About Monarch

6934 E. 1st Ave.
Scottsdale, AZ 85251
View Larger Map

Monarch, in Old Town Scottsdale, is a family-owned and operated restaurant offering an ultra-romantic setting for your birthday, anniversary, special occasion, or extravagant night out. The four-course menu is altered weekly by Chef Gus Lewkowicz, using only seasonal and local ingredients. All servers are trained and certified sommeliers with extensive wine knowledge. Our sommeliers taste wine weekly to ensure the best pairing for each course.

*Reservation Only

*Vegetarian, Vegan, and Gluten free restrictions can be accommodated



*Due to the high demand for outdoor seating we cannot guarantee or reserve courtyard seating. We will do our very best to accommodate requests when possible. Thank you for your understanding!

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Seating Times:

Monday: Closed
Tuesday - Thursday 5:30pm - 8:30pm
Friday - Saturday 5:00pm - 9:30pm
Sunday: 5:30pm - 7:30pm




Cross Street:
NW Corner of 1st Ave and Goldwater BLVD

Dress Code:
Resort Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(480) 970-7682

Website:
http://cafemonarch.com/

Parking Details:
On site parking

Executive Chef:
Gus Lewkowicz

Additional:
Banquet, Beer, Chef's Table, Cocktails, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Wine

Restaurant Photos

  • Monarch, Scottsdale, AZ
  • Monarch, Scottsdale, AZ
  • Monarch, Scottsdale, AZ
  • Monarch, Scottsdale, AZ
  • Monarch, Scottsdale, AZ
  • Monarch, Scottsdale, AZ
  • Monarch, Scottsdale, AZ
  • Monarch, Scottsdale, AZ

Report a photo problem

Specials

Valentine's Day Special Menus & More

Tuesday, February 14, 2017

Specials

Valentine's Day Special Menus & More

Tuesday, February 14, 2017

Details

Enjoy a romantic, special 4 course prix fixe menu for $150 per person. Voted Opentable's Top 100 Best Romantic Restaurants in America.

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Monarch Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.9

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.8

service

4.9

ambience

4.9

value

4.4

noise

Moderate

99% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (153)
Romantic (151)
Good for Anniversaries (139)
See All
Great for Outdoor Dining (118)
Good for a Date (112)
Fit for Foodies (96)
Creative Cuisine (95)
Cozy (76)
Good for Birthdays (73)
Notable Wine List (70)
Quiet Conversation (68)
Worth the Drive (61)
Neighborhood Gem (53)
Handcrafted Cocktails (53)
Local Ingredients (52)
Authentic (41)
Tasting Menu (40)
Seasonal (20)
Fun (16)
Pre/post Theatre (13)
Hot Spot (13)
Healthy (12)
Scenic View (12)
Historic (12)
Outstanding Value (11)
Organic (10)
Good Vegetarian Options (10)
Molecular Gastronomy (9)
Business Meals (9)
Good for Groups (8)
Gluten Free Options (8)
Casual (6)
Sunday Lunch (4)
Paleo Friendly (3)
Private Room (3)
Fireplace (3)
Great for Brunch (2)
Happy Hour (2)
Open Kitchen (2)
People Watching (2)
Vegan (2)
Modern Decor (2)
Bar Seating (1)
Waterfront (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Great Beer (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Sort By:
S
1093 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Not sure which was better, the service o ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined a day ago

Not sure which was better, the service or the food?! A+ all around. The staff should be very proud.

Tags: Good for a Date, Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Tremendous experience overall. It was my ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined 2 days ago

Tremendous experience overall. It was my for wife's birthday (and she is 32 weeks pregnant), so it was one of our last date nights before kids. Scott and the other waiters were incredibly attentive all night. Each course was outstanding and flavorful. The ambiance was playful yet romantic. We will be eager to plan our next special occasion dinner here once our little one joins us in a few months.

Tags: Romantic, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We have been coming here from Pennsylvan ...

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined 2 days ago

We have been coming here from Pennsylvania this time each year for the past 8 years. Hard to believe....but each year it keeps getting better! This is a great example of being able to make something that is already awesome even better! Scott, our server, is exceptional! We have had him now for a couple years and have never come across anyone any better at their job! We recommend this place to anyone we know that visits the Scottsdale area.

Tags: Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

One of the best overall restaurants I ha ...

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined 2 days ago

One of the best overall restaurants I have ever been in. Pricey but worth every penny!

Tags: Fun, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Beautifully prepared food and wonderful ...

