Make a reservation

Party Size
For 2
Date
Today
Time
7:00 PM
icon/ic_social_proofCreated with Sketch.
Booked 41 times today

Monterey Bay Fish Grotto - Mt. Washington

4.7
4822 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
$31 to $50
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Seafood
Top Tags:
  • Scenic View
  • Special Occasion
  • Romantic
Thank you for considering Monterey Bay Fish Grotto. This award-winning restaurant has always taken pride in its level of standards and excellence. These exceptional standards are reflected in the mouth-watering fresh fish and impeccable service. Guests have come to expect this level of quality in every aspect of the main dining room as well as the private dining room.

Monterey Bay Fish Grotto's fish is fresh and flown in from a number of locations on the East Coast, West Coast and Hawaiian Islands. For this reason, we are the regions Premier Fresh Fish Restaurant offering 20 kinds of fresh fish in an array of original, delicious styles.
icon/ic_private_diningCreated with Sketch.
Private dining
Dining Style
Fine Dining
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Cuisines
Seafood, Steak
icon/ic_clockCreated with Sketch.
Hours of operation
Lounge: 4:30pm Daily
Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm
Friday & Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm
Sunday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm
icon/ic_phoneCreated with Sketch.
Phone number
(412) 481-4414
icon/ic_new_windowCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_paymentCreated with Sketch.
Payment options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa
icon/ic_dress_codeCreated with Sketch.
Dress code
Business Casual
icon/ic_chefCreated with Sketch.
Executive chef
Heather Deraway
icon/ic_locationCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_neighborhoodCreated with Sketch.
Neighborhood
icon/ic_cross_streetCreated with Sketch.
Cross street
Sweetbriar Street
icon/ic_parking_detailsCreated with Sketch.
Parking details
Valet parking is $7.00 per car
Additional
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, BYO Wine, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Private Room, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Private Dining

Monterey Bay Fish Grotto offers private dining for a wide range of events, including but not limited to, birthdays, rehearsal dinners or corporate events. We work to ensure that your event is one to remember.

View Private Dining Details
Sort by
Newest
Filters
5.0Dined 10 hours ago

We had a great meal. The service was perfect. The food was fantastic

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined 4 days ago

First time there, was an excellent experience and will definitely come back and recommend to others.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined 5 days ago

Monterey Bay has always been one of our family favorites especially when we are in the mood for great seafood (the best in the Burgh!) but hadn't been there for about 2 years. The table layout changed a bit as did the menu, but the ambiance, service, food quality and creativity is still the same -- Excellent!

We won't wait that long again to go back!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined 6 days ago

Great service with a great view. Food also great

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined 6 days ago

An otherwise elegant dinner got off to a weak start when we were seated by what I'm guessing was a busboy who was not dressed well - half untucked black tee shirt, no eye contact, seemed unsure where our table was. However, our actual server did a good job, really knew the menu and kept the right balance between checking on us and being unobtrusive.
Food is good but very, very pricey. Not a good value versus Altius.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 19, 2018

Amazing food. Wonder family celebration for two birthdays and our anniversary. A favorite every year! Our server was very helpful (Anna) and everyone had a memorable evening! And get the crab cakes!!!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 19, 2018

Our food and service was tremendous. We were celebrating our first wedding anniversary and they provided us with dessert and coffee. Our waitress was amazing, the manager was amazing and the food was amazing. Great place to celebrate a special occasion.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 19, 2018

Great food great location, staff could not have been better!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 18, 2018

We were traveling through the Pittsburgh area over our anniversary and decided to celebrate here. It was a wonderful experience! Brad, our server, was attentive and made our celebration special. The food is excellent and the view is exceptional!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 17, 2018

This place has very friendly waiters. The view is speechless. You can't go wrong with this place.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 16, 2018

I wish there was a better way to reserve a window seat rather than putting your name on a wait list when you arrive. That was very disappointing

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 16, 2018

This has got to be recognized as one of the top notch dining experiences of the area, primarily for the view but also with matching fine meals and service. Nothing to be disappointed with here.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 16, 2018

We took our family for our daughters 16th birthday. My husband and I have enjoyed the dining for special occasions, but not the entire family. We were seated next to the window which was what we had hoped for her to be able to see the view of the city. Perfect!! The waitress was ok. She did not offer any wine suggestions but rather told me to look at the menu as there were descriptions written. She seemed annoyed with us. I chose a Pinot Noir and it was lovely.
Salads were excellent, sides of brussels, lobster mac and cheese and frites were all hot and flavorful and scrumptious. The fillets were all cooked to preference. Unfortunately, I ordered mussels for my entree and they were super cold,despite the scalding hot bowl they were served in, and not very flavorful, edible but not enjoyable.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 16, 2018

what an experience! this restaurant has it all, literally...amazing views, beautiful layout, fun atmosphere, excellent food and service....
I loved everything about it, i am from nyc but if i am ever back in the area this for sure is my number 1!
went to their sister restaurant, off the hook the night before and had nothing but great things to say about them as well.
in my opinion the owners have taken a lot of thought and effort into creating something amazing and have succeeded and deserve the recognition!!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 16, 2018

The service was very nice

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 15, 2018

The food was outstanding, the service (not that great) can be better

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 14, 2018

We need to go here more often. The food is excellent, the service just right and the view is spectacular! They gave us the corner table in the upper level for our reservation and wife's birthday!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 13, 2018

