About Montrio Bistro

414 Calle Principal
Monterey, CA 93940
View Larger Map

Located in the heart of downtown Monterey, Montrio Bistro offers a comfortable yet classic dining experience, featuring fine European inspired-American cuisine. For the past 15 years, Chef Baker’s resolve to showcase sustainable seafood, fine quality meat, and Monterey County’s best produce in all of his dishes has made this renovated 1910 firehouse a local favorite.


We feature a variety of appetizers, award-winning small bites, enticing entrees, and indulgent seasonal desserts made by our in house pastry chef. Choose from GM Kathy Solley’s extensive wine list, or try one of our signature cocktails by Anthony Vitacca. Montrio’s sophisticated, yet comfortable atmosphere attracts locals and passerbys alike with our great Happy Hour, Dinner and a Movie, and Sunday's Half-Priced Wine Night. Come see what everyone is talking about!


Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Californian, American

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Sunday thru Saturday 4:30 pm - 10:00 pm

Cross Street:
Franklin

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(831) 648-8880

Website:
http://www.montrio.com/

Parking Details:
We have street parking as well as multiple public lots just a short walk away.

Public Transit:
Monterey Airbus and local Bus Transit near Montrio Bistro

Executive Chef:
Chef Tony Baker

Private Party Facilities:
Montrio Bistro is committed to ensure that we exceed the expectations of every guest that comes through our doors. With over 20 years in the business and a great team of chefs and wait staff, you can be sure that Montrio Bistro is the right spot for your next event.

Private Party Contact:
Chelsea Roh: 8779203609

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Delivery, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Dry Aged New York Steak
Bread Pudding
Szechuan Duck Popcorn
Gem Lettuce Caesar
Caramel Apple Cheesecake
Duck Breast
Butchers Butter
Verlasso Salmon
Beef Shortribs
Crab Cakes With Pickled Radish
Risotto With Short Rib And Brie
Macaroni and Cheese
Risotto
Dungeness Crab Cakes
Saving Private Ryan Cocktail
Uncommon Dark & Stormy Cocktail
The Possessor Red Wine From Tooth & Nail
Mac N' Cheese
X X X Float
Smoked Bacon Wrapped Shrimp
Chicken Waffle
Butternut Squash & Burrata
Grilled Verlasso Salmon
Short Rib Risotto
Bread pudding dessert
Mac & cheese with leeks
Truffle Tater Tots
Mussels in Coconut Lemongrass Broth
Louie Salad With Fried Crab Cake
Chef's Special: Rare Ny Steak Over Risotto And Chanterelles
Artichoke Risotto Bites
Lobster Mac 'N Cheese
Swordfish And Risotto Special
Beta Vulgaris
Artichoke Ravioli
Parmsean Truffel Tatter Tots
Reconing
The Reckoning
Coconut Sorbet
Florida Prawms
Creme Brulee
Peach Mojito With Fresh Mint Popsicle
Warm White Chocolate Brioche Bread Pudding With Passion Fruit Ice Cream
Roasted Halibut With Risotto
Crispy Calamari And Squash W/ Herb Aioli
Pork Platter
Braised Short Ribs
Potted Pork Rillette,Bread & Butter Pickles, Morello Cherry
Mushroom And Cheese Crepe
Roasted Duck Breast
Seared Scallops
Anchovies
Salmon
Sazerac
Bacon And Egg Salad
Mussels

Montrio Bistro Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.4

ambience

4.3

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Most Booked
California Central Coast
Best Overall
Monterey / Carmel
Best Food
Monterey / Carmel
4 More
Fit for Foodies
Monterey / Carmel
Notable Wine List
Monterey / Carmel
Californian
Monterey / Carmel
Most Booked
Monterey / Carmel
Best Restaurants in Monterey ›

