Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.02mi
  2. Distance: 0.03mi
  3. Distance: 0.13mi
  4. Distance: 0.19mi
  1. Distance: 0.02mi
  2. Distance: 0.03mi
  3. Distance: 0.13mi
  4. Distance: 0.19mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.02mi
  2. Distance: 0.03mi
  3. Distance: 0.13mi
  4. Distance: 0.19mi
  1. Distance: 0.02mi
  2. Distance: 0.03mi
  3. Distance: 0.13mi
  4. Distance: 0.19mi

About Morimoto - Maui

Morimoto's contemporary Japanese menu infuses traditional dishes with Western ingredients and preparation techniques. His seasonal and ever-changing selection of raw fish preparations will feature the freshest seafood available as well as locally grown fruits and vegetables from supporting farmers. Morimoto's signature offerings include Toro Tartare, presented in a shallow wooden tray with condiments including crème fraîche, wasabi, avocado, nori paste, chives, crispy rice, and dashi-soy. Tuna Pizza made with raw tuna, anchovy aioli, and jalapeno; Morimoto Sashimi, a terrine of seared Toro, smoked salmon, barbequed eel, tuna and Hamachi served with five different sauces in pipettes.

3550 Wailea Alanui Dr.
Wailea, HI 96753
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Japanese, Sushi

Hours of Operation:
Lunch
Daily: 11:30am - 2:00pm

Dinner
Daily: 5:30pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
Wailea Ike Dr.

Dress Code:
Resort Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options

Phone Number:
(808) 243-4766

Website:
http://www.morimotomaui.com/

Catering:
Please contact us directly.

Parking Details:
Complimentary hotel parking with the Andaz valet services.

Executive Chef:
Masaharu Morimoto

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Available for private and semi-private events for 2-160 guests. Please contact us for further information.

Private Dining

Available for private and semi-private events for 2-160 guests.

Morimoto - Maui Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.3

ambience

4.3

value

3.7

noise

Moderate

82% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (60)
Scenic View (53)
Creative Cuisine (49)
See All
Good for a Date (49)
Fit for Foodies (48)
Great for Outdoor Dining (44)
Waterfront (39)
Romantic (35)
Good for Anniversaries (32)
Local Ingredients (29)
Authentic (23)
Hot Spot (22)
Modern Decor (21)
Tasting Menu (21)
Good for Birthdays (17)
Fun (15)
Open Kitchen (14)
Worth the Drive (13)
Handcrafted Cocktails (12)
Notable Wine List (11)
Healthy (10)
Bar Seating (10)
Cozy (10)
Casual (9)
Quiet Conversation (9)
Business Meals (8)
Great for Lunch (8)
People Watching (8)
Gluten Free Options (8)
Good for Groups (7)
Molecular Gastronomy (6)
Good Vegetarian Options (5)
Neighborhood Gem (5)
Kid-friendly (4)
Tapas (4)
Late-night Find (3)
Family Style (3)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Happy Hour (2)
Seasonal (2)
Spicy (2)
Vegan (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Sort By:
S
999 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined 2 days ago

We had a terrible meal here. Very overpriced and the quality of both the food and the service did not reflect how much we paid. With regards to service, it was very difficult to get our server's attention and we were often left waiting around trying to catch his eye for basics such as bringing more water or clearing our dirty dishes which sat in front of us for a long time. Lots of waiting around for prolonged periods between courses. I have eaten tastier food at other less expensive establishments in the area. We had booked this reservation a month in advance and were very disappointed in the food. I think the case here is that you pay for the name and not the quality. I would recommend going elsewhere.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value1

 
 (Orlando)·Dined 3 days ago

As honeymooners in Maui, we were looking forward to dining at Morimoto. We could not have been more disappointed.

The ambiance was loud and busy. Tables very close together -- not private or intimate whatsoever.

The drinks tasted good. Presentation was solid. However, my old fashioned was shaken which is a big no-no for that drink. I would expect a fine dining establishment to get that right.

The bus service was excellent. However our lead server was a bit pompous and condescending. At times seems offended at our menu choices. I guess my wife's $80 steak choice wasn't good enough for him. He also took several opportunities to try and upsell us on food and drink. Not something typical of a place that's (supposedly) at this level. The customer should never feel pressured to do anything.

