About Momofuku Má Pêche

15 W. 56th St.
New York, NY 10019
View Larger Map

Má Pêche is Momofuku’s only restaurant that doesn’t require a subway ride to get to if you’re coming from the MoMA, the Theater District, Central Park, or work: it’s in Midtown. Má Pêche (which means “mother peach”) serves breakfast, lunch, dinner, and weekend brunch.

At Má Pêche, guests may choose from a variety of a la carte offerings by Executive Chef Matt Rudofker. The restaurant also serves a large format meal, Pork Rack Char Siu, which serves 3 - 12 for lunch and dinner by reservation only.

For more information about large party dining at Má Pêche, please visit mapeche.momofuku.com/private-events.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Asian

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast: Monday - Friday: 7 am - 11 am
Saturday-Sunday: 7 am - 9 am


Brunch: Saturday - Sunday: 10 am - 2:30 pm


Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:30 am - 2:30 pm


Dinner: Sunday - Wednesday: 5 pm - 10 pm
Thursday - Saturday: 5:30 pm - 11 pm

Cross Street:
5th Avenue

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(212) 757-5878

Website:
http://mapeche.momofuku.com/

Catering:
Off-site catering is available.

Public Transit:
N,Q,R to 57th Street;
F to 57th Street;
1 to 59th Street;
E,M to 53rd Street;
4,5,6 to 59th Street

Executive Chef:
Matthew Rudofker

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Specials

Valentine's Day Special Menus & More

Tuesday, February 14, 2017

Specials

Valentine's Day Special Menus & More

Tuesday, February 14, 2017

Details

Thank you for your interest in celebrating Valentine's Day at Ma Peche! The price of our 5-course tasting menu is $85 per guest, and does not include beverage, tax or gratuity. Special beverage pairings will be available. For any questions regarding our Valentine's Day offerings, please contact us.

Momofuku Má Pêche Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

3.9

service

3.8

ambience

3.6

value

3.4

noise

Moderate

70% would recommend it to a friend

Creative Cuisine (40)
Fit for Foodies (33)
Casual (27)
See All
Modern Decor (21)
Good for a Date (16)
Fun (15)
Special Occasion (14)
Good for Groups (14)
Handcrafted Cocktails (13)
Hot Spot (12)
Comfort Food (12)
Business Meals (11)
Good for Birthdays (10)
Authentic (10)
Great for Lunch (9)
Pre/post Theatre (8)
Neighborhood Gem (7)
Bar Seating (7)
Good for Anniversaries (7)
Spicy (7)
Romantic (7)
Tasting Menu (7)
Sunday Lunch (6)
Quiet Conversation (6)
Cozy (5)
Kid-friendly (5)
Family Style (5)
Tapas (5)
Great for Brunch (4)
Late-night Find (4)
Healthy (4)
People Watching (3)
Notable Wine List (3)
Local Ingredients (3)
Worth the Drive (3)
Outstanding Value (3)
Happy Hour (2)
Great Beer (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Afternoon Tea (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Seasonal (2)
Quick Bite (1)
Organic (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Vegan (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
725 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Great food and service. Last minute rese ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined 2 days ago

Great food and service. Last minute reservations for 10. All diners enjoyed everything and we covered most of the menu!

Tags: Tasting Menu, Business Meals, Comfort Food, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great ambiance, however I did not think ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 2 days ago

Great ambiance, however I did not think the food was spectacular. I still would be open to trying new things on the menu, perhaps a bit more description on the menu would be helpful.

Tags: Modern Decor, Afternoon Tea, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value3

The food and service were superb - absol ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 3 days ago

The food and service were superb - absolutely spot on. I asked for a wine recommendation and expected the usual approach of the waiter seeing if I'd bite at the suggestion of a $100+ bottle - to my surprise, he recommended a bottle at the lowest price point on the menu and it absolutely blew us away. Major points for this! Oyster buns were killer, as was the smoked trout and chicharrónes. Sous vide steak melted in your mouth. The burger is exactly what you'd expect of Dave Chang - AMAZING. Oddly enough, the fries alongside the burger were one of the evening's real standouts. Generous portions left us nearly too full to visit MilkBar upstairs. We went anyway - the Cereal Milk Shake is an absolute life-changer!

