Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.47mi
  2. Distance: 0.47mi
  3. Distance: 0.54mi
  4. Distance: 0.71mi
  1. Distance: 0.47mi
  2. Distance: 0.47mi
  3. Distance: 0.54mi
  4. Distance: 0.71mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.47mi
  2. Distance: 0.47mi
  3. Distance: 0.54mi
  4. Distance: 0.71mi
  1. Distance: 0.47mi
  2. Distance: 0.47mi
  3. Distance: 0.54mi
  4. Distance: 0.71mi

About Miyama Japanese Steak House and Sushi Bar

In Japan, the word Miyama means 'beautiful mountain'. Here in Colorado, it translates into a memorable dining experience in a striking aura of Japanese tradition and decor. The ambience is stepped in history-everywhere you look, you will see rare Japanese antiques and artifacts, including 200 year-old Samurai armor and priceless Japanese 'Tansu' chests. The traditional element of Miyama's decor and cuisine is further enhanced by servers wearing brilliantly colored Kimonos. Whether, you enjoy world class sushi in the Sushi Bar and Lounge; or, prefer dining on premium steak and seafood while being entertained by the Teppan Chef at one of the sixteen 'habachi'tables, Miyama guarantees a memorable dining experience for the entire family, where children are welcomed with a special kids menu and private dining rooms are available for special occasions. **Please note that you are booking for Teppan seats. Please contact the restaurant directly for Sushi reservations**

9101 Kimmer Drive
Lone Tree, CO 80124
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Japanese, Sushi, Steakhouse

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Sunday - Thursday: 4:00pm - 9:00pm, Friday & Saturday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm
Lunch: Monday - Friday 11:00am -2:00pm,
Saturday: Lunch 12:00 -4:00pm
Sunday : Lunch 12:00 - 4:00pm

Cross Street:
Park Meadows Drive and Yosemite

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(303) 706-1777

Website:
http://www.miyamaofcolorado.com/

Entertainment:
When you dine at our teppanyaki tables our chefs will regale you with a variety of tricks, pyrotechnics, and witty repertoire. All of this while they prepare world class cuisine right before your eyes.

Catering:
Miyama's fresh sushi and appetizer platters are sure to be a hit at your next gathering. We have a number of different pre-set options or customize your own. Please call for details.

Private Party Facilities:
Miyama of Colorado will work with you to provide the perfect private party environment to suit your needs. In fact, Miyama was recently voted the number one restaurant for groups by Open Table customers. We have two private rooms that will seat up to 18 adults comfortably. We also have two larger rooms that can accommodate up to 60 people each. Set menus are also available.

Private Party Contact:
Conni or Chris: (303) 706-1777

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Miyama Japanese Steak House and Sushi Bar Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.2

ambience

4.4

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

86% would recommend it to a friend

Fun (26)
Good for Birthdays (21)
Good for Groups (19)
See All
Special Occasion (18)
Kid-friendly (17)
Good for a Date (14)
Creative Cuisine (10)
Good for Anniversaries (10)
Casual (9)
Great for Lunch (7)
Family Style (7)
Healthy (6)
Worth the Drive (6)
Fit for Foodies (5)
Open Kitchen (4)
People Watching (4)
Authentic (4)
Comfort Food (4)
Sunday Lunch (4)
Business Meals (3)
Happy Hour (3)
Cozy (3)
Disabled Access (3)
Romantic (3)
Quiet Conversation (2)
Great Beer (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Bar Seating (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Notable Wine List (1)
Neighborhood Gem (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Seasonal (1)
Sort By:
S
673 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on June 9, 2017

We had a wonderful Thursday night birthday celebration at Miyama for our son. Vivian the hostess was so kind and wished him a happy birthday when we checked in. Enqu, our waitress was so nice and funny, joking with one of our other boys, and Albert, our chef, was very personable and made the dinner exciting for our birthday boy. Great experience overall, and really enjoyed the half price wine bottle special as well. Hubby loves the sushi too.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on June 3, 2017

Miyama's is always fun for hibachi eats. They are definitely improving on the sushi front as well!

Tags: Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Denver)·Dined on June 2, 2017

Had a great time. Our chef, Albert, was entertaining and funny. Would go back for sure!!

Tags: Special Occasion, Seasonal, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Denver)·Dined on May 26, 2017

While our chef was amazing (and so was his food) or server on two occasions rushed us into making decisions, which we did not appreciate because of how much money we were spending. My fiancé had to use the restroom shortly after being seated, and upon returning, found our waitress, standing there, looming over her while she had to frantically read the drink menu. My fiancé politely asked her for another minute but the waitress remained standing there, making everyone at the table, and especially my fiancé, uncomfortable. The second rushed moment happened at the end of dinner when we were given our check. I was handed the check and given maybe 5 seconds to look it over before I needed to hand it back with my credit card. I assumed everything was correct but excuse me for wanting to double check because I was spending a lot of money. Anyways, I had to just hope it was correct as our waitress once again rushed us and made everyone else at the table uncomfortable, even to the point where the gentleman sitting next to me (who was not in my party) say something.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on May 22, 2017

Selected this restaurant after an OpenTable search for its proximity and cuisine. Had an early reservation at 5:30 and arrived at an almost empty restaurant. The interior is nice but dated and not kept up well. We were a party of 3 and sat on a high table with view of the bar, which is furnished in nice wood. The food came quickly but was disappointing: the gyozas were burnt (all 4 of them), the edamame were drenched in salt rendering them inedible. The Crazy Roll was average. Nothing to write home about.

