About Mountain Branch Grille & Pub

1827 Mountain Road
Joppa, MD 21085
View Larger Map

One of the best restaurants in Maryland is located just two miles from I-95 exit 74 at Mountain Branch Golf Course - 20 minutes from Baltimore.
Constructed out of three acres of Oregon’s finest Douglas Fir, the historic-looking timber-pegged post and beam structure has high ceilings, multilevel architecture and a magnificent view. The Grille & Pub at Mountain Branch is a favorite for relaxing after a round of golf and is an ever-popular destination for lunch, dinner and late night. Spacious patios afford dining al fresco when the weather is mild. And when winter winds are blowing, a large fireplace keeps the inside warm and cozy. The American-classic menu offers a diverse mix of tastes, including soups, salads, and sandwiches as well as fresh fish, crab cakes and Angus beef. Our chefs take pride in keeping the offerings creative and interesting - taking full advantage of fresh seasonal ingredients.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, American, Steak

Hours of Operation:
Brunch: Sunday: 9:30am - 1:00pm;
Lunch -Monday - Saturday: 11:00am - 4:00pm;
Dinner: Monday - Sunday 4.00pm -9.00pm

Cross Street:
Singer Road

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(410) 836-9600

Website:
http://www.mountainbranch.com/

Entertainment:
Will return in the Spring.

Catering:
Private Parties:
The warm and inviting clubhouse delivers the perfect blend of casual comfort and flexible gathering space with the private rooms for smaller gatherings and the spacious enclosed pavilion for events up to 200 guests. Every room sports panoramic views of the rolling greens and fairways,always a treat for the eye at any time of year. A variety of flexible banquet packages are available or you can custom-design your own event with help from our events planning staff.

Contact: Leeann White 410-836-9600 ext.1126

Executive Chef:
W. Lee Glanville

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking Area, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Private Room, Smoking Area, Smoking Area (patio only), Takeout, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Join us for our Sunday Brunch $19.95 adults $8.95 children
Unlimited Bloody Mary's or Mimosa Bar for an additional $5.00 per person.
Monday - Wednesday 3 course menu $25.00
Thursday Prime Rib Special.

Promotions

Three Course Prix Fixe Meal for $25.00

Mondays - Wednesdays from 5:00 PM - 9:00 PM

Father's Day Special Menus & Reservations

Sunday, June 19, 2016

1,000-Point Tables

Promotions

Three Course Prix Fixe Meal for $25.00

Mondays - Wednesdays from 5:00 PM - 9:00 PM

Details
Three Course Prix Fixe Meal for $25.00. Excludes Tax and Tip. Special valid Mar 28, 2016 - Jul 27, 2016 on Mondays - Wednesdays from 5:00 PM - 9:00 PM.
Father's Day Special Menus & Reservations

Sunday, June 19, 2016

Details
Come and join us for our Father's Day Brunch
Sunday June 19th 9.30am - 1.00pm $19.95 Adults Children ages 3-10 $8.95
Adults Unlimited Bloody Mary and Mimosa $24.95
1,000-Point Tables

See availability for 1000 point tables

Details
Sun - Mon 4:00PM - 7:00PM

Tue - Wed 4:00PM - 6:00PM

Fri 8:30PM - 9:30PM

Sat 4:00PM - 6:00PM 8:30PM - 9:30PM

Private Dining

Where Great Events Begin Our rustic Loft with views over the golf course is perfect for any occasion.The Founders room is the perfect room for a dinner meeting, or private celebration. Our air conditioned tented pavilion complete with chandeliers is spectacular for your larger events.

Mountain Branch Grille & Pub Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.3

ambience

4.4

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Great for Brunch
Baltimore / Maryland
Contemporary American
Baltimore Suburbs
Most Booked 1000-Point Tables
Baltimore Suburbs
Best Restaurants in Joppa ›

scenic view (30)
special occasion (19)
great for brunch (19)
See All
good for groups (18)
great for outdoor dining (17)
fit for foodies (16)
romantic (15)
great for lunch (13)
neighborhood gem (10)
vibrant bar scene (9)
kid-friendly (5)
hot spot (3)
late-night find (3)
notable wine list (3)
Sort By:
Newest
567 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5

Great meal. Caesar salad, French onion ...

Dined on May 17, 2016

Great meal. Caesar salad, French onion soup, Chicken Chesapeake. All were excellent!

food5
ambience5
service4
value5

JBART

Dined on May 7, 2016

Very enjoyable evening with family on a busy Saturday night. Everyone's food was very good and the waitress was attentive despite the number of tables she was serving. Beautiful view of the golf course.

