About Momofuku Má Pêche

Má Pêche is Momofuku’s only restaurant that doesn’t require a subway ride to get to if you’re coming from the MoMA, the Theater District, Central Park, or work: it’s in Midtown. Má Pêche (which means “mother peach”) serves breakfast, lunch, dinner, and weekend brunch.

At Má Pêche, guests may choose from a variety of a la carte offerings by Executive Chef Matt Rudofker. The restaurant also serves a large format meal, Pork Rack Char Siu, which serves 3 - 12 for lunch and dinner by reservation only.

For more information about large party dining at Má Pêche, please visit mapeche.momofuku.com/private-events.

15 W. 56th St.
New York, NY 10019
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Asian

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast: Monday - Friday: 7 am - 11 am
Saturday-Sunday: 7 am - 9 am


Brunch: Saturday - Sunday: 10 am - 2:30 pm


Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:30 am - 2:30 pm


Dinner: Sunday - Wednesday: 5 pm - 10 pm
Thursday - Saturday: 5:30 pm - 11 pm

Cross Street:
5th Avenue

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(212) 757-5878

Website:
http://mapeche.momofuku.com/

Catering:
Off-site catering is available.

Public Transit:
N,Q,R to 57th Street;
F to 57th Street;
1 to 59th Street;
E,M to 53rd Street;
4,5,6 to 59th Street

Executive Chef:
Matthew Rudofker

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Momofuku Má Pêche Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

3.9

service

3.8

ambience

3.6

value

3.4

noise

Moderate

69% would recommend it to a friend

Creative Cuisine (39)
Fit for Foodies (32)
Casual (28)
See All
Good for Groups (20)
Fun (19)
Modern Decor (18)
Good for a Date (16)
Special Occasion (14)
Spicy (14)
Hot Spot (13)
Authentic (12)
Good for Birthdays (12)
Handcrafted Cocktails (12)
Comfort Food (11)
Quiet Conversation (9)
Business Meals (8)
Good for Anniversaries (7)
Bar Seating (7)
Neighborhood Gem (7)
Tasting Menu (7)
Romantic (6)
Family Style (6)
Tapas (6)
Great for Lunch (6)
Healthy (6)
Pre/post Theatre (6)
Cozy (5)
People Watching (5)
Late-night Find (5)
Sunday Lunch (5)
Notable Wine List (4)
Good Vegetarian Options (4)
Kid-friendly (4)
Worth the Drive (3)
Vibrant Bar Scene (3)
Happy Hour (3)
Outstanding Value (2)
Seasonal (2)
Afternoon Tea (2)
Local Ingredients (2)
Great Beer (2)
Disabled Access (1)
Vegan (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Sort By:
S
753 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

The chicken and waffles were like nothin ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined 3 days ago

The chicken and waffles were like nothing I've had before. It's not just your basic fried chicken - it's got some serious heat - but balanced nicely with those corn meal waffles. Our server even got us some of the lavender maple syrup to try on them - heaven! But the best part was the panna cotta. It's something that has to be tried.

Tags: Casual, Spicy, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Service was really slow. We ordered cock ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined 3 days ago

Service was really slow. We ordered cocktails and didn't receive them until after we had our meals. Food wasn't anything amazing, in my opinion. The buns were good but other options were prett standard. I expected it to be more cutting-edge cuisine.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value2

Based on my meal at Ma Peche I cannot fa ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 5 days ago

Based on my meal at Ma Peche I cannot fathom why the chef is held in such esteem--

  1. the food was ordinary,

  2. casually, even negligently, served,

  3. the low quality table-top was chipped,

  4. the staircase down to the lower-level dining room was worn out . . . etc

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value2

Casual dining, a limited menu but reall ...

vip
 (Cleveland)·Dined 7 days ago

Casual dining, a limited menu but really great food.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Food was good. Service was terrible on V ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Food was good. Service was terrible on Valentine's Day. We got seated an hour after our reservation!

