Make a reservation

Party Size
For 2
Date
Thu, 6/21
Time
11:30 PM
icon/ic_social_proofCreated with Sketch.
Booked 72 times today

Morimoto - Maui

4.5
1445 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
$31 to $50
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Japanese
Top Tags:
  • Fit for Foodies
  • Creative Cuisine
  • Special Occasion
Morimoto's contemporary Japanese menu infuses traditional dishes with Western ingredients and preparation techniques. His seasonal and ever-changing selection of raw fish preparations will feature the freshest seafood available as well as locally grown fruits and vegetables from supporting farmers. Morimoto's signature offerings include Toro Tartare, presented in a shallow wooden tray with condiments including crème fraîche, wasabi, avocado, nori paste, chives, crispy rice, and dashi-soy. Tuna Pizza made with raw tuna, anchovy aioli, and jalapeno; Morimoto Sashimi, a terrine of seared Toro, smoked salmon, barbequed eel, tuna and Hamachi served with five different sauces in pipettes.
icon/ic_private_diningCreated with Sketch.
Private dining
Dining Style
Casual Elegant
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Cuisines
Japanese, Sushi
icon/ic_clockCreated with Sketch.
Hours of operation
Lunch
Daily: 11:30am - 2:00pm

Dinner
Daily: 5:30pm - 10:00pm
icon/ic_phoneCreated with Sketch.
Phone number
(808) 243-4766
icon/ic_new_windowCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_dress_codeCreated with Sketch.
Dress code
Resort Casual
icon/ic_chefCreated with Sketch.
Executive chef
Masaharu Morimoto
icon/ic_cateringCreated with Sketch.
Catering
Please contact us directly.
icon/ic_locationCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_neighborhoodCreated with Sketch.
Neighborhood
icon/ic_cross_streetCreated with Sketch.
Cross street
Wailea Ike Dr.
icon/ic_parking_detailsCreated with Sketch.
Parking details
Complimentary hotel parking with the Andaz valet services.
icon/ic_special_eventsCreated with Sketch.
Special events & promotions
Available for private and semi-private events for 2-160 guests. Please contact us for further information.
Additional
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Private Dining

Available for private and semi-private events for 2-160 guests.

View Private Dining Details
What 1445 People Are Saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
4.5based on recent ratings
4.5
food
4.4
service
4.4
ambience
3.8
value
Noise · Moderate
77% of people would recommend it to a friend
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
Sort by
Newest
Filters
2.0Dined on June 15, 2018

The water tasted

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 12, 2018

Justice was amazing .. he took time to explain everything to us and he gave us some awesome Maui tips.. definitely made our day

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on June 10, 2018

Chefs Choice is not recommended

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 9, 2018

We were on our honeymoon and we stayed at the Andaz where Morimoto is located. It was great! The service was great! Joshua was our waiter and he was very nice and helpful. The food was so delicious. My husband got the angry chicken and it was amazing. I ordered a few rolls which were so fresh! So glad we went!!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 7, 2018

If you've never been you missed out big-time!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 5, 2018

Great food, great service and great ambiance

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 3, 2018

Best sushi and best representation of Japanese Cuisine

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 2, 2018

Tip top service, food and ambiance

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 2, 2018

It doesn't get any better if you love authenticity

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on June 2, 2018

On Friday night when my husband and I dined at Morimoto (june 1st) my curry monchong dish was overpowered by the taste and smell of fish sauce, ugh. A little fish sauce goes a long way. It was unappetizing and disappointing. I did not mention it to our server because I did not want to create a negative vibe, especially on our anniversary.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on June 1, 2018

My husband loved his filet but my lobster was black on the inside, probably a sick lobster. I couldn’t eat it. The waitress said it probably needed to be cooked more but it made me lose my appetite. They did take it off the bill but it was very disturbing.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 31, 2018

Inside much noisier than outside. Table was so wide that it was hard to hear person on other side. That said the food and service were fabulous. Authentic Japanese sushi chef - it makes a difference. Wonderful experience.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on May 31, 2018

Sushi was definitely average tasting nothing special. Beautiful restaurant and excellent service. GUI s is deliciousness must try it!!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 30, 2018

Great culinary experience

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on May 30, 2018

Went here while on honeymoon. Was craving sushi and did some research and Morimoto popped up. Ambiance is very nice. However, i was not thrilled with the service and the food was extremely small portions, mediocre in taste as well as overpriced.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on May 30, 2018

