About Monarch

6934 E. 1st Ave.
Scottsdale, AZ 85251
View Larger Map

Monarch, in Scottsdale, Arizona, offers contemporary American cuisine in a fine dining, ultra-romantic setting. Located in Old Town Scottsdale, we offer guests a seasonal, chef-inspired 4-course prix fixe menu, which changes weekly. Our intimate candlelit courtyard and romantic dining room are surrounded with vines, lanterns and bubbling fountains. The chef at Monarch is chef/owner Gus Lewkowicz and is family owned and operated .

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
HOURS OF OPERATION:

Monday: Reopen in November
Tuesday - Thursday 5:30pm - 8:30pm
Friday - Saturday 5:00pm - 9:30pm
Sunday: Reopen in October




Cross Street:
NW Corner of 1st Ave and Goldwater BLVD

Dress Code:
Resort Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(480) 970-7682

Website:
http://cafemonarch.com/

Parking Details:
On site parking

Executive Chef:
Gus Lewkowicz

Additional:
Banquet, Beer, Chef's Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Wine

Restaurant Photos

  • Monarch
  • Monarch
  • Monarch
  • Monarch
  • Monarch
  • Monarch
  • Monarch
  • Monarch
Monarch
Monarch
Monarch
Monarch
Monarch
Monarch
Monarch
Monarch

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Monarch Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.9

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.9

service

4.9

ambience

4.9

value

4.4

noise

Moderate

99% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Phoenix / Arizona
Best Food
Phoenix / Arizona
Best Service
Phoenix / Arizona
14 More
Best Ambiance
Phoenix / Arizona
Best Value
Phoenix / Arizona
Romantic
Phoenix / Arizona
Special Occasion
Phoenix / Arizona
Contemporary American
Phoenix / Arizona
Best Overall
Scottsdale
Best Food
Scottsdale
Best Service
Scottsdale
Best Ambiance
Scottsdale
Best Value
Scottsdale
Outdoor Dining
Scottsdale
Romantic
Scottsdale
Special Occasion
Scottsdale
Contemporary American
Scottsdale
Best Restaurants in Central Scottsdale ›

Special Occasion (151)
Romantic (149)
Great for Outdoor Dining (109)
See All
Fit for Foodies (102)
Notable Wine List (66)
Neighborhood Gem (56)
Good for a Date (34)
Good for Anniversaries (30)
Creative Cuisine (20)
Hot Spot (19)
Cozy (18)
Scenic View (17)
Good for Birthdays (14)
Quiet Conversation (14)
Worth the Drive (13)
Local Ingredients (10)
Good for Groups (9)
Late-night Find (9)
Tasting Menu (9)
Good Vegetarian Options (8)
Handcrafted Cocktails (8)
Healthy (7)
Authentic (6)
Seasonal (4)
Historic (3)
Great for Brunch (3)
Business Meals (3)
Fun (3)
Molecular Gastronomy (3)
Modern Decor (2)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Private Room (2)
Outstanding Value (2)
Comfort Food (2)
Fireplace (2)
People Watching (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Organic (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Great Beer (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Casual (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Waterfront (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Bar Seating (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Sort By:
Newest
866 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

I was taken her for my birthday and I ca ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined 4 days ago

I was taken her for my birthday and I can honestly say it's the best restaurant I've ever been to ! So romantic, the food was amazing, and the service was so special. Simply the best.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Local Ingredients, Scenic View, Open Kitchen, Cozy, Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Monarch is one of our favorite special o ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined 4 days ago

Monarch is one of our favorite special occasion restaurants when we want an intmate dining experience and exquisite food. The menu is posted weekly so you can anticipate the well-prepared and wonderfully plated courses.

Service is unobtrusice and quick. I dropped a knife and within seconds two staff were bringing replacements. Very attentive without being invasive.

The filet was wonderful -- melt in your mouth quality and my husband's sea bass was a taste treat.

Book in advance because weekend evenings fill up quickly.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We were seated at the last table for two ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined 4 days ago

We were seated at the last table for two available on the outdoor patio. Unfortunately, it was directly under a speaker. Music a little too loud for us. Quiet conversation was somewhat difficult.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Hot Spot, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

I celebrated my birthday at Monarch....I ...

