Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.18mi
  2. Distance: 0.23mi
  3. Distance: 0.45mi
  4. Distance: 0.53mi
  1. Distance: 0.18mi
  2. Distance: 0.23mi
  3. Distance: 0.45mi
  4. Distance: 0.53mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.18mi
  2. Distance: 0.23mi
  3. Distance: 0.45mi
  4. Distance: 0.53mi
  1. Distance: 0.18mi
  2. Distance: 0.23mi
  3. Distance: 0.45mi
  4. Distance: 0.53mi

About Montgomery Inn - At the Boathouse

Montgomery Inn at the Boathouse is one of the most popular restaurants in Greater Cincinnati. Our world-famous ribs, our friendly service, and our striking view of the Ohio River, makes us a unique restaurant that you and your friends & family will remember long after your meal is over.

Sports fans will love the upstairs sports lounge with sports memorabilia on the walls, as well as the autographed photos of famous visitors who have dropped by. So come on in and get yourself some ribs and watch your favorite team in a fun, classy atmosphere.

Our world-famous ribs are definitely a hard act to follow but we found a way. For dessert, indulge in another Cincinnati culinary tradition: Graeter's black raspberry chip ice cream.

925 Riverside Drive
Cincinnati, OH 45202
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Barbecue, American

Hours of Operation:


Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:00am - 3:00pm

Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 3:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday & Saturday: 3:00pm - 11:00pm, Sunday: 3:00pm - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
Eggleston Avenue

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(513) 721-7427

Website:
http://www.montgomeryinn.com/

Catering:
We offer both self-service & full-service catering options to meet almost any need. Self-Service provides disposable serving-ware, bibs (yes, bibs) and wet naps for both delivery or pick-up.

Our Full-Service team arrives approximately 45 minutes prior to your scheduled time. We provide buffet tables, linens, chafing dishes and sterno. We will serve your guests buffet-style and provide general clean up after the meal.

Catering service is available in Greater Cincinnati and N. Ky areas

Private Party Facilities:
Location and food make the event, and when you have yours at Montgomery Inn, you’ll see what we mean. For a joyous occasion like a rehearsal dinner, your guest will be even more excited knowing it’s going to be at Montgomery Inn. And if it’s a company meeting, your guests will be saying, “At least it’s going to be at Montgomery Inn!” For wedding receptions, rehearsal dinners, corporate events or even just a family get-together, just book the room and leave the details and worrying to us.

The Boathouse has room for groups as small as eight or as large as 90. It might just be the best place on the planet to have your event.

Private Party Contact:
Lisa Mikula: (513) 721-7427

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Montgomery Inn - At the Boathouse Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.3

ambience

4.3

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

87% would recommend it to a friend

Waterfront (128)
Scenic View (128)
Good for a Date (110)
See All
Special Occasion (88)
Good for Birthdays (78)
Good for Anniversaries (70)
Good for Groups (68)
Worth the Drive (58)
Casual (54)
Business Meals (53)
Fun (47)
Comfort Food (42)
Romantic (41)
Neighborhood Gem (40)
Great for Lunch (36)
Family Style (34)
Authentic (33)
Kid-friendly (30)
People Watching (28)
Historic (24)
Great for Outdoor Dining (24)
Pre/post Theatre (20)
Hot Spot (19)
Bar Seating (19)
Cozy (16)
Sunday Lunch (16)
Fit for Foodies (16)
Local Ingredients (14)
Tasting Menu (14)
Great Beer (14)
Quiet Conversation (13)
Seasonal (12)
Happy Hour (12)
Creative Cuisine (10)
Private Room (9)
Modern Decor (8)
Notable Wine List (8)
Outstanding Value (8)
Vibrant Bar Scene (8)
Late-night Find (7)
Disabled Access (6)
Live Sports (6)
Paleo Friendly (6)
Healthy (4)
Great for Brunch (4)
Spicy (3)
Gluten Free Options (3)
Afternoon Coffee (3)
Handcrafted Cocktails (2)
Open Kitchen (2)
Quick Bite (1)
Fireplace (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Organic (1)
Sort By:
S
1646 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 3 days ago

We have been coming to the Boathouse for many years. Every time we come back the food quality gets worse and the service in the bar is slow. It took 15min to get our drinks. Montgomery Inn Boathouse is becoming very commercialized.

