About Montecito Cafe

1295 Coast Village Rd
Santa Barbara, CA 93108
View Larger Map

The Montecito Café is a family run restaurant and was established in 1986 by husband and wife team Mark and Margaret Huston. The food is simple and delicious. The Montecito Cafe has been awarded "Best Restaurant in Montecito" for the last 15 years in a row. We make all of our own soups, sauces, stocks, dressings, hamburger buns and desserts daily from scratch on the premises. We use only the freshest and highest quality ingredients and specialize in fresh fish, salads, pasta, grilled meats, burgers and sandwiches. Our desserts are excellent and we are famous for our coconut cake. We strive to provided quality service and value to our customers every day. We are located in the beautiful Montecito Inn Hotel built by Charlie Chaplin and free valet parking is available.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Californian, Contemporary French

Hours of Operation:


Lunch: Daily 11:30am-2:30pm
Dinner: Daily 5:30pm-10:00pm
Bar Hours : Daily from 5:00pm-10:00pm,
Bar is Open until 11:00pm on Friday & Saturday

Cross Street:
OLIVE MILL ROAD

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(805) 969-3392

Website:
http://montecitocafe.com/

Parking Details:
Street Parking as well as free valet parking is available

Public Transit:
Olive Mill Rd Bus Stop

Executive Chef:
Mark Huston

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Cafe, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
We will be serving a 3 Course Dinner For New Year's Eve. Please call us for reservations at 805-969-3392

Restaurant Photos

  • Montecito Cafe
  • Montecito Cafe
  • Montecito Cafe
  • Montecito Cafe
Montecito Cafe
Montecito Cafe
Montecito Cafe
Montecito Cafe

Montecito Cafe Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.4

ambience

4.3

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Great for Lunch
California Central Coast
Neighborhood Gem
California Central Coast
Best Value
Santa Barbara
2 More
Great for Lunch
Santa Barbara
Neighborhood Gem
Santa Barbara
Best Restaurants in Santa Barbara ›

Neighborhood Gem (37)
Special Occasion (24)
Great for Lunch (20)
See All
Romantic (13)
Fit for Foodies (12)
Good for Groups (9)
Great for Brunch (6)
Notable Wine List (5)
Casual (5)
Historic (5)
Good for Birthdays (5)
Good for Anniversaries (5)
Good for a Date (5)
Outstanding Value (5)
Quiet Conversation (5)
Scenic View (5)
Comfort Food (4)
Local Ingredients (4)
Worth the Drive (3)
Cozy (3)
Hot Spot (2)
Handcrafted Cocktails (2)
Business Meals (2)
People Watching (2)
Healthy (2)
Kid-friendly (2)
Authentic (2)
Creative Cuisine (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Family Style (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Fun (1)
Bar Seating (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Sort By:
Newest
197 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

The Montacito Cafe is a cozy restaurant ...

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined 7 days ago

The Montacito Cafe is a cozy restaurant that serves delicious food. Great for a special occasion.

Tags: Outstanding Value, Quiet Conversation, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries, Comfort Food, Historic, Good for Birthdays, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

My husband was disappointed that his sid ...

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined 7 days ago

My husband was disappointed that his side salad was nothing more than lettuce!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

As good as ever. We were seated immediat ...

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

As good as ever. We were seated immediately and at a very nice table even though it was a very busy Friday night. There is a great variety of choices; the menu's standards and the daily specials. I had the chicken piccata which was outstanding. My husband had the mussel bowl and raved about it

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

My wife's favorite. Good food, good serv ...

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

My wife's favorite. Good food, good service, excellent desserts. Eat there regularly, but great for special occasions. Closing soon - sure gonna miss it.

Tags: Historic, Casual, Good for Anniversaries, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Our lunch was a disappointment. We have ...

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on September 16, 2016

Our lunch was a disappointment. We have been many times and had excellent food and service.

This was to celebrate one person's birthday and the other leaving for Washington DC. We wanted to go once more before the restaurant closes. Never have we had such poor service, had to ask for everything and forgot a side order of French Fries. The only thing that was the same was the wonderful coconut cake. That saved the meal.

