About Motor Supply Company Bistro

Located in the historic Congaree Vista with a heated patio and free valet parking, Motor Supply has been serving progressive, New World cuisine using classic French culinary techniques for over 20 years. Led by Executive Chef Wesley Fulmer, the kitchen's lunch, dinner and brunch handwritten menus change daily, featuring contemporary New American cuisine, with nods to Creole, Cajun, Southern, French and Asian cuisine. Motor Supply works with local, sustainable farms for produce, meats, dairy and more. Seafood is caught off of the SC coast, and all of our charcuterie, desserts, stocks, sauces and dressings are made in-house. The bar boasts an extensive Wine Spectator Award of Excellence-winning list (2006-13), imported, domestic and local craft beers, as well as an artisan farm-to-shaker cocktail list made from house-infused liquors, handmade bitters, barrel-aged spirits and locally-sourced ingredients and garnishes, mixed up by Head Barman Josh Streetman.

920 Gervais St.
Columbia, SC 29201
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Fusion / Eclectic, Creole / Cajun / Southern

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Tuesday-Saturday, 11:30 am-2:30 pm

Dinner: Tuesday-Thursday, 5:30 pm-9:30 pm
Friday-Saturday, 5:30 pm-10:30 pm
Sunday, 5:30 pm-9:00 pm

Brunch: Sunday, 10:30 am-2:30 pm

Cross Street:
Park and Lincoln Sts.

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(803) 256-6687

Website:
http://www.motorsupplycobistro.com/

Entertainment:
Koger Center for the Arts, Columbia Museum of Art, Colonial Life Arena, Columbia Metropolitan Convention Center; local bars, clubs and nightlife; several hotels and shopping venues all within walking distance in the Vista

Parking Details:
Free valet parking Tuesday-Saturday evenings and Tuesday-Friday at lunch. Parking lot with ~20 spaces. Easily accessible street parking.

Public Transit:
There are several public transit stops throughout the Columbia, SC downtown area, one of which is located a half-block from Motor Supply Co. Bistro. During the evenings, especially on weekends, taxis are readily available throughout the Vista.

Executive Chef:
Wesley Fulmer

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
We host a biannual farm-to-table celebration to give back to our local, sustainable farming partners called Harvest Week. For details about the next Harvest Week, visit http://www.motorsupplycobistro.com, like us on Facebook and follow us on Twitter.

Motor Supply Company Bistro Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.7

ambience

4.5

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Local Ingredients (75)
Good for a Date (73)
Special Occasion (65)
See All
Creative Cuisine (62)
Fit for Foodies (57)
Neighborhood Gem (43)
Good for Anniversaries (42)
Handcrafted Cocktails (40)
Good for Birthdays (37)
Notable Wine List (37)
Authentic (35)
Romantic (33)
Worth the Drive (29)
Business Meals (26)
Hot Spot (24)
Casual (22)
Healthy (19)
Cozy (19)
Good Vegetarian Options (18)
Pre/post Theatre (17)
Sunday Lunch (16)
Fun (16)
Great for Lunch (15)
Organic (14)
Great for Brunch (13)
Bar Seating (13)
Great for Outdoor Dining (13)
Seasonal (12)
Good for Groups (12)
Great Beer (11)
Quiet Conversation (11)
Historic (10)
Comfort Food (9)
Happy Hour (8)
Vibrant Bar Scene (7)
Modern Decor (6)
People Watching (5)
Tasting Menu (5)
Gluten Free Options (5)
Disabled Access (3)
Vegan (3)
Molecular Gastronomy (3)
Outstanding Value (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Tapas (2)
Private Room (1)
Spicy (1)
Live Music (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Sort By:
S
1472 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Savannah)·Dined 2 days ago

Came here for a welcome brunch and we were blown away by the service and food. Beautifully displayed meals for brunch, in addition to great wait staff. Our waiter helped narrow down our groups choices with ease and had a sense of great humor. The local artist wall art was beautiful as well. Will be coming back with my husband ASAP!

