About Montgomery Inn - At the Boathouse

925 Riverside Drive
Cincinnati, OH 45202
View Larger Map

Montgomery Inn at the Boathouse is one of the most popular restaurants in Greater Cincinnati. Our world-famous ribs, our friendly service, and our striking view of the Ohio River, makes us a unique restaurant that you and your friends & family will remember long after your meal is over.

Sports fans will love the upstairs sports lounge with sports memorabilia on the walls, as well as the autographed photos of famous visitors who have dropped by. So come on in and get yourself some ribs and watch your favorite team in a fun, classy atmosphere.

Our world-famous ribs are definitely a hard act to follow but we found a way. For dessert, indulge in another Cincinnati culinary tradition: Graeter's black raspberry chip ice cream.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Barbecue, American

Hours of Operation:


Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:00am - 3:00pm

Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 3:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday & Saturday: 3:00pm - 11:00pm, Sunday: 3:00pm - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
Eggleston Avenue

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(513) 721-7427

Website:
http://www.montgomeryinn.com/

Catering:
We offer both self-service & full-service catering options to meet almost any need. Self-Service provides disposable serving-ware, bibs (yes, bibs) and wet naps for both delivery or pick-up.

Our Full-Service team arrives approximately 45 minutes prior to your scheduled time. We provide buffet tables, linens, chafing dishes and sterno. We will serve your guests buffet-style and provide general clean up after the meal.

Catering service is available in Greater Cincinnati and N. Ky areas

Private Party Facilities:
Location and food make the event, and when you have yours at Montgomery Inn, you’ll see what we mean. For a joyous occasion like a rehearsal dinner, your guest will be even more excited knowing it’s going to be at Montgomery Inn. And if it’s a company meeting, your guests will be saying, “At least it’s going to be at Montgomery Inn!” For wedding receptions, rehearsal dinners, corporate events or even just a family get-together, just book the room and leave the details and worrying to us.

The Boathouse has room for groups as small as eight or as large as 90. It might just be the best place on the planet to have your event.

Private Party Contact:
Lisa Mikula: 5137217427x

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Montgomery Inn - At the Boathouse Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4.2

ambience

4.2

value

3.8

noise

Moderate

88% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Most Booked
Cincinnati / Dayton
Most Booked
Cincinnati
Best Restaurants in Cincinnati ›

Scenic View (112)
Waterfront (105)
Special Occasion (92)
See All
Good for Groups (65)
Good for Anniversaries (57)
Worth the Drive (56)
Good for a Date (51)
Casual (51)
Good for Birthdays (47)
Romantic (46)
Neighborhood Gem (42)
Great for Lunch (41)
Business Meals (37)
Comfort Food (33)
Fun (31)
Kid-friendly (30)
Historic (29)
Hot Spot (29)
Family Style (29)
People Watching (27)
Fit for Foodies (24)
Great for Outdoor Dining (24)
Authentic (20)
Local Ingredients (16)
Bar Seating (16)
Outstanding Value (16)
Sunday Lunch (15)
Pre/post Theatre (15)
Private Room (14)
Modern Decor (13)
Great Beer (12)
Great for Brunch (12)
Tasting Menu (11)
Notable Wine List (11)
Creative Cuisine (11)
Quiet Conversation (11)
Cozy (10)
Disabled Access (10)
Happy Hour (10)
Late-night Find (8)
Live Sports (8)
Vibrant Bar Scene (7)
Seasonal (7)
Handcrafted Cocktails (5)
Good Vegetarian Options (5)
Open Kitchen (4)
Healthy (4)
Afternoon Tea (4)
Quick Bite (4)
Paleo Friendly (3)
Gluten Free Options (3)
Spicy (2)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Fireplace (1)
Sort By:
S
1395 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

When entertaining out of state guests, I ...

vip
 (Cincinnati)·Dined 3 days ago

When entertaining out of state guests, I can always count on them enjoying a visit to the Boathouse. The food is amazing, service is great and the ambience is very good

Tags: Notable Wine List, Casual, Good for Groups, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Had a great waitress that made evening f ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined 4 days ago

Had a great waitress that made evening fun.

