About Motor Supply Company Bistro

920 Gervais St.
Columbia, SC 29201
View Larger Map

Located in the historic Congaree Vista with a heated patio and free valet parking, Motor Supply has been serving progressive, New World cuisine using classic French culinary techniques for over 20 years. Led by Executive Chef Wesley Fulmer, the kitchen's lunch, dinner and brunch handwritten menus change daily, featuring contemporary New American cuisine, with nods to Creole, Cajun, Southern, French and Asian cuisine. Motor Supply works with local, sustainable farms for produce, meats, dairy and more. Seafood is caught off of the SC coast, and all of our charcuterie, desserts, stocks, sauces and dressings are made in-house. The bar boasts an extensive Wine Spectator Award of Excellence-winning list (2006-13), imported, domestic and local craft beers, as well as an artisan farm-to-shaker cocktail list made from house-infused liquors, handmade bitters, barrel-aged spirits and locally-sourced ingredients and garnishes, mixed up by Head Barman Josh Streetman.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Fusion / Eclectic, Creole / Cajun / Southern

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Tuesday-Saturday, 11:30 am-2:30 pm

Dinner: Tuesday-Thursday, 5:30 pm-9:30 pm
Friday-Saturday, 5:30 pm-10:30 pm
Sunday, 5:30 pm-9:00 pm

Brunch: Sunday, 10:30 am-2:30 pm

Cross Street:
Park and Lincoln Sts.

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(803) 256-6687

Website:
http://www.motorsupplycobistro.com/

Entertainment:
Koger Center for the Arts, Columbia Museum of Art, Colonial Life Arena, Columbia Metropolitan Convention Center; local bars, clubs and nightlife; several hotels and shopping venues all within walking distance in the Vista

Parking Details:
Free valet parking Tuesday-Saturday evenings and Tuesday-Friday at lunch. Parking lot with ~20 spaces. Easily accessible street parking.

Public Transit:
There are several public transit stops throughout the Columbia, SC downtown area, one of which is located a half-block from Motor Supply Co. Bistro. During the evenings, especially on weekends, taxis are readily available throughout the Vista.

Executive Chef:
Wesley Fulmer

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine, Wine Bar

Special Events & Promotions:
We host a biannual farm-to-table celebration to give back to our local, sustainable farming partners called Harvest Week. For details about the next Harvest Week, visit http://www.motorsupplycobistro.com, like us on Facebook and follow us on Twitter.

Restaurant Photos

Motor Supply Company Bistro Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.5

ambience

4.4

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Fit for Foodies
South Carolina
Best Overall
Columbia
Best Food
Columbia
5 More
Best Service
Columbia
Best Ambiance
Columbia
Best Value
Columbia
Fit for Foodies
Columbia
Most Booked
Columbia
Best Restaurants in Columbia ›

fit for foodies (126)
special occasion (114)
romantic (73)
See All
notable wine list (69)
neighborhood gem (54)
hot spot (52)
good for groups (42)
great for outdoor dining (34)
great for brunch (27)
great for lunch (26)
vibrant bar scene (18)
late-night find (12)
scenic view (3)
kid-friendly (1)
 (1)
 (1)
Sort By:
Newest
1052 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5

Great meal.

Dined 6 days ago

Great meal.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Waitress Katelyn was exceptional in her ...

Dined 7 days ago

Waitress Katelyn was exceptional in her service! She was willing to turn down the music that was already low for my blind/ half deaf mother My Gimlet was perfect Wine was divine Trout was incredible Salad was perfectly fresh

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food2
ambience2
service3

Service was good, seating wasn't ideal a ...

Dined on May 21, 2016

Service was good, seating wasn't ideal at all. Valet guys are great. Shrimp dish could've had more flavor according to my wife. My duck was great. Overall nice place to eat, it was a good experience.

food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Excellent meal.

Dined on May 21, 2016

My wife and I went to Motor Supply for dinner. The food and service were outstanding. The restaurant is pricey, but the food is totally worth it.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Wonderful

Dined on May 18, 2016

Service was great, and food is just outstanding. Selection good too. Menu changes daily, determined by what can be purchased locally. Presentation is wonderful! I think this may have become my favorite restaurant in Columbia. Chef is relatively new and has certainly made a difference. Was always a very good restaurant, but is now a great one.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, special occasion, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great menu that's new daily. Creative pa ...

Dined on May 17, 2016

Great menu that's new daily. Creative pairings and great in-house ginger beer for their Moscow mules.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Everything was cooked perfectly. I could ...

Dined on May 14, 2016

Everything was cooked perfectly. I couldn't be happier. The menu was unique and very well put together. The flavor combinations were spot on from the walnut old fashioned to the dickle of ribeye and the sword fish

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Every time I go here, it is always a gre ...

