About mkt.

2108 N 55th St
Seattle, WA 98103
View Larger Map

mkt. - pronounced "market" - is an intimate restaurant in an intimate Seattle neighborhood know as Tangletown, between Wallingford and Greenlake. It gets its name from Meridian, the traditional name for the neighborhood; the historic Keystone Building that it’s housed in; and Tangletown, as the area is now known. Joe Ritchie"s kitchen serves thoughtful, contemporary American fare with a dedication to Northwest products.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Sun-Thurs 5pm-10pm
Fri & Sat 5pm-11pm

Cross Street:
Keystone Pl N

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(206) 812-1580

Website:
http://www.ethanstowellrestaurants.com/mkt/

Executive Chef:
Joe Ritchie

Additional:
Beer, Counter Seating, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Wine

Restaurant Photos

  • mkt., Seattle, WA
  • mkt., Seattle, WA
  • mkt., Seattle, WA
  • mkt., Seattle, WA
  • mkt., Seattle, WA
  • mkt., Seattle, WA
  • mkt., Seattle, WA
  • mkt., Seattle, WA
mkt., Seattle, WA
mkt., Seattle, WA
mkt., Seattle, WA
mkt., Seattle, WA
mkt., Seattle, WA
mkt., Seattle, WA
mkt., Seattle, WA
mkt., Seattle, WA

mkt. Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.8

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.8

service

4.7

ambience

4.3

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

99% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Seattle / Eastern Washington
Best Food
Seattle / Eastern Washington
Best Service
Seattle / Eastern Washington
7 More
Contemporary American
Seattle / Eastern Washington
Best Overall
Seattle
Best Food
Seattle
Best Service
Seattle
Fit for Foodies
Seattle
Neighborhood Gem
Seattle
Contemporary American
Seattle
Best Restaurants in Tangletown ›

Fit for Foodies (34)
Neighborhood Gem (31)
Special Occasion (25)
See All
Local Ingredients (18)
Creative Cuisine (18)
Good for a Date (18)
Open Kitchen (12)
Hot Spot (11)
Good for Anniversaries (11)
Romantic (11)
Seasonal (8)
Fun (8)
Notable Wine List (8)
Cozy (8)
Tasting Menu (7)
Good for Birthdays (7)
Worth the Drive (7)
Casual (6)
Tapas (6)
Good Vegetarian Options (6)
Modern Decor (5)
Great for Outdoor Dining (5)
Authentic (5)
Family Style (4)
Handcrafted Cocktails (4)
Quiet Conversation (4)
Healthy (3)
Gluten Free Options (3)
Organic (3)
Bar Seating (2)
Late-night Find (2)
People Watching (2)
Great for Lunch (1)
Scenic View (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Business Meals (1)
Sort By:
S
414 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Amazing and unbelievable foodgasm.

 
 (Seattle)·Dined 3 days ago

Amazing and unbelievable foodgasm.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great date night spot. Food was wonderfu ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on November 27, 2016

Great date night spot. Food was wonderful! Everyone was very warm and welcoming. Excited to go back and try other things on the menu.

Tags: Good for a Date, Late-night Find, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Modern Decor, Seasonal, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Birthdays, Local Ingredients, Family Style, Romantic, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing food and service!!

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on November 27, 2016

Amazing food and service!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

So glad found this little place! It is ...

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on November 26, 2016

So glad found this little place! It is absolutely worth the drive.

The food was outstanding, each dish had something altogether unique about it, and I really felt like I was tasting the roots of the chefs and also the local environment. All the flavors combined so well! The open kitchen and the chef's bar really allowed the kitchen to entertain the guests and have real conversations too - they were more than happy to answer any questions, explain a process or dish, and would usually end up providing a little tidbit of one of the other dishes during the wait between courses.

Absolutely recommend mkt. - it was well worth a 10 minute drive out of the city!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Cozy, People Watching, Tasting Menu, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was excellent and creatively put to ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on November 9, 2016

Food was excellent and creatively put together. Quiet, low-key ambiance in a small, cozy space. Excellent service: Our server took time to explain the menu, made helpful suggestions, and was very attentive and responsive to our requests.

Tags: Special Occasion, Happy Hour, Disabled Access, Bar Seating, Good for Birthdays, Healthy, Neighborhood Gem, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Cozy, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Casual, Creative Cuisine, Fun, Pre/post Theatre, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Mkt is a neighborhood treasure.

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on November 8, 2016

Mkt is a neighborhood treasure.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

One of our favorite local neighborhood g ...

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on November 4, 2016

One of our favorite local neighborhood gems. Always a unique assortment of delicious small plate options to choose from.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Amazing food, ambiance and service. Defi ...

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on October 30, 2016

Amazing food, ambiance and service. Definitely a little pricey for small portion sizes but great for special occasions!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Good Vegetarian Options, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Had another great dinner at mkt. I real ...

