About Morton's The Steakhouse - Charlotte

227 W. Trade Street
Charlotte, NC 28202
View Larger Map

Morton's The Steakhouse, the nation's premier steakhouse group, specializes in classic, hearty fare, serving generous portions of USDA prime aged beef, as well as fresh fish, lobster and chicken entrees. The menu features a variety of favorite cuts, including a 24 ounce porterhouse, which is the house specialty; a 16 ounce New York Strip and a 12 ounce double cut filet.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Seafood, Steak

Hours of Operation:
Dinner Served Nightly:

Monday - Thursday 5:30-10:00pm

Friday & Saturday 5:30pm-11:00pm

Sunday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(704) 333-2602

Website:
http://www.mortons.com/

Catering:
Private and group dining available. Contact our dedicated Sales and Marketing Manager to plan your next business or social event. Hosting a party at your home or office? Ask about Morton's Prime To Go and Prime Platters!

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Happy Hour, Indoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Morton's in Charlotte (Uptown) hosts a variety of special events featuring fine wine & spirits, the best steak and a great time! For more information, visit http://www.mortons.com/charlotte

Restaurant Photos

  • Chocolate Souffle - Morton's The Steakhouse - Charlotte, Charlotte, NC
  • Filet Oskar - Morton's The Steakhouse - Charlotte, Charlotte, NC
  • Morton's Salad - Morton's The Steakhouse - Charlotte, Charlotte, NC

Report a photo problem

Chocolate Souffle - Morton's The Steakhouse - Charlotte, Charlotte, NC
Filet Oskar - Morton's The Steakhouse - Charlotte, Charlotte, NC
Morton's Salad - Morton's The Steakhouse - Charlotte, Charlotte, NC

Specials

Valentine's Day Special Menus & More

Tuesday, February 14, 2017

Specials

Valentine's Day Special Menus & More

Tuesday, February 14, 2017

Details

Celebrate Valentine's Day at Morton's with the perfect steak dinner! Reserve your table today.

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

For those special occasions, Morton’s The Steakhouse offers luxuriously appointed private dining rooms and group dining accommodations. Our expert staff is dedicated to helping you plan the perfect event – whether it’s a business meeting or a birthday celebration.

Morton's The Steakhouse - Charlotte Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.7

ambience

4.5

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

87% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (38)
Good for Anniversaries (29)
Good for a Date (27)
See All
Romantic (27)
Business Meals (24)
Good for Birthdays (21)
Notable Wine List (16)
Worth the Drive (15)
Quiet Conversation (14)
Private Room (10)
Bar Seating (10)
Modern Decor (9)
Good for Groups (8)
Handcrafted Cocktails (8)
Family Style (8)
Pre/post Theatre (8)
Cozy (7)
Fun (7)
Hot Spot (6)
Creative Cuisine (5)
Open Kitchen (5)
Fit for Foodies (5)
Tasting Menu (4)
Outstanding Value (4)
Neighborhood Gem (4)
Authentic (4)
Happy Hour (3)
Healthy (3)
Vibrant Bar Scene (3)
Disabled Access (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Seasonal (2)
Comfort Food (2)
Great for Lunch (2)
Casual (2)
Fireplace (2)
Late-night Find (1)
People Watching (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Live Sports (1)
Historic (1)
Sort By:
S
1403 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Food was good. Seafood was noticeably go ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined 4 days ago

Food was good. Seafood was noticeably good for a steakhouse. Great wine menu. High priced in comparison to other steakhouses in the area. The noise from the bar was overwhelmingly loud (I visited on a Friday night). The seats were uncomfortable in the booth. The most disappointing thing is that the waiter did not put all of my food in the to go box. He left quite a bit out and I did not know until the next day. For the price, I felt cheated.

Tags: Romantic, Happy Hour, Notable Wine List, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

We had a wonderful time, dinner was deli ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined 6 days ago

We had a wonderful time, dinner was delicious and our waitress Erika was awesome.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Bar Seating, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Two out of the five steaks we ordered we ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on January 11, 2017

Two out of the five steaks we ordered were chard on the outside and over cooked. Hard to do when you order them well. This is not the norm for this restaurant. We were only one of two tables so they were not busy.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value2

Enjoyed the quality service by our waitr ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on January 10, 2017

Enjoyed the quality service by our waitress and bar tender. The special attention was noted for my wife's birthday and all the extra's provided for her special day was excellent (including the picture of us dining).

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Great atmosphere and wonderful service. ...

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on January 5, 2017

Great atmosphere and wonderful service. The food was great as well.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was a dinner party of six and all c ...

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on January 3, 2017

This was a dinner party of six and all commented on the quality of the food. Given that this was right after the holidays, the early hour (5:30PM) and a Tuesday evening, the restaurant was near empty. My only significant negative comment is that the music was a little loud for comfortable conversation. Probably due to the low number of people as well. I planned to asked for the sound to be turned down but, before the starters came out, they must have noticed and turned it down. We lingered for more than two hours and through most of that the staff was attentive.

