About Modis

113 S. Main Street
Breckenridge, CO 80424
View Larger Map

Colorado contemporary cuisine with an urban feel in a vibrant eclectic atmosphere. At Modis we focus on the art of food, drink, and life. Over 40 wines by the glass plus a full bar featuring a wide variety of craft and pre-prohibition style cocktails. Come in and check out our seasonally changing menus, art, and music.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Tuesday - Sunday: 2 daily Happy Hours 3-6 p.m. and 9-11 close (first come first serve). and Dinner Service starts at 5:00 p.m. and goes to around 9:30 p.m. **Please note that we do not accept happy hour reservations, all reservations made are for dinner service.

Cross Street:
Ski Hill Rd

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(970) 453-4330

Website:
http://www.modisbreck.com/

Parking Details:
Free parking available on Main Street in front of Modis or in Icehouse parking lot behind Modis.

Public Transit:
"Free Ride" transit stop located 1/2 block south on Main Street at the Blue River Plaza.

Executive Chef:
Ryan Caswell

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Modis Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.4

ambience

4.4

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

86% would recommend it to a friend

Creative Cuisine (20)
Good for Anniversaries (19)
Handcrafted Cocktails (18)
See All
Fit for Foodies (18)
Good for a Date (16)
Special Occasion (15)
Casual (12)
Historic (11)
Bar Seating (11)
Fun (11)
Local Ingredients (11)
Happy Hour (11)
Vibrant Bar Scene (10)
Neighborhood Gem (9)
Modern Decor (8)
Hot Spot (8)
Cozy (8)
Romantic (8)
Authentic (8)
Good for Groups (7)
Notable Wine List (7)
Seasonal (6)
Worth the Drive (6)
Good Vegetarian Options (5)
Late-night Find (4)
Good for Birthdays (4)
Healthy (4)
Business Meals (4)
People Watching (3)
Gluten Free Options (3)
Outstanding Value (3)
Great Beer (3)
Open Kitchen (2)
Comfort Food (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Organic (2)
Tapas (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Spicy (1)
Quiet Conversation (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Scenic View (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Vegan (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
820 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined 6 days ago

Always hard to find a good dining spot in a ski town, Modis is an exception to this rule. Outstanding and original dishes.

Don't miss out!

(reservations via Open Table)

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Outstanding Value, Vibrant Bar Scene, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Casual, Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Gluten Free Options, Fun, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined 6 days ago

Took another couple and we had a great meal. Korean sticky ribs as app was amazing. Wine and cocktail selection very good also. Ramen, steak and chicken got raves. Carrot cake was dessert and worth the calories. We will be back for sure.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Osso Bucco out of this world. Butcher block charcuterie was awesome as were the mussels and Asian crispy chicken.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (New England)·Dined on February 13, 2017

Spent a Sunday evening at Modis in early February -- even on a week night, the earliest reservation we could get was 8:30... and it was totally worth waiting for. The service was perfect, the space lovely, and the food sublime. Modis belongs on my short list of brst restaurants ever. If you're in Breck, don't miss it.

Tags: Romantic, Good Vegetarian Options, Local Ingredients, Historic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Great place.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on February 7, 2017

The food was good - inventive combinations. We enjoyed the Brussels sprouts appetizer. Cocktails are unique and creative - smoky Old Fashioned was delicious. If you like Bourbon ask for the captains list of whiskeys. They have an impressive list that includes several hard to find options.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Denver)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Really enjoyed Modis! Creative food, good service and neat environment. A real win and I'd go back!

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Fayetteville)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Nice spot. Red snapper was great

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Awesome food! Try the Corpse Reviver! Excellent for apre ski people watching.

Tags: People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 3, 2017

ALWAYS a wonderful experience at Modis! The food and cocktails are consistently great. One of the very best spots in Breck!

