About Monterey Bay Fish Grotto - Mt. Washington

Thank you for considering Monterey Bay Fish Grotto. This award-winning restaurant has always taken pride in its level of standards and excellence. These exceptional standards are reflected in the mouth-watering fresh fish and impeccable service. Guests have come to expect this level of quality in every aspect of the main dining room as well as the private dining room.

Monterey Bay Fish Grotto's fish is fresh and flown in from a number of locations on the East Coast, West Coast and Hawaiian Islands. For this reason, we are the regions Premier Fresh Fish Restaurant offering 20 kinds of fresh fish in an array of original, delicious styles.

1411 Grandview Avenue
Pittsburgh, PA 15211
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Seafood, Steak

Hours of Operation:
Lounge: 4:30pm Daily
Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm
Friday & Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm
Sunday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
Sweetbriar Street

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(412) 481-4414

Website:
http://www.montereybayfishgrotto.com/

Parking Details:
Valet parking is $6.00 per car

Executive Chef:
Eric Wallace

Private Party Facilities:
Private party options are available

Private Party Contact:
Tiffany Sines: (412) 481-4414

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, BYO Wine, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Private Room, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Monterey Bay Fish Grotto - Mt. Washington Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.7

ambience

4.7

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Scenic View (140)
Romantic (121)
Good for a Date (115)
See All
Special Occasion (113)
Good for Anniversaries (111)
Worth the Drive (61)
Good for Birthdays (58)
Business Meals (53)
Notable Wine List (49)
Creative Cuisine (46)
Modern Decor (37)
Quiet Conversation (36)
Fit for Foodies (29)
Pre/post Theatre (22)
Bar Seating (21)
Good for Groups (21)
Cozy (20)
Handcrafted Cocktails (19)
Waterfront (18)
Neighborhood Gem (17)
Healthy (15)
Authentic (14)
Outstanding Value (13)
Fun (12)
Hot Spot (11)
People Watching (11)
Private Room (11)
Late-night Find (10)
Disabled Access (8)
Vibrant Bar Scene (7)
Tasting Menu (7)
Casual (6)
Sunday Lunch (6)
Seasonal (6)
Gluten Free Options (5)
Local Ingredients (5)
Family Style (4)
Happy Hour (3)
Historic (3)
Great for Lunch (3)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Kid-friendly (2)
Organic (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Spicy (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Live Music (1)
Vegan (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Tapas (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Quick Bite (0)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
4090 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined 3 days ago

Earlier reviews raved about the lobster bisque, one of my favorites, and I'll just add that the superlative comments don't do the bisque justice. Magnificent presentation, and just as smooth as silk. There were 4 of us in our party, and we gather 3 times a year for a celebratory meal. Service was great, but not overwhelming, and we certainly did not feel rushed. We didn't feel we were made to wait between courses, either, providing a nice balance and an opportunity to really enjoy the cuisine. Crab cakes were remarkable, without a hint of oil or grease, scallops were done perfectly well, and were juicy and sweet. Desert? You're missing a real treat if you don't try the grilled angel food cheese sandwich. Perhaps one of the more surprising elements of the evening were the very reasonable prices for adult beverages. We'll be back.

Tags: Special Occasion, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined 4 days ago

Really good food. Everybody enjoy it. The scene is also beautiful. The price is reasonable for the taste, environment and service.Totally recommend!

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined 6 days ago

Great views of the Pittsburgh Skyline and a quiet upscale ambience made this trip worth it. This restaurant was highly recommended to me from several sources around town. The food was delicious and filling although the portions were a little light. Great place for a first date.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined 6 days ago

Absolutely a perfect meal. best crab cakes ever. If you are looking for a great place to bring out of towners this is the place.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined 6 days ago

The new décor has added to the quality of the restaurant. Did not realize how bad the fish painting was until it is now removed.

I was a little disappointed to hear that the suchi bar was eliminated I really wanted to sample it.

