Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.36mi
  2. Distance: 0.39mi
  3. Distance: 0.59mi
  4. Distance: 0.67mi
  1. Distance: 0.36mi
  2. Distance: 0.39mi
  3. Distance: 0.59mi
  4. Distance: 0.67mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.36mi
  2. Distance: 0.39mi
  3. Distance: 0.59mi
  4. Distance: 0.67mi
  1. Distance: 0.36mi
  2. Distance: 0.39mi
  3. Distance: 0.59mi
  4. Distance: 0.67mi

About Morel

Rustic Elegance

430 S. Second St
Milwaukee, WI 53204
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American

Hours of Operation:
Tuesday through Thursday 5:00pm-9:00pm
Friday and Saturday 5:00pm-10:00pm

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(414) 897-0747

Website:
http://www.morelmke.com/

Parking Details:
There is a private parking lot located across the street from Morel.

Executive Chef:
Jonathan Manyo

Additional:
Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Farm to Table, Happy Hour, Outdoor dining, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Morel Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.8

service

4.8

ambience

4.6

value

4.4

Noise

Moderate

97% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (35)
Good for Anniversaries (31)
Local Ingredients (31)
See All
Special Occasion (30)
Creative Cuisine (30)
Fit for Foodies (29)
Romantic (24)
Neighborhood Gem (23)
Handcrafted Cocktails (22)
Worth the Drive (20)
Notable Wine List (16)
Seasonal (15)
Good for Birthdays (14)
Cozy (13)
Authentic (12)
Casual (12)
Bar Seating (11)
Healthy (11)
Fun (10)
Quiet Conversation (10)
Hot Spot (10)
Business Meals (7)
Good for Groups (7)
Organic (7)
Pre/post Theatre (7)
Good Vegetarian Options (7)
Great Beer (6)
Comfort Food (4)
Tasting Menu (4)
Happy Hour (3)
Disabled Access (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
People Watching (1)
Vegan (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Sort By:
S
421 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
·Dined 4 days ago

Pleasantly surpised fromt eh whole farm to table concept. The food in overall was very good, could be spiced a little bit more.

Tags: Good for a Date, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
·Dined 4 days ago

Excellent!!!! Great food, great service all around great!!!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Healthy, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Organic, Gluten Free Options, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined 5 days ago

We came here with friends from Phoenix who wanted to try farm to table food. Terrific experience from the moment we walked in. Ralph and the wait staff were friendly and knowledgeable. Helpful and attentive without being overbearing. The food was excellent; the short ribs melted in my mouth! Dessert menu is to die for.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on October 8, 2017

Excellent! I had the rabbit rague paired with Machete cabernet. My wife had trout, which was equally great. The only shortcoming was that our table for 2 was too long, my wife and I felt like we were sitting 4' far apart.

The host who seated us suggested the Machete as well as the carpaccio as an appetizer! The waitress seemed a little green, but nothing a few more shifts won't cure.

We'll definitely be back.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Seasonal, Quiet Conversation, Comfort Food, Good for Anniversaries, Healthy, Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on October 7, 2017

Fabulous place, fabulous food, fabulous wait staff and bartenders.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Casual, Creative Cuisine, Bar Seating, Fit for Foodies, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 7, 2017

Really one of the best meals we have had in Milwaukee. Excellent.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on September 30, 2017

Morel was everything I wanted it to be - charming atmosphere, delicious food, and an enthusiastic and knowledgeable staff. My only complaint is that the dining room was quite loud - hard surfaces and loud conversations made it a little difficult to carry on a quiet conversation. 10/10 will return soon, though!

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 29, 2017

From the moment we walked in staff were friendly and inviting. The staff had extensive knowledge of the menu items and were able to help with deciding what meaninitems to choose. Our food was all delicious and cooked perfectly as well as arrived in a timely manner. We would definitely come back again!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Healthy, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on September 28, 2017

The food was outstanding. We would go back, and soon if I have my way. My husband and I felt taken care of and the dinner was wonderfully prepared. We had the leg of lamb and the lamb ragout. Our service was excellent. Highly recommended!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Romantic, Bar Seating, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on September 27, 2017

This place is, overall, excellent. I took off one star here are there for the following reasons. 1. No parking. The area is becoming known. Street parking is not adequate. There is a public lot up the street from the restaurant, but is not convenient if one is handicapped. 2. The place is noisy. It was difficult to carry on a decent conversation. On the other hand — the staff and the food were fantastic and amazing. With the exception of the two things I mentioned, I would have given it five stars across the board.

Tags: Casual, Great Beer, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on September 23, 2017

Food was great as always. Unfortunately, the only aspect that prevented it from being a perfect night was the lack of AC on a super hot night. Please upgrade/fix the AC!

