About Motor Supply Company Bistro

Located in the historic Congaree Vista with a heated patio and free valet parking, Motor Supply has been serving progressive, New World cuisine using classic French culinary techniques for over 20 years. Led by Executive Chef Wesley Fulmer, the kitchen's lunch, dinner and brunch handwritten menus change daily, featuring contemporary New American cuisine, with nods to Creole, Cajun, Southern, French and Asian cuisine. Motor Supply works with local, sustainable farms for produce, meats, dairy and more. Seafood is caught off of the SC coast, and all of our charcuterie, desserts, stocks, sauces and dressings are made in-house. The bar boasts an extensive Wine Spectator Award of Excellence-winning list (2006-13), imported, domestic and local craft beers, as well as an artisan farm-to-shaker cocktail list made from house-infused liquors, handmade bitters, barrel-aged spirits and locally-sourced ingredients and garnishes, mixed up by Head Barman Josh Streetman.

920 Gervais St.
Columbia, SC 29201
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Fusion / Eclectic, Creole / Cajun / Southern

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Tuesday-Saturday, 11:30 am-2:30 pm

Dinner: Tuesday-Thursday, 5:30 pm-9:30 pm
Friday-Saturday, 5:30 pm-10:30 pm
Sunday, 5:30 pm-9:00 pm

Brunch: Sunday, 10:30 am-2:30 pm

Cross Street:
Park and Lincoln Sts.

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(803) 256-6687

Website:
http://www.motorsupplycobistro.com/

Entertainment:
Koger Center for the Arts, Columbia Museum of Art, Colonial Life Arena, Columbia Metropolitan Convention Center; local bars, clubs and nightlife; several hotels and shopping venues all within walking distance in the Vista

Parking Details:
Free valet parking Tuesday-Saturday evenings and Tuesday-Friday at lunch. Parking lot with ~20 spaces. Easily accessible street parking.

Public Transit:
There are several public transit stops throughout the Columbia, SC downtown area, one of which is located a half-block from Motor Supply Co. Bistro. During the evenings, especially on weekends, taxis are readily available throughout the Vista.

Executive Chef:
Wesley Fulmer

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
We host a biannual farm-to-table celebration to give back to our local, sustainable farming partners called Harvest Week. For details about the next Harvest Week, visit http://www.motorsupplycobistro.com, like us on Facebook and follow us on Twitter.

Motor Supply Company Bistro Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.7

ambience

4.6

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (71)
Fit for Foodies (57)
Local Ingredients (56)
See All
Special Occasion (51)
Creative Cuisine (47)
Good for Anniversaries (42)
Authentic (33)
Romantic (32)
Handcrafted Cocktails (28)
Notable Wine List (28)
Good for Birthdays (28)
Neighborhood Gem (27)
Business Meals (27)
Cozy (23)
Casual (21)
Worth the Drive (20)
Seasonal (18)
Bar Seating (15)
Modern Decor (14)
Hot Spot (14)
Fun (14)
Historic (14)
Quiet Conversation (13)
Pre/post Theatre (12)
Good Vegetarian Options (12)
Comfort Food (11)
Outstanding Value (10)
Great for Outdoor Dining (10)
Healthy (10)
Sunday Lunch (9)
Organic (9)
Vibrant Bar Scene (9)
Great for Brunch (8)
Great Beer (7)
Paleo Friendly (6)
Tasting Menu (6)
Good for Groups (5)
Great for Lunch (5)
Molecular Gastronomy (4)
Happy Hour (4)
Gluten Free Options (3)
Family Style (2)
Late-night Find (2)
People Watching (2)
Kid-friendly (1)
Tapas (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Scenic View (1)
Private Room (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Sort By:
S
1353 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined 2 days ago

While it was more expensive than a usual date night for us it was 100% worth the price. One of the best steaks I have ever had and was cooked perfectly. Everything we had was delicious. We went off the recommendation of others to make a reservation and the services was very fast but we did not at all feel rushed. They had our table waiting for us even though we were nearly 30 minutes early. The staff was so knowledgeable about everything on the menu and when I did not know how to pronounce what I wanted the waitress knew exactly what I wanted but did not make me feel uncomfortable about it. The beer menu was great as well offering local options from breweries within the state. Everything we ate was to die for! Great Birthday dinner overall. I would highly recommend and I know we will be coming back here again!

Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date, Historic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Notable Wine List, Comfort Food, Business Meals, Local Ingredients, Seasonal, Great for Brunch, Sunday Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Casual, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Great Beer, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined 3 days ago

I took my Mom for her birthday. One of the best dinning experiences we have ever had. The food was outstanding. The service exceptional over all perfect evening. Thank you Motor Supply Company we will be back soon!

