About Monterey Bay Fish Grotto - Mt. Washington

1411 Grandview Avenue
Pittsburgh, PA 15211
View Larger Map

Thank you for considering Monterey Bay Fish Grotto. This award-winning restaurant has always taken pride in its level of standards and excellence. These exceptional standards are reflected in the mouth-watering fresh fish and impeccable service. Guests have come to expect this level of quality in every aspect of the main dining room as well as the private dining room.

Monterey Bay Fish Grotto's fish is fresh and flown in from a number of locations on the East Coast, West Coast and Hawaiian Islands. For this reason, we are the regions Premier Fresh Fish Restaurant offering 20 kinds of fresh fish in an array of original, delicious styles.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Seafood, Steak, Sushi

Hours of Operation:
Lounge: 4:30pm Daily
Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm
Friday & Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm
Sunday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
Sweetbriar Street

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(412) 481-4414

Website:
http://www.montereybayfishgrotto.com/

Parking Details:
Valet parking is $6.00 per car

Executive Chef:
Edwin Smith

Private Party Facilities:
Private party options are available

Private Party Contact:
Tiffany Sines: 4124814414x

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, BYO Wine, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Takeout, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Tuna Ceviche
Grandview Roll
Smoked Scottish Salmon
Chocolate Truffle Cake
White Chocolate Macadamia Mousse
Yummiest Cocktail Ever
Tuna And Peaches
Yellowfin Tuna
Mahi Mahi
Chimichurri Crusted Paiche With Watermelon Jalapeno Salsa And Havarti Onion Potato Croquette

Monterey Bay Fish Grotto - Mt. Washington Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.6

ambience

4.7

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Pittsburgh
Best Service
Pittsburgh
Best Ambiance
Pittsburgh
9 More
Romantic
Pittsburgh
Scenic View
Pittsburgh
Most Booked
Pittsburgh
Best Overall
Pittsburgh
Best Service
Pittsburgh
Best Ambiance
Pittsburgh
Romantic
Pittsburgh
Scenic View
Pittsburgh
Most Booked
Pittsburgh
Best Restaurants in Mt. Washington ›

Scenic View (288)
Special Occasion (278)
Romantic (225)
See All
Fit for Foodies (117)
Notable Wine List (99)
Good for Groups (85)
Neighborhood Gem (47)
Hot Spot (42)
Late-night Find (21)
Vibrant Bar Scene (16)
Great for Lunch (8)
Great for Brunch (6)
Kid-friendly (5)
Sort By:
Newest
3592 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

My wife and I enjoyed the visit. Being f ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined 6 days ago

My wife and I enjoyed the visit. Being from Erie and a Cleveland Brown fan, I got a new perspective and appreciation for Pittsburgh. It is a beautiful city.

We had the Bone in Rib-Eye with Blue Cheese and Asparagus. The Steak was great, the steamed Asparagus was OK. We prefer the Asparagus to be oven fried with olive oil and salt and pepper. Note: We had leftover steak for breakfast.

The bill was a bit steep but was expected. The valet parking was an appreciated touch.

Our waiter, I believe his name is Chad, was excellent. Personal, friendly, did not hover but was there to make our stay homey but special. He made our Dinner memorable and is the reason I'm writing a review.

We got there at 6pm and our table was ready. We sat at the rail on the second tear and the view was outstanding and the atmosphere was stylish.

I wish to thank you for the over all great dinner.

Bob Manchester

Tags: Healthy, Quiet Conversation, Pre/post Theatre, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Fun, Gluten Free Options, Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View, Good for a Date, Modern Decor, Historic, Romantic, Disabled Access, Waterfront, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Paleo Friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Fantastic View of Pittsburg. We've eate ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

Fantastic View of Pittsburg. We've eaten here several times and will again.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

We had a great meal and the view and amb ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

We had a great meal and the view and ambiance did not disappoint! We even got to see fireworks from PNC Park!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Scenic View, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Brought some friends from Florida to our ...

