About Moxie Kitchen + Cocktails

4972 Big Island Drive
Jacksonville, FL 32246
View Larger Map

Chef Tom Gray brings "locally-owned" to the Town Center neighborhood with his new American restaurant, Moxie Kitchen + Cocktails at the Markets at Town Center. The two-time James Beard Award nominated chef and his skilled team favor a fresh, contemporary approach providing creative inspirations for lunch and dinner and weekend brunches.

An “American flavors from coast to coast” menu offers fresh takes on classic favorites while the craft cocktails, local brews and Cal-centric wine menu command their own attention.

Inside the two-story restaurant, an urban rustic decor sets a modern tone to the dining rooms, and the buzz of the open kitchen and bars make for a lively atmosphere. Open air patios and covered dining terraces provide outdoor dining options year round with views on the nearby lake.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
LUNCH + DINNER Monday - Saturday from 11am.
BRUNCH + DINNER Sundays from 10am.
HANDCRAFTED HAPPY HOUR 7 Days a Week from 3pm - 7pm.
LATE NIGHT HAPPY HOUR Friday + Saturday 10pm - close.

Cross Street:
Town Center Parkway

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(904) 998-9744

Website:
http://www.moxiefl.com/

Parking Details:
Parking is available in the parking lot adjacent to the restaurant.

Executive Chef:
Tom Gray

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Moxie Kitchen + Cocktails Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.5

ambience

4.4

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Contemporary American
Jacksonville
Most Booked
Jacksonville
Best Restaurants in Jacksonville ›

Fit for Foodies (53)
Special Occasion (40)
Good for Groups (36)
See All
Hot Spot (28)
Vibrant Bar Scene (25)
Neighborhood Gem (22)
Great for Lunch (20)
Great for Outdoor Dining (15)
Romantic (14)
Great for Brunch (13)
Notable Wine List (11)
Good for a Date (11)
Handcrafted Cocktails (10)
Creative Cuisine (10)
Local Ingredients (9)
Good for Birthdays (8)
Good for Anniversaries (8)
Business Meals (8)
Happy Hour (8)
Late-night Find (6)
Modern Decor (6)
Bar Seating (6)
Casual (5)
Worth the Drive (5)
People Watching (5)
Scenic View (5)
Fun (4)
Kid-friendly (4)
Open Kitchen (4)
Pre/post Theatre (4)
Private Room (4)
Comfort Food (3)
Gluten Free Options (3)
Cozy (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Family Style (2)
Great Beer (2)
Seasonal (2)
Disabled Access (1)
Authentic (1)
Vegan (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Tapas (1)
Organic (1)
Quiet Conversation (1)
Sort By:
Newest
662 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

While the food did not disappoint - deli ...

 
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined 3 days ago

While the food did not disappoint - delicious - the noise level ( seated at table in bar area upstairs) and service awful. You couldn't talk to the person next to you at a four top. First issue - table not ready when arrived. Not a problem enjoyed checking out the upstairs bar. However when we did get called it was a table that had been open upstairs the whole time we had been there. Then drinks were tediously slow to come. Desserts took almost 30 minutes - to the point where we had them boxed up to go - which took another 10. Left overall disappointed. When we went down to get table there was a booth just being reset not sure why when you make a dinner reservation you are seated in the middle of the bar at a very uncomfortable table which also rocked through the whole meal. Pimento toasts - great! Chick & waffle - excellent! Livers - very good - never did get blue cheese offered for them. Not sure if we will go back after this for more than lunch or drink & apps.

Tags: Hot Spot, Bar Seating, Scenic View, Fit for Foodies, People Watching, Modern Decor, Vibrant Bar Scene, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service2
value4

This was a special birthday lunch for on ...

 
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined 4 days ago

This was a special birthday lunch for one of our group-- meal was good--service was good and overall we enjoyed our luncheon

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Scenic View, Fun, Family Style, Quiet Conversation, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had the Sip and Savor 3-course lunch ...

 
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined 5 days ago

We had the Sip and Savor 3-course lunch . Appetizers were great, but dessert was lacking (pudding was really just chocolate pudding and cookie was dry and crumbly). Overall we really like the service and fresh ingredients.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Great for Lunch, Comfort Food, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Great food and overall experience. Loved ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined 6 days ago

Great food and overall experience. Loved the chicken and waffles and the unique cocktails.

Tags: Bar Seating, Tasting Menu, Business Meals, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

I've been here a few times and I have en ...

 
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on September 11, 2016

I've been here a few times and I have enjoyed it every time. The food here is excellent and the staff is great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

The food was delicious. The menu has a w ...

 
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

The food was delicious. The menu has a wide range of flavors and everyone at our table ordered something very different and each dish was very good. The made in house sodas are so good. I would go back just for the sodas. Service was good. The wait time for a reservation was a little long. Biggest complaint was the chairs were really uncomfortable and we were in a back room on the second floor without much of a view and a large party that got really loud and in a room with echoes that tainted the experience a little. We will go back but would insist on better seating. Small metal chairs at a place like this doesn't go.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

I had the salmon. Really good meal.

vip
 (Denver)
·Dined on September 6, 2016

I had the salmon. Really good meal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Our group spent the two hours before din ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

Our group spent the two hours before dinner bar-hopping. Sad we didn't go straight to Moxie. In the town center area, they have the best food and cocktails hands down. Emphasis on cocktails. Nothing we drank before compared to the deliciousness we experienced at Moxie. Keep up the great work!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

The food was excellent but it can be exp ...

