About Montrio Bistro

414 Calle Principal
Monterey, CA 93940
View Larger Map

Located in the heart of downtown Monterey, Montrio Bistro offers a comfortable yet classic dining experience, featuring fine European inspired-American cuisine. For the past 15 years, Chef Baker’s resolve to showcase sustainable seafood, fine quality meat, and Monterey County’s best produce in all of his dishes has made this renovated 1910 firehouse a local favorite.


We feature a variety of appetizers, award-winning small bites, enticing entrees, and indulgent seasonal desserts made by our in house pastry chef. Choose from GM Kathy Solley’s extensive wine list, or try one of our signature cocktails by Anthony Vitacca. Montrio’s sophisticated, yet comfortable atmosphere attracts locals and passerbys alike with our great Happy Hour, Dinner and a Movie, and Sunday's Half-Priced Wine Night. Come see what everyone is talking about!


Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Californian, American

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Sunday thru Saturday 4:30 pm - 10:00 pm

Cross Street:
Franklin

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(831) 648-8880

Website:
http://www.montrio.com/

Parking Details:
We have street parking as well as multiple public lots just a short walk away.

Public Transit:
Monterey Airbus and local Bus Transit near Montrio Bistro

Executive Chef:
Chef Tony Baker

Private Party Facilities:
Montrio Bistro is committed to ensure that we exceed the expectations of every guest that comes through our doors. With over 20 years in the business and a great team of chefs and wait staff, you can be sure that Montrio Bistro is the right spot for your next event.

Private Party Contact:
Chelsea Roh: 8779203609

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Delivery, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Dry Aged New York Steak
Bread Pudding
Szechuan Duck Popcorn
Gem Lettuce Caesar
Caramel Apple Cheesecake
Duck Breast
Butchers Butter
Verlasso Salmon
Risotto With Short Rib And Brie
Crab Cakes With Pickled Radish
Beef Shortribs
Risotto
Macaroni and Cheese
Dungeness Crab Cakes
Saving Private Ryan Cocktail
Uncommon Dark & Stormy Cocktail
The Possessor Red Wine From Tooth & Nail
Mac N' Cheese
X X X Float
Smoked Bacon Wrapped Shrimp
Chicken Waffle
Butternut Squash & Burrata
Grilled Verlasso Salmon
Short Rib Risotto
Bread pudding dessert
Mac & cheese with leeks
Truffle Tater Tots
Mussels in Coconut Lemongrass Broth
Louie Salad With Fried Crab Cake
Artichoke Risotto Bites
Chef's Special: Rare Ny Steak Over Risotto And Chanterelles
Swordfish And Risotto Special
Lobster Mac 'N Cheese
Reconing
The Reckoning
Parmsean Truffel Tatter Tots
Artichoke Ravioli
Beta Vulgaris
Coconut Sorbet
Florida Prawms
Roasted Halibut With Risotto
Warm White Chocolate Brioche Bread Pudding With Passion Fruit Ice Cream
Peach Mojito With Fresh Mint Popsicle
Creme Brulee
Crispy Calamari And Squash W/ Herb Aioli
Pork Platter
Braised Short Ribs
Potted Pork Rillette,Bread & Butter Pickles, Morello Cherry
Mushroom And Cheese Crepe
Anchovies
Sazerac
Roasted Duck Breast
Seared Scallops
Salmon
Bacon And Egg Salad
Mussels

Montrio Bistro Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.5

ambience

4.4

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Most Booked
California Central Coast
Best Overall
Monterey / Carmel
Best Food
Monterey / Carmel
5 More
Best Service
Monterey / Carmel
Best Value
Monterey / Carmel
Fit for Foodies
Monterey / Carmel
Californian
Monterey / Carmel
Most Booked
Monterey / Carmel
Best Restaurants in Monterey ›

fit for foodies (123)
special occasion (106)
neighborhood gem (68)
See All
good for groups (65)
romantic (62)
notable wine list (55)
hot spot (42)
vibrant bar scene (27)
great for lunch (16)
kid-friendly (12)
great for outdoor dining (12)
late-night find (10)
great for brunch (6)
scenic view (2)
Sort By:
Newest
1627 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

The food was excellent. The only improv ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined 3 days ago

The food was excellent. The only improvement I would recommend is to train our server, Andrew, to be more attentive to his tables. It was like pulling teeth to get refills on drinks, follow through on our orders, and secondary requests. He was scattered and not anticipating the needs of the guests. Secondary service of bus boys were was at a level for a four star restaurant.

Tags: fit for foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value4

Was delighted to come across an eclectic ...

