About mkt.

2108 N 55th St
Seattle, WA 98103
View Larger Map

mkt. - pronounced "market" - is an intimate restaurant in an intimate Seattle neighborhood know as Tangletown, between Wallingford and Greenlake. It gets its name from Meridian, the traditional name for the neighborhood; the historic Keystone Building that it’s housed in; and Tangletown, as the area is now known. Joe Ritchie"s kitchen serves thoughtful, contemporary American fare with a dedication to Northwest products.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Sun-Thurs 5pm-10pm
Fri & Sat 5pm-11pm

Cross Street:
Keystone Pl N

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(206) 812-1580

Website:
http://www.ethanstowellrestaurants.com/mkt/

Executive Chef:
Joe Ritchie

Additional:
Beer, Counter Seating, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Wine

Restaurant Photos

  • mkt.
  • mkt.
  • mkt.
  • mkt.
  • mkt.
  • mkt.
  • mkt.
  • mkt.
mkt.
mkt.
mkt.
mkt.
mkt.
mkt.
mkt.
mkt.

mkt. Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.8

ambience

4.3

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

98% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Contemporary American
Seattle / Eastern Washington
Best Food
Seattle
Best Service
Seattle
1 More
Contemporary American
Seattle
Best Restaurants in Tangletown ›

Fit for Foodies (66)
Neighborhood Gem (62)
Special Occasion (45)
See All
Romantic (19)
Notable Wine List (18)
Hot Spot (17)
Great for Outdoor Dining (6)
Late-night Find (3)
Great for Lunch (2)
Good for Groups (2)
Scenic View (2)
Great for Brunch (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Sort By:
Newest
388 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Wonderful place all around! Only downsid ...

 
·Dined 5 days ago

Wonderful place all around! Only downside is that seating in the back is very warm when it's a hot day in Seattle so try to sit near the front of the restaurant where it's open air.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

I love the staff at Mkt.!!! They are s ...

 
·Dined on August 14, 2016

I love the staff at Mkt.!!! They are so personable, professional and they make you feel at home every time. Chef Alvin and his team cook delicious and creative dishes. Me and my husband have tried pretty much everything on the menu and have enjoyed every meal. Desserts are just as wonderful. We try to come her at least once a week or every other week.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderfull tastes. Always something new ...

 
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Wonderfull tastes. Always something new and interesting.

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service4
value3

The perfect meal. From the service to th ...

 
·Dined on August 8, 2016

The perfect meal. From the service to the tastings it was all amazing. I will be back every time I visit Seattle

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Really nice, unique cocktails; well-prep ...

 
·Dined on August 8, 2016

Really nice, unique cocktails; well-prepared and interesting food; and a very personable waiter made for a great dinner. Highly recommended.

Tags: Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Unfortunately had to wait 30min after re ...

 
·Dined on August 6, 2016

Unfortunately had to wait 30min after reservation to be seated, but hostess was very hospitable and food was amazing.

Tags: Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

We had a lovely time at MKT. It was a l ...

 
·Dined on August 6, 2016

We had a lovely time at MKT. It was a little tight and we moved to the counter after dessert, but we did want to hang out and drink more. Our waiter Billy was outstanding.

Tags: Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

MKT continues to be a (literally) tiny n ...

 
·Dined on August 5, 2016

MKT continues to be a (literally) tiny neighborhood gem. It never disappoints. They turn out creative, tasty and tasteful food. The menu is small but the choices varied. Service is always sharp. The wine list, like the menu, is small but with lots of good options in a range of prices. The one limitation to MKT is its size, which makes getting a prime time table a all to frequent misadventure. Plan ahead if such is your desire. It is well worth it.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

The food was excellent and our server ma ...

 
·Dined on August 1, 2016

The food was excellent and our server made sure our experience was enjoyable and kept the food coming at a good pace.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great food and service. Great overall ex ...

 
·Dined on July 31, 2016

Great food and service. Great overall experience, can't wait to go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Always, always, always order the green b ...

 
·Dined on July 23, 2016

Always, always, always order the green beans! They are fabulous and you won't be disappointed. You really can't go wrong with anything on the menu. Also, I was thrilled to see some reasonably priced Souther Italian wines on the menu - for those of you who want to explore wines from this region, there is a mid-$30 bottle of negroamaro on the list.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The style is tapas, meaning portions are ...

