About Momofuku Má Pêche

15 W. 56th St.
New York, NY 10019
View Larger Map

Má Pêche is Momofuku’s only restaurant that doesn’t require a subway ride to get to if you’re coming from the MoMA, the Theater District, Central Park, or work: it’s in Midtown. Má Pêche (which means “mother peach”) serves breakfast, lunch, dinner, and a weekend brunch. 

At Má Pêche, guests may choose from a variety of a la carte offerings, including chef specials for tables to share. A selection of passed plates are presented tableside to complement these dishes, creating a hand-selected, communal dining experience from Executive Chef Matthew Rudofker.

For more information about large party dining at Má Pêche, please visit mapeche.momofuku.com/private-events.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Asian

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast: Monday - Friday: 7 am - 11 am
Saturday-Sunday: 7 am - 9 am


Brunch: Saturday - Sunday: 10 am - 2:30 pm


Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:30 am - 2:30 pm


Dinner: Sunday - Wednesday: 5 pm - 10 pm
Thursday - Saturday: 5:30 pm - 11 pm

Cross Street:
5th Avenue

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(212) 757-5878

Website:
http://mapeche.momofuku.com/

Catering:
Off-site catering is available.

Public Transit:
N,Q,R to 57th Street;
F to 57th Street;
1 to 59th Street;
E,M to 53rd Street;
4,5,6 to 59th Street

Executive Chef:
Matthew Rudofker

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Delivery, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Momofuku Má Pêche Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4.1

ambience

3.7

value

3.6

noise

Moderate

81% would recommend it to a friend

fit for foodies (141)
good for groups (72)
hot spot (52)
See All
great for lunch (49)
special occasion (45)
neighborhood gem (29)
great for brunch (22)
romantic (13)
late-night find (12)
notable wine list (11)
vibrant bar scene (9)
kid-friendly (7)
Sort By:
Newest
565 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

I was expecting somewhat a little more e ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined 7 days ago

I was expecting somewhat a little more elegant setting judged over the pictures posted on their website. But the floor was sticky, tables and chairs are very casual and looked cheap. When we entered the lower floor, the clerk had to pick up dirty paper towel that was sitting on the floor as he led us to our table.

Food was great. I enjoyed the pork bun. Seared Bass over asian taste noodle was good too. The asparagus salad has tangy and refreshing dressing that goes very well with the vegetable and I liked it very much. Desserts were interesting, I would say, but did not suit to my taste.

The Crab Cobb Salad we ordered had smelly crab on it, and we had to cancel it. They accepted our request and gladly switched it to asparagus salad. (Actually the way they served the cobb salad was odd. All ingredients lined up in a shallow dish. It must be very difficult to mix and eat this, so we asked them to mix it in a bigger bowl or to bring a bowl to our table for mixing. Initially they declined our request, but since it was less busy hours, they mixed the salad for us in the kitchen.)

If you are tired of hamburgers or pizzas for your lunch on your work days, this place may give you interesting but made to fit Americans' taste Asian food.

Tags: good for groups, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

Food was good and staff was friendly but ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 20, 2016

Food was good and staff was friendly but not very good service. Just not enough attention to detail (food delivered with no silverware on table, long lapses without someone coming by table etc). Was told this was not the case last time someone in my party was there so hopefully just an off evening. Brisket sliders and hot chicken were highlights.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

Steak tartare amazing! Veggie pass-aroun ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on July 19, 2016

Steak tartare amazing! Veggie pass-around was broccoli with sunflower seeds & mayo; far from amazing. The habanero chicken was moist, spicy, but not a great value as not extremely unique. Overall, good , not great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Love the food! Busy, vibrant place!

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Love the food! Busy, vibrant place!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Loved the dim sum style service. Very un ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Loved the dim sum style service. Very unique and fun.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Pricey but delicious. Good service.The b ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Pricey but delicious. Good service.The best dish was the black bass.

Tags: fit for foodies, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Service was great. Bloody Mary was bette ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Service was great. Bloody Mary was better! I would definitely come back.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Outstandingly fast service - food arrive ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Outstandingly fast service - food arrived within 20 minutes of being seated!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

I arrived on time but Waited more than 3 ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

I arrived on time but Waited more than 30 minutes to be seated. During my wait I could see the restaurant was half full.

