About Montecito

299 Adelaide Street West
Toronto, ON M5V 1P7
View Larger Map

Montecito Restaurant is a modern restaurant collaboration between Hollywood director Ivan Reitman and Toronto-based Innov8 Hospitality. The vision for Montecito has been from the beginning to create an environment that captivates a wide audience and brings them together in an exceptional space.

Like its Southern California namesake, Montecito combines a casual elegance with effortless sophistication in the heart of Toronto’s Entertainment District. The two-storey dining room, lounge and outdoor Adelaide Street-facing patio is located steps away from film festival headquarters at TIFF Bell Lightbox.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Californian, Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
HOURS OF OPERATION

MONDAY TO WEDNESDAY 11:30AM – 12AM MIDNIGHT

THURSDAY TO SATURDAY 11:30AM – 2AM

SUNDAY 11AM – 12AM MIDNIGHT (Brunch 11:00AM to 3:00PM)

Cross Street:
Widmer St

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
CAN$31 to CAN$50

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(416) 599-0299

Website:
http://www.montecitorestaurant.ca/

Entertainment:
DJ takes over the night every week from Thursday till Saturday, starting at 9:00p.m. entertaining our guests, while you enjoy the dinner. Step into the after dinner mode with music and ambience of an elite upmarket and relaxed lounge.

Parking Details:
Valet Parking is available every night.

Public Transit:
Closest streetcar stops are King St W and John St or Queen St W and Peter St.

Closest subway stops are Osgoode Station or St Andrew Station

Executive Chef:
Matt Robertson

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Late Night, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Montecito
Montecito
Montecito
Pork Chop
Chocolate Chip Cookie Ice Cream Sandwich
Stay Puft Marshmallow Man Baked Alaska
Buffalo Mozzarella Pizza
Burger
Spaghetti Carbonara
Kale Salad

Private Dining

Inspired by its Southern Californian namesake, Montecito offers an unparalleled group dining experience, serving a family-style spread that features the finest of seasonal products. We invite you to experience and indulge in our crowd-pleasing hors d’oeuvres, salads, entrees and delicious dessert.

Montecito Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4.3

ambience

4.4

value

3.7

noise

Moderate

88% would recommend it to a friend

fit for foodies (91)
special occasion (74)
good for groups (69)
See All
romantic (42)
hot spot (37)
great for lunch (37)
notable wine list (33)
neighborhood gem (29)
great for brunch (28)
vibrant bar scene (15)
great for outdoor dining (11)
late-night find (6)
scenic view (6)
kid-friendly (4)
Sort By:
Newest
451 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

We were very disappointed with the menu! ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined 5 days ago

We were very disappointed with the menu! Very limited!

Tags: vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service2
value1

Went there for summerlicious. Food was ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on July 21, 2016

Went there for summerlicious. Food was really nothing special except I did like the chocalate bar dessert

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value2

Amazing food-one of top restaurants in t ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on July 20, 2016

Amazing food-one of top restaurants in the city for sure

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Their Eggplant caviar dish is outstandin ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on July 19, 2016

Their Eggplant caviar dish is outstanding. The entire evening was relaxing, fun and enjoyable along with our wine selection and shared appetizers. It was our first time and we hope to return soon.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Went to Montecito for lunch during Summe ...

vip
 (Toronto)
·Dined on July 19, 2016

Went to Montecito for lunch during Summerlicious. Food was delicious and server was attentive and made great suggestions. Highly recommend.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was decent, but the prices were ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

The food was decent, but the prices were outrageous considering what was on offer. Service was quick and efficient. I went expecting their summerlicious menu, but got bait and switched into the buffet after we were seated.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value1

Love this restaurant. It's beautiful wit ...

vip
 (Toronto)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Love this restaurant. It's beautiful with cathedral ceilings and plenty of space between tables for privacy.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Nailed it again! Our 2nd visit, equally ...

vip
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Nailed it again! Our 2nd visit, equally as good as the first time. Seated right away. Waiter was prompt to the table. All food fresh and tasty. Service top notch. Kale salad is a MUST, it's big enough for 4 people. Flank steak was incredible. Perfectly cooked. Just go....and splurge.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

The best part was the oysters, but the 1 ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

The best part was the oysters, but the 1 hour wait for them was far too long. Even then, we were only given a very small bit of mignonette with horseradish and nothing else. The food was rather bland and the service was very slow. My lamb was undercooked (asked for med rare, it came blue) and my friends pizza was terrible. She didn't even eat it. For the price, it was not worth it.

