About Motor Supply Company Bistro

Located in the historic Congaree Vista with a heated patio and free valet parking, Motor Supply has been serving progressive, New World cuisine using classic French culinary techniques for over 20 years. Led by Executive Chef Wesley Fulmer, the kitchen's lunch, dinner and brunch handwritten menus change daily, featuring contemporary New American cuisine, with nods to Creole, Cajun, Southern, French and Asian cuisine. Motor Supply works with local, sustainable farms for produce, meats, dairy and more. Seafood is caught off of the SC coast, and all of our charcuterie, desserts, stocks, sauces and dressings are made in-house. The bar boasts an extensive Wine Spectator Award of Excellence-winning list (2006-13), imported, domestic and local craft beers, as well as an artisan farm-to-shaker cocktail list made from house-infused liquors, handmade bitters, barrel-aged spirits and locally-sourced ingredients and garnishes, mixed up by Head Barman Josh Streetman.

920 Gervais St.
Columbia, SC 29201
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Fusion / Eclectic, Creole / Cajun / Southern

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Tuesday-Saturday, 11:30 am-2:30 pm

Dinner: Tuesday-Thursday, 5:30 pm-9:30 pm
Friday-Saturday, 5:30 pm-10:30 pm
Sunday, 5:30 pm-9:00 pm

Brunch: Sunday, 10:30 am-2:30 pm

Cross Street:
Park and Lincoln Sts.

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(803) 256-6687

Website:
http://www.motorsupplycobistro.com/

Entertainment:
Koger Center for the Arts, Columbia Museum of Art, Colonial Life Arena, Columbia Metropolitan Convention Center; local bars, clubs and nightlife; several hotels and shopping venues all within walking distance in the Vista

Parking Details:
Free valet parking Tuesday-Saturday evenings and Tuesday-Friday at lunch. Parking lot with ~20 spaces. Easily accessible street parking.

Public Transit:
There are several public transit stops throughout the Columbia, SC downtown area, one of which is located a half-block from Motor Supply Co. Bistro. During the evenings, especially on weekends, taxis are readily available throughout the Vista.

Executive Chef:
Wesley Fulmer

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
We host a biannual farm-to-table celebration to give back to our local, sustainable farming partners called Harvest Week. For details about the next Harvest Week, visit http://www.motorsupplycobistro.com, like us on Facebook and follow us on Twitter.

Motor Supply Company Bistro Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.7

ambience

4.5

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

97% would recommend it to a friend

Local Ingredients (75)
Good for a Date (73)
Special Occasion (72)
See All
Creative Cuisine (61)
Fit for Foodies (57)
Good for Anniversaries (49)
Good for Birthdays (43)
Notable Wine List (39)
Neighborhood Gem (39)
Handcrafted Cocktails (37)
Romantic (36)
Worth the Drive (36)
Business Meals (34)
Authentic (30)
Hot Spot (26)
Pre/post Theatre (21)
Casual (19)
Great for Lunch (18)
Cozy (16)
Good for Groups (16)
Seasonal (16)
Organic (14)
Sunday Lunch (14)
Fun (14)
Good Vegetarian Options (12)
Great for Brunch (11)
Bar Seating (10)
Vibrant Bar Scene (10)
Happy Hour (10)
Great Beer (9)
Quiet Conversation (8)
Comfort Food (8)
Tasting Menu (7)
Vegan (5)
Gluten Free Options (5)
People Watching (4)
Great for Outdoor Dining (4)
Live Music (2)
Tapas (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (2)
Afternoon Tea (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Historic (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Sort By:
S
1540 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined 2 days ago

One of my favorite restaurants to visit with my friends when I am in Columbia. Good food, friendly service, fun time.

Tags: Happy Hour, Good for a Date, Sunday Lunch, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
·Dined 3 days ago

Staff was great, very accommodating even in a very busy night! All around great experience

Tags: Authentic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined 3 days ago

Wait staff was very attentive, knowledgeable, and professional. Food was beautifully plated and delicious

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients, Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Casual, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
·Dined 3 days ago

Friends visiting from Boston, but originally from Paris, said it was the best steak they had ever had. Quite a compliment since they are world travelers. Everything was great except for the table two over from us . The woman was so loud, people were looking over a lot. I think the waitstaff could have gently asked them to tone it down.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined 3 days ago

The food was great as usual. We had 3 first plates--octopus stew, pork nelly and scallops. Creme brûlée and peanut chocolate tort made the ending of the prefect meal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined 4 days ago

Everything was fabulous
Our server Michael was terrific
We shared several small plates and 2 entrees
Experienced a new wine on the Impressive
list from the Bakka valley in Lebanon!
Paired lovely with our food
Enjoy Cheff Wesley and the staffs creations

Tags: Special Occasion, Authentic, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined 5 days ago

Our server was excellent and very patient as we were having a group dinner at which we hadn't been together for quite a while and thus too much talking and not very quick in ordering (& possibly held the table too long - BUT we were NEVER hurried). This was first time dining here for most of us and would recommend for a small gathering (we had 6). The charcuterie board was excellent, and my wife's steak was excellent too - so much so that she ate the entire steak which I have never seen her do before (except for the one bite she gave me...which was excellent). If there was a negative, I would not recommend the "Frogmore Stew", or at least I was not impressed - mine was not replete of sausage but was impressively replete of shrimp - there were a lot more shrimp than I would expect so many people might like that more than the balance between the two that I was expecting. Don't take my earlier comments as a negative, just stating the facts and I WOULD go again, and I would recommend to others.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Gloucestershire)·Dined 6 days ago

Staff were lovely,being very understanding about our delay despite being very busy and surprising us with a free dessert for our anniversary. Food was nice

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on August 17, 2017

Loved it! Food was amazing. Our server was great. I tend to be a little picky and she spoke with the kitchen to see if they were able to substitute an item. Incredible dinner!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Naples)·Dined on August 16, 2017

This restaurant is one of the best I have ever been to and I live in an area with many excellent restaurants. The food is farm to table with fresh local ingredients from nearby farms. The menu changes daily with both seafood and beef choices. I can't wait to go back when we visit Columbia again!

