Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.36mi
  2. Distance: 0.39mi
  3. Distance: 0.59mi
  4. Distance: 0.67mi
  1. Distance: 0.36mi
  2. Distance: 0.39mi
  3. Distance: 0.59mi
  4. Distance: 0.67mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.36mi
  2. Distance: 0.39mi
  3. Distance: 0.59mi
  4. Distance: 0.67mi
  1. Distance: 0.36mi
  2. Distance: 0.39mi
  3. Distance: 0.59mi
  4. Distance: 0.67mi

About Morel

Rustic Elegance

430 S. Second St
Milwaukee, WI 53204
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American

Hours of Operation:
Tuesday through Thursday 5:00pm-9:00pm
Friday and Saturday 5:00pm-10:00pm

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(414) 897-0747

Website:
http://www.morelmke.com/

Parking Details:
There is a private parking lot located across the street from Morel.

Executive Chef:
Jonathan Manyo

Additional:
Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Farm to Table, Happy Hour, Outdoor dining, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Morel Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.8

ambience

4.7

value

4.4

noise

Moderate

98% would recommend it to a friend

Local Ingredients (39)
Fit for Foodies (37)
Creative Cuisine (37)
See All
Good for a Date (35)
Special Occasion (28)
Romantic (25)
Handcrafted Cocktails (24)
Good for Anniversaries (24)
Neighborhood Gem (23)
Seasonal (20)
Bar Seating (16)
Authentic (16)
Worth the Drive (15)
Cozy (15)
Notable Wine List (14)
Open Kitchen (13)
Casual (13)
Good for Birthdays (12)
Pre/post Theatre (11)
Organic (10)
Hot Spot (10)
Fun (9)
Business Meals (9)
Healthy (8)
Quiet Conversation (8)
Modern Decor (7)
Great Beer (7)
Comfort Food (7)
Tasting Menu (6)
Good for Groups (5)
Historic (4)
Late-night Find (3)
Paleo Friendly (3)
Tapas (3)
Vibrant Bar Scene (3)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Disabled Access (2)
 (1)
 (1)
 (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
 (1)
 (1)
 (1)
 (1)
 (1)
 (1)
 (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Family Style (1)
Quick Bite (1)
People Watching (1)
Wood Oven (0)
Sort By:
S
367 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined 7 days ago

We loved everything. Took friends who had never been. They loved everything. Our server was terrific. Food was amazing. Everyone cleaned their plates.
Look forward to our next visit.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 14, 2017

I'm from out of town and have been trying to get into this hot spot for a while. Every time I was in town it happened to be a Monday and they are not open Mondays. I arrived before the rest of my party of 4 for a 7 pm reservation. Sat at the bar and the bar tenders was very nice. Showed me a nice drink/beer/wine list. Also showed me a list of 1/2 price wines. I understand that wine prices are jacked up in restaurants but these were extra jacked so 1/2 off was really no value for the quality of wine on the list.

We sat down and the waitress came over big smile and very knowledgeable about the menu. Said there specialty app was the lamb carpaccio and the special app of the day was a biscuit with ham and honey. We ordered both. Biscuit and ham was very good. Ham was salty and paired with the honey made for a great taste. The special lamb carpaccio was a no show as they were out of it already. So , we ordered the pork belly app....guess what ...out of that as well. Closed on Monday. Open Tuesday and already out of food. Not a good sign !!!

Dinner. Food all looked visually stunning. I can't comment on the duck, short ribs or the ricotta gnudi as my customers would not say anything bad but I had the lamb leg. Came out temperature cool not hot and pretty tough to cut. I ate most of it and it did have good flavor.

I don't know. For me this place was just ok. I really was hoping for great based on the reviews.

