About Motor Supply Company Bistro

Located in the historic Congaree Vista with a heated patio and free valet parking, Motor Supply has been serving progressive, New World cuisine using classic French culinary techniques for over 20 years. Led by Executive Chef Wesley Fulmer, the kitchen's lunch, dinner and brunch handwritten menus change daily, featuring contemporary New American cuisine, with nods to Creole, Cajun, Southern, French and Asian cuisine. Motor Supply works with local, sustainable farms for produce, meats, dairy and more. Seafood is caught off of the SC coast, and all of our charcuterie, desserts, stocks, sauces and dressings are made in-house. The bar boasts an extensive Wine Spectator Award of Excellence-winning list (2006-13), imported, domestic and local craft beers, as well as an artisan farm-to-shaker cocktail list made from house-infused liquors, handmade bitters, barrel-aged spirits and locally-sourced ingredients and garnishes, mixed up by Head Barman Josh Streetman.

920 Gervais St.
Columbia, SC 29201
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Fusion / Eclectic, Creole / Cajun / Southern

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Tuesday-Saturday, 11:30 am-2:30 pm

Dinner: Tuesday-Thursday, 5:30 pm-9:30 pm
Friday-Saturday, 5:30 pm-10:30 pm
Sunday, 5:30 pm-9:00 pm

Brunch: Sunday, 10:30 am-2:30 pm

Cross Street:
Park and Lincoln Sts.

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(803) 256-6687

Website:
http://www.motorsupplycobistro.com/

Entertainment:
Koger Center for the Arts, Columbia Museum of Art, Colonial Life Arena, Columbia Metropolitan Convention Center; local bars, clubs and nightlife; several hotels and shopping venues all within walking distance in the Vista

Parking Details:
Free valet parking Tuesday-Saturday evenings and Tuesday-Friday at lunch. Parking lot with ~20 spaces. Easily accessible street parking.

Public Transit:
There are several public transit stops throughout the Columbia, SC downtown area, one of which is located a half-block from Motor Supply Co. Bistro. During the evenings, especially on weekends, taxis are readily available throughout the Vista.

Executive Chef:
Wesley Fulmer

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
We host a biannual farm-to-table celebration to give back to our local, sustainable farming partners called Harvest Week. For details about the next Harvest Week, visit http://www.motorsupplycobistro.com, like us on Facebook and follow us on Twitter.

Motor Supply Company Bistro Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.7

ambience

4.5

value

4.3

Noise

Moderate

98% would recommend it to a friend

Local Ingredients (69)
Special Occasion (61)
Good for a Date (60)
See All
Creative Cuisine (54)
Fit for Foodies (53)
Good for Anniversaries (37)
Business Meals (33)
Handcrafted Cocktails (32)
Notable Wine List (32)
Neighborhood Gem (31)
Romantic (29)
Healthy (28)
Worth the Drive (28)
Authentic (27)
Good for Birthdays (27)
Seasonal (19)
Hot Spot (18)
Casual (17)
Fun (15)
Good for Groups (14)
Great for Lunch (14)
Cozy (13)
Pre/post Theatre (13)
Tasting Menu (12)
Great Beer (11)
Happy Hour (11)
Quiet Conversation (10)
Vibrant Bar Scene (10)
Comfort Food (10)
Organic (9)
Great for Brunch (9)
Bar Seating (8)
Sunday Lunch (7)
Good Vegetarian Options (6)
Great for Outdoor Dining (4)
Kid-friendly (3)
People Watching (3)
Tapas (3)
Disabled Access (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Vegan (2)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Live Music (1)
Sort By:
S
1594 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined 2 days ago

Fun atmosphere, great location for dinner or drinks before a concert, great quality of food

Tags: Fun, Creative Cuisine, People Watching, Fit for Foodies, Pre/post Theatre, Casual, Good for a Date, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined 5 days ago

Food was “good” not great. Steak was tough and over priced for the quality of the cut. Will likely not return. The shrimp dish was good but did not compensate for the other meals and mediocre service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined 5 days ago

The food was very nice and so was our server. We enjoyed our dinner very much!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Louisville)·Dined 6 days ago

Celebrating marriage proposal

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on October 12, 2017

This was our fifth time at Motor Supply stretching over 10 years. This was the best meal yet. The menu is inventive and the execution outstanding. Drinks, wine, food...all excellent.

