About Moto

1120 McGavock Street
Nashville, TN 37203
View Larger Map

Italian for “motion” and the commonly used term for motorcycle or scooter, the word moto has been selected as a moniker for this cultural icon of Italian life. Paying homage to our warehouse location’s former life as a mechanics’ shop on MStreet in the Gulch, Moto Cucina + Enoteca’s design reflects the free spirit and gritty glamour associated with the Italian moto motif.

Moto features inspired rustic-modern Italian cuisine. Moto's menu is a contemporary approach to authentic Italian cooking that utilizes product consciously sourced from local farms and artisans balanced by premium product imported from Italy.

A large bar and lounge area welcomes guests into its ‘enoteca’ inspired environment where wine is king. Moto features over 30 ever-changing wines by the glass and 250 labels in total.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday - Thursday, Sunday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm

Friday & Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm

"Moto Monday" Mondays from 5-9 PM / bites and wine tastings for $25

Monday-Friday 5-6:30 PM / Quartino Carafes (50% more wine) on all wines by the glass

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(615) 736-5305

Website:
http://www.motocucinanashville.com/

Parking Details:
Our Valet services are complimentary.

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Fireplace, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Wine

Restaurant Photos

  • Moto, Nashville, TN
Moto, Nashville, TN

Private Dining

Moto Cucina + Enoteca's two private dining spaces combine the sleek sophistication and modern design that Moto has to offer in a completely private setting. From social gatherings to corporate functions, the versatility of these spaces will suit nearly any event.

Moto Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.6

ambience

4.5

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

90% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Italian
Nashville
Italian
Nashville
Best Restaurants in Nashville ›

Special Occasion (38)
Good for a Date (34)
Good for Groups (27)
See All
Romantic (27)
Hot Spot (25)
Fit for Foodies (24)
Good for Anniversaries (24)
Business Meals (20)
Notable Wine List (20)
Modern Decor (18)
Bar Seating (18)
Vibrant Bar Scene (18)
Creative Cuisine (18)
Handcrafted Cocktails (14)
Neighborhood Gem (14)
Fun (12)
Good for Birthdays (12)
People Watching (11)
Authentic (10)
Happy Hour (10)
Quiet Conversation (9)
Cozy (9)
Good Vegetarian Options (8)
Worth the Drive (8)
Late-night Find (8)
Wood Oven (6)
Local Ingredients (6)
Seasonal (6)
Casual (6)
Private Room (5)
Tasting Menu (5)
Pre/post Theatre (5)
Comfort Food (5)
Tapas (4)
Sunday Lunch (4)
Quick Bite (3)
Family Style (3)
Paleo Friendly (3)
Organic (3)
Great for Lunch (2)
Open Kitchen (2)
Outstanding Value (2)
Scenic View (2)
Great Beer (2)
Healthy (2)
Spicy (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Vegan (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Sort By:
S
553 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

We went for Moto Monday and loved every ...

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on November 28, 2016

We went for Moto Monday and loved every bite! The wine pairing were absolutely perfect. We sat at the bar and received outstanding service and our cocktails were delicious. I'll definitely be back.

Tags: Bar Seating, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Everything about the experience at Moto' ...

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on November 28, 2016

Everything about the experience at Moto's was enjoyable. Our waiter and the service in general were superb -- available when needed but not hovering and extremely helpful in advising us when we asked. The kitchen was very flexible, accommodating two of our party who had special dietary needs. The food was excellent, especially the swordfish (one of the recommendations). We were there on an unusually quiet night and had no trouble with noise. We could tell though that when full, the restaurant might be a bit noisy for quiet conversation.

Tags: Business Meals, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Food was delicious. My husband had the b ...

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on November 27, 2016

Food was delicious. My husband had the black pasta and I had the prawn and rissotto. It was very flavorful. The ambiance is very romantic even though the restaurant was busy it was still intimate seating. The bar manager came over to us personally and offered a wine tasting which resulted in me having the best moscato I've tried thus far. My husbands only complaint was not receiving a small salad with his pasta dish. Highly recommended. We are an unusually low maintenance table so I can't attest to the service so much. But we did have three separate servers come over and promptly received drink refills. Will definitely go back is we ever go to Nashville again.

