About Montecito

Montecito Restaurant is a restaurant collaboration between Hollywood director Ivan Reitman and Toronto-based Innov8 Hospitality. The vision for Montecito has been from the beginning to create an environment that captivates a wide audience and brings them together in an exceptional space.

Like its Southern California namesake, Montecito combines a casual elegance with effortless sophistication in the heart of Toronto’s Entertainment District. Our two-storey dining room, lounge and outdoor patio is located steps away from Film Festival Headquarters at TIFF Bell Lightbox. While our Farm-to-Table menu highlights various purveyors from across Canada and changes weekly based on seasonal availability.

Have you Discovered Montecito?

299 Adelaide Street West
Toronto, ON M5V 1P7
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Californian, Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
HOURS OF OPERATION

MONDAY TO WEDNESDAY 11:30AM – 11PM

THURSDAY TO SATURDAY 11:30AM – 1AM

SUNDAY 11AM – 11PM (Buffet Brunch Only from 11:00AM to 3:00PM)

Cross Street:
Widmer St

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
CAN$31 to CAN$50

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(416) 599-0299

Website:
http://www.montecitorestaurant.ca/

Parking Details:
Paid parking is available at 21 Widmer Street.

Public Transit:
Closest streetcar stops are King St W and John St or Queen St W and Peter St.

Closest subway stops are Osgoode Station or St Andrew Station

Executive Chef:
Matthew Simpson

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Chef's Table, Cocktails, Corkage Fee, Entertainment, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Montecito Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.1

service

4.2

ambience

4.3

value

3.6

noise

Moderate

80% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (25)
Special Occasion (22)
Good for Anniversaries (19)
See All
Business Meals (17)
Pre/post Theatre (17)
Fit for Foodies (16)
Creative Cuisine (16)
Good for Birthdays (14)
Good for Groups (14)
Romantic (14)
Notable Wine List (13)
Local Ingredients (13)
Hot Spot (11)
Fun (11)
Casual (10)
Quiet Conversation (10)
People Watching (10)
Neighborhood Gem (10)
Great for Lunch (10)
Happy Hour (8)
Handcrafted Cocktails (8)
Bar Seating (8)
Great for Brunch (7)
Cozy (7)
Authentic (7)
Late-night Find (6)
Vibrant Bar Scene (6)
Modern Decor (5)
Comfort Food (5)
Great for Outdoor Dining (4)
Tasting Menu (4)
Seasonal (3)
Sunday Lunch (3)
Organic (3)
Paleo Friendly (3)
Good Vegetarian Options (3)
Worth the Drive (3)
Private Room (3)
Open Kitchen (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Tapas (1)
Family Style (1)
Great Beer (1)
Live Music (0)
Sort By:
S
696 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 13, 2017

Went there for a brunch date with friends that we have not seen in a while, I am frequent visitor to this place as it ranks as one of my top 5 place to go eat in Toronto so I was super eager to have my guests come out and try out the menu with so many mouth watering selections and enjoy the ambiance and some great cocktails. This place never fails and everyone needs to go there and go there often

Tags: Tasting Menu, People Watching, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Happy Hour, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients, Great for Lunch, Bar Seating, Paleo Friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on August 11, 2017

We enjoyed our dinner out. Beautiful restaurant, a bit on the chilly side, a/c was blowing down on us. Wine by the glass was pricy, 20$ for a glass of Cab! My husbands steak was tough and the bread it was in was difficult to cut. (He didn't tell me this until we left as he will never complain), other than that, a nice find, a little pricy.$200 for dinner with 1 drink each. Service was excellent!

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

 
·Dined on August 11, 2017

Fun servers. Great food and super for sharing. Much larger than we thought sondidnt feel crowded

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 11, 2017

The atmosphere was great! We ate in the bar area, which had a lot of fresh air from the open windows. The main dining room looked beautiful, though. We weren't starving, so we didn't eat a ton, but the food was great and so were the drinks. The service was also great. And lastly, the restrooms are some of the nicest we've ever been in at a restaurant.

