About Motor Supply Company Bistro

Located in the historic Congaree Vista with a heated patio and free valet parking, Motor Supply has been serving progressive, New World cuisine using classic French culinary techniques for over 20 years. Led by Executive Chef Wesley Fulmer, the kitchen's lunch, dinner and brunch handwritten menus change daily, featuring contemporary New American cuisine, with nods to Creole, Cajun, Southern, French and Asian cuisine. Motor Supply works with local, sustainable farms for produce, meats, dairy and more. Seafood is caught off of the SC coast, and all of our charcuterie, desserts, stocks, sauces and dressings are made in-house. The bar boasts an extensive Wine Spectator Award of Excellence-winning list (2006-13), imported, domestic and local craft beers, as well as an artisan farm-to-shaker cocktail list made from house-infused liquors, handmade bitters, barrel-aged spirits and locally-sourced ingredients and garnishes, mixed up by Head Barman Josh Streetman.

920 Gervais St.
Columbia, SC 29201
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Fusion / Eclectic, Creole / Cajun / Southern

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Tuesday-Saturday, 11:30 am-2:30 pm

Dinner: Tuesday-Thursday, 5:30 pm-9:30 pm
Friday-Saturday, 5:30 pm-10:30 pm
Sunday, 5:30 pm-9:00 pm

Brunch: Sunday, 10:30 am-2:30 pm

Cross Street:
Park and Lincoln Sts.

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(803) 256-6687

Website:
http://www.motorsupplycobistro.com/

Entertainment:
Koger Center for the Arts, Columbia Museum of Art, Colonial Life Arena, Columbia Metropolitan Convention Center; local bars, clubs and nightlife; several hotels and shopping venues all within walking distance in the Vista

Parking Details:
Free valet parking Tuesday-Saturday evenings and Tuesday-Friday at lunch. Parking lot with ~20 spaces. Easily accessible street parking.

Public Transit:
There are several public transit stops throughout the Columbia, SC downtown area, one of which is located a half-block from Motor Supply Co. Bistro. During the evenings, especially on weekends, taxis are readily available throughout the Vista.

Executive Chef:
Wesley Fulmer

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
We host a biannual farm-to-table celebration to give back to our local, sustainable farming partners called Harvest Week. For details about the next Harvest Week, visit http://www.motorsupplycobistro.com, like us on Facebook and follow us on Twitter.

Motor Supply Company Bistro Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.7

ambience

4.5

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Local Ingredients (75)
Good for a Date (74)
Fit for Foodies (64)
See All
Creative Cuisine (58)
Special Occasion (53)
Handcrafted Cocktails (40)
Good for Anniversaries (39)
Authentic (37)
Neighborhood Gem (36)
Notable Wine List (34)
Romantic (30)
Good for Birthdays (29)
Business Meals (26)
Cozy (25)
Casual (24)
Worth the Drive (22)
Fun (20)
Good Vegetarian Options (18)
Bar Seating (18)
Historic (17)
Hot Spot (17)
Seasonal (16)
Modern Decor (15)
Great for Outdoor Dining (14)
Organic (14)
Sunday Lunch (13)
Comfort Food (13)
Healthy (13)
Quiet Conversation (13)
Great for Brunch (11)
Great Beer (11)
Pre/post Theatre (10)
Outstanding Value (9)
Vibrant Bar Scene (8)
Great for Lunch (8)
Tasting Menu (7)
Happy Hour (7)
Good for Groups (6)
Paleo Friendly (6)
Molecular Gastronomy (4)
Late-night Find (4)
Gluten Free Options (4)
People Watching (3)
Private Room (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Scenic View (1)
Tapas (1)
Spicy (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Sort By:
S
1398 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined a day ago

Food was great

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined 3 days ago

Lunch was delicious and waitstaff very friendly. Would go back.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Casual, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Charleston)·Dined 4 days ago

This is my favorite place in Columbia by far! The oysters are unreal!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Savannah)·Dined on April 23, 2017

Always good but not great! Cosy and funky but noises!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on April 22, 2017

Good dinner, the "outdoor" area was more quiet and the temp was cooler than inside. meal was good. Both had beef which was very good. Beet salad was very tasty. Bartender mixed a perfect dirty gin martini.

