About Montalcino Ristorante Italiano

15 NW Alder Place
Issaquah, WA 98027
View Larger Map

At Montalcino Ristorante Italiano fine food and wine are a way of life. All dishes are prepared with passion and tradition, using only the freshest, highest quality real Italian ingredients. Charismatic Italian family ownership brings a classic atmosphere to the restaurant where everyone is part of the family. A quality menu with many family receipts and a top unique wine list including wines produced by the family creates a perfect dining experience.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:00am - 2:00pm; Dinner: Monday - Sunday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm

Cross Street:
Front Street

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(425) 270-3677

Website:
http://montalcinoristoranteitaliano.com/

Executive Chef:
Michelina Nardone

Private Party Facilities:
Please contact Fernando for details.

Private Party Contact:
Fernado Nardone: 2068180496

Additional:
Beer, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Entertainment, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, High Tea, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Montalcino Ristorante Italiano Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.8

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.8

service

4.8

ambience

4.7

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

98% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Seattle / Eastern Washington
Best Food
Seattle / Eastern Washington
Best Service
Seattle / Eastern Washington
13 More
Best Ambiance
Seattle / Eastern Washington
Romantic
Seattle / Eastern Washington
Italian
Seattle / Eastern Washington
Best Overall
Eastside
Best Food
Eastside
Best Service
Eastside
Best Ambiance
Eastside
Best Value
Eastside
Fit for Foodies
Eastside
Neighborhood Gem
Eastside
Romantic
Eastside
Special Occasion
Eastside
Italian
Eastside
Best Restaurants in Issaquah ›

Special Occasion (106)
Romantic (97)
Neighborhood Gem (95)
See All
Fit for Foodies (81)
Notable Wine List (61)
Hot Spot (19)
Good for Groups (15)
Late-night Find (9)
Kid-friendly (5)
Great for Outdoor Dining (4)
Great for Brunch (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Sort By:
Newest
775 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Superb food, exceptional service and a w ...

 
·Dined on August 14, 2016

Superb food, exceptional service and a wandering troubadour to boot. An excellent dining experience and treat for my wife's birthday celebration. We will definitely be returning.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was wonderful. The live music a ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

The food was wonderful. The live music and intimate setting make for a very special experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Wonderful meal. Fantastic staff. Great e ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Wonderful meal. Fantastic staff. Great entertainment.

Always magical!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I really enjoyed the food, but I think t ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on August 9, 2016

I really enjoyed the food, but I think this place is over-priced. I know how much a beef short rib costs, so there's no reason to charge 30$ for it! It's delicious and wonderful and all that--BUT, can't we practice better fiscal responsibility on the cost?

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

Excellent food, attentive service but I ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on August 8, 2016

Excellent food, attentive service but I found the live music a bit much for the restaurant size. We had difficulty talking amongst ourselves the entire meal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5

I love the opportunity to book through o ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

I love the opportunity to book through open table and appreciate the follow up with a text just to confirm the restaurant is expecting us still and asking for any changes which we did have. The food was excellent and service just as good. A visit from the owner was a nice touch. Would highly recommend for out of town people

Tags: Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Once again a fabulous meal and dessert. ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

Once again a fabulous meal and dessert.

The home made pasta specials are always delicious and the portions are always a take home next night treat

This is the #1 stop on my regular rotation of restaurants

Tags: Notable Wine List, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Another wonderful meal at Montalcino. We ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

Another wonderful meal at Montalcino. We have been here now server all times with family friends and for business never been disappoint . Aleays impressed with the quality and how they always coming up with great specials. Service always professional and friendly value of quality and quantity is well worth it.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was our first time at Montalcino's ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on August 3, 2016

This was our first time at Montalcino's and wanted to introduce our neighbors to a good place. We were all so pleasantly surprised from the time we walked in the front door to when we left. The wine list was exceptional ,the food was scrumptious , the presentation was impressive and our waitress, Annie, did a terrific job! We will definitely go back. The only downside is that you need a reservation and this was a Tuesday night(the place was packed) and guests were turned away as all tables were reserved. That is one of the reasons why we have never been there before; couldn't get a reservation, even a week ahead. We are glad we were tenacious.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I love this restaurant! It feels like I' ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on August 2, 2016

