Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.18mi
  2. Distance: 0.23mi
  3. Distance: 0.45mi
  4. Distance: 0.53mi
  1. Distance: 0.18mi
  2. Distance: 0.23mi
  3. Distance: 0.45mi
  4. Distance: 0.53mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.18mi
  2. Distance: 0.23mi
  3. Distance: 0.45mi
  4. Distance: 0.53mi
  1. Distance: 0.18mi
  2. Distance: 0.23mi
  3. Distance: 0.45mi
  4. Distance: 0.53mi

About Montgomery Inn - At the Boathouse

Montgomery Inn at the Boathouse is one of the most popular restaurants in Greater Cincinnati. Our world-famous ribs, our friendly service, and our striking view of the Ohio River, makes us a unique restaurant that you and your friends & family will remember long after your meal is over.

Sports fans will love the upstairs sports lounge with sports memorabilia on the walls, as well as the autographed photos of famous visitors who have dropped by. So come on in and get yourself some ribs and watch your favorite team in a fun, classy atmosphere.

Our world-famous ribs are definitely a hard act to follow but we found a way. For dessert, indulge in another Cincinnati culinary tradition: Graeter's black raspberry chip ice cream.

925 Riverside Drive
Cincinnati, OH 45202
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Barbecue, American

Hours of Operation:


Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:00am - 3:00pm

Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 3:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday & Saturday: 3:00pm - 11:00pm, Sunday: 3:00pm - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
Eggleston Avenue

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(513) 721-7427

Website:
http://www.montgomeryinn.com/

Catering:
We offer both self-service & full-service catering options to meet almost any need. Self-Service provides disposable serving-ware, bibs (yes, bibs) and wet naps for both delivery or pick-up.

Our Full-Service team arrives approximately 45 minutes prior to your scheduled time. We provide buffet tables, linens, chafing dishes and sterno. We will serve your guests buffet-style and provide general clean up after the meal.

Catering service is available in Greater Cincinnati and N. Ky areas

Private Party Facilities:
Location and food make the event, and when you have yours at Montgomery Inn, you’ll see what we mean. For a joyous occasion like a rehearsal dinner, your guest will be even more excited knowing it’s going to be at Montgomery Inn. And if it’s a company meeting, your guests will be saying, “At least it’s going to be at Montgomery Inn!” For wedding receptions, rehearsal dinners, corporate events or even just a family get-together, just book the room and leave the details and worrying to us.

The Boathouse has room for groups as small as eight or as large as 90. It might just be the best place on the planet to have your event.

Private Party Contact:
Lisa Mikula: (513) 721-7427

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Montgomery Inn - At the Boathouse Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.4

ambience

4.3

value

4.0

Noise

Moderate

86% would recommend it to a friend

Waterfront (118)
Scenic View (117)
Special Occasion (82)
See All
Good for a Date (67)
Fun (63)
Good for Birthdays (62)
Casual (62)
Good for Anniversaries (59)
Comfort Food (55)
Good for Groups (52)
Worth the Drive (49)
Romantic (39)
Great for Outdoor Dining (34)
Great for Lunch (34)
People Watching (30)
Business Meals (30)
Neighborhood Gem (28)
Authentic (26)
Bar Seating (22)
Kid-friendly (20)
Hot Spot (20)
Happy Hour (17)
Pre/post Theatre (16)
Creative Cuisine (15)
Local Ingredients (15)
Fit for Foodies (14)
Great Beer (13)
Sunday Lunch (12)
Vibrant Bar Scene (11)
Quiet Conversation (11)
Late-night Find (10)
Cozy (9)
Disabled Access (9)
Seasonal (9)
Tasting Menu (9)
Handcrafted Cocktails (9)
Healthy (7)
Notable Wine List (7)
Great for Brunch (6)
Live Sports (6)
Gluten Free Options (4)
Paleo Friendly (4)
Quick Bite (4)
Afternoon Coffee (2)
Afternoon Tea (2)
Live Music (1)
Spicy (1)
Tapas (1)
Vegan (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Sort By:
S
1936 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Indiana)·Dined 2 days ago

Great service, wonderful ribs and great view of the riverfront. Quietest dinner ever. We were too busy eating to talk.
Skip the appetizers and move up to a larger slab of the Original.

Tags: Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined 2 days ago

Everything was terrific as usual, service exceptional. However, my fish was again overcooked. Had a great time and will be back!

