About Motor Supply Company Bistro

920 Gervais St.
Columbia, SC 29201
View Larger Map

Located in the historic Congaree Vista with a heated patio and free valet parking, Motor Supply has been serving progressive, New World cuisine using classic French culinary techniques for over 20 years. Led by Executive Chef Wesley Fulmer, the kitchen's lunch, dinner and brunch handwritten menus change daily, featuring contemporary New American cuisine, with nods to Creole, Cajun, Southern, French and Asian cuisine. Motor Supply works with local, sustainable farms for produce, meats, dairy and more. Seafood is caught off of the SC coast, and all of our charcuterie, desserts, stocks, sauces and dressings are made in-house. The bar boasts an extensive Wine Spectator Award of Excellence-winning list (2006-13), imported, domestic and local craft beers, as well as an artisan farm-to-shaker cocktail list made from house-infused liquors, handmade bitters, barrel-aged spirits and locally-sourced ingredients and garnishes, mixed up by Head Barman Josh Streetman.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Fusion / Eclectic, Creole / Cajun / Southern

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Tuesday-Saturday, 11:30 am-2:30 pm

Dinner: Tuesday-Thursday, 5:30 pm-9:30 pm
Friday-Saturday, 5:30 pm-10:30 pm
Sunday, 5:30 pm-9:00 pm

Brunch: Sunday, 10:30 am-2:30 pm

Cross Street:
Park and Lincoln Sts.

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(803) 256-6687

Website:
http://www.motorsupplycobistro.com/

Entertainment:
Koger Center for the Arts, Columbia Museum of Art, Colonial Life Arena, Columbia Metropolitan Convention Center; local bars, clubs and nightlife; several hotels and shopping venues all within walking distance in the Vista

Parking Details:
Free valet parking Tuesday-Saturday evenings and Tuesday-Friday at lunch. Parking lot with ~20 spaces. Easily accessible street parking.

Public Transit:
There are several public transit stops throughout the Columbia, SC downtown area, one of which is located a half-block from Motor Supply Co. Bistro. During the evenings, especially on weekends, taxis are readily available throughout the Vista.

Executive Chef:
Wesley Fulmer

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine, Wine Bar

Special Events & Promotions:
We host a biannual farm-to-table celebration to give back to our local, sustainable farming partners called Harvest Week. For details about the next Harvest Week, visit http://www.motorsupplycobistro.com, like us on Facebook and follow us on Twitter.

Restaurant Photos

Duck
Duo Of Duck Thigh Confit & House Smoked Sausage Sauced With Ginger-Apple Infused Honey
Grilled Lamb Chops
Grilled Diver Scallops
Gorgonzola Beef Tournedo Steak
Roasted Chicken
Truth or Dare Cocktail
Crab Cakes
Seared Filet Mignon
Charcuterie Board
Tomato Pie
Shrimp
Pomegranate Mojito
Crispy Duck With Wild Berry Sauce, Sauteed Green Beans And Whipped Potatoes
Butternut Squash With Goat Cheese And Spinach
Fresh cilantro, beet juice, & Don Julio reposado tequila w/honey simple syrup
New York Strip
Pork Chop
Strawberry Basil Lemonade
Roasted Crimini Salad
Salmon
Soft Shell Crab
Tilapia & Coconut Soy Chile Beurre Blanc
Pecan Pie
Apricot Rum Mojito
Grouper With A Thai BBQ Sauce, Pear Compote And Balsamic Reduction
Shrimp With Spicy Garlic Sauce
Prime Rib
Eden Creek Farms Red Waddle Ham Flatbread
Adult Chocolate Soda
Orrecchiette
Mai Tai
Smoked Prime Rib
Maredsous 10 Tripel
Pork Tenderloin
Grilled Mahi
Tomatoes Salad
Peach & Basil Mojito
Argentinean BBQ Chicken Salad With Citrus Cantaloupe Vinaigrette
Smoked Chile Tequila & Ruby Red Grapefruit Margarita
Red Snapper with Strawberry Balsamic
SC Wreckfish & Tarragon Caper Cream Sauce With Creamy Jasmine Rice
Housemade Chocolate Apricot Bread Pudding
Peanut Butter Chocolate Pie
Housemade charcuterie w/ house cured Caw Caw Creek Pastured Pork bacon, cocoa nib sausage,
Smoked Trout Pate With Pickled Asparagus On Heather's Artisan Bread
Housemade Limoncello
Cured Pork Loin Chop
Veal & Cremini Mushroom Meatloaf
Corned Beef Sandwich And Creamy Orzo Pasta Salad
Vegetables With Motz
Sea bass
steak bavette
Shrimp And Pork Ragout
Spinach & Swiss Quiche
Kangaroo
Wahoo
Sugar Brined Pork Porterhouse With A Green Peppercorn Gravy
Shrimp Salsa Verde
Steak
Pork Belly Over A Grit Cake

