About Moshulu

401 South Columbus Blvd.
Philadelphia, PA 19106
View Larger Map

The Moshulu, the world's oldest and largest four-masted Tall Ship offers unsurpassed views for intimate to extraordinary dining aboard this Philadelphia landmark restaurant. Enjoy inventive and contemporary presentations of classic American Cuisine by Chef Anthony Bonett using the freshest, local ingredients available from the land and pristine seafood and shellfish paired with an extensive wine list hand selected by Sommelier, Dusan Vranic.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, American, Sushi

Hours of Operation:
Sunday Brunch
10:00 AM to 2:30 PM

Dinner
Monday - Thursday 5:00 PM to 10:00 PM
Friday - Saturday 5:00 PM to 11:00 PM
Sunday 5:00 PM to 9:00 PM

Decks and Bars open weather and private party permitting. Monday - Friday 3 PM, Saturday 12 PM and 10 AM Sunday

Cross Street:
Lombard Circle

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Pay with OpenTable, Visa

Phone Number:
(215) 923-2500

Website:
http://www.moshulu.com/

Catering:
.

Parking Details:
Parking is available adjacent to the Moshulu for $15 per vehicle. Additional self-parking is also available across Columbus Blvd. Both lots are owned and operated by Penn's Landing. There is also 4 hour metered parking along Columbus Blvd. for $1 an hour.

Executive Chef:
Anthony Bonett

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
The Moshulu, the World’s oldest and largest four-masted Tall Ship offers unsurpassed views and a unique backdrop for intimate to extraordinary dining and celebrations. Our private dining rooms, outdoor open-aired and tented decks combined with delectable, award-wining American cuisine and impeccable service create the perfect setting for memorable events. Please contact Chris Baldwin, Sales Manager at cbaldwin@moshulu.com

Restaurant Photos

Promotions

Father's Day Special Menus & Reservations

Sunday, June 19, 2016

Promotions

Father's Day Special Menus & Reservations

Sunday, June 19, 2016

Details
Full Buffet

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

The Moshulu, the World’s oldest and largest four-masted Tall Ship offers unsurpassed views and a unique backdrop for intimate to extraordinary dining and celebrations.

Moshulu Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.4

ambience

4.5

noise

Moderate

89% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Romantic
Philadelphia / New Jersey Suburbs
Romantic
Philadelphia
Scenic View
Philadelphia
1 More
Special Occasion
Philadelphia
Best Restaurants in Penn's Landing ›

special occasion (194)
romantic (192)
scenic view (184)
See All
fit for foodies (80)
good for groups (60)
notable wine list (47)
great for brunch (41)
neighborhood gem (38)
great for outdoor dining (34)
great for lunch (32)
hot spot (17)
late-night find (13)
vibrant bar scene (12)
kid-friendly (7)
Sort By:
Newest
3495 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5

The food was spectacular, the atmosphere ...

Dined 7 days ago

The food was spectacular, the atmosphere was great and the service was top notch.

food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Wonderful evening and place to celebrate ...

Dined 7 days ago

Wonderful evening and place to celebrate a birthday!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service5

Waitress was fantastic! Chef sent compli ...

Dined 7 days ago

Waitress was fantastic! Chef sent complimentary dessert to our honored guest. Such a nice touch!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Another Hit

Dined on May 19, 2016

After dining at Moshulu on a number of occasions, we have come to the conclusion that you cannot have bad food or service there. The staff is courteous and attentive. the chef is creative and the combinations that he comes up with are mouth watering. It wasn't our first time at Moshulu and definitely will not be our last.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

I was celebrating my graduation from col ...

Dined on May 15, 2016

I was celebrating my graduation from college with family and friends. Everyone congratulated me and it was a warm, welcoming atmosphere. The chef even whipped up an edible message for me--"Congratulations!" written in chocolate, with raspberry sorbet in the center, and a candle. The food was delish and the waitstaff was knowledgeable. Thank you!

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Good food, entrees are complete enough t ...

Dined on May 14, 2016

Good food, entrees are complete enough that you don't need salad or appetizers. bread served on arrival - so-so. Attentive service. complimentary champagne for special occasion guest was a nice touch. Wish restaurants would be more upfront when they automatically add gratuity.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, scenic view
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

At Moshulu for a graduation dinner. Ambi ...

vip
Dined on May 14, 2016

At Moshulu for a graduation dinner. Ambiance is beautiful. Very classy restoration of an old four-masted tall ship. Views across the Delaware River are also very nice. Our waiter was friendly, knew the menu, and did a very good job. In general, I thought they were a little heavy on the salt across the board. If I return, I would likely ask for them to tone down the salt on my food. Pork Belly Appetizer was delicious. Calamari was cooked properly and was light and crunchy. I also appreciate that they used the tentacles and not just the rings. Artisan Cheese Board was also very good. Pan Seared Scallops and Blue Cheese Crusted Swordfish were very good. Crab Cakes were good, but nothing spectacular, as was the Crab Mac & Cheese side. Dry Aged New York Strip Steak was far closer to medium than the medium-rare ordered. I'd probably request rare+ next time. Fries were drowned in truffle oil and were mushy. White Chocolate Cheesecake, Apple Pie and Butterscotch Budino were all very good. I would return for the ambiance and view, but look for less salt and redder meat.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Moshulu doesn't disappoint. Food is fabu ...