Tags: Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
·Dined on October 8, 2017

MSC is our favvorite place to go for a romantic dinner. The service is 5star as is the cuisine. The menu is hand written each day and the chef creates some absolutely I credible combinations. The cost is perfect for the service and selections you receive.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Healthy, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Pre/post Theatre, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on October 8, 2017

New menu daily which you can check ahead of time online, fresh local food. We had the steak special, tender, flavorful and the shrimp with grits, also outstanding. Service was top notch and friendly. This was our third time dining here, as we are from out of town, but is a top pick when visiting.

Tags: Casual, Good for a Date, Great for Brunch, Authentic, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 8, 2017

This is our 3rd visit to the Motor Lodge, and the food is always awesome. Best restaurant in Columbia hands down.

Tags: Comfort Food, Great for Brunch, Healthy, Special Occasion, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on October 7, 2017

Dessert was outstanding! Mocca Cheesecake
Veggies were undercooked
Portion size on the small size
Rib Eye meal &
Cauliflower “steak” meal
We were both still a bit hungry afterwards.
Overall a 4 this visit!
Saturday 6pm

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on October 7, 2017

First time at this restaurant. Made last minute reservation on one of the busiest weekend of the year in Columbia. Despite the fact the place was overflowing with diners, the waiter was professional, energetic and entertaining. Took his time to explain everything. The cuisine is very creative and fantastic. The menu changes EVERYDAY. The everything we ordered was fantastic Fantastic use of sauces and rubs. Everything was spectacular.. Six stars out of 5, can't wait to go back.

Tags: Business Meals, Fun, Special Occasion, Authentic, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Seasonal, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on October 7, 2017

I took my mom to Motor Supply Company Bistro as nice dinner while she visited during Parents Weekend and we had the most fun night ever! The food was amazing as always and the customer service really added to the overall experience! We will defiantly be coming back again very soon!

Tags: Bar Seating, Fun, Special Occasion, Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Tasting Menu, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on October 6, 2017

Food was amazing, server was well informed and wonderfully attentive. Absolutely loved everything about our evening!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 4, 2017

We went to Motor Supply for our wedding anniversary. The staff could not have been friendlier! Our waiter was Kyle and he was absolutely fantastic. The food was excellent. I had the filet and I didn’t even need a knife to cut into it because it was so smooth. Overall an excellent experience!!

Tags: Good for a Date, Hot Spot, Organic, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 30, 2017

Great meal and service! We all enjoyed a variety of menu items and they were all delicious.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on September 27, 2017

Excellent food. Seating is crowded and very noisy but the food and service made up for the down falls.

Tags: Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on September 27, 2017

This is my second time dining at Motor Supply. I am very disappointed with my experience compared with my original visit. I came to celebrate my birthday and was very unhappy with my meal. The seared tuna was overcooked and the sauce had a very odd taste. The duck was over overcooked as well and I was unhappy with the presentation. The waitress never came to check on us after our dishes were served or else I would've complained... especially about the appetizer. I was so unhappy I did not stay to order dessert. I did not expect this, particularly since my first dining experience was so wonderful.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service2
value1

 
·Dined on September 27, 2017

Had an opportunity to bring my customer in who is a long time visitor to the area. Fortunately he'd not been to this restaurant before. I chose It because despite the daily rotation in menu options, there is always a beef choice. And the food is consistently good regardless of the choice. We both ended up getting the New York Strip (served on Wednesday night in this case). I changed my sides up which the restaurant generously accepted me doing.

My customer finished his meal in minutes and the note to a really good meal, for me, is that talking sort of ceases. It did for my customer. For my part, my steak was perfectly cooked and had well balanced seasoning. And my vegetable options, the braised greens and sweet potato hash paired well with the Tbone.

The wine selection was excellent and the ambiance, busyness of the restaurant worked well and allowed us to kick back and just relax after a fairly eventful day at work.

I've been to Motor Supply numerous times over the years but have never posted a review. If you have an opportunity treat yourself and someone else to the experience.

Tags: Business Meals, Great for Brunch, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on September 24, 2017

As usual at Motor Supply the food was incredible: eclectic, fresh, and beautifully presented. Waiter was professional but also cordial. We only get to enjoy this restaurant once or twice a year when visiting Columbia and look forward to it as a special treat.

Tags: Tapas, Pre/post Theatre, Worth the Drive, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on September 24, 2017

A wonderful place to dine. Delicious food, drinks and excellent service.

