Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.18mi
  2. Distance: 0.23mi
  3. Distance: 0.45mi
  4. Distance: 0.53mi
  1. Distance: 0.18mi
  2. Distance: 0.23mi
  3. Distance: 0.45mi
  4. Distance: 0.53mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.18mi
  2. Distance: 0.23mi
  3. Distance: 0.45mi
  4. Distance: 0.53mi
  1. Distance: 0.18mi
  2. Distance: 0.23mi
  3. Distance: 0.45mi
  4. Distance: 0.53mi

About Montgomery Inn - At the Boathouse

Montgomery Inn at the Boathouse is one of the most popular restaurants in Greater Cincinnati. Our world-famous ribs, our friendly service, and our striking view of the Ohio River, makes us a unique restaurant that you and your friends & family will remember long after your meal is over.

Sports fans will love the upstairs sports lounge with sports memorabilia on the walls, as well as the autographed photos of famous visitors who have dropped by. So come on in and get yourself some ribs and watch your favorite team in a fun, classy atmosphere.

Our world-famous ribs are definitely a hard act to follow but we found a way. For dessert, indulge in another Cincinnati culinary tradition: Graeter's black raspberry chip ice cream.

925 Riverside Drive
Cincinnati, OH 45202
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Barbecue, American

Hours of Operation:


Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:00am - 3:00pm

Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 3:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday & Saturday: 3:00pm - 11:00pm, Sunday: 3:00pm - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
Eggleston Avenue

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(513) 721-7427

Website:
http://www.montgomeryinn.com/

Catering:
We offer both self-service & full-service catering options to meet almost any need. Self-Service provides disposable serving-ware, bibs (yes, bibs) and wet naps for both delivery or pick-up.

Our Full-Service team arrives approximately 45 minutes prior to your scheduled time. We provide buffet tables, linens, chafing dishes and sterno. We will serve your guests buffet-style and provide general clean up after the meal.

Catering service is available in Greater Cincinnati and N. Ky areas

Private Party Facilities:
Location and food make the event, and when you have yours at Montgomery Inn, you’ll see what we mean. For a joyous occasion like a rehearsal dinner, your guest will be even more excited knowing it’s going to be at Montgomery Inn. And if it’s a company meeting, your guests will be saying, “At least it’s going to be at Montgomery Inn!” For wedding receptions, rehearsal dinners, corporate events or even just a family get-together, just book the room and leave the details and worrying to us.

The Boathouse has room for groups as small as eight or as large as 90. It might just be the best place on the planet to have your event.

Private Party Contact:
Lisa Mikula: (513) 721-7427

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Montgomery Inn - At the Boathouse Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.2

ambience

4.2

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

87% would recommend it to a friend

Waterfront (136)
Scenic View (124)
Special Occasion (101)
See All
Good for a Date (78)
Fun (69)
Casual (67)
Good for Groups (66)
Good for Birthdays (64)
Good for Anniversaries (61)
Comfort Food (53)
Worth the Drive (52)
Business Meals (42)
Great for Lunch (37)
Romantic (36)
Neighborhood Gem (35)
Authentic (33)
Great for Outdoor Dining (30)
People Watching (30)
Fit for Foodies (25)
Bar Seating (24)
Hot Spot (23)
Pre/post Theatre (22)
Local Ingredients (19)
Great Beer (19)
Sunday Lunch (18)
Happy Hour (17)
Cozy (15)
Creative Cuisine (15)
Quiet Conversation (13)
Disabled Access (12)
Live Sports (12)
Seasonal (11)
Tasting Menu (11)
Notable Wine List (8)
Vibrant Bar Scene (8)
Great for Brunch (8)
Late-night Find (8)
Handcrafted Cocktails (8)
Paleo Friendly (5)
Spicy (4)
Gluten Free Options (4)
Live Music (3)
Family Style (3)
Quick Bite (3)
Historic (2)
Tapas (2)
Open Kitchen (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Fireplace (1)
Vegan (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Private Room (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Sort By:
S
1858 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Cincinnati)·Dined 2 days ago

Service was excellent and our party of eight had a good time. My smoked ribs were dry and tough but the chicken was pretty good, moist and tasty.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5
value3

 
·Dined 4 days ago

We reserved a table online and got a table for 5 at 8:00 p.m. I double checked the reservation online and it said it was submitted. We went to Cincinnati to see my Daughter. We called Montgomery Boathouse and they said they had no record of a reservation for us. I love the boathouse so I was very disappointed as I love the ambience and sitting by the river.. They said we could get in at 9:00 p.m. but we had my three year old granddaughter and she would be asleep by then. We called the Montgomery Inn on Montgomery road and they said we could get in there. We went there and the food was delicious and we had a good time.

