About Montrio Bistro

414 Calle Principal
Monterey, CA 93940
View Larger Map

Located in the heart of downtown Monterey, Montrio Bistro offers a comfortable yet classic dining experience, featuring fine European inspired-American cuisine. For the past 15 years, Chef Baker’s resolve to showcase sustainable seafood, fine quality meat, and Monterey County’s best produce in all of his dishes has made this renovated 1910 firehouse a local favorite.


We feature a variety of appetizers, award-winning small bites, enticing entrees, and indulgent seasonal desserts made by our in house pastry chef. Choose from GM Kathy Solley’s extensive wine list, or try one of our signature cocktails by Anthony Vitacca. Montrio’s sophisticated, yet comfortable atmosphere attracts locals and passerbys alike with our great Happy Hour, Dinner and a Movie, and Sunday's Half-Priced Wine Night. Come see what everyone is talking about!


Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Californian, American

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Sunday thru Saturday 4:30 pm - 10:00 pm

Cross Street:
Franklin

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(831) 648-8880

Website:
http://www.montrio.com/

Parking Details:
We have street parking as well as multiple public lots just a short walk away.

Public Transit:
Monterey Airbus and local Bus Transit near Montrio Bistro

Executive Chef:
Chef Tony Baker

Private Party Facilities:
Montrio Bistro is committed to ensure that we exceed the expectations of every guest that comes through our doors. With over 20 years in the business and a great team of chefs and wait staff, you can be sure that Montrio Bistro is the right spot for your next event.

Private Party Contact:
Chelsea Roh: 8779203609

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Delivery, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Dry Aged New York Steak
Bread Pudding
Szechuan Duck Popcorn
Gem Lettuce Caesar
Caramel Apple Cheesecake
Duck Breast
Butchers Butter
Verlasso Salmon
Beef Shortribs
Crab Cakes With Pickled Radish
Risotto With Short Rib And Brie
Macaroni and Cheese
Risotto
Dungeness Crab Cakes
Saving Private Ryan Cocktail
Uncommon Dark & Stormy Cocktail
The Possessor Red Wine From Tooth & Nail
Mac N' Cheese
X X X Float
Smoked Bacon Wrapped Shrimp
Chicken Waffle
Butternut Squash & Burrata
Grilled Verlasso Salmon
Short Rib Risotto
Bread pudding dessert
Mac & cheese with leeks
Truffle Tater Tots
Mussels in Coconut Lemongrass Broth
Louie Salad With Fried Crab Cake
Chef's Special: Rare Ny Steak Over Risotto And Chanterelles
Artichoke Risotto Bites
Lobster Mac 'N Cheese
Swordfish And Risotto Special
Beta Vulgaris
Artichoke Ravioli
Parmsean Truffel Tatter Tots
Reconing
The Reckoning
Coconut Sorbet
Florida Prawms
Creme Brulee
Peach Mojito With Fresh Mint Popsicle
Warm White Chocolate Brioche Bread Pudding With Passion Fruit Ice Cream
Roasted Halibut With Risotto
Crispy Calamari And Squash W/ Herb Aioli
Pork Platter
Braised Short Ribs
Potted Pork Rillette,Bread & Butter Pickles, Morello Cherry
Mushroom And Cheese Crepe
Roasted Duck Breast
Seared Scallops
Anchovies
Salmon
Sazerac
Bacon And Egg Salad
Mussels

Montrio Bistro Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.5

ambience

4.3

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Californian
California Central Coast
Most Booked
California Central Coast
Best Overall
Monterey / Carmel
5 More
Best Food
Monterey / Carmel
Best Value
Monterey / Carmel
Fit for Foodies
Monterey / Carmel
Californian
Monterey / Carmel
Most Booked
Monterey / Carmel
Best Restaurants in Monterey ›

Fit for Foodies (130)
Special Occasion (120)
Neighborhood Gem (85)
See All
Romantic (75)
Notable Wine List (70)
Good for Groups (69)
Hot Spot (56)
Vibrant Bar Scene (32)
Great for Lunch (22)
Great for Outdoor Dining (17)
Kid-friendly (17)
Late-night Find (14)
Great for Brunch (9)
Sort By:
Newest
1677 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

The food was very good. They had an exce ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined a day ago

The food was very good. They had an excellent wine selection. Our waitress was very sweet and had great recommendations for food and wine. I loved everything about Montrio.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best place we ate in both Monterey and C ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined 3 days ago

Best place we ate in both Monterey and Carmel. Food was exceptional and the atmosphere was very nice as well. Highly recommended

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

While it might be a little tight seating ...

vip
 (Dallas)
·Dined 3 days ago

While it might be a little tight seating wise, the food and service was excellent.

