About MJ's on Main

18 Main Street
Milford, OH 45150
View Larger Map

Here at MJ’s we believe EVERYONE deserves to have a good time, whether it is a evening out with the family, drinks and live music with friends, a cozy dinner for two, or a special event catered just for you, MJ’s is THE place to be.
We offer a mix of American-Fusion cuisine and an extensive craft beer selection featuring local breweries, and limited edition craft beers.
With 10 taps, a generous wine selection, and lots of signature martinis and eclectic cocktail choices, we have something for everyone.
Like we always say, “There is ALWAYS something going on at MJ’s”

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Fusion / Eclectic, Bar / Lounge / Bottle Service

Hours of Operation:


Tuesday- Thursday: 4:00pm - 11:00pm
Friday - Saturday 11:00am -1:00 am
Sunday - 3pm - 9pm


Cross Street:
High and Garfield

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(513) 831-9888

Website:
http://www.mjsmilford.com/

Entertainment:
MJ's is proud to host Local Live Music every Friday and Saturday Night from 9:00pm to 1:00am

Catering:
Our team of chefs is prepared to cater to any and all of your event needs big or small, we can do it all. Contact our event director for details.

Parking Details:
Our private parking lot is located on High street at our rear entrance. The back door opens into our dining room, and the stairs take you down to the Main Street entrance in our bar area.

Executive Chef:
Mark Potratz

Private Party Facilities:
MJ's on Main boasts a lovely, closed doors, private dining complete with its own restroom and sound system. We have hosted anything from a 007 Bond Surprise Birthday to having the privilege of hosting a couples small private wedding ceremony.

Private Party Contact:
Keri Jo Rominger: 5138319888x

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Entertainment, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

MJ's on Main Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.1

ambience

4.1

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

82% would recommend it to a friend

Neighborhood Gem (8)
Casual (7)
Fun (5)
See All
Good for Groups (5)
Great for Outdoor Dining (4)
Good for Anniversaries (4)
Great Beer (4)
Late-night Find (4)
Live Music (4)
Good for a Date (4)
People Watching (3)
Special Occasion (3)
Fit for Foodies (3)
Handcrafted Cocktails (3)
Historic (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Good for Birthdays (2)
Cozy (2)
Creative Cuisine (2)
Bar Seating (2)
Great for Lunch (2)
Happy Hour (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Fireplace (1)
Tapas (1)
Vegan (1)
Business Meals (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Healthy (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Romantic (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Private Room (1)
Notable Wine List (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Sort By:
S
102 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

The menu was not to my liking. U felt th ...

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on November 29, 2016

The menu was not to my liking. U felt the choices were a little offbeat with few traditional type of favorites. Service was very good.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value4

I have been to MJ's on Main a few times ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on November 18, 2016

I have been to MJ's on Main a few times but this last time was terrible. Not sure what was happening in the kitchen but it took a very long time to get our food and the tables were empty. My friend and I ordered the same thing, salmon BLT, but hers looked better. She had a good size fillet on her plate but my salmon was smaller and broken in 2 pieces. I almost sent it back but didn't want to wait forever to get my entree. The others at the table ordered the burger sliders which were overcooked and dry. Again, they didn't complain because it took so long to get our food. I will not go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value3

We really like the food there. Our wait ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on November 18, 2016

We really like the food there. Our waitressnwas a sweetheart

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value3

A truly mediocre experience. Service wa ...

vip
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on November 18, 2016

A truly mediocre experience. Service was fine, but the kitchen needs some major work. Fish was overly fried, hard, and cold. Took forever for just the basic meals that were ordered, and while servers were nice enough they were very disorganized causing all of us to have to remind them time and again for a refill, etc. There are better places in the area, especially at this price point. Why pay more for truly middle-of-the-road food???

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

Comfortable restaurant with good food an ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on November 5, 2016

Comfortable restaurant with good food and service. I would defiantly go again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Nice place. Decent food. Gets a bit nois ...

vip
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on October 14, 2016

Nice place. Decent food. Gets a bit noisy but very friendly.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

my first visit and we all loved it, grea ...

vip
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on October 8, 2016

my first visit and we all loved it, great atmosphere, not somewhere for a cosy chat, but good for a group and nice to hear some live music too. Food was great and service with a smile.

Tags: Good for Groups, Fun, Good for Birthdays, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

Service was ok, food was very good.

