About Morimoto - Maui

3550 Wailea Alanui Dr.
Wailea, HI 96753
View Larger Map

Morimoto's contemporary Japanese menu infuses traditional dishes with Western ingredients and preparation techniques. His seasonal and ever-changing selection of raw fish preparations will feature the freshest seafood available as well as locally grown fruits and vegetables from supporting farmers. Morimoto's signature offerings include Toro Tartare, presented in a shallow wooden tray with condiments including crème fraîche, wasabi, avocado, nori paste, chives, crispy rice, and dashi-soy. Tuna Pizza made with raw tuna, anchovy aioli, and jalapeno; Morimoto Sashimi, a terrine of seared Toro, smoked salmon, barbequed eel, tuna and Hamachi served with five different sauces in pipettes.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Japanese, Sushi

Hours of Operation:
Lunch
Daily: 11:30am - 2:00pm

Dinner
Daily: 5:30pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
Wailea Ike Dr.

Dress Code:
Resort Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options

Phone Number:
(808) 243-4766

Website:
http://www.morimotomaui.com/

Catering:
Please contact us directly.

Parking Details:
Complimentary hotel parking with the Andaz valet services.

Executive Chef:
Masaharu Morimoto

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Available for private and semi-private events for 2-160 guests. Please contact us for further information.

Private Dining

Available for private and semi-private events for 2-160 guests.

Morimoto - Maui Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.1

ambience

4.2

value

3.7

noise

Moderate

78% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (36)
Special Occasion (34)
Creative Cuisine (31)
See All
Fit for Foodies (30)
Scenic View (30)
Waterfront (29)
Romantic (29)
Great for Outdoor Dining (26)
Good for Anniversaries (25)
Authentic (21)
Local Ingredients (21)
Modern Decor (20)
Tasting Menu (19)
Worth the Drive (16)
Good for Birthdays (14)
Hot Spot (12)
Open Kitchen (11)
Neighborhood Gem (10)
Handcrafted Cocktails (10)
Cozy (7)
Healthy (7)
Good for Groups (7)
Fun (7)
Quiet Conversation (7)
Notable Wine List (6)
People Watching (6)
Great for Lunch (6)
Bar Seating (6)
Casual (5)
Molecular Gastronomy (5)
Family Style (5)
Business Meals (4)
Tapas (4)
Seasonal (4)
Organic (4)
Vibrant Bar Scene (4)
Good Vegetarian Options (4)
Kid-friendly (3)
Paleo Friendly (3)
Outstanding Value (2)
Comfort Food (2)
Happy Hour (2)
Spicy (2)
Great Beer (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Live Music (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Fireplace (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Historic (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
868 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 2 days ago

We arrived and the hostesses were very friendly about getting our table ready. We wanted to sit at the sushi bar. There were several seats but apparently they weren't ready for us. We were told to wait in the bar. The bar area is very small and it was full but we were able to find one chair at the bar. We wanted to start with a martini. The bartender recommended two of their most popular martinis. He was not friendly or helpful with information. We tasted the drinks and they were both so sour and tart that we were not going to enjoy them. We asked if we could just have plain martinis instead that we didn't like them. I never do that unless it's undrinkable. The bartender was not friendly at all about it. If fact he was rude. But he did make us a plain martini at it was good. We sat at the sushi bar. We like sitting at the bar so we can be friendly with the chef and get recommendations. Instead we had a server. He was good but the restaurant was busy and he had a lot of tables. The whole kitchen is open so it is very loud. The chefs receive orders from servers through receipt machines. I think there was four or more machines going off constantly. It was so annoying and distracting. It was unbelievable!! In an expensive restaurant. I wish we would have requested outside as far away from those machines. A Japanese restaurant should be relaxing and very zen like. The sushi was good but I expected better for the location. Our service was good but not what I like at a sushi bar. I would not go back because there's too many other good restaurants.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined 3 days ago

It was absolutely wonderful! We enjoyed a variety of dishes and found all of them to be incredibly good. The standouts were the appetizers: kikuni, spicy king crab, and hamachi crudo!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Sacramento)·Dined 3 days ago

