About Montgomery Inn - At the Boathouse

925 Riverside Drive
Cincinnati, OH 45202
View Larger Map

Montgomery Inn at the Boathouse is one of the most popular restaurants in Greater Cincinnati. Our world-famous ribs, our friendly service, and our striking view of the Ohio River, makes us a unique restaurant that you and your friends & family will remember long after your meal is over.

Sports fans will love the upstairs sports lounge with sports memorabilia on the walls, as well as the autographed photos of famous visitors who have dropped by. So come on in and get yourself some ribs and watch your favorite team in a fun, classy atmosphere.

Our world-famous ribs are definitely a hard act to follow but we found a way. For dessert, indulge in another Cincinnati culinary tradition: Graeter's black raspberry chip ice cream.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Barbecue, American

Hours of Operation:


Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:00am - 3:00pm

Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 3:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday & Saturday: 3:00pm - 11:00pm, Sunday: 3:00pm - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
Eggleston Avenue

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(513) 721-7427

Website:
http://www.montgomeryinn.com/

Catering:
We offer both self-service & full-service catering options to meet almost any need. Self-Service provides disposable serving-ware, bibs (yes, bibs) and wet naps for both delivery or pick-up.

Our Full-Service team arrives approximately 45 minutes prior to your scheduled time. We provide buffet tables, linens, chafing dishes and sterno. We will serve your guests buffet-style and provide general clean up after the meal.

Catering service is available in Greater Cincinnati and N. Ky areas

Private Party Facilities:
Location and food make the event, and when you have yours at Montgomery Inn, you’ll see what we mean. For a joyous occasion like a rehearsal dinner, your guest will be even more excited knowing it’s going to be at Montgomery Inn. And if it’s a company meeting, your guests will be saying, “At least it’s going to be at Montgomery Inn!” For wedding receptions, rehearsal dinners, corporate events or even just a family get-together, just book the room and leave the details and worrying to us.

The Boathouse has room for groups as small as eight or as large as 90. It might just be the best place on the planet to have your event.

Private Party Contact:
Lisa Mikula: 5137217427x

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Private Room, Takeout, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Montgomery Inn - At the Boathouse Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.3

ambience

4.2

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

88% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Scenic View
Cincinnati / Dayton
Most Booked
Cincinnati / Dayton
Scenic View
Cincinnati
1 More
Most Booked
Cincinnati
Best Restaurants in Cincinnati ›

scenic view (270)
special occasion (190)
good for groups (149)
See All
great for lunch (92)
fit for foodies (85)
neighborhood gem (69)
romantic (65)
great for outdoor dining (65)
hot spot (61)
kid-friendly (60)
vibrant bar scene (20)
late-night find (18)
notable wine list (16)
great for brunch (14)
Sort By:
Newest
1177 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

The upstairs bar area was great. For di ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined 4 days ago

The upstairs bar area was great. For dinner we were placed at a tiny table in the crowded downstairs portion. Plenty of room for dining in the bar area I had just left. Very frustrating. I won't be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value4

We were seated right away and the servic ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined 4 days ago

We were seated right away and the service was excellent. Ribs and chicken was superb. Don't recommend cheesecake

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Gorgeous nighttime views! We had a wonde ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined 6 days ago

Gorgeous nighttime views! We had a wonderful evening at the boathouse. Our food was superb. We had 3 appetizers (we just couldn't decide!) The crostini was delicious and perfectly cooked. The calamari had both rings and tiny tentacled pieces. It was also delicious. The kitchen chips and onion straws combo basket had more than enough of each for my date and I to share. We ordered a rack of ribs and they were melt in your mouth tender and tasted amazing. For dessert my date had a puff pastry sundae and I had the homemade key lime pie. Both were delightful, but the pie was especially drool-worthy. We weren't disappointed with anything we ordered. The service was also outstanding. Tanner was friendly and attentive without being meddlesome. Great experience! Plus the Riverwalk just outside the restaurant is lovely.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We were very disappointed in the pricing ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined 6 days ago

We were very disappointed in the pricing. We used to go there and get salad and side dish included in our meal and now everything is ala carte. We wouldn't mind if the food was plentiful, but the quality wasn't the same as it was. There wasn't much meat on the chicken and the sweet potato was soggy.

Tags: good for groups, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value1

I was traveling on business and this res ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined 6 days ago

I was traveling on business and this restaurant was suggested. Great food. The beef brisket was tender and the grits were delicious. I enjoyed my meal and the service. I will definitely try something different next time I visit and will definitely come back when I am in the Cincinatti area.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The food was excellent and the service g ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

The food was excellent and the service great as well. I was ready to order the ribs and shrimp until a special was described. Well anyway both myself and my date ordered the special mahi-mahi and it was delicious. We also shared a wonderful bottle of Red Zinfandel and finish the meal was great cheese cake. Overall it was a very nice dinner and night.

