About Montecito

299 Adelaide Street West
Toronto, ON M5V 1P7
View Larger Map

Montecito Restaurant is a restaurant collaboration between Hollywood director Ivan Reitman and Toronto-based Innov8 Hospitality. The vision for Montecito has been from the beginning to create an environment that captivates a wide audience and brings them together in an exceptional space.

Like its Southern California namesake, Montecito combines a casual elegance with effortless sophistication in the heart of Toronto’s Entertainment District. Our two-storey dining room, lounge and outdoor patio is located steps away from Film Festival Headquarters at TIFF Bell Lightbox. While our Farm-to-Table menu highlights various purveyors from across Canada and changes weekly based on seasonal availability.

Have you Discovered Montecito?

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Californian, Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
HOURS OF OPERATION

MONDAY TO WEDNESDAY 11:30AM – 11PM

THURSDAY TO SATURDAY 11:30AM – 1AM

SUNDAY 11AM – 11PM (Buffet Brunch Only from 11:00AM to 3:00PM)

Cross Street:
Widmer St

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
CAN$31 to CAN$50

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(416) 599-0299

Website:
http://www.montecitorestaurant.ca/

Entertainment:
DJ takes over the night every week from Thursday till Saturday, starting at 9:00p.m. entertaining our guests, while you enjoy the dinner. Step into the after dinner mode with music and ambience of an elite upmarket and relaxed lounge.

Parking Details:
Valet Parking is available every night.

Public Transit:
Closest streetcar stops are King St W and John St or Queen St W and Peter St.

Closest subway stops are Osgoode Station or St Andrew Station

Executive Chef:
Matt Robertson

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Chef's Table, Cocktails, Corkage Fee, Entertainment, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Montecito
Montecito
Montecito
Montecito
Montecito
Montecito
Montecito
Montecito
Montecito
Montecito
Montecito
Montecito

Private Dining

Inspired by its Southern Californian namesake, Montecito offers an unparalleled group dining experience, serving a family-style spread that features the finest of seasonal products. We invite you to experience and indulge in our crowd-pleasing hors d’oeuvres, salads, entrees and delicious dessert.

Montecito Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.1

service

4.1

ambience

4.3

value

3.5

noise

Moderate

80% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (55)
Fit for Foodies (54)
Good for Groups (44)
See All
Romantic (33)
Hot Spot (26)
Great for Lunch (25)
Notable Wine List (19)
Vibrant Bar Scene (18)
Neighborhood Gem (13)
Great for Brunch (12)
Great for Outdoor Dining (11)
Pre/post Theatre (11)
Good for Birthdays (10)
People Watching (10)
Casual (9)
Good for a Date (9)
Good for Anniversaries (8)
Fun (8)
Business Meals (8)
Modern Decor (7)
Late-night Find (6)
Scenic View (6)
Authentic (5)
Creative Cuisine (5)
Local Ingredients (5)
Bar Seating (5)
Seasonal (4)
Private Room (3)
Comfort Food (3)
Paleo Friendly (3)
Kid-friendly (3)
Happy Hour (3)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Open Kitchen (2)
Healthy (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Quiet Conversation (2)
Family Style (2)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Worth the Drive (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Organic (1)
Tapas (1)
Sort By:
Newest
497 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Host mentioned there wasn't any room in ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined 4 days ago

Host mentioned there wasn't any room in the dining room when it wasn't busy and was sat in the lounge

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value2

During Tiff ,a birthday dinner . Appeti ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on September 18, 2016

During Tiff ,a birthday dinner . Appetizers were excellent . But the entree which was Fogo Island cod was a huge disappointment . Having recently spent time in Nfld . , I have never seen such a anorexic piece of cod and at 34.00 too . Such a let down .

