About Mo's A Place For Steaks - Indianapolis

15 E Maryland
Indianapolis, IN 46204
View Larger Map

Mo’s...A Place for Steaks has an ambiance others strive for. A sexy yet sophisticated feel, combined with great food and unmatched service create a customized dining experience. It’s not just the wet-aged steaks that arrive beautifully cut, cooked and plated, or the extensive wine list: Mo’s is a luxury that feels luxurious. Settle deep into a leather chair, listen to tunes playing on the baby grand or relax on the patio while sipping a martini and think just how good it feels to be you!

Culinary delights don’t end with the steaks – you’ll find a wide selection of delicious entrees, appetizers, sides and desserts.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steak

Hours of Operation:
Hours of Operation
Monday - Friday: 5pm - 11pm
Saturday: 5pm - 12am
Sunday: 5 p.m. – 12 a.m.

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(317) 635-0720

Website:
http://www.mosaplaceforsteaks.com/indy

Entertainment:
We have live piano Tuesday-Saturday

Parking Details:
Our Valet parking is your best option and you will receive exceptional service from Elite Management.

The are 2 additional parking lots close to the restaurant both located on Maryland St

Special Events & Promotions:
Let us help you with those special events in your personal and professional life! Whether it's before a Colts game, birthday, rehearsal dinner, business meeting, holiday party or just a night out with friends, we can accommodate multiple size parties! See our private dining section for more information.

Private Dining

Choose from 3 beautiful rooms or a complete buy-out of the whole restaurant! You will enjoy our attentive staff the moment your party arrives!

Mo's A Place For Steaks - Indianapolis Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.7

ambience

4.5

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (37)
Good for a Date (35)
Good for Anniversaries (28)
See All
Business Meals (22)
Romantic (22)
Cozy (19)
Good for Birthdays (17)
Fireplace (16)
Quiet Conversation (15)
Worth the Drive (13)
Pre/post Theatre (12)
Good for Groups (11)
Casual (10)
Fit for Foodies (9)
Live Music (9)
Handcrafted Cocktails (7)
Notable Wine List (7)
Private Room (6)
Modern Decor (6)
Bar Seating (6)
Neighborhood Gem (5)
People Watching (5)
Creative Cuisine (5)
Outstanding Value (3)
Paleo Friendly (3)
Late-night Find (3)
Authentic (3)
Kid-friendly (2)
Happy Hour (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Comfort Food (2)
Hot Spot (2)
Live Sports (2)
Historic (1)
Family Style (1)
Scenic View (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Great Beer (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
262 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined 4 days ago

MO's is my FAVORITE place for steaks. The BEST overall dining experience! The food is exceptional but these guys make you feel like like your friends.

Tags: Paleo Friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined 7 days ago

The food was great, the service was excellent, but the place was too loud! The piano player, while quite good, seemed to have a heavy hand and played music more appropriate for a barroom brawl than dinner. When one musical interlude mashed up Gaga and the Wedding March, I was a little confused. Again, he was quite talented, but a little much for a relaxing dinner. Oh, and the hostess dress was a little sketchy. One had such a low cut top you could see where every rib attached to her sternum, and the other was basically wearing a t-shirt with no pants. Her dress was so short she kept trying to pull it down, without success.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service5
value2

 
 (Indiana)·Dined 7 days ago

Having eaten at several of Indy's top steakhouses, I was looking forward to eating at MO's. Good but not great would be the best way to describe it. My 9 oz filet was incredibly tender but lacked a seasoning profile that would have made it superb. The salad and our assorted vegetables were very good, say an eight on a ten scale. The shrimp cocktail was very good but I can't understand covering the lettuce bed with the cocktail sauce that made the sauce had to utilize. The lobster bisque was lean on lobster and had a watery bisque. The bacon- wrapped scallops also confused me as the bacon,of course , dominated the delicate flavor of the scallops leaving me to wonder why you would put a cheap piece of pork on an ocean delicacy.

I do want to add that the service was top-notch and the complimentary birthday dessert was extremely good. As I said, all in all, Mo's was good but not great, leaving me to question a return visit.

