Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.07mi
  2. Distance: 0.07mi
  3. Distance: 0.09mi
  4. Distance: 0.10mi
  1. Distance: 0.07mi
  2. Distance: 0.07mi
  3. Distance: 0.09mi
  4. Distance: 0.10mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.07mi
  2. Distance: 0.07mi
  3. Distance: 0.09mi
  4. Distance: 0.10mi
  1. Distance: 0.07mi
  2. Distance: 0.07mi
  3. Distance: 0.09mi
  4. Distance: 0.10mi

About Montrio Bistro

Located in the heart of downtown Monterey, Montrio Bistro offers a comfortable yet classic dining experience, featuring fine European inspired-American cuisine. For the past 15 years, Chef Baker’s resolve to showcase sustainable seafood, fine quality meat, and Monterey County’s best produce in all of his dishes has made this renovated 1910 firehouse a local favorite.


We feature a variety of appetizers, award-winning small bites, enticing entrees, and indulgent seasonal desserts made by our in house pastry chef. Choose from GM Kathy Solley’s extensive wine list, or try one of our signature cocktails by Anthony Vitacca. Montrio’s sophisticated, yet comfortable atmosphere attracts locals and passerbys alike with our great Happy Hour, Dinner and a Movie, and Sunday's Half-Priced Wine Night. Come see what everyone is talking about!


414 Calle Principal
Monterey, CA 93940
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Californian, American

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Sunday thru Saturday 4:30 pm - 10:00 pm

Cross Street:
Franklin

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(831) 648-8880

Website:
http://www.montrio.com/

Parking Details:
We have street parking as well as multiple public lots just a short walk away.

Public Transit:
Monterey Airbus and local Bus Transit near Montrio Bistro

Executive Chef:
Chef Tony Baker

Private Party Facilities:
Montrio Bistro is committed to ensure that we exceed the expectations of every guest that comes through our doors. With over 20 years in the business and a great team of chefs and wait staff, you can be sure that Montrio Bistro is the right spot for your next event.

Private Party Contact:
Chelsea Roh: (877) 920-3609

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Cocktails, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Montrio Bistro Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.5

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

97% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (83)
Fit for Foodies (75)
Creative Cuisine (70)
See All
Special Occasion (70)
Good for Anniversaries (51)
Neighborhood Gem (48)
Handcrafted Cocktails (44)
Fun (44)
Notable Wine List (43)
Good for Birthdays (40)
Romantic (40)
Local Ingredients (37)
Worth the Drive (34)
Good for Groups (29)
Cozy (26)
Authentic (22)
Business Meals (20)
Casual (20)
People Watching (19)
Hot Spot (18)
Pre/post Theatre (16)
Bar Seating (16)
Vibrant Bar Scene (15)
Seasonal (14)
Happy Hour (14)
Good Vegetarian Options (13)
Comfort Food (12)
Gluten Free Options (12)
Quiet Conversation (11)
Late-night Find (11)
Great for Outdoor Dining (10)
Tapas (9)
Organic (9)
Great Beer (7)
Great for Lunch (6)
Vegan (5)
Quick Bite (5)
Tasting Menu (5)
Sunday Lunch (4)
Modern Decor (2)
Open Kitchen (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Historic (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
 (1)
Private Room (1)
Spicy (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
 (1)
Sort By:
S
2163 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined 4 days ago

As busy as the restaurant was, the service was amazing. The food was well-prepared and absolutely delicious. The flavors were creative, fresh, and enjoyable. The cocktails were uniquely hand-crafted and made a great beginning to a memorable meal. Dessert is a must.

Tags: Cozy, Good for a Date, Late-night Find, Romantic, Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene, Handcrafted Cocktails, Authentic, Local Ingredients, Fun, Notable Wine List, Tapas, Comfort Food, Creative Cuisine, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
·Dined 4 days ago

Great place awesome food

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 16, 2017

Delicious! In town for a couple days and Montrio came highly recommended by a couple friends. It lived up to the hype. My capellini was delicious. My carnivorous husband was stealing off my plate! Will definitely be back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on August 15, 2017

We had a great meal! They have such a great and unique menu, notable wine list, and the best kids' menu. Our appetizer, 48 hour bacon, was incredible - similar to beef brisket in texture, with incredible flavors. Kale salad, mussels, and brie appetizer were also so good. Loved our main courses: chop was so tender and unique and the salmon has great flavor. Best of all was the pavlova dessert - outstanding!

