About Montgomery Inn - At the Boathouse

925 Riverside Drive
Cincinnati, OH 45202
View Larger Map

Montgomery Inn at the Boathouse is one of the most popular restaurants in Greater Cincinnati. Our world-famous ribs, our friendly service, and our striking view of the Ohio River, makes us a unique restaurant that you and your friends & family will remember long after your meal is over.

Sports fans will love the upstairs sports lounge with sports memorabilia on the walls, as well as the autographed photos of famous visitors who have dropped by. So come on in and get yourself some ribs and watch your favorite team in a fun, classy atmosphere.

Our world-famous ribs are definitely a hard act to follow but we found a way. For dessert, indulge in another Cincinnati culinary tradition: Graeter's black raspberry chip ice cream.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Barbecue, American

Hours of Operation:


Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:00am - 3:00pm

Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 3:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday & Saturday: 3:00pm - 11:00pm, Sunday: 3:00pm - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
Eggleston Avenue

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(513) 721-7427

Website:
http://www.montgomeryinn.com/

Catering:
We offer both self-service & full-service catering options to meet almost any need. Self-Service provides disposable serving-ware, bibs (yes, bibs) and wet naps for both delivery or pick-up.

Our Full-Service team arrives approximately 45 minutes prior to your scheduled time. We provide buffet tables, linens, chafing dishes and sterno. We will serve your guests buffet-style and provide general clean up after the meal.

Catering service is available in Greater Cincinnati and N. Ky areas

Private Party Facilities:
Location and food make the event, and when you have yours at Montgomery Inn, you’ll see what we mean. For a joyous occasion like a rehearsal dinner, your guest will be even more excited knowing it’s going to be at Montgomery Inn. And if it’s a company meeting, your guests will be saying, “At least it’s going to be at Montgomery Inn!” For wedding receptions, rehearsal dinners, corporate events or even just a family get-together, just book the room and leave the details and worrying to us.

The Boathouse has room for groups as small as eight or as large as 90. It might just be the best place on the planet to have your event.

Private Party Contact:
Lisa Mikula: 5137217427x

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Private Room, Takeout, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Montgomery Inn - At the Boathouse Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.3

ambience

4.3

noise

Moderate

89% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Scenic View
Cincinnati / Dayton
Most Booked
Cincinnati / Dayton
Scenic View
Cincinnati
1 More
Most Booked
Cincinnati
Best Restaurants in Cincinnati ›

scenic view (283)
special occasion (212)
good for groups (159)
See All
great for lunch (94)
fit for foodies (78)
romantic (77)
neighborhood gem (76)
great for outdoor dining (70)
hot spot (65)
kid-friendly (60)
vibrant bar scene (25)
late-night find (20)
great for brunch (18)
notable wine list (17)
Sort By:
Newest
1110 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food4
ambience2
service5
value3

The food was good and the service was gr ...

Dined 3 days ago

The food was good and the service was great. When we made our reservations on Open Table we requested a window table. When we arrived we asked again for a window table but we were told they were on a first come first serve basis and none were available, but the table below us (a window table) was open for an hour after we sat at our table. They finally sat a party there. Apparently the window tables aren't on a first come first serve basis for everyone.

Tags: special occasion
food3
ambience1
service2
value2

We have been to Montgomery Inn many time ...

Dined 5 days ago

We have been to Montgomery Inn many times. This time (6/20 7pm) it was a real disappointment. The server ignored us. We waited a LONG time for anyone to even approach us and we had a reservation. The bartender saw that he would not acknowledge our presence so she stepped in and was wonderful. The food was only ok. I normally LOVE the food here. The onion straws had fries mixed in with them. The crab cake was cold and the brisket was a much smaller portion than usual. Whoever plated it was obvious in a rush. They sat us in the bar and the entire time we had to listen to the OJ murder trial. You don't want to celebrate your anniversary while watching a blood bath on TV. It was areal disappointment. It was our anniversary and we were expecting a typical Montgomery Inn experience.

Tags: neighborhood gem
food3
ambience2
service1
value2

We had a party of 5 for dinner on Father ...

Dined 6 days ago

We had a party of 5 for dinner on Father's Day so I made sure to make a reservation then follow up with a phone call to request a table with a good view of the river which they said is no problem. My parents are from NYC and I wanted to take them somewhere a little nicer since it was their first trip to Cinci. Our table was the first one by the entrance when you walk into the restaurant so we didn't get what we were going for. The service was sub par because the servers were more interested in gossiping and complaining about having to be at work while at the station next to us. Then when the food came out my last two ribs were burnt. Overall it was an underwhelming meal and experience for a first time visiting a Cincinnati Staple.