 
·Dined on July 22, 2016

The style is tapas, meaning portions are generally on the smaller side. The food tastes fantastic though, and it's worth trying something new.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Sat at the indoor / outdoor table. Excep ...

 
·Dined on July 19, 2016

Sat at the indoor / outdoor table. Exceptional. Chef came and spoke with us. Service was stellar. Incredible food. Loved the halibut ceviche, carrots, steak. Wow.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Can't wait to go back. The food was ama ...

 
·Dined on July 19, 2016

Can't wait to go back. The food was amazing and the service great. Very small so you will need a reservation.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Incredible food and impeccable service. ...

 
·Dined on July 13, 2016

Incredible food and impeccable service. We've only been to Mkt. twice and each time it has been an exceptional experience.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Flew in to visit my daughter in Seattle ...

 
·Dined on July 9, 2016

Flew in to visit my daughter in Seattle and she raved about this resturant!! As good or better than NYC....staff was awesone. Food just delicious. They forgot to bring a dish but we felt " who cares" and they were very apologetic!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

We love this neighborhood spot. Best ste ...

 
·Dined on July 9, 2016

We love this neighborhood spot. Best steak in all of Seattle. Great menu options and fun to watch the chef and team prepare food in the open kitchen.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Has been a year since dined here. We wer ...

 
·Dined on July 9, 2016

Has been a year since dined here. We were not as impressed, food options limited, serving size small and quite expensive. Staff are great however.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value2

We had a good meal overall. Very good se ...

 
·Dined on July 8, 2016

We had a good meal overall. Very good service, ok but not fabulous wine. Some dishes were really good (pea risotto, sweet potato croquettes) others just ok (scallops) and one somewhat lacking (a warm carrot salad that was not particularly flavorful, short on hazelnuts, and undercooked to the point of being difficult to manage, especially with the peculiarly hefty jumbo sized forks ). The place is tiny with an elegant upscale vibe, an interesting creative menu overall, and we'll probably go back to see what it's like at least one more time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

All dishes were delicious, delivered nic ...

 
·Dined on July 4, 2016

All dishes were delicious, delivered nicely spaced. Server recommendations were perfect!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Our first visit to mkt. was wonderful, a ...

 
·Dined on July 2, 2016

Our first visit to mkt. was wonderful, and I can't wait to go back. We shared the grilled green beans, roasted carrot salad, and butter lettuce salad, all delicious. Then we had the scallops and the salmon, equally good. I especially loved the green garlic purée with the scallops. We finished with a chocolate budino and an impressive glass of Capitello Dolcino dessert wine from the Willamette Valley. The service was perfect, polite, helpful, and timely. Another great ESR experience!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Food was disappointing. Salmon dry and ...

 
·Dined on June 24, 2016

Food was disappointing. Salmon dry and way too much salt. Salad was a waste of money. Only ravioli was worthwhile and it came tepid. Too many choices to give a second chance

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4

Amazing food and experience! A friend a ...

 
·Dined on June 12, 2016

Amazing food and experience! A friend and I went to celebrate a great day, and it turned into a great evening.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Efficient

 
·Dined on June 5, 2016

MKT was excellent. Tiny, but packed with goodies. Top notch service and creative menu make this place one we will return to.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Marvellous food and friendly service

 
·Dined on June 4, 2016

The food was great at this relatively small venue and we would highly recommend for couples or small groups. The food and service were outstanding. We will definitely be back on our next trip to Seattle.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Top notch gem

 
·Dined on May 23, 2016

had a phenomenal meal...they took great care of us. server was very nice and helpful/knowledgeable. everything we had was fantastic!! the green beans are amazing which sounds crazy because they're just green beans but they're the best green beans i've ever had. asparagus dish was also spot on. also the best tuna poke i've ever had-a very overdone dish but what they do with it here is new and fresh and makes you want to order ten more. the fish dishes were perfectly cooked, nice and flaky and juicy. the pastas were great-especially the pea risotto-so vibrant and fresh and light for a risotto. pork was very good. as were the desserts. top notch from start to finish!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Outstanding service. A great neighborhoo ...

 
·Dined on May 14, 2016

Outstanding service. A great neighborhood gem that everyone should try. The food is delicious and the staff our extremely friendly.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

This is one of our favorite neighborhood ...

