About Montgomery Inn - Fort Mitchell

400 Buttermilk Pike
Fort Mitchell, KY 41017
View Larger Map

Upbeat, fun atmosphere – from the Montgomery Inn in Ft. Mitchell, KY, the sweet smell of our barbecued ribs now wafts from a point south of the Ohio River.

Our world-famous ribs are definitely a hard act to follow. That’s why we also offer equally out-of-this-world entrées and combos, signature appetizers, soups and salads, and seriously decadent desserts. And if you have little ones who refuse to eat anything that’s not a nugget, children’s menus are available as well.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Barbecue, American

Hours of Operation:


Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:00am - 3:00pm

Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 3:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday: 3:00pm - 10:30pm, Saturday: 3:00pm - 11:00pm, Sunday: 3:00pm - 9:00pm

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(859) 344-5333

Website:
http://www.montgomeryinn.com/kentucky-montgomery-inn.php

Catering:
We offer both self-service & full-service catering options to meet almost any need. Self-Service provides disposable serving-ware, bibs (yes, bibs) and wet naps for both delivery or pick-up.

Our Full-Service team arrives approximately 45 minutes prior to your scheduled time. We provide buffet tables, linens, chafing dishes and sterno. We will serve your guests buffet-style and provide general clean up after the meal.

Catering service is available in Greater Cincinnati and N. Ky areas.

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Montgomery Inn - Fort Mitchell Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.1

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.0

service

4.2

ambience

3.8

value

3.4

noise

Moderate

79% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (9)
Good for Groups (6)
Casual (4)
See All
Quiet Conversation (4)
Good for a Date (4)
Good for Birthdays (4)
Good for Anniversaries (3)
Worth the Drive (3)
Neighborhood Gem (3)
Business Meals (3)
Family Style (3)
Pre/post Theatre (3)
Bar Seating (2)
Historic (2)
Comfort Food (2)
Great for Lunch (2)
Kid-friendly (2)
Romantic (2)
Live Sports (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Fun (1)
Great Beer (1)
People Watching (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Cozy (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Sort By:
S
135 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

We were there on a rainy, dreary night a ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on November 28, 2016

We were there on a rainy, dreary night and there were very few diners. Our waiter was very attentive, giving suggestions about food and drink. The food was okay, nothing to get excited about. I'm only speaking re what I ordered - crab cake appetizer, salad and baked sweet potato. Probably better to stick with ribs/meat.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value3

The Ribs are our favorite! Excellent s ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on November 26, 2016

The Ribs are our favorite! Excellent service as always!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We were seated quickly after arriving. ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on November 19, 2016

We were seated quickly after arriving. Drink orders were taken within a short time, and we were given adequate time to make our menu selections. Their 2 for $22 deal is a good value--you choose one item from appetizer/salad/soup and one of the entrees; another side comes with the entree. My husband had the salmon and said it was very good; I had the ribs which were very meaty and well seasoned and coated with the famous Montgomery Inn barbecue sauce. For me, there was more than enough food so I took half of it home. My son had the beef brisket sandwich and said it was very good. Our waitress was very attentive and friendly. We enjoyed our meal and will return.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Disabled Access, Comfort Food, Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Kid-friendly, Casual, Good for a Date, Great for Lunch, Family Style, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

The odor when you first came in was like ...

vip
 (Indiana)·Dined on October 20, 2016

The odor when you first came in was like the dishwashing station. The restrooms need MAJOR updating and maintenance. The brisket was truly the worst I have ever had. The flavor was actually good, but the quality of meat was worse than I would feed my dog because it was over 3/4 fat! Advice to owner - get a different meat supplier, it a terrible low grade product you are buying and then serving. This local chain used to be top notch - what happened?? Only redemption was they owned up to it by comping the brisket portion of my meal. Come on MI, you can do so much better.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value2

For a place known for their ribs, the BB ...

vip
 (Indiana)·Dined on October 8, 2016

For a place known for their ribs, the BBQ sauce was terrible. Service was also quite slow and there was only maybe 20 customers in the restaurant. I won't be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1

Muy buena comida, las costillas estan es ...

vip
 (Monterrey)·Dined on October 8, 2016

Muy buena comida, las costillas estan espectaculares asi como sus ensaladas!

Tags: punto de atracción, comidas de negocios, ideal para cenas al aire libre, buena opción para grupos
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Had a great meal the best ribs I have ha ...

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on October 1, 2016

Had a great meal the best ribs I have had in years. Our waiter made the meal extra special by keeping our glasses full and not bothering us much but being sure all we needed was taken care of. Volume got a bit loud but not bothersome more just people having a good time. Our first time there we were let down but well worth giving any place a 2nd chance.

