About Montalcino Ristorante Italiano

15 NW Alder Place
Issaquah, WA 98027
View Larger Map

At Montalcino Ristorante Italiano fine food and wine are a way of life. All dishes are prepared with passion and tradition, using only the freshest, highest quality real Italian ingredients. Charismatic Italian family ownership brings a classic atmosphere to the restaurant where everyone is part of the family. A quality menu with many family receipts and a top unique wine list including wines produced by the family creates a perfect dining experience.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:00am - 2:00pm; Dinner: Monday - Sunday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm

Cross Street:
Front Street

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(425) 270-3677

Website:
http://montalcinoristoranteitaliano.com/

Executive Chef:
Michelina Nardone

Private Party Facilities:
Please contact Fernando for details.

Private Party Contact:
Fernado Nardone: 2068180496

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Entertainment, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, High Tea, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Montalcino Ristorante Italiano Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.8

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.8

service

4.9

ambience

4.6

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

99% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Seattle / Eastern Washington
Best Food
Seattle / Eastern Washington
Best Service
Seattle / Eastern Washington
14 More
Best Ambiance
Seattle / Eastern Washington
Romantic
Seattle / Eastern Washington
Italian
Seattle / Eastern Washington
Best Overall
Eastside
Best Food
Eastside
Best Service
Eastside
Best Ambiance
Eastside
Best Value
Eastside
Fit for Foodies
Eastside
Neighborhood Gem
Eastside
Notable Wine List
Eastside
Romantic
Eastside
Special Occasion
Eastside
Italian
Eastside
Best Restaurants in Issaquah ›

Special Occasion (92)
Romantic (84)
Neighborhood Gem (81)
See All
Fit for Foodies (63)
Notable Wine List (52)
Good for a Date (16)
Good for Anniversaries (13)
Authentic (11)
Good for Groups (9)
Hot Spot (9)
Cozy (8)
Creative Cuisine (7)
Good for Birthdays (6)
Worth the Drive (6)
Quiet Conversation (6)
Late-night Find (5)
Pre/post Theatre (3)
Kid-friendly (3)
Local Ingredients (3)
Great for Outdoor Dining (3)
Good Vegetarian Options (3)
Fun (3)
Business Meals (2)
Tasting Menu (1)
Healthy (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Casual (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Live Music (1)
Sort By:
Newest
798 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Very good service ! Food was excellent , ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined 5 days ago

Very good service ! Food was excellent ,but a little disappointed in the wine. The servers brought two additional wines for us to try. They truly wanted us to be happy. Will go back !!

Tags: Authentic, Neighborhood Gem, Fun, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I am a full blown Italian and I am telli ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

I am a full blown Italian and I am telling you right now that you wont find a better Italian restaurant in Washington. It is hands down and by far the best you can get from a service standpoint, family feel, food quality, wine selection, etc. Must try this place and soon you will be hooked. Goodbye Maggianos, Buca, and any other Italian place you think is the best...

Tags: Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Live Music, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Cozy, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had heard all good things from our fr ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

We had heard all good things from our friends about the great food, romantic setting

and a special place to celebrate anything. We were not disappointed. The portions of

fabulous food were generous so I didn't have room for desert which bummed me out, but

I had great leftovers the next day. WE will be back.

Thank You.

Mike and Candy

Tags: Romantic, Notable Wine List, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Overall top notch. However, too dark for ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on September 16, 2016

Overall top notch. However, too dark for comfort. Shouldn't need a flashlight to read the menu.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

Best italian food we have had since ital ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on September 16, 2016

Best italian food we have had since italy trip.atmosphere and service were fantastic

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Next time we are eating family style, to ...

 
 (Key West)
·Dined on September 16, 2016

Next time we are eating family style, too many great choices to pick just one meal! The food was amazing as always.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent all the way around... Not usua ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on September 15, 2016

Excellent all the way around...

Not usually a fan of loud singing but it seemed OK here given the Italian theme.

Food was the most authentic I have had since my trip to Rome.

Fair pricing but would have liked to bring my own bottle of wine.

