About MJ's on Main

18 Main Street
Milford, OH 45150
View Larger Map

Here at MJ’s we believe EVERYONE deserves to have a good time, whether it is a evening out with the family, drinks and live music with friends, a cozy dinner for two, or a special event catered just for you, MJ’s is THE place to be.
We offer a mix of American-Fusion cuisine and an extensive craft beer selection featuring local breweries, and limited edition craft beers.
With 10 taps, a generous wine selection, and lots of signature martinis and eclectic cocktail choices, we have something for everyone.
Like we always say, “There is ALWAYS something going on at MJ’s”

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Fusion / Eclectic, Bar / Lounge / Bottle Service

Hours of Operation:


Tuesday- Thursday: 4:00pm - 11:00pm
Friday - Saturday 11:00am -1:00 am
Sunday - 3pm - 9pm


Cross Street:
High and Garfield

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(513) 831-9888

Website:
http://www.mjsmilford.com/

Entertainment:
MJ's is proud to host Local Live Music every Friday and Saturday Night from 9:00pm to 1:00am

Catering:
Our team of chefs is prepared to cater to any and all of your event needs big or small, we can do it all. Contact our event director for details.

Parking Details:
Our private parking lot is located on High street at our rear entrance. The back door opens into our dining room, and the stairs take you down to the Main Street entrance in our bar area.

Executive Chef:
Mark Potratz

Private Party Facilities:
MJ's on Main boasts a lovely, closed doors, private dining complete with its own restroom and sound system. We have hosted anything from a 007 Bond Surprise Birthday to having the privilege of hosting a couples small private wedding ceremony.

Private Party Contact:
Keri Jo Rominger: 5138319888x

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Entertainment, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

MJ's on Main Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

3.8

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

3.9

service

3.8

ambience

3.8

noise

Moderate

84% would recommend it to a friend

neighborhood gem (20)
fit for foodies (11)
good for groups (9)
See All
great for lunch (7)
late-night find (5)
special occasion (4)
vibrant bar scene (4)
kid-friendly (3)
hot spot (2)
romantic (1)
great for outdoor dining (1)
Sort By:
Newest
84 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service3
value2

Good food & atmosphere

Dined on May 7, 2016

MJ's is a great place to go if you and your friends, or significant other want to dine somewhere that's not a chain restaurant. They have good food and fair prices.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food2
ambience2
service2
value2

Service was slow and confusing. New Wait ...

vip
Dined on May 7, 2016

Service was slow and confusing. New Waitress who wasn't ready to do her job. Food came out at different times. Food was mediocre.

food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Nice alternative

Dined on April 23, 2016

We enjoyed our dinner and the server (although she was new she was very nice). The value for the money is just ok. Would recommend for a relaxing meal.

food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Returned again and again not disappointed

Dined on March 17, 2016

Back in town and went back for more. Stuffed mushrooms are great. Jambalaya is awesome. We look forward to our next visit. Make sure you have time and space left for the Key Lime pie. Seriously.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

Great food, service was ok

Dined on February 28, 2016

My husband and I live in the Milford area and wanted to try someplace we hadn't been to yet in downtown Milford for dinner. When you first walk in, the bar area is to the left, if you have a table reservation the upstairs is where you need to go. I wish they would have had something when you walk in that stated that however. But it's not a huge place by any means so it's not difficult to figure out where you need to go. When we got up there the hostess was no where to be found at first. It took about 3 min and she seated us. Our server was some what younger. She greeted us and took our drink order. Then about 10 min passes and we still have no drinks. She then comes back and proceeds to take our dinner order and says, "oh wait a minute I forgot your drinks, I'll be right back" I should note we ordered 2 waters, a wine and a beer. The place was not crowded either. After this she comes back takes our dinner order. We ordered a couple of side salads as well. It took about 15-20 min to get our food. While we were waiting to get our food no one came back 1x to fill our waters. My husband had to ask for a new beer. When our food finally came she forgot the salads. Now granted we didn't specify we wanted them out first. However, in my experience salads have come out before the meal. So, we didn't make a big deal about it. I ordered the blackend chicken pesto pasta. It was so delicious. I can see why it was a fan favorite dish. Again, the whole time we were dining no one came to fill our waters up. Our server walked past our table atleast 5x along with several other servers. Eventually, right at the end of our meal another server came over to clear the table and asked if we wanted a drink. Then our original server came over. Needless to say, the food was great! The service could have definatly be better. If your looking for a new place to try I would recommend this place but if your in a hurry or want a drink with your meal, might wanna try another place.

