About Morel

430 S. Second St
Milwaukee, WI 53204
View Larger Map

Rustic Elegance

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American

Hours of Operation:
Tuesday through Thursday 5:00pm-9:00pm
Friday and Saturday 5:00pm-10:00pm

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(414) 897-0747

Website:
http://www.morelmke.com/

Parking Details:
There is a private parking lot located across the street from Morel.

Executive Chef:
Jonathan Manyo

Additional:
Beer, Counter Seating, Farm to Table, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking Area, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Smoking Area, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Morel Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.6

ambience

4.5

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Food
Wisconsin
Fit for Foodies
Wisconsin
American
Wisconsin
6 More
Best Overall
Milwaukee
Best Food
Milwaukee
Best Service
Milwaukee
Best Value
Milwaukee
Fit for Foodies
Milwaukee
American
Milwaukee
Best Restaurants in Milwaukee ›

fit for foodies (73)
special occasion (51)
neighborhood gem (47)
See All
romantic (36)
notable wine list (23)
hot spot (23)
good for groups (17)
vibrant bar scene (5)
late-night find (2)
great for brunch (2)
great for lunch (1)
Sort By:
Newest
236 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

A daily changing menu, the chefs, server ...

vip
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

A daily changing menu, the chefs, servers and front house staff are so kind and knowledgeable. We enjoyed our meal there and will return. Our server was able to make recommendations based on gf needs and I dined deliciously!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Morel pays attention To details with the ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

Morel pays attention To details with their food and the service was terrific!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

AWESOME food, can't wait to go back!! Co ...

 
 (Southwest FL)
·Dined on July 20, 2016

AWESOME food, can't wait to go back!! Cool decor, small and intimate. It's tough to get reservations there because there are not a lot of tables/room, but well worth it when you do.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

Great farm-to-table find, with local sou ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Great farm-to-table find, with local sourcing. Special attention paid to people with allergies and other issues. Really good food prepared the way you want, so you may have to wait a bit for it. Some good wine choices. Very informed, helpful, and personable servers. Interesting interior featuring reclaimed wood and burlap-covered acoustic panels. Cool, unpretentious Milwaukee neighborhood with a nearby jazz club and other fun spots.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

The food was amazing! We got a summer sq ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

The food was amazing! We got a summer squash salad, which was incredibly light and refreshing. The mushroom polenta special was beautiful and savory with the perfect hint of tang. The entree was a nicely cooked streak with a basil aioli, homemade sweet potato chips, and a goat cheese sauce. Everything was executed very well. The waitress was funny and attentive, despite it being busy.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Food was good, not great. Limited dining ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Food was good, not great. Limited dining selections that were kind of heavy for summer dining. We had been there about a year ago and it was the same menu. There was one entree special that was good, as was an appetizer special. Limited wine selection when buying by the glass. Probably won't return.

Tags: romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value4

We came to morel for my wife's birthday, ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on July 13, 2016

We came to morel for my wife's birthday, as we had a gift certificate from my brother. The food, ambience, and service were all EXCELLENT! loved it all. Great times!!! =)

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Innovative ever-changing menu, great ser ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on July 12, 2016

Innovative ever-changing menu, great service and atmosphere, and good value make this one of my favorite restaurants. Sit at the chef's table (bar) and talk to the guys preparing your meal; they're a great group.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

VERY creative menu that changes with the ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

VERY creative menu that changes with the seasons. we have never been disappointed in the quality of the food at Morel!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Lots of butter, lard and oils on every d ...

vip
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

Lots of butter, lard and oils on every dish. The exhaust system must have had a technical defect that night, as the entire restaurant was filled with waves of smoke and kitchen smells.

Menu is geared towards the meat eating crowd - all entrees are either meat of fish. The non-meat options have cream or cheese and are equally high in fat , unfortunately.

