About Mo's A Place For Steaks - Indianapolis

15 E Maryland
Indianapolis, IN 46204
View Larger Map

Mo’s...A Place for Steaks has an ambiance others strive for. A sexy yet sophisticated feel, combined with great food and unmatched service create a customized dining experience. It’s not just the wet-aged steaks that arrive beautifully cut, cooked and plated, or the extensive wine list: Mo’s is a luxury that feels luxurious. Settle deep into a leather chair, listen to tunes playing on the baby grand or relax on the patio while sipping a martini and think just how good it feels to be you!

Culinary delights don’t end with the steaks – you’ll find a wide selection of delicious entrees, appetizers, sides and desserts.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steak

Hours of Operation:
Hours of Operation
Monday - Friday: 5pm - 11pm
Saturday: 5pm - 12am
Sunday: 5 p.m. – 12 a.m.

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(317) 635-0720

Website:
http://www.mosaplaceforsteaks.com/indy

Entertainment:
We have live piano Tuesday-Saturday

Parking Details:
Our Valet parking is your best option and you will receive exceptional service from Elite Management.

The are 2 additional parking lots close to the restaurant both located on Maryland St

Special Events & Promotions:
Let us help you with those special events in your personal and professional life! Whether it's before a Colts game, birthday, rehearsal dinner, business meeting, holiday party or just a night out with friends, we can accommodate multiple size parties! See our private dining section for more information.

Restaurant Photos

  • Mo's A Place For Steaks - Indianapolis
  • Mo's A Place For Steaks - Indianapolis
  • Mo's A Place For Steaks - Indianapolis
  • Mo's A Place For Steaks - Indianapolis
  • Mo's A Place For Steaks - Indianapolis
Mo's A Place For Steaks - Indianapolis
Mo's A Place For Steaks - Indianapolis
Mo's A Place For Steaks - Indianapolis
Mo's A Place For Steaks - Indianapolis
Mo's A Place For Steaks - Indianapolis

Private Dining

Choose from 3 beautiful rooms or a complete buy-out of the whole restaurant! You will enjoy our attentive staff the moment your party arrives!

Mo's A Place For Steaks - Indianapolis Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.8

ambience

4.4

noise

Moderate

85% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Service
Indiana
Best Ambiance
Indiana
Best Overall
Indianapolis
3 More
Best Service
Indianapolis
Best Ambiance
Indianapolis
Steak
Indianapolis
Best Restaurants in Downtown Indy ›

special occasion (31)
good for groups (14)
romantic (13)
See All
fit for foodies (12)
notable wine list (7)
hot spot (4)
neighborhood gem (4)
kid-friendly (3)
scenic view (2)
late-night find (1)
great for lunch (1)
vibrant bar scene (1)
Sort By:
Newest
168 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great atmosphere and service. Bone in f ...

Dined 6 days ago

Great atmosphere and service. Bone in filet and lobster mac-n-cheese are fantastic! The cookie desert is great for sharing.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Whenever I'm in the mood for steak this ...

Dined 6 days ago

Whenever I'm in the mood for steak this is the only place that satisfies. The best steak in Indy hands down. Phenomenonal service. Great atmosphere. Grab a seat near the piano and a bourbon, perfect!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, hot spot, notable wine list
food2
ambience2
service3
value1

The best part of the night was the finis ...

Dined on June 20, 2016

The best part of the night was the finish with Crème Brulee. The rest of the meal was not very desirable. Sea Bass was overcooked and over pan fried. Beef was reasonable. Asparagus looked terrible and was virtually tasteless. We were also not impressed with the lobster mac that had such good reviews. Anyway, many other options for the hefty price. Wish I could tell you better, but our favorite will remain a different steak house and we will just stay away from Mo's.

food1
ambience1
service3
value1

Very disappointed in the meal. Everythin ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

Very disappointed in the meal. Everything was so salty we could barely eat it. Even the bread was salty. We couldn't figure out how it has such a high rating, definitely not deserved. The waiter was very nice and acommodating, otherwise we will never go here again.

food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Warm ambience, good wine and dinner menus.

Dined on June 9, 2016

The wait staff were very accommodating, very helpful. The selection of wines and the choices of entrees were quite good. If you like beef or pork, you will not be disappointed and you won't go hungry -- the size of the steaks and other meats was impressive so bring your appetite. The fact that the restaurant is connected to the hotel where we stayed is a nice feature especially in the wintertime. It is a pricey restaurant, but the portions are very generous, and it's in line with other restaurants in the area. I would definitely go back to Mo's.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great friendly service. The restaurant w ...

vip
Dined on May 23, 2016

Great friendly service. The restaurant was very quiet the night I went there. Staff are very nice and friendly and go out of their way to help.

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great dinner and service! Glad to see Mo ...

vip
Dined on May 20, 2016

Great dinner and service! Glad to see Mo's make a return to Indy!

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

BEST STEAK I HAVE EVER HAD!!!!!!!!!! Tem ...

