About Morton's The Steakhouse - Charlotte

227 W. Trade Street
Charlotte, NC 28202
View Larger Map

Morton's The Steakhouse, the nation's premier steakhouse group, specializes in classic, hearty fare, serving generous portions of USDA prime aged beef, as well as fresh fish, lobster and chicken entrees. The menu features a variety of favorite cuts, including a 24 ounce porterhouse, which is the house specialty; a 16 ounce New York Strip and a 12 ounce double cut filet.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Seafood, Steak

Hours of Operation:
Dinner Served Nightly:

Monday - Thursday 5:30-10:00pm

Friday & Saturday 5:30pm-11:00pm

Sunday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(704) 333-2602

Website:
http://www.mortons.com/

Catering:
Private and group dining available. Contact our dedicated Sales and Marketing Manager to plan your next business or social event. Hosting a party at your home or office? Ask about Morton's Prime To Go and Prime Platters!

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Happy Hour, Indoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Morton's in Charlotte (Uptown) hosts a variety of special events featuring fine wine & spirits, the best steak and a great time! For more information, visit http://www.mortons.com/charlotte

Restaurant Photos

  • Chocolate Souffle - Morton's The Steakhouse - Charlotte, Charlotte, NC
  • Filet Oskar - Morton's The Steakhouse - Charlotte, Charlotte, NC
  • Morton's Salad - Morton's The Steakhouse - Charlotte, Charlotte, NC
Chocolate Souffle - Morton's The Steakhouse - Charlotte, Charlotte, NC
Filet Oskar - Morton's The Steakhouse - Charlotte, Charlotte, NC
Morton's Salad - Morton's The Steakhouse - Charlotte, Charlotte, NC

Specials

Christmas Eve Special Menus & Offers

Saturday, December 24, 2016

Christmas Day Special Menus & Offers

Sunday, December 25, 2016

New Year's Eve Special Menus & Offers

Saturday, December 31, 2016

Specials

Christmas Eve Special Menus & Offers

Saturday, December 24, 2016

Details

Join us on Christmas Eve for a perfect steak dinner! Open 4-9pm. Make your reservation now.

Christmas Day Special Menus & Offers

Sunday, December 25, 2016

Details

Join us Christmas Day for a perfect steak dinner! Open 4-9pm. Make your reservation now.

New Year's Eve Special Menus & Offers

Saturday, December 31, 2016

Details

Ring in 2017 at Morton’s with a perfect steak dinner! Make your reservation now for New Year’s Eve!

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

For those special occasions, Morton’s The Steakhouse offers luxuriously appointed private dining rooms and group dining accommodations. Our expert staff is dedicated to helping you plan the perfect event – whether it’s a business meeting or a birthday celebration.

Morton's The Steakhouse - Charlotte Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.6

ambience

4.5

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

85% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Romantic
Charlotte
Special Occasion
Charlotte
Steakhouse
Charlotte
3 More
Romantic
Charlotte
Special Occasion
Charlotte
Steakhouse
Charlotte
Best Restaurants in Uptown ›

Special Occasion (37)
Romantic (26)
Good for Anniversaries (22)
See All
Good for a Date (20)
Notable Wine List (18)
Business Meals (16)
Good for Birthdays (13)
Worth the Drive (11)
Quiet Conversation (10)
Cozy (8)
Good for Groups (7)
Modern Decor (7)
Private Room (7)
Pre/post Theatre (6)
Bar Seating (5)
Fit for Foodies (4)
Outstanding Value (4)
Handcrafted Cocktails (4)
Fun (3)
Neighborhood Gem (3)
Creative Cuisine (3)
Vibrant Bar Scene (3)
Family Style (3)
Fireplace (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Comfort Food (2)
Great for Lunch (2)
Authentic (2)
Seasonal (2)
Open Kitchen (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Live Sports (1)
Healthy (1)
Casual (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Sort By:
S
1270 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

I took my parents out to dinner at Morto ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on November 27, 2016

I took my parents out to dinner at Morton's Steakhouse while visiting them in Charlotte, and they enjoyed the experience very much.

In regards to value, for what it was I thought it was overpriced at 305 dollars for 3 people. The food was good, but by no means exceptional. My filet mignon was slightly dry, but well seasoned. Full disclosure: I asked for it well done, which I know is not quite the thing, but exceptional places can handle that challenge without overcooking. Still, the oysters were fresh (only one kind of oyster, though) and the wine selection was great.

The service was good overall, though I was irked by our waitress, who kept referring to my stepfather in all things (the only man at the table) and was a little dismissive of my mom and I. Of course, she brought him the check even though I requested it and the reservation was under my name. Meh. Still, good experience overall and I would recommend this place.

Tags: Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Modern Decor, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

This is a very nice restaurant. We were ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on November 26, 2016

This is a very nice restaurant. We were visiting our children over the holiday and chose this establishment for a nice dinner. The restaurant and service were exceptional. A bit pricey for our needs though. I would highly recommend Morton's for a special occasion, but not for a casual dinner/get together.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Great food, awesome service, and pleasan ...

