About Momofuku Má Pêche

15 W. 56th St.
New York, NY 10019
View Larger Map

Má Pêche is Momofuku’s only restaurant that doesn’t require a subway ride to get to if you’re coming from the MoMA, the Theater District, Central Park, or work: it’s in Midtown. Má Pêche (which means “mother peach”) serves breakfast, lunch, dinner, and weekend brunch.

At Má Pêche, guests may choose from a variety of a la carte offerings by Executive Chef Matt Rudofker. The restaurant also serves a large format meal, Pork Rack Char Siu, which serves 3 - 12 for lunch and dinner by reservation only.

For more information about large party dining at Má Pêche, please visit mapeche.momofuku.com/private-events.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Asian

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast: Monday - Friday: 7 am - 11 am
Saturday-Sunday: 7 am - 9 am


Brunch: Saturday - Sunday: 10 am - 2:30 pm


Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:30 am - 2:30 pm


Dinner: Sunday - Wednesday: 5 pm - 10 pm
Thursday - Saturday: 5:30 pm - 11 pm

Cross Street:
5th Avenue

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(212) 757-5878

Website:
http://mapeche.momofuku.com/

Catering:
Off-site catering is available.

Public Transit:
N,Q,R to 57th Street;
F to 57th Street;
1 to 59th Street;
E,M to 53rd Street;
4,5,6 to 59th Street

Executive Chef:
Matthew Rudofker

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Momofuku Má Pêche Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.0

service

3.9

ambience

3.6

value

3.4

noise

Moderate

74% would recommend it to a friend

Fit for Foodies (75)
Good for Groups (47)
Hot Spot (32)
See All
Special Occasion (25)
Great for Lunch (23)
Neighborhood Gem (15)
Romantic (13)
Creative Cuisine (10)
Modern Decor (9)
Great for Brunch (8)
Good for a Date (8)
Vibrant Bar Scene (7)
Late-night Find (7)
Notable Wine List (5)
Bar Seating (4)
Tapas (3)
Casual (3)
Spicy (3)
Fun (3)
Good for Birthdays (3)
Business Meals (3)
Comfort Food (2)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
Outstanding Value (2)
Authentic (2)
Healthy (2)
Good for Anniversaries (2)
Vegan (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Cozy (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Family Style (1)
Quiet Conversation (1)
Scenic View (1)
Great Beer (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Sort By:
Newest
614 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Amazing food combinations that worked su ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined 4 days ago

Amazing food combinations that worked super well together. The menu was interesting and we were excited to try our dishes!! The service was superb and our special occasion was recognised by the team, thank you again!!

We tried the habanero chicken which delivered on flavour and texture and the steak tartare with yuzu was sublime!!

The meal was a real highlight of our trip to NYC.

Tags: Hot Spot, Modern Decor, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Terrible breakfast. Frozen, deep fried h ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined 7 days ago

Terrible breakfast. Frozen, deep fried hash browns probably from McCain. Sent back scrambled eggs because they were vastly undercooked. Bacon tasted weird. Service was slow. Poor value. Would never return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

The restaurant came highly recommended. ...

 
 (Manitoba)
·Dined on September 23, 2016

The restaurant came highly recommended. We will go back again for dinner next Tim in New York.

Tags: Great Beer, Outstanding Value, Open Kitchen, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Was excited for a decent place to be ope ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 23, 2016

Was excited for a decent place to be open early enough for breakfast at 9:30am but the entire experience was very off. At first, it looked like it was not open and after 15 minutes of waiting around, we finally saw one person working. The iced coffee was diluted and the omelet tasted like something out of a mediocre diner. Had higher expectations for a Momofuku establishment. The dinner is great here but I would skip the breakfast.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service2
value1

Food was great as usual. It felt underst ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on September 23, 2016

Food was great as usual. It felt understaffed though as it was tough to order more drinks.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

Spotty wine availability...2 wines we tr ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on September 18, 2016

Spotty wine availability...2 wines we tried to order weren't available. Food was great as always

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3

I read great review of this place for br ...

