About Montgomery Inn - At the Boathouse

925 Riverside Drive
Cincinnati, OH 45202
View Larger Map

Montgomery Inn at the Boathouse is one of the most popular restaurants in Greater Cincinnati. Our world-famous ribs, our friendly service, and our striking view of the Ohio River, makes us a unique restaurant that you and your friends & family will remember long after your meal is over.

Sports fans will love the upstairs sports lounge with sports memorabilia on the walls, as well as the autographed photos of famous visitors who have dropped by. So come on in and get yourself some ribs and watch your favorite team in a fun, classy atmosphere.

Our world-famous ribs are definitely a hard act to follow but we found a way. For dessert, indulge in another Cincinnati culinary tradition: Graeter's black raspberry chip ice cream.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Barbecue, American

Hours of Operation:


Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:00am - 3:00pm

Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 3:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday & Saturday: 3:00pm - 11:00pm, Sunday: 3:00pm - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
Eggleston Avenue

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(513) 721-7427

Website:
http://www.montgomeryinn.com/

Catering:
We offer both self-service & full-service catering options to meet almost any need. Self-Service provides disposable serving-ware, bibs (yes, bibs) and wet naps for both delivery or pick-up.

Our Full-Service team arrives approximately 45 minutes prior to your scheduled time. We provide buffet tables, linens, chafing dishes and sterno. We will serve your guests buffet-style and provide general clean up after the meal.

Catering service is available in Greater Cincinnati and N. Ky areas

Private Party Facilities:
Location and food make the event, and when you have yours at Montgomery Inn, you’ll see what we mean. For a joyous occasion like a rehearsal dinner, your guest will be even more excited knowing it’s going to be at Montgomery Inn. And if it’s a company meeting, your guests will be saying, “At least it’s going to be at Montgomery Inn!” For wedding receptions, rehearsal dinners, corporate events or even just a family get-together, just book the room and leave the details and worrying to us.

The Boathouse has room for groups as small as eight or as large as 90. It might just be the best place on the planet to have your event.

Private Party Contact:
Lisa Mikula: 5137217427x

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Montgomery Inn - At the Boathouse Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.2

ambience

4.2

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

89% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Scenic View
Cincinnati / Dayton
Most Booked
Cincinnati / Dayton
Scenic View
Cincinnati
1 More
Most Booked
Cincinnati
Best Restaurants in Cincinnati ›

Scenic View (261)
Special Occasion (198)
Good for Groups (157)
See All
Fit for Foodies (86)
Great for Lunch (85)
Romantic (80)
Neighborhood Gem (80)
Kid-friendly (75)
Great for Outdoor Dining (70)
Hot Spot (67)
Waterfront (40)
Vibrant Bar Scene (22)
Worth the Drive (22)
Good for a Date (22)
Late-night Find (21)
Great for Brunch (21)
Casual (21)
Good for Birthdays (18)
Good for Anniversaries (18)
Notable Wine List (18)
Comfort Food (14)
Fun (11)
Business Meals (11)
Family Style (10)
Historic (10)
People Watching (9)
Outstanding Value (7)
Private Room (7)
Bar Seating (6)
Modern Decor (6)
Local Ingredients (6)
Sunday Lunch (6)
Pre/post Theatre (5)
Disabled Access (5)
Quiet Conversation (5)
Authentic (4)
Happy Hour (3)
Great Beer (3)
Handcrafted Cocktails (3)
Creative Cuisine (3)
Tasting Menu (3)
Open Kitchen (3)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Spicy (2)
Cozy (2)
Seasonal (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Live Sports (1)
Healthy (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Sort By:
Newest
1286 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

My son is a freshman at UC. On our first ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined 4 days ago

My son is a freshman at UC. On our first time back to Cincinnati to visit and celebrate his grandfather's 82 birthday it was suggested by a long time Cincinnati resident to try this place. One of there favorites is what they said. My chicken tasted like it had a whole jar of paprika on it. Grandpa's burger was beyond done. Both sides were very charred. The brisket and ribs were OK, not great. The service was very good.