Every dish was a work of art. AMAZING culinary experience. We had high expectations which were exceeded. Morimoto Sashimi dish topped the charts. Braised black cod was rich and delicious. Duck confit fried rice and pork gyoza are must tries.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 4 days ago

No care taken for special occasion with over one month notice

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service3
value1

 
 (Denver)·Dined 5 days ago

Creative cooking to the max. For us there were so many new taste sensation's and ways of preparing food. It's what I would've hoped to experience at a Morimoto restaurant. Our waiter was extremely attentive but not in the way. The courses or spaced out perfectly warm when they needed to be warm and cold as they needed to be cold. It was not cheap. But worth the money. We would certainly look forward to returning

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on February 17, 2017

Omakase was very tasty, the only problem is, when I hear Omakase I think sushi, it would more accurately be called a chefs tasting or short course kaiseki style...that being said...each course was quite good, nothing outstanding, but solidly tooth some throughout.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on February 15, 2017

It was aight ...

Food was good but expected better .

Last visit back in 2016 was more satisfying.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service2
value4

vip
 (Vancouver)·Dined on February 15, 2017

The best Japanese cuisine with very knowledgeable servers. A little expensive by mainland standards but this is Hawaii and everything is brought in. Great for our special occasion.

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on February 15, 2017

This was so very close to being a total 5*across the board. Meal was nearly perfect but the Pork chop was very expensive for a poorly prepared dish Buri bop was amazing as usual. Donuts are truly the best in USA... ordering them is a must. Mori Cabernet was an amazing bottle of wine

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Local Ingredients, Waterfront, Romantic, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Very overpriced and they had no sushi rolls that were interesting.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value1

vip
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Being in Maui for only a short time we made reservations for dinner and we are so glad we did! Awesome venue, service and most of all the food! Don't miss the duck meatball soup, Toro and their version of surf and turf.... to die for.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 13, 2017

Sitting outside made for a special experience. Dinner under the stars is always better than indoors

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on February 13, 2017

Waiter could be much more helpful and had just let us enjoy every dinner course that was being ordered. Would be also great if waiter was to check periodically on there customer to see if they were doing O.K. over all food was ONO !!! ARIGATO...

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Great for Outdoor Dining, Happy Hour, Bar Seating, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 13, 2017

Amazing Omakase. Toro appetizer was fantastic.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on February 13, 2017

We ordered the Chefs Tasting menu and it did not disappoint. We left so full and so happy! I couldn't begin to describe the flavors we experienced but to sum it up it was the freshest and most balanced meal I can remember eating! It was well worth the steep price for the experience.

Tags: Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Fun, Notable Wine List, Modern Decor, Good for Birthdays, Great for Outdoor Dining, Waterfront, Tasting Menu, Quiet Conversation, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Tahoe)·Dined on February 13, 2017

We were lucky enough to find Morimoto Maui on on the second day it was open. It is our favorite South Maui restaurant for fine dining, just second to Spago.

We love the view and decor. But nothing beats the food. Always worth the drive.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 11, 2017

The service was bad. Our waiter was very inattentive. He checked on our table once at the start of our experience. Then we had to waive him down just to order a beer. (Morimoto Pilsner is outrageously priced at $34). The restaurant was not busy.

The food was super average. I get way better anywhere at home in San Francisco. The maguro sashimi was extremely thinly cut with a big dark spot on it. Served at room temperature. Yuck. Ramen was totally plain. Everything else very plain. Cocktails were there only salvation.

Thumbs down.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service2
value1

vip
 (Orange County)·Dined on February 10, 2017

Amazing food that is very unusual but always exceptional. The Spicy crab is incredible. The cocktails are all very interesting. And the setting is beautiful. You won't be disappointed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on February 10, 2017

always like to go to chefs that ive followed restaurants this was amazing

Tags: Scenic View, Cozy, Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Almost everything we ordered was way too salty. Dumplings, Chinese broccoli, and fried rice were overwhelming. The roll and oysters we got were good. They also brought out all six things we ordered at once instead of coursing out the meal, it was strange.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2

vip
 (Columbus)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Very romantic and the pork belly appetizer was amazing. The steak sauce was also fantastic!

