About Montgomery Inn - Fort Mitchell

400 Buttermilk Pike
Fort Mitchell, KY 41017
View Larger Map

Upbeat, fun atmosphere – from the Montgomery Inn in Ft. Mitchell, KY, the sweet smell of our barbecued ribs now wafts from a point south of the Ohio River.

Our world-famous ribs are definitely a hard act to follow. That’s why we also offer equally out-of-this-world entrées and combos, signature appetizers, soups and salads, and seriously decadent desserts. And if you have little ones who refuse to eat anything that’s not a nugget, children’s menus are available as well.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Barbecue, American

Hours of Operation:


Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:00am - 3:00pm

Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 3:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday: 3:00pm - 10:30pm, Saturday: 3:00pm - 11:00pm, Sunday: 3:00pm - 9:00pm

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(859) 344-5333

Website:
http://www.montgomeryinn.com/kentucky-montgomery-inn.php

Catering:
We offer both self-service & full-service catering options to meet almost any need. Self-Service provides disposable serving-ware, bibs (yes, bibs) and wet naps for both delivery or pick-up.

Our Full-Service team arrives approximately 45 minutes prior to your scheduled time. We provide buffet tables, linens, chafing dishes and sterno. We will serve your guests buffet-style and provide general clean up after the meal.

Catering service is available in Greater Cincinnati and N. Ky areas.

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Montgomery Inn - Fort Mitchell Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.1

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

3.9

ambience

3.9

value

3.6

noise

Moderate

83% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (14)
Good for Groups (14)
Great for Lunch (8)
See All
Neighborhood Gem (8)
Fit for Foodies (5)
Great for Outdoor Dining (3)
Kid-friendly (2)
Scenic View (2)
Romantic (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Sort By:
Newest
124 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

I did not think the quality of the food ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

I did not think the quality of the food fit the price. The building and restaurant itself is very nice.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value1

Definitely wanted to try the ribs since ...

vip
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

Definitely wanted to try the ribs since we heard they were the best around. They are different than any other we had. They are tasty and the half bbq chicken is very good as well.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was excellent and it was a very wea ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Food was excellent and it was a very weather friendly evening on the patio.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

We have enjoyed dinning at the Montgomer ...

vip
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

We have enjoyed dinning at the Montgomery Inn as long as we have lived in Ohio but the closest location is almost an hour drive and always crowded so we rarely visit there. This weekend we were attending an event at the Cincinnati Airport and learned there is a location in Fort Mitchell only about a ten minute drive even in 5 o’clock traffic. It is just east of I-75 but sits about 100 yards north of Buttermilk Parkway so it maybe a little difficult to find. To our surprise the restaurant was almost empty! It is a very nice location with a wonderful patio! Service is the best I have had at a Montgomery Inn location and the ribs are the usual Cincinnati tradition. It was really a great un-rushed evening.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

Awesome food, awesome service and an alt ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

Awesome food, awesome service and an altogether awesome dining experience. Would recommend and hope to return when in the area. Loved it!

Tags: Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was great except for my husband ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

The food was great except for my husband's filet. We have had the filets numerous times at the Boathouse and Ft. Mitchell but it didn't even look like a filet. It was quite warm on Sunday as well. Guess the AC was having a hard time keeping up!

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Happy birthday

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on June 3, 2016

Told it was the best ribs in town, but they were just ok wife's scallops in salad had shell bits in it and the rib king salad wouldn't satisfy my 3 year old...never seen anything with king in the name be so small......

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value1

One of our favorite places for dinner. C ...

vip
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on May 25, 2016

One of our favorite places for dinner. Can't go wrong with their ribs and chicken combo.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

what stood out... our food was delicious ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on May 22, 2016

what stood out... our food was delicious

just wish they had warm bread...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Our experience was good. Once we were s ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on May 21, 2016

Our experience was good. Once we were seated, we had to wait awhile before anyone came to our table with water, and then we watched several waiters and waitresses go past our table without stopping. It was quiet a while before our waitress came to our table. We really didn't see a lot of her, but when she did stop at our table she was very pleasant.

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

Great evening!