Tags: Business Meals, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 18, 2017

We thoroughly enjoyed MO's! The steaks were great and prepared just as we liked them. The side dishes were a great complement to the entrees. The service was top notch. We were enjoying dinner with great friends from the east coast. They were equally impressed with our delicious dinner. We will definitely return on a future visit.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Live Music, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on February 15, 2017

My wife and I double dated with friends for Valentines Day. Great food and fellowship. Mr. Hogan at the table next to us made it complete with a dessert offering and final night cap. He was really funny! We will be back! See you soon! You to Mr Hogan!

Tags: Cozy, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Went for Valentine's Day. Service was prompt and food was excellent.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Service was uneven. Side dishes weren't great. Overall 3 star rating. There are better steakhouses in Indy.

Tags: Casual, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value2

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on February 12, 2017

My husband and I recently went to Mos for Valentines dinner!! We were greeted nicely and seated promptly; we enjoyed the live piano music a great deal!! When we were seated, however, our table had the bar on one side and loud table of four very close on the other side!! Unfortunately it made our conversation difficult, it was a busy evening so we did not ask to be moved!! We ordered the Kung pao calamari and while nicely spicy, it was so salty we could barely eat it, we also felt the same way about the tomato basil soup that came with the steaks!! When our steaks arrived, they were cooked to perfection and delicious!! Bob, our server, was amazing, finding the perfect balance between friendly and professional!! He also gave us a free creme brûlée!! Probably won't be back, however!!

Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on February 8, 2017

Very nice dinner spot. Staff were awesome. Obvious they had been trained on how to make guests feel welcome. Definitely will go back

Tags: Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Good for Groups, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on February 6, 2017

The Mrs. And I are tired of the so-called 50's upscale steakhouse, usually small tables and not much elbow room. Mo's has all the other components that make a steakhouse a classic steakhouse. Roomy, intimate, service is unmatched, food from appetizers to dessert are exceptional!. I would not change a single thing if I could. Been there twice, 1 time, jeans and polo shirt,boat shoes. 2nd time, suit and tie, received the same great service dressed up or down. If you go, request Chris as your server.

Tags: Casual, Modern Decor, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Fireplace, Paleo Friendly, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Food was excellent! Waiter was very nice and very attentive to us. I would recommend trying Mo's, we will go back again.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Most of the meal was very good. However my husband ordered the garlic seasoning on his steak and it was so overpowering that he at less then half of it. We are both garlic lovers but even when he scrapped of the garlic it was inedible. For a 60 dollar steak this is nothing short of awful. We would have complained but no one asked if everything was done correctly which is also not acceptable for a steakhouse. They should have at least checked to see if we felt it was cooked properly. My husband said he would not return.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Wonderful food--great shrimp cocktail and calamari for starters. The 9 oz. filet was on point

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Food was great but the service was quite slow. Sat down at 7:15 and never left until 9:45. The check system is antiquated in that they had a hard time separating out the bill to couples. you ordered desert with your main course but waited almost 1/2 hour to get desert after done eating. Food was excellent though.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

vip
 (Indiana)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Great food. Our service was spectacular. This was my first time here but it won't be my last.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, People Watching, Casual, Business Meals, Hot Spot, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Authentic, Kid-friendly, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on February 4, 2017

My filet was burnt on top a little but, that was my fault for not notifying the waiters. It was a comfortable, friendly environment and I enjoyed going here.

Tags: Good for Groups, Outstanding Value, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Indiana)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Best Steakhouse in Indy! The food and choices are excellent! The staff is terrific. Visit with Zennin at the bar.

Tags: Notable Wine List, People Watching, Happy Hour, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Probably the best steak in Indy!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 3, 2017

Waitress rushed us through meal, had no personality.. Not a good experience for the money paid for meal!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value3

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on February 3, 2017

Good service. Overcooked filet, very chewy. Less than average flavor.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value2

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on February 2, 2017

Outstanding service and top notch experience. The food was superb and you can actually have a conversation while dining.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on February 1, 2017

I would have enjoyed our dining experience much more had the piano music not been so terribly loud. When he stopped playing, the noise level was just right. Even though there was background music, it was not offensive. My table had the opportunity to speak with one another without shouting. When the piano began, the whole room had to practically yell. I would have thought that a restaurant like Mo's would have done better. My $300 bill won't be repeated.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value3

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on January 31, 2017

A few friends and myself went to experience Mo's during Devour Indy. The restaurant was very nice, great live piano player, the food was excellent and the waiter was very attentive. The only down side was the waiter was a bit put out that we asked for the check to be split 4 ways. He said their system was "archaic". all in all it was a very good experience.... pricey, but good.

