About Miyama Japanese Steak House and Sushi Bar

9101 Kimmer Drive
Lone Tree, CO 80124
View Larger Map

In Japan, the word Miyama means 'beautiful mountain'. Here in Colorado, it translates into a memorable dining experience in a striking aura of Japanese tradition and decor. The ambience is stepped in history-everywhere you look, you will see rare Japanese antiques and artifacts, including 200 year-old Samurai armor and priceless Japanese 'Tansu' chests. The traditional element of Miyama's decor and cuisine is further enhanced by servers wearing brilliantly colored Kimonos. Whether, you enjoy world class sushi in the Sushi Bar and Lounge; or, prefer dining on premium steak and seafood while being entertained by the Teppan Chef at one of the sixteen 'habachi'tables, Miyama guarantees a memorable dining experience for the entire family, where children are welcomed with a special kids menu and private dining rooms are available for special occasions. **Please note that you are booking for Teppan seats. Please contact the restaurant directly for Sushi reservations**

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Japanese, Sushi, Steakhouse

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Sunday - Thursday: 4:00pm - 9:00pm, Friday & Saturday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm
Lunch: Monday - Friday 11:00am -2:00pm,
Saturday: Lunch 12:00 -4:00pm
Sunday : Lunch 12:00 - 4:00pm

Cross Street:
Park Meadows Drive and Yosemite

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(303) 706-1777

Website:
http://www.miyamaofcolorado.com/

Entertainment:
When you dine at our teppanyaki tables our chefs will regale you with a variety of tricks, pyrotechnics, and witty repertoire. All of this while they prepare world class cuisine right before your eyes.

Catering:
Miyama's fresh sushi and appetizer platters are sure to be a hit at your next gathering. We have a number of different pre-set options or customize your own. Please call for details.

Private Party Facilities:
Miyama of Colorado will work with you to provide the perfect private party environment to suit your needs. In fact, Miyama was recently voted the number one restaurant for groups by Open Table customers. We have two private rooms that will seat up to 18 adults comfortably. We also have two larger rooms that can accommodate up to 60 people each. Set menus are also available.

Private Party Contact:
Conni or Chris: (303) 706-1777

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Miyama Japanese Steak House and Sushi Bar Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

3.9

ambience

4.1

value

3.7

noise

Moderate

85% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (21)
Fun (19)
Good for Birthdays (16)
See All
Good for Groups (14)
Kid-friendly (12)
Family Style (9)
Good for a Date (8)
Good for Anniversaries (8)
Casual (7)
Creative Cuisine (5)
People Watching (5)
Authentic (4)
Neighborhood Gem (4)
Happy Hour (3)
Worth the Drive (3)
Open Kitchen (3)
Gluten Free Options (3)
Cozy (2)
Great for Lunch (2)
Romantic (2)
Outstanding Value (2)
Business Meals (1)
Seasonal (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Healthy (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Historic (1)
Fit for Foodies (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Bar Seating (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Notable Wine List (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
635 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Atlantic City)·Dined 6 days ago

We had made a reservation and they asked if it was a for celebration so we gave the names of the three people who had their birthdays; yet when we got there they had no idea that it was for a birthday celebration. Why ask? The food was OK and the service was marginal. We had to ask several times to get some things and then we were asked to leave because they were busy. We thought that was rude because it was a birthday celebration for three people, we all left good tips, and quite honestly they weren't that busy when we walked out. We probably would've lingered maybe five more minutes at most. Wait it out!

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Gluten Free Options, Kid-friendly, Fun, Good for Groups, Casual, Good for Birthdays, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Valentine Day ❤️

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Denver)·Dined on February 15, 2017

We've gone to Miyama the past 3 years for Valentine's day and always have a great time. The only complaint I have is that this time the chef knew 1 of the couples sitting at the table and really just chatted with them the entire time and did not engage much with the other people at the table. That made it a lot less enjoyable... otherwise food was good as always

Tags: People Watching, Good for Groups, Fun, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Denver)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Went here for my daughters 13th Birthday. They took good care of our large group and we would go back again!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Waited an hour for a confirmed reservation . Then waited 30 more minutes to order food. Out of several items. Bad service. Not great

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value3

 
 (Denver)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Our chef was great. He was friendly, fun with kids and made amazing food! The service was great as well. My son has requested this restaurant for his birthday several years in a row now so you must be doing something right!