Tags: scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Everytime I'm in Ciny I have to eat at t ...

Dined 6 days ago

Everytime I'm in Ciny I have to eat at the Boathouse, have recommended to friends and family. Always consistent and never been disappointed!

Tags: kid-friendly, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

The atmosphere and location on the river ...

Dined 6 days ago

The atmosphere and location on the river is the best feature of the total experience. The food is good to very good and the service is just good. The prices are in my opinion, high unless you put a high value on the atmosphere.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, scenic view, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best barbeque in the Midwest! Went ther ...

Dined 6 days ago

Best barbeque in the Midwest! Went there for Father's Day and had a great time. I recommend the brisket and ribs combo. It's not on th menu but they will create that combo for you. I bought a couple of bottles of sauce on the way out. Enjoy!

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, scenic view
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

Throughly enjoyed the restaurant. My fis ...

Dined 6 days ago

Throughly enjoyed the restaurant. My fist ever visit. My boyfriend and his dad enjoyed the ribs tremendously. I had the beef brisket and WAS NOT HAPPY WITH it. It was mostly fat so therefore I did not eat it. I made a reservation and we waited no more than 15 min for our table after arrival. So almost 100% satisfied with the restaurant

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food3
ambience4
service5
value2

Always make reservations,big crowds on w ...

Dined 6 days ago

Always make reservations,big crowds on weekends and special occasions.The Matula salad is our favorite.We were there on busy Father's Day and our ribs and burger tasted dry and precooked.

Tags: special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service1
value4

We made reservations for 9:00pm, arrived ...

Dined 7 days ago

We made reservations for 9:00pm, arrived at 8:55 and were told the there was a 15 wait. We were directed to the bar upstairs and noticed many unused and fully set tables. No big deal. Once in the bar we noticed the deck overlooking the river. We were immediately informed that we were welcome to sit outside but could only order appetizers. Okay, silly rule but, hey, it's beautiful outside. Long story short, we ordered $40.00 in appetizers, received our food in a timely fashion, waited 15 minutes for silverware and napkins. Even warm appetizers are good at this place! When asking about ingredients to avoid a food allergy, server misidentified one item, never offered to refill our drinks, we had to ask another server for our check, you get the picture. When I mentioned the level of service to the hostess downstairs her reply was "We've received a number of complaints from the bar area tonight. Not sure what's going on." Comforting. I would go back. The food was excellent, the restaurant itself is beautiful, and the views are spectacular.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The staff was amazing, the service was t ...

Dined 7 days ago

The staff was amazing, the service was the best I have had in a while, and food is some of the best I have had as well. I will be coming back, and I made sure to let everyone I know looking for a "Date Night" to know about Montgomery Inn.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We went for our 20th wedding anniversary ...

Dined on June 17, 2016

We went for our 20th wedding anniversary. The view was great. The food and service were amazing! We had a great time.

Tags: special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We love Montgomery Inn. We moved away fr ...

Dined on June 17, 2016

We love Montgomery Inn. We moved away from Cincinnati a few years back, we try to go every time we are in from out of town. It is a hometown favorite that we have introduced to our children, and they love it just as much as we do.

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, scenic view, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I took my wife here recently for our ann ...

Dined on June 17, 2016

I took my wife here recently for our anniversary and it was amazing. She had never been, and I hadn't been since childhood. The portions were good, the sauce is great, food was all cooked to perfect heat/texture, and the service was amazing. To top it off, there's a great view of the river. We will definitely be going again; my wife even mentioned to me after we left that she was already excited for our next visit so she could try something else. 10/10 TRY THE RIBS

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

The service was great, Jeff our server w ...

Dined on June 15, 2016

The service was great, Jeff our server was top notch. Food was good vroccoli was a bit under cooked but my daughter really loved the mac and cheese.

Tags: kid-friendly, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Montgomery Inn has fantastic food in a g ...

