Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.07mi
  2. Distance: 0.07mi
  3. Distance: 0.09mi
  4. Distance: 0.10mi
  1. Distance: 0.07mi
  2. Distance: 0.07mi
  3. Distance: 0.09mi
  4. Distance: 0.10mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.07mi
  2. Distance: 0.07mi
  3. Distance: 0.09mi
  4. Distance: 0.10mi
  1. Distance: 0.07mi
  2. Distance: 0.07mi
  3. Distance: 0.09mi
  4. Distance: 0.10mi

About Montrio Bistro

Located in the heart of downtown Monterey, Montrio Bistro offers a comfortable yet classic dining experience, featuring fine European inspired-American cuisine. For the past 15 years, Chef Baker’s resolve to showcase sustainable seafood, fine quality meat, and Monterey County’s best produce in all of his dishes has made this renovated 1910 firehouse a local favorite.


We feature a variety of appetizers, award-winning small bites, enticing entrees, and indulgent seasonal desserts made by our in house pastry chef. Choose from GM Kathy Solley’s extensive wine list, or try one of our signature cocktails by Anthony Vitacca. Montrio’s sophisticated, yet comfortable atmosphere attracts locals and passerbys alike with our great Happy Hour, Dinner and a Movie, and Sunday's Half-Priced Wine Night. Come see what everyone is talking about!


414 Calle Principal
Monterey, CA 93940
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Californian, American

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Sunday thru Saturday 4:30 pm - 10:00 pm

Cross Street:
Franklin

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(831) 648-8880

Website:
http://www.montrio.com/

Parking Details:
We have street parking as well as multiple public lots just a short walk away.

Public Transit:
Monterey Airbus and local Bus Transit near Montrio Bistro

Executive Chef:
Chef Tony Baker

Private Party Facilities:
Montrio Bistro is committed to ensure that we exceed the expectations of every guest that comes through our doors. With over 20 years in the business and a great team of chefs and wait staff, you can be sure that Montrio Bistro is the right spot for your next event.

Private Party Contact:
Chelsea Roh: (877) 920-3609

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Cocktails, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Montrio Bistro Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.6

ambience

4.4

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (81)
Creative Cuisine (77)
Special Occasion (77)
See All
Fit for Foodies (74)
Good for Anniversaries (66)
Romantic (61)
Notable Wine List (51)
Good for Birthdays (49)
Worth the Drive (47)
Handcrafted Cocktails (46)
Neighborhood Gem (46)
Local Ingredients (45)
Fun (44)
Modern Decor (35)
Bar Seating (31)
Cozy (30)
Comfort Food (30)
Happy Hour (25)
Business Meals (23)
Good for Groups (23)
Pre/post Theatre (23)
Hot Spot (23)
Casual (22)
Historic (21)
Healthy (20)
Authentic (19)
Vibrant Bar Scene (16)
People Watching (16)
Tasting Menu (13)
Good Vegetarian Options (12)
Seasonal (10)
Outstanding Value (10)
Tapas (10)
Organic (9)
Private Room (8)
Gluten Free Options (7)
Quiet Conversation (7)
Quick Bite (6)
Great for Lunch (6)
Late-night Find (6)
Great Beer (6)
Family Style (6)
Molecular Gastronomy (6)
Open Kitchen (5)
Sunday Lunch (5)
Great for Outdoor Dining (5)
Disabled Access (5)
Kid-friendly (5)
Paleo Friendly (4)
Wood Oven (4)
Vegan (3)
Great for Brunch (1)
Fireplace (1)
Sort By:
S
2026 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 2 days ago

Always a fun place. Food is very good. Service can be a bit slow, but not bad.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 5 days ago

Montrio Bistro is fun, hip, and tasty! Diners ranged in age from 16-60+ . Our party of four shared and enjoyed some medium plates and main courses. Every dish was tasty and we highly recommend the bistro! Service was outstanding.

Tags: Good for a Date, Organic, Local Ingredients, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 5 days ago

Consistently, well-prepared dishes. I ordered the mussel appetizer and duck breast entree. Never disappointed! Acoustics are pretty good for conversations, but, for a quieter atmosphere, opt for a table upstairs. The wait staff has always been friendly.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined 5 days ago

Bartender is par excellence, the best mixologist around! Food is clean, very tasty. The service is great, very friendly. Our go to place!

Tags: Healthy, Fit for Foodies, Happy Hour, Molecular Gastronomy, Late-night Find, Creative Cuisine, Great Beer, Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Handcrafted Cocktails, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined 5 days ago

Great Little touch having birthday wishes on the table and a nice birthday dessert . food was exceptionally wonderful

Tags: Modern Decor, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Happy Hour, Local Ingredients, Quick Bite, Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined 6 days ago

Food was amazing, and the service even more so. This was definitely one of my top dining experiences.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined 6 days ago

My husband and I found Montrio Bistro on trip advisor as we rolled into town. We were not disappointed!! The menu has many creative and delicious options, so we ended up ordering a few small and medium plates to share. We had such a great time, choosing our favorites and discussing the menu with the couple next to us, who were frequent diners. Montrio Bistro was delicious, we will be back soon!

