About Monsieur Benjamin

451 Gough Street
San Francisco, CA 94102
View Larger Map

Monsieur Benjamin is a modern restaurant and bar in San Francisco’s Hayes Valley, inspired by the great Parisian bistro culture and traditions of French cooking.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
French

Hours of Operation:


Dinner: M-Su 5:00pm-12:00am

Brunch: Sa-Su 11:00am-2:30pm

Cross Street:
Gough and Ivy

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(415) 403-2233

Website:
http://www.monsieurbenjamin.com/

Parking Details:
We are located kitty-corner from the Performing Arts Garage located at 360 Grove Street.

Public Transit:
The closest Bart station is Civic Center. Bus Stops for the 5, 21, 47, and 49 are located nearby.

Executive Chef:
Jason Berthold

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Full Bar, Late Night, Outdoor dining, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access

Restaurant Photos

  • Monsieur Benjamin, San Francisco, CA
  • Monsieur Benjamin, San Francisco, CA
  • Monsieur Benjamin, San Francisco, CA
  • Monsieur Benjamin, San Francisco, CA
  • Monsieur Benjamin, San Francisco, CA
Monsieur Benjamin, San Francisco, CA
Monsieur Benjamin, San Francisco, CA
Monsieur Benjamin, San Francisco, CA
Monsieur Benjamin, San Francisco, CA
Monsieur Benjamin, San Francisco, CA

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

For groups of 13 or more, Monsieur Benjamin offers large party dining in the main dining room. Possibility of reserving the entire restaurant as well.

Monsieur Benjamin Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.4

ambience

4.3

value

3.6

noise

Moderate

88% would recommend it to a friend

Fit for Foodies (81)
Pre/post Theatre (65)
Neighborhood Gem (58)
See All
Good for a Date (51)
Special Occasion (50)
Modern Decor (42)
Open Kitchen (39)
Authentic (35)
Good for Anniversaries (32)
Romantic (29)
Creative Cuisine (29)
Hot Spot (28)
Notable Wine List (27)
Good for Birthdays (26)
Handcrafted Cocktails (25)
Late-night Find (23)
Casual (22)
Great for Brunch (22)
Sunday Lunch (22)
Fun (21)
Good for Groups (20)
People Watching (17)
Business Meals (16)
Bar Seating (16)
Comfort Food (13)
Vibrant Bar Scene (13)
Great for Lunch (12)
Worth the Drive (10)
Local Ingredients (9)
Quiet Conversation (9)
Quick Bite (8)
Cozy (7)
Family Style (6)
Healthy (6)
Outstanding Value (5)
Seasonal (5)
Great for Outdoor Dining (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Afternoon Coffee (2)
Afternoon Tea (2)
Happy Hour (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Great Beer (1)
Organic (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Scenic View (1)
Sort By:
S
858 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

This was our second visit and again the ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 2 days ago

This was our second visit and again the service and the food was outstanding. The chef creates incredible dishes that are interesting and delicious! Their wine list is good and we usually bring some of our own bottles. The only negative I have to say is that I called ahead to check if we can bring wine and what the corkage is. At $30 a bottle, it's on the higher side, but I respect it from a business standpoint. But the not so pleasant surprise was that the restaurant charged us a Sommelier fee of $150. They were not willing to waive it and it was never mentioned to me when I called. Go figure.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Could not hear conversations as noise wa ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined 3 days ago

Could not hear conversations as noise was extreme.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4

Monsieur Benjamin is not the restaurant ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined 3 days ago

Monsieur Benjamin is not the restaurant it used to be. The service was deficient in several ways. My wife and I asked our glasses of wine come with our food. The appetizer was served with no wine and we were asked if we wanted our wine then. Yes, we told the waiter and she said she would bring it right away. It came only when we had already finished eating the appetizer (of fried frogs legs). Our main courses were both quite salty. My wife was, at least, able to eat her arctic char but my cassoulet was too salty even to eat half. That the food was too salty is bad enough and they did take the item (which I returned) off our bill. But when I complained the woman who served us said that others in the restaurant had ordered the cassoulet and did not complain that it was too salty. This is something a good restaurant NEVER will do. You simply do not challenge a customer's opinion of a meal. In addition, as any good chef will know, you can always add salt but you cannot take it out. So, it is better to err on the mild side. In addition to all this Monsieur Benjamin now automatically adds 20% as a "tip" to your bill. Now, let's be clear. A tip is a voluntary emolument by definition. Once you require a 20% tip it is not a tip. Now, restaurants abroad add service costs to each item and tell you service is included. In my view this is a more honest approach. Besides, with the service we actually received, 20% was not deserved.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service2
value2

Wonderful dining with a great Menu of in ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 4 days ago

Wonderful dining with a great

Menu of interesting food.

