About Moonraker

105 Rockaway Beach Avenue
Pacifica, CA 94044
View Larger Map

This historic space holds one of the most breathtaking views in the Bay Area, with floor to ceiling windows overlooking the beach and the surf. Weeks of renovation have seen more than five tons of wooden beams removed and recycled for local building projects and a complete redesign of the space

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
American, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Bar Open at 4:30pm daily
Lunch: Tuesday - Saturday 11:30am - 2:00pm
Sunday Brunch 10:30am and 1:00pm seatings / $39.95 for adults / kids half price
Dinner: Sunday - 5pm-9pm, Monday-Thursday 5pm-9:30pm, Friday and Saturday 5pm-10pm
Breakfast: Monday - Saturday 7:00am - 11:00am / Sunday 7:00am - 10:00am

Cross Street:
highway 1

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(650) 557-7025

Website:
http://www.moonrakerpacifica.com/

Entertainment:
Live music every Saturday night 6:30pm-9:30pm, check our website for updates

Parking Details:
Free lot and Street

Executive Chef:
Jason Yeafoli

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Takeout, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Moonraker has plenty of space for corporate events, weddings, and other events. The restaurant has access to two banquet spaces within the building that can hold parties of up to 120 and 180 guests and a private dining room holding up to 20 guests, as well as the main restaurant that can accommodate 200 for guests interested in a restaurant buyout.

Restaurant Photos

Promotions

Father's Day Special Menus & Reservations

Sunday, June 19, 2016

Promotions

Father's Day Special Menus & Reservations

Sunday, June 19, 2016

Details
Show Dad how much you care this Father's Day with an unforgettable meal at Moonraker. Space fills up fast, make your reservation today!

Private Dining

We have two banquet spaces, both with ocean views, that can hold parties of up to 160 and 120 guests. Within the restaurant, we also have a space for up to 20 guests for a smaller meeting or private dinner. Buyouts of the restaurant are also possible.

Moonraker Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.4

ambience

4.6

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Ambiance
Peninsula
Romantic
Peninsula
Scenic View
Peninsula
1 More
American
Peninsula
Best Restaurants in Pacifica ›

scenic view (73)
romantic (52)
special occasion (50)
See All
great for brunch (29)
fit for foodies (23)
neighborhood gem (21)
great for lunch (14)
good for groups (13)
vibrant bar scene (10)
notable wine list (8)
hot spot (7)
late-night find (6)
great for outdoor dining (2)
kid-friendly (2)
Sort By:
Newest
741 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food2
ambience4
service2

Disappointed this time. Started with poo ...

vip
Dined on May 8, 2016

Disappointed this time. Started with poorly managed check-in and seating. After being seated, poor service - I actually had no idea who our server was. The food was disappointing as well. Limited selection, and lots of stuff ran out and they were slow to replenish. Overall this was not a good choice for Mother's Day brunch. 2015 was a lot better.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Good food with a fantastic view of the ocean.

Dined on April 18, 2016

We like this restaurant and bar when we're by ourselves but it's even better as a site to impress out of town guests, especially those who don't live near the ocean.

Tags: special occasion
food3
ambience4
service3

Food was just ok, but the view was spect ...

Dined on April 17, 2016

Food was just ok, but the view was spectacular!!!

food3
ambience3
service3
value2

Near miss

Dined on April 17, 2016

This was our first disappointing experience here. Our table was not ready until 30 minutes past the reservation time. Unfinished Appetizers were cleared from the table 20 minutes before our dinner orders came. Two out of five dinner orders were unsatisfactory. Brunch has been a better experience for us here. We will come back, just not for dinner.

Tags: great for brunch, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great ambiance, great food and great service

Dined on April 9, 2016

We were seated immediately upon arrival. Our server was attentive but not annoying. The food was amazing. I would recommend the crispy brussel sprout appetizer!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The best brunch ever

Dined on April 3, 2016

The food is soooo good at brunch.the view is awesome .the service is outstanding .if i could i would ne there every sunday. Everything is so delicious .ive beem there 5 times already and can't wait until the next time.

Tags: great for brunch, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great view, ambiance was amazes, food delish ..

