About Morel

430 S. Second St
Milwaukee, WI 53204
View Larger Map

Rustic Elegance

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American

Hours of Operation:
Tuesday through Thursday 5:00pm-9:00pm
Friday and Saturday 5:00pm-10:00pm

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(414) 897-0747

Website:
http://www.morelmke.com/

Parking Details:
There is a private parking lot located across the street from Morel.

Executive Chef:
Jonathan Manyo

Additional:
Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Farm to Table, Happy Hour, Outdoor dining, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Morel Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.6

ambience

4.4

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Fit for Foodies
Wisconsin
American
Wisconsin
Fit for Foodies
Milwaukee
1 More
American
Milwaukee
Best Restaurants in Milwaukee ›

Fit for Foodies (39)
Creative Cuisine (32)
Special Occasion (31)
See All
Good for a Date (31)
Local Ingredients (26)
Handcrafted Cocktails (22)
Open Kitchen (19)
Romantic (18)
Good for Anniversaries (17)
Neighborhood Gem (15)
Bar Seating (15)
Modern Decor (14)
Authentic (11)
Fun (11)
Pre/post Theatre (10)
Good for Birthdays (10)
Hot Spot (10)
Cozy (10)
Worth the Drive (9)
Organic (9)
Notable Wine List (9)
Seasonal (9)
Good Vegetarian Options (6)
Quiet Conversation (6)
Comfort Food (5)
Healthy (5)
Tasting Menu (5)
Molecular Gastronomy (4)
Good for Groups (4)
Tapas (4)
Business Meals (4)
People Watching (4)
Casual (4)
Great Beer (3)
Outstanding Value (3)
Disabled Access (3)
Paleo Friendly (3)
Vibrant Bar Scene (3)
Historic (2)
Happy Hour (2)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Spicy (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Sort By:
S
285 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Joe was truly accommodating with our lar ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on November 24, 2016

Joe was truly accommodating with our larger group! Kate was fantastic!!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

What a great place. Excellent food, good ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on November 23, 2016

What a great place. Excellent food, good wine. Outstanding waitstaff. Tucked away just southwest of downtown, the location is easy to reach. Convenient on-strteet parking, plus a Morel-only lot across the street. Doesn't get much better!

Tags: Good for a Date, Comfort Food, Fun, Business Meals, Local Ingredients, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

A. MAZING. The best food we have had at ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 20, 2016

A. MAZING. The best food we have had at an upscale, trendy Milwaukee eatery in years. We can't wait to make a return visit!

Tags: Happy Hour, Good for Groups, Bar Seating, Handcrafted Cocktails, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

One of the top restaurants in the city o ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on November 20, 2016

One of the top restaurants in the city of Milwaukee!

Tags: Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Happy Hour, Romantic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was wonderful. Service was grea ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on November 17, 2016

The food was wonderful. Service was great too. We came to Milwaukee to see a Chris Botti concert and this was an excellent way to start the evening. I look forward to returning to Morel for another great experience.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Romantic, Authentic, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Amazing local food. The drinks and food ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on November 13, 2016

Amazing local food. The drinks and food was top notch. I can't wait to go back!!!

Tags: Hot Spot, Good Vegetarian Options, Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem, Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails, Open Kitchen, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

First time at Morel with the wife for da ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on November 13, 2016

First time at Morel with the wife for date night. Great food, great drinks, great ambiance. The service was delightful, but getting seated and served was super slow. It was a Satuday, and speed at a restaurant is not that important to me, so we will go again in a heartbeat!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Pre/post Theatre, Seasonal, Casual, Good for a Date, Modern Decor, People Watching, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

All I can say is WOW! If you haven't tr ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on November 13, 2016

All I can say is WOW! If you haven't tried Morel yet ... get there fast!

Excellent food, service ambiance!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Loved the décor. Staff was very friendly ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on November 9, 2016

Loved the décor. Staff was very friendly and efficient.

The music was outstanding. A lot of effort has been put into the selection.

2 of the 4 meals were an issue in that the short ribs were too "fatty".

The chef was apologetic.

Tags: Modern Decor, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Definately a letdown. Limited menu choi ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on November 5, 2016

Definately a letdown. Limited menu choices (to our liking) mostly all wild game. Food was overly rich-very salty. We won't be going back again unfortunately.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value2

Great local food, creatively prepared!

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on November 3, 2016

Great local food, creatively prepared!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Our waitress was exceptional & had great ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on October 25, 2016

Our waitress was exceptional & had great recommendations. While we didn't participate much in the drinking, everything else we tried, & we were not disappointed. With tip our meal was approximately $50/person.

Tags: Cozy, Tasting Menu, Fit for Foodies, Healthy, Authentic, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Delicious and the local sustainable meat ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on October 22, 2016

Delicious and the local sustainable meats were amazing!