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

The food was amazing and the service was ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 15, 2017

The food was amazing and the service was great as well. Such a great restaurant I strongly recommend!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

I took my girlfriend here for Valentine' ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 15, 2017

I took my girlfriend here for Valentine's Day. It was our first time dining here, we usually just head to the bar for happy hour drinks/snacks. The pre-set tasting menu was pricey but, in my opinion, well worth it. The flavor and quality of the food were on point and, unlike some high-end valued restaurants, the meal was very filling; we could barely finish the dessert course. The beverage manager was great helping us decide on a bottle of wine to pair with the meal . All in all, it was a terrific evening...until the check came. After we paid our bill that came to about $250 and added a 20% tip, which seemed fair, the waitress came back to inform up that she actually under charged us $10 and needed to run our cards again, etc. I understand that mistakes happen, that's not a big deal. But after spending $300 (with about $50 of it going to the waitstaff), are you really going to chase me down for $10? The waitress brought over the manager (without us requesting her) to further explain the error. I'm not an idiot. I know what the mistake was, but the way it was handled was not reflective of the cost and value of the meal and the reputation of this restaurant or restaurateur. This isn't Applebee's where if you don't charge a customer for an appetizer it's a significant amount of the check. This was $10. You should have just taken it out of the 20% tip that we left on the bill. The food was delicious and the atmosphere, prior to the bill, was perfect. But my date and I won't be dining there again, this incident really put us off. Luckily in NYC, we have plenty of other options.

Tags: Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service1
value4

I expected a lot and it was better.

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 14, 2017

I expected a lot and it was better.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The food was amazing. Momofuku always de ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on February 13, 2017

The food was amazing. Momofuku always delivers on flavor. The service was fine. Nothing to write home about. They played great music. Overall great dinner.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value5

Food was creative but just alright. Slow ...

vip
 (Cleveland)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Food was creative but just alright. Slow service. Unsupervised screaming young children running up and down the aisles gave a romper room vibe. Too many better options in NYC. Won't return

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service2
value2

Totally unresponsive to requests (not un ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Totally unresponsive to requests (not unreasonable ones either!) slow service, average food, wouldn't seat my guests who were 15 early (at 10 am!) when the restaurant was near empty!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value2

very disappointing. I'm a big fan of Dav ...

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on February 11, 2017

very disappointing. I'm a big fan of David Chang's but maybe he stretched too thin and losing quality control. Just a completely dead scene and sadly the food and drinks didn't make up for it. An empty room yet they wouldn't move our reservation an hour to accommodate us - to have to rush and get ready for an empty room and mediocre food on a Saturday night in NY is unforgivable.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value2

Horrible!!

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Horrible!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

Went to Ma Peche for breakfast. Egg Bun ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Went to Ma Peche for breakfast. Egg Bun was good but small. The service was beyond awful. Waiter just read the paper. My coffee was average and served with a dessert spoon. Will never go back and will never recommend. There was an only three people there and the waiter did virtually nothing. Awful experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service1
value3

Great creative and upscale dinning in mi ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Great creative and upscale dinning in midtown! It will definitely become an option for special occasions, such as early dinner before the Philharmonic or Carnegie Hall. My husband and I were very pleased with the menu and ended up ordering the duck breast and the rice cake and shared the entrees. It was delicious! Highly recommend it.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Bar Seating, Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Good Vegetarian Options, Spicy, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

I've been here so many times and have al ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 3, 2017

I've been here so many times and have always enjoyed my meals - until today. The service was super slow, took them about 15 minutes to bring the menu then another 15 before they took our order and they weren't even busy. The nail in the coffin was the HORRENDOUSLY spicy food! There's no reason to make food so spicy!! And the stuff I ate I've eaten before! So sad I have to take them out of my rotation. Whomp whomp.

