About Modis

113 S. Main Street
Breckenridge, CO 80424
View Larger Map

Colorado contemporary cuisine with an urban feel in a vibrant eclectic atmosphere. At Modis we focus on the art of food, drink, and life. Over 40 wines by the glass plus a full bar featuring a wide variety of craft and pre-prohibition style cocktails. Come in and check out our seasonally changing menus, art, and music.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday - Sunday: 2 daily Happy Hours 3-6 p.m. and 9-11 close (first come first serve). and Dinner Service starts at 5:00 p.m. and goes to around 9:30 p.m. **Please note that we do not accept happy hour reservations, all reservations made are for dinner service.

Cross Street:
Ski Hill Rd

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(970) 453-4330

Website:
http://www.modisbreck.com/

Parking Details:
Free parking available on Main Street in front of Modis or in Icehouse parking lot behind Modis.

Public Transit:
"Free Ride" transit stop located 1/2 block south on Main Street at the Blue River Plaza.

Executive Chef:
Simon Gilna

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking Area, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Smoking Area, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine, Wine Bar

Restaurant Photos

  • Mussels
  • Truffle Fries
  • Modis Veggie Dish
  • Parsnip And Nutmeg Soup
  • Muscles
  • Purple Haze
  • Wasabi Pea Encrusted Shrimp
  • Sliders
Mussels
Truffle Fries
Modis Veggie Dish
Parsnip And Nutmeg Soup
Muscles
Purple Haze
Wasabi Pea Encrusted Shrimp
Sliders

Modis Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.4

ambience

4.2

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Contemporary American
Mountains
Best Restaurants in Breckenridge ›

fit for foodies (30)
vibrant bar scene (19)
good for groups (16)
See All
special occasion (14)
hot spot (13)
notable wine list (12)
great for outdoor dining (12)
neighborhood gem (11)
romantic (8)
scenic view (8)
kid-friendly (5)
late-night find (5)
great for lunch (2)
great for brunch (2)
Sort By:
Newest
697 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

The menu options are fun, and the ingred ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined 4 days ago

The menu options are fun, and the ingredients elevated. Katie was our server, and she could not have been more friendly, or the service been any better. So happy to have found this restaurant. Looking forward to going again, next time I am in Breck.

Tags: fit for foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

We had traveled from Maryland and were e ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

We had traveled from Maryland and were exhausted and ready for a good meal and then bed. We were seated promptly but waited over an hour for our food. We almost got up and left but our food came right when we were about to leave. Our waiter was nice but it was very busy and he was running all over the place. It was also extremely loud, my husband and I couldn't have a conversation due to this. My short ribs were good but by the time our food came we were ready to go.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service2

We stumbled upon Modis for Happy Hour on ...

vip
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

We stumbled upon Modis for Happy Hour one afternoon and enjoyed one of the creative and delicious craft cocktails at the bar. The bartenders were very friendly and social and made us feel welcomed. The next day we decided to have dinner as Modis since the Happy Hour was so great. We are so glad we did! The service was outstanding. Our server, Kendra, was so attentive and fun - we really enjoyed visiting with her. The food was OUTSTANDING. Everyone in our party of four was delighted with their choice of entree. Highly recommended!

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent , tasty and unusual food prepa ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Excellent , tasty and unusual food preparations- great swordfish and chicken with waffles.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

Wonderful food, great preparation, prese ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

Wonderful food, great preparation, presentation and flavor. I highly recommend it to foodies.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent food and service. Would highly ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

Excellent food and service. Would highly recommend trying Midis.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5

Food was great. Cocktail list amazing. U ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

Food was great. Cocktail list amazing. Upstairs and roof dining great! Service a bit slow. Over twelve minutes from when sat and greeted by server.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3

Food was good, service was terrible. Our ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on July 6, 2016

Food was good, service was terrible. Our waiter was more interested in the large party beside us then taking the time to provide even decent service. We have had wonderful service before, but unfortunately this visit left a terrible impression. For the money I would rather go to Ember or Relish where we have had outstanding service 100% of the time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1
value2

Very good experience all around.

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on July 6, 2016

Very good experience all around.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Loved our first dinner so much that we r ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 5, 2016

Loved our first dinner so much that we returned to Modis a second time during our visit to Breckenridge over the 4th of July weekend! Both of us had the swordfish both times! Perfectly prepared and the bed of noodles was the perfect accompaniment. We thought the Happy Hour menu was superior to others in Breckenridge and appreciated the discounts on wine by the glass rather than only having a few select beverages to choose from during Happy Hour. Will definitely return on our next visit!

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The drinks were good and the salad was p ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on July 4, 2016

The drinks were good and the salad was pretty good but I had the special which was supposedly wasabi crusted scallops but they were tasteless. Also, everything was like warm. Yuck

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4

Modis continues to be a favorite of ours ...

 
 (Omaha)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

Modis continues to be a favorite of ours over past 7 years. Great happy hour food and drinks. Top notch staff!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

Modis was one of my top restaurants in S ...

vip
 (Denver)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

Modis was one of my top restaurants in Summit County prior to the change in ownership a few years back. I stoped going after a couple disappointing experiences after the ownership change. This was my first time back after a those less than stellar experiences and I was pleasantly impressed. I now anticipate returning.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, scenic view, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Food and service excellent. Will defin ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on June 27, 2016

Food and service excellent. Will definitely eat here again when in area.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Most food was good but the steaks were v ...

vip
 (Denver)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

Most food was good but the steaks were very overcooked despite a request for medium rare.

