About Mitchell's Fish Market - Lansing

2975 Preyde Blvd.
Lansing, MI 48912
View Larger Map

We invite you to discover our fresh seafood obsession at Mitchell's Fish Market where the fish is off the boat fresh, the drinks are made with fresh-squeezed juice & the atmosphere is as warm and inviting as a day on the water. At Mitchell's Fish Market we are obsessed with fresh seafood. Our mantra is a commitment & passion for freshness as a way of life - a pledge that our fish is 100% fresh or it isn't good enough. With more than 80 items, the chef inspired menu includes items such as Cedar Roasted Atlantic Salmon & Shang Hai Sea Bass. Come experience what an obsession with freshness tastes like at Mitchell's Fish Market...fish any fresher would still be in the ocean! View of menus online at www.mitchellsfishmarket.com!

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Sunday: 11:00am - 3:00pm; Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 3:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 3:00pm - 11:00pm, Sunday: 3:00pm - 10:00pm

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(517) 482-3474

Website:
http://www.mitchellsfishmarket.com/

Parking Details:
Complimentary Eastwood Towne Center parking is available during lunch and dinner service.

Executive Chef:
Ryan Wierenga

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Report a photo problem

Stuffed Shrimp - Mitchell's Fish Market - Lansing, Lansing, MI
Crab Dip - Mitchell's Fish Market - Lansing, Lansing, MI
Frutti Di Mare - Mitchell's Fish Market - Lansing, Lansing, MI
King Crab Legs - Mitchell's Fish Market - Lansing, Lansing, MI
Cedar Plank Scallops - Mitchell's Fish Market - Lansing, Lansing, MI
Snow Crab Le - Mitchell's Fish Market - Lansing, Lansing, MI
Shanghi Seafood Sampler - Mitchell's Fish Market - Lansing, Lansing, MI
House Salad - Mitchell's Fish Market - Lansing, Lansing, MI
Grilled Salmon - Mitchell's Fish Market - Lansing, Lansing, MI
Key Lime Pie - Mitchell's Fish Market - Lansing, Lansing, MI
Creme Brulee With Strawberries - Mitchell's Fish Market - Lansing, Lansing, MI
Blackened Tilapia Fish Tacos - Mitchell's Fish Market - Lansing, Lansing, MI
Shang Hai Salmon With Sticky Rice And Sesame Spinach  - Mitchell's Fish Market - Lansing, Lansing, MI
Grilled Sea Scallops - Mitchell's Fish Market - Lansing, Lansing, MI
Lobster Boil - Mitchell's Fish Market - Lansing, Lansing, MI
Cedar Plank Salmon - Mitchell's Fish Market - Lansing, Lansing, MI
Pan Roasted P.E.I. Mussels - Mitchell's Fish Market - Lansing, Lansing, MI
Shanghai Scallops - Mitchell's Fish Market - Lansing, Lansing, MI
Shrimp Cocktail - Mitchell's Fish Market - Lansing, Lansing, MI
Red Pepper Salmon Filet - Mitchell's Fish Market - Lansing, Lansing, MI
Blackened Talapia - Mitchell's Fish Market - Lansing, Lansing, MI
Crispy Ginger Atlantic Salmon - Mitchell's Fish Market - Lansing, Lansing, MI
Twin Lobster Tails - Mitchell's Fish Market - Lansing, Lansing, MI
Arctic Char - Mitchell's Fish Market - Lansing, Lansing, MI
Creme Brulee - Mitchell's Fish Market - Lansing, Lansing, MI
Fresh Fish - Mitchell's Fish Market - Lansing, Lansing, MI
Oysters - Mitchell's Fish Market - Lansing, Lansing, MI
Calamari - Mitchell's Fish Market - Lansing, Lansing, MI

Specials

Valentine's Day Special Menus & More

Tuesday, February 14, 2017

Specials

Valentine's Day Special Menus & More

Tuesday, February 14, 2017

Details

We will be open 11am to 10pm serving Chef's Valentine's Day Specials and our main menu.

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

The ultimate private dining in Lansing / Eastwood is at Mitchell’s Fish Market. With our warm hospitality and attention to detail, we’ll work with you to create the event of your dreams.

