Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.24mi
  2. Distance: 0.29mi
  3. Distance: 0.79mi
  4. Distance: 0.87mi
  1. Distance: 0.24mi
  2. Distance: 0.29mi
  3. Distance: 0.79mi
  4. Distance: 0.87mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.24mi
  2. Distance: 0.29mi
  3. Distance: 0.79mi
  4. Distance: 0.87mi
  1. Distance: 0.24mi
  2. Distance: 0.29mi
  3. Distance: 0.79mi
  4. Distance: 0.87mi

About Monterey Bay Fish Grotto - Mt. Washington

Thank you for considering Monterey Bay Fish Grotto. This award-winning restaurant has always taken pride in its level of standards and excellence. These exceptional standards are reflected in the mouth-watering fresh fish and impeccable service. Guests have come to expect this level of quality in every aspect of the main dining room as well as the private dining room.

Monterey Bay Fish Grotto's fish is fresh and flown in from a number of locations on the East Coast, West Coast and Hawaiian Islands. For this reason, we are the regions Premier Fresh Fish Restaurant offering 20 kinds of fresh fish in an array of original, delicious styles.

1411 Grandview Avenue
Pittsburgh, PA 15211
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Seafood, Steak

Hours of Operation:
Lounge: 4:30pm Daily
Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm
Friday & Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm
Sunday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
Sweetbriar Street

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(412) 481-4414

Website:
http://www.montereybayfishgrotto.com/

Parking Details:
Valet parking is $6.00 per car

Executive Chef:
Eric Wallace

Private Party Facilities:
Private party options are available

Private Party Contact:
John Bellan: (412) 481-4414

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, BYO Wine, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Private Room, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Monterey Bay Fish Grotto - Mt. Washington Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.7

ambience

4.7

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Scenic View (160)
Special Occasion (120)
Romantic (120)
See All
Good for a Date (119)
Good for Anniversaries (116)
Good for Birthdays (65)
Worth the Drive (60)
Business Meals (50)
Notable Wine List (49)
Creative Cuisine (45)
Quiet Conversation (42)
Modern Decor (35)
Fit for Foodies (34)
Good for Groups (26)
Cozy (23)
Pre/post Theatre (22)
Waterfront (22)
Bar Seating (19)
Handcrafted Cocktails (19)
Neighborhood Gem (18)
Fun (17)
Hot Spot (13)
Gluten Free Options (13)
Healthy (12)
Private Room (11)
Authentic (10)
Outstanding Value (9)
Disabled Access (9)
Late-night Find (9)
Tasting Menu (8)
Sunday Lunch (8)
People Watching (7)
Vibrant Bar Scene (6)
Happy Hour (6)
Great for Lunch (4)
Local Ingredients (4)
Casual (4)
Paleo Friendly (3)
Organic (3)
Historic (3)
Seasonal (3)
Good Vegetarian Options (3)
Family Style (2)
Spicy (1)
Vegan (1)
Tapas (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Live Music (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Quick Bite (0)
Sort By:
S
4178 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined a day ago

Our meal was amazing. The food felt good on my tongue and tasted so flavorful. Was prepared to perfection. I ordered crab cake with sea scallops and asparagus for our side. My best friend ordered the salmon and I tried a bite and it was just as amazing as my dinner. Can't wait to go back
The view is always beautiful.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Orlando)·Dined a day ago

Halibut was just OK, view was great!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value3

vip
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined 2 days ago

Excellent....as usual.....never disappointing. Service good, food good, dessert to die for....city view spectular.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 2 days ago

The food was amazing! Lovely atmosphere. Our waitress was very good with recomendations. I really enjoyed myself.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined 3 days ago

We had a great time and meal. Staff was very attentive and pleasant. Our waiter was great!

