Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.05mi
  2. Distance: 0.08mi
  3. Distance: 0.08mi
  4. Distance: 0.09mi
  1. Distance: 0.05mi
  2. Distance: 0.08mi
  3. Distance: 0.08mi
  4. Distance: 0.09mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.05mi
  2. Distance: 0.08mi
  3. Distance: 0.08mi
  4. Distance: 0.09mi
  1. Distance: 0.05mi
  2. Distance: 0.08mi
  3. Distance: 0.08mi
  4. Distance: 0.09mi

About Modis

Colorado contemporary cuisine with an urban feel in a vibrant eclectic atmosphere. At Modis we focus on the art of food, drink, and life. Over 40 wines by the glass plus a full bar featuring a wide variety of craft and pre-prohibition style cocktails. Come in and check out our seasonally changing menus, art, and music.

113 S. Main Street
Breckenridge, CO 80424
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Tuesday - Sunday: 2 daily Happy Hours 3-6 p.m. and 9-11 close (first come first serve). and Dinner Service starts at 5:00 p.m. and goes to around 9:30 p.m. **Please note that we do not accept happy hour reservations, all reservations made are for dinner service.

Cross Street:
Ski Hill Rd

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(970) 453-4330

Website:
http://www.modisbreck.com/

Parking Details:
Parking is available on Main Street in front of Modis or in the Icehouse parking lot behind Modis off of Lincoln St.

Public Transit:
"Free Ride" transit stop located 1/2 block south on Main Street at the Blue River Plaza.

Executive Chef:
Ryan Caswell

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Modis Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.3

ambience

4.3

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

90% would recommend it to a friend

Fit for Foodies (37)
Creative Cuisine (37)
Good for a Date (32)
See All
Handcrafted Cocktails (28)
Vibrant Bar Scene (21)
Good for Anniversaries (21)
Special Occasion (20)
Bar Seating (18)
Cozy (17)
Casual (17)
Neighborhood Gem (15)
Local Ingredients (15)
Happy Hour (15)
Fun (15)
Hot Spot (14)
Historic (13)
Romantic (12)
Good Vegetarian Options (11)
Authentic (10)
Good for Groups (10)
Healthy (10)
Modern Decor (10)
Notable Wine List (9)
Worth the Drive (9)
Seasonal (9)
People Watching (7)
Good for Birthdays (7)
Outstanding Value (7)
Great Beer (5)
Late-night Find (5)
Gluten Free Options (5)
Business Meals (5)
Organic (4)
Molecular Gastronomy (4)
Spicy (3)
Kid-friendly (3)
Tasting Menu (2)
Comfort Food (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Vegan (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Family Style (2)
Quiet Conversation (2)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Tapas (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Scenic View (1)
Sunday Lunch (0)
Sort By:
S
876 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined 3 days ago

We were in Breckenridge for a wedding and went out for dinner on our first night. I can't imagine selecting a better place to eat.

The cocktail menu alone is impressive with a huge selection of modern and historic recipes.

The food was spectacular, bordering on over generous. None of us quite finished, not because it wasn't great, but there was SO MUCH FOOD.

If you have dinner at one place in Breck, go here. You will not be disappointed.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Love Modis! Such a great location and a beautiful restaurant. The cocktail menu is extensive with tons of options for everyone! The appetizers are all amazing. The PEI mussels are outstanding, the ribs were delicious and the onion tart was great! All the entrees were delicious as well. The ramen was a bit salty, and it was difficult to eat the quail with the bone in. The desserts were amazing! Will definitely be back again!

Tags: Hot Spot, Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 15, 2017

Service was pretty slow and the food was ok...normally it's a great spot but it must be because the season is over

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value3

 
 (Denver)·Dined on April 14, 2017

Out last meal out in Breckenridge and our favourite by far. Excellent food and great wine list. We will be back!

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Family Style, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Denver)·Dined on April 10, 2017

Great cocktails, the wine list is ok, but the waiter was totally uneducated on the offerings. The service was painfully slow, and the restaurant was not that busy (off season). The menu had great variety, and the food was executed well enough. I would go back for happy hour, but probably not for dinner.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service1
value1

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 5, 2017

Beautifully prepared food creative combinations lovely setting knowledge excellent servers.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Denver)·Dined on April 1, 2017

The food here never ceases to amaze. You can't go wrong! I especially love the ramen and the sticky ribs.
The ramen is made in house and the depth of flavor is astounding. The sticky ribs are to die for. The Korean BBQ sauce paired with the cornbread is phenomenal!
Hands down best food I've had in Breck

Tags: Cozy, Healthy, Local Ingredients, Good Vegetarian Options, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Seasonal, Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on April 1, 2017

Food was good. Beef carpaccio was good, not much flavor. Chartrutere was great!! Veal was tasty. The pork tenderloin is a little overly salted & crusted. Service was good. Cocktails are great!

