About Morgan's in the Desert

Waldorf Astoria Laquinta Resort & Spa
49-499 Eisenhower Drive
La Quinta, CA 92253
View Larger Map

Morgan’s in the desert, by James Beard Award winning Chef Jimmy Schmidt, welcomes guests for dinner with Contemporary American Cuisine, boutique new world wines, crafted vintage cocktails, and live entertainment. Join us at the piano bar, in the hacienda dining room or on the fire-lit courtyard. Join us for a relaxed yet refined dining or cocktail experience.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American, Steak, Seafood

Hours of Operation:


Dinner: Nightly 5:30PM - 10:00 PM

Cocktails: Nightly 5:00PM - 11:00PM

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(760) 564-4111

Website:
http://www.morgansinthedesert.com/

Catering:
For Catering information contact:
Tatiana Yturralde
direct: 760-777-5821
fax: 760.777-5811
email: tyturralde@laquintaresort.com
www.laquintaresort.com ● www.pgawest.com

Parking Details:
Valet or Resort Self Parking

Executive Chef:
Jimmy Schmidt

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Smoking Area, Smoking Area (patio only), Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Throughout the year we offer prix-fixe food festival menus, each highlighting a unique ingredient such as Meyer Lemon, Blue Mussels and Morel Mushrooms.

Join us for our monthly interactive wine and food dinners throughout the Spring of 2013.

Private Dining

Dining at La Quinta Resort and PGA WEST feeds the senses. The aromatic essences of freshly prepared, locally sourced ingredients emanate from richly colorful dishes that are a feast for the eyes. Whatever your taste in dining, La Quinta Resort and PGA WEST serves an unforgettable experience.

Morgan's in the Desert Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.4

ambience

4.6

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

American
Palm Springs / Palm Desert Cities
Most Booked 1000-Point Tables
Palm Springs / Palm Desert Cities
American
Palm Springs / Palm Desert
1 More
Most Booked 1000-Point Tables
Palm Springs / Palm Desert
Best Restaurants in La Quinta ›

special occasion (91)
fit for foodies (84)
romantic (81)
See All
great for outdoor dining (77)
notable wine list (55)
good for groups (39)
vibrant bar scene (32)
neighborhood gem (28)
scenic view (15)
hot spot (13)
late-night find (7)
great for brunch (6)
kid-friendly (4)
great for lunch (3)
Sort By:
Newest
917 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food4
ambience5
service3

Top place, great food, atmosphere

Dined on May 15, 2016

Top place, great food, atmosphere

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The Sommelier!!!!!!

vip
Dined on May 13, 2016

Morgan’s is still the best Restaurant in La Quinta and all of Coachella Valley! They are so lucky to have a wonderful, knowledgeable Sommelier in Lisa. She made the evening wonderful with her wine recommendations. Of course, the chef made it wonderful as usual too!

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Mothers Day Dinner

Dined on May 9, 2016

Excellent food and outdoor patio option for fine dining. Short Ribs were incredible. No complaints!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

Anniversary Dinner

Dined on May 7, 2016

We loved the feel of the restaurant when we entered. It was a cool and cloudy night, so there were very few people on the patio, and the doors were closed. It looked like an outside table would be fantastic (weather permitting). Service was excellent, and the food was very good . . . I had the sea scallops, and my wife had the shrimp dish. We had wine with our dinners, which was very good and fairly priced. The only slight negative is we thought the menu was somewhat limited. But, we would definitely dine at Morgan's again, and try other items on the menu.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Great food, great service.

Dined on May 7, 2016

Great food, great service.

food4
ambience4
service3
value2

morel mushroom festival

Dined on May 7, 2016

I was truly disappointed when I arrived specifically within the stated time frame of dates for their special Morel Mushroom Festival only to be told that it has ended 5 days earlier. I came home, looked at the dates on the email blast I had received, and I was well within the time frame. I called the restaurant manager and he indicated they had run out of morels. I understand that can happen, but then why not notify the people who have reservations, or send out an eblast they you have run out so those of us who are going specifically for that meal can decide if they still want to come. Very disappointing since this has happened to me previously on a Special dinner festival. Otherwise, we love the restaurant. It's our neighborhood favorite, but something needs to be done about their special dinners. I'm reluctant to book any more of them.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Gave It Another Try

vip
Dined on May 6, 2016

We have been very disappointed in Morgan's over the past two years. The problem is that the hostesses go into panic mode during the Holiday season, as management allows the place to over book. This time we went on a quiet night and had a much better experience. The steaks and lamb chops were very good and our server was excellent. They have a nice, but over-priced wine list.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent as always

Dined on May 3, 2016

Morgan's is an outstanding restaurant. The preparation is unique and FULL of flavors. You will not be disappointed. As Realtors, we have been asked many times where to go for CA cuisine similar to some of the restaurants we find in Napa Valley and the Bay Area. We always recommend Morgan's.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service4

James Beard don't lie. Rather, the chef ...

