About Monsieur Benjamin

451 Gough Street
San Francisco, CA 94102
View Larger Map

Monsieur Benjamin is a modern restaurant and bar in San Francisco’s Hayes Valley, inspired by the great Parisian bistro culture and traditions of French cooking.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
French

Hours of Operation:


Dinner: M-Su 5:00pm-12:00am

Brunch: Sa-Su 11:00am-2:30pm

Cross Street:
Gough and Ivy

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(415) 403-2233

Website:
http://www.monsieurbenjamin.com/

Parking Details:
We are located kitty-corner from the Performing Arts Garage located at 360 Grove Street.

Public Transit:
The closest Bart station is Civic Center. Bus Stops for the 5, 21, 47, and 49 are located nearby.

Executive Chef:
Jason Berthold

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Full Bar, Late Night, Outdoor dining, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access

Restaurant Photos

  • Monsieur Benjamin, San Francisco, CA
  • Monsieur Benjamin, San Francisco, CA
  • Monsieur Benjamin, San Francisco, CA
  • Monsieur Benjamin, San Francisco, CA
  • Monsieur Benjamin, San Francisco, CA

Report a photo problem

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

For groups of 13 or more, Monsieur Benjamin offers large party dining in the main dining room. Possibility of reserving the entire restaurant as well.

Monsieur Benjamin Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.4

ambience

4.3

value

3.7

noise

Moderate

90% would recommend it to a friend

Fit for Foodies (75)
Pre/post Theatre (73)
Good for a Date (61)
See All
Neighborhood Gem (58)
Special Occasion (48)
Open Kitchen (47)
Modern Decor (42)
Handcrafted Cocktails (40)
Late-night Find (35)
Hot Spot (35)
Authentic (33)
Good for Anniversaries (32)
Romantic (30)
Bar Seating (28)
Casual (27)
Good for Birthdays (26)
Creative Cuisine (26)
Sunday Lunch (25)
Good for Groups (24)
Notable Wine List (24)
Great for Brunch (23)
Worth the Drive (22)
Vibrant Bar Scene (20)
People Watching (20)
Fun (18)
Business Meals (16)
Comfort Food (16)
Great for Lunch (16)
Cozy (12)
Quick Bite (11)
Local Ingredients (10)
Quiet Conversation (9)
Healthy (9)
Seasonal (6)
Family Style (4)
Outstanding Value (4)
Happy Hour (3)
Molecular Gastronomy (3)
Great Beer (2)
Organic (2)
Kid-friendly (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Scenic View (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
908 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

M. Benjamin never ceases to please. We ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined 3 days ago

M. Benjamin never ceases to please. We had wonderful meals, a really fine and caring waiter, and the whole experience was, as usual, delightful. We are and will continue to be regulars.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Creative Cuisine, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent service. Service person was ve ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 4 days ago

Excellent service. Service person was very helpful.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Casual, Disabled Access, Worth the Drive, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Modern Decor, Creative Cuisine, Seasonal, Late-night Find, Local Ingredients, Authentic, Comfort Food, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The dining room was cold, but everything ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 5 days ago

The dining room was cold, but everything else was warm and wonderful.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Loved everything! Service was the best. ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined 6 days ago

Loved everything! Service was the best. Knowledgeable and attentive! Seafood sausage and cassoulet were so delicious. Also loved the grilled lettuce and short ribs. Wonderful wine list

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Everything was exceptional, the food our ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 6 days ago

Everything was exceptional, the food our waiter, the entire experience! This restaurant is not to be missed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We had the chicken liver pate and seafoo ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 7 days ago

We had the chicken liver pate and seafood sausage which were both so tasty. I have pate every chance I get, so to find the depth of flavor in this one was exciting. And served on toasted brioche! The quail entree was also excellent. this was my second visit. Last visit three of us shared 5 appetizers/small plates. That is my favorite way to sample a restaurant.

The service both times has been outstanding, friendly, not overly solicitous, just paying attention.

Tags: Casual, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This is my second visit to M. Benjamin. ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 10, 2017

This is my second visit to M. Benjamin. The food is excellent. The pots de creme is top notch up there with Absinthe down the street. I am a vegetarian so I had the potato and leak croquettes and the crepe sans the ham. I shared a fresh salad with my wife. All the other members of my party did partake in eating meat. My wife had the sweetbreads and she thought they were great. One of our party had the tripe (yikes) and loved that. I strongly recommend the restaurant.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing seafood sausage! Cassoulet was g ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 9, 2017

Amazing seafood sausage! Cassoulet was generous, duck confit was tender and delicious. Service was attentive, but not over bearing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

The food was creative and delicious, dif ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 8, 2017

The food was creative and delicious, different from other places.

