Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.07mi
  2. Distance: 0.07mi
  3. Distance: 0.09mi
  4. Distance: 0.10mi
  1. Distance: 0.07mi
  2. Distance: 0.07mi
  3. Distance: 0.09mi
  4. Distance: 0.10mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.07mi
  2. Distance: 0.07mi
  3. Distance: 0.09mi
  4. Distance: 0.10mi
  1. Distance: 0.07mi
  2. Distance: 0.07mi
  3. Distance: 0.09mi
  4. Distance: 0.10mi

About Montrio Bistro

Located in the heart of downtown Monterey, Montrio Bistro offers a comfortable yet classic dining experience, featuring fine European inspired-American cuisine. For the past 15 years, Chef Baker’s resolve to showcase sustainable seafood, fine quality meat, and Monterey County’s best produce in all of his dishes has made this renovated 1910 firehouse a local favorite.


We feature a variety of appetizers, award-winning small bites, enticing entrees, and indulgent seasonal desserts made by our in house pastry chef. Choose from GM Kathy Solley’s extensive wine list, or try one of our signature cocktails by Anthony Vitacca. Montrio’s sophisticated, yet comfortable atmosphere attracts locals and passerbys alike with our great Happy Hour, Dinner and a Movie, and Sunday's Half-Priced Wine Night. Come see what everyone is talking about!


414 Calle Principal
Monterey, CA 93940
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Californian, American

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Sunday thru Saturday 4:30 pm - 10:00 pm

Cross Street:
Franklin

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(831) 648-8880

Website:
http://www.montrio.com/

Parking Details:
We have street parking as well as multiple public lots just a short walk away.

Public Transit:
Monterey Airbus and local Bus Transit near Montrio Bistro

Executive Chef:
Chef Tony Baker

Private Party Facilities:
Montrio Bistro is committed to ensure that we exceed the expectations of every guest that comes through our doors. With over 20 years in the business and a great team of chefs and wait staff, you can be sure that Montrio Bistro is the right spot for your next event.

Private Party Contact:
Chelsea Roh: (877) 920-3609

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Cocktails, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Montrio Bistro Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.5

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

97% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (91)
Special Occasion (91)
Creative Cuisine (79)
See All
Fit for Foodies (79)
Good for Anniversaries (61)
Neighborhood Gem (53)
Handcrafted Cocktails (48)
Fun (46)
Notable Wine List (46)
Worth the Drive (44)
Local Ingredients (44)
Romantic (43)
Good for Birthdays (42)
Good for Groups (29)
Cozy (25)
Bar Seating (25)
Comfort Food (24)
Hot Spot (23)
Authentic (23)
Business Meals (21)
Healthy (20)
Casual (20)
People Watching (19)
Happy Hour (18)
Modern Decor (18)
Vibrant Bar Scene (17)
Pre/post Theatre (14)
Seasonal (12)
Good Vegetarian Options (11)
Great Beer (10)
Gluten Free Options (10)
Tasting Menu (10)
Late-night Find (9)
Tapas (9)
Quiet Conversation (9)
Kid-friendly (7)
Great for Outdoor Dining (7)
Historic (7)
Private Room (6)
Vegan (6)
Molecular Gastronomy (5)
Quick Bite (5)
Outstanding Value (5)
Open Kitchen (5)
Organic (4)
Great for Lunch (4)
Sunday Lunch (3)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Family Style (2)
Wood Oven (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
 (1)
 (1)
Spicy (1)
Sort By:
S
2094 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined 3 days ago

Original, one of a kind meals and deserts, tasty and very nicely presented. Excellent service.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Great Beer, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Central Coast)·Dined 5 days ago

Without a doubt, the best restaurant in the Monterey Bay Area, bar none!

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Comfort Food, Good for Birthdays, Great Beer, Pre/post Theatre, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails, Business Meals, Fun, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Seasonal, Good Vegetarian Options, Notable Wine List, Good for Groups, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Healthy, Good for Anniversaries, Hot Spot, Bar Seating, People Watching, Happy Hour, Spicy, Local Ingredients, Cozy, Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Organic, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined 7 days ago

Montrio Bistro is a great place to dine. The setting is great and the food is unique and tasty. The only issue is the noise level. It is definitely not a quiet restaurant.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 20, 2017

We are East Coast wine and foodies. This was an amazing restaurant with great food, service, and wine list!

