About Montrio Bistro

Located in the heart of downtown Monterey, Montrio Bistro offers a comfortable yet classic dining experience, featuring fine European inspired-American cuisine. For the past 15 years, Chef Baker’s resolve to showcase sustainable seafood, fine quality meat, and Monterey County’s best produce in all of his dishes has made this renovated 1910 firehouse a local favorite.


We feature a variety of appetizers, award-winning small bites, enticing entrees, and indulgent seasonal desserts made by our in house pastry chef. Choose from GM Kathy Solley’s extensive wine list, or try one of our signature cocktails by Anthony Vitacca. Montrio’s sophisticated, yet comfortable atmosphere attracts locals and passerbys alike with our great Happy Hour, Dinner and a Movie, and Sunday's Half-Priced Wine Night. Come see what everyone is talking about!


414 Calle Principal
Monterey, CA 93940
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Californian, American

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Sunday thru Saturday 4:30 pm - 10:00 pm

Cross Street:
Franklin

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(831) 648-8880

Website:
http://www.montrio.com/

Parking Details:
We have street parking as well as multiple public lots just a short walk away.

Public Transit:
Monterey Airbus and local Bus Transit near Montrio Bistro

Executive Chef:
Chef Tony Baker

Private Party Facilities:
Montrio Bistro is committed to ensure that we exceed the expectations of every guest that comes through our doors. With over 20 years in the business and a great team of chefs and wait staff, you can be sure that Montrio Bistro is the right spot for your next event.

Private Party Contact:
Chelsea Roh: 8779203609

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Cocktails, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Report a photo problem

Dry Aged New York Steak - Montrio Bistro, Monterey, CA
Bread Pudding - Montrio Bistro, Monterey, CA
Szechuan Duck Popcorn - Montrio Bistro, Monterey, CA
Gem Lettuce Caesar - Montrio Bistro, Monterey, CA
Duck Breast - Montrio Bistro, Monterey, CA
Caramel Apple Cheesecake - Montrio Bistro, Monterey, CA
Beef Shortribs - Montrio Bistro, Monterey, CA
Crab Cakes With Pickled Radish - Montrio Bistro, Monterey, CA
Risotto With Short Rib And Brie - Montrio Bistro, Monterey, CA
Macaroni and Cheese - Montrio Bistro, Monterey, CA
Risotto - Montrio Bistro, Monterey, CA
Dungeness Crab Cakes - Montrio Bistro, Monterey, CA
Butchers Butter - Montrio Bistro, Monterey, CA
Verlasso Salmon - Montrio Bistro, Monterey, CA
Mac N' Cheese - Montrio Bistro, Monterey, CA
Saving Private Ryan Cocktail - Montrio Bistro, Monterey, CA
Uncommon Dark & Stormy Cocktail - Montrio Bistro, Monterey, CA
The Possessor Red Wine From Tooth & Nail - Montrio Bistro, Monterey, CA
X X X Float - Montrio Bistro, Monterey, CA
Smoked Bacon Wrapped Shrimp - Montrio Bistro, Monterey, CA
Chicken Waffle - Montrio Bistro, Monterey, CA
Butternut Squash & Burrata - Montrio Bistro, Monterey, CA
Grilled Verlasso Salmon - Montrio Bistro, Monterey, CA
Short Rib Risotto - Montrio Bistro, Monterey, CA
Bread pudding dessert - Montrio Bistro, Monterey, CA
Mac & cheese with leeks - Montrio Bistro, Monterey, CA
Truffle Tater Tots - Montrio Bistro, Monterey, CA
Mussels in Coconut Lemongrass Broth - Montrio Bistro, Monterey, CA
Louie Salad With Fried Crab Cake - Montrio Bistro, Monterey, CA
Chef's Special: Rare Ny Steak Over Risotto And Chanterelles - Montrio Bistro, Monterey, CA
Artichoke Risotto Bites - Montrio Bistro, Monterey, CA
Lobster Mac 'N Cheese - Montrio Bistro, Monterey, CA
Swordfish And Risotto Special - Montrio Bistro, Monterey, CA
Beta Vulgaris - Montrio Bistro, Monterey, CA
Artichoke Ravioli - Montrio Bistro, Monterey, CA
Parmsean Truffel Tatter Tots  - Montrio Bistro, Monterey, CA
Reconing  - Montrio Bistro, Monterey, CA
The Reckoning - Montrio Bistro, Monterey, CA
Coconut Sorbet - Montrio Bistro, Monterey, CA
Florida Prawms - Montrio Bistro, Monterey, CA
Creme Brulee - Montrio Bistro, Monterey, CA
Peach Mojito With Fresh Mint Popsicle - Montrio Bistro, Monterey, CA
Warm White Chocolate Brioche Bread Pudding With Passion Fruit Ice Cream - Montrio Bistro, Monterey, CA
Roasted Halibut With Risotto - Montrio Bistro, Monterey, CA
Crispy Calamari And Squash W/ Herb Aioli - Montrio Bistro, Monterey, CA
Pork Platter - Montrio Bistro, Monterey, CA
Braised Short Ribs - Montrio Bistro, Monterey, CA
Potted Pork Rillette,Bread & Butter Pickles, Morello Cherry  - Montrio Bistro, Monterey, CA
Mushroom And Cheese Crepe - Montrio Bistro, Monterey, CA
Roasted Duck Breast - Montrio Bistro, Monterey, CA
Seared Scallops - Montrio Bistro, Monterey, CA
Anchovies - Montrio Bistro, Monterey, CA
Salmon - Montrio Bistro, Monterey, CA
Sazerac - Montrio Bistro, Monterey, CA
Bacon And Egg Salad - Montrio Bistro, Monterey, CA
Mussels - Montrio Bistro, Monterey, CA

