About Morton's The Steakhouse - Indianapolis

41 E. Washington St
Indianapolis, IN 46204
View Larger Map

Morton's The Steakhouse, the nation's premier steakhouse group, specializes in classic, hearty fare, serving generous portions of USDA prime aged beef, as well as fresh fish, lobster and chicken entrees. The menu features a variety of favorite cuts, including a 24 ounce porterhouse, which is the house specialty; a 16 ounce New York Strip and a 12 ounce double cut filet.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Seafood, Steak

Hours of Operation:
Bar: 5:00pm Daily


Dinner:
Monday - Thursday 5:30pm - 10:00pm
Friday - Saturday 5:30pm - 11:00pm
Sunday 5:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
Pennsylvania

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(317) 229-4700

Website:
http://www.mortons.com/

Parking Details:
Valet available for $7.00.

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Morton's in Indianapolis hosts a variety of special events featuring fine wine & spirits, the best steak and a great time! For more information, visit http://www.mortons.com/indianapolis

Restaurant Photos

Promotions

Father's Day Special Menus & Reservations

Sunday, June 19, 2016

Celebrate Summer this Memorial Day Weekend!

Fridays - Mondays from 5:00 PM - 9:00 PM

Promotions

Father's Day Special Menus & Reservations

Sunday, June 19, 2016

Details
This Father's Day, let us do the grilling!

Enjoy 3 courses of select salads, entrees, sides and desserts for $59.
Celebrate Summer this Memorial Day Weekend!

Fridays - Mondays from 5:00 PM - 9:00 PM

Details
Join us for Memorial Day Weekend and try our 3 course Celebrate Summer menu! Enjoy your choice of a select appetizer, entree, side and dessert for $45. Excludes Tax and Tip. Special valid May 27, 2016 - May 30, 2016 on Fridays - Mondays from 5:00 PM - 9:00 PM.

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

For those special occasions, Morton’s The Steakhouse offers luxuriously appointed private dining rooms and group dining accommodations. Our expert staff is dedicated to helping you plan the perfect event – whether it’s a business meeting or a birthday celebration.

Morton's The Steakhouse - Indianapolis Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.4

ambience

4.4

noise

Moderate

88% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Steakhouse
Indiana
Notable Wine List
Indianapolis
Romantic
Indianapolis
2 More
Special Occasion
Indianapolis
Steakhouse
Indianapolis
Best Restaurants in Downtown Indy ›

special occasion (101)
romantic (74)
notable wine list (44)
See All
good for groups (35)
fit for foodies (28)
neighborhood gem (11)
hot spot (9)
late-night find (7)
great for lunch (5)
kid-friendly (4)
vibrant bar scene (4)
great for brunch (3)
great for outdoor dining (1)
scenic view (1)
Sort By:
Newest
1271 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

This is a Keith family favorite. We din ...

vip
Dined 6 days ago

This is a Keith family favorite. We dine here for most every special occasion.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, notable wine list
food3
ambience2
service1
value1

Disappointed

Dined on May 14, 2016

There was nothing about this dining experience that felt special, except for the prices on the menu. The service was slow and non-attentive. We were seated for ten minutes before we had water. The restaurant is a basement room with no atmosphere. The location is good. The salads and bread were good. The entree's with beef were ok. The entree's with Salmon and Scallops were not good at all. We expected a lot more from this chain which enjoys a good brand reputation. I'm surprised this place stays in business.

food3
ambience3
service2
value1

The server felt it necessary to basicall ...

vip
Dined on May 13, 2016

The server felt it necessary to basically read the entire menu to us... Instead of focusing on a few choice items he read the whole darn thing. They were extremely overpriced... $13.00 for a baked potato! I mean really.... Most sides were $13 or more. Several of the entrees at our table came with sides.. The salmon came with corn and that individual ordered a side of corn! Another diner with us ordered a chicken dish and ordered a side of broccoli. That entrée came with as asparagus! Thanks for letting us know server. It had been years since I had been there and these examples are the reasons why it had been so long. They do all they can to get your check total up with no regard to what makes sense.... We wont go back... To top it all off my steak was barely hot... I hate to send food back because it throws off the whole meal for everyone...

food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent steak amazing service great at ...

vip
Dined on May 13, 2016

Excellent steak amazing service great atmosphere.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Simply Elegant

Dined on May 5, 2016

Truly a fine dining experience! Our steaks were prepared to perfection and the wine list was exceptional. The two of us enjoyed an appropriately-paced meal, which is often difficult to find. We do not like to be rushed, and we weren't. Morton's surpasses even the saintly Indy steakhouses in all aspects in our opinion.

