About Morgan's in the Desert

Waldorf Astoria Laquinta Resort & Spa
49-499 Eisenhower Drive
La Quinta, CA 92253
View Larger Map

Morgan’s in the desert, by James Beard Award winning Chef Jimmy Schmidt, welcomes guests for dinner with Contemporary American Cuisine, boutique new world wines, crafted vintage cocktails, and live entertainment. Join us at the piano bar, in the hacienda dining room or on the fire-lit courtyard. Join us for a relaxed yet refined dining or cocktail experience.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American, Steak, Seafood

Hours of Operation:


Dinner: Nightly 5:30PM - 10:00 PM

Cocktails: Nightly 5:00PM - 11:00PM

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(760) 564-7600

Website:
http://www.morgansinthedesert.com/

Catering:
For Catering information contact:
Tatiana Yturralde
direct: 760-777-5821
fax: 760.777-5811
email: Tatiana.yturralde@waldorfastoriat.com
www.laquintaresort.com ● www.pgawest.com

Parking Details:
Valet or Resort Self Parking

Executive Chef:
Jimmy Schmidt

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cocktails, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Throughout the year we offer prix-fixe food festival menus, each highlighting a unique ingredient such as Meyer Lemon, Blue Mussels and Morel Mushrooms.

Specials

RON PASS AT PIANO

Saturdays, Tuesdays, Wednesdays, Thursdays and Fridays from 7:00 PM - 10:00 PM

1,000-Point Tables

Specials

RON PASS AT PIANO

Saturdays, Tuesdays, Wednesdays, Thursdays and Fridays from 7:00 PM - 10:00 PM

Details

Excludes Tax and Tip. Special valid Oct 1, 2016 - Feb 1, 2017 on Saturdays, Tuesdays, Wednesdays, Thursdays and Fridays from 7:00 PM - 10:00 PM.

1,000-Point Tables

See availability for 1000 point tables

Details
Daily 5:00PM - 6:00PM 8:30PM - 10:00PM

Private Dining

Dining at La Quinta Resort and PGA WEST feeds the senses. The aromatic essences of freshly prepared, locally sourced ingredients emanate from richly colorful dishes that are a feast for the eyes. Whatever your taste in dining, La Quinta Resort and PGA WEST serves an unforgettable experience.

Morgan's in the Desert Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.7

ambience

4.7

value

4.4

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Palm Springs / Palm Desert Cities
Best Food
Palm Springs / Palm Desert Cities
Best Service
Palm Springs / Palm Desert Cities
13 More
Best Ambiance
Palm Springs / Palm Desert Cities
Notable Wine List
Palm Springs / Palm Desert Cities
Romantic
Palm Springs / Palm Desert Cities
American
Palm Springs / Palm Desert Cities
Most Booked 1000-Point Tables
Palm Springs / Palm Desert Cities
Best Overall
Palm Springs / Palm Desert
Best Food
Palm Springs / Palm Desert
Best Service
Palm Springs / Palm Desert
Best Ambiance
Palm Springs / Palm Desert
Notable Wine List
Palm Springs / Palm Desert
Romantic
Palm Springs / Palm Desert
American
Palm Springs / Palm Desert
Most Booked 1000-Point Tables
Palm Springs / Palm Desert
Best Restaurants in La Quinta ›

Special Occasion (33)
Romantic (32)
Fit for Foodies (24)
See All
Notable Wine List (21)
Good for Groups (12)
Great for Outdoor Dining (12)
Good for Anniversaries (10)
Creative Cuisine (10)
Neighborhood Gem (9)
Good for a Date (9)
Local Ingredients (7)
Vibrant Bar Scene (6)
Historic (6)
Scenic View (5)
Fireplace (5)
Handcrafted Cocktails (4)
Authentic (4)
Casual (3)
Quiet Conversation (3)
Hot Spot (3)
Bar Seating (3)
Good for Birthdays (3)
Seasonal (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Live Music (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
People Watching (2)
Worth the Drive (2)
Great for Lunch (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (2)
Business Meals (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Private Room (1)
Cozy (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Spicy (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Organic (1)
Sort By:
Newest
967 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

We love the food and superior service

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined 5 days ago

We love the food and superior service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Outstanding food, Exemplary Service, Lov ...

