Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.24mi
  2. Distance: 0.29mi
  3. Distance: 0.79mi
  4. Distance: 0.87mi
  1. Distance: 0.24mi
  2. Distance: 0.29mi
  3. Distance: 0.79mi
  4. Distance: 0.87mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.24mi
  2. Distance: 0.29mi
  3. Distance: 0.79mi
  4. Distance: 0.87mi
  1. Distance: 0.24mi
  2. Distance: 0.29mi
  3. Distance: 0.79mi
  4. Distance: 0.87mi

About Monterey Bay Fish Grotto - Mt. Washington

Thank you for considering Monterey Bay Fish Grotto. This award-winning restaurant has always taken pride in its level of standards and excellence. These exceptional standards are reflected in the mouth-watering fresh fish and impeccable service. Guests have come to expect this level of quality in every aspect of the main dining room as well as the private dining room.

Monterey Bay Fish Grotto's fish is fresh and flown in from a number of locations on the East Coast, West Coast and Hawaiian Islands. For this reason, we are the regions Premier Fresh Fish Restaurant offering 20 kinds of fresh fish in an array of original, delicious styles.

1411 Grandview Avenue
Pittsburgh, PA 15211
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Seafood, Steak

Hours of Operation:
Lounge: 4:30pm Daily
Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm
Friday & Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm
Sunday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
Sweetbriar Street

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(412) 481-4414

Website:
http://www.montereybayfishgrotto.com/

Parking Details:
Valet parking is $7.00 per car

Executive Chef:
Heather Deraway

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, BYO Wine, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Private Room, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Private Dining

Monterey Bay Fish Grotto offers private dining for a wide range of events, including but not limited to, birthdays, rehearsal dinners or corporate events. We work to ensure that your event is one to remember.

Monterey Bay Fish Grotto - Mt. Washington Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.7

ambience

4.8

value

4.2

noise

Quiet

95% would recommend it to a friend

Scenic View (174)
Special Occasion (148)
Good for a Date (144)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (130)
Romantic (115)
Good for Birthdays (86)
Worth the Drive (82)
Business Meals (70)
Creative Cuisine (53)
Notable Wine List (52)
Fit for Foodies (47)
Quiet Conversation (42)
Waterfront (29)
Good for Groups (28)
Handcrafted Cocktails (24)
Pre/post Theatre (24)
Neighborhood Gem (19)
Authentic (18)
Bar Seating (17)
Cozy (17)
Hot Spot (16)
Fun (15)
Gluten Free Options (14)
Tasting Menu (11)
Casual (8)
Happy Hour (8)
Seasonal (8)
Late-night Find (7)
Sunday Lunch (7)
Great for Lunch (6)
People Watching (6)
Comfort Food (5)
Disabled Access (4)
Local Ingredients (4)
Good Vegetarian Options (4)
Great for Brunch (3)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Organic (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Vegan (1)
Sort By:
S
4438 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined 6 days ago

The food was very good (but not quite as good as I would expect for the price, which was pretty high). The only exception was the lobster risotto, which was delicious but overcooked to the point that the lobster chunks were like rubber balls. By the time we told the waiter about this it was too late to replace it, but they were apologetic and very gracious about offering a free dessert. You really go for (and pay for) the view, which is truly fantastic. I ate a few months ago at 71 Above in Los Angeles, which is touted as the highest restaurant west of the Mississippi, and the view from the Monterey Bay Fish Grotto blows that one away.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value2

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined 6 days ago

I always hesitate when my favorite restaurants change their menus. The new menu at Monterey Bay Fish Grotto is outstanding. It doesn't try to be pretentious like so many new, trendy places. It offers fresh, delicious food at a good value. I started with the artisan salad that has fresh berries, goat cheese, candied walnuts and greens. It was delicious. I then had the house smoked salmon and loved it. It was salty and savory but had a sweetness that made it unique. My favorite dish of the night, though, was the bouillabaisse, hands down. It had fish, clams, mussels and huge shrimp. The broth had herbs, fennel, garlic, onions and tomatoes and had a depth of flavor that was amazing. I sopped it up with the fresh, crusty bread until my bowl was dry! I am going back the first chance I get to have it again. I want it now. My husband is not much of a seafood eater, but there is something on the menu for everyone. He had the chicken and gnocchi dish and loved it.