Tags: Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Organic, Local Ingredients, Paleo Friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

The food was outstanding. Each dish ble ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on October 22, 2016

The food was outstanding. Each dish blew us away. I would highly recommend the duck pate appetizer. In fact I would order two of them next time. I had the beef short ribs and the meat was done to perfection. My wife had the trout and she said it was the best that she has ever had. Also a very good wine selection.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Our party of four arrived a bit early bu ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on October 22, 2016

Our party of four arrived a bit early but Morel was able to seat us immediately. Service was great but we did not feel rushed. We ordered appetizers and then dinner. The ribs and trout were excellent! On a previous visit we ate at the bar and enjoyed friendly service by Joe and a view of the talented Chefs at work!

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Organic, Local Ingredients, Fun, Bar Seating, Pre/post Theatre, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We can't figure out why this place is so ...

vip
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on October 8, 2016

We can't figure out why this place is so popular. The dining room is small, yet incredibly loud. It was impossible for the two of us to carry on a conversation without shouting. In addition, we had to wait for our table past our reservation time. We were told they "can't" sit 2 people at a 4-top. Yet, the couple after us were seated at a 4-top. So much for that "rule". Next, we order 2 of the same cocktail from their cocktail list, only to be told that they couldn't make them because they were out of a couple of the ingredients. And those cocktails sowed up on our bill. Overall, the food was just OK. The menu is quite limited. Needless to say, this was our last visit to Morel.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service2
value2

This was our first time at Morel and it ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on October 7, 2016

This was our first time at Morel and it really lived up to the hype! The minute we walked in were welcomed by a very friendly host who had us laughing by the time we got to our table. Our waitress was very knowledgeable and helpful with the wine list and menu. Everything we ordered (including freshly foraged mushrooms) was outstanding. I got the pork shoulder and joined the clean plate club. It was a great way to celebrate my husbands birthday! They even brought out some complimentary prosseco with our dessert! We will definitely be back.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good Vegetarian Options, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Organic, Disabled Access, Business Meals, Tapas, Seasonal, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Gluten Free Options, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Open Kitchen, Authentic, Worth the Drive, Pre/post Theatre, Romantic, Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Cozy, Neighborhood Gem, Modern Decor, Historic, Good for Groups, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Overall We were pleased with Morel. The ...

vip
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on October 2, 2016

Overall We were pleased with Morel. The food was high quality and creative. I had the lamb which was very good, but a little weird. What I mean is that the lamb itself was an excellent piece of meat well cooked and tender, but very delicate. The lamb was matched with a merguez, which again was good in itself, but the contrast of the two did not really work for me. The merguez completely overpowered the delicate lamb. I basically ate the dish as two separate plates. Lamb first, merguez second. Nothing was bad I just thing the combo did not work.

Service was great once it started. Morel is hot right now, so a little wait is to be expected, but when it gets to 30 minutes it is a bit much. I always use the counter example. If I was 30 minutes late for a reservation I know what would happen. The host knew it was a problem, he even commented that some people seem to think Morel is a hotel, not a restaurant. I do have some sympathy, but most 4 star places know that at this point a little something-something is required.

Still overall I will return. It will be when the place calms down and there won't be that worry of waiting for a reserved table.

Tags: Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Bar Seating, Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value3

Great atmosphere and service with an exc ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on October 1, 2016

Great atmosphere and service with an excellent variety of dishes.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Excellent food with a creative menu. Se ...

vip
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on October 1, 2016

Excellent food with a creative menu. Service is not quite to the same standard. Drinks are a big price in small glasses. I recommend enjoying the food but grab a drink somewhere else.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value3

My second trip to Morel and it was just ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on September 29, 2016

My second trip to Morel and it was just as good as the first time. Wonderful, inventive cocktail menu. Seasonal dishes using local and creative ingredients. Fun rustic decor. The mushroom appetizer and to die for, corn chowder soup crazy good! Lamb dish was flavorful but way too salty. I should have sent it back but didn't feel up to being annoying, everything else was so fantastic. I will definitely return and in case something is too salty again, will let them know. Stuff happens...

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Cozy, Seasonal, Vibrant Bar Scene, Comfort Food, Open Kitchen, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Great Beer, Bar Seating, Local Ingredients, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

The food and service were outstanding. N ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on September 22, 2016

The food and service were outstanding. Not crazy expensive but taste is through the roof! Everything so fresh and creative. My server was able to describe everything. Great evening!

