Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.05mi
  2. Distance: 0.08mi
  3. Distance: 0.08mi
  4. Distance: 0.09mi
  1. Distance: 0.05mi
  2. Distance: 0.08mi
  3. Distance: 0.08mi
  4. Distance: 0.09mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.05mi
  2. Distance: 0.08mi
  3. Distance: 0.08mi
  4. Distance: 0.09mi
  1. Distance: 0.05mi
  2. Distance: 0.08mi
  3. Distance: 0.08mi
  4. Distance: 0.09mi

About Modis

Colorado contemporary cuisine with an urban feel in a vibrant eclectic atmosphere. At Modis we focus on the art of food, drink, and life. Over 40 wines by the glass plus a full bar featuring a wide variety of craft and pre-prohibition style cocktails. Come in and check out our seasonally changing menus, art, and music.

113 S. Main Street
Breckenridge, CO 80424
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Dinner
Tue–Sun 3:00 pm–12:00 am

Cross Street:
Ski Hill Rd

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(970) 453-4330

Website:
http://www.modisbreck.com/

Parking Details:
Parking is available on Main Street in front of Modis or in the Icehouse parking lot behind Modis off of Lincoln St.

Public Transit:
"Free Ride" transit stop located 1/2 block south on Main Street at the Blue River Plaza.

Executive Chef:
Ryan Caswell

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Modis Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.3

ambience

4.2

value

4.0

Noise

Moderate

90% would recommend it to a friend

Fit for Foodies (19)
Creative Cuisine (17)
Handcrafted Cocktails (17)
See All
Special Occasion (13)
Good for a Date (10)
Happy Hour (10)
Neighborhood Gem (9)
Vibrant Bar Scene (8)
Cozy (7)
Bar Seating (7)
Good for Groups (6)
Notable Wine List (6)
Good Vegetarian Options (6)
Worth the Drive (6)
Casual (6)
Good for Anniversaries (5)
Good for Birthdays (5)
Fun (5)
Local Ingredients (5)
Romantic (5)
Comfort Food (4)
People Watching (4)
Hot Spot (3)
Late-night Find (3)
Authentic (2)
Great Beer (2)
Healthy (2)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
Seasonal (2)
Tapas (2)
Business Meals (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Quiet Conversation (1)
Spicy (1)
Vegan (1)
Sort by
S
960 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined 3 days ago

Great food. The sticky ribs are a must. Very poor service.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service1
value3

 
·Dined 5 days ago

Nice surprise, with a great story behind the name. We shared three appetizers the pea salad with smoked pea purée and lemon marmalade, the Korean short ribs and the mussels in the tomato sauce with bacon in it. All very tasty with Sarah as our server. The housemaid sorbets and ice cream or yummy. The Campo Viejo Tempranillo hit the spot and was reasonably priced. Overall value great.

Tags: Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Fun, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Tapas, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Denver)·Dined 5 days ago

I have never once been disappointed Ted by Modis. Everything I try is amazing, every time. Easily one of my top 5 resturaunts in the world. The food is so creative, unique, and tasty. There ever changing menu never disappoints. They also have the most unique cocktails I have ever experienced. I am still dreaming about their shrimp and grits from last years menu, the grits were as good as NOLA and the shrimp were better. And this years cod fish better than fresh caught cod I got on the coast. I don’t know how they make such good food at 9,600 feet above sea level. But somehow they do. Keep it up!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Happy Hour, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Atlantic City)·Dined 6 days ago

Great fresh food and friendly service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Fayetteville)·Dined on December 9, 2017

Nice place. The bartenders really know how to make a drink

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on December 5, 2017

We arrived for our 6:30 reservation (which was made in July ) at around 600pm. The restaurant was closed and there were no lights on. Note that we confirmed directly with the restaurant via phone 2 days ago and via OpenTable. After waiting until 635pm, in sub-20 degree temperatures, Modis was not open. We had no choice but to walk several blocks, again in freezing cold, to find an alternate for our first dinner in Breckenridge. I can't imagine what could happen to have this occur without at least a courtesy call from the restaurant. Especially given my hospitality background over the past 50 years.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1

 
 (Houston)·Dined on December 4, 2017

Lamb and Cesear Salad were to die for! Had a great time drinking at the bar after a wonderful dinner.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Bar Seating, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Miami)·Dined on December 3, 2017

Eat at Modis regularly as we live here in town. Great restaurant, would like to see more fish choices on the menu it seems to always be the same Scallops week after week. Loved the Salmon that was on the menu a month ago. Just not many choices for someone who doesn't eat meat. But the food is always amazing and creative.