Fit for Foodies (121)
Special Occasion (112)
Neighborhood Gem (73)
See All
Romantic (70)
Notable Wine List (69)
Good for Groups (56)
Hot Spot (56)
Vibrant Bar Scene (33)
Good for a Date (21)
Creative Cuisine (20)
Great for Lunch (17)
Kid-friendly (17)
Good for Anniversaries (16)
Good for Birthdays (16)
Great for Outdoor Dining (14)
Late-night Find (13)
Casual (11)
Local Ingredients (11)
Worth the Drive (10)
Handcrafted Cocktails (10)
Modern Decor (9)
Cozy (8)
Business Meals (8)
Comfort Food (6)
Tasting Menu (6)
Great for Brunch (6)
Pre/post Theatre (5)
Fun (5)
Tapas (4)
Authentic (4)
Private Room (4)
People Watching (4)
Outstanding Value (3)
Bar Seating (3)
Happy Hour (3)
Healthy (3)
Quick Bite (3)
Family Style (3)
Quiet Conversation (2)
Seasonal (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Spicy (2)
Wood Oven (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Great Beer (1)
Organic (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Historic (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Sort By:
Newest
1720 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

One of my favorite places to dine in Mon ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined 4 days ago

One of my favorite places to dine in Monterey. Great food and drinks. Try Le Fleur du Sully it's not on the drink minu though.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food and very friendly staff! Enjo ...

 
 (Raum Frankfurt)
·Dined 4 days ago

Great food and very friendly staff! Enjoyed our evening there and would come back next time in Monterey.

Tags: Comfort Food, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

Great food and service. Noise level a co ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined 5 days ago

Great food and service. Noise level a consideration if looking for peace and tranquility.

Tags: Molecular Gastronomy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

We went for my husband's birthday and th ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined 5 days ago

We went for my husband's birthday and they took care of us from the beginning. The service was friendly and the server was knowledgable about the menu. Uniquely crafted cocktails and plates made to share can pack quite a variety of flavors in one sitting.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies, Tapas, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Modern Decor, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Jose made it a worthwhile experience. Wo ...

 
 (Key West)
·Dined 6 days ago

Jose made it a worthwhile experience. Wonderful service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Had recently visited the Tarpey Roadhous ...

 
 (Tahoe)
·Dined on September 20, 2016

Had recently visited the Tarpey Roadhouse, another of their restaurants and enjoyed it much. The Bistro is in a beautiful old firehouse including brick walls and huge doors. It seems to be quite the place to hang out. Some of the décor is a bit eclectic for my taste, but it is interesting. The beef shanks were fork tender, very slow cooked and in a luscious sauce. The pork tenderloin was cooked perfectly and moist. The server was attentive and friendly. The GM was working the front of the house greeting everyone as if they were invited guests. We will definitely return whenever we're in town.

Tags: Special Occasion, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The décor was interesting and the food w ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 19, 2016

The décor was interesting and the food was very well done.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We had a great time . A friend from Los ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on September 19, 2016

We had a great time . A friend from Los Altos suggested that we dine there. The food was excellent and while the restaurant was a bit noisy , the ambience was just fine . We live in Indiana and this restaurant was really enjoyable for the out-of-towners . I'm sure that the fact that the season has somewhat ended was the reason we are able to get a table with one night's notice.

Tags: Comfort Food, Modern Decor, Notable Wine List, Historic, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food and service. Tried their Baco ...

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on September 19, 2016

Great food and service. Tried their Bacon Chop and Bread Pudding. Both not to be missed!

Tags: Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We asked for a great table. We were seat ...

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on September 19, 2016

We asked for a great table. We were seated at a four top by the bus station, while a premium table the same size was left open for other reserved guests. This is second rate and is a no-no to me.

The Scallop dish (in their category of medium dishes) offered two scallops on the plate over chopped Romesco. Tasty, but for $19.50, I expected more than two Sea Scallops of normal size.

Our server greeted the table about 8 minutes after we were seated, while we felt we wee lacking attention.

The folks at our table enjoyed their dinners very much, but I thought the too casual attitude of the host and the server compromised our total experience.

By the way, dinner was $300. for four people, and we only had one bottle of wine. The wine is half price on Sunday evening. Our Figge Chardonnay was only $28. Dinner comes out pretty expensive if you graze. Might go back...

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service2
value3

Family dinner on a weekend getaway - we ...

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on September 18, 2016

Family dinner on a weekend getaway - we were all pleasently surprised. I initially thought it would be more "old-fashioned" bistro but it is modern, with a great food and great service. We had a really good time there.

Tags: Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Kid-friendly, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Our reservation was for 5pm and we arriv ...

