About Montgomery Inn - At the Boathouse

925 Riverside Drive
Cincinnati, OH 45202
View Larger Map

Montgomery Inn at the Boathouse is one of the most popular restaurants in Greater Cincinnati. Our world-famous ribs, our friendly service, and our striking view of the Ohio River, makes us a unique restaurant that you and your friends & family will remember long after your meal is over.

Sports fans will love the upstairs sports lounge with sports memorabilia on the walls, as well as the autographed photos of famous visitors who have dropped by. So come on in and get yourself some ribs and watch your favorite team in a fun, classy atmosphere.

Our world-famous ribs are definitely a hard act to follow but we found a way. For dessert, indulge in another Cincinnati culinary tradition: Graeter's black raspberry chip ice cream.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Barbecue, American

Hours of Operation:


Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:00am - 3:00pm

Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 3:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday & Saturday: 3:00pm - 11:00pm, Sunday: 3:00pm - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
Eggleston Avenue

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(513) 721-7427

Website:
http://www.montgomeryinn.com/

Catering:
We offer both self-service & full-service catering options to meet almost any need. Self-Service provides disposable serving-ware, bibs (yes, bibs) and wet naps for both delivery or pick-up.

Our Full-Service team arrives approximately 45 minutes prior to your scheduled time. We provide buffet tables, linens, chafing dishes and sterno. We will serve your guests buffet-style and provide general clean up after the meal.

Catering service is available in Greater Cincinnati and N. Ky areas

Private Party Facilities:
Location and food make the event, and when you have yours at Montgomery Inn, you’ll see what we mean. For a joyous occasion like a rehearsal dinner, your guest will be even more excited knowing it’s going to be at Montgomery Inn. And if it’s a company meeting, your guests will be saying, “At least it’s going to be at Montgomery Inn!” For wedding receptions, rehearsal dinners, corporate events or even just a family get-together, just book the room and leave the details and worrying to us.

The Boathouse has room for groups as small as eight or as large as 90. It might just be the best place on the planet to have your event.

Private Party Contact:
Lisa Mikula: 5137217427x

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Private Room, Takeout, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Montgomery Inn - At the Boathouse Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.3

ambience

4.3

noise

Moderate

88% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Scenic View
Cincinnati / Dayton
Most Booked
Cincinnati / Dayton
Scenic View
Cincinnati
1 More
Most Booked
Cincinnati
Best Restaurants in Cincinnati ›

scenic view (281)
special occasion (217)
good for groups (173)
See All
great for lunch (100)
romantic (96)
fit for foodies (86)
neighborhood gem (76)
hot spot (67)
great for outdoor dining (62)
kid-friendly (62)
vibrant bar scene (29)
great for brunch (24)
late-night find (23)
notable wine list (19)
 (5)
 (1)
 (1)
Sort By:
Newest
1077 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food4
ambience5
service5

Everything was excellent, the brisket sa ...

Dined 4 days ago

Everything was excellent, the brisket sandwich had a little to much sauce for my daughters liking, but other than that perfect night.

food5
ambience5
service5

Always a nice evening at the Boathouse. ...

Dined 5 days ago

Always a nice evening at the Boathouse. Food and service excellent!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We dined at the Boathouse for our 29th w ...

Dined on May 23, 2016

We dined at the Boathouse for our 29th wedding anniversary. The view is beautiful, food was fantastic and the service was quick and friendly. The ribs are to die for. They even gave us a special desert for our anniversary. I will be coming back with the whole family. Prices for such great food are also affordable. And they have a parking lot!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Seated timely, very good service, great view,

Dined on May 22, 2016

Ribs and chicken were cooked very well and tasted great Chips awesome made might night with my wife even more enjoyable.

Tags: scenic view
food3
ambience4
service3
value4

Food quality

Dined on May 22, 2016

While the food at Montgomery Inn is always great, and the BBQ chicken is my favorite dish,oon this visit we were disappointed.The usually excellent Saratoga Chips were soggy and undercooked.I asked for replacements,but these too were not good.

Tags: special occasion
food3
ambience2
service2
value2

Overall walked away underwhelmed with ex ...

Dined on May 22, 2016

Overall walked away underwhelmed with experience. Prices seemed to high for what you get. Service was decent but not above average. Made reservations but still had to wait for a table.

Tags: scenic view, neighborhood gem
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

My visit to Boathose

Dined on May 21, 2016

This was a special get together of cousins that had not seen each other in years. We had a reservation at 7PM. The place was packed. The receptionist asked if we were all there? I said no, they were minutes away. When I told them they were there, she would put me in the que. I asked why I was not in the que already and was told in a snotty way, you only get put in the que (even with confirmed reservation) when everyone is there. Probably not going back.

