About Motor Supply Company Bistro

920 Gervais St.
Columbia, SC 29201
View Larger Map

Located in the historic Congaree Vista with a heated patio and free valet parking, Motor Supply has been serving progressive, New World cuisine using classic French culinary techniques for over 20 years. Led by Executive Chef Wesley Fulmer, the kitchen's lunch, dinner and brunch handwritten menus change daily, featuring contemporary New American cuisine, with nods to Creole, Cajun, Southern, French and Asian cuisine. Motor Supply works with local, sustainable farms for produce, meats, dairy and more. Seafood is caught off of the SC coast, and all of our charcuterie, desserts, stocks, sauces and dressings are made in-house. The bar boasts an extensive Wine Spectator Award of Excellence-winning list (2006-13), imported, domestic and local craft beers, as well as an artisan farm-to-shaker cocktail list made from house-infused liquors, handmade bitters, barrel-aged spirits and locally-sourced ingredients and garnishes, mixed up by Head Barman Josh Streetman.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Fusion / Eclectic, Creole / Cajun / Southern

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Tuesday-Saturday, 11:30 am-2:30 pm

Dinner: Tuesday-Thursday, 5:30 pm-9:30 pm
Friday-Saturday, 5:30 pm-10:30 pm
Sunday, 5:30 pm-9:00 pm

Brunch: Sunday, 10:30 am-2:30 pm

Cross Street:
Park and Lincoln Sts.

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(803) 256-6687

Website:
http://www.motorsupplycobistro.com/

Entertainment:
Koger Center for the Arts, Columbia Museum of Art, Colonial Life Arena, Columbia Metropolitan Convention Center; local bars, clubs and nightlife; several hotels and shopping venues all within walking distance in the Vista

Parking Details:
Free valet parking Tuesday-Saturday evenings and Tuesday-Friday at lunch. Parking lot with ~20 spaces. Easily accessible street parking.

Public Transit:
There are several public transit stops throughout the Columbia, SC downtown area, one of which is located a half-block from Motor Supply Co. Bistro. During the evenings, especially on weekends, taxis are readily available throughout the Vista.

Executive Chef:
Wesley Fulmer

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine, Wine Bar

Special Events & Promotions:
We host a biannual farm-to-table celebration to give back to our local, sustainable farming partners called Harvest Week. For details about the next Harvest Week, visit http://www.motorsupplycobistro.com, like us on Facebook and follow us on Twitter.

Restaurant Photos

Duck
Duo Of Duck Thigh Confit & House Smoked Sausage Sauced With Ginger-Apple Infused Honey
Grilled Lamb Chops
Grilled Diver Scallops
Gorgonzola Beef Tournedo Steak
Truth or Dare Cocktail
Crab Cakes
Shrimp
Roasted Chicken
Seared Filet Mignon
Charcuterie Board
Tomato Pie
Pomegranate Mojito
Crispy Duck With Wild Berry Sauce, Sauteed Green Beans And Whipped Potatoes
Butternut Squash With Goat Cheese And Spinach
Fresh cilantro, beet juice, & Don Julio reposado tequila w/honey simple syrup
New York Strip
Pork Chop
Strawberry Basil Lemonade
Roasted Crimini Salad
Salmon
Soft Shell Crab
Tilapia & Coconut Soy Chile Beurre Blanc
Pecan Pie
Apricot Rum Mojito
Eden Creek Farms Red Waddle Ham Flatbread
Shrimp With Spicy Garlic Sauce
Prime Rib
Grouper With A Thai BBQ Sauce, Pear Compote And Balsamic Reduction
Orrecchiette
Adult Chocolate Soda
Mai Tai
Maredsous 10 Tripel
Smoked Prime Rib
Grilled Mahi
Pork Tenderloin
Tomatoes Salad
Peach & Basil Mojito
Housemade charcuterie w/ house cured Caw Caw Creek Pastured Pork bacon, cocoa nib sausage,
Red Snapper with Strawberry Balsamic
Housemade Chocolate Apricot Bread Pudding
Smoked Trout Pate With Pickled Asparagus On Heather's Artisan Bread
Argentinean BBQ Chicken Salad With Citrus Cantaloupe Vinaigrette
Peanut Butter Chocolate Pie
Housemade Limoncello
SC Wreckfish & Tarragon Caper Cream Sauce With Creamy Jasmine Rice
Smoked Chile Tequila & Ruby Red Grapefruit Margarita
Cured Pork Loin Chop
Veal & Cremini Mushroom Meatloaf
Sea bass
Vegetables With Motz
Corned Beef Sandwich And Creamy Orzo Pasta Salad
steak bavette
Shrimp And Pork Ragout
Spinach & Swiss Quiche
Kangaroo
Wahoo
Shrimp Salsa Verde
Sugar Brined Pork Porterhouse With A Green Peppercorn Gravy
Pork Belly Over A Grit Cake
Steak