Tags: Live Music, Fireplace
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on January 29, 2017

The food was amazing! You probably could not get a bad meal here! Loved every bite!

Tags: Good for a Date, Paleo Friendly, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Best tasting and perfectly grilled filet I've ever had! A plus rating !

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Went here for devour Indy. Three of us got the same steak medium. None of them were the same 2 of the three were well done to dry as a bone. The mushrooms were warm the mashed potatoes were not. Were told as soon as we sat down how busy they were and we felt it. Waiter did not take a liking to us as soon as we did not order wine or an appetizer. Would have thought if you call yourself a place for steaks you should be able to cook one. NOT a place for steaks

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service1
value2

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Dinner for wife's birthday. This was the second time we have dined at Mo's. Reservations made in advance. Only issue was how long it took for us to be seated which was in stark contrast to the first time. The table we were seated at was on the opposite side of the restaurant where the hostess first went looking. The other hostess had to make awkward small talk with us while we waited. Filet and lobster bisque very good.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on January 28, 2017

We really enjoyed the piano player and music selections during dinner. The food was delicious. Upscale dining but not stuffy or pretentious.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on January 28, 2017

We went during Devour, it just haooened to be my friends bday. The food was excellent, service amazing and they even made spevial menus with Happy Birthday to her on them...it was a special night. Thank yoy

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on January 28, 2017

We had a wonderful meal! One of the best steaks I've ever had. The cocktails were wonderful and very unique! Definitely will be back!!!

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Casual, Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Second visit to MO's during Devour Downtown.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 28, 2017

We went to Mo's to take advantage of Devour Indy. It was a fantastic dinner - our steaks were perfect, the sides were wonderful, and the service was spectacular. We really couldn't have asked for more out of our dinner. If you want a great evening out with wonderful steaks and the best service in town, I would absolutely recommend Mo's. Ask for Bob.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Our servers were delightful as well as each and every staff member we came into contact with during our dinner experience. The food was fantastic - each course!

I would highly recommend this restaurant for a casual or special occasion! It it is a romantic dinner ask for one of the tables on either side of the fireplace! A delight!

Tags: Cozy, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Indiana)·Dined on January 21, 2017

An excellent restaurant with impeccable service and outstanding food quality.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Authentic, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on January 15, 2017

Our dinner at Mo's was part of a holiday gift getaway I planned for the women in my family. The four of us (my daughter, sister-in-law, mother-in-law, myself) all had a wonderful time!! The service was outstanding, the pace of the meal relaxed yet timely, the food was amazing and the overall experience was the kind of memory I was hoping to make on this trip. My sincere thanks to the staff from coat check to cleaning and everyone in between. I will be back!

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on January 12, 2017

Have ate at most of the good steak houses in Indy and thought we would try Mo's as We had not been there before, honestly almost cancelled the reservation as I knew very little about the place. Was very glad we didn't cancel and ended up eating probably the best meal we have had in Indy. The same week we are at St Elmo's which was good and Prime 47 and I can say while they are both excellent Mo's was the best. Service was great , atmosphere was great. Piano was excellent even though we were very close and it was a little loud!

Highly recommend MO's

Tags: Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on January 7, 2017

Steaks were excellent and cooked to perfection! We will definitely tell friends to go and checkout! Very good meal before a Pacers game!

Tags: Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Private Room, Scenic View, Fireplace, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on January 1, 2017

My husband and I enjoyed our first experience at Mo's. I'm a picking steak eater and the Cheif prepare my stark right in the first try. I was impressed. My husband loved the salmon dish. We will definitely be back.

