About Montrio Bistro

414 Calle Principal
Monterey, CA 93940
View Larger Map

Located in the heart of downtown Monterey, Montrio Bistro offers a comfortable yet classic dining experience, featuring fine European inspired-American cuisine. For the past 15 years, Chef Baker’s resolve to showcase sustainable seafood, fine quality meat, and Monterey County’s best produce in all of his dishes has made this renovated 1910 firehouse a local favorite.


We feature a variety of appetizers, award-winning small bites, enticing entrees, and indulgent seasonal desserts made by our in house pastry chef. Choose from GM Kathy Solley’s extensive wine list, or try one of our signature cocktails by Anthony Vitacca. Montrio’s sophisticated, yet comfortable atmosphere attracts locals and passerbys alike with our great Happy Hour, Dinner and a Movie, and Sunday's Half-Priced Wine Night. Come see what everyone is talking about!


Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Californian, American

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Sunday thru Saturday 4:30 pm - 10:00 pm

Cross Street:
Franklin

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(831) 648-8880

Website:
http://www.montrio.com/

Parking Details:
We have street parking as well as multiple public lots just a short walk away.

Public Transit:
Monterey Airbus and local Bus Transit near Montrio Bistro

Executive Chef:
Chef Tony Baker

Private Party Facilities:
Montrio Bistro is committed to ensure that we exceed the expectations of every guest that comes through our doors. With over 20 years in the business and a great team of chefs and wait staff, you can be sure that Montrio Bistro is the right spot for your next event.

Private Party Contact:
Chelsea Roh: 8779203609

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Delivery, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Dry Aged New York Steak - Montrio Bistro, Monterey, CA
Bread Pudding - Montrio Bistro, Monterey, CA
Szechuan Duck Popcorn - Montrio Bistro, Monterey, CA
Gem Lettuce Caesar - Montrio Bistro, Monterey, CA
Duck Breast - Montrio Bistro, Monterey, CA
Caramel Apple Cheesecake - Montrio Bistro, Monterey, CA
Beef Shortribs - Montrio Bistro, Monterey, CA
Crab Cakes With Pickled Radish - Montrio Bistro, Monterey, CA
Risotto With Short Rib And Brie - Montrio Bistro, Monterey, CA
Macaroni and Cheese - Montrio Bistro, Monterey, CA
Risotto - Montrio Bistro, Monterey, CA
Dungeness Crab Cakes - Montrio Bistro, Monterey, CA
Butchers Butter - Montrio Bistro, Monterey, CA
Verlasso Salmon - Montrio Bistro, Monterey, CA
Mac N' Cheese - Montrio Bistro, Monterey, CA
Saving Private Ryan Cocktail - Montrio Bistro, Monterey, CA
Uncommon Dark & Stormy Cocktail - Montrio Bistro, Monterey, CA
The Possessor Red Wine From Tooth & Nail - Montrio Bistro, Monterey, CA
X X X Float - Montrio Bistro, Monterey, CA
Smoked Bacon Wrapped Shrimp - Montrio Bistro, Monterey, CA
Chicken Waffle - Montrio Bistro, Monterey, CA
Butternut Squash & Burrata - Montrio Bistro, Monterey, CA
Grilled Verlasso Salmon - Montrio Bistro, Monterey, CA
Short Rib Risotto - Montrio Bistro, Monterey, CA
Bread pudding dessert - Montrio Bistro, Monterey, CA
Mac & cheese with leeks - Montrio Bistro, Monterey, CA
Truffle Tater Tots - Montrio Bistro, Monterey, CA
Mussels in Coconut Lemongrass Broth - Montrio Bistro, Monterey, CA
Louie Salad With Fried Crab Cake - Montrio Bistro, Monterey, CA
Chef's Special: Rare Ny Steak Over Risotto And Chanterelles - Montrio Bistro, Monterey, CA
Artichoke Risotto Bites - Montrio Bistro, Monterey, CA
Lobster Mac 'N Cheese - Montrio Bistro, Monterey, CA
Swordfish And Risotto Special - Montrio Bistro, Monterey, CA
Beta Vulgaris - Montrio Bistro, Monterey, CA
Artichoke Ravioli - Montrio Bistro, Monterey, CA
Parmsean Truffel Tatter Tots  - Montrio Bistro, Monterey, CA
Reconing  - Montrio Bistro, Monterey, CA
The Reckoning - Montrio Bistro, Monterey, CA
Coconut Sorbet - Montrio Bistro, Monterey, CA
Florida Prawms - Montrio Bistro, Monterey, CA
Creme Brulee - Montrio Bistro, Monterey, CA
Peach Mojito With Fresh Mint Popsicle - Montrio Bistro, Monterey, CA
Warm White Chocolate Brioche Bread Pudding With Passion Fruit Ice Cream - Montrio Bistro, Monterey, CA
Roasted Halibut With Risotto - Montrio Bistro, Monterey, CA
Crispy Calamari And Squash W/ Herb Aioli - Montrio Bistro, Monterey, CA
Pork Platter - Montrio Bistro, Monterey, CA
Braised Short Ribs - Montrio Bistro, Monterey, CA
Potted Pork Rillette,Bread & Butter Pickles, Morello Cherry  - Montrio Bistro, Monterey, CA
Mushroom And Cheese Crepe - Montrio Bistro, Monterey, CA
Roasted Duck Breast - Montrio Bistro, Monterey, CA
Seared Scallops - Montrio Bistro, Monterey, CA
Anchovies - Montrio Bistro, Monterey, CA
Salmon - Montrio Bistro, Monterey, CA
Sazerac - Montrio Bistro, Monterey, CA
Bacon And Egg Salad - Montrio Bistro, Monterey, CA
Mussels - Montrio Bistro, Monterey, CA

