Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.02mi
  2. Distance: 0.11mi
  3. Distance: 0.19mi
  4. Distance: 0.24mi
  1. Distance: 0.02mi
  2. Distance: 0.11mi
  3. Distance: 0.19mi
  4. Distance: 0.24mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.02mi
  2. Distance: 0.11mi
  3. Distance: 0.19mi
  4. Distance: 0.24mi
  1. Distance: 0.02mi
  2. Distance: 0.11mi
  3. Distance: 0.19mi
  4. Distance: 0.24mi

About Monsieur Benjamin

Monsieur Benjamin is a modern restaurant and bar in San Francisco’s Hayes Valley, inspired by the great Parisian bistro culture and traditions of French cooking.

451 Gough Street
San Francisco, CA 94102
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
French

Hours of Operation:


Dinner: Su-Wed 5:00pm-10:30pm, Th-Sa 5:00pm-12:00am

Brunch: Sa-Su 11:00am-2:30pm

Cross Street:
Gough and Ivy

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(415) 403-2233

Website:
http://www.monsieurbenjamin.com/

Parking Details:
We are located kitty-corner from the Performing Arts Garage located at 360 Grove Street.

Public Transit:
The closest Bart station is Civic Center. Bus Stops for the 5, 21, 47, and 49 are located nearby.

Executive Chef:
Jason Berthold

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Full Bar, Late Night, Outdoor dining, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

For groups of 13 or more, Monsieur Benjamin offers large party dining in the main dining room. Possibility of reserving the entire restaurant as well.

Monsieur Benjamin Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.3

ambience

4.2

value

3.8

noise

Moderate

90% would recommend it to a friend

Fit for Foodies (76)
Pre/post Theatre (71)
Good for a Date (65)
See All
Neighborhood Gem (59)
Open Kitchen (50)
Modern Decor (48)
Special Occasion (48)
Handcrafted Cocktails (43)
Creative Cuisine (41)
Hot Spot (39)
Casual (35)
Bar Seating (33)
Late-night Find (31)
Good for Anniversaries (30)
Good for Groups (30)
Authentic (29)
Worth the Drive (28)
Notable Wine List (25)
Vibrant Bar Scene (23)
Romantic (23)
Great for Brunch (22)
People Watching (22)
Good for Birthdays (21)
Sunday Lunch (21)
Great for Lunch (20)
Fun (19)
Comfort Food (16)
Cozy (16)
Local Ingredients (14)
Seasonal (13)
Business Meals (12)
Healthy (10)
Quiet Conversation (9)
Quick Bite (7)
Happy Hour (5)
Outstanding Value (5)
Disabled Access (4)
Gluten Free Options (3)
Organic (3)
Paleo Friendly (3)
Kid-friendly (2)
Scenic View (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Great for Outdoor Dining (2)
Great Beer (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Spicy (1)
Family Style (1)
Live Music (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Sort By:
S
1015 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 2 days ago

Cool space, although a total echo chamber with hard surfaces everywhere. Beautiful design though. Took forever to be greeted by wait staff but once he arrived he was knowledgeable and warm. The cassoulet was over cooked (CRISPY!!) but my friends loved their dinners. The wine list was ample and the desserts were fabulous!

I've had better and I've had worse - not sure it reflected a $100/head experience. Definitely did not live up to the hype.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 2 days ago

I've dined at this restaurant 7-8 times in the past year and the food is always delicious and the service crisp and friendly. The waiter always asks what time I need to be out for the music event I'm attending and executes to perfection. I have been gently guided, when needed, to the shorter prep time items. They add 20% to the bill (no additional tipping) which I think is fair for all the staff and I wish more restaurants would follow suit.

Tags: Local Ingredients, People Watching, Organic, Paleo Friendly, Happy Hour, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Portland)·Dined 2 days ago

I love MB. ... Amazing staff and the wine list and food is off the charts incredible!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined 2 days ago

Food and ambiance was great - service could have been a bit better. Had to ask a few too many times for things that you'd expect would be quick (water, bread, etc). Regardless would definitely return.

Tags: Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined 3 days ago

Four of us met for a birthday dinner and everyone loved the restaurant, the food and the service. The only negative is that some of my friends found the noise level to be challenging at times. Cocktails were terrific and a bit unusual but still intriguing. The waiter suggested a wine for my roast chicken and I really enjoyed it with my meal. The lemon tart is a classic, and so was the marzipan cherry ice cream with a tuille cookie topper. Great evening and we will be back!

