Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.96mi
  2. Distance: 1.40mi
  3. Distance: 1.45mi
  4. Distance: 1.55mi
  1. Distance: 0.96mi
  2. Distance: 1.40mi
  3. Distance: 1.45mi
  4. Distance: 1.55mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.96mi
  2. Distance: 1.40mi
  3. Distance: 1.45mi
  4. Distance: 1.55mi
  1. Distance: 0.96mi
  2. Distance: 1.40mi
  3. Distance: 1.45mi
  4. Distance: 1.55mi

About mkt.

With just 28 seats, mkt. - pronounced "market" - is an intimate restaurant in an cozy Seattle neighborhood know as Tangletown between Wallingford and Greenlake. It gets its name from Meridian, the traditional name for the neighborhood; the historic Keystone Building that it’s housed in; and Tangletown, as the area is now known. Chef Alvin Go's kitchen serves thoughtful, contemporary American fare with a dedication to Northwest products. The menu is intended to be served family style, so come prepared to taste a variety of dishes and perhaps meet some friends next to you.

2108 N 55th St
Seattle, WA 98103
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Sun-Thurs 5pm-10pm
Fri & Sat 5pm-11pm
Happy Hour Sun-Thurs 9pm-10pm

Cross Street:
Keystone Pl N

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(206) 812-1580

Website:
http://www.ethanstowellrestaurants.com/mkt/

Executive Chef:
Alvin Go

Additional:
Beer, Chef's Table, Cocktails, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Mkt. Fresh Monday- every Monday our chef Alvin Go curates a dish that highlights the wonderful farms that we have access to in this city. Join us on Mondays for a variety of different dishes that will excite and delight you.

mkt. Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.8

service

4.8

ambience

4.4

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Neighborhood Gem (31)
Fit for Foodies (28)
Good for a Date (25)
See All
Local Ingredients (23)
Special Occasion (22)
Cozy (21)
Creative Cuisine (21)
Good for Anniversaries (18)
Romantic (12)
Bar Seating (11)
Seasonal (10)
Worth the Drive (10)
Casual (9)
Fun (9)
Open Kitchen (8)
Authentic (8)
Hot Spot (7)
Tapas (7)
Good for Birthdays (7)
Great for Outdoor Dining (6)
Notable Wine List (5)
Good Vegetarian Options (5)
Quiet Conversation (5)
Handcrafted Cocktails (5)
Paleo Friendly (4)
Gluten Free Options (4)
Business Meals (3)
Modern Decor (3)
Tasting Menu (3)
Organic (3)
Comfort Food (3)
Late-night Find (2)
Good for Groups (2)
Happy Hour (2)
Scenic View (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
People Watching (1)
Family Style (1)
Sort By:
S
503 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined 2 days ago

mkt. hit it out of the park!

Four of us had dinner at mkt. and it was really outstanding. Each dish, and we had eight or nine of them, was on it's own, wonderful. Together, it made for a beautiful symphony. Love the small place, the tight quarters, the energetic atmosphere. The service was outstanding-

We ate fish, pasta, veggie, beef, seafood- all amazing. Your loss if you don't try this gem.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Seasonal, Neighborhood Gem, Cozy, Local Ingredients, Casual, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined 2 days ago

A great and delicious meal! We came for a special occasion with a friend and have been before but this time was by far the best. All dishes were impeccable and the drinks were also great.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, People Watching, Kid-friendly, Handcrafted Cocktails, Cozy, Casual, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Fun, Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Seasonal, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined 3 days ago

Mkt. is always a pleasure. The food is on point and the staff are friendly. Go for a great meal in a cozy setting.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Gluten Free Options, Creative Cuisine, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on August 14, 2017

Really great food and attentive service in this little slice of a restaurant. The Wagyu beef was so good I almost ordered a second serving!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on August 14, 2017

Came here for a birthday. It exceeded our expectations.

Tags: Authentic, Cozy, Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on August 12, 2017

Consistently great food and a unique menu with a unique menu and a creative combination of ingredients.

