Make a reservation

Party Size
For 2
Date
Mon, 4/23
Time
7:00 PM
icon/ic_social_proofCreated with Sketch.
Booked 91 times today

Monsieur Benjamin

4.6
1513 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
$30 and under
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
French
Top Tags:
  • Pre/post Theatre
  • Fit for Foodies
  • Neighborhood Gem
Monsieur Benjamin is a modern restaurant and bar in San Francisco’s Hayes Valley, inspired by the great Parisian bistro culture and traditions of French cooking.
icon/ic_private_diningCreated with Sketch.
Private dining
Dining Style
Casual Dining
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Cuisines
French
icon/ic_clockCreated with Sketch.
Hours of operation


Dinner: Su-Th 5:00pm-10:30pm, Fr-Sa 5:00pm-12:00am

Brunch: Sa-Su 11:00am-2:30pm
icon/ic_phoneCreated with Sketch.
Phone number
(415) 403-2233
icon/ic_new_windowCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_paymentCreated with Sketch.
Payment options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa
icon/ic_dress_codeCreated with Sketch.
Dress code
Casual Dress
icon/ic_chefCreated with Sketch.
Executive chef
Jason Berthold
icon/ic_locationCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_neighborhoodCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_cross_streetCreated with Sketch.
Cross street
Gough and Ivy
icon/ic_parking_detailsCreated with Sketch.
Parking details
We are located kitty-corner from the Performing Arts Garage located at 360 Grove Street.
icon/ic_public_transitCreated with Sketch.
Public transit
The closest Bart station is Civic Center. Bus Stops for the 5, 21, 47, and 49 are located nearby.
icon/ic_gift_cardCreated with Sketch.
Gift Card
Additional
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Full Bar, Late Night, Outdoor dining, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access

Private Dining

For groups of 13 or more, Monsieur Benjamin offers large party dining in the main dining room. Possibility of reserving the entire restaurant as well.

View Private Dining Details

What Insiders Are Saying

The Infatuation
8.4

Monsieur Benjamin is making French food cool again.

Ratings 8.0-8.5:The best way to think about restaurants in the low to mid 8′s is that these are the places you would absolutely go back to, anytime. These restaurants are ones that you want to bring a friend to, just so they can also experience the duck carnitas, or burger, or whatever dish the place is known for.
What 1513 People Are Saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
4.6based on recent ratings
4.6
food
4.6
service
4.4
ambience
3.9
value
Noise · Moderate
93% of people would recommend it to a friend
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
Sort by
Newest
Filters
2.0Dined a day ago

When service of 20% is already included in the bill you assume that you will get the best service… Not really the case.
First of all the food was delicious and of high quality. We were there for Sunday brunch for a small birthday celebration. We were 3 people. The table had a Happy Birthday card at the table when we arrived which was a nice touch; though the service went down hill from there. The restaurant was not full, yet service was slow and spotty.
We each ordered cocktails to start before ordering our entrees, 3 came out after about 8 minutes, 1 of which was incorrect and was sent back… We then waited over 10 minutes for the correct one to arrive at the table. The waiter was apologetic stating, “the bartender is not at the bar…”. We ordered our appetizers and entrees, delicious bread / butter was served as well.
We were sharing everything and asked that the Burger be cut in half, the waiter responded that the kitchen would not cut the burger for us. WHAT? 20% service is included and the kitchen cannot take a knife to a burger??? Anyway, like I said; the food is delicious but when our entrees arrived, 1 again arrived at the table incorrectly. We ordered a Freed chicken but the waiter entered it in as French Toast. He was kind enough to leave the French Toast for the table and the Fried Chicken arrived shortly there after, the waiter admitted that he put the order in incorrectly. We had finished the Bread / Butter, the waiter asked if we wanted some more; it never arrived.
We were never asked if we wanted another cocktail or wine until we were being served our coffee at the end of the meal. Why would I want another glass of wine with my coffee? Go there for the food but expect spotty service even though they add 20% gratuity no mater how spotty the service is.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined 2 days ago

Perfect cookery was clearly evident in all dishes. The service and ambiance is nice and friendly the food was the star ... a little pricey but ...

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined 3 days ago

Food is good. Service is ok but im expected they have some cake birthday because auto charged tip 20%. its not worth.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined 6 days ago

I love this place. The food, the service, the interior, everything was great. I love to go back there again.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 15, 2018

I love this place in more ways than I have fingers and toes to count! Friendly caring staff, lovely room, fabulous food! BRAVO!!!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 15, 2018

Monsieur Benjamin is a major addition to the Hayes Valley dining scene. In an area where the dining scene is shrinking in value M. Benjamin is an exception big time! The food is a cooking adventure; the service is among the best. My one gripe is that the pour borders on skimpy -- at these prices and 20% added to everything another sip in the wine by the glass wouldn't put them into the poor house.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 14, 2018

The duck confit was prepared to perfection: crisp skin and moist meat! The delicious cherry-marzipan ice cream was the crowning of a great meal.
I like the fact that the tip is included.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 12, 2018

Great dining experience!
Food and full staff were outstanding!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 11, 2018

Enjoyed our dinner.

However we were somewhat disappointed that mussels were not available on the menu.

One would like to think that it’s a pretty standard menu item especially for a French style bistro.

