About Moto

1120 McGavock Street
Nashville, TN 37203
View Larger Map

Italian for “motion” and the commonly used term for motorcycle or scooter, the word moto has been selected as a moniker for this cultural icon of Italian life. Paying homage to our warehouse location’s former life as a mechanics’ shop on MStreet in the Gulch, Moto Cucina + Enoteca’s design reflects the free spirit and gritty glamour associated with the Italian moto motif.

Moto features inspired rustic-modern Italian cuisine. Moto's menu is a contemporary approach to authentic Italian cooking that utilizes product consciously sourced from local farms and artisans balanced by premium product imported from Italy.

A large bar and lounge area welcomes guests into its ‘enoteca’ inspired environment where wine is king. Moto features over 30 ever-changing wines by the glass and 250 labels in total.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday - Thursday, Sunday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm

Friday & Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm

"Moto Monday" Mondays from 5-9 PM / bites and wine tastings for $25

Monday-Friday 5-6:30 PM / Quartino Carafes (50% more wine) on all wines by the glass

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(615) 736-5305

Website:
http://www.motocucinanashville.com/

Parking Details:
Our Valet services are complimentary.

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Fireplace, Full Bar, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Private Dining

Moto Cucina + Enoteca's two private dining spaces combine the sleek sophistication and modern design that Moto has to offer in a completely private setting. From social gatherings to corporate functions, the versatility of these spaces will suit nearly any event.

Moto Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.6

ambience

4.6

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Ambiance
Nashville
Italian
Nashville
Best Ambiance
Nashville
1 More
Italian
Nashville
Best Restaurants in Nashville ›

fit for foodies (90)
special occasion (77)
hot spot (64)
See All
good for groups (55)
romantic (52)
notable wine list (46)
vibrant bar scene (34)
neighborhood gem (25)
late-night find (11)
scenic view (5)
great for lunch (2)
great for brunch (2)
great for outdoor dining (2)
Sort By:
Newest
415 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5

The black spaghetti is so amazing ! We a ...

Dined 5 days ago

The black spaghetti is so amazing ! We also enjoyed the Brugatta, octopus and fegato. The octopus was a little salty for my liking but everything else was scrumptious.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The M. Street Group just gets it, especi ...

vip
Dined on May 13, 2016

The M. Street Group just gets it, especially at Moto.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, scenic view, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Fabulous!!

Dined on May 12, 2016

Everything that hit out table at Moto was FANTASTIC! We had the artichoke appetizer, buratta salad, garanelli pasta, and the brussel sprout side dish! All of it was great and the atmosphere feels very special and wonderful! Definitely try the pasta!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best Apprtizers Around!

vip
Dined on May 9, 2016

Start with the meatballs! Not your mama--but Pork , Wagu beef and Boar! Then the Veal Chop--melts in your mouth....don't share it!

Tags: fit for foodies, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great experience

Dined on May 8, 2016

You don't go wrong with any M Street's restaurants. Great experience.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, hot spot, notable wine list
food2
ambience4
service5
value2

Inconsistent and Dissappointing

vip
Dined on May 8, 2016

My first 2 visits were amazing. From the wine our server suggested, to the dessert. Unfortunately, my last 2 visits were disappointing. The bread was stale, the salad was mediocre for the price. My entrée lacked flavor. Who's in the kitchen and whatever happened to quality control??

Tags: vibrant bar scene
food2
ambience4
service4

We were disappointed with our meals. Whi ...

Dined on May 8, 2016

We were disappointed with our meals. While the pizza we had as an appetizer was delicious, our main courses were not good. The blueberry lasagne was dry and over cooked. We didn't care for the flavor but realize that is an individual preference and people have raved about it. The chicken piccata was essentially an over done fried chicken breast with a piccata sauce. All of the sauces, including the one on the pasta and sausage entree, had a very sweet element that really did not compliment the dish. To be fair, we had an 8:45 reservation, so perhaps our food was over done/dry because the kitchen was wrapping up. The service was very good and the server offered a complimentary dessert and apologies when we told him we didn't love the entrees. I know a lot of people who love Moto so maybe I would try it again, but I'll stick with the pizza if I do. Nice ambiance and decor.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

great food great service

Dined on May 8, 2016

Moto was excellent - great food, great service. delicious cocktails, loved the ambiance. Great for a special occasion, not every day.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Second visit just as good as the first

Dined on May 7, 2016

Everything was yummy, love the meatballs. Service was impeccable and friendly, very good value for all we ordered.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service4

Great service and excellent food and win ...

vip
Dined on May 7, 2016

Great service and excellent food and wine selections !

food5
ambience5
service5

The service and food was great!