 
 (Palm Springs)
·Dined 4 days ago

I celebrated my birthday at Monarch....I felt special the moment we got there. Thanks for making it an extra Happy Day! (The dessert and present were very nice touches too)

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

This place is amazing. We were really im ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined 5 days ago

This place is amazing. We were really impressed as the garden is beautiful and romantic, perfect place for couples. The food is delicious and we loved every single course on the tasting menu.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Monarch was recommended by friends who a ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined 5 days ago

Monarch was recommended by friends who always eat at the restaurant when visiting Scottsdale. We were not disappointed. Everything from the service to the special dessert for our anniversary was superb. I highly recommend waiting to sit in the beautiful outdoor terrace. The menu is limited and changes each week, which may be a concern for those with a particular palate. However, the waiters work so hard to please each patron that I'm sure each entree can be tweaked. We will definitely return when we visit Scottsdale.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

We celebrated my husband's birthday at C ...

vip
 (Phoenix)
·Dined 5 days ago

We celebrated my husband's birthday at Cafe Monarch and the entire experience was above and beyond our expectations. We were greeted at the door with birthday wishes and shown to a quiet romantic table in the courtyard. The service was impeccable, and the sommelier Sam described each dish and each wine as it was served to us. Each course was excellent, especially the Autumn Salad, and Gnocchi with tenderloin tips. The wines were well-chosen and paired very nicely with the food. We really appreciated that our servers and the chefs in the kitchen went the extra mile -- we had a lovely birthday dessert and a very nice taste of port to finish the meal. I would highly recommend Cafe Monarch as a memorable place to celebrate a special event. We will definitely be back!

Tags: Romantic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was an exceptional blending of ...

 
 (Oklahoma City)
·Dined 7 days ago

The food was an exceptional blending of flavors. The sommelier was excellent. We wished we had done the wine pairing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Outstanding experience. Food and servi ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on September 21, 2016

Outstanding experience. Food and service were fantastic. We'll be back soon.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had an exceptional experience. Outsta ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on September 21, 2016

We had an exceptional experience. Outstanding meal, impeccable service, impressive attention to details. We even had a surprise by the chef for our wedding anniversary.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Outstanding Value, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Love the quiet romantic feel of this pla ...

vip
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on September 18, 2016

Love the quiet romantic feel of this place. My only complaint is that the tables are very close together (we sat on the patio), so you can hear your neighbor's conversation. Otherwise, the food and service were impeccable. Be sure to check the menu online before making reservations as the menu is very limited. A little pricey, but perfect for a special occasion.

Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Utterly perfect! Food was stunning and t ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on September 18, 2016

Utterly perfect! Food was stunning and the service could not be topped. My new favorite place!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Richard (our waiter) was outstanding. H ...

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on September 18, 2016

Richard (our waiter) was outstanding. He was attentive without being fawning.

Tags: Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value2

We celebrated our 60th Anniversary at Mo ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on September 18, 2016

We celebrated our 60th Anniversary at Monarch and were extremely pleased with the ambiance, the food and the service. They made it a very special occasion.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Romantic, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Great for Outdoor Dining, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We went here last weekend to celebrate m ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

We went here last weekend to celebrate my boyfriend's birthday and it was truly fabulous. The reviews are all glowing, but I was a bit concerned when they had several reservations available for a Friday night and no one from Scottsdale had heard of it. Worry not - you will not regret going here. The ambience is lovely, the service is flawless and the food was amazing. We dine out at some very nice restaurants and have quite high standards, and we LOVED the Monarch. Thank you for a wonderful evening!

Tags: Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Took my wife here for our anniversary. ...

 
 (Western NC)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

Took my wife here for our anniversary. Originally, she expressed concern over the price, but went along with my recommendation via Trip Advisor. Well she hasn't stop complementing the food and service since, ranking it near the top of our previous dining experiences. I wouldn't say its for necessarily for everyday dining, but if you appreciate fresh ingredients and creative food presentations for a special event its hard to beat.

