About Montalcino Ristorante Italiano

15 NW Alder Place
Issaquah, WA 98027
View Larger Map

At Montalcino Ristorante Italiano fine food and wine are a way of life. All dishes are prepared with passion and tradition, using only the freshest, highest quality real Italian ingredients. Charismatic Italian family ownership brings a classic atmosphere to the restaurant where everyone is part of the family. A quality menu with many family receipts and a top unique wine list including wines produced by the family creates a perfect dining experience.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:00am - 2:00pm; Dinner: Monday - Sunday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm

Cross Street:
Front Street

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(425) 270-3677

Website:
http://montalcinoristoranteitaliano.com/

Executive Chef:
Michelina Nardone

Private Party Facilities:
Please contact Fernando for details.

Private Party Contact:
Fernado Nardone: 2068180496

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, Counter Seating, Entertainment, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, High Tea, Late Night, Non-Smoking Area, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine, Wine Bar

Montalcino Ristorante Italiano Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.8

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.9

service

4.8

ambience

4.7

noise

Moderate

97% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Seattle / Eastern Washington
Best Food
Seattle / Eastern Washington
Best Service
Seattle / Eastern Washington
14 More
Best Ambiance
Seattle / Eastern Washington
Best Value
Seattle / Eastern Washington
Italian
Seattle / Eastern Washington
Best Overall
Eastside
Best Food
Eastside
Best Service
Eastside
Best Ambiance
Eastside
Best Value
Eastside
Fit for Foodies
Eastside
Neighborhood Gem
Eastside
Notable Wine List
Eastside
Romantic
Eastside
Special Occasion
Eastside
Italian
Eastside
Best Restaurants in Issaquah ›

special occasion (121)
romantic (113)
neighborhood gem (105)
See All
fit for foodies (97)
notable wine list (60)
good for groups (24)
hot spot (19)
kid-friendly (6)
late-night find (5)
great for outdoor dining (2)
great for brunch (1)
great for lunch (1)
Sort By:
Newest
715 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We've never had a bad experience at thi ...

Dined 5 days ago

We've never had a bad experience at this restaurant. It's cozy and consistently serves great Italisn food. I think it's the best restaurant in Issaquah.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always great!

Dined 6 days ago

I returned again, and it never fails to deliver. I had the halibut with pesto cream sauce. Sooooo delicious! And the bread with aged balsamic. Yummmm. And i always love the atmosphere.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

Food was pretty good, but not as fabulou ...

Dined on May 15, 2016

Food was pretty good, but not as fabulous as some have said. Some diners' enthusiasm may be more due to the lack of great Italian food in the Seattle area than to the food being especially terrific. This place is taking cues from Tuscany and maybe a little Sicily (yes there is saffron used there). I found my pasta to be overcooked and over sauced but the flavors were good. My husband's Osso Bucco was very good. Tiramisu and Cannoli were very good. It's hard to get a reservation here, and the restaurant manager is nearly obsessive about confirmations. They do three or four seatings a night rather than take reservations for whenever. When I told them earlier in the day that we had two instead of four, the response was that they probably couldn't honor my reservation. Say what? I booked months ago and now you won't allow me to dine there? This isn't NYC or LA folks. They did let us dine there but mumbled that we could only stay for an hour and a half. Not very gracious hosts. Perhaps someone else should handle the reservations. Waitresses were all very nice. Uniformly fit and good looking, wearing tight black clothes. An Italian boy obviously did the hiring. :)

Tags: neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Just plain excellent.

Dined on May 13, 2016

There is nothing bad to say. Delicious food. Good wine. Excellent service. Great atmosphere.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5

Great cozy atmosphere with amazing food ...

Dined on May 13, 2016

Great cozy atmosphere with amazing food and service. I always have an amazing evening at Montalcino.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always consistent quality.

Dined on May 12, 2016

Dined several time can’t say enough great things about this restaurant. Always consistent quality. Our visit before this one just before we went to Italy and had to come back right away. Our experiences at Montalcino is like being in Italy. The location is perfect, and feels almost like a restaurant you will find in Italy great escape among the busy downtown streets of Issaquah. We love wine the wine list is very good something for everyone. The family that owns the restaurant produces wine in Italy and it's really good their family Brunello di Montalcino which as far a wines goes is the Ferrari among wines very well respected and at 89 dollars a great price for it is hard to find a good Brunello at a less price in a restaurant. Not only are the owners knowledgeable about the grapes and the varietals that come from Italy but the staff as well. Food is absolutely top notch and for foodies like us well worth the prices understanding the quality of the ingredients used by the chef. We ordered the lobster ravioli again because it was one of the best things we've ever had, I ordered the Branzino in a pesto sauce sauce so fresh and just melted in the mouth. The portion sizes are big, which I love since leftovers (if you're lucky to have any!) are just as good the next day. Hands down the wild boar pasta was our favorite, but it's so hard to choose, the food is just top quality and will literally be a "party" for your taste buds. I haven't even mentioned the homemade truffle cheese the family makes that they bring out for everyone to try, it's the best cheese I've ever had. Literally. We asked to buy blocks of it. Montalcino also brings out tastes of a special bubbly that they share with everyone a very special thing that certainly sets them apart from any other Italian dining experience I've ever had--classy.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This is the only Restaurant that is on m ...