Motor Supply Company Bistro Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.6

ambience

4.5

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

97% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Columbia
Best Food
Columbia
Best Value
Columbia
2 More
Fit for Foodies
Columbia
Most Booked
Columbia
Best Restaurants in Columbia ›

Special Occasion (106)
Fit for Foodies (104)
Romantic (60)
See All
Notable Wine List (59)
Neighborhood Gem (54)
Hot Spot (49)
Great for Brunch (34)
Great for Lunch (31)
Good for Groups (28)
Great for Outdoor Dining (19)
Vibrant Bar Scene (17)
Late-night Find (13)
Kid-friendly (3)
Scenic View (2)
Cozy (1)
Creative Cuisine (1)
Tapas (1)
Sort By:
Newest
1121 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

One of the best restaurants in Columbia. ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined 3 days ago

One of the best restaurants in Columbia. Dishes are fresh and don't know where you can find a better meal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Farm to table restaurant. Food was good ...

vip
 (Charlotte)
·Dined 3 days ago

Farm to table restaurant. Food was good, just overall wasn't that impressed. Prices seemed a little high. It was good, unfortunately not great. Maybe just an off day. Many similar options in Columbia so not sure I'd return. Great bar scene

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3

It is just to noisy in the bar area. We ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined 6 days ago

It is just to noisy in the bar area. We would have had a perfect experience if we had been seated outside.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service4
value3

Chicago natives, this was one of our bes ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

Chicago natives, this was one of our best meals ever. The evening's pork belly appetizer was exquisite, and the pork chop with bacon braised kale and ground grits was absolutely amazing. Dessert and coffee were both excellent. The bourbon menu could be expanded a bit; but all-in-all, the biggest disappointment was that this dining experience had to come to an end. We can't wait to go back when we're in town again!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

We picked this for our anniversary dinne ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

We picked this for our anniversary dinner. I kinda wished we hadn't . It was much more pricey then we expected. It was a little cramped for us. We were In a corner table that kinda felt tight. The food was good and the plates were nicely put together. But for 2 meals, a cheese board and 2 beers our cost was $88; $101.20 with tip. I don't mind paying extra for good food but definitely overpriced for sure. Beers were $6 a piece... A Little much for me, which seemed odd as this place seemed to be a college hang out that day. It was definitely not what we expected. Good food but not for the price they charge.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3

First of what will many visits. Can't ev ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

First of what will many visits. Can't even offer suggestions for improvement. Food was outstanding and our waitress, Alice, was exceptional.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always a great meal at this restaurant. ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

Always a great meal at this restaurant. Staff is wonderful and their bartender is brilliant with his cocktails!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

For myself, it was a overall nice experi ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

For myself, it was a overall nice experience. We ordered an appetizer, salad, and entrees. However, after we received our appetizer, we had to wait an hour before our server even asked us if we were ready for our salad (which we weren't all that impressed with, but that was ok). My sword fish was fantastic, but my wife's ribeye was almost 70% fat. And that was, perhaps,the biggest disappointment. Considering the price of your meals, I would have expected a better quality cut of meat. Overall, it's very difficult to give a review. I was quite happy, but my wife was not. And considering it was our anniversary dinner, I would say that it was not a great experience.

Tags: Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value2

Great food. Menu is complex and requires ...

 
 (Jackson Hole)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

Great food. Menu is complex and requires some study before selecting courses. Swordfish was prepared wonderfully. Noisy in dining/bar area.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value3

I commute to Columbia for work and this ...