Tags: Spicy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value2

Pretty underwhelming experience overall. ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 2, 2017

Pretty underwhelming experience overall. Food was just okay, service felt rushed, and ambiance was lackluster.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3

Has the feeling of a Downtown theme park ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 2, 2017

Has the feeling of a Downtown theme park in Midtown, a place where suit-clad business people can signal to colleagues and clients that they have a contemporary edge when it comes to dining. The food was a pleasure, all our dishes were well-prepared, attractively plated, and successfully combined conventional with surprising ingredients. By NYC standards, food prices were reasonable, wine list average. Our overall experience was diminished by very slow and distracted service. While I'm sure the large, backlit, sail-like clothes on the walls do wonders to keep the noise level under control, they also have an improvised look that once was chic, new and Downtownesque, now looks tired and dated. Keep the food, tighten service, give the space a makeover.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service2
value4

The food was so delicious. The service w ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 29, 2017

The food was so delicious. The service was great. I could not have asked for a better dining experience.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Seasonal, Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Tasting Menu, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was amazing, the service was ex ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on January 28, 2017

The food was amazing, the service was excellent and the atmosphere was warm and cozy. You end up sitting close to others but it works. I can't wait to get back to New York and return to Ma Peche.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

I thought the food was average at best a ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 27, 2017

I thought the food was average at best and the wait staff didn't try to explain the dishes.

Very disappointing

Tags: Spicy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

Hadn't been here for a couple of years - ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 25, 2017

Hadn't been here for a couple of years - food as delicious as I remember. Now that I live closer hope to return more often. My friends had never been and they loved it.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Four of us shared two of the "large" pla ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on January 22, 2017

Four of us shared two of the "large" plates and four "small" plates. Servings were large enough that all were able to have adequate servings of each, and plenty to eat. Everything was so creative, and extraordinarily tasty. Good selection of wines by the glass. The service was cordial, friendly, welcoming. (I'd heard some of the Momofuko group servers could be rather snobish toward customers, but that wasn't the case here. We felt very welcomed and appreciated. A memorable evening for a friends' get-together.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Pre/post Theatre, Healthy, Fit for Foodies, Casual, Special Occasion, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This restaurant is on the bottom floor o ...

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on January 20, 2017

This restaurant is on the bottom floor of a hotel and does nothing to intrigue you whatsoever. The decor is bland, the food is nothing special and vastly overpriced, and the entire experience leaves much to be desired. Would highly recommend against.

Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service2
value1

Great food and service. Last minute rese ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 15, 2017

Great food and service. Last minute reservations for 10. All diners enjoyed everything and we covered most of the menu!

Tags: Tasting Menu, Business Meals, Comfort Food, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Complete disappointment from start to fi ...

vip
 (Columbus)·Dined on January 15, 2017

Complete disappointment from start to finish. Maybe Sunday night is not a great test of a restaurant but I'd expect more from DAVID Chang. Trout dip had no flavor and was so bland it could have been any fish dip. Corned beef "Ruben" buns buns were almost all fat and flavorless. Cold. The Panna cotta could have been used as wallpaper paste--zero jiggle as a Panna cotta should have and no buttermilk flavor. Service was perfunctory at best. Not sure why we kept getting refills of warm tap water as we kept asking for cold/ice water. Servers never showed up to check on us so we piled out plates on the empty table next to us. Was so psyched to try a DAVID Chang restaurant but this wasn't worth the $100+ bill

Tags: Tapas, Hot Spot, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service2
value2

Great ambiance, however I did not think ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 15, 2017

Great ambiance, however I did not think the food was spectacular. I still would be open to trying new things on the menu, perhaps a bit more description on the menu would be helpful.

Tags: Modern Decor, Afternoon Tea, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value3

The food and service were superb - absol ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 15, 2017

The food and service were superb - absolutely spot on. I asked for a wine recommendation and expected the usual approach of the waiter seeing if I'd bite at the suggestion of a $100+ bottle - to my surprise, he recommended a bottle at the lowest price point on the menu and it absolutely blew us away. Major points for this! Oyster buns were killer, as was the smoked trout and chicharrónes. Sous vide steak melted in your mouth. The burger is exactly what you'd expect of Dave Chang - AMAZING. Oddly enough, the fries alongside the burger were one of the evening's real standouts. Generous portions left us nearly too full to visit MilkBar upstairs. We went anyway - the Cereal Milk Shake is an absolute life-changer!

