About Morimoto - Maui

3550 Wailea Alanui Dr.
Wailea, HI 96753
View Larger Map

Morimoto's contemporary Japanese menu infuses traditional dishes with Western ingredients and preparation techniques. His seasonal and ever-changing selection of raw fish preparations will feature the freshest seafood available as well as locally grown fruits and vegetables from supporting farmers. Morimoto's signature offerings include Toro Tartare, presented in a shallow wooden tray with condiments including crème fraîche, wasabi, avocado, nori paste, chives, crispy rice, and dashi-soy. Tuna Pizza made with raw tuna, anchovy aioli, and jalapeno; Morimoto Sashimi, a terrine of seared Toro, smoked salmon, barbequed eel, tuna and Hamachi served with five different sauces in pipettes.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Japanese, Sushi

Hours of Operation:
Lunch
Daily: 11:30am - 2:00pm

Dinner
Daily: 5:30pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
Wailea Ike Dr.

Dress Code:
Resort Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options

Phone Number:
(808) 243-4766

Website:
http://www.morimotomaui.com/

Catering:
Please contact us directly.

Parking Details:
Complimentary hotel parking with the Andaz valet services.

Executive Chef:
Masaharu Morimoto

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Available for private and semi-private events for 2-160 guests. Please contact us for further information.

Private Dining

Available for private and semi-private events for 2-160 guests.

Morimoto - Maui Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.3

ambience

4.3

noise

Moderate

81% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Japanese
Hawaii
Most Booked
Maui
Best Restaurants in Wailea ›

fit for foodies (101)
special occasion (87)
scenic view (83)
See All
great for outdoor dining (69)
romantic (59)
hot spot (35)
good for groups (24)
notable wine list (21)
great for lunch (12)
kid-friendly (11)
late-night find (9)
neighborhood gem (7)
vibrant bar scene (5)
great for brunch (3)
Sort By:
Newest
611 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great food, expensive but amazing atmosp ...

Dined 2 days ago

Great food, expensive but amazing atmosphere. I highly recommend both the Andaz and Morimoto if you are heading to Maui!

food4
ambience4
service4
value2

We were very excited to try this restaur ...

Dined on June 22, 2016

We were very excited to try this restaurant but for the price (well over $500) for 4 people and no wine, it seemed very expensive and at least 2 tummies were not very happy the next day. A lot of different staff brought the multiple courses to my husband and were not very excited about explaining what each was. Probably will not recommend this restaurant to friends traveling.

Tags: fit for foodies
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food unique great service prompt ...

Dined on June 22, 2016

Great food unique great service prompt and knowledgeable wait staff . Will recommend as a must stop for Maui visitors

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, scenic view
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

The highlight of the experience was our ...

Dined on June 21, 2016

The highlight of the experience was our waiter, Scott. He was knowledgable, patient and very helpful. The food was fairly priced for the quality of the ingredients. Unfortunately, our dishes lacked the depth found in similar Japanese recipes. This may have been due to the resort location and a general lack of cuisine culpability in the Wailea area of Maui.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food3
ambience3
service2
value1

Honestly not bad but not great. This sus ...

Dined on June 21, 2016

Honestly not bad but not great. This sushi is overpriced and I felt as though the waiting staff was trying very hard to upsale the dinner with recommendations I did not ask for. And he recommended the family style with would feed 3-4 people but it was just me and my partner. Sadly we will not return.

food3
ambience3
service2

Sushi was comparably the best in the ar ...

vip
Dined on June 20, 2016

Sushi was comparably the best in the area.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We got the omikase and it was a surreal ...

Dined on June 20, 2016

We got the omikase and it was a surreal dining experience. Each dish brought was a true food experience and chastised our palate like crazy. We wanted to go back again during our vacation stay in Maui because none of the other restaurants could match this one in food and service. Really love the service and how they take care of you.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Definitely one of the best dining experi ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

Definitely one of the best dining experiences we had on Maui this trip around. Would highly recommend. Poolside location a little worrisome since kids were still playing in it, but it wasn't too bad when we dined. Retractable roof was lovely with the stars overhead. Food was impeccable, from hamachi tartare and tacos, to gyoza with bacon foam and spicy crab legs (simple but oh so delicious). For mains we shared the duck duck goose - foie melted in duck confit fried rice, perfectly done duck breast, duck meatball soup and a leg of duck confit ... mmmmmm. Then we shared the whole branzino was crispy, the tofu great, but overall probably just ok compared to the rest. Would put this on anyone's to do list and can't wait to go back and give it another go.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining
food5
ambience5
service5

Amazing, outstanding, out of this world. ...

vip
Dined on June 18, 2016

Amazing, outstanding, out of this world. We went for lunch and had a fantastic experience. The food was ...well there are just no words for how wonderful it was. We went to dinner at a very nice restaurant a couple hours later but I couldn't stop talking about what I had for lunch at Morimoto's. Staff was ver professional and courteous.

food2
ambience4
service2
value1

This place was really nothing like other ...

vip
Dined on June 17, 2016

This place was really nothing like other high end places. Ive been to the best, French Laundry, Nobu, etc this place was a total disappointment. The food quality was poor. Freshness and taste were poor. Service was strange. We had a tasting menu ($200) and some additional dishes. Tasting menu was terrible. They even mangled Waigu steak. Cooked fish smelled fishy and special dishes were anything but..... Even the straightforward sushi was tough and not flavorful. This was a total disappointment for $450 ($100 of sake). Avoid it PLEASE, there are many any other good places on Maui to have a high end meal.

