Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.51mi
  2. Distance: 1.39mi
  3. Distance: 2.27mi
  4. Distance: 2.48mi
  1. Distance: 0.51mi
  2. Distance: 1.39mi
  3. Distance: 2.27mi
  4. Distance: 2.48mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.51mi
  2. Distance: 1.39mi
  3. Distance: 2.27mi
  4. Distance: 2.48mi
  1. Distance: 0.51mi
  2. Distance: 1.39mi
  3. Distance: 2.27mi
  4. Distance: 2.48mi

About Montalcino Ristorante Italiano

At Montalcino Ristorante Italiano fine food and wine are a way of life. All dishes are prepared with passion and tradition, using only the freshest, highest quality real Italian ingredients. Charismatic Italian family ownership brings a classic atmosphere to the restaurant where everyone is part of the family. A quality menu with many family receipts and a top unique wine list including wines produced by the family creates a perfect dining experience.

15 NW Alder Place
Issaquah, WA 98027
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:00am - 2:00pm; Dinner: Monday - Sunday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm

Cross Street:
Front Street

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(425) 270-3677

Website:
http://montalcinoristoranteitaliano.com/

Executive Chef:
Michelina Nardone

Private Party Facilities:
Please contact Fernando for details.

Private Party Contact:
Fernado Nardone: (206) 818-0496

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Entertainment, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, High Tea, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Mon - Thu 4:30PM - 5:00PM 8:30PM - 9:00PM

Montalcino Ristorante Italiano Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.8

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.8

service

4.8

ambience

4.7

value

4.4

noise

Moderate

99% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (80)
Romantic (78)
Good for a Date (68)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (63)
Neighborhood Gem (63)
Authentic (55)
Cozy (45)
Good for Birthdays (38)
Worth the Drive (38)
Creative Cuisine (34)
Fit for Foodies (31)
Notable Wine List (31)
Quiet Conversation (29)
Pre/post Theatre (28)
Local Ingredients (15)
Live Music (14)
Comfort Food (11)
Fun (11)
Family Style (11)
Business Meals (7)
Tasting Menu (6)
Casual (6)
Private Room (5)
Gluten Free Options (4)
Historic (4)
Late-night Find (4)
Disabled Access (4)
Good Vegetarian Options (4)
Healthy (3)
Seasonal (3)
Hot Spot (3)
Organic (3)
Molecular Gastronomy (3)
Outstanding Value (2)
Handcrafted Cocktails (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Good for Groups (2)
Kid-friendly (1)
Vegan (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Waterfront (1)
Tapas (1)
Modern Decor (1)
People Watching (1)
Sort By:
S
960 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined 4 days ago

Each time we dine here, we leave feeling satisfied. This restaurant never fails to deliver. The food is prepared by someone that believes in quality and cares about consistency. Absolutely sumptuous.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on April 16, 2017

We've enjoyed dinner at Montalcino several times over the past few years. The food is incredible, reliably excellent, and the wines are perfectly paired. They have live music on Friday and Saturday night. The most difficult thing about dining at Montalcino is getting a reservation: it books up quickly. The best Italian food I've ever eaten here in the US.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Pre/post Theatre, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 15, 2017

Awesome little place with excellent food. It was our 20th anniversary and they made it very special. Their dishes are all freshly prepared and plenty of food. Would recommend to anyone wanting to go somewhere special.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on April 15, 2017

Very good food and service. It was our anniversary and we were given a glass of Prosecco to start. Service way attentive without being too much. Not inexpensive but worth it.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 15, 2017

We love this restaurant 60 miles from our home! We make reservations as often as we can and would recommend it to anyone who savors authentic tuscan food. Portions are huge and the intimate setting and reasonable price make it our favorite!

Tags: Authentic, Pre/post Theatre, Fit for Foodies, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Disabled Access, Worth the Drive, Family Style, Creative Cuisine, Comfort Food, Kid-friendly, Historic, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Cozy, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on April 14, 2017

The food was great and we would dine there again. Lighting could be a bit brighter, I like to see what I am eating. Clearly reservations are a must do to limited seating. I would, and have, recommend it to friends.

Tags: Authentic, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on April 9, 2017

Very first dining experience with my husband for date night! From when we walked in to when we left the experience was great! Can't say anything but great things about this place. Food and atmosphere was amazing! Will definitely recommend this to all of my friends and family!

