About Morgan's in the Desert

Waldorf Astoria Laquinta Resort & Spa
49-499 Eisenhower Drive
La Quinta, CA 92253
View Larger Map

Morgan’s in the desert welcomes guests for dinner with Contemporary American Cuisine, boutique new world wines, crafted vintage cocktails, and live entertainment. Join us at the piano bar, in the hacienda dining room or on the fire-lit courtyard. Join us for a relaxed yet refined dining and cocktail experience.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American, Steak, Seafood

Hours of Operation:


Dinner: Nightly 5:30PM- 10:00 PM

Cocktails: Nightly 5:00PM - 11:00PM

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(760) 564-7600

Website:
http://www.morgansinthedesert.com/

Catering:
For Catering information contact:
Tatiana Yturralde
direct: 760-777-5821
fax: 760.777-5811
email: Tatiana.yturralde@waldorfastoriat.com
www.laquintaresort.com ● www.pgawest.com

Parking Details:
Complimentary Valet and Self Parking.

Executive Chef:
Jae Ho Bang

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cocktails, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Throughout the year we offer prix-fixe food festival menus, each highlighting a unique ingredient such as Meyer Lemon, Blue Mussels and Morel Mushrooms.

Specials

RON PASS AT PIANO

Saturdays, Tuesdays, Wednesdays, Thursdays and Fridays from 7:00 PM - 10:00 PM

Specials

RON PASS AT PIANO

Saturdays, Tuesdays, Wednesdays, Thursdays and Fridays from 7:00 PM - 10:00 PM

Details

Excludes Tax and Tip. Special valid Oct 1, 2016 - Feb 1, 2017 on Saturdays, Tuesdays, Wednesdays, Thursdays and Fridays from 7:00 PM - 10:00 PM.

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

Dining at La Quinta Resort and PGA WEST feeds the senses. The aromatic essences of freshly prepared, locally sourced ingredients emanate from richly colorful dishes that are a feast for the eyes. Whatever your taste in dining, La Quinta Resort and PGA WEST serves an unforgettable experience.

Morgan's in the Desert Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.5

ambience

4.7

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Ambiance
Palm Springs / Palm Desert Cities
American
Palm Springs / Palm Desert Cities
Most Booked 1000-Point Tables
Palm Springs / Palm Desert Cities
3 More
Best Ambiance
Palm Springs / Palm Desert
American
Palm Springs / Palm Desert
Most Booked 1000-Point Tables
Palm Springs / Palm Desert
Best Restaurants in La Quinta ›

Romantic (27)
Fit for Foodies (25)
Special Occasion (24)
See All
Good for a Date (21)
Creative Cuisine (20)
Great for Outdoor Dining (18)
Good for Anniversaries (17)
Notable Wine List (15)
Historic (15)
Local Ingredients (12)
Good for Birthdays (12)
Fireplace (10)
Worth the Drive (10)
Neighborhood Gem (9)
Casual (8)
Good for Groups (7)
Quiet Conversation (7)
Authentic (7)
Scenic View (7)
Cozy (7)
Handcrafted Cocktails (7)
Bar Seating (6)
Live Music (6)
Business Meals (5)
Tasting Menu (4)
Hot Spot (4)
Vibrant Bar Scene (3)
Molecular Gastronomy (3)
Seasonal (3)
Fun (3)
People Watching (3)
Disabled Access (3)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Organic (2)
Great for Lunch (2)
Kid-friendly (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Vegan (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Spicy (1)
Private Room (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Healthy (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Sort By:
S
1002 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Lovely spot with very good, but not grea ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined 4 days ago

Lovely spot with very good, but not great food. Waitstaff was too attentive for our tastes. Maybe just because it was a quiet night.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value2

Mediocre overpriced food. The soup was ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined 6 days ago

Mediocre overpriced food. The soup was great. Husband's fish was overcooked and got sent back. It was good when the new one came back out of the kitchen but only arrived once I was done with my meal. The hearts of romaine salad was overdressed and very tiny. My salmon was fine. Nothing special.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value1

We enjoyed an absolutely incredible Than ...

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on November 24, 2016

We enjoyed an absolutely incredible Thanksgiving lunch! The food was delicious, and the service was outstanding!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had an amazing meal and a really nice ...

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on November 21, 2016

We had an amazing meal and a really nice time.

The service was great and the carrot soup was incredible.

