About Monterey Bay Fish Grotto - Mt. Washington

1411 Grandview Avenue
Pittsburgh, PA 15211
View Larger Map

Thank you for considering Monterey Bay Fish Grotto. This award-winning restaurant has always taken pride in its level of standards and excellence. These exceptional standards are reflected in the mouth-watering fresh fish and impeccable service. Guests have come to expect this level of quality in every aspect of the main dining room as well as the private dining room.

Monterey Bay Fish Grotto's fish is fresh and flown in from a number of locations on the East Coast, West Coast and Hawaiian Islands. For this reason, we are the regions Premier Fresh Fish Restaurant offering 20 kinds of fresh fish in an array of original, delicious styles.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Seafood, Steak, Sushi

Hours of Operation:
Lounge: 4:30pm Daily
Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm
Friday & Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm
Sunday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
Sweetbriar Street

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(412) 481-4414

Website:
http://www.montereybayfishgrotto.com/

Parking Details:
Valet parking is $6.00 per car

Executive Chef:
Edwin Smith

Private Party Facilities:
Private party options are available

Private Party Contact:
Tiffany Sines: 4124814414x

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Personal wines welcome, Private Room, Takeout, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Tuna Ceviche
Grandview Roll
Tuna And Peaches
Smoked Scottish Salmon
Chocolate Truffle Cake
White Chocolate Macadamia Mousse
Yummiest Cocktail Ever
Yellowfin Tuna
Mahi Mahi
Chimichurri Crusted Paiche With Watermelon Jalapeno Salsa And Havarti Onion Potato Croquette

Monterey Bay Fish Grotto - Mt. Washington Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.7

ambience

4.7

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Pittsburgh
Best Service
Pittsburgh
Best Ambiance
Pittsburgh
10 More
Romantic
Pittsburgh
Scenic View
Pittsburgh
Most Booked
Pittsburgh
Best Overall
Pittsburgh
Best Service
Pittsburgh
Best Ambiance
Pittsburgh
Romantic
Pittsburgh
Scenic View
Pittsburgh
Special Occasion
Pittsburgh
Most Booked
Pittsburgh
Best Restaurants in Mt. Washington ›

scenic view (289)
special occasion (270)
romantic (225)
See All
fit for foodies (112)
notable wine list (92)
good for groups (82)
neighborhood gem (55)
hot spot (38)
late-night find (21)
vibrant bar scene (15)
great for lunch (9)
great for brunch (7)
kid-friendly (4)
Sort By:
Newest
3549 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Overall, the experience was good. Serv ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined 3 days ago

Overall, the experience was good. Server was a bit grumpy until it came time for the bill. Then she became somewhat more friendly.

Tags: scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

Was over all great we went for a birthda ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined 4 days ago

Was over all great we went for a birthday dinner and scallops. Scallops were excellent and my tuna was perfect

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

The entire experience was outstanding. T ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined 5 days ago

The entire experience was outstanding. The staff was friendly and accommodating and the meal was above expectations. Add to that the view overlooking the city, and the elements are all there for a memorable night. For a special occasion or just a nice dining experience, it is worth your effort. Enjoy!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We were 6 in our party, we had a great ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined 5 days ago

We were 6 in our party, we had a great table close to the window, where you can see the sky line and bridges of the city! the food was great and the service was better.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Still craving those crab cakes! Deliciou ...

vip
 (Oklahoma City)
·Dined 5 days ago

Still craving those crab cakes! Delicious seafood offerings with innovative preparations.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

We've been here a number of times, and i ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined 5 days ago

We've been here a number of times, and it's still a favorite. By far the best fish I've had in the area, not always what I expect, but always delicious. Always leave full and satisfied, often having tried something unique.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

Very good food and service. Nice view of ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined 5 days ago

Very good food and service.

Nice view of the city. A nice place for a special event or a dinner date. We had a very enjoyable dinner before our show later that evening.

Tags: special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

This was a fantastic location. The view ...

