About Morton's The Steakhouse - Indianapolis

41 E. Washington St
Indianapolis, IN 46204
View Larger Map

Morton's The Steakhouse, the nation's premier steakhouse group, specializes in classic, hearty fare, serving generous portions of USDA prime aged beef, as well as fresh fish, lobster and chicken entrees. The menu features a variety of favorite cuts, including a 24 ounce porterhouse, which is the house specialty; a 16 ounce New York Strip and a 12 ounce double cut filet.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Seafood, Steak

Hours of Operation:
Bar: 5:00pm Daily


Dinner:
Monday - Thursday 5:30pm - 10:00pm
Friday - Saturday 5:30pm - 11:00pm
Sunday 5:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
Pennsylvania

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(317) 229-4700

Website:
http://www.mortons.com/

Parking Details:
Valet available for $7.00.

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Morton's in Indianapolis hosts a variety of special events featuring fine wine & spirits, the best steak and a great time! For more information, visit http://www.mortons.com/indianapolis

Restaurant Photos

  • Ahi-Tuna Tower
  • Garlic Bread Sticks With Bleu Cheese Fondue
  • Parmesan Matchstick Truffle Fries
  • Bone-In Ribeye
Ahi-Tuna Tower
Garlic Bread Sticks With Bleu Cheese Fondue
Parmesan Matchstick Truffle Fries
Bone-In Ribeye

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

For those special occasions, Morton’s The Steakhouse offers luxuriously appointed private dining rooms and group dining accommodations. Our expert staff is dedicated to helping you plan the perfect event – whether it’s a business meeting or a birthday celebration.

Morton's The Steakhouse - Indianapolis Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.6

ambience

4.4

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

89% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Notable Wine List
Indiana
Romantic
Indiana
Steakhouse
Indiana
5 More
Best Food
Indianapolis
Notable Wine List
Indianapolis
Romantic
Indianapolis
Special Occasion
Indianapolis
Steakhouse
Indianapolis
Best Restaurants in Downtown Indy ›

special occasion (64)
romantic (46)
notable wine list (31)
See All
good for groups (22)
fit for foodies (19)
neighborhood gem (9)
hot spot (6)
late-night find (6)
great for lunch (2)
vibrant bar scene (2)
kid-friendly (1)
Sort By:
Newest
1293 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Best steak in Indy. Device is impeccable ...

vip
 (Indiana)
·Dined 6 days ago

Best steak in Indy. Device is impeccable. Atmosphere excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Morton's is a very romantic place to hav ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on July 18, 2016

Morton's is a very romantic place to have dinner. The food is exquisite! Great atmosphere when you're celebrating something.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, late-night find, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent, attentive service. Fantastic ...

vip
 (Indiana)
·Dined on July 18, 2016

Excellent, attentive service. Fantastic meal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great food, professional attentive servi ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Great food, professional attentive service, personable. Love the private, tucked-away clubby vibe there. Very good wine list. Probably the priciest steak house in town. Not sure you need to charge $16-17 for just a cocktail, as one example among a host of examples, but the whole dining experience was very, very good.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Booked a table to celebrate my boyfriend ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Booked a table to celebrate my boyfriend's birthday with great steak. We were seated promptly and our server was superb. Everything was delicious,atmosphere was just right(quiet but not too quiet) and as a personal touch, they take your pic to remember the evening and give you personal menus for your birthday! All in all, a great evening. Thanks Morton's!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, late-night find, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The place looked nice, but the hostess h ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

The place looked nice, but the hostess had to pull the table out and pushed it back for us to be seated. The food was excellent, but way overpriced. We paid $194 for two people without any alcoholic beverages. The waiter was OK, until other customers arrived. At that point he seemed to forget about us. That is until he didn't think his tip was big enough. He had the audacity to follow us to the restroom and ask us about it!