Montrio Bistro Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.5

ambience

4.5

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (74)
Fit for Foodies (66)
Special Occasion (63)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (58)
Creative Cuisine (56)
Good for Birthdays (45)
Romantic (40)
Notable Wine List (39)
Local Ingredients (37)
Worth the Drive (35)
Modern Decor (31)
Handcrafted Cocktails (29)
Hot Spot (24)
Neighborhood Gem (24)
Cozy (23)
Casual (21)
Fun (19)
Good for Groups (18)
Bar Seating (18)
Comfort Food (17)
Pre/post Theatre (17)
Historic (16)
Business Meals (15)
Happy Hour (14)
Tapas (13)
Vibrant Bar Scene (12)
Healthy (12)
Private Room (10)
People Watching (8)
Authentic (8)
Good Vegetarian Options (8)
Quiet Conversation (6)
Tasting Menu (6)
Organic (6)
Quick Bite (5)
Gluten Free Options (5)
Seasonal (4)
Open Kitchen (4)
Outstanding Value (4)
Molecular Gastronomy (4)
Great Beer (4)
Late-night Find (3)
Great for Lunch (3)
Great for Outdoor Dining (3)
Kid-friendly (3)
Disabled Access (3)
Scenic View (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Family Style (2)
Wood Oven (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Waterfront (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Sort By:
S
1895 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

We were given gift cards for this restau ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 2 days ago

We were given gift cards for this restaurant and were very pleased with the dinner. All our meals were incredibly delicious. Very fresh and flavorful, and beautifully presented.

Crayons were given to my grandson to draw on the paper table cover (his first time to hold a crayon), but my sons did most of the drawing.

It was a pretty noisy environment, but that just made us feel more comfortable with the 11-month-old. He was a little fussy for only a short time before he fell asleep, but we didn't have to worry about him bothering others.

I can't say enough positive things about the taste of the food. Mmmmm!

Tags: Healthy, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

The peach mojito is amazing! The food is ...

vip
 (San Joaquin)·Dined 2 days ago

The peach mojito is amazing! The food is also excellent. All of the staff we encountered was friendly and helpful. Enjoyed the entire dinning experience. Thank you!

Tags: Comfort Food, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Disappointed this time with a place that ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 3 days ago

Disappointed this time with a place that has been a favorite over the years. Seems like the dishes were oriented to being "over the top" to the point that the main ingredient was often overshadowed or overpowered by other elements: salmon was so overpowered by chili flakes in the risotto to the point that I could not enjoy the salmon as the main ingredient. Similarly, the artichoke appetizer was overshadowed by the tapenade as well as being a bit undercooked so that the whole artichoke could not be enjoyed - only the inner part was tender. The tapenade would have been spectacular on slightly toasted house made bread as an appetizer on its own, but as the foil for the artichoke, it took over when I was looking forward to enjoying the artichoke for its own delicate and sweet flavor when grilled and caramelized to tenderness. The balance between the main ingredient and the accompaniments was way off. Instead of the accompaniments helping to highlight and enrich the main ingredient, the main ingredient was lost in a cacophony of too much assault on my taste buds.

