Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.07mi
  2. Distance: 0.07mi
  3. Distance: 0.09mi
  4. Distance: 0.10mi
  1. Distance: 0.07mi
  2. Distance: 0.07mi
  3. Distance: 0.09mi
  4. Distance: 0.10mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.07mi
  2. Distance: 0.07mi
  3. Distance: 0.09mi
  4. Distance: 0.10mi
  1. Distance: 0.07mi
  2. Distance: 0.07mi
  3. Distance: 0.09mi
  4. Distance: 0.10mi

About Montrio Bistro

Located in the heart of downtown Monterey, Montrio Bistro offers a comfortable yet classic dining experience, featuring fine European inspired-American cuisine. For the past 15 years, Chef Baker’s resolve to showcase sustainable seafood, fine quality meat, and Monterey County’s best produce in all of his dishes has made this renovated 1910 firehouse a local favorite.


We feature a variety of appetizers, award-winning small bites, enticing entrees, and indulgent seasonal desserts made by our in house pastry chef. Choose from GM Kathy Solley’s extensive wine list, or try one of our signature cocktails by Anthony Vitacca. Montrio’s sophisticated, yet comfortable atmosphere attracts locals and passerbys alike with our great Happy Hour, Dinner and a Movie, and Sunday's Half-Priced Wine Night. Come see what everyone is talking about!


414 Calle Principal
Monterey, CA 93940
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Californian, American

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Sunday thru Saturday 4:30 pm - 10:00 pm

Cross Street:
Franklin

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(831) 648-8880

Website:
http://www.montrio.com/

Parking Details:
We have street parking as well as multiple public lots just a short walk away.

Public Transit:
Monterey Airbus and local Bus Transit near Montrio Bistro

Executive Chef:
Chef Tony Baker

Private Party Facilities:
Montrio Bistro is committed to ensure that we exceed the expectations of every guest that comes through our doors. With over 20 years in the business and a great team of chefs and wait staff, you can be sure that Montrio Bistro is the right spot for your next event.

Private Party Contact:
Chelsea Roh: (877) 920-3609

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Cocktails, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Montrio Bistro Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.6

ambience

4.5

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (73)
Creative Cuisine (68)
Fit for Foodies (64)
See All
Special Occasion (61)
Good for Anniversaries (56)
Romantic (51)
Good for Birthdays (47)
Notable Wine List (45)
Fun (40)
Handcrafted Cocktails (38)
Local Ingredients (37)
Worth the Drive (37)
Neighborhood Gem (35)
Modern Decor (31)
Cozy (29)
Comfort Food (26)
Bar Seating (23)
Good for Groups (23)
Business Meals (21)
Pre/post Theatre (20)
Casual (20)
Hot Spot (19)
People Watching (18)
Historic (18)
Healthy (17)
Happy Hour (16)
Authentic (15)
Vibrant Bar Scene (15)
Good Vegetarian Options (13)
Private Room (10)
Gluten Free Options (10)
Tapas (10)
Outstanding Value (9)
Seasonal (9)
Organic (8)
Tasting Menu (8)
Quiet Conversation (6)
Great for Lunch (6)
Open Kitchen (5)
Paleo Friendly (5)
Sunday Lunch (5)
Disabled Access (5)
Great Beer (4)
Kid-friendly (4)
Family Style (4)
Quick Bite (4)
Great for Outdoor Dining (4)
Molecular Gastronomy (4)
Vegan (3)
Wood Oven (3)
Late-night Find (3)
Fireplace (1)
Sort By:
S
1985 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined 2 days ago

Nice ambiance, vibrant atmosphere, service was good. The food, while attractive, didn't reflect quite enough attention to detail. I would say that it is very good without scoring highest marks.

My colleague reported her lamb with lentils wasn't as flavorful as she would have liked. My sirloin was closer to done than medium rare.

We could give or take the popcorn duck appetizer.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 2 days ago

The food was amazing. Andrew our server was knowledgeable, friendly and very professional. We had a great dinning experience. Can't wait to go back!

Tags: People Watching, Cozy, Worth the Drive, Open Kitchen, Notable Wine List, Bar Seating, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined 3 days ago

I had their Roasted Cauliflower Ravioli and while not a vegetarian this made me think I could become one if all the dishes tasted this good. My wife had their Halibut and it also was excellent.

Tags: Healthy, Worth the Drive, Fun, Neighborhood Gem, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Key West)·Dined 3 days ago

Lovely evening! Recommend by a local. We will return!

