About Motor Supply Company Bistro

920 Gervais St.
Columbia, SC 29201
View Larger Map

Located in the historic Congaree Vista with a heated patio and free valet parking, Motor Supply has been serving progressive, New World cuisine using classic French culinary techniques for over 20 years. Led by Executive Chef Wesley Fulmer, the kitchen's lunch, dinner and brunch handwritten menus change daily, featuring contemporary New American cuisine, with nods to Creole, Cajun, Southern, French and Asian cuisine. Motor Supply works with local, sustainable farms for produce, meats, dairy and more. Seafood is caught off of the SC coast, and all of our charcuterie, desserts, stocks, sauces and dressings are made in-house. The bar boasts an extensive Wine Spectator Award of Excellence-winning list (2006-13), imported, domestic and local craft beers, as well as an artisan farm-to-shaker cocktail list made from house-infused liquors, handmade bitters, barrel-aged spirits and locally-sourced ingredients and garnishes, mixed up by Head Barman Josh Streetman.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Fusion / Eclectic, Creole / Cajun / Southern

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Tuesday-Saturday, 11:30 am-2:30 pm

Dinner: Tuesday-Thursday, 5:30 pm-9:30 pm
Friday-Saturday, 5:30 pm-10:30 pm
Sunday, 5:30 pm-9:00 pm

Brunch: Sunday, 10:30 am-2:30 pm

Cross Street:
Park and Lincoln Sts.

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(803) 256-6687

Website:
http://www.motorsupplycobistro.com/

Entertainment:
Koger Center for the Arts, Columbia Museum of Art, Colonial Life Arena, Columbia Metropolitan Convention Center; local bars, clubs and nightlife; several hotels and shopping venues all within walking distance in the Vista

Parking Details:
Free valet parking Tuesday-Saturday evenings and Tuesday-Friday at lunch. Parking lot with ~20 spaces. Easily accessible street parking.

Public Transit:
There are several public transit stops throughout the Columbia, SC downtown area, one of which is located a half-block from Motor Supply Co. Bistro. During the evenings, especially on weekends, taxis are readily available throughout the Vista.

Executive Chef:
Wesley Fulmer

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine, Wine Bar

Special Events & Promotions:
We host a biannual farm-to-table celebration to give back to our local, sustainable farming partners called Harvest Week. For details about the next Harvest Week, visit http://www.motorsupplycobistro.com, like us on Facebook and follow us on Twitter.

Restaurant Photos

Duck
Duo Of Duck Thigh Confit & House Smoked Sausage Sauced With Ginger-Apple Infused Honey
Grilled Lamb Chops
Grilled Diver Scallops
Gorgonzola Beef Tournedo Steak
Crab Cakes
Truth or Dare Cocktail
Shrimp
Roasted Chicken
Seared Filet Mignon
Charcuterie Board
Tomato Pie
Pomegranate Mojito
Crispy Duck With Wild Berry Sauce, Sauteed Green Beans And Whipped Potatoes
Butternut Squash With Goat Cheese And Spinach
Fresh cilantro, beet juice, & Don Julio reposado tequila w/honey simple syrup
New York Strip
Pork Chop
Strawberry Basil Lemonade
Roasted Crimini Salad
Salmon
Soft Shell Crab
Tilapia & Coconut Soy Chile Beurre Blanc
Pecan Pie
Apricot Rum Mojito
Grouper With A Thai BBQ Sauce, Pear Compote And Balsamic Reduction
Shrimp With Spicy Garlic Sauce
Prime Rib
Eden Creek Farms Red Waddle Ham Flatbread
Adult Chocolate Soda
Orrecchiette
Mai Tai
Smoked Prime Rib
Maredsous 10 Tripel
Pork Tenderloin
Grilled Mahi
Tomatoes Salad
Peach & Basil Mojito
Argentinean BBQ Chicken Salad With Citrus Cantaloupe Vinaigrette
Smoked Chile Tequila & Ruby Red Grapefruit Margarita
Red Snapper with Strawberry Balsamic
SC Wreckfish & Tarragon Caper Cream Sauce With Creamy Jasmine Rice
Housemade Chocolate Apricot Bread Pudding
Peanut Butter Chocolate Pie
Housemade charcuterie w/ house cured Caw Caw Creek Pastured Pork bacon, cocoa nib sausage,
Smoked Trout Pate With Pickled Asparagus On Heather's Artisan Bread
Housemade Limoncello
Cured Pork Loin Chop
Veal & Cremini Mushroom Meatloaf
Corned Beef Sandwich And Creamy Orzo Pasta Salad
Vegetables With Motz
Sea bass
steak bavette
Shrimp And Pork Ragout
Spinach & Swiss Quiche
Kangaroo
Wahoo
Sugar Brined Pork Porterhouse With A Green Peppercorn Gravy
Shrimp Salsa Verde
Steak
Pork Belly Over A Grit Cake

