Unfortunately, this restaurant is not on the OpenTable reservation network. To see if they take reservations and have availability, you will need to call the restaurant directly or visit their website. View Details

Restaurants you may also like

14 North Restaurant14 North Restaurant
(335)
Gastro Pub | Bozeman, Bozeman
Reserve Now
Saffron TableSaffron Table
(352)
Contemporary Indian | Bozeman, Bozeman
Reserve Now
Copper Whiskey Bar & GrillCopper Whiskey Bar & Grill
(92)
American | Bozeman, Bozeman
Reserve Now
Feast Raw Bar & BistroFeast Raw Bar & Bistro
(65)
American | Bozeman, Bozeman
Reserve Now
SevenSeven
(49)
Sushi | Bozeman, Bozeman
Reserve Now
Blacksmith ItalianBlacksmith Italian
(21)
Italian | Bozeman, Bozeman
Reserve Now
Mirch MasalaMirch Masala
(5)
Indian | Bozeman, Bozeman
Reserve Now
Dave's SushiDave's Sushi
Reviews Coming Soon
Sushi | Bozeman, Bozeman
Reserve Now
Olive B's Big SkyOlive B's Big Sky
(131)
Continental | Big Sky, Bozeman
Reserve Now
By Word Of MouthBy Word Of Mouth
(36)
American | Big Sky, Bozeman
Reserve Now
Moonlight TavernMoonlight Tavern
(25)
American | Big Sky, Bozeman
Reserve Now
Andiamo Italian GrilleAndiamo Italian Grille
(47)
Italian | Big Sky, Bozeman
Reserve Now
Everett's 8,800Everett's 8,800
(86)
Northwest | Big Sky, Bozeman
Reserve Now
Three Peaks Lodge at Yellowstone Collective Moonlight BasinThree Peaks Lodge at Yellowstone Collective Moonlight Basin
Reviews Coming Soon
Farm-to-table | Big Sky, Bozeman
Reserve Now

About Montana Ale Works

611 E Main St
Bozeman, MT 59715-3778
View Larger Map

Bozeman’s favorite gathering place and award-winning restaurant and bar

Our artfully-crafted upscale comfort food ranges from hand-cut steaks to fresh seafood, local beef and bison burgers, entree salads, grilled fish tacos and locally sourced organic and gluten free dishes. We offer the most extensive draft selection of regionally-brewed craft beers on tap in the Northern Rockies, plus a full bar, creative cocktails, house infusions and a diverse wine.

From quiet booths to our energetic bar billiards, intimate dining to summer patio lounging…Montana Ale Works: Everything Great About Bozeman.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Comfort Food, Burgers, Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Daily: 4:00pm - 11:00pm

Cross Street:
Wallace Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(406) 587-7700

Website:
http://montanaaleworks.com/

Parking Details:
Private parking lot and street parking.

Executive Chef:
Roth Jordan

Private Party Facilities:
No one in Bozeman throws a party like Montana Ale Works. For birthdays, holiday parties, rehearsal dinners or corporate events, the Ale Works ambiance, hospitality and cuisine is unsurpassed.

Pre-set menus(or custom designed) are available, accompanied by our full bar, the largest regional micro-brew selection in town, and a first-rate wine list. Choose from three venues to match the scope-or desired volume level-of your gathering. Allow to ensure that your party is unforgettable.

Contact our Banquet Events Coordinator, Dawn Brown, to discuss further detalis.

Private Party Contact:
Dawn Brown: 4065877700

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Bison Burger
Chef's Special Lasagna
Montana Meatloaf
mac&cheese
Espresso Chocolate Crepe
Prosciutto Wrapped Ahi Tuna
Smoke Stack Burger
French Onion Soup
Seafood Paella
Cornmeal Crusted Local Trout
Asian Salad W/ Tofu
Sort By:
Newest
112 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Reliable Choice

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on February 1, 2016

We eat here often when in town. It's not "wow" food but it's consistently above average. It's great family place. Good beer and beverages. Prob would skip wine here but the fun cocktails are enough. The pot sticker appetizer is our favorite...must try them. Service always friendly. Definitely recommend reservations as its a popular spot.