Mitchell's Fish Market - Lansing Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.4

ambience

4.1

value

3.7

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (20)
Good for a Date (14)
Good for Anniversaries (13)
See All
Good for Birthdays (12)
Business Meals (9)
Pre/post Theatre (9)
Sunday Lunch (8)
Happy Hour (7)
Casual (7)
Worth the Drive (7)
Good for Groups (6)
Romantic (5)
Cozy (5)
Creative Cuisine (5)
Great for Lunch (5)
Bar Seating (5)
Kid-friendly (4)
Healthy (3)
Handcrafted Cocktails (3)
Tasting Menu (3)
Open Kitchen (3)
Outstanding Value (2)
Notable Wine List (2)
Private Room (2)
Modern Decor (2)
Fit for Foodies (2)
People Watching (2)
Great for Brunch (2)
Great for Outdoor Dining (2)
Tapas (2)
Local Ingredients (1)
Quiet Conversation (1)
Fun (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Authentic (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Family Style (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Seasonal (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Neighborhood Gem (1)
Sort By:
S
1028 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

once again this restaurant provided prem ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined 2 days ago

once again this restaurant provided premium service along with wonderful cuisine

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Birthday Always enjoy our meals when din ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on January 12, 2017

Birthday Always enjoy our meals when dining at Mitchell's in Lansing, MI.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Excellent food but table for 12 was crow ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on January 11, 2017

Excellent food but table for 12 was crowded (people had problems getting around our chairs) and a little noisy. Service was very good! The guest of honor was thrilled with the dessert which was large enough for all 12 to sample. Very generous.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Always good food and service here. Th ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on January 8, 2017

Always good food and service here. The server was pleasant and helpful and all six of us enjoyed our food

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Service was very slow. The restaurant wa ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on January 8, 2017

Service was very slow. The restaurant was not crowded at all and we had very slow service. Our server was not very attentive. She was no where to be found. Food was in much smaller portions than in the past. Artichoke dip came with what looked like store bought tortilla chips. They had the lights in the restaurant down so low . Many of the tables had a small wall mounted lamp, however, our booth was by a window and it was not possible. We felt like we were eating in the dark so we had to ask for a candle. The ambience felt like they were trying really hard to save money and turn the lights out. We arrived at 4:30 and it was dark then. WE have been to Mitchells many times. After Landry's bought it we went and found it to be a completely different dining experience. Our last time eating at Mitchells was 8 months ago. That experience was so disappointing that we vowed not to return. Today we decided to give it one last try. We will not return unfortunately. We do not want to be negative however, the food was just barely average, service was terrible and ambience was below average. Prices are too high for this type of experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service1

Sea bass was great. My son had the adult ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on January 7, 2017

Sea bass was great. My son had the adult cheeseburger and it was huge. Very good flavor. The banana bread pudding was perfectly portioned and very good. We've been to Mitchell's several times and wheats enjoy. Like that reservations are accepted and for any size party. Helpful!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Best seafood in the Lansing area. Consis ...

vip
 (Hawaii)·Dined on January 4, 2017

Best seafood in the Lansing area. Consistently well prepared and served.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Another great meal here! The fish is alw ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 27, 2016

Another great meal here! The fish is always excellent and there is something for everyone. The fish and chips satisfy my parents and my young daughter, and the grilled fresh fish was expertly prepared.

Tags: Bar Seating, Cozy, Business Meals, Kid-friendly, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

For the price, you would expect a nice Q ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on December 25, 2016

For the price, you would expect a nice QUIET dinning experience.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value3

Very fine dining and service. Our filets ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on December 25, 2016

Very fine dining and service. Our filets were outstanding, cooked to perfection. The service staff is extremely personable and articulate. While the oysters were a bit pricy (we're used to Key West fare), they were fresh and nicely presented.

Tags: Molecular Gastronomy, Modern Decor, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Happy Hour, Notable Wine List, Good Vegetarian Options, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We took my in-laws out for a holiday din ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on December 23, 2016

We took my in-laws out for a holiday dinner here (the night before Christmas Eve) - it was a bit crowded and the waitstaff seemed to have a bit of a hard time getting around to some of the tables. Our food came out at a nice pace and everything was tasty - we had appetizers, a salad and soup, 4 main courses, and 2 desserts. The waitress was kind, pleasant, and fairly attentive.