Tags: neighborhood gem
food3
ambience3
service2
value3

Ok food - typical bar food... Servce was only OK

vip
Dined on February 20, 2016

Went on a Fri. night.. Surprised that not very busy. Felt that was a bad sign? Service by young girl was OK but not great. Drinks were brought up at different times and found that other server had them on tray and did not give her them until he was done with his table. Food came in OK time, but was just OK. had Fish & Chips. Felt it was frozen stuff and then fried. Place was nice. Unfortunately, due to just OK experience would not come back. So many places are closer to my home with better service & food....

food4
ambience5
service5

Great ambiance as we went on a Saturday ...

Dined on February 14, 2016

Great ambiance as we went on a Saturday night when they have live music (after 8). Reservations are held for upstairs, where the music carries nicely over the balcony. Hostess had little bags of Valentine hearts for folks with their names on them. Good draft beer and wine selection, and the food was great both in quality and price. Good job MJs, we will be back!

food5
ambience4
service4
value5

Great find!

Dined on February 13, 2016

I made a reservation here for my mom's birthday, and we definitely all enjoyed ourselves. Wide selection of craft beers on tap, and a huge eclectic food menu. Everything was really good, and they even gave my mom a free dessert. Only slight negative is that it's a little loud in there on a Saturday night, and normally we'd have liked that, it's just that it might've been a bit much for older people :)

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
food2
ambience1
service3
value2

No wonder last minute Valentine's Day was open

Dined on February 13, 2016

How to be nice here? The menu is devoid of any vision. What is the point of the restaurant? What is the message? Why do people come here and why will they return? The owners cannot possibly have an answer for this. The food was so-so. Let's even call it OK. But I defy you to read the menu and tell me what this restaurant is about. It's the kind of place Gordon Ramsey comes in and completely changes the menu from 4 pages down to 1. Oh, and I ordered a Hurricane cocktail that was waaay too strong on the well liquor and short on the taste.

food3
ambience3
service3
value4

Vday date

Dined on February 13, 2016

I came across this restaurant on the app open table and decided to give it a shot for valentine's day. Our server was very energetic from the beginning and I knew it was going to be a good experience just from her vibe. She was able to make a good wine selection for my girlfriend and was able to give very good details of different appetizers and dinner plates as well. The only complaint I would have about being here is that once it got crowed I felt like it was very hard to have a conversation because it got so loud upstairs. Over all for the quantity and quality of food you can't beat it.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food3
ambience4
service3

Diverse beer selection. Service was enth ...

vip
Dined on January 31, 2016

Diverse beer selection. Service was enthusiastic but somewhat befuddled. I received two side salads and my wife got the wrong appetizer. We weren't charged for either, fortunately. Food was generally good as far pub food goes. Live music was good.

food3
ambience3
service3
value3

Pleasantly surprised

Dined on January 30, 2016

The ambiance is comfy, yet upbeat. The appetizer fried pickle spears were great. I would like for the crab cakes to be more of the " lump" style, but they were still good. All in all, it was a nice meal. The only thing I would change would be the volume of the drums, etc.

Tags: neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

MJ's is more than likely named after the ...