By the way.....when a customer orders food twice from the menu and you don't have it. Offer them a drink or dessert on the house. It good business practice !!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on June 13, 2017

We found this restaurant to be very noisy since there are no soft surfaces to absorb the sound. We go to a restaurant to enjoy the food and have a relaxing stress free dinner. This was not true of Morel. The food was good and the service was great. But those two things can not overcome the uncomfortably loud atmosphere.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service5
value3

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on June 9, 2017

The quality of the food was good. With the xception of the lamb carpaccio, our meal of beef short ribs and the ham and biscuit are easily replicated at home for about $8 and our total check was $80 with an added $16 for the service.

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Paleo Friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value2

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on June 4, 2017

The food was great!! Delicious food and drinks. The service was excellent as well.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Local Ingredients, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on June 3, 2017

Morel was delicious. I could've drank about 10 of the craft cocktails that were offered, they were tasty and interesting. We had the lamb carpaccio and the butter lettuce salad for appetizers, we practically licked our plates clean. Our mains were the rainbow trout and a steak special. Everything we had was expertly prepared, cleanly presented, and tasted wonderful. The service was efficient and polite without being obtrusive.

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Seasonal, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on June 2, 2017

Everything about Morel was truly outstanding. We were greeted by a very friendly host who asked if it was our first time visiting, then recommended the lamb appetizer which was super delicious. Our server was equally versed in both the food offerings AND the cocktail/beer/wine choices -- such a rarity to have servers who can handle questions about both. We each had cocktails which were perfectly crafted, split two appetizers (the aforementioned lamb and a morel-based mushroom dish) which were super delicious. For our main course, my wife had the trout and I had the pork shoulder. Both were perfectly cooked, seasoned and presented. So delicious. Finally, we split a dessert. It was a chocolate mousse that was covered in the most heavenly salted caramel syrup we've ever tasted. This was our first visit to Morel, but it sure won't be our last -- this might be our new favorite restaurant!

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on June 1, 2017

Outstanding, outstanding, outstanding farm to table cuisine. Great staff, great service (thank you Kate & Molly), and an especially great chef who is able to accommodate dietary restrictions. My gratitude goes to chef Jonathan for creating a fabulous vegan dish during our recent visit. I would easily recommend Morel to friends & family and will definitely be back!

Dining Occasion:Business Meal
Tags: Organic, Seasonal, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Romantic, Healthy, Authentic, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good Vegetarian Options, Neighborhood Gem, Bar Seating, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on May 31, 2017

I really enjoyed this restaurant. From start to finish this meal was excellent.

Dining Occasion:Business Meal
Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Gluten Free Options, Local Ingredients, Healthy, Paleo Friendly, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on May 27, 2017

Exceptional food, friendly and efficient service, interesting wine list and bourbon ice cream. An excellent dining experience from start to finish.

Dining Occasion:Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 27, 2017

The bartender made the night for us. We "trusted" him to pick our menu w pairings for the evening. His confidence was appreciated he was awesome!!!

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Fit for Foodies, Tasting Menu, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Hot Spot, Fun, Comfort Food, Special Occasion, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on May 27, 2017

Great service and great food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on May 26, 2017

Seasonal menu was great, wine pours were a little amateur and stingy, cocktails were great, dessert was meh

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Fit for Foodies, Vibrant Bar Scene, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on May 16, 2017

I cannot begin to express how marvelous our dining experience was...friendly, knowledgeable and efficient server; amazing food from cheese and charcuterie platters to lamb carpaccio to seasonal morel/polenta starter to excellent entrees...food was awesome! Add 50% off excellent wine choices and WOW!

