About Morimoto - Maui

3550 Wailea Alanui Dr.
Wailea, HI 96753
View Larger Map

Morimoto's contemporary Japanese menu infuses traditional dishes with Western ingredients and preparation techniques. His seasonal and ever-changing selection of raw fish preparations will feature the freshest seafood available as well as locally grown fruits and vegetables from supporting farmers. Morimoto's signature offerings include Toro Tartare, presented in a shallow wooden tray with condiments including crème fraîche, wasabi, avocado, nori paste, chives, crispy rice, and dashi-soy. Tuna Pizza made with raw tuna, anchovy aioli, and jalapeno; Morimoto Sashimi, a terrine of seared Toro, smoked salmon, barbequed eel, tuna and Hamachi served with five different sauces in pipettes.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Japanese, Sushi

Hours of Operation:
Lunch
Daily: 11:30am - 2:00pm

Dinner
Daily: 5:30pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
Wailea Ike Dr.

Dress Code:
Resort Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options

Phone Number:
(808) 243-4766

Website:
http://www.morimotomaui.com/

Catering:
Please contact us directly.

Parking Details:
Complimentary hotel parking with the Andaz valet services.

Executive Chef:
Masaharu Morimoto

Additional:
Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Available for private and semi-private events for 2-160 guests. Please contact us for further information.

Private Dining

Available for private and semi-private events for 2-160 guests.

Morimoto - Maui Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.2

ambience

4.3

value

3.6

noise

Moderate

75% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Most Booked
Maui
Best Restaurants in Wailea ›

Fit for Foodies (78)
Special Occasion (73)
Scenic View (71)
See All
Great for Outdoor Dining (57)
Romantic (49)
Hot Spot (22)
Notable Wine List (20)
Good for Groups (18)
Great for Lunch (8)
Vibrant Bar Scene (6)
Neighborhood Gem (5)
Kid-friendly (4)
Late-night Find (4)
Great for Brunch (2)
Sort By:
Newest
661 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Excellent, fresh sushi. Great small pla ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined 5 days ago

Excellent, fresh sushi. Great small plate options to share. Chef's combination plate is recommended!

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Healthy, Tasting Menu, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Hot Spot, Tapas, Waterfront, Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Sushi was great. Tasting menu was unimpr ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined 6 days ago

Sushi was great. Tasting menu was unimpressive.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5

Awesome experience. Excellent service, b ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined 6 days ago

Awesome experience. Excellent service, but feels relaxed. Authentic and creative. Everything we ate was delicious. Morimoto sets the bar high!

Tags: Business Meals, Authentic, Bar Seating, Tasting Menu, Modern Decor, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Good Vegetarian Options, Fit for Foodies, Outstanding Value, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Casual, Romantic, Hot Spot, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Disappointing. We ordered the chefs tast ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

Disappointing. We ordered the chefs tasting menu, but the food was just fine, nothing blew me away or really stuck out. The presentation of the food was memorable, but I would rather remember the food than the way it was arranged on a plate.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

The restaurant was super hot with no air ...

vip
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on August 18, 2016

The restaurant was super hot with no air flow under the steel roof, based on the direction the restaurant was built. Ordered both of the Wagyu beefs, filet and rib eye and lacked flavor and wasn't tender at all. The salad was super soggy over poured on dressing, The pork belly was great, if it wasn't this dish I would have given it no stars. For $300 there's way better options in Wailea.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1

We were the first people there for dinne ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 18, 2016

We were the first people there for dinner. We moved tables due to about to be glaring sun in my face. We asked to move tables and were moved quickly. The original waiter kept staring at us and the new waitress....which was VERY awkward as if he was upset... I've been to Morimoto's several times in Napa and Florida and have never had a less than 5 star experience other than this one due to a waiter.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Great service

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on August 15, 2016

Great service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We made reservations months in advance o ...

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

We made reservations months in advance only to be sat next to a table with toddlers (there were other open tables--very frustrating). Ignoring the fact that we had hot wheels and chopsticks thrown at us for most of our meal, the service was horrible. Multiple times our server forgot about us, even after saying he would be back to explain our drink flights. We weren't even give proper silverware, we ate our bone marrow with chopsticks. I have never been more disappointed with the service, especially considering we paid $200 for our meal. I would not recommend this restaurant to anyone.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service1
value1

Food honestly was disappointing . As a c ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Food honestly was disappointing . As a chef myself , I'm sure Morimotos would t be pleased with what we were served .

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3

It was a busy night, so service was a bi ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

It was a busy night, so service was a bit spotty and on the slower side...but the food was amazing!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3

Based on the service we received upon ar ...

vip
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

Based on the service we received upon arrival, zero of our requests being granted, and lack of solutions from the staff -- we will not be returning.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value2

The A5 waygu is always great. The cod we ...

vip
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on August 9, 2016

The A5 waygu is always great. The cod we had was the best fish I have ever eaten!!!

