About Morton's The Steakhouse - Indianapolis

41 E. Washington St
Indianapolis, IN 46204
View Larger Map

Morton's The Steakhouse, the nation's premier steakhouse group, specializes in classic, hearty fare, serving generous portions of USDA prime aged beef, as well as fresh fish, lobster and chicken entrees. The menu features a variety of favorite cuts, including a 24 ounce porterhouse, which is the house specialty; a 16 ounce New York Strip and a 12 ounce double cut filet.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Seafood, Steak

Hours of Operation:
Bar: 5:00pm Daily


Dinner:
Monday - Thursday 5:30pm - 10:00pm
Friday - Saturday 5:30pm - 11:00pm
Sunday 5:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
Pennsylvania

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(317) 229-4700

Website:
http://www.mortons.com/

Parking Details:
Valet available for $7.00.

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Morton's in Indianapolis hosts a variety of special events featuring fine wine & spirits, the best steak and a great time! For more information, visit http://www.mortons.com/indianapolis

Restaurant Photos

  • Ahi-Tuna Tower - Morton's The Steakhouse - Indianapolis, Indianapolis, IN
  • Garlic Bread Sticks With Bleu Cheese Fondue - Morton's The Steakhouse - Indianapolis, Indianapolis, IN
  • Parmesan Matchstick Truffle Fries - Morton's The Steakhouse - Indianapolis, Indianapolis, IN
  • Bone-In Ribeye - Morton's The Steakhouse - Indianapolis, Indianapolis, IN
Ahi-Tuna Tower - Morton's The Steakhouse - Indianapolis, Indianapolis, IN
Garlic Bread Sticks With Bleu Cheese Fondue - Morton's The Steakhouse - Indianapolis, Indianapolis, IN
Parmesan Matchstick Truffle Fries - Morton's The Steakhouse - Indianapolis, Indianapolis, IN
Bone-In Ribeye - Morton's The Steakhouse - Indianapolis, Indianapolis, IN

Specials

Christmas Eve Special Menus & Offers

Saturday, December 24, 2016

Christmas Day Special Menus & Offers

Sunday, December 25, 2016

New Year's Eve Special Menus & Offers

Saturday, December 31, 2016

Specials

Christmas Eve Special Menus & Offers

Saturday, December 24, 2016

Details

Join us on Christmas Eve for a perfect steak dinner! Open 4-9pm. Make your reservation now.

Christmas Day Special Menus & Offers

Sunday, December 25, 2016

Details

Join us Christmas Day for a perfect steak dinner! Open 4-9pm. Make your reservation now.

New Year's Eve Special Menus & Offers

Saturday, December 31, 2016

Details

Ring in 2017 at Morton’s with a perfect steak dinner! Make your reservation now for New Year’s Eve!

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

For those special occasions, Morton’s The Steakhouse offers luxuriously appointed private dining rooms and group dining accommodations. Our expert staff is dedicated to helping you plan the perfect event – whether it’s a business meeting or a birthday celebration.

Morton's The Steakhouse - Indianapolis Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.4

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

89% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Romantic
Indiana
Steakhouse
Indianapolis
Best Restaurants in Downtown Indy ›

Special Occasion (46)
Good for a Date (44)
Romantic (44)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (42)
Good for Birthdays (31)
Business Meals (26)
Notable Wine List (24)
Cozy (23)
Quiet Conversation (20)
Worth the Drive (18)
Private Room (16)
Good for Groups (15)
Fit for Foodies (15)
Pre/post Theatre (12)
Handcrafted Cocktails (9)
Authentic (8)
Bar Seating (7)
Tasting Menu (7)
Late-night Find (6)
Fun (6)
Neighborhood Gem (6)
Comfort Food (5)
Hot Spot (4)
Happy Hour (3)
Family Style (3)
Outstanding Value (3)
Modern Decor (3)
Open Kitchen (3)
Creative Cuisine (3)
Healthy (2)
Casual (2)
Seasonal (2)
Great Beer (2)
Historic (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
People Watching (1)
Tapas (1)
Spicy (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Scenic View (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Sort By:
S
1364 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Nice seating, cozy. The noise level was ...