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on October 29, 2016

Had another great dinner at mkt. I really like "small plates" style dining. The menu is limited but we always find something we like, even though we're not too adventurous. The green beans are always a highlight, the dahi vada fritters were interesting but I probably wouldn't order again, the grilled wagyu beef is delicious (could do with a bit less pepper). The surprise star of this visit was the carrot puree accompanying the lamb shank - I'm not even a big vegetable fan, but I was wanting to lick the plate, it was so rich and velvety. Our excellent servers not only brought me an extra scoop, they gave me the ingredients list - not sure I can recreate it, but I really appreciated it. A 20% service charge is automatically added to the bill, and they deserve it. Not a cheap meal (two small main dishes + 2 sides, a dessert, and 4 glasses of wine came to $190 including the tip) but very enjoyable.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Waiter was super and attentive - but not ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 25, 2016

Waiter was super and attentive - but not overly so. Offered to make gluten-free recommendations, which is always such a breath of fresh air because I always feel like a big nuisance having to admit to being gluten-intolerant. Food was fresh, quick to arrive to our table, artfully presented, and thoughtfully composed. Would absolutely come back again!

Few negatives (since I guess this is a review): It's small and a tiny bit cramped. Not fit for big groups. But its size also contributed to a cozy and intimate atmosphere, which I think was one of my favorite features of the whole place. So negative, not really.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Open Kitchen, Modern Decor, Good for a Date, Seasonal, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Tapas, Neighborhood Gem, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Wow, wow, wow! Pickled saskatoons, who ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on October 19, 2016

Wow, wow, wow! Pickled saskatoons, who knew? ....all 3 of our courses were amazing

Tags: Tasting Menu, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

I love this tiny gem of a restaurant. We ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on October 18, 2016

I love this tiny gem of a restaurant. We found it during Restaurant Week, and the 3-course meal options were fabulous. Our group of 4 tried many of the selections and all were delicious. Will definitely return.

Tags: Fun, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This is the second time we have dined he ...

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on October 16, 2016

This is the second time we have dined here and it was great again. We like the small plates so we can try many options. We tried 8 things for 3 people which was too much.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

I met a friend here for Seattle Restaura ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on October 12, 2016

I met a friend here for Seattle Restaurant Week. The ambiance is cozy and hip. Neither of us had been to Mkt. and we were excited to try this neighborhood gem. Every course we ordered was truly delicious, but rather than the tiny gourmet portions I was expecting, they were very generous! We started with the creamy bacon and cauliflower soup (so good we considered ordering a second bowl)Then, we had the jumbo scallops wrapped in prosciutto and the incredible pork tenderloin in a gorgeous quince sauce. However, the "piece de resistance" was dessert. We both ordered the same dark chocolate brownie with a crumbled dark chocolate butter cookie and mint sauce for dessert. Truly amazing... Paired with a cup of coffee, it was heaven. I will be back SOON!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Cozy, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

They do charge 20% service, no matter wh ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on October 9, 2016

They do charge 20% service, no matter what.

I am ok with this 20%, what I do mind is they do it before taxes, so you ended up paying sales tax on top of it.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

We had a most delicious dinner. Mkt is p ...

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on October 8, 2016

We had a most delicious dinner. Mkt is practically the only restaurant where I trust our server to select a glass of wine to pair with the meal. Typically I ask for a taste as you never know what you'll get. At Mkt they've always done well. Friday was a Sangiovese which complemented the duck breast with elderberry sauce beautifully.

My friend and I love eating at Mkt. The staff takes such good care of us.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

My husband and I Iove dining at MKT! ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on October 7, 2016

My husband and I Iove dining at MKT! It truly is a neighborhood gem. Chef Alvin and his crew go over and beyond providing delicious dishes and outstanding service. They make you feel special and at home. No wonder we try to come here as often as we can.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Tasting Menu, Kid-friendly, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Fun, Hot Spot, Healthy, Neighborhood Gem, Casual, Open Kitchen, Cozy, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Super helpful and kind front of house th ...

vip
 (Orlando)·Dined on October 5, 2016

Super helpful and kind front of house that let us taste every red wine while we were waiting!!!! So sweet.

I thought it was slightly pricey for what I ordered but the flavor: presentation/ variety on the menu was great. Curated wine list was amazing. Don't miss the ESR wine - notes of burnt sugar and it's awesome for dessert! Great ambience for a small dinner party of two or four. Super intimate space. Overall ESR does it again. :)

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

mkt has a great atmosphere to dine. The ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on October 1, 2016

mkt has a great atmosphere to dine. The service was amazing.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Yummy, fresh food, made to share and fit ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 18, 2016

Yummy, fresh food, made to share and fit for a queen. We loved our server, too! Thank you!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

limited by delicious menu items. The atm ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on September 12, 2016

limited by delicious menu items. The atmosphere was small and intimate. The value of the meal is poor considering how little food you get. 4 dishes = 1 regular meal

