Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.05mi
  2. Distance: 0.08mi
  3. Distance: 0.08mi
  4. Distance: 0.09mi
  1. Distance: 0.05mi
  2. Distance: 0.08mi
  3. Distance: 0.08mi
  4. Distance: 0.09mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.05mi
  2. Distance: 0.08mi
  3. Distance: 0.08mi
  4. Distance: 0.09mi
  1. Distance: 0.05mi
  2. Distance: 0.08mi
  3. Distance: 0.08mi
  4. Distance: 0.09mi

About Modis

Colorado contemporary cuisine with an urban feel in a vibrant eclectic atmosphere. At Modis we focus on the art of food, drink, and life. Over 40 wines by the glass plus a full bar featuring a wide variety of craft and pre-prohibition style cocktails. Come in and check out our seasonally changing menus, art, and music.

113 S. Main Street
Breckenridge, CO 80424
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Tuesday - Sunday: 2 daily Happy Hours 3-6 p.m. and 9-11 close (first come first serve). and Dinner Service starts at 5:00 p.m. and goes to around 9:30 p.m. **Please note that we do not accept happy hour reservations, all reservations made are for dinner service.

Cross Street:
Ski Hill Rd

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(970) 453-4330

Website:
http://www.modisbreck.com/

Parking Details:
Parking is available on Main Street in front of Modis or in the Icehouse parking lot behind Modis off of Lincoln St.

Public Transit:
"Free Ride" transit stop located 1/2 block south on Main Street at the Blue River Plaza.

Executive Chef:
Ryan Caswell

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Modis Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.0

ambience

4.1

value

3.7

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Creative Cuisine (18)
Fit for Foodies (15)
Neighborhood Gem (12)
See All
Handcrafted Cocktails (12)
Good for a Date (11)
Special Occasion (10)
Casual (8)
Happy Hour (7)
Local Ingredients (6)
Hot Spot (6)
Bar Seating (6)
Great for Outdoor Dining (6)
Cozy (6)
Good for Anniversaries (6)
Vibrant Bar Scene (5)
Seasonal (4)
Late-night Find (4)
Good Vegetarian Options (4)
Gluten Free Options (3)
Scenic View (3)
Romantic (3)
Worth the Drive (2)
Fun (2)
Notable Wine List (2)
Quiet Conversation (2)
Tapas (1)
Family Style (1)
Good for Birthdays (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Historic (1)
Organic (1)
Authentic (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
People Watching (1)
Sunday Lunch (0)
Sort By:
S
904 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
·Dined 4 days ago

We enjoyed our time. Each dish we had was excellent and Christian was excellent server.

Tags: Casual, Handcrafted Cocktails, Tasting Menu, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on July 22, 2017

Out of the wine I ordered, out of the entrée I ordered, and waitress told me the "could not" make a small house/garden side salad. Very average food quality and service. Trying too hard on the entrée choices with way too many ingredients that complicated the taste.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on July 19, 2017

Definitely one of the best dining choices in Breckenbridge. Creative cruisine in an attractive setting with excellent service.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on July 14, 2017

Our food was outstanding, the pork chop and the tuna, also had a reasonably priced Pinot Noir!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on July 13, 2017

Wonderful last night in Breck. Our family of 6 all loved their food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on July 13, 2017

Make it a priority to go to Modis whenever i go to Breck. Great food, good service and my advice is if you're going to order the soup (which i thought was fabulous) order something smaller.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on July 11, 2017

What a wonderful dinner for both my husband and myself! Great service too!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on July 7, 2017

Went on a Friday evening for a Business meeting in early July. Sat upstairs, the noise level is pretty high.
Really good food, casual dining attire (which you'd expect for Breck). Wine list is very reasonably price with a decent select.
Service was good... not outstanding, but we wanted for really nothing.
They have outside seating on the second level, but did not use it.

