About Montgomery Inn - Fort Mitchell

Upbeat, fun atmosphere – from the Montgomery Inn in Ft. Mitchell, KY, the sweet smell of our barbecued ribs now wafts from a point south of the Ohio River.

Our world-famous ribs are definitely a hard act to follow. That’s why we also offer equally out-of-this-world entrées and combos, signature appetizers, soups and salads, and seriously decadent desserts. And if you have little ones who refuse to eat anything that’s not a nugget, children’s menus are available as well.

400 Buttermilk Pike
Fort Mitchell, KY 41017
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Barbecue, American

Hours of Operation:


Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:00am - 3:00pm

Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 3:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday: 3:00pm - 10:30pm, Saturday: 3:00pm - 11:00pm, Sunday: 3:00pm - 9:00pm

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(859) 344-5333

Website:
http://www.montgomeryinn.com/kentucky-montgomery-inn.php

Catering:
We offer both self-service & full-service catering options to meet almost any need. Self-Service provides disposable serving-ware, bibs (yes, bibs) and wet naps for both delivery or pick-up.

Our Full-Service team arrives approximately 45 minutes prior to your scheduled time. We provide buffet tables, linens, chafing dishes and sterno. We will serve your guests buffet-style and provide general clean up after the meal.

Catering service is available in Greater Cincinnati and N. Ky areas.

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Montgomery Inn - Fort Mitchell Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.4

ambience

4.3

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

100% would recommend it to a friend

Casual (11)
Special Occasion (7)
Good for Birthdays (6)
See All
Good for Groups (6)
Business Meals (6)
Comfort Food (6)
Good for a Date (6)
Romantic (6)
Great for Lunch (5)
Quiet Conversation (5)
Authentic (5)
Worth the Drive (4)
Happy Hour (3)
Family Style (3)
Pre/post Theatre (3)
Cozy (3)
Bar Seating (3)
Seasonal (3)
Tasting Menu (2)
Good for Anniversaries (2)
Fit for Foodies (2)
Neighborhood Gem (2)
Fireplace (1)
Scenic View (1)
Waterfront (1)
Live Sports (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Historic (1)
Creative Cuisine (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Fun (1)
Sort By:
S
183 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on August 12, 2017

Dined at Ft.Mitchell, Ky location that was just off I-75 on our way to South Carolina from Michigan. Had the specialty of the house ribs and they were terrific, which was the reason we stopped there. Our server, Tom, was exceptional, and the atmosphere was comfortable and not overly noisy. Although they have many other items on the menu, the ribs are what they are famous for and justifiably so. Will definitely stop there again when we are in the area.

Tags: Authentic, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on July 28, 2017

Smelled bad like cleaning chemicals and old dishwater. Beer tasted old. The app arrived with main. Ribs were excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service2
value2

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on July 9, 2017

!st time for the ribs, and thought not as good as other places,as are priced even lower for 1/2 slab, though sauce was outstanding.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

vip
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on July 6, 2017

We hadn't been here recently, we used to come regularly and stopped because it wasn't entirely non-smoking. We learned that they had gone non-smoking and brought a family group for dinner. Everything was terrific, food and service great. We will be coming back regularly again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on July 2, 2017

Visiting from out of town

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on June 6, 2017

We were there to look at their accommodations for a very special event in October and stayed for dinner. The food and service were very good. Stan, the management staff for the evening was the perfect host.

Tags: Good for a Date, Comfort Food, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Happy Hour, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on June 2, 2017

We went in for an early dinner when my family was in town from Illinois. They wanted BBQ and Montgomery Inn did not disappoint. My parents really enjoyed it.

Tags: Good for Groups, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on May 28, 2017

Great service and great food. Will definitely plan to return.

Tags: Special Occasion, Comfort Food, Cozy, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on May 28, 2017

Was great overall

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on May 20, 2017

Good food with excellent service! Nice atmospher. We enjoyed it.

Tags: Live Sports, Kid-friendly, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on May 19, 2017

I have enjoyed two of your locations for years.
The food is always good. I love the crab cakes with chili mayonnaise, the onion straws.
I miss the tournedos of beef - they were wonderful.
The bloody mary I had was excellent.
Our waitstaff person, Cristen (sp?) was top-notch.
I had the duck and shrimp combo this time - for some reason it just didn't taste as good as I expected. (But I don't eat a lot of duck).

Tags: Bar Seating, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on May 14, 2017

Seated right away even though we were early for reservation. Good food. Nice atmosphere.

Tags: Cozy, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Food (ribs, original) juicy, meaty. Prices exorbitant, so I don't recommend it for a regular weekly fare (maybe every other month).

