About Morimoto - Maui

3550 Wailea Alanui Dr.
Wailea, HI 96753
View Larger Map

Morimoto's contemporary Japanese menu infuses traditional dishes with Western ingredients and preparation techniques. His seasonal and ever-changing selection of raw fish preparations will feature the freshest seafood available as well as locally grown fruits and vegetables from supporting farmers. Morimoto's signature offerings include Toro Tartare, presented in a shallow wooden tray with condiments including crème fraîche, wasabi, avocado, nori paste, chives, crispy rice, and dashi-soy. Tuna Pizza made with raw tuna, anchovy aioli, and jalapeno; Morimoto Sashimi, a terrine of seared Toro, smoked salmon, barbequed eel, tuna and Hamachi served with five different sauces in pipettes.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Japanese, Sushi

Hours of Operation:
Lunch
Daily: 11:30am - 2:00pm

Dinner
Daily: 5:30pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
Wailea Ike Dr.

Dress Code:
Resort Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options

Phone Number:
(808) 243-4766

Website:
http://www.morimotomaui.com/

Catering:
Please contact us directly.

Parking Details:
Complimentary hotel parking with the Andaz valet services.

Executive Chef:
Masaharu Morimoto

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Available for private and semi-private events for 2-160 guests. Please contact us for further information.

Private Dining

Available for private and semi-private events for 2-160 guests.

Morimoto - Maui Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.3

ambience

4.2

noise

Moderate

81% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Japanese
Hawaii
Most Booked
Maui
Best Restaurants in Wailea ›

fit for foodies (93)
special occasion (86)
scenic view (81)
See All
great for outdoor dining (65)
romantic (59)
hot spot (33)
good for groups (20)
notable wine list (16)
great for lunch (13)
kid-friendly (11)
late-night find (11)
neighborhood gem (9)
vibrant bar scene (6)
great for brunch (2)
 (1)
 (1)
 (1)
Sort By:
Newest
577 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food4
ambience2
service5
value2

I'd expect more

Dined 3 days ago

We went to Morimoto's Wailea twice. First time we set inside. The food was outstanding, but the atmosphere was more like a sports bar with the noise level and an overall busy scene. What was surprising is the seating: the tables and seats are arranged in such a way that you are actually farther from your companion than your neighbor, who is basically sharing your sofa-like seat! The second time we sat outside. The noise level was definitely lower (low), but seating was the same. I'm not sure what their goal is, maybe to entice patrons to make friends and mingle like at a luau? Seriously, your next neighbor is sitting closer to you than the person you are dining with. We went during Wailea Restaurant Week, and maybe because it was a fixed menu, but I was surprised to find California roll and otherwise unimaginative sushi items in my sushi order. Especially at a place like Morimoto's. Sake, desert and my wife fish entree was excellent though.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, scenic view
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Delish... But it will cost you.

Dined 4 days ago

Morimoto restaurant lived up to the expectation of delivering delicious fresh local fish - although we expected more fresh special selection like o toro. Certainly will cost you though. All around good for special occasions. Although we celebrated an anniversary and they didn't acknowledge it, despite knowing. Would have been a nice touch, expected for a high end restaurant.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, special occasion, scenic view, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5

Superb food. The braised black cod was f ...

Dined 5 days ago

Superb food. The braised black cod was fabulous as was the watermelon gazpacho.

food2
ambience2
service1
value1

Highly over-rated, living on Morimoto na ...

vip
Dined 5 days ago

Highly over-rated, living on Morimoto name when he is nowhere in sight. Ka'ana at the same hotel is better priced with great food and personable chef on site

food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Still Morimoto, but not without fault

Dined 6 days ago

The first time we went to a Morimoto was in Waikiki. We were blown away. This time, not so much, but still a great experience.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We've eaten at Morimoto on Honolulu; so ...

Dined on May 21, 2016

We've eaten at Morimoto on Honolulu; so we were anxious to try the restaurant in Maui. We were no disappointed. Not a meal, but an experience.Located in the Andaz resort, at the bottom level--beautiful setting. Our server, Carlos, took the time to explain the extensive menu.....so many choices. We both had fish prepared to perfection. The wine list is awesome, and the cocktails inventive. We had a wonderful evening and an even greater dining experience.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food2
ambience4
service3
value1

With Morimotos'a reputation, we expected ...

vip
Dined on May 20, 2016

With Morimotos'a reputation, we expected a special meal. It really wasn't special at all. It was extremely expensive, but not particularly memorable. The setting, on the other hand, was incredible.

food5
ambience5
service4

Our first dinner on our Honeymoon- staff ...

vip
Dined on May 18, 2016

Our first dinner on our Honeymoon- staff was great and made our dinner special! Food was amazing!

food4
ambience3
service4

Food was good but expensive. We have had ...