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Fun, Happy Hour, Kid-friendly, Bar Seating, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Healthy, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on August 14, 2017

Went for my Hubby's birthday, they put Birthday confetti on our table and made sure we had excellent service, our server was knowledgeable and attentive and the restaurant manager stopped by our table several times to make sure we were having a great experience. The food! The food was delicious! We started with the complimentary crusty bread and ordered the bacon wrapped shrimp and the crispy Brie Yummy! Then he ordered the Kobe burger and I had the King Salmon on Risotto. I cleaned my plate. To drink I ordered the non alcoholic watermelon lime lemonade. So good, I ordered it with rum on my 2nd round! But so tasty I felt like It had already been spiked! To top off the night, we ordered the bread pudding and s'mores. Now I know bread pudding doesn't sound that exciting, but this is the MOST decadent, delicious thing we had all night, and that's saying a lot! It was it was like soft, warm cake soaking in vanilla cream with a crunchy finish! You know you should probably stop after one bite, but you can't believe how good it is, that you have to go for one more bite. Served with a tangy passionfruit ice cream and crunchy cone with fresh raspberries Next thing you know the whole thing is gone! The S'mores was also great, soft, gooey toasted marshmallow and not too sweet chocolate and crumbly graham cracker to die for! Definitely will be back!

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Cozy, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 13, 2017

Wonderful food and ambiance. Would definitely return.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Seasonal, Organic, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 12, 2017

Lovely meal at Montrio on a bustling Friday night. Waitress was friendly, helpful and knowledgeable. Wine list is great, and the wine director was a lot of fun, identified a good-value local Pinot (Vocal) that was terrific. White anchovies and scallop starters were outstanding, lamb merguez good. Duck breast and corn ravioli were both excellent. All this and only a block to the Golden State Theatre!

Tags: Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Creative Cuisine, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
·Dined on August 12, 2017

Montrio was recommended to us. We live out of the area, but worth the 2 hour drive. Great service, great food.

Tags: Healthy, Happy Hour, Handcrafted Cocktails, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on August 11, 2017

Excellent thank you, we had a great time dining there.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 10, 2017

Had a great time with friends...always enjoyable at Montio's ....my wife's and mine first date in 2005!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 8, 2017

Service was pretentious. Food was mediocre at best and certainly not worthy of the attitude. The wine list was ridiculously expensive....there was one bad bottle of pinot noir for $52, one for $68 and then the rest were not affordable for us mere mortals. Head to Carmel for more options with less attitude.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1

vip
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on August 8, 2017

My meal was amazing! The salmon was delicious but the bread pudding was absolutely incredible. I would definitely like to return someday to try out some of their other creations.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on August 8, 2017

I love montrio! As a wine club member at Taste of Monterey we got to bring a bottle of wine for free! I work for a winery so I know a fun local/international wine list. Little pricey for wine and food, but great happy hour and indoor service. The corn raviolis which I believe are only on the menu for summer are out of this world. Also the calamari you cannot go wrong with.

Tags: Happy Hour, Organic, Comfort Food, Fit for Foodies, Seasonal, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Fun, Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Good Vegetarian Options, Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
·Dined on August 7, 2017

It took a while to get us seated but it was worth the wait. Fabulous food and friendly waitress.

Tags: Authentic, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on August 7, 2017

We had a good meal. Everybody liked their food. Service was excellent. Server was attentive but unobtrusive--just what I love! Comfortable and not too noisy.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on August 5, 2017

We went for a birthday--they had the table set festive. They called the day prior to our reservation to be sure everything was set. Meals were delicious and our server,Scott, didn't miss a beat!! Highly recommended!

Tags: Late-night Find, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 4, 2017

We always have meal at Bistro Montrio when we are in Monterey. The bartenders make your drink the way you ask for them, the food servers are friendly and efficient and the food is always very good. Good vibes!

Tags: People Watching, Bar Seating, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
·Dined on August 4, 2017

Schönes Restaurant mit gutem Essen und gute Weine (auch glasweise), sehr beliebt auch bei "locals". Reservierung unbedingt zu empfehlen. Unter den Restaurants in Monterey sicher bei den Top 3 wenn man Preis/Leistung berücksichtigt und man nichts außergewöhnliches erwartet (das ist auch nicht der Anspruch des Restaurants). Immer voll und alles geht wie in den USA üblich sehr schnell, definitiv zu empfehlen!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 4, 2017

The second time we've been there and it didn't disappoint again! Great food and great service! It's also very kid friendly.

Tags: Casual, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 4, 2017

Great, creative food and outstanding service. You definitely need reservations.

Tags: Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine, Good Vegetarian Options, Gluten Free Options, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on August 3, 2017

Unfortunately, the noise level was over-the-top. I sat with three friends and the only person I could hear was the one sitting next to me because she could project her voice well. While I love the food and the service I would not return for an evening meal. Maybe Sunday lunch would work out better. I do appreciate the quality of the food, the fair prices and the excellent and thoughtful service. The hostess, especially, had her hands full, and yet she was as gracious as a saint. Thank you.

