About Montecito

Montecito Restaurant is a restaurant collaboration between Hollywood director Ivan Reitman and Toronto-based Innov8 Hospitality. The vision for Montecito has been from the beginning to create an environment that captivates a wide audience and brings them together in an exceptional space.

Like its Southern California namesake, Montecito combines a casual elegance with effortless sophistication in the heart of Toronto’s Entertainment District. Our two-storey dining room, lounge and outdoor patio is located steps away from Film Festival Headquarters at TIFF Bell Lightbox. While our Farm-to-Table menu highlights various purveyors from across Canada and changes weekly based on seasonal availability.

Have you Discovered Montecito?

299 Adelaide Street West
Toronto, ON M5V 1P7
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Californian, Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
HOURS OF OPERATION

MONDAY TO WEDNESDAY 11:30AM – 11PM

THURSDAY TO SATURDAY 11:30AM – 1AM

SUNDAY 11AM – 11PM (Buffet Brunch Only from 11:00AM to 3:00PM)

Cross Street:
Widmer St

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
CAN$31 to CAN$50

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(416) 599-0299

Website:
http://www.montecitorestaurant.ca/

Entertainment:
DJ takes over the night every week from Thursday till Saturday, starting at 9:00p.m. entertaining our guests, while you enjoy the dinner. Step into the after dinner mode with music and ambience of an elite upmarket and relaxed lounge.

Parking Details:
Valet Parking is available every night.

Public Transit:
Closest streetcar stops are King St W and John St or Queen St W and Peter St.

Closest subway stops are Osgoode Station or St Andrew Station

Executive Chef:
Matt Robertson

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Chef's Table, Cocktails, Corkage Fee, Entertainment, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Private Dining

Inspired by its Southern Californian namesake, Montecito offers an unparalleled group dining experience, serving a family-style spread that features the finest of seasonal products. We invite you to experience and indulge in our crowd-pleasing hors d’oeuvres, salads, entrees and delicious dessert.

Montecito Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4.2

ambience

4.3

value

3.7

noise

Moderate

82% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (22)
Creative Cuisine (17)
Notable Wine List (17)
See All
Pre/post Theatre (16)
Business Meals (16)
Special Occasion (15)
Fit for Foodies (14)
Modern Decor (14)
Fun (13)
Good for Groups (13)
Local Ingredients (12)
Good for Birthdays (11)
Good for Anniversaries (10)
Casual (10)
Hot Spot (10)
Romantic (9)
Cozy (8)
Quiet Conversation (8)
Authentic (7)
Neighborhood Gem (7)
Great for Lunch (6)
Handcrafted Cocktails (6)
Sunday Lunch (5)
Vibrant Bar Scene (5)
People Watching (5)
Happy Hour (5)
Great for Brunch (5)
Open Kitchen (5)
Private Room (5)
Late-night Find (4)
Healthy (3)
Tasting Menu (3)
Family Style (3)
Good Vegetarian Options (3)
Bar Seating (3)
Organic (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (2)
Comfort Food (2)
Seasonal (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Tapas (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Great Beer (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Worth the Drive (1)
Live Music (1)
Sort By:
S
662 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined 5 days ago

I had a reservation for 6:30 they let us come in for 5:00. They seated us right away and the service was amazing. Food was great and atmosphere was beautiful. My gf and I were very impressed. Were coming back for sure lol

Tags: Romantic, Authentic, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined 5 days ago

As always fantastic food. We are never disappointed in the selection or quality of food

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined 5 days ago

Good brunch experience overall. The service felt a little un personalized during the brunch experience but overall the servers were friendly. Would recommend.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3

vip
 (Calgary)·Dined 7 days ago

The food was delicious, but was overshadowed by the fact it took 1.5 hrs after ordering to come, and needed to be doubled in size. We had issues reordering drinks and finding our waiter in general. For the price, it was not worth it, very disappointed.

Tags: Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value1

vip
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on June 10, 2017

We've been going to Montecito for a few years, always good. This time, I booked my daughter and her 2 friends a table as part of their 'prom' celebration. They stayed overnight at a nearby hotel, and I treated dinner.
They arrived on time and were seated. Server RUSHED them. It was 7.30pm on a Saturday. They were looking forward to a nice experience.....the server wanted to be sure they vacated the table quickly. That was the impression they got. Likely because they were not drinking alcohol (under age). They said they were made to feel inadequate. They were in and out in 30 minutes.
They also mentioned the servings were way too small.
Too bad.

Tags: Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service1
value1

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on June 5, 2017

We ordered the duck for the table and it was very undercooked. It smelled awful, was the texture of raw meat, and made me ill. However, the charcuterie board was delicious.

Tags: Happy Hour, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 3, 2017

Excellent food and service. DJ music was very loud and did not tie in with the ambience or room decor. Would have made sense for jazz music.