Dined on January 28, 2016

MJ's is more than likely named after the owner(s) who founded this small neighborhood gem, but if nothing else, I would suffice to call it "My Joint." Found while perusing dinner options in the area, I came across this, loved the menu and photos available online, and dropped a reservation just to make sure we could get right in. Upon arrival (after driving through the vintage, historic looking Main Street), I parked opposite the building, went inside and then up the stairs to the very contemporary and professional upstairs dining area, only to find it completely empty. I was a little confused, but nevertheless returned downstairs and proceeded to the bar instead. The next 2 and half hours had me feeling equivalent to a regular customer that's been coming there for years. Every drink I ordered was met with excitement from the bartender, James, and recommendations on how he could make it even better for me. We ordered an appetizer, salad, and entree for myself and my girlfriend each, and were absolutely blown away by the taste and quality of everything given to us. Every employee there had wonderful extended conversations with us both, including the general manager, Kat, whom we must have talked to for at least an hour and a half past closing time. I felt comfortable, in every possible aspect, and the whole experience really changed what was just a dinner into a seriously amazing evening. All in all, MJ's is a very accepting place, giving people the option of cozy, almost upscale dining, or bonding neighborhood bar and lounge. What was originally planned to be a 5 star steakhouse dinner was turned into a shocking surprise when I opted for this instead; I shall now be able to tell people around me that they can always wander in from the street and feel truly welcomed and attached to the MJ's atmosphere, kitchen, bar, and staff.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My Fathers favorite place!

Dined on January 7, 2016

The food was amazing. The server and the manager were extra nice considering they were very busy. The scallops were cooked perfectly, the crab cakes were the best I've had in Cincinnati or on our recent trip to the islands. The trout dish was light and flakey and my wife's blackened chicken pesto pasta was in her words " to die for". Also I found some of the best local craft beers on draft here. This is a small private place with a great little bar. The locals love it and it was my fathers favorite restaurant in Cincinnati because of the Bison burgers. It is a shame when revieiwers trash a place over something small. Overall the place was fantastic and I can't wait to go again for the live music on Saturday nights.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service1
value3

disappointed

Dined on January 2, 2016

Everything was good until our food came. We had a table of 8. All but one meal came because the server ADMITTEDLY entered the wrong food item, having just realized her error as she was delivering food-- with no apology, she just said, I'll go tell the kitchen to make "the bbq pizza". The other 7 of us were wondering, "should we start eating? Should we wait?" 5 minutes later (we had started eating bc our food was going to get cold and no return from the server) the server finally came over and told us it would be 10 more MINUTES for our friend's food to be served! My friend wasn't going to complain, but I was very disappointed in the response (or lack thereof) from restaurant staff. There was NO "I'm sorry, it'll be right out," no manager presence or offer to take off the meal (she paid full price for the 15 min. late meal). We all hesitantly ate our meals, trying not to be rude, hoping that her meal would be out soon. Personally, I could not enjoy the experience after that because I felt bad eating when my friend had no food. My husband and I (and the woman who's food didn't come on time) have all worked in restaurants as servers. I know errors happen- that's not what is disappointing. What is disappointing is that NO apology or acknowledgement was given except, "oh yeah, you did order bbq pizza, I'll go tell the kitchen." Unbelievable. Even McDonalds would offer an apology! And as far as the lack of manager acknowledgement or offer to take that food item off of her bill, unacceptable.

food4
ambience3
service1

Good food, but service is beyond accepta ...

Dined on December 29, 2015

Good food, but service is beyond acceptable. We had a party of 5 adults and 2 kids. The kids meals were ordered promptly when we sat down and delivered quickly (good job). For the adults, we were finally asked for our order 45min into sitting down, appetizers arrived another 45min later, and our dinner came 30min after that.... Except for my wife's dinner, which came 25min after everyone else. When I let the server know the pacing was unacceptable, it was greeted with a simple, "well, I'm doing my best". Net, the food is good, but the service is slow, inattentive, and detracts from the overall experience to a point that I wouldn't want to return.

food5
ambience5
service5

Birthday Outing

Dined on December 13, 2015

We had a very pleasant dinner at MJ's on Main. Celebrated 3 persons birthdays. Was treated to free dessert. Everything was nice, and clean. The food was very tasty. The menu selection was very good.