The sleeper and only saving point of dinner was the almond pear cake, which was outstanding. Excellent balance of flavors and textures - highlighting the delicate pear slices with the richness of the almond cake. Lovely crust and crunchiness of the outside of the cake contrasted nicely with the tender, buttery crumb of the inner cake, highlighted by the delicate syrup redolent of pear and honey. The toasted slivered almonds and the thinly sliced poached pear accented the cake and all of it was harmonious and delicious! If only the appetizer and entree were at that same standard I would have been in heaven.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

Charming restaurant with an Innovative m ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 8, 2017

Charming restaurant with an Innovative menu. We recently had the opportunity to try this restaurant and even though the rain was really coming down, that did not seem to keep people from coming in. We were first time visitors here and enjoyed it so much we feel that the 1+ hour drive would be worth it to come back. We started with the Smoked-Bacon Shrimp and Butchers Butter (which are similar to steak bites). The shrimp were cooked well and that smokey bacon was perfect. The steak was tender and flavorful and the accompaniments were perfect (salty, tangy, crunchy). I went for the Scallops served with quinoa (this is on their medium plate section of the menu) 2 perfectly cooked scallops with some of the most delicious quinoa (toasted, sweet, creamy). My husband had the Bacon chop. What is a bacon chop you might ask, well its porky goodness. Its a combination of pork belly and chop. It had the flavor of the best slice of ham you ever had and then some. The sweet glaze on the chop was such a great combination with the smoky pork and the crispy mac and cheese wow. We also had bread pudding and creme brulee for dessert. All their desserts are made in house and we highly recommend saving room. Even if you only have a few bites so worth it.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Vibrant Bar Scene, Special Occasion, Healthy, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Went here from a recommendation from a f ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 8, 2017

Went here from a recommendation from a friend. My wife and I were not disappointed. Great staff and superb food. Will definitely go back again when we are in town.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Vibrant Bar Scene, Cozy, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Modern Decor, Special Occasion, Casual, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent meals - Duck was prepared perf ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 8, 2017

Excellent meals - Duck was prepared perfectly and Lamb Tenderloins were tasty. Excellent service and attention to details for special occasions. Highly recommend!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Hot Spot, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Always outstanding, food, wine, and the ...

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on January 8, 2017

Always outstanding, food, wine, and the service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

As soon as we walked in we were greeted ...

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on January 7, 2017

As soon as we walked in we were greeted by a very up beat hostess who said "Happy Birthday" to me, then took us right to our great table for 2. The waiter was great also, he took our drink order and brought them right away. Then another great person came along and gave us each a glass of free sparkling beverage that was wonderful. The food was the best, the service was the best, it was all around a wonderful night! Thanks Montrio Bistro!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful meal, service and ambiance. W ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 6, 2017

Wonderful meal, service and ambiance. Wines a bit pricey, but good selection.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Disabled Access, Good for Birthdays, Local Ingredients, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We were in Monterey for several days. H ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 6, 2017

We were in Monterey for several days. Have bee there before. Very unique, some different foods & presentation. Servers very good, great wine selection.

Overall, nice experience.

Tags: Good for a Date, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Montrio Bistro is one of my favorite res ...

vip
 (Central Coast)·Dined on January 6, 2017

Montrio Bistro is one of my favorite restaurants on the peninsula. They have delicious cocktails and a great wine list. The food is always tasty, and there is something for everyone on the menu. The short ribs and the pork chop are yummy, and one of our guests had the ravioli which he said was to die for. Dessert is the best part of the meal, and Montrio offers small bite desserts, which are perfect if you just want a bite or two of something sweet.

Tags: Fun, Happy Hour, Historic, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

The king Salmon was delicious. The risot ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 6, 2017

The king Salmon was delicious. The risotto that accompanied it wAs cooked perfectly creamy yet al dente at the same time. The server was friendly and efficient. Yet not intrusive. On the whole Montrio is a friendly place to enjoy good times with nice abience, great service and excellent cuisine.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Modern Decor, Quick Bite, Happy Hour, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Cozy, People Watching, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The food was excellent and the service w ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 4, 2017

The food was excellent and the service was good, too. The wine list was extensive. We would come back.

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Have been to Montrio many times and it r ...

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on January 4, 2017

Have been to Montrio many times and it rarely disappoints.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Everything was excellent -- pasta and st ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 3, 2017

Everything was excellent -- pasta and steak entrees, mushroom starter and ice cream for dessert (buttered popcorn was one of the flavors.

Servers were very conversational yet efficient. The answers to our questions were very helpful.

