About Monterey Bay Fish Grotto - Mt. Washington

1411 Grandview Avenue
Pittsburgh, PA 15211
View Larger Map

Thank you for considering Monterey Bay Fish Grotto. This award-winning restaurant has always taken pride in its level of standards and excellence. These exceptional standards are reflected in the mouth-watering fresh fish and impeccable service. Guests have come to expect this level of quality in every aspect of the main dining room as well as the private dining room.

Monterey Bay Fish Grotto's fish is fresh and flown in from a number of locations on the East Coast, West Coast and Hawaiian Islands. For this reason, we are the regions Premier Fresh Fish Restaurant offering 20 kinds of fresh fish in an array of original, delicious styles.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Seafood, Steak, Sushi

Hours of Operation:
Lounge: 4:30pm Daily
Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm
Friday & Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm
Sunday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
Sweetbriar Street

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(412) 481-4414

Website:
http://www.montereybayfishgrotto.com/

Parking Details:
Valet parking is $6.00 per car

Executive Chef:
Edwin Smith

Private Party Facilities:
Private party options are available

Private Party Contact:
Tiffany Sines: 4124814414x

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Personal wines welcome, Private Room, Takeout, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Monterey Bay Fish Grotto - Mt. Washington Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.7

ambience

4.8

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Pittsburgh
Best Service
Pittsburgh
Best Ambiance
Pittsburgh
8 More
Romantic
Pittsburgh
Most Booked
Pittsburgh
Best Overall
Pittsburgh
Best Service
Pittsburgh
Best Ambiance
Pittsburgh
Romantic
Pittsburgh
Special Occasion
Pittsburgh
Most Booked
Pittsburgh
Best Restaurants in Mt. Washington ›

scenic view (241)
special occasion (221)
romantic (195)
See All
fit for foodies (93)
notable wine list (78)
good for groups (62)
neighborhood gem (47)
hot spot (27)
late-night find (20)
vibrant bar scene (18)
great for lunch (7)
kid-friendly (5)
great for brunch (5)
 (2)
 (2)
 (2)
great for outdoor dining (1)
 (1)
 (1)
 (1)
Sort By:
Newest
3454 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5

Everything from food to service is impec ...

Dined a day ago

Everything from food to service is impeccable. I recommend the Halibut, crab soup, and brussel sprouts. Always a great dinner!

food5
ambience5
service5

The food and atmosphere was wonderful, ...

Dined 3 days ago

The food and atmosphere was wonderful, it would be hard to pick one thing that was the very best. From the moment we stepped off the elevator we were treated as if we were family. The food and service was exemplary, Andrew was great! When they didn't have the vintage of wine we wanted the manager suggested a great alternative. He even gave my husband a tour of their extensive wine selection. It was awesome! One of our all time favorite eating experiences in Pittsburgh.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful food, ambiance, and servers were superb!

Dined 5 days ago

Of course everyone goes for the view. You cannot beat the beauty of Pittsburgh at night. However, the fish menu is varied and everything I and my guests ate was delicious. Especially like being able to have fish prepared in either of the suggested ways on the menu or picking another preparation from another entree. Servers did an excellent job without being intrusive. Great for special occasion or just taking friends from out of town.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The meal was excellent, service was impe ...

Dined 6 days ago

The meal was excellent, service was impeccable and the view is the best in the city !!!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5

Fantastic atmosphere, excellent service ...

Dined on May 23, 2016

Fantastic atmosphere, excellent service and great food.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great food & scenery!

Dined on May 22, 2016

Our waiter Chad was awesome. We were celebrating 2 birthdays and he made them memorable! Would recommend him to all who go there!

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Excellent service and good food but pric ...

Dined on May 22, 2016

Excellent service and good food but pricey. View was fabulous.

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great food, great service.

Dined on May 21, 2016

Great food, great service. We went for our anniversary, and I wanted a special restaurant. This fit the bill perfectly.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Our only disappointment was that we did ...

Dined on May 21, 2016

Our only disappointment was that we did not get a window seat. We did not realize until after we ate that there was a bar area we could have even sat for a drink for view before meal. Our food was delicious and our waitress was very attentive. Expensive but worth it for a nice occasion! We walked to the Monaghela incline afterward, great view of city and took the incline to Station Square. Great night!!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great Night :)

Dined on May 21, 2016

My boyfriend and I went here for dinner to celebrate a new job! The first table they sat us at was rather small so we requested to be moved. They had no problem with that and set us up in a comfy booth. Our waitress was very sweet and prompt. The manager at the time stopped at our table to see how things were going. We told her that we were celebrating and a few minutes later she delivered complimentary champagne to us. It was very generous and made the evening even more special.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

The food was great and our server was fa ...

Dined on May 20, 2016

The food was great and our server was fantastic. We had 6:00 reservations and the policy for a window seat is to request one when you arrive. If there are empty seats at the window, you can have one. Well, there were empty window seats when we arrived and I requested one. They told me they didn't have any. So, they were lying or they do take reservations for window seats and lied about their process. It's infuriating, especially when you can see that there are seats at the window. I think for this reason - I won't go back. I don't like being lied to. Honestly, the reason for going here is the view - I can get food just as good at other places.

