About Monarch

6934 E. 1st Ave.
Scottsdale, AZ 85251
View Larger Map

Monarch, in Scottsdale, Arizona, offers contemporary American cuisine in a fine dining, ultra-romantic setting. Located in Old Town Scottsdale, we offer guests a seasonal, chef-inspired 4-course prix fixe menu, which changes weekly. Our intimate candlelit courtyard and romantic dining room are surrounded with vines, lanterns and bubbling fountains. The chef at Monarch is chef/owner Gus Lewkowicz and is family owned and operated . Monarch is open for dinner Tuesday-Sunday. 

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
HOURS OF OPERATION:

Monday: Closed
Tuesday - Thursday 5:30pm - 8:30pm
Friday - Saturday 5:30pm - 9:30pm
Sunday: Closed (For Summer Only)




Cross Street:
NW Corner of 1st Ave and Goldwater BLVD

Dress Code:
Resort Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(480) 970-7682

Website:
http://cafemonarch.com/

Parking Details:
On site parking

Executive Chef:
Gus Lewkowicz

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Beer, Chef's Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Private Room, View, Wine

Restaurant Photos

  • Monarch
  • Monarch
  • Monarch
  • Monarch
  • Monarch
  • Monarch
  • Monarch
  • Monarch
Monarch
Monarch
Monarch
Monarch
Monarch
Monarch
Monarch
Monarch

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Monarch Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.9

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.9

service

4.9

ambience

4.9

value

4.5

noise

Moderate

98% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Phoenix / Arizona
Best Food
Phoenix / Arizona
Best Service
Phoenix / Arizona
13 More
Best Ambiance
Phoenix / Arizona
Best Value
Phoenix / Arizona
Romantic
Phoenix / Arizona
Contemporary American
Phoenix / Arizona
Best Overall
Phoenix / Scottsdale
Best Food
Phoenix / Scottsdale
Best Service
Phoenix / Scottsdale
Best Ambiance
Phoenix / Scottsdale
Best Value
Phoenix / Scottsdale
Outdoor Dining
Phoenix / Scottsdale
Romantic
Phoenix / Scottsdale
Special Occasion
Phoenix / Scottsdale
Contemporary American
Phoenix / Scottsdale
Best Restaurants in Scottsdale ›

romantic (239)
special occasion (236)
great for outdoor dining (183)
See All
fit for foodies (177)
notable wine list (94)
neighborhood gem (90)
hot spot (24)
good for groups (16)
scenic view (16)
great for brunch (6)
late-night find (4)
great for lunch (4)
kid-friendly (1)
vibrant bar scene (1)
Sort By:
Newest
786 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Exquisite from start to finish

 
 (Denver)
·Dined 2 days ago

Exquisite from start to finish

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Best ambience service and food in all of ...

vip
 (Phoenix)
·Dined 4 days ago

Best ambience service and food in all of the greater Phoenix area!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Absolutely the best waitstaff in The Val ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Absolutely the best waitstaff in The Valley that I have seen

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing overall experience!

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Amazing overall experience!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Monarch has a lot of potential. Unfortu ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Monarch has a lot of potential. Unfortunately we were seated in an awkward corner, where there was a loud portable air conditioner humming. The noise must echo throughout the dining room because it was louder than it seemed it should be. Now that is where the complaints stop. The food was amazing. Because it was our 11th wedding anniversary, we started with a glass of wine while we looked over the options. Even though I love to eat, I walked away satisfied with the four course meal, probably because it is a slow dining experience, great for an anniversary dinner. Each dish was unique andvery tasty. The last course was a mouth watering filet mignon cooked to perfection. The price leaves this to be a special occasion dining experience, but worth it if you are with beautiful wife, like I was.

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service4
value2

We have always selected Cafe Monarch fo ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

We have always selected Cafe Monarch for special occasions, and have never been disappointed.

The reservation was confirmed by phone a day prior.

It was my birthday, and the staff went out out of their way to make it over the top for me with attentive service, excellent food and a special treat at the end of the meal.

The menu varies with seasonal availability, but we especially like the filet minon, and chilean sea bass for the entree. The food is prepared with innovation and creativity. Take a peak at the online menu to see the exotic FRESH ingredients. This is truly a wonderful meal and we look forward to visiting again soon.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Amazing and unbelievable!! We will go ba ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Amazing and unbelievable!! We will go back and recommend it for sure.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our Kansas City guests really enjoyed th ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Our Kansas City guests really enjoyed this restaurant.

