Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.05mi
  2. Distance: 0.08mi
  3. Distance: 0.08mi
  4. Distance: 0.09mi
  1. Distance: 0.05mi
  2. Distance: 0.08mi
  3. Distance: 0.08mi
  4. Distance: 0.09mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.05mi
  2. Distance: 0.08mi
  3. Distance: 0.08mi
  4. Distance: 0.09mi
  1. Distance: 0.05mi
  2. Distance: 0.08mi
  3. Distance: 0.08mi
  4. Distance: 0.09mi

About Modis

Colorado contemporary cuisine with an urban feel in a vibrant eclectic atmosphere. At Modis we focus on the art of food, drink, and life. Over 40 wines by the glass plus a full bar featuring a wide variety of craft and pre-prohibition style cocktails. Come in and check out our seasonally changing menus, art, and music.

113 S. Main Street
Breckenridge, CO 80424
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Dinner
Tue–Sun 3:00 pm–12:00 am

Cross Street:
Ski Hill Rd

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(970) 453-4330

Website:
http://www.modisbreck.com/

Parking Details:
Parking is available on Main Street in front of Modis or in the Icehouse parking lot behind Modis off of Lincoln St.

Public Transit:
"Free Ride" transit stop located 1/2 block south on Main Street at the Blue River Plaza.

Executive Chef:
Ryan Caswell

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Modis Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.4

ambience

4.2

value

3.9

Noise

Moderate

87% would recommend it to a friend

Creative Cuisine (22)
Fit for Foodies (21)
Handcrafted Cocktails (18)
See All
Neighborhood Gem (15)
Special Occasion (12)
Good for a Date (12)
Bar Seating (9)
Casual (9)
Good for Anniversaries (9)
Happy Hour (8)
Good for Groups (7)
Hot Spot (7)
Vibrant Bar Scene (7)
Notable Wine List (6)
Romantic (6)
Good for Birthdays (5)
Cozy (5)
Late-night Find (5)
Local Ingredients (5)
Good Vegetarian Options (5)
Worth the Drive (5)
Fun (4)
Seasonal (4)
People Watching (4)
Authentic (3)
Great for Outdoor Dining (3)
Business Meals (2)
Kid-friendly (2)
Comfort Food (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Healthy (2)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
Scenic View (2)
Tapas (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Great Beer (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Organic (1)
Spicy (1)
Sort By:
S
945 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on October 14, 2017

The food was outstanding, couldn’t have asked for better. Staff did a great job including decanting an older wine I had ordered. Highly recommend this place!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on October 14, 2017

The service was by far the best part of our experience. Our waitress Devynn was awesome. The food choices on the menu were not great this visit, so we had the salmon special. It was a great choice. The only negative about our visit this time was the noise level. We we're seated at a table adjacent to the bar area and it was very noisy​ and difficult to carry on a conversation during dinner.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5

vip
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on October 11, 2017

It's still off-season in Breck, so most spots are hungry for customers. This place has a nice vibe and we had a nice time. Food is as good as you'll find on Main St for their price range. They participated in the local 'Passport' program, so we earned a built-in discount also. The beef short-rib entree was quite good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on October 1, 2017

Great service by Devenny and the food was marvelous.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on October 1, 2017

Phenomenal experience here. Our waiter, Devynn, was outstanding. The cocktails were unique and delicious, and the food was remarkably tasty. Zero complaints about this place, and I'll certainly be visiting again whenever I'm back in Breck.

Tags: Good for a Date, Romantic, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on September 25, 2017

As always the food at Modis was delicious. My husband and I both had the fried chicken and waffles for dinner. The chicken portion was so big we could have split the entree. The waffles, brushed with syrup, were toasted to perfect. The batter on the fried chicken was thick and crispy.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on September 24, 2017

Fabulous food, great service, great wine selection...only criticism is the noise level...not a good place for quiet conversation

Tags: Notable Wine List, Seasonal, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on September 24, 2017

Wonderful as always

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on September 24, 2017

The wine list is a good one, but the prices are over the top; would suggest a few more less expensive wines

Tags: Casual, Vibrant Bar Scene, Bar Seating, People Watching, Creative Cuisine, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
·Dined on September 23, 2017

We have been to Breckenridge twice now for the Breckenridge Film Festival. We LOVE Modis and always make it a point to have dinner at least once during our visit. The food is fantastic.

