About Mo's A Place For Steaks - Indianapolis

Mo’s...A Place for Steaks has an ambiance others strive for. A sexy yet sophisticated feel, combined with great food and unmatched service create a customized dining experience. It’s not just the wet-aged steaks that arrive beautifully cut, cooked and plated, or the extensive wine list: Mo’s is a luxury that feels luxurious. Settle deep into a leather chair, listen to tunes playing on the baby grand or relax on the patio while sipping a martini and think just how good it feels to be you!

Culinary delights don’t end with the steaks – you’ll find a wide selection of delicious entrees, appetizers, sides and desserts.

15 E Maryland
Indianapolis, IN 46204
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steak

Hours of Operation:
Hours of Operation
Monday - Thursday: 5pm - 10pm
Friday & Saturday: 5pm - 10:30pm
Bar closes 1 hour Kitchen


Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(317) 635-0720

Website:
http://www.mosaplaceforsteaks.com/indy

Entertainment:
We have live piano Tuesday-Saturday

Parking Details:
Our Valet parking is your best option and you will receive exceptional service from Elite Management.

The are 2 additional parking lots close to the restaurant both located on Maryland St

Special Events & Promotions:
Let us help you with those special events in your personal and professional life! Whether it's before a Colts game, birthday, rehearsal dinner, business meeting, holiday party or just a night out with friends, we can accommodate multiple size parties! See our private dining section for more information.

Private Dining

Choose from 3 beautiful rooms or a complete buy-out of the whole restaurant! You will enjoy our attentive staff the moment your party arrives!

Mo's A Place For Steaks - Indianapolis Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.7

ambience

4.5

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (37)
Good for a Date (36)
Good for Anniversaries (31)
See All
Romantic (24)
Good for Birthdays (23)
Business Meals (21)
Cozy (17)
Fireplace (15)
Good for Groups (13)
Worth the Drive (12)
Quiet Conversation (11)
Pre/post Theatre (11)
Notable Wine List (10)
Fit for Foodies (9)
Bar Seating (9)
Handcrafted Cocktails (9)
Casual (9)
Live Music (9)
Private Room (8)
Modern Decor (7)
Creative Cuisine (7)
Neighborhood Gem (6)
Paleo Friendly (6)
Hot Spot (5)
People Watching (4)
Authentic (4)
Outstanding Value (4)
Late-night Find (3)
Tasting Menu (3)
Family Style (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Happy Hour (2)
Kid-friendly (2)
Scenic View (1)
Seasonal (1)
Historic (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Fun (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Live Sports (1)
Sort By:
S
275 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 22, 2017

Great food and service. Went there before BonJovi concert and waiter was very attentive to the time to get us done in time. Will definitely go back if in Indianapolis again.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Handcrafted Cocktails, Quiet Conversation, Bar Seating, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on March 19, 2017

Great!! Great!! Great!! Thank you Mo's for always making our experience amazing.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Seasonal, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on March 18, 2017

it was absolutely amazing. Service was incredibly. food was perfect. we highly recommend this restaurant

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 16, 2017

As ALWAYS, the entire MO's bunch is on the same page with their guests. Treated like MO's wants me to dine with them. I, for the most part, am a business diner. MO's does it BETTER than ANY restaurant I've taken my customers- and I truly mean ANYWHERE! In this country or abroad. When in Indy, MO's is always my 1st choice.

Tags: Fun, Good for Birthdays, Molecular Gastronomy, Vibrant Bar Scene, Tasting Menu, Paleo Friendly, Modern Decor, Good for Groups, Business Meals, Private Room, Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies, Bar Seating, Good for Anniversaries, Casual, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on March 12, 2017

Staff was very attentive, food was excellent, loved the bone in ribeye and the sea bass. Had a tastie appetizer , thin sliced rare filet on seasoned toast.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Fabulous dining experience in Indy. Wait staff was friendly, knowledgeable and attentive. Steaks were cooked to perfection, tender and tasty. Cream corn with shoestring potatoes were unbelievable. They provided a complimentary Creme Brule. I would highly recommend Mo's over other fancy joints in Indy.