Dined on May 13, 2016

Every time I go here, it is always a great time and never disappoints. Great spot for a nice dinner in Cola.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

The food was great as well as service, m ...

Dined on May 12, 2016

The food was great as well as service, menu is a little pricy thus why we only go there on special occassions

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Awesome experience. The food wasto die f ...

Dined on May 12, 2016

Awesome experience. The food wasto die for, it melted in my mouth. The service was great. The atmosphere was relaxed. I can'twait to back again.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Brunch was delicious. Made a reservation ...

Dined on May 8, 2016

Brunch was delicious. Made a reservation via open table and glad we did since there was a long line for those who didn't. Crab cakes were delicious and so were the bloody Mary's!

food4
ambience5
service5

Me and my boyfriend booked a table for p ...

Dined on May 7, 2016

Me and my boyfriend booked a table for prom. The food was delicious. Their sauce for flat steak and CAB (coulotte steak) was amazing it was tangy but sweet which was matches the mini potatoes that went along with the dish. The Peanut butter chocolate Oreo crusted pie was to die for. The waitress was very nice and helpful. My boyfriend and I definitely will be coming back soon.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fabulous restaurant

Dined on May 7, 2016

Best eatery in Columbia SC. Food was farm to table and was just amazingly fresh and great taste. Service was great and the ambiance was great. Great place for a special occasion or a night for a romantic dinner for two.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Best restaurant in Columbia sc

Dined on May 6, 2016

Our meal was exquisite. All fresh ingredients great service and priced right for what you get.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

Anniversary

Dined on May 6, 2016

This was a very nice restaurant for our 24th wedding anniversary. The wait staff was courteous and very helpful! The food was astounding and so very tasty. We are able to share a salad and a dessert. I would recommend highly!

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent as always

Dined on May 5, 2016

Super busy for a Thursday pm due to graduations, however food and service excellent. Brandon was our waiter.

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

JenRI

Dined on May 5, 2016

Great fresh food love that the menu changes daily had a great lunch during my sons graduation weekend- out server was really friendly and knowledgeable

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service4

All the fresh local ingredients are wond ...

Dined on May 5, 2016

All the fresh local ingredients are wonderfully incorporated ... Best restaurant in town!!!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Delicious and great service

Dined on April 30, 2016

The server was fantastic and the food was amazing. My only minor concern was our table placement. My chair was backed right beside an open door to the patio and kept being bumped. Otherwise everything was great.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

A dining experience with southern roots.

Dined on April 28, 2016

Was glad the waiter made recommendations upon our request, he was so right, you can get just steak and potatoes anywhere. This is a place to step out of your comfort zone.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

Stellar service, great food

Dined on April 26, 2016

Our party of long time friends from across the country met for dinner. Our table was instantly ready and our ever patient waiter was superb. Everything from cocktails and wine to amazing mussels as appetizers, entrees and incredible spice cake made our evening a delight. We enjoyed ourselves so much that we looked up shortly after 10 and realized that we were the last diners . Very happy with the vegetarian offering. Tasty and a non-event in pleasing a dedicated vegetarian. . Quite loud on porch, though I love to sit there, it was difficult to hear at our large table at times. That is our lone disappointment

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Traveling through.

Dined on April 26, 2016

Presentation of meal was beautiful, and quality of meats and cheese was excellent. Cheese board, flat iron steak was so tasty. Mmmmm loved it! Melt in your mouth flavor.

Tags: special occasion, neighborhood gem
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Disappointed w/brunch menu.

Dined on April 24, 2016

They were already out of one of the "limited" breakfast items at 1:30pm . I ordered one of their brunch items which had very little taste. I will give the restaurant another try b/c I believe they deserve it. I have had better experiences with this restaurant for brunch, lunch & dinner. Maybe it was an off day?

Tags: great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

We had a party of 9, originally, and add ...

Dined on April 24, 2016

We had a party of 9, originally, and added 2 more, upon arrival for Sunday brunch. The staff was very accommodating, and served us with a smile. The food was fantastic. We will definitely return.

food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Great downtown spot!

Dined on April 23, 2016

Had a great dinner with group of friends. Staff was knowledgeable and professional. Ambiance was great also, we didn't feel rushed despite spending time chatting and eating. Fully enjoyed the experience and will be back.

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, hot spot
food3
ambience5
service2

Food was good not great. Waitress kept f ...

Dined on April 22, 2016

Food was good not great. Waitress kept flirting with my husband the entire meal so that was a bit uncomfortable not to mention unprofessional. Very cool / trendy atmosphere. Lots of vegetarian options.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Ask for Ashley as your server!

