About Morel

430 S. Second St
Milwaukee, WI 53204
View Larger Map

Rustic Elegance

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American

Hours of Operation:
Tuesday through Thursday 5:00pm-9:00pm
Friday and Saturday 5:00pm-10:00pm

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(414) 897-0747

Website:
http://www.morelmke.com/

Parking Details:
There is a private parking lot located across the street from Morel.

Executive Chef:
Jonathan Manyo

Additional:
Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Farm to Table, Happy Hour, Outdoor dining, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Morel Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.7

ambience

4.6

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

97% would recommend it to a friend

Local Ingredients (31)
Fit for Foodies (31)
Creative Cuisine (29)
See All
Special Occasion (26)
Good for a Date (25)
Romantic (20)
Open Kitchen (19)
Handcrafted Cocktails (17)
Neighborhood Gem (17)
Good for Anniversaries (16)
Worth the Drive (16)
Modern Decor (14)
Casual (14)
Fun (13)
Authentic (13)
Cozy (12)
Hot Spot (12)
Seasonal (10)
Good for Birthdays (9)
Business Meals (9)
Good Vegetarian Options (8)
Notable Wine List (8)
Bar Seating (8)
Pre/post Theatre (7)
Vibrant Bar Scene (6)
Comfort Food (6)
Tapas (5)
Healthy (5)
Organic (5)
Outstanding Value (4)
Great Beer (4)
Good for Groups (4)
Tasting Menu (4)
Historic (4)
Happy Hour (4)
People Watching (3)
Quiet Conversation (3)
Molecular Gastronomy (2)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Sort By:
S
317 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined 4 days ago

Went here for our son's 30th birthday (his choice and not our first time at Morel). They are definitely one of the premier dining spots in Milwaukee. Very innovative and just delicious tasting food (I think they don't spare the fat). Known for their house made sausage. Service was absolutely flawless. Felt so pampered. Only problem was a niosy table of about 12 people near us. But what are you going to do? They get to go out to eat too. We just out-talked them.

Tags: Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Casual, Modern Decor, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Milwaukee)·Dined 4 days ago

First time was an absolute delight. Delicious food, attentive staff and energetic crowd for a Tuesday night. We look forward to returning in the very near future!!!

Tags: Historic, Casual, Business Meals, Fun, Comfort Food, Fit for Foodies, Seasonal, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined 7 days ago

excellent! simple food prepared to the highest quality! The flavors never seemed to end!

Tags: Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Casual, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on February 16, 2017

The cuisine at Morel is always inventive, extremely well prepared and delicious. The owner and chef, John, has an imaginative and eclectic approach to creating amazing food which focuses on the use of local and regional sources for ingredients, and strives to create exquisite food that uses unusual combinations of ingredients to create fantastic foods that sound provocative but are in fact amazing combinations that would not occur to most. As the name suggests, mushrooms, especially morels in season, play a major role in the dishes prepared by what is a very talented restaurant staff.

The choice of wines, beers, spirits and cocktails is excellent and frequently changing. As an aficionado of rye and bourbon based cocktails, I have discovered many exceptional options. And, they prepare extremely good examples of classics, such as Manhattan, sazerac and Vieux carres. My wife finds many cocktail options as well, although she prefers vodka based versions, especially cosmos. Working with one of the bartenders, Joe, she created a variation on a cosmo that adds an entirely new dimension to what can be a somewhat safe, but not at all interesting drink.

Which brings me to mentioning the staff, the members of which are universally friendly, extremely conscientious and dedicated to the success of both a diners experience and the restaurant at which they work. Several of them have become our friends, especially Ralph, the maitre de on weekends, who has alerted us to events that are added to the schedule, Molly and Kahleia (spelling). Joe is always accommodating, friendly and personable.

