About Montecito

299 Adelaide Street West
Toronto, ON M5V 1P7
View Larger Map

Montecito Restaurant is a restaurant collaboration between Hollywood director Ivan Reitman and Toronto-based Innov8 Hospitality. The vision for Montecito has been from the beginning to create an environment that captivates a wide audience and brings them together in an exceptional space.

Like its Southern California namesake, Montecito combines a casual elegance with effortless sophistication in the heart of Toronto’s Entertainment District. Our two-storey dining room, lounge and outdoor patio is located steps away from Film Festival Headquarters at TIFF Bell Lightbox. While our Farm-to-Table menu highlights various purveyors from across Canada and changes weekly based on seasonal availability.

Have you Discovered Montecito?

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Californian, Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
HOURS OF OPERATION

MONDAY TO WEDNESDAY 11:30AM – 11PM

THURSDAY TO SATURDAY 11:30AM – 1AM

SUNDAY 11AM – 11PM (Buffet Brunch Only from 11:00AM to 3:00PM)

Cross Street:
Widmer St

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
CAN$31 to CAN$50

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(416) 599-0299

Website:
http://www.montecitorestaurant.ca/

Entertainment:
DJ takes over the night every week from Thursday till Saturday, starting at 9:00p.m. entertaining our guests, while you enjoy the dinner. Step into the after dinner mode with music and ambience of an elite upmarket and relaxed lounge.

Parking Details:
Valet Parking is available every night.

Public Transit:
Closest streetcar stops are King St W and John St or Queen St W and Peter St.

Closest subway stops are Osgoode Station or St Andrew Station

Executive Chef:
Matt Robertson

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Chef's Table, Cocktails, Corkage Fee, Entertainment, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Private Dining

Inspired by its Southern Californian namesake, Montecito offers an unparalleled group dining experience, serving a family-style spread that features the finest of seasonal products. We invite you to experience and indulge in our crowd-pleasing hors d’oeuvres, salads, entrees and delicious dessert.

Montecito Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.4

ambience

4.4

value

3.8

noise

Moderate

91% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (45)
Good for a Date (38)
Modern Decor (35)
See All
Good for Groups (32)
Creative Cuisine (31)
Local Ingredients (27)
Good for Anniversaries (27)
Business Meals (25)
Pre/post Theatre (24)
Good for Birthdays (22)
Fit for Foodies (21)
Hot Spot (20)
Notable Wine List (19)
Romantic (19)
Great for Lunch (16)
Casual (15)
Authentic (13)
Open Kitchen (12)
People Watching (12)
Bar Seating (12)
Healthy (12)
Sunday Lunch (11)
Fun (11)
Happy Hour (11)
Cozy (10)
Great for Brunch (10)
Neighborhood Gem (10)
Worth the Drive (9)
Comfort Food (9)
Handcrafted Cocktails (9)
Good Vegetarian Options (8)
Quiet Conversation (8)
Outstanding Value (7)
Late-night Find (7)
Seasonal (6)
Vibrant Bar Scene (5)
Family Style (5)
Private Room (5)
Tapas (4)
Wood Oven (4)
Kid-friendly (3)
Quick Bite (3)
Gluten Free Options (3)
Scenic View (3)
Molecular Gastronomy (3)
Great for Outdoor Dining (3)
Organic (3)
Tasting Menu (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Afternoon Tea (2)
Great Beer (2)
Afternoon Coffee (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Dancing (1)
Vegan (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
577 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Enjoyed all the food on the buffet. It w ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined 2 days ago

Enjoyed all the food on the buffet. It was small but had a lot of selection. The marinated mushrooms were my favourite!! As well as the honey butter. My only small complaint was that the hot food wasn't hot. Overall I loved everything and recommend it to try and I personally would go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Excellent service and food. Requested pe ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined 2 days ago

Excellent service and food. Requested personized menu & dessert platter and both were fulfilled without reminders.

Tags: Good for a Date, Family Style, Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We enjoyed a fun dinner with our daughte ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined 2 days ago

We enjoyed a fun dinner with our daughter. Server was very helpful. More casual than expected and music was perfect level. The food was great. Cod, artic char ( daily substitute ) and chicken. Dessert was a little disappointing ,too small to share, or even get a good bit with sauce. Will be going back.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Very enjoyable evening with friends. Goo ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined 3 days ago

Very enjoyable evening with friends. Good selection of dining options and very good service. Great atmosphere. Good music.