Dined on May 12, 2016

This is the only Restaurant that is on my 10 day rotation. I get my pasta fix and a bottle of my favorite italian vino. This was my business associate first tome and he was blown away As always, i will be back soon

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Great European Atmosphere for dinner

Dined on May 10, 2016

I took my husband to Montalcino for his birthday. I knew that my husband was going to love the atmosphere of that small restaurant. Live music, just a few tables, the restaurant owner greeting you. Montalcino has a menu for all tastes and for person of all appetites. We really felt we were special guests. A few extra that we did not ordered but we really appreciated Just wish that it will be less expensive so we can go to Montalcino more often.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

One of the Best

Dined on May 9, 2016

This restaurant deserves high rating. It is one of the best I have been to. It has excellent food and service with cozy and romantic environment. Having a musician sings romantic Italian songs with guitar was beautiful. The lighting was just right. Providing small flash light for reading menu and seeing the food served in the plate was a really good idea. I would go back again.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Everything was amazing. Very attentive s ...

Dined on May 9, 2016

Everything was amazing. Very attentive service.

food3
ambience3
service3

We were very much looking forward to our ...

vip
Dined on May 8, 2016

We were very much looking forward to our meal as we've heard good things. The place is quaint, small and charming and we had a nice table - our reservations were early in the evening. You can tell by the prices, this is a place you'll spend some money - and we were expecting to do so. My challenge is the price to value equation was missing for me and our experience. We asked the server for recommendations, she gave us no direction other than 'everything is good' (the menu is extensive so direction would have been helpful), I ordered the special and was told they were out, which was curious since it was less than 30 minutes into the dinning service - and while we were finishing dessert, the next table next to us was offered the daily special I was told was not available. The food was good - it is traditional and repetitive. You will not find innovation or new flavor here. The wine experience was extremely confusing - their "house wine" was a $90 bottle of wine we found out while paying our bill. It felt like we were being sold something without full disclosure. If they are proud of the wine and the quality, it would have been nice to be up front about it. It felt a bit deceptive. I'm not bulking at the price we paid, we are prepared to pay for a quality experience overall. We did not receive it here.

food5
ambience5
service5

Always my favorite! Food, service and th ...

Dined on May 8, 2016

Always my favorite! Food, service and they make us feel like family. The guitar player on Mothers Day and his taking requests was also special. Every bite we took was amazing for the 5 of us. Thank you all.

food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Have visited Montalcino Ristorante Itali ...

Dined on May 8, 2016

Have visited Montalcino Ristorante Italiano many times and have always had excellent, attentive service and great tasting food. This time the food was especially tasty. My wife could not say enough good things about the home made pasta with mushrooms and pesto. And my home made pasta with wild boar sauce was tastier and more savory than I ever recall

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

Not as special as we thought

Dined on May 8, 2016

Need to know the right thing to order to make it worth the visit. Lobster ravioli big disappointment. Red wine tasted flat...like the bottle had been used the night before and was vinegary. Servers nice but felt rushed by them.

Tags: neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Family run and it shows . Food superb

vip
Dined on May 7, 2016

Family run and it shows . Food superb

food5
ambience5
service5

Can't wait to go back. I'm from Spokane ...

Dined on April 29, 2016

Can't wait to go back. I'm from Spokane and it was worth the drive.

food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Magnificent Italian Gem in Issaquah

Dined on April 16, 2016

We've eaten here three times now, and every time the food has been fantastic and the service quite wonderful. Montalcino is a very small restaurant (seats fewer than 30 people) and they book up quickly, so it's not a good last-minute option. The food is unequivocally excellent, everything from the antipasti to the salad, main dish, and desert plus espresso. I'm not a wine drinker, but their menu is quite large for a small place. I'd recommend Montalcino for a party of up to six, but it's perfect for a romantic 1:1 dinner.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

great friendly feel

Dined on April 16, 2016

surprised my wife with somewhere new for just the two of us. great welcoming friendly feel and food and service were terrific. great find for us. great guy playing the guitar and singing Italian songs and italian versions of popular songs. Perfect date night place for us and we'll be back soon.

Tags: romantic, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Good food takes time and patience, atten ...