Tags: Healthy, Pre/post Theatre, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Cozy, Happy Hour, Notable Wine List, Late-night Find, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Romantic, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on September 22, 2017

Anytime we're in Breckenridge, it's Modis. Excellent service, food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

 
 (New England)·Dined on September 13, 2017

After reading some mixed reviews, we were a bit hesitant to book a table at Modis but decided to try it anyway. We went early and it wasn't crowded at all except for a very lively crowd in the bar area. Our server was very responsive and prompt with our order. My husband ordered the short ribs and I had a salmon dish and a beet salad. The food was excellent! We both commented that it was one of the best meals we had in awhile. Also, the host stopped by our table to ask about our meal - which was a nice touch and always appreciated. If we are ever in Breckinridge again, we will come back to Modis.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Denver)·Dined on September 13, 2017

Modis has a good bar scene and a good restaurant, we prefer to sit in the bar and have dinner but if you want a quieter dinner upstairs there are some more private tables. The food is always inventive with great vegetarian options; the menu changes regularly and reflects local produce. Bar staff are attentive and make great cocktails. Wine list is extensive and reasonably priced. Happy hour is good value with good bar snacks.

Tags: Late-night Find, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Happy Hour, Good for a Date, Good Vegetarian Options, Vibrant Bar Scene, Fit for Foodies, Bar Seating, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
·Dined on September 7, 2017

The food was berry good, and the service was great! We feel like it is a little over priced! It could only be a once a year diner here because of the prices!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on September 4, 2017

Meal took 1 hour & 20 minutes, appetizers were delivered in 15 minutes. Food was not prepared correctly --- over done. No offer of free drinks or comp. due to slow service. People at table next to us left after waiting too long for food --- they called in for a pizza down the street after getting frustrated. Deck heaters ---- 1 out of 7 worked. Terrible experience!!! Will tell all friends to avoid & very overpriced for this crappy of an experience!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1
value1

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on September 3, 2017

Wow - Modis has gone down hill over the last couple of years.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on September 3, 2017

One of the top great restaurants we have been to in Breckinridge! Great service, friendly wait staff, wonderful food and a victorian ambience- loved it and will definitely be back!

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Tapas, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Good Vegetarian Options, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Casual, Spicy, Creative Cuisine, Hot Spot, People Watching, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on August 26, 2017

Never disappointed in Modis. Creative menu executed to perfection. Went in for happy hour and stayed for dinner. Great location and fun atmosphere.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on August 25, 2017

We've eaten at Modis several times and love it. Unfortunately the tuna that two of us ordered was so spicy that it was inedible. Shared my husband's ramen, which is always delicious. The tuna was not charged. The appetizers were delicious

Tags: Good for Groups, Vibrant Bar Scene, Happy Hour, Casual, Handcrafted Cocktails, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value3

vip
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on August 24, 2017

Fantastic cocktails and fabulous (and spicy) tuna.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on August 24, 2017

Our dinner was simply delightful from start to finish! Divine three peas app. Also, the curry soup and salad of the day were both excellent! Our entrees were delicious and the cheesecake and ice cream puffs yummy too! Over all a wonderful dining experience!

Tags: Bar Seating, Vibrant Bar Scene, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on August 22, 2017

Everything was good for our party of 5. Modis is a good restaurant. One complaint - when two people are sharing a salad or meal - prices warrant that it should be split in the kitchen and not bringing an extra plate to the table for the customer to split. First of all we are not given spatulas or large serving utensils in which to split the dish. Once split at the table with a dinner fork and knife by the customer the dish loses all appeal because the presentation has been butchered. Not splitting in the kitchen is pure laziness on the staff's part. Management should address this immediately.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Denver)·Dined on August 20, 2017

Unbelievable short rib appetizer!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 19, 2017

Incredible all around. Grilled Octopus, Hickory Smoked Pork Chops and Braised Rabbit were amazing.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on August 19, 2017