Tags: Hot Spot, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on December 3, 2017

Really enjoyed the ramen and gnocchi at Modis! Good wine list and great service too.

Tags: Good for Groups, Cozy, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Denver)·Dined on November 27, 2017

Food, service, ambiance, location, friendly, vibrant, historic, Need I go on.
Went for a birthday dinner with my wife and had the best time. We will make this one of our favs in Breckenridge. Until next time!

Tags: Comfort Food, Happy Hour, Authentic, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 24, 2017

Food and service were great. Table location ruined the night at kitchen entry.
Every server, host or hostess yelled "Corner" as the entered and exited the kitchen, directly next to our table. Ruined the entire experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on November 20, 2017

I’ve never been asked “how’s your food going down”? Who asks such a thing and in that manner. We gave feedback about our meal and it was ignored completely. Numerous items were so bland that you couldn’t even eat them. There wasn’t even salt or pepper on the table. Everything took forever. Not worth it in any way shape or form. People actually sat down after us and ended up leaving because no one ever assisted them. If I could I would ask for my money bk!!!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service1
value1

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on November 19, 2017

I love it that Modis has some items on the menu for Vegans!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Vegan
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
·Dined on November 5, 2017

We celebrated my husband's birthday here, starting with happy hour wine and appetizers at the bar, before heading upstairs for a quiet meal. We really enjoyed it. Nice ambience and service, exactly what I was looking for.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Happy Hour, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Birthdays, Bar Seating, Good for Groups, Cozy, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on October 29, 2017

After two visits I'll be sure to come any time I'm in Breck. Upscale without being presumptuous not to trendy but fully on point.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on October 14, 2017

The food was outstanding, couldn’t have asked for better. Staff did a great job including decanting an older wine I had ordered. Highly recommend this place!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on October 14, 2017

The service was by far the best part of our experience. Our waitress Devynn was awesome. The food choices on the menu were not great this visit, so we had the salmon special. It was a great choice. The only negative about our visit this time was the noise level. We we're seated at a table adjacent to the bar area and it was very noisy​ and difficult to carry on a conversation during dinner.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5

vip
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on October 11, 2017

It's still off-season in Breck, so most spots are hungry for customers. This place has a nice vibe and we had a nice time. Food is as good as you'll find on Main St for their price range. They participated in the local 'Passport' program, so we earned a built-in discount also. The beef short-rib entree was quite good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on October 1, 2017

Great service by Devenny and the food was marvelous.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on October 1, 2017

Phenomenal experience here. Our waiter, Devynn, was outstanding. The cocktails were unique and delicious, and the food was remarkably tasty. Zero complaints about this place, and I'll certainly be visiting again whenever I'm back in Breck.

Tags: Good for a Date, Romantic, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on September 25, 2017

As always the food at Modis was delicious. My husband and I both had the fried chicken and waffles for dinner. The chicken portion was so big we could have split the entree. The waffles, brushed with syrup, were toasted to perfect. The batter on the fried chicken was thick and crispy.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on September 24, 2017

Fabulous food, great service, great wine selection...only criticism is the noise level...not a good place for quiet conversation

Tags: Notable Wine List, Seasonal, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on September 24, 2017

Wonderful as always

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on September 24, 2017

The wine list is a good one, but the prices are over the top; would suggest a few more less expensive wines

Tags: Casual, Vibrant Bar Scene, Bar Seating, People Watching, Creative Cuisine, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
·Dined on September 23, 2017

We have been to Breckenridge twice now for the Breckenridge Film Festival. We LOVE Modis and always make it a point to have dinner at least once during our visit. The food is fantastic.

