About Morel

430 S. Second St
Milwaukee, WI 53204
View Larger Map

Rustic Elegance

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American

Hours of Operation:
Tuesday through Thursday 5:00pm-9:00pm
Friday and Saturday 5:00pm-10:00pm

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(414) 897-0747

Website:
http://www.morelmke.com/

Parking Details:
There is a private parking lot located across the street from Morel.

Executive Chef:
Jonathan Manyo

Additional:
Beer, Counter Seating, Farm to Table, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking Area, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Smoking Area, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Morel Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.8

service

4.7

ambience

4.5

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Food
Wisconsin
Fit for Foodies
Wisconsin
American
Wisconsin
3 More
Best Food
Milwaukee
Fit for Foodies
Milwaukee
American
Milwaukee
Best Restaurants in Milwaukee ›

fit for foodies (74)
special occasion (53)
neighborhood gem (38)
See All
romantic (36)
notable wine list (26)
hot spot (18)
good for groups (18)
vibrant bar scene (6)
late-night find (3)
great for brunch (2)
great for outdoor dining (1)
great for lunch (1)
Sort By:
Newest
227 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food2
ambience2
service4
value2

Lots of butter, lard and oils on every d ...

vip
Dined 6 days ago

Lots of butter, lard and oils on every dish. The exhaust system must have had a technical defect that night, as the entire restaurant was filled with waves of smoke and kitchen smells. Menu is geared towards the meat eating crowd - all entrees are either meat of fish. The non-meat options have cream or cheese and are equally high in fat , unfortunately. Wine list is interesting , very diverse and long.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5

Outstanding Service! Delicious Beet dish ...

Dined on June 24, 2016

Outstanding Service! Delicious Beet dish!

food5
ambience5
service5

The food exceeded my expectations each c ...

Dined on June 18, 2016

The food exceeded my expectations each course built on the previous and concluded with an exquisite dessert. The service was attentive but not intrusive. The food combinations were inventive and had an excellent balance of flavor a and spices. I look forward to my next visit.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Atmosphere, food, service - all fantasti ...

Dined on June 18, 2016

Atmosphere, food, service - all fantastic. My friends and I all greatly enjoyed the entire experience.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Whenever my dad and I get together, we a ...

Dined on June 18, 2016

Whenever my dad and I get together, we always try out new restaurants and this was one of our favorites we've explored together! First of all, the bread and butter is made onsite so it's easy to fill up on that before the starters even get there. But save room! The meal just got better and better. I had a mushroom pasta dish that was to die for, and you want to have a good mushroom at a place called Morel. I loved it and can't wait to go back!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was a great pick for our anniversar ...

Dined on June 11, 2016

This was a great pick for our anniversary dinner. The food was spectacular and reasonably priced for local, fresh food.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Can't say enough great things about More ...

Dined on June 11, 2016

Can't say enough great things about Morels. A farm to table style restaurant, this foodie spot has an attractive bar selection and food that makes you salivate for more. Fresh ingredients in every dish and every cocktail, I have unending respect for a restaurant that uses local produce and makes creations this divine. A wonderful dining experience with a thoughtful and attentive server who knew her stuff. I highly recommend visiting Morels.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Amazing grass fed beef that melted in yo ...

Dined on June 10, 2016

Amazing grass fed beef that melted in your mouth! A little pricey but wonderful food!!!

Tags: fit for foodies
food5
ambience4
service4

Recommended to me by a friend as a place ...

Dined on June 9, 2016

Recommended to me by a friend as a place to take my out of town guests from the San Francisco area. It could not have been a better choice. We loved our dining experience.

food5
ambience4
service4

The beef short rib was amazing! The Fla ...

Dined on June 3, 2016

The beef short rib was amazing! The Flatbread was superb! Cocktails were delicious!!

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Overall, Morel was an outstanding experi ...

Dined on May 25, 2016

Overall, Morel was an outstanding experience! The staff was extremely friendly and welcoming. The food was well-presented and tasted amazing. Our server was very observant on top of being very personable and an all around pleasant person. Could not have had a better time!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Wow. Serious actual Wisconsin farms to f ...

Dined on May 22, 2016

Wow. Serious actual Wisconsin farms to freash, hot superb plates

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Morel has Been on our top 10 list to visit

Dined on May 19, 2016

We definitely are foodies from the suburbs. Our favorite places always end up being downtown. We have read about Morel and have had it on our to do list for 6 months. We went with another couple to celebrate a birthday. We are all pretty harsh critics and usually find one part of the dinner that is lacking. I have to say it was so exciting to have found the "total package". We loved the simple, earthy but elegant atmosphere. So smart of them to put up burlap panels for sound buffering while keeping the beautiful cream city brick. Our server was knowledgeable on all aspects and ingredients of the menu. The food was creative and over the top delicious. We had two orders of the morel mushroom pasta starter and were ready to lick the bowls clean. Everyone's entrees were different and excellent.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Foodie Week

Dined on May 18, 2016

This was our first visit. Foodie week was the draw. The food was outstanding and the service very attentive and friendly. The relaxed atmosphere of the room made for a great evening. We will return.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

This restaurant is "farm to table" dinin ...