 
 (Orlando)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

Brought some friends from Florida to our hometown. Monterey was our choice after going up the incline. The food was great. Our server Tom was great and the rest of the staff were great as well. It was our last stop on our Pittsburgh tour and it did not disappoint.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Pre/post Theatre, Outstanding Value, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Though we enjoyed everything we we're es ...

 
·Dined on August 20, 2016

Though we enjoyed everything we we're especially happy with the sushi roll we ordered as an appetizer and the desserts we received at the end of our meal which were complimentary as we are celebrating our 50th anniversary. The food was prepared deliciously and search beautiful. We also really enjoyed the terrific macaroni with crab and lobster. Our meals were every bit as good as they have been for any special occasion we have celebrated at Monterey Bay.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Amazing time- wonderful experience A ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

Amazing time- wonderful experience

All personnel at the restaurant were very professional actively engaged and seem to really enjoy the job serving people Catering to everybody's needs

We plan on taking everyone who comes to visit to experience such a wonderful restaurant

Tags: Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The good is consistently excellent. The ...

 
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on August 18, 2016

The good is consistently excellent. The view is spectacular. Our waiter was attentive.

The music was loud, making it difficult to hear others at the table. We asked the manager

to lower the volume and he said that was not possible. It was clearly a fib and he eventually

did lower the sound. I am sure that others complained as well. An unnecessary aggravation.

Tags: Special Occasion, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

The sushi was excellent. The lobster bi ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on August 18, 2016

The sushi was excellent. The lobster bisque was warm at best. Our main meals were good, but one meal, the pork chop, was literally unedible. The staff did offer a new meal. The dessert were outstanding.

We had to ask for bread and never offered a second cup of coffee. :(

Overall, we would come again, but am not rushing back.

Tags: Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value3

Food was Fantastic and Service exception ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on August 17, 2016

Food was Fantastic and Service exceptional!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I think Monteray is a terrific restauran ...

vip
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on August 17, 2016

I think Monteray is a terrific restaurant! They had a number of groups, so service was slower than normal. Good and wine were excellent!

Tags: Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene, Late-night Find, Romantic, Scenic View, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

This is the best seafood restaurant in t ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on August 16, 2016

This is the best seafood restaurant in the city. I live 2 hours away but it is always worth the drive. Great food and service and the view is the best on Mount Washington

Tags: Late-night Find, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Delicious food. Attentive service. Beaut ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on August 15, 2016

Delicious food. Attentive service. Beautiful view. Highly recommend the Grilled Cheese Angelfood for dessert!

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent food impressive view of Pittsb ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on August 15, 2016

Excellent food impressive view of Pittsburgh.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Outstanding crab cakes to eat and an uns ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on August 15, 2016

Outstanding crab cakes to eat and an unsurpassed view of the city. I always plan to be there when the lights are coming on downtown.

Tags: Scenic View, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food & service. Consistently grea ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on August 15, 2016

Great food & service. Consistently great performance.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Monterey Bay is a must if you looking f ...

 
 (Atlantic City)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

Monterey Bay is a must if you looking for something of exceptionally high quality. We will return. Thank you for a wonderful dining experience.

Tags: Scenic View, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing views in the restaurant & bar!! ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Amazing views in the restaurant & bar!! Great location for for a special occasion. We will definitely be back next time we visit Pittsburgh.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Vibrant Bar Scene, Scenic View, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Excellent everything

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Excellent everything

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent as usual. Food is always good ...

vip
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

Excellent as usual. Food is always good. A little expensive.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Love the renovation! Food was excellent ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

Love the renovation! Food was excellent. Service was average and our server was slow to respond and clear dishes.

She also was very rigid in taking orders and inflexible. Still loved the experience. The manager was present and responded promptly when we expressed comments about things that could have been improved

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3

Everything was amazing! The angelfish ch ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

Everything was amazing! The angelfish cheesecake was unbelievably good. The food was great. Our waitress was very professional and sweet.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great restaurant. If you want a calm, r ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on August 11, 2016

Great restaurant. If you want a calm, relaxing atmosphere with amazing fish along with good Italian bread, come here.