 
 (Orlando)
·Dined 7 days ago

Outstanding food, Exemplary Service, Lovely Atmosphere! Made a reservation to celebrate our anniversary while visiting the desert. From the minute we walked in the door we were gracefully greeted by the hostess, Ariel. She seated us in a lovely location near the fireplace. Our waiter, Steve, was next to promptly greet us. He shared the menu items and recommendations. Started of with a perfectly made godiva chocolate martini. Hubby had a grey goose martini. We decided to try the Apple Festival menu, a three course meal paired with wine, and we were so glad we did. For starters we had Apple and Chanterelle Risotto laced with Wagyu Bacon and Manchego paired with Viognier. It's not your typical risotto, it's made with apple. It was unique and delicious. For entree we had Pan Roasted Apple Cider Cured Duck Breast atop Carmelized Empire Apple Confit Plumped Ravioli paired with Pinot Noir. Not your typical ravioli, it is made from apple. It was to die for! The duck was cooked to perfection. The wine pairing was spot on and went well with our meal. For desert we had Apple Cinnamon Mini Donut Poppers drizzled with Cinnamon Brittle, with Apple Jack Caramel Ice Cream. Loved it! Our dining experience and the service we received was top notch. Steve did an excellent job of making sure we were well taken care, and his recommendations were spot on! Anthony & Mario also did an excellent job of making sure we were well taken care of. They were very friendly and personable. Thanks to all of the staff for going above and beyond. We loved this place so much we plan to go back soon. This restaurant is definitely fit for us foodies and our foodie friends. We will be back!

Tags: Organic, Romantic, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great creative local food. The entrees w ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on September 15, 2016

Great creative local food. The entrees were huge. So huge, we couldn't finished our plates. Otherwise, a great romantic dinner.

Tags: Casual, Fireplace, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Outstanding Value, Good Vegetarian Options, Worth the Drive, Local Ingredients, Vibrant Bar Scene, Historic, Disabled Access, Notable Wine List, Great for Outdoor Dining, Spicy, Neighborhood Gem, Tasting Menu, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Went for 5th Anniversary and all the sta ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on September 11, 2016

Went for 5th Anniversary and all the staff made sure it was a beautiful dinner as we celebrated. We had the Halibut and the Salmon every bite was delicious!

Tags: Good for Groups, Good Vegetarian Options, Special Occasion, Live Music, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Your characterization of "energetic" is ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on September 11, 2016

Your characterization of "energetic" is not enough to describe really noisy.

Food and service were wonderful, but not a great setting for conversation, which is primarily what we wanted over excellent food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Normal good food and service suffered th ...

 
 (Palm Springs)
·Dined on September 11, 2016

Normal good food and service suffered this visit. We are regular customers. This was a bad one, unlike the past experiences

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value2

Morgan's gets it right.....again....and ...

vip
 (Palm Springs)
·Dined on September 8, 2016

Morgan's gets it right.....again....and again!!! Had a terrific dinner with my business partner and some clients. The food and service was outstanding. Of course they will see me again. Averaging once a month or more now.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Our waitress was wonderful! Our steaks w ...

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

Our waitress was wonderful! Our steaks were the worst we've ever had! Tough, chewy...it was a bad cut of meat, and at $48 per steak, not worth it! Very disappointed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5

We had a truly amazing dining experience ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

We had a truly amazing dining experience. The food was delicious, and there was so much creativity in both the menu selections and plating. The service was impeccable, and the decor

of the restaurant was beautiful with an understated elegance. We highly recommend Morgan's,

and will definitely dine here again.