Motor Supply Company Bistro Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.5

ambience

4.4

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Columbia
Best Food
Columbia
Best Service
Columbia
4 More
Best Value
Columbia
Fit for Foodies
Columbia
Romantic
Columbia
Most Booked
Columbia
Best Restaurants in Columbia ›

fit for foodies (122)
special occasion (113)
notable wine list (65)
See All
romantic (65)
neighborhood gem (59)
hot spot (53)
great for brunch (35)
good for groups (34)
great for lunch (33)
great for outdoor dining (24)
vibrant bar scene (20)
late-night find (15)
scenic view (2)
kid-friendly (2)
Sort By:
Newest
1102 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

The MS has become our "anniversary" plac ...

 
 (Central Texas)
·Dined 5 days ago

The MS has become our "anniversary" place to be, thanks to past visits served proficiently by Adam, and, this year, by Ashley. We are delighted to report a continued warm welcome by the entire staff. Fine food, multiple surprises, and expert service are unparalleled. Thank you to one and all for making our 75th birthdays and our 55 wedding anniversary well worth the trip from Texas and, more locally, Hilton Head Island!!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a great experience at motor suppl ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined 6 days ago

We had a great experience at motor supply. The meal was amazing , my husband had a steak (was one of the best in Columbia) and I had a fish dish (the creamed corn was amazing). We also had the key lime pie (I would try something different next time as it was lacking on the crust). It would also be nice if they would offer sweet tea but overall great dining experience and we will be back!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

9 of us had a reservation at Motor Suppl ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on July 19, 2016

9 of us had a reservation at Motor Supply and we had a great time. We split basically every appetizer they had, all had different entrees and split all of the desserts. No one had any complaints. We had a wonderful time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great food, service and atmosphere. Clo ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on July 19, 2016

Great food, service and atmosphere. Close to many downtown and attractions in the Vista.

Tags: good for groups, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Absolutely a great place to dine and go ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Absolutely a great place to dine and go on dates or just hang out with friends.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, late-night find, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great meal. Lamb could have been cooked ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Great meal. Lamb could have been cooked a little less. Not quite between rare and med rare. Excellent wine suggestions. Server knowledge was superb. Recommend the duck. Probably the best I have had. Will come back again and again

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

Service was really really outstanding. ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Service was really really outstanding. Definitely a highlight of the night.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Made the reservation in advance of a con ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

Made the reservation in advance of a convention trip to Columbia. Had to add to the head count twice. We went from two to six and were acccomodated. We were not given a choice of table location and were seated on the porch where it was hot which was didn't seem right considering it was an advanced reservation. We had a scenic view of the parking lot. For a 6:15 reservation on Friday we got out at 8:30. No per-fixe that we saw online was offered, that is only for restaurant week we were told. Difficult menu to select from but changes daily. One wine list for six people then the waiter asked for it back before we ordered the wine not knowing selection or price which was $10 per glass. Immediately ordered the cheese board when we sat down. Cheddar was substituted for the Gouda stated on the menu. Not much for $15. Next ordered the $12 tomato salad with is very small. The fried oyster salad for $14 was three times the size with protein. Desserts tasted fine but are small, not for sharing. The 3 that ordered meat and potatoes said it was fine. Would not recommend or go back. The only thing of interest was the old Motor Supply calendar behind the hostess stand. We were looking for a much more positive atmosphere, experience and outstanding food based on reviews. One ladies room for a restaurant is completely inadequate. I had indigestion all night from the apple cider vinaigrette.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value2

Very niche. Eclectic yet refined ambianc ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

Very niche. Eclectic yet refined ambiance. Food was masterfully prepared and delicious; I licked my plate clean!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The bone-in cowboy ribeye was cooked to ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

The bone-in cowboy ribeye was cooked to perfection.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Overall was very good experience. Food w ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on July 13, 2016

Overall was very good experience. Food was outstanding! Some portions could be larger but overall excellent. Only complaint is that we had a somewhat rude and unwelcoming hostess when my group of 5 showed up. Very short with us and made it very uncomfortable for the group. Maybe she was just having a bad day. Other than that, every other person we encountered, bar keeper and waiter, were exceptional. Definitely try it out.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value4

My meal was good as always but my husba ...