Tags: Happy Hour, Organic, Local Ingredients, Fun, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on August 10, 2017

Amazing dinner. We ordered the family style pork that was absolutely incredible. The staff treated our kids like royalty to the point that my kids asked to take picture with the staff to remember them - a first for us at any restaurant. Great wine pairings as well.

Tags: Business Meals, Fit for Foodies, Fun, Organic, Casual, Comfort Food, Creative Cuisine, Kid-friendly, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on August 8, 2017

Portion sizes weren't great. Some were ok, some were quite small. Tasty tho

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on August 6, 2017

This was a perfect anniversary dinner. The staff greeted us with a menu customized with Happy Anniversary on the cover and a complimentary glass of Prosecco. They put us in a booth which was quiet and cozy; lovely to sit side by side. The food was very good. The server was knowledgeable and confident enough to ask when he did not have an answer for a question. A great special occasion restaurant!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on August 6, 2017

Was at Montecito for lunch on Sunday. I had a wonderful openfaced avocado and poached egg on crusty bread. It was so good. I will definitely recommend it, looking forward to having dinner there soon.

Tags: Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 6, 2017

Great food, service and felt like we were away from the hustle. Went for Brunch. The jam was delish.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Savannah)·Dined on July 29, 2017

Meal and service was exceptional! Everything we ate was fresh and flavourful. Great for a special night out.

Tags: Hot Spot, Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on July 29, 2017

Worst service ever- we were there for over 2 hours- I ran errands while I was waiting for my food ...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service1
value3

vip
 (Richmond)·Dined on July 25, 2017

Excellent food and even better service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on July 22, 2017

Simply AWESOME!!!!

From the folks at the front door, to our server Alastair (who was super patient and helpful with the kids) to the great food .... it was a perfect dinner!

Tags: Great Beer, Happy Hour, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Comfort Food, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on July 19, 2017

Montecito is our go to celebratory restaurant. The food is always amazing. It's the second anniversary we celebrate there and we loved it!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on July 13, 2017

Summerlicious at Montecito is well worth taking in. The cucumber soup, the steak sandwich were amazing. The panna cotta, however needed a little lift, too dry for my taste.

Great atmosphere. Great service. Great décor.....

Tags: People Watching, Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for a Date, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on July 12, 2017

We went to have lunch and also partake in the summerlicious menu. Three of us did and one ordered off the regular menu.
We all enjoyed our meals very much. Everything really was delicious. Two also had the wine pairings with the summerlicious choices. They were very good too. The last pairing was ice wine, and they did not like ice wine, so the server said "let me see what I can do". He brought them each a very generous glass of proseco. They were thrilled. That was very nice of him and he certainly went the extra mile and was also a very attentive server in every way.
It was the first time for all of us at Montecito and we all thoroughly enjoyed it! I felt like I was in an old Hollywood style kind of atmosphere with updated decor. Loved it!!!!!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Happy Hour, Business Meals, People Watching, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Pre/post Theatre, Worth the Drive, Late-night Find, Cozy, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Fun, Handcrafted Cocktails, Sunday Lunch, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Tasting Menu, Healthy, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on July 5, 2017

Given the high recommendations for Montecito, we were very disappointed with the quality of the food, especially considering the expensive cost and small portion. I had a mussel linguini dish, and the mussels were stale, and the presentation was poor, as was the sauce used. Again, you expect more from a higher end restaurant. I left hungry and angry about the cost of the bill, considering the subpar food.

Craig. Chicago

Tags: People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service3
value1

 
 (New England)·Dined on July 2, 2017

Everything was great- my wife and I loved it. Highly recommended.

Tags: Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Bar Seating, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on July 2, 2017

Wonderful leisurely brunch

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on July 1, 2017

Food was fresh... but bland.
Took way too long to get entrees.
Wine was very expensive

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value1

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on June 30, 2017

The service was horrible, we waited half an hour to get our one order of appetizer, while waiting they kept on bringing orders that belonged to other tables to us. By the time we got our appetizer we decided to leave because we didn't want to wait 2 hours to get our dinner. We went to Byblos instead which was 10 times busier and packed but we got our order 10 minutes after placing it.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value1

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on June 30, 2017

We enjoyed a lovely dinner for 4. They went out of their way to make my friends birthday particularly special.
The food was superb and the service was delightful. Our server knew everything about the food including where it was sourced, including anecdotes about the various providers.
I would highly recommend this restaurant and hope to return again myself very soon.