Tags: Hot Spot, Gluten Free Options, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 26, 2017

Excellent service, fabulous menu selection! Ate here twice on vacation and loved it both times

Tags: Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on March 26, 2017

Great place for Breckenridge. Best menu and food in town. A great mix of sophistication and value.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Hot Spot, Good for Birthdays, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on March 26, 2017

Phenomenal as always! Enough said. Enough said. You shouldn't make me do this. I'm writing a review!

Tags: Happy Hour, Worth the Drive, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 24, 2017

Amazing as always! There is nothing on the menu that isn't delicious and the service is wonderful as well. The chef is so talented and the hostesses are always very sweet/funny. Must go here if in Breck!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on March 23, 2017

From the moment we arrived the staff was very attentive and welcoming. Devin our waitress was very helpful and the food was wonderfully unique and quite tasty!
Highly recommended

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 22, 2017

Excellent service, incredible gluten free options! Red pepper soup was unforgettable.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 22, 2017

Wonderful meal and a wonderful experience, would highly recommend.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Seasonal, Healthy, Spicy, Organic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Jackson Hole)·Dined on March 18, 2017

A hit for vegetarians and by far the best dining experience we had in Breckenridge. Had we discovered Modis earlier in the week, we would surely have visited several times. The regular vegetarian options (yes, not just one boring token offering) were outstanding and there were other dishes that could be adapted, and were advertised as such on the menu. Highly recommended.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Modern Decor, Creative Cuisine, Seasonal, Outstanding Value, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on March 17, 2017

Cold food, amateurish cooking that seemed like an attempt to throw every flavor and texture together without consideration.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

vip
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on March 17, 2017

Outstanding

Tags: Seasonal, Local Ingredients, Historic, Fun, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 16, 2017

Great food and must eat at venue while in Breckenridge. Service great and food was great. We were not rushed and felt like we were dining.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Denver)·Dined on March 15, 2017

Our waitress, Jessie, was wonderful from the moment we were seated upstairs. Midis has a big bar crowd apres ski and gets very loud downstairs. The Panzanella Salad ($9.00) was fresh and zesty, the Eastern Fried Chicken ($24.00) is a boneless breast and thigh is fried in a tempura-like batter and served atop shoyu-chili fregula & haricot very, flavored with Tso's sauce so it is a bit spicy but the Mandarin orange and kohlrabi-carrot slaw on the side helps to cool off the palate. The desserts are not to be missed. Modis has a new pastry chef. She just started working at the restaurant recently. We had her chocolate mousse dessert with ganache, gold leaf flecks, fresh raspberries , and whipped cream. It was perfectly balanced, being not too sweet and chocolaty enough without being bitter. A real adult chocolate lovers dessert. The menu offerings are limited, but what they do they do very well.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Casual, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on March 15, 2017

This was a good choice. We had reservations and were seated immediately. The menu isn't huge but doesn't need to be. I had the tuna special of the day. It was cooked to perfection. They did let me know it was spicey, but I must say that it was even too spicey for my tastes. I have a very high threshold for heat and it exceeded even my level of tolerance.

My daughter had the ramen and did not like the flavor of th mushroom broth mix that the ramen comes in. It was very strong. She also had the mango raspberry sorbet and said it was excellent.

This is a very loud restaurant, so don't expect much conversation unless you lean in!

Tags: Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 14, 2017

great dinner with great friends!!

Cool vibe and perfect location

Tags: Healthy, Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on March 14, 2017

Great dinning experience with a view of the mountains from the upstairs dinning area.

Tags: Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Houston)·Dined on March 14, 2017

There wer 3 in our party. One of the orders came out wrong. Took 1 hour to get dinner had an app

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on March 13, 2017

Really excellent meal. Interesting Asian tuna dish and Ramen (unlike you've had anywhere else) were great.
Highly recommended!

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Jackson Hole)·Dined on March 11, 2017

If you are an adventurous cocktail connoisseur, then this is the place for you! Hip and eclectic vibe. Food was delicious, however could have been served a little hotter(temp wise). Christian our server was exceptional, offering professional ,superior, and friendly service!

