About Mitchell's Fish Market - Sandestin

500 Grand Blvd.
Suite K-100
Miramar Beach, FL 32550
View Larger Map

We invite you to discover our fresh seafood obsession at Mitchell's Fish Market where the fish is off the boat fresh, the drinks are made with fresh-squeezed juice & the atmosphere is as warm and inviting as a day on the water. At Mitchell's Fish Market we are obsessed with fresh seafood. Our mantra is a commitment & passion for freshness as a way of life - a pledge that our fish is 100% fresh or it isn't good enough. With more than 80 items, the chef inspired menu includes items such as Cedar Roasted Atlantic Salmon & Shang Hai Sea Bass. Come experience what an obsession with freshness tastes like at Mitchell's Fish Market...fish any fresher would still be in the ocean! View of menus online at www.mitchellsfishmarket.com!

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Seafood, Steak

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Saturday: 11:30am - 4:00pm, Sunday: 11:30am - 3:00pm; Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm, Sunday: 3:00pm - 10:00pm

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(850) 650-2484

Website:
http://www.mitchellsfishmarket.com/

Parking Details:
A public lot, provided by Grand Boulevard, is available for our guests during lunch and dinner service.

Executive Chef:
Josh Daughtery

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking Area, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Private Room, Smoking Area, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

  • Mitchell's Fish Market - Sandestin
  • Mitchell's Fish Market - Sandestin
Mitchell's Fish Market - Sandestin
Mitchell's Fish Market - Sandestin

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

See availability for 1000 point tables

Details
Sun - Thu 4:00PM - 6:00PM 8:00PM - 10:00PM

Private Dining

Mitchell's Fish Market private rooms are available for any occasion! Work one-on-one with your Private Event Manager to create a truly customized affair. To host your event in one of our private dining rooms, contact us today!

Mitchell's Fish Market - Sandestin Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

3.8

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

3.8

service

3.7

ambience

3.9

noise

Moderate

65% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Most Booked
Destin
Best Restaurants in Destin ›

good for groups (16)
fit for foodies (14)
special occasion (14)
See All
neighborhood gem (11)
great for outdoor dining (9)
vibrant bar scene (9)
great for lunch (8)
kid-friendly (8)
romantic (8)
notable wine list (6)
hot spot (4)
late-night find (2)
great for brunch (1)
scenic view (1)
Sort By:
Newest
695 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food2
ambience1
service2

To start with, this place is a Landry's ...

vip
Dined 2 days ago

To start with, this place is a Landry's disguised with an alias. Because who would voluntarily go to a Landry's at the Gulf Coast? We really should have left as soon as we went inside and were seated, despite the place being mostly empty, at a tiny two seater booth directly across from the big metal swinging kitchen doors. The dining room was gloomy and had the fusty nautical appearance of the Krusty Krab from SpongeBob's Bikini Bottom, but without the fun. It also had a peculiar smell. But we were tired and hungry and decided to persevere. The service was slow as Christmas but, again, without the fun. There was one interesting bottle of wine on the menu, but they didn't actually have it. The bread was a loaf of that institutional hard tack you might expect at a Landry's. The house salad was a sad little plate of chopped iceberg, with a few carrot strips, a tiny number of pine nuts and a few pieces of chopped date. The bacon wrapped BBQ shrimp were not terrible, though the sauce was a bit sweet. But still, bacon. After the starters, we waited an unreasonably long time before inquiring about our entrees, which our waiter seemed surprised to learn we had already ordered. I had a bowl of gumbo, which was okay. My husband had crab cakes which, admittedly, were pretty good. At that point, "pretty good" was high praise.

food5
ambience5
service5

Always a great dinner! Service is great ...

Dined 3 days ago

Always a great dinner! Service is great and their recommendations are always spot on!

food4
ambience4
service1

The food was good but service was not

Dined 4 days ago

The food was good but service was not

food5
ambience3
service3
value3

Food was excellent. Service left a litt ...

Dined 5 days ago

Food was excellent. Service left a little to be expected seemed like they were under staffed

food2
ambience2
service3

It's a Landry's restaurant group. I had ...