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience1
service2
value1

From the wait staff to the amazing food, ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

From the wait staff to the amazing food, everything was wonderful. This is my all time favorite place to eat.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our dining experience was very pleasant ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

Our dining experience was very pleasant overall. We did not care for the sides but that was my fault. I let the server talk me into trying something different and did not like his pick. Next time I will stick to what I normally order. The steak and lobster were excellent but a bit pricey.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Great food and great service! Probably o ...

 
 (Key West)
·Dined on June 29, 2016

Great food and great service! Probably our favorite steak house restaurant!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

We were celebrating our 17th Wedding an ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

We were celebrating our 17th

Wedding anniversary. It was very nice. The service was impeccable. The waiter was friendly and personable. We ordered the grilled salmon and It was delicious!

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Just fair ambiance, below ground level, ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

Just fair ambiance, below ground level, with no natural light. Not very festive atmosphere. Dreary entrance at street level, without any attention to decor. The entry to a restaurant sets the tone for the evening. Fabulous, outstanding and helpful waiter(Nathan). Delicious food. One of the best NY steaks I have ever had. Pricey for Indianapolis (48.00 for a NY steak, 13.00 for a baked potato and 13.00 for a side order of asparagus), but very well prepared .

Tags: notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

I had the Halibut and it wasn't the grea ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

I had the Halibut and it wasn't the greatest fish dish that I've had especially not for the price. The dessert was good and the service was amazing but I just expected more from the food.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value3

As always food and service were impeccab ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on June 17, 2016

As always food and service were impeccable. Summer menu special is a great value.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was an amazing dining experience. W ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

This was an amazing dining experience. We arrived to find our menus personalized for our Anniversary, and all the wait staff wished us Happy Anniversary. The dining area was calm and peaceful as was the kitchen. Our waiter, Chris, was one of the best we have ever experienced. He was able to make a substitution of a vegetable on one of the specials we ordered. What he didn't know was how important that would be for my health. He was kind, attentive and very professional. I would request his table if I came back again soon.

Morton's is where our family celebrates. Our daughter was there on the night she was engaged, we have been for several Anniversaries. The food is exceptional and you will never find another steak this tender and flavorful anywhere. Sides are for sharing and are delicious.

Thank you Morton's (and Chris!) for making our evening so special. We felt like royalty! We will be back!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Their summer menu was in flight. Howeve ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

Their summer menu was in flight. However, steak was dry and bread was hard. Seems like whenever there is a deal going on the kitchen does not try as hard. Makes bad first impression and leaves no reason for frequent diners to come back.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

10th Anniversary

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on June 3, 2016

The food excellent! The Filet Mignon was the best I've ever had and I've visited all big steak houses in Indy. Our server was excellent! It's pricey but worth it for a special occasion.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Our experience at Morton's is consistent ...

vip
 (Indiana)
·Dined on May 29, 2016

Our experience at Morton's is consistently excellent. The food is always well prepared and delicious (the Cajun ribeye is amazing, as is the molton cake sundae!!) and the courses are always well spaced and timed out. We request a booth and always are seated at a booth...they read reservation requests ahead of time and are very accommodating. 9 times out of 10 our service is great as well, occasionally we get someone who is a little too attentive or someone inattentive. Overall, always a great experience...definitely recommend it!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Morton’s was perfect!

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on May 28, 2016

We were there on the 100th Indy 500 weekend, so it was busy everywhere in the city. The original reservation was for 2, but I wanted to add 2 friends that decided to join us last minute…no problem. On top of that, we screwed up and arrived about 20 mins late, again…no problem, our table was waiting for us. I wanted a sort of old school, traditional American steakhouse, but not too uptight or stuffy…this place was perfect. The service was top notch, professional but relaxed, easy going attitude. Food, cocktail and wine recommendations were spot on. The food was awesome - incredible steaks (4 guys dining – we all had steak), great appies and sides, even got an excellent free desert because it was my friends birthday the next day…’close enough’ our waiter decided. Would totally go back and recommend to friends.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Forget St. Elmo's

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on May 28, 2016

I called St. Elmo's one year in advance to make a dinner reservation after the Indy 500. They would not make a reservation for 8 people. I chose Morton's instead. It was a bit noisy, but the food and service was excellent. In addition, we met Tony Kannan as he was visiting the adjoining room. Forget St. Elmo's and dine at Morton's.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Our 5th anniversary. We mentioned this i ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on May 22, 2016

Our 5th anniversary. We mentioned this in Open table and they did the rest: Personalized menus already waiting for us at a booth (not a table), appropriate for a couple. The waiter also took our photo and we left with a keepsake hand written happy Anniversary card with the photo included. And dessert on the house!

