Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.02mi
  2. Distance: 0.03mi
  3. Distance: 0.13mi
  4. Distance: 0.19mi
  1. Distance: 0.02mi
  2. Distance: 0.03mi
  3. Distance: 0.13mi
  4. Distance: 0.19mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.02mi
  2. Distance: 0.03mi
  3. Distance: 0.13mi
  4. Distance: 0.19mi
  1. Distance: 0.02mi
  2. Distance: 0.03mi
  3. Distance: 0.13mi
  4. Distance: 0.19mi

About Morimoto - Maui

Morimoto's contemporary Japanese menu infuses traditional dishes with Western ingredients and preparation techniques. His seasonal and ever-changing selection of raw fish preparations will feature the freshest seafood available as well as locally grown fruits and vegetables from supporting farmers. Morimoto's signature offerings include Toro Tartare, presented in a shallow wooden tray with condiments including crème fraîche, wasabi, avocado, nori paste, chives, crispy rice, and dashi-soy. Tuna Pizza made with raw tuna, anchovy aioli, and jalapeno; Morimoto Sashimi, a terrine of seared Toro, smoked salmon, barbequed eel, tuna and Hamachi served with five different sauces in pipettes.

3550 Wailea Alanui Dr.
Wailea, HI 96753
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Japanese, Sushi

Hours of Operation:
Lunch
Daily: 11:30am - 2:00pm

Dinner
Daily: 5:30pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
Wailea Ike Dr.

Dress Code:
Resort Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options

Phone Number:
(808) 243-4766

Website:
http://www.morimotomaui.com/

Catering:
Please contact us directly.

Parking Details:
Complimentary hotel parking with the Andaz valet services.

Executive Chef:
Masaharu Morimoto

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Available for private and semi-private events for 2-160 guests. Please contact us for further information.

Private Dining

Available for private and semi-private events for 2-160 guests.

Morimoto - Maui Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.1

ambience

4.2

value

3.7

noise

Moderate

79% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (46)
Special Occasion (42)
Fit for Foodies (40)
See All
Scenic View (39)
Great for Outdoor Dining (36)
Creative Cuisine (36)
Romantic (33)
Waterfront (33)
Good for Anniversaries (27)
Local Ingredients (25)
Authentic (24)
Modern Decor (20)
Hot Spot (18)
Tasting Menu (17)
Worth the Drive (17)
Good for Birthdays (16)
Open Kitchen (12)
Handcrafted Cocktails (11)
Healthy (10)
Fun (8)
Quiet Conversation (8)
Cozy (8)
Great for Lunch (8)
Notable Wine List (8)
Neighborhood Gem (7)
People Watching (7)
Business Meals (6)
Molecular Gastronomy (6)
Good for Groups (5)
Family Style (5)
Bar Seating (5)
Casual (4)
Vibrant Bar Scene (4)
Organic (3)
Tapas (3)
Good Vegetarian Options (3)
Kid-friendly (3)
Paleo Friendly (3)
Seasonal (3)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Outstanding Value (2)
Happy Hour (2)
Spicy (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Great Beer (2)
Great for Brunch (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Live Music (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Historic (1)
Fireplace (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Sort By:
S
898 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Miami)·Dined a day ago

Not very good in quality or taste. We went out for pizza after.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 2 days ago

It's not often that we experience such a difference between the food quality & service. Both the waiter, Antonio, and Manager were sub-standard. Timeliness (30 minutes for anything to arrive), attention to detail (our share plates were not changed once & had wilted salad/dressing for the entire meal), clarifying client preferences (martini & cognac glasses for shochu??), and problem solving (how to buy the chef's a beverage of their choice - a customary practice - after their shift) were al seriously lacking. To say nothing about general lack of appreciation. Compared with the NYC location, Morimoto Maui was a disappointment.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience1
service1
value2

 
 (Austin)·Dined 4 days ago

As delicious as you would expect! I wish we could have tried everything.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined 4 days ago

Outstanding quality sushi and cooked dishes both. We ate here around 6 times in our 9 days in Maui - twice for dinner because it was so good. Every single dish we had was to die for - I'm still thinking about the sea urchin carbonara. We did the omakase the second time - which was really fantastic. Many places, it's just nonstop sushi, sometimes with a little fancy beef thrown in. This was a real sampling of the kitchen - and every course was fun and delicious. We loved it.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined 4 days ago

For the price and name was expecting more. Maybe biased, food was good and enjoyed it all but it was not what I expected from a restaurant that was associated with Morimoto. Good food, over priced, but what is expected with a hotel restaurant. Eat here but not with sky high expectations.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4
value2

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined 5 days ago

We were seated next to an outside door going to the outside bar area. Very noisy and hot due to lack of ac.
Our starters were good not great. My wife's entre was the Tempura Rock Shrimp. It was excellent. My whole crispy fish was flat out dry and way over cooked. Inedible.
As a peace offering they brought us green tea ice cream that we neither like. We have been here many times before but this is our last. Quality no where as good as when they opened. The hostess was not very cordial but the rest of the staff were extremely polite.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined 6 days ago

Food was superb! Service was very attentive. Will definitely go back again!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 15, 2017

Creative ultra fresh Japanese cuisine. Expect to spend $100 per person at lunch, but well worth it.