Dined 6 days ago

It's a Landry's restaurant group. I had a dried out piece of fish the called a grouper.

food4
ambience4
service2

Mitchell's came highly recommended and c ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

Mitchell's came highly recommended and chose this location for a special Fathers Day celebration (party of 4). The service left much to be desired from the moment we did not order alcoholic beverages and the server rolled his eyes. Not attentive nor interested in whether or not the food was pleading to us or if we desired drink refills. Don't believe there was a language or cultural barrier, simply inconsiderate behavior and lack of manners by a server. Unfortunate as we have heard so many rave reviews by other locals in the area. That being said the food was flavorful from the lobster bisque, cedar plank salmon, lump crab cakes, bacon wrapped shrimp, etc.... There wasn't a bite taken that didn't pack a flavorful punch. Eat here with the knowledge that the hospitality may be lacking from the hostess to the servers. $136+tip for lunch that did not include dessert or alcohol was a bit much for the menu items available for a Fathers Day outing. My 2 cents.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent meal!!When visiting Sandestin ...

Dined on June 16, 2016

Excellent meal!!When visiting Sandestin we always eat here at least 2 or 3 times! Fresh seafood presented in a very appetizing way! The Lobster Bisque is a must try! It is so rich and creamy! The salads could have just a bit more of stated ingredients, goat cheese, dates, candied pecans and pinenuts. The spinach salad was supposed to have candied pecans but I had to hunt for them and I only found 2. It was a very large salad and the goat cheese was sparse. The house salad was supposed to have dates but they were also hard to find! We told the waiter and he promptly brought goat cheese, pecans, pinenuts and dates! The salads were very good!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food3
ambience4
service4

We've been going to Mitchell's for years ...

vip
Dined on June 15, 2016

We've been going to Mitchell's for years and have always loved it. The selection of fish this time was far less than usual. My meal was overcooked. I have celiac disease and, although I specified that I needed gluten free, I had a reaction. It was a disappointing meal. I think we'll try somewhere else next time.

food5
ambience5
service5

Best food and service in the area!

vip
Dined on June 14, 2016

Best food and service in the area!

food4
ambience4
service4
value5

We had a delicious meal of fresh seafood ...

Dined on June 13, 2016

We had a delicious meal of fresh seafood that was served promptly and at a good pace.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Food was excellent and the service was g ...

Dined on June 11, 2016

Food was excellent and the service was great. We will return next time we are in town.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, late-night find
food4
ambience3
service1
value2

Poor Service

Dined on June 4, 2016

Very poor service. Had to ask for water after waiting 10 minutes, then only 1 was delivered for 3 people. Salad arrived, waited another 5 minutes to catch another server to requests silverware. Waiter did not check back after delivering food nor offered to re-fill wine glasses. Wasn't a busy night. Staff overall appeared unhappy to be there in general.

food2
ambience2
service1

Used to be a good high end restaurant- n ...

Dined on June 4, 2016

Used to be a good high end restaurant- now the waitstaff can't even tie or tighten their ties! The lack of attention to detail is obvious in the food and all aspects of this restaurants.

food2
ambience3
service2
value1

The resturant was fine, just nothing spe ...

Dined on May 28, 2016

The resturant was fine, just nothing special, surely was not worth the price, for the amount of food that we got. The waiter was not great, and the shrimp and lobster was dry

food5
ambience4
service5

We sat outside because we had 2 small ch ...

Dined on May 28, 2016

We sat outside because we had 2 small children with us. The service was excellent. My kids loved the children's chicken tenders and grilled salmon. My husband had the crab cakes and I had the cobia grilled on a cedar plank. It was all delicious!! Great drink menu as well.

food2
ambience2
service2
value2

We were seated right at the entrance, an ...

Dined on May 18, 2016

We were seated right at the entrance, and 3 of the servers gathered at the bar area and were telling jokes and laughing loudly which disturbed our meal. Both my husband and I ordered dishes with shrimp, and both were way over-cooked and rubbery. Our server was not very attentive. We paid good money for bad seafood. We were very disappointed in this visit and will not be returning.

food4
ambience3
service4
value3

We had shrimp cocktail and stuffed shrim ...

