Is this your restaurant?Claim this listing.
Unfortunately, this restaurant is not on the OpenTable reservation network. To see if they take reservations and have availability, you will need to call the restaurant directly or visit their website. Find a similar spot.
See affiliated restaurants ›
Get Notified
We'll send you an email if this restaurant joins OpenTable.
Notify Me

Restaurants you may also like

JaneJane
(236)
$$$$
Californian | Santa Barbara, Santa Barbara
Booked 14 times today
Cava RestaurantCava Restaurant
(361)
$$$$
Latin / Spanish | Montecito, Santa Barbara
Booked 15 times today
Lucky'sLucky's
(715)
$$$$
Steakhouse | Montecito, Santa Barbara
Booked 21 times today
Bella Vista at Four Seasons Resort The Biltmore Santa BarbaraBella Vista at Four Seasons Resort The Biltmore Santa Barbara
(612)
$$$$
Californian | Santa Barbara, Santa Barbara
Booked 24 times today
Trattoria MollieTrattoria Mollie
(413)
$$$$
Italian | Montecito, Santa Barbara
Booked 9 times today
Tre LuneTre Lune
(331)
$$$$
Italian | Montecito, Santa Barbara
Booked 5 times today
Stella Mare'sStella Mare's
(377)
$$$$
French | Santa Barbara, Santa Barbara
Booked 6 times today
Montecito Wine BistroMontecito Wine Bistro
(203)
$$$$
Contemporary American | Montecito, Santa Barbara
Booked 14 times today
ConvivoConvivo
(158)
$$$$
Italian | Santa Barbara, Santa Barbara
Booked 16 times today
Stonehouse at San Ysidro RanchStonehouse at San Ysidro Ranch
(1090)
$$$$
Contemporary American | Santa Barbara, Santa Barbara
Booked 29 times today
The Lark - Santa BarbaraThe Lark - Santa Barbara
(1335)
$$$$
Contemporary American | Santa Barbara, Santa Barbara
Booked 77 times today
Harbor RestaurantHarbor Restaurant
(320)
$$$$
Seafood | Santa Barbara, Santa Barbara
Booked 4 times today
Fess Parker's Doubletree - Rodney'sFess Parker's Doubletree - Rodney's
(80)
$$$$
Californian | Santa Barbara, Santa Barbara
Booked 4 times today
Arnoldi's CafeArnoldi's Cafe
(260)
$$$$
Italian | Santa Barbara, Santa Barbara
Booked 3 times today
Les Marchands Wine Bar & MerchantLes Marchands Wine Bar & Merchant
(17)
$$$$
Wine Bar | Santa Barbara, Santa Barbara
Booked 6 times today

About Montecito Cafe

Montecito Caf� in Santa Barbara is a romantic dining experience that guests cannot stop raving over. The fine Italian fare is served in a charming dining space complete with a beautiful fountain filled with fresh floating flowers in the center of the room. Come in for a glass of wine or a cocktail before you enjoy a delicious dinner at Montecito Caf�.

The menu includes the famous goat cheese pancakes, chicken piccata, mussels and more. Diners also love the El Macho burger, made with avocado and pasilla chile as well as the filet mignon and the pasta Bolognese. Enjoy coconut cream cake with raspberry and anglaise sauce to complete your meal at Montecito Caf�.

1295 Coast Village Rd
Santa Barbara, CA 93108
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Californian, Contemporary French

Hours of Operation:


Lunch: Daily 11:30am-2:30pm
Dinner: Daily 5:30pm-10:00pm
Bar Hours : Daily from 5:00pm-10:00pm,
Bar is Open until 11:00pm on Friday & Saturday

Cross Street:
OLIVE MILL ROAD

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(805) 969-3392

Website:
http://montecitocafe.com/

Parking Details:
Street Parking as well as free valet parking is available

Public Transit:
Olive Mill Rd Bus Stop

Executive Chef:
Mark Huston

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Cafe, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
We will be serving a 3 Course Dinner For New Year's Eve. Please call us for reservations at 805-969-3392

Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
201 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on October 12, 2016

On a bitter-sweet occasion a friend and I lunched at Montecito Café knowing it would be the last

week of its operation at the Montecito Inn.

The service was genuine and consistent.

The food was delicious, earthy but elegant. I will the vibrant coziness that MC offers.

As a treat, we met the owner Mark Huston, who took the time to talk to us about the 1980 photo on the wall featuring the staff at San Ysidro Ranch where he first worked.

We will definitely take up the opportunity to visit the two sister restaurants both Jane soon !

Tags: Authentic, Bar Seating, Open Kitchen, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Casual, Notable Wine List, Cozy, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on October 8, 2016

This restaurant is the best deal in town

Very good food and very reasonably priced

It is so sad that it will be closing in a month because the lease is not being renewed

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on October 6, 2016

This place has always been a special restaurant to go-Great food,fantastic service,excellent prices. Visiting friends always want to go to the Montecito Cafe when they visit the area-sometimes two or three times during their stay in Santa Barbara.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Healthy, Casual, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Outstanding Value, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on September 29, 2016

Sorry it is closing, it has been a staple in the neighborhood.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Comfort Food, Hot Spot, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on September 23, 2016

The Montacito Cafe is a cozy restaurant that serves delicious food. Great for a special occasion.