As I mentioned, there are occasional special events, which are focused on combinations of food and drink. They have been consistently amazing. This restaurant is truly a "foodie" paradise that compares favorably to the great restaurants in the country.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Authentic, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Vibrant Bar Scene, Local Ingredients, Hot Spot, Open Kitchen, Handcrafted Cocktails, Great Beer, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on February 15, 2017

First time at Morel, we will definitely be back. Our server was perfect, attentive but not too much. Food was fresh and tasted, we had the Rabbit Ragout and the Herb Spatzle. We can't wait to go back

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Good Vegetarian Options, Comfort Food, Creative Cuisine, Great Beer, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Morel is a wonderful farm to table restaurant. Highly recommend it.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Casual, Comfort Food, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Food, service, setting, cocktails ... all were spectacular. Nothing rushed. Reasonable price for the experience.

Tags: Modern Decor, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Open Kitchen, Fit for Foodies, Comfort Food, Romantic, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on February 10, 2017

A little on the pricier side ($98.00 including the tip for two people) but the food was phenomenal and worth the money. Definitely a great place for a special occasion!

Tags: Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on February 8, 2017

Great service, ambiance and food. The appetizers are great for sharing

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Food was good but the portions were too small for the price. Left feeling unsatisfied. Beer list was not unique at all and the price's were above average. Bartender signature cocktails were delicious. Gluten free options lacking.

Tags: Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value2

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on January 29, 2017

This was our 3rd time going because we really do love it. We brought two friends who had never been and they'll come back too. Morel is such a unique place with creative food choices. Love the bartender and the wait staff. All were fun and very knowledgeable. They both gave great dinner and wine recommendations. We did try the bone marrow donut and liver ice cream because you have to try something like that. However, the four of us did not care for that dessert. Great place though. Highly recommend to anyone who wants to try farm to table, fun and unique cuisine.

Tags: Fun, Tasting Menu, Special Occasion, Seasonal, Vibrant Bar Scene, Hot Spot, Happy Hour, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Model never fails to impress... it's my favorite restaurant in MKE, and next time, I'm trying the Chef's Counter!

Tags: Cozy, Good Vegetarian Options, Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on January 27, 2017

Been there before, will go back when I'm in town (280 miles from home!). This is a superior dining experience without the aires of pomp that make dining uncomfortable. This is the place to go.

Tags: Authentic, Good Vegetarian Options, Creative Cuisine, Healthy, Worth the Drive, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Fun, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on January 27, 2017

Excellent choices, great food, attentive service--my out-of-town guest loved it.

Tags: Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem, Historic, Great for Brunch, Healthy, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on January 21, 2017

This was our fourth time eating at Morel, which really says something, because we don't often return to places this pricey. Usually we find they aren't worth the money. Not true with Morel. It's not horribly expensive but it is more of a special occasion place due to cost. We had 3 appetizers, 3 main courses and 3 desserts as well as 2 cocktails, 4 glasses of wine and 1 after dinner drink. The total cost was $233 which isn't too bad for a dinner as delicious as this.

The restaurant isn't very big so it's a little noisy. The service is very prompt, helpful and friendly but it isn't 4 or 5 star service. Though there was plenty of room to move around our table, our server often reached across and didn't cater to the older woman at the table first. The service was more casual than I expect given the quality of the food. Now let's talk about that.

We have never had a bad dish at Morel. The food is either very good or exquisite. From a pâté appetizer to a lamb entree to their fabulous "special donut" with maple ice cream and bacon, the food here is always different and very good! We're happy to give a little on the service when the food is among the best we've had, not just in Milwaukee, but anywhere.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on January 14, 2017

I always have a good experience at Morel. This time we had our server chose our selections for the starters and main course and they were all delicious. I can't wait to go back!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 14, 2017

Fantastic service and delicious food! We couldn't be more pleased and impressed!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on January 8, 2017

The service and food were both excellent. Interesting food and cocktail menu selections. Chestnut soup was amazing. Warm, friendly and welcoming atmosphere.

We called because we were going to be a few minutes late and they were very accommodating.

Tags: Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Tapas, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on January 7, 2017

Loved it! New favorite restaurant in MKE. Food and service outstanding.

Tags: Modern Decor, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on January 6, 2017

Food, service, music and artwork all came together for a wonderful experience. Trout was superb.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on January 4, 2017

Excellent food. Excellent service. Overall great experience.