Tags: Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value2

 
 (Denver)·Dined on May 20, 2017

We had a great time - my kids love this place, and I think the food is great! The service is always good! We will definitely be back.

Tags: Special Occasion, Disabled Access, Good for Birthdays, People Watching, Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on May 20, 2017

We attended Sat May 20, 2017 at 5:30pm. It was early, not crowded, yet enough patrons there you know it's a favorite spot. Some places at 5:30pm and it's "dead" so you might wonder (hmmm).

Miyama has a quiet yet upscale feel in the bar area. You can have sushi, sashimi, and other items there. There is a Happy Hour that is worthwhile. A few years back (3?) I held a party with 14 guest in the bar/lounge area and service was attentive, friendly and prompt.

First time at Miyama's Teppanyaki table. The Hostess had our reservation through open table and sat us next to a family of four with 2 teen children.

Our Chef Albert was very entertaining and a good conversationalist. I believe Albert said he graduated from the Cordon Bleu school of cooking. Albert moved here from California about a year ago. He has in-depth experience in Asian style cooking.

We chatted about Chinese, Japanese, Vietnamese,(pho, and how to make good Pho broth) and of course french cuisine. At a Teppanyaki table, part of the fun is the chef; when you can engage the chef in conversation, and the chef is a showman (cooking skills), it make the Steak house experience more fun and enjoyable.

We ordered 4 main dishes. Teriyaki Chicken, Filet & Scallops, Seafood Lovers ( love calamari steak, which is why I ordered the Seafood Lovers meal), Halibut and Scallops. All the meals were cooked to our request, steaks (medium to well), Halibut moist and flavorful, Calamari steak firm tasty.

The main meals we ordered ranged from $19-$34. Soup, shrimp appetizers and white rice included in those prices. If you wanted fried rice, there is an extra charge. Excluding tax which is about a 9.2% rate, tip and drinks. The meal's average is about $30/pp for us.

A very relaxing and fun night for my wife and our friends, a couple we've known for over 25 years. Yes this is a place I have attend over the past few years and continue to visit up to today and will visit again in the future.

Tags: Bar Seating, Casual, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Denver)·Dined on May 20, 2017

If you are in for flavorful Japanese food, enjoy a chef with personality and enjoy the meal being prepared in front of you this is the place. Great ambience and food.

Tags: Comfort Food, Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Creative Cuisine, Casual, Fun, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value4

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Mother's day

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Denver)·Dined on May 14, 2017

As always, a wonderful time. Thank you for making Mother's Day a wonderful time with my family!

Tags: Great Beer, Authentic, Great for Lunch, Good for a Date, Healthy, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Sunday Lunch, Casual, Fit for Foodies, Fun, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on May 12, 2017

Great server and hibachi chef. Fun atmosphere and food is good. We had a little sushi too, and it was also very tasty and fresh.

Tags: Authentic, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Business Meals, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Denver)·Dined on May 11, 2017

We enjoyed spending our anniversary at Miyama! We even had our entire table to ourselves!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Denver)·Dined on May 1, 2017

great service and good food....portions are a little smaller than other hibachi restaurants. but overall great time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Denver)·Dined on April 30, 2017

We all had a wonderful time! Chef was engaging without being intrusive. Service was also outstanding. We were celebrating a birthday and it was so much fun. None of us had ever been there before, and we can't wait to go back!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Family Style, Fun, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Lunch, Good for a Date, Healthy, Special Occasion, Sunday Lunch, Casual, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on April 30, 2017

This was a date night with my wife and the chef was awesome and amazing. We were at the hibachi table with a live chef. A great night and really great food.

Tags: Healthy, Cozy, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Denver)·Dined on April 29, 2017

Delicious shrimp, teriyaki chicken and brownies! We enjoyed a really fun night out!

Tags: Open Kitchen, Good Vegetarian Options, Creative Cuisine, Fun, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Denver)·Dined on April 28, 2017

Our chef, nickname Miami, was great. Food was good, and his conversation was fabulous.

