About Monterey Bay Fish Grotto - Mt. Washington

1411 Grandview Avenue
Pittsburgh, PA 15211
View Larger Map

Thank you for considering Monterey Bay Fish Grotto. This award-winning restaurant has always taken pride in its level of standards and excellence. These exceptional standards are reflected in the mouth-watering fresh fish and impeccable service. Guests have come to expect this level of quality in every aspect of the main dining room as well as the private dining room.

Monterey Bay Fish Grotto's fish is fresh and flown in from a number of locations on the East Coast, West Coast and Hawaiian Islands. For this reason, we are the regions Premier Fresh Fish Restaurant offering 20 kinds of fresh fish in an array of original, delicious styles.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Seafood, Steak, Sushi

Hours of Operation:
Lounge: 4:30pm Daily
Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm
Friday & Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm
Sunday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
Sweetbriar Street

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(412) 481-4414

Website:
http://www.montereybayfishgrotto.com/

Parking Details:
Valet parking is $6.00 per car

Executive Chef:
Edwin Smith

Private Party Facilities:
Private party options are available

Private Party Contact:
Tiffany Sines: 4124814414x

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, BYO Wine, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Takeout, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Tuna Ceviche
Grandview Roll
Smoked Scottish Salmon
Chocolate Truffle Cake
White Chocolate Macadamia Mousse
Yummiest Cocktail Ever
Tuna And Peaches
Yellowfin Tuna
Mahi Mahi
Chimichurri Crusted Paiche With Watermelon Jalapeno Salsa And Havarti Onion Potato Croquette

Monterey Bay Fish Grotto - Mt. Washington Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.6

ambience

4.7

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Pittsburgh
Best Ambiance
Pittsburgh
Romantic
Pittsburgh
9 More
Scenic View
Pittsburgh
Special Occasion
Pittsburgh
Most Booked
Pittsburgh
Best Overall
Pittsburgh
Best Ambiance
Pittsburgh
Romantic
Pittsburgh
Scenic View
Pittsburgh
Special Occasion
Pittsburgh
Most Booked
Pittsburgh
Best Restaurants in Mt. Washington ›

Scenic View (285)
Special Occasion (259)
Romantic (212)
See All
Fit for Foodies (110)
Notable Wine List (94)
Good for Groups (66)
Good for Anniversaries (41)
Hot Spot (40)
Neighborhood Gem (40)
Good for a Date (37)
Good for Birthdays (22)
Late-night Find (19)
Quiet Conversation (17)
Business Meals (16)
Modern Decor (15)
Worth the Drive (15)
Creative Cuisine (13)
Vibrant Bar Scene (13)
Waterfront (11)
Pre/post Theatre (10)
Healthy (7)
Cozy (7)
People Watching (6)
Authentic (6)
Fun (6)
Historic (6)
Great for Brunch (5)
Great for Lunch (5)
Paleo Friendly (4)
Kid-friendly (4)
Handcrafted Cocktails (4)
Happy Hour (3)
Disabled Access (3)
Outstanding Value (3)
Private Room (3)
Tasting Menu (3)
Casual (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Comfort Food (2)
Bar Seating (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Seasonal (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Family Style (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Tapas (1)
Sort By:
Newest
3638 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Very Nice. We shared an appatizer specia ...

vip
 (Cleveland)
·Dined 3 days ago

Very Nice. We shared an appatizer special. My friend had his favorite -- Red Snapper. He was not disappointed. The fish was cooked perfectly and a little spice worked well. I had Sea Bass with Chimichury. Absolutely wonderful! Portion was just right.

Tags: Scenic View, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

This is one of our favorite places to vi ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined 4 days ago

This is one of our favorite places to visit on special occasions. I'm sure coupons and special offers would get us to come more often.

Tags: Tapas, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

My boyfriend and I went for our 5 year a ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined 5 days ago

My boyfriend and I went for our 5 year anniversary. The view was beautiful, the food was delicious, and the staff was so kind to us. We were gifted a free dessert to celebrate our special occasion. Would highly recommend.

Tags: Good for a Date, Happy Hour, Cozy, Notable Wine List, Late-night Find, Private Room, Good for Birthdays, Great for Lunch, Paleo Friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Modern Decor, People Watching, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Scenic View, Hot Spot, Gluten Free Options, Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Good for Groups, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food and presentation were perfect. ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined 6 days ago

The food and presentation were perfect. The speciality drink, spot on. The Angel food cake grilled cheese Amazing. My compliments to the Chef.

Tags: People Watching, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service1
value3

Restaurant is lovely with amazing views. ...

