About Morel

430 S. Second St
Milwaukee, WI 53204
View Larger Map

Rustic Elegance

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American

Hours of Operation:
Tuesday through Thursday 5:00pm-9:00pm
Friday and Saturday 5:00pm-10:00pm

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(414) 897-0747

Website:
http://www.morelmke.com/

Parking Details:
There is a private parking lot located across the street from Morel.

Executive Chef:
Jonathan Manyo

Additional:
Beer, Counter Seating, Farm to Table, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking Area, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Smoking Area, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Morel Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.6

ambience

4.5

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Fit for Foodies
Wisconsin
American
Wisconsin
Best Food
Milwaukee
2 More
Fit for Foodies
Milwaukee
American
Milwaukee
Best Restaurants in Milwaukee ›

fit for foodies (70)
special occasion (48)
romantic (34)
See All
neighborhood gem (32)
notable wine list (21)
hot spot (17)
good for groups (14)
vibrant bar scene (6)
late-night find (4)
great for brunch (2)
great for outdoor dining (1)
great for lunch (1)
Sort By:
Newest
214 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5

Wow. Serious actual Wisconsin farms to f ...

Dined 3 days ago

Wow. Serious actual Wisconsin farms to freash, hot superb plates

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Foodie Week

Dined 6 days ago

This was our first visit. Foodie week was the draw. The food was outstanding and the service very attentive and friendly. The relaxed atmosphere of the room made for a great evening. We will return.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

AMAZING food, loved the ambiance. Frien ...

Dined on May 14, 2016

AMAZING food, loved the ambiance. Friendly staff! My new fave restaurant!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Great food and the service was excellent ...

Dined on May 13, 2016

Great food and the service was excellent.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Delectable

Dined on May 13, 2016

I've eaten out many times in the last few months, both in the states and in Europe. This was THE most delicious meal of all. We shared the smoked carrot salad and the morel fettucine (the pasta was fresh and delicate and the morel flavor and texture...just heavenly). The northern pike entree served with yukon gold potatoes and morel mushrooms offered many layers of flavors. You just wanted to savor the flavors with every bite! We ended with a piece of lemon-cranberry cheesecake with a rosemary gin anglaise that was also absolutely amazing. Our server was very attentive and described each dish when served. This restaurant has moved to the top of my preferred list.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Outstanding service. The food was over ...

Dined on May 12, 2016

Outstanding service. The food was over the top and so were the craft cocktails. They had an amazing wine selection. Everything is fresh and local. The service and even the kitchen staff were extremely personable. The restaurant itself it beautiful! Highly recommend. Especially if you are a foodie or looking for a special place for date night :)

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Enjoyed It All

Dined on May 4, 2016

We had a drink at the bar first and were happy with the size of the rocks drinks. The bar tender was friendly (too 2 older women) and we felt comfortable in the setting. Our dinners were excellent. Their lamb is always delicious--normally served 2 ways, one of which is a house made sausage which will vary, but is always so good. Our server was attentive and helpful and everything was prompt but no rushed. I'm always ready to return to Morel.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Always great food and service

Dined on May 4, 2016

Chef John and his wonderful staff always hit high marks for each and everyone one of my visits. I have been there over and over again, which is saying something from me. For me to return to a restaurant it really needs to be on the next level, which Morel is. The food is all made in-house, including the yogurt and ricotta. Also, the food is fresh and locally sourced when it can be. The staff is always exceptional and know the menu to a T. The cocktails are diverse and wonderful. The greatest thing is that the menu is ever changing as the seasons progress. Morel is the best and worth every penny spent.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service3

I won't go here for a romantic dinner or ...

Dined on April 30, 2016

I won't go here for a romantic dinner or date night

food5
ambience4
service5
value5

oldbusboy

Dined on April 21, 2016

Again, Morel was Impressive, notably in the professional level of service, and the quality of the food. Concepts, ingredients, preparations, execution were all outstanding. This time, the staff's depth of knowledge of the menu and details of the overall operation were clear to us.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Just Lovely

Dined on April 15, 2016

We had a great experience at Morel, from the aperitif (a perfect prosecco) to the most bizarre but very delicious dessert (a donut with bone marrow cream filling, duck liver ice cream, and a slice of bacon on top). Milwaukee has so many good restaurants, but this was one of the best and most memorable meals I've had. And we had a celebrity sighting - Jason Kidd was there! :)

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Can't go wrong here!

Dined on April 2, 2016

Always a favorite. Great food, wine, service. What's not to love? May have been a tad loud but that seems to be the trend everywhere these days. Not really a problem, though. We've been there before and are looking forward to returning again and again.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

A very well balanced and inventive menu, ...