Dined on May 17, 2016

Food was good but expensive. We have had better meals for less on the island.

food5
ambience5
service5

The very best on Maui!! Always exception ...

vip
Dined on May 17, 2016

The very best on Maui!! Always exceptional!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Beautiful setting for a special dinner w ...

Dined on May 16, 2016

Beautiful setting for a special dinner with friends while visiting Maui.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A Winner All Around

Dined on May 15, 2016

From the moment we stepped up to the walkway with its gorgeous ocean views, it seemed we had entered a magical world. The descent to Morimoto's didn't seem very long, as we stopped to gaze at the infinity pools constructed at each level of the terrace. Each member of the staff at Morimoto's was friendly and courteous. They frequently checked to see that we enjoyed every dish we ordered, yet they were unobtrusive at the right times, too. The calamari salad was the best we've eaten anywhere. The sushi was made with the freshest and tastiest unagi and fish. What a superb meal!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view
food2
ambience4
service2
value2

Appetizer was amazing. Entrees were aver ...

Dined on May 14, 2016

Appetizer was amazing. Entrees were average. Service was below average. Price was high, so value was low.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, hot spot
food2
ambience4
service3
value1

underwhelmed

Dined on May 12, 2016

Got the omakase. I felt the like more time was spent on presentation rather than taste or creativeness of the food. No thank you for the vegetable crudités with the garlic oil fondue. It definitely was a waste of money. Go a la carte if you decided to dine here. Service was okay. Staff needs to be better trained. The doughnuts were the highlight of the night.

Tags: great for outdoor dining
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A lovely night at Morimoto's

Dined on May 11, 2016

Couldn't ask for more from this restaurant, including the location and view of the sunset. The hotel Andaz with its friendly staff and free valet parking was warm and welcoming. Loved the hotel's sleek interior with the ocean breeze gently flowing through the corridors. We entered the beach and got a spectacular view of the sunset and ocean on the backside of the hotel, before doubling back to the restaurant to check in for our reservation. Every dish was pure delight to the taste buds. The chef's selection of sashimi included tuna, yellow tail, salmon, red snapper and amberjack, with ample portions. The split spicy crab with roe-tinged sauce was out of this world, and we'd love to know how they made the sauce. The uni-carbonara was one of a kind. None of the dishes were overly salty or sweet, nor masking the intrinsic natural taste of the food base. Last but not least were the donut beignets with three different dipping sauces for dessert. Again, we felt that every dish was a signature dish, lovingly crafted and prepared, without the slightest hint of pretentiousness or excess. When you add that in with the location, view of the beach, the ambience, and quality of service, the restaurant has an unbeatable combination!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, scenic view, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food1
ambience5
service5
value2

So sad...entrees were over-cooked and over priced

Dined on May 9, 2016

We love going to the Andaz. At Morimoto's the ambiance, service and presentation are outstanding. Appetizers are unique, beautiful and delicious. We were, however, sorely disappointed by the entrees. Very sad. The seafood was simply overcooked. For all the chef's laudable focus on presentation, there were, unfortunately, losses in texture and taste. What a shame. With such outcomes, prices were regrettably sky high.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience4
service5

Do the omakase with the same pairing!!!

vip
Dined on May 8, 2016

Do the omakase with the same pairing!!!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Maui's BEST Foodie Restaurant

Dined on May 8, 2016

Our first experience was at Morimoto Waikiki. It was fantastic! Then Morimoto Maui opened up and we love that is it just down the hill and in our most favorite resort hotel, Andaz Wailea. We couldn't be more pleased. Many of the staff at Morimoto Maui were hand-selected from their excellent service at local restaurants. We enjoy seeing the same staff again and again. Many have been at Morimoto Maui since it opened. The food is phenomenal and presented in such an artistic way that you almost forget you are eating food. Once a bite hits your palate you are delighted. Smiles all around!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience3
service1
value3

Great food but awful service

Dined on May 7, 2016

Food was fantastic but the service was terrible, worst I've had at a luxury restaurant and by far the worst on Maui. The only reason this is getting any stars is because of the food.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, hot spot
food4
ambience5
service4

Beautiful setting! Excellent overall ex ...

