About Monsieur Benjamin

451 Gough Street
San Francisco, CA 94102
View Larger Map

Monsieur Benjamin is a modern restaurant and bar in San Francisco’s Hayes Valley, inspired by the great Parisian bistro culture and traditions of French cooking.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
French

Hours of Operation:


Dinner: M-Su 5:00pm-12:00am

Brunch: Sa-Su 11:00am-2:30pm

Cross Street:
Gough and Ivy

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(415) 403-2233

Website:
http://www.monsieurbenjamin.com/

Parking Details:
We are located kitty-corner from the Performing Arts Garage located at 360 Grove Street.

Public Transit:
The closest Bart station is Civic Center. Bus Stops for the 5, 21, 47, and 49 are located nearby.

Executive Chef:
Jason Berthold

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Full Bar, Late Night, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access

Restaurant Photos

  • Monsieur Benjamin
  • Monsieur Benjamin
  • Monsieur Benjamin
  • Monsieur Benjamin
  • Monsieur Benjamin
Monsieur Benjamin
Monsieur Benjamin
Monsieur Benjamin
Monsieur Benjamin
Monsieur Benjamin

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

For groups of 9 or more, Monsieur Benjamin offers group dining in the main dining room in a semi-private setting.

Monsieur Benjamin Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.4

ambience

4.2

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

fit for foodies (232)
neighborhood gem (168)
special occasion (132)
See All
hot spot (99)
good for groups (74)
notable wine list (70)
great for brunch (58)
late-night find (55)
romantic (52)
vibrant bar scene (50)
great for lunch (38)
kid-friendly (8)
great for outdoor dining (4)
scenic view (3)
Sort By:
Newest
647 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

As always, this has become our favorite ...

vip
Dined 6 days ago

As always, this has become our favorite restaurant to go to prior to opera and symphony performances. The menu is so varied that one can choose to "create" whatever dining experience is favorable for that evening. And, unlike some restaurants, they don't try to rush you out the door, one is allowed to linger over coffee without feeling like the tables are at a premium. Kudos to the kitchen staff, the waiters and the over all experience.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience3
service5

Great food, nice service

Dined 6 days ago

Great food, nice service

food2
ambience3
service4
value1

The serene ham "appetizer" was totally u ...

Dined on June 21, 2016

The serene ham "appetizer" was totally uninspired ....4 curls of ham...that was it!!! The wine was dreadful....I wouldn't even use it for cooking. Cocktails OK Service excellent My crepe was quite good, however, my friend's chicken was delivered bloody and devoid of anything else on the plate!!!! COME ON !!!!! What a disappointment..... We have had spectacular cuisine in that area.....will NOT BOTHER TO GO BACK! HARUMPH!!!!

food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Our server knew the menu very well and m ...

vip
Dined on June 21, 2016

Our server knew the menu very well and made great suggestions. We took his recommendation and tried the seafood sausage. It was delicious. Deep fried frog legs were tasty and different.

food3
ambience3
service5
value3

The service was impeccable, but the food ...

Dined on June 20, 2016

The service was impeccable, but the food was just OK. Although the bone marrow was great, the escargot had a strange taste (not the classic at all). The crepe was just "OK".

food4
ambience4
service5
value3

great place for before or after the oper ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

great place for before or after the opera or symphony

food4
ambience4
service5

Chic and cool vibe with tasty food to ma ...

vip
Dined on June 19, 2016

Chic and cool vibe with tasty food to match. Definitely a hip joint... A little tricky to get a reservation, but worth the wait!

food5
ambience4
service5
value3

The most outstanding waiting service I h ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

The most outstanding waiting service I have ever experienced. The waiter, Stefan was very attentive to our needs and was helpful in explaining what choice of food are available and what he would recommend as light food. The 2-people tables settings could be a little more apart so that you patrons are not distracted by other tables. Other than that, the food is has a good in the way that it mixes traditional French cuisine with fresh ingredients. Nothing tasted off. Dishes were very well presented and would induce appetite.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food4
ambience4
service2
value4

Great dining experience minus the lack o ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

Great dining experience minus the lack of communication from the hostess. Even though we had booked through Open Table she asked me twice what my name was. Then didn't communicate how long my wait would be. She sat another walk in group before us without communicating. She did this right in front of us. Luckily the manager saw this and stepped in and communicated that we could be sat immediately, or wait for a table that was a little more private. We chose to wait and the food was awesome. I just wish the Hostess had known to communicate with me rather than leaving me and my date standing at the front of the restaurant like we didn't belong. Not very welcoming. I applaud the manager for noticing and making sure that I felt welcomed.

