About Morton's The Steakhouse - Palm Desert

74-880 Country Club Drive
Palm Desert, CA 92260
View Larger Map

Morton's The Steakhouse, the nation's premier steakhouse group, specializes in classic, hearty fare, serving generous portions of USDA prime aged beef, as well as fresh fish, lobster and chicken entrees. The menu features a variety of favorite cuts, including a 24 ounce porterhouse, which is the house specialty; a 16 ounce New York Strip and a 12 ounce double cut filet.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Seafood, Steak

Hours of Operation:
Bar: Daily at 5:00pm

Dining Room:
Monday - Thursday 5:30pm - 10:00pm
Friday & Saturday 5:30pm - 11:00pm
Sunday 5:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
Cook Street

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(760) 340-6865

Website:
http://www.mortons.com/

Catering:
Private and group dining available. Contact our dedicated Sales and Marketing Manager to plan your next business or social event. Hosting a party at your home or office? Ask about Morton's Prime To Go and Prime Platters!

Parking Details:
Private lot shared by all tenants of Ralph's Market Shopping Center also available.

Public Transit:
Country Club Drive

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Morton's in Palm Desert hosts a variety of special events featuring fine wine & spirits, the best steak and a great time! For more information, visit http://www.mortons.com/palmdesert

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

For those special occasions, Morton’s The Steakhouse offers luxuriously appointed private dining rooms and group dining accommodations. Our expert staff is dedicated to helping you plan the perfect event – whether it’s a business meeting or a birthday celebration.

Morton's The Steakhouse - Palm Desert Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.7

ambience

4.4

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Notable Wine List
Palm Springs / Palm Desert Cities
Special Occasion
Palm Springs / Palm Desert Cities
Steakhouse
Palm Springs / Palm Desert Cities
3 More
Notable Wine List
Palm Springs / Palm Desert
Special Occasion
Palm Springs / Palm Desert
Steakhouse
Palm Springs / Palm Desert
Best Restaurants in Palm Desert ›

Special Occasion (72)
Romantic (50)
Notable Wine List (33)
See All
Fit for Foodies (22)
Good for Groups (21)
Neighborhood Gem (19)
Good for a Date (17)
Good for Anniversaries (14)
Vibrant Bar Scene (13)
Good for Birthdays (11)
Hot Spot (8)
Quiet Conversation (8)
Business Meals (6)
Cozy (5)
Happy Hour (5)
Late-night Find (4)
Great for Lunch (4)
Worth the Drive (4)
Modern Decor (3)
Great for Brunch (3)
Open Kitchen (3)
Disabled Access (2)
Creative Cuisine (2)
Comfort Food (2)
Local Ingredients (2)
Private Room (2)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
Seasonal (1)
Scenic View (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
People Watching (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Historic (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Fun (1)
Sort By:
Newest
1062 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

reliably perfect - a relaxing dining exp ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined 7 days ago

reliably perfect - a relaxing dining experience where everything always goes well. The food is of the highest standard.

Tags: Romantic, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Service was great, steaks excellent. The ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on September 23, 2016

Service was great, steaks excellent. The dessert souffle was disappointing, however -- tasted too eggy and lacked flavor.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

The air conditioning was so cold that it ...

 
 (Montreal)
·Dined on September 22, 2016

The air conditioning was so cold that it made the dining experience unpleasant. The manager did try to increase the temp. But not sufficiently. Food was good but portion sizes too large for one person. Suggest sharing all portions. Caesar salad was very plain and not great - for 13$ should have been more inventive.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service4
value1

Dine at this Morton's, now that we do no ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on September 19, 2016

Dine at this Morton's, now that we do not have another Morton's in Vancouver BC. Menu is as expected, steaks are to look forward to. We chose set menu meals, which included starter salad, beefsteak tomato/blue cheese and Morton's salad good, Caesar salad was tasteless. Steaks were great, shrimp alexander overcooked, crab cake mushy and not much flavour. Baked potato/truffle fries very good. Disappointed stuffed shrimp not available. Baked oysters disappointing (smaller than smoked oysters), escargot ok, onion bread very good, Morton's Legendary Hot Chocolate Cake ®

best dessert, chocolate mousse very good. Okay for special occasions, pricey. Best of evening were Server/busser, very courteous. Visit each time in Palm Desert.

Tags: Good for Groups, Pre/post Theatre, Disabled Access, Romantic, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value3

Food was delicious! Was there for my bi ...

 
 (Palm Springs)
·Dined on September 11, 2016

Food was delicious! Was there for my birthday and they gave me a wonderful desert with candles free! Wait staff was outstanding. Would go back again for sure.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Open Kitchen, Cozy, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wait staff was excellent however, our wa ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

Wait staff was excellent however, our waiter kept saying order strip steak you won't be sorry. So all 4 of us ordered med rare. All 4 were very tough, chewy & kinda flavorless.

I should of stuck to rib eye or petite filet.

