About Mitchell's Fish Market - Lansing

2975 Preyde Blvd.
Lansing, MI 48912
View Larger Map

We invite you to discover our fresh seafood obsession at Mitchell's Fish Market where the fish is off the boat fresh, the drinks are made with fresh-squeezed juice & the atmosphere is as warm and inviting as a day on the water. At Mitchell's Fish Market we are obsessed with fresh seafood. Our mantra is a commitment & passion for freshness as a way of life - a pledge that our fish is 100% fresh or it isn't good enough. With more than 80 items, the chef inspired menu includes items such as Cedar Roasted Atlantic Salmon & Shang Hai Sea Bass. Come experience what an obsession with freshness tastes like at Mitchell's Fish Market...fish any fresher would still be in the ocean! View of menus online at www.mitchellsfishmarket.com!

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Sunday: 11:00am - 3:00pm; Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 3:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 3:00pm - 11:00pm, Sunday: 3:00pm - 10:00pm

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(517) 482-3474

Website:
http://www.mitchellsfishmarket.com/

Parking Details:
Complimentary Eastwood Towne Center parking is available during lunch and dinner service.

Executive Chef:
Ryan Wierenga

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Promotions

Father's Day Special Menus & Reservations

Sunday, June 19, 2016

Promotions

Father's Day Special Menus & Reservations

Sunday, June 19, 2016

Details
Please join us on Father's Day from 11am - 9pm. Chef specials and our dinner menu will be served all day.

Private Dining

The ultimate private dining in Lansing / Eastwood is at Mitchell’s Fish Market. With our warm hospitality and attention to detail, we’ll work with you to create the event of your dreams.

Mitchell's Fish Market - Lansing Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.4

ambience

4.1

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Most Booked
Lansing
Best Restaurants in Lansing ›

special occasion (75)
fit for foodies (49)
good for groups (41)
See All
romantic (28)
great for lunch (23)
notable wine list (16)
neighborhood gem (13)
great for outdoor dining (10)
great for brunch (10)
kid-friendly (8)
late-night find (7)
vibrant bar scene (5)
hot spot (2)
scenic view (1)
Sort By:
Newest
918 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food1
ambience3
service3
value1

Overpriced and poorly cooked seafood, to ...

Dined on May 20, 2016

Overpriced and poorly cooked seafood, to be expected in Lansing, MI. Never asked if food was okay, to which I would have replied "no."

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

There were 8 adults and 1 seven month ...

Dined on May 14, 2016

There were 8 adults and 1 seven month old child in our group celebrating my daughter's graduation from medical school. We all had a great meal. The service was fantastic. Definitely would like to return again.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful

Dined on May 13, 2016

Service and food were both spectacular! Our group had a wonderful time at Mitchell's Fish Market.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5

The Chef's featured dinner was excellent ...

vip
Dined on May 10, 2016

The Chef's featured dinner was excellent. The best Halibut ever.

food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Very nice quite dinning experience, gre ...

Dined on May 10, 2016

Very nice quite dinning experience, great service and excellent food.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Service was great food average, ambiance ...

Dined on May 8, 2016

Service was great food average, ambiance good. I could see how it may be lively and fun on a weekend night

Tags: late-night find
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

Mother's Day

Dined on May 8, 2016

There seemed to have been a reduced menu on Mother's Day which was disappointing. The food we ordered was good though.

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The waitress was very good.

Dined on May 8, 2016

I do not eat much fish, so she had to explain everything to me. Frankly, I am forcing myself to like it because I keep reading that it is good for you. Ended up taking her advice and liking it. Also, we drove an hour for something special on Mother's Day. We said we wanted to take our time, so she did not rush us, even though they were completely booked.

Tags: great for brunch, special occasion
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Great Night

vip
Dined on May 7, 2016

The Shrimp Cocktail was outstanding. The Crab and Spinach dip was delicious. We had Crab Legs and Lobster and I will say this was good as well. The one item that was terrible was the Cedar Plank Salmon. They removed from bill and rightfully so. Service was good. We ordered a bottle of wine. I little over priced when compared to other establishments.

food4
ambience5
service4
value3

Very good, not fantastic

vip
Dined on May 7, 2016

Good food, nice service. Wine list is unacceptably mediocre given the menu and pricing.

food3
ambience2
service4
value2

Overpriced and Loud

Dined on May 7, 2016

The menu is quite limited. The meals are overpriced for what you get- small entrée and a side. No salad - of course that is extra. The lemonade was simply lemon juice in iced water and those refills were $1 extra. The noise level was so high we could barely hear each other talk. I would not go here again. there are other nice fine dining restaurants in the area that are not priced at over $25 a plate.