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Excellent food with excellent service. G ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on August 8, 2016

Excellent food with excellent service. Great sushi.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Looking forward to my experience at mori ...

vip
 (Montreal)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

Looking forward to my experience at morimoto's resto! Food was great, service was very good, however way to fast! We were in and out in an hour! With appetizers and a full

Plate of sashimi! We wanted to enjoy our experience a little more...but the food was so great that not much complaints other than we wanted it to last longer and appreciate the moment. We actually went to get desert somewhere else in the resort to stretch our night a little

More! ;-) our server though was great! Smiles the whole time! I think her name was Carla!

Oh as for the noise level, nothing the team could have done, but we had a very annoying table behind us and we're super super loud! Was hard to hear my hubby! :( but resto had no control!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Our family loved Morimoto Maui! The foo ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

Our family loved Morimoto Maui! The food was fresh and delicious! I would definitely recommend this restaurant. One thing to note is that the restaurant is located at the Andaz Resort and is at the bottom of about 100 stairs. The valet is happy to get a golf cart though and drive you down to the restaurant and your server will be able to arrange the return trip for you.

Tags: Good for Groups, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

My favorite place to dine on the island! ...

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on August 4, 2016

My favorite place to dine on the island!

Outstanding dishes and wine selection!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I was looking so forward to this restaur ...

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on August 3, 2016

I was looking so forward to this restaurant. Having been an Iron Chef fan for many years I was expecting first class cuisine but unfortunately it was not even close. My BF and I wanted to order Sapporo beer but they were out at 8:15. That was the first ding on them. We ended up ordering three of their appetizer dishes which was plenty of food for the two of us. The Morimoto signature sushi platter was just not very good nor was the yellowtail sashimi. The tuna pizza was good but couldn't make up for the other mediocre dishes. The waiter was very nice as was the hostess. Unfortunately we won't dine there again. Price wise it was pretty reasonable. For beers and three appetizers it was about $130. We were both expecting it to be much more.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4

Food was amazing (think it's better than ...

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on August 3, 2016

Food was amazing (think it's better than the Oahu one). Service was excellent. Really catered to us locals. Good came out fast. Everything was delicious

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Honestly, this was the most disappointin ...

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on August 3, 2016

Honestly, this was the most disappointing dinners of our entire trip. The waiter was clueless. Although we specifically told him of our allergy concerns, we still received food with Sesame on it deeming it impossible for my wife to consume it. Unfamiliar with your wine list, we asked him for suggestions on a couple of wine choices. Asking for them to be fruity but not sweet. We chose a Rose, it was sweet, as was the choice of the Riesling. He had no clue. We had to wave him down several times for attention. We are from NYC and have ate at your sister restaurants many many times. This was so far below the standard and very disappointing. The décor, A++ as was the setting but, such a poor experience. So sad.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value1

Our waiter was fantastic and his recomme ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on August 3, 2016

Our waiter was fantastic and his recommendations were spot on. We truly enjoyed every last minute.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It was ok - set in a beautiful resort an ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on August 1, 2016

It was ok - set in a beautiful resort and service was quick (and the staff was pretty happy / energetic). Food was alright. I think my expectations were higher given the famous chef owner.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3

Hostess with the mostess was rude and ma ...

vip
 (Houston)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

Hostess with the mostess was rude and made you feel like she was well above you. We asked for an outside table only to get an inside table while seeing there were clearly outside open tables the entire time we were at the restaurant. The sushi was ok but not at double/triple the price. I would not recommend this restaurant to anyone traveling to Maui.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3

very nice setting, beautiful views to be ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 28, 2016

very nice setting, beautiful views to be had. We had a fantastic dinner

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion, Late-night Find, Scenic View, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Best dinner we had in Maui!!!

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on July 28, 2016

Best dinner we had in Maui!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great food with knowledgeable wait staff ...

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on July 27, 2016

Great food with knowledgeable wait staff. Little noisy because of the pool next door.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Amazing experience. Our waiter was very ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

Amazing experience. Our waiter was very knowledgable. Service crew were on top of every detail. The food...remarkable flavor and presentations. The regional manager, Shin, came by our table and made experience even better explaining history of Morimoto and other restaurant locations. Can't wait to visit in Napa!! Best Birthday Dinner yet!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We did not enjoy our meal at all. $200 f ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on July 21, 2016

We did not enjoy our meal at all. $200 for 2 soups, 14 pieces of sushi, 1 roll and a saki. The sushi was very fishy. Not sure why this place receives good reviews. Overpriced and poor food.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service3
value1

Great appetizers, including spicy crab l ...

