About Morton's The Steakhouse - Charlotte

227 W. Trade Street
Charlotte, NC 28202
View Larger Map

Morton's The Steakhouse, the nation's premier steakhouse group, specializes in classic, hearty fare, serving generous portions of USDA prime aged beef, as well as fresh fish, lobster and chicken entrees. The menu features a variety of favorite cuts, including a 24 ounce porterhouse, which is the house specialty; a 16 ounce New York Strip and a 12 ounce double cut filet.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Seafood, Steak

Hours of Operation:
Dinner Served Nightly:

Monday - Thursday 5:30-10:00pm

Friday & Saturday 5:30pm-11:00pm

Sunday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(704) 333-2602

Website:
http://www.mortons.com/

Catering:
Private and group dining available. Contact our dedicated Sales and Marketing Manager to plan your next business or social event. Hosting a party at your home or office? Ask about Morton's Prime To Go and Prime Platters!

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Happy Hour, Private Room, Smoking Area, Smoking Area (bar only), Takeout, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Morton's in Charlotte (Uptown) hosts a variety of special events featuring fine wine & spirits, the best steak and a great time! For more information, visit http://www.mortons.com/charlotte

Restaurant Photos

  • Chocolate Souffle
  • Filet Oskar
  • Morton's Salad
Chocolate Souffle
Filet Oskar
Morton's Salad

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

For those special occasions, Morton’s The Steakhouse offers luxuriously appointed private dining rooms and group dining accommodations. Our expert staff is dedicated to helping you plan the perfect event – whether it’s a business meeting or a birthday celebration.

Morton's The Steakhouse - Charlotte Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.6

ambience

4.5

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

89% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Value
Charlotte
Notable Wine List
Charlotte
Romantic
Charlotte
7 More
Special Occasion
Charlotte
Steakhouse
Charlotte
Best Value
Charlotte
Notable Wine List
Charlotte
Romantic
Charlotte
Special Occasion
Charlotte
Steakhouse
Charlotte
Best Restaurants in Uptown ›

special occasion (61)
romantic (41)
notable wine list (30)
See All
good for groups (23)
fit for foodies (20)
vibrant bar scene (13)
neighborhood gem (10)
hot spot (8)
great for lunch (4)
late-night find (3)
kid-friendly (2)
great for brunch (1)
scenic view (1)
Sort By:
Newest
1215 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Server seemed less than enthused and not ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined 3 days ago

Server seemed less than enthused and not very attentive. Other than that, good experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3

Great food and service!!

 
 (Greensboro)
·Dined 3 days ago

Great food and service!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great staff and amazing steak. I wish th ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined 3 days ago

Great staff and amazing steak. I wish the wine list was a big longer and more reasonably priced.

Tags: special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I was highly disappointed first with our ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined 4 days ago

I was highly disappointed first with our servers lack of knowledge about drinks, specials and what's included in the drinks...well I was literally told "i could go to the bar to inquire from the bartender to make sure of any information" Then the server would go missing for blocks of time; So finally when my food was served the mash potatoes had something Hard, black and just downright disgusting. After 5mins of looking at my plate and waiting for the server to return I show him the disgust to which he walks away and comes back with mash potatoes in a bowl as if I'm going to eat the new mash potatoes from a bowl and leave the disgusting mash potatoes on my plate with my steak.....After asking him to remove the entire plate so i can eat from one plate he comes back 10mins later no apology and never checks back..I'm new to Charlotte and with this experience will not be back...I'd visited Ruth Chris the night before had a superb experience so guess I'll stick to where I was fully satisfied and valued as a customer!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service2
value1

If you like the old Morton's (i.e., wait ...

 
 (Norfolk)
·Dined 4 days ago

If you like the old Morton's (i.e., waiter using food trolley to explain menu, decor, pricing, etc.) don't bother with the new Morton's. Food is more expensive than ever. Value is lower.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value1

FOOD AND SERIVE WAS GREAT !! EVERYONE M ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined 4 days ago

FOOD AND SERIVE WAS GREAT !!

EVERYONE MADE US FEEL VERY SPECIAL CELEBRATING OUR ANNIVERSARY .