Tags: special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

This is a great spot for a French supper ...

vip
Dined on June 18, 2016

This is a great spot for a French supper after the Opera. We arrived early. We ordered a delicious Kir Royale and were seated quickly. The wine list was mostly french in style but varied and complete. The Steak Frites and the Arctic Char were delicious. We concluded this fine supper with the amazing Epoise cheese. We will be back. I want to try the cassoulet with Toulouse sausage.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We so enjoy our Monsieur Benjamin time! ...

Dined on June 18, 2016

We so enjoy our Monsieur Benjamin time! Not living close enough to eat there more regularly, we look forward eagerly to our each visit. We last savored the crepe Saracens, seafood sausage, delectable oysters and mussels. It's never the same for us--except your frites!! Always an order. We feel welcomed as we arrive, find Samuel to be charming and delightful, and feel at home there.

food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Both the wine and food were excellent,bu ...

Dined on June 16, 2016

Both the wine and food were excellent,but i was most surprised by the cocktails. Extremely well balanced and interesting combinations. Right on!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

Great location for nearby performance ve ...

vip
Dined on June 16, 2016

Great location for nearby performance venues, and great menu with a wide variety. Our waiter, Vincent, was simply perfect and made everything come together without a hitch.

Tags: neighborhood gem
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

Delicious sweetbreads and cassoulet, nic ...

Dined on June 16, 2016

Delicious sweetbreads and cassoulet, nice wine, superb vanilla pot de creme. Service pleasant although a bit distracted.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, great for lunch
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Lots of fun french small plates. We avoi ...

Dined on June 13, 2016

Lots of fun french small plates. We avoided the mains. It was really a great way to do it...share it all.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, hot spot
food2
ambience2
service3
value1

We were on vacation from NY for a week i ...

vip
Dined on June 12, 2016

We were on vacation from NY for a week in SF. The restaurant was always crowded and got decent reviews on Yelp, so we assumed it would be good. Unfortunately this was the least favorite of all of the places we ate in the area. We were disappointed. The acoustics in the room were terrible and the noise level high even when not packed. My wife's Arctic Char lacked flavor and did not have enough vegetables on the side; my burger was OK, but not for $18.50. If in the area again we would not eat here.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We know that Corey Lee is a brilliant ch ...

vip
Dined on June 12, 2016

We know that Corey Lee is a brilliant chef. Benu is proof of that. His take on a French bistro is equally impressive. Everything is authentic and totally delicious. My mother used to make blanque ette de Veau. Lee's version is supreme. His cassoulet is stunning. If you yearn for Paris, this place will feed your every desire.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, hot spot
food5
ambience3
service4
value3

Great food, a little cramped

Dined on June 11, 2016

Food was great. We had several small plates and skipped the entrees. Everything was delicious. I only wish the tables weren't placed so closely together. Request tables against the windows for more privacy.

Tags: fit for foodies
food5
ambience5
service5
value2

A Favorite in SF

vip
Dined on June 10, 2016

I love M. Benjamin for two different types of meals. The first is a drawn-out, multi-course main event for an evening. The staff do a superb job of explaining the dishes (ingredients, preparation, and anything else you'd like to know). The second takes advantage of their late closing time and involves popping in for either a burger and beer or dessert and digestif after the symphony. The staff are always friendly friendly and attentive without being pests and, in my experience, can adapt to varied group dynamics.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Overall it was great. We had the Fois gr ...

Dined on June 10, 2016

Overall it was great. We had the Fois gras, that was excellent. We had frogs legs for the first time and they were surprisingly delicious. We then had the short ribs and the duck confit. Again both fantastic.

food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Great meal

Dined on June 10, 2016

We had 4 for dinner and we all loved it. One of the great things is that have items for foodies like beef tongue and marrow bones, and other items like a great hamburger for the less adventuresome. Makes it perfect for a group with varied tastes.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Good food and convenient to SF Jazz. The ...

Dined on June 9, 2016

Good food and convenient to SF Jazz. The cassoulet was tasty but had a lot of crunchy beans. The hamburger was excellent. Very good service.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

surpassed my expectations

Dined on June 9, 2016

I had heard good things about Monsieur Benjamin from folks at the SF Conservatory, but was pleasantly very surprised at the terrific food and varied menu, along with a wait person who could describe the dishes clearly. We will celebrating the last concert of our SF Symphony series, and our dinner helped make the evening an occasion. Thank you.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Great before the opera or symphony. Vari ...

vip
Dined on June 1, 2016

Great before the opera or symphony. Varied menu and good service.

