Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.51mi
  2. Distance: 1.39mi
  3. Distance: 2.27mi
  4. Distance: 2.48mi
  1. Distance: 0.51mi
  2. Distance: 1.39mi
  3. Distance: 2.27mi
  4. Distance: 2.48mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.51mi
  2. Distance: 1.39mi
  3. Distance: 2.27mi
  4. Distance: 2.48mi
  1. Distance: 0.51mi
  2. Distance: 1.39mi
  3. Distance: 2.27mi
  4. Distance: 2.48mi

About Montalcino Ristorante Italiano

At Montalcino Ristorante Italiano fine food and wine are a way of life. All dishes are prepared with passion and tradition, using only the freshest, highest quality real Italian ingredients. Charismatic Italian family ownership brings a classic atmosphere to the restaurant where everyone is part of the family. A quality menu with many family receipts and a top unique wine list including wines produced by the family creates a perfect dining experience.

15 NW Alder Place
Issaquah, WA 98027
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:00am - 2:00pm; Dinner: Monday - Sunday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm

Cross Street:
Front Street

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(425) 270-3677

Website:
http://montalcinoristoranteitaliano.com/

Executive Chef:
Michelina Nardone

Private Party Facilities:
Please contact Fernando for details.

Private Party Contact:
Fernado Nardone: (206) 818-0496

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Entertainment, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, High Tea, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Mon - Thu 4:30PM - 5:00PM 8:30PM - 9:00PM

Montalcino Ristorante Italiano Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.8

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.8

service

4.8

ambience

4.7

value

4.5

noise

Moderate

100% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (74)
Romantic (73)
Special Occasion (73)
See All
Authentic (60)
Good for Anniversaries (58)
Neighborhood Gem (58)
Cozy (42)
Worth the Drive (38)
Fit for Foodies (35)
Good for Birthdays (34)
Creative Cuisine (28)
Pre/post Theatre (28)
Notable Wine List (25)
Quiet Conversation (24)
Live Music (16)
Local Ingredients (13)
Comfort Food (13)
Fun (12)
Family Style (12)
Casual (11)
Business Meals (4)
Good for Groups (4)
Tasting Menu (3)
Late-night Find (3)
Healthy (3)
Disabled Access (3)
Private Room (2)
Handcrafted Cocktails (2)
Historic (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Hot Spot (2)
People Watching (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (2)
Seasonal (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Modern Decor (2)
Tapas (1)
Waterfront (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Organic (1)
Sort By:
S
1014 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined 3 days ago

The restaurant is great and very authentic. The food is good and so is the service. The only criticism we had was about the deserts. For an upscale Italian restaurant, I would expect the deserts to be much much better.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined 4 days ago

This is our second time dining here. Earlier this month for my husband birthday with friends- the service was excellent and personable and the food fantastic!
We went again for Fathers Day with our kids and again the service and food was outstanding!

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined 4 days ago

Wonderful food and service. A neighborhood gem. The lamb shanks were great. Very small restaurant and you need to make reservations far in advance, but it is worth the wait. Need to be on time and your reservation will be confirmed because of the small number of tables.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Seattle)·Dined 6 days ago

This is a great place for authentic Italian food. That is, the owner's mother (who comes from Montalcino in the Tuscany region of Italy) actually prepares the food in the kitchen. The pasta is al dente, the sauces are made from scratch. Overall, a great place to dine with friends and loved ones.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined 7 days ago

Excellent pasta and large portions. We took half home for yummy leftovers.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Romantic, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on June 14, 2017

My wife and I were on vacation (from south Florida) and noticed this restaurant on Yelp. Everything was top notch for us. Highly recommended!

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Authentic, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on June 14, 2017

We really enjoyed the service and the meal, great selection. I am from the South She of Chicago and I know great Italian food, which is my favorite cuisine.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Casual, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Late-night Find, Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Pre/post Theatre, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on June 10, 2017

As always as advertised the sexiest restaurant in this state. And I'm not speaking about the servers or owners but the food and ambiance . Or both :)

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on June 10, 2017

Had a phenomenal experience here after graduation. The staff was friendly, food was amazing, and the ampnosphere was perfect.

Would recommend the truffle cheese and congac filet mingon.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on June 9, 2017

Been several times and always impressed.
They never disappoint, always fesh quality and great chef imagination. Outstanding service and feeling about this place. Truley a unique restaurant definetly among the very best in the county and we have been to many restaurants all over the U.S. And will keep returning to Montalcino.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Fun, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on June 7, 2017

Wonderful as always!!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on June 7, 2017

It's a small space and I understand they need to turn tables but it's a little uncomfortable to have the waitress asking for our order a dozen or so times.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on June 5, 2017

The food was amazing! I got the seafood pasta and it was very good. Get the big sampler platter for an appetizer - it has a little of everything and it is yummy! I can't wait to go back.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on June 5, 2017

We like to go to Montalcino before the theater. It is a tiny, intimate restaurant with personal service and really great food. It always feels like a special occasion when we go.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Romantic, Authentic, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on June 2, 2017

I wish the restaurant was a little more spacious. I'm often seated at the table right by the door which is not the best place to be in such tight quarters. The service and food however made up for it! I've been to this restaurant many times and have never been disappointed. They are very accommodating (I'm gluten free) and I really appreciate that...especially in an Italian restaurant. I have and will continue to recommend Montalcino

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on June 1, 2017

This is a gem! Such a special place. We made a reservation for an anniversary dinner and were treated incredibly. The food was spectacular. The portions were large and can be shared or saved to bring home a little memory for later. If you live near or far it is worth the trek. Do make reservations since it is small there are only a few tables.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Authentic, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Live Music, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on May 31, 2017

