About Morton's The Steakhouse - Indianapolis

41 E. Washington St
Indianapolis, IN 46204
View Larger Map

Morton's The Steakhouse, the nation's premier steakhouse group, specializes in classic, hearty fare, serving generous portions of USDA prime aged beef, as well as fresh fish, lobster and chicken entrees. The menu features a variety of favorite cuts, including a 24 ounce porterhouse, which is the house specialty; a 16 ounce New York Strip and a 12 ounce double cut filet.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Seafood, Steak

Hours of Operation:
Bar: 5:00pm Daily


Dinner:
Monday - Thursday 5:30pm - 10:00pm
Friday - Saturday 5:30pm - 11:00pm
Sunday 5:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
Pennsylvania

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(317) 229-4700

Website:
http://www.mortons.com/

Parking Details:
Valet available for $7.00.

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Morton's in Indianapolis hosts a variety of special events featuring fine wine & spirits, the best steak and a great time! For more information, visit http://www.mortons.com/indianapolis

Restaurant Photos

  • Ahi-Tuna Tower
  • Garlic Bread Sticks With Bleu Cheese Fondue
  • Parmesan Matchstick Truffle Fries
  • Bone-In Ribeye
Ahi-Tuna Tower
Garlic Bread Sticks With Bleu Cheese Fondue
Parmesan Matchstick Truffle Fries
Bone-In Ribeye

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

For those special occasions, Morton’s The Steakhouse offers luxuriously appointed private dining rooms and group dining accommodations. Our expert staff is dedicated to helping you plan the perfect event – whether it’s a business meeting or a birthday celebration.

Morton's The Steakhouse - Indianapolis Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.7

ambience

4.5

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Indiana
Best Food
Indiana
Steakhouse
Indiana
5 More
Best Overall
Indianapolis
Best Food
Indianapolis
Best Service
Indianapolis
Romantic
Indianapolis
Steakhouse
Indianapolis
Best Restaurants in Downtown Indy ›

Special Occasion (64)
Romantic (54)
Notable Wine List (32)
See All
Good for a Date (23)
Fit for Foodies (23)
Good for Groups (21)
Good for Anniversaries (21)
Good for Birthdays (14)
Business Meals (14)
Cozy (12)
Quiet Conversation (12)
Private Room (10)
Worth the Drive (8)
Hot Spot (8)
Late-night Find (8)
Neighborhood Gem (7)
Pre/post Theatre (6)
Handcrafted Cocktails (5)
Tasting Menu (4)
Authentic (4)
Open Kitchen (3)
Happy Hour (3)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Fun (2)
Modern Decor (2)
Bar Seating (2)
Historic (2)
Casual (2)
Outstanding Value (2)
Creative Cuisine (2)
People Watching (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Tapas (1)
Family Style (1)
Healthy (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Scenic View (1)
Spicy (1)
Seasonal (1)
Great Beer (1)
Sort By:
Newest
1331 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Great steaks. Great staff. Our favorite ...

vip
 (Denver)
·Dined a day ago

Great steaks. Great staff. Our favorite Indy restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The service was spectacular. It was our ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined 5 days ago

The service was spectacular. It was our anniversary and they completely catered to our special occasion. The food was delicious and would definitely recommend Morton's for special occasions.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Food was really good. I would definitely ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

Food was really good. I would definitely recommend the filet mignon. Service was really good and we loved the feeling of exclusivity that dining at Morton's provides.

Our only complaint was that we were there celebrating my wife's birthday and we overheard our waitress tell the couple next to us, who were also celebrating a birthday, that because of the special occasion dessert was on them. That same offer was never made to us. We had plenty of delicious food and had no room for dessert but it would have been nice to have felt like we were getting treated special.

Overall, great food, great atmosphere, and really good service. We would definitely go again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

This was our 35th wedding annivesary and ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

This was our 35th wedding annivesary and we have been to this location the last three years..the food was not as good overall as it was on our last visit

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value5

This is the 1st time that we had been to ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on September 14, 2016

This is the 1st time that we had been to Morton's in Indianapolis. The atmosphere was very nice and it reminded us of the Morton's in New Orleans. Morton's has always been consistent and has had great service at each of the different locations that we have tried. This is a great place to go for anniversaries. Our waiter was great and every other waiter that checked on us when they were passing by. The waiters worked great as a team.