Tags: Authentic, Modern Decor, Fun, Cozy, Hot Spot, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Seasonal, Bar Seating, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Vibrant Bar Scene, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Excellent meal at Moto! We stopped in af ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 26, 2016

Excellent meal at Moto! We stopped in after the Preds game, and enjoyed a selection of salumi and cheeses. The mussels were excellent as well. I tried taglitelli with bolognese. The pasta was fresh and delicious. Service was courteous and competent. We'll be back!

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Neighborhood Gem, Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We had heard great things about Moto and ...

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on November 23, 2016

We had heard great things about Moto and it was all true! We had the meatballs and artichoke for appetizers and they were delicious! All five of us were very pleased with what we ordered for our entrees. Our waiter was very personal and attentive. Great experience and we highly recommend Moto.

Tags: Authentic, Tasting Menu, Creative Cuisine, Seasonal, Good for Birthdays, Tapas, Fun, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Service has fallen off significantly. H ...

vip
 (Nashville)·Dined on November 20, 2016

Service has fallen off significantly. Have low expectations relative to service at this price point. Food quality is also down under new chef.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service1
value2

Great food, pleasant atmosphere, and AMA ...

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on November 20, 2016

Great food, pleasant atmosphere, and AMAZING service. Especially our waiter, Seth. He was so knowledgeable and delightful to talk to ;-)

The dessert was my favorite -- a blondie topped with pistachio ice cream YUMMMM. Can't wait to go back.

Tags: Wood Oven, Tapas, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Private Room, Late-night Find, Paleo Friendly, People Watching, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Overall, food was really good. Felt tha ...

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on November 19, 2016

Overall, food was really good. Felt that they were a little heavy handed with the salt. Loved the artichokes, gnocchi, blueberry lasagna, carpaccio, and octopus. Not as impressed by the chicken picattta and swordfish. Sides were pricey but good.

Tags: Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Food was excellent. Everything we ate, ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on November 18, 2016

Food was excellent. Everything we ate, we really enjoyed. The brussel sprouts and the blueberry lasagna were exceptional.

Tags: Modern Decor, Cozy, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Feels like Moto has lost it's mojo. Food ...

vip
 (Nashville)·Dined on November 18, 2016

Feels like Moto has lost it's mojo.

Food was good but average. It has been a while since our last meal, and this was by far the least impressive visit.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

We had 3 small children with us and were ...

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on November 12, 2016

We had 3 small children with us and were wisely seated in a back room. This was great because we did not feel as if we were bothering other diners. The service was cheerful, accommodating and excellent in every way. And the food was outstanding.

Tags: People Watching, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Staff was great throughout the evening. ...

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Staff was great throughout the evening. I ordered flowers through the recommended site on Open Table, and they were on the table waiting when we got there. We did get there a tad early and were seated immediately - reservations were at 5:30 on a Saturday. Filet was incredible as were the brussels sprouts and gnocchi. Would love to come back to Moto. It was my first visit.

Tags: Cozy, Business Meals, People Watching, Hot Spot, Good for Groups, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Delicious food ,great wait staff and a g ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Delicious food ,great wait staff and a great way to start our weekend in Nashville

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Local Ingredients, Hot Spot, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Fun, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Italian with Nashville flair. Amazing f ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 11, 2016

Italian with Nashville flair. Amazing flavors from fruits and veggies. Very friendly and informed wait staff.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Overall good experience but my spaghetti ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on November 11, 2016

Overall good experience but my spaghetti was a little undercooked and a bit chewy. I would go back though.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

Love the bar, love the atmosphere, love ...

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on November 10, 2016

Love the bar, love the atmosphere, love the food. Perfect place for a romantic date night. Moto Mondays are usually my night as I enjoy the chefs tasting menu!

Tags: Romantic, People Watching, Wood Oven, Bar Seating, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service4
value2

Our favorite restaurant in Nashville. We ...

vip
 (Nashville)·Dined on November 10, 2016

Our favorite restaurant in Nashville. Went twice for wife's birthday. The food is consistently great, as well as service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent food, great personalized servi ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Excellent food, great personalized service. Lovely private booths so our group could talk but still enjoy the buzz-y atmosphere!

