Make a reservation

Party Size
For 2
Date
Today
Time
7:00 PM
icon/ic_social_proofCreated with Sketch.
Booked 66 times today

Morimoto - Maui

4.4
1379 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
$31 to $50
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Japanese
Perfect For:
  • Fit for Foodies
  • Scenic View
  • Special Occasion
Morimoto's contemporary Japanese menu infuses traditional dishes with Western ingredients and preparation techniques. His seasonal and ever-changing selection of raw fish preparations will feature the freshest seafood available as well as locally grown fruits and vegetables from supporting farmers. Morimoto's signature offerings include Toro Tartare, presented in a shallow wooden tray with condiments including crème fraîche, wasabi, avocado, nori paste, chives, crispy rice, and dashi-soy. Tuna Pizza made with raw tuna, anchovy aioli, and jalapeno; Morimoto Sashimi, a terrine of seared Toro, smoked salmon, barbequed eel, tuna and Hamachi served with five different sauces in pipettes.
icon/ic_private_diningCreated with Sketch.
Private dining
Dining Style
Casual Elegant
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Cuisines
Japanese, Sushi
icon/ic_clockCreated with Sketch.
Hours of operation
Lunch
Daily: 11:30am - 2:00pm

Dinner
Daily: 5:30pm - 10:00pm
icon/ic_phoneCreated with Sketch.
Phone number
(808) 243-4766
icon/ic_new_windowCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_dress_codeCreated with Sketch.
Dress code
Resort Casual
icon/ic_chefCreated with Sketch.
Executive chef
Masaharu Morimoto
icon/ic_cateringCreated with Sketch.
Catering
Please contact us directly.
icon/ic_locationCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_neighborhoodCreated with Sketch.
Neighborhood
icon/ic_cross_streetCreated with Sketch.
Cross street
Wailea Ike Dr.
icon/ic_parking_detailsCreated with Sketch.
Parking details
Complimentary hotel parking with the Andaz valet services.
icon/ic_special_eventsCreated with Sketch.
Special events & promotions
Available for private and semi-private events for 2-160 guests. Please contact us for further information.
Additional
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Private Dining

Available for private and semi-private events for 2-160 guests.

View Private Dining Details
What 1379 People Are Saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
4.4based on recent ratings
4.5
food
4.3
service
4.4
ambience
3.7
value
Noise · Moderate
78% of people would recommend it to a friend
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
Sort by
Newest
Filters
3.0Dined 7 days ago

The food was served nicely but the taste was weird for me. It wasn’t authentic Asian food but neither was it fusion (especially for the steak)

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined 7 days ago

Outstanding cuisine served by an accomplished team! Try the road to matcha dessert, urchin carbonara and any of the perfectly prepared sushi or sashimi.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 14, 2018

Fabulous meal. I'd come here daily if my friends were up for it.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 13, 2018

Seriously the best meal in Maui we went twice excellent

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 12, 2018

My wife and I had the 10 course Omakase menu with the wine pairing. What a wonderful if a bit overwhelming experience. Each course was amazing and the level of service rivaled any great restaurant we've eating at the world over.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on April 10, 2018

This was the tenth time we have dined at Morimoto in Maui over the past 4 years., a meal we look forward to every time we are visiting. This time they were out of a lot of the raw fish offerings which was really disappointing. The food quality just doesn’t seem to be the same and the offerings have not evolved much so it lacks innovation for repeat diners. Definitely left feeling like we overpaid for an average meal. Time to move on...

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 10, 2018

My boyfriend and I loved this restaurant! We did the Chef's choice, and would choose it again in a heartbeat! Definitely would go back!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 7, 2018

It has always been a dream of mine to dine at Morimoto's and now it has finally came to fruition. The himachi and chef tasting of sashimi and sushi were superb and fresh and the presentation was beautiful and breathtaking. Forget about dining any where else in Maui-this is the place that should be at the top of everyone's must-go-to list! Thank you for the exceptional service and dining experience that I will never forget.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on April 7, 2018

Uninspired and not creative. Modest value. Living off the namesake of the celebrity chef. You can taste the complacency.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 7, 2018

We had a great meal. The food and service were both fantastic.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 6, 2018

It is a resort restaurant so you have to deal with that. Service was uneven

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on April 5, 2018

Having travelled around the world and eaten in almost every Morimoto and Nobu I can tell you this one is DISAPPOINTING with all capitals. The service quality reminds me of a low end Kansas City cafeteria and the food wasn’t much better. Actually that’s not true. The sushi is absolutely fantastic and so are the cold dishes but when you get to the kitchen they just can’t get it together. Steak that reminds you of a TV dinner, rock shrimp tempura, my foot just be Called batter with oil and noodles? The only thing that could have made my evening worse was a total lack of attention celebrating my daughter birthday in a disappointing venue where the staff has to constantly apologize for not having tables ready on time because the bus staff are useless or a kitchen that should simply be turned over of all staff. This was my 4th time dinning here trying to give you a chance there won’t be a 5th. Save your hard earned time and some money and go somewhere else. STRIKE 4x your out.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 5, 2018

Always a great experience at Morimoto. Chef always surprises with new and old standby’s.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on April 4, 2018

Not many choices if your vegetarian
And very expensive.
Almost 400 dollars for 2 adults and 3 kids specially If we are ordering all vegetarians .

