About Montgomery Inn - At the Boathouse

Montgomery Inn at the Boathouse is one of the most popular restaurants in Greater Cincinnati. Our world-famous ribs, our friendly service, and our striking view of the Ohio River, makes us a unique restaurant that you and your friends & family will remember long after your meal is over.

Sports fans will love the upstairs sports lounge with sports memorabilia on the walls, as well as the autographed photos of famous visitors who have dropped by. So come on in and get yourself some ribs and watch your favorite team in a fun, classy atmosphere.

Our world-famous ribs are definitely a hard act to follow but we found a way. For dessert, indulge in another Cincinnati culinary tradition: Graeter's black raspberry chip ice cream.

925 Riverside Drive
Cincinnati, OH 45202
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Barbecue, American

Hours of Operation:


Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:00am - 3:00pm

Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 3:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday & Saturday: 3:00pm - 11:00pm, Sunday: 3:00pm - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
Eggleston Avenue

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(513) 721-7427

Website:
http://www.montgomeryinn.com/

Catering:
We offer both self-service & full-service catering options to meet almost any need. Self-Service provides disposable serving-ware, bibs (yes, bibs) and wet naps for both delivery or pick-up.

Our Full-Service team arrives approximately 45 minutes prior to your scheduled time. We provide buffet tables, linens, chafing dishes and sterno. We will serve your guests buffet-style and provide general clean up after the meal.

Catering service is available in Greater Cincinnati and N. Ky areas

Private Party Facilities:
Location and food make the event, and when you have yours at Montgomery Inn, you’ll see what we mean. For a joyous occasion like a rehearsal dinner, your guest will be even more excited knowing it’s going to be at Montgomery Inn. And if it’s a company meeting, your guests will be saying, “At least it’s going to be at Montgomery Inn!” For wedding receptions, rehearsal dinners, corporate events or even just a family get-together, just book the room and leave the details and worrying to us.

The Boathouse has room for groups as small as eight or as large as 90. It might just be the best place on the planet to have your event.

Private Party Contact:
Lisa Mikula: 5137217427x

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Montgomery Inn - At the Boathouse Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.2

ambience

4.2

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

88% would recommend it to a friend

Waterfront (110)
Scenic View (97)
Special Occasion (79)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (73)
Good for a Date (65)
Good for Birthdays (55)
Worth the Drive (51)
Good for Groups (50)
Casual (45)
Business Meals (45)
Romantic (40)
Great for Lunch (35)
Fun (35)
Family Style (35)
Neighborhood Gem (30)
People Watching (29)
Comfort Food (28)
Historic (28)
Pre/post Theatre (25)
Authentic (21)
Bar Seating (20)
Kid-friendly (19)
Fit for Foodies (19)
Hot Spot (18)
Outstanding Value (17)
Sunday Lunch (17)
Great for Outdoor Dining (17)
Great Beer (16)
Creative Cuisine (14)
Tasting Menu (14)
Local Ingredients (13)
Cozy (13)
Modern Decor (11)
Quiet Conversation (10)
Happy Hour (10)
Seasonal (10)
Private Room (9)
Disabled Access (8)
Notable Wine List (8)
Great for Brunch (8)
Live Sports (7)
Good Vegetarian Options (6)
Vibrant Bar Scene (5)
Healthy (5)
Afternoon Tea (5)
Gluten Free Options (3)
Quick Bite (3)
Late-night Find (3)
Handcrafted Cocktails (3)
Spicy (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Fireplace (2)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
1475 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Everyone enjoyed every single bite of th ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined 2 days ago

Everyone enjoyed every single bite of their food. Some had leftovers just b/c there was so much food. The leftovers were thoroughly enjoyed by the few that didn't get to join us.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value3

Enjoyed the meal. Great service. Price ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined 2 days ago

Enjoyed the meal. Great service. Price was decent considering the fame of the restaurant.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

The food was great. Our server managed o ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined 3 days ago

The food was great. Our server managed our large party well. It was very crowded because it was all you can eat rib night, which I was unaware of. So, I think the experience would have been perfect if it was not so crowded. However, the service was not delayed as a result of the crowd, which was great.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Ally our server was great. All you can e ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined 3 days ago

Ally our server was great. All you can eat ribs is a great value but I always get your duck with the sweet potato. Nice family environment.

