About Montecito

299 Adelaide Street West
Toronto, ON M5V 1P7
View Larger Map

A visionary partnership between director Ivan Reitman and world-renowned chef Jonathan Waxman.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Californian, Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
HOURS OF OPERATION

MONDAY TO WEDNESDAY 11:30AM – 12AM MIDNIGHT

THURSDAY TO SATURDAY 11:30AM – 2AM

SUNDAY 11AM – 12AM MIDNIGHT (Brunch 11:00AM to 3:00PM)

Cross Street:
Widmer St

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
CAN$31 to CAN$50

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(416) 599-0299

Website:
http://www.montecitorestaurant.ca/

Entertainment:
DJ takes over the night every week from Thursday till Saturday, starting at 9:00p.m. entertaining our guests, while you enjoy the dinner. Step into the after dinner mode with music and ambience of an elite upmarket and relaxed lounge.

Parking Details:
Valet Parking is available every night.

Public Transit:
Closest streetcar stops are King St W and John St or Queen St W and Peter St.

Closest subway stops are Osgoode Station or St Andrew Station

Executive Chef:
Matt Robertson

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Late Night, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Montecito
Montecito
Montecito
Pork Chop
Chocolate Chip Cookie Ice Cream Sandwich
Stay Puft Marshmallow Man Baked Alaska
Buffalo Mozzarella Pizza
Burger
Spaghetti Carbonara
Kale Salad

Private Dining

Inspired by its Southern Californian namesake, Montecito offers an unparalleled group dining experience, serving a family-style spread that features the finest of seasonal products. We invite you to experience and indulge in our crowd-pleasing hors d’oeuvres, salads, entrees and delicious dessert.

Montecito Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.4

ambience

4.3

noise

Moderate

89% would recommend it to a friend

fit for foodies (91)
good for groups (77)
special occasion (73)
See All
romantic (44)
hot spot (39)
great for lunch (39)
notable wine list (37)
great for brunch (33)
neighborhood gem (27)
vibrant bar scene (13)
kid-friendly (9)
late-night find (8)
great for outdoor dining (7)
scenic view (4)
Sort By:
Newest
429 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a wonderful time - celebrated our ...

Dined 3 days ago

We had a wonderful time - celebrated our 20th wedding anniversary. Service was really attentive and the food was amazing. They even had customized menu to commemorate the occasion. Thank you so much!

Tags: special occasion
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

Second time I've dined at Montecito in t ...

Dined 5 days ago

Second time I've dined at Montecito in the last couple of months. Good ambiance, service and environment. Thought the food was fair this time (disappointing) and the price value relationship average. Will give it another shot but in no hurry to get back there.

food2
ambience1
service1
value1

Thank you I was very delighted with the ...

Dined 5 days ago

Thank you I was very delighted with the service! Very helpful, polite and knowledgeable without being intrusive. The food was excellent and I will definitely be dining there again!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service2
value4

Our server was a little distracted and a ...

Dined on June 17, 2016

Our server was a little distracted and absent. Not quite the level we have come to expect at Montecito.

Tags: special occasion
food3
ambience2
service1
value1

Our server gave me a lecture on how I sh ...

Dined on June 16, 2016

Our server gave me a lecture on how I should have my beef done and when I got my plate it was not what I requested. Unfortunately, I could not say much since I was there for my friend's birthday and did not want to spoil the occasion for her.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

So romantic! Will definitely be back nex ...

Dined on June 12, 2016

So romantic! Will definitely be back next time I want to have brunch!

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, romantic, special occasion
food3
ambience3
service2
value2

Great for lunch during the week, totally ...

Dined on June 11, 2016

Great for lunch during the week, totally different on the weekend.

food3
ambience4
service4

Fun, well-designed spot. Went with high ...

Dined on June 9, 2016

Fun, well-designed spot. Went with high hopes as it came well-recommended. However, the desire on the part of staff to provide a great experience starts to become a cover for what I found to be imaginative, well-presented food that is good but not great. In other words, it's a little pretentious.

food5
ambience4
service4
value5

Really fabulous restaurant! Food and ser ...

Dined on June 4, 2016

Really fabulous restaurant! Food and service both divine.

Tags: fit for foodies
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Great location and dinner

Dined on June 4, 2016

Went on a Saturday night for dinner. Place was about 3/4 full. Plenty of staff to handle our attention. Meal was exceptional. Wife had chicken, I had pork pasta dish. Side of asparagus and potatoes and we had much more than we could have possibly consumed. A Staypuff desert topped off our wonderful evening. Service was great, atmosphere was great, location was great. Wonderful and relaxing dinner.

food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Wonderful experience

Dined on May 30, 2016

We came here to celebrate our birthdays and it was a great experience. Service was especially attentive and quick. It was a nice touch of marking the occasion on personalized menus addressing us. The food was good. I had the pizza and my friend had the duck which she said was really tender and tasteful. I will definitely return with an appetite for the pasta dishes they have. Overall a great experience.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

We had a good time but air con was OFF !

