Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.24mi
  2. Distance: 0.29mi
  3. Distance: 0.79mi
  4. Distance: 0.87mi
  1. Distance: 0.24mi
  2. Distance: 0.29mi
  3. Distance: 0.79mi
  4. Distance: 0.87mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.24mi
  2. Distance: 0.29mi
  3. Distance: 0.79mi
  4. Distance: 0.87mi
  1. Distance: 0.24mi
  2. Distance: 0.29mi
  3. Distance: 0.79mi
  4. Distance: 0.87mi

About Monterey Bay Fish Grotto - Mt. Washington

Thank you for considering Monterey Bay Fish Grotto. This award-winning restaurant has always taken pride in its level of standards and excellence. These exceptional standards are reflected in the mouth-watering fresh fish and impeccable service. Guests have come to expect this level of quality in every aspect of the main dining room as well as the private dining room.

Monterey Bay Fish Grotto's fish is fresh and flown in from a number of locations on the East Coast, West Coast and Hawaiian Islands. For this reason, we are the regions Premier Fresh Fish Restaurant offering 20 kinds of fresh fish in an array of original, delicious styles.

1411 Grandview Avenue
Pittsburgh, PA 15211
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Seafood, Steak

Hours of Operation:
Lounge: 4:30pm Daily
Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm
Friday & Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm
Sunday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
Sweetbriar Street

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(412) 481-4414

Website:
http://www.montereybayfishgrotto.com/

Parking Details:
Valet parking is $6.00 per car

Executive Chef:
Eric Wallace

Private Party Facilities:
Private party options are available

Private Party Contact:
John Bellan: (412) 481-4414

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, BYO Wine, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Private Room, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Monterey Bay Fish Grotto - Mt. Washington Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.6

ambience

4.7

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Scenic View (173)
Special Occasion (131)
Good for a Date (119)
See All
Romantic (118)
Good for Anniversaries (113)
Good for Birthdays (70)
Worth the Drive (63)
Business Meals (48)
Notable Wine List (45)
Creative Cuisine (42)
Quiet Conversation (39)
Fit for Foodies (38)
Modern Decor (38)
Waterfront (31)
Good for Groups (27)
Cozy (23)
Handcrafted Cocktails (19)
Fun (18)
Neighborhood Gem (17)
Hot Spot (16)
Bar Seating (16)
Pre/post Theatre (15)
Gluten Free Options (14)
Healthy (14)
Authentic (11)
Disabled Access (10)
Private Room (9)
Tasting Menu (9)
Sunday Lunch (9)
Happy Hour (8)
Outstanding Value (7)
Late-night Find (7)
Great for Lunch (6)
Vibrant Bar Scene (6)
Historic (6)
People Watching (5)
Local Ingredients (5)
Family Style (4)
Good Vegetarian Options (4)
Comfort Food (4)
Seasonal (4)
Casual (3)
Paleo Friendly (3)
Organic (2)
Kid-friendly (2)
Great for Brunch (1)
Vegan (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Tapas (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Great Beer (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Quick Bite (0)
Sort By:
S
4232 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined 2 days ago

Had not been there since the renovations. Very nice job. Seems as though the menu is tremendously limited compared to the way it used to be. I was very disappointed in that. Our waitress was exceptional and the food we did order was very good. The area manager did check in on us several times and seemed genuinely concerned that we had all that we needed. All-in-all, it was a very pleasant experience with good food and exceptional view and service.

Tags: Special Occasion, Scenic View, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined 4 days ago

This was an excellent choice for a special occasion dinner. The view of the city was beautiful and the food was delicious. Our server was helpful and attentive. Our group had the bisque and salads to start our meal. For main courses we had chilean sea bass, swordfish, scallops, and the crab cakes. All of the meals were perfectly prepared and full of flavor. The highlights of the evening were the desserts! Our server helped us with our choices - - creme brulee, carrot cake, and the best was the angel food grilled cheese sandwich! We were so glad that we had saved room!