Dined on April 2, 2016

A very well balanced and inventive menu, with incredible flavors in every dish! The smoked carrots in the beet salad added an amazing layer of creativity! From the Herbed Flatbread and Mushroom Polenta as starters, to the Beet Salad and Parsnip Soup as second courses and then the Cavatelli with Truffles as the main course, each plate was more delicious then the next! One of the most enjoyable dinners I've had out in awhile! Thanks Morel! We will definitely be back!

food5
ambience5
service5

Morel is the best MKE restaurant. When ...

vip
Dined on March 29, 2016

Morel is the best MKE restaurant. When is Manyo going to get his beard nomination. Crazy creative, interesting and delicious dishes.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fantastic Foodie Paradise

Dined on March 23, 2016

I landed on the trout, which was excellently prepared, but everything on the menu was uniquely prepared and served. I can't wait to go back to try the menu items I missed.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service5

Duck confit appetizer was great and ever ...

Dined on March 13, 2016

Duck confit appetizer was great and everything with mushrooms!

food5
ambience5
service5

The food was delicious! We started with ...

Dined on March 13, 2016

The food was delicious! We started with the special for the night, a mix of mushrooms over the creamiest polenta I've ever had. My husband had the short rib (which was melt in your mouth) and I had a cavatelli. The pasta was fantastic. There were fantastic flavors and textures that made it a true stand out. One of the best restaurants in Milwaukee. We will most certainly be back....often!

food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Too noisy. Too bad.

Dined on March 12, 2016

The rare combination of extraordinary food and superb service is marred by the incessant din. Perhaps on a week night it might be better.

Tags: fit for foodies
food5
ambience5
service1
value4

Great food, poor service

Dined on March 12, 2016

We went to Morel for Saturday date night. After we sat, we waited 10 minutes for water. Then we waited another 5 to even see our waitress. We ordered drinks and 2 appetizers. The drinks took another 10-15 minutes to come and did so with the first appetizer. It was a homemade biscuit with ham and honey and it was delicious. Then came our second appetizer, mushrooms with polenta and that had great taste as well. We ordered our entrees right away. The salad came and was very good, the flavored worked well together. Then we waited, and waited some more for our entrees. The table behind ours got their entree before us and sat down and ordered way after us. Finally they came with little acknowledgement from the waitress. The food was amazing, I had the lamb with gnocchi and I could have eaten it for days. He had the beef short rib and I heard no complaints. After we finished the entrees the waitress brought over dessert menus. She set them down with no explanations (there was sorbet on there but it didn't say what flavor) and didn't offer any coffee or after drinks. I did order the bread pudding which I thoroughly enjoyed. I have to say I was happy and disappointed with my trip to Morel. Everything I ate was delicious. The flavors were good and everything was cooked perfectly. The restaurant had a great vibe too. But the service was awful and really detracted from the dining experience. If I go again, I think I'll sit at the bar, the service has to be faster there...

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

top-notch experience

Dined on March 11, 2016

We had been looking forward to trying this restaurant, and It had been recommended by several friends -- certain dishes in particular. It met or exceeded all our expectations. The menu is particularly suited to meat eaters, but given that, it is thoughtfully conceived, beautifully executed. The service is at a level of professionalism not seen often enough in our city; prompt, friendly (but not overly), attentive, just formal enough. We look forward to coming in to sit at the "chef's table" section of the bar.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Had a great first time experience! Sarah ...

Dined on March 10, 2016

Had a great first time experience! Sarah is an amazing waitress, very knowledgable!

food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Great dining for meat lovers

vip
Dined on March 6, 2016

Morel does a nice job with the big proteins: steaks, short ribs, pork, duck, lamb, rabbit. Last weekend tried the rabbit ragu on house made pappardelle: phenomenal! Nice bread pudding dessert--without chocolate chips which don't belong in bread pudding. Loved that! One vegetarian entrée, actually sounded interesting. Trout is the only fish entrée. No included sides or salad, bread is extra charge, drinks/ wine runs in the $10-15 range. Very good service, great bartenders. Get's noisy during the evening dinner hour. Not a place for a romantic, intimate dinner and not for the faint of wallet. Quality of cooking justifies the rather high prices. We've dined here 3 times with consistent experiences.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We try all of the interesting restaurant ...

Dined on March 6, 2016

We try all of the interesting restaurants and Morel became an instant favorite. Flavors exploded in your mouth! Unusual combinations. Smaller potions. Wonderful service immediately upon entering.

Tags: fit for foodies
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Lovely

Dined on March 3, 2016

Used a city tin coaster before a play. Friendly staff and great food. Will definitely return.

Tags: fit for foodies
food5
ambience5
service5

Fantastic experience! The cheese plate ...

Dined on February 27, 2016

Fantastic experience! The cheese plate was extremely well-done, and both our entrees were outstanding.

food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Morel is one to be watched

Dined on February 25, 2016

The pheasant was exquisite and the lamb carpaccio had a delicate flavor and an excellent presentation. I found the ambiance to be warm and in citing with modern design that was free of pretension. All in all Morel did not disappoint.

Tags: fit for foodies
food4
ambience4
service5

Excellent local beer selection. Enjoyed ...

Dined on February 14, 2016

Excellent local beer selection. Enjoyed our server, Zoe! Apps were wonderful, especially the braised pork belly! Always get the special!

