About Monarch

6934 E. 1st Ave.
Scottsdale, AZ 85251
View Larger Map

Monarch, in Scottsdale, Arizona, offers contemporary American cuisine in a fine dining, ultra-romantic setting. Located in Old Town Scottsdale, we offer guests a seasonal, chef-inspired 4-course prix fixe menu, which changes weekly. Our intimate candlelit courtyard and romantic dining room are surrounded with vines, lanterns and bubbling fountains. The chef at Monarch is chef/owner Gus Lewkowicz and is family owned and operated . Monarch is open for dinner Tuesday-Sunday. 

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
HOURS OF OPERATION:

Monday: Closed
Tuesday - Thursday 5:30pm - 8:30pm
Friday - Saturday 5:30pm - 9:30pm
Sunday: Closed (For Summer Only)




Cross Street:
NW Corner of 1st Ave and Goldwater BLVD

Dress Code:
Resort Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(480) 970-7682

Website:
http://cafemonarch.com/

Parking Details:
On site parking

Executive Chef:
Gus Lewkowicz

Additional:
Banquet, Beer, Chef's Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Wine

Restaurant Photos

  • Monarch
  • Monarch
  • Monarch
  • Monarch
  • Monarch
  • Monarch
  • Monarch
  • Monarch
Monarch
Monarch
Monarch
Monarch
Monarch
Monarch
Monarch
Monarch

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Monarch Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.9

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.9

service

4.9

ambience

4.9

value

4.5

noise

Moderate

99% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Phoenix / Arizona
Best Food
Phoenix / Arizona
Best Service
Phoenix / Arizona
13 More
Best Ambiance
Phoenix / Arizona
Best Value
Phoenix / Arizona
Romantic
Phoenix / Arizona
Contemporary American
Phoenix / Arizona
Best Overall
Phoenix / Scottsdale
Best Food
Phoenix / Scottsdale
Best Service
Phoenix / Scottsdale
Best Ambiance
Phoenix / Scottsdale
Best Value
Phoenix / Scottsdale
Outdoor Dining
Phoenix / Scottsdale
Romantic
Phoenix / Scottsdale
Special Occasion
Phoenix / Scottsdale
Contemporary American
Phoenix / Scottsdale
Best Restaurants in Scottsdale ›

Romantic (197)
Special Occasion (195)
Fit for Foodies (142)
See All
Great for Outdoor Dining (137)
Notable Wine List (79)
Neighborhood Gem (74)
Hot Spot (27)
Scenic View (16)
Good for Groups (13)
Late-night Find (8)
Great for Brunch (6)
Great for Lunch (3)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Seasonal (1)
Good for a Date (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Sort By:
Newest
823 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Completely enjoyed the entire experienc ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined 6 days ago

Completely enjoyed the entire experience

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We loved it and will come back for speci ...

vip
 (Austin)
·Dined 6 days ago

We loved it and will come back for special occasions!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We are absolutely blown away by the meal ...

vip
 (Phoenix)
·Dined 6 days ago

We are absolutely blown away by the meal at Monarch. We enjoyed every single bite from the moment we started their menu. We will definitely be back. The quiet atmosphere is nice and romantic and encourages quiet conversation. It is one of the best evenings we've had here in Scottsdale.

Tags: Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The service was impeccable, the ambiance ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined 6 days ago

The service was impeccable, the ambiance very romantic, the food was creative and amazingly flavorful. Wait staff were so responsive they brought things before you even requested. Extra touches were very nice. We were blown away by the evening. Definitely a $$$-$$$$ venue.

Tags: Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful experience all around! Even th ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined 6 days ago

Wonderful experience all around! Even the sudden monsoon didn't affect our experience

Tags: Seasonal, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It was our first time and it was pretty ...

 
 (Nebraska)
·Dined 6 days ago

It was our first time and it was pretty incredible. We will be back.

Tags: Modern Decor, Good for a Date, Healthy, Creative Cuisine, Paleo Friendly, Comfort Food, Tasting Menu, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The menu is seasonal and I appreciate th ...

 
 (Little Rock)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

The menu is seasonal and I appreciate the level of care hat goes into the selection of ingredients. It's like the perfect marriage of science and art! The portions are perfectly sized to please but not spoil the subsequent course--and with each course, it gets better and better! The wait staff is top notch; efficient, accommodating, and knowledgeable. The theme of Monarch is timeless and memorable--not just a drab place with great food. Everything is deliberately genius!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We have vacationed all over the United S ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

We have vacationed all over the United States, Europe, Canada, and Mexico. Dining out is always a favorite part of the experience. How in the world did we miss such a gem right in our own backyard? Thank you Open Table for bringing this restaurant to our attention. We celebrated our anniversary there and what a delightful experience this was! Everything was exceptional. The food, the presentation, the ambience, the service - it was all top notch. We were so pleased to find this wonderful family owned and operated restaurant and we will certainly make a point to visit it often.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The most amazing experience, every resta ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

The most amazing experience, every restarting from the staff, to decor and foot was just outstanding.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had such an amazing dinner , the serv ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on August 18, 2016

We had such an amazing dinner , the service highly rated .