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on May 21, 2016

Enjoyed a tasty dinner with another couple and were able to speak to each other and be heard.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Darn Good Brisket

vip
 (Atlantic City)
·Dined on May 20, 2016

All Montgomery Inn locations serve excellent brisket, although the ribs and pulled pork are not to be overlooked! Great meal! I've never been disappointed at any of the Montgomery Inn locations. Enjoy!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The chicken was great!

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on May 6, 2016

The chicken was great!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

very dissapointed

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on May 1, 2016

The seating was timely. No one acknowledged our presence for over 10 minutes The waitress was noticeably irritated , that she was responsible for our table. The food was good, one member of our party did not recieve her meal until the waitress was notified( that meal was comped). I regret the tip I gave, it did not reflect the service or friendliness.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service1
value1

Food was ok. I'm a big barbecue fan so ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on April 29, 2016

Food was ok. I'm a big barbecue fan so when you are used to Kansas City Barbecue it's hard to find places that compare. Overall the food was good though

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4

High Hopes Unfulfilled

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on April 28, 2016

Montgomery Inn is a Cincinnati institution, and I think that's made them terribly lazy. Their ambiance is confused; it appears to be trying to be a swanky place from the 50s (that is to say, terrifyingly dated), but their menu, bar offerings, and service are more like a mid-90s Applebee's. Grouping bottles of wine by their price points and having fast service speaks more to a casual place than the visual clues seem to indicate. It's disjointed and off-putting from the start.

All of this could be forgivable if the food was satisfying. It was not. My wife got the two-course meal, I got the three. Our "crostini" was soggy garlic bread, our salad was over-dressed, and our cheesecake was totally unremarkable. But that's not what you come for, right? You come for the ribs. Montgomery Inn proudly tells you that every US President since Gerald Ford has had their ribs, but both my wife's and my order of ribs were overdone and dry. When the waiter asked me how my food was, I replied with a very dour "It's alright," hoping to convey my dissatisfaction. What I got in response was "Just alright? Okay," and no more discussion was had on the matter.

Just go to the grocery store, buy a bottle of their delicious BBQ sauce, and make your ribs at home. You'll save a fortune and have a better meal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service2
value1

The quality of the ribs did not live up ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on April 20, 2016

The quality of the ribs did not live up to the standard I am use to at Montgomery Inn.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5

Donna was an awesome server for us. She ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on April 19, 2016

Donna was an awesome server for us. She was very polite and always checking on us.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Cincinnati Favorite

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on April 10, 2016

This is a favorite of my family. I loved the new addition of the 2 course for $22. I was able to get a salad again! I am partial to the ribs and chicken, but the other dishes are not to be missed either.

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We enjoyed the endless rib special, whic ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on February 28, 2016

We enjoyed the endless rib special, which is always a family favorite of ours.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Not happy!

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on February 28, 2016

Ribs were dry and over cooked!

We had a 7:00 reservation but did not get seated until 7:30 despite the fact that tables were open.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service2
value1

Excellent

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on February 14, 2016

This was our second Valentines in a row here. Absolutely perfect again. Highly recommend.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Wow........poor service

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on February 13, 2016

I'm shocked at the poor service I received at this location. I've been a fan of Montgomery Inn and their products for years. I reserved a table ahead of time to take my family of 4 for an early Valentine Dinner. We were seated right away. Water was poured for the two adults at our table. Nothing was brought for our kids. After 20 minutes, I had to let the manager know at the kiosk no one had come to our table. He went to the back and retrieved a waiter. The waiter was gruff, and obviously in a hurry. Our food was brought by a different "server". No one checked to see if it was correct, and no one offered us refills on our drinks. Our entire area received poor service (to the right of the entry door), and it was very apparent to the customers in attendance. When our check was left, the waiter commented........in case I don't get back to your table, here's your check. The entire time the manager stood at the kiosk with 3 young ladies, and paid no attention to customers. You would think he'd at least double check to see if the poor service was alleviated. Really, really disappointed with what is supposedly a staple of the area.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value1

Cincy favorite

vip
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on January 15, 2016

Always a good meal. Take a lot of out of town guests as this is a Cincy tradition. You get plenty of food, but think it is a bit over priced. $30 dollars an entree seems a bit pricey and keeps us from coming more frequently with just the family compared to what you get. Appetizers came almost at the same time as the food, but again overall quality was really good.

