About Modis

113 S. Main Street
Breckenridge, CO 80424
View Larger Map

Colorado contemporary cuisine with an urban feel in a vibrant eclectic atmosphere. At Modis we focus on the art of food, drink, and life. Over 40 wines by the glass plus a full bar featuring a wide variety of craft and pre-prohibition style cocktails. Come in and check out our seasonally changing menus, art, and music.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday - Sunday: 2 daily Happy Hours 3-6 p.m. and 9-11 close (first come first serve). and Dinner Service starts at 5:00 p.m. and goes to around 9:30 p.m. **Please note that we do not accept happy hour reservations, all reservations made are for dinner service.

Cross Street:
Ski Hill Rd

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(970) 453-4330

Website:
http://www.modisbreck.com/

Parking Details:
Free parking available on Main Street in front of Modis or in Icehouse parking lot behind Modis.

Public Transit:
"Free Ride" transit stop located 1/2 block south on Main Street at the Blue River Plaza.

Executive Chef:
Simon Gilna

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking Area, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Smoking Area, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine, Wine Bar

Restaurant Photos

  • Mussels
  • Truffle Fries
  • Modis Veggie Dish
  • Parsnip And Nutmeg Soup
  • Muscles
  • Purple Haze
  • Wasabi Pea Encrusted Shrimp
  • Sliders
Mussels
Truffle Fries
Modis Veggie Dish
Parsnip And Nutmeg Soup
Muscles
Purple Haze
Wasabi Pea Encrusted Shrimp
Sliders

Modis Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.5

ambience

4.3

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Contemporary American
Mountains
Best Restaurants in Breckenridge ›

fit for foodies (28)
vibrant bar scene (21)
special occasion (16)
See All
hot spot (16)
neighborhood gem (13)
good for groups (13)
notable wine list (11)
romantic (8)
great for outdoor dining (6)
kid-friendly (5)
late-night find (5)
scenic view (3)
great for lunch (1)
great for brunch (1)
Sort By:
Newest
684 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food and service excellent. Will defin ...

Dined 5 days ago

Food and service excellent. Will definitely eat here again when in area.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, notable wine list
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Most food was good but the steaks were v ...

vip
Dined 6 days ago

Most food was good but the steaks were very overcooked despite a request for medium rare.

Tags: great for outdoor dining
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

have been to Modis during ski season 4 t ...

vip
Dined on June 25, 2016

have been to Modis during ski season 4 times and it's always very good. Our latest trip was in June. Upstairs, table for two, by an open window. Perfect. The ramen bowl containing lobster, pork belly and octopus was incredible. Over the last 20 years we have been visiting Breckenridge and eating out most nights. Modis is the best.

Tags: fit for foodies, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great bar, great drink menu, great food. ...

Dined on June 11, 2016

Great bar, great drink menu, great food. Definitely recommend Modis.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Really enjoyed our meal here the other n ...

Dined on June 11, 2016

Really enjoyed our meal here the other night. We got there for HH and were thrilled to know that we could enjoy HH in the bar or on the roof deck. We ate outside and enjoyed a few of the many wines by the glass, and at HH prices! Our favorite dish--the charcuterie platter. Excellent value for money. Would return.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, notable wine list
food3
ambience2
service3
value3

Spectacular terrace

vip
Dined on June 10, 2016

We started inside, but the air was sticky and then moved outside. Wow, in town and such a view! Try the pea, pea and pea! I am not a veggie, but loved the creativity in this dish.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, scenic view
food5
ambience3
service2

Nice evening meal, great food. I have to ...

vip
Dined on June 10, 2016

Nice evening meal, great food. I have to confess service wasn't great. I would go back however.

food5
ambience4
service5

Enjoyed dining with such a great view. D ...

Dined on June 6, 2016

Enjoyed dining with such a great view. Drinks and food were delicious. Service was spot on. Perfect pacing for each course. Thank you for making my wife and my first anniversary special.

food5
ambience5
service5

It was 70 degrees so we sat on the deck ...