Dined on April 3, 2016

Great view, ambiance was amazing, food was delicious and service was on fleek. Went to the restaurant to celebrate my bday, and Gary out did himself!! He was so generous and kind! And so was his staff!!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Dine and watch the surfers!

Dined on April 2, 2016

Lovely place to dine with a glorious ocean view. Quiet for Sunday brunch. Not sure what it is like for dinner, but for a weekend lunch, the service was wonderful and attentive, and the food was quite good. The window seats cannot be beat, if you love watching the activity on the water while you dine. I imagine it would be perfect for drinks at sunset, too. I had the grilled veggie plate and it was just exquisite - 5 or 6 different vegetables, each done very uniquely in a way that complemented each other. The crispy Brussels sprouts were perfection. My dining partner had the crab louie salad, which came with a very generous amount of fresh crab, homemade dressing. Delicious. I will return.

Tags: great for brunch, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food1
ambience5
service3
value4

Great view, not great food

Dined on March 27, 2016

Wow what a spectacular setting and view! We were seated in a cozy banquette with an ocean view! The place was quite busy, Saturday night. Unfortunately the food was not good, we even had to ask for the lobster soup to be taken off of the bill as it was almost inedible. It wouldn't take much for them to prepare some simple local cuisine but unfortunately the food had too much sauce and just wasn't good! We'd come back for the view and will just be careful of what to order.

Tags: romantic, scenic view
food2
ambience5
service5
value2

food disappointing, ambiance and view excellent

Dined on March 26, 2016

this place is awesome because of its location and interior ambiance. we were there, when they had live music that added a nice touch. the service was truly top notch and how it should be. unfortunately the food left a bit to be desired, especially considering the price. we found things in general to be too sweet / lack of sensible salt and spices on all dishes. from the caesar salad dressing to meats, veggies etc... the lobster bisque, while a decent soup and a nice touch with the "capuccino" presentation, does not taste much like lobster nor does it contain any pieces or anything resembling seafood. lamb shank was overcooked/meat quality partly mushy, gross. pot roast was a bit better but not above average.

Tags: romantic, scenic view
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

Stunning view, great service

Dined on March 21, 2016

Food was interesting, but tried too hard to BE interesting. Simpler combinations would work better. Ahi was a bit dry, lobster combinatbwas not great, Scallops worked well, as did coconut shrimp. Steak and fries, just OK.

Tags: scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5

I love Moonraker they have great food an ...

Dined on March 20, 2016

I love Moonraker they have great food and great service and a beautiful view of the ocean.

food5
ambience5
service5

Loved it my first time there! I will be ...

vip
Dined on March 19, 2016

Loved it my first time there! I will be back:-)

food2
ambience3
service2
value2

Notch it Up

Dined on March 16, 2016

Food was inconsistent. Entree was good. Salad too drenched in dressing. Cake for dessert was dry. Service was friendly, but slow, with long gaps between courses. This place could be great - they just need to notch it up a bit and give the quality you'd expect from the prices. The view and location can't be beat.

Tags: special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We keep going back.

Dined on March 15, 2016

Another excellent dinner. Because I ordered the Oysters Rockefeller for an appetizer I was unable to finish my Squash Ravioli entree. It was delicious and believe me the rest of it went home with me for lunch the next day. My husband had the burrata crostini first and then the steak fritte. His steak was cooked perfectly and I kept stealing his frites, they were so tasty. Our server was Tony and he paid just the right amount of attention without hovering. We had the end view table at the north end of the restaurant with a perfect view of the ocean. We stopped going to the Moonraker several years ago due to changing ownerships and inconsistent food. We have returned and have been in 3 times within the last month. We'll keep going back as long as they keep up this high level of food and service.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This restaurant did not disappoint! The ...

Dined on March 13, 2016

This restaurant did not disappoint! The food was good, the service was great and the atmosphere was exceptional

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

More Crab

Dined on March 6, 2016

Each time I went up, the crab station must be the favorite. Ugh,,,,,not enough crab. Food was great. Selection awesome, service was the best in every way. From beginning to end. Your staff is excellent.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, special occasion, scenic view, hot spot, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

One of The Biggest Storm of The Year... So Far.

