About Monarch

6934 E. 1st Ave.
Scottsdale, AZ 85251
View Larger Map

Monarch, in Scottsdale, Arizona, offers contemporary American cuisine in a fine dining, ultra-romantic setting. Located in Old Town Scottsdale, we offer guests a seasonal, chef-inspired 4-course prix fixe menu, which changes weekly. Our intimate candlelit courtyard and romantic dining room are surrounded with vines, lanterns and bubbling fountains. The chef at Monarch is chef/owner Gus Lewkowicz and is family owned and operated .

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Seating Times:

Monday: Closed
Tuesday - Thursday 5:30pm - 8:30pm
Friday - Saturday 5:00pm - 9:30pm
Sunday: 5:30pm - 7:30pm




Cross Street:
NW Corner of 1st Ave and Goldwater BLVD

Dress Code:
Resort Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(480) 970-7682

Website:
http://cafemonarch.com/

Parking Details:
On site parking

Executive Chef:
Gus Lewkowicz

Additional:
Banquet, Beer, Chef's Table, Cocktails, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Wine

Restaurant Photos

  • Monarch, Scottsdale, AZ
  • Monarch, Scottsdale, AZ
  • Monarch, Scottsdale, AZ
  • Monarch, Scottsdale, AZ
  • Monarch, Scottsdale, AZ
  • Monarch, Scottsdale, AZ
  • Monarch, Scottsdale, AZ
  • Monarch, Scottsdale, AZ
Monarch, Scottsdale, AZ
Monarch, Scottsdale, AZ
Monarch, Scottsdale, AZ
Monarch, Scottsdale, AZ
Monarch, Scottsdale, AZ
Monarch, Scottsdale, AZ
Monarch, Scottsdale, AZ
Monarch, Scottsdale, AZ

Specials

New Year's Eve Special Menus & Offers

Saturday, December 31, 2016

Specials

New Year's Eve Special Menus & Offers

Saturday, December 31, 2016

Details

Come ring in the New Year with a special 4 course prix fixe menu. $150/person.

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Monarch Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.9

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.9

service

4.9

ambience

4.9

value

4.4

noise

Moderate

99% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Phoenix / Arizona
Best Food
Phoenix / Arizona
Best Service
Phoenix / Arizona
12 More
Best Ambiance
Phoenix / Arizona
Outdoor Dining
Phoenix / Arizona
Romantic
Phoenix / Arizona
Contemporary American
Phoenix / Arizona
Best Overall
Scottsdale
Best Food
Scottsdale
Best Service
Scottsdale
Best Ambiance
Scottsdale
Romantic
Scottsdale
Special Occasion
Scottsdale
Contemporary American
Scottsdale
Most Booked
Scottsdale

Special Occasion (157)
Romantic (149)
Good for Anniversaries (117)
See All
Great for Outdoor Dining (116)
Good for a Date (99)
Fit for Foodies (95)
Creative Cuisine (78)
Cozy (63)
Notable Wine List (59)
Good for Birthdays (58)
Quiet Conversation (57)
Neighborhood Gem (50)
Worth the Drive (50)
Local Ingredients (41)
Handcrafted Cocktails (40)
Tasting Menu (34)
Authentic (30)
Hot Spot (15)
Seasonal (14)
Healthy (12)
Pre/post Theatre (12)
Scenic View (12)
Good Vegetarian Options (10)
Historic (10)
Business Meals (10)
Fun (10)
Molecular Gastronomy (9)
Outstanding Value (7)
Casual (6)
Organic (5)
Good for Groups (5)
Gluten Free Options (4)
Private Room (4)
Sunday Lunch (4)
Late-night Find (3)
Modern Decor (3)
Afternoon Tea (2)
Great for Brunch (2)
Vegan (2)
Fireplace (2)
Comfort Food (2)
Great Beer (1)
People Watching (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Waterfront (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Bar Seating (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Sort By:
S
1013 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Ordinary food presentation and quality. ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined 3 days ago

Ordinary food presentation and quality. Silly wine list

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4

Best dining experience I've ever had. I ...

 
 (Caribbean)·Dined 3 days ago

Best dining experience I've ever had. I was my birthday, and was quite amazing. Actually going to go again before I leave it was so good.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Business Meals, Worth the Drive, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I am experienced in fine dining and ther ...

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined 5 days ago

I am experienced in fine dining and there is no question - this is the finest restaurant in the greater Phoenix area! A thoughtful menu of delicious gourmet food and the best service anywhere.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food, but for 4 courses and $260 ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined 6 days ago

Great food, but for 4 courses and $260 later- you think we would go home full. They gave ONE shrimp for a course, 3 tablespoons of soup, a fistful of salad. Again, all that is fine but then charge us less. Ambiance was gorgeous and the food was great but just way overpriced

Tags: Cozy, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value1

Incredibly romantic anniversary. Ambian ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined 6 days ago

Incredibly romantic anniversary. Ambiance was amazing, food was superb, and staff was incredible. Flawless experience!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great ambiance for a romantic night out. ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 6 days ago

Great ambiance for a romantic night out. Excellent service.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

One of the better meals I have had in my ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined 6 days ago

One of the better meals I have had in my life, and I have eaten at some of the best places in North America and Europe, many of them Michelin ranked.