Tags: Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1
value2

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined 4 days ago

We had friends in town from Little Rock who had not been to Cincinnati for 6 years and they wanted to go to the boat house. We had been looking forward to this for months. We enjoyed our fellowship with them but the food was lukewarm, lacking taste, and our server was rushed as well as inattentive the entire time. We will not be back there for a long time.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

vip
 (Cleveland)·Dined 4 days ago

I will rate the food a 6 out of 10. The ribs were dry, sauce has no flavor tastes like tomato paste, macaroni and cheese was 70% cheese spread.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value2

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined 5 days ago

I have always liked the Boathouse and enjoy taking out-of-town guests there. However, this time I was disappointed in the ribs. They were dry, and one was not edible because of dryness. Because the restaurant is a bit pricey, I was disappointed in the quality of the ribs and the values compared to price.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value2

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined 5 days ago

The food was very good and the view was great. The service was lacking a little in that we never were told what the specials were and everyone's food was not delivered at the same time.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Waterfront, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

vip
 (Cincinnati)·Dined 5 days ago

Service wasn't very good. Server was overwhelmed by a larger table and our food took and other items took a long time. Has to ask for sauce for carry out 5 times before actually getting it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value3

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined 5 days ago

I tried the new Chipotle BBQ- it was delicious.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined 6 days ago

Had reservations at 8:30, arrived at 8:20 and was told we had a 45 minute wait. Finally was seated, service was poor. We had gotten drinks from the bar but were almost gone by time we got seated. We finished them shortly after, server never asked if we would like another. Received our food and I asked for extra dressing for my salad. Server came back 15 minutes later and told me he has forgotten to get my dressing. By time I received the dressing my boyfriend had finished an entire rack of ribs so I just asked for a box. Never was asked if we would like or received bread. The salad needless to say wasn't very good the next day as it already had dressing on it. Was here for a special occasion and was really disappointed. Would not recommend.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value2

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 6 days ago

$5 valet parking was a deal. Had 7:00 resversations for two, was told I could be up to a hour wait, only ended waiting about 20 minutes. Had a table by the window which was nice. Would go there again.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined 6 days ago

Had a reservation for 6pm and didn't even get seated until 650 and that was after complaining numerous times.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

vip
 (Denver)·Dined 6 days ago

Great location and views of the river.
Very busy on weekends and especially during Reds games.
Food was average.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined 7 days ago

Be aware reservations are only priority seating. Still waited over an hour for table of 5. Management needs to take more repsonsibility when controlling wait time in order to "prioritize" seating.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Houston)·Dined 7 days ago

The service could not have been better. We loved the collectables throughout, especially the USO and service related ones. It was fun watching the young people dining dressed up for prom.

The ribs are what most everyone recommends and the locals rave about them. They were good, but we're from Texas. As good as they were, they couldn't compete with home. We heard later that the Texans usually like the chicken better.

Tags: Good for a Date, Scenic View, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 7 days ago

Ribs were a disappointment. Not near what I remembered from years ago.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service5
value2

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined 7 days ago

Great BBQ and smoked brisket. I am not a huge BBQ fan but the smoked brisket won me over. My sides (brussel sprouts and cheese grits) were amazing. The service was great and our waitress was knowledgeable, giving the group good recommendations for drinks and entrees. Will definitely visit again when in the area.

Tags: Casual, Good for Groups, Waterfront, Great Beer, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined 7 days ago

Great! The service was awesome. Crowded but fun.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 20, 2017

Cincinnati classic with a few new twists. Loved the new smoked ribs an brussel sprouts

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Columbus)·Dined on April 20, 2017

Business dinner at Montgomery inn. Hoped for more- BBQ is difficult to perfect.... this just felt tired and dry. Nachos were the best part of the meal.

Tags: Scenic View, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on April 20, 2017

Very nice restaurant service and food was really good.look forward to visiting this resturant again soon with out of town family members.