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined 3 days ago

The service was outstanding! Everyone was extremely kind and polite and just the overall atmosphere of the restaurant was fantastic I haven't been there in years but definitely would recommend and will be returning!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined 4 days ago

This was our first dining experience with Monterey Bay fish grotto. It was amazing! The view is fantastic. Its Pittsburgh, need I say more? The service was impeccable. Our server was Anita. She was great. The wife is gluten free and Anita was suggesting items from the menu that were safe to eat. Most of the items on the menu are gluten free or can be modified to meet the requirements. The food was delicious. The wife had the jumbo sea scallops. They were phenomenal. I had the rock shrimp risotto. Very creamy. We started with the seafood trio which included Cajun shrimp, tuna, salmon and swordfish and one of their famous crab cakes. A great mix of flavors. I usually don't like crab cakes, but theirs is the best I ever had. The lobster bisque was so rich and flavorful. We dined here for our anniversary. Anita offered us a dessert on the house since it was our anniversary. We chose the steaming chocolate latte. Delectable. We it came out, the pastry chef wrote "Happy Anniversary" in chocolate around the rim of the plate. It was very a very nice touch. We felt special. The wait staff was very attentive and helpful. Our table was right at the window, although every table has a view of Pittsburgh and the three rivers. If you are ever visiting Western Pennsylvania, especially the Pittsburgh area, you need to take a trip up to Mt. Washington. Maybe take one of the inclines. The view from Grandview Ave. is the best in the city. There is valet parking, which I suggest, for $6. Not much easy public parking up on Mount Washington. The valets were very professional and respectful. Definitely stop at Monterey Bay for some of the best seafood in the area. We give it 4 thumbs up. Let's go Pens!! Let's go Bucs!!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups, Cozy, Worth the Drive, Scenic View, Notable Wine List, Hot Spot, Good for Anniversaries, Gluten Free Options, Disabled Access, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Romantic, Business Meals, Modern Decor, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined 6 days ago

Service was outstanding, Apr 18 lower dining room. We had reserved for 8pm but arrived early and were seated right away. St a window table. The view and the sunset added to the ambiance. She (our server) was so Attentive yet not overbearing. Very pleasant and menu knowledgeable. Will return!

Tags: Bar Seating, Cozy, Private Room, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Authentic, Scenic View, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on April 15, 2017

The evening and atmosphere were excellent. The staff were attentive and our particular waitress, Ann, was engaging and friendly. Her recommendations were spot-on including the dessert that capped off a perfect evening.
I recommend highly to anyone looking to celebrate or just enjoy a wonderful evening!
Ask for Ann, she'll take care of you!!

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Worth the Drive, Fun, Modern Decor, Paleo Friendly, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Neighborhood Gem, Disabled Access, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Historic, Romantic, Good for a Date, Comfort Food, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on April 15, 2017

Another great dinner. Great table, great atmosphere. John, the manager, was so attentive and kind. He is a great asset to the organization.

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 14, 2017

Great view, very disappointing meal and service. After we told the server we were finished with our meal, and my husband would like another glass of wine, the plates sat in front of us or a sufficient amount of time and my husbands wine never came. I asked for a non-alcoholic drink from the specials menu, but the server explained I would have to pay the full price for the drink since he "wasn't sure how to ring it up" without alcohol. The server suggested a margarita, but I explained I would prefer to have something on the rocks and without a "mix".... he came back with a virgin strawberry daiquiri with whipped cream, as of it were an Applebees... and it tasted like sour ice. Salad had browning/wilted lettuce with what looked like a handful of cruising and chopped nuts thrown on top! Meals were both overpriced and my swordfish was bare let recognizable as fish with all the "crust" and sauce. At least the bread was good! We wanted to give desert a try but at this time we're just plain disappointed and wanted our check. We don't mind spending money for a great meal, but it was hard to digest paying the bill when the only thing you enjoyed was the view and then bread. Not how we had planned our 5 year wedding anniversary ending.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service2
value2

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on April 11, 2017

Outstanding food, service and atmosphere! Highly recommend!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Modern Decor, Hot Spot, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on April 9, 2017

Excellent food. The ambience was great same as the service I definitely recommend this restaurant for special occasions

Tags: Late-night Find, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on April 9, 2017

Great server. Very pleasant. Wonderful food and presentation. Only criticism is that coffee wasnt very hot

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Seasonal, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on April 9, 2017

Excellent, knowledgeable, and highly attentive staff and servers; bright, clean, and comfortable atmosphere with an amazing city view. Chef Eric's menu presents a variety of classic seafood dishes prepared expertly. Though not particularly adventurous, his dishes are strong on technique and highlight the high quality seafood Monterey Bay has to offer. Good wine list and cocktail menu. A great traditional, upscale dining experience for special occasions or a nice evening out.

