About Monterey Bay Fish Grotto - Mt. Washington

1411 Grandview Avenue
Pittsburgh, PA 15211
View Larger Map

Thank you for considering Monterey Bay Fish Grotto. This award-winning restaurant has always taken pride in its level of standards and excellence. These exceptional standards are reflected in the mouth-watering fresh fish and impeccable service. Guests have come to expect this level of quality in every aspect of the main dining room as well as the private dining room.

Monterey Bay Fish Grotto's fish is fresh and flown in from a number of locations on the East Coast, West Coast and Hawaiian Islands. For this reason, we are the regions Premier Fresh Fish Restaurant offering 20 kinds of fresh fish in an array of original, delicious styles.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Seafood, Steak

Hours of Operation:
Lounge: 4:30pm Daily
Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm
Friday & Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm
Sunday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
Sweetbriar Street

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(412) 481-4414

Website:
http://www.montereybayfishgrotto.com/

Parking Details:
Valet parking is $6.00 per car

Executive Chef:
Edwin Smith

Private Party Facilities:
Private party options are available

Private Party Contact:
Tiffany Sines: (412) 481-4414

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, BYO Wine, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Private Room, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Report a photo problem

Tuna Ceviche - Monterey Bay Fish Grotto - Mt. Washington, Pittsburgh, PA
Grandview Roll - Monterey Bay Fish Grotto - Mt. Washington, Pittsburgh, PA
Smoked Scottish Salmon - Monterey Bay Fish Grotto - Mt. Washington, Pittsburgh, PA
Chocolate Truffle Cake - Monterey Bay Fish Grotto - Mt. Washington, Pittsburgh, PA
White Chocolate Macadamia Mousse - Monterey Bay Fish Grotto - Mt. Washington, Pittsburgh, PA
Yummiest Cocktail Ever - Monterey Bay Fish Grotto - Mt. Washington, Pittsburgh, PA
Tuna And Peaches - Monterey Bay Fish Grotto - Mt. Washington, Pittsburgh, PA
Yellowfin Tuna - Monterey Bay Fish Grotto - Mt. Washington, Pittsburgh, PA
Mahi Mahi - Monterey Bay Fish Grotto - Mt. Washington, Pittsburgh, PA
Chimichurri Crusted Paiche With Watermelon Jalapeno Salsa And Havarti Onion Potato Croquette - Monterey Bay Fish Grotto - Mt. Washington, Pittsburgh, PA

Monterey Bay Fish Grotto - Mt. Washington Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.7

ambience

4.8

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Scenic View (130)
Romantic (113)
Special Occasion (110)
See All
Good for a Date (103)
Good for Anniversaries (103)
Worth the Drive (59)
Business Meals (48)
Creative Cuisine (48)
Notable Wine List (47)
Good for Birthdays (47)
Quiet Conversation (42)
Modern Decor (41)
Fit for Foodies (32)
Waterfront (26)
Good for Groups (24)
Pre/post Theatre (23)
Cozy (21)
Bar Seating (21)
Healthy (20)
Neighborhood Gem (19)
Authentic (17)
Handcrafted Cocktails (16)
Fun (14)
Outstanding Value (12)
Hot Spot (10)
People Watching (10)
Tasting Menu (9)
Casual (9)
Private Room (9)
Late-night Find (8)
Gluten Free Options (7)
Sunday Lunch (6)
Seasonal (6)
Disabled Access (5)
Happy Hour (5)
Family Style (5)
Historic (4)
Local Ingredients (4)
Comfort Food (4)
Kid-friendly (3)
Good Vegetarian Options (3)
Great for Lunch (3)
Vibrant Bar Scene (3)
Tapas (2)
Organic (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Live Music (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Great Beer (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Spicy (1)
Sort By:
S
4025 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

We had a phenomenal experience tonight. ...