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on April 24, 2017

Missed reservation time by 45 minutes. Then overcrowded people into a table and was very uncomfortable. Did not get the soup and salad until well into the cooking and the chef told us it was not his problem.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 22, 2017

We had an early dinner, so can't comment on the late crowd! We had children with us, and so did all the other dinners in our section. The staff was excellent with the kids. The cook did a great job entertaining us and interacting with our children. Will be visiting again soon!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Denver)·Dined on April 22, 2017

It was my 7 year old daughters birthday. They acknowledged it when they confirmed my reservation and the host acknowledged it upon check in but the wait staff did not follow through. That was disappointing. Our waiter (that only needed to take our drink and food order) was super inattentive from start to finish. Another disappointment. He fulfilled our drink order, took our food order and then pretty much disappeared from existence. My husband asked for another beer. When it hasn't come in 15 minutes, I asked again. We waited another 10 minutes for it. We were with 4 kids under 10 years old and we sat and waited to close out our tab for over 20 minutes (past the time we were all done with ice cream). I could tell the cook was struggling with getting rice to cook our fried rice because the eggs were on the grill for way too long. The only saving grace was the cook himself was super entertaining and the food was delicious. Gratuity was included or I would have asked only to tip the cook, not the waiter. I hope this isn't how Miyama is going to be from now on. We've had much better experiences in the past.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value3

 
 (Denver)·Dined on April 21, 2017

Had a great time eating at Miyami. Introduced my 12 year old son to Teppan Yaki. It went well.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Denver)·Dined on April 3, 2017

Great atmosphere, really great chef (Eric) and the food was amazing. We had a reservation for a party of 8 and they seated us right on time. It was our first time there and we will definitely be back. Everyone loved it!

Tags: Good for a Date, Healthy, Good for Birthdays, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Denver)·Dined on April 2, 2017

Food is always great but the waiter rushed us and was not very friendly!! We will be finding a new hibachi restaurant. We should have had amazing service for what we paid for

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups, Gluten Free Options, Special Occasion, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value2

 
 (Denver)·Dined on March 26, 2017

A very enjoyable time and our table mates were great to talk to during the night.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Great for Lunch, Fun, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, People Watching, Sunday Lunch, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on March 25, 2017

Such a great time. We all were very entertained and loved our chef.

Tags: Family Style, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on March 19, 2017

Perfect wait staff, perfect cooks.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on March 19, 2017

We sat at the Sushi Bar. Food and service were excellent.

Tags: Comfort Food, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Fun, Good for Anniversaries, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on March 19, 2017

Always a great dinner with fun service! My favorites include fillet, scallops, fried rice and green tea ice cream, YUM!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Healthy, Great Beer, Comfort Food, Family Style, Neighborhood Gem, Paleo Friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on March 13, 2017

Several family members got very ill Monday evening after eating there. Possible food contamination. Won't go back

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service3
value1

 
 (Denver)·Dined on March 11, 2017

As a family we were having a special celebration for our daughter. We wanted hibachi but the other major place in town was booked up. I remembered coming to Miyama last year for a business dinner. I recalled having a good experience and we were able to make a reservation at our desired time. I saw some reviews stating issues with reservations but we had no trouble at all - 5:30 on a Saturday night. We were seated with another family that we got along with and found that we had some things in common.

Our orders were taken promptly and everything was accurate. Our chef was excellent! Great presentation including some tricks we hadn't seen before, humorous and quick on the grill. All of the staff we interacted with was helpful and pleasant.

Yes it is pricey but it's a great special occasion place that will create memories. We will be back the next time we want hibachi and will not even bother with the other joint in town.

Tags: Family Style, Fun, Open Kitchen, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Food is consistent, service not bad (better than in the past), portion sizes have gone down and prices have gone up, yikes. I guess my birthday spot needs to change. $31 bucks now for filet and chicken, ouch. Still good but it was $98 for 3 people (2 adults and 1 kid) the other night and I only ordered one beer $9 Asahi. Reasonable is one thing, but it is out of reach now for us.

Tags: Fun, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value2

 
 (Denver)·Dined on March 8, 2017

Had a 50 minute wait. Why take a 7pm reservation when you cannot accomodate a 7pm reservation. Ridiculous. Will not bother with this again.

Food good, over priced. Table side chef fun, but waiting an hour was ridiculous

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value2

 
 (Denver)·Dined on March 6, 2017

The hostess was terrible! She didn't know what she was doing! The prices are too expensive for the amount of food they give.

We have been there in the past and the prices have gone up but the food portions have lessened.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value1

 
 (Denver)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Sampled this place for Restaurant Week and it was fun and romantic. Would go again

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Denver)·Dined on March 4, 2017

Yum!! Yum!! Yummm!!!

Tags: Fun, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on March 2, 2017

Made (and kept) our reservation for restaurant week. The website had 2 menu options but only one was offered and we had to ask about RW menu. Other than that, food was delicious, ambiance nice.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

 
 (Denver)·Dined on February 26, 2017

Birthday. Fun

Tags: Kid-friendly, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Denver)·Dined on February 25, 2017

Best hibachi grill in Denver by far. Similar to Benihana, but with better food, better service, and better ambience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on February 19, 2017

We had made a reservation and they asked if it was a for celebration so we gave the names of the three people who had their birthdays; yet when we got there they had no idea that it was for a birthday celebration. Why ask? The food was OK and the service was marginal. We had to ask several times to get some things and then we were asked to leave because they were busy. We thought that was rude because it was a birthday celebration for three people, we all left good tips, and quite honestly they weren't that busy when we walked out. We probably would've lingered maybe five more minutes at most. Wait it out!

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Gluten Free Options, Kid-friendly, Fun, Good for Groups, Casual, Good for Birthdays, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Valentine Day ❤️

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.