Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.96mi
  2. Distance: 1.40mi
  3. Distance: 1.45mi
  4. Distance: 1.55mi
  1. Distance: 0.96mi
  2. Distance: 1.40mi
  3. Distance: 1.45mi
  4. Distance: 1.55mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.96mi
  2. Distance: 1.40mi
  3. Distance: 1.45mi
  4. Distance: 1.55mi
  1. Distance: 0.96mi
  2. Distance: 1.40mi
  3. Distance: 1.45mi
  4. Distance: 1.55mi

About mkt.

With just 28 seats, mkt. - pronounced "market" - is an intimate restaurant in an cozy Seattle neighborhood know as Tangletown between Wallingford and Greenlake. It gets its name from Meridian, the traditional name for the neighborhood; the historic Keystone Building that it’s housed in; and Tangletown, as the area is now known. Chef Alvin Go's kitchen serves thoughtful, contemporary American fare with a dedication to Northwest products. The menu is intended to be served family style, so come prepared to taste a variety of dishes and perhaps meet some friends next to you.

2108 N 55th St
Seattle, WA 98103
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Sun-Thurs 5pm-10pm
Fri & Sat 5pm-11pm
Happy Hour Sun-Thurs 9pm-10pm

Cross Street:
Keystone Pl N

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(206) 812-1580

Website:
http://www.ethanstowellrestaurants.com/mkt/

Executive Chef:
Alvin Go

Additional:
Beer, Chef's Table, Cocktails, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Mkt. Fresh Monday- every Monday our chef Alvin Go curates a dish that highlights the wonderful farms that we have access to in this city. Join us on Mondays for a variety of different dishes that will excite and delight you.

mkt. Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.8

service

4.7

ambience

4.3

value

4.3

Noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Neighborhood Gem (25)
Fit for Foodies (22)
Good for a Date (21)
See All
Cozy (19)
Local Ingredients (19)
Special Occasion (19)
Creative Cuisine (19)
Good for Anniversaries (16)
Romantic (11)
Healthy (10)
Worth the Drive (10)
Authentic (9)
Bar Seating (9)
Casual (9)
Seasonal (9)
Hot Spot (8)
Tasting Menu (8)
Good for Birthdays (7)
Fun (7)
Quiet Conversation (7)
Tapas (7)
Notable Wine List (6)
Comfort Food (5)
Gluten Free Options (4)
Happy Hour (4)
Paleo Friendly (4)
Good Vegetarian Options (4)
Great for Outdoor Dining (3)
People Watching (3)
Business Meals (2)
Handcrafted Cocktails (2)
Organic (2)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Good for Groups (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Vegan (1)
Sort By:
S
523 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined 10 hours ago

Really enjoyed the experience at mkt. the staff and chefs made it 100% better. Very friendly and engaging. Food was yummy. Downside is that the bar stools are a bit bulky. Need to go back for the oysters 😍

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined 3 days ago

Excellent food and service. Green Beans were a surprise big hit at our table!

Tags: Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Casual, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Seattle)·Dined 5 days ago

The ravioli was really good, the steak was solid, the rest was good-ish. The service was pretty good, but having a server refill my water to then spill over 1/4 of the table and not clean it up was rather weird. Yay for my own napkin. I wouldn't recommend this place to an average person splurging for an experience and great food, but perhaps to a foodie friend who doesn't care about cost and looking for another place to try.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined 5 days ago

The food was tasty and thoughtful. Some standouts were the cheese crostini, the tuna, and the ravioli. The service was defined by snobbish countenances and unfriendliness, which I could really do without. The facts that the chairs don’t have backs is just silly—style over functionality is not a good restaurant philosophy. Glad we got to taste so many dishes because of restaurant week, but I’m not likely to return.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value2

 
·Dined on October 16, 2017

Excellent food and service! Great restaurant week find

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Tapas, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on October 11, 2017

Fabulous food in proportions to share and savor (without being so small that that its more amuse bouche!)
Good wine, cocktails and non alcoholic options.
Excellent staff as always, attentive without hovering or interupting.
Always a pleasant and savory experience!
We will be back soon!

