About Morton's The Steakhouse - Charlotte

227 W. Trade Street
Charlotte, NC 28202
View Larger Map

Morton's The Steakhouse, the nation's premier steakhouse group, specializes in classic, hearty fare, serving generous portions of USDA prime aged beef, as well as fresh fish, lobster and chicken entrees. The menu features a variety of favorite cuts, including a 24 ounce porterhouse, which is the house specialty; a 16 ounce New York Strip and a 12 ounce double cut filet.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Seafood, Steak

Hours of Operation:
Dinner Served Nightly:

Monday - Thursday 5:30-10:00pm

Friday & Saturday 5:30pm-11:00pm

Sunday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(704) 333-2602

Website:
http://www.mortons.com/

Catering:
Private and group dining available. Contact our dedicated Sales and Marketing Manager to plan your next business or social event. Hosting a party at your home or office? Ask about Morton's Prime To Go and Prime Platters!

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Happy Hour, Indoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Takeout, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Morton's in Charlotte (Uptown) hosts a variety of special events featuring fine wine & spirits, the best steak and a great time! For more information, visit http://www.mortons.com/charlotte

Restaurant Photos

  • Chocolate Souffle
  • Filet Oskar
  • Morton's Salad
Chocolate Souffle
Filet Oskar
Morton's Salad

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

For those special occasions, Morton’s The Steakhouse offers luxuriously appointed private dining rooms and group dining accommodations. Our expert staff is dedicated to helping you plan the perfect event – whether it’s a business meeting or a birthday celebration.

Morton's The Steakhouse - Charlotte Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.6

ambience

4.5

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

91% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Steakhouse
Charlotte
Special Occasion
Charlotte
Steakhouse
Charlotte
Best Restaurants in Uptown ›

Special Occasion (75)
Romantic (48)
Notable Wine List (35)
See All
Good for Groups (30)
Fit for Foodies (23)
Vibrant Bar Scene (16)
Neighborhood Gem (14)
Hot Spot (11)
Great for Lunch (6)
Late-night Find (4)
Great for Brunch (3)
Great for Outdoor Dining (3)
Kid-friendly (2)
Scenic View (1)
Sort By:
Newest
1233 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Chris was an excellent waiter! Our file ...

vip
 (Western NC)
·Dined 3 days ago

Chris was an excellent waiter! Our filets were perfectly prepared. We highly recommend the grilled oysters and the Lyonnaise Potatoes. The Grand Marnier soufflé was a nice way to finish a perfect meal. Morton's is the best of the Steakhouses.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Everything here was outstanding. Bar bit ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 23, 2016

Everything here was outstanding. Bar bites menu is a great value

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Cody was extremely knowledgeable and ent ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

Cody was extremely knowledgeable and enthusiastic!

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Very nice experience but very expensive! ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on August 18, 2016

Very nice experience but very expensive! However for a special occasion I do think it was worth it. Top notch service, food was great. You're treated like a celebrity from my experience. If you have the chance to go, I would. You only live once.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value2

Good food and great service. Accommodati ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on August 17, 2016

Good food and great service. Accommodating friendly staff. Can't get better then that.

Tags: Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Another great dinner at Morton's Charlot ...

vip
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Another great dinner at Morton's Charlotte. Our server Bill was exceptional, even making our kids feel special, and we got a great recommendation from the sommelier.

We will definitely be back!

Tags: Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

The food and service were great! We cel ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

The food and service were great! We celebrated the birthday on one of my friends at Mortons. A photographer took a group picture and later presented it to my friend in a frame which included the inscription "Happy Birthday from Mortons". She also receive a complimentary cheesecake which was large and delicious!! We had a wonderful evening at Mortons and will definitely come back again.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

All of the food was outstanding and the ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

All of the food was outstanding and the service was really good. I can't wait to dine in again.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Vibrant Bar Scene, Romantic, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We were there for restaurant week there ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

We were there for restaurant week there were 12 7 pf the group ordered filet and all thought the steak was overdone as to how it was ordered some upgraded from 6 ounce to 8 ounce but the 8 ounce only looked like an 8 ounce for one person another person that should gave had 6 oz. looked more like 4 oz

Tags: Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

The food and service was top notch! Ever ...

vip
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

The food and service was top notch! Everything was great!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We went for our anniversary, it was also ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on July 28, 2016

We went for our anniversary, it was also restaurant week. The food was good, but wish there were other dessert options on the menu for restaurant week. My steak was perfect but my husbands was a little overdone. We didn't like the short rib taco appetizer, so they didn't charge us for them. Our waiter was great, they gave us a personalized menu for our anniversary and took our picture.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Maitre de was kind enough to move us ups ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on July 27, 2016

Maitre de was kind enough to move us upstairs because the noise level was better.

