About Motor Supply Company Bistro

920 Gervais St.
Columbia, SC 29201
View Larger Map

Located in the historic Congaree Vista with a heated patio and free valet parking, Motor Supply has been serving progressive, New World cuisine using classic French culinary techniques for over 20 years. Led by Executive Chef Wesley Fulmer, the kitchen's lunch, dinner and brunch handwritten menus change daily, featuring contemporary New American cuisine, with nods to Creole, Cajun, Southern, French and Asian cuisine. Motor Supply works with local, sustainable farms for produce, meats, dairy and more. Seafood is caught off of the SC coast, and all of our charcuterie, desserts, stocks, sauces and dressings are made in-house. The bar boasts an extensive Wine Spectator Award of Excellence-winning list (2006-13), imported, domestic and local craft beers, as well as an artisan farm-to-shaker cocktail list made from house-infused liquors, handmade bitters, barrel-aged spirits and locally-sourced ingredients and garnishes, mixed up by Head Barman Josh Streetman.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Fusion / Eclectic, Creole / Cajun / Southern

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Tuesday-Saturday, 11:30 am-2:30 pm

Dinner: Tuesday-Thursday, 5:30 pm-9:30 pm
Friday-Saturday, 5:30 pm-10:30 pm
Sunday, 5:30 pm-9:00 pm

Brunch: Sunday, 10:30 am-2:30 pm

Cross Street:
Park and Lincoln Sts.

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(803) 256-6687

Website:
http://www.motorsupplycobistro.com/

Entertainment:
Koger Center for the Arts, Columbia Museum of Art, Colonial Life Arena, Columbia Metropolitan Convention Center; local bars, clubs and nightlife; several hotels and shopping venues all within walking distance in the Vista

Parking Details:
Free valet parking Tuesday-Saturday evenings and Tuesday-Friday at lunch. Parking lot with ~20 spaces. Easily accessible street parking.

Public Transit:
There are several public transit stops throughout the Columbia, SC downtown area, one of which is located a half-block from Motor Supply Co. Bistro. During the evenings, especially on weekends, taxis are readily available throughout the Vista.

Executive Chef:
Wesley Fulmer

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
We host a biannual farm-to-table celebration to give back to our local, sustainable farming partners called Harvest Week. For details about the next Harvest Week, visit http://www.motorsupplycobistro.com, like us on Facebook and follow us on Twitter.

Motor Supply Company Bistro Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.7

ambience

4.5

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (60)
Fit for Foodies (52)
Local Ingredients (50)
See All
Special Occasion (44)
Creative Cuisine (41)
Good for Anniversaries (37)
Romantic (32)
Authentic (30)
Notable Wine List (27)
Neighborhood Gem (24)
Good for Birthdays (24)
Handcrafted Cocktails (22)
Business Meals (21)
Cozy (18)
Worth the Drive (17)
Fun (17)
Casual (16)
Seasonal (15)
Pre/post Theatre (15)
Hot Spot (15)
Bar Seating (12)
Good Vegetarian Options (12)
Modern Decor (11)
Healthy (11)
Sunday Lunch (11)
Historic (11)
Great for Brunch (11)
Organic (11)
Quiet Conversation (10)
Comfort Food (9)
Outstanding Value (8)
Vibrant Bar Scene (7)
Good for Groups (7)
Tasting Menu (6)
Molecular Gastronomy (5)
Great for Lunch (5)
Paleo Friendly (5)
Great for Outdoor Dining (4)
Great Beer (4)
People Watching (3)
Gluten Free Options (3)
Family Style (2)
Afternoon Coffee (2)
Kid-friendly (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Happy Hour (1)
Scenic View (1)
Private Room (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
1322 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined 4 days ago

Atmosphere was very good, but not great. Food was excellent! I wish we had not been seated across from the bar. There must have been 20 people crowding it and it was loud. My only complaint about the food is that we both left hungry. We ordered a first course, steak entrée and dessert, spent $100 and left hungry. A little more bread or veggies please?

