About Miyama Japanese Steak House and Sushi Bar

9101 Kimmer Drive
Lone Tree, CO 80124
View Larger Map

In Japan, the word Miyama means 'beautiful mountain'. Here in Colorado, it translates into a memorable dining experience in a striking aura of Japanese tradition and decor. The ambience is stepped in history-everywhere you look, you will see rare Japanese antiques and artifacts, including 200 year-old Samurai armor and priceless Japanese 'Tansu' chests. The traditional element of Miyama's decor and cuisine is further enhanced by servers wearing brilliantly colored Kimonos. Whether, you enjoy world class sushi in the Sushi Bar and Lounge; or, prefer dining on premium steak and seafood while being entertained by the Teppan Chef at one of the sixteen 'habachi'tables, Miyama guarantees a memorable dining experience for the entire family, where children are welcomed with a special kids menu and private dining rooms are available for special occasions. **Please note that you are booking for Teppan seats. Please contact the restaurant directly for Sushi reservations**

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Japanese, Sushi, Steakhouse

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Sunday - Thursday: 4:00pm - 9:00pm, Friday & Saturday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm
Lunch: Monday - Friday 11:00am -2:00pm,
Saturday: Lunch 12:00 -4:00pm
Sunday : Lunch 12:00 - 4:00pm

Cross Street:
Park Meadows Drive and Yosemite

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(303) 706-1777

Website:
http://www.miyamaofcolorado.com/

Entertainment:
When you dine at our teppanyaki tables our chefs will regale you with a variety of tricks, pyrotechnics, and witty repertoire. All of this while they prepare world class cuisine right before your eyes.

Catering:
Miyama's fresh sushi and appetizer platters are sure to be a hit at your next gathering. We have a number of different pre-set options or customize your own. Please call for details.

Private Party Facilities:
Miyama of Colorado will work with you to provide the perfect private party environment to suit your needs. In fact, Miyama was recently voted the number one restaurant for groups by Open Table customers. We have two private rooms that will seat up to 18 adults comfortably. We also have two larger rooms that can accommodate up to 60 people each. Set menus are also available.

Private Party Contact:
Conni or Chris: 3037061777x

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

  • Miyama Japanese Steak House and Sushi Bar, Lone Tree, CO
Miyama Japanese Steak House and Sushi Bar, Lone Tree, CO

Miyama Japanese Steak House and Sushi Bar Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4.1

ambience

4.2

value

3.8

noise

Moderate

91% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (15)
Kid-friendly (14)
Good for Birthdays (13)
See All
Good for Groups (12)
Fun (10)
Good for a Date (7)
Family Style (7)
Creative Cuisine (6)
Casual (6)
Good for Anniversaries (6)
Neighborhood Gem (5)
People Watching (4)
Worth the Drive (4)
Fit for Foodies (3)
Bar Seating (3)
Tasting Menu (3)
Happy Hour (2)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
Quiet Conversation (2)
Healthy (1)
Live Music (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Private Room (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Authentic (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Spicy (1)
Fireplace (1)
Business Meals (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Romantic (1)
Historic (1)
Seasonal (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Sort By:
S
562 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Very tasty sushi and grilled food. The ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined 4 days ago

Very tasty sushi and grilled food. The chef was entertaining too.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The food and service was very good. Fun ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on November 26, 2016

The food and service was very good. Fun for the family!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Seemed understaffed - sat in bar area. ...

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on November 24, 2016

Seemed understaffed - sat in bar area. One server for 12+ tables. Food from kitchen was not hot and tasted bland. Sushi good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value3

The chef was very talented in his cookin ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on November 20, 2016

The chef was very talented in his cooking and entertainment skills.

Tags: Romantic, Historic, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We celebrated a birthday with family and ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on November 20, 2016

We celebrated a birthday with family and had such a wonderful time! Our chef was Miami and he was GREAT! The food was excellent and staff was fun. Would recommend to everyone for a fun evening with family.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Horrible food. The only tasty thing out ...