Tags: Scenic View, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Tallahassee)·Dined 5 days ago

This restaurant was such a wonderful surprise to the entire family! We were celebrating my sons college graduation and so happy we didn't miss dining experience before moving from Pittsburgh.

Tags: Special Occasion, Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Waterfront, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value4

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined 5 days ago

View was awesome, dishes superb, would certainly recommend

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 5 days ago

Very good food and service; exceptional view over 3 rivers and a Point. We reserved for 7 people for graduation party; when we get there the table was by the window without asking. We ordered 6 different fish/crab dishes and they all were very good and tasty. Fish Parmesan was probably the best but all others were very good as well. Parking was easy on the side street around the corner or you can do valet for $6. All staff was very attentive and helpful - and did not bother us with stupid questions "Is everything good?" - in a good restaurant it goes without saying that everything is good. Considering the quality of food and service and the location - this place is not that expensive; we ordered 7 main course fish dishes with wine and 7 desserts with some port - all for about $370 before tip. I would definitely go there again.

Tags: Waterfront, Scenic View, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Orlando)·Dined 6 days ago

Wonderful experience. Amazing view. Great service. Awesome food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Toledo)·Dined 6 days ago

You are paying for the view, not the food or service.
The view of the three rivers and Pittsburgh from this restaurant is exceptional.
Service is poor as waiters were all young and inexperienced. Definitely don't order the ceviche, can't even describe how bland it was. Their signature crab cakes were exceptional, probably the only item on the menu that was. My "steaming chocolate latte" dessert was a COLD cupcake in a coffee cup.... seriously!
I would not recommend or go back to this restaurant.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service1
value1

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on May 18, 2017

Wonderful ambiance, food and view. WAAAAY overpriced, especially with EVERYTHING ala carte.

Tags: Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value2

vip
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on May 18, 2017

The food and cocktails were great, service good; my only real complaint was that the bread was stale and had obviously been reheated. Very disappointing for such an otherwise top-notch restaurant. I thought the butter spread was kind of bland also, but it was the bread that really bothered me.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on May 18, 2017

Our waitress was very professional and knew the menu. She had recommendations and was confident in the product. Her name was Allison. Appetizers -great . Salads-great. Husband loved the crab cakes and I liked the scallops. I ordered them plain instead of the recommended version.

I work in a hotel here in Pittsburgh. Prior to my date Thursday, I recommended Monterey Bay to 5 of my guests. They expressed to me on Friday that it was ok price vs cost . I'd still say it's good just not great how I once remembered it.

Tags: Waterfront, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 17, 2017

Great location and a great evening as well
Good waitress as well

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on May 14, 2017

My husband and I were looking forward to taking my daughter and future son-in-law for their first experience at Monterey Bay Fish Grotto. This was the first time I can say I left disappointed. They honored a window table request so the view was spectacular.
We went for Mother's Day so maybe that's why the menu seemed limited compared to other visits. My husband and I had been there 6 times and for the first time were not impressed. The fish choices were very limited and more spicy.
The food was good but not the wow factor that we had come to expect.
Our server was attentive but in general the staff did not seem as polished and knowledgeable as past visits.
I had never gone where the restaurant wasn't at full capacity and maybe because it was Mother's Day Sunday dinner there was a lot of open seating.
Dessert as usual was awesome and we had a great time and I'm happy that my daughter and her fiance' enjoyed the experience but I might have to rethink if this will remain our "special occasion" restaurant. I don't mind spending more when you walk away with a truly special experience, for the first time, this was just good.

Tags: Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value3

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on May 14, 2017

One of the best overall experiences we have had in a very long time.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Great for Lunch, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Handcrafted Cocktails, Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries, Modern Decor, Sunday Lunch, Bar Seating, Romantic, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on May 14, 2017

The Grotto exceeded my expectations...the food was fantastic - special shout out to the Calamari...and the desserts were worth the trip alone!

