Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.36mi
  2. Distance: 0.39mi
  3. Distance: 0.59mi
  4. Distance: 0.67mi
  1. Distance: 0.36mi
  2. Distance: 0.39mi
  3. Distance: 0.59mi
  4. Distance: 0.67mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.36mi
  2. Distance: 0.39mi
  3. Distance: 0.59mi
  4. Distance: 0.67mi
  1. Distance: 0.36mi
  2. Distance: 0.39mi
  3. Distance: 0.59mi
  4. Distance: 0.67mi

About Morel

Rustic Elegance

430 S. Second St
Milwaukee, WI 53204
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American

Hours of Operation:
Tuesday through Thursday 5:00pm-9:00pm
Friday and Saturday 5:00pm-10:00pm

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(414) 897-0747

Website:
http://www.morelmke.com/

Parking Details:
There is a private parking lot located across the street from Morel.

Executive Chef:
Jonathan Manyo

Additional:
Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Farm to Table, Happy Hour, Outdoor dining, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Morel Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.8

service

4.9

ambience

4.7

value

4.5

noise

Moderate

98% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (33)
Local Ingredients (31)
Creative Cuisine (30)
See All
Fit for Foodies (27)
Special Occasion (26)
Good for Anniversaries (25)
Romantic (23)
Handcrafted Cocktails (21)
Neighborhood Gem (21)
Seasonal (18)
Worth the Drive (17)
Bar Seating (15)
Cozy (11)
Fun (11)
Notable Wine List (11)
Hot Spot (9)
Good for Birthdays (9)
Authentic (9)
Casual (9)
Quiet Conversation (8)
Business Meals (8)
Great Beer (7)
Pre/post Theatre (6)
Comfort Food (6)
Organic (6)
Good for Groups (5)
Modern Decor (4)
Good Vegetarian Options (4)
Paleo Friendly (3)
Open Kitchen (3)
Happy Hour (3)
Late-night Find (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Quick Bite (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Tapas (1)
Disabled Access (1)
People Watching (0)
Sort By:
S
392 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined 4 days ago

The meal here was fabulous. We enjoyed the corn soup, Apple Walnut Salad, Rainbow Trout and Ricotta Cavetelli. The tomato with the pasta was unbelievably sweet, never tasting tomatoes so good. The waitress was not only knowledgeable about the menu but about the preparation as well.

Tags: Seasonal, Neighborhood Gem, Casual, Romantic, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined 5 days ago

Everything was great from the moment we got there-- Love this place !

Tags: Bar Seating, Happy Hour, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Cozy, Fun, Good for a Date, Tasting Menu, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined 5 days ago

Morel is a gem. Outstanding service, everything on the menu is rediculously delicious & thoughtfully presented. Everyone must try.

Tags: Casual, Cozy, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 16, 2017

Tremendous meal. Will be back

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 15, 2017

Second visit to Morels and it was excellent. The staff was friendly and knowledgeable, the service outstanding, the menu offers a wonderful variety of seasonal foods, great wine selection and smart cocktails. Will definitely return next time in Milwaukee.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on August 9, 2017

Morel my hats off to you and your whole staff! A long time friend of my mom and I came to town for the night and had allergy requirements and we had a small child as well. The service was above and beyond. Our server was so knowledgeable and on top of every question we had. The bartender made my daughter a fresh squeezed lemonade that was delicious! The drinks that everyone else had were also very good. Every dish was beyond expectations. The portions were perfect, not too big and not too small. The house made bread on the cheese board was one of my favorite things. You should not skip dessert! We tried three of the dessert choices and all three were so beautiful and so so good. We felt so comfortable with satisfied appetites and felt so much love and appreciation for the wonderful evening you provided us on our special reunion with our old friend. Thank you for best evening Morel staff!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on August 5, 2017

Loved by all diners in our group of four. The food was extremely good, the service impeccable and the creativity was very evident! Highly recommend this restaurant!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good Vegetarian Options, Handcrafted Cocktails, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on July 29, 2017

Absolutely fantastic food. Gourmet, meld of flavors, just delicious. Lamb carpaccio is the best we've ever had. Rabbit, pheasant breast done perfectly. And the desserts! Service was warm but not overly friendly. Spendy but worth every cent. Beautiful building, but if there's one thing that wasn't perfect, it's the decor. Not a fan of mounted burlap trying to pass as art.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on July 29, 2017

