Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.47mi
  2. Distance: 0.47mi
  3. Distance: 0.54mi
  4. Distance: 0.71mi
  1. Distance: 0.47mi
  2. Distance: 0.47mi
  3. Distance: 0.54mi
  4. Distance: 0.71mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.47mi
  2. Distance: 0.47mi
  3. Distance: 0.54mi
  4. Distance: 0.71mi
  1. Distance: 0.47mi
  2. Distance: 0.47mi
  3. Distance: 0.54mi
  4. Distance: 0.71mi

About Miyama Japanese Steak House and Sushi Bar

In Japan, the word Miyama means 'beautiful mountain'. Here in Colorado, it translates into a memorable dining experience in a striking aura of Japanese tradition and decor. The ambience is stepped in history-everywhere you look, you will see rare Japanese antiques and artifacts, including 200 year-old Samurai armor and priceless Japanese 'Tansu' chests. The traditional element of Miyama's decor and cuisine is further enhanced by servers wearing brilliantly colored Kimonos. Whether, you enjoy world class sushi in the Sushi Bar and Lounge; or, prefer dining on premium steak and seafood while being entertained by the Teppan Chef at one of the sixteen 'habachi'tables, Miyama guarantees a memorable dining experience for the entire family, where children are welcomed with a special kids menu and private dining rooms are available for special occasions. **Please note that you are booking for Teppan seats. Please contact the restaurant directly for Sushi reservations**

9101 Kimmer Drive
Lone Tree, CO 80124
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Japanese, Sushi, Steakhouse

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Sunday - Thursday: 4:00pm - 9:00pm, Friday & Saturday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm
Lunch: Monday - Friday 11:00am -2:00pm,
Saturday: Lunch 12:00 -4:00pm
Sunday : Lunch 12:00 - 4:00pm

Cross Street:
Park Meadows Drive and Yosemite

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(303) 706-1777

Website:
http://www.miyamaofcolorado.com/

Entertainment:
When you dine at our teppanyaki tables our chefs will regale you with a variety of tricks, pyrotechnics, and witty repertoire. All of this while they prepare world class cuisine right before your eyes.

Catering:
Miyama's fresh sushi and appetizer platters are sure to be a hit at your next gathering. We have a number of different pre-set options or customize your own. Please call for details.

Private Party Facilities:
Miyama of Colorado will work with you to provide the perfect private party environment to suit your needs. In fact, Miyama was recently voted the number one restaurant for groups by Open Table customers. We have two private rooms that will seat up to 18 adults comfortably. We also have two larger rooms that can accommodate up to 60 people each. Set menus are also available.

Private Party Contact:
Conni or Chris: (303) 706-1777

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Miyama Japanese Steak House and Sushi Bar Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.1

ambience

4.3

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

90% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (21)
Good for Birthdays (18)
Good for Groups (16)
See All
Fun (15)
Good for a Date (12)
Casual (9)
Creative Cuisine (9)
Worth the Drive (6)
Good for Anniversaries (5)
Authentic (4)
Sunday Lunch (4)
Disabled Access (4)
Great for Lunch (3)
Business Meals (3)
Fit for Foodies (3)
Bar Seating (3)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Open Kitchen (2)
Cozy (2)
People Watching (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Comfort Food (2)
Quiet Conversation (2)
Romantic (2)
Tasting Menu (1)
Family Style (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Seasonal (1)
Notable Wine List (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Spicy (1)
Great Beer (1)
Sort By:
S
687 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on August 8, 2017

Great food and entertainment for the family celebrating a birthday. The kids (and adults) enjoyed the chef preparing the meal and interacting with us. My daughter is gluten free and dairy free and they did a great job accommodating her needs.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on August 5, 2017

Very nice dining experience at the hibachi grill. We will definitely be going back.