Tags: Casual, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value2

They have the best martinis ever, especi ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

They have the best martinis ever, especially the muddled cucumber-mint Grey Goose martini. Very good. The menu is similar to Jane in downtown Santa Barbara, since Jane seems to have the concession until the restaurant closes in November. I recommend that you enjoy the Montecito Cafe while it is there. Who knows what it will be like in the future.

Tags: Comfort Food, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food is always consistently tasty, the l ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on September 9, 2016

Food is always consistently tasty, the location is perfect and with free valet, it's a deal for this area

Tags: Scenic View, Fun, Neighborhood Gem, Comfort Food, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Everything about our experience Saturday ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

Everything about our experience Saturday night at the Montecito Inn Restaurant was terrific. The food, ambiance, service, and noise level were all great. It was the perfect place for our party of four to go to enjoy the food, wine and each other. We ordered the steak sandwich, the chicken sandwich, and the seafood pasta special. The special was large enough for 2 of us to share with a shared Cesar salad. The broth of the pasta special was so tasty that it was hard not to finish off a loaf of the delicious bread soaked in its essence of garlic, wine, butter, parsley, and fish stock. We had so looked forward to sharing a piece of the Inn’s famous coconut cake (which we’ve enjoyed before), however, we were sated by our fantastic meals. Next time we’ll try to save space for the cake!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Good for Groups, Authentic, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

The salmon on Alderwood was fabulous! Th ...

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

The salmon on Alderwood was fabulous! The chocolate Marquis topped off the meal. Excellent dining experience!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We had a wonderful dinner celebrating my ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 30, 2016

We had a wonderful dinner celebrating my wifes birthday. The food here is second to none and well priced. Great wine list and AMAZING desserts. Must try the coconut cake.

Tags: Good for a Date, Business Meals, Casual, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Healthy, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We were celebrating our 29th wedding ann ...

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on August 23, 2016

We were celebrating our 29th wedding anniversary on the day went. The service was good, I'd say service was excellent except we had a long wait for our cocktails had to ask for bread and didn't get our waters until our meal was half over. It seemed like they were short staffed but it was a Monday so we thought we'd be fine. Otherwise our meals were excellent. Have had lunch here but never dinner and cocktails.

Tags: Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Business Meals, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

One of my favorite places to dine. Qual ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

One of my favorite places to dine. Quality food at a reasonable price.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Montecito Cafe is an absolute gem. The ...

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

Montecito Cafe is an absolute gem. The food is always great and the service even better. The fact that the restaurant is always full is a testament to the quality of the establishment. We keep going back because we hear the current tenants are leaving at the end of November and we want to make the most of it while it is still in place!!

Tags: Healthy, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We vacation in Santa Barbra with our son ...

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

We vacation in Santa Barbra with our son &daughterin law.We look forward to eating at the cafe each year.The Staff the food&other coconut cake wonderful,

Tags: Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Beautiful rooming a pan pan excellent c ...

vip
 (Denver)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

Beautiful rooming a pan pan excellent classic hotel 2 blocks from the Ocean

Tags: Romantic, Scenic View, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food always good never disapoints. The ...

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on August 11, 2016

Food always good never disapoints. The service is excellent, the bread delicious! A real gem in Montecito. We were there for lunch with clients, they loved it.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great experience, cannot wait to go back ...

vip
 (Louisville)
·Dined on August 9, 2016

Great experience, cannot wait to go back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

A sin that the restaurant will be closin ...

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

A sin that the restaurant will be closing soon, but thankfully there are still 2 Janes to dine at. This restaurant is a fixture on our dining rota. Food is always top shelf, service impeccable--on top of things without being overbearing--and the quality to price excellent for a Montecito establishment. Always get the coconut cake for dessert. Always.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Thank you for another wonderful dinner. ...

vip
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

Thank you for another wonderful dinner. We'll miss you!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

We've been going there as long as the re ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

We've been going there as long as the restaurant has been open - 30+ years. It's one of our favorite local spots and we are very unhappy that this location will no longer be open come November.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fabulous meal with the best cedar-plank ...