Dined on May 12, 2016

We had shrimp cocktail and stuffed shrimp for dinner. Both excellent.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food3
ambience3
service3

We were not that impressed with the food ...

Dined on May 11, 2016

We were not that impressed with the food at Mitchell's. Having dined at other Landry restaurants, we expected a little higher quality. My husband had the gumbo which was very good. His salad came out with his entree instead of before. He had a grouper and I had the lobster & shrimp stuffed halibut. Both entrées were just so-so. I expected mine to be more decadent than it was. It was a bit dry and I didn't really taste the sauce or the lobster. My husband had "the shark" ice cream dessert. He really enjoyed it. I probably would not return to this restaurant.

food1
ambience5
service5
value2

Fish was very over cooked , ambiance and ...

Dined on May 10, 2016

Fish was very over cooked , ambiance and service very good. Would expect a restaurant specializing in fish to know how to cook it properly.

food4
ambience4
service1
value3

Terrible service, good food.

vip
Dined on May 7, 2016

We come here each year on annual girls' trip. We won't be returning. Service has gone downhill over the past few years. It took entirely too long to be greeted and get a drink order taken. Then we waited 10 minutes to get the drinks. Our salads took forever to come out and when they finally did, our entrees were delivered immediately after. Disappointed. Much better options in Destin.

food4
ambience2
service4

We went for lunch and really had a good ...

vip
Dined on May 3, 2016

We went for lunch and really had a good experience that exceeded our expectations. I recommend this place.

food4
ambience4
service4

Grouper was very good. Ate there twice! ...

Dined on May 1, 2016

Grouper was very good. Ate there twice! Apps were good .

food4
ambience3
service3
value3

Dinner

Dined on April 29, 2016

Waiter spilled a whole blackberry margarita on me and then after that it took us like an hour to get our food. Food was really good, but I'm not sure it was worth the wait...

food3
ambience3
service4

Sadly, the best of food was sour dough b ...

Dined on April 27, 2016

Sadly, the best of food was sour dough bread. We had the bacon wrapped shrimp but they coated it with boring BBQ sauce which killed the flavor. We got the gumbo but it was very chili tasting instead of Cajun. The shrimp stuffed flounder was our entree was alright.

food4
ambience3
service3

Food was very good. Our server, Cara, wa ...

Dined on April 22, 2016

Food was very good. Our server, Cara, was very helpful. We had a few issues and had to request management and we found the General Manager to be less than helpful and lacking in the basics of customer service. Thank you Cara for your personal attention and knowing how to read your customer.

food1
ambience3
service1
value1

A total let down.....

vip
Dined on April 17, 2016

After being seated, we waited over 15 minutes and our server never came to the table. After 18 minutes, I decided to go to the hostess stand and inform them that a server name came to our table. After 25 minutes a server finally showed up. He was very nice but we were already disturbed about the wait. My date ordered the ribeye to be prepared medium and it came out well done. After sending it back for the second time, it came out well with zero pink. My date decided to keep the ribeye even though it was still not cooked properly. I ordered the sea bass, which was cold. The price compared to product was no correlation. Overall, we were totally disappointed. We will never return. I pricey meal for below par food.

food2
ambience4
service3
value2

San Destin Wine Festival

vip
Dined on April 17, 2016

Have eaten here before a couple of times and the food was great as well as the service. This time i had the twin lobster tails and they were like rubber from being over cooked, my wife had the snapper and it was over cooked.

food1
ambience5
service3

Appetizers were wonderful- we had a few ...

