About Montecito Cafe

1295 Coast Village Rd
Santa Barbara, CA 93108
View Larger Map

The Montecito Café is a family run restaurant and was established in 1986 by husband and wife team Mark and Margaret Huston. The food is simple and delicious. The Montecito Cafe has been awarded "Best Restaurant in Montecito" for the last 15 years in a row. We make all of our own soups, sauces, stocks, dressings, hamburger buns and desserts daily from scratch on the premises. We use only the freshest and highest quality ingredients and specialize in fresh fish, salads, pasta, grilled meats, burgers and sandwiches. Our desserts are excellent and we are famous for our coconut cake. We strive to provided quality service and value to our customers every day. We are located in the beautiful Montecito Inn Hotel built by Charlie Chaplin and free valet parking is available.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Californian, Contemporary French

Hours of Operation:


Lunch: Daily 11:30am-2:30pm
Dinner: Daily 5:30pm-10:00pm
Bar Hours : Daily from 5:00pm-10:00pm,
Bar is Open until 11:00pm on Friday & Saturday

Cross Street:
OLIVE MILL ROAD

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(805) 969-3392

Website:
http://montecitocafe.com/

Parking Details:
Street Parking as well as free valet parking is available

Public Transit:
Olive Mill Rd Bus Stop

Executive Chef:
Mark Huston

Additional:
Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Cafe, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
We will be serving a 3 Course Dinner For New Year's Eve. Please call us for reservations at 805-969-3392

Restaurant Photos

  • Montecito Cafe
  • Montecito Cafe
  • Montecito Cafe
  • Montecito Cafe
Montecito Cafe
Montecito Cafe
Montecito Cafe
Montecito Cafe

Montecito Cafe Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.4

ambience

4.3

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

97% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Great for Lunch
California Central Coast
Neighborhood Gem
California Central Coast
Neighborhood Gem
Santa Barbara
Best Restaurants in Santa Barbara ›

Neighborhood Gem (41)
Great for Lunch (26)
Special Occasion (23)
See All
Fit for Foodies (14)
Romantic (14)
Good for Groups (10)
Great for Brunch (7)
Notable Wine List (7)
Scenic View (5)
Kid-friendly (4)
Hot Spot (3)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Sort By:
Newest
187 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

We were celebrating our 29th wedding ann ...

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined 3 days ago

We were celebrating our 29th wedding anniversary on the day went. The service was good, I'd say service was excellent except we had a long wait for our cocktails had to ask for bread and didn't get our waters until our meal was half over. It seemed like they were short staffed but it was a Monday so we thought we'd be fine. Otherwise our meals were excellent. Have had lunch here but never dinner and cocktails.

Tags: Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Business Meals, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

One of my favorite places to dine. Qual ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined 5 days ago

One of my favorite places to dine. Quality food at a reasonable price.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Montecito Cafe is an absolute gem. The ...

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined 5 days ago

Montecito Cafe is an absolute gem. The food is always great and the service even better. The fact that the restaurant is always full is a testament to the quality of the establishment. We keep going back because we hear the current tenants are leaving at the end of November and we want to make the most of it while it is still in place!!

Tags: Healthy, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We vacation in Santa Barbra with our son ...

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined 6 days ago

We vacation in Santa Barbra with our son &daughterin law.We look forward to eating at the cafe each year.The Staff the food&other coconut cake wonderful,

Tags: Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Beautiful rooming a pan pan excellent c ...

vip
 (Denver)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

Beautiful rooming a pan pan excellent classic hotel 2 blocks from the Ocean

Tags: Romantic, Scenic View, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food always good never disapoints. The ...

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on August 11, 2016

Food always good never disapoints. The service is excellent, the bread delicious! A real gem in Montecito. We were there for lunch with clients, they loved it.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great experience, cannot wait to go back ...

vip
 (Louisville)
·Dined on August 9, 2016

Great experience, cannot wait to go back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

A sin that the restaurant will be closin ...

