About Miyama Japanese Steak House and Sushi Bar

9101 Kimmer Drive
Lone Tree, CO 80124
View Larger Map

In Japan, the word Miyama means 'beautiful mountain'. Here in Colorado, it translates into a memorable dining experience in a striking aura of Japanese tradition and decor. The ambience is stepped in history-everywhere you look, you will see rare Japanese antiques and artifacts, including 200 year-old Samurai armor and priceless Japanese 'Tansu' chests. The traditional element of Miyama's decor and cuisine is further enhanced by servers wearing brilliantly colored Kimonos. Whether, you enjoy world class sushi in the Sushi Bar and Lounge; or, prefer dining on premium steak and seafood while being entertained by the Teppan Chef at one of the sixteen 'habachi'tables, Miyama guarantees a memorable dining experience for the entire family, where children are welcomed with a special kids menu and private dining rooms are available for special occasions. **Please note that you are booking for Teppan seats. Please contact the restaurant directly for Sushi reservations**

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Japanese, Sushi, Steakhouse

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Sunday - Thursday: 4:00pm - 9:00pm, Friday & Saturday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm
Lunch: Monday - Friday 11:00am -2:00pm,
Saturday: Lunch 12:00 -4:00pm
Sunday : Lunch 12:00 - 4:00pm

Cross Street:
Park Meadows Drive and Yosemite

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(303) 706-1777

Website:
http://www.miyamaofcolorado.com/

Entertainment:
When you dine at our teppanyaki tables our chefs will regale you with a variety of tricks, pyrotechnics, and witty repertoire. All of this while they prepare world class cuisine right before your eyes.

Catering:
Miyama's fresh sushi and appetizer platters are sure to be a hit at your next gathering. We have a number of different pre-set options or customize your own. Please call for details.

Private Party Facilities:
Miyama of Colorado will work with you to provide the perfect private party environment to suit your needs. In fact, Miyama was recently voted the number one restaurant for groups by Open Table customers. We have two private rooms that will seat up to 18 adults comfortably. We also have two larger rooms that can accommodate up to 60 people each. Set menus are also available.

Private Party Contact:
Conni or Chris: 3037061777x

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

  • Miyama Japanese Steak House and Sushi Bar
Miyama Japanese Steak House and Sushi Bar

Miyama Japanese Steak House and Sushi Bar Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4.0

ambience

4.2

value

3.6

noise

Moderate

81% would recommend it to a friend

Good for Groups (21)
Special Occasion (16)
Kid-friendly (12)
See All
Neighborhood Gem (8)
Fit for Foodies (6)
Good for Birthdays (5)
Great for Lunch (4)
Fun (4)
Creative Cuisine (3)
Good for Anniversaries (3)
Good for a Date (3)
Tasting Menu (2)
Hot Spot (2)
People Watching (2)
Quiet Conversation (1)
Family Style (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Private Room (1)
Bar Seating (1)
Casual (1)
Worth the Drive (1)
Live Music (1)
Sort By:
Newest
547 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Best hibachi restaurant in Colorado! Fo ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on September 16, 2016

Best hibachi restaurant in Colorado! Food was great and service was fantastic! Well worth the hour drive to get there!

Tags: Special Occasion, People Watching, Good for Groups, Bar Seating, Fun, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The waitress, who was Asian but not Japa ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on September 12, 2016

The waitress, who was Asian but not Japanese, was a little strange. She pulled the menu right out of hand while I was still ordering. She tried to pull a plate from me while I was still eating off of it. She had odd/unfriendly facial expressions. There was a lack of manners or decorum. I've often seen this from from non-Japanese Asian staff at Japanese restaurants. This is not how it is supposed to be. The teppan filet and shrimp were outstanding. The fried rice was good but not as good as Benihana's. The Fire roll was very good. The chef was very good. The Veggie/Tofu teppan was not good. The tofu appeared to be lightly deep fried before the teppan. I hate when places deep fry tofu. What is the point of that? Then the chef poured on a really sugary sweet teriyaki sauce onto that and the teppan chicken. This was a store bought tasting teriyaki sauce which just ruined it for me. It was surprisingly bad. I did not want sugar on my tofu or chicken. I asked for a spicy sauce but they have none (like you can easily get at Benihana's). Since the other parts of the meal were very good I will go back though.