Tags: Seasonal, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Eating in between a show at the Aronoff Center and a dance recital for my granddaughter -
We were on a time limit to get to the recital - everything worked perfect and food was great,
Staff was great!

Tags: Happy Hour, Seasonal, Great for Lunch, Casual, Fun, Comfort Food, Authentic, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on May 6, 2017

We live in Nashville and always try to go to Montgomery Inn when we are in town. The last two times we visited our ribs were in the dry side. They usually fall right off the bone, but lately this hasn't been the case. We only go about 3 times a year which makes the last 2 visits disappointing for the price.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Comfort Food, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on May 3, 2017

Predictablly delicious. You won't get a bad slab of ribs with the original Montgomery Inn ribs. Always fall off the bone tender and delicious. Always great service.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on May 2, 2017

Work meeting

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on April 29, 2017

Great food! A reservation got us a table at the hostess stand so it was quite noisy. And both our waitress and a man who was helping her were neither friendly nor customer-service oriented. If you are looking for something a bit quiet and to receive great service, this is not the restaurant for you.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service2
value3

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on April 15, 2017

Very happy with service , food was great wait time was minimal

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on April 7, 2017

Great service and great atmosphere for my date night with the girlfriend. Was very pleased with the music and professionalism the server had

Tags: Worth the Drive, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Sunday Lunch, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on March 31, 2017

Food was great and our server Leigh Ann was awesome! She went above and beyond and when she found out it was our anniversary, brought us a small dessert to share. We appreciated that!!

Tags: Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Indiana)·Dined on March 31, 2017

Food below expectations. Service high quality

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value2

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on March 18, 2017

Food was delicious and service was quick and friendly.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on March 17, 2017

The service was great. Polly, our server, was excellent and Stan is a gracious host.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Afternoon Coffee, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on March 2, 2017

Ribs were great, as usual. I especially liked the brussel sprouts. The only thing, I though the wine by the glass was pricey and the selection was small. But...the quality of the wine was good.

Tags: Good for a Date, Sunday Lunch, Business Meals, Happy Hour, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on February 28, 2017

The few times I go to Montgomery Inn, I'm always pleasantly surprised by the food. The Ft. Mitchell location is a bit 'tired'. The atmosphere could be updated at some point. I had the Coho salmon and it was delicious! Key lime pie was a pleasant treat at the end of the meal.

Tags: Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3
value2

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on February 25, 2017

Very good as always. Attentive but not overly bearing server.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on February 24, 2017

Had a great first time experience. Will definitely go back and also suggest to friends and family.

Tags: Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on February 19, 2017

French Fries cold... Fish sandwich was fishy... Not freshly fried...
Father's ribs were tough and had to be sent back
My mother's and husband's food was acceptable

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Seated fast. Great and quick service. Wonderful meal

Tags: Outstanding Value, Great for Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Came here for dinner before checking into airport hotel for an early flight out. Food was good, ribs & shredded Brussels sprout. Although, very pricy for only two items. Feel they should offer two sides with the ribs price. Service was good had a nice gentleman for our server. Bathrooms need a makeover. Very old, dirty and the metal divider walls between the stalls wall were rusted and the paint was peeling off. Floors were sticky and shoes were sticking to the floor as people (guest and waiters) walked past us. Overall,, we enjoyed our meal and had a good time with the other couple we dined with.

Tags: Comfort Food, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Our time at Montgomery Inn was very nice, it is one of our favorite places. The service provided by our waitress was wonderful, she did a great job and she was super friendly and personable. The food was very good, as always :-)

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on February 4, 2017

It was our 28th wedding anniversary, food was wonderful. We had a nice time

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Great for Brunch, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Always enjoy the food!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Good experience and much better access than other locations.

Tags: Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

vip
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on January 14, 2017

Our dinner was fantastic. Our waitress was a young lady who was extremely personable and so extremely helpful. I will definitely be back.

Tags: Good for a Date, Comfort Food, Great Beer, Cozy, Local Ingredients, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on January 14, 2017

Was there at 4pm on saturday. Not crowded at all, all you can eat ribs. Took a while to get are food seeing as there was not many people there, when it did arive the ribs were cold. placed a refill order and them came very burnt. this was my first trip there and likley will not return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on January 14, 2017

Very engaging and fast service. Very accommodating for gluten issues.

Tags: Good for a Date, Comfort Food, Gluten Free Options, Local Ingredients, Quiet Conversation, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on January 13, 2017

Service was great as always we went for the all you eat ribs I'm upset I didn't wheat as many as I did last time but IL be back

Tags: Live Music, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value2

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on January 13, 2017

Great service and options for lunch as well as dinner.

Tags: Outstanding Value, Good for Groups, Authentic, Great for Lunch, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.