 
 (Memphis)
·Dined 7 days ago

Restaurant is lovely with amazing views. The food and drinks was good. The service was not great, all the waitresses and waiters looked so miserable and the one that served us was very hostile and moody. It really put me off. I would still recommend for the views and experience but I am not desperate to return.

Tags: Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

This was our first visit and had an awes ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on September 18, 2016

This was our first visit and had an awesome experience. We sat at a window table on the lower level and thought the evening was PERFECT. We can't wait to return with our out of town visitors next month. We will definitely make a stop in the lounge...which is warm, welcoming, and has a panoramic view.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We thoroughly enjoyed our first time to ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

We thoroughly enjoyed our first time to this restaurant! The service was excellent, the food was perfection! Management was friendly and kind! We will definitely go back there the next time we are in Pittsburgh! Thank you!

JanisA

Tags: Waterfront, Special Occasion, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Overall I'm happy with my choice of Mont ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

Overall I'm happy with my choice of Monterey Bay for my wife's birthday however for the price I would have expected much better food, at least from the main course. The lobster bisque was excellent, great wine and cocktail menu, the service from Chad could be the best if not the top 3 of any waiter I've had; the manager introduced himself and was very pleasant/friendly. The grilled cheese dessert was unique and amazing. The main courses, scallops for me, whitefish for my wife, was just "good." a little on the bland side. The view of course was worth a million dollars looking down on pitt from the mount. The restaurant itself it very modern looking and beautiful. The biggest negative was valet parking... the woman who I gave my ticket to was not amused to be working and was acting like I was bothering her by asking for my car. Very unfriendly to the point of rude. If I pulled up to Monterey again and saw her in the valet lot, I'd drive past and cancel my reservation. She should be working the counter at mcdonalds, not greeting guests at a restaurant that cost near $300 for my wife and I to dine.

Tags: Modern Decor, Scenic View, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

Visited Pittsburgh over the weekend for ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on September 16, 2016

Visited Pittsburgh over the weekend for the first time and made reservations here after reading the reviews on Trip Advisor. Our meals were delicious (swordfish and stuffed shrimp) and did not disappoint. Everything is priced a la carte so the bill can run up rather fast. The view was spectacular and we did enjoy a nice evening celebrating two birthdays. The restaurant had lovely desserts for the "birthday boys" and that was quite special. Thanks for a memorable evening.

Tags: Special Occasion, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

great experience...family enjoyed...pric ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on September 16, 2016

great experience...family enjoyed...prices a bit high for what we got...$22 for mac and lobster with very little lobster...$40 for 5 medium sized scallops...overall had a good night for my Mother's birthday.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value2

Truly outstanding view and service was s ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on September 15, 2016

Truly outstanding view and service was super! The chef's presentation was appropriate and demonstrated his appreciation for the taste and character of the ingredients. Would highly recommend for foodies who aren't budget restricted or on a limited diet.

Tags: Waterfront, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Fun, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Cozy, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My forth visit and it was equally as enj ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on September 15, 2016

My forth visit and it was equally as enjoyable as my first

Tags: Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Everything was wonderful. I understand a ...

vip
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on September 14, 2016

Everything was wonderful. I understand about not being able to reserve a window table . But there were empty window tables , we were a party of 4 and was told that they were reserved for parties of 5. Which does not make sense, especially when a party of 2 was sitting at a table for 4. The restaurant was mostly empty and I felt that they just didn't want to accommodate us.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Management (Jennifer) and wait staff (Sh ...

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on September 13, 2016

Management (Jennifer) and wait staff (Sherry) were excellent and made our 41st anniversary a real hit. Food was very good except Lobster Bisque which was fine but not outstanding. The Parmesan Halibut dinner and Crab cake appetizer was very good. Creme Brûlée' desert was also a real hit. Overall very pleased and plan to return.

Tags: Good for a Date, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

The view is spectacular. The service exe ...

vip
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on September 11, 2016

The view is spectacular. The service exemplary. The seafood impeccable. Top notch all around.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Watching the sun set over Pittsburgh whi ...

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on September 11, 2016

Watching the sun set over Pittsburgh while we dined made a memorable experience we look forward to returning to soon!

Tags: Late-night Find, Scenic View, Sunday Lunch, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The entire experience was absolutely inc ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on September 11, 2016

The entire experience was absolutely incredible! I have not stopped talking about the food, the views of the city, the atmosphere, and the drinks! I can not wait to go back!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating, Cozy, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

First time in Pittsburgh G great place g ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

First time in Pittsburgh G

great place good food and a great view,Sherry our waitress was awesome, I definitely recommend it

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Overall everything was perfect except di ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

Overall everything was perfect except disappointed no window seat availability and that was most important that evening. Called for reservations and told if available otherwise little bit of a wait. Never even got that choice when we arrived. We asked about window seat or close to it but sat us quickly. Not close. Even a little closer view might have been nicer. Waiter was excellent. Offered a dessert for special occasion which was nice. Otherwise an enjoyable visit

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

great service, outstanding wine list, th ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

great service, outstanding wine list, the view is what makes the evening. the fish were great but the sides were served cool. I prefer the two side dishes to be higher in temperature. the deserts were brilliant - WOW!. We will return maybe in the winter to get a different view but will need to save up funds before we return. We enjoyed the dinner, the food was good and the view was worth the trip.

