About Modis

113 S. Main Street
Breckenridge, CO 80424
View Larger Map

Colorado contemporary cuisine with an urban feel in a vibrant eclectic atmosphere. At Modis we focus on the art of food, drink, and life. Over 40 wines by the glass plus a full bar featuring a wide variety of craft and pre-prohibition style cocktails. Come in and check out our seasonally changing menus, art, and music.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday - Sunday: 2 daily Happy Hours 3-6 p.m. and 9-11 close (first come first serve). and Dinner Service starts at 5:00 p.m. and goes to around 9:30 p.m. **Please note that we do not accept happy hour reservations, all reservations made are for dinner service.

Cross Street:
Ski Hill Rd

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(970) 453-4330

Website:
http://www.modisbreck.com/

Parking Details:
Free parking available on Main Street in front of Modis or in Icehouse parking lot behind Modis.

Public Transit:
"Free Ride" transit stop located 1/2 block south on Main Street at the Blue River Plaza.

Executive Chef:
Simon Gilna

Additional:
Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

  • Mussels
  • Truffle Fries
  • Modis Veggie Dish
  • Parsnip And Nutmeg Soup
  • Muscles
  • Purple Haze
  • Wasabi Pea Encrusted Shrimp
  • Sliders
Mussels
Truffle Fries
Modis Veggie Dish
Parsnip And Nutmeg Soup
Muscles
Purple Haze
Wasabi Pea Encrusted Shrimp
Sliders

Modis Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.2

ambience

4.1

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Fit for Foodies (31)
Vibrant Bar Scene (19)
Special Occasion (18)
See All
Good for Groups (17)
Hot Spot (16)
Great for Outdoor Dining (16)
Romantic (11)
Notable Wine List (11)
Scenic View (10)
Neighborhood Gem (10)
Kid-friendly (5)
Great for Lunch (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Great for Brunch (2)
Sort By:
Newest
708 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Our first time at Modis and it was excel ...

vip
 (Denver)
·Dined 6 days ago

Our first time at Modis and it was excellent. Very nice staff and very good food. Located in the center of Main Street so easy access in and out.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

It's been one of the most reliable outst ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

It's been one of the most reliable outstanding restaurants for at least 5 years that we've been going to. As good as a great restaurant in any major city.

Tags: Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Kid-friendly, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Chicken too salty, short rib was a small ...

vip
 (Dallas)
·Dined on August 8, 2016

Chicken too salty, short rib was a small portion. Left hungry

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

Spent four nights in Breckenridge, this ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

Spent four nights in Breckenridge, this was the best dinner we had. Inventive chef, great dishes. The Peas, peas, peas dish was incredible. Beet salad excellent. Curry soup was spicy, but delicious. Everyone in our group of 5 was enthusiastic about the food.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Eaten here many times and it never disap ...

 
 (Oklahoma City)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

Eaten here many times and it never disappoints. Great menu and service. Great bourbon and scotch selection.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, Good for Groups, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Solid food although not outstanding. Ser ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

Solid food although not outstanding. Service good but not great - was in a hurry to turn over table.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value4

Amazing drinks with Christian and Sean a ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on August 4, 2016

Amazing drinks with Christian and Sean at the bar.. Anthony was our server and he was fantastic. The food was amazing and they were able to make my food vegan which I appreciated. If you haven't eaten here you are missing out.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We have generally had excellent experien ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

We have generally had excellent experiences at Modis - This past Saturday was an unfortunate exception. Good food but poor service. We will return, but sadly our guests will not.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value3

Have eaten here many times. This was the ...

vip
 (Denver)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

Have eaten here many times. This was the worst experience. Terrible service, so loud we couldn't converse across the table. What a mess!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service1
value3

This is a great place to have a fun cock ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

This is a great place to have a fun cocktail and enjoy delicious food !

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Waitress took drink away before I was do ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

Waitress took drink away before I was done with it.

Wait time for food was longer than it should have been.

Food was tasty.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

The menu options are fun, and the ingred ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

The menu options are fun, and the ingredients elevated. Katie was our server, and she could not have been more friendly, or the service been any better. So happy to have found this restaurant. Looking forward to going again, next time I am in Breck.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

We had traveled from Maryland and were e ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

We had traveled from Maryland and were exhausted and ready for a good meal and then bed. We were seated promptly but waited over an hour for our food. We almost got up and left but our food came right when we were about to leave. Our waiter was nice but it was very busy and he was running all over the place. It was also extremely loud, my husband and I couldn't have a conversation due to this. My short ribs were good but by the time our food came we were ready to go.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service2

We stumbled upon Modis for Happy Hour on ...

vip
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

We stumbled upon Modis for Happy Hour one afternoon and enjoyed one of the creative and delicious craft cocktails at the bar. The bartenders were very friendly and social and made us feel welcomed. The next day we decided to have dinner as Modis since the Happy Hour was so great. We are so glad we did! The service was outstanding. Our server, Kendra, was so attentive and fun - we really enjoyed visiting with her. The food was OUTSTANDING. Everyone in our party of four was delighted with their choice of entree. Highly recommended!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Kid-friendly, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent , tasty and unusual food prepa ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Excellent , tasty and unusual food preparations- great swordfish and chicken with waffles.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

Wonderful food, great preparation, prese ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

Wonderful food, great preparation, presentation and flavor. I highly recommend it to foodies.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent food and service. Would highly ...

vip
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

Excellent food and service. Would highly recommend trying Midis.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5

Food was great. Cocktail list amazing. U ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

Food was great. Cocktail list amazing. Upstairs and roof dining great! Service a bit slow. Over twelve minutes from when sat and greeted by server.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3

Food was good, service was terrible. Our ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on July 6, 2016

Food was good, service was terrible. Our waiter was more interested in the large party beside us then taking the time to provide even decent service. We have had wonderful service before, but unfortunately this visit left a terrible impression. For the money I would rather go to Ember or Relish where we have had outstanding service 100% of the time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1
value2

Very good experience all around.