Plenty of food per serving.

Workers were "on top of things".

Tags: Waterfront, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Ribs where lean but dry and chewy on the ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined 4 days ago

Ribs where lean but dry and chewy on the ends .Price was too high for subpar ribs.I ordered the original and the smoked they where both dry and chewy , I was very disappointed.

Tags: Scenic View, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value3

The service was great. The hostess was ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined 5 days ago

The service was great. The hostess was very nice and our waiter was attentive and quick.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

I highly recommend Montgomery Inn - At t ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on November 28, 2016

I highly recommend Montgomery Inn - At the Boathouse!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent place for an excellent meal. I ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on November 27, 2016

Excellent place for an excellent meal. I live in cincinnati, and this is one of the best places to eat. Highly recommend.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

I had been here a few years back, and I ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on November 27, 2016

I had been here a few years back, and I wanted to share this with friends during our visit. Wonderful experience! Great food and friendly staff. The restaurant has 2 floors of floor to ceiling windows running the length of the building. During the day you can watch the tugs pushing barges and, at night, see the beautiful lights of Kentucky across the river. Due to the popularity of the place, reservations are recommended.

Tags: Bar Seating, Good for Groups, People Watching, Special Occasion, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

food was excellent as usual.. I made a r ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on November 26, 2016

food was excellent as usual.. I made a reservation on line 4 days prior to evening meal. Asked for a window seat. got a table the size of a postage stamp.. very uncomfortable... and no window seat.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

The food was very good! I did like the p ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on November 26, 2016

The food was very good! I did like the pick two or three menu. The only thing I was disappointed in my daughter ordered a sirloin steak and it came out like hamburger.

Tags: Family Style, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Our grandchildren were in town for Thank ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on November 26, 2016

Our grandchildren were in town for Thanksgiving holiday and we took in A Christmas Carol at Playhouse in the Park and Montgomery Inn after. Excellent dining!

Tags: Kid-friendly, Outstanding Value, Afternoon Tea, Good for Anniversaries, Modern Decor, Fireplace, Authentic, Comfort Food, People Watching, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Nice environment. Great view with pretty ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on November 26, 2016

Nice environment. Great view with pretty tasty ribs and nice selection of beverages. A bit pricy, but that was expected. Would definitely recommend for special occasions.

Tags: Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

We were seated one hour past our reserva ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on November 26, 2016

We were seated one hour past our reservation time. When we arrived, we were told that there would still be a 15-30 minute wait despite having a reservation. The service was poor and the food was mediocre at best. Go to Walt's, Eli's, or Pontiac for better barbecue

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value1

All in all it was a great experience. Be ...

vip
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on November 25, 2016

All in all it was a great experience. Being cared for by a great staff and the food was outstanding.

Ron Hunt and his team were the best.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The food was good - but unfortunately di ...

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on November 25, 2016

The food was good - but unfortunately did not have great service which you expect when you are spending that amount of money. We received meal before salad - had to ask for bread, 2 x for ketchup and 2 x for tea. One we ordered dessert we sat for 15 minutes + and asked them to check .

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value4

I made a reservation at the Boathouse 6 ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on November 23, 2016

I made a reservation at the Boathouse 6 weeks in advance. The occasion was my daughter and her husband coming home for Thanksgiving. They live in the West and it was the second time her husband had been to Cincinnati.

I had asked for a table with a view of the River. When we arrived there was no table available so we were seated at a table that looked over the parking lot. Not the view I was hoping for. There were tables deeper in the restaurant where you could at least look over the river, but, the seating staff had no concern for my request and we remained with our view of parked cars.

My daughter is a vegetarian and could find nothing on the menu to suit her dietary needs. She had to order A La Carte which added to our bill. There was not even a pasta offering.

The brisket was fatty, the crab cakes had no crab just deep fried batter around breading and you could break your teeth on the crust of the Key Lime Pie. Not the experience I was hoping for my son in law. The waitress was not overly concerned with the food problems. No one was concerned with the seating problem.

I left feeling that the Boathouse could not have cared less about my satisfaction. The only thing that was of any concern was that I paid the bill. I will never plan another special occasion at the Boathouse and I will have to think twice before I would dine there again under ordinary circumstances.

