About Montrio Bistro

414 Calle Principal
Monterey, CA 93940
View Larger Map

Located in the heart of downtown Monterey, Montrio Bistro offers a comfortable yet classic dining experience, featuring fine European inspired-American cuisine. For the past 15 years, Chef Baker’s resolve to showcase sustainable seafood, fine quality meat, and Monterey County’s best produce in all of his dishes has made this renovated 1910 firehouse a local favorite.


We feature a variety of appetizers, award-winning small bites, enticing entrees, and indulgent seasonal desserts made by our in house pastry chef. Choose from GM Kathy Solley’s extensive wine list, or try one of our signature cocktails by Anthony Vitacca. Montrio’s sophisticated, yet comfortable atmosphere attracts locals and passerbys alike with our great Happy Hour, Dinner and a Movie, and Sunday's Half-Priced Wine Night. Come see what everyone is talking about!


Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Californian, American

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Sunday thru Saturday 4:30 pm - 10:00 pm

Cross Street:
Franklin

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(831) 648-8880

Website:
http://www.montrio.com/

Parking Details:
We have street parking as well as multiple public lots just a short walk away.

Public Transit:
Monterey Airbus and local Bus Transit near Montrio Bistro

Executive Chef:
Chef Tony Baker

Private Party Facilities:
Montrio Bistro is committed to ensure that we exceed the expectations of every guest that comes through our doors. With over 20 years in the business and a great team of chefs and wait staff, you can be sure that Montrio Bistro is the right spot for your next event.

Private Party Contact:
Chelsea Roh: 8779203609

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Delivery, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Dry Aged New York Steak
Bread Pudding
Szechuan Duck Popcorn
Gem Lettuce Caesar
Caramel Apple Cheesecake
Duck Breast
Verlasso Salmon
Butchers Butter
Risotto With Short Rib And Brie
Crab Cakes With Pickled Radish
Beef Shortribs
Risotto
Macaroni and Cheese
Dungeness Crab Cakes
Saving Private Ryan Cocktail
Uncommon Dark & Stormy Cocktail
The Possessor Red Wine From Tooth & Nail
X X X Float
Mac N' Cheese
Smoked Bacon Wrapped Shrimp
Chicken Waffle
Butternut Squash & Burrata
Grilled Verlasso Salmon
Short Rib Risotto
Bread pudding dessert
Mac & cheese with leeks
Truffle Tater Tots
Mussels in Coconut Lemongrass Broth
Louie Salad With Fried Crab Cake
Artichoke Risotto Bites
Chef's Special: Rare Ny Steak Over Risotto And Chanterelles
Swordfish And Risotto Special
Lobster Mac 'N Cheese
Reconing
The Reckoning
Parmsean Truffel Tatter Tots
Artichoke Ravioli
Beta Vulgaris
Coconut Sorbet
Florida Prawms
Roasted Halibut With Risotto
Warm White Chocolate Brioche Bread Pudding With Passion Fruit Ice Cream
Peach Mojito With Fresh Mint Popsicle
Creme Brulee
Crispy Calamari And Squash W/ Herb Aioli
Pork Platter
Braised Short Ribs
Potted Pork Rillette,Bread & Butter Pickles, Morello Cherry
Mushroom And Cheese Crepe
Anchovies
Sazerac
Roasted Duck Breast
Seared Scallops
Salmon
Bacon And Egg Salad
Mussels

Montrio Bistro Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.6

ambience

4.4

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Californian
California Central Coast
Most Booked
California Central Coast
Best Overall
Monterey / Carmel
6 More
Best Food
Monterey / Carmel
Best Service
Monterey / Carmel
Fit for Foodies
Monterey / Carmel
Neighborhood Gem
Monterey / Carmel
Californian
Monterey / Carmel
Most Booked
Monterey / Carmel
Best Restaurants in Monterey ›

fit for foodies (135)
special occasion (117)
neighborhood gem (72)
See All
romantic (72)
good for groups (67)
notable wine list (58)
hot spot (46)
vibrant bar scene (29)
great for lunch (20)
late-night find (14)
kid-friendly (12)
great for outdoor dining (11)
great for brunch (6)
scenic view (2)
Sort By:
Newest
1606 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The entire experience was great!

vip
Dined 4 days ago

The entire experience was great!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Must get the poutine!! Great service and ...

vip
Dined 6 days ago

Must get the poutine!! Great service and was wonderful to have my child there with no hassle!!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The food and the service were excellent. ...