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on May 14, 2017

The service, the food, and the atmosphere was one of the best I've experienced. Also, specific compliments to the host. He made us feel so welcome as soon as we walked into the door. Would highly recommend to anyone looking for a great date night spot.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Fit for Foodies, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Romantic, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Simply amazing meal. Very creative menu that does not disappoint. Every detail is cared for by a team you can watch cooking when you seat at the bar.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Local Ingredients, Bar Seating, Seasonal, Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 11, 2017

Love this place- the morel dish was amazing ordered it twice in the same night it was that good

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Organic, Seasonal, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on May 10, 2017

Can't say enough. Overall superb food, great ambiance. We felt very comfortable and relaxed, the noise level was on the quiet side even being pretty busy. The service was excellent and timely. Will be coming back.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Healthy, Great Beer, Comfort Food, Open Kitchen, Pre/post Theatre, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on May 10, 2017

I am a food lover who's been to many of the best restaurants in Milwaukee, including Sanford and Carnevor, but Morel stood out as exceptional. When I entered, the host greeted my fiance and I warmly and smoothly led us to our table. The restaurant is lit by a low, amber light reminiscent of a sunset or bonfire, the tables were positioned in a way that lent to privacy, yet allowed a full view of the rustic interior, and folk music played in the background.
Our waitress was friendly and playful, and every bite of our meals from first course to last was a delight. The head chef could be seen preparing food in the open behind the bar, which I liked.
Magical experience 10/10, highly recommend

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Fun, Modern Decor, Late-night Find, Good for a Date, Seasonal, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Healthy, Handcrafted Cocktails, Cozy, Neighborhood Gem, Organic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on May 5, 2017

they even made a great vegan dish off the menu for my friend without question. everything was perfect, great server and great craft beer options

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Healthy, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on April 29, 2017

It was our first time dining here, and we chose this to celebrate our 10th anniversary. We arrived early and got cocktails at the bar, and the bartender was pretty quick on whipping up a crafted speciality. The design of the room was nice and fit with the theme of the cuisine, and I was happy to hear that they incorporated rustic-looking sound dampening panels into their decor. You could tell that the high ceilings and brick walls would not be conversation friendly without. As it is, we had a slightly difficult time hearing our server at times during the night. She was excellent but slightly soft spoken.

The food could not have been better! We happened to dine on the very day that the first morels of the season had come in (or at least that's what we were told) so we immediately jumped on a special app crafted with these and polenta. The lamb carpaccio and potato/ramp soup were delicious, too. We also bought a basket of house-made breads - a variety of 4 different kinds - which cost $3 so I'm glad they were worth the money. We found it slightly odd that they charged for bread, especially since everything else is slightly costly, and we weren't offered any more and this would have been a nice touch as the breads would have gone well with our entrees. For entrees, we chose the duck confit and lamb ragout pappardelle. I don't know if I've ever had a pappardelle that was so comforting and fresh without being prepped Italian-style. I could have drank a pot of the broth they used, it was amazing. Desserts were high quality like they could have been created by the top pastry chef in the city.

The restaurant knew it was our anniversary, and acknowledged this when we arrived, but it wasn't until dessert came that they gave us partial glasses of a sparkling wine on the house. Not sure if the server forgot to do this earlier? It was very odd timing as this typically comes at the start of a meal. But the gesture was appreciated.

I look forward to returning!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Comfort Food, Bar Seating, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Organic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 23, 2017

Perfection!

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Cozy, Open Kitchen, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on April 22, 2017

This was our first time at Morel, and I cannot say enough good things about it to everyone I meet. From the moment we walked in we had the best service and amazing food & drink. The mushroom special (lion's mane mushrooms over polenta) kicked things off, and I knew from that moment on that I was in Heaven. Wonderful cheeseboard with four varieties of Wisconsin cheese, nuts, honey, and fruit. My trout was well paired with spring vegetables, and the short rib had my fiance dying of happiness. Go to Morel. You will not regret it.

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients, Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Tasting Menu, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Open Kitchen, Good for a Date, Seasonal, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Tapas, Romantic, Historic, Great Beer, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Bar Seating, Cozy, Pre/post Theatre, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (London)·Dined on April 22, 2017

Sehr nette Bedienung. Kleine Speisekarte, aber abwechslungsreich und ausgefallene On Top Tagesberichte.
Hat uns sehr gut gefallen. Dankeschön!
Very kind waitress. The menu was not that big but a lot of fancy dishes and in addition excellent meals which are not on the menu. It was a wonderful evening. Thank you!

