About Mountain Branch Grille & Pub

1827 Mountain Road
Joppa, MD 21085
View Larger Map

One of the best restaurants in Maryland is located just two miles from I-95 exit 74 at Mountain Branch Golf Course - 20 minutes from Baltimore.
Constructed out of three acres of Oregon’s finest Douglas Fir, the historic-looking timber-pegged post and beam structure has high ceilings, multilevel architecture and a magnificent view. The Grille & Pub at Mountain Branch is a favorite for relaxing after a round of golf and is an ever-popular destination for lunch, dinner and late night. Spacious patios afford dining al fresco when the weather is mild. And when winter winds are blowing, a large fireplace keeps the inside warm and cozy. The American-classic menu offers a diverse mix of tastes, including soups, salads, and sandwiches as well as fresh fish, crab cakes and Angus beef. Our chefs take pride in keeping the offerings creative and interesting - taking full advantage of fresh seasonal ingredients.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, American, Steak

Hours of Operation:
Brunch: Sunday: 9:30am - 1:00pm;
Lunch -Monday - Saturday: 11:00am - 4:00pm;
Dinner: Monday - Sunday 4.00pm -9.00pm

Cross Street:
Singer Road

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(410) 836-9600

Website:
http://www.mountainbranch.com/

Entertainment:
Will return in the Spring.

Catering:
Private Parties:
The warm and inviting clubhouse delivers the perfect blend of casual comfort and flexible gathering space with the private rooms for smaller gatherings and the spacious enclosed pavilion for events up to 200 guests. Every room sports panoramic views of the rolling greens and fairways,always a treat for the eye at any time of year. A variety of flexible banquet packages are available or you can custom-design your own event with help from our events planning staff.

Contact: Leeann White 410-836-9600 ext.1126

Executive Chef:
W. Lee Glanville

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Takeout, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Join us for our Sunday Brunch $19.95 adults $8.95 children
Unlimited Bloody Mary's or Mimosa Bar for an additional $5.00 per person.
Monday - Wednesday 3 course menu $25 changes weekly.

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

See availability for 1000 point tables

Details
Sun - Mon 4:00PM - 7:00PM

Tue - Thu 4:00PM - 6:00PM

Fri 8:00PM - 10:00PM

Sat 4:00PM - 6:00PM 8:00PM - 10:00PM

Private Dining

Where Great Events Begin Our rustic Loft with views over the golf course is perfect for any occasion.The Founders room is the perfect room for a dinner meeting, or private celebration. Our air conditioned tented pavilion complete with chandeliers is spectacular for your larger events.

Mountain Branch Grille & Pub Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.1

ambience

4.3

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Great for Brunch
Baltimore / Maryland
Outdoor Dining
Baltimore Suburbs
Most Booked 1000-Point Tables
Baltimore Suburbs
Best Restaurants in Joppa ›

Scenic View (37)
Great for Outdoor Dining (24)
Special Occasion (19)
See All
Neighborhood Gem (16)
Good for Groups (16)
Great for Brunch (16)
Great for Lunch (15)
Romantic (9)
Fit for Foodies (8)
Vibrant Bar Scene (7)
Kid-friendly (4)
Notable Wine List (2)
Hot Spot (2)
Sort By:
Newest
590 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Food was delicious and service was excel ...

vip
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

Food was delicious and service was excellent. Our server was Eren. He was very friendly and accommodating. It was a pleasure to dine at his table and have him as our server.

Tags: Scenic View, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Excellent appetizers--cream of crab soup ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on August 11, 2016

Excellent appetizers--cream of crab soup, crab dip, Caesar salad! Dinners were excellently prepared and had great flavor! We will definitely return!

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Our waiter was great. We were there for ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

Our waiter was great. We were there for Restaurant Week which included dessert. Ordered the chocolate flourless cake w/rasberry sauce. It tasted like it had bacon in the cake. Our waiter checked and sure enough that cake was for a special order. He apologized and gave us a new piece of cake w/out bacon. Couldn't have had better service and the food was delicious.

Tags: Special Occasion, Scenic View, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Excellent menu choices for Restaurant We ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

Excellent menu choices for Restaurant Week, and wine pairings were an additional $10. Fabulous food, and great view at sunset

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We chose the Mountain Branch Grille & Pu ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

We chose the Mountain Branch Grille & Pub as a quiet dinner to close the 2016 Baltimore Restaurant Week. As we scanned the menu, we saw that the dinner offering included my wife's principle appetizer choice, cream of crab soup. The other dinner choices were quite attractive.

Our dinner choice was the Chicken Baltimore, broiled chicken breast served over asparagus, with a light sauce.

My wife chose to have the wine pairings, each were great.