 
·Dined on May 14, 2016

This is one of our favorite neighborhood restaurants for birthdays and anniversaries. The food is always excellent, as well as the service. Our favorite item on the menu is the crispy fried quail. It is so good that even though this is a restaurant that encourages shared plates, we always order two plates of the quail. Also highly recommend the grilled and marinated green beans and the grilled squid pasta.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Walked by this tiny restaurant many time ...

 
·Dined on May 13, 2016

Walked by this tiny restaurant many times, always busy.

A friend who is a great cook had a birthday to celebrate; great place to bring her.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

It's a fairly small space, so the tables ...

 
·Dined on May 10, 2016

It's a fairly small space, so the tables were a bit close, and we couldn't help hearing everything said at the neighboring tables. We were very impressed otherwise. The standout dishes for us were the Wagyu beef, and both deserts - the rhubarb and pistachio tart and the malted chocolate. We'll definitely be going back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Great food for a casual night. I've eat ...

 
·Dined on May 9, 2016

Great food for a casual night.

I've eaten at 4 of Ethan's places and all are great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4

The food is amazing. We had the roast ca ...

 
·Dined on May 9, 2016

The food is amazing. We had the roast carrots, ceviche, fried quail, and waygu beef. All of it was good. The seating is very close to every other table, so it's loud and very cozy.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Fabulous Mothers Day dinner

 
·Dined on May 9, 2016

Great dinner! We mentioned that we liked tasting menus and the chef offered to put one together - think we counted 10 separate items by the end- along with an abbreviated flight of accompanying wines (including splitting half glass portions as we are not heavy drinkers). We found the vinegar condiment with the oyster dish too sour but enjoyed everything else, especially the purple sweet potato croquettes, chèvre & pea raviolo, and the out-of-this-world hamachi ceviche with citrus cucumber ice. The place is tiny but well staffed so our food got to us quickly. Noise level meant we could converse easily. Seating is on cushioned banquettes which I found okay but my husband found a bit hard. Our bill was lower than comparable dinners at other foodie establishments.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Wonderful Dinner

 
·Dined on May 6, 2016

Was in Seattle for the weekend to celebrate my finance's birthday. I read a lot of positive reviews for mkt and decided to go there for dinner. Cute, cozy place. We ordered several items on the menu to share and each one plate was delicious. Everything had such great flavors, some we're very familiar with, mixed with some we weren't familiar with. Service was super, very friendly servers and were attentive to us while also allowing us "space". My fiancé and I loved our dinner there and we will definitely be back the next time we're in Seattle.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Neighborhood gem but outsiders are welco ...

 
·Dined on May 4, 2016

Neighborhood gem but outsiders are welcome too. Can't wait to go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Quaint restaurant with a friendly vibe.

 
·Dined on April 28, 2016

Friendly atmosphere, stellar service. Server had great recommendations which were spot on. The food was perfect - came out just in time, and was delicious and creative. Would love to go again.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

mkt never disappoints. Each visit ends u ...

 
·Dined on April 25, 2016

mkt never disappoints. Each visit ends up being a memorable experience. If you allow the chefs to display their remarkable creativity and skill with your menu selections, you're guaranteed to leave impressed. Fresh ingredients, the warmth of their service, incredible attention to detail, and a cozy atmosphere make this my favorite restaurant in Seattle.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Fabulous Food & Service!

 
·Dined on April 23, 2016

Everything was amazing! Great wine list and best service from Sarah (who soon will be the fronthouse manager)!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Very enjoyable evening. Food was very go ...

 
·Dined on April 17, 2016

Very enjoyable evening. Food was very good and mostly inventive. Cheese presentation outstanding. Bean melange delicious. Risotto fresh, clean and flavorful. Trout expertly prepared. Brussel sprouts were just fair. Service was outstanding and immeasurably added to the dining experience. Wine pairing also excellent. Best meal we had in Seattle.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5

A nice neighborhood addition

 
·Dined on April 16, 2016

Went with the adult family for my birthday. Most dishes hit and few missed but the menus offer an interesting variety, including fish and veggie dishes. The Steak Waygu was great and some of the veggies ie asparagus made for a tasty variety. Family style and recommended 2-3 small dishes per person with sharing (family style) which can quickly add up (check the menu) but it makes for an interesting and relatively fun experience. Not quite as good as Stowall's "How to Cook a Wolf" but it's still too soon. Small venue and tight with a vibrant atmosphere. Not intimate the the staff waited hand and foot. It's a nice addition to the neighborhood.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.