About Mo's A Place For Steaks - Indianapolis

15 E Maryland
Indianapolis, IN 46204
View Larger Map

Mo’s...A Place for Steaks has an ambiance others strive for. A sexy yet sophisticated feel, combined with great food and unmatched service create a customized dining experience. It’s not just the wet-aged steaks that arrive beautifully cut, cooked and plated, or the extensive wine list: Mo’s is a luxury that feels luxurious. Settle deep into a leather chair, listen to tunes playing on the baby grand or relax on the patio while sipping a martini and think just how good it feels to be you!

Culinary delights don’t end with the steaks – you’ll find a wide selection of delicious entrees, appetizers, sides and desserts.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steak

Hours of Operation:
Hours of Operation
Monday - Friday: 5pm - 11pm
Saturday: 5pm - 12am
Sunday: 5 p.m. – 12 a.m.

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(317) 635-0720

Website:
http://www.mosaplaceforsteaks.com/indy

Entertainment:
We have live piano Tuesday-Saturday

Parking Details:
Our Valet parking is your best option and you will receive exceptional service from Elite Management.

The are 2 additional parking lots close to the restaurant both located on Maryland St

Special Events & Promotions:
Let us help you with those special events in your personal and professional life! Whether it's before a Colts game, birthday, rehearsal dinner, business meeting, holiday party or just a night out with friends, we can accommodate multiple size parties! See our private dining section for more information.

Restaurant Photos

  • Mo's A Place For Steaks - Indianapolis
  • Mo's A Place For Steaks - Indianapolis
  • Mo's A Place For Steaks - Indianapolis
  • Mo's A Place For Steaks - Indianapolis
  • Mo's A Place For Steaks - Indianapolis
Mo's A Place For Steaks - Indianapolis
Mo's A Place For Steaks - Indianapolis
Mo's A Place For Steaks - Indianapolis
Mo's A Place For Steaks - Indianapolis
Mo's A Place For Steaks - Indianapolis

Private Dining

Choose from 3 beautiful rooms or a complete buy-out of the whole restaurant! You will enjoy our attentive staff the moment your party arrives!

Mo's A Place For Steaks - Indianapolis Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.8

ambience

4.4

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Service
Indiana
Best Service
Indianapolis
Special Occasion
Indianapolis
Best Restaurants in Downtown Indy ›

Special Occasion (28)
Romantic (16)
Good for Anniversaries (13)
See All
Good for a Date (12)
Good for Groups (9)
Good for Birthdays (8)
Quiet Conversation (8)
Fit for Foodies (6)
Notable Wine List (6)
Business Meals (5)
Pre/post Theatre (4)
Fun (4)
Live Music (4)
Cozy (3)
Modern Decor (3)
Hot Spot (3)
Neighborhood Gem (2)
Worth the Drive (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Handcrafted Cocktails (2)
Fireplace (2)
Happy Hour (1)
Live Sports (1)
Seasonal (1)
Bar Seating (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Private Room (1)
Casual (1)
Historic (1)
Scenic View (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Sort By:
Newest
195 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Dine as often as I can at Moe's. Great ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on September 20, 2016

Dine as often as I can at Moe's. Great place, especially with large business meals. Excellent food and service.

Tags: Private Room, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Filet and asparagus, as well as the serv ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on September 16, 2016

Filet and asparagus, as well as the service, were excellent. Ordered the sea scallops for an appetizer which had too much hot sauce on it, which detracted from the taste of the scallops.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Food was amazing as always but service w ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on September 11, 2016

Food was amazing as always but service was a little on the slow side which keep us guessing when are food was coming .

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value4

Service and food was excellent...never f ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

Service and food was excellent...never felt rushed and waiters gave us lots of attention and info cause it was our first time there!!!

