About Montecito

299 Adelaide Street West
Toronto, ON M5V 1P7
View Larger Map

Montecito Restaurant is a restaurant collaboration between Hollywood director Ivan Reitman and Toronto-based Innov8 Hospitality. The vision for Montecito has been from the beginning to create an environment that captivates a wide audience and brings them together in an exceptional space.

Like its Southern California namesake, Montecito combines a casual elegance with effortless sophistication in the heart of Toronto’s Entertainment District. Our two-storey dining room, lounge and outdoor patio is located steps away from Film Festival Headquarters at TIFF Bell Lightbox. While our Farm-to-Table menu highlights various purveyors from across Canada and changes weekly based on seasonal availability.

Have you Discovered Montecito?

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Californian, Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
HOURS OF OPERATION

MONDAY TO WEDNESDAY 11:30AM – 11PM

THURSDAY TO SATURDAY 11:30AM – 1AM

SUNDAY 11AM – 11PM (Buffet Brunch Only from 11:00AM to 3:00PM)

Cross Street:
Widmer St

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
CAN$31 to CAN$50

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(416) 599-0299

Website:
http://www.montecitorestaurant.ca/

Entertainment:
DJ takes over the night every week from Thursday till Saturday, starting at 9:00p.m. entertaining our guests, while you enjoy the dinner. Step into the after dinner mode with music and ambience of an elite upmarket and relaxed lounge.

Parking Details:
Valet Parking is available every night.

Public Transit:
Closest streetcar stops are King St W and John St or Queen St W and Peter St.

Closest subway stops are Osgoode Station or St Andrew Station

Executive Chef:
Matt Robertson

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Chef's Table, Cocktails, Corkage Fee, Entertainment, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Montecito
Montecito
Montecito
Pork Chop
Chocolate Chip Cookie Ice Cream Sandwich
Stay Puft Marshmallow Man Baked Alaska
Buffalo Mozzarella Pizza
Burger
Spaghetti Carbonara
Kale Salad

Private Dining

Inspired by its Southern Californian namesake, Montecito offers an unparalleled group dining experience, serving a family-style spread that features the finest of seasonal products. We invite you to experience and indulge in our crowd-pleasing hors d’oeuvres, salads, entrees and delicious dessert.

Montecito Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4.2

ambience

4.3

value

3.6

noise

Moderate

84% would recommend it to a friend

Fit for Foodies (69)
Special Occasion (59)
Good for Groups (50)
See All
Romantic (34)
Great for Lunch (33)
Hot Spot (26)
Notable Wine List (21)
Great for Brunch (19)
Neighborhood Gem (18)
Vibrant Bar Scene (12)
Great for Outdoor Dining (11)
Late-night Find (7)
Scenic View (6)
Kid-friendly (5)
Fun (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Sort By:
Newest
467 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Very good value and high quality casual ...

vip
 (Toronto)
·Dined 4 days ago

Very good value and high quality casual food. Most nights, there are fantastic specials that further add to the good value aspect of dinning here.

Tags: Fun, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Groups, Vibrant Bar Scene, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Wonderful food. It was very busy, howev ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined 5 days ago

Wonderful food. It was very busy, however even after 3 different servers, our order was timely , delicious, and management that stepped in to assist our 'team' - was extremely apologetic.

We will definitely return to this location.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Fun, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

This was our first visit to Montecito. T ...

vip
 (Toronto)
·Dined 5 days ago

This was our first visit to Montecito. The restaurant itself is quite beautiful in design. However, we were not impressed with the service we received. Our waiter kept pushing us to order apps and to share them, and then get a main, and then a side. He didn't even mention they had a prix fixe menu in August. It just felt like we were being sold to. The food was tasty, however the portions were fairly small for the price. For example, it would be have been nice to include a few slices of potato with the braised short rib main instead of just slaw. For an extra charge of course, $9 to be exact, you could a potato side. I wouldn't return, however am glad we checked it out.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value2

Went on a Wednesday and it was the slowe ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined 6 days ago

Went on a Wednesday and it was the slowest, least attentive service I have ever experienced. Since it was a Wednesday, they had half priced charcuterie and half priced wine, but only for those who sat on the patio. WTF! I guess people who sat inside weren't worthy. No standout dishes - had the duck and short rib. Terrible desserts - had the bourbon cake and the black forest cake. Never going back.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1

My Husband, Son and I enjoyed our dining ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