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Late-night Find, Good for Groups, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

You could go for the view alone. But th ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on August 11, 2016

You could go for the view alone. But the seafood is some of the best I've ever had and believe me I've had a lot of seafood! The fresh fish was amazing. The crabcakes were out of this world. The service was great. The music was wonderful. It wasn't cheap but it was worth every dollar.

Tags: Good for Groups, Scenic View, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful food and service..wish we live ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 10, 2016

Wonderful food and service..wish we lived in Pittsburgh so we could go there more often.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent service and food - great house ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on August 9, 2016

Excellent service and food - great house wines. Very congenial staff.

Tags: Romantic, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Kid-friendly, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

an unbeatable combination of great, and ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on August 8, 2016

an unbeatable combination of great, and I mean great food, combined with a magnificent view, clean well- appointed decor and top flight , congenial wait staff. a Pittsburgh gem

Tags: Scenic View, Romantic, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Took my Mom out for a night while she wa ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on August 8, 2016

Took my Mom out for a night while she was visiting. The atmosphere, the view and the food were all top notch. Crab cakes were some of the best I've ever had!! The staff was very courteous and welcoming. I will definitely be dining here again!!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Romantic, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Just perfect

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

Just perfect

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Amazing. This place is a must go. The vi ...

 
 (Atlantic City)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

Amazing. This place is a must go. The view alone was worth the price.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Parmesan Swordfish was excellent! Fit f ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

Parmesan Swordfish was excellent! Fit for foodies. Great view.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We were there for my wife's birthday. Th ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

We were there for my wife's birthday. The setting was superb with the great view overlooking downtown Pittsburgh. The food was a match for the view. My kids had generous servings of Suchi. The presentation was spectacular. My wife's crab cakes were delicious. I had sole which was flaky and with a zesty sauce. Our server was friendly and knowledgeable, attentive but not overbearing. Our dessert was delectable. Overall, everyone had a wonderful evening. We'll return. We'll recommend it.

Tags: Special Occasion, Scenic View, Romantic, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great food & service, had the absolute b ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

Great food & service, had the absolute best view for celebrating a 90th birthday.

Tags: Special Occasion, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Cindy McCarthy was a great server. Price ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on August 3, 2016

Cindy McCarthy was a great server. Price vs value isn't worth it.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

The food is ok. Not great. The service ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 1, 2016

The food is ok. Not great. The service is very good and the views are why you go here.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

Very pricey. Drinks or cocktails seemed ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on August 1, 2016

Very pricey. Drinks or cocktails seemed weak and small for the price. You would think a salad or vegetable with the main course would be in order. Been a customer for many years and was very disappointed.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

I was dissapointed with the quality of t ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

I was dissapointed with the quality of the food for the first time. I love this restaurant but this visit wasn't as good as all our previous visits. Half of the appetizers platter was overcooked. Tuna was overcooked when served (they exchange it for one that wa properly cooked).

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

There was a hair found in the sword fish ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

There was a hair found in the sword fish. Our server was very friendly however after the hair was found our appetites were lost.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service3
value2

I had a date night with my hubby and wa ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

I had a date night with my hubby and was really excited. The service was terrible!

Our waitress did not check on us except when bringing our check. We felt very rushed!!

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service1
value2

I have been dining at Monterey Bay since ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

I have been dining at Monterey Bay since it opened. It has a wonderful view, and the renovation is perfect. The food, in my opinion, is not of the same quality. The prices are quite high for a piece of fish, as all items are ala carte. The much older, original menu was not only larger, but also included a side dish and salad. While I have no issue with the removal of the salad (nearly nobody offers a salad as included), going 100% ala carte to me, is not the way to go. This is not a steakhouse, and I would think they would want to provide an appropriate side dish to accompany the main dish. The lobster bisque was fair. The broth was not very flavorful, and for a fish house, the amount of lobster was on the small side. I had the skewered fish for my main course (2x)... it is an appetizer, that I normally love. While it tasted good, it was overcooked. We also had the crab/lobster mac. Lobster was again at a minimum, yet the price was quite high. I would go back, but I am not in a hurry to return.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

Outstanding seafood, service, ambience - ...

vip
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on July 28, 2016

Outstanding seafood, service, ambience - one of the best in the Burg!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.