Tags: Fireplace, Quiet Conversation, Tasting Menu, Modern Decor, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Family Style, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (SW Indiana)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Had a delicious dinner, after attending a Pacers game. We had 7:00 reservations, we arrived at 6:55, and were promptly seated. The waiting staff is probably the best we have ever experienced. Very courteous and professional, but not snobbish in any way. Our steaks were cooked to perfection. The sides of mac and cheese, and even the fries were on point. The tomato basil soup was so good, even our picky 12 year old devoured it. Our waitress was correct to suggest the half baked cookie and ice cream for dessert. It was amazing. 3 filets, 2 salads, one soup, a side of mac and cheese and fries (served family style, was plenty for all 3 of us), dessert, a soft drink, and 3 glasses of wine. Well worth $204, after taxes. I highly recommend.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on December 27, 2016

My family was from out of town and I wanted to have a nice dinner for my son's birthday. My brother in law suggested Mo's and I could not have been happier. The serves was top notch and the staff treated us like family. without my knowledge my brother in law wrote an email to Mo's telling them about the birthday and that there you be a veteran with thirty years of service at the table. Mo's pulled out the stops and brought some very nice presents to the table. I thank all the employees of Mo's for the wonderful evening and making my son feel special. I will visit Mo's again upon my return to Indianapolis. You should too, you will not be disappointed.

Tags: Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Indiana)·Dined on December 21, 2016

The steak was cooked peefect

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on December 17, 2016

Very attentive service; the food presentation wasn't great but a very nice place for a pre-Yuletide family dinner. We enjoyed our meal

Tags: Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on December 12, 2016

Service and food was excellent !

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 11, 2016

Visited Mo's for a wonderful dinner with friends in from out-of-town. While this was not my first visit to Mo's, it was as always a fantastic experience. This visit once again solidified its status as my go-to restaurant when friends are visiting and we want to go out to a nice dinner, especially to get a great steak.

They have what I consider to be the best steaks in town, and they are cooked to perfection on each visit. And as if the food weren't enough, the service is impeccable. Bob was our server, and he made us feel very special and took great care of our every need. Our meal was well-timed and there was never a time we felt rushed, nor had to wait long for anything.

Even on a very busy night in the restaurant, we received great service and had a wonderful dinner. Would highly recommend to anyone looking for a great fine dining experience downtown.

Tags: People Watching, Private Room, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Fireplace, Modern Decor, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Notable Wine List, Handcrafted Cocktails, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on December 10, 2016

Kung pow calamari is a must try appetizer. Great staff and food will definitely come back next year!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on December 10, 2016

A great option to the ever popular St. Elmos! Loved it and will be back!

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Business Meals, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on December 7, 2016

Outstanding steaks

The bartender Zenon makes it!

Drinks are the best. Eat at the bar

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Historic, Outstanding Value, Good for Anniversaries, Live Music, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on December 7, 2016

Good restaurant in a perfect location to Banker's Life Field. They let us Valet and leave our car to walk the 1 block to the show. Food and service was excellent. Owner stopped by and was very friendly. A little pricy for me, but probably not for the area.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Live Sports, Business Meals, Sunday Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on December 7, 2016

the service is great. I mean the best service ive ever received. the food, the tomato soup was really good, the bread was over cooked/ burnt, and I had chosen to get the 9 oz kobe fillet mignon.. first off, let me say this is not true kobe beef.. and second, I've been a meat cutter for a good while now, the 9oz steak was more like a 6, and the outside of this much smaller, less marbled steak I received was burnt, literally about 60-70 percent of it was black but you cut into it and it was on the line of raw and rare, I ordered medium rare... Ithings was great service but may want to look for new cutters and chefs.

Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value2

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 4, 2016

My girlfriend booked a table for my birthday. We wanted to go to Mo's as it is my favorite restaurant downtown.

With the holiday season, they were very busy, but still made my birthday a wonderful experience. We were seated promptly at our reservation time. We started with pre-dinner cocktails. Their martinis are wonderful - especially the cucumber one. We received great service for drinks as well as our dinner. Bob and Mackenzie took great care of us, and made sure that the evening was absolutely wonderful for my birthday.

The steaks were great, the side dishes were delicious, and if you haven't tried their half-baked cookie with ice cream, you are missing out. It was a great way to wrap up my birthday dinner, and I couldn't have been happier with our experience there.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Bar Seating, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Fireplace, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.