About Mosaic at Mandarin Oriental - Kuala Lumpur

Kuala Lumpur City Centre
Kuala Lumpur, Kuala Lumpur 50088
View Larger Map

Mosaic boasts a wide-ranging menu featuring both Oriental and Western specialties. Watch our chefs prepare them at cooking stations or order at your leisure from our a la carte menu. Elegant Peranakan designs and luxurious furnishings surround diners in local history, culture and sensibility.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
International

Hours of Operation:

Breakfast: 6:00am - 10:30am; Lunch: Daily: 12:00pm - 2:30pm; Dinner: Daily: 6:30pm - 10:30pm

Cross Street:
KLCC

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
03-2380 8888

Website:
http://www.mandarinoriental.com/kualalumpur/dining/restaurants

Parking Details:
Hotel basement parking is available for a fee of 8 Malaysian Ringgit per hour from 06:00- 19:00. A flat rate of RM 8 is applicable after 19:00 daily.

Executive Chef:
Uwe Faust

Private Party Facilities:
Two separate private rooms both for a maximum of 10 guests.

Additional:
Beer, Cafe, Late Night, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Private Room, View, Wine

Mosaic at Mandarin Oriental - Kuala Lumpur Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

3.9

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

3.8

service

4.3

ambience

4.1

noise

Moderate

84% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Most Booked
Malaysia
Most Booked
Kuala Lumpur
Best Restaurants in Kuala Lumpur ›

special occasion (9)
good for groups (9)
fit for foodies (7)
See All
great for brunch (7)
great for lunch (7)
romantic (5)
neighborhood gem (4)
kid-friendly (3)
scenic view (2)
late-night find (1)
great for outdoor dining (1)
vibrant bar scene (1)
Sort By:
Newest
12 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

The service was great. The waiter helped ...

Dined on May 20, 2016

The service was great. The waiter helped my son order pasta. Dessert was great. Taking out the cakes and chocolates from the glass case felt like you were at a pastry shop. Although there was nothging gorgeous like a roat beef, the overall taste of food was good and the staff were friendly. My son and I really enjoyed it.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, good for groups, great for lunch
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

The food was fresh and tasty except for ...

Dined on May 18, 2016

The food was fresh and tasty except for the sushi. The sushi rice tasted a bit dry and hard. Also for RM148, I expected more variety. The buffet selection was very limited. However, my date enjoyed the unlimited refill of TWG tea that was inclusive in the buffet package.

Tags: great for brunch, romantic, special occasion
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

'European' Food scarce

Dined on May 4, 2016

This was a business lunch for five people. The local, Japanese and Chinese food was very good. However the 'European' food at the carvery was either being rationed, or was very scarce. Not a good impression when one of our table actually wanted a nice slice of meat!

Tags: great for lunch
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

Desserts Bar -Counter

Dined on April 18, 2016

Cakes should be on refrigerated counter top / in the fridge especially too much of "mousse"type. Should not have too much / all "mousse" type of cakes.

Tags: great for brunch, great for lunch
food3
ambience2
service4

Probably the food was the best thing

Dined on April 9, 2016

Probably the food was the best thing

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great ambience, one of the best spread i ...

Dined on April 5, 2016

Great ambience, one of the best spread in town based on quality of the dishes!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Relaxing dining spot

Dined on April 3, 2016

Clean, attentive service crew, vast choices during buffet lunch. A great ambience for dining pleasure.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

Food Quality

Dined on March 28, 2016

The oysters have reduced in size. Food not so tasty as last time. is it a different cook?

Tags: great for brunch
food2
ambience4
service3
value2

Disappointed. Definitely not recommending

Dined on March 25, 2016

Was told by my friends that Mosaic was one of the top buffet dining option in KL and with mandarin oriental being one of the top hotel chain in the world, certainly there were expectations before we even went there to celebrate my friend's birthday. Was given a spot by the window facing the water fountain of KLCC. Though the view was alright, my friend was Perspiring as he went through his meal. Before you think he was rushing through his meal, no he wasn't. Instead, it was because he was seated below the spotlight which was emitting heat. There wasn't a spot. (Bad lighting option) As for food, I must say, it was terrible. The appetisers (cold section) definitely didn't look palatable. The chilled prawns didn't look fresh and the dark residual water definitely wasn't a great sight. The oysters were edible and for the sashimi, I'm just beyond words. The tuna was so dry and I couldn't even continue after the first bite. The salmon was definitely not any better as well. And the replacement rate for the sashimi was terrible. It took way longer than 30 mins before they were refreshed. The Indian section's curry was diluted. It seemed to have been simply mixed with water to increase its volume. The naan was tough and very thick. Too thick such that it's comparable to English pancakes. I can continue on my comments for every section of the food but I'm limited on character count. And do note, I'm not exactly extremely picky on my food but having been to many buffet dinners in well known hotels, I know what's considered even palatable. And my friend shares the same view as well. I wanted to look for someone after eating to provide my feedback but it seemed as if there weren't any managers around. I saw one but he was busy attending to another customer who was also having an unpleasant time. I sincerely hope that the mosaic management does something quickly.

Tags: special occasion
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

Needs more communication amongst staff

Dined on March 12, 2016

The first time I booked to mosaic, which was one month in advance they messed up my booking. Made another booking for last Saturday and I called them four days before the dinner date to reconfirm to make sure no further mess up. Unfortunately they called me up the next day to reconfirm my booking a day after I called up... Irritating. Two days before my dinner date, I received an email to greet me a pleasant dinner BUT to make sure I turn up or my booking will be surrendered 15 minutes after the said time. The greeting was masked as turn up and make sure you keep your booking rather than a truly warm welcome and enjoy your dinner. Overall dinner was good except for the oysters. It was so skinny that it would be better not served.

Tags: special occasion
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Disappointed with seafood night buffet

Dined on February 14, 2016

The atmosphere of the restaurant is very good, the staffs are polite and the service is very good. However, the seafood prepared weren't fresh enough. We only eat small amount of the seafood. For the sushi section, the sashimi aren't fresh as well. Turn to the dessert, the ice cream weren't store in the fridge but on a bucket of ice. They actually melted and looks disgusting.

food4
ambience4
service4

Good place for chit chat with friends. V ...

Dined on August 22, 2014

Good place for chit chat with friends. Variety of Malaysian cuisine. Very delicious durian cheese cake.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, great for lunch

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.