About Motor Supply Company Bistro

920 Gervais St.
Columbia, SC 29201
View Larger Map

Located in the historic Congaree Vista with a heated patio and free valet parking, Motor Supply has been serving progressive, New World cuisine using classic French culinary techniques for over 20 years. Led by Executive Chef Wesley Fulmer, the kitchen's lunch, dinner and brunch handwritten menus change daily, featuring contemporary New American cuisine, with nods to Creole, Cajun, Southern, French and Asian cuisine. Motor Supply works with local, sustainable farms for produce, meats, dairy and more. Seafood is caught off of the SC coast, and all of our charcuterie, desserts, stocks, sauces and dressings are made in-house. The bar boasts an extensive Wine Spectator Award of Excellence-winning list (2006-13), imported, domestic and local craft beers, as well as an artisan farm-to-shaker cocktail list made from house-infused liquors, handmade bitters, barrel-aged spirits and locally-sourced ingredients and garnishes, mixed up by Head Barman Josh Streetman.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Fusion / Eclectic, Creole / Cajun / Southern

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Tuesday-Saturday, 11:30 am-2:30 pm

Dinner: Tuesday-Thursday, 5:30 pm-9:30 pm
Friday-Saturday, 5:30 pm-10:30 pm
Sunday, 5:30 pm-9:00 pm

Brunch: Sunday, 10:30 am-2:30 pm

Cross Street:
Park and Lincoln Sts.

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(803) 256-6687

Website:
http://www.motorsupplycobistro.com/

Entertainment:
Koger Center for the Arts, Columbia Museum of Art, Colonial Life Arena, Columbia Metropolitan Convention Center; local bars, clubs and nightlife; several hotels and shopping venues all within walking distance in the Vista

Parking Details:
Free valet parking Tuesday-Saturday evenings and Tuesday-Friday at lunch. Parking lot with ~20 spaces. Easily accessible street parking.

Public Transit:
There are several public transit stops throughout the Columbia, SC downtown area, one of which is located a half-block from Motor Supply Co. Bistro. During the evenings, especially on weekends, taxis are readily available throughout the Vista.

Executive Chef:
Wesley Fulmer

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
We host a biannual farm-to-table celebration to give back to our local, sustainable farming partners called Harvest Week. For details about the next Harvest Week, visit http://www.motorsupplycobistro.com, like us on Facebook and follow us on Twitter.

Restaurant Photos

Duck
Duo Of Duck Thigh Confit & House Smoked Sausage Sauced With Ginger-Apple Infused Honey
Grilled Lamb Chops
Grilled Diver Scallops
Gorgonzola Beef Tournedo Steak
Truth or Dare Cocktail
Crab Cakes
Shrimp
Roasted Chicken
Seared Filet Mignon
Charcuterie Board
Tomato Pie
Pomegranate Mojito
Crispy Duck With Wild Berry Sauce, Sauteed Green Beans And Whipped Potatoes
Butternut Squash With Goat Cheese And Spinach
Fresh cilantro, beet juice, & Don Julio reposado tequila w/honey simple syrup
New York Strip
Pork Chop
Strawberry Basil Lemonade
Roasted Crimini Salad
Salmon
Soft Shell Crab
Tilapia & Coconut Soy Chile Beurre Blanc
Pecan Pie
Apricot Rum Mojito
Eden Creek Farms Red Waddle Ham Flatbread
Shrimp With Spicy Garlic Sauce
Prime Rib
Grouper With A Thai BBQ Sauce, Pear Compote And Balsamic Reduction
Orrecchiette
Adult Chocolate Soda
Mai Tai
Maredsous 10 Tripel
Smoked Prime Rib
Grilled Mahi
Pork Tenderloin
Tomatoes Salad
Peach & Basil Mojito
Housemade charcuterie w/ house cured Caw Caw Creek Pastured Pork bacon, cocoa nib sausage,
Red Snapper with Strawberry Balsamic
Housemade Chocolate Apricot Bread Pudding
Smoked Trout Pate With Pickled Asparagus On Heather's Artisan Bread
Argentinean BBQ Chicken Salad With Citrus Cantaloupe Vinaigrette
Peanut Butter Chocolate Pie
Housemade Limoncello
SC Wreckfish & Tarragon Caper Cream Sauce With Creamy Jasmine Rice
Smoked Chile Tequila & Ruby Red Grapefruit Margarita
Cured Pork Loin Chop
Veal & Cremini Mushroom Meatloaf
Sea bass
Vegetables With Motz
Corned Beef Sandwich And Creamy Orzo Pasta Salad
steak bavette
Shrimp And Pork Ragout
Spinach & Swiss Quiche
Kangaroo
Wahoo
Shrimp Salsa Verde
Sugar Brined Pork Porterhouse With A Green Peppercorn Gravy
Pork Belly Over A Grit Cake
Steak