Tags: Fun, Vibrant Bar Scene, Hot Spot, Bar Seating, Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on February 3, 2017

Great spot

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on February 3, 2017

We enjoyed our dinner at Modis; it was special in many ways. The building appears to be historic Breckenridge, with charming authentic decor. The service was excellent, friendly and helpful. The menu is very interesting and well chosen. The meal was excellent. My huband's Osso Bucco was thick, tender, delicious. We shared an outstanding roasted beet salad. We would highly recommend Modis for a special after-ski dinner.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Authentic, Healthy, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Casual, Romantic, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on January 30, 2017

Excellent food and cocktails.. great staff. Would recommend for any occasion.

Tags: Tapas, Creative Cuisine, Outstanding Value, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Terrible service, Very loud, Took 2 hours to receive our meal and one was sent back. Extremely overrated.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service1
value1

 
 (Dorset)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Excellent evening at Modis. Tasty food, spice cocktails and good service. Very busy by the bar so expect so noise but did not bother us and added to the ambience.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Modis is our favorite restaurant in Breckinridge. Husband and I order the filet and it was incredible along with the sides.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Business Meals, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Romantic, Casual, Good for a Date, Happy Hour, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on January 28, 2017

No table ready despite our reservation, combined with a rude and inattentive waitress and undercooked, still pink chicken sums up my experience at Modis. I will not return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service1
value1

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Outstanding dining experience. Jess was our waitress and she couldn't of been any better!!!! Will go back next time we are in town and I highly recommend. No complaints from any of the 4 of us. Outstanding

Tags: Special Occasion, Afternoon Coffee, Casual, Business Meals, Late-night Find, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on January 25, 2017

Good experience. Friendly staff and good food. A fun evening!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Denver)·Dined on January 24, 2017

2 couples meeting up for dinner. New server (trainee?) Kelsey was absolutely fantastic! She was knowledgeable, playful and spot on with her suggestions. Food was very good, very very good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on January 14, 2017

The flavors were interesting, especially the curry Caesar salad. However, when I asked for the dressing on the side, they served less than a tablespoon! When I requested more, they charged $2, and for an expensive meal during which I purchased a $50 bottle of wine, I thought that was extremely tacky and annoying and left a bad taste in my mouth.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Denver)·Dined on January 13, 2017

We tried several drinks and liked none of them. The server recommended we tried to "smoke" our cocktails. Do not do this. They charge you two dollars more (which she didn't tell us) and it tastes like someone put their cigarette out in your drink. The server seemed irritated that I only ordered a salad but the vegetarian options were extremely limited (only two items without meat). The actual location was cool with a beautiful staircase and interesting windows. We ate upstairs, but felt secluded in a hallway. Unfortunately, for the price and selection of food, I would not return to this restaurant. We were very disappointed and the food was not good. My salad was very salty and the my husband's vegetarian plate was minimal and quite boring. We go to Breckenridge all the time, but will definitely save our money and go somewhere else.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value1

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on January 13, 2017

We eat at Modis almost every time we are in Breckenridge. Great atmosphere, drinks, and food. Staff always friendly. It's a favorite.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Hot Spot, Happy Hour, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Miami)·Dined on January 12, 2017

Perfect evening! The salmon was the best I've ever had.

Top notch

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on January 12, 2017

Everything that we ordered was amazing!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 11, 2017

On our week in Breckenridge, we tried all the "top" restaurants in the area.

Modis was BY FAR the best meal of the week.

Tags: Cozy, Local Ingredients, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 9, 2017

Good, solid unpretentious food. fried chicken crispy with spicy Asian sauce. Friendly staff. Oh, they have French press coffee!

Tags: Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 9, 2017

Fabulous dinner with detailed historic cocktail options. Waitstaff very encouraging and attentive. Able to converse because noise level was not too loud. Not one detail went amiss.

Tags: Cozy, Romantic, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on January 9, 2017

Really good food and excellent cocktails. Our server was awesome as well!

