About Montecito

Montecito Restaurant is a restaurant collaboration between Hollywood director Ivan Reitman and Toronto-based Innov8 Hospitality. The vision for Montecito has been from the beginning to create an environment that captivates a wide audience and brings them together in an exceptional space.

Like its Southern California namesake, Montecito combines a casual elegance with effortless sophistication in the heart of Toronto’s Entertainment District. Our two-storey dining room, lounge and outdoor patio is located steps away from Film Festival Headquarters at TIFF Bell Lightbox. While our Farm-to-Table menu highlights various purveyors from across Canada and changes weekly based on seasonal availability.

Have you Discovered Montecito?

299 Adelaide Street West
Toronto, ON M5V 1P7
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Californian, Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
HOURS OF OPERATION

MONDAY TO WEDNESDAY 11:30AM – 11PM

THURSDAY TO SATURDAY 11:30AM – 1AM

SUNDAY 11AM – 11PM (Buffet Brunch Only from 11:00AM to 3:00PM)

Cross Street:
Widmer St

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
CAN$31 to CAN$50

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(416) 599-0299

Website:
http://www.montecitorestaurant.ca/

Entertainment:
DJ takes over the night every week from Thursday till Saturday, starting at 9:00p.m. entertaining our guests, while you enjoy the dinner. Step into the after dinner mode with music and ambience of an elite upmarket and relaxed lounge.

Parking Details:
Valet Parking is available every night.

Public Transit:
Closest streetcar stops are King St W and John St or Queen St W and Peter St.

Closest subway stops are Osgoode Station or St Andrew Station

Executive Chef:
Matt Robertson

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Chef's Table, Cocktails, Corkage Fee, Entertainment, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Private Dining

Inspired by its Southern Californian namesake, Montecito offers an unparalleled group dining experience, serving a family-style spread that features the finest of seasonal products. We invite you to experience and indulge in our crowd-pleasing hors d’oeuvres, salads, entrees and delicious dessert.

Montecito Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4.4

ambience

4.4

value

3.7

noise

Moderate

88% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (39)
Good for a Date (37)
Modern Decor (33)
See All
Business Meals (32)
Good for Groups (29)
Creative Cuisine (28)
Pre/post Theatre (27)
Good for Birthdays (24)
Notable Wine List (23)
Good for Anniversaries (23)
Fit for Foodies (21)
Romantic (18)
Fun (17)
Local Ingredients (16)
Casual (14)
Great for Lunch (13)
Hot Spot (13)
Sunday Lunch (11)
Open Kitchen (10)
Quiet Conversation (9)
Neighborhood Gem (9)
Authentic (9)
Family Style (8)
Private Room (8)
Happy Hour (8)
Comfort Food (8)
Handcrafted Cocktails (8)
People Watching (7)
Cozy (7)
Healthy (7)
Great for Brunch (7)
Bar Seating (6)
Organic (4)
Worth the Drive (4)
Late-night Find (4)
Seasonal (4)
Wood Oven (3)
Quick Bite (3)
Vegan (2)
Tapas (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Great for Outdoor Dining (2)
Live Music (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (2)
Great Beer (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Scenic View (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Dancing (1)
Sort By:
S
636 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Toronto)·Dined on April 20, 2017

Chicken recipe was changed and not as good as before. Prices are high Bread is 9.00. And side dishes too expensive.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value2

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Very nice Easter brunch. Great variety of food. Great service day the waiter explained the options and encouraged the diners to try different dishes.

Tags: Fun, Pre/post Theatre, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Toronto)·Dined on April 8, 2017

Great open room, noisy but not TOO noisy, menu changes regularly but them make sure to cover all the basics (big read meat, fish, pastas, pizza). This is well above average food served by true professionals who know how to roll with the punches regardless of the clientele in front of them.

Mixed drinks are exceptional, 'family style' red meat and fish are GREAT, the kale salad is one of the best in towns and the deserts are well worth the effort.