Tags: fit for foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Our evening at the Cafe Monarch ranks a ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Our evening at the Cafe Monarch ranks among the best dining experiences we’ve had the pleasure to enjoy. The physical space was engaging, and filled with ambiance. The service was excellent – attentive without being intrusive (our waiter, Sam, knew the menu inside and out and made some spot on recommendations). And the food! Superbly nuanced flavors marked each of the several courses served. Cafe Monarch now has a place on our favorites list!

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

the food was interesting and well prepar ...

vip
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on July 13, 2016

the food was interesting and well prepared. The best dish that we had was the Chilean Sea Bass. Some of the other dishes, such as the Crispy Skin Chicken, had elements on the plate (puree of celeriac?) that were too sweet for me and affected the otherwise delicious chicken.

The wine pairing was good, not great. Next time we will likely just go for a bottle we love. There are good choices.

Overall, a lovely evening and a terrific server.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

The food was a culinary journey with out ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

The food was a culinary journey with outstanding Flavors. Our server Sam was exceptional and full of knowledge on both food and wine.

Monarch is a must and Sam makes the experience even better! We are looking forward to returning soon.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

went here to celebrate an anniversary. A ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

went here to celebrate an anniversary. Awesome service, food, and ambience. Definitely pricey but have absolutely no complaints. Comped us a dessert and the serve was knowledgable. Close walk to many places in old town. Would definitely recommend it/have already recommended it to friends.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value2

This was one of the best meals we have e ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

This was one of the best meals we have ever had! The service was wonderful, our table was tucked back in a quiet corner and our meal was incredible! Looking forward to the fall when we can dine outside in the lovely court yard.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The waiter was knowledgeable and knew al ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

The waiter was knowledgeable and knew all the ingredients of every dish. Advised us about how each course was prepared and was very helpful and courteous. They gave my girlfriend a small gift for her birthday which she absolutely loved. Nice touch. Very reasonable given the amount of courses included.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, late-night find, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing food, wine pairings, and service ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

Amazing food, wine pairings, and service. Delightful evening!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Felt so special with the extra attention ...

vip
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

Felt so special with the extra attention and treats as well celebrated our anniversary. We will definitely be back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Our service was fantastic and the food w ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

Our service was fantastic and the food was delicious. The courses were perfectly portioned, and the ambience could not be beat. We sat outside in the garden and it was very romantic. I loved this experience, and I recommend it to foodies or couples that want to have a romantic evening.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The Monarch Cafe is outstanding in every ...

vip
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

The Monarch Cafe is outstanding in every way. Nothing overlooked for guests to have a lovely and perfect dining experience. We look forward to returning again soon.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This is, without a doubt the best eating ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on June 29, 2016

This is, without a doubt the best eating in the Phoenix. It's not cheap but is very very good

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

A nice gem right in the heart of old tow ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on June 29, 2016

A nice gem right in the heart of old town Scottsdale. We had a very nice meal, exceeded expectations.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Our first time to eat at Cafe Monarch, f ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

Our first time to eat at Cafe Monarch, for our anniversary. It couldn't have been better. The courtyard was beautiful. Hope to return soon!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This is an incredible restaurant that my ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

This is an incredible restaurant that my wife and I were very pleased with for our 1-yr anniversary. Make sure you request a seat on their patio - it's spectacular. The food was exceptional and the service was great. Highly Recommend!

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

One of our best overall dining experienc ...

vip
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

One of our best overall dining experiences. The food, the ambiance and the service were superb! We were able to enjoy the secluded garden on this hot June evening thanks to the misters which gave the surroundings an ethereal feel. The atmosphere and music made you think you were in Europe. One of our party said, "this might be what it is like to have dinner in heaven". We celebrated an anniversary and birthday! We will be back for other special occasions. Thank you for a magical evening!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Amazing food, service and ambience! Seri ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

Amazing food, service and ambience! Seriously so good and memorable.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Been here on several occasion and have r ...

vip
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

Been here on several occasion and have recommended the restaurant to several of my friends and family. The service and food is consistent. Always fresh, well prepared and well presented. Service is always impeccable as well. Never disappointing.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Exceptional food! An experience to remem ...

vip
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

Exceptional food! An experience to remember.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Everything was outstanding. My wife's en ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on June 23, 2016

Everything was outstanding. My wife's entre was a little dry, but that is picking at nits. The service could not have been better and it was an ideal anniversary dinner. We highly recommend dining here.

Tags: romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Scott is amazing. We will return soon.