Tags: Family Style, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Denver)·Dined on February 11, 2017

We love heading to Miyama for the occasional night out. The service is always excellent and the chefs put on a fun show with the fire, noise, and jokes. The little ones always seem to have a great time. A little pricy, but not so bad to keep us away.

Tags: Casual, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 1, 2017

Our 3 year old grandson absoluely adores this fun dining experience.

Tags: Good for Groups, Family Style, Kid-friendly, Fun, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on February 1, 2017

My son's request every year for his birthday! Never disappointed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on January 22, 2017

Best Hibachi in South Metro Denver! Food is always fresh and delicious! The Chef's are very friendly and entertaining, for the whole family!

Tags: Casual, Special Occasion, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on January 21, 2017

Unfortunately this was a disappointment. I love hibachi and was excited to find this new place. The restaurant is really beautiful but the food was not up to par with other places. The fried rice was undercooked, lacked flavor and had too many onions. The calamari was like eating rubber. There were no hibachi noodles or yumi-yumi sauce - like every other Japanese steakhouse has. Fortunately the sushi was good but I still won't be going back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value2

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 15, 2017

First time at this neighborhood location. Have gone to several authentic Japanese Steak Houses in the past and this experience was right up there with the best. Service was quick and friendly. Food was very good. Prices were not inexpensive but reasonable. We'll probably do it again with friends.

Tags: Authentic, Family Style, Special Occasion, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Denver)·Dined on January 9, 2017

Great Dinner - Made reservations - no problems

Parking is easy, and the restaurant is designed so that it doesn't get too crowded.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on January 7, 2017

The kitchen was very busy, and the chefs seemed a bit rushed because of it. My wife and I had to wait quite a long time before we received our entrées. However the staff was nice enough to offer complementary sushi for the inconvenience. The chef tried to cook everything quickly because we were so behind schedule, but this led to the rice being under cooked. However, he more than made up for it with the incredible entrées. The meat was cooked perfectly, and our meal included ice cream at the end. We had good company at our table, and the night turned out great. Overall Miyama was a great place for a fun date with tasty food.

Tags: Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value4

 
 (Denver)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Waited 2 hours to be seated and another 30 min to get our food cooked. Maybe we will try on a better night because this one was horrible.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Denver)·Dined on January 1, 2017

I made a 7:45 pm reservation and waited 2 hours and was never seated. While waiting at the bar we witnessed the owner bumping certain groups ahead of ours, pretty obvious when you've been waiting for over an hour and a new group walks in and immediately gets whisked away to a table. The two bartenders were very good and even tried to interupt the owner who was bumping yet another group ahead of us. One bartender said, "hey, these people have been waiting two hours! Get them to a table..." The owner replied that he could seat us in the main dining area, not around one of the grills, but that it would be a 15 to 20 minute wait. Mind you, he just decided to seat a party of 8 that was sitting right next to us at the bar and had arrived about an hour after our party of 4. The owner also offered to give us a gift certificate. I declined his offer, after waiting 2 hours we decided to leave and eat elsewhere. Although we've dined here several times before and always enjoyed the food, we will not return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Great food, entertainment. We were there on New Years Eve so they were very busy. Our server was gone with other tables too much for us and family at our table. Was late with items. Miami, our chef, was excellent and fun.