Great place to celebrate a special occasion.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Went for NYE. Excellent food and service ...

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Went for NYE. Excellent food and service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food and Scott was a great waiter. ...

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Great food and Scott was a great waiter. Thanks for Christain who selected a great Champaign to help celebrate New Years.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We were so thoroughly pleased with the e ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 1, 2017

We were so thoroughly pleased with the entire experience at Montrio that we went back the next night to emphasize our excitement about finding our new dining home in Monterey...and for another cocktail....Great Find, cannot recommend any more strongly.

Tags: Worth the Drive, People Watching, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our choice for New Year's Eve dinner. G ...

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Our choice for New Year's Eve dinner. Great food and friendly atmosphere in the old Monterey fire house. Packed house, as usual - but the staff is efficient and attentive, without being pushy. Free wine corkage for wines purchased at "Taste of Monterey" wine bistro. We brought a 2011 Tondre Pinot Noir, and it paired will with Rita's delicious bacon chop and my tender duck breast. I had not seen a bacon chop for many years - we expected a bacon wrapped pork chop, but were delighted at the presentation. It was quite lean and Rita liked it (It was a bit salty for my taste, but not enough to spoil the taste. We are repeat diners at this Monterey gem and we will return often.

Tags: Outstanding Value, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Really great overall - brilliant service ...

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Really great overall - brilliant service (thanks Jose L!), great food, really nice setting. Great with the kids too. Would highly recommend.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Another stellar experience at Montrio. O ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Another stellar experience at Montrio. Our server Jose was knowledgeable, and friendly. He answered all questions about the menu right away, and shared some fun facts about the restaurant.

The food was rightly portioned and divine. Rich flavors, fresh where it counted. In a region where calamari is a standard order on every menu, Montrio's calamari is worth the 2.5 hour drive we made to eat it. Thick, herbed, golden finger steaks served with spicy, chunky remoulade - incredible. We tried the mushrooms with polenta this time: a cube of creamy-inside blackened-outside polenta drowned in a lightly sauced mix of mushrooms. Nothing to write home about but delicious none the less. The capelleni entree was the same - fresh, pasta perfection but no bells or whistles. Still worth ordering for that "better than your mom's" pasta plate.

The real artistry they save for those raviolis! The butternut squash filling is spiced with warm nutmeg. The restaurant makes the filling then sends it 15 mins down the road to pasta maker Bigoli in Sandcity. He wraps it in spinach pasta and sends it back for meal prep. A genius in the kitchen smothers the ravioli in cream, warm apples and arugula, onions and other magical ingredients. To. Die. For.

Dessert and drinks are whimsical and a unique. We love the soda creations. The dessert bites are quite literally the one bite dessert you can barely fit. Banana caramel tacos, yes please!

Best of all, crayons and paper on every table that brings out your inner doodler. So much fun! The worst part of our meal was our table neighbors toasting Donald Trump with reckless abandon and trying to order Viagra for dessert so they could, "lay their wives." I guess it's wonderful the restaurant doesn't discriminate their patrons.

All in all: A+. We cannot wait to return. We recommended this place whenever we get a chance. Their quality of service and cuisine is worth the drive and price. We are proud to boast about them! Thanks, Montrio!

Tags: Late-night Find, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Historic, Worth the Drive, Local Ingredients, Good for Groups, Handcrafted Cocktails, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Montrio is an absolutely fantastic resta ...

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Montrio is an absolutely fantastic restaurant run by an amazing crew. Every single employee is kind, attentive, and helpful.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Bar Seating, Handcrafted Cocktails, Disabled Access, Local Ingredients, Fun, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was our first time eating at the re ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 31, 2016

This was our first time eating at the restaurant--we LOVED IT !!!!!!!!!!!! So impressed and feel like we found a new "gem" in the Monterey/Carmel area.

Food and Service was outstanding....Food Presentation was fabulous (best BLT SALAD EVER) Our waitress was one of the best !!!

Tags: Fun, Fit for Foodies, Historic, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great experience here - 10 family member ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Great experience here - 10 family members - excellent food and service! having a wedding rehearsal for 60 here in the Fall so was testing it out...so glad we selected Montrio!!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Modern Decor, Notable Wine List, Private Room, Neighborhood Gem, Good Vegetarian Options, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Been coming for years to Montrios & it n ...

