About Moto

1120 McGavock Street
Nashville, TN 37203
View Larger Map

Italian for “motion” and the commonly used term for motorcycle or scooter, the word moto has been selected as a moniker for this cultural icon of Italian life. Paying homage to our warehouse location’s former life as a mechanics’ shop on MStreet in the Gulch, Moto Cucina + Enoteca’s design reflects the free spirit and gritty glamour associated with the Italian moto motif.

Moto features inspired rustic-modern Italian cuisine. Moto's menu is a contemporary approach to authentic Italian cooking that utilizes product consciously sourced from local farms and artisans balanced by premium product imported from Italy.

A large bar and lounge area welcomes guests into its ‘enoteca’ inspired environment where wine is king. Moto features over 30 ever-changing wines by the glass and 250 labels in total.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday - Thursday, Sunday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm

Friday & Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm

"Moto Monday" Mondays from 5-9 PM / bites and wine tastings for $25

Monday-Friday 5-6:30 PM / Quartino Carafes (50% more wine) on all wines by the glass

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(615) 736-5305

Website:
http://www.motocucinanashville.com/

Parking Details:
Our Valet services are complimentary.

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Fireplace, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Wine

Restaurant Photos

  • Moto, Nashville, TN

Report a photo problem

Private Dining

Moto Cucina + Enoteca's two private dining spaces combine the sleek sophistication and modern design that Moto has to offer in a completely private setting. From social gatherings to corporate functions, the versatility of these spaces will suit nearly any event.

Moto Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.6

ambience

4.6

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

90% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (43)
Special Occasion (30)
Good for Groups (28)
See All
Romantic (27)
Good for Anniversaries (25)
Creative Cuisine (24)
Fit for Foodies (24)
Bar Seating (23)
Modern Decor (22)
Vibrant Bar Scene (21)
Hot Spot (21)
Business Meals (20)
Good for Birthdays (19)
Fun (17)
People Watching (16)
Neighborhood Gem (16)
Notable Wine List (16)
Handcrafted Cocktails (16)
Authentic (12)
Happy Hour (10)
Quiet Conversation (9)
Comfort Food (9)
Good Vegetarian Options (9)
Cozy (8)
Late-night Find (8)
Casual (8)
Worth the Drive (8)
Tasting Menu (7)
Wood Oven (7)
Seasonal (7)
Local Ingredients (7)
Pre/post Theatre (7)
Open Kitchen (5)
Private Room (5)
Paleo Friendly (4)
Tapas (4)
Great Beer (3)
Family Style (3)
Sunday Lunch (3)
Fireplace (3)
Quick Bite (2)
Healthy (2)
Organic (2)
Vegan (1)
Scenic View (1)
Spicy (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Live Sports (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Sort By:
S
585 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Moto was all I had hoped it would be. Th ...

 
 (Nashville)·Dined 3 days ago

Moto was all I had hoped it would be. The food was excellent. I had the simple cacio e Pepe. With few ingridents, this has to be made to perfection...and it was. The decor is so modern and appealing. One of my new favs. I will definitely be returning.

Tags: Happy Hour, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Good Vegetarian Options, Handcrafted Cocktails, Comfort Food, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our steak and pasta were excellent. Our ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 6 days ago

Our steak and pasta were excellent. Our reservation was not ready when we got there so we had to wait at the bar for a while, and ultimately we had dinner at the bar, which is fine with us. We will definitely go back.

Tags: Fireplace, Bar Seating, Wood Oven, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

We sat in the bar. Bar atmosphere and n ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined 6 days ago

We sat in the bar. Bar atmosphere and noise level higher. Maybe more relaxing in the dining area. Food was good; service good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

I had really mixed feelings about Moto. ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 14, 2017

I had really mixed feelings about Moto. First off, which was a negative impression - it is IMPOSSIBLE to call the restaurant and get in touch with anyone. We were visiting Nashville from out of town with a group. I called on 3 separate occasions and left messages and never received a call back. It was my husbands 40th birthday and I wanted to alert the restaurant, as well as find out about any gluten free options. Only until the day of our reservation did a manager call me back to confirm my large group, not even answer my questions. All in all, we show up at 7:45 for an 8pm reservation on a Friday night. The restaurant is half empty but our table was 'not ready' and we weren't seated until after 8:30. The meal itself was pretty good. I found some food to be over salted and some dishes to be small portions. We still had a fun time and the restaurant is trendy and good for an occasion. It is pricey and overall I wasn't impressed but I would still recommend it for a night out.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value2