Dined on May 29, 2016

We sweated uncomfortably the entire time and were so hot the experience was ruined. Three or four times we asked about the incredible heat and got a few minutes of a/c and then returned to sweat box conditions. May return in fall once hear of summer has passed and our discomfortable memory has faded. Poor strategy on a day when it was 34 ° celcius PLUS humidity in Toronto.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

What a fantastic experience!! first time ...

Dined on May 27, 2016

What a fantastic experience!! first time there, not last for sure!! Beautiful interior what a unique space!! food was great. I brought two colleagues for a birthday lunch and they loved it as did I. Fantastic spot, and very friendly vibe.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great service and fantastic food. We wen ...

Dined on May 22, 2016

Great service and fantastic food. We went for brunch and was not disappointed. Would definitely go back!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Great service

Dined on May 22, 2016

Great service

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Good treatment

Dined on May 21, 2016

We had look on line and decided what we wanted. My wife was disappointed when her choice wasn't on the menu for that day. We told the server who sent over a manager who arranged for the kitchen to make it. She loved her meal.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Too Bad Birthday's Are Only Once A Year!

vip
Dined on May 21, 2016

Had a wonderful birthday dinner with the family. Really appreciated the concept of the menu in terms of "farm to table". The staff are extremely knowledgeable about the menu and added value in helping us decide on appetizers to share and mains. I recommend that the Kale Salad be part of any sharing of other appetizers. We had the Tuna Poke and Cheeseboard to share. The salad provides a "refresher" between samples of cheese and tuna. Likewise the sides are very generous in their portions and we just picked two (Mushroom and highly recommended JW Potatoes) for our table of four. The main courses were all perfectly prepared. The seafood was cooked to moist tender perfection. Wine selection was very good and we were very pleased that there were a few options for organic wines to meet our needs. Atmosphere is pleasant and "fun" with movie memorabilia tastefully integrated into the decor.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Superb in every way!

Dined on May 18, 2016

Outstanding business luncheon. Server was knowledgeable and on point with recognizing we were conducting a business luncheon. Food was amazing. Really good crowd of influencers from the city were dining at the same time....very cool. Looking forward to our next visit.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for lunch
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Fantastic Brunch

Dined on May 15, 2016

Brunch had one of the largest varieties in Toronto with quality food. Every item I selected was tasty, the salads and pancakes were my favorites.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups
food1
ambience3
service2
value1

Definitely not returning....

vip
Dined on May 15, 2016

Food was mediocre at best for price and portion sizes. The bread was over toasted and difficult to eat ( we paid extra for it also). Entree lamb was extremely overpriced for quality of meat and size -- It was a terrible cut of meat and we were served 2 tiny pieces for $35 -- which was a total rip off. Pizza was mediocre- extremely thin crust and barely any toppings. Music/base were so loud it was difficult to have a conversation. The waiter did have the sound adjusted a bit when we requested, which was appreciated. Don't waste your money.... we left hungry.

food4
ambience4
service4

Eggplant caviar was delicious!

Dined on May 13, 2016

Eggplant caviar was delicious!

food2
ambience3
service1
value2

Very, very poor service

Dined on May 8, 2016

Long waits, forgotten orders (multiple times) and mediocre food. Won't be returning.

food4
ambience4
service2
value1

Good food but something was missing

Dined on May 8, 2016

Upon entering the restaurant, my wife was greeted with a Happy Mother's Day. We do not have any children and therefore I found this to be in poor taste. We were celebrating our anniversary but were not asked if we were celebrating a special occasion. We found the menu intriguing and that is why we chose your restaurant. The food we ordered was very good but the presentation was poor. We also found that the cheese platter to share was overpriced for the portion received and our waiter didn't come by to ask if we wanted more bread. Our waiter, Richard, was very inattentive. We did enjoy the ambiance of the restaurant.

food3
ambience4
service3
value2

Brunch Let Down

vip
Dined on May 8, 2016

Disappointing brunch selection. The food selection was odd. There were minimal breakfast items on the buffet. There were oysters and skinny crab legs, charcuterie board and cheese board, beef chili (very strange item for breakfast) and fried chicken, polenta and potatoes and Greek and Caesar salads and a few other items. Plus a dessert table. Not so palatable at 11am. You can order eggs to your table but the portions were small and did not even get served with toast!

food2
ambience5
service3
value3

We went to Montecito for Sunday Brunch. ...

Dined on May 8, 2016

We went to Montecito for Sunday Brunch. Ambiance/ beautiful restaurant, amazing salads especially the kale salad, fabulous desserts, mediocre quality and selection as far as the hot meals. Wished they made it more of a special menu since it was Mother's Day.

Tags: great for lunch, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best Mother's Day Brunch Ever!