I would only come back for drinks and oysters, but even then, not likely.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value1

Food and selection is very good and uniq ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

Food and selection is very good and unique. The appetizers ware good portions and the trout and halibut were outstanding.

A bit disappointed in some selections sold out at 7p.m. - not to be expected at that early hour..

Tags: good for groups, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

We had a delicious sunmerlicious dinner ...

vip
 (Toronto)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

We had a delicious sunmerlicious dinner menu. I'm rarely impressed with summer/winterlicious fixed price menus but Montecito's was delicious, popular items chosen from their regular menu. The kale salad was huge, dressed as a caeser but less wet if that makes any sense. The tuna crudo was lovely, jw chicken was juicy and Bavette steak had tons of flavour. There was nothing about our meal that we would change. Service was top notch, very friendly, on top of everything. Can't wait to return!

Note: if you ever come and there is a tuna option on the entree part of the menu, get it. I had it months ago and it was the best I've ever had.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Went to Montecito in a Wednesday for an ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on July 13, 2016

Went to Montecito in a Wednesday for an early dinner. Half price drinks special was only available at the bar although there was noone in the bar, it was only a few feet away and the bar menu is exactly the same as the main menu. Had to pay full price if we sat at the table. We were told the kitchen coukd not do anything off the menu and we could not get something simple like a salad with chicken unless (mayyybe) you wanted half a roast chicken on top of an existing salad. Not many vegetarian options. The cheese board for 3 people had 4 pieces of bread and looked disappointing. I had the buffalo mozzarella pizza and it had some kind of chili pepper in the tomato sauce; not a good sauce. The place was empty and staff kept coming by too fast to clear glasses and dishes when we weren't quite done. The waiter was exceptionally nice but frankly all the staff seemed depressed. My friend actually asked one of the staff if something was wrong. Not a good vibe and wouldn't go again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service4
value2

Great experience, kale salade was excell ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on July 11, 2016

Great experience, kale salade was excellent, everybody loved their meal. I will come back next time I'm in Toronto!

Tags: fit for foodies, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Great interior design. Starter salad po ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on July 11, 2016

Great interior design.

Starter salad portion was too big.

Cheese plate was served without cheese knife. .

Overall good California experience. Silent and cosy.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4

Wonderful - heirloom greens salad, lime ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on July 11, 2016

Wonderful - heirloom greens salad, lime cheesecake

Pedestrian, sloppy - prosciutto & cheese

Had better, sauce not unctuous, but pork bits terrific - carbonara

Too dense - gnocchi

Too sweet - alaska mousse

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value3

We had a great time. I would recommend t ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

We had a great time. I would recommend this restaurant to anyone.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Ambience, spectacular! Service, exceptio ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Ambience, spectacular! Service, exceptional! Music setting mood, ideal! Meal, outstanding!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I chose this restaurant based on the inv ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

I chose this restaurant based on the inviting description on the internet and I was not disappointed. It was a wonderful experience from the moment we entered to the moment we left. Both the client that I brought and I plan to return.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The pizza was fantastic. Healthy and sha ...

vip
 (Toronto)
·Dined on July 7, 2016

The pizza was fantastic. Healthy and sharing, very good value, and a strong wine list.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

great ambiance, quite spacious ... atten ...

 
 (London)
·Dined on June 27, 2016

great ambiance, quite spacious ...

attentive service...

cheese and ham board was impressive...

all entrees were good...

overall a nice dining experience

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

The MOST uncomfortable booths we have EV ...

vip
 (Toronto)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

The MOST uncomfortable booths we have EVER sat in! Kale salad and zucchini fries were great. Cod and Tuna were incredibly bland and barely enough to make us full. Thank goodness we had two appetizers beforehand. Chocolate-banana dessert was mediocre.

We've been twice before but it's gone so downhill that we will likely not return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

Had a great time celebrating the fact th ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

Had a great time celebrating the fact that we are home owners! The food is great - such a great spot in the city!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

We had a wonderful time - celebrated our ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on June 22, 2016

We had a wonderful time - celebrated our 20th wedding anniversary. Service was really attentive and the food was amazing. They even had customized menu to commemorate the occasion. Thank you so much!