Tags: Waterfront, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

We made a reservation for 8:30 on a Satu ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined 4 days ago

We made a reservation for 8:30 on a Saturday night and were told upon check in that it would be a 30-45 minute wait. I'm not sure why you'd bother with reservations, why not just do away with reservations at peak time? We weren't the only ones complaining about this and I would have made a reservation at the other location had I read the booking confirmation closely. In the end, we got our food to go and saved ourselves the tip and the overpriced drinks and were done eating by the time we might have been seated

Tags: Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

Our server seemed rushed. As soon as we ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined 4 days ago

Our server seemed rushed. As soon as we sat down he asked if we knew what we wanted to order for dinner. Also the setting was quite loud. The main dinning room no longer has carpet to absorb the sound. The drink service was slow as well, both in the bar and at our table. I don't think we will return anytime soon.

Tags: Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service1
value3

Party of 3 arriving at 7:30 PM. The "re ...

 
 (Orlando)
·Dined 4 days ago

Party of 3 arriving at 7:30 PM. The "reservation" was nothing more than priority seating. Still had to wait 40 minutes after arriving to be seated. Restaurant was very busy and had several large parties. After finally being seated, our server seemed stressed out. She didn't discuss any specials, and had to leave our table in the middle of taking our order to serve food brought from the kitchen at another table. Appetizer and bread arrived after our entree. Food was good but nothing outstanding.

Overall a disappointing experience.

Tags: Scenic View, Private Room, Good for Groups, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value2

Wonderful as usual!

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined 4 days ago

Wonderful as usual!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The ribs are not what they use to be! Ve ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined 4 days ago

The ribs are not what they use to be! Very dry! At a place this well known I would also expect fresh butter and sour cream, not prepackaged in plastic containers from a food supplier. Disappointing! Also, we requested a window seat, but were not given one and no explanation was given.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value2

We had reservations for 7:30. Folks fle ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined 5 days ago

We had reservations for 7:30. Folks flew I from Denver. We're told it would be 15 to 30 minutes for an inside table looking at the river. Another hostess said that it would be 44 to an hour, just a floor above. In the meantime, all of the bar tables were empty , but NO, they only serve appetizers. We were seated outside on a very hot evening. This place sucks - won't be back and we have been customers for years and years .

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service2
value2

Came to celebrate my 60th birthday. Ever ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined 5 days ago

Came to celebrate my 60th birthday. Everything was excellent! Ellen was our server and she was amazing. Very knowledgeable about the specials and explaining the history of Montgomery Inn to my friend from Pittsburgh. The food was amazing as always, but Ellen made our experience the best.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Comfort Food, Worth the Drive, Sunday Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Waterfront, Scenic View, Bar Seating, Outstanding Value, Great for Lunch, Business Meals, Good for Groups, Fun, Disabled Access
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My brother was in from New York and want ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined 5 days ago

My brother was in from New York and wanted to dine at the Boathouse with me and our sister. It is his favorite spot. We were accommodated with window seating to view the river. The food and service were excellent. A most enjoyable evening of dining was had by all.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Tasting Menu, Romantic, Modern Decor, Great for Lunch, Pre/post Theatre, Creative Cuisine, Disabled Access, Bar Seating, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Sunday Lunch, Waterfront, Quiet Conversation, Afternoon Tea, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Casual, Good for Birthdays, Local Ingredients, People Watching, Historic, Authentic, Scenic View, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Felt like since we did not have an alcoh ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined 5 days ago

Felt like since we did not have an alcoholic beverage at our table we were not important to the waiter.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value3

Server did not seem attentive. Had to a ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on September 21, 2016

Server did not seem attentive. Had to ask for bread, refills

Tags: Casual, Good for a Date, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

Our server was AMAZING! Food was delici ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on September 18, 2016

Our server was AMAZING! Food was delicious, as usual!

Tags: Paleo Friendly, Authentic, Open Kitchen, Sunday Lunch, Outstanding Value, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The service is always great and the food ...

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on September 18, 2016

The service is always great and the food outstanding.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The best view, best service, good valet. ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

The best view, best service, good valet. Recommend reserving ahead, this is a local icon.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

As always, we enjoyed the view from our ...

vip
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

As always, we enjoyed the view from our outside table. My brisket and sides were delicious. Although a little tough, my husband enjoyed the flavor of the new smoked ribs.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

Always love Montgomery Inn barbeque. Wai ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

Always love Montgomery Inn barbeque. Waiter was wonderful! Food was marvelous as usual. Well worth the 20 minute walk from the stadium.