Maybe he got credit on strip steaks that night?

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

As always great food and service. Josh, ...

vip
 (San Diego)
·Dined on September 8, 2016

As always great food and service. Josh, Roque, Arturo, David and Frenchy add a wonderful personal touch to the experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We were very disappointed with both the ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on September 8, 2016

We were very disappointed with both the quality and quantity of food. My spinach salad was way too big and the combination crab cake, scallops and shrimp were too much for one person to eat. The crab cake was also seasoned very heavily and because of that you were unable to taste like he crab. We had decade cappuccino which were very far from satisfactory. This will be our last time for this restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

Always amazing ! Best steakhouse in the ...

vip
 (Palm Springs)
·Dined on September 7, 2016

Always amazing ! Best steakhouse in the coachella valley

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The steaks were supposed to be medium ra ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on September 7, 2016

The steaks were supposed to be medium rare and they were served medium well and were very dry-not juicy at all. Bacon-wrapped scallops were under-seasoned, under-cooked and the bacon was still raw. For the cost of this meal, I expected better and it was absolutely unacceptable. The only bright spot was David, our server.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service4
value1

Staff was very personable; food was exc ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on September 7, 2016

Staff was very personable; food was excellent; we will definitely come back.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best steak ever! Crab cocktail fresh and ...

 
 (Palm Springs)
·Dined on September 7, 2016

Best steak ever! Crab cocktail fresh and delicious. Outstanding service . Favorite restaurant.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Husband, son and I went on Sunday Labor ...

vip
 (San Diego)
·Dined on September 5, 2016

Husband, son and I went on Sunday Labor Day weekend. Place was pretty full and service DRAGGED. Our meal was slow in coming out....20-30 mins between each course. But the food was excellently prepared and unlike the meal 2 night previous, our steak was cooked just as we ordered.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

MORTONS IN PALM DESERT IS JUST THE BEST; ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

MORTONS IN PALM DESERT IS JUST THE BEST; THE STAFF IS FRIENDLY . WE HAVE DINED THERE MANY TIMES AND ALWAYS ENJOY. THANK YOU MORTONS

Tags: Private Room, Happy Hour, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Escargot was yummy. Husband and I share ...

vip
 (San Diego)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

Escargot was yummy. Husband and I shared a ribeye that we ordered medium rare. It came out medium to medium well. We didn't say anything given the late hour but it was a little disappointing though flavorful. The onion rings are a MUST. Husband told me to try to replicate their preparation next time I make them: crisp on the outside from panko or corn meal yet soft and gooey on the inside with a GREAT ranch on the side. Didn't hurt that Morton's was a block from the Marriott timeshare we were staying at.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Great service from beginning to end. The ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

Great service from beginning to end. The hostess was welcoming, the waiter was friendly and efficient and the floor manager inquired regularly on how we were enjoying ourselves. Definitely a wonderful anniversary dinner in a lovely restaurant.

Tags: Modern Decor, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Private Room, Business Meals, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had my wife's birthday here and was s ...

 
 (Palm Springs)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

We had my wife's birthday here and was served by David. We have put his name in our phone for our next visit. He could not have made the night any better for us. I recommend this place and put my vote in for David to serve your choices.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Excellent steaks, sides and deserts. Hi ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on August 30, 2016

Excellent steaks, sides and deserts. Higher end steakhouse.

Tags: Good for a Date, Modern Decor, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Great restaurant, great service! Always ...

 
 (Orange County)
·Dined on August 28, 2016

Great restaurant, great service! Always enjoy dining at the first class spot!

Tags: Seasonal, Romantic, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Excellent service!! Our server Nicole wa ...

 
 (Palm Springs)
·Dined on August 28, 2016

Excellent service!! Our server Nicole was delightful. Food was perfect.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

My husband and I made reservations for o ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on August 28, 2016

My husband and I made reservations for our 1st year anniversary. The restaurant went out of their way to make it a special occasion for us.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Romantic, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The person that took us to our seats was ...

 
 (Palm Springs)
·Dined on August 24, 2016

The person that took us to our seats was outstanding, at first he sat us next to an opening that was by the bar. I thought it was a little to noisy, so asked if it would be to much trouble to move us to a quitter place, I did so without any problems. Our waiter was great he kept our water full and we enjoyed the picture we were given because we were there to celebrate our wedding anniversary. I liked how they pulled the table out at the both so you could sit in the booth better. We ordered the Rib eye steak, it was very good, it was cooked exactly as I asked for and the sautéed spinach and mushrooms was out standing. We will definitely be back. Thank you for making our celebration a great one!!!!!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent Meal, Outstanding service, war ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

Excellent Meal, Outstanding service, warm ambiance a little pricey but worth it.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Happy Hour, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Cozy, Comfort Food, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Cutlery setting was lacking a bread and ...

 
 (Palm Springs)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

Cutlery setting was lacking a bread and butter knife, with their bread and butter plates.

Waiter said to use the large bread knife that came with the loaf of bread.