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

Fabulous meal with the best cedar-plank salmon I've ever had! It was moist, tender, and wonderful taste. Another party at our table had the filet mignon and raved at the tenderness and flavor. It melted in his mouth. Had their "special" coconut cake for dessert....to die for! One of my favorite restaurants...always especially good.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We are so sorry that Montecito Cafe will ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

We are so sorry that Montecito Cafe will be closing in November. It is a real gem of a restaurant in Santa Barbara /Montecito.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

The Montecito Café has always been one ...

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on July 21, 2016

The Montecito Café has always been one of our family favorites for celebrating special occasions and we will miss them when they close later this year (2016)!

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food is well prepared and tasty. Good va ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on July 19, 2016

Food is well prepared and tasty. Good variety on menu. Desserts are very good. Service is exemplary. Fast and friendly.

Wine list is good.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

Been going here for many, many years. W ...

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Been going here for many, many years. Will miss it very much. One of the best in town., and

definitely the best value in town.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always a favorite place. The coconut ca ...

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

Always a favorite place. The coconut cake is the first thing that I order.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Just a wonderful place to have a relaxin ...

vip
 (Palm Springs)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

Just a wonderful place to have a relaxing, quality meal. John and our server, Samora make you feel just like family. Our favorite restaurant, hands down.

Tags: Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Comfortable, reliable, reasonable and de ...

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on June 14, 2016

Comfortable, reliable, reasonable and delicious! Wish you weren't moving...

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Really good service, attentive but not a ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

Really good service, attentive but not annoying. Unfortunately, the food did not match it. Had some mushy, bland halibut and weird potatoes. Duck was kind of dry. Overall, an average experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5

IThis is my fav Montecito restaurant. Ch ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on June 10, 2016

IThis is my fav Montecito restaurant. Chicken Piccata is my standby, always good but save room for their signature coconut cake with anglaise sauce.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Nice decor and ambiance!

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 5, 2016

It's a wonderful, beautiful venue to share with friends and family!

My steak sandwich and shrimp bisque were mediocre at best but the service was friendly, welcoming and attentive.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

One of the best restaurants in town.

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on June 3, 2016

The quality of the food for the price has always been a major calling card, plus the usual great service. Gonna miss the Cafe when it closes in November and moves to Goleta.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

Wonderful place for a delicious meal at ...

vip
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on May 28, 2016

Wonderful place for a delicious meal at very reasonable prices for the location and level and of quality! AND there is no better coconut cake in the world.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Consistently great experience.

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on May 27, 2016

I am a local, and have been patronizing MC for years. Service and food are always excellent, therefore you can count on a solid experience when entertaining friends or business clients.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Go Before They Move

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on May 26, 2016

Have eaten here many times. The staff and the food are always reliable, but not "foodie"

fare. The fish entrée (petrale sole) was fresh and the duck breast special was tasty.

They will close this location sometime in November. Remember they are JANE in SB and will open in Goleta

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value4

My wife and I are never disappointed wit ...

vip
 (Palm Springs)
·Dined on May 22, 2016

My wife and I are never disappointed with the service or the food. When Catherine is in charge everything is always special. Best restaurant value in Santa Barbara.

Tags: Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Obviously a place for regulars. Seemed l ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on May 4, 2016

Obviously a place for regulars. Seemed like all guests were old monte into folks. Service very good. Very pleasant evening

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value4

Great Restaurant

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on April 27, 2016

The Montecito Café is a wonderful restaurant. I frequently take clients there for lunch because I know the food will always be outstanding and the service will be friendly and responsive.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

Good food choices and done well. Good wi ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on April 27, 2016

Good food choices and done well. Good wine list and service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Poor service, good food

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on April 17, 2016

The food, when finally served, was pretty good. Our party's complaint is about the service. Waitress took forever to come for drinks order, and then we waited a full thirty minutes before we asked the hostess to please send the waitress to collect our dinner orders. She made a flimsy excuse about the waitress being caught up with the espresso machine and the hostess took our order. Well, the waitress had been at each of the tables around us, simply never bothered to come to us. Bottom line is that the hostess did most of the service. Not a class act at a restaurant we've enjoyed in the past.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.