About Moshulu

401 South Columbus Blvd.
Philadelphia, PA 19106
View Larger Map

The Moshulu, the world's oldest and largest four-masted Tall Ship offers unsurpassed views for intimate to extraordinary dining aboard this Philadelphia landmark restaurant. Enjoy inventive and contemporary presentations of classic American Cuisine by Chef Anthony Bonett using the freshest, local ingredients available from the land and pristine seafood and shellfish paired with an extensive wine list.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, American, Sushi

Hours of Operation:
Sunday Brunch
10:00 AM to 2:30 PM

Dinner
Monday - Thursday 5:00 PM to 10:00 PM
Friday - Saturday 5:00 PM to 11:00 PM
Sunday 5:00 PM to 9:00 PM

Decks and Bars open weather and private party permitting. Monday - Friday 3 PM, Saturday 12 PM and 10 AM Sunday

Cross Street:
Lombard Circle

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Pay with OpenTable, Visa

Phone Number:
(215) 923-2500

Website:
http://www.moshulu.com/

Catering:
.

Parking Details:
Parking is available adjacent to the Moshulu for $15 per vehicle. Additional self-parking is also available across Columbus Blvd. Both lots are owned and operated by Penn's Landing. There is also 4 hour metered parking along Columbus Blvd. for $1 an hour.

Executive Chef:
Anthony Bonett

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
The Moshulu, the World’s oldest and largest four-masted Tall Ship offers unsurpassed views and a unique backdrop for intimate to extraordinary dining and celebrations. Our private dining rooms, outdoor open-aired and tented decks combined with delectable, award-wining American cuisine and impeccable service create the perfect setting for memorable events. Please contact Chris Baldwin, Sales Manager at cbaldwin@moshulu.com

Restaurant Photos

Lobster Bisque
Soft Bibb Lettuce Salad
Blue Cheese & Bacon Crusted Swordfish
Wild Atlantic Striped Bass
Ahi Tuna Tartare
Asian Spiced Crispy Calamari
Boneless Berkshire Pork Chop
Crispy Skin Atlantic Salmon
Pinot Grigio
Wild Striped Bass
Prime Steak
Fava Bean Hummus With Paprika Oil
Filet Mignon Medallions with Potato Custard
New York Strip Streak
Super Lump Crab Cake, Lemon Caper Aioli
Seared Moulard Duck Breast, Potato & Foie Gras Risotto Caramelized Pears, Oyster Mushrooms Truffle Foie Gras Butter Sauce
Mixed Crispy Shellfish, Calamari, Shrimp, Scallops, Arugula Lemon, Jalapeno Garlic & Black Aioli
"St. James Lemonade" Jameson Irish Whiskey, St. Germain, Champagne, Lemonade
Miso Glazed Chilean Sea Bass, Steamed Kabocha Squash Dumplings Baby Bok Choy, Radish & Green Onion Salad Ginger Dashi Broth
Roasted Spanish Rock Octopus, Fried Chickpeas, Saffron Potatoes Feta, Roasted Peppers, Corn Pepper Aioli
Cresent Farm Duck Breast
Assorted Pastries
Bellini And Prosecco Drinks
Grass Fed Beef Filet Mignon
Crab Cakes
Shrimp
Dessert
Pork Chops With Pumpkin Puree
Hawaiian Ahi Tuna Tartare
Banana Fosters French Toast
Crèam Brûlèe
Tuna Tartare
Captains Cocktail
Scallops
Surf And Turf
Fall Gingerbread
Moshulu Smore
9 oz Filet Mignon
Jumbo Lump Crab Cocktail
Creme Brulee
Cheese Plate
s'more
Trout
Duck
Banana Creme Brulee
Passion Punch
Sesame Miso Crusted Ruby Red Trout
Ship Wrecked Cocktail
Frozen Lemonade
Mushulu Omlette
Moshulu Coupe
Amish Free-Range Chicken Breast
Grilled Salmon
Moshulu Crispy Vegetable Strudel
Soy-Glazed Mahi Mahi
Blueberry Pancakes
Fried Salt and Pepper Shrimp
Shrimp Ceviche
Jackson Triggs Ice Wine
Hacienda Riesling, California, 2009
Crab And Shrimp Risotto
Smore
Barnegat Light Diver Scallops
Herb Crusted Rainbow Trout Blt
Chilled Seafood Salad
Stuffed Coconut French Toast
Apple Pie Bourbon
Blue Cheese Swordfish

