About Morton's The Steakhouse - Indianapolis

41 E. Washington St
Indianapolis, IN 46204
View Larger Map

Morton's The Steakhouse, the nation's premier steakhouse group, specializes in classic, hearty fare, serving generous portions of USDA prime aged beef, as well as fresh fish, lobster and chicken entrees. The menu features a variety of favorite cuts, including a 24 ounce porterhouse, which is the house specialty; a 16 ounce New York Strip and a 12 ounce double cut filet.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Seafood, Steak

Hours of Operation:
Bar: 5:00pm Daily


Dinner:
Monday - Thursday 5:30pm - 10:00pm
Friday - Saturday 5:30pm - 11:00pm
Sunday 5:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
Pennsylvania

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(317) 229-4700

Website:
http://www.mortons.com/

Parking Details:
Valet available for $7.00.

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Morton's in Indianapolis hosts a variety of special events featuring fine wine & spirits, the best steak and a great time! For more information, visit http://www.mortons.com/indianapolis

Restaurant Photos

  • Ahi-Tuna Tower
  • Garlic Bread Sticks With Bleu Cheese Fondue
  • Parmesan Matchstick Truffle Fries
  • Bone-In Ribeye
Ahi-Tuna Tower
Garlic Bread Sticks With Bleu Cheese Fondue
Parmesan Matchstick Truffle Fries
Bone-In Ribeye

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

For those special occasions, Morton’s The Steakhouse offers luxuriously appointed private dining rooms and group dining accommodations. Our expert staff is dedicated to helping you plan the perfect event – whether it’s a business meeting or a birthday celebration.

Morton's The Steakhouse - Indianapolis Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.6

ambience

4.5

noise

Moderate

91% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Steakhouse
Indiana
Romantic
Indianapolis
Special Occasion
Indianapolis
1 More
Steakhouse
Indianapolis
Best Restaurants in Downtown Indy ›

special occasion (66)
romantic (50)
notable wine list (34)
See All
fit for foodies (23)
good for groups (23)
neighborhood gem (11)
hot spot (7)
late-night find (3)
vibrant bar scene (2)
great for lunch (2)
great for brunch (1)
kid-friendly (1)
Sort By:
Newest
1283 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We were celebrating our 17th Wedding an ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

We were celebrating our 17th Wedding anniversary. It was very nice. The service was impeccable. The waiter was friendly and personable. We ordered the grilled salmon and It was delicious!

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

Just fair ambiance, below ground level, ...

Dined on June 18, 2016

Just fair ambiance, below ground level, with no natural light. Not very festive atmosphere. Dreary entrance at street level, without any attention to decor. The entry to a restaurant sets the tone for the evening. Fabulous, outstanding and helpful waiter(Nathan). Delicious food. One of the best NY steaks I have ever had. Pricey for Indianapolis (48.00 for a NY steak, 13.00 for a baked potato and 13.00 for a side order of asparagus), but very well prepared .

Tags: notable wine list
food2
ambience5
service5
value3

I had the Halibut and it wasn't the grea ...

Dined on June 18, 2016

I had the Halibut and it wasn't the greatest fish dish that I've had especially not for the price. The dessert was good and the service was amazing but I just expected more from the food.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

As always food and service were impeccab ...

Dined on June 17, 2016

As always food and service were impeccable. Summer menu special is a great value.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was an amazing dining experience. W ...

Dined on June 12, 2016

This was an amazing dining experience. We arrived to find our menus personalized for our Anniversary, and all the wait staff wished us Happy Anniversary. The dining area was calm and peaceful as was the kitchen. Our waiter, Chris, was one of the best we have ever experienced. He was able to make a substitution of a vegetable on one of the specials we ordered. What he didn't know was how important that would be for my health. He was kind, attentive and very professional. I would request his table if I came back again soon. Morton's is where our family celebrates. Our daughter was there on the night she was engaged, we have been for several Anniversaries. The food is exceptional and you will never find another steak this tender and flavorful anywhere. Sides are for sharing and are delicious. Thank you Morton's (and Chris!) for making our evening so special. We felt like royalty! We will be back!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Their summer menu was in flight. Howeve ...