Tags: Tasting Menu, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Hot Spot, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (New England)·Dined on April 21, 2017

Food mediocre Very fried tapas dishes Main courses had too much crap thrown on it for taste

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value2

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on April 21, 2017

Great service,friendly atmosphere and the food was prepared with care and tastefulness.

Tags: Organic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Fun, Family Style, Good for Birthdays, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on April 20, 2017

The go-to dishes of beef shortribs and coconut-curry mussels and bread pudding are always great

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 17, 2017

I've eaten here several times in the past and always had a good meal. Date night with the SO Easter night. 1/2 price bottles of wine on Sunday night is a good bargain. I love the Bacon Chop but it was no longer on the menu. Wanted to try the Kobe Burger but they were out of it at 7:15 pm. I had the BLT salad and beef short rib risotto. Both were excellent. The tomatoes on the salad were a little soft, but as tomatoe season is almost upon us this salad will be excellent throughout the summer will locally sourced produce.

My partner had the swordfish that was a special and raved about it. All plates were cleaned. We both had a small bite dessert. Mine was the carrot cake with coconut ice cream, here was caramelized bacon ice cream. Mine was better. Service was amazing as usual. The tables are very tight in this restaurant and the noise level can get up there although they've taken measures to minimize that (clouds on the ceiling).

Still one of my favorite restaurants in Monterey. I've never had a bad meal or bad service at Montrio.

Tags: Private Room, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on April 15, 2017

Food was delicious and top quality. Service was very high quality when present, but not as frequent checking in as I would have liked.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on April 15, 2017

The food was phenomenal only surpassed by the wait staff. I wish I remembered her name but she was excellent and spot- on with recommendations to enhance the experience. The garlic mushroom with polenta appetizer was the perfect start to the meal not to be outdone by the meringue and blueberry dessert (which could only be made better if fresh blueberries were used.) As Gordon Ramsey would say, "Wow, wow, wow!"

Tags: Open Kitchen, Business Meals, Happy Hour, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 14, 2017

Love the food and the service. Sitting at bar at beginning was lovely also

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Happy Hour, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene, Romantic, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Richmond)·Dined on April 13, 2017

Too noisy & overhyped desserts are certainly not worth it. Salmon was good but I've had better in AK.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 12, 2017

My wife and I were visiting Monterey for the night and thoroughly enjoyed our dinner. I had the short ribs and he had the duck, which was some of the best cooked duck we've had. The cocktails were fantastic as well. I would definitely recommend a visit.

Tags: Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Good for Groups, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Private Room, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on April 11, 2017

Jose was excellent, he had excellent recommendations for sea scallops on quinoa, kale salad, and the duck. Best duck dish I have ever had!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 10, 2017

I discovered Montrio Bistro 5 years ago from the Monterey coastal ride. The warm bread, oatmeal coated brie and bread pudding are what keep me coming back years after years. Their other dishes are creative and reasonably priced too.

Tags: Late-night Find, Romantic, Business Meals, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on April 10, 2017

Food is always great. Our server was outstanding. Surprised that it was 50% off all wines which made us try something we normally wouldn't. We go here every time we come to Monterey

Tags: Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 10, 2017

Great food and excellent service. They have dishes that are small, medium and full size entree dishes, so you can choose some small dishes to share or a combination of sizes. All our dishes were excellent except for the small plate shrimp, which was only two shrimp and mediocre. But the other four dishes we ordered were all excellent. Prices are reasonable.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 9, 2017

Great place for a date night and delicious food. Truly enjoyed the service and atmosphere.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on April 9, 2017

My son and I dined at Montrio. The service was excellent- attentive, knowledgeable, and friendly. The food was very good, especially the white sardines on homemade chips and the pavlova for dessert. Nice selection of wine too.

Tags: Special Occasion, Healthy, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on April 9, 2017

Being locals, I couldn't believe that we hadn't been there before and that is the main reason I chose this restaurant to celebrate our 11th year wedding anniversary. The menu has plenty of options without being lengthy and the wine list (even though we din't have any) is very impressive. All the staff we came in contact with were very nice and attentive. I also appreciate the fact that they have an option for guests to buy the kitchen staff a six pack of beer to enjoy after their shift. This is a clever idea and lots of fun. We will definitely consider Montrio
Bistro for our next special occasion.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Notable Wine List, Cozy, Casual, Local Ingredients, Happy Hour, Historic, Modern Decor, Neighborhood Gem, Fun, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 4, 2017

We were seated 15 min late and then forgotten...off to a bad start. The owner I believe came over and looked into our plight. I did not go find her. She was paying attention. The server apologized and took the blame. I liked the way it was handled. After that we had a good meal. Not a great meal but we are used to great food. It was very good. Salmon was a little overcooked for me but not dry and the risotto needed salt. Loved the brussel sprout leaves. My wife had a burger. A great burger doesn't need bacon and ham. This had both. She did not ask for that. It just came that way.

Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on April 3, 2017

The food is creative and so tasty. The same goes for the drinks, inventive and quite delicious

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Modern Decor, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on April 2, 2017

Amazing! Anthony the bartender is a gem.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on April 2, 2017

Came here to celebrate with my husband and was really looking forward to a great meal. Unfortunately it was far from that. My husband ordered steak and I had the salmon. The salmon was fresh and hot but on a bed of badly seasoned, undercooked and lukewarm risotto. The steak was a fatty cut that could barely be cut by the steak knife provided. According to the restaurant it was dry aged. We sent our entrees back got the check and left.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service4
value1

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 2, 2017

Food excellent, noise a bit much - loved our waiters . Very crowded. Excellent wine/drinks menu.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 31, 2017

Montrio Bistro has long been a favorite of both my husband and myself. We have spent our anniversaries, birthdays and just nice evenings there. We do not live in Monterey, but whenever we are in town we make a point of going for dinner. This time I took friends from Great Britain and once again the food was imaginative and delicious. It is one of our favorite restaurants. My only complaint, on this visit, was our waitress was less than adequate. However, this has never before been the case on other visits. I highly recommend Montrio Bistro for a fabulous dining experience!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Happy Hour, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 30, 2017

My husband and I really enjoyed our dinner. The food, the service, the team were all
excellent. No complaints.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on March 29, 2017

Wait staff was outstanding. Dungeness Crab appetizer was superior with spicy dressing and pickled (?) radishes--very unique! Restaurant is in an old fire house. Will go there next time we're in town.

Tags: Historic, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 27, 2017

Came here for my birthday and was very pleased with the food and cocktails. The portions were very generous, and the selections were unique and delicious. Attentive and friendly service.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Authentic, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Comfort Food, Handcrafted Cocktails, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 27, 2017

Just a wonderful place for dinner. Wonderfully eclectic selection of entrees, and a curious collection of specialty drinks. We will definitely be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on March 26, 2017

Creative cocktail and food menu with excellent choices. I am vegetarian and the options were great for myself and my meat eating compatriot. In fact, their meat portions were HUGE! The cocktail menu truly is a MUST (if you are into that sort of thing) and this would be a cool place even for just an appetizer (the crispy artichoke was to DIE for) or dessert (we had 2!) and some cocktails if you don't want to splurge on a full meal. The wine menu is thoughtful and well appointed as well.

Tags: Romantic, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on March 26, 2017

If your name is Dianna Fineswine, stay far, far away from Montrio Bistro as you would become the primary dinner guest! Usually a breakfast food, bacon appears several places on the current menu, including as a 48-hour slow-cooked appetizer or small plate, accopanied by an interesting salad, not to mention in the ice cream inside the profiterole, which came decorated with a small slice of bacon. I do like their concept of some small deserts, an idea more restaurants should cop.

The carrot slaw accompanying the bacon-wrapped shrimp was VERY vinegary, but helped cut the bacon taste of the two pieces of this appetizer.

My wife did like her crispy crabcake, the sort of small plate she enjoys. The curry-tinged broth for my steamed mussels was tasty, but I think the actual mssels themselves were a bit past their prime, not sure their xource, many come from New Zealand, others from Prince Edward Island.

If you like to make meaningful conversation over dinner, upstairs beats the noisy downstairs for sure; it often is available on weekends. Overall, Montrio Bistro clearly is worth trying. The location is convenient, and overall, I judge prices as moderate.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 26, 2017

We had the duck and short ribs and both were very tasty. Our waiter was wonderfully attentive. Will be back!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Fun, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on March 26, 2017

Amazing. This place is a must go.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on March 26, 2017

We've enjoyed Montrio Bistro on several occasions and it never disappoints. The menu is varied and creative and you can choose from the small bites, appetizers or mains. I've found if I have a smaller appetite, combining the small bites and an appetizer is just right. Sunday night half price wine bottles is a real deal. The mixed drinks are creative and the wine list is broad and matches great with the menu choices. I highly recommend Montrio Bistro for any occasion for great service and food.

Tags: Outstanding Value, Good for a Date, Comfort Food, Local Ingredients, Sunday Lunch, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Casual, Historic, Modern Decor, Special Occasion, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on March 26, 2017

The food was great as was the service. I had not been there for several months. Maybe a couple of years but the appetizers, drinks, main course...everything was excellent.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Atlantic Canada)·Dined on March 24, 2017

Nice atmosphere. Had to wait 14 min before acknowledged by waiter. He was ultimately nice. Food ok

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.