About Montrio Bistro

Located in the heart of downtown Monterey, Montrio Bistro offers a comfortable yet classic dining experience, featuring fine European inspired-American cuisine. For the past 15 years, Chef Baker’s resolve to showcase sustainable seafood, fine quality meat, and Monterey County’s best produce in all of his dishes has made this renovated 1910 firehouse a local favorite.


We feature a variety of appetizers, award-winning small bites, enticing entrees, and indulgent seasonal desserts made by our in house pastry chef. Choose from GM Kathy Solley’s extensive wine list, or try one of our signature cocktails by Anthony Vitacca. Montrio’s sophisticated, yet comfortable atmosphere attracts locals and passerbys alike with our great Happy Hour, Dinner and a Movie, and Sunday's Half-Priced Wine Night. Come see what everyone is talking about!


414 Calle Principal
Monterey, CA 93940
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Californian, American

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Sunday thru Saturday 4:30 pm - 10:00 pm

Cross Street:
Franklin

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(831) 648-8880

Website:
http://www.montrio.com/

Parking Details:
We have street parking as well as multiple public lots just a short walk away.

Public Transit:
Monterey Airbus and local Bus Transit near Montrio Bistro

Executive Chef:
Chef Tony Baker

Private Party Facilities:
Montrio Bistro is committed to ensure that we exceed the expectations of every guest that comes through our doors. With over 20 years in the business and a great team of chefs and wait staff, you can be sure that Montrio Bistro is the right spot for your next event.

Private Party Contact:
Chelsea Roh: (877) 920-3609

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Cocktails, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Montrio Bistro Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.6

ambience

4.5

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (73)
Special Occasion (61)
Fit for Foodies (57)
See All
Creative Cuisine (53)
Romantic (49)
Good for Anniversaries (49)
Notable Wine List (44)
Good for Birthdays (40)
Worth the Drive (33)
Local Ingredients (32)
Handcrafted Cocktails (30)
Modern Decor (29)
Neighborhood Gem (27)
Cozy (26)
Fun (25)
Good for Groups (24)
Bar Seating (21)
Casual (20)
Pre/post Theatre (20)
Comfort Food (19)
Business Meals (18)
Historic (15)
Hot Spot (14)
Happy Hour (14)
People Watching (12)
Healthy (12)
Authentic (11)
Vibrant Bar Scene (10)
Tapas (10)
Private Room (9)
Good Vegetarian Options (9)
Tasting Menu (8)
Gluten Free Options (8)
Great for Lunch (7)
Organic (6)
Quiet Conversation (6)
Sunday Lunch (6)
Seasonal (6)
Outstanding Value (5)
Family Style (4)
Great for Outdoor Dining (4)
Molecular Gastronomy (4)
Disabled Access (4)
Paleo Friendly (3)
Open Kitchen (3)
Great Beer (3)
Quick Bite (3)
Kid-friendly (3)
Late-night Find (2)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Fireplace (1)
Vegan (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
1935 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined 3 days ago

Great server with a good sense of humour. He spent several minutes with us to recommend other restaurants in the area, and was an expert. Loved the smoked trout, mushroom app and scallop crudo. The bacon was unreal. The white chocote bread pudding was a gem.

Tags: Comfort Food, Fit for Foodies, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined 3 days ago

Wine list and cocktails were great. Food was underwhelming. Everyone at the table thought their dish was just OK. The lamb was not good at all. Service was ok. Food seemed a little under seasoned.

Tags: Good for Groups, Vibrant Bar Scene, Fun, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Jackson Hole)·Dined 6 days ago

Food and ambience were unbelievable! Unfortunately we caught our waitress on a bad night for conversation. We are from the Deep South and are used to an interactive dining experience with our servers, and she was not interested in anything other than answering direct questions. Will definitely return, but won't expect too much interaction with staff.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined 6 days ago

We loved this end of the week treat and are never disappointed. It's the real favorite of many locals. Never disappoints and always feels like a treat!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Quick Bite, Pre/post Theatre, Tapas, Family Style, Authentic, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on February 16, 2017

One of the best meals I have ever had!!! Drinks were amazing and the food was over the top fantastic

Tags: Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Late-night Find, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on February 16, 2017

Excellent food & service. We were VERY pleased with the salmon, short ribs, duck and small plates we ordered on separate visits. The well-prepared entrees are delivered to your table amazingly fast and the service was always been first-rate. The corner tables are quietest. We'll be back!

