Is this your restaurant?Claim this listing.

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.44mi
  2. Distance: 0.56mi
  3. Distance: 0.74mi
  4. Distance: 1.01mi
  1. Distance: 0.44mi
  2. Distance: 0.56mi
  3. Distance: 0.74mi
  4. Distance: 1.01mi
Get Notified
We'll send you an email if this restaurant joins OpenTable.
Notify Me

Restaurants you may also like

20 Brix20 Brix
(1503)
$$$$
Contemporary American | Milford, Cincinnati
Booked 3 times today
TRIOTRIO
(2380)
$$$$
Contemporary American | Madeira, Cincinnati
Booked 24 times today
Cooper's Hawk Winery & Restaurant - CincinnatiCooper's Hawk Winery & Restaurant - Cincinnati
(2353)
$$$$
Contemporary American | Cincinnati, Cincinnati
Booked 54 times today
The Montgomery Inn - OriginalThe Montgomery Inn - Original
(997)
$$$$
Barbecue | Montgomery, Cincinnati
Booked 9 times today
Stone Creek - MontgomeryStone Creek - Montgomery
(2012)
$$$$
American | Montgomery, Cincinnati
Booked 11 times today
Maggiano's - CincinnatiMaggiano's - Cincinnati
(4489)
$$$$
Italian | Cincinnati, Cincinnati
Booked 21 times today
EmbersEmbers
(2010)
$$$$
Steak | Madeira, Cincinnati
Booked 23 times today
The Quarter BistroThe Quarter Bistro
(1145)
$$$$
Contemporary American | Mariemont, Cincinnati
Booked 5 times today
Dilly Bistro, Bar & Bottle ShopDilly Bistro, Bar & Bottle Shop
(621)
$$$$
Contemporary American | Mariemont, Cincinnati
Booked 3 times today
Ferrari's Little ItalyFerrari's Little Italy
(1114)
$$$$
Italian | Madeira, Cincinnati
Booked 9 times today
CinqueCinque
(387)
$$$$
Italian | Montgomery, Cincinnati
Booked 3 times today
Bite RestaurantBite Restaurant
(160)
$$$$
American | Milford, Cincinnati
Booked 11 times today
National ExemplarNational Exemplar
(594)
$$$$
American | Mariemont, Cincinnati
TGI FRIDAYS - Cincinnati (Kenwood)TGI FRIDAYS - Cincinnati (Kenwood)
(13)
$$$$
American | Cincinnati, Cincinnati
Booked 6 times today
SottoSotto
(2068)
$$$$
Italian | Central Business District, Cincinnati
Booked 80 times today

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.44mi
  2. Distance: 0.56mi
  3. Distance: 0.74mi
  4. Distance: 1.01mi
  1. Distance: 0.44mi
  2. Distance: 0.56mi
  3. Distance: 0.74mi
  4. Distance: 1.01mi

About Permanently Closed - MJ's on Main

This restaurant is permanently closed. Permanently Closed - Here at MJ’s we believe EVERYONE deserves to have a good time, whether it is a evening out with the family, drinks and live music with friends, a cozy dinner for two, or a special event catered just for you, MJ’s is THE place to be.
We offer a mix of American-Fusion cuisine and an extensive craft beer selection featuring local breweries, and limited edition craft beers.
With 10 taps, a generous wine selection, and lots of signature martinis and eclectic cocktail choices, we have something for everyone.
Like we always say, “There is ALWAYS something going on at MJ’s”

18 Main Street
Milford, OH 45150
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Fusion / Eclectic, Bar / Lounge / Bottle Service

Hours of Operation:


Tuesday- Thursday: 4:00pm - 11:00pm
Friday - Saturday 11:00am -12:00 am


Cross Street:
High and Garfield

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(513) 831-9888

Website:
http://www.mjsmilford.com/

Entertainment:
MJ's is proud to host Local Live Music every Friday and Saturday Night from 9:00pm to 1:00am

Catering:
Our team of chefs is prepared to cater to any and all of your event needs big or small, we can do it all. Contact our event director for details.

Parking Details:
Our private parking lot is located on High street at our rear entrance. The back door opens into our dining room, and the stairs take you down to the Main Street entrance in our bar area.

Executive Chef:
Mark Potratz

Private Party Facilities:
MJ's on Main boasts a lovely, closed doors, private dining complete with its own restroom and sound system. We have hosted anything from a 007 Bond Surprise Birthday to having the privilege of hosting a couples small private wedding ceremony.

