About Montalcino Ristorante Italiano

15 NW Alder Place
Issaquah, WA 98027
View Larger Map

At Montalcino Ristorante Italiano fine food and wine are a way of life. All dishes are prepared with passion and tradition, using only the freshest, highest quality real Italian ingredients. Charismatic Italian family ownership brings a classic atmosphere to the restaurant where everyone is part of the family. A quality menu with many family receipts and a top unique wine list including wines produced by the family creates a perfect dining experience.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:00am - 2:00pm; Dinner: Monday - Sunday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm

Cross Street:
Front Street

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(425) 270-3677

Website:
http://montalcinoristoranteitaliano.com/

Executive Chef:
Michelina Nardone

Private Party Facilities:
Please contact Fernando for details.

Private Party Contact:
Fernado Nardone: 2068180496

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, Counter Seating, Entertainment, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, High Tea, Late Night, Non-Smoking Area, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine, Wine Bar

Montalcino Ristorante Italiano Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.8

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.8

service

4.8

ambience

4.8

noise

Moderate

98% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Seattle / Eastern Washington
Best Food
Seattle / Eastern Washington
Best Service
Seattle / Eastern Washington
13 More
Best Ambiance
Seattle / Eastern Washington
Italian
Seattle / Eastern Washington
Best Overall
Eastside
Best Food
Eastside
Best Service
Eastside
Best Ambiance
Eastside
Best Value
Eastside
Fit for Foodies
Eastside
Neighborhood Gem
Eastside
Notable Wine List
Eastside
Romantic
Eastside
Special Occasion
Eastside
Italian
Eastside
Best Restaurants in Issaquah ›

special occasion (115)
romantic (107)
neighborhood gem (99)
See All
fit for foodies (93)
notable wine list (64)
good for groups (17)
hot spot (15)
late-night find (5)
great for outdoor dining (4)
kid-friendly (4)
great for brunch (1)
great for lunch (1)
Sort By:
Newest
740 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was excellent and everyone had ...

Dined 4 days ago

The food was excellent and everyone had dish they enjoyed, including our fussy thirteen year old grandson. The recommended wine was pricey but superb. Ordered a birthday cake and they served a fabulous tiramisu that everyone enjoyed.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent food as usual. Service was gre ...

vip
Dined 5 days ago

Excellent food as usual. Service was great and the manager was friendly. Very professional staff and the chef is amazing. My veal cutlet dish was the greatest. They were out of their Bombas, a chocolate coated ball filled with gelato., but the manager assured me this was going to not happen again !

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We go often and the food and service are ...

vip
Dined 5 days ago

We go often and the food and service are consistently excellent. Except for only serving wine to 21 or older (😃) you would think you were in a restaurant in Italy!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Amazing!! Need to make reservations. Eve ...

Dined 6 days ago

Amazing!! Need to make reservations. Every dish we have tried is fresh and delicious.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

This was our first time at Montalcino an ...

vip
Dined 6 days ago

This was our first time at Montalcino and the dining experience was great, from the fine food, the excellent service and the troubadour!! We strongly recommend this restaurant.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Best Italian on the Eastside. Varied me ...

Dined 6 days ago

Best Italian on the Eastside. Varied menu, wonderful ingredients, meticulous server care and attention. Facility is small (read "tiny"), so claustrophobics need not apply. Oh, and bring your big wallet!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Fabulous restaurant. Authentic Italian ...

Dined on June 16, 2016

Fabulous restaurant. Authentic Italian food. Generous portions. The guitarist was delightful! This has become one of our favorites!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I was a bit put off by the reminder mess ...

Dined on June 15, 2016

I was a bit put off by the reminder message of our reservation when it was stated we had to finish our dinner in 1hr and 45min. Admittedly, it took about an hour, but it just seemed like a rude introduction to the restaurant. Also the owner needs to learn how to give a firm handshake...a weak one is a sign of a weak character.

food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Top notch place in an unexpected locale. ...

