About Monsieur Benjamin

451 Gough Street
San Francisco, CA 94102
View Larger Map

Monsieur Benjamin is a modern restaurant and bar in San Francisco’s Hayes Valley, inspired by the great Parisian bistro culture and traditions of French cooking.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
French

Hours of Operation:


Dinner: M-Su 5:00pm-12:00am

Brunch: Sa-Su 11:00am-2:30pm

Cross Street:
Gough and Ivy

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(415) 403-2233

Website:
http://www.monsieurbenjamin.com/

Parking Details:
We are located kitty-corner from the Performing Arts Garage located at 360 Grove Street.

Public Transit:
The closest Bart station is Civic Center. Bus Stops for the 5, 21, 47, and 49 are located nearby.

Executive Chef:
Jason Berthold

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Full Bar, Late Night, Outdoor dining, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access

Restaurant Photos

  • Monsieur Benjamin
  • Monsieur Benjamin
  • Monsieur Benjamin
  • Monsieur Benjamin
  • Monsieur Benjamin
Monsieur Benjamin
Monsieur Benjamin
Monsieur Benjamin
Monsieur Benjamin
Monsieur Benjamin

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

For groups of 9 or more, Monsieur Benjamin offers group dining in the main dining room in a semi-private setting.

Monsieur Benjamin Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.4

ambience

4.2

value

3.6

noise

Moderate

88% would recommend it to a friend

Fit for Foodies (142)
Neighborhood Gem (111)
Special Occasion (92)
See All
Hot Spot (55)
Good for Groups (43)
Great for Brunch (38)
Notable Wine List (37)
Romantic (35)
Vibrant Bar Scene (34)
Late-night Find (34)
Pre/post Theatre (22)
Great for Lunch (18)
Good for a Date (17)
Good for Anniversaries (13)
Creative Cuisine (12)
Modern Decor (12)
Open Kitchen (11)
Authentic (11)
Sunday Lunch (9)
Good for Birthdays (9)
Handcrafted Cocktails (7)
Fun (7)
Business Meals (6)
People Watching (5)
Casual (5)
Bar Seating (4)
Local Ingredients (3)
Outstanding Value (3)
Great for Outdoor Dining (3)
Quiet Conversation (3)
Cozy (2)
Comfort Food (2)
Family Style (2)
Worth the Drive (2)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Healthy (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Scenic View (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Sort By:
Newest
763 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Our waiter Jeff was excellent. Would lov ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined 3 days ago

Our waiter Jeff was excellent. Would love to see more salads on the menu

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Food was delicious, pretty much classic ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined 4 days ago

Food was delicious, pretty much classic French bistro/brasserie food. So, more correct than innovative. Service was friendly and attentive. Ambience was not really quiet, but we had no problem carrying a quiet conversation. Martinis were correct. Wine list is reasonable, with a balance of French and American selections. A 20% service charge was added based on the pre-tax bill, which I thought was reasonable. I don't know if you can refuse it if you are not happy with the service.

Tags: Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

The price point is in excess of the comb ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined 6 days ago

The price point is in excess of the combination of food and service. The noise level is excessive. Our party of two was shocked to see a 20 % service charge added to the bill.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value2

We came in for a glass of wine and apps ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined 6 days ago

We came in for a glass of wine and apps before a show. We had the croquets, mussels, and seafood sausage. All were delicious! The ambiance is lovely and the service was fine and not at all stuffy.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

The mandatory 20% service fee was obnoxi ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on September 20, 2016

The mandatory 20% service fee was obnoxious. Especially when the server described the restaurant as "a no- tip restaurant." The tip is mandatory!!! It's not a good policy because it does not encourage good service with the reward of a good tip, and permits lazy and/or poor service with no consequence of a poor tip.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2

Perfectly located for symphony, jazz, ba ...

vip
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on September 19, 2016

Perfectly located for symphony, jazz, ballet , but we go here for the duck confit, the oysters and the chicken. This is a great modernized version of French bistro. The food is updated French, perfectly cooked. The three items I mention never disappoint. The cassoulet can vary from excellent to average. Last time the duck and sausage pieces were hard to find and had gristle and the beans were undercooked. It was as if they had run low and we're trying to fill in.....would have been much better had the kitchen confessed and scratched the dis for the night. Having said that, this is still a favorite of ours for good wine, up to date comfort food and vibrant ambiance.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Cozy, Local Ingredients, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

Pleasant, accommodating staff. Food pri ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on September 19, 2016

Pleasant, accommodating staff. Food pricey but good. Be aware that a 20% service charge is automatically added.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

I arrived to the restaurant at the time ...

vip
 (Miami)
·Dined on September 18, 2016

I arrived to the restaurant at the time of reservation. Was told that our table was being prepared. Waited 15 minutes for the table to be cleaned (and had to ask twice). Once seated, we were approached by 3 different waiters and asked for drink orders. The entire experience was frenetic from a service standpoint. With that being said, the food is delicious... And some might say worth the lukewarm service. Although, front of house should pull their weight!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1

The hostess made a great effort to accom ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on September 18, 2016

The hostess made a great effort to accommodate our time constraints in order to go to the Opera. Service was extremely fast. The only negative is my difficulty in hearing in a very noisy environment. But - what restaurant is quiet these days??????

