Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.96mi
  2. Distance: 1.40mi
  3. Distance: 1.45mi
  4. Distance: 1.55mi
  1. Distance: 0.96mi
  2. Distance: 1.40mi
  3. Distance: 1.45mi
  4. Distance: 1.55mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.96mi
  2. Distance: 1.40mi
  3. Distance: 1.45mi
  4. Distance: 1.55mi
  1. Distance: 0.96mi
  2. Distance: 1.40mi
  3. Distance: 1.45mi
  4. Distance: 1.55mi

About mkt.

With just 28 seats, mkt. - pronounced "market" - is an intimate restaurant in an cozy Seattle neighborhood know as Tangletown between Wallingford and Greenlake. It gets its name from Meridian, the traditional name for the neighborhood; the historic Keystone Building that it’s housed in; and Tangletown, as the area is now known. Chef Alvin Go's kitchen serves thoughtful, contemporary American fare with a dedication to Northwest products. The menu is intended to be served family style, so come prepared to taste a variety of dishes and perhaps meet some friends next to you.

2108 N 55th St
Seattle, WA 98103
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Sun-Thurs 5pm-10pm
Fri & Sat 5pm-11pm
Happy Hour Sun-Thurs 9pm-10pm

Cross Street:
Keystone Pl N

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(206) 812-1580

Website:
http://www.ethanstowellrestaurants.com/mkt/

Executive Chef:
Alvin Go

Additional:
Beer, Chef's Table, Cocktails, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Mkt. Fresh Monday- every Monday our chef Alvin Go curates a dish that highlights the wonderful farms that we have access to in this city. Join us on Mondays for a variety of different dishes that will excite and delight you.

mkt. Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.4

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

86% would recommend it to a friend

Neighborhood Gem (30)
Good for a Date (25)
Fit for Foodies (24)
See All
Creative Cuisine (22)
Open Kitchen (18)
Local Ingredients (17)
Special Occasion (16)
Cozy (13)
Casual (12)
Good for Anniversaries (12)
Worth the Drive (11)
Seasonal (10)
Fun (10)
Tasting Menu (8)
Hot Spot (7)
Notable Wine List (7)
Bar Seating (6)
Authentic (6)
Family Style (6)
Modern Decor (6)
Healthy (5)
Organic (5)
Tapas (5)
Handcrafted Cocktails (5)
Romantic (5)
Late-night Find (4)
Good for Birthdays (4)
Good Vegetarian Options (4)
Quiet Conversation (3)
Good for Groups (3)
People Watching (2)
Comfort Food (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Spicy (2)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Business Meals (1)
Sort By:
S
481 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on May 15, 2017

Mkt. is a small, unique space, making it feel like a special find. On our server's advice, we ordered a few items from each section of the menu. Our favorite vegetable was the beet salad. It was earthy and fresh with addition of the grapefruit. If you like ceviche, order the hamachi ceviche. If not, order the halibut. Or order both like we did. You won't be sorry. The quail with the rhubarb-jalapeno jelly was the perfect blend of sweet and spicy and delicate. By the time we got to the lamb belly, I only had room for a small bite which was unfortunate because it too was a delicate balance of flavors. Another plus: the craft cocktails. One more plus: the wait staff. They were professional, knowledgeable, and appropriately friendly.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Tasting Menu, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on May 12, 2017

Great place that I love every time I eat there. If you haven't been, go!

Tags: Fun, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Denver)·Dined on May 9, 2017

For our table of 4 people, we tried 7 plates-- all were exquisite. The ingredients are so fresh - and who could make green beans taste like a delicacy and mouth watering?!! The fresh salad special was to die for...we all joked about wanting to take a "bucket" of it home with us. It is the combination of ingredients and thoughtful presentation that goes into each plate that is mind boggling...especially given the space constraints of that kitchen. But watching the kitchen at work is a wonderful part of the entertainment value of working there.

This has become our special dinner "go to". "Small but mighty" restaurant nestled into Tangletown!

Tags: Good for a Date, Fun, Local Ingredients, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on May 8, 2017

Dining at MKT never disappoints. It is excellent food and service!

Tags: Open Kitchen, Local Ingredients, Family Style, Seasonal, Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 8, 2017

Love this place. Great food and atmosphere. The servers were friendly and efficient.