Dined 6 days ago

The food and the service were excellent. We visit Monterey 3 to 4 times a year and first dined at Montrio three years ago. The food has gotten much better.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The festive yet relaxed atmosphere set t ...

Dined 6 days ago

The festive yet relaxed atmosphere set the tone for a memorable evening right at the beginning. Then the exceptional food (scallops, asparagus, crème brulee) and thoughtful service made it an extraordinary occasion.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Montrio is great for entertaining guests ...

Dined 6 days ago

Montrio is great for entertaining guests and for special occasions. We always leave feeling happy that we chose Montrio.

Tags: special occasion, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Always a good choice if you aren't tryin ...

Dined 6 days ago

Always a good choice if you aren't trying to go inexpensively. Only downside is the restaurant is very loud. Everything else is always consistently good.

food4
ambience4
service3
value4

Everything was great except the female s ...

Dined 6 days ago

Everything was great except the female server was much too friendly and attentive to my guy(date) and even touched his lower shoulder/chest. Kind of ruined the dinner for me. Professionally she should have been equally attentive and definetly not have touched the guest as they were not acquainted.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, hot spot
food5
ambience3
service3
value4

Overall was memorable, especially the wh ...

Dined on June 25, 2016

Overall was memorable, especially the white anchovies and Mussels in coconut curry were exceptional. The duck was done perfectly and braised rib was very good.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Excellent appetizers and loved the varie ...

vip
Dined on June 24, 2016

Excellent appetizers and loved the variety in the wine list.

Tags: fit for foodies
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Quality ingredients and delicious food. ...

Dined on June 24, 2016

Quality ingredients and delicious food. I was a little disappointed with the kobe burger. It didn't taste that good. The bacon wrapped prawns were amazing. The cauliflower and green bean sides were amazing. It was easy to stay dairy and gluten free here. We really appreciate that

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, notable wine list
food2
ambience3
service4

I was on Monterey on vacation. Based on ...

Dined on June 20, 2016

I was on Monterey on vacation. Based on the reviews, the family headed to Montrio for Father's Day dinner. The decor and the excellent services were as described in reviews, but little else lined up. We had a very mediocre dinner and one would even unimaginative and inspiring dinner, with the exception on the salads. Both the kale and the Cesar salads were yummy with a unique twist on flavor. With no guidance from our server outside of our beer order, the family ordered a Kobe burger and Capellini pasta for dinner. The richness of the Kobe beef was diluted by the cheese, bacon and onions. We have had better grass-fed and angus beef burgers; It was not worth the money. The pasta while cooked perfectly was just okay, nothing special. My recommendation is if you are looking for a spot to toast/feast a special occasion I would suggested another place to help your palate celebrate. PS: one possible reason for the mediocre dinner -Golden State Warriors just lost the championship 15 minutes before our dinner was made.😓

food3
ambience1
service3
value1

After booking for a late dinner (8:00pm) ...

vip
Dined on June 19, 2016

After booking for a late dinner (8:00pm), we were seated upstairs around several families with small children. There was no ambience...nothing like the downstairs atmosphere where we have dined before. Very disappointed in the food. It has been hit or miss when we have dined here in the past. Not on our favorites list. Next time will request downstairs dining, too.

food5
ambience5
service4
value4

ery creative pairing of entrées with sau ...

Dined on June 18, 2016

ery creative pairing of entrées with sauces and sides/perfect serving sizes. Exquisite desserts.

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

Great food- one of the best in Monterey. ...

Dined on June 17, 2016

Great food- one of the best in Monterey. Fantastic menu variety, the unique, mid- size portion plates gives you the option to sample many dishes. The only drawback to this restaurant is that the tables are very close together, typically for me to close- but the food overrides that concern. Servers are mature, and professional. Have been 3-4 times, and will go back.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Went twice food fantastic service excell ...