Tags: Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Waterfront, Good for a Date, Casual, Sunday Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Lunch, Happy Hour, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined 3 days ago

Fantastic staff, excellent food, just a great place to come for dinner and relax.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined 4 days ago

Service was top notch. Food was hot. Almost everything was delicious. Three issues; brisket was a bit dry, Montgomery Inn should leave the pasty grits off the menu, and the Boathouse was way too noisy. Tone it down!! Other than that, we enjoyed our meal. We will return.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined 4 days ago

Excellent everything!
We Love Montgomery Inn Boathouse!
We'll be back a zillion more times!!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Hot Spot, Happy Hour, Gluten Free Options, Healthy, Casual, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Worth the Drive, Waterfront, Comfort Food, Paleo Friendly, Special Occasion, Fun, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined 4 days ago

I love the scenery and always enjoy being on the river. The food was absolutely delicious!! My 2 lifelong friends came into town to see Wicked for our 50th birthdays so I chose to get reservations for Montgomery Inn Boathouse. It did not disappoint. The waitress made us feel very special.

Tags: Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined 5 days ago

Service was slow slow slow. Waiter forgot appetizer. When they finally came, cold chips and limp onion straws. Waiter said food would be there in 2-3 minutes and came 15-20 minutes later. Husband's ribs were dried out, my potato not fully baked, and friend's entree salad mediocre and ooverpriced. Food and service used to be better....won't be back. Way too many better alternatives.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined 5 days ago

The waitresses was not very attentive was stretched thin

Tags: Cozy, People Watching, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value4

 
·Dined 5 days ago

Unfortunately, this was not the most pleasant visit. We made priority seating arrangements because we were scheduled for the Music Hall concert at 8:00. We arrived at 5:45 for our 6:00 reservation. However, we didn't get seated until 6:30 and our meal took a longer time than expected. Needless to say, with all the traffic (even only at 1.8 miles away), we just made it in our seats as the lights dimmed for the show. The noise level was extremely loud and I found it hard to talk to my family. The food was great though. I wish we would have been able to enjoy it more.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined 5 days ago

I need to start out by saying I'm one of the few people in Cincinnati who does not think Montgomery Inn sauce is the end all and be all. But, wearing it and then only having the person who dropped the plate of ribs on the floor acknowledge that it went on me, was a little disappointing. Granted, it was small amounts. But, it was in my hair, on my blouse, pants, the table and chair.
The food is okay, but I feel overpriced for what you get.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value2

 
·Dined 6 days ago

We sat outside which looked a bit more casual than inside. But the view was great! Best ribs. We also had the calamari as a starter; it was very good too.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Scenic View, Fun, Waterfront, Great for Outdoor Dining, Disabled Access, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined 6 days ago

We had no problem getting a table at the time we reserved. It was also a busy time on a Friday night and we had the choice of sitting inside or outside. One person in our party was in a wheelchair, and the valet let us park ourselves and did not charge us. He also had no problem getting around the restaurant. Food and service were both great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined 6 days ago

Wonderful food and food choices. View overlooking the river is nice. Our server was attentive and pleasant. Wis I could have ordered dessert, however, I was stuffed!

Tags: Scenic View, Romantic, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined 6 days ago

It was our first time there and we enjoyed it very much. We loved eating outside overlooking the river and our server, Lauren, was very good. Even Tiffanie who wasn't even our server took our photo for us and was kind. The food was delicious and the portions were generous. It was a great first experience.

Tags: Authentic, Casual, Great for Lunch, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on October 11, 2017

Very good and professional service. Food is always good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on October 8, 2017

Dinner was excellent. 2 of our guest had a 9pm flight to catch and our Waitress "Kim" was superb! Not only was she on her A game, the food was hot and very tasty.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
·Dined on October 8, 2017

Sadly disappointed in the food for the price. The meat dishes were good but not great and the sides were sub-par. I had the brisket and the sides that came with it. The brussels sprouts tasted as if they had been freeze dried, and the grits were bland. The service was good, as water glasses were kept refilled, but the iced tea did not taste like fresh brewed, which I would expect for the price.

Tags: Waterfront, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value1

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on October 6, 2017

The ribs as always are excellent. The service was excellent as always. I was disappointed in the House Salad - it seems to fluctuate between an excellent fresh salad and what we got this time which was basically bagged salad you would get at the grocery store with a few fresh cucumbers. They used to do homemade croutons - not this time. Disappointed for an extra charge item.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on October 3, 2017

Montgomery Inn is mandatory for special occasions. Taking out of towers is a pleasure but don't limit your meals for special occasions. You may dress up, or arrive as you are
, be comfortable. Ask your server for options off the menu, although I recommend their specialty ribs, pork or beef don't fill up on too many sides, the meat is delicious and let your server put a bib on you, everyone else will have one on, and ask for extra napkins. Have fun war ching the steamboats float by along with the fancy cigar boats and long barges. Have a great time, plenty of parking and valet service is available.

