About Mitchell's Fish Market - Sandestin

500 Grand Blvd.
Suite K-100
Miramar Beach, FL 32550
View Larger Map

We invite you to discover our fresh seafood obsession at Mitchell's Fish Market where the fish is off the boat fresh, the drinks are made with fresh-squeezed juice & the atmosphere is as warm and inviting as a day on the water. At Mitchell's Fish Market we are obsessed with fresh seafood. Our mantra is a commitment & passion for freshness as a way of life - a pledge that our fish is 100% fresh or it isn't good enough. With more than 80 items, the chef inspired menu includes items such as Cedar Roasted Atlantic Salmon & Shang Hai Sea Bass. Come experience what an obsession with freshness tastes like at Mitchell's Fish Market...fish any fresher would still be in the ocean! View of menus online at www.mitchellsfishmarket.com!

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Seafood, Steak

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Saturday: 11:30am - 4:00pm, Sunday: 11:30am - 3:00pm; Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm, Sunday: 3:00pm - 10:00pm

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(850) 650-2484

Website:
http://www.mitchellsfishmarket.com/

Parking Details:
A public lot, provided by Grand Boulevard, is available for our guests during lunch and dinner service.

Executive Chef:
Josh Daughtery

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

  • Mitchell's Fish Market - Sandestin
  • Mitchell's Fish Market - Sandestin
Mitchell's Fish Market - Sandestin
Mitchell's Fish Market - Sandestin

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

See availability for 1000 point tables

Details
Sun - Thu 4:00PM - 6:00PM 8:00PM - 10:00PM

Private Dining

Mitchell's Fish Market private rooms are available for any occasion! Work one-on-one with your Private Event Manager to create a truly customized affair. To host your event in one of our private dining rooms, contact us today!

Mitchell's Fish Market - Sandestin Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.0

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.1

service

3.9

ambience

4.0

value

3.6

noise

Moderate

79% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Most Booked
Northwest Florida
Most Booked
Destin
Best Restaurants in Destin ›

Good for Groups (26)
Special Occasion (22)
Fit for Foodies (19)
See All
Romantic (13)
Great for Outdoor Dining (13)
Neighborhood Gem (12)
Kid-friendly (11)
Notable Wine List (7)
Vibrant Bar Scene (6)
Great for Lunch (6)
Hot Spot (3)
Late-night Find (2)
Scenic View (2)
Sort By:
Newest
730 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

The food was adequate and the service wa ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined 6 days ago

The food was adequate and the service was above average, but there was a noticeable odor in the restaurant that left the experience lacking.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

I was actually shocked by the service re ...

vip
 (Denver)
·Dined 7 days ago

I was actually shocked by the service received by the staff. Our waiter was not friendly at all, didn't even ask if we wanted more cocktails or if we wanted dessert, and appeared to be careless and wanting to rush us out of our table. Very disappointed as I have visited the Ohio locations and had high expectations from Mitchell's.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service1

We found Mitchell's Fish Market not as d ...

 
·Dined on August 21, 2016

We found Mitchell's Fish Market not as delicate as it used to be. Hard to define why, but maybe it is because they are part of Landry's now. The food was right, but not exceptional. The server tried too hard, which made it unnatural. Some of the tables had white table linen, but most had not. Still good, but not as impressive as last year and the years before.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Management is very unprofessional, they ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

Management is very unprofessional, they don't know how to handle customers properly. Heard them call us names. Avoid this restaurant if you expect quality service and caring staff.

Tags: Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value1

We were celebrating my daughter's birthd ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

We were celebrating my daughter's birthday and Hunter was helpful overall. My only complaint was that we were seated for more than 10 minutes before our water was served and since we were in the private room it was difficult for us to get our waiters attention. He didn't seem to check on us quite as often as I would have thought he would. Food was good; my family especially enjoyed the Shanghai SeaBass and the mussel appetizer.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Food was great and service was excellent ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

Food was great and service was excellent. We were a party of 7 and all food and drinks came out at the same time. Would definitely recommend.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Service very good, food wonderful. I've ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

Service very good, food wonderful. I've always liked Mitchell's. A great upscale restaurant for fresh seafood.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

The restaurant had a foul smell to it wh ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 2, 2016

The restaurant had a foul smell to it where we were sat. We eventually got used to it but initially it was gross.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5

I made a reservation for a party of 8 up ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on August 1, 2016

I made a reservation for a party of 8 upon arrival in the Destin area for a family vacation. The food was inconsistent..we really enjoyed the grilled oysters but the lobster bisque was very salty. The service was horrible--it was slow (I had to ask for a glass of wine 3 times before receiving it) and our food was not delivered at the same time. The restaurant showed the wear of the evening--menus were dirty from previous customers, the floor under the table hadn't been swept and dirty dishes were stacked on the server's terminal near our table. The server complained that they'd had a very large party arrive at the same time we did. Wish they wouldn't have accepted our reservation if that was the case. We won't go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value2

live in Miramar Beach haven't been to Mi ...

vip
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

live in Miramar Beach haven't been to Mitchells in a while...due to inconsistency in the past.

food was great and service was even better.

