About Mitchell's Fish Market - Lansing

2975 Preyde Blvd.
Lansing, MI 48912
View Larger Map

We invite you to discover our fresh seafood obsession at Mitchell's Fish Market where the fish is off the boat fresh, the drinks are made with fresh-squeezed juice & the atmosphere is as warm and inviting as a day on the water. At Mitchell's Fish Market we are obsessed with fresh seafood. Our mantra is a commitment & passion for freshness as a way of life - a pledge that our fish is 100% fresh or it isn't good enough. With more than 80 items, the chef inspired menu includes items such as Cedar Roasted Atlantic Salmon & Shang Hai Sea Bass. Come experience what an obsession with freshness tastes like at Mitchell's Fish Market...fish any fresher would still be in the ocean! View of menus online at www.mitchellsfishmarket.com!

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Sunday: 11:00am - 3:00pm; Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 3:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 3:00pm - 11:00pm, Sunday: 3:00pm - 10:00pm

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(517) 482-3474

Website:
http://www.mitchellsfishmarket.com/

Parking Details:
Complimentary Eastwood Towne Center parking is available during lunch and dinner service.

Executive Chef:
Ryan Wierenga

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Mitchell's Fish Market - Lansing
Mitchell's Fish Market - Lansing
Crab Dip
Frutti Di Mare
King Crab Legs
Cedar Plank Scallops
Snow Crab Le
Shanghi Seafood Sampler
House Salad
Grilled Salmon
Key Lime Pie
Creme Brulee With Strawberries
Blackened Tilapia Fish Tacos
Shang Hai Salmon With Sticky Rice And Sesame Spinach
Grilled Sea Scallops
Lobster Boil
Cedar Plank Salmon
Pan Roasted P.E.I. Mussels
Shanghai Scallops
Shrimp Cocktail
Red Pepper Salmon Filet
Blackened Talapia
Crispy Ginger Atlantic Salmon
Twin Lobster Tails
Arctic Char
Creme Brulee
Fresh Fish
Oysters
Calamari

Private Dining

The ultimate private dining in Lansing / Eastwood is at Mitchell’s Fish Market. With our warm hospitality and attention to detail, we’ll work with you to create the event of your dreams.

Mitchell's Fish Market - Lansing Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.5

ambience

4.3

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Special Occasion
Grand Rapids / Western Michigan
Most Booked
Lansing
Best Restaurants in Lansing ›

Special Occasion (49)
Fit for Foodies (30)
Great for Lunch (27)
See All
Good for Groups (27)
Romantic (17)
Great for Outdoor Dining (17)
Notable Wine List (11)
Kid-friendly (9)
Neighborhood Gem (9)
Great for Brunch (7)
Vibrant Bar Scene (4)
Late-night Find (4)
Hot Spot (2)
Sort By:
Newest
942 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Very good! We eat here every year for m ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined 5 days ago

Very good! We eat here every year for my husband's birthday. He's a sea food lover, I'm not. He had the oysters, steak and lobster. All of which he LOVED. I had the chicken parm. The noodles were supposed to come with a garlic cream sauce- they didn't. Honestly they tasted like plain noodles. There was a small amount of "sauce" on the plate but not nearly enough. Our server was kind of absent other than to take our order or bring our check. I'd expect a little more attention for $180+ dinner. Very casual. Good for special occasions or families, too.

Tags: Casual, Good for Anniversaries, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value4

We are new to the area and had been want ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

We are new to the area and had been wanting to try this restaurant, however it is too pricey for a casual meal. Went there for our anniversary. The entrée prices suggested it to be a higher-end restaurant, however it was extremely casual. The first thing I noticed when I sat down was the noise. It was EXTREMELY loud - felt like we were at Red Robin or someplace similar, with Back Street Boys playing on the sound system. Shortly after we were seated, either the manager or a server whistled loudly to another employee to get their attention, which we thought was extremely tacky. $72 (not including tip) and 45 minutes later, we left to find a quiet restaurant for drinks and dessert.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service3
value2

We were seated immediately at the bar wh ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

We were seated immediately at the bar which was fine with us. The booth was directly under an AC vent, but our request for a different booth was happily honored. We were celebrating my husband's 83rd birthday. He ordered his favorite, fish and chips, and I ordered scallops. Both choices were delicious. Moscato wine was great. Also enjoyed the hot bread. We shared the complimentary sharkfin pie dessert - - just the right amount of sweetness.