Tags: Modern Decor, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined 4 days ago

One of my all time favorite restaurants! This place does not disappoint.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Orange County)·Dined 5 days ago

Great service. Had the bacon chops with just enough fat. Tasty desserts!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Cozy, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined 5 days ago

The best restaurant in Monterey. Creative, inspired food. Have the Szechuan popcorm with
Duck Confit and the short ribs

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 6 days ago

Shared the Oatmeal Crusted Brie, Mixed Mushrooms, and Smoked Bacon Wrapped Shrimp (two shrimp) from the Bites menu; the Risotto from the Medium Plates menu, and Roasted Cauliflower Ravioli Entree. All were excellent, good flavors, and fresh ingredients, though the portions were a bit small for the cost (price has gone up a dollar or two since our last visit several months ago). $14 for a glass of 2014 Eberle Cabernet Sauvignon that sells for $19.99 a bottle is a much too expensive, but we recognize that most of the local restaurants charge exorbitant prices for wine (topic for another time), and the prices are available online so they were not a surprise. Tables are close together and acoustics are loud, so this is not a restaurant to have a quiet and/or private conversation. At least not on a Saturday night. I would call it "lively" but we were certainly able to talk without yelling. Server was prompt in providing a wine menu and offered assistance in selecting a wine to accompany dinner. We did not feel pressured to order immediately upon being seated as happens in many restaurants. She continued to be attentive throughout the evening.

Still one of the better restaurants in Monterey, and one that we will return to in the future.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 18, 2017

it has become an absolutely incredible restaurant- we had a fantastic evening.

Tags: Casual, Fit for Foodies, Good Vegetarian Options, Vegan, Bar Seating, Good for Groups, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on March 16, 2017

We are here while visiting Monterey and he an amazing meal. Check this place out!!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Hot Spot, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 16, 2017

Very good service. Good food. Slightly pricey for what you get. Price to portion a little high. Very noisy. We like coming here even though I'm not giving it 5 stars across the board. Real nice Chilean CAB at $38 was a good value, otherwise wines like the food, just a little high.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

vip
 (New England)·Dined on March 16, 2017

Excellent cuisine, creative, interesting and very well conceived and prepared. Nice ambience, lighting, and well designed interior in Craftsman style. Would definitely go back.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 13, 2017

This was my third visit to the restaurant and it was the best. It is very busy and is noisy but the food is great. Service this time good, last time marginal! I will return again.

Tags: Local Ingredients, People Watching, Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 13, 2017

We were very happy. Food and service great. Have been coming for years and always happy. They did pay attention to my open table request and I always appreciate that.
Will return.

Tags: Special Occasion, Comfort Food, Fun, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on March 12, 2017

We were impressed with the quality of this restaurant! The food was outstanding, service was great. The menu was unique, cocktails were delicious and wine exceptional.

Tags: Romantic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 12, 2017

The waiter was the worst! He forgot to respond to our requests, did not get the tab corrected until after the 2nd time. My guest never received his beverage as requested. This was our third time at this restaurant, The other times were great-food and service.

Tags: Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value3

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on March 12, 2017

Took my wife and 2 friends of ours here for my wife's 30th bday. Food, service and atmosphere where amazing. Fancy enough to get dressed up if you'd like. Down to earth enough to supply crayons to color on table lol. Request to sit in Juan''s section. He was the best!! Two words....BACON CHOP!

Tags: Disabled Access, Vegan, Creative Cuisine, Fun, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Happy Hour, Tasting Menu, Comfort Food, Romantic, Bar Seating, People Watching, Gluten Free Options, Handcrafted Cocktails, Local Ingredients, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Vibrant Bar Scene, Great Beer, Quiet Conversation, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Modern Decor, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New England)·Dined on March 11, 2017

This is one of our favorite restaurants on the Monterey Peninsula. The food is delicious and varied. The service is top-notch. This particular visit we arrived for a late evening meal. We enjoyed an appetizer of artichoke risotto fritters and entrees of roasted cauliflower raviolis and roasted short ribs. Each dish was delicious. You won't come away disappointed!

Tags: Tapas, Worth the Drive, Wood Oven
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Unfortunately this is not the place it used to be. The menu reads well, but the food does not deliver. The service staff is rude and unpleasant when there is a problem. We sent 2 dishes back and the manager (I am still uncertain if there was one there) never stopped by, the server did not even address an apology. The plus side, they had confetti decorating the table for my moms birthday. However, that is not enough to compensate for the sad dinner we had.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service1
value1

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Our 4th trip to Montrio over the years of visiting Monterey, and it never fails us. Calamari appetizer was outstanding. Split the BLT salad, delicious but over dressed for me. I think a lighter tough with some on the side would have been better. Excellent dressing and flavor combo. Kobe burger was also fabulous, cooked perfectly to our liking. I was in the mood for a ribeye, but the only one they had was a family size at 40 oz. Frustrating to see it on the menu in that scale but not be able to get a smaller one. An excellent restaurant all in all. Our server was very good, and lots of attentive back up staff too.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 8, 2017

Our party of four had an absolutely fabulous dining experience on March 7, 2017! We loved the ambience, the food was beyond delicious and our waiter, Scott, was phenomenal. It's no wonder that the Montrio Bistro is rated #1 in Monterey! We definitely will return and will not hesitate to recommend it to our friends. Thank you, Montrio Bistro!

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies, Healthy, Good Vegetarian Options, Notable Wine List, Fun, People Watching, Paleo Friendly, Modern Decor, Authentic, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Made a anniversary dinner reservation and overall it went well. Exactly what I expected for a busy Saturday night, but they accommodated greatly. It was a little louder and tight. Food was amazing and they have a great drinks list. Would recommend.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Singapore)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Good experience

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 5, 2017

I love this restaurant- when I am in Monterey, I have been known to go 2 nites in a row just so I can sample different dishes. I am never disappointed!