Nice job.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

Excellent food. Great service.

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on July 28, 2016

Excellent food. Great service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The food was wonderful but our waitress ...

 
 (Alabama)
·Dined on July 26, 2016

The food was wonderful but our waitress left a lot to be desired. I think he name was Heidi. She forgot my husband's lobster bisque and got the bill wrong too

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service1
value5

Our food was barely edible. Service was ...

vip
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

Our food was barely edible. Service was excellent, but that doesn't make up for poor quality food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service4

We had a large party of 16 including 3 k ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

We had a large party of 16 including 3 kids. Mitchell's was the only place that would accommodate a reservation for the size through Open Table. Having had our wedding reception at Mitchell's we knew the food and service was exceptional. 6 years later we had the same quality of food and service.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The service, food & ambiance was all top ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

The service, food & ambiance was all top notch. We would go back again!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Our experience for dinner with two child ...

vip
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on July 20, 2016

Our experience for dinner with two children and friends was very good. They were very busy and service was a little slow. Overall a very nice experience.

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

We enjoyed a wonderful family dinner at ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on July 19, 2016

We enjoyed a wonderful family dinner at Mitchell's! We vacation in Destin every summer, and it's our favorite place to go for dinner. We had a group of 9 and made a reservation. When we arrived they had a private room ready for us. Our server Hunter was very friendly and knowledgeable. The food is outstanding! We had everything from salmon, calamari, stuffed shrimp, crab cakes, and more at our table and everything was delicious! They have a good selection for children also that is just as delicious! Already can't wait to go back next summer!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great service. Great food. Flawless over ...

 
·Dined on July 18, 2016

Great service. Great food. Flawless overall. If looking for good seafood and equally good service - look no further (except for George's in Alys Beach)

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

great meal! the Seanad was awesome ! The ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

great meal! the Seanad was awesome ! The lobster Mac and cheese was just as awesome ! The White Moscato drink was excellent! The pineapple Mojito was terrific! Meal was slightly pricy but so worth it! We sat outside and it was a perfect evening! We will absolutely go back next time we are in town!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Food was amazing, seafood was fresh, and ...

 
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Food was amazing, seafood was fresh, and perfectly seasoned. Waiter was super friendly, knowledgeable, and courteous but not annoying. Highly recommend if you are seeking seafood in Destin.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was the worst dining experience on ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

This was the worst dining experience on our vacation. We had reservations, however it was a 2+ hour process. The restaurant was so cold the server gave us 15 foot table clothes to use as blankets after repeated requests to turn up the air conditioning. The food ordered, was not the food we received. Mistakes were made to everyones' dish. The bill was ridiculously over priced for mediocre, incorrect food and horrible service. There were 2 tables of customers that arrived, were seated, ordered, ate and left before we received our food. If you have a choice between starving and going to this restaurant, I suggest starvation. It will be quicker, warmer and less expensive.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

great menu..but server was poor. you co ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

great menu..but server was poor. you could tell he didn't like his job.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value5

Great fish prepared as you wish. We had ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

Great fish prepared as you wish. We had 10 in our party with 6 kids under 8. We had a private room and thoroughly enjoyed our dinner.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Kid-friendly, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We had a late reservation and our waiter ...

vip
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

We had a late reservation and our waiter wasn't the fastest with the drinks or service but we enjoyed the tuna app, the salads and the Chilean sea bass was delicious. We all had something different and food was consistently good. The place had a faint smell of fish which was a little disturbing but I had to think it was a fish restaurant and when I cook at home my garbage can stinks from the skins of fish. I would give it another go just because the food was good. The place is huge so plenty of room for large parties and the area it is in is amazing for families. Nice shopping area as well.

Tags: Good for Groups, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value4

We were pleased to be able to get a rese ...

 
·Dined on July 6, 2016

We were pleased to be able to get a reservation in the busy season at the beach. We thought the servers did an exceptional job of taking care of our large party. The food and drink were all served promptly in spite of how busy it was. We had a little problem with the filet minon but the manager made it right for us and we moved on. Overall, I think it was a very satisfying experience and we were all very pleased when we left.

Tags: Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

We had reservations, so we were seated w ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on July 4, 2016

We had reservations, so we were seated within 10min of arriving, which gave us an opportunity to try he pineapple martini at the bar. It was delicious and the bartender was great! After being seated and greeted by our server, Diane, we ordered the calamari (mediocre), the raw oysters (amazing), the lobster bisque (too salty) and the clam chowder (perfect). For dinner, we had the Asian-style sea bass (delicious!), the Oscar-style sea bass (also delicious!), the chicken parm (spot on) and the filet with lobster mac & cheese (both were amazing!) Diane was great, very friendly and bubbly, but the food service was extremely slow.

