Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.02mi
  2. Distance: 0.03mi
  3. Distance: 0.13mi
  4. Distance: 0.19mi
  1. Distance: 0.02mi
  2. Distance: 0.03mi
  3. Distance: 0.13mi
  4. Distance: 0.19mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.02mi
  2. Distance: 0.03mi
  3. Distance: 0.13mi
  4. Distance: 0.19mi
  1. Distance: 0.02mi
  2. Distance: 0.03mi
  3. Distance: 0.13mi
  4. Distance: 0.19mi

About Morimoto - Maui

Morimoto's contemporary Japanese menu infuses traditional dishes with Western ingredients and preparation techniques. His seasonal and ever-changing selection of raw fish preparations will feature the freshest seafood available as well as locally grown fruits and vegetables from supporting farmers. Morimoto's signature offerings include Toro Tartare, presented in a shallow wooden tray with condiments including crème fraîche, wasabi, avocado, nori paste, chives, crispy rice, and dashi-soy. Tuna Pizza made with raw tuna, anchovy aioli, and jalapeno; Morimoto Sashimi, a terrine of seared Toro, smoked salmon, barbequed eel, tuna and Hamachi served with five different sauces in pipettes.

3550 Wailea Alanui Dr.
Wailea, HI 96753
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Japanese, Sushi

Hours of Operation:
Lunch
Daily: 11:30am - 2:00pm

Dinner
Daily: 5:30pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
Wailea Ike Dr.

Dress Code:
Resort Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options

Phone Number:
(808) 243-4766

Website:
http://www.morimotomaui.com/

Catering:
Please contact us directly.

Parking Details:
Complimentary hotel parking with the Andaz valet services.

Executive Chef:
Masaharu Morimoto

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Available for private and semi-private events for 2-160 guests. Please contact us for further information.

Private Dining

Available for private and semi-private events for 2-160 guests.

Morimoto - Maui Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.2

ambience

4.3

value

3.7

noise

Moderate

80% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (60)
Good for a Date (57)
Scenic View (52)
See All
Fit for Foodies (51)
Creative Cuisine (45)
Great for Outdoor Dining (45)
Waterfront (41)
Romantic (36)
Local Ingredients (35)
Good for Anniversaries (31)
Modern Decor (27)
Authentic (26)
Hot Spot (23)
Tasting Menu (20)
Good for Birthdays (20)
Worth the Drive (17)
Open Kitchen (16)
Healthy (13)
Fun (11)
Quiet Conversation (11)
Notable Wine List (11)
Handcrafted Cocktails (11)
Cozy (10)
Molecular Gastronomy (10)
People Watching (10)
Bar Seating (10)
Great for Lunch (9)
Business Meals (8)
Neighborhood Gem (8)
Casual (7)
Good for Groups (6)
Family Style (6)
Gluten Free Options (6)
Seasonal (5)
Good Vegetarian Options (5)
Paleo Friendly (4)
Vibrant Bar Scene (4)
Kid-friendly (4)
Tapas (3)
Spicy (3)
Late-night Find (3)
Great Beer (2)
Happy Hour (2)
Organic (2)
Fireplace (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Historic (1)
Vegan (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Sort By:
S
951 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Denver)·Dined 2 days ago

Omakase was perfect, would highly recommend

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 3 days ago

Nothing special. We were actually disappointed with the food & sushi. Morimoto in name only

Tags: Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined 4 days ago

Went for the Omakase. Reservation was at 9:00pm, got there at 8:45pm and got drink at bar then sat down. The waitress then told us that the last time to order the Omakase was 8:45pm. Disappointed in general. The menu, website, reservations and staff never mentioned this.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined 5 days ago

Excellent food. Very enjoyable eats. Setting was ok. Not very intimate with people in pool.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on April 23, 2017

From the ambiance to the service everything was top notch. As we arrived it seemed that the bar was backed up a bit as it did take about 15 mins after I ordered a bottle of wine to receive it. The server did apologize on the wait. My only comment or suggest would be that the table that we were sat at was in the middle of two other couples dining. There was ZERO privacy at our table and we felt put on display. We ended up chatting with one of the couples next to us the entire night however it was a forced situation as opposed to a romantic date as I had anticipated. The table arrangements could have been adjusted for the night to mix up the two tops around the restaurant instead of all on one side.

Tags: Authentic, Seasonal, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on April 22, 2017

The food is so fresh and tasty! The presentation of the food is amazing. Great spot to eat!