Tags: People Watching, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined 4 days ago

Beautiful meal with exemplary service. Can't recommend too highly.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on March 21, 2017

It was a very enjoyable meal with great wine. Not a great place for vegetarians but not the worst either.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 21, 2017

Incredible food and wonderful service... A little bit of heaven

Tags: Worth the Drive, Outstanding Value, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 20, 2017

Lovely food and good service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 19, 2017

We have been to this place three times. The food is good and the ambiance is nice. We had an issue on our last visit when we made a reservation at 2:15. We got to the restaurant to be informed that the kitchen was closing at 2:30. Why have a 2:15 reservation? Our meal felt very rushed, not the experience you want for a Sunday meal.

Tags: Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value3

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 19, 2017

Service was poor and it was the same when we were there two weeks ago
They need to train the wait staff to be more attentive
Our waiter made us feel like he was doing us a favor by serving us

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value3

vip
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on March 19, 2017

We went for brunch prior to the ballet. Good food and service but 1) all the non-brunch entrees, wine and drinks are overpriced by 100% and 2) the automatic 20% service charge is a put-off.

Tags: Modern Decor, Neighborhood Gem, Pre/post Theatre, Creative Cuisine
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value1

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 19, 2017

With all the excellent dining choices around the Opera House and Symphony Hall, Monsieur Benjamin is the place we keep coming back to. They always have perfect fresh oysters, the sea urchin is simply sublime, and everything after that (including the extraordinary seafood sausage) live up to our usual first two courses. This place is worth every penny and then some.

Tags: Hot Spot, Local Ingredients, Casual, Handcrafted Cocktails, Bar Seating, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Modern Decor, Open Kitchen, Fit for Foodies, Pre/post Theatre, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 18, 2017

I always enjoy MB and this was no exception. My only 'issue' is the brightness when sitting facing the windows. It's very difficult to focus on the person sitting across from you when you can't see them with the glare behind them. The food was really terrific and love the quality of the wine selection. Service was good as usual also!!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 18, 2017

Delightful. Reservation was available on time, service was superb, and as always, the food was imaginative, delicious, and beautifully plated and served.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 18, 2017

Food is very good but be prepared to pay. We went after the Ballet so it was convenient, 2 blocks from the Opera House. Great endive and apple salad, $15. Seafood sausage is excellent, $18/19. Ah the desserts! go for it!

Have fun.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 18, 2017

We gathered for a 10 pm dinner after a concert -- a very non-San Francisco time -- and had an excellent experience. A very helpful server. We did splits -- Mary and I split a grilled little gem salad (excellent) and a pâté de campagne, while our friends were more adventurous with frogs' legs and tripe! Everyone was happy!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 18, 2017

In a word: Fabulous! Super hip and busy yet friendly. Wonderfully creative in all respects.

Tags: Late-night Find, Pre/post Theatre, Healthy, Local Ingredients, Happy Hour, Outstanding Value, People Watching, Worth the Drive, Modern Decor, Good for a Date, Hot Spot, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Seasonal, Notable Wine List, Vibrant Bar Scene, Special Occasion, Fun, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 18, 2017

Perfect pre performance dining. The food deserves much further exploration on my part and will look forward to doing so it in the near future. I seem to have attitude problem with the host staff when I arrive with or without a reservation. The problem is not unique to Monsieur Benjamin. Maybe it is me, but it seems as the first point of contact the restaurant would want the host experience to shine. I know that ain't easy but it is the job.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Great for Outdoor Dining, Outstanding Value, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 18, 2017

The Beef Short Rib was flavorful and succulent . The special of the day cod with porcini , fava and peas was tender, moist and tasty. The potato leek croquettes was nice, the seafood sausage not quite to our tastes. Overall, an excellent meal before our concert.

Tags: Seasonal, Local Ingredients, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 17, 2017

Excellent choice for French cuisine in San Francisco. Highly recommended.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Bar Seating, Fit for Foodies, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on March 16, 2017

This restaurant was recommended to me by a friend. My boss, a former hospitality Food & Beverage Director, can sometimes present a food choice challenge when deciding on dinner plans. We both surveyed the menu inline after the recommendation and agreed we had to try it. Everything about this experience blew us away! From the bright visual arrival experience to the knowledgeable, friendly, attentive service staff...All exceeded my every expectation. We sampled small plates, entrees and dessert as well as a fantastic bottle of wine. Nothing was left on our table. A thoroughly enjoyable experience! Thank you for your hospitality!

