Make a reservation

Party Size
For 2
Date
Today
Time
8:00 PM
icon/ic_social_proofCreated with Sketch.
Booked 55 times today

Montecito

4.4
838 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
CAN$31 to CAN$50
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Californian
Top Tags:
  • Good for a Date
  • Special Occasion
  • Creative Cuisine
Montecito Restaurant is a restaurant collaboration between Hollywood director Ivan Reitman and Toronto-based Innov8 Hospitality. The vision for Montecito has been from the beginning to create an environment that captivates a wide audience and brings them together in an exceptional space.

Like its Southern California namesake, Montecito combines a casual elegance with effortless sophistication in the heart of Toronto’s Entertainment District. Our two-storey dining room, lounge and outdoor patio is located steps away from Film Festival Headquarters at TIFF Bell Lightbox. While our Farm-to-Table menu highlights various purveyors from across Canada and changes weekly based on seasonal availability.

Have you Discovered Montecito?
Dining Style
Casual Elegant
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Cuisines
Californian, Contemporary American
icon/ic_clockCreated with Sketch.
Hours of operation
HOURS OF OPERATION

MONDAY TO WEDNESDAY 11:30AM – 11PM

THURSDAY TO SATURDAY 11:30AM – 1AM

SUNDAY 11AM – 11PM (Buffet Brunch Only from 11:00AM to 3:00PM)
icon/ic_phoneCreated with Sketch.
Phone number
(416) 599-0299
icon/ic_new_windowCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_paymentCreated with Sketch.
Payment options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa
icon/ic_dress_codeCreated with Sketch.
Dress code
Smart Casual
icon/ic_chefCreated with Sketch.
Executive chef
Matthew Simpson
icon/ic_locationCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_neighborhoodCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_cross_streetCreated with Sketch.
Cross street
Widmer St
icon/ic_parking_detailsCreated with Sketch.
Parking details
Paid parking is available at 21 Widmer Street.
icon/ic_public_transitCreated with Sketch.
Public transit
Closest streetcar stops are King St W and John St or Queen St W and Peter St.

Closest subway stops are Osgoode Station or St Andrew Station
Additional
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Chef's Table, Cocktails, Corkage Fee, Entertainment, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine
What 838 People Are Saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
4.4based on recent ratings
4.4
food
4.4
service
4.4
ambience
4.0
value
Noise · Quiet
94% of people would recommend it to a friend
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
Sort by
Newest
Filters
4.0Dined 3 days ago

Food was lovely. Smaller portions but perfect for pre-theatre. Excellent wine list.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined 3 days ago

Excellent chicken (spatchcocked, but no indication whether it was consentual) and best pork chop in the city. Montecito potatoes and kale salad are musts. Only drawback could be the active sound level and inconsistent lighting (house lights go up and down at random).

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined 5 days ago

Loved the house made sausage and pancakes! Thank you for a wonderful meal!

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined 6 days ago

Service for our table was very slow, despite uncrowded venue; New menu- maybe the kitchen staff wasn't well practiced and delays occured; 3 of 6 main meals came to table cold; 3 people finished eating before we received the replacement meals; second round not much warmer; we did receive a discount on the bill, but weren't actually told this would occur via the apology from a floor manager.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined 6 days ago

Excellent food and excellent service. We will certainly return. Thank you.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on April 12, 2018

My wife and I had Montecito reservations and theatre booked for our anniversary. We arrived at the restaurant and informed the hostess that we had theatre after dinner. She assured us we had enough time. We ordered as quickly as possible. Odd that a restaurant that bills itself as Californian has no glasses of red wine on the menu. After an hour our first courses (roasted beet salad and carrot salad) arrived. Both were ok. I am unable to provide a review on the main course as after more waiting we had to inform our server that we needed to leave or we would be late for the theatre. She checked with the kitchen but our food was not yet ready. The manager came over and indicated we would not have to pay for our wine and salad. While we appreciated the gesture we would have appreciated having dinner more. Thank goodness for emergency granola bars. It is unlikely we will return.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on April 12, 2018

The food was outstanding. We had to wait 15 minutes before anyone served us.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 11, 2018

Celebrating work accomplishment

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on April 10, 2018

There were four us for dinner. One of the guests asked which pizza the server recommended he suggested the newly added pizza was good. It wasn’t. And when she commented to him he replied that he had tasted it and thought it was ok. Why recommend then? When the pizza shared by two people had over half remaining and the guest shared that it really wasn’t good. Nothing was done.

As well our meals were not hot. Warm at best.

We accept that we didn’t say anything as the waiter let us know it was his third shift and we wanted to support him.

This restaurant was recommended to me by a good friend who works in the financial district.

I was the one who arranged the evening and was very disappointed.

