About Morgan's in the Desert

Waldorf Astoria Laquinta Resort & Spa
49-499 Eisenhower Drive
La Quinta, CA 92253
View Larger Map

Morgan’s in the desert, by James Beard Award winning Chef Jimmy Schmidt, welcomes guests for dinner with Contemporary American Cuisine, boutique new world wines, crafted vintage cocktails, and live entertainment. Join us at the piano bar, in the hacienda dining room or on the fire-lit courtyard. Join us for a relaxed yet refined dining or cocktail experience.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American, Steak, Seafood

Hours of Operation:


Dinner: Nightly 5:30PM - 10:00 PM

Cocktails: Nightly 5:00PM - 11:00PM

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(760) 564-4111

Website:
http://www.morgansinthedesert.com/

Catering:
For Catering information contact:
Tatiana Yturralde
direct: 760-777-5821
fax: 760.777-5811
email: tyturralde@laquintaresort.com
www.laquintaresort.com ● www.pgawest.com

Parking Details:
Valet or Resort Self Parking

Executive Chef:
Jimmy Schmidt

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Throughout the year we offer prix-fixe food festival menus, each highlighting a unique ingredient such as Meyer Lemon, Blue Mussels and Morel Mushrooms.

Join us for our monthly interactive wine and food dinners throughout the Spring of 2013.

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

See availability for 1000 point tables

Details
Daily 5:00PM - 6:00PM 8:30PM - 10:00PM

Private Dining

Dining at La Quinta Resort and PGA WEST feeds the senses. The aromatic essences of freshly prepared, locally sourced ingredients emanate from richly colorful dishes that are a feast for the eyes. Whatever your taste in dining, La Quinta Resort and PGA WEST serves an unforgettable experience.

Morgan's in the Desert Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.7

ambience

4.6

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Service
Palm Springs / Palm Desert Cities
Best Ambiance
Palm Springs / Palm Desert Cities
American
Palm Springs / Palm Desert Cities
5 More
Most Booked 1000-Point Tables
Palm Springs / Palm Desert Cities
Best Service
Palm Springs / Palm Desert
Best Ambiance
Palm Springs / Palm Desert
American
Palm Springs / Palm Desert
Most Booked 1000-Point Tables
Palm Springs / Palm Desert
Best Restaurants in La Quinta ›

Special Occasion (40)
Romantic (40)
Notable Wine List (31)
See All
Fit for Foodies (29)
Great for Outdoor Dining (19)
Good for Groups (15)
Neighborhood Gem (13)
Vibrant Bar Scene (9)
Scenic View (6)
Hot Spot (5)
Kid-friendly (3)
Great for Lunch (3)
Great for Brunch (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Sort By:
Newest
952 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Server was not very attentive

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

Server was not very attentive

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3

Morgan´s is a wonderful place. We love ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

Morgan´s is a wonderful place. We love to eat there when we are in the desert. There are just two remarks that I wish to make. First, the menu is short on choices for vegans and vegetarians. That is a pitty. Second, whilst the waiters are polite, some of them have forgotten to be spontaneous. It sometimes sounds more like acting than as serving with real kindness.

Tags: Hot Spot, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

I will not deny this place is pricey, bu ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

I will not deny this place is pricey, but the food is always fresh and amazing so it is worth it. Very good service in a beautiful and relaxing space. We make sure to eat here on our last night any time we stay at the La Quinta Resort. I had the cold soup special to start, which was interesting and different, and my husband had the beet salad which he loved. We then went for the simple prime steaks, which were fantastic (New York and Rib Eye) with a vegetable and the paprika smoked fries as our shared sides. Ended the meal with a light raspberry sorbet. All in all, the perfect meal to end our relaxing stay!

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Went with friends Friday evening for the ...

vip
 (Palm Springs)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Went with friends Friday evening for the special Sweet Corn and Lobster 3 course dinner starting with a savory Maine lobster and sea scallop corn wrap taco followed by poached Maine lobster tail accompanied by a wonderful corn risotto and finished off with a Kettle Corn ice cream parfait. All served beautifully with great execution and attention to detail.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Food was outstanding and the service pro ...

vip
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Food was outstanding and the service provided by Steve unbeatable

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The food was divine. The mixing of flavo ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

The food was divine. The mixing of flavors especially with the beef dishes was tremendous. Good desserts and the service was excellent and amazingly prompt and very helpful. I highly recommend this restaurant to anyone who wants the palette to experience greatness.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

One of our favorite spots in the Palm De ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

One of our favorite spots in the Palm Desert area. Great food, excellent service, and a definite repeat everytime we make it out to La Quinta.