Tags: Fun, Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined 4 days ago

Parking on-site is 5 usd Valet type or you can park streetside public parking. They don't do reservations, they have Priority Seating, which lets you indicate a time but usually you will wait for 30 minutes past that.
Known for their ribs, which are good and their barbecue sauce is good also. They are proud of their Saratoga potato chips which are a type of thick cut variety. Not real thrilled with them some in the order were hard and tough as shoe leather. The servers for the most part are older, professionals which is nice in that they know what they are doing
Handicap access is doable, but the restaurant is in multiple levels which requires staff to haul ramps for you to have access.

Tags: Bar Seating, Scenic View, Great Beer, Good for Birthdays, Waterfront, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

 
·Dined 5 days ago

It was great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined 5 days ago

The Montgomery Inn is a favorite among locals and for good reason. The restaurant is known for their ribs and amazing barbecue sauce. The Boathouse is right on the river and offers a great view. Service is top notch from the time you walk in unti you leave. I highly recommend reservations , especially for groups.

Tags: Disabled Access, Good for Groups, Sunday Lunch, Gluten Free Options, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Waterfront, Romantic, Fun, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Casual, Local Ingredients, Hot Spot, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Business Meals, Worth the Drive, Comfort Food, Scenic View, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined 5 days ago

Fantastic as always! Great service and great foo!

Tags: Waterfront, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined 6 days ago

Enjoyed good food, with a view of the river. It was a good time to share with my granddaughter.
It was made more enjoyable with a change in tables that they accommodated. Thanks.

Tags: Fun, Special Occasion, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 7 days ago

Beautiful venue, great waiter, and good food. We went at 8:15 pm and the food took about an hour to come out. That's about the only downside to our experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Indiana)·Dined 7 days ago

The food is great and the service is always awesome. Looking out at the river is always a treat.

Tags: Disabled Access, Romantic, Bar Seating, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene, Comfort Food, Good for Groups, Scenic View, Fun, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on August 13, 2017

You go there for the ribs, which were good. Eating on the river ain't too shabby either. We decided to eat upstairs in the bar area instead of waiting for our table. You still get wait service (supposedly). Maybe it was an understaffed night, bc we had trouble even getting offered a drink to start. My husband had to grab someone to wait on us. Even after that, we still had to flag someone down to get service. I'm not one to complain to managers, so we wrote this one off as a fluke. I usually am impressed with the service there, but it has been years since we were there. Maybe things have changed. Won't know unless we go in the future and see if service improves. Still recommend, because who could pass up those yummy ribs, even with bad service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on August 13, 2017

Our reservation was not ready at 7pm as requested even though we were there and checked in 18 mins early. We waited until 7:20pm to be seated and then the arrangement (a booth) was tight for 6 adults. We waited an additional 15 minutes to be reseated at a table. The table seating was excellent.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on August 13, 2017

Montgomery Inn does not disappoint! Food is always good, service attentive, and ambiance great looking out at the river.

Tags: Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 13, 2017

Perfect experience from the time waited to get a table and the food.

Tags: Romantic, Good for Groups, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on August 12, 2017

Excellent ribs and BBQ chicken. A bit pricey but great go special occasions. Try to get a window seat to view river

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails, Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Seasonal, Hot Spot, Romantic, Scenic View, Bar Seating, Waterfront, Great for Outdoor Dining, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on August 12, 2017

Open Table needs to alert customers to the fact that a reservation at The Boathouse does not mean you will be seated by that time.

Tags: Waterfront, Bar Seating, Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
·Dined on August 12, 2017

The view was very nice. The appetizers were good, the service was slow. We hadn't been there for 20 years and were so disappointed in the ribs and shrimp. I believe they've gone to a cheaper cut of meat. I won't recommend this place to anyone , just very disappointed. This used to be my favorite (quality) rib place. So sad!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service2
value1

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 11, 2017

The service was impeccable and the food always good. We have been doing this for years, and will keep going for as long as we can!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
·Dined on August 11, 2017

The MI is known for ribs, but all fare is expertly prepared and is delicious. The staff if friendly and efficient. The view of the river is fantastic. A must if you're in the Cincinnati for business or pleasure.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Casual, Business Meals, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on August 9, 2017

I am just so sad. The ribs were not delicious. They did not "fall off the bone" and they were not easy to chew. The waitress' presentation was very boring with no smile. My client commented on the lack of enthusiasm. The view was the only good part. I won't go there again - at least not for a very long time. Fix the food, please and inspire instead of beat down the help.

Tags: Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

 
·Dined on August 9, 2017

The priority seating helped us get in quickly and seated. Food was amazing and the "3 for $33.00" menu gave your a first and second course along with dessert.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Great for Lunch, Comfort Food, Local Ingredients, Authentic, Waterfront, Neighborhood Gem, Sunday Lunch, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Scenic View, Great for Outdoor Dining, Bar Seating, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on August 8, 2017

Service was fantastic

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on August 8, 2017

Our server was very attentive, but not overly. Food was excellent, and the views magnificent.

