Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.51mi
  2. Distance: 1.39mi
  3. Distance: 2.27mi
  4. Distance: 2.48mi
  1. Distance: 0.51mi
  2. Distance: 1.39mi
  3. Distance: 2.27mi
  4. Distance: 2.48mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.51mi
  2. Distance: 1.39mi
  3. Distance: 2.27mi
  4. Distance: 2.48mi
  1. Distance: 0.51mi
  2. Distance: 1.39mi
  3. Distance: 2.27mi
  4. Distance: 2.48mi

About Montalcino Ristorante Italiano

At Montalcino Ristorante Italiano fine food and wine are a way of life. All dishes are prepared with passion and tradition, using only the freshest, highest quality real Italian ingredients. Charismatic Italian family ownership brings a classic atmosphere to the restaurant where everyone is part of the family. A quality menu with many family receipts and a top unique wine list including wines produced by the family creates a perfect dining experience.

15 NW Alder Place
Issaquah, WA 98027
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:00am - 2:00pm; Dinner: Monday - Sunday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm

Cross Street:
Front Street

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(425) 270-3677

Website:
http://montalcinoristoranteitaliano.com/

Executive Chef:
Michelina Nardone

Private Party Facilities:
Please contact Fernando for details.

Private Party Contact:
Fernado Nardone: (206) 818-0496

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Entertainment, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, High Tea, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Mon - Thu 4:30PM - 5:00PM 8:30PM - 9:00PM

Montalcino Ristorante Italiano Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.8

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.8

service

4.8

ambience

4.7

value

4.4

noise

Moderate

98% would recommend it to a friend

Romantic (63)
Special Occasion (58)
Good for a Date (54)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (50)
Neighborhood Gem (47)
Authentic (43)
Cozy (33)
Creative Cuisine (29)
Worth the Drive (28)
Good for Birthdays (27)
Fit for Foodies (26)
Quiet Conversation (24)
Notable Wine List (23)
Pre/post Theatre (23)
Local Ingredients (12)
Live Music (12)
Fun (8)
Family Style (7)
Business Meals (6)
Comfort Food (6)
Tasting Menu (5)
Late-night Find (4)
Private Room (4)
Gluten Free Options (4)
Casual (4)
Seasonal (3)
Disabled Access (3)
Historic (3)
Healthy (3)
Good Vegetarian Options (3)
Organic (3)
Hot Spot (3)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Good for Groups (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (2)
Handcrafted Cocktails (2)
Outstanding Value (2)
Vegan (1)
People Watching (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Sort By:
S
934 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined 3 days ago

Outstanding food as usual. Service top notch. Very authentic. Nice and quaint. Lot's of menu selections and fresh daily selections. Good selection on wines as well.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Romantic, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Seattle)·Dined 5 days ago

Great find in downtown Issaquah. This place is busy and hard to get a table since it does prearranged seating. If you are lucky to get in, you will not be disappointed by the service, ambiance, or possibly the musician. Our table was going to be about 15 minutes later than what our reservation was for so they asked us to wait outside, really no room inside to wait. They brought us a little prosecco to drink. It was a nice touch.

Tags: Authentic, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Seattle)·Dined 5 days ago

Great place for dinner, highly recommend for a night out of the kitchen. I plan on going again soon when family comes to town.

Tags: Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Seattle)·Dined 5 days ago

Superb on all counts but very small (adding to the ambience). Reserve early for Friday or Saturday dinner!

Tags: Special Occasion, Authentic, Live Music, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined 5 days ago

Simply great food. Good selection with a solid base of traditional Italian dishes. Very small, only 10 tables so very intimate. The host (son of the chef and owner) takes a personal interest and stops to insure everything is perfect.

Tags: Seasonal, Worth the Drive, Business Meals, Comfort Food, Neighborhood Gem, Cozy, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Seattle)·Dined 6 days ago

Second time here, the experience was as good as the first. Large take home box, good portion sizes and worthy of the price.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, Romantic, Live Music, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Seattle)·Dined 6 days ago

The food is always delicious, a bit spendy, but well worth it!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Special Occasion, Authentic, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on March 16, 2017

Small, amazing service, food is WOW!!!

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on March 16, 2017

If you are into finding the best Italian meal on the east side put this on your list.

Tags: Cozy, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on March 14, 2017

I have been going to this restaurant since they opened six years ago and am always impressed with the quality of the food and exceptional service. This is a family run business and every detail is executed to perfection. Great menu choices and their wine list is outstanding. Whether you have a personal celebration or want to wow a business contact this is the best choice in Issaquah.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Healthy, Fun, Great for Lunch, Local Ingredients, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on March 14, 2017

Fantastic food and a charming atmosphere. Also, a great wine list. Great place to take a date or just go out for real good Italian food with a warm ambience.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on March 12, 2017

.. Excellent authentic Argentine cuisine, good variety of wines, good service and tango music, you can not ask more..