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on June 20, 2017

Montrio bristo was my favorite restaurant in Monterey. The service was good, our server had a lot of knowledge and recommendations. The food was amazing and blew my expectations out the window. It was located in town in an old firehouse and it was decorated very lovely, but had no ocean view. I will take great food over a view any day, in my opinion.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Cozy, Comfort Food, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 19, 2017

king salmon for the both of us, very good.
Good wine list, 1/2 price on full bottles on Sunday. The tequila based manhattan was perfect

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on June 18, 2017

We ate here based on a recommendation for our anniversary, and were not disappointed! Our table was ready as soon as we arrived and was decorated with some cute little heart confetti. We had just been wine tasting the day before and had purchased a bottle of wine that we decided to bring with us to dinner. They corked it for us for a $25 fee and seemed happy to do so - the table next to us had also brought their own wine so it seems quite common. We didn't order any appetizers but I am vegan so I ordered a salad and the crispy artichoke hearts. Seriously the best artichoke hearts I've ever had! The entire dish was delicious with very fresh flavors. My husband ordered the short ribs, which were basically as tender as butter. He said it was an amazing dish and the best short ribs he's ever had. For dessert, we had the bread pudding, which again was just delicious. Our server was wonderful and overall we had a great dining experience.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 18, 2017

This place gets better every time! Wish we lived in the area we would make it our usual place. Anytime were in the area there's no question that this is where we go to eat.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Good for Birthdays, Local Ingredients, Handcrafted Cocktails, Seasonal, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 18, 2017

This has become my favorite Monterey restaurant. I love being able to order different portion sizes; small bites, medium plates, or full entrees. We started with the bacon and egg salad...my all time fave! Because of the salad, I knew that a full entree would be too much, so I went with the Butcher's Butter from the medium plates and my partner had the Lamb Tenderloins from the entree menu. Both were delicious and served just right. Love this place!

Dining Occasion:Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on June 17, 2017

Had a wonderful dinner with my girlfriend on her birthday. Loved that the staff went out of their way to decorate the table with "Happy Birthday" items and the complimentary Birthday cake at the end, with ice cream, was delicious. Our waiter, Jose, was very friendly and the food was very, very good. Would definitely come back here again.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on June 17, 2017

On holiday with our family. Most food was excellent, (fresh seafood pasta special for some, duck & salmon for others). Duck was not the best, but ok. Jose our waiter could not have been more friendly & efficient!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Fit for Foodies, Gluten Free Options, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on June 14, 2017

Average food at a higher than average price.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on June 14, 2017

They are very accommodating. They worked around my food allergies and food was delicious. Thank you

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Worth the Drive, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Late-night Find, Fit for Foodies, Healthy, Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Comfort Food, Romantic, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 12, 2017

Excellent food in a converted former firehouse with a fun vibe, friendly service and accommodating staff.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 12, 2017

Outstanding service and top notch food made for a very enjoyable evening!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on June 12, 2017

Recommended by Victoria the concierge at the Marriott. Walking distance. All around e cellence dining experience.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Handcrafted Cocktails, People Watching, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 10, 2017

Birthday dinner and food was amazing . Service was slow but overall it was a good meal

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on June 10, 2017

The barman at the Marriott hotel suggested this instead of where we were going to eat for dinner. He said locals loved it. We got there and got our seat and had a very good experience. Our waiter was very nice. Made great suggestions which we took and really enjoyed. He kept the table clean of dirty dishes And even wiped away all the crumbs. And the desserts he suggested were fabulous. Our meal was delicious. It was well worth the money. Our next trip to Monterey we'll make it a point to come to this restaurant again.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on June 9, 2017

This place was fabulous! Food excellent and service excellent!

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Authentic, Romantic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Seasonal, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Tucson)·Dined on June 8, 2017

The waiter was not attentive once we received our meal. The wine list is very expensive

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on June 6, 2017

We had a party of 18 all from southern CA up for a men's golf tournament. We had the private upstairs room was perfect. A varied menus and everyone's dinner was wonderful--dessert great and Andrew was the best.... We will be back when we are in Monterey again in December....

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Local Ingredients, Tapas, Great for Lunch, Casual, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 6, 2017

We were quite disappointed last night. My champagne was served flat. Our salad and entrées were served within 10 minutes of each other. I ordered a martini and it arrived cherry flavored. All these things we could have overlooked except our waitress was unfriendly and ignored us. I actually had to raise my voice to get her attention.
We will not come again.

Dining Occasion:Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service1
value3

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on June 5, 2017

Amazing food choices, unbelievable service, delicious food. We had a large group and everyone received personal attention.

