About Mo's A Place For Steaks - Indianapolis

15 E Maryland
Indianapolis, IN 46204
View Larger Map

Mo’s...A Place for Steaks has an ambiance others strive for. A sexy yet sophisticated feel, combined with great food and unmatched service create a customized dining experience. It’s not just the wet-aged steaks that arrive beautifully cut, cooked and plated, or the extensive wine list: Mo’s is a luxury that feels luxurious. Settle deep into a leather chair, listen to tunes playing on the baby grand or relax on the patio while sipping a martini and think just how good it feels to be you!

Culinary delights don’t end with the steaks – you’ll find a wide selection of delicious entrees, appetizers, sides and desserts.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steak

Hours of Operation:
Hours of Operation
Monday - Friday: 5pm - 11pm
Saturday: 5pm - 12am
Sunday: 5 p.m. – 12 a.m.

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(317) 635-0720

Website:
http://www.mosaplaceforsteaks.com/indy

Entertainment:
We have live piano Tuesday-Saturday

Parking Details:
Our Valet parking is your best option and you will receive exceptional service from Elite Management.

The are 2 additional parking lots close to the restaurant both located on Maryland St

Special Events & Promotions:
Let us help you with those special events in your personal and professional life! Whether it's before a Colts game, birthday, rehearsal dinner, business meeting, holiday party or just a night out with friends, we can accommodate multiple size parties! See our private dining section for more information.

Restaurant Photos

  • Bar  - Mo's A Place For Steaks - Indianapolis, Indianapolis, IN
  • Browning Private Room - Mo's A Place For Steaks - Indianapolis, Indianapolis, IN
  • Mo's A Place For Steaks - Indianapolis, Indianapolis, IN
  • Mo's A Place For Steaks - Indianapolis, Indianapolis, IN
  • Mo's A Place For Steaks - Indianapolis, Indianapolis, IN

Report a photo problem

Bar  - Mo's A Place For Steaks - Indianapolis, Indianapolis, IN
Browning Private Room - Mo's A Place For Steaks - Indianapolis, Indianapolis, IN

Private Dining

Choose from 3 beautiful rooms or a complete buy-out of the whole restaurant! You will enjoy our attentive staff the moment your party arrives!

Mo's A Place For Steaks - Indianapolis Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.9

ambience

4.5

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (24)
Good for a Date (19)
Good for Anniversaries (17)
See All
Quiet Conversation (17)
Romantic (15)
Business Meals (14)
Cozy (12)
Worth the Drive (11)
Private Room (9)
Fit for Foodies (9)
Handcrafted Cocktails (9)
Pre/post Theatre (9)
Good for Groups (8)
Good for Birthdays (8)
Notable Wine List (7)
Fireplace (7)
Live Music (5)
People Watching (5)
Creative Cuisine (4)
Modern Decor (4)
Comfort Food (3)
Casual (3)
Bar Seating (3)
Kid-friendly (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Scenic View (2)
Outstanding Value (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Live Sports (2)
Disabled Access (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Great Beer (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Historic (1)
Fun (1)
Family Style (1)
Sort By:
S
226 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Have ate at most of the good steak house ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined 5 days ago

Have ate at most of the good steak houses in Indy and thought we would try Mo's as We had not been there before, honestly almost cancelled the reservation as I knew very little about the place. Was very glad we didn't cancel and ended up eating probably the best meal we have had in Indy. The same week we are at St Elmo's which was good and Prime 47 and I can say while they are both excellent Mo's was the best. Service was great , atmosphere was great. Piano was excellent even though we were very close and it was a little loud!

Highly recommend MO's

Tags: Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Steaks were excellent and cooked to perf ...

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on January 7, 2017

Steaks were excellent and cooked to perfection! We will definitely tell friends to go and checkout! Very good meal before a Pacers game!

Tags: Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Private Room, Scenic View, Fireplace, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

My husband and I enjoyed our first exper ...

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on January 1, 2017

My husband and I enjoyed our first experience at Mo's. I'm a picking steak eater and the Cheif prepare my stark right in the first try. I was impressed. My husband loved the salmon dish. We will definitely be back.

Tags: Fireplace, Quiet Conversation, Tasting Menu, Modern Decor, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Family Style, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Had a delicious dinner, after attending ...

