Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.24mi
  2. Distance: 0.29mi
  3. Distance: 0.79mi
  4. Distance: 0.87mi
  1. Distance: 0.24mi
  2. Distance: 0.29mi
  3. Distance: 0.79mi
  4. Distance: 0.87mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.24mi
  2. Distance: 0.29mi
  3. Distance: 0.79mi
  4. Distance: 0.87mi
  1. Distance: 0.24mi
  2. Distance: 0.29mi
  3. Distance: 0.79mi
  4. Distance: 0.87mi

About Monterey Bay Fish Grotto - Mt. Washington

Thank you for considering Monterey Bay Fish Grotto. This award-winning restaurant has always taken pride in its level of standards and excellence. These exceptional standards are reflected in the mouth-watering fresh fish and impeccable service. Guests have come to expect this level of quality in every aspect of the main dining room as well as the private dining room.

Monterey Bay Fish Grotto's fish is fresh and flown in from a number of locations on the East Coast, West Coast and Hawaiian Islands. For this reason, we are the regions Premier Fresh Fish Restaurant offering 20 kinds of fresh fish in an array of original, delicious styles.

1411 Grandview Avenue
Pittsburgh, PA 15211
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Seafood, Steak

Hours of Operation:
Lounge: 4:30pm Daily
Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm
Friday & Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm
Sunday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
Sweetbriar Street

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(412) 481-4414

Website:
http://www.montereybayfishgrotto.com/

Parking Details:
Valet parking is $7.00 per car

Executive Chef:
Heather Deraway

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, BYO Wine, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Private Room, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Private Dining

Monterey Bay Fish Grotto offers private dining for a wide range of events, including but not limited to, birthdays, rehearsal dinners or corporate events. We work to ensure that your event is one to remember.

Monterey Bay Fish Grotto - Mt. Washington Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.7

ambience

4.8

value

4.2

Noise

Quiet

95% would recommend it to a friend

Scenic View (121)
Special Occasion (120)
Good for a Date (105)
See All
Romantic (101)
Good for Anniversaries (93)
Good for Birthdays (61)
Worth the Drive (61)
Quiet Conversation (49)
Creative Cuisine (47)
Notable Wine List (33)
Business Meals (32)
Cozy (31)
Good for Groups (27)
Neighborhood Gem (27)
Fun (26)
Fit for Foodies (25)
Pre/post Theatre (19)
Waterfront (19)
Authentic (17)
Handcrafted Cocktails (15)
Hot Spot (15)
Bar Seating (11)
Gluten Free Options (11)
Healthy (10)
Seasonal (10)
Tasting Menu (9)
Casual (6)
Happy Hour (5)
People Watching (5)
Comfort Food (4)
Great for Lunch (4)
Vibrant Bar Scene (4)
Kid-friendly (3)
Disabled Access (3)
Late-night Find (3)
Local Ingredients (3)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Great Beer (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Spicy (1)
Sort by
S
4626 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined 4 days ago

I can only say wow!! If there was a 6 Star category they would get it. They are 4 hrs away from where I live but I will make that drive again!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined 4 days ago

Great place and as usual spot on service. We had a large group and our waitress was amazing. Food was good but not great. Portions were large but food wasn’t hot.

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined 4 days ago

Cindy was an exceptional waitress. The veteran staff at the Grotto has been exceeding guest expectations for years, every need is anticipated. The food is amazing but when coupled with service at a superior level it makes for an unforgettable experience.

Tags: Business Meals, Cozy, Tasting Menu, Quiet Conversation, Authentic, Worth the Drive, Bar Seating, Scenic View, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined 4 days ago

The last time we were here was before the remodel. Our dinner was amazing then . Well worth the price and still comment it was the best meal ever had. This time was very disappointing. Will not go back. The food is completely different. Totally overpriced for the portion and preparation. I would put it on par with eating at Bahama Breeze . We both had different version of sea bass with potato’s and asparagus. There was nothing special, unique or different to say this was a great meal- especially to the tune of over $150.00. They lost their touch. If you want the view go to the bar the next level down and hang out for drinks.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service5
value2