Tags: Outstanding Value, Quiet Conversation, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries, Comfort Food, Historic, Good for Birthdays, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on September 23, 2016

My husband was disappointed that his side salad was nothing more than lettuce!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on September 17, 2016

As good as ever. We were seated immediately and at a very nice table even though it was a very busy Friday night. There is a great variety of choices; the menu's standards and the daily specials. I had the chicken piccata which was outstanding. My husband had the mussel bowl and raved about it

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on September 17, 2016

My wife's favorite. Good food, good service, excellent desserts. Eat there regularly, but great for special occasions. Closing soon - sure gonna miss it.

Tags: Historic, Casual, Good for Anniversaries, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on September 16, 2016

Our lunch was a disappointment. We have been many times and had excellent food and service.

This was to celebrate one person's birthday and the other leaving for Washington DC. We wanted to go once more before the restaurant closes. Never have we had such poor service, had to ask for everything and forgot a side order of French Fries. The only thing that was the same was the wonderful coconut cake. That saved the meal.

Tags: Casual, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value2

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on September 10, 2016

They have the best martinis ever, especially the muddled cucumber-mint Grey Goose martini. Very good. The menu is similar to Jane in downtown Santa Barbara, since Jane seems to have the concession until the restaurant closes in November. I recommend that you enjoy the Montecito Cafe while it is there. Who knows what it will be like in the future.

Tags: Comfort Food, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on September 9, 2016

Food is always consistently tasty, the location is perfect and with free valet, it's a deal for this area

Tags: Scenic View, Fun, Neighborhood Gem, Comfort Food, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on September 4, 2016

Everything about our experience Saturday night at the Montecito Inn Restaurant was terrific. The food, ambiance, service, and noise level were all great. It was the perfect place for our party of four to go to enjoy the food, wine and each other. We ordered the steak sandwich, the chicken sandwich, and the seafood pasta special. The special was large enough for 2 of us to share with a shared Cesar salad. The broth of the pasta special was so tasty that it was hard not to finish off a loaf of the delicious bread soaked in its essence of garlic, wine, butter, parsley, and fish stock. We had so looked forward to sharing a piece of the Inn’s famous coconut cake (which we’ve enjoyed before), however, we were sated by our fantastic meals. Next time we’ll try to save space for the cake!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Good for Groups, Authentic, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (Central Coast)·Dined on September 4, 2016

The salmon on Alderwood was fabulous! The chocolate Marquis topped off the meal. Excellent dining experience!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 30, 2016

We had a wonderful dinner celebrating my wifes birthday. The food here is second to none and well priced. Great wine list and AMAZING desserts. Must try the coconut cake.

Tags: Good for a Date, Business Meals, Casual, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Healthy, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on August 23, 2016

We were celebrating our 29th wedding anniversary on the day went. The service was good, I'd say service was excellent except we had a long wait for our cocktails had to ask for bread and didn't get our waters until our meal was half over. It seemed like they were short staffed but it was a Monday so we thought we'd be fine. Otherwise our meals were excellent. Have had lunch here but never dinner and cocktails.

Tags: Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Business Meals, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on August 21, 2016

One of my favorite places to dine. Quality food at a reasonable price.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on August 21, 2016

Montecito Cafe is an absolute gem. The food is always great and the service even better. The fact that the restaurant is always full is a testament to the quality of the establishment. We keep going back because we hear the current tenants are leaving at the end of November and we want to make the most of it while it is still in place!!

Tags: Healthy, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on August 20, 2016

We vacation in Santa Barbra with our son &daughterin law.We look forward to eating at the cafe each year.The Staff the food&other coconut cake wonderful,

Tags: Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on August 12, 2016

Beautiful rooming a pan pan excellent classic hotel 2 blocks from the Ocean

Tags: Romantic, Scenic View, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on August 11, 2016

Food always good never disapoints. The service is excellent, the bread delicious! A real gem in Montecito. We were there for lunch with clients, they loved it.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Louisville)·Dined on August 9, 2016

Great experience, cannot wait to go back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on August 7, 2016

A sin that the restaurant will be closing soon, but thankfully there are still 2 Janes to dine at. This restaurant is a fixture on our dining rota. Food is always top shelf, service impeccable--on top of things without being overbearing--and the quality to price excellent for a Montecito establishment. Always get the coconut cake for dessert. Always.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Central Coast)·Dined on August 6, 2016

Thank you for another wonderful dinner. We'll miss you!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on August 6, 2016

We've been going there as long as the restaurant has been open - 30+ years. It's one of our favorite local spots and we are very unhappy that this location will no longer be open come November.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on August 5, 2016

Fabulous meal with the best cedar-plank salmon I've ever had! It was moist, tender, and wonderful taste. Another party at our table had the filet mignon and raved at the tenderness and flavor. It melted in his mouth. Had their "special" coconut cake for dessert....to die for! One of my favorite restaurants...always especially good.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on July 31, 2016

We are so sorry that Montecito Cafe will be closing in November. It is a real gem of a restaurant in Santa Barbara /Montecito.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on July 21, 2016

The Montecito Café has always been one of our family favorites for celebrating special occasions and we will miss them when they close later this year (2016)!