 
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

The food was excellent but it can be expensive. Ambiance is fantastic, nice decor, and clean. My only complaint was that they sat our large party in a cramped corner. Overall, it was fun and the upstairs bar was phenomenal! It was perfect for our special occasion.

Tags: Happy Hour, Open Kitchen, Business Meals, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

I met some girlfriends for dinner and dr ...

 
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on September 2, 2016

I met some girlfriends for dinner and drinks on a Friday evening. We had appetizers, hapy hour drinks, and entrees. Once we paid our check, we sat and talked for awhile. We decided to reopen our tab after almost an hour, and never felt as if we were being pushed out of our table.

Our server was amazing - pleasant, cheerful, and knowledgeable about all the menu items (drinks and food and dessert). I wish I could remember her name to give her direct kudos. She never pressured us to order or pay the check, she was accommodating, and she had a great demeanor. As someone who spent a lot of years in food service, I appreciated this a LOT.

The food was incredible. We had cheese curds, deviled eggs, and pimento cheese for appetizers, and I had the chicken and waffles for entree. I also tasted the chopped salad with seared tuna. For dessert I had the s'mores cake, and several of my friends had a spiked malt. Everyone enjoyed their meals. The food was spectacular - well prepared, well seasoned, and perfect portions.

Drinks were phenomenal as well. The bartenders delivered our drinks to the tables, which was a nice touch. The happy hour cocktails were phenomenal, and my Old Fashioned was one of the best I've ever had.

I'll be back for sure. This was one of the best dining experiences I've had in a long time. If you can figure out who our server was, please give her kudos. She was awesomely amazing.

Tags: Romantic, Notable Wine List, Pre/post Theatre, Local Ingredients, Business Meals, Great Beer, Happy Hour, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, People Watching, Gluten Free Options, Vegan, Comfort Food, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Seasonal, Great for Outdoor Dining, Private Room, Good for Birthdays, Fun, Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The service that evening was great. Ever ...

 
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

The service that evening was great. Everything we ordered was fabulous, from the Kale salad to start, to the meat loaf and bay scallops entrees. For dessert, the s'mores roll was simply amazing.

No doubt Moxie is a true Jacksonville gem.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Moxie is fabulous in every aspect. the p ...

vip
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on August 26, 2016

Moxie is fabulous in every aspect. the portions are perfect size and everything is delicious.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

First time having lunch here. Good iced ...

 
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on August 23, 2016

First time having lunch here. Good iced tea. Very noisy. Food was excellent as always. Seemed nosier at lunch than usually at dinner.

Tags: Casual, Handcrafted Cocktails, Modern Decor, Quick Bite
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

I order gluten free here all the time. T ...

vip
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

I order gluten free here all the time. This time they brought my daughters meal out with a regular bun and fries that were not GF. Luckily I recognized the bun wasn't what she usually has but she already ate some fries by then. No manager even apologized. It just took he forever to get her meal replaced. They normally do not make mistakes here but this was a bad one.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value4

Cheddar biscuit tots and gazpacho were r ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

Cheddar biscuit tots and gazpacho were really delicious. However, the hostess was rude and the server took forever.

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value3

There's never been a meal that has not m ...

 
 (Orlando)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

There's never been a meal that has not met my standards. I love the ambiance but more importantly the service is friendly

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Sat upstairs at the bar and enjoyed bart ...

vip
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

Sat upstairs at the bar and enjoyed bartender's suggestions, excellent service and scrumptious food! We really like the ability to custom-size our selections. Nothing like the wedge salad, pimento cheese toast and chicken livers. Always a pleasure at Moxie!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Fun, Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Cozy, Tapas, Quick Bite, Open Kitchen, Authentic, Neighborhood Gem, Happy Hour, Pre/post Theatre, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We go to Moxie often and love it every t ...

 
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

We go to Moxie often and love it every time, no matter what we order. The service is friendly and very attentive, the dishes are unique and clearly made from scratch. Can't beat the quality, and it's locally owned too.

Tags: Special Occasion, Casual, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We were welcomed as soon as we walked in ...

 
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

We were welcomed as soon as we walked in. The hostess told our waiter, Jamieson that it was our first visit and he treated us to his favorite appetizer! The pimento cheese was awesome! Loved the atmosphere, food, and amazing service. Highly recommend.

Tags: Good for Groups, Gluten Free Options, Private Room, Local Ingredients, Vibrant Bar Scene, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The gnocchi were perfection. The salmon ...

 
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

The gnocchi were perfection. The salmon moist and cooked perfectly. The desserts were fantastic. Wish the staff were better dressed. Hostess in jeans takes away and the servers would look much more professional in a standard dark slacks instead of wrinkled kakis, etc. Our server was friendly and knew the products well. A little loud. Could use some sort of noise cancelling. Overall very nice experience.