Service is professional without being stuffy.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Bar Seating, Business Meals, Family Style, Fun, Open Kitchen, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on April 8, 2017

Food was very Good, if a bit pricey. Staff was very attentive. A little loud but overall a good experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

vip
 (Toronto)·Dined on April 6, 2017

Great ambiance. The room is really nice and well designed. Food and service are top notch. Wine by the glass list is weak but pricing is fair. Perfect spot for before or after a show. If this was in the financial district you would never be able to get a table

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on April 2, 2017

Great atmosphere, great music and of course good food. Our server was excellent; great customer service.

Tags: Hot Spot, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on April 1, 2017

Great place to eat before a show. Food was fantastic, especially the Kale Salad and the Beets.

Tags: Special Occasion, Fun, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on March 29, 2017

I would not recommend this restaurant!!
We were a table of 4 adults, the service was slow!!
Also 3 of our entrees had to be returned(cold food)
To the kitchen and we waited a Very long time for the meals!! I don't know how this establishment survives!! Mediocre food, slow service, not what we were expecting!! I will not be speaking highly of this restaurant!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service2
value1

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 25, 2017

Went there before going to a Mirvish Tickets play… Dinner, service and ambiance was excellent

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on March 24, 2017

Went before the theatre and had a great meal with outstanding service from start to finish.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on March 24, 2017

Good food and a pleasant atmosphere for a nice business lunch.

Tags: Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Great for Lunch, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Quiet Conversation, Good for Groups, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on March 23, 2017

Enjoyed the food and atmosphere. Service was excellent. Made for a great dining experience.

Tags: Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Casual, Good for Birthdays, Pre/post Theatre, Tapas, Sunday Lunch, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on March 22, 2017

Took a group of 8 business associates. Food and atmosphere was great.

Service was polite but on the slower side and not as attentive compared to previous visits. Entrees arrived 2:15 after we arrived. Luckily the company and conversations were good. Coat check process was a bit of a gong show.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 18, 2017

Great atmosphere! Hip menu. The trout tartare was phenomenal. Service was exemplary!!

Tags: Modern Decor, Hot Spot, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on March 8, 2017

An excellent menu. Interesting choices. Fast, friendly service without feeling at all rushed.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Booked dinner for close access to Princess of Wales theater. Appreciated the valet parking option. Also liked how extra food not eaten was neatly packed up for pickup after the show. The Montecito chicken dinner was superb. Sides of potatoe and brussels sprouts were also very tasty !

Tags: Molecular Gastronomy, Modern Decor, Good Vegetarian Options, Notable Wine List, Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Poor service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service1
value2

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on March 4, 2017

Though the ambiance and decor were nice and the food was quite good, I found the meal overpriced for the portion provided. Additionally the the mains did not come with sides, and our server did not advise us of this. So my mother was given a meal that was simply a steak on a plate. If we had of known we would have ordered a side, but once the mains came it was too late to order. I really felt that this was an oversight on the server's part. Dessert was very overpriced for the portion given and the coffee was served lukewarm. Was overall dissapointed with the experience and was embarrassed to have brought my parents there.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service1
value2

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on March 3, 2017

Service was excellent from the host to the bar and into the dining room.
Our server was very accommodating to our table that had guests coming and going. Very relaxed and professional service. Never felt rushed or unwelcomed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 28, 2017

Portion sizes were very big. Quality ingredients. Great wine list but fairly pricey. Overall great atmosphere, excellent service, good food but found it pricey ($350 for two people having app, main, coffee and shared a bottle of wine).

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, People Watching, Private Room, Business Meals, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 22, 2017

The place is a bit expensive for the quality of food they serve. We ordered one appetizer, 2 main dishes and one dessert. It was probably just our case, but the appetizer was too blend, and one of the main dishes had a lot of fat. The other one (pork shoulder) was absolutely yummy.
The ambiance is good, as well as the service. But I still think it was too expensive for what it offered.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 19, 2017

We were delighted with Montecito! The Kale Salad was so delicious that I shall try to copy it myself! My husband's steak was cooked to perfection and I quite enjoyed the cod. Our daughter's thin crust mushroom pizza was incredibly tasty -- we loved the fresh arugula on the top!
It's a big restaurant, but despite the large numbers of people who came in to eat while we were there, the noise level really wasn't a problem.
The restrooms are upstairs and clean.
The next time we visit Toronto, we will certainly try Montecito again!