Overall, the food was good, the atmosphere wasn't anything special, the service was good, but slow. We probably would eat here again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3

Our reservations had us seated right awa ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

Our reservations had us seated right away. When we left there was a line of people waiting for a table. Overall our experience was kid friendly, meaning, we heard other children and our children were allowed to enjoy themselves too. This is a good middle level restaurant to introduce children to finer dining. I was surprised that the food did take a while. I watched as the couple next to us, who was seated after us, was served and serviced quicker than us. Their order was taken around the same time as ours, but they did get their appetizers and main course before us. We were a party of 4 while they were a party of 2. Not sure if that made a difference. Our server did say it was going to take 30 minutes for our entrée, which is a long time on a holiday weekend in a restaurant that was packed. I wonder how long those who came after us had to wait. Not sure if 30 minutes was the typical turn-around time for food, if so, so be warned here. Overall food was fine. Shrimp scampi uses tobacco crème, but wasn't spicy. Kids chicken fingers were ok, not very thick and a little dry. Fish and chips were good. Gumbo and New Englad clam chowder were good. Cobia was a little fishy and a few bones as a filet. Rice or Risotto was a little hard. If it was risotto that's how I prefer it, but if it was rice, then it could use more water and cooking time. I would try again during a quieter weekend though.

Tags: Good for Groups, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value3

Food was aweful. 9PM on a holiday weeken ...

 
·Dined on July 3, 2016

Food was aweful. 9PM on a holiday weekend & fish was clearly frozen. Low quality presentations & nothing special at all---and we are not food snobs at all. But this was not nearly worth the $80 something it cost. Def regret this choice.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service5
value1

Great food.i didn't know it was a chain. ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

Great food.i didn't know it was a chain. I did not know it was associated with Landry's which I hate

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Was a great getaway weekend dining exper ...

 
 (Alabama)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

Was a great getaway weekend dining experience. The wait staff is excellent along with the food.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food and service were excellent. Only do ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on June 30, 2016

Food and service were excellent. Only downside was the group seated near us who couldn't seem to control how loudly they talked.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

We usually love it here- it took forever ...

vip
 (Nashville)
·Dined on June 29, 2016

We usually love it here- it took forever for our food

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1

Great service and ambiance. The food qua ...

 
 (Mississippi)
·Dined on June 27, 2016

Great service and ambiance. The food quality was wonderful. Sad that they didn't have a raw bar but the food selection was a delight.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

We had four grandchildren under 11 and t ...

 
 (Alabama)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

We had four grandchildren under 11 and two adults; summer beach trip; great service, and really good food with nice presentations. Baked oysters were outstanding. Our server was extremely accommodating and kind to our grandchildren. Would recommend for most occasions. Happy hour at bar looked noisy and fun.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Kid-friendly, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

To start with, this place is a Landry's ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

To start with, this place is a Landry's disguised with an alias. Because who would voluntarily go to a Landry's at the Gulf Coast? We really should have left as soon as we went inside and were seated, despite the place being mostly empty, at a tiny two seater booth directly across from the big metal swinging kitchen doors. The dining room was gloomy and had the fusty nautical appearance of the Krusty Krab from SpongeBob's Bikini Bottom, but without the fun. It also had a peculiar smell. But we were tired and hungry and decided to persevere. The service was slow as Christmas but, again, without the fun. There was one interesting bottle of wine on the menu, but they didn't actually have it. The bread was a loaf of that institutional hard tack you might expect at a Landry's. The house salad was a sad little plate of chopped iceberg, with a few carrot strips, a tiny number of pine nuts and a few pieces of chopped date. The bacon wrapped BBQ shrimp were not terrible, though the sauce was a bit sweet. But still, bacon. After the starters, we waited an unreasonably long time before inquiring about our entrees, which our waiter seemed surprised to learn we had already ordered. I had a bowl of gumbo, which was okay. My husband had crab cakes which, admittedly, were pretty good. At that point, "pretty good" was high praise.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service2

Always a great dinner! Service is great ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on June 23, 2016

Always a great dinner! Service is great and their recommendations are always spot on!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The food was good but service was not

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on June 23, 2016

The food was good but service was not

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1

Food was excellent. Service left a litt ...

 
·Dined on June 22, 2016

Food was excellent. Service left a little to be expected seemed like they were under staffed

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value3

It's a Landry's restaurant group. I had ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on June 20, 2016

It's a Landry's restaurant group. I had a dried out piece of fish the called a grouper.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3

Mitchell's came highly recommended and c ...

 
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Mitchell's came highly recommended and chose this location for a special Fathers Day celebration (party of 4). The service left much to be desired from the moment we did not order alcoholic beverages and the server rolled his eyes. Not attentive nor interested in whether or not the food was pleading to us or if we desired drink refills. Don't believe there was a language or cultural barrier, simply inconsiderate behavior and lack of manners by a server. Unfortunate as we have heard so many rave reviews by other locals in the area.

That being said the food was flavorful from the lobster bisque, cedar plank salmon, lump crab cakes, bacon wrapped shrimp, etc.... There wasn't a bite taken that didn't pack a flavorful punch.

Eat here with the knowledge that the hospitality may be lacking from the hostess to the servers. $136+tip for lunch that did not include dessert or alcohol was a bit much for the menu items available for a Fathers Day outing. My 2 cents.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.