Motor Supply Company Bistro Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.4

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Columbia
Best Food
Columbia
Best Service
Columbia
4 More
Fit for Foodies
Columbia
Romantic
Columbia
Special Occasion
Columbia
Most Booked
Columbia
Best Restaurants in Columbia ›

fit for foodies (126)
special occasion (109)
notable wine list (66)
See All
romantic (66)
neighborhood gem (55)
hot spot (51)
good for groups (34)
great for brunch (33)
great for lunch (33)
great for outdoor dining (28)
vibrant bar scene (19)
late-night find (14)
scenic view (2)
kid-friendly (1)
Sort By:
Newest
1080 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food3
ambience2
service2
value2

Food was just meh. Worst bread I've ever ...

Dined 2 days ago

Food was just meh. Worst bread I've ever been presented at a table. No salt or pepper at table and none offered. No butter just oily dip for rock hard bread. Wasn't super busy and service not really attentive. Steak undercooked and poorly presented. I don't understand this lack of effort at this price point. Much to improve on.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a lot of friends recommend that w ...

Dined 3 days ago

We had a lot of friends recommend that we try Motor Supply Company, but overall I don't think I would go again for the price. If you are really into food, then it is worth it, but for two entrees, two drinks, and a 20% tip, it was a little under $100. The food was tasty and well-done, and it is a very casual dining environment (waitress had on a black tank top). Some people are dressed up, but shorts and a nice t-shirt fit in just fine. We sat on the enclosed patio, and it was nice! Overall it is great for certain types of people, maybe just not us! We are used to shelling out money for dinners every once in a while, but to us it just wasn't worth it. Also, if you need glasses to read, BRING THEM! I am 22 and could barely read the menu. They hand write it (pretty sure its girly writing), and it is very smushed together and difficult to read. One other thing, THEY DON'T HAVE SWEET TEA! That's common at expensive restaurants, but I wouldn't have gone had I known that. I love sweet tea!

Tags: fit for foodies
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful meal! Great fresh seasonal se ...

Dined 4 days ago

Wonderful meal! Great fresh seasonal selections and changing menu.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent!!!! Ihaveneverhadabadmealorbed ...

Dined 5 days ago

Excellent!!!! Ihaveneverhadabadmealorbedservicehere.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

Delicious dinner. Flat iron steak was b ...

vip
Dined 6 days ago

Delicious dinner. Flat iron steak was booked to perfection and so tender. Wreckfish was fantastic too.

food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Motor Supply always delivers an excellen ...

Dined 6 days ago

Motor Supply always delivers an excellent meal with good service. We went for my husband's birthday which I had noted on the reservation. The server was aware and told him Happy Birthday! They gave him a complimentary dessert as well which was a nice touch. He tried the Catch of the Day, wreck fish. That is a rather thick fish but it was perfectly prepared. I had the Duck which had sweet potatoes, collards and a berry sauce. It was the perfect sweet, salty. sour combination to go with the duck. The server was attentive without interrupting our dinner every 5 minutes as some do. Very enjoyable evening.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, special occasion, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Perfect experience! The food was incred ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

Perfect experience! The food was incredible. We started with an Artisan cheese board paired with a tomato jam that was out of this world! My husband had the bone in pork chop that was thick but juicy and very flavorful. I had the coulotte steak with an amazing demi glace. Our server Adam was attentive, knowledgeable about the menu and made a wine suggestion that complimented our meal perfectly! I would recommend Motor Supply without hesitation!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service3

it's good food

Dined on June 19, 2016

it's good food

food5
ambience5
service5

Fathers Day brunch with a party of five. ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

Fathers Day brunch with a party of five. Great selections on the menu but would have liked another more kid-friendly options. Service was perfectly attentive and answered numerous questions. Quiche of the day was outstanding and meat-free. We will be back.

food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Motor Supply continues to be one of the ...

