About Montecito

299 Adelaide Street West
Toronto, ON M5V 1P7
View Larger Map

A visionary partnership between director Ivan Reitman and world-renowned chef Jonathan Waxman.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Californian, Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
HOURS OF OPERATION

MONDAY TO WEDNESDAY 11:30AM – 12AM MIDNIGHT

THURSDAY TO SATURDAY 11:30AM – 2AM

SUNDAY 11AM – 12AM MIDNIGHT (Brunch 11:00AM to 3:00PM)

Cross Street:
Widmer St

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
CAN$31 to CAN$50

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(416) 599-0299

Website:
http://www.montecitorestaurant.ca/

Entertainment:
DJ takes over the night every week from Thursday till Saturday, starting at 9:00p.m. entertaining our guests, while you enjoy the dinner. Step into the after dinner mode with music and ambience of an elite upmarket and relaxed lounge.

Parking Details:
Valet Parking is available every night.

Public Transit:
Closest streetcar stops are King St W and John St or Queen St W and Peter St.

Closest subway stops are Osgoode Station or St Andrew Station

Executive Chef:
Matt Robertson

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Late Night, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Private Dining

Inspired by its Southern Californian namesake, Montecito offers an unparalleled group dining experience, serving a family-style spread that features the finest of seasonal products. We invite you to experience and indulge in our crowd-pleasing hors d’oeuvres, salads, entrees and delicious dessert.

Montecito Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4.4

ambience

4.4

noise

Moderate

85% would recommend it to a friend

fit for foodies (97)
good for groups (93)
special occasion (84)
See All
hot spot (50)
romantic (49)
great for lunch (45)
notable wine list (43)
great for brunch (39)
neighborhood gem (31)
vibrant bar scene (18)
late-night find (12)
kid-friendly (10)
scenic view (4)
great for outdoor dining (3)
Sort By:
Newest
414 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great service and fantastic food. We wen ...

Dined 2 days ago

Great service and fantastic food. We went for brunch and was not disappointed. Would definitely go back!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Great service

Dined 3 days ago

Great service

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Good treatment

Dined 3 days ago

We had look on line and decided what we wanted. My wife was disappointed when her choice wasn't on the menu for that day. We told the server who sent over a manager who arranged for the kitchen to make it. She loved her meal.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Fantastic Brunch

Dined on May 15, 2016

Brunch had one of the largest varieties in Toronto with quality food. Every item I selected was tasty, the salads and pancakes were my favorites.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups
food1
ambience3
service2
value1

Definitely not returning....

vip
Dined on May 15, 2016

Food was mediocre at best for price and portion sizes. The bread was over toasted and difficult to eat ( we paid extra for it also). Entree lamb was extremely overpriced for quality of meat and size -- It was a terrible cut of meat and we were served 2 tiny pieces for $35 -- which was a total rip off. Pizza was mediocre- extremely thin crust and barely any toppings. Music/base were so loud it was difficult to have a conversation. The waiter did have the sound adjusted a bit when we requested, which was appreciated. Don't waste your money.... we left hungry.

food4
ambience4
service4

Eggplant caviar was delicious!

Dined on May 13, 2016

Eggplant caviar was delicious!

food2
ambience3
service1
value2

Very, very poor service

Dined on May 8, 2016

Long waits, forgotten orders (multiple times) and mediocre food. Won't be returning.

food4
ambience4
service2
value1

Good food but something was missing

Dined on May 8, 2016

Upon entering the restaurant, my wife was greeted with a Happy Mother's Day. We do not have any children and therefore I found this to be in poor taste. We were celebrating our anniversary but were not asked if we were celebrating a special occasion. We found the menu intriguing and that is why we chose your restaurant. The food we ordered was very good but the presentation was poor. We also found that the cheese platter to share was overpriced for the portion received and our waiter didn't come by to ask if we wanted more bread. Our waiter, Richard, was very inattentive. We did enjoy the ambiance of the restaurant.

food3
ambience4
service3
value2

Brunch Let Down

vip
Dined on May 8, 2016

Disappointing brunch selection. The food selection was odd. There were minimal breakfast items on the buffet. There were oysters and skinny crab legs, charcuterie board and cheese board, beef chili (very strange item for breakfast) and fried chicken, polenta and potatoes and Greek and Caesar salads and a few other items. Plus a dessert table. Not so palatable at 11am. You can order eggs to your table but the portions were small and did not even get served with toast!

food2
ambience5
service3
value3

We went to Montecito for Sunday Brunch. ...

Dined on May 8, 2016

We went to Montecito for Sunday Brunch. Ambiance/ beautiful restaurant, amazing salads especially the kale salad, fabulous desserts, mediocre quality and selection as far as the hot meals. Wished they made it more of a special menu since it was Mother's Day.

