Monsieur Benjamin

4.6
1582 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
$30 and under
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
French
Top Tags:
  • Pre/post Theatre
  • Neighborhood Gem
  • Fit for Foodies
Monsieur Benjamin is a modern restaurant and bar in San Francisco’s Hayes Valley, inspired by the great Parisian bistro culture and traditions of French cooking.
icon/ic_private_diningCreated with Sketch.
Private dining
Dining Style
Casual Dining
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Cuisines
French
icon/ic_clockCreated with Sketch.
Hours of operation


Dinner: Su-Th 5:00pm-10:30pm, Fr-Sa 5:00pm-12:00am

Brunch: Sa-Su 11:00am-2:30pm
icon/ic_phoneCreated with Sketch.
Phone number
(415) 403-2233
icon/ic_new_windowCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_paymentCreated with Sketch.
Payment options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa
icon/ic_dress_codeCreated with Sketch.
Dress code
Casual Dress
icon/ic_chefCreated with Sketch.
Executive chef
Jason Berthold
icon/ic_locationCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_neighborhoodCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_cross_streetCreated with Sketch.
Cross street
Gough and Ivy
icon/ic_parking_detailsCreated with Sketch.
Parking details
We are located kitty-corner from the Performing Arts Garage located at 360 Grove Street.
icon/ic_public_transitCreated with Sketch.
Public transit
The closest Bart station is Civic Center. Bus Stops for the 5, 21, 47, and 49 are located nearby.
icon/ic_gift_cardCreated with Sketch.
Gift Card
Additional
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Full Bar, Late Night, Outdoor dining, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access

Private Dining

For groups of 13 or more, Monsieur Benjamin offers large party dining in the main dining room. Possibility of reserving the entire restaurant as well.

View Private Dining Details

What Insiders Are Saying

The Infatuation
8.4

Monsieur Benjamin is making French food cool again.

Ratings 8.0-8.5:The best way to think about restaurants in the low to mid 8′s is that these are the places you would absolutely go back to, anytime. These restaurants are ones that you want to bring a friend to, just so they can also experience the duck carnitas, or burger, or whatever dish the place is known for.
What 1582 People Are Saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
4.6based on recent ratings
4.6
food
4.6
service
4.4
ambience
3.9
value
Noise · Moderate
91% of people would recommend it to a friend
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
Sort by
Newest
Filters
3.0Dined 2 days ago

Restaurant just seemed to me upscale sugar and grease; the endive salad, e.g., coats the endive leaf in so much oil, cheese, nuts that it might as well be a very large cheese course; the ice cream is three enormous scoops that no one person not starving could finish. What's French about this? What's even good?

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined 3 days ago

Very pleasant experience, relaxed ambience, good service, good food. Our party went there pre-opera and had escargots, Arctic char, and the braised rabbit’s leg.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined 4 days ago

Birthday celebration

The server was very careful about my garlic allergy and my meal was delicious and garlic free. We weren’t rushed which we appreciated as it was a reunion with a dear friend.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined 4 days ago

Delicious food, great service. A block away from opera...perfect

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined 5 days ago

A friend and I saw a French film at Opera Plaza and then walked a few blocks down the street to continue our Francophile evening at Monsieur Benjamin. Everything we had was very good--we split four or five things. We especially liked the endive salad and the flounder. Our server, Kip, was friendly and attentive without being overbearing. We had a lovely evening.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined 6 days ago

I was dissapointed they didn't have thebone marrow, Uni appetizer or duck breast entree as previous visit so had escargot, rabbit and some of the quail and ribeye. Escargot wasn't as good as first time, rabbit was so so, quail was outstanding and ribeye mediocre. I hope they go back to there more traditional French menu. My mashed potatoes were also luke warm and sent back.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined 7 days ago

We went for Father's Day and our dad loved it! The food was absolutely delicious... it was definitely pricey but worth it for a special occasion!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined 7 days ago

Monsieur Benjamin does not disappoint. The food, service, and location are impeccable. I've tried many things there: the foie gras, chicken liver, pomme frites, artic char, duck confit, scrambled eggs, and french toast are all amazing.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 17, 2018

Fabulous birthday experience! The food was incredible.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on June 17, 2018

The food was incredible. The service was outstanding. Tables were super close to each other so couldn't hear each other unless we raised our voices to compete.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on June 16, 2018

Went with friend before the Symphony. The food was brought out quickly which allowed us to enjoy our meal and we had plenty of time before concert.
PS. Had fried chicken. Not your average fried chicken,upscaled and delicious.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on June 16, 2018

We both had fish dishes. Both were cooked just right, moist & flaky. Mine had a subtle sauce that complimented, but did not overwhelm the fish. My friend's had thinly sliced almonds that, one could tell, had just seconds earlier, been toasted to perfection. We keep returning to this restaurant.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 13, 2018

Outstanding! Delicious meal and great service.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on June 12, 2018

Maybe it was because it was a Monday our food was not nearly as good as the first time we ate here 2 mouthes ago . The steak was very pricey but delicious the first time . This time not only the steak was ordinary they raised the price $10,00 my wife’s fish was not only very pricey it was nothing special. $138.00 2 Beers no wine.
Will not be back.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on June 10, 2018

Food is excellent, but meal was not orchestrated very well. We ordered wine with our meal. Our appetizers arrived and we were well into finishing them before wine arrived. The main course arrived shortly thereafter. The entire meal was rushed.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on June 9, 2018

I had a steak and fries on my first visit which were not very good-- meat was full of gristle and the fries were heavy and oily-- and it was the most expensive thing on the menu at $54. Never again. On a second visit, I had the trout which was mindblowingly good-- even spectacular.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on June 9, 2018

