About Momofuku Má Pêche

15 W. 56th St.
New York, NY 10019
View Larger Map

Má Pêche is Momofuku’s only restaurant that doesn’t require a subway ride to get to if you’re coming from the MoMA, the Theater District, Central Park, or work: it’s in Midtown. Má Pêche (which means “mother peach”) serves breakfast, lunch, dinner, and a weekend brunch. 

At Má Pêche, guests may choose from a variety of a la carte offerings, including chef specials for tables to share. A selection of passed plates are presented tableside to complement these dishes, creating a hand-selected, communal dining experience from Executive Chef Matthew Rudofker.

For more information about large party dining at Má Pêche, please visit mapeche.momofuku.com/private-events.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Asian

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast: Monday - Friday: 7 am - 11 am
Saturday-Sunday: 7 am - 9 am


Brunch: Saturday - Sunday: 10 am - 2:30 pm


Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:30 am - 2:30 pm


Dinner: Sunday - Wednesday: 5 pm - 10 pm
Thursday - Saturday: 5:30 pm - 11 pm

Cross Street:
5th Avenue

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(212) 757-5878

Website:
http://mapeche.momofuku.com/

Catering:
Off-site catering is available.

Public Transit:
N,Q,R to 57th Street;
F to 57th Street;
1 to 59th Street;
E,M to 53rd Street;
4,5,6 to 59th Street

Executive Chef:
Matthew Rudofker

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Delivery, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Momofuku Má Pêche Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4.0

ambience

3.7

value

3.6

noise

Moderate

80% would recommend it to a friend

Fit for Foodies (115)
Good for Groups (61)
Hot Spot (46)
See All
Special Occasion (36)
Great for Lunch (35)
Neighborhood Gem (22)
Great for Brunch (15)
Romantic (13)
Late-night Find (11)
Notable Wine List (8)
Vibrant Bar Scene (8)
Kid-friendly (4)
Scenic View (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Casual (1)
Sort By:
Newest
591 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

We have been to Mamofuko Ma Peche a numb ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined 4 days ago

We have been to Mamofuko Ma Peche a number of times. The food was good but not exceptional. It seems that the restaurant is running on automatic. It used to feel more innovative. We were there, though, on a weekday for lunch, but that is often when we dined at Ma Peche. The dishes that circulated around the tables were few and not very interesting. The service was fine and we always like the way the restaurant looks and feels. We will go back again but not as eagerly as in the past.

Tags: Modern Decor, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

Amazing food.

 
 (Manchester)
·Dined 4 days ago

Amazing food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

My first time at Ma Peche. Food was good ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined 5 days ago

My first time at Ma Peche. Food was good, but have been to the other David Chang restaurants many times Ma Peche was not up their level. I am a big fan of his food. I would go back to Ma Peche only if I was in the uptown area. Otherwise, I'll so south to either Noodle Bar or SSam Bar.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value4

First, the hotel is hidden inside a hote ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

First, the hotel is hidden inside a hotel. Alert. We ordered a reasonably expensive bottle of champagne . No champagne glasses ( at $100 a bottle). Hash is great. Fried chicken fantastic. Second bottle of champagne made the place more tolerable. The described wandering food cart almost never came. Atmosphere is sparse. Oysters were small but good. The wine list is a joke, except for the prices. Would not go again although a hedge fund friend says it's better during the week. We went for Sunday brunch. Small venue with too many kids. So many much better places for $450 for four. One who drank only coffee. Bartender up top, when asked to make a certain drink, " I can but I don't want to". So ordered two Vinos. Both were corked ! Really? How can this happen?

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service1
value2

We had gone for the brunch. Nothing exci ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

We had gone for the brunch. Nothing exciting about the food for the price paid. The service was also average. We had the pork buns (good), avocado toast (very average for the price), chicken with waffles (good but nothing to rave about for the price) and french toast (too greasy). The place (flooring and tables) had the look of an average diner. I am sorry but for the price paid would expect a far better place in terms of service, ambience and food

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value1

Had been to Momofuku Ssam Bar before and ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 18, 2016

Had been to Momofuku Ssam Bar before and was expecting a more casual vibe and a great meal. Read the reviews here before hand and got worried about what was in store ahead. The negative reviews were fairly accurate. It was a lousy meal. We left extremely disappointed.

