About Montgomery Inn - Fort Mitchell

Upbeat, fun atmosphere – from the Montgomery Inn in Ft. Mitchell, KY, the sweet smell of our barbecued ribs now wafts from a point south of the Ohio River.

Our world-famous ribs are definitely a hard act to follow. That’s why we also offer equally out-of-this-world entrées and combos, signature appetizers, soups and salads, and seriously decadent desserts. And if you have little ones who refuse to eat anything that’s not a nugget, children’s menus are available as well.

400 Buttermilk Pike
Fort Mitchell, KY 41017
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Barbecue, American

Hours of Operation:


Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:00am - 3:00pm

Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 3:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday: 3:00pm - 10:30pm, Saturday: 3:00pm - 11:00pm, Sunday: 3:00pm - 9:00pm

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(859) 344-5333

Website:
http://www.montgomeryinn.com/kentucky-montgomery-inn.php

Catering:
We offer both self-service & full-service catering options to meet almost any need. Self-Service provides disposable serving-ware, bibs (yes, bibs) and wet naps for both delivery or pick-up.

Our Full-Service team arrives approximately 45 minutes prior to your scheduled time. We provide buffet tables, linens, chafing dishes and sterno. We will serve your guests buffet-style and provide general clean up after the meal.

Catering service is available in Greater Cincinnati and N. Ky areas.

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Montgomery Inn - Fort Mitchell Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.6

ambience

4.2

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (13)
Good for Groups (13)
Good for Anniversaries (13)
See All
Special Occasion (12)
Casual (10)
Comfort Food (10)
Worth the Drive (9)
Great for Lunch (6)
Good for Birthdays (6)
Family Style (6)
Sunday Lunch (5)
Business Meals (5)
Local Ingredients (4)
Romantic (4)
Quiet Conversation (4)
Cozy (4)
Historic (3)
Fun (3)
Bar Seating (3)
Authentic (3)
Great Beer (3)
Neighborhood Gem (3)
Outstanding Value (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Great for Brunch (2)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
Live Sports (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Live Music (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Creative Cuisine (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Fit for Foodies (1)
Sort By:
S
164 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on April 15, 2017

Very happy with service , food was great wait time was minimal

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on April 7, 2017

Great service and great atmosphere for my date night with the girlfriend. Was very pleased with the music and professionalism the server had

Tags: Worth the Drive, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Sunday Lunch, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on March 31, 2017

Food was great and our server Leigh Ann was awesome! She went above and beyond and when she found out it was our anniversary, brought us a small dessert to share. We appreciated that!!

Tags: Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Indiana)·Dined on March 31, 2017

Food below expectations. Service high quality

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value2

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on March 18, 2017

Food was delicious and service was quick and friendly.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on March 17, 2017

The service was great. Polly, our server, was excellent and Stan is a gracious host.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Afternoon Coffee, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on March 2, 2017

Ribs were great, as usual. I especially liked the brussel sprouts. The only thing, I though the wine by the glass was pricey and the selection was small. But...the quality of the wine was good.

Tags: Good for a Date, Sunday Lunch, Business Meals, Happy Hour, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on February 28, 2017

The few times I go to Montgomery Inn, I'm always pleasantly surprised by the food. The Ft. Mitchell location is a bit 'tired'. The atmosphere could be updated at some point. I had the Coho salmon and it was delicious! Key lime pie was a pleasant treat at the end of the meal.

Tags: Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3
value2

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on February 26, 2017

Very good as always. Attentive but not overly bearing server.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on February 24, 2017

Had a great first time experience. Will definitely go back and also suggest to friends and family.

Tags: Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on February 19, 2017

French Fries cold... Fish sandwich was fishy... Not freshly fried...
Father's ribs were tough and had to be sent back
My mother's and husband's food was acceptable

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Seated fast. Great and quick service. Wonderful meal

Tags: Outstanding Value, Great for Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Came here for dinner before checking into airport hotel for an early flight out. Food was good, ribs & shredded Brussels sprout. Although, very pricy for only two items. Feel they should offer two sides with the ribs price. Service was good had a nice gentleman for our server. Bathrooms need a makeover. Very old, dirty and the metal divider walls between the stalls wall were rusted and the paint was peeling off. Floors were sticky and shoes were sticking to the floor as people (guest and waiters) walked past us. Overall,, we enjoyed our meal and had a good time with the other couple we dined with.

Tags: Comfort Food, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Our time at Montgomery Inn was very nice, it is one of our favorite places. The service provided by our waitress was wonderful, she did a great job and she was super friendly and personable. The food was very good, as always :-)

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on February 4, 2017

It was our 28th wedding anniversary, food was wonderful. We had a nice time

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Great for Brunch, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Always enjoy the food!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Good experience and much better access than other locations.

Tags: Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

vip
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on January 15, 2017

Our dinner was fantastic. Our waitress was a young lady who was extremely personable and so extremely helpful. I will definitely be back.

Tags: Good for a Date, Comfort Food, Great Beer, Cozy, Local Ingredients, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on January 14, 2017

Was there at 4pm on saturday. Not crowded at all, all you can eat ribs. Took a while to get are food seeing as there was not many people there, when it did arive the ribs were cold. placed a refill order and them came very burnt. this was my first trip there and likley will not return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on January 14, 2017

Very engaging and fast service. Very accommodating for gluten issues.