 
 (SW Indiana)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Had a delicious dinner, after attending a Pacers game. We had 7:00 reservations, we arrived at 6:55, and were promptly seated. The waiting staff is probably the best we have ever experienced. Very courteous and professional, but not snobbish in any way. Our steaks were cooked to perfection. The sides of mac and cheese, and even the fries were on point. The tomato basil soup was so good, even our picky 12 year old devoured it. Our waitress was correct to suggest the half baked cookie and ice cream for dessert. It was amazing. 3 filets, 2 salads, one soup, a side of mac and cheese and fries (served family style, was plenty for all 3 of us), dessert, a soft drink, and 3 glasses of wine. Well worth $204, after taxes. I highly recommend.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My family was from out of town and I wan ...

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on December 27, 2016

My family was from out of town and I wanted to have a nice dinner for my son's birthday. My brother in law suggested Mo's and I could not have been happier. The serves was top notch and the staff treated us like family. without my knowledge my brother in law wrote an email to Mo's telling them about the birthday and that there you be a veteran with thirty years of service at the table. Mo's pulled out the stops and brought some very nice presents to the table. I thank all the employees of Mo's for the wonderful evening and making my son feel special. I will visit Mo's again upon my return to Indianapolis. You should too, you will not be disappointed.

Tags: Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

The steak was cooked peefect

vip
 (Indiana)·Dined on December 21, 2016

The steak was cooked peefect

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Very attentive service; the food present ...

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on December 17, 2016

Very attentive service; the food presentation wasn't great but a very nice place for a pre-Yuletide family dinner. We enjoyed our meal

Tags: Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Service and food was excellent !

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on December 12, 2016

Service and food was excellent !

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Visited Mo's for a wonderful dinner with ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 11, 2016

Visited Mo's for a wonderful dinner with friends in from out-of-town. While this was not my first visit to Mo's, it was as always a fantastic experience. This visit once again solidified its status as my go-to restaurant when friends are visiting and we want to go out to a nice dinner, especially to get a great steak.

They have what I consider to be the best steaks in town, and they are cooked to perfection on each visit. And as if the food weren't enough, the service is impeccable. Bob was our server, and he made us feel very special and took great care of our every need. Our meal was well-timed and there was never a time we felt rushed, nor had to wait long for anything.

Even on a very busy night in the restaurant, we received great service and had a wonderful dinner. Would highly recommend to anyone looking for a great fine dining experience downtown.

Tags: People Watching, Private Room, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Fireplace, Modern Decor, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Notable Wine List, Handcrafted Cocktails, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Kung pow calamari is a must try appetiz ...

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on December 10, 2016

Kung pow calamari is a must try appetizer. Great staff and food will definitely come back next year!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

A great option to the ever popular St. E ...

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on December 10, 2016

A great option to the ever popular St. Elmos! Loved it and will be back!

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Business Meals, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Outstanding steaks The bartender Zenon ...

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on December 7, 2016

Outstanding steaks

The bartender Zenon makes it!

Drinks are the best. Eat at the bar

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Historic, , Good for Anniversaries, Live Music, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Good restaurant in a perfect location to ...

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on December 7, 2016

Good restaurant in a perfect location to Banker's Life Field. They let us Valet and leave our car to walk the 1 block to the show. Food and service was excellent. Owner stopped by and was very friendly. A little pricy for me, but probably not for the area.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Live Sports, Business Meals, Sunday Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

the service is great. I mean the best s ...

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on December 7, 2016

the service is great. I mean the best service ive ever received. the food, the tomato soup was really good, the bread was over cooked/ burnt, and I had chosen to get the 9 oz kobe fillet mignon.. first off, let me say this is not true kobe beef.. and second, I've been a meat cutter for a good while now, the 9oz steak was more like a 6, and the outside of this much smaller, less marbled steak I received was burnt, literally about 60-70 percent of it was black but you cut into it and it was on the line of raw and rare, I ordered medium rare... Ithings was great service but may want to look for new cutters and chefs.

Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value2

My girlfriend booked a table for my birt ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 4, 2016

My girlfriend booked a table for my birthday. We wanted to go to Mo's as it is my favorite restaurant downtown.

With the holiday season, they were very busy, but still made my birthday a wonderful experience. We were seated promptly at our reservation time. We started with pre-dinner cocktails. Their martinis are wonderful - especially the cucumber one. We received great service for drinks as well as our dinner. Bob and Mackenzie took great care of us, and made sure that the evening was absolutely wonderful for my birthday.