Dined on June 11, 2016

Their summer menu was in flight. However, steak was dry and bread was hard. Seems like whenever there is a deal going on the kitchen does not try as hard. Makes bad first impression and leaves no reason for frequent diners to come back.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

10th Anniversary

Dined on June 3, 2016

The food excellent! The Filet Mignon was the best I've ever had and I've visited all big steak houses in Indy. Our server was excellent! It's pricey but worth it for a special occasion.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Our experience at Morton's is consistent ...

vip
Dined on May 29, 2016

Our experience at Morton's is consistently excellent. The food is always well prepared and delicious (the Cajun ribeye is amazing, as is the molton cake sundae!!) and the courses are always well spaced and timed out. We request a booth and always are seated at a booth...they read reservation requests ahead of time and are very accommodating. 9 times out of 10 our service is great as well, occasionally we get someone who is a little too attentive or someone inattentive. Overall, always a great experience...definitely recommend it!

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Morton’s was perfect!

Dined on May 28, 2016

We were there on the 100th Indy 500 weekend, so it was busy everywhere in the city. The original reservation was for 2, but I wanted to add 2 friends that decided to join us last minute…no problem. On top of that, we screwed up and arrived about 20 mins late, again…no problem, our table was waiting for us. I wanted a sort of old school, traditional American steakhouse, but not too uptight or stuffy…this place was perfect. The service was top notch, professional but relaxed, easy going attitude. Food, cocktail and wine recommendations were spot on. The food was awesome - incredible steaks (4 guys dining – we all had steak), great appies and sides, even got an excellent free desert because it was my friends birthday the next day…’close enough’ our waiter decided. Would totally go back and recommend to friends.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Forget St. Elmo's

Dined on May 28, 2016

I called St. Elmo's one year in advance to make a dinner reservation after the Indy 500. They would not make a reservation for 8 people. I chose Morton's instead. It was a bit noisy, but the food and service was excellent. In addition, we met Tony Kannan as he was visiting the adjoining room. Forget St. Elmo's and dine at Morton's.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Our 5th anniversary. We mentioned this i ...

Dined on May 22, 2016

Our 5th anniversary. We mentioned this in Open table and they did the rest: Personalized menus already waiting for us at a booth (not a table), appropriate for a couple. The waiter also took our photo and we left with a keepsake hand written happy Anniversary card with the photo included. And dessert on the house! They made it easy to split salad and entrée - even providing my husband his half of the salad without nuts. The food was delicious and the carrot cake was full of good things. It tasted home-made. The frosting was quite light, not heavy and sugary.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

This is a Keith family favorite. We din ...

vip
Dined on May 22, 2016

This is a Keith family favorite. We dine here for most every special occasion.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, notable wine list
food3
ambience2
service1
value1

Disappointed

Dined on May 14, 2016

There was nothing about this dining experience that felt special, except for the prices on the menu. The service was slow and non-attentive. We were seated for ten minutes before we had water. The restaurant is a basement room with no atmosphere. The location is good. The salads and bread were good. The entree's with beef were ok. The entree's with Salmon and Scallops were not good at all. We expected a lot more from this chain which enjoys a good brand reputation. I'm surprised this place stays in business.

food3
ambience3
service2
value1

The server felt it necessary to basicall ...

vip
Dined on May 13, 2016

The server felt it necessary to basically read the entire menu to us... Instead of focusing on a few choice items he read the whole darn thing. They were extremely overpriced... $13.00 for a baked potato! I mean really.... Most sides were $13 or more. Several of the entrees at our table came with sides.. The salmon came with corn and that individual ordered a side of corn! Another diner with us ordered a chicken dish and ordered a side of broccoli. That entrée came with as asparagus! Thanks for letting us know server. It had been years since I had been there and these examples are the reasons why it had been so long. They do all they can to get your check total up with no regard to what makes sense.... We wont go back... To top it all off my steak was barely hot... I hate to send food back because it throws off the whole meal for everyone...

food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent steak amazing service great at ...

vip
Dined on May 13, 2016

Excellent steak amazing service great atmosphere.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Simply Elegant

Dined on May 5, 2016

Truly a fine dining experience! Our steaks were prepared to perfection and the wine list was exceptional. The two of us enjoyed an appropriately-paced meal, which is often difficult to find. We do not like to be rushed, and we weren't. Morton's surpasses even the saintly Indy steakhouses in all aspects in our opinion.