Tags: Good for a Date, Comfort Food, Gluten Free Options, Local Ingredients, Family Style, Quiet Conversation, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on January 13, 2017

Service was great as always we went for the all you eat ribs I'm upset I didn't wheat as many as I did last time but IL be back

Tags: Live Music, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value2

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on January 13, 2017

Great service and options for lunch as well as dinner.

Tags: Outstanding Value, Good for Groups, Authentic, Great for Lunch, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on January 7, 2017

Great ribs

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on January 7, 2017

Food choices are very good in terms of quality. Prices are moderate to moderately high.

Tags: Live Sports, Great Beer, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on January 7, 2017

Montgomery Inn was the perfect place to meet halfway with my family from Kentucky to have dinner! Delicious food and great service!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Authentic, Modern Decor, Cozy, Family Style, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on December 31, 2016

A great New Years Eve dinner with several friends-seated promptly and not rushed at all .

Tags: Comfort Food, Good for Groups, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on December 24, 2016

Food was amazing as always and services was even better!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

vip
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on December 18, 2016

Had never been to Ft. Mitchell location for dinner, will never go again. Service after appetizers was non-existent. Appetizers were very good. The main courses, ribs (yes the ribs) , brisket and chopped steak were awful. Potatoes with entrees were cold. Had to send chopped steak back as it was cold. The ribs were dry, little meat and tasteless. I have never had ribs from Montgomery Inn that were not great. After entrees came and we needed attention for cold items, waiter was never in the area. I had to have hostess find him. I chose this place for my family to join me to celebrate my birthday. I was very disappointed and wish we had gone elsewhere.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value1

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on December 16, 2016

Besides waiting 10 minutes to get drinks , the food was good. Way overpriced but good

Tags: Bar Seating, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value2

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on November 28, 2016

We were there on a rainy, dreary night and there were very few diners. Our waiter was very attentive, giving suggestions about food and drink. The food was okay, nothing to get excited about. I'm only speaking re what I ordered - crab cake appetizer, salad and baked sweet potato. Probably better to stick with ribs/meat.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on November 26, 2016

The Ribs are our favorite! Excellent service as always!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on November 19, 2016

We were seated quickly after arriving. Drink orders were taken within a short time, and we were given adequate time to make our menu selections. Their 2 for $22 deal is a good value--you choose one item from appetizer/salad/soup and one of the entrees; another side comes with the entree. My husband had the salmon and said it was very good; I had the ribs which were very meaty and well seasoned and coated with the famous Montgomery Inn barbecue sauce. For me, there was more than enough food so I took half of it home. My son had the beef brisket sandwich and said it was very good. Our waitress was very attentive and friendly. We enjoyed our meal and will return.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Disabled Access, Comfort Food, Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Kid-friendly, Casual, Good for a Date, Great for Lunch, Family Style, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

vip
 (Indiana)·Dined on October 20, 2016

The odor when you first came in was like the dishwashing station. The restrooms need MAJOR updating and maintenance. The brisket was truly the worst I have ever had. The flavor was actually good, but the quality of meat was worse than I would feed my dog because it was over 3/4 fat! Advice to owner - get a different meat supplier, it a terrible low grade product you are buying and then serving. This local chain used to be top notch - what happened?? Only redemption was they owned up to it by comping the brisket portion of my meal. Come on MI, you can do so much better.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value2

vip
 (Indiana)·Dined on October 8, 2016

For a place known for their ribs, the BBQ sauce was terrible. Service was also quite slow and there was only maybe 20 customers in the restaurant. I won't be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value2

vip
 (Monterrey)·Dined on October 8, 2016

Muy buena comida, las costillas estan espectaculares asi como sus ensaladas!

Tags: Hot Spot, Business Meals, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on October 1, 2016

Had a great meal the best ribs I have had in years. Our waiter made the meal extra special by keeping our glasses full and not bothering us much but being sure all we needed was taken care of. Volume got a bit loud but not bothersome more just people having a good time. Our first time there we were let down but well worth giving any place a 2nd chance.

Tags: Special Occasion, People Watching, Local Ingredients, Worth the Drive, Bar Seating, Live Sports, Historic, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Indiana)·Dined on September 25, 2016

I've only dined at the Boathouse location, and it's been awhile, but I enjoyed the ambiance much more with the sweeping river views. This location was staffed with friendly people, but it seemed lacking in that "something special." The decor is very old and nothing unique. The food was okay, but not special. The house chips were still crunchy and good, but served cold. The original ribs were more moist than the new hickory smoked ones, which were very dry but had a nice, smoky taste. The brussels sprouts would be better roasted since they were steamed and soggy. I'm not sure if I was more enamored with this place when I was younger, or it needs some updating to the ambiance and refreshing of the menu. Doing so many attract a younger clientele--while we dined, we were the only non-senior citizens I could see until a man, roughly 30, sat at the bar to watch a game and have some sliders.

Tags: Paleo Friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value3

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on September 23, 2016

The service and food were excellent. Second time we have visited during a business trip to Cincinnati. Have enjoyed it both times.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on August 14, 2016

I did not think the quality of the food fit the price. The building and restaurant itself is very nice.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value1

vip
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on August 5, 2016

Definitely wanted to try the ribs since we heard they were the best around. They are different than any other we had. They are tasty and the half bbq chicken is very good as well.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.