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Morel a special experience

Dined on February 14, 2016

It was obvious staff put care and thought into everything that goes into running a restaurant. Food (including sides, appetizer and desserts) was unique and delicious. Waitress was attentive, knowledgeable, patient and cheery but professional. Ambiance was romantic and cozy, but not awkwardly cramped like so many other new small restaurants (i.e. you won't have to share a table with some other random couple). Not the biggest menu, but if every dish is made as well as a the ones we tried, you can't really go wrong.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service1
value4

Food was amazing. However, our server cl ...

Dined on February 14, 2016

Food was amazing. However, our server clearly wanted to flip the table. We sat down and two seconds later asked for our order. I asked for a few minutes. She came back about 2 minutes later and then asked again. She also didn't bring the lardo and completely forgot to bring the duck confit appetizer. The food was great though. A little disappointing with the service though, especially at the price point.

Tags: romantic
food3
ambience2
service3
value1

Did not live up to my expectations!

Dined on February 13, 2016

For the price of the food, I would have expected to be very pleased with the quality of the food, and I wasn't happy with how noisy it was!

Tags: neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing!

Dined on February 12, 2016

This is my new favorite restaurant! The food was so flavorful and service was remarkable. And I can't forget the drinks, just out of this world. I can't wait to return.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

lannyalot

Dined on February 11, 2016

Our 1st visit to Morel was wonderful! I ordered duck breast & my wife had the beef short ribs. Both were outstanding - not only in the flavor of the meat - but the overall blending of flavors in each of the dishes. I enjoyed a Kalo Mina cocktail for which the bartender was happy to share the recipe and my wife had a beautiful glass of Argentinian Malbec. Zoe, our server, was friendly, polite and quite knowledgeable. We will definitely return to Morel & recommend it to friends.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

great food but a bit loud

Dined on January 10, 2016

The food was great but the open dining room was a bit loud. Large group sat behind us made conversation difficult. Server and bartender were very nice.

Tags: good for groups
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent

Dined on January 6, 2016

Wanted to choose a special restaurant for four of us prior to an evening show. After reading reviews thought we would try Moral. As it was dark outside, it was a little hard to locate as we had never been there before. We found the parking lot, across the street and down a building or two, to be very accessible with plenty of parking space. The restaurant was in an attractive cream brick building but the sign was difficult to see in the dark as it was not well lit . The inside of the restaurant was pleasantly roomy, modern and elegant. The greeter was friendly and the waitress was pleasant and attentive. Two of us started off with soups and one with a salad. We all raved about the delicious tastes! The entrees we ordered were equally amazing. This restaurant was wonderful. We plan to go back and try another adventure as their menu changes daily.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Morel was absolutely wonderful

Dined on January 3, 2016

I was extremely impressed with Morel. Ambience was so warm, service was outstanding, menu was extremely creative, food was absolutely delicious. Farm to table, fit for foodies, impress your date or guests. Also, I don't think it is overpriced (unlike some other reviews). My husband and I shared 2 appetizers, each had a glass of wine, full entrees, plus shared dessert for around $100. Well worth it!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Great Place!

Dined on January 2, 2016

My husband and I ate here on a weekend trip to tour the breweries from Chicago. Morel was great, moderate prices for top notch food!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Morel is one of the best in Milwaukee

Dined on December 30, 2015

We learned about this restaurant through the reviews on Yelp. We gave it a chance, and discovered that Morel is an outstanding restaurant for foodies. An absolute WOW! In our opinion, this is probably one of the top 5 restaurants in Milwaukee now. We were very impressed by both the food and the service. The ambiance is successful blend of modern with rustic . This past Tuesday, our party of three thoroughly enjoyed the: rustic bread and cultured butter, cheese board, trout, lamb ragout, farro, and for dessert the, mousse. We will return.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food2
ambience3
service4
value3

yes

Dined on December 30, 2015

unfortunate experience after many excellent dining experiences in the past. A dining entry (pork shoulder) arrived with unacceeptable flavor for a "braised" description. This should have not left the kitchen. Excellnt service, but this entre spoiled the eveniong

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

Not the place for a romantic dinner

Dined on December 27, 2015

We came for our anniversary, and were the only table with less than 6 people in the entire restaurant. Large parties, though there were not that many tables in total, were so loud that we could not hear each other without repeating ourselves and leaning in. Service was good considering all the large parties being served at the same time. I tried the salsify soup and my husband got the duck confit appetizer - both were very very good. For my entree, I chose the rainbow trout. While the fish was tasty, it was not exceptional, had multiple bones that I had to pick out and I thought was not as good as I've had from similarly priced restaurants in the area. My husband's pork entree was delicious, and our dessert was a salted caramel mousse which I liked but he thought was on the salty side. All in all, I enjoyed our dinner but won't come running back.

Tags: good for groups
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Family Christmas Eve

vip
Dined on December 25, 2015

Delicious, interesting plates and menu, overall. Server very pleasant and informative. Braised beef dish was wonderful! My husband's pork chop choice, however, was very fatty - had to leave most and mention to our server. Morel did amend and take the dinner off our bill and offered desserts to us all - very nice! Good ambiance at the bar or tables. Suggestion to seat families with small children near each other rather than near the all adult tables. We would certainly try Morel again!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.