About Moxie Kitchen + Cocktails

4972 Big Island Drive
Jacksonville, FL 32246
View Larger Map

Chef Tom Gray brings "locally-owned" to the Town Center neighborhood with his new American restaurant, Moxie Kitchen + Cocktails at the Markets at Town Center. The two-time James Beard Award nominated chef and his skilled team favor a fresh, contemporary approach providing creative inspirations for lunch and dinner and weekend brunches.

An “American flavors from coast to coast” menu offers fresh takes on classic favorites while the craft cocktails, local brews and Cal-centric wine menu command their own attention.

Inside the two-story restaurant, an urban rustic decor sets a modern tone to the dining rooms, and the buzz of the open kitchen and bars make for a lively atmosphere. Open air patios and covered dining terraces provide outdoor dining options year round with views on the nearby lake.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
LUNCH + DINNER Monday - Saturday from 11am.
BRUNCH + DINNER Sundays from 10am.
HANDCRAFTED HAPPY HOUR 7 Days a Week from 3pm - 7pm.
LATE NIGHT HAPPY HOUR Friday + Saturday 10pm - close.

Cross Street:
Town Center Parkway

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(904) 998-9744

Website:
http://www.moxiefl.com/

Parking Details:
Parking is available in the parking lot adjacent to the restaurant.

Executive Chef:
Tom Gray

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Moxie Kitchen + Cocktails Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.4

ambience

4.4

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Fit for Foodies (23)
Local Ingredients (23)
Special Occasion (22)
See All
Modern Decor (22)
Creative Cuisine (21)
Good for a Date (21)
Good for Anniversaries (20)
Open Kitchen (20)
Casual (19)
Good for Birthdays (19)
Fun (19)
Handcrafted Cocktails (18)
Hot Spot (16)
Business Meals (16)
Comfort Food (16)
Good for Groups (15)
Happy Hour (15)
Worth the Drive (14)
Vibrant Bar Scene (12)
Neighborhood Gem (12)
Great for Outdoor Dining (12)
Bar Seating (12)
Great for Lunch (11)
Cozy (11)
Authentic (10)
Romantic (10)
Seasonal (8)
Sunday Lunch (8)
Healthy (7)
Scenic View (7)
Tasting Menu (7)
Organic (7)
Notable Wine List (6)
Gluten Free Options (6)
Pre/post Theatre (6)
Good Vegetarian Options (5)
Vegan (4)
Kid-friendly (4)
People Watching (4)
Great for Brunch (4)
Quick Bite (4)
Private Room (3)
Paleo Friendly (3)
Quiet Conversation (3)
Great Beer (2)
Tapas (2)
Outstanding Value (2)
Family Style (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Waterfront (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Spicy (2)
Fireplace (1)
Live Music (1)
Dancing (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Sort By:
S
730 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Absolutely amazing food. Some very minor ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined 2 days ago

Absolutely amazing food. Some very minor server/bartender errors but they were fixed immediately. Ambience is wonderful. I would love to sit at the bar area in front of the kitchen!!

Tags: Authentic, Modern Decor, Bar Seating, Cozy, Comfort Food, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Girlfriend's Brunch. David was our waite ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined 2 days ago

Girlfriend's Brunch. David was our waiter and he was EXCELLENT! It was our first time at Moxie, but definitely not our last. The deviled eggs were good, the chicken livers were great! The omelet, 3 cheese grits, hangar steak and eggs...oh my! All delish! The 76 cocktail was a favorite.

And affordable is an understatement. Thank you. It truly made for a Sunday, Fun day!

Tags: Happy Hour, Fit for Foodies, Paleo Friendly, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food and service. I would definite ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined 5 days ago

Great food and service. I would definitely recommend Moxie's.

Tags: Hot Spot, Good for Groups, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Open Kitchen, Great Beer, Great for Outdoor Dining, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Unbelievable food, great service and coo ...

 
 (Omaha)·Dined 6 days ago

Unbelievable food, great service and cool atmosphere. Must stop for anyone in the area.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Authentic, Neighborhood Gem, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

This restaurant never ceases to amaze me ...