Tags: Fun, Worth the Drive, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 28, 2017

Expensive for habichi style Japanese. Then to charge $3.50 up charge for fried rice upgrade from steamed rice makes it even more expensive.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
·Dined on July 27, 2017

Sad to make a reservation to celebrate someone's 🎈 birthday, everyone around got their celebration birthday song, except us.....perhaps short staff

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Denver)·Dined on July 26, 2017

Miyami's never ceases to impress. The food is always amazing, and the staff is very helpful. The place is always busy, but they are one of the best Japanese Steakhouses, especially on the south side of the Denver Metro!

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on July 26, 2017

We love Miyama for every day dining and for special occasions. The food is consistently good and the chef's are always funny and entertaining. I recommend reservations for special occasions or for Thursday, Friday or Saturday nights. Although we had a 7:00 reservation, we weren't seated until 7:15. The only thing I can't get over and and that turns me off this restaurant is the snarky hostess. She tries to cover her snarkiness with fake friendly, but it shows right through. Unfortunate. For a hostess position you need a true people person that makes their customers feel valued and welcome...for without the customers, well, you know.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Denver)·Dined on July 24, 2017

Have been to the restaurant several times. This visit was the least "flashy" by the chef. The chef accidentally threw food on my wife's sweater. Overall the meal was good, but not inexpensive. Will probably return in the future, but only for a special occasion.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

 
·Dined on July 22, 2017

Great food and fun experience. Enjoyed the restaurant.

Tags: Comfort Food, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on July 18, 2017

Great experience with a group of 10 co-workers! Excellent food and show by the Habichi chef!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on July 11, 2017

We always enjoy Miyama for family Birthdays, our children and grandchildren love it!!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Denver)·Dined on June 22, 2017

Dinner and entertainment all in one! How can you beat eggs dropping out of a hat, volcano's at you table and delicious food prepared as you look on. The Sushi is fresh and tasty as well. My grand daughter's pick to celebrate her birthday dinner for the second year in a row. Our party ranged from age 7 to 97 and a good time was had by all!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Disabled Access
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Denver)·Dined on June 22, 2017

On a whim, we booked a table for my family for my birthday, and we were not disappointed. The food was amazing, the service was fantastic, and there was so much food! Highly recommend for both the hibachi experience and the sushi.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Gluten Free Options, Sunday Lunch, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on June 18, 2017

food was great but took 1 hour till our cook came to the table. had 2 kids with us so hard to get them to stay put for 1 hour!!!!!!! Other than that things were great

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service1
value3

 
 (Denver)·Dined on June 8, 2017

We had a wonderful Thursday night birthday celebration at Miyama for our son. Vivian the hostess was so kind and wished him a happy birthday when we checked in. Enqu, our waitress was so nice and funny, joking with one of our other boys, and Albert, our chef, was very personable and made the dinner exciting for our birthday boy. Great experience overall, and really enjoyed the half price wine bottle special as well. Hubby loves the sushi too.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on June 2, 2017

Miyama's is always fun for hibachi eats. They are definitely improving on the sushi front as well!

Tags: Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Denver)·Dined on June 1, 2017

Had a great time. Our chef, Albert, was entertaining and funny. Would go back for sure!!

Tags: Special Occasion, Seasonal, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Denver)·Dined on May 25, 2017

While our chef was amazing (and so was his food) or server on two occasions rushed us into making decisions, which we did not appreciate because of how much money we were spending. My fiancé had to use the restroom shortly after being seated, and upon returning, found our waitress, standing there, looming over her while she had to frantically read the drink menu. My fiancé politely asked her for another minute but the waitress remained standing there, making everyone at the table, and especially my fiancé, uncomfortable. The second rushed moment happened at the end of dinner when we were given our check. I was handed the check and given maybe 5 seconds to look it over before I needed to hand it back with my credit card. I assumed everything was correct but excuse me for wanting to double check because I was spending a lot of money. Anyways, I had to just hope it was correct as our waitress once again rushed us and made everyone else at the table uncomfortable, even to the point where the gentleman sitting next to me (who was not in my party) say something.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on May 22, 2017

Selected this restaurant after an OpenTable search for its proximity and cuisine. Had an early reservation at 5:30 and arrived at an almost empty restaurant. The interior is nice but dated and not kept up well. We were a party of 3 and sat on a high table with view of the bar, which is furnished in nice wood. The food came quickly but was disappointing: the gyozas were burnt (all 4 of them), the edamame were drenched in salt rendering them inedible. The Crazy Roll was average. Nothing to write home about.

