About Morton's The Steakhouse - Palm Desert

74-880 Country Club Drive
Palm Desert, CA 92260
View Larger Map

Morton's The Steakhouse, the nation's premier steakhouse group, specializes in classic, hearty fare, serving generous portions of USDA prime aged beef, as well as fresh fish, lobster and chicken entrees. The menu features a variety of favorite cuts, including a 24 ounce porterhouse, which is the house specialty; a 16 ounce New York Strip and a 12 ounce double cut filet.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Seafood, Steak

Hours of Operation:
Bar: Daily at 5:00pm

Dining Room:
Monday - Thursday 5:30pm - 10:00pm
Friday & Saturday 5:30pm - 11:00pm
Sunday 5:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
Cook Street

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(760) 340-6865

Website:
http://www.mortons.com/

Catering:
Private and group dining available. Contact our dedicated Sales and Marketing Manager to plan your next business or social event. Hosting a party at your home or office? Ask about Morton's Prime To Go and Prime Platters!

Parking Details:
Private lot shared by all tenants of Ralph's Market Shopping Center also available.

Public Transit:
Country Club Drive

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Morton's in Palm Desert hosts a variety of special events featuring fine wine & spirits, the best steak and a great time! For more information, visit http://www.mortons.com/palmdesert

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

For those special occasions, Morton’s The Steakhouse offers luxuriously appointed private dining rooms and group dining accommodations. Our expert staff is dedicated to helping you plan the perfect event – whether it’s a business meeting or a birthday celebration.

Morton's The Steakhouse - Palm Desert Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.7

ambience

4.5

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Special Occasion
Palm Springs / Palm Desert Cities
Steakhouse
Palm Springs / Palm Desert Cities
Special Occasion
Palm Springs / Palm Desert
1 More
Steakhouse
Palm Springs / Palm Desert
Best Restaurants in Palm Desert ›

Special Occasion (74)
Romantic (46)
Notable Wine List (35)
See All
Fit for Foodies (26)
Good for Groups (26)
Neighborhood Gem (21)
Vibrant Bar Scene (15)
Hot Spot (11)
Late-night Find (5)
Great for Brunch (3)
Great for Lunch (3)
Scenic View (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Sort By:
Newest
1040 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Excellent Meal, Outstanding service, war ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined 3 days ago

Excellent Meal, Outstanding service, warm ambiance a little pricey but worth it.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Happy Hour, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Cozy, Comfort Food, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Cutlery setting was lacking a bread and ...

 
 (Palm Springs)
·Dined 4 days ago

Cutlery setting was lacking a bread and butter knife, with their bread and butter plates.

Waiter said to use the large bread knife that came with the loaf of bread.

Some diners did not appreciate butter on the large bread knife.

A restaurant of this quality should be able to afford bread knifes.

Waiter was not knowledgeable about the menu.

Steaks were over seasoned with salt and spices that were not stated in the menu.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3

We have been to Morton's before and this ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on August 17, 2016

We have been to Morton's before and this particular restaurant has always exceeded expectations! The food is perfectly prepared and the service is amazing. We do not live near here, but try very hard to come every year to celebrate our anniversary. It is worth the drive from AZ... :)

Tags: Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent service,delicious food. Ambian ...

 
 (Orange County)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

Excellent service,delicious food. Ambiance is romantic.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We decided to go to Morton's to try out ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

We decided to go to Morton's to try out their Summer dining special. What an awesome value! Everything was delicious and the service was outstanding. Upon being seated, when I requested a quieter seating location, they were very accommodating. (My Dad has poor hearing)

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always the best, Josh is an excellent ma ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on August 11, 2016

Always the best, Josh is an excellent manager and has a great team

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Our serving staff was excellent. My wife ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

Our serving staff was excellent. My wife and I were celebrating our 44th wedding anniversary and they were so kind to us. The food was very good and we had a wonderful time.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

I want to go again to enjoy their happy ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on August 4, 2016

I want to go again to enjoy their happy hour bar food and drinks dicounts. It was extremely nice place to go. Thank you Paintnite for forcing an adult outing.

