About Montalcino Ristorante Italiano

15 NW Alder Place
Issaquah, WA 98027
View Larger Map

At Montalcino Ristorante Italiano fine food and wine are a way of life. All dishes are prepared with passion and tradition, using only the freshest, highest quality real Italian ingredients. Charismatic Italian family ownership brings a classic atmosphere to the restaurant where everyone is part of the family. A quality menu with many family receipts and a top unique wine list including wines produced by the family creates a perfect dining experience.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:00am - 2:00pm; Dinner: Monday - Sunday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm

Cross Street:
Front Street

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(425) 270-3677

Website:
http://montalcinoristoranteitaliano.com/

Executive Chef:
Michelina Nardone

Private Party Facilities:
Please contact Fernando for details.

Private Party Contact:
Fernado Nardone: 2068180496

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, Counter Seating, Entertainment, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, High Tea, Late Night, Non-Smoking Area, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine, Wine Bar

Montalcino Ristorante Italiano Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.8

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.8

service

4.8

ambience

4.7

value

4.4

noise

Moderate

97% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Seattle / Eastern Washington
Best Food
Seattle / Eastern Washington
Best Service
Seattle / Eastern Washington
14 More
Best Ambiance
Seattle / Eastern Washington
Romantic
Seattle / Eastern Washington
Italian
Seattle / Eastern Washington
Best Overall
Eastside
Best Food
Eastside
Best Service
Eastside
Best Ambiance
Eastside
Best Value
Eastside
Fit for Foodies
Eastside
Neighborhood Gem
Eastside
Notable Wine List
Eastside
Romantic
Eastside
Special Occasion
Eastside
Italian
Eastside
Best Restaurants in Issaquah ›

special occasion (109)
romantic (105)
neighborhood gem (97)
See All
fit for foodies (88)
notable wine list (62)
hot spot (16)
good for groups (16)
late-night find (7)
kid-friendly (5)
great for outdoor dining (4)
great for brunch (1)
great for lunch (1)
Sort By:
Newest
762 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

We come here not as much as we used to s ...

vip
 (Seattle)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

We come here not as much as we used to since we now split our time between locations. But we come here when we have friends over, or when we are in town. I am always happy with everything.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great experience Server was a helpful pr ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Great experience

Server was a helpful pro who guided us well and brought out a killer appie assortment before knocking us over with amazing primis. Good cannoli. Good wine selection.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

This was the first stop for gate night a ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

This was the first stop for gate night and movie night with my wife

We always love coming here for their specials and a bottle of their italian wine

Portions are very generous and the service very attentive

I always look forward to coming here

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I cannot say enough about this restauran ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on July 12, 2016

I cannot say enough about this restaurant.

Great food, excellent service and an extensive wine list.

My associate was blown away as this was his first time

He now is going to bring his wife!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, late-night find, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This is a fantastic family run restauran ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on July 12, 2016

This is a fantastic family run restaurant, with a service team who respects you as their customer. (lots of pleasant smiles, and helpful information regarding the menu) Whoever is preparing the food, has a real talent for maintaining that authentic Italian taste, which generally does not stay intact when prepared in the USA. (The food here is phenomenal) We also had the Super Tuscan wine, which pair nearly perfectly with Meat sauce dishes. The experience, food and people at this restaurant represent how dining should be done!

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

Great atmosphere with great food. Just a ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on July 11, 2016

Great atmosphere with great food. Just a little overthetopwithsomanycommunications to ensure u showup:-(

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My husband and I dined at Montalcino for ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on July 11, 2016

My husband and I dined at Montalcino for his birthday. We have been meaning to check this place out as it is close to us and it's Italian food, which my husband loves! This was the best Italian food I've ever had! From start to finish the staff was on it and we loved the ambiance. There are only about 10 tables in the restaurant and there was live even live music! The food came out looking like a work of art and the taste was out of this world. Slow cooked braised short ribs indeed! We will be back!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It was our first time to Montalcino and ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

It was our first time to Montalcino and it exceeded our expectations. Our favorities were the mussels and clams, the meatballs and the lamb osso bucco. We didn't like the pappadelle and lobster dish and calamari appetizer special as much as the others. The restauarant is small and the service was great. The owner/maitre'd stopped by twice during the course of the meal to make sure everything was good, which was a very nice touch. We would definitely go back.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

If you think "good food" and forget that ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

If you think "good food" and forget that it is supposed to be Italian, then your expectations will be in line with what is served.

Skip their wine -- the selection we had was very acidic.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value2

Montalcino is consistently fabulous. Hal ...