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Been coming for years to Montrios & it never disappoints!! Love the menu & great wine choices.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Open Kitchen, Notable Wine List, Local Ingredients, Cozy, Historic, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Dinner was very good. Each dish was inte ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 29, 2016

Dinner was very good. Each dish was interesting and well prepared.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

We wanted a light meal and the small and ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on December 29, 2016

We wanted a light meal and the small and medium plates were perfect. Fresh flavors of locally grown ingredients were fantastic.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Healthy, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

We have eaten here many times and it nev ...

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on December 24, 2016

We have eaten here many times and it never disappoints. We had to wait about 15-20 min to get seated. When we got to the table it had Happy Birthday confetti on it and it was in the corner which was great for me because I had a broken ankle. My wife ordered the salmon and I had the fillet. I normally get the short rib but wanted something different. I took the suggestion of the bartender and had it with the wedge potatoes and green beans. The meal was great. The only complaint my wife had was about the lighting. The light on our table gave off a bright reflection off the table. We solved it with a black napkin from the bar. By the time our meal was done and we paid the check, it was a little difficult getting out with the crutches but the patrons we happy to let me through. We will always come back here to eat because the food is great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

Great service and food. Really loved th ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on December 24, 2016

Great service and food. Really loved the short rib and salmon.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Chef Baker has created a wonderful menu ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on December 24, 2016

Chef Baker has created a wonderful menu using the finest of ingredients. There was not one thing ordered that wasn't sublime and we were a party of 7. One of us had lamb that melted in your mouth, the other had a pork dish using chef Baker's own Bakers Bacon that was spectacular, a few had steak that was flavorful and tender, and the other had the sustainable salmon that was a cut above. There were many gluten free and vegetarian options as well. And the tables had crayons! After dining there I saw a article mentioning that Montrose Bistro is a green restaurant, no easy feat, and that explained why everything felt extra special there.

We plan on dining here EVERY time we are in the area now!

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Worth the Drive, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Healthy, Neighborhood Gem, Open Kitchen, Special Occasion, Comfort Food, Gluten Free Options, Good for Groups, Modern Decor, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fun, Organic, Local Ingredients, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The calamari strip steak was excellent. ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 21, 2016

The calamari strip steak was excellent. The mussels were plump and in a creamy broth that was a departure from the usual white wine broth. This rendition was refreshing. The bacon chop was very unusual and flavorful. The burger was tasty and juicy. Sadly the accompanying truffle fries were dry and the potatoes lacked the starchiness of good fries. The steak frites were just okay. The top sirloin is just too tough and lacking flavor. They should use hanger steak instead. The salmon was cooked to perfection. This restaurant is excellent and could be great with a few touches.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

The food was very good. Seems like it wa ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on December 20, 2016

The food was very good. Seems like it was popular with families and young people. Noisy but fun

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

Six of us at at the restaurant. Only one ...

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on December 18, 2016

Six of us at at the restaurant. Only one of us enjoyed the food. Very disappointing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value3

Jose L was our waiter and he was wonderf ...

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on December 18, 2016

Jose L was our waiter and he was wonderful!! Everything we had was so delish and we can't wait to go back.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Fun, Romantic, Cozy, Good for a Date, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We were a group of six (4 adults, 1 teen ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 17, 2016

We were a group of six (4 adults, 1 teenager & 1 5-year old). Everyone in our group loved what they ordered!! The service was great! We definitely will be back! This is an outstanding restaurant!!

Tags: Romantic, Notable Wine List, Vibrant Bar Scene, Creative Cuisine, Great Beer, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Starters and sweets were very good and m ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 12, 2016

Starters and sweets were very good and main courses were fine. Nice atmosphere and friendly staff with efficient service. Wine prices a little steep and the Sunday special of half price bottles was the only reason to choose wine for the table.

Tags: Good for a Date, Kid-friendly, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

In town for a quick weekend get a-way wi ...

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on December 12, 2016

In town for a quick weekend get a-way with the kids. Great menu, excellent bar, and a kids menu, so nice enough for a date; but friendly enough to bring well-behaved children.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Lovely little bistro with fantastic flav ...

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on December 10, 2016

Lovely little bistro with fantastic flavor

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

We were visiting the Monterey Peninsula ...

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on December 9, 2016

We were visiting the Monterey Peninsula and had not been here for quit a few years. The total experience was great! The food, ambience, our server Cassandra were all super. We will be back on our next visit to this area!

Tags: Comfort Food, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Modern Decor, Seasonal, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent food and service. Salmon was c ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 9, 2016

Excellent food and service. Salmon was cooked oerfectly. Our waiter was right on top of everything. She couldn't have been better.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.