About Morton's The Steakhouse - Charlotte

227 W. Trade Street
Charlotte, NC 28202
View Larger Map

Morton's The Steakhouse, the nation's premier steakhouse group, specializes in classic, hearty fare, serving generous portions of USDA prime aged beef, as well as fresh fish, lobster and chicken entrees. The menu features a variety of favorite cuts, including a 24 ounce porterhouse, which is the house specialty; a 16 ounce New York Strip and a 12 ounce double cut filet.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Seafood, Steak

Hours of Operation:
Dinner Served Nightly:

Monday - Thursday 5:30-10:00pm

Friday & Saturday 5:30pm-11:00pm

Sunday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(704) 333-2602

Website:
http://www.mortons.com/

Catering:
Private and group dining available. Contact our dedicated Sales and Marketing Manager to plan your next business or social event. Hosting a party at your home or office? Ask about Morton's Prime To Go and Prime Platters!

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Happy Hour, Private Room, Smoking Area, Smoking Area (bar only), Takeout, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Morton's in Charlotte (Uptown) hosts a variety of special events featuring fine wine & spirits, the best steak and a great time! For more information, visit http://www.mortons.com/charlotte

Restaurant Photos

  • Chocolate Souffle
  • Filet Oskar
  • Morton's Salad
Chocolate Souffle
Filet Oskar
Morton's Salad

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

For those special occasions, Morton’s The Steakhouse offers luxuriously appointed private dining rooms and group dining accommodations. Our expert staff is dedicated to helping you plan the perfect event – whether it’s a business meeting or a birthday celebration.

Morton's The Steakhouse - Charlotte Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.7

ambience

4.7

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Ambiance
Charlotte
Notable Wine List
Charlotte
Romantic
Charlotte
7 More
Special Occasion
Charlotte
Steakhouse
Charlotte
Best Ambiance
Charlotte
Notable Wine List
Charlotte
Romantic
Charlotte
Special Occasion
Charlotte
Steakhouse
Charlotte
Best Restaurants in Uptown ›

special occasion (60)
romantic (45)
notable wine list (39)
See All
fit for foodies (30)
good for groups (27)
neighborhood gem (15)
hot spot (12)
vibrant bar scene (12)
late-night find (6)
kid-friendly (3)
great for lunch (2)
great for brunch (1)
scenic view (1)
Sort By:
Newest
1199 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Morton's in Charlotte - Beautiful décor, ...

Dined 4 days ago

Morton's in Charlotte - Beautiful décor, great food, excellent service. I have recently moved to the neighborhood and plan to visit often - especially for the happy hour cocktails and bar food.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I love Mortons. The service and food are ...

Dined 7 days ago

I love Mortons. The service and food are consistently great!!! We know exactly what to expect and they deliver every time.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The best of the best. Our favorite steak ...

vip
Dined on June 18, 2016

The best of the best. Our favorite steak house in Charlotte and wherever we travel. Plus our favorite server, Tara, who always knows what we like to drink and eat; and even how we like our steaks prepared. Can't say enough about Morton's. Best steaks, best ambiance, best service. It doesn't get any better than Morton's.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We were treated with respect the entire ...

Dined on June 18, 2016

We were treated with respect the entire evening. It was a wonderful dining out experience.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Loved it!! Everything was amazing!

Dined on June 18, 2016

Loved it!! Everything was amazing!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was delicious as always! The s ...

vip
Dined on June 16, 2016

The food was delicious as always! The staff members were super friendly as always! Even though our favorite, Bill, was not there the evening we were dining, we were still taken very good care of! We also really enjoyed talking with the man at the bar--he was very friendly & great to talk to! Thanks, again, for a memorable & fun evening at one of our favorite places to dine in Charlotte!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I love Morton's. The staff is friendly a ...

Dined on June 16, 2016

I love Morton's. The staff is friendly and always professional and the food is amazing.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, hot spot, notable wine list
food4
ambience3
service3

We've been to Mortons many times in seve ...

vip
Dined on June 12, 2016

We've been to Mortons many times in several different cities and it is normally a dependable high quality experience. This visit surprised us. We had reservations several weeks in advance and were seated next to the service door to the kitchen although the restaurant was almost empty. Some tables remained un-bussed for a while(not appetizing to look at in an otherwise empty restaurant). Our server was lovely but she ignored a late arriving guest for quite a while. Food was good. Dinner for three was $400 and the overall experience was not worth that. This Mortons felt like just any restaurant; with all the other steakhouses in uptown Charlotte, it's surprising this one can compete at all. Not bad judged by itself but compared to the normal Mortons experience, I can't recommend it at all.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fabulous evening! From the service, to t ...

