Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.02mi
  2. Distance: 0.03mi
  3. Distance: 0.13mi
  4. Distance: 0.19mi
  1. Distance: 0.02mi
  2. Distance: 0.03mi
  3. Distance: 0.13mi
  4. Distance: 0.19mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.02mi
  2. Distance: 0.03mi
  3. Distance: 0.13mi
  4. Distance: 0.19mi
  1. Distance: 0.02mi
  2. Distance: 0.03mi
  3. Distance: 0.13mi
  4. Distance: 0.19mi

About Morimoto - Maui

Morimoto's contemporary Japanese menu infuses traditional dishes with Western ingredients and preparation techniques. His seasonal and ever-changing selection of raw fish preparations will feature the freshest seafood available as well as locally grown fruits and vegetables from supporting farmers. Morimoto's signature offerings include Toro Tartare, presented in a shallow wooden tray with condiments including crème fraîche, wasabi, avocado, nori paste, chives, crispy rice, and dashi-soy. Tuna Pizza made with raw tuna, anchovy aioli, and jalapeno; Morimoto Sashimi, a terrine of seared Toro, smoked salmon, barbequed eel, tuna and Hamachi served with five different sauces in pipettes.

3550 Wailea Alanui Dr.
Wailea, HI 96753
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Japanese, Sushi

Hours of Operation:
Lunch
Daily: 11:30am - 2:00pm

Dinner
Daily: 5:30pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
Wailea Ike Dr.

Dress Code:
Resort Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options

Phone Number:
(808) 243-4766

Website:
http://www.morimotomaui.com/

Catering:
Please contact us directly.

Parking Details:
Complimentary hotel parking with the Andaz valet services.

Executive Chef:
Masaharu Morimoto

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Available for private and semi-private events for 2-160 guests. Please contact us for further information.

Private Dining

Available for private and semi-private events for 2-160 guests.

Morimoto - Maui Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.3

ambience

4.4

value

3.8

Noise

Moderate

83% would recommend it to a friend

Scenic View (57)
Special Occasion (56)
Fit for Foodies (51)
See All
Good for a Date (48)
Romantic (44)
Good for Anniversaries (42)
Waterfront (41)
Creative Cuisine (41)
Great for Outdoor Dining (40)
Authentic (26)
Local Ingredients (24)
Hot Spot (22)
Good for Birthdays (21)
Handcrafted Cocktails (20)
Quiet Conversation (20)
Notable Wine List (18)
Healthy (16)
Tasting Menu (16)
Good for Groups (15)
Worth the Drive (13)
Casual (12)
Fun (12)
People Watching (12)
Good Vegetarian Options (11)
Business Meals (8)
Cozy (8)
Late-night Find (8)
Neighborhood Gem (8)
Vibrant Bar Scene (8)
Bar Seating (6)
Spicy (6)
Great for Lunch (5)
Happy Hour (4)
Pre/post Theatre (4)
Sunday Lunch (4)
Tapas (4)
Comfort Food (3)
Organic (3)
Seasonal (3)
Kid-friendly (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Great Beer (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Live Music (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Vegan (1)
Sort By:
S
1143 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined 4 days ago

Outstanding meal!! My wife and I were celebrating our 10 year wedding anniversary and we could not have picked a better venue! The food was unbelievable and the view of the South Maui beach and ocean were magnificent!

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Sunday Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Happy Hour, Worth the Drive, Handcrafted Cocktails, Tapas, Scenic View, Hot Spot, Romantic, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined 5 days ago

We were staying at the andaz and actually ate here two nights! Antonio was the most amazing waiter ever! Love love Love

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined 5 days ago

Highly overrated. Service was good at the beginning, terrible at the end. I had to ask twice to have our empty plates and glasses removed.

Food was a 2 out of 10.:

Sushi was mediocre. Duck fried rice was terrible. Wagyu filet and ribeye were decent. Chicken noodle soup was bad.