Tags: Outstanding Value, Handcrafted Cocktails, Modern Decor, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Open Kitchen, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Bar Seating, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Delicious, creative, and extremely local ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on September 16, 2016

Delicious, creative, and extremely local! Albeit fairly pricey.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Disabled Access, Fun, Notable Wine List, Healthy, Molecular Gastronomy, Open Kitchen, Paleo Friendly, Creative Cuisine, Tapas, Local Ingredients, Pre/post Theatre, Bar Seating, Seasonal, Modern Decor, Fit for Foodies, Comfort Food, Organic, Good Vegetarian Options, Romantic, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Awesome food as always. The wait staff i ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 16, 2016

Awesome food as always. The wait staff is the best!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Organic, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We dined here Saturday night and had an ...

vip
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on September 10, 2016

We dined here Saturday night and had an excellent experience. The restaurant is really attractive in side and had a good vibe. The service from the host (Ralph) the bartenders and the waitress was all friendly and helpful. I had the rabbit dish and my wife had the Hangar steak and both were delicious and carefully prepared. Our friends split the lamb and said it was excellent. The salads were very unique and we had both. I had the melon salad which was a bit tart but really unique and good. The only negative was that they were out of two of the entrees (the fish and the pork). Since there are only seven on the list that was quite a large proportion. Otherwise great. We will be back.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

I ordered the trout. The trout was over- ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 8, 2016

I ordered the trout. The trout was over-seasoned and over-cooked, the green sauce was so salty that I could not identify which vegetable/ingredients went into it. The potatoes appeared to have been randomly thrown on to the plate and there was one green leaf of some kind under the fish. I was hoping for fresh fish and lots of fresh greens since Morel is a farm-to-table restaurant. I like the mild flavors of fresh food and feel the preparation of my meal did a disservice to the ingredients. Sad. 😔

Tags: Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service3
value2

In a city with numerous great dining opt ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on September 7, 2016

In a city with numerous great dining options Morel is a cut above the rest. Fantastic food, service and ambiance...and reasonable too! Mmm Mmm Morel!

Tags: Authentic, Romantic, Open Kitchen, Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good Vegetarian Options, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great service! Great food

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on September 3, 2016

Great service! Great food

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I liked Morel- it was good. It wasn't gr ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on September 3, 2016

I liked Morel- it was good. It wasn't great. Very over priced for what it is, but, we had a nice time. Staff is very nice, decor very hip. I doubt we'd go back.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value2

Amazing food and great service from star ...

vip
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on August 26, 2016

Amazing food and great service from start to finish!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Excellent food, but small plate offering ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on August 23, 2016

Excellent food, but small plate offerings are just that...very small.

Tags: Organic, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value2

Food was inventive and delicious; servic ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on August 20, 2016

Food was inventive and delicious; service was helpful, timely and friendly

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Open Kitchen, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

This was our second time at Morel and th ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on August 20, 2016

This was our second time at Morel and the menu is always top notch. The only complaint I had was that our flatbread appetizer and BOTH entrees were a bit on the salty side-not horrendous but wasn't as good as in the past. I'm also a chef and didn't se the need to send it back but did tell our server about it so they could mention it to the kitchen. I love the farm to table menu and using local ingredients. Too bad more restaurants cant do the same-but your menu does have to be somewhat limited when using this type of food-you cant feed large groups of people of have a large menu. Kudos to the Chefs

Tags: Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine, Open Kitchen, Hot Spot, Seasonal, Good for Anniversaries, Outstanding Value, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

Favorite restaurant in Milwaukee

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 20, 2016

Favorite restaurant in Milwaukee

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Morel is the best restaurant in Milwauke ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on August 20, 2016

Morel is the best restaurant in Milwaukee. The food, service, and ambiance is all top notch.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Beautifully and thoughtfully prepared, f ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 18, 2016

Beautifully and thoughtfully prepared, farm to table food. Great atmosphere and kind service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The biscuit w ham was outstanding. Beet ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on August 18, 2016

The biscuit w ham was outstanding. Beet salad, polenta w mushrooms very good. The duck mousse was overpowered by the black currants, but combination was great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

The food and service was extraordinary. ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on August 17, 2016

The food and service was extraordinary. Amazing sauces and presentation of some very creative dishes . We loved it all and will definitely return. Super nice rework of a old space that added extra nice ambiance.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Every detail of this dinner was excellen ...

vip
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on August 14, 2016

Every detail of this dinner was excellent! Appetizers(flatbread, mushroom sauté) were fantastic! We had one order of the short rib, one of the lamb shank and one trout all ofwhichwere excellent.

Our server was interesting and enjoyable and knew the offerings well. I consider this to have been and excellent dinner followed by a bread pudding which was enough for three of us!

On the ride home the only musing was that the lamb shank/short rib were winter meals and that the chefs should look at a more summery balance.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very good service. It was our second vi ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on August 14, 2016

Very good service. It was our second visit and just wasn't as good as the first. Summer squash salad nice but a bit too peppery. My husband thought the beet appetizer was bland. Pasta was fine but nothing special.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.