Dined on May 6, 2016

Beautiful setting! Excellent overall experience, but not extraordinary. Tables very close together. Tartare was recommended, but difficult to eat and bland. The Chef's choice sushi/maki was amazing. Entree of snapper was tasty but a bit tough. Sorbet & ice cream was incredible.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Wonderful Evening

Dined on May 5, 2016

Chose Morimoto at the Andaz hotel in Maui to celebrate our anniversary and had a wonderful evening. Sitting poolside with views of the palms and sunset the restaurant has a great feel. Service was great from start to finish- our server was helpful in suggestions and wine pairings.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

outstanding

Dined on May 1, 2016

Excellent food top notch raw and cooked. Recommend the sake tastings and the whitefish carpaccio.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view
food2
ambience4
service4

The ambiance of the restaurant was very ...

vip
Dined on May 1, 2016

The ambiance of the restaurant was very nice, nice view of the sunset and beach. However we sat right next to another couple, so it was not very intimate.

food3
ambience4
service4

We went twice. First time went for sushi ...

Dined on April 29, 2016

We went twice. First time went for sushi and were really disappointed, particularly because we love sushi and were staying ten days at the Andaz. It was just exceptionally overpriced, small, tough at times and warm. I prefer it slightly cool. We've been to several great sushi spots and this just didn't stand up. We learned most of the sushi in Hawaii is flown in anyway so shame on us for assuming it would be unique. We went back for the dinner menu and had much better food but the quick turn service was a little annoying. A bustling restaurant is always good but this place felt like the staff was redlined.

food5
ambience5
service5

OBSESSED! There's really no words for th ...

vip
Dined on April 29, 2016

OBSESSED! There's really no words for the food here. It's amazing, unique and just the best! We've been to the Napa one as well and never a disappointment. Go here or any Morimoto for that matter.

food4
ambience3
service5
value3

Great food but very noisy

Dined on April 29, 2016

The food was good ( especially the entree of fish ) some things are too expensive to justify ordering them - but if you are an iron chef fan you must go !

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, scenic view, hot spot
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Fantastic meal

vip
Dined on April 28, 2016

My husband and I came here on our last night in Maui. Although our table was not great - he looked out over the ocean, and I Iooked at the server station - the food and service were great. We had the hamachi tacos and the tempura rock shrimp for appetizers. The rock shrimp is a must have! For main course I had a whole fish branzino special that was out of this world. I love branzino and order it often. This was really the best I have had anywhere. My husband had the surf and turf (hamachi and tenderloin) that was also great. Finished it all of with the donuts with four different dips. Yum. We will definately go back if we are on Maui.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, scenic view
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

Poor Service

vip
Dined on April 27, 2016

A bride and groom had their wedding dinner planned here and although they had a confirmation for their dinner at 7:45 PM from Open Table, the person at the front, said they did not have a reservation and there was no space in the restaurant. The Groom asked if they could tell them who was listed under the 7:45 reservations as it might have been made under another name (it wasn't) but the girl said no she couldn't do that for them. She turned them away on their wedding day. The couple was extremely disappointed as they looked forward to eating here. Turns out they had a BETTER dinner at SANSEI's! Extremely poor customer service and in no way did they try to help the Bride and Groom. My company will never recommend this restaurant again.

food5
ambience5
service4

Food was delicious but my entire arrived ...

Dined on April 27, 2016

Food was delicious but my entire arrived and my wife's very pricey Wagyu beef did not for almost 10 minutes. We pointed this out to our waiter who hustled to get hers to her and then comped us desserts. That was great, but we really expected no service glitches.

food5
ambience3
service3
value3

Amazing food! Service was a little strange...

Dined on April 25, 2016

Came here for my birthday knowing that it was going to be crazy expensive, but what the heck it's Morimoto! The food was divine, A-5 Wagyu beef steak, holy cow, was the best steak I have EVER had! It was melt in your mouth, once in a lifetime amazing! The spicy king crab starter, bone marrow, fatty tuna nigiri, and spicy tuna roll were also delectable. I hate to say, this but the service was a little strange. Our waiter was nice enough, but it made me and my boyfriend very uncomfortable to have the waiter watching us from across the room while we ate, and not subtly. They make a big production out of changing out the silverware, and cleaning the table while you're sitting there trying to have a conversation, which was a little over the top, and created an awkward vibe. I would go again for that steak, despite the price, but I think I would just sit at the bar.

Tags: fit for foodies, scenic view
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Morimoto had a beautiful ocean view sett ...