Tags: Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value2

Food taste

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on January 10, 2016

Yes the service was great and the food was hot but unfortunately the taste of both meal was not very pleasant. My wife's chicken was very dry and way over spiced. The broccoli had so much pepper on it that it was Un edible. My plater was good except it tasted like it had sat out and dried out so they put extra sauce on it to make it seem fresh. And for the 50.00 dollar bill it was not worth the 40 minute drive to eat there.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service5
value3

Good Times....Good Food....Great Friendly Service.

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on January 1, 2016

It was a last minute thought for New Years Eve dinner, not only were they open but they were able to handle my reservation for four people at 8:00. There was NO wait once we got there and was seated right away. the service was outstanding and I will return. We had a great time and and great food.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Love the Atmosphere

vip
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on January 1, 2016

Love coming to this Montgomery Inn location. Love the atmosphere and the service. We purposely come from Cincinnati to this location because we love it here.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This occasion my husbands ribs were terrible.

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on December 31, 2015

Not a happy person. My husbands ribs were terrible.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

Slow service, not busy either. Food was ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on December 23, 2015

Slow service, not busy either. Food was warm at best. Waiter didn't check on us. Disappointed.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

Always Fabulous

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on December 15, 2015

The Montgomery Inn always provides great food. They are very flexible to your needs and always prompt and courteous.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The rub on the all white chicken was ama ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on December 12, 2015

The rub on the all white chicken was amazing. In my opinion, the entree should come with a salad. Brussels sprouts were just ok. Not enough bacon. Cooked have been sautéed longer.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

The duck was very good.

vip
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on December 11, 2015

The duck was very good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3

Our waiter was not very attentive. We ha ...

vip
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on December 6, 2015

Our waiter was not very attentive. We had to ask for items several times. In addition, we ordered an appetizer which was very delayed in arriving. Our food was served very quickly after the appetizer arrived. The waiter took the entrees back to kitchen but they were "heated up" rather than fresh. The restaurant was pretty empty- maybe the service is why.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2

Delicious BBQ Sauce and Great Service

 
 (Jackson Hole)
·Dined on November 28, 2015

Our group of five ate at the Montgomery Inn on November 28 and had a great dinner. The ribs fell right off the bone and their signature BBQ sauce was awesome. We also ordered a bottle of red wine, which was very good and reasonably priced. Family members of ours who live in the area have taken us there twice now, and both times it did not disappoint. We will definitely be back!

Tags: Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Service

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on November 14, 2015

Service was awesome. Celebrating our 18th wedding anniversary, have a great time.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Great For a Business Lunch

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on October 26, 2015

Montgomery Inn Ft. Mitchell satisfied all of our needs for a business lunch, with call ahead seating for a group, they were all set up and ready for us when we walked in. The waiter was prompt, friendly and accurate, the food was delicious, with a menu that pleased everyone's tastes. I would definitely recommend them for lunch or dinner.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

True Montgomery Inn food without having ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on October 16, 2015

True Montgomery Inn food without having to go to Kenwood or Boathouse where crowds are large

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

Ho Hum!

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on September 30, 2015

After all of the anticipation, I was disappointed in my visit to Montgomery Inn. While the service was good and the green fried tomatos very good, the ribs were not as expected. The meat was a dry and the sauce was over loaded and nothing about it made it stand out. This was a one and done experience for me and my companion.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3

Good bbq,nothing else

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on September 5, 2015

Went for my husband's birthday because he loves bbq,I do not. He loved the bbq he got, my filet was $36 and charred and extremely dry I drank about five glasses of water just to get half the steak down. It is a really old school place, similar to your grandparents house. If you want good bbq go to Montgomery inn just don't take anyone that doesn't like bbq. Their menu for that and ability to cook anything but bbq is substandard.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service4

We brought out of town guests and everyo ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on September 4, 2015

We brought out of town guests and everyone had great food and a good time. They were very impressed with the ribs.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.