Dined on May 18, 2016

This restaurant is "farm to table" dining, using local ingredients. This was perfect for my trip in mid-May, when morel mushrooms, ramps, and asparagus are in season. All three were the stars of my dish, and I also tried the asparagus soup, morel fettuccini, and a salted caramel dessert. All the dishes were exceptional and everyone in our party was super impressed. Even the cocktails were good! I'm curious how a restaurant like this can dress up squash, cauliflower, and other winter vegetables come cold weather. I WILL be back to find out.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

AMAZING food, loved the ambiance. Frien ...

Dined on May 14, 2016

AMAZING food, loved the ambiance. Friendly staff! My new fave restaurant!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Great food and the service was excellent ...

Dined on May 13, 2016

Great food and the service was excellent.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Delectable

Dined on May 13, 2016

I've eaten out many times in the last few months, both in the states and in Europe. This was THE most delicious meal of all. We shared the smoked carrot salad and the morel fettucine (the pasta was fresh and delicate and the morel flavor and texture...just heavenly). The northern pike entree served with yukon gold potatoes and morel mushrooms offered many layers of flavors. You just wanted to savor the flavors with every bite! We ended with a piece of lemon-cranberry cheesecake with a rosemary gin anglaise that was also absolutely amazing. Our server was very attentive and described each dish when served. This restaurant has moved to the top of my preferred list.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Outstanding service. The food was over ...

Dined on May 12, 2016

Outstanding service. The food was over the top and so were the craft cocktails. They had an amazing wine selection. Everything is fresh and local. The service and even the kitchen staff were extremely personable. The restaurant itself it beautiful! Highly recommend. Especially if you are a foodie or looking for a special place for date night :)

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Enjoyed It All

Dined on May 4, 2016

We had a drink at the bar first and were happy with the size of the rocks drinks. The bar tender was friendly (too 2 older women) and we felt comfortable in the setting. Our dinners were excellent. Their lamb is always delicious--normally served 2 ways, one of which is a house made sausage which will vary, but is always so good. Our server was attentive and helpful and everything was prompt but no rushed. I'm always ready to return to Morel.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Always great food and service

Dined on May 4, 2016

Chef John and his wonderful staff always hit high marks for each and everyone one of my visits. I have been there over and over again, which is saying something from me. For me to return to a restaurant it really needs to be on the next level, which Morel is. The food is all made in-house, including the yogurt and ricotta. Also, the food is fresh and locally sourced when it can be. The staff is always exceptional and know the menu to a T. The cocktails are diverse and wonderful. The greatest thing is that the menu is ever changing as the seasons progress. Morel is the best and worth every penny spent.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service3

I won't go here for a romantic dinner or ...

Dined on April 30, 2016

I won't go here for a romantic dinner or date night

food5
ambience4
service5
value5

oldbusboy

Dined on April 21, 2016

Again, Morel was Impressive, notably in the professional level of service, and the quality of the food. Concepts, ingredients, preparations, execution were all outstanding. This time, the staff's depth of knowledge of the menu and details of the overall operation were clear to us.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Just Lovely

Dined on April 15, 2016

We had a great experience at Morel, from the aperitif (a perfect prosecco) to the most bizarre but very delicious dessert (a donut with bone marrow cream filling, duck liver ice cream, and a slice of bacon on top). Milwaukee has so many good restaurants, but this was one of the best and most memorable meals I've had. And we had a celebrity sighting - Jason Kidd was there! :)

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Can't go wrong here!

Dined on April 2, 2016

Always a favorite. Great food, wine, service. What's not to love? May have been a tad loud but that seems to be the trend everywhere these days. Not really a problem, though. We've been there before and are looking forward to returning again and again.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

A very well balanced and inventive menu, ...

Dined on April 2, 2016

A very well balanced and inventive menu, with incredible flavors in every dish! The smoked carrots in the beet salad added an amazing layer of creativity! From the Herbed Flatbread and Mushroom Polenta as starters, to the Beet Salad and Parsnip Soup as second courses and then the Cavatelli with Truffles as the main course, each plate was more delicious then the next! One of the most enjoyable dinners I've had out in awhile! Thanks Morel! We will definitely be back!

food5
ambience5
service5

Morel is the best MKE restaurant. When ...

vip
Dined on March 29, 2016

Morel is the best MKE restaurant. When is Manyo going to get his beard nomination. Crazy creative, interesting and delicious dishes.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fantastic Foodie Paradise

Dined on March 23, 2016

I landed on the trout, which was excellently prepared, but everything on the menu was uniquely prepared and served. I can't wait to go back to try the menu items I missed.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service5

Duck confit appetizer was great and ever ...

