Is this your restaurant?Claim this listing.
Unfortunately, this restaurant is not on the OpenTable reservation network. To see if they take reservations and have availability, you will need to call the restaurant directly or visit their website. Find a similar spot.

Restaurants you may also like

Surf SpotSurf Spot
(121)
$$$$
Global, International | Pacifica, Peninsula
La CostaneraLa Costanera
(1875)
$$$$
Peruvian | Half Moon Bay, Peninsula
Booked 11 times today
Miramar Beach RestaurantMiramar Beach Restaurant
(1607)
$$$$
Seafood | Half Moon Bay, Peninsula
Booked 8 times today
Sutro's at the Cliff HouseSutro's at the Cliff House
(5106)
$$$$
American | Richmond District, San Francisco
Booked 70 times today
Fogo de Chao Brazilian Steakhouse - San FranciscoFogo de Chao Brazilian Steakhouse - San Francisco
(288)
$$$$
Brazilian Steakhouse | SOMA, San Francisco
Booked 45 times today
Sam's Chowder HouseSam's Chowder House
(3089)
$$$$
Seafood | Half Moon Bay, Peninsula
Booked 31 times today
Broadway GrillBroadway Grill
(1147)
$$$$
American | Burlingame, Peninsula
Booked 5 times today
CetrellaCetrella
(897)
$$$$
Mediterranean | Half Moon Bay, Peninsula
Booked 2 times today
Moss Beach DistilleryMoss Beach Distillery
(1165)
$$$$
Seafood | Half Moon Bay, Peninsula
Booked 11 times today
Kincaid's Bayhouse - BurlingameKincaid's Bayhouse - Burlingame
(2537)
$$$$
Steak | Burlingame, Peninsula
Booked 43 times today
WaterbarWaterbar
(4847)
$$$$
Seafood | Financial District / Embarcadero, San Francisco
Booked 112 times today
Straits Restaurant - BurlingameStraits Restaurant - Burlingame
(578)
$$$$
Asian | Burlingame, Peninsula
Booked 8 times today
Mezzaluna - Half Moon BayMezzaluna - Half Moon Bay
(1372)
$$$$
Italian | Half Moon Bay, Peninsula
Booked 6 times today
Iron GateIron Gate
(1310)
$$$$
French | Belmont, Peninsula
Booked 8 times today
Chou Chou BistroChou Chou Bistro
(1764)
$$$$
Contemporary French | Forest Hill / West Portal, San Francisco
Booked 15 times today

About Moonraker

105 Rockaway Beach Avenue
Pacifica, CA 94044
View Larger Map

This historic space holds one of the most breathtaking views in the Bay Area, with floor to ceiling windows overlooking the beach and the surf. Weeks of renovation have seen more than five tons of wooden beams removed and recycled for local building projects and a complete redesign of the space

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
American, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Bar Open at 4:30pm daily
Lunch: Tuesday - Saturday 11:30am - 2:00pm
Sunday Brunch 10:30am and 1:00pm seatings / $39.95 for adults / kids half price
Dinner: Sunday - 5pm-9pm, Monday-Thursday 5pm-9:30pm, Friday and Saturday 5pm-10pm
Breakfast: Monday - Saturday 7:00am - 11:00am / Sunday 7:00am - 10:00am

Cross Street:
highway 1

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(650) 557-7025

Website:
http://www.moonrakerpacifica.com/

Entertainment:
Live music every Saturday night 6:30pm-9:30pm, check our website for updates

Parking Details:
Free lot and Street

Executive Chef:
Jason Yeafoli

Private Party Facilities:
We have two banquet spaces, both with ocean views, that can hold parties of up to 160 and 120 guests. Within the restaurant, we also have a space for up to 20 guests for a smaller meeting or private dinner. Buyouts of the restaurant are also possible.

Private Party Contact:
Emily Hoover: 8883383954

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Takeout, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Moonraker has plenty of space for corporate events, weddings, and other events. The restaurant has access to two banquet spaces within the building that can hold parties of up to 120 and 180 guests and a private dining room holding up to 20 guests, as well as the main restaurant that can accommodate 200 for guests interested in a restaurant buyout.