These items from Cafe Monarch made the top of my list:

  • Best filet mignon (it was cooked to perfection)

  • Best scallops (I have eaten thousands of scallops as I'm from the Maritimes)

  • Best lava cake (it was even gluten free)

  • #2 soup (my grandmother's mushroom soup with freshly picked Finnish mushrooms beats Cafe Monarch by a hair)

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Cozy, Tasting Menu, Good for Anniversaries, Gluten Free Options, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Yup---all the hype was right---an extrao ...

vip
 (Miami)·Dined 7 days ago

Yup---all the hype was right---an extraordinary experience---beautiful space, spectacular food, terrific wine list---the servers are a tad stiff--but the owner is a delight---

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent wine pairings with very flavor ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined 7 days ago

Excellent wine pairings with very flavorful dishes served very esthetically. Great for special occasions. Expensive but well worth it

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Nice mix of pre-fixe menu and choices. ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 7 days ago

Nice mix of pre-fixe menu and choices. All food excellent and the service was impeccable....probably helped by the fact they were not super busy. Sommelier did an excellent job

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Amazing! Beautiful atmosphere, food and ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on November 21, 2016

Amazing! Beautiful atmosphere, food and service! An absolute experience overall! Thank you for making my husbands birthday so special!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was one of the most amazing meals w ...

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on November 20, 2016

This was one of the most amazing meals we have ever had! My boyfriend and I had been waiting to come here for over a year and it was the most amazing experience! Our server, Sam, was phenomenal and took such great care of us. The food was impeccable! I have noticed that tasting menus can provide a small entree, however that was not the case! The filet was the perfect portion!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Monarch neve disappoints. Their fixed me ...

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on November 20, 2016

Monarch neve disappoints. Their fixed menu, beautiful dining room and gorgeous patio guarantee a relaxing and smooth romantic dinner. Their rum cake is a perfect light dessert. This was our third time there and we will visit again!

Tags: Tasting Menu, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Absolutely outstanding restaurant for sp ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on November 20, 2016

Absolutely outstanding restaurant for special occasions! Have visited twice now and was

"Wowed" both times- amazing, creative food presented elegantly by knowledgeable staff- worth every penny! Every single thing we tasted this weekend was delicious- I seriously wanted to lick the bowls of the cauliflower and the squash soups! Multiple staff wished me a happy birthday and really made me feel special- the complimentary dessert with the sparkler in it and little gift they presented me with sealed the deal-and BTW- the patio is a MUST- so romantic- like being in an enchanted forest!! You could easily imagine fairies flying around! For all of these reasons, Cafe Monarch is our favorite "special occasion" restaurant !!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Absolutely the best experience! I've eat ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on November 20, 2016

Absolutely the best experience! I've eaten all over the world and Monarch is at the top. Great food, wonderful ambience, impeccable service, just a wonderful evening!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great food and romantic ambiance. It is ...

 
 (Corpus Christi)·Dined on November 19, 2016

Great food and romantic ambiance. It is a must if you visit Scottsdale.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Enjoyed Cafe Monarch 5 visits and it is ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on November 19, 2016

Enjoyed Cafe Monarch 5 visits and it is consistently wonderful. The ambiance and food are simply outstanding!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Organic, Healthy, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

How could I ever possibly say something ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on November 19, 2016

How could I ever possibly say something bad about this place. Yeah sure, it is more money than normal, but you get what you pay for 100%.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food and service. Will definitely ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on November 19, 2016

Great food and service. Will definitely return on our next anniversary.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Overall we loved this place. The food w ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on November 19, 2016

Overall we loved this place. The food was fabulous and the outdoor dining perfect. Great location. I wasn't sure what to recommend the restaurant for as I was too busy enjoying myself to pay particular attention to "other" details.

We would highly recommend the Monarch and will be going back many more times. (Even if it gets too cold to sit outside)

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Fun, Great for Outdoor Dining, Authentic, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

An absolutely charming place to enjoy a ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on November 19, 2016

An absolutely charming place to enjoy a very creative menu.

The service is also superb.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Handcrafted Cocktails, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

An experience to remember. Ambience was ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on November 18, 2016

An experience to remember. Ambience was amazing, particularly outdoor courtyard, but inside seating was pretty and romantic as well. Great service. Food was 4+/5

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

This was one of the most romantic and sp ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on November 18, 2016

This was one of the most romantic and special dinners my wife and I have ever had. Incredible food, service and ambience made our 9th Anniversary truly amazing!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

One of our best eating experiences ever.

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on November 18, 2016

One of our best eating experiences ever.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I had read the reviews and hoped for the ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on November 17, 2016

I had read the reviews and hoped for the best (you never entirely trust what you read online).