The chocolate flourless cake was a perfect ending.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We really want to like this restaurant b ...

vip
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on July 26, 2016

We really want to like this restaurant but they just can't seem to get it right. Others must feel the same way because there were only a few other diners there. We haven't been in over a year after a series of bad experiences. We were willing to give the another try. The food was mediocre at best. Service was ok. The place needs an update. The vents overhead are filthy. Christmas lights still up in July. It is obvious they aren't trying. Perhaps the Thursday nite deck party pulls in enough business they don't need more. It's just a shame because there isn't any place like this in the area.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

I lived in Harford County for 10 years a ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on July 25, 2016

I lived in Harford County for 10 years and this was my first time eating at Mountain Branch. The food was really good and the service was outstanding. Prices are comparable to most establishments in the area.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Visited during restaurant week, and teh ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

Visited during restaurant week, and teh chef's specials were all very good. good portions, flavorful and well presented. Wine pairings were included which made for a great deal. Menu ranges from Chilean Sea Bass to smoked Pork Chops to Shrimp and Grits. All three were well done and the sauce on the grits was superb. Moderately busy, so service was attentive, meal well paced, and the ambiance overlooking the golf course is an added bonus.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

As always, our group of 6 gets together ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

As always, our group of 6 gets together at Mountain Branch during Restaurant Week. The menu gives you a wide variety of choices is using the Restaurant Week menu. Food was good as always and the atmosphere is great. We don't always use the Restaurant Week menu and have never been disappointed with anything we've ordered.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Food is cconsistently good, prepared wel ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on July 21, 2016

Food is cconsistently good, prepared well, not too adventurous menu.

Tags: Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Everything was very nice as far at the f ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

Everything was very nice as far at the food and service. My only problem was the fact that since deck dining was active my party and I had to fight flies on our food from the deck door opening and letting them in the main restaurant. This is truly a turn off !and would make me think before coming back in the summer when deck service was available.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4
value4

We had an awesome dinner. It was our an ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

We had an awesome dinner. It was our anniversary and everyone was so kind. My husband got the rack of lamb and it was delicious. I got the scallops and they were perfect. Not rubbery or under cooked. The meal could not have been any better. The server was attentive but not hovering. He had a great sense of humor. We thoroughly enjoyed our experience. We have not been there in a while but we certainly will be returning.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food & view were great. But the bar ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

The food & view were great. But the bar area was so noisy, I would not come again for dinner.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3
value2

I have visited Mountain Branch more than ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

I have visited Mountain Branch more than a few times. I will tell you that it is better for lunch/brunch than for dinner. I enjoy the buffet on Sundays and I feel like that is a better value for your money. Dinner was excellent, just the prices are a little steep. The service is always great either way. I will continue to go there on Sundays for brunch. That is the best brunch around.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Brunch was delicious! Great selection o ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

Brunch was delicious! Great selection of foods for all.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very nice brunch at Mountain Branch. The ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

Very nice brunch at Mountain Branch. The food is good with a couple items being exceptional (beef and turkey). The room to s very nice with good views of the course.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3

Brunch is the best!

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on June 5, 2016

Brunch is the best!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

Restaurant review

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on June 4, 2016

The view was great, unfortunately the menu did not cater to vegans and was disappointing for such a restaurant

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

Awesome view and wonderful food and service.

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on May 28, 2016

The view from the outdoor patio over the golf course is beautiful. The filet mignon was melt in your mouth.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Ok

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on May 28, 2016

My husband and I have been going to Mountain branch since it opened years ago… The food is always good… Outdoor seating is great… The portions were incredibly small and left us both hungry after spending $80 on two dinners and one drink… The portions are way too small for the prices

We only went there because it was a beautiful evening and we wanted to sit out on the back patio… It will probably be a while before we go again

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

Great food terrible service

vip
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on May 26, 2016

I have to start out by saying the food here is great. Unfortunately our experience with service was terrible. The dining room didn't have very many people in it but apparently there was a "party of 300" out on the patio. Since I am on a strict diet I asked for one of their salads and was told they were out of the goat cheese. I then asked to have the salad without it since I wasn't going to eat it anyway. The waitress had to go check with the manager. When she finally came back she said I could have it but instead of giving me a break on the price they would make it bigger. Fine. After waiting 30 minutes and watching another table that came after we did get their fried oysters I called the waitress over to inquire about our food. She then told me about the 300 people outside. When the salad came 15 minutes later of course it had the dressing already on it, (requested on the side.) I told her I hated to make another complaint but the dressing was not on the side as requested. She took it back in a huff, never even apologized and returned with a much smaller, regular size salad. When our food finally came, of course the Chilean Sea Bass also had butter all over it plus in a side dish. So much for just putting it on the side. Since never once did she apologize for the wait, getting the order wrong or never giving us any kind of update for the delay I did not want to say anything about the order being wrong again. I'm always a little skittish about what the kitchen staff will do to your food when you return it. Overall 45 minutes to get a salad without even an update, apology, or at least a manager visiting our table just to apologize for the wait is beneath a restaurant of this caliber. It will be a long time before or if we return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value4

Gorgeous view!