They made it easy to split salad and entrée - even providing my husband his half of the salad without nuts. The food was delicious and the carrot cake was full of good things. It tasted home-made. The frosting was quite light, not heavy and sugary.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

This is a Keith family favorite. We din ...

vip
 (Indiana)
·Dined on May 22, 2016

This is a Keith family favorite. We dine here for most every special occasion.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

Disappointed

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on May 14, 2016

There was nothing about this dining experience that felt special, except for the prices on the menu. The service was slow and non-attentive. We were seated for ten minutes before we had water. The restaurant is a basement room with no atmosphere. The location is good. The salads and bread were good. The entree's with beef were ok. The entree's with Salmon and Scallops were not good at all. We expected a lot more from this chain which enjoys a good brand reputation. I'm surprised this place stays in business.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1
value1

The server felt it necessary to basicall ...

vip
 (Indiana)
·Dined on May 13, 2016

The server felt it necessary to basically read the entire menu to us... Instead of focusing on a few choice items he read the whole darn thing.

They were extremely overpriced... $13.00 for a baked potato! I mean really.... Most sides were $13 or more. Several of the entrees at our table came with sides.. The salmon came with corn and that individual ordered a side of corn! Another diner with us ordered a chicken dish and ordered a side of broccoli. That entrée came with as asparagus! Thanks for letting us know server.

It had been years since I had been there and these examples are the reasons why it had been so long. They do all they can to get your check total up with no regard to what makes sense.... We wont go back... To top it all off my steak was barely hot... I hate to send food back because it throws off the whole meal for everyone...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value1

Excellent steak amazing service great at ...

vip
 (Indiana)
·Dined on May 13, 2016

Excellent steak amazing service great atmosphere.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Simply Elegant

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on May 5, 2016

Truly a fine dining experience! Our steaks were prepared to perfection and the wine list was exceptional. The two of us enjoyed an appropriately-paced meal, which is often difficult to find. We do not like to be rushed, and we weren't. Morton's surpasses even the saintly Indy steakhouses in all aspects in our opinion.

Tags: special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Not what we thought it would be

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on April 30, 2016

I will only say that I had a very disappointing experience at Morton's . I will not recommend this restaurant to anybody.

Tags: notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

Really great steak. Perfect service and ...

vip
 (Indiana)
·Dined on April 30, 2016

Really great steak. Perfect service and elegant atmosphere!! The best place for steak in Indy!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Food not comparable to other steakhouse food

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on April 30, 2016

We went to Morton's for our anniversary. Everyone was very nice and went out of their way to make our anniversary a special occasion...and they succeeded. The service was excellent. The food was not special. (The bread, salad, filet mignon, sides) My husband ordered a Porterhouse, well done, no pink. It came more than pink and had to be redone. When he finally did get it, it was awesome! I ordered the filet mignon, well done, and it came charred. It tasted charred and it was tough. I ended up eating some of my husband's steak. We ordered grilled asparagus, which was not tasty. We ordered the scalloped potatoes which were really cheesy but didn't seem to have any seasoning at all. We were allowed to choose any dessert, free of charge to celebrate our anniversary. We chose the Morton's Legendary Sundae which was awesome! The best thing about this restaurant was the service and the Porterhouse. The taste of the food did not warrant the expense. Because the food did not measure up to other comparable steakhouses in Indianapolis, we decided there was no reason to return.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value1

Wonderful atmosphere & the food is amazing!

