About Modis

113 S. Main Street
Breckenridge, CO 80424
View Larger Map

Colorado contemporary cuisine with an urban feel in a vibrant eclectic atmosphere. At Modis we focus on the art of food, drink, and life. Over 40 wines by the glass plus a full bar featuring a wide variety of craft and pre-prohibition style cocktails. Come in and check out our seasonally changing menus, art, and music.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Tuesday - Sunday: 2 daily Happy Hours 3-6 p.m. and 9-11 close (first come first serve). and Dinner Service starts at 5:00 p.m. and goes to around 9:30 p.m. **Please note that we do not accept happy hour reservations, all reservations made are for dinner service.

Cross Street:
Ski Hill Rd

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(970) 453-4330

Website:
http://www.modisbreck.com/

Parking Details:
Free parking available on Main Street in front of Modis or in Icehouse parking lot behind Modis.

Public Transit:
"Free Ride" transit stop located 1/2 block south on Main Street at the Blue River Plaza.

Executive Chef:
Ryan Caswell

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

  • Mussels - Modis, Breckenridge, CO
  • Truffle Fries - Modis, Breckenridge, CO
  • Modis Veggie Dish - Modis, Breckenridge, CO
  • Parsnip And Nutmeg Soup - Modis, Breckenridge, CO
  • Muscles - Modis, Breckenridge, CO
  • Purple Haze - Modis, Breckenridge, CO
  • Wasabi Pea Encrusted Shrimp - Modis, Breckenridge, CO
  • Sliders - Modis, Breckenridge, CO

Report a photo problem

Mussels - Modis, Breckenridge, CO
Truffle Fries - Modis, Breckenridge, CO
Modis Veggie Dish - Modis, Breckenridge, CO
Parsnip And Nutmeg Soup - Modis, Breckenridge, CO
Muscles - Modis, Breckenridge, CO
Purple Haze - Modis, Breckenridge, CO
Wasabi Pea Encrusted Shrimp - Modis, Breckenridge, CO
Sliders - Modis, Breckenridge, CO

Modis Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.5

ambience

4.4

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

83% would recommend it to a friend

Handcrafted Cocktails (13)
Good for Anniversaries (12)
Creative Cuisine (11)
See All
Good for a Date (10)
Special Occasion (8)
Bar Seating (8)
Local Ingredients (8)
Fit for Foodies (8)
Fun (8)
Vibrant Bar Scene (7)
Modern Decor (7)
Good for Groups (7)
Historic (7)
Happy Hour (7)
Authentic (6)
Casual (6)
Worth the Drive (5)
Seasonal (5)
Cozy (5)
Hot Spot (5)
Notable Wine List (5)
Neighborhood Gem (5)
Romantic (4)
Good for Birthdays (4)
Scenic View (3)
Good Vegetarian Options (3)
Great Beer (2)
Organic (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Business Meals (1)
Quiet Conversation (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Healthy (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Spicy (1)
People Watching (1)
Sort By:
S
796 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

The flavors were interesting, especially ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined 6 days ago

The flavors were interesting, especially the curry Caesar salad. However, when I asked for the dressing on the side, they served less than a tablespoon! When I requested more, they charged $2, and for an expensive meal during which I purchased a $50 bottle of wine, I thought that was extremely tacky and annoying and left a bad taste in my mouth.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We tried several drinks and liked none o ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on January 13, 2017

We tried several drinks and liked none of them. The server recommended we tried to "smoke" our cocktails. Do not do this. They charge you two dollars more (which she didn't tell us) and it tastes like someone put their cigarette out in your drink. The server seemed irritated that I only ordered a salad but the vegetarian options were extremely limited (only two items without meat). The actual location was cool with a beautiful staircase and interesting windows. We ate upstairs, but felt secluded in a hallway. Unfortunately, for the price and selection of food, I would not return to this restaurant. We were very disappointed and the food was not good. My salad was very salty and the my husband's vegetarian plate was minimal and quite boring. We go to Breckenridge all the time, but will definitely save our money and go somewhere else.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value1

We eat at Modis almost every time we are ...

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on January 13, 2017

We eat at Modis almost every time we are in Breckenridge. Great atmosphere, drinks, and food. Staff always friendly. It's a favorite.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Hot Spot, Happy Hour, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Perfect evening! The salmon was the best ...

 
 (Miami)·Dined on January 12, 2017

Perfect evening! The salmon was the best I've ever had.

Top notch

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

On our week in Breckenridge, we tried a ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 11, 2017

On our week in Breckenridge, we tried all the "top" restaurants in the area.

Modis was BY FAR the best meal of the week.

