About Montecito

Montecito Restaurant is a restaurant collaboration between Hollywood director Ivan Reitman and Toronto-based Innov8 Hospitality. The vision for Montecito has been from the beginning to create an environment that captivates a wide audience and brings them together in an exceptional space.

Like its Southern California namesake, Montecito combines a casual elegance with effortless sophistication in the heart of Toronto’s Entertainment District. Our two-storey dining room, lounge and outdoor patio is located steps away from Film Festival Headquarters at TIFF Bell Lightbox. While our Farm-to-Table menu highlights various purveyors from across Canada and changes weekly based on seasonal availability.

Have you Discovered Montecito?

299 Adelaide Street West
Toronto, ON M5V 1P7
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Californian, Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
HOURS OF OPERATION

MONDAY TO WEDNESDAY 11:30AM – 11PM

THURSDAY TO SATURDAY 11:30AM – 1AM

SUNDAY 11AM – 11PM (Buffet Brunch Only from 11:00AM to 3:00PM)

Cross Street:
Widmer St

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
CAN$31 to CAN$50

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(416) 599-0299

Website:
http://www.montecitorestaurant.ca/

Entertainment:
DJ takes over the night every week from Thursday till Saturday, starting at 9:00p.m. entertaining our guests, while you enjoy the dinner. Step into the after dinner mode with music and ambience of an elite upmarket and relaxed lounge.

Parking Details:
Valet Parking is available every night.

Public Transit:
Closest streetcar stops are King St W and John St or Queen St W and Peter St.

Closest subway stops are Osgoode Station or St Andrew Station

Executive Chef:
Matt Robertson

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Chef's Table, Cocktails, Corkage Fee, Entertainment, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Private Dining

Inspired by its Southern Californian namesake, Montecito offers an unparalleled group dining experience, serving a family-style spread that features the finest of seasonal products. We invite you to experience and indulge in our crowd-pleasing hors d’oeuvres, salads, entrees and delicious dessert.

Montecito Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4.4

ambience

4.4

value

3.8

noise

Moderate

89% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (46)
Good for a Date (39)
Modern Decor (36)
See All
Business Meals (29)
Good for Groups (28)
Good for Anniversaries (28)
Pre/post Theatre (27)
Good for Birthdays (27)
Creative Cuisine (26)
Romantic (23)
Fit for Foodies (22)
Notable Wine List (20)
Local Ingredients (19)
Great for Lunch (17)
Fun (15)
Hot Spot (15)
Casual (14)
Sunday Lunch (11)
Neighborhood Gem (11)
Open Kitchen (10)
Great for Brunch (9)
Happy Hour (9)
People Watching (9)
Bar Seating (8)
Family Style (8)
Healthy (8)
Comfort Food (8)
Cozy (8)
Authentic (8)
Private Room (7)
Quiet Conversation (7)
Handcrafted Cocktails (7)
Worth the Drive (7)
Good Vegetarian Options (6)
Late-night Find (5)
Organic (4)
Seasonal (4)
Wood Oven (4)
Gluten Free Options (4)
Quick Bite (3)
Outstanding Value (3)
Kid-friendly (3)
Disabled Access (3)
Tasting Menu (3)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (2)
Great for Outdoor Dining (2)
Vegan (2)
Live Music (2)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Dancing (1)
Scenic View (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Tapas (1)
Great Beer (1)
Sort By:
S
622 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 4 days ago

Great atmosphere! Hip menu. The trout tartare was phenomenal. Service was exemplary!!

Tags: Modern Decor, Hot Spot, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on March 8, 2017

An excellent menu. Interesting choices. Fast, friendly service without feeling at all rushed.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Booked dinner for close access to Princess of Wales theater. Appreciated the valet parking option. Also liked how extra food not eaten was neatly packed up for pickup after the show. The Montecito chicken dinner was superb. Sides of potatoe and brussels sprouts were also very tasty !

Tags: Molecular Gastronomy, Modern Decor, Good Vegetarian Options, Notable Wine List, Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Poor service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service1
value2

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on March 4, 2017

Though the ambiance and decor were nice and the food was quite good, I found the meal overpriced for the portion provided. Additionally the the mains did not come with sides, and our server did not advise us of this. So my mother was given a meal that was simply a steak on a plate. If we had of known we would have ordered a side, but once the mains came it was too late to order. I really felt that this was an oversight on the server's part. Dessert was very overpriced for the portion given and the coffee was served lukewarm. Was overall dissapointed with the experience and was embarrassed to have brought my parents there.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service1
value2

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on March 3, 2017

Service was excellent from the host to the bar and into the dining room.
Our server was very accommodating to our table that had guests coming and going. Very relaxed and professional service. Never felt rushed or unwelcomed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 28, 2017

Portion sizes were very big. Quality ingredients. Great wine list but fairly pricey. Overall great atmosphere, excellent service, good food but found it pricey ($350 for two people having app, main, coffee and shared a bottle of wine).

