About Montecito

Montecito Restaurant is a restaurant collaboration between Hollywood director Ivan Reitman and Toronto-based Innov8 Hospitality. The vision for Montecito has been from the beginning to create an environment that captivates a wide audience and brings them together in an exceptional space.

Like its Southern California namesake, Montecito combines a casual elegance with effortless sophistication in the heart of Toronto’s Entertainment District. Our two-storey dining room, lounge and outdoor patio is located steps away from Film Festival Headquarters at TIFF Bell Lightbox. While our Farm-to-Table menu highlights various purveyors from across Canada and changes weekly based on seasonal availability.

Have you Discovered Montecito?

299 Adelaide Street West
Toronto, ON M5V 1P7
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Californian, Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
HOURS OF OPERATION

MONDAY TO WEDNESDAY 11:30AM – 11PM

THURSDAY TO SATURDAY 11:30AM – 1AM

SUNDAY 11AM – 11PM (Buffet Brunch Only from 11:00AM to 3:00PM)

Cross Street:
Widmer St

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
CAN$31 to CAN$50

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(416) 599-0299

Website:
http://www.montecitorestaurant.ca/

Parking Details:
Paid parking is available at 21 Widmer Street.

Public Transit:
Closest streetcar stops are King St W and John St or Queen St W and Peter St.

Closest subway stops are Osgoode Station or St Andrew Station

Executive Chef:
Matthew Simpson

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Chef's Table, Cocktails, Corkage Fee, Entertainment, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Montecito Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.5

ambience

4.5

value

3.9

Noise

Moderate

91% would recommend it to a friend

Pre/post Theatre (36)
Good for a Date (35)
Special Occasion (33)
See All
Business Meals (31)
Good for Anniversaries (25)
Good for Birthdays (24)
Creative Cuisine (23)
Romantic (23)
Fit for Foodies (22)
Good for Groups (22)
Local Ingredients (21)
Fun (19)
People Watching (16)
Quiet Conversation (15)
Hot Spot (15)
Handcrafted Cocktails (14)
Notable Wine List (14)
Great for Lunch (12)
Authentic (11)
Bar Seating (11)
Casual (11)
Neighborhood Gem (11)
Healthy (10)
Organic (10)
Seasonal (10)
Happy Hour (8)
Great for Outdoor Dining (7)
Vibrant Bar Scene (7)
Worth the Drive (7)
Cozy (7)
Paleo Friendly (5)
Great for Brunch (4)
Comfort Food (4)
Tasting Menu (4)
Gluten Free Options (3)
Good Vegetarian Options (3)
Kid-friendly (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Scenic View (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Great Beer (1)
Tapas (1)
Vegan (1)
Sort By:
S
734 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined 3 days ago

I've been here for a family brunch and for dinner with friends before theatre a couple of times and it's been great. This week I was here for a nice relaxed lunch with a friend and, again, it was a perfect spot. I think Montecito is my favourite downtown restaurant right now.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients, Business Meals, Good for Groups, Seasonal, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined 4 days ago

We shared salad and starters. The food was excellent and innovative. The service was excellent as was the welcome on arrival. The menu was different from the menu on-line in that there were items not available and the prices were higher, and therefore a surprise. The wine was expensive! As it was a special treat, it was acceptable for the occasion.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Business Meals, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Toronto)·Dined 6 days ago

It was good, but not great. The steak was hard and difficult to cut, the dessert (Ice creem was not very good. Service was good and and our waiter excellent.

Tags: Afternoon Coffee, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Toronto)·Dined 6 days ago

The food was amazing. Nice touch to have the menu say Happy Birthday. Absolutely recommend!

But you let us down when we discovered you gave us the wrong doggy bag. Almost a full meal we couldn’t eat last night and now don’t get to enjoy today.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on October 12, 2017

Amazing service. Great starters. Main course Ahi Tuna was just ok. Wine was a bit overpriced.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on October 11, 2017

We have been coming here since the first week they were open. Love the food and ambience. Service was not quite as good as recent visits but I believe they were busier than unusual for pre theatre dinner.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Romantic, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on October 8, 2017

We were there during their Thanksgiving holiday so the menu got switched up, but everything was delicious. Wait staff was excellent. When we’re back in Toronto again we will dine there again.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Pre/post Theatre, Business Meals, Seasonal, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Toronto)·Dined on October 8, 2017

Amazing food - great meal and great service.
Very fresh. Best meal in a long time.

