About Morel

430 S. Second St
Milwaukee, WI 53204
View Larger Map

Rustic Elegance

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American

Hours of Operation:
Tuesday through Thursday 5:00pm-9:00pm
Friday and Saturday 5:00pm-10:00pm

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(414) 897-0747

Website:
http://www.morelmke.com/

Parking Details:
There is a private parking lot located across the street from Morel.

Executive Chef:
Jonathan Manyo

Additional:
Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Farm to Table, Happy Hour, Outdoor dining, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Morel Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.7

ambience

4.5

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Food
Wisconsin
Fit for Foodies
Wisconsin
American
Wisconsin
5 More
Best Overall
Milwaukee
Best Food
Milwaukee
Best Service
Milwaukee
Fit for Foodies
Milwaukee
American
Milwaukee
Best Restaurants in Milwaukee ›

Fit for Foodies (63)
Special Occasion (49)
Neighborhood Gem (36)
See All
Romantic (29)
Hot Spot (19)
Creative Cuisine (18)
Notable Wine List (16)
Good for a Date (14)
Open Kitchen (11)
Local Ingredients (11)
Handcrafted Cocktails (11)
Good for Anniversaries (9)
Modern Decor (8)
Good for Groups (8)
Bar Seating (6)
Good for Birthdays (5)
Authentic (5)
Fun (5)
Cozy (5)
Quiet Conversation (4)
Pre/post Theatre (4)
Tapas (3)
People Watching (3)
Worth the Drive (3)
Seasonal (3)
Molecular Gastronomy (3)
Tasting Menu (3)
Organic (3)
Great Beer (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Outstanding Value (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Comfort Food (2)
Business Meals (2)
Healthy (2)
Historic (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Sort By:
Newest
263 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

The food and service were outstanding. N ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined 6 days ago

The food and service were outstanding. Not crazy expensive but taste is through the roof! Everything so fresh and creative. My server was able to describe everything. Great evening!

Tags: Outstanding Value, Handcrafted Cocktails, Modern Decor, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Open Kitchen, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Bar Seating, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Delicious, creative, and extremely local ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on September 16, 2016

Delicious, creative, and extremely local! Albeit fairly pricey.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Disabled Access, Fun, Notable Wine List, Healthy, Molecular Gastronomy, Open Kitchen, Paleo Friendly, Creative Cuisine, Tapas, Local Ingredients, Pre/post Theatre, Bar Seating, Seasonal, Modern Decor, Fit for Foodies, Comfort Food, Organic, Good Vegetarian Options, Romantic, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Awesome food as always. The wait staff i ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on September 16, 2016

Awesome food as always. The wait staff is the best!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Organic, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We dined here Saturday night and had an ...

vip
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

We dined here Saturday night and had an excellent experience. The restaurant is really attractive in side and had a good vibe. The service from the host (Ralph) the bartenders and the waitress was all friendly and helpful. I had the rabbit dish and my wife had the Hangar steak and both were delicious and carefully prepared. Our friends split the lamb and said it was excellent. The salads were very unique and we had both. I had the melon salad which was a bit tart but really unique and good. The only negative was that they were out of two of the entrees (the fish and the pork). Since there are only seven on the list that was quite a large proportion. Otherwise great. We will be back.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

I ordered the trout. The trout was over- ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on September 8, 2016

I ordered the trout. The trout was over-seasoned and over-cooked, the green sauce was so salty that I could not identify which vegetable/ingredients went into it. The potatoes appeared to have been randomly thrown on to the plate and there was one green leaf of some kind under the fish. I was hoping for fresh fish and lots of fresh greens since Morel is a farm-to-table restaurant. I like the mild flavors of fresh food and feel the preparation of my meal did a disservice to the ingredients. Sad. 😔

Tags: Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service3
value2

In a city with numerous great dining opt ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on September 7, 2016

In a city with numerous great dining options Morel is a cut above the rest. Fantastic food, service and ambiance...and reasonable too! Mmm Mmm Morel!

