Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.96mi
  2. Distance: 1.40mi
  3. Distance: 1.45mi
  4. Distance: 1.55mi
  1. Distance: 0.96mi
  2. Distance: 1.40mi
  3. Distance: 1.45mi
  4. Distance: 1.55mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.96mi
  2. Distance: 1.40mi
  3. Distance: 1.45mi
  4. Distance: 1.55mi
  1. Distance: 0.96mi
  2. Distance: 1.40mi
  3. Distance: 1.45mi
  4. Distance: 1.55mi

About mkt.

With just 28 seats, mkt. - pronounced "market" - is an intimate restaurant in an cozy Seattle neighborhood know as Tangletown between Wallingford and Greenlake. It gets its name from Meridian, the traditional name for the neighborhood; the historic Keystone Building that it’s housed in; and Tangletown, as the area is now known. Chef Alvin Go's kitchen serves thoughtful, contemporary American fare with a dedication to Northwest products. The menu is intended to be served family style, so come prepared to taste a variety of dishes and perhaps meet some friends next to you.

2108 N 55th St
Seattle, WA 98103
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Sun-Thurs 5pm-10pm
Fri & Sat 5pm-11pm
Happy Hour Sun-Thurs 9pm-10pm

Cross Street:
Keystone Pl N

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(206) 812-1580

Website:
http://www.ethanstowellrestaurants.com/mkt/

Executive Chef:
Alvin Go

Additional:
Beer, Chef's Table, Cocktails, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Mkt. Fresh Monday- every Monday our chef Alvin Go curates a dish that highlights the wonderful farms that we have access to in this city. Join us on Mondays for a variety of different dishes that will excite and delight you.

mkt. Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.3

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

88% would recommend it to a friend

Neighborhood Gem (27)
Fit for Foodies (26)
Good for a Date (23)
See All
Creative Cuisine (19)
Special Occasion (15)
Local Ingredients (14)
Open Kitchen (14)
Cozy (13)
Good for Anniversaries (12)
Worth the Drive (11)
Casual (10)
Tasting Menu (8)
Authentic (8)
Seasonal (8)
Hot Spot (7)
Notable Wine List (7)
Handcrafted Cocktails (7)
Fun (7)
Tapas (5)
Healthy (5)
Family Style (5)
Bar Seating (5)
Romantic (4)
Modern Decor (4)
Good for Birthdays (3)
Late-night Find (3)
Gluten Free Options (3)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
Organic (2)
People Watching (2)
Spicy (2)
Comfort Food (2)
Quiet Conversation (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Good for Groups (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Sort By:
S
468 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Mkt always solid. Creative but unfussy food, best ingredients, small plates wonderful, service attentive but not intrusive. Mkt. is small, some would say cramped, but for us intimate and cosy describe it best. A bit pricey. Not a place we go regularly, but when we do, never disappoints.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Authentic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on April 14, 2017

The Restaurant Week deal was of low value. Portions were tiny and the food was not special. With tip 20% and tax it's a 40$ meal but we did not feel if was of great value.
Not sure how this restaurant is with the regular menu.
We were 4 of us covering all the options of the restaurant week.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value3

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on April 14, 2017

Soo good for Restaurant Week! Wagu beef and lamb belly!

Tags: Comfort Food, Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Late-night Find, Handcrafted Cocktails, Worth the Drive, Open Kitchen, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on April 10, 2017

Finally got a reservation for date night and Restaurant Week. Food was delicious, fresh, and creative. Standouts were the Hamachi crudo, lamb belly, and crisp-fried quail. Atmosphere is lively and casual, close seating invites neighboring with other diners. Service is efficient, not quite affable.

Tags: Casual, Creative Cuisine, People Watching, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value4

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on April 9, 2017

Every bite was sublime. Every bite. I recommend anything on the menu. The dessert sherries are unique-nice way to end a fabulous meal. Service is excellent. A night and a meal to remember. Thank you Mkt.

Tags: Fun, Cozy, Special Occasion, Gluten Free Options, Seasonal, Spicy, Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Tasting Menu, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on April 8, 2017

Fantastic birthday dinner at Mkt. Food and service were both great. Was our first time and we will be back. Really appreciated the help with dietary restrictions.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on April 7, 2017

Wagyu beef was salty and should have cooked longer. That was the one of main dish so we were disappointed. desert was okay but I don't think I want to order again. Appetizers were good.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Organic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on April 3, 2017

The food here ROCKS!!!!

Service also great and comfortable seating in small unique setting.

We shall return!!!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on April 1, 2017

The servers here were AMAZING. Such sweet people, and really made our anniversary memorable. The tasting menu was great, but we had varying levels of interest in the dishes - the salmon+skin entree, green beans, fried oysters, lamb were all spectacular, while the cucumber ceviche appetizer, asparagus, and tuna entree were not very exciting. Overall a very nice and memorable experience, thank you!!

