About Mo's A Place For Steaks - Indianapolis

15 E Maryland
Indianapolis, IN 46204
View Larger Map

Mo’s...A Place for Steaks has an ambiance others strive for. A sexy yet sophisticated feel, combined with great food and unmatched service create a customized dining experience. It’s not just the wet-aged steaks that arrive beautifully cut, cooked and plated, or the extensive wine list: Mo’s is a luxury that feels luxurious. Settle deep into a leather chair, listen to tunes playing on the baby grand or relax on the patio while sipping a martini and think just how good it feels to be you!

Culinary delights don’t end with the steaks – you’ll find a wide selection of delicious entrees, appetizers, sides and desserts.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steak

Hours of Operation:
Hours of Operation
Monday - Friday: 5pm - 11pm
Saturday: 5pm - 12am
Sunday: 5 p.m. – 12 a.m.

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(317) 635-0720

Website:
http://www.mosaplaceforsteaks.com/indy

Entertainment:
We have live piano Tuesday-Saturday

Parking Details:
Our Valet parking is your best option and you will receive exceptional service from Elite Management.

The are 2 additional parking lots close to the restaurant both located on Maryland St

Special Events & Promotions:
Let us help you with those special events in your personal and professional life! Whether it's before a Colts game, birthday, rehearsal dinner, business meeting, holiday party or just a night out with friends, we can accommodate multiple size parties! See our private dining section for more information.

Restaurant Photos

  • Mo's A Place For Steaks - Indianapolis
  • Mo's A Place For Steaks - Indianapolis
  • Mo's A Place For Steaks - Indianapolis
  • Mo's A Place For Steaks - Indianapolis
  • Mo's A Place For Steaks - Indianapolis
Mo's A Place For Steaks - Indianapolis
Mo's A Place For Steaks - Indianapolis
Mo's A Place For Steaks - Indianapolis
Mo's A Place For Steaks - Indianapolis
Mo's A Place For Steaks - Indianapolis

Private Dining

Choose from 3 beautiful rooms or a complete buy-out of the whole restaurant! You will enjoy our attentive staff the moment your party arrives!

Mo's A Place For Steaks - Indianapolis Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.8

ambience

4.3

value

3.8

noise

Moderate

84% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Service
Indiana
Best Service
Indianapolis
Special Occasion
Indianapolis
Best Restaurants in Downtown Indy ›

Special Occasion (27)
Romantic (14)
Good for Groups (8)
See All
Fit for Foodies (6)
Notable Wine List (6)
Hot Spot (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Neighborhood Gem (1)
Sort By:
Newest
180 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Great food, nice place. Enjoyed the dev ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined 3 days ago

Great food, nice place. Enjoyed the devour downtown menu. Probably would not go for the regular menu price as quite expensive.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Experience was lack luster at best! Deco ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined 3 days ago

Experience was lack luster at best! Decor was same as the previous restaurant. This location seems to be the place restaurants go to die!

Very weird vibe and food was marginal !

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service2

Food was great. Had bone in rib eye. Se ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined 3 days ago

Food was great. Had bone in rib eye.

Service was exceptional.

Tags: Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Happy Hour, Quiet Conversation, Live Sports
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Loved the Devour Indy promotion...$35 fo ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined 4 days ago

Loved the Devour Indy promotion...$35 for the 3 course filet mignonette dinner. Excellent service and excellent food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We had an absolutely wonderful dinner. T ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined 4 days ago

We had an absolutely wonderful dinner. The food was fantastic - perfectly cooked steak, delicious side dishes - paired with great cocktails and a great bottle of wine. The service was even better. Bob and Heather provided excellent service and made sure everything was great for us. Will absolutely return again and again to Mo's!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Our waiter, Robert, is the best! He is v ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined 6 days ago

Our waiter, Robert, is the best! He is very knowledgeable of the menu and wine and gave us space to enjoy our dinner.

Tags: Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was my first dining experience at M ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on August 16, 2016

This was my first dining experience at Mo's and it was incredible! My friend Scott and I were celebrating both of our birthdays and it was the perfect place to do so. Everything from the atmosphere to food to wine to dessert to atmosphere was perfect. Jeffrey was the host when we arrived. He was personable, professional, genuine and we could tell he really enjoyed his work. Chris and John were our servers for the evening. They were attentive, personable, professional and did a great job. We will definitely return to enjoy another dinner. Thank you!

Tags: Business Meals, Romantic, Modern Decor, Good for Groups, Cozy, Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I am so relieved to say that Mo's is bac ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

I am so relieved to say that Mo's is back where it belongs in the heart of downtown Indianapolis. I think you would be hard-pressed to find a better spot to dine than Mo's. The service is outstanding, the food was delectable, and I had a fantastic time celebrating my birthday with them. They even customized the menu to say "Happy Birthday, Robert" which made the occasion even more special.