Dined on June 18, 2016

Motor Supply continues to be one of the best restaurants in Columbia. The appetizer and salad prices tend to run higher than those at comparable Columbia restaurants, which is surpising at an establishment with such a good wine list. This visit the restaurant was even more celiac-friendly than they had been in the past. Yummy local food but still down to earth.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

The food was cooked and presented beauti ...

Dined on June 18, 2016

The food was cooked and presented beautifully. Hostess was not the friendliest, but the waiter was wonderful.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great Food and a Great Bartender in Josh ...

Dined on June 15, 2016

Great Food and a Great Bartender in Josh we have always enjoyed our time here

Tags: good for groups
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Love the food, love the service, love th ...

Dined on June 12, 2016

Love the food, love the service, love the atmosphere. My only complaint is that the handwriting on the menu's is so very illegible. It makes me wish you had someone on staff who would copy over the chef's notes in a more readable hand before you photocopy it. Many of the women in our group - particularly those who use reading glasses - had a very difficult time reading the menu.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I can't say enough good things about Mot ...

vip
Dined on June 11, 2016

I can't say enough good things about Motor Supply. It is my favorite Restaurant in Columbia. The menu continues to surprise me. The recent trip was to enjoy the farm to table week. Rabbit is not my usual choice but it surpassed any I have had. I recommend this restaurant for any occasion.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent food, tremendous knowledgeable waitress

Dined on June 10, 2016

Best meal I have ever had in Columbia, S.C. Four people in our group and everyone ordered a different entree. All raved about their food and not a scrap left. The desserts were also wonderful.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent food and servers!!!

vip
Dined on June 5, 2016

Excellent food and servers!!!

food4
ambience4
service3
value4

Anniversary night

Dined on June 4, 2016

This was my first time eating at this restaurant and everything from the atmosphere to the food and drinks was very good; except the service dropped off a little after our food order was placed. It took almost 30 minutes to receive our meal and noticed that a table that was seated 10-15 minutes after us received their food before us. Other than that, this dining experience was very good.

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Excellent!

Dined on June 3, 2016

This was a fantastic meal - the menu was inventive and we enjoyed a number of great things and the cocktails were unique!

Tags: fit for foodies, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent in all respects

Dined on June 3, 2016

My wife & I returned for the first time in a couple of years. The food was wonderful, with excellent service . Valet parking really helps when arriving. The wine list is excellent & this is among the top 5 restaurants in Columbia. We will definitely return.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent place for dinner. It was our f ...

Dined on June 3, 2016

Excellent place for dinner. It was our first time here but NOT our last. Our server Chuck was the best. Very informative on any menu item. We had an early reservation and had time to chat with Chuck. It was fun hearing the history of Motor Supply Company. I don't think there would be a bad item on the menu. I had a steak that was super tender and my husband's duck was out of this world. If you are looking for a fantastic dinner go here.

food5
ambience5
service5

Met a friend for dinner. From hostess to ...

Dined on June 1, 2016

Met a friend for dinner. From hostess to bill pay, everything was wonderful. Chef Wes and his team are amazing.

food4
ambience4
service4
value5

Motor in !

Dined on May 29, 2016

Great local fare, love that the menu morphs daily!!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our "new" old favorite!