Tags: Authentic, Cozy, Organic, Afternoon Coffee, Fun, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Local Ingredients, Good for Birthdays, Paleo Friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Bar Seating, Fit for Foodies, Good Vegetarian Options, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on October 6, 2017

MKT is my favorite restaurant in Seattle and would highly recommend it to anyone. Not a very big restaurant with on 20ish seats, but makes for a much more personable experience. Would ask to sit at the chefs counter if you enjoy watching the chef go to work.

Tags: Cozy, Notable Wine List, Seasonal, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Casual, Good for a Date, Healthy, Fun, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Worth the Drive, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on October 3, 2017

The ravioli and the wagyu was the BEST thing I have EVER tasted!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Seasonal, Tasting Menu, Pre/post Theatre, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on September 28, 2017

We recently went for my birthday. I requested to sit at the chefs counter which was recommended to me by a fellow foodie. We had an amazing time - the service was great - very friendly, great recommendations and people seemed to like their workplace. I will say there were atleast 1-2 extra employees than required on the floor but over served is better than under served. I loved the cocktails - the LemonHello was delicious.

Tags: Special Occasion, Tasting Menu, Romantic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Casual, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on September 23, 2017

Creative menu done well and right!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on September 19, 2017

Love the food and the flavors of every dish along with the presentation. Wine was also excellent.
Fun sharing all the dishes with my friends. Can't wait to go back. Beef was incredible, green beans, peppers, prawns, and desert was a nice sharing as well

Tags: Special Occasion, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 16, 2017

Amazing food, service and vibes. I love this place.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on September 15, 2017

It was a very nice evening, good food, ingredients, service, wine; it's a very small, bustling neighborhood restaurant in Tangletown. I would, however, suggest avoid sitting at the chef's table. It is not a comfortable area to sit and enjoy dinner. It's awkwardly placed and you are literally squeezed in like a sardine. You can't move around "at all", move your seat, anything. It was uncomfortable.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on September 12, 2017

Great restaurant. Unique dining experience with a very creative chef.

Tags: Authentic, Vegan, Healthy, Local Ingredients, Casual, Great for Outdoor Dining, Tasting Menu, Good for Groups, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on September 10, 2017

We were seated right by the restroom, and it never got any better after that initial disappointment. The fried quail was dry, had little flavor, and the presentation was odd - 2 small, desiccated legs standing up on a mildly garnished plate. The scallops were slightly overcooked, and the salmon was so well done it was ruined - the server very graciously took it off the bill as my husband only had a bite of it. The Anderson grits with short ribs were good but not incredibly so, and same with the Wagyu beef. We also had a carrot ravioli which was BY FAR the best dish of the evening - it was the level of cuisine which I had been expecting of everything for this price point. I ate at mkt 2 years ago and it was amazing. This time it just seemed like they were trying too hard, with too many elements in most of the dishes for anything to stand out. Maybe it was an off night, and restaurant week might be worth it...

Tags: Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on September 4, 2017

it was a hot hot night the day I went. The AC must've been broken - not sure if they even had one or not. but it was quite hot inside. luckily our table (we had reservations) was partially outside so it was okay. but for diners inside, it was very warm/hot. but i don't blame the restaurant per se.

Tags: Hot Spot, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service5
value3

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on September 3, 2017

Small space but delicious food that changes seasonally.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on August 28, 2017

I've been to mkt. twice now, and each experience was quite pleasant. The service is exceptional: my girlfriend has a dairy allergy, and the waitress was able to quickly identify which foods would be okay for her to eat. The food is amazing: I recommend the scallops and green beans! The atmosphere is comfortable and intimate, yet everyone is very friendly. I would definitely recommend mkt to anybody looking for a good date night or special occasion! 5/5

Tags: Good for a Date, Romantic, Gluten Free Options, Authentic, Pre/post Theatre, Kid-friendly, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on August 26, 2017

Delicious food and great service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 25, 2017

It is great to have such a wonderful restaurant nearby. The food was spectacular and our server could not have been more engaging and attentive. Well done MTK. We took our very good friend from Los Angeles for this special occasion and we had a blast. Thanks.

Tags: People Watching, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on August 20, 2017

mkt. hit it out of the park!

