Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.36mi
  2. Distance: 0.39mi
  3. Distance: 0.59mi
  4. Distance: 0.67mi
  1. Distance: 0.36mi
  2. Distance: 0.39mi
  3. Distance: 0.59mi
  4. Distance: 0.67mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.36mi
  2. Distance: 0.39mi
  3. Distance: 0.59mi
  4. Distance: 0.67mi
  1. Distance: 0.36mi
  2. Distance: 0.39mi
  3. Distance: 0.59mi
  4. Distance: 0.67mi

About Morel

Rustic Elegance

430 S. Second St
Milwaukee, WI 53204
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American

Hours of Operation:
Tuesday through Thursday 5:00pm-9:00pm
Friday and Saturday 5:00pm-10:00pm

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(414) 897-0747

Website:
http://www.morelmke.com/

Parking Details:
There is a private parking lot located across the street from Morel.

Executive Chef:
Jonathan Manyo

Additional:
Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Farm to Table, Happy Hour, Outdoor dining, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Morel Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.8

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.8

ambience

4.7

value

4.4

noise

Moderate

98% would recommend it to a friend

Fit for Foodies (47)
Creative Cuisine (45)
Local Ingredients (42)
See All
Special Occasion (37)
Good for a Date (36)
Romantic (28)
Handcrafted Cocktails (26)
Open Kitchen (26)
Good for Anniversaries (25)
Casual (22)
Neighborhood Gem (21)
Worth the Drive (21)
Authentic (21)
Cozy (18)
Seasonal (17)
Good for Birthdays (16)
Hot Spot (14)
Notable Wine List (13)
Fun (13)
Modern Decor (12)
Bar Seating (11)
Business Meals (11)
Tasting Menu (9)
Pre/post Theatre (8)
Organic (8)
Historic (8)
Quiet Conversation (8)
Great Beer (6)
Comfort Food (6)
Good Vegetarian Options (6)
Vibrant Bar Scene (6)
Tapas (6)
Healthy (6)
Good for Groups (5)
Outstanding Value (4)
People Watching (3)
Molecular Gastronomy (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Great for Outdoor Dining (2)
 (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Family Style (1)
 (1)
 (1)
 (1)
 (1)
 (1)
 (1)
 (1)
 (1)
 (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Wood Oven (0)
Sort By:
S
346 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined 6 days ago

Perfection!

Tags: Cozy, Open Kitchen, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined 6 days ago

This was our first time at Morel, and I cannot say enough good things about it to everyone I meet. From the moment we walked in we had the best service and amazing food & drink. The mushroom special (lion's mane mushrooms over polenta) kicked things off, and I knew from that moment on that I was in Heaven. Wonderful cheeseboard with four varieties of Wisconsin cheese, nuts, honey, and fruit. My trout was well paired with spring vegetables, and the short rib had my fiance dying of happiness. Go to Morel. You will not regret it.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients, Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Tasting Menu, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Open Kitchen, Good for a Date, Seasonal, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Tapas, Romantic, Historic, Great Beer, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Bar Seating, Cozy, Pre/post Theatre, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (London)·Dined 7 days ago

Sehr nette Bedienung. Kleine Speisekarte, aber abwechslungsreich und ausgefallene On Top Tagesberichte.
Hat uns sehr gut gefallen. Dankeschön!
Very kind waitress. The menu was not that big but a lot of fancy dishes and in addition excellent meals which are not on the menu. It was a wonderful evening. Thank you!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Tasting Menu, Good for a Date, Authentic, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Highly recommend sitting at the chefs counter. Delicious seasonal cuisine with great service in a relaxing atmosphere, what more could you want?

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on April 15, 2017

Maybe my favorite Milwaukee restaurant. Stellar service!!!! Great vibe. Food is terrific,

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on April 13, 2017

Great menu with unique options. Every bite was mouth watering. Molly, our wait person was knowledgeable and attentive.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Molecular Gastronomy, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on April 12, 2017

This was my third visit and I will definitely be back. The menu is always interesting and delicious and the service is great.

Tags: Historic, , , , Cozy, , Casual, , , , , , , , ,
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on April 7, 2017

Amazing food and cocktails. Atmosphere was pleasant. Service was exceptional. Will be back

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Tasting Menu, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on April 7, 2017

Excellent food and service! Affordable for the quality. We had the pork shoulder and the duck, and both of us really enjoyed our meals. Chef Manyo puts together fantastic dishes that are creative, local and delicious. We will be back!

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Seasonal, Open Kitchen, Special Occasion, Romantic, Business Meals, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 1, 2017

The most amazing food! Everything was made there and it showed! Eat the rabbit, it was to die for!!!!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on April 1, 2017

My partner and I were first-timers and going off the recommendation of several friends. We are by no means food snobs, but we can recognize incredible meals when we have them, and Morel delivered just that. A warm and informative but not overbearing server, local ingredients, and mind-blowing desserts made our anniversary very special. Thank you!!

