Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.07mi
  2. Distance: 0.07mi
  3. Distance: 0.09mi
  4. Distance: 0.10mi
  1. Distance: 0.07mi
  2. Distance: 0.07mi
  3. Distance: 0.09mi
  4. Distance: 0.10mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.07mi
  2. Distance: 0.07mi
  3. Distance: 0.09mi
  4. Distance: 0.10mi
  1. Distance: 0.07mi
  2. Distance: 0.07mi
  3. Distance: 0.09mi
  4. Distance: 0.10mi

About Montrio Bistro

Located in the heart of downtown Monterey, Montrio Bistro offers a comfortable yet classic dining experience, featuring fine European inspired-American cuisine. For the past 15 years, Chef Baker’s resolve to showcase sustainable seafood, fine quality meat, and Monterey County’s best produce in all of his dishes has made this renovated 1910 firehouse a local favorite.


We feature a variety of appetizers, award-winning small bites, enticing entrees, and indulgent seasonal desserts made by our in house pastry chef. Choose from GM Kathy Solley’s extensive wine list, or try one of our signature cocktails by Anthony Vitacca. Montrio’s sophisticated, yet comfortable atmosphere attracts locals and passerbys alike with our great Happy Hour, Dinner and a Movie, and Sunday's Half-Priced Wine Night. Come see what everyone is talking about!


414 Calle Principal
Monterey, CA 93940
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Californian, American

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Sunday thru Saturday 4:30 pm - 10:00 pm

Cross Street:
Franklin

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(831) 648-8880

Website:
http://www.montrio.com/

Parking Details:
We have street parking as well as multiple public lots just a short walk away.

Public Transit:
Monterey Airbus and local Bus Transit near Montrio Bistro

Executive Chef:
Chef Tony Baker

Private Party Facilities:
Montrio Bistro is committed to ensure that we exceed the expectations of every guest that comes through our doors. With over 20 years in the business and a great team of chefs and wait staff, you can be sure that Montrio Bistro is the right spot for your next event.

Private Party Contact:
Chelsea Roh: (877) 920-3609

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Cocktails, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Montrio Bistro Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.5

value

4.3

Noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Fit for Foodies (74)
Creative Cuisine (67)
Good for a Date (66)
See All
Special Occasion (63)
Romantic (51)
Good for Anniversaries (48)
Fun (46)
Handcrafted Cocktails (41)
Neighborhood Gem (38)
Local Ingredients (35)
Notable Wine List (35)
Good for Birthdays (34)
Worth the Drive (32)
Business Meals (27)
Authentic (26)
Casual (24)
Good for Groups (23)
Cozy (22)
Pre/post Theatre (22)
Hot Spot (20)
Seasonal (19)
Happy Hour (17)
Healthy (16)
Good Vegetarian Options (15)
Bar Seating (14)
Tapas (14)
People Watching (14)
Organic (13)
Comfort Food (13)
Vibrant Bar Scene (13)
Great for Outdoor Dining (12)
Late-night Find (10)
Quick Bite (9)
Tasting Menu (9)
Great Beer (8)
Quiet Conversation (7)
Kid-friendly (6)
Gluten Free Options (6)
Great for Lunch (5)
Sunday Lunch (4)
Vegan (3)
Disabled Access (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Live Music (1)
Spicy (1)
Sort By:
S
2235 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined 4 days ago

Ballin cocktails; bacon is money AF

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined 5 days ago

I dined solo, so early, and the team gave me a warm welcome, as well as a great table near the hubub.

Portion sizing is generous - the kale salad has some nice additions and I had a medium plate with scallops - the chef was happy to add an extra to make it an entree plate. Absolutely delicious and couldn't fault the delivery.

My server Scott did a superb job getting the meal through quickly as I had to watch the time and he was a knowledable, enthusiastic ambassador for the cooking - perfect!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined 6 days ago

We had salmon on a risotto and lamb tenderloins on lentils. Both were very good. Cook likes a hint of sour in his spices, which did both dishes astonishingly good. The Creme Brulee for dessert was the second best I ever had: Extraordinary.
The wine list is a gem, both local, i.e. California, and international wines, not overloaded, but very well selected.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined 7 days ago

The first time in the area and we tried the restaurant for the menu… We were not disappointed everything was delicious and the server was over the moon in responsiveness and personality - would absolutely go back again

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
·Dined on October 15, 2017

Amazing!!! Sad we don’t live in Monterey to experience it more! 48 hour bacon and bacon chop is a must. Amazing.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Special Occasion, Casual, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Vibrant Bar Scene, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Fun, Good for Groups, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on October 14, 2017

the big rib-eye was excellent, indoor seating was loud w larger groups; we sat outside