vip
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined 11 hours ago

We had a phenomenal experience tonight. They treated us exceptionally well. . We were celebrating my mom's 83rd b day and they could not have been more accommodating. We love the new remodel. Thank you and we will be back again soon.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The view was fantastic service outstandi ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 5 days ago

The view was fantastic service outstanding food selections and quality were incredible

Tags: Modern Decor, Gluten Free Options, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Healthy, Organic, , Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Romantic, Pre/post Theatre, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our server was fantastic -- very persona ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined 6 days ago

Our server was fantastic -- very personable an welcoming-- and knew her menu . We had a first time visitor with us and she was very helpful in answering his questions concerning the menu. Food was good, tasty and nice presentation. We were party of 4 and everyone enjoyed their meal. Great place to show off the city skyline, celebrate a special occasion. Menu a little pricy but great place to enjoy a lovely dinner.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Had a wonderful time on Sat. Jan 14. Ce ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined 6 days ago

Had a wonderful time on Sat. Jan 14. Celebrating a birthday and it could not be a more

special experience. We had a very nice table with a beautiful view of the city which was a delight. Everyone was so nice and dinner was excellent. Will highly recommend this

restaurant.

Tags: Bar Seating, Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries, Late-night Find, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We went to Monterey Bay last night for m ...

vip
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined 7 days ago

We went to Monterey Bay last night for my birthday. I've been there more than two dozen times over the past 10 years but not as often since the renovations. Although the food was still very good, I was disappointed by the fact that they seem to have cut their portion sizes substantially while keeping the premium prices the same. Their signature crab cakes still tasted the same but were only about 2/3 the size they used to be. Their featured ahi tuna entree was not only less than 1/2 the size it used to be, but the slices of tuna were paper thin whereas they used to be quite thick. It seemed more like an appetizer portion than an entree. Again, everything was still very tasty, but it wasn't the show-stopping dining experience it used to be.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value2

Fantastic service and food. Highly recom ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on January 14, 2017

Fantastic service and food. Highly recommend the Angel Food Cake Grilled Cheese dessert.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Excellent service and food! The price i ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on January 14, 2017

Excellent service and food! The price is worth the overall experience!

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had dinner before the Pittsburgh Symp ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on January 13, 2017

We had dinner before the Pittsburgh Symphony on Friday evening. Our server was friendly and made great suggestions. The pace was perfect, the food delicious and Jeff our server was outstanding.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Waterfront, Spicy, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Local Ingredients, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

It's was a great evening for a overdue d ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on January 13, 2017

It's was a great evening for a overdue date and the food was great, the view of the city sets the tone. Thumbs up

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The atmosphere was very nice. We arrived ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on January 13, 2017

The atmosphere was very nice. We arrived early so we spent some time in the bar with some lovely cocktails. We were called in to be seated about 5 minutes after our reservation at a corner table by the windows. The view was incredible, the dining room was quiet and extravagant. We were met by our waiter Chad, whom was absolutely the best server I have had the pleasure to experience. He was attentive to our needs, very knowledgeable of the menu, and overall just a pleasant person.

Onto the food. For starters we had calamari, which was fresh and perfectly cooked, and a sampler with these amazing cajun shrimp and lobster cakes. Followed by a rich creamy lobster bisque, which I enjoyed greatly. Onto our main course, I ordered a 20 oz ribeye with their monterey seasoning Medium. It was cooked perfectly and was as tender as a steak can be. The house made steak sauce was a perfect compliment to this huge piece of meat. Desert was a Passionfruit Icebox cake which was just as great as the reat of the meal.

Overall its the best dining experience I've had in Pittsburgh.

