About Montalcino Ristorante Italiano

At Montalcino Ristorante Italiano fine food and wine are a way of life. All dishes are prepared with passion and tradition, using only the freshest, highest quality real Italian ingredients. Charismatic Italian family ownership brings a classic atmosphere to the restaurant where everyone is part of the family. A quality menu with many family receipts and a top unique wine list including wines produced by the family creates a perfect dining experience.

15 NW Alder Place
Issaquah, WA 98027
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:00am - 2:00pm; Dinner: Monday - Sunday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm

Cross Street:
Front Street

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(425) 270-3677

Website:
http://montalcinoristoranteitaliano.com/

Executive Chef:
Michelina Nardone

Private Party Facilities:
Please contact Fernando for details.

Private Party Contact:
Fernado Nardone: (206) 818-0496

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Entertainment, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, High Tea, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Mon - Thu 4:30PM - 5:00PM 8:30PM - 9:00PM

Montalcino Ristorante Italiano Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.8

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.8

service

4.8

ambience

4.7

value

4.4

noise

Moderate

97% would recommend it to a friend

Romantic (53)
Special Occasion (50)
Good for a Date (43)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (39)
Neighborhood Gem (38)
Cozy (34)
Authentic (33)
Fit for Foodies (28)
Good for Birthdays (26)
Creative Cuisine (23)
Worth the Drive (21)
Quiet Conversation (18)
Notable Wine List (17)
Pre/post Theatre (15)
Live Music (12)
Local Ingredients (7)
Business Meals (5)
Fun (4)
Family Style (4)
Tasting Menu (4)
Good Vegetarian Options (3)
Late-night Find (3)
Organic (3)
Historic (3)
Private Room (3)
Outstanding Value (3)
Hot Spot (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Seasonal (2)
Casual (2)
Good for Groups (2)
Comfort Food (2)
Disabled Access (1)
Spicy (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Vegan (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
904 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined 4 days ago

Great food,service and atmosphere.. will definitely go back

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Seattle)·Dined 5 days ago

I think this may be a new favorite for me...it was our first time there and everything was great.

Tags: Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined 6 days ago

My wife and I had dinner at Montalcino Ristorante Italiano and were completely blown away with how good the place was. Having been to Italy, I can say that this restaurant totally measures up to what we had over there. We started out with a nice bottle of Tuscan red wine and their Insalata di Montalcino. My wife had the Lobster Ravioli w/ Jumbo Lobster Tail alla Mia as her main course and I had the Wild Boar Pappardelle di Giovanni as mine. Both dishes were so good we didn't want them to end. For dessert we had their Homemade Tiramisu which was one of the best we have ever had anywhere. The service was also top rate. We are looking forward to going back as soon as we can to try some of their other dishes.

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined 6 days ago

Great service and food! Also enjoyed the Italian wines.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Seattle)·Dined 7 days ago

Best local resturant for those special occasions with your sweetheart or with your close friends. Unbelievable food, great ambiance, and superb service.

Tags: Live Music, Romantic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined 7 days ago

Very great restaurant. Customer service is excellent, and food is delicious. I recommend this place for everybody...

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Comfort Food, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on February 18, 2017

We had a terrific night celebrating our anniversary at Montalcino ristorante Italiano. This was our first time coming to this restaurant and we can't wait to come back. The food was out of this world and we were so impressed with the staff and the entire vibe of the restaurant. Truly a gem of issaquah and we feel so lucky that this gem is basically in our backyard.

Thank you so much for an amazing 10th anniversary dinner.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Local Ingredients, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on February 18, 2017

This little Gem in Issaquah always amazes us with excellent food and exceptional service! Toughest place in town to get into byt sooo worth it. Don't be put off by their "time limit" Never once have we felt rushed or unwelcome.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Authentic, Local Ingredients, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on February 16, 2017

Absolutely excellent small restaurant! Food and service were excellent. It's a small very quaint brick walled place and tables are close together. Portions are moderately large. It's endearingly Family run. My only criticism is that the live music is intrusive. I prefer dining when I can talk with my wife, or the people I'm with, without being distracted by a live performer, or being approached and asked if we would like him to sing some particular number. The gentleman performer was good at what he was doing, and very personable, but especially in a small space like Montelcino, he was too much.

Tags: Authentic, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on February 16, 2017

I work in a retirement community and I accompanied a group of 12 seniors to Montalcinos for a special day after Valentine's Day dinner. From the moment we walked in we were in for an unforgettable evening. The restaurant is small and intimate, the staff was friendly and helpful and they catered to all of our needs, I could not have asked for a more special evening for my guests. We were treated with kindness and consideration, right down to the roses that were given to the ladies as we left for the evening.

And I haven't even mentioned the food yet... it was amazing. I tried the wild mushroom ravioli, and it was hands down the best I have ever had. The wine list was extensive and everything that we ordered was cooked to perfection.