 
 (Western NC)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

My meal was good as always but my husband's was not up to par. The steak cut was not good and the manager did nothing about it when we brought it to their attention. I emailed the restaurant and told them about our experience 5 days ago and I have heard nothing back from them. It was my husband's birthday and he was disappointed as was I. It is our favorite place to go and I was surprised that they didn't take care of us this one time out of many.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value3

We loved Motor Supply!! We had a group o ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

We loved Motor Supply!! We had a group of five celebrating a birthday on a Friday evening. Our server Caitlin was so sweet, attentive, and prompt! Started with the cheese board (which was sensational), my husband had the filet of beef, and I had the duck. Everything tasted amazing and was perfectly cooked! Great selection of wine, craft beers, and cocktails too. We brought in a birthday cake, which Caitlin stored in the cooler and plated for us after dinner. We really appreciated that they didn't charge a cake-cutting fee too. Will definitely be back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

One of my favorites. A great meal, ever ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on July 7, 2016

One of my favorites. A great meal, every visit!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We've been here several times and the se ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on July 7, 2016

We've been here several times and the service is always excellent and the food is great. I believe the wine list is a little over priced but the wine is good.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, special occasion, late-night find, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food is great, fresh, and quit enjoyable ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on July 5, 2016

Food is great, fresh, and quit enjoyable. The only complaint is that it is a resteruant in the south that don't have sweet tea.

Tags: romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service5
value5

We took a friend that we havent seen in ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

We took a friend that we havent seen in quite awhile - wanted to take her to a great new place...we were NOT DISAPPOINTED!..the charcuterie plates were awesome and the drinks very tasty!! Our dinners were well cooked and delicious. The menu was very eclectic and made choosing what to have difficult! :) Will definitely go again!!

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I always enjoy the small plates. They ch ...

vip
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on June 28, 2016

I always enjoy the small plates. They change frequently and use fresh, local ingredients. My server was very helpful.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

I had a group of 7 for a business dinner ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on June 28, 2016

I had a group of 7 for a business dinner. Guests from Chicago, CT and MO who had visited Columbia several times but this was their first visit to Motor Supply. They said hands down this was the best dining experience they've had in Columbia.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Waitress was very knowledgeable & helpfu ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

Waitress was very knowledgeable & helpful in her recommendations. Nice presentation. Food was good but not outstanding.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

Food was just meh. Worst bread I've ever ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

Food was just meh. Worst bread I've ever been presented at a table. No salt or pepper at table and none offered. No butter just oily dip for rock hard bread. Wasn't super busy and service not really attentive. Steak undercooked and poorly presented. I don't understand this lack of effort at this price point. Much to improve on.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value2

Service was okay. Our table waited 15-20 ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

Service was okay. Our table waited 15-20 minutes just for our waiter to ask what we would like as a starter (after we waved him down). Then the starter (buttermilk fried quail) arrived cold. The main course was delicious. All and all, I would recommend motor supply to a friend. I've been here several times and this was the first time I left somewhat disappointed. Maybe they were just having an off day.

Tags: fit for foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

Love this restaurant. The food is amazi ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

Love this restaurant. The food is amazing; fresh ingredients, locally grown. However on this visit I was a little disappointed. The waiter was slow and inattentive. We had to get his attention so that we could order appetizers. It took a while for our meal to be served. Also my entrée was slightly overcooked, which could have been my fault for requesting no pink. I will dine here again and definitely recommend to friends.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value4

We had a lot of friends recommend that w ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

We had a lot of friends recommend that we try Motor Supply Company, but overall I don't think I would go again for the price. If you are really into food, then it is worth it, but for two entrees, two drinks, and a 20% tip, it was a little under $100. The food was tasty and well-done, and it is a very casual dining environment (waitress had on a black tank top). Some people are dressed up, but shorts and a nice t-shirt fit in just fine. We sat on the enclosed patio, and it was nice! Overall it is great for certain types of people, maybe just not us! We are used to shelling out money for dinners every once in a while, but to us it just wasn't worth it.