Tags: Waterfront, Scenic View, Open Kitchen, Worth the Drive, Local Ingredients, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Fun, Modern Decor, Creative Cuisine, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Ottawa)·Dined on March 13, 2017

One of the best meals I've ever had. We had the Omekasi and were all impressed with the variety, presentation and outstanding combination of flavours that made each course a taste explosion. Our waiter Terry was extremely knowledgeable and took the time to explain each course for us and was extremely attentive throughout the night. I highly recommend Morimoto Maui to anyone who wants a unique and very satisfying experience.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Great for Outdoor Dining, Tasting Menu, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 8, 2017

Amazing atmosphere our waiter was great at making suggestions and food was fantastic

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 6, 2017

Just not worth the expense and the hype. Sashimi didn't taste fresh. Chicken was dry. Server was very nice but had too many tables. Had to wait a long time for service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value1

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on March 6, 2017

Tables are crowded together which allows for no intimacy, at least not with the person at your own table. While the restaurant is close to the beach, there has been no attempt to integrate the beauty or the sounds of the area into the dining experience. While the Hotel Andaz,in which Morimoto's is located, has an architecturally striking interior, the restaurant's appearance does little to live up to its possibilities.

Our waiter was so busy trying to impress the patrons at 2 tables with his vast knowledge of all things Morimoto, he basically ignored his other tables including ours. We had 5 different waitstaff provide some service to our table and none of them took any ownership in actually attending to us or making us feel welcome. Rather, we were just a table with a couple sitting at it. Not what I would expect for a dinner with this fare.

My wife liked her braised black cod. My dish (called "duck duck goose") was a huge disappointment. It is duck served 4 ways with foie gras. If there was foie gras, I never tasted it. The duck leg confit was tender but the duck meatball was a nothing as was the duck and foie gras fried rice. The duck breast was, quite simply, inedible.

However, the worst of our evening was the party of 9 seated in the center of a very packed dining room. Three of those nine were very intoxicated and unbelievably loud. The management apparently decided that those nine were more important that all the rest of the patrons who were, quite obviously to anyone paying attention, extremely annoyed at having their dinners constantly disrupted by a bunch of boorish and rude louts.

Also ate at Nick's Fishmarket in the Fairmont, Ferraro's and Duo in the Four Seasons, and the Restaurant in the Hotel Wailea. If you are looking for nice dining in Wailea, forego Morimoto's and try the others in the same area. Our personal preference was Ferraro's. Exceptional service and food with outdoor ambiance overlooking the crashing waves.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value1

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on March 6, 2017

Delicious and extensive menu. Whole fish, maki, sushi...Morimoto has it all. Excellent service by Petra
and wonderful sunset view. Our second time and not our last.

Tags: Open Kitchen, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Looking forward to Morimoto on our babymoon in Maui- unfortunately the service really dampered the experience. Our server didn't great our table for almost 20 minutes, then even after she did she seemed super distracted and unprofessional for such a professional restaurant. I had to ask for my drink three times. Then we waited almost 40 minutes between a sushi roll and our entree (which was also raw), so I'm pretty sure she just forgot to ring it in until she saw us hungrily staring at her. Overall, nice restaurant but our server made us feel like we were at an Applebees, not the most exclusive Japanese restaurant in Maui.

Tags: Romantic, Modern Decor, Scenic View, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

vip
 (Hawaii)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Consistently fantastic. Buri Bop and Hamachi Tacos are amazing.

Tags: Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Cozy, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Modern Decor, Worth the Drive, Hot Spot, Family Style, Authentic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Waterfront, Gluten Free Options, Kid-friendly, Tasting Menu, Fit for Foodies, Scenic View, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Central Coast)·Dined on March 4, 2017

Fun, romantic sushi dinner for two on a recent visit to Maui. Excellent food and "beautiful people" watching!

Tags: Special Occasion, Late-night Find, Waterfront, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on March 2, 2017

We were there on a very rainy evening and seated outside. I found out one of the couples in our party of 6 who arrieved first asked to be seated inside, and the request was ignored. The wait staff brought us drinks took our order and never came back to see if we needed anything. The food was good and we had an enjoyable evening despite the mediocre service and nasty weather.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service1
value2

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on March 1, 2017

Special Place to go for an anniversary! It will cost you but you have many menu choices that all deliver! It was our best dinner experience in Maui.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Scenic View, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on March 1, 2017

The tables were so damn close to each other you can hear the next table's conversations. Reminds me of a cafeteria style furnishing.

Do not come here for a romantic dining experience. Go to the Kaana Kitchen upstairs!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service5
value2

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on February 28, 2017

Waiter Cichos have been better. Was short and seemed impatient.

Tags: Casual, Creative Cuisine, Business Meals, Scenic View, Waterfront, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on February 28, 2017

Everything was phenomenal! The sushi was so tender and fresh, and we also loved the salad with thinly sliced calamari, it was amazing. We loved the green beans too! Great wine list, yummy donuts for dessert. The servers were awesome!

