About Moxie Kitchen + Cocktails

4972 Big Island Drive
Jacksonville, FL 32246
View Larger Map

Chef Tom Gray brings "locally-owned" to the Town Center neighborhood with his new American restaurant, Moxie Kitchen + Cocktails at the Markets at Town Center. The two-time James Beard Award nominated chef and his skilled team favor a fresh, contemporary approach providing creative inspirations for lunch and dinner and weekend brunches.

An “American flavors from coast to coast” menu offers fresh takes on classic favorites while the craft cocktails, local brews and Cal-centric wine menu command their own attention.

Inside the two-story restaurant, an urban rustic decor sets a modern tone to the dining rooms, and the buzz of the open kitchen and bars make for a lively atmosphere. Open air patios and covered dining terraces provide outdoor dining options year round with views on the nearby lake.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
LUNCH + DINNER Monday - Saturday from 11am.
BRUNCH + DINNER Sundays from 10am.
HANDCRAFTED HAPPY HOUR 7 Days a Week from 3pm - 7pm.
LATE NIGHT HAPPY HOUR Friday + Saturday 10pm - close.

Cross Street:
Town Center Parkway

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(904) 998-9744

Website:
http://www.moxiefl.com/

Parking Details:
Parking is available in the parking lot adjacent to the restaurant.

Executive Chef:
Tom Gray

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Moxie Kitchen + Cocktails Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.4

ambience

4.4

noise

Moderate

91% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Contemporary American
Jacksonville
Most Booked
Jacksonville
Best Restaurants in Jacksonville ›

fit for foodies (89)
special occasion (69)
good for groups (61)
See All
hot spot (59)
vibrant bar scene (44)
great for outdoor dining (43)
great for lunch (39)
great for brunch (34)
neighborhood gem (31)
romantic (29)
notable wine list (18)
late-night find (17)
kid-friendly (13)
scenic view (12)
Sort By:
Newest
588 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5

Great service and creative food for a ve ...

Dined 2 days ago

Great service and creative food for a very fair price point. Really cool ambience. Probably neatest environment at Town Center.

food5
ambience5
service5

First time here and I enjoyed it! Dougla ...

Dined 3 days ago

First time here and I enjoyed it! Douglas is an awesome waiter! He kept us happy and laughing. The deviled eggs was phenomenal. I will be back again in the near future.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Wait staff was great. 1st ever visit, g ...

Dined on May 14, 2016

Wait staff was great. 1st ever visit, given a free appetizer.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups
food5
ambience3
service1

The food was fantastic, which almost mad ...

Dined on May 14, 2016

The food was fantastic, which almost made up for the terrible service. We had the gnocchi and short rib, both of which were great. The waiter was either in over his head or too caught up in trying to share what he thought were witty comments. It took forever for him to get a drink order, and the fastest thing he did all night was to take the check when I put my card down. It was a good thing the short rib was so tender because he never returned with the knife he said he was going to get for me. Great food, pitiful service.

food5
ambience5
service5

The type of Chef driven restaurant you ...

Dined on May 12, 2016

The type of Chef driven restaurant you would find in Midtown Atlanta. Very slick with artistic southern comfort food. We always eat at Moxie when we are in Jacksonville. Highly recommended.

food4
ambience4
service1

I eat at Moxie somewhat often.. The food ...

vip
Dined on May 10, 2016

I eat at Moxie somewhat often.. The food is always great but every time I have ever been the service is absolutely terrible. The service level and prices they charge doesn't add up. There are plenty of other restaurants with good food and service. Step it up please.

food5
ambience5
service5

Great server, great food, great first ti ...

Dined on May 8, 2016

Great server, great food, great first time experience!

food5
ambience5
service3
value5

Love it for any occasion!

Dined on May 8, 2016

One of my absolute faves. Great vibe, good energy! Can't say enough about the Pimento Cheese Toast!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Mothers Day Brunch

Dined on May 8, 2016

The food was very good. Standouts were the duck confit hash, the homemade tasso and the shrimp and grits. It was a little hectic, because this was a special occasion brunch and you could tell it was not what they were used to doing, but all in all, they pulled it off quite well. My mom had bad luck with the initial wine selection, but was appeased with a very good manhattan afterwards. Excellent bloody mary, so-so mimosa. My wife and I would really like to try them for a regular dinner next time.