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

This was my first time in Pittsburgh. Be ...

Dined on May 19, 2016

This was my first time in Pittsburgh. Beautiful place views are amazing. Food and service was good.

food4
ambience5
service4
value4

The wait staff did an excellent job on a ...

Dined on May 17, 2016

The wait staff did an excellent job on a busy evening. Great suggestions for the entrée and for appetizers. Never had to ask for water or butter. Excellent service.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, scenic view
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Awesome service , very pricey, small po ...

Dined on May 17, 2016

Awesome service , very pricey, small portions. Cocktails are way over price $15 for a small gin martini! Meals are alacart, add on sides are small, side salads are pricey Great view of the Burg!

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A perfect 35th wedding anniversary

Dined on May 16, 2016

The Monterey Bay Fish Grotto was the perfect place to celebrate our 35th wedding anniversary. The food was delicious. The service was wonderful. And the setting beautiful. We'd highly recommend it to anyone.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Amazing food selection and friendly serv ...

Dined on May 16, 2016

Amazing food selection and friendly service. The food tasted excellent and was well cooked. We loved how the flavors paired together. The staff was knowledgeable about the menu items, helpful about food pairings, and was very friendly. We look forward to our next visit!

Tags: special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

We came here for a special occasion dinn ...

Dined on May 15, 2016

We came here for a special occasion dinner and was very pleased. We started in the bar with a spectacular view of the city, nice dinner music, and delicious drinks. (I recommend the berry bellini.) We were then seated in the dining room with another beautiful view of the city and started with the Ichiban appetizer. The fish was so fresh and tender it almost melted in your mouth. It was a bit on the small side for the price. My boyfriend ordered the andouille halibut and raved about it. I ordered the jumbo shrimp with crabcake and lobster sauce. It was good but not amazing. We ordered two shareable sides. The gratin potatoes were amazing and the chipotle creamed corn was as well. The sides are large and were plenty for the two if us to feel full. We ended the night with dessert. My boyfriend ordered the peach cobbler cheesecake which he loved. I stole a bite and it was rather delicious. I ordered the angel food grilled cheese sandwich. I have to say that it was honestly the best dessert I have ever had in my entire life!! I wish it was closer and I would probably return once a month to just order dessert. The atmosphere was great and romantic and our service was great. I think they are slightly overpriced for the amount of food you receive but I think the atmosphere, view, and service make it worth it.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great Server

Dined on May 14, 2016

Our server, Miss Jane, was absolutely fantastic. She was very nice, very knowledgable, had great timing with asking us how our meals were, drink refills, and boxes. She was probably the best waitress we have ever had at a restaurant. She was checking in with us to make sure we were doing okay. My boyfriend had the crab cakes and I had the salmon. Absolutely outstanding. We got the Itchiban for a starter and it was prepared perfectly. Delicious sauces and combinations. Also, with how busy she was, she agreed to take a couple pictures for us. We will definitely be attending this restaurant again. Delicious food and excellent service. Only good things about this restaurant!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent

Dined on May 14, 2016

Celebrating graduation with a group of 8. View was amazing, service terrific, and food was delicious.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Wonderful!!

Dined on May 14, 2016

Monterey Bay Fish Grotto continues to be my favorite restaurant when traveling to Pittsburgh. The view, the renovations, the food, the service are all impeccable. two of us had Bronzino, delicious. My wife said she wished she could prepare trout as good as what she had (and her trout is excellent). The specialty drinks and appetizer board were very good. I cannot wait to travel to Pittsburgh again to visit Monterey!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent!

Dined on May 14, 2016

I took my wife to Monterey Bay Fish Grotto for our 10th wedding anniversary. I am from NW Florida and eat seafood regularly. The seafood is fresh and the menu covers a wide variety. The dessert was delicious and the nighttime view of the city was amazing. We loved this place and definitely plan to return.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food4
ambience5
service4

Wonderful city view!

Dined on May 14, 2016

Wonderful city view!

food5
ambience4
service5
value4

the service was excellent especially our ...

Dined on May 14, 2016

the service was excellent especially our waitress. the food selection was great. the view was tremendous.

Tags: special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

Wonderful as usual but rushed service.

Dined on May 13, 2016

We were so excited when we were shown to an a deaux right on the window. We bought a $115 bottle of wine and would have enjoyed lingering over it but our waitress was not going to rest until we ordered. She was like a jack in the box, always there. It seemed like we barely got ten minutes to ourselves, she was always popping up trying to move us along. Our bill of $263 (before tip) for two, half of which was high markup wine, is not the most we have spent for dinner for the two of us, but our reservation was for 7 so I'm not sure if she wanted to turn over our table again that night or she just wanted to go home. Also I would have thought that staff that served over looking the city in such a spectacular view may have educated themselves about the features of the city. She and another server did not know the identity of a large building my husband asked about. She said, "We just work here." We were reminded of the Pittsburgh paradox we noted when we lived there: wonderful food but not terribly sensitive/personable/engaged/curious/charming servers.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, hot spot, notable wine list
food2
ambience4
service4

The views are of course wonderful, but t ...

vip
Dined on May 12, 2016

The views are of course wonderful, but the food is not what it once was. The fish we had was overwhelmed by sauces and most definitely overcooked.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a table near the window... awesome view.