We found the food at Moto to be good but ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on January 14, 2017

We found the food at Moto to be good but not a standout by Nashville standards. The super-popular Brussels sprouts have a really interesting taste and texture (though a little oily), and the mussels starter was exceptional. We did have a problem with the service. Too many different servers make too many visits to your table, and it gets intrusive. Three different servers came at the beginning to ask our water preference, and two different waiters announced that they would be our waiter. And this was on a slow night. You would think the place was having a soft opening, but no. This is fixable but needs fixing.

Tags: Modern Decor, Bar Seating, Local Ingredients, People Watching, Hot Spot, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

It's a great spot! The food is delicious ...

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on January 6, 2017

It's a great spot! The food is delicious and consistent. Upscale feel without being snobbish. LOVE!!

Tags: Modern Decor, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Vibrant Bar Scene, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing Nashville Restaurant with an ins ...

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on January 3, 2017

Amazing Nashville Restaurant with an insanely great menu. Great service and great food!

Tags: Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Bar Seating, Modern Decor, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Fun, Special Occasion, Romantic, Private Room, Hot Spot, Good for Birthdays, Vibrant Bar Scene, Great Beer, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was amazing, as usual, but it s ...

vip
 (Nashville)·Dined on January 2, 2017

The food was amazing, as usual, but it seemed like we got a new server, or a bartender who wasn't used to having a section. She forgot one of our appetizers, checked on us few and far between, and had a generally lackadaisical attitude towards our whole experience. We normally love Moto but this visit was not one for the books.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3

awesome.. drinks, food, service, two thu ...

vip
 (Columbus)·Dined on January 2, 2017

awesome.. drinks, food, service, two thumbs up!!!!

Tags: Late-night Find, Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Two couples celebrating anniversaries on ...

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Two couples celebrating anniversaries on New Years Day. Our server, Jennifer was prompt and gracious, Matt the GM was so kind and spent time at our table chatting. All 4 ordered different items/apps, and all were tasty. Swordfish was cooked uniformly excellent, just an exceptional job, and one of the pasta dishes was hot and spicy and loved by all four of us. Nice people, nice setting, nice food,,,,,,what more can you ask for?

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Late-night Find, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Business Meals, Modern Decor, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Food was amazing!!! Definitely get the b ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Food was amazing!!! Definitely get the brussel sprouts! Loved the atmosphere. Great spot!

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The appetizers (meatballs and burrata) w ...

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on December 31, 2016

The appetizers (meatballs and burrata) were exceptional. Two diners had pasta and both were excellent. Two diners had steak and both were good, but not great. Side dishes (brussel sprouts and fried potatoes) were also very good. Nice variety on menu. We waited a half hour past our reservation time for our table. Overall, a good experience. Would go back again but not for steak. Can get a much better steak in Nashville.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3

When we first arrived, the hostess attem ...

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on December 31, 2016

When we first arrived, the hostess attempted to seat us in the very back room (the room beyond the bathrooms). This room had horrible lighting, and was full of large groups and children. Lucky for us, the table wasn't ready. So we went back to the hostess stand and waited about 5 minutes for a table to be available. We were seated at one of the booths right by the bar, which was much for comfortable and appropriate for a date. I would have been highly disappointed had we sat in that back room.

Our server was friendly, efficient, and well versed in the menu. He was able to describe exactly how each dish was made, which is nice for someone who likes to cook. It did feel a bit rushed at times, however. In addition, I would strongly encourage all servers to avoid pouring my husband's beer the way this server did. The server held the beer upside down in the glass, allowing the beer to fill up the glass while making direct contact with the bottle and label. Gross. I have no idea how many hands that bottle and label have passed through before it was served!!!

The food was great! We started with the beef carpaccio- a wonderful rendition with just the right amount of heat. I chose a 6 ounce Wagyu filet which was perfectly cooked at medium rare. If I were to eat at Moto again, I'd definitely go for the larger size, however. We shared a side of Brussels sprouts, which were incredible. I'd give the food 5 stars based on this dish alone. My husband had another type of steak (sorry I can't recall which!) and it was flavorful and cooked again to a perfect medium rare.