Tags: hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent customer service was reallyimp ...

Dined on June 16, 2016

Excellent customer service was reallyimpressed of the knowledge of food and resturant food was excellent. Amazing taste.. very satisfying

Tags: romantic, special occasion, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent food from iron chef morimoto. ...

Dined on June 15, 2016

Excellent food from iron chef morimoto. Opted for the Waygu carpaccio and the toro tartare to start which were beyond amazing. Had the chefs choice sushi and sashimi plates and shared them which was fresh and so good.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food3
ambience4
service1
value1

Not worth the price tag! This is our 3r ...

vip
Dined on June 14, 2016

Not worth the price tag! This is our 3rd time visiting this restaurant on vacation and unfortunately they have not worked out their service issues. The service was very poor and the food quality is not worth the hefty price tag. I suspect the restaurant does well since the Iron Chef is world famous but that's where it ends. We will not be visiting this establishment in the future.

food5
ambience5
service5

Best meal we had in our 6 days in Maui. ...

vip
Dined on June 12, 2016

Best meal we had in our 6 days in Maui. Food was superb. Creative, distinctive, delicious! We loved our waiter. Friendly, knowledgable and helpful. I would have liked to eat all6 dinners there.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful Japanese food and our server J ...

vip
Dined on June 9, 2016

Wonderful Japanese food and our server Joshua J. was great!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch
food1
ambience3
service2

The food was not good considering this c ...

vip
Dined on June 8, 2016

The food was not good considering this chef is supposed to be a famous chef.

food5
ambience5
service5

Had the 7 course meal... Magic!

Dined on June 6, 2016

Had the 7 course meal... Magic!

food5
ambience3
service3
value3

AMAZING FOOD! Subpar service.

Dined on June 5, 2016

Morimoto's is amazing and so is his food. The taste was to die for and his presentation is so unique and creative. However, the service here was subpar. We were there for over 30 minutes before we finally called the host over to order because our server never stopped by to check on us after initially getting our drink order. We ordered the chefs choice, which is 9 courses however we ended up only getting 8 and by the time we realized this we had already been there almost 3 hours. Again, I would recommend this place for the amazing food, but the service definitely has room for improvement.

Tags: fit for foodies, scenic view
food2
ambience4
service5
value2

Not up to expectations

Dined on June 5, 2016

Food was only so-so... we expected it to be much more. Sushi was beautiful, but did not have as much taste as it did color.... sauces were only ok.. Did you know that there is a Morimoto beer???? there seems to be a Morimoto everything, Stick to Sashimi and enjoy the view.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, scenic view, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service5

Great food, great atmosphere!

vip
Dined on June 2, 2016

Great food, great atmosphere!

food3
ambience5
service5

Outstanding experience, great apps, sush ...

vip
Dined on June 1, 2016

Outstanding experience, great apps, sushi is decent, but I have had better. Prices are outrageous. Still a must try for a great time.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My expectation was met as the Iron Chef' ...

vip
Dined on June 1, 2016

My expectation was met as the Iron Chef's restaurant produced the expected and anticipated dining adventure.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food1
ambience1
service1

This was the worst restaurant we have ev ...

vip
Dined on June 1, 2016

This was the worst restaurant we have ever been to. We shouldn't have left the resort and had the sushi at the lobby bar. The rock shrimp was covered in heavy sauce and RANCH DRESSING!!! Who does that!!! The sushi was terrible and sashimi was WAY over priced. Don't eat here stay away

food1
ambience5
service4

We have been coming here once every a ye ...

vip
Dined on June 1, 2016

We have been coming here once every a year for a few years and we noticed the food is just not as fresh as it once was.

food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent as always

vip
Dined on May 31, 2016

Excellent as always

food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great food & service

Dined on May 30, 2016

Stayed at the Andaz and visited Morimoto for dinner. Portion servings are very generous and very fresh & delicious. Servers are helpful but not invasive. Would definitely recommend this restaurant.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups
food3
ambience5
service2
value1

Dubious. Where's the vodka? Where's the fish?

Dined on May 30, 2016

They were out of the first three vodkas I requested out of a list of about 10 and the tidbits of sashimi were just that...minuscule and overpriced. The manager had to deal with angry patrons coming up to our table while asking how we were doing. Loved the location at the Andaz! Our cute sweet server was having a bit of a time.. ..we had to ask for the same thing over and over and over again.....Overall a strange experience.

Tags: great for outdoor dining
food5
ambience5
service5

A most excellent venue in wonderful Maui ...

vip
Dined on May 30, 2016

A most excellent venue in wonderful Maui !!!