Dined on April 30, 2016

James Beard don't lie. Rather, the chef takes out the argon oil and waxes that sucker to handlebar fantasticness. One small issue: why the 1970s IBM attire on the female waitstaff? Mandatory neck ties on boxy Brooks Brothers duds? Really?? They, I am sure, like it less than the diners.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Simply fantastic!

Dined on April 28, 2016

Took a friend for his birthday dinner. What and incredible evening! Everything from the food, wine, cocktails and Ron Pass the piano player was just excellent. Highly recommended and certainly worth every penny! Thanks to Roland for being such a great waiter as well!!! Will certainly return!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

ALWAYS GOOD!!

Dined on April 27, 2016

My wife and I try to visit Morgan's on every trip to the desert. The restaurant never disappoints us. We have been there twice in the last month with friends that live in the area and each left saying can't wait to comeback. It's the old school where you can here the people your with talk.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion
food4
ambience4
service3

Everything was excellent as usual, our s ...

Dined on April 24, 2016

Everything was excellent as usual, our server dropped the ball at the end of the meal schmoozing other tables and after 15 minutes we didn't even want desert, even though he offered it complimentary. I will not let this sever wait on us again

food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Top end restaurant in the desert

Dined on April 22, 2016

A great restaurant out in the desert . The menu and wine list are impressive. Food quality and service very good.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, late-night find, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Outstanding!

Dined on April 21, 2016

Everything was superb...menu, food, service, ambiance. This is our new favorite restaurant in the desert!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Hadn't been in a couple of years so 4 of ...

vip
Dined on April 19, 2016

Hadn't been in a couple of years so 4 of us went last Thursday night we were able to sit outside and enjoy a beautiful setting our server Scott was outstanding The food was impeccable will definitely not allow a few years to pass before returning

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Love this place!!

Dined on April 18, 2016

My husband and I visited Morgan's 3 times while we were staying at the La Quinta. Every night was fabulous! The food is delicious and they have a great wine list. The live music at the bar was lovely! After dinner each night my husband and I had after dinner drinks and dessert outdoors by the fire. The service was impeccable. We LOVED our waiters as they strived to make our evenings perfect! We will be back!!

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5

The food was outstanding.

vip
Dined on April 14, 2016

The food was outstanding.

food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Patio Dinner

Dined on April 14, 2016

We had a great dinner on the patio. There was an event going on on the lawn nearby and we could here their music. Lovely outside patio, but cozy and inviting inside. Our server was great and helpful. We enjoyed an after dinner drink by one of the fire pits out front after our meal. Would definitely eat here again.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Cauliflower soup was one of a kind! So d ...

vip
Dined on April 10, 2016

Cauliflower soup was one of a kind! So delicious...could have eaten all night!

food4
ambience4
service2

Food was slow coming out - took forever. ...

vip
Dined on April 9, 2016

Food was slow coming out - took forever. Won't go back for awhile

food5
ambience5
service4
value4

great place

vip
Dined on April 8, 2016

Morgan's is a wonderful restaurant; the food is always good. Some of the waiters should ask less attention for themselves then they do, but others are very good. It is definitely a place to return to from time to time.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

It's our second time to come here and th ...

Dined on April 8, 2016

It's our second time to come here and this time its for our anniversary. Everything was perfect the way we remember it.... From reception, to the waiter especially, service and food were excellent. It was a busy night for some reason, must be a convention. Everything was just perfect. Thank you so much for a wonderful night.☺️ 5 stars⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fabulous! Our friends going away dinner ...

vip
Dined on April 6, 2016

Fabulous! Our friends going away dinner in the desert. Everything was perfect! Thanks Morgan's !

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best waiter

vip
Dined on April 1, 2016

This was our 2nd visit in a year and happened to get the same waiter. What a treat! He was so knowledgable, thoughtful and excellent at service. Thank you for another incredible meal and experience.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Award winning chef...

Dined on March 31, 2016

While this is not always a guarantee of a great meal..in this case it was. My wife and I were staying at the La Quinta resort so Morgan's was convenient for dinner on the day we flew in. We shared a cocktail in the bar before being seated and listened to a bit of live music that was very good. Not so loud that it interrupted our dinner conversation. The wine list was adequate we both had a salad before our entrees. I had the scallop dinner which was delicious...the scallops were cooked perfectly. My wife has some early season halibut and I can also say it was delicious..;). Overall it was a nice way to end a long travel day and I would readily recommend Morgan's for a fine dining option in the Palm Springs area.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food1
ambience3
service2

The tuna steak was overcook to point it ...

vip
Dined on March 31, 2016

The tuna steak was overcook to point it was not edible and I told the waiter. He took it back it was supposed to be blackened. However, they ignored the blacken on the 2nd tuna steak. They just served it the way they wanted, grilled because they could not figure it out. Also we were asked if we wanted Brussel sprouts. We laughed when they did not come out with the other sides and the waiter stated "we don't have them we ran out". I cancelled my next reservation for Monday night. PS: My wife finished her dinner by the time my tuna arrived. We did not even eat our meals together.

food4
ambience5
service3
value5

Great desserts! Our party of six enjoyed ...