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on February 3, 2017

Sushi was great as always. Love this place for lunch.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 30, 2017

Wow, we can not stop talking about the amazing food and sake we had here. Each dish/ sashimi and sake was so delicious. The bone marrow was out of this world and so was the fatty tuna. Highly recommend

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups, People Watching, Special Occasion, Good Vegetarian Options, Local Ingredients, Romantic, Open Kitchen, Good for a Date, Paleo Friendly, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Healthy, Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 29, 2017

I really enjoyed the beef carpaccio and I could have eaten the salmon roe all night-it was so fresh and delicious!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on January 29, 2017

It was a great meal in all respects, go you won't regret it!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on January 28, 2017

As a non fish eater, the menu was somewhat limited. My husband loved his food! Our server was very knowledgeable and friendly! Overall, it was a lovey dinner although definitely pricy.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Toronto)·Dined on January 28, 2017

The dessert (donuts) and the fois gras /teriyaki oysters are advanced offerings.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on January 28, 2017

We ate there Friday. Today is Sunday and I am just now getting over the worst case of food poisoning that I have ever experienced. I had the tuna pizza and the sushi. None of the other 4 people at our table got sick but none of them got the same items. We have eaten there frequently and have never had this problem before, but it will be some time before I eat raw fish again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Austin)·Dined on January 27, 2017

Good food and views

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 27, 2017

Wagyu beef carpaccio was amazing. Pastrami yellowtail also creative and delicious. Red snapper and duck entrees were perfect contrasts and delicious. Great ambiance. Our server was fantastic. Will go back for sure.

Tags: People Watching, Family Style, Scenic View, Fun, Authentic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on January 27, 2017

We have eaten in restaurants throughout Maui, and this is the worst in terms of service and policies, given its high cost. I asked if I could have a small sip of two wines to decide between them, and they refused, saying that that would cost me $13. If Morimoto is going to charge $24 to $28 appetizers and entrees up to $95, they should adhere to what is customary in similar restaurants in terms of service. (By the way, one glass of wine costs $16 and up.) On top of that, the manager was extremely rude and argumentative. Several of the diners surrounding us commented on how inappropriate their wine policy was, given the caliber of restaurant . instead we recommend Ferraro's, Tommy Bahamas, and Duo's, both for the food, the ambience and the quality of service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value1

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on January 26, 2017

Not impressed with the 7 course surprise. Competley overpriced and not worth the amount paid. Portions were small. I wouldn't order again and recommend you do not unless you like everything raw. We were the last ones to leave and the cooks were eating out of the spoons and dishes in plain view.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value1

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on January 26, 2017

As expected, the food was imaginative and delicious and the service was impeccable!!!

The only issue was spacing. Several of the tables are way too close togther for a restaurant of his caliber. The views of the ocean were amazing.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Molecular Gastronomy, Tasting Menu, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on January 25, 2017

I've been to other locations and was disappointed in the Maui location. Limited menu and wasn't thrilled with the Restaraunt co side ring it was on the ocean front expected a little nicer atmosphere.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5
value2

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on January 25, 2017

First rate Japanese fusion food. Unusual and classic preparations.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Modern Decor, Special Occasion, Open Kitchen, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on January 22, 2017

Had the 16 oz waygu rib eye was excellent done perfect had the a5 waygu last time real good too but a bit pricey at $35 an ounce but worth a try!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 22, 2017

Chaotic food service!

Food is excellent

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value2

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on January 21, 2017

Receptionist was argumentative on the time of our reservation even though I had en email with the correct time, not a good first impression. The wait staff (server) was, in my opinion was snobby ( maybe because on the type of upscale restaurant he worked at).

Food is very good, but they ran out of the Crispy Whole Fish an hour after they opened. Sushi was exceptional and good presentation. Overall, I rate them fair due to the service, not the food. It's a very pricy restaurant with $100 steaks, although very good, it should be served with friendlier staff; maybe they would be if they didn't tack on the mandatory 20% gratuity!!!

