Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.02mi
  2. Distance: 0.11mi
  3. Distance: 0.19mi
  4. Distance: 0.24mi
  1. Distance: 0.02mi
  2. Distance: 0.11mi
  3. Distance: 0.19mi
  4. Distance: 0.24mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.02mi
  2. Distance: 0.11mi
  3. Distance: 0.19mi
  4. Distance: 0.24mi
  1. Distance: 0.02mi
  2. Distance: 0.11mi
  3. Distance: 0.19mi
  4. Distance: 0.24mi

About Monsieur Benjamin

Monsieur Benjamin is a modern restaurant and bar in San Francisco’s Hayes Valley, inspired by the great Parisian bistro culture and traditions of French cooking.

451 Gough Street
San Francisco, CA 94102
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
French

Hours of Operation:


Dinner: Su-Wed 5:00pm-10:30pm, Th-Sa 5:00pm-12:00am

Brunch: Sa-Su 11:00am-2:30pm

Cross Street:
Gough and Ivy

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(415) 403-2233

Website:
http://www.monsieurbenjamin.com/

Parking Details:
We are located kitty-corner from the Performing Arts Garage located at 360 Grove Street.

Public Transit:
The closest Bart station is Civic Center. Bus Stops for the 5, 21, 47, and 49 are located nearby.

Executive Chef:
Jason Berthold

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Full Bar, Late Night, Outdoor dining, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

For groups of 13 or more, Monsieur Benjamin offers large party dining in the main dining room. Possibility of reserving the entire restaurant as well.

Monsieur Benjamin Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.4

ambience

4.3

value

3.8

noise

Moderate

90% would recommend it to a friend

Pre/post Theatre (107)
Fit for Foodies (87)
Good for a Date (77)
See All
Neighborhood Gem (72)
Creative Cuisine (56)
Special Occasion (52)
People Watching (43)
Handcrafted Cocktails (40)
Hot Spot (39)
Open Kitchen (38)
Bar Seating (32)
Authentic (31)
Fun (31)
Notable Wine List (30)
Good for Anniversaries (30)
Worth the Drive (29)
Good for Birthdays (29)
Vibrant Bar Scene (29)
Modern Decor (27)
Casual (23)
Local Ingredients (22)
Good for Groups (22)
Sunday Lunch (19)
Late-night Find (18)
Great for Lunch (18)
Quiet Conversation (17)
Romantic (17)
Business Meals (16)
Great for Brunch (15)
Healthy (10)
Seasonal (10)
Comfort Food (6)
Organic (5)
Tapas (5)
Kid-friendly (5)
Paleo Friendly (5)
Disabled Access (4)
Great for Outdoor Dining (4)
Molecular Gastronomy (3)
Good Vegetarian Options (3)
Gluten Free Options (3)
Cozy (3)
Happy Hour (3)
Scenic View (3)
Quick Bite (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Wood Oven (2)
Family Style (2)
Great Beer (1)
Sort By:
S
1193 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 2 days ago

Corey Lee is a rockstar chef...food is outstanding, innovative and delicious.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined 2 days ago

20% automatically added to your bill. I believe tipping is my choice. Our waitress was lovely but busing of table was slow. Dishes sat in front of us for quite awhile. I had the short ribs which were very fatty yet also tough. Flavors were an odd combination. Did not enjoy the food at all and I usually love French cuisine.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 2 days ago

1st time here. Husband booked it for my girlfriend & me as it's walking distance to The Symphony Hall. Lovely experience all round

Tags: Tapas, Pre/post Theatre, Hot Spot, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined 2 days ago

We ate there before the symphony and the service could not have been better. We enjoyed the selection of small plates - just the right amount for a lighter evening meal.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 3 days ago

Food was good, a bit overcooked especially considering the price.
Four different servers asked to clear our not-quite-done mussel appetizer. The third finally left the mussels but brought fresh plates. The fourth actually cleared the fresh plates before we'd even touched them. Three more came by to offer more bread for the mussel broth. Perhaps additional communication is in order? Not terrible but a little odd.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 5 days ago

