About Morimoto - Maui

Morimoto's contemporary Japanese menu infuses traditional dishes with Western ingredients and preparation techniques. His seasonal and ever-changing selection of raw fish preparations will feature the freshest seafood available as well as locally grown fruits and vegetables from supporting farmers. Morimoto's signature offerings include Toro Tartare, presented in a shallow wooden tray with condiments including crème fraîche, wasabi, avocado, nori paste, chives, crispy rice, and dashi-soy. Tuna Pizza made with raw tuna, anchovy aioli, and jalapeno; Morimoto Sashimi, a terrine of seared Toro, smoked salmon, barbequed eel, tuna and Hamachi served with five different sauces in pipettes.

3550 Wailea Alanui Dr.
Wailea, HI 96753
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Japanese, Sushi

Hours of Operation:
Lunch
Daily: 11:30am - 2:00pm

Dinner
Daily: 5:30pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
Wailea Ike Dr.

Dress Code:
Resort Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options

Phone Number:
(808) 243-4766

Website:
http://www.morimotomaui.com/

Catering:
Please contact us directly.

Parking Details:
Complimentary hotel parking with the Andaz valet services.

Executive Chef:
Masaharu Morimoto

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Available for private and semi-private events for 2-160 guests. Please contact us for further information.

Private Dining

Available for private and semi-private events for 2-160 guests.

Morimoto - Maui Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.1

ambience

4.2

value

3.7

noise

Moderate

83% would recommend it to a friend

Creative Cuisine (31)
Scenic View (30)
Waterfront (29)
See All
Special Occasion (29)
Good for a Date (27)
Fit for Foodies (25)
Romantic (25)
Good for Anniversaries (25)
Great for Outdoor Dining (23)
Tasting Menu (18)
Modern Decor (18)
Local Ingredients (17)
Worth the Drive (16)
Authentic (13)
Good for Birthdays (12)
Handcrafted Cocktails (12)
Open Kitchen (11)
Hot Spot (9)
Good for Groups (8)
Great for Lunch (8)
Neighborhood Gem (7)
Quiet Conversation (7)
Healthy (7)
Casual (6)
Fun (6)
Notable Wine List (5)
Family Style (5)
Business Meals (5)
Bar Seating (5)
People Watching (5)
Tapas (4)
Good Vegetarian Options (4)
Cozy (4)
Organic (4)
Spicy (3)
Outstanding Value (3)
Kid-friendly (3)
Paleo Friendly (3)
Seasonal (3)
Sunday Lunch (3)
Comfort Food (2)
Happy Hour (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Great Beer (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (2)
Historic (1)
Live Music (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
821 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Everything was great, but we started tal ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined 2 days ago

Everything was great, but we started talking to the diners next to us and felt rushed by the staff to pay and leave. If they want people to leave and not socialize then don't put the tables so close to each other. The food was really tasty and fresh. We would definitely go back at the end of the day.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

Great Hawaii Morimotos in Maui and Honol ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined 3 days ago

Great Hawaii Morimotos in Maui and Honolulu! Loved exploring Maui Morimotos lunch experience in January 2017.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Great for Lunch, Vibrant Bar Scene, Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails, , Casual, Seasonal, Quiet Conversation, Healthy, Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Authentic, Local Ingredients, Kid-friendly, Family Style, Organic, Romantic, Good for a Date, Disabled Access, Modern Decor, Business Meals, Cozy, Waterfront, Scenic View, Open Kitchen, Historic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Just awesome. We ordered 2 sushi appeti ...

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined 3 days ago

Just awesome. We ordered 2 sushi appetizers which were outstanding. We then had the house salad...totally fabulous. Then for the entree we had bronzino. It was excellent . Topped off the meal with the homemade donuts. I loved everything. I saw the reviews OS the restraurant which were not complimentary. I wondered if these people ate at the same place. This restaurant is not to be missed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Just ok. Waikiki location seems much be ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 3 days ago

Just ok. Waikiki location seems much better.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

This is a good sushi with a creative tak ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined 4 days ago

This is a good sushi with a creative take on old favorites. The sushi was fresh and of reasonable value. The service was good not great it appears they may be under staffed but the server was positive and made a point of apologizing for the slow service.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3
value2

Seems the restaurant was under staffed. ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined 4 days ago

Seems the restaurant was under staffed. We ordered dessert and after 20 minutes they forgot. Another 15 and we decided to skip it. Food is great but not having a full staff caused a myriad of issues with other tables not getting their food, too. A shame because the food is so great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value4

As close to perfection as it can get. We ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 4 days ago

As close to perfection as it can get. We sat at the bar (as always) and came back the very next night. Impeccably clean and efficient kitchen. Top quality food and presentation.