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined 7 days ago

This restaurant never ceases to amaze me. If you have not made this your staple restaurant you are missing out. try EVERYTHING>>>>>>

Tags: Cozy, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Business Meals, Fit for Foodies, Fun, Casual, Vibrant Bar Scene, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great for a bottle of wine and some appe ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on January 8, 2017

Great for a bottle of wine and some appetizers.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Our server Mike was truly amazing! Acco ...

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on January 8, 2017

Our server Mike was truly amazing! Accommodated all of our silly requests, was spot on with his recommendations and added to our experience. A great night with close friends was made even better.

Tags: Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was outstanding! I was pleased ...

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on January 7, 2017

The food was outstanding! I was pleased to see such a variety for gluten-free!! We can't wait to go back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

As always, FABULOUS! Chef Tom Gray does ...

vip
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on January 6, 2017

As always, FABULOUS! Chef Tom Gray does an amazing job!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Great for Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Sunday Lunch, Great for Brunch, Comfort Food, Local Ingredients, Gluten Free Options, Fit for Foodies, Happy Hour, Open Kitchen, Handcrafted Cocktails, Bar Seating, Healthy, Pre/post Theatre, Casual, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great New Year's brunch! Made-to-order o ...

vip
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Great New Year's brunch! Made-to-order omelets were out of this world! Also loved the shrimp & grits. Beautiful pastries delivered on flavor, too. Charcuterie was very tasty. Had fun at the bloody mary bar! Service was exceptional from the bartender as well as our server. Thanks for a great start to the New Year!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Handcrafted Cocktails, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It was a New years Day brunch which was ...

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on January 1, 2017

It was a New years Day brunch which was fabulous . I took my Sister and husband from out of town and they were very impressed. Everything was fresh and delicious! Our server was very attentive.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Great for Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Modern Decor, Quick Bite, Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We really enjoyed our New Year's Eve exp ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on January 1, 2017

We really enjoyed our New Year's Eve experience at Moxie, the food was good, service was great, and ambiance was chill but still offered a nice atmospher for the occasion. Drinks were great, would recommend for craft cocktails.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Organic, Comfort Food, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Always great food, great atmosphere, gre ...

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Always great food, great atmosphere, great service and awesome drinks

Tags: Scenic View, Organic, Tasting Menu, Vibrant Bar Scene, Comfort Food, Good for Groups, Bar Seating, Good for Birthdays, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

We took our 16 year old daughter for New ...

vip
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on December 31, 2016

We took our 16 year old daughter for New Year's Eve. She loved being able to have octopus AND chicken and waffles. Our server Peter was phenomenal and super Upbeat and fun to talk to! I have been to Moxie several times but this was the best visit so far!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

There are very few malls (if you can cal ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 31, 2016

There are very few malls (if you can call the St. Johns Town Center a mall, it's a megalopolis of shopping) in America where you can get a solid meal and cocktail at a locally-owned restaurant. I visited Moxie Kitchen + Cocktails twice in 2014 (once during its soft opening) and was impressed then. I'm stoked for Moxie that it's still competing strongly with the dozens of chain options at the Town Center.

I was surprised to snag a reservation at the last minute (booked the day before) for NYE. We ate early (6:00PM) and it was quiet, so service was quick (but friendly and attentive, as it had been on my previous two visits). First, I'd like to give a shout out to the bar for using local St. Augustine Distillery vodka in their Moscow Mules. Second, I love that Moxie is cool about sharing - we ordered a salad, which they split for two, as an appetizer, and the meatloaf, which they also split for two. Both were fresh and delicious, timed well, and sourced locally. The meatloaf was the perfect meal to have on Florida's one cold day of the year. Finally, we took the buttermilk pie(SERIOUSLY YUMMY) to go, since we had to catch a flight.

I will definitely return next time I'm in Jax and need to rest my shopping feet!

Tags: Casual, Fun, Modern Decor, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Had the nicest server, Deckland. The sh ...