Tags: Cozy, Afternoon Tea, Fun, Scenic View, Healthy, Sunday Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Birthdays, Historic, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Tahoe)·Dined on April 9, 2017

Great view. Staff are just ok. Food was ok noing great

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value3

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on April 9, 2017

Amazing crab cakes with an amazing view! Wine prices were definitely on the high end, but overall a great experience.

Tags: Scenic View, Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on April 8, 2017

Great meal, wonderful waiter. Background music needs to be more current. Doesn't match the new décor. Our guest said it sounded old and dated.

Tags: Special Occasion, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on April 8, 2017

Fabulous place for a special occasion. Great food with a beautiful view.

Tags: Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on April 8, 2017

I took my 7 year old granddaughter out to dinner. She loved it. We'll be back. Thank you for the memorable experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on April 8, 2017

We love this restaurant. I had read recent reviews and was concerned about going back. They all proved to be off target. Portion sizes are more than adequate as both my husband and I took home 1/2 of our main entree. He had the swordfish and I had the Red fish. (I do like the rock fish which is no longer available better than its replacement). The service was great and there is no rush to get you out of there so they can move on to the next table. They just make you feel special.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Gluten Free Options, Good Vegetarian Options, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on April 7, 2017

Monterey Bay is close enough from home to have a spur of the moment dinner out with my husband, and sometimes my son, who lives real close to the restaurant. So date night becomes family night and that is wonderful! We usually can get a last minute reservation. The food is fantastic and staff is especially friendly and knowledgable.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Modern Decor, Good for Birthdays, Scenic View, Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on April 5, 2017

I was disappointed. My husband's fish was overcooked. It was very expensive for the quality of the food.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value2

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 4, 2017

From the time we parked the car, the experience was great. We were literally the first diners in the restaurant for the evening and it was an awesome time. Our waiter was great...very attentive without being over the top. We started with the grilled oysters and lobster bisque...GREAT!! And it continued to get better....we had grilled cheese for my 8 year old; scallops, crab cakes, and the chicken....no complaints! Finished off with the creme brûlée....will be on my list every time I visit Pittsburgh!!!

Tags: Business Meals, Scenic View, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on April 2, 2017

Very low value. I only got 1 piece of salmon for $38, just a piece of fish on a plate, a side like green beans would only cost them about $2, it forces you to buy a side that are priced up to $22. The crab cakes, scallops, and salmon were good. The view is also outstanding. Our waitress Tiffany was very good. I've been to many high-end restaurants and got much better value for the same price. The menu wasn't very good, not enough different choices.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value1

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on April 2, 2017

Brought my husband here for his birthday. Very flexible with my reservation which was for 9:30 pm. Excellent service, stunning view, timely with the meal. The food was good; don't skip on the angel food cake dessert feature!!! It is expensive for the underwhelming quantity of food per plate, but very nice ambiance and experience for a special occasion.

Tags: Happy Hour, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on April 2, 2017

The ambiance, presentation, staff, cocktails and food were all fantastic. The food is admittedly above average in price, but worth it for the experience and the flavor. Definitely an upper echelon seafood eatery in the Pittsburgh area, and one of the more romantic and captivating views of the city for a romantic evening. I highly recommend this restaurant for special occasions or endluging in some fresh seafood.

Tags: Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Scenic View, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on April 1, 2017

The restaurant is excellent all around. The fish is delicious and the service is top notch. Add in the spectacular view of the city and the mood setting music, you've got yourself a great night out. Don't be surprised if you leave with a lighter wallet.

Tags: Organic, Fun, Quiet Conversation, Late-night Find, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on April 1, 2017

This is a wonderful restaurant with phenomenal views of the city. Beautiful location & restaurant. Our server, Tommy, was very friendly, knowledgeable and helpful. We had the oysters on the half shell and grilled octopus for appetizers; both were so delicious. Would highly recommend & will definitely be back.

