About Montrio Bistro

414 Calle Principal
Monterey, CA 93940
View Larger Map

Located in the heart of downtown Monterey, Montrio Bistro offers a comfortable yet classic dining experience, featuring fine European inspired-American cuisine. For the past 15 years, Chef Baker’s resolve to showcase sustainable seafood, fine quality meat, and Monterey County’s best produce in all of his dishes has made this renovated 1910 firehouse a local favorite.


We feature a variety of appetizers, award-winning small bites, enticing entrees, and indulgent seasonal desserts made by our in house pastry chef. Choose from GM Kathy Solley’s extensive wine list, or try one of our signature cocktails by Anthony Vitacca. Montrio’s sophisticated, yet comfortable atmosphere attracts locals and passerbys alike with our great Happy Hour, Dinner and a Movie, and Sunday's Half-Priced Wine Night. Come see what everyone is talking about!


Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Californian, American

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Sunday thru Saturday 4:30 pm - 10:00 pm

Cross Street:
Franklin

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(831) 648-8880

Website:
http://www.montrio.com/

Parking Details:
We have street parking as well as multiple public lots just a short walk away.

Public Transit:
Monterey Airbus and local Bus Transit near Montrio Bistro

Executive Chef:
Chef Tony Baker

Private Party Facilities:
Montrio Bistro is committed to ensure that we exceed the expectations of every guest that comes through our doors. With over 20 years in the business and a great team of chefs and wait staff, you can be sure that Montrio Bistro is the right spot for your next event.

Private Party Contact:
Chelsea Roh: 8779203609

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Delivery, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Montrio Bistro Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.6

ambience

4.4

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Most Booked
California Central Coast
Best Overall
Monterey / Carmel
Best Food
Monterey / Carmel
4 More
Best Service
Monterey / Carmel
Fit for Foodies
Monterey / Carmel
Californian
Monterey / Carmel
Most Booked
Monterey / Carmel
Best Restaurants in Monterey ›

fit for foodies (147)
special occasion (128)
romantic (83)
See All
neighborhood gem (76)
good for groups (63)
notable wine list (58)
hot spot (51)
vibrant bar scene (32)
great for lunch (18)
late-night find (17)
kid-friendly (15)
great for outdoor dining (11)
great for brunch (7)
scenic view (3)
Sort By:
Newest
1578 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent service; food and presentation top notch

Dined 4 days ago

Comfortable relaxing environment; server was the best we have experienced anywhere for some time. Food and presentation were off the chart excellent. Will make this spot a regular every time we are in Monterrey. Great variety of value plates to select from.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great find in Monterey

Dined 4 days ago

Researched dining options in Monterey and located Montrio Bistro, which is housed in an old, renovated fire station. The decor is very nice and there is some separation between the bar area and the main dining seating areas. We were warmly greeted and enjoyed a cocktail in the bar before being seated for dinner. Our server and helpers were pleasant and attentive. The food was excellent; especially the salmon and the scallops! The wine selections were adequate. We would definitely recommend this restaurant and will eat here again on our next visit to the area.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The gang at Montrio went all out to make ...

Dined 6 days ago

The gang at Montrio went all out to make our anniversary a fun occasion. Food was so good we went back the next night!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

I went there for a romantic dinner with ...

Dined 7 days ago

I went there for a romantic dinner with hubby. Service was good, but food was somewhat dissapointing, particularly the white anchovy appetizer and the the lamb and mint dinner. The noise level was above what we expected.

food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Our waiter (Jose) was very good and know ...

Dined 7 days ago

Our waiter (Jose) was very good and knowledgeable about the food and the restaurant and provided very good service. The food seemed a little overpriced but was very good except the hamburger seemed a little salty. What we felt was thoughtful was that they provided a complimentary dessert that said "Happy Anniversary". My wife and I both enjoyed ourselves very much.

Tags: special occasion
food4
ambience5
service5

Lovely service and delicious food. Nice ...