Tags: Historic, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Fireplace, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Morgan's in the Desert is our favorite p ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

Morgan's in the Desert is our favorite place in the desert. We celebrated my wife's birthday last weekend and had our usual spectacular time. The food is always excellent and the service always makes us feel at home and welcomed. This is the only place we take out of town guests because of the historical ambiance and great food. It is a can't miss location if you are looking for a special night out.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Outstanding food and service in an under ...

vip
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

Outstanding food and service in an understated but comfortably elegant atmosphere. I'm a big fan of duck and this was about as good a presentation of duck breast that I've ever had. Cooked to perfection and the blackberry sauce with onion was outstanding. Will definitely be coming back.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

From the warm welcome from the two hosts ...

vip
 (Orange County)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

From the warm welcome from the two hosts and accommodating our request for a different table, the whole evening was memorable. The chilled root soup and the pear salad were unique and wonderful. Cannot overemphasize how spectacular our server, Marilyn, was to us. Our first visit and she answered all our questions thoughtfully and with much insight. She is a treasure. We will return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

This is not our first visit but may be t ...

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on August 31, 2016

This is not our first visit but may be the last. Service was severely slow; it took 15 minutes before the waiter said Hi.

The rack of lamb was overdone; the manager kindly offered to exchange it. The replacement was worst- the bone was charred but the meat center was rare , almost raw (ordered medium rare). Back to basic grilling 101!! Too high external temperature.

The salmon appetizer was brilliant,though. Great taste and texture contrasts..

Very disappointing.

Tags: Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service1
value1

Our dinner was amazing. The server Maril ...

 
 (Palm Springs)
·Dined on August 31, 2016

Our dinner was amazing. The server Marilyn was very knowledgable and so attentive . Chef Jimmy Schmidt is one of the most creative chefs and always on the cutting edge. There is no way that you would consider this restaurant a tipical hotel restaurant. The ambiance is also top notch.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Bar Seating, Good for Anniversaries, Fireplace
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We went to Morgan's for a five year wedd ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on August 28, 2016

We went to Morgan's for a five year wedding anniversary. I probably experience the best service I have ever had at any restaurant and I have been to a lot of nice restaurants. Our waiter was wonderful and very informative. The food was also amazing. I can't wait to go back to Morgan's.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Server was not very attentive

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

Server was not very attentive

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3

Morgan´s is a wonderful place. We love ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

Morgan´s is a wonderful place. We love to eat there when we are in the desert. There are just two remarks that I wish to make. First, the menu is short on choices for vegans and vegetarians. That is a pitty. Second, whilst the waiters are polite, some of them have forgotten to be spontaneous. It sometimes sounds more like acting than as serving with real kindness.

Tags: Hot Spot, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

I will not deny this place is pricey, bu ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

I will not deny this place is pricey, but the food is always fresh and amazing so it is worth it. Very good service in a beautiful and relaxing space. We make sure to eat here on our last night any time we stay at the La Quinta Resort. I had the cold soup special to start, which was interesting and different, and my husband had the beet salad which he loved. We then went for the simple prime steaks, which were fantastic (New York and Rib Eye) with a vegetable and the paprika smoked fries as our shared sides. Ended the meal with a light raspberry sorbet. All in all, the perfect meal to end our relaxing stay!

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Went with friends Friday evening for the ...

vip
 (Palm Springs)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Went with friends Friday evening for the special Sweet Corn and Lobster 3 course dinner starting with a savory Maine lobster and sea scallop corn wrap taco followed by poached Maine lobster tail accompanied by a wonderful corn risotto and finished off with a Kettle Corn ice cream parfait. All served beautifully with great execution and attention to detail.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Food was outstanding and the service pro ...

vip
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Food was outstanding and the service provided by Steve unbeatable

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The food was divine. The mixing of flavo ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

The food was divine. The mixing of flavors especially with the beef dishes was tremendous. Good desserts and the service was excellent and amazingly prompt and very helpful. I highly recommend this restaurant to anyone who wants the palette to experience greatness.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

One of our favorite spots in the Palm De ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

One of our favorite spots in the Palm Desert area. Great food, excellent service, and a definite repeat everytime we make it out to La Quinta.