Tags: special occasion, notable wine list
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

Not what we thought it would be

Dined on April 30, 2016

I will only say that I had a very disappointing experience at Morton's . I will not recommend this restaurant to anybody.

Tags: notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Really great steak. Perfect service and ...

vip
Dined on April 30, 2016

Really great steak. Perfect service and elegant atmosphere!! The best place for steak in Indy!!

food3
ambience4
service5
value1

Food not comparable to other steakhouse food

Dined on April 30, 2016

We went to Morton's for our anniversary. Everyone was very nice and went out of their way to make our anniversary a special occasion...and they succeeded. The service was excellent. The food was not special. (The bread, salad, filet mignon, sides) My husband ordered a Porterhouse, well done, no pink. It came more than pink and had to be redone. When he finally did get it, it was awesome! I ordered the filet mignon, well done, and it came charred. It tasted charred and it was tough. I ended up eating some of my husband's steak. We ordered grilled asparagus, which was not tasty. We ordered the scalloped potatoes which were really cheesy but didn't seem to have any seasoning at all. We were allowed to choose any dessert, free of charge to celebrate our anniversary. We chose the Morton's Legendary Sundae which was awesome! The best thing about this restaurant was the service and the Porterhouse. The taste of the food did not warrant the expense. Because the food did not measure up to other comparable steakhouses in Indianapolis, we decided there was no reason to return.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful atmosphere & the food is amazing!

Dined on April 16, 2016

This was a wonderful dining experience! Perfect atmosphere for adult dining! The food was awesome...The service was excellent! I can't wait to go again soon!

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We Love Morton's

Dined on April 16, 2016

Morton's food is alway hot and excellent! We celebrate everything at Morton's from anniversaries to graduation and church functions. Morton's always give exceptoservice and serves exceptional food.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Beautiful Evening at a Wonderful Place

Dined on April 16, 2016

After getting equipment ready to farm we headed to INDY then he said thought we would Eat at Morton's it was great Our Waiter knew every question and was very impressed with him but I did forget his name Our salad was so fresh and the our split steak melted in our mouth the fried potatoes were excellent oh what a night We were to full to have our crème' burley and that's what we knew we'd have to finish our evening Next time we will get it first we told our server Thanks again and you have taught this server to be so pleasant and knowledgeable Coming back Paul

Tags: romantic
food5
ambience5
service5

Absolutely perfect experience. Service f ...

vip
Dined on April 16, 2016

Absolutely perfect experience. Service food and atmosphere was excellent. Highly recommend this steakhouse!!

food5
ambience4
service4
value3

Special Occasion

vip
Dined on April 9, 2016

We had not been to Morton's for awhile but decided to make a return trip. As expected, the food was outstanding especially my NY Strip which was excellent. We enjoyed the sides and ended up ordering Key Lime Pie for dessert, all which was very good. Our only complaint, and it is minor, is it took a long time for dinner to come after the appetizers. The server apologized and offered a free dessert as an apology. So, we ordered the Key Lime Pie but then were charged for it. It took her some time to come back so we finally just paid the bill and left. It left a bad taste, pun intended, on what was an outstanding dinner otherwise.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Perfect service food and atmosphere. The ...

vip
Dined on April 8, 2016

Perfect service food and atmosphere. The place for steak in downtown Indy!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Can't go wrong

Dined on April 3, 2016

We split the seasonal scallop entree and the Cajun rib-eye. I've tried to talk my husband into the Cajun ribeye in the past, and he has always gone with a filet. This time, we were both THRILLED with the Cajun ribeye. The seasoning isn't hot, but just right to give it some extra flavor. It was done perfectly. The scallops were going off the menu the next day, so I had to try them. They melted in your mouth. Sides were the mashed Cauliflower w/truffles and the Au Gratin potatoes, both of which were awesome. We also split the spinach salad between three of us, and it was perfect. Our only faux pas was not ordering one of the souffles, which take approx. 30 min. We had time to talk and wished we would have ordered one after we finished our entrees. The bread pudding and chocolate cake were both to die for.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great!!!