Tags: Business Meals, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Beautiful evening. We had an early reser ...

vip
 (Nashville)·Dined on November 5, 2016

Beautiful evening. We had an early reservation, so it wasn't crowded. I had the filet with a Caesar salad and brocollini. My date had the short ribs with beans. The only issue we had was the font used on the menu was very light and the lights were low, which made it difficult to read. Other than that, it was an excellent evening.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Love Moto. Staff is awesome. Food is exc ...

vip
 (Nashville)·Dined on November 5, 2016

Love Moto. Staff is awesome. Food is excellent. Favorite restaurant in town!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

This was my first visit to Moto but it w ...

vip
 (Nashville)·Dined on November 2, 2016

This was my first visit to Moto but it will not be my last. The food was extraordinary, the service was spectacular and the atmosphere was beautiful. My only complaint was that it was really loud and it was hard to hear the server and my dinner partner. We started with oysters, they were delicious, I really liked the giardineira migionette for dinner I ordered the Bucatini. It was fantastic. My friend ordered the Black Spaghetti, it was spicy but good. For dessert we ordered the Meyer Lemon Budino and the Tiramisu. The Budino was special, really good.

Tags: Authentic, Fun, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The menu changed significantly since the ...

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on November 2, 2016

The menu changed significantly since the last time I was there, and not for the better (unfortunately). Several people in the dinner party were unhappy with their orders but due to limited time, we did not ask to fix the orders. Two examples: the pizza crust was burned on one of the orders, and the shrimp for the rissoto was over done as well. This place was excellent the last time, but apparently the new chef has changed things and the quality has gone way down.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

Service was great! Food was incredible!! ...

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on October 30, 2016

Service was great! Food was incredible!! My go to restaurant in Nashville!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Very pricey, but good. Would be nice to ...

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on October 29, 2016

Very pricey, but good. Would be nice to include sides.

Tags: Romantic, Fun, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Modern Decor, Gluten Free Options, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

The service was great. Very attentive st ...

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on October 28, 2016

The service was great. Very attentive staff. It was just a little too fancy for my tastes. Portion sizes were good and the food was nice. But it was definitely upscale and I was unfamiliar with most things on the menu. It would be a great place to impress someone.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value2

My pepper pasta (cacio e pepe) was gummy ...

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on October 27, 2016

My pepper pasta (cacio e pepe) was gummy and fairly devoid of black pepper. Not nearly the classic Italian dish it was supposed to be. Salads were rather ho-hum. My wife's pasta bolognese was good.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

I knew they were serious about holding a ...

vip
 (Nashville)·Dined on October 22, 2016

I knew they were serious about holding a reservation as I had gotten two emails and a phone call to confirm. So when the host could not find our reservation we were left very confused. Once it was found, I thought we were being lead to the kitchen as we went behind the bar to a small room with a giant TV. Now, this is a beautiful place, so to be seated in a box behind the bar, next to the very loud kitchen, was more than a disappointment. It also seemed to surprise our waiter as he walked by twice with a very confused look on his face before we were greeted. We asked twice for the blaring music to be turned down. As we were sitting in a small box with three other tables, there was no need to have to yell across the table at each other. The first time, the request was ignored by the host. The second time, it was turned down.

Now for the food and wine. The Coppola Merlot was perfect. The meat, cheese, and pickled vegetables on the Antipasto plate were delicious, while the crackers left much to be desired. Some were so hard I feared breaking a tooth. This was a change from our first visit when the crackers were made in house from pizza dough. I'm not sure where the hard tack came from.

The ribeye, at $40, was poorly cooked, leaving the edges medium while the center and portion next to the bone were blue. It was also salted beyond belief. We were not sure if the kitchen was trying to season it or cure it. The highlights were the truffle butter topping on the steak, the meatballs and housemate spaghetti, the warm focaccia bread, and the squid ink spaghetti with marinara sauce.

When you go to a place, especially for a special occasion, knowing you're going to drop at least $100 for two for dinner, you expect the best. It is a beautiful establishment. They should not tarnish themselves by seating people in a poorly lit, loud, box behind the bar next to the kitchen. I would also recommend a meat thermometer. Overall, a disappointment. Not sure we will return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service3
value1

Our first visit to Moto- and it looks li ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on October 22, 2016

Our first visit to Moto- and it looks like Another winner in the MStreet group. Great service, food was very good--- noise level was a bit loud for husband and me but our 26 and 31 yr kids loved it. We enjoyed an early dinner, ubered to a hockey game, and stopped back for drinks afterwards.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

We ordered three entrees and a side of b ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 21, 2016

We ordered three entrees and a side of brussel sprouts. Everything we ordered was delicious, but what I'm still thinking about is the brussel sprouts!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Great Cocktails, Great Atmosphere, Great ...

vip
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on October 19, 2016

Great Cocktails, Great Atmosphere, Great Food. The meatballs were outstanding and my sister loved the chicken picatta! Yummy

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

A nice spot, but the food was a little d ...