 
 (Orlando)
·Dined 5 days ago

This was a fantastic location. The view was incredible! However, the food stole the show. Truly a top-notch experience. The crabcakes were amazing. My husband loved the scallops and my son had a wonderful fresh Red snapper fillet with lemon and browned butter preparation. Overall, this was a fantastic evening and was the best place to go for an overall experience. For the first time in Pittsburgh, we certainly got the culinary experience correct!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

This was a very special occasion. One t ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined 5 days ago

This was a very special occasion. One that both myself and my daughter will remember for a lifetime. I have not seen my daughter for over 33 years. She was 2years old when I last saw her. She is 34 now. This was our second dinning out experience together. Thank you for making this memorable. Hats off to all of you. From Dennis and Crystal Mason.

Tags: great for brunch, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The restaurant had a great atmosphere. T ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

The restaurant had a great atmosphere. The staff was very attentive. The manager came over twice to check on us to see if we needed anything at all. The fish was outstanding.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We celebrated my father's birthday and o ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on July 21, 2016

We celebrated my father's birthday and our experience was perfect. The service is top notch and we felt like celebrities. The panamoramic views of Pittsburgh are stunning. The food was delicious. Highly recommend.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

This place is magnificent. Not only is t ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on July 20, 2016

This place is magnificent. Not only is the view impeccable but the food is also. I felt like royalty. The food was top notch with a good variety to the menu and the sides to share a nice touch. I also felt it affordable for a high quality restaurant. Not cheap but not breaking the bank. I will definitely return to this place.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

No view is worth getting sick. My family ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on July 19, 2016

No view is worth getting sick. My family selected this restaurant to celebrate a special event. We have been there before and have taken out-of-town visitors there as a special treat. In the past the food has been good, never excellent, and I've always felt it was extremely overpriced for what you get, but that view is really something. On this visit, we all shared some dishes and by the end of the evening we were all not feeling well. The lobster at the bottom of the underwhelming lobster (strange tasting) bisque, did not taste like lobster. We also shared the crab cakes that was quite heavy on mustard which made me wonder if it was masking something like old seafood. We got home at 7:30 and each one of us went straight to bed - this includes a 28-year-old who is not given to early bedtimes. We were sick through the night and into the next day. We called the restaurant, but no one seemed concerned. "You're the first one to call about this, I'll speak to the chef" is what the person who answered the telephone said. That was it. We've been there many times, but we won't be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service5
value1

We moved to Pittsburgh about a year ago ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

We moved to Pittsburgh about a year ago and had a very close friend visit this past weekend. Had been here for business dinners, but this was first time for personal dining. The staff was attentive and responsive but not overbearing. The food was fantastic, well prepared and attractive in presentation. The view is fantastic and probably the best of Pittsburgh both during the day and at night. Highly recommend the Angel Food Grilled Cheese dessert. We split it 3 ways. My wife tried the Sgt. Pepper cocktail. It was very spicy and not for the faint of heart, but very tasty. Highly recommended for that special night out where you don't mind spending some dollars. It's worth it.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Excellent dining experience! I had the ...

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Excellent dining experience! I had the jumbo sea scallops and my husband had the yellow fin tuna. My meal was excellent and my husbands was spicy, but good if you like tuna steak. We shared a dessert that was out of this world.. "Cheese sandwich". Wow. The view was something that made the experience so serene and upscale. I felt that the prices were on par with a high end restaurant. I didn't have any wine (pregnant), but the list was extensive. Can't wait to return!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The service was good. The atmosphere was ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

The service was good. The atmosphere was great. The food is way over priced for what you get. There are plenty of great restaurants in Pittsburgh with food just as good and at a better value

Tags: scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service4
value1

This one of our favorite restaurants for ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

This one of our favorite restaurants for special occasions and when family & friends visit.

They go out of their was to accommodate special requests and special occasions. We celebrated

our 44th wedding anniversary and the management was very attentive to make sure we were completely satisfied. Highly recommend the Monterey Fish Grotto !!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Dinner and service were first class Pre ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Dinner and service were first class

Pre dinner drink at bar was great to and all were friendly and very professional

My wife and enjoyed the experience

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The Views are spectacular and are really ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

The Views are spectacular and are really the only reason one should dine here.

Food was a mixed bag . Crab cakes were terrific. Everything else less so.