Bit of a weird space, unfortunately, being underground. Definitely quieter than I would expect for a Saturday night. With a playful, yet restrained menu, would love to see a bit more fun injected into the ambience. Also, I can't say I know anyone who actually enjoys the concept of communal tables...why are they even a thing? In fact, patron made a bit of a scene at the bar while insisting he wait for a 4-top. To the staff's credit, they handled it very well.

Tags: Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Casual, Good for Birthdays, Fun, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Good over all. Great service. Wish a sli ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined 3 days ago

Good over all. Great service. Wish a slightly less seasoning, then taste would be perfect!! I would like to try other dishes if I would come back again.

Tags: Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value3

Lovely open space with excellent acousti ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined 3 days ago

Lovely open space with excellent acoustics. Conversation was easily audible despite communal tables. Seating also spacious and comfortable. Drinks were delicious while both small plates, entrees and side dishes were artfully prepared and yummy. Servings are a little small and the menu is a little short on vegetarian options, but overall a very nice dinner.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Casual, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

We went on a Saturday Morning~ The resta ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined 3 days ago

We went on a Saturday Morning~ The restaurant was not busy for the first 40 minutes, we were the only table. A big rush started to come in as we were leaving. The chicken and waffles were outstanding, like, best ever. The Rice Bowl with the brisket was a must, too. The bloody mary is completely unique, our server (forgot his name) was very attentive as well as the other workers that helped clear and check on us. Will go to again!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service5
value3

Very disappointing. Ever since they move ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined 4 days ago

Very disappointing. Ever since they moved from the Dim Sum type of offerings the food has seemed uninspired and perfunctory.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value1

We were there for a birthday with seven ...

 
 (New England)·Dined 4 days ago

We were there for a birthday with seven people and had a great time. We really appreciated that the waitress wrote specifics on which meals would work and which would not for one member of our party that had a few allergies (soy and gluten). There was only one main course that worked but thankfully it was one she wanted to eat the apps were delicious.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Overall, the food was marginal with a ve ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 7, 2017

Overall, the food was marginal with a very limited menu and minuscule drinks (two sips and they are gone -- not recommended for those of us who like a bit of a tipple). The service was average; underwhelming at best.

Additionally, the host did not smile or greet us when we arrived, and seemed to be put out that he had to get off his iPhone to seat us. Unfortunately, this interaction set the tone for the rest of the meal and experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value1

Menu has fallen a good bit. Sad as this ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 6, 2017

Menu has fallen a good bit. Sad as this has been my nyc must for several years. Entries limited, veggies unimaginative, small plates not as innovative. What happened?

Tags: Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value3

We went early, so it was pretty quiet. T ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on January 5, 2017

We went early, so it was pretty quiet. The menu is very creative with an interesting eclectic variety. We ordered a couple of small plates (beef cheek wontons and corned beef rice buns), a Roquefort, fried cauliflower and a large plate ( duck with wontons and black beans). It was hard to differentiate between the small and large plate items ( think tapas), but everything was fresh and outstanding. The beef cheek and duck were standouts. They also had a very nice beer menu. The room was a bit sparse, but that was partly to do with the time of day we were eating (6ish). Overall, a lovely food experience and the wait staff was attentive and knowledgeable.

Tags: Tapas, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

The guy welcoming us at the entrance was ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 31, 2016

The guy welcoming us at the entrance was on the phone with a friend and did not stop when we arrived...

Except from that nice restaurant but a little cold ambiance.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

Tenía la expectativa alta por ser parte ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Tenía la expectativa alta por ser parte de Momofuku, el menú muy restringido y muy normal la comida y nada especial el lugar. La gente y el servicio muy bueno eso si. Si quieres un lugar para hacer precopa con varios amigos es buena opción.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value4

Fun menu wit great quality. We loved th ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 30, 2016

Fun menu wit great quality. We loved the dumplings, the burgers and the duck.

Finally, deserts are great but I would struggle between the panna cotta and going upstairs to the Milk Bar; and having a shake with cookies.