Tags: Special Occasion, People Watching, Local Ingredients, Worth the Drive, Bar Seating, Live Sports, Historic, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

I've only dined at the Boathouse locatio ...

vip
 (Indiana)·Dined on September 25, 2016

I've only dined at the Boathouse location, and it's been awhile, but I enjoyed the ambiance much more with the sweeping river views. This location was staffed with friendly people, but it seemed lacking in that "something special." The decor is very old and nothing unique. The food was okay, but not special. The house chips were still crunchy and good, but served cold. The original ribs were more moist than the new hickory smoked ones, which were very dry but had a nice, smoky taste. The brussels sprouts would be better roasted since they were steamed and soggy. I'm not sure if I was more enamored with this place when I was younger, or it needs some updating to the ambiance and refreshing of the menu. Doing so many attract a younger clientele--while we dined, we were the only non-senior citizens I could see until a man, roughly 30, sat at the bar to watch a game and have some sliders.

Tags: Paleo Friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value3

The service and food were excellent. Se ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on September 23, 2016

The service and food were excellent. Second time we have visited during a business trip to Cincinnati. Have enjoyed it both times.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I did not think the quality of the food ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on August 14, 2016

I did not think the quality of the food fit the price. The building and restaurant itself is very nice.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value1

Definitely wanted to try the ribs since ...

vip
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on August 5, 2016

Definitely wanted to try the ribs since we heard they were the best around. They are different than any other we had. They are tasty and the half bbq chicken is very good as well.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was excellent and it was a very wea ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on July 16, 2016

Food was excellent and it was a very weather friendly evening on the patio.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

We have enjoyed dinning at the Montgomer ...

vip
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on July 14, 2016

We have enjoyed dinning at the Montgomery Inn as long as we have lived in Ohio but the closest location is almost an hour drive and always crowded so we rarely visit there. This weekend we were attending an event at the Cincinnati Airport and learned there is a location in Fort Mitchell only about a ten minute drive even in 5 o’clock traffic. It is just east of I-75 but sits about 100 yards north of Buttermilk Parkway so it maybe a little difficult to find. To our surprise the restaurant was almost empty! It is a very nice location with a wonderful patio! Service is the best I have had at a Montgomery Inn location and the ribs are the usual Cincinnati tradition. It was really a great un-rushed evening.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

Awesome food, awesome service and an alt ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on June 25, 2016

Awesome food, awesome service and an altogether awesome dining experience. Would recommend and hope to return when in the area. Loved it!

Tags: Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was great except for my husband ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on June 19, 2016

The food was great except for my husband's filet. We have had the filets numerous times at the Boathouse and Ft. Mitchell but it didn't even look like a filet. It was quite warm on Sunday as well. Guess the AC was having a hard time keeping up!

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Happy birthday

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on June 3, 2016

Told it was the best ribs in town, but they were just ok wife's scallops in salad had shell bits in it and the rib king salad wouldn't satisfy my 3 year old...never seen anything with king in the name be so small......

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value1

One of our favorite places for dinner. C ...

vip
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on May 25, 2016

One of our favorite places for dinner. Can't go wrong with their ribs and chicken combo.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

what stood out... our food was delicious ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on May 22, 2016

what stood out... our food was delicious

just wish they had warm bread...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Our experience was good. Once we were s ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on May 21, 2016

Our experience was good. Once we were seated, we had to wait awhile before anyone came to our table with water, and then we watched several waiters and waitresses go past our table without stopping. It was quiet a while before our waitress came to our table. We really didn't see a lot of her, but when she did stop at our table she was very pleasant.

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

Great evening!

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on May 21, 2016

Enjoyed a tasty dinner with another couple and were able to speak to each other and be heard.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Darn Good Brisket

vip
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on May 20, 2016

All Montgomery Inn locations serve excellent brisket, although the ribs and pulled pork are not to be overlooked! Great meal! I've never been disappointed at any of the Montgomery Inn locations. Enjoy!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The chicken was great!

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on May 6, 2016

The chicken was great!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

very dissapointed

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on May 1, 2016

The seating was timely. No one acknowledged our presence for over 10 minutes The waitress was noticeably irritated , that she was responsible for our table. The food was good, one member of our party did not recieve her meal until the waitress was notified( that meal was comped). I regret the tip I gave, it did not reflect the service or friendliness.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service1
value1

Food was ok. I'm a big barbecue fan so ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on April 29, 2016

Food was ok. I'm a big barbecue fan so when you are used to Kansas City Barbecue it's hard to find places that compare. Overall the food was good though

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4

High Hopes Unfulfilled

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on April 28, 2016

Montgomery Inn is a Cincinnati institution, and I think that's made them terribly lazy. Their ambiance is confused; it appears to be trying to be a swanky place from the 50s (that is to say, terrifyingly dated), but their menu, bar offerings, and service are more like a mid-90s Applebee's. Grouping bottles of wine by their price points and having fast service speaks more to a casual place than the visual clues seem to indicate. It's disjointed and off-putting from the start.