Restaurant Photos

Oysters - Moonraker, Pacifica, CA
Dungeness Crab - Moonraker, Pacifica, CA
Wild Boar Bolognese - Moonraker, Pacifica, CA
Crab Cakes - Moonraker, Pacifica, CA
Moonraker Coc - Moonraker, Pacifica, CA
Arugula - Moonraker, Pacifica, CA
Panna Cotta - Moonraker, Pacifica, CA
Bread Rolls - Moonraker, Pacifica, CA
Lobster Cappuchino - Moonraker, Pacifica, CA
Assorted Oysters - Moonraker, Pacifica, CA
Sidecar - Moonraker, Pacifica, CA
Dungeness Crab And New York Strip - Moonraker, Pacifica, CA
Seared Scallops And Kobe Beef - Moonraker, Pacifica, CA
Under The Tuscan Sun - Moonraker, Pacifica, CA
Ahi Tuna Tartar Moon Spoons! - Moonraker, Pacifica, CA
Lobster club sandwich - Moonraker, Pacifica, CA

Moonraker Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

2.0

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
0% would recommend it to a friend

Scenic View (1)
Sort By:
S
744 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Another "View" restaurant on the coast. ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Reviewed on August 13, 2016

Another "View" restaurant on the coast. Good whale watching in season, expensive, mediocre food and service. Vowed never to return after last experience. Wish an experienced restauranteur with some passion would purchase this property and bring it up to its potential.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·

Disappointed this time. Started with poo ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 8, 2016

Disappointed this time. Started with poorly managed check-in and seating. After being seated, poor service - I actually had no idea who our server was. The food was disappointing as well. Limited selection, and lots of stuff ran out and they were slow to replenish. Overall this was not a good choice for Mother's Day brunch. 2015 was a lot better.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2

Good food with a fantastic view of the ocean.

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 18, 2016

We like this restaurant and bar when we're by ourselves but it's even better as a site to impress out of town guests, especially those who don't live near the ocean.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was just ok, but the view was spect ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 17, 2016

Food was just ok, but the view was spectacular!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3

Near miss

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 17, 2016

This was our first disappointing experience here. Our table was not ready until 30 minutes past the reservation time. Unfinished Appetizers were cleared from the table 20 minutes before our dinner orders came. Two out of five dinner orders were unsatisfactory. Brunch has been a better experience for us here. We will come back, just not for dinner.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

Great ambiance, great food and great service

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 9, 2016

We were seated immediately upon arrival. Our server was attentive but not annoying. The food was amazing. I would recommend the crispy brussel sprout appetizer!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The best brunch ever

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 3, 2016

The food is soooo good at brunch.the view is awesome .the service is outstanding .if i could i would ne there every sunday. Everything is so delicious .ive beem there 5 times already and can't wait until the next time.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great view, ambiance was amazes, food delish ..

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 3, 2016

Great view, ambiance was amazing, food was delicious and service was on fleek.

Went to the restaurant to celebrate my bday, and Gary out did himself!! He was so generous and kind! And so was his staff!!

Tags: Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Dine and watch the surfers!

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 2, 2016

Lovely place to dine with a glorious ocean view. Quiet for Sunday brunch. Not sure what it is like for dinner, but for a weekend lunch, the service was wonderful and attentive, and the food was quite good. The window seats cannot be beat, if you love watching the activity on the water while you dine. I imagine it would be perfect for drinks at sunset, too. I had the grilled veggie plate and it was just exquisite - 5 or 6 different vegetables, each done very uniquely in a way that complemented each other. The crispy Brussels sprouts were perfection. My dining partner had the crab louie salad, which came with a very generous amount of fresh crab, homemade dressing. Delicious. I will return.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great view, not great food

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 27, 2016

Wow what a spectacular setting and view! We were seated in a cozy banquette with an ocean view! The place was quite busy, Saturday night. Unfortunately the food was not good, we even had to ask for the lobster soup to be taken off of the bill as it was almost inedible. It wouldn't take much for them to prepare some simple local cuisine but unfortunately the food had too much sauce and just wasn't good! We'd come back for the view and will just be careful of what to order.

Tags: Romantic, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service3
value4

food disappointing, ambiance and view excellent

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 26, 2016

this place is awesome because of its location and interior ambiance.

we were there, when they had live music that added a nice touch.

the service was truly top notch and how it should be.

unfortunately the food left a bit to be desired, especially considering the price.

we found things in general to be too sweet / lack of sensible salt and spices on all dishes. from the caesar salad dressing to meats, veggies etc...

the lobster bisque, while a decent soup and a nice touch with the "capuccino" presentation, does not taste much like lobster nor does it contain any pieces or anything resembling seafood.

lamb shank was overcooked/meat quality partly mushy, gross.

pot roast was a bit better but not above average.