Dined on May 19, 2016

BEST STEAK I HAVE EVER HAD!!!!!!!!!! Temperature was perfect Med Rare, seasoning was great. The server recommended to add oscar style to my Prime Filet because I was craving seafood also got the Lobster Mac! My friends got the ribeye and kobe steaks. Those were amazing as well. Made my night, worth every penny! I took my left overs home, and had them for lunch, mouth watery food! Service was great, both servers were friendly and polite. The managers even stopped by to say hello! O and I almost forgot about the cookie, yum! Thank you Mo's, keep up the good work! Will be back!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Birthday girl

Dined on May 14, 2016

We heard great things about Mo's so we decided to try it ourselves . It was my birthday weekend and we wanted to go downtown Indianapolis. I made our dinner reservation with open table. The steak house was amazing! We had wonderful service and great food. Mo's staff made us feel very special. We will definitely visit Mo's again.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion
food1
ambience1
service4
value1

Do not waste $$$

Dined on May 12, 2016

Major buyers remorse. Food had no taste, had to douse steak in A1 sauce to get it down. Menus online is different. Used to be favorite steak joint in old location, new spot needs to be closed. Poor value, not worth the price. Will never go back.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A must experience.

Dined on May 5, 2016

If you're looking for a very well rounded upper end dining experience, Mo's is a place you must experience. The food is exceptional and the service is unmatched. If you're looking for something special, this is your place.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Awesome Service!!!

Dined on April 30, 2016

We went to Mo's with some friends on a Saturday night. Our server was Bob and he was one of the best servers EVER! He was super attentive and although I certainly wouldn't call Mo's a family dining establishment (i.e. no kids menu so our two year old ate from our plates), Bob and the other staff at Mo's were very friendly and attentive to my two year old as well. I had the filet with the oscar topping and it was full of fabulous flavor and my husband had the special (similar to the dainty lady) and loved it. We also ordered the kung pao calimari which was good. Mo's prices are kin of steep, similar to the other Indy high end steak houses, but I think it is well worth it! The service and food were fabulous - we will definitely be back!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Our server was very good and the food wa ...

Dined on April 23, 2016

Our server was very good and the food was excellent

Tags: special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Another great experience

Dined on April 22, 2016

Another great experience

food5
ambience5
service5

Great place for a business dinner.

Dined on April 13, 2016

Great place for a business dinner.

food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Awesome

Dined on April 9, 2016

My wife and I had never dined at restaurant with that kind of service. It wasn't a special night starting out but once we got to Moe's it became very special for us. Our waiters were very good at keep things clean and in order. You can't put a price on a special night out with my wife of 35 years. We will definitely be back and hope to bring some of our family and friends. Awesome job to all the people who work there.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience4
service5

Outstanding food and service!!

Dined on April 8, 2016

Outstanding food and service!!

food4
ambience1
service4
value3

Piano player

vip
Dined on March 12, 2016

The cacophony coming from the piano player made it impossible to enjoy a good food-quality meal

food5
ambience5
service5

First time at Mo's, we will be back!

vip
Dined on March 1, 2016

First time at Mo's, we will be back!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best Dining Experience

vip
Dined on February 19, 2016

I have dined all over the world and Mo's is the BEST for overall dining experience.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Live music, great food and awesome service!

Dined on February 18, 2016

Ate here with two colleagues. I had the sea bass which was amazing. I had a bite of one colleague's pork chop and it was to die for. The live piano music was so relaxing and just made a nice finish to our evening and time in Indy.

Tags: good for groups, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience3
service4

We went on a Monday night so it was real ...

vip
Dined on February 16, 2016

We went on a Monday night so it was really quite. This was my first time in the new location. The bone-in ribeye seemed delicious...my buddy really enjoyed it. My other friend had the filet. It was a great atmosphere for our business discussion.

food3
ambience4
service5

Our "medium" steaks were described by th ...

Dined on February 14, 2016

Our "medium" steaks were described by the server as to be expected to have a "hot, pink center", and in fact they were correctly cooked -- but by the time they arrived at our table, mine was like warm and my wife's was cold. To the restaurant's credit, without our even saying anything, the serving staff recognized that our expressions while we ate were disappointed, asked about the temperatures, offered to warm it up, and late brought a free desert over to try and make things better. We were disappointed with the food in this one case because of the temperature of the steaks, but otherwise it was a very nice place.

food3
ambience5
service3
value3

Good service, very long wait, still recommend

vip
Dined on February 14, 2016

Our server was great. The ambiance is romantic and I love that they valet. However, once we placed our order, it took about 2 hours to get our food! Then, 2 of the steaks ordered were over cooked (including the kobe) and some items ordered were missing :( After complaining to the manager, he assured me this is not normally how they do business and comped our meal. Because of the actions of management, I feel we will give this resturant another try.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Great Place

Dined on February 13, 2016

Appetizer was the calamari and shrimp and it was huge and tasted great. Family style so you order a side and you get enough to serve 3 or 4. The steaks were amazing. We had the Kobe, Certified, and Prime and all were great. Not sure you need to upgrade. The service was amazing. We were there on a very cold and windy day seated near the door and on of us asked for their coat since they were cold. They brought out a windscreen, a coffee, and a hot compress. Cream Brulee was our favorite dessert, the chocolate cake was very good as well.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great Experience

Dined on February 12, 2016

My wife and I came to Mo's the Friday before Valentine's Day. We've been to a number of Indy steak joints but never Mo's. I wish we would have found it sooner! It was excellent- everything from the bread to the steak!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best Steaks ever

Dined on February 7, 2016

Have eaten there twice, both times the food was great .

