About Monterey Bay Fish Grotto - Mt. Washington

1411 Grandview Avenue
Pittsburgh, PA 15211
View Larger Map

Thank you for considering Monterey Bay Fish Grotto. This award-winning restaurant has always taken pride in its level of standards and excellence. These exceptional standards are reflected in the mouth-watering fresh fish and impeccable service. Guests have come to expect this level of quality in every aspect of the main dining room as well as the private dining room.

Monterey Bay Fish Grotto's fish is fresh and flown in from a number of locations on the East Coast, West Coast and Hawaiian Islands. For this reason, we are the regions Premier Fresh Fish Restaurant offering 20 kinds of fresh fish in an array of original, delicious styles.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Seafood, Steak, Sushi

Hours of Operation:
Lounge: 4:30pm Daily
Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm
Friday & Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm
Sunday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
Sweetbriar Street

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(412) 481-4414

Website:
http://www.montereybayfishgrotto.com/

Parking Details:
Valet parking is $6.00 per car

Executive Chef:
Edwin Smith

Private Party Facilities:
Private party options are available

Private Party Contact:
Tiffany Sines: 4124814414x

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Personal wines welcome, Private Room, Takeout, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Tuna Ceviche
Grandview Roll
Tuna And Peaches
Chimichurri Crusted Paiche With Watermelon Jalapeno Salsa And Havarti Onion Potato Croquette
Smoked Scottish Salmon
Chocolate Truffle Cake
White Chocolate Macadamia Mousse
Yummiest Cocktail Ever
Yellowfin Tuna
Mahi Mahi

Monterey Bay Fish Grotto - Mt. Washington Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.7

ambience

4.8

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Pittsburgh
Best Service
Pittsburgh
Best Ambiance
Pittsburgh
11 More
Romantic
Pittsburgh
Scenic View
Pittsburgh
Most Booked
Pittsburgh
Best Overall
Pittsburgh
Best Food
Pittsburgh
Best Service
Pittsburgh
Best Ambiance
Pittsburgh
Romantic
Pittsburgh
Scenic View
Pittsburgh
Special Occasion
Pittsburgh
Most Booked
Pittsburgh
Best Restaurants in Mt. Washington ›

scenic view (253)
special occasion (238)
romantic (198)
See All
fit for foodies (109)
notable wine list (86)
good for groups (74)
neighborhood gem (51)
hot spot (27)
late-night find (19)
vibrant bar scene (13)
great for lunch (8)
great for brunch (6)
kid-friendly (4)
great for outdoor dining (1)
Sort By:
Newest
3489 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had an excellent dinner with excellen ...

Dined 6 days ago

We had an excellent dinner with excellent service on Father's Day. Thanks for an outstanding experience!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food and service was great. No shrimp c ...

Dined 7 days ago

Food and service was great. No shrimp cocktail on menu and would not recommend ordering. Rest of experience was great.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

The view of the Golden Triangle and conf ...

vip
Dined on June 19, 2016

The view of the Golden Triangle and confluence of the Allegheny, Monongahela and Ohio Rivers is wonderful from any point on Mt. Washington, but when you eat at the Monterey Bay Fish Grotto, you get one of the best views from the ridge along with incredible atmosphere, superior food and service. We arrived, were immediately seated on the balcony, and had drink orders placed within five minutews. I suggest you try the Black Coffee Manhattan and the Ginger Pear Martini! Our appetizers were calamari with peppers, onions and a sweet mango cilantro dipping sauce, and Ichiban - small chunks of mahi, salmon and ahi on sticks with an ancho chili aioli that was a perfect accompaniment for the fish. We splurged on soup and enjoyed the lobster bisque, pieces of claw meat and cream over which the bisque broth was poured - and delicious. Our dinner orders were yellow fin tuna (wrapped in bacon and prepared with a port wine reduction), and striped bass prepared with a granola crust, apple, andouille and chutney. Healthy, large servings of each. We added sides of gratin potatoes and chipotle creamed corn - portions big enough for two or more - and left completely satisfied, with a to-go bag that was enough for another meal! Atmosphere, scenery, service, and incredible food makes Monterey Bay Fish Grotto a definite stop for us when we're in Pittsburgh!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service3
value3

Outstanding view and atmosphere; food ve ...

