Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.02mi
  2. Distance: 0.03mi
  3. Distance: 0.13mi
  4. Distance: 0.19mi
  1. Distance: 0.02mi
  2. Distance: 0.03mi
  3. Distance: 0.13mi
  4. Distance: 0.19mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.02mi
  2. Distance: 0.03mi
  3. Distance: 0.13mi
  4. Distance: 0.19mi
  1. Distance: 0.02mi
  2. Distance: 0.03mi
  3. Distance: 0.13mi
  4. Distance: 0.19mi

About Morimoto - Maui

Morimoto's contemporary Japanese menu infuses traditional dishes with Western ingredients and preparation techniques. His seasonal and ever-changing selection of raw fish preparations will feature the freshest seafood available as well as locally grown fruits and vegetables from supporting farmers. Morimoto's signature offerings include Toro Tartare, presented in a shallow wooden tray with condiments including crème fraîche, wasabi, avocado, nori paste, chives, crispy rice, and dashi-soy. Tuna Pizza made with raw tuna, anchovy aioli, and jalapeno; Morimoto Sashimi, a terrine of seared Toro, smoked salmon, barbequed eel, tuna and Hamachi served with five different sauces in pipettes.

3550 Wailea Alanui Dr.
Wailea, HI 96753
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Japanese, Sushi

Hours of Operation:
Lunch
Daily: 11:30am - 2:00pm

Dinner
Daily: 5:30pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
Wailea Ike Dr.

Dress Code:
Resort Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options

Phone Number:
(808) 243-4766

Website:
http://www.morimotomaui.com/

Catering:
Please contact us directly.

Parking Details:
Complimentary hotel parking with the Andaz valet services.

Executive Chef:
Masaharu Morimoto

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Available for private and semi-private events for 2-160 guests. Please contact us for further information.

Private Dining

Available for private and semi-private events for 2-160 guests.

Morimoto - Maui Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.2

ambience

4.4

value

3.7

noise

Moderate

82% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (58)
Scenic View (51)
Creative Cuisine (50)
See All
Fit for Foodies (47)
Good for a Date (42)
Romantic (41)
Waterfront (40)
Good for Anniversaries (37)
Great for Outdoor Dining (35)
Local Ingredients (23)
Authentic (20)
Notable Wine List (19)
Hot Spot (18)
Fun (14)
Handcrafted Cocktails (14)
Tasting Menu (14)
Quiet Conversation (13)
Good for Birthdays (12)
Good for Groups (11)
People Watching (11)
Worth the Drive (11)
Casual (10)
Cozy (9)
Bar Seating (8)
Good Vegetarian Options (6)
Modern Decor (5)
Business Meals (5)
Neighborhood Gem (5)
Vibrant Bar Scene (5)
Great for Lunch (4)
Tapas (4)
Open Kitchen (4)
Gluten Free Options (3)
Happy Hour (2)
Spicy (2)
Organic (2)
Seasonal (2)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Great Beer (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Vegan (1)
Live Music (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Sort By:
S
1079 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined 3 days ago

Excellent!!!!!!!! Food was exceptional!
Service excellent! Had a great time with friends. View was beautiful!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Scenic View, Romantic, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined 3 days ago

We were completely forgotten at the end of the meal. Sushi rice was actually dry?!

Not the best Morimoto experience I have had.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value2

 
 (Portland)·Dined 3 days ago

Every bite was delicious! This was our favorite meal of the trip! Great service, sake selection and fantastic food. We'll be back :)

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined 4 days ago

Nothing special, okay meal and service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value2

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined 5 days ago

My fiancé and I had an amazing experience here on our special engagement night. Set right next to the beach, the layout and scenery couldn't have been more perfect, especially while watching the sunset go down. The service was top notch, very knowledgeable and attentive waitstaff, yet gave us plenty of space to enjoy our privacy. Even the manager came over, gave us a warm welcome and congratulated us. The food was impeccable, the definition of art on a plate! The combination of unique ingredients left our mouths watering for more. We were both very impressed! (coming from my fiancée who is a chef) We will definitely be back to revisit our special memories and couldn't be more happy Morimoto could be a part of it. Well done!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Hot Spot, Authentic, Local Ingredients, Tasting Menu, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Scenic View, Handcrafted Cocktails, Waterfront, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined 5 days ago

Worst service ever! This wasn't the first time I've been to this restaurant and I would have to say I might never go back. Made a reservation weeks in advance as this was a favorite spot for our family, made sure we got a table on Friday night. When we got there, I requested outdoor seating as I counted 5 open tables on the patio, the hostess gave me a look and said it will be at least 30 mins, I told her to please check outside as I can see all the open tables. She rolled her eyes and told me to give her a few mins, we were seated outside a few minutes later. Throughout dinner we saw our waitress only 4 times, first to drop off the menu, 2nd time to order (which I had to ask someone to find her because she never came back), third time to check on the food and 4th time to get the bill. That was it! Never came to check on anything else, couldn't even be bothered to refill our water. At a resultant like this it took me asking 3 people and over 20 mins to get my water filled, how ridiculous is that?!? The setting for the restaurant was beautiful as usual, and if you get there when the sun sets, it's absolutely phenomenal. The food was excellent as always, but not enough to offset the experience we had this time, quite sad actually.