Dined on June 15, 2016

Montgomery Inn has fantastic food in a great atmosphere. Their ribs are to die for! I highly recommend this restaurant!

food5
ambience5
service4
value5

This was my first time to the Montgomery ...

vip
Dined on June 13, 2016

This was my first time to the Montgomery Inn. My husband and I were on vacation in Ohio (where he grew up) and he was very excited to go. I am NOT a big fan of barbeque and didn't really know what to expect. He already knew he was getting the ribs and was soooo happy with them. He got the baked mac n cheese a his side, which wa phenominal, but he couldn't eat becuase he was so stuffed from ribs. I got the trio sliders (one pulled chicken, one pulled pork and one sliced brisket). It came with the kettle-style chips and coleslaw. Well I LOVED the sandwiches. The pork was my favorite (which surprised me), chicken second and brisket third. The chips were very good. I didn't care for the coleslaw; too "mayonnaise-y" for my taste. There were many items on the menu for those who don't like barbeque but I am very glad I tried it. Our service was good and we went at 3pm on a weekday so it was very quiet. We will definitely go back.

Tags: great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

The Boathouse's only saving grace is tha ...

Dined on June 12, 2016

The Boathouse's only saving grace is that it is on the river. It was our 5th wedding anniversary and we wanted to spend the day down at the river, first with a Reds game and then with dinner. Our game didn't last as long as expected, so we had some time before our reservations to walk around the surrounding area. The park is beautiful! When we first arrived to check in, the restaurant lobby was elbow-to-elbow with no where to sit. They had directed us to the bar upstairs, but we don't drink, so we just wandering around outside for a while. Our table was ready at the time of our reservation. We were seated upstairs, close to the window, which was nice. We asked to sit outside, but was told that the outside seating was for drinks and appetizers only (?). We were sandwiched between two other larger tables at a two topper. There was really no room to move. It was hard for the server to serve us and at one point she knocked my drink over on me. I ordered ribs and my wife ordered a barbecue chicken sandwich. It took quite a while for our food to come or maybe it just seemed like forever because the people beside us were extremely loud. The food was alright, not in line with other Montgomery Inn experiences. I really have had better food and service at O'Charley's. Bottom line, food was alright, service was alright, scenery is great.

food5
ambience5
service4
value5

we had a wonderful time with a group of ...

Dined on June 11, 2016

we had a wonderful time with a group of 7. Saturday night, even with reservations we had to wait about 30 minutes. Ours got lost in the fray so good thing we asked. Food was fabulous, good value, good variety of choices for everyone, good wine list. It WAS busy so food coming was a little slow. Staff was personable.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service3

Even with reservations the wait was stil ...

Dined on June 11, 2016

Even with reservations the wait was still a 45 min to an hr wait even though they said 15-30min wait. And there were a few other couples in our same situation. But other than the wait to get our seat it was a enjoyable time.

food3
ambience3
service2

Ambiance and view great. Make sure you h ...

Dined on June 11, 2016

Ambiance and view great. Make sure you have reservations; it gets crazy sometimes.

food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Loud

Dined on June 10, 2016

Lots of families with young (often screaming) children.

Tags: good for groups, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5

Beautiful view, consistently good food a ...

Dined on June 10, 2016

Beautiful view, consistently good food and excellent service.

food4
ambience4
service3
value4

A Night to Remember

Dined on June 9, 2016

This place has it all - service, food, and ambience - highly recommend to anyone wanting to be treated as a valued customer.

Tags: fit for foodies, late-night find, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Great food, great view!

Dined on June 9, 2016

Fall off the bone ribs with that signature sauce! Delicious! The view of the river creates great ambiance. I recommend taking a walk with your loved one along the river when you are done down to Serpentine Wall.

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Best BBQ

Dined on June 7, 2016

This is one of the best places to eat in town. We are sure to stop when in town.

Tags: special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Love Montgomery Inn

Dined on June 5, 2016

We were at a Reds game before and were able to book online very easily. We were seated right away and had a quick turnaround on our food. The food by the way was just as I remembered it - AMAZING!

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

The food was perfect and the staff were ...

Dined on June 5, 2016

The food was perfect and the staff were all very nice. I was expecting a seat inside by the window but was offered one better outside making the occassion that much better. My only regret was not ordering enough ribs.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

It was over-rated...disappointing.

Dined on June 4, 2016

We finally made it to eat at this restaurant and we were disappointed. Our initial service was not good, but got better as the evening went on. The ribs were not as awesome as we had expected and the only thing we really liked were the onion straws. Maybe we hit it on a "bad" night....but most likely will not try it again.