Tags: Healthy, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Paleo Friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Denver)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Amazing food and service! Very high quality sushi. We love Miyama for birthdays, special occasions and great happy hour sushi.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Denver)·Dined on January 1, 2017

NYE..... it was fun and our chef was awesome! Get the steak rare... it's like butter

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value3

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on January 1, 2017

We came in on New Years Eve. Had an early reservation (5:15) but were seated 30 min. late and didn't place order for another 30 min. Chef was clearly rushed (meat not cooked as well as requested). Food was good as usual. Kobe beef was a nice surprise although taste was not as good as kobe we have had elsewhere. Had to stop waitress (clearly understaffed) multiple times for things that on other visits they were always on top of.

Tags: Good for a Date, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Austin)·Dined on December 30, 2016

Had to wait 30 minutes for our table. Food servings were small for a $40 plate we got a shrimp 1/2.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service1
value2

 
 (Denver)·Dined on December 29, 2016

Great place to take your family and have fun and have a great tasty meal!

Tags: Fun, Worth the Drive, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on December 26, 2016

we had reservations but still waited 15 -20 minutes to get our table

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on December 25, 2016

open for christmas day. great place to take extended family. entertaining. good food.

Tags: People Watching, Gluten Free Options, Fun, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Denver)·Dined on December 25, 2016

Our reservation was for 12 noon on Christmas Day. Restaurant opened about 5 minutes before noon, so we were able to warm up inside. The hosts immediately sat us at our table, and we settled in comfortably. Our server (I forgot his name...my apologies!) was excellent. He took very good care of us. He was very attentive and made sure we had everything we asked for all throughout our meal. The teppanyaki chef was funny and entertaining. He cooked our veggies and seafood very well, but did not do well with our steaks. He specifically asked how we wanted our steaks cooked, and I said rare and my husband was medium rare. Well...mine was medium rare and my husband's came out almost well done. When I mentioned to the chef that my steak was more than rare, he said he did not want to serve it cold. Rare steaks are normally on the cool side! :-) The saving grace of the steaks, they were tender even if they were overcooked.

There were 4 of us, and we paid approximately $40 each. Servings were kinda small for the price. Thank goodness they all tasted delicious!

Tags: Fun, Good for Birthdays, Great for Lunch, Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Denver)·Dined on December 25, 2016

We had reservations for 6 on 12/24 at 8:15. We showed up at 8:05 and were told by the manager (blonde older lady) they just need to clean the table. That was the first lie. We saw that there were several people waiting and began talking to individuals who had a 7:45 reservation and had been waiting over a hour. Well at 8:40 we asked what was going on and we were told guaranteed a maximum of 10 minutes and we would be seated, again another lie by the manager. Well 10 minutes came and went and we were not seated. At 9:00 a table of 10 was seated. The individual with the 7:45 and my husband asked what was going on because we had both been told we were the next ones. The girl at the hostess stand said, "My manager made me do it" and the manager proceeded to tell us that because they were a table of 10 they get priority (not sure why the 4 with a reservation at 7:45 and our 6 people weren't seated). I understand when a place is busy but for the manager to continuously lie to us is the problem. Have no desire to step foot in the place when that is the type of person they hire as a manager.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Denver)·Dined on December 25, 2016

food is always good, but unfortunately on a Holiday they had overbooked themselves and customers paid the price. Our reservation was for 7:45pm and we were seated @ 8:45pm, at that point we could have just walked in, reservations meant nothing.

Tags: Family Style, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service1
value3

 
 (Denver)·Dined on December 25, 2016

The hostess was clearly stressed and made it a point to tell everyone how busy the restaurant was when they came in for a table. Despite having a reservation, we were not sat until 20 minutes after our reservation, and had to wait another 20 minutes for the waitress to come over. The food was not anything worth what we paid, it was too salty and the meat was chewy. I felt so bad for the table next to us as they came in after, and seemed to wait even longer for service. I understand that part of the price is the novelty of the experience, but next time my money is better spent at Benihana.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value2

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on December 24, 2016

Excellent food & service coupled with a fun and vibrant atmosphere! My wife, son and I enjoyed Christmas Eve dinner, and everything was amazing! We will definitely return!