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on November 20, 2016

Great food, awesome service, and pleasant ambiance. Attention to detail the best in Charlotte!

Tags: Good for a Date, Paleo Friendly, Business Meals, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Steak was over cooked. Service was adeq ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on November 19, 2016

Steak was over cooked. Service was adequate. Been here before and it is not the same in regards to service and food. I will not go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

Excellent atmosphere, excellent staff, ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on November 19, 2016

Excellent atmosphere, excellent staff, and excellent food. I highly recommend this for special occasions such as dates, anniversaries, treating yourself for a nice dinner, etc. Definitely worth it, and I plan to visit again in the future.

Tags: Good for a Date, Cozy, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was very tasteful.

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on November 19, 2016

Food was very tasteful.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

A little disappointed in the overall exp ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on November 17, 2016

A little disappointed in the overall experience. Service was very good. The meals were "average". I ordered the Coby beef sirloin and it had a fat streak thru it. Good flavor but no better than a filet. Not worth the $80 for sure. Salad was okay, not super fresh. Sides were average. Overall 3 out of 5 but for $450 I would definitely go somewhere else next time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

I enjoy my first time for my boyfriend b ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on November 14, 2016

I enjoy my first time for my boyfriend birthday, the experience was outstanding customer service was on point food was amazing

Tags: Seasonal, Great for Outdoor Dining, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Fireplace, Comfort Food, Fun, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I went here with my husband for dinner ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on November 13, 2016

I went here with my husband for dinner before a show at the Blumenthahl and it was fabulous. The staff is wonderful, the food is wonderful it was all really great! We had the seafood sampler, salads and lobster macaroni and cheese. Unfortunately we were too full for dessert, they have some yummy ones. Enjoy!!

Tags: Family Style, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Comfort Food, Good for Groups, Disabled Access, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We made a reservation on a whim based on ...

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on November 13, 2016

We made a reservation on a whim based on the consierge reviews. As we walked in it was clear they didnt have their act together. No one at the hosetess desk, and the manager (guy in a suit who saw us and never even acknowledged us) was darting all around the place. It took 10 minutes for them to even greet us, and then we were seated.

The place was loud, and the floor was dirty. Had the food not been good and the waiter not taken care of us I would have rated lower. If this is whats to be expected at Mortons, save yourself some $$'s and go to Texas Roadhouse for a steak.

As we left the hostess was playing with her phone, never even thanked us for our business.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service5
value1

Steaks were not the same Eaten

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on November 10, 2016

Steaks were not the same

Eaten

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5

Great experience, excellent service! Tru ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Great experience, excellent service! Truly made our date night special. Food is spectacular.

Tags: Romantic, Seasonal, Outstanding Value, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

My name is Sarah Smith not Larry he was ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on November 5, 2016

My name is Sarah Smith not Larry he was my guest. Please change the name to Sarah Smith. Thank you. This is Sarah Smiths email .

I enjoyed my visit and look forward to coming back! Loved it!

Tags: Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Cajun ribeye and mushroom with spinach w ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on November 3, 2016

Cajun ribeye and mushroom with spinach was exceptional. Strawberry rubarb crisp was perfect finish. Not much of a beer selection is only down side.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We had a great dinner and look forward t ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on October 31, 2016

We had a great dinner and look forward to our next visit!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Romantic, Special Occasion, Modern Decor, Fun, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Private Room, Quiet Conversation, Outstanding Value, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My son and I go every year after the Pan ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on October 30, 2016

My son and I go every year after the Panthers game. The food and service are always outstanding! Great family tradition for us!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

I love the Bar Bites menu. 4 Filet Migno ...

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on October 30, 2016

I love the Bar Bites menu. 4 Filet Mignon sliders for $8! The bartenders are the best in the city.

Tags: Bar Seating, Business Meals, Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Happy Hour, Live Sports, Family Style, Modern Decor, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Private Room, Paleo Friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Everything we ate was absolutely amazing ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on October 29, 2016

Everything we ate was absolutely amazing and our server, Christian, treated us like royalty. We will definitely be back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The steaks at Morton's are delicious we ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 29, 2016

The steaks at Morton's are delicious we also had cream spinach and the mashed potatoes which were also delicious. Yes I would recommend Morton's especially for a special occasion because it is pricey.

Tags: Romantic, Family Style, Special Occasion, Modern Decor, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

Restaurant was empty, why were we rushed ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 28, 2016

Restaurant was empty, why were we rushed? No crust on the fillets. Tasted like they were done in the microwave.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

I thought that it is way overpriced. O ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on October 23, 2016

I thought that it is way overpriced. Our food was good but not exceptional. Service was very good though. I had salmon and shrimp and didn't even finish it...had better many other places. I was disappointed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value1

Fantastic experience. Everything was del ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on October 22, 2016

Fantastic experience. Everything was delicious. Great service. Perfect for a special occasion. Be prepared to open your wallet. Well worth it.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Private Room, Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Always exceptional service and great foo ...

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on October 22, 2016

Always exceptional service and great food. Place is a little dark. Wish there were table lights.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5

Like all upscale restaurants, it's a bit ...