Dined on May 19, 2016

Lovely service and delicious food. Nice for a night out for a special occasion. Comfortable chairs and beautiful decor and lighting. Get the NY Steak!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Dinner was very good. I had the Bacon Ch ...

Dined on May 19, 2016

Dinner was very good. I had the Bacon Chop and my wife had the Kobe Burger. Both cooked per our request. Our waitress was Donice and she gave us a couple suggestions and we picked 2. Service was fantastic and we will be back.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

This is our 4th time here in the last 15 ...

Dined on May 18, 2016

This is our 4th time here in the last 15 years. We are from out of town. The noise level is much reduced since our last time here in 2009. That said, it is still loud, but you can at least have a conversation, The food never disappoints, the desserts are good, and the bartender(s) are friendly and competent.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Super Scott

Dined on May 17, 2016

Food was very good, service was excellent. The only disappointment was very ordinary bread. For being a foodie sort of place, and wonderful bakeries abound there, the Wonder Bread type loaf was underwhelming. The only other thing I'd mention is that the wooden chair was less than cushy comfortable. My husband sat in the booth which was best since he is 6'7" and would have hated the chair.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great Meal and Fantastic Service

Dined on May 15, 2016

We were treated to this dinner reservation by our hotel across the street and we couldn't have been more impressed. The ambiance, the food and the Service...... Simply Amazing! If you get lucky enough to sit in Jose section then be prepared to take his advice on food and drinks. This server knows what he's talking about.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience4
service5

Great experience delicious food

Dined on May 14, 2016

Great experience delicious food

food4
ambience4
service2
value4

A great surprise!

vip
Dined on May 14, 2016

We were visiting the area due to a dear friend getting married the following day. We were looking to have a nice meal but we weren't "celebrating" anything and didn't want to spend a fortune. I found Montrio Bistro on OT and was very happy with my selection. They have small bites, medium plates and full entrees. I like this as it allows you to taste many dishes. I enjoyed the scallops, kale salad and sauteed mushrooms on polenta. All was delish! My daughter had the lamb chop and shared the very hearty calamari with her father. My husband enjoyed a kale salad and the Halibut fish special. It was all delightful, the dining room is fun and lively. The wine list exceptional - another surprise! The only negative was the server. She might have been having a bad day but she never smiled, never made any comments whatsoever about anything. The BIG faux pas for me is she never poured a glass of wine after opening it, and we had two bottles. Go anyway, enjoy and pour your own wine. it's worth the extra effort.

Tags: vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Monterey Favorite

vip
Dined on May 12, 2016

Am in Monterey twice a year on business and a visit to Montrio Bistro has become a tradition. Love the casual but upscale feel of the place. Our server was friendly and very helpful. The food is just outstanding. Can definitely recommend the duck, short ribs, and salmon. The white chocolate bread pudding is delicious. The wine list is amazing with hard to fine labels available.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

We really enjoyed my birthday dinner her ...

Dined on May 12, 2016

We really enjoyed my birthday dinner here the staff was very attentive, wine list was very reasonable, even had confetti on the table for the celebration. Nice touch

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Very good food but pricey

Dined on May 9, 2016

We really enjoyed our meal here. The food was excellent, from the mixed mushroom appetizer to the salad and halibut. The prices are quite high -- the halibut special entree was $37. This is nice for a special occasion but it is too pricey for me. The server was excellent -- very knowledgeable and responsive.

food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Great Location and Service

Dined on May 8, 2016

We ordered a variety of food, the general consensus was that the food was OK but not great. My dish was the bricked chicken and it was fairly moist but lacked some flavor. The Sole was not very good but the steaks were very good. The restaurant is very pleasing to the eye and very vibrant. The décor was especially nice. Our service was really good, on point, but not annoying. I'm not sure I would go back but I think it's worth checking out for a first visit and you decide.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

I asked for a quiet table and happy with ...

Dined on May 8, 2016

I asked for a quiet table and happy with being seated upstairs. Loved our location and server was great, plus kept us on time for our concert.

food5
ambience4
service4
value5

every bite a delight!