Motor Supply Company Bistro Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.5

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Contemporary American
South Carolina
Best Overall
Columbia
Best Food
Columbia
4 More
Best Ambiance
Columbia
Best Value
Columbia
Fit for Foodies
Columbia
Most Booked
Columbia
Best Restaurants in Columbia ›

Fit for Foodies (85)
Special Occasion (81)
Notable Wine List (51)
See All
Romantic (49)
Neighborhood Gem (43)
Hot Spot (38)
Great for Brunch (33)
Great for Lunch (27)
Good for Groups (23)
Creative Cuisine (19)
Good for a Date (16)
Local Ingredients (16)
Good for Anniversaries (15)
Vibrant Bar Scene (12)
Late-night Find (12)
Great for Outdoor Dining (11)
Worth the Drive (9)
Business Meals (9)
Good for Birthdays (7)
Historic (7)
Fun (6)
Seasonal (6)
Casual (5)
Sunday Lunch (5)
Authentic (5)
Handcrafted Cocktails (4)
Healthy (3)
Tasting Menu (3)
Kid-friendly (3)
Cozy (3)
Pre/post Theatre (3)
Modern Decor (3)
Good Vegetarian Options (3)
Great Beer (3)
Vegan (2)
Quiet Conversation (2)
Organic (2)
Bar Seating (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (2)
Open Kitchen (2)
Tapas (1)
Comfort Food (1)
People Watching (1)
Scenic View (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Sort By:
Newest
1152 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Food was excellent. Told them by phone, ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined 5 days ago

Food was excellent. Told them by phone, when they called to confirm, and upon arrival that we were celebrating my daughter's birthday. They didn't do anything special for her. Maybe that's typical? But it seemed like a lot of build up for nothing!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

Wonderful experience, great food!

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined 5 days ago

Wonderful experience, great food!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Server was very knowledgeable about the ...

 
 (Louisville)
·Dined 5 days ago

Server was very knowledgeable about the menu (which changes daily). And made an excellent wine recommendation. Food was superb!

Nothing negative to say.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Small yet incredibly delicious menu sele ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined 7 days ago

Small yet incredibly delicious menu selections. Fresh ingredients. Service was excellent. Not rushed through dinner yet attended to. One of the best dining experiences in the city

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Everything we ordered was perfect. Loved ...

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on September 20, 2016

Everything we ordered was perfect. Loved the duck. The shrimp dish was creative and delicious. House made smoked salmon with arugula was a showstopper. Excellent wine list and priced fairly. Great service!

Tags: Good for a Date, Authentic, Great Beer, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Vibrant Bar Scene, Hot Spot, People Watching, Business Meals, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Poor hostess and management had to wait ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on September 18, 2016

Poor hostess and management had to wait 30 minutes for our table with our reservation. Rude greeting, not welcoming at all. Waitress was excellent. Food was salty and buttery and I have been to better farm to table restaurants that truly care about their guests. As an out of town guest I will never go back or ever recommend it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1
value1

Visited during parents weekend at Univer ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on September 18, 2016

Visited during parents weekend at University of South Carolina. The service was excellent and not rushed at all, which I greatly appreciated. Creative charcuterie and cheese platters. I had duck which was excellent. My daughter enjoyed one of the steaks (not a traditional cut) and it was cooked perfectly. I will go back.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

It was extremely noisy sitting in the su ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

It was extremely noisy sitting in the sunroom area. We had a hard time having a conversation. I will blame a lot of that on a very noisy table next to us.

My pork chop was the toughest piece of meat I'vd ever eaten at a nice restaurant. I have had better and tastier at cheaper restaurants. Our server told me that I was the third person to complain about it early in the evening.

We did enjoy the cheese tray and were given all of the extra bread we desired.

Tags: Historic, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

Extremely disappointed. We'd been looki ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

Extremely disappointed. We'd been looking forward to this meal for some time, given the restaurant's reputation. Our appetizers were fine but our entrees were inedible. My pork chop was under cooked. My husband's fish was inadequately cleaned. We live in a big city, we're more than familiar with the concept of Farm to Table, but that doesn't mean raw or full of bones. Worst of all, our server could tell that we hadn't touched our meals but was completely indifferent to our poor experience. It's a shame. We have a son in school in Columbia and visit family there often, also. Had we had a better experience, we would be back for sure.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service1
value1

Every time we come here, everything from ...

vip
 (Charleston)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

Every time we come here, everything from the service to the food to the atmosphere is absolutely outstanding.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Fun, Worth the Drive, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It is a Nice place to rest and relax for ...

