Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.18mi
  2. Distance: 0.23mi
  3. Distance: 0.45mi
  4. Distance: 0.53mi
  1. Distance: 0.18mi
  2. Distance: 0.23mi
  3. Distance: 0.45mi
  4. Distance: 0.53mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.18mi
  2. Distance: 0.23mi
  3. Distance: 0.45mi
  4. Distance: 0.53mi
  1. Distance: 0.18mi
  2. Distance: 0.23mi
  3. Distance: 0.45mi
  4. Distance: 0.53mi

About Montgomery Inn - At the Boathouse

Montgomery Inn at the Boathouse is one of the most popular restaurants in Greater Cincinnati. Our world-famous ribs, our friendly service, and our striking view of the Ohio River, makes us a unique restaurant that you and your friends & family will remember long after your meal is over.

Sports fans will love the upstairs sports lounge with sports memorabilia on the walls, as well as the autographed photos of famous visitors who have dropped by. So come on in and get yourself some ribs and watch your favorite team in a fun, classy atmosphere.

Our world-famous ribs are definitely a hard act to follow but we found a way. For dessert, indulge in another Cincinnati culinary tradition: Graeter's black raspberry chip ice cream.

925 Riverside Drive
Cincinnati, OH 45202
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Barbecue, American

Hours of Operation:


Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:00am - 3:00pm

Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 3:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday & Saturday: 3:00pm - 11:00pm, Sunday: 3:00pm - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
Eggleston Avenue

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(513) 721-7427

Website:
http://www.montgomeryinn.com/

Catering:
We offer both self-service & full-service catering options to meet almost any need. Self-Service provides disposable serving-ware, bibs (yes, bibs) and wet naps for both delivery or pick-up.

Our Full-Service team arrives approximately 45 minutes prior to your scheduled time. We provide buffet tables, linens, chafing dishes and sterno. We will serve your guests buffet-style and provide general clean up after the meal.

Catering service is available in Greater Cincinnati and N. Ky areas

Private Party Facilities:
Location and food make the event, and when you have yours at Montgomery Inn, you’ll see what we mean. For a joyous occasion like a rehearsal dinner, your guest will be even more excited knowing it’s going to be at Montgomery Inn. And if it’s a company meeting, your guests will be saying, “At least it’s going to be at Montgomery Inn!” For wedding receptions, rehearsal dinners, corporate events or even just a family get-together, just book the room and leave the details and worrying to us.

The Boathouse has room for groups as small as eight or as large as 90. It might just be the best place on the planet to have your event.

Private Party Contact:
Lisa Mikula: (513) 721-7427

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Montgomery Inn - At the Boathouse Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.2

ambience

4.2

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

85% would recommend it to a friend

Waterfront (127)
Scenic View (111)
Special Occasion (102)
See All
Good for a Date (86)
Good for Groups (77)
Good for Birthdays (71)
Casual (64)
Good for Anniversaries (56)
Fun (55)
Worth the Drive (53)
Business Meals (49)
Comfort Food (38)
Great for Lunch (37)
Neighborhood Gem (34)
Authentic (28)
Great for Outdoor Dining (27)
Romantic (26)
People Watching (25)
Hot Spot (24)
Kid-friendly (21)
Family Style (20)
Fit for Foodies (20)
Pre/post Theatre (18)
Sunday Lunch (17)
Local Ingredients (16)
Bar Seating (15)
Happy Hour (14)
Great Beer (14)
Tasting Menu (14)
Creative Cuisine (13)
Cozy (12)
Historic (12)
Disabled Access (10)
Seasonal (10)
Live Sports (9)
Late-night Find (9)
Great for Brunch (8)
Quiet Conversation (8)
Notable Wine List (6)
Vibrant Bar Scene (6)
Private Room (5)
Modern Decor (4)
Spicy (4)
Healthy (3)
Handcrafted Cocktails (3)
Gluten Free Options (3)
Live Music (3)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Fireplace (1)
Tapas (1)
Vegan (1)
Sort By:
S
1748 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined 3 days ago

This restaurant is a local gem. The food is fantastic but you have to be patient to get a table. Even on a Tuesday night, it was so busy that we had to wait 30 minutes past our 7pm reservation to be seated with our party of 5.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Fun, Casual, Comfort Food, Good for Anniversaries, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined 4 days ago

This restaurant was highly recommended by locals for the ribs that did not disappoint. My son and I split a full rack and there was not a morsel left of it as the entire table enjoyed. The dry rub had great seasoning and flavor, they were cooked to perfection, and it was accompanied with a bowl of BBQ sauce so you could make them as "wet" as you wanted. My son chose the Mac and cheese as the side but it was disappointing: gummy cheese sauce, and it was barely lukewarm. My daughter chose the chicken wings but opted for original BBQ sauce vs the chipotle sauce it was going to come with. These were quite tasty. Husband chose the slider trio. Pulled pork was delicious, pulled chicken was good, but brisket was tough and dry.