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

Let me preface this by saying my score n ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on September 18, 2016

Let me preface this by saying my score not to recommend this restaurant is for their Sunday Brunch. For $39 PP I expected so much more. While the food quality was very good, the service was great, the lattes outstanding, we were quite disappointed in the limited food choices for the high price of the brunch. We also found it very odd that there was a choice of one type of bread in addition to tortillas and corn bread which seemed unusual for a brunch buffet. We only saw the croissants at the dessert bar which was in an entirely different section of the restaurant a little too late.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value1

Second time eating here and it did not d ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on September 18, 2016

Second time eating here and it did not disappoint! Kale salad was delicious as was the herb tagliatelle!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Quick Bite, Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Business Meals, Creative Cuisine, People Watching, Paleo Friendly, Notable Wine List, Pre/post Theatre, Happy Hour, Good Vegetarian Options, Special Occasion, Gluten Free Options, Good for a Date, Romantic, Local Ingredients, Fun, Organic, Good for Birthdays, Healthy, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Delicious food

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

Delicious food

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Everything was great. The restaurant cha ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

Everything was great. The restaurant charged us twice for the wine and then corrected it after we complained.

Waitress was not great.

Charged for Coca Cola xx (no free refills - really)???

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3

A little pricey. The food was delicious.

vip
 (Toronto)
·Dined on September 16, 2016

A little pricey. The food was delicious.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Bread and butter was delicious!

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on September 16, 2016

Bread and butter was delicious!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5

With a confirmed reservation we had to b ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on September 16, 2016

With a confirmed reservation we had to be very firm in getting a decent seat in the restaurant. Even with that they stuck us upstairs and they were not that busy, had the tables been full and a line OK but that was not the case. The table staff was fine, the ladies at the front not so much.

Tags: Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

The service was so bad that even if the ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 14, 2016

The service was so bad that even if the food were excellent it would have been a bad experience. Our server was slow (it was 20 mins before we met him), frenzied, and self important. The food ranged from meh to meh plus. The best thing we ate was the homemade butter, which was excellent. No thank you, Montecito.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service1

Worst service I've had anywhere in a lon ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on September 13, 2016

Worst service I've had anywhere in a long time. Very understaffed and we had to go out of our way to be remembered and get the simplest of services, including water. Not sure if I will return in the near future.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value2

We had amazing attention. Our waiter pa ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on September 13, 2016

We had amazing attention. Our waiter passed us on to manager since we had a couple requests! Kudos to him...

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The restaurant is beautiful and the feel ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on September 13, 2016

The restaurant is beautiful and the feel is upscale. The server was very pleasant and efficient but not knowable. We ordered the bread with cultured butter, which apparently comes from Kensington Market. It was delicious, but expensive at $7. We both ordered the skirt steak, rare. It was OK but chewy. The flavor of the steak was completely overwhelmed with soy sauce so that was disappointing. I expected better from this restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

Food was for someone on extreme starvati ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on September 12, 2016

Food was for someone on extreme starvation diet. Nicoisse was a joke. It was over airconditioned, and cold and in the main dining room the acoustics are lousy so it was hard to hear anyone at the table over the din and hum of noise.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service2
value1

Montecito was a big disappointment to me ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 12, 2016

Montecito was a big disappointment to me. I was there for a business lunch during the film festival -- the location was convenient, the room was beautiful and it had a little buzz. On the plus side, it was very comfortable and the service was excellent. There weren't many in there for lunch at 1pm which I should have taken as a warning. Our waiter was attentive without being in the way and I was expecting a good meal.

My guest and I both ordered salads and we were both disappointed. He had the B.C. Prawns and I had the Albacore Tuna Nicoise. Considering the price of the salads - $22 and $20 respectively - we were both a little surprised at how tiny they were. He had a small pile of shrimp and a few greens. I had a lump of what looked like upscale canned tuna, half a boiled egg, four green beans and a little lettuce. I think the biggest shock was the tuna - I was expecting a piece of fresh tuna and got something that looked like it came from a can. The salads were okay in taste (except for the tuna itself) and quickly eaten since they were so small.

So - go for the ambience or the convenience or don't order the salads. Maybe some of the other dishes are better but it felt like a ripoff to me.