My new favorite in Issaquah. No need to drive to Bellevue or Seattle.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Fun, Cozy, Good for a Date, Authentic, Special Occasion, Outstanding Value, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

I would recommend this restaurant withou ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on September 11, 2016

I would recommend this restaurant without any hesitation. Our group of six had a wonderful experience and too a person said we would come back. The food and service were impeccable. A most enjoyable evening out.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Made my normal 10 day visit . Love this ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on September 9, 2016

Made my normal 10 day visit .

Love this place so much i bought a gift certificate for a close friend and can't wait to get their reaction.

Love the wine and love the halibut special.

No longer a hidden gem....just a gem!!!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Fit for Foodies, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The portions are huge, the flavors are h ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on September 9, 2016

The portions are huge, the flavors are huge!! Montalcino just became our favorite Italian ristorante. Try the boar ravioli with truffles. To die for!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The staff made the whole dining experien ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on September 9, 2016

The staff made the whole dining experience really special and the food is outstanding!

Tags: Authentic, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Pretty small place, but great staff and ...

vip
 (San Diego)
·Dined on September 5, 2016

Pretty small place, but great staff and nice inside. I think only about 10-15 tables max. I was happily surprised that their "Seafood Paste" that is hand made, and included a nice sized Maine Lobster tail, was a fair price in the 45 range. Also, the two servers and hostess, as well as bus boy, worked very well and efficient. Good portion sizes.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Establishment was quite small yet very c ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on September 5, 2016

Establishment was quite small yet very comfortable. Definitely geared toward adults and not appropriate for kids which would negatively affect the atmosphere. Menu was definitely Italian and had many choices. Meals and appetizers were on the expensive side, done well but not sure they justified the high prices. However, in all fairness, most of the prices were known to us before making reservations. Wine was extremely expensive and even a very, very small portion of a glass of house wine was $10 and I would have been embarrassed to serve it to customers. It was good but nothing special. None of us would order wine here again. Out veal was good, quite lemony and not overly tender which was a shock as all veal we have had anywhere in the past was very tender. A main pasta dish with wild mushrooms, etc was excellent and a side dish of their homemade pasta was very good but again pricey. The appetizer plate for 3 was unique and good but once again quite pricey for what you got but the presentation was nice and probably part of justifying the cost. Same for Americano coffee. Caesar salad was quite good and very unique in its presentation. We were pleasantly surprised when our waitress brought a slice of wonderful cake for my mother's birthday and had written "Happy Birthday" on the plate in chocolate. All in all, we had a good time and enjoyed ourselves and the evening. Nice touch to have a singing guitarist entertaining and requesting songs from each table. We are glad to have visited Montalcino and can now share our experiences with friends who have heard of this restaurant, read reviews, etc. Definitely a new experience for us and one we are glad to have had.

Tags: Casual, Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value2

The food was so excellent. Nice place, s ...

 
 (Palm Springs)
·Dined on September 2, 2016

The food was so excellent. Nice place, small but service top notch. Been there a couple of times but this time they had again live music but it was an accordion player and he wasn't very good. Very choppy music. Still 5 star but $$$$$.

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Wonderful service, amazing food, but exp ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on August 31, 2016

Wonderful service, amazing food, but expect a price point around $100 PP with wine. Only concern was that my chair was VERY uncomfortable and all chairs were very low to the table.

Tags: Good for a Date, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service5
value4

Great food, excellent service! An excell ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on August 30, 2016

Great food, excellent service! An excellent experience.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Good Vegetarian Options, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Fun, Healthy, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Authentic, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Montalcino's has excellent Italian food ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on August 29, 2016

Montalcino's has excellent Italian food accompanied with very good service. It has to be one of the best in Washington.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Our experience at Montalcino Ristorante ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on August 25, 2016

Our experience at Montalcino Ristorante Italiano was perfect. The service was fabulous (thank you, Annie!) and the food delicious. I definitely recommend the antipasti as it gave us a wonderful variety of options to try. Next time I'm in Issaquah, I will return!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

If you love Italian food made with love. ...

vip
 (Seattle)
·Dined on August 24, 2016

If you love Italian food made with love.....Montalcino's is a must. Everything from appetizer to dessert is perfection. One of the most welcoming, warm restaurants we have ever had the pleasure of visiting

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Comfort Food, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Another fabulous dinner at this wonderfu ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on August 24, 2016

Another fabulous dinner at this wonderful restaurant! By far, my most favorite Italian restaurant on the Eastside. Great service, artistic presentation, and delicious food. We love it!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The restaurant is a favorite of ours. W ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

The restaurant is a favorite of ours. Went for my husband's birthday. The wine list is amazing and the food is to die for. I had the lobster ravioli and loved it. Will revisit when we are in Washington state in the future. Thanks for making our celebration wonderful!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Authentic, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Superb food, exceptional service and a w ...