Tags: Romantic, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value2

Stunning view, great service

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 21, 2016

Food was interesting, but tried too hard to BE interesting. Simpler combinations would work better. Ahi was a bit dry, lobster combinatbwas not great, Scallops worked well, as did coconut shrimp. Steak and fries, just OK.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

I love Moonraker they have great food an ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 20, 2016

I love Moonraker they have great food and great service and a beautiful view of the ocean.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Loved it my first time there! I will be ...

vip
 (Sacramento)·Dined on March 19, 2016

Loved it my first time there! I will be back:-)

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Notch it Up

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 16, 2016

Food was inconsistent. Entree was good. Salad too drenched in dressing. Cake for dessert was dry. Service was friendly, but slow, with long gaps between courses. This place could be great - they just need to notch it up a bit and give the quality you'd expect from the prices. The view and location can't be beat.

Tags: Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

We keep going back.

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 15, 2016

Another excellent dinner. Because I ordered the Oysters Rockefeller for an appetizer I was unable to finish my Squash Ravioli entree. It was delicious and believe me the rest of it went home with me for lunch the next day. My husband had the burrata crostini first and then the steak fritte. His steak was cooked perfectly and I kept stealing his frites, they were so tasty. Our server was Tony and he paid just the right amount of attention without hovering. We had the end view table at the north end of the restaurant with a perfect view of the ocean. We stopped going to the Moonraker several years ago due to changing ownerships and inconsistent food. We have returned and have been in 3 times within the last month. We'll keep going back as long as they keep up this high level of food and service.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This restaurant did not disappoint! The ...

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on March 13, 2016

This restaurant did not disappoint! The food was good, the service was great and the atmosphere was exceptional

Tags: Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

More Crab

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 6, 2016

Each time I went up, the crab station must be the favorite. Ugh,,,,,not enough crab. Food was great. Selection awesome, service was the best in every way. From beginning to end. Your staff is excellent.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

One of The Biggest Storm of The Year... So Far.

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 6, 2016

High school loves meet after 37 years watch, face forward, the Saturday, March 5, 2016 storm make land. Born/raised on the peninsula and have never been on the coast when a good storm made land. THANX!

Thank you,

Tim and Heidi.

Tags: Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing view amazing food an service!

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 6, 2016

Amazing view amazing food an service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The food was amazing, the service was im ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 2, 2016

The food was amazing, the service was impeccable, the view outstanding and the overall experience was life changing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Disappointed

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 22, 2016

We have dined at Moonraker numerous times since it reopened under current management. Great food, great view, great ambience and - usually - great service. This last time, service bordered on poor. It was 15-20 minutes before anyone finally stopped by our table. Service was brusque and impersonal and food delivery was out of synch. Example: when asked if we wanted more bread, we answered "yes". Never showed up.

It was a little embarrassing because we brought guests to whom we had been singing the praises of Moonraker service. The restaurant was not that busy. I hope this is not a bad sign of things to come.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value3

There was 6 of us so dinner was not chea ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 21, 2016

There was 6 of us so dinner was not cheap! we were a bit dissapointed, beverages and 1 small bread roll per person arrived quickly. Salad and soup did also but then at least 30+ minutes wait for entree.

The petrale sole was mushy , (like it was old fish) julienned vegetables also way over cooked! This meal was just barely warm !! The other meals seemed ok.

We have been to Moonraker before and the dinner was good so I am not sure what happened .

Restaurant was not full and it was a Satrday.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value3

Great Service! Food and Drinks were Amaz ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 20, 2016

Great Service! Food and Drinks were Amazing! We Loved Everything!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The service was great, very attentive. T ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 16, 2016

The service was great, very attentive. The food was amazing, I had the pot roast and my wife had the surf and turf. My wife and I have celebrated a few different special occasions here and it's always fantastic.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Food we ordered was excellent. I loved e ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 16, 2016

Food we ordered was excellent. I loved every single one. Especially the calamari. The scallops were perfect as well good mix with the mash potatoes.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3

"On Valentine's Day Dinner"

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 15, 2016

It was very disappointing. No other choice for the menu that night. Menu was so limited.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service4
value2

brunch at moonraker

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 14, 2016

Great food, great service. A little wait at the front desk. Everyone has reservations, but you have to wait for the previous seating to leave. romantic view of the ocean. Would do brunch again,lots of champagne!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Your really paying for the view. The foo ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 14, 2016

Your really paying for the view. The food was very disappointing. I've had better brunches elsewhere and cheaper. I would not come back here.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4

Love this place

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 14, 2016

Love this place

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Need new menu

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 14, 2016

The food description sound so delicious but taste was way below average. Here are what we had:

  1. Beef Tartare- way too salty, it was like a brine.

  2. Seafod Ciopino - so so, i had better one from a restaurant that doesn't even specialized in seafood. It could use more seafood sauce and flavor

  3. Painted Hills Natural Pot Roast - it said 48 hours cooked but it was so tough, that long hours cooking, the meat should be melting. maybe it was cook for just 20 minutes.