Some diners did not appreciate butter on the large bread knife.

A restaurant of this quality should be able to afford bread knifes.

Waiter was not knowledgeable about the menu.

Steaks were over seasoned with salt and spices that were not stated in the menu.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3

We have been to Morton's before and this ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on August 17, 2016

We have been to Morton's before and this particular restaurant has always exceeded expectations! The food is perfectly prepared and the service is amazing. We do not live near here, but try very hard to come every year to celebrate our anniversary. It is worth the drive from AZ... :)

Tags: Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent service,delicious food. Ambian ...

 
 (Orange County)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

Excellent service,delicious food. Ambiance is romantic.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We decided to go to Morton's to try out ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

We decided to go to Morton's to try out their Summer dining special. What an awesome value! Everything was delicious and the service was outstanding. Upon being seated, when I requested a quieter seating location, they were very accommodating. (My Dad has poor hearing)

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always the best, Josh is an excellent ma ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on August 11, 2016

Always the best, Josh is an excellent manager and has a great team

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Our serving staff was excellent. My wife ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

Our serving staff was excellent. My wife and I were celebrating our 44th wedding anniversary and they were so kind to us. The food was very good and we had a wonderful time.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

I want to go again to enjoy their happy ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on August 4, 2016

I want to go again to enjoy their happy hour bar food and drinks dicounts. It was extremely nice place to go. Thank you Paintnite for forcing an adult outing.

Tags: Good for Groups, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Top notch steakhouse with service to mat ...

vip
 (Palm Springs)
·Dined on August 3, 2016

Top notch steakhouse with service to match. Managers Josh and Dan have this place on point. Roque our server never disappoints.

Tags: Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Morton's was a wonderful dinning experie ...

 
 (Orange County)
·Dined on August 2, 2016

Morton's was a wonderful dinning experience as always! We dine there every time we travel out to the desert.

Tags: Good for Groups, Romantic, Late-night Find, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Morton's is a very nice restaurant with ...

vip
 (Palm Springs)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

Morton's is a very nice restaurant with very good food. It is a little expensive, so it is great for a special occasion. We will definitely go back.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Outstanding service, great ambience and ...

 
 (Palm Springs)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

Outstanding service, great ambience and the quality of the food was excellent!

Tags: Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Bone in rib eye outstanding. Very good ...

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on July 28, 2016

Bone in rib eye outstanding. Very good wedge salad. Very good mushrooms very good baked potato .

Redicous to charge a 14 year old $14.00 for plain sliced tomatoes (no mozzarella) to go with her bone in rib eye! I didn't mind spending $60 on the rib eye. It was worth it - but $14.00 for plain tomato slices leaves a bad taste!

King crab legs tasteless and not worth the money. I'll stick to bone in rib eye next time.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value2

This is the fourth year we've come to Mo ...

 
 (Palm Springs)
·Dined on July 27, 2016

This is the fourth year we've come to Morton's in Palm Desert for my birthday. The initial onion bread is hat and ready to eat. The salads are good. Should you want something added to it, just ask. Chances are it will happen. The main course initially looks "light," but you won't be hungry when you're done. My wife says that the Jumbo Lump Crab Cakes are the best she's ever had. The side dishes are to be shared, but we find that we're ok without them.

Save room for desert. The small chocolate cake with hot melted chocolate inside and ice cream is really good. Just give them enough time to prepare it.

All in all, a really nice, albeit expensive, place to celebrate anything.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

AS usual a great experience, superbly pr ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 26, 2016

AS usual a great experience, superbly prepared food with attentive service that was Goldilocks, not to much not too little a great evening and great value..

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Nine out of ten...Great steaks, excellen ...

 
 (Palm Springs)
·Dined on July 26, 2016

Nine out of ten...Great steaks, excellent service very comfortable and fine dining.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service5
value4

First of all the manager welcomed us and ...

 
 (Palm Springs)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

First of all the manager welcomed us and wished our guest happy birthday!! We were presented with our menus with our friends name imprinted on it, which made him feel extra special....what a great touch!! We had a wonderful dinner. The food was excellent and the service was awesome.....our waiter Oscar took great care of us.

This was an awesome experience!! Thank you....

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

2nd time in a month we have been there.. ...

vip
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

2nd time in a month we have been there...we ordered a Porterhouse for 2 ($125) med/rare to rare. I came medium well to medium, and quite a bit of gristle. The manager came to our table as I was trying to cut into a large chuck of gristle...he commented that that happens sometime on the strip side...I responded that it was from the filet side...he just walked away. 2 of us ordered the onion soup...the crouton was so hard we couldn't even cut it with our steak knife. We told the waiter as he took them away and said he would show it to the chef...didn't hear back from him or the chef. Imagine our surprise when the check came and they charged us for those 2 uneatable dishes. I've enjoyed other Morton restaurants in the past...this was by far the WORST upscale dining experience I've ever had!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service1
value1

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.