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food3
ambience4
service3

Halloween was well spent here

Dined on November 1, 2015

we had a nice dinner followed by listening to a great band Tempted Souls. surprisingly to me the place was filled before the band finished its first set. that is why i thought this might be a good neighborhood place.

Tags: neighborhood gem
food4
ambience3
service3

Good Food and Casual Charm

Dined on October 25, 2015

I dined here with my friend on a Sunday evening. We enjoyed our entrees of Balsamic Smothered Chicken and a Reuben sandwich very much. We were very disappointed in the homemade pumpkin cheesecake, however. It had a very strange flavor like there was too much of some spice included. The service was a bit slow and the music too noisy for easy conversation. It was also overly dark for these aging baby boomer eyes!

Tags: neighborhood gem
food3
ambience5
service2

Server was friendly and very understandi ...

Dined on October 20, 2015

Server was friendly and very understanding, however there were multiple issues with our order. They were addressed quickly and politely. Not as likely to return as I had hoped.

food4
ambience3
service3

Bar was busy. Restaurant not very busy. ...

vip
Dined on September 29, 2015

Bar was busy. Restaurant not very busy. Food was very good. Appeared to be only one waiter. Not a large facility.

food5
ambience5
service5

Best part of historical Milford

Dined on September 17, 2015

This place is one of the reasons I would never move away from Milford. I love their salads, burgers, fish, crab cakes and creme brûlée is awesome!!! James waited on us this last time and he was super attentive but not annoying-which is sometimes a difficult task at many restaurants. He treated my 10 yr old daughter like she was a celebrity. Of course, Kat is always stopping by and ensuring all is well. We love MJ's

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5

Good place for a group

Dined on September 15, 2015

We had a group of 15 and dined in the back room. We were able to have delicious food, good service and privacy. I am sure we will be back in the future.

Tags: good for groups, great for lunch
food4
ambience4
service5

Something for everyone

Dined on September 4, 2015

We went here as a group of 8 the night before running the M2M relay of 76 miles. There was great pasta for the carb loaders, yummy vegan offerings like avocado and Edamame Dip, huge sandwiches and good beer. The upstairs area is very cute and the server was fabulous. The band was good but just a bit loud for the space. Overall we loved it and may be back next year.

Tags: good for groups, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food4
ambience4
service3

Nice neighborhood spot

Dined on July 18, 2015

Nice restaurant with extensive bar options. Perfectly seasoned and crusted fish. My wife had the lemon chicken pasta. It was very good as well. It was fairly spicey as were most menu options. I enjoy the spicey options, but for the non spicey fans such as my wife, I would recommend adding A few more choices. I would definitely return. Waitress/ server was very friendly and knowledgable. The hostess' we're not very friendly. Lacking a smile and greeting. They were just maybe having a bad day and working in the service industry myself, I understand it happens. Food came out quickly And efficiently.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
food3
ambience3
service3

Disappointing

vip
Dined on July 18, 2015

We needed to be in Milford for a party and needed to catch a bite before. After reading the positive reviews we decided to try MJs. The environment was not welcoming. No hostess. Service was slow with servers more focused on their own conversations. Food initially looked and tasted good but got progressively richer as we ate it. We reached a point where we just couldn't eat it. Still I would say it's ok for a bar/ bar food night if that's what you are looking for. But nothing special.

Tags: kid-friendly
food5
ambience4
service4

Hidden gem in Old Milford

Dined on July 11, 2015

We were really blown away with the experience at MJ's. The waitress handled our large group (11) flawlessly and with a smile. The food was also incredible... I can personally recommend the stir fry chefs special and the Byson black and blue burger.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience3
service4

Local hot spot

Dined on June 26, 2015

Nice little spot in charming downtown Milford. Live music, local beers, and above average bar grub. Home run with the veggie flat bread. Wife had the bison mini burgers. They were good, but for same price you can get the bison burger. Live music but didn't make the place too loud. Will be back!