Tags: Fun, Scenic View, Molecular Gastronomy, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Waterfront, Hot Spot, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on April 21, 2017

Had the omakase for $140. Was a good amount of food in the 7 courses. Drinks always took a long time. Tables are reallyose to each other. Food was ok nothing really special. I would not order omakase again.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 19, 2017

Beautiful setting with ocean view dining. Cocktail Pele's Kiss was surprisingly delicious and fresh with a spicy kick! The Maui tacos we good and a delight before our main meal.(very fresh ahi) We enjoyed the fresh seafood tazu which had lobster, clams, snapper and shrimp in miso sauce. To top off the meal Strawberry Liilikoi sorbet went well with our glass of Patz & Hall chardonnay. I highly recommend this restaurant!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 17, 2017

Rude server, had a 3 minute lecture about gratuity. I stayed at the hotel if not I wouldn't go back. The appetizers were amazing, entrees were too salty, didn't get the sushi.

Tags: Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service2
value3

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on April 16, 2017

We went for the sushi, but were not impressed. Rolls were nothing to write home about. Stick with nigiri, they were delicious.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Amazing from start to finish. Feast for the senses !

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on April 16, 2017

The whole experience was excellent! Had a shashimi appetizer and the best sushi I ever had, and my wife a fish cooked at the table in a hot bowl. Got to eat a lot of that too really wonderful. A favorite for Maui dining from now on!

Tags: Business Meals, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Modern Decor, Romantic, Bar Seating, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Waterfront, Worth the Drive, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on April 15, 2017

Pretty good food. Fresh sushi. Outdoor seating could use some updating, as cushions look worn in. Overall, fresh and tasty dinner.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on April 14, 2017

We enjoyed our visit. Food was exceptional and the service was great. Pricey but delicious.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on April 14, 2017

Ordered the omakase and was hoping to taste something different than the Morrimoto in Napa ... but was disappointed. I enjoyed my dinner at Ka'anna and Mama Fish House much more.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

vip
 (Hawaii)·Dined on April 12, 2017

A delightful ladies lunch! We started with a shared order of rockfish tempura with savory dipping sauces. We all ordered the whitefish capacious salad as our main. Two of us had had it before and knew we would order it again. For a special treat, we finished with one order of yummy doughnuts with three dipping sauces--salted caramel is the best!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on April 12, 2017

Always a must hit dinner spot when we're in Maui! Never disappoints! Yum!!!

Tags: Healthy, Local Ingredients, Modern Decor, Scenic View, Good for a Date, Waterfront, Open Kitchen, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 11, 2017

Does not disappoint. This is the third time in many years at Morimoto Maui. Each year I get the Chef's selection. Each time the chef has impressed to the point that I don't want to go anywhere else on the trip. Sure there are great restaurants and great scenic restaurants across the Hawaiian islands. I'd be happy to dine here every time I come to Maui. Food people, this is it.

Even the simplest of dishes like the ramen is done to perfection. Broth, noodles, balanced so well. Uuummmaaammiiiiii. I know why the chef loves this of simplest of dishes. It says, HOME.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on April 11, 2017

Amazing dinner with a beautiful view. We were able to try the Waygu beef for the first time. I can honestly say it's the best beef I've ever had. My husband and I are still thinking about it a week later. The morimoto sashimi was a beautiful presentation and delicious. My three boys under 8 had no problem eating off the kids menu. If you love sushi I highly recommend trying Morimotos.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Scenic View, Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Romantic, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 11, 2017

Family gathering on our last night... food and service was amazing!!

Tags: Scenic View, Great for Outdoor Dining, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on April 10, 2017

We were happy until the last 30 minutes when our server started ignoring us. If he was trying to turn the table, he should have brought us our check. He literally pulled a bottle of wine from the same ice bucket for the table next to us and walked away, though our glasses were empty too. Walked past our table multiple times without saying anything. The guy who brought our dessert was kind enough to fill our glasses. Couldn't help but take it personally when the server is attentive to all tables around you. When you drop multiple hundreds on a meal you want to leave feeling good about it. We left angry :(

Tags: Good for a Date, Modern Decor, Fit for Foodies, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value2

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on April 10, 2017

This was good, but not incredible by all means. I was very excited to eat here. I was expecting a great view, but when seated inside the dining area the view is obstructed by the bar outside. The food was good, but not remarkable.

Tags: Late-night Find, Scenic View, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 9, 2017

Great atmosphere, excellent food. Huge sake selection. We loved our meal here. Opted to share a bunch of appies rather than get a main each and really enjoyed it as got to try quite a bit from the menu.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 8, 2017

Excellent meal on the first night of our vacation!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on April 7, 2017

The food was excellent. Service was great. I was asked if I would like to try some freshly ground wasabi "for a small upcharge". Shame on me for not asking what "small upcharge" meant. I received a portion of ground wasabi about the size of a quarter. It was delicious, but I was charged $20 for it. I probably would have paid $20 to try it, I just was not expecting $20; somewhere between $3-10 would seem to fit under the small upcharge label. Other than this one thing, everything was excellent and I would certainly eat there again.

