Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.05mi
  2. Distance: 0.08mi
  3. Distance: 0.08mi
  4. Distance: 0.09mi
  1. Distance: 0.05mi
  2. Distance: 0.08mi
  3. Distance: 0.08mi
  4. Distance: 0.09mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.05mi
  2. Distance: 0.08mi
  3. Distance: 0.08mi
  4. Distance: 0.09mi
  1. Distance: 0.05mi
  2. Distance: 0.08mi
  3. Distance: 0.08mi
  4. Distance: 0.09mi

About Modis

Colorado contemporary cuisine with an urban feel in a vibrant eclectic atmosphere. At Modis we focus on the art of food, drink, and life. Over 40 wines by the glass plus a full bar featuring a wide variety of craft and pre-prohibition style cocktails. Come in and check out our seasonally changing menus, art, and music.

113 S. Main Street
Breckenridge, CO 80424
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Dinner
Tue–Sun 3:00 pm–12:00 am

Cross Street:
Ski Hill Rd

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(970) 453-4330

Website:
http://www.modisbreck.com/

Parking Details:
Parking is available on Main Street in front of Modis or in the Icehouse parking lot behind Modis off of Lincoln St.

Public Transit:
"Free Ride" transit stop located 1/2 block south on Main Street at the Blue River Plaza.

Executive Chef:
Ryan Caswell

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Modis Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.4

ambience

4.4

value

4.1

Noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Creative Cuisine (29)
Fit for Foodies (25)
Handcrafted Cocktails (19)
See All
Good for a Date (19)
Special Occasion (19)
Vibrant Bar Scene (17)
Neighborhood Gem (15)
Notable Wine List (15)
Fun (13)
Hot Spot (13)
Cozy (11)
Good for Birthdays (10)
Romantic (10)
Bar Seating (9)
People Watching (9)
Good for Anniversaries (8)
Casual (8)
Happy Hour (8)
Local Ingredients (8)
Good for Groups (7)
Authentic (6)
Healthy (6)
Worth the Drive (6)
Great Beer (5)
Comfort Food (4)
Kid-friendly (4)
Late-night Find (3)
Pre/post Theatre (3)
Seasonal (3)
Good Vegetarian Options (3)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Quiet Conversation (2)
Vegan (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Organic (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Tapas (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Business Meals (1)
Sort by
S
997 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Denver)·Dined 3 days ago

Not all the meals were served together (10 minutes between the first and last) and both the steak and the duck were tough. The restaurant was very busy and noisy. There are better places to eat in Breckenridge.
Won't go back.

Tags: Happy Hour, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value3

vip
 (Denver)·Dined 3 days ago

The food was delicious but I didn’t care for the hostess. My husband and I got there earlier than our reserved time but our friends were expected to arrive either on time or slightly late. She didn’t seem to want to seat us even though we asked to wait at our table so we can start ordering appetizers. Then when our friends arrived, on time, they couldn’t find my reservation. We had to go get them outside the restaurant. Not happy with that at all. The reason for 3 stars is that the food was delicious. That’s it. Will not go back again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Miami)·Dined 4 days ago

The Colorado lamb is a must, my friends Scottish salmon was off the hook
Best value appes for the cheese and meat platter
Great vibe beautiful historic building

Tags: People Watching, Local Ingredients, Organic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Denver)·Dined 4 days ago

Our reservation for dinner @5:15.
Happy hour drink prices should be available for diners who have reservations for dinner.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined 4 days ago

Boys trip. Great time

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined 4 days ago

The food was very good, however the service was very poor on the particular evening we visited. I wouldn't attribute it to the waitstaff, but more the management. They were ill prepared for the amount of people that were visiting the restaurant at the same time we happened to be there. We waited an excessively long time to be listed upon our seating and throughout the dinner, there was little to no attention given to our party. In fact the second round of drinks that we had ordered at the time our apps showed up, did not arrive until after we completed our entire entree. The server seemed bothered that we sent the round back as we were already completed and ready to leave the establishment at that time. Again, I am not a restaurant expert, but it appeared to be poor planning on the part of the management and not incompetent waitstaff.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value2

vip
 (Cincinnati)·Dined 5 days ago

Excellent in every possible way. Great food and atmosphere. Extremely friendly and personable staff.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Healthy, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined 5 days ago