I highly recommend this restaurant for any special occasion that you might have... Especially a date with that special someone. The ambiamce is romantic and invites intimate conversations.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Historic, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on February 15, 2017

The restaurant pulled out the stops for Valentine's Day. Would highly recommend this family owned restaurant.

Tags: Vegan, Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Absolutely awesome, food quality superb, wine was amazing, attentive service , beautiful people.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on February 13, 2017

We had a lovely dinner there with out of town friends. We had a late reservation but were warmly greeted and seated promptly. We were fortunate to get the small side room which made our dinner more private. The live music was lovely and added to our evening. The meals were delicious and served freshly prepared. We were the last to leave because we lost track of time - our evening was that lovely!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Romantic, Live Music, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on February 13, 2017

Food and service were very good. Third visit and good as ever.

Tags: Fun, Special Occasion, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Always delicious, friendly and attentive service. Great menu selection.

Tags: Authentic, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Great, delicious Italian food, small and cosy restaurant

Tags: Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Be prepared to be rushed out. It's not the servers fault but it's a very small restaurant and in high demand so they need to be able to get the next party in. But you can go to the wine bar next door if you're ready to call it a night.

I'd also recommend staying away from the specials and stick to the main menu. It felt like they made up a bunch of the special in anticipation of selling a lot and it came out less fresh than the main menu items, and was a bit on the drier side as if it had been sitting under a heat lamp. They will make their best effort to make it right however so we really appreciated that. The dessert wine they serve after the meal is delicious!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service5

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Fantastic food. Great service. Fresh ingredients. Bit pricey.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Romantic, Organic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on February 10, 2017

We were treated like we were celebrities and the food was phenomenal. Very exceptional evening.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Tasting Menu, Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Special Occasion, Romantic, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on February 9, 2017

Excellent food and service. Small and intimate, perfect for special occasions or quick romantic dinner. Highly recommend this local gem.

Tags: Paleo Friendly, Live Music, Authentic, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Family Style, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on February 6, 2017

Another fantastic meal here. Our go to stop when in Issaquah. We love the wild boar pasta dishes. Plus the fresh homemade cheese and warm bread is a great way to start the dining experience.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on February 2, 2017

As always, superb food in a cozy and welcoming atmosphere.

Tags: Romantic, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on February 2, 2017

Excellent food. Friendly and helpful service. Nice guitar player.

Tags: Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 2, 2017

I go here every year for my birthday. Food was good, my Meatball Marsala could have been warmer. Our server was nice, but I felt she was new. Only one just ok experience in 4 years, so I'll be back.

Tags: Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on February 1, 2017

Not your average restaurant given the gracious attention you receive from the moment you step into this small restaurant. All of our dinners were cooked just right and each one was hearty. It's ambience is soft lighting, but the waiter offers you a flashlight if you need one. An excellent choice for a special occasion.

Tags: Authentic, Romantic, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on January 31, 2017

Very tasty and very good service. They served us specials of the day. It was expensive but fully worth it. They welcomed us with Champagne for our anniversary. A custom platter of Antipasti was fantastic filled with Seafood, variety of cheese, Sicilian Olives.Highly recommend this place for special occasions.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Spectacular and outstanding were the words our friends used for the dinner we ate at their 1st visit to our local restaurant. We have eaten here a few times and enjoy the meals each and every time. The suggestions from our server were spot on. The prices may be a bit high for some families but the meals are worth it. We are planning our next visit soon.

Tags: Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Met some special friends for dinner on Friday evening. Made a reservation approx 1 week in advance. Our table was waiting when we arrived a couple minutes early. Atmosphere was very comfortable, nice but not stuffy. Live music was nice and not too loud. Waitress was very attentive and friendly. The anti pasta was delicious. Plenty for everyone. Did not have to wait very long for the main dish. Did not feel rushed. Two of us ordered the short ribs. Plenty of food and melt in your mouth delicious. The other two ordered the Halibut. They said it was wonderful as well. After dinner we sat at the table for a bit and shared dessert. Never felt rushed by the staff. We would all definitely go back again.

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on January 28, 2017

It is always enjoyable to dine there. It would be nice if the specials were written somewhere and with the price.

Thank you,

Tags: Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on January 27, 2017

This restaurant reminded us of the Village in NYC...nice ambience and great food and wine.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on January 26, 2017

Love this little place. For us I ts on the expensive side by the time the two of us finished we were well over 200. But we enjoyed the wine, starter, entree, dessert PLUS - all of the little extras Montalcino provides between courses.

We will return.

Tags: Romantic, Local Ingredients, Private Room, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on January 26, 2017

Wonderful intimate Italian restaurant. Food was excellent along with wine pairing recommendations. The owners make you feel like family. Highly recommend. Parking is limited so arrive early.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Business Meals, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on January 23, 2017

We have been to this place several times...you will need a reservation. It seats about 40 people.