Tags: Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 5, 2017

What a little gem this place is! I planned a birthday weekend for my girlfriend and found this restaurant by chance. Having read their favorable reviews, decided to go for it. It's a bit off the beaten path, but well worth the jaunt into downtown Monterey. Our waitress was perfect. Very attentive but not overboard. Food was delicious, well presented and good value for the money. Reservations are a must. Very small place and it fills fast. Will be a regular stop for our return trips.

Tags: Comfort Food, Hot Spot, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Just all good stuff there. Unique recipes but it still seems like comfort food!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Happy Hour, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 4, 2017

Some of the best cuisine and wine I have ever tasted. My girl and I enjoyed every delicacy and smell that was at our table. The wine we got was outstanding for a young Bordeaux. The Oatmeal Brie was exceptional and portioned enough so we did not overfill on the first course. My girlfriend's New York was exquisite and cooked to her perfection. The Bacon Cut meal was the best thing I ever had the chance to taste. It has ruined me for American style bacon for the rest of my life. The service and manager were amazing people alongside the fact if you enjoy the food and feel bad you cannot tip the kitchen, YOU CAN BUY THEM A 6-PACK! I highly recommend this spot to anyone looking for amazing night out with friends and/or loved ones. I will definitely be returning here in the near future.

Tags: Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Outstanding Value, Romantic, Fun, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 4, 2017

Incredible food and great service - very busy the night we went.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on March 4, 2017

Been there several times, remains outstanding restaurant, look forward to the next opportunity.

Tags: Special Occasion, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 4, 2017

Great menu! Outstanding meal. Not inexpensive but worth it and can't wait to go back.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Comfort Food, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on March 3, 2017

MB offers a creative menu in an upbeat bistro setting. Service is friendly, yet attentive. Noise level is active, but tolerable. I particularly liked the tiered menu-appetizers, medium plates, and entrees. It enables you to manage you dinner costs and still try some new dishes. My wife ordered medium plates and I ordered from the enter menu. I really endorse the Bacon Chop. It is a smoked tenderloin that continues on into the pork belly. Absolutely delicious. I have never seen that cut before. Served over baked mac and cheese! All in all an excellent dinner.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on March 1, 2017

Enjoyed excellent service, great food, a quiet corner--all reasons we keep coming back after so many years.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 27, 2017

We came to Monterey from Healdsburg California for a couple days for my birthday. We are staying at the Monterey Plaza and wanted to find a good place to eat, the reviews on yelp and the recommendations from the hotel staff lettuce to your restaurant and it was beyond delicious.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on February 27, 2017

Loved the Drink Menu and tried a few. All really creative and good. Food was excellent! This is a must visit!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on February 27, 2017

Always a go-to restaurant while in the Monterey area. Creative menu, relaxing and enjoyable atmosphere, consistently good dining experience. The night we were there they were having a special half- off of any bottle of wine on the menu, with a few exceptions. At the end of the meal we were given a bill, without the wine discount - they stated that they would return shortly with the actual bill, including the discount. I assumed this was to remind the guest to tip appropriately, based on the full amount, without the discount. Odd and a bit presumptuous.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on February 27, 2017

Service was great

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 26, 2017

Great, Great restaurant. Fun place. Outstanding food!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on February 26, 2017

Great place to eat, the food is always superb (albeit changed a lot from when we dined here about two years ago, not in quality but in quantity). The bread pudding is the ONLY reason we keep coming back so I hope they don't take it off the menu ever!!!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Family Style, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Fun, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on February 26, 2017

We need more restaurants like this one. Before you enter read the information they have posted in the front window about the efforts the restaurant is taking to put the environment first with supporting and utilizing Organic, Green build, local vendors, GMO etc. You can taste their efforts in the food and see it in the décor.
The menu is PERFECT!! They offer different sizes in plates making it 100% guilt free on trying many things. The food is soooooooooooo good. We got the Mushrooms over Polenta, house soup & Short Ribs. Took it to go and at the rest for dessert!!
Our server was knowledgeable, attentive & had a nice balance of straight forward (but not pushy or w attitude) & helpful. I don't remember his name but he really deserves a nod from the MGMT team. He escorted us to the front door after our meal and visited with us for a bit more before he held the door open and bid us a good night. His personality is what hit home to me. Most servers either try too hard and are not genuine or they act as if they know it all and cant put their ego away for a shift.
I would Highly recommend this restaurant and server. Make a reservation because the secret is out!

Tags: Tasting Menu, Organic, Pre/post Theatre, Gluten Free Options, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on February 26, 2017

A gastronomical galaxy tour, that rocketed my taste buds from one flavor to another. Jose was my tour guide, and offered various chef's concoctions, each more pleasing than the other. Go in with an adventurous mind, and you will leave with a full stomach! Plenty of flavors to go around. If only the mixologist had the talent of the chef, the place would be out of this world! Don't miss but don't drink!

Tags: People Watching, Good for a Date, Hot Spot, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.