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

Our reservation was for 5pm and we arrived at 4:45pm. We were told by the hostess that the restaurant wasn't "open" for dinner until 5pm and directed us to the bar and happy hour. After driving 2 hours from San Francisco, and picking up my marine son from the local base, it would have been nice to have been seated and told the waiter or waitress would be with us shortly.

The menu offered many choices and our waitress explained it fully. There were no specials. Though the menu items listed were expensive, they were on par with "upscale" restaurants in larger cities. The food did not disappoint, and all three different meals were tasty and well prepared.

Tags: Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Lunch was better than the dinner. The dr ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on September 16, 2016

Lunch was better than the dinner.

The drind were over priced.

The food was a solid .

Our waitresses were nice.

The hostess was very.professional

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Good solid restaurant. The food was exc ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on September 16, 2016

Good solid restaurant. The food was excellent and the service was seamless. We were seated right on time and never rushed. Would return.

Tags: Comfort Food, Great for Lunch, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

We've been coming here since it opened. ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on September 16, 2016

We've been coming here since it opened. The food is always tasty & fresh. Our waiter was superb. Only complaint is the noise level.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

We had an outstanding dinner, service wa ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on September 15, 2016

We had an outstanding dinner, service was prompt and times perfectly!

Tags: Casual, Quick Bite, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We were on vacation with friends and wer ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on September 15, 2016

We were on vacation with friends and were looking for something a little different and this was a great choice. I liked that they had smaller plate choices. Everyone liked their food. I had the kale salad, which was really good, and the short rib risotto, also very good. I also had a tasty dessert cocktail with Patron XXX. Good service, but the tables were a little tight. Would definitely recommend this place.

Tags: Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Modern Decor, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

One meal was excellent (short ribs) the ...

 
 (Virginia)
·Dined on September 13, 2016

One meal was excellent (short ribs) the other was average.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2

We enjoyed our meal but the tables are a ...

 
 (London)
·Dined on September 13, 2016

We enjoyed our meal but the tables are a little bit close together so having a normal conversation was a little difficult.

Tags: People Watching, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Absolutely love this resturant. Food is ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on September 12, 2016

Absolutely love this resturant. Food is delicious and staff is awesome. Best meal I've had in along time. Can't wait to return to Monterey just so we can visit the resturant again

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We ordered around 12 dishes for 4 people ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on September 11, 2016

We ordered around 12 dishes for 4 people and it was plenty. everything we ordered was excellent and creative. our server Rache was communicative, attentive, had a sense of humor, and knows the menu well (for recommendations).

Tags: Spicy, Seasonal, Modern Decor, Tapas, Family Style, Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, People Watching, Creative Cuisine, Casual, Healthy, Worth the Drive, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We had a family reunion and all (7 out o ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on September 11, 2016

We had a family reunion and all (7 out of 8) loved their meals. The problem was the Mary's Brick Chicken--dry, tasteless and boring. All four women are gluten free so the choices were very good but again, the chicken was beyond disappointing. The artichoke appetizer defies explanation and was just superb. The Kobe burger and fries, divine. Pasta-yummy! The scallop with quinoa super tasty.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Comfort Food, Good for Anniversaries, Family Style, Special Occasion, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value3

We were seated in the upstairs area. Qu ...

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on September 11, 2016

We were seated in the upstairs area. Quieter than the main restaurant but not as appealing.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Cozy, Private Room, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

This was my third time at Montrio Bistro ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on September 11, 2016

This was my third time at Montrio Bistro. I LOVED it the first two times but this time was a bit disappointing. We ordered numerous small dishes and a couple of them were great, a couple were a little bland, and one (the risotto with short ribs) was a little gross. They also somehow forgot to deliver one of the dishes and when I finally asked for it, it seemed like the waiter had never even entered the order because it took another 10 minutes to get it. By then, we were just about done. There was no adjustment on the bill for this either. I would probably go back just because of my past positive experiences but if the food and service is a repeat of our most recent visit, I won't go back again.