Tags: Disabled Access, Seasonal, Family Style, Pre/post Theatre, Casual, Open Kitchen, Historic, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Handcrafted Cocktails, Tapas, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Vibrant Bar Scene, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Authentic, Cozy, Organic, Special Occasion, Fun, Comfort Food, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on March 25, 2017

The staff was friendly and knowledgeable about the food. The menu had a nice variety and had choices that allowed you to try something new, like rabbit. The atmosphere was lively on a Saturday night which was fun but not ideal if you want a quiet date night.
Ask about the specials (biscuit with honey and ham) and have a dessert. Yum!

Tags: Organic, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on March 25, 2017

Right for the start the staff was friendly and courteous. Great atmosphere, amazing food and good drinks. Looking forward to going again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on March 24, 2017

This restaurant exceeded my expectations. The four of us each had superb meals. While I got a rap beer that was flat, the server quickly replaced it with another beer style. She was attentive enough and she helped make the night enjoyable.

Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date, Organic, Great Beer, Creative Cuisine, Seasonal, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 18, 2017

My wife and I visited for an anniversary dinner. The food selection was good and the food itself was fabulous. We ended up choosing the rabbit and the duck. Both were tasty. Portion sizes were plenty large and service was attentive. Will definitely return.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on March 12, 2017

Outstanding dinner. Honey Ham Biscuit, Pork Chop, and Maple Glazed Donut made for an unbelievable 3 course microphone dropping dinner!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on March 11, 2017

We always enjoy our visits to Morel. The menu boasts fresh items no matter what season it is ~ the staff is very knowledgeable, welcoming and friendly. The desserts are amazing ~ at least get one and share it!!

Tags: Casual, Handcrafted Cocktails, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Hot Spot, Romantic, Outstanding Value, Open Kitchen, Authentic, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Healthy, Seasonal, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Late-night Find, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on March 11, 2017

The food was out of this world! And the service was top notch as well.

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on March 10, 2017

A creative chef is behind the changing menu at this local-sourced eatery. The entree menu is welcomingly limited to about 7-9 choices which to me signifies that each dish is a thoughtful consideration by the chef. The appetizer menu was a varied choice of "not your typical" food fusions. Wondrous! I enjoyed the chef's special that night, a choice steak cut prepared with pepper and bleu cheese, sourced from a local Wisconsin cattle ranch. Prepared with onion rings and dipping sauces. Delicious!

Tags: Special Occasion, Casual, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on March 10, 2017

Wonderful atmosphere
Extremely friendly,pleasant, competent caring staff.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Organic, Local Ingredients, Authentic, Open Kitchen, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on March 9, 2017

I took 2 clients here for a dinner and they loved it and so did I

Tags: Tasting Menu, Cozy, Romantic, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Pre/post Theatre, Business Meals, Fit for Foodies, Open Kitchen, Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on March 8, 2017

Excellent menu that accommodated the wish for more unusual plates (the duck was great) as well as the less adventurous palate. Fantastic use of several interesting mushrooms. Our server, Kate, was friendly and very helpful with the menu. The 1/2 off wine selection was a nice bonus with several interesting and delicious wines. Call ahead and watch the times for the half off wine.

Tags: Business Meals, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on March 3, 2017

Service was excellent! Our waitress was attentive and knowledgeable and in very good humor for the entire evening. The wine list was amazing. Food was good but I wouldn't give it a 10; maybe a 7. The sauce and vegies were yummy and saved the short ribs (which could have been more tender . . . they were a little "stringy" and still needed a knife). I can't speak for the others but I know there were clean plates at the end of the evening.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem, Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Business Meals, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on February 26, 2017

Morel was amazing, as usual. The lamb carpaccio is one of my new favorites. A great alternative to the usual beef. The Lake Trout was beautifully plated, crispy skin, and the flavors worked together to create a balanced and memorable dish. The service is a huge part of the reason I enjoy dining here. I love talking to people and sharing their experiences, so it is wonderful to be able to connect and briefly enjoy some fun conversation with my servers. Morel is an excellent example of just how awesome a restaurant can be when the FOH and BOH staff work together to create a unique and memorable experience. Way to go guys!

Tags: Bar Seating, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Anniversaries, Casual, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Fun, Hot Spot, Worth the Drive, Seasonal, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 26, 2017

Great as usual! Awesome seasonal inventive menu! The ham biscuit appetizer was savory.

Tags: Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Worth the Drive, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on February 26, 2017

Love this place! Staff was amazing and the food was fantastic!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on February 26, 2017

The service was excellent. The food was excellent. However a couple of the appetizers were on the salty side... not bad but would have enjoyed less salt. The desserts were wonderful. I would highly recommend this restaurant.