Tags: Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on April 22, 2017

Very nice atmosphere although we would have preferred mash potatoes not the grain dish!!
Wine menu was enormous - nice restaurant.

Tags: Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on April 22, 2017

Very consistent with a unique variety of food that has never disappointed. Well trained and attentive staff.

Tags: Healthy, Organic, Late-night Find, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Authentic, Pre/post Theatre, Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Austin)·Dined on April 20, 2017

Excellent Service! Food was good and very nice atmosphere. I would recommend and will likely visit again on my next trip to Columbia.

Tags: Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on April 18, 2017

I travel to Columbia frequently for work and Motor Supply Co. is my favorite restaurant in Columbia. I love that their food is fresh and local and their menu changes daily. I've always had great service and an excellent dining experience every time I've come. I highly recommend!

Tags: Private Room, Seasonal, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Fantastic experience! Food delicious and service fabulous!

Tags: Seasonal, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Must confess that I love Motor Supply but I don't get there as often as I would like. Eddie does a wonderful job and keeps this a special place. We had a great evening and an excellent waitress. Amazing bartender (Jason?) so great cocktails. Wine list very nice. All in all I'm going to make more of an effort to dine at Motor Supply in the future.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Fun, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Great for Outdoor Dining, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Never a bad meal at Motor Supply; fantastic as always!

Tags: Healthy, Hot Spot, Comfort Food, Creative Cuisine, Casual, Handcrafted Cocktails, Bar Seating, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Local menu but the food was very bland. The service was great though.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service4
value1

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 15, 2017

We love the atmosphere and the local farm to table daily changing menu. 2 of us at the table ordered a mojito and it was one of the best I have had outside of the Caribbean. I am gluten free and they are very accommodating. As always, the service was wonderful!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Gluten Free Options, Romantic, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Austin)·Dined on April 15, 2017

Food was excellent! Go and ask for Stephanie. She's great and very knowledgeable about the menu and drinks. She also has awesome ink. Ask for tattoo parlor recommendations. Tip her well!

Tags: Hot Spot, Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails, Authentic, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Great Beer, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Romantic, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on April 13, 2017

The steak and fish were cooked well. Unfortunately the waiter was very inattentive. He never asked us how our food was yet he spent time at his larger tables.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service2
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 12, 2017

One of the best meals that I've had in a long time. We were thrilled to be able to chat with the Executive Chef. He was so lovely.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 9, 2017

Excellent in all regards. Especially loved the torchon de foie gras!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Fun, Neighborhood Gem, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on April 9, 2017

We stopped by Motor Supply on a Sunday evening for an early supper after an afternoon event in the hot sun. Sunday options are limited, so we were glad to know MS was serving. The Sunday menu also is not as extensive as the regular week night, so we started our meal with a great cocktail - -a blood orange margarita-- that was both original and deliciously refreshing. We were among the first diners, so the porch was available and very quiet. The charcuterie board was a nice beginning to the meal with a lovely duck pate' and a variety of other cold cuts. The steaks we ordered were perfectly cooked and very tasty. The wine list is adequate, with several reasonable choices and a variety of more expensive vintages, but not intimidating. Service was very attentive and efficient. Motor Supply is one of our favorite Columbia restaurants and it has always provided very good meals. It gets very busy during the week, so call for reservations to avoid a wait.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Tasting Menu, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 9, 2017

This is the fourth year we have dined at Motor Supply Company Bistro on our annual Masters trip. The food is consistently excellent with great menu items and terrific specials. The service was outstanding as usual. They even know what "NFL" means when ordering a cocktail!