Dined on April 11, 2016

Good food takes time and patience, attention to detail and that is exactly what Montalcino delivers. I'm thankful the restaurant is small and don't mind paying more if I can be assured that each meal is as good as or better than the last. Homemade pasta, sauces simmered to perfection - delicious.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always Wonderful

vip
Dined on April 11, 2016

This is one of our favorite restaurants in the USA. It is always consistent...always great food...always friendly and competent service...wines from their vineyard are the best. The seafood pasta was excellent...and the Halibut special was perfectly and creatively prepared. Be sure to save room for the Canoli--they are the best. Tried the Super Tuscan Red this time and it was wonderful as all wines from their vineyard are!

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful!

Dined on April 10, 2016

My husband and I love this little family owned and run Italian restaurant. It is VERY small, but the food is great and the setting is so intimate.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Exceptional

Dined on April 9, 2016

We have been there many times. Food and service consistently excellent. One of our favorite places to dine.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

wonderful

Dined on April 7, 2016

Excellent food, a great place to bring out of town guests, wonderful for special occasions.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food, small and initmate

Dined on April 5, 2016

This is a great local Italian restaurant, run by a family from Tuscany. It's the best quality food East of Bellevue and a nice change from the more "family style" options in Issaquah and Sammamish. The quality of the food is exceptional, and the wine is excellent. Its a small place with about 12 tables that are fairly tightly packed together, so the noise level is reasonably high. Sometimes one of the family will sing to everyone in Italian, which you can enjoy or not depending on your taste :-).

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Amazing dinner everything about this pla ...

Dined on April 2, 2016

Amazing dinner everything about this place is sweet , authentic and so delicious. The gentleman who met us at the door was gracious to allow us to change the time to a later one! (Bernardo?) all j know is that he was born in Italy !!and gave us some trip ideas . Thank you we will be back

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fantastic!

Dined on April 2, 2016

From the moment we walked into the restaurant we were treated as if we were family. The waiters were very helpful in explaining the specials. We got the calamari, scallops and prawns in a tomato sauce for our appetizer. So yummy I have been having dreams about it. The veal piccata was so tender you could cut it with a fork and the presentation was amazing. I even took a picture of it. Can't wait to go back and try one of their other dishes. Be sure and have reservations since it is a cozy place and a popular spot.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Lives up to all the great reviews!

Dined on March 29, 2016

This was our first time at Montalcinos but definitely not the last. The food was delicious and the service was warm and friendly but professional. We felt more like we were in Europe than in downtown Issaquah. The pricing is fair and the portions are large so come with a good appetite!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Fabulous - as always! The food and servi ...

Dined on March 28, 2016

Fabulous - as always! The food and service are always amazing.

food5
ambience5
service5

Both times we have come here, we have be ...

Dined on March 28, 2016

Both times we have come here, we have been treated like family. The food is amazing. The guitarist was there again singing and playing request. He even sang the lion king in Italian to our children. Highly recommended if you want authentic Italian.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

love this place

Dined on March 19, 2016

My favorite restaurant!! I am back at least twice a month Multiple specials offered and the portions are very generous. Make reservations as it is always busy.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great home cooked Italian food

Dined on March 18, 2016

Thefood here is fantastic and the wine list is extensive. Make sure to make a reservation as they have a limited number of seats. Both times I ate here they had a gentleman playing the guitar and singing Frank Sinatra.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Small- intimate setting. Loved the food ...

vip
Dined on March 18, 2016

Small- intimate setting. Loved the food and the waitress was fabulous!!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Small, intimate with great Italian food

Dined on March 16, 2016

This is a small and intimate family owned restaurant . Excellent and upscale Italian cuisine. Reservations are a must. Parking is limited.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful service

Dined on March 15, 2016

Very friendly, attentive and unpretentious service for such a nice restaurant!! Greatly appreciated the attention to fine detail and individual orders. Great ambiance. Very accommodating considering I had just come from work. Patient and welcoming owners and servers. Would return any day.

Tags: neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great food and se vice. Small resturant ...

vip
Dined on March 10, 2016

Great food and se vice. Small resturant with tasty food in a romantic setting. A jewel in issaquah. I had the veal cutlet and it melted in your mouth.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Spectacular! First of many visits

Dined on March 9, 2016

Spectacular! First of many visits

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great spot authentic Italian

vip
Dined on March 7, 2016

I spend time in Italy and enjoy Italian food immensely. This is the true fine dining authentic Italian restaurant on the eastside, period. The owner's family is rooted in true Italian toI'd and wine and it shows. Love the place and get my fix regularly when I miss Italy. Grazie Mille Montalcino!

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Best Italian in WA

Dined on March 6, 2016

Montalcino's is definitely our favorite restaurant in the area.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Fabulous Food

Dined on February 29, 2016

Fabulous food, extra friendly waitress and staff. Love the wild boar pasta. We will be back soon and also with our Australian friends when they visit us in June!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

We couldn't have enjoyed ourselves more! ...

Dined on February 28, 2016

We couldn't have enjoyed ourselves more! Recommended a couple months ago and just finally made it work. We have been missing out! Greeted at the door by the owner, great service, music by Tony. Seeing friends at another table. Just a great night.

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.