Tags: Cozy, Late-night Find, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We ate here twice during "Car Week" and ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined 6 days ago

We ate here twice during "Car Week" and each time the food & service were excellent. They honor reservations, but Open Table shows times that are not mentioned on the phone. Nice, reasonable wine list & wide selection on menu.

Tags: Special Occasion, Business Meals, Casual, Seasonal, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

This was an exceptional experience. Th ...

vip
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

This was an exceptional experience. The food, service and ambiance were all wonderful. We tight it might be a bit loud but really once we were seated the noise was not an issue. We can't recommend it highly enough.

Tags: Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had dinner on the busiest weekend on ...

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

We had dinner on the busiest weekend on the Monterey Peninsula and it was great. Good food, good service and a fun time.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I don't live in California but anytime m ...

vip
 (Seattle)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

I don't live in California but anytime my travels take me to Monterrey, I always try to arrange things so I can dine at Montrio Bistro. The food is always interesting and excellent.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

It was an incredibly busy night and the ...

 
 (Alabama)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

It was an incredibly busy night and the service was excellent. I had the English pea ravioli and it could not have been better. Don't bother w the smoked salmon appetizer. The presentation was creative but the salmon was the cheap grocery store variety. Overall, great and varied menu, better than expected wine list and a perfectly trained staff. Highly recommend.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Vibrant Bar Scene, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Eight of us were in town for Monterey's ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

Eight of us were in town for Monterey's All Things Automotive Week. We dined with you both Thursday and Friday nights. As usual, everything was outstanding! Food, wine choices, service (exceptional both nights) and ambience. Now if we could only do something about the noise level on the main floor...

Thanks again, and we'll see you next year.

Renée Shires

Tags: Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The food was very tasty and the server s ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

The food was very tasty and the server suggested a couple of items that were a great compliment to the bites !

Tags: Romantic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

Enjoyed the food and especially the serv ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

Enjoyed the food and especially the service. It was recommended by the manager at the Mariposa and we it was a great experience.

Tags: Authentic, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

Much improved over my last visit. The fo ...

vip
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

Much improved over my last visit. The food was very good and the service was even better. I will definitely be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Let's start with the positive. The quali ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

Let's start with the positive. The quality of the food is excellent. The setting is certainly very nice. But the prices are way too expensive for this type of cuisine. Portion sizes are a little on the skinny size. Our waiter had problems with keeping eye contact with us. His attention was on on the action at his other tables. His attitude was NOBLESS OBLIGE or just plain stuffy. He was very upset that we wanted olives removed from the preparation of our entrees. I've been here twice and that's enough. Wine list also way out of line.

Tags: Special Occasion
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value1

Excellent service with wonderful yummy o ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 17, 2016

Excellent service with wonderful yummy options. Very understanding of food allergies.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Warm comfortable room, vibrant crowd, fl ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on August 16, 2016

Warm comfortable room, vibrant crowd, flavorful food and a nice wine list. Grilled artichoke with a caponata like dipping sauce was excellent as was the duck breast and spicy cauliflower. Service was informative, polite and polished. overall an excellent experience.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Our waiter was superb. Recommendations o ...

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on August 16, 2016

Our waiter was superb. Recommendations on dinner items were excellent and dessert with Happy Anniversary written on the platter was an added special touch that made for a memorable evening.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Happy that they offer small plates and m ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 15, 2016

Happy that they offer small plates and medium plates for sharing. Tables a little too close together in my opinion. Great wine selection and food had great presentation.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5

The food from start to finish was excell ...

 
 (Poconos)
·Dined on August 15, 2016

The food from start to finish was excellent. Can't believe they've been open 20+ years and still do it this well. One of my better dinner experiences.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Creative menu and fun atmosphere. We had ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on August 15, 2016

Creative menu and fun atmosphere. We had a memorable meal. Will go back again.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our party of 8 ate here our last night i ...

vip
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

Our party of 8 ate here our last night in town and it was a great experience. It was our first trip to the area and we would highly recommend this restaurant. I had the braised short rib which was fantastic. I order this frequently and this was one of the best I've had.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Great food and ambiance!

 
 (New England)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Great food and ambiance!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Everyone enjoyed the appetizers, entrees ...