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We had great service. My steak was excel ...

Dined on May 21, 2016

We had great service. My steak was excellent and cooked perfectly. I liked that we were able to do priority seating online. It was busy and a little noisy. We were seated by the window which gave us a great view of the river.

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view
food3
ambience4
service1
value2

Was not impressed by the wait staff . Wa ...

Dined on May 21, 2016

Was not impressed by the wait staff . Waiter and Host very rude and impatient . Not some place I would recommend to anyone . The service killed the entire experience .

Tags: good for groups, late-night find, scenic view
food2
ambience3
service4
value3

Montgomery Inn experience

Dined on May 20, 2016

I called ahead for reservation and good thing because this place was packed. I joined a co-worker here during a conference visit to the area. Another co-worker recommended we try this place but I must say the ribs which they apparently are known for were just ok and the crab cake was fairly sub-par. To their defense, I am from Maryland so most people outside of Maryland can't get a "Maryland Style Crabcake" right anyway. The housemade dressing for the Spinach Salad was to die for. The homemade ice-cream was disappointing as well. It reminded me of something my dad would fix made from milk and snow so not a fan of this local favorite at all. I probably would not frequent this restaurant again but the service was definitely above board.

Tags: scenic view
food1
ambience1
service5
value1

Shrimp appetizer was great. Ribs were te ...

Dined on May 20, 2016

Shrimp appetizer was great. Ribs were terrible. The waiter, who was nice, said that they were known for their ribs; so of course we ordered them. Sauce was bad. Maybe the worst I've ever had, anywhere. The boathouse location looked like something out an old James Bond movie...a bad one. Outdated is an understatement. It's bad when the food and ambiance are equally bad.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great Food and Great Service! We enjoyed ...

Dined on May 20, 2016

Great Food and Great Service! We enjoyed every aspect of Montgomery Inn.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The staff was very friendly and helpful. ...

Dined on May 18, 2016

The staff was very friendly and helpful. The ribs were excellent. I will definitely be visiting again when I am back in Cincinnati!

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

As always, the boathouse is a fun place ...

Dined on May 15, 2016

As always, the boathouse is a fun place to eat with nice views of the Ohio River.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Always Enjoyable with including a room with a view

Dined on May 15, 2016

My wife and I took our grandson to lunch as part of his high school graduation. The staff at this location are always on top of everything; making sure the customers are taken care of ; and have an enjoyable and delicious meal. They made our outing perfect. Our grandson was very impressed with the view. We will be back

Tags: great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view
food3
ambience4
service5
value2

The food was disappointing compared to p ...

Dined on May 15, 2016

The food was disappointing compared to previous experiences with Montgomery inn. My ribs were very dry and not very meaty. The saratoga chips were too salty. The service was great but, all in all, hardly worth the money.

Tags: special occasion, scenic view
food2
ambience2
service1
value1

Very disappointing. Our server mumbled ...

vip
Dined on May 15, 2016

Very disappointing. Our server mumbled mmm hmm each time we said thank you, the restaurant is very dated, and the food was just okay at best. The only positive attribute was the beautiful view of the river...in which I stared across at Newport and wished I had made reservations at Chart House. Whomp whomp, won't be going back.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, scenic view
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Always a pleasant experience at the Boathouse

Dined on May 14, 2016

Haven't been to the Boathouse in 25 years as we moved away. Great scenery of the river. Great ribs and great service. There is always a wait even with a reservation but worth it.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, scenic view
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great as always

Dined on May 14, 2016

The service and food is always good at Montgomery Inn. You are treated well. The menu is varied- something for everyone. The cost is not cheap but you get plenty of food.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, scenic view, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had an attentive waiter. Food was gre ...

Dined on May 10, 2016

We had an attentive waiter. Food was great. We were lucky enough to get a table by the window, so had a great view and little noise.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Dinner

Dined on May 8, 2016

It was a perfect Mother's day...great food, great waiter and wonderful view!!!

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Ribs were great as always.