Montrio Bistro Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.5

ambience

4.4

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Fit for Foodies
California Central Coast
Californian
California Central Coast
Most Booked
California Central Coast
7 More
Best Overall
Monterey / Carmel
Best Food
Monterey / Carmel
Best Service
Monterey / Carmel
Best Value
Monterey / Carmel
Special Occasion
Monterey / Carmel
Californian
Monterey / Carmel
Most Booked
Monterey / Carmel
Best Restaurants in Monterey ›

Special Occasion (81)
Fit for Foodies (79)
Good for a Date (63)
See All
Creative Cuisine (51)
Good for Anniversaries (48)
Notable Wine List (44)
Romantic (43)
Good for Birthdays (39)
Neighborhood Gem (34)
Local Ingredients (33)
Hot Spot (33)
Worth the Drive (28)
Handcrafted Cocktails (28)
Casual (26)
Modern Decor (24)
Vibrant Bar Scene (21)
Cozy (21)
Good for Groups (19)
Business Meals (18)
Bar Seating (15)
Comfort Food (15)
Tapas (13)
Pre/post Theatre (13)
Fun (12)
Happy Hour (11)
Tasting Menu (11)
Authentic (10)
Healthy (9)
Private Room (9)
Great for Lunch (9)
Historic (8)
People Watching (7)
Quick Bite (7)
Quiet Conversation (6)
Outstanding Value (5)
Kid-friendly (5)
Late-night Find (5)
Family Style (5)
Organic (5)
Great Beer (3)
Seasonal (3)
Great for Outdoor Dining (3)
Gluten Free Options (3)
Good Vegetarian Options (3)
Molecular Gastronomy (3)
Open Kitchen (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Wood Oven (2)
Spicy (2)
Scenic View (2)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Waterfront (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Sort By:
S
1802 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

I had the salmon, a bit rich with the ri ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 3 days ago

I had the salmon, a bit rich with the risotto and feta, but tasty. The brussel sprout outer leaves were more of a garnish than a vegetable. Where was the rest of the brussel sprouts? We also tried the French green beans and kale salad, enjoyed both. My table mate had the duck. The included broccolini was a bit tough. We did enjoy overall and will return.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Great food. Aside from the beach my seco ...

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined 4 days ago

Great food. Aside from the beach my second reason to go there. If it was closer I would go every week.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Comfort Food, Casual, Good for Birthdays, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We dined at Montrio Bistro to celebrate ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 28, 2016

We dined at Montrio Bistro to celebrate an anniversary. We are frequent visitors to the Monterey area but hadn't been to this restaurant is some time. We had a spectacular meal--wonderful starters, spectacular salad and an outstanding main course. We are not big eaters and were delighted in the restaurant's open attitude about sharing dishes--this allowed us to have two small bites, share a salad and a main--all fabulous, plus a great bottle of wine. However, perhaps the best part of our meal was the gracious and friendly attention of our server, Rachael, who could not have been more competent but also was very genuine and warm and just the right amount of attentive. We remarked to each other that she had really made the whole experience so very enjoyable. We live in the Napa Valley where there are many great restaurants. This experience ranks right up there with those we enjoy at home. We will be back soon!