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on November 19, 2016

Horrible food. The only tasty thing out of the whole meal was the soup and the captain and 7-up. Not to mention, got horribly sick afterwards. If you want good hibachi..make the trip to Benihana. Miyama is not worth the over priced bill I payed

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1
value1

Fun for a large group dinner! Tasty, an ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on October 29, 2016

Fun for a large group dinner! Tasty, and awesome!

Tags: Gluten Free Options, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The food was great , the server was good ...

vip
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on October 28, 2016

The food was great , the server was good, and the chef was awesome. Also, I had never had halibut at one of these places where they cook in front of you and it was really tasty. We will certainly return!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service4

The food was great as usual, our hibach ...

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on October 21, 2016

The food was great as usual, our hibachi/chef (Jose) was funny & friendly. The steak and chicken was perfect

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Fun, Tasting Menu, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Well I probably would have graded a bit ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on October 21, 2016

Well I probably would have graded a bit higher, except my meal was very tough tasting and

it was teriyaki chicken. Also the vegetables it came with was mostly onions. Not a very good

mix of vegetables.

Tags: Special Occasion, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value2

We love coming to this restaurant for su ...

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on October 18, 2016

We love coming to this restaurant for sushi, food always tastes great, service is fast and friendly.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Awesome service and food! A new favorite ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on October 18, 2016

Awesome service and food! A new favorite for our family!

Tags: Special Occasion, Casual, Kid-friendly, Business Meals, Fun, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Overpriced - had reservations and was no ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on October 16, 2016

Overpriced - had reservations and was not seated until 30 min after reservation time. Food was average and not up to par with any other Japanese Steakhouse I've been to. They call their shrimp 'prawns' but they are not - they're medium shrimp and (strangely) they cut them in pieces and you wind up getting maybe 3 shrimp at best ( I had ordered NY Strip Steak and Shrimp). Service was bad an inattentive - even the chef at the table complained about the servers. Will never go back.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value2

Little slow to get orders and multiple t ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on October 16, 2016

Little slow to get orders and multiple things got forgotten. Had to ask for water refills. Not as good as our past visits.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

We had a guest from overseas, and the di ...

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on October 12, 2016

We had a guest from overseas, and the dinner was very entertaining. She enjoyed it very much, the food was great. Thank you

Tags: Good for Groups, Healthy, Fireplace
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Miami was the best hibachi chef we've ev ...

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on October 1, 2016

Miami was the best hibachi chef we've ever had. His food was terrific, and he was a lot of fun.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Best hibachi restaurant in Colorado! Fo ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on September 16, 2016

Best hibachi restaurant in Colorado! Food was great and service was fantastic! Well worth the hour drive to get there!

Tags: Special Occasion, People Watching, Good for Groups, Bar Seating, Fun, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

the restaurant was a bit pricey for a f ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on September 10, 2016

the restaurant was a bit pricey for a family dinner night out

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value2

Great place for sushi. Always fresh, sus ...

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on September 1, 2016

Great place for sushi. Always fresh, sushi and sashimi are the best we have tried around the south Denver area.

Try monkey brain, it is gorgeous!!!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Tasting Menu, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was a family outing and I found the ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on August 31, 2016

This was a family outing and I found the service (chef and server) excellent. We love this place.

Tags: Family Style, Paleo Friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A wonderful experience for sure! I have ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on August 29, 2016

A wonderful experience for sure! I have not had so much fun in a long time. The servers seemed a touch harried, but that's understandable. Overall, I rate this restaurant highly.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

I really enjoy the Japanese style grill. ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on August 29, 2016

I really enjoy the Japanese style grill. I've been to others and this stacks up to all I've been too. I will definitely go back.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We went for my daughter's 6th birthday. ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on August 28, 2016

We went for my daughter's 6th birthday. We all had so much fun. The service was fine but not stellar. Our hibachi chef however, was awesome. He was super funny and kept the kids engaged. The Prices were high but the experience makes it worth it!

