About Morimoto - Maui

3550 Wailea Alanui Dr.
Wailea, HI 96753
View Larger Map

Morimoto's contemporary Japanese menu infuses traditional dishes with Western ingredients and preparation techniques. His seasonal and ever-changing selection of raw fish preparations will feature the freshest seafood available as well as locally grown fruits and vegetables from supporting farmers. Morimoto's signature offerings include Toro Tartare, presented in a shallow wooden tray with condiments including crème fraîche, wasabi, avocado, nori paste, chives, crispy rice, and dashi-soy. Tuna Pizza made with raw tuna, anchovy aioli, and jalapeno; Morimoto Sashimi, a terrine of seared Toro, smoked salmon, barbequed eel, tuna and Hamachi served with five different sauces in pipettes.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Japanese, Sushi

Hours of Operation:
Lunch
Daily: 11:30am - 2:00pm

Dinner
Daily: 5:30pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
Wailea Ike Dr.

Dress Code:
Resort Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options

Phone Number:
(808) 243-4766

Website:
http://www.morimotomaui.com/

Catering:
Please contact us directly.

Parking Details:
Complimentary hotel parking with the Andaz valet services.

Executive Chef:
Masaharu Morimoto

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Available for private and semi-private events for 2-160 guests. Please contact us for further information.

Private Dining

Available for private and semi-private events for 2-160 guests.

Morimoto - Maui Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.2

ambience

4.4

value

3.6

noise

Moderate

79% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Most Booked
Maui
Best Restaurants in Wailea ›

Special Occasion (55)
Fit for Foodies (53)
Scenic View (50)
See All
Great for Outdoor Dining (40)
Romantic (37)
Notable Wine List (19)
Hot Spot (18)
Good for Groups (11)
Creative Cuisine (11)
Waterfront (9)
Good for Anniversaries (9)
Tasting Menu (8)
Great for Lunch (6)
Good for Birthdays (6)
Local Ingredients (6)
Worth the Drive (5)
Good for a Date (5)
Vibrant Bar Scene (5)
Neighborhood Gem (4)
Modern Decor (4)
Quiet Conversation (4)
Healthy (4)
Authentic (4)
Open Kitchen (4)
Handcrafted Cocktails (3)
Good Vegetarian Options (3)
Late-night Find (3)
Seasonal (2)
Casual (2)
Kid-friendly (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (2)
Business Meals (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Tapas (1)
People Watching (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Bar Seating (1)
Family Style (1)
Spicy (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Live Music (1)
Fun (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Sort By:
Newest
688 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Amazing experience.

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined 4 days ago

Amazing experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

This was the best restaurant we went to ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined 5 days ago

This was the best restaurant we went to while in maui.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was good but the Omakase was de ...

vip
 (Seattle)
·Dined on September 18, 2016

The food was good but the Omakase was definitely not worth it, a la carte dishes were much better

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5

Great location and great food.

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

Great location and great food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great atmosphere, tremendous food, helpf ...

 
 (Orange County)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

Great atmosphere, tremendous food, helpful staff. I'd definitely go back

Tags: Late-night Find, Healthy, Modern Decor, Paleo Friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

Amazing food! Amazing service! Amazing p ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on September 16, 2016

Amazing food! Amazing service! Amazing place! We went 2x in 1 week and will go to other Morimoto restaurants because the food is that good!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Fun, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Healthy, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Scenic View, Local Ingredients, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Waiters and runners have absolutely no i ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on September 15, 2016

Waiters and runners have absolutely no idea of what goes on in the kitchen, except for the description written in the menu. Short staffed, good quality for people used to eating at good Japanese restaurants.

Tags: Seasonal, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service1
value3

The food was very tasty, although overpr ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on September 15, 2016

The food was very tasty, although overpriced; fussy and complicated presentation of the tuna tartar appetizer. The patio seating is comfortable, but felt cramped. The restaurant is situated at the bottom of several flights of poorly lit stairs, with no elevator access. The hotel would do well to improve the lighting.

Tags: Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

This restaurant is tiny. The tables ar ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on September 15, 2016

This restaurant is tiny. The tables are an inch apart- do not come here thinking you can have conversation.

We were excited to eat here, but won't go back. The food was horrible. I sent quite a bit back to the kitchen. I can't even compliment the desert!

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

Not as good as NYC location by a lot. L ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 14, 2016

Not as good as NYC location by a lot. Lesser food, lesser decorations, terrible bathroom.

@$500 meal/tasting & would only repeat 2 items.

Exceptionally great service but will not return to THIS location. Morimoto NY is still our favorite restaurant- this version isn't even in our top 50.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value2

During a recent trip to Maui, my wife an ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on September 13, 2016

During a recent trip to Maui, my wife and I renewed our vows on the beach and then I wanted to surprise her with a nice dinner. A quick search in Yelp brought up Morimoto - Maui. My wife had watched him on Iron Chef America many times and always commented on how beautiful his dishes were so I knew that this was the place.