Dined on April 2, 2016

This was our first time dining at Morton's and the experience was amazing. The service was excellent and the food was even better. Compliments to the chef

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

WOW!

vip
Dined on March 10, 2016

Morton's is AMAZING!!! Best steak I have ever had. Out waiter was incredible. He was very knowledgeable about the entire menu and was great at answering questions and explaining how dishes were prepared. Also gave great recommendations. I would definitely go back to Morton's and would recommend it to anyone looking to enjoy a great meal with a nice atmosphere.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Service was impeccable! Food was to die ...

Dined on March 4, 2016

Service was impeccable! Food was to die for!! My filet literally melted in my mouth. We will be dining at Mortons during our next Indianapolis trip for sure!!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful Evening!

Dined on March 1, 2016

We entertained one of manufacturer's and I couldn't have been more pleased with the reception, service and delicious offerings this restaurant provided. It was a wonderful evening and a great way to entertain and foster an important business relationship.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Dinner at Mortons was fabulous

Dined on February 29, 2016

Two couples, one ordered shrimp scampi, one the Cajun pork chop and two the 6 oz filet fixed perfectly to order. Everyone raved about how good the food was, better than the usual. Server Sarah was helpful, knew the menu inside and out, made great suggestions. All four of us think it was a 5 out of 5 dinner. Side were hot, drinks great.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Awesome steak dinner - Top Quality

Dined on February 29, 2016

Awesome steak dinner - lots of flavor with the steak - best steak in Indianapolis. We have dined at many of the top rated steak houses in Indy. This is far and above the best steak around. So tender and flavorful - no need to add any steak sauce or other seasonings - it comes with all of the flavor required.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great food!,

Dined on February 19, 2016

Food was great and staff was awesome. My husbands steak was to be well done and after being brought to table the waitress stopped to check if we were ok and noticed right away his steak was not done how he wanted. Manager even stopped by our table to make we were good after his steak was returned.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion
food2
ambience3
service3
value1

Overpriced and Underwhelming

Dined on February 14, 2016

We usually go to Ruth's Chris for special occasions, but unfortunately they were booked when we made reservations. Friends recommended Morton's as a backup, and given the mostly positive reviews we expected it to be just as good as or better than our usual steakhouse experience. We were wrong. Let's get the positives out of the way. The location was convenient, the restaurant has a good ambiance for a romantic evening, the hostess and servers were all very pleasant, and the truffle fries were delicious. That said, nothing else gets a positive review. The bread wasn't a good consistency (soft and fell apart) and didn't taste very good, the lobster bisque had no flavor, and our steaks were undercooked the first time and after being sent back were still barely medium-rare when they returned. For almost $200 all we got was a decent salad and great fries. Maybe the desserts are worth going back for, but we wouldn't know because we decided to cut our losses and go elsewhere.

food5
ambience5
service5

Perfect steak every time, wife loved the ...

Dined on February 14, 2016

Perfect steak every time, wife loved the shrimp Alexander.

food4
ambience5
service5

Excellent date night!

Dined on February 14, 2016

Excellent date night!

food5
ambience5
service5

It was really good

Dined on February 14, 2016

It was really good

food5
ambience5
service5

Expensive, but great experience !

Dined on February 14, 2016

Expensive, but great experience !

food3
ambience5
service3
value4

mixed experience

Dined on February 14, 2016

The steak was phenomenal, but our baked potatoes were hard and not cooked completely. After dinner, we waited a significant amount of time for the server to bring our credit card back. In general, this wouldn't be a big deal, but given the price of the food, I expect a bit higher level of service.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Excellent!

Dined on February 14, 2016

Both the service and food were incredible! Thank you! We look forward to coming again in the very near future!!

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Best steak and service in Indy. This was ...

vip
Dined on February 14, 2016

Best steak and service in Indy. This was valentines Saturday and they were slammed. Even so the service was great and food perfect.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Nice and romantic

Dined on February 13, 2016

Nice quiet atmosphere and our waiter was very attentive and in tune with the menu items. Didn't have to call on him for anything as he was already aware of what we needed.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Salty but good

Dined on February 13, 2016

The service was fair, the food was good, the prices were extreme. I don't mind paying a premium when premium service and food are to follow. But it definitely was not the case for my experience. You be the judge...