Tags: Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

The food was outstanding and our server, ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined 4 days ago

The food was outstanding and our server, Dylan was fantastic.

Tags: Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Perfect dinner. Great service and fun m ...

vip
 (Toronto)·Dined on January 15, 2017

Perfect dinner. Great service and fun menu. We ordered almost everything and shared. Many of the dishes worked perfectly with other things on the menu. We had a blast and everyone is talking about it days later.

Brilliant

Tags: Good for Groups, Open Kitchen, Authentic, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Modern Decor, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Food quality and taste is NOTHING specia ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on January 15, 2017

Food quality and taste is NOTHING special! This is definitely a nice trendy spot that only looks luxury but the quality is not there! We ended up with a grumpy server that perhaps was more of a boss than a server!

Tomahawk steak wasnt even marinated. Tasted dry even at medium cooked.

Kale salad is good. Wouldnt reccomond or go there again!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

We were celebrating our son's promotion, ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on January 14, 2017

We were celebrating our son's promotion, Everything was excellent, we all had a great time.

We ordered the 36 ounce Steak for the table which came with two side dishes. The presentation of this dish was amazing. The taste and flavor was outstanding.

Thank you to our server who could not do enough for us.

Tags: Business Meals, Pre/post Theatre, Vegan, Casual, Late-night Find, Romantic, Special Occasion, Fun, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups, Sunday Lunch, Bar Seating, Happy Hour, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

The wine list was pricey. The food was ...

vip
 (Toronto)·Dined on January 12, 2017

The wine list was pricey. The food was very good and service excellent. However this place needs to chill on the wine pricing for what you get.

I don't think I would go back bc of that. I paid 75 bucks for a okay bottle of white....same bottle in another place for 45 dollars.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Server was attentive and knowledgeable, ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on January 12, 2017

Server was attentive and knowledgeable, restaurant was not busy...food quite good, wine list over-priced. Menu could have been fresher and healthier...expected more California-inpsired cuisine.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Thank you so much for helping me make my ...

vip
 (Toronto)·Dined on January 12, 2017

Thank you so much for helping me make my friend's retirement lunch special. From the top notch service, to the branded menu and dessert congratulations, plus the great prix fixe lunch special - it was terrific! I don't dine with you often but I've never been disappointed!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Food was really good and the place has a ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on January 10, 2017

Food was really good and the place has a great vibe. Would definitely come back.

Tags: Good for a Date, Sunday Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Business Meals, Healthy, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Great atmosphere and great service, food ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on January 8, 2017

Great atmosphere and great service, food was good to.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Business Meals, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

We had a great time at Montecito. This w ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on January 8, 2017

We had a great time at Montecito. This was my second time visiting the restaurant. The food was good. Potatoes were excellent. The only complaint I had was the skirt steak was quite chewy. Understandable for this cut of meat, however not pleasant to eat either.

Tags: Modern Decor, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Beautiful restaurant, nice Hollywood mem ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 6, 2017

Beautiful restaurant, nice Hollywood memorabilia, very clean. Service was pretty good. The food for those prices could of been a step or two higher. I had a $20 BBQ Octopus which was pretty tasty but came Luke warm, almost cold and a $30/plate of Risotto with popcorn shrimp and split bay scallops which wasn't what I was expecting and my wife had the lamb sirloin which was 2 very fatty pieces portions of lamb at $34/plate. Finally my son had the smoked trout at $34/plate and it was delicious.

They have an extraordinarily large wine selection however I was amazed at the "markup" on their bottles of wine. Some bottles I know are between $18-25 bottle in a store were $65 and up, with some selections skyrocketing in the hundreds of dollars and up. There's a reason they advertise everything but their wine list online, those prices might scare some people away. You don't need to spend $400 on a bottle of wine to enjoy a good wine. I had to pour all my own wine as our server refilled all his other tables glasses, not sure why but I still left an 18% gratuity as it was not an unpleasant experience, just for that kind of money, it should of been a more memorable one.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value3

We were looking for a place to have a sp ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on December 31, 2016

We were looking for a place to have a special meal around New Year's and were not disappointed. The ambiance and food were great and the staff very pleasant. We added a couple of extra people to our party after arriving and they accommodated us very well.