Tags: great for outdoor dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

have been to Modis during ski season 4 t ...

vip
 (Orlando)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

have been to Modis during ski season 4 times and it's always very good. Our latest trip was in June. Upstairs, table for two, by an open window. Perfect. The ramen bowl containing lobster, pork belly and octopus was incredible. Over the last 20 years we have been visiting Breckenridge and eating out most nights. Modis is the best.

Tags: fit for foodies, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great bar, great drink menu, great food. ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

Great bar, great drink menu, great food. Definitely recommend Modis.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Really enjoyed our meal here the other n ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

Really enjoyed our meal here the other night. We got there for HH and were thrilled to know that we could enjoy HH in the bar or on the roof deck. We ate outside and enjoyed a few of the many wines by the glass, and at HH prices! Our favorite dish--the charcuterie platter. Excellent value for money.

Would return.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Spectacular terrace

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on June 10, 2016

We started inside, but the air was sticky and then moved outside. Wow, in town and such a view!

Try the pea, pea and pea! I am not a veggie, but loved the creativity in this dish.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value3

Nice evening meal, great food. I have to ...

 
 (London)
·Dined on June 10, 2016

Nice evening meal, great food. I have to confess service wasn't great. I would go back however.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service2

Enjoyed dining with such a great view. D ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on June 6, 2016

Enjoyed dining with such a great view. Drinks and food were delicious. Service was spot on. Perfect pacing for each course. Thank you for making my wife and my first anniversary special.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

It was 70 degrees so we sat on the deck ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on June 5, 2016

It was 70 degrees so we sat on the deck and had a view of some snowy peaks as the sun went down and the stars came out. Service was great and attentive, the food was excellent, and the wine list has alot by the glass. My first visit here was 4 years ago and it was excellent then too.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The food was amazing.

vip
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on June 5, 2016

The food was amazing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Great food and atmosphere

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on May 29, 2016

Great food for the whole family. We enjoyed the unique and flavorful dishes. My son's kid's menu steak was amazing. With all of our dishes there was nothing more we could have asked for. Absolutely wonderful! We will return.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was AMAZING!!!!

vip
 (Denver)
·Dined on May 15, 2016

We had the duck wings and mussels at the bar and they both were fantastic!! The bartender made us outstanding cucumber citrus basil martinis.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Top notch!

vip
 (Nashville)
·Dined on May 14, 2016

This was our second visit to Modis, and both times have provided a unique and pleasing dining experience. The menu is varied enough that everyone will find a favorite, and the preparation and presentation are works of art. There's NOTHING bad to say about Modis.

Tags: scenic view, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

Great selection of drinks and food. I su ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on May 6, 2016

Great selection of drinks and food. I suggest the Sticky Ribs as an appetizer and Medicine of the Monks specialty drink. Service is top notch and provide great recommendations.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Best restaurant in Breck!

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on April 23, 2016

Amazing food, excellent service, creative food & drinks menu, have gone many times over the last few years and never disappoints

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best meal we've had in Breckenridge! I'm ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on April 13, 2016

Best meal we've had in Breckenridge! I'm mostly vegan and the vegan entree, Modis Veggie Dish, was outstanding! Others in our party enjoyed a perfectly prepared steak. The salmon was good but a bit overcooked. Outstanding service and excellent wine selections rounded out the experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Everything was absolutely delicious. The ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on April 1, 2016

Everything was absolutely delicious. The ribs appetizer is not to be missed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

When in Breck, always visit Modis

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on March 29, 2016

Excellent food and presentation, outstanding service from both our hostess, who honored our request for upstairs seating, to our server Joya, who was both knowledgeable and attentive.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

A treat to find in breck.

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on March 28, 2016

A treat to find in breck.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Happening restaurant in Breck

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on March 27, 2016

My daughter and I had a fabulous meal at Modis. She is vegetarian and loved the cauliflower steak. The Scottish salmon that I had was also delicious. Would like to eat there again tonight! There was quite a festive atmosphere (ie a little loud) at the restaurant the night we were there. Our waiter was a gem. Highly recommend. The upstairs would likely be quieter.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Good food but not outstanding. Great service

 
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on March 26, 2016

We were very excited to try Modis and were not disappointed. The service was great and I could not ask for anything more from this standpoint. We also did not eat the main entrees so I can't comment on those. We LOVED the salads and every family member loved the beef stew. So much so that our children ordered their own after tasting ours! The ramen was surprisingly bland. The broth it came it was pretty good but the taste overall was not good. I would go back for sure and hope to try some of the main items.

Tags: kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Easy choice for all

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on March 25, 2016

There is something for everyone. The menu was very creative, with unusual spice combinations. Almost seemed like a cross between comfort food and fusion.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Great place , awesome food , spectacular ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on March 24, 2016

Great place , awesome food , spectacular craft cocktails . Try a Smoky Old Fashion

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Modis never disappoints when you're look ...

vip
 (Denver)
·Dined on March 20, 2016

Modis never disappoints when you're looking for a great dinner. Unfortunately service was poor to fair. Waiter was inattentive. We asked for water repeatedly. Menu items weren't explained well. He wasn't able to answer questions about the menu. He did recommend a great Cabernet.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2

Great ambiance and dining

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on March 19, 2016

Our waiter was perfectly cheery! Loved the bone marrow app!! The miso/mushroom and southwest soups are amazing too! Love the art displayed as well! Perfect date night!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We got there during happy hour. A very ...

vip
 (Detroit)
·Dined on March 17, 2016

We got there during happy hour. A very nice tasting menu was in place. We tried many of the items and all were excellent. Would highly recommend this place.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great Happy hour Specials , amazing drin ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on March 14, 2016

Great Happy hour Specials , amazing drinks

Best restaurant in Breck

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.