About Morimoto - Maui

3550 Wailea Alanui Dr.
Wailea, HI 96753
View Larger Map

Morimoto's contemporary Japanese menu infuses traditional dishes with Western ingredients and preparation techniques. His seasonal and ever-changing selection of raw fish preparations will feature the freshest seafood available as well as locally grown fruits and vegetables from supporting farmers. Morimoto's signature offerings include Toro Tartare, presented in a shallow wooden tray with condiments including crème fraîche, wasabi, avocado, nori paste, chives, crispy rice, and dashi-soy. Tuna Pizza made with raw tuna, anchovy aioli, and jalapeno; Morimoto Sashimi, a terrine of seared Toro, smoked salmon, barbequed eel, tuna and Hamachi served with five different sauces in pipettes.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Japanese, Sushi

Hours of Operation:
Lunch
Daily: 11:30am - 2:00pm

Dinner
Daily: 5:30pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
Wailea Ike Dr.

Dress Code:
Resort Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options

Phone Number:
(808) 243-4766

Website:
http://www.morimotomaui.com/

Catering:
Please contact us directly.

Parking Details:
Complimentary hotel parking with the Andaz valet services.

Executive Chef:
Masaharu Morimoto

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Available for private and semi-private events for 2-160 guests. Please contact us for further information.

Private Dining

Available for private and semi-private events for 2-160 guests.

Morimoto - Maui Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.2

ambience

4.3

value

3.7

noise

Moderate

87% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Most Booked
Maui
Best Restaurants in Wailea ›

Creative Cuisine (29)
Special Occasion (28)
Waterfront (27)
See All
Fit for Foodies (25)
Scenic View (25)
Good for Anniversaries (24)
Tasting Menu (22)
Great for Outdoor Dining (22)
Romantic (20)
Good for a Date (18)
Local Ingredients (16)
Good for Birthdays (16)
Modern Decor (15)
Worth the Drive (14)
Authentic (11)
Open Kitchen (11)
Handcrafted Cocktails (10)
Hot Spot (9)
Great for Lunch (9)
Quiet Conversation (8)
Good for Groups (8)
Healthy (7)
Casual (6)
Good Vegetarian Options (6)
Bar Seating (5)
Notable Wine List (5)
Fun (5)
People Watching (4)
Tapas (4)
Business Meals (4)
Family Style (4)
Seasonal (3)
Spicy (3)
Neighborhood Gem (3)
Outstanding Value (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (2)
Happy Hour (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Cozy (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Organic (1)
Live Music (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Sort By:
S
755 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Service was incredible - our server Scot ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined 2 days ago

Service was incredible - our server Scott ensured we navigated the menu throughout our culinary experience and the supporting wait staff made sure our experience was flawless.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing and creative cuisine from the sp ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 3 days ago

Amazing and creative cuisine from the spicy tuna roll and gyoza with bacon foam, to the fish and rice "bowl" seared table side! Don't forget the donuts for dessert!

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had dinner as a family while staying ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 4 days ago

We had dinner as a family while staying at the Andaz Maui. The food was delicious. Our server, Darcy gave excellent descriptions of all the dishes. The sushi was super fresh. We loved the Wagyu beef carpaccio just melted in your mouth. My favorite was the rock shrimp tempura...a must have dish for sure! You cannot go wrong with any sushi. It all tastes great. This was an outstanding meal!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great ambiance, but unfortunately I feel ...

vip
 (Hawaii)·Dined 5 days ago

Great ambiance, but unfortunately I feel the food is not worth the high prices since there are much better places in Wailea to eat. We will only go again during restaurant week.

Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

The food was excellent. The service was ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 6 days ago

The food was excellent. The service was not of the same caliber as the food. First off, the host knew I had a food allergy as we discussed it when I confirmed. Our server did not have this information for some reason so I was glad I mentioned it directly to him. Our server did not give us information on all of our options. We had the 10-course omakase with wine pairings. We overheard a different waiter tell another table that there was a sake pairing available, which we would have liked to know. During the meal there were 2 courses where the food showed up before the wine, and a course that was dropped off while my husband was in the bathroom so he didn't get to hear what was in it. We were offered coffee before the first dessert course but they forgot about it until we reminded them before the second dessert course. The waiter blamed the forgotten coffee on his assistant, which seemed unprofessional. One final note, the seating is a bit awkward. They have 2-person banquettes that are shared between adjacent 2-person tables. It was not as private as I would have preferred. We will go back for the food but will do a more casual meal next time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3

The omakase menu was fabulous. Charity, ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 30, 2016

The omakase menu was fabulous. Charity, our server, was great. We have been here three times in the past year and the dining experience has been great each time.

Tags: Romantic, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Really disappointing experience. After a ...

vip
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on November 28, 2016

Really disappointing experience. After all the hype the food was just average period the worst part is we had a reservation for 4. And friends of ours happened to be at the restaurant as well. So we sat next to them at the bar. We were then told that because we had a large party they would be adding a 20% tip. This was not something they told us about until after when they presented us with the bills. This is pretty crappy customer service and should have been something that they mentioned to us prior. We did not have a table of 7. We didn't even share checks. On top of that this restaurant decides to give you or not give you your change. Three different checks amongst the entire sushi bar and not one person received any of the change less than $1 that was due them. It seems the restaurant just decides to round your bill in their favor. And keep your change.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1

Service was very slow to start but once ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 23, 2016

Service was very slow to start but once the waiter knew he had our table it was better. We sat outside and the water overflowing from the infinity pool Just above the dining area was quite noisy along with the kids playing football in the pool.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

Food was incredible. Joshua was a terrif ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on November 23, 2016

Food was incredible. Joshua was a terrific server.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

It was lovely and I swear I'm telling th ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on November 22, 2016

It was lovely and I swear I'm telling the truth, not just using my 50

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

One of the best

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on November 21, 2016

One of the best

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent food and service, didn't like ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on November 18, 2016

Excellent food and service, didn't like the social seating where we shared a bench seat with another couple, not that they didn't look like fine people, but they could hear our conversation and we could hear them. A bit weird for $400+ meal. Would eat there again but request a private table

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Service was deplorable on our particular ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on November 17, 2016

Service was deplorable on our particular night, from the hostess to the waiter. We were seated inside so the atmosphere was quite different from the outside seating. It was quite bright and loud. Very disappointed in our experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service1
value1

The A-5 wagyu compared to quality of mea ...

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on November 14, 2016

The A-5 wagyu compared to quality of meats in Japan did not live up to expectations. Even the rib eye was was somewhat disappointing. With both of that said, if you have never been to Japan, it would be recommended to try both pieces. Service was outstanding. If I were to go back, I would try the several coursed dinner.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

I love the Andaz but I'm not a frequent ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on November 13, 2016

I love the Andaz but I'm not a frequent visitor because it's expensive for me and overpriced in my opinion. We dined at Morimoto in this particular night for Wailea Restaurant Week. The portions are relatively small but presentation of the food was fantastic. I really like the ambience and we were lucky to have an outdoor poolside table, which we really enjoyed. I thought the service was stellar and very attentive and friendly. I would return for a special occasion but it's not everyday dining unless you can afford it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value1

An awesome place to dine, great food and ...

vip
 (Hawaii)·Dined on November 12, 2016

An awesome place to dine, great food and friendly staff. We eat here once a month and have never had a complaint.

Tags: Open Kitchen, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Casual, Waterfront, People Watching, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I can get better sushi on this island fo ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on November 11, 2016

I can get better sushi on this island for a lot less without the pretentiousness.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value2

There are many Sushi places in Maui but ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 11, 2016

There are many Sushi places in Maui but Morimoto has to stand out. Creativity on top of great flavors made for an excellent meal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Energetic, busy, noisy at 6 and from the ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on November 11, 2016

Energetic, busy, noisy at 6 and from then on....it is more of a quicker bite than going for the omakase dinner, where you might want a more elegant atmosphere. For that, go to Nobu in Honolulu. This venue is more for the young and restless than the older and sedate, because of the distractions and busi-ness.