Morel, like the mushroom, is a great find in Walker's Point! The food was well prepared and unique. We really enjoyed the locally sourced and House made items .
We started with cocktails (original recipe deliciousness) and a half Charcuterie, half locally sourced cheese board with house made mortadella and pheasant taurine. All phenomenal!
Then we had the Lamb Carpaccio starter which was perfectly presented and seasoned. We can't rave enough about that dish!
Two of us had the whole Rainbow Trout, which was prepared perfectly and so fresh and clean. Sauces were amazing! I highly recommend. Another had the Beef Short Ribs, which she thoroughly enjoyed. My husband had the Smoked Lamb Ragout with house made wide noodle pasta - which was wonderful. The only "complaint" at our table was that the ragout was over salted, but otherwise the rest of the dish was delicious and devoured.
We ended with desserts, two orders of the mousse and one special, a chocolate cake. Fabulous!
We will be back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on July 26, 2017

The service was impeccable, the food was divine. I wasn't expecting to love it as much as I did. I'll definitely be back.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Handcrafted Cocktails, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on July 23, 2017

The food and service were stellar and the prices are very reasonable. If you enjoy great, locally sourced food, visit Morel!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on July 21, 2017

Ralph is the best!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 19, 2017

Creative menu - just different enough. The chantrelles appetizer was perfect.
Attentive and helpful service.

Tags: Happy Hour, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on July 19, 2017

Have had great experiences here before, but not this last visit. Meat (short ribs) was tough & my concern was shrugged off with a "locally sourced meat can have these variables"! OK. We were asked to move to the bar to allow another party to take our table--that was OK, got a nice 1/2 glass of champagne for the inconvenience! Our waiter was great-but really couldn't help us since the comments and direction seem to be coming from the kitchen! I didn't eat the meat, so the $32 for just the side veggies was an expensive disappointment!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service4
value1

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on July 15, 2017

I'm fussy but this was really great. Authentic, not pretentious. Thoroughly enjoyed it.

Tags: Good for Groups, Fun, Hot Spot, Good for Birthdays, Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine, Business Meals, Casual, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on July 14, 2017

Exceptional restaurant! Great setting, knowledgeable staff, nice wine list, and inventive cuisine. Worth a visit!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on July 14, 2017

-Beautiful Industrial feel inside
-Amazing dishes with extremely great service
-Food was worth every penny
-Highly recommend!

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on July 13, 2017

Enjoyed our meal. Service was excellent. Definitely recommend

Tags: Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Romantic, Fun, Handcrafted Cocktails, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Healthy, Comfort Food, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on July 13, 2017

All 4 of us enjoyed all our courses. The lamb chops and lamb ragu were both hits!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Memphis)·Dined on July 12, 2017

Fantastic Meal. Let our server design a multi-course meal. It was well designed, eclectic and flavorful! Will eat there again

Tags: Business Meals, Fit for Foodies, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on July 11, 2017

What a great experience! They are getting it right at Morel. We were greeted by wonderful smells when we came through the door and made to feel like VIP's the whole time. The manager and staff are attentive, but not overbearing. Lighting and music level were just right (details that many places just don't put on their list of priorities). The open kitchen didn't thrust the noise level through the roof and was fun to watch from the bar. The food is beautiful to all the senses and not over complicated; the ingredients are allowed to speak and not masked with pretentious crap. Everyone's a pro here and it shows.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on July 11, 2017

The food uses local ingredients that complimented each other. Nothing was heavy so that every bite could be savored. Waitress was very knowledgeable about the food and service was quietly efficient so we could enjoy our time together. My only regret is that there was so many great choices that we did not leave room for dessert. Highly recommend Morel for gathering with friends or a romantic dinner for two.

Tags: Casual, Romantic, Authentic, Local Ingredients, Worth the Drive, Good for Groups, Healthy, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on June 21, 2017

We loved everything. Took friends who had never been. They loved everything. Our server was terrific. Food was amazing. Everyone cleaned their plates.
Look forward to our next visit.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on June 17, 2017

After reading all the reviews I was looking forward to a good experience. Alas, we were left underwhelmed. While the steak special was good, my guest ordered the braised short rib and it was all fat with about 1 oz of meat. And only 2 tablespoons of potatoes for $32!! After bringing to attention of staff, they really didn't care.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value2

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 13, 2017

I'm from out of town and have been trying to get into this hot spot for a while. Every time I was in town it happened to be a Monday and they are not open Mondays. I arrived before the rest of my party of 4 for a 7 pm reservation. Sat at the bar and the bar tenders was very nice. Showed me a nice drink/beer/wine list. Also showed me a list of 1/2 price wines. I understand that wine prices are jacked up in restaurants but these were extra jacked so 1/2 off was really no value for the quality of wine on the list.

We sat down and the waitress came over big smile and very knowledgeable about the menu. Said there specialty app was the lamb carpaccio and the special app of the day was a biscuit with ham and honey. We ordered both. Biscuit and ham was very good. Ham was salty and paired with the honey made for a great taste. The special lamb carpaccio was a no show as they were out of it already. So , we ordered the pork belly app....guess what ...out of that as well. Closed on Monday. Open Tuesday and already out of food. Not a good sign !!!

