About Morgan's in the Desert

Waldorf Astoria Laquinta Resort & Spa
49-499 Eisenhower Drive
La Quinta, CA 92253
View Larger Map

Morgan’s in the desert welcomes guests for dinner with Contemporary American Cuisine, boutique new world wines, crafted vintage cocktails, and live entertainment. Join us at the piano bar, in the hacienda dining room or on the fire-lit courtyard. Join us for a relaxed yet refined dining and cocktail experience.

Dining Style:
Elegant Dining

Cuisines:
Farm-to-table, Steak, Seafood

Hours of Operation:


Dinner: Nightly 5:30PM- 10:00 PM

Cocktails: Nightly 5:00PM - 11:00PM

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(760) 564-7600

Website:
http://www.morgansinthedesert.com/

Catering:
For Catering information contact:
Ted Letsch
direct: 760.564.7600
email: ted.letsch@waldorfastoria.com
www.laquintaresort.com ● www.pgawest.com

Parking Details:
Complimentary Valet and Self Parking.

Executive Chef:
Executive Chef Jae Ho Bang

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cocktails, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Specials

RON PASS AT PIANO

Saturdays, Tuesdays, Wednesdays, Thursdays and Fridays from 7:00 PM - 10:00 PM

Valentine's Day Special Menus & More

Tuesday, February 14, 2017

Specials

RON PASS AT PIANO

Saturdays, Tuesdays, Wednesdays, Thursdays and Fridays from 7:00 PM - 10:00 PM

Details

Includes Tax and Tip. Special valid Oct 1, 2016 - Feb 1, 2017 on Saturdays, Tuesdays, Wednesdays, Thursdays and Fridays from 7:00 PM - 10:00 PM.

Valentine's Day Special Menus & More

Tuesday, February 14, 2017

Details

Featuring our full a la carte menu in addition to a featured 3 course dinner for two with a glass of Champagne. $150 per couple

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

Dining at La Quinta Resort and PGA WEST feeds the senses. The aromatic essences of freshly prepared, locally sourced ingredients emanate from richly colorful dishes that are a feast for the eyes. Whatever your taste in dining, La Quinta Resort and PGA WEST serves an unforgettable experience.

Morgan's in the Desert Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4.4

ambience

4.6

value

3.8

noise

Moderate

86% would recommend it to a friend

Romantic (22)
Good for a Date (22)
Good for Anniversaries (19)
See All
Fit for Foodies (19)
Special Occasion (18)
Creative Cuisine (15)
Good for Birthdays (13)
Great for Outdoor Dining (13)
Notable Wine List (12)
Local Ingredients (12)
Worth the Drive (12)
Fireplace (11)
Cozy (11)
Historic (10)
Neighborhood Gem (10)
Quiet Conversation (7)
Authentic (7)
Handcrafted Cocktails (7)
Hot Spot (6)
Live Music (6)
Casual (6)
Bar Seating (4)
Good for Groups (4)
Business Meals (4)
Tasting Menu (4)
Fun (3)
Organic (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Seasonal (2)
Scenic View (2)
Great for Lunch (2)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
Kid-friendly (2)
People Watching (1)
Healthy (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Vegan (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Sort By:
S
1061 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

As usual, everything was very good. Try ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined 3 days ago

As usual, everything was very good. Try the scallop dish with the poached egg. A little different, but excellent.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Fireplace, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was my second visit. The ambiance w ...

vip
 (Palm Springs)·Dined 4 days ago

This was my second visit. The ambiance was great but the food was average and the service was ok. For the pricing, this restaurant should be much better.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value2

Best fish and meat in the desert! Simple ...

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined 4 days ago

Best fish and meat in the desert!

Simple but perfect presentation.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value3

Everything you would expect from a fine ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 6 days ago

Everything you would expect from a fine dining experience. Great creative dishes, excellent service and beautiful decor. If the wine seems expensive you do get a nice pour if ordering by the glass.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Morgans is always great. Our last visit ...