Tags: Romantic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We are locals, and chose to celebrate ou ...

 
 (Orange County)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

We are locals, and chose to celebrate our wedding anniversary at Morgan's. It was truly one of the most special dining experiences we have had in years. Our server Marilinn was wonderful... Impeccable service! The manager Ted was attentive from start to finish, making sure everything was perfect...and it was! We highly recommend Morgan's for celebrating a special occasion...or to make any meal feel like a special occasion.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Morgan's is an excellent restaurant. Th ...

vip
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on August 4, 2016

Morgan's is an excellent restaurant. The manager stopped by and was very friendly and made sure our experience was great. We enjoy the ambiance, the food is always good and the staff is top notch. Would recommend this restaurant to anyone.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

The garlic festival menu was tremendous! ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on August 3, 2016

The garlic festival menu was tremendous! Everything was excellent from the entree, wine and dessert. The service was outstanding.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A very nice and comfortable place to eat ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

A very nice and comfortable place to eat, will recommend to all fam to go.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Overall excellent but the food maybe a l ...

 
 (Palm Springs)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

Overall excellent but the food maybe a little too complex

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5

Our favorite restaurant in the desert. N ...

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

Our favorite restaurant in the desert. Not pretentious, but the staff treats you like royalty.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We went to Morgan's for our anniversary. ...

vip
 (Palm Springs)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

We went to Morgan's for our anniversary. We recently moved to the desert and live down the street from the resort. We have been wanting to go there for some time but had heard mixed reviews. we loved it! Food was excellent, probably the best we have had since we moved here from San Francisco. The chef was creative and cooked outside the box. Our waitress, Melanie was terrific. Everything was perfect! My husband had the Halibut and I had the ahi tuna. The carpaccio app was excellent. We will be back...and soon!!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great spot, incredible food, amazing ser ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Great spot, incredible food, amazing service, live piano music- love it!!

Tags: Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I had the Mangalista Bacon salad. the dr ...

vip
 (Orange County)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

I had the Mangalista Bacon salad. the dressing was so tart that it was ineditable.

I just wasn't that impressed with the food overall.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value3

We were disappointed in the food. The m ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

We were disappointed in the food. The main dishes were over seasoned. The salad had too much balsamic vinegar. We could not taste the pork.

The wait staff were wonderful and attentive without being overbearing.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value3

Have stayed at the hotel many times but ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

Have stayed at the hotel many times but first time in Morgan's . Food was superb and beautifully presented. Creative menu and very well designed dishes. Best meal I have enjoyed in a long time. Truly memorable.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I could not be happier with our experien ...

 
 (Palm Springs)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

I could not be happier with our experience at Morgan's. The food was as amazing as we anticipated it would be, but the service is what really shined. Parker, our server, went above and beyond to make sure we were well taken care of and they even threw in dessert to congratulate us on our upcoming baby (the reason for the dinner). I can't recommend Morgan's highly enough and will certainly be coming back again.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Our server, Steve Parker, provided a le ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

Our server, Steve Parker, provided a level of service that was exemplary. His descriptions of the menu items were detailed and he shared the chef's inspiration for each dish. He paid rapt attention to our table without being overbearing. Food amazing, first class service - we're going back soon.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Morgan's does a good job and always deli ...

vip
 (Palm Springs)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

Morgan's does a good job and always delivers. Would recommend them to my friends and family.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

Loved the bar area!!! Dinner was fantast ...

 
 (Palm Springs)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

Loved the bar area!!! Dinner was fantastic... Can't wait to go back👍

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

WE have eaten at MANY restaurants in the ...

vip
 (Palm Springs)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

WE have eaten at MANY restaurants in the Coachella Valley, and this ends up on the TOP of our list. It was GREAT. Enjoy!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent service, great food, great win ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on June 23, 2016

Excellent service, great food, great wine. We had a terrific time.