Mo's comes highly recommended and is a fine dining establishment.

Tags: Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The service by TJ and staff was above av ...

vip
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

The service by TJ and staff was above average. We could never get our drink past the top 1/3rd of the glass before they were refilled. The manager stopped by twice to make sure things were going well and everyone greeted and took the time to say good-bye when we left. We had both steak and pasta dishes with our party of 6 and everyone commented on how great they were (the horseradish risotto was amazing). Wine list was not huge, but very workable with a wide variety not typically represented in a small menu. We had an awesome 2009 Pomerol with the cow and even the manager commented on the selection. We are at GenCon each year and typically hit St. Elmos, they were booked up this year and we were very glad that we were able to hit this unique and conveniently located food spot. Will be back next year for sure. Cheers!

Tags: Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Hot Spot, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The entire experience was over the top. ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on August 2, 2016

The entire experience was over the top. Big fan of Mortons Steak House but now we have two steak establishments to visit.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Our first visit to Moe's and we couldn't ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on July 13, 2016

Our first visit to Moe's and we couldn't be more pleased! The staff was very attentive and friendly. John and Natalie are top notch when it comes to service. The food was spectacular. My husband and I splurged and got the Kobe Wagyu steaks. They did not disappoint! Wine by the glass could have been a little more extensive but still enough options to find something that you like. Overall a wonderful experience!

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

Great atmosphere and service. Bone in f ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on June 23, 2016

Great atmosphere and service. Bone in filet and lobster mac-n-cheese are fantastic! The cookie desert is great for sharing.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Whenever I'm in the mood for steak this ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on June 23, 2016

Whenever I'm in the mood for steak this is the only place that satisfies. The best steak in Indy hands down. Phenomenonal service. Great atmosphere. Grab a seat near the piano and a bourbon, perfect!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The service was fabulous. I had to make ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on June 22, 2016

The service was fabulous. I had to make an unanticipated change in my reservation after it was made and the staff was very understanding about it all because I was having flowers delivered for the evening. Had an issue come up that required the change and the restaurant was more than accommodating. Highly recommend. Have been there before and will return as often as possible.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The best part of the night was the finis ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on June 20, 2016

The best part of the night was the finish with Crème Brulee. The rest of the meal was not very desirable. Sea Bass was overcooked and over pan fried. Beef was reasonable. Asparagus looked terrible and was virtually tasteless. We were also not impressed with the lobster mac that had such good reviews. Anyway, many other options for the hefty price. Wish I could tell you better, but our favorite will remain a different steak house and we will just stay away from Mo's.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value1

Very disappointed in the meal. Everythin ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Very disappointed in the meal. Everything was so salty we could barely eat it. Even the bread was salty. We couldn't figure out how it has such a high rating, definitely not deserved.

The waiter was very nice and acommodating, otherwise we will never go here again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service3
value1

Warm ambience, good wine and dinner menus.

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on June 9, 2016

The wait staff were very accommodating, very helpful. The selection of wines and the choices of entrees were quite good. If you like beef or pork, you will not be disappointed and you won't go hungry -- the size of the steaks and other meats was impressive so bring your appetite. The fact that the restaurant is connected to the hotel where we stayed is a nice feature especially in the wintertime. It is a pricey restaurant, but the portions are very generous, and it's in line with other restaurants in the area. I would definitely go back to Mo's.

Tags: Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Great friendly service. The restaurant w ...

vip
 (San Diego)
·Dined on May 23, 2016

Great friendly service. The restaurant was very quiet the night I went there. Staff are very nice and friendly and go out of their way to help.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great dinner and service! Glad to see Mo ...

vip
 (Indiana)
·Dined on May 20, 2016

Great dinner and service! Glad to see Mo's make a return to Indy!

Tags: Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

BEST STEAK I HAVE EVER HAD!!!!!!!!!! Tem ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on May 19, 2016

BEST STEAK I HAVE EVER HAD!!!!!!!!!! Temperature was perfect Med Rare, seasoning was great. The server recommended to add oscar style to my Prime Filet because I was craving seafood also got the Lobster Mac! My friends got the ribeye and kobe steaks. Those were amazing as well. Made my night, worth every penny! I took my left overs home, and had them for lunch, mouth watery food! Service was great, both servers were friendly and polite. The managers even stopped by to say hello! O and I almost forgot about the cookie, yum! Thank you Mo's, keep up the good work! Will be back!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Birthday girl

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on May 14, 2016

We heard great things about Mo's so we decided to try it ourselves . It was my birthday weekend and we wanted to go downtown Indianapolis. I made our dinner reservation with open table. The steak house was amazing! We had wonderful service and great food. Mo's staff made us feel very special. We will definitely visit Mo's again.