Dined on May 7, 2016

Two of us shared 4 medium plates and a salad . Every dish was super tasty. The seared scallops were great and the short rib risotto was delicious! Definitely the place to go in Monterey!!!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent!

Dined on May 7, 2016

I want to go to Montrio Bistro from Japan someday again.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Craft cocktails stole the show.

Dined on May 6, 2016

Short rib was very good. I've previously had most of the apps and small bites and they are great as well. I am impressed by the bottled wine list (offerings and pricing), though I did not order wine (I manage a local wine bar so I lean toward cocktails or beer when dining out.) The craft cocktails were amazing. The "saving private ryan" I will be back for within a week. The "blushing lady" my mother ordered was also a delicious take on a mojito. I highly recommend this for drinks and bites after work. Trendy & hip, populated by locals, service is excellent.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

Great Menu

Dined on May 5, 2016

We have dined here before and came again because of the quality of the food and the beautiful presentation of the dishes. We were not disappointed. The service was timely in spite of a packed house. However, you should not expect a quiet dining experience, especially if a conference is happing at the nearby conference center and adjacent hotels.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Thank you for a wonderful birthday experience

Dined on May 5, 2016

Thank you for a wonderful birthday experience . The service was wonderful and the food was excellent.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great place

Dined on May 5, 2016

This is a great place for any occasion and the food is wonderful. Our server (Tim) was very attentive. My wife and I shared the grilled Caesar Salad and I had the ribs and my wife had the fillet. both were great. Also a bottle of Taken made the meal perfect!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Delicious!

Dined on May 2, 2016

We went here based on a recommendation from a friend. When we arrived the hostess was delightful. She asked if we'd ever been there and we said that we hadn't, she gave us a brief but entertaining history of the building as a firehouse. She told us it was the perfect night to order a glass of wine as all bottled wine was half off. The Marriott front desk clerk heard that we were going to the restaurant and had given us a card for a free appetizer. However, the waiter said that they were out of all three appetizers that we tried to order. When we asked him if we could order something from the small plates part of the menu he said that we couldn't and that the coupon wasn't good because we could either have half price for our bottle of wine or the free appetizer (this was the only thing that left a distaste for us with the restaurant because everyone was enjoying half off on their wine, so, I don't know if the waiter just didn't want to honor the coupon or felt that it would lessen his tip). We really enjoyed our meal and the highlight of the dinner was definitely their creme brulee for dessert. Everything with the exception of the coupon experience was terrific and I would highly recommend this restaurant.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Better than the Highest rated place in Monterey

Dined on May 2, 2016

I have written so few reviews; only when the service or food is awful. In this case, I expected the restaurant to be as described; the best place to eat in Monterey. Well, it by far exceeded my expectations. Three guys on business tried the 40oz rib-eye steak and it was the most wonderful piece of meat I've ever tasted. The presentation was wonderful and the flavors were incredible. We had a very professional waitress who had to roll her eyes a few times with the demands of one of my guests, but it was fine. Great atmosphere. The place to go in Monterey!

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We love Montrio Bistro

Dined on May 1, 2016

We loved Montrio Bistro the food was fantastic. We had a seafood themed dinner, Halibut (cooked perfectly) sardines on gem lettuce, oysters, scallop crudo and a Sancerre. Our server, Victoria is a gem, so efficient and gracious. I highly recommend Montrio Bistro to anyone wanting a fabulous meal with ambience, a festive vibe and a professional, gracious staff.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fave!

Dined on April 30, 2016

From the sidewalk, where staff had a setup for feeding taxi and Uber drivers, to the reception where I got my first birthday greeting, to our specially decorated table and our pleasant waiter, through the consistently delicious and gorgeously presented food, the entire experience was simply perfect!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Montrio birthday

Dined on April 29, 2016

The staff knew our party was celebrating a birthday, the table was festively decorated and they served the birthday girl a special dessert complete with candles. The wait staff was wonderful, food came out all at the same time and properly hot. Not always the case with larger parties. My only criticism is that there was some delay with cocktails. Great celebration at a great restaurant!