Tags: Special Occasion, Business Meals, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Went for NYE, and it was outstanding. Good selection of small and large plates. Cocktails and wine on point. Would recommend to anyone and everyone.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Seasonal, Modern Decor, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Good Vegetarian Options, Outstanding Value, Pre/post Theatre, Great Beer, Local Ingredients, Business Meals, Handcrafted Cocktails, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on December 31, 2016

We both had the trout. Delicious and unique preparation. The ravioli special starter was amazing, as was the clafoutis dessert. Will definitely go back, and we will bring friends.

Tags: Casual, Good for a Date, Authentic, Local Ingredients, Open Kitchen, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on December 29, 2016

creative cuisine with multiple options for any tastes. good beer and wine selection

Tags: Good for a Date, Fun, Seasonal, Modern Decor, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on December 29, 2016

I loved everything I had --very inventive and unusual. Also enjoyed the wine list.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Fun, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on December 24, 2016

Great service from everyone. Host, waitstaff and bartenders are all friendly, knowledgeable, and courteous. The food is excellent and is farm to table focused. It is a changing menu depending on availability, if it's on the menu rabbit ragout, lamb ragout pheasant and short ribs are all great choices. Duck confit ravioli with black truffle app was delicious. The salted caramel mousse for dessert is a must for us when we go. Great cocktails and small/nice beer and wine list.

Tags: Open Kitchen, Organic, Special Occasion, Casual, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on December 23, 2016

Outstanding food and service and overall wonderful experience

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on December 22, 2016

One of my new favorite restaurants in Milwaukee! We split a bunch of the small plates and had some ciders and it was all super delicious. Very excited to return. There isn't a lot of room so make a reservation or eating at the bar looked good too.

Tags: Healthy, Pre/post Theatre, Bar Seating, Neighborhood Gem, Good Vegetarian Options, Outstanding Value, Good for a Date, Tapas, Modern Decor, Romantic, Great Beer, Organic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on December 18, 2016

Room was cold (around 65 degrees) at 6pm when we arrived. Portions were small - had to order an extra serving of vegetables when my wife's entree arrived with 5 small green beans in the plate. The meat dishes were excellently prepared.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on December 14, 2016

Excellent food and I like the local farm to table. I highly recommend Morels for special occasions and dates. Expect to pay at least $60 per plate (appetizer,dinner, 2 drinks and tip) great taste, good portions, loved it.

Tags: Cozy, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on December 2, 2016

Food was good and everything is locally sourced and homemade (including the delicious breads and pastas). It was a little expensive for the portion sizes and options, but the service was excellent and the atmosphere is nice.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on November 24, 2016

Joe was truly accommodating with our larger group! Kate was fantastic!!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on November 23, 2016

What a great place. Excellent food, good wine. Outstanding waitstaff. Tucked away just southwest of downtown, the location is easy to reach. Convenient on-strteet parking, plus a Morel-only lot across the street. Doesn't get much better!

Tags: Good for a Date, Comfort Food, Fun, Business Meals, Local Ingredients, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 20, 2016

A. MAZING. The best food we have had at an upscale, trendy Milwaukee eatery in years. We can't wait to make a return visit!

Tags: Happy Hour, Good for Groups, Bar Seating, Handcrafted Cocktails, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on November 20, 2016

One of the top restaurants in the city of Milwaukee!

Tags: Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Happy Hour, Romantic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on November 17, 2016

The food was wonderful. Service was great too. We came to Milwaukee to see a Chris Botti concert and this was an excellent way to start the evening. I look forward to returning to Morel for another great experience.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Romantic, Authentic, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on November 13, 2016

Amazing local food. The drinks and food was top notch. I can't wait to go back!!!

Tags: Hot Spot, Good Vegetarian Options, Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem, Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails, Open Kitchen, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on November 13, 2016

First time at Morel with the wife for date night. Great food, great drinks, great ambiance. The service was delightful, but getting seated and served was super slow. It was a Satuday, and speed at a restaurant is not that important to me, so we will go again in a heartbeat!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Pre/post Theatre, Seasonal, Casual, Good for a Date, Modern Decor, People Watching, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on November 13, 2016

All I can say is WOW! If you haven't tried Morel yet ... get there fast!