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Long wait even with reservation (45 minu ...

 
 (London)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

Long wait even with reservation (45 minutes) and food poisoning.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service1
value1

The Monarch is an amazing place. Very r ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

The Monarch is an amazing place. Very romantic and the food is outstanding. It is a great place for special occasions.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Overall an excellent experience..ambianc ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Overall an excellent experience..ambiance, service, and food. Only service flaw I could point out was that the support staff dropped food to the wrong person at times. Other than that, a definite gem..I'll be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

Celebrated an engagement...each course ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Celebrated an engagement...each course

Was better than the next.....superb!

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wow, this place is so amazing. The cour ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Wow, this place is so amazing. The courtyard is beautiful. Very romantic. Food is exquisite. Hands down the best place to dine if you're looking for romance or to impress someone special. Really, really great

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

An Absolute Must! I am sorry we waited s ...

vip
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

An Absolute Must! I am sorry we waited so long to try the Monarch. Every course left me wanting more, they were each that good. Service was impeccable, atmosphere was romantic and quiet. Without a doubt this is our new favorite Scottsdale restaurant. The only caution I would have is, The Monarch is a fix price four course menu restaurant with only four main courses to choose from. So go online and check the menu as it changes regularly.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was our second time to this wonderf ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

This was our second time to this wonderful place. We were celebrating our anniversary. Our waiter Sam is outstanding. His knowledge of the food as well as the wine is superb. He is a wonderful addition to this fine restaurant. Sam made us feel very welcome, when he found out it was our 30th anniversary he brought us champagne to enjoy. What a great start to the evening! Please find this hidden gem you will NOT be disappointed.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Perfect spot for romantic date or specia ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

Perfect spot for romantic date or special occasion. Excellent food, service, and ambiance!

Tags: Romantic, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This an excellent restaurant as rarely s ...

vip
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

This an excellent restaurant as rarely seen in Phoenix. That's the fourth time I go there and I always had a perfect experience!

The service is also very good!

The only thing that could get better is the price. A couple would spend at least $ 300.00. But it worths avery penny.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Excellent all around. Can't say enough a ...

vip
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

Excellent all around.

Can't say enough about each course and the selection of cocktails.

Definitely a win for date night!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Even though we had dinner reservation fo ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

Even though we had dinner reservation for 7 pm, we were told to come a little earlier if we wanted a table inside. Inside sitting was not guaranteed due to the few tables inside that were for 4 people. Having given that information, we came at 6:30 and got the last table. It was a night that was VERY, VERY , hot and humid having had received a long summer rain earlier that day. We were VERY GRATEFUL for the information and that we ate inside. I did not realized that this restaurant was a fixed fare, since my husband and I usually split the entree. This was a lot more food that I usually eat at one setting. I probably would not come back due to the cost and the amount of food. Having said that, I was blown away by the atmosphere and the excellent food and service!! It was a night to remember.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value2

Monarch is a beautiful and charming rest ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

Monarch is a beautiful and charming restaurant with exceptional food. Our experience there was not what we had anticipated. We chose the restaurant because of the quality of service and what we believed to be the higher end of Scottsdale dining. The factors that disappointed were not exactly the fault of the restaurant. Other diners were exceptionally loud and boisterous, including an infant accompanying four women who were 'partying' and a table of six doctors discussing organ transplant procedures. The management recognized our 'disappointment' and took full responsibility by generously compensating us for our meal. It was unexpected but helped soften a not great experience. The restaurant is lovely and romantic. We would give it another try and hope the management finds some solutions to the noise level and customer 'control'.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

Outstanding, knowledgeable, courteous st ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

Outstanding, knowledgeable, courteous staff as well as a delicious unique 4 course meal. A scotch pricey but all together an amazing place to celebrate or have an exquisite date night.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

a friend recommended the Monarch Cafe an ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on August 4, 2016

a friend recommended the Monarch Cafe and I couldn't be happier. We initially were seated outside and asked for a cozy table inside as there was a rather large party arriving and we wanted something more intimate. They said one would be ready in about 30 minutes. We ordered a bottle of wine and were seated inside in about 15 min. We were seated at a cozy corner table.The courses were perfectly timed and the food was outstanding especially the foie gras. The wine list is wonderful and the service superb. I would definitely recommend this restaurant.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very thoughtful service and presentation ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on August 4, 2016

Very thoughtful service and presentation. Atmosphere was beautiful. Our server was extremely professional and interested. They knew about my wife's GF need and planned a menu for her.