Tags: Business Meals, Vibrant Bar Scene, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Modern Decor, Bar Seating, Authentic, Good for a Date, Comfort Food, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Great menu and reasonable prices. Surpri ...

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on November 27, 2016

Great menu and reasonable prices. Surprisingly super kid friendly and just a cool and laid back place. Cocktails were creative and delicious, and food and service were both very good.

Tags: Casual, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic, Special Occasion, Kid-friendly, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

My wife and I had dinner here in 2014 wh ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on November 27, 2016

My wife and I had dinner here in 2014 which was superb which is why we booked a dinner for four this past weekend. Unfortunately, the second time around was not well-received....pricing for the wine was "over the top" and the food was, candidly, marginal. As a result, we are not likely to come back for a third time.....

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service4
value2

The food was good, but uninspired. Nothi ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 26, 2016

The food was good, but uninspired. Nothing "popped," and there were some boring standbys like bacon-wrapped shrimp that one also sees at the local pub. The Decor is nice and the lighting superb. The wine list was deep and the sommelier knowledgeable, though I didn't expect to see J.Lohr and Stag's Leap on the menu for a restaurant of this profile.

Service was meh. Trying (and failing) to be fine dining, though just knowledgeable casual would have been fine.

One thing particularly stuck out - They rang a bell every time someone bought a six-pack for the kitchen. Offering the option to buy the kitchen a round is a practice at many restaurants today, but usually paired with a statement explaining how wages/tips etc. are distributed more equitably throughout the front and back of house. At Montrio, there was no obvious explanation made. It made it seem as though the BOH would be happy with a couple of beers, when it's more likely they'd appreciate a couple of dollars more an hour to buy their own beers, as BOH typically makes less than half and sometimes less than a third of what servers make.

Overall, Montrio felt overblown and soulless. Trying to cater to the wealthy, elderly Carmel golf crowd instead of delivering dynamic, inventive, and mind blowing food and service with integrity and vision. Save your money for a real fine dining establishment.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value2

Every time I get back to Monterey, I boo ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on November 24, 2016

Every time I get back to Monterey, I book a table to Montrio - food is great (love the brick chicken - it will change your life) and the service efficient and friendly. Took the whole family this time and everyone enjoyed with they ordered - all received Clean Plate Awards.

Tags: Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Our group of four expanded into a group ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 24, 2016

Our group of four expanded into a group of 6. Needless to say there was nothing other than bar seating available since all other tables had already been planned for the evening's reservations. The hostess offered us seating on the outdoor patio and, though it was a chilly evening, it was nicely heated. It really was pleasant outside and made for better conversation vs. the boisterous conversations going on inside.

Of course, the oysters were absolutely fresh and delightful. Two of us ordered the duck, which was prepared to perfection. The pork chop with a side of crispy macaroni was reportedly also pleasing to the palate. Having a couple bottles of Pinot Noir also helped to forget that we were seated outside on brisk Monterey evening.

The crown jewel is the service. Despite throwing a last minute curve ball at the hostess, she managed to accommodate our expanded group. The servers were attentive despite having to traverse back and forth from a the nice warm indoors to the chill of the outside table.

Going here was a shot in the dark, and we were all quite pleased. Would definitely recommend this to my SF foodie friends. Will definitely make it a point to make it back to Montrio Bistro the next time we're in the area.

Tags: Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Outstanding food served by a gracious se ...

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on November 24, 2016

Outstanding food served by a gracious server. She was excellent.

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

A wonderful place! Four of us went to c ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on November 21, 2016

A wonderful place! Four of us went to celebrate a birthday meal on a Sunday evening..all the appetisers, entrées and desserts were delicious, the staff was friendly, knowledgeable and attentive and it was a comfortable and enjoyable setting where you can actually have a conversation...we'll be return customers!