Tags: Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value2

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on May 26, 2017

The food is average. Service is good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on May 21, 2017

Great service and food. Loved the visual surrounding

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on May 20, 2017

I went to Montecito for a friends batchelorette party, I told them in advancen in case there was anything special they could do for her. When we arrived they gave us special menus that they had printed with Congratulations on it. The service and food was amazing and they also surprised her with a special dessert. Would definitely recommend and go back next time I am in Toronto!

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on May 17, 2017

4 of us, lunched here before our Theatre date. It was a great locale in proximity to the Princess of Wales theatre. 3 of us ordered the Full Monty, because of the value. What we didn't know that the portion sizes were very large. 2 of us could have easily shared. With that said, all courses we had were superb. The ambience was lovely, and the staff were very attentive. One drawback, was the choice of music when we first arrived. Rap music just didn't fit in with this restaurant. However someone must have noticed because the music choice changed. I would recommend this restaurant, in a heart beat. Also, enjoyed the live action video window. Brought the outdoors in. Lovely touch, for sure.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Great for Lunch, Romantic, Modern Decor, Open Kitchen, Notable Wine List, Private Room, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Toronto)·Dined on May 16, 2017

Surprisingly large restaurant with many groups of young people. Food was very good - we chose it as near the theatre and pleasantly surprised at creative dishes. Found the menu a little eclectic though with Fogg Island a key supplier. They charge for bread! Nice cocktails

Tags: Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

vip
 (Toronto)·Dined on May 12, 2017

Our first time back since the fall. They welcomed us back at the front desk, as did the waiter, who remembered serving my wife last year. Kind of cool, though they may have a system!
Food was good and it's great to see pizzas back on the menu. We sat in the bar, but as the weather improves, we'll be outside next time. We like the place.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Vibrant Bar Scene, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on May 12, 2017

The server was exceptional went out of her way to order oysters available only at bar. The food presentation and taste was very good. All in all we had a very nice experience.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on May 11, 2017

My most recent dining experience at Montecito was for a business meeting during the week. However, my wife and I are frequent visitors on weekends, since Montecito is in our neighbourhood. There is always something new and inventive on the menu, which, as a point of pride, highlights locally sourced ingredients. The atmosphere is relaxed and upbeat. The staff are very friendly, efficient and passionate about food!

Tags: People Watching, Fit for Foodies, Casual, Creative Cuisine, Modern Decor, Neighborhood Gem, Pre/post Theatre, Great for Brunch, Hot Spot, Fun, Business Meals, Open Kitchen, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Gluten Free Options, Late-night Find, Vibrant Bar Scene, Bar Seating, Good for Groups, Local Ingredients, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on May 10, 2017

Great place for a business dinner. Excellent service, like the Canadian sourced options (Fogo Island cod), and the Kale salad is the best ever!The desserts are appropriately sized and light and tasty.

I found the music a little loud, and would have appreciated bread at the table without charge, although many would probably like not having the temptation.

Tags: Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 10, 2017

I always enjoy dining at Montecito! The staff are friendly and engaging and the food delicious with nice sharing options and variety! The location is excellent for downtown entertainment and the staff and kitchen willing to accommodate your time accordingly! The ambiance of the restaurant ensures a positive dining experience!

Tags: Healthy, Quiet Conversation, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on May 7, 2017

The wait staff was completely inattentive. After ordering a bottle of wine it took almost 1 hour for the bottle to arrive at the table. The waitress opening the bottle had no idea how to open the bottle and as a result broke the cork.
It was over an hour before the food arrived and this was only after complaining to the wait staff and the kitchen staff in the open kitchen. We were told they weren't expecting the restaurant to be so busy. I don't think half the tables were occupied.
This was my third time at this restaurant and the first time I've had such dismal table service

Tags: Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service1
value2

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on May 7, 2017

We did early Mother's Day here, and it was great. Loved the appetizers: meatballs, soup, kale salad were all excellent. Service was fantastic, they really worked as a team, we had drinks at the bar ahead of time, and we loved our server in the bar especially. She was so gracious.
The decor is really beautiful, and my mom is older, yet she could still hear pretty well given the nice high ceilings.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on May 7, 2017

Birthday dinner

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on April 30, 2017

This visit was a chance for Montecito to redeem itself after the management took numerous details for a celebration dinner last year and then never followed up with reservation details. (We ended up making a last minute reservation elsewhere.)
This time it was a Saturday night dinner.
The food is very, very good and the wait staff totally professional and on point. The atmosphere is lovely, though noisy with the high ceilings and all hard surfaces.
But to have this experience you need to get past some of the most inhospitable, officious and arrogant front of house staff I've encountered.
When calling to confirm the 8:15 reservation, I was told we could be asked to leave our table after two hours so other guests could be seated at 10:15. Give me a break.
Clearly, there's still work to do on treating customers as guests.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Seasonal, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 30, 2017

Amazing food service and ambiance. Our waiter and hostess were so great and would go back just for them non the less the food that was spectacular!

