About Morton's The Steakhouse - Palm Desert

74-880 Country Club Drive
Palm Desert, CA 92260
View Larger Map

Morton's The Steakhouse, the nation's premier steakhouse group, specializes in classic, hearty fare, serving generous portions of USDA prime aged beef, as well as fresh fish, lobster and chicken entrees. The menu features a variety of favorite cuts, including a 24 ounce porterhouse, which is the house specialty; a 16 ounce New York Strip and a 12 ounce double cut filet.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Seafood, Steak

Hours of Operation:
Bar: Daily at 5:00pm

Dining Room:
Monday - Thursday 5:30pm - 10:00pm
Friday & Saturday 5:30pm - 11:00pm
Sunday 5:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
Cook Street

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(760) 340-6865

Website:
http://www.mortons.com/

Catering:
Private and group dining available. Contact our dedicated Sales and Marketing Manager to plan your next business or social event. Hosting a party at your home or office? Ask about Morton's Prime To Go and Prime Platters!

Parking Details:
Private lot shared by all tenants of Ralph's Market Shopping Center also available.

Public Transit:
Country Club Drive

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Morton's in Palm Desert hosts a variety of special events featuring fine wine & spirits, the best steak and a great time! For more information, visit http://www.mortons.com/palmdesert

Promotions

Celebrate Summer this Memorial Day Weekend!

Fridays - Mondays from 5:00 PM - 9:00 PM

Father's Day Special Menus & Reservations

Sunday, June 19, 2016

Promotions

Celebrate Summer this Memorial Day Weekend!

Fridays - Mondays from 5:00 PM - 9:00 PM

Details
Join us for Memorial Day Weekend and try our 3 course Celebrate Summer menu! Enjoy your choice of a select appetizer, entree, side and dessert for $45. Excludes Tax and Tip. Special valid May 27, 2016 - May 30, 2016 on Fridays - Mondays from 5:00 PM - 9:00 PM.
Father's Day Special Menus & Reservations

Sunday, June 19, 2016

Details
This Father's Day, let us do the grilling!

Enjoy 3 courses of select salads, entrees, sides and desserts for $59.

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

For those special occasions, Morton’s The Steakhouse offers luxuriously appointed private dining rooms and group dining accommodations. Our expert staff is dedicated to helping you plan the perfect event – whether it’s a business meeting or a birthday celebration.

Morton's The Steakhouse - Palm Desert Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.6

ambience

4.3

noise

Moderate

86% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Special Occasion
Palm Springs / Palm Desert Cities
Steakhouse
Palm Springs / Palm Desert Cities
Special Occasion
Palm Springs / Palm Desert
1 More
Steakhouse
Palm Springs / Palm Desert
Best Restaurants in Palm Desert ›

special occasion (73)
romantic (36)
notable wine list (32)
See All
fit for foodies (28)
good for groups (23)
neighborhood gem (16)
vibrant bar scene (16)
hot spot (12)
late-night find (5)
kid-friendly (1)
great for outdoor dining (1)
scenic view (1)
Sort By:
Newest
984 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5

Our waiter was otimo!!! Eu gustei ele mu ...

Dined 13 hours ago

Our waiter was otimo!!! Eu gustei ele muito!

food5
ambience5
service5

Service was excellent. The minute you ca ...

Dined 3 days ago

Service was excellent. The minute you came in the door. Everything was perfect.

food3
ambience4
service5
value3

The bread was very ordinary. Need some ...

Dined on May 22, 2016

The bread was very ordinary. Need something with more substance maybe a rustic sourdough .

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

Great and exceptional quality food but n ...

Dined on May 16, 2016

Great and exceptional quality food but not as good service. I was not pleased with hostess, manager (I think) and waiters. There was no personal touch. I did not feel welcomed. They just went thru motions without sincere heart to serve.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food4
ambience4
service3

Morton's was overpriced. The food was g ...

vip
Dined on May 13, 2016

Morton's was overpriced. The food was good but did not warrant the extra high prices. Flemings is a better vang for the buck.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a delightful celebratory meal at ...

Dined on May 10, 2016

We had a delightful celebratory meal at Morton's. The food was superb, the service impeccable, and the atmosphere inviting. The staff immediately recognized the occasion, and presented my daughter with a menu souvenir honoring her PhD. Morton's is a special place to go for important gatherings.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience4
service5

Always have had an excellent dining expe ...

vip
Dined on May 9, 2016

Always have had an excellent dining experience at Morton's. Food and wait service above the rest

food5
ambience5
service5

Entire dining experience was FANTASTIC!

Dined on May 9, 2016

Entire dining experience was FANTASTIC!

food5
ambience5
service5

Yet another fantastic experience at this ...

