About Morimoto - Maui

3550 Wailea Alanui Dr.
Wailea, HI 96753
View Larger Map

Morimoto's contemporary Japanese menu infuses traditional dishes with Western ingredients and preparation techniques. His seasonal and ever-changing selection of raw fish preparations will feature the freshest seafood available as well as locally grown fruits and vegetables from supporting farmers. Morimoto's signature offerings include Toro Tartare, presented in a shallow wooden tray with condiments including crème fraîche, wasabi, avocado, nori paste, chives, crispy rice, and dashi-soy. Tuna Pizza made with raw tuna, anchovy aioli, and jalapeno; Morimoto Sashimi, a terrine of seared Toro, smoked salmon, barbequed eel, tuna and Hamachi served with five different sauces in pipettes.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Japanese, Sushi

Hours of Operation:
Lunch
Daily: 11:30am - 2:00pm

Dinner
Daily: 5:30pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
Wailea Ike Dr.

Dress Code:
Resort Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options

Phone Number:
(808) 243-4766

Website:
http://www.morimotomaui.com/

Catering:
Please contact us directly.

Parking Details:
Complimentary hotel parking with the Andaz valet services.

Executive Chef:
Masaharu Morimoto

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Available for private and semi-private events for 2-160 guests. Please contact us for further information.

Private Dining

Available for private and semi-private events for 2-160 guests.

Morimoto - Maui Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.2

ambience

4.3

value

3.6

noise

Moderate

75% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Japanese
Hawaii
Most Booked
Maui
Best Restaurants in Wailea ›

fit for foodies (90)
special occasion (79)
scenic view (78)
See All
great for outdoor dining (61)
romantic (53)
hot spot (29)
notable wine list (20)
good for groups (18)
great for lunch (9)
neighborhood gem (6)
kid-friendly (6)
vibrant bar scene (5)
late-night find (5)
great for brunch (3)
Sort By:
Newest
633 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Amazing experience. Our waiter was very ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined 4 days ago

Amazing experience. Our waiter was very knowledgable. Service crew were on top of every detail. The food...remarkable flavor and presentations. The regional manager, Shin, came by our table and made experience even better explaining history of Morimoto and other restaurant locations. Can't wait to visit in Napa!! Best Birthday Dinner yet!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We did not enjoy our meal at all. $200 f ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined 6 days ago

We did not enjoy our meal at all. $200 for 2 soups, 14 pieces of sushi, 1 roll and a saki. The sushi was very fishy. Not sure why this place receives good reviews. Overpriced and poor food.

Tags: scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service3
value1

Great appetizers, including spicy crab l ...

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined 6 days ago

Great appetizers, including spicy crab legs & calamari salad. The sushi was exceptional with a superb wait staff and incredible ocean views!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The whole evening was fantastic. The hot ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined 7 days ago

The whole evening was fantastic. The hotel where Morimoto is - the Andoz - was really spectacular at night. The restaurant was also very beautiful...down by the lower pools with great lighting and design. The drinks were excellent. I had their Mule, and they make their own ginger beer. The sushi was outstanding. Some of the best I've ever had. The whole group really enjoyed our evening. And the donuts and green tea ice cream three ways were likewise excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Service was outstanding. We are gluten f ...

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on July 18, 2016

Service was outstanding. We are gluten free and the waitress Charity was fabulous she knew exactly what we could eat and have plenty of recommendations. Food was amazing. We had sushi and the award- winning ishi yaku buri bop which charity recommended and it was a delicious dish which they prepare at the table. A wonderful honeymoon dinner.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Loved this place. Authentic Japanese foo ...

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on July 13, 2016

Loved this place. Authentic Japanese food. Well presented, fresh, tasted great. Don't miss Morimoto's.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Most of the evening and the Omakase was ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 12, 2016

Most of the evening and the Omakase was fantastic, until we got to the end. The brown rice pana cotta was so disgusting, it kind of ruined the evening. You could say we left with a bad taste in our mouth. I was surprised they would drop the $500 bill off right after that interaction.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3

This review is on the service that we re ...

 
 (Orange County)
·Dined on July 11, 2016

This review is on the service that we received during our dining experience at Morimoto. We stayed at the Andaz Maui in July for a couple of nights. My cousin highly recommended Morimoto as she had a very positive dining experience back in April. Now I believe she had an advantage. She had connections to one of the managers through a friend. Our experience was very memorable, and not in a positive way. We sat in the patio area. The view was beautiful and very scenic. Of course it was, we were in Maui! We were a little indecisive in selecting our entrees. The server was not helpful. He seemed short with us. Didn't offer recommendations. We ended up ordering very little because we wanted to get the heck out of there as quickly as possible!! I was observing other tables and their servers. The other servers were personable with their tables, talkative, and appeared extremely friendly. Other than bad service, the food was delicious. The portions are smaller compared to other high end restaurants.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service1
value2