Tags: Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

vip
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on September 22, 2017

Loved the food and the location in the 5th Ward. The meat tends to be undercooked so if you like RARE meats you will like how it is cooked. However, my husband and I like more cooked. My steak came out great because I told the wait staff pink in the center. My husband had to send his pork chop back. The second time it came out it was fine although he also asked for medium.Tastes are absolutely fantastic. Original farm to table restaurant with locally sourced products. Very fresh and good attention to details.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Business Meals, Organic, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Hot Spot, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Bar Seating, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Great Beer, Romantic, Healthy, Good for Groups, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on September 17, 2017

Morel has been a long time favorite of ours and every visit is better than the last. We thoroughly enjoy the special events they hold like wine and beer dinners, as well as the normal delicious menu highlighting products from local farms. Service is always exceptional and the bar provides delicious cocktails and perfect wine pairings. Morel is an absolute must for anyone who loves great food, great drinks, and great service.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem, Handcrafted Cocktails, Authentic, Casual, Bar Seating, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Business Meals, Hot Spot, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 15, 2017

Was not half as good as I thought it would be. I felt it was overpriced was not impressed with the quality of the food or the taste. I would say that we had wonderful service though.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service5
value1

 
·Dined on September 15, 2017

This was the 4th time dining here and it never disappoints. This place is always good, I mean lick your plate good! Creative menu with amazing specials too. Try the Rabbit ragu or the Lamb Carppicco! I cannot say enough about what a great restaurant this place is, its also a fair value and not too expensive for the quality and creativity of the food you get.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Local Ingredients, Disabled Access, Good for a Date, Authentic, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on September 14, 2017

I had a lot of fun and overall great experience at morel. It was all of our first time there and we all loved it. :) I would definitely recommend it!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Organic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Hot Spot, Good for Groups, Fun, Seasonal, Cozy, Good Vegetarian Options, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 9, 2017

Our second visit.. Nice atmosphere .. not so stark like a few of the newer places esp in that area..

Food is very good.. we would like to try a few of the other places in Mke area wards. thanks. L

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
·Dined on September 7, 2017

Truly enjoyed this restaurant. Dinner was delicious, ambience good and service excellent. We were there on a Thursday evening. Restaurant was busy but not overwhelmed. Started with appetizer of seven different types of sautéed mushrooms served over polenta. "Yum". My entree was a Mexican inspired pork dish. There was a good sized piece of, melt in your mouth, pork shoulder along with a smoked sausage, fresh corn kernels and a bit of potato all covered with a sauce that was ,out of this world, good. We finished our dinner with a dark chocolate mouse cake. Rich and choclatey without being overly sweet. One of the best meals I have had in the last six months. I will be going back. Also, great wine offerings along with free tastings.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, People Watching, Bar Seating, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on September 7, 2017

A true experience shared w someone I love. You folks set the stage and our heads, hearts, and soul took advantage of all of it. A low level, good, good energy running between the two of us, during the whole night, supported by ambiance, comfort, taste buds going wild, along with Molly and your cooking staff.

Dining w someone you love should be an intimate experience. Thank- you all for allowing me to tell my girlfriend how much I love her, via all of you, and what you do, so, so well. I really, really mean that.

Thank-you.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Comfort Food, Local Ingredients, Authentic, Good for a Date, Fun, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on September 7, 2017

This was an excellent place to eat. We were looking for someplace that was close to where my brother in law lived but also someplace new. The food was outstanding although a bit on the pricey side. Still well worth the money but just not likely a place where you can afford to eat every night. The food was outstanding. I highly recommend the braised short ribs and the cheesecake. The staff was amazing and it was all in all a wonderful evening.

Tags: Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Seasonal, Handcrafted Cocktails, Great Beer, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on September 6, 2017

While the food was quite good and the service outstanding ordering two dishes with smoked items turned out to be over the top. Unless that is your cup of tea stick with one item, the best being the smoked pheasant sausage with wild rice stuffing, excellent.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Organic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on September 2, 2017

My only disappointment is that I didn't make it to Morel sooner. Quintessential farm to table goodness.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies, Seasonal, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Good Vegetarian Options, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on August 27, 2017

Enjoyed many starters, terrific cheese platter, corn soup, sauted mushrooms over polenta. Mains we're good too. Great dessert.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Romantic, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on August 26, 2017

Unquestionably this is one of the best restaurants in Milwaukee. The food is creative, offering a diversity that would satisfy any palate. From small plates like an incredible medley of mushrooms on polenta to a flank state entree cooked to perfection to a delicious peach tart and ice cream for dessert, there is no doubt that this is incredible, from-scratch food that raises the bar for other restaurants.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Healthy, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails, Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Fun, Authentic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on August 26, 2017

Really nice restaurant. Creative menu and all the dishes we had from standard to specials were excellent without exception. Drink lists are extensive except beer list which disappoints.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on August 26, 2017

Everything was excellent from our food, to the ambiance and staff. We were seated at the high bar table and it was the perfect for our group!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 25, 2017

What a great meal at a great place. We are in Milwaukee on a regular basis and Morel will be in our rotation for places to eat. Very tasty food with a great variety to pick from. The staff is fun and attentive!. I can't recommend it enough, be sure to eat here soon!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on August 25, 2017

This was really a special meal, made by someone who really cares about what they create. And Molly was full of information about the dishes, restaurant, and Milwaukee restaurant scene. Heartily recommended.