Dined on May 9, 2016

Our waiter was attentive and helpful. The English Cod and Crab Bisque was perfect.

Tags: special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

Mother's Day Dinner

Dined on May 9, 2016

Beautiful views and unbelievable food. Unfortunately they don't hire people that seem like they like their job starting with the person who answers the phone (had a question regarding parking & the women who answered was rude and annoyed to have to answer my question. Next was one of the guys working in the lounge while we waited for our dining table to be ready. We asked home for water while we looked at the bar menu and he too was annoyed and rude. Finally our waiter was pleasant, but definitely not on top of our table in terms of service for this kind if restaurant. It took forever to get him to refill our water and when we asked for anything else it was ridiculously long. My son asked for soy sauce and received it when he was almost done with his dinner & my husband ordered cappuccino and he delivers it with no sugar. Before the waiter came back he had finished the cappuccino because it was already getting cold.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5

Great service especially considering we ...

Dined on May 8, 2016

Great service especially considering we came on a busy Mother's Day. Our waiter Mike was extremely helpful and gracious. Helped explain the menu, took our pictures and recommended entrees. Food was fantastic. Not too miss are the bisque and crabcakes. Seafood was all cooked perfectly.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Excellent for Mothers Day!!

Dined on May 8, 2016

Food was tasty and nicely presented! Service was excellent! Manager checked several times to make sure we were satisfied. View/table orientation was wonderful! My wife felt very special!

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

25th Anniversary at Monterey Bay - Pittsburgh

Dined on May 7, 2016

The food was great, the portion just right, and the selection of in house desserts highly appealing. The window view of downtown Pittsburgh was exceptional.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food3
ambience5
service4
value2

10 Years Later...

Dined on May 7, 2016

We celebrated our anniversary at Monterey Bay on May 6th. Ten years earlier we had our wedding reception at Monterey Bay (we have been back several times since then). The restaurant recently underwent a massive remodel. The space has been opened and seems more inviting. The views of the city were spectacular as always. I will say, the food was OK, but not nearly as good as we have had in the past. The appetizers and desserts were the best part of the meal. Lobster Mac and Cheese was bland, scallops were a little tough, my wife's swordfish was a dry. All in all, a decent meal at a spectacular location.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5

Awesome meal. Everything was great!

Dined on May 6, 2016

Awesome meal. Everything was great!

food2
ambience4
service3
value2

Disappointed

Dined on May 6, 2016

The meal was not prepared well - the lobster tail was over cooked and the stuff shrimp was unremarkable. One should go there expecting a disappointing meal but a great view. Not a good value.

Tags: scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best in the City

Dined on May 5, 2016

What a night! Thank you for the excellent food and service. I can always count on you to impress my guests.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

Pricey, but good

vip
Dined on May 4, 2016

Went with friends. Beef carpaccio appetizer excellent; as was tuna ceviche, sushi rolls very good. Lobster tail main course was overcooked, and accompaniments were uninspired. Fish offerings appeared to be prepared better. Desserts typical. For this price point, lobster should be done right! Otherwise OK. Wine overpriced as in most PGH restaurants. Spectacular view, of course, and our waiter was excellent.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service5

We were seated promptly by a courteous h ...

vip
Dined on May 4, 2016

We were seated promptly by a courteous hostess. Our table was exceptional and gave us direct views of the city that are unmatched. Our waitress was also attentive, caring and informed. Most of the food was exceptional. We had the appetizer combo, including their famous crab cakes. My daughter had two sushi rolls, which were unique and delicious. My wife had the Chilean sea bass, which was also exceptional. Unfortunately I chose the lobster with crab stuffing. It was dry, lacked flavor and the crab stuffing was overpowered with the taste of peppers. In over 15 years, it was the one dish I have ever been disappointed with at this place. I would definitely avoid the lobster tail with crab stuffing. The ambiance, attention to detail, service manager and staff were all exceptional.

food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Would Definitely Go Back

Dined on May 4, 2016

Great view from every angle paired with great food and excellent service. This restaurant is also more reasonably priced than some of the other adjoining restaurants.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5

Perfect Birthday celebration for my moth ...

Dined on May 2, 2016

Perfect Birthday celebration for my mother. Everything was fantastic. Our server Ed made mom feel like a VIP.

food5
ambience5
service5

As always, the food was beyond great. T ...

Dined on May 1, 2016

As always, the food was beyond great. The special stuffed sirloin with scallops, garlic potatoes, cauliflower were really wonderful. Jane was attentive, friendly and very good.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

2016 Graduation from Pitt

Dined on April 30, 2016

Great view of the three rivers and City of Pittsburgh

Tags: special occasion, scenic view

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.