Tags: Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Do not waste $$$

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on May 12, 2016

Major buyers remorse. Food had no taste, had to douse steak in A1 sauce to get it down. Menus online is different. Used to be favorite steak joint in old location, new spot needs to be closed.

Poor value, not worth the price. Will never go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service4
value1

A must experience.

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on May 5, 2016

If you're looking for a very well rounded upper end dining experience, Mo's is a place you must experience. The food is exceptional and the service is unmatched. If you're looking for something special, this is your place.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Awesome Service!!!

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on April 30, 2016

We went to Mo's with some friends on a Saturday night. Our server was Bob and he was one of the best servers EVER! He was super attentive and although I certainly wouldn't call Mo's a family dining establishment (i.e. no kids menu so our two year old ate from our plates), Bob and the other staff at Mo's were very friendly and attentive to my two year old as well. I had the filet with the oscar topping and it was full of fabulous flavor and my husband had the special (similar to the dainty lady) and loved it. We also ordered the kung pao calimari which was good. Mo's prices are kin of steep, similar to the other Indy high end steak houses, but I think it is well worth it! The service and food were fabulous - we will definitely be back!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Our server was very good and the food wa ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on April 23, 2016

Our server was very good and the food was excellent

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Another great experience

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on April 22, 2016

Another great experience

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great place for a business dinner.

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on April 13, 2016

Great place for a business dinner.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Awesome

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on April 9, 2016

My wife and I had never dined at restaurant with that kind of service. It wasn't a special night starting out but once we got to Moe's it became very special for us. Our waiters were very good at keep things clean and in order. You can't put a price on a special night out with my wife of 35 years. We will definitely be back and hope to bring some of our family and friends. Awesome job to all the people who work there.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Outstanding food and service!!

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on April 8, 2016

Outstanding food and service!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Piano player

vip
 (Orlando)
·Dined on March 12, 2016

The cacophony coming from the piano player made it impossible to enjoy a good food-quality meal

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service4
value3

First time at Mo's, we will be back!

vip
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on March 1, 2016

First time at Mo's, we will be back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Best Dining Experience

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on February 19, 2016

I have dined all over the world and Mo's is the BEST for overall dining experience.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Live music, great food and awesome service!

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on February 18, 2016

Ate here with two colleagues. I had the sea bass which was amazing. I had a bite of one colleague's pork chop and it was to die for. The live piano music was so relaxing and just made a nice finish to our evening and time in Indy.

Tags: Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We went on a Monday night so it was real ...

vip
 (Indiana)
·Dined on February 16, 2016

We went on a Monday night so it was really quite. This was my first time in the new location. The bone-in ribeye seemed delicious...my buddy really enjoyed it. My other friend had the filet. It was a great atmosphere for our business discussion.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4

Our "medium" steaks were described by th ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on February 14, 2016

Our "medium" steaks were described by the server as to be expected to have a "hot, pink center", and in fact they were correctly cooked -- but by the time they arrived at our table, mine was like warm and my wife's was cold.

To the restaurant's credit, without our even saying anything, the serving staff recognized that our expressions while we ate were disappointed, asked about the temperatures, offered to warm it up, and late brought a free desert over to try and make things better.

We were disappointed with the food in this one case because of the temperature of the steaks, but otherwise it was a very nice place.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5

Good service, very long wait, still recommend

vip
 (Indiana)
·Dined on February 14, 2016

Our server was great. The ambiance is romantic and I love that they valet. However, once we placed our order, it took about 2 hours to get our food! Then, 2 of the steaks ordered were over cooked (including the kobe) and some items ordered were missing :(

After complaining to the manager, he assured me this is not normally how they do business and comped our meal. Because of the actions of management, I feel we will give this resturant another try.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value3

Great Place

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on February 13, 2016

Appetizer was the calamari and shrimp and it was huge and tasted great. Family style so you order a side and you get enough to serve 3 or 4. The steaks were amazing. We had the Kobe, Certified, and Prime and all were great. Not sure you need to upgrade. The service was amazing. We were there on a very cold and windy day seated near the door and on of us asked for their coat since they were cold. They brought out a windscreen, a coffee, and a hot compress. Cream Brulee was our favorite dessert, the chocolate cake was very good as well.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Great Experience

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on February 12, 2016

My wife and I came to Mo's the Friday before Valentine's Day. We've been to a number of Indy steak joints but never Mo's. I wish we would have found it sooner! It was excellent- everything from the bread to the steak!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best Steaks ever

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on February 7, 2016

Have eaten there twice, both times the food was great .

Tags: Late-night Find, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Love Mo's. Coming to be a favorite.

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on February 7, 2016

We love an excuse to go to Mo's to celebrate a birthday or anniversary. The last couple years they have not dissapointed.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.