Tags: great for lunch, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best Mother's Day Brunch Ever!

Dined on May 8, 2016

I enjoyed an amazing business lunch at Montecito some time and meant to come back with my family for brunch. Mother's Day was the perfect occasion. Three generations enjoyed the food and atmosphere so much. We go to a lot of brunches and my husband declared that this was the very best brunch food he had ever had. There was truly something...many things...for everyone. Can't wait to come back. Excellent value, too.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, good for groups, great for lunch
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Really nice brunch!

Dined on May 8, 2016

Enjoyed a lovely Mother's Day and Dad's birthday at Montecito on May 8. At the $39 price point, this brunch was great for a family brunch. The selection wasn't huge, but it was plenty and everything on offer was very nice. If you like oysters and crabs legs, they were plentiful! The kale salad is not to be missed and the dessert selection was great. My one recommendation is that there is more than one station to grab food from. The restaurant is quite big so sometimes the line for food was long. Towards the end of our seating time, they even ran out of plates. It wasn't a big deal, but would have made the experience a bit more enjoyable.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, good for groups
food3
ambience2
service4
value1

Overpriced, a bit pretentious

Dined on May 7, 2016

I found the service very attentive, but you can get that at many restaurants. I found the cost of a simple glass of wine wildly outrageous, the food wildly overpriced, the menu limited and unimaginative, and the noise level annoying, irritating and more suited to a club than a restaurant. I found the whole 'club scene' incessant 'pounding' beat from the music gave the restaurant a pretentious feel. If you're going to go with the pretense of being something cool and hip- provide a much better menu, more choice in Canadian wine by the glass at a reasonable price, and drop the trashy club music. Won't be back-there are a lot more restaurants that I find considerably better in this city. Corktown Kitchen is one example!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Outstanding

Dined on May 7, 2016

Excellent in every way - food was outstanding - staff was outstanding a wonderful charming evening

Tags: special occasion, great for lunch, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service4

The most delicious Chicken With Verde S ...

vip
Dined on May 4, 2016

The most delicious Chicken With Verde Salsa and duck fat potatoes are the best in the city! Even though we told the waiter we were attending the theatre, salads took a very long while to come out. There was such a long wait between salads and our mains that we had to rush our dinner to be on time for the show.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Exceptional lunch!!!!!

Dined on May 4, 2016

Booked a last minute table for lunch with business associate. Food was fantastic. Halibut was cooked to perfection. Server recommended the charcuterie and kale salad as stater, which were fab. Great service. Can't wait to go back.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wanted a great brunch spot & definitely found it!

Dined on May 1, 2016

Food was Fabulous. Service was more than attentive. Had a glitch with the bill that I hadn't noticed until I got home, Michael, the Manager, responded to my email immediately & I got more than I would have imagined in return for a minor computer mistake. Top Customer Service +++++

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value2

okay place before hot docs/tiff

Dined on May 1, 2016

brunch was great, service was wonderful. for $40 there was not much selection and considering ever corner in the area has a brunch for 1/2 the price we wont be back. $5 mimosa was the worst i ever had and all the other champagne was way over priced. small selection of baked goods. chili, potatoes, sausage, bacon, salad and pork belly were the food options with omelette or chip or plain pancakes. maybe meant more for families on a Sunday outing than girlfriends looking for some unique brunch treats.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Becoming a favourite

Dined on April 30, 2016

The staples are consistently good, the JW chicken and JW potatoes in particular. At least one person from my group will always order this. My pasta dish Gratata was simple but fantastic and cooked perfectly. Perfect spot to go to before a show.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Superb Food, Sublime Service!

Dined on April 25, 2016

When I went, I expected a good experience. What I didn't expect was a superlative experience. The food was so good that I haven't been able to stop thinking about my meal. The service was attentive, without being obtrusive. I can't wait to go back!!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Lovely Brunch!

Dined on April 24, 2016

What a great spot to meet friends downtown for brunch on Sunday. Lots of variety, beautiful omelettes and no rush to turn over the tables. Perfect!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

nice environment, small menu

Dined on April 24, 2016

Really enjoyed the ambience (not too crowded or loud which is so rare in Toronto) and service but I was disappointed with the menu. I thought it was much too small.

Tags: good for groups
food5
ambience5
service5

Brought a client for an out of office lu ...

Dined on April 21, 2016

Brought a client for an out of office lunch. Great food, service and atmosphere. Everyone was extremely helpful and accommodating! Will be back!

food4
ambience4
service5
value5

We will come back to the restaurant again

Dined on April 14, 2016

We were in a rush to be in time at the concert therefore we asked the waitress to serve us faster. Unfortunately we could only try appetizers. We didn't have time to wait for the main course. When we said the manager that we have to leave, he apologized and didn't charge us for the ordered main course and even for the appetizers. We will definitely come back to this restaurant to taste the main course.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Classy!