Tags: Special Occasion, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on October 6, 2017

Service was outstanding. Appetizers were very good. Mains for the most part were good. The lobster pasta was a little watery, somewhat bland, and very little lobster!

Desserts looked great but really didn't have anything special flavour-wise. We all thought that we would have been better off going to Sweet Jesus instead!

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

 
·Dined on October 6, 2017

Great food, fantastic craft beer, try the MacKinnon Ale and the staff were magnificent!

Tags: Business Meals, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on October 6, 2017

A perfect experience! The food was wonderfully simple and filled with delicate flavours. The restaurant was relaxed and sophisticated. The staff were engaging and efficient.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Good Vegetarian Options, Local Ingredients, Good for Groups, Healthy, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Seasonal, Worth the Drive, Handcrafted Cocktails, Business Meals, Notable Wine List, Organic, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Toronto)·Dined on October 6, 2017

Great team lunch for 6. Everyone was raving about the food!

Tags: Authentic, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on October 1, 2017

Amazing staff and great food. Would definitely recommend.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on September 29, 2017

First time here - super cute atmosphere and the server was attentive. We got the charcuterie board for appetizer and then the cod, lamb, and steak for mains and then the ice cream sandwich for dessert. All was great, except the ice cream sandwich, it was hard and dry. Also, when we asked for a glass of cab without looking at menu, seems they gave us one of the pricier ones, $36 a glass...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on September 28, 2017

Likely the best chicken and kale salad in town!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on September 26, 2017

Fantastic food and service. Love the movie themed pictures suspended on the wall. They made it very special for us to celebrate our anniversary. The front of the menu read Happy Anniversary. The wait staff and hostess wished us a happy Anniversary. Our dessert had Happy Anniversary written in chocolate on our plate. These people know how to do it. Our waiter Allistare was superb. Very friendly and personable. Can’t wait to go back.

Tags: Bar Seating, Organic, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Fun, Hot Spot, Local Ingredients, Paleo Friendly, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive, Healthy, Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on September 24, 2017

Food, drinks and service were all great. Will definately be returning soon.

Tags: Seasonal, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on September 24, 2017

Food was good but not great. The food and decor lacked a bit of creativity and perhaps seemed a bit dated. Service was very good though, we had a very attentive and friendly server.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Business Meals, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on September 23, 2017

Delicious, amazing service. Most impressive service I've seen in years!

Tags: Notable Wine List, People Watching, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 20, 2017

Took an out of town friend here for dinner on half price wine night. We had a great table where we could people watch. Our server was very knowledgeable about the menu and the wine list. Since it was half price wine night, we splurged on a great Cali wine. There are a number of great menu options which are shareable so we shared the huge kale salad. I would go back again just for that! Hands down one of the best salads I have ever tasted. My friend really enjoyed her main which was roasted cod on a bed of roasted veggies. I had the lobster pasta which was absolutely delicious with large pieces of perfectly cooked lobster in a light creamy sauce. Our server was friendly, unobtrusive but there when we wanted her to be. No one rushed us so we sat and lingered over our wine on a gorgeous late summer evening. There is great outdoor seating as well as different areas inside in which to dine and a large private dining room available for private functions (there was a TIFF party there). I would recommend Montecito for a great experience.

Tags: Fun, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Great for Lunch, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Healthy, Notable Wine List, Bar Seating, Romantic, Good Vegetarian Options, Organic, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on September 20, 2017

Great main course recommendation by the server. He really sold me on the chicken and it did not disappoint.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Miami)·Dined on September 16, 2017

Been to Montecito a number of times. The food is consistently good and it is extremely close to the theatres along King Street. The kale salad is large and can been shared. The buratta was delicious. The seared tuna was quite good but a bit overdone. The Fogo Island was excellent. Noise can be an issue.