Dined on April 25, 2016

Morimoto had a beautiful ocean view setting ...and we were there at the perfect time to enjoy the sunset. The things that we ordered were all very unique anddelicious..interesting flavors that definitely aroused the senses. I was sorry that many of the share-type dishes came in a set of 3...thus making it quite difficult for 4 people to have their own sample...so we had to order a 4th piece on these types of plates. The portions are not huge...so be prepared to order a good number of selections if you want to feel that you have had enough to eat. The restaurant is very pricey...and I am not sure what the point of ordering sushi by the individual piece is ..intead of a true order of sushi (2 pieces) . All in all, it was a very calm and satisfying experience....in a magnigicent setting....with wonderful service......except I could have eaten one more thing..

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, scenic view
food4
ambience4
service3
value2

I expected more

vip
Dined on April 24, 2016

We opted for the tasting menu - 9 courses, without wine/sake pairings. I'd say there were 2-3 standout courses; the others were meh (sadly, including the wagyu). Our courses were also oddly timed - we waited as much as 20 min between courses and as little as 4 min. At one point a server approached our table only to circle back because the dishes from our previous course had not been cleared. Our primary server disappeared for big chunks of time (entire meal took 3.5 hours (excessive, in my opinion). For the price, $200 per person, it just wasn't worth it. By comparison, we've dined at Momofuku twice (once in Toronto, once in Sydney) and those experiences were far superior.

Tags: scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5

Everything was delicious! My husband an ...

Dined on April 21, 2016

Everything was delicious! My husband and I shared an entree, some sushi, maki roles, and a dessert. It was more than enough food, but we wish we had gone back another night to try more!

food2
ambience3
service2

Disappointed in this iron chef outpost. ...

vip
Dined on April 20, 2016

Disappointed in this iron chef outpost. I expected more. The Kula corn was the most disappointing. I can't imagine the chefs tasted it before serving such a bland dish.

food5
ambience3
service2
value3

The food was amazing but unfortunately t ...

vip
Dined on April 20, 2016

The food was amazing but unfortunately they need to work on service. We had reservations at 7:45pm and did not get seated until 8:15pm. After being seated, it took 10 minutes to get a waiter and then he seemed to keep disappearing for long periods of time without coming by to check. The same complaint came from the couple next to us. We informed them that we were celebrating a birthday AND anniversary and they didn't really even do anything special.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion
food2
ambience2
service1

The food was good...but the experience w ...

Dined on April 19, 2016

The food was good...but the experience was horrible. We made reservations weeks before our visit and requested a nice table for our anniversary dinner and was given inside table right next to the hostess desk....strollers and people lingering throughout dinner. Utensils and plates were not replenished from one course to the next and the staff rushed us thru dinner so they could turn the table again for the nite. Guess we should have figured the experience would have been subpar when we saw two employees in Morimoto jackets heading to the beach for a "smoke" the day before.

food5
ambience4
service5

This was a delicious surprise! I've not ...

Dined on April 19, 2016

This was a delicious surprise! I've not had the pleasure of eating at Mr. Morimotos before and I can tell u that it is totally worth every cent! The pork gyozo was out of this world, surrounded in a cloud of bacon foam. The sushi rolls were so flavorful I didn't need soy, ginger, or wasabi. This was the best sushi I've had on Maui ever! I highly recommend it. Wine list was excellent and our server was very knowledgeable about the wines as well as the food. This is a don't miss kind of dining experience!

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Always Great

vip
Dined on April 19, 2016

It is always expected that Morimoto will excel. The food is unique and the service is impeccable. Worth every penny.

Tags: special occasion, scenic view
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

communication

Dined on April 19, 2016

waitstaff was less than helpful with modifications due to dietary restrictions - chefs don't speak English well and chef (morimoto) does not allow changes were excuses food is average or below for area and with staff not being as helpful as every other restaurant in area we would recommend consideration of dining elsewhere

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience1
service1
value2

Not worth the money

Dined on April 18, 2016

The food was excellent, but for that amount of money, the entire experience should be excellent. Instead, the service was simultaneously slow and pushy, bordering on rude. It took about 30 -35 minutes from when we were seated to get a drink, but then we were rushed through the meal. I also added on a side order a few minutes after ordering the main course and it didn't arrive until we were almost done with the rest of the meal. It seems like it could have been timed better. The ambience was loud and somewhat hectic. As I said, the food was tasty, but next time I'm in the mood for an $80 steak, I'll spend my money someplace else.

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.