Tags: Good for a Date, Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Romantic, Local Ingredients, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

A must for an absolutely blissful dinin ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

A must for an absolutely blissful dining experience! The outdoor patio is gorgeous and actual feast for the eyes, the service attentive, the food delicious from one course to another! Totally romantic evening that we wouldn't miss each and every visit to Scottsdale! A true celebration spot! Never disappointing in any way!

Tags: Good for a Date, Tasting Menu, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Great for Outdoor Dining, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We have dined in fine restaurants all ov ...

vip
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on September 16, 2016

We have dined in fine restaurants all over the world. Monarch is up there with the Michelin stars. The food is art and very well prepared and presented. The wait staff is well trained. We will definitely recommend it to our friends and will return often.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Tagged along with my husband while he wa ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 14, 2016

Tagged along with my husband while he was on a business trip and found Monarch on Open Table and Trip Advisor. Truly one of the most special, delicious meals we have had in a very long time. Elegant and beautiful environment, enthusiastic and knowledgeable server (Sam), and outstanding food. We wish it was closer to where we live! Perfect for a romantic evening.... loved everything about it.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food and service. Owner Christian ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on September 11, 2016

Great food and service. Owner Christian is fantastic!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Gourmet to delight every palette and amb ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on September 11, 2016

Gourmet to delight every palette and ambiance is to match. From start to finish we would highly recommend this dining gem to everyone and anyone.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Late-night Find, Local Ingredients, Seasonal, Great for Outdoor Dining, Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Healthy, Special Occasion, Molecular Gastronomy, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Every single second was a thrill and a d ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

Every single second was a thrill and a delight. The wait stuff were wonderful the food was exquisite and the ambience superb. They even gave my date a birthday present! This is one of the most beautiful dining experiences thank you

Tags: Special Occasion, Fun, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A truly amazing dinner--everything was p ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

A truly amazing dinner--everything was perfect. We were celebrating my wife's 30th birthday and she truly had a 5-star experience. From the gorgeous patio dining, to the incredible 4-course meal, to the memorable sparkler dessert and birthday memento--The Monarch delivered tenfold.

Tags: Cozy, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Handcrafted Cocktails, Great for Outdoor Dining, Comfort Food, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Fireplace, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Absolutely delicious, innovative food an ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 8, 2016

Absolutely delicious, innovative food and amazing service, wine, atmosphere!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

THE FOOD, SEVICE, AND DECOR IS MARVELLOU ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on September 8, 2016

THE FOOD, SEVICE, AND DECOR IS MARVELLOUS! OUR ONE COMPLAINT…WE SAT NEXT TO THE BAR {WHICH I REQUESTED} , BUT THE MUSIC WAS TOO LOUD AND ANNOYING . THIS WAS ROMANTIC? MORE FOR A SMALL CLUB IN N.Y. WHERE PEOPLE COME TO DRINK AND LISTEN TO BRASS. WOULD SOMEONE CONSIDER A FRENCH OR SPANISH LIGHT ROMANTIC MOOD? WE ASKED A SERVER TO PLEASE LOWER THE SOUND,BUT THEY REPLIED "HOW CAN YOU NOT LIKE THE MUSIC? PERHAPS THE ROOM IS TOO SMALL FOR THE ACOUSTICS?

Tags: Romantic, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

The food was delicious and the atmospher ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

The food was delicious and the atmosphere was incredibly romantic!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Healthy, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent service, great ambience and su ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

Excellent service, great ambience and sumptuous dinner

Tags: Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Modern Decor, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

During a weekend stay in CA I went to a ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

During a weekend stay in CA I went to a highly rated restaurant with girlfriends, I had fun but wanted my beloved with me. When I got home I told him I wanted us to go to "fancy places". Two minutes later via Google he found Monarch. We made our reservations a month in advance because I was so excited. Monarch did not let down. Not only was the food amazing, sitting outside at sunset was beautiful and romantic, and the service was spectacular. I look forward to our future date nights their.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We received a generous gift certificate ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

We received a generous gift certificate from Daniela Harrison , our outstandingly talented Travel Agent from Avenues of the World in Flagstaff. Since it is a forty-minute drive to the Monarch from our North Phoenix home, we waited to use it until our fifty-fifth wedding anniversary. It was a typically hot early September night in Scottsdale, but the overhead misting system made outside dining a "Must Experience" special treat for this time of year. We requested a moderately-priced Silverado Chardonnay when we made our on-line reservations because this particular wine brings back memories of many great meals with close friends.