Tags: Casual, Tapas, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on March 31, 2017

This please is highly over rated. If you are satisfied with the perception of having a really creative dinner then this place will do just fine. However, if you are actually hoping to eat something you enjoy without dropping more than 150 for two people; not the place for you. I would say there were very friendly staff but overall I'm pretty sure this is just hype. Wouldn't recommend it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value1

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on March 29, 2017

Excellent food and service. They have a large wine selection and a good amount of beers and spirits. Our server asked about food allergies when she explained the menu, which was nice because two of party have serious shellfish and egg allergies.

We would definitely recommend!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 29, 2017

We loved this cute little restaurant. After reading the reviews, we decided to sit at the counter facing the kitchen since our table wasn't available yet since we arrived a bit early. It was great to watch the staff prepare our meal. Sitting at the counter was pretty cool. We chatted with Creston who was working closest to us. The green beans were very good, and the char with sweet potatoes was exceptionally delicious. I enjoyed my after meal scotch. My daughter and I had enjoyed two glasses of wine with our meal. Our bill was only $80. Even though they automatically add 20% service fee, we doubled it. We had a great experience.

Tags: Modern Decor, Handcrafted Cocktails, Family Style, Worth the Drive, Hot Spot, Open Kitchen, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on March 25, 2017

Outstanding, well-balanced, spot-on seasoned & executed food. If I could give 4.5 stars for food, I would, but I'm very stingy with 5 stars for food and creativity and presentation were 1/2 star less than perfect. Issues to note: tight space, less than ideal chairs, and poor pacing from the kitchen for a romantic date. If the dishes arrive like machine-gun fire, guests feel rushed and unwelcome. Tell the server to slow the chef down and you'll have a great meal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on March 24, 2017

I went on a date with my boyfriend to Mkt. for the first time, and we were not disappointed! The ambience was great, and the food was delicious. Who knew simple green beans could be so flavorful!

Tags: Late-night Find, Good for Anniversaries, Fun, Special Occasion, Cozy, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on March 24, 2017

Small space but cozy.
The food offerings during Dine around Seattle were thoughtful and presented beautifully.
Customer service was prompt and professional.
There is an automatic 20% service charge.

I recommend seating either at the counter or near the door.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on March 24, 2017

Excellent food and service. Sitting at the chef's bar is interesting and fun. However, be forewarned, the seating is extremely tight seating and the noise level is high.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Fun, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 23, 2017

Went as part of Taste of Seattle- great way to sample the menu. Every dish was excellent! Scallops, flatbread, green beans... all so tasty. We will definitely be coming back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 19, 2017

Every dish we tried was outstanding! The oysters, wagyu beef, ravioli, etc. I absolutely loved the bottle of wine we tried (Le Temps Est Venu) as well as the port I had with dessert. The chocolate dessert was delish! The restaurant is very small and intimate. Excellent meal.

Tags: Good for a Date, Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on March 19, 2017

Nice hidden little gem. Place is really small which makes it very intimate and good for small groups but also got a bit warm at our furthest table from the door. Server was a little odd in that she somewhat mocked my husband who didn't know the correct way to pronounce some of the food ingredients. She was attentive though from a service standpoint. Would definitely return given the enjoyment we had sharing 6-7 dishes between the four of us. Tasty!

Tags: Open Kitchen, Good for Groups, Family Style, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Tapas, Casual, Fun, Fit for Foodies, Comfort Food, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on March 19, 2017

Great food in tiny Ethan Stowell spot off the beaten path!

Tags: Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on March 18, 2017

Really great experience, all around. Bravo!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Open Kitchen, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Hawaii)·Dined on March 13, 2017

Everything was great. Friendly staff and great food!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Casual, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Ethan Stowell restaurants seldom disappoint. The food is always rich and creative, the service is almost always professional and attentive. Love the menu and the execution here. Great wine recommendations from an excellent server. Not crazy about the mandatory 20 percent service charge. We always tip that or more. But being forced to do it seems tacky.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value2

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on March 8, 2017

Had the special prixfix Dine Out menu. I had 3 heavily over salted dishes which were unpleasant to the palate and made it difficult to taste the flavors. Good portion sizes, nice presentation, friendly and attentive staff. Will try again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on March 7, 2017

Amazing meal, coursed out really nicely. The staff was incredibly accommodating. The only call out would be around the table at the back where we sat. It is right in front of the door to the restroom (the non-booth seats are literally blocking the door to the bathroom). It's not a huge issue because of how small the place is but I would just suggest requesting any other table.

Tags: Seasonal, Cozy, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Amazing! We did the off menu tasting menu and sampled 10 courses. Best meal I've had in a long time!