Service:

Terrible. From the greeters ( not smiling and seemed upset) to the bus boys. I had to ask them twice to remove the empty plates that were grossly accumulating in our table. Drinks would take over 10 minutes to arrive after ordering . Server was friendly at the beginning, upset at the end.

I do not recommend this place.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service1
value2

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 6 days ago

Anniversary dinner. Made reservation in advance for a very special occasion (4 year anniversary on the day). Seating was a shared banquette with another couple - which is not appropriate for such a momentous occasion. Not to mention we drove 1 hour from our hotel to this restaurant. My husbands banquette was sunken in so he was complaining that he couldn't reach table. Also we made reservation to watch sunset and table was blocked. To top it off, one of our $30 appetizers was not at all what we expected - phenomenon of presentation did not equate to a satisfying dish. $170 later we had 2 apps and a few pieces of sushi and left annoyed and hungry.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value1

 
·Dined 7 days ago

Friendly staff.
Delicious food.
Exceptional service.

Recommended by a local, and have been passing along our great experience to others at the resort.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined 7 days ago

The Omakase was absolutely amazing! This was by far the best meal I've ever had.

The service was top notch. While we were in Maui for 4 nights, this was the best service.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on October 10, 2017

The food was amazing. My only recommendation would be to not go on a special occasion. If there is seating outside (reservation request or not) it's nice but inside is the least romantic place and the noice level is high. If you want to go for amazing food this is a great place, if service is important to you I would suggest you keep looking. The outside bartenders were so incredibly unfriendly it was almost funny. I guess when I pay $80.00 for a steak I just expect more.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service2
value3

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on October 7, 2017

This place was phenomenal! My wife and I celebrated our anniversary dinner here and out of our entire trip in Maui... this was by far the BEST on the island. We ate at many great places but if you want something truly apecial i recommend this place. Its authentic Japanese cuisine with a twist of modern taste. The portions are plentiful and the presentation is sublime. Best food thus far that my wife and I have tasted (Japanese that is) and we will definitely go back on our next visit to Maui. We didnt ge tthe chance to try their lunch lineup so my review is soley based on the dinner portion.

Tags: Late-night Find, Scenic View, Authentic, Romantic, Waterfront, Creative Cuisine, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 6, 2017

Nice mix of asian fusion cuisine. All fresh ingredients. Phenomenal drinks!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

 
·Dined on October 6, 2017

As locals on staycatuon at the Andaz, we thought Morimoto would be the perfect place to celebrate my husband's 40th birthday. Unfortunately, it didn't quite live up to the hype...

The good: best sushi we have had on Maui in a long time. Good wine selection

The bad: service was mediocre; server was not very familiar with the entree menu or the cocktail menu. The oysters foie gras was great, as was the gyoza....but the Duck Duck Goose never had any foie gras on it. Not in a "barely any on there" kind of way....but literally completely missing. My husband was too polite to tell me at the time...but the foie was the whole reason he ordered this fish and it was not even there. Bummed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on October 6, 2017

We can't wait to go back! Our server, Antonio, was fantastic. He walked us through the entire menu and gave helpful suggestions and tips without being overbearing. We started with wagyu beef carpaccio- amazing! I could've just had that for dinner. Love the sauce on it.

I strongly recommend the donuts for dessert. It's come with five- plenty to share!

Also, we were celebrating our honeymoon and our dessert came with a piece of chocolate that said congratulations on it. We weren't looking for a fuss but I really appreciate when people go the extra mile.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 4, 2017

Good food and service - only negative was getting there- Lots of steps

Tags: Quick Bite, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
·Dined on October 3, 2017

Me and my wife had a great dinner. I had the Japanese A5 wagyu for the first time and loved every bite of it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
·Dined on September 29, 2017

Excellent food and the sushi and sashimi were amazing

Tags: Scenic View, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on September 29, 2017