Tags: great for brunch, special occasion
food3
ambience2
service3
value1

We went for the Mother's Day Brunch

Dined on May 8, 2016

It seemed like they were running out of food. No platter was full. There was barely any fruit. There was nothing sweet for the end, like a little dessert- our reservation was at 1 pm, which is on the lunch end of brunch. What we had to eat tasted great, but it was a little skimpy to get food. We could have had all the "waffles made to order" as we would have liked, but we did not want that. Their food is always good, but this was a disappointment.

food5
ambience5
service5

Great food and fantastic service!!

Dined on May 7, 2016

Great food and fantastic service!!

food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent brunch !

Dined on May 1, 2016

Excellent brunch !

food5
ambience5
service5

Great food, great drinks, great service! ...

Dined on May 1, 2016

Great food, great drinks, great service! And they make an excellent Old Fashioned.

food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Different and above average

Dined on April 30, 2016

The ambience of the place is urban and cozy - booths are wrap around style. Servers friendly and knowledgeable. This place prides itself on having 'gastro-pub artisian food' but the menu tries too hard - it should be effortless. Food is interesting but nothing really pops out as being 'to die for'.

Tags: great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great Experience

Dined on April 29, 2016

We visited with a group of 10 to celebrate a college graduation. Everything was great from service to food but it was extra special as the graduate previously worked at Moxie's so many co-workers and friends came by to Congratule her. Thanks for an awesome evening

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Farm to table fresh

Dined on April 28, 2016

Had the duck spring rolls, Brunswick stew, scallops, and the cocktails were creative and well made for sure. This spot is a good value at happy hour but is a just plain good. If you have not been here, do yourself a favor.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food4
ambience4
service5

We went to Moxie for the first for my hu ...

Dined on April 26, 2016

We went to Moxie for the first for my husband's birthday and had a great experience! Our waiter was friendly, attentive & took time to explain menu items. The food was served in a timely manner and was quite tasty! They even brought us a complimentary appetizer. I've heard it was a noisy restaurant but it wasn't that night, of course it was a Tuesday. I would like to try it again on the weekend.

food5
ambience5
service5

Great quick lunch options as well! Love ...

vip
Dined on April 25, 2016

Great quick lunch options as well! Love Moxie!!!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Busy Friday night

Dined on April 23, 2016

Our favorite go-to stop at town center. Food is consistently very good to excellent. Kitchen got a bit backed up and we were brought an appetizer without asking for anything although we were not in a hurry. Cocktails are always on point

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5

Love it here! Great food and a great vib ...

vip
Dined on April 21, 2016

Love it here! Great food and a great vibe.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent Sunday brunch

vip
Dined on April 17, 2016

What a great menu!!! The service was wonderful and very accommodating but the food was incredible. Definitely would come back for lunch or dinner another time.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, great for outdoor dining, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience5
service5

Great atmosphere and the food was good. ...

Dined on April 16, 2016

Great atmosphere and the food was good. The server were friendly and suggested good entrees. Overall experience was outstanding.

food4
ambience5
service5

Great experience celebrating my husband' ...

Dined on April 16, 2016

Great experience celebrating my husband's 40th birthday! The staff really took care of us and we enjoyed the food and Ambience!

food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Unique and awesome

Dined on April 16, 2016

Really unique place with a matching menu. I ordered the chicken and waffles and I would recommend them to anyone! They have a great selection of cocktails and homemade sodas.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience3
service5

Food was great. Noise level high. Not ba ...

Dined on April 15, 2016

Food was great. Noise level high. Not bad, but just loud.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Chef Tom can do no wrong!

vip
Dined on April 9, 2016

The hubby and I have been Chef Tom fans for 18 yrs! Chicken livers, deviled eggs and short ribs at the top of my list of must trys. The atmosphere is unique to Jacksonville and especially the SJTC. Fantastic bar scene and amazing jalepeno marggies round out the experience. All of the staff have amazing memories....they greet us by name and seem to really love thie jobs...also a testament to CT's style. Oh, and Jerry the manager is ok too...wink!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Fabulous As Always!