The atmosphere is okay. A bit stark but nothing to distress about. The food, on the other hand, was mostly awful. The Dim Sum concept is poorly execute. We ordered three different Dim Sum items, only one, the beet salad was somewhat edible. The summer melon salad was extremely salty and surprising it even left the kitchen. The Dim Sum selection is very mundane and mostly consisted of different variations on vegetable/salady dishes. The other option was a shrimp and oyster cart that had nothing interesting going on.

Of the appetizer dishes we ordered the BBQ Pork Buns were outstanding and made the night. Sadly that was about it. The fluke crudo with passion fruit just didn't work and the salt and pepper shrimp were dry and fairly inedible. The main course was a Pork Chop that while okay, was fairly forgettable.

The service, in contrast, was strong and we left feeling poorly for the waitstaff whose best efforts at making us feel great about our meal were continuously sabotaged by an extremely mediocre kitchen execution.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service4
value2

Not memorable. Food ok but nothing excep ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 16, 2016

Not memorable. Food ok but nothing exceptional.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3

As a huge fan of David Chang and his mom ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 16, 2016

As a huge fan of David Chang and his momofuku empire, I had high hopes for this place. Being Vietnamese myself increased expectations even more. Sadly I was disappointed with the experience, the cart system (think dim sum) is gimmicky and doesn't belong here. They come along and offer some dishes, brief explanation and no prices given unless asked. If the chef thinks it's a good dish worth ordering, just put it on the menu so I can make my choices accordingly, not order my 4 or 5 dishes then find out what's rolling around the carts.

The food itself was just average, our two small plates were a lot better than our large ones. The tartare and fish crudo were quite good, the large bass and lamb dishes were terrible. If I didn't know I would have said the large plates came from a hot tray at the serve yourself counter from Whole Foods. The lamb in particular, although well cooked was completely bland and flavourless. Ssam bar this is not.

Our main waiter seemed bored and disenchanted, no energy or enthusiasm, didn't make us feel welcome at all. He briefly explained the small plates "concept" and did the typical plug for 5 plates for two people, then took off. I don't think we saw him again all evening until maybe our last bite of food, where he probably realized he wanted a tip and asked in passing how was the food... In a manner that made it clear he didn't care about the response.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2

The decor was better than the food. Was ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 15, 2016

The decor was better than the food. Was hoping for more flavorful and exciting food, but what we got was lacklustre and bland. The clientele seemed tourist posh, being in the center of hotels and midtown. We still hope to try one of the other momofuku bars.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3

I eat here every couple of months. The ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 15, 2016

I eat here every couple of months. The team continues to deliver!

Tags: Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Lousy service and below average food

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

Lousy service and below average food

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service1
value1

love this place... food is good (althoug ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

love this place... food is good (although, its not as good as it used to be). the thing that gets me is that the service starts good and then... poof... nothing. can't even get a refill on a cup of coffee... have to ask the waitress/waiter/busboy multiple times for the simplest things...

where is the david chang quality control...? sure food is important... but, if the connection with the patron is not there, the meal is not perfect (even if the food is).

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value3

Great food and good service. Staff very ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

Great food and good service. Staff very knowledgeable about the menu and helpful with suggestions and took precautions to make sure food sensitivities were addressed before any food was out. 👍🏼

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Food was really good - different too. L ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 11, 2016

Food was really good - different too. Lots of business people enjoying the 'scene'. Sparce setting.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Wonderful, interesting food! We especia ...

 
 (Virginia)
·Dined on August 11, 2016

Wonderful, interesting food! We especially enjoyed trying the dishes that were offered from trays being rolled around the restaurant.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Not the creativity I was hoping for from ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 8, 2016

Not the creativity I was hoping for from a David Chang restaurant, Spicy fried chicken was great, pork bun was stale but pork was fantastic, choices were a bit boring.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4
value3

AWFUL!!!Have been a number of time befor ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

AWFUL!!!Have been a number of time before and this time it was horrible. The waitstaff suggested sharing plates - WRONG FOR BRUNCH. Difficult to share a hamburger, eggs Benedict, soft shell crab sandwich, etc. they also keep trying to get us to order more food. The food itself was mediocre at very best and was dull and boring - I've had much better burgers in a neighborhood bar. Overpriced just added to the awful experience. Was entertaining friend from London and was mortified at how terrible it was.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

Great dining for groups..food was outsta ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

Great dining for groups..food was outstanding and interesting with a variety of flavors

Tags: Late-night Find, Great for Lunch, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Momofuku Ma Peche was a fun restaurant f ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

Momofuku Ma Peche was a fun restaurant for my husband and I to visit during our trip to NYC. At first, our waiter was a bit slow at taking our drink order, then asking us if we were ready to order our dishes for the evening. I received my glass of wine first, then my husband had to ask the waiter when his margarita would be here. The waiter then went back to the bar and appeared to place the drink order then. He did apologize for that mistake, but 20 minutes without a drink is a pretty long time.