Private Party Contact:
Keri Jo Rominger: (513) 831-9888

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Entertainment, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

MJ's on Main - Permanently Closed Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

1.0

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

1.2

service

1.2

ambience

1.2

value

1.0

noise

Moderate

50% would recommend it to a friend

Neighborhood Gem (1)
Sort By:
S
129 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on May 27, 2017

When we arrived, all the chairs were on top of the tables. closed! Never had this happen before. Other places on the street said they've been closed sporadically over the past couple weeks.
Went to 20 Brix and had a fantastic dinner.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on May 26, 2017

MJs on Main is permanently closed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2

vip
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on May 23, 2017

Restaurant appears to be out of business. Doors were locked, no lights on, and no one was there.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

vip
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on May 6, 2017

This was the second time in a month I had made a reservationat MJs. The first time there was a sign that they had a gas issue in the kitchen and were closed. On Saturday we arrived and the y were completey closed, as in gone. Please remove them to keep someone else from having this experience!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

vip
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on May 5, 2017

Open Table, please check to see if the restaurant is open before allowing booking.
We are frequent customers of MJs and were most surprised to discover it was closed after booking a take online.

I would be most interested to discover why it was closed and is still closed. There are no notifications or explanation on the door or anywhere else ?

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on April 22, 2017

The service was slow. One friend's meal got "dropped" and took them another 30 minutes to remake, and came out incorrect, so had to be made again. The food was nothing spectacular. They advertise live music at 8. We left around 8:45 and no sign of any music. Overall, we were not impressed!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1
value3

vip
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on April 21, 2017

The food was very good. It took us quite a while to get our appetizer, though. The bathroom - there's only one - was somewhat dirty. The toilet and sink both needed to be cleaned. Overall it was a good experience and we will probably go there again.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, People Watching, Happy Hour, Great Beer, Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Fun, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on April 21, 2017

We loved our food. I had the lump crab cakes and my husband had the Jambalaya. For an appetizer we had the fried pickles. All very good. I did order the blueberry martini before hand. Good but did not knock my socks off. Short but decent wine list. The only reason I am giving this restaurant 2 stars instead of 5 was due to service. Our waitress was so very sweet and friendly. However the way they have this restaurant set up the service was slow. She had to walk up and down the stairs to the kitchen which makes everything take longer. She did not have busser help which meant my water did not get refilled the whole meal. We wanted to order dessert but didn't feel like waiting longer so we decided to head out and get a dessert elsewhere. To give her credit though I understand they were just closed for a week and came back to a new menu. I'm sure she was just doing her best to keep things seamless. I will come back to this restaurant for sure as the food was tasty. We will likely wait a few months though as they work out kinks.

Tags: Quick Bite, Handcrafted Cocktails, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service2
value2

vip
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on April 1, 2017

What a great surprise!! The only problem with the menu was trying to make a choice!! Really good variety so we are already planning to go back to sample other things on the menu. Our server was informative and available but not hovering. The room filled up since we went early but never felt crowded.
We'll be back with friends!!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 24, 2017

MJs never fails to impress. The service is always great there and we've never had to wait long to get a table. The food is extremely good and you can tell it is made creatively and freshly. I highly recommend this amazing restaurant in old Milford.

Tags: People Watching, Creative Cuisine, Healthy, Cozy, Bar Seating, Romantic, Live Music, Authentic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fun, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on March 18, 2017

Service was very slow.... but food was great!! Wish the service was better.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value4

vip
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on March 10, 2017

Consistent and good each time. Many good items to choose from.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on February 23, 2017

Great time there. We will go back for sure

Tags: Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on February 18, 2017

First time at MJ's. Enjoyed the historic nature of the restaurant. Would have appreciate better signage in order to park in back, but then would have missed the beautiful staircase. Menu is varied and artistic presentation of my Fish and Chips was amazing. All dinners were excellent. Our heroic waitress climbed that staircase with food and drinks. Not some place I would work, but I sure would eat their again.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Groups, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Very energetic bar downstairs. The upstairs dining room opens onto the bar so it can be very noisy. Good food. We had veggie burger, bison burger, sweet potato fries. Half price bottles of wine on Wednesdays. The waitress seemed inexperienced even though she was training someone else!

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service2
value3

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on February 14, 2017

The bartender was very attentive and helpful. We just got drinks but they were delicious! Small, but nice.

Tags: Late-night Find, Great Beer, Casual, Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 14, 2017

The eatery was located on Main Street and easy to find. Walking into it kinda through me off because we walked into the bar area. We were directed to upstairs to be seated and to check in. Our waitress was Jodi and she made us feel welcome and comfortable. I had the pork chop dinner my wife had fish and chips. It was certainly a good night on the twin for Valentines 2017.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on February 11, 2017

MJ's is always our "go to" place for out-of-towners. Love the food and atmosphere. Not an expected "find" for Milford Oh!! Expect it in larger metro areas, but not there!! A pleasant surprise my wife and I discovered 6 years ago when we moved to the area from NY. Will continue to go back!

Tags: Late-night Find, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Not what I expected. I was looking for a quiet, romantic place to enjoy a date night. This place was loud, crowded and dark. I didn't like how it was in an old house. It just wasn't what I expected

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service3
value1

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on February 4, 2017

The decor/ambience are industrial grunge, hence the acoustics suffer. Not the place for a quiet meal. Server was friendly and efficient without hovering. The food was just OK. When asked, my wife gave it an overall 3.5,which was exactly the rating I had in mind. I would recommend it more as a "beer and a bite" place than a real dinner venue.

