Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.02mi
  2. Distance: 0.11mi
  3. Distance: 0.19mi
  4. Distance: 0.24mi
  1. Distance: 0.02mi
  2. Distance: 0.11mi
  3. Distance: 0.19mi
  4. Distance: 0.24mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.02mi
  2. Distance: 0.11mi
  3. Distance: 0.19mi
  4. Distance: 0.24mi
  1. Distance: 0.02mi
  2. Distance: 0.11mi
  3. Distance: 0.19mi
  4. Distance: 0.24mi

About Monsieur Benjamin

Monsieur Benjamin is a modern restaurant and bar in San Francisco’s Hayes Valley, inspired by the great Parisian bistro culture and traditions of French cooking.

451 Gough Street
San Francisco, CA 94102
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
French

Hours of Operation:


Dinner: Su-Wed 5:00pm-10:30pm, Th-Sa 5:00pm-12:00am

Brunch: Sa-Su 11:00am-2:30pm

Cross Street:
Gough and Ivy

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(415) 403-2233

Website:
http://www.monsieurbenjamin.com/

Parking Details:
We are located kitty-corner from the Performing Arts Garage located at 360 Grove Street.

Public Transit:
The closest Bart station is Civic Center. Bus Stops for the 5, 21, 47, and 49 are located nearby.

Executive Chef:
Jason Berthold

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Full Bar, Late Night, Outdoor dining, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

For groups of 13 or more, Monsieur Benjamin offers large party dining in the main dining room. Possibility of reserving the entire restaurant as well.

Monsieur Benjamin Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.4

ambience

4.3

value

3.8

noise

Moderate

89% would recommend it to a friend

Pre/post Theatre (94)
Fit for Foodies (74)
Good for a Date (73)
See All
Neighborhood Gem (61)
Special Occasion (54)
Creative Cuisine (40)
Good for Anniversaries (35)
Handcrafted Cocktails (34)
People Watching (34)
Hot Spot (28)
Authentic (27)
Local Ingredients (27)
Good for Birthdays (26)
Romantic (26)
Fun (26)
Notable Wine List (25)
Business Meals (22)
Bar Seating (21)
Good for Groups (21)
Casual (20)
Late-night Find (20)
Worth the Drive (20)
Vibrant Bar Scene (19)
Sunday Lunch (15)
Great for Brunch (14)
Great for Lunch (13)
Seasonal (13)
Quiet Conversation (12)
Comfort Food (11)
Organic (7)
Cozy (6)
Good Vegetarian Options (6)
Quick Bite (5)
Tapas (5)
Disabled Access (3)
Happy Hour (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Scenic View (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Vegan (1)
Waterfront (1)
Sort By:
S
1264 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 2 days ago

What a gem, glad to finally try this place. Unique, delicious, comfortable and will recommend and return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 2 days ago

I love this place! You can’t go wrong with this place!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined 3 days ago

First time and it will not be the last time. Cannot wait to return. Service was excellent, food was exceptional and we felt very special throughout the whole evening.

Tags: Organic, Business Meals, Handcrafted Cocktails, Local Ingredients, Authentic, Seasonal, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Pre/post Theatre, Creative Cuisine, Fun, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Late-night Find, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined 3 days ago

My friend and I enjoyed our pre-opera dinner. The service was attentive and obliging. Our dinner of lamb for one of us and tripe Provençal for the other was delicious and satisfying.
The wine by the glass complimented our meals. We did not opt for dessert this time. The ambience was lively and the folks at the neighboring tables were friendly which, I think, reflects on the restaurant—a very friendly and warm place.

Tags: Happy Hour, Good for a Date, Kid-friendly, Pre/post Theatre, Quick Bite, Bar Seating, Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine, Seasonal, Vibrant Bar Scene, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined 4 days ago

This restaurant is supposed to make French food and on the menu it sounds so too. Reality is that the food is not true to the description. It is uninteresting and withiut any edge. That however doesn't make this a cheap place to eat. I would say that it is a bit of a tourist trap.

Tags: Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service4
value1

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 5 days ago

Butter Lettuce Salad was simple but huge and tasty. Steak Tartar was the best I've ever had. Seafood sausage was unusual and fabulous. Escargot was the worst I've ever had. Flounder was excellent, but not one other thing on the platter?!?

Decor is stark, and noise level is unacceptable. Wine list is a little too "international" for a California boy. The 20% mandatory tip for a party of two is not something I deem appropriate, although the service was okay.