Promotions

Sunset Happy Hour

Mondays - Fridays from 4:00 PM - 6:00 PM

1,000-Point Tables

Promotions

Sunset Happy Hour

Mondays - Fridays from 4:00 PM - 6:00 PM

Details
A great end to your work day. Join us Monday - Friday at the Bar for $7 Rail Drinks including a featured Specialty Cocktail, $6 Select Wine and $4 Select Beer with a $15 specialty stacked sandwich. Relax and enjoy the sunset over the city. Excludes Tax and Tip. Outside Deck is seasonal, open based on weather and private party bookings. Special valid Jun 13, 2016 - Oct 13, 2016 on Mondays - Fridays from 4:00 PM - 6:00 PM.
1,000-Point Tables

See availability for 1000 point tables

Details
Sun - Thu 5:00PM - 5:45PM 8:45PM - 10:00PM

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

The Moshulu, the World’s oldest and largest four-masted Tall Ship offers unsurpassed views and a unique backdrop for intimate to extraordinary dining and celebrations.

Moshulu Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.4

ambience

4.5

noise

Moderate

89% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Romantic
Philadelphia
Scenic View
Philadelphia
Best Restaurants in Penn's Landing ›

scenic view (188)
special occasion (187)
romantic (183)
See All
fit for foodies (82)
good for groups (67)
great for outdoor dining (49)
neighborhood gem (41)
great for brunch (39)
notable wine list (37)
great for lunch (36)
hot spot (26)
late-night find (15)
vibrant bar scene (13)
kid-friendly (7)
Sort By:
Newest
3537 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent service, food, and atmosphere! ...

Dined 3 days ago

Excellent service, food, and atmosphere! I would go back again ad again.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food2
ambience1
service5
value1

I was very disappointed ... I asked for ...

Dined 4 days ago

I was very disappointed ... I asked for a special away from everyone else table as we were celebrating our 35 anniversary. We have ten children and don't have very many quiet moments. They seated a vary large business dinner with very loud and boisterous people to one side of us and a family of 5 in a booth on the other side having to seat the gather in a chair on the aisle ... Food was not cooked like described was so hot it burned my tongue , asked to have it wrapped ... They wrapped it and left out my asparagus and my mushrooms ... Only to discover this after we were home .. The hostess said when I called about it said to come back for them ... We live in Buckingham , so that was out of the question .. I asked to have a manager call me the next day , she said ok. That was Monday ... Still no call. Very very disappointed ... The waiter was very kind and nice .... He really tried very hard ...

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Could not have made a special night more ...

Dined 5 days ago

Could not have made a special night more perfect. Went to celebrate a birthday. Service was quick but not rushed and very accommodating, food was phenomenal in taste and appearance. Would 100% dine here again.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent ! I it's was a great time. Go ...

Dined 6 days ago

Excellent ! I it's was a great time. Good awesome. The waitress was really friendly .Beautiful place with a romantic view. I def will go back for dinner

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, notable wine list
food1
ambience5
service2
value1

I loved the ambiance, being on the wate ...

Dined 6 days ago

I loved the ambiance, being on the water, the lights, very nice. However the food was not up to par for the prices they charge. My husband's meal was a $52.00 steak and he needed to season it, however we were unble to locate a server and there was no salt and pepper on the table. I ordered the burger medium well and it came medium rare. After waiting a good 45 minutes for our food I was to hungry to send it back. Not at all what I expext for a $25.00 burger. Even the deinks were not up to par. We ordered mojitos and they were terribly sweet ($13.00). All in all, I would not go back to this restaurant, nor would I recommend it to others. You can not rely on ambiance alone.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, scenic view
food3
ambience4
service3

Great view! Not enough parking space. Th ...

vip
Dined 6 days ago

Great view! Not enough parking space. There is an old musky smell as you enter. The food presentation and quantity was good. Decent selection of food choices between meat and seafood entrees. Good place for a date night.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Five for graduation dinner, five differe ...