Tags: Healthy, Organic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on May 7, 2017

Food was delicious, wait staff friendly, a tight fit due to small space but we were able to chat and hear one another.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Fun, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Open Kitchen, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on May 7, 2017

I have been wanting to try this place for a while. I took my sister who was visiting from Philadelphia. We both thought it was one of the best meals we have ever had. Ever dish was so thoughtful and everything on the plate had intent.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on May 6, 2017

Excellent food, good service, great location but all four members of our party came away feeling distinctly unwelcome.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on May 5, 2017

Tables are so close together you hear conversations on both sides. Food was good
Price for portion size was high Service was good

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on April 29, 2017

Excellent flavors and a unique and varied menu. Small portions for the price but overall a delicious meal.

Tags: Special Occasion, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on April 27, 2017

MKT is in my neighborhood and I am so happy for that happy coincidence. I've tried three or four Ethan Stowell establishments and MKT remains my favorite. It's very small and quite popular so I highly recommend reservations. The bar seating, last I checked, cannot be reserved, so there is always a chance you can walk in, but I wouldn't take that chance. If you can sit at the bar, do so! My one concern with MKT is the wine - there are many good selections and the prices are not bad, but the wine is stored about 8 feet up the wall and the restaurant is pretty warm so I fear that it is getting slowly cooked. Even if that isn't so, it is served too warm for red wine, so I always bring my own.

Tags: Bar Seating, Open Kitchen, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good Vegetarian Options, Worth the Drive, Modern Decor, Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on April 25, 2017

Lovely little place with Ethan's special touch and great service. Awesome!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on April 22, 2017

Anniversary

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Mkt always solid. Creative but unfussy food, best ingredients, small plates wonderful, service attentive but not intrusive. Mkt. is small, some would say cramped, but for us intimate and cosy describe it best. A bit pricey. Not a place we go regularly, but when we do, never disappoints.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Authentic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on April 14, 2017

The Restaurant Week deal was of low value. Portions were tiny and the food was not special. With tip 20% and tax it's a 40$ meal but we did not feel if was of great value.
Not sure how this restaurant is with the regular menu.
We were 4 of us covering all the options of the restaurant week.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value3

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on April 14, 2017

Soo good for Restaurant Week! Wagu beef and lamb belly!

Tags: Comfort Food, Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Late-night Find, Handcrafted Cocktails, Worth the Drive, Open Kitchen, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on April 10, 2017

Finally got a reservation for date night and Restaurant Week. Food was delicious, fresh, and creative. Standouts were the Hamachi crudo, lamb belly, and crisp-fried quail. Atmosphere is lively and casual, close seating invites neighboring with other diners. Service is efficient, not quite affable.

Tags: Casual, Creative Cuisine, People Watching, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value4

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on April 9, 2017

Every bite was sublime. Every bite. I recommend anything on the menu. The dessert sherries are unique-nice way to end a fabulous meal. Service is excellent. A night and a meal to remember. Thank you Mkt.

Tags: Fun, Cozy, Special Occasion, Gluten Free Options, Seasonal, Spicy, Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Tasting Menu, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on April 8, 2017

Fantastic birthday dinner at Mkt. Food and service were both great. Was our first time and we will be back. Really appreciated the help with dietary restrictions.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on April 7, 2017

Wagyu beef was salty and should have cooked longer. That was the one of main dish so we were disappointed. desert was okay but I don't think I want to order again. Appetizers were good.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Organic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on April 3, 2017

The food here ROCKS!!!!

Service also great and comfortable seating in small unique setting.

We shall return!!!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on April 1, 2017

The servers here were AMAZING. Such sweet people, and really made our anniversary memorable. The tasting menu was great, but we had varying levels of interest in the dishes - the salmon+skin entree, green beans, fried oysters, lamb were all spectacular, while the cucumber ceviche appetizer, asparagus, and tuna entree were not very exciting. Overall a very nice and memorable experience, thank you!!

Tags: Casual, Tapas, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on March 31, 2017

This please is highly over rated. If you are satisfied with the perception of having a really creative dinner then this place will do just fine. However, if you are actually hoping to eat something you enjoy without dropping more than 150 for two people; not the place for you. I would say there were very friendly staff but overall I'm pretty sure this is just hype. Wouldn't recommend it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value1

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on March 29, 2017

Excellent food and service. They have a large wine selection and a good amount of beers and spirits. Our server asked about food allergies when she explained the menu, which was nice because two of party have serious shellfish and egg allergies.