Dined on March 30, 2016

Great desserts! Our party of six enjoyed the evening

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Another great experience

Dined on March 28, 2016

Service is exceptional and the staff are all extremely knowledgeable about the food and wines. The chef is extraordinary. The menu changes often and has always exceeded my expectations. The dining room was a little more loud than usual, as it was Easter Sunday dinner. I will always dine at Morgan's whenever I am in the desert.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Surprisingly delicious and crafted dishe ...

Dined on March 26, 2016

Surprisingly delicious and crafted dishes. Top eating experience.

food3
ambience5
service4
value3

Very limited menu

vip
Dined on March 23, 2016

We found it odd that the only steak on the menu was a 12 oz New York, it was a bit grizzly, so a disappointment. When we asked the waiter why there was no tenderloin, his response was "our chef is amazing and he makes the call. The cauliflower soup was outstanding, one of the best soups I have ever had!

Tags: great for outdoor dining, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Everything about Morgan's is terrific

vip
Dined on March 21, 2016

This is our second time dining at Morgan's in 2 weeks. The first time was outstanding. This time they outdid themselves! We had the same waiter both times - and this time he even remembered us! That was unexpected and just more evidence why this restaurant is a "five star" experience. As for the food, Chef Jimmy Schmidt lived up to his reputation. The food was prepared with unique flavors and presentation worthy of note. (We even had the "paprika fries" fried with Wagyu beef oils(?) - whatever they did, it was a truly unique side order - replete with a uniquely flavored paprika ketchup. the pork chop I had was unlike anything we've had before - I can't describe it adequately, but would recommend it to everyone! This was a truly outstanding dinner that is not to be missed by anyone venturing to La Quinta, Indian Wells, Palm Desert or Palm Springs, CA.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food3
ambience5
service3
value4

Dining

Dined on March 18, 2016

The hostess was young but very helpful. Inside noise level was way too loud due to the piano singer having his microphone much too high.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5

Beautiful historic location in La Quinta ...

vip
Dined on March 18, 2016

Beautiful historic location in La Quinta California.

food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Great For Spcial Evenings Out

Dined on March 18, 2016

We went there for the chefs interpretation of a St Paddy's Day meal. It was a little different than expected but very good. We had salads and the Wygu corned beef brisket. The corned beef, we thought, was a little flat tasting and could have used more seasoning although it was melt in your mouth tender. The kale and pomegranate salad appeared to be more of a baby green and grapefruit salad which was delicious but unless California kale looks different than DE kale was definitely not Kale. My husband and I both had cocktails and I had a glass of wine. The bill was around $190 for dinner for two with no dessert. We're not complaining but we would probably only go back for a very special occasion. The service was excellent and the restaurant itself is beautiful.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Lovely

Dined on March 17, 2016

Delicious food, beautiful patio, great service. Only complaint is the piano player ruined our night after reprimanding us after barely touching a piano key. Get a sense of humor and don't take yourself so seriously!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience4
service3
value3

Dinner

Dined on March 13, 2016

Outstanding restaurant, dined many times with you and it's a real treat. This particular night we had to wait almost an hour for dinner, first time I have experienced that. Would highly recommend putting Filet back on the menu. As always a real pleasure to spend time at Morgan's.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Wonderfully Indulgent!

Dined on March 11, 2016

Had the braised short rib with Mac and cheese and Brussels sprouts as sides. Every bite of every dish was wonderful. My server, Steve, was attentive but not intrusive and very knowledgable about the wines, the food and how the food was sourced. It's pricey (thus 4 stars instead of 5 for value) but at least you do feel like it was well worth splurging.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

Good for a hotel restaurant. When asked ...

vip
Dined on March 6, 2016

Good for a hotel restaurant. When asked for the heater to be turned on, waiter said stuff doesn't work there often including heaters. Service was attentive but kitchen very slow.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Great ambience, Not too noisy

Dined on March 4, 2016

very sophisticated but casual ambience. Well presented food plates with very fresh ingrediants

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

Bar Room Bantering among Servers

vip
Dined on March 3, 2016

Well The reservation was well receiving a great booth. Soon after being seated and receiving our wine, a bartender came over to our server and made a off the wall comment about her being on parole. Really? Caesar Salad was bland, no anchovy? A key element to Caesar Salad. Pork and lamb dishes were cooked to order and great. Wine list is bland, server went the extra mile after our dinner experience was interrupted by the bar tender.

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.