Dined on March 6, 2016

High school loves meet after 37 years watch, face forward, the Saturday, March 5, 2016 storm make land. Born/raised on the peninsula and have never been on the coast when a good storm made land. THANX! Thank you, Tim and Heidi.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, late-night find, scenic view, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5

Amazing view amazing food an service!

Dined on March 6, 2016

Amazing view amazing food an service!

food5
ambience5
service5

The food was amazing, the service was im ...

Dined on March 2, 2016

The food was amazing, the service was impeccable, the view outstanding and the overall experience was life changing.

food4
ambience4
service1
value3

Disappointed

Dined on February 22, 2016

We have dined at Moonraker numerous times since it reopened under current management. Great food, great view, great ambience and - usually - great service. This last time, service bordered on poor. It was 15-20 minutes before anyone finally stopped by our table. Service was brusque and impersonal and food delivery was out of synch. Example: when asked if we wanted more bread, we answered "yes". Never showed up. It was a little embarrassing because we brought guests to whom we had been singing the praises of Moonraker service. The restaurant was not that busy. I hope this is not a bad sign of things to come.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food2
ambience4
service3
value3

There was 6 of us so dinner was not chea ...

Dined on February 21, 2016

There was 6 of us so dinner was not cheap! we were a bit dissapointed, beverages and 1 small bread roll per person arrived quickly. Salad and soup did also but then at least 30+ minutes wait for entree. The petrale sole was mushy , (like it was old fish) julienned vegetables also way over cooked! This meal was just barely warm !! The other meals seemed ok. We have been to Moonraker before and the dinner was good so I am not sure what happened . Restaurant was not full and it was a Satrday.

Tags: scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5

Great Service! Food and Drinks were Amaz ...

Dined on February 20, 2016

Great Service! Food and Drinks were Amazing! We Loved Everything!

food5
ambience5
service5

The service was great, very attentive. T ...

Dined on February 16, 2016

The service was great, very attentive. The food was amazing, I had the pot roast and my wife had the surf and turf. My wife and I have celebrated a few different special occasions here and it's always fantastic.

food5
ambience4
service3

Food we ordered was excellent. I loved e ...

Dined on February 16, 2016

Food we ordered was excellent. I loved every single one. Especially the calamari. The scallops were perfect as well good mix with the mash potatoes.

food2
ambience5
service4
value2

"On Valentine's Day Dinner"

Dined on February 15, 2016

It was very disappointing. No other choice for the menu that night. Menu was so limited.

Tags: scenic view
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

brunch at moonraker

Dined on February 14, 2016

Great food, great service. A little wait at the front desk. Everyone has reservations, but you have to wait for the previous seating to leave. romantic view of the ocean. Would do brunch again,lots of champagne!

Tags: great for brunch, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, vibrant bar scene
food2
ambience4
service4

Your really paying for the view. The foo ...

Dined on February 14, 2016

Your really paying for the view. The food was very disappointing. I've had better brunches elsewhere and cheaper. I would not come back here.

food5
ambience5
service5

Love this place

Dined on February 14, 2016

Love this place

food2
ambience4
service4
value2

Need new menu

Dined on February 14, 2016

The food description sound so delicious but taste was way below average. Here are what we had: 1. Beef Tartare- way too salty, it was like a brine. 2. Seafod Ciopino - so so, i had better one from a restaurant that doesn't even specialized in seafood. It could use more seafood sauce and flavor 3. Painted Hills Natural Pot Roast - it said 48 hours cooked but it was so tough, that long hours cooking, the meat should be melting. maybe it was cook for just 20 minutes. 4. Painted Hills Rib Eye Steak - rib eye should be soft and tender, but this one, just like the pot roast, it was tough, and it was not a quality rib eye meat. i can grill rib eye 10 times better than moonraiker. The steak in Texas Roadhouse in Fairfield, CA is way better than this but I like my own grilled steak - which is the problem when you know how to cook. and of course, the steak here will be at very bottom compare to steak in one of Chicago restaurant - which somehow I have not had any bad steak eating to some restaurants that are not even popular. The good thing at least for that night we had dinner, the music was very nice, it was not loud, just right to enjoy the night, the music were also my kind of music - no head banging, screaming that you could not hear the person next to you. The place is also for couple who would the view and does not mind a subpar food with a high end price.