Dining Occasion:Business Meal
Tags: Tasting Menu, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive, Authentic, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on June 4, 2017

This place is special. My wife and I stayed in Monterey, California for our one year anniversary. I looked on Open Table to find a restaurant that I felt we would enjoy. I saw that this restaurant had great reviews and decided to try it. From the moment we walked in it was amazing. It's a converted fire station and the improvements from the remodel made this place awesome. The staff were very friendly and the food was great. Overall we had a great experience.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Cozy, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on June 2, 2017

We had the crab cake and the scallop crudo appetizers. Very tasty. We also had the artichokes. Definitely wanted more as everything was so good. Nice wine selection. Excellent service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 2, 2017

Always enjoy our evenings at Montrio! The food is delicious, the ambience unique, and the service is good.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Tapas, Good for a Date, Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 31, 2017

Amazing experience, highly recommended

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on May 29, 2017

Fantastic food- something for everyone. Exceptionally creative, from the cocktails, to the small bites, to entrees to the desserts. Haven was an outstandingly engaging waiter. Entertaining with just the right amount of attentiveness. Knew the menu and drinks well enough that we were comfortable ordering. Absolutely delicious food. Very pricey, but well-worth the food AND the experience and I will definitely return.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Bar Seating, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on May 28, 2017

The downstairs dining room and bar were lively and noisy on a Saturday night! Upstairs was quiet with the emphasis more on the white tablecloth, fine dining aspect, which we preferred. Both our entrees [Short rib, New York steak] were delicious and the service was attentive without being intrusive. We especially liked the house-made ice cream selections for dessert. Approx $150 for two (without alcohol). Would definitely go back!

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Fit for Foodies, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on May 27, 2017

Hands down the best meal we've ever had. We ordered two small plates - risotto fritters and oatmeal crusted brie, one medium plate - salumi board, and two entrees - salmon and pea ravioli. WAY to much food for two people, but I'm not sure what we would have cut out.
The salmon was by far the best we'd ever had. HIGHLY RECOMMEND.
Drinks were delicious, service was impeccable and the restaurant has great ambiance. We'll definitely be back on our next trip to Monterey.

Tags: Romantic, Seasonal, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on May 27, 2017

Montrio Bistro is 2 blocks off the beaten path in Old Monterey. Definitely a gem in the neighborhood. Again, I was sent to food heaven with the appetizers; calamari, mushrooms, beef. Although the portions were healthy, we couldn't stop at the first level of Nirvana, so we were enraptured with the succulent flavors and tenderness of duck, short ribs and salmon. The presentation of the food was artistic. The featured house drinks come in a rainbow of colors and exotic flavors. A stand-alone vacation is what comes to mind. Staff was attentive and knowledgeable, but not over-bearing. No doggy bags went home with us! My must go to restaurant in Monterey.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Happy Hour, Healthy, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Fun, Tapas, Good for a Date, Casual, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on May 27, 2017

We got a recommendation to this restaurant from the Marriott and we are so happy we decided to try it out! The service was friendly, knowledgeable and efficient; the food was perfectly cooked and the wine very good and reasonably priced. We had tomato soup, calamari and short rib with bacon caramel ice cream- all were very good!!!

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on May 26, 2017

It was very good . All the dishes were amazing!

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on May 24, 2017

The food was delicious and service from Scott was the BEST!!!

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (London)·Dined on May 23, 2017

We split two appetizers and a main course, all were tastey, well prepared and well presented. There were several good choices in wine by the glass and beers. The only slight negative was that the level of noise made conversation a bit difficult.

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Notable Wine List, Great Beer, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on May 23, 2017

Great food. Quick and friendly service. Returned the following night.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Quiet Conversation, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on May 22, 2017

This is a very well designed and comfortable dining experience. The service is good and friendly but for a party of six it would have been better if all the plates were delivered together since the delay in some of the meals resulted in the first delivery cooling off. Generally the quality of the food was good but I was disappointed in the duck which was dry and lacked any flavor. The wine list is extensive but beware of the prices. Sundays they offer the wine at 1/2 price. But 1/2 price brings the wine down to what we are used to in our dining experience. With that in mind I would still recommend Montrio Bistro to a friend with the wine caveat.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Romantic, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on May 22, 2017

Went there for our 40th wedding anniversary. WOW! They took great care of us. Hostess sprinkled small hearts on our table before we were seated. Food was outstanding! For desert, we had Bread Pudding and it was served with a big Happy Anniversary message in choclate. Service was outstanding. Best dining experience that we have had in many years. I'm a BIG fan.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on May 22, 2017

Exceptional cuisine, beautifully presented and didn't disappoint. It was a b'day celebration with friends and they took great care of us. It was bit noisy but who noticed. Attentive service without overbearing. Great wall art and inviting ambiance. I've eaten here 5x over the past 6 months - that should tell you something!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients, Worth the Drive, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on May 21, 2017

We found ourselves unexpectedly needing to make an alternate dinner plan, and this restaurant was suggested to us. While it was clearly a busy night, we were able to arrange a reservation online and were seated immediately on arrival. The crush of business certainly made it a noisy atmosphere at first, but as our late supper progressed, the restaurant quieted down to where we could actually hear each other across the table. The meal was truly lovely, and I note it is an extremely ambitious menu with numerous selections appealing to a variety of tastes and levels of appetite. Our server was truly delightful: interested, helpful, and fun to chat with when he had a moment to spare. I can recommend a visit to Montrio Bistro and a place to explore your tastes and have a terrific night out.

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Fit for Foodies, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.