Tags: Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Kid-friendly, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Our chef, Diego, for the night was fanta ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on August 27, 2016

Our chef, Diego, for the night was fantastic, food was great, they accomodated everyone, yet kept it simple and moving, waitress was new and missed a few queue's as well as complete order taking, all in all it was a great night and we will be back

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

We were charged the wrong amount at firs ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on August 23, 2016

We were charged the wrong amount at first and took a very long time to correct.

Tags: Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value2

Service and food was horrible. Usually g ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on August 20, 2016

Service and food was horrible. Usually go to Benihanas, but reservations were full.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service2
value1

Had a great dinner with the family to ce ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on August 20, 2016

Had a great dinner with the family to celebrate our daughter's birthday. The staff & chef made her special day wonderful. Food was very good. I highly recommend Miyama for a fun family night dinner.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

We had new server a Saturday night. Took ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on August 14, 2016

We had new server a Saturday night. Took half hour get drinks. Soup salad came out after main course started, and ice cream (with forks) while we were eating our main course. The manager took $10 our bill when you're spending $40+ a person, it just didn't make for service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value2

Clueless disorganized disinterested typi ...

vip
 (New Mexico)·Dined on August 7, 2016

Clueless disorganized disinterested typical mall restaurant ensured a steady stream of clientele

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service3
value1

Always fun!

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on August 5, 2016

Always fun!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We made these reservations for a birthda ...

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on August 2, 2016

We made these reservations for a birthday celebration with my family of four. There was another family of five at the table who was seated comfortably, two on the short side of the hibachi, four on the long side, and then they slotted my four-person group into the other short side and told us there wasn't anywhere else to put us. So we were cramped. Other group had very particular tastes and dietary exclusions which affected our meals, and as such we got less food and less variety. Service was extremely slow. I had to flag waiter numerous times. I had to wait 20 minutes to complete the process of paying my check. It sucked and I don't want to go back.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value3

Great place for sushi and sashimi. We al ...

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on July 31, 2016

Great place for sushi and sashimi. We always come here to get a fresh seafood.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

For this experience, the fried rice was ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on July 29, 2016

For this experience, the fried rice was not good. The steak and prawns also lacked favor. The cook put on a show; however, it was obvious that he had done it many times that night and was worn out. I'm not likely to go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

There were some strange things going on ...

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on July 25, 2016

There were some strange things going on with the servers. One was in training, but that did not explain all. Menus were removed several minutes before the servers were willing to take food orders. Servers were rigid in their approach. Water glass was removed before the bill was received. No issues with service from the table chef, that was fine.

Mustard and ginger sauces are very similar in color, more so than I have seen at other hibachi restaurants. Mustard sauce had more of a Chinese mustard flavor than is typical in my experience at these types of restaurants. Both were OK.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

Food was great the service was slow and ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on July 23, 2016

Food was great the service was slow and it was very loud but we love Hibachi

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Always fun for family at the Hibachi tab ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on July 17, 2016

Always fun for family at the Hibachi tables. Opportunity to meet new people if your group is less than 8-9 ppl.

Tags: Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Food was over cooked and the chairs felt ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on July 2, 2016

Food was over cooked and the chairs felt sticky as if they haven't been cleaned in a while. Not worth the expense. Better spots around town for the money.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value2

This is our favorite sushi place. We com ...

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on June 29, 2016

This is our favorite sushi place. We come hear almost weekly. Sushi and sashimi are always fresh, service is very prompt, everybody is very friendly.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My sister in law and I had the hibachi g ...

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on June 22, 2016

My sister in law and I had the hibachi grill luncheon. Excellent service and wonderful freshly cooked food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

We were seated with 2 other parties whic ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on June 19, 2016

We were seated with 2 other parties which is fine & very usual for a hibachi dinner. However when the bill came it was all together. It took 30 min to fix, they added gratuity & we were still over charged. The waitress had to be reminded numerous times to bring us drinks & salad. There was an up charge on everything. I don't think we will be back which is a huge shame since it use to be a family favorite! We have celebrated many milestones at this restaurant & I was very disappointed!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value2

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.