Tags: Gluten Free Options, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Perfect setting for our meal.

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 22, 2016

Perfect setting for our meal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was excellent and service was outst ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on December 2, 2016

Food was excellent and service was outstanding, James our waiter did a fantastic job!

See you soon.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Great for Lunch, Great for Brunch, Vibrant Bar Scene, Special Occasion, Happy Hour, Creative Cuisine, Open Kitchen, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Casual, Cozy, Quick Bite, Comfort Food, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value2

After two bad experiences the past 2 New ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on November 24, 2016

After two bad experiences the past 2 New Year's Eves, we opted to try Mitchell's again for Thanksgiving. Because it wasn't as crowded, it was far better. The food was good, the menu inclusive and we were seated immediately. Our server was absolutely excellent. She checked on us throughout our meal and was so pleasant and competent.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

We came to celebrate my birthday. We had ...

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on November 22, 2016

We came to celebrate my birthday. We had a great meal. Great fresh seafood.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Our server was fantastic. We told her we ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on November 18, 2016

Our server was fantastic. We told her we were going to see a play and she really helped to ensure that we were well taken care of in the time we had !!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our waiter was terrific and our food was ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on November 13, 2016

Our waiter was terrific and our food was outstanding. We personally are not seafood lovers and simply go for the filet mignon. They do not disappoint!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The service was very good. The food was ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on November 12, 2016

The service was very good. The food was good and there was a good selection of options for dinner.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Seating was not as desired, especially f ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on November 10, 2016

Seating was not as desired, especially for having an advance RSVP.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Casual, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value2

We always visit on our Anniversary. Pric ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on November 6, 2016

We always visit on our Anniversary. Prices always go up each year but the food quality is very high.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

Had a chance to get out and celebrate my ...

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on October 28, 2016

Had a chance to get out and celebrate my wife's birthday early. Arrived a bit ahead of the reservation and did have to wait past the reservation time, but the staff was very busy and very apologetic. Server was at the table moments after we were seated. She was very attentive without hovering, much appreciated. Food was terrific, only complaint was veggies weren't totally cooked.

Will definitely be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

My boyfriend and I were pretty underwhel ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on October 28, 2016

My boyfriend and I were pretty underwhelmed by our experience here. Our waitress was slow, my drink wasn't mixed properly, they wouldn't let him substitute sides, and I only received 3 pieces of asparagus as one of my sides. I was expecting a little bit more from Mitchell's for my birthday! The prices are expensive for the food that is received and some of my king crab was lukewarm. At least I did get a free mini shark fin pie that was good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value2

Food was good, waitress was fantastic, a ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on October 27, 2016

Food was good, waitress was fantastic, ambiance was great. Our occasion was an adult mother/son meal prior to a "meet and greet" with our favorite author. It was a terrific evening.

Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Food was warm not hot. Which was very u ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on October 16, 2016

Food was warm not hot. Which was very upsetting. Service was slow. Too few wait staff.

I have been here many times and this was my worst experience. Very disappointing because I was celebrating my son's 21 ST birthday and this is his favorite restaurant.

I hope my comments are taken seriously because we like the restaurant.

Tags: Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service2
value3

We made reservations for 8:30 and arrive ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on October 16, 2016

We made reservations for 8:30 and arrived at 8:15. We were seated after everyone who had come in previously, with or without reservations and had to remind the hostess that we were there. We were finally seated closer to 9 making the reservations completely pointless. Once seated we had to ask our waiter, who was very good, for silverware as none had been provided with the place setting. The food came out hot and tasted fine. The problem came later that night when we had to go to Urgent Care as my husband had gotten food poisoning. After talking with a family member I have come to the observation that this happens from Mitchell's frequently as they have gotten food poisoning from that location as well. We will not be going back to this location and we will not be recommending it to any friends.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service4
value3

This is two weeks in a row eating at Mit ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on October 15, 2016

This is two weeks in a row eating at Mitchell's. This week we had to wait for a table even though we had a reservation....and then waited and waited some more before a server came to our table. She did apologize for the wait....but everything was very slow this week. I was disappointed. Our worse experience dining at Mitchell's and we dine there nearly every time we are in the Lansing area.