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Second time I've dined at Montecito in t ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on June 20, 2016

Second time I've dined at Montecito in the last couple of months. Good ambiance, service and environment. Thought the food was fair this time (disappointing) and the price value relationship average. Will give it another shot but in no hurry to get back there.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

Thank you I was very delighted with the ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on June 20, 2016

Thank you I was very delighted with the service! Very helpful, polite and knowledgeable without being intrusive.

The food was excellent and I will definitely be dining there again!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service1
value1

Our server was a little distracted and a ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on June 17, 2016

Our server was a little distracted and absent. Not quite the level we have come to expect at Montecito.

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value4

Our server gave me a lecture on how I sh ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on June 16, 2016

Our server gave me a lecture on how I should have my beef done and when I got my plate it was not what I requested. Unfortunately, I could not say much since I was there for my friend's birthday and did not want to spoil the occasion for her.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1
value1

So romantic! Will definitely be back nex ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

So romantic! Will definitely be back next time I want to have brunch!

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great for lunch during the week, totally ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

Great for lunch during the week, totally different on the weekend.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value2

Fun, well-designed spot. Went with high ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on June 9, 2016

Fun, well-designed spot. Went with high hopes as it came well-recommended. However, the desire on the part of staff to provide a great experience starts to become a cover for what I found to be imaginative, well-presented food that is good but not great. In other words, it's a little pretentious.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4

Really fabulous restaurant! Food and ser ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on June 4, 2016

Really fabulous restaurant! Food and service both divine.

Tags: fit for foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

Great location and dinner

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on June 4, 2016

Went on a Saturday night for dinner. Place was about 3/4 full. Plenty of staff to handle our attention. Meal was exceptional. Wife had chicken, I had pork pasta dish. Side of asparagus and potatoes and we had much more than we could have possibly consumed. A Staypuff desert topped off our wonderful evening. Service was great, atmosphere was great, location was great. Wonderful and relaxing dinner.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Wonderful experience

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on May 30, 2016

We came here to celebrate our birthdays and it was a great experience. Service was especially attentive and quick. It was a nice touch of marking the occasion on personalized menus addressing us. The food was good. I had the pizza and my friend had the duck which she said was really tender and tasteful. I will definitely return with an appetite for the pasta dishes they have. Overall a great experience.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

We had a good time but air con was OFF !

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on May 29, 2016

We sweated uncomfortably the entire time and were so hot the experience was ruined. Three or four times we asked about the incredible heat and got a few minutes of a/c and then returned to sweat box conditions. May return in fall once hear of summer has passed and our discomfortable memory has faded. Poor strategy on a day when it was 34 ° celcius PLUS humidity in Toronto.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

What a fantastic experience!! first time ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on May 27, 2016

What a fantastic experience!! first time there, not last for sure!! Beautiful interior what a unique space!! food was great. I brought two colleagues for a birthday lunch and they loved it as did I. Fantastic spot, and very friendly vibe.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great service and fantastic food. We wen ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on May 22, 2016

Great service and fantastic food. We went for brunch and was not disappointed. Would definitely go back!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great service

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on May 22, 2016

Great service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Good treatment

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on May 21, 2016

We had look on line and decided what we wanted. My wife was disappointed when her choice wasn't on the menu for that day. We told the server who sent over a manager who arranged for the kitchen to make it. She loved her meal.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Too Bad Birthday's Are Only Once A Year!

vip
 (Toronto)
·Dined on May 21, 2016

Had a wonderful birthday dinner with the family. Really appreciated the concept of the menu in terms of "farm to table". The staff are extremely knowledgeable about the menu and added value in helping us decide on appetizers to share and mains. I recommend that the Kale Salad be part of any sharing of other appetizers. We had the Tuna Poke and Cheeseboard to share. The salad provides a "refresher" between samples of cheese and tuna. Likewise the sides are very generous in their portions and we just picked two (Mushroom and highly recommended JW Potatoes) for our table of four. The main courses were all perfectly prepared. The seafood was cooked to moist tender perfection.

Wine selection was very good and we were very pleased that there were a few options for organic wines to meet our needs.

Atmosphere is pleasant and "fun" with movie memorabilia tastefully integrated into the decor.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Superb in every way!

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on May 18, 2016

Outstanding business luncheon. Server was knowledgeable and on point with recognizing we were conducting a business luncheon. Food was amazing. Really good crowd of influencers from the city were dining at the same time....very cool. Looking forward to our next visit.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.