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Had the nicest server, Deckland. The shift managers or store managers were frequent and visible & appeared to be very supportive of their employees. The girls at the front door were the typical pretty, but less than welcoming & unfriendly greeters. But don't let them dissuade you from a lovely experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Favorite restaurant in Jax! A little pri ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Favorite restaurant in Jax! A little pricy, but worth it completely!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Pimento cheese toast and day boat scal ...

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on December 25, 2016

Pimento cheese toast and day boat scallops were amazing! It's a little chilly in the restaurant, bring a sweater.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Fun! The people here are talented and ha ...

vip
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on December 21, 2016

Fun! The people here are talented and happy. The food is delicious. Always happy to come here. We leave satisfied and smiling!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fun place for the Sunday Brunch. The who ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 18, 2016

Fun place for the Sunday Brunch. The whole family (all ages) enjoyed the experience. Upstairs dining is the best. Creative architecture and design to match the creative food menu. It is all well done. A variety of choices on the menu satisfied everyone from 6 to 60 . Creative cocktails helped keep everyone happy too! Love this place.

Tags: Business Meals, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Great for Brunch, Creative Cuisine, Casual, Handcrafted Cocktails, Great for Outdoor Dining, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We love Moxie. They have great cocktails ...

vip
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on December 18, 2016

We love Moxie. They have great cocktails and delicious food. We just attended their Santa brunch & it was amazing. Pantries to die for! We'll definitely be in the lookout for their next event!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Waiter took a long time to serve us. Foo ...

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on December 18, 2016

Waiter took a long time to serve us.

Food was ok... Kind of cold

Waiter was nice once he came.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service3

I made a reservation with open table, ar ...

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on December 15, 2016

I made a reservation with open table, arrived on time but had to wait for 30 minutes to get seated. The noise level is high but everything is compensated by the excellent food, drinks and our attentive server.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

awesome night with the girls, great atte ...

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on December 13, 2016

awesome night with the girls, great attentive waiter, a little noisy, but excellent food. Desserts could be improved, but meal was awesome!

Tags: Tasting Menu, Handcrafted Cocktails, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Booked a table for two through OpenTable ...

 
 (Naples)·Dined on December 11, 2016

Booked a table for two through OpenTable and when I got there they showed me a couple of chairs at a counter looking a some food prep area and prep guy. They said that was all they had.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1

Food was amazing but service was off. Ou ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on December 10, 2016

Food was amazing but service was off. Our server brought us the wrong drinks and salads and kept apologizing profusely for how slow the bar was in getting drinks out (they were hosting a large holiday party).

Tags: Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value3

We went here for lunch and had a great m ...

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on December 10, 2016

We went here for lunch and had a great meal. The hand crafted cocktails were second to none and our service was impeccable. Unique and tasty menu.

Tags: Quick Bite, Late-night Find, Tasting Menu, Fun, Tapas, Modern Decor, Authentic, Good for Birthdays, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Loved this restaurant. As a vegetarian, ...

vip
 (Savannah)·Dined on December 7, 2016

Loved this restaurant. As a vegetarian, I was pleasantly surprised by their vegetarian & vegan menu...BBQ Tempeh was awesome. Will definitely go back!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Casual, Local Ingredients, Vegan, Business Meals, Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value3

Table wasn't ready for about 20 minutes ...

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on December 7, 2016

Table wasn't ready for about 20 minutes after the reservation. Food was good and service was good.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

We were in town on business and the clie ...

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on December 6, 2016

We were in town on business and the client suggested we 'try' this place for the first time for all of us. First, service - POOR - drinks from bar were made incorrectly and when given back to the bar, the redo took way to long! Server, was pleasant by absent - too slow and was not attentive to us wanting to order additional drinks - so we didn't. Food, eh -- way too eclectic for all of our tastes. Costs of meals, is never an issue when it comes to satisfying customers. I will not return here again for any reason. Atmosphere is very vibrant and WAY TOO LOUD to converse business talk.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service1
value1

This place was amazing. We were visitin ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on December 3, 2016

This place was amazing. We were visiting Jacksonville and found it on the internet.

The food was terrific and the service by Corey was phenomenal. He was so knowledgeable regarding the food choices. He was humorous and so accommodating. The prices were good for the high quality of food that was served. Delicious!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Hot Spot, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We were honored to be seated at the chef ...