Tags: Special Occasion, Modern Decor, Handcrafted Cocktails, Authentic, Pre/post Theatre, Romantic, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Always a winner when dining at Monterey ...

vip
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on January 13, 2017

Always a winner when dining at Monterey Bay Fish Grotto. Started off with the roasted beet/arugula salad....amazing. Then moved to the main course. I had the Sea Bass. Best tasting fish I ever had. My friend had the crab cakes which were full of delicious lump crab. Finished the meal with carrot cake & a wonderful cup of coffee. Our experience was one amazing bite after another. The view is beyond spectacular. MBFG is a must visit for not only sea food lovers but anyone who loves excellent service, unique cocktails, and the best bites in the 'Burgh. Anita, our server, was attentive and made dining suggestions that were spot on. I look forward to my next visit.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We dined at Monteray Bay with two other ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on January 13, 2017

We dined at Monteray Bay with two other couples. It was an amazing experience from start to finish. We enjoyed a bottle of champagne and that amazing view in the bar. Our table was a window table with a perfect view of Pittsburgh at night - stunning. Our server Casey was so friendly and engaging. I was very impressed with how the server and the Chef jumped at the chance to accommodate my wife's dietary restrictions. They were so happy to help! The wine list is not as marked up like the other high end restaurants up there. The halibut was to die for. All in all one of the best dining experiences I have had. I will be back soon!

Tags: Scenic View, Romantic, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

All the staff did a fantastic job and th ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on January 11, 2017

All the staff did a fantastic job and the food and ambiance was great

Tags: Scenic View, Business Meals, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Can't go wrong here. Awesome view and cr ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 11, 2017

Can't go wrong here. Awesome view and creative menu options. I am a foodie and love trying new dishes. Got to try the champagne cabbage.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

my wife and I went to Monterey Bay Fish ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on January 10, 2017

my wife and I went to Monterey Bay Fish Grotto for our 25th wedding anniversary. I mentioned it when I made the reservation. They remembered and congratulated us when we walked in and then gave us a special desert for free which included a very nice happy anniversary message on the dessert plate written in chocolate. We were also able to get a window table win a fabulous view. the food was 5 star quality and delicious. Great service and atmosphere.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Romantic, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The new decor is delightful. Mark was o ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on January 10, 2017

The new decor is delightful. Mark was our waiter...down to earth; made great suggestions, and did an excellent job....there promptly when needed but no hovering. The food was wonderful...as usual. It is a tad pricey, but worth the cost to help celebrate a special occasion. The view cannot be matched by any other restaurant. Lovely evening and a great dining experience.

Tags: Romantic, Fun, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Beautiful restaurant with excellent view ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on January 8, 2017

Beautiful restaurant with excellent view & the service was impeccable. I was not too thrilled with my grilled tuna; I would not order again; there was no flavor. My wife had the striped bass and her meal looked fabulous and she enjoyed it. We got a shareable side of the au gratin potatoes and neither of us liked them too much; should have went with the roasted brussel sprouts. We both got the angel food toasted cheese sandwich and that was a dessert we both truly enjoyed.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value4

Meal was outstanding and so was the serv ...

vip
 (Cleveland)·Dined on January 8, 2017

Meal was outstanding and so was the service. Perfect ambiance and atmosphere for dinner with friends. The view wasn't so bad either!

Tags: Cozy, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It was very nice. A little disappointed ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on January 8, 2017

It was very nice. A little disappointed in the food. Had much better at other restaurants.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Great first time experience celebrating ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on January 7, 2017

Great first time experience celebrating my daughter's 30th birthday. She loved everything about Monterey Bay!

Tags: Tasting Menu, Pre/post Theatre, Quiet Conversation, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Hot Spot, Handcrafted Cocktails, , Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food and service! I would recommen ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 7, 2017

Great food and service!

