About Mountain Branch Grille & Pub

1827 Mountain Road
Joppa, MD 21085
View Larger Map

One of the best restaurants in Maryland is located just two miles from I-95 exit 74 at Mountain Branch Golf Course - 20 minutes from Baltimore.
Constructed out of three acres of Oregon’s finest Douglas Fir, the historic-looking timber-pegged post and beam structure has high ceilings, multilevel architecture and a magnificent view. The Grille & Pub at Mountain Branch is a favorite for relaxing after a round of golf and is an ever-popular destination for lunch, dinner and late night. Spacious patios afford dining al fresco when the weather is mild. And when winter winds are blowing, a large fireplace keeps the inside warm and cozy. The American-classic menu offers a diverse mix of tastes, including soups, salads, and sandwiches as well as fresh fish, crab cakes and Angus beef. Our chefs take pride in keeping the offerings creative and interesting - taking full advantage of fresh seasonal ingredients.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, American, Steak

Hours of Operation:
Brunch: Sunday: 9:30am - 1:00pm;
Lunch -Monday - Saturday: 11:00am - 4:00pm;
Dinner: Monday - Sunday 4.00pm -9.00pm

Cross Street:
Singer Road

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(410) 836-9600

Website:
http://www.mountainbranch.com/

Entertainment:
Will return in the Spring.

Catering:
Private Parties:
The warm and inviting clubhouse delivers the perfect blend of casual comfort and flexible gathering space with the private rooms for smaller gatherings and the spacious enclosed pavilion for events up to 200 guests. Every room sports panoramic views of the rolling greens and fairways,always a treat for the eye at any time of year. A variety of flexible banquet packages are available or you can custom-design your own event with help from our events planning staff.

Contact: Leeann White 410-836-9600 ext.1126

Executive Chef:
W. Lee Glanville

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Takeout, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Join us for our Sunday Brunch $19.95 adults $8.95 children
Unlimited Bloody Mary's or Mimosa Bar for an additional $5.00 per person.
Monday - Wednesday 3 course menu $25 changes weekly.

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Sun - Mon 4:00PM - 7:00PM

Tue - Thu 4:00PM - 6:00PM

Fri 8:00PM - 10:00PM

Sat 4:00PM - 6:00PM 8:00PM - 10:00PM

Private Dining

Where Great Events Begin Our rustic Loft with views over the golf course is perfect for any occasion.The Founders room is the perfect room for a dinner meeting, or private celebration. Our air conditioned tented pavilion complete with chandeliers is spectacular for your larger events.

Mountain Branch Grille & Pub Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.1

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.1

service

4.0

ambience

4.2

value

3.6

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Most Booked 1000-Point Tables
Baltimore / Maryland
Best Restaurants in Joppa ›

Scenic View (17)
Special Occasion (13)
Good for Groups (9)
See All
Good for Birthdays (9)
Fireplace (9)
Great for Outdoor Dining (8)
Romantic (8)
Great for Brunch (6)
Bar Seating (6)
Good for Anniversaries (6)
Sunday Lunch (5)
Great for Lunch (5)
Quiet Conversation (5)
Casual (5)
Cozy (5)
Private Room (4)
Neighborhood Gem (4)
Good for a Date (4)
Worth the Drive (3)
Fit for Foodies (3)
Vibrant Bar Scene (3)
Happy Hour (3)
Kid-friendly (2)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
Modern Decor (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Notable Wine List (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Healthy (1)
Business Meals (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Comfort Food (1)
People Watching (1)
Creative Cuisine (1)
Sort By:
S
614 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

This is my second time here for brunch. ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined 6 days ago

This is my second time here for brunch. The 1st time was excellent. The second time we got there later at noon. There were a lot of empty foods on the brunch buffet and some of it was old & possibly left over from the night before. The bottomless mimosas GREATLY depends on your servers attention which was a little slow, especially after he dropped the check while we were still eating! My pet peeve!

Hopefully next time will be better.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Casual, Fireplace, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value4

We made the reservations only 15 mins ah ...