 
·Dined 4 days ago

Were in town from Salt Lake City for a Steelers playoff game. Had a great experience there earlier this fall,and wanted my kids and grandkids to experience it. Were given a great table and were greeted very well by the general manager and the staff. Our server was great, and the food was excellent.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined 4 days ago

Food below average. Everything else excellent. Not sure how they can miss the mark so badly on food preparation.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined 6 days ago

We had a group from work celebrating birthdays for the month. They seated us downstairs which was awesome. We could be a little loud and not feel so bad. The waiter was awesome and the food was perfect.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on January 7, 2018

I've been here a few times and every time it's amazing! They are very accommodating , we were there about 40 minutes early for our reservation and we were still able to be seated with no issue.
My server was Anthony, he was very friendly and informative. He made great recommendations for food! Always impressed !

Tags: Fun, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Business Meals, Romantic, Waterfront, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 7, 2018

Their seafood is great and I enjoyed their food. The service was on a good side, but could've been better. The lobster bisque was creamy and the swordfish cooked in Cajun style was good but could've been more moist. Their grilled cheese dessert was spectacular and I would return just for that dessert.

Tags: Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

 
·Dined on January 6, 2018

Awesome in every aspect. Our daughter already wants her birthday dinner at Monterey bay!

Tags: Bar Seating, Kid-friendly, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Seasonal, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on January 6, 2018

Our favorite! Best crabcakes and lobster bisque in town, best view of Pittsburgh, and awesome staff.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on January 6, 2018

food was good my daughters lobster was over done and so was my wife s grouper ,had oysters and crab cake appetizers and they was spot on the lobster bisque was very good .so was my creole grits and scallops and shrimp and my future son I'm law said his salmon was amazing .desert was good as well

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value3

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on January 2, 2018

Inlaws were in town

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 1, 2018

We were here on New Years Eve, and were there at midnight.
Everything was very good, although maybe the food was a little less perfect than usual at 11 PM on New Years. The staff were great - save for our repeatedly asking the music to be turned down, and it would be, only to be blasting again in a few minutes.
This loud music made it hard to talk, and it would not have been such an issue, but it was New Years and they were blasting Christmas music. And not just Jingle Bells, but religious Christian Christmas music. This has no place on New Years Eve, and frankly in a fine dining restaurant, at this price point, has no place on any day.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on January 1, 2018

Wonderful as always! Consistently delicious. Service was wonderful, food was amazing and even if you're not by the windows, there's no bad seat and the view is incredible. Go to the bar first for a little more intimacy.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Fun, Scenic View, Bar Seating
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on January 1, 2018

As always the service was outstanding. Our server Cindy took care of everything. I was a little disappointed that the shrimp my wife ordered came with sauce even though she said she didn't want the sauce. Otherwise fantastic.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on January 1, 2018

I wish we could have sat by the window!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on January 1, 2018

Everyone knows the reputation is seafood yet I ventured off course and ordered a steak. If you compare to other venues known for steak in Pittsburgh you would certainly rate this experience as no more than average. My date ordered the signature dish, crab cake and scallops which was outstanding.
Staffing provided a friendly and attentive service led by our waitress who was great.
For the average person the price will make this a special occasion place and not a regular dining stop.
No one can argue with the view (amazing) but during busy occasions the noise level can make a casual conversation a little more difficult.
Still should remain on your list for consideration when looking to celebrate any special occasion.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Scenic View, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on December 31, 2017

We had a good experience the food was decent. Our second server was great, our first server left us and gave a excuse as to why he was switching us to a different server said he wasnt closing, but continue to serve other tables. we felt like they were racial.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4

 
·Dined on December 31, 2017

Best meal I never had in Pittsburgh. Beautiful view, impeccable service, food was not only delicious its presentation was lovely. Must try their signature dessert!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Worth the Drive, Authentic, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Gluten Free Options, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on December 31, 2017

Good as always. Decent portions.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
·Dined on December 29, 2017

Our server Mandy was great, it was our first time here. She helped us thtoigh the menue and her recommendations were on point. The crab cakes were by far the best part of the meal, although it was all good.

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 29, 2017

Food was wonderful. Crab Cakes and Scallops were both amazing.