  4. Painted Hills Rib Eye Steak - rib eye should be soft and tender, but this one, just like the pot roast, it was tough, and it was not a quality rib eye meat. i can grill rib eye 10 times better than moonraiker. The steak in Texas Roadhouse in Fairfield, CA is way better than this but I like my own grilled steak - which is the problem when you know how to cook. and of course, the steak here will be at very bottom compare to steak in one of Chicago restaurant - which somehow I have not had any bad steak eating to some restaurants that are not even popular.

The good thing at least for that night we had dinner, the music was very nice, it was not loud, just right to enjoy the night, the music were also my kind of music - no head banging, screaming that you could not hear the person next to you. The place is also for couple who would the view and does not mind a subpar food with a high end price.

Tags: Romantic, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

great view

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 14, 2016

Great view and got accommodate right away. All service crew are great except our main dish take so long to came out. Theres people in the bar are so loud becuase their watching basketball and can't hear the live performance in the stage. Food is great.

Tags: Hot Spot, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

Could be better for the price...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 14, 2016

I hosted an evening with my brother and his wife. My brother was looking for really good clam chowder, so I was very excited to introduce him to Moonraker since I believe it has the best clam chowder on the coast.

Our guests were very happy with everything about Moonraker. However, as regulars there, my partner and I were expecting a certain level of quality and we were very disappointed. First, the rib eye steak was not done to our liking and it was truly the toughest steak I have had in a very long time. We left about 3/4 of the steak behind.

For a party of 4, we had 2 appetizers, 2 salads, one bowl of clam chowder, 2 entrees and 2 glasses of wine. The total was around $200 with tip.

Tags: Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

Location was great

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 13, 2016

Location is great with a nice scenic view of the beach and ocean. We had a table right at the window which is nice watching the sunset. Food is just alright, could be a lot better.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Romantic, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

Fabulous ocean view

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 10, 2016

We requested a table with a view because we were celebrating a birthday and we had a perfect spot. The waiter made an error on 1 entree but immediately apologized and brought the correct item for my guest to take home. They provided a complimentary dessert for the birthday honoree.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Notable Wine List, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Wonderful Birthday Dinner

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 10, 2016

I had been to the Moonraker for drinks but decided to take my family for my daughter's 19th birthday and we were so pleased with the total experience. It is rare that a restaurant that has a view of the ocean as nice as Moonraker's also has food that lives up to that view. Moonraker defies that rule as the food is outstanding, the ambience is low-key and elegant and the service wonderful. We had a mixture of meat and fish entrees as well as appetizers and salads, and everything was delicious. The entrees were great but really, this chef knows the best way to prepare vegetables and I would not hesitate to order vegetarian meals here. They brought a piece of cake with a candle for my daughter that I did not expect - I just mentioned it was a special occasion to emphasize a desire for a table with a view (my daughter loves the beach) so it was very sweet. A great evening for all - thanks!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Grate experience at Moonraker

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 7, 2016

Superior service,very good bud reasonably priced food.

Very cosy, nice environment and interior. Good music what helps you to relax and enjoy the time you spend at this place

Tags: Great for Brunch, Late-night Find, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing views, great food and excellent ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 6, 2016

Amazing views, great food and excellent service. Great place for lunch!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

mesmerizing view

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 5, 2016

I have known about this place for years, such an amazing view of the Pacific, hypnotic and mesmerizing. The food is fantastic, the service was perfect. Always on top of it, always professional. Thank you so much for a wonderful experience, one of my favorite restaurants!

Tags: Romantic, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing Ocean View

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 4, 2016

This was my second visit to Moonraker for lunch. It is bright, comfortable, with good food (delicious fish and chips), excellent service (on his own, the waiter brought a birthday dessert when my friend mentioned it was her birthday) and the most fabulous ocean view! Apparently happy hour can be very crowded but since watching sunset from anywhere in the restaurant would be stunning, I will definitely give it a try. Lunch was quiet and lovely. I can't recommend it enough.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.