After getting menus and water waited 15 minutes to place a drink order - I did this by flagging down someone other than our waitress who was occupied taking orders from people who walked in minutes after we were seated.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1

Waited a long time because of an error i ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

Waited a long time because of an error in reservations. Other than that amazing!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

I don't like the changes to the cart ser ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

I don't like the changes to the cart service. That used to be part of the fun and the best food. Things were ok. The fried chicken was delicious. But overall not as good as it used to be.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3

We've been wanting to try this restauran ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

We've been wanting to try this restaurant for years, but were sadly disappointed when we finally went. We waited almost 30 minutes before anyone took our drink order, then another 30 minutes before anyone came back to take our food order. It was fairly empty and I saw at least 5 waiters/staff people walking around. There was also only one dim sum cart when we went, which we were willing to forgive, even though the allure of the restaurant is the cart selections, but the cart only came around once even though we asked our waitress if it could be sent back to us. The food itself was bland and I couldn't even drink my cocktail, it tasted like $13 nail polish remover. For as excited as we were to try this restaurant, we were all shocked at how disappointed we were when we left. I wish I could be kinder, but none of us could stop bringing up how shockingly bad of a time we had there for the rest of the day.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1
value2

We had a pre-wedding friends get togethe ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

We had a pre-wedding friends get together here. The staff was very accommodating, and the food was excellent. They described the large dishes as being "family style", but it was more like a single size portion. For dessert they brought us shakes from the milk bar (items which weren't on the dessert menu), and overall went out of their way to make us happy. Definitely a place to try out !

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The hostess first tried to put us at a c ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 6, 2016

The hostess first tried to put us at a communal table. We were eventually seated at a two person table in the corner. One of the first things that I noticed was now dirty the curtains were on the wall. They had stains and debris stuck all over them. After waiting 15-20 minutes a server finally came over to explain the menu and take the older.

Our server recommends that we order either 4-5 small plates or 2-3 small plates and 2 large plates. We decide on one small plate and two large plates and a bottle of wine to go with it.

Our small plate, the outrageously dry and stale tasting bbq brisket buns, showed up seconds after we put in our order. Our wine hadn't even been brought to our table yet. I thought the momofuku restaurants were famous for their buns. This bun tasted like it had been sitting in a steam pan for hours and was very dry and stale tasting.

After eating our buns, our wine finally arrived. Another random person showed us the wine and then walked away for another 10 minutes before coming back to pour us glasses.

Throughout the meal, our server would attempt to fill up our glasses and was consistently spilled red wine on the table and dripped it down the edge of the glasses. She chose to ignore this mistake and not clean it up.

Finally, well over an hour into our reservation our two large plates show up. We ordered the arctic char and the habanero fried chicken. The arctic char was spectacularly mediocre. It had the text of toothpaste and tasted like old creme fraische.

The habanero fried chicken was the only good item of the night. They bring you out a metal bucket full of fried chicken. While this chicken is good, it is nowhere near worth $28 it costs. Further, two mains was entirely too much food for two people, especially considering they bring around random salads (that are also spectacularly mediocre).

Overall this was one of the most overpriced and disappointing dining experiences I have had in NY.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service2
value1

David Chang is the man! Some of the bes ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 5, 2016

David Chang is the man! Some of the best food I have ever had in my life, period. The icing on the cake was the dessert selection from Milk Bar. Talk about creative. We went early and were rewarded with an almost empty restaurant but make no mistake this place gets packed i'm sure. The plates are meant to be shared so we ordered a bunch of different things including the Steak, the fish, a couple salads and veggie dishes and a few of the tapas going around the room. The oysters we fresh and fantastic as well. Mr. Chang....I salute you on creating another gem for this beautiful city to enjoy.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A bit disappointed... love the concept, ...

vip
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

A bit disappointed... love the concept, love Chang's food, but something felt not quite right with this one versus other Chang places I have been to. My thoughts are the servers push a little more food than you want (2 small plates, 2 large plates, plus any of the passed plates... well that is a bunch of food for 2 people. The food itself is great, some old standards (the bun with oysters was superb), the raw bar was also perfect. Pork chop was very good if not very inspired. The biggest problem is the value - seems pretty expensive (and I have no problem dropping a lot of money on a dinner). Service was friendly if a little at times spacey (never did get the cider we ordered at the start of dinner, never pursued it either). To me it would be better as a full on dim sum experience, but alas I don't think that's what it will be.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value2

Fun, interesting menu. Food was great th ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

Fun, interesting menu. Food was great though the BBQ carrots were a bit salty for my taste. Our server Julia was delightful - helpful, attentive, and cheerful. Was very quiet, but it was a holiday weekend.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

What's all the fuss about the brand? Too ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 27, 2016

What's all the fuss about the brand?

Too pretentious for what it delivers.