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
food4
ambience4
service5

Wonderful!

Dined on June 19, 2015

One of the best service experiences I've had in a long time! Wasn't sure what to expect but food was very good as well. We will be back!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
food2
ambience2
service3

I have dined here before had good experi ...

Dined on May 29, 2015

I have dined here before had good experiences. Tonight service was poor, food was cold. Waitress was not super knowledgable about craft beer menu. I will give them another chance because of past experiences.

Tags: neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service5

Quit surprised

Dined on May 29, 2015

We were pleasantly surprised to find great food here. I travel quit a bit and my wife just got back the day before from 18 days in Italy and Germany. My Jambalaya was killer. My daughters steak was excellent. The stuffed mushrooms were great as the appetizer. Love the sweet potato fries. The salmon special, salmon warm on a cold salad, my wife said was delicious. Everyone enjoyed it and we will be back. Our family is a bunch of foodies. We have visited over 50 countries and have tasted all kinds of foods. We did not expect to find such a treat in Milford. I want to compliment the staff, chef and owners for being bold. When your menu bragged about the Jambalaya I thought about all of my trips to New Orleans, France and Spain and all of the times I have ordered that dish. So, bravely, I ordered it. It was a meat eaters delight, spiced right and the portion size was just right. When we go back I will have it again. The wine list was limited however and the margarita was Ok as well. I wish y'all great success.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food2
ambience4
service3

Food was average but not unique or was i ...

vip
Dined on May 23, 2015

Food was average but not unique or was it a unique experience. Our one son ordered grilled cheese and being on the kids menu you expect regular "grilled cheese" instead by making it a culinary adventure it not appealing to a child. Service was off and on- waiting for 15 minutes for your card to be taken is too long. Probably will not visit again. Food OK but does not stand out. My advice is to head up to Copper Blue up the street. Too $$ for what you get.

food2
ambience1
service1

Below average food, service and atmosphere

Dined on May 8, 2015

Sat on the patio and we didn't see a server for close to 10 minutes. Ordered a couple of drinks and shared a flatbread pizza. Service was extremely slow. Food was nothing special and probably won't go back.

food5
ambience5
service5

Skeptical when we walked in, but it's de ...

Dined on May 3, 2015

Skeptical when we walked in, but it's definitely a gem!! Can't wait to go back...it's was so delicious!

food4
ambience4
service5

Good food, good atmosphere on Saturday evening

Dined on May 2, 2015

MJ's is a good find for an Saturday early evening dinner. It is removed enough that we didn't have to wait for a table at the beginning of the dinner hour. There is a handful of tables on the sidewalk that affords a picaresque view of Old Milford's Main Street. The food is very good at a very reasonable price. The lemon pasta is a tasty choice, as is the hummus sampler. The servers are attentive and affable. We'll be back.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food3
ambience4
service4

great place for casual dinning.

Dined on May 2, 2015

We ate at the bar. Staff and customers friendly. Good food and good beer selection.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
food3
ambience3
service4

Nothing special.

Dined on April 26, 2015

The building itself is unique but the food is mediocre. Nothing special to warrant the exceptional reviews and prices. Sorry.

food3
ambience4
service3

Good was yummy and improved

vip
Dined on April 26, 2015

Good was yummy and improved

food4
ambience4
service2

Service could be bettet

Dined on April 12, 2015

It was a beautiful Sunday. MJ's was busy outside but not too busy inside. As always the food was freshly prepared and tasty. The only downfall was slow inattentive service. We will go back but they really need to work on providing better customer service.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Food was excellent! Our waiter, Aaron was super.

Dined on April 10, 2015

Our only complaint was the music was to loud., other than that we would definitely return and tell our friends about MJ's .

Tags: great for outdoor dining, neighborhood gem

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.