Great food and atmosphere! Service was wonderful!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined 7 days ago

One of our favorites! Great food, great variety, superb service and overall fun atmosphere. We were a group of long time friends who enjoy high end restaurants and Modis does NOT disappoint!
Seemed to be a local favorite with amazing original
Cocktails plus old favorites! Our server, Steve, was fun as well as efficient and informational! We would all recommend Modis and Steve! Call early fur reservatiobs!

Tags: Authentic, Cozy, Notable Wine List, People Watching, Handcrafted Cocktails, Local Ingredients, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 10, 2018

Great dining experiance. Short rib was outstanding. Highly
recommend !!!!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Vibrant Bar Scene, Notable Wine List, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 9, 2018

Great meals and drinks. loved the vibe. Our waitress Jessee was fantastic. Great energy, knew her stuff and was very engaging.

Tags: Seasonal, Good for Groups, Great Beer, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on January 7, 2018

The hostess never told us the table was ready. Why did I made a reservation? Good thing we sat at the bar and ordered appetizers. Otherwise, we wouldn’t have eaten.

Won’t go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Miami)·Dined on January 7, 2018

Beautiful location in downtown Breckinridge. Superior cocktails, spirits and food. Friendly and attentive staff makes way for a lovely dining experience.

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Bar Seating, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on January 6, 2018

Great food. Terrific wine list. Seated promptly at our reservation time. Service was excellent - for the adults and the kids in our party.

Tags: Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Great Beer, Gluten Free Options, Fun, Hot Spot, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating, Creative Cuisine, Vibrant Bar Scene, Notable Wine List, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Denver)·Dined on January 5, 2018

The food was delicious and the service was superb!

Tags: People Watching, Good for Groups, Fun, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 5, 2018

Modis has been our go=to restaurant for Happy Hour and for dinner every time we are at our vacation home in Breck.
We are never disappointed.
Love the atmosphere and the food.

Tags: Quick Bite, Good for Birthdays, Healthy, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on January 4, 2018

The cod. Oh, the cod. And the ramen. And the smoked old fashion. And the charcuterie.. and the bartenders are awesome. Our waitress, Nina, is great. Everything about this place will make you happy.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Vibrant Bar Scene, Hot Spot, Bar Seating, Neighborhood Gem, Casual, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on January 1, 2018

My husband and I went on New Year's Eve and everything was great! They have a wide variety of cocktails and we both enjoyed ours (Sage What and Sazerac). Mussels were tasty as always and both my lamb and his bison ribeye special were perfectly cooked (medium rare as ordered). Some interesting choices on the wine list too!

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Miami)·Dined on December 31, 2017

We really enjoyed this restaurant. The lamb entree with the parsnip purée was out of this world! Family friendly, very crowded because of the holiday, kitchen was slow but server made up for it with a complimentary glass of wine which was delicious. Great place

Tags: Good for a Date, Seasonal, Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Fun, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on December 30, 2017

The food was good, but strange. I felt like my dish had too much going on and would have been better with fewer ingredients and flavors.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on December 30, 2017

Modis is absolutely phenomenal! Great atmosphere with outstanding food. Would definitely recommend and go back!

Tags: Fun, Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Vibrant Bar Scene, Creative Cuisine, Hot Spot, Good for Anniversaries, Great Beer, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 30, 2017

Great staff, well run, and great food fit for foodies. We thoroughly enjoy our meal and service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 30, 2017

Great service. Interesting menu but all good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
·Dined on December 29, 2017

It was our fourth wedding anniversary so we went there on a date. The pea starter was terrific, I had the scallops, and my wife had fried chicken. The waitress with the hot pink hair was very good. Informative and attentive! We definitely recommend Modis

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on December 27, 2017

Modis is by far my favorite restaurant in Breckenridge. The drink menu is fun, expansive and reasonably priced. The staff is cheery and helpful. The food is absolutely delicious. I have been there several times over the years and have never been anything but delighted with the experience. Do yourself a favor and try Modis next time you go to Breckenridge.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on December 24, 2017

Modis was amazing. Our server was awesome, food amazing, and drinks decent. Expensive, but well worth it while in Breck!