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on September 18, 2016

I read great review of this place for breakfast. I can only say we were underwhelmed. Not bad food, just not outstanding either. Overpriced, but then again it is NYC.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

The restaurant was really disappointing. ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on September 18, 2016

The restaurant was really disappointing. I had eaten there a few years ago and it was better. Admittedly we arrived late so it was empty, no vibe, food (especially the dim sum) very average. The best thing was the brisket bao.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

The food was delicious and the floors we ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on September 18, 2016

The food was delicious and the floors were vibrant and unique. David Chang know his business. My friend is a vegan and there were many choices that I even enjoyed such as the vegan rice cakes.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3

We were unfortunately very late to the r ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

We were unfortunately very late to the restaurant as there was so much traffic getting into the city. We did call and they said they would accommodate us. When we arrived they said they would seat us, but the hostess told us we only had 1 hour to eat because they needed the table. We did understand due to the circumstances, but felt it was rude to give us this info. I would have rather they told us to take a voucher or something and come back another time.

It took almost 10 minutes before our drink order was taken. I explained to the waiter about what we were told, hoping he could move a little faster for us. Too stressful to eat in 1 hour.

I ordered the fried chicken which was so offensively salty that we couldn't eat it. My boyfriends steak was supposed to be medium rare, but was sinewy and chewy. A total disappointment. Then to top it off, we had a gift card which we were unable to use because of some problem with their computer. What if we did not have any other means of payment? They did deduct our desserts, but overall, a very poor experience. Now we are forced to go back to another Momofuku restaurant, and we are hoping we do not experience this in one of their other locations.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service2
value1

We looked forward to dining at one of Ch ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on September 16, 2016

We looked forward to dining at one of Chef Chang's restaurants and feel we started with the wrong one. I appreciate overall simplicity and modern decor but the environment lacked warmth. The oysters @ $4 each were either stored improperly or were of poor quality. They were far from plump and inviting, more dehydrated. The food was good but I walked away without enlightenment. We had dinner at Noodle Bar some days later and loved it. Looking forward to Nishi tomorrow for the Impossible Burger.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4
value3

Not a breakfast place

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 16, 2016

Not a breakfast place

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service4

i loved the food and it was less expensi ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 14, 2016

i loved the food and it was less expensive than i had feared

Tags: Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

My only disappointment was the Dim Sum f ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on September 12, 2016

My only disappointment was the Dim Sum format only featured one seafood platter, one salad platter, and one side for the meal. I had been to this restaurant one other time on a weekend and there were several platters coming around. This particular occasion was on a Monday, so perhaps that was the reason for the light menu.

Tags: Business Meals, Fun, Good for Groups, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Food and service was very good. However, ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

Food and service was very good. However, the table setup is ridiculous especially for just 2 of you where you are literally up against the people sitting next to you at their table.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4
value3

I loved the food and the concept of Ma p ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on September 9, 2016

I loved the food and the concept of Ma peche - David Chang's delicious food in sharing portions and dim sum style? Yes please. Service was a bit slow and had i known it was communal seating, I might have opted for the bar instead as it was tough to have a conversation with my guest with two conversations right next to us. The tacos and bao buns were outstanding and the Erin's wee excellent, as well. Pricey but decidedly tasty.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value3

A large party of 8. The fried chicken wa ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on September 8, 2016

A large party of 8. The fried chicken was amazing and for a gluten intolerant diner fantastic since I rarely get to eat fried chicken. The flavor was fantastic. I could have gorged on the whole bucket. We also had several other dishes and nothing was disappointing. With a vegetarian, violently cheese allergic and a gluten intolerant diners in the party, the menu was easy to navigate and highly flavorful. Everyone was extremely happy with all the items we shared. Only slight negative (but not really) is the overpriced but beautifully presented fresh raw oysters, shrimp cocktail and crab claws. The claws were a bit difficult to eat (really needed crab crackers to break up the shell a bit more). The various sauces that accompanied these items were quite tasty and enhanced the seafood.

Tags: Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The burger is great! Worth every penny, ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 7, 2016

The burger is great! Worth every penny, and it's so nice to be able to say, "medium rare" for the temperature of the burger and actually get a proper medium rare burger. So often restaurants completely over cook what they claim as medium rare, but Momofuku Má Pêche did it perfectly. #pinkisgood

Tags: Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Modern Decor, Fun, Happy Hour, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

We had 7 pm dinner reservations at Ma Pe ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

We had 7 pm dinner reservations at Ma Peche on a Saturday. It was hands down our favorite dining experience during our 4 day trip to NYC. We had the tartare, both east and west coast oysters, a crab claw, brisket buns, beets, fluke, and the bass. Admittedly, it was a bit too much food for the two of us but we were sooo pleased that we kept bringing it up the next day!