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on January 15, 2017

Beautifully prepared food and wonderful service. Nothing else like it in Scottsdale

Tags: Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Handcrafted Cocktails, Seasonal, Tasting Menu, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Great for Outdoor Dining, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My dining experience at Monarch exceeded ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on January 15, 2017

My dining experience at Monarch exceeded my expectations. The food was exceptional being creative and delicious. The service was attentive without being excessive. The ambience was fantastic seated on the outdoor patio tucked away in the corner. I'll be back!!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Date night out with the wife. Really lo ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on January 15, 2017

Date night out with the wife. Really loved this restaurant but not a restaurant where you can walk out the door for under $100 or probably not even $200 unless you do not drink alcohol. This is probably my favorite restaurant to date for that special time with your significant other. This restaurant is pre-fixe only with 4 courses...you won't leave hungry! The wine pairing was really good and was priced at $80/pp. You really only need one wine pairing for two people in my opinion. Definitely try to get seated outside but this cannot be guaranteed. If you decide to go, please enjoy as much as we did.

Tags: Scenic View, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Absolutely phenomenal food and element.

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 14, 2017

Absolutely phenomenal food and element.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

This cafe monarch was awesome. The servi ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 14, 2017

This cafe monarch was awesome. The service was great. The food was amazing.

I would 100% recommend this place to anyone. I have very high standard when selecting the restaurant and this restaurant has my full support. :)

Tags: , Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our experience here was phenomenal! The ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on January 13, 2017

Our experience here was phenomenal! The most romantic restaurant I've been to. The perfect setting for the perfect date. Even the house water was delicious. 10/10, couldn't have asked for more. The service was amazing, our waiter was great and the food was over all spectacular. Very pleased with this place!

Tags: Seasonal, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Romantic, Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries, , Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very pleasant environment, particularly ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on January 11, 2017

Very pleasant environment, particularly in the courtyard. Service was very friendly and early courses were great. Later courses were very slow to arrive. Wine list is nice but limited and a number of listed choices were sold out.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value4

This restaurant was outstanding. One of ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on January 9, 2017

This restaurant was outstanding. One of the finest meals I've ever had. The setting in the garden is beautiful. Our waiter was excellent. The service was attentive but not intrusive.

Tags: Romantic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent meal, Chris was a terrific ser ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined on January 8, 2017

Excellent meal, Chris was a terrific server. A little noisy, we prefer garden to inside. One of the best in the Valley.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The menu was four courses with either on ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on January 8, 2017

The menu was four courses with either one or two choices per course. The service was great and they were very accommodating because both of us have severe dairy allergies. The first two courses outshined the second two courses significantly. All of the food was very good, but the soup and salad were so good that the third and fourth course were almost a let down. We had a reservation, but were sat at a two top right next to the door which was constantly opening and closing from staff going inside and out. We were told it would have been 20 minutes to get another table. Overall it was very good, but I am not sure it was worth the money.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value2

It was a wonderful place to celebrate ou ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on January 8, 2017

It was a wonderful place to celebrate our wedding anniversary! The first three courses were phenomenal, but the entrees were just average. Great ambiance and service!

Tags: Paleo Friendly, Local Ingredients, Gluten Free Options, Healthy, Organic, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Good Vegetarian Options, Neighborhood Gem, Business Meals, Romantic, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Our 50th Anniversary

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on January 8, 2017

Our 50th Anniversary

Tags: Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was exquisite and Service was excel ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 6, 2017

Food was exquisite and Service was excellent; the courtyard set up very romantic.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Authentic, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

What a charming place! We were fortunate ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 6, 2017

What a charming place! We were fortunate enough to be seated on the patio, quiet, beautiful, romantic. The food was presented beautifully. The service was professional yet not stuffy. A very magical evening.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

One of the best 4 course meals I've ever ...

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on January 6, 2017

One of the best 4 course meals I've ever had. Very very nice place.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Probably one of the most scenic, romanti ...

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on January 6, 2017

Probably one of the most scenic, romantic restaurants in Phoenix. The courtyard area, with its IV trellises, reminded me of an Italian restaurant I once visited in Bellaggio on Lake Como. I would highly recommend this restaurant for any special occasion be at a birthday or anniversary as the setting is spectacular. The service is also perhaps one of the best I've ever encountered and dining out in the greater Phoenix area. Our waiter Scott was both attentive as well as very informed as to the menu and wine pairings. The food The food however was a little disappointing, the four course venue was well thought out however the main course of halibut like taste. The presentation on the plate was magnificent. In all still a five-star experience and we will most definitely return for another special occasion.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Nice ambiance. The food was amazing, bea ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on January 5, 2017

Nice ambiance. The food was amazing, beautiful and more importantly very delicious. Kudos to the chef and crew.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Cozy, Notable Wine List, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Outstanding in every way! Food and servi ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on January 4, 2017

Outstanding in every way! Food and service were exceptional. Ambiance is perfect for special occasions.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Authentic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Local Ingredients, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Lovely food. Perfect portion size. Wel ...

vip
 (Toronto)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Lovely food. Perfect portion size. Well done.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Monarch is such a wonderful venue, espec ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Monarch is such a wonderful venue, especially for special occasions. Outdoor seating is warm and elegant and the food with wine pairings are spot on and a culinary experience not to be missed. Richard our server was patient, polished and timed our dining to perfection. The entire dinner and service was impeccable and should not be missed. A bit of a splurge but worth every moment and $$ spent. Amazing food, service and an unforgettable experience!!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, People Watching, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

The Monarch was very romantic, our 1st n ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on January 1, 2017

The Monarch was very romantic, our 1st new years together and i couldnt have picked a nicer restaurant. A very pricey but excellent for a very special night.

