About Mo's A Place For Steaks - Indianapolis

15 E Maryland
Indianapolis, IN 46204
View Larger Map

Mo’s...A Place for Steaks has an ambiance others strive for. A sexy yet sophisticated feel, combined with great food and unmatched service create a customized dining experience. It’s not just the wet-aged steaks that arrive beautifully cut, cooked and plated, or the extensive wine list: Mo’s is a luxury that feels luxurious. Settle deep into a leather chair, listen to tunes playing on the baby grand or relax on the patio while sipping a martini and think just how good it feels to be you!

Culinary delights don’t end with the steaks – you’ll find a wide selection of delicious entrees, appetizers, sides and desserts.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steak

Hours of Operation:
Hours of Operation
Monday - Friday: 5pm - 11pm
Saturday: 5pm - 12am
Sunday: 5 p.m. – 12 a.m.

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(317) 635-0720

Website:
http://www.mosaplaceforsteaks.com/indy

Entertainment:
We have live piano Tuesday-Saturday

Parking Details:
Our Valet parking is your best option and you will receive exceptional service from Elite Management.

The are 2 additional parking lots close to the restaurant both located on Maryland St

Special Events & Promotions:
Let us help you with those special events in your personal and professional life! Whether it's before a Colts game, birthday, rehearsal dinner, business meeting, holiday party or just a night out with friends, we can accommodate multiple size parties! See our private dining section for more information.

Restaurant Photos

  • Bar  - Mo's A Place For Steaks - Indianapolis, Indianapolis, IN
  • Browning Private Room - Mo's A Place For Steaks - Indianapolis, Indianapolis, IN
  • Mo's A Place For Steaks - Indianapolis, Indianapolis, IN
  • Mo's A Place For Steaks - Indianapolis, Indianapolis, IN
  • Mo's A Place For Steaks - Indianapolis, Indianapolis, IN
Bar  - Mo's A Place For Steaks - Indianapolis, Indianapolis, IN
Browning Private Room - Mo's A Place For Steaks - Indianapolis, Indianapolis, IN
Mo's A Place For Steaks - Indianapolis, Indianapolis, IN
Mo's A Place For Steaks - Indianapolis, Indianapolis, IN
Mo's A Place For Steaks - Indianapolis, Indianapolis, IN

Private Dining

Choose from 3 beautiful rooms or a complete buy-out of the whole restaurant! You will enjoy our attentive staff the moment your party arrives!

Mo's A Place For Steaks - Indianapolis Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.8

ambience

4.5

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Indiana
Best Service
Indiana
Steak
Indiana
6 More
Best Overall
Indianapolis
Best Food
Indianapolis
Best Service
Indianapolis
Best Value
Indianapolis
Special Occasion
Indianapolis
Steak
Indianapolis
Best Restaurants in Downtown Indy ›

Special Occasion (32)
Good for a Date (26)
Romantic (21)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (21)
Quiet Conversation (19)
Business Meals (12)
Good for Groups (12)
Good for Birthdays (10)
Fit for Foodies (10)
Cozy (10)
Pre/post Theatre (9)
Worth the Drive (8)
Handcrafted Cocktails (8)
Private Room (8)
Notable Wine List (7)
Fun (5)
Live Music (5)
Fireplace (4)
Comfort Food (4)
People Watching (4)
Casual (4)
Modern Decor (4)
Local Ingredients (2)
Outstanding Value (2)
Live Sports (2)
Neighborhood Gem (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Happy Hour (1)
Bar Seating (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Seasonal (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Historic (1)
Scenic View (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Creative Cuisine (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Great Beer (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Sort By:
S
210 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

First time visiting, and the service was ...

 
 (Indiana)·Dined 4 days ago

First time visiting, and the service was excellent! The steak was a little more done than I expected/liked, but it was still tender and delicious. Very good spot for celebrating my wife's birthday. We will be back.

Tags: People Watching, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Elizabeth makes this place complete. Sh ...