Dined on April 14, 2016

The food at Montecito is a reasonable price point for a very foodie experience. The wine list is extraordinary. The staff knows the food well and makes perfect recommendations every time.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Again... perfect food!

Dined on April 13, 2016

Montecito never disappoints.. always amazing food and great service. That kale salad!!! just super :-) I literally crave that salad.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, hot spot
food4
ambience5
service4

Pretty good but a bit noisy sometimes. P ...

Dined on April 9, 2016

Pretty good but a bit noisy sometimes. Portions look small but trust me, they fill you up. Great restaurant overall.

food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Over-all-good

Dined on April 9, 2016

Nice ambiance; in a vibrant area of Toronto. We will return on another special occasion.

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Farm fresh ! Kale salad and goat cheesec ...

vip
Dined on April 9, 2016

Farm fresh ! Kale salad and goat cheesecake were outstanding ! Charcuterie board spectacular ! Mains delicious!

food4
ambience2
service1

My experience at Montecito was mixed. Th ...

vip
Dined on April 8, 2016

My experience at Montecito was mixed. The food was alright but an encounter I had with one if the managers was one of the worst I had ever experienced at a restaurant.

food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Happy Fridays

vip
Dined on April 8, 2016

Love the Friday buck shuck oysters and half price champagne. Especially because each week, it is a different type of oyster and not just malpeque and it is Champagne not sparkling wine!!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5

Daughter's 16th Birthday. Staff was amaz ...

Dined on April 8, 2016

Daughter's 16th Birthday. Staff was amazing, food was even better.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Always good

Dined on April 6, 2016

Montecito is always reliable for a tasty meal. Because the tables aren't squished together, you can actually have a great conversation without having to listen to what is being discussed at adjacent tables. Makes a good spot for business lunches/dinners.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, great for lunch, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Business medting

Dined on April 1, 2016

Excellent for business meeting and enjoying the great food , wine and ambience

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, hot spot
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

Family Easter brunch

Dined on March 27, 2016

A visit to Montecito for family Easter brunch was perfect. Lots of food choices for a nut-free, carnivorous 5 year old. My husband and I thought the brunch to be the best for the value. All the food was fresh and thoughtful. If you are looking for a Sunday buffet brunch in the downtown core way more elevated and sophisticated that the Hot House on Front street, this is it. Staff was very gracious and attentive, even on a super busy holiday. I look forward to coming to enjoy a meal off the menu!

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

AWESOME SERVICE!

Dined on March 27, 2016

2 of us were there for Easter Sunday brunch (so there were a lot of children. and thus probably noisier than normal). ALL of the staff were simply amazing - friendly, courteous, attentive, welcoming! The variety of food in the buffet wasn't extensive but all of it was simply delicious! A little bit pricey but would definitely return! Ambiance/restaurant set-up was very inviting and relaxing - very conducive to a romantic dinner date if that is what you are searching for! Definitely recommend this restaurant!

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always Outstanding

Dined on March 27, 2016

We had been there before for dinner and it was great. We went for easter brunch and it did not disappoint either. The buffet has a limited selection (in the good way, enough selection without being overwhelming or nonsensical combinations of food) of really good quality foods. The roasted pork belly was incredible and so was the kale salad. The desert bar was heavenly, must try the macaroons.

Tags: great for brunch, romantic, special occasion
food3
ambience4
service1
value1

OVERATED AND OVERPRICED

Dined on March 27, 2016

Great New York feel Ambiance . Menu is very limited . Service is just mediocre . Prices are high and the food is just ok . As we were celebrating a special occasion , I requested by phone and email ,4 separate times, a desert with candles . My request was completely ignored .After contacting management I did get an apology and offered some cold meat appetizer upon my return . For the high prices , limited menu , mediocre food , poor service , there are a lot better restaurants to go to .

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Ghostbusters Assemble!

Dined on March 26, 2016

The Stay Puft Marshmallow Man themed desserts are to die for, great Ghostbusters themed decor a must go for any fan of the Comedy Classic. Very friendly and accommodating staff.

Tags: romantic, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Great night out with friends!

vip
Dined on March 26, 2016

Enjoyable group dinner - everyone enjoyed their individual dish, as well as, the sharing plates we ordered as appetizers (charcuterie and cheese board, kale salad and beef tongue - so delicious!). Great atmosphere, we had a Frank Sinatra impersonator from NYC who serenaded those of us in the lower dining area and brasserie.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, hot spot, notable wine list

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.