Dined on May 14, 2016

Moshulu doesn't disappoint. Food is fabulous. Service is great. Atmosphere is one of a kind.

Tags: special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5

The food was excellent and the staff was ...

Dined on May 14, 2016

The food was excellent and the staff was awesome. I also enjoyed the atmosphere on a whole. This was me and my wife 1st time and we were celebrating our anniversary. We will be back

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing.

Dined on May 14, 2016

We came here for our one year wedding anniversary. The food & service was amazing!

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

A sweet resturant to take your significa ...

Dined on May 13, 2016

A sweet resturant to take your significant to. You'll spend over $150 but worth every pennies.

Tags: romantic
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

I arrived late because of traffic and th ...

Dined on May 13, 2016

I arrived late because of traffic and they where very accommodating to me. It was our friends first time their and they enjoyed it also.

Tags: fit for foodies
food5
ambience5
service5

The food was food was just amazing. My d ...

Dined on May 10, 2016

The food was food was just amazing. My date and I had an awesome dinner. The beef tartar was well seasoned, and the trout perfectly cooked.

food5
ambience1
service4
value2

Great food, bad ambiance

Dined on May 9, 2016

The room was poorly lit, once the sun goes down it gets too dark in the dining area. The entire floor in the family dining area is slanted to either side, I understand that it's a boat but by the end of my meal my sides were in pain from leaning in my chair in attempt to level myself. The waiter even stated that it was troublesome for the staff. Aside from that, the chairs were old and wobbly, I was waiting for mine to collapse at some point. The food was spectacular though; I had the swordfish which was a first time for me but definantly worth the price. The scenery when we stepped outside onto the deck was great and I'm sure that dining on the deck would have been fanominal. I would not recommend eating inside the family dining room, as for the rest of the restaraunt I cannot say since I did not experience those areas. One more thing that bothered me is that I called ahead to ask about the Dress code and was told casual dressy. I asked for specifics and was told, no jeans, t-shirts, boots, ball caps or such. Yet while dining I witnessed a couple sitting at the bar wearing jeans, a denim jacket, t-shirts, boots and a ball cap which made me upset since I made my family dress up to have them ask why when they saw the couple at the bar.

Tags: scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food here was absolutely terrific. T ...

Dined on May 8, 2016

The food here was absolutely terrific. The presentation was great and the service was fabulous.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Mother's Day brunch was spectacular!! I' ...

vip
Dined on May 8, 2016

Mother's Day brunch was spectacular!! I've been for dinner and it was just a fabulous.

food5
ambience5
service5

Wonderful brunch selection! Enjoyed the ...

Dined on May 8, 2016

Wonderful brunch selection! Enjoyed the upscale dining at a reasonable price. Will definitely return.

food5
ambience5
service5

The buffet was very nice, a lot of varie ...

Dined on May 8, 2016

The buffet was very nice, a lot of variety and nothing ever ran out. I do think the $20 add on for Mothers Day is a bit much. But the food was very good so I have no complaints about the food, service or atmosphere. Would come back in the future.

food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Mother's Day Brunch

Dined on May 8, 2016

Booked a Mother's Day Brunch here remembering the previous times we went there for Mother's Day. As usual, we enjoyed our visit. The unique dining experience at Penn's Landing is always memorable. The ambiance, the service and the food were all amazing. Wish I lived closer to the City so I could go back more often.

Tags: great for brunch, special occasion
food3
ambience3
service2
value3

I've enjoyed Mother's Day brunch here ma ...

Dined on May 8, 2016

I've enjoyed Mother's Day brunch here many times and enjoyed it. This year a little less so. Our waiter was not as friendly as ones I've had in the past and the piano playing was way to loud. But overall the Mother's Day brunch is still a hit with me.

Tags: great for brunch
food5
ambience4
service5

The service was excellent! Food was spot ...

vip
Dined on May 7, 2016

The service was excellent! Food was spot on!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great service and great food!