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on July 6, 2016

Very good experience all around.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Loved our first dinner so much that we r ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 5, 2016

Loved our first dinner so much that we returned to Modis a second time during our visit to Breckenridge over the 4th of July weekend! Both of us had the swordfish both times! Perfectly prepared and the bed of noodles was the perfect accompaniment. We thought the Happy Hour menu was superior to others in Breckenridge and appreciated the discounts on wine by the glass rather than only having a few select beverages to choose from during Happy Hour. Will definitely return on our next visit!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The drinks were good and the salad was p ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on July 4, 2016

The drinks were good and the salad was pretty good but I had the special which was supposedly wasabi crusted scallops but they were tasteless. Also, everything was like warm. Yuck

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4

Modis continues to be a favorite of ours ...

 
 (Nebraska)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

Modis continues to be a favorite of ours over past 7 years. Great happy hour food and drinks. Top notch staff!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

Modis was one of my top restaurants in S ...

vip
 (Denver)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

Modis was one of my top restaurants in Summit County prior to the change in ownership a few years back. I stoped going after a couple disappointing experiences after the ownership change. This was my first time back after a those less than stellar experiences and I was pleasantly impressed. I now anticipate returning.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Food and service excellent. Will defin ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on June 27, 2016

Food and service excellent. Will definitely eat here again when in area.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Most food was good but the steaks were v ...

vip
 (Denver)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

Most food was good but the steaks were very overcooked despite a request for medium rare.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

have been to Modis during ski season 4 t ...

vip
 (Orlando)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

have been to Modis during ski season 4 times and it's always very good. Our latest trip was in June. Upstairs, table for two, by an open window. Perfect. The ramen bowl containing lobster, pork belly and octopus was incredible. Over the last 20 years we have been visiting Breckenridge and eating out most nights. Modis is the best.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great bar, great drink menu, great food. ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

Great bar, great drink menu, great food. Definitely recommend Modis.

Tags: Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Really enjoyed our meal here the other n ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

Really enjoyed our meal here the other night. We got there for HH and were thrilled to know that we could enjoy HH in the bar or on the roof deck. We ate outside and enjoyed a few of the many wines by the glass, and at HH prices! Our favorite dish--the charcuterie platter. Excellent value for money.

Would return.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Spectacular terrace

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on June 10, 2016

We started inside, but the air was sticky and then moved outside. Wow, in town and such a view!

Try the pea, pea and pea! I am not a veggie, but loved the creativity in this dish.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value3

Nice evening meal, great food. I have to ...

vip
 (London)
·Dined on June 10, 2016

Nice evening meal, great food. I have to confess service wasn't great. I would go back however.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service2

Enjoyed dining with such a great view. D ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on June 6, 2016

Enjoyed dining with such a great view. Drinks and food were delicious. Service was spot on. Perfect pacing for each course. Thank you for making my wife and my first anniversary special.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

It was 70 degrees so we sat on the deck ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on June 5, 2016

It was 70 degrees so we sat on the deck and had a view of some snowy peaks as the sun went down and the stars came out. Service was great and attentive, the food was excellent, and the wine list has alot by the glass. My first visit here was 4 years ago and it was excellent then too.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The food was amazing.

vip
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on June 5, 2016

The food was amazing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Great food and atmosphere

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on May 29, 2016

Great food for the whole family. We enjoyed the unique and flavorful dishes. My son's kid's menu steak was amazing. With all of our dishes there was nothing more we could have asked for. Absolutely wonderful! We will return.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was AMAZING!!!!

vip
 (Denver)
·Dined on May 15, 2016

We had the duck wings and mussels at the bar and they both were fantastic!! The bartender made us outstanding cucumber citrus basil martinis.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Top notch!

vip
 (Nashville)
·Dined on May 14, 2016

This was our second visit to Modis, and both times have provided a unique and pleasing dining experience. The menu is varied enough that everyone will find a favorite, and the preparation and presentation are works of art. There's NOTHING bad to say about Modis.

Tags: Scenic View, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

Great selection of drinks and food. I su ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on May 6, 2016

Great selection of drinks and food. I suggest the Sticky Ribs as an appetizer and Medicine of the Monks specialty drink. Service is top notch and provide great recommendations.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Best restaurant in Breck!

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on April 23, 2016

Amazing food, excellent service, creative food & drinks menu, have gone many times over the last few years and never disappoints

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best meal we've had in Breckenridge! I'm ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on April 13, 2016

Best meal we've had in Breckenridge! I'm mostly vegan and the vegan entree, Modis Veggie Dish, was outstanding! Others in our party enjoyed a perfectly prepared steak. The salmon was good but a bit overcooked. Outstanding service and excellent wine selections rounded out the experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.