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 29, 2017

We booked this restaurant for a Saturday night over 2 months in advance. When our party of 4 arrived for our 7pm table, the hostess advised that we would have to be done by 9pm. This is a policy which should be made clear when booking or at the very least when confirming, but not upon arrival. Then she proceeded to seat us next to the bussing station when 3 perfectly fine booths were available. Why? Apparently because the server for those booths just had 3 other parties arrive simultaneously. Unacceptable on so many levels. After a lengthy check with somebody out of sight, we were seated appropriately. Ironically, the server was the only part of the evening which was acceptable. The food was definitely not. The duck special for 2 was barely edible as it was very tough and undercooked. My wife went home hungry. The bill ultimately was about $250 per couple (with drinks but no bottle of wine) which is in line with decent downtown restaurants but this one surely did not qualify. And the 9pm requirement was moot because there was no point in time after 8:30 which saw all main dining room tables occupied. I don't review often and when i do it is typically positive. Not this time. There are way too many good restaurants in this city to have their client base diluted by a wannabe.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value1

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 29, 2017

The food and service were excellent. My wife had the short ribs which were extremely tender and tasty. I had the strip loin which was done to perfection. The service was excellent. They were slow in bringing out a side dish we had ordered so they took the charge off the bill. We definitely would go back.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, Casual, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Toronto)·Dined on April 20, 2017

Chicken recipe was changed and not as good as before. Prices are high Bread is 9.00. And side dishes too expensive.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value2

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Very nice Easter brunch. Great variety of food. Great service day the waiter explained the options and encouraged the diners to try different dishes.

Tags: Fun, Pre/post Theatre, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Toronto)·Dined on April 8, 2017

Great open room, noisy but not TOO noisy, menu changes regularly but them make sure to cover all the basics (big read meat, fish, pastas, pizza). This is well above average food served by true professionals who know how to roll with the punches regardless of the clientele in front of them.

Mixed drinks are exceptional, 'family style' red meat and fish are GREAT, the kale salad is one of the best in towns and the deserts are well worth the effort.

Service is professional without being stuffy.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Bar Seating, Business Meals, Family Style, Fun, Open Kitchen, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on April 8, 2017

Food was very Good, if a bit pricey. Staff was very attentive. A little loud but overall a good experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

vip
 (Toronto)·Dined on April 6, 2017

Great ambiance. The room is really nice and well designed. Food and service are top notch. Wine by the glass list is weak but pricing is fair. Perfect spot for before or after a show. If this was in the financial district you would never be able to get a table

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on April 2, 2017

Great atmosphere, great music and of course good food. Our server was excellent; great customer service.

Tags: Hot Spot, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on April 1, 2017

Great place to eat before a show. Food was fantastic, especially the Kale Salad and the Beets.

Tags: Special Occasion, Fun, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on March 29, 2017

I would not recommend this restaurant!!
We were a table of 4 adults, the service was slow!!
Also 3 of our entrees had to be returned(cold food)
To the kitchen and we waited a Very long time for the meals!! I don't know how this establishment survives!! Mediocre food, slow service, not what we were expecting!! I will not be speaking highly of this restaurant!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service2
value1

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 25, 2017

Went there before going to a Mirvish Tickets play… Dinner, service and ambiance was excellent

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on March 24, 2017

Went before the theatre and had a great meal with outstanding service from start to finish.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on March 24, 2017

Good food and a pleasant atmosphere for a nice business lunch.

Tags: Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Great for Lunch, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Quiet Conversation, Good for Groups, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on March 23, 2017

Enjoyed the food and atmosphere. Service was excellent. Made for a great dining experience.

Tags: Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Casual, Good for Birthdays, Pre/post Theatre, Tapas, Sunday Lunch, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on March 22, 2017

Took a group of 8 business associates. Food and atmosphere was great.

Service was polite but on the slower side and not as attentive compared to previous visits. Entrees arrived 2:15 after we arrived. Luckily the company and conversations were good. Coat check process was a bit of a gong show.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 18, 2017

Great atmosphere! Hip menu. The trout tartare was phenomenal. Service was exemplary!!

Tags: Modern Decor, Hot Spot, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on March 8, 2017

An excellent menu. Interesting choices. Fast, friendly service without feeling at all rushed.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Booked dinner for close access to Princess of Wales theater. Appreciated the valet parking option. Also liked how extra food not eaten was neatly packed up for pickup after the show. The Montecito chicken dinner was superb. Sides of potatoe and brussels sprouts were also very tasty !

Tags: Molecular Gastronomy, Modern Decor, Good Vegetarian Options, Notable Wine List, Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.