Tags: Casual, Fun, Notable Wine List, Pre/post Theatre, Cozy, Local Ingredients, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Romantic, Family Style, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on March 11, 2017

I booked this restaurant through Open Table after seeing that Montalcino Ristorante Italiano was named one of the top 100 Most Romantic restaurants by Open Table. I don't know why we had never been - this is a lovely place. The staff was personable and accommodating which is always a bonus. But, the food was exceptional. Each of us thought our menu item was the best. We started with the Salumi e Formaggi which was plentiful and fresh. We had one guest who really just wanted spaghetti and meatballs, and the Pasta and Kobe Meatballs all Marsala was altered to his wishes. The three other dishes were meat and seafood - and all were wonderful. We concluded that this restaurant is our new favorite on the eastside. Make plans early, it's a smaller space. Know that you should plan your visit to be about an hour and a half. There is live music - come with a list of your favorite melodies.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on March 10, 2017

Amazing food - we had three very different dishes and we were not disappointed. My sister and brother-in-law had the Cesar and I had the mixed green salad to start - both were very good. Great extra touches with the olive oil/balsamic bread to start, cheese between the salad and main course and the dessert wine to finish. Would definitely go back and recommend to friends.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on March 9, 2017

The ingredients, preparation, and presentation of the food and wine were meticulous but not fussy, and everything was delicious.

Tags: Good for a Date, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Fun, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on March 9, 2017

Montalcino is an excellent restaurant for special occasions and times when someone would want to impress a date or a business contact. It is an intimate location with good service and quality, authentic Italian cuisine and has an impressive wine list. This is not a place to order a lasagna to bring home to your family. It is more of a place for adults and foodies. Maybe, an older, well behaved child or two would feel comfortable here, but I wouldn't call it a good place for large groups of children to eat supper at. It is "fancy" but not fussy. You don't want to wear your best tye-dye T-shirt here, but could wear a business casual style of shirt or outfit like a nice golf shirt or black dress and sandals. There was a guitarist playing requested Italian songs on an acoustic guitar, which was a nice touch.
I did see people wearing their baseball caps inside, at a table along with some goofy-looking t-shirts, therefore they did look out-of-place in the setting. It was obvious that they did not care about fashion or appearance, however, they were treated as well as anyone else dining there in more appropriate clothing. It is a friendly, petite, warm and inviting place with excellent food and service. If you like wine, it has an excellent wine list and if you want to do something in your goofy t-shirt, I would suggest going to the wine bar next door: (Vino -also run by Montalcino). Vino would be a good choice for a more casual meal or happy hour. Montalcino is perfect for special occasions, dates, after-theatre meals or for those who like to dress up a bit to make their fine dining session more of a special setting for all diners. However, Montalcino welcomes even those who could care less how they present themselves in a good restaurant. This place is wonderful in all ways and deserves to have people respect the setting. Ciao!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Fun, People Watching, Business Meals, Live Music, Pre/post Theatre, Notable Wine List, Disabled Access, Good for Birthdays, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Seasonal, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Comfort Food, Authentic, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on March 8, 2017

Wonderful service, ambiance and the food...WOW, amazing! Also, great wine list😉

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Private Room, Tasting Menu, Cozy, Comfort Food, Notable Wine List, Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine, Historic, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Gluten Free Options, Pre/post Theatre, Authentic, Casual, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Family Style, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on March 8, 2017

This is just our second time to dine in and we are coming back again on our anniversary. We always get great service and the food is excellent. We had been to a lot of Italian restsurants, here in Washington and Minneapolis, MN and found this restaurant has an authentic Italian taste. We tell all our friends about this place everytime we talk about eating/dining out.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on March 5, 2017

The food was fantastic and the service was great. Small restaurant with 10 to 12 tables so the noise level was low. Best authentic Italian food in the area!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Pre/post Theatre, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on March 3, 2017

A very good choice. Fabulous pasta dishes-- notable for the wild boar ragu and kobe beef meatballs. Very nice service. Our only complaints-- they serve only wine and beer, and they were out of tiramisu.

Tags: Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Family Style, Romantic, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 2, 2017

Wonderful dinner. So good we enjoyed dinner here two nights this week. Highly recommend!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on February 27, 2017

Really good food and fantastic ambiance.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on February 26, 2017

This is one of Issaquah's finest neighborhood gems. The food is fantastic, true homemade Italian cooking.