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Great for Brunch, Creative Cuisine, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

Fabulous service and food but restaurant ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on September 18, 2016

Fabulous service and food but restaurant was too noisy for my taste.

Tags: Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, People Watching, Sunday Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Delicious french food, in a crisp modern ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on September 18, 2016

Delicious french food, in a crisp modern setting, served with charm.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Open Kitchen, Pre/post Theatre, Romantic, Modern Decor, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Loud; over-priced but very good; stilted ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on September 18, 2016

Loud; over-priced but very good; stilted and mechanical, but adequate, service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value1

Been to Monsieur B three times now. Firs ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on September 18, 2016

Been to Monsieur B three times now. First time service was a little rushed, probably because they were new and especially mobbed. Since then the service has settled down to a very comfortable tempo, works great before seeing a show.

Without exception, the food has been excellent. In general portion sizes seem reasonable, so an added appetizer should be fine. But watch out for the cassoulet - it is excellent but the portion is rather large.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Fit for Foodies, Open Kitchen, Modern Decor, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Food delicious, entree portion a bit sma ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

Food delicious, entree portion a bit small and unadorned though. Service rushed and we felt pressured to hurry up. Server very nice but visited too often and too quickly.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Perfect blend of elevated french bistro ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

Perfect blend of elevated french bistro meets upscale frenchy restaurant without the stuffy white table cloths. Impeccable in every way - service was outstanding.

Tags: Business Meals, Authentic, Pre/post Theatre, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great place for a pre-performance dinner ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on September 16, 2016

Great place for a pre-performance dinner for the symphony or opera. The food and service is outstanding. Food and wine list have a French influence. Food was fresh and well prepared.

Tags: Modern Decor, Pre/post Theatre, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Wonderful! The staff is far above averag ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on September 15, 2016

Wonderful! The staff is far above average in their attention to detail and service. Extremely accommodating of dietary limits. Perfect wine recommendations. The food is just simply DELICIOUS! Perfect for 2 or 20. Special occassion or just because.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Desserts were great.. Staff was very fri ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on September 15, 2016

Desserts were great.. Staff was very friendly. The food wasn't amazing but overall good experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4

Arrived on time for 5:45 reservation, re ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on September 15, 2016

Arrived on time for 5:45 reservation, restaurant not busy, shown to table next to bar, then to another, finally to nice table. Told server 7:30 opera. Aside from prompt arrival of drinks largely ignored thereafter. Long wait for cassoulet and sweetbreads and 2nd drink. Dessert menus arrived as we had to leave. Asked for manager who arrived as we were putting on our coats, she offered two pastries on a plate. Obligatory 20% service charge an outrage in these circumstances.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value2

I thought the food was a little salty fo ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 14, 2016

I thought the food was a little salty for my taste. I also enjoyed the appetizers ( bone marrow and an order of escargo) more than the mains which were Duck Confit androast chicken. The last two were the salty ones. The dessert was also alright, but nothing special. It was good, but not 185 dollars good.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value2

They have real French food here and it's ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on September 14, 2016

They have real French food here and it's really good.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Authentic, Pre/post Theatre, People Watching, Good for Groups, Fun, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value3

The food was great. I had the uni with v ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on September 12, 2016

The food was great. I had the uni with verjus; the seared fois gras; the gulf flounder; and a great dessert. The cocktail I had was super as was the Pinot Blanc with the flounder. All wonderful. So many new restaurants in top 100. All really good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

The service at this restaurant started o ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on September 12, 2016

The service at this restaurant started out great but after ordering and being served our salad, we waited at least 30 minutes for our entrees. The hostess apologized for the delay. I ordered a French dip sandwich and asked that it be cut in half. Initially, the kitchen refused to do so. Why? Because it claimed that it would hurt the presentation. C'mon, man -- it's a French dip Sandwich not Beef Wellington.