We would definitely recommend!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 29, 2017

We loved this cute little restaurant. After reading the reviews, we decided to sit at the counter facing the kitchen since our table wasn't available yet since we arrived a bit early. It was great to watch the staff prepare our meal. Sitting at the counter was pretty cool. We chatted with Creston who was working closest to us. The green beans were very good, and the char with sweet potatoes was exceptionally delicious. I enjoyed my after meal scotch. My daughter and I had enjoyed two glasses of wine with our meal. Our bill was only $80. Even though they automatically add 20% service fee, we doubled it. We had a great experience.

Tags: Modern Decor, Handcrafted Cocktails, Family Style, Worth the Drive, Hot Spot, Open Kitchen, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on March 25, 2017

Outstanding, well-balanced, spot-on seasoned & executed food. If I could give 4.5 stars for food, I would, but I'm very stingy with 5 stars for food and creativity and presentation were 1/2 star less than perfect. Issues to note: tight space, less than ideal chairs, and poor pacing from the kitchen for a romantic date. If the dishes arrive like machine-gun fire, guests feel rushed and unwelcome. Tell the server to slow the chef down and you'll have a great meal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on March 24, 2017

I went on a date with my boyfriend to Mkt. for the first time, and we were not disappointed! The ambience was great, and the food was delicious. Who knew simple green beans could be so flavorful!

Tags: Late-night Find, Good for Anniversaries, Fun, Special Occasion, Cozy, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on March 24, 2017

Small space but cozy.
The food offerings during Dine around Seattle were thoughtful and presented beautifully.
Customer service was prompt and professional.
There is an automatic 20% service charge.

I recommend seating either at the counter or near the door.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on March 24, 2017

Excellent food and service. Sitting at the chef's bar is interesting and fun. However, be forewarned, the seating is extremely tight seating and the noise level is high.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Fun, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 23, 2017

Went as part of Taste of Seattle- great way to sample the menu. Every dish was excellent! Scallops, flatbread, green beans... all so tasty. We will definitely be coming back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 19, 2017

Every dish we tried was outstanding! The oysters, wagyu beef, ravioli, etc. I absolutely loved the bottle of wine we tried (Le Temps Est Venu) as well as the port I had with dessert. The chocolate dessert was delish! The restaurant is very small and intimate. Excellent meal.

Tags: Good for a Date, Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on March 19, 2017

Nice hidden little gem. Place is really small which makes it very intimate and good for small groups but also got a bit warm at our furthest table from the door. Server was a little odd in that she somewhat mocked my husband who didn't know the correct way to pronounce some of the food ingredients. She was attentive though from a service standpoint. Would definitely return given the enjoyment we had sharing 6-7 dishes between the four of us. Tasty!

Tags: Open Kitchen, Good for Groups, Family Style, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Tapas, Casual, Fun, Fit for Foodies, Comfort Food, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on March 19, 2017

Great food in tiny Ethan Stowell spot off the beaten path!

Tags: Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on March 18, 2017

Really great experience, all around. Bravo!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Open Kitchen, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Hawaii)·Dined on March 13, 2017

Everything was great. Friendly staff and great food!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Casual, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Ethan Stowell restaurants seldom disappoint. The food is always rich and creative, the service is almost always professional and attentive. Love the menu and the execution here. Great wine recommendations from an excellent server. Not crazy about the mandatory 20 percent service charge. We always tip that or more. But being forced to do it seems tacky.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value2

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on March 8, 2017

Had the special prixfix Dine Out menu. I had 3 heavily over salted dishes which were unpleasant to the palate and made it difficult to taste the flavors. Good portion sizes, nice presentation, friendly and attentive staff. Will try again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on March 7, 2017

Amazing meal, coursed out really nicely. The staff was incredibly accommodating. The only call out would be around the table at the back where we sat. It is right in front of the door to the restroom (the non-booth seats are literally blocking the door to the bathroom). It's not a huge issue because of how small the place is but I would just suggest requesting any other table.

Tags: Seasonal, Cozy, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Amazing! We did the off menu tasting menu and sampled 10 courses. Best meal I've had in a long time!

Tags: Spicy, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on February 25, 2017

One of our favorite three restaurants in Seattle. Warm greeting, excellent food, always a great experience.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Open Kitchen, Pre/post Theatre, Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients, Fun, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Seasonal, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.