Excellent food, service ambiance!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on November 9, 2016

Loved the décor. Staff was very friendly and efficient.

The music was outstanding. A lot of effort has been put into the selection.

2 of the 4 meals were an issue in that the short ribs were too "fatty".

The chef was apologetic.

Tags: Modern Decor, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on November 5, 2016

Definately a letdown. Limited menu choices (to our liking) mostly all wild game. Food was overly rich-very salty. We won't be going back again unfortunately.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value2

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on November 3, 2016

Great local food, creatively prepared!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on October 25, 2016

Our waitress was exceptional & had great recommendations. While we didn't participate much in the drinking, everything else we tried, & we were not disappointed. With tip our meal was approximately $50/person.

Tags: Cozy, Tasting Menu, Fit for Foodies, Healthy, Authentic, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on October 22, 2016

Delicious and the local sustainable meats were amazing!

Tags: Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Organic, Local Ingredients, Paleo Friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on October 22, 2016

The food was outstanding. Each dish blew us away. I would highly recommend the duck pate appetizer. In fact I would order two of them next time. I had the beef short ribs and the meat was done to perfection. My wife had the trout and she said it was the best that she has ever had. Also a very good wine selection.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on October 22, 2016

Our party of four arrived a bit early but Morel was able to seat us immediately. Service was great but we did not feel rushed. We ordered appetizers and then dinner. The ribs and trout were excellent! On a previous visit we ate at the bar and enjoyed friendly service by Joe and a view of the talented Chefs at work!

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Organic, Local Ingredients, Fun, Bar Seating, Pre/post Theatre, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on October 15, 2016

One of the best meals I have ever had from start to finish.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on October 8, 2016

We can't figure out why this place is so popular. The dining room is small, yet incredibly loud. It was impossible for the two of us to carry on a conversation without shouting. In addition, we had to wait for our table past our reservation time. We were told they "can't" sit 2 people at a 4-top. Yet, the couple after us were seated at a 4-top. So much for that "rule". Next, we order 2 of the same cocktail from their cocktail list, only to be told that they couldn't make them because they were out of a couple of the ingredients. And those cocktails sowed up on our bill. Overall, the food was just OK. The menu is quite limited. Needless to say, this was our last visit to Morel.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service2
value2

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on October 7, 2016

This was our first time at Morel and it really lived up to the hype! The minute we walked in were welcomed by a very friendly host who had us laughing by the time we got to our table. Our waitress was very knowledgeable and helpful with the wine list and menu. Everything we ordered (including freshly foraged mushrooms) was outstanding. I got the pork shoulder and joined the clean plate club. It was a great way to celebrate my husbands birthday! They even brought out some complimentary prosseco with our dessert! We will definitely be back.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good Vegetarian Options, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Organic, Disabled Access, Business Meals, Tapas, Seasonal, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Gluten Free Options, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Open Kitchen, Authentic, Worth the Drive, Pre/post Theatre, Romantic, Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Cozy, Neighborhood Gem, Modern Decor, Historic, Good for Groups, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on October 2, 2016

Overall We were pleased with Morel. The food was high quality and creative. I had the lamb which was very good, but a little weird. What I mean is that the lamb itself was an excellent piece of meat well cooked and tender, but very delicate. The lamb was matched with a merguez, which again was good in itself, but the contrast of the two did not really work for me. The merguez completely overpowered the delicate lamb. I basically ate the dish as two separate plates. Lamb first, merguez second. Nothing was bad I just thing the combo did not work.

Service was great once it started. Morel is hot right now, so a little wait is to be expected, but when it gets to 30 minutes it is a bit much. I always use the counter example. If I was 30 minutes late for a reservation I know what would happen. The host knew it was a problem, he even commented that some people seem to think Morel is a hotel, not a restaurant. I do have some sympathy, but most 4 star places know that at this point a little something-something is required.

Still overall I will return. It will be when the place calms down and there won't be that worry of waiting for a reserved table.

Tags: Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Bar Seating, Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.