Tags: Scenic View, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service1
value3

 
·Dined 5 days ago

This place was absolutely amazing! Everything we are was delicious!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Orange County)·Dined 6 days ago

Happy to have found this gem on open table! Sushi was outstanding and fresh. Pricing was very fair for Maui! We will definitely go back

Tags: Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Waterfront, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined 7 days ago

Aside from being in one of the most beautiful hotels on the island, the restaurant itself delivers a spectacular view with incredible ambiance. The name Morimoto already suggests a superior level of quality and skill, so even before coming our expectations had been set pretty high. We left this restaurant with a perma-grin and vows to return everytime we come to visit this island. The chef and his team did an exceptional job with every single dish, our standard of how Black Cod can and should be cooked is set pretty high going forward. My water glass never went past halfway as the wait staff came by (discreetly) to make sure my glass was always full. I have not one negative review about this place. It was simply exquisite! Thank you Morimoto team!

Tags: Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

vip
 (Orange County)·Dined 7 days ago

The food was average and expensive. Beautiful sunset views at the right table. Great service. We will not return unless the food is better.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined 7 days ago

Delightful care by

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (London)·Dined on August 15, 2017

Great food and Petra was great with suggestions and recommendations.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on August 14, 2017

My husband and I enjoyed a beautiful and intimate dinner. For appetizers we had 1/2 dozen oysters, toro tartare (delicious and beautifully presented) and my husband had the bone marrow (he thought that the panko was a little overpowering).
Entrees- Seafood toban yaki and Surf and Turf. Both were yummy!
Dessert- Donuts with dipping sauces. Must try!

Tags: Romantic, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on August 13, 2017

Some of the best sushi you will ever have. Our waiter, Justus, was excellent, making the experience that much better.

Tags: Waterfront, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on August 12, 2017

The waiter was super informative and charming. The food was stellar and definitely in a league of it's own.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Cleveland)·Dined on August 12, 2017

I was very excited to eat here, but was met with rude hostesses (3 who stood around and didn't seem to know what they were doing). Ended up eating at the bar instead of our reservation table, which the hostesses couldn't find. Then came to find us an hour later at the bar and asked us if we were ready to be seated. We were pretty much done at that point. The food was average. The bartenders were nice and that's what pretty much saved us from getting up and walking out.

We have been to other locations and never had this experience. Will not go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value3

 
·Dined on August 12, 2017

Seat with cushion was very uncomfortable. Took forever to get food and I had reservation and they took forever to give me a table. They say other people first.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value1

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on August 11, 2017

We enjoyed all of our food selections, with the help of our waiter- plus the Rose wine paired lovely. Hot spot at night for island dining and open later than most places on Maui- we had a great night. Sorry, did not get there for sunset- we were the late night diners.

Tags: Late-night Find, Tapas, Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene, Scenic View, Notable Wine List, People Watching, Healthy, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on August 11, 2017

Food was awesome, service not so much. Our server only came over once to pour our bottle of sake. We ended up pouring our own bottle. Not to mention, he didn't have a smile on his face the entire time. Expect delicious food, but be prepared to wait some time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value5

 
·Dined on August 9, 2017

An excellent dining experience with the modern ambiance and accommodating staff. Every dish arrived within perfect timing. (Not too soon or all at once and not a long wait between courses) The staff did an amazing job making sure our needs were attended to. The kitchen's attention to detail left us impressed not only visually, but in taste as well.

Highly recommend Morimoto Maui for a quality dining experience!

Tags: Seasonal, Bar Seating, Worth the Drive, Good Vegetarian Options, Healthy, Romantic, Late-night Find, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Authentic, Notable Wine List, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Fun, Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View, Hot Spot, Handcrafted Cocktails, Organic, Vibrant Bar Scene, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on August 9, 2017

The food was top notch!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
·Dined on August 9, 2017

Wide variety of sushi caught our eyes, although sushi comprises only roughly 25% of the menu. Had four different rolls, each excellent. Good cocktails. Very nice ambience at the Andaz Wailea.

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on August 9, 2017

Totally up to Morimoto standards which are as high as they get.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, People Watching, Authentic, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Local Ingredients, Scenic View, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Waterfront, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on August 8, 2017

Excellent restaurant with exceptional service and ambiance. The food, while somewhat pricey, is superb - fresh ingredients and twists on traditional recipes make Morimoto a must-try. Great wine list, and a great spot for date night. Try their “Chocolate!” dessert - I would go back just for it alone!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (New Orleans)·Dined on August 5, 2017

Excellent service and dinner! Had the lobster and my husband had the 8oz wagu filet. Started with the calamari salad. All was perfect. This was our second time there this week. It fits nicely in the boutique Andaz resort. It's a must for dinner in Maui!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 5, 2017

Best find in Maui this time around! Beautiful presentation. Amazing flavors. The waterfront location is perfect to witness the sunset as you dine. We will be back every time we visit Maui. MUST TRY THE ROCK SHRIMP APPETIZER. I ate it too fast to take a pic. The sushi was fresh and delicious!

