About Montalcino Ristorante Italiano

15 NW Alder Place
Issaquah, WA 98027
View Larger Map

At Montalcino Ristorante Italiano fine food and wine are a way of life. All dishes are prepared with passion and tradition, using only the freshest, highest quality real Italian ingredients. Charismatic Italian family ownership brings a classic atmosphere to the restaurant where everyone is part of the family. A quality menu with many family receipts and a top unique wine list including wines produced by the family creates a perfect dining experience.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:00am - 2:00pm; Dinner: Monday - Sunday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm

Cross Street:
Front Street

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(425) 270-3677

Website:
http://montalcinoristoranteitaliano.com/

Executive Chef:
Michelina Nardone

Private Party Facilities:
Please contact Fernando for details.

Private Party Contact:
Fernado Nardone: 2068180496

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Entertainment, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, High Tea, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Mon - Thu 4:30PM - 5:00PM 8:30PM - 9:00PM

Montalcino Ristorante Italiano Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.9

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.9

service

4.9

ambience

4.8

value

4.4

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (33)
Good for a Date (31)
Neighborhood Gem (30)
See All
Romantic (29)
Fit for Foodies (28)
Cozy (24)
Authentic (22)
Good for Anniversaries (21)
Good for Birthdays (18)
Creative Cuisine (16)
Pre/post Theatre (12)
Worth the Drive (12)
Notable Wine List (10)
Live Music (10)
Quiet Conversation (9)
Local Ingredients (5)
Fun (5)
Comfort Food (4)
Business Meals (4)
Casual (4)
Historic (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Good for Groups (2)
Tasting Menu (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Family Style (1)
Organic (1)
Seasonal (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Spicy (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Healthy (0)
Great Beer (0)
Gluten Free Options (0)
Sort By:
S
856 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Montalcino has done it again! This was ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined 4 days ago

Montalcino has done it again! This was my third experience here and everything about it was exceptional! I treated my parents to dinner for my mom's 80th birthday while my husband and I had appetizers and drinks next door. The staff was so wonderful and took great care of my parents. They checked in with me a few times to let me know how things were going. My parents loved the entire experience! Montalcino is a true gem!

Tags: Disabled Access, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

As always the food and service were exce ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined 5 days ago

As always the food and service were excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We had an excellent meal! Service was wo ...

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on January 1, 2017

We had an excellent meal! Service was wonderful, it was a wonderful dinner!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

One of the best restaurants on the Easts ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 25, 2016

One of the best restaurants on the Eastside. The service is fantastic and the food is very special and delicious. This is a European dining experience. The atmosphere is warm, cozy and intimate as the restaurant is in a historic building in historic old downtown Issaquah. You will be treated to extra little treats unlike any other restaurant. The live music is quiet, yet beautiful and adds so much to the evening.

Tags: Romantic, Pre/post Theatre, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Cozy, Live Music, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Consistently perfect menu, service, and ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on December 25, 2016

Consistently perfect menu, service, and wine. Love this place.

Tags: Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Authentic, Tasting Menu, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Always a wonderful dining experience! T ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on December 24, 2016

Always a wonderful dining experience! The staff, food and live music! A winning combination!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I think I need a permanent table at Mont ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on December 21, 2016

I think I need a permanent table at Montalcino!

I am there at least once a week and always get one of the three specials for the evening.

First time for my out of town business associate and he loved the wine list and especially how the owner Fernando went into great detail.

Make sure you make a reservation as this quaint gem fills up fast.

Tags: Late-night Find, Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Never disappointed with this restaurant. ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 21, 2016

Never disappointed with this restaurant. Always order more than we can eat which is a little depressing. If you can hold off ordering too much, you'll probably enjoy your evening. It is not inexpensive, so go knowing that. Great for a special occasion or a need to impress.

Tags: Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

I believe it was one of the best meals I ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on December 21, 2016

I believe it was one of the best meals I ever had. Start to finish it was fantastic!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Always amazing!

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on December 19, 2016

Always amazing!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Exceptional food- Our experience was won ...

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on December 18, 2016

Exceptional food- Our experience was wonderful. Can't wait to come back

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Started the evening on a sour note: we ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on December 17, 2016

Started the evening on a sour note: we were told that we had to vacate our table in 1.75 hours. Hadn't expected a time limit for a fne meal in a top notch restaurant. And then our main course was more than 30 minutes in arriving! Food portions were plentiful, although because of spicing and sauces, the result was too " heavy" for my taste.

Used to be one of our favorites. No longer.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

The evening was wonderful. The food wa ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on December 16, 2016

The evening was wonderful. The food was great. I had to send back the lobster that was not cooked. It came back in another bowl ,not quite sure they re did the entire meal. It was fabulous nevertheless . The prices can be quite high depending on what you order. The restaurant is quite small so you just call a bit in advance. They did note that our reservation was 1 hour and 45 minutes. Then they needed the table. I definitely would go back again. Hopefully soon. The antipasto plate was delicious and I shared it .