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on November 20, 2016

We made the reservations only 15 mins ahead of time but arrived right on time. We were told we'd have to wait; when I asked how long, the hostess said "I don't know" - isn't that the biggest part of her job to know this? We waited 20 minutes during which time people who arrived later were seated. Someone I assume was the manager told us it would be a few more minutes; she was less than friendly. We were seated and waited 10 mins - no one came for our drink order. We asked the hostess for the server, and when the server arrived she acted like we were a huge inconvenience to her- no apology for the wait and her attitude was awful. We should have left then- we stayed because the weather was bad, it was almost 8pm, and didn't want to venture out again. The food was decent but overpriced; we could have the same at Steelefish Grill at a better price and with better service. The server's attitude improved somewhat as the time went on, but not enough to make up for the rest of the experience. The "fair" rating I gave speaks to the food, NOT the service. We won't dine there again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4

This is the third time visiting the rest ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on November 5, 2016

This is the third time visiting the restaurant. My wife's steak was well prepared and the side was perfectly done. My pork chop was moist and had a very good flavor. The "southern cooked" green beans did not have much of a flavor at all.

Service was inexperienced and the meal came out very slowly. We would have preferred a table by the windows overlooking the golf course by apparently those are reserved for club members.

Dining area is fairly small and I thought cramped. They seem to do quite a business in special events.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

We enjoy Mt. Branch about 4 times a year ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on October 30, 2016

We enjoy Mt. Branch about 4 times a year. It is about 30 miles from home; but, it is well worth the trip. The service is fine and our waiter knew a lot about wine as does my wife. They had a lengthy discussion on the subject. It was a Sunday evening and not crowded at all. So, the wine discussion didn't cause other patrons to be neglected. It was a very pleasant experience and the food was great.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Cozy, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Thought my friend and I would give this ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on October 30, 2016

Thought my friend and I would give this brunch a try after hearing good things. Food was good, a nice selection of choices. Not sure that I would pay $25 per person for it even though it came with bottomless mimosas or bloody marys. Drinks were so-so. Our waitress was not very attentive and we waited a while for our drinks. She came around once to pick up plates eventually and we asked for a second drink. She seemed very busy and hurried, could barely understand her as she spoke too fast and quietly. She also mixed up our checks. Overall it was ok.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value3

The first reservation time is 0930, but ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on October 30, 2016

The first reservation time is 0930, but when I get there they have yet to be ready. The restaurant was not as clean as usual this week.

Tags: Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4
value3

We were a table of 8 and there may have ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on October 30, 2016

We were a table of 8 and there may have been 8 other people in the restaurant and our drinks and food took for ever. Service was really slow. Waitress was never around and we had to keep asking for her. This was my 2nd time here and it was absolutely horrible. We were there celebrating a birthday and though we had great converstation the experience was just bad. Food was decent but portions were small.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value1

Great food, great view, great location! ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 29, 2016

Great food, great view, great location! Food is fantastic and worth the reasonable prices!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Service was excellent, ambiance also. A ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on October 22, 2016

Service was excellent, ambiance also. Arrival timing of all courses was perfect and I did not feel rushed. Cocktails seemed a little watered down. For dinner I had the veal chop which was excellent. My wife had the chicken Baltimore which was a bit bland. We will go back for sure though.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

We were in a hurry and must have hit it ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on October 21, 2016

We were in a hurry and must have hit it at the wrong time because our service was not as good as it normally is here even though it was not very crowded. They wouldn't let us sit by the window because they were expecting a large group ( we were long gone by the time they would have gotten there). Drove all the way there to sit by the window and enjoy the view. The bar crowd was obnoxiously load that night. All in all a great place if you get the right server and hit it at the right time.

Tags: Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Scenic View, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value3

Everything was good but our waitress was ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on October 17, 2016

Everything was good but our waitress was overwhelmed. There were only two staff people handling the whole area and it was difficult for her to keep up. (No fault of hers) There should have been more staff available.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

Server was very uninterested didnt bring ...

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on October 15, 2016

Server was very uninterested didnt bring creamer with coffee, didnt bring sugar with ice tea, recieved apitiser befor drinks etc.........

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service1
value1

We had an amazing meal at Mountain Bran ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on October 15, 2016

We had an amazing meal at Mountain Branch. Our server Stephen was very sweet and attentive. Our food was excellent!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Sunday brunch was overall very good. Th ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on October 9, 2016

Sunday brunch was overall very good. The food tended to get quite cold very quickly which put somewhat of a damper on the meal. Service was good and the atmosphere was inviting.