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on July 7, 2016

Montalcino is consistently fabulous. Halibut was moist with delicious accompaniments. Someone at every table should get the meatballs to at least taste! Not fond of the calamari preparation, but the cannoli, as recommended by the waitress, was sooo good!

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Always a wonderful dining experience wit ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on July 7, 2016

Always a wonderful dining experience with excellent food!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our first visit to Montalcino was to cel ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on July 4, 2016

Our first visit to Montalcino was to celebrate my daughter's birthday. It was over the 4th of July holiday. The restaurant filled up quickly, but, in spite of this, the atmosphere was great - the restaurant was not noisy and the service was great. We had a lovely dinner, each trying a new dish and sharing "bites". The food was delicious. the wine paired well with the food and the desserts were wonderful. The service was great - the server knowledgeable about the wine and suggested pairings, and responsive to our questions about the food. Thank you for a lovely experience. We'll be coming back.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food and service were excellent! Great l ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on July 4, 2016

Food and service were excellent! Great location. Easy to find. Enjoyed the experience.

Tags: special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Have been to Montalcino Ristorante sever ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

Have been to Montalcino Ristorante several times and have never been disappointed. It is a quaint setting, one that we may have found when in Italy. Staff is friendly and efficient and the food excellent. Always a consideration when we are deciding a special place to dine. The only difficulty---getting reservations, which speaks highly of the establishment. It is best to plan in advance.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

My husband & I discovered this gem by ch ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on June 28, 2016

My husband & I discovered this gem by chance & decided it was the perfect spot to return for our anniversary. Lovely ambiance, wonderful service & the food was outstanding, again. It is on our favorites list for local restaurants.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Incredible! So far, the best restaurant ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

Incredible!

So far, the best restaurant we've been to. The food is amazing. My husband and I decided to try it for our date. It's been a few days since we visited the restaurant and we are still talking about it! We usually go for our dates to Bellevue but haven't been impressed with dining options there. It was always ok, but nothing outstanding. Montalcino is VERY special! It is VERY ROMANTIC.

I recommend making reservation at least a day ahead as it gets booked fast.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great customer service as if you were at ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

Great customer service as if you were at home with your family. The food was, as expected, fantastic. All home made, delicate sauces and accompaniment. I don't think things could have gotten any better. Thank you again.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

One of the best Italian restaurants you ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

One of the best Italian restaurants you will find. Very small but the limited seating is nicely arranged and the service is always excellent. Clearly one of my favorites.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We had a nice dinner with friends. The s ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on June 21, 2016

We had a nice dinner with friends. The staff are very pretty and provide excellent service. We enjoyed the meal and will be back.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

The food was excellent and everyone had ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on June 21, 2016

The food was excellent and everyone had dish they enjoyed, including our fussy thirteen year old grandson. The recommended wine was pricey but superb. Ordered a birthday cake and they served a fabulous tiramisu that everyone enjoyed.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent food as usual. Service was gre ...

vip
 (Seattle)
·Dined on June 20, 2016

Excellent food as usual. Service was great and the manager was friendly.

Very professional staff and the chef is amazing. My veal cutlet dish was the greatest.

They were out of their Bombas, a chocolate coated ball filled with gelato., but the manager assured me this was going to not happen again !

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We go often and the food and service are ...

vip
 (Seattle)
·Dined on June 20, 2016

We go often and the food and service are consistently excellent. Except for only serving wine to 21 or older (😃) you would think you were in a restaurant in Italy!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Celebrated my son's birthday at Montalci ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on June 20, 2016

Celebrated my son's birthday at Montalcino before attending a performance at the Village Theatre. Three of us had a lovely dinner. We began with the heirloom tomato and buffalo mozzarella appetizer which was delicious. We then had 3 excellent entrees ( my son and I shared Pollo al Limone con Carciofi and the Pappardelle al Pesto con Funghi, both of which were very tasty . Excellent wine and a shared dessert made for a perfect meal and leftovers to boot! Our server was professional and personable. We were serenaded during our meal with our song choice by a talented singer/musician and then off to the show. Will be back.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

Amazing!! Need to make reservations. Eve ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Amazing!! Need to make reservations. Every dish we have tried is fresh and delicious.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

This was our first time at Montalcino an ...

vip
 (Seattle)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

This was our first time at Montalcino and the dining experience was great, from the fine food, the excellent service and the troubadour!! We strongly recommend this restaurant.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Best Italian on the Eastside. Varied me ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Best Italian on the Eastside. Varied menu, wonderful ingredients, meticulous server care and attention. Facility is small (read "tiny"), so claustrophobics need not apply. Oh, and bring your big wallet!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Fabulous restaurant. Authentic Italian ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on June 16, 2016

Fabulous restaurant. Authentic Italian food. Generous portions. The guitarist was delightful!