Tags: Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

The best Italian and great ambience

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on December 12, 2016

The best Italian and great ambience

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

This was my 3rd time to Montalcino. The ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on December 12, 2016

This was my 3rd time to Montalcino. The first time was a private luncheon and I was wowed by the amazing authentic food and great service. The pecorino romano sticks with truffle oil and the tiramisu were outstanding. I came back for my bday and was just as pleased. This time there were a few things that weren't quite right. We were there with another couple for a 50th bday dinner per my suggestion, as they'd never been to Montalcino. We got the antipasti platter which was wonderful, but the pecorino romano sticks tasted stale. A little later a gal brought a small plate that had some squares of the cheese and those were delicious and fresh. The gentleman who plays guitar and sings Italian songs (or anything requested) was just too loud; we were trying to talk it and it was difficult to hear each other especially during his high notes. The restaurant is too small for that kind of volume even though we liked his music. The last disappointment was the tiramisu--it tasted like it had been sitting unwrapped in the fridge; it had picked up flavors of other foods and didn't taste fresh. I feel bad complaining because they comped it for my friend's bday, but it was one of the things I came back for! We will definitely return to Montalcino, but I felt some feedback was in order.

Tags: Special Occasion, Authentic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

Great food reminiscent of what you'd act ...

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on December 3, 2016

Great food reminiscent of what you'd actually find in Italy. I haven't been here for awhile and a few things have changed such as music was a combination of Italian and French. Not sure why they played French music? It was a little strange but I guess Ok. Also, they no longer give you the glass of limoncello at the end of the meal like they used to and like you'd find in Italy. Guess they are trying to save money. Overall, food is excellent, however, on the pricey side especially if you order the specials.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

Another amazing dining experience. Dinn ...

vip
 (Orlando)·Dined on November 30, 2016

Another amazing dining experience. Dinner, service and overall experience were outstanding!! By far the best Italian in Seattle area!!!

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Very small room but fantastic service an ...

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on November 29, 2016

Very small room but fantastic service and food. We went on a Monday night and the restaurant was full. It is off the beaten path but if you beat a path to its door you will not be disappointed. Go and enjoy!

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Local Ingredients, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

One of the best Italian restaurants in t ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on November 29, 2016

One of the best Italian restaurants in the area. Dishes are great and the service was excellent.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The four of us had a wonderful time, as ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on November 29, 2016

The four of us had a wonderful time, as always, and the food was fantastic! We have told additional friends about Montalcino's and will be dining again in about three weeks. It's never dissapointing.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Creative Cuisine
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Absolutely a must for every visit to the ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on November 27, 2016

Absolutely a must for every visit to the Seattle area!

Tags: Live Music, Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Good for Groups, Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Still one of the best restaurants in exi ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on November 26, 2016

Still one of the best restaurants in existence.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food, service, ambience and locati ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on November 22, 2016

Great food, service, ambience and location. Parking can be an issue. City of Issaquah problem, not the restaurant.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food as always. It's a very small ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on November 21, 2016

Great food as always. It's a very small and crowded restaurant and it's getting more expensive. The wine prices are higher and the entrees are also going up. If the trend continues it might get too pricey.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

Food was excellent as always! Ravioli wi ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on November 20, 2016

Food was excellent as always! Ravioli with mushrooms and wild boar in a cream sauce is a new favorite.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Authentic, Family Style, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Montalcino's intimate atmosphere sets th ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on November 18, 2016

Montalcino's intimate atmosphere sets the tone a meal marked by attentive service and food that is beautifully prepared and served. A favorite for us.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, , Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Romantic
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Small Italian Masterpiece! Make reservat ...

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on November 16, 2016

Small Italian Masterpiece! Make reservations and prepare to be impressed. If you love authentic Italian you are in for a TREAT. they don't allow you to bring your own bottle but you'll not be disappointed. Everything from App's to dinner was superb. Cant say enough about the quality and presentation. Parking is tight but can be found with a little effort. Enjoy....

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food is always amazing! Excellent ch ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on November 15, 2016

The food is always amazing! Excellent cheeses, fresh ingredients and cooked to perfection! My parents had a lovely time for their anniversary. We love this place!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

My wife and I had great meal and a wonde ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on November 14, 2016

My wife and I had great meal and a wonderful experience. All of the employees created a special time for us. The food was (and is) exceptionally good.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our experience was fantastic and we will ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Our experience was fantastic and we will be back soon. The service was impeccable and the food delicious!

Tags: Cozy, Authentic, Live Music, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Seasonal, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Fun, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great meal and attentive servicebut Not ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on November 9, 2016

Great meal and attentive servicebut Not rushed through

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

As always - excellent ambience and food. ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on November 7, 2016

As always - excellent ambience and food. A favorite dinning location

Tags: Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Superior dining experience. Quaint and ...

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Superior dining experience. Quaint and warm. Delicious and top notch service. Excellent wine! This is a favorite spot for a special date night or celebration meal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Birthday with friends. Wonderful experie ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on November 4, 2016

Birthday with friends. Wonderful experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Montalcino is an authentic Italian resta ...

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on November 3, 2016

Montalcino is an authentic Italian restaurant in all respects. There is no bad choice on the menu, and each selection is richly layered in flavor, generous in portion, and very satisfying. Their family wines are all very good, and the service is impeccably attentive and gracious.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

One of our best meals ever!

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on November 3, 2016

One of our best meals ever!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

This place is REALLY good. Food is over ...

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on October 29, 2016

This place is REALLY good. Food is over the top amazing. Great atmosphere. A gem in Issaquah.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Live Music, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always wonderful. One of my favorite res ...

vip
 (SW Indiana)·Dined on October 29, 2016

Always wonderful. One of my favorite restaurants in the USA!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Amazing little gem of a place. Delicious ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on October 29, 2016

Amazing little gem of a place. Delicious food. Quaint

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent homey Italian food by the Ital ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on October 28, 2016

Excellent homey Italian food by the Italian Grandmother Masterchef you never had. Food is always consistent and service is always on point. Great live Italian music as well. Good place for special occasions but not good for big groups as it is a small restaurant. Book early.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.