The setting was beautiful (it is located at the Andaz Resort) and the waitstaff was the best I have ever had. We went with the upgraded "chef's choice" which featured around 12 small courses of, in my wife's words, "the best food I have ever eaten."

It was an amazing experience and I would highly recommend going there for a very special night.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Special Occasion, Tasting Menu, Notable Wine List, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Went to Morimoto Maui for the last night ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on September 9, 2016

Went to Morimoto Maui for the last night of our honeymoon, so expectations were definitely high. Morimoto Maui failed on all fronts except for ambiance, restaurant is beautiful and overlooks the water.

I was hoping to get the omakase (chef's tasting menu). When I asked the server he informed me it was $200 for 10 courses and both my wife and myself had to order it. Not a half hour later the gentleman next to me ordered a $140 7 course tasting menu and his significant other was not required to. Clearly this put a damper on the evening.

We ordered shrimp tempura, spicy crab and chef's choice sashimi. The shrimp tempura came extremely heavily sauced, one avocado, one buffalo style and ranch dressing. Seemed more like bar food than high dining establishment. Spicy crab was better but still heavily sauced, with a mayo base. Sashimi was not fresh and extremely fishy. We have had better.

I wouldn't recommend, rather disappointing.

Tags: Happy Hour, Quick Bite
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service1
value1

Finesse. Or lack thereof. I did not want ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on September 8, 2016

Finesse. Or lack thereof. I did not want to be disappointed by this place. I came in with hopes of a mind blowing experience. The moment we sat down, it didn't feel right. First approached by a shaggy haired, pour happy kid that poured water from a condensed water jug, dripping water all over the table. Second, the waiter comes with the menus, explaining "rules" to dine and information about Morimoto (as he did with every other table that sat after us). He went ahead and recommended the more expensive items on the menu instead of what's actually good. We started receiving our courses... All which felt like its missing something. That's where the lack of finesse comes in. Watermelon gaspacho was good, but the Yuzu was too overpowering to call it a watermelon. The bone marrow was good, but was missing a fresh element as bone marrow can get too heavy in fat. The sushi was melt in your mouth delicious. The 16oz ribeye was good... But since it got sent out before my wife's entree, it put me in anxiety as it would get overcooked on the sizzle platter. The idea of the sauce going on the plate and becoming too au sec was odd as well. The black cod with reduction sauce everywhere showed up in a massive plate with really just that. Fish and sauce. Nothing to lighten the thickness and sweetness of the sauce. My wife did not like cod. She did not eat it and we shared the steak with the two mediocre sides (fried rice and salt roasted potatoes). Waiter asked if all is well and we told him we did not like the fish as it was too sweet. They made sure help us understand that we got a dish with a reduction sauce (thanks!). The manager came in and suggested we eat the fish with the fried rice, which we shouldn't have to because we ordered an entree that should be plated with the components that help balance the flavor of the dish, not relying on side dishes. As we finished my entree and asked for the check, the waiter didn't even bother removing the cod from the receipt.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1
value1

Beautiful restaurant with ocean view fro ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on September 7, 2016

Beautiful restaurant with ocean view from open roof bar. Get there early to enjoy the sunset before enjoying fresh gourmet dishes. The octopus carpaccio with light citrus dressing was amazing! The uni carbonara is very decadent and perfectly prepared as was the black cod. Great place to spoil yourself with modern Japanese cuisine.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3

I've spent the last year between New Yor ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on September 6, 2016

I've spent the last year between New York, Los Angeles, and Hawaii. I've had some great meals at expensive restaurants. I've not had a worse meal in the past year than I did at Morimoto. It was also ridiculously expensive for what it was. Not only did I get food poisoning from the sushi (go figure, from the so-called Morimoto Sashimi), but every bite was disgusting. I should have known that the Sea Urchin Carbonara would be horrible. It was truly the worst dish I've ever had. I sent it back, and was given attitude from the server for not liking it.

There are many good restaurants on Maui. Morimoto is not one of them. Don't waste your evening there and, inevitably, the next day on the bathroom floor.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

We loved it. Maybe my favorite restauran ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on September 6, 2016

We loved it. Maybe my favorite restaurant on this trip.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

The food was really delicious. The fish ...

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on September 5, 2016

The food was really delicious. The fish and vegetables were fresh. The prime rib burger was juicy and perfectly done. Everything was perfect.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Great for Lunch, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A fantastic experience with great food, ...

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

A fantastic experience with great food, service and views. A must on Maui if you have the budget.

Tags: Modern Decor, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Tasting menu was overpriced. Sashimi was ...

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on September 1, 2016

Tasting menu was overpriced. Sashimi was a little tough.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

Rock shrimp were great. Black cod was am ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 30, 2016

Rock shrimp were great.

Black cod was amazing.

Fried fish of the day(branzino) was good but not amazing.

Duck fried rice was a good side dish for what we ordered

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The best meal of my life. We ordered t ...

