Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.96mi
  2. Distance: 1.40mi
  3. Distance: 1.45mi
  4. Distance: 1.55mi
  1. Distance: 0.96mi
  2. Distance: 1.40mi
  3. Distance: 1.45mi
  4. Distance: 1.55mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.96mi
  2. Distance: 1.40mi
  3. Distance: 1.45mi
  4. Distance: 1.55mi
  1. Distance: 0.96mi
  2. Distance: 1.40mi
  3. Distance: 1.45mi
  4. Distance: 1.55mi

About mkt.

With just 28 seats, mkt. - pronounced "market" - is an intimate restaurant in an cozy Seattle neighborhood know as Tangletown between Wallingford and Greenlake. It gets its name from Meridian, the traditional name for the neighborhood; the historic Keystone Building that it’s housed in; and Tangletown, as the area is now known. Chef Alvin Go's kitchen serves thoughtful, contemporary American fare with a dedication to Northwest products. The menu is intended to be served family style, so come prepared to taste a variety of dishes and perhaps meet some friends next to you.

2108 N 55th St
Seattle, WA 98103
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Sun-Thurs 5pm-10pm
Fri & Sat 5pm-11pm
Happy Hour Sun-Thurs 9pm-10pm

Cross Street:
Keystone Pl N

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(206) 812-1580

Website:
http://www.ethanstowellrestaurants.com/mkt/

Executive Chef:
Alvin Go

Additional:
Beer, Chef's Table, Cocktails, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Mkt. Fresh Monday- every Monday our chef Alvin Go curates a dish that highlights the wonderful farms that we have access to in this city. Join us on Mondays for a variety of different dishes that will excite and delight you.

mkt. Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.6

ambience

4.4

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Fit for Foodies (28)
Neighborhood Gem (27)
Good for a Date (23)
See All
Creative Cuisine (22)
Special Occasion (18)
Good for Anniversaries (16)
Cozy (14)
Open Kitchen (13)
Local Ingredients (13)
Casual (10)
Seasonal (10)
Worth the Drive (9)
Authentic (7)
Notable Wine List (7)
Tasting Menu (7)
Bar Seating (7)
Hot Spot (6)
Fun (6)
Good for Birthdays (6)
Handcrafted Cocktails (6)
Romantic (6)
Family Style (5)
Healthy (5)
Tapas (5)
Good Vegetarian Options (4)
Gluten Free Options (3)
Late-night Find (3)
Modern Decor (3)
Pre/post Theatre (3)
People Watching (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Quiet Conversation (2)
Historic (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Vegan (1)
Organic (1)
Spicy (1)
Good for Groups (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Sort By:
S
455 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined 3 days ago

Outstanding, well-balanced, spot-on seasoned & executed food. If I could give 4.5 stars for food, I would, but I'm very stingy with 5 stars for food and creativity and presentation were 1/2 star less than perfect. Issues to note: tight space, less than ideal chairs, and poor pacing from the kitchen for a romantic date. If the dishes arrive like machine-gun fire, guests feel rushed and unwelcome. Tell the server to slow the chef down and you'll have a great meal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined 4 days ago

I went on a date with my boyfriend to Mkt. for the first time, and we were not disappointed! The ambience was great, and the food was delicious. Who knew simple green beans could be so flavorful!

Tags: Late-night Find, Good for Anniversaries, Fun, Special Occasion, Cozy, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined 4 days ago

Small space but cozy.
The food offerings during Dine around Seattle were thoughtful and presented beautifully.
Customer service was prompt and professional.
There is an automatic 20% service charge.

I recommend seating either at the counter or near the door.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Seattle)·Dined 4 days ago

Excellent food and service. Sitting at the chef's bar is interesting and fun. However, be forewarned, the seating is extremely tight seating and the noise level is high.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Fun, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 5 days ago

Went as part of Taste of Seattle- great way to sample the menu. Every dish was excellent! Scallops, flatbread, green beans... all so tasty. We will definitely be coming back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 19, 2017

Every dish we tried was outstanding! The oysters, wagyu beef, ravioli, etc. I absolutely loved the bottle of wine we tried (Le Temps Est Venu) as well as the port I had with dessert. The chocolate dessert was delish! The restaurant is very small and intimate. Excellent meal.

Tags: Good for a Date, Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on March 19, 2017

Nice hidden little gem. Place is really small which makes it very intimate and good for small groups but also got a bit warm at our furthest table from the door. Server was a little odd in that she somewhat mocked my husband who didn't know the correct way to pronounce some of the food ingredients. She was attentive though from a service standpoint. Would definitely return given the enjoyment we had sharing 6-7 dishes between the four of us. Tasty!

Tags: Open Kitchen, Good for Groups, Family Style, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Tapas, Casual, Fun, Fit for Foodies, Comfort Food, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on March 19, 2017

Great food in tiny Ethan Stowell spot off the beaten path!

