Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.05mi
  2. Distance: 0.08mi
  3. Distance: 0.08mi
  4. Distance: 0.09mi
  1. Distance: 0.05mi
  2. Distance: 0.08mi
  3. Distance: 0.08mi
  4. Distance: 0.09mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.05mi
  2. Distance: 0.08mi
  3. Distance: 0.08mi
  4. Distance: 0.09mi
  1. Distance: 0.05mi
  2. Distance: 0.08mi
  3. Distance: 0.08mi
  4. Distance: 0.09mi

About Modis

Colorado contemporary cuisine with an urban feel in a vibrant eclectic atmosphere. At Modis we focus on the art of food, drink, and life. Over 40 wines by the glass plus a full bar featuring a wide variety of craft and pre-prohibition style cocktails. Come in and check out our seasonally changing menus, art, and music.

113 S. Main Street
Breckenridge, CO 80424
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Tuesday - Sunday: 2 daily Happy Hours 3-6 p.m. and 9-11 close (first come first serve). and Dinner Service starts at 5:00 p.m. and goes to around 9:30 p.m. **Please note that we do not accept happy hour reservations, all reservations made are for dinner service.

Cross Street:
Ski Hill Rd

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(970) 453-4330

Website:
http://www.modisbreck.com/

Parking Details:
Parking is available on Main Street in front of Modis or in the Icehouse parking lot behind Modis off of Lincoln St.

Public Transit:
"Free Ride" transit stop located 1/2 block south on Main Street at the Blue River Plaza.

Executive Chef:
Ryan Caswell

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Modis Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.2

ambience

4.2

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

85% would recommend it to a friend

Creative Cuisine (21)
Fit for Foodies (20)
Handcrafted Cocktails (18)
See All
Neighborhood Gem (15)
Good for a Date (13)
Happy Hour (11)
Special Occasion (11)
Good for Anniversaries (10)
Casual (10)
Bar Seating (9)
Vibrant Bar Scene (8)
Hot Spot (7)
Good for Groups (6)
Late-night Find (6)
Local Ingredients (6)
Great for Outdoor Dining (6)
Good for Birthdays (5)
Notable Wine List (5)
Good Vegetarian Options (5)
Cozy (4)
Scenic View (4)
Seasonal (4)
Worth the Drive (4)
Romantic (4)
Authentic (3)
Fun (3)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Organic (2)
Tapas (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Business Meals (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
People Watching (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Spicy (1)
Sort By:
S
934 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on September 13, 2017

After reading some mixed reviews, we were a bit hesitant to book a table at Modis but decided to try it anyway. We went early and it wasn't crowded at all except for a very lively crowd in the bar area. Our server was very responsive and prompt with our order. My husband ordered the short ribs and I had a salmon dish and a beet salad. The food was excellent! We both commented that it was one of the best meals we had in awhile. Also, the host stopped by our table to ask about our meal - which was a nice touch and always appreciated. If we are ever in Breckinridge again, we will come back to Modis.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Denver)·Dined on September 13, 2017

Modis has a good bar scene and a good restaurant, we prefer to sit in the bar and have dinner but if you want a quieter dinner upstairs there are some more private tables. The food is always inventive with great vegetarian options; the menu changes regularly and reflects local produce. Bar staff are attentive and make great cocktails. Wine list is extensive and reasonably priced. Happy hour is good value with good bar snacks.

Tags: Late-night Find, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Happy Hour, Good for a Date, Good Vegetarian Options, Vibrant Bar Scene, Fit for Foodies, Bar Seating, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
·Dined on September 7, 2017

The food was berry good, and the service was great! We feel like it is a little over priced! It could only be a once a year diner here because of the prices!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on September 4, 2017

Meal took 1 hour & 20 minutes, appetizers were delivered in 15 minutes. Food was not prepared correctly --- over done. No offer of free drinks or comp. due to slow service. People at table next to us left after waiting too long for food --- they called in for a pizza down the street after getting frustrated. Deck heaters ---- 1 out of 7 worked. Terrible experience!!! Will tell all friends to avoid & very overpriced for this crappy of an experience!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1
value1

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on September 3, 2017

Wow - Modis has gone down hill over the last couple of years.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on September 3, 2017

One of the top great restaurants we have been to in Breckinridge! Great service, friendly wait staff, wonderful food and a victorian ambience- loved it and will definitely be back!