Also, if you need glasses to read, BRING THEM! I am 22 and could barely read the menu. They hand write it (pretty sure its girly writing), and it is very smushed together and difficult to read. One other thing, THEY DON'T HAVE SWEET TEA! That's common at expensive restaurants, but I wouldn't have gone had I known that. I love sweet tea!

Tags: fit for foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful meal! Great fresh seasonal se ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

Wonderful meal! Great fresh seasonal selections and changing menu.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent!!!! Ihaveneverhadabadmealorbed ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on June 23, 2016

Excellent!!!! Ihaveneverhadabadmealorbedservicehere.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Delicious dinner. Flat iron steak was b ...

vip
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on June 21, 2016

Delicious dinner. Flat iron steak was booked to perfection and so tender. Wreckfish was fantastic too.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

Motor Supply always delivers an excellen ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on June 21, 2016

Motor Supply always delivers an excellent meal with good service. We went for my husband's birthday which I had noted on the reservation. The server was aware and told him Happy Birthday! They gave him a complimentary dessert as well which was a nice touch. He tried the Catch of the Day, wreck fish. That is a rather thick fish but it was perfectly prepared. I had the Duck which had sweet potatoes, collards and a berry sauce. It was the perfect sweet, salty. sour combination to go with the duck. The server was attentive without interrupting our dinner every 5 minutes as some do. Very enjoyable evening.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, special occasion, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Perfect experience! The food was incred ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Perfect experience! The food was incredible. We started with an Artisan cheese board paired with a tomato jam that was out of this world! My husband had the bone in pork chop that was thick but juicy and very flavorful. I had the coulotte steak with an amazing demi glace. Our server Adam was attentive, knowledgeable about the menu and made a wine suggestion that complimented our meal perfectly! I would recommend Motor Supply without hesitation!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

it's good food

 
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

it's good food

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3

Fathers Day brunch with a party of five. ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Fathers Day brunch with a party of five. Great selections on the menu but would have liked another more kid-friendly options. Service was perfectly attentive and answered numerous questions. Quiche of the day was outstanding and meat-free. We will be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Motor Supply continues to be one of the ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

Motor Supply continues to be one of the best restaurants in Columbia. The appetizer and salad prices tend to run higher than those at comparable Columbia restaurants, which is surpising at an establishment with such a good wine list. This visit the restaurant was even more celiac-friendly than they had been in the past. Yummy local food but still down to earth.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

The food was cooked and presented beauti ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

The food was cooked and presented beautifully. Hostess was not the friendliest, but the waiter was wonderful.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

Great Food and a Great Bartender in Josh ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on June 15, 2016

Great Food and a Great Bartender in Josh

we have always enjoyed our time here

Tags: good for groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Love the food, love the service, love th ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

Love the food, love the service, love the atmosphere. My only complaint is that the handwriting on the menu's is so very illegible. It makes me wish you had someone on staff who would copy over the chef's notes in a more readable hand before you photocopy it. Many of the women in our group - particularly those who use reading glasses - had a very difficult time reading the menu.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

I can't say enough good things about Mot ...

vip
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

I can't say enough good things about Motor Supply. It is my favorite Restaurant in Columbia.

The menu continues to surprise me. The recent trip was to enjoy the farm to table week. Rabbit is not my usual choice but it surpassed any I have had. I recommend this restaurant for any occasion.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent food, tremendous knowledgeable waitress

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on June 10, 2016

Best meal I have ever had in Columbia, S.C. Four people in our group and everyone ordered a different entree. All raved about their food and not a scrap left. The desserts were also wonderful.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent food and servers!!!

vip
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on June 5, 2016

Excellent food and servers!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Anniversary night

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on June 4, 2016

This was my first time eating at this restaurant and everything from the atmosphere to the food and drinks was very good; except the service dropped off a little after our food order was placed. It took almost 30 minutes to receive our meal and noticed that a table that was seated 10-15 minutes after us received their food before us. Other than that, this dining experience was very good.

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

Excellent!

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on June 3, 2016

This was a fantastic meal - the menu was inventive and we enjoyed a number of great things and the cocktails were unique!

Tags: fit for foodies, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.