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, scenic view, vibrant bar scene
food4
ambience2
service3

When we arrived the hostess was missing ...

Dined on May 7, 2016

When we arrived the hostess was missing and everyone seemed like we were unexpected, despite having a reservation. A cook had to go find her. We were seated in the back room at 3 tables pushed together. Third table, which was much smaller than the other two, was so wobbly that it had to be broken. Only after we requested to switch out a different table was it even considered. The waiter was very pleasant but seemed distracted and a little disheveled. The food was very good. The drinks were only refilled once (I believe) and the iced tea had little ice in it. I know we were only there for lunch, but we expected much better based on Mountain Branch Grill's reputation. The ones in our party who were visiting for the first time were not impressed. I have had excellent experiences in the past and was hoping to experience that for our Mother's Day family lunch.

food4
ambience4
service4

2 or 3 private parties caused the lines ...

Dined on April 3, 2016

2 or 3 private parties caused the lines to be very long.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Wonderful

Dined on March 26, 2016

Just a great all-around meal was had for Easter dinner. Cannot say anything bad about any portion of the meal!! Can't wait to go back!!

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

very good!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

vip
Dined on March 23, 2016

nice view!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, scenic view, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Pricey but enjoyable

Dined on March 22, 2016

Visiting mid-day, mid-week we were able to enjoy a quiet meal. We got the cream of crab soup which is back to the way they used to make it before switching to crab and corn chowder. That's just not Maryland. The crab dip was a little pricey for the amount of cheese versus crab in it. We Re looking forward to returning when the weather warms up as we love sitting on their deck.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, scenic view
food4
ambience4
service4

Excellent food and service.

vip
Dined on March 19, 2016

Excellent food and service.

food5
ambience5
service5

The French Onion Soup, the Caesar Salad ...

Dined on March 13, 2016

The French Onion Soup, the Caesar Salad and the PORK CHOP are incredible. How the cook can cook that super thick pork chop all the way through and leave it the juiciest pork chop ever is beyond me. The soup is the best. The salad delicious. Everything there is great and Cassidy is an excellent waitress.

food4
ambience1
service2
value3

Mountain Branch Close but not quite

vip
Dined on March 6, 2016

If I was the chef I'd be a bit annoyed that I went through the trouble of making a delicious meal for my patrons only to have the over powering odor of orange scented table cleaner being sprayed next to my diners. Along with the tables bused and the the vacuuming being done while we were dining it was delicious food. These aren't Denny's prices I would expect a better dining experience.

Tags: good for groups
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Relaxing and warm, but elegant, atmosphere.

Dined on March 3, 2016

Met with another couple at MB for a Thursday night dinner and catching up. The place was moderately crowded, but very quiet and welcoming. Food was excellent. We were properly attended to but certainly not rushed. A great way to spend an evening with friends.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

I never take the time to write reviews, ...

Dined on February 24, 2016

I never take the time to write reviews, simply because there are not enough hours in the day. However, I need to make an exception. The food was incredible. I had the Salmon with asparagus. It was the best salmon I have had since Alaska. My guest had the filet mignon and was equally impressed. The service was professional and timely. This was a business dinner meeting and the environment was perfect for conversation, no need to shout or strain to hear. All I can say is excellent!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

An enchanted evenjng

vip
Dined on February 18, 2016

Just a lovely experience. Amazing food and drinks. Resonnable prices. Great service. Go and enjoy

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, scenic view, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Everything was wonderful until someone s ...

Dined on February 16, 2016

Everything was wonderful until someone started to use a microphone for an art class.

Tags: special occasion, scenic view
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Great Group Dinner

Dined on February 13, 2016

We dined with a large group for a friend's birthday. Both the food and the service were great. Before even taking our order, the server asked if we'd each like separate checks. that set the tone, which was very accommodating throughout the night. the food has always been delicious and this night lived up to expectations.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, good for groups, romantic, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience3
service3

We went to the Sunday brunch. The food w ...

Dined on February 7, 2016

We went to the Sunday brunch. The food was very good. It took about ten minutes once we were seated before the waiter arrived, but after that, the service was great.

food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Great food.

Dined on February 6, 2016

Mountain Branch offers an elegant and delicious menu. I highly recommend the baked goat cheese salad. There is a great specials menu in addition to the regular menu. The food was prepared and presented perfectly.

Tags: fit for foodies
food4
ambience4
service1

Took an hour to even place our order. .. ...