Tags: Late-night Find, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Authentic, Cozy, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on April 8, 2017

This was my third time dinning here in about a month. It was perfect as always.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Comfort Food, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Cozy, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on April 8, 2017

Amazing food and ambiance! Also loved the authentic, fresh pasta. Delicious!

Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Authentic, Notable Wine List, Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on April 8, 2017

Food and service was awesome. I am really glad we found this resturant. Italian food at its' finest!

Tags: Authentic, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on April 4, 2017

We've tried multiple times to get a reservation on a weekend but they are always fully booked way in advance so we decided to try a weeknight and had no problem getting in. Lucky us! This is a very small and intimate restaurant. I would not suggest it for small children or groups larger than 6 to 8 people, unless you rent out the place. Parking would be tricky on the weekend but we found a spot close by during the week. The food is fabulous, loved it!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on April 3, 2017

Thought the food was great. Live music was fun. Environment was quaint. Our waitress must have gotten confused because it took her over 10min to bring us water and actually served a couple seated after us water first. After the initial impression though the service was attentive and great. I have already recommended this place and will continue.

Tags: Special Occasion, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on April 3, 2017

Our second time with this same group of six. We were pleased with the unforgettable meal and service. Staff is very nice and the guitarist/singer was very nice and personable. Small venue and worth the over hour drive.

Tags: Cozy, Authentic, Worth the Drive, Business Meals, Local Ingredients, Family Style, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Live Music, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Good for Groups, Comfort Food, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on March 31, 2017

I had heard great things about Montalcino and it didn't disappoint. The food was outstanding, the staff friendly and knowledgeable and the intimate setting was a great change from large, open restaurants. Make reservations early it's the only way to get in on a weekend! My husband can't wait to go back and we're talking about bringing friends.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on March 31, 2017

Perfect as always. Restaurant is small and we did have a late boisterous group behind us which is unusual. We will return again his weekend. Cannot get enough if their fantastic food.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Authentic, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on March 30, 2017

We have been there a few times already, but the last visit was made even better by a roving singer/guitarist. Food, service and ambiance outstanding!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Comfort Food, Good for a Date, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Private Room, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on March 29, 2017

Love that this is a family owned business. We had excellent service and amazing food. Great place to celebrate our friend's birthday.

Tags: Fun, Hot Spot, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Cozy, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on March 27, 2017

Next time you are looking for something new check out Montalcino. It's easy to blow off a review as exaggerating, but please trust me, this is some of the best Italian food anywhere, worldwide. I've been 5 times and each time myself and everyone with me had fantastic food in addition to enjoying the wine, drinks, and ambiance. Nearly everything from the kitchen has caused myself and others to look up and say how amazing it tastes. A good example is a truffle cheese that I have had served between courses. It comes as several small unassuming slivers of cheese. Each crumble of this stuff is out of this world and this is a tiny example of their amazing food. Several days ago I had a special that was a mushroom tortellini with a cream sauce and wild boar meat. I normally don't love mushrooms nor cream sauce, but something told me to trust it because everything here is so good. I have to say that after the first taste, I believe that this is the best tasting food I have ever put in my mouth (top 3 bare minimum). Again, not kidding or exaggerating. My wife agreed. We had intended on sharing 2 entrees, but essentially spent half the meal stealing bites from this special. The other menu items were, as usual, out of this world as well. The setting is a wonderfully quaint, small space a half block off Front St. Parking is easy, and I can usually get a reservation, but maybe not at my desired time as they are popular. Portion size is large to enormous, plan on showing up hungry. My only two complaints would be that desert is good, but not out of the world as the rest of the menu. Also, prices are appropriate given portion size and quality (with a bunch of organic ingredients), but it's a bit more money than I'd like to spend, especially since I want to be there every night. Roughly $30/entree. Bottom line is, if you think you've tried all the great food in the greater Seattle area, you haven't had it all without visiting Montalcino.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Romantic, Pre/post Theatre, Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Fun, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on March 27, 2017

I cannot say enough wonderful things about this restaurant. The food & service are unmatched. HIGHLY recommend!!!!

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on March 25, 2017

The food and service here is amazing!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on March 25, 2017

We went for a special anniversary dinner with a 5:00 seating. Although our waitress was friendly, felt rushed to make room for the next seating- constantly asking if we were ready for the next course, taking our plate nearly out from under us. It was not the romantic experience we had hoped for, especially as we were seated directly in front of the busy front door. The live music began at 6:30 just before we were rushed out.
I would recommend Montalcino for excellent food, but for a special occasion, only if you get a second seating.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients, Tapas, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service3
value3

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on March 24, 2017

Never anything less than 5 stars! Wonderful experience always!