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on October 7, 2016

Service was ok, food was very good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3

Great atmosphere. Food was very great. ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on October 1, 2016

Great atmosphere. Food was very great. Our waiter was very helpful and polite. Would definitely recommend a visit to MJ's on Main.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Historic, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Unusual and delicious food variety. Ser ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on September 16, 2016

Unusual and delicious food variety. Service was above average but the noise level was almost deafening. If they would improve the acoustics this place would be near perfect.

Tags: Modern Decor, Late-night Find, Great for Outdoor Dining, Casual, Happy Hour, Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

MJs is fun and yummy. They have some unu ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on September 9, 2016

MJs is fun and yummy. They have some unusual menu options such as the edamame avocado dip which are quite good. Paired with a pretty good beer list and a quaint atmosphere, I would definitely recommend.

Tags: Fun, Great Beer, Fit for Foodies, People Watching, Healthy, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

Food was good and tasty. Would come back ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on August 27, 2016

Food was good and tasty. Would come back again. Would recommend to others.

Tags: Fireplace, People Watching, Tapas, Good for Anniversaries, Vegan, Business Meals, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

The food was good. The happy hour was go ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on August 19, 2016

The food was good. The happy hour was good. We will be back for Sunday dollar drafts.

Tags: Late-night Find, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value4

Band was good but WAY TOO LOUD!!! May n ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on August 13, 2016

Band was good but WAY TOO LOUD!!! May not come back. Told waitress and they kept saying "last song before break."

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience1
service5
value4

Flexibility and friendliness of staff.

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on August 12, 2016

Flexibility and friendliness of staff.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

We have been to MJs a number of times. I ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on July 16, 2016

We have been to MJs a number of times. It's one of our favorites. The food is great, many choices we enjoy. The servers are knowledgeable and efficient. I particularly enjoy the bar and terrific lady bartender. She makes a great version of my favorite drink. The overall environment is outstanding!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Great food, fun place, wonderful bar, ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on July 15, 2016

Great food, fun place, wonderful bar, super friendly service. Try the blueberry pomegranate martini Ala James. Totally worth it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

Fantastic service. We asked that they t ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on June 22, 2016

Fantastic service. We asked that they turn down the music because one person in our group had significant hearing loss. Instead of just turning down the music, they turned it off while we were there. Very impressive. Also, the food server was outstanding, as was the food. We'll be back!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Good food & atmosphere

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on May 7, 2016

MJ's is a great place to go if you and your friends, or significant other want to dine somewhere that's not a chain restaurant. They have good food and fair prices.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value2

Service was slow and confusing. New Wait ...

vip
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on May 7, 2016

Service was slow and confusing. New Waitress who wasn't ready to do her job. Food came out at different times. Food was mediocre.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value2

Nice alternative

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on April 23, 2016

We enjoyed our dinner and the server (although she was new she was very nice). The value for the money is just ok. Would recommend for a relaxing meal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Returned again and again not disappointed

vip
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on March 17, 2016

Back in town and went back for more. Stuffed mushrooms are great. Jambalaya is awesome. We look forward to our next visit. Make sure you have time and space left for the Key Lime pie. Seriously.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Great food, service was ok

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on February 28, 2016

My husband and I live in the Milford area and wanted to try someplace we hadn't been to yet in downtown Milford for dinner. When you first walk in, the bar area is to the left, if you have a table reservation the upstairs is where you need to go. I wish they would have had something when you walk in that stated that however. But it's not a huge place by any means so it's not difficult to figure out where you need to go. When we got up there the hostess was no where to be found at first. It took about 3 min and she seated us. Our server was some what younger. She greeted us and took our drink order. Then about 10 min passes and we still have no drinks. She then comes back and proceeds to take our dinner order and says, "oh wait a minute I forgot your drinks, I'll be right back" I should note we ordered 2 waters, a wine and a beer. The place was not crowded either. After this she comes back takes our dinner order. We ordered a couple of side salads as well. It took about 15-20 min to get our food. While we were waiting to get our food no one came back 1x to fill our waters. My husband had to ask for a new beer. When our food finally came she forgot the salads. Now granted we didn't specify we wanted them out first. However, in my experience salads have come out before the meal. So, we didn't make a big deal about it. I ordered the blackend chicken pesto pasta. It was so delicious. I can see why it was a fan favorite dish. Again, the whole time we were dining no one came to fill our waters up. Our server walked past our table atleast 5x along with several other servers. Eventually, right at the end of our meal another server came over to clear the table and asked if we wanted a drink. Then our original server came over. Needless to say, the food was great! The service could have definatly be better. If your looking for a new place to try I would recommend this place but if your in a hurry or want a drink with your meal, might wanna try another place.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