Dined on May 6, 2016

I wanted to celebrate our 15th wedding anniversary and my husbands 40th birthday in a special way. This was our first time to the Moshulu and we were pleasantly surprised. We were immediately greeted by a friendly hostess who mentioned our special days. Then a friendly waiter who made recommendations and offered a champaign toast. I think we found our new special spot! The food was amazing and the portions were just right. This is a great date night and excellent value.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food4
ambience3
service3
value4

Graduation Dinner

vip
Dined on May 6, 2016

My daughter chose this restaurant for her college graduation dinner. This is a unique restaurant known for its food. The food selections were limited and I was disappointed there were no menu specials. While our waiter was very good when we saw him, we had long wait times for everything we ordered. The most disappointing part of this evening was the dress of the other patrons. This is an upscale restaurant and I saw other diners in jeans, t-shirts and other less than casual attire.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food!

Dined on May 4, 2016

The service was awesome and the food was even better!! Everything was so fresh and the view of the water made the dinner very enjoyable. Definitely recommend!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great restaurant!!!

Dined on May 3, 2016

Thoroughly enjoyed the ambiance and the food. I would go their again the next time I am in Philly.

Tags: scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Responsive to OpenTable Requests

Dined on May 1, 2016

Provided a good birthday recognition dessert when I had put in a note in my Open Table reservation.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Great Experience

Dined on April 30, 2016

The food and service at the Mosholu was excellent. My wife and I went out for our anniversary. They gave us each a complimentary glass of champagne and sorbet after our meal.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great customer service!! Great quality of food!

Dined on April 30, 2016

Our server was helpful and courteous. My date ordered a burger which had to be sent back bcuz she didn't like the sauce served on the bun. Meanwhile, she was offered a tasty dessert (lemon sherbet) while we waited.. Compliments the chef! :-)

Tags: great for brunch, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, hot spot, notable wine list
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Moshulu

Dined on April 30, 2016

Girls day out in town. Had a wonderful experience at the Moshulu. Bartenders were wonderful as well as our wait staff. Food was good. We will be back.

Tags: scenic view
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Great with a disappointing surprise

vip
Dined on April 30, 2016

The dining experience was great as well as the food. The disappointing surprise came when I first pulled in to park and found out it cost $15 to park for eating at the Moshulu.

food3
ambience4
service3

Place was loud food was good but not hot ...

Dined on April 30, 2016

Place was loud food was good but not hot service was ok

food3
ambience5
service5
value3

I would go back even though the Filet I ...

Dined on April 29, 2016

I would go back even though the Filet I ordered was medium and not medium rare. For a steak eater that is a big deal. The waiter was very apologetic and took care of our dessert. The atmosphere is great and the waiter was excellent.

Tags: fit for foodies
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Pleasantly Surprised

Dined on April 27, 2016

I have lived in the Philadelphia area for almost a decade and had never ventured out to this place until last week. I wasn't sure what to expect since the restaurant is on a boat (I tend to get a little sea dizzy), but I loved it. I took my boyfriend and surprised him for his birthday dinner. Everything from watching the sun set out the window to our entrees were incredible. Our waiter even brought us a champagne toast and a happy birthday mango sorbet dessert.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Perfect night out.

Dined on April 27, 2016

We went out to celebrate Mother's Day a little early and couldn't have been happier. Great experience!!!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5

I love this restaurant. While some peopl ...

Dined on April 26, 2016

I love this restaurant. While some people in center city are running to get into the next "hot new" restaurant, my husband and I are so happy to frequent this hidden gem (not so hidden when you look at the size of the boat). The service is amazing. Our waitress, Yulia, was very thorough in explaining the menu. I had a very fresh tasting sushi roll to start and my husband and I had the scallops and a fish entree. Both were excellent. Love the salmon spread and bread that came out first. (Think it was salmon spread ...,so good). The place is beautiful. An old gem!

food4
ambience5
service4
value3

River view

Dined on April 24, 2016

The Moshulu is an old sailing vessel that's been converted to a restaurant along the Delaware River in Philadelphia. My companion and I thought it was a fun setting but that the food was OK, not quite worth the price. We had a table overlooking the river and the setting, generally, is different and fun. You can go up on deck and there's a room people rent out for weddings and other events. The menu is straightforward, nothing too adventurous or edgy. So it's a safe choice, perhaps especially fun for tourists and families with kids. But in a city with lots of dining options, we felt the Moshulu was a bit dated. Our server was attentive, so no complaints there. We are Philadelphians and were interested in trying a place everyone here knows but isn't one of the talked about restaurants.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Good food great view

Dined on April 24, 2016

As always the food is good. The service eah the atmosphere wonderful.

Tags: special occasion, scenic view
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

Could be better for the money.

Dined on April 24, 2016

The menu said fruit and berry bowl and we got only cantaloupe, honedew and 2 grapes. They forgot the bacon with the pancake dish so my hus and never gOT it. My eggs benedict was delicious.

Tags: romantic, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Gets better every time!

Dined on April 23, 2016

We have enjoyed Moshulu many times and it gets better every time. Food and service is always top notch!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Dinner at the Moshulu

Dined on April 23, 2016

We had a great time at the Moshulu. Food and service were excellant both in the dining area and the bar area. Can't wait to go back again.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.