Dined on June 13, 2016

Top notch place in an unexpected locale. Food and service were excellent. The wine list is notable. If you like Italian food this is a good place for you.

Tags: special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Number one place in the area for authent ...

Dined on June 12, 2016

Number one place in the area for authentic Italian food and an authentic Italian experience. Very courteous. Called with confirmation of reservation several times.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

Food is as always outstanding. Four of u ...

vip
Dined on June 11, 2016

Food is as always outstanding. Four of us shared the antipasto with large grilled shrimp, olives, numerous Italian cheeses and meats. Three of us had lobster/pasta dishes that were perfectly cooked and almost too much to eat. One had the special Halibut dish. The only disappointment is that due to their popularity and small number of seats, they must turn their tables on a weekend night every 2 hours. We needed 2-1/2 hours to enjoy all the food and wine we ordered and we did feel a bit rushed. But the food is amazing and the owner Ferdinand is very accommodating.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Service, food, wine, Ambiance was fantastic!

Dined on June 6, 2016

Service, food, wine, Ambiance exceeded our expectations. This place is now our go to place for nice dinners out.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best traditional Italian Restaurant in area

Dined on June 4, 2016

The food is excellent. Grilled halibut with scallop and shrimp (halibut could have been about a minute less on the grill) was outstanding. Braised short ribs one of best ever. Shrimp and scallop appetizer had an extraordinary sauce. If I had to pick a short coming it would be the bread with balsamic; very pedestrian compared to entree's and appetizers.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Special dinning

Dined on June 2, 2016

Cuisine is exceptional. Warm greeting, excellent service, wonderful wine. Greeted like family and friends and beautiful food. Our family and friends love Montalcino, the owners and staff. You must try it once and you will wonder how soon you can go back!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

A jewel of a place. Rivals fine places I ...

vip
Dined on May 29, 2016

A jewel of a place. Rivals fine places I have been to in Europe let alone Seattle. The owner is on premise and the pride of being great and doing great is very evident. It's is pricey if you order certain things but the food is delicious and we are all still feeling like we took an Elon space x vehicle to Florence had a fabulous meal and returned.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

One of Issaquah's Best

Dined on May 28, 2016

We've dined at this restaurant several times and have never been disappointed. The food is outstanding. It is a bit expensive but well worth it. This family owned establishment has great service which makes us feel like we are welcome guests in their home. We recommend this to anyone wanting a fine dining experience.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The food was beautiful. I loved it! My f ...

Dined on May 27, 2016

The food was beautiful. I loved it! My family loved it too. This is a place to love and call your own.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, late-night find, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Fantastic food, intimate, live music but ...

vip
Dined on May 27, 2016

Fantastic food, intimate, live music but at a quiet level, romantic and unique.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Small restaurant with HUGE taste

Dined on May 24, 2016

Has always been now for years our absolute favorite places to dine. We have never been disappointed and so we never hesitate to take a friend there for the first time. That's what this dining experience was - Montalcino has a brand new fan! Kudos to the chef and of course the entire staff. The tables are close together and doesn't hold many people. We loved the atmosphere here as did our friends who were shocked to see this style of NYC restaurant even exists here for they are from NYC and in a packed house they understood why each table has a time limit if you don’t go for the last seating but well worth it for they still give you plenty of time just don’t be late. Food as always first class presentation, quality and freshness ordered the homemade Pappardelle w/Wild Boar and Black Pasta with Calamari and Spicy Tomato –just amazingly great was out of this world. Wine , dessert , service ect top notch cant say enough great thing except it’s the best restaurant in the Seattle area for many reasons including the family ownership who are always present and almost obsessed making sure everything is just right LOVE IT . We will definitely be back!

Tags: fit for foodies, hot spot, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Love this place! Perfect for a special ...

Dined on May 24, 2016

Love this place! Perfect for a special night out! Food, ambiance and service all wonderful.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The service and food were excellent. I ...