Portions for the main course are small compared to the price charged but good.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 9, 2018

25th anniversary dinner: Superb menu, great wine choices and exceptional staff. The quality of the menu choices is consistently high. While the restaurant is not inexpensive, I do not mind that service charges are automatically , especially since the staff/mangers typically bring complimentary items to their guests.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 8, 2018

Pre theater. Great service and unique menu choices.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on June 7, 2018

Our server Enos was terrific and attentive, but the kitchen line was not. We waited 25 minutes for our main and the 2 burgers were practically raw instead of medium rare. We appreciated the comped appetizers but it was stressful waiting as we were headed to a performance

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 5, 2018

Excellent meal from starters to desserts! Especially enjoyed the endive salad, stuffed rabbit leg and the duck confit. All very delicious. Plan to go back soon.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 4, 2018

Another fantastic meal!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 3, 2018

Fabulous experience I would recommend to anyone looking for a quality meal in SF

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on June 3, 2018

Found it odd that you charged us corkage when we also bought a bottle. Also added in auto tip and included it on the corkage...not cool!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on June 2, 2018

We enjoyed our pre-symphony dinner and appreciated their holding our table when the traffic tied us up.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on June 2, 2018

My many past experiences have all been very good, but this one was miserable thanks to the service. I am currently avoiding all carbs, so all I wanted was the steak ($56) with the grilled lettuce instead of the french fries. Our server turned this into a lengthy discussion, asking me first if I'm allergic to sugar, as if avoiding carbs is uncommon these days and I had to justify it. I felt I had to explain my request multiple times for her to get it, even though what I wanted was plain and simple in every sense. The food arrived with sauce on the side even though I'd asked them to leave it out, and it was mediocre: the steak was a thin cut with excessive fat. On top of that, our server, and two busboys once, were constantly interrupting us to ask if "everything's okay," almost every 15 minutes, which made everything increasingly less okay. The more I think about it, the more annoyed I get and the more I regret spending my $$ there.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 2, 2018

Having walked past this place many times, we decided to try them for my wife's birthday dinner before the symphony. We had an early reservation to allow a restful pace, and that worked out great. We had a small plate of the potato croquettes as a starter (tasty, nice dipping sauce). I had the flounder, a dish I rarely see on this coast and now I remember why I often ate it back east. It was rolled around a spinach stuffing and dressed with a shrimp sauce. Sides are extra, but the charred lettuce was perfect with the fish. My wife had the veggie dish and was impressed with the sauce (really a broth) and how it complimented the vegetables. We had time for dessert and opted for a couple of the ice creams. They were big enough to share (note for next visit) and very good. It was not as noisy as many of the local places, so we were able to converse, although privacy suffers due to the tight placement of the tables for 2. All in all a very enjoyable meal, if a bit pricey. Note that they add 20% in lieu of gratuity, which is fine.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on May 28, 2018

The food is very good, but its more expensive than what its worth. I had a good experience but not likely a place I’d repeat

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on May 28, 2018

Two ordered items (starters) were never delivered and mid-dinner, our server told us she would be “leaving the floor” and that the bartender would take it from there. This is an expensive restaurant, therefore I expected consistent service and, if changing, would consider bartender support inappropriate. I was disappointed and feel no compel to return. Too many good restaurants in SF with both quality food and service.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 28, 2018

This was not my first time at M.Benjamin, but a first for my husband whose birthday we were
celebrating after the matinee at the SF. Symphony. My husband was not disappointed—my reports about the inventive and tasty dishes in every category were delicious, fun and satisfying. We enjoyed the rapport created by our own waitress and the staff, in general.
This is a wonderful Bistro ala Americana with nuances of the French one.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 27, 2018

This is a wonderful restaurant featuring delicous, unique dishes and good service. The signature fried chicken specialty is just one of reasons to check it out. Located within walking distance of Davies.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on May 26, 2018

It's nice to see French classics, like jambon persille and other bistro favorites. It's pricey and the service was clunky given the high prices. Overall fun.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 26, 2018

From the cocktail, appetizer, main dish and the service. Everything was just impeccable.
Modern French food and very original!
Perfect choice for graduation.
Highly recommend.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 24, 2018

Great place for meeting folks! Nice bar, great services.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on May 23, 2018

While the food was exceptional (especially the order des oeufs mayonnaises), I felt that there was nothing that I would go back to eat again. My date's Arctic Char was tasty and was not in the least bit dry. My fried chicken à l'Anglaise was moist and flavorful and the oysters we shared were both fresh and well-presented.
The particular something that keeps drawing me back to, say, AL's Place or Bar Crudo just wasn't here. I felt a bit "cheated" by the experience here, something I have yet to feel at either of the aforementioned restaurants. And yes, I would recommend this restaurant however I don't feel the need to visit again.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 20, 2018

Execellent food, ambiance and service!
Open late so the perfect spot post symphony, ballet or theater.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 20, 2018

Love this restaurant
Tasty, great food
We split oysters a gem salad and a steak

Come here once a month for sfjazzz or symphony

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 20, 2018

What a change from some of the Restaurants in the area. Great experience on a busy Saturday evening. We will be back.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 19, 2018

Graduation dinner

Excellent food (Burger is amazing, steak as well)
Excellent service

Awesome ambience.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 18, 2018

Second time here already in a year and every time they're food is consistently amazing. Try the quail or the rabbit - absolutely juicy, tender, and buttery. They will serve food in a timely manner for your symphony/ballet evenings. Decor, music, and lightning are spot on, and I really enjoy how they keep their windows open in the evenings.

Report
Helpful
1
2
3
40