Wine list is interesting , very diverse and long.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service4
value2

Outstanding Service! Delicious Beet dish ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

Outstanding Service! Delicious Beet dish!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The food exceeded my expectations each c ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

The food exceeded my expectations each course built on the previous and concluded with an exquisite dessert. The service was attentive but not intrusive. The food combinations were inventive and had an excellent balance of flavor a and spices. I look forward to my next visit.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Atmosphere, food, service - all fantasti ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

Atmosphere, food, service - all fantastic. My friends and I all greatly enjoyed the entire experience.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Whenever my dad and I get together, we a ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

Whenever my dad and I get together, we always try out new restaurants and this was one of our favorites we've explored together! First of all, the bread and butter is made onsite so it's easy to fill up on that before the starters even get there. But save room! The meal just got better and better. I had a mushroom pasta dish that was to die for, and you want to have a good mushroom at a place called Morel. I loved it and can't wait to go back!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was a great pick for our anniversar ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

This was a great pick for our anniversary dinner. The food was spectacular and reasonably priced for local, fresh food.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Can't say enough great things about More ...

 
 (Orlando)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

Can't say enough great things about Morels. A farm to table style restaurant, this foodie spot has an attractive bar selection and food that makes you salivate for more. Fresh ingredients in every dish and every cocktail, I have unending respect for a restaurant that uses local produce and makes creations this divine. A wonderful dining experience with a thoughtful and attentive server who knew her stuff. I highly recommend visiting Morels.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Amazing grass fed beef that melted in yo ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on June 10, 2016

Amazing grass fed beef that melted in your mouth! A little pricey but wonderful food!!!

Tags: fit for foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Recommended to me by a friend as a place ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on June 9, 2016

Recommended to me by a friend as a place to take my out of town guests from the San Francisco area. It could not have been a better choice. We loved our dining experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

The beef short rib was amazing! The Fla ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on June 3, 2016

The beef short rib was amazing! The Flatbread was superb! Cocktails were delicious!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Overall, Morel was an outstanding experi ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on May 25, 2016

Overall, Morel was an outstanding experience! The staff was extremely friendly and welcoming. The food was well-presented and tasted amazing. Our server was very observant on top of being very personable and an all around pleasant person. Could not have had a better time!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Wow. Serious actual Wisconsin farms to f ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on May 22, 2016

Wow. Serious actual Wisconsin farms to freash, hot superb plates

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Morel has Been on our top 10 list to visit

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on May 19, 2016

We definitely are foodies from the suburbs. Our favorite places always end up being downtown. We have read about Morel and have had it on our to do list for 6 months. We went with another couple to celebrate a birthday. We are all pretty harsh critics and usually find one part of the dinner that is lacking. I have to say it was so exciting to have found the "total package". We loved the simple, earthy but elegant atmosphere. So smart of them to put up burlap panels for sound buffering while keeping the beautiful cream city brick. Our server was knowledgeable on all aspects and ingredients of the menu. The food was creative and over the top delicious. We had two orders of the morel mushroom pasta starter and were ready to lick the bowls clean. Everyone's entrees were different and excellent.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Foodie Week

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on May 18, 2016

This was our first visit. Foodie week was the draw. The food was outstanding and the service very attentive and friendly. The relaxed atmosphere of the room made for a great evening. We will return.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This restaurant is "farm to table" dinin ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on May 18, 2016

This restaurant is "farm to table" dining, using local ingredients. This was perfect for my trip in mid-May, when morel mushrooms, ramps, and asparagus are in season. All three were the stars of my dish, and I also tried the asparagus soup, morel fettuccini, and a salted caramel dessert. All the dishes were exceptional and everyone in our party was super impressed. Even the cocktails were good!

I'm curious how a restaurant like this can dress up squash, cauliflower, and other winter vegetables come cold weather. I WILL be back to find out.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

AMAZING food, loved the ambiance. Frien ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on May 14, 2016

AMAZING food, loved the ambiance. Friendly staff! My new fave restaurant!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Great food and the service was excellent ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on May 13, 2016

Great food and the service was excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Delectable

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on May 13, 2016

I've eaten out many times in the last few months, both in the states and in Europe.

