About Morel

430 S. Second St
Milwaukee, WI 53204
View Larger Map

Rustic Elegance

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American

Hours of Operation:
Tuesday through Thursday 5:00pm-9:00pm
Friday and Saturday 5:00pm-10:00pm

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(414) 897-0747

Website:
http://www.morelmke.com/

Parking Details:
There is a private parking lot located across the street from Morel.

Executive Chef:
Jonathan Manyo

Additional:
Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Farm to Table, Happy Hour, Outdoor dining, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Morel Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.5

ambience

4.5

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

97% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (30)
Local Ingredients (29)
Fit for Foodies (28)
See All
Creative Cuisine (26)
Special Occasion (24)
Handcrafted Cocktails (20)
Open Kitchen (17)
Modern Decor (16)
Good for Anniversaries (16)
Romantic (15)
Neighborhood Gem (14)
Bar Seating (14)
Fun (13)
Hot Spot (12)
Seasonal (12)
Worth the Drive (12)
Authentic (10)
Cozy (10)
Organic (9)
Good for Birthdays (9)
Pre/post Theatre (9)
Business Meals (7)
Notable Wine List (7)
Casual (7)
Good Vegetarian Options (6)
Healthy (5)
Vibrant Bar Scene (5)
Tapas (5)
People Watching (5)
Comfort Food (5)
Tasting Menu (4)
Great Beer (4)
Outstanding Value (4)
Molecular Gastronomy (3)
Paleo Friendly (3)
Quiet Conversation (3)
Historic (3)
Good for Groups (3)
Happy Hour (3)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Spicy (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
301 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

I always have a good experience at Morel ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined 3 days ago

I always have a good experience at Morel. This time we had our server chose our selections for the starters and main course and they were all delicious. I can't wait to go back!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fantastic service and delicious food! We ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 3 days ago

Fantastic service and delicious food! We couldn't be more pleased and impressed!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The service and food were both excellent ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on January 8, 2017

The service and food were both excellent. Interesting food and cocktail menu selections. Chestnut soup was amazing. Warm, friendly and welcoming atmosphere.

We called because we were going to be a few minutes late and they were very accommodating.

Tags: Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Tapas, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Loved it! New favorite restaurant in MKE ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on January 7, 2017

Loved it! New favorite restaurant in MKE. Food and service outstanding.

Tags: Modern Decor, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food, service, music and artwork all ca ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on January 6, 2017

Food, service, music and artwork all came together for a wonderful experience. Trout was superb.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent food. Excellent service. Overa ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on January 4, 2017

Excellent food. Excellent service. Overall great experience.

Tags: Special Occasion, Business Meals, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Went for NYE, and it was outstanding. Go ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Went for NYE, and it was outstanding. Good selection of small and large plates. Cocktails and wine on point. Would recommend to anyone and everyone.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Seasonal, Modern Decor, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Good Vegetarian Options, , Pre/post Theatre, Great Beer, Local Ingredients, Business Meals, Handcrafted Cocktails, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We both had the trout. Delicious and un ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on December 31, 2016

We both had the trout. Delicious and unique preparation. The ravioli special starter was amazing, as was the clafoutis dessert. Will definitely go back, and we will bring friends.

Tags: Casual, Good for a Date, Authentic, Local Ingredients, Open Kitchen, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

creative cuisine with multiple options f ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on December 29, 2016

creative cuisine with multiple options for any tastes. good beer and wine selection

Tags: Good for a Date, Fun, Seasonal, Modern Decor, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

I loved everything I had --very inventiv ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on December 29, 2016

I loved everything I had --very inventive and unusual. Also enjoyed the wine list.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Fun, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great service from everyone. Host, waits ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on December 24, 2016

Great service from everyone. Host, waitstaff and bartenders are all friendly, knowledgeable, and courteous. The food is excellent and is farm to table focused. It is a changing menu depending on availability, if it's on the menu rabbit ragout, lamb ragout pheasant and short ribs are all great choices. Duck confit ravioli with black truffle app was delicious. The salted caramel mousse for dessert is a must for us when we go. Great cocktails and small/nice beer and wine list.

Tags: Open Kitchen, Organic, Special Occasion, Casual, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Outstanding food and service and overall ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on December 23, 2016

Outstanding food and service and overall wonderful experience

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

One of my new favorite restaurants in Mi ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on December 22, 2016

One of my new favorite restaurants in Milwaukee! We split a bunch of the small plates and had some ciders and it was all super delicious. Very excited to return. There isn't a lot of room so make a reservation or eating at the bar looked good too.