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Graduation

Dined on May 7, 2016

Celebrating our son's college graduation, we found Mitchell's delightful and the food was wonderful! We had a party of 6 and although the tables are close together, we didn't even notice. The service was excellent and the prices are good. I have already recommended it and will go there often.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion
food4
ambience5
service5

Special evening, food and service great! ...

vip
Dined on April 30, 2016

Special evening, food and service great! Would go back and recommend !

food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Graduation Dinner

Dined on April 23, 2016

This was a wonderful way to end our weekend. I made the online reservations. And all we had to do was arrive. We were celebrating our daughter's college graduation from Alma College, and this Mitchell's Fish Market was located in the middle of where our family all lives. Our table was ready when we arrive, or server was lovely and attentive to all of our needs. She did not rush us at all from Champagne to appetizers, entrees' and then desserts. Water glasses were filled bread was brought and plates were cleared. And never were we rushed. The two little ones dinner was brought to the table immediately. We can not say enough about using the Open Table and Mitchell's Fish Market.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, notable wine list
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

Good for special dinner for 2

Dined on April 16, 2016

We had a cozy booth for two, away from the center of the room. We got immediate seating and excellent service. Hubby and I were celebrating my 81st birthday. We asked the waitress to take a picture of us with my camera, and she did an excellent job. We also got a complimentary dessert to share - - 3 large scoops of fudge ripple (?) ice cream. Our Moscato wine was wonderful. We both ordered the same entree, pan-seared scallops with mashed redskin potatoes and a vegetable medley. To be honest, I found it to be more "bland" than on previous occasions. Healthy for sure, but without any zing whatever. I don't like heavy sauces or a lot of spices, but this could have been perked up a bit. Overall, we love Mitchell's and have eaten here often.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Enjoyable although pricey dinner as a thank you

Dined on April 14, 2016

We took tow friends to Mitchell's as a thank you for helping us. Our server was excellent, as was the salad and entree. We ordered the shark fin ice cream pie. It was only fair and really not worth the price. Everything is ala carte, so be prepared for a wonderful atmosphere and ambience and a price commensurate with that level of dining.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

A great night out

Dined on April 9, 2016

Great food, great time. Well done. My family and I really enjoyed our time there. We have been to East Lansing a number of times this year because my daughter is a dancer on the MSU dance team and we went to football and basketball games to support her. We would let her choose the restaurants and she had heard great things about Mitchell's. We said sure, and we really enjoyed it. We will be back, guaranteed.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food4
ambience2
service2
value4

Needs more attention to details.

Dined on April 9, 2016

We're seared quickly. Tables were close together making it hard for server to get around. Initially served promptly, but left alone too long. Water glasses were not refilled. Food was good but not memorable. Not on my list for another visit.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Lansing Mitchell's Restaurant on 4/3/2016

Dined on April 3, 2016

We received good treatment from our server, I believe her name was Sarah, who helped us in our food selection. She was able to help us also select the dessert items to enjoy as this was a birthday celebration.

Tags: special occasion
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Good eats

Dined on March 27, 2016

Mitchell's continues to be a favorite for special occasions. Our last visit was on Easter.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The service was top of the line!

Dined on March 24, 2016

Wine, appetizers, soup, salad, entree's were all spot on and enjoyed. Our server was able to gauge we were not in a hurry given we were celebrating four birthday's. We even told him to take care of his other tables first - we were there to unwind and enjoy each others company.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

when in E Lansing for a show at Wharton...

vip
Dined on March 19, 2016

Our group of four had our 3rd outing at Mitchell's after a matinee at Wharton Center. Service, cocktails, oysters, entrees all at a high level. The staff especially are genuinely warm and welcoming. The bar-keep knows his/her craft, entrees cooked to order. We plan on a return visit soon, and thanks to Mitchell's staff for their great work!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

We sat in the bar on Sunday afternoon. T ...

Dined on March 13, 2016

We sat in the bar on Sunday afternoon. The bartender was our server and he was great. Thanks for the great experience.

food2
ambience2
service3

We were crowded in a table. Good service ...

Dined on March 11, 2016

We were crowded in a table. Good service. Average food.

food4
ambience4
service5

Manager took very good care of us went i ...

vip
Dined on March 5, 2016

Manager took very good care of us went in with a celebrity and they gave us a private room so we would be comfy. Very attentive staff and great food! Fresh fish no one in our party had any issues. Only issue, if we were not in the back room sitting in the general dinning area would have been far too loud. You don't go here for a quiet romantic dinner you only go here for a night out with energy. We would go back.

food3
ambience3
service1

Brought in a party of 10 and was deeply ...

vip
Dined on March 5, 2016

Brought in a party of 10 and was deeply disappointed. We waited for one dish, sent back because it was prepared incorrectly, until the other diners were finished. No apologies and not once did the manager check in. We will not bring guests back. It has steadily gone downhill for the past year.

food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great food

Dined on March 4, 2016

Makanzie was an outstanding waitress! Excellent timing. Great fresh seafood. Good cocktails.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Dinner for my dad's birthday. Very nice!