Tags: special occasion, notable wine list
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

Not what we thought it would be

Dined on April 30, 2016

I will only say that I had a very disappointing experience at Morton's . I will not recommend this restaurant to anybody.

Tags: notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Really great steak. Perfect service and ...

vip
Dined on April 30, 2016

Really great steak. Perfect service and elegant atmosphere!! The best place for steak in Indy!!

food3
ambience4
service5
value1

Food not comparable to other steakhouse food

Dined on April 30, 2016

We went to Morton's for our anniversary. Everyone was very nice and went out of their way to make our anniversary a special occasion...and they succeeded. The service was excellent. The food was not special. (The bread, salad, filet mignon, sides) My husband ordered a Porterhouse, well done, no pink. It came more than pink and had to be redone. When he finally did get it, it was awesome! I ordered the filet mignon, well done, and it came charred. It tasted charred and it was tough. I ended up eating some of my husband's steak. We ordered grilled asparagus, which was not tasty. We ordered the scalloped potatoes which were really cheesy but didn't seem to have any seasoning at all. We were allowed to choose any dessert, free of charge to celebrate our anniversary. We chose the Morton's Legendary Sundae which was awesome! The best thing about this restaurant was the service and the Porterhouse. The taste of the food did not warrant the expense. Because the food did not measure up to other comparable steakhouses in Indianapolis, we decided there was no reason to return.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful atmosphere & the food is amazing!

Dined on April 16, 2016

This was a wonderful dining experience! Perfect atmosphere for adult dining! The food was awesome...The service was excellent! I can't wait to go again soon!

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We Love Morton's

Dined on April 16, 2016

Morton's food is alway hot and excellent! We celebrate everything at Morton's from anniversaries to graduation and church functions. Morton's always give exceptoservice and serves exceptional food.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Beautiful Evening at a Wonderful Place

Dined on April 16, 2016

After getting equipment ready to farm we headed to INDY then he said thought we would Eat at Morton's it was great Our Waiter knew every question and was very impressed with him but I did forget his name Our salad was so fresh and the our split steak melted in our mouth the fried potatoes were excellent oh what a night We were to full to have our crème' burley and that's what we knew we'd have to finish our evening Next time we will get it first we told our server Thanks again and you have taught this server to be so pleasant and knowledgeable Coming back Paul

Tags: romantic
food5
ambience5
service5

Absolutely perfect experience. Service f ...

vip
Dined on April 16, 2016

Absolutely perfect experience. Service food and atmosphere was excellent. Highly recommend this steakhouse!!

food2
ambience2
service2

Very disappointed in the entire experien ...

Dined on April 15, 2016

Very disappointed in the entire experience. Morton's doesn't seem to have caught up with the 21st century. I felt like I was eating at a above average restaurant from the 90's. The food was so-so. Definitely not worth the price. My favorite was the jumbo asparagus. Having grown-up in a produce rich area, everyone knows that the smaller and thinner asparagus is far more tender and flavorful. Very disappointed!

food5
ambience4
service4
value3

Special Occasion

vip
Dined on April 9, 2016

We had not been to Morton's for awhile but decided to make a return trip. As expected, the food was outstanding especially my NY Strip which was excellent. We enjoyed the sides and ended up ordering Key Lime Pie for dessert, all which was very good. Our only complaint, and it is minor, is it took a long time for dinner to come after the appetizers. The server apologized and offered a free dessert as an apology. So, we ordered the Key Lime Pie but then were charged for it. It took her some time to come back so we finally just paid the bill and left. It left a bad taste, pun intended, on what was an outstanding dinner otherwise.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Perfect service food and atmosphere. The ...

vip
Dined on April 8, 2016

Perfect service food and atmosphere. The place for steak in downtown Indy!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Can't go wrong

Dined on April 3, 2016

We split the seasonal scallop entree and the Cajun rib-eye. I've tried to talk my husband into the Cajun ribeye in the past, and he has always gone with a filet. This time, we were both THRILLED with the Cajun ribeye. The seasoning isn't hot, but just right to give it some extra flavor. It was done perfectly. The scallops were going off the menu the next day, so I had to try them. They melted in your mouth. Sides were the mashed Cauliflower w/truffles and the Au Gratin potatoes, both of which were awesome. We also split the spinach salad between three of us, and it was perfect. Our only faux pas was not ordering one of the souffles, which take approx. 30 min. We had time to talk and wished we would have ordered one after we finished our entrees. The bread pudding and chocolate cake were both to die for.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great!!!