 
 (Charleston)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

It is a Nice place to rest and relax for drinks we had a late supper

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

Our dinner was excellent but beyond that ...

 
 (Charleston)
·Dined on September 16, 2016

Our dinner was excellent but beyond that was the excellent customer service. We were called the day before our reservation and warned of possible traffic issues (streets blocked for a race event ) that might interfere with our ability to get to the restaurant. We made it there without any issue. Our waiter was very friendly and helpful with questions about the menu. We chose the rib eye and pork chop and each was cooked perfectly. It was just a great dining experience overall and I would definitely recommend it to anybody visiting Columbia.

Tags: Cozy, Molecular Gastronomy, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Perfect Friday evening meal with family ...

 
 (Charleston)
·Dined on September 16, 2016

Perfect Friday evening meal with family from out of town! My favorite restaurant, great food well prepared and pleasant waiter. The best!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Took my daughter out for dinner , it was ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 15, 2016

Took my daughter out for dinner , it was parents . This was the second year we have come here , it has become our go to first night restaurant . The food and service are fantastic , I can't say enough . We Love this place .

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Molecular Gastronomy, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Healthy, Worth the Drive, Paleo Friendly, Local Ingredients, Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Seasonal, Fit for Foodies, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our group of 5 enjoyed the food and drin ...

 
 (Charleston)
·Dined on September 14, 2016

Our group of 5 enjoyed the food and drink but found it a bit pricey and way too noisy.

I could not have a conversation with the person across the table. We are from out of town and overall a good experience.

Tags: Business Meals, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

The food was excellent and our server wa ...

 
 (Charleston)
·Dined on September 11, 2016

The food was excellent and our server was very patient. We were a group of 8 and we were celebrating my Father's 76th birthday. Always enjoy our dining experience.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Good for a Date, Casual, Special Occasion, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We took our son this weekend to celebrat ...

vip
 (Charleston)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

We took our son this weekend to celebrate his 21st birthday.

While the service is still pretty good, I feel the food quality has gone down lately.

My shrimp and red polenta had so much broth in the bowl, the polenta was non-existent and I needed a soup spoon to eat it. My son had the "fried chicken", while the chicken was tasty they laid the chicken in a bowl of broth or jus as it was listed, and the fried exterior became soft and mushy. My husband's pork chop has so much fat and gristle on it only a fourth of it was edible. The waiter was only there to take our order and to bring a check as other staff members served the meal and didn't even ask if everything was alright. Very disappointed, there are too many other choices in the Vista for the price we paid. We left our birthday celebration on a poor note.

Tags: Seasonal
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service3
value2

Overall, was pleased. However, have not ...

 
 (Charleston)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

Overall, was pleased. However, have not been blown away with preparation of quality ingredients. Always seem to have overcooked my shrimp/chicken every meal I've been served at Motor Supply. The Seared Scallop and Pork Belly dish was fantastic-- but was only the one dish worth worth raving about. Underwhelmed with cheese plate and shrimp and grits.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

Always the best fresh, local food. With ...

 
 (Charleston)
·Dined on September 9, 2016

Always the best fresh, local food. With a new menu each day you'll never have the same dish. I've been three times and each time has been as good as the last. Always exceptional service. Really great beer and wine list, also. The perfect date night spot in Columbia, SC.

Tags: Modern Decor, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food is always topnotch. Service is exc ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on September 6, 2016

Food is always topnotch. Service is excellent. Our favorite place.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The service, Ashley, was great. Salad w ...

vip
 (Charleston)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

The service, Ashley, was great. Salad was wonderful. Fried oysters were soggy and old. Still a favorite and will be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

We loved Alice - she rocks!!! Her recom ...

 
 (Charleston)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

We loved Alice - she rocks!!! Her recommendations were spot on and she had a lovely spirit about her. She was attentive and was very patient with some of our indecisiveness.

Tags: Romantic, Great for Brunch, Special Occasion, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The food was excellent, as always. Recom ...

 
 (Charleston)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

The food was excellent, as always. Recommend trying the Carolina Mule if it's still on the menu.

Tags: Fun, Fit for Foodies, Disabled Access, Quiet Conversation, Modern Decor, Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Too loud for pleasant conversation. Enjo ...