Although stated on the menu (in small print), it is rather tacky to automatically add a 20% service charge to the bill. In light of the poor service and average food, my experience at this restaurant did not merit a 20% tip.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

I was going to an sfjazz show so wanted ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 12, 2016

I was going to an sfjazz show so wanted a smallish meal. Had crab remoulade - excellent but really felt lack of sourdough bread and the presentation was very spare, I would say lacking. A few cherry tomatoes, a flower a sprig of tarragon.... Next the cold foie. This was superbly seasoned the salad was small but nice, the toast was good but large and gross - prefer toast points. The truffle was minimal and not very fragrant, not really there. I think this was my favorite dish - really delicious. Then sweetbreads. I didn't care for this prep. The sweetbreads themselves were good but the breading was too thick and oily and the seasoning needed sharper citrus to cut the fat. Had the Marjolaine cake for dessert - a bit too dense for me but good. I should have ordered something lighter. Good coffee. The thing that blew me away was the service. It was perfect. Everything arrived with alacrity and just when it should have - very impressive. I think my server was Shana, a very pleasant woman. I would definitely return to explore the menu in more depth. Plus if you need to eat within a schedule you may depend on them to feed you well in the time you have.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

We had a very tasty Sunday brunch, but y ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on September 11, 2016

We had a very tasty Sunday brunch, but you won't find that menu on this app. The names assigned to the menu items did not match my expectations. For example, the crepes did not look like any crepe I've ever seen, and came with a fried egg on top. Service was good without being fawning. We were not rushed nor made to wait. All four of agreed we would return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

The food is outstanding! My Arctic Char ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on September 11, 2016

The food is outstanding! My Arctic Char was perfectly cooked and plentiful. The Potato Au Gratin was incredible. Everything we are had a taste that we have never had before. Even the marzipan and cherry ice cream was amazing. Well done!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2

Unusual menu for French style bistro in ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on September 11, 2016

Unusual menu for French style bistro in arts area Accommodating to special needs as well.

Tags: Special Occasion, Open Kitchen, Pre/post Theatre, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

The cocktails and wine by the glass were ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

The cocktails and wine by the glass were decently priced and the pour was generous. The oysters, though quite small and overpriced ($4.50 apiece), were quite tasty. The escargots and French bread were outstanding. The butter lettuce and radish salad was fresh and delectably dressed. The quail was artifully presented and very good; the blanc de veau was delicious. The servers were attentive, informative, and mindful of our need to complete the wonderful meal in time to walk to the opera. I would return without hesitation, and would highly recommend for a meal before or after the opera or symphony. It was an excellent experience.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Amazing. The food...phenomenal 👌

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 7, 2016

Amazing. The food...phenomenal 👌

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Amazing food - only unfortunate thing is ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on September 5, 2016

Amazing food - only unfortunate thing is that we were seated by the door to the outside which opens every time food is taken to the outside tables. Would suggest either having a heat lamp by that table or not seating people there until there are no other seats available (there were other seats available when we arrived).

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List, Authentic, Good for Groups, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

Monsier Benjamin never disappoints. Tha ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on September 5, 2016

Monsier Benjamin never disappoints. Thank you for a wonderful meal!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I had a lovely, simple brunch of scrambl ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

I had a lovely, simple brunch of scrambled eggs, potatoes in duck fat, sausage & pain de mie toast served with pepper jam & plot jam. The wait staff was great & it was a very sunny Sunday morning.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Great food and service level in a exciti ...

vip
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on September 2, 2016

Great food and service level in a exciting area in SF.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great food but very expensive for what y ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on September 1, 2016

Great food but very expensive for what you are getting

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Looked forward to eating here after the ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on September 1, 2016

Looked forward to eating here after the glowing reviews on a recent KQED 'Check Please'. The service was excellent! The manager spent some tome speaking with us and making us feel at home. The cuisine was fair. The ambiance was nondescript.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service5
value1

The cocktail list was unique and artful. ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 31, 2016

The cocktail list was unique and artful. The crab remoulade, chilled to perfection, was delicately seasoned and not overpowered by the sauce. My friend loved her escargots and Guinea hen with equal enthusiasm! My flounder was well seasoned and perfectly cooked, and the accompanying pistou was light and fresh. We both attached the dressed grilled baby gems which we shared and also the lemon tart, which was just tart enough and had a thin crumb crust, unlike heavy handed examples so common in many desserts. One of the best meals of the year!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Loved the food!! Everyone was very frien ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 29, 2016

Loved the food!! Everyone was very friendly.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Lovely food, exceptional service, buy th ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 29, 2016

Lovely food, exceptional service, buy the atmosphere was a bit casual and the tables a bit too close together for the price point of the meal. Would love to see either: lower price point on entrees or fewer tables and tablecloths.

Tags: Open Kitchen, Authentic, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

We wanted to introduce Monsieur Benjamin ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 28, 2016

We wanted to introduce Monsieur Benjamin to some friends and had wanted to try brunch. The evening menu is more more and comprehensive. Early dinner is also much quieter than Sunday brunch. Food and service were excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value2

Service was over the top in a friendly a ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 28, 2016

Service was over the top in a friendly and helpful way.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.