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Charleston)·Dined 6 days ago

Awesome waitress. Ribeye meatloaf the best ever.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on February 15, 2017

This place was OK. Honestly, I could have prepared the food items at my house. I had the coulotte steak over mashed potatoes. My wife had the "Shrinp and grits". The shrimp were overcooked (Mushy) and there were barely any grits. I can't remember the fancy name they gave it...The salad was mostly lettuce with a vinegarette. The bread and parsley/olive oil combination was interesting. Butter would have been better. The atmosphere was good. The drinks were great. Was it worth $140 for dinner? Absolutely Not.

Tags: Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value1

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on February 15, 2017

What a pleasure! This was my first time having dinner at MSC. I'm thinking about the food and getting sad because I'm not eating it literally right now.

Tags: Authentic, Comfort Food, Local Ingredients, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on February 14, 2017

So, it was a delightful experience to visit Motor Supply again. One of our go to spots when we visit Columbia! Great food, ambiance, and service!

Tags: Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Excellent. Excellent. Excellent. No better way to describe it!!!!!

Tags: Authentic, Special Occasion, Fun, Casual, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Motor Supply was a great choice for our Valentine's Day meal. We love the farm-to-table menu and the creativity put into each dish. The food and service were great as usual. This is one of the best restaurants in Columbia for the choices the chef makes and the caliber of the food. Enjoy!

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Organic, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Motor Supply satisfies every time. The menu is constantly evolving, the cocktails constantly changing. I love it!

Tags: Organic, Great for Brunch, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Food was very good. Pricey but worth it on occasion. Service was great.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on February 12, 2017

We came here on a date night per trip advisor's ratings, and our expectations were greatly exceeded!! We can't wait to go back the doc was out of this world !! Our service was amazing and the place was beautiful .

Tags: Good for a Date, Historic, Bar Seating, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, People Watching, Molecular Gastronomy, Local Ingredients, Fun, Organic, Comfort Food, Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Private Room, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Went for a early Valentine's Day with my husband. Food was excellent, service was wonderful, atmosphere was incredible. Overall excellent experience.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Great for Brunch, Great Beer, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on February 10, 2017

2 couples, all happy, great job by Stephanie on a busy night.

Tags: Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on February 9, 2017

I love the fresh ingredients. The different menus every time I visit. Service is great. Love the valet parking. One of my favorite places to eat!

Tags: Tasting Menu, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on February 8, 2017

The restaurant has a nice ambiance, it is relaxed and comfortable. High ceilings give a sense of open space. The waitress was well informed about the menu which changes daily. The food was fantastic. The salads were varied and outstanding. The entrees were delicious with an appropriate amount of food. Our group had different items and all were excellent. We passed on dessert so cannot comment. We ate at several restaurants during our business trip and all agreed it was the best.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Business Meals, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on February 7, 2017

Food overall was great. Oyster salad was good. Lamb appetizer was ok. Would go for a different choice. The charcuterie was good as well. The grouper entree was excellent. One person in our group had the duck two ways. The breast was amazing. The confit was too crispy/dry. Good wine list. We ordered multiple courses and our food service was a bit slow, but others around us with entrees only or maybe salad and entree seemed to have pretty quick service. Would definitely go back. Servers and staff were excellent and very helpful.

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Holy cow! I wish I could give Motor Supply 10 stars. The ambience, the foodand service are all exceptional. The farm to table is truly practiced here. My coulotte steak was prepared perfectly. The shrimp dish with polenta was just right. Nice little kick time it. Our server Mike B was friendly and helpful. Easy to talk to. Wish I lived closer.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on February 5, 2017

The duck pastrami on the charcuterie plate was one of the greatest things I have ever put into my mouth. These guys know what they're doing and I will be back again and again!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Gluten Free Options, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on February 4, 2017

The service was superb, start to finish. We enjoyed delicious, creative starters and entrees (Duck Duo).

Tags: Local Ingredients, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Paleo Friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Awesome!! Never disappoints. Always has interesting seasonal dishes that are sooo good.