Tags: Romantic, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Beautiful setting, great food and servic ...

vip
 (Austin)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Beautiful setting, great food and service! Very enjoyable experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Both the food and service were absolutel ...

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Both the food and service were absolutely excellent. The ambiance was a 3 out of 5 due to the cramped conditions, closeness of the tables, and the noise level. Overall, it was a 4 out of 5.

It is expensive; but the food and service were worth the cost.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Started to rain and my wife and I got dr ...

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Started to rain and my wife and I got dripped on the entire dinner. Otherwise excellent

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Great Romantic environment, you get wet ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Great Romantic environment, you get wet when it rains. Super pricey

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

We were in Phoenix to celebrate my birth ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 30, 2016

We were in Phoenix to celebrate my birthday. This restaurant was recommended by a family friend. We enjoyed every single bite. We had the NYC menu which was four courses and thoroughly enjoyed the ambiance,staff and most definitely the food. Can't wait to return to Phoenix to revisit this restaurant. We've been bragging about the food since our return to Denver.

Tags: Good for a Date, Cozy, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Late-night Find, Romantic, , Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Everything great but waiter who was nice ...

vip
 (Melbourne / VIC)·Dined on December 30, 2016

Everything great but waiter who was nice and competant but extremely dramatic. Overdone and false.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Notable Wine List, Authentic, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value4

Spectacular menu, expertly presented and ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on December 29, 2016

Spectacular menu, expertly presented and very delicious. The staff was friendly and very knowledgeable..

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

This is our favorite restaurant in Old T ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 29, 2016

This is our favorite restaurant in Old Town. The people are great and the food is the perfect blend of WOW while allowing natural flavors to lead the way.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Such a special dinner with longtime frie ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on December 29, 2016

Such a special dinner with longtime friends. I saw Monarch was named as one of the Top 100 restaurants in the country by Open Table, and called my "snowbird" friends before my husband and I headed down to Phoenix for a long weekend.

Everything was absolutely perfect. The food was delicious and the service superb. The price averaged out to $100 per person ( without gratuity) but with 2 bottles of $40.00 a bottle of a very good wine.

The first 2 courses were fixed but didn't include any foods that some people might not like ( raw seafood comes to mind). There were two choices for the 3rd course and at least four choices for the entree. Each couple shared a serving of the rum cake for dessert and it was to die for. Can't wait to share this great dining experience with other "foodie" friends. Nice job, Monarch! Loved our dinner.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Great Beer, Fun, Healthy, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Unbelievable meal. One of the best I've ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on December 29, 2016

Unbelievable meal. One of the best I've ever had.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Lucky to have gotten a reservation at th ...

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on December 28, 2016

Lucky to have gotten a reservation at the last minute..four of us dined, and I mean dined in the most fabulous, charming garden setting that you didn't actually know you were outside at first. We were greeted by our waiter Sam who was charming and quite knowledgeable about all selections. They have an outrageous set menu that allows you to pick a few items and the only thing I can say is WOW! Every morsel you could hear us all ooooing and ahhhing. They've gotten the award for one of the top 100 best restaurants in the country and they definitely deserve it!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients, , Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Great for Outdoor Dining, Healthy, Good for a Date, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My 70th birthday. My only constructive c ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 28, 2016

My 70th birthday. My only constructive criticism is that the courses followed in rapid succession not giving us enough time to finish our wines that were paired with each course.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

You can't beat the ambiance at Cafe Mona ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on December 28, 2016

You can't beat the ambiance at Cafe Monarch; a perfect place for a wedding anniversary. The service is impeccable. First course Cauliflower Soup with Pistachio cream is flat out amazing, and I don't like cauliflower per-se. Salad was a palate full of flavors and textures. Prawn appi was great. Entree: Niman filet was good but I have found Niman beef does not have much flavor having had it at the Sanctuary as well. Had the Sea Bass this last time. Not a Sea Bass fan either but it was cook perfectly and of high quality. Dinner for 4 ran about $460 with tip but it is truly a dining experience you must try once. Although portions are small, I usually end up taking part of the entree home.

Tags: Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Cozy, Great for Outdoor Dining, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

One of the best meals we've had. Top not ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on December 24, 2016

One of the best meals we've had. Top notch food with amazing service. Chris was great!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

This is, without question, the finest re ...

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on December 24, 2016

This is, without question, the finest restaurant in Arizona. The ambiance, service and most

importantly, the cuisine is among the top restaurants in the US!

Tags: Cozy, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Hot Spot, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.