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Valentines Day Dinner

Dined on February 13, 2016

We usually go to Morton's for special occasions, knowing that they always deliver. They didn't disappoint this time either. Both our meals were spectacular, with my wife having the filet and lobster, and I settled on the short ribs and scallops. Paired nicely with a red blend from Chappellet Vineyards, the meal was outstanding. Specialty sides that we chose was the mashed cauliflower with black truffle oil and Parmesan cheese, and horse radish mashed potatoes. Fantastic. Our appetizer was the only part that was a slight miss. The mozzarella wrapped with prosciutto wasn't anything to write home about. All in all....a great meal, great atmosphere, great service.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food3
ambience3
service1
value2

Birthday dinner at Mortons, Indianapolis

Dined on February 7, 2016

We made reservations and on a bust Saturday night only had a 10-15 wait before we were seated. Food quality was good. The Wine list was moderate. We had a bottle of red French Red in the $100.00 range. The server knew nothing about serving the wine. He just poured it 3/4 full in the glass and filled the other two glasses immediately. He served us quickly and then disappeared and did not check on us. We had a problem with the order being wrong, I asked for him and he still never showed up. Overall good food, good wine but very poor service for a $450.00 dinner for three people.

Tags: late-night find
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

A bit loud

Dined on February 7, 2016

We went there for my wife's birthday. She sat across from me and I could not hear her at all. Once we sat beside each other, this was better. We decided to get the porterhouse and split it. Great decision. She liked the filet side and I wanted a strip steak. Perfect portion and perfectly prepared. At the end of the meal, the server brought a LARGE slice of chocolate cake (complete with candle) Totally unexpected but a welcome surprise.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

Excellent Steaks, Noisy Atmosphere

Dined on February 6, 2016

Steaks were excellent and cooked exactly to order. Very attentive service. Unfortunately, the restaurant was full and very noisy. Hard to hear what the person across the table was saying. Not sure there is anything that can be done about this with the low ceilings. I prefer a quieter, more relaxed atmosphere.

food4
ambience5
service3
value3

A nice dinner with room for improvement

Dined on February 6, 2016

It was my husband's birthday and we had a whole date night planned away from our toddler so we booked early. I booked 4PM reservation and when we arrived 15 minutes early valet wasn't available and the front door was locked. I called inside and so did another guest who decided to wait for valet because she was handicapped and they were supposed to send someone out. Tick tock...So I stood outside in the cold in a dress and my husband parked our car and walked a couple blocks back and I was still waiting for the doors to be opened past 4pm opening and reservation time. Of course I didn't mention once inside I just wanted my husband to enjoy his night. We were seated right away after 4:10pm and ordered our food. They kindly printed Happy Birthday on the menu for him. My steak I ordered medium well because it was still medium rare and it had to be cooked again which made it too well done, besides a couple charred bites I wasn't going to complain to the manager than came out to ask if it was ok. I preferred my crabcake over my steak, my husband loved his rare steak. The portions seem generous. The Morton chopped salad wasn't good as I remembered, it was soaked in too much dressing and should be called diced salad, because it was in tiny tiny pieces and didn't taste very fresh. The ambiance is romantic lighting and music and not too noisy. The wine was the best part and highly recommended. Our chocolate dessert was complimentary because computer glitch so we waited extra 20 mins with complimentary espresso we ordered too because oops froth machine wasn't working either so we just had cream. The server apologized profusely and was extremely nice. She took our picture for the moment and then forgot to bring it to us. Lol.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

Food was adequate+, service a little disconected.

vip
Dined on February 5, 2016

This was a busy weeknight due to the "Devour Downtown" promotion. It was clear that the restaurant was a little unprepared and somewhat short staffed. Our server was very friendly and tried hard to keep up, but he had too many tables and groups to provide a service level that's associated with a upscale steak house. One thing that was a little surprising had to do with the unappealing street entrance. The doorway was unwelcoming and in poor condition. In fact the metal trim at the bottom of the door was partially pulled away and almost scraping the sidewalk. Once inside though the dining rooms are fine.

food5
ambience5
service5

DW was an excellent server!

vip
Dined on February 5, 2016

DW was an excellent server!

food4
ambience4
service4

Good service , kind wait staff and very ...

Dined on February 4, 2016

Good service , kind wait staff and very accommodating.

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.