Tags: Cozy, Local Ingredients, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Good, solid unpretentious food. fried c ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 9, 2017

Good, solid unpretentious food. fried chicken crispy with spicy Asian sauce. Friendly staff. Oh, they have French press coffee!

Tags: Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

Fabulous dinner with detailed historic c ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 9, 2017

Fabulous dinner with detailed historic cocktail options. Waitstaff very encouraging and attentive. Able to converse because noise level was not too loud. Not one detail went amiss.

Tags: Cozy, Romantic, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Really good food and excellent cocktails ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on January 9, 2017

Really good food and excellent cocktails. Our server was awesome as well!

Tags: Seasonal, Good for Anniversaries, Fun, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Modern Decor, Happy Hour, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great food. The Veal Osso Buco was great ...

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on January 8, 2017

Great food. The Veal Osso Buco was great. Service was great for a group of 6. Handcrafted cocktails were creative and good.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine, Vibrant Bar Scene, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

The service was attentive without being ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on January 7, 2017

The service was attentive without being interruptive . We were seated upstairs along the window for tables of 2. The explosion of flavors we experienced from the curry soup, beet salad and the encrusted pork tenderloin was exceptional! This is a pricey restaurant but typical of fine dining in the resort town of Breckenridge. We will return!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Bar Seating, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

One of the best restaurants I've been in ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on January 4, 2017

One of the best restaurants I've been in a while. Eclectic menu, excellent food, great service. All 5 things we tried were delicious- and I am picky for good food.

Highly recommended.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Look and feel of an English pub, with ex ...

vip
 (London)·Dined on January 3, 2017

Look and feel of an English pub, with excellent food...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Such a great experience at Modis! Not on ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on January 3, 2017

Such a great experience at Modis! Not only was the food completely amazing, the service was awesome too. We were vacationing in Breck, and went for dinner with our three kids ages 8, 5, and 2. Needless to say, I was a little anxious about taking our three munchkins to a very nice restaurant. They are well-behaved kiddos, but the best part of our experience was our server, Lauren! She made the kids (and US!) feel totally at ease, and all 5 of us absolutely loved Modis!!!

Tags: Historic, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This is a classical tourist trap place. ...

 
 (Miami)·Dined on December 30, 2016

This is a classical tourist trap place. Food is overpriced and not all that good. Waiters push hard for expensive specials and don't really listen to the customer concerns. Would not recommend this place to anyone.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service2
value1

Bummed. We loved Modis last year but not ...

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on December 29, 2016

Bummed. We loved Modis last year but noticed a significant change in food quality this year. The craft drinks were still on point but food was way below adverage. Bad actually. Fried items were over breaded and grease, beet salad was out of the can beets on a pile of typical mixed greens, vegetable plate was not eatable, shrimp and grits as adverage as could come with overdressed radish cold salad plopped on plate. Just really really bad food all around. Might want to check out what's going on in your kitchen modis.

Tags: Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service3
value3

The experience was disappointing by all ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on December 27, 2016

The experience was disappointing by all 5 of us. Collectively we didn't like the table(shoved in the corner of a busy hallway next to the bathrooms. The table wobbled and was very short. It seemed like they were packing us in anywhere they could. The food was not good at all and VERY! Over priced. I don't like leaving negative reviews, but we don't want anyone to waste their time and money here. We wish we hadn't.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value1

Wonderful food, waitress was amazing and ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on December 27, 2016

Wonderful food, waitress was amazing and wine list was extensive! Can't wait to go back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great service by Devin. Chef was able to ...

 
 (Miami)·Dined on December 25, 2016

Great service by Devin. Chef was able to costumize plate for my picky teenager son. Great flavors! Would definitely come back.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Vibrant Bar Scene, Authentic, Casual, Good for Anniversaries, Healthy, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Right on Main Street in Breckenridge, in ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on December 24, 2016

Right on Main Street in Breckenridge, in a beautiful historic building. Very creative, delicious drinks and food. Service was superb. Very pricey, but worth every cent!

Tags: Good for a Date, Historic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

The food and service were excellent exce ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on December 23, 2016

The food and service were excellent except noise level made it difficult to hear much that was said at our table.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Every meal here has been phenomenal. Gre ...

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on December 23, 2016

Every meal here has been phenomenal. Great service. Mussels are our favorite dish.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We enjoyed returning for another meal at ...

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on December 21, 2016

We enjoyed returning for another meal at Modis. We appreciate their forward looking and creative menu. We had the Carmelized Onion Tart, Modis Steak and the Eastern Fried Chicken - all of which were delicious. We were slightly disappointed in their dessert menu - they were sold out of the one thing we wanted to order.

It is a great experience to eat very tasty food in this historic building.