Dined on April 22, 2016

I am typically very easy to please when it comes to my experiences at restaurants due to my experience in college as a server. However, this went beyond any expectation I ever had. Firstly the wine list was extensive and very impressive. Our server Ashley did an impeccable job of explaining the different qualities of each wine and what would go best with the appetizers and entrees we ordered. The artisan cheeses were fantastic as a starter and very nice to go along with our wine choice. The entrees were on an entirely different level. My coulotte steak was cooked to perfection in an immaculate red wine Demi glace. While the food was a 5 star experience, I was most impressed by our server Ashley. She did an incredible job explaining the menu I'm a thorough and easy to understand way which is even more impressive considering the menu changes every night. This shows true dedication to her craft and taking pride in all of this. A lot of the times, as a younger adult (24) I notice that I tend to not get the same treatment as the older crowds (which has always confused me considering the younger generation tends to tip better). Ashley was extremely attentive while still giving us plenty of peace. She was very accommodating to our order and even gave us a heads up that the kitchen would close in 30 minutes because we got so distracted and caught up in the experience. The food was definitely one of my top experiences at a restaurant but I can say that Ashley was the best server I have had with any restaurant as I've travelled and eaten all over the country. Thank you so much for the experience and we will definitely be back!!

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, great for lunch, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Dinner was amazing

Dined on April 21, 2016

I had the vegetarian dish, and it was so amazing. The sauce they use is incredible. I highly recommend this restaurant. My friend had the steak and loved it as well.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Really nice introduction to Columbia, SC

Dined on April 20, 2016

In town visiting first time ever . . . found this through recommendations on Yelp or some other. Really nice place, food was great, ambiance perfect, wine list was well priced with lots of variety; can't go wrong choosing this place.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Great restaurant with interesting menu, ...

Dined on April 11, 2016

Great restaurant with interesting menu, quality ingredients and presentation in a fun environment. Good service and excellent wine list. I had the duck which was excellent. My breast, was rare. I know its red meat and (unlike chicken) can be eaten medium rare, but this was entirely underdone notwithstanding the perfectly crispy skin. Other than that, a great meal.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

Good food

Dined on April 10, 2016

The concept here is to use local produce in innovative delicious dishes. The menu changes daily if not more frequently. We had two salads, duck duo and peanut chocolate tort. These dishes were good but somewhat pricey. By paying a living wage to local farmers they need to charge enough to cover costs.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience2
service4
value3

Exceptional Evening

Dined on April 9, 2016

The food and service were beyond reproach, absolutely nothing negative to say there. Was a little disappointed to discover (and recognize of course it is in The Vista and near USC campus) the large amount of patrons in the dining room and bar in jeans and flip flops, and some in shorts. Was expecting such a fine dining establishment to have a little more of a refined atmosphere or dress code.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, hot spot
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

Great Masters Dinner

Dined on April 9, 2016

My son and I enjoyed a great pre-Masters meal at Motor Supply Co. The food selection was extensive and everything we ordered was fabulous. I highly recommend it.

Tags: fit for foodies, hot spot
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

First time to Columbia

vip
Dined on April 8, 2016

First visit and found Motor Supply to be quite tasty. Suggest starting with the "boards" - great selections on both. Eggplant steak was very good and the ahi tuna was fabulous. Good recommendation by several locals.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food3
ambience2
service3
value2

Not bad, but not extraordinary

Dined on April 8, 2016

3 stars across the board. Nothing exceptional. Pork chop had good flavor. Portion sizes of all other items ordered were small (charcuterie, beet salad, bourbon dessert). Bourbon brown sugar tart had absolutely no flavor. Kitchen would not accommodate side dish order. Understood, but a little turned off by it. Service was good, but again not great. We'd go back for drinks.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

You Have to Go!

Dined on April 5, 2016

After hearing about how wonderful Motor Supply Bistro was from multiple people around town, my husband and I decided to stop in for our last dinner while visiting Columbia. What a gem! We couldn't have been more pleased with the stellar service, excellent meals and thoughtful suggestions from our server Alice. We cannot wait to come back again some day!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Tom

Dined on April 2, 2016

It was all the best and we look forward to returning soon

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Awesome place

vip
Dined on March 29, 2016

When ever I am in town I go here to eat. Food and service is second to none

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, hot spot
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Great Time, Good Food....

Dined on March 25, 2016

Really happening place, great wine list, yummy cocktails. Fun that menu changes daily however the cheese board was awfully small for the $$. The Pork chop was the best I've ever had! Will definitely be back if we are in the area.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

Great food and service

Dined on March 23, 2016

Ate dinner recently with my wife. Menu changes every night. Decent selection for appetizers, entrees, and dessert. Service was very prompt, and the waiter was friendly and knowledgeable. Dinner was delicious. My steak was slightly overdone for what I ordered (well instead of medium well) but it was perfectly seasoned and tender. The ambience was a little louder than a restaurant that you would go to for a romantic date, but it wasn't distracting, just more of a social setting for large parties than an intimate setting. Overall, I'll go back for sure.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.