Tags: Authentic, Romantic, Open Kitchen, Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good Vegetarian Options, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great service! Great food

vip
 (Dallas)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

Great service! Great food

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I liked Morel- it was good. It wasn't gr ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

I liked Morel- it was good. It wasn't great. Very over priced for what it is, but, we had a nice time. Staff is very nice, decor very hip. I doubt we'd go back.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value2

Amazing food and great service from star ...

vip
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on August 26, 2016

Amazing food and great service from start to finish!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Excellent food, but small plate offering ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on August 23, 2016

Excellent food, but small plate offerings are just that...very small.

Tags: Organic, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value2

Food was inventive and delicious; servic ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

Food was inventive and delicious; service was helpful, timely and friendly

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Open Kitchen, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

This was our second time at Morel and th ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

This was our second time at Morel and the menu is always top notch. The only complaint I had was that our flatbread appetizer and BOTH entrees were a bit on the salty side-not horrendous but wasn't as good as in the past. I'm also a chef and didn't se the need to send it back but did tell our server about it so they could mention it to the kitchen. I love the farm to table menu and using local ingredients. Too bad more restaurants cant do the same-but your menu does have to be somewhat limited when using this type of food-you cant feed large groups of people of have a large menu. Kudos to the Chefs

Tags: Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine, Open Kitchen, Hot Spot, Seasonal, Good for Anniversaries, Outstanding Value, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

Morel is the best restaurant in Milwauke ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

Morel is the best restaurant in Milwaukee. The food, service, and ambiance is all top notch.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Beautifully and thoughtfully prepared, f ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 18, 2016

Beautifully and thoughtfully prepared, farm to table food. Great atmosphere and kind service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The biscuit w ham was outstanding. Beet ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on August 18, 2016

The biscuit w ham was outstanding. Beet salad, polenta w mushrooms very good. The duck mousse was overpowered by the black currants, but combination was great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

The food and service was extraordinary. ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on August 17, 2016

The food and service was extraordinary. Amazing sauces and presentation of some very creative dishes . We loved it all and will definitely return. Super nice rework of a old space that added extra nice ambiance.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Every detail of this dinner was excellen ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

Every detail of this dinner was excellent! Appetizers(flatbread, mushroom sauté) were fantastic! We had one order of the short rib, one of the lamb shank and one trout all ofwhichwere excellent.

Our server was interesting and enjoyable and knew the offerings well. I consider this to have been and excellent dinner followed by a bread pudding which was enough for three of us!

On the ride home the only musing was that the lamb shank/short rib were winter meals and that the chefs should look at a more summery balance.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very good service. It was our second vi ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

Very good service. It was our second visit and just wasn't as good as the first. Summer squash salad nice but a bit too peppery. My husband thought the beet appetizer was bland. Pasta was fine but nothing special.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4

Great food! The only reason I gave it 4 ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Great food! The only reason I gave it 4 stars instead of 5 is that it was very warm in there the night that we went, and it got a little uncomfortable in the heat. But overall, a great experience!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

The food was interesting and tasty, but ...

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

The food was interesting and tasty, but it was so hot in the restaurant that we regretted ordering hot items instead of salads. We will come back when it's cooler outside.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

This was our first time at Morel & we lo ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

This was our first time at Morel & we loved it! Food was delicious & we would definitely recommend it to friends!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

WOW! Go there. True farm to table. De ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

WOW! Go there. True farm to table. Dedicated chefs. Every morsel is thought-out and delicious.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We went for a birthday dinner and everyt ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

We went for a birthday dinner and everything thing we ordered was fantastic. Great starters, and an awesome craft cocktail list. We will definitely be making return trips.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Amazing food, GREAT drinks! The service ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

Amazing food, GREAT drinks! The service was great at explaining the food.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