Went for a six year anniversary. Started out pretty good, service was a little spotty, once we got our drinks were better. Ordered apps and chatted while we waited enjoying the atmosphere for the most part. We received our app and before completing, a FIRE ALARM went off (a very loud one). Everyone looked at each other wondering what to do? I covered my ears for what I could handle. After five minutes people started exiting. My partner and I did as well. The sound was painful. The whole ordeal lasted approx. 20 mins. We returned to our table to find our bill on a plate. SERIOUSLY RUDE AND UNBELIEVABLE. waiter came by picked it up and did not return to explain. I called him over, requested to cancel entrees. We paid the bill in full (not a penny was discounted) due to terrible inconvenience. Tasteless to say the least! And to top it off the Owner was having dinner there with his family. Not a word of apology was said to any of the clients.
Unfortunate Terrible Experience

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value2

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined 5 days ago

Had dinner at MB the other night before an event at Davies Symphony Hall. Our waiter was clearly new in his career. Spilled the wine while pouring and never came by to clean up the spill. not a big deal, but unexpected. The food, however, was delicious. Very broad french bistro menu with a few twists on the classics. My wife and I enjoyed everything we had. We look forward to returning.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 5 days ago

This restaurant is only mediocre and way overpriced. Really? $19 for a small nothing special hamburger with greasy limp fries and aolii sauce with no flavor at. all. Service was hot and miss. Drinks were decent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value2

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined 6 days ago

Anniversary

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 7 days ago

Very disappointed with the service. Waiter was very very slow and we had to flag someone down every time we needed something. I expected a lot more from a Corey Lee restaurant. At the end of the meal, I asked whether or not they were short staffed…the response (from who I think is the manager), “Sometimes not everyone shows up for brunch.” I would have expected a different response.
I am not intending to ever go back. The food was not extraordinary enough to overcome the terrible service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1
value2

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 7 days ago

Very fun atmosphere! Food was delicious and we weren't rushed! The service was great!

Tags: People Watching, Handcrafted Cocktails, Healthy, Fun, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 15, 2017

This is our reliable, go-to place for post-Civic Center events (opera, symphony, dance festival, lectures, etc.) The fact that they are open late was the initial draw, but the excellent food, wine options and professionalism is what makes us return and not want to bother with any other options in the neighborhood. The service is impeccable (we've encountered a lot of poor timing in other restaurants) and while I always get whatever the vegetarian option is from the menu, I do not tire of it. The Palmier ice cream is also very hard to resist.

Tags: Paleo Friendly, Hot Spot, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 15, 2017

I love this place. It's the food I dreamed of eating when I was young and looked at French cook books.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 15, 2017

Very interesting selection of dishes for Saturday brunch. Crepe au Sarrasin had ham, cheese, and mushroom in the crepe, surrounded by lightly dressed fresh spinach, topped with a fried egg. Scrambled eggs were accompanied by crispy fried potato bites (Pommes Sarladaises) and pork sausage. Wonderful service - friendly but very professional. Exellent recommendations and explanations of the wine list and menu items. Very much liked that servers waited to remove plates until all diners had finished their meals. Hats off for this return to proper etiquette! A new neighborhood favorite for us.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch, Pre/post Theatre, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 13, 2017

Loved this restaurant. It is attractive and comfortable BUT extremely noisy. The food was special, each dish plated attractively with excellent taste combinations. For the price, however, there should have been some vegetables on the plate, rather than having to order as a side dish.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value2

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 13, 2017

Service was really great, we lost track of time and stayed till a little after midnight on Thursday but they did not kick us out. (Thanks guys!) The memorable dishes we ordered were the Sweetbreads, and the arctic char. We appreciated the complementary side dishes and the palate cleansing liquors, those were a nice touch. We also had the Bordeaux from Graves that was delicious. One thing is that the fries on my steak frites could be presented better, because the pile was covering my steak and veggies and overtook the plate a bit. I liked that the fries was a generous portion though! On the dessert side, we had the ice cream and layered chocolate cake which were also memorable, but the fluffy meringue I can't recall much.