My Husband, Son and I enjoyed our dining experience at Montecito. The restaurant has a nice vibe and reminds us of when we were in Montecito, California. The food and service are good. We really enjoyed the Zucchini Fritti and the Whipped Ricotta appetizers. The Sangria was also good, not too sweet, just as I like it. We would like to go back for brunch. It also seems like a good place to host a party.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Paleo Friendly, Bar Seating, Good for Birthdays, Casual, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

this is our third visit to montecito. i ...

vip
 (Toronto)
·Dined on August 17, 2016

this is our third visit to montecito. i love the design. the space is fabulous. the drinks were very good. the service was very good. the food was just underwhelming.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

The kale salad at Montecito is wonderful ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on August 16, 2016

The kale salad at Montecito is wonderful. We have it every time! Rest of our meal was great too. Great ambience - we like the seating. Service was also great. Present whenever needed but not overbearing. We really like eating here and it is close to home!

Tags: Special Occasion, Late-night Find, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Good food and great, attentive service. ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on August 15, 2016

Good food and great, attentive service. Usually a quiet place. On our visit there was an event upstairs (Sommelier scavenger hunt) and they were REALLY loud.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

Have been to restaurant a couple of time ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

Have been to restaurant a couple of times. This was the first time for my wife. Had a very enjoyable evening. Staff were very friendly and helpful.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Excellent food - love the new prix fixe ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on August 11, 2016

Excellent food - love the new prix fixe menu for lunch - tomato cheese salad superb. The Guinness was excellent - and very cold! Service was good as well.

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Excellent food. Great Service.

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on August 9, 2016

Excellent food. Great Service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Good experience. Waiter seemed like you ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on August 9, 2016

Good experience. Waiter seemed like you was put together, but was sometimes forgetful of things. He also took our drink orders away after we ordered, and we didnt have anything to reference when we wanted a second beverage.

Food was excellent! 1/2 price cheese and charcuterie platters!! Yum!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

The Sunday brunch buffet is absolutely t ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

The Sunday brunch buffet is absolutely the most amazing thing in the world. So much food, and it's all spectacular. Totally worth the price.

Tags: Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Went on a Sunday afternoon, did not real ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

Went on a Sunday afternoon, did not realize it was a buffet at that time. Good thing we did not have kids with us. Food was great, good selection, balanced flavours, service attentive. Left full and satisfied.

Tags: Late-night Find, Romantic, Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

we had a wonderful dinner : great zucchi ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on August 3, 2016

we had a wonderful dinner : great zucchini appetizer as well as the trout and the tuna; interesting cocktails and delicious pastas;

we also had great desserts

would recommend this restaurant for a great dinner

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

We were very disappointed with the menu! ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on July 26, 2016

We were very disappointed with the menu! Very limited!

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service2
value1

Went there for summerlicious. Food was ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on July 21, 2016

Went there for summerlicious. Food was really nothing special except I did like the chocalate bar dessert

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value2

Amazing food-one of top restaurants in t ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on July 20, 2016

Amazing food-one of top restaurants in the city for sure

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Their Eggplant caviar dish is outstandin ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on July 19, 2016

Their Eggplant caviar dish is outstanding. The entire evening was relaxing, fun and enjoyable along with our wine selection and shared appetizers. It was our first time and we hope to return soon.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Went to Montecito for lunch during Summe ...

vip
 (Toronto)
·Dined on July 19, 2016

Went to Montecito for lunch during Summerlicious. Food was delicious and server was attentive and made great suggestions. Highly recommend.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was decent, but the prices were ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

The food was decent, but the prices were outrageous considering what was on offer. Service was quick and efficient. I went expecting their summerlicious menu, but got bait and switched into the buffet after we were seated.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value1

Love this restaurant. It's beautiful wit ...

vip
 (Toronto)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Love this restaurant. It's beautiful with cathedral ceilings and plenty of space between tables for privacy.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Nailed it again! Our 2nd visit, equally ...

vip
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Nailed it again! Our 2nd visit, equally as good as the first time. Seated right away. Waiter was prompt to the table. All food fresh and tasty. Service top notch. Kale salad is a MUST, it's big enough for 4 people. Flank steak was incredible. Perfectly cooked. Just go....and splurge.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

The best part was the oysters, but the 1 ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

The best part was the oysters, but the 1 hour wait for them was far too long. Even then, we were only given a very small bit of mignonette with horseradish and nothing else. The food was rather bland and the service was very slow. My lamb was undercooked (asked for med rare, it came blue) and my friends pizza was terrible. She didn't even eat it. For the price, it was not worth it.

I would only come back for drinks and oysters, but even then, not likely.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value1

Food and selection is very good and uniq ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

Food and selection is very good and unique. The appetizers ware good portions and the trout and halibut were outstanding.