Tags: Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Great Beer, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fun, Business Meals, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on September 23, 2017

Service and staff was excellent! Food was very good but arrive to table cold. Not worth sending back but definitely made an impact on our perception. We enjoyed our meal, the food was otherwise good, presentation was beautiful and I cannot say enough about our server. She recommended cocktails based on our personal liquor preferences and was spot on with her timing during our meal. The crowd was energetic and fun with a higher-end vibe that made the evening feel a little more special than a casual atmosphere.

We will be back and hope our food will arrive good and warm next time ;)

Tags: People Watching, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Great Beer, Hot Spot, Romantic, Local Ingredients, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fun, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 23, 2017

Poor service, unfriendly waitress, limited menu, mediocre food, over priced!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1
value1

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on September 22, 2017

Great food, good service and great ambiance for a date night or special occasion! Best food in Columbia

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

 
·Dined on September 22, 2017

Great local food and will go again. It was a little loud and I ordered the special which ended up being double the price of anything else on the menu without them ever telling me that. Otherwise, every was delicious and I had a good time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on September 20, 2017

Just a night out after work

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

 
·Dined on September 19, 2017

First time going to Motor Supply Company Bistro for our anniversary dinner. 10/10 would recommend. Wine and cocktail selection was robust. Our waiter was extremely knowledgeable about the selection and helped us select a bottle of wine. The entree portions were healthy. My steak and my date's salmon were cooked perfectly. The cheesecake we ordered for dessert was delicious. The service was spectacular and the ambiance was exceptional. The dinner was 100% worth the price.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Business Meals, Fit for Foodies, Healthy, Quiet Conversation, Local Ingredients, Great Beer, Notable Wine List, Authentic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on September 19, 2017

We ordered the special for that day Steak,pot,and green beans.Steak had a lot of fat and very chewy but tasty.Would not order again.Artisan cheese tray so good as were the cocktails.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Business Meals, Local Ingredients, Authentic, Organic, Great for Brunch, Healthy, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value5

 
·Dined on September 15, 2017

Great food,service and location. !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Great Beer, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 12, 2017

Top notch as usual. The most consistent venue in Columbia.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
·Dined on September 9, 2017

My wife and I were on the hunt for a good meal while we were running from the hurricane Irene and we found ourselves in Columbia.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
·Dined on September 9, 2017

I came to Motor Supply to celebrate my going away dinner. It was one of the first restaurants I visited when I moved to Columbia two years ago and it was a perfect bookend to my time here.

Tags: Comfort Food, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on September 8, 2017

It was a good meal. I and guest enjoyed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

 
·Dined on September 8, 2017

Out of the three dishes my table ordered, three were beyond outstanding. This restaurant made everyone at my table say this is the best "dish name" I have ever had. And it was true for all of them. Overall this restaurant deserves the title Best in Columbia!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Local Ingredients, Cozy, Comfort Food, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on September 5, 2017

This is a moderate sized venue with great seasonal, local food. Everything included in our selections were fresh, wonderful, and tasty. The wait staff have years of experience of interpreting a menu that changes daily, based on the fresh availability. The bar does well with cocktails. This experience requires repeated visits.

Tags: Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on September 3, 2017

Wait staff was excellent and everyone enjoyed their meals and overall experience!

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Fun, Great for Lunch, Business Meals, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on August 31, 2017

I really enjoyed myself here. I had the duck duo, because I am a sucker for confit, and the mocha panna cotta for desert. The staff was friendly and the space inviting.

Tags: Cozy, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on August 30, 2017

Great food and service for a business meal. Will definitely be back, likely for a date night with my wife.

Tags: Great Beer, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on August 30, 2017

Every time we go to Motor Supply it is always amazing. My favorite restaurant in Columbia.

Tags: Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 27, 2017

Food, drinks and service are always excellent at Motor Supply.

Tags: Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Handcrafted Cocktails, Happy Hour, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on August 27, 2017

Per the usual, fabulous menu and food, although the wine list appears to be lacking as of late. The service at Motor Supply is best in class!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on August 26, 2017

Awesome Menu and exceptional service even on a very busy Saturday night! Stephanie was an expert and helped make a great night out / Anniversary dinner with my Wife even better. We were looking for a nice place with great food and drinks but not too formal. Motor Supply Co was a perfect match from the Free Valet to the amazing food, service and great bar tender. Thank you!

Tags: Tasting Menu, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Business Meals, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.