Tags: Healthy, Pre/post Theatre, Bar Seating, Neighborhood Gem, Good Vegetarian Options, , Good for a Date, Tapas, Modern Decor, Romantic, Great Beer, Organic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Room was cold (around 65 degrees) at 6pm ...

vip
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on December 18, 2016

Room was cold (around 65 degrees) at 6pm when we arrived. Portions were small - had to order an extra serving of vegetables when my wife's entree arrived with 5 small green beans in the plate. The meat dishes were excellently prepared.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3

Excellent food and I like the local farm ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on December 14, 2016

Excellent food and I like the local farm to table. I highly recommend Morels for special occasions and dates. Expect to pay at least $60 per plate (appetizer,dinner, 2 drinks and tip) great taste, good portions, loved it.

Tags: Cozy, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Food was good and everything is locally ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on December 2, 2016

Food was good and everything is locally sourced and homemade (including the delicious breads and pastas). It was a little expensive for the portion sizes and options, but the service was excellent and the atmosphere is nice.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Joe was truly accommodating with our lar ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on November 24, 2016

Joe was truly accommodating with our larger group! Kate was fantastic!!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

What a great place. Excellent food, good ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on November 23, 2016

What a great place. Excellent food, good wine. Outstanding waitstaff. Tucked away just southwest of downtown, the location is easy to reach. Convenient on-strteet parking, plus a Morel-only lot across the street. Doesn't get much better!

Tags: Good for a Date, Comfort Food, Fun, Business Meals, Local Ingredients, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

A. MAZING. The best food we have had at ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 20, 2016

A. MAZING. The best food we have had at an upscale, trendy Milwaukee eatery in years. We can't wait to make a return visit!

Tags: Happy Hour, Good for Groups, Bar Seating, Handcrafted Cocktails, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

One of the top restaurants in the city o ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on November 20, 2016

One of the top restaurants in the city of Milwaukee!

Tags: Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Happy Hour, Romantic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was wonderful. Service was grea ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on November 17, 2016

The food was wonderful. Service was great too. We came to Milwaukee to see a Chris Botti concert and this was an excellent way to start the evening. I look forward to returning to Morel for another great experience.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Romantic, Authentic, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Amazing local food. The drinks and food ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on November 13, 2016

Amazing local food. The drinks and food was top notch. I can't wait to go back!!!

Tags: Hot Spot, Good Vegetarian Options, Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem, Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails, Open Kitchen, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

First time at Morel with the wife for da ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on November 13, 2016

First time at Morel with the wife for date night. Great food, great drinks, great ambiance. The service was delightful, but getting seated and served was super slow. It was a Satuday, and speed at a restaurant is not that important to me, so we will go again in a heartbeat!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Pre/post Theatre, Seasonal, Casual, Good for a Date, Modern Decor, People Watching, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

All I can say is WOW! If you haven't tr ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on November 13, 2016

All I can say is WOW! If you haven't tried Morel yet ... get there fast!

Excellent food, service ambiance!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Loved the décor. Staff was very friendly ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on November 9, 2016

Loved the décor. Staff was very friendly and efficient.

The music was outstanding. A lot of effort has been put into the selection.

2 of the 4 meals were an issue in that the short ribs were too "fatty".

The chef was apologetic.

Tags: Modern Decor, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Definately a letdown. Limited menu choi ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on November 5, 2016

Definately a letdown. Limited menu choices (to our liking) mostly all wild game. Food was overly rich-very salty. We won't be going back again unfortunately.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value2

Great local food, creatively prepared!

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on November 3, 2016

Great local food, creatively prepared!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Our waitress was exceptional & had great ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on October 25, 2016

Our waitress was exceptional & had great recommendations. While we didn't participate much in the drinking, everything else we tried, & we were not disappointed. With tip our meal was approximately $50/person.

Tags: Cozy, Tasting Menu, Fit for Foodies, Healthy, Authentic, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Delicious and the local sustainable meat ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on October 22, 2016

Delicious and the local sustainable meats were amazing!

Tags: Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Organic, Local Ingredients, Paleo Friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

The food was outstanding. Each dish ble ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on October 22, 2016

The food was outstanding. Each dish blew us away. I would highly recommend the duck pate appetizer. In fact I would order two of them next time. I had the beef short ribs and the meat was done to perfection. My wife had the trout and she said it was the best that she has ever had. Also a very good wine selection.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Our party of four arrived a bit early bu ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on October 22, 2016

Our party of four arrived a bit early but Morel was able to seat us immediately. Service was great but we did not feel rushed. We ordered appetizers and then dinner. The ribs and trout were excellent! On a previous visit we ate at the bar and enjoyed friendly service by Joe and a view of the talented Chefs at work!

