About Monsieur Benjamin

451 Gough Street
San Francisco, CA 94102
View Larger Map

Monsieur Benjamin is a modern restaurant and bar in San Francisco’s Hayes Valley, inspired by the great Parisian bistro culture and traditions of French cooking.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
French

Hours of Operation:


Dinner: M-Su 5:00pm-12:00am

Brunch: Sa-Su 11:00am-2:30pm

Cross Street:
Gough and Ivy

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(415) 403-2233

Website:
http://www.monsieurbenjamin.com/

Parking Details:
We are located kitty-corner from the Performing Arts Garage located at 360 Grove Street.

Public Transit:
The closest Bart station is Civic Center. Bus Stops for the 5, 21, 47, and 49 are located nearby.

Executive Chef:
Jason Berthold

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Full Bar, Late Night, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access

Restaurant Photos

  • Monsieur Benjamin
  • Monsieur Benjamin
  • Monsieur Benjamin
  • Monsieur Benjamin
  • Monsieur Benjamin
Monsieur Benjamin
Monsieur Benjamin
Monsieur Benjamin
Monsieur Benjamin
Monsieur Benjamin

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

For groups of 9 or more, Monsieur Benjamin offers group dining in the main dining room in a semi-private setting.

Monsieur Benjamin Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.4

ambience

4.2

value

3.7

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

fit for foodies (223)
neighborhood gem (164)
special occasion (128)
See All
hot spot (89)
good for groups (65)
great for brunch (59)
notable wine list (57)
late-night find (51)
romantic (47)
vibrant bar scene (47)
great for lunch (38)
kid-friendly (6)
scenic view (3)
great for outdoor dining (3)
outstanding value (1)
pre/post theatre (1)
Sunday lunch (1)
Sort By:
Newest
689 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

It was a great experience the food seeme ...

 
·Dined 3 days ago

It was a great experience the food seemed a little overpriced, especially for a steak et frites. Their dessert though was to die for.

Tags: hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value1

Monsieur Benjamin in a very French Ameri ...

vip
·Dined 4 days ago

Monsieur Benjamin in a very French American setting offers a plethora of wonderful small plates

of French food for Americans and visitors from the world. The ambiance is

very fun and lively so that everyone seems to be having a delightful time.

The wait staff enhances this feeling. In our first visit, we were already planning to

return to walk in for bar service whenever we can. Special note: extremely

noisy but thanks to careful placement at a table for four, all four of us felt

we could adequately hear each other.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

This was my second visit. I took friends ...

 
·Dined 4 days ago

This was my second visit. I took friends in hopes that it was as good as I had remembered it. It was! Enjoyed by all!

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Everyone at Monsieur Benjamin's made my ...

 
·Dined 4 days ago

Everyone at Monsieur Benjamin's made my birthday special from the greeting at the check-in till we paid our bill. Greetings from each server and special attention added to the pleasure.

The Arctic char was so delicious and perfectly cooked--all in all a wonderful meal

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value3

What a fabulous brunch at MB, matched on ...

 
·Dined 5 days ago

What a fabulous brunch at MB, matched only by the pleasant and efficient staff. If you're looking to get away from an over hyped brunch in San Francisco and choose instead to dine well, go to MB.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Always spot on!! Vincent was great. Food ...

vip
·Dined 5 days ago

Always spot on!! Vincent was great. Food was amazing as usual. Best spot near symphony hall.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Amazing service and food. This became a ...

 
·Dined 6 days ago

Amazing service and food. This became a favorite after our first visit and we've been back several times now and they never disappoint! We've sampled a number of the menu items the Short Rib is to die for! Even one of their less expensive dishes, the Crepe au Sarraisn, because I wasn't very hungry. I thought it would be good but didn't think a mere crepe could knock my socks off but it DID! It was fabulous, also rich and filling. An excellent choice if you're worried about watching the bill. The rest of my party ordered the Duck Confit, French Dip and burger. All dishes were reported as excellent and we enjoyed them with a wonderful and reasonably price cotes du Rhone.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Every classic French dish you could ever ...

vip
·Dined 6 days ago

Every classic French dish you could ever want can be had there and very well executed!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

apps were excellent - fresh gem lettuce ...

vip
·Dined on July 20, 2016

apps were excellent - fresh gem lettuce salad and the sea urchin was also fresh and delicious. Roast chicken gets raved but I found it slightly dry and boring .

