Moonraker

3.8
774 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
$31 to $50
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
American
Top Tags:
  • Waterfront
  • Good for a Date
  • Scenic View
Floor to ceiling windows that look down on the beach makes Moonraker restaurant a go to spot for food and an excellent view. Situated inside the Lighthouse Hotel in Pacifica, Moonraker serves breakfast, after dinner cocktails and everything in between.

A large selection of fresh seafood dots the Moonraker menu with items like Dungeness crab, British Colombia Fanny Bay oysters, Marin Miyagi oysters and ahi tuna tartare. Other options from "the land" include pot roast, steak, lamb meatballs and a vegetarian farm plate. Be sure to save some room for bananas Foster bread pudding or campfire s'mores for two with a table side hibachi.
Dining Style
Fine Dining
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Cuisines
American, Seafood
icon/ic_clockCreated with Sketch.
Hours of operation
Breakfast
Mon–Sat 7:00 am–11:00 am
Sun 7:00 am–10:00 am
Brunch
Sun 10:00 am–2:00 pm
Lunch
Tue–Sat 11:30 am–2:00 pm
Dinner
Mon–Thu 5:00 pm–9:30 pm
Fri, Sat 5:00 pm–10:00 pm
Sun 5:00 pm–9:00 pm
icon/ic_phoneCreated with Sketch.
Phone number
(650) 557-7025 ext. 2
icon/ic_new_windowCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_paymentCreated with Sketch.
Payment options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa
icon/ic_dress_codeCreated with Sketch.
Dress code
Business Casual
icon/ic_chefCreated with Sketch.
Executive chef
Jason Yeafoli
icon/ic_private_diningCreated with Sketch.
Private party facilities
We have two banquet spaces, both with ocean views, that can hold parties of up to 160 and 00 guests. Within the restaurant, we also have a space for up to 20 guests for a smaller meeting or private dinner. Buyouts of the restaurant are also possible. Please contact Emily Yeafoli at emily@moonrakerpacifica.com for more information.
icon/ic_contactCreated with Sketch.
Private party contact
Emily Hoover: (888) 338-3954
icon/ic_locationCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_neighborhoodCreated with Sketch.
Neighborhood
icon/ic_cross_streetCreated with Sketch.
Cross street
highway 1
icon/ic_parking_detailsCreated with Sketch.
Parking details
Free lot and Street
icon/ic_entertainmentCreated with Sketch.
Entertainment
Live music every Saturday night 6:30pm-9:30pm, check our website for updates
icon/ic_special_eventsCreated with Sketch.
Special events & promotions
Moonraker has plenty of space for corporate events, weddings, and other events. The restaurant has access to two banquet spaces within the building that can hold parties of up to 120 and 180 guests and a private dining room holding up to 20 guests, as well as the main restaurant that can accommodate 200 for guests interested in a restaurant buyout.
Additional
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cocktails, Corkage Fee, Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Private Room, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine
What 774 People Are Saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
3.8based on recent ratings
3.6
food
3.0
service
4.2
ambience
3.3
value
Noise · Moderate
100% of people would recommend it to a friend
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
Sort by
Newest
Filters
1.0Dined 5 days ago

It was Father’s Day and I had reservations and even put that it we were celebrating Father’s Day on the reservation but when we arrived the hostess did not smile at all and just had a rude face. The tables at the front with a great view was open and we asked if we could sit there and she said no it was for bigger parties of like 6. Our sever did not smile either and was in a hurry, slow to serve us, and did not check on us. We had to flag him down to ask for dessert menus and our check. During our dinner there were parties of 3 or 4 that were seated at the front view that we originally asked for. I felt very discriminated. I’ve come here several times now and always had good service so this was very disappointing and I felt bad for my husband and kids since they did not had a good experience on a place they were excited about. They even ran out of oysters when that was what I was looking for :-( just a bad day over all and we will not be coming here anymore. I always tip double the tax for great service and I spent over $200 and would have given a $40-$50 tip, but today he was lucky to even get $10 from me.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined 6 days ago

The food was just okay. The service was so bad. The waiter was all over the place and hardly checked on us if we needed water or anything else. The main dish arrived 30 minutes after we gave our order.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on June 10, 2018

Not worth the money! The waiter wasn't friendly nor attentive. The bus boy kept wanting to take away our plates when there were still food on it. My cioppiono and squid ink pasta was overcooked. The lobster mac n cheese was bland. I would not go back.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on June 5, 2018

Great view. Nice place. Had Filet of Sole.. it had bones in it. They didn't get them all.
Otherwise food pretty good.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 3, 2018