We will be back and soon!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Wonderful outdoor dining experience unde ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 20, 2016

Wonderful outdoor dining experience under cozy heat lamps for a special weekend with family at La Quinta Resort. Delicious food, from starters to entrees, especially the pan-seared scallops! Our waitress was extremely professional and attentive.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Fireplace
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Attentive service, pleasant ambiance, re ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 17, 2016

Attentive service, pleasant ambiance, reasonable wine list, and a varied and well thought out menu.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Tuna was magnificent. Sommelier recommen ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on November 16, 2016

Tuna was magnificent. Sommelier recommended a great wine to pair with our dinner. Bartender made a great martini.

Tags: Business Meals, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Morgan's is located within the La Quinta ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on November 13, 2016

Morgan's is located within the La Quinta Inn (now a Waldorf Astoria). We were seated right away at a table that gave us an in-door / out-door experience. Our waiter was inexperienced but made up for it with enthusiasm and friendly service. The food was well-prepared with several unique options. I had the coriander halibut. My wife had the scallops served over squash-filled ravioli. We both enjoyed an after dinner drink (a highlight). I had a Key Lime Pie martini; my wife had a thin mint cocktail. Both were excellent and a good substitute for a heavier dessert. I recommend Morgan's for the ambience, the food, and the overall experience.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Cozy, Historic, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Beautiful setting. The service was frien ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on November 13, 2016

Beautiful setting. The service was friendly and attentive.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

The check and experience was not smooth ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on November 13, 2016

The check and experience was not smooth they did know what to do... waitstaff was very aloof floating around pretending to be busy.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2

Eating at Morgan’s in the desert is like ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on November 13, 2016

Eating at Morgan’s in the desert is like dining inside a beautiful emerald, sparkling by the fire - a beautiful western setting and a visual taste of old La Quinta and Coachella Valley. Morgan’s has a distinct menu of creative, contemporary, but deliciously intriguing combinations using local ingredients. First class chef Jimmy Schmidt and his professional assistants’ expertise shows in the fresh taste combinations across the menu. Warm, respectful staff and excellent service.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Worth the Drive, Fireplace, Fun, Casual, Vegan, Gluten Free Options, Fit for Foodies, Organic, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Great for Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Tasting Menu, Notable Wine List, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My pork chops tasted great! I was concer ...

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on November 8, 2016

My pork chops tasted great! I was concerned about having them too pink! My whole plate looked like oil! I didn't say anything because it was an anniversary dinner and didn't want to blow the evening. Ice cream was ok! The place just seemed overwhelmed for some reason. Staff & waiters always accompanied our needs. Just a heads up.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

Morgans has really gone downhill. It was ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined on November 8, 2016

Morgans has really gone downhill. It was terrific when it first opened, but now it just seems to be another high priced "resort" restaurant with substandard food. We are local, but won't be back unless we hear future glowing reviews and a revamp of the menu and possibly new chef. NY steak was as thin as something you'd get with a steak and eggs breakfast at Denny's. Pasta dish with vegetables was a mixture of strange flavors. Will say the beet salad and one of the special feature salads were both very good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service4
value2

We went there for our 40th wedding anniv ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on November 5, 2016

We went there for our 40th wedding anniversary and were vety happy with the service snd the quality of the food. Exceptional mael!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We celebrated an anniversary dinner and ...

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on November 4, 2016

We celebrated an anniversary dinner and were very happy about the great service, food and wine recommendations, that "Sal" provided. Thumbs up!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food, ambiance, and service all were gre ...

vip
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on October 30, 2016

Food, ambiance, and service all were great. Only negative was there was a wedding in a room adjacent to the restaurant so you could hear the bass thumping.

One tip, make sure to request an outdoor table in advance if you'd like one.

Tags: Special Occasion, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great food and service! Indoor and outdo ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 29, 2016

Great food and service! Indoor and outdoor dinning available. Great bar with piano music ! The pork chop with eggplant and onions was excellent my wife had the coho salmon over risotto was also very tasty.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Had reservations for 4... hostess tried ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 24, 2016

Had reservations for 4... hostess tried seating at table for 6 when there was numerous tables for 4 available. Server took our drink order and wine order. Brought us Chardonnay when we ordered Cabernet. We told it wrong wine, he insisted it is what we ordered and proceeded to tell us the number(612). I showed him menu and 612 is Cabernet. Oh he says! Manager brought out another bottle and started to pour... my husband asked to see the label... it too was wrong although it was a red. He told this this was better!!??? Food was tasty, but not very warm! Dessert took forever to come and then it was wrong! It was not a busy night (Sunday) we will try again because it is a lovely setting and food was good except for temperature!