Tags: Business Meals, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Was a very nice dinner. Baked potato wa ...

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Was a very nice dinner. Baked potato was hard and warm, butter would not melt. Steak was excellent and worth every penny. After dinner the waiter was talking with a guest at another table and even sat down with them and did not bring our check for 15 minutes.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

Very good food and great service. We wen ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Very good food and great service. We went for New Year's Eve and had a great time.

Tags: Hot Spot, Fun, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Lobster Bisque rates among the best we h ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Lobster Bisque rates among the best we have tasted

Tags: Business Meals, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

The best food, the best service and the ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on January 1, 2017

The best food, the best service and the best ambience of any restaurant in any city ever

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great date night place, & by far the bes ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Great date night place, & by far the best steak ever! Very attentive & informed wait staff.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Business Meals, Tasting Menu, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great as usual.

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Great as usual.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

EXCELLENT!!! Food was perfect!!! Jake ou ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on December 31, 2016

EXCELLENT!!! Food was perfect!!! Jake our server did a phenomenal job!!! This was my first visit but certainly not my last visit.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Overpriced steak. More than half the Ri ...

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Overpriced steak. More than half the Rib-Eye was inedible.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value2

Christmas Day dinner and the food was am ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on December 25, 2016

Christmas Day dinner and the food was amazing!

Tags: Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food and service and staff perfection

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on December 25, 2016

Food and service and staff perfection

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very nice waiter and manager. They were ...

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on December 25, 2016

Very nice waiter and manager. They were trying to put us at a table by the restroom/kitchen that I specifically requested NOT to have but then put us in a nice booth. The manager did come over though to let us know that the booth was hard to come by and they did us a favor.

At $520 dollars for the 4 of us...I feel that was the least they could do.

Experience on Christmas Day was overall good but it is very pricey for the food and wine that you get.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value1

Everything was absolutely perfect and ev ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on December 25, 2016

Everything was absolutely perfect and even had the same waitress from the last time I had been there. I had the Double Cut Pork Chops Cajun Style OMG Melt In Your Mouth Great !!!!!!!

Tags: Family Style, Vibrant Bar Scene, Pre/post Theatre, Hot Spot, Private Room, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I love steak and it's very difficult to ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on December 25, 2016

I love steak and it's very difficult to find steak that is seasoned and tender. Morton's gave me just that. The perfect steak!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We went here for our anniversary dinner ...

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on December 24, 2016

We went here for our anniversary dinner on Christmas Eve. The service was not up to what we have come to experience and expect from a restaurant of this level. We had a filet and a ribeye however the orders were mixed up with respect to the temperature. The service was unusually slow and not fluid. While everyone was nice and a manager took care of our dessert the overall experience was lackluster.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2

Spectacular food provided with great ser ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on December 24, 2016

Spectacular food provided with great service. We visit Morton's on special occasions, it NEVER disappoints. Had the rack of lamb, it was excellent. The selections of wine by the glass very good and the desserts are to die for. Great dinner.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Would have been a great Christmas Eve di ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on December 24, 2016

Would have been a great Christmas Eve dinner if the valet company this restaurant uses hadn't left the key in my car and given someone the opportunity to steal my car! No one has called to check on us nor did anyone come back outside to check on us as we waited for police outside at night with my 3 children. Very sad situation that was 100% preventable!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value2

We had a wonderful experience from begin ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on December 24, 2016

We had a wonderful experience from beginning to end. Sami was a wonderful waitress who could answer every question that we had and gave great recommendations. The recommendation for our drink was great. The drink was so refreshing!!!! Also, the steak was tender and tasted so great that I didn't even need any A-1 sauce. The lobster tail that we ordered was the best lobster that I have ever, ever tasted. We will definitely be returning and will do out best to make sure Sami is our waitress again.

Tags: Healthy, Great for Lunch, Good for a Date, Cozy, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our dining experience at Morton's was on ...

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on December 24, 2016

Our dining experience at Morton's was one to remember. The service was great and the food was even greater. We will definitely be returning!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I really enjoyed the Morton experience. ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on December 24, 2016

I really enjoyed the Morton experience. There's nothing like it! Worth every penny!

Tags: Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great atmosphere and amazing food. I wen ...

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on December 18, 2016

Great atmosphere and amazing food. I went for the first time for my birthday and I was not disappointed. Highly recommend the lobster mac. It's to die for.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Family Style, Hot Spot, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

I thought I would revisit mortons in Cha ...