Tags: People Watching, Waterfront, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on August 6, 2017

Parents 40th Anniversary. Great dinner with great service!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on August 6, 2017

Made reservation and waited 45 minutes. Slow service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value2

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on August 5, 2017

We come here frequently when we come to Cincinnati. It's a great atmosphere on the river and the food is great. The service this time was slow and took us awhile to get our food and refills on drink. It was just a busy Saturday night. We will still be back.

Tags: Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on August 5, 2017

Always make it a point to eat here whenever I am in town and it never disappoints. The ribs are addictive.

Tags: Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

vip
 (Louisville)·Dined on August 5, 2017

Great food and service! Came in with family for ballgame and had a great dinner and exceptional strawberry shortcake :-)

Tags: Casual, Fun, Waterfront, Quiet Conversation, Quick Bite, Neighborhood Gem, Happy Hour, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Comfort Food, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Handcrafted Cocktails, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on August 5, 2017

We were celebrating my husband's birthday. The meal was great as always.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Anniversaries, Waterfront, Good for a Date, Scenic View, Casual, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on August 5, 2017

Amazing as always! Food is so delicious.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
·Dined on August 4, 2017

My wife and I were seated at a small, two person table up against a wall, The table was too small and uncomfortable. The dinners were very late in coming because the kitchen prepared them twice. Our server told us the first set of dinners were dropped on the floor. The food was mediocre at best, nothing outstanding. The restaurant was too loud for my taste. Hard to have a conversation. The band in the bar was way too loud. On a positive note, the bottle of wine we had ordered was "on the house" because our dinners were so late. This dining experience makes me not want to come back. Besides, the restaurant is in Cincinnati, a town I absolutely hate to drive in.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value2

 
·Dined on August 3, 2017

It is definitely not a place if you want a private, intimate night. The tables are so close together you can't speak without others able to hear. The space between tables were so small it was difficult for anyone to walk through. Disappointed for the second time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience1
service4
value3

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on July 31, 2017

Service good, seated at river view at windows (Really need cleaning) nice, would have been much nicer if they were clean.

Food good, Ribs were a little to Chared on one side unable to chew at all, but those under, were nice.

Lastly, would Like to see the Blackened Scallops with the warm bacon and some blue cheese as an appetizer not on salad, would like to see stuffed Mushrooms as Appetizers also, and a couple other "buffalo" sauces for the wings.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Scenic View, Waterfront, Good for a Date, Fun, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on July 31, 2017

The boat house has the best ribs anywhere (in my humble opinion). Whenever I have the opportunity to travel to Cincinnati, I always reserve one meal at the Boat house. And the views are excellent.

Tags: Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on July 30, 2017

Server forgot about us after we finished eating. Sat 30 minutes waiting for check. No apologies. Won't return.

Tags: Scenic View, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value1

 
·Dined on July 30, 2017

The place is awesome and ribs is very delicious. I wanna go there again.

Tags: Paleo Friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on July 30, 2017

I took the family there for our anniversary. I included "anniversary" in the special occasion section on OpenTable. We were seated almost immediately although the "Go stand by the brass bar and ask for Doug" seemed a little...half-assed.

We were seated next to a post with limited views of the river. Not the optimal arrangement when you go there for the food AND the view. There was also NO mention of our anniversary. Does OpenTable not pass that info along?

The food was not as good as I'm used to at The Boathouse. Still really good, but not their best.
One of my kids actually got sick later that evening and the other did not feel well the next day. That's WAY out of character for this place. I've eaten here several times before and NEVER had that experience.

This is still one of the best restaurants in town, but it was not their best effort. Everyone has a bad day from time to time. I guess this was their turn.

Tags: Waterfront, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

 
·Dined on July 30, 2017

As we celebrated my birthday. It has been a dream of mine to come and eat with you. I have to Say the food was amazing, however our service was terrible. our server. However it took longer than the family of 6 sitting behind us to get our food and we were sat before them. She forgot to ring in our appetizer, my friend had to chase her down and she advised she had forgot, we had to ask the boys seating people for water and refills more than once, never received bread with our meal had to again ask for it. Just a poor experience and not sure we will be coming back. I who hardly ever goes out left almost in tears as this has been such a great place to go and i can't say I will be back.

Ashleigh Stroud

Tags: Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value4

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on July 30, 2017

Our waiter was spot on all evening. He was energetic and enjoyable to talk to and we never wanted for drinks, bread etc. The ribs were tender and delicious. Very enjoyable dinner with family.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Sunday Lunch, People Watching, Seasonal, Bar Seating, Happy Hour, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on July 29, 2017

The unspreadable butter packets were very disappointing. That is the most remarkable aspect of our otherwise pleasant dining experience.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
·Dined on July 29, 2017

We took my mother for her birthday. Our server, Mike, was amazing! He was so kind and made my mother feel so special. We now live in Arizona and had not visited the Boathouse for 10 years. The food was just as great as we remembered. It was a lovely evening.

Tags: Casual, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Quick Bite, Great Beer, Comfort Food, Fun, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.