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on January 8, 2017

Morgans is always great. Our last visit did not disappoint! Once again it was great. We had great service and food and wine. I recommend.

Tags: Fireplace, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Hot Spot, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

The former chef is gone although this ch ...

vip
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on January 8, 2017

The former chef is gone although this chef is very good I didn't enjoy the menu as much as in previous years and the prices were really high

Tags: Cozy, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value2

We dine at Morgan's each year 2 or 3 tim ...

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on January 7, 2017

We dine at Morgan's each year 2 or 3 times, generally for special occasions. Past Friday was a birthday celebration. Service as usual was excellent, provided by Rebekah! Pre-dinner cocktails were excellent... a Grey Goose Cosmo & a Ketel One on the ice. Following soup as a starter we enjoyed a bottle of Rombauer chardonnay with our dinner consisting of the Halibut special and the Filet & Short Rib special. Both tasty & delicious choices. Morgan's is a pricey restaurant however it is worth it for special occasions.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Morgan's is always a dinner stop during ...

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on January 7, 2017

Morgan's is always a dinner stop during our annual treks to the La Quinta Resort. This evening confirmed their committment to great service and creative cuisine. Our server mention a new chef is on board, and has made a few twists to the creative steak, fish and veg menu. We had soup, rib combo, veg ravioli, and topped off with the 'mess' dessert item. All creatively prepared, tasty, and mostly memorable. Staff is very friendly, some being there for serveral years we've observed, and seemed on top of our every need and paced courses. Make it a stop for a comfortable, yet fine dining experience when in town.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

We are very excited about the new chef a ...

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on January 3, 2017

We are very excited about the new chef and enjoyed a sampling of his new dishes. Caviar is a terrific addition to the oysters.

Our server was efficient and good spirited without pushing her ideas as some wait staff at Morgans have done previously.

All and all a délions and beautiful evening.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

My wife and I wanted to go some place ve ...

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on January 3, 2017

My wife and I wanted to go some place very nice for our 48th wedding anniversary. I told her to pick ANY place she wanted. For the second year in a row, it was Morgan's. The food and the atmosphere make it a splendid experience. The fish was cooked perfectly; the staff friendly, efficient and the complimentary desert is appreciated. We come at least twice a year, but I think it will be more frequent in the future.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Outside seating and Melissa as your serv ...

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on December 30, 2016

Outside seating and Melissa as your server, you're in for a special night!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Unfortunately Morgans has hired a new ch ...

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on December 29, 2016

Unfortunately Morgans has hired a new chef who appears to be following an Asian fusion direction. Asian fusion. Really!

Since Morgans reopened after a fire a few years ago, Jimmy Smits was the chef and Morgans became the best restaurant in the area. Now Morgans has gone cheap and terminated Jimmy and his award winning crew. The new chef has ruined many dishes and a clearly learning on the job. Frankly, Morgans is not an Asian place and I can't imagine what the management was thinking.

At this point since Morgans doesn't want to pay a top chef, I'll have to save some money also and avoid this place.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service5
value3

Less than impressed. It was extremely l ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 28, 2016

Less than impressed. It was extremely loud there. My husband and I lamented that we didn't have our cell phones so we could text each other across the table. We had a great waiter, Steve. But that's where the great experience ended. We got our starters, no problem. But an hour and a half after we sat down, we got our entrées. The kitchen messed up our order! It's a one and done with Morgan's. The final nail in the coffin was there was a guy with a hat on! Granted it wasn't a baseball cap.....but still, show some class, no hats under roof! Food once it came was delicious. But one and done.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3

Ate at this restaurant two times during ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on December 26, 2016

Ate at this restaurant two times during our stay, we where celebrating our daughter's fifth birthday and then we were celebrating our 10th year wedding Anniversary, each time it got worse service was good. One time they were out of a bunch of the main plates but what we got was good the second time, nothing worked out. The food was bad, timing was bad everything was bad, service wasn't even that great although they did comp our meal and we did appreciate that but again it was a waste of our time we could have actually went and had a really good meal somewhere

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service5
value1

This is our "go to" special occasion res ...

