Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.24mi
  2. Distance: 0.29mi
  3. Distance: 0.79mi
  4. Distance: 0.87mi
  1. Distance: 0.24mi
  2. Distance: 0.29mi
  3. Distance: 0.79mi
  4. Distance: 0.87mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.24mi
  2. Distance: 0.29mi
  3. Distance: 0.79mi
  4. Distance: 0.87mi
  1. Distance: 0.24mi
  2. Distance: 0.29mi
  3. Distance: 0.79mi
  4. Distance: 0.87mi

About Monterey Bay Fish Grotto - Mt. Washington

Thank you for considering Monterey Bay Fish Grotto. This award-winning restaurant has always taken pride in its level of standards and excellence. These exceptional standards are reflected in the mouth-watering fresh fish and impeccable service. Guests have come to expect this level of quality in every aspect of the main dining room as well as the private dining room.

Monterey Bay Fish Grotto's fish is fresh and flown in from a number of locations on the East Coast, West Coast and Hawaiian Islands. For this reason, we are the regions Premier Fresh Fish Restaurant offering 20 kinds of fresh fish in an array of original, delicious styles.

1411 Grandview Avenue
Pittsburgh, PA 15211
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Seafood, Steak

Hours of Operation:
Lounge: 4:30pm Daily
Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm
Friday & Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm
Sunday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
Sweetbriar Street

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(412) 481-4414

Website:
http://www.montereybayfishgrotto.com/

Parking Details:
Valet parking is $6.00 per car

Executive Chef:
Eric Wallace

Private Party Facilities:
Private party options are available

Private Party Contact:
John Bellan: (412) 481-4414

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, BYO Wine, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Private Room, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Monterey Bay Fish Grotto - Mt. Washington Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.7

ambience

4.7

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Scenic View (155)
Romantic (133)
Special Occasion (124)
See All
Good for a Date (119)
Good for Anniversaries (117)
Worth the Drive (66)
Good for Birthdays (59)
Business Meals (52)
Notable Wine List (51)
Creative Cuisine (43)
Quiet Conversation (41)
Modern Decor (35)
Fit for Foodies (33)
Cozy (25)
Pre/post Theatre (22)
Bar Seating (22)
Waterfront (21)
Good for Groups (21)
Handcrafted Cocktails (19)
Neighborhood Gem (18)
Outstanding Value (12)
Fun (12)
Private Room (11)
Hot Spot (11)
Healthy (11)
Authentic (10)
People Watching (9)
Tasting Menu (9)
Late-night Find (8)
Seasonal (8)
Vibrant Bar Scene (8)
Disabled Access (8)
Sunday Lunch (7)
Gluten Free Options (7)
Local Ingredients (6)
Casual (6)
Great for Lunch (4)
Happy Hour (4)
Historic (3)
Kid-friendly (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Family Style (2)
Comfort Food (1)
Spicy (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Live Music (1)
Vegan (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Tapas (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Organic (1)
Quick Bite (0)
Sort By:
S
4139 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined 4 days ago

Nice white tablecloth traditional restaurant. Big improvement since renovation. Seafood done well. Crabcakes superb. Sole and salmon excellent. Recommend for a great meal in a lovely space and that view....

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Cozy, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Austin)·Dined 5 days ago

Amazing view and food!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined 5 days ago

If you want a great view of the City and like seafood, this is your place. Also, great place to have a drink. We had a beautiful corner table next to the window and the service and food were great. The only issues is that the kitchen was unable to make one of the Chef's feature items. It was a crepe dish that apparently nobody in the kitchen could make that night. Otherwise, it was a great experience.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined 5 days ago

We are from Michigan and this is our second time eating here while passing through. Once again, the food was outstanding and the ambience and view are amazing. We had a great experience and will definitely be back again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined 5 days ago

I do not write negative reviews; and I seldom have time to write any reviews. However, every now and then a dinner experience prompts a review. I do have the opportunity to dine at a lot of fine restaurants across the country for business, and this place ranks amongst the finest.

This is a very good restaurant; excellent restaurant, actually. Overall, this place scores very highly. I started with the lobster bisque. Great presentation and DELICIOUS. I also appreciate that it was steaming hot. For the main course, I had the Tuna seared rare. The quality of the fish was outstanding; AAA+ Sushi grade. It was seared perfectly and seasoned deliciously just as our server had promised. We also had brussels sprouts. These are not your average saute'ed sprouts. Well done, Chef! If there was a 'miss' on the menu, it was the lobster mac and cheese. The bowtie was heavy and the cheese was very dry. I would have liked rigatoni in a much creamier cheese bath and then browned on top. Overall, the food still receives top marks with the quality, seasonings, and temperatures just about perfect. I wish I had room for desert as there were several tempting treats.

Now for the service. I believe our server was Mark (Mario Lemieux hair); he was excellent. He really enjoyed doing his job (interacting) and discussing the food with us. He was very knowledgable at a level I would say was 'above and beyond' what I typically see at many restaurants. Pace of service was also very appropriate. Great job, Mark. Golly, I hope I got the name right.