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Healthy, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 16, 2017

The service was prompt and attentive without being intrusive. Wait staff is knowledgeable about the menu, ingredients and methods. Meal was prepared perfectly.

Tags: Seasonal, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on August 15, 2017

Once again, we had another fabulous meal at Motor Supply! They serve unique cocktails like the peach cucumber saracha margarita and they use local meats and vegetables for ultimate freshness!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on August 12, 2017

Had a great date night, the food and drinks were amazing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on August 12, 2017

Everything from the food to the service was amazing. Our waiter was perfect in letting us know his opinions and gave us great advice. The cheese board was amazing.

Tags: Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Great Beer, Notable Wine List, Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Business Meals, Seasonal, Healthy, Happy Hour, Good for a Date, Hot Spot, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Bar Seating, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 12, 2017

Great food, unique dishes with quality local ingredients.

Tags: Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
·Dined on August 12, 2017

Dinners were creative and delicious. Loved that the ingredients were local sourced! Mike, our server, even brought the table a surprise birthday dessert when he over heard we were celebrating. Will definitely come back!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Local Ingredients, Casual, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on August 8, 2017

Great restaurant for food and service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on August 5, 2017

A great meal! We love the atmosphere. I wish it wasn't quite so expensive. We would go more often.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on August 4, 2017

Wonderful anniversary experience. By the time we ordered, the halibut entree had ended and it was replaced with tile fish which was amazing. We also ordered the filet of ribeye and it was outstanding as well. This was our third time at Motor Supply Company and we will return the next time we are in Columbia.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on August 4, 2017

I have never had a bad meal or server here! It's my favorite restaurant!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 3, 2017

Everything was amazing as always. From them moment I pulled up. Friendly valet guy to awesome server.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
·Dined on August 2, 2017

The food was fabulous, very creative, healthy and tasty. The "by the glass" wine list was not equal to the food. The waitress was great, though the kitchen was a little slow. Fortunately, it was worth the wait. Overall, one of the best restaurants I have ever been to.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Local Ingredients, Seasonal, Worth the Drive, Business Meals, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good Vegetarian Options, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Vegan, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on July 31, 2017

Always a great choice. Never disappoints and you can't go wrong.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Casual, Sunday Lunch, Special Occasion, Afternoon Tea, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on July 29, 2017

Usually great experience, but this time disappointed with what arrived on plate v description, undercooked, fatty and lacking flavor, temperature of food and meager portions. I would have complained but due to guests and the occasion was asked not to. I will be back as I am sure this was a one off

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on July 29, 2017

Amazing food, absolutely worth the trip and the cost.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on July 28, 2017

Great menu of locally sourced items. Service was great. Will definitely be coming back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on July 28, 2017

Awesome, creative food!!! Will certainly be back.

Tags: Business Meals, Neighborhood Gem, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on July 27, 2017

Excellent in all ways...as it always is.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on July 27, 2017

Great one-off menu. Was there with my 18 yr old incoming freshman at Carolina. Food diverse, nice alternatives. Caitlin was an extraordinary server. First class.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Local Ingredients, Comfort Food, Authentic, Organic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

 
·Dined on July 27, 2017

Had a group of 8 for a business dinner. Service was great and the food is always delicious

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on July 27, 2017

Motor Supply has been my favorite Columbia restaurant for at least 25 years. The creative selections provide choices not available anywhere else, and last week, as always, everything was beautifully presented and perfectly scrumptious. Our server made the dining experience even more delightful. My guest from Atlanta has dined in fine restaurants all over the country, and she raved about it all.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Local Ingredients, Healthy, Good for a Date, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on July 27, 2017

Excellent as always. Great ambiance. Sophisticated food.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Happy Hour, Bar Seating, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Handcrafted Cocktails, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on July 25, 2017

Classy, good music, artwork, great service, romantic, business savvy, unique menu.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on July 23, 2017

Our experience was phenomenal. The food was delicious, the staff was attentive, and the atmosphere was great. I will absolutely visit Motor Supply Co. again.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Comfort Food, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on July 22, 2017

The environment was great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on July 22, 2017

Always excellent service and food. I really like the idea of using local foods. I highly recommend.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Great Beer, Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on July 22, 2017

We had a good meal. There was a problem with our salad. It was taken care of immediately, which is really all you can ask any restaurant to do. Attentive service by Alice.

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
·Dined on July 22, 2017

The tomato and watermelon salad!!! The beef tartare!! The lobster and cavatelli!!! Both boards!!! And The perfect pork chop!!! Delicious!!!!
The goat cheese with pistachio crust cheese cake!!! Creme brûlée!!!!
Alice, our server was INCREDIBLE!!!

Tags: Healthy, Special Occasion, Tasting Menu, Fun, Great Beer, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Hot Spot, Creative Cuisine, Casual, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on July 21, 2017

Great food and service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on July 19, 2017

It was my friends birthday. Beautiful meal great service right down to the little birthday candle on the dessert plate.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.