It was a magical night, great food, wonderful service, spectacular view and good background music.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on May 27, 2018

Terrible service, a reflection of the management. Disappointed.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on February 15, 2018

Not having been back for many years, this was very good. Although the Feb. 14th menu was pre-set, all the selections were fabulous and our waiter and table service were perfect. Going back soon and for Sunday brunch.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on November 23, 2017

We went for their Thanksgiving Dinner and it was very good. The turkey was cooked perfectly and there was a nice mix of dark and white meat. The dressing and sweet potatoes were also very good. They also offered Filet of Sole or Lamb instead of Turkey, my wife had the Filet of Sole and they gave her a very tasty and generous portion.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on November 23, 2017

The food was good but way overpriced. The service was horrible and very slow. We did not get our salad/soup until 45 minutes after seating. The only positive was the view.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on August 13, 2016

Another "View" restaurant on the coast. Good whale watching in season, expensive, mediocre food and service. Vowed never to return after last experience. Wish an experienced restauranteur with some passion would purchase this property and bring it up to its potential.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on May 8, 2016

Disappointed this time. Started with poorly managed check-in and seating. After being seated, poor service - I actually had no idea who our server was. The food was disappointing as well. Limited selection, and lots of stuff ran out and they were slow to replenish. Overall this was not a good choice for Mother's Day brunch. 2015 was a lot better.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 17, 2016

We like this restaurant and bar when we're by ourselves but it's even better as a site to impress out of town guests, especially those who don't live near the ocean.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on April 17, 2016

Food was just ok, but the view was spectacular!!!

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on April 16, 2016

This was our first disappointing experience here. Our table was not ready until 30 minutes past the reservation time. Unfinished Appetizers were cleared from the table 20 minutes before our dinner orders came. Two out of five dinner orders were unsatisfactory. Brunch has been a better experience for us here. We will come back, just not for dinner.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 8, 2016

We were seated immediately upon arrival. Our server was attentive but not annoying. The food was amazing. I would recommend the crispy brussel sprout appetizer!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 3, 2016

The food is soooo good at brunch.the view is awesome .the service is outstanding .if i could i would ne there every sunday. Everything is so delicious .ive beem there 5 times already and can't wait until the next time.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 2, 2016

Great view, ambiance was amazing, food was delicious and service was on fleek.
Went to the restaurant to celebrate my bday, and Gary out did himself!! He was so generous and kind! And so was his staff!!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 2, 2016

Lovely place to dine with a glorious ocean view. Quiet for Sunday brunch. Not sure what it is like for dinner, but for a weekend lunch, the service was wonderful and attentive, and the food was quite good. The window seats cannot be beat, if you love watching the activity on the water while you dine. I imagine it would be perfect for drinks at sunset, too. I had the grilled veggie plate and it was just exquisite - 5 or 6 different vegetables, each done very uniquely in a way that complemented each other. The crispy Brussels sprouts were perfection. My dining partner had the crab louie salad, which came with a very generous amount of fresh crab, homemade dressing. Delicious. I will return.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on March 26, 2016

Wow what a spectacular setting and view! We were seated in a cozy banquette with an ocean view! The place was quite busy, Saturday night. Unfortunately the food was not good, we even had to ask for the lobster soup to be taken off of the bill as it was almost inedible. It wouldn't take much for them to prepare some simple local cuisine but unfortunately the food had too much sauce and just wasn't good! We'd come back for the view and will just be careful of what to order.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on March 25, 2016

this place is awesome because of its location and interior ambiance.
we were there, when they had live music that added a nice touch.
the service was truly top notch and how it should be.
unfortunately the food left a bit to be desired, especially considering the price.
we found things in general to be too sweet / lack of sensible salt and spices on all dishes. from the caesar salad dressing to meats, veggies etc...
the lobster bisque, while a decent soup and a nice touch with the "capuccino" presentation, does not taste much like lobster nor does it contain any pieces or anything resembling seafood.
lamb shank was overcooked/meat quality partly mushy, gross.
pot roast was a bit better but not above average.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on March 20, 2016

Food was interesting, but tried too hard to BE interesting. Simpler combinations would work better. Ahi was a bit dry, lobster combinatbwas not great, Scallops worked well, as did coconut shrimp. Steak and fries, just OK.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 19, 2016

I love Moonraker they have great food and great service and a beautiful view of the ocean.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 18, 2016

Loved it my first time there! I will be back:-)