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on November 23, 2016

Elizabeth makes this place complete. She went over the top for the birthday celebration we had there. Every time we dine at Mo's she goes out of her way to make sure you had a great dining experience. The whole staff is very friendly and professional. I love their steaks and home made bread is outstanding. You will not be disappointed with the service and food for the value.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Service was outstanding and food present ...

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on November 22, 2016

Service was outstanding and food presentation and flavor excellent. Valet parking available right at the front door is a huge PLUS!

Tags: Romantic, Live Sports, Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Disabled Access, Casual, Quiet Conversation, Comfort Food, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

My wife and I enjoyed the 6oz filet mign ...

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on November 12, 2016

My wife and I enjoyed the 6oz filet mignon with creamed corn as a shared side. Both were delicious. The steak was so tender we could have cut it with a butter knife. Cudos to the chef. Our wait staff Bob was outstanding. We will recommend MO's A Place For Steaks to our family and friends as the best steak we ever have eaten.

Tags: Romantic, Casual, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Cozy, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Dine here frequently personally and prof ...

vip
 (Indiana)·Dined on November 9, 2016

Dine here frequently personally and professionally. Whether it's a dinner for two or I'm entertaining clients the service and food is always A+. I would recommend this to anyone who wants good food, good service and a great atmosphere!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food and service. Elizabeth is out ...

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Great food and service. Elizabeth is outstanding at what she does. She will make sure that your dining experience is over the top. Great staff and very professional.

Tags: Romantic, Cozy, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

The good: The service was amazing. It se ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on November 5, 2016

The good: The service was amazing. It seemed like the servers showed up exactly when they needed to, but not hovering over you. They were great. I loved that

The bad: The steak was way overpriced for the quality. That actually goes for all of the food there. We should have gone to the steakhouse around the corner.

Mo's, a place for service, not for steaks.

Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service5
value1

Excellent service!!!!!

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on October 26, 2016

Excellent service!!!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Steak was very good, but medium warm whe ...

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on October 23, 2016

Steak was very good, but medium warm when presented. It was put on a blank plate no garnish, etc. side dishes were lukewarm.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service5
value3

Food was sub par at best. A hair was fou ...

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on October 22, 2016

Food was sub par at best. A hair was found in our butter, my husbands steak was seriously undercooked and both meals were very bland. The manager sat at the bar and never once apologized for our meal . we won't be back and definitely won't be referring friends. There are so many great places in Indy for a great steak

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service4
value1

as always the staff was incredible and t ...

vip
 (Indiana)·Dined on October 21, 2016

as always the staff was incredible and the food was outstanding the best steak place in Indy o

Tags: Cozy, Fun, Good for a Date, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Good for Groups, Handcrafted Cocktails, Private Room, People Watching, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Wonderful food, wine and service. I wou ...

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on October 15, 2016

Wonderful food, wine and service. I would recommend this steakhouse over any other steakhouse.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Business Meals, Notable Wine List, Private Room, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent bone in fillet! Would recomme ...

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on October 7, 2016

Excellent bone in fillet!

Would recommend any staying downtown to give it a try. Better than the big name steakhouses.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

The food is spectacular and the service ...

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on October 5, 2016

The food is spectacular and the service is excellent. We probably dine there 2-3 times/month, it's that good. You will be made to feel welcome from the time you set foot in the door.

Tags: Private Room, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Good for Groups, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Took my college daughter for special nig ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on September 24, 2016

Took my college daughter for special night out . . . get the cookie for dessert when you go!!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Dine as often as I can at Moe's. Great ...

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on September 20, 2016

Dine as often as I can at Moe's. Great place, especially with large business meals. Excellent food and service.

Tags: Private Room, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Filet and asparagus, as well as the serv ...

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on September 16, 2016

Filet and asparagus, as well as the service, were excellent. Ordered the sea scallops for an appetizer which had too much hot sauce on it, which detracted from the taste of the scallops.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Food was amazing as always but service w ...

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on September 11, 2016

Food was amazing as always but service was a little on the slow side which keep us guessing when are food was coming .