All of this could be forgivable if the food was satisfying. It was not. My wife got the two-course meal, I got the three. Our "crostini" was soggy garlic bread, our salad was over-dressed, and our cheesecake was totally unremarkable. But that's not what you come for, right? You come for the ribs. Montgomery Inn proudly tells you that every US President since Gerald Ford has had their ribs, but both my wife's and my order of ribs were overdone and dry. When the waiter asked me how my food was, I replied with a very dour "It's alright," hoping to convey my dissatisfaction. What I got in response was "Just alright? Okay," and no more discussion was had on the matter.

Just go to the grocery store, buy a bottle of their delicious BBQ sauce, and make your ribs at home. You'll save a fortune and have a better meal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service2
value1

The quality of the ribs did not live up ...

vip
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on April 20, 2016

The quality of the ribs did not live up to the standard I am use to at Montgomery Inn.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5

Donna was an awesome server for us. She ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on April 19, 2016

Donna was an awesome server for us. She was very polite and always checking on us.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Cincinnati Favorite

vip
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on April 10, 2016

This is a favorite of my family. I loved the new addition of the 2 course for $22. I was able to get a salad again! I am partial to the ribs and chicken, but the other dishes are not to be missed either.

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We enjoyed the endless rib special, whic ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on February 28, 2016

We enjoyed the endless rib special, which is always a family favorite of ours.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Not happy!

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on February 28, 2016

Ribs were dry and over cooked!

We had a 7:00 reservation but did not get seated until 7:30 despite the fact that tables were open.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service2
value1

Excellent

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on February 14, 2016

This was our second Valentines in a row here. Absolutely perfect again. Highly recommend.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Unique ambiance.

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on February 14, 2016

Unique ambiance.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3

Wow........poor service

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on February 13, 2016

I'm shocked at the poor service I received at this location. I've been a fan of Montgomery Inn and their products for years. I reserved a table ahead of time to take my family of 4 for an early Valentine Dinner. We were seated right away. Water was poured for the two adults at our table. Nothing was brought for our kids. After 20 minutes, I had to let the manager know at the kiosk no one had come to our table. He went to the back and retrieved a waiter. The waiter was gruff, and obviously in a hurry. Our food was brought by a different "server". No one checked to see if it was correct, and no one offered us refills on our drinks. Our entire area received poor service (to the right of the entry door), and it was very apparent to the customers in attendance. When our check was left, the waiter commented........in case I don't get back to your table, here's your check. The entire time the manager stood at the kiosk with 3 young ladies, and paid no attention to customers. You would think he'd at least double check to see if the poor service was alleviated. Really, really disappointed with what is supposedly a staple of the area.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value1

Cincy favorite

vip
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on January 15, 2016

Always a good meal. Take a lot of out of town guests as this is a Cincy tradition. You get plenty of food, but think it is a bit over priced. $30 dollars an entree seems a bit pricey and keeps us from coming more frequently with just the family compared to what you get. Appetizers came almost at the same time as the food, but again overall quality was really good.

Tags: Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value2

Food taste

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on January 10, 2016

Yes the service was great and the food was hot but unfortunately the taste of both meal was not very pleasant. My wife's chicken was very dry and way over spiced. The broccoli had so much pepper on it that it was Un edible. My plater was good except it tasted like it had sat out and dried out so they put extra sauce on it to make it seem fresh. And for the 50.00 dollar bill it was not worth the 40 minute drive to eat there.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service5
value3

Good Times....Good Food....Great Friendly Service.

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on January 1, 2016

It was a last minute thought for New Years Eve dinner, not only were they open but they were able to handle my reservation for four people at 8:00. There was NO wait once we got there and was seated right away. the service was outstanding and I will return. We had a great time and and great food.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Love the Atmosphere

vip
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on January 1, 2016

Love coming to this Montgomery Inn location. Love the atmosphere and the service. We purposely come from Cincinnati to this location because we love it here.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This occasion my husbands ribs were terrible.

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on December 31, 2015

Not a happy person. My husbands ribs were terrible.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

Slow service, not busy either. Food was ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on December 23, 2015

Slow service, not busy either. Food was warm at best. Waiter didn't check on us. Disappointed.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

Always Fabulous

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on December 15, 2015

The Montgomery Inn always provides great food. They are very flexible to your needs and always prompt and courteous.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.