Over all the dinner was excellent and the service was great, not to many interruptions from the staff.

thanks

Tags: Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Vibrant Bar Scene, Pre/post Theatre, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined 7 days ago

Our server was very attentive. The view was great and the food was wonderful!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined 7 days ago

Very accommodating for a special birthday! Great food great service great views.

Tags: Good for a Date, Romantic, Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on February 18, 2017

Incredible view of the city, incredible food not much more you can ask for. Perfect for any occasion.

Tags: Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on February 18, 2017

Beautiful atmosphere and amazing view of the city! My husband and I visit from Detroit at least once a year and this was our first time at Monterey. It was highly recommended. We had the seafood trio appetizer which was wonderful. We both had very good wine. The lobster ravioli was incredible!!! Overall a really nice late evening dinner. :)

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Modern Decor, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Vibrant Bar Scene, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 18, 2017

Went here to treat my Son and Daughter-In-Law for a great night out. Had drinks at the bar and waited for the table as we were early.

Drinks were good - went up for dinner - nice table with view. Ordered Lobster Mac and Cheese for an app - great. They did not have the wine we wanted. Also they reduced the menu with less selection - I understand a lot of waste if the menu is too big.

Had crab cakes, chicken and filet. They were good.

Dessert was good - they forgot to take off the wine from the bill - glad I noticed. I usually don't look too carefully - they removed it and comped a dessert. Ok.

Was good - not great.

Tags: Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on February 18, 2017

We highly recommend Monterey Bay- excellent food, outstanding service, and a great view to beat. Highlights on the menu include Lobster Mac and Angel Food Grilled Cheese.

Tags: Scenic View, Business Meals, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on February 18, 2017

Our waitress was awesome! (Holly I think was her name!)

Tags: Great for Lunch, Good for Groups, Romantic, Modern Decor, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Late-night Find, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Scenic View, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on February 17, 2017

Great view and ambience. Our waitress was quite wonderful too. It is pretty expensive but still great fun

Tags: Scenic View, Waterfront, Late-night Find, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on February 17, 2017

As always, the food was spectacular and the server, Martin, made us feel as though we were his only table. The Sommelier Dustin was able to answer our wine questions and helped us find a wine that met our tastes. Can't wait to go back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on February 17, 2017

I was disappointed in the food. The salad was basic and the dressing was mediocre. I had the crab cakes. I've honestly had better at a local, inexpensive restaurant. The Brussels sprouts were good and well-portioned. The other guests in our party were satisfied, but no one raved. The staff seemed to "try too hard" to the point where I was not relaxed.

I don't believe I would return. Overpriced and not that interesting.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on February 16, 2017

Food is amazing! View is second to none. Service was exceptional. All around a great experience.

Tags: Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Waterfront, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on February 16, 2017

Very pleasant dining experience - good food and a view of beautiful downtown Pittsburgh

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on February 15, 2017

The food, drinks and service were excellent and the view from our table was exhilarating..Overall an excellent dining experience..

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Business Meals, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on February 15, 2017

We both got the lobster bisque and were extremely satisfied, we both agreed it was one of the best things we have ever ate. I was also very satisfied with my crab cakes and shrimp and my boyfriend enjoyed his lobster ravioli. All of the staff was very kind and helpful, we will be returning.

Tags: Scenic View, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Disabled Access, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Waitress was wonderful. The food was extremely salty. Specifically the Caesar salad and cilantro rice.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value2

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on February 15, 2017

What a wonderful Valentine's Day dinner! The seafood was quite impressive-- the crab cake is a must! Although the oysters were not as fresh as I hoped to be and honestly, quite sandy, so please avoid at all cost. Our waiter was fantastic and the ambience was romantic in a reserved, understated way (which I consider to be a great thing). The entree (Tuna Sashimi style and Swordfish Parmesan) were delicious, and the dessert (Angel food cake grilled cheese) was ONE OF THE BEST DESSERTS I have ever enjoyed. Overall it was a nice experience and we will definitely be visiting again very soon!