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value2

We have never been disappointed by an Et ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on September 11, 2016

We have never been disappointed by an Ethan Stowe restaurant. The goal is to try them all. I made a reservation on Open Table and they called to confirm the day before. The only problem was I thought I made it for the day they called. Luckily they were kind enough to accommodate us and said we would have a place at the kitchen counter instead of a booth. I really appreciate the effort to make up for my mistake. The food was excellent. Quality ingredients, spot-on cooking and beautiful presentation. I don’t consider this a inexpensive dining experience but the quality and attention to detail makes it well worth it.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Authentic, Neighborhood Gem, Seasonal, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Mkt is in a very intimate setting with o ...

vip
 (Columbus)·Dined on September 9, 2016

Mkt is in a very intimate setting with outstanding food. Outstanding!! They recommend order multiple dishes and sharing family style. The portions are small so consider trying at least 2-3 for 2 people.

The marinated green beans were out of this world amazing!! You will not be disappointed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Superbly-fresh, inventively conceived, b ...

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on September 9, 2016

Superbly-fresh, inventively conceived, beautifully presented, deeply delicious food. The service perfectly-tuned to respecting the diners, taking their cues from the energy at the table. I can't wait to come back. Wow.

Tags: Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Organic, Modern Decor, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Amazing food, a little tightly packed in ...

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on September 2, 2016

Amazing food, a little tightly packed in terms of ambiance...not a lot of privacy for conversation but every single thing that we ordered was excellent, from appetizer to dessert.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value3

Two of us had salmon which was overcooke ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on August 31, 2016

Two of us had salmon which was overcooked and dry. The hamburger was also nothing special or unique considering the higher expectation when ordering such an item in a gourmet neighborhood restaurant. A previous experience there was much better, so perhaps this time it was an exception.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Wonderful place all around! Only downsid ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on August 20, 2016

Wonderful place all around! Only downside is that seating in the back is very warm when it's a hot day in Seattle so try to sit near the front of the restaurant where it's open air.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

I love the staff at Mkt.!!! They are s ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on August 14, 2016

I love the staff at Mkt.!!! They are so personable, professional and they make you feel at home every time. Chef Alvin and his team cook delicious and creative dishes. Me and my husband have tried pretty much everything on the menu and have enjoyed every meal. Desserts are just as wonderful. We try to come her at least once a week or every other week.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderfull tastes. Always something new ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on August 13, 2016

Wonderfull tastes. Always something new and interesting.

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service4
value3

The perfect meal. From the service to th ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on August 8, 2016

The perfect meal. From the service to the tastings it was all amazing. I will be back every time I visit Seattle

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Really nice, unique cocktails; well-prep ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on August 8, 2016

Really nice, unique cocktails; well-prepared and interesting food; and a very personable waiter made for a great dinner. Highly recommended.

Tags: Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Unfortunately had to wait 30min after re ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on August 6, 2016

Unfortunately had to wait 30min after reservation to be seated, but hostess was very hospitable and food was amazing.

Tags: Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

We had a lovely time at MKT. It was a l ...

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on August 6, 2016

We had a lovely time at MKT. It was a little tight and we moved to the counter after dessert, but we did want to hang out and drink more. Our waiter Billy was outstanding.

Tags: Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

MKT continues to be a (literally) tiny n ...

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on August 5, 2016

MKT continues to be a (literally) tiny neighborhood gem. It never disappoints. They turn out creative, tasty and tasteful food. The menu is small but the choices varied. Service is always sharp. The wine list, like the menu, is small but with lots of good options in a range of prices. The one limitation to MKT is its size, which makes getting a prime time table a all to frequent misadventure. Plan ahead if such is your desire. It is well worth it.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

The food was excellent and our server ma ...

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on August 1, 2016

The food was excellent and our server made sure our experience was enjoyable and kept the food coming at a good pace.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great food and service. Great overall ex ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on July 31, 2016

Great food and service. Great overall experience, can't wait to go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Always, always, always order the green b ...

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on July 23, 2016

Always, always, always order the green beans! They are fabulous and you won't be disappointed. You really can't go wrong with anything on the menu. Also, I was thrilled to see some reasonably priced Souther Italian wines on the menu - for those of you who want to explore wines from this region, there is a mid-$30 bottle of negroamaro on the list.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The style is tapas, meaning portions are ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on July 22, 2016

The style is tapas, meaning portions are generally on the smaller side. The food tastes fantastic though, and it's worth trying something new.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Sat at the indoor / outdoor table. Excep ...

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on July 19, 2016

Sat at the indoor / outdoor table. Exceptional. Chef came and spoke with us. Service was stellar. Incredible food. Loved the halibut ceviche, carrots, steak. Wow.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Can't wait to go back. The food was ama ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on July 19, 2016

Can't wait to go back. The food was amazing and the service great. Very small so you will need a reservation.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.