Tags: Fun, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Interesting food. I particularly liked t ...

vip
 (Cleveland)·Dined on December 29, 2016

Interesting food. I particularly liked the fried chicken. Great sound track.

Tags: Spicy, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

We enjoyed a wonderful meal. I had aske ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 28, 2016

We enjoyed a wonderful meal. I had asked for my meat medium and it came our very rare. They quickly took it back and was returned perfectly. It is pricey but for a special occasion worth it. Very congested in the area as it is near Trump tower.

Tags: Vegan, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The food was very good. We got a varied ...

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on December 28, 2016

The food was very good. We got a varied selection of dishes from small plates to entrees and shared them among 4 people. The steak dish with Brussels sprouts was very good. Very tender high quality cut of steak was juicy and flavorful. The fried cauliflower was a delicious and meaty tasting dish, I think it was sauced with a thin and light but flavorful Vietnamese condiment Nuoc Mám which has fish sauce as the base, and citrus juice and vinegar and sugar and a little bit of chili peppers for some heat.

Though the flavor was good, the habanero fried chicken was too salty. Another ok dish was the pickled muscles. It was an interesting way to prepare muscles but was mainly just a novelty to taste. It wasn't a star.

David Chang's take on food is delicious and a great meal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

Food is pretty good but has a very limit ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 27, 2016

Food is pretty good but has a very limited menu. Some interesting appetizers on the menu but it seems to constantly be changing so check the menu before you commit to a reservation.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value3

What a wonderful meal! We chose MaPeche ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 26, 2016

What a wonderful meal! We chose MaPeche for a last minute family get together, grateful that they allow you to make large party reservations online. Our experience was great from start to finish. First of all, the menu is different but certainly has something for everyone. I was especially blow away by the little gem lettuce salad, and the oysters we had to start. The main course was a stunning short ribs and the rice cakes. The rice cakes were vegetarian and I could have eaten three orders by myself. So well-cooked with a slight exterior crunch and a creamy interior, glazed to perfection. I was beside myself. MaPeche also has a great selection of interesting, reasonably priced wines which we took advantage of. All told, it was a very lovely meal and I would go back again soon, and recommend you take your family too! Only downside: proximity to Trump Tower and the NYPD mess surrounding it. Kind of a bummer.

Tags: Casual, Fit for Foodies, Family Style, Kid-friendly, Fun, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Ma Peche never disaapoints. From the oys ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 25, 2016

Ma Peche never disaapoints. From the oyster buns small plate to the duck breast large plate, everything on the menu delights.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

All I remember that we just ate and ate ...

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on December 23, 2016

All I remember that we just ate and ate and ate and everything was so good!!!!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Healthy, Good for Birthdays, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Briliant, and fun. Inventive, great serv ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on December 23, 2016

Briliant, and fun. Inventive, great service~

Thanks very much - it was fabulous - every year I can go once!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Extremely disappointing this time. Poor ...

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on December 22, 2016

Extremely disappointing this time. Poor value, poor selection. Probably will not go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service2
value1

I enjoyed the food but the service was p ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 22, 2016

I enjoyed the food but the service was poor and not attentive.

Thank you!

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Family Style, Creative Cuisine, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value3

We don't live in NYC and this is our sec ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 21, 2016

We don't live in NYC and this is our second time at Ma Peche, just as good as 8 years ago. Also stop for cookies or cake upstairs at the Milk Bar. We will return, hopefully sooner than eight years.

Tags: Authentic, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

1. The waiter pressured me to order more ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 21, 2016
  1. The waiter pressured me to order more. I was not that hungry that time, but still wanted to taste mapeche delicious dishes. After I didn't order a lot, I felt like waiters were trying to kick us out. It was very uncomfortable.

  2. Food was amazingly good. This is something you cannot find other places.

  3. Boring space. No decoration, no artistic feature, you are surrounded by ...just a concrete wall in the basement. So, this is not a place for a romantic date. Not romantic, not fancy, It's a tiny, boring space, BUT food is excellent.

Tags: Good for Groups, Comfort Food, Tasting Menu, Casual, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience1
service3
value4

Great food fair prices for the quality o ...

