Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.91mi
  2. Distance: 1.22mi
  3. Distance: 2.47mi
  4. Distance: 2.49mi
  1. Distance: 0.91mi
  2. Distance: 1.22mi
  3. Distance: 2.47mi
  4. Distance: 2.49mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.91mi
  2. Distance: 1.22mi
  3. Distance: 2.47mi
  4. Distance: 2.49mi
  1. Distance: 0.91mi
  2. Distance: 1.22mi
  3. Distance: 2.47mi
  4. Distance: 2.49mi

About Mountain Branch Grille & Pub

One of the best restaurants in Maryland is located just two miles from I-95 exit 74 at Mountain Branch Golf Course - 20 minutes from Baltimore.
Constructed out of three acres of Oregon’s finest Douglas Fir, the historic-looking timber-pegged post and beam structure has high ceilings, multilevel architecture and a magnificent view. The Grille & Pub at Mountain Branch is a favorite for relaxing after a round of golf and is an ever-popular destination for lunch, dinner and late night. Spacious patios afford dining al fresco when the weather is mild. And when winter winds are blowing, a large fireplace keeps the inside warm and cozy. The American-classic menu offers a diverse mix of tastes, including soups, salads, and sandwiches as well as fresh fish, crab cakes and Angus beef. Our chefs take pride in keeping the offerings creative and interesting - taking full advantage of fresh seasonal ingredients.

1827 Mountain Road
Joppa, MD 21085
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, American, Steak

Hours of Operation:
Brunch: Sunday: 9:30am - 1:00pm;
Lunch -Monday - Saturday: 11:00am - 4:00pm;
Dinner: Monday - Sunday 4.00pm -9.00pm

Cross Street:
Singer Road

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(410) 836-9600

Website:
http://www.mountainbranch.com/

Entertainment:
Will return in the Spring.

Catering:
Private Parties:
The warm and inviting clubhouse delivers the perfect blend of casual comfort and flexible gathering space with the private rooms for smaller gatherings and the spacious enclosed pavilion for events up to 200 guests. Every room sports panoramic views of the rolling greens and fairways,always a treat for the eye at any time of year. A variety of flexible banquet packages are available or you can custom-design your own event with help from our events planning staff.

Contact: Leeann White 410-836-9600 ext.1126

Executive Chef:
Jason Openhym

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Join us for our Father's Day Brunch June 18th $24.95 adults $8.95 children
Unlimited Bloody Mary's or Mimosa Bar for an additional $5.00 per person.

Monday - Thursday 3 course menu $30 changes weekly.


Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Sun - Thu 4:00PM - 5:30PM

Private Dining

Where Great Events Begin Our rustic Loft with views over the golf course is perfect for any occasion.The Founders room is the perfect room for a dinner meeting, or private celebration. Our air conditioned tented pavilion complete with chandeliers is spectacular for your larger events.

Mountain Branch Grille & Pub Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.3

ambience

4.4

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

97% would recommend it to a friend

Scenic View (17)
Good for Birthdays (12)
Special Occasion (12)
See All
Great for Outdoor Dining (12)
Good for Anniversaries (11)
Good for a Date (11)
Great for Lunch (9)
Great for Brunch (8)
Worth the Drive (7)
Quiet Conversation (7)
Casual (6)
Good for Groups (6)
Fit for Foodies (5)
Fun (5)
Cozy (5)
Business Meals (4)
Neighborhood Gem (4)
Sunday Lunch (4)
Vibrant Bar Scene (4)
Bar Seating (4)
Romantic (4)
Happy Hour (4)
Handcrafted Cocktails (3)
Comfort Food (3)
Waterfront (2)
Creative Cuisine (2)
Live Music (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Notable Wine List (1)
Fireplace (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Seasonal (1)
Authentic (1)
People Watching (1)
Great Beer (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Sort By:
S
693 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined a day ago

Great staff, Joan is the best !

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on August 13, 2017

This place is the best brunch in Hartford County! There is no better place to sit outside with a few mimosas and have a ton of great food.

I love this place!!!

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on August 11, 2017

Great service and real good food
Friendly staff and great ambiance

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on July 22, 2017

We were in town for a jr baseball tournament up the road and finally had to have something besides "bar food". Even though it did take a while for our food to come out, everything else was really great. They did have a small wedding going on so that might have been some of the delay.

Would most certainly go back if we were in the area!