Tags: fit for foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

Waiter and the passed dishes servers wer ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on June 27, 2016

Waiter and the passed dishes servers were great! Food was exceptional and a good value. Yum! Decor and ambiance left sething to be desired. Cookies were great, cereal milk ice cream was gross.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5

The food was OK. The service was a litt ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

The food was OK. The service was a little odd and very slow. Not going back.

Tags: vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service1
value1

Great overall experience. Service was o ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on June 23, 2016

Great overall experience. Service was outstanding - Julia was our waitress...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

A bit disappointing after all the David ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 22, 2016

A bit disappointing after all the David Chang hype, but food was good but not good enough to return for.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

Indifferent service, harsh environment, ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 22, 2016

Indifferent service, harsh environment, not really a comfortable place to sit and enjoy a meal with friends. food is good, but not a wow

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1
value2

Unusual dining experience, but the four ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on June 20, 2016

Unusual dining experience, but the four of us were in the mood for it. The large plates were excellent; smalls were inconsistent. Great drinks. Our server was awesome, but I feel like we got lucky. I'd go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4

It had a pretty cold atmosphere. The se ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on June 20, 2016

It had a pretty cold atmosphere. The servers were nice and the food was good. I guess I expected more from a David Chang restaurant. They tried to hard to make it unique.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4
value2

Be sure to check your check. There are ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Be sure to check your check. There are many small plates with unusual names. We had 3 items on our check that we didn't order.

Tags: fit for foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value2

Father's Day dinner was AWESOME. Such a ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Father's Day dinner was AWESOME. Such a fun meal which was a mix of small plates and Ma Peche's "dim sum" style cart style.

Tags: fit for foodies, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Such attention to detail--:down to the i ...

 
 (Atlantic City)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Such attention to detail--:down to the ice in the drinks. Really really great food and service. We'll be back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great meal with wonderful service! Our s ...

vip
 (Atlantic City)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

Great meal with wonderful service! Our server was very knowledgeable about menu items ... Spot on with her suggestions!

Great drinks!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, late-night find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Service and wine selection were good. F ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on June 16, 2016

Service and wine selection were good. Food was mediocre and overrated.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value2

Fun place with great, creative cuisine. ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 15, 2016

Fun place with great, creative cuisine. The small plates and pass plates are the best and the most fun. Service is casual and friendly, no airs, even though it's an upscale place. Great flavors and great mix of flavors and textures.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

We totally did not understand the flavor ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 15, 2016

We totally did not understand the flavors even if the ideas are creative.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service4
value1

Great funky food, well worth a try. Uniq ...

 
 (London)
·Dined on June 14, 2016

Great funky food, well worth a try. Unique dishes you won't have seen anywhere else

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

The broccoli salad is so delicious I cou ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

The broccoli salad is so delicious I could eat three bowls. I recommend crack pie with cereal milk ice cream for dessert.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Menu concept confusing

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 10, 2016

The printed menu lists small plates and large plates.

The server said everything was meant to be shared.

When asked how small was the small salad, the server pointed to the bread plate and said it was sort of that size but the serving wasn't a large heap. We ordered two. When the salads arrived, they were very generous. Too much for us. Another server graciously took one back to the kitchen. But inaccurate info about portion size makes it difficult to place an order.

In addition, after we ordered, we were told that there were roaming carts of other food, not on the menu, which could be ordered similarly to a dim sum restaurant. A further confusing element.

I think the management should re-consider and re-organize the dining concept and, for sure, inform the customers from the get-go about all the food they are serving. is available.

Tags: fit for foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

Fun evening in nyc

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on June 9, 2016

We loved our experience at momofuku. Delicious food and great ambiance. I love the food that is offered up after you order. It was fun to experience new food options and favors you might not order otherwise. Definitely a restaurant I would eat at again.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Incredible buns

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 8, 2016

Choice sakes. Brisket buns are deadly. Crack pie very yum.

Tags: fit for foodies, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Amazing food, everything was so delectable!!

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 8, 2016

My only criticism is the space and decor. It wasn't so bad that it distracted from the food or would prevent me from returning. The pork buns were perfectly sweet and savory. Asparagus salad blew me away! It was so interesting, flavors were indescribable!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for lunch, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

Good discovery in nyc

 
 (London)
·Dined on June 7, 2016

The ambience was great, the food was good and the service was good and staff was very nice.A little expensive but u can't have it all. Good discovery in NYC

Tags: fit for foodies, romance, lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value1

Not a great dining experience

 
 (New England)
·Dined on June 5, 2016

I think the restaurant was trying a bit too hard with the small and large courses supplemented by dim sum at the table which you couldn't plan for in advance. Overall we left very disappointed in the food. Also, it would be a more ambient dining experience if the lights weren't so bright.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service3
value1

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.