Tags: Good for a Date, Business Meals, Quiet Conversation, Fun, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Mo's a place for steaks was a huge disap ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on September 9, 2016

Mo's a place for steaks was a huge disappointment. We made reservations Friday September 9, 2016 for a table for 6. I received a confirmation phone call to confirm our reservation at witch time I requested a round table or a table large enough to accommodate 6 adults comfortably. We were under the impression that Mo's had a dress code and according to your web page proper attire was expected. You may want to remove this from your webpage because you can wear whatever you please. Our reservation was for 7:00pm, we arrived at 6:55 only to be told by a waiter that someone was sitting at our table and that he would ask the Hostess to re-seat or re-locate him. This person was sitting by himself at this round table near the window. He was a large man (looked like he needed a shower) sitting at our table wearing a baseball cap, ragged shorts and stained t-shirt, and wearing a pair of worn out filthy running shoes. I asked the Hostess to ask him to move to another table and she informed me that he was a huge supporter or donor of Mo's and she didn't want to ask him to move. It is very important to note that, never at anytime did more than 3 people join him at this table. The Hostess original plan was to try to seat our group (6 adults) around a table for four but I asked her to get us a larger table so they put 2 tables together to give us room. All of the people in our group were appropriately dressed, the ladies in dress pants with nice tops, and the men in dress pants and collared pressed shirts, all of us wearing proper shoes. I told your Hostess of how upset we were with not only losing our table to a person dressed like he was and asked her if she or a manager could go over and ask him to at least remove his hat during dinner. This request also fell on deaf ears. Each couple spent close to $200.00 each, and the steaks and food were substandard to say the least. Mo's a place for steaks is an overrated, overpriced steak house well past its prime.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value1

Mo's was picked for a steak dinner, and ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

Mo's was picked for a steak dinner, and it didn't disappoint. The service was excellent, the food outstanding. I would recommend this restaurant to anyone looking to have a great steak dinner in a relaxed, pleasant atmosphere. Will definitely go back.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent service and great food! Highly ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

Excellent service and great food! Highly recommend

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

The evening at Mo's A Place for Steak wa ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on September 1, 2016

The evening at Mo's A Place for Steak was wonderful. We were celebrating a birthday and ended up enjoying Devour Downtown as well. The food was prepared perfectly, the drinks were great. NICE RECOMMENDATIONS! and the service was the cherry on top. Chris and John were so great. They were attentive, but not suffocating. They were funny and as I said, just made the evening the best.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Romantic, Fun, Good for Birthdays, Live Music, Modern Decor, Business Meals, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Went to Mo's for Devour Downtown. Most p ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on September 1, 2016

Went to Mo's for Devour Downtown. Most places skimp on the quality of their meat for devour downtown, but Mo's still has the best filet in Indianapolis, even during devour downtown.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

This was our first time dining at Mo's. ...

vip
 (Indiana)
·Dined on August 31, 2016

This was our first time dining at Mo's. We will definitely be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Great evening with my wife. Staff was a ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on August 30, 2016

Great evening with my wife. Staff was absolutely outstanding and the filet was awesome!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

I attended Mo's for the first time as pa ...

vip
 (Indiana)
·Dined on August 29, 2016

I attended Mo's for the first time as part of Devour Downtown week because they offered gluten-free options. I always use this week as a great way to try out new restaurants because you can try three courses for a great price. I was very impressed with the service, from the time that we entered until our entire party arrived through the end of the meal, the staff was extremely attentive and accommodating. On top of that, the food was excellent. My filet was very flavorful and prepared perfectly. I ended my meal with the creme brulee, which was creamy and delicious! I will certainly add Mo's to my list of regular eating establishments from now on.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Good for Groups, Gluten Free Options, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

Steak and sides were really good! The st ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

Steak and sides were really good! The steaks had a good seared crust on them and they were juicy. The desert was only average though.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

We absolutely loved our dining experienc ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on August 24, 2016

We absolutely loved our dining experience at Mo's. The staff was attentive but not intrusive, the food was excellent, outstanding quality of meat seasoned but not bathed and the ambience was relaxing and enjoyable. We will definitely dine there again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great food, nice place. Enjoyed the dev ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on August 23, 2016

Great food, nice place. Enjoyed the devour downtown menu. Probably would not go for the regular menu price as quite expensive.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Experience was lack luster at best! Deco ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on August 23, 2016

Experience was lack luster at best! Decor was same as the previous restaurant. This location seems to be the place restaurants go to die!

