type of Chef driven restaurant you ...

 
 (Orlando)
·Dined on May 12, 2016

The type of Chef driven restaurant you would find in Midtown Atlanta. Very slick with artistic southern comfort food. We always eat at Moxie when we are in Jacksonville. Highly recommended.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I eat at Moxie somewhat often.. The food ...

vip
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on May 10, 2016

I eat at Moxie somewhat often.. The food is always great but every time I have ever been the service is absolutely terrible. The service level and prices they charge doesn't add up. There are plenty of other restaurants with good food and service. Step it up please.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1

Great server, great food, great first ti ...

 
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

Great server, great food, great first time experience!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.