Tags: Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4
value3

 
 (New England)·Dined on August 2, 2017

Great dinner! Service was great and they accommodated my gluten intolerance needs very easily.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
·Dined on August 1, 2017

Our family had dinner at the Montrio Bistro a couple of nights ago. Though rather pricey, the food was delicious and plentiful and the staff were very pleasant and helpful with ensuring that that our children's allergies were taken into account.
Would highly recommend.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 31, 2017

Always enjoy dinner here. Food is solid, and place has a good/fun vibe. Love 1/2 off wine Sundays.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
·Dined on July 30, 2017

The atmosphere was as expected vety nice. The food was o.k. but without a real special kick that one could hope for in that proce range. All in all however a nice evening.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Good for Birthdays, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

 
·Dined on July 30, 2017

My wonderful girlfriend and I went for a date to the restaurant. The hospitality was great, the food was delicious, definitely recommend the scallops. The bourbon on the rocks were very generous. Will make sure to visit this establishment again on our next trip to Monterey.

Tags: Good for a Date, Cozy, Romantic, Gluten Free Options, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on July 30, 2017

This was my best meal while in Monterey for a conference...the location was easy to get to, the food was absolutely delicious, service was good but very busy as Saturday night.
I had the salmon which was amazing and dinner guest had short rib that was equally delicious...highly recommend!

Tags: Authentic, Bar Seating, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
·Dined on July 30, 2017

Montrio Bistro is a gem near the Marriott Hotel in Monterey. Chef tony Baker does a great job of adapting the cuisine to local and seasonal availability of ingredients. Very creative dishes that taste wonderful! They have a full bar and excellent wine selection, if that is important to your event.

Tags: Bar Seating, Healthy, Fun, Pre/post Theatre, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on July 30, 2017

Montrio was just outstanding. Scott, our server, was terrific and attentive. Everyone's meal was very good, and the desserts were also really good. Nice selection of after-dinner cocktails too.

Tags: Authentic, Business Meals, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
·Dined on July 26, 2017

We had happy hour and returned next day for dinner. Delicious. Rachel forgot to bring 2 things we ordered to the table but she was nice.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 26, 2017

We had not been at Montrio's for awhile and the menu had changed, much to our delight. The mussels were the best I have ever tasted. We like the idea of have choices of different size entries. The drink menu is fun.

Tags: Healthy, Good for Groups, Fun, Gluten Free Options, Comfort Food, Happy Hour, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on July 24, 2017

A great find where we could make last minute reservations. A full bar and a knowledgeable bartender with an interesting drink list. Half off wine bottles on Sundays. I really enjoyed my baked Brie and short rib risotto, as well as the Mata Hari cocktail. I would order all three of them again. My husband appreciated his artichoke, lamb and red wine too. He would order the wine next time but probably try something else on the menu. I liked the idea of sending the kitchen staff a six-pack. Both fun and smart!

Tags: Business Meals, Casual, Cozy, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on July 24, 2017

Consistently good food. Always a happening atmosphere. And they genuinely care about there customers.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Happy Hour, Fun, Tapas, Neighborhood Gem, Organic, Notable Wine List, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 24, 2017

Truly fabulous meal. Very innovative use of ingredients and spices. Seasonally appropriate dishes. HIGHLY RECOMMEND

Tags: Special Occasion, Casual, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 23, 2017

Good variety in the menu...great service....excellent execution from the kitchen...a little pricey

Tags: People Watching, Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Vibrant Bar Scene, Romantic, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 23, 2017

Great food, service, ambiance and fun for all ages.

Tags: Happy Hour, People Watching, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Good Vegetarian Options, Bar Seating, Gluten Free Options, Comfort Food, Fun, Hot Spot, Great for Outdoor Dining, Late-night Find, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on July 22, 2017

Went with my OSU college roommates while on vacation together. Our waiter was great and helped us pick a marvelous wine at a good price. Our food was excellent and the staff seemed to work together to ensure excellent service to all the customers.

Tags: Authentic, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 22, 2017

Had a very nice dinner at Montrio. It was extremely busy but our server was on top of things.
We would definitely recommend the restaurant and would go back again!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Quick Bite
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 21, 2017

We always have enjoyed this restaurant in the past but it just seems to get better each time we go. This time was the best, great food, outstanding service and a vibrant environment. I highly recommend Montrio Bistro if you want great food from appetizers to dessert.

Tags: Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 16, 2017

My wife and I has been here several times, but the food we got this time was not at all, what we experienced on our previous visits to Montrio.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.