Dined 6 days ago

Five for graduation dinner, five different entres and all were excellent. The wait staff was very attentive. Nice view.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I proposed to my girlfriend moments befo ...

Dined on June 22, 2016

I proposed to my girlfriend moments before arriving to the restaurant and the entire restaurant staff congratulated us. They even gave us our first drinks at the bar for free then champagne and even brought us a desert at the end that said congratulations. They made the night very special and memorable.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5

My wife took me there for Father's Day.. ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

My wife took me there for Father's Day.. And it was very Nice. We have so much Fun.. Food was delicious. Our server was so friendly n respectful. Can't wait to come back...😍😍😍😍😍😍

food1
ambience5
service2

Ambiance was great. Unfortunately dinner ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

Ambiance was great. Unfortunately dinner manu dose not star until 5pm. We had a reservation for 3pm. Only bar manu was available which has a limited options.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our family was celebrating Father's Day ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

Our family was celebrating Father's Day & Moshulu was perfect for the celebration. Their food was excellent and the service was marvelous. My husband is cognitively impaired and one of their staff went over to the buffet line and asked him if he could help him. He held his plate and as my spouse told him what he wanted he put it on his plate and carried it to our table. I was very impressed with that gesture and would like the restaurant to know how much it was appreciated. I am sorry I didn't say something to them at the time but I was very busy & I forgot.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, special occasion
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

I took my father to the Moshulu for Fath ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

I took my father to the Moshulu for Father's Day along with two other family members. We were greeted immediately by the hostess and brought to our seats promptly. The waitress showed up very quickly and brought us our drinks. Her name was Victoria and she did an outstanding job. The food was fabulous. I do not like buffet food at all but the Moshulu's Father's Day buffet is one of the very few that I will go to because the food is far from typical buffet food. We had the lobster bisque soup which was delicious although could've been much hotter in temperature - but delicious nonetheless. The gentlemen were making made-to-order omelettes which were delicious. We had an array of other items between the four of us and everything was delicious. Afterward, we had an assortment of desserts which were also very good. I have been to the Moshulu on Father's Day before and it has always been successful and delicious. The value for the price is well worth it. If I had anything negative to say it would be that I was disappointed not to have a seat looking out to the water because I had made my reservation months in advance.

food5
ambience5
service5

I am really not a hard person to please, ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

I am really not a hard person to please, but everything was delicious season well everything was good I have no complaints.

food5
ambience5
service2
value3

I have a generally positive review of th ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

I have a generally positive review of this restaurant. The beet salad was delicious, the trout was one of the best dishes I've ever had, but the chicken came out very cold (as though it had been sitting out for a while), and the service was slow. There was clearly a management issue- we arrived and had a reservation, and when we asked to be seated outside the hostess walkie-talkie to the outside hostess to ask for the wait... no one answered so she had to send another associate to check herself. Then once we got upstairs, the hostess there was clearly overwhelmed and we waited about 15 mins to get a seat. Once seated, it took a long time for a waiter to arrive, and even longer for our drinks to arrive. Now, we are not high maintenance and we weren't in a rush, so we didn't mind the slow service and lack of attention. The weather was perfect and the experience of being on a beautiful old boat with gorgeous views was enough to make up for the waiting around. On a separate note, the crowd isn't the classiest... it is definitely a bit of a tourist attraction and draws a diverse crowd of ages and people. Again, not a problem for us, but something to note. Overall, I really enjoyed the experience and think the good outweighed the bad. That said, people with less patience for slower service and a rowdy crowd might not like it. I believe the views and the experience are definitely worth trying out, and the food was (for the most part) delicious! Also- our waiter was very nice and friendly, just busy!

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience3
service4

The food here is execellent the service ...

Dined on June 18, 2016

The food here is execellent the service is very good. They need to do a lot more with the Ambiance the indoor searing is dark and dreary, the outside tables near the bar are nice but it's noisy. The tables in the Covered area are few in number. We were seated on a Three Masted schooner with a view of the PARKING LOT!!!!. Couldn't see the water. Did see the garbage can and the area where they store their utensils and napkins. The food was excellent they just need to rearrange the seating!!