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, People Watching, Private Room, Business Meals, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 22, 2017

The place is a bit expensive for the quality of food they serve. We ordered one appetizer, 2 main dishes and one dessert. It was probably just our case, but the appetizer was too blend, and one of the main dishes had a lot of fat. The other one (pork shoulder) was absolutely yummy.
The ambiance is good, as well as the service. But I still think it was too expensive for what it offered.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 19, 2017

We were delighted with Montecito! The Kale Salad was so delicious that I shall try to copy it myself! My husband's steak was cooked to perfection and I quite enjoyed the cod. Our daughter's thin crust mushroom pizza was incredibly tasty -- we loved the fresh arugula on the top!
It's a big restaurant, but despite the large numbers of people who came in to eat while we were there, the noise level really wasn't a problem.
The restrooms are upstairs and clean.
The next time we visit Toronto, we will certainly try Montecito again!

Tags: Family Style, Creative Cuisine, Pre/post Theatre, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 18, 2017

An incredible ambiance with great staff in the heart of the theatre district. The Kale Salad and Meatballs with Polenta are absolutely must have starters!

A great & extensive cocktail menu.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 18, 2017

Not what it was. After departing the partnership with Jonathan Wamann, the quality has dropped significantly. Such a shame.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value2

vip
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 18, 2017

Excellent food and service! The Kale salad is a must have!

Tags: Organic, Good for Birthdays, Vegan, Cozy, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 17, 2017

Awesome - will be back! Loved the whole meal and our waitress was outstanding

Tags: Tasting Menu, Casual, Comfort Food, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Quiet Conversation, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 17, 2017

Can't go wrong with the delicious fried chicken! Wish it was available in the dining room.

Tags: Disabled Access, Handcrafted Cocktails, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 16, 2017

The service was excellent and the food, while delicious, was not as hot as it should have been. Otherwise it was a great evening out. I would go back.

Tags: Authentic, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Went on Valentine's night
Something not quite right with the Ambiance - server was great , her first night but excellent .
Bar service was very slow and the girl serving was also drinking and not to bothered about offering good service- made my drink incorrectly twice .
Nice place but disappointing.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 15, 2017

it is the worst experiment ever in restaurants. Someone gave me the wrong bill. someone tell me I can just go to front door to pick up my car. But front desk said no one told them before. It waste my 15 mins to wait. Terrible
desk and place. we were feelling we were ignored. I wont recommend any one to go there. And the food is ok to eat.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value2

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Great place!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 14, 2017

A wonderful experience. The staff were attentive in the best way possible, the food was creative and a literal feast for the senses, and the atmosphere was nigh perfect.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Saskatoon)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Highly recommend. Great food and was really fun. Attended with colleagues from work and a great spot to check out!!!

Tags: Hot Spot, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value3

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Came here for an early Valentine's celebration and absolutely loved it! Staff was very friendly and helpful. The waitress gave great recommendations for every course and really knew her stuff. The food was all absolutely delicious. Atmosphere was perfect - loved the decor and the playlist. Would definitely come again.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Gluten Free Options, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Good for Birthdays, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Good service. Personalized menu and glasses of prosecco (in lieu of dessert) for a birthday. Wasn't able to order a main off their prix fix menu which was mildly disappointing but understandable. Food was very good, not spectacular. All proteins cooked perfectly, but overall flavour was missing something. Maybe seasoning? Hard to say. Anyway, fun environment, but very expensive.

Tags: Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 10, 2017

Love, love the kale salad, and the chicken. Service is fast, attentive and pleasant. Perfect for pre theatre meal

Tags: Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 9, 2017

Montecito is always wonderful. Service is excellent. Meals are consistently excellent. Winterlicious was a great value.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Open Kitchen, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 9, 2017

We stopped in Montecito for lunch before seeing an afternoon show at TIFF. It was very convenient and lunch was superb. I was particularly impressed by the service, which was both thoughtful and knowledgable. Staff members really seemed to care that we had the best experience possible, which makes for a wonderful dining experience. Highly recommended!

Tags: People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Service was very good. I've been here 3x in the last 2 months. The Kale salad and dessert (chocolate) were good but not exceptional. The chicken was very good, can't complain. I would order this again in the future. The pork shoulder was also very good.
I had the cod as well before, very good although the piece was small for the price.
I will try to go for Brunch one day and see how it is!

Tags: Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Amazing service and friendly staff. If they know it is someone's birthday they custom print the menu to wish the person a Happy Birthday. Little touches like this and huge on detail. Must visit again.

Tags: Romantic, Happy Hour, Authentic, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 3, 2017

The food as well as the ambiance were great. Our server was excellent. I will effeminately go back. Such a good meal!