I love this restaurant! It feels like I'm in Italy.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

This is our favorite restaurant on the E ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on August 2, 2016

This is our favorite restaurant on the Eastside. The food is so good you'll want to try everything on the menu. Service is impeccable and ambiance is intimate and cozy.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We leave Seattle to have our favorite di ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 1, 2016

We leave Seattle to have our favorite dining experience! Worth it every time.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A favorite local GEM! Food, service, a ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

A favorite local GEM! Food, service, ambiance and family owned what more could you ask for?

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We come here not as much as we used to s ...

vip
 (Seattle)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

We come here not as much as we used to since we now split our time between locations. But we come here when we have friends over, or when we are in town. I am always happy with everything.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great experience Server was a helpful pr ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Great experience

Server was a helpful pro who guided us well and brought out a killer appie assortment before knocking us over with amazing primis. Good cannoli. Good wine selection.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

This was the first stop for gate night a ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

This was the first stop for gate night and movie night with my wife

We always love coming here for their specials and a bottle of their italian wine

Portions are very generous and the service very attentive

I always look forward to coming here

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I cannot say enough about this restauran ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on July 12, 2016

I cannot say enough about this restaurant.

Great food, excellent service and an extensive wine list.

My associate was blown away as this was his first time

He now is going to bring his wife!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This is a fantastic family run restauran ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on July 12, 2016

This is a fantastic family run restaurant, with a service team who respects you as their customer. (lots of pleasant smiles, and helpful information regarding the menu) Whoever is preparing the food, has a real talent for maintaining that authentic Italian taste, which generally does not stay intact when prepared in the USA. (The food here is phenomenal) We also had the Super Tuscan wine, which pair nearly perfectly with Meat sauce dishes. The experience, food and people at this restaurant represent how dining should be done!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

Great atmosphere with great food. Just a ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on July 11, 2016

Great atmosphere with great food. Just a little overthetopwithsomanycommunications to ensure u showup:-(

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My husband and I dined at Montalcino for ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on July 11, 2016

My husband and I dined at Montalcino for his birthday. We have been meaning to check this place out as it is close to us and it's Italian food, which my husband loves! This was the best Italian food I've ever had! From start to finish the staff was on it and we loved the ambiance. There are only about 10 tables in the restaurant and there was live even live music! The food came out looking like a work of art and the taste was out of this world. Slow cooked braised short ribs indeed! We will be back!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It was our first time to Montalcino and ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

It was our first time to Montalcino and it exceeded our expectations. Our favorities were the mussels and clams, the meatballs and the lamb osso bucco. We didn't like the pappadelle and lobster dish and calamari appetizer special as much as the others. The restauarant is small and the service was great. The owner/maitre'd stopped by twice during the course of the meal to make sure everything was good, which was a very nice touch. We would definitely go back.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

If you think "good food" and forget that ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

If you think "good food" and forget that it is supposed to be Italian, then your expectations will be in line with what is served.

Skip their wine -- the selection we had was very acidic.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value2

Montalcino is consistently fabulous. Hal ...

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on July 7, 2016

Montalcino is consistently fabulous. Halibut was moist with delicious accompaniments. Someone at every table should get the meatballs to at least taste! Not fond of the calamari preparation, but the cannoli, as recommended by the waitress, was sooo good!

Tags: Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Always a wonderful dining experience wit ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on July 7, 2016

Always a wonderful dining experience with excellent food!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our first visit to Montalcino was to cel ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on July 4, 2016

Our first visit to Montalcino was to celebrate my daughter's birthday. It was over the 4th of July holiday. The restaurant filled up quickly, but, in spite of this, the atmosphere was great - the restaurant was not noisy and the service was great. We had a lovely dinner, each trying a new dish and sharing "bites". The food was delicious. the wine paired well with the food and the desserts were wonderful. The service was great - the server knowledgeable about the wine and suggested pairings, and responsive to our questions about the food. Thank you for a lovely experience. We'll be coming back.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food and service were excellent! Great l ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on July 4, 2016

Food and service were excellent! Great location. Easy to find. Enjoyed the experience.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Have been to Montalcino Ristorante sever ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

Have been to Montalcino Ristorante several times and have never been disappointed. It is a quaint setting, one that we may have found when in Italy. Staff is friendly and efficient and the food excellent. Always a consideration when we are deciding a special place to dine. The only difficulty---getting reservations, which speaks highly of the establishment. It is best to plan in advance.