Tags: Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on February 15, 2017

The food and service were excellent! However, we were seated at a table in the very back, middle of the restaurant (no where near a window) and couldn't enjoy the scenic view of the night city skyline. I couldn't be more disappointed with the ambiance for our Valentine's Day date. I made this reservation MONTHS in advance on Open Table, and was disappointed with our table assignment. Again, the food and service were outstanding, but part of the price tag for this restaurant is the view and ambience, and ours wasn't worth the money.

Tags: Scenic View, Cozy, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience1
service5
value3

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on February 14, 2017

We want here for our first Valentine's Day dinner and everything was absolutely perfect. Highly recommend this restaurant for any special occasion.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Scenic View, Tasting Menu, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Gluten Free Options, Handcrafted Cocktails, Healthy, Hot Spot, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on February 14, 2017

An amazing view of the city along with great food and drinks. This was our first time here but not our last. The server waitress wasn't the greatest but we won't let that keep us from going back.

Tags: Tapas, Romantic, Bar Seating, Business Meals, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on February 13, 2017

Valentine's Day dinner was amazing!

Tags: Scenic View, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Yosemite)·Dined on February 13, 2017

We have always had an excellent meal at Monterey Bay. Food, service, view are superb.

Tags: Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic, Outstanding Value, Worth the Drive, Business Meals, Bar Seating, People Watching, Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on February 13, 2017

My wife and I had a very nice, first time dinner. The view was beautiful and the staff were gracious. We enjoyed the food very much and are already planning a repeat visit.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on February 12, 2017

We have enjoyed dining here many, many times since they opened and have never been disappointed!

This time was no exception. This is our first visit since they did an extensive upgrade to the dining area and it is absolutely fantastic - don't know which is better - the food or the ambiance.

As always the service was exceptional and our server Shane kept the standards high.

Guess you can tell that we really enjoy this restaurant.

Tags: Scenic View, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Modern Decor, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on February 12, 2017

My lobster ravioli tasted really sweet & it was not warm. The crab cake my husband & I shared was so over powering we didn't even eat half of it. He got swordfish & liked it. The brussel sprouts were just ok. The bread & butter on the other hand was phenomenal! We got the chocolate cake for desert but it came out in a cup & was literally liquid chocolate. Totally opposite of "cake". Upset we spent so much money on food I didn't even eat but the view was nice!

Tags: Romantic, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value1

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 12, 2017

This restaurant was known to us from their Monroeville location, but this location was superb. Or par or perhaps a little above the LeMont.

Tags: Private Room, Worth the Drive, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Couldn't have asked for a better evening. Everything was great and the food was Delicious! Great service and staff.

Tags: Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Private Room, Scenic View, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Fabulous!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Overall the experience was favorable. The restaurant has a wonderful view so it makes for a great special occasion spot. Food was good quality. Service was less impressive. Server seemed a bit off, and made the light atmosphere feel more uncomfortable. Service was slow. The waiter also would comment on the rudeness of other customers, which seemed unprofessional.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service1
value3

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Fabulous all around. Great, food, service and ambiance! Prices very high but do it for special occasions.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Scenic View, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on February 12, 2017

They called me one day in advance to confirm my reservation. We got a great table with a view of the city. i was very impressed with the service, our waiter was very attentive and our food was great.

Tags: Good for a Date, Happy Hour, Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Food, service, ambiance - all exceptional. Crab bisque - to die for! Our fish was very nicely prepared and delicious. Who knew that a side of cilantro rice could taste SO good!! Highly recommend for a special occasion.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on February 11, 2017

The service and the food were excellent. It was our anniversary and we were treated with any dessert from the menu to share. The angel food cake sandwich was one of the best desserts I have had. The waitress was very informative about the view of the city.