Tags: Hot Spot, Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 5, 2017

Not an inexpensive place to dine, but it was well worth it as the food was outstanding and original. The service was awesome, as our waiter was very attentive and helpful and we felt at ease to enjoy our meal without any stuffy attitude that you often get at fancy restaurants. I feel that the wine list is worth a special mention, as it offered a great selection of accessible wines for reasonable prices, something that is very rare in nice restaurants. Finally, we enjoyed a beautiful summer mountain evening on the patio and it was simply perfect. I highly recommend this place!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Hot Spot, Romantic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on July 4, 2017

4th of July dinner with family. Waiter was engaging and appeared competent. Food was pretty good, but pricey. My son loved the Korean ribs appetizer. My tuna steak entree was good. Treated my gluten free daughter well - she loved the chicken. Drinks were quality. The service time was the killer. 10-15 minutes to get a waiter, 20 minutes more to get drinks, 1 hour to get dinner after ordering. It was the 4th and they were full, so maybe just a busy night in the kitchen. Not a good value for the high price overall. Would not go again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value3

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on July 4, 2017

Very creative cooking. The marscapone Heirloom tomato salad was outstanding!
The curry soup and the ribs were also excellent.
We would go here again.

Tags: Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on July 2, 2017

Appetizers- ordered grilled octopus to share with my husband. Couldn't find the octopus ... until we are enough greens etc. Octopus was so small and so dry that you couldn't use an utensil to consume the tiny little pieces. ..and so over cooked .
Caprese salad had no cheese with it. I asked the server where wasvthe cheese, and she said it was the chef's interpretation of csprrsr but using mascarpone.
Entrees.... just too many unusual combinations of flavors.... that did not enhance the protein part of the entree.
Took too long to get our appetizers ...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on June 29, 2017

Make sure you ask for seating at the bar or the deck. They have a bar menu with a great selection of small plates that are great for sharing. We ordered 4 small plates for 3 adults and had great food and plenty to eat.

Tags: Happy Hour, Late-night Find, Fit for Foodies, Bar Seating, Hot Spot, Scenic View, Creative Cuisine, Casual, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on June 24, 2017

Modis has always been one of our very favorite restaurants in Breckenridge, but was a huge disappointment this time round. It took nearly 30 minutes between when we finished our salad course for delivery of our entree without a word of explanation and no appearance from our server. When the food arrived 3 of the 4 plates were cold. Instead of the server being gracious, apologizing, and returning to the kitchen, he became argumentative---not good for business. We did get properly heated and very tasty food, but not without incident. We will try again, but as i said, it was a disappointment!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service1
value3

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on June 21, 2017

We were really looking forward to our birthday celebration dinner with my mom and sisters. We were in Breckenridge for a celebration weekend and had seen good reviews on Yelp and Open Table for this restaurant. We made a reservation weeks in advance. However, the evening was a disappointment. The food was pretty good, however the service was TERRIBLE. We arrived at 7 am for our reservation, was seated promptly, but it went downhill from there. It took an hour to get one appetizer (which was not fully cooked and had to be sent back to the kitchen). Our main courses came out at different times and the Vegetable main dish that my mom got was not good. We repeatedly had ask other servers to find out server. In the end, it took us two hours for a two course dinner. Other groups came and went in the less time than we sat there (the other servers seemed much more on it). Would not go back, nor recommend.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value3

vip
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on June 21, 2017

This place is hard to beat. One of the best restaurants in Breckenridge. Excellent unique cocktails, and the food is outstanding. And the smoked Porkchop is out of this world as well as the great appetizers and cheese plates

Tags: Late-night Find, Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Scenic View, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on June 20, 2017

The hostess was very pleasant when I made the reservation and when we checked in. It took a few minutes for the server to come over and a while to get our drinks. He was waiting on a large party and I think that was some of it. I ordered my entree gluten free and the server said they could do it. But, it did not come gluten free. The kids menu was also not very kid friendly.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 15, 2017

Great place for foodies! Service and speciality drinks are great as well!

Tags: Happy Hour, Scenic View, Great for Outdoor Dining, Pre/post Theatre, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Austin)·Dined on June 14, 2017

Disappointed this time. There was very little I wanted to eat on the menu. The steak was tough and overdone. I won't be rushing back.

Tags: Happy Hour, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value2

 
 (Denver)·Dined on June 9, 2017

Grrrrreat!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on June 2, 2017

Ahhh, Modis... a perennial Breckenridge favorite. An expansive selection from the bar is the beginning of a generally wonderful epicurean experience. Special kudos must go to the bar st aff for their innovative 'dry menu' for those of us who do not partake. Their entrees are phenomenal, flavorful and masterfully presented. The only downsides are that, frankly, the entrees can be a little too busy and the space itself can be s bit raucous on occasion. Other than these few shortcomings, Modis is truly on the shirt list of must try spots whilst in Breckenridge and always a memorable experience!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on May 26, 2017

Been to Modis many times. Never disappoints. Great menu, great for foodies. We had some great apps and the tuna was awesome as always.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on May 24, 2017

Loved our drinks at Happy Hour at the bar. Great, creative cocktails. Our waiter for dinner seemed to not connect with us, seemed disinterested. We asked for a couple special request, super easy and he seemed put out. A restaurant like this should have the best waitstaff.
Our dinner was over the top!