Tags: Business Meals, Romantic, Sunday Lunch, Fun, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined 4 days ago

MSC does it again. When we're looking for a nice date after work takes us away, a birthday, or an anniversary, on the top of our list and in the running is always Motor Supply Co. To put it simply, you can't go wrong with anything on the menu. Perfect for an intimate meal or a celebration of 6-8. We will surely be back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Charleston)·Dined 4 days ago

Our last visit was a little more than a year ago. The service was terrible. This visit, however, was excellent.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Miami)·Dined 5 days ago

Extremely attentive staff we were seated immediately overwhelmed by the gourmet menu everything looked great clams appetizer out rages swordfish main dish Absolutely delicious and the pork chop best I ever had. Where all the text to bulls and meets all local sourced. The menu changes every day and it is hand written. If I lived in Columbia I would eat there four times a week

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined 5 days ago

The restaurant should get five stars for striving to be excellent. Unfortunately, circumstances got in the way. Teams of servers moved quickly during service but often they seemed to have limited training. The ingredients in the interesting dishes were spot on but their presentation suffered somewhat by over preparation. My favorite element of the evening was pork belly. Perfectly prepared.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Charleston)·Dined 5 days ago

Pork chop was tough & sweet potatoes, what little there were, were swimming in juice. Flavor was good, but for the price I expected better. Cheese board and key lime pie dessert were excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value2

 
 (Charleston)·Dined 5 days ago

Great food! Great cocktails. I think the best Columbia has to offer. Almost comparable to the restaurants in the Bay Area, CA where I am from.

Tags: Disabled Access, Good for Groups, Handcrafted Cocktails, Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on June 20, 2017

First time to Motor Supply. Excellent food and excellent service. Will go again

Tags: Authentic, Sunday Lunch, Business Meals, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on June 18, 2017

I have been meaning to get here for some time. I really did like it and will go back. There were 3 of us and the cheese board and salads were top notch. The wreckfish and steak got raves. I had the shrimp and grits which I did like but would not quite say "rave". We also did enjoy the desserts. My only gripe was that it was after we ordered that we heard another server describing specials to their table. We were never informed of any specials. I recognize that mistakes happen, which I why I'll go back, but also why I only gave 4 stars.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 18, 2017

Loved everything! Just wish you could provide valet parking on Sun. Night!!

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on June 18, 2017

As usual great food and great service! Never had a meal I didn't enjoy! Best Chef's in Columbia! Fresh perfectly cooked meals.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Great for Brunch, Good for Anniversaries, Sunday Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Healthy, Good for Birthdays, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on June 18, 2017

Server was not the most friendly, plus two of us had to send back meal because it was not hot. Otherwise, everything else was great!

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Fun, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on June 17, 2017

My wife and I have been coming to Motor Supply for over 20 years and have never had a dinner that was not excellent! I wish we lived closer so we could go more often. I really like the idea of using local foods for their menu. I highly recommend this restaurant to anybody looking for a special dinner.

Tags: Hot Spot, Afternoon Tea, Great for Lunch, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Great for Brunch, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Casual, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Pre/post Theatre, Worth the Drive, Good for Groups, Sunday Lunch, Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Comfort Food, Happy Hour, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on June 17, 2017

Good food appropriate timing between courses. Desserts are yummy. Make a reservation, it's s busy place.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on June 16, 2017

Best meal in a long time, Stephanie was the perfect person to care for us , very knowledgeable, personable . We were celebrating a special occasion and will always remember the evening.
Perfect

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Kid-friendly, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on June 11, 2017

Had the rack of lamb, which had amazing flavor. But once again, the portion size was very small and I left hungry. Approximately 2 oz of lamb and an average portion is 4oz. Not enough veggies either for the price. Won't be back unless I just need a snack.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value2

 
 (Miami)·Dined on June 11, 2017

Been here for lunch and brunch and both were great! Food is always awesome and the service goes along with it! Highly recommend

Tags: Great for Brunch, Healthy, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Casual, Good for a Date, Comfort Food, Local Ingredients, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on June 9, 2017

While the food was good and the service was excellent, my husband had to send his martini back because it was warm. I had to send my pork chop back because it was raw on the inside. They kindly replaced them and they were good when replaced but offered us no discount nor free dessert and they did not even profusely apologize. It was almost as if it was a normal occurrence.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service5
value3

 
 (West Virginia)·Dined on June 9, 2017

Exceptional food and service. The dishes were innovative and fresh.

