About Moto

1120 McGavock Street
Nashville, TN 37203
View Larger Map

Italian for “motion” and the commonly used term for motorcycle or scooter, the word moto has been selected as a moniker for this cultural icon of Italian life. Paying homage to our warehouse location’s former life as a mechanics’ shop on MStreet in the Gulch, Moto Cucina + Enoteca’s design reflects the free spirit and gritty glamour associated with the Italian moto motif.

Moto features inspired rustic-modern Italian cuisine. Moto's menu is a contemporary approach to authentic Italian cooking that utilizes product consciously sourced from local farms and artisans balanced by premium product imported from Italy.

A large bar and lounge area welcomes guests into its ‘enoteca’ inspired environment where wine is king. Moto features over 30 ever-changing wines by the glass and 250 labels in total.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday - Thursday, Sunday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm

Friday & Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm

"Moto Monday" Mondays from 5-9 PM / bites and wine tastings for $25

Monday-Friday 5-6:30 PM / Quartino Carafes (50% more wine) on all wines by the glass

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(615) 736-5305

Website:
http://www.motocucinanashville.com/

Parking Details:
Our Valet services are complimentary.

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Fireplace, Full Bar, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Wine

Restaurant Photos

  • Moto
Moto

Private Dining

Moto Cucina + Enoteca's two private dining spaces combine the sleek sophistication and modern design that Moto has to offer in a completely private setting. From social gatherings to corporate functions, the versatility of these spaces will suit nearly any event.

Moto Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.6

ambience

4.5

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

91% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Italian
Nashville
Italian
Nashville
Best Restaurants in Nashville ›

fit for foodies (85)
special occasion (76)
good for groups (60)
See All
hot spot (54)
romantic (48)
notable wine list (46)
vibrant bar scene (32)
neighborhood gem (31)
late-night find (10)
scenic view (9)
great for outdoor dining (5)
great for lunch (5)
kid-friendly (2)
great for brunch (1)
Sort By:
Newest
462 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Enjoyed every minute of it. Food and ser ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined 5 days ago

Enjoyed every minute of it. Food and service were great. Haven't had a bad experience yet at one of M Street's spots.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great place, high quality food with a un ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined 6 days ago

Great place, high quality food with a unique twist

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Thank you for making our anniversary din ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined 7 days ago

Thank you for making our anniversary dinner special. From the moment we walked in the door , the staff was excellent...Friendly, helpful, pleasant manners. The food was so different and delicious. We look forward to returning!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Outstanding every time! Creative new me ...

vip
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on July 19, 2016

Outstanding every time! Creative new menu entries and great service every time

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The waygu filet is always a favorite at ...

vip
 (NW Florida)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

The waygu filet is always a favorite at Moto! They do steak right. Try it with truffle butter or hotel herb butter. The drinks are great too. Our server was a bit rude at our most recent visit, but typically we haven't experienced that.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3

One of the best italians in Nashville! F ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

One of the best italians in Nashville! Food is always great and service is spot on!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We found the restaurant on-line, hoping ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

We found the restaurant on-line, hoping for a special night in Nashville (avoiding the typical chain, mass-feeding establishments so common, in every sense of the word, across the south. We love Italian food and Moto looked like it had a very interesting menu.

Fortunately, there was a table despite our making our reservation the night before. Unfortunately, it was for 6:30, a bit early for us. That said, we were never rushed or made to feel our table was needed for a later booking, despite two of us in a space for six (admittedly, two of our party had to cancel at the last minute).

The waiter was interesting, informative (offering small tasters of other wines) and attentive. An excellent mixture of friendliness and professional.

The appetisers were very good (chicken livers and a very good salad of baby greens). This was by far the best part of the meal. Focaccia was brought without our ordering, which was nice, as so many up-scale restaurants fail to provide those little courtesies.

My wife ordered another starter for her main course, the octopus, which she thought was delicious, and the creamy polenta, as a side. Sadly, the creamy polenta was essentially grits with cheese, not creamy, and lacking in flavour.

I ordered the black spaghetti, which was overcooked into a dark mush, though the seafood sauce was flavourful.

We were not hungry for dessert so cannot comment on that.

We had a bottle of Pinot Noir, and though our waiter was not aware of chilled reds, he readily brought an ice bucket to our table and we thoroughly enjoyed this light cool red on a very hot night.