Tags: Business Meals, Good for Groups, Waterfront, Good for Anniversaries, Great Beer, Neighborhood Gem, Healthy, Casual, Special Occasion, Kid-friendly, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Fun, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great views of the Ohio river, terrific ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on September 16, 2016

Great views of the Ohio river, terrific ribs, fast service, attentive wait staff.

Tags: Bar Seating, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

our server was fabulous and food was per ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on September 16, 2016

our server was fabulous and food was perfect. Everything was served in a timely manner but not enough to rush us.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The balcony has a great view of the Ohio ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on September 16, 2016

The balcony has a great view of the Ohio river. The barbecue chicken was tender, came off the bone nicely and was deliciously moist. And conveniently located near the Purple People Bridge, an added bonus for a date in the afternoon.

Tags: Fun, Family Style, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Modern Decor, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Great for Lunch, Good for a Date, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very very loud. But Gary the server is a ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on September 16, 2016

Very very loud. But Gary the server is a chatty treat. And the sauce is a favorite...

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Historic, Casual, Waterfront, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

It was by wife's birthday. I tried on li ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on September 13, 2016

It was by wife's birthday. I tried on line and I even called trying to get a special table, they flat out engnored my request. They sat us above not next to the windows and we did not feel special or appreciated at all. We had a party of six and most of us dine out on a regular bases. I will not return if this is how they treat their customers.

Tags: Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

After living in Cincinnati for 15 years ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on September 11, 2016

After living in Cincinnati for 15 years and living abroad since 2009 we met one of our children for what we hoped would be a familiar dining experience. Quite frankly, the service was no particularly attentive and the signature ribs (full slab) were not what I remembered. The meat quality was simply less than what I had experienced from 1994 to 2009. Our reservation was later (8:30) and our meal was served around 9:30 after several drinks. Quite frankly, I was not in the mood to lodge a complaint. We completed our meal and departed. Possibly it was simply an "off night" for us at this venue and a potential return to the "Boathouse" will render a better outcome.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

Fantastic Food and atmosphere.

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

Fantastic Food and atmosphere.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Montgomery Inn was a trip advisor restau ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

Montgomery Inn was a trip advisor restaurant ... and it was reviewed well. Decided to try it out with my sister and her husband. Great waterfront view... But like a lot of older restaurants, they are relying on the name they have created instead of making each customer important. Service was slow and lacked enthusiasm. Food was Ok but there are a lot of restaurants in that price range (expensive) that have better food taste, with a lot more value for your $$.

Tags: Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value2

Great food and service!! Never a bad ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

Great food and service!! Never a bad time at Montgomery Inn!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Dinner specials were a great deal - rece ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

Dinner specials were a great deal - received ribs, salad and side for $22. Plentiful portions and service was good. Inn BBQ sauce is a nice change of pace, not something I would want frequently due to the tomato-y flavor, but overall good meal. Loved the house chips as a side - favorite of the table.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

The service we had and the food we recei ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on September 9, 2016

The service we had and the food we received was excellent. Our server had a very pleasant and charming personality and was extremely attentive towards us. We enjoyed ourselves so much and found it to be an awesome experience and memorable fun evening. We would strongly recommend this restaurant to others for a delicious and fun dining experience!

Tags: Special Occasion, Casual, Waterfront, Comfort Food, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was our first time using Open Table ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on September 9, 2016

This was our first time using Open Table and it worked out very well. We walked in at our

designated time and were seated on time. I will definite try Open Table again.... It was our

49th wedding anniversary and the view, the food, the restaurant, the service was all top

notch.

Tags: Good for a Date, Casual, Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries, Waterfront, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The original Montgomery Inn has a great ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on September 9, 2016

The original Montgomery Inn has a great reputation and the Boathouse builds on that with it's riverfront location. The menu is heavy on the barbeque aspects on which the reputation was built, but offers a few other selections as well. Prices seem to be in line with what a good downtown restaurant would charge. Service is pleasant and attentive. Indoors, the venue is generally very noisy so table conversation is difficult. I would consider requesting the outdoor dining if the weather is pleasant as sound would not reverberate there. Open Table reservation worked well on a Friday evening. Our reservation was for 6:30 and we were seated immediately on arrival.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Casual, Historic, People Watching, Spicy, Waterfront, Hot Spot, Disabled Access, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4
value3

Great location, great riverviews, great ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on September 7, 2016

Great location, great riverviews, great staff, and a great Cincinnati success story !