Tags: Special Occasion, Authentic, Worth the Drive, Waterfront, Good for Birthdays, Comfort Food, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on October 2, 2017

I wanted my son to experience Montgomery Inn Boathouse for the food and the view!! We are from Cincinnati but live in Gulf Shores Alabama currently. It was my son's 20th birthday and we decided to have dinner at the boathouse!! Everything was excellent!! The combo plate of ribs and chicken was excellent!! The Saratoga chips were also good!! My son was bought Graeter's Ice Cream in a puff pastry with a Candle!! Wonderful night!! The river views were excellent!! Will return again when in Cincinnati!!

Tags: Waterfront, Hot Spot, Business Meals, Scenic View, Romantic, Fun, Good for Birthdays, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on October 1, 2017

The ribs were a little overcooked and dry this time around. The bread basket tasted a little stale. The chips were also lukewarm. Usually, when I go to Montgomery Inn, everything has been great, but this time I was not impressed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

vip
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on October 1, 2017

I got the half rack and shrimp combo and it was absolutely delish! Would definitely recommend.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
·Dined on October 1, 2017

My brother was in town and my mom just passed away and she always wanted to go to Montgomery Inn Boat House. I took my brother to honor her. She would have loved it

Tags: Scenic View, Casual, Vibrant Bar Scene, Kid-friendly, Gluten Free Options, Vegan, Seasonal, Late-night Find, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Tasting Menu, Romantic, Waterfront, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
·Dined on October 1, 2017

When making a reservation you would think you are reserving a table for a specific time but not at this restaurant. You are actually just reserving a place in line. The food was ok but one of the reasons to dine here is the view. Unfortunately our view was of a stairway. Not sure I'd go back. Ratings given were generous.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on September 29, 2017

Our server Rachael was attentive without being overbearing. Excellent service.

Tags: Waterfront, Special Occasion, Fun, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on September 27, 2017

A GREAT PLACE TO TAKE A GUEST FROM OUT OF TOWN FOR BBQ RIBS AND A VIEW OF THE RIVER.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

 
·Dined on September 26, 2017

Good time, Great food, and friends, does not get much better then that

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on September 25, 2017

Food was great as always . But since we were dining with kids we of course got garbage service. And our server was rewarded with $2.00 tip on a $75 dollar tab because of it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service1
value3

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on September 24, 2017

So much fun having ribs and watching the boats on the River. Our waitress was a star. She was a very nice person and did a wonderful job for everyone she served that night. Our food was very tasty and desert was fantastic. I love this place.

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on September 24, 2017

Have been to the Boathouse many times, but this time was not good. Our waiter (Tyler) was great but long time getting our meals ( 45 minutes), my wife's meal was cold. It was not that busy to wait so long. Waiter said he would bring hot to her. Never came and he apologized and had the manager deduct wife's meal from the bill. Will not come back again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on September 24, 2017

One of our favorite places in the Queen City. Montgomery Inn never fails to provide top quality food combined with top-notch service.

Tags: Business Meals, Waterfront, Scenic View, Vibrant Bar Scene, Romantic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Hot Spot, Great Beer, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Good for Groups, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New England)·Dined on September 24, 2017

A very popular restaurant with reasonable prices, good food and a river view. We found the service to be rather brusque and rushed. The check arrived before the desert was served.
Dishes were cleared before everyone was finished.

Tags: Good for Groups, Waterfront, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value3

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on September 23, 2017

It was very crowded the evening we were there; however, our server was excellent and had a good sense of humor. The food was served promptly and it was hot and delicious. I also like the new "value priced" menu.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Fun, Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Comfort Food, Disabled Access, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Austin)·Dined on September 23, 2017

Good food, great view and friendly staff!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on September 23, 2017

Our waiter was unprofessional and loud. He was pushing us out of table so he could make more tips.

Tags: Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1
value3

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on September 22, 2017

My husband and I had a riverside table. The food and service were great. We highly recommend for a date night.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on September 21, 2017

If you go to M Inn and do not get ribs --what do you order? Crab cake!!
My friends got ribs and gave them an A+.
I got crab cake and the grade was another A+.

Tags: Scenic View, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on September 21, 2017

We loved the view of the river while eating some great barbecue. The pork nachos appetizer was outstanding and the portion sizes on the food were better than I expected. My wife and I will definitely be returning to the boathouse to enjoy some more barbecue.

Tags: Late-night Find, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on September 16, 2017

Very busy night so noise level was up. Good was good but service slow.

Tags: Good for a Date, Scenic View, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value4

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on September 16, 2017

I had the ribs and they were not as good as I have had in the past. More fat than normal and the meat was a little tough.

Tags: Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Casual, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.