We enjoyed our meal at Moto though clearly, my main course, and my wife's side dish could have been better. We were surprised to get over-cooked pasta in an Italian restaurant, especially one bragging on the fact that it was 'housemade.'

Your space is interesting and your service is top-notch. Improvements in the food would not go amiss.

Tags: good for groups, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value3

Great homemade pasta. Good flavor. Loved ...

vip
 (Denver)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Great homemade pasta. Good flavor. Loved trying something different with the blueberry lasagna! The staff is quick to fill your needs

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Everything we ordered was exceptionally ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

Everything we ordered was exceptionally good. The service was perfect, with the waiter taking time to explain everything from the drinks to the food and the wine. While it was busy, he made it feel like we were the most important people in the restaurant that night. But it never felt he was hovering either. Overall just a very nice experience.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was our first time at Moto, and eve ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

This was our first time at Moto, and everyone was so nice! The host was very genuine and apologetic that we had to wait on our table, even though we were early. Matt was our server, and he was very knowledgeable and personable. He made many recommendations for food and wine, but also made sure we didn't feel pressured into anything. We definitely plan to return!

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great version for Italian in Nashville

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

Great version for Italian in Nashville

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

When booking the reservation through Ope ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on July 7, 2016

When booking the reservation through OpenTable, I commented that I was visiting for a 'first-date' and that I'd appreciate a nice quiet corner. Moto met and exceeded my request putting us in a prime corner of the restaurant with a great view of the inside and surrounding outside area, and in as quiet a place as possible. Our server Kevin was exceptional, picking up the vibe and pace and giving us all the time we could want to make our choices, making excellent recommendations for wine, appetizers and main course.

Moto and the staff could not have created a more ideal experience and I'll definitely return.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The Black Spaghetti is our favorite past ...

vip
 (Nashville)
·Dined on July 4, 2016

The Black Spaghetti is our favorite pasta. We order at least one serving every time we go.

Ask for Robert, he's the best!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great place to have dinner with friends. ...

 
 (Montreal)
·Dined on July 4, 2016

Great place to have dinner with friends. Great service and excellent food.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Definitely a lot of signature dishes wit ...

 
·Dined on July 4, 2016

Definitely a lot of signature dishes with a great sense of uniqueness to each and every dish. Very lovely Italian experience

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Moto is Italian and the food here is of ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on July 4, 2016

Moto is Italian and the food here is of high quality. On this visit everyone was very happy with what we had. Our server was prompt and attentive but did make a couple of basic server errors, one of which he recovered from ok. The sides (brussel sprouts, potatoes) are to be particularly recommended.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

The attention to detail, cooperative vib ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on July 4, 2016

The attention to detail, cooperative vibe among all the servers, and amazing food made this a place to return to!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

only disappointment was that the Olives ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

only disappointment was that the Olives fried in duck fat were no longer on the menu. otherwise excellent

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, late-night find, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Scallops had to go back for further cook ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

Scallops had to go back for further cooking (temp of food was not requested prior to serving). The steak had so much salt, it was hard to enjoy the taste.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

Food was amazing. Our waiter, Robert, w ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

Food was amazing. Our waiter, Robert, was awesome. So helpful and excellent service. Great recommendations for drinks apps and main courses. One of the best meals we've had in Nashville and we eat at some great restaurants. Best Brussel sprouts in town. Food was delicious. We will be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Just a great experience with food Servi ...

vip
 (Miami)
·Dined on June 30, 2016

Just a great experience with food

Service and ambience

And do not miss the Brussel sprouts

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Our service was outstanding.

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

Our service was outstanding.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We LOVE Moto's!!! We always request Rob ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

We LOVE Moto's!!! We always request Robert for our Server who does an incredible job at giving us a wonderful variety!

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was great, but the atmosphere w ...

vip
 (Nashville)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

The food was great, but the atmosphere was horrible. The service was decent enough at first, but our six-top got stranded by the waiter when a 20-person bachelorette party came in. We were finished but waited on our check for 20 minutes, then on someone to pick up the check for another 10 minutes and finally to bring back the credit card, 15 more minutes. We would've been out of there literally a half an hour earlier, making room for another table, if our server didn't completely forget about us.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service1
value1

Oh, Moto. I had such great expectations ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

Oh, Moto. I had such great expectations for this restaurant, having been recommended by my parents, Nashville residents and fans of the burgeoning food scene. I was hosting a group of seven and arrival, seating, and ordering our drinks went off without a hitch. We ordered a chef's choice charcuterie plate to start, with two bottles of wine and cocktails. Service was a bit slow (it took an hour for the waiter to take our dinner orders), but the entrées were delicious and we enjoyed the fact that we weren't being rushed through our meal.

