About Miyama Japanese Steak House and Sushi Bar

9101 Kimmer Drive
Lone Tree, CO 80124
View Larger Map

In Japan, the word Miyama means 'beautiful mountain'. Here in Colorado, it translates into a memorable dining experience in a striking aura of Japanese tradition and decor. The ambience is stepped in history-everywhere you look, you will see rare Japanese antiques and artifacts, including 200 year-old Samurai armor and priceless Japanese 'Tansu' chests. The traditional element of Miyama's decor and cuisine is further enhanced by servers wearing brilliantly colored Kimonos. Whether, you enjoy world class sushi in the Sushi Bar and Lounge; or, prefer dining on premium steak and seafood while being entertained by the Teppan Chef at one of the sixteen 'habachi'tables, Miyama guarantees a memorable dining experience for the entire family, where children are welcomed with a special kids menu and private dining rooms are available for special occasions. **Please note that you are booking for Teppan seats. Please contact the restaurant directly for Sushi reservations**

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Japanese, Sushi, Steakhouse

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Sunday - Thursday: 4:00pm - 9:00pm, Friday & Saturday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm
Lunch: Monday - Friday 11:00am -2:00pm,
Saturday: Lunch 12:00 -4:00pm
Sunday : Lunch 12:00 - 4:00pm

Cross Street:
Park Meadows Drive and Yosemite

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(303) 706-1777

Website:
http://www.miyamaofcolorado.com/

Entertainment:
When you dine at our teppanyaki tables our chefs will regale you with a variety of tricks, pyrotechnics, and witty repertoire. All of this while they prepare world class cuisine right before your eyes.

Catering:
Miyama's fresh sushi and appetizer platters are sure to be a hit at your next gathering. We have a number of different pre-set options or customize your own. Please call for details.

Private Party Facilities:
Miyama of Colorado will work with you to provide the perfect private party environment to suit your needs. In fact, Miyama was recently voted the number one restaurant for groups by Open Table customers. We have two private rooms that will seat up to 18 adults comfortably. We also have two larger rooms that can accommodate up to 60 people each. Set menus are also available.

Private Party Contact:
Conni or Chris: 3037061777x

Additional:
Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

  • Miyama Japanese Steak House and Sushi Bar
Miyama Japanese Steak House and Sushi Bar

Miyama Japanese Steak House and Sushi Bar Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.1

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4.0

ambience

4.2

value

3.5

noise

Moderate

77% would recommend it to a friend

Good for Groups (25)
Special Occasion (22)
Kid-friendly (13)
See All
Fit for Foodies (11)
Neighborhood Gem (9)
Great for Lunch (7)
Hot Spot (3)
Great for Brunch (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Sort By:
Newest
537 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Service and food was horrible. Usually g ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined 5 days ago

Service and food was horrible. Usually go to Benihanas, but reservations were full.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service2
value1

Had a great dinner with the family to ce ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined 5 days ago

Had a great dinner with the family to celebrate our daughter's birthday. The staff & chef made her special day wonderful. Food was very good. I highly recommend Miyama for a fun family night dinner.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

We had new server a Saturday night. Took ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

We had new server a Saturday night. Took half hour get drinks. Soup salad came out after main course started, and ice cream (with forks) while we were eating our main course. The manager took $10 our bill when you're spending $40+ a person, it just didn't make for service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value2

Clueless disorganized disinterested typi ...

vip
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

Clueless disorganized disinterested typical mall restaurant ensured a steady stream of clientele

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service3
value1

Always fun!

vip
 (Denver)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

Always fun!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We made these reservations for a birthda ...

vip
 (Denver)
·Dined on August 2, 2016

We made these reservations for a birthday celebration with my family of four. There was another family of five at the table who was seated comfortably, two on the short side of the hibachi, four on the long side, and then they slotted my four-person group into the other short side and told us there wasn't anywhere else to put us. So we were cramped. Other group had very particular tastes and dietary exclusions which affected our meals, and as such we got less food and less variety. Service was extremely slow. I had to flag waiter numerous times. I had to wait 20 minutes to complete the process of paying my check. It sucked and I don't want to go back.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value3