The food was lovely, presentation flawless, but a sort of useless plate got in the way when we were reading the menus. As for what we ordered, very bite a delight! Shrimp set a new standard for quality of deliciousness with sauce totally complimentary to the food. Appetizers out of this world, and ditto with the sauces.

We were a bit surprised to find a "service charge" of 18% already added in, but probably because it was Wailea Week 3-course dinner deals? or maybe we don't read the menu correctly? Someone not observant might have added another 18% on top of that....just saying. Maybe because of the noise, we missed the "announcement"?

Unless you're a hotel guest, I suspect your tables won't be in the "better section" on the so-called outdoor area (where you can't see much after dark, but there's probably less clatter.)

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We were celebrating our 25th Anniversary ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on November 10, 2016

We were celebrating our 25th Anniversary and we were greeted with two glasses of free champagne. Escorted to the best table in the restaurant and the service was impeccable. We would recommend the "Chef's Choice" menu for a special occasion. It is a bit pricey but the food and the seven courses were outstanding! Memories were made forever!

Tags: Special Occasion, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Simply outstanding considering it was a ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on November 10, 2016

Simply outstanding considering it was a set menu special. Will love to come back and go for the chef's menu next time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Very disappointed in food, prawns were g ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on November 10, 2016

Very disappointed in food, prawns were gummy and not seasoned well, sushi rolls made up ahead of time. Wine pairing was terrible.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service3
value1

We ordered cocktails, a half bottle sake ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 10, 2016

We ordered cocktails, a half bottle sake, the tartare, wagyu carpaccio, and sushi. The tartare is fine, but a bit gimmicky with all the mix-ins. Wagyu carpaccio was nice and balanced. Their fish seems fine in terms of quality (but not amazing knife skills), but definitely won't provide a revelatory or unique sushi experience for anyone. I'd skip all of the Morimoto sake options, and I would also skip the cocktails, which were unremarkable and just get beer/wine/sake instead. Service was timely, engaging, and knowledgeable--we were prepared for the opposite based on recent yelp reviews. I would probably eat here again if I were staying in the hotel, but wouldn't make the trip if I were on another part of Maui.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4

One of the best meals I have ever had! C ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on November 10, 2016

One of the best meals I have ever had! Cannot wait to get back. We had the Morimoto Sashimi appetizer, the Duck Duck Goose and seafood toban take entrees and the corn side dish. Everything was fabulous! There is so much sake to choose from. Our waiter recommended the flight which was a great idea but ultimately the Morimoto 5 year was my favorite. We also tried the Shochu flight after dinner which is the Japanese version of vodka/whiskey. Not my favorite but can't say I didn't try! (Two of them smelled like tequila which is one liquor I cannot get along with). Waiter was very helpful!

Tags: Authentic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Bar Seating, Waterfront, Modern Decor, Good for a Date, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Our server Terry, had excellent suggesti ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on November 10, 2016

Our server Terry, had excellent suggestions and made the experience great! Thanks Terry for an awesome meal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was fantastic! The salmon in our ro ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on November 9, 2016

Food was fantastic! The salmon in our roll was the best salmon we have EVER had. The sever was a little odd but nothing so bad it ruined the experience.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value4

Great place to celebrate. Views are unbe ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 8, 2016

Great place to celebrate. Views are unbelievable at sunset. Food is spectacular. Recommend the project gyoza with bacon foam, tuna tartare and of course the sushi.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Good food. Tables are very snug. Limited ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 7, 2016

Good food. Tables are very snug. Limited wine list. Unprofessional staff. My wife and I stepped out to enjoy a cigarette and the rudest employee of the restaurant came running out like a bat out of hell on a power trip and attempted to berate me for smoking on the public beach which was around 50 feet from the enclosed restaurant.

Teach your staff some manners. Also, I'm physically disabled and you need to go up or down at least 40 stairs and no offer of a lift.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

Would recommend during restaurant week, ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on November 7, 2016

Would recommend during restaurant week, or a "VERY" special occassion. Otherwise over priced quality food.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Good Vegetarian Options, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

FABULOUS. Divine 10 course tasting menu ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on November 6, 2016

FABULOUS. Divine 10 course tasting menu and cocktails. Amazing service. Never felt rushed even as we closed down the restaurant.