Tags: Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Tasting Menu, Fit for Foodies, Pre/post Theatre, Tapas, Healthy, Notable Wine List, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Organic, Romantic, Special Occasion, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We made a reservation here about a week ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on November 20, 2016

We made a reservation here about a week in advance at the recommendation of a family member. I'm so glad we did, the place was packed and I doubt we would have been able to get a table without it.

We arrived early and the hostess found us 2 seats at the bar right away, she came back to seat us just after our reservation time.

The food comes in a few sizes, small bites (actually 1-2 bites), medium (think appetizer for 2) and entrees.

My husband tried the oysters and said they were amazing, we split the short rib risotto appetizer. I'm a little sad I had to share it! Just the perfect balance flavors. We both ordered entrees, duck and the Bacon Chop which were beyond spectacular.

This will be a must stop for us anytime we're in Monterey.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Handcrafted Cocktails, Great Beer, Bar Seating, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We've been coming ere for years. It nev ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 20, 2016

We've been coming ere for years. It never disappoints. Great, creative cocktails. Excellent happy hour with small bites. Crème brulee is still the best.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Happy Hour, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Modern Decor, People Watching, Fun, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent service and great food. Loved ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 20, 2016

Excellent service and great food. Loved the 48 hour bacon, bacon chop and scallops!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The service was great Josè did a fantast ...

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on November 20, 2016

The service was great Josè did a fantastic job with recommendations, and service. The food was excellent. We hadn't been at Montrio in a couple if years; it still is a great choice while in Monterey.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Food was excellent as usual. Service wa ...

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on November 19, 2016

Food was excellent as usual. Service was great she was very personable and helpful. The only negative is that they gave away our usual table but it was given to a couple celebrating an anniversary so hope they enjoyed it.

Tags: Afternoon Tea, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

The food is consistently excellent at Mo ...

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on November 19, 2016

The food is consistently excellent at Montrio which is why it is always our go-to restaurant for special occasions. They have an excellent selection of wines by the glass, too. The oysters were a little small (Myagi) but they were so fresh. The scallop crudo is another exxcellent appetizer. For entrees, we can recommend the boneless short rib and the salmon. The service is always excellent, too.

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We have been there twice now as we trav ...

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on November 15, 2016

We have been there twice now as we travel to the area. Food is outstanding, but the staff people are beyond great. fast service. hot food and exactly to my specifications..

Best dining in Monterey.

Tags: Authentic, Neighborhood Gem, Historic, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Bar Seating, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Casual, Special Occasion, Healthy, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

One of the best meals my husband and I h ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on November 12, 2016

One of the best meals my husband and I have had in a long time! Everything was simply excellent. Highlights include the carefully crafted cocktails, pasilla pepper polenta cornbread (served with the duck - also delicious), the sirloin steak and Parmesan truffle fries, and the creme brûlée. Service and ambiance were also superb. We can't wait to go back next time we are in Monterey!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Innovative menu. Everything we had was e ...

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Innovative menu. Everything we had was excellent. Loved the Bacon Chop! Also no corkage fee on bottles purchases from Taste of Monterey!

Tags: Comfort Food, Romantic, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A foodie's paradise! Great food in an u ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 11, 2016

A foodie's paradise! Great food in an upscale, attractive restaurant. Never disappoints.

Tags: Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Gluten Free Options, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Came here for an anniversary dinner and ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 8, 2016

Came here for an anniversary dinner and they put heart confetti on the table before we sat down and wrote "Happy Anniversary" on our dessert plate! Cute little touches that helped make our celebratory dinner extra special. My boyfriend is a chef and loved that you can pay a little extra to buy the cooking staff drinks!

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Everything was great. Really liked scall ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Everything was great. Really liked scallops and white chocolate bread pudding.

Tags: Modern Decor, Good for a Date, Cozy, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Another wonderful dining experience at M ...

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Another wonderful dining experience at Montrio. Our party of three shared oysters, bacon-wrapped shrimp, scallop small plate, and two entrees -- duck breast and pork chop. Everything was delicious and our server was fantastic.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Pre/post Theatre, Bar Seating, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My companion and I had a great time. Fo ...

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on November 6, 2016

My companion and I had a great time. Food was absolutely fabulous and the wait staff very knowledgeable about the menu. Definitely will return.

Tags: Cozy, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We enjoyed the specialty cocktails (not ...