Tags: Tasting Menu, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on February 16, 2017

We were so very pleased with our experience with Montrio Bistro! The atmosphere was wonderful, the food was delicious, the service was outstanding! We would recommend this gem to any one looking for a very pleasant evening. Our food server Donice is simply a wonderful asset to this establishment!! I would not go there for an casual dinner, but for a fine dining experience this will be my first choice and recommendation.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Great food, fast service, great overall experience

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Valentines Day and we were elbow to elbow. I'd booked days in advance and asked for a window but we were seated against the back wall between 2 other couples.

We had virtually no privacy.

Dinner was $200 without dessert. 2 cocktails and a glass of wine + bottle of water. Split a Caesar, 1 steak and an order of short ribs.

Tip + 6 pack for the crew and ring the bell. Hey!

Tags: Special Occasion, Happy Hour, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on February 15, 2017

I went to Montrio Bistro on Valentine's day with my fiance, and we loved it! The staff were just as polite as they were light hearted. They kept the environment very friendly and enjoyable. As for the food? It was simple amazing. The steak was perfectly cooked, and every part of our meal was amazing. Cocktails and wine selection was superb. Definitely recommended.

Tags: Cozy, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Healthy, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 15, 2017

This has become our 'go to' restaurant when in Monterey. Food is always delicious & you can order small bites, medium plates or large plates. We like to have a small bite & a medium plate, so we leave feeling comfortable but not stuffed. And when you get your bill you can add on a six pack for the kitchen staff for $6. They ring a bell as an acknowledgement and thank you!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Fun, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on February 14, 2017

I definitely would not recommend this restaurant. The white wine was served much too cold. The service was mediocre at best and when the entrée I ordered was given away to another patron who was seated AFTER I placed my order, I would consider this restaurant a half star at best.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1
value2

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Food was good looking and tasty.

A bit loud downstairs but when they seated us upstairs the noise level decreased.

Our food server was amazing initially but as the room filled up she disappeared.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Historic, Gluten Free Options, Seasonal, Good for Groups, Handcrafted Cocktails, People Watching, Local Ingredients
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value4

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Haven was theb est server ever, he went above snd beyond the call of duty and can't be thanked enough for his kindness and aptitude.

Tags: Cozy, Notable Wine List, Bar Seating, Modern Decor, Vibrant Bar Scene, Historic, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Birthday dinner

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on February 9, 2017

I'm never crazy about dining in a space that has tables so close together, but I did feel that there was just enough space to not feel completely awkward. I loved that it was 5 star food, but without the fussy pretension that usually accompanies fine dining. My husband and I happily drew on the paper table coverings with the large crayons provided on every table. Sure, we may have been the only adults doing this, but we felt perfectly comfortable in that environment. And the staff didn't bat an eye. The service was excellent-- perfectly timed, friendly, yet unobtrusive. The food was all excellent and well portioned. We were very happy with the experience.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Fun, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 8, 2017

Food was great! Excellent service!! Was able to get seated before our reservation. Nice atmosphere.

Tags: Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on February 7, 2017

Montrio is always good....just beginning to wonder if they have gone a little bacon overboard. Almost every menu item seems to contain BACON! If you are a bacon lover, go. If you are not a bacon lover, your choices are a little more limited.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on February 6, 2017

I cannot express enough how outstanding my experience was at Montrio Bistro. My boyfriend and I went for an early Valentine's Day dinner on a weekend trip to Monterey (2/5), and it was fantastic! As I made my reservation via OpenTable I requested that we please be seated in the most "romantic" area, overall it was a fairly vague request with no real detail. To say they delivered is a huge understatement. As we arrived to the restaurant and were seated we saw little confetti hearts sprinkled on our table, they did this special for us as they assumed we were celebrating something. Additionally we sat in a cozy little nook, perfect for two. We were able to have intimate conversation and not have to worry about bothering others or feeling crowded. Victoria (I believe her name was) was our waitress, she was incredibly kind, helpful and attentive. I got the braised short ribs, absolutely to die for! My boyfriend ordered the sirloin steak and was just as pleased. Again, I completely, wholeheartedly recommend this restaurant! Especially if you're celebrating something! Enjoy!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Romantic, Happy Hour, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Organic, Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Outstanding Value, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on February 6, 2017

Fantastic food, service, and attitude. The Sunday half price wine deal is too good to miss. The calamari was best ever!! Highly recommend this restaurant. Best we tried in Monterey.

Tags: Modern Decor, Fit for Foodies, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on February 6, 2017

Great food and great service. Scott was very attentive. Thank you.