Tags: Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, Healthy, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on June 6, 2017

It was my birthday! My family joined us. The food was delicious for all 5 of us. Our waitress was attentive and expert.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on June 3, 2017

This is by far my husband and I's favorite restaurant. The food is amazing and interesting.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Savannah)·Dined on June 3, 2017

Birthday dinner

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on June 3, 2017

Food was exceptional, our waitress was also one of the best we have had!! Very attentive and explained everything to us as this was our first time dining here.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on June 2, 2017

We had a great time food was delicious and Mike our waiter was excellent

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fun, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on June 2, 2017

As always, we had wonderful meals! Creative, nutritious, well sourced, fun delicious food! Cocktails good too! Love this favourite of ours that's been in town for 25 years that I know of!
Beautiful old bar!

Tags: Business Meals, Special Occasion, Healthy, Organic, Good Vegetarian Options, Sunday Lunch, Tasting Menu, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on June 1, 2017

I chose the restaurant from a review, knowing nothing about Columbia. The name was intriguing, the menu on the website very appealing. Overall it did not disappoint. Great food, well prepared and presented, and a thoughtful lengthy wine list. I don't know when i'd be back in Columbia, but I would sure pick it for another dinner!!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on June 1, 2017

Meal was excellent! Server was outstanding. She was most professional and accommodating to my guest's questions about entrée preparation.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on June 1, 2017

The food was great and our waitress was awesome.
She was very attentive but not overly so. My only complaint would be the noise level. There needs to be something like window treatments or tapestry to absorb the sound. It just bounces off all the wood. Love the wine list. Will return but not for a romantic evening, just for the good food.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on June 1, 2017

Food was imaginative and fresh. Menu changes each day for a spin on things. Damian was a great server! We'll definitely be back.

Tags: Casual, Vibrant Bar Scene, Quiet Conversation, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on May 28, 2017

I have eaten both lunch and dinner at Motor Supply several times. The food is always presented well. The service is excellent. They use local ingredients from area farms and change their menu according to the availability of local ingredients. I have never been disappointed in a meal. The menu items are always tasty and prepared to perfection.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Great for Lunch, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on May 28, 2017

When we had out of town guests Motor supply was our #1 choice for dinner as are frequent patrons! And as usual it was wonderful with a very knowledgeable waitress and a great menu! We would not of gone anywhere else, our quests loved it and raved about the quality of the food! Perfect as always!

Tags: Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on May 27, 2017

Such a delicious meal! Great setting for a date night with friends! Highly recommend the cauliflower entree... It was delicious! My carnivore husband even thought it was superb! Amazing restaurant .

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Local Ingredients, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 27, 2017

Great food, wonderful place. Good service. The wine I selected was not available and the alternative suggested by the wait staff was more expensive and had too much alcohol. Not a great substitute and did not leave the best taste! Apart from that the place is great and I will likely go again. I enjoy the locally sourced food and the attention to detail from the kitchen. Real flavors.

Tags: Authentic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Healthy, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on May 26, 2017

The food was excellent as was the service. However, the noise level made conversation almost impossible. Still, Motor Supply remains a favorite spot.

Tags: Notable Wine List, People Watching, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service5
value4

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on May 23, 2017

Always a fantastic meal with fresh food, almost all local. Wonderful wine list and creative cocktails.

Tags: Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on May 23, 2017

Was visiting Columbia from out of town for business but my fiance accompanied me on the trip and we had reserved a table here before our trip. This place did not disappoint. Excellent everything. The drinks at the bar were fabulous and the bartended was excellent. Not only was he a great mixologist he also provided excellent service. The food was just as good. And the dessert (which was a take on a "snickers bar" but not a bar) out of this world.

Tags: Hot Spot, Authentic, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Houston)·Dined on May 23, 2017

Unique menu. Swordfish was outstanding.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on May 21, 2017

Loved it! Delicious all around

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on May 21, 2017

Vibrant and loud dining room. Limited off street parking. Good to to very good menu items. Caitlin was a gem with attentive service.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Casual, Bar Seating, Vibrant Bar Scene, Pre/post Theatre, Great Beer, Seasonal, Local Ingredients, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on May 21, 2017

I was very impressed with the ambiance. The food was amazing! I ate every bite on my plate. Spectacular drinks. I was also lucky enough to get the last valet parking spot. I will return.

Tags: Live Music, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.