About Montgomery Inn - At the Boathouse

925 Riverside Drive
Cincinnati, OH 45202
View Larger Map

Montgomery Inn at the Boathouse is one of the most popular restaurants in Greater Cincinnati. Our world-famous ribs, our friendly service, and our striking view of the Ohio River, makes us a unique restaurant that you and your friends & family will remember long after your meal is over.

Sports fans will love the upstairs sports lounge with sports memorabilia on the walls, as well as the autographed photos of famous visitors who have dropped by. So come on in and get yourself some ribs and watch your favorite team in a fun, classy atmosphere.

Our world-famous ribs are definitely a hard act to follow but we found a way. For dessert, indulge in another Cincinnati culinary tradition: Graeter's black raspberry chip ice cream.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Barbecue, American

Hours of Operation:


Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:00am - 3:00pm

Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 3:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday & Saturday: 3:00pm - 11:00pm, Sunday: 3:00pm - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
Eggleston Avenue

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(513) 721-7427

Website:
http://www.montgomeryinn.com/

Catering:
We offer both self-service & full-service catering options to meet almost any need. Self-Service provides disposable serving-ware, bibs (yes, bibs) and wet naps for both delivery or pick-up.

Our Full-Service team arrives approximately 45 minutes prior to your scheduled time. We provide buffet tables, linens, chafing dishes and sterno. We will serve your guests buffet-style and provide general clean up after the meal.

Catering service is available in Greater Cincinnati and N. Ky areas

Private Party Facilities:
Location and food make the event, and when you have yours at Montgomery Inn, you’ll see what we mean. For a joyous occasion like a rehearsal dinner, your guest will be even more excited knowing it’s going to be at Montgomery Inn. And if it’s a company meeting, your guests will be saying, “At least it’s going to be at Montgomery Inn!” For wedding receptions, rehearsal dinners, corporate events or even just a family get-together, just book the room and leave the details and worrying to us.

The Boathouse has room for groups as small as eight or as large as 90. It might just be the best place on the planet to have your event.

Private Party Contact:
Lisa Mikula: 5137217427x

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Montgomery Inn - At the Boathouse Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.2

ambience

4.2

value

3.8

noise

Moderate

88% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Scenic View
Cincinnati / Dayton
Most Booked
Cincinnati / Dayton
Scenic View
Cincinnati
1 More
Most Booked
Cincinnati
Best Restaurants in Cincinnati ›

Scenic View (289)
Special Occasion (216)
Good for Groups (164)
See All
Fit for Foodies (98)
Great for Lunch (95)
Neighborhood Gem (84)
Great for Outdoor Dining (78)
Hot Spot (78)
Kid-friendly (76)
Romantic (75)
Vibrant Bar Scene (28)
Late-night Find (24)
Great for Brunch (22)
Notable Wine List (19)
Sort By:
Newest
1241 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Fantastic ribs just like I remembered!

vip
 (Phoenix)
·Dined a day ago

Fantastic ribs just like I remembered!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent food. good service friendly wa ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined 4 days ago

Excellent food. good service friendly waitress and staff. Great view. Only down side it gets pretty noisy at times

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Scenic View, Sunday Lunch, Comfort Food, Family Style, Worth the Drive, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Really good BBQ

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on August 23, 2016

Really good BBQ

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The view is awesome but the ribs & Sarat ...

vip
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on August 22, 2016

The view is awesome but the ribs & Saratoga Chips were very pedestrian. It really feels like a place that is riding on its reputation. The lowest bar that I put on a restaurant is that the food be at least as good as how I prepare it and it wasn't even close.

Tags: Family Style, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value3

We were seated promptly, drinks and brea ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

We were seated promptly, drinks and bread arrived in short order. Water glasses were kept full by an attentive but not pestering server. The food as expected was hot, fresh and tasty. An enjoyable Sunday afternoon dinner. We'll be back.