Tags: Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

The food is very good. I had the prosc ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on December 31, 2016

The food is very good. I had the prosciutto and mozarella upon recommendation of the waiter after discussing options having a garlic allergy . Service was very good, better than most Toronto restaurants. Dessert options were disappointing. The music is just way too loud. I don't understand what it is with restaurants who cast themselves as destination dining spots but have music blaring like a night club and patrons need to yell at each other and the waiters to be heard and eventually end up with a sore throat. glancing around the restaurant of large tables of families with small children and babies dining, I can't imagine they were enjoying the sound level. I would think twice about returning for dinner, and opt for lunch.

Tags: Modern Decor, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4
value2

Enjoyed our meal before the theatre. The ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 30, 2016

Enjoyed our meal before the theatre.

The appetizers were excellent and we shared the short ribs which were lick the plate good.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Casual, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

The food was okay although a little disa ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on December 30, 2016

The food was okay although a little disappointing. My pasta was a small portion and had far too much garlic. My friends had the chicken and the lamb and both were generous portions. Dessert portions were also small for the price. Our server was excellent - friendly, attentive and helpful. The downside was the valet parking. I wont use it again. On arrival, they couldn't find the valet. So I waited until he was ready. Seems very disorganized. They have no way to communicate with the valet so, on departure, I waited almost 20 minutes for my car. As well, the cost was automatically added to the dinner bill which was embarrassing as I was a guest and didn't know that my host had to pay for my parking!! I found out when I was leaving and they had already left so I had to write a note of apology to my host. I would go back but order something different and I also now know there is parking in the building next door.

Tags: Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

food was good. I ordered a chardonnay a ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on December 29, 2016

food was good.

I ordered a chardonnay and was brought a glass of red wine and the porter insisted it was the chardonnay. I had to ask for our waiter to get me the proper glass of wine.

pizza was good, Kale salad large and good for sharing. Fish was good though a small portion.

Tags: Casual, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

Dillan the Server was absolutely fantast ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 27, 2016

Dillan the Server was absolutely fantastic. He thoroughly knew the menu and was able to assist when make by drink and food choices and answer any questions asked about the menu. He was very pleasant, attentive and stopped by occasionally to ensure that we were happy, comfortable and enjoying the evening and what ever services Motecito had to offer. Though our second time here this evening was an even better experience, with the staff and Wating Service making it an enjoyable evening with pleasant staff a comfortable atmosphere and tasty food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We had an enjoyable dinner. The food was ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on December 23, 2016

We had an enjoyable dinner. The food was fairly decent but not to the caliber we were expecting based on previous reviews. I guess its all in the individual taste.

The atmosphere is outstanding. They have a fantastoc bar and a great staff. Food was served quickly and were hot. Overall a good place for a night out and entertaining guests.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5

Nice spot, friendly atmosphere, food and ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on December 23, 2016

Nice spot, friendly atmosphere, food and service was great.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Modern Decor, Great for Lunch, Open Kitchen, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The 4 of us had a wonderful time. We wer ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on December 22, 2016

The 4 of us had a wonderful time. We were celebrating 2 Birthdays although we did not tell our waitress. She was very pleasant and we would recommend this restaurant to our friends.

Food was great!

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Hot Spot, Healthy, Late-night Find, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Happy Hour, Wood Oven
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a fabulous round table for 6 peop ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on December 21, 2016

We had a fabulous round table for 6 people . We shared several dishes and especially enjoyed the kale salad and pizzas. The service was excellent. I've eaten there many times and have never been disappointed. I would highly recommend this restaurant and it is ideally situated in the theatre district.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

i love his restaurant for thr food and t ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on December 20, 2016

i love his restaurant for thr food and the service!!!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It was great! The call on the weekend be ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on December 19, 2016

It was great! The call on the weekend beforehand to see if I wanted customized menus was a delightful surprise -- and a huge hit! The birthday cake I had ordered in advance was beautifully presented! Service and food all terrific. Beautiful restaurant. Been many times for special occasion lunches. Love it.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Open Kitchen, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Good Vegetarian Options, Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Modern Decor, Good for Birthdays, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This is a great place to celebrate an an ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on December 17, 2016

This is a great place to celebrate an anniversary or take a date. One of the most visually attractive restaurants, it definitely isn't all about design and looks. It is great value where you get a high-end dining experience without feeling like you overspent. The staff are wonderful, some of the best in the city. And the food was fantastic. Overall a great experience.