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

A sin that the restaurant will be closing soon, but thankfully there are still 2 Janes to dine at. This restaurant is a fixture on our dining rota. Food is always top shelf, service impeccable--on top of things without being overbearing--and the quality to price excellent for a Montecito establishment. Always get the coconut cake for dessert. Always.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Thank you for another wonderful dinner. ...

vip
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

Thank you for another wonderful dinner. We'll miss you!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

We've been going there as long as the re ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

We've been going there as long as the restaurant has been open - 30+ years. It's one of our favorite local spots and we are very unhappy that this location will no longer be open come November.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fabulous meal with the best cedar-plank ...

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

Fabulous meal with the best cedar-plank salmon I've ever had! It was moist, tender, and wonderful taste. Another party at our table had the filet mignon and raved at the tenderness and flavor. It melted in his mouth. Had their "special" coconut cake for dessert....to die for! One of my favorite restaurants...always especially good.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We are so sorry that Montecito Cafe will ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

We are so sorry that Montecito Cafe will be closing in November. It is a real gem of a restaurant in Santa Barbara /Montecito.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

The Montecito Café has always been one ...

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on July 21, 2016

The Montecito Café has always been one of our family favorites for celebrating special occasions and we will miss them when they close later this year (2016)!

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food is well prepared and tasty. Good va ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on July 19, 2016

Food is well prepared and tasty. Good variety on menu. Desserts are very good. Service is exemplary. Fast and friendly.

Wine list is good.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

Been going here for many, many years. W ...

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Been going here for many, many years. Will miss it very much. One of the best in town., and

definitely the best value in town.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always a favorite place. The coconut ca ...

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

Always a favorite place. The coconut cake is the first thing that I order.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Just a wonderful place to have a relaxin ...

vip
 (Palm Springs)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

Just a wonderful place to have a relaxing, quality meal. John and our server, Samora make you feel just like family. Our favorite restaurant, hands down.

Tags: Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Comfortable, reliable, reasonable and de ...

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on June 14, 2016

Comfortable, reliable, reasonable and delicious! Wish you weren't moving...

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Really good service, attentive but not a ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

Really good service, attentive but not annoying. Unfortunately, the food did not match it. Had some mushy, bland halibut and weird potatoes. Duck was kind of dry. Overall, an average experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5

IThis is my fav Montecito restaurant. Ch ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on June 10, 2016

IThis is my fav Montecito restaurant. Chicken Piccata is my standby, always good but save room for their signature coconut cake with anglaise sauce.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Nice decor and ambiance!

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 5, 2016

It's a wonderful, beautiful venue to share with friends and family!

My steak sandwich and shrimp bisque were mediocre at best but the service was friendly, welcoming and attentive.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

One of the best restaurants in town.

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on June 3, 2016

The quality of the food for the price has always been a major calling card, plus the usual great service. Gonna miss the Cafe when it closes in November and moves to Goleta.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

Wonderful place for a delicious meal at ...

vip
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on May 28, 2016

Wonderful place for a delicious meal at very reasonable prices for the location and level and of quality! AND there is no better coconut cake in the world.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Consistently great experience.

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on May 27, 2016

I am a local, and have been patronizing MC for years. Service and food are always excellent, therefore you can count on a solid experience when entertaining friends or business clients.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Go Before They Move

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on May 26, 2016

Have eaten here many times. The staff and the food are always reliable, but not "foodie"

fare. The fish entrée (petrale sole) was fresh and the duck breast special was tasty.

They will close this location sometime in November. Remember they are JANE in SB and will open in Goleta

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value4

My wife and I are never disappointed wit ...

vip
 (Palm Springs)
·Dined on May 22, 2016

My wife and I are never disappointed with the service or the food. When Catherine is in charge everything is always special. Best restaurant value in Santa Barbara.