Tags: Vegan, Local Ingredients, People Watching, Spicy, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Authentic, Live Music, Romantic, Hot Spot, Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Waterfront, Cozy, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on August 4, 2017

Long inefficient wait

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

 
·Dined on August 4, 2017

Great spot and great view - unexpected location next to the Pool and Andaz. Does not disappoint. Food was outstanding.

Tags: Happy Hour, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on August 2, 2017

Sushi was prepared well, but it wasn't as creative or exotic as I expected. Sushi menu was smaller than what you would see at most good sushi restaurants on Maui. However, some of their regular items you would only see sporadically as specialty items at other restaurants.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 2, 2017

Overall very good, but nowhere near enough servers for the size crowd even after the dinner rush. We noticed two servers only for a crowded restaurant. We waited about 10 minutes before the server got to our table. We stood at the bar waiting for our table and the bartender didn't even acknowledge us. We finally had one of the busy busboys get the bartenders attention.

Prices were as expected, but the service was poor and put special request due to food allergies was ignored rendering half the meal inedible for my spouse. We didn't bother complaining since we couldn't wait for them to correct it due to another commitment.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Casual, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value3

 
·Dined on August 2, 2017

Second time here (after 2 years) - Main server was rude, provided no suggestions - when we asked for sushi told us the place doesn't have "good" sushi - didn't anticipate our needs, made no eye contact and was a very negative experience. I had invited two of my top clients and was embarrassed by the overall experience. For the kind of money we ended up spending, we expect a certain level of service. They seriously fell short. Very disappointed.

The server "assistant" however, was great and attentive.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service1
value1

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 2, 2017

Honestly creative and worth the high price which makes it a value sort of experience. Wine options are creative and across the spectrum by price and selection. A few menu items were truly unique and nothing was over done. I regret not being able to visit again and again to test the rest of the menu. Seating was a bit uncomfortable...lean too far back.

Tags: Special Occasion, Waterfront, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

 
·Dined on August 2, 2017

Food was terribly disappointing. Don't let the iron chef name on th restaurant mislead you like it did us. Meal felt like it was from PF Changs and not worth the $$$. If you are a foodie- skip this place but definitely go to Ka'Ana kitchen 2 levels up at the Andaz.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service4
value1

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on August 1, 2017

I must say that Morimoto had me a bit disappointed since my last visit to his restaurant in Mexico City, however, his Maui location was excellent!!! I went there with my 10 y/o son who just loved the place, the food was excellent and the place is very nice located at the Andaz hotel... I will defiantly recommend Morimoto in Maui not so much Mexico City....

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on July 31, 2017

Great meal and great service: Highlights include the Wagyu Beed Carpaccio, the Pork Gyoza, and the Sashimi sampler. All in all, everything we had was very top notch.

Tags: Fun, Romantic, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Tasting Menu, Seasonal, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Handcrafted Cocktails, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
·Dined on July 30, 2017

From the greeting through dinner a mediocre experience especially for the price. Booked 5 months in advance to be told no outdoor table when 3 were available. Then told an hour wait.

Decided to call the bluff and hit the bar. Medium attentiveness. Decided too eat at the bar, and as first round arrived the table was ready. It was 20 minutes after we arrived. Stayed at the bar.

Food, nothing you write home about. We eat out regularly including sushi. Surprised at quality. Rice was old, presentation lacking and fish lacked freshness and lacked the melt in your melt quality that it should have.

Spago at 4 Seasons and Nicks at Fairmont -- two much better for the dollar. Will not return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on July 29, 2017

One of the best places to eat on Maui. If its open sit at the bar as they also have the full menu. Service is spectacular and great views of the Ocean!

Tags: Authentic, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on July 26, 2017

This restaurant want to be trendy sleek and upscale. But it lacks warmth and a caring staff. The waiters are young men that lack experience, and are mostly huddled in a corner chatting.
The sushi chefs are very experienced and are the heart of the restaurant.
Management has made a terrible mistake chasing $$. For instance the$80 Waygu 8 oz filet comes out naked. How expensive would it be a include a scoop of rice and a few bok Choy? Not much is my guess. The steak was good as was my sushi however, you can get those items for less nearby and it is incredibly stupid to send out steak with nothing else on the plate.
The cocktail menu was less than impressive.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value1

 
·Dined on July 25, 2017

Not impressed and definitely not worth the price tag

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value2

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on July 24, 2017

This trip to Maui we were celebrating my job change and decided to go with a recommendation the staff at the hotel where we were staying to go off property to try Morimoto. We ordered the Omakase, which, since we were new to the world or Morimoto didn't know about. We highly recommend it. It's basically a "Prix Fixe" menu that is pure inspiration from the chefs at the moment. Our server told us that if we come back or visit any of the other handful of location the chefs would be alerted to our previous Omakase in order to ensure we never ate the same dish twice. Do it!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.