Tags: Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service1
value4

 
 (Denver)·Dined on May 14, 2017

The attire of the host was a bit odd, her see thru tank top with numerous tattoos exposed was not what I would expect from this style of restaurant.

Tags: Bar Seating, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Denver)·Dined on May 6, 2017

Modis has a creative chef and kitchen staff. There is a very nice variety of dishes with amazing flavors. Everything coming out of the kitchen looked great. The Ramen was terrific and the seared tuna looked really good. The bar is impressive and they have a very large list of whiskeys (6 different Pappy Van Winkles!) The service is well above average. The outdoor seating in the summer will be awesome.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Fun, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene, Bar Seating, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails, Seasonal, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Houston)·Dined on May 5, 2017

Three of us dined at Modis recently and had a very good meal.

We started with Tuna Tartare which was very bright and flavorful. My wife had the Scallop Special with Peas and Roasted corn for her entrée and really enjoyed it. My sister had the rabbit carbonara which was lacking in flavor and was not creamy like you expect from a carbonara. I had the Ramen 9602 which was the best dish I have had in a month.

Overall it was a very enjoyable meal made even better by our outstanding server, Devin. Will definitely go back

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on May 4, 2017

Great place good food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

 
 (Denver)·Dined on April 27, 2017

Delicious swordfish in curry sauce and rabbit with parmesan was delish.

Tags: Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value3

vip
 (New England)·Dined on April 21, 2017

We were in Breckenridge for a wedding and went out for dinner on our first night. I can't imagine selecting a better place to eat.

The cocktail menu alone is impressive with a huge selection of modern and historic recipes.

The food was spectacular, bordering on over generous. None of us quite finished, not because it wasn't great, but there was SO MUCH FOOD.

If you have dinner at one place in Breck, go here. You will not be disappointed.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Love Modis! Such a great location and a beautiful restaurant. The cocktail menu is extensive with tons of options for everyone! The appetizers are all amazing. The PEI mussels are outstanding, the ribs were delicious and the onion tart was great! All the entrees were delicious as well. The ramen was a bit salty, and it was difficult to eat the quail with the bone in. The desserts were amazing! Will definitely be back again!

Tags: Hot Spot, Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 14, 2017

Service was pretty slow and the food was ok...normally it's a great spot but it must be because the season is over

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value3

 
 (Denver)·Dined on April 13, 2017

Out last meal out in Breckenridge and our favourite by far. Excellent food and great wine list. We will be back!

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on April 9, 2017

Great cocktails, the wine list is ok, but the waiter was totally uneducated on the offerings. The service was painfully slow, and the restaurant was not that busy (off season). The menu had great variety, and the food was executed well enough. I would go back for happy hour, but probably not for dinner.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service1
value1

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 4, 2017

Beautifully prepared food creative combinations lovely setting knowledge excellent servers.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Denver)·Dined on April 1, 2017

The food here never ceases to amaze. You can't go wrong! I especially love the ramen and the sticky ribs.
The ramen is made in house and the depth of flavor is astounding. The sticky ribs are to die for. The Korean BBQ sauce paired with the cornbread is phenomenal!
Hands down best food I've had in Breck

Tags: Cozy, Healthy, Local Ingredients, Good Vegetarian Options, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Seasonal, Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on March 31, 2017

Food was good. Beef carpaccio was good, not much flavor. Chartrutere was great!! Veal was tasty. The pork tenderloin is a little overly salted & crusted. Service was good. Cocktails are great!

Tags: Hot Spot, Gluten Free Options, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 25, 2017

Excellent service, fabulous menu selection! Ate here twice on vacation and loved it both times

Tags: Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on March 25, 2017

Great place for Breckenridge. Best menu and food in town. A great mix of sophistication and value.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Hot Spot, Good for Birthdays, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on March 25, 2017

Phenomenal as always! Enough said. Enough said. You shouldn't make me do this. I'm writing a review!

Tags: Happy Hour, Worth the Drive, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 23, 2017

Amazing as always! There is nothing on the menu that isn't delicious and the service is wonderful as well. The chef is so talented and the hostesses are always very sweet/funny. Must go here if in Breck!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.