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

I went for the first time for restaurant ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined 4 days ago

I went for the first time for restaurant week and I was really looking forward to Morton's. I ordered a med steak and mashed potatoes it came back med well. The maitre d' brought it back it was med and it tasted perfect BUT they gave me broccoli when I originally had potatoes. I didnt even say anything, but whoever is in the kitchen is not on their job. It wasn't even very busy in the restaurant. The waiter - Winston, was FABULOUS, he made the experience worth the trip! He was professional yet had a great sense of humor and very attentive.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

My husband and I went for our yearly spe ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined 4 days ago

My husband and I went for our yearly special anniversary dinner. It happened to fall on Restaurant Week and the normal special anniversary menu and picture were forgotten about. I should have said something at the time, but everyone was very busy. I hate that I didn't because we have them from every year. I am not sure if it was because of Restaurant Week or a simple mistake. We truly love Morton's but this time found the experience to be different. Our server was excellent, but we were rushed. We were in and out of Morton's in 45 minutes which is very fast for a Friday night dinner. I ended up ordering off of the restaurant week menu and my steak was not very good. I have had a number of filets from Morton's and this didn't come close to the quality of any of the others I have had. I got the creme brulee for desert and it was obviously made for restaurant week, about a quarter of the thickness it normally is. I know I only paid the Restaurant Week price, but I would have rather paid the normal price to have a better meal. We only get to do this once a year and I hate to have spent over $200 on a quick dinner that wasn't great! My husband however, didn't order off the restaurant week dinner and had the best steak of his entire life. All in all, I left feeling bummed about the entire experience.

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value2

Food was good, but it was dead and no am ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Food was good, but it was dead and no ambiance... For the money I'll probably stick with Capital Grill.

Tags: great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3
value3

restaurant was almost empty on a Friday ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

restaurant was almost empty on a Friday night at 8pm in the uptown Charlotte area which seemed weird.

husbands steak was returned twice due to under cooking, in the end, most of it was cooked-took the rest home and heated it up to get it cooked through

returned my steak 1 time due to under cooking

wait staff and materde was very appolagetic but it just never seemed completely comfortable

Tags: special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

The entire staff was excellent, the pho ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on July 12, 2016

The entire staff was excellent, the photo and menu was a nice touch.

I have been to several of the high end steak houses in Charlotte, Morton's is a bit overpriced

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

It was my first time eating at morton I ...

 
 (Greensboro)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

It was my first time eating at morton I took my wife for her birthday the drinks appetizers and entrees were amazing it gets 5 stars on my list.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Celebrated a birthday and wedding annive ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on July 4, 2016

Celebrated a birthday and wedding anniversary there. Both times the service, food, and drinks were outstanding. By far one of the best steaks and side items I've ever had. The food is definitely worth the price. They offer complimentary valet parking, too.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderfull experience. My girlfriend and ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

Wonderfull experience. My girlfriend and I have been to Mortons several times I the last few years and the food and service is second to none. We'll be back again and again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Morton's take its seat atop the Steakhou ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

Morton's take its seat atop the Steakhouse Mt in the Queen City

Bone-in-Ribeye/ Sea-Bass/ Main Lobster(2lb min)

All receive our highest approval rating

Tags: kid-friendly, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Morton's was holding their Lobster speci ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

Morton's was holding their Lobster special event, 2 lb lobsters for $35. Good value in one of our favorite special occasion restaurants. This was a Date Night but well worth it for a great time. Service was excellent (by David as the lead with his supporting cast). And food was of great Morton's quality. While always a bit pricey, the ambience, service, and food quality are especially worthwhile with a special price like this night.

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Morton's in Charlotte - Beautiful décor, ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on June 22, 2016

Morton's in Charlotte - Beautiful décor, great food, excellent service. I have recently moved to the neighborhood and plan to visit often - especially for the happy hour cocktails and bar food.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

I love Mortons. The service and food are ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

I love Mortons. The service and food are consistently great!!! We know exactly what to expect and they deliver every time.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The best of the best. Our favorite steak ...

vip
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

The best of the best. Our favorite steak house in Charlotte and wherever we travel. Plus our favorite server, Tara, who always knows what we like to drink and eat; and even how we like our steaks prepared. Can't say enough about Morton's. Best steaks, best ambiance, best service. It doesn't get any better than Morton's.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We were treated with respect the entire ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

We were treated with respect the entire evening. It was a wonderful dining out experience.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Loved it!! Everything was amazing!

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

Loved it!! Everything was amazing!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was delicious as always! The s ...

vip
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on June 16, 2016

The food was delicious as always! The staff members were super friendly as always! Even though our favorite, Bill, was not there the evening we were dining, we were still taken very good care of! We also really enjoyed talking with the man at the bar--he was very friendly & great to talk to! Thanks, again, for a memorable & fun evening at one of our favorite places to dine in Charlotte!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I love Morton's. The staff is friendly a ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on June 16, 2016

I love Morton's. The staff is friendly and always professional and the food is amazing.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We've been to Mortons many times in seve ...

vip
 (Richmond)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

We've been to Mortons many times in several different cities and it is normally a dependable high quality experience. This visit surprised us. We had reservations several weeks in advance and were seated next to the service door to the kitchen although the restaurant was almost empty. Some tables remained un-bussed for a while(not appetizing to look at in an otherwise empty restaurant). Our server was lovely but she ignored a late arriving guest for quite a while. Food was good. Dinner for three was $400 and the overall experience was not worth that. This Mortons felt like just any restaurant; with all the other steakhouses in uptown Charlotte, it's surprising this one can compete at all. Not bad judged by itself but compared to the normal Mortons experience, I can't recommend it at all.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3

Fabulous evening! From the service, to t ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

Fabulous evening! From the service, to the food, and the atmosphere. Could not have been better. Can't wait to go again!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Date night with the wife

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on June 5, 2016

I received a $100 gift card for Morton's and my wife and i decided to mak it a date night. We had great time and our server David took very good care of us and even bought our dessert. Our food was prepared as ordered it and tasted amazing. The price point for Mortons is a bit more then we are accustomed to for date night, but our time and experiance was everything you would hope for in an upscale place such as Morton's. I would recommend this location to friends as we had a wonderful time there.