Dined on June 11, 2016

Fabulous evening! From the service, to the food, and the atmosphere. Could not have been better. Can't wait to go again!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Date night with the wife

Dined on June 5, 2016

I received a $100 gift card for Morton's and my wife and i decided to mak it a date night. We had great time and our server David took very good care of us and even bought our dessert. Our food was prepared as ordered it and tasted amazing. The price point for Mortons is a bit more then we are accustomed to for date night, but our time and experiance was everything you would hope for in an upscale place such as Morton's. I would recommend this location to friends as we had a wonderful time there.

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful anniversary dinner

Dined on June 4, 2016

Went for our anniversary Staff was so welcoming and kind Enjoyed the food

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

May 29 - Morton's

Dined on May 28, 2016

This is our 3rd visit to Morton's and the brand does not fail. The same wonderful steaks, seafood and wines you had in New York you will find in Richmond, VA or Charlotte, NC The Charlotte venue was recently refinished with high ceilings and classic décor and looks great, the food as fresh and flavorful as you can get and the service is impeccable. The manager came by to say hello and went out of his way to make us feel special and welcome. Morton's is a delight every time!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Had a get-together for friends. Atmosph ...

Dined on May 26, 2016

Had a get-together for friends. Atmosphere, food, drinks and service were all exceptional. We ate at the bar area and enjoyed some sports on the TV's. Bill the bartender did a fantastic job. I eat at this Morton's regularly and always have a great experience.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent Staff & Food

Dined on May 16, 2016

Staff was very accommodating and friendly. Food was excellent as always. This visit was for a special occasion and we could not be more pleased.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, vibrant bar scene
food1
ambience1
service2
value1

The food was horrible, its true that you ...

Dined on May 14, 2016

The food was horrible, its true that you should only get a steak at a steak house. It all was smothered with lemons and tasted more tart than an actual lemon. I got the lobster tail and my date got the chicken bianco and neither of the two seemed to taste good. I spent $100 on some of the worst food i've ever had in my life. Terrible experience won't be going back.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The steak, of course, was awesome. I had ...

Dined on May 13, 2016

The steak, of course, was awesome. I had an aged rib-eye (bone in) that was out of this word. Each bite was amazing. The asparagus was huge. Also, the bread was really fresh. If I was a richer man, I would eat there once a week. The bill for the evening was expensive, but worth it. The servers are wonderful. And, some really pretty ladies come in there. The last time I was here was in 2004. I met Jake Delhomme and a couple of his linemen in the bar area. You never know who you are going to see at Morton's. It truly is one of Charlotte's finest restaurants. Thanks guys!

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Celebrating Mother's Day with the filet ...

Dined on May 8, 2016

Celebrating Mother's Day with the filet and lobster special. Steak was done perfectly. So tender that I could cut it with my fork. The lobster was excellent. The service was top notch as usual.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great restaurant great service

Dined on May 7, 2016

I brought my girlfriend there, for her birthday last Saturday night. It was a great experience for us both. Moreover, the picture they took along with the birthday menu was an awesome touch. Can't wait to go back.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience4
service4

Outstanding meal. Was a little disappoin ...

Dined on April 29, 2016

Outstanding meal. Was a little disappointed that they did not have the baked potato done when our food was served. Steakhouse of this caliber should have those things figured out. But they made it right.

food5
ambience5
service4

Food is always fantastic

Dined on April 24, 2016

Food is always fantastic

food1
ambience2
service2
value1

Change for the Worse

Dined on April 22, 2016

Been here many times and always with great results. But this time was a nightmare. Slow service, table too close to kitchen, understaffed, and COLD food. Sent entree back TWO times as all three entrees were cold as baloney. Had to tell the waiter to reheat all the side dishes. We were celebrating my son's birthday, but Morton's did nothing for him. No free desert, no photo as in previous years. Manager comp'd "an entree" and naturally, he chose the $39 one. I don't mind paying for quality food and service. I mind paying for inferior food and service. This was a 3 hr, 15 minute ordeal. Will not go back. Ruth's Chris entrees are always hot and their service has always been superior. This Morton's will go under if they continue on their current path.

Tags: notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5

Wonderful! Free dessert and photo for o ...

Dined on April 22, 2016

Wonderful! Free dessert and photo for our anniversary was a nice touch!

food5
ambience5
service5

Everyone absolutely enjoyed their meal. ...

Dined on April 10, 2016

Everyone absolutely enjoyed their meal. They were done perfectly! Been here several times and and everything about our experience is top notch. Great for any occasion. Keep up the good work!

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Simply Amazing from a first-timer

Dined on April 10, 2016

The service, ambiance, and taste of the food was simply amazing. The experience I had at Morton's Steakhouse as a first time guest exceeded all my expectations. The price for our food and drinks were higher than your standard restaurant, such as Outback or Red Lobster, but the quality and level of service was well worth it.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The location of restaurant is excellent. ...

Dined on April 9, 2016

The location of restaurant is excellent. The service was wonderful and the food was great. I would highly recommend the restaurant to anyone for any occasion.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5

Both food and service were terrific.