Tags: Casual, Organic, Good for a Date, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on February 3, 2017

The food was excellent but a little slow at times. The delay between courses was longer than I was expecting. The trade off for waiting though is fantastic eats.

Tags: Modern Decor, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on February 3, 2017

Menu changes regularly. I don't usually order duck but our server recommended this item. It was very good and glad I made the choice.

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on January 28, 2017

When there is a special occasion or you want to show someone that you really care, then this is the place. It's where dining is a pleasure; it isn't a family all-you-can-eat buffet.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on January 28, 2017

The waitress we had was exceptional. I can't remember her name but her timing was great, her recommendations were great, the whole meal was better because of her! Besides the fact that the food and wine list were EXCEPTIONAL, but we already knew that.

Great job. We'll be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Birthday celebration and it was great! Everyone was so nice and the food was excellent. Cook would not switch out 1 vegetable for another but I lived with it. Really enjoy the food there.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on January 27, 2017

Never before have I been so impressed with an establishment. Motor Supply was OUTSTANDING. Our server Katie was amazing and the food was incredible. I would suggest if you have never been there, its A MUST!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Fun, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on January 23, 2017

Consistently good food and service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on January 21, 2017

Excellent spot for a dinner with friends. Focus on the company because the food and service takes care of itself.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Great Beer, Notable Wine List, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on January 21, 2017

Motor Supply Co never disappoints! Everything was amazing as usual.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on January 21, 2017

wonderful place and we need to go there again - many years since we were there

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on January 21, 2017

I brought a couple author friends of mine. (To be honest, I was trying to impress them) The food was memorable, the service excellent, and I couldn't have been happier. And yes, my author friends were suitably impressed. Thank you, Motor Supply for a reliably excellent meal every single time.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Notable Wine List, Authentic, Modern Decor, Healthy, Romantic, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on January 19, 2017

Came here for restaurant week, excellent special menu, great food, great value. Appetizer, main and dessert for $40. We sat at the bar, always lively and good conversation. The bartender was interesting and creative, do try his "inventions". We shared everything, beet salad and lamb carpaccio apps, crispy duck and osso bucco mains, chocolate lava cake and crème brulee desserts. Best duck I've had in a long time and everything was very good, not a miss in the bunch. We don't come often, it's over 45 minutes from our house; but always worth the trip.

Tags: Special Occasion, Cozy, Good Vegetarian Options, Modern Decor, Paleo Friendly, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Business Meals, Handcrafted Cocktails, Seasonal, Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Fun, Creative Cuisine, Historic, Pre/post Theatre, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on January 18, 2017

Delicious and delightful! I am always pleased when I visit Motor Supply.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Tasting Menu, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on January 17, 2017

Outstanding food. Loved the vegetarian option. Amazing desserts!!! Worth going back!

Tags: Healthy, Notable Wine List, Business Meals, Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients, Historic, Organic, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on January 16, 2017

Great food, great service. Was a little sad they ran out of the steak, but I did have a late reservation.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on January 16, 2017

Always a great experience with wonderful food and service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on January 16, 2017

We were visiting from out of town and we were lucky enough to choose Motor Supply Co. Based on the name, I wasn't expecting much, but oh, the food, glorious food! It has a wonderful menu - local, seasonal, fresh. They do a few things very well - you can't go wrong with anything on the menu. It was restaurant week and for $40, I choose a 3 course dinner. Everything was delicious and beautifully prepared. I would go back again, but I live in Virginia!

Tags: Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Handcrafted Cocktails, Healthy, Special Occasion, Historic, Local Ingredients, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Seasonal, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on January 14, 2017

The food and atmosphere was great. Would highly recommend.