Tags: Fun, Good for Birthdays, Casual, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Pre/post Theatre, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on September 15, 2017

Surprised by what's possibly the best value charcuterie board in the city! Service, ambiance and food were all top notch. Loved how many items were sourced locally. Will definitely be back soon.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 14, 2017

Enjoyed the focus on foods grown locally. Our server was quite knowledgable and very attentive. There was a party or gathering on the upper level that was loud and someone was being carried up the stairs on a chair which was odd. Overall it was a nice night out. We were out walking around for TIFF and this restaurant was suggested to us. Clean restaurant, lovely night time atmosphere, delicious food (we did not enjoy our dessert as much as our main course), live the mini French press for coffee, kind & caring waitress. I would recommend this restaurant to others

Tags: Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, People Watching, Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Authentic, Romantic, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (Toronto)·Dined on September 13, 2017

Wonderful dinner. Shared a chacuturie board. There was lots of variety. The trout and cod dinners were done to perfection. Excellent service

Tags: Romantic, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on September 12, 2017

Lovely atmosphere, but noisy. Food was excellent, but I resent having to pay for bread. The service was exceptional. The meal was pricey and the portions small, but very tasty. If we hadn't ordered the bread, which was annoying, we would have been hungry.

Tags: Hot Spot, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Gloucestershire)·Dined on September 10, 2017

The restaurant was very busy because of tiff but waiting nearly 40 minutes for the wine we had ordered was unacceptable.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

 
·Dined on September 10, 2017

Montecito was a wonderful experience! The food was amazing and the atmosphere was wonderful. The staff were very friendly and professional, I will definitely go back!

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Tasting Menu, Happy Hour, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on September 9, 2017

This restaurant is one of my most favourite in the city. The food and service is always excellent. Although for some it may seem pricey, I feel it is worth every penny. Definitely a must during TIFF season. But try it any time of year. Can't say enough ... Toronto has a lot of great restaurants but Montecito is consistently excellent.

Tags: Romantic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies, Bar Seating, Neighborhood Gem, Business Meals, Vibrant Bar Scene, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, People Watching, Pre/post Theatre, Hot Spot, Gluten Free Options, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups, Fun, Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on September 8, 2017

Enjoyed an early lunch at Montecito before a busy day at TIFF. Start to finish - service, food & drinks - our experience was perfect. Albacore tuna main course amazing!

Tags: Paleo Friendly, Hot Spot, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on September 7, 2017

Perfect. I would go back anytime.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Adelaide / SA)·Dined on September 3, 2017

The food was very fresh and presentation was lovely. The service was perfect - attentive and knowledgeable And was not rushed. Had a group chat f 8 including kids and wveryone loved their meals and the service.

Tags: Organic, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 3, 2017

Was suppose to meet friends but they mixed up the date the hostess and server were very gracious. When I was about to leave the sky opened up and the rain came down, the hostess offered to lend me an umbrella or to hang out until it calmed down. I chose the latter. On top of all that the food was great !

Tags: Bar Seating, People Watching, Great for Brunch, Business Meals, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on September 2, 2017

Was planning a dinner with friends as well as a birthday. The atmosphere was great , open, but still somewhat cozy. Food was tasty, local when available, with interesting choices. Service was top notch and even printed the birthday boys name on each menu, which was a nice touch. Definitely would go back , but more for a special occasion than a weekly or monthly night out. Not exactly cheap, but food and service were worth it.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on August 29, 2017

Dinner with friends before a show

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on August 23, 2017

Excellent service, very attentive. Staff accommodated a young child with a special lunch dish. Food is delicious and love the decor.

Tags: Business Meals, Scenic View, Pre/post Theatre, Healthy, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Toronto)·Dined on August 22, 2017

We love this restaurant. Great food, Fun setting and great service!!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on August 21, 2017

Dined here prior to a concert at Roger's Centre. Good location; sat outside. Goegoues cold cucumber soup, had the pork bellies; great. My wife had a (monstrous) kale salad & a pasta.
Unfortunately, GF options are few and far between (I'm Celiac). No GF pasta.

Tags: Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 13, 2017

Went there for a brunch date with friends that we have not seen in a while, I am frequent visitor to this place as it ranks as one of my top 5 place to go eat in Toronto so I was super eager to have my guests come out and try out the menu with so many mouth watering selections and enjoy the ambiance and some great cocktails. This place never fails and everyone needs to go there and go there often

Tags: Tasting Menu, People Watching, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Happy Hour, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients, Great for Lunch, Bar Seating, Paleo Friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on August 11, 2017

We enjoyed our dinner out. Beautiful restaurant, a bit on the chilly side, a/c was blowing down on us. Wine by the glass was pricy, 20$ for a glass of Cab! My husbands steak was tough and the bread it was in was difficult to cut. (He didn't tell me this until we left as he will never complain), other than that, a nice find, a little pricy.$200 for dinner with 1 drink each. Service was excellent!

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.