About Mitchell's Fish Market - Sandestin

500 Grand Blvd.
Suite K-100
Miramar Beach, FL 32550
View Larger Map

We invite you to discover our fresh seafood obsession at Mitchell's Fish Market where the fish is off the boat fresh, the drinks are made with fresh-squeezed juice & the atmosphere is as warm and inviting as a day on the water. At Mitchell's Fish Market we are obsessed with fresh seafood. Our mantra is a commitment & passion for freshness as a way of life - a pledge that our fish is 100% fresh or it isn't good enough. With more than 80 items, the chef inspired menu includes items such as Cedar Roasted Atlantic Salmon & Shang Hai Sea Bass. Come experience what an obsession with freshness tastes like at Mitchell's Fish Market...fish any fresher would still be in the ocean! View of menus online at www.mitchellsfishmarket.com!

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Seafood, Steak

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Saturday: 11:30am - 4:00pm, Sunday: 11:30am - 3:00pm; Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm, Sunday: 3:00pm - 10:00pm

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(850) 650-2484

Website:
http://www.mitchellsfishmarket.com/

Parking Details:
A public lot, provided by Grand Boulevard, is available for our guests during lunch and dinner service.

Executive Chef:
Josh Daughtery

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking Area, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Private Room, Smoking Area, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Promotions

Father's Day Special Menus & Reservations

Sunday, June 19, 2016

1,000-Point Tables

Promotions

Father's Day Special Menus & Reservations

Sunday, June 19, 2016

Details
Please join us on Father's Day from 11am - 9pm. Chef specials and our dinner menu will be served all day.
1,000-Point Tables

See availability for 1000 point tables

Details
Sun - Thu 4:00PM - 6:00PM 8:00PM - 10:00PM

Private Dining

Mitchell's Fish Market private rooms are available for any occasion! Work one-on-one with your Private Event Manager to create a truly customized affair. To host your event in one of our private dining rooms, contact us today!

Mitchell's Fish Market - Sandestin Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

3.8

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

3.8

service

3.9

ambience

3.9

noise

Moderate

68% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Value
Destin
Best Restaurants in Destin ›

good for groups (15)
fit for foodies (14)
special occasion (14)
See All
neighborhood gem (9)
vibrant bar scene (9)
great for lunch (9)
kid-friendly (8)
great for outdoor dining (8)
romantic (6)
hot spot (4)
notable wine list (4)
great for brunch (2)
late-night find (1)
scenic view (1)
 (1)
Sort By:
Newest
679 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food2
ambience2
service2
value2

We were seated right at the entrance, an ...

Dined on May 18, 2016

We were seated right at the entrance, and 3 of the servers gathered at the bar area and were telling jokes and laughing loudly which disturbed our meal. Both my husband and I ordered dishes with shrimp, and both were way over-cooked and rubbery. Our server was not very attentive. We paid good money for bad seafood. We were very disappointed in this visit and will not be returning.

food4
ambience3
service4
value3

We had shrimp cocktail and stuffed shrim ...

Dined on May 12, 2016

We had shrimp cocktail and stuffed shrimp for dinner. Both excellent.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food3
ambience3
service3

We were not that impressed with the food ...

Dined on May 11, 2016

We were not that impressed with the food at Mitchell's. Having dined at other Landry restaurants, we expected a little higher quality. My husband had the gumbo which was very good. His salad came out with his entree instead of before. He had a grouper and I had the lobster & shrimp stuffed halibut. Both entrées were just so-so. I expected mine to be more decadent than it was. It was a bit dry and I didn't really taste the sauce or the lobster. My husband had "the shark" ice cream dessert. He really enjoyed it. I probably would not return to this restaurant.

food1
ambience5
service5
value2

Fish was very over cooked , ambiance and ...