Mark West Pinot Noir by the glass is a bit overpriced as it costs less to buy a bottle at the store than a glass here, so it shouldn't be marked up so much. Always nice & nostalgic at the Boathouse. Thanks!

Tags: Good for a Date, Business Meals, Historic, Family Style, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

The atmosphere is perfect! The wait sta ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined 3 days ago

The atmosphere is perfect! The wait staff was good. The ribs were okay, nothing spectacular.

Tags: Scenic View, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

Awesome good as always. Not happy with w ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined 3 days ago

Awesome good as always. Not happy with waiter for table behind us, he kept bumping into us. Tables were too close.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

All you can eat ribs was fantastic! The ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined 3 days ago

All you can eat ribs was fantastic! The service was great and the ribs were outstanding as usual. We put down 127 ribs as a group. Nothing but the best at The Boathouse.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Great Beer, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Waterfront, Great for Lunch, Historic, , Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View, Good for a Date, Happy Hour, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I made an open reservation for 630pm for ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined 4 days ago

I made an open reservation for 630pm for 4 people. We were there about 620 and then we were

told it would be at least another half an hour. We had a concert to attend at 800pm, so waiting an additional half and hour was not going to work. So needless to say, it was very disappointing, we ended up leaving and eating at another restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service2
value1

I rated overall a 4 because I somewhat f ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined 4 days ago

I rated overall a 4 because I somewhat felt rushed! But at the same time it was a Saturday night and it was busy. The food was great and cooked to perfection.

I was also kind of upset because on the open table app I said I was celebrating my mother in laws birthday so I assume that would have been noted and it was not.

Tags: Fun, Romantic, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

We went for my daughter's 18th birthday. ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined 4 days ago

We went for my daughter's 18th birthday. I put all this info in the reservation request note section and had asked a seat by the window. Instead we were sat with a view of a wall. Disappointed. Two hundred dollars was entirely too much money spent for the experience. Next time we stick with a Jeff Ruby's.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3
value2

First time in all my years going to Mont ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on January 10, 2017

First time in all my years going to Montgomery Inn that the ribs were a little tough. Not real bad but not the same as usual. Everyone did have a good time.

I will continue to bring out of town business guests.

Tags: Scenic View, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was amazing. It is a little hig ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on January 8, 2017

The food was amazing. It is a little higher than our normal budget but very manageable. I wish that the reservation app gave an option of a seat by the window. Overall for a married couple out without their three children it was spectacular.

Tags: Good for a Date, Historic, Casual, Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I took my mother for her birthday to the ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on January 8, 2017

I took my mother for her birthday to the boathouse. Our waiter (Ron) was superb. He went above and beyond our expectations to make sure my mother had a fantastic birthday dinner.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Everything was good until the waiter cam ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on January 8, 2017

Everything was good until the waiter came out and openly embarrassed my little brother by loudly stating when he brought our checks back " everyone's check is good except this one it was $12 short." In the future please tell your waiters to make that a personal matter.

Tags: Casual, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

From beginning to end the meal was great ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on January 7, 2017

From beginning to end the meal was great. We had a wonderful server and the food was outstanding. We have had awful martinis at other restaurants but the ones we enjoyed Saturday at the Boathouse were great.

Thanks for a good experience for us and out out of town friends.

Tags: Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Love Montgomery Inn in downtown Montgome ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on January 7, 2017

Love Montgomery Inn in downtown Montgomery. We thought birthday celebration would be more special at the Boathouse. Great service but food was not the same preparation.