We have eaten at Morimoto in Napa several time and found them to be friendlier.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on January 20, 2017

Drinks and wine by the glass were excellent. Pork gyoza were fantastic. Entrees were a let down: braised cod was excellent but the angry chicken was very average/forgettable and the pork chop was too thick, flavorless and barely edible for a serious meat eater.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on January 20, 2017

I know sushi and seek out the best places where ever I go. Morimoto in Wailea, Maui is good. The food is very good actually. There's nothing less than delicious on the menu. My problem with them is that it's overpriced by a good 30%. I ate there with a friend. Ordered a decent amount of sushi and a couple appetizers and two small sake's. Dinner before tip came to $260. I think $200 would have been more reasonable. For the money, I wouldn't go there again. But if money was no object I'd go and enjoy it. I've had the same amount of food and sake at places just as good (they are few and far between though) for about $100 a person. Although you can find overpriced places in LA as well. The service was slow. The two top tables are very long and conversing over the distance is not intimate and easily overheard by people sitting next to you. I don't recommend it as a romantic place. The ambiance doesn't support it.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 20, 2017

Absolutely wonderful! Beautiful sunset. Terrific and very knowledgeable server made the evening and the food outstanding. We enjoyed the presentation and uniqueness of all food courses. Who would have thought bacon foam would be a highlight!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Local Ingredients, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 19, 2017

Motha frickin' delicious.

Gosh darn great.

Outta sight.

Tags: Romantic, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on January 16, 2017

Everything was great, but we started talking to the diners next to us and felt rushed by the staff to pay and leave. If they want people to leave and not socialize then don't put the tables so close to each other. The food was really tasty and fresh. We would definitely go back at the end of the day.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 15, 2017

Great Hawaii Morimotos in Maui and Honolulu! Loved exploring Maui Morimotos lunch experience in January 2017.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Great for Lunch, Vibrant Bar Scene, Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails, Outstanding Value, Casual, Seasonal, Quiet Conversation, Healthy, Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Authentic, Local Ingredients, Kid-friendly, Family Style, Organic, Romantic, Good for a Date, Disabled Access, Modern Decor, Business Meals, Cozy, Waterfront, Scenic View, Open Kitchen, Historic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on January 15, 2017

Just awesome. We ordered 2 sushi appetizers which were outstanding. We then had the house salad...totally fabulous. Then for the entree we had bronzino. It was excellent . Topped off the meal with the homemade donuts. I loved everything. I saw the reviews OS the restraurant which were not complimentary. I wondered if these people ate at the same place. This restaurant is not to be missed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 15, 2017

Just ok. Waikiki location seems much better.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on January 14, 2017

This is a good sushi with a creative take on old favorites. The sushi was fresh and of reasonable value. The service was good not great it appears they may be under staffed but the server was positive and made a point of apologizing for the slow service.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3
value2

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 14, 2017

Seems the restaurant was under staffed. We ordered dessert and after 20 minutes they forgot. Another 15 and we decided to skip it. Food is great but not having a full staff caused a myriad of issues with other tables not getting their food, too. A shame because the food is so great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 14, 2017

As close to perfection as it can get. We sat at the bar (as always) and came back the very next night. Impeccably clean and efficient kitchen. Top quality food and presentation.

Tags: Special Occasion, People Watching, Molecular Gastronomy, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on January 14, 2017

The food was horrible. Not what you would expect carrying the Morimoto name. Ordered the Morimoto Ramen that came looking like pho. Also ordered a udon dish that used the same noodles as the ramen. After we complained they came out and apologized because they ran out of ramen noodles. Probably should tell the customer before ordering rather than just make it and hope that they eat it and not notice.

I love chao or congee. My mom would always cook it for me when I wasn't feeling well. I usually order it at places that offer it and was excited it was on the menu. It was combined with pork belly. It was very disappointing. The consistency of the congee was nothing like myself or the others at my table have had. The other two eating with me are tawainese and I am Vietnamese so between the three of us we've had plenty chao or congee before.

The sushi itself was also nothing to write home about. You would think I sushi place that specializes in sushi could actually roll the sushi. The maki fell apart with me barely even touching it.

All in all for a disappointing meal we also overpaid. It would've been a decent price for a nice meal for 4, instead it was the biggest waste of money on our entire trip to Maui

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service2
value1

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.