Tags: Authentic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 25, 2017

If you're reading this I hope you're at Morel If not, you need to get there! Get this restaurant on the list of places to go

Creative, delicious, local coupled with outstanding service and terrific handcrafted cocktails. Oh, and they have a great wine list to reasonably priced

Tags: Bar Seating, Handcrafted Cocktails, Casual, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Cozy, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on February 22, 2017

Went here for our son's 30th birthday (his choice and not our first time at Morel). They are definitely one of the premier dining spots in Milwaukee. Very innovative and just delicious tasting food (I think they don't spare the fat). Known for their house made sausage. Service was absolutely flawless. Felt so pampered. Only problem was a niosy table of about 12 people near us. But what are you going to do? They get to go out to eat too. We just out-talked them.

Tags: Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Casual, Modern Decor, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on February 22, 2017

First time was an absolute delight. Delicious food, attentive staff and energetic crowd for a Tuesday night. We look forward to returning in the very near future!!!

Tags: Historic, Casual, Business Meals, Fun, Comfort Food, Fit for Foodies, Seasonal, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on February 19, 2017

excellent! simple food prepared to the highest quality! The flavors never seemed to end!

Tags: Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Casual, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on February 16, 2017

The cuisine at Morel is always inventive, extremely well prepared and delicious. The owner and chef, John, has an imaginative and eclectic approach to creating amazing food which focuses on the use of local and regional sources for ingredients, and strives to create exquisite food that uses unusual combinations of ingredients to create fantastic foods that sound provocative but are in fact amazing combinations that would not occur to most. As the name suggests, mushrooms, especially morels in season, play a major role in the dishes prepared by what is a very talented restaurant staff.

The choice of wines, beers, spirits and cocktails is excellent and frequently changing. As an aficionado of rye and bourbon based cocktails, I have discovered many exceptional options. And, they prepare extremely good examples of classics, such as Manhattan, sazerac and Vieux carres. My wife finds many cocktail options as well, although she prefers vodka based versions, especially cosmos. Working with one of the bartenders, Joe, she created a variation on a cosmo that adds an entirely new dimension to what can be a somewhat safe, but not at all interesting drink.

Which brings me to mentioning the staff, the members of which are universally friendly, extremely conscientious and dedicated to the success of both a diners experience and the restaurant at which they work. Several of them have become our friends, especially Ralph, the maitre de on weekends, who has alerted us to events that are added to the schedule, Molly and Kahleia (spelling). Joe is always accommodating, friendly and personable.

As I mentioned, there are occasional special events, which are focused on combinations of food and drink. They have been consistently amazing. This restaurant is truly a "foodie" paradise that compares favorably to the great restaurants in the country.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Authentic, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Vibrant Bar Scene, Local Ingredients, Hot Spot, Open Kitchen, Handcrafted Cocktails, Great Beer, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on February 15, 2017

First time at Morel, we will definitely be back. Our server was perfect, attentive but not too much. Food was fresh and tasted, we had the Rabbit Ragout and the Herb Spatzle. We can't wait to go back

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Good Vegetarian Options, Comfort Food, Creative Cuisine, Great Beer, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Morel is a wonderful farm to table restaurant. Highly recommend it.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Casual, Comfort Food, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Food, service, setting, cocktails ... all were spectacular. Nothing rushed. Reasonable price for the experience.

Tags: Modern Decor, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Open Kitchen, Fit for Foodies, Comfort Food, Romantic, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on February 10, 2017

A little on the pricier side ($98.00 including the tip for two people) but the food was phenomenal and worth the money. Definitely a great place for a special occasion!

Tags: Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on February 8, 2017

Great service, ambiance and food. The appetizers are great for sharing

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Food was good but the portions were too small for the price. Left feeling unsatisfied. Beer list was not unique at all and the price's were above average. Bartender signature cocktails were delicious. Gluten free options lacking.

Tags: Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value2

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on January 29, 2017

This was our 3rd time going because we really do love it. We brought two friends who had never been and they'll come back too. Morel is such a unique place with creative food choices. Love the bartender and the wait staff. All were fun and very knowledgeable. They both gave great dinner and wine recommendations. We did try the bone marrow donut and liver ice cream because you have to try something like that. However, the four of us did not care for that dessert. Great place though. Highly recommend to anyone who wants to try farm to table, fun and unique cuisine.

Tags: Fun, Tasting Menu, Special Occasion, Seasonal, Vibrant Bar Scene, Hot Spot, Happy Hour, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Model never fails to impress... it's my favorite restaurant in MKE, and next time, I'm trying the Chef's Counter!

Tags: Cozy, Good Vegetarian Options, Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.