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on December 18, 2016

I thought I would revisit mortons in Charlotte again after a disappointing exp a few years ago and because of a recent great exp in Chicago a few weeks ago

We felt rushed

Forgot to bring drinks to two at the table

Appetizers brought the same time as soup and salads

Sangria glass half empty and was mostly soda water

Lobster bisque was luke warm. Servers took back four full bowls and did not ask if something was wrong

Steaks were luke warm. All cuts

Missed on sides bringing two not ordered but did not get what we ordered

Soufflé not offered had to ask for them then brought as we were not finished with dinner and asked us if they should mix the cream in

Mgmt came by and asked how everything was not even noticing the issues I was not going to waste my time or embarrass my family complaining about the exp

Never going back

I will never be contacted abt this but all I can say is that Ruth Chris and Capital Grille I'll never leave you again

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service2
value2

We had a wonderful time! Our server was ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 12, 2016

We had a wonderful time! Our server was amazing and was really accommodating when they heard that we were celebrating a birthday (even though it was a belated one)! We enjoyed the food and dessert was amazing. I would definitely go back!

Tags: Business Meals, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Morton's is one of my favorite places to ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on December 11, 2016

Morton's is one of my favorite places to eat. While on business in Denver we ate there twice a week for 3 months, the staff knew who we were. My visit to the Charlotte location was not up to my normal expectations. I ordered the Cajun ribeye medium well, however it was very well done. I returned it and opted for the burger. Our waiter Julio was very accommodating and apologetic. The problem we had was that the manager stopped at multiple tables all around us and never stopped at our table. The gentleman next to us encountered a problem with his meal and the manager went to his table and apologized for his steak not being cooked properly. By the time I received my burger, which was delicious, I asked for it to be boxed to go. My friends had already finished their meals. We mentioned to Julio after paying our check that we thought it was rude for the manager to come as close as the table next to us and not even acknowledge us. A few moments later, while waiting on my to go meal, the manager approaches the table, very awkwardly to say he's sorry for my meal not being correct and thanked us for dining. Honestly, that made the situation worse, to know he only came to our table because Julio discussed it with him. Maybe Julio should be a manager at this location, because his customer service skills were impeccable.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

We moved our reservations from 830 to 9. ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on December 11, 2016

We moved our reservations from 830 to 9. Once we got there, we weren't seated until 930. Service was a little slower than normal. This is my favorite restaurant, so of course we will be back.

Tags: Authentic, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Wonderful place 2 dine;)

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on December 7, 2016

Wonderful place 2 dine;)

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent experience from start to finis ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on December 3, 2016

Excellent experience from start to finish. We started off at the bar, then headed to our table for a wonderful meal. Chicago Steak was on point!

Tags: Open Kitchen, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Private Room, Modern Decor, Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails, Bar Seating, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

I took my parents out to dinner at Morto ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on November 27, 2016

I took my parents out to dinner at Morton's Steakhouse while visiting them in Charlotte, and they enjoyed the experience very much.

In regards to value, for what it was I thought it was overpriced at 305 dollars for 3 people. The food was good, but by no means exceptional. My filet mignon was slightly dry, but well seasoned. Full disclosure: I asked for it well done, which I know is not quite the thing, but exceptional places can handle that challenge without overcooking. Still, the oysters were fresh (only one kind of oyster, though) and the wine selection was great.

The service was good overall, though I was irked by our waitress, who kept referring to my stepfather in all things (the only man at the table) and was a little dismissive of my mom and I. Of course, she brought him the check even though I requested it and the reservation was under my name. Meh. Still, good experience overall and I would recommend this place.

Tags: Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Modern Decor, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

This is a very nice restaurant. We were ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on November 26, 2016

This is a very nice restaurant. We were visiting our children over the holiday and chose this establishment for a nice dinner. The restaurant and service were exceptional. A bit pricey for our needs though. I would highly recommend Morton's for a special occasion, but not for a casual dinner/get together.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Great food, awesome service, and pleasan ...

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on November 20, 2016

Great food, awesome service, and pleasant ambiance. Attention to detail the best in Charlotte!

Tags: Good for a Date, Paleo Friendly, Business Meals, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Steak was over cooked. Service was adeq ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on November 19, 2016

Steak was over cooked. Service was adequate. Been here before and it is not the same in regards to service and food. I will not go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

Excellent atmosphere, excellent staff, ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on November 19, 2016

Excellent atmosphere, excellent staff, and excellent food. I highly recommend this for special occasions such as dates, anniversaries, treating yourself for a nice dinner, etc. Definitely worth it, and I plan to visit again in the future.

Tags: Good for a Date, Cozy, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was very tasteful.

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on November 19, 2016

Food was very tasteful.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

A little disappointed in the overall exp ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on November 17, 2016

A little disappointed in the overall experience. Service was very good. The meals were "average". I ordered the Coby beef sirloin and it had a fat streak thru it. Good flavor but no better than a filet. Not worth the $80 for sure. Salad was okay, not super fresh. Sides were average. Overall 3 out of 5 but for $450 I would definitely go somewhere else next time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

I enjoy my first time for my boyfriend b ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on November 14, 2016

I enjoy my first time for my boyfriend birthday, the experience was outstanding customer service was on point food was amazing

Tags: Seasonal, Great for Outdoor Dining, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Fireplace, Comfort Food, Fun, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.