Dined on May 7, 2016

Yet another fantastic experience at this place. Matt did a fine job and had the standard superior support from the dining service team.

food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Everyone had a great attitude from the ...

Dined on May 1, 2016

Everyone had a great attitude from the valet to the receptionist to the bus guys. Mortons is always consistent .

Tags: neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Another terrific dinner!

Dined on April 18, 2016

As usual, we had a great time and meal. Every staff member is a gem. We had David as a waiter for the first time . . .wonderful service and a very nice person

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Fussy Foodies

vip
Dined on April 16, 2016

As usual, great steaks and lobster. Moreover, Kat's service was exceptional. Life does not get any better.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food4
ambience2
service1
value1

Poor Service

vip
Dined on April 12, 2016

My wife asked for more lemon when her crabcakes arrived and it did not show up until she was finished her dinner. Drinks were never refilled. At this price point this kind of service in inexcusable.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great Restaurant

Dined on April 11, 2016

Was totally impressed with this restaurant, they called to confirm the reservation, then called after the dinner the next day to make certain all went well. Their service was superb, we were treated special and the food was excellent!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

Rocky our server was terrific. Interfac ...

Dined on April 10, 2016

Rocky our server was terrific. Interfacing with the Manager was an outstanding experience too.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, hot spot, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Great meal at Morton's

Dined on April 9, 2016

A group of six went to Morton's for a treat. We really enjoyed this restaurant and the food was great. Some may say that the prices are high but it's good to treat yourselves once in a while and Morton's did the trick. We had a great evening there. All meals come al la carte but many good choices for side dishes. The asparagus has a nice balsamic vingarette glaze and was delicious. The baked potatoes are huge. We had the creme brûlée for dessert and it was really good. Make sure to make a reservation as Morton's is very busy.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, notable wine list
food3
ambience3
service1
value2

Lousy Service

Dined on April 5, 2016

Seated promptly at our reservation time - then we had to wait for 10 minutes for water, 15 minutes before we could place a drink order - which came to us 20 minutes later. The restaurant was half full but our waiter was no where to be found for most of the time. Dinner order was entered incorrectly and my guest did not receive his meal as requested. Overall very disappointing, particularly with the dinner bill we paid.

food5
ambience5
service5

We went to Morton's for the second time. ...

Dined on April 3, 2016

We went to Morton's for the second time. This time to celebrate our Anniversary and we thoroughly enjoyed it. Our servers were very nice, the food was DELICIOUS and we were able to share some of the side dishes between the 4 of us. I had the smallest Filet Mignon and it was plenty enough for me. Sharing the 3 side dishes - Horseradish mashed potatoes, Jumbo grilled asparagus as well as the scalloped potatoes was a great idea to taste a little of everything that I wanted to try. The Chopped house salad was a great share too. I will definitely go back again but probably only for a special occasion since it's a little too pricey for everyday dining. As a special treat, I "Think" I even saw Guy Fieri there too !!! 😊

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best experience ever from the moment we ...

Dined on April 2, 2016

Best experience ever from the moment we walked in to the end. Loved every detail they put into making out 10th anniversary dinner... From the personalized menu to the piture they framed for us.. The food was AMAZING and dessert was soooo good!

Tags: romantic
food5
ambience5
service5

Absolutely lovely experience all around. ...

Dined on April 2, 2016

Absolutely lovely experience all around. Great service, great food, great service, great wine, and, yes, great service. Leilani is the best.

food1
ambience2
service5
value1

Totally Inadequate

Dined on March 27, 2016

Ocean Plate: One shrimp One Oyster One knuckle of Lobster Less than one section of crab leg Completely and Totally Disappointing!!!

food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Great Birthday Treat

Dined on March 27, 2016

From the moment we checked in, the staff took extra care of my wife for this family birthday dinner outing: the printed menu specially wishing her a happy birthday, the excellent steaks cooked perfectly, the special family photo and her birthday dessert treat. It was an exceptional experience. Thanks Morton's!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion
food3
ambience3
service5

Just ok . There are better steak restaur ...

vip
Dined on March 25, 2016

Just ok . There are better steak restaurants in the desert

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Expected Great - Not Disappointed

Dined on March 24, 2016

The staff was incredibly friendly and welcoming from the instant we walked in. Our waiter (Flavio) was attentive and friendly but not intrusive. Our steaks (1 porterhouse; 1 ribeye) were cooked and seasoned perfectly. The appetizer salads were generous and delicious. No room for dessert - maybe next time.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

High-end customer service by all the staff.

Dined on March 20, 2016

Great menu selection and the food was unique and very good. Staff very friendly and helpful. Cost of food in keeping with a top quality restaurant. Plan on telling other of the good quality of the food. Also will go again.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

we will be back !

