Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.24mi
  2. Distance: 0.29mi
  3. Distance: 0.79mi
  4. Distance: 0.87mi
  1. Distance: 0.24mi
  2. Distance: 0.29mi
  3. Distance: 0.79mi
  4. Distance: 0.87mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.24mi
  2. Distance: 0.29mi
  3. Distance: 0.79mi
  4. Distance: 0.87mi
  1. Distance: 0.24mi
  2. Distance: 0.29mi
  3. Distance: 0.79mi
  4. Distance: 0.87mi

About Monterey Bay Fish Grotto - Mt. Washington

Thank you for considering Monterey Bay Fish Grotto. This award-winning restaurant has always taken pride in its level of standards and excellence. These exceptional standards are reflected in the mouth-watering fresh fish and impeccable service. Guests have come to expect this level of quality in every aspect of the main dining room as well as the private dining room.

Monterey Bay Fish Grotto's fish is fresh and flown in from a number of locations on the East Coast, West Coast and Hawaiian Islands. For this reason, we are the regions Premier Fresh Fish Restaurant offering 20 kinds of fresh fish in an array of original, delicious styles.

1411 Grandview Avenue
Pittsburgh, PA 15211
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Seafood, Steak

Hours of Operation:
Lounge: 4:30pm Daily
Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm
Friday & Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm
Sunday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
Sweetbriar Street

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(412) 481-4414

Website:
http://www.montereybayfishgrotto.com/

Parking Details:
Valet parking is $6.00 per car

Executive Chef:
Heather Deraway

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, BYO Wine, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Private Room, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Private Dining

Monterey Bay Fish Grotto offers private dining for a wide range of events, including but not limited to, birthdays, rehearsal dinners or corporate events. We work to ensure that your event is one to remember.

Monterey Bay Fish Grotto - Mt. Washington Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.8

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Scenic View (160)
Special Occasion (130)
Good for a Date (117)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (101)
Romantic (100)
Good for Birthdays (72)
Worth the Drive (58)
Fit for Foodies (48)
Business Meals (46)
Creative Cuisine (44)
Quiet Conversation (44)
Waterfront (37)
Notable Wine List (34)
Good for Groups (23)
Neighborhood Gem (22)
Handcrafted Cocktails (19)
Modern Decor (17)
Hot Spot (16)
Fun (16)
Pre/post Theatre (16)
Cozy (16)
Healthy (15)
Authentic (14)
Gluten Free Options (13)
Bar Seating (12)
Tasting Menu (10)
Happy Hour (9)
Sunday Lunch (8)
Disabled Access (7)
Late-night Find (7)
Casual (7)
Seasonal (6)
Great for Lunch (6)
Comfort Food (6)
Historic (5)
Kid-friendly (4)
Good Vegetarian Options (4)
People Watching (4)
Paleo Friendly (3)
Local Ingredients (3)
Family Style (3)
Organic (2)
Afternoon Tea (2)
Private Room (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Great for Outdoor Dining (2)
Great Beer (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Sort By:
S
4318 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined 3 days ago

On time with our reservations .
".."................"

Tags: Scenic View, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined 3 days ago

Excellent crab cakes -- as good as we get in MD
We really enjoyed the food and the view of downtown Pittsburgh

Tags: Scenic View, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined 4 days ago

Exceptionally superb restaurant. Warm and welcoming staff. Delicious food selections. Seafood dishes were expertly prepared, and ingredients very fresh!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Hot Spot, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined 5 days ago

I was in town with out of town guests - and as always the Monterey Fish House did not disappoint. We started in the bar downstairs and got the corner table. For that reason there was no point in leaving so we ate in the bar.

The service was great and the food was also great - we had the Halibut and Redfish.

The view and the service was also good - would recommend and will return when in town.

Tags: Hot Spot, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined 6 days ago

Great place and the view is amazing. Food was excellent. Hence the rating.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on July 15, 2017

Simply a top notch restaurant for a fabulous dinner with a great view of Pittsburgh!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Savannah)·Dined on July 15, 2017

This restaurant never disappoints. Whether it is for business or pleasure, you'll always have a great view, a great meal and leave satisfied.

Tags: Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 14, 2017

Great view of the city great selections great food nice wine list. Servers were informed and efficient. Must have the lobster bisque

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on July 14, 2017

Food was excellent but definitely a bit overpriced. I understand you are paying for the view but none the less, $170 for 2 people and no alcohol seems excessive. Our waitress was excellent though!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 13, 2017

The Grotto is famous for its view of the Pittsburgh skyline, rivers and distant hills and it doesn't disappoint. We thoroughly enjoyed the seafood dishes: tender scallops, shrimp and crab cakes. The servers were all very attentive and friendly. We highly recommend the Grotto for the food and view. On the expensive side by worth every dollar!

Tags: Healthy, Notable Wine List, Tasting Menu, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on July 8, 2017

It was my first time at this location. It was beautiful. Service was great along with the food and drinks. We just happened to have the best table in the whole restaurant. I'd recommend anyone who wanted a nice dinner with a fantastic view of he city.

Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date, Waterfront, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on July 8, 2017

The view and service were excellent as were the entrees. The side dishes were somewhat less so. Overall it was a very nice evening.

Tags: Happy Hour, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on July 7, 2017

Our waitress Casey was the best waitress I've ever had!!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on July 7, 2017

Every time, we try something different...Every time, it doesn't disappoint. Such a good place for fresh fish in Pittsburgh.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on July 5, 2017

Everyone should go atleast once, the food is excellent and the view is breathtaking.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on July 3, 2017

Great service, seated a little early, great view and excellent food but a little expensive

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on July 3, 2017

Monterey Bay is one of our favorite special occasion restaurants. Since this was our 40th anniversary celebration, we were greeted with a quiet corner table at the window. Of course, the view over the Point was spectacular in daylight, sunset and in the evening with the city lights. The lobster bisque was outstanding! The crab cake, grilled shrimp and halibut were all excellent. Service was courteous, timely and professional. Our evening ended with a complementary dessert to share with a happy 40th anniversary message in chocolate on the plate. I highly recommend this restaurant.