 
 (Indiana)·Dined 4 days ago

Nice seating, cozy. The noise level was a bit loud, but the Big Ten Football fans were in town. Staff were very accommodating in celebrating our wedding anniversary. Steaks were cooked perfectly and horseradish potatoes were good. Other sides weren't anything special. Enjoyed our complimentary dessert and souvenir photo. We will visit again! One negative was that we paid the valet when we arrived for the evening, butour ticket wasn't stamped so valet insisted that we pay again when we left the restaurant.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value2

Delicious!

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined 4 days ago

Delicious!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The menu we had was prepared absolutely ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 5 days ago

The menu we had was prepared absolutely amazing. I couldn't ask before anything better. We very much enjoyed our salad and dinner entre. I would absolutely vistit this restaurant again, hopefully with a business visitor buying... JK... Server was great, can't remember his name.... Thank you

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Highly recommended . Steak was cooked t ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined 6 days ago

Highly recommended . Steak was cooked to perfection.

Tags: Seasonal, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great place and people too. Love Howard, ...

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on November 27, 2016

Great place and people too. Love Howard, Cindy and Shara their the best at what they do.

Tags: Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Bar Seating, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food and service were top notch like alw ...

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on November 26, 2016

Food and service were top notch like always. We took a couple out on date night as a thank you for helping us with some home renovations. Steaks were all ordered medium rare and came cooked to perfection. The group of four shared three sides, lobster mac, bleu cheese potatoes, and

Tags: Fun, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Private Room, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Business Meals, Handcrafted Cocktails, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

Way overpriced! Best part of the meal w ...

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on November 26, 2016

Way overpriced! Best part of the meal was the chopped salad. We won't be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value1

This wasn't our first time there, but it ...

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on November 26, 2016

This wasn't our first time there, but it was definitely the one with the most problems. I was given the wrong salad after an explicit discussion with the server about salads. Then my entree arrived, and part of it was stone cold and the small filet was way overcooked. It was a combination seafood and filet platter. The rest of our party's food was all fine, but we didn't get our wine delivered to the table until we were almost finished with our entrees. Our reservations were quite early in the evening, and they weren't very busy yet, so we don't really understand how all of these oversights happened. There were plenty of people hovering around to attend to the diners, but no one seemed to be paying attention back in the kitchen. The food was good, but at these prices, the service should have been a lot better.

Tags: Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value4

Hadn't been in a few years. Food still g ...

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on November 19, 2016

Hadn't been in a few years. Food still great,service still excellent. Family enjoyed the evening.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Tasting Menu, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Morton's is one of our favorite restaura ...

vip
 (Indiana)·Dined on November 18, 2016

Morton's is one of our favorite restaurants. The chilled "smoking" cocktail shrimp is incredible.

Just make sure to ask for extra horseradish if you want to spice it up a bit.

My steak was so tender it nearly melted in my mouth.

We had the special with the Shrimp Alexander, which was also great.

Great food - great service - thanks!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Private Room, Bar Seating, Worth the Drive, Good for Groups, Authentic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best steak in town in a town famous for ...

vip
 (Indiana)·Dined on November 18, 2016

Best steak in town in a town famous for steaks. Perfect service and food!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We enjoyed a wonderful birthday celebrat ...

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on November 13, 2016

We enjoyed a wonderful birthday celebration at Morton's on a Sunday. The food was delightful, the service superb and it was so quiet. Fabulous wine selection!! Will come here again

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food, great server, the price for ...

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Great food, great server, the price for what you get is too much.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value1

The food is great. It's definitely a to ...

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on November 11, 2016

The food is great. It's definitely a top steak house. But I went there with two friends, and we ordered no alcoholic beverages. We all know how drinks can run up a tab. And we ordered modestly. One salad and two appetizers to start, three entrees, and we had no desert. And the bill for three people was still way in excess of $300. Ordering as modestly as we did, and no drinks and no desert. A bill over $300 for 3 people is not a great value where I come from. I love to cook, and I'm told I'm an excellent chef. I could have put the same food on the table myself and had it turn out just as good as Morton's, for $100, give or take. I won't be going back without a pretty good reason, or unless I hit the lottery.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value1

My wife and I received a special offer i ...