We stayed at Chambers hotel and had a chicken sandwich at Fuku+ when we first arrived to the hotel so we wouldn't feel like we needed to order the fried chicken at Ma Peche. It was a great choice since it allowed us to try a bit more variety. Our favorite dishes (though everything was great) were the fluke crude and tartare. We also had a gf coconut cookie for the dessert (we had a cereal milk soft serve the day before directly from milk) that was a perfect ending to our delicious dining experience.

We loved the dim sum concept and wondered why more restaurants don't do this. All the servers were so friendly and helpful and our water glasses always full. If you feel like treating yourself to a great meal and are perfectly fine to throw down $160-$200 for two then go to Ma Peche! If the price is just not your cup of tea, you may want to skip this restaurant and opt for cheaper David Chang options.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

incredibly delicious!! we loved every di ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

incredibly delicious!! we loved every dish from start to finish

Tags: Modern Decor, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

This may be a great place for dinner but ...

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

This may be a great place for dinner but breakfast was a complete disappointment. The menu is very limited. They acted as if I was crazy to ask for toast with my omelet and had to "check to see if they could do that". They finally brought me two pieces of dry, slightly burnt white toast. I was so discouraged by their attitude that I didn't even bother asking if they had any butter or jam of some sort. Those two pieces of burnt bread cost an extra $4.00. I had to ask several times for refills of coffee and water. The waiter acted put out every time we asked for something. I've been to other Momofuku restaurants for dinner and loved them. Maybe breakfast is just not their strong suit... I will say the waiter who brought the dim sum cart by was super friendly and helpful, though they only had shrimp and oysters on the cart for Saturday brunch.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1
value1

Always wonderful to eat at Ma Peche--I t ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 26, 2016

Always wonderful to eat at Ma Peche--I try to go there every time I travel to NYC. I love David Chang's imaginative take on old standards. His spice and texture combos make eating an adventure.

Tags: Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

We have been to Mamofuko Ma Peche a numb ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 25, 2016

We have been to Mamofuko Ma Peche a number of times. The food was good but not exceptional. It seems that the restaurant is running on automatic. It used to feel more innovative. We were there, though, on a weekday for lunch, but that is often when we dined at Ma Peche. The dishes that circulated around the tables were few and not very interesting. The service was fine and we always like the way the restaurant looks and feels. We will go back again but not as eagerly as in the past.

Tags: Modern Decor, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

Amazing food.

 
 (Manchester)
·Dined on August 25, 2016

Amazing food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

My first time at Ma Peche. Food was good ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 24, 2016

My first time at Ma Peche. Food was good, but have been to the other David Chang restaurants many times Ma Peche was not up their level. I am a big fan of his food. I would go back to Ma Peche only if I was in the uptown area. Otherwise, I'll so south to either Noodle Bar or SSam Bar.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value4

First, the hotel is hidden inside a hote ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

First, the hotel is hidden inside a hotel. Alert. We ordered a reasonably expensive bottle of champagne . No champagne glasses ( at $100 a bottle). Hash is great. Fried chicken fantastic. Second bottle of champagne made the place more tolerable. The described wandering food cart almost never came. Atmosphere is sparse. Oysters were small but good. The wine list is a joke, except for the prices. Would not go again although a hedge fund friend says it's better during the week. We went for Sunday brunch. Small venue with too many kids. So many much better places for $450 for four. One who drank only coffee. Bartender up top, when asked to make a certain drink, " I can but I don't want to". So ordered two Vinos. Both were corked ! Really? How can this happen?

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service1
value2

We had gone for the brunch. Nothing exci ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

We had gone for the brunch. Nothing exciting about the food for the price paid. The service was also average. We had the pork buns (good), avocado toast (very average for the price), chicken with waffles (good but nothing to rave about for the price) and french toast (too greasy). The place (flooring and tables) had the look of an average diner. I am sorry but for the price paid would expect a far better place in terms of service, ambience and food

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value1

Had been to Momofuku Ssam Bar before and ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 18, 2016

Had been to Momofuku Ssam Bar before and was expecting a more casual vibe and a great meal. Read the reviews here before hand and got worried about what was in store ahead. The negative reviews were fairly accurate. It was a lousy meal. We left extremely disappointed.