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

this was my 3rd visit some of the food ...

 
·Dined on August 19, 2016

this was my 3rd visit some of the food was made differently and not quite as good as before.

otherwise still like it here.

Tags: Casual, Comfort Food, Modern Decor, Good Vegetarian Options, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Good food and drinks. Atmosphere was not ...

 
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on August 17, 2016

Good food and drinks. Atmosphere was not very good. Very loud couldn't understand the waiter because it was so loud. Prices were higher than I expected. You also have to pay to share a dinner plate haven't seen that before.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3

The food was amazing, the booths are ver ...

 
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

The food was amazing, the booths are very comfortable and private on the first floor. All staff was very attentive.

Tags: Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Kid-friendly, Vibrant Bar Scene, Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Moxie never fails to exceed our expectat ...

vip
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Moxie never fails to exceed our expectations! We had several new patrons with us and I assure you that they will be back! :)

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Service was good. Kinda loud but it was ...

 
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Service was good. Kinda loud but it was Friday night so I get it. Nice first experience. Although the food is over priced. There are better restaurants in jax with those prices.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3

great drinks and innovative food; portio ...

 
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on August 10, 2016

great drinks and innovative food; portions small but quality high - a good trade-off! Good happy hour!!! -

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Hot Spot, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

As usual- great service-- drinks are alw ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

As usual- great service-- drinks are always consistently good- we like cosmos - excellent and always the same fromvisit to visit. My wife is vegan and she can always find good dishes. Their food is interesting and delicious ( I like their deviled egg appetizer- fantastic!. ) Recommend to all

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Special Occasion, Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent food, innovative. good portio ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

Excellent food, innovative. good portion size (not too big). Open kitchen allows you to see food prep. Good wine list.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Food was great..service was slow with a ...

 
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

Food was great..service was slow with a little miscommunication..we were served by a trainee so the experience was a first for everyone

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

Sunday evening...and still the food was ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

Sunday evening...and still the food was delicious, the service attentive. Great craft cocktails. Will definitely return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Four of us went for Sunday brunch at 11 ...

 
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

Four of us went for Sunday brunch at 11 a.m. The starters and entree plates on the brunch menu are innovatively conceived, well presented, and generally delicious. Three of us raved about theirs. Mine, however -- the housemade-pastrami plate -- was way over-peppered with black pepper on the pastrami and the mustard-based Moxie sauce was too heavily weighted with Dijon for my taste.

Will return to try some of the other dishes.

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

Everything was delicious and well cooked ...

vip
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

Everything was delicious and well cooked! Tried a little bit of everything and was blown away!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We have dined at Moxie twice previously. ...

vip
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on July 28, 2016

We have dined at Moxie twice previously. We took friends and the experience was great. As usual my wife and I enjoyed our meals (salmon and trout). Our friends both had the scallops and were very impressed. Their response to the meal was "fantastic, we will definitely come back."

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Food was subpar this time. I will think ...

 
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on July 25, 2016

Food was subpar this time. I will think twice about going back for awhile. Is a different chef on board?

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service4
value3

If you are looking for a meal that is de ...

 
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on July 25, 2016

If you are looking for a meal that is delicious and unique then this is your place. We were seated facing the kitchen and was able to watch the different entrees leave the kitchen. I wanted to try each one. Our food was delicious and the wait staff was spot on. I have already recommended Moxie's to traveler's I met on an airplane and to my co-workers and friends. I am anxious to go back and try something a different entree. You can't miss with this restaurant.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great brunch menu, the tofu scramble was ...

vip
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

Great brunch menu, the tofu scramble was a big hit, my omelet with oysters, creme fresh, and bacon was delicious !! Great service.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Delicious food Juicy fried chicken Shri ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

Delicious food

Juicy fried chicken

Shrimp and grits had a great blend of spicy and tangy flavors

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Moxie is our favorite restaurant in Jack ...

 
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

Moxie is our favorite restaurant in Jacksonville. The food is always delicious! You really can't go wrong with anything on the menu, but my favorite is the Scottish seared salmon with goat cheese potatoes.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Service can be sooooooo sloooow. It ama ...

vip
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

Service can be sooooooo sloooow. It amazes me how long we regularly have to wait to even get our order in. While it's nice to not be rushed, a 90 min lunch is hard to make happen.

Also, I notice that whenever Chef Tom is not there, I have problems with the team getting my dietary restrictions right and wind up getting food that would make me sick if I wasn't diligent.

Food is always amazing, though. Always. Love the menu.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2

Excellent meal. Fare was creative and ex ...

vip
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on July 21, 2016

Excellent meal. Fare was creative and excellently prepared. Service was attentive and helpful but not overwhelming or pushy. We sat upstairs in a back room, and they were able to close a curtain to separate our smaller room from the louder bar noise. Even though there were still multiple tables in our section, we were able to hear the conversation comfortably despite the crowd. We were very impressed overall and would definitely return.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.