About Moto

1120 McGavock Street
Nashville, TN 37203
View Larger Map

Italian for “motion” and the commonly used term for motorcycle or scooter, the word moto has been selected as a moniker for this cultural icon of Italian life. Paying homage to our warehouse location’s former life as a mechanics’ shop on MStreet in the Gulch, Moto Cucina + Enoteca’s design reflects the free spirit and gritty glamour associated with the Italian moto motif.

Moto features inspired rustic-modern Italian cuisine. Moto's menu is a contemporary approach to authentic Italian cooking that utilizes product consciously sourced from local farms and artisans balanced by premium product imported from Italy.

A large bar and lounge area welcomes guests into its ‘enoteca’ inspired environment where wine is king. Moto features over 30 ever-changing wines by the glass and 250 labels in total.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday - Thursday, Sunday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm

Friday & Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm

"Moto Monday" Mondays from 5-9 PM / bites and wine tastings for $25

Monday-Friday 5-6:30 PM / Quartino Carafes (50% more wine) on all wines by the glass

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(615) 736-5305

Website:
http://www.motocucinanashville.com/

Parking Details:
Our Valet services are complimentary.

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Fireplace, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Wine

Restaurant Photos

  • Moto
Moto

Private Dining

Moto Cucina + Enoteca's two private dining spaces combine the sleek sophistication and modern design that Moto has to offer in a completely private setting. From social gatherings to corporate functions, the versatility of these spaces will suit nearly any event.

Moto Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.5

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Italian
Nashville
Italian
Nashville
Best Restaurants in Nashville ›

Fit for Foodies (83)
Special Occasion (76)
Good for Groups (62)
See All
Hot Spot (56)
Romantic (50)
Notable Wine List (50)
Vibrant Bar Scene (34)
Neighborhood Gem (27)
Scenic View (11)
Late-night Find (10)
Great for Outdoor Dining (6)
Great for Lunch (6)
Kid-friendly (2)
Great for Brunch (1)
Sort By:
Newest
476 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

ANOTHER GREAT MEAL! We come To Moto eve ...

vip
 (Dallas)
·Dined 5 days ago

ANOTHER GREAT MEAL! We come

To Moto every time we visit our daughter in

College. Luckily found it at orientation, and it is part of our routine. Love everything about Moto!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We had a great birthday date here. The s ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 15, 2016

We had a great birthday date here. The service was awesome and the food was even better.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We wanted a new spot to celebrate both m ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

We wanted a new spot to celebrate both my mom and my husband's birthday last weekend and we decided that since we had never been to Moto, despite trying everything else in the Gulch, that it was time to go! Our waiter was great and had wonderful suggestions. The food was phenomenal but a little on the small side. If you're debating appetizers get them- you'll be glad in the end when you don't leave slightly hungry still. The flavors in everything were great and service was fast and attentive. Definitely work a visit back - if anything for more brussels sprouts!

Tags: Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

We had a great experience with Moto for ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

We had a great experience with Moto for my wife's birthday. The staff was amazing. The food was to die for. We had the Peach and Prosciutto Pizza as an app. We also enjoyed the Black Spaghetti and the Short Rib as entrees.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Awesome experience. Wasn't crazy about t ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on August 10, 2016

Awesome experience. Wasn't crazy about the table they gave us. Let them know and they put my wife and I at great table. Staff was great. Food was incredible!

Tags: Late-night Find, Vibrant Bar Scene, Romantic, Special Occasion, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Great atmosphere, unique food, and wonde ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on August 8, 2016

Great atmosphere, unique food, and wonderful service created a night to remember !

Tags: Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Food and service were amazing. It's my n ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

Food and service were amazing. It's my new favorite restaurant!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great ambiance. Love atmosphere. Wonde ...

vip
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

Great ambiance. Love atmosphere. Wonderful service, good wine list, amazing cheese plate, amazing pizza. Our favorite spot in Nashville!

Tags: Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I've been wanting to try Moto for awhile ...

vip
 (Nashville)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

I've been wanting to try Moto for awhile now so I finally made reservations for me, my Mom and my boyfriend. We got seated in a fantastic little booth by the window and stared off with wine and the pork meatball appetizer (yum!). The food was amazing and the waitress and staff were so sweet, helpful and gave us incredible service. Def a place to try so make a reservation now and go!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Food good! Service disappointing!

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

Food good! Service disappointing!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2

Outstanding experience from start to fin ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on August 4, 2016

Outstanding experience from start to finish. The food was amazing and the service was exceptional. From recommendations, suggestions to follow-up, the experience exceeded our very high expectations. I highly recommend Moto and will have my next business meal there.