Highly recommend for any occasion.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Waterfront, Good for Birthdays, Scenic View, Handcrafted Cocktails, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Nice Mother's Day dinner! Dessert is a must! Have enjoyed for our anniversary & dining out. Sushi bar available.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Bar Seating, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Good for a Date, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Fantastic dining experience; the food and service were top of the line.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on May 14, 2017

The restaurant has great seafood with a great view and excellent service. It's definitely worth the effort to get to the top of Mt. Washington.

Tags: Scenic View, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Mothers Day

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on May 14, 2017

We started our meal with appetizers the ceviche and the carpaccio. the carpaccio was warm and it had brown spots throughout. The ceviche was covered with foam, it was very unappetizing . My entree was the fresh catch, a whole Branzino. It was absolutely delicious but it was not f filleted table side by our server which is standard. The view of Pittsburgh was the highlight of the dinner. Gorgeous

Tags: Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service4
value2

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Took my mother here for Mother's Day this year. Have been here before a few years back, and remember everything being great. This time was very different. The service was absolutely terrible to the point where we said something to the person in charge. The waitress took FOREVER to do even the simplest requests and never once came back to see how we were doing. She also seemed to walk away and scoff at everything we said we other employees. Even the MANAGERS here didn't care about our table at all--walked right past us without even checking to see how things were. The food was sub par as well (parm crusted swordfish.) Asked for capers on my dish and my waitress acted like this was a hilarious request and there is no way the restaurant would have capers...needless to say, they had them, and the saltiness made my bland dish 10 times better. Waitress left crumbs all over the table in between courses, and asked US to hand her the plates from our table as she waited with arms outstretched. Especially terrible for the price we paid. Will NOT be dining with Monterey Bay any time in the near future.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value1

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on May 13, 2017

This was our first time visiting this restaurant and we can't say enough about the food, atmosphere, and service. We will definitely be back for another visit soon.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Worth the Drive, Great for Outdoor Dining, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on May 13, 2017

My experience at this restaurant was beyond disappointing. Had reservations for 8:30 and table was not ready until 9:15. The atmosphere and view were great; however, I will say that this is what you are paying for. After reading the reviews and recommendations I thought this would be the perfect place to take my out of town guests for a special evening. The server was polite and attentive and did her best to try to make the evening enjoyable. There are no words to describe how terrible the food was. The lobster tail was so small, had no flavor and was so tough it felt like you were chewing rubber. It was evident that the tails were not fresh, most likely frozen, thawed, then repeated again before finally being served. We also ordered a crab cake dinner which was was completely cold. They offered to take it back and heat it up. It was returned in less than a minute after a quick microwave heating so they were even more dry. The oyster appetizer we ordered was also far from fresh, had an odor and were prepared with some gin recipe that doesn't even go well together making it even worse. I do not think that any of their seafood is fresh caught, I wouldn't be surprised if they purchased their supply at Costco. I understand Pittsburgh isn't located on the coast line but I have had seafood at other restaurants that are not on this class level that was far more edible. I never would have expected this result out of this restaurant, especially for how expensive it is. Major disappointment, don't waste your money.

Tags: Scenic View, People Watching, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service4
value1

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on May 12, 2017

My daughter requested we make reservations at Monterey Bay, for dinner, after her commencement. We had an elderly family member who we hoped would make it through the entire evening but he was tiring. The restaurant was kind enough to accommodate us earlier, (despite the busy time for them) and then treated us wonderfully. My elderly uncle never experienced an nicer evening, better meal or view of the city and we are so very thankful. The food was excellent, the wine was excellent and the ambiance perfect! Excellent experience all the way.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Scenic View, Good for Groups, Healthy, Disabled Access
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on May 12, 2017

The food is excellent, service is attentive without being overbearing and the atmosphere is beautiful if you like looking down on the city. A triple threat.