I will definitely put this place on my 'must visit' list for the next time I am in Pittsburgh.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Denver)·Dined 5 days ago

The view is truly spectacular - the floor to ceiling massive windows give an unparalleled view of the city. Mt. Washington, however, is no longer just about the view as there are several restaurants with innovative menus and excellent service. The food was good enough, but the plates were cold. Overall, a little more focus on inspired menu items and development of wait staff and Monterey Bay could be a contender for the best restaurant on Mt. Washington.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined 5 days ago

Amazing view, nice decor, friendly staff, ok food. I might take out-of-town visitors for the view but wouldn't go back for the food. I took a party of four, we all got different things. Nothing was bad but nobody was impressed with their dinner.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined 5 days ago

Food and service was very good. I don't like the potato selections on sides. They only offer fingerling potatoes which I don't care for. They should at least one other potato choice.

The desert menu could be better also.

Tags: Modern Decor, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined 6 days ago

Couldn't have been better. The food, the service, the wine....absolutely outstanding and my wife felt the same. Can't wait to come again!

Tags: Business Meals, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined 6 days ago

After the snowstorm ended the view was spectacular! The food was delicious. Brought my 14 year old grandson and he thought the place was fabulous. Will defy go again !

Tags: Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on March 13, 2017

Monterey Bay's service was great and the food was exquisite. The nighttime view was one you won't forget.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View, Notable Wine List, Modern Decor, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on March 13, 2017

Mount Washington's finest for cuisine and view...outstanding!

Tags: Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Business Meals, Scenic View, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on March 12, 2017

Crab cakes. And angel food grilled cheese. That's all you need to remember. Truthfully, everything on the menu, including the handcrafted cocktails, were amazing. Our waitress (Brooke) was terrific, along with the rest of the staff we met. We definitely recommend this spot for anyone visiting Pittsburgh! We took the Duquesne incline to the top of Mt. Washington and walked a couple of blocks to the restaurant. Highly recommend!

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on March 12, 2017

Amazing view and service. Friendly staff. Food was great. Expensive, but well worth the money.

Tags: Business Meals, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Pre/post Theatre, Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on March 12, 2017

Delicious and special experience! Loved the crab cakes.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on March 11, 2017

From start to finish, our dining experience was superior! We will be revisiting very soon! Thank You!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Great place for dinner and a view of the city. Service was exceptional but do not take a both along the wall of the kitchen as it is very noisy.

Tags: Scenic View, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service5
value3

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on March 11, 2017

The menu has changed, and with the shrinking menu, it seems the quality has decreased as well. The salads have lost their appeal. The Ceaser salad has gone from having a wonderful house made dressing to no dressing and replaced with three anchovies. The strawberry salad has unfortunately completely disappeared from the menu. The bread/ butter that comes with the meal has seen multiple changes over the years (basket of differing breads on the table, a waiter bringing a selection of breads for you to choose, and now just a simple white bread on the table). The butter with the bread has gone through a similar life cycle; a wonderful seasoned butter, to your average butter, and now average butter covered with dry seasoning. The main course was fine minus their signature crab cakes being dry and lacking the 'sauce' that makes them what they are.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value2

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Wonderful service! Seated prior to our reservation with a window view. Food was delicious. Will return.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Beautiful restaurant with amazing views. Food was excellent and the drinks were strong! Our waiter Zack was very polite and professional! Thanks for a great evening out!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on March 11, 2017

You basically pay for a view. The food was nothing special and for an upscale restaurant portions were small like expected but nothing special about the food. I could of went to red lobster for a third of the price or bone fish for half the price and got the same quality seafood. My girlfriend thought she had blood on her hand but the waitress later said she thought it raspberry sauce from a desert she served to another table but was not polite when I asked for another glass and didn't even take the napkin at first that we thought was blood on it. We didn't assume it was that because you don't expect a dirty glass at an expensive restaurant. Also we only ordered dinner no appetizer or soup and salad. The waitress had this sound and look of disappointment when we did not order every course. I guess in hopes that we would run up a large tab. The manager was nice enough to come ask us how dinner was and I told him that my girlfriend was not in the mood for the meal she got and he did offer something else but I guess I should of explained that we both were disappointed in the food itself. Overall if you want a view of the city that part is taken care of but as a customer and first time customer I find it hard to have any reason to ever go back. Lobster ravioli for my girlfriend unimpressed. Crab cake and scallops for me. The scallops where nothing special the crab cake was good but way overpriced. Maybe we ordered the wrong things but for a small menu I assumed they both would be expectional. The bread tasted like a loaf of bread from Aldis. The feeling that I had after was the feeling I got from our waitress. Disappointed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value3

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on March 10, 2017

Good food. Our reservation was on the early side and they seated us way back in the corner by the wine bar… Not sure why we couldn't get a better seat when most of the tables were empty at that point.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Hot Spot, Modern Decor, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value1

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on March 10, 2017

The fresh fish was delicious. My mother had the shrimp scampi, and the shrimp were the biggest I have ever seen. My nephew had the crab cakes, which he said were the best ever. We had their signature appetizer trio and it was amazing.