Overall, given the cost and above comments, I would not return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service4
value2

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 17, 2017

As a group of 8 getting together for a pre-theater meal the food and service was a wonderful start to a to a fun evening. Everyone came away feeling good about our shared appetizers, beverages, entrees, service and fun dessert. Our waitress rolled with the table's banter and energy. She enthusiastically answered our questions whether serious or smart-alecky. A fun-nite leading all to say, "we'll be back"!

Tags: Fun, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 16, 2017

Restaurant didn't pay attention to special request for bday dinner placed on reservation done online until I asked the server if they do make special treatment for occasion being celebrated until we received our check.

Tags: Hot Spot, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 13, 2017

Food is consistently excellent. Prices seem to have escalated, but it's Civic Center, and popular, and for a truly excellent taste of France, then worth it.

Tags: Business Meals, Authentic, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 11, 2017

Excellent restaurant. Amazing food. Delicious. Rebecca our server was awesome. We will definitely go back!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Tapas, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails, People Watching, Authentic, Good for a Date, Hot Spot, Bar Seating, Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Pre/post Theatre, Fun, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 9, 2017

Good food service. A bit overpriced. The foie gras was exceptional

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 7, 2017

I was worried when we arrived that we wouldn't be able to stay because although we had a reservation, the restaurant was running behind. I spoke to the hostess about the issue and within minutes we were seated at the bar to have drinks and placed an appetizer order that was delivered to our table just as we were seated.

The staff at Monsieur Benjamin offered the best dining experience I have had in all of my time in San Francisco. They were polite, affable and attentive to every detail (they even had left a birthday card from the staff on the table for my husband). When we walked in I was worried but they promptly alleviated any concern I had and then went on to deliver an exceptional dining experience.

On top of that, every dish we tried was delicious and while we tried 2 mains and 3 starters between us we are already planning our next visit because there were so many wonderful offering and not room to try them all. I would highly recommend to anyone.

Tags: Romantic, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 6, 2017

The sea urchin was the best we've ever had, and the bone marrow was a close second. The waitstaff is friendly, attentive, and efficient. We look forward to returning.

Tags: Good for a Date, Afternoon Coffee, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 5, 2017

Food was very good. They were out of the one IPA they had. Took a long time for someone to take our order but after that service was good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 4, 2017

Had high expectations for the restaurant - but service and accomodation for vegan / vegetarian guest was pretty poor. Every question was answered with a no with little or no alternative suggestions put forward by our waiter. Such a shame

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value2

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 3, 2017

Service wasn't good. The tip is already included at 20% so we were pretty much ignored the entire time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1
value2

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 3, 2017

Went for brunch before theatre. Very limited brunch menu items and super over priced for what they were. $18 for a frisée salad and $16 for scrambled eggs. Fussy and pretentious meets hipster. Other options for bunch in this hood.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on September 3, 2017

First time here and for someone who has lived in France their take on French food is excellent. The service was amazing, even though tip is already included in your bill - they still keep a high standard of service which I appreciate. Desserts were amazing, and make sure you try the Daybreak.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on September 3, 2017

Overall a great place, but we were disappointed that the menu had changed and we couldn't order their awesome mussels any more. We also weren't super comfortable as we went on a very hot day and their air conditioning wasn't able to keep the restaurant cool.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service5
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 31, 2017

The food is always good but the service is changing. The last time we visited, they brought out the wrong appetizer and were out of what I wanted in the early evening but what I ordered instead, was good. This time, I found the service slightly pushy and they seemed to be rushing us. By the end of our meal, there was nobody waiting for our table but yet they were eager for my friend and I to leave by giving us our check promptly. Also, the value wasn't so great. Over $200 for two was a little steep considering what we had...granted I had two glasses of wine. I will return because I like the food.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value2

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 31, 2017

Somehow they hire the best waiters ever. The food is really well done. The wine list is lovely. The pricing is very affordable. Whomever put this restaurant together did an amazing job. I love everything about this place and really should come back more often :)

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 30, 2017

The food was great. The menu was interesting but not confusing. The service was a little off. We ordered three appetizers and two drinks. First we received a salad, then the other two appetizers, and then our drinks. Ten minutes after we finished appetizers the waiter took our order. It was a little cold in there too.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service2
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 30, 2017

I love M Benjamin. The service is perfect - friendly but professional. Flawless. The menu, while heavily French, still works for me as a vegetarian. The food is excellent and the wine list is great.