Great place for sushi and sashimi. We al ...

vip
 (Denver)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

Great place for sushi and sashimi. We always come here to get a fresh seafood.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

For this experience, the fried rice was ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

For this experience, the fried rice was not good. The steak and prawns also lacked favor. The cook put on a show; however, it was obvious that he had done it many times that night and was worn out. I'm not likely to go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

There were some strange things going on ...

vip
 (Denver)
·Dined on July 25, 2016

There were some strange things going on with the servers. One was in training, but that did not explain all. Menus were removed several minutes before the servers were willing to take food orders. Servers were rigid in their approach. Water glass was removed before the bill was received. No issues with service from the table chef, that was fine.

Mustard and ginger sauces are very similar in color, more so than I have seen at other hibachi restaurants. Mustard sauce had more of a Chinese mustard flavor than is typical in my experience at these types of restaurants. Both were OK.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

Food was great the service was slow and ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

Food was great the service was slow and it was very loud but we love Hibachi

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Always fun for family at the Hibachi tab ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Always fun for family at the Hibachi tables. Opportunity to meet new people if your group is less than 8-9 ppl.

Tags: Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Food was over cooked and the chairs felt ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

Food was over cooked and the chairs felt sticky as if they haven't been cleaned in a while. Not worth the expense. Better spots around town for the money.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value2

This is our favorite sushi place. We com ...

vip
 (Denver)
·Dined on June 29, 2016

This is our favorite sushi place. We come hear almost weekly. Sushi and sashimi are always fresh, service is very prompt, everybody is very friendly.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My sister in law and I had the hibachi g ...

vip
 (Denver)
·Dined on June 22, 2016

My sister in law and I had the hibachi grill luncheon. Excellent service and wonderful freshly cooked food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

We were seated with 2 other parties whic ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

We were seated with 2 other parties which is fine & very usual for a hibachi dinner. However when the bill came it was all together. It took 30 min to fix, they added gratuity & we were still over charged. The waitress had to be reminded numerous times to bring us drinks & salad. There was an up charge on everything. I don't think we will be back which is a huge shame since it use to be a family favorite! We have celebrated many milestones at this restaurant & I was very disappointed!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value2

The staff did a great job of taking care ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

The staff did a great job of taking care of us even though the number of people changed unexpectedly and several of them were late. Very rude on our part. Was very impressed with their patience.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our favorite place for a celebratory mea ...

vip
 (Denver)
·Dined on June 14, 2016

Our favorite place for a celebratory meal!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Best sashimi and sushi we have tried so far

vip
 (Denver)
·Dined on June 7, 2016

We come to this restaurant regularly, love fresh sashimi and sushi rolls.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

One of the best meals I've ever had

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on May 29, 2016

We ordered sushi, sashimi, and tepanyaki. Everything but the beef sushi roll was dynomite! The sashimi was in generous portions, sushi was testy, the meat from the grill was off the hook, heck even the rice was amazing and Eric our chef was hilarious.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Wait staff was very attentive and quick ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on May 28, 2016

Wait staff was very attentive and quick to take care of everything. Cooks were extremely entertaining.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Graduation dinner

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on May 28, 2016

We always have fun here. We were there for our daughter's 8th grade graduation. There were 10 of us and we all had a good view of the grill entertainment. It is $$$, but fun and entertaining. 5 of the kids ordered the same dish! The food portions are generous, so I would suggest maybe the kids/teen girls split a dish rather than each ordering an adult meal. They all had leftover food on their plates.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great sushi place - we love coming here, ...

vip
 (Denver)
·Dined on May 27, 2016

Great sushi place - we love coming here, especially when Erni is around. We feel like she gives the best service, the fastest, lots of attention. Food is always good!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Classy Japanese Steakhouse in Lone Tree. ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on May 25, 2016

Classy Japanese Steakhouse in Lone Tree. Hibachi style cooking. Our kids had a blast. Great family place, or a fun date night - you can't lose.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Great place, great food, great service. ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on May 22, 2016

Great place, great food, great service. Fun servers.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food and entertainment

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on May 20, 2016

There were four adults in our group for an early dinner before a show. The food was excellent across the board with Miso soup, salad (with the perfect amount of dressing that wasn’t too ginger heavy) and shrimp appetizer. We ordered a variety of meats from scallops, lobster, filet and shrimp. All were cooked perfectly. We ended with a choice of three ice creams. The entertaining chef did a good job of making our food while keeping the three kids in another party happy. We ended up finishing a bit early so we stayed and had a drink in the bar. Good selection of wines and a special sangria that was delicious. Will definitely be back soon.