Four of us had dinner at mkt. and it was really outstanding. Each dish, and we had eight or nine of them, was on it's own, wonderful. Together, it made for a beautiful symphony. Love the small place, the tight quarters, the energetic atmosphere. The service was outstanding-

We ate fish, pasta, veggie, beef, seafood- all amazing. Your loss if you don't try this gem.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on August 20, 2017

A great and delicious meal! We came for a special occasion with a friend and have been before but this time was by far the best. All dishes were impeccable and the drinks were also great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on August 19, 2017

Mkt. is always a pleasure. The food is on point and the staff are friendly. Go for a great meal in a cozy setting.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Gluten Free Options, Creative Cuisine, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on August 14, 2017

Really great food and attentive service in this little slice of a restaurant. The Wagyu beef was so good I almost ordered a second serving!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on August 14, 2017

Came here for a birthday. It exceeded our expectations.

Tags: Authentic, Cozy, Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on August 12, 2017

Consistently great food and a unique menu with a unique menu and a creative combination of ingredients.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on August 5, 2017

As usual we had a lovely meal at mkt. Every plate was tasty, good service, hot due to 90+ weather but one of the best meals I've had in Seattle for a while.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 5, 2017

Service was terrific. Always so delicious! Hard to pick a favorite...the green beans so simple yet amazing!! A bit hot due to weather, made us sad for staff working in such warmth! Hope the permits for ac happen fast!

Tags: Seasonal, Hot Spot, Good for a Date, Paleo Friendly, Cozy, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
·Dined on August 2, 2017

This is a very tiny restaurant with tight quarters, but the food is well worth enduring the space's "coziness." Really lovely dinner.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on July 28, 2017

This restaurant just keeps getting better and better. Thanks for a great meal!

Tags: Cozy, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Austin)·Dined on July 23, 2017

Loved everything about this place. Ambience, decor, size, food, drinks, service - everything was perfect! Highly recommend!

Tags: Cozy, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on July 17, 2017

We had a fantastic meal with terrific service. The chef at the bar was interesting and congenial. The wait staff, friendly and professional. I would love to eat here every week!

Tags: Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Healthy, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on July 15, 2017

I had heard good things and I was disappointed. The dishes were fine, but nothing spectacular. The scallops were exceptionally salty and when I mentioned this to the server, she sort of shrugged and said that she would "tell to the chef" and nothing more. The noise level is high and it was uncomfortably warm inside the restaurant. All in all, there is better food for better value elsewhere. I was merely whelmed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on July 13, 2017

Delicious food, very cozy and intimate atmosphere. Open kitchen so you can watch the chefs at work!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 7, 2017

The actual best.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on July 6, 2017

This place is great. We tried eight dishes and they were all fantastic. The service was also phenomenal. It is a bit more than I would normally spend on a meal out, so I would only go again for another special occasion, but the food was well worth the cost!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on July 6, 2017

Every single dish was totally delicious, from the grilled green beans and roasted beets to the morel ravioli, sockeye, and of course the burger and fries. We loved the salmon rillettes on crostini so much that we ordered a second round, and the French pinot noir (the less expensive one) was very fine with everything. The staff is great!

Tags: Comfort Food, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Casual, Healthy, Fun, Worth the Drive, Tapas, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Bar Seating, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on July 1, 2017

I loved the quaint, cozy ambience of the restaurant, as well as the tapas menu style. The food was delicious and they even accommodated my dairy-free diet without losing any of the flavor.

Tags: Romantic, Gluten Free Options, Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Great for Outdoor Dining, Tapas, Hot Spot, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Paleo Friendly, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on June 15, 2017

We have been to Mkt several times & it's always been really good!! This time the Waygu beef was overlooked, almost no sauce was on the plate & the frizzle onions didn't really exist. I get this every time, & I refer people just for that dish, but I was totally disappointed. We were with people we didn't know very well so I didn't say anything. The server was also too present & recommended a bad wine.:(

Tags: Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value2

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on June 10, 2017

Chefsteps recommended that I come eat at Mkt. Worth every penny and worth every mile we drove. Fantastic place with wonderful food.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Tapas, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.