The steaks were great, the side dishes were delicious, and if you haven't tried their half-baked cookie with ice cream, you are missing out. It was a great way to wrap up my birthday dinner, and I couldn't have been happier with our experience there.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Bar Seating, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Fireplace, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

First time visiting, and the service was ...

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on November 29, 2016

First time visiting, and the service was excellent! The steak was a little more done than I expected/liked, but it was still tender and delicious. Very good spot for celebrating my wife's birthday. We will be back.

Tags: People Watching, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Elizabeth makes this place complete. Sh ...

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on November 23, 2016

Elizabeth makes this place complete. She went over the top for the birthday celebration we had there. Every time we dine at Mo's she goes out of her way to make sure you had a great dining experience. The whole staff is very friendly and professional. I love their steaks and home made bread is outstanding. You will not be disappointed with the service and food for the value.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Service was outstanding and food present ...

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on November 22, 2016

Service was outstanding and food presentation and flavor excellent. Valet parking available right at the front door is a huge PLUS!

Tags: Romantic, Live Sports, Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Disabled Access, Casual, Quiet Conversation, Comfort Food, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Visited this restaurant with a colleague ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 16, 2016

Visited this restaurant with a colleague from Missouri. He always enjoys a good steak, and wanted to try a new steakhouse in Indy that he hadn't been to yet, so we picked Mo's.

We met at the bar first and enjoyed some wonderful cocktails crafted by Zenin. The drinks were superb and it was a nice relaxing start to dinner. Once seated at our table, we had the opportunity to peruse the extensive wine list, and look over the menu. Throughout dinner, we never had to wait too long for anything, and were able to enjoy every part of our meal. The wine was great, and the food, even better. The Kobe filets were incredibly and cooked perfectly, and the sides complemented the meal well.

Our server Bob was attentive and made sure we never wanted for anything. It was far and above the best experience my colleague has had dining downtown. We will visit this steakhouse time and time again!

Tags: Good for a Date, Fireplace, Quiet Conversation, Pre/post Theatre, Bar Seating, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My wife and I enjoyed the 6oz filet mign ...

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on November 12, 2016

My wife and I enjoyed the 6oz filet mignon with creamed corn as a shared side. Both were delicious. The steak was so tender we could have cut it with a butter knife. Cudos to the chef. Our wait staff Bob was outstanding. We will recommend MO's A Place For Steaks to our family and friends as the best steak we ever have eaten.

Tags: Romantic, Casual, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Cozy, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Dine here frequently personally and prof ...

vip
 (Indiana)·Dined on November 9, 2016

Dine here frequently personally and professionally. Whether it's a dinner for two or I'm entertaining clients the service and food is always A+. I would recommend this to anyone who wants good food, good service and a great atmosphere!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food and service. Elizabeth is out ...

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Great food and service. Elizabeth is outstanding at what she does. She will make sure that your dining experience is over the top. Great staff and very professional.

Tags: Romantic, Cozy, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

The good: The service was amazing. It se ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on November 5, 2016

The good: The service was amazing. It seemed like the servers showed up exactly when they needed to, but not hovering over you. They were great. I loved that

The bad: The steak was way overpriced for the quality. That actually goes for all of the food there. We should have gone to the steakhouse around the corner.

Mo's, a place for service, not for steaks.

Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service5
value1

Excellent service!!!!!

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on October 26, 2016

Excellent service!!!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Steak was very good, but medium warm whe ...

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on October 23, 2016

Steak was very good, but medium warm when presented. It was put on a blank plate no garnish, etc. side dishes were lukewarm.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service5
value3

Food was sub par at best. A hair was fou ...

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on October 22, 2016

Food was sub par at best. A hair was found in our butter, my husbands steak was seriously undercooked and both meals were very bland. The manager sat at the bar and never once apologized for our meal . we won't be back and definitely won't be referring friends. There are so many great places in Indy for a great steak

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service4
value1

as always the staff was incredible and t ...

vip
 (Indiana)·Dined on October 21, 2016

as always the staff was incredible and the food was outstanding the best steak place in Indy o

Tags: Cozy, Fun, Good for a Date, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Good for Groups, Handcrafted Cocktails, Private Room, People Watching, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Wonderful food, wine and service. I wou ...