Ok food - typical bar food... Servce was only OK

vip
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on February 20, 2016

Went on a Fri. night.. Surprised that not very busy. Felt that was a bad sign? Service by young girl was OK but not great. Drinks were brought up at different times and found that other server had them on tray and did not give her them until he was done with his table. Food came in OK time, but was just OK. had Fish & Chips. Felt it was frozen stuff and then fried. Place was nice. Unfortunately, due to just OK experience would not come back. So many places are closer to my home with better service & food....

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value3

Great ambiance as we went on a Saturday ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on February 14, 2016

Great ambiance as we went on a Saturday night when they have live music (after 8). Reservations are held for upstairs, where the music carries nicely over the balcony. Hostess had little bags of Valentine hearts for folks with their names on them. Good draft beer and wine selection, and the food was great both in quality and price. Good job MJs, we will be back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Great find!

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on February 13, 2016

I made a reservation here for my mom's birthday, and we definitely all enjoyed ourselves. Wide selection of craft beers on tap, and a huge eclectic food menu. Everything was really good, and they even gave my mom a free dessert. Only slight negative is that it's a little loud in there on a Saturday night, and normally we'd have liked that, it's just that it might've been a bit much for older people :)

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

No wonder last minute Valentine's Day was open

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 13, 2016

How to be nice here? The menu is devoid of any vision. What is the point of the restaurant? What is the message? Why do people come here and why will they return? The owners cannot possibly have an answer for this. The food was so-so. Let's even call it OK. But I defy you to read the menu and tell me what this restaurant is about. It's the kind of place Gordon Ramsey comes in and completely changes the menu from 4 pages down to 1. Oh, and I ordered a Hurricane cocktail that was waaay too strong on the well liquor and short on the taste.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service3
value2

Vday date

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on February 13, 2016

I came across this restaurant on the app open table and decided to give it a shot for valentine's day. Our server was very energetic from the beginning and I knew it was going to be a good experience just from her vibe. She was able to make a good wine selection for my girlfriend and was able to give very good details of different appetizers and dinner plates as well. The only complaint I would have about being here is that once it got crowed I felt like it was very hard to have a conversation because it got so loud upstairs. Over all for the quantity and quality of food you can't beat it.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value4

Diverse beer selection. Service was enth ...

vip
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on January 31, 2016

Diverse beer selection. Service was enthusiastic but somewhat befuddled. I received two side salads and my wife got the wrong appetizer. We weren't charged for either, fortunately. Food was generally good as far pub food goes. Live music was good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3

Pleasantly surprised

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on January 30, 2016

The ambiance is comfy, yet upbeat. The appetizer fried pickle spears were great.

I would like for the crab cakes to be more of the " lump" style, but they were still good.

All in all, it was a nice meal. The only thing I would change would be the volume of the drums, etc.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

MJ's is more than likely named after the ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on January 28, 2016

MJ's is more than likely named after the owner(s) who founded this small neighborhood gem, but if nothing else, I would suffice to call it "My Joint."

Found while perusing dinner options in the area, I came across this, loved the menu and photos available online, and dropped a reservation just to make sure we could get right in. Upon arrival (after driving through the vintage, historic looking Main Street), I parked opposite the building, went inside and then up the stairs to the very contemporary and professional upstairs dining area, only to find it completely empty. I was a little confused, but nevertheless returned downstairs and proceeded to the bar instead.

The next 2 and half hours had me feeling equivalent to a regular customer that's been coming there for years. Every drink I ordered was met with excitement from the bartender, James, and recommendations on how he could make it even better for me. We ordered an appetizer, salad, and entree for myself and my girlfriend each, and were absolutely blown away by the taste and quality of everything given to us. Every employee there had wonderful extended conversations with us both, including the general manager, Kat, whom we must have talked to for at least an hour and a half past closing time. I felt comfortable, in every possible aspect, and the whole experience really changed what was just a dinner into a seriously amazing evening.

