About Monsieur Benjamin

451 Gough Street
San Francisco, CA 94102
View Larger Map

Monsieur Benjamin is a modern restaurant and bar in San Francisco’s Hayes Valley, inspired by the great Parisian bistro culture and traditions of French cooking.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
French

Hours of Operation:


Dinner: M-Su 5:00pm-12:00am

Brunch: Sa-Su 11:00am-2:30pm

Cross Street:
Gough and Ivy

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(415) 403-2233

Website:
http://www.monsieurbenjamin.com/

Parking Details:
We are located kitty-corner from the Performing Arts Garage located at 360 Grove Street.

Public Transit:
The closest Bart station is Civic Center. Bus Stops for the 5, 21, 47, and 49 are located nearby.

Executive Chef:
Jason Berthold

Additional:
Bar/Lounge, Full Bar, Late Night, Outdoor dining, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access

Restaurant Photos

  • Monsieur Benjamin
  • Monsieur Benjamin
  • Monsieur Benjamin
  • Monsieur Benjamin
  • Monsieur Benjamin
Monsieur Benjamin
Monsieur Benjamin
Monsieur Benjamin
Monsieur Benjamin
Monsieur Benjamin

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

For groups of 9 or more, Monsieur Benjamin offers group dining in the main dining room in a semi-private setting.

Monsieur Benjamin Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.4

ambience

4.2

value

3.6

noise

Moderate

90% would recommend it to a friend

Fit for Foodies (187)
Neighborhood Gem (144)
Special Occasion (114)
See All
Hot Spot (78)
Good for Groups (61)
Great for Brunch (56)
Notable Wine List (53)
Vibrant Bar Scene (46)
Late-night Find (44)
Romantic (39)
Great for Lunch (33)
Great for Outdoor Dining (5)
Kid-friendly (4)
Scenic View (2)
Outstanding Value (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Sort By:
Newest
722 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Delicious food, friendly service.

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined a day ago

Delicious food, friendly service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Cassoulet was perfect! The desert menu i ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined 4 days ago

Cassoulet was perfect!

The desert menu is refreshing; original desert list, all outstanding!

The service is superb.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Romantic, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

A very pleasant but slightly crowded res ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined 4 days ago

A very pleasant but slightly crowded restaurant with a nice ambience. We ordered the Steak Tartare, Arctic Char Amandine, and Gulf Flounder. The fish was cooked to perfection and the Tartare was in generous portions. Over all it was an excellent experience!

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

A quaint yet fancy place for French cuis ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined 4 days ago

A quaint yet fancy place for French cuisine! Loved the classic yet modern plates :) It was my boyfriend's birthday and they added a candle for his dessert which was a nice touch, but other than that didn't feel like they tried to make his night that special. The ambiance is good for fancy or casual nights out and the staff was very friendly and knowledgeable. Definitely recommend.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Modern Decor, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Food was very good but the service was l ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined 4 days ago

Food was very good but the service was lacking. The bill was presented before the dessert or coffee was served. This was in spite of the fact that there were several empty tables.

Tags: Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value2

Great food well prepared and presented. ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined 4 days ago

Great food well prepared and presented. The Arctic char and foie gras were stand outs I would call it a modern country French menu.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

The food and service were amazing. We h ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined 5 days ago

The food and service were amazing. We had Sunday brunch outside, though the inside of the restaurant is a well decorated space. Unfortunately, we were robbed by someone pretending to be a customer on the side patio. He sat down behind us and stole my girlfriend's wallet out of her purse. The patio is open to the alley. We are savvy urban girls, so I would advise you to be vigilant and monitor your belongings, surroundings and those around you if you are a patron.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Sunday Lunch, Good for Groups, Romantic, Cozy, Notable Wine List, Modern Decor, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Fun, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

I forgot how generous the hors d'oeuvres ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

I forgot how generous the hors d'oeuvres portions are (Steamed mussels and Marrow bones). In the past I was with a few other dinners. This time it was just one companion and myself. So, I did not finish my main course but cassoulet is delicious the day after too. BTW, the sauce for the beef short ribs was heavenly. MB is a treat so do plan accordingly and enjoy.

Tags: Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value3

We arrived late at 11:00pm. Rather than ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 18, 2016

We arrived late at 11:00pm. Rather than feel we were keeping the staff there late, we were treated like special guests by the team. The French cafe style food was top notch. My husband and I were both reminded of our vacation through France with each dish. Notable standouts include the Seafood Sausage, the Foie Gras and Escargot. And we had a delicious rosé from Provence. One of the best meals I've had in ages.

Tags: Late-night Find, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Everything was great except that the gir ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 15, 2016

Everything was great except that the girl a

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

We did not know what to expect, but this ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

We did not know what to expect, but this restaurant was fantastic. Great light and airy atmosphere, very friendly staff and excellent food. I had the crepe which was a really unique preparation, my husband had the ham with the poached egg which also had grilled romaine and it was amazing. We ate every bite, which we never do.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We're always looking for a good place fo ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

We're always looking for a good place for dinner before concerts. We don't want to eat and drink too heavily, but we do want to walk away with that "Man, that was good!" feeling. Monsieur Benjamin is one of a small handful of Hayes Valley/Civic Center restaurants that clearly meet that standard. Whether you share a main and a few small plates, or just stick to the small plate menu, each dish shows great care and imagination. And the selection of wines by the glass always produces some exciting new discoveries.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

M. Benjamin offers a varied, quite Frenc ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

M. Benjamin offers a varied, quite French menu, fine food, and a decent wine list (see menu and wine list on the website). Service was a touch on the amateur side, but knowledgeable help is always nearby. The room is suitably bistro-ish. The restaurant's location is excellent for early dining before an event at SF Jazz, Davies, the Opera House, or other venues in the Civic Center/Hayes Valley area. Thankfully, this area has sprouted a number of creditable restaurants, and M Benjamin ranks in the upper echelon of those.