This has become one of our favorites!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Our first time here and we went for a we ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on June 16, 2016

Our first time here and we went for a wedding anniversary. Food was decadent. The mushroom ravioli was superb;did not wan to share it with my other half!

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

I was a bit put off by the reminder mess ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on June 15, 2016

I was a bit put off by the reminder message of our reservation when it was stated we had to finish our dinner in 1hr and 45min. Admittedly, it took about an hour, but it just seemed like a rude introduction to the restaurant. Also the owner needs to learn how to give a firm handshake...a weak one is a sign of a weak character.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Top notch place in an unexpected locale. ...

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on June 13, 2016

Top notch place in an unexpected locale. Food and service were excellent. The wine list is notable. If you like Italian food this is a good place for you.

Tags: special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Number one place in the area for authent ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

Number one place in the area for authentic Italian food and an authentic Italian experience. Very courteous. Called with confirmation of reservation several times.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food is as always outstanding. Four of u ...

vip
 (Seattle)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

Food is as always outstanding. Four of us shared the antipasto with large grilled shrimp, olives, numerous Italian cheeses and meats. Three of us had lobster/pasta dishes that were perfectly cooked and almost too much to eat. One had the special Halibut dish. The only disappointment is that due to their popularity and small number of seats, they must turn their tables on a weekend night every 2 hours. We needed 2-1/2 hours to enjoy all the food and wine we ordered and we did feel a bit rushed. But the food is amazing and the owner Ferdinand is very accommodating.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

Service, food, wine, Ambiance was fantastic!

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on June 6, 2016

Service, food, wine, Ambiance exceeded our expectations. This place is now our go to place for nice dinners out.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best traditional Italian Restaurant in area

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on June 4, 2016

The food is excellent. Grilled halibut with scallop and shrimp (halibut could have been about a minute less on the grill) was outstanding. Braised short ribs one of best ever. Shrimp and scallop appetizer had an extraordinary sauce. If I had to pick a short coming it would be the bread with balsamic; very pedestrian compared to entree's and appetizers.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Special dinning

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on June 2, 2016

Cuisine is exceptional. Warm greeting, excellent service, wonderful wine. Greeted like family and friends and beautiful food. Our family and friends love Montalcino, the owners and staff. You must try it once and you will wonder how soon you can go back!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A jewel of a place. Rivals fine places I ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on May 29, 2016

A jewel of a place. Rivals fine places I have been to in Europe let alone Seattle. The owner is on premise and the pride of being great and doing great is very evident. It's is pricey if you order certain things but the food is delicious and we are all still feeling like we took an Elon space x vehicle to Florence had a fabulous meal and returned.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

One of Issaquah's Best

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on May 28, 2016

We've dined at this restaurant several times and have never been disappointed. The food is outstanding. It is a bit expensive but well worth it. This family owned establishment has great service which makes us feel like we are welcome guests in their home. We recommend this to anyone wanting a fine dining experience.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was beautiful. I loved it! My f ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on May 27, 2016

The food was beautiful. I loved it! My family loved it too. This is a place to love and call your own.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, late-night find, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Fantastic food, intimate, live music but ...

vip
 (Seattle)
·Dined on May 27, 2016

Fantastic food, intimate, live music but at a quiet level, romantic and unique.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Small restaurant with HUGE taste

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on May 24, 2016

Has always been now for years our absolute favorite places to dine. We have never been disappointed and so we never hesitate to take a friend there for the first time. That's what this dining experience was - Montalcino has a brand new fan! Kudos to the chef and of course the entire staff. The tables are close together and doesn't hold many people. We loved the atmosphere here as did our friends who were shocked to see this style of NYC restaurant even

exists here for they are from NYC and in a packed house they understood why each table has a time limit if you don’t go for the last seating but well worth it for they still give you plenty of time just don’t be late. Food as always first class presentation, quality and freshness ordered the homemade Pappardelle w/Wild Boar and Black Pasta with Calamari and Spicy Tomato –just amazingly great was out of this world. Wine , dessert , service ect top notch cant say enough great thing except it’s the best restaurant in the Seattle area for many reasons including the family ownership who are always present and almost obsessed making sure everything is just right LOVE IT . We will definitely be back!

Tags: fit for foodies, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.