Tags: Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Orlando)·Dined on April 1, 2017

Excellent food and atmosphere. Service was polite but slow. It took over 25 minutes to receive our first cocktail after being seated. Not sure what the issue was but our dining experience lasted 2 and a half hours. A tad longer then we expected, good thing we had no other plans that evening. However, we will be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value4

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on April 1, 2017

Had a really great time. My Wife and I took my daughter and 2 friends to dinner.
The wait staff is great. We had Tommy who was really good. Very personable and knew the menu well. The manager, John Bellan came over and introduced himself (which he did with every table) and made sure we had everything we needed. We were there on a Saturday night and they had a really good crowd. Courses arrived on time and not on top of each other. We were always asked before plates were cleared. We did not feel rushed even though the place was packed and it was early (never felt they needed to turn the table over).
Great view. Good wine list. Good food
We will definitely be back again. Now one of our top 5 around University of Pitt.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on March 24, 2017

Incredible customer service incredible food incredible atmosphere
Worth every dollar

Tags: Disabled Access, Business Meals, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Modern Decor, Good Vegetarian Options, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Scenic View, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 24, 2017

With such a stunning view of Pittsburgh, it would be difficult to go wrong here. And we didn't. Everything from our being seated at a window table to our server, the exceptional wine offerings, delicious meal, prepared to perfection, and the over the top desserts made this restaurant over the top! We'll be back next time we are in Town. Thank you for the experience.

Tags: Organic, Fun, Bar Seating, Good for Birthdays, Gluten Free Options, Seasonal, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on March 23, 2017

Dinner at Monterey Bay was, as always, fantastic. There is a new menu with some great new dishes, but all of our favorites are still there. My husband and I got the crabcakes (which are famous for good reason), a filet and brussels sprouts. The food was perfectly prepared and delicious. The service there is second to none. Our friendly server, Leslie, impressed us with her knowledge of the menu and cocktails. This is one of our favorite restaurants in Pittsburgh, and we think it's better than ever. There are other restaurants with good views on Mt. Washington, but they are just not as welcoming and friendly as Monterey Bay.

Tags: Private Room, Notable Wine List, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on March 22, 2017

The view of the Pittsburgh skyline is lovely and well cast. The service and attention of the wait staff was excellent. The restaurant manager was doing his rounds, chatting up guests and making sure everything a patron may need was being provided.
The only reason this restaurant did not receive a 4 star review rather than a 3 is the reason we all really go to restaurants in the first place: the food.
The ingredients were obviously well selected and fresh. Seafood was the focus and I can certainly get behind that. The flavors themselves were just good. I had a swordfish encrusted with Parmesan that just didn't jump out at me. My co-worker had the tuna steak and similarly it was just good. There are no real surprises in flavor here. You'll have a solid meal that tastes exactly like the seafood or meat you ordered.
I will reiterate and end on the positive note that the ambiance and the service were truly excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on March 21, 2017

Best view in the city! Nice ambience. Great food that's well worth the cost, which is reasonable. Our server Connie was fantastic and knowledgeable of the menu. The appetizers, entrees, and dessert were prepared in a reasonable amount of time and all tasted very good. Can't wait to go back!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Romantic, Special Occasion, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Memphis)·Dined on March 20, 2017

Fantastic view, excellent service, most delicious food in a creative presentation. Definitely recommend!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on March 19, 2017

Nice white tablecloth traditional restaurant. Big improvement since renovation. Seafood done well. Crabcakes superb. Sole and salmon excellent. Recommend for a great meal in a lovely space and that view....

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Cozy, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Austin)·Dined on March 19, 2017

Amazing view and food!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on March 18, 2017

If you want a great view of the City and like seafood, this is your place. Also, great place to have a drink. We had a beautiful corner table next to the window and the service and food were great. The only issues is that the kitchen was unable to make one of the Chef's feature items. It was a crepe dish that apparently nobody in the kitchen could make that night. Otherwise, it was a great experience.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.