Tags: Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

There is a reason it is famous. I can't ...

vip
 (Detroit)
·Dined on September 6, 2016

There is a reason it is famous. I can't say that they are the best ribs I have ever had, but then again, I can't say they aren't. Sides were good, not great. That is why I gave them a 4 for food. Otherwise, it was good to be back.

Tags: Scenic View, Paleo Friendly, Good for Groups, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

We drove in from St. Louis for the Cardi ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

We drove in from St. Louis for the Cardinals-Reds game. Looking for someplace interesting we heard about the Montgomery Inn. Saturday on Labor-day weekend, they were packed, and the place is huge. You wouldn't realize until you walk around. We had preferred seating through open table. We were seated in a medium size room, holding maybe 75 people (there were several rooms we passed on the way) so you did not have the feel of a big restaurant. Food was very good, servers were great. Excellent view of the Ohio rive and the Kentucky riverfront. Really enjoyed the evening with my wife.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Private Room, Good for Groups, Waterfront, Romantic, Casual, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

It would have been helpful to know that ...

vip
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

It would have been helpful to know that when we made reservations; it's called 'preferred seating' and is not really a reservation. We were told 'preferred seating' is up to a 20-30 minute wait. Our wait was about 25 minutes. This would have been helpful to know that we wouldn't be seated right away during what most restaurants call a 'reservation.'

Tags: Open Kitchen, Romantic, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Good food and atmosphere. Our server was ...

 
 (Charleston)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

Good food and atmosphere. Our server was excellent!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Very noisy unable to hear others convers ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

Very noisy unable to hear others conversation. Some tables the sun was too bright requested shades put down no problem. Food was good although potatoes were cold.

Tags: Special Occasion, Scenic View, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

As always, the Boathouse didn't disappoi ...

 
 (Louisville)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

As always, the Boathouse didn't disappoint. We drive in from Louisville once or twice a year, we know what to expect, we get the ribs, and we love the place. They do have a couple of value combos now that would work very well for people wanting to spend a little less so I give them kudos for that.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Fun, Good for Anniversaries, Modern Decor, Private Room, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

I have visited this location a few times ...

 
 (Louisville)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

I have visited this location a few times and I will not put this on my list of places I am dying to go back to. The view was nice-as it is always but the food was room temperature by the time it got to our table. I ate one piece of my brisket and took the rest home to give to the dog. The cornbread was cold as were the grits. The only thing I enjoyed of my food were the shaved Brussel sprouts. It took our server several asks of trying to get refills on water. I would think if the servers are that busy, you would have serving assistants walking around to help with refills on just drinks. Definitely not on my top places to go back to when in the Cincinnati area.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value2

Service was so bad I didn't even tip the ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on September 2, 2016

Service was so bad I didn't even tip the server. We sat for an hour waiting for our sever ordered drinks and she brought out the wrong ones. We ordered apitizers and got our Saratoga chips and my girlfriend ordered a salad and she never recived it until our food came out because the server forgot about it. We never once got a refill on drinks and they messed up her order on her food. Overall the experience was horrible and the food did not taste good at all. I spent $50 on food we didn't even get too eat because it came out cold and didn't taste good. I would never recommend the boat house too anyone

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

If you want good food, good service, gre ...

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on September 2, 2016

If you want good food, good service, great view of the River, this is the place to go. I've never been disappointed.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Fun, Comfort Food, Kid-friendly, Outstanding Value, Happy Hour, Casual, Great for Brunch, Scenic View, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, People Watching, Tasting Menu, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Family Style, Sunday Lunch, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Waterfront, Handcrafted Cocktails, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We always heard how great this restauran ...

vip
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on September 2, 2016

We always heard how great this restaurant was we prefer dry rub barbecue versus coated in sauce. Ribs chicken and pulled pork were swimming in lame sauce. We will not be back ... Overrated

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value2

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.