It was our 25th anniversary and could not imagine a more evening or place!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The rain was terrible when we got there. ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on August 3, 2016

The rain was terrible when we got there. We arrived early because of the rain. They met us at the car with an umbrella and a smile. We were seated right away and asked if it was a suitable spot. The atmosphere was great, not to low of lighting. Romantic soft music, candles, roses, white linens, and pretty dinnerware. Our waiter (Sam) carried a friendly conversation with us and explained everything perfectly. The food and pairings that followed were out of this world. Sam and Monarch made this a night to remember. For our 30th wedding anniversary it was special. Boy did they deliver. If I could give 6 stars I would.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Easily the most palate- pleasing and exq ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on August 3, 2016

Easily the most palate- pleasing and exquisitely prepared dinner we've had in years. This is indeed gourmet dining, not inexpensive, but well worth it. From the appetizers through the 4-course prix fix menu (which changes somewhat weekly), there is nothing to complain about and much to praise, not the least of which is the seared filet mignon and sea bass entres. A couple of nice touches were the chef coming out with an umbrella to help us through a monsoon cloud burst at our early-evening seating, and capping off the evening with a complimentary anniversary desert. We'll be back!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We found this gem by luck and I couldn't ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on August 3, 2016

We found this gem by luck and I couldn't have been happier. Their menu changes weekly so you know they are serving the freshest and most in season items. They only do a four course menu but all the options where outstanding. This place is on the pricey side but well worth every penny. I would recommend for an evening out for a special occasion or a date night.

Tags: Seasonal, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

While we wouldn't consider ourselves "fo ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

While we wouldn't consider ourselves "foodies," my wife and I would put our dinner at Monarch in our Top 3 dinners out - ever. The food, service and ambiance (dinner outside on the patio) were all spectacular. Wow.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was amazing, worth every penny. Ser ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

Food was amazing, worth every penny. Service was second to none. I would certainly go back in a heart beat!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great ambiance! The food was amazing, an ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

Great ambiance! The food was amazing, and the service was first class. Each course was unique and delicious. We had the filet and the Chilean Sea Bass. Have honestly never had a filet that even came close to tasting as good as this one, and the sea bass was equally as tasty. The staff was professional, and very welcoming. It's so nice to be at a restaurant and be treated like they are so glad you are there. That kind of customer appreciation is very rare these days.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This is the second time my husband and I ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

This is the second time my husband and I visited Monarch under the new ownership. We invited friends (one vegetarian, one gluten free) and everyone thoroughly enjoyed every course selected. I am not a foodie, but the presentation and taste of everything is fantastic! Both times I asked to have the scallops as my main course and was pleased both times. My husband had the chicken the second time and enjoyed it more than the fish he had the first time. The wait staff was great in spite of the fact a huge monsoon storm swept in and soaked nearly everyone and thing at the height of the dinner rush. They performed like rocks stars that night and were very gracious to give us a a discount on our bill. We will definitely come back again for a special occasion!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Have been looking forward to coming to t ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on July 28, 2016

Have been looking forward to coming to the Monarch for quite some time. Worth the wait. Yes, we chose Monarch for a birthday. However, we would've come for any evening. Food, Service, Room was all worth every cent. Beautiful job! Sam was our server. Tom assisted as well. Both delightful. As younger guests (late 20's early 30's) it isn't often we are treated with beyond expectation service. As hospitality lovers, (not to be confused with self appointed foodies) -think of it more as someone who appreciates and loves hospitality.

When it is performed how it is at The Monarch Cafe, I am a fan. True, ever loving Fan. We will see you again Monarch! Please stay in business always.

~Shannon & Greg

Tags: Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion, Late-night Find, Great for Lunch, Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We enjoyed this beautiful prix fixe menu ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on July 28, 2016

We enjoyed this beautiful prix fixe menu for our 31st anniversary. The food and restaurant were beautiful and the food delicious. Service was impeccable. I highly recommend this restaurant for a special occasion.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Exquisite from start to finish

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

Exquisite from start to finish

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Enjoyed dining at Monarch with my wife f ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

Enjoyed dining at Monarch with my wife for my birthday. This hidden Gem is recommend

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Top notch in every way. We'll be back in ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

Top notch in every way. We'll be back in the near future.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

One of the best meals of our 70+ years o ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

One of the best meals of our 70+ years of life, and a marvelous way to celebrate our anniversary. The food is simply superb, and the service could not be more attentive, informed, sensitive, and sincere. This is simply a fabulous restaurant experience.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best ambience service and food in all of ...

vip
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on July 21, 2016

Best ambience service and food in all of the greater Phoenix area!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Absolutely the best waitstaff in The Val ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Absolutely the best waitstaff in The Valley that I have seen

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.