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on November 11, 2016

My wife and I received a special offer in the mail for steak & lobster and thought we would try it. We have been here before many times over the past 10+ years and gotten several specials as this, but this was not the best. We made reservations for Thursday night and the place was almost empty compared to the last few times there. There was a large banquet of some sort going on so that was the reason for the slow service and OK food. We sent back the appetizer twice(shrimp cocktail)very dry and tasteless. My wife also remembered the lack of special attention you used to get here. Waiters were scraping the crumbs from the table before you were finished. Little touches that are lacking for such an expensive place should be put back in. It will be a while before I drop 250 large for 2 people and no doggy bag.....Sorry Mortons, not my #1 anymore......

Tags: Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value2

This is the best place in Indianapolis. ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 6, 2016

This is the best place in Indianapolis. Service is top notch!

Tags: Bar Seating, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Cozy, Tasting Menu, Private Room, Good for a Date, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Great Beer, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was good, but not spectacular, ...

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on November 6, 2016

The food was good, but not spectacular, the cocktails were very good. The restaurant was actually quite loud. The server was the best part of the evening. For the price of the meal, we thought the food did not hold up.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service5
value1

Our waitress was very sweet and a hard w ...

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Our waitress was very sweet and a hard worker. We wanted for nothing. The food was delicious. The only thing I might change was fewer onions in the spinach salad...still tasted them the next day. We appreciated the free dessert for our anniversary. We had a lovely time.

Tags: Cozy, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had reservations for 5:45, we arrived ...

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on November 1, 2016

We had reservations for 5:45, we arrived early and we seated right away. We needed to be at a concert at 7:15 and they were very accommodating about keeping time and calling a cab for us so we would not miss our concert. We all ordered filets. They were prepared beautifully and melted in your mouth. Baked potatoes were a great addition to the meal. Anytime I am in a city which has a Mortons Steak House that is where we eat. Great food and the best service around

Tags: Cozy, Pre/post Theatre, Outstanding Value, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a wonderful experience at Morton' ...

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on October 27, 2016

We had a wonderful experience at Morton's as always. The food was excellent and we were treated very well. If in the area we will definitely come back.

Tags: Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Comfort Food, Bar Seating, Cozy, Healthy, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Business Meals, Late-night Find, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value2

Our waitress was very knowledgeable abou ...

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on October 22, 2016

Our waitress was very knowledgeable about the menu. Went for our anniversary they took our picture and gave us a copy. Wine list is bigger than the menu. Wonderful time and food was exceptional

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Family Style, Business Meals, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Modern Decor, Good for a Date, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Comfort Food, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

The service and special requests were ha ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 22, 2016

The service and special requests were handled with patience and kindness. We felt like they could not do enough for us. Thank you for the outstanding dinner!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

This is an excellent meat lovers, high e ...

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on October 15, 2016

This is an excellent meat lovers, high end restaurant. Good service and you can have a conversation without having to talk over loud music or general noise. They also take reservations which is a plus. The only negative is that they don't have a dress code. Perhaps it is too competitive in this market to have such a requirement, and maybe I'm old fashion but blue jeans, golf shirts etc., seemed out of place to me. One gentleman came in with a hip hop ball cap on. I was curious to see if they would make him take it off. I don't know if they did be the next time I looked it was off.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

The steak was probably one of the beat I ...

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on October 15, 2016

The steak was probably one of the beat I have ever had. The price was way to high. $171.00 for 2 people is too much. We both had a 6oz filet and I drank water while my wife had one glass of wine. Onion rings for an appetizer and we split a desert. So the $171.00 is just way to much for that. Once again the steak was great but not $171.00 great.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value1

This was our first time at Morton's, and ...

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on October 15, 2016

This was our first time at Morton's, and it did not disappoint. The food was delicious, and the service was excellent. We went for my parents' anniversary, and they enjoyed the personalization on the menu, and everyone wished them a Happy Anniversary from the moment we entered. It was a wonderful experience, and we look forward to visiting again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Anytime I need a great ol place to come ...

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on October 14, 2016

Anytime I need a great ol place to come wheater it's a birthday celebration or a romantic occasion , this is my restaurant of choice.