Tags: Good for Groups, Romantic, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 17, 2017

Awesome choice if you're visiting Pittsburgh and you want a romantic dinner.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Cozy, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
·Dined on September 17, 2017

It was an excellent experience! Our server was Tracy and she was amazing. Very friendly and loves what she does.
Also had the pleasure of meeting Jennifer, she's the GM and she was fun and made our experience one to remember.

Definitely recommend this place for any occasion. The views of the city are amazing and the atmosphere is truly exceptional!

The food was fantastic and the martinis are perfect. They actually compete to see who makes the best martinis.

Tags: Bar Seating, Good for Anniversaries, Tasting Menu, Handcrafted Cocktails, Business Meals, Fun, Healthy, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Scenic View, Good for a Date, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 16, 2017

I find this place outstanding. Great view of the city coupled with great food and good ambiance. They do have valet parking ($7). If it's your first visit to Pittsburgh, get away from the touristy restaurants and treat yourself to something a little more sophisticated. You won't regret it.

Tags: Gluten Free Options, Good for a Date, Authentic, Sunday Lunch, Scenic View, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Comfort Food, Good for Birthdays, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 16, 2017

A Saturday night get-together with friends. The table view was wonderful; we could see the stadium lit up and boats on the river. The server, Juana , was very cordial, knowledgeable of the menu and specials and quick to refill beverages. The grouper with pineapple and macadamia nut sauce was delicious, along with roasted brussel sprouts. Others enjoyed crab cakes, scallops and cheesey grits. We each had a different dessert and finished them all! We have dined here many times but will say this time the food was exceptional.
We'll return again.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Good for Birthdays, Waterfront, Scenic View, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on September 16, 2017

The staff was so friendly and made every effort to go the extra mile for our special occasion. The views are beautiful. The food was amazing!

Tags: Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on September 16, 2017

We dine out often in Pittsburgh, and went to the iconic Monterey Bay with high expectations.
We were seated promptly on a Saturday evening, the service was excellent and thank goodness for the valet parking. The food was very good and the view legendary, however, neither justifies the cost of dining here.
Pittsburgh has many creative and interesting restaurants, where preparations are across the board creative and contemporary. Regrettably, Monterey Bay was memorable for the unusually high cost of dining with little creativity.
For perspective, I am in my mid 60's and have been prevlidged to enjoy may fine restaurants here and across the country. High restaurant tabs are not uncommon and I have never based a negative review on cost, until now.
The seafood was fresh and well cooked, but preparations were simple and predictable. With so many rewarding fine dining options in this town, it felt like MB is not keeping up.
If heading out for a occasion where pallets are tame and views exciting, this may be your spot. This restaurant patron's dollars will be going to those chefs who'se creations would be impossible in my kitchen.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value2

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on September 15, 2017

We were in town for a football game and we're looking for somewhere special to spend time with friends. After reading reviews we selected Monterey and we were not disappointed. The view is unbelievable, the food was exceptional and our waiter Alec was there best. It was a very enjoyable evening.

Tags: Waterfront, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on September 14, 2017

We went for my mom's birthday celebration. The food was as exquisite as the view. We're planning to make this a tradition!

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on September 13, 2017

Spectacular view, of course. Very nice presentation and excellent food/menu. Service is very nice, with excellent recommendations for wine selections; the wine list is also very good. This is a great place for that special occasion or to entertain your out-of-town guests and give them a really fine memory of Pittsburgh. The music selection was excellent, with tones of classic Blue Eyes and classic musical tastes from a bygone, yet, cherished era. An ambiance of relaxation, and yet, a happening aura that lends itself to reflection and a sense of calm power and satisfaction. I loved it.