Tags: Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on March 5, 2017

First experience at Mo's after eating at virtually every other steakhouse in downtown Indy. Food was excellent (calamari appetizer, filets, lobster tail) and service was exceptional as well. We will definitely be returning to this excellent establishment.

Tags: Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Had a great evening...first timer and for sure will be back

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Good for a Date, Romantic, Hot Spot, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 1, 2017

Mo's is a fantastic restaurant with high quality staff, food and spirits. The management is very attentive and visible in the restaurant and bar area to assure your experience is top notch. I recommend Mo's to anyone looking for a great meal and ambiance.

Tags: Authentic, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails, Notable Wine List, Private Room, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on February 26, 2017

Everything was delicious except for the shrimp cocktail. Shrimp was tough, but don't believe that's the norm.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on February 25, 2017

The food, service, and atmosphere were all impeccable. Seth and Chris took great care of us. Our meals were expertly prepared, and the portion sizes were perfect. The live piano was a nice touch too, and while we were seated a good distance away, I could see how it could be too loud for some diners. A great mix of people in the room as well.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on February 25, 2017

The staff goes over the top to make your dining experious very enjoyable. The steaks are delicious and sides are wonderful.

Tags: Business Meals, Casual, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 22, 2017

MO's is my FAVORITE place for steaks. The BEST overall dining experience! The food is exceptional but these guys make you feel like like your friends.

Tags: Paleo Friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on February 19, 2017

The food was great, the service was excellent, but the place was too loud! The piano player, while quite good, seemed to have a heavy hand and played music more appropriate for a barroom brawl than dinner. When one musical interlude mashed up Gaga and the Wedding March, I was a little confused. Again, he was quite talented, but a little much for a relaxing dinner. Oh, and the hostess dress was a little sketchy. One had such a low cut top you could see where every rib attached to her sternum, and the other was basically wearing a t-shirt with no pants. Her dress was so short she kept trying to pull it down, without success.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service5
value2

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on February 18, 2017

Having eaten at several of Indy's top steakhouses, I was looking forward to eating at MO's. Good but not great would be the best way to describe it. My 9 oz filet was incredibly tender but lacked a seasoning profile that would have made it superb. The salad and our assorted vegetables were very good, say an eight on a ten scale. The shrimp cocktail was very good but I can't understand covering the lettuce bed with the cocktail sauce that made the sauce had to utilize. The lobster bisque was lean on lobster and had a watery bisque. The bacon- wrapped scallops also confused me as the bacon,of course , dominated the delicate flavor of the scallops leaving me to wonder why you would put a cheap piece of pork on an ocean delicacy.
I do want to add that the service was top-notch and the complimentary birthday dessert was extremely good. As I said, all in all, Mo's was good but not great, leaving me to question a return visit.

Tags: Business Meals, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 18, 2017

We thoroughly enjoyed MO's! The steaks were great and prepared just as we liked them. The side dishes were a great complement to the entrees. The service was top notch. We were enjoying dinner with great friends from the east coast. They were equally impressed with our delicious dinner. We will definitely return on a future visit.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Live Music, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on February 15, 2017

My wife and I double dated with friends for Valentines Day. Great food and fellowship. Mr. Hogan at the table next to us made it complete with a dessert offering and final night cap. He was really funny! We will be back! See you soon! You to Mr Hogan!

Tags: Cozy, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Went for Valentine's Day. Service was prompt and food was excellent.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on February 12, 2017

The staff was top notch and amazing throughout the entire dining process!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Service was uneven. Side dishes weren't great. Overall 3 star rating. There are better steakhouses in Indy.

Tags: Casual, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value2

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on February 12, 2017

My husband and I recently went to Mos for Valentines dinner!! We were greeted nicely and seated promptly; we enjoyed the live piano music a great deal!! When we were seated, however, our table had the bar on one side and loud table of four very close on the other side!! Unfortunately it made our conversation difficult, it was a busy evening so we did not ask to be moved!! We ordered the Kung pao calamari and while nicely spicy, it was so salty we could barely eat it, we also felt the same way about the tomato basil soup that came with the steaks!! When our steaks arrived, they were cooked to perfection and delicious!! Bob, our server, was amazing, finding the perfect balance between friendly and professional!! He also gave us a free creme brûlée!! Probably won't be back, however!!

Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on February 8, 2017

Very nice dinner spot. Staff were awesome. Obvious they had been trained on how to make guests feel welcome. Definitely will go back

Tags: Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Good for Groups, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on February 6, 2017

The Mrs. And I are tired of the so-called 50's upscale steakhouse, usually small tables and not much elbow room. Mo's has all the other components that make a steakhouse a classic steakhouse. Roomy, intimate, service is unmatched, food from appetizers to dessert are exceptional!. I would not change a single thing if I could. Been there twice, 1 time, jeans and polo shirt,boat shoes. 2nd time, suit and tie, received the same great service dressed up or down. If you go, request Chris as your server.

Tags: Casual, Modern Decor, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Fireplace, Paleo Friendly, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Food was excellent! Waiter was very nice and very attentive to us. I would recommend trying Mo's, we will go back again.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Most of the meal was very good. However my husband ordered the garlic seasoning on his steak and it was so overpowering that he at less then half of it. We are both garlic lovers but even when he scrapped of the garlic it was inedible. For a 60 dollar steak this is nothing short of awful. We would have complained but no one asked if everything was done correctly which is also not acceptable for a steakhouse. They should have at least checked to see if we felt it was cooked properly. My husband said he would not return.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Wonderful food--great shrimp cocktail and calamari for starters. The 9 oz. filet was on point

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Food was great but the service was quite slow. Sat down at 7:15 and never left until 9:45. The check system is antiquated in that they had a hard time separating out the bill to couples. you ordered desert with your main course but waited almost 1/2 hour to get desert after done eating. Food was excellent though.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

vip
 (Indiana)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Great food. Our service was spectacular. This was my first time here but it won't be my last.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, People Watching, Casual, Business Meals, Hot Spot, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Authentic, Kid-friendly, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on February 4, 2017

My filet was burnt on top a little but, that was my fault for not notifying the waiters. It was a comfortable, friendly environment and I enjoyed going here.

Tags: Good for Groups, Outstanding Value, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Indiana)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Best Steakhouse in Indy! The food and choices are excellent! The staff is terrific. Visit with Zennin at the bar.

Tags: Notable Wine List, People Watching, Happy Hour, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Probably the best steak in Indy!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 3, 2017

Waitress rushed us through meal, had no personality.. Not a good experience for the money paid for meal!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value3

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on February 3, 2017

Good service. Overcooked filet, very chewy. Less than average flavor.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value2

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on February 2, 2017

Outstanding service and top notch experience. The food was superb and you can actually have a conversation while dining.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on February 1, 2017

I would have enjoyed our dining experience much more had the piano music not been so terribly loud. When he stopped playing, the noise level was just right. Even though there was background music, it was not offensive. My table had the opportunity to speak with one another without shouting. When the piano began, the whole room had to practically yell. I would have thought that a restaurant like Mo's would have done better. My $300 bill won't be repeated.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value3

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on January 31, 2017

A few friends and myself went to experience Mo's during Devour Indy. The restaurant was very nice, great live piano player, the food was excellent and the waiter was very attentive. The only down side was the waiter was a bit put out that we asked for the check to be split 4 ways. He said their system was "archaic". all in all it was a very good experience.... pricey, but good.

Tags: Live Music, Fireplace
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on January 29, 2017

The food was amazing! You probably could not get a bad meal here! Loved every bite!

Tags: Good for a Date, Paleo Friendly, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Best tasting and perfectly grilled filet I've ever had! A plus rating !

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Went here for devour Indy. Three of us got the same steak medium. None of them were the same 2 of the three were well done to dry as a bone. The mushrooms were warm the mashed potatoes were not. Were told as soon as we sat down how busy they were and we felt it. Waiter did not take a liking to us as soon as we did not order wine or an appetizer. Would have thought if you call yourself a place for steaks you should be able to cook one. NOT a place for steaks

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service1
value2

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Dinner for wife's birthday. This was the second time we have dined at Mo's. Reservations made in advance. Only issue was how long it took for us to be seated which was in stark contrast to the first time. The table we were seated at was on the opposite side of the restaurant where the hostess first went looking. The other hostess had to make awkward small talk with us while we waited. Filet and lobster bisque very good.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.