Tags: Good for a Date, Casual, Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on August 5, 2017

As usual we had a lovely meal at mkt. Every plate was tasty, good service, hot due to 90+ weather but one of the best meals I've had in Seattle for a while.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 5, 2017

Service was terrific. Always so delicious! Hard to pick a favorite...the green beans so simple yet amazing!! A bit hot due to weather, made us sad for staff working in such warmth! Hope the permits for ac happen fast!

Tags: Seasonal, Hot Spot, Good for a Date, Paleo Friendly, Cozy, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
·Dined on August 2, 2017

This is a very tiny restaurant with tight quarters, but the food is well worth enduring the space's "coziness." Really lovely dinner.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on July 28, 2017

This restaurant just keeps getting better and better. Thanks for a great meal!

Tags: Cozy, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Austin)·Dined on July 23, 2017

Loved everything about this place. Ambience, decor, size, food, drinks, service - everything was perfect! Highly recommend!

Tags: Cozy, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on July 17, 2017

We had a fantastic meal with terrific service. The chef at the bar was interesting and congenial. The wait staff, friendly and professional. I would love to eat here every week!

Tags: Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Healthy, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on July 15, 2017

I had heard good things and I was disappointed. The dishes were fine, but nothing spectacular. The scallops were exceptionally salty and when I mentioned this to the server, she sort of shrugged and said that she would "tell to the chef" and nothing more. The noise level is high and it was uncomfortably warm inside the restaurant. All in all, there is better food for better value elsewhere. I was merely whelmed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on July 13, 2017

Delicious food, very cozy and intimate atmosphere. Open kitchen so you can watch the chefs at work!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 7, 2017

The actual best.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on July 6, 2017

This place is great. We tried eight dishes and they were all fantastic. The service was also phenomenal. It is a bit more than I would normally spend on a meal out, so I would only go again for another special occasion, but the food was well worth the cost!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on July 6, 2017

Every single dish was totally delicious, from the grilled green beans and roasted beets to the morel ravioli, sockeye, and of course the burger and fries. We loved the salmon rillettes on crostini so much that we ordered a second round, and the French pinot noir (the less expensive one) was very fine with everything. The staff is great!

Tags: Comfort Food, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Casual, Healthy, Fun, Worth the Drive, Tapas, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Bar Seating, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on July 1, 2017

I loved the quaint, cozy ambience of the restaurant, as well as the tapas menu style. The food was delicious and they even accommodated my dairy-free diet without losing any of the flavor.

Tags: Romantic, Gluten Free Options, Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Great for Outdoor Dining, Tapas, Hot Spot, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Paleo Friendly, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on June 15, 2017

We have been to Mkt several times & it's always been really good!! This time the Waygu beef was overlooked, almost no sauce was on the plate & the frizzle onions didn't really exist. I get this every time, & I refer people just for that dish, but I was totally disappointed. We were with people we didn't know very well so I didn't say anything. The server was also too present & recommended a bad wine.:(

Tags: Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value2

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on June 10, 2017

Chefsteps recommended that I come eat at Mkt. Worth every penny and worth every mile we drove. Fantastic place with wonderful food.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Tapas, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on June 7, 2017

Food, service and ambiance beyond excellent. We understand the 20% for servers etc. but not the tax added on at the end of the bill on top of everything including tip? Sticker shock for sure.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on June 3, 2017

This is my favorite restaurant in Seattle, and that's saying a lot. Food is always delicious!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Mkt. is a small, unique space, making it feel like a special find. On our server's advice, we ordered a few items from each section of the menu. Our favorite vegetable was the beet salad. It was earthy and fresh with addition of the grapefruit. If you like ceviche, order the hamachi ceviche. If not, order the halibut. Or order both like we did. You won't be sorry. The quail with the rhubarb-jalapeno jelly was the perfect blend of sweet and spicy and delicate. By the time we got to the lamb belly, I only had room for a small bite which was unfortunate because it too was a delicate balance of flavors. Another plus: the craft cocktails. One more plus: the wait staff. They were professional, knowledgeable, and appropriately friendly.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Tasting Menu, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on May 11, 2017

Great place that I love every time I eat there. If you haven't been, go!