The evening started off rough...arrived and had requested outside and they put us inside. It was VERY warm inside and add the Hawaii humidity it was unpleasant. Eventually it cooled off a little to a point where you could tolerate. We just did sushi rolls and they were very good. Great little cocktail menu as well. The donut dessert was off the chain and great. All in all decent place but definitely need to be outside. Felt bad for people next to us paying the big $$ for he chef pairing meal. It looked great but heard them complaining they couldn’t hear the chef because they weren’t speaking loud and inside makes it hard to hear people at your own table.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 30, 2018

Flavourful food!!! Really amazing and attentive service. Beautiful room. Whole experience from entering the restaurant was superb. This has become my favourite restaurant in Maui

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 29, 2018

We were there on our honeymoon and it was absolutely perfect.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 28, 2018

Good service good food especially sushi.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 26, 2018

Service was amazing, food was average....but we only had the calamari salad, shrimp roll, and duck duck goose....so we hadn't tried too much. We sat inside and my only complaint is the outside bar blocks the view.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 25, 2018

We had the 10-course omakase menu. This was our big night out for our honeymoon and it was one of the best meals of our lives.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 24, 2018

Fabulous food, attentive staff, beautiful sunset view

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 22, 2018

Been a fan for a long time, glad we finally showed up! 4 of us had great cocktails and outstanding sushi, sashimi, and rolls. Can't wait to go back to try tasting menu and entrees.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 22, 2018

Lovely setting, great service, knowledgeable waitstaff (Terry was our server and he was fantastic), delicious food!

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on May 20, 2018

Over priced full of itself. Ok sushi etc but nothing I haven't had before. Go on an expense account or just to say you were there. Meyeeh

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on May 19, 2018

We went for our anniversary which was our third time. The sushi I had was great. My wife ordered the Omakase which was terrible she spit food into her napkins on three of the 7 dishes. We were crammed between two other couples which was not romantic. We will find a new place to go next year.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 16, 2018

Small, but delicious! Great cocktails too!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 16, 2018

We both had the Omakase and it was wonderful. Having had it at the old location at the Modern in Honolulu I was very pleased to discover this location on Maui.
We chose to eat here after our wedding guests had all gone back to the mainland and we wanted a nice, romantic location to celebrate together.
Mahalo Morimoto for a perfect evening.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 15, 2018

Absolutely delicious food. We went for the Omakase which was definitely worth it. We got the 9 course option which came with some ridiculously delicious wagyu beef. I felt like the ambiance was like any other hotel restaurant, lots of people in shorts, a little loud nothing special. The wait staff was very attentive and friendly.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 15, 2018

Anniversary

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 15, 2018

Wonderful service! Great menu options with a beautiful ambiance

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on May 14, 2018

The tasting menu left a lot to be imagined. I was thinking it would be more omakase-style, but there was only one sushi course. The sushi and the toro tartar were delicious, but I definitely would stay away from the tasting menu. Big flops included a should've been hot, but was cold, oil to dip vegetables in (cool concept, horrible execution) and weirdly textured chawan.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 14, 2018

Would have rated outstanding, but access for disabled individuals is a NIGHTMARE! Otherwise, an excellent wait staff made the experience pleasurable by accommodating special requests and ensuring our dining experience was outstanding.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 14, 2018

We always love Morimoto Maui. Fresh fish from our favorite fish market, Tsukiji in Tokyo! Great sushi and sashimi platters. Our favorite comfort food is the Duck Meatball soup. We love ending the meal with another soup: Watermelon Gazpacho and Yuzu sorbet. Light and refreshing! Excellent service by the team of David and Keanu!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 13, 2018

The Japanese fare prepared at Morimoto is excellent. Sushi etc, fresh and expertly prepared. I was disappointed in the local sweet corn, hamakua sweet corn dish. In a HAWAII where corn is harvested fresh yearly you would think the chef would know how to prepare. Fresh corn on the cob should pop and be sweet. Not mushed out as if was old corn. Yuck

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on May 13, 2018

It was great food. Although for the price I expected more. The atmosphere was the best.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 12, 2018

Fantastic experience
And that Sea Urchin Carbonara!

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on May 11, 2018

Food was excellent. Waiter was extremely inattentive.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 11, 2018

Awesome food and the server, Petra, was great. Despite the crowds the restaurant was very efficient as I would expect from a Morimoto restaurant. What I didn’t expect was the not so friendly hostess who didn’t even greet us, just said “do you have a reservation?” And the dirty menus. Overall a great experience; but still a little work to be done with staff and attention to detail.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 10, 2018

third time here and did not disappoint. We were able to eat outside at the bar and could not have been happier with the setup. Beautiful view excellent food and ambiance. While it is not the cheapest meal around, it was very reasonable this go. The yellowtail sticky rice number is my favorite and I think i would eat it every night if i could Thanks for another fantastic meal!

Report
Helpful
1
2
3
37

Tweets by Morimoto - Maui