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value4

Service and food was excellent...never f ...

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on September 10, 2016

Service and food was excellent...never felt rushed and waiters gave us lots of attention and info cause it was our first time there!!!

Tags: Good for a Date, Business Meals, Quiet Conversation, Fun, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Mo's a place for steaks was a huge disap ...

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on September 9, 2016

Mo's a place for steaks was a huge disappointment. We made reservations Friday September 9, 2016 for a table for 6. I received a confirmation phone call to confirm our reservation at witch time I requested a round table or a table large enough to accommodate 6 adults comfortably. We were under the impression that Mo's had a dress code and according to your web page proper attire was expected. You may want to remove this from your webpage because you can wear whatever you please. Our reservation was for 7:00pm, we arrived at 6:55 only to be told by a waiter that someone was sitting at our table and that he would ask the Hostess to re-seat or re-locate him. This person was sitting by himself at this round table near the window. He was a large man (looked like he needed a shower) sitting at our table wearing a baseball cap, ragged shorts and stained t-shirt, and wearing a pair of worn out filthy running shoes. I asked the Hostess to ask him to move to another table and she informed me that he was a huge supporter or donor of Mo's and she didn't want to ask him to move. It is very important to note that, never at anytime did more than 3 people join him at this table. The Hostess original plan was to try to seat our group (6 adults) around a table for four but I asked her to get us a larger table so they put 2 tables together to give us room. All of the people in our group were appropriately dressed, the ladies in dress pants with nice tops, and the men in dress pants and collared pressed shirts, all of us wearing proper shoes. I told your Hostess of how upset we were with not only losing our table to a person dressed like he was and asked her if she or a manager could go over and ask him to at least remove his hat during dinner. This request also fell on deaf ears. Each couple spent close to $200.00 each, and the steaks and food were substandard to say the least. Mo's a place for steaks is an overrated, overpriced steak house well past its prime.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value1

Mo's was picked for a steak dinner, and ...

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on September 3, 2016

Mo's was picked for a steak dinner, and it didn't disappoint. The service was excellent, the food outstanding. I would recommend this restaurant to anyone looking to have a great steak dinner in a relaxed, pleasant atmosphere. Will definitely go back.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent service and great food! Highly ...

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on September 3, 2016

Excellent service and great food! Highly recommend

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

The evening at Mo's A Place for Steak wa ...

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on September 1, 2016

The evening at Mo's A Place for Steak was wonderful. We were celebrating a birthday and ended up enjoying Devour Downtown as well. The food was prepared perfectly, the drinks were great. NICE RECOMMENDATIONS! and the service was the cherry on top. Chris and John were so great. They were attentive, but not suffocating. They were funny and as I said, just made the evening the best.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Romantic, Fun, Good for Birthdays, Live Music, Modern Decor, Business Meals, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Went to Mo's for Devour Downtown. Most p ...

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on September 1, 2016

Went to Mo's for Devour Downtown. Most places skimp on the quality of their meat for devour downtown, but Mo's still has the best filet in Indianapolis, even during devour downtown.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

This was our first time dining at Mo's. ...

vip
 (Indiana)·Dined on August 31, 2016

This was our first time dining at Mo's. We will definitely be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Great evening with my wife. Staff was a ...

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on August 30, 2016

Great evening with my wife. Staff was absolutely outstanding and the filet was awesome!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

I attended Mo's for the first time as pa ...

vip
 (Indiana)·Dined on August 29, 2016

I attended Mo's for the first time as part of Devour Downtown week because they offered gluten-free options. I always use this week as a great way to try out new restaurants because you can try three courses for a great price. I was very impressed with the service, from the time that we entered until our entire party arrived through the end of the meal, the staff was extremely attentive and accommodating. On top of that, the food was excellent. My filet was very flavorful and prepared perfectly. I ended my meal with the creme brulee, which was creamy and delicious! I will certainly add Mo's to my list of regular eating establishments from now on.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Good for Groups, Gluten Free Options, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

Steak and sides were really good! The st ...