Tags: Bar Seating, Live Sports, Quick Bite
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

vip
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on January 28, 2017

We met old friends here to listen to the live music (Plain and Simple), on Saturday night. They had a good draft and bottle beer selection and the music was great! They had an electric mandolin that has several unique sounds. We had a wonderful time.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on January 28, 2017

After A one hour wait we had to leave for another occasion. No food was served even though we had ordered over 50 minutes prior. We will not return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on January 21, 2017

We enjoyed the unique selections on the menu. The staff was curteous and quick, would be a great place for wine and appetizers.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on January 14, 2017

Was our first time at MJs. We waited 15 minutes for our server who then didn't even bother to apologize or introduce himself nor explain the daily specials. Only half of tables occupied. Experience was awkward. No bread or anything to nibble on while we waited for our entrees and alternative music played overhead which was on the loud side. Entree portions were average sized- not generous or filling. We won't be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service1
value1

vip
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on January 7, 2017

my friends and I enjoyed our casual, tasty meal, on a Saturday evening. Good value, but at 9pm the band started up and we were out of there. TOO loud for us to have a conversation

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value3

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Went the first time for New Year's Eve dinner and was pleasantly surprised. Our party of four shared two appetizers and each was enjoyable. My wife is a fan of fried pickles and was not disappointed by their offering. In addition the artichoke and alouette was a nice reboot of the classic dish. Each person was pleased with their entree, so much that only one person had any left to take home. My Jambalaya was tasty and while I might make it a bit spicier it was a good temperature level for most eaters.

My wife and I did a drink before the other half our party arrived and the bar area would be a nice place to sit for a casual meal with a good draft beer selection. Service was good in both the bar and restaurant. Only one small issue, the chili I ordered was barely warm. When I notified the waitress it was quickly replaced with a hot bowl.

We will definitely go back and I encourage folks to give it a try.

Tags: Special Occasion, Fun, Great Beer, Fit for Foodies, Live Music, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Pretty good, overall. My husband ordered a NA beer from the menu and the server brought another and served it and started to walk away without asking if it was okay (even though she knew it wasn't what he'd ordered). Then, when my spaghetti squash with shrimp arrived, there wasn't any shrimp. The server said she hit the wrong key. Waited several minutes for the shrimp and had to go ahead and eat the squash because it was getting cold. She didn't apologize when she brought it out and ACTUALLY ADDED THE COST OF THE SHRIMP TO OUR BILL! Didn't want to ruin the night, so we didn't say anything, but the server needs some lessons in handling mistakes. Not sure if we'll go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value4

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on November 29, 2016

The menu was not to my liking. U felt the choices were a little offbeat with few traditional type of favorites. Service was very good.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on November 18, 2016

We really like the food there. Our waitressnwas a sweetheart

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on November 18, 2016

I have been to MJ's on Main a few times but this last time was terrible. Not sure what was happening in the kitchen but it took a very long time to get our food and the tables were empty. My friend and I ordered the same thing, salmon BLT, but hers looked better. She had a good size fillet on her plate but my salmon was smaller and broken in 2 pieces. I almost sent it back but didn't want to wait forever to get my entree. The others at the table ordered the burger sliders which were overcooked and dry. Again, they didn't complain because it took so long to get our food. I will not go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value3

vip
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on November 18, 2016

A truly mediocre experience. Service was fine, but the kitchen needs some major work. Fish was overly fried, hard, and cold. Took forever for just the basic meals that were ordered, and while servers were nice enough they were very disorganized causing all of us to have to remind them time and again for a refill, etc. There are better places in the area, especially at this price point. Why pay more for truly middle-of-the-road food???

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on November 4, 2016

Comfortable restaurant with good food and service. I would defiantly go again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on October 14, 2016

Nice place. Decent food. Gets a bit noisy but very friendly.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

vip
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on October 8, 2016

my first visit and we all loved it, great atmosphere, not somewhere for a cosy chat, but good for a group and nice to hear some live music too. Food was great and service with a smile.

Tags: Good for Groups, Fun, Good for Birthdays, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on October 7, 2016

Service was ok, food was very good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on October 1, 2016

Great atmosphere. Food was very great. Our waiter was very helpful and polite. Would definitely recommend a visit to MJ's on Main.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on September 16, 2016

Unusual and delicious food variety. Service was above average but the noise level was almost deafening. If they would improve the acoustics this place would be near perfect.

Tags: Late-night Find, Great for Outdoor Dining, Casual, Happy Hour, Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Denver)·Dined on September 9, 2016

MJs is fun and yummy. They have some unusual menu options such as the edamame avocado dip which are quite good. Paired with a pretty good beer list and a quaint atmosphere, I would definitely recommend.

Tags: Fun, Great Beer, Fit for Foodies, People Watching, Healthy, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on August 27, 2016

Food was good and tasty. Would come back again. Would recommend to others.

Tags: People Watching, Tapas, Good for Anniversaries, Vegan, Business Meals, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on August 19, 2016

The food was good. The happy hour was good. We will be back for Sunday dollar drafts.

Tags: Late-night Find, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.