 
 (Austin)·Dined on December 3, 2016

We were honored to be seated at the chefs table. It was a treat to see the head chef putting the finishing touches on the entrées. The service matched the quality of the food, excellent.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Modern Decor, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The food was very delicious! Things pair ...

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on December 3, 2016

The food was very delicious! Things paired together that I never thought would be tasty. The cocktail menu was extensive and well put together. My only complaint was my friends asked for a slice of pie for my birthday, the server said it was on the house, but I still got charged for it. It's whatever, it was only $7 but I dont think the server was paying much attention to us.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Food was great, as it always is.

 
 (London)·Dined on December 3, 2016

Food was great, as it always is.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3

Great server who was patient with the gr ...

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on November 28, 2016

Great server who was patient with the group of us. We all

Loved the food including meatloaf and the biscuit tots. Yum. Loved the Moscow mule too!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

1st time dining here and wasn't blown aw ...

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on November 27, 2016

1st time dining here and wasn't blown away. Went for brunch on a weekend. Nothing was terribly wrong but a bunch of little things weren't on point. Service was fairly slow overall but not bad. Ambiance on the patio was really nice and the weather was beautiful. Creative drink menu with wide selection of choices. Started with the kale salad and my partner had the chopped. Kale salad tasted ok but it was on the tiniest plate possible, making it extremely difficult to cut up into manageable bites and lost a good bit of my salad to the table. Also, the 'stone fruit' was over ripe and somewhat soggy and it was supposed to have goat cheese but i'm pretty sure it was some type of grated pecorino instead. Wasn't offered any pepper and there was none of the table. My partners salad was super spicy (borderline inedible, although we like spicy) and it had a funky burnt taste to it. I thought it might be the peanuts that were burnt but I tried one on its own and it was fine. Not sure where the burnt flavor came from but it was overpowering and unenjoyable. The cocktail was served in a super cool copper pineapple and tasted pretty good. A little on the sweet side but we added some more pepper and let it water down a bit, then it was good. Nothing really stood out on the brunch menu so we decided to wait for the dinner menu options and ordered the po boy. It was ok, not sure what type of fish it was as it never said and no one mentioned at any point. The bread was pretty much a hotdog bun and was sort of gummy. The honey mustard tasted like heinz yellow mustard and the spicy ranch was very reminiscent of a remoulaude. Overall the restaurant was visually appealing with a creative cocktail menu and an ok food menu but the food was mediocre at best. I wouldn't return unless it was for a special event of some type and I wasn't paying.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Local Ingredients, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value2

This restaurant is rapidly becoming a fa ...

vip
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on November 27, 2016

This restaurant is rapidly becoming a favorite. I asked for my meal to be prepared differently than it was on the menu. Not only were they very accommodating, the meal was delicious, as were the rest of our party's meals. Do not miss the smoked trout dip appetizer!

Tags: People Watching, Fun, Special Occasion, Happy Hour, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great service, but the menu is really sm ...

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on November 26, 2016

Great service, but the menu is really small and is very exotic. None of us liked anything we got. Prices were really high for such dissappointing food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service4
value1

It was the front evening of friends cat ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 23, 2016

It was the front evening of friends catching up.

We really enjoyed the restaurant, the ride to the menu, and the staff and management were very friendly. Looking forward to going back soon.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

My husband and I went here for anniversa ...

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on November 13, 2016

My husband and I went here for anniversary but wasnt really impressed first of all when I received my food it was loaded with peas which I hate should have been green beans so I said to the staff I may have looked at menu wrong but I thought this was green beans the response I got was "well if we run out of stuff we just replace with something else". We were like WOW what a response. Well that was unacceptable due to peas and green beans are totally diff and I would have never ordered with peas. So they meantion to kitchen and sure enough was made wrong so yall took care of my dinner which is NOT was what I was trying to get FREE DINNER but I appreciated. Since special occasion we had planned on getting dessert. Well we were never askes if we wanted any like most places do. Our waters pitcher/jar was never refilled and it was empty. So we left there went some other place for dessert . So we left there with not a good first time experience. Thanks for your time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.