We had made reservations for Monsiuer Benjamin specifically for the mussels.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 8, 2018

To die for food!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 8, 2018

We've had both dinner and brunch now at the restaurant- both good though we liked the menu at dinner a little better.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 8, 2018

This is our go-to restaurant in Hayes Valley, especially pre or post theater, and special occasions. It’s not cheap, but they always make it worthwhile. Service is attentive without being intrusive, and there’s always a “welcome back” from the hostess. Needless to say, the food is what we come for.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 8, 2018

We've been several times and the food is always outstanding and the service is impeccable. The Arctic Char and the Duck Confit were fabulous, the hazelnut cake was sinfully delicious. An excellent spot for consistently great food.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 8, 2018

I love the food and service at this restaurant. perfect before sfjazz events. They need some gluten free options but everyone loved the char and the flounder. I had the steak tartar (to die for) and oysters. Salad perfectly dressed.

The noise was too much for me this time.
Heard every other word.

But I still lover the food and am going two more times this month.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 7, 2018

Everything was perfect!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 7, 2018

Excellent food, although would like an update on the menu. Good service, several people responding. Overall, as real favorite for before or after the ballet.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 7, 2018

My last visit was on a very rainy evening. We were greeted like old friends, and warmed up immediately. Great menu, and very professional, yet personable staff. Go for several courses and a long evening, or grab a burger and a red wine before symphony. Both work perfectly.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 6, 2018

Consistently good.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 4, 2018

Outstanding food and service. Never disappoints

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 1, 2018

This is my third visit to Monsieur Benjamin, twice for brunch, once for dinner. I'd had the most amazing french toast of my life here (Brioche French Toast), nearly carmelized outside with fluffy but eggy inside, delicious syrup and bacon that is both thick with good bite but also nicely crisped and baked apples to die for (speaking of which, juuuuust a teeny bit more baked apples would have made for a wonderful balance). We also had Oeuf Murrette with delicious duck, perfect egg, potatoes and gravy. Very enjoyable. Wish it was a bit quieter but given the layout of the restaurant, it is difficult to arrange enough tables to make it cozy I think. Brunch wins over dinner so far. Similar choices for both but for brunch lovers who love having ample choices of savory and sweet, made deliciously and served by servers who themselves seem happy, it's a win.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 1, 2018

Very well-prepared French-style food. Fresh very good oysters. Grilled little gems, asparagus, grapefruit sorbet all excellent.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on March 28, 2018

Very pricey for what we ordered. We had to ask for water and bread twice. Will try other restaurants on Hayes and Gough for our next visit to the area.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 27, 2018

It is a great spot the food is good, the staff are really nice and friendly . Specially Sue the G manager always happy and pleasant.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 26, 2018

It was great! Food and service were phenomenal.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on March 26, 2018

Fish inedible too salty

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 26, 2018

Great - an Uber driver recommended it!!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 25, 2018

Wonderful food and best service.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 25, 2018

I took my boyfriend here for his birthday and we loved the food, service and drinks. It was a great experience and my boyfriend was very happy. Thank you.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 24, 2018

Lovely meal and superb service as usual.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on March 24, 2018

Our server - Asian woman - was fantastic. Personable and fun all while being super attentive, even with two teenagers. It was late, but she was fresh as though she had just started the evening service. Having eaten numerous times at MB, I’ve found often the service to be cordial, basic or obsequious. If she’s a sign of better training overall or she’s unique, either way, it made the food and experience that much better.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 24, 2018

Wonderful French food. Service relaxed, knowledgeable, friendly and right on time wise.
Enjoyed tip already in bill, no figuring it out at end of the meal.
Will look forward to coming back when warmer and we can sit outside.
Thank you.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 24, 2018

My 2nd visit to this lovely place. Delicious Artic Char in brown butter with haricot verts didn’t disappoint. Service was excellent! I look forward to visiting again.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 24, 2018

Excellent food. The Arctic char crusted with slivered almonds was amazing. Service was terrific. Preshow got us out in time.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on March 23, 2018

Tasty and pricey, as usual.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on March 22, 2018

Good menu and execution. Service a bit to close for comfort and half listening... Nice location and ambiance for business, romantic, group or foodies experiences.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on March 21, 2018

Food was great but felt rushed. They could slow down how fast dishes come out.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 18, 2018

My wife and I went for Sunday Brunch (they open at 11:00AM) and we started by sharing the . . . Epoisses Toast ($13.50) . . . Warning, this is sinful . . . 2 large thick amazing pieces of bread - lightly toasted - arrives in the middle of a very hot cast iron skillet . . . with a large amount of bubbling cheese surrounding the toast . . . are you kidding me, thinking/typing about this makes me want to return tomorrow and order an entree size for myself !!! Note: This is the only cheese banned from the trains in France (pungent - but wicked good).

We then split / shared the following two items . . . as not to commit to one dish each (wink) or in other words hand the plate over (ya you) at 50% completion (lol) no matter how much you want to finish it . . . . that's the deal !!!

Crepe Au Sarrasin ($22) Ham, Cheese, Spinach, Mushroom & Egg = Absolutely Insanely Good.

Oeufs En Menurette ($19) Duck Confit, Spinach, Mushrooms, Potatoes, Sauce Au Poivre = Crazy Good.

Nice / Newer / Chic / Trendy atmosphere . . . they do provide great service and yes, they automatically charge a 20% gratuity/service fee - all good - no complaints here.

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on March 18, 2018

Expensive and pretentious place that offers poor selection of French dishes. Unless you are in the market for frog legs, I would suggest going someplace else.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on March 18, 2018

Experience was great. The food was exceptional and the service friendly and professional. We’ll definitely return.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on March 17, 2018

Like that it was not super crowded at all and we were not rushed. The salmon toast special was delicious. Otherwise I find the brunch menu a bit on the rich side but a great place overall!

Report
Helpful
1
2
3
38