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on November 5, 2016

We enjoyed the specialty cocktails (not too sweet) and the wine list had some good choices. The white anchovies were fresh, but a bit over-vinegared and bit overwhelmed by the pepperonata. Loved The dry aged NY strip was cooked properly and tasty, but they overcooked the green beans and fingerling potatoes. Loved the szechuan popcorn: those bites of fried confit are to die for and the spice on the popcorn was just right. Bread pudding was delicious, definitely worthy of its fame.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Tapas, Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Romantic, Private Room, Sunday Lunch, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

Our main server was great, but the woman ...

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on November 5, 2016

Our main server was great, but the woman that served us was apathetic and rude. Disappointing. Also, it was very noisy. We sat close to the kitchen, and they kept ringing a loud bell. What's up with that?

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service2
value2

The food was subpar for the price. I am ...

vip
 (Central Coast)·Dined on November 5, 2016

The food was subpar for the price. I am wasting my time writing about how poor the service was.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service1
value1

Great meal as always. We try to go when ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on November 4, 2016

Great meal as always. We try to go whenever we are in town.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Welcoming ambience, friendly and attenti ...

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on November 4, 2016

Welcoming ambience, friendly and attentive staff and excellent food. A very good dining experience.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Casual, Business Meals, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Modern Decor, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Half price wine on Sundays. Small plate ...

vip
 (Tahoe)·Dined on October 31, 2016

Half price wine on Sundays. Small plates, medium plates and regular entrees.

Service was good. Food even better.

Tags: Private Room, Modern Decor, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

Food was fair at best. Waitress never me ...

 
 (London)·Dined on October 29, 2016

Food was fair at best. Waitress never mentioned specials, nor could answer most questions regarding dish preparation. If she's not excited about the dishes then that does not get me excited about ordering. I requested a cocktail not on the menu and was told their bartender was the best in Monterey so try something off the menu. 4 of 5 guests did not like their dinner. Dessert was ok.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2

So creative and delicious! Loved this re ...

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on October 28, 2016

So creative and delicious! Loved this restaurant!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Beautiful restaurant and good food

 
 (Austin)·Dined on October 27, 2016

Beautiful restaurant and good food

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Es war ein schöner Abend in toller Atmos ...

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on October 26, 2016

Es war ein schöner Abend in toller Atmosphäre. Das Essen war tadellos, ebenso der Service. Allerdings ist der Geräuchpegel in amerikanischen Restaurants gewöhnungsbedürftig. Das ändert aber nichts an der Bewertung: Uneingeschränkt empfehlenswert.

Tags: Ideal für Mittagessen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Everyone was so pleased with the restaur ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on October 24, 2016

Everyone was so pleased with the restaurant, they went back the next night.

Tags: Casual, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

I have been here several times and have ...

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on October 23, 2016

I have been here several times and have always loved it.

Tags: Bar Seating, Hot Spot, Good for Birthdays, Happy Hour, Neighborhood Gem, Tapas, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

While our food was quite good, the cockt ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 23, 2016

While our food was quite good, the cocktails didn't seem to have much or their main ingredient.

The biggest drawback was that for $140 dinner for two, you wouldn't think your appetizer plates would be snatched without a word, to make room for a rushed entree to be delivered!

Maybe they over booked for a Saturday night, but there's really no excuse.

We decided not to stay for a rushed dessert or a nitecap.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value2

Excellent service. Everyone was graciou ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on October 23, 2016

Excellent service. Everyone was gracious and attentive. It made the experience even better than just the food. The restaurant itself is very attractive inside and clean. The appetizers, main, and dessert we ordered were all tasty and no flaws to speak of. I would return again. I rarely eat dessert, but I would here again. They definitely excel here.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

We have been coming to Montrio for sever ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 22, 2016

We have been coming to Montrio for several years now, and we are almost always very satisfied with our experience.

Tasty food served with care by the service team, in a festive ambiance.

Tags: Casual, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

My wife and I were visiting from Seattle ...

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on October 22, 2016

My wife and I were visiting from Seattle. We found Montrio Bistro on OpenTable and selected it based off the reviews. It was outstanding. We shared the artichoke and I had some oysters for our appetizer. The oysters came with a cucumber and jalapeño water. Delicious !! I had the bacon chop over crusted mac-n-cheese...which was awesome. We would highly recommend Montrio Bistro. Enjoy !!

Tags: Historic, Notable Wine List, Tasting Menu, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.