Tags: good for groups, great for lunch, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

WE love this place and will continue to ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on January 22, 2016

WE love this place and will continue to go back! Great food, great vibe, great service!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

The food is always good and it's such a ...

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on January 19, 2016

The food is always good and it's such a treat!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great

vip
 (Denver)
·Dined on January 10, 2016

Always a great experience. Service excellent, as was the food. Prime grade steak special Saturday night...priceless!

Tags: neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Excellent place to meet up with family and friends

 
 (Montana)
·Dined on January 7, 2016

We had a short notice family and friend gathering. Trying to find a table for 9 at 6:30 can be a challenge. But Ale Works did it! Great waiter and excellent food. We probably over stayed out welcome during their busy hours, but we never knew. Relaxed family friendly atmosphere. We will be back for certain. Highly recommended

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

New Year's Eve

 
 (Montana)
·Dined on January 1, 2016

Ale works had things pretty dialed in for a big night. Classy wait staff attire and a great specials menu for the celebration.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, late-night find, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

great

 
 (Montana)
·Dined on November 6, 2015

This restaurant has great food and atmosphere. They are involved in lot of local restaurant events and support local producers.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

Okay but not special

 
 (Orange County)
·Dined on October 4, 2015

My duck was good but the potatoes were not exciting. It was not worth the $28. My daughter's pulled pork lacked any flavor and we were not sure that the margarita had any tequila in it It was not drinkable. The waitress did replace it with just a shot of tequila. My husband's meatloaf was fine. The waitress was nice and they have a very nice beer selection. My glass of wine was good and not overpriced.

Tags: hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3

Great Food

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 4, 2015

The food and service here was fantastic! We also tried some of the locals beers and were quite pleased.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Dark but good

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 28, 2015

This is a very popular spot. Good place to hang late and play pool. Food is good. You cannot go wrong with a burger. Nice selection of wine as well as the obvious beers. It is VERY dark inside and reading the menu can be challenging. Ask to sit in area around the bar or the rail car as the side room is gloomy and based on past experiences, it is the spot they sit open table patrons. Little glitch in beginning as told we had two reservations but open table had no record of this.

Tags: good for groups, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

Montana Ale Works is a favorite restaura ...

vip
·Dined on August 14, 2015

Montana Ale Works is a favorite restaurant in our town. We love getting the Asian wings for starters. Meals are usually good but the noise is sometimes too loud. I would recommend their nightly specials, especially the halibut.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

We were in for a birthday celebration wi ...

 
 (Montana)
·Dined on August 12, 2015

We were in for a birthday celebration with a group of 10 and our server was wonderful. Great food, yummy cocktails, fun evening! We love aleworks.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Loud, inconsistent food, adequate service

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 11, 2015

The outside waitress was rather abrupt as she explained that our reservation did not entitle us to be seated outdoors. Once inside, the music was very loud. We were seated promptly, our table was clean and the service prompt. While I enjoyed my pot roast that was on special, my daughter's quesadilla was VERY spicy, (almost inedible) and my husband's rib-eye special $39 was very gristly. He did not send it back, but should have. I don't know if they just ran out of rib-eye and substituted another cut of meat, but it was clearly not a good piece of meat or worth the price. They have a wide selection of beer and the crowd seems to enjoy the scene. It is very noisy, between the music, the brick walls and high ceilings, but it could be considered ambience if meal time conservation isn't important.

Tags: vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3

Great time

 
 (Montana)
·Dined on August 1, 2015

As always ale works is always great however this time they did over cook my burger😏

Tags: neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5

Great Restaurant - a must visit if in Bozeman !