The food was not as good as the previous week. I think they were just too busy.

Tags: Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value2

Went here for our anniversary and had a ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on October 15, 2016

Went here for our anniversary and had a great time. Used Open Table to make our reservations and waited at the bar for a table to open. One minute before our reservation time I got a text from the host saying our table was ready. Went with a tapas style meal - five side dishes and dessert. Food, service and ambiance were fantastic.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Kid-friendly, Sunday Lunch, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, People Watching, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Even with a reservation, it took 15 minu ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on October 8, 2016

Even with a reservation, it took 15 minutes to get a table and then it took almost 20 minutes for a waiter to even come over to our table. The food wasn't very good, quite salty, and not worth the price.

Tags: People Watching, Quiet Conversation
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

Simply the best. I brought friends from ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on October 7, 2016

Simply the best. I brought friends from out of town, and they were very impressed with the food, atmosphere, and service.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Pre/post Theatre, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

I was disappointed in our recent visit t ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on October 2, 2016

I was disappointed in our recent visit to Mitchell's. The food was production quality, lacking the extra flair and freshness we have experienced in the past.

Our server was prompt, but made us feel rushed even when asking for additional time.

We brought guest who had never been to s Mitchell's. I doubt they will return. Had this been our first experience, I doubt we would return. I'm hoping this was s one time experience, since we have previously enjoyed this location for special events. Overall, this visit was a disappointment.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

Loud. Very cold and tables too close tog ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on September 22, 2016

Loud. Very cold and tables too close together. Food was good. Hard to have conversation.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

Great experience!

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 19, 2016

Great experience!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

It's a great place to go if you're a sea ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on September 11, 2016

It's a great place to go if you're a seafood lover.

Tags: Casual, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Mitchell's is getting back to where they ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on September 10, 2016

Mitchell's is getting back to where they use to be before Landry's bought them. Still feels a bit like a 500 restaurant chain rather than the 30 or less previously but food quality is getting better.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

I've been to this restaurant before and ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 5, 2016

I've been to this restaurant before and don't have high expectations but the fish was all terribly overdone and the service very slow. At least I always feel special here but just didn't on Monday - seems like used second string staff on Labor day...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service2
value1

Food and service both very good Quieter ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on September 5, 2016

Food and service both very good Quieter than a lot of places

Tags: Tasting Menu, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Our server was Laura and she was fantast ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on September 4, 2016

Our server was Laura and she was fantastic!

We also like that the manager stopped by our table to ask if everything was OK (It was!)

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Cozy, Worth the Drive, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Went for a special occasion with 4 peopl ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on September 3, 2016

Went for a special occasion with 4 people. Made a reservation fir 6:15 and everything went well until appetizer course was finished. Dinner service was very slow (50 minute gap between appetizers and entree) and when food came out 2 of 3 Mitchell's specialty seafood dishes were stone cold. The seafood in the dishes ranged from terribly overcooked to mussels in one of the dishes had not opened during the cooking process. Ribeye steak ordered medium rare, was overcooked and served medium well. The side of asparagus 2 and a half spears, one of which was slightly mangled in appearance. Manager first offered to "reheat" cold dinners, but then ended up taking 2 of the 4 dinners of the bill due to the poor quality of the food. While the manager's willingness to make comp the dinners was appreciated and the right thing to do, I doubt we will return and will not recommend Mitchell's to others as a restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service3
value1

First time visitor. Enjoyed our date nig ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on September 3, 2016

First time visitor. Enjoyed our date night dinner after a day of shopping and a late afternoon movie (all located immediately near the restaurant). Our waiter was fantastic. Excellent meals!!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

My wife and I enjoyed the food, the wine ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on September 2, 2016

My wife and I enjoyed the food, the wine ... and especially the service. Once the waiter realized that we were having an anniversary dinner, he paid extra attention to us. The food was scrumptious and the wine was perfectly chilled. Thanks so much, Mitchell's!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Tasting Menu, Great Beer, Business Meals, Romantic, Sunday Lunch, Great for Lunch, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Casual, , Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.