Second time visiting there once for Anniversary and this time for Mothers Day. The food and service was excellent. Very expensive but good for special events and making an impression.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 13, 2018

This is only the second time that we have visited Monterey Bay but have greatly enjoyed both of our meals. The first time we dined was for my husband's birthday in February and the second was for Mother's Day. The staff has gone above and beyond with their service and attentiveness to our needs - but definitely not to the point of being in our way! And each time the dinners have been amazing! I do not like any seafood at all, so it is a pleasant surprise for me that I have never noticed an overwhelming odor of fish!! And also that I received my steak well done, not burnt, and so tender that I almost did not need a knife! We will be visiting again on May 30th for our anniversary. We are so happy to have found our new special restaurant!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 13, 2018

Service was great. Filet ordered well done but was served very rare.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 13, 2018

Excellent food, wonderful view, great service!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 13, 2018

All of the 5 stars I've given in the past I take back. Monterey Bay is truly exceptional.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 12, 2018

Excellent as always Food an service are neve disappointing

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 12, 2018

The food was delicious and the servers were friendly and attentive. They prepared the steak in a way that was not on the menu per a request from one person at our table. We were there for a graduation dinner and she appreciated that they congratulated her by name and treated her special. It was a wonderful evening

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 11, 2018

There were four of us there to celebrate our daughter graduating from Duquesne.

First off, the view was awesome. It was really a cool set up, which by itself made it worth the trip. We took the Duquesne Incline up so it was fun. Our server, Holly, was really great at her job. She was attentive, funny, and just really sweet. If the restaurant reads this I hope they recognize her for her efforts.

We started with the seafood trio app, which included a few shrimp, a few pieces of high end fish, and a crab cake. It was all very tasty and the perfect app to split between 4 people. I had the crab cake & scallop entree. The crab cake was as good as expected as they call it their specialty. It was full of crab meat with very little filler. The scallops, which by the way are my favorite seafood, were cooked and spiced perfectly. The other dishes were the Barramundi, which was spiced nicely in a style recommended and cooked to perfection. It melted in your mouth. Lastly, we had the salmon prepared Caribbean style. It was delicious.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 11, 2018

Awesome. Food and service were exceptional. We will return when we are in the area again.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 10, 2018

Great food and variety of main courses and accompaniments. Excellent service with the "customer first attitude."

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 10, 2018

The view is remarkable from the restaurant and the food is fabulous.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 10, 2018

My husband and I treated my mother for her 88th Birthday. The entire staff were so accommodating and the food was over the top. A perfect evening.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 9, 2018

Solid menu of well prepared seafood choices. We both had crab cakes, myself with scallops and my husband with shrimp and we had a side of sauteed greens. Side was enough for four people! We split a chocolate latte like a lava cake, which was heaven. Bill was around $100 before tax or tip with no drinks so it is pricy. But the ambiance, view, Frank Sinatra tunes, and food are all part of the price.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on May 7, 2018

Paying for the view.

Wife ordered Salmon... portion was small, and not prepared the way she wanted it.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 6, 2018

Courteous and professional from start to finish. Wait staff very knowledgeable and spot on recommendations. Picked this restaurant for the view and menu options. The view and the food both were top notch. Thomas went the extra mile for our anniversary dinner and presented us with a personalized dessert! Thank you and we will be back.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 5, 2018

Took my eight year old granddaughter, Lily, on a dinner date to her favorite restaurant. As always we had a great dinner and great service and a beautiful view of downtown Pittsburgh. The staff was very attentive and gave us excellent service in spite of having a large dinner crowd. Monterey bay is clearly one of the best restaurants in Pittsburgh and certainly has the best view. We will go back again soon.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 5, 2018

This is one of our favorite places for a special occasion. Exceptional service. All staff was super friendly and the food never disappoints. Their signature crab cake is one of the best. Hubby had tuna which was also good. We appreciated the free anniversary dessert. Nice touch. We'll be back.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 5, 2018

Amazing views. Seafood was fantastic. A great experience across the board!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 4, 2018

It is a great spot for a special occasion. From the picturesque elevator ride to the pre dinner cocktails in the lounge, the restaurant just feels special. The service is very professional and the food is very good. It was a little disappointing that more than a couple of the patrons were extremely underdressed. It just takes away from the overall experience and ambiance. We had a very wonderful experience topped off with a complimentary dessert for my girlfriend's birthday. Monterey Bay is still a great destination for a special occasion.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 4, 2018

Great food! Great view! Great sunset to evening view! Managers visited our table twice. Gave us a free appetizer and free dessert because it was our anniversary. Made us feel like royalty. Wrote Happy 51st anniversary on our dessert plate with chocolate syrup. Nice touch! Will go back soon. Had a wonderful evening thanks to the staff and managers.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 4, 2018

Overall a great experience...would not hesitate to recommend this restaurant. Really enjoyed the whole evening.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 4, 2018

I really enjoyed the food and my server!!!!!! I had the scallops with the crab cakes and it was to die for!! I will definitely go back!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 4, 2018

Outstanding food coupled with excellent service and an outstanding view of the city made for a perfect night. My sea bass was the best fish meal I can remember ever having. In addition my wife had the combination meal of a crab cake coupled with scallops which also received a rating of excellent.

Report
Helpful
1
2
3
121