We ordered lemon sole meunière shortly after we sat down. Had cocktails, appetizers, salads, and ONLY when it was "time" for entrees to be served , we were bizarrely told that the "kitchen doesn't make sole after a certain hour"???? This news came a good 45 minutes after we had ordered it... A second employee told us that they had run out of sole about 630pm. As we had ordered at around 840, it would appear that we had been lied to as our server didn't want the real story known.

MOST ANNOYING THING ABOUT THE PLACE was that immediately after we ordered our entrees, our server said "you have a choice of soup or salad WITH YOUR MEAL? To us & any other person, this strongly implied that soup/salad WAS INCLUDED with the meal.....sadly not true. Turned out the soup cost $15 and a very meager salad coat $11.

SHOULD YOU DINE HERE BEWARE BEWARE BEWARE OF THE OLD SOUP/salad PLOY!!!!!!

Overall, our impression was that this is a tourist trap getting by largely because of its views.

In keeping with the general theme of the evening, no one said thank you or in any way acknowledged our patronage. 3 employees talking amongst themselves and/or texting were too busy to even look up....

Will NOT be going back

Tags: scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value2

Views are really amazing !! Good food to ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

Views are really amazing !! Good food too ESP seafood

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great location. Service was very good. B ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

Great location. Service was very good. Brought an out of town guest and she was impressed!!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

slightly stiff, and the hostess desk doe ...

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on July 13, 2016

slightly stiff, and the hostess desk does not help the atmosphere.

BIGGEST PROBLEM:

THE BAR IS NOT ASSOCIATED WITH THE RESTAURANT, SO YOUR OBNOXIOUS LOUD BEEPER IS GOING OFF AND YOU HAVE TO WAIT TO SETTLE YOUR BAR BILL AND CARRY YOUR OWN DRINKS TO YOUR TABLE, THIS IS A BIG NO-NO

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Great combination of food and view. Ser ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on July 12, 2016

Great combination of food and view. Service was outstanding. Mixed feelings on going to lower level bar area. Great view but some of the worst service I have experienced. Typically 15-20 min to get drink served and there was one waitress for 2 tables.

Tags: fit for foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

The Crab macaroni and cheese was dry, bu ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on July 12, 2016

The Crab macaroni and cheese was dry, but the vegetable ravioli was excellent.

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Fabulous! One of the best meals I've ev ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on July 11, 2016

Fabulous! One of the best meals I've ever had in a fabulous setting overlooking the beautiful city of Pittsburgh. Loved it!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Views of the 3 rivers were beautiful!! O ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 11, 2016

Views of the 3 rivers were beautiful!! Our waiter Chad was exceptional. Everything he recommended was delicious...especially the peach cheesecake-AMAZING

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Beautiful view and wonderful fish. Appet ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Beautiful view and wonderful fish. Appetizers were terrific as well. Very comfortable and elegant setting. Only reason I didn't give it 5 stars were 1.) Service was just good, not excellent. We always seemed to be waiting for our wine glasses to be refreshed. 2.) Preparation details were not quite as promoted in the menus. Some of the ingredients were missing. And lastly, 3.) dessert was disappointing. It was promoted as a key lime tart, but it was more meringue and a sweet graham cracker crust all around than key lime.

Still a lovely experience....albeit a bit pricey.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value4

The service and food here is always very ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

The service and food here is always very good. Each person at our table ordered different entrees and said they were delicious. My salmon was fantastic as well as the braised cabbage.

My spouse loves the crab cakes and is never disappointed. .. A few different sweets were on the menu this time. A cherry-topped concoction that reminded me of a snowball was enjoyed by two. I stick to the chocolate! My only negative comment is the price of the "sides". $12 for braised cabbage??????

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

Service was phenomenal!! Beautiful views ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

Service was phenomenal!! Beautiful views and delicious food. We had friends visiting from out of town and Monterey Bay was the perfect place to take them for views of the city, the rivers and the stadiums before the Pirates-Cubs game. The staff was very attentive and so nice.. despite the fact that our friends were in from Chicago for the game and were in full Cubs gear ;-) Thank you for a fun and delicious dinner!!