Tags: Romantic, Worth the Drive, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Casual, Good for Birthdays, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We enjoyed our Anniversary .. It was our ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on September 11, 2016

We enjoyed our Anniversary .. It was our first time to dine at Morton's.. The food was excellent and the service was A+... I highly recommend Morton's The Steak House-Indy.

Tags: Business Meals, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Private Room, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Went there for my anniversary, food was ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

Went there for my anniversary, food was spot on. Best steak I've ever had. The service was even better than the food. The waiter was always there just as we needed him, knew the food inside and out, and had great recommendations. They ran out of the bottle of wine that we asked for but came up with a great alternative that has now become my go to wine. We were meeting some friends there, and my wife and I arrived early. We went to the bar and casually chatted with each other and the bartender. I ended up mentioning our anniversary to the bartender, as a casual off hand remark. When we got the our table there were anniversary menus, and a little confetti on the table. What a nice touch.

Tags: Private Room, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Murat Dining, Movie & Travel Club met fo ...

vip
 (Indiana)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

Murat Dining, Movie & Travel Club met for Devour Downtown, and once again, we were not disappointed in the food, service or experience. We had a group of 16 and got a variety of options. The only thing semi negative was The Double Cut Dirty pork chop. Although the pork chop in itself was delicious, some of us found the spices just a bit too much. Do not remember it being as spicy last time as it seemed this time, but other than that, another great meal.

Tags: Good for a Date, Vibrant Bar Scene, Casual, Special Occasion, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value5

Best steaks in town. Best bread in town ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

Best steaks in town. Best bread in town. Great place to celebrate Anniversary, Birthdays.

Tags: Private Room, Great Beer, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Business Meals, Tasting Menu, Neighborhood Gem, Happy Hour, Bar Seating, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The evening was very nice. My wife and I ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

The evening was very nice. My wife and I spent some time together at a place we rarely frequent, Morton's. The food was delicious, the service was friendly, and the basement ambiance has always been nice and cozy. I recommend the steak tacos for an appetizer. These authentic tacos are awesome. Shredded steak, cilantro, onions, and an avacado slice all on a soft corn tortilla. You can't get much more authentic than that. Make sure you are ready to spend. Dinner was expensive but I would definitely go back again. I had a great time.

Tags: Good for a Date, Romantic, Cozy, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

My friends and I went to Morton's tocele ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

My friends and I went to Morton's tocelebrate an engagement. Our server was amazing and really provided the bachelorette with an exceptional dining experience. The food was amazing, the drinks were delicious, and the staff was friendly and accommodating!

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails, Notable Wine List, Cozy, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Service is always great here. Food is ne ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

Service is always great here. Food is never bad but I question the value. The quality of beef does not seem to be the same as it used to be. My wife and I enjoy the atmosphere.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Business Meals, Romantic, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

The food was excellent and service was v ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on September 2, 2016

The food was excellent and service was very good. We were there for my 74 birthday but were seated in a corner table at the back of the side room. The room temperature was also very cool.

Tags: Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service4
value2

I ordered steak and lobster and was almo ...

vip
 (Indiana)
·Dined on August 31, 2016

I ordered steak and lobster and was almost finished with my steak by the time the lobster came so I really wasn't interested in it anymore. Other than that, it was good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3

We were there for a birthday and it was ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on August 31, 2016

We were there for a birthday and it was very nice to have out picture taken and the service my our waiter was excellent, very friendly. . thank you again

Tags: Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very good food but a bit pricey , good w ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on August 29, 2016

Very good food but a bit pricey , good wine list service was great

Tags: Open Kitchen, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Devour Downtown---filet was very good an ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on August 29, 2016

Devour Downtown---filet was very good and salmon were very good, "dirty pork chop excellent. Tobias, our server was attentive. Don't consider dropping less than $ 200.00 for two. Great for "special event."

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

Morton's has become one of our favorite. ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on August 28, 2016

Morton's has become one of our favorite. Devour Downtown is just another reason for us to go! My husband opted for the Dirty Pork chop. It was perfectly seasoned with Cajun spices. You were also able to order it Med - Well Done. He opted for the Medium, and it was absolutely perfect!

I went with the traditional 6 oz Filet, plus Truffle Butter, and it, too, was perfect.

Never had a mediocre here, always absolutely perfect.