Tags: Tapas, Good for Groups, Bar Seating, Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Healthy, Scenic View, Quiet Conversation, Authentic, Quick Bite, Local Ingredients, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on February 27, 2017

Very good food! Service was good and very friendly. Only downside was tables are pretty close together. Ahi pizza appetizer was fantastic.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Tasting Menu, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Austin)·Dined on February 27, 2017

Morimoto never disappoints. We had the omakase again. They never repeat it and this was maybe the best one we've ever had. We'll keep coming back!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on February 26, 2017

The food is world class, pricey but worth the indulgence.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

vip
 (Louisville)·Dined on February 25, 2017

Love the atmosphere

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 24, 2017

Outstanding sushi. Great experience. Beautiful setting. Fantastic sunset viewing.

Tags: Healthy, Open Kitchen, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on February 23, 2017

I came here with my boyfriend while we were staying at Andaz Wailea. We had a reso at 830 but showed up early and ordered a bottle of wine at the bar area and were able to get sat closer to 8. Once we got sat we ordered the beef carpaccio which was to die for, the tuna pizza (the only thing I didn't care for) the crispy whole fish, a side of duck fried rice (a must have! Amazing) and 5oz of the A5 steak which was the best stake I have ever had. This steak is only served at a few restaurants worldwide - from what our server told us. Overall a great experience but you get what you pay for. $600 for two of us.

Tags: Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Tasting Menu, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on February 23, 2017

Loved it! The Miso Clams were incredible, the ambiance was world class. Expert service!

Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date, Scenic View, Quiet Conversation, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 22, 2017

We arrived and the hostesses were very friendly about getting our table ready. We wanted to sit at the sushi bar. There were several seats but apparently they weren't ready for us. We were told to wait in the bar. The bar area is very small and it was full but we were able to find one chair at the bar. We wanted to start with a martini. The bartender recommended two of their most popular martinis. He was not friendly or helpful with information. We tasted the drinks and they were both so sour and tart that we were not going to enjoy them. We asked if we could just have plain martinis instead that we didn't like them. I never do that unless it's undrinkable. The bartender was not friendly at all about it. If fact he was rude. But he did make us a plain martini at it was good. We sat at the sushi bar. We like sitting at the bar so we can be friendly with the chef and get recommendations. Instead we had a server. He was good but the restaurant was busy and he had a lot of tables. The whole kitchen is open so it is very loud. The chefs receive orders from servers through receipt machines. I think there was four or more machines going off constantly. It was so annoying and distracting. It was unbelievable!! In an expensive restaurant. I wish we would have requested outside as far away from those machines. A Japanese restaurant should be relaxing and very zen like. The sushi was good but I expected better for the location. Our service was good but not what I like at a sushi bar. I would not go back because there's too many other good restaurants.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 21, 2017

It was absolutely wonderful! We enjoyed a variety of dishes and found all of them to be incredibly good. The standouts were the appetizers: kikuni, spicy king crab, and hamachi crudo!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Sacramento)·Dined on February 21, 2017

Every dish was a work of art. AMAZING culinary experience. We had high expectations which were exceeded. Morimoto Sashimi dish topped the charts. Braised black cod was rich and delicious. Duck confit fried rice and pork gyoza are must tries.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Orange County)·Dined on February 21, 2017

Food was average. Traditional sushi was okay. Over priced.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 20, 2017

No care taken for special occasion with over one month notice

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service3
value1

 
 (Denver)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Creative cooking to the max. For us there were so many new taste sensation's and ways of preparing food. It's what I would've hoped to experience at a Morimoto restaurant. Our waiter was extremely attentive but not in the way. The courses or spaced out perfectly warm when they needed to be warm and cold as they needed to be cold. It was not cheap. But worth the money. We would certainly look forward to returning

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on February 17, 2017

Omakase was very tasty, the only problem is, when I hear Omakase I think sushi, it would more accurately be called a chefs tasting or short course kaiseki style...that being said...each course was quite good, nothing outstanding, but solidly tooth some throughout.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

vip
 (Anchorage)·Dined on February 16, 2017

'Twas an amazing dinner. We decided to have Chef Morimotos 7 course tasting menu with sake pairing. It's a tad spendy but SO worth it. We love getting tastes of multiple menu items (some of which we probably wouldn't have ordered ourselves but ended up being faves!) and the sake pairings were fantastic! The service was awesome as well... Thank you, Petra, for an unforgettable date night =)

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on February 15, 2017

It was aight ...
Food was good but expected better .
Last visit back in 2016 was more satisfying.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service2
value4

vip
 (Vancouver)·Dined on February 15, 2017

The best Japanese cuisine with very knowledgeable servers. A little expensive by mainland standards but this is Hawaii and everything is brought in. Great for our special occasion.

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on February 15, 2017

This was so very close to being a total 5***across the board. Meal was nearly perfect but the Pork chop was very expensive for a poorly prepared dish Buri bop was amazing as usual. Donuts are truly the best in USA... ordering them is a must. Mori Cabernet was an amazing bottle of wine

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Local Ingredients, Waterfront, Romantic, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Very overpriced and they had no sushi rolls that were interesting.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value1

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.