The atmosphere is okay. A bit stark but nothing to distress about. The food, on the other hand, was mostly awful. The Dim Sum concept is poorly execute. We ordered three different Dim Sum items, only one, the beet salad was somewhat edible. The summer melon salad was extremely salty and surprising it even left the kitchen. The Dim Sum selection is very mundane and mostly consisted of different variations on vegetable/salady dishes. The other option was a shrimp and oyster cart that had nothing interesting going on.

Of the appetizer dishes we ordered the BBQ Pork Buns were outstanding and made the night. Sadly that was about it. The fluke crudo with passion fruit just didn't work and the salt and pepper shrimp were dry and fairly inedible. The main course was a Pork Chop that while okay, was fairly forgettable.

The service, in contrast, was strong and we left feeling poorly for the waitstaff whose best efforts at making us feel great about our meal were continuously sabotaged by an extremely mediocre kitchen execution.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service4
value2

Not memorable. Food ok but nothing excep ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 16, 2016

Not memorable. Food ok but nothing exceptional.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3

As a huge fan of David Chang and his mom ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 16, 2016

As a huge fan of David Chang and his momofuku empire, I had high hopes for this place. Being Vietnamese myself increased expectations even more. Sadly I was disappointed with the experience, the cart system (think dim sum) is gimmicky and doesn't belong here. They come along and offer some dishes, brief explanation and no prices given unless asked. If the chef thinks it's a good dish worth ordering, just put it on the menu so I can make my choices accordingly, not order my 4 or 5 dishes then find out what's rolling around the carts.

The food itself was just average, our two small plates were a lot better than our large ones. The tartare and fish crudo were quite good, the large bass and lamb dishes were terrible. If I didn't know I would have said the large plates came from a hot tray at the serve yourself counter from Whole Foods. The lamb in particular, although well cooked was completely bland and flavourless. Ssam bar this is not.

Our main waiter seemed bored and disenchanted, no energy or enthusiasm, didn't make us feel welcome at all. He briefly explained the small plates "concept" and did the typical plug for 5 plates for two people, then took off. I don't think we saw him again all evening until maybe our last bite of food, where he probably realized he wanted a tip and asked in passing how was the food... In a manner that made it clear he didn't care about the response.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2

The decor was better than the food. Was ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 15, 2016

The decor was better than the food. Was hoping for more flavorful and exciting food, but what we got was lacklustre and bland. The clientele seemed tourist posh, being in the center of hotels and midtown. We still hope to try one of the other momofuku bars.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3

I eat here every couple of months. The ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 15, 2016

I eat here every couple of months. The team continues to deliver!

Tags: Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Lousy service and below average food

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

Lousy service and below average food

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service1
value1

love this place... food is good (althoug ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

love this place... food is good (although, its not as good as it used to be). the thing that gets me is that the service starts good and then... poof... nothing. can't even get a refill on a cup of coffee... have to ask the waitress/waiter/busboy multiple times for the simplest things...

where is the david chang quality control...? sure food is important... but, if the connection with the patron is not there, the meal is not perfect (even if the food is).

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value3

Great food and good service. Staff very ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

Great food and good service. Staff very knowledgeable about the menu and helpful with suggestions and took precautions to make sure food sensitivities were addressed before any food was out. 👍🏼

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Food was really good - different too. L ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 11, 2016

Food was really good - different too. Lots of business people enjoying the 'scene'. Sparce setting.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Wonderful, interesting food! We especia ...

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on August 11, 2016

Wonderful, interesting food! We especially enjoyed trying the dishes that were offered from trays being rolled around the restaurant.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Not the creativity I was hoping for from ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 8, 2016

Not the creativity I was hoping for from a David Chang restaurant, Spicy fried chicken was great, pork bun was stale but pork was fantastic, choices were a bit boring.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4
value3

AWFUL!!!Have been a number of time befor ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

AWFUL!!!Have been a number of time before and this time it was horrible. The waitstaff suggested sharing plates - WRONG FOR BRUNCH. Difficult to share a hamburger, eggs Benedict, soft shell crab sandwich, etc. they also keep trying to get us to order more food. The food itself was mediocre at very best and was dull and boring - I've had much better burgers in a neighborhood bar. Overpriced just added to the awful experience. Was entertaining friend from London and was mortified at how terrible it was.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

Great dining for groups..food was outsta ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

Great dining for groups..food was outstanding and interesting with a variety of flavors

Tags: Late-night Find, Great for Lunch, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.