Entres were very good. I had salmon. Broccoli was not hot, reheated but tuff. Believe it was frozen broccoli - didn't taste like fresh. Erica was an excellent waitress. Kevin visited table to find out about our meal, etc.

The valet service was outstanding. Very courteous and friendly.

Will return to Mortons again - especially for the chocolate lava cake.

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Good food. Not a lot of it for the money ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on July 25, 2016

Good food. Not a lot of it for the money. Steak a little over cooked for medium. Two of us got medium, and our filets were more medium well. Very small chocolate mousse. Nice and friendly host. Waitress informative and attentive.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Morton's has the best steak in Charlotte ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on July 25, 2016

Morton's has the best steak in Charlotte, NC. Whether a romantic evening or a private party, Morton's will provide the best meal and service in the city.

Tags: Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Server was busy with other guests who ha ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

Server was busy with other guests who had ordered much more expensive food. Server provided no details of menu other than to answer our questions and seemed ready to move on to other guests.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

Morton's is a FANTASTIC place to dine. ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

Morton's is a FANTASTIC place to dine. Our waitstaff kept us laughing all evening, it is nice when the staff are professional enough to know when and how much to engage the guest without being intrusive. We had a great experience... if you like seafood, get the filet oscar style - it is AMAZing

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Server seemed less than enthused and not ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

Server seemed less than enthused and not very attentive. Other than that, good experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3

Great food and service!!

 
 (Greensboro)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

Great food and service!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great staff and amazing steak. I wish th ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

Great staff and amazing steak. I wish the wine list was a big longer and more reasonably priced.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The wait staff was great; however I was ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

The wait staff was great; however I was serve under cook salmon and didn't realize it until I got thru half of it. The place was so dark you could barley see your food. I told the one waiter about it and he did nothing and still charge me. Needless to say everyone at my table had stomach issues later that night after eating there.

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service3
value2

I was highly disappointed first with our ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

I was highly disappointed first with our servers lack of knowledge about drinks, specials and what's included in the drinks...well I was literally told "i could go to the bar to inquire from the bartender to make sure of any information" Then the server would go missing for blocks of time; So finally when my food was served the mash potatoes had something Hard, black and just downright disgusting. After 5mins of looking at my plate and waiting for the server to return I show him the disgust to which he walks away and comes back with mash potatoes in a bowl as if I'm going to eat the new mash potatoes from a bowl and leave the disgusting mash potatoes on my plate with my steak.....After asking him to remove the entire plate so i can eat from one plate he comes back 10mins later no apology and never checks back..I'm new to Charlotte and with this experience will not be back...I'd visited Ruth Chris the night before had a superb experience so guess I'll stick to where I was fully satisfied and valued as a customer!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service2
value1

If you like the old Morton's (i.e., wait ...

 
 (Norfolk)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

If you like the old Morton's (i.e., waiter using food trolley to explain menu, decor, pricing, etc.) don't bother with the new Morton's. Food is more expensive than ever. Value is lower.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value1

FOOD AND SERIVE WAS GREAT !! EVERYONE M ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

FOOD AND SERIVE WAS GREAT !!

EVERYONE MADE US FEEL VERY SPECIAL CELEBRATING OUR ANNIVERSARY .