Tags: Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on March 18, 2017

Really great experience, all around. Bravo!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Open Kitchen, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Hawaii)·Dined on March 13, 2017

Everything was great. Friendly staff and great food!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Casual, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Ethan Stowell restaurants seldom disappoint. The food is always rich and creative, the service is almost always professional and attentive. Love the menu and the execution here. Great wine recommendations from an excellent server. Not crazy about the mandatory 20 percent service charge. We always tip that or more. But being forced to do it seems tacky.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value2

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on March 8, 2017

Had the special prixfix Dine Out menu. I had 3 heavily over salted dishes which were unpleasant to the palate and made it difficult to taste the flavors. Good portion sizes, nice presentation, friendly and attentive staff. Will try again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on March 7, 2017

Amazing meal, coursed out really nicely. The staff was incredibly accommodating. The only call out would be around the table at the back where we sat. It is right in front of the door to the restroom (the non-booth seats are literally blocking the door to the bathroom). It's not a huge issue because of how small the place is but I would just suggest requesting any other table.

Tags: Seasonal, Cozy, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Amazing! We did the off menu tasting menu and sampled 10 courses. Best meal I've had in a long time!

Tags: Spicy, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on February 25, 2017

One of our favorite three restaurants in Seattle. Warm greeting, excellent food, always a great experience.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Open Kitchen, Pre/post Theatre, Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients, Fun, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Seasonal, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on February 24, 2017

All 3 courses were over salted and poor service. Would not recommend

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1
value1

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on February 22, 2017

My wife and I pride ourselves in the fact that we live in a city where there are so many great culinary chefs and restaurants. We have been to so many great restaurants but we continually come back here week after week! We love bringing friends from out of town or just showing up here for a wonderful date night!

This restaurant is NOT kid friendly. So come and enjoy a night away from yours if you want to; or need to!

FOOD!!!! We seem to have our own prefix when we show up that consist of:

~Grilled and marinated green beans, sea salt, lemon
~Porcini ricotta ravioli, grana padano, mushroom butter sauce, marjoram
~Hamachi ceviche, citrus-cucumber ice, coriander, pickled red onion
~Grilled wagyu beef crusted with peppercorn, rosemary, fingerling potatoes, fried onions, red wine sauce

We of course have tried all of the items on the menu but we find ourselves coming back to these staples. You really cant go wrong with whatever you choose on the menu.

STAFF!!! Any restaurant should be able to make you great food. However, to be an exceptional restaurant you have to have more!!!! Head Chef Alvin and Sous Chef Mark are a great team. They are very friendly and are excited to interact with those who sit at the chefs counter. And man, can they cook! We have never once received anything from them that wasn't cooked to perfection.

Manager Sara is such a joy to see when we walk in the door! She makes sure all guests are taken care of and everything is to their satisfaction. She has a great staff who are as unique and amazing as Seattle is.

Tags: Family Style, Good for a Date, Organic, Healthy, Notable Wine List, Local Ingredients, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Open Kitchen, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, People Watching, Authentic, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on February 21, 2017

Fabulous food - very creative use of ingredients. Small space and therefore hard to get a reservation but worth the effort.

Tags: Seasonal, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Mkt was a big, expensive, disappointment. We have enjoyed many of the Ethan Stoel restaurants and had high hopes for this one, but those were dashed by the absolutely miserable service. The wait was long, half of our food never came out, and the waiter was oblivious to the oversight (clear by the way our oyster forks came and left, but no oysters were served). Hard to believe considering there are just 10 tables or so. When we politely pointed out the error (and that our other food never came out), he didn't seem to care and just offered us a free desert to make up for it. Then, to top it off, they charge a 20% non-negotiable service fee instead of a tip (which is totally fine, assuming you actually receive something resembling service, which we did not). I wouldn't not return to this place or suggest anyone else go there. We ended up out $125, unhappy, and still had to go out somewhere else afterward to get enough to eat. All that said, ambiance is nice, Brussels sprouts were good, as was the Char.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service1
value1

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Third meal at MKT and each time we are very impressed. Was very hot inside and due to small space can get loud

Tags: Tasting Menu, Local Ingredients, Handcrafted Cocktails, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on February 8, 2017

Went to mkt. for the second time - reinforced my first impressions that this place is one of the best restaurants in the city. All plates are for sharing, and each dish is singular in its creativity, flavor, and presentation. Two of us shared five plates and that was sufficient (although we both got tempted by the dessert menu). The pacing of the dishes could have been a tad better (we had three dishes on the table at once early in the meal), but the serving staff was very attentive to clearing space at the table to make room for fresh plates and new dishes. It is a very small place, but somehow the acoustics don't require you to compete with the table next to you.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on January 19, 2017

This was our first time to mkt and we really love how fantastic the food was and the overall small and inviting setting. Service was exceptional. Both the appetizers and entrees were very good. Great new find for us.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Casual, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on January 18, 2017

Simply, the food is fantastic! My favorite plate was the squash salad. It was absolutely delicious harmony with sweet roasted squash, pine nuts, leafs (I believe it was arugula) a vinaigrette, etc. The ceviche is very good, but it was untraditional, it was more of a sashimi with what seemed to be a mignonette. The chocolate pudding was exquisite and left a cool fresh mint after taste. Overall, people treated us very well. A good to know fact is that gratitude is included at 20%.