We settled our checks and, with wine still in our glasses, we were asked to leave. Apparently, another reservation was coming in. We agreed not to loiter, but we still had drinks in our glasses and weren't about to chug them down. Not two minutes later, we noticed the manager on duty speaking to our server, who then came over and asked us AGAIN to leave the restaurant.

The fact that we were asked twice to leave in a five minute span immediately following the payment of our checks left us with a very bad taste, and is extremely indicative of poor management. Had there been an issue with double booking, it should have been resolved with service speed, not insisting that we leave before our drinks are empty.

I would hate to think what would have happened if we wanted dessert.

Won't be back, and absolutely will not recommend.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value3

I have enjoyed all of my experiences at ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on June 22, 2016

I have enjoyed all of my experiences at Moto. The pasta is so fresh and the pizzas are always a hit. It is easy to share dishes and sample a wide variety of the menu.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Outstanding service and attention to det ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on June 20, 2016

Outstanding service and attention to detail. Our waiter was honest enough to point us in the right direction with respect to which pasta to avoid or select. Most waiters say " everything is great" or point you to the most expensive item on the menu just to increase their tip as a result. Ours did neither and for that, he got 25%.

The food was also outstanding without being pretentious. Next time I might just order several appetizers and be done with it.

Definitely heading back soon for round #2.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, scenic view, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was good just very small portio ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

The food was good just very small portions for the price.

Tags: romantic, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

The restaurant was barely crowded the en ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

The restaurant was barely crowded the entire time we were there and they sat us in the back. Not a desirable table.

Our server was great. Food was not as good as I thought it would be.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

We were highly impressed with our server ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

We were highly impressed with our server Nathan, he was wonderful.

Tags: fit for foodies, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Wall-to-wall bachelorette parties. Servi ...

 
 (Memphis)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

Wall-to-wall bachelorette parties. Service was good. Food was good. A bit overpriced for the experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

We are regulars at Moto. As always the ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 17, 2016

We are regulars at Moto. As always the service was super, but the food this visit was lacking.

Tags: kid-friendly, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5
value3

Service was excellent, attentive but not ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 14, 2016

Service was excellent, attentive but not pushy. Food was also excellent. I especially liked the artichoke hearts, brussels sprouts, carpaccio, and pasta. Steaks were very good and we also had the scallops and they were good.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great service and very helpful. Food was ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on June 13, 2016

Great service and very helpful. Food was great! Loved the Brussels sprouts and calamari.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I loved everything about Moto! The food ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on June 13, 2016

I loved everything about Moto! The food was absolutely amazing and the service was great. Everyone was super friendly, nice, and gave great advice on wine and food options. The restaurant is in a great area of Nashville and had a great ambiance.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Service was 5 stars from beginning to en ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on June 13, 2016

Service was 5 stars from beginning to end. Fantastic recommendations to compliment our entree choices.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Having never been here before we were re ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

Having never been here before we were really excited for the experience. Our very first impression at the front desk was outstanding, and we really liked the modern decor and ambiance. The menu had a nice mix of traditional and specialized dishes and all three of us enjoyed our food. I really enjoyed the blueberry lasagna. Mariah was our waitress and she was very knowledgeable about he menu and had a dint astir personality. We would highly recommend.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

One of our favorite Nashville spots!

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on June 9, 2016

Food is amazing, service is incredible, one of our favorite spots in Nashville now!

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fantastic

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 4, 2016

We were visiting Nashville for the weekend and this place was recommended by several people. The food was delicious, the service impeccable, the wine list great, and even though we were there at a later time, we were not rushed.

Recommend it highly!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing Pastas

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on June 1, 2016

Our party of four had four appetizer (including the blueberry lasagna), four entrees, one dessert, four cocktails and two bottles of wine. Each was superbly prepared, and the portions weren't outrageously huge. It was a bit pricey, but the food was well worth it.

Tags: fit for foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.