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on October 15, 2016

Wonderful food, wine and service. I would recommend this steakhouse over any other steakhouse.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Business Meals, Notable Wine List, Private Room, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent bone in fillet! Would recomme ...

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on October 7, 2016

Excellent bone in fillet!

Would recommend any staying downtown to give it a try. Better than the big name steakhouses.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

The food is spectacular and the service ...

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on October 5, 2016

The food is spectacular and the service is excellent. We probably dine there 2-3 times/month, it's that good. You will be made to feel welcome from the time you set foot in the door.

Tags: Private Room, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Good for Groups, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Took my college daughter for special nig ...

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on September 24, 2016

Took my college daughter for special night out . . . get the cookie for dessert when you go!!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Dine as often as I can at Moe's. Great ...

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on September 20, 2016

Dine as often as I can at Moe's. Great place, especially with large business meals. Excellent food and service.

Tags: Private Room, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Filet and asparagus, as well as the serv ...

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on September 16, 2016

Filet and asparagus, as well as the service, were excellent. Ordered the sea scallops for an appetizer which had too much hot sauce on it, which detracted from the taste of the scallops.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Food was amazing as always but service w ...

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on September 11, 2016

Food was amazing as always but service was a little on the slow side which keep us guessing when are food was coming .

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value4

Service and food was excellent...never f ...

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on September 10, 2016

Service and food was excellent...never felt rushed and waiters gave us lots of attention and info cause it was our first time there!!!

Tags: Good for a Date, Business Meals, Quiet Conversation, Fun, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Mo's a place for steaks was a huge disap ...

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on September 9, 2016

Mo's a place for steaks was a huge disappointment. We made reservations Friday September 9, 2016 for a table for 6. I received a confirmation phone call to confirm our reservation at witch time I requested a round table or a table large enough to accommodate 6 adults comfortably. We were under the impression that Mo's had a dress code and according to your web page proper attire was expected. You may want to remove this from your webpage because you can wear whatever you please. Our reservation was for 7:00pm, we arrived at 6:55 only to be told by a waiter that someone was sitting at our table and that he would ask the Hostess to re-seat or re-locate him. This person was sitting by himself at this round table near the window. He was a large man (looked like he needed a shower) sitting at our table wearing a baseball cap, ragged shorts and stained t-shirt, and wearing a pair of worn out filthy running shoes. I asked the Hostess to ask him to move to another table and she informed me that he was a huge supporter or donor of Mo's and she didn't want to ask him to move. It is very important to note that, never at anytime did more than 3 people join him at this table. The Hostess original plan was to try to seat our group (6 adults) around a table for four but I asked her to get us a larger table so they put 2 tables together to give us room. All of the people in our group were appropriately dressed, the ladies in dress pants with nice tops, and the men in dress pants and collared pressed shirts, all of us wearing proper shoes. I told your Hostess of how upset we were with not only losing our table to a person dressed like he was and asked her if she or a manager could go over and ask him to at least remove his hat during dinner. This request also fell on deaf ears. Each couple spent close to $200.00 each, and the steaks and food were substandard to say the least. Mo's a place for steaks is an overrated, overpriced steak house well past its prime.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value1

Mo's was picked for a steak dinner, and ...

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on September 3, 2016

Mo's was picked for a steak dinner, and it didn't disappoint. The service was excellent, the food outstanding. I would recommend this restaurant to anyone looking to have a great steak dinner in a relaxed, pleasant atmosphere. Will definitely go back.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent service and great food! Highly ...

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on September 3, 2016

Excellent service and great food! Highly recommend

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

The evening at Mo's A Place for Steak wa ...

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on September 1, 2016

The evening at Mo's A Place for Steak was wonderful. We were celebrating a birthday and ended up enjoying Devour Downtown as well. The food was prepared perfectly, the drinks were great. NICE RECOMMENDATIONS! and the service was the cherry on top. Chris and John were so great. They were attentive, but not suffocating. They were funny and as I said, just made the evening the best.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Romantic, Fun, Good for Birthdays, Live Music, Modern Decor, Business Meals, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Went to Mo's for Devour Downtown. Most p ...

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on September 1, 2016

Went to Mo's for Devour Downtown. Most places skimp on the quality of their meat for devour downtown, but Mo's still has the best filet in Indianapolis, even during devour downtown.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.