Tags: Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Obviously a place for regulars. Seemed l ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on May 4, 2016

Obviously a place for regulars. Seemed like all guests were old monte into folks. Service very good. Very pleasant evening

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value4

Great Restaurant

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on April 27, 2016

The Montecito Café is a wonderful restaurant. I frequently take clients there for lunch because I know the food will always be outstanding and the service will be friendly and responsive.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

Good food choices and done well. Good wi ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on April 27, 2016

Good food choices and done well. Good wine list and service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Poor service, good food

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on April 17, 2016

The food, when finally served, was pretty good. Our party's complaint is about the service. Waitress took forever to come for drinks order, and then we waited a full thirty minutes before we asked the hostess to please send the waitress to collect our dinner orders. She made a flimsy excuse about the waitress being caught up with the espresso machine and the hostess took our order. Well, the waitress had been at each of the tables around us, simply never bothered to come to us. Bottom line is that the hostess did most of the service. Not a class act at a restaurant we've enjoyed in the past.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

Beautiful space, delicious meals.

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on April 16, 2016

But on this particular evening, service was lacking. Our server barely spoke to us, possibly because she became perturbed that we did not wish to order immediately upon being seated; she rushed the second course, so we had to sit our salads to one side and finish them after the entrees; and, she didn't even utter a word of thanks when dropping off the check! This is not typical of the service offered at Montecito Cafe, thankfully!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

Bitter Sweet!

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on April 9, 2016

Love Montecito Café!

We've been going there for years and always enjoy special occasions with family and friends!

They are famous for their wonderful coconut cake! We are saddened because after 30 years they have lost their lease and will close at the end of November!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Cute place!

 
 (Orange County)
·Dined on April 2, 2016

Service was also amazing! Loved the atmosphere. Tasty lunch fare.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This has been one of our safe, "go to" p ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on April 1, 2016

This has been one of our safe, "go to" places in the neighborhood for the past 4 years, but no longer.

Some changes have been taking place that have been discouraging: staff changes and strange menu changes.

Today I could find nothing appealing except the turkey sandwich and fries, requested crisp. What a mistake. The fries were soggy and cold; I could find no lettuce on this strangely built sandwich. When it returned from the kitchen, the replacement fries were just as bad as before and instead of a piece of iceberg lettuce, there was wet, limp shredded lettuce.

The only taste to my sandwich was provided by the Dijon mustard. The sesame bun had no taste and less texture.

They graciously comped my lunch but it was totally inedible.

My partner's pesto shrimp salad seemed satisfactory.

Still, for a sandwich I had ordered in the past it was a major disappointment.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service5

Outstanding restaurant in Montecito

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on March 31, 2016

Our third visit to this wonderful restaurant... cannot be beat! The food, wine, and service were impeccable; we highly, highly recommend!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The chicken piccata was delicious - the ...

vip
 (Virginia)
·Dined on March 30, 2016

The chicken piccata was delicious - the chicken had a fantastic crust and the lemon caper butter sauce was the perfect complement. My husband enjoyed the cedar planked salmon with scalloped potatoes. Great dinner!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Fun with friends!

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on March 14, 2016

Well its not everyday you can find a place that has great food and service. The six of us male and female had such a good time not only because of the company we kept but because dinner and the service was fabulous! The Montecito Cafe has become one of our favorites and I look forward to my next great meal with good friends.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Late-night Find, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

Always a pleasure to dine here when staying here.

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on March 3, 2016

Excellent in every way. The menu is predictable in that we always find several items we would like to enjoy. Service is friendly but permits privacy.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

Local favorite for many years

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on March 2, 2016

Montecito cafe has been a local favorite for many, many years. A wonderful place to dine if you want good food at good prices and in a comfortable setting where you can actually have a conversation!

We are told the Montecito cafe will be closing this fall, and that is truly a shame! I'm sure the new owners will put in another "expensive, hip, trendy and NOISY restaurant, as if there were not enough of those around already.

Losing the Montecito cafe will create a great void for so many people who frequent the restaurant.

Tags: Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great dinner!

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on March 1, 2016

Great dinner with plate split w no charge; topped off with coconut cake which was the lightest and most flavorable!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.