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on July 21, 2016

Great appetizers, including spicy crab legs & calamari salad. The sushi was exceptional with a superb wait staff and incredible ocean views!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The whole evening was fantastic. The hot ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on July 20, 2016

The whole evening was fantastic. The hotel where Morimoto is - the Andoz - was really spectacular at night. The restaurant was also very beautiful...down by the lower pools with great lighting and design. The drinks were excellent. I had their Mule, and they make their own ginger beer. The sushi was outstanding. Some of the best I've ever had. The whole group really enjoyed our evening. And the donuts and green tea ice cream three ways were likewise excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Good for a special occasion. The food w ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on July 19, 2016

Good for a special occasion. The food was excellent, but the whole menu was very pricey.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value2

Service was outstanding. We are gluten f ...

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on July 18, 2016

Service was outstanding. We are gluten free and the waitress Charity was fabulous she knew exactly what we could eat and have plenty of recommendations. Food was amazing. We had sushi and the award- winning ishi yaku buri bop which charity recommended and it was a delicious dish which they prepare at the table. A wonderful honeymoon dinner.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Loved this place. Authentic Japanese foo ...

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on July 13, 2016

Loved this place. Authentic Japanese food. Well presented, fresh, tasted great. Don't miss Morimoto's.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Most of the evening and the Omakase was ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 12, 2016

Most of the evening and the Omakase was fantastic, until we got to the end. The brown rice pana cotta was so disgusting, it kind of ruined the evening. You could say we left with a bad taste in our mouth. I was surprised they would drop the $500 bill off right after that interaction.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3

This review is on the service that we re ...

 
 (Orange County)
·Dined on July 11, 2016

This review is on the service that we received during our dining experience at Morimoto. We stayed at the Andaz Maui in July for a couple of nights. My cousin highly recommended Morimoto as she had a very positive dining experience back in April. Now I believe she had an advantage. She had connections to one of the managers through a friend. Our experience was very memorable, and not in a positive way. We sat in the patio area. The view was beautiful and very scenic. Of course it was, we were in Maui! We were a little indecisive in selecting our entrees. The server was not helpful. He seemed short with us. Didn't offer recommendations. We ended up ordering very little because we wanted to get the heck out of there as quickly as possible!! I was observing other tables and their servers. The other servers were personable with their tables, talkative, and appeared extremely friendly. Other than bad service, the food was delicious. The portions are smaller compared to other high end restaurants.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service1
value2

Overall it was a nice dinner. Unfortuna ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Overall it was a nice dinner. Unfortunately we had a reservation for our anniversary, informed them it was our anniversary when I confirmed the reservation via phone, at 8p. We arrived almost 10 min early and though are table was set and ready (as far from a view as possible) they asked that we wait to sit in order to give the waitress a break. We sat over 15 min past our reservation. It took a long time to get many of our dishes and though the waitress was very nice overall it made for a long evening and not because we were trying to have an enjoyable lingering evening. At no point did anyone acknowledge our anniversary. It would have been fine to not extend any well wishes, but the delay in seating us, wait for food, and table in the back was unfortunate for a expensive celebratory evening. The majority of the dishes were delicious, just plan for a longer expensive meal and the overall service does not necessarily match it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value3

Excellent food, service and ambiance.

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Excellent food, service and ambiance.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Awesome, start to finish - A little hard ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Awesome, start to finish - A little hard to find. Didn't see it mentioned anywhere that it's inside a newer hotel in Kihei. Love it, GREAT customer service, food was amazing!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We had the 9 course Omakase meal. It wa ...

 
 (Palm Springs)
·Dined on July 7, 2016

We had the 9 course Omakase meal. It was amazing until the next morning. I came down with food poisoning while in Maui. I wouldn't expect to get food poisoning from a $600 meal for two.

The waiter was great and knowledgeable but, the food poisoning really messed everything up. Pretty crappy since I was in Maui on vacation.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service5
value4

Good, but very, very expensive. Didn't s ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on July 5, 2016

Good, but very, very expensive. Didn't see the extra price as worth it.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value2

The food was delicious. The sushi was v ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 4, 2016

The food was delicious. The sushi was very fresh and nicely prepared, the ramen and clam miso were simple but scrumptious. We were very pleased with the food. The service was not great. The hostess was friendly and greeted us, but our server was not very helpful or friendly at all. He took our order, and did not check up on us once after our food was brought to the table. When we asked for some extra wasabi, he almost seemed upset that we were bothering him. We had to try and catch someone's attention to get our waters refilled. Not the level of service you'd expect at all. The food was outstanding, but unfortunately we wouldn't dine there again because of the service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service2

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.