S Breed

Tags: Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value3

This is a review for Thanksgiving

vip
 (Vancouver)·Dined on October 23, 2016

This is a review for Thanksgiving

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service1
value4

A very enjoyable experience. The staff ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 23, 2016

A very enjoyable experience. The staff was extremely nice and the food was delicious! The setting is very comfortable and elegant. We would recommend this place to anyone and look forward to our next trip to the area to dine there again.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Beautiful restaurant with great service ...

vip
 (London)·Dined on October 22, 2016

Beautiful restaurant with great service & food at historic beautiful La Quinta Resort.

Tags: Good for a Date, Live Music, Fit for Foodies, Vibrant Bar Scene, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

Beautiful patio dining. Attentive, know ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on October 21, 2016

Beautiful patio dining. Attentive, knowledgable waiter. Cauliflower soup was very good; brussel sprout starter was ok; pork chop in fig reduction was good - I expected a more tender piece of meat; wife had braised short ribs which were flavorful but very fatty. We skipped dessert. Over-priced at $300 including wine and tip.

Tags: Business Meals, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

Outstanding oysters ...fab wine list...c ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on October 19, 2016

Outstanding oysters ...fab wine list...creative pumpkin pairing on a special night ...relaxing environment and music...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Ted and staff went above and beyond to e ...

vip
 (Orange County)·Dined on October 19, 2016

Ted and staff went above and beyond to ensure my birthday dinner celebration was a complete success. The attention to details and their warm and considerate service made it a memorable evening! I always visit when in town, and look forward to my next repast with you!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Historic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Fireplace
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It is our favorite place in the desert. ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on October 19, 2016

It is our favorite place in the desert. Live piano music five noghts a week.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Fun, Cozy, Live Music, Great for Outdoor Dining, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Historic, Fireplace, Gluten Free Options, Creative Cuisine, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was a horrid dining experience. We ...

vip
 (Orange County)·Dined on October 16, 2016

This was a horrid dining experience. We planned to celebrate my wife's birthday and it was noted by the hostess when we arrived. However that was the only indication that the restaurant knew it was a special occasion. We enjoyed our cocktails, but that was the extent of any enjoyment for the evening. My wife's "delicious" pork chop (as described by our waitress) was so salty it was inedible. So - it was replaced by another salty pork chop - also inedible. By that time, I had finished my scallops (dining alone) & my wife had a fig sauce and crackers for her birthday dinner. We actually live close and dine here several times a year, but this will be our last time. Service was minimal - we were one of only three tables seated inside and personnel were running past us to get to the outside tables. (Oh - the dog actually enjoyed the $38 pork chop)

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1
value1

Sat on the patio the night was so lovely ...

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on October 14, 2016

Sat on the patio the night was so lovely. Very helpful with special requests. Perfect place to visit with friends

Tags: Good for a Date, Fun, Good for Birthdays, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

They offer the perfect dining experience ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on October 14, 2016

They offer the perfect dining experience in every way.

Tags: Romantic, Bar Seating, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Morgan's features its "food festivals" t ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on October 9, 2016

Morgan's features its "food festivals" throughout the year and the prix fixe menus are consistently superb. My wife and I enjoyed the Diver Sea Scallop Festival with the paired wines this past Sunday evening and we were certainly not disappointed. Our first course featured jumbo sea scallops pounded thin like ravioli to enclose Maine Lobster with ginger froth and a crispy ginger salad. Our second course of Maine sea scallops nested in hand cut linguine with flavors including sweet garlic, parmesan froth, rose tears and garlic chives. Despite the molecular bent to many of the festival entrees it all comes together and the portions are particularly generous. We enjoyed a patio table in the far corner of the restaurant which enjoys a more flattering and less illuminated lighting scheme than the rest of the restaurant. The wine pairings included an unoaked South African chardonnay and rose of mourvedre from Washington State. This is a special place for late evening dining and I highly recommend Morgan's.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

Excellent starters. Scallop main course ...

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on October 8, 2016

Excellent starters. Scallop main course overwhelmed by sauce. Tuna excellent. Service very good, all the staff very helpful. Good wine list.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

The duck was one of the best entrees I h ...

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on October 5, 2016

The duck was one of the best entrees I have ever eaten!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

Talk about an experience. I've never had ...