Tags: Special Occasion, People Watching, Molecular Gastronomy, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

The food was horrible. Not what you woul ...

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined 4 days ago

The food was horrible. Not what you would expect carrying the Morimoto name. Ordered the Morimoto Ramen that came looking like pho. Also ordered a udon dish that used the same noodles as the ramen. After we complained they came out and apologized because they ran out of ramen noodles. Probably should tell the customer before ordering rather than just make it and hope that they eat it and not notice.

I love chao or congee. My mom would always cook it for me when I wasn't feeling well. I usually order it at places that offer it and was excited it was on the menu. It was combined with pork belly. It was very disappointing. The consistency of the congee was nothing like myself or the others at my table have had. The other two eating with me are tawainese and I am Vietnamese so between the three of us we've had plenty chao or congee before.

The sushi itself was also nothing to write home about. You would think I sushi place that specializes in sushi could actually roll the sushi. The maki fell apart with me barely even touching it.

All in all for a disappointing meal we also overpaid. It would've been a decent price for a nice meal for 4, instead it was the biggest waste of money on our entire trip to Maui

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service2
value1

I'm a guest at the Andaz Maui and was re ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 4 days ago

I'm a guest at the Andaz Maui and was really looking forward to dinner at Morimoto's. I grew up watching Iron Chef and I received rave reviews about the restaurant. The hostess was great upon my arrival and sat me immediately. However, it went downhill from there. It took at least 5 minutes for me to receive water and this was after several people looked directly at me and kept walking to the water station which was a few inches away from me. I finally received water and then after waiting another five to ten minutes, I flagged the lady who provided me water down and asked her if she could send my server over as I was ready to order. Less than 5 feet away from me (I was sitting at the table nearest the kitchen), I observed the lady tell my server that I was ready to order. My server response was to look over at me with an annoyed look on her face, look back at her colleague, and tell her I could wait (I was close enough to hear). The server came over shortly thereafter and I kindly comforted about how long I had to wait. Throughout the rest of the evening, she came to the table being insincerely kind. She apologized as I was leaving, but that too was insincere and seemed to be forced.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

This restaurant did not meet our expecta ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined 6 days ago

This restaurant did not meet our expectations of "the best sushi restaurant". All the seafood we ordered was covered in sauce so that you could taste the fish and seafood!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value1

We made the reservation on open table (r ...

vip
 (Central Coast)·Dined on January 11, 2017

We made the reservation on open table (regular users) months in advance of our trip to Maui. We were going to Morimoto for our 30th anniversary. They confirmed our reservation over the phone 2 days prior and I reminded them of the special occasion. Well we were seated in probably the worst table in the place. My wife was in the walkway to the busy outdoor bar and I had a view of the wall, 6 inches from my face. This restaurant has indoor and outdoor seating with views of the ocean from 80-90 percent of the tables. I would never go there for a special occasion again. Very disappointing.

Tags: Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service4
value3

We were staying at the Andaz and decided ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 10, 2017

We were staying at the Andaz and decided to go downstairs and get some sushi as an app since we had eaten there a few days ago and loved it. AGAIN, the food was Delicious!!! The service was just a little slow, but our server was very sweet... he just seemed like he may have had too many tables. Love this place though! Definitely recommend

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Fabulous experience every step of the wa ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined on January 10, 2017

Fabulous experience every step of the way!

Gorgeous presentation, creative recipes, knowledgeable waiters. Pricey, but we feel we got our money's worth. Definitely at the top of our list on our next visit to Maui!

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A beautiful setting and great beer made ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 10, 2017

A beautiful setting and great beer made for the chef.

Hamachi cooked at the table waS mediocre and the sushi looked old.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value4

Morimoto has taken an outstanding locati ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 8, 2017

Morimoto has taken an outstanding location outside by the pool at Andaz in Wailea, hired enthusiastic, effervescent waitstaff and serves up average to above average Japanese themed cuisine. Where and when the chef experiments he falls way short of the mark

The maki rolls: spider, California,shrimp tempura and ahi tuna were all predictable and mundane. Tasty but not inspiring.

The Maui onion soup comprised of several slices of sautéed Maui onion with a small half dollar sized latticed Parmesan cheese device in an overly salted miso broth

The chicken ramen soup, the chef's take on chicken noodle offered bland chicken in an overly salted broth with ramen noodles that were under cooked. I've had better ramen from a bag. One wonders if the chef gets distracted when salting his soups. Enough sodium to raise my blood pressure 20 points.

Doughnuts, or should I say doughnut pillows were fluffy and coated heavily with granular sugar. The three tasty dipping sauces had a difficult time overcoming the sweetness of the sugar cane.