 
 (Montana)
·Dined on July 16, 2015

Fun restaurant with consistently great food, with good variety, so anyone could find something they like. If you like to try different beers, this is the place for you.

Tags: good for groups, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3

Food Was Wonderful!

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on July 6, 2015

It had been a while since I've eaten at Montana Ale Works. I'm glad I came back. The staff was wonderful, very accommodating, helpful with food and beverage choices. Our meal was very good and we all left very happy.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Reservation fail

 
 (Montana)
·Dined on July 2, 2015

This restaurant is a frequent stop on our visit to Bozeman. Normally it is a pleasant experience. Having that it mind, I made a reservation expecting a nice table near a window or on the patio. Imagine my disappointment when we were seated in a dark, dank room next to the kitchen door. This room doesn't even match the rest of the restaurant. I asked to be moved and we were seated in a booth next to a brick wall. Why bother to make a reservation if the table will not be any better or even worse than if you didn't.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

Great place for family and food.

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on July 2, 2015

We set up reservations online and were seated immediately upon arrival while many other groups were waiting. Our server was fantastic. The options on the kid's menu were great and the portions were enough to feed a small adult. The main menu had multiple options. My son loved his smokestack burger and my bison chili rellenos were very tasty. My wife really like the flavors in the fish tacos, however, we were disappointed with the one piece of fish that resembled a fish stick. Finally, the adult beverages were very good and reasonably priced. We'd highly recommend Montana Ale Works and will eat there again when we visit Bozeman. We will also use Open Table to set up our reservations!

Tags: kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Great Choice

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 1, 2015

This was one of the better meals during a long summer vacation. A great aosphere in this highly popular downtown slot.

Food was delicious and the beer and wine list excellent.

Highly recommended.

Tags: good for groups, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

Very ordinary food - my salad was missin ...

vip
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on June 28, 2015

Very ordinary food - my salad was missing some key ingredients listed in the description. The bar area was lively and looked popular; the restaurant section however was loud with lots of very young children, sparse decor. Not really the spot for a memorable dinner but probably fun if you are looking for a bar with food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3

Great food, great atmosphere

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on June 27, 2015

Each year we come to Montana for our summer stay on the Madison. When we plan our dinner out to celebrate we come to Montana Ale! We celebrated well ... Food was great and our server did his best to take care of us which he did well. We will come back when we can when we come into Bozeman.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Reserve seats in the Grill Room

 
 (Montana)
·Dined on May 30, 2015

The main bar is fun but very loud and they don't take reservations for it. However, they do take them for the Grill Room. We asked them to turn down the music and they accomodated it right away. We got to eat the same great food but in a space that allowed us to have a conversation.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great Neighborhood Find

 
 (Montana)
·Dined on May 24, 2015

This was our first time to Montana Ale House -- what a great neighborhood find. The food selection, quality, taste and the atmosphere is vibrant. We will be back soon.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Delicious

 
 (Montana)
·Dined on May 15, 2015

We always have a great experience when we come to Ale Works. Food and service always fantastic

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

FAIL

 
 (Montana)
·Dined on April 25, 2015

Based on reviews i called the day of our reservation to confirm seating in the Grill Room. Phone etiquette aside, the time was confirmed. Upon early arrival we found our table had been given to another party so we could either wait or sit in the main area. We waited as we were hoping for a quieter environment for our elderly guests. After 15 minutes we were finally seated right next to the kitchen service door. It was unbelievably loud in the room. It was unbelievably loud in the main area which spilled into the Grill Room. It was very busy so the traffic in & out of the kitchen matched.

The noise, reservation antics and sub-par service are all examples of why we are continually disappointed in Bozeman. The food was good but certainly overshadowed by the former.

The Open Table system worked well but the staff at the Ale Works that we dealt with were clueless. If i wanted to sit at the bar or wait for the next available table i wouldn't have taken the time to make a reservation.