Tags: Hot Spot, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, People Watching, Special Occasion, Good Vegetarian Options, Notable Wine List, Pre/post Theatre, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 27, 2017

The brioche French Toast with bacon was ex exceptionally delicious! Not too sweet and perfect density. Casual ambiance with modern sophistication.

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on August 27, 2017

Great experience, staff knowledge and gave great menu and drink suggestions

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 27, 2017

I made a reservation and took my husband here for his birthday, and we left very, very happy! :) It began with a handwritten birthday card from the restaurant placed on our table, to amazing customer service given by the kind and caring staff members, and ended with amazing and delicious food! My husband now loves this restaurant. Thank you so much, Monsieur Benjamin, for making our experience such an incredible one!

Tags: Romantic, Great for Lunch, Fun, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Great for Brunch, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 27, 2017

Excellent service and food.
Hands down one of the best burgers I've ever had.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on August 26, 2017

Extraordinary date night! We live right around the corner and wish we'd been there sooner. The drinks were exceptional and the cassoulet was even better the next day. We'll be back!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Seasonal, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on August 26, 2017

Fantastic experience we were given this recommendation by a local when we could not get reservations at some better known French restaurants. Our expectations were exceeded. I would recommend this restaurant unconditionally

Tags: Authentic, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 25, 2017

Bday service was great maybe we ordered the wrong dishes wasn't impress by the food

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 24, 2017

The wait staff kept wanting to take our plates. I was slow eating. Food was great.

Tags: Tapas, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value2

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 23, 2017

Excellent in every way!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 20, 2017

Monsieur Benjamin is always a good choice when you want to eat high end food but not be dressed up and stiff. It has a casual dining atmosphere but an elegant five star menu that stands up well in a neighborhood with high end restaurants. It is another high end restaurant, but welcoming to the locals and those looking for that special evening. This time, we went for Sunday Brunch. An exceptional brunch that would hold up to any other restaurants' dinner selections. This time we indulged in the Sausage, Eggs, potatoes, and of course Foie Gras Paté

Tags: Seasonal, Local Ingredients, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 20, 2017

The service was excellent and they helped make our anniversary a special night. The food was so/so, but it didn't matter because the experience was so wonderful.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 20, 2017

Great restaurant, never ceases to please! If you aren't able to get a reservation, you can always try your luck after 10pm for a late night outing. The palmier ice cream is one of my favorites.

Tags: Late-night Find, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 20, 2017

A pleasant prelude to an operatic evening. Though aware of the not optional 20% tip, still didn't feel very good about it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 19, 2017

Have enjoyed MB for dinner with my husband and friends - first time for lunch. Great fun- perfect menu for every bistro taste and wonderful service. Robbie our server was perfectly charming. MB is top of the list along with Absinthe for weekend lunches with friends. Merci!

Tags: Hot Spot, Business Meals, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Pre/post Theatre, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 19, 2017

Crepe and scrambled eggs done to perfection. So glad we found this classy place for delicious breakfast and lunch without the all the hipsters gramming selfies.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 18, 2017

Food was very good. My only disappointment was was that our waiter was not very good. After we had ordered our dinner, our waiter implied that if we hadn't ordered enough food and we felt pressured to order more which we did. But then we had too much food and we actually would've been much happier had we received/eaten only what we had originally ordered. I resent that the waiter pressured us to order extra food. Also don't like that the restaurant automatically added the tip. I generally give generous tips, but in this situation I was actually unhappy with certain aspects of the service I felt I did not have a way to express that through the tip.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value2

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 17, 2017

This restaurant is not what it once was when it first opened. Back in the day, the service was excellent and attentive, the food was mostly great, and we could count on having a great night, although never a bargain. On our last visit the service was dismissive at best, but the real disappointment was the food, which has really gone downhill since a few years ago. The grilled lettuce used to be one of my favorite dishes; last night it was unrecognizable from its former glory. The tomato appetizer was fine but not remarkable, and you can get much better for much less elsewhere in town. I got the chicken which was not as crispy as it should have been and slightly rare (perhaps in the French style, but off-putting to the average American, which made me wonder if it was intentional given the under-browned skin). A sad little sprig of frisée with too much dressing was the only accompaniment, aside from a too-sweet jus sauce. Overall, an expensive and underwhelming experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value1

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.