Dined on June 18, 2016

Outstanding view and atmosphere; food very good, but not up to standard considering the price

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was our first time at Monterey Bay ...

Dined on June 18, 2016

This was our first time at Monterey Bay but truly not the last!!!!! I eat out often and have eaten at a lot of places across the country, and this is the first place I've been that everything was excellent!!!! There wasn't one thing that you could say was better than another for all was excellent!!! Though it is pricey I believe it was worth it!!!! Will truly return to try something different and see the city at night from the awesome view that you get !!!!! 👍🏾👍🏾👍🏾👍🏾👍🏾👍🏾👍🏾👍🏾👍🏾👍🏾👍🏾👍🏾👍🏾👍🏾

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Waitress was excellent. Food was outsta ...

Dined on June 18, 2016

Waitress was excellent. Food was outstanding. We had a great time enjoying the beautiful view.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Very enjoyable as usual. My wife and I c ...

Dined on June 18, 2016

Very enjoyable as usual. My wife and I celebrate our anniversay here annually. Great atmosphere. The Chilean Sea Bass Parmesan style and crab cake (3 fish app) is always put top choice. Thank you for always making our day very special. We will continue to visit here for years to come

Tags: romantic, special occasion, late-night find, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We had an absolutely amazing experience. ...

Dined on June 18, 2016

We had an absolutely amazing experience. Everything about it was fantastic, from the minute we walked in to the minute we left. Michael, our server went above & beyond, & ensured that we had a great night & that our son had a very special 14th birthday. Thank you to the entire staff. I highly recommend going here for the food, the service & of course the view!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The view was absolutely stunning. It wa ...

Dined on June 18, 2016

The view was absolutely stunning. It was a fantastic place to celebrate our anniversary and the meal was delicious. The Angel Food Cake Grilled Cheese Sandwich was divine, best dessert I have ever tasted.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We celebrated my husbands 40th birthday ...

Dined on June 17, 2016

We celebrated my husbands 40th birthday there. He loves everything about the city of Pittsburgh and I knew he would love the view. The crab cakes are delicious and will be going back for more! We also shared the grilled angel food cake dessert and it was worth and extra day in the gym!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Everything was truly excellent. The foo ...

Dined on June 17, 2016

Everything was truly excellent. The food, the service and the view were fabulous. Will definitely go back if ever in Pittsburgh again.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Dining on top of an 8 story building at ...

Dined on June 17, 2016

Dining on top of an 8 story building at the top of Mt Washington provided an outstanding view of the confluence of 3 rivers and of downtown Pittsburg. The wine list was substantial, but maybe priced on the high side. The fish is flown in from around the world daily so it is fresh and tender. The angle food toasted cheese desert shouldn't be missed.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

The service was excellent as well as the ...

Dined on June 17, 2016

The service was excellent as well as the food. Rather pricey!

food5
ambience3
service5
value4

We went on a Wednesday night to celebrat ...

Dined on June 15, 2016

We went on a Wednesday night to celebrate our anniversary. The restaurant was full and very noisy. Unfortunately we did not have a table facing the city to enjoy the view. The service was excellent, the food was top shelf and there is an excellent wine list. The general manager greeted us and was very personable. This is a pricey restaurant but the quality of the food and excellent service creates value.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Loved the whole experience. The view w ...

Dined on June 14, 2016

Loved the whole experience. The view was amazing. The restaurant overlooks the city ofPittsburgh from MtWashington. Service excellent, food delicious. My only criticism is that I ordered the special and neglected to ask the price. It was delicious but much moreexpensive than I would have imagined

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, scenic view, hot spot
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

To show off the beauty of Pittsburgh fro ...

Dined on June 14, 2016

To show off the beauty of Pittsburgh from the Heights there is no better place. The service was very good. The food was not what I would expect for such a high end venue. My fish was dry the asparagus I cook better at home the brussels sprouts were scrumptious. I think everybody enjoyed their meal we didn't ask them how they liked it. Because it was such a special occasion for our family and we all loved that, I was very pleased. Just disappointed in the fish .

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5

Great view, and fantastic food. Make sur ...