Dined on May 8, 2016

Ribs were great as always.

food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent view, wonderful food and servi ...

vip
Dined on May 8, 2016

Excellent view, wonderful food and service.

food4
ambience4
service3
value3

Advance resevations don't guarantee fulfillment

Dined on May 7, 2016

We booked in advance in order to ensure a window (scenic) view on the river. We booked on Mother's Day so it was crowded but the restaurant was unable to fulfill our request and stated a minimum 1 1/2 hour wait. Portion sizes although adequate have been reduced (e.g. is a half slab of ribs really a half or a third?), so I would recommend eating out on the upper deck. The menu is not as complete but it seems like a better deal for the money, especially since the restaurant couldn't honor the initial request.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, scenic view
food3
ambience2
service1
value1

Reservation does not mean a real Reservation

Dined on May 7, 2016

My husband and I took my daughter and a friend here this past Saturday for a special occasion. We have been told in the past by The boat House that you must have a reservation so we made a reservation well in advance and requested by the window. When we arrived around 5PM we were told it would be 1&1/2 hours wait for a table by the window. We went outside to wait on the deck and had to go get our own drinks because only one server was out there at the time. The portion sizes have been reduced and prices have increased. Our server had a smart aleck attitude. This was not like our past experiences at the Boat House. It will be awhile before we return. The options above asked if I would recommend to a friend and there should be a maybe option. Under the circumstances, I would not go at a popular time. I would recommend the view but go at a less busy time.

Tags: scenic view, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great Place For Any Occasion

Dined on May 7, 2016

My husband and I drive 45 miles to enjoy the Montgomery Inn Boathouse. Great view of the river, great food, great service. We always look forward to our next visit.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, hot spot
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

Nothing fancy

Dined on May 7, 2016

Would be nice to keep the group parties separate from smaller parties/ couples noise level is uncomfortable for a party of two trying to enjoy dinner when their placed in a room with parties of 10-20

Tags: scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our service was awesome. Food was very g ...

Dined on May 7, 2016

Our service was awesome. Food was very good and we had a great view of the Ohio River. Very nice establishment with a wide variety of sports memorabilia.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, hot spot
food1
ambience1
service3
value1

Tired

Dined on May 6, 2016

Restaurant is just tired. Short cuts on food. Decor worn. Menu from the 90s.

food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Not as good as it used to be - too touristy

Dined on May 1, 2016

Ribs are dryer and not as moist as they used to be. I felt this way when I was last here about 6 months ago but wanted to give them another chance. Still a place to bring family once when they visit, but not a regular place for dinner.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Making a good day

Dined on May 1, 2016

We were quite surprised at the ease of making a reservation. The ambience was a pleasant . The service was above average(Gary) was quite attentive. The quantity and quality of the food was great. The price was right. Roy

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

Graduation Dinner

Dined on April 30, 2016

We had 5:45 reservations last Saturday, were seated at 6:00 p.m. Service was good but our dinner did not arrive until 7:45! The food was moderate but we were starving at that point so would have eaten anything. I believe the restaurant was overbooked. I expect much faster service and better food for the high price we paid. We will not return in the future.

Tags: scenic view, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5

the ribs are phenomenal here! the Sarato ...

Dined on April 30, 2016

the ribs are phenomenal here! the Saratoga chips with their warm unique bbq sauce is a great starter to share! I recommend getting the $22.99 two course special. I had the Ribs King Salad with the Coho Salmon and it was delicious!

food5
ambience4
service2

Had a reservation for 8:00 but we're not ...

Dined on April 30, 2016

Had a reservation for 8:00 but we're not seated until after 9:00. No apologies, drinks or appetizers were offered. What's the point of a reservation if you cannot honor them within reason?

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Everything was great, the food and view is amazing

Dined on April 29, 2016

Our waitress was very nice, the food was fantastic our little retirement dinner was just what we hoped.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

You can never go wrong with Montgomery I ...

Dined on April 28, 2016

You can never go wrong with Montgomery Inn! The food and service are always outstanding!

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always a treat!

Dined on April 26, 2016

No longer a local, but every visit to Cincinnati is not complete without a stop at Montgomery Inn. Consistently great! The food, the service and the view location make it a must stop for us. From our window table we were there to see Mother Nature put on quite a show for us, thunder, lightening, hail, fog and back to clear and beautiful night. Meanwhile, we enjoyed a lovely cab, some ribs, chops and duck. Just a great place to go and relax and enjoy an evening with friends and/or family.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, scenic view, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

THE Boathouse!

Dined on April 24, 2016

In a word, exceptional. The Gregory family never fails to excel at providing the best possible dining experience. The food seems to always be better than the last time, even though that is impossible! Hooked for life!

Tags: special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view
food5
ambience3
service4
value5

Great food. Don't go on a Saturday night!

Dined on April 24, 2016

The food was great, but our server wasn't particularly friendly. We went on a Saturday night and there were lots of big parties that were very loud.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

-Made reservation 2 days prior -Arrived ...

Dined on April 23, 2016

-Made reservation 2 days prior -Arrived right at 3pm and was seated with 7-8 minutes. -Very friendly staff. -Clean dining area -Waitress knew menu and when to come back for refills -Food was great -I'll be back next time!

Tags: kid-friendly, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.