As a side note, the wine list has a wonderful selection of by the glass and by the bottle.

Overall, I think this is a good choice for groups or dates. I would not recommend for children. We enjoyed Moto. My overall rating is a 3, but I'd still eat here again.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Groups, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value3

We loved this restaurant. Our family eat ...

vip
 (Nashville)·Dined on December 31, 2016

We loved this restaurant. Our family eats out all the time and this was one of the best restaurants we have been to in a long time. Food and service was outstanding.

Tags: People Watching, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

One of the most consistant restaurants i ...

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on December 29, 2016

One of the most consistant restaurants in Nashville. Great ambiance, location and menu. I need to keep this on my regular rotation.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was very good.... Brussels sprouts ...

vip
 (Nashville)·Dined on December 24, 2016

Food was very good.... Brussels sprouts were fabulous! Service great as well....We will be back...!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

This was our second time to visit Moto.. ...

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on December 23, 2016

This was our second time to visit Moto...fabulous!

Tags: Good for Groups, Comfort Food, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Didn't live up to the hype, unfortunatel ...

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on December 23, 2016

Didn't live up to the hype, unfortunately. Entrees were good, but not $30 a plate good. My friend ordered a steak that was the only exception. It was phenomenal. M Street does steak well in all its restaurants. We should've gone to Kayne Prime.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value2

The service was outstanding. Seth did a ...

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on December 22, 2016

The service was outstanding. Seth did a great job. He was very conscience of our time restraint to be on time to the Nutcracker Ballet. Started with Mussels - excellent. Make sure to order extra bread to sop up the saffron butter sauce. I had the Black Spaghetti, perfect. My wife had Spaghetti and Meatballs - delicious. Great evening, we will be visiting again, soon!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Perfect for a girls night out. Good ser ...

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on December 22, 2016

Perfect for a girls night out. Good service and pleasant atmosphere.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Late-night Find, Vibrant Bar Scene, Tasting Menu, Good for Groups, Pre/post Theatre, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

It's very disappointing when we go out t ...

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on December 19, 2016

It's very disappointing when we go out to have dinner at Christmas time and hear normal songs. no Christmas festive background music. next time I will not go there around the holidays because does not get us in the mood.

I did complain to the manager about that. Definitely I did not want to hear Michael Jackson beat it song the week before Christmas in Ia restaurant

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4

Always spectacular food, beverages and s ...

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on December 12, 2016

Always spectacular food, beverages and service. Great ambiance with the best Filet Mignon in Nashville or possibly anywhere. Fantastic spot for eclectic eats and impressing clients.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Family Style, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Molecular Gastronomy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Neat atmosphere, but very average food. ...

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on December 12, 2016

Neat atmosphere, but very average food. I would say that the experience was nothing special, and for the price, I would have expected something more.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

It was good besides making a reservation ...

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on December 10, 2016

It was good besides making a reservation and still having to wait 15 minutes to be seated. It was only 15 because I got up and asked if our table wou be ready.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Was an incredible evening and the food.. ...

vip
 (Nashville)·Dined on December 9, 2016

Was an incredible evening and the food....amazing, each and every course. Our new favorite!!

Tags: Seasonal, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, People Watching, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Took my boyfriend here for his birthday. ...

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on December 6, 2016

Took my boyfriend here for his birthday. Our waiter was incredible. He even walked me to the restroom when I asked where it was. We had later reservations so it wasn't crowded. All the staff was attentive and polite. Will be back!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Wood Oven, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Pre/post Theatre, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

It was too noisy, but everything else wa ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on December 5, 2016

It was too noisy, but everything else was awesome.

Tags: Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We went for Moto Monday and loved every ...

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on November 28, 2016

We went for Moto Monday and loved every bite! The wine pairing were absolutely perfect. We sat at the bar and received outstanding service and our cocktails were delicious. I'll definitely be back.

Tags: Bar Seating, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Everything about the experience at Moto' ...