Tags: Late-night Find, Authentic, Fun, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on April 9, 2017

People say it's best in town....wrong. Interior is a bit cheesy with pictures for sale...food is extremely average...porkchop had no flavor. Good bartenders and service though.

Oak table is way better

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on April 9, 2017

Still the absolute best restaurant in Columbia and probably top 5 in the south. Josh is an unbeatable barkeep.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on April 8, 2017

Outstanding meal! My steak was among the best I have ever eaten... so flavorful, tender and cooked perfectly. It was served over some of the creamiest mashed potatoes I've eaten and the spinach was good (even for a non-spinach guy!). My wife's shrimp and stone ground grits were also flavorful and fresh. Love the locally sourced fresh food; and the staff is great. It is a little pricey, but well worth every once in a while.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 7, 2017

Slow service. Arrogance. Very disappointing. Food not outstanding and very expensive.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service2
value1

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on April 7, 2017

We're frequent locals. Motor Supply has been a favorite of ours for over 25 years in Columbia. Our last trip was especially good as we could share the mix of locals with visitors for the Masters Tournament. I would give it five stars for Columbia; it is one of the best of the best, but I'll reserve that last star for true five star restaurants.

Tags: Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Historic, Handcrafted Cocktails, People Watching, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on April 5, 2017

We stopped in Columbia to avoid a storm, founder this truly deliciousted restaurant for dinner. Highly recommend, as a true haven in bad weather.

Tags: Historic, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on April 5, 2017

The food was really good. A little loud, but it was crowded the entire time we were there. Lots of 30-40 YO's.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients, Notable Wine List, Great for Outdoor Dining, Spicy, Good for a Date, Fun, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Berkshire)·Dined on April 4, 2017

Food and wine was very good. Not sure I enjoyed the 'hard' Brussel sprouts and white stuff with my duck....which was very, very good. Ambiance was good...and the waitress was terrific

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on April 4, 2017

First time dining at this restaurant. Food (shrimp and grits) was good but not amazing for the price. Dropped $150 for two with two beverages each and dessert.

Tags: Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value2

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on April 4, 2017

Motor Supply is one of my all time favorites anywhere! Menu changes daily based on what is available fresh. Innovative entrees and desert. I'll go back again and again.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on April 4, 2017

Wwe had a very nice meal. We enjoyed the food and the service was great. My halibut was cooked perfectly and the pesto sauce was perfect with the fish.

Tags: Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Nashville)·Dined on April 4, 2017

This was our fifth visit and everything was as delicious as we remembered. We sat on the porch which was delightful. Ashley was our server and she did a great job explaining the menu and meeting our needs.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on April 2, 2017

Food was delicious & our waiter, Mike, was outstanding.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on April 2, 2017

The Halibut was outstanding and the Old Fashioned made with brown sugar ranks in the top 5 of cocktails I've ever enjoyed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on April 2, 2017

I love new things, but the food wasn't great here. Cocktails were definitely not good enough for the price.

Tags: Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value1

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on April 1, 2017

Excellent food. Great Service. Our waitress was wonderful. Great old fashion

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Fun, Authentic, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on April 1, 2017

You can never go wrong with Motor Supply! From complimentary valet parking, a unique and different menu at each visit, and the knowledge and friendly staff, this place is a gem! The food is truly superb. I always look forward to an excuse to dine at Motor Supply!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Lunch, Organic, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive, Cozy, Great Beer, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (London)·Dined on March 28, 2017

Was in SC 1 night for business and heard from several locals that this was great spot. They were right. Food and service was perfect.

Tags: Business Meals, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Great Beer, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on March 28, 2017

Food and service was superb! For a quiet atmosphere, secure one of the earlier reservations.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on March 28, 2017

I have been to Motor Supply a couple times and have always been impressed with the quality of the food and the rest of the restaurant. They always do an amzing job and I will definitely be back.

Tags: Good for a Date, Romantic, Modern Decor, Great for Brunch, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.