 
 (Savannah)
·Dined on August 11, 2016

I commute to Columbia for work and this restaurant is terrific. I googled best restaurants in Columbia and this was at the top of everyone's list. Very good farm to table ingredients, great service, nice wine list. The food is very fresh and unique. A wonderful gem in downtown Columbia. Not to be missed!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene, Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Consistently great food and service, the ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 11, 2016

Consistently great food and service, the hallmark of any fabulous foodie find. If they don't know something, they find someone in house who does. They are knowledgeable about what they are serving, which is seasonal, southern, low country farm to table locators preparations with pizazz!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Late-night Find, Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The menu is always changing, it is alway ...

vip
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on August 11, 2016

The menu is always changing, it is always fresh and perfectly prepared.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

One of my favorite places in Columbia. P ...

vip
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

One of my favorite places in Columbia. Parking is the worst issue but the food makes up for a minor inconvenience on the day there's no valet.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

I wanted guests from out of state to exp ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

I wanted guests from out of state to experience the best of Columbia. That is definitely Motor Supply. My guests were very impressed with the repurposed building, the decor, and most especially the farm-to-table menu. The food was excellent.

Tags: Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Kid-friendly, Romantic, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

we loved our experience at motor supply. ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on August 2, 2016

we loved our experience at motor supply. we were celebrating my moms 72nd birthday. the food was amazing. just the right amount and the flavor was great. we said we need to start eating there at least once a month. keep doing what your doing. love motor supply...................

Tags: Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

Great service, food was excellent. Cost ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

Great service, food was excellent. Cost high but not exorbitant. Good parking. Table had view of parking lot, but we really mind

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

As always, everything was great!!

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

As always, everything was great!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

LOVE the food and MOSTLY the atmosphere ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

LOVE the food and MOSTLY the atmosphere - but as most restaurants these days, it is TOO loud and too cold. It was quieter and warmer on the glass patio - was happy we were sat out there :)

Tags: Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Great drinks and meal! The service was ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

Great drinks and meal! The service was outstanding! Choosing Motor Supply for our celebratory dinner was a great choice! Thank you!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The MS has become our "anniversary" plac ...

 
 (Central Texas)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

The MS has become our "anniversary" place to be, thanks to past visits served proficiently by Adam, and, this year, by Ashley. We are delighted to report a continued warm welcome by the entire staff. Fine food, multiple surprises, and expert service are unparalleled. Thank you to one and all for making our 75th birthdays and our 55 wedding anniversary well worth the trip from Texas and, more locally, Hilton Head Island!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a great experience at motor suppl ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

We had a great experience at motor supply. The meal was amazing , my husband had a steak (was one of the best in Columbia) and I had a fish dish (the creamed corn was amazing). We also had the key lime pie (I would try something different next time as it was lacking on the crust). It would also be nice if they would offer sweet tea but overall great dining experience and we will be back!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

9 of us had a reservation at Motor Suppl ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on July 19, 2016

9 of us had a reservation at Motor Supply and we had a great time. We split basically every appetizer they had, all had different entrees and split all of the desserts. No one had any complaints. We had a wonderful time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great food, service and atmosphere. Clo ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on July 19, 2016

Great food, service and atmosphere. Close to many downtown and attractions in the Vista.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Absolutely a great place to dine and go ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Absolutely a great place to dine and go on dates or just hang out with friends.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Kid-friendly, Late-night Find, Notable Wine List, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great meal. Lamb could have been cooked ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Great meal. Lamb could have been cooked a little less. Not quite between rare and med rare. Excellent wine suggestions. Server knowledge was superb. Recommend the duck. Probably the best I have had. Will come back again and again

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

Service was really really outstanding. ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Service was really really outstanding. Definitely a highlight of the night.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Made the reservation in advance of a con ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