Dined on May 29, 2016

We had always enjoyed Motor Supply but hadn't been for several years since moving. We recently decided to make the trek into town for brunch there and were blown away! The uniquely delicious creations with fresh local fare are a rare find in Columbia The food is always fresh, the service is spot on and delivery of food is very fast especially since it is made fresh to order. Everything is scrumptious but we especially enjoyed some of the cocktails made with house infused liquors and syrups. We highly recommend Motor Supply for an upscale but relaxed dining experience in the Columbia area and will try to make a weekly visit for our culinary treat!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Food unique/tasty. Great wine rec.

Dined on May 29, 2016

This was one of my first nights here in Columbia. As a solo diner, I felt welcomed and relaxed. Thank you.

Tags: special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Absolutely excellent

Dined on May 28, 2016

This restaurant was fantastic. The menu was just the right size. The food was perfect. The service was impeccable. We ate here for my wife's birthday. The price is about what you expect to pay for a quality dining experience. It is not cheap, but you do get what you pay for.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Great meal.

Dined on May 24, 2016

Great meal.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Waitress Katelyn was exceptional in her ...

Dined on May 24, 2016

Waitress Katelyn was exceptional in her service! She was willing to turn down the music that was already low for my blind/ half deaf mother My Gimlet was perfect Wine was divine Trout was incredible Salad was perfectly fresh

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food2
ambience2
service3

Service was good, seating wasn't ideal a ...

Dined on May 21, 2016

Service was good, seating wasn't ideal at all. Valet guys are great. Shrimp dish could've had more flavor according to my wife. My duck was great. Overall nice place to eat, it was a good experience.

food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Excellent meal.

Dined on May 21, 2016

My wife and I went to Motor Supply for dinner. The food and service were outstanding. The restaurant is pricey, but the food is totally worth it.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Wonderful

Dined on May 18, 2016

Service was great, and food is just outstanding. Selection good too. Menu changes daily, determined by what can be purchased locally. Presentation is wonderful! I think this may have become my favorite restaurant in Columbia. Chef is relatively new and has certainly made a difference. Was always a very good restaurant, but is now a great one.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, special occasion, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great menu that's new daily. Creative pa ...

Dined on May 17, 2016

Great menu that's new daily. Creative pairings and great in-house ginger beer for their Moscow mules.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Everything was cooked perfectly. I could ...

Dined on May 14, 2016

Everything was cooked perfectly. I couldn't be happier. The menu was unique and very well put together. The flavor combinations were spot on from the walnut old fashioned to the dickle of ribeye and the sword fish

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Every time I go here, it is always a gre ...

Dined on May 13, 2016

Every time I go here, it is always a great time and never disappoints. Great spot for a nice dinner in Cola.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

The food was great as well as service, m ...

Dined on May 12, 2016

The food was great as well as service, menu is a little pricy thus why we only go there on special occassions

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Awesome experience. The food wasto die f ...

Dined on May 12, 2016

Awesome experience. The food wasto die for, it melted in my mouth. The service was great. The atmosphere was relaxed. I can'twait to back again.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Brunch was delicious. Made a reservation ...

Dined on May 8, 2016

Brunch was delicious. Made a reservation via open table and glad we did since there was a long line for those who didn't. Crab cakes were delicious and so were the bloody Mary's!

food4
ambience5
service5

Me and my boyfriend booked a table for p ...

Dined on May 7, 2016

Me and my boyfriend booked a table for prom. The food was delicious. Their sauce for flat steak and CAB (coulotte steak) was amazing it was tangy but sweet which was matches the mini potatoes that went along with the dish. The Peanut butter chocolate Oreo crusted pie was to die for. The waitress was very nice and helpful. My boyfriend and I definitely will be coming back soon.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fabulous restaurant

Dined on May 7, 2016

Best eatery in Columbia SC. Food was farm to table and was just amazingly fresh and great taste. Service was great and the ambiance was great. Great place for a special occasion or a night for a romantic dinner for two.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Best restaurant in Columbia sc

Dined on May 6, 2016

Our meal was exquisite. All fresh ingredients great service and priced right for what you get.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

Anniversary

Dined on May 6, 2016

This was a very nice restaurant for our 24th wedding anniversary. The wait staff was courteous and very helpful! The food was astounding and so very tasty. We are able to share a salad and a dessert. I would recommend highly!

Tags: romantic, special occasion

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.