Bit of a weird space, unfortunately, being underground. Definitely quieter than I would expect for a Saturday night. With a playful, yet restrained menu, would love to see a bit more fun injected into the ambience. Also, I can't say I know anyone who actually enjoys the concept of communal tables...why are they even a thing? In fact, patron made a bit of a scene at the bar while insisting he wait for a 4-top. To the staff's credit, they handled it very well.

Tags: Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Casual, Good for Birthdays, Fun, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Good over all. Great service. Wish a sli ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on January 15, 2017

Good over all. Great service. Wish a slightly less seasoning, then taste would be perfect!! I would like to try other dishes if I would come back again.

Tags: Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value3

Lovely open space with excellent acousti ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 15, 2017

Lovely open space with excellent acoustics. Conversation was easily audible despite communal tables. Seating also spacious and comfortable. Drinks were delicious while both small plates, entrees and side dishes were artfully prepared and yummy. Servings are a little small and the menu is a little short on vegetarian options, but overall a very nice dinner.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Casual, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

We went on a Saturday Morning~ The resta ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on January 14, 2017

We went on a Saturday Morning~ The restaurant was not busy for the first 40 minutes, we were the only table. A big rush started to come in as we were leaving. The chicken and waffles were outstanding, like, best ever. The Rice Bowl with the brisket was a must, too. The bloody mary is completely unique, our server (forgot his name) was very attentive as well as the other workers that helped clear and check on us. Will go to again!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service5
value3

Very disappointing. Ever since they move ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 14, 2017

Very disappointing. Ever since they moved from the Dim Sum type of offerings the food has seemed uninspired and perfunctory.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value1

We were there for a birthday with seven ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on January 14, 2017

We were there for a birthday with seven people and had a great time. We really appreciated that the waitress wrote specifics on which meals would work and which would not for one member of our party that had a few allergies (soy and gluten). There was only one main course that worked but thankfully it was one she wanted to eat the apps were delicious.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Overall, the food was marginal with a ve ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 7, 2017

Overall, the food was marginal with a very limited menu and minuscule drinks (two sips and they are gone -- not recommended for those of us who like a bit of a tipple). The service was average; underwhelming at best.

Additionally, the host did not smile or greet us when we arrived, and seemed to be put out that he had to get off his iPhone to seat us. Unfortunately, this interaction set the tone for the rest of the meal and experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value1

Menu has fallen a good bit. Sad as this ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 6, 2017

Menu has fallen a good bit. Sad as this has been my nyc must for several years. Entries limited, veggies unimaginative, small plates not as innovative. What happened?

Tags: Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value3

We went early, so it was pretty quiet. T ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on January 5, 2017

We went early, so it was pretty quiet. The menu is very creative with an interesting eclectic variety. We ordered a couple of small plates (beef cheek wontons and corned beef rice buns), a Roquefort, fried cauliflower and a large plate ( duck with wontons and black beans). It was hard to differentiate between the small and large plate items ( think tapas), but everything was fresh and outstanding. The beef cheek and duck were standouts. They also had a very nice beer menu. The room was a bit sparse, but that was partly to do with the time of day we were eating (6ish). Overall, a lovely food experience and the wait staff was attentive and knowledgeable.

Tags: Tapas, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

The guy welcoming us at the entrance was ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 31, 2016

The guy welcoming us at the entrance was on the phone with a friend and did not stop when we arrived...

Except from that nice restaurant but a little cold ambiance.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

Tenía la expectativa alta por ser parte ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Tenía la expectativa alta por ser parte de Momofuku, el menú muy restringido y muy normal la comida y nada especial el lugar. La gente y el servicio muy bueno eso si. Si quieres un lugar para hacer precopa con varios amigos es buena opción.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value4

Fun menu wit great quality. We loved th ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 30, 2016

Fun menu wit great quality. We loved the dumplings, the burgers and the duck.

Finally, deserts are great but I would struggle between the panna cotta and going upstairs to the Milk Bar; and having a shake with cookies.

Tags: Fun, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Interesting food. I particularly liked t ...

vip
 (Cleveland)·Dined on December 29, 2016

Interesting food. I particularly liked the fried chicken. Great sound track.

Tags: Spicy, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.