The meal was to be honest very very disappointing.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 10, 2018

Great food - Kale salad was wonderful

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 4, 2018

What a fun spot for a girls night! My friends and I came for Wine Wednesday (half price bottles of wine in the bar) and ended up staying for hours! We had dinner, which was delicious, and the vibe was awesome.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on April 1, 2018

Ordered the short rib because the last time I had it there it was fantastic. This time was a disaster. They eventually brought out my plate and it was all fat and no meat. I sent it back and they brought me a new plate that was as bad as the first. The other two people I was with also ordered the short rib but it was also a disaster. The staff were great trying to make it work but we ended up going to Figo next door for some food we could actually eat.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on April 1, 2018

Very expensive for what you got. Very little veggie or “fresh” options. Disappointing

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 1, 2018

This is the third year we’ve taken our son and grandkids to Montecito for Easter brunch. The food is delicious and well prepared. The only thing missing was fresh fruits. My husband loves the fried chicken! The dessert selection may seem limited but there’s a lot of high quality cookies and cakes that are so delicious! Service has always been excellent. This year Richard made us feel like we had our own private server! He was very personable and extremely attentive to all our needs. The manager also takes time to walk around and make sure everyone is well looked after. I highly recommend Montecito.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 30, 2018

Ryan was absolutely amazing! He made us feel so special, most importantly, the birthday girl. The added small touches on the menu and the glass of bubbles to celebrate was not expected. Thank you so much for going the extra mile. Haven’t had that experience in a long time. Thank you!

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on March 30, 2018

Very underwhelmed by food and service. Beautiful restaurant though.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on March 29, 2018

Been here many times, the food is always a high quality and the service is excellent.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 26, 2018

I had a wonderful lunch at Montecito. My friend and I tried different cocktails (beers for him), shared the Kale Salad as an appetizer, and had our own mains. The meals were filling and creative, and I love that they are made with local ingredients! Our server was attentive but not intrusive, and we enjoyed out dessert and coffees without feeling rushed out. It seems like it's also a popular place for business lunches, with large tables and not too noisy!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 25, 2018

This is the second time we have celebrated an event at this restaurant. Have never been disappointed in the food or the service.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 24, 2018

Always admired Montecito whenever I drove by but never tried it till this last Saturday evening, dinner was exceptional, service was perfect, and the ambiance was great. Seems to be frequented by celebrities and media types. The farm to table format was excellent all the foods contents were explained by our server, who realized early on that we did not want to rush our meal. I would definitely go back again to Montecito

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 22, 2018

Impeccable service. Made a special night great. Thank you!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 21, 2018

Always enjoy coming to this restaurant! The food is consistently delicious and well prepared. Had a wonderful birthday celebration - thank you for making it special.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 17, 2018

Our waiter made our dinning experience exceptional. I can't remember his name but had a beautiful Italian accent. He great food recommendations.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on March 15, 2018

This may just have been an off night. The service was poor - they forgot our salads, pizza was cold and was indifferent when we mentioned issues. There was some sort of work group upstairs that was using a microphone and we had to hear all the speeches. The cod was good but the service and ambiance was poor.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 15, 2018

Excellent service from start to finish and food was incredible!

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on March 9, 2018

The server took our bottle of wine before we finished (still had half a glass left) and didn’t really come by unless it was to pick up dishes. Great food, poor service.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 5, 2018

AMAZING food!!! Had the Albacore Tuna - definitely one of the best I have ever had!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 4, 2018

Fabulous! First time here and will be heading back as soon as possible. Delicious food, outstanding service! Would give more than 5 stars if possible!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on March 2, 2018

Great spot. Wonderful wine selection and the best service I've experienced in months. The food was excellent and fast! We made the theatre with time to spare.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on February 25, 2018

Wonderful, knowledgeable service. Gorgeous surroundings and comfortable upscale atmosphere without being pretentious. Interesting decor with moving video pictures. Washrooms are classy. Food presentation was stunning; however, I'm a bit of a foodie and found the Octopus slightly overdone and have had better Bone Marrow. The beet and goat cheese salad was amazing, as was the custom cocktail they made me (Bourbon Sour with Black Walnut Cardamon) prior to our bottle of wine with dinner.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 23, 2018

This was recommended to us by a friend as a great place to grab dinner before the show at the Royal Alex. They were bang on! The food was absolutely fantastic and the service was great too. It is a little bit on the pricey side but well worth it. Everything we had was delicious starting wth the meatballs starter and my braised short-rib dinner was melt-in-your-mouth superb!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 23, 2018

Great food and service. Will definitely return and recommend !

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on February 21, 2018

The food was good, since it happened to be nearly empty, the service was quick.

Unfortunately, the fire alarm kept going on throughout the night.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 19, 2018

The 40 oz steak for the table was superb.
Don’t miss the cabbage starter.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on February 15, 2018

Service very good.
Food average nothing notable.
Loud, rambunctious noise from upper level made dining room not such a great venue.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on February 14, 2018

I found the overall food and service by my waitress friendly. I did not find the hostess at the front to be very polite on the phone and in person.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 14, 2018

Great restaurant, highly recommend checking it out

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 14, 2018

Lovely lunch with good service. Coffee was disappointing.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on February 13, 2018

Decided to go for dinner one night and it was delicious! We had the short ribs, and the clam chowder and the steak. The portions could be a little bigger for the price but it was a very good food!

We both split a side order of potatoes. You don't tend to get any starch with your meal just vegetables. The potatoes were enough for four people they gave you so much. For Dessert we had the toffee cake also very good but a very tiny portion.

Service was impeccable and the restaurant was beautiful. I would definitely go back for a special occasion.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on February 8, 2018

Really enjoyed the food and the service was "spot on". Will be back.

Report
Helpful
1
2
3
21

Tweets by Montecito