About Monsieur Benjamin

451 Gough Street
San Francisco, CA 94102
View Larger Map

Monsieur Benjamin is a modern restaurant and bar in San Francisco’s Hayes Valley, inspired by the great Parisian bistro culture and traditions of French cooking.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
French

Hours of Operation:


Dinner: M-Su 5:00pm-12:00am

Brunch: Sa-Su 11:00am-2:30pm

Cross Street:
Gough and Ivy

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(415) 403-2233

Website:
http://www.monsieurbenjamin.com/

Parking Details:
We are located kitty-corner from the Performing Arts Garage located at 360 Grove Street.

Public Transit:
The closest Bart station is Civic Center. Bus Stops for the 5, 21, 47, and 49 are located nearby.

Executive Chef:
Jason Berthold

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Full Bar, Late Night, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access

Restaurant Photos

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

For groups of 9 or more, Monsieur Benjamin offers group dining in the main dining room in a semi-private setting.

Monsieur Benjamin Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.4

ambience

4.2

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

fit for foodies (234)
neighborhood gem (156)
special occasion (118)
See All
hot spot (103)
good for groups (79)
notable wine list (64)
romantic (63)
great for brunch (62)
late-night find (57)
vibrant bar scene (52)
great for lunch (44)
 (13)
 (10)
 (10)
great for outdoor dining (8)
kid-friendly (7)
 (6)
 (4)
scenic view (4)
 (3)
 (2)
 (2)
 (2)
 (1)
Sort By:
Newest
617 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Worth for the uni

Dined 3 days ago

The uni was incredible.The oysters and potato gratin were also good. We had a very nice Italian waitress and the service was great. The quail didn't taste as good as I was expecting.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Fantastic food, atmosphere and service!

vip
Dined 4 days ago

Fantastic food, atmosphere and service!

food4
ambience3
service2

Minor service issues - we felt like our ...

vip
Dined 4 days ago

Minor service issues - we felt like our dinner was rushed through, despite asking to take our time. Water was spilt on one of our guests with no apologies or anyone bringing a cloth to help clean up (despite it being noticed by a few staff). We asked to share a very large salad and were not brought sharing plates...so had to try and share with small side plates.

food5
ambience5
service4

Yummy everything, drinks were amaze bal ...

vip
Dined 4 days ago

Yummy everything, drinks were amaze balls

food3
ambience3
service3
value2

Not as good as previous time here. Atte ...

Dined 4 days ago

Not as good as previous time here. Attentive service - but we were squeezed into a small area with overlapping bar patrons almost in our laps.

Tags: fit for foodies, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Gem

vip
Dined 4 days ago

Wonderful food. Fish was cooked to perfection. Our waiter Vincent was attentive and gracious -- and it was just his 1st day. We will definitely go back

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Our very favorite restaurant before the ...

Dined 4 days ago

Our very favorite restaurant before the opera, symphony or ballet. The food is delightful and beautifully presented, the service tres magnifique and we can never wait to return.

food5
ambience4
service4
value4

We've gotten in to a bit of a rut for pr ...

Dined 5 days ago

We've gotten in to a bit of a rut for pre-Symphony dining, and decided it was time to expand our horizons. Monsieur Benjamin was a delightful start to our evening. Food was delicious, wine list was good, service was efficient - I'll be back.

Tags: neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Second visit to resturant....very good e ...

Dined 5 days ago

Second visit to resturant....very good experience. Great for dinner prior to opera or symphony or similar event in the area.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Friendly atmosphere , modern interior de ...

Dined 6 days ago

Friendly atmosphere , modern interior design, very good ousters and deserts! Salad options could be better.

Tags: fit for foodies, late-night find
food2
ambience1
service1
value2

Our waiter was not very good, could not ...

vip
Dined 6 days ago

Our waiter was not very good, could not get our order right and even after correcting him two times he brought out the wrong food. Our table was right next to another table and it was very uncomfortable to get in and out of the setting area. I would not recommend this restaurant to anyone and it was the second time I have tried it. There are too many good places to eat in SF without having to suffer through being crowded at a dining table and errors in services.

food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Every time, the food is wonderful and th ...

vip
Dined 6 days ago

Every time, the food is wonderful and the choices make it a real dining pleasure. Particularly interesting is that, should one have a dietary restriction or food allergy, there are so many choices, it's as though one isn't deprived of having a wonderful dining experience. Highly recommended.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5

Great bistro! We enjoyed the foi gras a ...