Tags: romantic, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

great view

Dined on February 14, 2016

Great view and got accommodate right away. All service crew are great except our main dish take so long to came out. Theres people in the bar are so loud becuase their watching basketball and can't hear the live performance in the stage. Food is great.

Tags: special occasion, scenic view, hot spot
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

Could be better for the price...

Dined on February 14, 2016

I hosted an evening with my brother and his wife. My brother was looking for really good clam chowder, so I was very excited to introduce him to Moonraker since I believe it has the best clam chowder on the coast. Our guests were very happy with everything about Moonraker. However, as regulars there, my partner and I were expecting a certain level of quality and we were very disappointed. First, the rib eye steak was not done to our liking and it was truly the toughest steak I have had in a very long time. We left about 3/4 of the steak behind. For a party of 4, we had 2 appetizers, 2 salads, one bowl of clam chowder, 2 entrees and 2 glasses of wine. The total was around $200 with tip.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

Location was great

Dined on February 13, 2016

Location is great with a nice scenic view of the beach and ocean. We had a table right at the window which is nice watching the sunset. Food is just alright, could be a lot better.

Tags: great for brunch, romantic, great for lunch, scenic view
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Fabulous ocean view

Dined on February 10, 2016

We requested a table with a view because we were celebrating a birthday and we had a perfect spot. The waiter made an error on 1 entree but immediately apologized and brought the correct item for my guest to take home. They provided a complimentary dessert for the birthday honoree.

Tags: great for brunch, great for lunch, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful Birthday Dinner

Dined on February 10, 2016

I had been to the Moonraker for drinks but decided to take my family for my daughter's 19th birthday and we were so pleased with the total experience. It is rare that a restaurant that has a view of the ocean as nice as Moonraker's also has food that lives up to that view. Moonraker defies that rule as the food is outstanding, the ambience is low-key and elegant and the service wonderful. We had a mixture of meat and fish entrees as well as appetizers and salads, and everything was delicious. The entrees were great but really, this chef knows the best way to prepare vegetables and I would not hesitate to order vegetarian meals here. They brought a piece of cake with a candle for my daughter that I did not expect - I just mentioned it was a special occasion to emphasize a desire for a table with a view (my daughter loves the beach) so it was very sweet. A great evening for all - thanks!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Grate experience at Moonraker

Dined on February 7, 2016

Superior service,very good bud reasonably priced food. Very cosy, nice environment and interior. Good music what helps you to relax and enjoy the time you spend at this place

Tags: great for brunch, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, scenic view
food4
ambience4
service4

Amazing views, great food and excellent ...

vip
Dined on February 6, 2016

Amazing views, great food and excellent service. Great place for lunch!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

mesmerizing view

Dined on February 5, 2016

I have known about this place for years, such an amazing view of the Pacific, hypnotic and mesmerizing. The food is fantastic, the service was perfect. Always on top of it, always professional. Thank you so much for a wonderful experience, one of my favorite restaurants!

Tags: romantic, scenic view
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Amazing Ocean View

Dined on February 4, 2016

This was my second visit to Moonraker for lunch. It is bright, comfortable, with good food (delicious fish and chips), excellent service (on his own, the waiter brought a birthday dessert when my friend mentioned it was her birthday) and the most fabulous ocean view! Apparently happy hour can be very crowded but since watching sunset from anywhere in the restaurant would be stunning, I will definitely give it a try. Lunch was quiet and lovely. I can't recommend it enough.

Tags: great for brunch, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

New Ladies Brunch Spot!

Dined on January 31, 2016

I took my best friend and sister here for Brunch this past Sunday. It was the best brunch I've had to date. The Brunch is Buffet Style but there are certain items that you will have to order through your server: scrambled eggs, waffles, mimosas etc... Our server started out great but we lost her a few times. I ordered eggs and a waffle that didn't come out for about 45 minutes after I ordered them. That may or may not've been her fault but there were times towards the end of out sitting that we would have to look for her to help us out. She was very sweet and attentive when we could find her though. Not putting her down. Just an observation. The Scenery is GORGEOUS! I thought we would need to sit in one of the very front booths in order to appreciate the view but really any of the booths will do! We will likely make this a monthly thing or at least come back for all special occasions. Wonderful!

Tags: great for brunch, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, hot spot

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.