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on December 26, 2016

This is our "go to" special occasion restaurant here in the Coachella Valley. We've dined here during the holidays with large family group on two occasions, and could not have asked for a more memorable experience. Service is nothing short of spectacular. Servers are well versed on the menu, knowledgeable about the prodigious wine list, and attentive without being "overly friendly." Very talented bar staff, cozy surroundings and overall just a wonderful place to spend a few hours (and more than a few bucks).

Tags: Notable Wine List, Cozy, Historic, Live Music, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Bar Seating, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Fireplace, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Handcrafted Cocktails, Kid-friendly, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We have had dinner at Morgans a few time ...

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on December 26, 2016

We have had dinner at Morgans a few times. This night we were trying to impress some friends and I;m sure mission was accomplished.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

All of the food was exquisitely prepared ...

vip
 (Austin)·Dined on December 24, 2016

All of the food was exquisitely prepared and the service staff were very attentive and friendly. I had requested a table near the player so we could enjoy the entertainment and our table even allowed us a view of the piano from a distance.

I was already a fan of Ron Pass as a musical entertainer and I was so glad to get to see him at Morgan's. He even stopped by my table to say hello - what a treat for me and my guest.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Nothing like it used to be with the old ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 23, 2016

Nothing like it used to be with the old chef. Won't be returning.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service4

We went for an early Christmas dinner. T ...

vip
 (Calgary)·Dined on December 23, 2016

We went for an early Christmas dinner. There were 6 of us covering 3 generations. It's become a tradition to dine at Morgans for special occasions. Our servers Marylin and Jesse had the right balance between professional and friendly. Marylin was extremely knowledgable about the menu and wine list making excellent suggestions. The red wine we wanted wasn't available but the sommelier made a very good recommendation at a lower price! The cauliflower soup is a perennial favourite. While all the protein selections were excellently prepared the accompanying detached and veggies were outstanding and not just "plate fillers". The 2 managers stopped at our table twice each to enquire if everything was okay and the second times engaged in cheerful banter with our grandchildren. A nice touch was to comp the deserts of the grandchildren.

We will definitely keep up the tradition of celebrating family events at Morgan's.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This is my favorite restaurant in the de ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on December 19, 2016

This is my favorite restaurant in the desert. From the moment we are seated at our special table that we always request, they create wonderful drinks, the food is perfect every time. The manager always comes over to ask how things were. The staff is wonderful, the food is fabulous and the wine selection has to be the best in the desert.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Tasting Menu, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always a splendid experience. Great serv ...

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on December 19, 2016

Always a splendid experience. Great service. Great food. Great ambience. An absolute pleasure dining there.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Very disappointed. Came from Upland Ca. ...

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on December 5, 2016

Very disappointed. Came from Upland Ca. No salad available, Food had way too much pepper on it. Strip Steak tasted like blackened - only ate half.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service3
value1

Interesting new menu. The service was a ...

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on December 4, 2016

Interesting new menu. The service was a bit intrusive.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value2

Lovely spot with very good, but not grea ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on November 29, 2016

Lovely spot with very good, but not great food. Waitstaff was too attentive for our tastes. Maybe just because it was a quiet night.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value2

Mediocre overpriced food. The soup was ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on November 27, 2016

Mediocre overpriced food. The soup was great. Husband's fish was overcooked and got sent back. It was good when the new one came back out of the kitchen but only arrived once I was done with my meal. The hearts of romaine salad was overdressed and very tiny. My salmon was fine. Nothing special.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value1

We enjoyed an absolutely incredible Than ...

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on November 24, 2016

We enjoyed an absolutely incredible Thanksgiving lunch! The food was delicious, and the service was outstanding!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had an amazing meal and a really nice ...

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on November 21, 2016

We had an amazing meal and a really nice time.

The service was great and the carrot soup was incredible.