Tags: Scenic View, Tasting Menu, Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on May 12, 2017

Food was well prepared and delicious, and staff was very accommodating to the one person in our party with extreme dietary restrictions.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on May 11, 2017

The service and food were phenomenal. The view was spectacular.

Tags: Good for a Date, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 10, 2017

I expected more from the food. It was not very well seasoned and they forgot my asparagus but charged me for it. They did at least not charge for the bland and skimpy lobster bisque that I did not care for. Overall the experience was not worth the cost. These are very high prices for average food. I've traveled quite a bit and Monterey Bay just can't compete food-wise with other similarly priced restaurants around the country.

Tags: Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value2

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on May 10, 2017

Continues to have the best crab cakes. My Ahi Tuna was spot on delicious. Great restaurant with a great view

Tags: Scenic View, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on May 10, 2017

My husband and I each had the lobster bisque and signature crab cake. Mine had a side of shrimp and my husband, the scallops and they were grilled perfectly. The crab cake was all crab & spices w/ no fillers. Our wine was a Sauvignon blanc from New Zealand which was crisp, clean & dry. The view was outstanding. This was perhaps one of the best meals I have ever had and we go out frequently esp to upscale restaurants in center city Phila and other large cities. It was a wonderful experience and one I hope to replicate in the future.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on May 8, 2017

We had a most memorable experience. The views were outstanding, but more importantly, the food was exceptional! Our server, and I have forgotten his name was fabulous. He helped us make decisions with his recommendations. We were there 17 years ago and loved it then too!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on May 7, 2017

Our server was fabulous! I think that her name was "Melissa"? Bright red hair, and a personality to match!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on May 7, 2017

Had an early 5:30 reservation. When we arrived our table wasn't ready, despite an almost empty dining room. Throughout nearly three hour meal, the service was lacking.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on May 7, 2017

We very much enjoyed a Saturday night meal at Monterey Bay. My lobster tail was delicious, my husband liked his grilled salmon too. Our waiter seemed new and flustered, but he made up for it with enthusiasm. Beautiful view, and the craft beer selection was excellent. Pricey evening, but it was a special occasion so we felt it was worth it for the experience we had.

Tags: Scenic View, Business Meals, Great Beer, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on May 6, 2017

We had not been here for quite some time but wish we would not have waited so long to return. First off, the view from our table was superb and our server Alec could not have been more attentive. The seafood trio for starters was a divine selection of shrimp, meaty bites of fish and the best crab cake I have ever eaten, just enough binder to hold it together. I was partial to the greens with shallot vinaigrette since it reminded me of a salad my mom used to make using lettuce fresh from the garden. My jerk halibut was more tender and flavorful than I recall but I am also a sucker for mango pineapple salsa. My wife thoroughly enjoyed her king salmon (a featured seasonal catch) and though I am not a salmon lover, the taste I had did not offend me. My only regret was the passion fruit icebox pie, which evoked an overly saccharine key lime pie with no hints of vanilla or caramel nor any fresh berries as the menu stated. A better end to my meal would have been something a bit lighter like a bowl of fresh berries and cream but there appeared to be a paucity of lighter alternatives. All on all, we enjoyed ourselves so much we spent three hours there which may be our record and we plan to return sooner than the last time.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Romantic, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on May 6, 2017

Outstanding service. We had crab cakes and soft shells and both were terrific. If you like oysters you will love the ginger tonic ice on the oysters. Get the angel food cake for dessert. Can't wait to go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on May 6, 2017

Wonderful view. Best waiting experience. Food was not very hot. Crab Merus was overpriced

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on May 5, 2017

This was our first time here. The service and food are outstanding. I highly recommend the Monterey Bay restaurant.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 2, 2017

Excellent venue for Pitt graduation celebration . Thank you so very much!

Tags: Authentic, Happy Hour, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on May 2, 2017

The view and crab cakes were both spectacular. A must for dinner while in Pittsburgh

Tags: Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on April 29, 2017

Food was Great, Allie the server was the best as well as manager on staff that night

Tags: Scenic View, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.