Dined on June 11, 2016

Great view, and fantastic food. Make sure to bring some cash; it's pricey but worth every cent.

food4
ambience4
service5
value4

We were celebrating my mom's 80th birthd ...

Dined on June 11, 2016

We were celebrating my mom's 80th birthday. From the valets to the wait staff - everything was great. Mom needs a walker and everyone was very helpful in getting her from the elevator to the table. Even though we were not sitting in the bottom at the windows - we had a beautiful view of the city on the second level of seating. Our waiter Mike was great. His knowledge of the menu was great and his recommendations were right on. All of the food was very good. We enjoyed the shrimp, swordfish, yellow fin tuna and salmon as well as the brussel sprouts. The dessert that came out with the candle for mom's bday was a nice touch. Thanks for helping make the occasion very special.

Tags: special occasion, scenic view
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Good night out

Dined on June 10, 2016

Went out for my girlfriends birthday. Service was good. We arrived early and were able to sit early. Server was really professional. The scene was great even though we were not directly at a window. Food was good.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience5
service2
value3

Good Food, Regular Service

Dined on June 10, 2016

Comparing with same level restaurants in the area, the service was quite poor, they pour water in our glasess, We were drinking sparkling water, we have to wait more than 15' when we re-order bread, we have to send it back the coffe because was cold, all were minor things but not acceptable for that level of restaurant.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

RETIRED USAF OFFICER

Dined on June 10, 2016

MY EX-WIFE AND I HAVE RECONNECTED AFTER 36 YEARS AS CLOSE FRIENDS. WE FOUND EVERYTHING TO BE EXCELLENT. SHE WAS SO EXCITED ABOUT THE VIEW, THE MEAL AND THE HELPFULNESS OF THE WAITER. OUR WINDOW SEATING WAS SUPERB AND MAGICALLY DELIGHTED US AS THE DAY TURNED TO NIGHT. THANK ALL OF THE STAFF FOR A VERY DELIGHTFUL EVENING.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Monterey Bay Stunning View and Exquisite Taste

Dined on June 9, 2016

Parmesan encrusted halibut in lemon cream sauce and crabcakes were divine. Best of all the Angel Food "Grilled Cheese" dessert.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, scenic view
food3
ambience5
service2

Much better prior to renovation. Now bec ...

Dined on June 9, 2016

Much better prior to renovation. Now becoming very over priced for what you get.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Always the Best!

Dined on June 5, 2016

This is a restaurant that makes everyone's experience special- any age, any group- if they can do it for you, they will, with the best view in the entire city.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Shane was a great waiter!! We had a grea ...

vip
Dined on June 4, 2016

Shane was a great waiter!! We had a great time

food2
ambience4
service2
value2

"Just ok"

Dined on June 4, 2016

The service was less than expected for the price. Had empty alcohol and regular beverages for most of the meal. Slow. Waited a long time for dessert menus and even longer for check. Like we were forgotten about. The food was good. Just ok. If the service was better, maybe worth the price, but overall the experience was lack luster. Hate to say it, but it was better back in the day.

Tags: scenic view
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

Acceptilable food

Dined on June 3, 2016

For a first timer I was not excepting to take an elevator to the top of the building and be immersed by the city view which was fantastic! The waiter was very knowledgeable on the menu and suggested wonderful meals. The price definatly fit the food and it was perfect for the birthday event. The sushi was out of this world, thebcrab cakes were on point! The striped bass was perfect but I would suggest getting a different style other than monteray for that type of fillet. Other then that it was great!

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Date Night

Dined on June 2, 2016

We went here for a date night and the food was outstanding. Monterey Bay Fish Grotto is of course known for their fish and the chef does not disappoint. The view of the city is the best and they have terrific staff who attend to your needs very well.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wow!