Tags: Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on April 19, 2017

We went there to celebrate our 20th anniversary. We took our daughter with us. She had never been before. Love the view. She wasn't impressed with the salmon california. She said it was too buttery. I loved my ribs! my husband had pork chops and they were good as well.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on April 15, 2017

Best ribs in Cincinatti, great view, excellent service

Tags: Good for a Date, People Watching, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on April 15, 2017

Terrific family holiday dinner - service was efficient and friendly - Open Table priority seating worked like a charm - walked in and right to our waiting table. Food is consistently good & a bonus was a great bartender who made a special martini to order. It's also fun to look out for local sports celebs who frequent this Cincinnati Institution - plus there is an amazing collection of memorabilia! Great job Boathouse Management and staff!

Tags: Family Style, Good for Groups, Fun, Scenic View, Good for Birthdays, Casual, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on April 14, 2017

Server was too busy .. food real good. Will good again

Tags: Great for Lunch, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on April 13, 2017

Our food was great! Our server Nick was very good. We were very happy

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Tasting Menu, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on April 10, 2017

I had my husband's birthday celebration here and everything was great. Shawn our waiter was terrific and the food never disappoints.

Tags: Special Occasion, Casual, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 9, 2017

If you want boiled meat, then this is your spot. Possibly the worst ribs I've ever had. And $33 for bad ribs, a dry chicken breast and Kraft mac and cheese? Please.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service1
value1

vip
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on April 8, 2017

Food was delicious! Ribs, chicken and shrimp. Made reservation via Open Table. Seated almost immediately. Service was very good. A very enjoyable anniversary dinner.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on April 6, 2017

Montgomery Inn ribs are the best in the galaxy. Dropped in from Florida just to get a fix!

Tags: Scenic View, Business Meals, Waterfront, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, People Watching, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on April 6, 2017

As usual great place!!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Good for Birthdays, Fun, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on April 5, 2017

Service was on point. Ribs as always, fantastic. Our entrees were served within 20 minutes of ordering and the light show from the storm was a bonus!

Tags: Waterfront, Great for Lunch, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on April 3, 2017

They say their ribs are award winning. Hardly! They are oven cooked ribs with BBQ sauce poured on top. Then they tout you should try the saratoga chips. Potatoes cooked in a fryer with very little flavor. My wife ordered a simple baked potato. It was dry! My one and only trip!

Tags: Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value2

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 3, 2017

Our time at the Montgomery Inn Boathouse was great as always! Try the new chipotle barbecue sauce - a nice twist on the original classic barbecue sauce!

Tags: Business Meals, Vibrant Bar Scene, Worth the Drive, Family Style, Great Beer, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on April 2, 2017

Need a better red wine selection by the glass. Asked for Malbec and had to resort to a glass of white wine as the red selection was pathetic. Food was great, restaurant was awesome, service was very good.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on April 2, 2017

Love Montgomery Inn food! Ribs are always perfectly falling-off-the-bone. Onion straw starters are enough for four people. Cincinnati classic!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Waterfront, Scenic View, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on April 2, 2017

Reds Opening Day

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on April 2, 2017

Took 5 grandkids there for a special outing. With 5 teenage appetites, it was still very reasonably priced. They enjoyed the treat and I enjoyed listening to all the banter, gossip and world view from this age group. Service was prompt and intuitive on the needs and timing.

The kids think we should meet there on a regular basis. Just might do that.

Tags: Waterfront, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on April 2, 2017

Beautiful view! Nice Place. A little pricey though.

Tags: Seasonal, Authentic, Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on April 2, 2017

We had reservations for 8:30. Arrived around 8:15 or so. We were told it could be 15 to 30 minutes before our table would be ready. I had asked for a window table in my reservation, so I thought maybe that was the reason for the delay. Finally we were seated, at a non window table. Our server looked as if she was ready to be home hours before we arrived. Asked for in sweetened tea with lemon. Had to ask again for the lemon, as it was not provided when she brought out our beverages. Only saw her a few of times afterward, I guess since we were not buying alcohol, we were not worthy. The food was not as good as the hype. At least I can now say I have been there. I was promised it would be great by a friend worthy enough to have his NFL photo hanging on display there. Maybe I should have brought him.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service2
value3

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on April 2, 2017

Amazing! Highly recommended. One of our favorites for special occasions.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Waterfront, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on April 1, 2017

Did not adhere to scheduled reservation made online and waited an hour extra. Accommodations, service, quality of food and view all made up for long wait. visited during busiest time on weekend.

Tags: Happy Hour, Hot Spot, Kid-friendly, Late-night Find, Good for Birthdays, Historic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.