Dined on June 16, 2016

Went twice food fantastic service excellent, beautiful gluten free options including a chocolate dessert to die for!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

A strange menu. It does not seem to h ...

vip
Dined on June 16, 2016

A strange menu. It does not seem to have a cuisine. But in spite of the eclectic list of foods, the food is very good. Really enjoyable. I would return expecting good things.

Tags: fit for foodies
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Went there for 25th wedding anniversary. ...

Dined on June 16, 2016

Went there for 25th wedding anniversary. We had reservations and our table was reserved and decorated for the occasion. We will dine there again

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Expectations for a birthday celebration ...

vip
Dined on June 14, 2016

Expectations for a birthday celebration dinner were exceeded on all accounts. The small plates are great for sharing so order several. DO NOT miss the popcorn confit - very fun! Salumi board was really nicely done. I had a special fresh pea ravioli dish that was light and fresh . My husband enjoyed the duck. Great wine list. Service was friendly and professional and helpful. This was absolutely the best experience of our four day visit to Monterey. Highly recommend this place!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

I eat at Montrio almost every time I am ...

Dined on June 14, 2016

I eat at Montrio almost every time I am in Monterey so around 6 times a year. The service is always great, and I have never had a bad meal. I am crazy about their Bacon and Egg Salad!

Tags: fit for foodies, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Perfect for a low-key night out.

Dined on June 7, 2016

My boyfriend and I were in Monterey for a couple days and had Montrio recommended to us by a friend. It was exactly what we wanted: great food, fantastic service, and elegant atmosphere. We can't wait to go back.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food3
ambience5
service5

It is a cute and cozy place, but I was n ...

Dined on June 5, 2016

It is a cute and cozy place, but I was not impressed with the food. I thought my scallop was a bit tough and dry, the asparagus sounded better than it tasted as it was tough and chewy. The bacon was delicious in the BLT. I am a picky eater and prefer less fancy food. think a lot of people would enjoy the Montrio meals, but it was my friend's turn to choose and this was her choice. excellent service very attentive

food4
ambience4
service5
value4

good food and ambiance

Dined on June 1, 2016

Good food and ambiance - we found this by accident and thoroughly enjoyed the meal, particularly the house specialities

Tags: group bookings, lunch, neighbourhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great place to be!!!!!

Dined on May 30, 2016

There food is amazing you have to try the butchers butter!!!😋😋😋 and or pork belly dish.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Calimari appetizer was suggested by our ...

Dined on May 29, 2016

Calimari appetizer was suggested by our waitress and was excellent. We've been here several times and have always been pleased with our meals. Special cocktail menu are all good choices.

food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Pleasing in all ways

Dined on May 29, 2016

I am so glad that we sought out this great restaurant after reading the glowing reviews. The menu is interesting; the decor is pleasing and we had Scott as our waiter who was a gem. We had the BLT salad which was presented in a way that I have never seen before and was so good. We both had steaks which were huge and perfectly cooked. Actually we could have split the entree as neither of us eats much meat. All the other dishes that we could see looking enticing. A great place to return to.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, hot spot
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

We had a wonderful time. The drinks wer ...

Dined on May 28, 2016

We had a wonderful time. The drinks were unique and delicious. The meals were fabulous: lovely salmon, excellent lamb chop and delicious bacon chop. We had dessert and the passion fruit sorbet was so good!

Tags: special occasion
food1
ambience2
service4
value2

We were visiting from Toronto, Canada. ...

vip
Dined on May 26, 2016

We were visiting from Toronto, Canada. The food was very disappointing. My pasta was tasteless and my husbands duck came with charred vegetables that was too strong smelling to eat. The dessert we ordered was basically 2 slice of red velvet bread with cream cheese in the middle.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent service; food and presentation top notch

Dined on May 23, 2016

Comfortable relaxing environment; server was the best we have experienced anywhere for some time. Food and presentation were off the chart excellent. Will make this spot a regular every time we are in Monterrey. Great variety of value plates to select from.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great find in Monterey

Dined on May 23, 2016

Researched dining options in Monterey and located Montrio Bistro, which is housed in an old, renovated fire station. The decor is very nice and there is some separation between the bar area and the main dining seating areas. We were warmly greeted and enjoyed a cocktail in the bar before being seated for dinner. Our server and helpers were pleasant and attentive. The food was excellent; especially the salmon and the scallops! The wine selections were adequate. We would definitely recommend this restaurant and will eat here again on our next visit to the area.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The gang at Montrio went all out to make ...