Tags: neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent all Around

Dined on May 31, 2016

Everything was exceedingly excellent. I love this restaurant

Tags: fit for foodies
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

Moderately pleased

vip
Dined on May 30, 2016

We enjoyed our dining experience at M. Benjamin in that the food was delicious and the wine paired excellently (not from any staff help unfortunately). The servers didn't seem to mesh well, in fact I'm pretty sure our server was new and his manager not thrilled with them. In any case as customers we shouldn't have noticed that right? I recommend the restaurant managers work to ensure their staff are working cohesively and actually happy to work there (no one smiled!) Otherwise food & drinks were lovely.

Tags: fit for foodies
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

Sunday Brunch

Dined on May 29, 2016

Went for Sunday brunch before the symphony to celebrate my birthday. The food was excellent but with the tables too close together and the noise level so high, it make a private conservation impossible.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, hot spot
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Worth for the uni

Dined on May 29, 2016

The uni was incredible.The oysters and potato gratin were also good. We had a very nice Italian waitress and the service was great. The quail didn't taste as good as I was expecting.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Fantastic food, atmosphere and service!

vip
Dined on May 28, 2016

Fantastic food, atmosphere and service!

food4
ambience3
service2

Minor service issues - we felt like our ...

vip
Dined on May 28, 2016

Minor service issues - we felt like our dinner was rushed through, despite asking to take our time. Water was spilt on one of our guests with no apologies or anyone bringing a cloth to help clean up (despite it being noticed by a few staff). We asked to share a very large salad and were not brought sharing plates...so had to try and share with small side plates.

food5
ambience5
service4

Yummy everything, drinks were amaze bal ...

vip
Dined on May 28, 2016

Yummy everything, drinks were amaze balls

food3
ambience3
service4

The preparation of the food and quality ...

Dined on May 28, 2016

The preparation of the food and quality of service was quite good, but the food just lacked imagination and creativity. I felt like everything was perfectly good, but there was nothing that made me think "I can't wait to go back".

food3
ambience3
service3
value2

Not as good as previous time here. Atte ...

Dined on May 28, 2016

Not as good as previous time here. Attentive service - but we were squeezed into a small area with overlapping bar patrons almost in our laps.

Tags: fit for foodies, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Gem

vip
Dined on May 28, 2016

Wonderful food. Fish was cooked to perfection. Our waiter Vincent was attentive and gracious -- and it was just his 1st day. We will definitely go back

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Our very favorite restaurant before the ...

Dined on May 28, 2016

Our very favorite restaurant before the opera, symphony or ballet. The food is delightful and beautifully presented, the service tres magnifique and we can never wait to return.

food5
ambience4
service4
value4

We've gotten in to a bit of a rut for pr ...

Dined on May 27, 2016

We've gotten in to a bit of a rut for pre-Symphony dining, and decided it was time to expand our horizons. Monsieur Benjamin was a delightful start to our evening. Food was delicious, wine list was good, service was efficient - I'll be back.

Tags: neighborhood gem
food1
ambience3
service5
value1

Anniversary Dinner

Dined on May 27, 2016

Overall our dinner was average; none of our four courses were exceptional. Mussels demand a spectacular sauce, one that compels you to dip your bread to consume every last precious drop of sauce. Even adding table butter, salt and pepper didn’t improve the thin sauce of this appetizer. To the positive, there is an attentive floor staff that refolds napkins, snaps pictures and earn their gratuities. Sam was wonderful! With the check comes a “thank you” tasting of calvados liqueur served in a shot glass. The “bite” of my sip assured me it never lived for 15 years in a Normandy oak barrel.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Second visit to resturant....very good e ...

Dined on May 27, 2016

Second visit to resturant....very good experience. Great for dinner prior to opera or symphony or similar event in the area.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Friendly atmosphere , modern interior de ...

Dined on May 26, 2016

Friendly atmosphere , modern interior design, very good ousters and deserts! Salad options could be better.

Tags: fit for foodies, late-night find
food2
ambience1
service1
value2

Our waiter was not very good, could not ...

vip
Dined on May 26, 2016

Our waiter was not very good, could not get our order right and even after correcting him two times he brought out the wrong food. Our table was right next to another table and it was very uncomfortable to get in and out of the setting area. I would not recommend this restaurant to anyone and it was the second time I have tried it. There are too many good places to eat in SF without having to suffer through being crowded at a dining table and errors in services.

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.