Tags: Fun, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Great initial impression of the restaurant/atmosphere upon arrival. Our table for 6 was ready promptly at our reservation time, but it was more appropriately sized for 4-5 people max, not 6. We had a difficult time throughout our courses fitting all the serving pieces and glassware. Our waitress lacked interest in our party and was unengaged/insincere.

We ordered several starters, the mussel app and salads were enjoyable. 3 of the 6 people in our party ordered the special that evening, a seared ahi tuna, and general consensus was disappointment. The curry soup was inedible. Our waitress was dismissive of feedback, rude. Very disappointing given the caliber of the restaurant, both in terms of food but more importantly service. Expectations were not met and with so many great dining choices in Breck, we will not be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service1
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 8, 2017

Great knowledgable server, very nice historic relaxing space, amazing cocktail selection, as well as wine and beer.
Quality presentation and flavor of all of our dishes were very memorable.
I will return when back in town.

Tags: Great Beer, Outstanding Value, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Good for Groups, Vegan, Organic, Worth the Drive, Handcrafted Cocktails, Paleo Friendly, Casual, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Spicy, Romantic, Vibrant Bar Scene, Bar Seating, Authentic, Seasonal, Good Vegetarian Options, Local Ingredients, Healthy, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Denver)·Dined on March 8, 2017

My meal at Modis was one of the best in Breckenridge! I will go back, and often. This is where I will take friends and family.
Great food!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on March 7, 2017

A lovely place - lots of great options for vegans - someone in the kitchen is doing great creative work.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (New Mexico)·Dined on March 7, 2017

We reserved to eat at Modi's Apres Ski and the food was fantastic!! Had the fish of the day special, it was great! We highly recommend the Smoked Manhattan drink.

Tags: Historic, Authentic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Hot Spot, Gluten Free Options, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on March 6, 2017

Lauren, our server, was very attentive with the perfect amount of fun and engagement! Food - wonderful! We shared the beet and panzanella salads and really enjoyed both of them. The tuna tartare appetizer special was fresh with crisp wontons and a little kick of spice. My husband and I split the osso bucco and it was still too much food - and very flavorful. Likewise, our two adult children split a bowl of ramen and each revived a huge flavorful bowl, with visible piceces of quail and duck. Don't forget the s'mores bread pudding if it is available. We all shared it and agreed that it was one of our favorite desserts ever:

Tags: Business Meals, Worth the Drive, Casual, Cozy, Vibrant Bar Scene, Fun, People Watching, Seasonal, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Bar Seating, Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on March 6, 2017

Food is great, cocktails are unique! Only bad thing is the service is slow. I think they need more severs to tables than they currently have. The server was great but he had too many tables to give us the attention we are accustomed.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 6, 2017

only complaint is that all dishes had too many ingredients

Tags: Bar Seating, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Denver)·Dined on March 5, 2017

We had a wonderful experience. The restaurant has an incredible cocktail menu. We thoroughly enjoyed the ramen, and steak dishes but the pork entree was the highlight. The bread pudding was an excellent way to end the evening.

Tags: Good for a Date, Romantic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

vip
 (Nashville)·Dined on March 4, 2017

Restaurant t good but very busy! When we asked to take off an item from bill we did t have it became an ordeal great meal otherwise

Tags: People Watching, Historic, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Miami)·Dined on March 4, 2017

our favorite in Breck - always great drinks, good food, and great service

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Happy Hour, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Bar Seating, People Watching, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Denver)·Dined on March 4, 2017

Went with 2 friends and my husband - wonderful food and a great wine list! Our waiter was very sweet and attentive. We will be raving about Modis - it is officially on our "Must go to" List when we visit Breckenridge!

Tags: Bar Seating, Good for Anniversaries, Fun, Quiet Conversation, Healthy, Quick Bite, Pre/post Theatre, Notable Wine List, Late-night Find, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Happy Hour, Good for a Date, Comfort Food, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Austin)·Dined on March 3, 2017

We had a fantastic meal celebrating our birthdays. Everything was fantastic, but my wife's meal, the ahi tuna special for the evening, was outstanding. One of the best meals she has ever had, and we eat out regularly. Our waitress was a great server and provided everything we needed without being 'too much.'

Tags: Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on March 3, 2017

Booked a reservation based on the menu and it didn't disappoint. Shared a bunch of starters and everything was excellent!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.