Tags: Special Occasion, Business Meals, Casual, Modern Decor, Good for Birthdays, Sunday Lunch, Scenic View, Good for a Date, Great for Brunch, Quiet Conversation, Fireplace, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Lunch, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

We try to like this place, really. Seat ...

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on October 2, 2016

We try to like this place, really. Seated promptly, server polite and took beverage order. Brought beverages, took dinner order. Salads were prompt and delicious. And then we sat for over 1 hour waiting for the main course. People at other tables [not many were filled] were also waiting. And waiting. And waiting. Spoke to the server, said the kitchen was "behind" due to a large private party. Spoke to the manager who said the kitchen was "training" people so it was taking longer. Shouldn't training be done when the restaurant is closed? If they knew they were going to have a large private party and would be unable to handle the party and the regular restaurant patrons, why take reservations? About 45 minutes into the wait, the server came over to announce that the manager said dessert would be complimentary. Who wanted dessert after waiting forever for a meal. Finally, we told the server we were leaving if the main course wasn't out in 5 minutes. It was and two of the 4 meals were almost cold, so they had been sitting for quite a while somewhere. The food itself was very good but only if you like barely warm. Sad because it is a lovely building, lovely location and someone evidently knows how to prepare good food. One other thing, on the menu in bold print it says NO SUBSTITUTIONS. There are often things added to a dish which people don't like or are allergic to. Why would you narrow the choice because the chef likes certain things with the main course. They tend to add bacon to everything and one person in our group cannot eat bacon, so it is a very difficult thing to find a meal without an item you cannot eat. They should consider removing that no substitutions note. Not very friendly.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3
value2

Our table was near the banquet area and ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on September 24, 2016

Our table was near the banquet area and they had an event with a DJ going on so not as quiet as we would have liked for conversation.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Over all the food was fair. Our waitres ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on September 23, 2016

Over all the food was fair. Our waitress was mean, dear lord we are scared to ask for anything. Over looked it, because everybody has a bad day, we made the best of it and laughed about it. At the end of our meal, she came around a little. Prices were fair not great and I would only go to Mountain Branch for a special occasion for the scenery.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value2

We went for the brunch. Service was bett ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on September 18, 2016

We went for the brunch. Service was better than expected, very polite and accommodating. Food was better than going to IHOP but the price is a little high for what we ate. But overall I would go again, just would take advantage of the unlimited mimosa or Bloody Mary.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

Need to have a larger selection of wine ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on September 18, 2016

Need to have a larger selection of wine by the glass. My wine was served in a glass that had lipstick on the rim and it took longer than it should have to get the waiters attention and correct the problem. The noise level is rather loud, so if you want a romantic evening, I suggest you go some where else.

Tags: Happy Hour, Bar Seating, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

Everything was wonderful. We sat outsid ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on September 3, 2016

Everything was wonderful. We sat outside so having a beautiful day was a plus.

Tags: Romantic, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Good food. Nice ambience with the view. ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on September 3, 2016

Good food. Nice ambience with the view. Very nice and very good wait staff. Always enjoy our experience there.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Wonderful meal after traveling all day.

vip
 (Orlando)·Dined on August 28, 2016

Wonderful meal after traveling all day.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

My family and friends love this place. T ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on August 28, 2016

My family and friends love this place. There is no other place we would rather go in the Bel Air area. The restaurants in this county leave alot to be desired, but Mountain Branch is always wonderful!

Tags: Cozy, Bar Seating, Fireplace, Scenic View, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Food was delicious and service was excel ...

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on August 12, 2016

Food was delicious and service was excellent. Our server was Eren. He was very friendly and accommodating. It was a pleasure to dine at his table and have him as our server.

Tags: Scenic View, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Excellent appetizers--cream of crab soup ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on August 11, 2016

Excellent appetizers--cream of crab soup, crab dip, Caesar salad! Dinners were excellently prepared and had great flavor! We will definitely return!