Tags: Family Style, Creative Cuisine, Pre/post Theatre, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 18, 2017

An incredible ambiance with great staff in the heart of the theatre district. The Kale Salad and Meatballs with Polenta are absolutely must have starters!

A great & extensive cocktail menu.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 18, 2017

Not what it was. After departing the partnership with Jonathan Wamann, the quality has dropped significantly. Such a shame.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value2

vip
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 18, 2017

Excellent food and service! The Kale salad is a must have!

Tags: Organic, Good for Birthdays, Vegan, Cozy, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 17, 2017

Awesome - will be back! Loved the whole meal and our waitress was outstanding

Tags: Tasting Menu, Casual, Comfort Food, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Quiet Conversation, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 17, 2017

Second time here and it was a disappointment. Service was slow and not attentive and we were there at 5:45pm. So they were not busy. Had to ask for bread and our server was never around so we had to ask for help with another server.
Thankfully we got bread for the main's portion was not a lot for the price you pay. The risotto's presentation was boring and unappealing. Overall a disappointment. First time was good, second was bad so I'll give it a third try to make a final decision.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 17, 2017

Can't go wrong with the delicious fried chicken! Wish it was available in the dining room.

Tags: Disabled Access, Handcrafted Cocktails, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 16, 2017

The service was excellent and the food, while delicious, was not as hot as it should have been. Otherwise it was a great evening out. I would go back.

Tags: Authentic, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Went on Valentine's night
Something not quite right with the Ambiance - server was great , her first night but excellent .
Bar service was very slow and the girl serving was also drinking and not to bothered about offering good service- made my drink incorrectly twice .
Nice place but disappointing.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 15, 2017

it is the worst experiment ever in restaurants. Someone gave me the wrong bill. someone tell me I can just go to front door to pick up my car. But front desk said no one told them before. It waste my 15 mins to wait. Terrible
desk and place. we were feelling we were ignored. I wont recommend any one to go there. And the food is ok to eat.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value2

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Great place!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 14, 2017

A wonderful experience. The staff were attentive in the best way possible, the food was creative and a literal feast for the senses, and the atmosphere was nigh perfect.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Saskatoon)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Highly recommend. Great food and was really fun. Attended with colleagues from work and a great spot to check out!!!

Tags: Hot Spot, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value3

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Came here for an early Valentine's celebration and absolutely loved it! Staff was very friendly and helpful. The waitress gave great recommendations for every course and really knew her stuff. The food was all absolutely delicious. Atmosphere was perfect - loved the decor and the playlist. Would definitely come again.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Gluten Free Options, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Good for Birthdays, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Good service. Personalized menu and glasses of prosecco (in lieu of dessert) for a birthday. Wasn't able to order a main off their prix fix menu which was mildly disappointing but understandable. Food was very good, not spectacular. All proteins cooked perfectly, but overall flavour was missing something. Maybe seasoning? Hard to say. Anyway, fun environment, but very expensive.

Tags: Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 10, 2017

Love, love the kale salad, and the chicken. Service is fast, attentive and pleasant. Perfect for pre theatre meal

Tags: Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 9, 2017

Montecito is always wonderful. Service is excellent. Meals are consistently excellent. Winterlicious was a great value.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Open Kitchen, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 9, 2017

We stopped in Montecito for lunch before seeing an afternoon show at TIFF. It was very convenient and lunch was superb. I was particularly impressed by the service, which was both thoughtful and knowledgable. Staff members really seemed to care that we had the best experience possible, which makes for a wonderful dining experience. Highly recommended!

Tags: People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Service was very good. I've been here 3x in the last 2 months. The Kale salad and dessert (chocolate) were good but not exceptional. The chicken was very good, can't complain. I would order this again in the future. The pork shoulder was also very good.
I had the cod as well before, very good although the piece was small for the price.
I will try to go for Brunch one day and see how it is!

Tags: Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.