Tags: Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

the restaurant was a bit pricey for a f ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

the restaurant was a bit pricey for a family dinner night out

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value2

Great place for sushi. Always fresh, sus ...

vip
 (Denver)
·Dined on September 1, 2016

Great place for sushi. Always fresh, sushi and sashimi are the best we have tried around the south Denver area.

Try monkey brain, it is gorgeous!!!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Tasting Menu, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was a family outing and I found the ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on August 31, 2016

This was a family outing and I found the service (chef and server) excellent. We love this place.

Tags: Family Style, Paleo Friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A wonderful experience for sure! I have ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on August 29, 2016

A wonderful experience for sure! I have not had so much fun in a long time. The servers seemed a touch harried, but that's understandable. Overall, I rate this restaurant highly.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

I really enjoy the Japanese style grill. ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on August 29, 2016

I really enjoy the Japanese style grill. I've been to others and this stacks up to all I've been too. I will definitely go back.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We went for my daughter's 6th birthday. ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on August 28, 2016

We went for my daughter's 6th birthday. We all had so much fun. The service was fine but not stellar. Our hibachi chef however, was awesome. He was super funny and kept the kids engaged. The Prices were high but the experience makes it worth it!

Tags: Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Kid-friendly, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Our chef, Diego, for the night was fanta ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

Our chef, Diego, for the night was fantastic, food was great, they accomodated everyone, yet kept it simple and moving, waitress was new and missed a few queue's as well as complete order taking, all in all it was a great night and we will be back

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

We were charged the wrong amount at firs ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on August 23, 2016

We were charged the wrong amount at first and took a very long time to correct.

Tags: Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value2

Service and food was horrible. Usually g ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

Service and food was horrible. Usually go to Benihanas, but reservations were full.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service2
value1

Had a great dinner with the family to ce ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

Had a great dinner with the family to celebrate our daughter's birthday. The staff & chef made her special day wonderful. Food was very good. I highly recommend Miyama for a fun family night dinner.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

We had new server a Saturday night. Took ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

We had new server a Saturday night. Took half hour get drinks. Soup salad came out after main course started, and ice cream (with forks) while we were eating our main course. The manager took $10 our bill when you're spending $40+ a person, it just didn't make for service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value2

Clueless disorganized disinterested typi ...

vip
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

Clueless disorganized disinterested typical mall restaurant ensured a steady stream of clientele

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service3
value1

Always fun!

vip
 (Denver)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

Always fun!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We made these reservations for a birthda ...

vip
 (Denver)
·Dined on August 2, 2016

We made these reservations for a birthday celebration with my family of four. There was another family of five at the table who was seated comfortably, two on the short side of the hibachi, four on the long side, and then they slotted my four-person group into the other short side and told us there wasn't anywhere else to put us. So we were cramped. Other group had very particular tastes and dietary exclusions which affected our meals, and as such we got less food and less variety. Service was extremely slow. I had to flag waiter numerous times. I had to wait 20 minutes to complete the process of paying my check. It sucked and I don't want to go back.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value3

Great place for sushi and sashimi. We al ...

vip
 (Denver)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

Great place for sushi and sashimi. We always come here to get a fresh seafood.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

For this experience, the fried rice was ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

For this experience, the fried rice was not good. The steak and prawns also lacked favor. The cook put on a show; however, it was obvious that he had done it many times that night and was worn out. I'm not likely to go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

There were some strange things going on ...

vip
 (Denver)
·Dined on July 25, 2016

There were some strange things going on with the servers. One was in training, but that did not explain all. Menus were removed several minutes before the servers were willing to take food orders. Servers were rigid in their approach. Water glass was removed before the bill was received. No issues with service from the table chef, that was fine.

Mustard and ginger sauces are very similar in color, more so than I have seen at other hibachi restaurants. Mustard sauce had more of a Chinese mustard flavor than is typical in my experience at these types of restaurants. Both were OK.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

Food was great the service was slow and ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

Food was great the service was slow and it was very loud but we love Hibachi

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Always fun for family at the Hibachi tab ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Always fun for family at the Hibachi tables. Opportunity to meet new people if your group is less than 8-9 ppl.