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
·Dined on October 14, 2017

My wife and I have eaten here before and loved it. It was her birthday and decided to come to Monterey for the weekend. We lived the dinner and will return next time we are in the area.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on October 12, 2017

This visit was a one and done. The food was just ok.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service4
value1

 
·Dined on October 12, 2017

As always the best of Monterey

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on October 11, 2017

Buttered popcorn ice cream! Yum!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on October 9, 2017

We thoroughly enjoyed our dinner here and would definitely dine here again. The lamb was excellent!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on October 9, 2017

Top to bottom, this was the best dining experience I've had in years!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
·Dined on October 9, 2017

The food at the restaurant is all locally sourced so the menu changes with the seasons. The chef has a unique way of combining tastes that excite all your senses. Truly good size portions ensure that you're never hungry and they have "Medium Plates" for smaller appetites or to share if you'd like. We would definitely be back!!

Tags: Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies, Healthy, Organic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Comfort Food, Casual, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on October 8, 2017

The 48 hour bacon was to die for! Great meal from start to finish. The cocktails were incredible too!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Hot Spot, Seasonal, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on October 8, 2017

Even though we made reservations early our set next to the kitchen and servers prep area was awful, noise, very loud and congested was not worth the cost. We could not have a conversation due to how loud the kitchen and servers.

Tags: Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

 
·Dined on October 8, 2017

Creative menu with quality food. Great ambiance... san francisco lively style restaurant. Victoria was our waitress and she was amazing! Service is A++. Truffle bistro fries were the bomb and so was the dessert... all 3 of us had their bread pudding with homemade passionate fruit cream icecream. To die for!!!!

Tags: Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Local Ingredients, Healthy, Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Fun, Special Occasion, Cozy, Business Meals, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene, Neighborhood Gem, People Watching, Comfort Food, Authentic, Quick Bite, Live Music, Pre/post Theatre, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Sacramento)·Dined on October 7, 2017

Noisy but nothing you can do about another group having a great time and yelling to be heard above the din of another group having a great time. I just took off my hearing aid. LOL!

Food and service from waitperson and wine mgr was excellent.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on October 4, 2017

Food was de'lish and Scott (server) was awesome..he gave great suggestions .. ask for him as your server .. you will not be disappointed!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on October 3, 2017

It was ok but was surprised it was so highly rated. Nice ambiance however. In fairness we had pasta and I don't think that is their signature item.
Their wine prices were ridiculous.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value2

 
 (New England)·Dined on October 2, 2017

We came back to Monterey to come back to this restaurant and it did not diaappoint. The menu has a mix of different sized dishes, I would recommend getting a few and sharing. Very unique options I've never seen on other menus. Mussels and scallops were phenomenal and perfectly cooked. The service was outstanding.

Tags: Fun, Romantic, Good for a Date, Seasonal, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 2, 2017

Scott was great for service. Artichoke with corn relijsh wad outstasnding, as were the mussels in coconut curry(?). Shortribs were amazing while duck breast wa s very good.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Authentic, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 1, 2017

For the most part we had an excellent experience. It started off a little bumpy with a switch in servers and a lull in service, but then Victoria took over and was on top of things the rest of the night. We had excellent drinks (El Gringo was awesome), the mussels were delicious, but there was an issue with the special. Chilean sea bass is one of my favorites, but the kitchen overcooked the fish into chewy inedible oblivion. It was absolutely awful. But Victoria made up for it by providing an alternative salmon meal which was cooked perfectly and was absolutely delicious. Had we not had such an excellent server this meal would have been a miss, but the service made up for it.

Tags: Business Meals, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 1, 2017

Great Restaurant. Service was prompt and friendly. Food was very good. Noise level was indicative of people having a good time, but not raucous. We go the Montrio whenever we visit Monterey.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Casual, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 30, 2017

Came here with a friend after a great day of golf, expecting something that wasn't touristy and had a great menu, drinks, etc. Montrio Bistro delivered on all counts, and is even a good value too! Bourbon drinks were excellent. A salad and three "medium" plates was more than enough food for the two of us. Everything...yes everything...on the menu looks great, so much so that there were few things I wouldn't order and could come back a dozen times just to work my way through. Wish I didn't live so far away! Ordered the BLT salad, the artichoke heart dish, short rib risotto, and lamb sausages. The risotto was an absolute highlight...simply amazing. No doubt the short rib entree that they are apparently known for is wonderful. I'll try that next time. The artichoke heart medium dish would be a great vegetarian entree. Lamb sausages were good but not as much as the other two. Worth every bit of the 4 to 5 stars you'll see most people rating this restaurant, and a much better choice in my opinion than the touristy spots nearby.