We had regrets that we had neither time nor appetite to delve deeper into the Morimoto menu, but given the astronomic pricing even by Maui's standards our money was better spent elsewhere.

Tags: Scenic View, Creative Cuisine, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

My husbands birthday came while we were ...

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on January 8, 2017

My husbands birthday came while we were on vacation in Maui. He is 1/2 Japanese and loves Japanese cuisine therefore we searched for a well reviewed Japanese restaurant. Many restaurants claim to serve Japanese but have transitioned to the Americanized style and or simply do not serve traditional meals. Morimotos did not disappoint us. The meal was absolutely amazing!! The service was beyond exceptional and it was a pleasant surprise that the ambiance was romantic.

Tags: Great Beer, Authentic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Local Ingredients, Waterfront, Fun, Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Had a lovely family dinner last night . ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 8, 2017

Had a lovely family dinner last night . I loved the white fish carpaccio starter ( my highlight) but there were good responses to all the dishes!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Great food. Been here several times. Alw ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 7, 2017

Great food. Been here several times. Always a great experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Just not the place it was 2 years ago. F ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on January 7, 2017

Just not the place it was 2 years ago. Food, service, and atmosphere are all worse. So many better options nearby. Such a disappointment as this had been a real favorite of ours.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value1

We've dined in many locations, and while ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 6, 2017

We've dined in many locations, and while this is nice, all appetizers and entrees were either over salted or quite flavorless. The sushi had sat and was very disappointing. There wasn't a bit of spice in either spicy roll and we were told the angry chicken was coated in Frank's bottled sauce. Not Morimoto standards to me.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

Service was terrible, food was amazing.. ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on January 6, 2017

Service was terrible, food was amazing..we've dined here many times but not sure we will return. From the start the host ignored us and had a conversation with the hostess not acknowledging we were standing there. We had to wait at least 15 minutes to be seated at an undesirable table, and our waiter hardly checked in at all throughout the meal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service2

The sushi at Morimoto is at a level so h ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on January 3, 2017

The sushi at Morimoto is at a level so high that it is rarely found outside Japan. This is what I thought after trying their Chirashi bowl. You won't find a bargain eating here, but the food is so good you leave feeling that it was totally woth it. Not to mention the gorgeous view of the Pacific. That combination makes this a truly special place to eat.

Tags: Hot Spot, Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fit for Foodies, Seasonal, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Waterfront, Local Ingredients, Scenic View, People Watching, Great for Lunch, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Everything was amazing. Tried a bit of i ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on January 3, 2017

Everything was amazing. Tried a bit of it all and nothing disappointed. Get the carpaccio and the bone marrow.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Good for Groups, Scenic View, Hot Spot, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Ate at the bar this time. Service was a ...

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on January 2, 2017

Ate at the bar this time. Service was a little better.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Morimoto is a COMPLETE EXPERIENCE!! The ...

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on January 2, 2017

Morimoto is a COMPLETE EXPERIENCE!! The food is the of the highest quality, locally sourced, inventive flavours and artistically presented (The 5 layer sashimi tower is gorgeous) while the view and ambiance are stunning!!! The service is the perfect balance - 5 star while maintaining a casual beach feeling rather than stuffy formality. Our server was Carlos and he and his team were excellent! This is our favourite restaurant in Maui and it never fails to exceed all expectations!

Tags: Authentic, Local Ingredients, Organic, Healthy, Gluten Free Options, Worth the Drive, Paleo Friendly, Creative Cuisine, Good Vegetarian Options, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Romantic, Tasting Menu, Great for Outdoor Dining, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Awful. The worst restaurant on the isla ...

 
 (Austin)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Awful. The worst restaurant on the island.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service1

We came here for New Years for the 225 d ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 1, 2017

We came here for New Years for the 225 dollar tasting menu. We know our Japanese/Sushi very well and have eaten all over (other Morimotos as well). The menu had some attractive ingredients so we were excited.

I wont say the food was bad, but nothing special. The last main course (beef + lobster) was pretty decent. Everything else was just ok. The sushi was just 5 pieces of simple nigiri.

The main issue here was the general attitude and service of the restaurant. We waited 45 minutes to sit down, no apologies from anyone. The spacing of the dishes was horrible, first couple rushed then everyone disappeared. Waiters were running by when people were trying to flag them down. A lot of people seemed quite upset.

But its ok, they made their money!

Don't go, its just a name that doesnt deliver ].

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value1

Excellent food, but WAAAYYY (read: strat ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Excellent food, but WAAAYYY (read: stratospherically) overpriced!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value1

Extremely slow service on a holiday and ...

