Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.02mi
  2. Distance: 0.11mi
  3. Distance: 0.19mi
  4. Distance: 0.24mi
  1. Distance: 0.02mi
  2. Distance: 0.11mi
  3. Distance: 0.19mi
  4. Distance: 0.24mi

Monsieur Benjamin is making French food cool again.

We partner with The Infatuation to bring you their smart, helpful, trustworthy reviews of restaurants on OpenTable.

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.02mi
  2. Distance: 0.11mi
  3. Distance: 0.19mi
  4. Distance: 0.24mi
  1. Distance: 0.02mi
  2. Distance: 0.11mi
  3. Distance: 0.19mi
  4. Distance: 0.24mi

About Monsieur Benjamin

Monsieur Benjamin is a modern restaurant and bar in San Francisco’s Hayes Valley, inspired by the great Parisian bistro culture and traditions of French cooking.

451 Gough Street
San Francisco, CA 94102
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
French

Hours of Operation:


Dinner: Su-Wed 5:00pm-10:30pm, Th-Sa 5:00pm-12:00am

Brunch: Sa-Su 11:00am-2:30pm

Cross Street:
Gough and Ivy

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(415) 403-2233

Website:
http://www.monsieurbenjamin.com/

Parking Details:
We are located kitty-corner from the Performing Arts Garage located at 360 Grove Street.

Public Transit:
The closest Bart station is Civic Center. Bus Stops for the 5, 21, 47, and 49 are located nearby.

Executive Chef:
Jason Berthold

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Full Bar, Late Night, Outdoor dining, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

For groups of 13 or more, Monsieur Benjamin offers large party dining in the main dining room. Possibility of reserving the entire restaurant as well.

Monsieur Benjamin Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.5

ambience

4.4

value

3.9

Noise

Moderate

91% would recommend it to a friend

Fit for Foodies (75)
Good for a Date (74)
Pre/post Theatre (74)
See All
Special Occasion (64)
Neighborhood Gem (58)
Handcrafted Cocktails (41)
Good for Birthdays (38)
Creative Cuisine (37)
Good for Anniversaries (35)
Authentic (34)
Good for Groups (28)
Notable Wine List (28)
Casual (27)
Romantic (26)
Fun (25)
Business Meals (24)
Hot Spot (24)
Sunday Lunch (24)
Local Ingredients (23)
Worth the Drive (23)
People Watching (22)
Great for Brunch (21)
Bar Seating (19)
Late-night Find (19)
Great for Lunch (18)
Comfort Food (15)
Seasonal (13)
Vibrant Bar Scene (10)
Cozy (9)
Quick Bite (8)
Quiet Conversation (8)
Healthy (7)
Organic (5)
Good Vegetarian Options (5)
Tasting Menu (4)
Afternoon Tea (3)
Kid-friendly (3)
Happy Hour (3)
Great for Outdoor Dining (3)
Paleo Friendly (3)
Tapas (3)
Afternoon Coffee (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Scenic View (2)
Vegan (1)
Waterfront (1)
Sort by
S
1323 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined 2 days ago

I was quite surpirsed by the uniqueness and unusual dishes available. It is refreshing to
find some new ways of having French food. I highly recommend it.

Tags: Casual, Great for Brunch, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 4 days ago

Had dinner with my dolled before a show they wrrr going to see. The service and food were outstanding! Friendly helpful server was exceptionally thoughtful and patient. All of our plates were deluscious and perfectly prepared.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined 4 days ago

We enjoyed every one of our three courses. Service was friendly and helpful if not exactly timely. Prices are up there though not unusual for this sort of neighborhood in the city. Would definitely recommend Monsieur Benjamin to friends.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 7 days ago

Delicious food, friendly staff. Great atmosphere. I am French and the food was really authentic from starters to desserts. Impressed! Will come back. Keep it up guys!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 13, 2017

We crave the bone marrow appetizer. Grilled little gem salad was delicious.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 12, 2017

Well worth the drive in from Marin.
Wish they had valet parking!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Sunday Lunch, Handcrafted Cocktails, Worth the Drive, Bar Seating, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on November 12, 2017

As usual it was a great meal and great service. Always special and comfortable.

Tags: Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Sunday Lunch, Creative Cuisine, Comfort Food, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 12, 2017

Food and service were excellent. I'm a francophile and was pleasantly surprised by the menu (brunch in this case). Lots of lovely egg dishes, not huge portions which I appreciate. The desserts are to die for. Service was attentive and efficient. Prices are a bit steep but we all agreed it was worth it. We were there during the day, and the big windows allow a lot of light in. The ambiance is casual cool and we were in the back so not too noisy.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on November 12, 2017

Prompt and friendly service, excellent drinks and wine list. Cuisine is varied and delicious. The seafood sausage and epoisses toast are favorites!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 12, 2017

First time diner at MB. Excellent experience. Great service from Justin, our waiter.
Pre-symphony experience. Will definitely come back.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 8, 2017

I'm a fan of Chef Corey Lee's restaurants and I was delighted by the amazing French cuisine here!