We were not overwhelmed with the food. One person had the Halibut Cheeks, which they were "trying out" on the menu, but it was so over salted that it was inedible. When mentioned to our server, he was indifferent and said no one else had mentioned it. Another person had the scallops and also felt they were too salty. The seasonal salad with grilled peaches was outstanding.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Creative Cuisine, Seasonal, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value4

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on August 19, 2017

Everything from the wine, food, and the service were excellent. The wine list offers a unique selection at reasonable prices. The portions are substantial and well priced. There were several vegetarian options available which was greatly appreciated. The food is beautifully prepared, well seasoned and delicious.
I would definitely return and recommend.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on August 14, 2017

Always a pleasurable dining experience. Food was delicious.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on August 13, 2017

Love the balcony and all the light! Great save when out of our wine suggested a great replacement for the same price. Service was good; friendly knowledgeable server and wine steward. Food was creative and delicious!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on August 10, 2017

The seasonal salad my husband and I shared was the best salad we've ever had at a restaurant. We went all out and got the wagyu steak with bone marrow fried rice. It was all delicious except the chef did not cook the steak medium as we had asked for. It was rare. And therefore, so chewy I had to spit out some of my bites. Disappointing considering the cost. But everything else was divine tasting.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on August 8, 2017

Always enjoy Modis. They serve delicious food and have lots of unusual drinks. The whiskey selection unbelievable.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on August 8, 2017

Pork chops and Scallops we're both very good. Mussels ordinarily great we're good but very small.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 7, 2017

Great spot for any occasion. Good for sharing and good apps. Cocktails are to die for.

Tags: Happy Hour, Vibrant Bar Scene, Fun, Good for Groups, Handcrafted Cocktails, Hot Spot, Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Cozy, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on August 7, 2017

Service was spectacular and the food selection, preparation and presentation was excellent!
Definitely our new 'go to' place.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on August 7, 2017

Our server was pleasant, but drinks and food came out slowly. The rabbit pasta was very dry and when we told our server she brought out additional sauce, so that was a good thing. The tomato salad was huge, more of a dinner size rather than a first course. The curry soup was quite spicy and delicious. We really wanted to like Modis, but it missed the mark for us.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value2

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on August 6, 2017

Good food, nice atmosphere! We would go there again for sure.

Tags: Hot Spot, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on August 3, 2017

Service was a little slow, but the food was very good, especially the rabbit carbonara. Great wine list

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Bar Seating, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on August 2, 2017

Service was really slow, food was very expensive. The presentation of the food was very pretty and artistic, but the flavor was not great. I had the "best" steak on the menu for $50 and it was chewy, no flavor, the rice that came with it had a horrible flavor. The drink I ordered from the bar was too strong to even drink. Other people in my group were not pleased with their meals either. Was a real disappointment. Hoped it would be great based on the other reviews.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on August 1, 2017

Made reservations based on reviews and everyone in our group loved their food! From the owner who is very present to the bartenders and servers, we received excellent service. Happy hour is a good time to go as you can try craft beers, wines and cocktails at a discounted rate as well as appetizers. Highly recommend the mussels- they were excellent! We liked them so much we went back a 2nd time for them! Also enjoyed the unique menu with octopus, different combos and meats and definitely something for everyone. If you're a foodie, stop in! Definitely one of our favorite spots!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Local Ingredients, Authentic, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on August 1, 2017

This was one of our favorite places when we were first in Breckenridge. The mark is missed with overall food and ambience. The service that night was the absolute the best we have had there- so thank-you.

Tags: Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service5
value3

 
 (Houston)·Dined on July 28, 2017

Modis never fails to provide a great dining experience. We have dined there numerous times, Summer and Winter. Their cocktails are fantastic, and they offer the widest variety of cocktails in Breckenridge, to my knowledge. From amazing appetizers (you've got to try the Sticky Ribs) to delicate, wholesome salads, to "solid" meat and seafood entrees (you can get vegetarian dishes and oriental fusion dishes as well) served with creative sauces and wonderful sides, to delicious and original desserts, Modis offers great meals, served by knowledgeable and gracious staff. We visit Breckenridge very often; there are many good restaurants in Breck. Modis is, overall, the best for original and satisfying meals.

Tags: Seasonal, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.