Our server and host were polite and we didn't miss a beat during the hours we were dining there. Portion of the main courses was generous! We couldn't finish them and other than maybe the short ribs, they aren't the kind that'll be good as left overs. I drank a couple of glasses too much otherwise an unfinished plate is my pet peeve! Anyway, I definitely will be back. Thank you for accommodating us three women who were having a little too much fun! Next time I'll request a corner table...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 13, 2017

Amazing experience. It can be hard to heard each other at times because it is too noisy

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 11, 2017

We have dined at Monsieur Benjamin twice and have not been disappointed - the wait staff is awesome and the food memorable!

Tags: Good for a Date, People Watching, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 9, 2017

It was our anniversary and our two servers were so kind and generous with their service and treats! It was such a pleasant experience with them :)

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 8, 2017

The best restaurant in Hayes Valley.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 8, 2017

We had a really great experience taking out of town guests to dinner in SF. The service here is always impeccable, we were guided to a good wine, the food quality is some of our favorite in SF, and the pacing of the meal was perfect for spending time with our guest.
Has been and continues to remain a favorite spot after our most recent visit.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Fun, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 8, 2017

The service and food was amazing. I mean, really, the service was above and beyond hospitable and accommodating. I would come back just to hang with the staff. But to make our visit even better, the food was incredible! We had roast chicken, which was tender, smokey, juicy, and generous. Other memorable dishes - short ribs, quail, and grandma's cassoulet. Sadly we couldn't stay for dessert, but would have if we could. The wine list was small, but well selected from offering and price perspective.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on July 6, 2017

Excellent.
I came on a Thursday night with reservations. Parking was relatively easy to find around Civic Center (actual parking around Hayes is difficult). The food was delicious. The service was attentive and helpful. I noticed a manager making her rounds to each table- a good indication of the caliber of service. The restaurant has a nice vibe and the atmosphere is classy but relaxed. I mentioned that we were celebrating a birthday on Open Table and were given a few sweet bites at the end of the meal- it is the small things (attention to detail) like this that sets apart Mr. Benjamin from others. We ordered 3 mains and a side, no drinks and it cost about $55/person and I there was value there. Mr. B is an excellent choice in the Hayes/Civic area.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Bar Seating, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 2, 2017

I went to this place for brunch and I don't think it is a nice place for brunch. I'd come back for lunch or dinner but not for brunch.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 2, 2017

Pleasant bistro vibe, albeit a little noisy, excellent menu choices, focused naturally on French cuisine but even burger eaters will feel comfy enough. Top notch brunch with proper options, not just your typical ten choices of eggs and bacon, period. We opted for extremely fresh oysters, shared incredible steamed mussels, dipping frites in the buttery sauce, finally shared the pasta (still impressed how smoothly anchovies were blended in with other ingredients). All of the above was pleasantly accompanied by crispy Sancerre. Outside seating is available, tables were occupied by local crowd with couple of dogs, pet friendly and good food, much appreciated. So far best brunch I had in The City.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 2, 2017

Food was excellent as usual. We were in the city for the opera, and after we communicated that to the staff our food was delivered very promptly, which was greatly appreciated. We even had time for coffee and dessert. Highly recommended.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 2, 2017

The food at Monsieur Benjamin is good, imaginative but incredibly expensive for what you get. The wine prices are over the moon - a pretty skimpy pour for $15. It's a good place to go before the symphony or opera, but be prepared for a big bill.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value1