Once the food started arriving though, we finally began to really enjoy our meal. The passed plates were fun! Especially the creamy corn and the roasted beets with ricotta. The carrots were unique and a fun way to kick off our meal. We enjoyed the oyster buns, but more so the fried oyster. The bun was too much bread for the amount of oyster and slaw. The star of the night was the lamb. It was extremely tender and the fava beans were the perfect salty accompaniment. The outside herb crust on the lamb was a little intense for me, but my husband loved it.

Definitely order the cereal milk soft serve. It's out of this world good! I could have had three cones if I wasn't already stuffed from dinner.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Group Bookings, Hot Spot, Romance, Scenic View, Special Occasions
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value4

The restaurant had plenty of empty seats ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

The restaurant had plenty of empty seats that night. They should space out the customers as I didn't see why we 3 pairs of customers had to squeeze in one side of long table while 50% of the of the table on the other side is completely empty.

The food quality is only standard and we were not impressed.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service2
value2

What a beautiful restaurant- high ceilin ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

What a beautiful restaurant- high ceilings, and sleek modern design. Great service- enjoyed the Americanized take on bringing food choices to you (similar to dim sum).

Food- the brisket buns were so good- a definite order. The lamb was delicious and heavy which made the 2 small + 1 large dish perfect for 2 people.

Would definitely recommend for foodies :)

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Nothing really stood out, thought I was ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

Nothing really stood out, thought I was going to have the same experience I've had at the sister establishments and that wasnt the case.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3

While Má Pêche wasn't a transcendent din ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 28, 2016

While Má Pêche wasn't a transcendent dining experience on the level of other David Chang restaurants, it was still a delightful dinner before going to a show. The ambiance is chic and modern and the service is stellar. I have no hesitation recommending it to a friend.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Unique menu! Pork buns, wild striped bas ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on July 25, 2016

Unique menu! Pork buns, wild striped bass and soft serve ice cream with corn flakes were my favorites!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

I was expecting somewhat a little more e ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 20, 2016

I was expecting somewhat a little more elegant setting judged over the pictures posted on their website. But the floor was sticky, tables and chairs are very casual and looked cheap. When we entered the lower floor, the clerk had to pick up dirty paper towel that was sitting on the floor as he led us to our table.

Food was great. I enjoyed the pork bun. Seared Bass over asian taste noodle was good too. The asparagus salad has tangy and refreshing dressing that goes very well with the vegetable and I liked it very much. Desserts were interesting, I would say, but did not suit to my taste.

The Crab Cobb Salad we ordered had smelly crab on it, and we had to cancel it. They accepted our request and gladly switched it to asparagus salad. (Actually the way they served the cobb salad was odd. All ingredients lined up in a shallow dish. It must be very difficult to mix and eat this, so we asked them to mix it in a bigger bowl or to bring a bowl to our table for mixing. Initially they declined our request, but since it was less busy hours, they mixed the salad for us in the kitchen.)

If you are tired of hamburgers or pizzas for your lunch on your work days, this place may give you interesting but made to fit Americans' taste Asian food.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

Food was good and staff was friendly but ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 20, 2016

Food was good and staff was friendly but not very good service. Just not enough attention to detail (food delivered with no silverware on table, long lapses without someone coming by table etc). Was told this was not the case last time someone in my party was there so hopefully just an off evening. Brisket sliders and hot chicken were highlights.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

Steak tartare amazing! Veggie pass-aroun ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on July 19, 2016

Steak tartare amazing! Veggie pass-around was broccoli with sunflower seeds & mayo; far from amazing. The habanero chicken was moist, spicy, but not a great value as not extremely unique. Overall, good , not great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Love the food! Busy, vibrant place!

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Love the food! Busy, vibrant place!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Loved the dim sum style service. Very un ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Loved the dim sum style service. Very unique and fun.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Pricey but delicious. Good service.The b ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Pricey but delicious. Good service.The best dish was the black bass.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Service was great. Bloody Mary was bette ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Service was great. Bloody Mary was better! I would definitely come back.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Outstandingly fast service - food arrive ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Outstandingly fast service - food arrived within 20 minutes of being seated!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

I arrived on time but Waited more than 3 ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

I arrived on time but Waited more than 30 minutes to be seated. During my wait I could see the restaurant was half full.