Dined on May 22, 2016

The service and food were excellent. I enjoyed the accordion music and it was not too loud to interfere with conversation. I had made a reservation and the table was ready an appropriate for us. The mini flashlights were an added thoughtfulness.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Outstanding in every way!

vip
Dined on May 22, 2016

Amazing in all respects. I had the lobster saffron spaghetti and it was perfect. The atmosphere is very nice as is the staff and it feels like you're having a meal at a good friend's place. My only hesitation in recommending Montalcino is it might be harder to make a reservation there in the future! Also: Highly recommended the Brunello di Montalcino (wine) made at the family winery - it is well worth the price!

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always a pleasure dining at Montalcino. ...

Dined on May 20, 2016

Always a pleasure dining at Montalcino. There is no restaurant like this one anywhere in the Seattle area. From the food service and ambiance of the highest quality second to none. Great stuff guys

Tags: hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We've never had a bad experience at thi ...

Dined on May 20, 2016

We've never had a bad experience at this restaurant. It's cozy and consistently serves great Italisn food. I think it's the best restaurant in Issaquah.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always great!

Dined on May 20, 2016

I returned again, and it never fails to deliver. I had the halibut with pesto cream sauce. Sooooo delicious! And the bread with aged balsamic. Yummmm. And i always love the atmosphere.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

You need to make reservations as this is ...

vip
Dined on May 16, 2016

You need to make reservations as this is a small restaurant. It is lovely and intimate with nice live music.. The location is right off Main Street and parking is limited. The service was excellent, and the food was wonderful. I would highly recommend this restaurant especially for a romantic evening or for special evening out with friends. We have already made a future reservations.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

Food was pretty good, but not as fabulou ...

Dined on May 15, 2016

Food was pretty good, but not as fabulous as some have said. Some diners' enthusiasm may be more due to the lack of great Italian food in the Seattle area than to the food being especially terrific. This place is taking cues from Tuscany and maybe a little Sicily (yes there is saffron used there). I found my pasta to be overcooked and over sauced but the flavors were good. My husband's Osso Bucco was very good. Tiramisu and Cannoli were very good. It's hard to get a reservation here, and the restaurant manager is nearly obsessive about confirmations. They do three or four seatings a night rather than take reservations for whenever. When I told them earlier in the day that we had two instead of four, the response was that they probably couldn't honor my reservation. Say what? I booked months ago and now you won't allow me to dine there? This isn't NYC or LA folks. They did let us dine there but mumbled that we could only stay for an hour and a half. Not very gracious hosts. Perhaps someone else should handle the reservations. Waitresses were all very nice. Uniformly fit and good looking, wearing tight black clothes. An Italian boy obviously did the hiring. :)

Tags: neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Just plain excellent.

Dined on May 13, 2016

There is nothing bad to say. Delicious food. Good wine. Excellent service. Great atmosphere.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5

Great cozy atmosphere with amazing food ...

Dined on May 13, 2016

Great cozy atmosphere with amazing food and service. I always have an amazing evening at Montalcino.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always consistent quality.

Dined on May 12, 2016

Dined several time can’t say enough great things about this restaurant. Always consistent quality. Our visit before this one just before we went to Italy and had to come back right away. Our experiences at Montalcino is like being in Italy. The location is perfect, and feels almost like a restaurant you will find in Italy great escape among the busy downtown streets of Issaquah. We love wine the wine list is very good something for everyone. The family that owns the restaurant produces wine in Italy and it's really good their family Brunello di Montalcino which as far a wines goes is the Ferrari among wines very well respected and at 89 dollars a great price for it is hard to find a good Brunello at a less price in a restaurant. Not only are the owners knowledgeable about the grapes and the varietals that come from Italy but the staff as well. Food is absolutely top notch and for foodies like us well worth the prices understanding the quality of the ingredients used by the chef. We ordered the lobster ravioli again because it was one of the best things we've ever had, I ordered the Branzino in a pesto sauce sauce so fresh and just melted in the mouth. The portion sizes are big, which I love since leftovers (if you're lucky to have any!) are just as good the next day. Hands down the wild boar pasta was our favorite, but it's so hard to choose, the food is just top quality and will literally be a "party" for your taste buds. I haven't even mentioned the homemade truffle cheese the family makes that they bring out for everyone to try, it's the best cheese I've ever had. Literally. We asked to buy blocks of it. Montalcino also brings out tastes of a special bubbly that they share with everyone a very special thing that certainly sets them apart from any other Italian dining experience I've ever had--classy.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This is the only Restaurant that is on m ...