Overall it was a nice dinner. Unfortuna ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Overall it was a nice dinner. Unfortunately we had a reservation for our anniversary, informed them it was our anniversary when I confirmed the reservation via phone, at 8p. We arrived almost 10 min early and though are table was set and ready (as far from a view as possible) they asked that we wait to sit in order to give the waitress a break. We sat over 15 min past our reservation. It took a long time to get many of our dishes and though the waitress was very nice overall it made for a long evening and not because we were trying to have an enjoyable lingering evening. At no point did anyone acknowledge our anniversary. It would have been fine to not extend any well wishes, but the delay in seating us, wait for food, and table in the back was unfortunate for a expensive celebratory evening. The majority of the dishes were delicious, just plan for a longer expensive meal and the overall service does not necessarily match it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value3

Excellent food, service and ambiance.

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Excellent food, service and ambiance.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Awesome, start to finish - A little hard ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Awesome, start to finish - A little hard to find. Didn't see it mentioned anywhere that it's inside a newer hotel in Kihei. Love it, GREAT customer service, food was amazing!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We had the 9 course Omakase meal. It wa ...

 
 (Palm Springs)
·Dined on July 7, 2016

We had the 9 course Omakase meal. It was amazing until the next morning. I came down with food poisoning while in Maui. I wouldn't expect to get food poisoning from a $600 meal for two.

The waiter was great and knowledgeable but, the food poisoning really messed everything up. Pretty crappy since I was in Maui on vacation.

Tags: fit for foodies, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service5
value4

Good, but very, very expensive. Didn't s ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on July 5, 2016

Good, but very, very expensive. Didn't see the extra price as worth it.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value2

The food was delicious. The sushi was v ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 4, 2016

The food was delicious. The sushi was very fresh and nicely prepared, the ramen and clam miso were simple but scrumptious. We were very pleased with the food. The service was not great. The hostess was friendly and greeted us, but our server was not very helpful or friendly at all. He took our order, and did not check up on us once after our food was brought to the table. When we asked for some extra wasabi, he almost seemed upset that we were bothering him. We had to try and catch someone's attention to get our waters refilled. Not the level of service you'd expect at all. The food was outstanding, but unfortunately we wouldn't dine there again because of the service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service2

Steak was outstanding. Everything else w ...

 
 (NW Florida)
·Dined on July 4, 2016

Steak was outstanding. Everything else was good but not great. For the price tag, we were hoping for a little more.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

The food was great, service was great, a ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on July 4, 2016

The food was great, service was great, and overall the experience was great. The food came quickly and even with the speed it tasted excellent. The waiter also made sure to explain all of the menu items and our water glasses were never empty as they came and filled it every time we took a sip. They explained the menu and accommodated to everyone's dietary needs as well.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing food. Fresh, nice portions, and ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

Amazing food. Fresh, nice portions, and creative presentation.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Fabulous food and fantastic experience. ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

Fabulous food and fantastic experience. Well worth price

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Awesome! Start to finish! The rock shrim ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

Awesome! Start to finish! The rock shrimp tempura and ahi tacos are to die for. And the ambiance- what can I say it's sunset on the beach on Maui!

Tags: fit for foodies, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Was an honor to experience a menu design ...

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on June 29, 2016

Was an honor to experience a menu designed by an Iron Chef. The food was amazing and the atmosphere was elegant. The wait staff was 10/10, server had more than adequate knowledge and each dish was plated if we were royalty. For being a 5 star restaurant the price was very affordable and prices are posted in menu which is rare in Hawaii.

Recommend Chefs 7 course dish and share with 3 people dont let $140 price tag scare you just remember this may be the best plate of your life

MAHALO NUI LOA TO MASTER CHEF

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Possibly the best dining experience I've ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on June 28, 2016

Possibly the best dining experience I've ever had. The prices are high, but actually well worth the attention to detail and amazing food you are delighted with. It is absolutely amazing and lives up to all the hype.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food, expensive but amazing atmosp ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on June 27, 2016

Great food, expensive but amazing atmosphere. I highly recommend both the Andaz and Morimoto if you are heading to Maui!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Delicious food! Wonderful view and servi ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

Delicious food! Wonderful view and service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We were very excited to try this restaur ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on June 22, 2016

We were very excited to try this restaurant but for the price (well over $500) for 4 people and no wine, it seemed very expensive and at least 2 tummies were not very happy the next day. A lot of different staff brought the multiple courses to my husband and were not very excited about explaining what each was. Probably will not recommend this restaurant to friends traveling.

Tags: fit for foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value2

Great food unique great service prompt ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on June 22, 2016

Great food unique great service prompt and knowledgeable wait staff . Will recommend as a must stop for Maui visitors

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The highlight of the experience was our ...