Fairly priced

Tags: Authentic, Fun, Quick Bite, Molecular Gastronomy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Second visit to MB ... disappointing (fo ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 5 days ago

Second visit to MB ... disappointing (food)compared to first visit couple of years ago

Tags: Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service3
value1

Food is up to to Cory Lee's standard i.e ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined 6 days ago

Food is up to to Cory Lee's standard i.e. excellent although a little pricey for bistro fare...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

I was so looking forward to eating at th ...

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined 6 days ago

I was so looking forward to eating at this restaurant and was so disappointed. The food was mediocre at best, very overpriced for what you got, presentation was nothing special.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service3
value1

We've been here before a show a few time ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 27, 2016

We've been here before a show a few times and each time the food has been excellent. The chicken liver terrine is excellent and the brunch crepe was very tasty as well. The wine list is small but varied enough with good options by the glass. The service was a bit off the last time we were here and there was a long lag between appetizers and entree, but they were pretty busy so they were probably running behind. It is pricey, especially given the small portions, but still a very good spot for a fancy brunch.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Sunday Lunch, Pre/post Theatre, Open Kitchen, Great for Brunch, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

Everything was delicious. I had quail an ...

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on November 26, 2016

Everything was delicious. I had quail and my wife had Arctic char, both are incredible. Deserts even better.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent French cuisine, great location ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 21, 2016

Excellent French cuisine, great location and ambiance. A bit on the expensive side for us, but probably on par with other SF French restaurants. Ingredients were outstanding as were most of the dishes and sauces. The quality of the char was outstanding, but I didn't like the almond sliver treatment (this is a treatment from 20 years ago that could stand being updated). Service was very good.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Food was wonderful. Service top notch. U ...

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on November 20, 2016

Food was wonderful. Service top notch. Unpretentious, neighborhood feel.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The steak frites were amazing!

 
 (New England)·Dined on November 20, 2016

The steak frites were amazing!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

The food is rather good, not outstanding ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 19, 2016

The food is rather good, not outstanding. Sometimes the flavor combination can be a little curious

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

Unfortunately, we felt very rushed and o ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 19, 2016

Unfortunately, we felt very rushed and over attended to while eating.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value4

Wonderful French cuisine with really gre ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 18, 2016

Wonderful French cuisine with really great service.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Always excellent service. The atmospher ...

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on November 15, 2016

Always excellent service. The atmosphere is vibrant, but conversation is easy - no din.

We had oysters and bone marrow for appetizers, which all 4 of us loved. The arctic char had a delicious sauce, and although I don't recall what everyone else had as their entrees, no one was disappointed. Pricey, but worth it.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Lovely atmosphere and food. Staff was fr ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 14, 2016

Lovely atmosphere and food. Staff was friendly and helpful.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

Prices are up, service is down.Way down. ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 14, 2016

Prices are up, service is down.Way down. For a quiet early Sunday dinner, we expected more.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value1

Excited to try this place since it was m ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 13, 2016

Excited to try this place since it was mentioned on many must-try lists. The decor was modern/spare but felt warm since it's not too big and the tables were close together. Cocktails were well-made (we had a Manhattan and the Ace). Everything we had was delicious: croquettes, mussels, herring, quail and steak frites. And the desserts were terrific. Will be back!

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Notable Wine List, Pre/post Theatre, Open Kitchen, Late-night Find, Fun, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Fantastic. The flavors were authentic a ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Fantastic. The flavors were authentic and the food fresh and simply delicious. Highly recommended - by someone who has lived in France!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We came here to celebrate a birthday. I ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 12, 2016

We came here to celebrate a birthday. I requested for a special note/greeting and a candle on our dessert to celebrate the birthday. However, we only received the birthday card and the server was not aware of the birthday we were celebrating and did not add a candle or add anything special to the dessert that we ordered. However, once the server realized we were celebrating a birthday, he provided us with two complimentary shots. I was looking forward to the candle and happy birthday greeting on the dessert, so I was a little disappointed. The appetizers that we ordered were the bone marrow and the foie gras, which was pretty good! The entrees that we ordered were only OK. The short rib was pretty good, I liked how it melts in your mouth. However, I would not order the duck confit again. There were a lot of beans in it, more beans than duck and it did not taste as good as I thought it would be. The prices are OK for a fancy French restaurant and the portions are pretty huge as well. Two appetizers and one entree would have been more than enough for 2 of us. I would come back to celebrate for a special occasion. I really liked the ambiance and modern decor.

Tags: Open Kitchen, Modern Decor, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

The food was fantastic (highly recommend ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 12, 2016

The food was fantastic (highly recommend the seafood sausage), but what I loved the most was the ambiance and decor. The open kitchen lets the energy of the staff permeate throughout the restaurant, but in the best way possible; I perked up any time someone walked out with a dish. Probably the strangest thing to say in a restaurant review, but I loved the design of their bathrooms. They had beautiful black and red tile on black grout and a unique wallpaper that really added to the design of the restaurant. Very cool experience overall!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Open Kitchen, Good for a Date, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Simple décor, excellent menu, friendly s ...

vip
 (London)·Dined on November 10, 2016

Simple décor, excellent menu, friendly service, and open quite late (good for after symphony or opera...)