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 14, 2017

The food was very good, and comforting. Mussels appetizer not the best I've ever had (beige mussels, not pink), but they were very large and in a delicious broth. Seating is a little tight--you can hear neighboring conversations if you tune in--but doesn't feel particularly crowded. Service was quite good, though we waited a little longer than we wanted after asking for more time with the menu. We have been there before, and definitely will return.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Casual, Pre/post Theatre, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on March 13, 2017

Authentically French. Delicious and stylish. Highly recommend.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 13, 2017

One of the main reasons I have returned to MB is because I loved the butter lettuce salad on my first visit. On this latest visit the salad was very overdressed so that we didn't finish it. The waiter apologized, but I think the kitchen needs to recall the reason for the beauty of that dish -- light and delicious when dressed properly. Additionally, the casoulet was dry on top and far too salty. I won't order that dish again.

The service is professional and friendly. The steak my companion had was delicious.

Tags: People Watching, Paleo Friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 12, 2017

We thoroughly enjoyed our Sunday lunch, time shared with a long time friend who no longer lives in SF. Service was seamless and attentive, the meal was scrumptious, and I only wish we had had more room to try other dishes. Definitely will return again.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 12, 2017

This is our 4th or 5th time at MB and each time gets better. The creativity of the kitchen is superb and service outstanding. I highly recommend and plan to visit many more times.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Handcrafted Cocktails, Modern Decor, Vibrant Bar Scene, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Our meal was fabulous, and we had a hard time identifying a favorite among the dishes we ordered: foie gras, seafood sausage, steak tartare, and frisée salad. The service was spot on, and there was even a handwritten birthday note for my guest of honor. We can't wait to go back!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Business Meals, Authentic, Great for Lunch, Sunday Lunch, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 11, 2017

We asked our waiter two questions about the cocktails. He did know the answer. After serving the appetizers we asked for bread. The waiter came back with two half slices. Our entrees were ok. Considering the price of the entrees they should have been better than ok. The lemon tart was perfect. This was the third time we have dined at this restaurant. The other two times the food and service was excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value2

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 10, 2017

Absolutely excellent service and outstanding French food....pom frites from heaven with a scrumptious dipping sauce. The cherry ice cream was a huge treat!

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Sunday Lunch, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 9, 2017

We thought that the evening would start badly. No tables were available when we arrived notwithstanding our reservation because prior diners were "lingering". But the staff went out of its way to make us comfortable while we were waiting, including bringing us cocktails. Once we sat down, the food was by and large excellent. The chicken liver pate was outstanding and so was my cassoulet. My wife thought that her chicken roti did not quite reach that level, but it was still very good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 8, 2017

Our service personnel was excellent, knowledgable, engaging, professional and so delightful we told them we will be back soon. The whole experience the ultimate.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 7, 2017

One of the most adventurous menus in town

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 6, 2017

Food was exceptional as always. Escargot are SO good. Cassoulet is amazing and enough for two. Chestnut pot de creek was a perfect ending. Only odd thing is they are trying to be a "Tipless" restaurant by adding a taxable 20% charge to the check. I'd prefer they just raise the prices which gets to the same economics...

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 5, 2017

This was my 8th or 9th visit to MB and honestly, I was really disappointed. Our server unfortunately wasn't very attentive, and one diner was still finishing appetizers when he came over and seemed very eager to get our entree orders in. It then took at least 20 mins to have our plates cleared. The food and ambiance as always was great. Unfortunately, the evening was my birthday celebration, and I left MB feeling very dissatisfied.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 3, 2017

So glad the irritable server is gone gone gone! Now the service is 20 on a 10-scale...like the food!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, People Watching, Casual, Handcrafted Cocktails, Authentic, Notable Wine List, Modern Decor, Seasonal, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 2, 2017

Value = Price / Quality. The quality of the food is quite high but so are the prices - too high in fact. Service is a bit uneven and too fussy by half. The worst part of the dinner was being seated at a table quite near the kitchen where one's nostrils were essentially assaulted every 30 minutes or so by some dish on the menu showcasing some extraordinarily stinky cheese that I am informed and believe is usually served at room temperature - but that MB's kitchen apparently prefers to heat up. Noxious. Really noxious. Reminds one of months old unwashed content of a locker room. No bueno.

I have been there a few times. This was first so-so experience so I will still recommend.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value2

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 2, 2017

Monsieur Benjamin is a good addition to the dining options near the symphony. It is quiet enough for a conversation, the food is good, if not very original and a bit pricey. A glass of wine is on the small side compared to other places.. We will return.

Tags: Seasonal, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 27, 2017

20% built in gratuity even when dining at the bar - undisclosed robbery!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value1

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on February 26, 2017

Slow/poor service; need to check on us to see if we would have liked another round of drinks; if our food was good etc. I guess thats what happens when the restaurant automatically adds 20% gratuity - bad service! Disappointing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value2

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.