Tags: Healthy, Pre/post Theatre, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Cozy, Happy Hour, Notable Wine List, Late-night Find, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Romantic, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on September 22, 2017

Anytime we're in Breckenridge, it's Modis. Excellent service, food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

 
 (New England)·Dined on September 13, 2017

After reading some mixed reviews, we were a bit hesitant to book a table at Modis but decided to try it anyway. We went early and it wasn't crowded at all except for a very lively crowd in the bar area. Our server was very responsive and prompt with our order. My husband ordered the short ribs and I had a salmon dish and a beet salad. The food was excellent! We both commented that it was one of the best meals we had in awhile. Also, the host stopped by our table to ask about our meal - which was a nice touch and always appreciated. If we are ever in Breckinridge again, we will come back to Modis.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Denver)·Dined on September 13, 2017

Modis has a good bar scene and a good restaurant, we prefer to sit in the bar and have dinner but if you want a quieter dinner upstairs there are some more private tables. The food is always inventive with great vegetarian options; the menu changes regularly and reflects local produce. Bar staff are attentive and make great cocktails. Wine list is extensive and reasonably priced. Happy hour is good value with good bar snacks.

Tags: Late-night Find, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Happy Hour, Good for a Date, Good Vegetarian Options, Vibrant Bar Scene, Fit for Foodies, Bar Seating, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
·Dined on September 7, 2017

The food was berry good, and the service was great! We feel like it is a little over priced! It could only be a once a year diner here because of the prices!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on September 4, 2017

Meal took 1 hour & 20 minutes, appetizers were delivered in 15 minutes. Food was not prepared correctly --- over done. No offer of free drinks or comp. due to slow service. People at table next to us left after waiting too long for food --- they called in for a pizza down the street after getting frustrated. Deck heaters ---- 1 out of 7 worked. Terrible experience!!! Will tell all friends to avoid & very overpriced for this crappy of an experience!!

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1
value1

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on September 3, 2017

Wow - Modis has gone down hill over the last couple of years.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on September 3, 2017

One of the top great restaurants we have been to in Breckinridge! Great service, friendly wait staff, wonderful food and a victorian ambience- loved it and will definitely be back!

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Tapas, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Good Vegetarian Options, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Casual, Spicy, Creative Cuisine, Hot Spot, People Watching, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on August 26, 2017

Never disappointed in Modis. Creative menu executed to perfection. Went in for happy hour and stayed for dinner. Great location and fun atmosphere.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on August 25, 2017

We've eaten at Modis several times and love it. Unfortunately the tuna that two of us ordered was so spicy that it was inedible. Shared my husband's ramen, which is always delicious. The tuna was not charged. The appetizers were delicious

Tags: Good for Groups, Vibrant Bar Scene, Happy Hour, Casual, Handcrafted Cocktails, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value3

vip
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on August 24, 2017

Fantastic cocktails and fabulous (and spicy) tuna.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on August 24, 2017

Our dinner was simply delightful from start to finish! Divine three peas app. Also, the curry soup and salad of the day were both excellent! Our entrees were delicious and the cheesecake and ice cream puffs yummy too! Over all a wonderful dining experience!

Tags: Bar Seating, Vibrant Bar Scene, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on August 22, 2017

Everything was good for our party of 5. Modis is a good restaurant. One complaint - when two people are sharing a salad or meal - prices warrant that it should be split in the kitchen and not bringing an extra plate to the table for the customer to split. First of all we are not given spatulas or large serving utensils in which to split the dish. Once split at the table with a dinner fork and knife by the customer the dish loses all appeal because the presentation has been butchered. Not splitting in the kitchen is pure laziness on the staff's part. Management should address this immediately.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Denver)·Dined on August 20, 2017

Unbelievable short rib appetizer!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 19, 2017

Incredible all around. Grilled Octopus, Hickory Smoked Pork Chops and Braised Rabbit were amazing.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on August 19, 2017

We were not overwhelmed with the food. One person had the Halibut Cheeks, which they were "trying out" on the menu, but it was so over salted that it was inedible. When mentioned to our server, he was indifferent and said no one else had mentioned it. Another person had the scallops and also felt they were too salty. The seasonal salad with grilled peaches was outstanding.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Creative Cuisine, Seasonal, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.