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value2

Overall great seafood selection. Bluecra ...

 
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Overall great seafood selection. Bluecrab remoulade was predominantly the best starter. Bone Marrow was highly rated.

Tags: fit for foodies, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

The dinner menu is a little bit more int ...

vip
·Dined on July 16, 2016

The dinner menu is a little bit more interesting than the weekend brunch options

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

We had a very enjoyable lunch. We have ...

vip
·Dined on July 16, 2016

We had a very enjoyable lunch. We have eaten there many times and have never been disappointed. Kudos to Thomas!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was my third time dining at M.Benja ...

 
·Dined on July 16, 2016

This was my third time dining at M.Benjamin. I thought that all the food was delicious except for the cassoulet which I thought was extremely salty. I also felt for $50 it was overpriced for the size of the dish. Our server was excellent. I will go back and recommend to friends.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, late-night find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

Everything was amazing. Tried Sea Urchin ...

 
·Dined on July 15, 2016

Everything was amazing. Tried Sea Urchin for the first time and my mind was blown!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

super noisy , it was a very cold night a ...

 
·Dined on July 15, 2016

super noisy , it was a very cold night and the inside was pretty cold . Pretty expensive for dining on paper table clothe . Nothing French about the restaurant except the misleading name

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value2

Went here to celebrate my husband's '0' ...

vip
·Dined on July 13, 2016

Went here to celebrate my husband's '0' birthday which I noted in my reservation. Instead of a nice dessert on the house, he received a note saying happy birthday. OK. We shared the butter lettuce salad which was butter lettuce, chives and 5-6 slices of radish. My husband chose the Blanquette de Veau which was bland and unexciting. I chose the Artic Char Amandine which was delicious start to finish, rich and succulent. The real surprise of the meal was when the check arrived. On it, with no prior notification, was a 20% surcharge. We inquired about the charge and our waiter indicated the surcharge was not a gratuity, but for the Healthy SF Ordinance for health insurance and minimum wage in SF. The other two restaurants we visited charged 4% and 5% and were listed on the menu. 20% is exorbitant and they must have wonderful health care. Ridiculous!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value2

Best meal I've had in SF in awhile ... a ...

vip
·Dined on July 12, 2016

Best meal I've had in SF in awhile ... and that's saying a lot!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Good food but way overprieced! We can fi ...

vip
·Dined on July 12, 2016

Good food but way overprieced! We can find other French restaurants with a better price/quality ratio.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3
value2

The hostess was accommodating as she ref ...

 
·Dined on July 10, 2016

The hostess was accommodating as she refer us to sit at a tight corner two seater. I asked for a different table and she found us a better one. When seated, the appetizer plate on the table was scratched up with black lines. It was already not appitizing much less that I would want to put food on it. One of staff, a male in a suit was flag over. I requested a new plate. He goes and responded, it's used often, the plate is not dirty and went off to get me a plate. This is suppose to be a high end French restaurant, I was baffled with his respond. No apologies or agreement as if I should be happy they gave me a plate at all. That kind of service already damper my mood and view of this establishment.

We order the sea urchin, escargot, steak filet, mussel and dessert (ice cream)and we had drinks. The bill came out to be about $150+/-.

The mussel was good and fresh. The escargot was not what I expected. When the escargot arrived it was delivered by the person in the suit. Then when our server came by like 5mins into our escargot dish to take away finish items and he mention, more to himself than us that bread and butter was missing so he went and brought us bread and butter.

Our server, at the time I (but my spouse did)did not know that 20% service charge was included, was not attentive at all and no smile. He probably at most came by once when he was not flag down to ask us how was our food. When we were done w/the main course, he just flopped down our dessert menu and left. We order the ice cream that a lot of people said was really good. It was super sweet, in my opinion, I did not enjoy it at all.

For 20% service charge and their food price, we expected high quality of food and service, which this restaurant, in my opinion failed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

The menu is not great. The waiters have ...

vip
·Dined on July 10, 2016

The menu is not great. The waiters have a lot of attitude.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service2

Outstanding. Food extraordinary. Will go ...

vip
·Dined on July 9, 2016

Outstanding. Food extraordinary. Will go back as often as possible

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We enjoyed the special selections, the q ...