Tags: Comfort Food, Quick Bite, Casual, Romantic, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Service and atmosphere were good. Wine offerings by the glass are lacking here, and in my opinion there should be a few more reasonably priced bottles offered. Food was good, with the exception of a $44 New York steak that was small for the price as well as overcooked. Personally, I would have sent it back, but husband opted not to. I recommend the short rib entree which is delicious!

Tags: Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on February 1, 2017

We went to have dinner my husband and some friends. We loved the food, especially the mussels dish. The restaurant have a great ambiance!

Tags: Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on February 1, 2017

We have enjoyed this restaurant several times during visits to the area. This trip we were escorted through the lively happy hour-driven bar and into one of their quieter booth/ table combinations near the vibrant open kitchen. Every component of the meal and service was supreme. I began with one of the best Manhattan's I have ever had, made with homemade bitters with the perfect hint of spice. Hub and I then shared mussels with red curry sauce - outta this world flavor and the freshest plumpest mussels around. That set the tone for a fabulous meal -- salmon with risotto and brussel sprout leaves. Grilled and seasoned perfectly, this chef wins kudos for understanding and implementing the best flavor profiles in his dishes. I did not finish my dish, however, because I had to save room for their white chocolate brioche bread pudding. Hands down, our Monterey area favorite. The only negative I can come up with is that their wines are a bit over priced, however the selection is wonderful and on Sundays they have half price wine night. This foodie loves this place.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 31, 2017

Got the bacon pork and it was delicious....but a little sweet if that's something that bothers you!

Tags: Paleo Friendly, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Family Style, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 30, 2017

A happening place

Interesting menu and quality service. Sundays offer 1/2 price wine and free street parking so it is a good value. We have eaten here several time and enjoy the ambiance, the food and the service. Thank you, Scott. This is our go to restaurant in Monterey

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Pre/post Theatre
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Very average. Food was nothing special. Waitress was not good at suggestions or describing the food. Potions very small. I was overall diappointed in the experience. Will not return.

Tags: Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Most of the food was very good, but not great. The small bite desserts were fantastic, though. The price was fairly appropriate for the quality and portion size. The service was a bit cold (somewhat surly), and we did have to ask for bread, even through other tables had it brought without prompting.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

 
 (London)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Excellent food and great atmosphere. Something for everyone. But I do want to say how delicious my scallops were - beautifully prepared and no extorionate prices. Wonderful Saturday night.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Fun, Healthy, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Best bacon ever. We would highly recommend trying at least one dish with the chef's homemade bacon.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Enjoyed the meal. Very very nice food. Would go back any time.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Wood Oven, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Creative Cuisine, People Watching, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Birthdays, Sunday Lunch, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 27, 2017

One of our favorite places to eat in the Monterey area! Good food, good service, great wine menu, and a great ambiance. Can't be beat.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Modern Decor, Paleo Friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 26, 2017

This is my FAVORITE place in Monterey- Food, Bar, service-- all perfect

Tags: Business Meals, Molecular Gastronomy, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Bar Seating, Romantic, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 24, 2017

The cocktails are over worked and terrible. Stop trying so hard.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 22, 2017

Jose, our waiter, was informed about the food and wine.

He was charming and attentive.

There was visible management.

It felt like being in SF, that is a compliment.

Great food, wine and service.

We will be back and tell friends.

Tags: Romantic, Sunday Lunch, Disabled Access, Special Occasion, People Watching, Casual, Fun, Organic, Good Vegetarian Options, Outstanding Value, Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Tasting Menu, Comfort Food, Healthy, Good for Groups, Handcrafted Cocktails, Tapas, Happy Hour, Bar Seating, Great for Lunch, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Vegan, Business Meals, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 22, 2017

Always creative and amazing food! You can make a meal of the appetizers alone ;) Service was attentive and friendly. Great date night....

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on January 20, 2017

Amazing meal! The servive was exceptional as well:) Definitely would recommend it to anyone in the area!

Tags: Modern Decor, Cozy, Romantic, Comfort Food, Fireplace, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on January 19, 2017

We had dinner one night and came back the next for another...what more can I say? The food and service were outstanding!

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 16, 2017

We chose this restaurant based on reviews and its proximity to the independent theatre in town-so glad we did. The atmosphere is very comfortable, allowing for animated conversation without feeling conspicuous. Our food was delicious-the mussels notably so. Also, an added bonus was the fact that most bottles of wine are half-price on Sundays. Will definitely return.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Pre/post Theatre, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Joaquin)·Dined on January 15, 2017

Local favorite as well as popular with tourists

Offers small,medium and larger portioned dishes

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Bar Seating, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 15, 2017

We were given gift cards for this restaurant and were very pleased with the dinner. All our meals were incredibly delicious. Very fresh and flavorful, and beautifully presented.