Tags: Business Meals, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Our server was excellent, very attire to ...

 
 (Miami)·Dined on December 21, 2016

Our server was excellent, very attire to us and our 6 year old. The steak was out of this world and the atmosphere was warm and inviting.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great service. Food was delicious!

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on December 19, 2016

Great service. Food was delicious!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Everything I had here was well thought o ...

vip
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on December 14, 2016

Everything I had here was well thought out and delicious. I highly recommend that you try the beet salad.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great atmosphere . Vary attentive but no ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on December 11, 2016

Great atmosphere . Vary attentive but not overly. Food was very good, all as ordered.

Tags: Open Kitchen, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great service, food and drinks as always ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on November 27, 2016

Great service, food and drinks as always! If you haven't eaten here yet it is a must.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We arrived about 1 hour earlier than our ...

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on November 26, 2016

We arrived about 1 hour earlier than our reservations, and they seated us. We had a lovely view and an even more excellent night. My friends kept complimenting me on my choice...it was all Modis--I just made the reservations. THANK YOU!!!!

Tags: Fun, Seasonal, Authentic, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My husband and I went to Modis for Thank ...

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on November 24, 2016

My husband and I went to Modis for Thanksgiving. OMG...It was just like being at home, except no leftovers...and no cooking or clean-up. I could get use to this!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I come once a year to this restaurant. I ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on November 24, 2016

I come once a year to this restaurant. It never disappoints. Always spectacular and amazing.

Tags: Happy Hour, Casual, Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

4th time I've been here over the years a ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on October 23, 2016

4th time I've been here over the years and. I've never been disappointed, food is amazing as well as the cocktails.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The drinks are awesome! Some of the food ...

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on October 22, 2016

The drinks are awesome! Some of the food was really good and other dishes were a little lacking. If I go back it will be just for appetizers and drinks.

Tags: Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Spent the weekend in Breck and started a ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on October 15, 2016

Spent the weekend in Breck and started at Modis. Ordered the butcher block appetizer, had a few bites and decided to save it for a late night snack - which was perfect! The butternut squash salad was very good and not heavy at all, then had the pork tenderloin and skirt steak for entrees, which were both excellent. Lots of food. Great wine selection.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

We always have dinner at Modis when we a ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on October 9, 2016

We always have dinner at Modis when we are in Breckenridge. The food is such high quality. Great service and aesthetically pleasing dining rooms. Would love to see a sister restaurant in Denver.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Fun, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was lovely, the ambience was ni ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on October 2, 2016

The food was lovely, the ambience was nice. We were treated pleasantly however our server kept his pen behind his ear. He then left the pen for us to use to sign the check. Perhaps some hygiene training is needed by management.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good Vegetarian Options, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

Lovely! The service was outstanding

 
 (Denver)·Dined on October 2, 2016

Lovely! The service was outstanding

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

I recommend this place for sure. The coc ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on September 10, 2016

I recommend this place for sure. The cocktails are so delicious and original, very fun! The food is also excellent, original, inventive and very tasty. And our server was so fun! Only downside is it got pretty loud as the evening wore on, to the point that it was challenging to hold a conversation. Still recommend though!

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Butcher Block - Amazing. Go here every t ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 5, 2016

Butcher Block - Amazing. Go here every time we are in Breck. Awesome.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The food was fantastic. My friend and I ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 3, 2016

The food was fantastic. My friend and I chose to have 7 appetizers, splitting only one of them between us for our dinner. We loved everything although it soon became obvious that we ordered too much food. It would have been nice if the waitress would have warned us but my rating does not take that into consideration.

I rated the service as poor because the waitress knew we were ordering many appetizers as our dinner and proceeded to bring the hot & cold ones all out at once, to our tiny table. It was ridiculous. This is not a fast food restaurant, the staff should know which items to bring out first and should know when to put in our multiple orders so we could enjoy them. Instead, we felt rushed and confused about what to eat first.

There is a noise level rating in this survey. They seem to think that the highest noise level means energetic, but on the night we were there, I would suggest it was more like deafening. We had to shout to hear each other. In addition, there was a large table near us with a few children who shouted & ran all other the place. I don't think that is the restaurant's fault but this is a fine dinning establishment, so I was hopeful for a little better atmosphere.

I've eaten here before and I'll go back but I won't leave so much to chance, such as food delivery. The food is excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service1

We had a great dinner. The win selection ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on August 30, 2016

We had a great dinner. The win selection was terrific (in fact the owner pulled out two bottles from her personal collection). Interesting entrees that were all exceptional and a very relaxed but elegant atmosphere. The best meal we had in Breckenridge all week.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.