Tags: Waterfront, Scenic View, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

The food was very good and what our serv ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

The food was very good and what our server recommended was spot on. Plus the view downtown was great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Went for a late night dinner to celebrat ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

Went for a late night dinner to celebrate our engagement! Place was amazing, the food and the view was unreal.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Go for spectacular views of Pittsburgh a ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

Go for spectacular views of Pittsburgh and the three rivers. Otherwise, portions are small, over-priced and unremarkable. The Ichiban was terrific, but two tiny portions. The lobster rangoons were also great, but only four came on a huge plate. The 8oz lobster tail was good, but rest of the plate was unremarkable. The "jumbo shrimp" were anything but. Tasty, but shrimp were small and crabcake stuffing was skimpy. Overall, great views, good service, but pretty unremarkable and expensive seafood offering.

Tags: Scenic View, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service4
value2

I've been coming here over several years ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

I've been coming here over several years and the food quality deteriorates each time. I was very disappointed with the fish and chosen sauce and sent it back...it was too sweet. They were nice enough to replace it with another dish, but it too was below expectations. Two of my guests were happy with their meals and one other was also disappointed. Frankly I'm not sure if I'll return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4

Delicious, great view, great service. Hi ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on September 9, 2016

Delicious, great view, great service. Highly reccomend.

Tags: Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Good food... however the server needs tr ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on September 8, 2016

Good food... however the server needs training. Rushed, up seller, lacked etiquette

Tags: Special Occasion, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service1
value2

We went here for a milestone anniversary ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

We went here for a milestone anniversary dinner and the restaurant proved to be great for just that sort of thing. We were seated at a table that gave us spectacular views no matter where we looked, their seafood was delicious, and to top it off, they gave us complimentary desserts because it was for special occasion.

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Excellent seafood menu Awesome view Staf ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

Excellent seafood menu

Awesome view

Staff very accommodating.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

The view on Mt. Washington from the th ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

The view on Mt. Washington from the this

venue is spectacular ! Unfortunately the

Food was not.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

Very enjoyable place, the food was excel ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

Very enjoyable place, the food was excellent and the service was stellar. The price is a bit high for my wallet but it is definitely worth it.

Tags: Paleo Friendly, Kid-friendly, Scenic View, Tasting Menu, Fun, Casual, Outstanding Value, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Late-night Find, Family Style, Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Between the terrific view of the city, o ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

Between the terrific view of the city, outstanding service and the amazing food, it was a wonderful birthday dinner.

Tags: Good for a Date, Romantic, Scenic View, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful restaurant, the food and servi ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

Wonderful restaurant, the food and service were the best. The view is like none other.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Food and service were excellent. On reco ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

Food and service were excellent. On recommendation we arrived 30 min early to wait for a window table. The wait in the lounge was enjoyable, as was the window table at dinner.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Our server was gracious and had a sense ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

Our server was gracious and had a sense of humor. Answered all questions and then some. Great service, great food, great ambience. One of my favorites for the wine and food pairing options.

Not to mention the view...all good!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

A little on the pricey side for entrees, ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on September 2, 2016

A little on the pricey side for entrees, but you can't beat the view!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Mediocre wine list; fish over cooked. It ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 31, 2016

Mediocre wine list; fish over cooked. It's all about the view I guess.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service3

I think more seating for groups over 2-4 ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on August 31, 2016

I think more seating for groups over 2-4 by the window. Oysters were not good at all while rest was great.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Business Meals, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value4

Our dinner was very nice. My 6 year old ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on August 30, 2016

Our dinner was very nice. My 6 year old enjoyed the food and the view, It was my husband's birthday, the creative Happy Birthday message sent with the crème brule for dessert was a nice touch!

Tags: Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was excellent, Server (Casey) fanta ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on August 29, 2016

Food was excellent, Server (Casey) fantastic, view of City spectacular.

Tags: Special Occasion, People Watching, Outstanding Value, Business Meals, Scenic View, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Casey was our waitress and she was aweso ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on August 28, 2016

Casey was our waitress and she was awesome. Very welcoming and efficient! Very attentive and brought a delicious complimentary desert to celebrate our 46th anniversary! Great view of city was a plus!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Casual, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.