Dined on June 5, 2016

It was 70 degrees so we sat on the deck and had a view of some snowy peaks as the sun went down and the stars came out. Service was great and attentive, the food was excellent, and the wine list has alot by the glass. My first visit here was 4 years ago and it was excellent then too.

food5
ambience4
service4

The food was amazing.

vip
Dined on June 5, 2016

The food was amazing.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food and atmosphere

Dined on May 29, 2016

Great food for the whole family. We enjoyed the unique and flavorful dishes. My son's kid's menu steak was amazing. With all of our dishes there was nothing more we could have asked for. Absolutely wonderful! We will return.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was AMAZING!!!!

vip
Dined on May 15, 2016

We had the duck wings and mussels at the bar and they both were fantastic!! The bartender made us outstanding cucumber citrus basil martinis.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

Top notch!

vip
Dined on May 14, 2016

This was our second visit to Modis, and both times have provided a unique and pleasing dining experience. The menu is varied enough that everyone will find a favorite, and the preparation and presentation are works of art. There's NOTHING bad to say about Modis.

Tags: scenic view, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5

Great selection of drinks and food. I su ...

Dined on May 6, 2016

Great selection of drinks and food. I suggest the Sticky Ribs as an appetizer and Medicine of the Monks specialty drink. Service is top notch and provide great recommendations.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best restaurant in Breck!

Dined on April 23, 2016

Amazing food, excellent service, creative food & drinks menu, have gone many times over the last few years and never disappoints

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Best meal we've had in Breckenridge! I'm ...

vip
Dined on April 13, 2016

Best meal we've had in Breckenridge! I'm mostly vegan and the vegan entree, Modis Veggie Dish, was outstanding! Others in our party enjoyed a perfectly prepared steak. The salmon was good but a bit overcooked. Outstanding service and excellent wine selections rounded out the experience.

food5
ambience4
service5

Everything was absolutely delicious. The ...

vip
Dined on April 1, 2016

Everything was absolutely delicious. The ribs appetizer is not to be missed.

food4
ambience4
service5
value3

When in Breck, always visit Modis

vip
Dined on March 29, 2016

Excellent food and presentation, outstanding service from both our hostess, who honored our request for upstairs seating, to our server Joya, who was both knowledgeable and attentive.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

A treat to find in breck.

Dined on March 28, 2016

A treat to find in breck.

food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Happening restaurant in Breck

Dined on March 27, 2016

My daughter and I had a fabulous meal at Modis. She is vegetarian and loved the cauliflower steak. The Scottish salmon that I had was also delicious. Would like to eat there again tonight! There was quite a festive atmosphere (ie a little loud) at the restaurant the night we were there. Our waiter was a gem. Highly recommend. The upstairs would likely be quieter.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Good food but not outstanding. Great service

Dined on March 26, 2016

We were very excited to try Modis and were not disappointed. The service was great and I could not ask for anything more from this standpoint. We also did not eat the main entrees so I can't comment on those. We LOVED the salads and every family member loved the beef stew. So much so that our children ordered their own after tasting ours! The ramen was surprisingly bland. The broth it came it was pretty good but the taste overall was not good. I would go back for sure and hope to try some of the main items.

Tags: kid-friendly
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Easy choice for all

Dined on March 25, 2016

There is something for everyone. The menu was very creative, with unusual spice combinations. Almost seemed like a cross between comfort food and fusion.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Great place , awesome food , spectacular ...

Dined on March 24, 2016

Great place , awesome food , spectacular craft cocktails . Try a Smoky Old Fashion

food4
ambience4
service2

Modis never disappoints when you're look ...

vip
Dined on March 20, 2016

Modis never disappoints when you're looking for a great dinner. Unfortunately service was poor to fair. Waiter was inattentive. We asked for water repeatedly. Menu items weren't explained well. He wasn't able to answer questions about the menu. He did recommend a great Cabernet.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great ambiance and dining

Dined on March 19, 2016

Our waiter was perfectly cheery! Loved the bone marrow app!! The miso/mushroom and southwest soups are amazing too! Love the art displayed as well! Perfect date night!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

We got there during happy hour. A very ...

vip
Dined on March 17, 2016

We got there during happy hour. A very nice tasting menu was in place. We tried many of the items and all were excellent. Would highly recommend this place.

food5
ambience5
service5

Great Happy hour Specials , amazing drin ...

