About mkt.

2108 N 55th St
Seattle, WA 98103
View Larger Map

mkt. - pronounced "market" - is an intimate restaurant in an intimate Seattle neighborhood know as Tangletown, between Wallingford and Greenlake. It gets its name from Meridian, the traditional name for the neighborhood; the historic Keystone Building that it’s housed in; and Tangletown, as the area is now known. Joe Ritchie"s kitchen serves thoughtful, contemporary American fare with a dedication to Northwest products.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Sun-Thurs 5pm-10pm
Fri & Sat 5pm-11pm

Cross Street:
Keystone Pl N

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(206) 812-1580

Website:
http://www.ethanstowellrestaurants.com/mkt/

Executive Chef:
Joe Ritchie

Additional:
Beer, Counter Seating, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Wine

Restaurant Photos

mkt. Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.8

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.8

service

4.8

ambience

4.4

noise

Moderate

98% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Seattle / Eastern Washington
Best Food
Seattle / Eastern Washington
Best Service
Seattle / Eastern Washington
5 More
Contemporary American
Seattle / Eastern Washington
Best Overall
Seattle
Best Food
Seattle
Best Service
Seattle
Contemporary American
Seattle
Best Restaurants in Tangletown ›

fit for foodies (73)
neighborhood gem (66)
special occasion (48)
See All
notable wine list (29)
romantic (27)
hot spot (17)
late-night find (6)
vibrant bar scene (3)
great for outdoor dining (3)
great for lunch (2)
great for brunch (1)
Sort By:
Newest
362 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Top notch gem

Dined 4 days ago

had a phenomenal meal...they took great care of us. server was very nice and helpful/knowledgeable. everything we had was fantastic!! the green beans are amazing which sounds crazy because they're just green beans but they're the best green beans i've ever had. asparagus dish was also spot on. also the best tuna poke i've ever had-a very overdone dish but what they do with it here is new and fresh and makes you want to order ten more. the fish dishes were perfectly cooked, nice and flaky and juicy. the pastas were great-especially the pea risotto-so vibrant and fresh and light for a risotto. pork was very good. as were the desserts. top notch from start to finish!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5

Outstanding service. A great neighborhoo ...

vip
Dined on May 14, 2016

Outstanding service. A great neighborhood gem that everyone should try. The food is delicious and the staff our extremely friendly.

food5
ambience4
service5
value5

This is one of our favorite neighborhood ...

Dined on May 14, 2016

This is one of our favorite neighborhood restaurants for birthdays and anniversaries. The food is always excellent, as well as the service. Our favorite item on the menu is the crispy fried quail. It is so good that even though this is a restaurant that encourages shared plates, we always order two plates of the quail. Also highly recommend the grilled and marinated green beans and the grilled squid pasta.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Walked by this tiny restaurant many time ...

Dined on May 13, 2016

Walked by this tiny restaurant many times, always busy. A friend who is a great cook had a birthday to celebrate; great place to bring her.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service5

It's a fairly small space, so the tables ...

Dined on May 10, 2016

It's a fairly small space, so the tables were a bit close, and we couldn't help hearing everything said at the neighboring tables. We were very impressed otherwise. The standout dishes for us were the Wagyu beef, and both deserts - the rhubarb and pistachio tart and the malted chocolate. We'll definitely be going back.

food5
ambience3
service4

Great food for a casual night. I've eat ...

Dined on May 9, 2016

Great food for a casual night. I've eaten at 4 of Ethan's places and all are great.

food5
ambience4
service5

The food is amazing. We had the roast ca ...

Dined on May 9, 2016

The food is amazing. We had the roast carrots, ceviche, fried quail, and waygu beef. All of it was good. The seating is very close to every other table, so it's loud and very cozy.

food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Fabulous Mothers Day dinner

Dined on May 9, 2016

Great dinner! We mentioned that we liked tasting menus and the chef offered to put one together - think we counted 10 separate items by the end- along with an abbreviated flight of accompanying wines (including splitting half glass portions as we are not heavy drinkers). We found the vinegar condiment with the oyster dish too sour but enjoyed everything else, especially the purple sweet potato croquettes, chèvre & pea raviolo, and the out-of-this-world hamachi ceviche with citrus cucumber ice. The place is tiny but well staffed so our food got to us quickly. Noise level meant we could converse easily. Seating is on cushioned banquettes which I found okay but my husband found a bit hard. Our bill was lower than comparable dinners at other foodie establishments.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful Dinner

Dined on May 6, 2016

Was in Seattle for the weekend to celebrate my finance's birthday. I read a lot of positive reviews for mkt and decided to go there for dinner. Cute, cozy place. We ordered several items on the menu to share and each one plate was delicious. Everything had such great flavors, some we're very familiar with, mixed with some we weren't familiar with. Service was super, very friendly servers and were attentive to us while also allowing us "space". My fiancé and I loved our dinner there and we will definitely be back the next time we're in Seattle.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Quaint restaurant with a friendly vibe.