Tags: Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 2, 2017

We had a lovely experience. The menu has great options. Food was delicious. The staff was incredibly friendly, respectful and attentive. It definitely is an influence in wanting to go back

Tags: Healthy, Neighborhood Gem, Fun, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 2, 2017

Winterlicious menu was great and wine pairing was really great too

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Good for a Date, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Toronto)·Dined on January 31, 2017

Great experience. Very enjoyable. Please put those incredible scallops on the lunch menu!

Tags: Modern Decor, Pre/post Theatre, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on January 30, 2017

My friend and I went for Winterlicious. Chicken was too salty. Soup and Dessert were great. My friend got sick few hours after the meal. We suspected it was the dessert that had egg as part of the ingredient .

Tags: Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Pre theatre brunch on a Sunday with a few women friends. Superb! Wonderful food and never felt rushed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Toronto)·Dined on January 28, 2017

The food, service and ambiance is always wonderful at Montecito. This time was no exception and it is especially nice when you are remembered by the staff as is the case at Montecito where we were given our favourite corner booth table and warmly welcomed by the manager too. These are special touches that no obly make you feel welcomed but make you feel special!
Our date night was perfect! Thank you Montecito for always being spot on even during Winterlicious when other restaurants drop the ball!

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Modern Decor, Good Vegetarian Options, Creative Cuisine, Private Room, Pre/post Theatre, Wood Oven, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Paleo Friendly, Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Casual, Hot Spot, People Watching, Gluten Free Options, Open Kitchen, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on January 28, 2017

My friends and I decided to try this restaurant as part of Winterlicious - it was great value for the money and we would definitely go back again. the server was a bit agressive at the beginning but then seemed to relax with us. she may have been having a bad day, but it didnt ruin the experience.

Tags: Special Occasion, Fun, Sunday Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

vip
 (Toronto)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Friday night dinner for 2 couples first time at Montecito. Nice welcome at entrance and dining room not full. Noise level ok; they appear to have listened about the loud music! Our server was efficient yet she seemed annoyed and wasn't really very personable. We all had cocktails. Glasses more than half filled with very large ice cubes. My drink didn't even reach ice cubes?! No straw or stir stick. We were chatting and enjoying our drinks and server came over no less than 4 times asking if we were ready to order. We had menus out and were in full chat each time. It was getting silly. We brought a bottle of wine (their wine list isn't posted anywhere and we knew their mark up is really high). We did order a second bottle from menu too. Fogo island scallops were sublime. And they should be. 2 small scallops for $18! Kale salad was fine but no big deal. Would have been better with some veggies and other ingredients. Beef short ribs were excellent but a very small portion for $35. A few tablespoons of potato. 3 of us shared the 32 ounce steak. There was barely enough for 3. The large bone in the steak would account for a lot of weight, so this really isn't 32 ounces ... It was tasty and well cooked at medium rare. Mushroom side was in an odd sauce and not very good. Brussel sprouts were tasty but over cooked and drenched in sauce. Both sides are very small and would serve 2 not 3 and def not 4! One chocolate dessert ordered and was tasty but tiny! Served on a huge plate ... We had a great evening with friends but were not overly impressed with Montecito for price and quantity of food. I had another dinner scheduled there in 2 weeks and cancelled. Won't be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value2

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on January 27, 2017

We came for the Friday night oyster special (in the brasserie) and stayed for Winterlicous. The service was friendly, helpful, understanding and attentive. The wine prices were reasonable, the Winterlicious menu had very nice options and large portions. We sat in the Brasserie which was upbeat and fun but the dining rooms looked lovely as well. One thing I noted was an oval table for 6 or 8...it's a small thing but seating a group at a table like that allows better conversation around the table.

I will definitely be back!

Tags: Hot Spot, Happy Hour, Private Room, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on January 27, 2017

I've been to Montecito a number of times and enjoy it each time. The service is impeccable and we are always treated well and remembered. It's nice to have these special touches when the wait staff, hosts and manager are all so welcoming.

We had the usual Porterhouse which was cooked perfectly and the recommendation by the waiter to have the sunchokes was spot on!

Thank you Montecito for another great evening.

Tags: Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, Business Meals, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on January 25, 2017

Montecito hit the spot with my sales team from all corners of the world. Great service and excellent food.

Tags: Family Style, Worth the Drive, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 22, 2017

They ran out of oysters and roast beef by 1:30 pm when we arrived, although brunch is supposed to be on until 3pm. Our group of four chose the place specifically because it supposedly had seafood at the brunch bar. There were no good alternatives presented. When we spoke to the manager, the best she could do was pass along her business card and suggest we call ahead next time and she'd keep some oysters aside for us. Pretty ridiculous approach to get us to come back when we were expressing dissatisfaction with our current experience. Coffee service and table clearing was quite slow. Overall, very poor customer service and it turned out to be poor value for money as well!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value1

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.