Tags: special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Terrible food, crappy service, beautiful ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Terrible food, crappy service, beautiful atmosphere

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service2

Great atmosphere and scenic view food w ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Great atmosphere and scenic view food was overpriced and bland

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value2

We had terrible service and the ribs wer ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

We had terrible service and the ribs were not worth the price.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1
value1

Always great atmosphere and the ribs wer ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Always great atmosphere and the ribs were beyond expectation.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Prompt seating Friendly service Good foo ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Prompt seating

Friendly service

Good food

Dined outside

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Server, Lois, was fabulous. We were cel ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

Server, Lois, was fabulous. We were celebrating a birthday, requested a booth, and were so pleased and grateful to enjoy the coziness of the round booth at the far right. It was perfect!! We had celebrated in that very booth before! We relived memories and made more! The cod is outstanding; done to absolute perfection. The tartar sauce is superb! Thank you to the Montgomery Inn. As always...ribs can't be beat!

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food and service! Ribs and brisket ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 11, 2016

Great food and service! Ribs and brisket sandwich and pulled pork wrap were top notch. Mac n cheese side was pleasant surprise. Great meal!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

This restaurant has an excellent food an ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

This restaurant has an excellent food and drink selection! The atmosphere is nice and the views of the river and boat traffic are terrific.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We waited a long timers sit even though ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

We waited a long timers sit even though we had reservations. Waitress took forever to come over and she seemed incredibly rushed. The food was slow and while good, came out looking as though it had been sitting on the line for a while as the sauce on my salmon was beginning to congeal. The broccoli was barely cooked and the dish had water in it. I also observed the waitress being very rude to an African American guest. Not cool.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value3

we had a great time! the service was gre ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

we had a great time! the service was great, food delicious, and a beautiful view of the river. we will definitely be going back in the future!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Ribs and Saratoga chips were outstanding

vip
 (Dallas)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Ribs and Saratoga chips were outstanding

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

My wife and half of our party recieved s ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

My wife and half of our party recieved similar and unusually too tough ribs for Montgomery Inn quality than when we had eating there before. But our waiter was alerted to the toughness by noticing my wives knife hitting the plate trying to cut through them so they brought out a brand new softer order, without asking.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

We celebrated my Mother's birthday & ma ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

We celebrated my Mother's birthday & made the reservation for 4: 00 to avoid the crowd. We felt Iike we were rushed through dinner....servers wanting to take our plates & bread while we were still eating. Check was being prepared before offered dessert. Food was very good except I had the broccoli which was very under cooked....I couldn't cut iit with a knife & should of sent it back.

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

As much as I have enjoyed the Boat House ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

As much as I have enjoyed the Boat House over the years, the restaurant is definitely showing it's age, and I will not be in any hurry to go back. With all the new dining to experience in Cincinnati, The Banks, OTR, I will look there before revisiting the Boat House. When you are dining, it is not enjoyable to see worn out carpets and flooring, mis-matched chairs, etc. You can tolerate this from your neighborhood family dining spot.

Tags: scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service3
value2

The ribs were dry and wiry. The king sa ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

The ribs were dry and wiry. The king salad was okay. The dressing was good, but the edges of the iceberg lettuce were a little brown so it had been cut a while ago. The view was nice, but I would not go there for the food.

Tags: scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

Food was the same as it was 20 years ago ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

Food was the same as it was 20 years ago. Good. Ambiance was the same as it was 20 years ago. Bad. Noise level was high. Price point was good. Service was ok, but I remember a time when service was exemplary as a standard. No more. Service is similar to Applebees. The crowd was like going to Kings Island. I think this is the "fancy" restaurant for the folks who don't eat out much. Fun people watching, but I won't be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3

The food was just ok. I never had briske ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

The food was just ok. I never had brisket were they shredded it like that. Our server had too many tables. She kept telling us she was sorry. The ribs were good, and the prices were not that bad for the view.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value3

we had a wonderful time. our waiter was ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

we had a wonderful time. our waiter was very attentive, friendly and made our get together fun.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Food was ok, but not what I would call " ...

 
 (E. Tennessee)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

Food was ok, but not what I would call "great". Appetizer was not really hot, only warm. Waiter was rather new and did not communicate well our options when wife requested a kids portion. We are from out of town and wanted something local to eat and saw it from the riverboat. A local said pretty good. Ribs and chicken were good. Ranch Salad dressing was "different" than any we have tasted before. Overall not really disappointed, but not impressed either. Satisfied we went once, but most likely won't go back when back in town.

Tags: scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value2

Best ribs around with a fantastic view o ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

Best ribs around with a fantastic view of the river.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The waiter Marvin was Excellent. Extreme ...

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

The waiter Marvin was Excellent. Extremely professional and attentive.