Dined on May 21, 2016

Great bistro! We enjoyed the foi gras and escargot. The duck confit and pork belly dishes were delicious. Our waiter took very good care of us. We were celebrating our wedding anniversary, and though the ambience was great, the table near us felt a little too close. That's just a small note on what could've made it perfect. We would definitely go again.

food5
ambience4
service5
value4

I have been to Monsieur Benjamin several ...

vip
Dined on May 21, 2016

I have been to Monsieur Benjamin several times and love it.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was excellent and the service p ...

Dined on May 21, 2016

The food was excellent and the service prompt and unobtrusive. I knocked my fork off the table and a new one was there within a minute, without my asking. Go on the early side for a quieter experience, as we did.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Perfect evening. Wonderful food. Great s ...

Dined on May 19, 2016

Perfect evening. Wonderful food. Great service. Will be back and bring more friends.

food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The service was promt and professional. ...

Dined on May 18, 2016

The service was promt and professional. Food was really good especially the Arctic Char. The vanilla ice cream with Carmel and palmiers was my favorite.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

Some great dishes, could work better on timing.

Dined on May 17, 2016

Went for my husband's birthday. We wanted to try a few things, so ordered 6 appetizer / small plates instead of the standard appetizer / entree. Given that things are between $15 - $20 each, we assumed that the wait staff would know not to deliver all six appetizers at the same time. Sadly, not the case. We were overwhelmed with all the food at once - with the exception of the potatoes, which simply took the kitchen longer to prepare. The meal felt rushed rather than relaxed. The Epoisses Toast starter was good, but for our meal too strong - the cheese overpowered all other tastes of the other dishes. Perhaps had that been brought first, we could have eaten, enjoyed, then cleansed the palate for the other appetizers. Steak tartare was one of my favourites SF-wide.

Tags: fit for foodies
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Good but not quite up to the steep price

vip
Dined on May 15, 2016

We ate early (before the symphony) and found the service attentive, the ambience attractive, the food good but not outstanding, and noise level low for the first half-hour and then noisy as the restaurant filled in (we could still converse but it was off putting).

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Excellent Brunch. Fine French food selections

Dined on May 14, 2016

Great Brunch French restaurant. Good Service. Helpful Open Table reservations. Nice variety to menu selections.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Great bistro

Dined on May 14, 2016

In the best tradition of a French bistro, with excellent food and wine list. Highly recomended.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

The classic french small plates wer ...

vip
Dined on May 13, 2016

The classic french small plates were excellent . Had sweetbreads , escargot , chicken liver pate and a cheese toast.

food5
ambience5
service5

Fantastic as usual. Great food!

vip
Dined on May 12, 2016

Fantastic as usual. Great food!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

What a great meal I had at Mr B! From t ...

vip
Dined on May 11, 2016

What a great meal I had at Mr B! From the fried frog legs, to the sunchoke main course -- all superb. When I sampled the first signature drink, the waiter could tell that I didn't find the right taste. After several questions, she brought me another signature drink faster than you could wink. I can't wait to return to MrB!

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food1
ambience3
service2
value1

Overcooked Cruise Ship Food

Dined on May 9, 2016

Overcooked Cruise Ship Food. - Quail: Dark meat was cooked well, White meat was over-cooked - Arctic Char: Overcooked. Almonds were over-salted

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Came here to celebrate Mother's day. My ...

vip
Dined on May 7, 2016

Came here to celebrate Mother's day. My family of 3 considers ourselves foodies so we came here to try it out for lunch after hearing all the hype about it. After our first dish, we knew that this place had held up to its name. We got seated right away by a friendly host. We ordered the potato and leek croquettes, spinach and mushroom crepe, duck confit, pot de creme and ice cream. Everything was delicious! Presentations were also very well done. We have already recommended this place to our friends and will definitely be coming back to try the dinner menu.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great, as always

vip
Dined on May 7, 2016

We always enjoy Monsieur Benjamin -- this time was no exception. One of our party really wanted an appetizer salad that wasn't on the menu, and the waiter persuaded the kitchen to produce it for her. It was braised Romaine lettuce, and it was superb! My wife and I shared the butter lettuce salad, and were happily struck by the freshness of the lettuce (so crisp!) and the light and very tasty dressing. The main courses: mussels, the day's special, a halibut dish, and the French dip sandwich -- all were delicious. Dessert: the lemon tart was lovely, with a very crisp crust and super lemony filling. Service was, as noted above, excellent. This restaurant is not to be missed!!!