Tags: Seasonal, Casual, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on August 24, 2017

We have heard about Morel for a while, finally had the opportunity, and was very pleased. We started with a variety of seasonal mushrooms, flash seared (to keep their texture firm) in clarified butter and served on a creamy polenta. Each mushroom had the earthy flavor so hard to coax out. We also had the lamb carpaccio which complemented the mushrooms perfectly.
My wife had the pork shoulder with chorizo, which she fully enjoyed. I had the duck. The duck breast was seared to crispy skin perfection, but what was outstanding about the dish was all the other flavors on the plate. There was a rich, dark gravy, a subtle parsley foam, frisee salad in light but bold dressing, poached and roasted peach slices, caramelized onions, crumbled feta, and topped with a few roasted hazelnuts. Any combination of flavors worked extremely well together. We are very much looking forward to exploring other items on this very well-designed menu!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Bar Seating, Vegan, Neighborhood Gem, Healthy, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Seasonal, Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on August 19, 2017

The meal here was fabulous. We enjoyed the corn soup, Apple Walnut Salad, Rainbow Trout and Ricotta Cavetelli. The tomato with the pasta was unbelievably sweet, never tasting tomatoes so good. The waitress was not only knowledgeable about the menu but about the preparation as well.

Tags: Seasonal, Neighborhood Gem, Casual, Romantic, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 19, 2017

Everything was great from the moment we got there-- Love this place !

Tags: Bar Seating, Happy Hour, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Cozy, Fun, Good for a Date, Tasting Menu, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on August 18, 2017

Morel is a gem. Outstanding service, everything on the menu is rediculously delicious & thoughtfully presented. Everyone must try.

Tags: Casual, Cozy, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 16, 2017

Tremendous meal. Will be back

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 15, 2017

Second visit to Morels and it was excellent. The staff was friendly and knowledgeable, the service outstanding, the menu offers a wonderful variety of seasonal foods, great wine selection and smart cocktails. Will definitely return next time in Milwaukee.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on August 9, 2017

Morel my hats off to you and your whole staff! A long time friend of my mom and I came to town for the night and had allergy requirements and we had a small child as well. The service was above and beyond. Our server was so knowledgeable and on top of every question we had. The bartender made my daughter a fresh squeezed lemonade that was delicious! The drinks that everyone else had were also very good. Every dish was beyond expectations. The portions were perfect, not too big and not too small. The house made bread on the cheese board was one of my favorite things. You should not skip dessert! We tried three of the dessert choices and all three were so beautiful and so so good. We felt so comfortable with satisfied appetites and felt so much love and appreciation for the wonderful evening you provided us on our special reunion with our old friend. Thank you for best evening Morel staff!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on August 5, 2017

Loved by all diners in our group of four. The food was extremely good, the service impeccable and the creativity was very evident! Highly recommend this restaurant!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good Vegetarian Options, Handcrafted Cocktails, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on July 29, 2017

Absolutely fantastic food. Gourmet, meld of flavors, just delicious. Lamb carpaccio is the best we've ever had. Rabbit, pheasant breast done perfectly. And the desserts! Service was warm but not overly friendly. Spendy but worth every cent. Beautiful building, but if there's one thing that wasn't perfect, it's the decor. Not a fan of mounted burlap trying to pass as art.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on July 29, 2017

Morel, like the mushroom, is a great find in Walker's Point! The food was well prepared and unique. We really enjoyed the locally sourced and House made items .
We started with cocktails (original recipe deliciousness) and a half Charcuterie, half locally sourced cheese board with house made mortadella and pheasant taurine. All phenomenal!
Then we had the Lamb Carpaccio starter which was perfectly presented and seasoned. We can't rave enough about that dish!
Two of us had the whole Rainbow Trout, which was prepared perfectly and so fresh and clean. Sauces were amazing! I highly recommend. Another had the Beef Short Ribs, which she thoroughly enjoyed. My husband had the Smoked Lamb Ragout with house made wide noodle pasta - which was wonderful. The only "complaint" at our table was that the ragout was over salted, but otherwise the rest of the dish was delicious and devoured.
We ended with desserts, two orders of the mousse and one special, a chocolate cake. Fabulous!
We will be back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on July 26, 2017

The service was impeccable, the food was divine. I wasn't expecting to love it as much as I did. I'll definitely be back.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Handcrafted Cocktails, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on July 23, 2017

The food and service were stellar and the prices are very reasonable. If you enjoy great, locally sourced food, visit Morel!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.