 
·Dined on July 9, 2016

We enjoyed the special selections, the quality of the food and the attentive service.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

I showed up for my reservation and they ...

vip
·Dined on July 9, 2016

I showed up for my reservation and they were closed. Very disappointed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1

Love the food and drinks! The service wa ...

vip
·Dined on July 5, 2016

Love the food and drinks! The service was outstanding ;)

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We tried this restaurant based on a reco ...

 
·Dined on July 4, 2016

We tried this restaurant based on a recommendation from our guide on a Gourmet Walk of the Hayes Valley. She described it as her new "go to restaurant" in the Hayes Valley. We were not disappointed. The short rib I had as my main course melted in my mouth, and the whipped potatoes were amazing. We split the champagne pate appetizer and crepe dessert, both were great. The place is not cheap -- $200 for two without a bottle of wine (although we did have two cocktails and two glasses of wine). But we would definitely eat there again. Excellent choice. And very convenient to the Opera House for pre- or post-opera dining.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

This was our second visit. The first ti ...

 
·Dined on July 3, 2016

This was our second visit. The first time we tried brunch (egg-centered) entrees. They were excellent! This visit we tried several appetizers and small plates - definitely the way to go. The only caution is to watch how much you order - the cost adds up really fast. Expensive this way but well worth it!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Monsieur Benjamin never disappoints and ...

 
·Dined on July 3, 2016

Monsieur Benjamin never disappoints and the kitchen is open very late!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, late-night find, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Consistently good food and service. Note ...

 
·Dined on July 3, 2016

Consistently good food and service. Note: service charge required.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3

The food was good but holy cow the porti ...

 
·Dined on July 3, 2016

The food was good but holy cow the portions are small for the price.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value2

We had a fabulous meal and experience - ...

vip
·Dined on July 3, 2016

We had a fabulous meal and experience - as usual!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a terrific dinner before the Symp ...

vip
·Dined on July 2, 2016

We had a terrific dinner before the Symphony. The service was prompt and attentive. We had the butter lettuce salad (two can easily share), and, the crepe, which was delicious and filling. Wonderful ice cream for dessert. Tip is now included in the bill.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

From their always excellent oysters, to ...

vip
·Dined on July 2, 2016

From their always excellent oysters, to the amazing sea urchin roe, the seafood sausage, and just about everything else on the menu, Monsieur Benjamin has never failed to fully satisfy our desire for an exceptional dining experience. Simply not to be missed!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The maitre d was amazing - he flawlessly ...

 
·Dined on July 2, 2016

The maitre d was amazing - he flawlessly accommodated our wedding party after our City Hall ceremony.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

we had a really great meal and good serv ...

 
·Dined on July 1, 2016

we had a really great meal and good service too. can't wait to go back and try other items on the menu. the steak frites was amazing, but the chicken and salmon also looked delicious.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

The food was fantastic. the time betwee ...

 
·Dined on July 1, 2016

The food was fantastic. the time between the appetizer and the food arriving was much longer than usual, i'm not sure why. but everyone who works there is very nice.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Monsieur Benjamin has become our favori ...

vip
·Dined on June 30, 2016

Monsieur Benjamin has become our favorite place to eat dinner in the Hayes Valley

Tags: fit for foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

The vegetarian entree remains to be the ...

vip
·Dined on June 29, 2016

The vegetarian entree remains to be the same for the past few months. I wish that could be changed up a bit. I come here often with colleagues and it's disappointing that there's not much of vegetarian options...just one entree and a couple vegetarian sides, and salad.

Tags: late-night find, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Great food and service as always! Good p ...

 
·Dined on June 27, 2016

Great food and service as always! Good place to go after the Opera. Will return.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

This was our second Sunday brunch at M. ...

 
·Dined on June 26, 2016

This was our second Sunday brunch at M. Benjamin. While the bill was a little high for a brunch, we did not hold back on anything. Started with a cocktail and oysters on the half-shell, which were fresh and tasty with a nice assortment, served with a light vinegary sauce and fresh grated horseradish. Moved on to foie gras with a glass of Sauternes. My wife had the chicken croquette and I had the Paris ham, each with a glass of wine. Then a shared crepe for dessert with coffee. I can recommend everything we tasted. Presentation and service are very traditional and absolutely correct. Preparation is also very conservative and very French, but with some imaginative flair.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

This restaurant use to be one of my favo ...

vip
·Dined on June 24, 2016

This restaurant use to be one of my favorites. However, I have never seen a restaurant going down so drastically in respect to quality and taste. I was really disappointed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.