Tags: Fun, Good for a Date, Family Style, Worth the Drive, Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

We ate on the outdoor balcony. Food serv ...

vip
 (Indiana)·Dined on October 10, 2016

We ate on the outdoor balcony. Food service and atmosphere were perfect!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great chopped salad, rib eye, and sides. ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 8, 2016

Great chopped salad, rib eye, and sides. Sides big enough for two or three to share. Great service too. One the better chain steak houses I've dined at. Will definitely return

Tags: Fun, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Excellent service and the food overall w ...

vip
 (Indiana)·Dined on October 8, 2016

Excellent service and the food overall was excellent. We had a minor issue with steak getting prepared as requested; however, they were quick to resolve and offer another cut. Morton's is a great place that you can always expect quality, great service, and know what your paying for.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

The ambiance is fantastic, the prices ar ...

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on September 24, 2016

The ambiance is fantastic, the prices are a bit much for some of the same things that you can get elsewhere cheaper and as good.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Cozy, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

Great steaks. Great staff. Our favorite ...

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on September 23, 2016

Great steaks. Great staff. Our favorite Indy restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Love Cindy and Howard. The best in this ...

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on September 23, 2016

Love Cindy and Howard. The best in this Business. We always book a reservation at Mortons for birthdays, anniversary and Valentine's Day

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Pre/post Theatre, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The service was spectacular. It was our ...

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on September 19, 2016

The service was spectacular. It was our anniversary and they completely catered to our special occasion. The food was delicious and would definitely recommend Morton's for special occasions.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Food was really good. I would definitely ...

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on September 17, 2016

Food was really good. I would definitely recommend the filet mignon. Service was really good and we loved the feeling of exclusivity that dining at Morton's provides.

Our only complaint was that we were there celebrating my wife's birthday and we overheard our waitress tell the couple next to us, who were also celebrating a birthday, that because of the special occasion dessert was on them. That same offer was never made to us. We had plenty of delicious food and had no room for dessert but it would have been nice to have felt like we were getting treated special.

Overall, great food, great atmosphere, and really good service. We would definitely go again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

This was our 35th wedding annivesary and ...

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on September 17, 2016

This was our 35th wedding annivesary and we have been to this location the last three years..the food was not as good overall as it was on our last visit

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value5

This is the 1st time that we had been to ...

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on September 14, 2016

This is the 1st time that we had been to Morton's in Indianapolis. The atmosphere was very nice and it reminded us of the Morton's in New Orleans. Morton's has always been consistent and has had great service at each of the different locations that we have tried. This is a great place to go for anniversaries. Our waiter was great and every other waiter that checked on us when they were passing by. The waiters worked great as a team.

Tags: Romantic, Worth the Drive, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Casual, Good for Birthdays, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We enjoyed our Anniversary .. It was our ...

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on September 11, 2016

We enjoyed our Anniversary .. It was our first time to dine at Morton's.. The food was excellent and the service was A+... I highly recommend Morton's The Steak House-Indy.

Tags: Business Meals, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Private Room, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Went there for my anniversary, food was ...

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on September 4, 2016

Went there for my anniversary, food was spot on. Best steak I've ever had. The service was even better than the food. The waiter was always there just as we needed him, knew the food inside and out, and had great recommendations. They ran out of the bottle of wine that we asked for but came up with a great alternative that has now become my go to wine. We were meeting some friends there, and my wife and I arrived early. We went to the bar and casually chatted with each other and the bartender. I ended up mentioning our anniversary to the bartender, as a casual off hand remark. When we got the our table there were anniversary menus, and a little confetti on the table. What a nice touch.

Tags: Private Room, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Murat Dining, Movie & Travel Club met fo ...

vip
 (Indiana)·Dined on September 4, 2016

Murat Dining, Movie & Travel Club met for Devour Downtown, and once again, we were not disappointed in the food, service or experience. We had a group of 16 and got a variety of options. The only thing semi negative was The Double Cut Dirty pork chop. Although the pork chop in itself was delicious, some of us found the spices just a bit too much. Do not remember it being as spicy last time as it seemed this time, but other than that, another great meal.

Tags: Good for a Date, Vibrant Bar Scene, Casual, Special Occasion, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value5

Best steaks in town. Best bread in town ...

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on September 4, 2016

Best steaks in town. Best bread in town. Great place to celebrate Anniversary, Birthdays.

Tags: Private Room, Great Beer, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Business Meals, Tasting Menu, Neighborhood Gem, Happy Hour, Bar Seating, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.