What a hidden gem. As we try to visit a ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

What a hidden gem. As we try to visit all the new and unique venues in the Walker' Point area, this one truly stood out from the rest. From the minute we entered through the service of the wait staff. The entire visit was top notch. Will absolutely visit again, and would recommend anyone looking for an excellent meal.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was superb...definitely recomme ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on July 28, 2016

The food was superb...definitely recommend to foodies...and must try order from start to finish, meaning: appetizers, entrees, and dessert.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A daily changing menu, the chefs, server ...

vip
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

A daily changing menu, the chefs, servers and front house staff are so kind and knowledgeable. We enjoyed our meal there and will return. Our server was able to make recommendations based on gf needs and I dined deliciously!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Morel pays attention To details with the ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

Morel pays attention To details with their food and the service was terrific!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

AWESOME food, can't wait to go back!! Co ...

 
 (Naples)
·Dined on July 20, 2016

AWESOME food, can't wait to go back!! Cool decor, small and intimate. It's tough to get reservations there because there are not a lot of tables/room, but well worth it when you do.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

Great farm-to-table find, with local sou ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Great farm-to-table find, with local sourcing. Special attention paid to people with allergies and other issues. Really good food prepared the way you want, so you may have to wait a bit for it. Some good wine choices. Very informed, helpful, and personable servers. Interesting interior featuring reclaimed wood and burlap-covered acoustic panels. Cool, unpretentious Milwaukee neighborhood with a nearby jazz club and other fun spots.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

The food was amazing! We got a summer sq ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

The food was amazing! We got a summer squash salad, which was incredibly light and refreshing. The mushroom polenta special was beautiful and savory with the perfect hint of tang. The entree was a nicely cooked streak with a basil aioli, homemade sweet potato chips, and a goat cheese sauce. Everything was executed very well. The waitress was funny and attentive, despite it being busy.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Food was good, not great. Limited dining ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Food was good, not great. Limited dining selections that were kind of heavy for summer dining. We had been there about a year ago and it was the same menu. There was one entree special that was good, as was an appetizer special. Limited wine selection when buying by the glass. Probably won't return.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value4

This restaurant is fabulous. We love din ...

vip
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

This restaurant is fabulous. We love dining here! Our server Molly provided exceptional service and the chef was very accommodating to our dietary restrictions. We would easily recommend this restaurant to friends & family and definitely plan to dine here again.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We came to morel for my wife's birthday, ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on July 13, 2016

We came to morel for my wife's birthday, as we had a gift certificate from my brother. The food, ambience, and service were all EXCELLENT! loved it all. Great times!!! =)

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Innovative ever-changing menu, great ser ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on July 12, 2016

Innovative ever-changing menu, great service and atmosphere, and good value make this one of my favorite restaurants. Sit at the chef's table (bar) and talk to the guys preparing your meal; they're a great group.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

VERY creative menu that changes with the ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

VERY creative menu that changes with the seasons. we have never been disappointed in the quality of the food at Morel!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Lots of butter, lard and oils on every d ...

vip
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

Lots of butter, lard and oils on every dish. The exhaust system must have had a technical defect that night, as the entire restaurant was filled with waves of smoke and kitchen smells.

Menu is geared towards the meat eating crowd - all entrees are either meat of fish. The non-meat options have cream or cheese and are equally high in fat , unfortunately.

Wine list is interesting , very diverse and long.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service4
value2

Outstanding Service! Delicious Beet dish ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

Outstanding Service! Delicious Beet dish!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The food exceeded my expectations each c ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

The food exceeded my expectations each course built on the previous and concluded with an exquisite dessert. The service was attentive but not intrusive. The food combinations were inventive and had an excellent balance of flavor a and spices. I look forward to my next visit.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Atmosphere, food, service - all fantasti ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

Atmosphere, food, service - all fantastic. My friends and I all greatly enjoyed the entire experience.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.