About Montalcino Ristorante Italiano

15 NW Alder Place
Issaquah, WA 98027
View Larger Map

At Montalcino Ristorante Italiano fine food and wine are a way of life. All dishes are prepared with passion and tradition, using only the freshest, highest quality real Italian ingredients. Charismatic Italian family ownership brings a classic atmosphere to the restaurant where everyone is part of the family. A quality menu with many family receipts and a top unique wine list including wines produced by the family creates a perfect dining experience.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:00am - 2:00pm; Dinner: Monday - Sunday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm

Cross Street:
Front Street

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(425) 270-3677

Website:
http://montalcinoristoranteitaliano.com/

Executive Chef:
Michelina Nardone

Private Party Facilities:
Please contact Fernando for details.

Private Party Contact:
Fernado Nardone: 2068180496

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Entertainment, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, High Tea, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Mon - Thu 4:30PM - 5:00PM 8:30PM - 9:00PM

Montalcino Ristorante Italiano Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.9

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.9

service

4.9

ambience

4.8

value

4.5

noise

Moderate

98% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Seattle / Eastern Washington
Best Food
Seattle / Eastern Washington
Best Service
Seattle / Eastern Washington
10 More
Best Ambiance
Seattle / Eastern Washington
Best Value
Seattle / Eastern Washington
Italian
Seattle / Eastern Washington
Best Overall
Eastside
Best Food
Eastside
Best Service
Eastside
Best Ambiance
Eastside
Best Value
Eastside
Special Occasion
Eastside
Italian
Eastside
Best Restaurants in Issaquah ›

Special Occasion (52)
Neighborhood Gem (47)
Romantic (45)
See All
Good for a Date (39)
Fit for Foodies (38)
Cozy (30)
Good for Anniversaries (30)
Authentic (27)
Good for Birthdays (22)
Creative Cuisine (18)
Worth the Drive (17)
Notable Wine List (17)
Live Music (12)
Quiet Conversation (11)
Pre/post Theatre (11)
Local Ingredients (8)
Business Meals (7)
Fun (7)
Hot Spot (6)
Good for Groups (6)
Comfort Food (5)
Casual (4)
Good Vegetarian Options (3)
Historic (2)
Outstanding Value (2)
Healthy (2)
Great Beer (2)
Kid-friendly (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Seasonal (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Spicy (1)
Family Style (1)
Sort By:
S
841 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Great food reminiscent of what you'd act ...

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on December 3, 2016

Great food reminiscent of what you'd actually find in Italy. I haven't been here for awhile and a few things have changed such as music was a combination of Italian and French. Not sure why they played French music? It was a little strange but I guess Ok. Also, they no longer give you the glass of limoncello at the end of the meal like they used to and like you'd find in Italy. Guess they are trying to save money. Overall, food is excellent, however, on the pricey side especially if you order the specials.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

Another amazing dining experience. Dinn ...

vip
 (Orlando)·Dined on November 30, 2016

Another amazing dining experience. Dinner, service and overall experience were outstanding!! By far the best Italian in Seattle area!!!

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Very small room but fantastic service an ...

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on November 29, 2016

Very small room but fantastic service and food. We went on a Monday night and the restaurant was full. It is off the beaten path but if you beat a path to its door you will not be disappointed. Go and enjoy!

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Local Ingredients, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

One of the best Italian restaurants in t ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on November 29, 2016

One of the best Italian restaurants in the area. Dishes are great and the service was excellent.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The four of us had a wonderful time, as ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on November 29, 2016

The four of us had a wonderful time, as always, and the food was fantastic! We have told additional friends about Montalcino's and will be dining again in about three weeks. It's never dissapointing.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Creative Cuisine
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Absolutely a must for every visit to the ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on November 27, 2016

Absolutely a must for every visit to the Seattle area!

Tags: Live Music, Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Good for Groups, Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Still one of the best restaurants in exi ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on November 26, 2016

Still one of the best restaurants in existence.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food, service, ambience and locati ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on November 22, 2016

Great food, service, ambience and location. Parking can be an issue. City of Issaquah problem, not the restaurant.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food as always. It's a very small ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on November 21, 2016

Great food as always. It's a very small and crowded restaurant and it's getting more expensive. The wine prices are higher and the entrees are also going up. If the trend continues it might get too pricey.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

Food was excellent as always! Ravioli wi ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on November 20, 2016

Food was excellent as always! Ravioli with mushrooms and wild boar in a cream sauce is a new favorite.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Authentic, Family Style, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Montalcino's intimate atmosphere sets th ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on November 18, 2016

Montalcino's intimate atmosphere sets the tone a meal marked by attentive service and food that is beautifully prepared and served. A favorite for us.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Outstanding Value, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Romantic
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food is always amazing! Excellent ch ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on November 15, 2016

The food is always amazing! Excellent cheeses, fresh ingredients and cooked to perfection! My parents had a lovely time for their anniversary. We love this place!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

My wife and I had great meal and a wonde ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on November 14, 2016

My wife and I had great meal and a wonderful experience. All of the employees created a special time for us. The food was (and is) exceptionally good.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our experience was fantastic and we will ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Our experience was fantastic and we will be back soon. The service was impeccable and the food delicious!

Tags: Cozy, Authentic, Live Music, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Seasonal, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Fun, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great meal and attentive servicebut Not ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on November 9, 2016

Great meal and attentive servicebut Not rushed through

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

As always - excellent ambience and food. ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on November 7, 2016

As always - excellent ambience and food. A favorite dinning location

Tags: Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Superior dining experience. Quaint and ...

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Superior dining experience. Quaint and warm. Delicious and top notch service. Excellent wine! This is a favorite spot for a special date night or celebration meal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

One of our best meals ever!