Dined on March 14, 2016

Great Happy hour Specials , amazing drinks Best restaurant in Breck

food5
ambience3
service4
value4

legit ramen

vip
Dined on March 14, 2016

The ramen was fantastic and exactly what was needed after skiing. everything else we had including craft cocktails were also excellent

food5
ambience5
service5

Amazing food, amazing service! The minor ...

Dined on March 12, 2016

Amazing food, amazing service! The minor steak melted in you're mouth going to make it to modis every time I'm in Breckenridge no doubt

food5
ambience5
service5

Food was amazing. The atmosphere and dec ...

vip
Dined on March 11, 2016

Food was amazing. The atmosphere and decor gave a really nice feeling of what the dining experience would be. They had a very nice wine list. Just really enjoyed our dining experience and will definitely return!

food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Glad we finally went!

Dined on February 29, 2016

We wanted to have a nice dinner out, and Modis did a lovely job! Our appetizer of the cheese and meat board was delicious. It's a great value and we'll definitely go back just for that with wine! Service is very good and not rushed, which we appreciated. I would say that if you want to turn in early for your next ski day, go before 7pm. Our reservation for 4 was at 7:45 and we didn't leave until 10pm. Great place!

Tags: fit for foodies
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

Modis still a solid choice in Breck

Dined on February 28, 2016

The four of us had the pork chops, lamb shank, coconut curry soup, vegetarian entrée, and the short ribs over kimchee cornbread. All were delicious, and the portions were more than substantial (not a meal where you are going to lose weight). We ate downstairs near the bar where it is very noisy but fun. Ask for a table upstairs if you prefer a more peaceful ambience. The draft beer selection was good and the wine list long enough to be interesting but not so long as to be baffling. Service was good and attentive.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great find!

Dined on February 26, 2016

A good friend recommended this place for a great meal and we weren't disappointed. Definitely a nice hot spot in Breckenridge. But you will need reservations!

Tags: special occasion, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Modis in Breckenridge

Dined on February 26, 2016

Outstanding happy hour(s), delicious appetizers. Then there was dinner!! Colorado lamb shank was so tender and delicious as was the salmon and the pork chop. Our waiter was attentive and pleasant and fun. It was my hubby's birthday and he was honored with dessert and candles. I think we found a new favorite Breck restaurant.

Tags: neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service5

We come every time we visit Breck. Love ...

Dined on February 26, 2016

We come every time we visit Breck. Love it!

food4
ambience3
service2
value3

Breckenridge Dinner

vip
Dined on February 23, 2016

Loved the food & Bar scene. A little disappointed with the service once we got seated in the restaurant side. Bar service was great-& hope it was just an isolated service issues with the kitchen that night.

Tags: fit for foodies, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Excellent eats

vip
Dined on February 22, 2016

Creative, eclectic menu combining mountain and Asian influences. The ramen was outstanding -- deeply flavorful broth with perfectly done noodles and pork 2 ways. A must order.

Tags: fit for foodies, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service4

Great music and fun atmosphere. Unique ...

Dined on February 21, 2016

Great music and fun atmosphere. Unique dishes and tasty food overall.

food4
ambience4
service4

Great meal and all the dishes we had wer ...

Dined on February 20, 2016

Great meal and all the dishes we had were cooked right and nice presentation. Mmmm good.

food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Must Do in Breck

Dined on February 20, 2016

Went out for a special birthday dinner after looking at Modis for a couple of years w/o trying. Seafood appetizer with mussels,shrimp, and clams was perfect, as week as the fresh bread. Both of our entres were also special.....sauteed scallops and veal shank were excellent. Our server was very prompt and the small wine selection contained some gems at very reasonable prices. We are locals and will surely visit again for dinner. The noise level is the only drawback, but sitting on the second floor near the front window keeps it barely reasonable.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.