Dined on May 6, 2016

The service and food was great!

food5
ambience5
service5

Just amazing!!!! Nothing else need be s ...

vip
Dined on May 6, 2016

Just amazing!!!! Nothing else need be said.

food4
ambience5
service5

Really enjoyed the Olive Oil Flight with ...

vip
Dined on May 6, 2016

Really enjoyed the Olive Oil Flight with Focaccia! Scallops are divine! Adam was very attentive but not overly so! Would definitely go back!

food2
ambience3
service2
value1

Disappointing. Very.

Dined on May 4, 2016

Despite the number of people "attending" our table (at least three), the food arrived randomly, out of order, and one entree came about 15 minutes after the others. Oh, and we received someone else's entree, as well. (Which makes me wonder - was our late entree served to someone else? Hmmm ...) Needless to say, the food was auctioned as it arrived at the table - the runner asking "So who got the ..?" Really? My observation: this staff has absolutely no clue how to properly service a table. Or, they didn't give a flip about serving *our* table. (Except for the lovely woman from Italy who's sole job was to fill our water glasses. She was AWESOME. Moto needs to have her train the others to be more genuinely attentive.) The food was okay. I did enjoy the three (small) bites of lobster present in the Black Spaghetti. Note to Moto: charge more and put some lobster in the dish. Please. Overall, very disappointing.

food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Moto was great!

Dined on May 1, 2016

Took some business partners to dinner at Moto and we all loved the food, the service (thanks Ed you were terrific!). Ambience is nice - and I would definitely go back.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Third time to eat here. Favorite restaur ...

Dined on April 30, 2016

Third time to eat here. Favorite restaurant in Nashville. Wait staff is the best!!

food4
ambience4
service4

Place was packed but the service staff w ...

vip
Dined on April 29, 2016

Place was packed but the service staff was really on it food was good and a very fun place

food5
ambience4
service3

The food and atmosphere was great. Our w ...

Dined on April 28, 2016

The food and atmosphere was great. Our waiter was very attentive almost in the verge of obnoxious. Osso Bucco was Devine! The sweet potato dessert was sub par.

food2
ambience4
service4
value2

Steak and Server

Dined on April 26, 2016

Got the tenderloin for $62, forgot what it was called. It was about 80% fat, couldn't even eat it, had to spit most of it out. Told the server, he said he was sorry. Did not offer an apology from the chef, did not offer to replace the bad piece of meat, did not offer to comp, not even a free desert or anything! I'm the President of Richland Country Club, if the would have happened at our club, someone would have been fired. Not sure if customer comes first at Kane Prime.

Tags: special occasion, hot spot
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

Nice Spot

Dined on April 24, 2016

The restaurant was nice in a convenient location. Wine list had a lot of great options and good range. Food was good with great visual presentation, flavor was good but not memorable. Server we had was top notch and exceptionally informative on all dishes and had great knowledge of the wine list. She even knew some cool facts about some of the wines.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Amazing Food and Service!

Dined on April 24, 2016

My family and I were in Nashville for a few days and made a reservation here for dinner. We shared the Burrata, which was fantastic. For dinner I had the Oricchette Carbonara and the flavour was outstanding. All their pasta is made in house too! We had Dave for our server who was outstanding and made our visit at Moto so exceptional. I will definitely come back here when back in Nashville and recommend it to anyone looking for a nice night out!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Moto shines

vip
Dined on April 23, 2016

Moto has a unique take on Italian. My wife and I went on a beautiful Saturday evening and were seated by an open window. We shared appetizers and entrees and everything was very well done. The lemon cream dessert was fab.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Wonderful!