Tags: Waterfront, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Would rate higher but we didn't like the ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on November 5, 2016

Would rate higher but we didn't like the fact that on menu listed ingredients omitting or changing was not allowed. I was told although I had a shellfish allergy when the chef looked at omitting it, he will not substitute he would only omit not replace with something else I liked and not even add more fish instead . The server didn't even ask she said it was a standard policy. When we went for lunch here they were more accommodating, she said that's only for lunch maybe, but dinner menu is not that way. The rest of the service from the staff was wonderful.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Waterfront, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

I anticipated a good food experience fro ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 4, 2016

I anticipated a good food experience from a well known chef, but was disappointed.

 When we arrived, we asked for an outside table, and they said a 10 minute wait, so we went to the bar

The bartender was friendly and attentive

However, once we sat down the service faltered. The waiter asked if we could wait which was OK, but the wait became excessive

 We ordered the beef carpacio which was good. But our main courses arrived and just plucked down without explanation. When we asked a wait staff what was the liquid which accompanied the duck, she didn't know

A glass of wine almost missed the dinner, and the coffee was returned because it was tepid, and the second one missed the dessert

When I refused the second cup because dessert was finished, they said they had to brew a second pot "just for me"

 Actually the best part of the dinner was the doughnut dessert.

The next evening we went to mama's fish house who blew this place out of the water

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2

Our first time at the restaurant we had ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 1, 2016

Our first time at the restaurant we had the chefs tasting menu and it was fantastic. We especially enjoyed the tuna and the surf turf and turf courses. We Loved this place so much we have been back twice!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It's in a beautiful location and the hot ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on October 28, 2016

It's in a beautiful location and the hotel staff were very friendly on escorting us to the restaraunt which is far back behind the resort. We made reservations for 5:30 and we arrived 15 minutes early and were seated at the bar until they could sit us. We didn't get sat until about 5:40. The hostess and staff were excellent. Very friendly and professional! The menu looked fantastic and had great choices. We ordered the bbq eel roll, and the crab roll (not quite sure the exact names) and the octopus carpaccio. The crab roll was fantastic, it was all plated beautifully. After eating half of the eel roll i noticed a dead bug underneath. The staff and management took care of it efficiently and offered new suggestions which were excellent. And the donuts were the BEST dessert I've had in awhile. The dipping sauces were excellent. I'd go back just for those!

Tags: Open Kitchen, Modern Decor, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

The cocktails, food and service were out ...

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on October 27, 2016

The cocktails, food and service were outstanding. So glad we chose this for a birthday celebration. One negative - valet staff were surly.

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great, creative menu! Top notch ingredi ...

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on October 25, 2016

Great, creative menu! Top notch ingredients and excellent service. Thanks for lovely lunch!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails, Sunday Lunch, Local Ingredients, Worth the Drive, Open Kitchen, Healthy, Creative Cuisine, Waterfront, Afternoon Coffee, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Fabulous dining experience. The ambiance ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 25, 2016

Fabulous dining experience. The ambiance was incredible. The wait staff was professional and attentive without being overbearing.The food presentation was exquisite. The food was delicious. My vegan husband left the fold for this meal and said it was well worth his transgression. Chopsticks over forks! One of my favorite places. (Philly as well, though totally different decor ).

Tags: Romantic, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The sushi was fantastic!

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 22, 2016

The sushi was fantastic!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Service was excellent. Food was about th ...

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on October 22, 2016

Service was excellent. Food was about the same flavor and quality as a local sushi place in the states that costs 75% less.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5

Impressed! Great food, beautifully prep ...

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on October 19, 2016

Impressed! Great food, beautifully prepared. Was planning on ordering sushi, but after seeing the menu decided to order a full fish (Branzino) and a Duck main course. both were awesome. Desserts (donuts) are also over the top delicious. Not cheap, but so good!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.