Made the reservation in advance of a convention trip to Columbia. Had to add to the head count twice. We went from two to six and were acccomodated. We were not given a choice of table location and were seated on the porch where it was hot which was didn't seem right considering it was an advanced reservation. We had a scenic view of the parking lot. For a 6:15 reservation on Friday we got out at 8:30. No per-fixe that we saw online was offered, that is only for restaurant week we were told. Difficult menu to select from but changes daily. One wine list for six people then the waiter asked for it back before we ordered the wine not knowing selection or price which was $10 per glass. Immediately ordered the cheese board when we sat down. Cheddar was substituted for the Gouda stated on the menu. Not much for $15. Next ordered the $12 tomato salad with is very small. The fried oyster salad for $14 was three times the size with protein. Desserts tasted fine but are small, not for sharing. The 3 that ordered meat and potatoes said it was fine. Would not recommend or go back. The only thing of interest was the old Motor Supply calendar behind the hostess stand. We were looking for a much more positive atmosphere, experience and outstanding food based on reviews. One ladies room for a restaurant is completely inadequate. I had indigestion all night from the apple cider vinaigrette.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value2

Very niche. Eclectic yet refined ambianc ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

Very niche. Eclectic yet refined ambiance. Food was masterfully prepared and delicious; I licked my plate clean!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The bone-in cowboy ribeye was cooked to ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

The bone-in cowboy ribeye was cooked to perfection.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Overall was very good experience. Food w ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on July 13, 2016

Overall was very good experience. Food was outstanding! Some portions could be larger but overall excellent. Only complaint is that we had a somewhat rude and unwelcoming hostess when my group of 5 showed up. Very short with us and made it very uncomfortable for the group. Maybe she was just having a bad day. Other than that, every other person we encountered, bar keeper and waiter, were exceptional. Definitely try it out.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value4

My meal was good as always but my husba ...

 
 (Western NC)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

My meal was good as always but my husband's was not up to par. The steak cut was not good and the manager did nothing about it when we brought it to their attention. I emailed the restaurant and told them about our experience 5 days ago and I have heard nothing back from them. It was my husband's birthday and he was disappointed as was I. It is our favorite place to go and I was surprised that they didn't take care of us this one time out of many.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value3

We loved Motor Supply!! We had a group o ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

We loved Motor Supply!! We had a group of five celebrating a birthday on a Friday evening. Our server Caitlin was so sweet, attentive, and prompt! Started with the cheese board (which was sensational), my husband had the filet of beef, and I had the duck. Everything tasted amazing and was perfectly cooked! Great selection of wine, craft beers, and cocktails too. We brought in a birthday cake, which Caitlin stored in the cooler and plated for us after dinner. We really appreciated that they didn't charge a cake-cutting fee too. Will definitely be back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

One of my favorites. A great meal, ever ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on July 7, 2016

One of my favorites. A great meal, every visit!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We've been here several times and the se ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on July 7, 2016

We've been here several times and the service is always excellent and the food is great. I believe the wine list is a little over priced but the wine is good.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Late-night Find, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food is great, fresh, and quit enjoyable ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on July 5, 2016

Food is great, fresh, and quit enjoyable. The only complaint is that it is a resteruant in the south that don't have sweet tea.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service5
value5

We took a friend that we havent seen in ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

We took a friend that we havent seen in quite awhile - wanted to take her to a great new place...we were NOT DISAPPOINTED!..the charcuterie plates were awesome and the drinks very tasty!! Our dinners were well cooked and delicious. The menu was very eclectic and made choosing what to have difficult! :) Will definitely go again!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I always enjoy the small plates. They ch ...

vip
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on June 28, 2016

I always enjoy the small plates. They change frequently and use fresh, local ingredients. My server was very helpful.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

I had a group of 7 for a business dinner ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on June 28, 2016

I had a group of 7 for a business dinner. Guests from Chicago, CT and MO who had visited Columbia several times but this was their first visit to Motor Supply. They said hands down this was the best dining experience they've had in Columbia.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Waitress was very knowledgeable & helpfu ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

Waitress was very knowledgeable & helpful in her recommendations. Nice presentation. Food was good but not outstanding.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

Food was just meh. Worst bread I've ever ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

Food was just meh. Worst bread I've ever been presented at a table. No salt or pepper at table and none offered. No butter just oily dip for rock hard bread. Wasn't super busy and service not really attentive. Steak undercooked and poorly presented. I don't understand this lack of effort at this price point. Much to improve on.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value2

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.