Tags: Business Meals, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Anniversaries, Organic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined 5 days ago

Delicious food! But often very loud, which makes it hard to sustain much conversation. I'd recommend limiting occasions to an intimate date?

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Charleston)·Dined 5 days ago

It's simply the best in town from any perspective! Been dining there for six years and they always impress! Best , most sophisticated mixed drinks you'll find anywhere!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine, Outstanding Value, Historic, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined 6 days ago

Most enjoyable dinner experience. Great drinks, good wine & fine cuisine!

Tags: Good for a Date, Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Paleo Friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on March 19, 2017

Excellent ambiance and setting. A great place for food and quite conversation. The service was outstanding. Certainly a place I would recommend and return to.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on March 19, 2017

Went for a small birthday dinner. Had a great steak that was perfectly cooked. The menu changes & can be confusing but the waitstaff is very helpful & will explain any ingredient or terminology without pretension

Tags: Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining, Seasonal, Great for Lunch, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on March 14, 2017

It's nice having the complimentary valet parking. My coworker and I were seated earlier than scheduled which was nice. I had a Moscow Mule which was nice but not outstanding in my opinion. I had the pork chop which was very tasty. I recommend it. The place is very noisy and was full at 8:30 on a Tuesday. It's a great scene, but not if you want a quiet meal. Service was good and attentive. I feel the meals were a bit pricy though. Fortunately I was on my company's nickel. Not sure I'd spend that much money, over $45 for drink, dinner, tip for one person, otherwise.

Tags: Business Meals, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Historic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on March 12, 2017

Fantastic - one of my most favorite! Handwritten menu always provides a great variety of choices. Exquisite!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Historic, Good for a Date, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on March 11, 2017

The food was exceptional! Room my woman on our first date there. Tried the Cowboy steak, it was one of the best steaks I ever had it beat Longhorn my fav steak house. They cooked it perfectly. I look forward to coming back.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on March 10, 2017

The food was great. The service from Ashley was spectacular - she really knows the food and gives enough information for you to know what to expect from each dish. She did a thorough review of the menu and we each were pleased with our meals. We had the pork chop, duck, red snapper, a ceviche appetizer and a fried oyster salad appetizer. The fried oyster salad was an amazing surprise, as the oysters were juicy and the added bacon (or bacon-like meat) went so well with the grape tomatoes and other ingredients. The duck dish also was great, but had one thing I did not like - the squash-butter-puree - the flavor was great, but I did not like that is was cold while the rest of the dish & fixings were hot. For me, it did not work well. All in all, a great time and a great meal.

Tags: Seasonal, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Modern Decor, Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on March 7, 2017

Extra friendly staff. Catered tour food allergies. Chef paid a visit to our table and was very gracious. Will definitely return.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on March 6, 2017

Surprisingly great find in this city. Would make a detour to enjoy this restaurant

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Pre/post Theatre, Romantic, Business Meals, Happy Hour, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on March 4, 2017

This was a wonderful place to have some excellent food. Farm to table was great. Service was wonderful. First time to eat there and they really took time to make us comfortable. Explained the menu very well. Will definitely return.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Puerto Vallarta)·Dined on March 2, 2017

Great food prompt service. But just so loud hard to have a conservation

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on March 2, 2017

The meal was so good that I went back for lunch the next day.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Modern Decor, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Great Beer, Authentic, Outstanding Value, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on March 2, 2017

Heard about this restaurant in Garden and Gun magazine, it lived up to the review. Wonderful food, GREAT cocktails. Very much appreciated our experienced, affable waitperson. Definitely on my repeat list.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Happy Hour, Cozy, Vibrant Bar Scene, Seasonal, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Paleo Friendly, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Casual, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 1, 2017

Barbecued shrimp app was four tiny shrimp with sauce scallops over beans was delicious but small the waiter hovered and took everyone's plates as they were finishing the last bites even though there were no patrons waiting and plenty of open tables. For three people we had one glass of wine ( not a piece, just one) two apps theee enters and the bill with tip was $173. A little pricey for what it was

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on February 28, 2017

This is the third time I have been there and every time has been a positive dining experience. I particularly like the original menu choices. I had the duck and it was cooked to perfection, speaking as an old duck hunter. Our waiter was excellent, attentive and responsive. Will definitely dine there again.