To start, food was surprisingly unique. Bone marrow was to die for alone with sushi appetizer was the best. Chefs cut double pork chop on smoked bacon was unlike any I have had, cooked perfectly and meshed wonderfully with the incredible Duck Confit rice. Finished with Donuts that were freshly made and served hot with three dipping sauces. Though its pricy $$$$$, it was every bit worth it. Service person Petra was attentive, as were her table helpers. Good Single Malt selection better than most and leaving was made easier when young man showed up with a golf cart to take us to our valet car. We will go back, for sure!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 26, 2017

Had a wonderful evening celebrating our honeymoon

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Greensboro)·Dined on September 25, 2017

Last dinner on our honeymoon... incredible!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 24, 2017

Our sever Antonios was so great he knew exactly what drinks would compliment the food we ordered and turned our meal into a delicious and fun experience. Can't wait to do it again!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Great for Outdoor Dining, Comfort Food, Great for Brunch, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Business Meals, Handcrafted Cocktails, Hot Spot, Authentic, Fit for Foodies, People Watching, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Casual, Scenic View, Local Ingredients, Great for Lunch, Good for Groups, Waterfront, Worth the Drive, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 23, 2017

I've eaten at Morimoto's in Napa as well, his restaurants are a no fail. The flavor combinations, and the quality of the ingredients are always a win.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Scenic View, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on September 21, 2017

My wife and I came to Maui on our honeymoon & we found Morimoto through a friend. We had an amazing experience! Nancy, our waiter, was exceptional. She walked us through all of our food & was so knowledgeable on all the things Morimoto had to offer. We plan on stopping by once more before we head home, not only for the food, but Nancy made it an experience my wife & I will never forget.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 18, 2017

Food was delicious and service was great. Lots of different dishes and drinks.

Tags: Bar Seating, Special Occasion, Late-night Find, Great Beer, Authentic, People Watching, Local Ingredients, Scenic View, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on September 15, 2017

Love this place. Went twice for lunch outside, reasonably priced at lunch and venue cannot be beat. Slow at lunch so easy to get a table.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on September 15, 2017

Amazing....Everything about this restaurant was amazing. The food was delicious. I'd highly recommend the shrimp tempura, unlike any I've ever had. Also, save a little room for donuts for dessert...Wonderful restaurant and great service.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Scenic View, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on September 15, 2017

Bons plats. Belle présentation mais très cher comme on s'y attends. Chaises inconfortables mais quand même aimé mon expérience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

 
·Dined on September 14, 2017

Our bartender, Tim was amazing. Great attitude and made awesome drinks. The hostesses were horrible. The worst attitudes and we're really rude. Our waitress was good. And the food was good.

Tags: Waterfront, Quiet Conversation, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

 
·Dined on September 11, 2017

My wife and I had a very good time at this restaurant for our babymoon. We made some special request for a table outside and they were able to accommodate us. Thanks to the entire staff we will definitely be back .

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Scenic View, Business Meals, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fun, Authentic, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Spicy, Seasonal, Healthy, Good for Anniversaries, Hot Spot, Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Hawaii)·Dined on September 11, 2017

Fabulous on all levels. We had the 10 course Omakase. Amazed by the creativity and excellence of this restaurant. Mahalo Nui. We will be back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 11, 2017

Omakase is the way to go... delicious food, innovative presentation, outstanding service.. a bit pricy but worth every penny.. will visit again and again once in Maui

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on September 11, 2017

The food was good but overpriced. I've had better meals at restaurants with more moderate prices. I wouldn't go there again unless someone gave me a gift certificate for at least $250

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on September 11, 2017

Situated at the waterfront of one of Wailea's hottest hotel. Great place for special occasions and sushi lovers. Staff was awesome and we had a wonderful experience.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good Vegetarian Options, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Waterfront, Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Naples)·Dined on September 10, 2017