Be aware that the restaurant may automatically add a service charge to your bill, so anything you tip is in addition to that. They should inform guests of this policy. Maybe it's in the fine print.

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

The food is okay, not great. There are ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 11, 2016

The food is okay, not great. There are few extra touches that make you want to go back. The wine list is good, but expensive. Overall, its not "special" enough to warrant its very special prices!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

Interesting menu, food was delicious. M ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 10, 2016

Interesting menu, food was delicious. My granddaughter was treating me and my two housemates so we ordered small plates and wine. The service was very attentive and helpful.

I love the atmosphere, surroundings and ambience!

Tags: Late-night Find, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great - as always!

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 8, 2016

Great - as always!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Authentic French food, nice atmosphere, ...

vip
 (London)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

Authentic French food, nice atmosphere, immaculate service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Monsieur Benjamin is always excellent, t ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

Monsieur Benjamin is always excellent, the food is wonderful and the service is great

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We loved everything we ordered. The crep ...

vip
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

We loved everything we ordered. The crepes were the best I've ever had.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

A rare combination of both outstanding f ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

A rare combination of both outstanding food and service that resulted in a memorable evening. Thank you Stephan and the MB crew. You've served us lovely memories of a great evening well spent.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Very good but not great. Everything ther ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 1, 2016

Very good but not great. Everything there but not enough passion

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

The food is good but way overpriced for ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

The food is good but way overpriced for what you're getting. Service was very lacking and slow. Table we were at was just wiped down and was still dirty - we could see food and drink remnants on it. Selling point is that it is open later. Wine list was good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2

Great addition to the SF food scene. Ver ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

Great addition to the SF food scene. Very French, which we liked a lot, including the traditional blancette de veau which was excellent.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

The service and food are usually solid b ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

The service and food are usually solid but this time the service missed. Our server walked away from me while I was talking to her which I thought was very odd. 20% service charge is automatically included, regardless of party size.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value2

The food just wasn't that good. No one a ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

The food just wasn't that good. No one at my table thought it was great. We wont be going back. My duck cassoulet was burnt and dry.

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

Fantastic authentic French bistro food.

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

Fantastic authentic French bistro food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

excellent food; shocked to hear the wait ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

excellent food; shocked to hear the waiter inject himself into our conversation and, later, to push so hard for us to have desserts, especially when we told him we had to get over to Davies Hall. Prices were unreasonably high compared to similar restaurants in the area. Excellent food but in no way worth that cost.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value1

We had a delightful experience at Monsie ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

We had a delightful experience at Monsieur Benjamin. Our party was seated quickly and each server was helpful and efficient. Food was very good and both small and large plates were well presented and delicious. I look forward to returning.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

apps incredible, uni and foie gras... st ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 28, 2016

apps incredible, uni and foie gras... steak frites and cassoulet dissapointing

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

AMAZING!!!!Makes you appreciate the savo ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 26, 2016

AMAZING!!!!Makes you appreciate the savory, flavors of food and how well they are paired with one another. Something as simple as summer vegetables and chicken were out of this world. Our seafood sausage wins my best original dish of the evening and was phenomenal.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It was a great experience the food seeme ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 25, 2016

It was a great experience the food seemed a little overpriced, especially for a steak et frites. Their dessert though was to die for.

Tags: Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value1

Monsieur Benjamin in a very French Ameri ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

Monsieur Benjamin in a very French American setting offers a plethora of wonderful small plates

of French food for Americans and visitors from the world. The ambiance is

very fun and lively so that everyone seems to be having a delightful time.

The wait staff enhances this feeling. In our first visit, we were already planning to

return to walk in for bar service whenever we can. Special note: extremely

noisy but thanks to careful placement at a table for four, all four of us felt

we could adequately hear each other.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

This was my second visit. I took friends ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

This was my second visit. I took friends in hopes that it was as good as I had remembered it. It was! Enjoyed by all!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Everyone at Monsieur Benjamin's made my ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

Everyone at Monsieur Benjamin's made my birthday special from the greeting at the check-in till we paid our bill. Greetings from each server and special attention added to the pleasure.

The Arctic char was so delicious and perfectly cooked--all in all a wonderful meal

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value3

What a fabulous brunch at MB, matched on ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

What a fabulous brunch at MB, matched only by the pleasant and efficient staff. If you're looking to get away from an over hyped brunch in San Francisco and choose instead to dine well, go to MB.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Always spot on!! Vincent was great. Food ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

Always spot on!! Vincent was great. Food was amazing as usual. Best spot near symphony hall.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Amazing service and food. This became a ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

Amazing service and food. This became a favorite after our first visit and we've been back several times now and they never disappoint! We've sampled a number of the menu items the Short Rib is to die for! Even one of their less expensive dishes, the Crepe au Sarraisn, because I wasn't very hungry. I thought it would be good but didn't think a mere crepe could knock my socks off but it DID! It was fabulous, also rich and filling. An excellent choice if you're worried about watching the bill. The rest of my party ordered the Duck Confit, French Dip and burger. All dishes were reported as excellent and we enjoyed them with a wonderful and reasonably price cotes du Rhone.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Every classic French dish you could ever ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

Every classic French dish you could ever want can be had there and very well executed!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

apps were excellent - fresh gem lettuce ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 20, 2016

apps were excellent - fresh gem lettuce salad and the sea urchin was also fresh and delicious. Roast chicken gets raved but I found it slightly dry and boring .

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value2

Overall great seafood selection. Bluecra ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Overall great seafood selection. Bluecrab remoulade was predominantly the best starter. Bone Marrow was highly rated.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.