Tags: Spicy, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on February 25, 2017

One of our favorite three restaurants in Seattle. Warm greeting, excellent food, always a great experience.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Open Kitchen, Pre/post Theatre, Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients, Fun, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Seasonal, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on February 24, 2017

All 3 courses were over salted and poor service. Would not recommend

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1
value1

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on February 22, 2017

My wife and I pride ourselves in the fact that we live in a city where there are so many great culinary chefs and restaurants. We have been to so many great restaurants but we continually come back here week after week! We love bringing friends from out of town or just showing up here for a wonderful date night!

This restaurant is NOT kid friendly. So come and enjoy a night away from yours if you want to; or need to!

FOOD!!!! We seem to have our own prefix when we show up that consist of:

~Grilled and marinated green beans, sea salt, lemon
~Porcini ricotta ravioli, grana padano, mushroom butter sauce, marjoram
~Hamachi ceviche, citrus-cucumber ice, coriander, pickled red onion
~Grilled wagyu beef crusted with peppercorn, rosemary, fingerling potatoes, fried onions, red wine sauce

We of course have tried all of the items on the menu but we find ourselves coming back to these staples. You really cant go wrong with whatever you choose on the menu.

STAFF!!! Any restaurant should be able to make you great food. However, to be an exceptional restaurant you have to have more!!!! Head Chef Alvin and Sous Chef Mark are a great team. They are very friendly and are excited to interact with those who sit at the chefs counter. And man, can they cook! We have never once received anything from them that wasn't cooked to perfection.

Manager Sara is such a joy to see when we walk in the door! She makes sure all guests are taken care of and everything is to their satisfaction. She has a great staff who are as unique and amazing as Seattle is.

Tags: Family Style, Good for a Date, Organic, Healthy, Notable Wine List, Local Ingredients, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Open Kitchen, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, People Watching, Authentic, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on February 21, 2017

Fabulous food - very creative use of ingredients. Small space and therefore hard to get a reservation but worth the effort.

Tags: Seasonal, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Mkt was a big, expensive, disappointment. We have enjoyed many of the Ethan Stoel restaurants and had high hopes for this one, but those were dashed by the absolutely miserable service. The wait was long, half of our food never came out, and the waiter was oblivious to the oversight (clear by the way our oyster forks came and left, but no oysters were served). Hard to believe considering there are just 10 tables or so. When we politely pointed out the error (and that our other food never came out), he didn't seem to care and just offered us a free desert to make up for it. Then, to top it off, they charge a 20% non-negotiable service fee instead of a tip (which is totally fine, assuming you actually receive something resembling service, which we did not). I wouldn't not return to this place or suggest anyone else go there. We ended up out $125, unhappy, and still had to go out somewhere else afterward to get enough to eat. All that said, ambiance is nice, Brussels sprouts were good, as was the Char.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service1
value1

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Third meal at MKT and each time we are very impressed. Was very hot inside and due to small space can get loud

Tags: Tasting Menu, Local Ingredients, Handcrafted Cocktails, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on February 8, 2017

Went to mkt. for the second time - reinforced my first impressions that this place is one of the best restaurants in the city. All plates are for sharing, and each dish is singular in its creativity, flavor, and presentation. Two of us shared five plates and that was sufficient (although we both got tempted by the dessert menu). The pacing of the dishes could have been a tad better (we had three dishes on the table at once early in the meal), but the serving staff was very attentive to clearing space at the table to make room for fresh plates and new dishes. It is a very small place, but somehow the acoustics don't require you to compete with the table next to you.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on January 19, 2017

This was our first time to mkt and we really love how fantastic the food was and the overall small and inviting setting. Service was exceptional. Both the appetizers and entrees were very good. Great new find for us.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Casual, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on January 18, 2017

Simply, the food is fantastic! My favorite plate was the squash salad. It was absolutely delicious harmony with sweet roasted squash, pine nuts, leafs (I believe it was arugula) a vinaigrette, etc. The ceviche is very good, but it was untraditional, it was more of a sashimi with what seemed to be a mignonette. The chocolate pudding was exquisite and left a cool fresh mint after taste. Overall, people treated us very well. A good to know fact is that gratitude is included at 20%.

Tags: Good for a Date, Modern Decor, Healthy, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on January 17, 2017

Always enjoy going to MKT. I always have very high expectations when going there. Food flavor combinations always get me thinking.

Tags: Good for a Date, Cozy, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 13, 2017

This place is beyond amazing. The food is to die for and the service was the best ever.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on January 13, 2017

The beet salad

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on January 9, 2017

Fantastic selections for a pescatarian diet! My friend and I weren't very hungry...nicely charred brussel sprouts appetizer, beautiful presentation and delicious layer of flavors with the trout bruschetta, and the cheese plate made a perfect dessert. Nice to see ESR partners with wineries; the Mark Ryan viognier and Frank the Tank cab (can't recall the winery), were divine. I look forward to their spring menu!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on January 8, 2017

Amazing food and experience as normal. Food is always fresh and tasty. Always consistent with great service and the best food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.