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Tapas, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Good Vegetarian Options, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Casual, Spicy, Creative Cuisine, Hot Spot, People Watching, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on August 26, 2017

Never disappointed in Modis. Creative menu executed to perfection. Went in for happy hour and stayed for dinner. Great location and fun atmosphere.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on August 25, 2017

We've eaten at Modis several times and love it. Unfortunately the tuna that two of us ordered was so spicy that it was inedible. Shared my husband's ramen, which is always delicious. The tuna was not charged. The appetizers were delicious

Tags: Good for Groups, Vibrant Bar Scene, Happy Hour, Casual, Handcrafted Cocktails, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value3

vip
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on August 24, 2017

Fantastic cocktails and fabulous (and spicy) tuna.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on August 24, 2017

Our dinner was simply delightful from start to finish! Divine three peas app. Also, the curry soup and salad of the day were both excellent! Our entrees were delicious and the cheesecake and ice cream puffs yummy too! Over all a wonderful dining experience!

Tags: Bar Seating, Vibrant Bar Scene, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on August 22, 2017

Everything was good for our party of 5. Modis is a good restaurant. One complaint - when two people are sharing a salad or meal - prices warrant that it should be split in the kitchen and not bringing an extra plate to the table for the customer to split. First of all we are not given spatulas or large serving utensils in which to split the dish. Once split at the table with a dinner fork and knife by the customer the dish loses all appeal because the presentation has been butchered. Not splitting in the kitchen is pure laziness on the staff's part. Management should address this immediately.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Denver)·Dined on August 20, 2017

Unbelievable short rib appetizer!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 19, 2017

Incredible all around. Grilled Octopus, Hickory Smoked Pork Chops and Braised Rabbit were amazing.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on August 19, 2017

We were not overwhelmed with the food. One person had the Halibut Cheeks, which they were "trying out" on the menu, but it was so over salted that it was inedible. When mentioned to our server, he was indifferent and said no one else had mentioned it. Another person had the scallops and also felt they were too salty. The seasonal salad with grilled peaches was outstanding.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Creative Cuisine, Seasonal, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value4

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on August 19, 2017

Everything from the wine, food, and the service were excellent. The wine list offers a unique selection at reasonable prices. The portions are substantial and well priced. There were several vegetarian options available which was greatly appreciated. The food is beautifully prepared, well seasoned and delicious.
I would definitely return and recommend.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on August 14, 2017

Always a pleasurable dining experience. Food was delicious.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on August 13, 2017

Love the balcony and all the light! Great save when out of our wine suggested a great replacement for the same price. Service was good; friendly knowledgeable server and wine steward. Food was creative and delicious!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on August 10, 2017

The seasonal salad my husband and I shared was the best salad we've ever had at a restaurant. We went all out and got the wagyu steak with bone marrow fried rice. It was all delicious except the chef did not cook the steak medium as we had asked for. It was rare. And therefore, so chewy I had to spit out some of my bites. Disappointing considering the cost. But everything else was divine tasting.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on August 8, 2017

Always enjoy Modis. They serve delicious food and have lots of unusual drinks. The whiskey selection unbelievable.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on August 8, 2017

Pork chops and Scallops we're both very good. Mussels ordinarily great we're good but very small.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 7, 2017

Great spot for any occasion. Good for sharing and good apps. Cocktails are to die for.

Tags: Happy Hour, Vibrant Bar Scene, Fun, Good for Groups, Handcrafted Cocktails, Hot Spot, Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Cozy, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on August 7, 2017

Service was spectacular and the food selection, preparation and presentation was excellent!
Definitely our new 'go to' place.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on August 7, 2017

Our server was pleasant, but drinks and food came out slowly. The rabbit pasta was very dry and when we told our server she brought out additional sauce, so that was a good thing. The tomato salad was huge, more of a dinner size rather than a first course. The curry soup was quite spicy and delicious. We really wanted to like Modis, but it missed the mark for us.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value2

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on August 6, 2017

Good food, nice atmosphere! We would go there again for sure.