We will be back and soon!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Wonderful outdoor dining experience unde ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 20, 2016

Wonderful outdoor dining experience under cozy heat lamps for a special weekend with family at La Quinta Resort. Delicious food, from starters to entrees, especially the pan-seared scallops! Our waitress was extremely professional and attentive.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Fireplace
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Attentive service, pleasant ambiance, re ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 17, 2016

Attentive service, pleasant ambiance, reasonable wine list, and a varied and well thought out menu.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Tuna was magnificent. Sommelier recommen ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on November 16, 2016

Tuna was magnificent. Sommelier recommended a great wine to pair with our dinner. Bartender made a great martini.

Tags: Business Meals, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Morgan's is located within the La Quinta ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on November 13, 2016

Morgan's is located within the La Quinta Inn (now a Waldorf Astoria). We were seated right away at a table that gave us an in-door / out-door experience. Our waiter was inexperienced but made up for it with enthusiasm and friendly service. The food was well-prepared with several unique options. I had the coriander halibut. My wife had the scallops served over squash-filled ravioli. We both enjoyed an after dinner drink (a highlight). I had a Key Lime Pie martini; my wife had a thin mint cocktail. Both were excellent and a good substitute for a heavier dessert. I recommend Morgan's for the ambience, the food, and the overall experience.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Cozy, Historic, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Beautiful setting. The service was frien ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on November 13, 2016

Beautiful setting. The service was friendly and attentive.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

The check and experience was not smooth ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on November 13, 2016

The check and experience was not smooth they did know what to do... waitstaff was very aloof floating around pretending to be busy.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2

Eating at Morgan’s in the desert is like ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on November 13, 2016

Eating at Morgan’s in the desert is like dining inside a beautiful emerald, sparkling by the fire - a beautiful western setting and a visual taste of old La Quinta and Coachella Valley. Morgan’s has a distinct menu of creative, contemporary, but deliciously intriguing combinations using local ingredients. First class chef Jimmy Schmidt and his professional assistants’ expertise shows in the fresh taste combinations across the menu. Warm, respectful staff and excellent service.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Worth the Drive, Fireplace, Fun, Casual, Vegan, Gluten Free Options, Fit for Foodies, Organic, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Great for Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Tasting Menu, Notable Wine List, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My pork chops tasted great! I was concer ...

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on November 8, 2016

My pork chops tasted great! I was concerned about having them too pink! My whole plate looked like oil! I didn't say anything because it was an anniversary dinner and didn't want to blow the evening. Ice cream was ok! The place just seemed overwhelmed for some reason. Staff & waiters always accompanied our needs. Just a heads up.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

Morgans has really gone downhill. It was ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined on November 8, 2016

Morgans has really gone downhill. It was terrific when it first opened, but now it just seems to be another high priced "resort" restaurant with substandard food. We are local, but won't be back unless we hear future glowing reviews and a revamp of the menu and possibly new chef. NY steak was as thin as something you'd get with a steak and eggs breakfast at Denny's. Pasta dish with vegetables was a mixture of strange flavors. Will say the beet salad and one of the special feature salads were both very good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service4
value2

We went there for our 40th wedding anniv ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on November 5, 2016

We went there for our 40th wedding anniversary and were vety happy with the service snd the quality of the food. Exceptional mael!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We celebrated an anniversary dinner and ...

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on November 4, 2016

We celebrated an anniversary dinner and were very happy about the great service, food and wine recommendations, that "Sal" provided. Thumbs up!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food, ambiance, and service all were gre ...

vip
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on October 30, 2016

Food, ambiance, and service all were great. Only negative was there was a wedding in a room adjacent to the restaurant so you could hear the bass thumping.

One tip, make sure to request an outdoor table in advance if you'd like one.

Tags: Special Occasion, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great food and service! Indoor and outdo ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 29, 2016

Great food and service! Indoor and outdoor dinning available. Great bar with piano music ! The pork chop with eggplant and onions was excellent my wife had the coho salmon over risotto was also very tasty.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.