Service was not the best. When we arrived at restaurant, with reservations, hostess told us table was ready but it still took them 10+ minutes to seat us. Meanwhile 3 other parties without reservations walked up and were seated immediately. When we passed them on the way to our way table, they were all seated at prime tables on the water. Waiter lacked attention to detail and did not communicate to busser.

Enjoyed seeing all the sports memorabilia on the walls! And there is a great scenic view of the river and of Kentucky.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Fun, Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined 4 days ago

Great location. I felt the menu was limited but food was above average. Great for get to gethers.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 4 days ago

Had a great table with a view. The wait staff showed just the right amount of attention to allow us to talk freely. Food was excellent and the drinks were kept full. Very good experience.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Quiet Conversation, Sunday Lunch, Casual, Good for a Date, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Adelaide)·Dined 5 days ago

Great view from nearly any table. Delicious ribs and duck as well.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined 5 days ago

Father's Day.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined 5 days ago

Father's Day ... it was loud, over crowded, and the food was just so-so! Disappointing. But our waiter was very nice.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service4
value2

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined 5 days ago

We visited the Montgomery Inn Boathouse location to celebrate Father's day. We ordered the King size of Original Ribs, which seems to get better with each visit.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Tallahassee)·Dined 6 days ago

Was in town for unveiling/dedication of Pete Rose statue, and to root on the Dodgers. Made reservations here and 3 tables over was Pete Rose! Got a pic with him. Turns out its his favorite restaurant!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined 6 days ago

Service was slower than usual. Food was fantastic as always.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 6 days ago

The service was phenomenal! The food and appetizers were even better.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Great for Lunch, Fun, Vibrant Bar Scene, Business Meals, Tasting Menu, Good for Groups, Tapas, Spicy, Romantic, Live Sports, Disabled Access, Casual, Paleo Friendly, Creative Cuisine, Late-night Find, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Happy Hour, Great for Brunch, Notable Wine List, Handcrafted Cocktails, Vegan, Gluten Free Options, Great Beer, People Watching, Waterfront, Worth the Drive, Bar Seating, Cozy, Hot Spot, Scenic View, Good for Birthdays, Healthy, Sunday Lunch, Quiet Conversation, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Kid-friendly, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Columbus)·Dined 6 days ago

Overall a great time! It was a bit on the cramped side, but I understand that's because a lot of people want to eat there and you're doing the best with the space that you have.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Fun, Good for Groups, Casual, Neighborhood Gem, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined 6 days ago

We had a great meal. Our server, Gary, was outstanding!! Great sense of humor. Six of us dined there as part of an annual golf/baseball trip. Even had the pleasure of meeting hits king, Pete Rose!!

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Fun, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined 6 days ago

We went to dinner to celebrate Father's Day. We all had been to Montgomery location but not the Boat house and it did not disappoint. Great time was had by all and the food was DELICIOUS and the service and hospitality was outstanding. thank you!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Casual, Scenic View, Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Bar Seating, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined 6 days ago

horrible access for older people who cannot walk all the steps inside restaurant to go upstairs to wait then back down to eat. had to ask bartender to open service elevator to accommodate the older people we were with. then wanted to squeeze 5 of us---3 of whom are almost 90--into a booth. THEY CANNOT SLIDE ACROSS THE SEATS. And the ribs were bad.
The workers seemed to not even notice or care that we had some special needs.
In addition, making a reservation on open table does not guarantee seating time or special requests, so don't bother
Will never go back

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value1

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined 6 days ago

The Boathouse is always a great time! The setting is great with all of the Cincinnati memorabilia! Our waiter was great too and completely on it!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Good for Groups, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Waterfront, Worth the Drive, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Adelaide)·Dined 6 days ago

Delicious as always. Service was fantastic! And sitting by the windows overlooking to Ohio river was so nice!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Good for Groups, People Watching, Great Beer, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Bar Seating, Hot Spot, Great for Lunch, Scenic View, Authentic, Pre/post Theatre, Fit for Foodies, Vibrant Bar Scene, Happy Hour, Casual, Waterfront, Special Occasion, Comfort Food, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined 6 days ago

Been to the boathouse many times over the years. One word to describe this place is consistency. The food is always great and our waiter was incredible. Definitely on par with the service at Jeff Ruby's but more personable.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Good for Groups, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined 6 days ago

Service was great as usual. Our group wasn't really impressed with the food like we were on previous visits. Ribs were lacking meat on the half racks. The boys were quite disappointed since ribs were the whole reason for the visit. Other then that, no issues.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Local Ingredients, People Watching, Scenic View, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Fun, Special Occasion, Waterfront, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined 7 days ago

Very good food. Tends to be somewhat crowded and noisy.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on June 13, 2017

Great baby back ribs!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on June 11, 2017

Have eaten here many times and love the ribs, best in Cincy. Service is excellent, friendly and professional without being obtrusive. Have been here many times but have never gotten a window seat even thought I always request it both when I make my reservation and upon arrival. This time I was told it was not available although I saw at least 2 large tables open when we got there and they remained open the entire time we ate. Did not complain but a minor issue since they went unused while my party was placed back on an inside corner with no view at all. What really matters is the food and service and both are excellent. My party had the ribs (excellent), the chicken (superb), and other items and there were no complaints at all. The Saratoga chips with sauce are a must appetizer you can get nowhere else. Great selection of desserts to please anyone. The bill was about $250 including tip which is not bad for an excellent meal for 6 adults and a child. Hoping for a window next time with a view of the river.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Good for a Date, Waterfront, Scenic View, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Kid-friendly, Good for Groups, Business Meals, Sunday Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on June 11, 2017