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great atmoshere, great food, a little pr ...

Dined on June 17, 2016

Great atmoshere, great food, a little pricey but worth it. Definitely great for couples and special occasions. We are always seeing the moshulu busy with parties and wedding receptions too.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food2
ambience5
service4
value1

I consider myself a foodie, dined all ov ...

Dined on June 16, 2016

I consider myself a foodie, dined all over the country. From food trucks to 11 course meals. First, How can a restaurant who charges on average , 26$ , not give bread and butter to their patrons? I ordered the halibut special, it was awful. Not sure if the fish was frozen then thawed or just simply over cooked. The texture was extremely rough, dry, and with little to no flavor. It lacked the thick buttery texture halibut is so known for. The service was great , no complaints. If you're offering a special that is pricey , get it right. Patrons expect the best meal and quality when ordering a "special", we pay for it and expect it to meet our needs.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We come here every year for our Annivers ...

Dined on June 13, 2016

We come here every year for our Anniversary! Great food, great service! We came on a Monday night, so it was very quiet for my husband & I. It was the perfect place to have dinner! We always enjoy it! We will continue to come back every year! We sometimes come for Valentine's Day as well!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Our celebration with family was fantasti ...

Dined on June 12, 2016

Our celebration with family was fantastic! The waiter and staff made our evening wonderful!

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food3
ambience4
service1
value2

We were there for my father's birthday a ...

Dined on June 12, 2016

We were there for my father's birthday and couldn't have been more underwhelmed with the service and food. Sure, the view is terrific but i would much rather not wait 20 minutes before a waiter gets to our table and I would much rather prefer food.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I took my boyfriend here for his birthda ...

Dined on June 11, 2016

I took my boyfriend here for his birthday, the service, food, and atmosphere was amazing for our first time. Very romantic and worth the price.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Very Impressed.

Dined on June 10, 2016

Place was amazing. We ate on the deck and enjoyed the view and service. Chef had no problems replacing some of the vegetables with others! Dessert was absolutely incredible. Will go again if ever in Philadelphia.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Food was amazing, service was great, vie ...

Dined on June 10, 2016

Food was amazing, service was great, view was phenomenal. Need I say more?

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Very Expensive

Dined on June 9, 2016

The ambiance was lovely. The food good , but not outstanding. Beautiful view of the water. Very expensive. Over priced. The bill was over $400.00 for 5 people with one bottle of the least expensive wine on the menu($50), OK for special occasion. Not running back too soon

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

The foie gras was one of the best I have ...

Dined on June 8, 2016

The foie gras was one of the best I have ever had. Each bite was as good as the first - made me close my eyes and savor each forkful.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A Floating Treasure!

Dined on June 5, 2016

I love this restaurant and always forget it is floating in my own back yard. The service was fantastic. We started our meal with the Hudson Valley Duck Foie Gras which was unbelievably creamy and delicious. We also had a cheese plate with fruit jams-so good! Our entrees were the surf & turf...(the best I've ever had) served on top of mashed potatoes with a side of asparagus. Deserts were Dark Chocolate Pecan Tart (outrageous!) and the Butterscotch Budino (fair). If you've never been to the Moshulu GO! You won't be disappointed. Can't wait to visit again!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5

The Calamari, Burger, and Chicken were a ...

Dined on June 5, 2016

The Calamari, Burger, and Chicken were all delicious.

food4
ambience5
service1
value3

Service was horrible!

Dined on June 5, 2016

The food was amazing but the service we were given was absolutely horrible. The waiter asked us if we had ever dined there before and when we advised him no, we thought he would give us a great introduction, suggest wines, appetizers,etc. He was very dry with absolutely no personality and offered no conversation. He did not check up on us when we were dining on our appetizers, he barely checked on us when we were dining on our entrees and did not suggest dessert. I was hoping we would get the waiter at the table before us, he interacted with the diners, suggested wine and even brought out dessert when he found it was the young lady's birthday. Our waiter did not even ask us if we were celebrating anything special and I was so disappointed because it was my birthday and all I wanted to do by the end of the night is pack the remaining portion of my dinner and go home. I will never dine at the Moshulu again,this was my first (and last) horrible experience dining at the restaurant.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience4
service1
value3