 
 (Tallahassee)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

Superb food, exceptional service and a wandering troubadour to boot. An excellent dining experience and treat for my wife's birthday celebration. We will definitely be returning.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was wonderful. The live music a ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

The food was wonderful. The live music and intimate setting make for a very special experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Wonderful meal. Fantastic staff. Great e ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Wonderful meal. Fantastic staff. Great entertainment.

Always magical!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

This is my go to restaurant almost every ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

This is my go to restaurant almost every week.

I god for the vino and the specials.

Cozy and intimate setting.

Great service and delicious food

Tags: Romantic, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I really enjoyed the food, but I think t ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on August 9, 2016

I really enjoyed the food, but I think this place is over-priced. I know how much a beef short rib costs, so there's no reason to charge 30$ for it! It's delicious and wonderful and all that--BUT, can't we practice better fiscal responsibility on the cost?

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

Excellent food, attentive service but I ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on August 8, 2016

Excellent food, attentive service but I found the live music a bit much for the restaurant size. We had difficulty talking amongst ourselves the entire meal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5

I love the opportunity to book through o ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

I love the opportunity to book through open table and appreciate the follow up with a text just to confirm the restaurant is expecting us still and asking for any changes which we did have. The food was excellent and service just as good. A visit from the owner was a nice touch. Would highly recommend for out of town people

Tags: Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Once again a fabulous meal and dessert. ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

Once again a fabulous meal and dessert.

The home made pasta specials are always delicious and the portions are always a take home next night treat

This is the #1 stop on my regular rotation of restaurants

Tags: Notable Wine List, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Another wonderful meal at Montalcino. We ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

Another wonderful meal at Montalcino. We have been here now server all times with family friends and for business never been disappoint . Aleays impressed with the quality and how they always coming up with great specials. Service always professional and friendly value of quality and quantity is well worth it.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always good food and service. Can be ex ...

vip
 (Seattle)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

Always good food and service. Can be expensive, but OK for a special occasion.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

This was our first time at Montalcino's ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on August 3, 2016

This was our first time at Montalcino's and wanted to introduce our neighbors to a good place. We were all so pleasantly surprised from the time we walked in the front door to when we left. The wine list was exceptional ,the food was scrumptious , the presentation was impressive and our waitress, Annie, did a terrific job! We will definitely go back. The only downside is that you need a reservation and this was a Tuesday night(the place was packed) and guests were turned away as all tables were reserved. That is one of the reasons why we have never been there before; couldn't get a reservation, even a week ahead. We are glad we were tenacious.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I love this restaurant! It feels like I' ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on August 2, 2016

I love this restaurant! It feels like I'm in Italy.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

This is our favorite restaurant on the E ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on August 2, 2016

This is our favorite restaurant on the Eastside. The food is so good you'll want to try everything on the menu. Service is impeccable and ambiance is intimate and cozy.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We leave Seattle to have our favorite di ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 1, 2016

We leave Seattle to have our favorite dining experience! Worth it every time.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A favorite local GEM! Food, service, a ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

A favorite local GEM! Food, service, ambiance and family owned what more could you ask for?

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We come here not as much as we used to s ...

vip
 (Seattle)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

We come here not as much as we used to since we now split our time between locations. But we come here when we have friends over, or when we are in town. I am always happy with everything.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great experience Server was a helpful pr ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Great experience

Server was a helpful pro who guided us well and brought out a killer appie assortment before knocking us over with amazing primis. Good cannoli. Good wine selection.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

This was the first stop for gate night a ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

This was the first stop for gate night and movie night with my wife

We always love coming here for their specials and a bottle of their italian wine

Portions are very generous and the service very attentive

I always look forward to coming here

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I cannot say enough about this restauran ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on July 12, 2016

I cannot say enough about this restaurant.

Great food, excellent service and an extensive wine list.

My associate was blown away as this was his first time

He now is going to bring his wife!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.