The Ribs were the Best Ribs I ever ate. We have always bought the sauce on line, but it was a special treat to actually eat the ribs, which we have always heard were great.

Now we know, its true. Even with a storm brewing the day we were there, there was something very special about the boathouse area.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We were outfitted with a bib for the rib ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on July 7, 2016

We were outfitted with a bib for the ribs but didn't really need one. The sauce wasn't that juicy or runny but thicker so it didn't drip that much. All in all, very delicious!

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Food and views were amazing. The atmosph ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on July 7, 2016

Food and views were amazing. The atmosphere was ruined by the bartenders complaining about customers and how they just wanted to leave for the night. One discussed how he did not like working at the location and wanted to quit. All of this was among coworkers but within 10 feet of our table.

Table next to us wa celebrating an anniversary and their waitress was very rude. Walked away from the table multiple times during their ordering process and they commented on the employee talking about how he hated working there.

Lastly we saw an employee take bread to a table who they appeared to be familiar with. The couple behinds us, as well as, us had to request the bread. We then had to wait 15+ minutes before we got it, right before our dinner was served.

Amazing food and views, however very unhappy and rude wait staff.

Tags: special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service1
value4

Food here is always amazing and has neve ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on July 6, 2016

Food here is always amazing and has never disappointed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Always had good experiences at all Montg ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on July 5, 2016

Always had good experiences at all Montgomery Inn restaurants, but this was disappointing. Ribs as always were very good but the chicken was dry (over cooked) and the sides were either undercooked or overlooked (dry cornbread.) Probably will explore other options for special occasions in the future.

Tags: special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value2

Great place to dine out with friends. T ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on July 4, 2016

Great place to dine out with friends. The service in the bar area is poor. We walked in after getting the restaurant buzzer so we can be notified to get a drink before we can be seated for dinner and the waitress told us there will be no dinner service at the bar. I showed her the buzzer and then she realized that we were there only to get drinks but never showed up to get our drinks order. POOR SERVICE or I should say service with an attitude!

Tags: special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

The dinner food was excellent. Our waitr ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

The dinner food was excellent. Our waitress seemed absent/neglectful though. We were out in a corner and kind of forgotten. They would set our food next to us on one of the serving stands but then it would be a few minutes before our waitress actually gave us our food

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value5

Great dinner - as always. Tried the new ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

Great dinner - as always. Tried the new STL style ribs but decided we still like the original ribs best!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Potatoes not done. My mom"s cod sandwic ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

Potatoes not done. My mom"s cod sandwich was terrible.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4

With all the hype about Montgomery Inn I ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

With all the hype about Montgomery Inn I guess my expectations were higher. If I'm paying $60 for a meal I expect it to be excellent. It was ok but I don't know that I will go back again.

Tags: great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

The ribs are great. Really tasty. My ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

The ribs are great. Really tasty. My wife tried the new rib style MI offers and it was not as good as the original. The side dishes are ok. They are not quality side dishes like you get at Morton's or Jeff Ruby's... but I go for the ribs... not the side dishes. IMO... Just order a slab of the original ribs and the Sarasota chips with rib sauce for dipping and you can't go wrong.

Tags: scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value2

The food overall was decent. I would rec ...

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

The food overall was decent. I would recommend the pulled pork nachos and ribs, but not the trio sampler, they weren't anything special, and the fries were limp and mushy.

As far as the service, I was completely underwhelmed. Our server seemed as though she didn't want to be bothered and had to be asked multiple times to actually complete tasks (ordering, refills, receiving the bill, etc.)

It was a nice enough place, but the service really turned me off, so once is enough for me.

Tags: hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value2

I have had ribs in many places famous fo ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

I have had ribs in many places famous for ribs like Kansas City and Memphis. The ribs at Montgomery in Cincinnati are more than a match for any of them. I am a fairly big eater but I could not finish a full slab, and I really tried because they were amazing! The meat really did fall right off the bone and the sauce complemented the overall flavor perfectly. I had read in reviews that the restaurant had overcrowded tables and that it was impossible to have privacy, but we did not experience that at all. It was a very busy restaurant, which speaks volumes in itself, but we were able to celebrate my wife's birthday with the children without any problems or the people in the tables around us realizing what was going on. We had a great time watching the boats go by on the Ohio River while dining on awesome ribs and enjoying a relaxing family gathering.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

First, didn't realize that parking was v ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

First, didn't realize that parking was valet. I didn't have cash so I had to look for parking elsewhere. Second, when we arrived, we were told to proceed to the Bob Hope Room, which was in a far corner of the restaurant. When we arrived at the Bob Hope Room, we stood for several minutes before flagging down a waiter, who eventually seated us (wasn't his job, but he did it anyway.) Barbecue was just "OK," not as good as barbecue in St. Louis or Kansas City, and it was overpriced. The one "bright spot," was that the view of the Ohio River was nice.

Tags: scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value1

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.