Tags: Good for Groups, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Top notch steakhouse with service to mat ...

vip
 (Palm Springs)
·Dined on August 3, 2016

Top notch steakhouse with service to match. Managers Josh and Dan have this place on point. Roque our server never disappoints.

Tags: Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Morton's was a wonderful dinning experie ...

 
 (Orange County)
·Dined on August 2, 2016

Morton's was a wonderful dinning experience as always! We dine there every time we travel out to the desert.

Tags: Good for Groups, Romantic, Late-night Find, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Morton's is a very nice restaurant with ...

vip
 (Palm Springs)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

Morton's is a very nice restaurant with very good food. It is a little expensive, so it is great for a special occasion. We will definitely go back.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Outstanding service, great ambience and ...

 
 (Palm Springs)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

Outstanding service, great ambience and the quality of the food was excellent!

Tags: Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Bone in rib eye outstanding. Very good ...

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on July 28, 2016

Bone in rib eye outstanding. Very good wedge salad. Very good mushrooms very good baked potato .

Redicous to charge a 14 year old $14.00 for plain sliced tomatoes (no mozzarella) to go with her bone in rib eye! I didn't mind spending $60 on the rib eye. It was worth it - but $14.00 for plain tomato slices leaves a bad taste!

King crab legs tasteless and not worth the money. I'll stick to bone in rib eye next time.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value2

This is the fourth year we've come to Mo ...

 
 (Palm Springs)
·Dined on July 27, 2016

This is the fourth year we've come to Morton's in Palm Desert for my birthday. The initial onion bread is hat and ready to eat. The salads are good. Should you want something added to it, just ask. Chances are it will happen. The main course initially looks "light," but you won't be hungry when you're done. My wife says that the Jumbo Lump Crab Cakes are the best she's ever had. The side dishes are to be shared, but we find that we're ok without them.

Save room for desert. The small chocolate cake with hot melted chocolate inside and ice cream is really good. Just give them enough time to prepare it.

All in all, a really nice, albeit expensive, place to celebrate anything.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

AS usual a great experience, superbly pr ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 26, 2016

AS usual a great experience, superbly prepared food with attentive service that was Goldilocks, not to much not too little a great evening and great value..

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Nine out of ten...Great steaks, excellen ...

 
 (Palm Springs)
·Dined on July 26, 2016

Nine out of ten...Great steaks, excellent service very comfortable and fine dining.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service5
value4

First of all the manager welcomed us and ...

 
 (Palm Springs)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

First of all the manager welcomed us and wished our guest happy birthday!! We were presented with our menus with our friends name imprinted on it, which made him feel extra special....what a great touch!! We had a wonderful dinner. The food was excellent and the service was awesome.....our waiter Oscar took great care of us.

This was an awesome experience!! Thank you....

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

2nd time in a month we have been there.. ...

vip
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

2nd time in a month we have been there...we ordered a Porterhouse for 2 ($125) med/rare to rare. I came medium well to medium, and quite a bit of gristle. The manager came to our table as I was trying to cut into a large chuck of gristle...he commented that that happens sometime on the strip side...I responded that it was from the filet side...he just walked away. 2 of us ordered the onion soup...the crouton was so hard we couldn't even cut it with our steak knife. We told the waiter as he took them away and said he would show it to the chef...didn't hear back from him or the chef. Imagine our surprise when the check came and they charged us for those 2 uneatable dishes. I've enjoyed other Morton restaurants in the past...this was by far the WORST upscale dining experience I've ever had!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service1
value1

From the moment we walked in, the servic ...

 
 (Palm Springs)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

From the moment we walked in, the service began. Top notch service from everyone in the restaurant. Food was excellent as was the service. They made our evening everything we were hoping for and more.

THANK YOU!!!