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Wonderful anniversary dinner

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on June 4, 2016

Went for our anniversary

Staff was so welcoming and kind

Enjoyed the food

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

May 29 - Morton's

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on May 28, 2016

This is our 3rd visit to Morton's and the brand does not fail.

The same wonderful steaks, seafood and wines you had in New York you will find in Richmond, VA or Charlotte, NC

The Charlotte venue was recently refinished with high ceilings and classic décor and looks great, the food as fresh and flavorful as you can get and the service is impeccable.

The manager came by to say hello and went out of his way to make us feel special and welcome.

Morton's is a delight every time!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Had a get-together for friends. Atmosph ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on May 26, 2016

Had a get-together for friends. Atmosphere, food, drinks and service were all exceptional. We ate at the bar area and enjoyed some sports on the TV's. Bill the bartender did a fantastic job. I eat at this Morton's regularly and always have a great experience.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent Staff & Food

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on May 16, 2016

Staff was very accommodating and friendly. Food was excellent as always. This visit was for a special occasion and we could not be more pleased.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was horrible, its true that you ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on May 14, 2016

The food was horrible, its true that you should only get a steak at a steak house. It all was smothered with lemons and tasted more tart than an actual lemon. I got the lobster tail and my date got the chicken bianco and neither of the two seemed to taste good. I spent $100 on some of the worst food i've ever had in my life. Terrible experience won't be going back.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service2
value1

The steak, of course, was awesome. I had ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on May 13, 2016

The steak, of course, was awesome. I had an aged rib-eye (bone in) that was out of this word. Each bite was amazing. The asparagus was huge. Also, the bread was really fresh. If I was a richer man, I would eat there once a week. The bill for the evening was expensive, but worth it. The servers are wonderful. And, some really pretty ladies come in there. The last time I was here was in 2004. I met Jake Delhomme and a couple of his linemen in the bar area. You never know who you are going to see at Morton's. It truly is one of Charlotte's finest restaurants. Thanks guys!

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Celebrating Mother's Day with the filet ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

Celebrating Mother's Day with the filet and lobster special. Steak was done perfectly. So tender that I could cut it with my fork. The lobster was excellent. The service was top notch as usual.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great restaurant great service

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on May 7, 2016

I brought my girlfriend there, for her birthday last Saturday night. It was a great experience for us both. Moreover, the picture they took along with the birthday menu was an awesome touch. Can't wait to go back.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Outstanding meal. Was a little disappoin ...

 
 (Greensboro)
·Dined on April 29, 2016

Outstanding meal. Was a little disappointed that they did not have the baked potato done when our food was served. Steakhouse of this caliber should have those things figured out. But they made it right.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Food is always fantastic

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on April 24, 2016

Food is always fantastic

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

Change for the Worse

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on April 22, 2016

Been here many times and always with great results. But this time was a nightmare. Slow service, table too close to kitchen, understaffed, and COLD food. Sent entree back TWO times as all three entrees were cold as baloney. Had to tell the waiter to reheat all the side dishes. We were celebrating my son's birthday, but Morton's did nothing for him. No free desert, no photo as in previous years. Manager comp'd "an entree" and naturally, he chose the $39 one. I don't mind paying for quality food and service. I mind paying for inferior food and service. This was a 3 hr, 15 minute ordeal. Will not go back. Ruth's Chris entrees are always hot and their service has always been superior. This Morton's will go under if they continue on their current path.

Tags: notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service2
value1

Wonderful! Free dessert and photo for o ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on April 22, 2016

Wonderful! Free dessert and photo for our anniversary was a nice touch!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Everyone absolutely enjoyed their meal. ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on April 10, 2016

Everyone absolutely enjoyed their meal. They were done perfectly! Been here several times and and everything about our experience is top notch. Great for any occasion. Keep up the good work!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Simply Amazing from a first-timer

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on April 10, 2016

The service, ambiance, and taste of the food was simply amazing. The experience I had at Morton's Steakhouse as a first time guest exceeded all my expectations. The price for our food and drinks were higher than your standard restaurant, such as Outback or Red Lobster, but the quality and level of service was well worth it.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.