Dined on January 31, 2016

Took an hour to even place our order. ..good thing we were not on a time line.

food5
ambience4
service3
value3

Outstanding food, mediocre service

Dined on January 22, 2016

Outstanding food. Especially the seafood pasta. Service was sufficient but not the friendliest server.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Perfection

Dined on January 21, 2016

I went here for my Birthday/Restaurant Week and the food was excellent. Everything was really great. Great music, great seating area, great drinks. Wonderful experience and I would more than likely go again.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, late-night find
food3
ambience2
service3
value2

MB

vip
Dined on January 18, 2016

Primary server seemed to have a chip on his shoulder. Soups should be reevaluated. No substitution policy is poor. Facility cold , although v-cold outlet side do not like to eat with a chill. Good location and has excellent potential. Generally speaking the greeting staff and supporting staff were very nice and helpful.

food5
ambience4
service3
value4

A Brunch with Variety

Dined on January 17, 2016

A great selection of breakfast and lunch selections. Food was fresh and hot. Never any empty trays. Food was replenished as soon as tray got low.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Consistently Excellent!

Dined on January 15, 2016

I take this outstanding restaurant for granted. Consistently exceeds my expectations - don't miss it!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view, vibrant bar scene
food3
ambience5
service4
value4

Not as good as previous visit. Limited ...

Dined on December 27, 2015

Not as good as previous visit. Limited items to select from.

food4
ambience4
service2
value3

Disappointing Service!

vip
Dined on December 22, 2015

My girlfriend and I went today for lunch. What a disappointment – we were seated promptly and then waited longer than anyone should have to be greeted by our server, Cassidy. Not sure if the problem is that she was new and had not been properly trained. She was pleasant enough; but, did not listen. I asked for a taste of the shrimp salad and she promptly said that they could not do that – that they would not make it up just for me to taste. I had to tell her that shrimp salad is already made up and that they do not make it on an individual basis. She said she would go ask. She returned with our drinks and a sample of the shrimp salad for me to try. I did wind up ordering the shrimp salad and it was delicious – it came on a brioche roll. A nice, well-seasoned, and crisp Caesar salad accompanied my sandwich. My friend ordered the entrée of Blackened Chicken penne. She asked if the peppers could be removed as she is allergic to them. Cassidy said “yes”. We asked for bread and were informed that they do not serve bread at lunch but if we wanted it we would have to pay for it. I am sorry; but, with a $17.00 entrée at lunch; I do think you could serve bread and not charge for it. Unfortunately, when the chicken entrée arrived and my friend tasted it – the peppers were there. By the time, Cassidy came around to check on us, my friend had picked out all the peppers and put them on another plate - and there were a lot of them! Cassidy did offer to take the dish back and have it replaced. My friend declined as it would have delayed her lunch even further and I would most certainly have finished mine by the time they brought her a replacement. Cassidy did offer us a free dessert. We did take her up on that – we shared your bread pudding and thoroughly enjoyed it. Servers really need to pay attention to the details. What should have been a nice lunch was disappointing because Cassidy forgot to tell the kitchen to remove the peppers.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, scenic view, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5

One guest requested pork chops. The wait ...

Dined on December 20, 2015

One guest requested pork chops. The waiter remarked "pork chop." We laughed until the "pork chop" arrived. It was a huge two bone chop, moist and cooked to perfection as we're all our dishes.

food4
ambience4
service5
value5

Very nice experience

Dined on December 20, 2015

Very nice experience. The food is good, the atmosphere is great. The waitress was great. Love the fireplace!

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view
food4
ambience4
service1

Food was very good. Waitress was less t ...

vip
Dined on December 14, 2015

Food was very good. Waitress was less than friendly, made us feel as if we were imposing on her and had an overall snippy attitude. I recommend this establishment but would walk out if I had this waitress again. I understand everyone has a bad day, but her attitude was uncalled for.

food4
ambience4
service4

Nice place to eat

vip
Dined on December 6, 2015

This is a nice retaraunt that is part of a golf course. The main retaraunt is a very nice facility with high ceilings and open beams. The food is good, however not gourmet. They do make some staples that are good as well like Mushroom Soup. There is a bit of a noise level if they are having a party upstairs or in the back room. They noise somehow comes out into the open space. The service has been good the times that I have eaten there. Sometime a little slower if they are having an event but still not too bad. Very nice servers.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5

Celebration

Dined on November 10, 2015

We went to Mountain Branch to celebrate birthdays. It was a horrible rainy night but very comfortable inside with the fireplace. We can't wait to go back in warmer weather to enjoy the outside patio and beautiful view. The smoked pork chop is delicious and huge . It was so big that I served the leftovers for dinner the next night and it was still moist.