Tags: Casual, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Dined on a Wednesday evening 7:45 res, r ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 10, 2016

Dined on a Wednesday evening 7:45 res, restaurant was busy but not at capacity. Waitress pushed us to order even after requesting more time--annoying since they did not need to turn the table.

Had steak frites and the halibut--I'd rate the food a B+, service a B-. We were not offered bread. I expect more for a $240 dinner for two.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3

Great space and ambiance - large windows ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 10, 2016

Great space and ambiance - large windows, industrial style space but very warm and comfortable. Lots of small plates to share, great wine selection. Will go back again soon!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

An excellent dining experience and ambie ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 6, 2016

An excellent dining experience and ambience. The only complaint is that we believe the portions were on the light side. Slightly larger portions would have been much appreciated and made it a great value.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Authentic, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Everything was just perfect and the serv ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 5, 2016

Everything was just perfect and the service was especially great. Can't wait to go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Had an excellent dinner here. The servic ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 5, 2016

Had an excellent dinner here. The service was friendly, knowledgeable and attentive. Adam, the floor manager was particularly welcoming. The food was well executed classic French fare. The portions weren't gigantic but after sharing the croquettes and each having an app, entree and dessert we were plenty full. The croquettes were excellent as was the duck confit. Sweetbreads were tender, crispy and had a perfect Grenobloise sauce. We will most certainly be back.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

A very mediocre meal at an expensive pla ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 2, 2016

A very mediocre meal at an expensive place. From the confusion around getting us seated, to the blandness of the food, it didn't deliver a distinctive experience.

Tags: Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value1

Don't believe the hype. Too expensive an ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 31, 2016

Don't believe the hype. Too expensive and food poorly prepared.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value1

This restaurant never fails to impress! ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 31, 2016

This restaurant never fails to impress! My guest and I shared a salad and the mussels.

More than enough and was very satisfying.

The waitstaff is always professional an attentive.

Love the location, within walking distance to most of the music venues in the area

Tags: Fun, Authentic, Sunday Lunch, Handcrafted Cocktails, Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Pre/post Theatre, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Good French food, but overpriced. We had ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 31, 2016

Good French food, but overpriced. We had beef tartar as appetizer - rather bland, mixed with mayo? not at all impressive. The arctic char was delicious, flaky. The second entree, typical cassoulet, was good, but too greasy. The duck in it was excellent, tender, but the dish overall was too salty and greasy. The cherry and marzipan ice cream was delicious. The extensive menu is a plus , but probably would not go back .

Tags: Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

The Crepe au Sarrasin exceeded expectati ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 30, 2016

The Crepe au Sarrasin exceeded expectations. The only disappointment was the Marzipan and Cherry Ice Cream in which we could not taste any marzipan.

Tags: Modern Decor, Great for Brunch, Hot Spot, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Food was good, but they rushed us throug ...

 
 (Miami)·Dined on October 30, 2016

Food was good, but they rushed us through our meals. Also not to fond of the automatic 20% added to the bill.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value3

Awesome if not first class French food w ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 30, 2016

Awesome if not first class French food with lovely fesh ingredients and amazing sauces. Loved it....

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

Outstanding food and service. This is o ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 30, 2016

Outstanding food and service. This is our third time visiting and each visit is better than the last. The menu has something for everyone from a hamburger to quail. We have dined in many venues over the years and this is our new favorite.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was great and the service was, ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 30, 2016

The food was great and the service was, too! We enjoyed a lovely dinner prior to the opera here and really enjoyed it. I loved my wine and I had a very tasty vegan dish that satisfied me tremendously!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Pre/post Theatre, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The restaurant is nice, but overrated. ...

 
 (London)·Dined on October 29, 2016

The restaurant is nice, but overrated.

(-) The staff forgot our bottle of wine, one of our dishes, and to ask the chef about my food allergy (two dishes came out that I couldn't eat).

(-) The crab remoulade and steak frites were bland.

(-) The scene was full of really loud and rude FiDi bros. I'm not sure if that is a regular thing.

(-) Way overpriced for what they are offering. My wallet is sad.

(+) The wine selection was great.

(+) The foie gras was some of the best I've ever had.

(+) The design of the restaurant is really nice.

(+) Great location. We walked around the neighborhood and grabbed drinks at Absinthe afterwards.

If the meal wasn't so expensive, and they didn't charge an automatic 20% gratuity, I may have given this a fairer review. If you want really great French cuisine, I recommend L'Ardoise (more traditional) or Bouche (more modern).

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value1

Wonderful meal. Delicious cocktail, Oyst ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 28, 2016

Wonderful meal. Delicious cocktail, Oysters, frogs legs, beautiful wine and a great steak.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Casual, Comfort Food, Pre/post Theatre, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Excellent food and service, just like th ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 27, 2016

Excellent food and service, just like the time before! Will be back soon.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.