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on April 16, 2016

This was a wonderful dining experience! Perfect atmosphere for adult dining! The food was awesome...The service was excellent! I can't wait to go again soon!

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We Love Morton's

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on April 16, 2016

Morton's food is alway hot and excellent! We celebrate everything at Morton's from anniversaries to graduation and church functions. Morton's always give exceptoservice and serves exceptional food.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Beautiful Evening at a Wonderful Place

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on April 16, 2016

After getting equipment ready to farm we headed to INDY

then he said thought we would Eat at Morton's it was great

Our Waiter knew every question and was very impressed with him

but I did forget his name

Our salad was so fresh and the our split steak melted in our mouth

the fried potatoes were excellent oh what a night

We were to full to have our crème' burley and that's what we knew

we'd have to finish our evening Next time we will get it first we told our server

Thanks again and you have taught this server to be so pleasant and knowledgeable

Coming back

Paul

Tags: romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Absolutely perfect experience. Service f ...

vip
 (Indiana)
·Dined on April 16, 2016

Absolutely perfect experience. Service food and atmosphere was excellent. Highly recommend this steakhouse!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Very disappointed in the entire experien ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on April 15, 2016

Very disappointed in the entire experience. Morton's doesn't seem to have caught up with the 21st century. I felt like I was eating at a above average restaurant from the 90's. The food was so-so. Definitely not worth the price. My favorite was the jumbo asparagus. Having grown-up in a produce rich area, everyone knows that the smaller and thinner asparagus is far more tender and flavorful. Very disappointed!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2

Special Occasion

vip
 (Indiana)
·Dined on April 9, 2016

We had not been to Morton's for awhile but decided to make a return trip. As expected, the food was outstanding especially my NY Strip which was excellent. We enjoyed the sides and ended up ordering Key Lime Pie for dessert, all which was very good. Our only complaint, and it is minor, is it took a long time for dinner to come after the appetizers. The server apologized and offered a free dessert as an apology. So, we ordered the Key Lime Pie but then were charged for it. It took her some time to come back so we finally just paid the bill and left. It left a bad taste, pun intended, on what was an outstanding dinner otherwise.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

Perfect service food and atmosphere. The ...

vip
 (Indiana)
·Dined on April 8, 2016

Perfect service food and atmosphere. The place for steak in downtown Indy!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Can't go wrong

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on April 3, 2016

We split the seasonal scallop entree and the Cajun rib-eye. I've tried to talk my husband into the Cajun ribeye in the past, and he has always gone with a filet. This time, we were both THRILLED with the Cajun ribeye. The seasoning isn't hot, but just right to give it some extra flavor. It was done perfectly. The scallops were going off the menu the next day, so I had to try them. They melted in your mouth. Sides were the mashed Cauliflower w/truffles and the Au Gratin potatoes, both of which were awesome. We also split the spinach salad between three of us, and it was perfect. Our only faux pas was not ordering one of the souffles, which take approx. 30 min. We had time to talk and wished we would have ordered one after we finished our entrees. The bread pudding and chocolate cake were both to die for.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great!!!

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on April 2, 2016

This was our first time dining at Morton's and the experience was amazing. The service was excellent and the food was even better. Compliments to the chef

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

WOW!

vip
 (Indiana)
·Dined on March 10, 2016

Morton's is AMAZING!!! Best steak I have ever had. Out waiter was incredible. He was very knowledgeable about the entire menu and was great at answering questions and explaining how dishes were prepared. Also gave great recommendations. I would definitely go back to Morton's and would recommend it to anyone looking to enjoy a great meal with a nice atmosphere.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Service was impeccable! Food was to die ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on March 4, 2016

Service was impeccable! Food was to die for!! My filet literally melted in my mouth. We will be dining at Mortons during our next Indianapolis trip for sure!!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Wonderful Evening!

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on March 1, 2016

We entertained one of manufacturer's and I couldn't have been more pleased with the reception, service and delicious offerings this restaurant provided.

It was a wonderful evening and a great way to entertain and foster an important business relationship.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.