Dined on March 18, 2016

The food was very good the service good ,the management great ! put it all together you have a nice evening out

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food1
ambience3
service4
value2

Cold Steak

vip
Dined on March 8, 2016

Never had a steak served so cold. Sent it back but just not the same. Others at table had same issue. No flavor to steak either.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great staff and great food

vip
Dined on March 6, 2016

From the time you arrive you are treated as family. Josh and Dan make sure you get the best of care and attention. Arturo and Roque are the best at keeping the dinner service professional and friendly. Always a great experience.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food3
ambience3
service2
value2

not the best

vip
Dined on March 2, 2016

we go to Morton's every time we are in town. we like to sit in the bar the waiter was very slow we had one dinner request, which he forgot his wine knowledge was pour very very noisy glass sanitizing agent needs to be checked as it is has an 'off putting' oder

food2
ambience3
service3
value2

Go to Fleming's or Mastro's

vip
Dined on February 28, 2016

Our waitress was very nice and really wanted us to have an enjoyable experience. It was her first night on her own, which showed, but that's OK! As for the initial experience...very disappointing. To start, we were seated at a table that wasn't fully set, so the wine got there before the glasses. When I ordered the wine, it was a 2010 Napa Cab on the menu for $165, but when it was brought out it was a 2012. I hesitated to even taste it, as I felt that 2 years younger can be quite the difference for a Cab. The waiter who brought it (not our waiter) insisted that it was a "great year" and didn't seem to want to wait for me to look over the wine list one more time. I went ahead and stuck with it, but was pretty disappointed to not even receive an apology for the glaring error. The steak was so-so and more medium than medium-rare. The sides were good. We ordered the beefsteak tomatoes and asked for onion slices along with the blue cheese (classic NY side), but instead received what was probably chopped onions for a salad. Our waitress brought out sliced onions and the combo of all three ingredients was the best thing about the meal. All-in-all, we had a very nice waitress, but that's about it. I used to live down the street from Morton's - Boston and I was never disappointed there. I know this review sounds overly picky, but if you're paying $400 for two people, its the little things that become glaring annoyances; which is why I'd drive down the street to Fleming's or Mastro's. We go out to Palm Springs several times a year and always want a steak dinner, but this is one we won't be repeating.

food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Probably the best steak in the desert !

Dined on February 27, 2016

Always a great experience. Drawbacks are delicious, New York strip and petit filet are excellent cuts. Great selection of wine by the glass and a carrot cake, which is outstanding.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasions, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great food

Dined on February 26, 2016

Best steak in town! The food is consistently good. Side portions are large, so sharing is encouraged.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food3
ambience3
service2
value2

Just Ok

vip
Dined on February 21, 2016

Our server was not friendly nor attentive. The prime rib came out rare when we asked for medium. The waiter never came back to refresh our drinks nor ask us how the food was. We sat in the bar area. The food itself was OK, but nothing special and certainly not worthy of the Morton's name.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great place

Dined on February 21, 2016

great food, great service, great for a special occasion.

Tags: kid-friendly, romantic, special occasion, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Great Birthday Celebration

Dined on February 19, 2016

Matt was superior in producing our special request for Lemon Soufflé. He made it happen. He was very attentive. And I cannot say enough for Dan and his staff when reseating us to a quitter section. Morton's -> Our favorite haunt when we are in the desert.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Wonderful

Dined on February 17, 2016

We dined out four nights in Desert Springs. This was by far our favorite meal. The waiter was wonderful as was the whole staff. The food was plentiful and delicious. I would recommend this to anyone wanting a very good dining experience.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic
food5
ambience4
service4

Excellent beef, nice meal, but really, r ...

Dined on February 16, 2016

Excellent beef, nice meal, but really, really expensive!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Morton's review

Dined on February 16, 2016

We thoroughly enjoyed our evening at Morton's impeccable service provided by our server Tony. The filet mignon was so tender and juicy-vegetables were amazing, (potatoes and spinach) The rib eye was cooked to perfection as well- Lovely dinner, lovely restaurant.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Terrific birthday dinner

Dined on February 15, 2016

We were staying at the J.W. Marriott across the street for a conference. It was also my husband's birthday and I told them ahead of time. They had his name and wishesrinted on the menu. They also took a picture and gave it to him in a lovely card. He was also treated to dessert. The steaks were fabulous. The salads are tasty and we forgot how huge they are. We should have split them. At first it seemed noisy by the serving area of the kitchen. But we also thought it was fascinating to watch the well oiled machine of chefs and organizers at work. So we didn't mind at all. We love it here and will come again our next visit.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

We went for Valentine's Day.

Dined on February 15, 2016

The food was delicious and the wait staff very attentive. I actually enjoyed the food better here than in San Diego. They had complimentary valet parking for the occasion. We don't live out here but would certainly go again the next time we are in town.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.