Crayons were given to my grandson to draw on the paper table cover (his first time to hold a crayon), but my sons did most of the drawing.

It was a pretty noisy environment, but that just made us feel more comfortable with the 11-month-old. He was a little fussy for only a short time before he fell asleep, but we didn't have to worry about him bothering others.

I can't say enough positive things about the taste of the food. Mmmmm!

Tags: Healthy, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (San Joaquin)·Dined on January 15, 2017

The peach mojito is amazing! The food is also excellent. All of the staff we encountered was friendly and helpful. Enjoyed the entire dinning experience. Thank you!

Tags: Comfort Food, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 14, 2017

Disappointed this time with a place that has been a favorite over the years. Seems like the dishes were oriented to being "over the top" to the point that the main ingredient was often overshadowed or overpowered by other elements: salmon was so overpowered by chili flakes in the risotto to the point that I could not enjoy the salmon as the main ingredient. Similarly, the artichoke appetizer was overshadowed by the tapenade as well as being a bit undercooked so that the whole artichoke could not be enjoyed - only the inner part was tender. The tapenade would have been spectacular on slightly toasted house made bread as an appetizer on its own, but as the foil for the artichoke, it took over when I was looking forward to enjoying the artichoke for its own delicate and sweet flavor when grilled and caramelized to tenderness. The balance between the main ingredient and the accompaniments was way off. Instead of the accompaniments helping to highlight and enrich the main ingredient, the main ingredient was lost in a cacophony of too much assault on my taste buds.

The sleeper and only saving point of dinner was the almond pear cake, which was outstanding. Excellent balance of flavors and textures - highlighting the delicate pear slices with the richness of the almond cake. Lovely crust and crunchiness of the outside of the cake contrasted nicely with the tender, buttery crumb of the inner cake, highlighted by the delicate syrup redolent of pear and honey. The toasted slivered almonds and the thinly sliced poached pear accented the cake and all of it was harmonious and delicious! If only the appetizer and entree were at that same standard I would have been in heaven.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 8, 2017

Charming restaurant with an Innovative menu. We recently had the opportunity to try this restaurant and even though the rain was really coming down, that did not seem to keep people from coming in. We were first time visitors here and enjoyed it so much we feel that the 1+ hour drive would be worth it to come back. We started with the Smoked-Bacon Shrimp and Butchers Butter (which are similar to steak bites). The shrimp were cooked well and that smokey bacon was perfect. The steak was tender and flavorful and the accompaniments were perfect (salty, tangy, crunchy). I went for the Scallops served with quinoa (this is on their medium plate section of the menu) 2 perfectly cooked scallops with some of the most delicious quinoa (toasted, sweet, creamy). My husband had the Bacon chop. What is a bacon chop you might ask, well its porky goodness. Its a combination of pork belly and chop. It had the flavor of the best slice of ham you ever had and then some. The sweet glaze on the chop was such a great combination with the smoky pork and the crispy mac and cheese wow. We also had bread pudding and creme brulee for dessert. All their desserts are made in house and we highly recommend saving room. Even if you only have a few bites so worth it.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Vibrant Bar Scene, Special Occasion, Healthy, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 8, 2017

Went here from a recommendation from a friend. My wife and I were not disappointed. Great staff and superb food. Will definitely go back again when we are in town.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Vibrant Bar Scene, Cozy, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Modern Decor, Special Occasion, Casual, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 8, 2017

Excellent meals - Duck was prepared perfectly and Lamb Tenderloins were tasty. Excellent service and attention to details for special occasions. Highly recommend!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Hot Spot, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on January 8, 2017

Always outstanding, food, wine, and the service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on January 7, 2017

As soon as we walked in we were greeted by a very up beat hostess who said "Happy Birthday" to me, then took us right to our great table for 2. The waiter was great also, he took our drink order and brought them right away. Then another great person came along and gave us each a glass of free sparkling beverage that was wonderful. The food was the best, the service was the best, it was all around a wonderful night! Thanks Montrio Bistro!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 6, 2017

Wonderful meal, service and ambiance. Wines a bit pricey, but good selection.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Disabled Access, Good for Birthdays, Local Ingredients, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 6, 2017

We were in Monterey for several days. Have bee there before. Very unique, some different foods & presentation. Servers very good, great wine selection.

Overall, nice experience.

Tags: Good for a Date, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.