Dined on April 9, 2016

My husband and I had the opportunity to experience Moxie's newly debuted menu and it did not disappoint! The food was fabulous as always and we particularly loved the outstanding level of service that we received. Our server, Joshua, was fabulous and went above and beyond to answer any questions we had and also provided excellent recommendations! We will definitely be returning to this local gem!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great place to go

Dined on April 9, 2016

Two thumbs up, and a solid five star. This place is a fantastic, and one of those experience that is a must. The chicken and waffles are to die for, the pig ears is a hit with everyone I've brought, the drinks are on a level of their own, and the atmosphere is fantastic.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always a fun experience

vip
Dined on April 7, 2016

Moxie gets it right, in every way.. super good food, presented creatively by happy servers in a lively atmosphere! Thank you for another great evening at Moxie!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Creative and current menu. So good.

Dined on April 7, 2016

Creative and current menu. So good.

food5
ambience4
service5
value4

One of the best meals I've had in Jacksonville.

Dined on April 5, 2016

It's a little small, but the take reservations and got seated as soon as we walked in the door even though people were waiting. Food was superb. A hidden Jem.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch
food4
ambience2
service4
value3

If Moxie only showed some moxie it would be great

Dined on April 2, 2016

While the food is creative and tasty and the wait staff does its best, there are not enough servers resulting in slow service and precious few refills on drinks. The overall noise level is so high you have to repeat yourselves to waiter staff repeatedly further slowing service. You also cannot talk to your companions. With a little effort and tweaking of the service, this could be a great spot.

Tags: notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Another great meal at Moxie!

Dined on April 1, 2016

This was my second visit to Moxie. The food was great and the service was excellent. I will be back!

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Dined with a party of eight for an early ...

Dined on March 27, 2016

Dined with a party of eight for an early Easter dinner. Servers were attentive and friendly. Food was excellent as was noted even by the non foodies of the party. As always, superb cocktail menu. Will continue to recommend highly.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, hot spot
food5
ambience4
service5

Dinner was excellent, desserts were aver ...

Dined on March 27, 2016

Dinner was excellent, desserts were average

food1
ambience1
service2
value1

The food for Easter Brunch ran out sever ...

Dined on March 27, 2016

The food for Easter Brunch ran out several times and was not good. The staff was not prepared for the brunch. The cost was 100 for two with a 7 dollar charge for each memosa (25). The only seafood was a smoked salmon and shrimp in a terrible casserole. Deserts were donuts and sliced pound cakes. coffee and bacon was good.

food5
ambience5
service5

Always wonderful food, beverages and ser ...

vip
Dined on March 25, 2016

Always wonderful food, beverages and service. Had a wonderful time!

food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Birthday to remember

Dined on March 25, 2016

Enjoyed the food, water and atmosphere. We were celebrating my birthday and wanted just the place to sitback , enjoy and feel good. This was our second time eating here, the grits tasted good but a little watery. One of the reasons we returned was for the grits and scallops a little disappointed in that but plan to return.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

The Chicken & Waffles are fantastic here ...

vip
Dined on March 25, 2016

The Chicken & Waffles are fantastic here. A really unique twist on Waffles - bread pudding like texture. A well done and crafted juicy chicken breast. Compliments to the kitchen. Will definitely come back!

food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Nontraditional and fabulous!

Dined on March 23, 2016

We were initially intimidated by their menu (pig ears & chicken livers?!), but finally built the courage to try it out. We were so surprised! The homemade sodas were a real treat, and the menu offered a mix of casual comfort foods with hard to find gems. Our waiter gave us a very honest approach to the menu, giving us recommendations and talking us into what became our favorite dishes! The layout of the restaurant is very cool, walking around you get a real sense of their attention to detail. It has a rustic vibe with a modern twist.The entire building is a work of art. My only regret was that it was too chilly to sit on the 2nd floor outdoor lounge!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, hot spot, vibrant bar scene

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.