Tags: Romantic, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on February 26, 2017

Went to Montalcino's as a party of 6 to celebrate my sisters 60th birthday. Charming family run restaurant, with small capacity of 35, and has Old Italian ambiance with brick wall, candles, low light (they do provide mini flashlights to view menu!) Wait staff VERY attentive, A+ food, excellent family wine label, cheeses and meats. Expect to $pend a good amount if you are dining and drinking wine but it was worth every cent. Live guitar and vocals with bonus of a few songs very very talented opera singer (guitar/vocalist's daughter) My sister was serenaded with an Italian Happy Birthday song. Wouldn't go with party larger than 6 and is perfect atmosphere for a romantic evening for 2!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on February 24, 2017

I would definitely recommmend this restaurant. Excellent service and food and atmoshere. Many choices on the menu. The waitress went out of her way to get me a Baileys to go a long wiht my coffee - they didn't have any so she went to the restaurant next to them and got it from there.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Authentic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 24, 2017

I will give this restaurant a 5 star, plus! The food was out of this world. The pasta was fresh, and homemade, bread delicious, dessert fabulous!!!! The whole meal was wonderful, and the owner and the waitresses were exceptional and friendly. Ambience was perfect, it felt like we were in Italy again. The best restaurant in Issaquah. I'd say it does even better than most of the Italian restaurants in downtown Seattle!!! Will go back quite frequently!

Tags: Casual, Good for Anniversaries, Molecular Gastronomy, Local Ingredients, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on February 23, 2017

Love this restaurant. Looking forward to working my way through the menu. Great food and service. Plan well in advance. It's small and cozy, can take some time to get a reservation.

Tags: Disabled Access, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on February 22, 2017

Great food,service and atmosphere.. will definitely go back

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on February 22, 2017

This restaurant was recommended to me by some friends. They were right! It was fantastic and all four of us loved our meals. We shared some great wine and we lingered as we were the last seating of the night. Would highly recommend this quaint and intimate spot.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on February 21, 2017

I think this may be a new favorite for me...it was our first time there and everything was great.

Tags: Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on February 20, 2017

An authentic Italian experience. Gourmet food, fine wines, great service. The owner is very friendly and likes to personally make sure that all is well, in both English and Italian - "tutto bene?" :-)
Not cheap, but HIGHLY RECOMMENDED.

Tags: Authentic, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Romantic, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on February 20, 2017

My wife and I had dinner at Montalcino Ristorante Italiano and were completely blown away with how good the place was. Having been to Italy, I can say that this restaurant totally measures up to what we had over there. We started out with a nice bottle of Tuscan red wine and their Insalata di Montalcino. My wife had the Lobster Ravioli w/ Jumbo Lobster Tail alla Mia as her main course and I had the Wild Boar Pappardelle di Giovanni as mine. Both dishes were so good we didn't want them to end. For dessert we had their Homemade Tiramisu which was one of the best we have ever had anywhere. The service was also top rate. We are looking forward to going back as soon as we can to try some of their other dishes.

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Great service and food! Also enjoyed the Italian wines.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Best local resturant for those special occasions with your sweetheart or with your close friends. Unbelievable food, great ambiance, and superb service.

Tags: Live Music, Romantic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Very great restaurant. Customer service is excellent, and food is delicious. I recommend this place for everybody...

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Comfort Food, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on February 18, 2017

We had a terrific night celebrating our anniversary at Montalcino ristorante Italiano. This was our first time coming to this restaurant and we can't wait to come back. The food was out of this world and we were so impressed with the staff and the entire vibe of the restaurant. Truly a gem of issaquah and we feel so lucky that this gem is basically in our backyard.
Thank you so much for an amazing 10th anniversary dinner.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Local Ingredients, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on February 18, 2017

This little Gem in Issaquah always amazes us with excellent food and exceptional service! Toughest place in town to get into byt sooo worth it. Don't be put off by their "time limit" Never once have we felt rushed or unwelcome.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Authentic, Local Ingredients, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on February 16, 2017

Absolutely excellent small restaurant! Food and service were excellent. It's a small very quaint brick walled place and tables are close together. Portions are moderately large. It's endearingly Family run. My only criticism is that the live music is intrusive. I prefer dining when I can talk with my wife, or the people I'm with, without being distracted by a live performer, or being approached and asked if we would like him to sing some particular number. The gentleman performer was good at what he was doing, and very personable, but especially in a small space like Montelcino, he was too much.

Tags: Authentic, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on February 16, 2017

I work in a retirement community and I accompanied a group of 12 seniors to Montalcinos for a special day after Valentine's Day dinner. From the moment we walked in we were in for an unforgettable evening. The restaurant is small and intimate, the staff was friendly and helpful and they catered to all of our needs, I could not have asked for a more special evening for my guests. We were treated with kindness and consideration, right down to the roses that were given to the ladies as we left for the evening.
And I haven't even mentioned the food yet... it was amazing. I tried the wild mushroom ravioli, and it was hands down the best I have ever had. The wine list was extensive and everything that we ordered was cooked to perfection.
I highly recommend this restaurant for any special occasion that you might have... Especially a date with that special someone. The ambiamce is romantic and invites intimate conversations.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Historic, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on February 15, 2017

The restaurant pulled out the stops for Valentine's Day. Would highly recommend this family owned restaurant.

Tags: Vegan, Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.