Dined on May 12, 2016

This is the only Restaurant that is on my 10 day rotation. I get my pasta fix and a bottle of my favorite italian vino. This was my business associate first tome and he was blown away As always, i will be back soon

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Great European Atmosphere for dinner

Dined on May 10, 2016

I took my husband to Montalcino for his birthday. I knew that my husband was going to love the atmosphere of that small restaurant. Live music, just a few tables, the restaurant owner greeting you. Montalcino has a menu for all tastes and for person of all appetites. We really felt we were special guests. A few extra that we did not ordered but we really appreciated Just wish that it will be less expensive so we can go to Montalcino more often.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

One of the Best

Dined on May 9, 2016

This restaurant deserves high rating. It is one of the best I have been to. It has excellent food and service with cozy and romantic environment. Having a musician sings romantic Italian songs with guitar was beautiful. The lighting was just right. Providing small flash light for reading menu and seeing the food served in the plate was a really good idea. I would go back again.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Everything was amazing. Very attentive s ...

Dined on May 9, 2016

Everything was amazing. Very attentive service.

food3
ambience3
service3

We were very much looking forward to our ...

vip
Dined on May 8, 2016

We were very much looking forward to our meal as we've heard good things. The place is quaint, small and charming and we had a nice table - our reservations were early in the evening. You can tell by the prices, this is a place you'll spend some money - and we were expecting to do so. My challenge is the price to value equation was missing for me and our experience. We asked the server for recommendations, she gave us no direction other than 'everything is good' (the menu is extensive so direction would have been helpful), I ordered the special and was told they were out, which was curious since it was less than 30 minutes into the dinning service - and while we were finishing dessert, the next table next to us was offered the daily special I was told was not available. The food was good - it is traditional and repetitive. You will not find innovation or new flavor here. The wine experience was extremely confusing - their "house wine" was a $90 bottle of wine we found out while paying our bill. It felt like we were being sold something without full disclosure. If they are proud of the wine and the quality, it would have been nice to be up front about it. It felt a bit deceptive. I'm not bulking at the price we paid, we are prepared to pay for a quality experience overall. We did not receive it here.

food5
ambience5
service5

Always my favorite! Food, service and th ...

Dined on May 8, 2016

Always my favorite! Food, service and they make us feel like family. The guitar player on Mothers Day and his taking requests was also special. Every bite we took was amazing for the 5 of us. Thank you all.

food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Have visited Montalcino Ristorante Itali ...

Dined on May 8, 2016

Have visited Montalcino Ristorante Italiano many times and have always had excellent, attentive service and great tasting food. This time the food was especially tasty. My wife could not say enough good things about the home made pasta with mushrooms and pesto. And my home made pasta with wild boar sauce was tastier and more savory than I ever recall

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

Not as special as we thought

Dined on May 8, 2016

Need to know the right thing to order to make it worth the visit. Lobster ravioli big disappointment. Red wine tasted flat...like the bottle had been used the night before and was vinegary. Servers nice but felt rushed by them.

Tags: neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Family run and it shows . Food superb

vip
Dined on May 7, 2016

Family run and it shows . Food superb

food5
ambience5
service5

Can't wait to go back. I'm from Spokane ...

Dined on April 29, 2016

Can't wait to go back. I'm from Spokane and it was worth the drive.

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.