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on October 21, 2016

Like all upscale restaurants, it's a bit pricy, but well worth it it. The service is the greatest.

Tags: Romantic, Worth the Drive, Good for Groups, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Bar Seating, Open Kitchen, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Pre/post Theatre, Business Meals, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Excellent steaks. Up to the Standard you ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 21, 2016

Excellent steaks. Up to the Standard you expect

Had the bone in rib eye

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Morton's does absolutely everything righ ...

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on October 9, 2016

Morton's does absolutely everything right. Even though it's an upscale Steakhouse, the bartenders, the servers, and the managers make you feel like you belong to their "club".

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Probably one of the best steaks I have e ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on October 8, 2016

Probably one of the best steaks I have ever enjoyed. Cooked to perfection. Service was impeccable. Great atmosphere.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

This was our first time at Mortons and o ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on October 8, 2016

This was our first time at Mortons and overall it was good. Our server was ok. She was not as friendly to us as she was with the table next to us. I thought we would get a candle in my Husband's desert because it was his birthday but it never happened. The server never acknowledged it. I do not recommend any chocolate cake it was very dry!

Tags: Cozy, Special Occasion, Private Room, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

Excellent service with much attention to ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on September 21, 2016

Excellent service with much attention to detail. The trio with filet mignon, scallops and shrimp is my favorite.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We went to Morton's for a night out and ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on September 17, 2016

We went to Morton's for a night out and our service was not great at all. The food tasted good but everything was cold once we got it. We tried to let our sever know, but it was a while before the server made their way back to the table and we were starving. For the money we spent, it was not worth it and we will definitely be going somewhere else the next time we have a night out. I would not recommend this restaurant.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value2

Everything was almost perfect, the main ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on September 16, 2016

Everything was almost perfect, the main disappointment was as soon as we walked in the door and were informed we would not have the server we had requested (Erica) when we made our reservation. The worst part my wife called the day before to confirm Erica would be our server and she was told yes. When I made our reservation we request Erica as our server and a booth. When we walked in and gave our name we were told oh we are so sorry but Erica is working a rehearsal dinner and won't be able to be your server, but we will get you a server that you will not be disappointed in, and then ask if we would like a table or a booth? We had a good server but that was all she was, we got the service we could have received at any restaurant. I know from my 18 years owning a restaurant lounge a rehearsal dinner would have been planned well in advance as far as servers, if we had been told Erica was not available when we called the day before we would have re-booked for Saturday (that is how much we were looking forward to her service and personality as well as your excellent food) our reservation was for 4 but one had to help out with a football situation, so there was only 3 but both of them we had told how great the food and drinks were and that they would just love the server we had requested, so if we had been informed Erica was booked to work a party we would have been in Saturday and there most likely would have been the 4 instead of 3. Dinner was great, just disappointed we missed the service we were expecting.

Tags: Authentic, Romantic, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

The food and service was great! The wait ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on September 16, 2016

The food and service was great! The wait staff made the event special

Tags: Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Dinner was wonderful and the server was ...

 
 (Miami)·Dined on September 3, 2016

Dinner was wonderful and the server was great the wine was a very good choice management was very friendly

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Just a bad night at Charlotte Mortons. H ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on September 3, 2016

Just a bad night at Charlotte Mortons. Have eaten in at least six nation wide and only this time would I have rated Mortons six stars all the way around. Service was desperately slow and when received entree 45 minutes after appetizers it was stone cold. Manager was great in handling the situation. We refused the entree but I insisted on paying for appetizers, wine and salads. May try again but not sure yet. Raymond Hobby

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service1
value1

The best of the best among steak houses. ...

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on September 2, 2016

The best of the best among steak houses. A "10" on all counts...service, ambiance, and food , of course. Love that they even keep records of your preferred wine , alcohol, and food preparation so they're ready for you . Best chopped salad anywhere. Steaks always perfect. Excellent mushroom/spinach side.

Dinner was capped by an amazing white chocolate and blueberry bread pudding dessert. Wow. Service is first class all the way. Very attentive.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

My steak was charred pretty bad. The ba ...

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on August 31, 2016

My steak was charred pretty bad. The bar is not closed off to the restaurant so some rowdy guest could be heard. Overall the cut of meat and sides were nice and the waiter was friendly.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

We have eaten at Morton's many times but ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on August 30, 2016

We have eaten at Morton's many times but I believe this was our best experience from the service to the food it was great. We will definitely return again and again.

Tags: Outstanding Value, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Romantic, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Chris was an excellent waiter! Our file ...

vip
 (Western NC)·Dined on August 28, 2016

Chris was an excellent waiter! Our filets were perfectly prepared. We highly recommend the grilled oysters and the Lyonnaise Potatoes. The Grand Marnier soufflé was a nice way to finish a perfect meal. Morton's is the best of the Steakhouses.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Everything here was outstanding. Bar bit ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 23, 2016

Everything here was outstanding. Bar bites menu is a great value

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Cody was extremely knowledgeable and ent ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on August 21, 2016

Cody was extremely knowledgeable and enthusiastic!

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.