The restaurant was exactly what I had hoped for and more... We were lucky with the weather, sat in the inner courtyard that is open air and enjoyed great food under a beautiful atmosphere of patio plants and dimmed light as if we were somewhere in a country estate in Italy. We were lucky with the weather, so it was neither too hot or cold. They have a multi-course menu for $80 and while obviously an expense it is worthy for a special occasion. It was a birthday celebration and we were a party of 8. It was on a Wednesday so the restaurant was not crowded and the service attentive. Perfect place for a romantic date too :)

Tags: Molecular Gastronomy, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fabulous as usual. My favorite Phoenix r ...

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on November 16, 2016

Fabulous as usual. My favorite Phoenix restaurant by far.

Tags: Idéal pour les plus fins palais, ldéal pour manger en plein air, Repas d’affaires
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

A surprising experience! Good was excell ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on November 16, 2016

A surprising experience! Good was excellent! Service was outstanding! Ambiance was something special! Scott created a perfect evening for us. I would recommend Cafe Monarch for anyone looking for that special place.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Molecular Gastronomy, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We choose this restaurant because it had ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on November 14, 2016

We choose this restaurant because it had good reviews on yelp when searching romantic restaurants in Scottsdale. When we first pulled up, the restaurant is a little unassuming, to the point we thought we had the wrong place. Upon entering their outdoor patio, you instantly fall in love. The waiter was polite, well spoken, and very knowledgeable about the menu. Once the food started arriving, we were sold. The food was FANTASTIC. Delicious, tasty, unique. Would definitely recommend this gem to anyone

Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food and service was superb. Thank Y ...

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on November 14, 2016

The food and service was superb. Thank You So Much.

Tags: Authentic, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We celebrated a special birthday as out ...

 
 (Poconos)·Dined on November 13, 2016

We celebrated a special birthday as out of towners and could not have been happier with our restaurant choice. The ambiance was amazing with candles, greenery and beautiful romantic decor everywhere. Loved the delicious complimentary appetizers while we waited for our table. Amazing service and our waiter was tentative and helpful with meal choices. They even presented the birthday girl with a special birthday keepsake gift. Highly recommend this gorgeous restaurant!

Tags: Good for a Date, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Amazing dining experience in old town Sc ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on November 13, 2016

Amazing dining experience in old town Scottsdale. Service was spot on and the food delicious. Rum cake for dessert may very well be the best dessert EVER !!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

This is easily the BEST restaurant in Ph ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on November 13, 2016

This is easily the BEST restaurant in Phoenix! It is hidden away just south and east of Scottsdale Fashion Square. We got there and they instantly sat us at a cute outdoor table for two and served us an amazing appetizer, cucumber water, and we ordered a glass of champagne. After enjoying ourselves, our table was ready. I could have stayed at that little table another half hour, it was so nice! We were brought in through the restaurant, and I thought this is nice, but then we went through a door to a courtyard and I thought we walked through a magic door into a beautiful oasis! We were suddenly outside, but we weren't?! I could see the moon and the stars yet felt like we were in a cozy Parisian restaurant. It just kept getting better with great food, wine, and service! Two minutes later we were enjoying a movie. PERFECT evening!

Tags: Healthy, Pre/post Theatre, Local Ingredients, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Awesome place. Great food and the outsi ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on November 13, 2016

Awesome place. Great food and the outside patio is fabulous!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Monarch deserves 6 stars!!! The most sat ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 13, 2016

Monarch deserves 6 stars!!!

The most satisfying meal I have ever had.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Romantic, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was the best restaurant I have ever ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on November 13, 2016

This was the best restaurant I have ever been too. I took my best friend there to celebrate her birthday. From the moment we arrived, they greeted us by name and extended my friend birthday wishes along with a gift and dessert at the end of the meal. The service was impeccable and the food presentation was fabulous and delicious.

We also felt we were in a magic garden as for the patio dining. I can't say enough good things about the Monarch.

Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Expensive, we spent $300 for two, but ve ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Expensive, we spent $300 for two, but very romantic

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

I have been to Cafe Monarch several time ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on November 11, 2016

I have been to Cafe Monarch several times and have never been disappointed. The food is absolutely amazing - something you will not see on another menu. That paired with an incredible wine list, gorgeous as well as romantic atmosphere (especially on the outdoor courtyard) and incredibly attentive, knowledgeable and courteous staff, Cafe Monarch is a place you don't want to miss out on.

Tags: Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

An A+ in every way! The best service of ...

 
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on November 11, 2016

An A+ in every way! The best service of any restaurant I have ever been to! Please give it a try you will not be disappointed!

Tags: Romantic, Cozy, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This restaurant was amazing! The food w ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on November 10, 2016

This restaurant was amazing! The food was as beautiful and delicious as the atmosphere. What a find in Scottsdale - now I know what all my friends were talking about - Just Go!!

Tags: Fun, Creative Cuisine, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Outstanding!!!

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on November 10, 2016

Outstanding!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.