Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.02mi
  2. Distance: 0.11mi
  3. Distance: 0.19mi
  4. Distance: 0.24mi
  1. Distance: 0.02mi
  2. Distance: 0.11mi
  3. Distance: 0.19mi
  4. Distance: 0.24mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.02mi
  2. Distance: 0.11mi
  3. Distance: 0.19mi
  4. Distance: 0.24mi
  1. Distance: 0.02mi
  2. Distance: 0.11mi
  3. Distance: 0.19mi
  4. Distance: 0.24mi

About Monsieur Benjamin

Monsieur Benjamin is a modern restaurant and bar in San Francisco’s Hayes Valley, inspired by the great Parisian bistro culture and traditions of French cooking.

451 Gough Street
San Francisco, CA 94102
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
French

Hours of Operation:


Dinner: Su-Wed 5:00pm-10:30pm, Th-Sa 5:00pm-12:00am

Brunch: Sa-Su 11:00am-2:30pm

Cross Street:
Gough and Ivy

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(415) 403-2233

Website:
http://www.monsieurbenjamin.com/

Parking Details:
We are located kitty-corner from the Performing Arts Garage located at 360 Grove Street.

Public Transit:
The closest Bart station is Civic Center. Bus Stops for the 5, 21, 47, and 49 are located nearby.

Executive Chef:
Jason Berthold

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Full Bar, Late Night, Outdoor dining, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

For groups of 13 or more, Monsieur Benjamin offers large party dining in the main dining room. Possibility of reserving the entire restaurant as well.

Monsieur Benjamin Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.3

ambience

4.3

value

3.8

noise

Moderate

91% would recommend it to a friend

Pre/post Theatre (89)
Fit for Foodies (87)
Neighborhood Gem (78)
See All
Good for a Date (77)
Open Kitchen (67)
Creative Cuisine (60)
Modern Decor (59)
Special Occasion (51)
Handcrafted Cocktails (49)
Hot Spot (39)
Authentic (39)
Casual (36)
Bar Seating (33)
Notable Wine List (33)
Worth the Drive (32)
Good for Anniversaries (30)
Good for Birthdays (29)
People Watching (29)
Fun (28)
Good for Groups (26)
Vibrant Bar Scene (24)
Sunday Lunch (22)
Great for Brunch (20)
Local Ingredients (19)
Great for Lunch (18)
Late-night Find (18)
Seasonal (16)
Comfort Food (15)
Romantic (15)
Quiet Conversation (14)
Business Meals (13)
Healthy (11)
Cozy (9)
Happy Hour (7)
Gluten Free Options (6)
Great for Outdoor Dining (5)
Paleo Friendly (5)
Scenic View (4)
Disabled Access (4)
Outstanding Value (4)
Good Vegetarian Options (3)
Family Style (3)
Tapas (3)
Organic (3)
Tasting Menu (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (2)
Wood Oven (2)
Kid-friendly (2)
Live Music (1)
Spicy (1)
Sort By:
S
1103 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined 19 hours ago

Great restaurant. Food was excellent even as vegetarian although you only have one option. Felt rushed to settle the check but otherwise would recommend this restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 4 days ago

Love the food and the service is wonderful. It's a bit noisy so conversation can be difficult.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 4 days ago

First time visitors, place was great. I liked the "feel" of the restaurant, food was outstanding. Very good French wines on the list. Walked away very pleased.

Tags: Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Sunday Lunch, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 5 days ago

the service was great, our waiter was super nice. I am sad to report the food was below average, and was overpriced. :(

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service5
value1

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 5 days ago

I was really excited about Mr. Benjamin, but the experience left me underwhelmed. The preparation of the frog legs did not allow the flavor of the meat to reach the palate; the quail did not impress. The palmier ice cream is an interesting concept but it was horribly executed. Overall a bit overpriced for the quality.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 5 days ago

Our first time dining pre-symphony at Monsieur Benjamin was a delightful experience. Our server was attentive and helpful. The food was delicious. I especially enjoedy the endive, apple, gorgonzola, and walnut salad. Recommend the Arctic Char as an entree. Only one complaint that there is no low fat milk or dairy free option to add to my coffee after dinner. Otherwise, great dining experience for pre-concert date night!