Special thanks to our server trainer Robert and our server Erica.

Tags: Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

After getting off to a rocky start , the ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 3, 2016

After getting off to a rocky start , they really stepped up their game. Our order was lost somehow and after 45 minutes they finally realized it. Once the food came it was very good.

Tags: Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Without a doubt this was the most pleasu ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

Without a doubt this was the most pleasurable dining experience we have had in Nashville in our 10 years of residence. The occasion was our wedding anniversary. We received hearty good wishes from 8 staff members thought the evening in the most wonderful fashion. The generosity of the staff was memorable and so kind. It was truly a fantasy evening for us. Thank you to manager Rebecca Janson and our personal wait staff person, Christina. Besides delicious food, we received excellent service, professionalism and graciousness . The entire staff made it an evening we will never forget.

Tags: Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fantastic service. Our waitress, Sabrina ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on July 27, 2016

Fantastic service. Our waitress, Sabrina, made good recommendations, and truly helped to make the experience memorable.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Enjoyed every minute of it. Food and ser ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

Enjoyed every minute of it. Food and service were great. Haven't had a bad experience yet at one of M Street's spots.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great place, high quality food with a un ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

Great place, high quality food with a unique twist

Tags: Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Thank you for making our anniversary din ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

Thank you for making our anniversary dinner special. From the moment we walked in the door , the staff was excellent...Friendly, helpful, pleasant manners. The food was so different and delicious. We look forward to returning!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Outstanding every time! Creative new me ...

vip
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on July 19, 2016

Outstanding every time! Creative new menu entries and great service every time

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The waygu filet is always a favorite at ...

vip
·Dined on July 16, 2016

The waygu filet is always a favorite at Moto! They do steak right. Try it with truffle butter or hotel herb butter. The drinks are great too. Our server was a bit rude at our most recent visit, but typically we haven't experienced that.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3

One of the best italians in Nashville! F ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

One of the best italians in Nashville! Food is always great and service is spot on!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We found the restaurant on-line, hoping ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

We found the restaurant on-line, hoping for a special night in Nashville (avoiding the typical chain, mass-feeding establishments so common, in every sense of the word, across the south. We love Italian food and Moto looked like it had a very interesting menu.

Fortunately, there was a table despite our making our reservation the night before. Unfortunately, it was for 6:30, a bit early for us. That said, we were never rushed or made to feel our table was needed for a later booking, despite two of us in a space for six (admittedly, two of our party had to cancel at the last minute).

The waiter was interesting, informative (offering small tasters of other wines) and attentive. An excellent mixture of friendliness and professional.

The appetisers were very good (chicken livers and a very good salad of baby greens). This was by far the best part of the meal. Focaccia was brought without our ordering, which was nice, as so many up-scale restaurants fail to provide those little courtesies.

My wife ordered another starter for her main course, the octopus, which she thought was delicious, and the creamy polenta, as a side. Sadly, the creamy polenta was essentially grits with cheese, not creamy, and lacking in flavour.

I ordered the black spaghetti, which was overcooked into a dark mush, though the seafood sauce was flavourful.

We were not hungry for dessert so cannot comment on that.

We had a bottle of Pinot Noir, and though our waiter was not aware of chilled reds, he readily brought an ice bucket to our table and we thoroughly enjoyed this light cool red on a very hot night.

We enjoyed our meal at Moto though clearly, my main course, and my wife's side dish could have been better. We were surprised to get over-cooked pasta in an Italian restaurant, especially one bragging on the fact that it was 'housemade.'

Your space is interesting and your service is top-notch. Improvements in the food would not go amiss.

Tags: Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value3

Great homemade pasta. Good flavor. Loved ...

vip
 (Denver)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Great homemade pasta. Good flavor. Loved trying something different with the blueberry lasagna! The staff is quick to fill your needs

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Everything we ordered was exceptionally ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

Everything we ordered was exceptionally good. The service was perfect, with the waiter taking time to explain everything from the drinks to the food and the wine. While it was busy, he made it feel like we were the most important people in the restaurant that night. But it never felt he was hovering either. Overall just a very nice experience.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was our first time at Moto, and eve ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

This was our first time at Moto, and everyone was so nice! The host was very genuine and apologetic that we had to wait on our table, even though we were early. Matt was our server, and he was very knowledgeable and personable. He made many recommendations for food and wine, but also made sure we didn't feel pressured into anything. We definitely plan to return!