Tags: Tapas, Great for Lunch, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 26, 2017

Wonderful, friendly and efficient restaurant staff. The asparagus risotto fritters and seared duck breast were melt-in-your-mouth delicious. The chocolate custard pudding to cap off our dining experience was such a great finale! Compliments and kudos to all and thank you.

Tags: Vegan, Pre/post Theatre, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on September 26, 2017

Great food and service! Energetic, loud restaurant. We will go back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 25, 2017

A great place. Food is always very good as is the service. Will always go back and recommend this restaurant to friends.

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on September 25, 2017

Our meal at Montrio was fabulous, wine was amazing and great service. The only complaint we have with it is that the tables are too close together so you feel like you are eating WITH the table next to you. Otherwise great place and we will continue to return.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
·Dined on September 24, 2017

I've been to Montrio many, many times. I always come back when I'm in Monterey. Excellent, as always.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Business Meals, Notable Wine List, Casual, Special Occasion, Romantic, Hot Spot, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fun, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 24, 2017

Wow. From the first moment this place was a gem. Our waiter, Scott, was awesome. The creative food was 5-plus stars. Your could literally taste each and every ingredient in each dish. I had the short rib, which was the best I have ever had. The chef makes his own bacon. Really ??!! And then there was dessert. You would not thing that carrot cake, coconut ice cream, pecans all drizzled with honey would be any good. Wow. It was an amazing dish to end one of the best culinary experiences I have had in some time. We will be back. I will encourage others to check this place out. Don't pass on this place.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Late-night Find, Seasonal, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 24, 2017

Seated immediately. Waiter affable, knowledgeable & attentive.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 23, 2017

Montrio was a very fun choice for our dinner to celebrate my mom's 75th birthday, with a great and inventive shared-plates menu and friendly service. The crispy artichoke appetizer and crab cakes were exceptional, as was a special summer solstice salad. We shared 6-7 plates among four of us--mostly vegetarian items--and enjoyed every one very much. And we were pleasantly surprised when the bill came. Highly recommend!

Tags: Seasonal, Hot Spot, Creative Cuisine, Good Vegetarian Options, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 21, 2017

We had an outstanding meal at Montrio Bistro. The menu was very creative, and each item was perfectly prepared with a great balance of flavors. The tables are somewhat close together, but we had a great conversation with the couple seated at the table next to us. The gentleman remarked that his steak was perfectly cooked, and among the best steaks he'd ever eaten. We enjoyed several of the small/medium plates (too difficult to choose!) and the corn ravioli, and all were excellent. I loved the pavlova for dessert. The service was also outstanding. Highly recommend!

Tags: Seasonal, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Birthdays, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Fun, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on September 20, 2017

Absolutely fantastic chef driven menu. Craft cocktails also top notch. My wife and I both agreed this is the best restaurant in the area.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on September 20, 2017

Had an amazing anniversary here! They prepared the table I requested with a decoration of little hearts, wished us a happy anniversary, gave great wine suggestions, and surprised us with a cute little dessert (as pictured). It was a wonderful evening. We will be back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
·Dined on September 17, 2017

We had a fabulous meal, the only downside was that it was pretty noisy, we couldn't hold a conversation over the table, so I sat next to my boyfriend and it was fine. I love that they have specials based on fruit and produce from the local farmer's market.

Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Casual, Happy Hour, Pre/post Theatre, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, People Watching, Organic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 17, 2017

This restaurant was fantastic--worth every penny! It's cozy but not too casual, and our server was very friendly. Food wise, I haven't had such a good meal in years. I highly recommend the crab cakes! And my celiac fiance had no issues following our meal, which was wonderful.

Tags: Cozy, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Authentic, Good for a Date, Healthy, Romantic, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
·Dined on September 17, 2017

excellent food and service, love the small birthday decoration they set on our table, sweet touch, every dish is well prepared.

Tags: Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Tasting Menu, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on September 16, 2017

Great food served by really friendly and professional wait staff. Great wine list and excellent ambiance. We come here every year at this time for many years.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Fun, Romantic, Vibrant Bar Scene, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 16, 2017

Our SF foodie family favorite in Monterey - have never had a bad meal here & the crayons (not usually provided in a fairly upscale place) worked for our daughter & dad to play Huey, Dooey & Louie w/dad when she was little. Cocktails always delicious & generous portion sized justify the somewhat high prices. Servers are always terrific also.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.