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Tasting Menu, Good for a Date, Authentic, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Highly recommend sitting at the chefs counter. Delicious seasonal cuisine with great service in a relaxing atmosphere, what more could you want?

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on April 15, 2017

Maybe my favorite Milwaukee restaurant. Stellar service!!!! Great vibe. Food is terrific,

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on April 13, 2017

Great menu with unique options. Every bite was mouth watering. Molly, our wait person was knowledgeable and attentive.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Worth the Drive, Molecular Gastronomy, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on April 12, 2017

This was my third visit and I will definitely be back. The menu is always interesting and delicious and the service is great.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Historic, , , , Cozy, , Casual, , , , , , , , ,
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on April 7, 2017

Amazing food and cocktails. Atmosphere was pleasant. Service was exceptional. Will be back

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Tasting Menu, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on April 7, 2017

Excellent food and service! Affordable for the quality. We had the pork shoulder and the duck, and both of us really enjoyed our meals. Chef Manyo puts together fantastic dishes that are creative, local and delicious. We will be back!

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Seasonal, Open Kitchen, Special Occasion, Romantic, Business Meals, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 1, 2017

The most amazing food! Everything was made there and it showed! Eat the rabbit, it was to die for!!!!

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on April 1, 2017

My partner and I were first-timers and going off the recommendation of several friends. We are by no means food snobs, but we can recognize incredible meals when we have them, and Morel delivered just that. A warm and informative but not overbearing server, local ingredients, and mind-blowing desserts made our anniversary very special. Thank you!!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Disabled Access, Seasonal, Family Style, Pre/post Theatre, Casual, Open Kitchen, Historic, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Handcrafted Cocktails, Tapas, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Vibrant Bar Scene, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Authentic, Cozy, Organic, Special Occasion, Fun, Comfort Food, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on March 25, 2017

The staff was friendly and knowledgeable about the food. The menu had a nice variety and had choices that allowed you to try something new, like rabbit. The atmosphere was lively on a Saturday night which was fun but not ideal if you want a quiet date night.
Ask about the specials (biscuit with honey and ham) and have a dessert. Yum!

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Organic, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on March 25, 2017

Right for the start the staff was friendly and courteous. Great atmosphere, amazing food and good drinks. Looking forward to going again.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on March 24, 2017

This restaurant exceeded my expectations. The four of us each had superb meals. While I got a rap beer that was flat, the server quickly replaced it with another beer style. She was attentive enough and she helped make the night enjoyable.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date, Organic, Great Beer, Creative Cuisine, Seasonal, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 18, 2017

My wife and I visited for an anniversary dinner. The food selection was good and the food itself was fabulous. We ended up choosing the rabbit and the duck. Both were tasty. Portion sizes were plenty large and service was attentive. Will definitely return.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on March 12, 2017

Outstanding dinner. Honey Ham Biscuit, Pork Chop, and Maple Glazed Donut made for an unbelievable 3 course microphone dropping dinner!

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on March 11, 2017

We always enjoy our visits to Morel. The menu boasts fresh items no matter what season it is ~ the staff is very knowledgeable, welcoming and friendly. The desserts are amazing ~ at least get one and share it!!

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Casual, Handcrafted Cocktails, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Hot Spot, Romantic, Outstanding Value, Open Kitchen, Authentic, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Healthy, Seasonal, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Late-night Find, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on March 11, 2017

The food was out of this world! And the service was top notch as well.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on March 10, 2017

A creative chef is behind the changing menu at this local-sourced eatery. The entree menu is welcomingly limited to about 7-9 choices which to me signifies that each dish is a thoughtful consideration by the chef. The appetizer menu was a varied choice of "not your typical" food fusions. Wondrous! I enjoyed the chef's special that night, a choice steak cut prepared with pepper and bleu cheese, sourced from a local Wisconsin cattle ranch. Prepared with onion rings and dipping sauces. Delicious!

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Special Occasion, Casual, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.