Food still very good, but "The Boathouse" overall looks tired and could use a makeover.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on June 10, 2017

The food was absolutely amazing and our service was wonderful everyone was very polite constantly checking in (but not too much to where it was annoying) kept up on drinks without having to ask or before they were even half way.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Fun, Authentic, Casual, Great Beer, Waterfront, Good for Anniversaries, Hot Spot, Scenic View, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on June 10, 2017

1. Requested window seating for a 5:30pm reservation - we were seated against the back wall of the upper tier;
2. Wanted a leisurely dinner with friends, instead, felt rushed by the wait staff
3. Ambience was - well, louder than preferred.
4. Difference between "Good" and "Poor" rating was the food at an "Outstanding."

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Scenic View, Casual, Authentic, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service2
value3

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on June 10, 2017

Atmosphere was the best part, service was good and the food was OK but not great. We had a fish special consisting of salmon, halibut and grouper. OK at best. We should of had the ribs!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Good for Birthdays, Casual, Waterfront, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on June 10, 2017

Service was great and food was excellent. With use of OpenTable, were seated right away!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Happy Hour, Cozy, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on June 10, 2017

Definitely one of our favorite places in Cincinnati.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Waterfront, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Denver)·Dined on June 9, 2017

Great atmosphere and terrific view of the river. Nice service, food above average. A fun place to visit when in town!

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Miami)·Dined on June 8, 2017

Food was ok. Service was great!!!
View of river was amazing.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Waterfront, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on June 8, 2017

We had a reservation and were promptly seated; the bbq pork ribs were excellent! And the view, especially for my guest, of the review couldn't be more inviting to visitors to Cincinnati.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on June 8, 2017

Tourist trap! Don't bother

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Good for Groups, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

vip
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on June 8, 2017

The Boathouse was not up to standard on the evening we dined. The restaurant was not close to capacity and yet our server was not attentive at all, and the pace of ordering and delivery of even beverages and bread was slow. The food was not up to Boathouse standard. This was disappointing as we had taken a dear friend from out of town to visit this iconic establishment and every aspect of the food and service was just at mediocre standards. Even the ribs were less than their normal level of excellence. And - to top it off - even though we identified we had Open Table reservations and they acknowledged that we had reservations - they failed to check us in, so we got a nasty notice from open table at first saying we missed our reservations. Maybe the "A" team for the restaurant was taking the night off, and though it may be some time before we re-visit, we hope the Boathouse gets the groove back and the servers return to their normal excellence standard of service when we choose to return.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value3

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on June 6, 2017

We had a great Birthday Dinner. I asked to be seated by window and request was met. Server was attentive and very nice. Manager came around and checked on us several times. Great service and experience!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on June 5, 2017

Our dinner was outstanding. Our waiter
(Brenen) was great, friendly and knowledgeable. He was also fun to have as our waiter. The fish special was great as we're the ribs. Thanks for a memorable evening!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Waterfront, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on June 5, 2017

We went for our 46th wedding anniversary. Our waitress was EXCEPTIONAL. I can't remember her name but she was outstanding. The food was good. We ordered the brisket but we would stick with the ribs next time. They are great. The service, as usual, was outstanding. We asked for a booth and they gave us one. It was a very nice evening. The gentleman that seated us congratulated us several times and again on the way out.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Scenic View, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Casual, Waterfront, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on June 4, 2017

We hadn't visited the Montgomery Inn Boathouse for years. As a special birthday celebration, my husband and I looked forward to a return visit for dinner. We were very disappointed all the way around--was very noisy with large parties, crowded with tables close to each other, and food was average.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value2

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on June 4, 2017

We drove to Cincinnati for a weekend visit to take in a couple of baseball games. After reading wonderful reviews of Montgomery Inn Boathouse, I made a reservation for the 2 of us for Sunday evening. Liz took superb care of us and we each had 2 course menu selections ($22/person) of salads and main entree and one side (7 count BBQ ribs for me with baked potato and 2 chicken breast quarters and homemade potato chips for my husband). I thought his chips needed seasoning. It was such fun to have Liz tie a bib onto each of us and she was very attentive making sure our drinks were quickly refilled. We shared a profiterole for dessert.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Casual, Scenic View, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on May 30, 2017

The service was okay, kept having to ask for refills for our drinks and too long to be waited on. Also the waitress spilled our drinks on us, so we set there wet and with liquid still on the floor steping in it. Was not a pleasant experience for my fiancé bday

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value2

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on May 30, 2017

Food was good. Ribs were a bit drier than I remember. Server was a bit too efficient (e.g., saying what she had to say while still walking up to the table or as she was walking away) instead of actually talking to us.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.