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

I went for the first time for restaurant ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

I went for the first time for restaurant week and I was really looking forward to Morton's. I ordered a med steak and mashed potatoes it came back med well. The maitre d' brought it back it was med and it tasted perfect BUT they gave me broccoli when I originally had potatoes. I didnt even say anything, but whoever is in the kitchen is not on their job. It wasn't even very busy in the restaurant. The waiter - Winston, was FABULOUS, he made the experience worth the trip! He was professional yet had a great sense of humor and very attentive.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

My husband and I went for our yearly spe ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

My husband and I went for our yearly special anniversary dinner. It happened to fall on Restaurant Week and the normal special anniversary menu and picture were forgotten about. I should have said something at the time, but everyone was very busy. I hate that I didn't because we have them from every year. I am not sure if it was because of Restaurant Week or a simple mistake. We truly love Morton's but this time found the experience to be different. Our server was excellent, but we were rushed. We were in and out of Morton's in 45 minutes which is very fast for a Friday night dinner. I ended up ordering off of the restaurant week menu and my steak was not very good. I have had a number of filets from Morton's and this didn't come close to the quality of any of the others I have had. I got the creme brulee for desert and it was obviously made for restaurant week, about a quarter of the thickness it normally is. I know I only paid the Restaurant Week price, but I would have rather paid the normal price to have a better meal. We only get to do this once a year and I hate to have spent over $200 on a quick dinner that wasn't great! My husband however, didn't order off the restaurant week dinner and had the best steak of his entire life. All in all, I left feeling bummed about the entire experience.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value2

We went to Morton's during Charlotte's r ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

We went to Morton's during Charlotte's restaurant week. The service was great and the food was even better!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Food was good, but it was dead and no am ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Food was good, but it was dead and no ambiance... For the money I'll probably stick with Capital Grill.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3
value3

restaurant was almost empty on a Friday ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

restaurant was almost empty on a Friday night at 8pm in the uptown Charlotte area which seemed weird.

husbands steak was returned twice due to under cooking, in the end, most of it was cooked-took the rest home and heated it up to get it cooked through

returned my steak 1 time due to under cooking

wait staff and materde was very appolagetic but it just never seemed completely comfortable

Tags: Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

The entire staff was excellent, the pho ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on July 12, 2016

The entire staff was excellent, the photo and menu was a nice touch.

I have been to several of the high end steak houses in Charlotte, Morton's is a bit overpriced

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

It was my first time eating at morton I ...

 
 (Greensboro)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

It was my first time eating at morton I took my wife for her birthday the drinks appetizers and entrees were amazing it gets 5 stars on my list.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Celebrated a birthday and wedding annive ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on July 4, 2016

Celebrated a birthday and wedding anniversary there. Both times the service, food, and drinks were outstanding. By far one of the best steaks and side items I've ever had. The food is definitely worth the price. They offer complimentary valet parking, too.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderfull experience. My girlfriend and ...

vip
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

Wonderfull experience. My girlfriend and I have been to Mortons several times I the last few years and the food and service is second to none. We'll be back again and again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Morton's take its seat atop the Steakhou ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

Morton's take its seat atop the Steakhouse Mt in the Queen City

Bone-in-Ribeye/ Sea-Bass/ Main Lobster(2lb min)

All receive our highest approval rating

Tags: Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Morton's was holding their Lobster speci ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

Morton's was holding their Lobster special event, 2 lb lobsters for $35. Good value in one of our favorite special occasion restaurants. This was a Date Night but well worth it for a great time. Service was excellent (by David as the lead with his supporting cast). And food was of great Morton's quality. While always a bit pricey, the ambience, service, and food quality are especially worthwhile with a special price like this night.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Morton's in Charlotte - Beautiful décor, ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on June 22, 2016

Morton's in Charlotte - Beautiful décor, great food, excellent service. I have recently moved to the neighborhood and plan to visit often - especially for the happy hour cocktails and bar food.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

I love Mortons. The service and food are ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

I love Mortons. The service and food are consistently great!!! We know exactly what to expect and they deliver every time.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The best of the best. Our favorite steak ...

vip
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

The best of the best. Our favorite steak house in Charlotte and wherever we travel. Plus our favorite server, Tara, who always knows what we like to drink and eat; and even how we like our steaks prepared. Can't say enough about Morton's. Best steaks, best ambiance, best service. It doesn't get any better than Morton's.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We were treated with respect the entire ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

We were treated with respect the entire evening. It was a wonderful dining out experience.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Loved it!! Everything was amazing!

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

Loved it!! Everything was amazing!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was delicious as always! The s ...

vip
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on June 16, 2016

The food was delicious as always! The staff members were super friendly as always! Even though our favorite, Bill, was not there the evening we were dining, we were still taken very good care of! We also really enjoyed talking with the man at the bar--he was very friendly & great to talk to! Thanks, again, for a memorable & fun evening at one of our favorite places to dine in Charlotte!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.