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on July 19, 2016

Food is well prepared and tasty. Good variety on menu. Desserts are very good. Service is exemplary. Fast and friendly.

Wine list is good.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on July 16, 2016

Been going here for many, many years. Will miss it very much. One of the best in town., and

definitely the best value in town.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on July 14, 2016

Always a favorite place. The coconut cake is the first thing that I order.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on July 2, 2016

Just a wonderful place to have a relaxing, quality meal. John and our server, Samora make you feel just like family. Our favorite restaurant, hands down.

Tags: Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on June 14, 2016

Comfortable, reliable, reasonable and delicious! Wish you weren't moving...

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on June 11, 2016

Really good service, attentive but not annoying. Unfortunately, the food did not match it. Had some mushy, bland halibut and weird potatoes. Duck was kind of dry. Overall, an average experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on June 10, 2016

IThis is my fav Montecito restaurant. Chicken Piccata is my standby, always good but save room for their signature coconut cake with anglaise sauce.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 5, 2016

It's a wonderful, beautiful venue to share with friends and family!

My steak sandwich and shrimp bisque were mediocre at best but the service was friendly, welcoming and attentive.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on June 3, 2016

The quality of the food for the price has always been a major calling card, plus the usual great service. Gonna miss the Cafe when it closes in November and moves to Goleta.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

vip
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on May 28, 2016

Wonderful place for a delicious meal at very reasonable prices for the location and level and of quality! AND there is no better coconut cake in the world.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on May 27, 2016

I am a local, and have been patronizing MC for years. Service and food are always excellent, therefore you can count on a solid experience when entertaining friends or business clients.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 26, 2016

Have eaten here many times. The staff and the food are always reliable, but not "foodie"

fare. The fish entrée (petrale sole) was fresh and the duck breast special was tasty.

They will close this location sometime in November. Remember they are JANE in SB and will open in Goleta

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value4

vip
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on May 22, 2016

My wife and I are never disappointed with the service or the food. When Catherine is in charge everything is always special. Best restaurant value in Santa Barbara.

Tags: Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New England)·Dined on May 4, 2016

Obviously a place for regulars. Seemed like all guests were old monte into folks. Service very good. Very pleasant evening

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on April 27, 2016

The Montecito Café is a wonderful restaurant. I frequently take clients there for lunch because I know the food will always be outstanding and the service will be friendly and responsive.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 27, 2016

Good food choices and done well. Good wine list and service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on April 17, 2016

The food, when finally served, was pretty good. Our party's complaint is about the service. Waitress took forever to come for drinks order, and then we waited a full thirty minutes before we asked the hostess to please send the waitress to collect our dinner orders. She made a flimsy excuse about the waitress being caught up with the espresso machine and the hostess took our order. Well, the waitress had been at each of the tables around us, simply never bothered to come to us. Bottom line is that the hostess did most of the service. Not a class act at a restaurant we've enjoyed in the past.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 16, 2016

But on this particular evening, service was lacking. Our server barely spoke to us, possibly because she became perturbed that we did not wish to order immediately upon being seated; she rushed the second course, so we had to sit our salads to one side and finish them after the entrees; and, she didn't even utter a word of thanks when dropping off the check! This is not typical of the service offered at Montecito Cafe, thankfully!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on April 9, 2016

Love Montecito Café!

We've been going there for years and always enjoy special occasions with family and friends!

They are famous for their wonderful coconut cake! We are saddened because after 30 years they have lost their lease and will close at the end of November!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on April 2, 2016

Service was also amazing! Loved the atmosphere. Tasty lunch fare.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 1, 2016

This has been one of our safe, "go to" places in the neighborhood for the past 4 years, but no longer.

Some changes have been taking place that have been discouraging: staff changes and strange menu changes.

Today I could find nothing appealing except the turkey sandwich and fries, requested crisp. What a mistake. The fries were soggy and cold; I could find no lettuce on this strangely built sandwich. When it returned from the kitchen, the replacement fries were just as bad as before and instead of a piece of iceberg lettuce, there was wet, limp shredded lettuce.

The only taste to my sandwich was provided by the Dijon mustard. The sesame bun had no taste and less texture.

They graciously comped my lunch but it was totally inedible.

My partner's pesto shrimp salad seemed satisfactory.

Still, for a sandwich I had ordered in the past it was a major disappointment.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on March 31, 2016

Our third visit to this wonderful restaurant... cannot be beat! The food, wine, and service were impeccable; we highly, highly recommend!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Richmond)·Dined on March 30, 2016

The chicken piccata was delicious - the chicken had a fantastic crust and the lemon caper butter sauce was the perfect complement. My husband enjoyed the cedar planked salmon with scalloped potatoes. Great dinner!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.