Finally, the food. Our pork gyoza appetizer was good and presented well. My wife enjoyed her $80 steak. However, my sushi was the saltiest meal I've ever had. It was almost inedible because of the salt content. Not only that, the sushi tasted of similar quality to many of the "sushi joints" I frequent in Florida. So disappointed.

Overall, I left feeling like they stole $260 from me. The ambiance was poor, service was questionable and the food I ordered was a complete waste. If you go there expecting fine dining you'll be disappointed like we were. My advice, eat at Ka'ana Kitchen on the Andaz property instead. It's a much better overall experience and easier on the wallet.

Or, if you must have sushi opt for Sansei in Kihei and skip Morimoto.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service2
value1

vip
 (Orange County)·Dined 4 days ago

Truly Disappointed. I looked forward to Morimoto but was so disappointed with the experience on so many levels I wish I'd chosen another restaurant.

Service: Faceless, dull, unenthusiastic, inexperienced with their own menu. The waiters in general--the two we encountered, had little to know personality and no sense of humor. Our waiters inability to accurately describe the preparation of their Tuna Tartare was surprising and inexcusable.

Food: One appetizer we selected, Shrimp which were lightly fried with two sauces was excellent! We were looking forward to the next dish, but found the Gyoza pretty bland. No real sauce or dipping sauce. The dumpling itself was very good--but the lack of a sauce was a downside. Waygu Carpaccio was good. The waiter actually told us the chilled noodles were not that good--thanks at least for that.

Cocktail- Our waiter was not very well versed on their drinks. The drink I ordered which was to have a chili and bacon flavor/essense to it lacked both. It was a bourbon drink in some Lillioki fruit juice--way too sweet. I sent it back which they were happy to do and had Sake. Expensive, but good.

Climate: The evening was hot and the restaurant was also. Two fans attempted to circulate the air--but the air conditioning was either off or broken. I sweted throughout the meal. Literally using my napkin to wipe off the sweat from my face and neck. My shirt was pretty wet in very little time.

Overall--Nobu-like prices for a clearly not-Nobu experience. It was a big fail for me and a disappointing end to our Maui vacation.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value2

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined 5 days ago

The Omakase was very good. The main course was surf and turf and the beef was served room temperature which I wasn't a fan of. They had a kids menu. From there, we ordered the Chicken Teriyaki Donburi (poached chicken with pour-over sauce) and Chicken Ramen (which was actually rice noodles) and they were both delicious, although some vegetables would have been nice. The Kappa Maki has wasabi in it even though it's on the kids menu. They were happy to make new ones minus wasabi. Andaz hotel is gorgeous and worth a visit and stroll through.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on June 16, 2017

The service and ambience were good. The expectations for the food were pretty high after spending the week on Maui eating really great fresh seafood. Unfortunately, the seafood in red miso sauce was way too hot to taste what you were eating. The sushi was first class. The surf and turf was very good but didn't rank in the top five meals I had on the island. I wouldn't discourage anyone from eating here, but I would not go in with unrealistic expectations.

Tags: Scenic View, Happy Hour, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (Central Coast)·Dined on June 16, 2017

The food and the service was excellent, as always. Looking forward to going back.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 15, 2017

Awesome food. Beautiful view.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Central Coast)·Dined on June 14, 2017

We had dinner last night at Morimoto and it was as amazing as it always is. We've eaten here more than a dozen times and they are just so consistent. The service and the food is incredible. We had the oyster foie gras, the beef carpaccio, a couple uni shooters with duck egg, a bowl of ramen (the broth is mind-knowingly good), and the duck fried rice. Everything was perfect and their Hawaiian 75s (their version of a French 75 but with lilikoi) are so tasty. Morimoto is easily our favorite restaurant on Maui.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Tasting Menu, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 14, 2017

Best most interesting food of our stay and flavor combinations that really show thought and passion. Not just your average menu.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on June 10, 2017

I didn't feel it was quite worth the prices we had to pay, but everything was good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on June 9, 2017

We walked in and sat at the sushi bar being the only ones there and got completely ignored for 10 minutes and then the guy who gave us water smelled like cigarettes and coffee . After feeling invisible, we flagged down to take a drink order. He informed us that our waiter would take our food order. Same server came back with drinks and informed us that our server was evidently too busy somewhere else . The food came in was really good and we did get asked if we wanted another cocktail. When our server came to close out ask about dessert and he had a bushy beard with what looks like to be thousand Island dressing in it . It was hard to look at and not feel sick . I would think a coworker would've noticed it and told him he needed to wipe that off. For the price, I would've expected a better experience overall even though the food was really good . I will only go back because I have a gift certificate with some funds left over