Dined on March 13, 2016

Duck confit appetizer was great and everything with mushrooms!

food5
ambience5
service5

The food was delicious! We started with ...

Dined on March 13, 2016

The food was delicious! We started with the special for the night, a mix of mushrooms over the creamiest polenta I've ever had. My husband had the short rib (which was melt in your mouth) and I had a cavatelli. The pasta was fantastic. There were fantastic flavors and textures that made it a true stand out. One of the best restaurants in Milwaukee. We will most certainly be back....often!

food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Too noisy. Too bad.

Dined on March 12, 2016

The rare combination of extraordinary food and superb service is marred by the incessant din. Perhaps on a week night it might be better.

Tags: fit for foodies
food5
ambience5
service1
value4

Great food, poor service

Dined on March 12, 2016

We went to Morel for Saturday date night. After we sat, we waited 10 minutes for water. Then we waited another 5 to even see our waitress. We ordered drinks and 2 appetizers. The drinks took another 10-15 minutes to come and did so with the first appetizer. It was a homemade biscuit with ham and honey and it was delicious. Then came our second appetizer, mushrooms with polenta and that had great taste as well. We ordered our entrees right away. The salad came and was very good, the flavored worked well together. Then we waited, and waited some more for our entrees. The table behind ours got their entree before us and sat down and ordered way after us. Finally they came with little acknowledgement from the waitress. The food was amazing, I had the lamb with gnocchi and I could have eaten it for days. He had the beef short rib and I heard no complaints. After we finished the entrees the waitress brought over dessert menus. She set them down with no explanations (there was sorbet on there but it didn't say what flavor) and didn't offer any coffee or after drinks. I did order the bread pudding which I thoroughly enjoyed. I have to say I was happy and disappointed with my trip to Morel. Everything I ate was delicious. The flavors were good and everything was cooked perfectly. The restaurant had a great vibe too. But the service was awful and really detracted from the dining experience. If I go again, I think I'll sit at the bar, the service has to be faster there...

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

top-notch experience

Dined on March 11, 2016

We had been looking forward to trying this restaurant, and It had been recommended by several friends -- certain dishes in particular. It met or exceeded all our expectations. The menu is particularly suited to meat eaters, but given that, it is thoughtfully conceived, beautifully executed. The service is at a level of professionalism not seen often enough in our city; prompt, friendly (but not overly), attentive, just formal enough. We look forward to coming in to sit at the "chef's table" section of the bar.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Had a great first time experience! Sarah ...

Dined on March 10, 2016

Had a great first time experience! Sarah is an amazing waitress, very knowledgable!

food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Great dining for meat lovers

vip
Dined on March 6, 2016

Morel does a nice job with the big proteins: steaks, short ribs, pork, duck, lamb, rabbit. Last weekend tried the rabbit ragu on house made pappardelle: phenomenal! Nice bread pudding dessert--without chocolate chips which don't belong in bread pudding. Loved that! One vegetarian entrée, actually sounded interesting. Trout is the only fish entrée. No included sides or salad, bread is extra charge, drinks/ wine runs in the $10-15 range. Very good service, great bartenders. Get's noisy during the evening dinner hour. Not a place for a romantic, intimate dinner and not for the faint of wallet. Quality of cooking justifies the rather high prices. We've dined here 3 times with consistent experiences.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We try all of the interesting restaurant ...

Dined on March 6, 2016

We try all of the interesting restaurants and Morel became an instant favorite. Flavors exploded in your mouth! Unusual combinations. Smaller potions. Wonderful service immediately upon entering.

Tags: fit for foodies
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Lovely

Dined on March 3, 2016

Used a city tin coaster before a play. Friendly staff and great food. Will definitely return.

Tags: fit for foodies
food5
ambience5
service5

Fantastic experience! The cheese plate ...

Dined on February 27, 2016

Fantastic experience! The cheese plate was extremely well-done, and both our entrees were outstanding.

food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Morel is one to be watched

Dined on February 25, 2016

The pheasant was exquisite and the lamb carpaccio had a delicate flavor and an excellent presentation. I found the ambiance to be warm and in citing with modern design that was free of pretension. All in all Morel did not disappoint.

Tags: fit for foodies
food4
ambience4
service5

Excellent local beer selection. Enjoyed ...

Dined on February 14, 2016

Excellent local beer selection. Enjoyed our server, Zoe! Apps were wonderful, especially the braised pork belly! Always get the special!

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.