This was THE most delicious meal of all. We shared the smoked carrot salad and the morel fettucine (the pasta was fresh and delicate and the morel flavor and texture...just heavenly). The northern pike entree served with yukon gold potatoes and morel mushrooms offered many layers of flavors. You just wanted to savor the flavors with every bite! We ended with a piece of lemon-cranberry cheesecake with a rosemary gin anglaise that was also absolutely amazing. Our server was very attentive and described each dish when served. This restaurant has moved to the top of my preferred list.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Outstanding service. The food was over ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on May 12, 2016

Outstanding service. The food was over the top and so were the craft cocktails. They had an amazing wine selection.

Everything is fresh and local. The service and even the kitchen staff were extremely personable. The restaurant itself it beautiful! Highly recommend. Especially if you are a foodie or looking for a special place for date night :)

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Enjoyed It All

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on May 4, 2016

We had a drink at the bar first and were happy with the size of the rocks drinks. The bar tender was friendly (too 2 older women) and we felt comfortable in the setting. Our dinners were excellent. Their lamb is always delicious--normally served 2 ways, one of which is a house made sausage which will vary, but is always so good. Our server was attentive and helpful and everything was prompt but no rushed. I'm always ready to return to Morel.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Always great food and service

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on May 4, 2016

Chef John and his wonderful staff always hit high marks for each and everyone one of my visits. I have been there over and over again, which is saying something from me. For me to return to a restaurant it really needs to be on the next level, which Morel is.

The food is all made in-house, including the yogurt and ricotta. Also, the food is fresh and locally sourced when it can be. The staff is always exceptional and know the menu to a T. The cocktails are diverse and wonderful.

The greatest thing is that the menu is ever changing as the seasons progress.

Morel is the best and worth every penny spent.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

I won't go here for a romantic dinner or ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on April 30, 2016

I won't go here for a romantic dinner or date night

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3

oldbusboy

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on April 21, 2016

Again, Morel was Impressive, notably in the professional level of service, and the quality of the food. Concepts, ingredients, preparations, execution were all outstanding. This time, the staff's depth of knowledge of the menu and details of the overall operation were clear to us.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Just Lovely

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on April 15, 2016

We had a great experience at Morel, from the aperitif (a perfect prosecco) to the most bizarre but very delicious dessert (a donut with bone marrow cream filling, duck liver ice cream, and a slice of bacon on top). Milwaukee has so many good restaurants, but this was one of the best and most memorable meals I've had. And we had a celebrity sighting - Jason Kidd was there! :)

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Can't go wrong here!

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on April 2, 2016

Always a favorite. Great food, wine, service. What's not to love? May have been a tad loud but that seems to be the trend everywhere these days. Not really a problem, though. We've been there before and are looking forward to returning again and again.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

A very well balanced and inventive menu, ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on April 2, 2016

A very well balanced and inventive menu, with incredible flavors in every dish! The smoked carrots in the beet salad added an amazing layer of creativity! From the Herbed Flatbread and Mushroom Polenta as starters, to the Beet Salad and Parsnip Soup as second courses and then the Cavatelli with Truffles as the main course, each plate was more delicious then the next! One of the most enjoyable dinners I've had out in awhile! Thanks Morel! We will definitely be back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Morel is the best MKE restaurant. When ...

vip
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on March 29, 2016

Morel is the best MKE restaurant. When is Manyo going to get his beard nomination. Crazy creative, interesting and delicious dishes.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Fantastic Foodie Paradise

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on March 23, 2016

I landed on the trout, which was excellently prepared, but everything on the menu was uniquely prepared and served. I can't wait to go back to try the menu items I missed.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Duck confit appetizer was great and ever ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on March 13, 2016

Duck confit appetizer was great and everything with mushrooms!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

The food was delicious! We started with ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on March 13, 2016

The food was delicious! We started with the special for the night, a mix of mushrooms over the creamiest polenta I've ever had. My husband had the short rib (which was melt in your mouth) and I had a cavatelli. The pasta was fantastic. There were fantastic flavors and textures that made it a true stand out. One of the best restaurants in Milwaukee. We will most certainly be back....often!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Too noisy. Too bad.

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on March 12, 2016

The rare combination of extraordinary food and superb service is marred by the

incessant din. Perhaps on a week night it might be better.

Tags: fit for foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.