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on November 3, 2016

One of our best meals ever!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Montalcino is an authentic Italian resta ...

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on November 3, 2016

Montalcino is an authentic Italian restaurant in all respects. There is no bad choice on the menu, and each selection is richly layered in flavor, generous in portion, and very satisfying. Their family wines are all very good, and the service is impeccably attentive and gracious.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

This place is REALLY good. Food is over ...

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on October 29, 2016

This place is REALLY good. Food is over the top amazing. Great atmosphere. A gem in Issaquah.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Live Music, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always wonderful. One of my favorite res ...

vip
 (SW Indiana)·Dined on October 29, 2016

Always wonderful. One of my favorite restaurants in the USA!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Amazing little gem of a place. Delicious ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on October 29, 2016

Amazing little gem of a place. Delicious food. Quaint

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent homey Italian food by the Ital ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on October 28, 2016

Excellent homey Italian food by the Italian Grandmother Masterchef you never had. Food is always consistent and service is always on point. Great live Italian music as well. Good place for special occasions but not good for big groups as it is a small restaurant. Book early.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Everything about this restaurant from st ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on October 28, 2016

Everything about this restaurant from start to finish was first class!

I can say that the server recommendation for appetizer was perfect and have not had better food ever! My Kobe lasagna was excellent melt on your mouth goodness. I think this food is better than what I have ever

had in Italy. The presentation of each dish was exquisite and the Bomba and cannoli were to die for.

I will be be back with my husband as soon as I possibly can.

Thanks so much for making this experience for my business colleagues and customers from Canada such a memorable experience.

Laura Meder.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It's a great place just like home

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on October 26, 2016

It's a great place just like home

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Amazing fresh dishes!

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 26, 2016

Amazing fresh dishes!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

My 2nd time there, I wondered if it was ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on October 24, 2016

My 2nd time there, I wondered if it was going to be as good as i remembered it. And it was! Quality ingredients, wonderful menu selection in a quaint, authentic Italian ambiance. Musician comes around and will sing your requests. Great food and service!

Tags: Good for a Date, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Excellent service, food and atmosphere. ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on October 23, 2016

Excellent service, food and atmosphere. I would definitely go back.

Tags: Business Meals, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Best Italian cuisine and service ever! L ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on October 23, 2016

Best Italian cuisine and service ever! Loved the intimate setting and the mini flashlights to view the menu. The bruschetta and bread was delicious, especially with the balsamic glaze. The linguine with oh so many clams and the melt-in-your mouth beef short ribs was to die for.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We've been coming to Montalcino's for ye ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on October 22, 2016

We've been coming to Montalcino's for years now and they have consistently provided excellent service, food, music, ambience and just the whole package. The Gnocchi remains a favorite dish. Friendly, engaging servers and if you go on a weekend there is lovely, live accordion or guitar music (may also be on weeknights I'm not sure) . The owner always makes us feel welcomed and seems genuinely glad for our patronage. We always save this as our special occasion spot. Small, dark and intimate, Montalcino's is a nice gem on the eastside. Go! you will love it.

Tags: Romantic, Casual, Live Music, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We have been very happy every time we've ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on October 21, 2016

We have been very happy every time we've been here. The food is always outstanding and the staff is excellent. We just wish it was a little bigger so it wouldn't be so hard to get a reservation on a weekend.

Tags: Cozy, Fun, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful spot for amazing food! Cozy a ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on October 21, 2016

Wonderful spot for amazing food! Cozy atmosphere, great wine selection, live music, very romantic but also nice for before the theatre.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Comfort Food, Live Music, Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Without a doubt the finest Italian Resta ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on October 20, 2016

Without a doubt the finest Italian Restaurant on the Eastside.........it is like eating in a great Restaurant in Italy!!

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Cozy, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Been here many times for all kinds of di ...

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on October 15, 2016

Been here many times for all kinds of dinners have to say never been disappointed. Always consistently quality dishes , service top notch and owners are good people. Love this restaurant definitely our favorite.

Tags: Live Music, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Great Beer, Special Occasion, Healthy, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

Great input from waitress on wine and fo ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on October 15, 2016

Great input from waitress on wine and food- everything was excellent!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Been to this restaurant now a few times. ...

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on October 11, 2016

Been to this restaurant now a few times. Each time we tell each other it can not be as good again. Each time it's just as good (the best we had ). From the homemade pastas to the lamb shank never had a bad meal. Lucky to have such a restaurant in this little town we moved to for work from our home town of New York. Thank you Montalcino for not missing New York as much

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Business Meals, Gluten Free Options, Good for Groups, Great Beer, Worth the Drive, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing food. High quality start to fin ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on October 11, 2016

Amazing food. High quality start to finish. Very good ravioli and braised short rib.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

Montalcino remains one of the classiest ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on October 10, 2016

Montalcino remains one of the classiest but most comfortable Italian restaurants in the Greater Puget Sound region. The food is ALWAYS top notch, the servers are warm and attentive, and the owner personally calls on every table to check in with diners. If the live musicians (guitar or accordion) are in the house when you dine, they just add to the ambiance. It's not a cheap date night, but it's worth it!

Tags: Disabled Access, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

Montalcino always offers a wide-ranging ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on October 10, 2016

Montalcino always offers a wide-ranging menu, extraordinary food and incredible service. Never a disappointment, always a treat.

Tags: Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Comfort Food, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The quality of the meal seems to have le ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on October 9, 2016

The quality of the meal seems to have lessened, not as good as when we were there previously. A plus and kudos to the management for less expensive wine options.

Tags: Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.