 
 (London)
·Dined 5 days ago

Was delighted to come across an eclectic menu made up of the best local produce and served in an innovative fashion without being pretentious . Loved the option of smaller portions too. One of the best meals I've had on West Coast

Tags: fit for foodies, group bookings, late night find, neighbourhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Wait staff attentive. Shared dishes spli ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined 5 days ago

Wait staff attentive. Shared dishes split and served without having to request such. Setting cozy and beautiful. Enjoyed Kale salad (appetizer) and wild salmon (entree) with additional side of cauliflower. All dishes well prepared and flavorful. Nice variety of cocktails, beer and wine.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We came on Sunday and enjoyed a 1/2 pric ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined 6 days ago

We came on Sunday and enjoyed a 1/2 price bottle of wine. The duck was delicious. It was a nice date night.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3

This was a top recommended spot on Yelp ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined 7 days ago

This was a top recommended spot on Yelp and Trip Advisor but our foursome of fifty-somethings was not particularly impressed. While the service was wonderful, we found the menu somewhat limited and most annoyingly, the noise level really high. Not only were there the usual hard surfaces throughout the place combined with loud conversation, but also a loud, pulsing and irritating drum track that felt like Chinese water torture at times. We also found the $25 corkage fee for our single bottle of wine really outrageous. I understand that restaurants need to keep the buzz/energy level up and that they make a lot of their profit from liquor sales, but Montrio Bistro has definitely gone too far on both of these fronts.

Tags: hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4
value2

Food was outstanding. The bacon chop was ...

 
 (Oklahoma City)
·Dined 7 days ago

Food was outstanding. The bacon chop was unique. Salads weren't just thrown together, the small details made this a very good restaurant. Was visiting from Oklahoma.

Tags: fit for foodies, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Always great food and service!

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined 7 days ago

Always great food and service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The waitress said that there were no spe ...

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined 7 days ago

The waitress said that there were no specials and didn't explain the menu even though it was our first time there. Very crowded and loud. The vegetable was dry and seemed burnt. Their sister restaurants, Rio GrIll and Tarpey's Roadhouse, are much better dining experiences.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

Food was only okay, prices expensive for ...

vip
 (Portland)
·Dined 7 days ago

Food was only okay, prices expensive for the quality. Service was very good, however.

Tags: kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

We celebrated our anniversary here and h ...

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

We celebrated our anniversary here and had a fine meal in a pleasant environment. My husband had a regular entree and I had a few small plates/sides that were very tasty.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

We had a nice time and enjoyed the food. ...

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

We had a nice time and enjoyed the food. Service was fine but we really had to prompt our server for info on food and suggestions. Once she got going though, she did great.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

We dined with 4 couples; one from NJ, MO ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on July 13, 2016

We dined with 4 couples; one from NJ, MO,CA & Netherlands. Business dinner with a relaxed atmosphere & knowledgeable waiter. Successful evening.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Beautiful location, fantastic service an ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Beautiful location, fantastic service and amazing food. I loved the concept of sending a 6-pack to the kitchen! This was our first time visiting and I can not wait to come back!!!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Really loved this neighborhood restauran ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

Really loved this neighborhood restaurant. It had a great vibe and food was very fresh and prepared clean without added fats. Wine and beer selection good Service spot on and ambiance inviting with interesting decor try it you will like it!!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Excellent food in Monterey. Creative men ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

Excellent food in Monterey. Creative menu, great wine and service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Outstanding service! Found many things ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 7, 2016

Outstanding service! Found many things on menu I would like to try.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Portions are just to big. Very limited ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 6, 2016

Portions are just to big.

Very limited non-meat selections.

Wait staff is friendly.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value2

This was our first visit to Montrio Bist ...

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on July 6, 2016

This was our first visit to Montrio Bistro and we had a wonderful experience! Victoria was our waitress and she went above and beyond to meet our needs. We came for a birthday celebration and were really impressed by the way we were treated. Victoria engaged with us and made time to get to know us. We will definitely be back!

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

wonderful food...fabulous Duck Breast!!! ...

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on July 4, 2016

wonderful food...fabulous Duck Breast!!! Sunday is 1/2 price for a bottle of wine and before 7 pm a happy hour. Service is great, but a bit slow at the bar area during happy hour. There is an outside seating area with heat lamps against the cool fog (lots of dogs outside). Can be noisy inside if large parties...But not horrible.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasions
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We have not been here for a few years. T ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 4, 2016

We have not been here for a few years. Tonight's dinner was outstanding and we look forward to returning again soon

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The entire experience was great!

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on June 28, 2016

The entire experience was great!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Must get the poutine!! Great service and ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

Must get the poutine!! Great service and was wonderful to have my child there with no hassle!!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food and the service were excellent. ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

The food and the service were excellent. We visit Monterey 3 to 4 times a year and first dined at Montrio three years ago. The food has gotten much better.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The festive yet relaxed atmosphere set t ...