Tags: Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Outstanding Value, Scenic View, Romantic, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on February 11, 2017

It was one of the best restaurants I have ever been to and it was a very good time my date and I really enjoyed ourselves

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on February 11, 2017

The 45 min wait for a window table was well worth the wait. The view of the city added to the romantic ambiance of the evening. The food was delicious & well worth the price. The service was awesome. I will definitely come back @ have already made recommendations to my friends!

Tags: Late-night Find, Scenic View, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on February 5, 2017

We had a lovely evening at Monterrey Bay, celebrating both a birthday and an anniversary. The maitre d' was aware of our events and got us a lovely table for two with a great view and in a quiet area. The service was excellent and unobtrusive. The menu, while not very inventive, was appealing. Entrees are priced as one would expect in this type of restaurant, but are served with no accompaniments, requiring the diner to choose very high priced sides. I had the halibut with a parmesan crust and it was a tad too overdone for my taste, making it a little dry. My husband had the crab cakes and thoroughly enjoyed them. The wine list is somewhat limited. We loved that the music was in the background, not hip-hop, and quiet enough to enjoy conversation. It was a classy evening and great for a special occasion.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Scenic View, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on February 5, 2017

I was beyond happy with my experience at this location. It was my boyfriend's birthday and we were greeted and sat down immediately. We even came 30 minutes early. I did request a window seat and was happy to get one quickly. Everyone was nice and the food was wonderful. I will definitely go back again!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Music was too loud. Charged for cutting a small cake for 5 people.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Everything was exceptionally good. Servers also great and well informed. All in all a great evening.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on February 2, 2017

Retirement dinner with family and the restaurant sent over their staff to thank my husband and congratulate him. Well done!!! They comp'd his entree and sat us by the window in a booth. Could not have asked for a nicer evening!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on January 30, 2017

Monterey Bay has been and continues to be my favorite restaurant in Pittsburgh. The food is always wonderful. I can't eat crabcakes elsewhere since I've had them here. The tuna doesn't taste like fish - you might think you are eating beef (that's a plus for me), and the portions are generous. The service is friendly and very professional. The view is spectacular if you can get a table by the window, and the bar downstairs is also lovely.

Shout out to Anita who took care of our table last night - very friendly, patient and helpful, and to Danny the Asst. Mgr who was also very friendly and attentive to us!

Tags: Romantic, Private Room, Good for Groups, Scenic View, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Modern Decor, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on January 29, 2017

I had the Scallops my wife had the Ravioli. we had the braised cabbage, very good. the portions were not relative to the cost but if you're there for the view you won't be disappointed.

Tags: Healthy, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 29, 2017

My wife and I make it a point to go here twice a year. It is always a great scene and the view never gets old. This trip was not our best meal - but still very good. The appetizer special is a must-get. The tuna is top notch. The salmon and swordfish were just slightly above average this trip. Service is a bit slow for my taste. 2.5 hours for a dinner for a party of 4 is too long for me.

Tags: Business Meals, Pre/post Theatre, Authentic, Scenic View, Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value3

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on January 28, 2017

The quality of the food, service and wine was excellent as always. I was disappointed with the table. First, the size of the table was extremely small...it wasn't even large enough to hold the various menus...dinner, cocktails, wine...without stacking them. Secondly, the location was not the best as it seemed that it was the central area for the servers to place the stands/trays for serving and cleaning up. Finally, the noise level was extremely high. This might have been because we were at the center of the restaurant, all the server traffic, etc. Those three factors took away from what is usually a five star rating for ambience and a five star rating overall. We will continue to patronize this restaurant as it is one of our favorites. Lesson learned...if seated at that size/location table again...request another table.

Tags: Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service5
value4

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Service was impeccable. Music was a little loud for my taste. Hostess very helpful in giving us suggestions for nice places around the city to listen to some after dinner music. Overall, an excellent evening.

Tags: Scenic View, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Best view in Pittsburgh, attentive staff, great wine list. Unfortunately, 3 of 4 fish meals were overcooked and dry. Lack of creativity in main entrees.

Tags: Waterfront, Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service4
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.