Potatoes were old and cold. Sides should be easy.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value2

We were seated right away. Server was O ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on January 7, 2017

We were seated right away. Server was OK. The manager or managers walked around the whole time never interacting with the customers. Just walking around taking notes on the open tables is my guess. I like when the manager walks the floor and takes the time to at least say hi. How's your meal. The server was ok. She needed to be a little quicker on the beer refills and also to initially take our order. The tables are quite close to one another. It felt like I was on a date with the couple next to us. It was their first date by the way and kinda felt like my friend and I were on the date with them. The view of the river was nice. But everytime I tried to look at the river I was also looking right at the couple next to us. And the last thing I would say is bring a sweater. It was quite cold in the restaurant. The guys at our table didn't mind. But the girls were cold the whole time.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

From Service Perspective: Shawn was very ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on January 4, 2017

From Service Perspective:

Shawn was very kind and informative.

From Food Perspective;

The Portions for appetizers were very very small.

The Ribs were as they claim awesome.

The Salmon was also a bit less in portion, a bit expensive when you consider value of money.

For special occasions its good, due to the scenic river side view.

Overall it was a good experience.

Tags: Scenic View, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

We had a lovely time. The bbq chicken sa ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on January 3, 2017

We had a lovely time. The bbq chicken sandwich was very dry. We had a nice time and everything else was quite good.

Tags: Waterfront, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

The food was good had a good time but ou ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on January 1, 2017

The food was good had a good time but our waiter was snobby stuck up and i think he forgot he was working for us

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service1
value4

New Years !

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on January 1, 2017

New Years !

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

New Years Eve pre-celebration

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on January 1, 2017

New Years Eve pre-celebration

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We hadn't been to the Boathouse in years ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on January 1, 2017

We hadn't been to the Boathouse in years and sadly it's gone downhill. The food is good, my husband got the prime rib and was not disappointed. We arrived for our 8:00 reservation at 7:50 and were told it would be a 30-45 minute wait-apparently reservations just get you in line. The wait turned out to only be 15 minutes. The decor hasn't been updated since the place was built, they cram people in and it felt more like a cafeteria (cheap, outdated tables and chairs) than fine dining. Our food was brought out in about 10 minutes and was cold, which told me it had been waiting on us and not made when ordered, which I expect for ribs but not the other items. Overall poor experience and we won't be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service4
value3

I was very disappointed with my visit to ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on January 1, 2017

I was very disappointed with my visit to the Boathouse this time. I normally love Montgomery Inn, and the food is always delicious but tonight was a big let down.

I obviously made a reservation through Open Table because my evening was on a time sensitive schedule and I made plans around my reservation.

When I arrived, they informed me that while they did have my reservation it would still be a 35-45 minute wait. (what?!?)

Then once we finally got seated, our waitress was unpleasant the entire evening, and on top of that, charged us twice for our drinks. At that point I didn't even bother to point this discrepancy out because I just wanted to leave.

Tags: Scenic View, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value2

We had a great view of the river. Reall ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on January 1, 2017

We had a great view of the river. Really appreciate our special view. Thank you Tom!! Out waiter was outstanding. Wish I remembered his name !

Tags: People Watching, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Paleo Friendly, Healthy, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our waiter Doug was great, we were seate ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Our waiter Doug was great, we were seated right by the window which had a lovely view of the water and Newport. Will be back, food and overall service was excellent.

Tags: Good for a Date, Romantic, Special Occasion, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food, as always

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Great food, as always

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

New Years Eve date-night...ambiance\view ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on December 31, 2016

New Years Eve date-night...ambiance\view and everything was very good. Food was fantastic and came out quickly and timely with the other courses. Service was very attentive but rated the service 2 stars bc we felt like they were rushing us and just trying to flip the table. My date and I were having a great conversation and bottle of wine but the waitress & staff continuously interrupted us and left the check on the table with full wine glasses. Our bill was $130 so it wasn't like it wasn't clear this was a special occasion with special company. Would definitely go back but have heard about how they're in a rush to run through customers at this location. Was a little disappointing!