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on August 30, 2016

The best meal of my life. We ordered the omakase. Each serving was a gorgeous work of art, perfectly presented and executed. Amazing flavors.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Molecular Gastronomy, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food. Chef is very innovative with ...

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on August 28, 2016

Great food. Chef is very innovative with his menu. Ambiance is beautiful.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Wow! Spectacular location and settling. ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on August 26, 2016

Wow! Spectacular location and settling. Be there before sunset - You won't be sorry! Dishes I recommend were the Pork in whipped froth and the whole fish, boned and served with asparagus. Also, the market vegetables were great. Their Japanese drink selection (sake, etc.) was terrific and should be sampled. Something to savor.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Waterfront, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

I expected this place to be better than ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on August 25, 2016

I expected this place to be better than it was...Albeit, it wasn't the worse sushi I've ever had, but it by far wasn't the best! Mediocre!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

Wow! As always, fantastic for foodies. E ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 25, 2016

Wow! As always, fantastic for foodies. Each dish is a work of art. Favorites are the wagyu ribeye steak and the whitefish carpaccio. Yum!

Tags: Scenic View, Seasonal, Tasting Menu, Good Vegetarian Options, Creative Cuisine, Molecular Gastronomy, Worth the Drive, Modern Decor, Hot Spot, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Open Kitchen, Local Ingredients, Waterfront, Authentic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent, fresh sushi. Great small pla ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on August 22, 2016

Excellent, fresh sushi. Great small plate options to share. Chef's combination plate is recommended!

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Healthy, Tasting Menu, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Hot Spot, Tapas, Waterfront, Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Sushi was great. Tasting menu was unimpr ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

Sushi was great. Tasting menu was unimpressive.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5

Awesome experience. Excellent service, b ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

Awesome experience. Excellent service, but feels relaxed. Authentic and creative. Everything we ate was delicious. Morimoto sets the bar high!

Tags: Business Meals, Authentic, Bar Seating, Tasting Menu, Modern Decor, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Good Vegetarian Options, Fit for Foodies, Outstanding Value, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, People Watching, Casual, Romantic, Hot Spot, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Food was very good. The waiter needed he ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

Food was very good. The waiter needed help from others to be reminded we were waiting for the wine to be uncorked as the ice melted. We needed to remind him we existed. Pretty setting

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3

Disappointing. We ordered the chefs tast ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

Disappointing. We ordered the chefs tasting menu, but the food was just fine, nothing blew me away or really stuck out. The presentation of the food was memorable, but I would rather remember the food than the way it was arranged on a plate.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

I love Morimoto but the one in Maui was ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on August 18, 2016

I love Morimoto but the one in Maui was unfortunately not a very good experience. We made reservations but still had to wait for about 45 min for our table. The food was average compared to Morimoto Honolulu and Miami and the service was not as good as expected. The restaurant itself is nice and is good for outside dining. Overall I do not recommend this restaurant for a date night but will def go back to the one in Miami.

Tags: Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1
value2

The restaurant was super hot with no air ...

vip
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on August 18, 2016

The restaurant was super hot with no air flow under the steel roof, based on the direction the restaurant was built. Ordered both of the Wagyu beefs, filet and rib eye and lacked flavor and wasn't tender at all. The salad was super soggy over poured on dressing, The pork belly was great, if it wasn't this dish I would have given it no stars. For $300 there's way better options in Wailea.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1

We were the first people there for dinne ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 18, 2016

We were the first people there for dinner. We moved tables due to about to be glaring sun in my face. We asked to move tables and were moved quickly. The original waiter kept staring at us and the new waitress....which was VERY awkward as if he was upset... I've been to Morimoto's several times in Napa and Florida and have never had a less than 5 star experience other than this one due to a waiter.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Great service

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on August 15, 2016

Great service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We made reservations months in advance o ...

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

We made reservations months in advance only to be sat next to a table with toddlers (there were other open tables--very frustrating). Ignoring the fact that we had hot wheels and chopsticks thrown at us for most of our meal, the service was horrible. Multiple times our server forgot about us, even after saying he would be back to explain our drink flights. We weren't even give proper silverware, we ate our bone marrow with chopsticks. I have never been more disappointed with the service, especially considering we paid $200 for our meal. I would not recommend this restaurant to anyone.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service1
value1

Food honestly was disappointing . As a c ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Food honestly was disappointing . As a chef myself , I'm sure Morimotos would t be pleased with what we were served .

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3

It was a busy night, so service was a bi ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

It was a busy night, so service was a bit spotty and on the slower side...but the food was amazing!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3

Based on the service we received upon ar ...

vip
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

Based on the service we received upon arrival, zero of our requests being granted, and lack of solutions from the staff -- we will not be returning.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value2

The A5 waygu is always great. The cod we ...

vip
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on August 9, 2016

The A5 waygu is always great. The cod we had was the best fish I have ever eaten!!!

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Excellent food with excellent service. G ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on August 8, 2016

Excellent food with excellent service. Great sushi.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.