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on July 3, 2017

Always amazing food and the views are out of this world! Monterey Bay is always consistent and the crab cakes are out of his world!

Tags: Healthy, Fun, Business Meals, Hot Spot, Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on July 3, 2017

A small group went for a birthday celebration. We couldn't have picked a better place to go: the view is breathtaking, the food was absolutely delicious and the wait staff could not have done a better job.

Tags: Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on July 3, 2017

The food was average, but the view was outstanding. The host at checkin was rather unfriendly also. The crab cakes were ok (we've had much better). My husband's redfish was not great and my scallops were undercooked. The brussel sprouts, however, were wonderful. The only reason I recommend this restaurant is because of the view. You can't find a better view in Pittsburgh!

Tags: Good for a Date, Romantic, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value2

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 2, 2017

Great food. The view is spectacular and we were lucky enough to get a window seat. Loved every minute!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 2, 2017

Awesome meal and service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on July 2, 2017

Went there for an anniversary dinner, and were treated phenomenally by the waitstaff, while getting one of the best views in the place.

Also great that anniversary desserts are on the house!

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on July 2, 2017

Hadn't visited in awhile. Remodel was nice but that is where positives end. Young waitstaff is very slow. Menu options are extremely limited and the crab cakes I have enjoyed for years are now below average.

Cannot see visiting anytime soon and will not recommend!

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service1
value1

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on July 1, 2017

Real good food, service and scenery is exceptional

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View, Tasting Menu, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 1, 2017

I visited this restaurant last year for Easter and it blew me away, especially their grilled cheese dessert. I have to say I was a bit disappointed as it wasnt as good as the first time. I would go back but will not have high expections.

Tags: Romantic, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on July 1, 2017

Exceptional service and excellent food. Tasty appetizers and wonderful right portioned meals. The view is amazing. Get there early and ask for a window seat.

Tags: Waterfront, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on June 30, 2017

My wife and I had a wonderful time, if you are ever in the Pittsburgh area, this is a must stop! The view alone is worth it. The food and the service was outstanding! We will be back.

Tags: Good for a Date, Authentic, Business Meals, Cozy, Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Romantic, Afternoon Tea, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on June 30, 2017

I took my husband there for his birthday. Even though we were not right at the window the view was very nice.
The service was exceptional. We had a few dishes from the menu, but the best thing we had was the Lobster Bisque. It was delicious! The crab cakes were also exceptional. Compliments to the chef. Our server Brook(e) was very pleasant, and helpful in explaining the menu items. It was very much appreciated.
We will come again.
Thanks for a good dining experience.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Casual, Creative Cuisine, Sunday Lunch, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on June 30, 2017

Always top notch seafood.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on June 30, 2017

My 8 year old granddaughter loves the Monterrey experience. Great food, great view, outstanding service what more can you ask for. We will be back. Thank you for the wonderful experience.

Tags: Business Meals, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Cozy, Casual, Vibrant Bar Scene, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on June 29, 2017

GREAT service, atmosphere. Food was beautifully prepped, and seasoned to perfection. Thank you Jane (our server) and John Bellan (manager) You all could not have been more attentive.

Tags: Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Healthy, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Good for Anniversaries, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on June 28, 2017

The entire experience with this restaurant including making the reservation, valet parking, host greeting, wait staff, meal and atmosphere is superb! I highly recommend for any special occasion! It is totally worth the investment. My wife and I will remember that dinner for years to come!

Tags: Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Gluten Free Options, Healthy, Romantic, Scenic View, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on June 28, 2017

This was my second time dining at Monterey Bay Fish Grotto, and it didn't disappoint! This is a great place for special occasions. Time your reservation for 30 minutes before sunset, and make sure that you request a table by the window when you arrive!!

They are famous for their crab cakes and the lobster bisque is definitely a crowd pleaser, but if you are trying to limit carbs (like I am), the Chilean Bass with a side of pancetta brussel sprouts is great. If carbs are not an issue for you, save room for dessert! Their desserts change with the seasons, but if you happen to visit when their carrot cake is on the menu, DO NOT PASS IT UP!!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Scenic View, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Seasonal, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on June 28, 2017

My husband and I enjoyed his birthday dinner with the gorgeous view. Thanks for great service , amazingly delicious food and a beautiful free dessert .

Tags: Gluten Free Options, Tasting Menu, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on June 26, 2017

Great place with an amazing view. Food was delicious! Very pricey, but great option for special occasions.

Tags: Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on June 24, 2017

Some of the best food in the local area. I will definitely be back.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Hot Spot, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Scenic View, Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on June 24, 2017

Monterey Bay went above and beyond to make our night very special. We went there about a month ago for our anniversary and didn't have the best time. They were proactive and reached out to understand exactly where they went wrong and asked us to come back and give them another try. It totally redeemed them in our eyes. Our meal was spectacular on our latest visit and we had a wonderful time... service was outstanding. Thank you!

Tags: Good for Groups, Scenic View, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 24, 2017

From Buffalo went for girls weekend wanted to have a great dinner with a nice waterfront view drinks were perfect meak delicious service fantastic all in all couldn't ask for anything better

Tags: Waterfront, Scenic View, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Naples)·Dined on June 23, 2017

great view and ambiance. Food was way overpriced and a little above average at best.This place survives only on it's view. Used to have great food . Not anymore.

Tags: Special Occasion, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service4
value2

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.