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on November 28, 2016

Everything about the experience at Moto's was enjoyable. Our waiter and the service in general were superb -- available when needed but not hovering and extremely helpful in advising us when we asked. The kitchen was very flexible, accommodating two of our party who had special dietary needs. The food was excellent, especially the swordfish (one of the recommendations). We were there on an unusually quiet night and had no trouble with noise. We could tell though that when full, the restaurant might be a bit noisy for quiet conversation.

Tags: Business Meals, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Food was delicious. My husband had the b ...

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on November 27, 2016

Food was delicious. My husband had the black pasta and I had the prawn and rissotto. It was very flavorful. The ambiance is very romantic even though the restaurant was busy it was still intimate seating. The bar manager came over to us personally and offered a wine tasting which resulted in me having the best moscato I've tried thus far. My husbands only complaint was not receiving a small salad with his pasta dish. Highly recommended. We are an unusually low maintenance table so I can't attest to the service so much. But we did have three separate servers come over and promptly received drink refills. Will definitely go back is we ever go to Nashville again.

Tags: Authentic, Modern Decor, Fun, Cozy, Hot Spot, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Seasonal, Bar Seating, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Vibrant Bar Scene, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Excellent meal at Moto! We stopped in af ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 26, 2016

Excellent meal at Moto! We stopped in after the Preds game, and enjoyed a selection of salumi and cheeses. The mussels were excellent as well. I tried taglitelli with bolognese. The pasta was fresh and delicious. Service was courteous and competent. We'll be back!

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Neighborhood Gem, Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We had a great time at Moto. Easy and fr ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on November 26, 2016

We had a great time at Moto. Easy and free valet parking. Delicious food! Our group of 5 enjoyed many pasta dishes, the calamari, and especially enjoyed the dipping oils with bread. The service was excellent too!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Modern Decor, Special Occasion, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had heard great things about Moto and ...

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on November 23, 2016

We had heard great things about Moto and it was all true! We had the meatballs and artichoke for appetizers and they were delicious! All five of us were very pleased with what we ordered for our entrees. Our waiter was very personal and attentive. Great experience and we highly recommend Moto.

Tags: Authentic, Tasting Menu, Creative Cuisine, Seasonal, Good for Birthdays, Tapas, Fun, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Service has fallen off significantly. H ...

vip
 (Nashville)·Dined on November 20, 2016

Service has fallen off significantly. Have low expectations relative to service at this price point. Food quality is also down under new chef.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service1
value2

Great food, pleasant atmosphere, and AMA ...

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on November 20, 2016

Great food, pleasant atmosphere, and AMAZING service. Especially our waiter, Seth. He was so knowledgeable and delightful to talk to ;-)

The dessert was my favorite -- a blondie topped with pistachio ice cream YUMMMM. Can't wait to go back.

Tags: Wood Oven, Tapas, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Private Room, Late-night Find, Paleo Friendly, People Watching, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Overall, food was really good. Felt tha ...

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on November 19, 2016

Overall, food was really good. Felt that they were a little heavy handed with the salt. Loved the artichokes, gnocchi, blueberry lasagna, carpaccio, and octopus. Not as impressed by the chicken picattta and swordfish. Sides were pricey but good.

Tags: Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Food was excellent. Everything we ate, ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on November 18, 2016

Food was excellent. Everything we ate, we really enjoyed. The brussel sprouts and the blueberry lasagna were exceptional.

Tags: Modern Decor, Cozy, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Feels like Moto has lost it's mojo. Food ...

vip
 (Nashville)·Dined on November 18, 2016

Feels like Moto has lost it's mojo.

Food was good but average. It has been a while since our last meal, and this was by far the least impressive visit.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

We had 3 small children with us and were ...

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on November 12, 2016

We had 3 small children with us and were wisely seated in a back room. This was great because we did not feel as if we were bothering other diners. The service was cheerful, accommodating and excellent in every way. And the food was outstanding.

Tags: People Watching, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Staff was great throughout the evening. ...

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Staff was great throughout the evening. I ordered flowers through the recommended site on Open Table, and they were on the table waiting when we got there. We did get there a tad early and were seated immediately - reservations were at 5:30 on a Saturday. Filet was incredible as were the brussels sprouts and gnocchi. Would love to come back to Moto. It was my first visit.

Tags: Cozy, Business Meals, People Watching, Hot Spot, Good for Groups, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.