Tags: Special Occasion, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Family Style, Cozy, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 24, 2017

Best Italian restaurant in Issaquah, Sammamish, & Bellevue. One of our favorites!

Tags: Special Occasion, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on March 24, 2017

Montalcino is a very small, lovely romantic restaurant with excellent food and service. It is a bit pricey so good for a special occasion. The servings are not skimpy, though, and we always leave satisfied and happy. Good desserts too!

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on March 23, 2017

As always, the meals were perfectly prepared and delicious. The service was attentive and friendly and the live singing was charming. We love love this restaurant and will go back next week for a special birthday!

Tags: Comfort Food, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on March 21, 2017

Outstanding food as usual. Service top notch. Very authentic. Nice and quaint. Lot's of menu selections and fresh daily selections. Good selection on wines as well.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Romantic, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on March 19, 2017

Great find in downtown Issaquah. This place is busy and hard to get a table since it does prearranged seating. If you are lucky to get in, you will not be disappointed by the service, ambiance, or possibly the musician. Our table was going to be about 15 minutes later than what our reservation was for so they asked us to wait outside, really no room inside to wait. They brought us a little prosecco to drink. It was a nice touch.

Tags: Authentic, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on March 19, 2017

Superb on all counts but very small (adding to the ambience). Reserve early for Friday or Saturday dinner!

Tags: Special Occasion, Authentic, Live Music, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on March 19, 2017

Great place for dinner, highly recommend for a night out of the kitchen. I plan on going again soon when family comes to town.

Tags: Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on March 18, 2017

Simply great food. Good selection with a solid base of traditional Italian dishes. Very small, only 10 tables so very intimate. The host (son of the chef and owner) takes a personal interest and stops to insure everything is perfect.

Tags: Seasonal, Worth the Drive, Business Meals, Comfort Food, Neighborhood Gem, Cozy, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on March 18, 2017

Second time here, the experience was as good as the first. Large take home box, good portion sizes and worthy of the price.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, Romantic, Live Music, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on March 18, 2017

The food is always delicious, a bit spendy, but well worth it!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Special Occasion, Authentic, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on March 16, 2017

Small, amazing service, food is WOW!!!

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on March 16, 2017

If you are into finding the best Italian meal on the east side put this on your list.

Tags: Cozy, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on March 14, 2017

I have been going to this restaurant since they opened six years ago and am always impressed with the quality of the food and exceptional service. This is a family run business and every detail is executed to perfection. Great menu choices and their wine list is outstanding. Whether you have a personal celebration or want to wow a business contact this is the best choice in Issaquah.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Healthy, Fun, Great for Lunch, Local Ingredients, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on March 14, 2017

Fantastic food and a charming atmosphere. Also, a great wine list. Great place to take a date or just go out for real good Italian food with a warm ambience.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on March 12, 2017

.. Excellent authentic Argentine cuisine, good variety of wines, good service and tango music, you can not ask more..

Tags: Casual, Fun, Notable Wine List, Pre/post Theatre, Cozy, Local Ingredients, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Romantic, Family Style, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on March 11, 2017

I booked this restaurant through Open Table after seeing that Montalcino Ristorante Italiano was named one of the top 100 Most Romantic restaurants by Open Table. I don't know why we had never been - this is a lovely place. The staff was personable and accommodating which is always a bonus. But, the food was exceptional. Each of us thought our menu item was the best. We started with the Salumi e Formaggi which was plentiful and fresh. We had one guest who really just wanted spaghetti and meatballs, and the Pasta and Kobe Meatballs all Marsala was altered to his wishes. The three other dishes were meat and seafood - and all were wonderful. We concluded that this restaurant is our new favorite on the eastside. Make plans early, it's a smaller space. Know that you should plan your visit to be about an hour and a half. There is live music - come with a list of your favorite melodies.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on March 10, 2017

Amazing food - we had three very different dishes and we were not disappointed. My sister and brother-in-law had the Cesar and I had the mixed green salad to start - both were very good. Great extra touches with the olive oil/balsamic bread to start, cheese between the salad and main course and the dessert wine to finish. Would definitely go back and recommend to friends.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on March 9, 2017

The ingredients, preparation, and presentation of the food and wine were meticulous but not fussy, and everything was delicious.

Tags: Good for a Date, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Fun, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.