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Morton's is all about a combination of p ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

Morton's is all about a combination of personal service, very well prepared and delicious food and excellent presentation. The Palm Desert Morton's hits the mark on all of these themes. They have a good wine list but also a corkage policy if you want to bring a favorite wine. The carrot cake is a good desert. The restaurant is sensitive to gluten and other allergies.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

I already completed one review that was ...

 
 (Palm Springs)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

I already completed one review that was a bad review based on the taste of the steaks was bad.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service5
value2

I ordered a steak meduim and it had no p ...

 
 (Palm Springs)
·Dined on July 21, 2016

I ordered a steak meduim and it had no pink in the middle as it was cooked well!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5
value3

The food was great, as always. The serv ...

 
 (Palm Springs)
·Dined on July 20, 2016

The food was great, as always. The server seemed bored and service was slow. Got the feeling that when we ordered from the "pre fixe" menu, the waiter appeared to be dejected (fearing a low tip???).

I believe this to be an aberration, as we have dined there often. Maybe just a case of the out-of-season Blues.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

We had a great experience. We did recei ...

 
 (Orange County)
·Dined on July 19, 2016

We had a great experience. We did receive a baked potato that was not very hot and once we brought it to the waiter's attention he brought us a new hot one. Our other food items were great. The steak especially is what I would recommend at Morton's restaurant . We had the filet and it almost melted in my mouth. It was cooked just right. The manager kept checking on us to see how our service was and it was great. I would also recommend the lobster bisque over a salad if you are deciding between the two.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Waitress rushed us - kids running around ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Waitress rushed us - kids running around. My $60 fillet was cold, not cooked to order and every bite had a tenions in every bite

$400 - not worth it

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value1

Morton's is my "go to" steakhouse in the ...

 
 (Palm Springs)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Morton's is my "go to" steakhouse in the Palm Desert area. Excellent service by a professional staff and the food has always been outstanding. A little noisy this time due to a group of 8 young adults spending too much time in the bar prior to being seated next to my table. This caused us to call our evening earlier than we wanted. I have eaten at Morton's many times and this was the first time it was loud in the dining area.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

I have eaten at this Morton's location s ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 11, 2016

I have eaten at this Morton's location several times over the past few years when I travel to the Palm Springs area, and have always enjoyed it. The recent renovation of the dining room was much needed and looks terrific--dimly lit, modern, and elegant. However, I noticed a few things on my most recent visit I found less than stellar from the experience I have become used to at Morton's. Even though it was a Sunday evening and not crowded, it appeared that the only waitstaff was two waiters and the manager, who in addition to his management duties was helping serve food. The wait for the meal was also longer than it should have been for the restaurant not being very busy. I ordered a Morton's salad, which was disappointing. Though served on a large plate, it was basically just a pile of lettuce with not much else on it. It was supposed to have chopped egg, tomatoes, and a few other things, but it ended up tasting like a mediocre dinner salad you would get in any other restaurant, except it cost a lot more. I'm pleased to report that the steak, as usual, was excellent. Flavorful and tender. The server was pleasant, helpful, and well-meaning, but the service was slow. I realize Morton's is not a place to rush through a meal and dining is meant to be leisurely, but even the drinks were slow to come out. Overall, I enjoyed my meal but hope that Morton's continues to be the sharp and classy dining experience it has always been by making sure it pays attention to detail and has enough staff to adequately take care of guests.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Excellent service with exceptional food ...

 
 (Palm Springs)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

Excellent service with exceptional food what more can you ask for will definitely recommend to all an be back soon! 1st choice for steakhouse....

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I hope we just hit a bad night-although ...