Tahoe Johno from Nevada

Tags: Worth the Drive, Fun, Creative Cuisine, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on February 26, 2017

Phenomenal experience from start to finish. Our waitress was very friendly, knowledgeable, and was able to describe the dishes and specials perfectly. Cocktails were delicious and strong, and all of the food was fresh, innovative without being strange, and delicious. Absolutely one of the top restaurants in the Southeast.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Fun, Modern Decor, Historic, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Local Ingredients, Romantic, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on February 26, 2017

We enjoyed our meal and overall had a good experience. However, I feel the prices are entirely too high for the quality and quantity of food served. We walked out of there spending almost $130 for an appetizer, two entrees and four drinks, total. Our appetizer had 5 shrimp ($13) and one piece of french bread. I'm definitely willing to spend good money on a quality meal on occasion but I didn't feel we got a lot out it. We likely won't be back.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Happy Hour, Handcrafted Cocktails, Bar Seating, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value2

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on February 25, 2017

The atmosphere and menu were oustanding! Our starters were underwhelming, but the main courses were top notch. The bar was nice and the service was attentive. I found it very good, but in that price range there are other local establishments I prefer. I will try them again in the future.

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on February 25, 2017

The menu was set up to honor New Orleans for Fat Tuesday (I'm told they change the menu daily) but 3 of the 4 who were eating don't eat fish or seafood. But the culottes steak was good and the squash steak even better. Nice sauces. The service was okay.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on February 24, 2017

Food is always amazing, fresh, and cooked to perfection! Love eating at Motor Supply for any occasion.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on February 24, 2017

I got the Cuban which was good but not an authentic Cuban and had wasabi like mustard on it which overwhelmed the sandwich and made it hard to enjoy the rest of the sandwich. The salad that came with it was fantastic though and the ingredients are always fresh! The atmosphere is always enjoyable especially on the patio on a day like today (85 and ☀️). Our waitress was busy but good. There was a waitress wearing very short dress and tall boots that was kind of inappropriate for this restaurant and my whole table felt a little uncomfortable with her filling my water at times and being so close to our food with that short of dress but other then that wait staff was good. Definitely a favorite lunch spot and will be back.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Business Meals, Seasonal, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value4

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on February 23, 2017

We live in Charleston SC where the food is outstanding so are always hesitant of restaurants when traveling, but Motor Supply Co was excellent! From our server's recommendations, which were all on point, to the service and most importantly the food, nothing disappointed. We would definitely recommend this to others and would dine again when back in the area.

Tags: Outstanding Value, Healthy, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on February 23, 2017

I ordered the special of the day (18 oz bone in ribeye). It was one of the worst steaks I've had in years

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service3
value2

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on February 22, 2017

Still the best place in Columbia. Lunch or dinner. Go.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 22, 2017

Worth every cent! Can't wait to go back! Important to book at least a day or two before since they book up fast.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Atmosphere was very good, but not great. Food was excellent! I wish we had not been seated across from the bar. There must have been 20 people crowding it and it was loud. My only complaint about the food is that we both left hungry. We ordered a first course, steak entrée and dessert, spent $100 and left hungry. A little more bread or veggies please?

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on February 17, 2017

Awesome waitress. Ribeye meatloaf the best ever.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on February 15, 2017

This place was OK. Honestly, I could have prepared the food items at my house. I had the coulotte steak over mashed potatoes. My wife had the "Shrinp and grits". The shrimp were overcooked (Mushy) and there were barely any grits. I can't remember the fancy name they gave it...The salad was mostly lettuce with a vinegarette. The bread and parsley/olive oil combination was interesting. Butter would have been better. The atmosphere was good. The drinks were great. Was it worth $140 for dinner? Absolutely Not.

Tags: Business Meals
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value1

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on February 15, 2017

What a pleasure! This was my first time having dinner at MSC. I'm thinking about the food and getting sad because I'm not eating it literally right now.

Tags: Authentic, Comfort Food, Local Ingredients, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on February 14, 2017

So, it was a delightful experience to visit Motor Supply again. One of our go to spots when we visit Columbia! Great food, ambiance, and service!

Tags: Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Excellent. Excellent. Excellent. No better way to describe it!!!!!

Tags: Authentic, Special Occasion, Fun, Casual, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Motor Supply was a great choice for our Valentine's Day meal. We love the farm-to-table menu and the creativity put into each dish. The food and service were great as usual. This is one of the best restaurants in Columbia for the choices the chef makes and the caliber of the food. Enjoy!

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Organic, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Motor Supply satisfies every time. The menu is constantly evolving, the cocktails constantly changing. I love it!

Tags: Organic, Great for Brunch, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Food was very good. Pricey but worth it on occasion. Service was great.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on February 12, 2017

We came here on a date night per trip advisor's ratings, and our expectations were greatly exceeded!! We can't wait to go back the doc was out of this world !! Our service was amazing and the place was beautiful .

Tags: Good for a Date, Historic, Bar Seating, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, People Watching, Molecular Gastronomy, Local Ingredients, Fun, Organic, Comfort Food, Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Private Room, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Went for a early Valentine's Day with my husband. Food was excellent, service was wonderful, atmosphere was incredible. Overall excellent experience.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Great for Brunch, Great Beer, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.