Terrible dinner. Ordered two sushi rolls and few pieces sushi, they were average and lacked seasoning. Surf and turf entree arrived cold with one cold 3 ounce steak and raw hamachi. This was fishy and did not taste fresh, again lacked flavor. A5 waygu was good. Wife never received her second beverage. When complained about the uneaten hamachi, the server laughed and took it away. No compensation and manager not made available. Spend your $350 or more elsewhere, like Gannon's. They have excellent food and service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service1
value1

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 9, 2017

Located at the Andaz Hotel by the lower pool. Food and service are fantastic with very unique Asian fusion dishes. Had both meat and fish dishes and they were awesome. Probably the best sushi I've had on the island! We had malasadas (donuts) for desert and they were pretty ordinary and you can get them anywhere around Maui, I'd probably skip those next time. Don't come here if you're trying to be on a budget!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Hot Spot, Great for Outdoor Dining, Handcrafted Cocktails, Tasting Menu, Waterfront, Good for Birthdays, Scenic View, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on September 8, 2017

Great fish- worth taking a little extra time to get there. Not a large restaurant, but the sashimi was very noteworthy!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Tasting Menu, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

 
·Dined on September 6, 2017

My husband & I ate here on our first night at the andaz. It took forever for us to be waited on & our waitress wasn't very friendly. We finally got our food & were not impressed. We had such high hopes, but the food was not very flavorful. I ordered a seafood dish with spicy broth & all of the seafood was overcooked & rubbery.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1
value1

 
·Dined on September 5, 2017

I have been to a two of Chef Morimoto's restaurants (one in Orlando and the one in Miami. Needless to say, I've never been disappointed with the food at either. So when I found out that there was one here in Maui I k we I had to come! The food was stellar as always! ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

Tags: Healthy, Sunday Lunch, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries, Late-night Find, Special Occasion, Tapas, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Tasting Menu, Paleo Friendly, Spicy, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Fun, Authentic, Pre/post Theatre, Romantic, Good for a Date, Scenic View, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Austin)·Dined on September 5, 2017

1. Wagyu beef carpaccio - excellent
2. Ramen soup - excellent
3. Spicy king crab - excellent
4. Spicy yellowtail roll - one of the best rolls I have ever had
5. Crispy whole fish - branzino fish - sub par, almost not edible

David our server from Utah, very good.

One key flaw in the restaurant is the tables with chairs on one end and couch on the other, they do not match height wise - someone will have to sit on pillow or the taller person sitting on the couch. It's the oddest and annoying freakin thing!!! Fix it!!! Come on Morimoto! Also, for some of the tables one person will look at the entry to the restrooms and a wall between hotel guests walking to the pool. The whole layout needs a rethink.

Tags: Hot Spot, Tasting Menu, Creative Cuisine, Happy Hour, Romantic, Scenic View, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

 
·Dined on September 5, 2017

We have had better for alot less at Mom and Pop stores in Yokosuka. Glad there was extra wasabi served with the dish, as there was almost none on the fish. To be fair the fish was the best and the shushi was well made the execucusion however we felt was americanized. Service was first class.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value2

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on September 4, 2017

Everything was perfect. Every little details were taken care of, helpful and understanding staff, food out of this world!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 4, 2017

Sashimi.....excellent, whole fried fish.......excellent, Wagyu filet.....excellent, staff friendliness and very attentive......excellent. We make it to Morimotos Maui on every trip here.... 3rd time in 2017. It's fantastic here.

Tags: Special Occasion, Scenic View, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on September 3, 2017

Service was good, however, was disappointed in the food. I got the seafood toban yaki (which wasn't disclosed was spicy). Friend got the pork chops, which he said was really salty. The waiter was kind enough to ask if I wanted to change my plate, because he noticed I was not eating much of it, but at that point I wasn't interested and therefore declined. We just asked to have our food packed, which it was. Later on through the night we noticed that the car smelled strongly of the seafood that was packed for dinner. We then noticed the bag was leaking, as whoever packed the food did not close the container entirely. Therefore the car wreaked with the smell of fish in the vehicle. Not an experience as we expected.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.