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

The festive yet relaxed atmosphere set the tone for a memorable evening right at the beginning. Then the exceptional food (scallops, asparagus, crème brulee) and thoughtful service made it an extraordinary occasion.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Montrio is great for entertaining guests ...

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

Montrio is great for entertaining guests and for special occasions. We always leave feeling happy that we chose Montrio.

Tags: special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Always a good choice if you aren't tryin ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

Always a good choice if you aren't trying to go inexpensively. Only downside is the restaurant is very loud. Everything else is always consistently good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Everything was great except the female s ...

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

Everything was great except the female server was much too friendly and attentive to my guy(date) and even touched his lower shoulder/chest. Kind of ruined the dinner for me. Professionally she should have been equally attentive and definetly not have touched the guest as they were not acquainted.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

Fantastic menu, food, and service. Outd ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

Fantastic menu, food, and service. Outdoor seating. A great find in Monterey...

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Overall was memorable, especially the wh ...

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

Overall was memorable, especially the white anchovies and Mussels in coconut curry were exceptional. The duck was done perfectly and braised rib was very good.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value4

Excellent appetizers and loved the varie ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

Excellent appetizers and loved the variety in the wine list.

Tags: fit for foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Quality ingredients and delicious food. ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

Quality ingredients and delicious food. I was a little disappointed with the kobe burger. It didn't taste that good. The bacon wrapped prawns were amazing. The cauliflower and green bean sides were amazing. It was easy to stay dairy and gluten free here. We really appreciate that

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

I was on Monterey on vacation. Based on ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 20, 2016

I was on Monterey on vacation. Based on the reviews, the family headed to Montrio for Father's Day dinner. The decor and the excellent services were as described in reviews, but little else lined up. We had a very mediocre dinner and one would even unimaginative and inspiring dinner, with the exception on the salads. Both the kale and the Cesar salads were yummy with a unique twist on flavor.

With no guidance from our server outside of our beer order, the family ordered a Kobe burger and Capellini pasta for dinner. The richness of the Kobe beef was diluted by the cheese, bacon and onions. We have had better grass-fed and angus beef burgers; It was not worth the money. The pasta while cooked perfectly was just okay, nothing special.

My recommendation is if you are looking for a spot to toast/feast a special occasion I would suggested another place to help your palate celebrate.

PS: one possible reason for the mediocre dinner -Golden State Warriors just lost the championship 15 minutes before our dinner was made.😓

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4

After booking for a late dinner (8:00pm) ...

vip
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

After booking for a late dinner (8:00pm), we were seated upstairs around several families with small children. There was no ambience...nothing like the downstairs atmosphere where we have dined before. Very disappointed in the food. It has been hit or miss when we have dined here in the past. Not on our favorites list. Next time will request downstairs dining, too.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service3
value1

ery creative pairing of entrées with sau ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

ery creative pairing of entrées with sauces and sides/perfect serving sizes. Exquisite desserts.

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Great food- one of the best in Monterey. ...

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on June 17, 2016

Great food- one of the best in Monterey. Fantastic menu variety, the unique, mid- size portion plates gives you the option to sample many dishes. The only drawback to this restaurant is that the tables are very close together, typically for me to close- but the food overrides that concern. Servers are mature, and professional. Have been 3-4 times, and will go back.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

Went twice food fantastic service excell ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 16, 2016

Went twice food fantastic service excellent, beautiful gluten free options including a chocolate dessert to die for!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A strange menu. It does not seem to h ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on June 16, 2016

A strange menu. It does not seem to have a cuisine. But in spite of the eclectic list of foods, the food is very good. Really enjoyable. I would return expecting good things.

Tags: fit for foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

Went there for 25th wedding anniversary. ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on June 16, 2016

Went there for 25th wedding anniversary. We had reservations and our table was reserved and decorated for the occasion. We will dine there again

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Expectations for a birthday celebration ...

vip
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on June 14, 2016

Expectations for a birthday celebration dinner were exceeded on all accounts. The small plates are great for sharing so order several. DO NOT miss the popcorn confit - very fun! Salumi board was really nicely done. I had a special fresh pea ravioli dish that was light and fresh . My husband enjoyed the duck. Great wine list. Service was friendly and professional and helpful. This was absolutely the best experience of our four day visit to Monterey. Highly recommend this place!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I eat at Montrio almost every time I am ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 14, 2016

I eat at Montrio almost every time I am in Monterey so around 6 times a year. The service is always great, and I have never had a bad meal. I am crazy about their Bacon and Egg Salad!

Tags: fit for foodies, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.