Mike, our server, was excellent. Also took a great pix of us with my camera.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

Drinks were good, appetizer was great. M ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Drinks were good, appetizer was great. Main course was underwhelming. Butter for the lobster was cold and the lobster itself was very bland.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3

We ordered the crab, spinach, and artich ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

We ordered the crab, spinach, and artichoke dip as an appetizer and the Pan Seared Cedar Plank Salmon as main dishes. The food was delicious - superb in every way for me and my guests visiting from Germany and Miami.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

The service and food were very good, but ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

The service and food were very good, but the noise level was very loud. We were two couples trying to chat, but were seated in the middle of two tables with screaming children. Not what we wanted for our Friday night evening out. When we asked to move to another table we felt like it was a big inconvenience. When I looked around at the open tables it made no sense- there were plenty available to move us to a quieter spot. Overall we like Mitchell's and will return, but we honestly wanted a quiet environment to catch up and be able to hear each other.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Mitchell's was an unexpectedly pleasant ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

Mitchell's was an unexpectedly pleasant find in Lansing, MI. A nice seafood menu with plenty of choices. The service was very good and efficient. The environment was fast paced, modern. Nice, but perhaps a little hectic. Part of this was due to visiting on Friday night. The crowd was large, the ceilings are high, the surfaces are hard and as a result it was pretty loud. Not unbearable, but loud. The food was well prepared although I would describe it as basic and not too creative. Not a bad thing for fish. We weren't rushed, but felt some due to the velocity of the traffic around us. Prices were high.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

Had a great time at Mitchell's! Our ser ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 4, 2016

Had a great time at Mitchell's! Our server was very pleasant and the restaurant manager was attentive and helpful. The food was also very good! The cedar plank salmon is very tasty, and the fish and chips and shrimp and chips got rave reviews.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

It has been probably 5+ years since I ha ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 28, 2016

It has been probably 5+ years since I have been to Mitchell's. The restaurant looked tired and rough around the edges. We had 7:00 reservations, but there were very few seated tables. No need for reservations. Our waiter was outstanding, knew the menu, and could make recommendations for wine to complement the meal. Very personable.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

Mitchell's Fish Market is an excellent p ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)
·Dined on July 27, 2016

Mitchell's Fish Market is an excellent place to enjoy a fine dining experience! Their seafood is especially great!

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

I was in the mood for good seafood. I go ...

vip
 (Orlando)
·Dined on July 27, 2016

I was in the mood for good seafood. I got the salmon spinach salad because nothing else jumped out at me. To be honest, I had a salmon spinach salad the day before at a mid-level chain restaurant and it was better.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

Was completely wonderful...

 
 (Grand Rapids)
·Dined on July 21, 2016

Was completely wonderful...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Consistently delivers Geat food & Great ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on July 11, 2016

Consistently delivers Geat food & Great Service. attended a business dinner and was impressed by both the food and the service.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Always a little disappointed by Mitchell ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

Always a little disappointed by Mitchell's. Menu looks great and we're serious fish lovers but the quality is uneven. Still, the food was mostly good and the service was excellent (Emily).

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

Fresh! Fresh! Fresh! It delicious at M ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

Fresh! Fresh! Fresh! It delicious at Mitchell's. Definitely will be returning. Excellent service as well.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Overall, it was very good & well-priced ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)
·Dined on June 30, 2016

Overall, it was very good & well-priced. King crab legs were not as tasty & sweet as I expected.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Immediate seating in our area of choice. ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)
·Dined on June 30, 2016

Immediate seating in our area of choice. Good service. Moscato wine delicious. We both ordered the same 2 courses from Summer Nights Menu - - chopped salad and crab crusted salmon. Salmon delicious, but disappointed with salad which contained no dark leafy greens. Will not order this salad again. Had eaten a lot of your wonderful bread, so no room left for dessert, but would have ordered our favorite, mocha crunch gelato.

Bravo's is frequently our "restaurant of choice."

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Unfortunately we will probably never go ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

Unfortunately we will probably never go back even though the food was wonderful. Restaurant hours stated they were open till 11pm. We arrived at 8pm, waited more than 20 minutes to get our first drink even though the dining room was relatively empty on a Friday night. At 9:30, the lights were dimmed so low that we couldn't even read the menu to order dessert and the staff began sweeping the carpet! Our waitress was friendly but slow, we spent way too much time waiting for service. And even though it didn't directly affect us, as we were leaving we noticed that the outside patio was being repaired with people trying to dine over the sound of power drills and hammers. This just shows a total lack of respect for the diners and poor management decisions. Very disappointing!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service2
value2

Great food and service. Can be pricy for ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on June 21, 2016

Great food and service. Can be pricy for lunch - but the fish is fresh and well cooked. Recommend to anyone.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We've been to Mitchell's many times befo ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

We've been to Mitchell's many times before. This time, my only real complaint was with the service. Although we had reservations for 1:00PM -- and arrived at 1:05 -- our table was not ready. We had to wait nearly 10 minutes for them to set it up. Once seated, our drinks arrived quickly, but after being promised bread, it never came. Our meals arrived after about 25 minutes, at which time our pre-meal bread also arrived. Our server was very nice, and apologetic, but either she was responsible for too many tables or she was still learning. For the prices Mitchell's charges -- and they're one of the most expensive restaurants in the area -- I expect more.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value2

Everything is top notch but pricey, as i ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

Everything is top notch but pricey, as it should be.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Had a wonderful lunch. Our waiter was ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

Had a wonderful lunch. Our waiter was so great. We enjoyed everything we had - could not ask for a better way to celebrate my moms 84 birthday.....