Dined on March 27, 2016

Both food and service were terrific.

food5
ambience5
service5

It's good every time I eat there. The se ...

Dined on March 27, 2016

It's good every time I eat there. The service, food and atmosphere is excellent.

food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Anniversary Dinner

Dined on March 27, 2016

Our Anniversary dinner was so memorable our waiter Brian was awesome and the food was simply amazing ever bit of it was 5 star!!

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, late-night find
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Astounding!!

Dined on March 26, 2016

I can't even explain what an Amazing time my husband I had dining here. It was our first time and can I just say the food was off the charts! The wine was so good I refuse to buy grocery store wine ever again. The service was impeccable and never wanted for anything. I highly recommend the Creamed Corn and Prosciutto Wrapped cheese and the too good Wedge Salad with blue cheese. Of course the steak and chop was soo good I am spoiled...(sighs while remembering how yummy the food was). So if you want a night out on a date or a company dinner you won't be disappointed. And be prepared to spend some serious money as the prices aren't vary forgiving but well worth the value.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We thoroughly enjoyed our Morton's Charl ...

vip
Dined on March 25, 2016

We thoroughly enjoyed our Morton's Charlotte dining experience (again)! We can't wait to return! The food was delicious, the service was excellent, and the staff members were extra friendly! Bill was wonderful assisting us as before, and added such a special touch (again!) to our overall dining experience! He is so nice, friendly, helpful, and such a delight! And Kevin stopped by to see and talk to us a few times as he did during our last visit there, and he is equally nice, friendly, and helpful! Thanks, again, for everything!! We are very much looking forward to our next visit!! Can't wait!! :))

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Anniversary Dinner

Dined on March 22, 2016

We went to Morton's to celebrate our 30th anniversary. I can't say enough good things about this restaurant. We were treated like VIP's from the moment we entered. The entire staff were friendly and welcoming. They even printed two paper menus with our anniversary information on them. The food was amazing. We've lived in Charlotte over 25 years and this was our first trip to Morton's. IT WILL NOT BE THE LAST.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Morton's Birthday Dinner

Dined on March 19, 2016

The ambiance was very nice. The service was attentive, and thorough. While the food was for the most part very good, we were disappointed in that, while the cheese was melted and hot on top, the potatoes au-gratin were only barely warm inside. The steaks were excellent and cooked properly, and the spinach with mushrooms was very tasty.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My wife and i went for our 1st anniversa ...

Dined on March 19, 2016

My wife and i went for our 1st anniversary. I can't find anything to complain about. The ambience was perfect, food was exceptional, staff very friendly and went out their way to make our night all more special. Definitely going again

Tags: romantic, special occasion, late-night find, notable wine list
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

Amazing Steaks

Dined on March 18, 2016

The steaks were amazing, but the sides were only so-so. I do not recommend the potatoes au gratin or the mac n cheese. Stick with asparagus and horseradish mashed potatoes -- those are great! The service is wonderful and the atmosphere is very quiet.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

All That

Dined on March 6, 2016

The experience was superior from start to finish. From the moment we walked in the door it was warm and professional. The food was top notch and the service was high class. I had an amazing time and I will be going back. I would recommend this to anyone looking for a stellar dining experience.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, hot spot, notable wine list
food2
ambience3
service3
value1

For a restaurant of this caliber I would ...

vip
Dined on March 5, 2016

For a restaurant of this caliber I would expect my food to come out hot and cooked correctly. It was disappointing. My husband asked for his filet medium plus, it came out very, very rare. The server took it back and it was still rare the second time as well as cold/warm. I asked for salmon medium rare and it came out well done and slightly warm. It was the special with shrimp and crab louie on top. The shrimp were not cleaned properly, they still had the intestines mid way up to the top. The manager was very nice and came over, however when my husband told him he should talk to the chef, he said the chef did not cook the steaks, line cooks did and they were not as trained. At a steak house, shouldn't they be. Not an experience we would care to repeat.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful Special night

Dined on March 4, 2016

I went to celebrate my friend's college acceptance. We had a wonderful time. The server was very knowledgeable about the menu and the cocktails. The food came out quickly and perfectly.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

The Ahi Tuna Tower was fantastic! My gir ...

Dined on February 29, 2016

The Ahi Tuna Tower was fantastic! My girlfriend and I both had the grilled shrimp but she had crab cakes and I had the fillet and bacon wrapped scallops. The food was Awesome and the service top notch. We'll definitely be going back again.

food3
ambience4
service4
value2

Food was okay but far overpriced. I expe ...

Dined on February 26, 2016

Food was okay but far overpriced. I expected a better portion of the salmon and a side dish would have been great. $36.00 for such a small portion of salmon was a bit extreme.

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Spectacular

Dined on February 21, 2016

Service was spectacular. It was 2 of my friends first time eating here and they raved about the food and staff.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.