Dined on May 21, 2016

The gang at Montrio went all out to make our anniversary a fun occasion. Food was so good we went back the next night!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

I went there for a romantic dinner with ...

Dined on May 20, 2016

I went there for a romantic dinner with hubby. Service was good, but food was somewhat dissapointing, particularly the white anchovy appetizer and the the lamb and mint dinner. The noise level was above what we expected.

food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Our waiter (Jose) was very good and know ...

Dined on May 20, 2016

Our waiter (Jose) was very good and knowledgeable about the food and the restaurant and provided very good service. The food seemed a little overpriced but was very good except the hamburger seemed a little salty. What we felt was thoughtful was that they provided a complimentary dessert that said "Happy Anniversary". My wife and I both enjoyed ourselves very much.

Tags: special occasion
food4
ambience5
service5

Lovely service and delicious food. Nice ...

Dined on May 19, 2016

Lovely service and delicious food. Nice for a night out for a special occasion. Comfortable chairs and beautiful decor and lighting. Get the NY Steak!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Dinner was very good. I had the Bacon Ch ...

Dined on May 19, 2016

Dinner was very good. I had the Bacon Chop and my wife had the Kobe Burger. Both cooked per our request. Our waitress was Donice and she gave us a couple suggestions and we picked 2. Service was fantastic and we will be back.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

This is our 4th time here in the last 15 ...

Dined on May 18, 2016

This is our 4th time here in the last 15 years. We are from out of town. The noise level is much reduced since our last time here in 2009. That said, it is still loud, but you can at least have a conversation, The food never disappoints, the desserts are good, and the bartender(s) are friendly and competent.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Super Scott

Dined on May 17, 2016

Food was very good, service was excellent. The only disappointment was very ordinary bread. For being a foodie sort of place, and wonderful bakeries abound there, the Wonder Bread type loaf was underwhelming. The only other thing I'd mention is that the wooden chair was less than cushy comfortable. My husband sat in the booth which was best since he is 6'7" and would have hated the chair.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great Meal and Fantastic Service

Dined on May 15, 2016

We were treated to this dinner reservation by our hotel across the street and we couldn't have been more impressed. The ambiance, the food and the Service...... Simply Amazing! If you get lucky enough to sit in Jose section then be prepared to take his advice on food and drinks. This server knows what he's talking about.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience4
service5

Great experience delicious food

Dined on May 14, 2016

Great experience delicious food

food4
ambience4
service2
value4

A great surprise!

vip
Dined on May 14, 2016

We were visiting the area due to a dear friend getting married the following day. We were looking to have a nice meal but we weren't "celebrating" anything and didn't want to spend a fortune. I found Montrio Bistro on OT and was very happy with my selection. They have small bites, medium plates and full entrees. I like this as it allows you to taste many dishes. I enjoyed the scallops, kale salad and sauteed mushrooms on polenta. All was delish! My daughter had the lamb chop and shared the very hearty calamari with her father. My husband enjoyed a kale salad and the Halibut fish special. It was all delightful, the dining room is fun and lively. The wine list exceptional - another surprise! The only negative was the server. She might have been having a bad day but she never smiled, never made any comments whatsoever about anything. The BIG faux pas for me is she never poured a glass of wine after opening it, and we had two bottles. Go anyway, enjoy and pour your own wine. it's worth the extra effort.

Tags: vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

We had such a wonderful dinner in March ...

Dined on May 14, 2016

We had such a wonderful dinner in March 2016 that we decided to return when we again visited the area. This visit was still good - food and ambiance were wonderful - but the server seemed very busy. It sometimes took more than one request to get something - more bread, etc. Other than that the visit was good and the server was friendly.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.