Tags: Seasonal, Good for Anniversaries, Fun, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Modern Decor, Happy Hour, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on January 8, 2017

Great food. The Veal Osso Buco was great. Service was great for a group of 6. Handcrafted cocktails were creative and good.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine, Vibrant Bar Scene, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Denver)·Dined on January 7, 2017

The service was attentive without being interruptive . We were seated upstairs along the window for tables of 2. The explosion of flavors we experienced from the curry soup, beet salad and the encrusted pork tenderloin was exceptional! This is a pricey restaurant but typical of fine dining in the resort town of Breckenridge. We will return!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Bar Seating, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on January 4, 2017

One of the best restaurants I've been in a while. Eclectic menu, excellent food, great service. All 5 things we tried were delicious- and I am picky for good food.

Highly recommended.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (London)·Dined on January 3, 2017

Look and feel of an English pub, with excellent food...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on January 3, 2017

Such a great experience at Modis! Not only was the food completely amazing, the service was awesome too. We were vacationing in Breck, and went for dinner with our three kids ages 8, 5, and 2. Needless to say, I was a little anxious about taking our three munchkins to a very nice restaurant. They are well-behaved kiddos, but the best part of our experience was our server, Lauren! She made the kids (and US!) feel totally at ease, and all 5 of us absolutely loved Modis!!!

Tags: Historic, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Miami)·Dined on December 30, 2016

This is a classical tourist trap place. Food is overpriced and not all that good. Waiters push hard for expensive specials and don't really listen to the customer concerns. Would not recommend this place to anyone.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service2
value1

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on December 29, 2016

Bummed. We loved Modis last year but noticed a significant change in food quality this year. The craft drinks were still on point but food was way below adverage. Bad actually. Fried items were over breaded and grease, beet salad was out of the can beets on a pile of typical mixed greens, vegetable plate was not eatable, shrimp and grits as adverage as could come with overdressed radish cold salad plopped on plate. Just really really bad food all around. Might want to check out what's going on in your kitchen modis.

Tags: Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Denver)·Dined on December 27, 2016

The experience was disappointing by all 5 of us. Collectively we didn't like the table(shoved in the corner of a busy hallway next to the bathrooms. The table wobbled and was very short. It seemed like they were packing us in anywhere they could. The food was not good at all and VERY! Over priced. I don't like leaving negative reviews, but we don't want anyone to waste their time and money here. We wish we hadn't.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value1

 
 (Denver)·Dined on December 27, 2016

Wonderful food, waitress was amazing and wine list was extensive! Can't wait to go back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Miami)·Dined on December 25, 2016

Great service by Devin. Chef was able to costumize plate for my picky teenager son. Great flavors! Would definitely come back.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Vibrant Bar Scene, Authentic, Casual, Good for Anniversaries, Healthy, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on December 24, 2016

Right on Main Street in Breckenridge, in a beautiful historic building. Very creative, delicious drinks and food. Service was superb. Very pricey, but worth every cent!

Tags: Good for a Date, Historic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Denver)·Dined on December 23, 2016

The food and service were excellent except noise level made it difficult to hear much that was said at our table.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on December 23, 2016

Every meal here has been phenomenal. Great service. Mussels are our favorite dish.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Denver)·Dined on December 22, 2016

I tried Modis with some friends while out in Breckenridge... if you are looking for a quality restaurant for a nice meal, this is it!

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on December 21, 2016

We enjoyed returning for another meal at Modis. We appreciate their forward looking and creative menu. We had the Carmelized Onion Tart, Modis Steak and the Eastern Fried Chicken - all of which were delicious. We were slightly disappointed in their dessert menu - they were sold out of the one thing we wanted to order.

It is a great experience to eat very tasty food in this historic building.

Tags: Business Meals, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Miami)·Dined on December 21, 2016

Our server was excellent, very attire to us and our 6 year old. The steak was out of this world and the atmosphere was warm and inviting.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on December 19, 2016

Great service. Food was delicious!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

vip
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on December 14, 2016

Everything I had here was well thought out and delicious. I highly recommend that you try the beet salad.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on December 11, 2016

Great atmosphere . Vary attentive but not overly. Food was very good, all as ordered.

Tags: Open Kitchen, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on December 4, 2016

Food was very average!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service3
value2

 
 (Denver)·Dined on November 27, 2016

Great service, food and drinks as always! If you haven't eaten here yet it is a must.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.