Dined on April 2, 2016

This was our first time dining at Morton's and the experience was amazing. The service was excellent and the food was even better. Compliments to the chef

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

WOW!

vip
Dined on March 10, 2016

Morton's is AMAZING!!! Best steak I have ever had. Out waiter was incredible. He was very knowledgeable about the entire menu and was great at answering questions and explaining how dishes were prepared. Also gave great recommendations. I would definitely go back to Morton's and would recommend it to anyone looking to enjoy a great meal with a nice atmosphere.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Service was impeccable! Food was to die ...

Dined on March 4, 2016

Service was impeccable! Food was to die for!! My filet literally melted in my mouth. We will be dining at Mortons during our next Indianapolis trip for sure!!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful Evening!

Dined on March 1, 2016

We entertained one of manufacturer's and I couldn't have been more pleased with the reception, service and delicious offerings this restaurant provided. It was a wonderful evening and a great way to entertain and foster an important business relationship.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Dinner at Mortons was fabulous

Dined on February 29, 2016

Two couples, one ordered shrimp scampi, one the Cajun pork chop and two the 6 oz filet fixed perfectly to order. Everyone raved about how good the food was, better than the usual. Server Sarah was helpful, knew the menu inside and out, made great suggestions. All four of us think it was a 5 out of 5 dinner. Side were hot, drinks great.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Awesome steak dinner - Top Quality

Dined on February 29, 2016

Awesome steak dinner - lots of flavor with the steak - best steak in Indianapolis. We have dined at many of the top rated steak houses in Indy. This is far and above the best steak around. So tender and flavorful - no need to add any steak sauce or other seasonings - it comes with all of the flavor required.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great food!,

Dined on February 19, 2016

Food was great and staff was awesome. My husbands steak was to be well done and after being brought to table the waitress stopped to check if we were ok and noticed right away his steak was not done how he wanted. Manager even stopped by our table to make we were good after his steak was returned.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion
food2
ambience3
service3
value1

Overpriced and Underwhelming

Dined on February 14, 2016

We usually go to Ruth's Chris for special occasions, but unfortunately they were booked when we made reservations. Friends recommended Morton's as a backup, and given the mostly positive reviews we expected it to be just as good as or better than our usual steakhouse experience. We were wrong. Let's get the positives out of the way. The location was convenient, the restaurant has a good ambiance for a romantic evening, the hostess and servers were all very pleasant, and the truffle fries were delicious. That said, nothing else gets a positive review. The bread wasn't a good consistency (soft and fell apart) and didn't taste very good, the lobster bisque had no flavor, and our steaks were undercooked the first time and after being sent back were still barely medium-rare when they returned. For almost $200 all we got was a decent salad and great fries. Maybe the desserts are worth going back for, but we wouldn't know because we decided to cut our losses and go elsewhere.

food5
ambience5
service5

Perfect steak every time, wife loved the ...

Dined on February 14, 2016

Perfect steak every time, wife loved the shrimp Alexander.

food4
ambience5
service5

Excellent date night!

Dined on February 14, 2016

Excellent date night!

food5
ambience5
service5

It was really good

Dined on February 14, 2016

It was really good

food5
ambience5
service5

Expensive, but great experience !

Dined on February 14, 2016

Expensive, but great experience !

food3
ambience5
service3
value4

mixed experience

Dined on February 14, 2016

The steak was phenomenal, but our baked potatoes were hard and not cooked completely. After dinner, we waited a significant amount of time for the server to bring our credit card back. In general, this wouldn't be a big deal, but given the price of the food, I expect a bit higher level of service.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.