Tags: Cozy, Business Meals, Kid-friendly, Good for Birthdays, Fun, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Denver)·Dined on December 24, 2016

Wonderful! Came for my birthday with my best friend. Enjoyed our meal!!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Happy Hour, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on December 15, 2016

Great food

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Denver)·Dined on December 11, 2016

I have eaten here several times and usually enjoy it but not this time. Service was very poor. I never received the drink I ordered. My appetizer didn't arrive until after my food was being served and it was cold. The waitress acted like I was lying when my bill came and I told them I never received my drink. Then they gave my credit card to the wrong table. Food was just ok and $80 for 2 people with out any drinks just water was pricey.

Tags: Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1
value1

 
 (Denver)·Dined on December 11, 2016

We have eaten at Miyama a few times and it is always good, but this visit was even better. The cook was very engaging and funny. Great time had by all.

Tags: Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Kid-friendly, Special Occasion, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on December 10, 2016

Everything was ok, but just ok. The steak was quite tough though.

The bar needs to update it's spirits selection. To have no authentic whiskies is such a glaring oversight I cannot imagine who'd choose to do it. The space is really beautiful. Especially the bar area.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on December 10, 2016

Everyone was very friendly and the food was great!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on December 6, 2016

Very tasty sushi and grilled food. The chef was entertaining too.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Denver)·Dined on November 26, 2016

The food and service was very good. Fun for the family!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on November 24, 2016

Seemed understaffed - sat in bar area. One server for 12+ tables. Food from kitchen was not hot and tasted bland. Sushi good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Denver)·Dined on November 20, 2016

The chef was very talented in his cooking and entertainment skills.

Tags: Romantic, Historic, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on November 20, 2016

We celebrated a birthday with family and had such a wonderful time! Our chef was Miami and he was GREAT! The food was excellent and staff was fun. Would recommend to everyone for a fun evening with family.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on November 19, 2016

Horrible food. The only tasty thing out of the whole meal was the soup and the captain and 7-up. Not to mention, got horribly sick afterwards. If you want good hibachi..make the trip to Benihana. Miyama is not worth the over priced bill I payed

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1
value1

 
 (Denver)·Dined on October 29, 2016

Fun for a large group dinner! Tasty, and awesome!

Tags: Gluten Free Options, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on October 28, 2016

The food was great , the server was good, and the chef was awesome. Also, I had never had halibut at one of these places where they cook in front of you and it was really tasty. We will certainly return!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service4

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on October 21, 2016

The food was great as usual, our hibachi/chef (Jose) was funny & friendly. The steak and chicken was perfect

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Fun, Tasting Menu, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Denver)·Dined on October 21, 2016

Well I probably would have graded a bit higher, except my meal was very tough tasting and

it was teriyaki chicken. Also the vegetables it came with was mostly onions. Not a very good

mix of vegetables.

Tags: Special Occasion, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value2

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on October 18, 2016

We love coming to this restaurant for sushi, food always tastes great, service is fast and friendly.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on October 18, 2016

Awesome service and food! A new favorite for our family!

Tags: Special Occasion, Casual, Kid-friendly, Business Meals, Fun, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on October 16, 2016

Overpriced - had reservations and was not seated until 30 min after reservation time. Food was average and not up to par with any other Japanese Steakhouse I've been to. They call their shrimp 'prawns' but they are not - they're medium shrimp and (strangely) they cut them in pieces and you wind up getting maybe 3 shrimp at best ( I had ordered NY Strip Steak and Shrimp). Service was bad an inattentive - even the chef at the table complained about the servers. Will never go back.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value2

 
 (Denver)·Dined on October 16, 2016

We went there with small children. Not much of a kids menu and the service was really slow. Expensive and not worth it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1

 
 (Denver)·Dined on October 16, 2016

Little slow to get orders and multiple things got forgotten. Had to ask for water refills. Not as good as our past visits.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.