Tags: Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

We a reservation through open table and ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

We a reservation through open table and it still took another hour before we were seated. Food was mediocre, service was not anything special. I would've rather gone somewhere else. Very impersonal. Not special at all

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value2

It's been a long time since I have been ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

It's been a long time since I have been to the boathouse and it will be a long time before I go back. The dress code has gone. People wearing shorts and muscle shirt tops with no sleeves. Young kids sitting at the bar and taking up valuable bar seats. Service was sub par.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service2
value2

Very disappointed in the fact that I had ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

Very disappointed in the fact that I had made "reservations" via the web site on Tuesday of that week prior to dining for a party of 2. Entered restaurant at about 6:30 only to be told the wait would be 20 to 30 minutes! What are the on line reservations for???? We were seated after 40 minutes, which I believe was only because a manager looking person walked by and struck up a conversation and we told him of the wait and how disappointing it was since we did had gone on-line to reserve a seat. Within a few minutes we were seated.

That alone would cause me to think twice about suggesting

Tags: Tasting Menu, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

great /easy making reservation with Open ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

great /easy making reservation with Open table -- we were seated with in 15 minutes of requested reservation time.

Tags: Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

It was so helpful being able to use this ...

 
 (Louisville)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

It was so helpful being able to use this app for priority seating. We had no wait whatsoever.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

In town for a fun weekend. Friends sugge ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

In town for a fun weekend. Friends suggested we have a meal there. We were not disappointed. Ribs were fantastic. We had a table with a view of the river. Glad to have used the Open Table app to secure a reservation. Thank you Open Table!

Tags: Waterfront, Scenic View, Great for Lunch, Casual, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We went for our anniversary and they sat ...

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

We went for our anniversary and they sat a couple within arms length of us. I did not like that at all !

Tags: Private Room, Casual, Vibrant Bar Scene, Romantic, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Beautiful view by the window up stairs. ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on August 17, 2016

Beautiful view by the window up stairs. Very nice way to celebrate our 15 year wedding anniversary . May have to make this a tradition. Amazing Ribs and chicken taco salad . 👍🏼👍🏼

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Always a joy to go to the Montgomery Inn ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on August 16, 2016

Always a joy to go to the Montgomery Inn --- Boathouse, a special Cincinnati place. Love the river views, BBQ and professional servers. Reasonable prices and happy!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Scenic View, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Whenever our sons and their families are ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on August 16, 2016

Whenever our sons and their families are in town, they want to go back to Montgomery Inn. Our family has a lot of memories of great family celebrations and good times at MI.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

My husband and l came to celebrate our 3 ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on August 15, 2016

My husband and l came to celebrate our 35th Wedding Anniversary. When we arrived our table was ready the food and service was great.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Great for Brunch, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Kid-friendly, Romantic, Great for Lunch, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wait staff was very good and very helpfu ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 15, 2016

Wait staff was very good and very helpful on recommendations. Great ribs.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Food is always awesome. It was a little ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

Food is always awesome. It was a little loud but that is due to two family gatherings The view was great.

Tags: Hot Spot, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value3

Ron was an incredible waiter. We will be ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Ron was an incredible waiter. We will be asking for him again when we return for another visit.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

After all of the buildup, we were disapp ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

After all of the buildup, we were disappointed by the overall experience. We were warned that OpenTable reservations lead to priority seating, but we still ended up waiting 45 minutes. Food was good, which saved the experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1

Our server was Kim and she was wonderful ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Our server was Kim and she was wonderful--very friendly and attentive. We had a table at the window with a great view up in the Turf Room.

Tags: Good for Groups, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The location is amazing. I loved the va ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

The location is amazing. I loved the valet parking for $4.00. The wait time was only 10 minutes. The upstairs bar was a nice place to sit and have a drink and look at the river prior to eating dinner. The staff was very cordial and the waiter did a great job. The food was not the best bbq ribs I have ever eaten, but being from the south and living near Memphis for 14 years makes finding good bbq at other places difficult. We enjoyed our date night and will go back.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

The service was great, but my guests did ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

The service was great, but my guests didn't like the sauce

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5

Waitress brought chipotle sauce. I reque ...

vip
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on August 11, 2016

Waitress brought chipotle sauce. I requested it be replaced with original sauce. She brought another chipotle sauce and would not consider that the sauce dispenser was incorrectly filled. Never got original sauce.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