Dined on May 8, 2016

I enjoyed an amazing business lunch at Montecito some time and meant to come back with my family for brunch. Mother's Day was the perfect occasion. Three generations enjoyed the food and atmosphere so much. We go to a lot of brunches and my husband declared that this was the very best brunch food he had ever had. There was truly something...many things...for everyone. Can't wait to come back. Excellent value, too.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, good for groups, great for lunch
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Really nice brunch!

Dined on May 8, 2016

Enjoyed a lovely Mother's Day and Dad's birthday at Montecito on May 8. At the $39 price point, this brunch was great for a family brunch. The selection wasn't huge, but it was plenty and everything on offer was very nice. If you like oysters and crabs legs, they were plentiful! The kale salad is not to be missed and the dessert selection was great. My one recommendation is that there is more than one station to grab food from. The restaurant is quite big so sometimes the line for food was long. Towards the end of our seating time, they even ran out of plates. It wasn't a big deal, but would have made the experience a bit more enjoyable.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, good for groups
food3
ambience2
service4
value1

Overpriced, a bit pretentious

Dined on May 7, 2016

I found the service very attentive, but you can get that at many restaurants. I found the cost of a simple glass of wine wildly outrageous, the food wildly overpriced, the menu limited and unimaginative, and the noise level annoying, irritating and more suited to a club than a restaurant. I found the whole 'club scene' incessant 'pounding' beat from the music gave the restaurant a pretentious feel. If you're going to go with the pretense of being something cool and hip- provide a much better menu, more choice in Canadian wine by the glass at a reasonable price, and drop the trashy club music. Won't be back-there are a lot more restaurants that I find considerably better in this city. Corktown Kitchen is one example!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Outstanding

Dined on May 7, 2016

Excellent in every way - food was outstanding - staff was outstanding a wonderful charming evening

Tags: special occasion, great for lunch, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service4

The most delicious Chicken With Verde S ...

vip
Dined on May 4, 2016

The most delicious Chicken With Verde Salsa and duck fat potatoes are the best in the city! Even though we told the waiter we were attending the theatre, salads took a very long while to come out. There was such a long wait between salads and our mains that we had to rush our dinner to be on time for the show.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Exceptional lunch!!!!!

Dined on May 4, 2016

Booked a last minute table for lunch with business associate. Food was fantastic. Halibut was cooked to perfection. Server recommended the charcuterie and kale salad as stater, which were fab. Great service. Can't wait to go back.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wanted a great brunch spot & definitely found it!

Dined on May 1, 2016

Food was Fabulous. Service was more than attentive. Had a glitch with the bill that I hadn't noticed until I got home, Michael, the Manager, responded to my email immediately & I got more than I would have imagined in return for a minor computer mistake. Top Customer Service +++++

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value2

okay place before hot docs/tiff

Dined on May 1, 2016

brunch was great, service was wonderful. for $40 there was not much selection and considering ever corner in the area has a brunch for 1/2 the price we wont be back. $5 mimosa was the worst i ever had and all the other champagne was way over priced. small selection of baked goods. chili, potatoes, sausage, bacon, salad and pork belly were the food options with omelette or chip or plain pancakes. maybe meant more for families on a Sunday outing than girlfriends looking for some unique brunch treats.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Becoming a favourite

Dined on April 30, 2016

The staples are consistently good, the JW chicken and JW potatoes in particular. At least one person from my group will always order this. My pasta dish Gratata was simple but fantastic and cooked perfectly. Perfect spot to go to before a show.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Superb Food, Sublime Service!

Dined on April 25, 2016

When I went, I expected a good experience. What I didn't expect was a superlative experience. The food was so good that I haven't been able to stop thinking about my meal. The service was attentive, without being obtrusive. I can't wait to go back!!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Lovely Brunch!

Dined on April 24, 2016

What a great spot to meet friends downtown for brunch on Sunday. Lots of variety, beautiful omelettes and no rush to turn over the tables. Perfect!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

nice environment, small menu

Dined on April 24, 2016

Really enjoyed the ambience (not too crowded or loud which is so rare in Toronto) and service but I was disappointed with the menu. I thought it was much too small.

Tags: good for groups
food5
ambience5
service5

Brought a client for an out of office lu ...

Dined on April 21, 2016

Brought a client for an out of office lunch. Great food, service and atmosphere. Everyone was extremely helpful and accommodating! Will be back!

food4
ambience4
service5
value5

We will come back to the restaurant again

Dined on April 14, 2016

We were in a rush to be in time at the concert therefore we asked the waitress to serve us faster. Unfortunately we could only try appetizers. We didn't have time to wait for the main course. When we said the manager that we have to leave, he apologized and didn't charge us for the ordered main course and even for the appetizers. We will definitely come back to this restaurant to taste the main course.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Classy!

Dined on April 14, 2016

The food at Montecito is a reasonable price point for a very foodie experience. The wine list is extraordinary. The staff knows the food well and makes perfect recommendations every time.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.