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

The entire menu had unique dishes includ ...

Dined on May 7, 2016

The entire menu had unique dishes including specials. I had artic char & butter lettuce with fresh herbs & radishes. My companion had the special halibut with clams & a bright fresh green sauce. Wines by the glass were adequate & I had a Sancerre. Dessert was an ice cream with Calvados & crushed palmier. Our wait person was friendly, helpful & a good Frenchman from Nice.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

feels like france

vip
Dined on May 6, 2016

loved all the food items prepared with skills. the Jambon Persille !! great new dish

Tags: fit for foodies, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Like a great dinner in France

vip
Dined on May 6, 2016

Every course was interesting and delicious. It so much reminded us of dinners at wonderful small restaurants in France. The sauces especially stood out. The service was great--including the waiter making really helpful suggestions. We were also very impressed with the wines by the glass we had--unfamiliar ones (and we're fairly wine knowledgeable) recommended by the waiter among the types we like and were each just so very good. We'd asked for a quiet table and they did their best for us, but it is still a fairly loud restaurant--I wouldn't call it "energetic", but a little more than moderate. But we were still able to have a conversation (including raving about how much we were enjoying the food).

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

best brasserie food in sf

vip
Dined on May 3, 2016

Have gone multiple times, usually before a concert. Always a range ofexcellent food very much like a Parisian brasserie but better, in some cases; good martinis, unlike a Parisian brasserie; interesting if not vast wine list...when you add it all up, it may feel slightly pricey but you are paying for location near the performing arts centers and high quality service, so no complaints---I will keep going back.

Tags: fit for foodies, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

Monsieur Benjamin is a Winner

Dined on May 2, 2016

We thoroughly our early Sunday dinner at Monsieur Benjamin. The food is outstanding. The scene was most interesting. A very enjoyable way to end the Ballet season!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

I went for brunch with high expectations ...

Dined on May 1, 2016

I went for brunch with high expectations that were somewhat disappointed. The good thing was that it was easy to get early afternoon Sunday brunch reservation the same day and they were very gracious when an extra person turned up with us and accommodated us. Has mussels -- a nice size portion and very tasty broth but the mussels themselves were barely warm - not sure how they did that. Had to ask for bread to soak up the wonderful juice. I was most disappointed to order iced tea and get a bottled TeaJava -- I didn't think a fine restaurant would do that. I've heard several people express surprise about my experience so would give it one more try and not order iced tea - maybe a cocktail which one of our party ordered and enjoyed tremendously.

food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The fox is where it's at!

Dined on May 1, 2016

This was our 2nd visit. Great traditional French done in a modern style. Everything is amazing. My kids love the French toast complete w/ bacon and cinnamon apples! I tend to go for modules frites or croque Madame and the gem/butter salad w/ radishes. The salad is very chil every time. My husband keeps going for the Lardon salad which has a bit of bread at the base which makes it a perfect meal for him. We also get the cheese croquettes which are too yummy to miss! Everyone seems to be eating the Terrine of something (chicken or Fois)and exclaiming how delicious! I'll have to give it a try next time! Service was better this time and a nice window seat!

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5

Everything was superb! Food and staff!

vip
Dined on May 1, 2016

Everything was superb! Food and staff!

food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Pricey w/ good food & fast food ambience

Dined on May 1, 2016

Our second time here, and while food is good-to -very good, it still feels like a fast food restaurant. Tables for 2 are smaller than provided in cafes (plates barely fit), portions are small, and wine choices by the glass are limited. Hamburgers were tasty, but a bit greasy. Service is fantastic (polished) & prices are high.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

French food

Dined on April 30, 2016

This is real, great french food. Fantastic croquettes, excellent asparagus, mussels in great broth, and strong, mustardy deviled eggs. But the cassoulet was different. Super dense. So many varied appetizers and entrees that one ought to consider planning in advance.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

Favorite- I come back here more than I s ...

vip
Dined on April 28, 2016

Favorite- I come back here more than I should considering the great choices in SF.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Loud. Hard to carry on a conversation.

vip
Dined on April 27, 2016

Loud. Hard to carry on a conversation.

food5
ambience4
service4

The food was great! The atmosphere was ...

Dined on April 27, 2016

The food was great! The atmosphere was fine for it's type. More industrial than romantic. (I would not go to Monsieur Benjamin for an anniversary celebration.) Fun to watch the kitchen and bar tender. Great location near Davies Hall. I will go back.

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.