 
 (San Joaquin)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Everyone enjoyed the appetizers, entrees and drinks! I t was our favorite place to eat during our 4 day stay! Highly recommend it! Unique choices !

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Both the food and the service were outst ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 11, 2016

Both the food and the service were outstanding. I gave it four stars in every category instead of five because Montrio is not a super-high end restaurant. We rarely go to super-high end restaurants, however, and Montrio satisfies in every important way. The one drawback is the high noise level.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

They were able to accommodate an increas ...

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on August 11, 2016

They were able to accommodate an increase in our party, with very short notice. Our server was friendly & knowledgeable of the menu. The food was delicious!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

We made a reservation but sat at the bar ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on August 10, 2016

We made a reservation but sat at the bar because we arrived early, loved the bar seating, date had a wonderful Manhattan, I had a very delicious non alcoholic drink, & absolutely wonderful crab cakes & oysters. Ceaser was our bartender & waiter, he ROCKS!

Tags: Good for Groups, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Just plain delightful. Food was deliciou ...

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on August 8, 2016

Just plain delightful. Food was delicious and the drinks were terrific. Wine at 1/2 off on Sundays is a superb way to sample new ones. Would heartily recommend this restaurant as we have been here many times.

Tags: Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

wonderful! would definitely recommend to ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

wonderful! would definitely recommend to a friend and would return again if in the area.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Every time we are in Monterey, my husban ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

Every time we are in Monterey, my husband and I have at least one dinner at Montrio. We have celebrated our anniversary there the last few years and had a great dinner with great service.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food and service. The seating is ...

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

Great food and service. The seating is pretty open - not a quiet and intimate setting. For our group this was just fine!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Birthday dinner. Service was especially ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

Birthday dinner. Service was especially good, attentive and friendly. Food and drinks were very good. We had the duck and brick chicken and both were tasty with sauce that made a good compliment to the meat without being overwhelming. Vegetables were perfectly cooked. Wonderful bread pudding with birthday candle and no embarrassing singing to top it all off.

Tags: Romantic, Notable Wine List, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

pricey but worth it, over the top high q ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

pricey but worth it, over the top high quality chef prepare creative food, excellent service, superb wine

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was excellent and the service w ...

 
 (Raum Hamburg)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

The food was excellent and the service was very good. We had to wait for the table we had reserved, but they seated us at the bar and gave us free drinks. The noise level is noticeable, but if you can distract yourselves from that it is a great place to go :-)

Tags: Special Occasion, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We had friends in town and wanted to tak ...

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

We had friends in town and wanted to take them to our favorite place..

Service was wonderful, as was the food as usual. Never disappointed..😍

Thank you

Tags: Special Occasion, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Great for Lunch, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was super. The calamari was so ...

 
 (London)
·Dined on August 4, 2016

The food was super. The calamari was so so tender and the artichoke was delicious. The bacon chop was enormous! Buzzing and lively atmosphere. Definitely recommend the place.

Tags: Child Friendly, Fit for Foodies, Group Bookings, Romance
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We have been going to Montrio Bistro for ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 3, 2016

We have been going to Montrio Bistro for some years. Great place. Never disappoints.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Always a delicious meal. The outside di ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

Always a delicious meal. The outside dining is a great addition!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Good: Excellent food. Lamb tenderloin w ...

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

Good: Excellent food. Lamb tenderloin was superb. Small sized dessert was great. Excellent wine by the glass. Very attentive device.

Bad: Noise level was extremely high. Hard to talk to friends. The place was packed. Seating capacity had been maximized, and it was very cramped. Expensive, but this was expected - okay for a special occasion.

Summary: We'd definitely go back, but we'd choose an off time next time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

This was our first time dining at Montri ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

This was our first time dining at Montrio and we loved it. Great bar with perfectly made drinks and the food was wonderful. We ordered small and medium plates to share and each plate was excellent. Can't wait to return.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The menu was varied, with selections for ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

The menu was varied, with selections for any and all appetites. We really liked the specialty mixed drinks. This is our second time at Montrio, and has become a staple on our restaurant circuit when visiting the Monterrey Peninsula.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

After being seated in the main room, rat ...

vip
 (Orlando)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

After being seated in the main room, rather than the first table they were going to give us right next to the kitchen and 3 large groups, the evening improved. Service and food was good. Mushroom/polenta, scallop crudo bites, and grilled gem lettuce caesar salad were delish. Short rib risotto was a greasy though. Will be back.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.