 
 (Palm Springs)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

I hope we just hit a bad night-although this should never happen at such an establishment. Heard from our Uber driver after that Morton's reputation is not as good as it used to be. No kidding!We have been to this Morton's many times and had wonderful, unforgettable experiences! We came to celebrate our anniversary and we brought my sister in law with us who we have raved about this place for years to (she had never eaten at Morton's before). The evening started out well but went quickly downhill before we even order our entrees. This was no personal, special experience. After we finished our first drink and appetizers we waited and had to track down a server to order wine, our dinner and desserts. No idea where our server disappeared to. (Turns out he left partway through the night without telling anyone.)The service was terrible.The steak was NOT hot. The mac and cheese was more liquid and grit than creamy and tasty.The asparagus were few, inconsistent in size and woody. We sat there for an extremely long time with dirty, finished dishes-no one would take them away despite the fact that every staff member (including the manager) walked by plenty of times. It seemed they were all too busy sitting at every other customer's tables. (Just because we are not locals or regulars?!) It finally took to me shoving my dinner plate far into the center of the table and looking mightily unimpressed before all of a sudden 2 people were there to clean the table. The dessert took forever after we had our entrees, although I do not know why because we ordered it with plenty of time to have it baked and brought out shortly after our entrees; I think it was forgotten about. We informed the manager about our not so great experiences who, in my opinion, gave us more of a "poor me, I am so sorry" pity show than an actual sincere apology. I know my sister in law will never eat at a Morton's again, and I am embarrassed by how much we raved about this place only to be extremely let down.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

We came to celebrate a birthday but the ...

 
 (Palm Springs)
·Dined on July 6, 2016

We came to celebrate a birthday but the prices did not fit the value. We settled for a salad we shared,an appetizer and a soufflé. Disappointed the Cesar was not made at the table for such an upscale resteraunt and the soufflé was rubbery. I think we are taking this place off our preferred list. On the up side service was great and the people were very nice. If your into spending lots of $$ on dinner this could be your place

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value2

All was great and they did remember to c ...

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on July 4, 2016

All was great and they did remember to celebrate my birthday for me

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We enjoyed the entire experience, from t ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 4, 2016

We enjoyed the entire experience, from the time we entered until we left...the food was excellent...best ribeye I've had!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

This was not our first visit to the Palm ...

 
 (Palm Springs)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

This was not our first visit to the Palm Desert Morton's. Couldn't pass up the $36.00 special! The general manager, Josh, makes you feel like an old friend. Our server, Sage, is very personable as well as an outstanding addition to the staff. he summer time is a good time to visit as it is not as busy as the winter. All in all, it was a very nice experience.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

I was anticipating having lobster bisque ...

 
 (Palm Springs)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

I was anticipating having lobster bisque soup. When it was served, it was so peppery that I couldn't eat it. It wasn't my lack of eating spicy foods, as I also ordered the cajon ribeye steak, and savored every bite.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great restaurant to celebrate an anniver ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on June 30, 2016

Great restaurant to celebrate an anniversary!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Host was awesome. Waiter was very hard ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on June 29, 2016

Host was awesome. Waiter was very hard to understand and seemed rushed. We were sat next to an extremely loud group of young men that dominate the noise level of the room. Not the best anniversary dinner experience. But the host did take and gave us a nice annavisery pic.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2

The food was good, but it is not kid or ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on June 27, 2016

The food was good, but it is not kid or vegetarian friendly. Might return with my husband for date night, but not would not bring the family again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

Everything about the experience was pure ...

 
 (Palm Springs)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

Everything about the experience was pure class. Great food

Tags: Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Mortons has a wide selection of excellen ...

 
 (Palm Springs)
·Dined on June 22, 2016

Mortons has a wide selection of excellent meats, salads, sides, but best of all is the dessert!!!!! Soufflé like no where else! It had been at least 20 years ago when we ate there and I still remember that dessert! I did miss the meat cart but do understand...if more nothing else you must have that soufflé!!!! Also the online reservation was right on and so easy I will definitely use that again!

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We left Morton's in agreement that we do ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

We left Morton's in agreement that we don't need to go back. We gave it a fair chance and the overall experience just didn't fit the bill, so to speak. Way overpriced for what it is.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4
value2

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.