A bit disappointed in some selections sold out at 7p.m. - not to be expected at that early hour..

Tags: Good for Groups, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

We had a delicious sunmerlicious dinner ...

vip
 (Toronto)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

We had a delicious sunmerlicious dinner menu. I'm rarely impressed with summer/winterlicious fixed price menus but Montecito's was delicious, popular items chosen from their regular menu. The kale salad was huge, dressed as a caeser but less wet if that makes any sense. The tuna crudo was lovely, jw chicken was juicy and Bavette steak had tons of flavour. There was nothing about our meal that we would change. Service was top notch, very friendly, on top of everything. Can't wait to return!

Note: if you ever come and there is a tuna option on the entree part of the menu, get it. I had it months ago and it was the best I've ever had.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Went to Montecito in a Wednesday for an ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on July 13, 2016

Went to Montecito in a Wednesday for an early dinner. Half price drinks special was only available at the bar although there was noone in the bar, it was only a few feet away and the bar menu is exactly the same as the main menu. Had to pay full price if we sat at the table. We were told the kitchen coukd not do anything off the menu and we could not get something simple like a salad with chicken unless (mayyybe) you wanted half a roast chicken on top of an existing salad. Not many vegetarian options. The cheese board for 3 people had 4 pieces of bread and looked disappointing. I had the buffalo mozzarella pizza and it had some kind of chili pepper in the tomato sauce; not a good sauce. The place was empty and staff kept coming by too fast to clear glasses and dishes when we weren't quite done. The waiter was exceptionally nice but frankly all the staff seemed depressed. My friend actually asked one of the staff if something was wrong. Not a good vibe and wouldn't go again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service4
value2

Great experience, kale salade was excell ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on July 11, 2016

Great experience, kale salade was excellent, everybody loved their meal. I will come back next time I'm in Toronto!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Great interior design. Starter salad po ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on July 11, 2016

Great interior design.

Starter salad portion was too big.

Cheese plate was served without cheese knife. .

Overall good California experience. Silent and cosy.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4

Wonderful - heirloom greens salad, lime ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on July 11, 2016

Wonderful - heirloom greens salad, lime cheesecake

Pedestrian, sloppy - prosciutto & cheese

Had better, sauce not unctuous, but pork bits terrific - carbonara

Too dense - gnocchi

Too sweet - alaska mousse

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value3

We had a great time. I would recommend t ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

We had a great time. I would recommend this restaurant to anyone.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Ambience, spectacular! Service, exceptio ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Ambience, spectacular! Service, exceptional! Music setting mood, ideal! Meal, outstanding!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I chose this restaurant based on the inv ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

I chose this restaurant based on the inviting description on the internet and I was not disappointed. It was a wonderful experience from the moment we entered to the moment we left. Both the client that I brought and I plan to return.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The pizza was fantastic. Healthy and sha ...

vip
 (Toronto)
·Dined on July 7, 2016

The pizza was fantastic. Healthy and sharing, very good value, and a strong wine list.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

great ambiance, quite spacious ... atten ...

 
 (London)
·Dined on June 27, 2016

great ambiance, quite spacious ...

attentive service...

cheese and ham board was impressive...

all entrees were good...

overall a nice dining experience

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

The MOST uncomfortable booths we have EV ...

vip
 (Toronto)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

The MOST uncomfortable booths we have EVER sat in! Kale salad and zucchini fries were great. Cod and Tuna were incredibly bland and barely enough to make us full. Thank goodness we had two appetizers beforehand. Chocolate-banana dessert was mediocre.

We've been twice before but it's gone so downhill that we will likely not return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

Had a great time celebrating the fact th ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

Had a great time celebrating the fact that we are home owners! The food is great - such a great spot in the city!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

We had a wonderful time - celebrated our ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on June 22, 2016

We had a wonderful time - celebrated our 20th wedding anniversary. Service was really attentive and the food was amazing. They even had customized menu to commemorate the occasion. Thank you so much!

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Second time I've dined at Montecito in t ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on June 20, 2016

Second time I've dined at Montecito in the last couple of months. Good ambiance, service and environment. Thought the food was fair this time (disappointing) and the price value relationship average. Will give it another shot but in no hurry to get back there.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

Thank you I was very delighted with the ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on June 20, 2016

Thank you I was very delighted with the service! Very helpful, polite and knowledgeable without being intrusive.

The food was excellent and I will definitely be dining there again!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Late-night Find, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service1
value1

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.