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on December 21, 2016

Great food fair prices for the quality of the ingredients. I had a great time with mu husband.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3

They got rid of push cart service. Some ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 20, 2016

They got rid of push cart service. Some dish tastes different from before. But overall service is fine.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3

Great food, nice wines, friendly staff. ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 20, 2016

Great food, nice wines, friendly staff. Definitely make reservations!!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Hot Spot, Authentic, Tasting Menu, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

The food was OK, but honestly not what w ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 19, 2016

The food was OK, but honestly not what we were looking for. Service was above average.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

Really good food and outstanding service ...

vip
 (Orlando)·Dined on December 18, 2016

Really good food and outstanding service. Would definitely come back and bring friends over.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups, Authentic, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Very good food which fuses asian and wes ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 18, 2016

Very good food which fuses asian and western flavors.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

Very friendly and helpful staff. Took my ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 18, 2016

Very friendly and helpful staff. Took my wife and sons tonight and we all really enjoyed it.

Great food topped off with a bottle of champagne.

Recommend it to anyone interested in great food.

Worth every cent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

This place was awesome. We had a short w ...

 
 (West Virginia)·Dined on December 17, 2016

This place was awesome. We had a short wait and the upstairs bar and bartender were truly enjoyable!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I booked a table to celebrate with my fr ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 14, 2016

I booked a table to celebrate with my friends my mum's birthday. When we arrived for a very early dinner the two hostesses refused to seat my mum and I even though there were only a few people in the dining area due to a policy, when I explained that my 72 yr old mum just wanted to be able to sit at the table and sip on water until my two friends arrived they just smiled disingenuously and told us they couldn't. I asked a few more times since our friends were stuck in traffic and they refused to budge. Once one of my friends arrived they finally seated us and there were only a few people in the restaurant. They definitely put us off ever wanting to come again especially since their job is customer service. I understand there are policies but this one seemed ludicrous. Once we were seated the wait staff were very friendly but the restaurant no longer serves dim sum and the menu was limited and the food not memorable. We used to love coming, but after our last visit have no desire to go again. I hope those who do go have a better time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value1

This used to be a great place but with t ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 14, 2016

This used to be a great place but with the menu style change and service levels slipping I wouldn't recommend it anymore. This was the first time that I had been for lunch so perhaps there is a difference between the levels of service between then and dinner.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value2

An excellent and reasonably priced resta ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on December 13, 2016

An excellent and reasonably priced restaurant in a delightful hotel perfectly located in midtown Manhattan. We definitely will dine here again. We have had breakfast here everyday, however at breakfast the service is a little slow. Service was very good at dinner.

Tags: People Watching, Late-night Find, Tasting Menu, Casual, Authentic, Bar Seating, Pre/post Theatre, Creative Cuisine, Business Meals, Disabled Access, Neighborhood Gem, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value5

I made a reservation on recommendation o ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on December 11, 2016

I made a reservation on recommendation of a foodie friend in Boston, with the intention of having a dining experience. However, being a single diner with a reservation means I was seated at the bar. Bar seating can be ok if there is something to look at. At Ma Peche downstairs, the bar has a collection of interesting drawings by a local artist. The rest of the decor is a severe aesthetic. The walls were two stories high and covered in endless sweeps of white fabric. The pricing and ambience didn't inspire me to feast so I went with an entree only. I enjoyed the beautifully presented sable fish with shrimp, kohlrabi and curry. I don't claim to be a foodie but I am very picky about texture and temperature and it was perfection.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Bar Seating, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4
value2

Watch out and be farefuld that what's se ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 10, 2016

Watch out and be farefuld that what's served coincides w what's ordered

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value5

Okay- so my first time into Momofuku wor ...

vip
 (London)·Dined on December 10, 2016

Okay- so my first time into Momofuku world and besides the rocking lime habanero chicken, it's not for me or my daughter. I think it's a taste thing as opposed to any short coming on their part. She and I are not a fan of fatty meats and the corned beef starter as well as the braised rib were super fatty cuts. Flavors were good and the space is cool. Our waiter got switched in the middle of meal and for a bit it felt as if we were in no man's land.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.