Very good and attentive service.

Tags: Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This place is fabulous. Treat yourself. ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 8, 2017

This place is fabulous. Treat yourself. We want to go back and explore more menu options.

Thank you to the staff for making our dinner so special! xo

Tags: Open Kitchen, Hot Spot, Handcrafted Cocktails, Sunday Lunch, People Watching, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

GREAT service. The host and waitress ask ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 8, 2017

GREAT service. The host and waitress asked if we had a show to go to after dinner. This meant we didn't have to worry about getting out of there on time. The wait staff was very attentive to our needs. Delicious cassoulet!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

This is one of my all time favorite plac ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 1, 2017

This is one of my all time favorite places to go to for date night, after attending a performance at the Symphony, or for evenings when it's too early to go home and most kitchens have closed for the night. Great drinks, great food, lively atmosphere. Can't wait to see how their menu evolves in the coming year!

Tags: Good for Groups, Late-night Find, Vibrant Bar Scene, Sunday Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Pre/post Theatre, Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, People Watching, Great for Lunch, Quick Bite, Romantic, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Great for Brunch, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

New Year's Eve dinner was a treat and MB ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 1, 2017

New Year's Eve dinner was a treat and MB not only kept the regular price but supplied free champagne and party hats. Cocktails were good. Short rib of beef was melting soft. Staff as always were great - warm, quick, and attentive. An enjoyable occasion!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

This is a great neighborhood find. Fren ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 1, 2017

This is a great neighborhood find. French cooking with lots of side dishes to choose from.

Tags: Late-night Find, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

I've been here a few times; and wanted t ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 1, 2017

I've been here a few times; and wanted to introduce it to a few friends, who love good food. Also, it transports me to contemporary Paris! The service was great, though we wondered if we were not in favor. None of ordered a plethora of courses. Our server barely smiled.

We'd like to think that this is a spot we can depend on for our range of appetite on any evening. It's clear there's a lot of pride in their menu and overall operations.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Casual, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

seefood and sausage is very good. But th ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 31, 2016

seefood and sausage is very good. But the beef is too salty. The service is best. Like the fox logo.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great place to bring grandson before see ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Great place to bring grandson before seeing Lion King.

Tags: Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The entrees came out way too fast and we ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 31, 2016

The entrees came out way too fast and we barely started our round of appetizers. It felt rushed!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3

Good vegetarian options.Everything is 👍 ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 28, 2016

Good vegetarian options.Everything is 👍👍👍👌👌👌

Tags: Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

I was impressed by two separate things t ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 21, 2016

I was impressed by two separate things that the restaurant initially did wrong , but was willing to change . 1) hostess directed us toward table next to door on very cold night in a nearly-empty restaurant. When I asked for a different table , she placed us with a view of the kitchen , which I appreciated . 2) a dish of bone marrow was all bone and very little marrow . And although, the kitchen should not have sent it out that way in the first place , the waitress and exchanged for a perfect example of the dish . I would go back .

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

The steak was wonderful and the service ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 21, 2016

The steak was wonderful and the service was perfect. Everyone we interacted with was smiling and eager to serve us. We arrived 15 minutes early and were seated in less than 3 minutes. My only complaint was less about the restaurant and more about some of the other patrons, I witnessed two different accounts of people being rude to the hostess and one of the waiters.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

I went to Monsieur Benjamin with my boyf ...

 
 (México)·Dined on December 20, 2016

I went to Monsieur Benjamin with my boyfriend after the Theatre. They serve late night dinner. We had some escargots, shrimp and a great pasta. For dessert we had a chocolate layered cake, amazing! The ambiance is casual and modern. I had a good time! Tip is already included at 20% but service is great!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food, but the service was super sl ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 20, 2016

Great food, but the service was super slow and they were out of an entree we wanted, the appetizer we wanted, and the wine we ordered!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service1

Fantastic evening! It was our second tim ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 19, 2016

Fantastic evening! It was our second time there and is now one of our favorite places in the City! I'm still dreaming about the scrumptious quail and the shrimp cocktail was divine! Rebecca waa our excellent server, who was extremely knowledgeable and seemed to intuit exactly how much time we needed! Can't wait to go again!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Bar Seating, Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The senior vice was very poor, food took ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 18, 2016

The senior vice was very poor, food took forever to arrive.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1

The service team is both personal and pr ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 18, 2016

The service team is both personal and professional. They really care about your dining experience and want to be sure you are receiving their best.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

We had a fantastic experience prior to t ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 18, 2016

We had a fantastic experience prior to the theater. Excellent food and service.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Food was fantastic; the quail was a bit ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 17, 2016

Food was fantastic; the quail was a bit overrated from other reviews that we read. The most amazing dish was the Potato and Leek Croquettes. Outstanding and a must have.