Tags: Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service3
value2

Great food and great atmosphere! Had a t ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on November 20, 2016

Great food and great atmosphere!

Had a table by the window with a great view

Tags: Waterfront, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We made an early reservation as we had o ...

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on November 20, 2016

We made an early reservation as we had opera tickets for the evening. We were celebrating my son's birthday and my wife and I's anniversary. The highlight of the entire meal ended up being the pulled pork nachos. I thought they were really good. I had smoked ribs and pork chop combo, both my boys had the NY strip steak. At $37 a pop I would have been much better off going to Jeff Ruby's or Morton's. No where near the same quality. They don't have broccoli as a standard side anymore. It is a veg of the day, and it wasn't today! "Fresh Green Beans" was and they were under cooked and tasted like they had been blanched in some kind of stock or something. What ever it was it wasn't working. Btw- If you like fried onion straws they sure won't disappoint you there at least not related to quantity. We took them off both my boys steak plates and it covered a large serving tray. I have been to the Montgomery Inn in Montgomery numerous times and had good meals. Dropped over $220.00 for 4 people and for the quality it stung!! Service was great. Shawn our server did a great job.

Tags: Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5
value2

Overall, it was an average experience. S ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on November 18, 2016

Overall, it was an average experience. St. Louis Style ribs are like fattier baby back ribs

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2

Very good service! Our server helped us ...

vip
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on November 17, 2016

Very good service! Our server helped us pick the perfect wine and he always kept the glasses full, both wine and water.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4

Great dinner for our employees to celebr ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 14, 2016

Great dinner for our employees to celebrate a great month. Doug Eppert gave us the VIP treatment. We will be back.

Thank you

Tags: Open Kitchen, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

If you live in Cincinnati, chances are y ...

vip
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on November 13, 2016

If you live in Cincinnati, chances are you eat here frequently. If you are new to the area, the Boathouse is a must and close to everything downtown.

Tags: Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Scenic View, Great for Lunch, Casual, Local Ingredients, Private Room, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Overpriced for what amounts to typical d ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on November 13, 2016

Overpriced for what amounts to typical dining options available in the area. Almost no options for vegetarians but this was no surprise as it is a Ribs focused restaurant. The servers were attentive and friendly. My wife and I do not need to return.

Tags: Waterfront, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4
value1

We had an enjoyable experience. We were ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on November 12, 2016

We had an enjoyable experience. We were seated immediately. Our waiter was outstanding and the food very good. We especially loved the spinach salad. I would highly recommend the Boathouse.

Tags: Good for Groups, People Watching, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Montgomery Inn Boathouse is a great plac ...

vip
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Montgomery Inn Boathouse is a great place to take folks visiting from out of town. I give of tour of downtown, OTR, Riverfront, Mt Adams and end at the Boathouse to enjoy the views. Food variety meets all needs. Service is always strong

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Montgomery Inn at the Boathouse is an en ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Montgomery Inn at the Boathouse is an enticing cocktail of energetic atmosphere, solid to very good food, and an excellent view (provided you score a window seat). Our waiter was friendly and funny, and our food was delivered in a respectable timeframe.

My date and I had originally been under the impression that this was more of a "fine dining" establishment (akin to the Montgomery Inn up in Columbus, OH). It wasn't. My grilled duckling was on par but a little dry, and my date's Salmon California dish was flavorful but a little overbearing. However, we both absolutely loved the sweet potato side (that honey butter) and our appetizer special (bacon-wrapped scallops).

Our bill (with tip) broke the $90 barrier, which felt a bit rich considering the quality of our entrees, but we did both leave feeling full. Everyone around us seemed to be ordering delicious-looking burgers and ribs, so if you do visit, perhaps leave the intricate dishes for Jean Robert's Table or Boca and get yourself a Montgomery Inn staple dish.

My date and I both recommend MIatB provided you stick to their bread and butter entrees. And be sure to request a window seat; that view alone is worth the trip!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value2

We received very good service; our waite ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on November 12, 2016

We received very good service; our waiter was very attentive and polite; the food was very good. He suggested different items on the menu. It was a very good experience.