Tags: Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Food was over cooked and the chairs felt ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

Food was over cooked and the chairs felt sticky as if they haven't been cleaned in a while. Not worth the expense. Better spots around town for the money.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value2

This is our favorite sushi place. We com ...

vip
 (Denver)
·Dined on June 29, 2016

This is our favorite sushi place. We come hear almost weekly. Sushi and sashimi are always fresh, service is very prompt, everybody is very friendly.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My sister in law and I had the hibachi g ...

vip
 (Denver)
·Dined on June 22, 2016

My sister in law and I had the hibachi grill luncheon. Excellent service and wonderful freshly cooked food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

We were seated with 2 other parties whic ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

We were seated with 2 other parties which is fine & very usual for a hibachi dinner. However when the bill came it was all together. It took 30 min to fix, they added gratuity & we were still over charged. The waitress had to be reminded numerous times to bring us drinks & salad. There was an up charge on everything. I don't think we will be back which is a huge shame since it use to be a family favorite! We have celebrated many milestones at this restaurant & I was very disappointed!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value2

The staff did a great job of taking care ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

The staff did a great job of taking care of us even though the number of people changed unexpectedly and several of them were late. Very rude on our part. Was very impressed with their patience.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our favorite place for a celebratory mea ...

vip
 (Denver)
·Dined on June 14, 2016

Our favorite place for a celebratory meal!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Best sashimi and sushi we have tried so far

vip
 (Denver)
·Dined on June 7, 2016

We come to this restaurant regularly, love fresh sashimi and sushi rolls.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

One of the best meals I've ever had

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on May 29, 2016

We ordered sushi, sashimi, and tepanyaki. Everything but the beef sushi roll was dynomite! The sashimi was in generous portions, sushi was testy, the meat from the grill was off the hook, heck even the rice was amazing and Eric our chef was hilarious.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Wait staff was very attentive and quick ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on May 28, 2016

Wait staff was very attentive and quick to take care of everything. Cooks were extremely entertaining.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Graduation dinner

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on May 28, 2016

We always have fun here. We were there for our daughter's 8th grade graduation. There were 10 of us and we all had a good view of the grill entertainment. It is $$$, but fun and entertaining. 5 of the kids ordered the same dish! The food portions are generous, so I would suggest maybe the kids/teen girls split a dish rather than each ordering an adult meal. They all had leftover food on their plates.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great sushi place - we love coming here, ...

vip
 (Denver)
·Dined on May 27, 2016

Great sushi place - we love coming here, especially when Erni is around. We feel like she gives the best service, the fastest, lots of attention. Food is always good!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Classy Japanese Steakhouse in Lone Tree. ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on May 25, 2016

Classy Japanese Steakhouse in Lone Tree. Hibachi style cooking. Our kids had a blast. Great family place, or a fun date night - you can't lose.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Great place, great food, great service. ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on May 22, 2016

Great place, great food, great service. Fun servers.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food and entertainment

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on May 20, 2016

There were four adults in our group for an early dinner before a show. The food was excellent across the board with Miso soup, salad (with the perfect amount of dressing that wasn’t too ginger heavy) and shrimp appetizer. We ordered a variety of meats from scallops, lobster, filet and shrimp. All were cooked perfectly. We ended with a choice of three ice creams. The entertaining chef did a good job of making our food while keeping the three kids in another party happy. We ended up finishing a bit early so we stayed and had a drink in the bar. Good selection of wines and a special sangria that was delicious. Will definitely be back soon.

Tags: Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Lunch at Miyama

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on May 11, 2016

A group of us enjoyed a quiet lunch. The ambiance was great. The price wasn't cheap but the service was good and efficient. The food was tasty but the portions, especially for some, were quite small even for lunch.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value2

Not great

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

Mother's Day dinner...Really high price for fair to average food and small portions. Disappointed to walk away spending over $300 and feeling unsatisfied.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value1

Exciting Night Out

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on April 30, 2016

The bar staff was very friendly and attentive. Once seated at the table to the chef was outstanding and very talented. Our waitress was excellent alway there before you realized you had a needed.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Our chef was great but the wait service ...

vip
 (Denver)
·Dined on April 30, 2016

Our chef was great but the wait service was poor and very slow.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value2

Birthday celebration

vip
 (Denver)
·Dined on April 21, 2016

This is the second time to visit within a month as we have birthdays throughout March and April. The food and entertainment were outstanding. I had the seafood lovers and everything was cooked to perfection. Wonderful evening!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Kid-friendly, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.