Dined on March 27, 2016

Appetizers were wonderful- we had a few shrimp choices - the spicy shrimp and bacon wrapped. Unfortunately, our meal went downhill from there. Waiter, while pleasant, seemed rushed and we had to seek him out on multiple occasions to place cocktail orders. Our entrees arrived and one guest received his order completely wrong. The server realized it was wrong, announced it was wrong, and tried serving it anyway much to our chagrin. The grouper, which for this area is considered the fish to get because it's local and typically known for flavor and quality - was dry, flavorless and bland. Three of us ordered it blackened and it was flavorless. Had I not been famished I would have sent it back. Overall the experience was completely forgettable. We won't return.

food3
ambience3
service3
value3

Very dependable

Dined on March 27, 2016

You can always count on Mitchell's to be good. We went in with a group of 6 on a Saturday night and they could not have been nicer. The food and the service was good. They are a little pricey for what they offer.

Tags: great for lunch, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful Meal

vip
Dined on March 26, 2016

Our family of five had a great lunch here. Excellent food and even better service. Thank you.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great place

Dined on March 26, 2016

As always, the food and service was great. Love the location!

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great dinner

vip
Dined on March 24, 2016

Went for a Thirsday night meal while in Sandestin on business and it was great. Ahi tuna appetizer was solid, spinach salad was too notch, and the Shanghai Sea Bass was very delicious and unique. Grayson was an excellent server who took great care of me. Will definitely return next time I am in town.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, neighborhood gem
food3
ambience4
service2
value3

Disappointed

Dined on March 22, 2016

We have dined here before and been very happy. Not this time. One party had good food, the other maybe average. Service was subpar for a restaurant supposedly of this quality but we still tipped 20%. Why, because we are honorable people. A return, however, is unlikely.

food5
ambience4
service2
value4

Awesome Food, Disappointing Service

Dined on March 21, 2016

We've been making the hour-long drive to Mitchell's for special occasions ever since they opened in Sandestin; however, the service was so disappointing (again) this time, we've decided we must find a new "favorite" place. What's sad is the food is totally awesome, but the poor service negates the positive dining experience we expect from Mitchell's. Took over 15 minutes to get a bourbon & 7-up from the bar which we ordered as we were seated. Even though we weren't asked if we wanted dessert, we did ask for the carrot cake which has become our tradition. Twenty minutes! Yep, it took 20 minutes for the server to bring us our piece of cake! Just glad our reservations were fairly early (5:30) on a Monday evening; can't imagine had they been truly busy!

Tags: special occasion, great for lunch
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Good food, spectacular service

Dined on March 20, 2016

We've eaten at Mitchell's before and have never been disappointed. But our most recent visit was enhanced by our server. He was enthusiastic and knowledgeable, and his recommendations of the freshly-caught cobia and pecan-crusted trout were on target. It's always more fun to dine at a place where your server seems to be truly into the food. Service was as speedy as one could expect -- not too fast-paced but not so slow that it left you begging for bread between courses. The cocktails are interesting, too. I fell in love with the grapefruit-basil concoction.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Nothing special

Dined on March 19, 2016

The atmosphere was nice, but the food was nothing better than what you would find at bonefish grill (even the special they had just started running). The service was professional and helpful, but it ultimately felt like a 10 dollar up charge on red lobster or bonefish for the same stuff.

food2
ambience2
service2
value2

Meh

Dined on March 18, 2016

Everything was just ok. For the price I'd expect professional wait staff and great food. Neither of these were bad, just not anything above what a chain restaurant might produce.

food3
ambience5
service4

Not impressed with the scallops or wine ...

Dined on March 16, 2016

Not impressed with the scallops or wine list. Overall experience and service was ok.

food3
ambience3
service3

Food was okay, better than an average b ...

vip
Dined on March 10, 2016

Food was okay, better than an average bar and grill but not the best I have ever had. Wine selection was ridiculously over priced! $120 for a bottle of cake bread?? Are you serious ? That is insane even if it was a 2012! I could buy the exact same bottle of wine at Travina across the street for $65.... Won't go back it was merely ok... Over priced in my opinion....

food4
ambience4
service4
value4

As Usual Very Good Meal

vip
Dined on March 5, 2016

We visit the Destin area every year and Mitchell's is on the top of our list. We have dinner, and then one night we do the happy hour thing with appetizers and drinks outside. We are never disappointed.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.