Tags: Scenic View, Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value4

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on July 13, 2017

My wife I had dinner on Thursday evening (7/13/17) at 5 p.m. to celebrate my wife's birthday and the food and service was excellent!! Our only complaint was the noise from the bar adjacent to the dining area. I would recommend the Bartender remind patrons the inside dining area is very close to the bar and if they wish to be boisterous then take the conversation to the outdoor patio. We will definitely return again and see if the noise level is any different.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on July 11, 2017

I have been there when a band is playing and that is a different vibe. Our waiter was very nice and attentive,

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on July 9, 2017

Server left our food sitting on a tray for about 10 minutes. When we brought it to their attention, they re-made our dishes and all was good.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service2
value3

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on July 1, 2017

Great food, ambience, and view. We had French Onion Soup, Caesar Salad, Beef Sirloin, NZ Lamb, Pork Chop, Crab Cakes, and Penne with Blackened Chicken. All OUTSTANDING!
Not rushed. Lots of time to chat and catch-up with old friends.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails, Great Beer, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining, Vibrant Bar Scene, Romantic, Great for Lunch, Good for Groups, Scenic View, Business Meals, Bar Seating, Disabled Access, Sunday Lunch, Fun, Casual, Good for Birthdays, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on June 30, 2017

Great outdoor dining with the view of the golf course. Food was awesome.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on June 29, 2017

We went to Mountain Branch with my adult son and his girlfriend. Got a table by the window which was great. Ordered drinks and waited, and waited, and waited. Finally came and they were fine. Then ordered an appetizer which was a cheese plate, consisting of two, maybe three kinds of cheeses, some grainy mustard and some soft red peppers. And guess what...we waited and waited, and waited and waited, and waited,and waited, and waited....to the point the waitress was even aware and checked on the progress twice, kept us informed and even agreed we'd waited way too long with no prompting from us. As the waitress placed the cheese plate on the table, she said "I'm taking this off the check, you shouldn't have had to wait this long." The waitress left and said I'm checking on the entrees to make sure they're not late. Our food came in normal time and was fine. We got desert, coffee, then the check without incident. I paid the check with a gift certificate and a gift card. Honest mistake occurred on the restaurants part and I walked out still owing a little over $100 and was unaware of it. I got a call at home that night, and agreed to stop in the next day and pay my debt.
I know some of you are saying "I wouldn't have paid that", but I legitimately owed it to them and they were going to make the waitress pay it if I didn't. Mistakes happen to us all.
This was a Thursday night, and they have a deck party every Thursday, however the restaurant wasn't crowded at all. Would I go back.....probably, but not if I wanted to impress someone or it was a special occasion.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on June 27, 2017

High school group of friends had lunch here. We have been here before and love it. Was quite surprised when they offered to give us separate checks.

We ARE GOING TO RESERVE THIS PLACE FOR A HS REUNION NEXT YEAR!

We love it. Choices are fantastic! More than you can eat and the onion soup is fantastic!!!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on June 18, 2017

Second time here. The food was delicious as always, but the service was a little slow. We were seated between two large parties at a four-top, at which my elbow leaned against the post the whole time. Would have preferred sitting by the window with a view of the breathtaking vista!

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Business Meals, Great for Outdoor Dining, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on June 18, 2017

Excellent Father's Day Brunch! The omelet station and beef carving station is a nice addition to the regular self serve brunch food that people can find at other restaurants. Our favorite items at the pastry station included the warm bread pudding with sauce and the warm cinnamon rolls. The servers were friendly and efficient. No wonder Mountain Branch gets top ratings year after year for their Sunday brunch.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Great for Brunch, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on June 18, 2017

Very enjoyable and efficient....did not have to wait for our reservation and service was quick and polite!

Tags: Scenic View, Quick Bite, Tasting Menu, Great for Lunch, Comfort Food, Good Vegetarian Options, Seasonal, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on June 15, 2017

We went for the Thursday night Prime Rib dinner and were
disappointed to find out that if was discontinued!

Tags: Business Meals, Great for Brunch, Vibrant Bar Scene, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on June 4, 2017

We consistently have a great meal when we go here. I enjoy all of their fish dishes, as well as the chicken. Great outdoor patio looking over the golf course.

Tags: Bar Seating, Scenic View, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Groups, Happy Hour, Kid-friendly, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Casual, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on May 29, 2017

great halfway between dc and philly

Tags: Scenic View, Handcrafted Cocktails, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 27, 2017

Very good food and service.

Tags: Special Occasion, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on May 25, 2017

The food as always was good. The band on the back porch was so loud, combined with the noise from the bar it was hard to have a conversation. Service was very slow and at times rude. We sat there nearly 30 minutes before our waitress even took our order. We've eaten there many times and this has to be the worst we have experienced.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service2

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on May 20, 2017

Excellent service and food was very good.
Enjoyed afternoon snakes and drinks

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on May 11, 2017

Sad that the prime rib special won't be back until November--definitely our favorite!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on April 30, 2017

Wonderful brunch spot with lots of food options, great for special events. My family really enjoyed the experience!

Tags: Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Great for Brunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on April 28, 2017

Went to Mountain Branch for a Birthday dinner. The food was outstanding, and the service was second to none. Very Relaxed and comfortable atmosphere. Open & Airy with a great view of the golf course. We will definitely be back.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Casual, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Good for Birthdays, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on April 27, 2017

Four of us went to celebrate a birthday. Margaret, our waitress, was excellent as always!
All four of us ordered the Queen Cut Prime Rib. It was mouth watering and could be easily cut with a butter knife.
All were served at the proper temperature.
Fantastic night celebrating a wonderful man's birthday that was made even better with the fine food and excellent service.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Sunday Lunch, Great for Brunch, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on April 4, 2017

Restaurant connected to a golf course but that does not distract from the dining area. always consistently very good. The Blackened tuna sandwich is a 1" thick piece of tuna with sautéed onions and peppers, excellent. This time it was just a little off so I rated 4 stars vs 5. the Maryland crab soup is the traditional style that I love.