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 1, 2017

Food was way below standards for what we expected from the looks of the menu and the price asked. Impressed us as more "look" than substance. We are regular Saturday evening diners who enjoy trying out the multitude of wonderful restaurants in the city and bay area. We will not be returning to Monsieur Benjamin.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value1

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on June 30, 2017

Food was very expensive but almost too experimental/weird

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on June 30, 2017

Arrived and was seated promptly by the window, which was nice. My wife asked for recommendations on the menu that weren't too rich or heavy and the server suggested the Arctic char. The bread was served to us, but had a hair in it. We notified the server and it was quickly replaced with new bread, it was delicious. I had the short rib, which reminded me of my wife's roast beef and mashed potatoes. It was very good, but not what I expected at a fancy restaurant.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value1

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 30, 2017

First time and it far excited expectations! I read the reviews and view the menu and thought this had to be good but it was GREAT. Food clean, fresh, simple and elegant. Atmosphere, clean, streamlined, elegant and noise level busy but not overwhelming for San Francisco The presentations were eloquent and our server was really informed and interested in ensuring we had a great experience. Thanks Rebecca, your insights and recommendations were spot on. We will return as there were so many interesting items on the menu... Cheers

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Cozy, People Watching, Notable Wine List, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 28, 2017

Good food and service. However, noise level is high and tables too close together

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 28, 2017

Enjoyed our time there and the food we ordered. I would recommend going early so you can get out before they serve the cheese dessert to anyone, it permeated the restaurant and annoyed many diners with the smell.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 27, 2017

This is a great spot and lively bistro however do not count on the superb food that the place inaugurated at it start. Each visit it goes downhill . At the start the croquetteswere light fluffy and flavorful now they are fried balls of mashed potatoes ! The seafood sausage was so delicate and flavorful and now it's like a hot dig stuffed with old smelly seafood purée and pinenuts it's hard and awful. You should be ok with fries the burger and the grilled lettuce . We had liked the ham head cheese type pate that was served 8 months ago when we saw Patti Smith no such luck for traditional French treats . Just proschito and hard salami . All excitement and temptation is gone ! This owner is a famous chef who has turned his back on his bistro after opening in the museum .. so disappointing . Maybe just have a drink
Oysters and fries ! This was formerly a good before a performance spot but no longer ! We were so embarrassed as we had invited a group of friends !

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 24, 2017

We loved our late night, post-opera dining experience at Monsieur Benjamin. It's an easy two block walk from the War Memorial Opera theater and the restaurant accepts reservations until 11:30 pm on a Saturday night. The staff couldn't have been more friendly and accommodating. The menu selections were ample given the hour and the food was fresh, tasty and delivered promptly. Thanks to our late arrival we stayed long enough to watch the kitchen staff clean every vertical and horizontal surface in the entire place - quite a sight; with an esprit de corps that is very evident. Great place!

Tags: Fun, Vibrant Bar Scene, People Watching, Late-night Find, Pre/post Theatre, Handcrafted Cocktails, Quick Bite, Bar Seating, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 24, 2017

Food and ambience very nice for a Saturday evening dinner - some prices seem high to us for bistro fare - $34 chicken leg & $34 cassoulet are a bit much - but generally positive experience

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 23, 2017

Solid menu. Good service. Anyone should keep in mind that the restaurant is quite crowded and gets warm. Try to request a window seat/table for special occasions bc you will have more space.

Tags: Casual, Fun, People Watching, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 23, 2017

My experience at Monsieur Benjamin was great. I was able to change my reservation time and seat the day of, take my time on deciding food and wine. The food was excellent, I had the quail and my date had the duck confit. Will definitely be back again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 23, 2017

Monsieur Benjamin is a great French bistro, and it has wonderful food, really French and excellent service. Stepan was our waiter and he was very attentive without being suffocating. We went before the opera and have gone a number of times in the past. I would recommend this place for excellent food, a festive feel, and a relaxed atmosphere.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on June 22, 2017

Waiters were slow.. food was ok.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value2

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.