Tags: Spicy, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on April 7, 2017

Very nice setting and service. But we both got sick from the food. Had severe intestinal problems for the next 24 -30 hours, and reported it to the hotel. Lost a day and half of our vacation. Third time at the restaurant but will not return.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service5
value1

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on April 6, 2017

Tempura rock shrimp is a huge hit
Worth going there just for that
Lobster roll okay but not outstanding
Drinks are very good

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on April 6, 2017

great food..especially enjoyed the spicy crab legs. so glad we tried it!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on April 5, 2017

Awesome food. Lobster roll was excellent. The spicy king crabs appetizer was to die for. Will definitely be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on April 4, 2017

I LOVE this place!!! The toro carpaccio was so good, amazing presentation. We loved the octopus salad, the maguro sushi was perfection, love the green beans, great wine list, awesome service!

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Spicy, Quiet Conversation, Good Vegetarian Options, Tapas, Business Meals, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on April 4, 2017

Excellent dinner. Server was very knowledgeable. Ordered the A5 Wagyu. 35 dollars an ounce is pretty steep but it was worth it. It literally melts in your mouth. I think its totally ruined me for all other steaks.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 1, 2017

The night we came there was a kitchen malfunction that delayed our meal two hours. We tried to be understanding of the problem and attempted to substitute our order to dishes they could prepare. An hour later I asked to speak to the manager to better understand what to expect. He approached us with a very condescending attitude, implying that it was our fault for waiting. Clearly not an appropriate way to treat a costumer. An apology and offer to compensate or expedite our food would have been the right thing to do. Very disappointing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value1

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on March 31, 2017

The food is awesome and we visit Morimoto every time we are in Maui.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on March 31, 2017

One of the best meals I have ever had! Every course was amazing and fresh. Spectacular combination of seasoning and fresh food. Would recommend and can't wait to return!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 30, 2017

Morimoto restaurants are always overpriced but at least you can expect quality fish. This place is being phoned in. Chef Morimltos idea of what midddle age tourists desire in pan-Japanese cuisine... with a bit of gastro-physics silliness thrown in for effect.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on March 30, 2017

Morimoto has serious cred when it comes to Japanese cuisine. Their sashimi and sushi was superb and the Omikase was delightful but rather expensive @ $140 for the basic selection considering that they did not include a request for Uni in the omakase and charged an additional $$$ fee on top of the $140 - - - that seemed excessive. I guess you have to go with the $200 omakase to get uni.

Also the front door staff of 3 young girls seemed to lack the "aloha spirit" that you find in their Maui competition next door at Spago or Ko or Merrimans - I chalk it up to newbies still getting training. We did not feel welcomed properly and it seems that even at other areas of the Andaz Resort Maui is not quite ready to compete with the Four Seasons Wailea on a service level.

I went back a second time and ordered ala carte at the sushi bar - which I think is the way to go if you are an experienced sushi fan - their Otoro was amazing, the chef was friendly - a good experience. My rating on a 1-10 scale would be 8.5 for Morimoto

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on March 29, 2017

Decent food, but nothing memorable + sat in the bar awaiting our reservation for 25 mins with zero attention from staff. Did eventually get asked for a drink order. Food overall was underwhelming and at least 30% over priced.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on March 29, 2017

Not disappointed at all. We had the chefs choice 7 courses meal. Beautifully presented and food was delicious. Some surprising elements and some familial yet new tastes. He is indeed the iron chef. The only dish I didn't enjoy as much is the filet of beef. Even though it was cooked to the perfect pink, the meat was not tender like other steak houses. The outdoor setting by the pool was nice. Enjoyed the whole dining experience and do it again.

Tags: Hot Spot, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Open Kitchen, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 29, 2017

The food and drinks were very good and we enjoyed the meal. I had the pork chop and my wife had a seafood and miso dish. We also had steak tartar and bone marrow. All were prepared and presented well. However, the service in this restaurant is terrible. We eat out pretty regularly and can't recall a worse experience. Our server disappeared at times. Our appetizers came out before our drinks. Acted as if she didn't care we were there and didn't engage us about the menu at all. There was more but I think you will get the picture. For the money I wouldn't go back. What was interesting is that we were headed back to the room and another couple from Philly had the same experience with a different server. That should be troubling to the restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value2

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on March 29, 2017

We went for the first night of our Honeymoon and it was PERFECT! The food and service were incredible and it is a perfect atmosphere! We got the Hamachi Tacos, Tuna Sampler, Rock Shrimp, Snapper, Duck Confit Rice, and Doughnuts! All delicious!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.