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A reservation is a good idea but not nec ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)
·Dined on June 15, 2016

A reservation is a good idea but not necessarily needed ,have never had a ordinary meal a top choice..

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great place to get to know someone on a date.

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on May 28, 2016

We had an excellent server. Attentive but not intrusive. We were seated in a booth and could easily hear each other talk. The wine list was extensive and our server was knowledgeable. Fish was outstanding.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Overpriced and poorly cooked seafood, to ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)
·Dined on May 20, 2016

Overpriced and poorly cooked seafood, to be expected in Lansing, MI. Never asked if food was okay, to which I would have replied "no."

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service3
value1

There were 8 adults and 1 seven month ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on May 14, 2016

There were 8 adults and 1 seven month old child in our group celebrating my daughter's graduation from medical school. We all had a great meal. The service was fantastic. Definitely would like to return again.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful

 
 (Grand Rapids)
·Dined on May 13, 2016

Service and food were both spectacular! Our group had a wonderful time at Mitchell's Fish Market.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The Chef's featured dinner was excellent ...

vip
 (Grand Rapids)
·Dined on May 10, 2016

The Chef's featured dinner was excellent. The best Halibut ever.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Very nice quite dinning experience, gre ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)
·Dined on May 10, 2016

Very nice quite dinning experience, great service and excellent food.

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Service was great food average, ambiance ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

Service was great food average, ambiance good. I could see how it may be lively and fun on a weekend night

Tags: Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Mother's Day

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

There seemed to have been a reduced menu on Mother's Day which was disappointing. The food we ordered was good though.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

The waitress was very good.

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

I do not eat much fish, so she had to explain everything to me. Frankly, I am forcing myself to like it because I keep reading that it is good for you. Ended up taking her advice and liking it. Also, we drove an hour for something special on Mother's Day. We said we wanted to take our time, so she did not rush us, even though they were completely booked.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great Night

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on May 7, 2016

The Shrimp Cocktail was outstanding. The Crab and Spinach dip was delicious. We had Crab Legs and Lobster and I will say this was good as well. The one item that was terrible was the Cedar Plank Salmon. They removed from bill and rightfully so. Service was good. We ordered a bottle of wine. I little over priced when compared to other establishments.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Very good, not fantastic

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on May 7, 2016

Good food, nice service. Wine list is unacceptably mediocre given the menu and pricing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

Overpriced and Loud

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on May 7, 2016

The menu is quite limited. The meals are overpriced for what you get- small entrée and a side. No salad - of course that is extra. The lemonade was simply lemon juice in iced water and those refills were $1 extra. The noise level was so high we could barely hear each other talk. I would not go here again. there are other nice fine dining restaurants in the area that are not priced at over $25 a plate.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4
value2

Graduation

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on May 7, 2016

Celebrating our son's college graduation, we found Mitchell's delightful and the food was wonderful! We had a party of 6 and although the tables are close together, we didn't even notice. The service was excellent and the prices are good. I have already recommended it and will go there often.

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Special evening, food and service great! ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on April 30, 2016

Special evening, food and service great! Would go back and recommend !

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Graduation Dinner

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on April 23, 2016

This was a wonderful way to end our weekend. I made the online reservations. And all we had to do was arrive. We were celebrating our daughter's college graduation from Alma College, and this Mitchell's Fish Market was located in the middle of where our family all lives.

Our table was ready when we arrive, or server was lovely and attentive to all of our needs. She did not rush us at all from Champagne to appetizers, entrees' and then desserts. Water glasses were filled bread was brought and plates were cleared. And never were we rushed. The two little ones dinner was brought to the table immediately. We can not say enough about using the Open Table and Mitchell's Fish Market.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Good for special dinner for 2

 
 (Grand Rapids)
·Dined on April 16, 2016

We had a cozy booth for two, away from the center of the room. We got immediate seating and excellent service. Hubby and I were celebrating my 81st birthday. We asked the waitress to take a picture of us with my camera, and she did an excellent job. We also got a complimentary dessert to share - - 3 large scoops of fudge ripple (?) ice cream. Our Moscato wine was wonderful. We both ordered the same entree, pan-seared scallops with mashed redskin potatoes and a vegetable medley. To be honest, I found it to be more "bland" than on previous occasions. Healthy for sure, but without any zing whatever. I don't like heavy sauces or a lot of spices, but this could have been perked up a bit. Overall, we love Mitchell's and have eaten here often.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

Enjoyable although pricey dinner as a thank you

 
 (Grand Rapids)
·Dined on April 14, 2016

We took tow friends to Mitchell's as a thank you for helping us. Our server was excellent, as was the salad and entree. We ordered the shark fin ice cream pie. It was only fair and really not worth the price. Everything is ala carte, so be prepared for a wonderful atmosphere and ambience and a price commensurate with that level of dining.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.