Tags: neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Virginia visit

Dined on June 4, 2016

It was a great restaurant on the River to take our friends visiting from Virginia. We all enjoyed the ribs and chicken. Beautiful view from the restaurant. Also enjoyed after dinner looking at all the memorabilia on the second level.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Birthday Date

Dined on June 4, 2016

Everything was great. We don't have the budget to dine there often. My wife received a gift card from her employer. We used it to enjoy her birthday. We want to come back again and have another date.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food2
ambience1
service1

We had the worst service I've ever recei ...

Dined on May 29, 2016

We had the worst service I've ever received before. We were there to celebrate my daughters 18th birthday so it was myself, my daughter and 4 of her friends and an infant we were babysitting. After being seated they brought us water then we waited 10 minutes to put our drink and appetizer orders in with the waitress (Tracey M). 15 minutes later some other person not our waitress brought one of the girls dr. Pepper out watered down. Then about 10 minutes after that I watched someone bring the appetizer out and set it along the wall and that's where it sat for the next 10 minutes. All this and the waitress still had not come back to take our order. Probably another 10-15 minute wait and the waitress finally came back to take our order. While ordering one of the girls Katie ordered the pulled chicken sandwich that came with Cole slaw and one side Katie choose onion straws as a side and Tracey informed her that it comes with straws would she like an additional item so Katie ordered the Mac n Cheese. So now the wait began again. While waiting I noticed other tables with baskets of bread and when I finally saw my waitress again maybe 20 minutes later I waved her down and asked if we were supposed to have bread. She proceeded to say "oh do you want bread?" I told her yes if we're supposed to have it. Another 25 minutes later our food came out. When she handed Katie her plate there were no straws just Mac n Cheese and Katie said something and Tracey offered to add straws to her order because she was wrong and the meal did not include straws. Katie declined the straws because Tracey was going to charge her extra for them. In the end we ended up also waiting a while for our checks and she took the checks with cash and kept the change at first assuming it was her whole tip which would have made a 40%+ tip. Very very unhappy with my first ever visit to this restaurant!!

food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Evening get away

Dined on May 28, 2016

Beautiful view over looking the Ohio River. Very relaxing and romantic watching the boats go up and down the river. The food and the dining experience was excellent! And our server was very attentive.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, hot spot
food4
ambience5
service5

Everything was excellent, the brisket sa ...

Dined on May 27, 2016

Everything was excellent, the brisket sandwich had a little to much sauce for my daughters liking, but other than that perfect night.

food5
ambience5
service5

Always a nice evening at the Boathouse. ...

Dined on May 26, 2016

Always a nice evening at the Boathouse. Food and service excellent!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We dined at the Boathouse for our 29th w ...

Dined on May 23, 2016

We dined at the Boathouse for our 29th wedding anniversary. The view is beautiful, food was fantastic and the service was quick and friendly. The ribs are to die for. They even gave us a special desert for our anniversary. I will be coming back with the whole family. Prices for such great food are also affordable. And they have a parking lot!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Seated timely, very good service, great view,

Dined on May 22, 2016

Ribs and chicken were cooked very well and tasted great Chips awesome made might night with my wife even more enjoyable.

Tags: scenic view
food3
ambience4
service3
value4

Food quality

Dined on May 22, 2016

While the food at Montgomery Inn is always great, and the BBQ chicken is my favorite dish,oon this visit we were disappointed.The usually excellent Saratoga Chips were soggy and undercooked.I asked for replacements,but these too were not good.

Tags: special occasion
food3
ambience2
service2
value2

Overall walked away underwhelmed with ex ...

Dined on May 22, 2016

Overall walked away underwhelmed with experience. Prices seemed to high for what you get. Service was decent but not above average. Made reservations but still had to wait for a table.

Tags: scenic view, neighborhood gem
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

My visit to Boathose

Dined on May 21, 2016

This was a special get together of cousins that had not seen each other in years. We had a reservation at 7PM. The place was packed. The receptionist asked if we were all there? I said no, they were minutes away. When I told them they were there, she would put me in the que. I asked why I was not in the que already and was told in a snotty way, you only get put in the que (even with confirmed reservation) when everyone is there. Probably not going back.

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We had great service. My steak was excel ...

Dined on May 21, 2016

We had great service. My steak was excellent and cooked perfectly. I liked that we were able to do priority seating online. It was busy and a little noisy. We were seated by the window which gave us a great view of the river.

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.