This is NOT the place for conversation or folks with hearing issues.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service1

Fanrastic service and food

 
 (Montana)
·Dined on March 6, 2015

I took my parents here and they loved it. They couldn't say enough great things. They loved our server Shantelle. She was courteous and friendly and enhanced the experience.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

good food..bad neighbors

 
 (Montana)
·Dined on February 28, 2015

We took friends from out of town specifically for the good food and beer selection. We were seated at a great window table behind the bar. two families with 3 young children were seated right next to us. The loud screaming and lack of conttol, almost spoiled the night for us. Would not recommend for children as it is indeed a BAR afterall.

Tags: good for groups, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

NICE PLACE!!!!

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on February 23, 2015

Beer list was amazing!!!! I can't believe there are so many breweries in Montana. The food and service were excellent as well. Love the restaurant!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, late-night find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Ask to be sat in main bar area

 
 (Montana)
·Dined on February 23, 2015

Having made a booking we were seated in the grill room off to the side of the main area, which lacked any atmosphere or vibe whatsoever. Would have loved to have sat in the main restaurant / bar area (anywhere else in the restaurant).

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3

Will never go back

 
 (Montana)
·Dined on February 16, 2015

After making an online reservation (three weeks prior) I made a special note that i would be bringing my husband in to celebrate our one year wedding anniversary. Once we got we had to wait ten minutes for the table and it was the worst table in the place. A cranes two person table shoved against a wall with menus stacked on the ledge and right next to the swinging doors that staff constantly go in and out of. Needless to say we didn't stay to eat. It almost ruined out evening and we went and found a better place. We will never return and neither will our families when they come to visit.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service1

Always great food and great service!

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on January 27, 2015

We always try to stop here for dinner anytime we are in Bozeman. We ate there Tues night and as usual it was perfect! Salads are always fresh and the service was great!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Exceeded Expectations

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on January 13, 2015

We have been here twice this week already and loved it. The beer and food are excellent, and the service is quite good for a busy place. We were glad we had a reservation even on a Monday night!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

We eat there often

 
 (Montana)
·Dined on December 31, 2014

Good food and service. Their fries are really good - parmesan crusted - yum! Love the atmosphere and the service is always top notch!

Tags: kid-friendly, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The open table didnt work

 
 (Montana)
·Dined on December 8, 2014

Get there and be prepared to wait. They dont honor ur open table reservation

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2

Good food, service. & beer selection. Pool tables!

 
 (Montana)
·Dined on December 2, 2014

A step up from traditional "pub food." Perfect mix of restaurant & tap room. Good food, service. & beer selection. Pool tables!

Tags: good for groups, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Great for Friends

 
 (Montana)
·Dined on November 23, 2014

Great place to take friends. Excellent variety on the menu. Food was good. We had the evening special of stroganoff. Was a little disappoint, tasted like roast beef with gravy. Service was ok. I don't think our server really gave us much thought other than taking our order. He didn't deliver our food, check back with us or offer dessert. We were also seated by the kitchen door which for making a reservation was disappointing. We will definitely return, I think it was just an off night. And the Wedge is to die for.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3

Great place. Good food, not overly pric ...

 
 (Montana)
·Dined on November 16, 2014

Great place. Good food, not overly priced, good wine list.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Amaxing

 
 (Montana)
·Dined on November 1, 2014

Great food, one of the best places in Bozeman. The service was extremely friendly and attentive.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Wonderful

 
 (Montana)
·Dined on October 11, 2014

What a great place to have a nice dinner. They have a great selection of food. Their burgers are amazing and the daily specials lean towards the foodies. The night we were there it was lamb sliders, seafood paella, and seared duck breast. They have a huge selection of local beers. They have a small intimate room or the large bar area.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Favorite spot

 
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on September 27, 2014

Have to eat here when we visit our son at college. (Go Cats) Can be a bit loud, but we love it.

Tags: good for groups, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.