Great food - bad service

Dined on June 4, 2016

The food was excellent and it was a great location to celebrate my daughter's 13th birthday. I was expecting to spend a decent amount of money based on my friend's recommendations. Unfortunately, I think we just got a really bad server. She was young and really needed a lot of tips on serving. I am by no means an aristocrat, but I know a few things you should not do. Do not pour water glasses without taking them off the table. Do not hand people their own food to place in front of them. She even broke the cork on the $120 bottle of wine I purchased for the table before disappearing and coming back with the bottle opened. Very weird. The kicker was when she handed me the dessert menu (a long menu) across the table, knocking a full glass of wine all over me. I got a small "I'm sorry". It was still a night to remember and my daughter had a great time. In the end, that is what was important to me. I think the owners need to reevaluate the training of the servers. Other than that, everything was great.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, scenic view, hot spot
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

A great night out

Dined on June 4, 2016

The bisques temperature was a little off but the consistency was good. The texture was also good. The noise level was surprisingly low. Overall, a wonderful night out.

Tags: romantic
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

This was a return trip because we loved ...

vip
Dined on June 4, 2016

This was a return trip because we loved it so much the first time! we seem to use this place as a spot to celebrate something special that is going on in our lives. Food and drinks are always spectacular! Though, the old wine list was MUCH more extensive, the new list still had some delicious choices! Have not tried the late night bar scene here but seems to be a fun place to be on a nice night with a great view!

Tags: fit for foodies, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A most memorable dining experience

Dined on June 4, 2016

This was my first visit..this was a bucket list item for me. I had planned this visit for years, I live invVirginia. My expectations were exceeded. The food was superb. I highly recommend this dining experience. We enjoyed the calamari and Froie Gras as appetizers...I ate the scallops for my entree. One of the most memorable meals I have ever experienced.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5

Great date during a recent trip to phill ...

vip
Dined on June 3, 2016

Great date during a recent trip to philly with my guy. We enjoyed the surf & turf roll as a starter. I had the rainbow trout (which comes with braised beef between the two pieces) and my guy had the crab cake. He didn't think 1 would be enough but by the last bite, he realized it was perfect. We both loved everything! Our waiter, Cordell, was awesome and we can't wait to go back.

food4
ambience3
service1
value2

Made reservations for 7:45 and didn't re ...

Dined on May 31, 2016

Made reservations for 7:45 and didn't receive our food until 9:15 and it was far from a packed house... Wouldn't come back to eat there.

food5
ambience5
service5

Wow!!! Is all I have to say. I didn't ex ...

Dined on May 29, 2016

Wow!!! Is all I have to say. I didn't expect moshulu to be as amazing as it was. First off your getting onto a ship once your on you feel like a first class passenger on the titanic. The food was simply amazing, even on a busy Saturday before Memorial Day weekend. Service was amazing. I highly recommend it

food5
ambience5
service5

This was our first time to dinner at Mo ...

Dined on May 28, 2016

This was our first time to dinner at Moshulu and all four of us enjoyed the evening immensely. Food was excellent, great atmosphere and service. We loved it and will be back!!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great start to our weekend in Philly wit ...

Dined on May 27, 2016

Great start to our weekend in Philly with our two young children. The foie gras was to die for. Our 10 year old will be ordering this appetizer when we return. Our 8 year old ordered a salad off the adult menu which she loved. The pork chop with pork belly is a dish I'd order over and over. Aromas and flavors so satisfying.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

The food and service here is top notch. ...

Dined on May 26, 2016

The food and service here is top notch. The ambiance is wonderful. This is one of our all time favorites.

food5
ambience4
service3
value3

We sat at the high-top round tables on t ...

Dined on May 25, 2016

We sat at the high-top round tables on the top deck which were nice. There were bugs flying around the table, which was a real downside, however, once the sun went down they went away. The food was great, especially the rainbow trout, scallops, and crab mac&cheese. The service was a little slow, but other than that, we enjoyed it.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Your nickname will be published on OpenT ...

Dined on May 25, 2016

Your nickname will be published on OpenTable alongside this, and all future reviews. For privacy reasons, don't use your full name or email address.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.