Tags: Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great version for Italian in Nashville

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

Great version for Italian in Nashville

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

When booking the reservation through Ope ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on July 7, 2016

When booking the reservation through OpenTable, I commented that I was visiting for a 'first-date' and that I'd appreciate a nice quiet corner. Moto met and exceeded my request putting us in a prime corner of the restaurant with a great view of the inside and surrounding outside area, and in as quiet a place as possible. Our server Kevin was exceptional, picking up the vibe and pace and giving us all the time we could want to make our choices, making excellent recommendations for wine, appetizers and main course.

Moto and the staff could not have created a more ideal experience and I'll definitely return.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The Black Spaghetti is our favorite past ...

vip
 (Nashville)
·Dined on July 4, 2016

The Black Spaghetti is our favorite pasta. We order at least one serving every time we go.

Ask for Robert, he's the best!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great place to have dinner with friends. ...

 
 (Montreal)
·Dined on July 4, 2016

Great place to have dinner with friends. Great service and excellent food.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Definitely a lot of signature dishes wit ...

 
·Dined on July 4, 2016

Definitely a lot of signature dishes with a great sense of uniqueness to each and every dish. Very lovely Italian experience

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Moto is Italian and the food here is of ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on July 4, 2016

Moto is Italian and the food here is of high quality. On this visit everyone was very happy with what we had. Our server was prompt and attentive but did make a couple of basic server errors, one of which he recovered from ok. The sides (brussel sprouts, potatoes) are to be particularly recommended.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

The attention to detail, cooperative vib ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on July 4, 2016

The attention to detail, cooperative vibe among all the servers, and amazing food made this a place to return to!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

only disappointment was that the Olives ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

only disappointment was that the Olives fried in duck fat were no longer on the menu. otherwise excellent

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Scallops had to go back for further cook ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

Scallops had to go back for further cooking (temp of food was not requested prior to serving). The steak had so much salt, it was hard to enjoy the taste.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

Food was amazing. Our waiter, Robert, w ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

Food was amazing. Our waiter, Robert, was awesome. So helpful and excellent service. Great recommendations for drinks apps and main courses. One of the best meals we've had in Nashville and we eat at some great restaurants. Best Brussel sprouts in town. Food was delicious. We will be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Just a great experience with food Servi ...

vip
 (Miami)
·Dined on June 30, 2016

Just a great experience with food

Service and ambience

And do not miss the Brussel sprouts

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Our service was outstanding.

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

Our service was outstanding.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We LOVE Moto's!!! We always request Rob ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

We LOVE Moto's!!! We always request Robert for our Server who does an incredible job at giving us a wonderful variety!

Tags: Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was great, but the atmosphere w ...

vip
 (Nashville)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

The food was great, but the atmosphere was horrible. The service was decent enough at first, but our six-top got stranded by the waiter when a 20-person bachelorette party came in. We were finished but waited on our check for 20 minutes, then on someone to pick up the check for another 10 minutes and finally to bring back the credit card, 15 more minutes. We would've been out of there literally a half an hour earlier, making room for another table, if our server didn't completely forget about us.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service1
value1

Oh, Moto. I had such great expectations ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

Oh, Moto. I had such great expectations for this restaurant, having been recommended by my parents, Nashville residents and fans of the burgeoning food scene. I was hosting a group of seven and arrival, seating, and ordering our drinks went off without a hitch. We ordered a chef's choice charcuterie plate to start, with two bottles of wine and cocktails. Service was a bit slow (it took an hour for the waiter to take our dinner orders), but the entrées were delicious and we enjoyed the fact that we weren't being rushed through our meal.

We settled our checks and, with wine still in our glasses, we were asked to leave. Apparently, another reservation was coming in. We agreed not to loiter, but we still had drinks in our glasses and weren't about to chug them down. Not two minutes later, we noticed the manager on duty speaking to our server, who then came over and asked us AGAIN to leave the restaurant.

The fact that we were asked twice to leave in a five minute span immediately following the payment of our checks left us with a very bad taste, and is extremely indicative of poor management. Had there been an issue with double booking, it should have been resolved with service speed, not insisting that we leave before our drinks are empty.

I would hate to think what would have happened if we wanted dessert.

Won't be back, and absolutely will not recommend.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value3

I have enjoyed all of my experiences at ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on June 22, 2016

I have enjoyed all of my experiences at Moto. The pasta is so fresh and the pizzas are always a hit. It is easy to share dishes and sample a wide variety of the menu.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.