Dined on May 10, 2016

Fish was very over cooked , ambiance and service very good. Would expect a restaurant specializing in fish to know how to cook it properly.

food4
ambience4
service1
value3

Terrible service, good food.

vip
Dined on May 7, 2016

We come here each year on annual girls' trip. We won't be returning. Service has gone downhill over the past few years. It took entirely too long to be greeted and get a drink order taken. Then we waited 10 minutes to get the drinks. Our salads took forever to come out and when they finally did, our entrees were delivered immediately after. Disappointed. Much better options in Destin.

food4
ambience2
service4

We went for lunch and really had a good ...

vip
Dined on May 3, 2016

We went for lunch and really had a good experience that exceeded our expectations. I recommend this place.

food4
ambience4
service4

Grouper was very good. Ate there twice! ...

Dined on May 1, 2016

Grouper was very good. Ate there twice! Apps were good .

food4
ambience3
service3
value3

Dinner

Dined on April 29, 2016

Waiter spilled a whole blackberry margarita on me and then after that it took us like an hour to get our food. Food was really good, but I'm not sure it was worth the wait...

food3
ambience3
service4

Sadly, the best of food was sour dough b ...

Dined on April 27, 2016

Sadly, the best of food was sour dough bread. We had the bacon wrapped shrimp but they coated it with boring BBQ sauce which killed the flavor. We got the gumbo but it was very chili tasting instead of Cajun. The shrimp stuffed flounder was our entree was alright.

food4
ambience3
service3

Food was very good. Our server, Cara, wa ...

Dined on April 22, 2016

Food was very good. Our server, Cara, was very helpful. We had a few issues and had to request management and we found the General Manager to be less than helpful and lacking in the basics of customer service. Thank you Cara for your personal attention and knowing how to read your customer.

food1
ambience3
service1
value1

A total let down.....

vip
Dined on April 17, 2016

After being seated, we waited over 15 minutes and our server never came to the table. After 18 minutes, I decided to go to the hostess stand and inform them that a server name came to our table. After 25 minutes a server finally showed up. He was very nice but we were already disturbed about the wait. My date ordered the ribeye to be prepared medium and it came out well done. After sending it back for the second time, it came out well with zero pink. My date decided to keep the ribeye even though it was still not cooked properly. I ordered the sea bass, which was cold. The price compared to product was no correlation. Overall, we were totally disappointed. We will never return. I pricey meal for below par food.

food2
ambience4
service3
value2

San Destin Wine Festival

vip
Dined on April 17, 2016

Have eaten here before a couple of times and the food was great as well as the service. This time i had the twin lobster tails and they were like rubber from being over cooked, my wife had the snapper and it was over cooked.

food1
ambience5
service3

Appetizers were wonderful- we had a few ...

Dined on March 27, 2016

Appetizers were wonderful- we had a few shrimp choices - the spicy shrimp and bacon wrapped. Unfortunately, our meal went downhill from there. Waiter, while pleasant, seemed rushed and we had to seek him out on multiple occasions to place cocktail orders. Our entrees arrived and one guest received his order completely wrong. The server realized it was wrong, announced it was wrong, and tried serving it anyway much to our chagrin. The grouper, which for this area is considered the fish to get because it's local and typically known for flavor and quality - was dry, flavorless and bland. Three of us ordered it blackened and it was flavorless. Had I not been famished I would have sent it back. Overall the experience was completely forgettable. We won't return.

food3
ambience3
service3
value3

Very dependable

Dined on March 27, 2016

You can always count on Mitchell's to be good. We went in with a group of 6 on a Saturday night and they could not have been nicer. The food and the service was good. They are a little pricey for what they offer.

Tags: great for lunch, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful Meal

vip
Dined on March 26, 2016

Our family of five had a great lunch here. Excellent food and even better service. Thank you.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great place

Dined on March 26, 2016

As always, the food and service was great. Love the location!