 
 (Western NC)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

Too loud for pleasant conversation. Enjoyed the food, and service was great!

Tags: Casual, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

I the time there, the food was acceptabl ...

 
 (Charleston)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

I the time there, the food was acceptable, but think I was charged too much my food. wish would have looked closer at the bill. paid less than I did, they had drinks my date drank water. going back that reason.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value2

The entrees were excellent, but disappoi ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

The entrees were excellent, but disappointed that the entree did not include a side salad.

Tags: Good for a Date, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

It's billed as the best restaurant in Co ...

vip
 (Charleston)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

It's billed as the best restaurant in Columbia and that's definitely right. Our Friday night treat included the charcuterie board, flat iron steak, sirloin, and bone in pork chop. We finished the meal with the always perfect creme brûlée. If you're trying to have a fantastic dinner in the perfect ambience go here! We will be back. It never lets us down!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Can't recall her name but the waitress w ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

Can't recall her name but the waitress was fantastic and very helpful!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food, incredible service and quain ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on August 26, 2016

Great food, incredible service and quaint atmosphere! You will not be disappointed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Nothing special here . Server was effici ...

 
 (Charleston)
·Dined on August 26, 2016

Nothing special here . Server was efficient and friendly, but the initial reception from the two young ladies at the door was ho-hum........almost as if we were an inconvenience. Menu was limited and too much of the same thing. I ordered the bone-in pork chop. It was mostly fat.

Would not recommend and don't plan to go again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service4
value2

One of the best restaurants in Columbia. ...

 
 (Charleston)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

One of the best restaurants in Columbia. Dishes are fresh and don't know where you can find a better meal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Farm to table restaurant. Food was good ...

vip
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

Farm to table restaurant. Food was good, just overall wasn't that impressed. Prices seemed a little high. It was good, unfortunately not great. Maybe just an off day. Many similar options in Columbia so not sure I'd return. Great bar scene

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3

It is just to noisy in the bar area. We ...

 
 (Charleston)
·Dined on August 17, 2016

It is just to noisy in the bar area. We would have had a perfect experience if we had been seated outside.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service4
value3

Chicago natives, this was one of our bes ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

Chicago natives, this was one of our best meals ever. The evening's pork belly appetizer was exquisite, and the pork chop with bacon braised kale and ground grits was absolutely amazing. Dessert and coffee were both excellent. The bourbon menu could be expanded a bit; but all-in-all, the biggest disappointment was that this dining experience had to come to an end. We can't wait to go back when we're in town again!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

We picked this for our anniversary dinne ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

We picked this for our anniversary dinner. I kinda wished we hadn't . It was much more pricey then we expected. It was a little cramped for us. We were In a corner table that kinda felt tight. The food was good and the plates were nicely put together. But for 2 meals, a cheese board and 2 beers our cost was $88; $101.20 with tip. I don't mind paying extra for good food but definitely overpriced for sure. Beers were $6 a piece... A Little much for me, which seemed odd as this place seemed to be a college hang out that day. It was definitely not what we expected. Good food but not for the price they charge.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3

First of what will many visits. Can't ev ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

First of what will many visits. Can't even offer suggestions for improvement. Food was outstanding and our waitress, Alice, was exceptional.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always a great meal at this restaurant. ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

Always a great meal at this restaurant. Staff is wonderful and their bartender is brilliant with his cocktails!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

For myself, it was a overall nice experi ...

 
 (Charleston)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

For myself, it was a overall nice experience. We ordered an appetizer, salad, and entrees. However, after we received our appetizer, we had to wait an hour before our server even asked us if we were ready for our salad (which we weren't all that impressed with, but that was ok). My sword fish was fantastic, but my wife's ribeye was almost 70% fat. And that was, perhaps,the biggest disappointment. Considering the price of your meals, I would have expected a better quality cut of meat. Overall, it's very difficult to give a review. I was quite happy, but my wife was not. And considering it was our anniversary dinner, I would say that it was not a great experience.

Tags: Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Tapas
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value2

Great food. Menu is complex and requires ...

 
 (Jackson Hole)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

Great food. Menu is complex and requires some study before selecting courses. Swordfish was prepared wonderfully. Noisy in dining/bar area.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value3

I commute to Columbia for work and this ...

 
 (Savannah)
·Dined on August 11, 2016

I commute to Columbia for work and this restaurant is terrific. I googled best restaurants in Columbia and this was at the top of everyone's list. Very good farm to table ingredients, great service, nice wine list. The food is very fresh and unique. A wonderful gem in downtown Columbia. Not to be missed!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene, Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.