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Wonderful dinner

Dined on April 28, 2016

Great food, superb service only one block from Marriott Hotel.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

Great food, lovely atmosphere

Dined on April 26, 2016

Our group enjoyed our meal. The service was good, and the food was delicious. My only criticism is there's a lack of sweet white wine on the list.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Great service, Nice presentation. Wine l ...

vip
Dined on April 25, 2016

Great service, Nice presentation. Wine list is 50% off on Sunday.

food5
ambience5
service5

All of the above!

Dined on April 25, 2016

All of the above!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great Spot!

Dined on April 25, 2016

We limped into Montrio after the Big Sur Marathon and boy are we glad that we did! Even though we had our carb load the night before we decided to try the sweet potato ravioli and risotto. AMAZING. Our server was so pleasant and the atmosphere was perfect. We decided to carb load here next year before the run. So great!!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Date night at Montrio Bistro

Dined on April 24, 2016

My girlfriend and I went for my birthday weekend and the place was amazing! I would love to go back. The food was great and so was the service.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Wonderful, interesting food - a bit rushed

Dined on April 21, 2016

Our server was great and helped guide us with the menu. The 5 spice run cocktail was interesting and tasty. The scallop appetizer was a "best bite", though the kale salad and kalettes were fabulous as well. The sirloin entrée was outstanding, though the brick chicken was very under seasoned. The bread pudding dessert was delicious - though I'd rather have had more raspberries than the unnecessary ice cream with it. It was a wonderful meal. The only downside is our courses were rushed. We had 3 of them in the first 30 minutes of seating (the entrée arriving before we finished our salad) - when I said something to our server. She indicated the kitchen may have been rushing to get ours out before a large party. Disappointing, but the timing was corrected for the rest of the meal.

Tags: fit for foodies
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful experience

Dined on April 19, 2016

Service was terrific and meal memorable . I would def go back next visit to Monterey .

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service3
value3

great food

Dined on April 17, 2016

The food was great here. We had a mix up with our first round of drinks. Service seemed to sort of fall of from there. Overall food was great and we had a good time. A little more attentive service would make this place excellent.

Tags: fit for foodies, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

LOVED Montrio Bistro!

Dined on April 17, 2016

I made a reservation several weeks in advance of our trip to Monterey to celebrate my husbands birthday. I added in the reservations notes section that we were celebrating his special day that evening. Upon checking into Montrio Bistro, they wished my husband a happy birthday. Right then, I was already impressed. We were taken upstairs to find Happy Birthday confetti sprinkled on our table. Another sweet gesture! We had such a great time that evening. The food was delicious, the service was great! The mixed drinks we had were some of the best we have ever had, anywhere. After we declined dessert and ordered our coffees, they brought him a special birthday treat which was their version of the "It's It" ice cream sandwich. My husband isn't a fan of sweet so I happily ate it and can vouch for how delish it was! Overall, we had a fantastic evening here and are already planning our next visit. Cant wait to dine with Montrio Bistro again!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Noisy Downstairs

Dined on April 17, 2016

We were originally seated downstairs, straight ahead from the entrance, but it was so noisy we asked to be seated outside -- even though it looked like it might be a little cool . They suggested we sit upstairs where it's quieter, & that made all the difference. My husband & I ended up sharing 4 small -medium plates plus a terrific BLT salad. Memorable Italian coffee for dessert. Service was attentive but unobtrusive. Re the noise downstairs: we noticed they have hung multiple puffy fabric clouds from the ceiling downstairs to absorb the noise, but it's still loud. If you like dining in a quieter atmosphere, ask for a window table upstairs.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Love this place

Dined on April 17, 2016

This was our second time eating here. We had the same waiter both times, his name is Jose. The food is outstanding, the ambience is great and the service was impeccable. Jose is an awesome waiter. We will be going back soon!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, vibrant bar scene

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.