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great dinner

vip
Dined on March 24, 2016

Went for a Thirsday night meal while in Sandestin on business and it was great. Ahi tuna appetizer was solid, spinach salad was too notch, and the Shanghai Sea Bass was very delicious and unique. Grayson was an excellent server who took great care of me. Will definitely return next time I am in town.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, neighborhood gem
food3
ambience4
service2
value3

Disappointed

Dined on March 22, 2016

We have dined here before and been very happy. Not this time. One party had good food, the other maybe average. Service was subpar for a restaurant supposedly of this quality but we still tipped 20%. Why, because we are honorable people. A return, however, is unlikely.

food5
ambience4
service2
value4

Awesome Food, Disappointing Service

Dined on March 21, 2016

We've been making the hour-long drive to Mitchell's for special occasions ever since they opened in Sandestin; however, the service was so disappointing (again) this time, we've decided we must find a new "favorite" place. What's sad is the food is totally awesome, but the poor service negates the positive dining experience we expect from Mitchell's. Took over 15 minutes to get a bourbon & 7-up from the bar which we ordered as we were seated. Even though we weren't asked if we wanted dessert, we did ask for the carrot cake which has become our tradition. Twenty minutes! Yep, it took 20 minutes for the server to bring us our piece of cake! Just glad our reservations were fairly early (5:30) on a Monday evening; can't imagine had they been truly busy!

Tags: special occasion, great for lunch
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Good food, spectacular service

Dined on March 20, 2016

We've eaten at Mitchell's before and have never been disappointed. But our most recent visit was enhanced by our server. He was enthusiastic and knowledgeable, and his recommendations of the freshly-caught cobia and pecan-crusted trout were on target. It's always more fun to dine at a place where your server seems to be truly into the food. Service was as speedy as one could expect -- not too fast-paced but not so slow that it left you begging for bread between courses. The cocktails are interesting, too. I fell in love with the grapefruit-basil concoction.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Nothing special

Dined on March 19, 2016

The atmosphere was nice, but the food was nothing better than what you would find at bonefish grill (even the special they had just started running). The service was professional and helpful, but it ultimately felt like a 10 dollar up charge on red lobster or bonefish for the same stuff.

food2
ambience2
service2
value2

Meh

Dined on March 18, 2016

Everything was just ok. For the price I'd expect professional wait staff and great food. Neither of these were bad, just not anything above what a chain restaurant might produce.

food3
ambience5
service4

Not impressed with the scallops or wine ...

Dined on March 16, 2016

Not impressed with the scallops or wine list. Overall experience and service was ok.

food3
ambience3
service3

Food was okay, better than an average b ...

vip
Dined on March 10, 2016

Food was okay, better than an average bar and grill but not the best I have ever had. Wine selection was ridiculously over priced! $120 for a bottle of cake bread?? Are you serious ? That is insane even if it was a 2012! I could buy the exact same bottle of wine at Travina across the street for $65.... Won't go back it was merely ok... Over priced in my opinion....

food4
ambience4
service4
value4

As Usual Very Good Meal

vip
Dined on March 5, 2016

We visit the Destin area every year and Mitchell's is on the top of our list. We have dinner, and then one night we do the happy hour thing with appetizers and drinks outside. We are never disappointed.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5

My husband and I visited Mitchell's on V ...

Dined on February 15, 2016

My husband and I visited Mitchell's on Valentine's 2016. Our server, Hunter was great! The food and service was really good. The desert recommend by Hunter was delicious. We would definitely visit here again the next time we are in Destin.

food4
ambience3
service4

The food was excellent, the salmon was e ...

Dined on February 14, 2016

The food was excellent, the salmon was ever so slightly more done than I would have preferred but tasted fantastic and wasn't the least bit dry. The service was good, you could tell things slowed down as the place filled up but they were usually able to keep up. When we ordered dessert it took quite a while and by the time it came my wife was no longer I the mood for the ice cream, the carrot cake was well worth the wait though, it was nearly as talk as the fork. One quibble I do have was the music they were playing, I have no problem with 80's and 90's but it was a bit too loud in the room we were I and

food4
ambience3
service5
value3

Had a very nice leisurely meal. Server d ...