We made several contrasting choices from the great selections available on their fixed price menu. The wine was wonderful with my wife's Chilean Sea Bass entre'. Since I am an old Redneck from the Carolinas, it was also compatible with my Filet. We traded taste-test bites with each course, and the entire meal was delightful. We had to skip desert because we were stuffed.....and old folk need to get their sleep soon after eating a big meal .

Special thanks to all of the wait-staff that took such great care of us and helped Sam spoil us completely. We can't afford to make this a weekly event, but we will be back for other important special occasions.

Love Birds from Phoenix, AZ

Tags: Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful in every way! We look forward ...

 
 (Omaha)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

Wonderful in every way! We look forward to dining at Monarch again. The courtyard is just exquisite and the food and service were outstanding.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Took my fiance for her birthday and coul ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on September 2, 2016

Took my fiance for her birthday and couldnt have picked a better place. The staff and the food are incredible. The atmosphere of the restaurant tops everything off.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Great Beer, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This is the best special occasion restau ...

vip
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on August 28, 2016

This is the best special occasion restaurant in the valley in the most romantic as well. The food is Superior in the service is impeccable.

Tags: Romantic, Molecular Gastronomy, Tasting Menu, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Good Vegetarian Options, Great for Outdoor Dining, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

One of the most memorable meals I have h ...

vip
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on August 28, 2016

One of the most memorable meals I have had whilst living here in Phoenix. The restaurant is stunning , the food ,service and attention to detail surpassed all our expectations. Monarch is definitely in my top three for restaurants in the area. Thank you for make our evening so special.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Delicious find in old town Scottsdale. ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on August 28, 2016

Delicious find in old town Scottsdale. Almost everything about The Monarch was perfect, except the lack of air conditioning (it appeared to operate on swamp cooling and misters and fans). The four course prix fixe meal was absolutely delightful. We were more than satisfied with each vegetarian option, and they had one of our favorite wines to accompany the meal. The ambiance is lovely, perfect for a date or small celebration (not so much for a rowdy crowd).

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Good Vegetarian Options, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Great for Outdoor Dining, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Easily one of the best meals and most be ...

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on August 28, 2016

Easily one of the best meals and most beautiful restaurants I have ever been to. Incredible service wasn't overly solicitous. It felt like being in the south of France under the stars. We loved it here.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Local Ingredients, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I took my wife here for a night out and ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on August 28, 2016

I took my wife here for a night out and it was outstanding. I'm an eat to live as opposed to live to eat kind of person and I would love to eat here all the time. The ambiance was great, the service was wonderful and, again, the food was killer. Great place, go!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Great for Outdoor Dining, Cozy, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We came to Monarch to celebrate a few th ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 28, 2016

We came to Monarch to celebrate a few things, but this place would be perfect even for a date night. The prefixed menu was phenomenal and better yet, customizable for one of us as a vegetarian. Service was attentive. The strawberry cheesecake was a perfect ending to the night.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Always an amazing meal and ambiance and ...

vip
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on August 28, 2016

Always an amazing meal and ambiance and service. Best restaurant in Scottsdale Phoenix area!

Tags: Afternoon Tea, Healthy, Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Great for Outdoor Dining, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

First time dining inside restaurant. Noi ...

vip
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

First time dining inside restaurant. Noise is higher than on patio. Though still decorated lovely, my preference is outdoor dining at Monarch. The service & food was excellent as usually expected. Friendly, helpful and efficient. The food delicious - steak cooked to preferred temperature, fresh vegetables, flavors delightful. The soup was my favorite of the meal - a creamy cauliflower blended so beautifully - an elegant taste. The watermelon second course refreshed our palettes and so nice on a hot evening. Monarch continues to be very special and a place that I can count on to be worth the expense of the experience.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Lovely place, it our anniversary and the ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

Lovely place, it our anniversary and they made us feel very special. I highly recommend it!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.