Tags: Seasonal, Organic, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Birthdays, Gluten Free Options, Creative Cuisine, Paleo Friendly, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 29, 2017

Perfect service. Delicious meal. :)

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Toronto)·Dined on June 28, 2017

They made our 20th Anniversary celebration very special. Love the food, wine and service. My new favourite restaurant. We will never forget how well they treated us.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Hot Spot, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Toronto)·Dined on June 25, 2017

We come here often, Sunday was very quiet and service was a little slow, but the food is always good and we enjoyed it. We enjoy the place when it's a little busier.

Tags: Healthy, Quiet Conversation, Comfort Food, Vibrant Bar Scene, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on June 24, 2017

For our first experience and we went to celebrate our anniversary they made us feel extra special and even prepared a few small treats. Service was awesome. Thank you! Will go back

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Denver)·Dined on June 22, 2017

Wonderful blend of California and Canadian. Always delicious food from a creative kitchen. Great wine list. Personable and extremely capable staff all around. Love eating at the bar and in the restaurant equally.
Best. Kale. Salad. Ever. Period.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Bar Seating, Happy Hour, Healthy, Great for Lunch, Quick Bite, Pre/post Theatre, Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Fun, People Watching, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on June 22, 2017

Striploin and salmon were both just ok. Potatoes and asparagus were awesome though. Overall good restaurant but I've gotten more bang for my buck elsewhere

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on June 22, 2017

waiter was very knowledgeable with menu and make good recommendations.

Tags: Happy Hour, Handcrafted Cocktails, Great for Lunch, Good for Groups, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on June 22, 2017

I have been to this restaurant on multiple occasions (work related lunches) and on Sunday brunch with girlfriends. Haven't been disappointed.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Casual, Disabled Access
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on June 18, 2017

I had a reservation for 6:30 they let us come in for 5:00. They seated us right away and the service was amazing. Food was great and atmosphere was beautiful. My gf and I were very impressed. Were coming back for sure lol

Tags: Romantic, Authentic, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on June 18, 2017

As always fantastic food. We are never disappointed in the selection or quality of food

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on June 18, 2017

Good brunch experience overall. The service felt a little un personalized during the brunch experience but overall the servers were friendly. Would recommend.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on June 17, 2017

Awful experience - rude staff, mediocre food. Will never return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

vip
 (Calgary)·Dined on June 16, 2017

The food was delicious, but was overshadowed by the fact it took 1.5 hrs after ordering to come, and needed to be doubled in size. We had issues reordering drinks and finding our waiter in general. For the price, it was not worth it, very disappointed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value1

vip
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on June 10, 2017

We've been going to Montecito for a few years, always good. This time, I booked my daughter and her 2 friends a table as part of their 'prom' celebration. They stayed overnight at a nearby hotel, and I treated dinner.
They arrived on time and were seated. Server RUSHED them. It was 7.30pm on a Saturday. They were looking forward to a nice experience.....the server wanted to be sure they vacated the table quickly. That was the impression they got. Likely because they were not drinking alcohol (under age). They said they were made to feel inadequate. They were in and out in 30 minutes.
They also mentioned the servings were way too small.
Too bad.

Tags: Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service1
value1

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on June 9, 2017

Very nice place

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on June 5, 2017

We ordered the duck for the table and it was very undercooked. It smelled awful, was the texture of raw meat, and made me ill. However, the charcuterie board was delicious.

Tags: Happy Hour, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 3, 2017

Excellent food and service. DJ music was very loud and did not tie in with the ambience or room decor. Would have made sense for jazz music.

Tags: Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value2

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on May 28, 2017

Great ambiance and location. We went for our anniversary and they gave us a special menu with happy anniversary on it which was a nice keepsake. They also sent us a beautiful signature dessert with happy anniversary written on the plate, compliments of the chef. Bissongrass was one of the best cocktails I have ever had.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Late-night Find, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.