Dined on February 14, 2016

Had a very nice leisurely meal. Server did not rush us. Sea Bass was excellent.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Overall very good

Dined on February 14, 2016

Be sure and inform your server to serve the entree when it is ready. Ours had to be prompted that we were ready for the entree, as we were lingering over the salad waiting for the entree.

food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Amazing food

Dined on January 31, 2016

I've been here twice, two years apart, and both times the food was amazing!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

A little disappointed

Dined on January 24, 2016

We went for a birthday celebration and requested champagne to be ready and chilled, that was nice. Apetizers brought out in timely fashion and tasty oysters and calamari was crispy but the evening went a bit down hill. After initial opening we had to self serve both champagne and bottle of wine we ordered. Never received olive oil for our bread we requested nor had water glasses refilled. Dish appreared a bit sloppy, I travel and dine out often and to me, presentation should start the experience of enjoying good food. I ended up requesting my fish to be replated as it sat in a bowl of sauce and the rice became saturated. It was brought back to me with the same soggy rice! Very disappointed. I had looked at the menu for a week and anticipated a great time/ meal but when they were out of both the creme brûlée and bread pudding it was another disapointment ... The manager and waiter were both very kind, apologetic and offered other options so we did appreciate it very much but overall it didn't meet our expectations. I will try again because the food was good, but for a special occasion you may want to chose Ruth's Chris or similar. Kudos to the manager for calling and offering substitutes.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Nothing Like It

Dined on January 21, 2016

This was my second time visiting Mitchell's and it was just like I remember it. The first time, I was living in Chicago and on vacation. I made the wise decision to have the lobster bisque... Wow. I've spent the last 3 years trying to find a place that makes one this good, and I have not been successful. So this week, now living is San Jose, I was back in town for business and HAD to come back. I of course ordered the lobster bisque and I'm telling you, no one makes a lobster bisque. I did also have the filet mignon and lobster tail, also fantastic. Highly recommend this place.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem
food2
ambience2
service3
value2

Bad reservation change

Dined on January 17, 2016

Food was bland and prepared incorrectly. We paid for glass of wine and got half a glass, mixed drink was four sips and gone. Had reservations and still got table at waiter stand with an empty restaurant. Big Anniversary let down.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great Find!

Dined on January 10, 2016

We were in town for the weekend at Topsail Hill Campground, and discovered we forgot the charcoal for the dinner we planned on cooking. We searched for nearby restaurants, and since it was a Saturday night, being able to make an instant reservation was awesome! Upon arrival, we were seated immediately, and the service and food were awesome!!

Tags: great for outdoor dining, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Christmas dinner at Mitchell's

Dined on December 25, 2015

We joined two friends for Christmas dinner at Mitchell's and had a very good experience, with one notable exception. We ordered a dozen chargrilled oysters and they were overcooked, very small in size and seriously overpriced, $31.98 for a dozen oysters is ridiculous. The chargrilled oysters at Acme Oyster House, less than a mile away, are $20. 49 for a dozen and are much better in quality and value. We frequently dine at Mitchell's and have always had good dining experiences, but will never order the chargrilled oysters again!

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Good as all other locations of Mitchell's

Dined on December 25, 2015

Like other locations of Mitchell's Fish Markets, this one does not disappoint. Choosing fish from the gulf guarantees a better level of freshness and taste. Friendly service too, with a nice southern touch of warmth.

Tags: fit for foodies
food5
ambience5
service5

Never Miss It!

Dined on November 26, 2015

My wife and I make the trek from the Atlanta area to Sandestin on the average 3 or 4 times a year. In addition, for over twenty years I headed an Association with an annual meeting in the area that numbered 50-60 fine food appreciating professional folk. Bottom line - since the year Mitchell's Fish Market at Grand Avenue opened, neither my wife and I or our group has missed making sure we had one of our evening meals there. Excellent ambiance. Good service. Fine food at not inexpensive but decent prices with fish being a specialty but non-fish choices available as well. Always one of the highest rated evaluations by our group as a whole. What more could one ask?

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Great restaurant!

Dined on November 26, 2015

Wonderful restaurant! We never miss it when in town. Fresh seafood prepared in multiple ways.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food4
ambience2
service2

Service was rushed, but good was good.

Dined on October 16, 2015

Service was rushed, but good was good.

food5
ambience5
service5

Birthday dinner was great. Perfect

Dined on October 15, 2015

Mitchell's is always one our favorite spots for special occasions. Service and food are always first rate.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, notable wine list

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.