Tags: Good for Groups, Gluten Free Options, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Worth the Drive, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on September 11, 2017

My parents celebrated their anniversary here and had the best time! They enjoyed the amazing view, the wonderful service and the delicious food. They had zero complaints and said it was one of their more memorable meals!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Waterfront, Romantic, Scenic View, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on September 10, 2017

Great experience. I wish there was more non-fish/seafood menu items.

Tags: Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on September 10, 2017

MY WIFE AND I WENT FOR OUR WEDDING ANNIVERSARY. BOTH OF US ENJOYED THE EXPERIENCE. EASY TO GET TO, INEXPENSIVE VALET PARKING, FANTASTIC VIEW: A VERY NICE PLACE. STAFF WAS FRIENDLY; OUR WAITER ATTENTIVE, BUT NOT OBTRUSIVE. THE FOOD WAS GREAT! NOTHING AT ALL TO COMPLAIN ABOUT. MY WIFE WAS THERE BEFORE FOR BUSINESS LUNCHES, BUT IT WAS MY FIRST TIME, AND I'D GO BACK AGAIN. THANKS FOR A GREAT EXPERIENCE!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Romantic, Scenic View, Sunday Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Hot Spot, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Fun, Great for Brunch, People Watching, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 10, 2017

Fantastic place in Pittsburgh. Excellent fresh fish. Just 5 start all around.

Tags: Waterfront, Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Organic, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on September 10, 2017

A wonderful place to bring out of town friends to dinner. Mt. Washington provides a breathing taking view of the city. The staff went above and beyond. Food was excellent. We travel to the Pittsburgh area often and we will definetly be having dinner here again.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on September 10, 2017

Celebrated my wife's birthday. Overall a great evening. The only issue was that the staff,especially the bartender was in a big hurry to get out. It was only 10:25 pm and the lounge closes at 11 pm; he insisted on closing out the after dinner drink tab. After spending $400 for just 3 people you wouldn't expect to be "kicked to the curb" as the saying goes. I'll give bartender the benefit of the doubt; perhaps he had a hot date. The server Anita was very nice and capable.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Scenic View, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on September 9, 2017

We made a reservation for 6 of us for a special celebration and would have preferred a window seat. When we arrived, the hostess said there were no window seats available for another hour and a half or so. We were then seated in a second row, next to the entry to the kitchen, which was very noisy for the 2 of us who, unfortunately, were seated next to that entry. Midway through our meal, the manager overheard one of us say that we noticed the room downstairs, with plenty of window seating available, and that this would have been a fantastic option for us, had it we been offered to us! The manager then gladly offered it, but we declined. We wished we hadn't, though. When we went downstairs later for dessert, it was absolutely beautiful. We did enjoy our food and evening at Monterey Bay Fish Grotto on Mount Washington.

Tags: Good for a Date, Healthy, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Waterfront, Bar Seating, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value3

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on September 8, 2017

We brought my step-daughter and son-in- law for their 25th Anniversary. Although the service was excellent (thank you Holly) I didn't feel the food was up to standard. We sent a steak back. It smelled and tasted like it was cooked with the fish. Overall, it was good. Pricey for sure but then you pay for that view!

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service5
value2

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on September 8, 2017

Excellent service and food. Gorgeous views. Somewhat too chilly as we arrived, but AC adjusted at our request. A Pittsburgh must and long-standing reliable for out-of-town guests.

Tags: Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Central Coast)·Dined on September 8, 2017

The food was delicious and expertly prepared, especially the angel food grilled cheese sandwich! Anita, our server, was very friendly, courteous, and attentive. And the view was fantastic!