Second time and it's just amazing again. I'm no critic, but it must be one of Seattle's top 5 Italian Restaurants. The service was outstanding and thoughtful. Family dinner celebrating my daughter's 20th birthday. A truly wonderful, authentic Italian restaurant.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Organic, Special Occasion, Romantic, Authentic, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on May 31, 2017

The best Italian dishes,service, attention to quality and welcoming
Atmosphere on the eastside and probably in the state Washington. I cannot imagine any way they could can improve. It is perfection

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on May 30, 2017

We absolutely love this place!
Highly recommended...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on May 29, 2017

Many restaurants have not wowed me in recent years but this experience was quite extraordinary. The food was great, waitstaff on top of everything and there was live music in the background. It is hard to get a reservation for the "prime time" so be sure to do it early if you want anything from 6-7:30. This establishment is intimate, small and dark. They have one large table to accommodate a party of 8, at most, and maybe two handful of smaller tables for 2 or 4 people.

I had the seafood pasta, a little spicy, so it might not be for all palettes but the seafood was outstandingly fresh. Would not hesitate to order it again for their fresh in house made pasta with lobster, prawns and scallops. My husband had the special of the day which was a halibut with risotto. It was also made to perfection as he asked for it to be medium rare and it came out the way he requested.

We ended our meal with the cannoli and tiramisu. My favorite was the tiramisu and would order that again with another dessert.

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Authentic, Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on May 29, 2017

Outstanding on all counts! One of the best 5 star dinners we've had.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on May 29, 2017

Service was great. Price little high. Food was good. Charging for refilling tea little over the top.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 27, 2017

Loved this Restaurant, I will definitely go back. Great food, great service.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on May 20, 2017

I'm Italian and VERY particular about restaurants that "claim" they are Italian. This is the real thing. The food in this restaurant tastes like I am back in Italy. By far, this is hands down the best Italian food in Washington. No other compares. Authentic, homemade by Mama. A little expensive for a small (10 tables only) neighborhood restaurant but WORTH every penny. What a find. If I could give it more than 5 stars I would. I had a huge smile on my face all the way home.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Quiet Conversation, Authentic, Casual, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Pre/post Theatre, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on May 20, 2017

My husbands and I love this little gem of a restaurant. My husband is not big on going out but said he would be happy to go here anytime. Food, service and atmosphere are amazing. Every bite awakens your taste buds and you can't wait to see what you are going to experience with the next course.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Romantic, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on May 18, 2017

Lived up to the excellent review previously posted.
Delicious food and excellent service.
You can tell that this restaurant takes pride in the quality of its food. Will plan to return.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on May 17, 2017

Wonderful italian food. The chef does amazing things with the food. Everything the four of us ate - the salads, entrees, desserts, wine, brandy, and grappa were delicous melt in your mouth amazing. During our meal a charming lady with a lovely voice sang a beautiful italian song, a cappella. The service was attentive, friendly, and helpful. The quaint restaurant is a bit small and reservations are highly recommended. Only wish this place was closer, but we plan on returning there many times.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Comfort Food, Pre/post Theatre, Authentic, Worth the Drive, Casual, Good for Anniversaries, Live Music, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on May 17, 2017

Great dining in all respects. Clearly one of the best restaurants in the Seattle area, if not the best overall.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on May 16, 2017

Always consistently the best authentic Italian restaurant in the state. With a touch of wonderful craziness

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Authentic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on May 15, 2017

This restaurant is very cozy with excellent food and service. It is a perfect place for special occasion and romantic dining. Adding to the enjoyment was a musician singing popular Italian songs or opera. The musician also came to each table to sing your favorite song. The musician was excellent. It was a nice complement to the fine dining. I highly recommend this restaurant.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on May 15, 2017

Best Italian meal outside of Tuscany! Outstanding!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on May 13, 2017

What a wonderful find, my husband and I travel quite a bit and rely on diners reviews and found this restaurant to be rates #1 in Issaquah and it loved up to every top review.
Try it you will like it💖

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Worth the Drive, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on May 12, 2017

First time here, have heard about this place from friends. Finally was able to try it out, was simply amazing. Extremely delicious food! Will keep coming back!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date, Cozy, Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on May 10, 2017

Food was delicious,m and service was great. Went there for my daughters 18th birthday - everyone in our party loved the food and the wine.

Small inside and not a lot of privacy but this was the best Italian food I've had since traveling round Italy!!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Authentic, Cozy, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on May 9, 2017

Simply the best there is. A mistake to miss out on.

Dining Occasion:Business Meal
Tags: Notable Wine List, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on May 9, 2017

Mother in law Birthday

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on May 8, 2017

Fabulous Italian food in Issaquah. My only complaint is it's really fast. We had drinks, apps, dinner, wine and dessert and the whole meal was over in 55 min. When I actually get out for a date night, I like to spend a little more time enjoying my meal and between courses!

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on May 7, 2017

This is very probably the best Italian restaurant on the east side. Truly, I haven't had food like this since our last trip to Italy. We'll be back!

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on May 6, 2017

Great food, very good service, friendly neighborhood feel. Definitely a family operation. Has the same vibe as a neighborhood bistro in Italy. Just discovered this cozy spot a little over a mile from home. Don't know how we missed it for so long. We will become regulars.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Family Style, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Romantic, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on May 6, 2017

excellent service, nice ambience, nice live music (at least on a Friday night) and last but not least nice food. Very good experience overall. Definitely recommend it for anyone looking for a nice Italian restaurant

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.