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Good good good

Dined on May 29, 2016

Platinum service with a platinum price lol. Cost alot to eat good but damm that was good stuff. Best steak on maui hands down

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food4
ambience2
service5
value2

I'd expect more

Dined on May 26, 2016

We went to Morimoto's Wailea twice. First time we set inside. The food was outstanding, but the atmosphere was more like a sports bar with the noise level and an overall busy scene. What was surprising is the seating: the tables and seats are arranged in such a way that you are actually farther from your companion than your neighbor, who is basically sharing your sofa-like seat! The second time we sat outside. The noise level was definitely lower (low), but seating was the same. I'm not sure what their goal is, maybe to entice patrons to make friends and mingle like at a luau? Seriously, your next neighbor is sitting closer to you than the person you are dining with. We went during Wailea Restaurant Week, and maybe because it was a fixed menu, but I was surprised to find California roll and otherwise unimaginative sushi items in my sushi order. Especially at a place like Morimoto's. Sake, desert and my wife fish entree was excellent though.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Incredible

Dined on May 26, 2016

As a chef, Morimoto's spot is one I've always wanted to try. My wife and I went for dinner and had an absolutely great experience. Just as a warning, don't come to Morimoto (or most other restaurants of this caliber) expecting to leave stuffed. That isn't the point, you'll leave satisfied and having had an amazing meal. We ordered their featured 3 course menu and a soft-shell crab roll. I wish I could include photos as each dish was beautifully plated. The soft-shell crab roll was absolutely delicious with crispy tempura crab, crunchy asparagus, and perfectly seasoned warm sushi rice. There was an added salad to start which was honestly average, but tasty nonetheless. My first course was the wagyu carpaccio which was tender, and perfectly dressed. My wife's first course was the toro tartare which again was expertly seasoned and came with a unique ingredient called Yama Momo (Mountain Peach) which is a small cherry type fruit that is to be used as a palate cleanser. My second course was a sushi sampler plate which came with 5 assorted nigiri and a king crab california roll. The quality of the fish was evident however it was the rice that was the true star, something that so many sushi places get wrong. The fresh grated wasabi was also refreshing. My wife's second course was Kuai prawns with a thai curry sauce. Perfectly balanced and actually quite substantial for a menu of this style. My dessert was the Calamansi Lime Mousse with Coconut Mochi. The mousse was so refreshing and the coconut mochi added the perfect sweet balance. My wife's dessert was tofu cheesecake, which may sound disgusting to some, but it was delicious. It was so light and airy. The service was outstanding, our server was extremely knowledgeable about the menu, the ingredients, and the technique behind the dishes. She was very friendly and professional. We will definitely be returning and will likely save up for the 10-course Omakase menu for our next visit.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Delish... But it will cost you.

Dined on May 25, 2016

Morimoto restaurant lived up to the expectation of delivering delicious fresh local fish - although we expected more fresh special selection like o toro. Certainly will cost you though. All around good for special occasions. Although we celebrated an anniversary and they didn't acknowledge it, despite knowing. Would have been a nice touch, expected for a high end restaurant.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, special occasion, scenic view, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5

Superb food. The braised black cod was f ...

Dined on May 24, 2016

Superb food. The braised black cod was fabulous as was the watermelon gazpacho.

food2
ambience2
service1
value1

Highly over-rated, living on Morimoto na ...

vip
Dined on May 24, 2016

Highly over-rated, living on Morimoto name when he is nowhere in sight. Ka'ana at the same hotel is better priced with great food and personable chef on site

food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Still Morimoto, but not without fault

Dined on May 23, 2016

The first time we went to a Morimoto was in Waikiki. We were blown away. This time, not so much, but still a great experience.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Amazing food and good value, specially a ...

Dined on May 23, 2016

Amazing food and good value, specially as it was during Maui restaurant week.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The best thing I've ever ate!

Dined on May 23, 2016

I had the porkchop with Kimchi and it was the best thing I've ever ate! I still remember it..

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We've eaten at Morimoto on Honolulu; so ...

Dined on May 21, 2016

We've eaten at Morimoto on Honolulu; so we were anxious to try the restaurant in Maui. We were no disappointed. Not a meal, but an experience.Located in the Andaz resort, at the bottom level--beautiful setting. Our server, Carlos, took the time to explain the extensive menu.....so many choices. We both had fish prepared to perfection. The wine list is awesome, and the cocktails inventive. We had a wonderful evening and an even greater dining experience.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food2
ambience4
service3
value1

With Morimotos'a reputation, we expected ...

vip
Dined on May 20, 2016

With Morimotos'a reputation, we expected a special meal. It really wasn't special at all. It was extremely expensive, but not particularly memorable. The setting, on the other hand, was incredible.

food5
ambience5
service4

Our first dinner on our Honeymoon- staff ...

vip
Dined on May 18, 2016

Our first dinner on our Honeymoon- staff was great and made our dinner special! Food was amazing!

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.