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 29, 2018

Always great food accompanied by terrific service makes this a best place on the island.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 29, 2018

Fantastic meal while on vacation in Maui. It was a bit awkward with the waiter...seemed to hesitate and linger, but otherwise great experience.
This next comment has nothing to do with the food or Morimoto Maui. It’s spring break, so granted kids are in all the restaurants, but it would be nice if parents made them behave. For the amount of money one is spending on this dinner it would be nice not to have the kids next to us banging their toys together without a word from their parents.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 29, 2018

As usual the food and the service were great! I had made a reservation a month in advance and requested outside seating. We had guests visiting and wanted to treat them to a great dinner. When we arrived we were seated at the far rear of the outside seating and could not see the sunset from our location. Would have been more enjoyable with better seating.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 27, 2018

Great meal. Chef is as inventive as ever.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 26, 2018

Couldn’t decide what to eat and ended up ordering many appetizers and sides for table of 4. Everything we had was great and friendly n way to try many dishes at almost affordable prices. Waiter was great about spacing dishes so they didn’t all come at once. Ended up getting 3 deserts to share across table as well. Fun time.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 25, 2018

Great food, great service, beautiful restaurant and great sunset.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 25, 2018

Excellent, unique food flavors. Great service, a little loud but the amazing sunset made up for it!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 25, 2018

Food as usual here at morimoto Maui did not disappointment, tasting menu was next level and Antica Cabernet superb

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 25, 2018

The food as usual is always an adventure and great

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on March 24, 2018

Horrible calamari. Fried bread crumbs essentially. No shrimp in tempura roll. Again fried crumbs. Rip off

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 23, 2018

The best restaurant in Maui!!!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 22, 2018

Had a great time. Excellent food! Amazing sunset! Excellent server!

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on March 22, 2018

We got the omakase and it was great. A few of the courses were questionable in terms of taste. The servers were ok but weird about their seating. We had made reservations for two and were forced to sit on a shared couch with another couple, meanwhile there were multiple tables of 4 that were open. I finally had to insist on sitting at an open table. This really put me off and showed no discretion for customers paying for the cost of an omakase. I think morimoto Napa is way better in terms of food and service.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on March 21, 2018

The restaurant is located at the Andaz next to one of the pools.

We have been to a few Morimoto locations and the food has never wow'd me.

We live within a four hour flight to Tokyo and eat a lot of Japanese Food/Sushi.

We decided to have dinner at Morimoto the day after our wedding (which was at the Andaz) with a group of friends, total party of 8. My husband and I ordered a lot ($300+ just for the two of us) and the food sounded great on the menu, but mediocre in taste (e.g. the bone marrow with caramelized onions, the taste of the bone marrow was overpowered by the onions). Needless to say, I probably won't eat at another Morimoto unless they come out with something that sounds absolutely amazing, or Morimoto himself is cooking.

The restaurant also did not offer us anything as celebration for our wedding.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on March 21, 2018

The food quality was good but well below expectation for price and rating. Sansei Sushi was much better for less cost. Hostess and water person service was excellent. Waiter was slow, inattentive and lacked any form of engagement.

Overall, very disappointed with the service, high price, small quantity and only average quality. I won’t go back and won’t recommend the restaurant.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on March 19, 2018

Food was really salty and sashimi was not fresh. I don't recommend any raw fish menu. The smell of sashimi was really unpleasant

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on March 18, 2018

Surprisingly poor. My belly has now stopped hurting but my soul never will. Resort feeding station nothing more.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on March 17, 2018

Morimoto’s is a wonderful restaurant serving Japanese fusion food. The service was very good, but it is a little pricey.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on March 16, 2018

Our experience nearly 4 years ago was amazing, but tonight was a disaster. The server was absent for most of the evening, and made repeated mistakes. Our order was wrong. Food was delivered at inconsistent intervals - my wife’s appetizer salad arrived 20 minutes ahead of my soup. One of our side dishes was missed, and we couldn’t get a second round of drinks. When the highlight of your evening is the guy who continually refills your water - I think things are bad.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 16, 2018

A5 wagyu was amazing!

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on March 16, 2018

This restaurant has food that is worthy of its prices! But that’s about it.. The restaurant is very noisy, crowded , and the service was good at best! We needed to wait on our water glass to be filled several times. If you are looking for a special evening while in Maui- I’d suggest something else.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on March 15, 2018

Overall a disappointment. We were here previously and had excellent meals. My wife is celiac and we found them unwilling to try to help with any gluten free options. Once we did settle on a meal it was quite disappointing. Fairly typical of the celebrity restaurants it seems.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 15, 2018

4th time eating here over the last 2 visits to Wailea. Always exceptional food and service. Best restaurant in Wailea in our opinion.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on March 15, 2018

Our expectations were high for a Morimoto restaurant in Maui and since this was a special occasion, a birthday, we ordered the Omakase ten course tasting menu for the 6 in our party.

The first five dishes were outstanding but the next three disappointed. The promised Wagyu A5 beef was NOT. Most of us had beef that was chewy and one of us had gristle. There was no marbling of fat that we would have expected having been shown the Wagyu in advance. The dish came as surf and turn with Chilean sea bass, which was cold on several of the plates.

Our head server was inattentive through the dinner, starting with the drink orders when she took orders for half of our party and served those drinks without taking orders for the rest of the group. it was only when we asked another staff person to send her back that the rest of the drink orders were taken.

On the other hand, the food runners get top marks for their attention and service.

There were very long lags between some dishes, even as plates from the current dish were being whisked away before we were finished eating.

At the outset we were asked about allergies, and noted an allergy to ginger for one person. The first dish served to all members of the party included ginger. Only when we raised the issue did we get an apology, and attention to the allergy through the balance of the meal.

At $200 per person for the ten course tasting menu, we expected a lot better service and consistent quality across all the dishes.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on March 14, 2018

Good for but unable to enjoy cause the place was very very loud/ noisy!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on March 13, 2018

Entree and dessert were amazing. Prices are sky high.

Report
Helpful
1
2
3
35

Tweets by Morimoto - Maui