Always full and always wonderful. The food, the music, and the service is great.

Tags: Romantic, Cozy, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on January 23, 2017

Excellent food. Everything was done to perfection

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on January 22, 2017

The place is small but the food is amazing. I would recommend it you will need to get a reservation before hand in order to eat here.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on January 22, 2017

Wait staff and food amazing as always!! Perfect place to celebrate a special occasion!

Tags: Romantic, Tasting Menu, Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Special Occasion, Fun, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on January 21, 2017

The ONLY issue to detract from a "Straight A" review is that the Halibut ordered by my wife was a bit overdone. We will, however, return to this restaurant soon!

Tags: Romantic, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on January 20, 2017

This is my favorite restaurant.

I come here very often and always a big variety on the menu.

I generally have the special and this time it was Halibut. Amazing presentation and delicious with the way it is baked.

Wine list has plenty to offer and the owner Fernando is more than happy to explain.

Servers are very knowledgeable and attentive.

Can't recommend this restaurant enough.

Make sure you make reservations as they are always very full.

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Business Meals, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on January 19, 2017

Such a beautiful restaurant experience. Amazing service and food and live music. It was a lot of fun. I love it.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Pre/post Theatre, Private Room, Live Music, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for a Date, Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Historic, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on January 18, 2017

This was our first time eating at Montalcino and we will definitely be back. We were celebrating my birthday, which I had noted in my OpenTable reservation. My partner had the Pollo di Montalcino, which he liked very much, and I had the Misto Mare. When the Misto Mare arrived, it was in a lot of broth/sauce that was primarily tomato-based, and they explained it was similar to Cioppino. If I had understood that from reading the menu, I wouldn't have ordered it, but I will not take off any stars for that because the seafood was expertly prepared and everything was delicious (it just wasn't exactly what I wanted or had envisioned). I had thought that vegetables were supposed to come with my entree (like they do with some other entrees), so I asked about it when there were none. They explained that they did not come with the entree I had chosen, but they brought some to me anyway, which I appreciated. The food is obviously of high quality and the chef ("Mom," I was told by the gentleman who greeted us upon arriving) is obviously very accomplished. The seafood in my dish was cooked perfectly and the flavors melded together well. We opted not to have dessert because we were quite full, but they surprised us by first bringing a round of dessert wine and then a complimentary tiramisu with a lit birthday candle in it. All their extra touches made my meal special. The restaurant is very small and it is very cozy with candles and pretty white lights on a dark winter evening. Service was wonderful. We're so glad we know about this place and that we don't have to drive into Seattle for great Italian food. Montalcino is first class all the way and I highly recommend it.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on January 17, 2017

This is our favorite restaurant, period. The food is spectacular, as is the service: beautiful, delicious, creative, abundant. It's spendy, so we save it for a special occasion, but that just increases the pleasure of enjoying their great food!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on January 16, 2017

Celebrated our23rd anniversary here. so glad we did. Really enjoyed the singing.

Tags: Cozy, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on January 16, 2017

We have been there many times and the food is fabulous!!! You feel like you are in a little bistro in Italy. Wonderful service.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on January 14, 2017

Montalcino has done it again! This was my third experience here and everything about it was exceptional! I treated my parents to dinner for my mom's 80th birthday while my husband and I had appetizers and drinks next door. The staff was so wonderful and took great care of my parents. They checked in with me a few times to let me know how things were going. My parents loved the entire experience! Montalcino is a true gem!

Tags: Disabled Access, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on January 14, 2017

Good service but lacking in flavor. Way over priced. Started with an appetizer plate which was mostly meat and cheese slices - so way over priced and no thrill. Had a Cesar salad next - odd combination of ingredients that did not work together - not a Cesar at all. Tried the short rib special for the main course - not seasoned well, flavorless sauce, and risotto was dry and under cooked (all 2 tablespoons worth!) Had the house wine (Super Tuscan) which was only so so and over priced as well. All in all not worth the over $200 I spent for two dinners and a shared salad and appetizer.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value1

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on January 13, 2017

As always the food and service were excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on January 1, 2017

We had an excellent meal! Service was wonderful, it was a wonderful dinner!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 25, 2016

One of the best restaurants on the Eastside. The service is fantastic and the food is very special and delicious. This is a European dining experience. The atmosphere is warm, cozy and intimate as the restaurant is in a historic building in historic old downtown Issaquah. You will be treated to extra little treats unlike any other restaurant. The live music is quiet, yet beautiful and adds so much to the evening.

Tags: Romantic, Pre/post Theatre, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Cozy, Live Music, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Fun
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on December 25, 2016

Consistently perfect menu, service, and wine. Love this place.

Tags: Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Authentic, Tasting Menu, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on December 24, 2016

Always a wonderful dining experience! The staff, food and live music! A winning combination!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.