Tags: Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 8, 2017

A great range of excellently executed bistro classics with a good short accessible wine list.

Tags: Hot Spot, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value3

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 5, 2017

This is one of our all-time favorite restaurants ever. The food, the service, the speed, the attention to details, the location -- it's all pitch perfect. Keep up the excellence.

Tags: Special Occasion, People Watching, Notable Wine List, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 4, 2017

Food was really terrible. So salty and full of butter. Won’t be going back, even though fun scene in good neighborhood.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service4
value1

 
·Dined on November 4, 2017

We were in a hurry and the service was beyond excellent however, not exceeded by the meal. Every dish was prepared and presented with the expertise of an excellent chef and staff.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on November 3, 2017

Wonderful, attentive service. Good variety on menu. Was hoping for a French cheese plate for dessert. However, the ice cream was over the moon rich.

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 3, 2017

Dinner before the theatre. Everything was terrific!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 1, 2017

Overpriced with average food. There are many better options in SF

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service4
value1

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 31, 2017

Fabulous menu and service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 29, 2017

Salads were yummy. Main courses, eh.
Leg of lamb—BIG disappointment. Over-cooked, dry meat patty with bread crumbs covering it. Where’s the leg?

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value2

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 29, 2017

We have enjoyed coming to Monsieur Benjamin’s ever since it opened a few years ago. Fine food, service, ambiance, etc. However, I doubt we shall return any time soon, you see it’s all about the price. Prices for their food have steadily risen over time to a point where we are simply priced out. $22.00 for simple pasta? $14.50 for a butter lettuce salad? $38 for char? Not too much $$ for some people, but too much for us...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value2

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 29, 2017

Wonderfully prepared delicious great dishes ...
Everything spot on...service and food and great space design

Tags: Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Authentic, Pre/post Theatre, Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Disabled Access, Good for Anniversaries, Healthy, Casual, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 29, 2017

I love this restaurant. Consistently good food and service and a perfect before an event restaurant
We had a deviled egg to start and a wonderful gem salad. My partner had Arctic char and I had the founder stuffed with spinach. So tender and delicious.
This is a wonderful place to eat

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 27, 2017

Except for the hostess everyone was kind warm and welcoming. The waiter was knowledgeable and kind and service was wonderful the moment we sat down.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 25, 2017

Excellent excellent excellent! Food and service outstanding! Can't wait to return.

Tags: Authentic, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 23, 2017

Service and food are incredible! Always a fun time at Monsieur Benjamin and excellent cocktails...

Tags: Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 22, 2017

Delicious food and great service. Definitely will be back.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Good for a Date, Quick Bite, Sunday Lunch, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 22, 2017

Excellent service and meal. A wonderful evening. This was a special evening out for my wife and I -- our wedding anniversary. Restaurant delivered an outstanding experience, including leaving us a special card of congratulations for our anniversary. Nice touch.

Tags: Cozy, Handcrafted Cocktails, Paleo Friendly, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Pre/post Theatre, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 21, 2017

Amazing delicious food. Definitely a gem in San francisco

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Business Meals, Creative Cuisine, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on October 18, 2017

Good food, good service, industrial noisy setting detracts from the pleasure. I'm not comfortable at a communal table, when I have a reservation for a special get together.

Tags: Casual, Quick Bite
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service4
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 18, 2017

Loved the endive salad. Sweetbreads were to die for. Local couple sat next to us and we're very helpful. They recommended the chicken. Perfect 👌 too

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 18, 2017

We had a wonderful experience before the Opera. The staff and food were excellent

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 18, 2017

My friend had the duck confit there wasn't a speck left on her plate she thought it was one of the best she has ever had. I had the lamb it was super tender and not gamely!
We had a very attentive server!
Perfect dinner experience!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on October 16, 2017

Good steak tartare, though a bit pricy. Nice appetizer list, some could be entrees. Food generally was excellent, I probably should have selected something a bit more challenging to cook. Between 4 and 5 stars for the food and the restaurant.

Tags: Business Meals, Cozy, Casual, Authentic, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Good for a Date, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 15, 2017

The food is mediocre for the price Tag. The 20% MANDATORY Tip is abusive.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value1

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 15, 2017

Great service good food we were 7 people handled check with 3 credit cards very nicely

Tags: Notable Wine List, Fun, Authentic, Late-night Find, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 15, 2017

One good meal, one lousy. The quail was delicious, but the lamb was so tough it was inedible. Way too noisy for a friend’s get together. We could hardly hear each other!

Tags: Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service3
value2

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 12, 2017

Great date night! Romantic and lots of great food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 10, 2017

bad service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value3

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 8, 2017

Dinner at Monsieur Benjamin was excellent, as always. Service was quick and also impeccable. Although they didn't have Bombay Sapphire gin their 209 gin was very close. Also the wine, a Sancerre, was crisp and dry. Great experience from start to finish and they got us out in plenty of time for the symphony.

Tags: Authentic, Fun, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.