All in all, MJ's is a very accepting place, giving people the option of cozy, almost upscale dining, or bonding neighborhood bar and lounge. What was originally planned to be a 5 star steakhouse dinner was turned into a shocking surprise when I opted for this instead; I shall now be able to tell people around me that they can always wander in from the street and feel truly welcomed and attached to the MJ's atmosphere, kitchen, bar, and staff.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

My Fathers favorite place!

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on January 7, 2016

The food was amazing. The server and the manager were extra nice considering they were very busy. The scallops were cooked perfectly, the crab cakes were the best I've had in Cincinnati or on our recent trip to the islands. The trout dish was light and flakey and my wife's blackened chicken pesto pasta was in her words " to die for". Also I found some of the best local craft beers on draft here. This is a small private place with a great little bar. The locals love it and it was my fathers favorite restaurant in Cincinnati because of the Bison burgers. It is a shame when revieiwers trash a place over something small. Overall the place was fantastic and I can't wait to go again for the live music on Saturday nights.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

disappointed

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on January 2, 2016

Everything was good until our food came. We had a table of 8. All but one meal came because the server ADMITTEDLY entered the wrong food item, having just realized her error as she was delivering food-- with no apology, she just said, I'll go tell the kitchen to make "the bbq pizza". The other 7 of us were wondering, "should we start eating? Should we wait?" 5 minutes later (we had started eating bc our food was going to get cold and no return from the server) the server finally came over and told us it would be 10 more MINUTES for our friend's food to be served! My friend wasn't going to complain, but I was very disappointed in the response (or lack thereof) from restaurant staff. There was NO "I'm sorry, it'll be right out," no manager presence or offer to take off the meal (she paid full price for the 15 min. late meal). We all hesitantly ate our meals, trying not to be rude, hoping that her meal would be out soon. Personally, I could not enjoy the experience after that because I felt bad eating when my friend had no food. My husband and I (and the woman who's food didn't come on time) have all worked in restaurants as servers. I know errors happen- that's not what is disappointing. What is disappointing is that NO apology or acknowledgement was given except, "oh yeah, you did order bbq pizza, I'll go tell the kitchen." Unbelievable. Even McDonalds would offer an apology! And as far as the lack of manager acknowledgement or offer to take that food item off of her bill, unacceptable.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value3

Good food, but service is beyond accepta ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on December 29, 2015

Good food, but service is beyond acceptable. We had a party of 5 adults and 2 kids. The kids meals were ordered promptly when we sat down and delivered quickly (good job). For the adults, we were finally asked for our order 45min into sitting down, appetizers arrived another 45min later, and our dinner came 30min after that.... Except for my wife's dinner, which came 25min after everyone else. When I let the server know the pacing was unacceptable, it was greeted with a simple, "well, I'm doing my best".

Net, the food is good, but the service is slow, inattentive, and detracts from the overall experience to a point that I wouldn't want to return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1

Birthday Outing

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on December 13, 2015

We had a very pleasant dinner at MJ's on Main. Celebrated 3 persons birthdays. Was treated to free dessert. Everything was nice, and clean. The food was very tasty. The menu selection was very good.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Halloween was well spent here

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on November 1, 2015

we had a nice dinner followed by listening to a great band Tempted Souls.

surprisingly to me the place was filled before the band finished its first set.

that is why i thought this might be a good neighborhood place.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3

Good Food and Casual Charm

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on October 25, 2015

I dined here with my friend on a Sunday evening. We enjoyed our entrees of Balsamic Smothered Chicken and a Reuben sandwich very much. We were very disappointed in the homemade pumpkin cheesecake, however. It had a very strange flavor like there was too much of some spice included. The service was a bit slow and the music too noisy for easy conversation. It was also overly dark for these aging baby boomer eyes!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3

Server was friendly and very understandi ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on October 20, 2015

Server was friendly and very understanding, however there were multiple issues with our order. They were addressed quickly and politely. Not as likely to return as I had hoped.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service2

Bar was busy. Restaurant not very busy. ...

vip
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on September 29, 2015

Bar was busy. Restaurant not very busy.

Food was very good. Appeared to be only one waiter. Not a large facility.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3

Best part of historical Milford

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on September 17, 2015

This place is one of the reasons I would never move away from Milford. I love their salads, burgers, fish, crab cakes and creme brûlée is awesome!!! James waited on us this last time and he was super attentive but not annoying-which is sometimes a difficult task at many restaurants. He treated my 10 yr old daughter like she was a celebrity. Of course, Kat is always stopping by and ensuring all is well. We love MJ's

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.