Tags: Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Lunch at Miyama

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on May 11, 2016

A group of us enjoyed a quiet lunch. The ambiance was great. The price wasn't cheap but the service was good and efficient. The food was tasty but the portions, especially for some, were quite small even for lunch.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value2

Not great

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

Mother's Day dinner...Really high price for fair to average food and small portions. Disappointed to walk away spending over $300 and feeling unsatisfied.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value1

Exciting Night Out

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on April 30, 2016

The bar staff was very friendly and attentive. Once seated at the table to the chef was outstanding and very talented. Our waitress was excellent alway there before you realized you had a needed.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Our chef was great but the wait service ...

vip
 (Denver)
·Dined on April 30, 2016

Our chef was great but the wait service was poor and very slow.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value2

Birthday celebration

vip
 (Denver)
·Dined on April 21, 2016

This is the second time to visit within a month as we have birthdays throughout March and April. The food and entertainment were outstanding. I had the seafood lovers and everything was cooked to perfection. Wonderful evening!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Kid-friendly, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Our favorite sushi place

vip
 (Denver)
·Dined on April 20, 2016

We love coming to this restaurant for sushi/sashimi. Food is always fresh, service is good and fast, people are friendly.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fun Japanese Steak House

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on April 17, 2016

We've recently moved to Colorado, and were happy to find Miyama, and that they had a reservation for us at short notice. We went to celebrate my daughter's ballet performance. There were 7 of us, and we were all happy with the food and service. The chef did a great little show at the table for us, including the onion "volcano," which my 8 year old loved. We will definitely go again, though as it's a little pricey for us, it will be a special occasion location.

Tags: Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Good food, good fun

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on April 10, 2016

We had 4 adults and 4 kids and we all had a great time. The staff was very friendly. Food and drinks were great. I'll be back.

Tags: Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Great fresh sushi/sashimi

vip
 (Denver)
·Dined on April 9, 2016

We go to this restaurant regularly, and are always happy with everything.....but the last two times we went (was on Saturday for lunch), it took about 15 minutes to get checked in and a glass of water. Something is different on Saturdays I guess. The sushi were great as usual, and we will go back there with pleasure...maybe not on Saturdays.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

great place

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on March 31, 2016

The only thing is if you want to be seated at hibachi grill expect to seat next to some other family or families, it's to be expected from hibachi grill, but still sometimes for a special occasion people would like more privacy. Portions are not big, so don't bring too big of an appetite, but the food quality is very good

Tags: Kid-friendly, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Great sushi place

vip
 (Denver)
·Dined on March 26, 2016

We come to this restaurant regularly, and usually just sit in the lounge / bar area to get sushi. Fish is always fresh and tasty. Service usually is very prompt.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Service was slow, but understandable aft ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on March 24, 2016

Service was slow, but understandable after a huge snowstorm. They were understaffed due to the storm. Not typical.

Overall, good experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3

Wonderful as always

vip
 (Denver)
·Dined on March 21, 2016

We celebrated my husband' birthday and had a delightful time. I had the seafood special and was pleasantly surprised with the flavor. Loved the experience and will be back!

Tags: Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

A fun evening at Miyama

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on March 20, 2016

The "dinner show" is always good at Miyama as is the food.

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very good, sushi good, dessert + Appitizer shrimp!

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on March 15, 2016

Very tasty, priced similarly to other restaurants that are similar experience. Included free appetizer shrimps, and a dessert Ice Cream. My one critic is that we were charged for the food at menu price and then charged an additional 3 dollars per person for rice. Other restaurants don't do this pricing scheme.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Kid-friendly, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.