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on June 21, 2016

The highlight of the experience was our waiter, Scott. He was knowledgable, patient and very helpful. The food was fairly priced for the quality of the ingredients. Unfortunately, our dishes lacked the depth found in similar Japanese recipes. This may have been due to the resort location and a general lack of cuisine culpability in the Wailea area of Maui.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

Honestly not bad but not great. This sus ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on June 21, 2016

Honestly not bad but not great. This sushi is overpriced and I felt as though the waiting staff was trying very hard to upsale the dinner with recommendations I did not ask for. And he recommended the family style with would feed 3-4 people but it was just me and my partner. Sadly we will not return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value1

Sushi was comparably the best in the ar ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 20, 2016

Sushi was comparably the best in the area.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2

We got the omikase and it was a surreal ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 20, 2016

We got the omikase and it was a surreal dining experience. Each dish brought was a true food experience and chastised our palate like crazy. We wanted to go back again during our vacation stay in Maui because none of the other restaurants could match this one in food and service. Really love the service and how they take care of you.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Definitely one of the best dining experi ...

 
 (Orange County)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Definitely one of the best dining experiences we had on Maui this trip around. Would highly recommend. Poolside location a little worrisome since kids were still playing in it, but it wasn't too bad when we dined. Retractable roof was lovely with the stars overhead. Food was impeccable, from hamachi tartare and tacos, to gyoza with bacon foam and spicy crab legs (simple but oh so delicious). For mains we shared the duck duck goose - foie melted in duck confit fried rice, perfectly done duck breast, duck meatball soup and a leg of duck confit ... mmmmmm. Then we shared the whole branzino was crispy, the tofu great, but overall probably just ok compared to the rest. Would put this on anyone's to do list and can't wait to go back and give it another go.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Amazing, outstanding, out of this world. ...

vip
 (Southwest FL)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

Amazing, outstanding, out of this world. We went for lunch and had a fantastic experience. The food was ...well there are just no words for how wonderful it was. We went to dinner at a very nice restaurant a couple hours later but I couldn't stop talking about what I had for lunch at Morimoto's. Staff was ver professional and courteous.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

This place was really nothing like other ...

vip
 (San Diego)
·Dined on June 17, 2016

This place was really nothing like other high end places. Ive been to the best, French Laundry, Nobu, etc this place was a total disappointment. The food quality was poor. Freshness and taste were poor. Service was strange. We had a tasting menu ($200) and some additional dishes. Tasting menu was terrible. They even mangled Waigu steak. Cooked fish smelled fishy and special dishes were anything but.....

Even the straightforward sushi was tough and not flavorful. This was a total disappointment for $450 ($100 of sake). Avoid it PLEASE, there are many any other good places on Maui to have a high end meal.

Tags: hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value1

Excellent customer service was reallyimp ...

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on June 16, 2016

Excellent customer service was reallyimpressed of the knowledge of food and resturant food was excellent. Amazing taste.. very satisfying

Tags: romantic, special occasion, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent food from iron chef morimoto. ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 15, 2016

Excellent food from iron chef morimoto. Opted for the Waygu carpaccio and the toro tartare to start which were beyond amazing. Had the chefs choice sushi and sashimi plates and shared them which was fresh and so good.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Not worth the price tag! This is our 3r ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on June 14, 2016

Not worth the price tag! This is our 3rd time visiting this restaurant on vacation and unfortunately they have not worked out their service issues. The service was very poor and the food quality is not worth the hefty price tag. I suspect the restaurant does well since the Iron Chef is world famous but that's where it ends. We will not be visiting this establishment in the future.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service1
value1

Best meal we had in our 6 days in Maui. ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

Best meal we had in our 6 days in Maui. Food was superb. Creative, distinctive, delicious! We loved our waiter. Friendly, knowledgable and helpful. I would have liked to eat all6 dinners there.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Wonderful Japanese food and our server J ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on June 9, 2016

Wonderful Japanese food and our server Joshua J. was great!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was not good considering this c ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on June 8, 2016

The food was not good considering this chef is supposed to be a famous chef.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service2

Had the 7 course meal... Magic!

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on June 6, 2016

Had the 7 course meal... Magic!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

AMAZING FOOD! Subpar service.

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on June 5, 2016

Morimoto's is amazing and so is his food. The taste was to die for and his presentation is so unique and creative. However, the service here was subpar. We were there for over 30 minutes before we finally called the host over to order because our server never stopped by to check on us after initially getting our drink order. We ordered the chefs choice, which is 9 courses however we ended up only getting 8 and by the time we realized this we had already been there almost 3 hours. Again, I would recommend this place for the amazing food, but the service definitely has room for improvement.

Tags: fit for foodies, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.