Tags: romantic, special occasion, late-night find
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Love Mo's. Coming to be a favorite.

Dined on February 7, 2016

We love an excuse to go to Mo's to celebrate a birthday or anniversary. The last couple years they have not dissapointed.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food3
ambience2
service4
value3

Disappointing

Dined on February 6, 2016

We went to Mo's original location several years ago on a nice summer evening and had an excellent meal. This time, however, was quite disappointing. We went during Devour Downtown, which we view as a time to try new places, go back to places we've been, etc., and feel the restaurants have an opportunity to really entice you to come back. However we were rushed from the moment we sat down until we left. We picked a nice bottle of wine, and would have had a 2nd had we not felt rushed. The salads came out almost immediately, and the entrees within 10 minutes. Some of us weren't done with our salads! The steaks were mixed up, one was butterflied that shouldn't have been, and one was undercooked. We swapped around ourselves and everyone was relatively happy. Dessert was a wonderful chocolate cake or crème brulee. Get this....the crème brulee was served in a tinfoil cup! I kid you not. Will I go back? Nope, we can spend $148 on a meal for the 2 of us anyplace in town and have a much better meal and experience.

food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Excellent food & service

Dined on February 5, 2016

Food was outstanding & service was excellent. Overall ambience was so – so for us. Decor and vibe was underwhelming but the food itself was wonderful.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful Gem !!

Dined on February 3, 2016

Very happy with service from beginning to end. Wonderful staff that was both helpful and knowledgeable. Superior staff, service, and most importantly the food was fantastic. I bring business customers to Mo's and always have been satisfied. Thank you for a wonderful evening!

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Special Place!

Dined on February 3, 2016

Mo's was fantastic! Everything from the food, to the service, to the music was perfect, outstanding, and special. We will definetly be coming back here!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Nice way to celebrate a birthday!

vip
Dined on February 2, 2016

The kid-friendly nod is if you have well behaved children that know how to act in public. Assuming you do, the staff did a really nice job making special accommodations for our 8 year old. They made both our 8 and 16 year old feel special and welcome. The food was really very good; although, the only thing I found to be disappointing was the Lobster Bisque - it was not on par with the rest of the items in terms of quantity or quality of lobster meat added.

Tags: kid-friendly, special occasion
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

Great food, decent service

Dined on February 2, 2016

First time visiting Mo's and it was an overall positive experience. The one thing that set me back a bit was that the "Devour Downtown" event was going on...The first thing that our waiter said when we were seated was: "I assume you gentlemen are here for the $45 Devour Downtown menu..." I had taken a business group there as I had heard good things. The comment and tone from our server felt short and unnecessary. After that comment, it just soured me for the evening. Other than that, the food was excellent and (aside from the slighted comment), the service was exceptional.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful Service, Food, and location

Dined on February 1, 2016

We took clients there before a Pacers game. The food was delicious, the service excellent. The servers made sure we enjoyed our meal but still made it to the game. I asked for a quiet table and they delivered. The sea bass and the steaks were perfectly prepared and delicious. No one left anything on their plate! Highly recommend, especially if you are staying at the Hampton which connects to this restaurant.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food4
ambience3
service4

Typical steakhouse setup. A little noisy ...

vip
Dined on January 31, 2016

Typical steakhouse setup. A little noisy, recommend chossing a table away from the bar area. Filet was excellent. Worth a the trip.

food5
ambience5
service5

Had a wonderful time celebrating a birth ...

Dined on January 30, 2016

Had a wonderful time celebrating a birthday. The food was great (crab cake appetizer then filet and pork chop entrees). Really nice piano music!

food5
ambience4
service5

I had a great filet!

Dined on January 29, 2016

I had a great filet!

food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Nice Ambience and Good Steaks

Dined on January 28, 2016

Pros: 1. Nice ambiance with real piano playing in background 2. Wide selections of steak 3. Free and gourmet bread to begin 4. Very good service 5. Reasonable price Cons: 1. Not-so-impressive appetizers (mostly are fried) 2. Other than steaks nothing much Bottomline If you want to find a steak restaurant that still constitutes find dinning experience this is the only place

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, late-night find
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Outstanding Value, Food & Service

Dined on January 25, 2016

Six of us gathered at Mo's to take advantage of the Devour Downtown promotional menu and to celebrate a birthday. The service was properly attentive, without being intrusive. Our server was knowledgeable, friendly and responsive to our needs / desires. The food was terrific and an outstanding value through the Devour promotion. The 6 oz filet, served with the horseradish mashed potatoes and sautéed mushrooms, was flavorful and delicious. Highly recommend a visit.

Tags: good for groups

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.