Tags: Romantic, Disabled Access, Scenic View, Notable Wine List, Bar Seating, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on March 10, 2017

Great view of the city and very good service but very disappointed in the food considering the upscale pricing. Might have been ok at half the price but expected better at the price we paid.
Ceviche appetizer was mostly filler with very little fish/seafood and was overpowered by the excessive lime. Lobster bisque was just ok. The whole fish has very little flavor and the salmon was dry and overcooked. However, because of the view, good place to impress a date or mate.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value1

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on March 7, 2017

we had a nice time there.we had a window table ,what a view.everything was good,but dont be shocked when the bill arrives.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on March 6, 2017

Anniversary

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value2

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on March 4, 2017

this place is awsome, been there for 3 times but still love that place 👍🏼👍🏼 for that place

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on March 4, 2017

My overall experience was very good. The food was delicious and the ambiance was amazing! I was celebrating my mother and Aunt's birthday, who were in town from FL. The only negative comment I will say is our server Martini, seemed like in a rush to flip the table and get us out. Once I made a comment about it being their birthdays though, he did give us our time to socialize and enjoy the evening. I was really excited to try the lobster mac and cheese but was instantly disappointed after trying it, I felt that it was very dry. But that would be my only complaint and our server, Martini, made sure that he took that off our bill- which wasn't expected, but a nice surprise. He also made sure my mother and Aunt got a free dessert which they loved! I will come back to this restaurant and will be sure to recommend this to others!

Tags: Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on March 4, 2017

Amazing service from Mark- he helped make our anniversary celebration special!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails, Scenic View, Modern Decor, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Portland)·Dined on March 4, 2017

Food, service, & view all wonderful. Will definitely return.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on March 4, 2017

Best crab cakes ever! Awesome drinks at the bar downstairs, Artic Kiss was a hit with the wife.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on March 4, 2017

The service was outstanding, and the view makes it a special evening. We travel from Michigan to see our daughter in DC and always stop at Pittsburgh mid-way. (We were so pleased that you honored our Open Table request for a window table last week when we mentioned this!) This is our second visit to your restaurant, and everything is wonderful, EXCEPT, it is not a good value to pay over $30 for an entree and have no sides or salad included. Couldn't you at least add some roasted potatoes, a risotto, steamed veggies, or SOMETHING to go with the protein? I know this "protein only" is a trend with high end restaurants now, but it makes the experience less wonderful, and I end up feeling a bit "taken" by the management. Truthfully, we will probably select Altius again the next time we come through, as the view, service and food quality are the same, but, for the money, the plate is a little fuller.

Tags: Scenic View, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Waterfront, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value2

 
 (Houston)·Dined on March 3, 2017

View was fantastic above Mt. Washington. Staff was very friendly and accommodating. Sommelier was very helpful. Food was excellent. Lobster Bisque is a must! Definitely recommend.

Tags: Good for a Date, Tasting Menu, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Business Meals, Notable Wine List, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on February 28, 2017

I hadn't been to this restaurant since it was changed. Although it is still a great place, I think it isn't as good as it was before. The decor is significantly improved, but I don't think people go there to look around the room. The windows is where everyone's attention usually is. The most notable step backward, in my opinion, is with the food/menu. The menu is significantly scaled back and I felt the quality was probably not quite as good as before, although it was still great. Given the price, I think I'll look for other options before I return.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value2

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on February 26, 2017

New to the area, I was looking for a date night spot. Choose Monterrey because they advertised a great view of the city. Upon arrival, the maitre d' acknowledged my request for a window table. We had a great view of the city, its bridges, stadiums, and even one of the tramcars that transports folk up and down Pittsburgh's elevations.

The food and service was great--Kacie was excellent.

Check it out! You will be pleased.

Tags: Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on February 26, 2017

I took the family to Monterey Bay for my son's 11th birthday. The view is unbeatable. The food was good, but the dishes can be found elsewhere, just as good, for much less. I knew I was laying a premium for the view, and I did it for a special day. However, the premium was much more expensive than I expected.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Naples)·Dined on February 26, 2017

Monterey Bay is exceptional. I have never had a bad meal here. The waitstaff is very attentive, and the entrees are fabulous. Great if you have a special occasion - menu is pricey, but totally worth it. I am upset, however, that they did away with their Sushi concept. It was the perfect appetizer! Overall wonderful experience, and I will look forward to the next time I go for dinner.

Tags: Scenic View, Good for Birthdays, Gluten Free Options, Cozy, Modern Decor, Romantic, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on February 26, 2017

Splurge on apps, soup and salad, skip the sides which were good but unnecessary.

Tags: Special Occasion, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on February 26, 2017

The service was great and the view is outstanding. But the food was terrible. The fried calamari was mushy and had, what appeared to be a can of hot peppers dumped on top of it. The crab cakes were not fresh and had been, apparently, heated in a microwave. My husband's lobster ravioli consisted of ravioli immersed in butter with one tiny piece of lobster on top. Oh....and the salads needed salt. We won't be back.

Tags: Gluten Free Options, Happy Hour, Bar Seating, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service5
value1

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on February 26, 2017

Love this place. The food and view are equally amazing!

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.