Tags: Hot Spot, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on August 3, 2017

Service was a little slow, but the food was very good, especially the rabbit carbonara. Great wine list

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Bar Seating, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on August 2, 2017

Service was really slow, food was very expensive. The presentation of the food was very pretty and artistic, but the flavor was not great. I had the "best" steak on the menu for $50 and it was chewy, no flavor, the rice that came with it had a horrible flavor. The drink I ordered from the bar was too strong to even drink. Other people in my group were not pleased with their meals either. Was a real disappointment. Hoped it would be great based on the other reviews.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on August 1, 2017

Made reservations based on reviews and everyone in our group loved their food! From the owner who is very present to the bartenders and servers, we received excellent service. Happy hour is a good time to go as you can try craft beers, wines and cocktails at a discounted rate as well as appetizers. Highly recommend the mussels- they were excellent! We liked them so much we went back a 2nd time for them! Also enjoyed the unique menu with octopus, different combos and meats and definitely something for everyone. If you're a foodie, stop in! Definitely one of our favorite spots!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Local Ingredients, Authentic, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on August 1, 2017

This was one of our favorite places when we were first in Breckenridge. The mark is missed with overall food and ambience. The service that night was the absolute the best we have had there- so thank-you.

Tags: Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service5
value3

 
 (Houston)·Dined on July 28, 2017

Modis never fails to provide a great dining experience. We have dined there numerous times, Summer and Winter. Their cocktails are fantastic, and they offer the widest variety of cocktails in Breckenridge, to my knowledge. From amazing appetizers (you've got to try the Sticky Ribs) to delicate, wholesome salads, to "solid" meat and seafood entrees (you can get vegetarian dishes and oriental fusion dishes as well) served with creative sauces and wonderful sides, to delicious and original desserts, Modis offers great meals, served by knowledgeable and gracious staff. We visit Breckenridge very often; there are many good restaurants in Breck. Modis is, overall, the best for original and satisfying meals.

Tags: Seasonal, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
·Dined on July 25, 2017

We enjoyed our time. Each dish we had was excellent and Christian was excellent server.

Tags: Casual, Handcrafted Cocktails, Tasting Menu, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on July 22, 2017

Out of the wine I ordered, out of the entrée I ordered, and waitress told me the "could not" make a small house/garden side salad. Very average food quality and service. Trying too hard on the entrée choices with way too many ingredients that complicated the taste.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on July 19, 2017

Definitely one of the best dining choices in Breckenbridge. Creative cruisine in an attractive setting with excellent service.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on July 14, 2017

Our food was outstanding, the pork chop and the tuna, also had a reasonably priced Pinot Noir!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on July 13, 2017

Wonderful last night in Breck. Our family of 6 all loved their food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on July 13, 2017

Make it a priority to go to Modis whenever i go to Breck. Great food, good service and my advice is if you're going to order the soup (which i thought was fabulous) order something smaller.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on July 11, 2017

What a wonderful dinner for both my husband and myself! Great service too!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on July 7, 2017

Went on a Friday evening for a Business meeting in early July. Sat upstairs, the noise level is pretty high.
Really good food, casual dining attire (which you'd expect for Breck). Wine list is very reasonably price with a decent select.
Service was good... not outstanding, but we wanted for really nothing.
They have outside seating on the second level, but did not use it.

Tags: Hot Spot, Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 5, 2017

Not an inexpensive place to dine, but it was well worth it as the food was outstanding and original. The service was awesome, as our waiter was very attentive and helpful and we felt at ease to enjoy our meal without any stuffy attitude that you often get at fancy restaurants. I feel that the wine list is worth a special mention, as it offered a great selection of accessible wines for reasonable prices, something that is very rare in nice restaurants. Finally, we enjoyed a beautiful summer mountain evening on the patio and it was simply perfect. I highly recommend this place!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Hot Spot, Romantic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on July 4, 2017

4th of July dinner with family. Waiter was engaging and appeared competent. Food was pretty good, but pricey. My son loved the Korean ribs appetizer. My tuna steak entree was good. Treated my gluten free daughter well - she loved the chicken. Drinks were quality. The service time was the killer. 10-15 minutes to get a waiter, 20 minutes more to get drinks, 1 hour to get dinner after ordering. It was the 4th and they were full, so maybe just a busy night in the kitchen. Not a good value for the high price overall. Would not go again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value3

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on July 4, 2017

Very creative cooking. The marscapone Heirloom tomato salad was outstanding!
The curry soup and the ribs were also excellent.
We would go here again.

Tags: Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.