Very weird vibe and food was marginal !

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service2

Food was great. Had bone in rib eye. Se ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on August 23, 2016

Food was great. Had bone in rib eye.

Service was exceptional.

Tags: Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Happy Hour, Quiet Conversation, Live Sports
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Loved the Devour Indy promotion...$35 fo ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 22, 2016

Loved the Devour Indy promotion...$35 for the 3 course filet mignonette dinner. Excellent service and excellent food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We had an absolutely wonderful dinner. T ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 22, 2016

We had an absolutely wonderful dinner. The food was fantastic - perfectly cooked steak, delicious side dishes - paired with great cocktails and a great bottle of wine. The service was even better. Bob and Heather provided excellent service and made sure everything was great for us. Will absolutely return again and again to Mo's!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Our waiter, Robert, is the best! He is v ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

Our waiter, Robert, is the best! He is very knowledgeable of the menu and wine and gave us space to enjoy our dinner.

Tags: Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was my first dining experience at M ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on August 16, 2016

This was my first dining experience at Mo's and it was incredible! My friend Scott and I were celebrating both of our birthdays and it was the perfect place to do so. Everything from the atmosphere to food to wine to dessert to atmosphere was perfect. Jeffrey was the host when we arrived. He was personable, professional, genuine and we could tell he really enjoyed his work. Chris and John were our servers for the evening. They were attentive, personable, professional and did a great job. We will definitely return to enjoy another dinner. Thank you!

Tags: Business Meals, Romantic, Modern Decor, Good for Groups, Cozy, Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Delicious food and excellent service. T ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on August 15, 2016

Delicious food and excellent service. There was not one thing wrong with the entire dinner. Entree, sides, and drinks were all perfect.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Fireplace
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

I am so relieved to say that Mo's is bac ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

I am so relieved to say that Mo's is back where it belongs in the heart of downtown Indianapolis. I think you would be hard-pressed to find a better spot to dine than Mo's. The service is outstanding, the food was delectable, and I had a fantastic time celebrating my birthday with them. They even customized the menu to say "Happy Birthday, Robert" which made the occasion even more special.

Mo's comes highly recommended and is a fine dining establishment.

Tags: Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The service by TJ and staff was above av ...

vip
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

The service by TJ and staff was above average. We could never get our drink past the top 1/3rd of the glass before they were refilled. The manager stopped by twice to make sure things were going well and everyone greeted and took the time to say good-bye when we left. We had both steak and pasta dishes with our party of 6 and everyone commented on how great they were (the horseradish risotto was amazing). Wine list was not huge, but very workable with a wide variety not typically represented in a small menu. We had an awesome 2009 Pomerol with the cow and even the manager commented on the selection. We are at GenCon each year and typically hit St. Elmos, they were booked up this year and we were very glad that we were able to hit this unique and conveniently located food spot. Will be back next year for sure. Cheers!

Tags: Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Hot Spot, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The entire experience was over the top. ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on August 2, 2016

The entire experience was over the top. Big fan of Mortons Steak House but now we have two steak establishments to visit.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Our first visit to Moe's and we couldn't ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on July 13, 2016

Our first visit to Moe's and we couldn't be more pleased! The staff was very attentive and friendly. John and Natalie are top notch when it comes to service. The food was spectacular. My husband and I splurged and got the Kobe Wagyu steaks. They did not disappoint! Wine by the glass could have been a little more extensive but still enough options to find something that you like. Overall a wonderful experience!