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Montana)·Dined on September 6, 2017

Best lobster bisque we've had outside on Maine. Excellent service.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Scenic View, Good for a Date, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 4, 2017

Amazing food! Best dinner by far in Pittsburgh if you want to overlook the city. The menu has a great range and the food thats served is delicious. Our waiter was so kind and new the menu backward and forward. He even was able to tell us about some off the menu specials. If you have a chance to be seated at Ziad's table you are very lucky. Best waiter ever!

Tags: Business Meals, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Disabled Access, Good for Birthdays, Scenic View, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on September 3, 2017

The service was above and beyond. The server was friendly and when she found out it was our anniversary, she brought out dessert, on the house.

The food was excellent - some of the best calamari I've had - and the cocktails were well made.

Tags: Scenic View, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on September 3, 2017

My husband and I celebrated our wedding anniversary, and everything was perfect from start to finish! Our waiter, Tommy, was excellent and had a warm personality! The manager was very accommodating when a part of my meal was late, and we received complimentary desserts. The customer service was exceptional! Lastly, the ambience was perfect for our special occasion. You can't beat that beautiful view!! I can't wait to return!

Tags: Good for a Date, Romantic, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 3, 2017

Great food, definitely recommend. High end and had a quality time.

Tags: Business Meals, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 3, 2017

My wife and I enjoyed an excellent dinner here with two of our oldest and dearest friends. A wonderful evening with a variety of great seafood and terrific service from our waiter, Ziad. We also enjoyed the spectacular view of Pittsburgh that this restaurant's layout affords diners throughout the room.

Tags: Authentic, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on September 2, 2017

Great food, great service and an amazing view. Couldn't have been better!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on September 2, 2017

It was an amazing experience with great service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on September 1, 2017

Fantastic view - great food - great service. Was so good, we would have gone back there the next two nights of our stay in Pittsburgh!

Tags: Scenic View, Quiet Conversation, Healthy, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on September 1, 2017

Great food and view. While the food was excellent, it feels like 20% of the cost is the view of downtown from across the river. Worth it for the right occasion.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
·Dined on September 1, 2017

Was here for a birthday...you can't get any better than this place!! Was a total hit!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on September 1, 2017

Monterey Bay is our favorite restaurant. I take my 8 year old granddaughter there for date nights and Jennifer, the Manager, always makes sure that the night is fun. Last week we took the whole family for a special night out. Great view, great food, great service. Monterey Bay is a very special place 😊💥

Tags: Authentic, Good for Birthdays, Happy Hour, Bar Seating, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Lunch, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on September 1, 2017

We've been coming to the Monterey fish grotto for several years. We love the view, the food & the wonderful service. We try to celebrate our anniversary there, every year.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on August 31, 2017

Fabulous dinner for our 9 year anniversary! Cindy was an awesome server and made the meal even better! We shared Shrimp cocktail appetizer and watermelon caprese salad, both very good. I had crab stuffed lobster and husband had blackened grouper, both delicious.
The dessert, no words can describe how delicious this angel food grilled cheese is! Can't wait to go back! We really appreciate getting the best seat in the house too!

Tags: Good for Groups, Scenic View, Bar Seating, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on August 29, 2017

Monterey Bay has been one of our favorites for years for "special" dinners. The service is always excellent. Several really good seafood dishes and of course, the "grilled cake sandwich" dessert was delicious.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic, Waterfront, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on August 28, 2017

Good food and service. Staff was very pleasant and attentive

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
·Dined on August 28, 2017

Food: Better than average, but not on par with the new food restaurants in Pittsburgh. Nothing really stood out as fantastic for the food.

Service: Maybe just our waiter, but he was not really into proper service (reached over plates, did not place forks (kind of tossed them on the table), etc.

Scene: beautiful view of the city.

Tags: Scenic View, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

 
·Dined on August 27, 2017

Monterey Bay has never let me down with the quality of their food and service. Had a great birthday dinner with my wife.

Tags: Good for a Date, Business Meals, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on August 26, 2017

Excellent food!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.