Chicken liver terrine was outstanding! Serrano Ham was delicious! The seafood sausage was good - different but not outstanding. The balance of flavors was a bit bland but perhaps that's my personal taste level. The Chicken Leg Roti was out of this world if you are a chicken connoisseur. I highly recommend for special occasions! The ambiance is fun and energetic- diverse crowd. 5 stars.

Tags: Hot Spot, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

I have never written a review before but ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 17, 2016

I have never written a review before but this was a really excellent meal. If you are going to an event at the Civic Center/Opera House, I highly recommend Monsieur Benjamin. Every bite was delicious, the wine list was extensive and had a good selection of moderately priced wines. Our waiter made sure we were served in good time to get to our event. I would definitely dine there again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

Very good food, interesting menu, expens ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 15, 2016

Very good food, interesting menu, expensive, but in keeping with the area. Portions are not robust, but of high quality. We had the chicken liver pate, very good, lovely presentation, served with amazing bread. Mussels fresh and full of flavor. Best little gem salad, spaghetti well sauced and cook perfectly. Only negative was the noise level,very loud.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Sunday Lunch, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

The meal was delicious and our waiter wa ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 14, 2016

The meal was delicious and our waiter was the tops

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Amazing dining experience!

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 14, 2016

Amazing dining experience!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

MB is a great spot for pre-Symphony dinn ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 14, 2016

MB is a great spot for pre-Symphony dinner with a great selection of well-executed French bistro selections. We had the potato croquettes and the crab remoulade to start and shared the seafood sausage (shouldn't miss this). All three were excellent, fresh and flavorful. For the main entrees, the crepe and the steak frites also were well prepared. Dessert - the gateaux marjolais - a 14 layer cake with hazelnut, coffee and chocolate layers served with vanilla creme anglais, was the perfect ending to a really delightful experience. Service was attentive but not over bearing. Overall, a great experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I brought a small group here before a pe ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 14, 2016

I brought a small group here before a performance at Davies Symphony Hall. Everyone was was happy with their meals. Two of us had short ribs, the others all had the crepes. The egg on the crepe was amazing! Be sure to ask for the bread, it is excellent.

The lemon tart was very good - but only get it if you like tart.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

This was our third visit to M. Benjamin, ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 14, 2016

This was our third visit to M. Benjamin, and the best yet! Seated in a cozy corner, away from much of the bar traffic & noise was ideal for us to chat. Main dishes (Arctic Char Amandine & Crepe au Sarrasin) perfect, and the totally yummy Croquettes were the way to start. Service by Johnson impeccable--thank you! This is the best way to dine before the SF Ballet!

Tags: Healthy, Authentic, Vibrant Bar Scene, Cozy, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Really great service and delicious food. ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 13, 2016

Really great service and delicious food. It was our first time going there and would go again.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Its a sleek, lovely place with excellent ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 13, 2016

Its a sleek, lovely place with excellent food. It is also very loud due to the hard surfaces everywhere. The service is very good. Our waiter was friendly, attentive and very knowledgable. She provide very prompt service as we were headed to a show. We had the chicken liver terrine - awesome! We also has the green salad, poached shrimp, burgers and the crepe. Everything was prepared very well, seasoned well, and pretty on the plate. Thanks.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Love this place! Incredible croquettes, ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 11, 2016

Love this place! Incredible croquettes, Serrano jam, pate, French toast, cocktails, and the list goes on. Super stylish restaurant with impeccable service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Outstanding service, great food! Went th ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 11, 2016

Outstanding service, great food! Went there after a watching a performance at Davies Symphony Hall, will do that again!

Tags: Business Meals, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Overpriced. One out of five dishes was ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 10, 2016

Overpriced. One out of five dishes was good. The overpriced lobster was completely tasteless and their was a standard 20% gratuity (for two people) while our drinks took 20 min and we had three different uncoordinated servers

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1
value1

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.