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

Great atmosphere and service. Bone in f ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on June 23, 2016

Great atmosphere and service. Bone in filet and lobster mac-n-cheese are fantastic! The cookie desert is great for sharing.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Whenever I'm in the mood for steak this ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on June 23, 2016

Whenever I'm in the mood for steak this is the only place that satisfies. The best steak in Indy hands down. Phenomenonal service. Great atmosphere. Grab a seat near the piano and a bourbon, perfect!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The service was fabulous. I had to make ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on June 22, 2016

The service was fabulous. I had to make an unanticipated change in my reservation after it was made and the staff was very understanding about it all because I was having flowers delivered for the evening. Had an issue come up that required the change and the restaurant was more than accommodating. Highly recommend. Have been there before and will return as often as possible.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The best part of the night was the finis ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on June 20, 2016

The best part of the night was the finish with Crème Brulee. The rest of the meal was not very desirable. Sea Bass was overcooked and over pan fried. Beef was reasonable. Asparagus looked terrible and was virtually tasteless. We were also not impressed with the lobster mac that had such good reviews. Anyway, many other options for the hefty price. Wish I could tell you better, but our favorite will remain a different steak house and we will just stay away from Mo's.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value1

Very disappointed in the meal. Everythin ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Very disappointed in the meal. Everything was so salty we could barely eat it. Even the bread was salty. We couldn't figure out how it has such a high rating, definitely not deserved.

The waiter was very nice and acommodating, otherwise we will never go here again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service3
value1

Warm ambience, good wine and dinner menus.

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on June 9, 2016

The wait staff were very accommodating, very helpful. The selection of wines and the choices of entrees were quite good. If you like beef or pork, you will not be disappointed and you won't go hungry -- the size of the steaks and other meats was impressive so bring your appetite. The fact that the restaurant is connected to the hotel where we stayed is a nice feature especially in the wintertime. It is a pricey restaurant, but the portions are very generous, and it's in line with other restaurants in the area. I would definitely go back to Mo's.

Tags: Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Great friendly service. The restaurant w ...

vip
 (San Diego)
·Dined on May 23, 2016

Great friendly service. The restaurant was very quiet the night I went there. Staff are very nice and friendly and go out of their way to help.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great dinner and service! Glad to see Mo ...

vip
 (Indiana)
·Dined on May 20, 2016

Great dinner and service! Glad to see Mo's make a return to Indy!

Tags: Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

BEST STEAK I HAVE EVER HAD!!!!!!!!!! Tem ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on May 19, 2016

BEST STEAK I HAVE EVER HAD!!!!!!!!!! Temperature was perfect Med Rare, seasoning was great. The server recommended to add oscar style to my Prime Filet because I was craving seafood also got the Lobster Mac! My friends got the ribeye and kobe steaks. Those were amazing as well. Made my night, worth every penny! I took my left overs home, and had them for lunch, mouth watery food! Service was great, both servers were friendly and polite. The managers even stopped by to say hello! O and I almost forgot about the cookie, yum! Thank you Mo's, keep up the good work! Will be back!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Birthday girl

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on May 14, 2016

We heard great things about Mo's so we decided to try it ourselves . It was my birthday weekend and we wanted to go downtown Indianapolis. I made our dinner reservation with open table. The steak house was amazing! We had wonderful service and great food. Mo's staff made us feel very special. We will definitely visit Mo's again.

Tags: Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Do not waste $$$

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on May 12, 2016

Major buyers remorse. Food had no taste, had to douse steak in A1 sauce to get it down. Menus online is different. Used to be favorite steak joint in old location, new spot needs to be closed.

Poor value, not worth the price. Will never go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service4
value1

A must experience.

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on May 5, 2016

If you're looking for a very well rounded upper end dining experience, Mo's is a place you must experience. The food is exceptional and the service is unmatched. If you're looking for something special, this is your place.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Awesome Service!!!

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on April 30, 2016

We went to Mo's with some friends on a Saturday night. Our server was Bob and he was one of the best servers EVER! He was super attentive and although I certainly wouldn't call Mo's a family dining establishment (i.e. no kids menu so our two year old ate from our plates), Bob and the other staff at Mo's were very friendly and attentive to my two year old as well. I had the filet with the oscar topping and it was full of fabulous flavor and my husband had the special (similar to the dainty lady) and loved it. We also ordered the kung pao calimari which was good. Mo's prices are kin of steep, similar to the other Indy high end steak houses, but I think it is well worth it! The service and food were fabulous - we will definitely be back!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Our server was very good and the food wa ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on April 23, 2016

Our server was very good and the food was excellent

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.