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Organic, Local Ingredients, Fun, Bar Seating, Pre/post Theatre, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We can't figure out why this place is so ...

vip
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on October 8, 2016

We can't figure out why this place is so popular. The dining room is small, yet incredibly loud. It was impossible for the two of us to carry on a conversation without shouting. In addition, we had to wait for our table past our reservation time. We were told they "can't" sit 2 people at a 4-top. Yet, the couple after us were seated at a 4-top. So much for that "rule". Next, we order 2 of the same cocktail from their cocktail list, only to be told that they couldn't make them because they were out of a couple of the ingredients. And those cocktails sowed up on our bill. Overall, the food was just OK. The menu is quite limited. Needless to say, this was our last visit to Morel.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service2
value2

This was our first time at Morel and it ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on October 7, 2016

This was our first time at Morel and it really lived up to the hype! The minute we walked in were welcomed by a very friendly host who had us laughing by the time we got to our table. Our waitress was very knowledgeable and helpful with the wine list and menu. Everything we ordered (including freshly foraged mushrooms) was outstanding. I got the pork shoulder and joined the clean plate club. It was a great way to celebrate my husbands birthday! They even brought out some complimentary prosseco with our dessert! We will definitely be back.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good Vegetarian Options, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Organic, Disabled Access, Business Meals, Tapas, Seasonal, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Gluten Free Options, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Open Kitchen, Authentic, Worth the Drive, Pre/post Theatre, Romantic, Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Cozy, Neighborhood Gem, Modern Decor, Historic, Good for Groups, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Overall We were pleased with Morel. The ...

vip
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on October 2, 2016

Overall We were pleased with Morel. The food was high quality and creative. I had the lamb which was very good, but a little weird. What I mean is that the lamb itself was an excellent piece of meat well cooked and tender, but very delicate. The lamb was matched with a merguez, which again was good in itself, but the contrast of the two did not really work for me. The merguez completely overpowered the delicate lamb. I basically ate the dish as two separate plates. Lamb first, merguez second. Nothing was bad I just thing the combo did not work.

Service was great once it started. Morel is hot right now, so a little wait is to be expected, but when it gets to 30 minutes it is a bit much. I always use the counter example. If I was 30 minutes late for a reservation I know what would happen. The host knew it was a problem, he even commented that some people seem to think Morel is a hotel, not a restaurant. I do have some sympathy, but most 4 star places know that at this point a little something-something is required.

Still overall I will return. It will be when the place calms down and there won't be that worry of waiting for a reserved table.

Tags: Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Bar Seating, Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value3

Great atmosphere and service with an exc ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on October 1, 2016

Great atmosphere and service with an excellent variety of dishes.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Excellent food with a creative menu. Se ...

vip
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on October 1, 2016

Excellent food with a creative menu. Service is not quite to the same standard. Drinks are a big price in small glasses. I recommend enjoying the food but grab a drink somewhere else.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value3

My second trip to Morel and it was just ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on September 29, 2016

My second trip to Morel and it was just as good as the first time. Wonderful, inventive cocktail menu. Seasonal dishes using local and creative ingredients. Fun rustic decor. The mushroom appetizer and to die for, corn chowder soup crazy good! Lamb dish was flavorful but way too salty. I should have sent it back but didn't feel up to being annoying, everything else was so fantastic. I will definitely return and in case something is too salty again, will let them know. Stuff happens...

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Cozy, Seasonal, Vibrant Bar Scene, Comfort Food, Open Kitchen, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Great Beer, Bar Seating, Local Ingredients, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

The food and service were outstanding. N ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on September 22, 2016

The food and service were outstanding. Not crazy expensive but taste is through the roof! Everything so fresh and creative. My server was able to describe everything. Great evening!

Tags: , Handcrafted Cocktails, Modern Decor, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Open Kitchen, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Bar Seating, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Delicious, creative, and extremely local ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on September 16, 2016

Delicious, creative, and extremely local! Albeit fairly pricey.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Disabled Access, Fun, Notable Wine List, Healthy, Molecular Gastronomy, Open Kitchen, Paleo Friendly, Creative Cuisine, Tapas, Local Ingredients, Pre/post Theatre, Bar Seating, Seasonal, Modern Decor, Fit for Foodies, Comfort Food, Organic, Good Vegetarian Options, Romantic, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Awesome food as always. The wait staff i ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 16, 2016

Awesome food as always. The wait staff is the best!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Organic, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.