Dined on February 20, 2016

Celebrated my dad's 66th birthday. Great food. Great service. Great atmosphere. He was wished a happy birthday by everyone. :)

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch
food4
ambience2
service3
value2

over priced

Dined on February 15, 2016

The food tasted good and was presented very well but cost way too much for what it was.

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent brunch

Dined on February 14, 2016

Excellent service perfect presentation knowledgeable staff. In short yum!

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups
food5
ambience4
service4

The food tasted exceedingly delicious. T ...

Dined on February 14, 2016

The food tasted exceedingly delicious. This was our second time to Mitchell's Fish Market. The only downside was the placement of the tables. We both felt they we too close to one another. Until the group next to us left, we felt like we had been immersed in their entire conversation. Also, due the crowded conditions, our chairs were bumped countless times by the waitstaff and hostesses. The sad part was there was never an apology. Perhaps, if there were a few tables removed and more spacing, a high rating would have been given here.

food3
ambience2
service2
value1

Birthday Dinner

Dined on February 14, 2016

We were visiting Lansing from out of town and I wanted to find a nice restaurant for my husbands birthday. I looked online and found Mitchell's, it had good reviews and seemed like a good option. However, it took 10 minutes for anyone to notice we had been sat and another 10 to receive our drinks. The food was average, and not worth the cost. The waitress seemed too busy to notice our table or refill our drinks. For an expensive dinner I would have expected better service.

food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Perfectly delightful meal

Dined on February 13, 2016

We had a perfectly delightful meal at Mitchell's Fish Market. The drinks came right away, the bread was warm and the servings were very ample. My husband and I, with another couple, were taking a grieving widow friend there on the memorial of her husband's death and she was very pleased. While the occasion was sad, we toasted our deceased friend and over a wonderful dinner enjoyed continuous conversation full of pleasant memories. The food was excellent, Andy our waiter was clearly busy but checked in often to make sure all was well. The manager stopped by the table once as well. The placed was packed but we did not feel hurried. We all left feeling uplifted and satisfied.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

An enjoyable evening with my wife

Dined on February 13, 2016

My wife and I enjoyed a delicious, relaxing, enjoyable dinner. Our waitress made the evening even more memorable with her knowledge and pleasant personality. My yellow tuna was well worth returning for. My wife and I left with smiles on our face and a much more romantic feeling to our evening together.

Tags: romantic
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great Restaurant

Dined on February 13, 2016

Reservations were very easy to make with the Open Table app. Dinner was excellent !

Tags: kid-friendly, special occasion
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

Great Seafood

vip
Dined on February 13, 2016

My wife and I were visiting from Maryland and took our son and two of his college friends out to a late dinner. We arrived after 10pm and were promptly seated. The service was attentive and quite adequate, the ambiance was that of a formal sit down restaurant (linen napkins, but you'd be in place wearing both a tie or jeans), but the quality of the food was outstanding, We started with appetizers of oysters on the half shell and the ceviche. Both were served fresh and were very tasty. I had a blacked trout with crab and avocado pico, while my wife had the salmon encrusted with bourbon and brown sugar. We both found the fish to be cooked perfectly and the spices balanced. We all agreed that when in town again, we'd be more than happy to return for another meal.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Sarah Rocks!

Dined on February 6, 2016

We were there to celebrate the birthday of my older sister who has a cognitive impairment. Sarah took note and spoke to my sister in appropriate tone of voice, using words my sister could understand. One of our guests had an issue with the sticky rice on the Shanghai preparation of their fish...Sarah handled that just right as well, checking back with us, getting a new serving, noting that the rice was still not quite right, and talking with the manager about it. Sarah was patient, attentive without hovering, and very competent. We enjoyed her tremendously...and the food was delicious, as usual.

Tags: special occasion, notable wine list
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

Excellent service

Dined on February 5, 2016

The food was as expected (though I really miss the prix fixe menu). The service was outstanding. Our server was helpful and patient, even when we stayed chatting a long time. (Long enough that in retrospect, I am pretty sure her shift was over, but you wouldn't have known we were holding her up from her behavior.) I left a second tip because the service was so good.

Tags: special occasion
food4
ambience3
service3
value4

Excellent for fish lovers

Dined on January 30, 2016

Our Open Table reservation was honored immediately even though others had to wait 45 minutes to an hour. We had requested a booth, but happily accepted a table. The bread and wine came right away, but the wait for main course was 40 minutes. The waitress apologized for the delay, provided delicious clam chowder "on the house" and was especially helpful and friendly. We go to Mitchell's at Eastwood frequently, often combining dinner with a movie.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food2
ambience1
service1
value1

Service was just downright poor! Food cold.

Dined on January 29, 2016

No refills. Not checked on. Overcrowded. Waiter preoccupied. ..quite frankly high end dining is becoming a big disappointment. We get top end service and more attention at the local big boy restaurant then high end. Not worth the money when food is overcooked..and cold. We were never checked on... no refills on iced tea? Because we didnt get alcohol we recvd poorer service? Maybe that was it.

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.