I would recommend this place to anyone looking for excellent food

Tags: Romantic, Waterfront, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Good for a Date, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

They should not be listed as a sushi pla ...

vip
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on January 7, 2017

They should not be listed as a sushi place because they don't have sushi in the menu since last year...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Simply great. We've been there before an ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on January 6, 2017

Simply great. We've been there before and it's always a lovely outing. Go, enjoy.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Scenic View, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Overall, the evening was wonderful. Goo ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on January 6, 2017

Overall, the evening was wonderful. Good friends, good food and a lot of laughs. The staff is very attentive and accommodating and then there is that fantastic view of the city that can virtually be seen from anywhere you sit. If I had one suggestion for anyone trying Monterrey Bay for the first time, it would be that not everyone should order a side dish. It is just way too much food. Other than that, Bon Appetite. Enjoy!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

We've dined at Monterrey Bay Fish severa ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on January 5, 2017

We've dined at Monterrey Bay Fish several times. This was our first time to be able to have a window table. The food and service have always been excellent. The view was spectacular! We took an unusually long time to eat so we couldenjoy the view.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Greatview and knowledgeable staff on the ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on January 3, 2017

Greatview and knowledgeable staff on the menu. Great date night followed by pictures across the street with the city in the back ground.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Sunday Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Scenic View, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great atmosphere however we were disappo ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Great atmosphere however we were disappointed in the removal of sushi, it's still on there online menu & the reason we went, also my sister got food poisioning from the salmon, she even had them cook hers well done. She got super ill that night into the next day

Tags: Bar Seating, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value3

This is by far one of the most outstandi ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on January 1, 2017

This is by far one of the most outstanding restaurants in Pittsburgh. Amazing seafood, terrific service, even the wait in the lounge was lovely. LOVE IT!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Arrived early for our reservation and se ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Arrived early for our reservation and seated immediately at the best table in the house. The wait staff is always attentive and available. The food is extraordinary and the dessert is the best . We love going to the Monterey Bay Fish Grotto whenever we are visiting Pittsburgh.

Tags: Bar Seating, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our family had NYE dinner here before he ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Our family had NYE dinner here before heading to first night. We could not have been more impressed with everything from our server (who was on her A-Game), to the View (incredible), to the Food (everything we ordered was fantastic)! The restaurant was beautiful and offered beautiful views of downtown. The entire staff there were very professional and left us not wanting for anything! Highly recommend!

Tags: Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Food and service were excellent! A litt ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Food and service were excellent! A little pricey as all is al a carte but is delicious. Not an evert day restaurant but great for a special occasion.

Tags: Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Undercooked (inside was raw) chicken, bu ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Undercooked (inside was raw) chicken, but fixed immediately and given free dessert in replace for the issue. Very expensive as usual but food amazing. overhead music was a little too loud. Great waiter. Overall good service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

If you are looking to have a memorable d ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on December 31, 2016

If you are looking to have a memorable dining experience, this is the place. The high glass windows provide a spectacular view of Pittsburgh like no other. We sat in the upper level which gave us not only a view of the city but also a view to the west. The renovation of the main room provides a chic appearance. The bar is on the floor below and although the ceilings are lower, the view of the city is still spectacular. High quality seafood always pleases coupled with great service. We'll be back soon!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Service was unbelievable, food was exqui ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Service was unbelievable, food was exquisite, and, of course, the view remarkable. Easily my favorite restaurant in Pittsburgh.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great atmosphere. Took long time to get ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Great atmosphere. Took long time to get beers and coat check girl was rather abrupt. Food was very nice.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Date with a beautiful woman visiting Pit ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Date with a beautiful woman visiting Pittsburgh for the first time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Thomas was our server and was excellent- ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Thomas was our server and was excellent- funny, knowledgeable & made great recommendations

One of the best spots in Pittsburgh

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was spectacular, especially the ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on December 30, 2016

The food was spectacular, especially the bread and butter lol. The service was over the top... they wouldn't leave us alone sometimes, but overall it was amazing.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

We had a wonderful time celebrating a sp ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on December 30, 2016

We had a wonderful time celebrating a special occasion. The food is great, the service is top notch, and the view is amazing.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing food, service, and atmosphere. A ...

vip
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on December 30, 2016

Amazing food, service, and atmosphere. A five star experience!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.