Tags: Romantic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We are locals, and chose to celebrate ou ...

 
 (Orange County)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

We are locals, and chose to celebrate our wedding anniversary at Morgan's. It was truly one of the most special dining experiences we have had in years. Our server Marilinn was wonderful... Impeccable service! The manager Ted was attentive from start to finish, making sure everything was perfect...and it was! We highly recommend Morgan's for celebrating a special occasion...or to make any meal feel like a special occasion.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Morgan's is an excellent restaurant. Th ...

vip
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on August 4, 2016

Morgan's is an excellent restaurant. The manager stopped by and was very friendly and made sure our experience was great. We enjoy the ambiance, the food is always good and the staff is top notch. Would recommend this restaurant to anyone.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

The garlic festival menu was tremendous! ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on August 3, 2016

The garlic festival menu was tremendous! Everything was excellent from the entree, wine and dessert. The service was outstanding.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A very nice and comfortable place to eat ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

A very nice and comfortable place to eat, will recommend to all fam to go.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Overall excellent but the food maybe a l ...

 
 (Palm Springs)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

Overall excellent but the food maybe a little too complex

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5

Our favorite restaurant in the desert. N ...

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

Our favorite restaurant in the desert. Not pretentious, but the staff treats you like royalty.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We went to Morgan's for our anniversary. ...

vip
 (Palm Springs)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

We went to Morgan's for our anniversary. We recently moved to the desert and live down the street from the resort. We have been wanting to go there for some time but had heard mixed reviews. we loved it! Food was excellent, probably the best we have had since we moved here from San Francisco. The chef was creative and cooked outside the box. Our waitress, Melanie was terrific. Everything was perfect! My husband had the Halibut and I had the ahi tuna. The carpaccio app was excellent. We will be back...and soon!!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great spot, incredible food, amazing ser ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Great spot, incredible food, amazing service, live piano music- love it!!

Tags: Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I had the Mangalista Bacon salad. the dr ...

vip
 (Orange County)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

I had the Mangalista Bacon salad. the dressing was so tart that it was ineditable.

I just wasn't that impressed with the food overall.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value3

We were disappointed in the food. The m ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

We were disappointed in the food. The main dishes were over seasoned. The salad had too much balsamic vinegar. We could not taste the pork.

The wait staff were wonderful and attentive without being overbearing.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value3

Have stayed at the hotel many times but ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

Have stayed at the hotel many times but first time in Morgan's . Food was superb and beautifully presented. Creative menu and very well designed dishes. Best meal I have enjoyed in a long time. Truly memorable.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I could not be happier with our experien ...

 
 (Palm Springs)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

I could not be happier with our experience at Morgan's. The food was as amazing as we anticipated it would be, but the service is what really shined. Parker, our server, went above and beyond to make sure we were well taken care of and they even threw in dessert to congratulate us on our upcoming baby (the reason for the dinner). I can't recommend Morgan's highly enough and will certainly be coming back again.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Our server, Steve Parker, provided a le ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

Our server, Steve Parker, provided a level of service that was exemplary. His descriptions of the menu items were detailed and he shared the chef's inspiration for each dish. He paid rapt attention to our table without being overbearing. Food amazing, first class service - we're going back soon.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Morgan's does a good job and always deli ...

vip
 (Palm Springs)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

Morgan's does a good job and always delivers. Would recommend them to my friends and family.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

Loved the bar area!!! Dinner was fantast ...

 
 (Palm Springs)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

Loved the bar area!!! Dinner was fantastic... Can't wait to go back👍

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

WE have eaten at MANY restaurants in the ...

vip
 (Palm Springs)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

WE have eaten at MANY restaurants in the Coachella Valley, and this ends up on the TOP of our list. It was GREAT. Enjoy!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent service, great food, great win ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on June 23, 2016

Excellent service, great food, great wine. We had a terrific time.

Tags: Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best soup, stake & duck dishes ever had. ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on June 22, 2016

Best soup, stake & duck dishes ever had....really! Full of flavors!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.