Tags: Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

Loved the small plates- great waiter

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on September 9, 2016

Loved the small plates- great waiter

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Best dessert ever, amazing white chocola ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on September 8, 2016

Best dessert ever, amazing white chocolate pudding!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Get the SZECHUAN POPCORN AND DUCK CONFIT ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on September 6, 2016

Get the SZECHUAN POPCORN AND DUCK CONFIT! It is AMAZING and one of the most unique dishes I have ever had in a restaurant.

Overall, we had a very nice dinner here when we were visiting Monterey. We ordered a plethera of appetizers and small plates to share, and it was all delicious. Service was great and very accommodating!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

This was our second time eating at this ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on September 5, 2016

This was our second time eating at this restaurant while on vacation. We absolutely love everything we have had here and the staff and chef is amazing. You must give this place a try if you are in the Monterey area.

Tags: Quick Bite, Handcrafted Cocktails, Paleo Friendly, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Private Room, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food, superior wait staff, and ext ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on September 5, 2016

Great food, superior wait staff, and extremely accommodating to our numerous requests.

Tags: Good for a Date, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Came from out of town for the night and ...

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on September 5, 2016

Came from out of town for the night and Had a great meal here! Service, custom cocktails and fresh yummy entrees were all worth coming back to again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

As usual everything was outstanding!!! ...

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on September 5, 2016

As usual everything was outstanding!!! As this was a special occasion I knew Montrio would not disappoint.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

One of our favorite places to eat in Mon ...

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on September 5, 2016

One of our favorite places to eat in Monterey. The staff is wonderful and the food is consistently outstanding. We've had just about everything on the menu and enjoyed it all. While there a many appealing aspects to the dining experience the menu provides for small, medium and large appetites. We like the move away from "one meal size fits all". Like tapas, we can get a variety of starter plates to share if that's what we happen to be in the mood for. Sundays are 1/2 price bottles of wine night. So, have a delicious bottle of wine with your 5 star meal.

Oh, and don't forget to leave a six-pack ($6) for the back of the house. They work hard and appreciate the gesture.

Tags: Special Occasion, Happy Hour, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Tasting Menu, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Disabled Access, Tapas, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I made a reservation to dine there, , ho ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on September 5, 2016

I made a reservation to dine there, , hostess was not very polite, I made a request on peen table and usually do not care to sit in table not in the middle of the rooms do noted that in my request for table on open table.

I asked if we could be seated in any of the open booths and was told by host , "if you can eat in 40 minutes then yes"

The server and manager were great, food was good, but not sure if that will be a good enough reason to return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

Absolutely amazing from start to finish! ...

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

Absolutely amazing from start to finish! We had a glass of rose, a kiwi watermelon lemonade, and the scallop and Mac n cheese 'bites'. Then we had the duck breast entree and the risotto from the medium plates. We finished the night with the bread pudding which was paired with a passion fruit gelato. Our server brought out a s'more birthday dessert for my husband which was small and delicious. Such a wonderful touch. This place is outstanding! I would give them 10 stars if I could. Hands down the best overall dining experience we've ever had. Scott, our server, is a true professional and absolutely made the experience fantastic. Thank you to the entire Montrio staff for making our night top notch. We will absolutely return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great location. Super excellent food. As ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

Great location. Super excellent food. Ask for a room upstairs for intimate conversation over dinner.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It was good............................. ...

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

It was good................................................................................................................,,,,,,,,,,,,

Tags: Tasting Menu, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Service was really attentive and slick.

 
 (Nottingham)
·Dined on September 1, 2016

Service was really attentive and slick.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Booked a table for 2 of us to celebrate ...

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on August 31, 2016

Booked a table for 2 of us to celebrate a birthday dinner while staying in Monterey. We'd expected something a bit special but found the service hurried, tables were set close together, and the menu was quite limited. Although the menu hints at gourmet delights, what was served (chicken and steak) was pretty plain fare and whilst this would be fine, had we expected it, we were hoping for something a little more memorable which we'd anticipated based on the prices.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value2

Our dinner was a true delight and the br ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 31, 2016

Our dinner was a true delight and the bread pudding with passion fruit ice cream was divine.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

We went to Montrio on recommendation by ...

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on August 28, 2016

We went to Montrio on recommendation by a friend. It was our 45th wedding anniversary and they had little hearts and stars on the table top. The service was great and the food was delicious! A return is a must!

Tags: People Watching, Quick Bite, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.