Tags: Romantic, Open Kitchen, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was fantastic. The steak is one ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on August 28, 2016

The food was fantastic. The steak is one of the best. Our server was nice and prompt. The hostess was more casually dressed than I would have expected and her welcome was short as they didn't open until the time of our reservation. we went across the street for drinks and when we came back it was her and another hostess who greeted us warmly. That didn't lessen our experience however. The drinks were strong, the restaurant is clean and nice. It's very dark. It is a pricier restaurant, so don't be shocked by your bill. Overall, it is a very nice restaurant and was a nice experience.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Private Room, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We went there for our anniversary celebr ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

We went there for our anniversary celebration and due to the Devour Downtown discounts.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Excellent service, very friendly and hel ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

Excellent service, very friendly and helpful, very knowledgeable! It was a true pleasure!

Tags: Spicy, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Private Room, Late-night Find, Tapas, Pre/post Theatre, Happy Hour, Tasting Menu, People Watching, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The place for steak in Indy. Perfect foo ...

vip
 (Indiana)
·Dined on August 25, 2016

The place for steak in Indy. Perfect food service and ambiance

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Much too expensive. Even when compared w ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

Much too expensive. Even when compared with comparable area steakhouses.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

We arrived for a 10 p.m. reservation aft ...

vip
 (Indiana)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

We arrived for a 10 p.m. reservation after the Colt's game and stayed late with perfect service, accommodating staff and excellent food - always my family's go to.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We visited Morton's over the weekend for ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

We visited Morton's over the weekend for our 15th Anniversary and it did not disappoint! We love Morton's for any special occasion because the food is fantastic and the service is always exceptional. Our server was sweet and very easy to talk to...we love that all of the staff (at every level) is approachable and very friendly. Out of all the wonderful food choices we have in the Indy area, Morton's is by far our favorite!

Tags: Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Some of the best customer service that I ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

Some of the best customer service that I've had in years. From the hostesses to the waiter to the manager to the gentlemen that refill your water glass, everyone focused their attention to the customer. Service level is outstanding but don't expect a quick meal. This place is designed to take the time to enjoy a high-end meal. A little (a lot) pricey but has some of the best food quality that Indy has to offer. If you want steak, this is the place!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Private Room, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Cozy, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

We celebrated my Wife and Mother's 60th ...

vip
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on August 16, 2016

We celebrated my Wife and Mother's 60th Birthday. Food and wine was amazing. The service was even better. We had a wonderful celebration.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

As always, a fantastic meal and great se ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

As always, a fantastic meal and great service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Was generally unimpressed with food, esp ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Was generally unimpressed with food, especially for the price. Comparable restaurants bars on cost have higher quality food. Dining room was set up oddly too.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value2

Great service. The food was impeccable. ...

 
 (Louisville)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Great service. The food was impeccable. Everyone in the group had several shareable sides and a couple of bottles of wine to share. The overall ambiance of the room was great.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Always great service and food at the Ind ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Always great service and food at the Indianapolis Mortons. You definitely want to try the blueberry white chocolate bread pudding!

Tags: Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The food was great as always everything ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

The food was great as always everything was prepared perfectly! Service was as good as it could be. Water was filled before it even got to half way. Since it was for my birthday they gave us a free $18 desert that was big enough for all three of us.

This has become one of our favorite places to eat for special occasions!

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Incredible service, wonderful wine list. ...

vip
 (Indiana)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

Incredible service, wonderful wine list. Food was better than most steak houses in Indy.

Tags: Romantic, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Everything was great, the smoking shrimp ...

vip
 (Indiana)
·Dined on August 3, 2016

Everything was great, the smoking shrimp cocktail is always really cool and taste great. The service and food was exceptional as always.

Tags: Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing place, good food and great servi ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on August 2, 2016

Amazing place, good food and great service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Very nice restaurant with exceptional se ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

Very nice restaurant with exceptional service. The wine selection was great. I just list it for special occasions or romantic because even with just one drink apiece the bill adds up fast. It is definitely worth it for the right occasion though.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Best steak in Indy. Device is impeccable ...

vip
 (Indiana)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

Best steak in Indy. Device is impeccable. Atmosphere excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Morton's is a very romantic place to hav ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on July 18, 2016

Morton's is a very romantic place to have dinner. The food is exquisite! Great atmosphere when you're celebrating something.

Tags: Late-night Find, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent, attentive service. Fantastic ...

vip
 (Indiana)
·Dined on July 18, 2016

Excellent, attentive service. Fantastic meal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great food, professional attentive servi ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Great food, professional attentive service, personable. Love the private, tucked-away clubby vibe there. Very good wine list. Probably the priciest steak house in town. Not sure you need to charge $16-17 for just a cocktail, as one example among a host of examples, but the whole dining experience was very, very good.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.