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Best service!!!

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

Best service!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Service was excellent. Server was very p ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on July 7, 2016

Service was excellent. Server was very polite and knowledgeable.

Tags: scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

We recently celebrated an anniversary at ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on July 6, 2016

We recently celebrated an anniversary at Monterey Bay and had a great dinner. I was especially pleased with the great value represented by the wine list. Some excellent bottles and very fairly priced.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Enjoyed a birthday celebration for my da ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on July 6, 2016

Enjoyed a birthday celebration for my daughter. Everything was fabulous- ----food, table, service. Terrific evening! My daughter's favorite birthday to date!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, scenic view, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

I was extremely underwhelmed by 90% of t ...

 
·Dined on July 6, 2016

I was extremely underwhelmed by 90% of the meal. We ordered the 'Pittsburgh Smash' cocktail which was excellent. The crab cake app was very well done as well. Unfortunately, the rest of the meal fell flat. We ordered:

Lobster bisque - definitely have had better.

Watermelon gazpacho - I am fairly certain that the jalapeno that was supposed to exist may have been a hot sauce added in as opposed to a puree or even fresh chunks. Also lacked actual watermelon flavor.

Asparagus - easy side that was cooked properly.

Lobster and crab mac and cheese - probably the worst rendition of this dish I've ever experienced.

8oz. Lobster Tail - definitely have had better. I believe it was overcooked. Did not finish this dish.

Ora King Salmon - Slightly crisp on the outside and on the rare side in the middle. Not horribly cooked by the taste left me wanting. Definitely not worth the value.

The service itself was fair. We sat in a booth that was set for four. There were two of us. Extra utensils and settings were not removed. Post dinner clean up of the table left a piece of lobster and crab mac-n-cheese in the middle of the table.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service2
value1

Excellent. Having such a great view of a ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on July 5, 2016

Excellent. Having such a great view of a great city with great food makes Monterey Bay an easy choice for dinner.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

We have been going to Monterey Bay for s ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on July 5, 2016

We have been going to Monterey Bay for several years and actually preferred the Monroeville location (now closed) for the atmosphere as that was always quiet even when full.

Since the remodel, we have come to enjoy the Mt. Washington more. We went for an eary meal, so we were the only patrons at the start. My back was to the restaurant and facing the spectacular view, so I was surprised to see how crowded it had gotten with as quiet as it was when we were through.

The staff has never let us down--whether there were just 2 or 16. Very attentive and working to please the customer.

Our favorite wait staff is Chad, but we have to add Cindy to that list now. Works well since there will be a good chance that one will be working whenever we return.

Food is delicious and the portions more than enough. Combined with the bread and chive butter--you should never go away hungry. We orderd two of the sides, so we ended up with dinner the following night with the take home.

Only sub-fantastic comment--the brussel sprouts have a great flavor with the sauce, but they were still quite hard with the flash cooking they are doing.

One thing that was really tasty was the champagne cabbage with the brussel sprout sauce.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The $27.00 appetizer was very tiny, My C ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

The $27.00 appetizer was very tiny, My Caribbean jerk fish had no jerk seasoning on it, only pineapple, no spice. They took it back and only added hot pepper flakes.

The waiter did go out of his way to make me a special martini with jalapeno, cilantro & cucumber which was delicious!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

This restaurant is lively and fun with t ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

This restaurant is lively and fun with truly amazing views over the city best with a sunset timed table. Staff are attentive and helpful. The manager was very prominent and chatty. Food is great. Amazing range of fish dishes. And their filet is excellent too. A special experience.

Tags: fit for foodies, group bookings, romance, special occasions, scenic view, neighbourhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Dont get the tuna, very small piece of f ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

Dont get the tuna, very small piece of fish for the price. My halibutwas amazing!! Asked through open table for a window seat but didnt get one, wasnt a huge deal because you can see the city from almost any seat!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The view from this restaurant is amazing ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

The view from this restaurant is amazing! The service was excellent and the food was a little over priced, felt like my fish could have been cooked a little more and then I go on to say we did have sushi that was excellent- it was the sea bass that needed to be more done.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.