I cannot express how good the sauce on t ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on August 11, 2016

I cannot express how good the sauce on the ribs where, I traveled in for business and was told if I wanted something unique to go here. Atmosphere was pleasant and the view was even better. If I get to come through that way again I will be back for sure.... Also I will be ordering the ribs for travel.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Hot Spot, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Vibrant Bar Scene, Kid-friendly, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Groups, Romantic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Had to wait 45 minutes even with a reser ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on August 11, 2016

Had to wait 45 minutes even with a reservation. Please was totally unorganized. They lost our order so after another 30 minutes the soup finally came out. We were shoved up against the wall where the servers put in all the orders so the atmosphere was horrible. I have nothing good to say about this place at all. It was a waste of time and money.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service2
value1

Excellent food and service, enjoyed the ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on August 11, 2016

Excellent food and service, enjoyed the view and nice atmosphere

Tags: Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

The food and service were excellent. Alt ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on August 9, 2016

The food and service were excellent. Although it was crowded, the noise level was never

intrusive. I am still not clear on the table booking. We reserved days in advance for a Tuesday at 7:30. When we arrived they said we had a 30-40 minute wait. I explained that we booked a table,and we were told all that does is put you in front of the line. I then watched him write our name at the bottom of the list. It worked out the we only waited for 15 min. But now I am totally confused about the advantages of bothering with reserving online.

Tags: Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Sat at outside table. Great view of Ohio ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on August 8, 2016

Sat at outside table. Great view of Ohio river. Adult and 2 teen boys. Had smoked chicken, salmon, and pulled pork. Everyone was full. Price was reasonable for portion size and taste.

Tags: Scenic View, Great for Outdoor Dining, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The outdoor dining area was a bit disapp ...

vip
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

The outdoor dining area was a bit disappointing - didn't match the higher "level" of the indoor space. Perhaps new tables/chairs with umbrella tables, something to make it more upscale.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

Overall, it was very good. Our server w ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

Overall, it was very good. Our server was good but the ambiance seemed different this time. I'm not exactly sure why.

Prior visit was Father's Day which was crazy so hard to judge because of how busy.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

This experience was terrible. From the t ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

This experience was terrible. From the time we entered until the time we finished everything was unorganized. When we asked the waitress when we were finally seated (an HOUR after our priority seating time) about the pulled pork nachos, she told us they weren't her favorite and not good. After an hour of looking at the menu and deciding what we wanted, we stuck with them- they were outstanding.

Overall, the food was good- the staff and experience was not good.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value2

I love your place, the service, the view ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

I love your place, the service, the view and most of all the food, however, I was disappointed this time to not find BEEF ribs on the menu. I made due with the brisket, but it was not the same. I am a practicing muslim and no longer eat pork, but I do still love ribs. Please return those delicious bits to the menu!

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

After 13 years away from Cincinnati, it ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

After 13 years away from Cincinnati, it still is the best ribs a restaurant has ever made!!

Tags: Kid-friendly, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Waiter was excellent and friendly. Even ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

Waiter was excellent and friendly. Even the manager came over to wish my son a happy birthday. The food was excellent except the ribs were a bit drier than normal.

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Vibrant Bar Scene, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very good food. Nice atmosphere!

vip
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

Very good food. Nice atmosphere!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

exc waitress (Seton) girl, with beautifu ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

exc waitress (Seton) girl, with beautiful black hair wore up, very tall Exc service

Dean sat us - He is an Exc Host

Everything is 1st Rate

Tags: Special Occasion, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was very good, but for the seco ...

vip
 (Miami)
·Dined on August 4, 2016

The food was very good, but for the second time (3 years apart), the service was poor. This time it was awful. For five of us, our entree wasn't served until we had been seated nearly an hour and a half.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service1
value3

It was our anniversary. Great view, gr ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on August 4, 2016

It was our anniversary. Great view, great service. The salad was brown in spots, and that was disappointing. But everything was else perfect.

Tags: Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food! Service was good and you can ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on August 4, 2016

Great food! Service was good and you can't beat the views!

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.