Dined on June 2, 2016

My family came from out of town to visit for a few days, so i wanted to take them somewhere very unique to Pittsburgh. My boss recommended Monetery Bay. Wow, I'm pretty sure my family was impressed, and that the experience was just as I imagined it would be! The views of the 3 rivers and the city are second to none. Service was attentive & friendly without being annoying. We took our time ordering so we could just chat & enjoy our time together. I have to say that our server was very accommodating and never rushed us to order, but she did give great appetizer/dinner suggestions! The food came out in good time, but appetizers & entrees were timed nicely, not right on top of each other. We had the crab cake & lobster bisque appetizers. Big thumbs up on both. I had the sword fish with chimichurri finish, AMAZING! Everyone else seemed to really enjoy their entrees as well; especially the brussels sprouts & chipotle corn. For dessert we ordered the peach cobbler cheesecake, it was good, but nothing to rave about. I really wish I had tried the signature dessert (angel food grilled cheese!), but there's always next time. Overall, it was a wonderful experience, and we will definitely be back!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent

Dined on June 1, 2016

Good service, i didnt like an item and didnt even say anything and the manager removed it. Excellent view and better food then the lemont

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Spectacular view with sweet friendly service.

Dined on June 1, 2016

Perhaps the most pleasing view I've ever had at a restaurant. The food was very good. The staff was a perfect mix of friendly and thoughtful. Two floors - each with it's own ambience.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5

Everything from food to service is impec ...

Dined on May 29, 2016

Everything from food to service is impeccable. I recommend the Halibut, crab soup, and brussel sprouts. Always a great dinner!

food5
ambience5
service5

We were visiting from Cleveland for Memo ...

Dined on May 29, 2016

We were visiting from Cleveland for Memorial Day weekend. We had reserved online and requested a table by the window . When we arrived all tables by the window were taken and I must say the lady at the entrance was not very welcoming which put me off at first . We were then shown to our table and were introduced to our server Andrew , who I must say by far is the best server I have ever had the unique experience of meeting. He rearranged our table so we face the windows and have a fabulous view of the city. He then helped us with our menu selections and made excellent suggestions and finally served us our dessert. The food was good very well prepared I had the honey lime salmon which might have been cooked a bit too rare for my taste but still was good. My fiancé had the paramesan halibut which was phenomenal. We had Creme brûlée for dessert which was delicious and came with a very moist buttery sugar cookie on top. Our experience overall was great and made superb by this very nice man Andrew. It is the little things he did and the little details he tailored do that made the night so enjoyable. We enjoyed chatting with him between courses and he genuinely turned the night around. Should we visit Pittsburgh again we would definitely come back and ask for Andrew. Everyone should ask for Andrew !!!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Exceeds Expectations

Dined on May 29, 2016

Very impressed. As a young diner, my boyfriend and I often find that the service at more upscale restaurants is lacking. Moslty because the staff thinks (I assume) we are too broke to tip well. Can be very frustrating as this isn't the case. I was impressed by the attitude of our server who was professional, but friendly. She spent extra time chatting with us at the end of our meal when she found out we were looking to relocate to PGH. The view was gorgeous, especially with the thunderstorm that was rolling in. The food was high quality and perfectly prepared. I would surely recommend this for a special occasion or date night.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Monterey Bay was a special treat for my family

Dined on May 29, 2016

The food was memorable with the view of the city of Pittsburgh makes it one place not to miss when visiting. The service was superb with minimal waiting time.

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

The food and atmosphere was wonderful, ...

Dined on May 27, 2016

The food and atmosphere was wonderful, it would be hard to pick one thing that was the very best. From the moment we stepped off the elevator we were treated as if we were family. The food and service was exemplary, Andrew was great! When they didn't have the vintage of wine we wanted the manager suggested a great alternative. He even gave my husband a tour of their extensive wine selection. It was awesome! One of our all time favorite eating experiences in Pittsburgh.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful food, ambiance, and servers were superb!

Dined on May 25, 2016

Of course everyone goes for the view. You cannot beat the beauty of Pittsburgh at night. However, the fish menu is varied and everything I and my guests ate was delicious. Especially like being able to have fish prepared in either of the suggested ways on the menu or picking another preparation from another entree. Servers did an excellent job without being intrusive. Great for special occasion or just taking friends from out of town.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The meal was excellent, service was impe ...

Dined on May 24, 2016

The meal was excellent, service was impeccable and the view is the best in the city !!!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5

Fantastic atmosphere, excellent service ...

Dined on May 23, 2016

Fantastic atmosphere, excellent service and great food.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great food & scenery!

Dined on May 22, 2016

Our waiter Chad was awesome. We were celebrating 2 birthdays and he made them memorable! Would recommend him to all who go there!

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.