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on August 27, 2016

Steak and sides were really good! The steaks had a good seared crust on them and they were juicy. The desert was only average though.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

We absolutely loved our dining experienc ...

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on August 24, 2016

We absolutely loved our dining experience at Mo's. The staff was attentive but not intrusive, the food was excellent, outstanding quality of meat seasoned but not bathed and the ambience was relaxing and enjoyable. We will definitely dine there again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great food, nice place. Enjoyed the dev ...

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on August 23, 2016

Great food, nice place. Enjoyed the devour downtown menu. Probably would not go for the regular menu price as quite expensive.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Experience was lack luster at best! Deco ...

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on August 23, 2016

Experience was lack luster at best! Decor was same as the previous restaurant. This location seems to be the place restaurants go to die!

Very weird vibe and food was marginal !

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service2

Food was great. Had bone in rib eye. Se ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on August 23, 2016

Food was great. Had bone in rib eye.

Service was exceptional.

Tags: Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Happy Hour, Quiet Conversation, Live Sports
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Loved the Devour Indy promotion...$35 fo ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 22, 2016

Loved the Devour Indy promotion...$35 for the 3 course filet mignonette dinner. Excellent service and excellent food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We had an absolutely wonderful dinner. T ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 22, 2016

We had an absolutely wonderful dinner. The food was fantastic - perfectly cooked steak, delicious side dishes - paired with great cocktails and a great bottle of wine. The service was even better. Bob and Heather provided excellent service and made sure everything was great for us. Will absolutely return again and again to Mo's!!

Tags: Romantic, Private Room, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our waiter, Robert, is the best! He is v ...

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on August 21, 2016

Our waiter, Robert, is the best! He is very knowledgeable of the menu and wine and gave us space to enjoy our dinner.

Tags: Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was my first dining experience at M ...

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on August 16, 2016

This was my first dining experience at Mo's and it was incredible! My friend Scott and I were celebrating both of our birthdays and it was the perfect place to do so. Everything from the atmosphere to food to wine to dessert to atmosphere was perfect. Jeffrey was the host when we arrived. He was personable, professional, genuine and we could tell he really enjoyed his work. Chris and John were our servers for the evening. They were attentive, personable, professional and did a great job. We will definitely return to enjoy another dinner. Thank you!

Tags: Business Meals, Romantic, Modern Decor, Good for Groups, Cozy, Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Delicious food and excellent service. T ...

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on August 15, 2016

Delicious food and excellent service. There was not one thing wrong with the entire dinner. Entree, sides, and drinks were all perfect.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Fireplace
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

I am so relieved to say that Mo's is bac ...

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on August 6, 2016

I am so relieved to say that Mo's is back where it belongs in the heart of downtown Indianapolis. I think you would be hard-pressed to find a better spot to dine than Mo's. The service is outstanding, the food was delectable, and I had a fantastic time celebrating my birthday with them. They even customized the menu to say "Happy Birthday, Robert" which made the occasion even more special.

Mo's comes highly recommended and is a fine dining establishment.

Tags: Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The service by TJ and staff was above av ...

vip
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on August 5, 2016

The service by TJ and staff was above average. We could never get our drink past the top 1/3rd of the glass before they were refilled. The manager stopped by twice to make sure things were going well and everyone greeted and took the time to say good-bye when we left. We had both steak and pasta dishes with our party of 6 and everyone commented on how great they were (the horseradish risotto was amazing). Wine list was not huge, but very workable with a wide variety not typically represented in a small menu. We had an awesome 2009 Pomerol with the cow and even the manager commented on the selection. We are at GenCon each year and typically hit St. Elmos, they were booked up this year and we were very glad that we were able to hit this unique and conveniently located food spot. Will be back next year for sure. Cheers!

Tags: Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Hot Spot, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The entire experience was over the top. ...

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on August 2, 2016

The entire experience was over the top. Big fan of Mortons Steak House but now we have two steak establishments to visit.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.