Tags: Great Beer, Scenic View, Comfort Food, Business Meals, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on March 31, 2017

The service was great and the atmosphere was cozy. We enjoyed the cabin feel and the view of the golf course.
It is disappointing that you can not substitute items on the menu but we were a group and made that inconvenience work with food trading haha. Trading, because food "sharing" does have a fee here.

Tags: Cozy, Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on March 22, 2017

We went to an event that had three meal options, so not a wide selection. It took 2 hours to have dinner. We overheard the hostess complaining that our tables hadn't "turned over" yet, but we hadn't gotten our dinner! Seemed when service lagged, or food was affected. I got steak, it was COLD when I received it. But, I didn't return it because I didn't want to wait 2 more hours.

Iv'e been here many times, this was by far our worst experience. I would highly recommend the sunday brunch, runs smoothly, plenty of options, and its a buffet, so you don't have to wait for the kitchen!

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value3

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on March 18, 2017

Great restaurant for special occasions or just to have a night out with friends. Food is wonderful and the staff are very friendly and help to make your evening special.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on March 10, 2017

The food was good but not great. The service was also good but not great.

Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 4, 2017

French onion soup was delicious. Decent wine list and excellent service. We love the bar area and patio overlooking the golf course. It's a beautiful spot, rarely found in this area. We love it here!

Tags: Quick Bite, Tasting Menu, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on February 28, 2017

My friends and I had a great get together. The food was very good, and we really stayed for a long time. The staff was patient with us and did not rush us out. It was a beautiful day. We enjoyed the view and the welcoming atmoshere. We will be back!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Good for Groups, Cozy, Outstanding Value, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 26, 2017

We went for the Sunday brunch and found some of the hot food to be cold at 10:00 am. Wonderful deserts. The staff was attentive and courteous. The restaurant has a great view of the golf course. The furniture, fixtures, carpeting and decor is dated and could use refreshing. At $25 per person, there could have been a better selection of foods. The bagels were stale and no other breads were available

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on February 23, 2017

The prime rib special was outstanding--it included a Caesar salad, prime rib done to perfection, green beans and mashed potatoes. Our server, Justin, was attentive and knowledgeable--he even went back into the kitchen and found anchovies for our Caesar salad! We will definitely return!

Tags: Outstanding Value, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on February 18, 2017

Mountain Branch Grill is located in a beautiful stone building overlooking the 18th hole of a golf course. We went there with friends to celebrate a birthday. The menu had many fine choices plus several specials that night. The rockfish and salmon dishes were excellent. I had a seafood stew that was outstanding. Even though it was very crowded that night the service was unbelievable. Our waitress (Brieanna) was one of the best waitress that we have ever had. What more could you ask for great friends, great food, great service and a Happy Birthday.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on February 18, 2017

We had lunch upstairs as there was an "event" booked for the first floor. Space is not as attractive or bright as downstairs but that did not affect our lunch with friends. 2 of us had Reuben's, one a cheesesteak and the other chicken salad. Everyone enjoyed their lunch. For dessert, the bread pudding is delicious! And one in our party enjoyed a pumpkin martini! Yum!🍸

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View, Great for Outdoor Dining, Sunday Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Brunch selection was great. Some things were cold but warmed/hot versions were excellent

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Ordered the crab cakes, over cooked on bottom, med inside. Cesar salad good, wife had seared rock fish, had better at other seafood places. My French fries were cold inside. Waiter covering other tables, couple entered at sat next to us after we were seated served before we were.

Tags: Afternoon Coffee
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on January 30, 2017

All the food was very good except the Filet Mignon. The steak was chewy and the texture was stringy. It tasted more like pot roast or a cheaper cut of meat. We have had Filet Mignon steak there before and they were excellent. So not sure why these two steaks were not very good. We did let the management know about the steaks. The service was very good, but the restaurant was not busy at all. This was on a Monday evening. My wife and I were celebrating our 46th Wedding Anniversary and we did enjoy being the only couple there for about a half hour. A few other couples did come in for dinner around 7:30pm but it was very nice to have the attention of the two servers. One was in training and both were very attentive and engaging. We both had a very nice romantic evening.

Tags: Cozy, Great for Brunch, Special Occasion, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Enjoyed Great Sunday brunch with friends! Delicious!

Tags: Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on January 22, 2017

We went to Mountain branch for an anniversary brunch.Our reservation was for 1:30 PM unfortunately brunch seating stop at 1 PM. We still had a good meal. Our server Matthew was a gem he was attentive and thoughtful. Had a great experience. Dave B

Tags: Scenic View, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.