After getting menus and water waited 15 minutes to place a drink order - I did this by flagging down someone other than our waitress who was occupied taking orders from people who walked in minutes after we were seated.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1

Waited a long time because of an error i ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

Waited a long time because of an error in reservations. Other than that amazing!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

I don't like the changes to the cart ser ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

I don't like the changes to the cart service. That used to be part of the fun and the best food. Things were ok. The fried chicken was delicious. But overall not as good as it used to be.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3

We've been wanting to try this restauran ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

We've been wanting to try this restaurant for years, but were sadly disappointed when we finally went. We waited almost 30 minutes before anyone took our drink order, then another 30 minutes before anyone came back to take our food order. It was fairly empty and I saw at least 5 waiters/staff people walking around. There was also only one dim sum cart when we went, which we were willing to forgive, even though the allure of the restaurant is the cart selections, but the cart only came around once even though we asked our waitress if it could be sent back to us. The food itself was bland and I couldn't even drink my cocktail, it tasted like $13 nail polish remover. For as excited as we were to try this restaurant, we were all shocked at how disappointed we were when we left. I wish I could be kinder, but none of us could stop bringing up how shockingly bad of a time we had there for the rest of the day.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1
value2

We had a pre-wedding friends get togethe ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

We had a pre-wedding friends get together here. The staff was very accommodating, and the food was excellent. They described the large dishes as being "family style", but it was more like a single size portion. For dessert they brought us shakes from the milk bar (items which weren't on the dessert menu), and overall went out of their way to make us happy. Definitely a place to try out !

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The hostess first tried to put us at a c ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 6, 2016

The hostess first tried to put us at a communal table. We were eventually seated at a two person table in the corner. One of the first things that I noticed was now dirty the curtains were on the wall. They had stains and debris stuck all over them. After waiting 15-20 minutes a server finally came over to explain the menu and take the older.

Our server recommends that we order either 4-5 small plates or 2-3 small plates and 2 large plates. We decide on one small plate and two large plates and a bottle of wine to go with it.

Our small plate, the outrageously dry and stale tasting bbq brisket buns, showed up seconds after we put in our order. Our wine hadn't even been brought to our table yet. I thought the momofuku restaurants were famous for their buns. This bun tasted like it had been sitting in a steam pan for hours and was very dry and stale tasting.

After eating our buns, our wine finally arrived. Another random person showed us the wine and then walked away for another 10 minutes before coming back to pour us glasses.

Throughout the meal, our server would attempt to fill up our glasses and was consistently spilled red wine on the table and dripped it down the edge of the glasses. She chose to ignore this mistake and not clean it up.

Finally, well over an hour into our reservation our two large plates show up. We ordered the arctic char and the habanero fried chicken. The arctic char was spectacularly mediocre. It had the text of toothpaste and tasted like old creme fraische.

The habanero fried chicken was the only good item of the night. They bring you out a metal bucket full of fried chicken. While this chicken is good, it is nowhere near worth $28 it costs. Further, two mains was entirely too much food for two people, especially considering they bring around random salads (that are also spectacularly mediocre).

Overall this was one of the most overpriced and disappointing dining experiences I have had in NY.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service2
value1

David Chang is the man! Some of the bes ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 5, 2016

David Chang is the man! Some of the best food I have ever had in my life, period. The icing on the cake was the dessert selection from Milk Bar. Talk about creative. We went early and were rewarded with an almost empty restaurant but make no mistake this place gets packed i'm sure. The plates are meant to be shared so we ordered a bunch of different things including the Steak, the fish, a couple salads and veggie dishes and a few of the tapas going around the room. The oysters we fresh and fantastic as well. Mr. Chang....I salute you on creating another gem for this beautiful city to enjoy.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A bit disappointed... love the concept, ...

vip
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

A bit disappointed... love the concept, love Chang's food, but something felt not quite right with this one versus other Chang places I have been to. My thoughts are the servers push a little more food than you want (2 small plates, 2 large plates, plus any of the passed plates... well that is a bunch of food for 2 people. The food itself is great, some old standards (the bun with oysters was superb), the raw bar was also perfect. Pork chop was very good if not very inspired. The biggest problem is the value - seems pretty expensive (and I have no problem dropping a lot of money on a dinner). Service was friendly if a little at times spacey (never did get the cider we ordered at the start of dinner, never pursued it either). To me it would be better as a full on dim sum experience, but alas I don't think that's what it will be.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value2

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.