Dinner. Food all looked visually stunning. I can't comment on the duck, short ribs or the ricotta gnudi as my customers would not say anything bad but I had the lamb leg. Came out temperature cool not hot and pretty tough to cut. I ate most of it and it did have good flavor.

I don't know. For me this place was just ok. I really was hoping for great based on the reviews.

By the way.....when a customer orders food twice from the menu and you don't have it. Offer them a drink or dessert on the house. It good business practice !!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on June 13, 2017

We found this restaurant to be very noisy since there are no soft surfaces to absorb the sound. We go to a restaurant to enjoy the food and have a relaxing stress free dinner. This was not true of Morel. The food was good and the service was great. But those two things can not overcome the uncomfortably loud atmosphere.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service5
value3

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on June 9, 2017

The quality of the food was good. With the xception of the lamb carpaccio, our meal of beef short ribs and the ham and biscuit are easily replicated at home for about $8 and our total check was $80 with an added $16 for the service.

Tags: Paleo Friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value2

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on June 3, 2017

The food was great!! Delicious food and drinks. The service was excellent as well.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on June 3, 2017

Appetizers were good, but main entrees and menu choices a bit disappointing. Good service and great ambiance. Good enough to try again

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on June 3, 2017

Morel was delicious. I could've drank about 10 of the craft cocktails that were offered, they were tasty and interesting. We had the lamb carpaccio and the butter lettuce salad for appetizers, we practically licked our plates clean. Our mains were the rainbow trout and a steak special. Everything we had was expertly prepared, cleanly presented, and tasted wonderful. The service was efficient and polite without being obtrusive.

Tags: Seasonal, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on June 2, 2017

Everything about Morel was truly outstanding. We were greeted by a very friendly host who asked if it was our first time visiting, then recommended the lamb appetizer which was super delicious. Our server was equally versed in both the food offerings AND the cocktail/beer/wine choices -- such a rarity to have servers who can handle questions about both. We each had cocktails which were perfectly crafted, split two appetizers (the aforementioned lamb and a morel-based mushroom dish) which were super delicious. For our main course, my wife had the trout and I had the pork shoulder. Both were perfectly cooked, seasoned and presented. So delicious. Finally, we split a dessert. It was a chocolate mousse that was covered in the most heavenly salted caramel syrup we've ever tasted. This was our first visit to Morel, but it sure won't be our last -- this might be our new favorite restaurant!

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on June 1, 2017

Outstanding, outstanding, outstanding farm to table cuisine. Great staff, great service (thank you Kate & Molly), and an especially great chef who is able to accommodate dietary restrictions. My gratitude goes to chef Jonathan for creating a fabulous vegan dish during our recent visit. I would easily recommend Morel to friends & family and will definitely be back!

Tags: Organic, Seasonal, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Romantic, Healthy, Authentic, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good Vegetarian Options, Neighborhood Gem, Bar Seating, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on May 31, 2017

I really enjoyed this restaurant. From start to finish this meal was excellent.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Gluten Free Options, Local Ingredients, Healthy, Paleo Friendly, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on May 27, 2017

Exceptional food, friendly and efficient service, interesting wine list and bourbon ice cream. An excellent dining experience from start to finish.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 26, 2017

The bartender made the night for us. We "trusted" him to pick our menu w pairings for the evening. His confidence was appreciated he was awesome!!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Tasting Menu, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Hot Spot, Fun, Comfort Food, Special Occasion, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on May 26, 2017

Great service and great food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on May 25, 2017

Seasonal menu was great, wine pours were a little amateur and stingy, cocktails were great, dessert was meh

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Vibrant Bar Scene, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on May 23, 2017

I had an amazing experience! The staff was awesome and the food was out of this world. Our server and the GM were super friendly and helpful. I will definitely come back next time I am traveling in Milwaukee. If you live in Milwaukee and haven't been to Morel yet your are missing out on this local gem.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Great Beer, Good for a Date, Hot Spot, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails, Seasonal, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Bar Seating, Neighborhood Gem, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on May 16, 2017

I cannot begin to express how marvelous our dining experience was...friendly, knowledgeable and efficient server; amazing food from cheese and charcuterie platters to lamb carpaccio to seasonal morel/polenta starter to excellent entrees...food was awesome! Add 50% off excellent wine choices and WOW!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on May 13, 2017

The service, the food, and the atmosphere was one of the best I've experienced. Also, specific compliments to the host. He made us feel so welcome as soon as we walked into the door. Would highly recommend to anyone looking for a great date night spot.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Romantic, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.