Tags: Good for a Date, Modern Decor, Healthy, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on January 17, 2017

Always enjoy going to MKT. I always have very high expectations when going there. Food flavor combinations always get me thinking.

Tags: Good for a Date, Cozy, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 13, 2017

This place is beyond amazing. The food is to die for and the service was the best ever.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on January 13, 2017

The beet salad

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on January 9, 2017

Fantastic selections for a pescatarian diet! My friend and I weren't very hungry...nicely charred brussel sprouts appetizer, beautiful presentation and delicious layer of flavors with the trout bruschetta, and the cheese plate made a perfect dessert. Nice to see ESR partners with wineries; the Mark Ryan viognier and Frank the Tank cab (can't recall the winery), were divine. I look forward to their spring menu!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on January 8, 2017

Amazing food and experience as normal. Food is always fresh and tasty. Always consistent with great service and the best food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on January 8, 2017

had a wonderful meal at mkt -- my first time there. one of the party is in a wheelchair and the staff was great about accommodating us. I crave the truffled cauliflower soup and would kill for the recipe. lamb shanks were also fantastic.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on January 7, 2017

Overall it was creative and tasty. Cauliflower truffle soup was amazing. A few of the other small plates were really good but missed one thing here or there like, the ceviche needed a bit of lime to elevate it to perfect, beet salad was slightly off and the chèvre was mostly on the bottom of the plate instead of on top so many bites missed it. Scallops while fresh and cooked to perfection missed a bit of flavor including salt. I'll definitely be back to try other things and as the seasons change. I definitely would recommend MKT.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails, Neighborhood Gem, Cozy, Authentic, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Open Kitchen, Creative Cuisine, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on January 4, 2017

Every dish we had: charred Brussels sprouts in black umami sauce, roasted winter squash in a maple sherry vinaigrette, truffle cauliflower soup, seared sea scallops with apple and parsnips, pork tenderloin with grilled pear and Marco a almonds, and finally, porcini ricotta ravioli were out of this world. Even the bread, which came with herb butter and a spread which was delightful, was above par. Finally, the malted dessert was just the right ending to a fabulous meal. Service was perfect, too. Our water glasses never reached empty. Also, there were 4 of us and we split everything, including ordering 2 soups to be split 4?ways. They were cheerfully accommodating to our request. And, lastly, while I walked away full, there wasn't that overwhelming fullness from a too heavy meal. You can tell the best ingredients are going into the meals they prepare. This is the best restaurant I've tried in a long time on all counts!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on January 3, 2017

The food was amazing. We got three veggies, the bread, two entrees and shared a desert. It was just the right amount of food. The truffle cauliflower soup was out of this world. The biggest surprise was the black garlic jam that came with the bread - made the $4 bread one of my favorite things we tried. I'd plan on spending at least $75 a person, so it might be a special date spot instead of an everyday kind of restaurant. I will definitely go back again.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on December 30, 2016

Professional and low-key service. Creative mix of ingredients, salt, herbs, and sauces.

Tags: Cozy, Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Open Kitchen, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on December 20, 2016

We all agreed that the cauliflower soup and the pork were the best but it was all good. Ah, I can't forget the scallops. The only downside was the the service was lackluster. Since the add a 20% tip to the bill, I guess he was uninspired.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value5

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on December 18, 2016

Pork tenderloin, cauliflower soup, and green beans all amazing. In fact everything we ate here was excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on December 18, 2016

We really enjoyed the food and service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on December 13, 2016

This was our 2nd visit to mkt. and we look forward to many more delicious meals. Our daughter and her boyfriend were our guests. She is a vegetarian who also does not eat cheese or mushrooms. There were five dishes on the menu which were all delicious and all met my daughter's restrictions. All the descriptors I listed above really tell the whole story! Plus, we had two wonderful, well-priced bottles of wine,selected from a very nice wine list.

Tags: Cozy, Vegan, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Seasonal, Family Style, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on December 10, 2016

Overall Mkt. was a great experience. Service was exceptional, food divine. The squash appetiser, the pork loin and trout we all off the chain. Highly recommended unless you're on a budget.

Tags: Open Kitchen, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on December 7, 2016

Great experience from beginning to end. Staff was fantastic and food was amazing. Nice small space so servers can spend time with you to get order exactly correct.

Tags: Seasonal, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on December 3, 2016

Amazing and unbelievable foodgasm.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.