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Scott is amazing. We will return soon.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We discovered Monarch by chance a few ye ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

We discovered Monarch by chance a few years ago. Now, we make it a point to visit whenever we come to Scottsdale (from Chicago!). It is charming and quiet, and the staff is phenomenal. Chef is very accommodating (I have an allergy), and the food is amazing every time we come. And if you imbibe, don't pass up the wine pairings - they make the meal! When you combine all of this with a knowledgeable waitstaff who know how to time a meal, and a talented sommelier, you come up with one of the hidden gems of Old Town Scottsdale. I don't mind a 1400 mile commute for a date at Monarch!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Monarch is a local gem. Great food, serv ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Monarch is a local gem. Great food, service and atmosphere. It is a special place to celebrate a special occasion.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food is exceptional and the atmosphere w ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Food is exceptional and the atmosphere was very romantic.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

I honestly thought about just writing "w ...

vip
 (Dallas)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

I honestly thought about just writing "wow..." in this box and calling it a day. Partly because words do not do Monarch justice and also because genuinely outstanding reviews are sometimes the hardest ones to write! But make no mistake: Monarch is very charming and worthy of the accolades it has earned.

Right away, the outside courtyard makes for an outstanding dining environment. I've dined around the world and I would not hesitate to place Monarch in the top 10 dining destinations I've visited on atmosphere alone. (Fortunately, the meal and service are equally phenomenal, as well.)

White tablecloths, candles, lanterns, oil lamps, music playing (but not the kind that distracts or annoys), cobblestones and a pull-away awning allow for an immersive setting. Service is a team effort and very polished, with each staffer being attentive and friendly, but also efficient and not intrusive.

A four-course meal that changes regularly greets you, and now is a good time to recommend you come hungry! The chef selects wonderfully complementary flavors that combine for tastes that will take your tastebuds on a ride you won't want to end - seasoned tenderloin tips with sweet corn, tempura soft shell crab and more are just a fraction of the experience.

There are outstanding wine pairings for each course, if desired, and three delectable desserts to pick from, as well. There's a cocktail menu for drinks and coffee options to round out the selections if you still feel there is unoccupied space in your stomach needing to be filled.

I think finding yourself in a state of constant amazement is typical here. The service is brilliant, the menu offers something for everyone and the overall feel of the place is almost storybook-esque. That's really the perfect adjective to use for Monarch because sufficient words are tough to come by, rendering the entire visit like a fairytale come to life. Cheesy? Maybe. A happy ending I look forward to coming back to? Absolutely.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We have been to Cafe Monarch several tim ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on June 15, 2016

We have been to Cafe Monarch several times, and every time has been better then the last.

Very romantic , food ,music ,service, ambeonce , make for a unforgettable experience .

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very nice in every way. Staff was great ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

Very nice in every way. Staff was great and went out of there way to accommodate any request.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

We celebrated our anniversary at Monarch ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

We celebrated our anniversary at Monarch. When we arrived the hostess sat us right away and wished us a happy anniversary, as well as, the waiter when he came to the table. We sat on the patio and it is beautiful and quaint. The tables are a bit tight between each one, but still lovely. Our food was FANTASTIC and each course was nicely spaced out. We had requested another glass of wine and it took a while to arrive, however the waiter brought us another glass on the house. For dessert they presented us with a beautiful rum cake and a gift for our anniversary. Monarch is in our top 5 all time favorite restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The folks at Monarch gave me an extra sp ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

The folks at Monarch gave me an extra special birthday evening! The food and drink was exquisite from the presentation to the last bite. The waitstaff was very knowledgeable and gave us great advice on cocktails and wine pairings. At the end of the meal the waiter presented me with a complementary dessert and a small, lovely gift topped with a sparkler. The ambience was perfect for an intimate date night with my husband and we enjoyed ourselves immensely!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was incredible! We also enjoyed ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

The food was incredible! We also enjoyed the service and most importantly the atmosphere. I would recommend this place to anyone!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food and service were outstanding. Even ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

Food and service were outstanding. Even though the menu is prix fixe, there is something for everyone. Portions are filling by the time you get to dessert, you are full. I highly recommend this restaurant.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We saw the great reviews on Open table a ...

vip
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

We saw the great reviews on Open table about Monarch so decided to try it. It is lovely,,,,we sat outdoors on the back patio and tho the temp was warm (about 105) in the eve, it was bearable. Occasionally the misters would keep me too cool but overall a lovely nt. It was a Sat eve we were there which was quite crowded. The food and presentation was excellent, each course a culinary and flavor delight. My only complaint was how crowded it gets, perhaps would be less so on a weekday, Friday or Sunday. People were close to us on the table next to us and so prevented a certain privacy. Otherwise a lovely night.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Our anniversary dinner at Cafe Monarch w ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

Our anniversary dinner at Cafe Monarch was SPECTACULAR! The menu was delightful, the wine pairing was perfect, and our waiter Sam made the celebration SO special with a surprise anniversary dessert AND a present! The outdoor patio was lovely with plenty of misters. Highly recommend Cafe Monarch for a special occasion dinner.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.