Tags: Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service2
value1

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on June 6, 2017

Ordered 2 Omakase meals, 2 16oz Wagyu ribeye steaks, duck friend rice, tuna toro tataki. We were not informed that the ribeyes were served on a sizzling plate that would continue to cook the steaks. We ordered them medium and rare. By the time I was half way through the medium, the plate had cooked the steak close to well done. The steak had become well done. The sauce was just soy sauce that was infused with other flavours. R was far too salty. The ribeyes were also some of the driest stakes I had ever consumed. I was shocked as they were ribeyes and wagyu. The New York steaks that came with the Omakase were more moist and tender than the ribeyes. The duck fried rice should have complimented the steak, but it was incredibly salty. The dessert from the Omakase was poorly conceived as the flavours really didn't work well. I appreciate what the chef was trying to do, but the flavours didn't work well. I am a big Morimoto fan and general foodie, and I have not been let down so hard by a chef with such an esteemed reputation.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value1

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 3, 2017

Antonio, our waiter was excellent. He truly made the evening exceptional for my family and me.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Waterfront, Creative Cuisine, Bar Seating, Cozy, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Comfort Food, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on June 2, 2017

Good view and atmosphere

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 1, 2017

Just okay. Was very expensive ($300+ for two people) and I honestly do not feel like the food was worth it. Service was amazing, food was just okay.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 30, 2017

Joshua our server was fantastic. He knew the menu and wine and saki list which made the difference for a first time diner. His recommendations were spot on. The food was terrific as you would expect with the Morimoto name.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on May 29, 2017

Family visiting from mainland

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 29, 2017

An iconic Restuarant right on the beach. Food, service, and ambience was impeccable. Strongly recommend Morimoto's for a sunset drink at the bar or a sit down dinner in the dining doom.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on May 29, 2017

First night in Wailea and had a fantastic meal at Morimoto. Favorite dishes were King crab appetizer - definitely on the spicy side but delicious. The Duck Duck Goose entree was fabulous. Duck was served 4 ways - foil gras fried rice with an egg served on top, duck confit, sliced duck breast with gooseberry jam and a duck meatball soup. Trying to fit in a time to return. Was loud and crowded but did not bother us, just not a romantic quiet dining place. Service was good as well.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on May 28, 2017

Great restaurant with spectacular food and a wonderful setting.

Tags: Waterfront, Cozy, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on May 28, 2017

Andas resort was absolutely stunning, and Morimoto's does not disappoint! Definitely a casual strain on the wallet but well worth the price. Beautiful creations of land and sea are magic on the pallete. A definite must for any food lover.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 28, 2017

A little let down.... good was good but not great. I expected a little more out of a celebrity chef restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 27, 2017

Unfortunately, this dinner was very disappointing. It was our 10 year wedding anniversary so we had a lot of expectation. We've eaten at Morimoto in Philadelphia and NYC and had great experiences. The dishes just weren't stellar and timing of food was off. We did receive a lovely complimentary dessert so that was nice. But it just didn't live up to previously dining experiences. However, the setting was great. I'd recommend an outdoor table. The bar was cool though. Grab a drink at the bar.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

vip
 (Anchorage)·Dined on May 27, 2017

Fabulous meal. Great service. Will definitely return the next time we are in Maui.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 26, 2017

We drove from Kaanapali to the restaurant in Wailea and even with all the frustration with traffic, it was absolutely worth the drive. We started by sharing a bunch of appetizers which were beautifully presented and absolutely delicious. We had the toro tartare, ramen, rock shrimp tempura which was prepared two ways, 12 hour pork belly with hot rice porridge, yellowtail rolls, soft shell crab rolls, and pork gyoza. For dinner we enjoyed the duck duck duck entrée, seafood toban yaki, and the chef's choice sushi. From start to finish the meal, the ambiance and the service were all fantastic. This is a restaurant you must try when visiting Maui!