Tags: Good for a Date, , Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Although I loved my meal. I wasn't aware ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 17, 2016

Although I loved my meal. I wasn't aware that there was a way reduce menus for lunch on saturdays. I wish that was more clear.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4

We went for a family Christmas brunch. T ...

vip
 (Toronto)·Dined on December 17, 2016

We went for a family Christmas brunch. The setting, staff and food were excellent. Music was a little loud for brunch/lunch crowd.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

We travelled over 400km by train and boo ...

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on December 6, 2016

We travelled over 400km by train and booked dinner here for a birthday celebration. The service was impeccable but some of the food was lacking. The steak was cold and undercooked. It was returned to the kitchen and was better the second time around....but that sort of ruined it for the table. For the price some of the portions were very small and some of the other meals could also have been hotter. The halibut was cooked perfect but small. The brined pork chop was good...again not hot but warm. The braised rib was very small, lukewarm and was alright but lacked depth in flavor. Overall we were disappointed but the staff was amazing and we tipped well for them only. Chef needs to step up to the plate. The restaurant was not busy as we were early (530 pm) as we were pre Theatre and and maybe he should have come to see these 4 seniors and made things right. We had negative feedback for one of the appetizers and then the steak issue should have had his attention. They did not charge us for one of the appetizers and the deduction was noted on the bill as Food Quality Issue. Thank goodness for Sarah or the whole experience would have been completely negative. They should give her a raise as she is worth her weight in gold.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service5
value2

I was pleasantly surprised at how intima ...

 
 (Naples)·Dined on December 5, 2016

I was pleasantly surprised at how intimate it was for its size. The spaces are well designed. The bar area is more casual than the rest of the space and good for people watching if that is of interest.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Great for Lunch, Modern Decor, Business Meals, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

Music little loud, but otherwise great f ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on December 4, 2016

Music little loud, but otherwise great food and atmosphere!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The food was great but they brought the ...

vip
 (Toronto)·Dined on November 30, 2016

The food was great but they brought the appetizers and main course altogether. Also was slow in paying the bill. But enjoyed it overall.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3

Great professional environment. Staff is ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on November 30, 2016

Great professional environment. Staff is pro-active! They know their business.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I love this restaurant.

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on November 29, 2016

I love this restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Montecito is a larger than life restaura ...

vip
 (Toronto)·Dined on November 27, 2016

Montecito is a larger than life restaurant. The noise level is high and energetic so it can be hard to hear if you're in a large group. The food is excellent. We had Meatballs, Kale Salad and Blackbird bread to start and all were delicious. The servings are on the smaller side so order based on appetite. The main course for us included the Fogo Island Cod, the Cold Smoked Rainbow Trout and a pasta dish with truffles. All were of superior quality and the presentation was very creative. Desserts were the highlight for me. I had the Spiced Cake and it was perfectly spicy and sweet. The cheesecake was equally delectable.

Tags: Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The restaurant had great service and rea ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on November 26, 2016

The restaurant had great service and really good food. We had the pork chops and braised beef dishes and were both very flavourful, with good portions. The tuna tartare was good, but a little small. They had a nice touch by putting my fiancées' name on the menu as we were celebrating her birthday.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

The kale salad is so delicious--totally ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 25, 2016

The kale salad is so delicious--totally shareable. Servers from the door through the meal are highly professional and attentive.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

Montecito shares 3-1/2 stars as does Los ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on November 24, 2016

Montecito shares 3-1/2 stars as does Los Colibros on King St. W.

I picked Montecito for its rating and the menu. It is simple, not a hundred food items, with local ingredients. Based on the previous Los Colibros experience I felt Montecito would be just as good. And it was, maybe a little better! Location is great; an excellent restaurant 2-1/2 blocks from the Royal Alexandria where we saw "Come from away".

Nothing like a good meal to start a couple's evening.

Thank you.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Cozy, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine, Organic, Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.