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on May 22, 2016

This was our first visit to the restaurant, and we were struck by the magnificent scenery despite the rain that day. We will definitely return to dine on the lovely patio. All the dishes we ordered were very well prepared and service was friendly and efficient. My martini was very generous, as was the veal chop with mushroom sauce and risotto that I ordered. The beet and arugula salad was very tasty and not overly dressed. The only negative was loud music from a wedding going on in the adjacent banquet space. Without that, it would have been a perfect meal.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value3

Great meal. Caesar salad, French onion ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on May 17, 2016

Great meal. Caesar salad, French onion soup, Chicken Chesapeake. All were excellent!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

JBART

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on May 7, 2016

Very enjoyable evening with family on a busy Saturday night. Everyone's food was very good and the waitress was attentive despite the number of tables she was serving. Beautiful view of the golf course.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

When we arrived the hostess was missing ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on May 7, 2016

When we arrived the hostess was missing and everyone seemed like we were unexpected, despite having a reservation. A cook had to go find her. We were seated in the back room at 3 tables pushed together. Third table, which was much smaller than the other two, was so wobbly that it had to be broken. Only after we requested to switch out a different table was it even considered. The waiter was very pleasant but seemed distracted and a little disheveled. The food was very good. The drinks were only refilled once (I believe) and the iced tea had little ice in it. I know we were only there for lunch, but we expected much better based on Mountain Branch Grill's reputation. The ones in our party who were visiting for the first time were not impressed. I have had excellent experiences in the past and was hoping to experience that for our Mother's Day family lunch.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3

2 or 3 private parties caused the lines ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on April 3, 2016

2 or 3 private parties caused the lines to be very long.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Wonderful

 
 (Atlantic City)
·Dined on March 26, 2016

Just a great all-around meal was had for Easter dinner. Cannot say anything bad about any portion of the meal!! Can't wait to go back!!

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

very good!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on March 23, 2016

nice view!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Pricey but enjoyable

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on March 22, 2016

Visiting mid-day, mid-week we were able to enjoy a quiet meal. We got the cream of crab soup which is back to the way they used to make it before switching to crab and corn chowder. That's just not Maryland. The crab dip was a little pricey for the amount of cheese versus crab in it. We Re looking forward to returning when the weather warms up as we love sitting on their deck.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Excellent food and service.

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on March 19, 2016

Excellent food and service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

The French Onion Soup, the Caesar Salad ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on March 13, 2016

The French Onion Soup, the Caesar Salad and the PORK CHOP are incredible. How the cook can cook that super thick pork chop all the way through and leave it the juiciest pork chop ever is beyond me. The soup is the best. The salad delicious. Everything there is great and Cassidy is an excellent waitress.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Mountain Branch Close but not quite

vip
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on March 6, 2016

If I was the chef I'd be a bit annoyed that I went through the trouble of making a delicious meal for my patrons only to have the over powering odor of orange scented table cleaner being sprayed next to my diners. Along with the tables bused and the the vacuuming being done while we were dining it was delicious food. These aren't Denny's prices I would expect a better dining experience.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service2
value3

Relaxing and warm, but elegant, atmosphere.

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on March 3, 2016

Met with another couple at MB for a Thursday night dinner and catching up. The place was moderately crowded, but very quiet and welcoming. Food was excellent. We were properly attended to but certainly not rushed. A great way to spend an evening with friends.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I never take the time to write reviews, ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on February 24, 2016

I never take the time to write reviews, simply because there are not enough hours in the day. However, I need to make an exception. The food was incredible. I had the Salmon with asparagus. It was the best salmon I have had since Alaska. My guest had the filet mignon and was equally impressed. The service was professional and timely. This was a business dinner meeting and the environment was perfect for conversation, no need to shout or strain to hear. All I can say is excellent!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

An enchanted evenjng

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on February 18, 2016

Just a lovely experience. Amazing food and drinks. Resonnable prices. Great service. Go and enjoy

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Scenic View, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Everything was wonderful until someone s ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on February 16, 2016

Everything was wonderful until someone started to use a microphone for an art class.

Tags: Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great Group Dinner

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on February 13, 2016

We dined with a large group for a friend's birthday. Both the food and the service were great. Before even taking our order, the server asked if we'd each like separate checks. that set the tone, which was very accommodating throughout the night. the food has always been delicious and this night lived up to expectations.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

We went to the Sunday brunch. The food w ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on February 7, 2016

We went to the Sunday brunch. The food was very good. It took about ten minutes once we were seated before the waiter arrived, but after that, the service was great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3

Great food.

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on February 6, 2016

Mountain Branch offers an elegant and delicious menu. I highly recommend the baked goat cheese salad. There is a great specials menu in addition to the regular menu. The food was prepared and presented perfectly.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Took an hour to even place our order. .. ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on January 31, 2016

Took an hour to even place our order. ..good thing we were not on a time line.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.