Tags: Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

My husband & I discovered this gem by ch ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on June 28, 2016

My husband & I discovered this gem by chance & decided it was the perfect spot to return for our anniversary. Lovely ambiance, wonderful service & the food was outstanding, again. It is on our favorites list for local restaurants.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Incredible! So far, the best restaurant ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

Incredible!

So far, the best restaurant we've been to. The food is amazing. My husband and I decided to try it for our date. It's been a few days since we visited the restaurant and we are still talking about it! We usually go for our dates to Bellevue but haven't been impressed with dining options there. It was always ok, but nothing outstanding. Montalcino is VERY special! It is VERY ROMANTIC.

I recommend making reservation at least a day ahead as it gets booked fast.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great customer service as if you were at ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

Great customer service as if you were at home with your family. The food was, as expected, fantastic. All home made, delicate sauces and accompaniment. I don't think things could have gotten any better. Thank you again.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

One of the best Italian restaurants you ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

One of the best Italian restaurants you will find. Very small but the limited seating is nicely arranged and the service is always excellent. Clearly one of my favorites.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We had a nice dinner with friends. The s ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on June 21, 2016

We had a nice dinner with friends. The staff are very pretty and provide excellent service. We enjoyed the meal and will be back.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

The food was excellent and everyone had ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on June 21, 2016

The food was excellent and everyone had dish they enjoyed, including our fussy thirteen year old grandson. The recommended wine was pricey but superb. Ordered a birthday cake and they served a fabulous tiramisu that everyone enjoyed.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent food as usual. Service was gre ...

vip
 (Seattle)
·Dined on June 20, 2016

Excellent food as usual. Service was great and the manager was friendly.

Very professional staff and the chef is amazing. My veal cutlet dish was the greatest.

They were out of their Bombas, a chocolate coated ball filled with gelato., but the manager assured me this was going to not happen again !

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We go often and the food and service are ...

vip
 (Seattle)
·Dined on June 20, 2016

We go often and the food and service are consistently excellent. Except for only serving wine to 21 or older (😃) you would think you were in a restaurant in Italy!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Celebrated my son's birthday at Montalci ...

vip
 (Seattle)
·Dined on June 20, 2016

Celebrated my son's birthday at Montalcino before attending a performance at the Village Theatre. Three of us had a lovely dinner. We began with the heirloom tomato and buffalo mozzarella appetizer which was delicious. We then had 3 excellent entrees ( my son and I shared Pollo al Limone con Carciofi and the Pappardelle al Pesto con Funghi, both of which were very tasty . Excellent wine and a shared dessert made for a perfect meal and leftovers to boot! Our server was professional and personable. We were serenaded during our meal with our song choice by a talented singer/musician and then off to the show. Will be back.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

Amazing!! Need to make reservations. Eve ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Amazing!! Need to make reservations. Every dish we have tried is fresh and delicious.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

This was our first time at Montalcino an ...

vip
 (Seattle)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

This was our first time at Montalcino and the dining experience was great, from the fine food, the excellent service and the troubadour!! We strongly recommend this restaurant.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Best Italian on the Eastside. Varied me ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Best Italian on the Eastside. Varied menu, wonderful ingredients, meticulous server care and attention. Facility is small (read "tiny"), so claustrophobics need not apply. Oh, and bring your big wallet!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Fabulous restaurant. Authentic Italian ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on June 16, 2016

Fabulous restaurant. Authentic Italian food. Generous portions. The guitarist was delightful!

This has become one of our favorites!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.