Tags: Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Vibrant Bar Scene, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on December 24, 2017

Spent the Christmas holiday in Breckenridge and Modis did not disappoint! We made a reservation well in advance after hearing about this restaurant from friends, and we are so glad we did. From traditional dishes to those a bit more unique, there is something on the menu for everyone. The service was great, too! We never felt rushed, and everything was very well timed. Thank you, Modis, for a memorable experience!

Tags: Authentic, Fun, Creative Cuisine, Vibrant Bar Scene, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on December 23, 2017

Wonderful place in Breck. Enjoy!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
·Dined on December 22, 2017

Love this place. Great food in a wonderful casual atmosphere. Cocktail menu is great too!

Tags: Happy Hour, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Casual, People Watching, Bar Seating, Romantic, Good for a Date, Hot Spot, Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on December 21, 2017

Nice place. Authentic set up right in a middle of Main Street. Good food, good service. Decent prices. I can recommend it.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 18, 2017

Very creative food and beverage offerings. Everything we had was wonderful. Great find!

Tags: Hot Spot, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on December 17, 2017

Well located in the middle of downtown Breckenridge. Excellent meal, food was outstanding and service was great—our waiter was very engaging and knowledgeable. A little noisy and the bar area gets very crowded. Would highly recommend any time you are in Summit County.

Tags: Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene, Creative Cuisine, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on December 17, 2017

Came here for an anniversary dinner and loved it! Craft cocktails are amazing (I'm a vodka girl and tried two different delicious drinks), and the entrees are creative. Definitely make a reservation during peak season.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

 
·Dined on December 17, 2017

This was our first time to Modis and it was absolutely incredible! Started with a fantastic bottle of wine onto a delicious meat and cheese board followed by an incredible seafood minestrone. Our main dishes were incredible.. the menu didn’t have an overwhelming amount of options but everything looked incredible! I got the buttermilk fried chicken that was served with a achiote chicken reduction. The crispiness and flavor was unreal. My boyfriend got the Ramen which sesame beef and crispy pork belly that was jam packed with spice and unbelievable broth. To top it off it was priced extremely reasonably for the level of excellence! The portions were fulfilling and even enough we a had a little to snack on the next day. Absolutely recommend!

Tags: Romantic, Tasting Menu, Authentic, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on December 17, 2017

Have been to Modis several times but last nights meal was very disappointing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on December 13, 2017

Great food. The sticky ribs are a must. Very poor service.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service1
value3

 
·Dined on December 11, 2017

Nice surprise, with a great story behind the name. We shared three appetizers the pea salad with smoked pea purée and lemon marmalade, the Korean short ribs and the mussels in the tomato sauce with bacon in it. All very tasty with Sarah as our server. The housemaid sorbets and ice cream or yummy. The Campo Viejo Tempranillo hit the spot and was reasonably priced. Overall value great.

Tags: Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Fun, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Tapas, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on December 11, 2017

I have never once been disappointed Ted by Modis. Everything I try is amazing, every time. Easily one of my top 5 resturaunts in the world. The food is so creative, unique, and tasty. There ever changing menu never disappoints. They also have the most unique cocktails I have ever experienced. I am still dreaming about their shrimp and grits from last years menu, the grits were as good as NOLA and the shrimp were better. And this years cod fish better than fresh caught cod I got on the coast. I don’t know how they make such good food at 9,600 feet above sea level. But somehow they do. Keep it up!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Happy Hour, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (New England)·Dined on December 10, 2017

Three pea appetizer is amazing. Clever variety of dishes.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on December 10, 2017

Great fresh food and friendly service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.