Tags: Waterfront, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value2

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on May 25, 2017

We were vacationing in the Islands as a graduation gift for my daughter. Our dinner here was the pinnacle of our trip. We had watched the iron chef on television for years and admired his creativity and technique. We chose to stay at the Andaz Resort because of the location of the restaurant. It did not disappoint. The service, food, drinks, atmosphere was superb. It far exceeded our expectations.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on May 23, 2017

Truly one of the wonders of the world. It is perfection on every level.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on May 22, 2017

Petra was great!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on May 22, 2017

Was in Maui with family. One of our best meals in years. So good we went back for another visit. We ordered mostly appetizers and shared. They are all the best in class. Good beverage selections. Joshua and a Scott were the best.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on May 20, 2017

30th wedding anniversary and everything was great from end to end. Our appetizers (bone marrow and pork gyoza) were excellent - great combinations of flavour and texture. My wife's main was the chirashi sushi - always a "grab bag" of a dish, but so elevated by the chefs at Morimoto. I had the chef's selection of sashimi - 7 types of fish. The preparations were wonderfully varied and it made it almost exciting to get through. Portions sizes for the appetizers and the mains were spot on. Dessert was the doughnuts and the fruit plate - a great finish to an overall great meal. Service was prompt, attentive, but not pushy or rushing. I'd go back in a heartbeat (and not just in another 30 years).

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Hot Spot, Waterfront, Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View, Tasting Menu, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Denver)·Dined on May 19, 2017

Amazing food and service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on May 16, 2017

The pork chop takes 45 minutes, which is not on the menu or was not informed to us by the waiter until we ordered it. Due to this blatant oversight , our meals came put 30 minutes apart, which ruined the entire dining experience, especially when the bill was $500.

Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value2

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 15, 2017

The restaurant feels a little crowded and bright inside. Outside looked much better. The tables are so long that you're actually closer to the person at the next table than the person you're sitting with, or at least it felt that way.

For the kitchen - Oysters don't need anything added to them. If they're good, they should be delicious on their own.

For the price I'd expect a little more.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on May 15, 2017

We dined at Morimoto's to celebrate our engagement while in Maui. I had requested outside seating and were promptly shown a seat, but moved to the bar area because of the beautiful views not to be missed at sunset. Perfect service, superb meal, and quality drinks!!! Our "special place" each time we visit Maui from now on.

Tags: Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on May 15, 2017

Enjoyed the meal and the variety of offerings. Beautiful resort, we were seated by the pool though, which was a little distracting from the ambiance. Beautiful view of the sunset. Great service.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Great restaurant. 2nd time there. Although a tad too much salt on everything this time which was a shame as the sushi would have been so much better w/o the extra salt. But we didn't say anything nor give them a chance to correct although they did not have low sodium soy sauce. But overall still an excellent restaurant and the black cod was delicious

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Morimoto at the Andaz Hotel in Maui was about what we expected. Great menu and ambiance. Our server was very social and attentive to our table. I would reccomend to adults only or families with teens. Only draw back was price. You pay for location and name. The food was excellent we would probably go back again.

Tags: Open Kitchen, Fit for Foodies, Fun, Good Vegetarian Options, Creative Cuisine, Modern Decor, Authentic, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, People Watching, Scenic View, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on May 13, 2017

One of the best Japanese fusion dinners I have had in a long time. Reminded us a lot of our favourite restaurant in Sydney. We went for A la Carte, may have have over ordered by 1-2 dishes but we still wiped the plate clean on every dish. Oysters were beautifully fresh, small and zesty. Gyoza and Crab starters were delicious as was the Blackened Miso Cod for main. Our waiter was patient with us as we couldnt decide for a while. Waiter was a little slow on the changing of cutlery etc. This does come with a $$ value therefore I would recommend as special occasion dinner venue.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on May 12, 2017

Meh, maybe it's because we get great Japanese in Seattle, but save your money. We spent $650 for two Omakase dinners (200 ea), 20 for a glass of Chardonnay, and 17 for a cocktail. None of which I would have that big of a problem with if the food/environment was up to par. Yes, you eat by the ocean but it's also at the side of the hotel pool. So, at sunset/dinner people are still drinking in the pool while you're having dinner. Yes while we are in dinner attire, others at the "restaurant" aka pool bar/grill are in t-shirts and slippers. The service was SLOW but amazing. Everyone was gracious, but we walked away shocked at the price. There is amazing Japanese/ sushi in Kihei and this is not one I will recommend. 650 for dinner for two!!!!! I wish we knew.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service5
value1

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 8, 2017

Omakase prefix was really good!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.