When we arrived, we were greeted by the hostess who was very short tempered and not very welcoming. I asked if I could be added to the list for window seating and I was told no. I know that they take First come first serve requests for window seats for dinner service.

Once we were seated, the waitresses were super friendly, helpful, and treated us very graciously. They made the night.

Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on December 29, 2017

Everything was wonderful from the atmosphere, the food, the wine, the service and the beautiful view!

Tags: Romantic, Comfort Food, Good for Groups, Cozy, Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem, Waterfront, Good for Anniversaries, Seasonal, Fun, Good for a Date
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on December 29, 2017

My daughter and I ordered the 20 ounce bone in ribeye and it looked like a leftover steak and was over cooked. My other daughter had the 8 ounce filet was larger and better tasting and cooked to perfection. I would not recommend this restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service3
value1

 
·Dined on December 29, 2017

Service was outstanding, Ann was our server and she did a magnificent job. The meal was great and management was very friendly. Perfect evening. Thanks for everything! Will definitely be back.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on December 29, 2017

Great night! We got a window table with beautiful views of the Pittsburgh. All of kids were home & wanted a special evening. Every dish from starters, main course, specials that night, sides & dessert were great. Totally worth the $$$ for the amazing cuisine. Hats off to the chef & staff. We also had amazing service. Thanks for the wonderful experience. We will be back!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on December 27, 2017

Beautiful view, exceptional food. From the appetizers to the entrees and dessert, dinner was very good. Interesting cocktails were enjoyed my our party as well. Definitely a special occasion favorite!

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View, Special Occasion
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on December 23, 2017

We visit many restaurants in the Pittsburgh area-all price points. For Monterey Bay, the food highlights included the crab cake, sea bass, and seasonal cocktails. The low points included the adequate sides, the whole fish prep, tremendous use of soy sauce in almost every dish and the desserts. The view is the draw-see my pic. Crowd was mixed-couples, families w small kids, and groups. The waiter, Ronnie, was knowledgeable and friendly. The rest of the staff was ok-not super welcoming, but not rude either. I would give the entire experience a 87% out of 100. Not the top restaurant in Pittsburgh, but by far not the worst. It was just less than I had expected.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on December 23, 2017

A wonderful experience from beginning to end. Beautiful, understated surroundings with unparalleled view of the city. Attentive service and very good food. Also, a great lounge downstairs for pre-dinner drinks. Definitely a top spot for a special occasion meal.

Tags: Scenic View, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on December 23, 2017

The service was excellent. We were seated at a window table after being told there would be a long wait. Very impressed with the professionalism of the staff. Our waiter was knowledable about every menu item. The food was amazing! Overall amazing experience and will return!

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on December 23, 2017

We came to celebrate our double birthdays and it was an amazing experience. The food was incredible, our waiter was incredibly polite and attentive and the view was unmatched. Plus they gave us free desserts for our birthdays!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on December 22, 2017

Service was great, server was pleasant as always. Food was great and never disappoints.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Good for a Date, Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on December 22, 2017

Great view, service, manager took time to greet/offer services.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Fun, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on December 22, 2017

First time back since the remodel. The food was delicious. Great martinis. It was our servers first day and she did a fabulous job. The dining room is terraced so you have a great view of beautiful Pittsbugh. Perfect evening

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Scenic View, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on December 22, 2017

This restaurant does not just depend on its spectacular view - the food is also outstanding.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on December 22, 2017

Excellent food and service on every occasion we have experienced. Monterey Grille remains one of our favorite places to entertain guests to the city.

Tags: Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Scenic View, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 22, 2017

We have been going to Monterey fish grotto for 10 years in honor of every special occasion. It has the best view in Pittsburgh. The menu and wine list are fantastic. The ambience Is the perfect blend of dressy and inviting without being stuffy and pretentious. All said , it makes for the perfect go to restaurant for a special date, evening with friends or special occasion.

Tags: Fun, Romantic, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on December 21, 2017

Just an all around awesome experience

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
·Dined on December 21, 2017

Disappointed that we could not get a window seat upstairs for a special occasion. We chose to go downstairs for a window seat. We were the only ones there for a while. Would have been nice if it were a romantic occasion, but it was my granddaughter's 16th birthday. Lost the ambiance. It was also frigid. Food and service was good.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.