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Our waiter was great. We were there for ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on August 6, 2016

Our waiter was great. We were there for Restaurant Week which included dessert. Ordered the chocolate flourless cake w/rasberry sauce. It tasted like it had bacon in the cake. Our waiter checked and sure enough that cake was for a special order. He apologized and gave us a new piece of cake w/out bacon. Couldn't have had better service and the food was delicious.

Tags: Special Occasion, Scenic View, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Excellent menu choices for Restaurant We ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 5, 2016

Excellent menu choices for Restaurant Week, and wine pairings were an additional $10. Fabulous food, and great view at sunset

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We chose the Mountain Branch Grille & Pu ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on July 29, 2016

We chose the Mountain Branch Grille & Pub as a quiet dinner to close the 2016 Baltimore Restaurant Week. As we scanned the menu, we saw that the dinner offering included my wife's principle appetizer choice, cream of crab soup. The other dinner choices were quite attractive.

Our dinner choice was the Chicken Baltimore, broiled chicken breast served over asparagus, with a light sauce.

My wife chose to have the wine pairings, each were great.

The chocolate flourless cake was a perfect ending.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We really want to like this restaurant b ...

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on July 26, 2016

We really want to like this restaurant but they just can't seem to get it right. Others must feel the same way because there were only a few other diners there. We haven't been in over a year after a series of bad experiences. We were willing to give the another try. The food was mediocre at best. Service was ok. The place needs an update. The vents overhead are filthy. Christmas lights still up in July. It is obvious they aren't trying. Perhaps the Thursday nite deck party pulls in enough business they don't need more. It's just a shame because there isn't any place like this in the area.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

I lived in Harford County for 10 years a ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on July 25, 2016

I lived in Harford County for 10 years and this was my first time eating at Mountain Branch. The food was really good and the service was outstanding. Prices are comparable to most establishments in the area.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Visited during restaurant week, and teh ...

 
 (Miami)·Dined on July 23, 2016

Visited during restaurant week, and teh chef's specials were all very good. good portions, flavorful and well presented. Wine pairings were included which made for a great deal. Menu ranges from Chilean Sea Bass to smoked Pork Chops to Shrimp and Grits. All three were well done and the sauce on the grits was superb. Moderately busy, so service was attentive, meal well paced, and the ambiance overlooking the golf course is an added bonus.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

As always, our group of 6 gets together ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on July 23, 2016

As always, our group of 6 gets together at Mountain Branch during Restaurant Week. The menu gives you a wide variety of choices is using the Restaurant Week menu. Food was good as always and the atmosphere is great. We don't always use the Restaurant Week menu and have never been disappointed with anything we've ordered.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Food is cconsistently good, prepared wel ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on July 21, 2016

Food is cconsistently good, prepared well, not too adventurous menu.

Tags: Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Everything was very nice as far at the f ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on July 15, 2016

Everything was very nice as far at the food and service. My only problem was the fact that since deck dining was active my party and I had to fight flies on our food from the deck door opening and letting them in the main restaurant. This is truly a turn off !and would make me think before coming back in the summer when deck service was available.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4
value4

We had an awesome dinner. It was our an ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on July 8, 2016

We had an awesome dinner. It was our anniversary and everyone was so kind. My husband got the rack of lamb and it was delicious. I got the scallops and they were perfect. Not rubbery or under cooked. The meal could not have been any better. The server was attentive but not hovering. He had a great sense of humor. We thoroughly enjoyed our experience. We have not been there in a while but we certainly will be returning.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food & view were great. But the bar ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on July 1, 2016

The food & view were great. But the bar area was so noisy, I would not come again for dinner.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3
value2

I have visited Mountain Branch more than ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on June 18, 2016

I have visited Mountain Branch more than a few times. I will tell you that it is better for lunch/brunch than for dinner. I enjoy the buffet on Sundays and I feel like that is a better value for your money. Dinner was excellent, just the prices are a little steep. The service is always great either way. I will continue to go there on Sundays for brunch. That is the best brunch around.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Brunch was delicious! Great selection o ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on June 12, 2016

Brunch was delicious! Great selection of foods for all.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very nice brunch at Mountain Branch. The ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on June 12, 2016

Very nice brunch at Mountain Branch. The food is good with a couple items being exceptional (beef and turkey). The room to s very nice with good views of the course.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3

Brunch is the best!

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on June 5, 2016

Brunch is the best!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.