Dined on April 22, 2016

We went to try Moto for our anniversary. It did not disappoint! The food was fabulous and the service was just as good; lots of attention to detail by the wait staff. Our waiter brought us a small portion of brussels sprouts to try after we said we could not stand them...first brussels sprouts I've ever liked! We had the Burrata and a Meatball as an appetizer. Both delicious! We ordered the Black Pepper Tagliatelle and Blueberry Lasagna for entrees. The lasagna was fabulous, really earthy and rich. The tagliatelle was the only thing we ordered all night that was disappointing. It just wasn't all that flavorful. We had the Creamy Polenta for a side and the tomato jam on top sent the dish over the top. Will definitely go back.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion
food3
ambience4
service2
value2

Would not recommend

Dined on April 22, 2016

This is not a well run place. The drinks and food were so slow in coming that the manager kept coming over to apologize to us. This was our third (and last) time at Moto. Our server actually said "We usually get slammed right about this time of night." Really? Too many other restaurants in Nashville get it right to visit Moto again.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great Date Night Spot

Dined on April 21, 2016

My husband and I recently went back to MOTO for the first time in a long while. The food and service were both excellent. We also appreciated the complimentary valet parking - a big help in the Gulch. It was my birthday, and we went all out with our order. The highlight was the grilled octopus appetizer - perfectly cooked and seasoned. We will definitely not wait so long for a return trip!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

So Amazing in Nashville

Dined on April 19, 2016

Waiter was amazing and made the meal even better for us. When he mentioned that the brussel sprouts were the most popular - I gave him a look and said there was no chance that I was ordering those since I don't care for Brussel sprouts. He brought them to our table, (on him by the way) and dared me to try them. I am a believer - they are really good and I would order them again!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Amazing food and a beautiful restaurant.

vip
Dined on April 18, 2016

Amazing food and a beautiful restaurant.

food5
ambience5
service5

The mushroom lasagna was outstanding ! B ...

Dined on April 16, 2016

The mushroom lasagna was outstanding ! Black pasta was killer, and the wine list perfect!

food5
ambience5
service5

The truffle mushroom Pizza is great, the ...

Dined on April 15, 2016

The truffle mushroom Pizza is great, the Brussel sprouts are some of the best I've had, definitely recommend the cobanara

food5
ambience5
service5

Always gracious staff. Chef did not ser ...

vip
Dined on April 14, 2016

Always gracious staff. Chef did not serve our first filet because he wasn't happy with temperature. They cooked it and had it out in no time perfect!

food5
ambience5
service5

One of the best steaks I've had in a lon ...

vip
Dined on April 11, 2016

One of the best steaks I've had in a long time!

food4
ambience5
service5

Very welcoming, fun place with creative ...

Dined on April 9, 2016

Very welcoming, fun place with creative food and EXCELLENT service.

food5
ambience5
service5
value3

We had a great experience at Moto! Our ...

Dined on April 9, 2016

We had a great experience at Moto! Our server was awesome, very knowledgeable and friendly. Ambiance was great too -- we were celebrating a birthday, so it was a great pick

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion
food2
ambience5
service5
value3

Slipping Quality

Dined on April 2, 2016

Service by Sabrina was very good. Cocktails & wine were great. However food quality has suffered. Blueberry lasagna tasted way over-cooked, slightly burned. Other dishes were not up to usual level of quality. Less than mediocre. Too bad.

Tags: vibrant bar scene
food2
ambience2
service3

Moto felt like a hotel restaurant. We h ...

vip
Dined on April 2, 2016

Moto felt like a hotel restaurant. We had risotto and osso bucco. Meat or seafood had no flavor. Stick with pizza.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Love!

Dined on March 29, 2016

Love MOTO & HIGHLY recommend the Blueberry Lasagna. It can get pricey... but worth every penny!!

Tags: fit for foodies
food5
ambience4
service5

Food was fantastic

Dined on March 25, 2016

Food was fantastic

food2
ambience3
service3
value2

Everything we have ordered was too salty ...

Dined on March 17, 2016

Everything we have ordered was too salty. Sauce on my pork belly was so salty it was bitter. One decent dish out of 5. Previos time I have returned lamp chop. Tried again and disappointed.

food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Always Excellent

vip
Dined on March 13, 2016

Moto never disappoints. While the place tends to attract a certain Gulch crowd that can be irritating to some (AKA me, ha), the food and service make the experience well worth it. In addition to the excellent food items, Moto is one of the most understated cocktail bars in Nashville. Can't wait to go back again soon.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food4
ambience4
service5

Service was some of the best I have ever ...

Dined on March 12, 2016

Service was some of the best I have ever had...

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.