Tags: Family Style, Great for Brunch, Worth the Drive, Kid-friendly, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Emily our server was great but the Boath ...

vip
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on November 11, 2016

Emily our server was great but the Boathouse crew wonderful. We celebrated a birthday and a good place to do it. Varied menu with great choices, you can't go wrong.👍

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We were seated right at our reservation ...

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on November 11, 2016

We were seated right at our reservation time. They did not read the special request of sitting by the window even though there were several window seats available when we walked in. The food and wait staff were excellent

Tags: Casual, Bar Seating, Good for Anniversaries, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great for lunch with large portions. Get ...

vip
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on November 10, 2016

Great for lunch with large portions. Get a box to take home. The service continues to be tops.

Tags: Waterfront, Good for Birthdays, Comfort Food, Great for Lunch, Bar Seating, Good for Groups, Scenic View, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value4

THERE WAS NO GOOD PLACE TO WAIT FOR THE ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on November 6, 2016

THERE WAS NO GOOD PLACE TO WAIT FOR THE VERY LONG WAIT WE HAD WITH A RESERVATION. WE FOUND THE HOSTESS TO BE VERY RUDE AND THE WAITRESS TO BE VERY SLOW AND TOOK A LONG TIME TO GET THINGS. WE ENDED UP ASKING A BUS-BOY FOR A DESSERT MENU AND ONCE WE GOT IT EVERYTHING WAS MARKED OUT EXCEPT ICE CREAM.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service1
value3

The setting is great overlooking the Ohi ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on November 6, 2016

The setting is great overlooking the Ohio River and the ribs and fixing are great too. We had great service and thoroughly enjoyed trip to one of Cincy's landmark restaurants.

Tags: Casual, Fun, Historic, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

Be aware that even with a reservation, y ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on November 5, 2016

Be aware that even with a reservation, you will have a wait. At the peak dinner time of 6:45, we had a 25 minute wait which we spent in the bar. The drinks are getting pretty pricey, and the combo dinner prices are also not a value.

Our waitress was great and she had a huge party she was taking care of in addition to her other tables. She apologized for being so busy, but she was delightful and gave as much personal attention as she could.

The Boathouse is an iconic place for a meal and for any occasion.

Tags: Casual, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Made resevations for 6:30, we were not s ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 5, 2016

Made resevations for 6:30, we were not seated until 7:05 and were inches from the table next to us. Waitress was good but food was dry.

Tags: Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service4
value1

Celebrated our daughters 16th birthday. ...

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on November 5, 2016

Celebrated our daughters 16th birthday. She'd never been & she absolutely enjoyed her experience. Thank you for making her feel so special.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Made reservations for 630 sat down at 73 ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on November 5, 2016

Made reservations for 630 sat down at 730 dinner for 2. WAY too loud I guess they were more focused on making more $ per person than customers happy Ness. RIBS were cold salad came first dinner about 45 mins later we spent over 3 hours 4 if you add the wait time. No thanks spend the $ and go somewhere esle

Tags: Live Sports, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service4
value1

Nice evening, my request for a river vie ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on November 5, 2016

Nice evening, my request for a river view was honored.

Tags: Cozy, Waterfront, Family Style, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

Great food as always. Booked ahead with ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on November 5, 2016

Great food as always. Booked ahead with no problems. Got right in. Love the view.

Tags: Scenic View, Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Absolutely EVERYTHING was perfect. When ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on November 5, 2016

Absolutely EVERYTHING was perfect. When our waitress got pulled away to a large party, another waiter served our wine. Was VERY impressed with the teamwork. Can't wait to go back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The Boathouse is always great. We went o ...

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on November 4, 2016

The Boathouse is always great. We went on a Friday before an event at the arena. Our waiter sensed that we were short for time, expedited our order and provided excellent service and recommendations. The corn chowder with seafood was outstanding. Ribs are always fall-off-the-bone tender and good.

Tags: Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food awesome waiter wonderful atm ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on November 4, 2016

Great food awesome waiter wonderful atmosphere. Perfect date night for my husband and I.

Tags: Casual, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.