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on October 19, 2016

A nice spot, but the food was a little disappointing, good enough but not great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

We really enjoyed Moto! The food was ver ...

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on October 16, 2016

We really enjoyed Moto! The food was very good, and management brought us a free dessert for our anniversary. The wait staff seemed a bit rushed, but they were at least friendly. I thought the portion size was small for the price but everything tasted amazing. Sort of a generic restaurant, but ultimately worth the visit.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Family Style, Worth the Drive, People Watching, Hot Spot, Sunday Lunch, Happy Hour, Good Vegetarian Options, Bar Seating, Great Beer, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value4

Very tiny portions. My husband said he w ...

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on October 14, 2016

Very tiny portions. My husband said he would not return due to paying a lot for a very small amount of food. Our pasta was the size of a kids meal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value2

They experiment with Italian in the best ...

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on October 13, 2016

They experiment with Italian in the best way. They know how. And the service exceeds high expectations. They work to earn a tip that I gladly give. Not a bit of entitlement. This was our second time here and we can't wait to go back. Our server Seth will make sure your experience is the most pleasant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Our server Nathan was outstanding and Ma ...

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on October 13, 2016

Our server Nathan was outstanding and Matt, the manager, was very welcoming and spent time talking with us. We

would certainly go back and recommend to others visiting Nashville.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The service was amazing. We were constan ...

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on October 12, 2016

The service was amazing. We were constantly taken care of. I would definitely recommend this place to anyone. All around great experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

It was not my first time at Moto. I had ...

 
 (London)·Dined on October 12, 2016

It was not my first time at Moto. I had truly enjoyed it in the past, so I was all the more disappointed by our experience. The food was passable, but the service was awful and dysfunctional.

We were there on an early weeknight. It was reasonably busy, but not packed.

The restaurant tries to be a little pretentious, which is not necessarily a bad thing if they could pull it off. They did not. The food itself was decent, if unremarkable, wine was expensive but very good. At that price, however, I really expected more, especially in terms of service. It might have been an off night, but it didn't appear limited to our table. They hardly seem understaffed (the restaurant is crawling with servers and assistant servers running around), but they were terribly unorganized and inattentive. We actually had two hosts and four servers interact with us, none particularly professional.

The two hosts barely greeted us, and had us wait at the entrance for three long minutes handling receipts from previous customers without telling us anything. Then one host brought a us to a table, found out the previous people had not left, and so he left us in the middle of the restaurant for two long minutes without saying anything. He then sat us at an overly big table, without even an apology.

Our main server came and told us he would come back to explain the menus, but never did. We had been waiting a while and were ready to order from the Assistant Server when he magically reappeared. He took our order, failing to explain that their osso bucco (sic) was made from beef short ribs rather than the usual veal (which is a lot less fatty). Our other interaction was when he literally threw dessert menu on our table, looking away and not saying a word before dashing off. He did come back to ask how everything was, but was gone before hearing an answer. Not just unprofessional, but failing at basic courtesy.

All in all, I won't be recommending Moto anymore, and don't expect to be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1
value1

Our new favorite restaurant. The service ...

vip
 (Nashville)·Dined on October 10, 2016

Our new favorite restaurant. The service was unbeatable- Megan and Sabrina and the entire team kept close eyes on refills, food and flow of our meal. Our server gave a very appreciative overview of the menu since it was our first visit. We were very pleased with our choices. Ended the meal with the best tiramisu that we have ever eaten. We will return and soon!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The food although very unique it was not ...

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on October 10, 2016

The food although very unique it was not as Good tasting as it was to read about on the menu. Also the wait staff needed to be a little more attentive.

Tags: Bar Seating, Casual, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

My husband and I came here from Chicago ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 9, 2016

My husband and I came here from Chicago for the weekend and we were so thrilled with this restaurant. The food was amazing, I had a spicy Italian pasta dish, my husband had the filet. Our waiter was very knowledgeable about the menu and very friendly. the tiramisu was by far the best I have ever had!

Tags: Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Happy Hour, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.