Tags: Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value2

 
 (Denver)·Dined on May 20, 2017

We had a great time - my kids love this place, and I think the food is great! The service is always good! We will definitely be back.

Tags: Special Occasion, Disabled Access, Good for Birthdays, People Watching, Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on May 20, 2017

We attended Sat May 20, 2017 at 5:30pm. It was early, not crowded, yet enough patrons there you know it's a favorite spot. Some places at 5:30pm and it's "dead" so you might wonder (hmmm).

Miyama has a quiet yet upscale feel in the bar area. You can have sushi, sashimi, and other items there. There is a Happy Hour that is worthwhile. A few years back (3?) I held a party with 14 guest in the bar/lounge area and service was attentive, friendly and prompt.

First time at Miyama's Teppanyaki table. The Hostess had our reservation through open table and sat us next to a family of four with 2 teen children.

Our Chef Albert was very entertaining and a good conversationalist. I believe Albert said he graduated from the Cordon Bleu school of cooking. Albert moved here from California about a year ago. He has in-depth experience in Asian style cooking.

We chatted about Chinese, Japanese, Vietnamese,(pho, and how to make good Pho broth) and of course french cuisine. At a Teppanyaki table, part of the fun is the chef; when you can engage the chef in conversation, and the chef is a showman (cooking skills), it make the Steak house experience more fun and enjoyable.

We ordered 4 main dishes. Teriyaki Chicken, Filet & Scallops, Seafood Lovers ( love calamari steak, which is why I ordered the Seafood Lovers meal), Halibut and Scallops. All the meals were cooked to our request, steaks (medium to well), Halibut moist and flavorful, Calamari steak firm tasty.

The main meals we ordered ranged from $19-$34. Soup, shrimp appetizers and white rice included in those prices. If you wanted fried rice, there is an extra charge. Excluding tax which is about a 9.2% rate, tip and drinks. The meal's average is about $30/pp for us.

A very relaxing and fun night for my wife and our friends, a couple we've known for over 25 years. Yes this is a place I have attend over the past few years and continue to visit up to today and will visit again in the future.

Tags: Bar Seating, Casual, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Denver)·Dined on May 19, 2017

If you are in for flavorful Japanese food, enjoy a chef with personality and enjoy the meal being prepared in front of you this is the place. Great ambience and food.

Tags: Comfort Food, Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Creative Cuisine, Casual, Fun, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value4

 
 (Denver)·Dined on May 14, 2017

We usually like this place but will be looking for a new hibachi restaurant after the experience we had on mother's day. First issue was not thrilled to see their 'special mother's day menu' was just the normal menu trimmed down to less variety and with the prices increased. Was also unhappy to see my usual order, new York strip and lobster was unavailable. The only way you could get lobster was by ordering filet and lobster, which was nearly 50 dollars, or add a 12 dollar lobster tail to my already gouged price. On normal days, new York and lobster goes for like 34. When i asked if I could do my normal new York and lobster, it got shut down as it wasn't on the menu. Our waitress was obviously overwhelmed and threw out our sushi menu that has my sushi order on it. When we asked about our sushi as everyone else around us got theirs but we hadn't, she told us it was our fault because I didn't tell her we wanted sushi. I guess she was too busy to look at what I wrote down. She told us we could order it, but our food was being made by that point so we told them nevermind. I finished my beer and waited another 15 minutes to order a new one, and before it arrived I had finished my meal. Now with a full beer and an empty plate, we hung out so I could finish my beer. A couple minutes go by and a staff member comes over to us to kick us out of the table and go to the lounge because they were busy. I replied that if the service was better and I would have gotten my beer when I wanted it, we would have been done sooner. Very Unimpressed for a 200 dollar meal, and will definitley not return for a special occasion where we are stuck with a 'special menu' But the food was good, even though I couldn't bring myself to pay the crazy price to get lobster like I wanted, and the cook we had was awesome!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value1

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Mother's day

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Denver)·Dined on May 14, 2017

As always, a wonderful time. Thank you for making Mother's Day a wonderful time with my family!