Tags: Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best soup, stake & duck dishes ever had. ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on June 22, 2016

Best soup, stake & duck dishes ever had....really! Full of flavors!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

great food, service and wine....also awe ...

 
 (Palm Springs)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

great food, service and wine....also awesome desserts!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This restaurant was so phenomenal. Every ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

This restaurant was so phenomenal. Every dish that we ordered was absolutely incredible. The flavors were amazing in everything that we tasted. The servers were outstanding, friendly, and outgoing. I would recommend Morgan's to every person. It's a must try!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

As always, food and service were fabulou ...

 
 (Palm Springs)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

As always, food and service were fabulous. We have dined at this restaurant for years. On special occasions (birthday/anniversary) we always take a special bottle of wine from our cellar. We have never been charged a corkage fee before so were shocked to see a $30 charge for corkage fee. I think restaurants should be thankful to customers who dine with them and come for the food. $30 is over the top! They lost points with us that evening. Will be looking for a new "favorite" spot for special occasions.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

The food and service were outstanding! A ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 10, 2016

The food and service were outstanding! All of our food was amazing but the short rib stood out. It just melted in your mouth. Also, make sure you don't skip dessert. The buttered popcorn ice cream parfait was spectacular. This was by far the best meal we had in Palm Springs.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Best food at that end of the valley. Hig ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on May 30, 2016

Best food at that end of the valley. High level dining experience. Worth the upper end price.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Wonderful meal for a special occasion

vip
 (San Diego)
·Dined on May 30, 2016

We celebrated our anniversary on a busy weekend night. Sat on the patio as the restaurant was full at our desired time, which was good, because the inside was a bit energetic. The patio was lovely on a warm evening, and our server made us feel special. We enjoyed an heirloom tomato salad, cauliflower soup (not my wife's favorite version), and most excellent salmon and halibut. The bill with two cocktails and one glass of wine was $150, and they comped us dessert since it was our anniversary. This may be overall the nicest place in the area - it certainly has good food, and we would return for another special occasion.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Outstanding menu selections. Superb wine ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on May 29, 2016

Outstanding menu selections. Superb wine and drink menu. Gracious and attentive service.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Beautiful place to dine inside or out! ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on May 27, 2016

Beautiful place to dine inside or out! Highly recommend.. Always delicious food and warm atmosphere..

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent staff. Superb food.

 
 (Louisville)
·Dined on May 25, 2016

Excellent staff. Superb food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Top place, great food, atmosphere

vip
 (San Diego)
·Dined on May 15, 2016

Top place, great food, atmosphere

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3

The Sommelier!!!!!!

vip
 (Palm Springs)
·Dined on May 13, 2016

Morgan’s is still the best Restaurant in La Quinta and all of Coachella Valley! They are so lucky to have a wonderful, knowledgeable Sommelier in Lisa. She made the evening wonderful with her wine recommendations. Of course, the chef made it wonderful as usual too!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Kid-friendly, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Mothers Day Dinner

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on May 9, 2016

Excellent food and outdoor patio option for fine dining. Short Ribs were incredible. No complaints!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Anniversary Dinner

 
 (Palm Springs)
·Dined on May 7, 2016

We loved the feel of the restaurant when we entered. It was a cool and cloudy night, so there were very few people on the patio, and the doors were closed. It looked like an outside table would be fantastic (weather permitting). Service was excellent, and the food was very good . . . I had the sea scallops, and my wife had the shrimp dish. We had wine with our dinners, which was very good and fairly priced. The only slight negative is we thought the menu was somewhat limited. But, we would definitely dine at Morgan's again, and try other items on the menu.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

Great food, great service.

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on May 7, 2016

Great food, great service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

morel mushroom festival

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on May 7, 2016

I was truly disappointed when I arrived specifically within the stated time frame of dates for their special Morel Mushroom Festival only to be told that it has ended 5 days earlier. I came home, looked at the dates on the email blast I had received, and I was well within the time frame.

I called the restaurant manager and he indicated they had run out of morels. I understand that can happen, but then why not notify the people who have reservations, or send out an eblast they you have run out so those of us who are going specifically for that meal can decide if they still want to come. Very disappointing since this has happened to me previously on a Special dinner festival.

Otherwise, we love the restaurant. It's our neighborhood favorite, but something needs to be done about their special dinners. I'm reluctant to book any more of them.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value2

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.