Tags: People Watching, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value2

Pizza use to be very good a few years ba ...

 
·Dined on September 12, 2016

Pizza use to be very good a few years back, but found that it was too salty to eat now. Please look into this.

Tags: Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service3
value2

Delicious food. Best steak I've ever had ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on September 11, 2016

Delicious food. Best steak I've ever had! My friend enjoyed her meal a lot too

Tags: Seasonal, Business Meals, Vibrant Bar Scene, People Watching, Modern Decor, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

A great evening with a sumptuous meal. T ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

A great evening with a sumptuous meal. The kale salad is to die for!

Tags: Special Occasion, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We have been to Montecito on numerous oc ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

We have been to Montecito on numerous occasions and always had a pleasant experience. Regarding our last visit, however, I would like to make a small constructive criticism. When we arrived, we were seated near the bar under a speaker. I asked to be moved to the dining area and was accommodated, but was initially told that all other tables were full. After we were seated in the dining room, I couldn't help but notice many empty tables, including two-seaters, and other couples who arrived after us were seated at four-seat tables. Other tables remained empty for the duration of our visit (under 2 hours). My suggestion is that seating by the bar should always be a LAST resort, or for people who are only enjoying drinks and appetisers. Everything else was very enjoyable, and we will continue to come to Montecito

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Groups, People Watching, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service2
value3

Delicious and creative dishes; very frie ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

Delicious and creative dishes; very friendly staff; anxious to return

Tags: Modern Decor, Local Ingredients, Good for Groups, Healthy, Hot Spot, Great for Lunch, Quick Bite
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Server nice but ineffective. Could have ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on September 9, 2016

Server nice but ineffective. Could have informed us Kale salad could easily feed two.

Food very average for what you are paying. There better to drink not eat.

Tags: Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

This was a nice dining experience. The r ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on September 9, 2016

This was a nice dining experience. The restaurant was lively due to TIFF. Overall food was very good - especially liked the Stay Puft Marshmallow dessert. The service was execellent.

Tags: Comfort Food, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Terrific lunch - service was attentive a ...

vip
 (Toronto)
·Dined on September 9, 2016

Terrific lunch - service was attentive and food delivered in a timely fashion. Favourites: kale salad and eggplant caviar (absolutely awesome)!

Great location if you have a show at Tiff

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

The food is just average, especially for ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on September 2, 2016

The food is just average, especially for what you're paying. I ordered the cod for $32 and it wasn't very big and the mains don't come with any sides. The server was nice, but forgot to bring dessert forks.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value2

Went with two friends. In short, the se ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on September 1, 2016

Went with two friends. In short, the service was excellent, the place looked very nice inside and out, the food was pretty good. My friend had a hamburger that was very tasty, but a little sloppy - the bun didn't hold up to the moist beef and fell apart half way through. She ended up using a knife and fork. Tasty, but messy. Another friend had the pizza which was great - thin crust and crispy. She also had the daily soup - corn chowder, which was delicious. My gnocchi was very disappointing. I was hoping for light fluffy balls of potato-y goodness. Instead it was a dense, tightly rolled tube, and was pretty much tasteless. The sauce was a very basic tomato-olive oil based sauce, which was pretty bland and did nothing to save the dish. Too bad....I was hoping for a replacement for Noce's gnocchi, which used to be outstanding.

Tags: Seasonal, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

Sunday Brunch. We was me, my wife and m ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on August 28, 2016

Sunday Brunch. We was me, my wife and my 3yo son.

So on the menu there was write that up 6yo it is free (Moreover our 3yo son ate something like one slice of cheese from our plate...he is 3YO!!!)

They charge the price of "teenager" Brunch.

So it is not for money, But if You read FREE below 6yo should be free. Moreover that "slice" of these cost us 19Dollar, It is totally lack of professional.

Luckily we have no money problem, but You can consider this serious?? We realised after we paid.

if restaurant told us before gave us the bill clearly was NOT a problem for us (in case considered that that slice of cheese was too much to consider free!) but charging on Bill without saying anything ..oh well it is really lack of professional.