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on January 14, 2017

While the overall food and service was good, my family is still in shock that a restaurant in the capital of South Carolina doesn't serve sweet tea. Given the price point, I would have liked to have seen more attention given to our table and to my uneaten kale and beet salad, which was short on both beets and dressing. It was basically 3 or 4 whole, undressed kale leaves in a bowl for $13. Entrees, however, made up for our disappointment with the starter. There are just too many great places to eat in Columbia for me to take my family back here.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on January 14, 2017

Everything from our food to the service was stellar. This may be my new foodie spot! Extensive wine list, Try the duck! Amazing!!

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Fun, Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Tasting Menu, Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Organic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on January 13, 2017

Exceptional service....love the ballet parking....the Snapper (fish) was a little overcooked vs soft and flakey...however, it was my first time having it and I will request it that way next time....overall a great place for a date and special occasions.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on January 13, 2017

The food was delicious and I was impressed that the chef was so accommodating for the Celiac (gluten-free) diner in our party. Our server was very understanding about it and quite knowledgeable as well. We went during restaurant week, and everything from the apps to the dessert was great, especially the crispy duck. I recommend this place.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Modern Decor, Creative Cuisine, Hot Spot, Gluten Free Options, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Seasonal, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Houston)·Dined on January 12, 2017

I travel a lot for work. I love one off and unique restaurants. MSCB was recommended to me a few month ago and Ive been eager to try it ever since. We arrived a few minutes before our reservation and were seated right away. Bread and drinks came out quickly. I loved the chimichurri style dipping sauce. The fried oysters were the best Ive had. Not overcooked but with crispy breading.

I ordered the bone in pork chop with pureed radish and greens. Chop was cooked perfectly and very flavorful. Carrot cake for dessert, not overly sweet but the perfect ending. Service was on point and price was very fair. Ill be back next year!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Hot Spot, Casual, Business Meals, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on January 12, 2017

The waitress was very good and attentive. Food was pricey but delicious.

Tags: Historic, Special Occasion, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on January 5, 2017

As always, the food selections and preparations were unique and quite outstanding! Motor Supply never fails to deliver excellent food and service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on January 4, 2017

Excellent service and food as usual. Took a business team to dinner and very impressive.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 4, 2017

Our favorite place in Columbia, SC. The food is terrific but be aware the menu changes nightly. There's something for everyone, meat, seafood and vegetarian and the wine list is something to see. Interesting decor. Reservations a must but well worth it

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Dinner was phenomenal! They had a limited menu because it was New Year's Eve and I was very impressed with the selections, flavors, and speed of service.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Authentic, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Outstanding Value, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Good for a Date, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on December 31, 2016

We had a wonderful experience at Motor Supply, celebrating our recent engagement! We look forward to returning soon.

Tags: Hot Spot, Creative Cuisine, Seasonal, Comfort Food, Good for a Date, Cozy, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Motor Supply is my wife's favorite place to eat and we went there for her birthday. Service was a little slow however the place was busy. For a nice place in the south and not having sweet tea was very disappointing. We ordered the cheese board and it was great! The tomato jelly was delicious. My wife ordered the Swordfish and it was cooked perfectly. The sides and garnish was lacking. The radishes where very bland and had no taste. I had ordered the flat iron steak which was cooked perfectly as well. It was seasoned nicely and tasted great. The garnish was lacking again and very poorly designed. Fingerling potato's had no flavor and no seasoning. Also had 5, that's right 5 green beans that slightly under cooked but seasoned nicely.

I think the price of the meal was high for what was served. Overall it was not horrible and will continue to be a patron.

Tags: Seasonal, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value2

 
 (Savannah)·Dined on December 30, 2016

I surprised my wife for her birthday. We were seated on the patio, which appeared to be a romantic setting and it otherwise would have been had it not been for the draft of cold air coming in from the closed windows. The waiter said that someone would be coming soon to work on the windows. It was a chilly evening! The food was great! I had never been here before and the idea of the ever-changing menu was awesome. I had the swordfish and my wife had the pork chop. The pork chop came out too pink and it was quickly taken back to the kitchen. I was almost done with my food when the pork chop finally came back out. Definitely not ideal, but altogether a good meal. Hopefully the drafty windows will be corrected soon!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Authentic, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.