Dined on April 28, 2016

Friendly atmosphere, stellar service. Server had great recommendations which were spot on. The food was perfect - came out just in time, and was delicious and creative. Would love to go again.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

mkt never disappoints. Each visit ends u ...

vip
Dined on April 25, 2016

mkt never disappoints. Each visit ends up being a memorable experience. If you allow the chefs to display their remarkable creativity and skill with your menu selections, you're guaranteed to leave impressed. Fresh ingredients, the warmth of their service, incredible attention to detail, and a cozy atmosphere make this my favorite restaurant in Seattle.

food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Fabulous Food & Service!

Dined on April 23, 2016

Everything was amazing! Great wine list and best service from Sarah (who soon will be the fronthouse manager)!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food4
ambience3
service5

Very enjoyable evening. Food was very go ...

Dined on April 17, 2016

Very enjoyable evening. Food was very good and mostly inventive. Cheese presentation outstanding. Bean melange delicious. Risotto fresh, clean and flavorful. Trout expertly prepared. Brussel sprouts were just fair. Service was outstanding and immeasurably added to the dining experience. Wine pairing also excellent. Best meal we had in Seattle.

food4
ambience3
service5
value3

A nice neighborhood addition

Dined on April 16, 2016

Went with the adult family for my birthday. Most dishes hit and few missed but the menus offer an interesting variety, including fish and veggie dishes. The Steak Waygu was great and some of the veggies ie asparagus made for a tasty variety. Family style and recommended 2-3 small dishes per person with sharing (family style) which can quickly add up (check the menu) but it makes for an interesting and relatively fun experience. Not quite as good as Stowall's "How to Cook a Wolf" but it's still too soon. Small venue and tight with a vibrant atmosphere. Not intimate the the staff waited hand and foot. It's a nice addition to the neighborhood.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Sincere cooking

Dined on April 12, 2016

Here's a chef who know how to get maximum flavor out of local ingredients.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Exceptional Once Again

Dined on April 10, 2016

This was our second time to mkt. The first was for a date night, this time around we went with another couple to celebrate my birthday. Both occasions are equally well suited for this atmosphere. Service is attentive, but not overbearing. Food, cocktails, wine, dessert, and coffee--everything was great. This time around our favorites were the squash fritters, nettle ravioli, and pork loin. Nice bonus: our server remembered us even though it had been several months since our first visit!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service5

Wonderful service!!! Shane our waiter wa ...

Dined on April 1, 2016

Wonderful service!!! Shane our waiter was very attentive and accommodating, as well as the rest of the wait staff.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

So good!

Dined on March 29, 2016

We have been here multiple times and it never disappoints! The food is incredible and the service is just as great! We were here recently for my husbands birthday and the waitress sara really took care of us! This is why you spend a little extra! She started us out with a treat for his bday and ended it with a treat! Best of all its in our hood! Thanks!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food3
ambience2
service3
value2

meh.

Dined on March 28, 2016

some things were good--gnocchi, squash fritters, but $11 for a small plate of under-cooked, under-seasoned brussels sprouts is a but much. the quail was tasty but the portion was incredibly small. expensive for not much food. was told by the waiter it was family style. family style implies bigger. what they serve is actually more of the whole 'small plate' style.

food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Excellent meal, again

vip
Dined on March 25, 2016

My friend and I continue to be amazed at the high level of care the staff provide us when we return to mkt for dinner. They remember what we drink, my diet restrictions, and are incredibly kind to us. We love eating there!!

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

MKT. is the best of Ethan Stowell

vip
Dined on March 23, 2016

The space is small and a bit cramped, but if you can get past that you'll find a terrific restaurant in Tangle Town. The food was innovative, well prepared, and thoughtfully presented. The staff was friendly (like neighborhood friendly), attentive, and more than willing to accommodate requests. Everything on our first visit was excellent, but the duck was outstanding.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Every bite always a wonder. Well thought ...

Dined on March 14, 2016

Every bite always a wonder. Well thought out and prepared. Mighty fine meal..as always.

food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great service

Dined on March 12, 2016

mkt. knows how to treat a customer. When we showed up for our reservation, our table wasn't ready yet. However, while we wait 15-20 minutes for the table to clear we had multiple staff approach us to keep us updated and apologize for the inconvenience. It wasn't ideal to wait that long for a reserved table, but the great customer service went a long way in keeping us happy to be there. The food was also outstanding. Lots of creative dishes that all had tons of flavor. The scallops were my favorite of the 4 dishes we shared. Overall a very nice experience. Would absolutely return to this restaurant.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

reliably excellent (if costly)

Dined on March 11, 2016

as always mkt delivers high on taste and food just done really well. ambiance is fantastic and to have such a brilliant place in our local area is great. it's not cheap, but for an amazingly well done, small plate, social experience, come here.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food4
ambience4
service1
value3

Food Tasty, Service Abismal

Dined on March 7, 2016

Not sure if our server was new but she knew very little about the offerings, less about the bar and never asked if we needed anything. As in, never asked if we wanted drinks, refills on said drinks or dessert. On one hand, we saved money since we couldn't get a second round of cocktails to save our lives. On the other hand, we were a little irritated we had to fight for service when the restaurant was so empty.