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Extremely slow service on a holiday and they offered no flexibility on their fixed menu. They were not able to complete a four course tasting menu within two and one half hours. There were long periods of waiting in between each course. Although it is a rather small restaurant, they were apparently severely understaffed. The food was good (not outstanding) but the prices were ridiculously expensive. The cost of the meal was almost as much as we have paid at the French Laundry and was nowhere close to the quality. We will not return to this restaurant .

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service1

It took forever to get our food, and it ...

vip
 (Orange County)·Dined on December 31, 2016

It took forever to get our food, and it seemed like there was no coordination in the kitchen. Things came out randomly and our party ended up eating separately so things didn't get cold.

This restaurant was expensive and we felt ripped off. The experience was just bad.

We have eaten in 8 different high end restaurants since arriving on Maui and this was the worst night.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1

Great waiter - Carlos. Staff was accommo ...

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Great waiter - Carlos. Staff was accommodating to us and our two young children. Awesome food and experience. We will return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great food, some of the worst service I ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 30, 2016

Great food, some of the worst service I have ever had. Lost our order and we waited 80 minutes for our main course but when I asked what was taking so long I was told there we 20 people in front of us. Our waiter never even checked and when I asked manager he figured out that our ticket had been lost.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service1
value3

The food was fantastic, and the wine lis ...

 
 (Key West)·Dined on December 30, 2016

The food was fantastic, and the wine list is exceptional. Sadly our entrees were served half an hour apart, but it was all delicious. Our server was completely indifferent and sloppy. (It took ten minutes after the food arrived at our table to get silverware). The restaurant was an absolute mess. Dirty empty tables everywhere and tons of food and napkins on the floor . The rest of the Andaz is pristine, but Morimotos is a bit trashy. Hope they can get it together and live up to the promise of the exceptional kitchen.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience1
service2

We expected fine dine but more of a fami ...

vip
 (Vancouver)·Dined on December 30, 2016

We expected fine dine but more of a family place. We would go. Sick. It with our kids, not for a birthday.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value1

The food was mediocre to poor and the pr ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on December 30, 2016

The food was mediocre to poor and the prices were sky high. When I spend top dollar I expect excellent food. We were her 3 years ago and the food was excellent. Unfortunately this was the worst meal we had on this trip and I won't be coming back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service4
value1

What used to be an excellent restaurant ...

vip
 (Vancouver)·Dined on December 30, 2016

What used to be an excellent restaurant has really gone downhill insofar as the service (The manager Darren) comes to let you know that you have a set amount of time for dinner and rushes you out, and in our case, our credit card was not returned to us after paying and we were told they could not bring it to the front desk for us and we had to go back down to the restaurant. This is after spending $400+ for two people.)

We are cancellIng our two upcoming reservations as well as our New Years group booking and will not be back. We had good food but bad service. The kitchen staff are talented, but the overall service was tedious and not up to standard.

If you treat your repeat customers this way (as an inconvenience) they will cease to be repeat customers and they will post reviews like this. Time to look into new management Morimoto.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service1

Amazing !!!!

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on December 29, 2016

Amazing !!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was absolutely excellent. Had ramen ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 28, 2016

Food was absolutely excellent. Had ramen, sashimi plate, a couple rolls and uni with quail eggs. The service though pulls down the overall rating. Great food makes up for some lack in service but not at this price point. Waited 10 min for server - and it wasn't busy by any means. Waiter was nice but drinks didn't get served until after some food arrived. Food came out way too fast. We had to keep asking for water. The little things... if you can live with it, definitely go and enjoy some excellent sashimi.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2

Totally overrated. Totally overpriced. V ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 27, 2016

Totally overrated. Totally overpriced. Very stuffy. Felt like all they wanted to do was sell you more expensive food. Big disappointment.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3

I had a 9pm reservation and had requeste ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on December 26, 2016

I had a 9pm reservation and had requested an outside table when making the reservation. At 9:10pm, the hostess told me a few people were finishing up their bills and it wouldn't be long. At 9:30pm, we still didn't have a table so I just told her we would sit at the bar. She said "Ok" and didn't even apologize once. She then sat us all the way at the end of the bar next to the alley where all the waitstaff was walking and carrying food, etc. After sitting for 11 minutes, not one person even brought us a glass of water. When the hostess walked by I asked her if we would get any water tonight and she went to go bring us some. Then, another 10 minutes later, a waiter came over and took our order. My wife got her glass of wine pretty quickly but he forgot about my hot green tea so after another 10 minutes, i reminded him. I understand restaurants are busy but what i really didn't expect my first time eating here was the lack of care about customer service that the staff gave t their customers. Especially at those prices.....

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service1
value2

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.