HelpiOS AppAndroid AppWindows Phone AppWindows 8 App

Make a reservation

Party Size
For 2
Date
Today
Time
7:00 PM
icon/ic_social_proofCreated with Sketch.
Booked 39 times today

Montrio Bistro

4.6
2410 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
$31 to $50
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Californian
Top Tags:
  • Good for a Date
  • Special Occasion
  • Creative Cuisine
Located in the heart of downtown Monterey, Montrio Bistro offers a comfortable yet classic dining experience, featuring fine European inspired-American cuisine. For the past 15 years, Chef Baker’s resolve to showcase sustainable seafood, fine quality meat, and Monterey County’s best produce in all of his dishes has made this renovated 1910 firehouse a local favorite.


We feature a variety of appetizers, award-winning small bites, enticing entrees, and indulgent seasonal desserts made by our in house pastry chef. Choose from GM Kathy Solley’s extensive wine list, or try one of our signature cocktails by Anthony Vitacca. Montrio’s sophisticated, yet comfortable atmosphere attracts locals and passerbys alike with our great Happy Hour, Dinner and a Movie, and Sunday's Half-Priced Wine Night. Come see what everyone is talking about!


Dining Style
Casual Elegant
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Cuisines
Californian, American
icon/ic_clockCreated with Sketch.
Hours of operation
Dinner: Sunday thru Saturday 4:30 pm - 10:00 pm
icon/ic_phoneCreated with Sketch.
Phone number
(831) 648-8880
icon/ic_new_windowCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_paymentCreated with Sketch.
Payment options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa
icon/ic_dress_codeCreated with Sketch.
Dress code
Business Casual
icon/ic_chefCreated with Sketch.
Executive chef
Chef Tony Baker
icon/ic_private_diningCreated with Sketch.
Private party facilities
Montrio Bistro is committed to ensure that we exceed the expectations of every guest that comes through our doors. With over 20 years in the business and a great team of chefs and wait staff, you can be sure that Montrio Bistro is the right spot for your next event.
icon/ic_contactCreated with Sketch.
Private party contact
Ella Hrusa: (877) 920-3609
icon/ic_locationCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_neighborhoodCreated with Sketch.
Neighborhood
icon/ic_cross_streetCreated with Sketch.
Cross street
Franklin
icon/ic_parking_detailsCreated with Sketch.
Parking details
Valet parking is available Friday and Saturday from 5:30 to 10:30
National Parking Service for a $10 fee

We do have street parking as well as multiple public lots just a short walk away.
icon/ic_public_transitCreated with Sketch.
Public transit
Monterey Airbus and local Bus Transit near Montrio Bistro
Additional
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Cocktails, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine
What 2410 People Are Saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
4.6  based on recent ratings
4.6
food
4.6
service
4.6
ambience
4.3
value
Noise · Moderate
95% of people would recommend it to a friend
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
Sort by
Newest
Filters
OpenTable Diner (Detroit)
5.0  Dined 3 days ago

Everything was great! Highly recommend

Report
Helpful
PhilipP 
4.0  Dined 4 days ago

Was in Monterey for the holiday weekend and looking for a nice dinner.

The good:
48 hour bacon - Must try.
Chocolate crunch with coconut ice cream.

Needs improvement:
8 pm reservations, but still waited 20 minutes to be seated.
Wine recommendation was a miss. Local winery Santa Cruz/Monterey. Maybe we're spoiled being from SF and Napa.
Reviews raved about the braised short rib. Thought it was just okay. The brickyard chicken was better.

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (San Francisco)
5.0  Dined 4 days ago

Montrio is one of our favorite restaurants. We go there every time we are in Monterey. Food is great.

Report
Helpful
EdenO 
4.0  Dined 4 days ago

The food here was SO GOOD - there were not a lot choices on the menu for vegetarians or pescatarians but I had the salmon & my husband scallops and they were both fantastic! The Brie appetizer was also amazing- it was our anniversary & I would definitely want to go again! I wasn't crazy about the decor- there were some changes I'd make but the food is totally worth the weird iron sculptures & the unattractive lampshades. Half price bottles of wine on Sunday is also a nice perk. Service wasn't great but wasn't bad either, it was busy!

Report
Helpful
Chiwest (San Francisco)
5.0  Dined 5 days ago

Wonderful Monterey restaurant that never disappoints. Creative, delicious dishes served by highly professional staff.

Report
Helpful
PeterS 
5.0  Dined 5 days ago

Fantastic service, despite being late for our reservation; they sat us and hurriedly cooked and served our meal in the small timeframe that was our fault. The ambiance was cheque and cultured, with wonderful artwork and great music everywhere. I particularly liked the metal bird statue they hand on the stairway up to the second level dining area. All in all, a great local spot in Monterey!

Report
Helpful
vipOpenTable Diner (San Francisco)
5.0  Dined 6 days ago

Fantastic gourmet cuisine in a lively upscale atmosphere. Very friendly and attentive wait staff. Monterey/Carmel area is filled with excellent restaurants, but Montrio stands out as one of the best. The beef short ribs were incredibly tender and flavorful.

Report
Helpful
DianaL (San Diego)
5.0  Dined 7 days ago

Great food and service!

Report
Helpful
DykeA (Central Coast)
4.0  Dined on February 15, 2018

The salad and entrees were brilliant. We especially liked the bread pudding dessert which was real treat. However, the bread was like warm, stale wonder bread — awful.

Report
Helpful
vipOpenTable Diner (Los Angeles)
3.0  Dined on February 15, 2018

Packed stressfully close and noisy enough that it is easier to hear the speech of the person at the next table than your own. Menu with its own twists and turns and lots of surprises, if that is what you are looking for in a meal.

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (Las Vegas)
5.0  Dined on February 14, 2018

Food is outstanding.

Report
Helpful
RichardL (Central Coast)
5.0  Dined on February 14, 2018

Had a great valentines dinner from this place and will definitely do it again. Every thing was great from the service to the food!

Report
Helpful
Stiopa (Chicago)
4.0  Dined on February 14, 2018

The food, as always, was very well prepared, fresh, and well seasoned.

Report
Helpful
RDBD (San Francisco)
3.0  Dined on February 14, 2018

We love the ambiance of Montrio, warm and inviting and not too noisy. Great service by very professional server who didn't push us to order, and since it was Valentine's Day, didn't try to hurry us out at the end of the dinner. Great cocktail selections. Only downer was the dinner itself which wasn't really great. Pumpkin ravioli had too much "pumpkin pie spice" in it making it taste like pumpkin pie, and it was served with roasted apples, which were good on their own but added too much sweetness to the already sweet pumpkin --- suggest chef use
mushrooms or something umame instead. Also the crab cake and salmon were good but way too much butter/oil.

Report
Helpful
Lucy (San Francisco)
5.0  Dined on February 14, 2018

I have seen this Resturant for years but went in for happy hour because a relative moved in the area. I brought my husband back and we have been enjoying dining there. What is so funny is the fact that I eat at their sister Resturant Tarpy's Roadhouse a least 40 0r more times a year and I been doing it for at least 10 years.

Report
Helpful
1
2
3
161