Tags: Cozy, Good for a Date, Vibrant Bar Scene, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value2

alessandra was our waitress and she did ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on December 31, 2016

alessandra was our waitress and she did such an amazing job. She was polite and on top of everything. She made it such an amazing experience and we will request her every time.

Tags: Casual, Family Style, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Great for Lunch, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We go here on special accasions because ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on December 31, 2016

We go here on special accasions because it's just a nice place with a river view and great food at a reasonable price.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Good for a Date, Family Style, Special Occasion, Healthy, Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View, Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Waterfront, Good for Birthdays, Fun, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Romantic, Kid-friendly, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My husband and I along with. our 2 daugh ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on December 31, 2016

My husband and I along with. our 2 daughters had a wonderful experience on New Years Eve at the Boathouse. Everything was excellent, food, drinks, and service. Can't wait to go back for another special occasion.

Tags: Waterfront, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Even with our reservation we still had t ...

vip
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Even with our reservation we still had to wait 45 minutes for table. What's the point of the reservation?

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Great food. Appetizers didn't take very ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on December 30, 2016

Great food. Appetizers didn't take very long at all. We got in before our reservation time. It was a bit chilly by the smoking section with people coming in and out and all the smell of smoke on the 2nd floor while waiting for a table. Good valet service.

Tags: Waterfront, Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Somehow I believe they were understaffed ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on December 27, 2016

Somehow I believe they were understaffed his day. It took over an hour from seating to get our food. Waitress tried, but told us the wait was due to our daughter ordering her hamburger "well done." That's ridiculous. Food was good.

Tags: Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

Great service, excellent food, nice view ...

vip
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on December 27, 2016

Great service, excellent food, nice views. Always a wonderful experience.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Family Style, Good for a Date, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I rarely write on-line reviews but I mad ...

vip
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on December 26, 2016

I rarely write on-line reviews but I made an exception in this case.

Have been living in Cincinnati for over 40 years and have also visited Montgomery Inn at both Montgomery and Boat House locations multiple times in those years.

On this occasion on December 26, 2016, on a family-friend after Christmas dinner, service quality was absolutely poor and food quality was only slightly better. The waitress took our initial drink order but thereafter disappeared for about 30-45 minutes. The main dining room was absolutely chaotic with the wait staff dropping dishes and food all over the floor. The whole place looked very disorganized with several staff members standing while others were rushing chaotically everywhere. There did not appear to be any imprint of management organization. To her credit, the waitress later apologized for her disappearance and gave a lame excuse of a "computer malfunction" -- however, the real reason may have been more systemic. NO MANAGER EVER APPEARED TO OFFER A FORMAL APOLOGY.

Serious attention should be paid to food quality as well. The dry rub, which was highly touted by the local food critic, was only salty with no additional discernible flavor. Mac/cheese was a pinkish version of velveeta mac & cheese.

With so many other very deserving BBQ restaurants in the Cincinnati area, Montgomery Inn no longer stands out as an exceptional restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1
value2

We reserved a table at 6:15 and were not ...

vip
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on December 26, 2016

We reserved a table at 6:15 and were not seated until 6:45. I figured the restaurant, being part of Open Table, reserved seats for Open Table users. Apparently, that was not the case.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value4

Montgomery inn is always first class.

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on December 26, 2016

Montgomery inn is always first class.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

All 4 of us had a full rack of ribs and ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on December 26, 2016

All 4 of us had a full rack of ribs and each one was cooked poorly.We all had a tough time cutting the ribs apart to eat. Sauce was great though. Front desk hostess was very nice and our waiter made the dinner fun with his interactions with us.

Tags: Scenic View, Good Vegetarian Options, Great for Lunch, Casual, People Watching, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service5
value4

Food not very hot. New menu feels much m ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 23, 2016

Food not very hot. New menu feels much more expensive than it used to be.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.