Tags: Fun, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Denver)·Dined on May 8, 2017

For our table of 4 people, we tried 7 plates-- all were exquisite. The ingredients are so fresh - and who could make green beans taste like a delicacy and mouth watering?!! The fresh salad special was to die for...we all joked about wanting to take a "bucket" of it home with us. It is the combination of ingredients and thoughtful presentation that goes into each plate that is mind boggling...especially given the space constraints of that kitchen. But watching the kitchen at work is a wonderful part of the entertainment value of working there.

This has become our special dinner "go to". "Small but mighty" restaurant nestled into Tangletown!

Tags: Good for a Date, Fun, Local Ingredients, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on May 7, 2017

Dining at MKT never disappoints. It is excellent food and service!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Seasonal, Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 7, 2017

Love this place. Great food and atmosphere. The servers were friendly and efficient.

Tags: Healthy, Organic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on May 6, 2017

Food was delicious, wait staff friendly, a tight fit due to small space but we were able to chat and hear one another.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Fun, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on May 6, 2017

I have been wanting to try this place for a while. I took my sister who was visiting from Philadelphia. We both thought it was one of the best meals we have ever had. Ever dish was so thoughtful and everything on the plate had intent.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on May 5, 2017

Excellent food, good service, great location but all four members of our party came away feeling distinctly unwelcome.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on May 4, 2017

Tables are so close together you hear conversations on both sides. Food was good
Price for portion size was high Service was good

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on April 28, 2017

Excellent flavors and a unique and varied menu. Small portions for the price but overall a delicious meal.

Tags: Special Occasion, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on April 26, 2017

MKT is in my neighborhood and I am so happy for that happy coincidence. I've tried three or four Ethan Stowell establishments and MKT remains my favorite. It's very small and quite popular so I highly recommend reservations. The bar seating, last I checked, cannot be reserved, so there is always a chance you can walk in, but I wouldn't take that chance. If you can sit at the bar, do so! My one concern with MKT is the wine - there are many good selections and the prices are not bad, but the wine is stored about 8 feet up the wall and the restaurant is pretty warm so I fear that it is getting slowly cooked. Even if that isn't so, it is served too warm for red wine, so I always bring my own.

Tags: Bar Seating, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good Vegetarian Options, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on April 24, 2017

Lovely little place with Ethan's special touch and great service. Awesome!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on April 21, 2017

Anniversary

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 15, 2017

Mkt always solid. Creative but unfussy food, best ingredients, small plates wonderful, service attentive but not intrusive. Mkt. is small, some would say cramped, but for us intimate and cosy describe it best. A bit pricey. Not a place we go regularly, but when we do, never disappoints.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Authentic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on April 13, 2017

The Restaurant Week deal was of low value. Portions were tiny and the food was not special. With tip 20% and tax it's a 40$ meal but we did not feel if was of great value.
Not sure how this restaurant is with the regular menu.
We were 4 of us covering all the options of the restaurant week.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value3

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on April 13, 2017

Soo good for Restaurant Week! Wagu beef and lamb belly!

Tags: Comfort Food, Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Late-night Find, Handcrafted Cocktails, Worth the Drive, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on April 9, 2017

Finally got a reservation for date night and Restaurant Week. Food was delicious, fresh, and creative. Standouts were the Hamachi crudo, lamb belly, and crisp-fried quail. Atmosphere is lively and casual, close seating invites neighboring with other diners. Service is efficient, not quite affable.

Tags: Casual, Creative Cuisine, People Watching, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value4

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on April 8, 2017

Every bite was sublime. Every bite. I recommend anything on the menu. The dessert sherries are unique-nice way to end a fabulous meal. Service is excellent. A night and a meal to remember. Thank you Mkt.

Tags: Fun, Cozy, Special Occasion, Gluten Free Options, Seasonal, Spicy, Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.