Tags: neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

We had a lovely dinner. The host and our ...

vip
Dined on March 5, 2016

We had a lovely dinner. The host and our server were especially attentive to my 90 year old friend who by the way says this is her favorite restaurant. The music was loud, which makes it difficult for people with hearing aids, but they turned it down upon request. I was impressed that our server remembered me from a recent visit, including a) what I drank, and b) that I don't eat wheat. I eat out a lot, and this is very unusual in my experience. The food was delicious - loved the asparagus risotto.

food5
ambience4
service5
value4

mkt. is a gem

Dined on February 27, 2016

The quality of food and service was unsurpassed. Each dish built upon the former to create a unique dining experience and eating there is always a pleasure, in no small part due to the attitude and expertise of the staff.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

We had a very positive experience. We we ...

vip
Dined on February 23, 2016

We had a very positive experience. We were celebrating a friend's birthday and were going to a concert after the meal. Our server graciously managed to get us out on time even though one of our party was late. The food and drink were delicious. And I appreciated the candle on our friend's dessert.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Reliably delicious

Dined on February 16, 2016

mkt is one of the restaurants we go to for special occasions, without worrying much about what's on the menu. I know that there will always be many plates I will love (especially the crispy green beans!) It's a tiny noisy space but we feel very comfortable there. There are always too many choices that we want - sometimes it's sad to be a light eater! Interesting wine selections, too!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

favorite restaurant in seattle

vip
Dined on February 13, 2016

been 3 times since a friend recommended it, once for date night and we've brought friends and grandparents, everyone really liked it. only downside this time was that they didn't have the beef tartare which is my favorite. i'll have to go again now...with no shame/regret. highly recommend!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent food family style

Dined on February 10, 2016

Excellent food, great family style serving, cozy environment. Really a great place. Recommend making reservations early on before you plan to go because of the limited seating, but it's worth it! Would definitely go back again.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing food and service

Dined on February 7, 2016

The food was unreal. Perfect portion sizes for sharing a bunch of things. Our waitress was very knowledgeable on all the items on the menu, both wine and food. She was super helpful in determining what we wanted to order and was very friendly.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing Birthday Dinner

Dined on February 7, 2016

I went there with 5 other people and it was amazing. Our waitress was so attentive and engaging. It's not a huge restaurant so it is best to do with a small group of people or one to two other people. I have a dairy allergy and don't eat a ton of gluten and she walked me through the menu dish by dish to educate me on what I could eat and not eat. So helpful! The food was amazing, I wanted multiples of every dish. You won't be disappointed.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

interesting food

vip
Dined on February 4, 2016

I love going to this restaurant. It is so small and intimate plus the food is outstanding. The menu is not the ordinary kind. Every dish is interesting and a little different. I always get great service too

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Mkt. Review

Dined on January 26, 2016

We were seated promptly, the menu was explained, the food came out in stages, well-timed with good presentation. Courses were suitable, as was the size of the portions. We enjoy small plates and a lot of variety; Mkt. definitely filled the bill. We were celebrating an anniversary, and dessert was served with a candle. We thought it was a nice touch. Our waiter checked back with us several times to ensure that we had everything we needed or wanted.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great evening

vip
Dined on January 18, 2016

This was our second time at Mkt., the first with our kids aged 10 and 13. Not a place many people would take kids given the eclectic menu and the prices. But, our kids are used to eating well and are adventurous. Our server, John was awesome and made the kids feel included. The food was interesting a delicious and we all had a great time.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

As usual, great food

Dined on January 10, 2016

This was my second time to mkt. and the food didn't disappoint. The only problem we really have was the space is small and it was difficult to hold a conversation as the guests over at the table next to us were really having a good time.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful Late Night Date

Dined on January 9, 2016

We landed here after wanting something fancy but new and it did not disappoint. Yes, it is small and we had to wait a few minutes to be seated even though we had a reservation because we had to wait for previous people to leave but they were extremely friendly and helpful while we waited and got our drinks promptly. The food was wonderful and once seated, we definitely appreciated the small, intimate space. Also, the service was incredible. All in all, it was a great night.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great classy & modern dinner spot

Dined on December 31, 2015

First of all, I already cannot wait to go back. The food is amazing, the service exceptional, and the ambiance for a small intimate dinner for a small group can't be beat. The restaurant is small so I suggest reservations well in advance. And try anything/everything. The ravioli, pork loin, fresh oysters, wagyu beef, and brussels sprouts were all really flavorful and cooked to perfection. Notable wine list available with options for beer and bubbly. The cocktails all have fun names it was hard not to want to try something. This is a great date night spot or small group dinner spot. Dinner for 2-6 would be perfect. Like I said, I already cannot wait to go back!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Delicious family dinner out

Dined on December 29, 2015

We very much enjoyed our recent dining experience at MKT. Every dish we ordered was delicious. Great service too!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.