Tags: Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined 5 days ago

As a creature of habit, once I find something I love, I don't change. So my three meals have been virtually identical: start with a Golden Age cocktail and at least four oysters, preferably Kumamoto. For the meal, I do two appetizers: the Endive and Apple Salad (enough for two to share) and the Steamed Bouchot Mussels. Even though I try to avoid carbs, the broth for the mussels is irresistible so I manage to eat both pieces of toast dunked in the broth. I enjoy the dinner with a lovely Sancerre. We have been too full to order dessert but they do look yummy. The servers have all been delightful, but we have found that we need to take our time placing our orders so that we can enjoy a more leisurely meal.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 5 days ago

As always, the food and service were excellent. I had somehow mistakenly made the reservation for the following day, but the they were able to seat my companion and I at the communal table, which proved to be an fine alternative.

Tags: Authentic, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 5 days ago

The waiter couldn't wait for getting us out of the table. Was so uncomfortable even though there is no one waiting for the table and only a few people were eating in the restaurant. This place is my favorite in the neighborhood but I couldn't enjoy the atmosphere at all because of the unexpected treatment.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service1
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined 7 days ago

This place was the most amazing restaurant for our anniversary. Everything was done with such precision and quality. Waiter was exceptional. We never had to even wait to call someone for anything because they came to ask if we were okay thirty seconds before I was gojng to lift my hand! Best restaurant in Sf we've been to in years.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, People Watching, Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined 7 days ago

We celebrated our anniversary here recently before the theatre. Food was amazing. We shared the endive salad, mussels, arctic char, grapefruit sorbet & banana pot de creme -- all very very good (and nice bottle of chablis to wash it down). Service was perfect. Right mix of attentiveness and letting us chill. Thanks! We will come again for sure.

Tags: Healthy, Good for Anniversaries, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 18, 2017

We loved the great service, fun cocktails, wonderful food and wine. We left very happy and will return.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 18, 2017

Great food!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Delicious and not too expensive . Fantastic ambience. Very French in feel . We will go again !

Tags: People Watching, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Highly recommended, soup and salads were fine, but the main courses and desserts were not as good as we had anticipated. Service, however, was excellent. We might try it again for the short rib, which looked very nice.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Really enjoyed my evening out. My husband and I brought a bottle of wine that had gone bad and the sommelier had a great replacement suggestion.

Tags: Tapas, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Open Kitchen, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 12, 2017

We totally fluked on finding this amazing place on a brief visit caused by a missed flight connection. With only a little more than 12 hrs in SFO , what was a disappointing missed flight and delay turned into an amazing evening thanks to this restaurant and the recommendations of our wonderful server ( wish I got her name , working May 11 th )
We had a splendid evening and turned lemons into lemonade . The food was amazing , friendly staff, cool ambiance. Highly recommended !!

Tags: Tasting Menu, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Tapas, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 11, 2017

Terrible value. Mediocre food at outlandish prices. Never will return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service2
value1

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 8, 2017

Superb food. Have come multiple times - you should too!

Pro tip if you like stinky cheese - get the Epoisse toast. it's melted into liquid form with creme fraische and so wonderful having things dipped into.

Tags: Good for a Date, Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 8, 2017

This is a Restaurant that deserves a Michelin star!! Superb cuisine and execution, what a great great unexpected surprise !!!!! Bravo Benjamin !!!!

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on May 7, 2017

Food was excellent- especially enjoyed the potato leek croquettes and the french toast. Lovely glass of rose wine and very nice daybreaker cocktail. Fine service- fun place although a bit pricey- worth it for special occasions!

Tags: Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails, Sunday Lunch, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 7, 2017

Great all around dinner. Superlative bone marrow and seafood sausage appetizers.
Solid mains- Quail was moist and flavorful.
Loved the meal and service was wonderful without being hovering.

Tags: Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 6, 2017

Service was great. Quite tasty. Mussels and grilled bread were heavenly!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Pre/post Theatre, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 6, 2017

Every time MB impresses ! Great Food, Great Service !!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (London)·Dined on May 4, 2017

Not special but comfortable!
Reasonable price,good service!

Tags: Molecular Gastronomy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 4, 2017

Great hip upscale French bistro in the Hayes Valley.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Fun, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Pre/post Theatre, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 3, 2017

Enjoyed our meal so much! Potato leek coquettes, steak tartare, flounder, char and finale of 2 ice creams on a hot night was superb. Service was excellent, will be back to try more if the menu!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Pre/post Theatre, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 3, 2017

The service was good. Food was good. Prices seemed too high and 20% tip was included in your bill. Atmosphere was great . I loved the open kitchen and the seating was comfortable. Clean and simple.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 1, 2017

excellent meal. a bit on the salty side, but that's just me.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 30, 2017

Lively, fun place with great brunch choices from brioche French toast to seafood sausage. A favorite pre performance spot.