You will never see us again.

Thanks

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value4

Had a wonderful evening at Montecito, He ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on August 26, 2016

Had a wonderful evening at Montecito, Heather was exceptional - suggested an amazing wine for our meal. Excellent food.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Pre/post Theatre, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Very good value and high quality casual ...

vip
 (Toronto)
·Dined on August 26, 2016

Very good value and high quality casual food. Most nights, there are fantastic specials that further add to the good value aspect of dinning here.

Tags: Fun, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Groups, Vibrant Bar Scene, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Love the kale salad! Montecito chicken ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on August 26, 2016

Love the kale salad! Montecito chicken great as usual.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful food. It was very busy, howev ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on August 25, 2016

Wonderful food. It was very busy, however even after 3 different servers, our order was timely , delicious, and management that stepped in to assist our 'team' - was extremely apologetic.

We will definitely return to this location.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Fun, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

This was our first visit to Montecito. T ...

vip
 (Toronto)
·Dined on August 25, 2016

This was our first visit to Montecito. The restaurant itself is quite beautiful in design. However, we were not impressed with the service we received. Our waiter kept pushing us to order apps and to share them, and then get a main, and then a side. He didn't even mention they had a prix fixe menu in August. It just felt like we were being sold to. The food was tasty, however the portions were fairly small for the price. For example, it would be have been nice to include a few slices of potato with the braised short rib main instead of just slaw. For an extra charge of course, $9 to be exact, you could a potato side. I wouldn't return, however am glad we checked it out.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value2

Went on a Wednesday and it was the slowe ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on August 24, 2016

Went on a Wednesday and it was the slowest, least attentive service I have ever experienced. Since it was a Wednesday, they had half priced charcuterie and half priced wine, but only for those who sat on the patio. WTF! I guess people who sat inside weren't worthy. No standout dishes - had the duck and short rib. Terrible desserts - had the bourbon cake and the black forest cake. Never going back.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1

My Husband, Son and I enjoyed our dining ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

My Husband, Son and I enjoyed our dining experience at Montecito. The restaurant has a nice vibe and reminds us of when we were in Montecito, California. The food and service are good. We really enjoyed the Zucchini Fritti and the Whipped Ricotta appetizers. The Sangria was also good, not too sweet, just as I like it. We would like to go back for brunch. It also seems like a good place to host a party.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Paleo Friendly, Bar Seating, Good for Birthdays, Casual, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

this is our third visit to montecito. i ...

vip
 (Toronto)
·Dined on August 17, 2016

this is our third visit to montecito. i love the design. the space is fabulous. the drinks were very good. the service was very good. the food was just underwhelming.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

The kale salad at Montecito is wonderful ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on August 16, 2016

The kale salad at Montecito is wonderful. We have it every time! Rest of our meal was great too. Great ambience - we like the seating. Service was also great. Present whenever needed but not overbearing. We really like eating here and it is close to home!

Tags: Special Occasion, Late-night Find, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Good food and great, attentive service. ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on August 15, 2016

Good food and great, attentive service. Usually a quiet place. On our visit there was an event upstairs (Sommelier scavenger hunt) and they were REALLY loud.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

Have been to restaurant a couple of time ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

Have been to restaurant a couple of times. This was the first time for my wife. Had a very enjoyable evening. Staff were very friendly and helpful.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Excellent food - love the new prix fixe ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on August 11, 2016

Excellent food - love the new prix fixe menu for lunch - tomato cheese salad superb. The Guinness was excellent - and very cold! Service was good as well.

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Excellent food. Great Service.

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on August 9, 2016

Excellent food. Great Service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Good experience. Waiter seemed like you ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on August 9, 2016

Good experience. Waiter seemed like you was put together, but was sometimes forgetful of things. He also took our drink orders away after we ordered, and we didnt have anything to reference when we wanted a second beverage.

Food was excellent! 1/2 price cheese and charcuterie platters!! Yum!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.