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on October 5, 2016

Talk about an experience. I've never had seafood in the desert and didn't question how "fresh" it was. Our service was amazing, however I could tell after a certain hour he dining room was getting a little overwhelmed as other tables waited longer than we had. I still will rate this 5 stars because how wonderful an experience we had.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

What a fantastic dining experience! Thi ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on October 2, 2016

What a fantastic dining experience! This was our 3rd time at Morgan's, and it just keeps getting better and better. In our opinion, the best dining choice in the Valley!! Amazing food, unbeatable service and incredible ambiance. Morgan's captures the essence of the Valley and artfully blends old-world class with a hip, sophisticated atmosphere and an enlightened and forward-thinking menu. Thank you for a great anniversary dinner, and we look forward to our next opportunity to join you.

Tags: Good for a Date, Hot Spot, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a wonderful dinner at Morgans. ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on October 1, 2016

We had a wonderful dinner at Morgans. We shared the appetizer and entrée special. Everything was wonderful and the wait staff was excellent. Will not hesitate to go again while in Palm Desert.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Need to improve on their steaks, the wor ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on September 25, 2016

Need to improve on their steaks, the worst steak and eggs in Vegas or at norms are much more better. For the price, it should be comparable to Ruth Chris steak , Peter Luger, Bobby Vans.

Yes, we know our steaks and this is so bad, dry, burned ( requested charge) , tough. Expecting prime cuts of meat. My husband cannot eat the steak and both the waitress and manager offered him something which was the short rib, but still was not good. When we were going to pay (expect at least just the bill for my husband, because he did not eat anything), but the manager took the bill completely (that is class act). But definitely need to look into their quality of food specially their meats.

Tags: Casual
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service5
value1

We love the food and superior service

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 23, 2016

We love the food and superior service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Outstanding food, Exemplary Service, Lov ...

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on September 21, 2016

Outstanding food, Exemplary Service, Lovely Atmosphere! Made a reservation to celebrate our anniversary while visiting the desert. From the minute we walked in the door we were gracefully greeted by the hostess, Ariel. She seated us in a lovely location near the fireplace. Our waiter, Steve, was next to promptly greet us. He shared the menu items and recommendations. Started of with a perfectly made godiva chocolate martini. Hubby had a grey goose martini. We decided to try the Apple Festival menu, a three course meal paired with wine, and we were so glad we did. For starters we had Apple and Chanterelle Risotto laced with Wagyu Bacon and Manchego paired with Viognier. It's not your typical risotto, it's made with apple. It was unique and delicious. For entree we had Pan Roasted Apple Cider Cured Duck Breast atop Carmelized Empire Apple Confit Plumped Ravioli paired with Pinot Noir. Not your typical ravioli, it is made from apple. It was to die for! The duck was cooked to perfection. The wine pairing was spot on and went well with our meal. For desert we had Apple Cinnamon Mini Donut Poppers drizzled with Cinnamon Brittle, with Apple Jack Caramel Ice Cream. Loved it! Our dining experience and the service we received was top notch. Steve did an excellent job of making sure we were well taken care, and his recommendations were spot on! Anthony & Mario also did an excellent job of making sure we were well taken care of. They were very friendly and personable. Thanks to all of the staff for going above and beyond. We loved this place so much we plan to go back soon. This restaurant is definitely fit for us foodies and our foodie friends. We will be back!

Tags: Organic, Romantic, Creative Cuisine
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great creative local food. The entrees w ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 15, 2016

Great creative local food. The entrees were huge. So huge, we couldn't finished our plates. Otherwise, a great romantic dinner.

Tags: Casual, Fireplace, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Outstanding Value, Good Vegetarian Options, Worth the Drive, Local Ingredients, Vibrant Bar Scene, Historic, Disabled Access, Notable Wine List, Great for Outdoor Dining, Spicy, Neighborhood Gem, Tasting Menu, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Went for 5th Anniversary and all the sta ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on September 11, 2016

Went for 5th Anniversary and all the staff made sure it was a beautiful dinner as we celebrated. We had the Halibut and the Salmon every bite was delicious!

Tags: Good for Groups, Good Vegetarian Options, Special Occasion, Live Music, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Your characterization of "energetic" is ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on September 11, 2016

Your characterization of "energetic" is not enough to describe really noisy.

Food and service were wonderful, but not a great setting for conversation, which is primarily what we wanted over excellent food.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.