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5

Tables

Dined on October 24, 2015

Food and service was great, but the tables are small for four people , I felt crowded at the table.

Tags: fit for foodies
food5
ambience2
service4

Regular Diner

Dined on October 24, 2015

We had 8 pm dinner reservations for 2 last Friday and were seated promptly. We really like the changes to the menu, less glutes and more greens. We started with the beet salad and chopped salad. The chopped salad was very good but the beet salad was really special and delicious. The combination of red and yellow beets and the dressing were fantastic. One of us ordered the veal chop and the other ordered swordfish which was a special. Both were amazing. The swordfish was deliciously prepared, simply grilled, flavorful and juicy with a lovely light sauce and the veal chop was also perfectly grilled and nicely seasoned. Possibly one of the best we've ever had. BAround 9 pm we were finishing up dinner and wine and were among only a few tables of diners left when one of the servers was spraying and wiping tables and sweeping the carpet all around us which made for an unpleasant end to our otherwise lovely evening.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, scenic view, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience1
service5

Enjoyable lunch

Dined on October 21, 2015

I wanted to take a dear friend somewhere special for lunch. I settled on Mountain Branch even though I had only been there one time-it was for a special occasion and felt is was a great place for someone special. The food was fantastic and the service was superb. The construction noise on this day made it very hard to talk though and that was disappointing. I would recommend Mountain Branch though and hope I get the opportunity to sample their dinner.

Tags: great for lunch, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent Brunch

Dined on October 18, 2015

I went to the Mountain Branch on a sort of reconnaissance to see if it would be a spot for family gatherings on Easter or Mother's Day. It did not disappoint. The food was delicious and plentiful , my server was great, the bloody Mary's were spot on. Altogether, a great experience and plan going back.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Consistently great

Dined on September 21, 2015

My husband and I went to Mountain Branch for our 1 year anniversary; we were married there 1 year ago. We had a great meal. We chose from their specials. My husband got a scallop wrapped with salmon and topped with lump crab meat. It was quite innovative and delicious. My smoked duck breast was equally delicious. We always have attentive service by the wait staff.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food4
ambience4
service4

Nice Sunday Outing

Dined on September 20, 2015

Wanted someplace to meet a friend between Baltimore and Philadelphia. But I also wanted a for real Sunday Brunch ... Buffet. I read a ton of reviews before narrowing down to 2 choices one, $49 pp, the other $41 pp. That was fine. But then my friend said they were picking up the tab. I didn't feel like arguing so I pulled up OpenTable for other options and finally settled on Mountain Branch. The reviews from a couple years ago weren't that great but all the reviews for late 2014 and 2015 were numerous and glowing. To me that said that this restaurant read the reviews and made changes. I decided to take a chance. I don't regret it at all. The food was delicious. The staff was pleasant. The view was beautiful. AND the cost was $21 pp!!! Although the price was 1/2 of the other options, the food quality was 100%. Think hotel lobby and quaint.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, great for outdoor dining, special occasion
food4
ambience1
service1

Not for large groups

Dined on September 20, 2015

We recently held a wedding shower here. While the brunch was fine, we were at the restaurant for almost three hours. Many of the guests commented on how unfriendly the waitress was and although her demeanor changed she really was noticeably unhappy to see us at first. We were a group of well behaved older woman, so I don't understand. There were only 11 of us. The brunch was fine, the service was very poor. Coffee with no spoons, long periods with no service at all while we all sat with empty glasses, and plates not cleared for some time. There is no one to complain to other than an overworked hostess. The view is lovely, but the tables would certainly benefit from updating or tablecloths. The restaurant is starting to look a little shabby.

Tags: great for brunch
food5
ambience5
service5

Delicious French onion soup, and the duc ...

vip
Dined on September 19, 2015

Delicious French onion soup, and the duck was superb!

food4
ambience4
service4

Group of 6 seniors

Dined on September 14, 2015

We went for a birthday and wanted decent food, good service and nice ambiance without a lot of noise. We chose this place on a Monday night and it was really perfect for our needs. We were all very pleased and it is reasonably priced. Hope to go again soon.

Tags: great for brunch, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Great place, amazing service, outstanding food!!!

Dined on September 9, 2015

Great place, amazing service, outstanding food!!! Highly recommend for any occasional

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, scenic view

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.