Tags: Great Beer, Authentic, Great for Lunch, Good for a Date, Healthy, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Sunday Lunch, Casual, Fit for Foodies, Fun, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on May 12, 2017

Great server and hibachi chef. Fun atmosphere and food is good. We had a little sushi too, and it was also very tasty and fresh.

Tags: Authentic, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Business Meals, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Denver)·Dined on May 10, 2017

We enjoyed spending our anniversary at Miyama! We even had our entire table to ourselves!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Denver)·Dined on April 30, 2017

great service and good food....portions are a little smaller than other hibachi restaurants. but overall great time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Denver)·Dined on April 29, 2017

We all had a wonderful time! Chef was engaging without being intrusive. Service was also outstanding. We were celebrating a birthday and it was so much fun. None of us had ever been there before, and we can't wait to go back!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Fun, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Lunch, Good for a Date, Healthy, Special Occasion, Sunday Lunch, Casual, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on April 29, 2017

This was a date night with my wife and the chef was awesome and amazing. We were at the hibachi table with a live chef. A great night and really great food.

Tags: Healthy, Cozy, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Denver)·Dined on April 28, 2017

Delicious shrimp, teriyaki chicken and brownies! We enjoyed a really fun night out!

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Creative Cuisine, Fun, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Denver)·Dined on April 28, 2017

Our chef, nickname Miami, was great. Food was good, and his conversation was fabulous.

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on April 23, 2017

Missed reservation time by 45 minutes. Then overcrowded people into a table and was very uncomfortable. Did not get the soup and salad until well into the cooking and the chef told us it was not his problem.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 22, 2017

We had an early dinner, so can't comment on the late crowd! We had children with us, and so did all the other dinners in our section. The staff was excellent with the kids. The cook did a great job entertaining us and interacting with our children. Will be visiting again soon!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Denver)·Dined on April 21, 2017

It was my 7 year old daughters birthday. They acknowledged it when they confirmed my reservation and the host acknowledged it upon check in but the wait staff did not follow through. That was disappointing. Our waiter (that only needed to take our drink and food order) was super inattentive from start to finish. Another disappointment. He fulfilled our drink order, took our food order and then pretty much disappeared from existence. My husband asked for another beer. When it hasn't come in 15 minutes, I asked again. We waited another 10 minutes for it. We were with 4 kids under 10 years old and we sat and waited to close out our tab for over 20 minutes (past the time we were all done with ice cream). I could tell the cook was struggling with getting rice to cook our fried rice because the eggs were on the grill for way too long. The only saving grace was the cook himself was super entertaining and the food was delicious. Gratuity was included or I would have asked only to tip the cook, not the waiter. I hope this isn't how Miyama is going to be from now on. We've had much better experiences in the past.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value3

 
 (Denver)·Dined on April 20, 2017

Had a great time eating at Miyami. Introduced my 12 year old son to Teppan Yaki. It went well.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Denver)·Dined on April 2, 2017

Great atmosphere, really great chef (Eric) and the food was amazing. We had a reservation for a party of 8 and they seated us right on time. It was our first time there and we will definitely be back. Everyone loved it!

Tags: Good for a Date, Healthy, Good for Birthdays, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Denver)·Dined on April 1, 2017

Food is always great but the waiter rushed us and was not very friendly!! We will be finding a new hibachi restaurant. We should have had amazing service for what we paid for

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups, Gluten Free Options, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value2

 
 (Denver)·Dined on March 25, 2017

A very enjoyable time and our table mates were great to talk to during the night.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Great for Lunch, Fun, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, People Watching, Sunday Lunch, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on March 25, 2017

Such a great time. We all were very entertained and loved our chef.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on March 19, 2017

Perfect wait staff, perfect cooks.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.