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on March 15, 2016

Food was inconsistent. Entree was good. Salad too drenched in dressing. Cake for dessert was dry. Service was friendly, but slow, with long gaps between courses. This place could be great - they just need to notch it up a bit and give the quality you'd expect from the prices. The view and location can't be beat.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 14, 2016

Another excellent dinner. Because I ordered the Oysters Rockefeller for an appetizer I was unable to finish my Squash Ravioli entree. It was delicious and believe me the rest of it went home with me for lunch the next day. My husband had the burrata crostini first and then the steak fritte. His steak was cooked perfectly and I kept stealing his frites, they were so tasty. Our server was Tony and he paid just the right amount of attention without hovering. We had the end view table at the north end of the restaurant with a perfect view of the ocean. We stopped going to the Moonraker several years ago due to changing ownerships and inconsistent food. We have returned and have been in 3 times within the last month. We'll keep going back as long as they keep up this high level of food and service.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 12, 2016

This restaurant did not disappoint! The food was good, the service was great and the atmosphere was exceptional

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 6, 2016

Each time I went up, the crab station must be the favorite. Ugh,,,,,not enough crab. Food was great. Selection awesome, service was the best in every way. From beginning to end. Your staff is excellent.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 5, 2016

High school loves meet after 37 years watch, face forward, the Saturday, March 5, 2016 storm make land. Born/raised on the peninsula and have never been on the coast when a good storm made land. THANX!

Thank you,

Tim and Heidi.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 5, 2016

Amazing view amazing food an service!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 1, 2016

The food was amazing, the service was impeccable, the view outstanding and the overall experience was life changing.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on February 21, 2016

We have dined at Moonraker numerous times since it reopened under current management. Great food, great view, great ambience and - usually - great service. This last time, service bordered on poor. It was 15-20 minutes before anyone finally stopped by our table. Service was brusque and impersonal and food delivery was out of synch. Example: when asked if we wanted more bread, we answered "yes". Never showed up.

It was a little embarrassing because we brought guests to whom we had been singing the praises of Moonraker service. The restaurant was not that busy. I hope this is not a bad sign of things to come.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on February 20, 2016

There was 6 of us so dinner was not cheap! we were a bit dissapointed, beverages and 1 small bread roll per person arrived quickly. Salad and soup did also but then at least 30+ minutes wait for entree.
The petrale sole was mushy , (like it was old fish) julienned vegetables also way over cooked! This meal was just barely warm !! The other meals seemed ok.
We have been to Moonraker before and the dinner was good so I am not sure what happened .
Restaurant was not full and it was a Satrday.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 19, 2016

Great Service! Food and Drinks were Amazing! We Loved Everything!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 15, 2016

The service was great, very attentive. The food was amazing, I had the pot roast and my wife had the surf and turf. My wife and I have celebrated a few different special occasions here and it's always fantastic.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on February 15, 2016

Food we ordered was excellent. I loved every single one. Especially the calamari. The scallops were perfect as well good mix with the mash potatoes.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on February 14, 2016

It was very disappointing. No other choice for the menu that night. Menu was so limited.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on February 14, 2016

Great food, great service. A little wait at the front desk. Everyone has reservations, but you have to wait for the previous seating to leave. romantic view of the ocean. Would do brunch again,lots of champagne!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 14, 2016

Love this place

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on February 14, 2016

Your really paying for the view. The food was very disappointing. I've had better brunches elsewhere and cheaper. I would not come back here.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on February 13, 2016

The food description sound so delicious but taste was way below average. Here are what we had:
1. Beef Tartare- way too salty, it was like a brine.
2. Seafod Ciopino - so so, i had better one from a restaurant that doesn't even specialized in seafood. It could use more seafood sauce and flavor
3. Painted Hills Natural Pot Roast - it said 48 hours cooked but it was so tough, that long hours cooking, the meat should be melting. maybe it was cook for just 20 minutes.
4. Painted Hills Rib Eye Steak - rib eye should be soft and tender, but this one, just like the pot roast, it was tough, and it was not a quality rib eye meat. i can grill rib eye 10 times better than moonraiker. The steak in Texas Roadhouse in Fairfield, CA is way better than this but I like my own grilled steak - which is the problem when you know how to cook. and of course, the steak here will be at very bottom compare to steak in one of Chicago restaurant - which somehow I have not had any bad steak eating to some restaurants that are not even popular.

The good thing at least for that night we had dinner, the music was very nice, it was not loud, just right to enjoy the night, the music were also my kind of music - no head banging, screaming that you could not hear the person next to you. The place is also for couple who would the view and does not mind a subpar food with a high end price.

Report
Helpful
1
2
3
20