Tags: Fun, Pre/post Theatre, Great for Lunch, Casual, Open Kitchen, Great for Brunch, Modern Decor, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 30, 2017

Excellent food, capable decent service, a nice addition to the Hayes Valley neighborhood. Had the duck casserole (serves 2), seafood sausage, frogs legs, all were excellent. Recommended.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Modern Decor, Casual, Healthy, Scenic View, Comfort Food, Creative Cuisine, People Watching, Great for Outdoor Dining, Pre/post Theatre, Fit for Foodies, Open Kitchen, Special Occasion, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 29, 2017

The restaurant was very fun, a little loud. LOVED the food, atmosphere and the service was outstanding!! Will definitely go back!

Tags: Hot Spot, Great for Lunch, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Open Kitchen, Wood Oven, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 29, 2017

Tres bon -- French menu where the offerings are not pedestrian. Well prepared but portion sizes are small. The croquettes lacked flavor. The wait staff was less than attentive causing notable neck craining throughout the restaurant. The hostess did a great favor by saving us seats in a very busy restaurant when we were running late.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 29, 2017

The food was good the presentation was bizarre. I ordered a ham/cheese/mushroom/spinach crepe. The crepe came with raw spinach on top and an egg sunny side up! I took the egg off as I only like scrambled eggs. The raw spinach was OK and the crepe was good. I commented about this to the waitress who said, "Oh, most people don't bother eating the spinach!" Seriously???
The restaurant was far too pricey for what you got. The next time I'll go across the street to Abysinthe.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value2

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on April 27, 2017

Seamless service, fabulous food! One of my favorite neighborhoods in San Francisco! I will be back!

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Authentic, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 27, 2017

What a great meal! All was very well prepared and the ingredients were all at their peak of flavor and freshness. We had sea urchin, bone marrow, endive and apple salad, cassoulet, roasted mushrooms, potatoes, flounder with asparagus and palmier ice cream. The latter was the only item we were not thrilled about, despite it being like its description. It was a little too sweet for our palates and the palmier pieces were inside, missing out on the palmier crunchy and light experience. Suggest the ice cream be served with a palmier instead. Service was excellent and the wine recommendations were spot on. They offered tastes, so you did not commit to a glass of wine you would otherwise not enjoy. Hope to return soon.

Tags: Paleo Friendly, Business Meals, Modern Decor, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Gluten Free Options, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Local Ingredients, Open Kitchen, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Seasonal, Authentic, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 26, 2017

Excellent food but bring your sweater, it's usually cold inside.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 26, 2017

Our second time at this restaurant was a rerun of the first time. I don't think we'll try a third. Got an early reservation that gave us more than 2 hours before our concert. The very pleasant waitress asked if we had any time issues as soon as she came to the table and we told her we did not. We ordered drinks and oysters, an appetizer and our main dishes. Drinks and oysters came...they were great. After that was cleared our appetizer and main dishes came at the same time!? Since the app was frogs legs and the mains were fish they didn't really compliment each other. Dialogue went something like this:
Me: the appetizer and mains together??
Waitress: yeah, I'm sorry they sent them out like this.
Me: you know the same thing happened to us last time we were here. (and it really did!!) I don't think we want them together.
Waitress: 😟 (makes face puts down app and takes mains away)
2 minutes later, in the middle of eating the appetizer, a guy who may have been a manager comes to our table and says, "your fish are ready, can I clear away these dishes?" We say when we finish our frogs legs. ..so we finish, they clear and then we sit there for more than 10 minutes before the fish comes. My husbands said his was good, a little over cooked...mine tasted like someone dumped a tablespoon of salt on it!!? Really!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service1

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 24, 2017

Monsieur Benjamin is an outstanding dining choice in an area that is fast becoming a major foodie destination. From their always perfect selection of oysters and the best uni anywhere, to the desserts that change with the season and the whim of the pastry chef, the food and service have never failed to make this a consistent dining pleasure.

Tags: Modern Decor, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Bar Seating, Authentic, Seasonal, Neighborhood Gem, Pre/post Theatre, Open Kitchen, Hot Spot, Handcrafted Cocktails, Disabled Access
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Denver)·Dined on April 22, 2017

Poor service (waited 20 minutes for a coffee and wine), okay food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.